Everly 202 Review

Everly 202 Electric Bike Review
Everly 202
Everly 202 Aikema 250 Watt Geared Hub Motor
Everly 202 36 Volt 5.2 Amp Hour Battery Pack
Everly 202 Sparrow Swept Back Handle Bar Scud Display
Everly 202 Scud Backlit Lcd Display Console
Everly 202 10 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Everly 202 Generic Linear Pull Caliper Brakes
Everly 202 14 Speed Drivetrain Microshift Derailleurs
Everly 202 Kenda Kwest 700x38c Tires
Everly 202 Electric Bicycle
Everly 202 Geared Brushless Hubmotor Akm 13
Everly 202 Scud E Bike 3652 Battery
Everly 202 Electric Bike Review
Everly 202
Everly 202 Aikema 250 Watt Geared Hub Motor
Everly 202 36 Volt 5.2 Amp Hour Battery Pack
Everly 202 Sparrow Swept Back Handle Bar Scud Display
Everly 202 Scud Backlit Lcd Display Console
Everly 202 10 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Everly 202 Generic Linear Pull Caliper Brakes
Everly 202 14 Speed Drivetrain Microshift Derailleurs
Everly 202 Kenda Kwest 700x38c Tires
Everly 202 Electric Bicycle
Everly 202 Geared Brushless Hubmotor Akm 13
Everly 202 Scud E Bike 3652 Battery


  • A light weight, relatively affordable, full-chromoly steel electric bicycle offering 14 speeds and efficient 700c wheels that make it fun and efficient to pedal
  • Surprisingly comfortable upright body position thanks to sparrow style bars that sweep back towards you hands, padded leather grips and leather saddle
  • Minimal assist-only motor offering 250 watts of power and a half-sized 36 volt 5.2 amp hour battery, the top drive speed is ~18 mph and the cadence sensor was a bit slow to respond
  • Impressive year long comprehensive warranty, available in US, CA and MX with $50 shipping in the US, only comes in one frame size and high-step diamond but two fun colors

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers








Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Yeah Comprehensive


United States, Mexico, Canada

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

37 lbs (16.78 kg)

Battery Weight:

3 lbs (1.36 kg)

Motor Weight:

4.7 lbs (2.13 kg)

Frame Material:

4130 Chromoly Steel

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

20.5" Seat Tube, 21.5" Reach, 31" Stand Over Height, 69.5" Length

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Gloss Orange, Gloss Blue

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Chromoly Steel

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Front Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses, Saddle Bag Loops

Gearing Details:

14 Speed 2x7 RB microSHIFT, 13-32T

Shifter Details:

microSHIFT TS70 Triggers on Left and Right


35T Small Chainring, 51T Large Chainring


HLI Plastic Platform


1-1/8" 45° x 45° Sealed Cartridge Bearing, 3 Spacers 1-1/2"




Sparrow Style, Swept Back, Aluminum Alloy

Brake Details:

Generic Mechanical Linear-Pull Caliper


Stitched Leather


Kuben Leather, Active

Seat Post:


Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm


Single Walled, Aluminum Alloy


Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge

Tire Brand:

Kenda Kwest, 700 x 38c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Flick Bell, Adjustable Length Kickstand, Optional Toba Aluminum Rack $40, Optional Sunlite Front Basket $30, Optional Replacement Battery $250, Fortified Theft-Proof Fortified LED Lights $70


Hazmat Qualified Shipping $50, Locking Removable Battery Pack, Drivetrain and Brake Parts Compatible with Shimano

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Aikema AKM-13

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

450 watts

Motor Torque:

14 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

5.2 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

187.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

1.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Display Type:

SCUD, Fixed, Grayscale, Backlit LCD


Battery Level Percentage, Speed, Odometer, Assist Level (0-5)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist (10 Magnet Disc)

Top Speed:

18 mph (29 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Everly 202 is an electric bicycle that emphasizes pedaling, it embraces efficiency with a minimalist 250 watt internally geared motor and 187.2 watt hour battery configuration. The motor spec is below average by US standards but common in Europe, it’s roughly equivalent to doubling your own pedal output. This isn’t a bad thing if you enjoy nimble handling, lighter overall weight and a more active ride style. There’s no throttle on this e-bike, you literally have to pedal in order to make the drive system switch on but you don’t have to push especially hard because it operates using a cadence sensor vs. a torque sensor. I was surprised with the power it generated, helping me up one particularly steep hill near Laguna Beach, California but a little underwhelmed with the response time of the cadence sensor. I was surprised by the second-long lag because the sensor utilizes 10 magnets and the most I’ve ever seen is 12, the delay was a bit trying at moments where I really needed the help but wasn’t pedaling consistently and at times when I stopped pedaling (even braked) but the motor continued for a moment on its own. The brake levers on this ebike do not have motor inhibitors (perhaps because the motor is relatively weak) and I found the levers and linear-pull calipers a bit slow and dull feeling. Maybe I’m just used to 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes on mountain bikes? Everything performed… I did get motor support and was able stop in time, it was just more of an average experience. But hey, for the price (roughly $1,200) the bike looked surprisingly nice and was a joy to carry up stairs and maneuver around the neighborhood.

Many of the classic or vintage styled pedlecs I’ve tested in the past opt for front mounted hub motors because they’re easier to install allow for a larger cassette (or internally geared hub) in the rear. Take the Faraday Porteur and Porteur S as a high-end example or the ElectroBike Light. The Everly 202 uses a basic seven speed cassette in combination with the rear-mounted hub motor but doubles the gear choices and extends cadence range by running a two sprocket chainring cluster up front. So you get 14 speeds here and while the derailleurs were generic, the shifters worked well enough and it enabled a wider range of ride speeds. You do shift gears with this product, it’s much more like riding a traditional bicycle but that’s not so bad and frankly, it’s refreshing to see in an industry that’s flooded with very powerful but heavy, more expensive, offerings. This is the kind of electric bike I’d feel proud to ride around town because it looks beautiful but would be less worried about leaving at the rack because it’s tough and cheap. The display panel is small and sturdy (though not removable) and the motor is protected by the frame… it actually blends in behind the cassette pretty well. The battery does not blend in so much and there was a bit of rattling during my test ride tests but at least you can take it off for charging and it only takes an hour and a half to get from zero to full! Considering you get front rack and rear rack mounts along with two bottle cage braze-on sets and bag loops at the rear of the saddle, you could always carry the charger with you and top it off at work, class or your friend’s house. A second battery pack is also not out of the question at just $200. You could leave one at work and one at home and run a loop draining completely with each leg of the trip. The bigger point remains, you pedal this bike to go and it doesn’t weigh much so you end up getting solid range at 15+ miles per charge… probably closer to 20+ if you’re under 160 lbs and it’s even enjoyable to pedal without motor assistance.

At the end of the day, yes many of the parts are generic and that includes the motor, battery pack and plastic pedals. I guess Aikema and Scud are just new to me so maybe not fully generic, it sounds like Freway electric bikes also uses Scud or is a subsidiary of them. The brakes are average and even the frame is more bicycle than e-bike with zip-tied wires vs. internally routed… but everything is there and you get a nice year long comprehensive warranty. I prefer a rear-mounted hub motor as used with this design and it ran pretty quietly, I like having at least 7 gears and while the motor won’t help you above 18 mph you can definitely top 28 mph by pedaling with the larger front sprocket and higher cassette gears. Lots of people find cheap kits online and build their own ebikes but they don’t usually turn out this clean. If you can deal with the higher stand-over height, don’t mind the $50 shipping and are looking for a little boost around town then this would be a great option. I would totally get this for riding around campus at college or commuting in a city. The ride quality really surprised me with the upright position, swept back bars and steel frame. The saddle felt tight and hard but that’s always the case with leather until it gets broken in and the tightener-adjustment thing underneath was really cool.


  • The saddle is really unique and nice, it’s made from genuine leather, has a corset style shape-keeping bind underneath and an integrated stretch mechanism at the nose so you can keep it firm over time as the leather softens
  • So many braze-ons and threaded eyelets on this frame… you get two bottle cage mounting points, holes for adding fenders, eyelets for traditional rear racks and on the fork for a basket or pannier
  • The display panel is super small and cool looking in my opinion, it’s easy to reach, intuitive to use and backlit, I like that it goes “around” so you can skip from zero assist up to level five and vice-versa
  • I love how light weight and balanced this electric bicycle is… at ~37 lbs it’s one of the lightest models I’ve tested and the weight is fairly evenly distributed across the frame and kept low for good balance
  • The is one of the most affordable electric bikes I’ve tested, especially considering it offers 14 speeds, ships for $50 in the US and comes with a one year warranty!
  • Surprisingly comfortable to ride… the steel frame and fork absorbs vibration and the 38c tires offer good cushion, best of all the “sparrow” style swept-back handlebar and padded grips provide a more upright body position keeping back and neck muscles from straining too much
  • Available in two fun colors, bright gloss blue and bright gloss orange… perhaps Everly likes the Denver Broncos?
  • Solid adjustable length kickstand reduces tips and scratches, the seat post has a unique accent at the top for style I suppose and the branding is simple, beautiful and vintage
  • One of the most bicycle-esque electric bikes I’ve tested, it’s meant to be pedaled and performs well with so many gears and the efficient large city wheels, I had no problem carrying it up and down stairs and I’m sure it would work on most hang-style bike racks


  • The motor is on the small side by American standards but this keeps it light weight and efficient, the battery is about half the size of what I’d call average but keeps the triangle free for two bottle cages or accessories and is super fast to charge at ~1.5 hours
  • Even though there are 10 magnets on the cadence sensor, it took a bit longer to activate and de-activate during my ride tests
  • I couldn’t figure out how to switch from kilometers per hour to miles per hour… minor gripe but this could be annoying (or teach you how to use metric)
  • The battery pack rattles around a bit, you might be able to tighten the fit with some layers of electrical tape to act as a shim or use some rubber bumpers but don’t overdo it or the pack might not click all the way down and fall off… which is much worse than some rattly noises ;)
  • Lots of generic or lesser well-known parts here including the motor, battery, derailleur, plastic pedals and v-brakes with levers that are on the small side given the extra effort required for mechanical activation
  • The top speed is a bit more limited here at ~18 mph compared with most ebikes I test in the US that go ~20 mph or up to ~28 if they are speed pedelecs
  • Only available in traditional diamond high-step which might be a little tall for short-legged riders (standover height is ~31 inches)
  • No motor inhibitor switches built into the brake levers, this means there can be a second-long delay when stopping (where the motor continues running, fighting your brakes)


2 years ago

Thanks for the detailed and helpful review! How would you consider the Everly for a rural commute, as opposed to city only? I have a 13 mi commute one way with a couple mild hills, all on road shoulders. I’m looking for an ebike to cut the time down, not for a pedal-free experience, so the lack of throttle isn’t an issue. It sounds like sustaining a 20ish mph pace with pedal assist isn’t a problem?

2 years ago

The Everly could be a great fit for active riding like you’ve described but the motor tops out around 18 mph vs. 20 mph so the experience might be more like occasional assist when wind or hills come into the picture and mostly your pedal energy on flats and downhill. The main benefits are light weight, relative comfort and lower price tag from my point of view. Your commute sounds pretty long, you must be in excellent shape!

2 years ago

Excellent shape is a bit of an overstatement. :) I can make the 13 mi commute, but it takes me like an hour and a half, so I pretty much never do, and instead bike the 1 mi to the bus. My goal is for this to be exercise for me so I want it to still require some effort. Even if I can ride with assist at 18 mph vs 20 mph, that would still be about twice the pace, which is what pretty close to I’m looking for. Thanks again!

JJ Price
1 year ago

Does this bike have a quick-release on the front wheel? Thanks!

1 year ago

Hi JJ! No, I’m pretty sure it does not because the axle is built into the hub motor and uses bolts at the end. You may be able to call the company and ask about solutions, there are aftermarket parts for QR but most of them are for 11 mm skewers and I’m not exactly sure how thick the axle is here.

JJ Price
1 year ago

Can this possibly work for a 5’6″ rider? It looks like it’d be a couple inches too high?? Thanks for your help!

1 year ago

Hi JJ! I think if you’ve got decent balance and are comfortable riding high-step bikes the Everly could work for you but it might not be as easy to get on or stand over at rest… You might have to use tippy toes. For reference, I’m 5’9″ and you an see how I stand over and ride in the video, my inseam is 31.5″ so keep that in mind, I tend to have long legs for my height :)

Jenny Price
1 year ago

Thanks so much, Court–and your site has been SUPER helpful for making my decision on which bike to buy. I ended up stumbling into a great deal on a demo iZip Path, so I checked your review and went for it. Jenny

Bill K
1 year ago

Here’s my 8-month review (approximately 600 miles): Reason for purchase: I live in the foothills of far northern California’s coastal range. At 65 years of age, the constant up-and-downs were taking the pleasure out of riding from my home, so I decided to try a pedal-assist bike. Even though my cycling friends still tease me, I have found that I tend to nearly always be peddling. I’m just going faster, further, and having more fun while still getting plenty of exercise.

  • Range: 30-mile average when using assist only for hills; 22-mile range when aggressively pedaling in full assist mode. My flat-land mileage is astronomical as the large chain ring keeps bike moving at a good pace and the assist is seldom used.
  • Pros: Price; classic styling; upright posture; fast battery recharge; smooth ride; knowing that I can get home (uphill from everywhere) without arriving heavily exhausted.
  • Meh: Weight — the assist negates the weight issue; lack of sustained power — will not pull a long, steep grade for more than 30 seconds without tripping the thermal overload, but it is easily reset after a few seconds of inactivity; assist works better when accelerating uphill which is way too cool; top speed achieved is 25 mph, coasting downhill — I could have gone faster but 25 mph is uncomfortably fast for me; average uphill speed is 15 mph; brakes — old technology, but they work.
  • Cons: Bike not pre-assembled as one would expect. Everything — even the pedal cranks — needed to be tightened and adjusted, as if it were being shipped to a bicycle shop instead of the consumer; frame is too large for most adults to comfortably straddle.
    Would I purchase again? Yes. I’d even buy another one today for my wife if it were available in a smaller frame size.
1 year ago

That was wonderful Bill, I enjoyed reading along and appreciate your thorough feedback on the bike having owned it now for a while :)


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

1 week ago

i bought a Js1 BesV bike around 2 years ago. the bike is a great around town commuter for me but recently the battery has severly dropped in its ability to hold a charge.
after bringing it to the local Besv dealer/repair shop (Pacific Ebike/Berkeley) they called Besv and told me it was still under warranty and Besv would send me a replacement battery.

so glad i brought this in under the 2 year mark for the warranty.

so Besv said i would be sent a temporary battery until the replacement arrives, i thought that was great but it has been a month and no temporary battery yet. So, great initial response but the follow through has so far been nonexistent as the shop had no contact from Besv regarding shipment of temporary battery as well as an eta for the replacement.

Currently i'm having the shop chase down what's going on with the battery with Besv.

i haven't heard or read of others experience with customer service with Besv so i thought i would share mine as it develops.

these are expensive bikes. i hope the warranty is honored in a timely manner.

does anyone else have an experience or advice to share?

Ann M.
11 months ago

No ebike is perfect, this is a thread dedicated to sharing known issues or problems with electric bikes from Everly as well as any help and solutions you know of. Sometimes that means a DIY fix and other times it can mean a recall, software update or part replacement by a dealer.

Please be respectful and constructive with feedback, this is not a space for hate speech. In many cases, representatives from the company will see feedback and use it to improve their product. In the end, the goal is to enjoy riding and help each other go further and be safer.

Ann M.
1 year ago

San Francisco based Faraday Bicycles has a new home as part of Pon Holdings, a large Dutch conglomerate that also owns Gazelle, Focus and Kalkhoff electric bike companies. It's an exciting move for the 5 year old start up run

by entrepreneur and designer, Adam Vollmer.

Started in 2012 to create a sleek commuter ebike, the Porteur, that integrated smart phone based controls and a cleverly concealed battery was financed through crowdfunding at Kickstarter and began shipping bikes in 2014. Adam will still be the guy in charge and is excited about opportunities to expand into the European market where classy commuters are always popular. http://www.bicycleretailer.com/north-america/2017/01/09/pon-holdings-acquires-faraday-bicycles#.WHjnHn3cCQI by Bicycle Retailer's Lynette Carpiet.

sexton Tom
1 year ago

Thanks BH !!! I meant you and not Steve. A senior moment !!!! Yes I can see the foldable part being an advantage.

BH eBiker
1 year ago

Not sure who Steve is but I picked the Mini over the Rover as I thought it would make a good commuter and "last mile" solution. I also like the folding feature for storage/transport. I'm building an old dune buggy and the RadMini will be good to throw in the back.

I work near Rodeo but I don't hang out there much as it is kind of over the top. People in Beverly Hills are incredibly friendly. I probably walk by celebs all the time without realizing it.

BH eBiker
1 year ago

Yea, zippy again! Connector to the display panel was not connected properly at the factory. Got the light to work. Took it for a nighttime ride around the slums of Beverly Hills. I'll probably always keep it in level 5. Let the eco commuting and mods begin.

2 years ago

is there a USA site we can order this same bag from? Does anyone have any recommendations for a retailer in the USA? Thanks.

2 years ago

I have this in order for my ST2S. Hope to get it this week or next week. Will report about it
Its a Ortlieb trunk-bag. It comes with a quick-release adapter which is mounted separately. The adapter cleverly also have mounting-bars for pannier-bags (=eliminates potential conflicts between a trunkbag and panniers).


2 years ago

Nice bike, as it should be for the price. What motor are they using?
Worth noting that ALL Ebikes have "power meter" that limits power. They are the Levels and each corresponds to an equivilancy of human power. IE: Eco = .50 x human power, Norm = 1.0 x human power, Sport = 2.0 human, etc etc. They may all vary, and use different labels, but all restrict the power by levels.

2 years ago


$5500 MSRP

EBikes have arrived in Miami! A very well respected bike store near UM, called Mack Cycles, is now carrying electric bikes.. Specialized, Cannondale (who knew?) and Townie.

The Turbo Levo is a proprietary motor/battery/frame from Specialized.. Very light.. 45lbs and it is cleverly built in with motor and battery. If you believe the salesman, the bike is good for 5 hours of track use. He also told me that the same people who designed the iPhone battery designed this pack.. :::eyeroll:::

What I really like about this bike is that it addresses my concerns about eBikes on bike trails...The bike has a built in power meter, and it will not add more than 100% of your pedal power with the motor. This will limit the acceleration and give a lot more foot control. 3" low pressure tires give plenty of grip over anything.

Rode it around the parking lot, didn't seem any more responsive than any other ebike i've ridden.. hard to say... Not a roadie bike. .Strictly off road. Hoping they have a demo day at the Virginia Key MTB trails...

Maybe Court can get some saddle time?

Aidan Bremner
2 years ago

Hi thanks for your quick reply :
Fairly new means two weeks . No i dont fry my batteries i have enough experience with vehicle repairs nor do i boil them . Im hawkeye watching them and monitoring their progress .
Fortunately i openened the battery casing and found the culprit , a loose soldering joint that hadnt been tinned sufficiently during assembly . The charging socket terminal just needed tinning then re-soldering the yellow wire . Easy job for me , and all seems well .Some nipped wires as they pass over battery edges but only outer wire covers. Could be down to rough handling in transport especially in Portugal as my wifes Cheetah took a bashing at the rear end distorting the frame severly , but i was able to use a cloth covered trolley jack handle to bend back some of the frame damage incurred in the transport .The main rear forks were not harmed and the bike is strongly made in general . Ive found one company representative easy to negotiate with and some compensation was offered which im quite pleased with . Its very useful to have two Dillenger Cheetahs to compare a part or exchange batteries etc .
A lot of interest has been shown in this Area of the Algarve in the bikes as theres some hills around and lots of retired people and generally great weather .
Ive cycled unicycles , tandems , made a reclining tricycle , in the past and own two three wheel cars . My feeling about the Cheetah is that its a fairly tame machine and trying to coax it faster results in a steering wobble prob due to the wide saddle and the small wheels and steering geometry combined . Trying to cycle it with a dead battery uphill is something else with just one gear . Doubt it will happen again .
As the motor hangs down quite low its vulnerable to some concrete slopes which aid wheelchairs to mount pavements . So ive improvised with a short length of white pvc rain gutter tailored to fit and strapped it on with plastic ties which protects the lowest point from accidental bumps . On my white Cheetah it looks like an original fitting .

FTC Complaint
3 years ago

The false and misleading claims are easily provable. However, the laws for false advertising claims apply to damage to an industry player, not the consumer. Consumers bringing false advertising claims about Storm to court will find themselves shut down. It is a moot point except to say (argue) that a contract was invalid.

The consumer has recourse through contact law. What was offered and accepted is different than what was delivered and paid for. The contract description changed!

Another potential avenue of recourse is Warranty Express or Implied. Did Sondors expressly say there was a 30 day warranty of some kind?

"Exercising your warranty" might be a way to convince your credit card company to issue a refund. First, You would have to give Storm the opportunity to cure any defect. I don't know if the warranty has dispappered from the ever changing indiegogo and Sondors web sites.

The warranty is essentially a contractual agreement that the good will be of a particular quality and without defect.

Having non-functional or poorly functional brakes could be considered a breach of the implied warranty as the bike would be unfit for the ordinary purposes.

The bike "should have" come with a warranty statement as well as a statement expressing "how the product should be used."

If you want recourse then you better take action soon after getting your bike, should it be defective.

A consumers best bet might be through CA.. Elements being what you have to prove.

3210. Breach of Implied Warranty of Merchantability - Essential Factual Elements

[Name of plaintiff] claims that the [consumer good] did not have the quality that a buyer would reasonably expect. This is known as "breach of an implied warranty." To establish this claim, [name of plaintiff] must prove all of the following:

1. That [name of plaintiff] bought a[n] [consumer good] [from/ manufactured by] [name of defendant];

2. That at the time of purchase [name of defendant] was in the business of [selling [consumer goods] to retail buyers] [manufacturing [consumer goods]]; and

3. That the [consumer good] [insert one or more of the following:]

[was not of the same quality as those generally acceptable in the trade;] [or]

[was not fit for the ordinary purposes for which such goods are used;] [or]

[was not adequately contained, packaged, and labeled;] [or]

[did not measure up to the promises or facts stated on the container or label.]

Directions for Use
If remedies are sought under the Commercial Code, the plaintiff may be required to prove reasonable notification within a reasonable time. (Cal. U. Com. Code, § 2607(3).) If the court determines such proof is necessary, add the following element to this instruction:

That [name of plaintiff] took reasonable steps to notify [name of defendant] within a reasonable time that the [consumer good] did not have the quality that a buyer would reasonably expect;

See also CACI No. 1243, Notification/Reasonable Time. Instructions on damages and causation may be necessary in actions brought under the Commercial Code.

Delete element 2 if the defendant is the manufacturer of the consumer good in question or if it is uncontested that the defendant was a retail seller within the meaning of the act.

If appropriate to the facts, add: "It is not necessary for [name of plaintiff] to prove the cause of a defect of the [consumer good]." The Song-Beverly Consumer Warranty Act does not require a consumer to prove the cause of the defect or failure, only that the consumer good "did not conform to the express warranty." (See Oregel v. American Isuzu Motors, Inc. (2001) 90 Cal.App.4th 1094, 1102, fn. 8 [109 Cal.Rptr.2d 583].)

In addition to sales of consumer goods, the Consumer Warranty Act applies to leases—see Civil Code sections 1791(g)-(i) and 1795.4. This instruction may be modified for use in cases involving the implied warranty of merchantability in a lease of consumer goods.


§ 2-313. Express Warranties by Affirmation, Promise, Description, Sample.
https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-103#Seller_2-103are created as follows:

[*](a) Any affirmation of fact or promise made by the https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-103#Seller_2-103 to the https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-103#Buyer_2-103 which relates to the https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-105#Goods_2-105and becomes part of the basis of the bargain creates an express warranty that the goods shall conform to the affirmation or promise.
[*](b) Any description of the https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-105#Goods_2-105which is made part of the basis of the bargain creates an express warranty that the goods shall conform to the description.
[*](c) Any sample or model which is made part of the basis of the bargain creates an express warranty that the whole of the https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-105#Goods_2-105 shall conform to the sample or model.

https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-103#Seller_2-103 use formal words such as "warrant" or "guarantee" or that he have a specific intention to make a warranty, but an affirmation merely of the value of the https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-105#Goods_2-105 or a statement purporting to be merely the seller's opinion or commendation of the goods does not create a warranty.

§ 2-314. Implied Warranty: Merchantability; Usage of Trade.
https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-316.html), a warranty that the https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-105#Goods_2-105 shall be merchantable is implied in a https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-106#contract_2-106 for their https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-106#sale_2-106 if the https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-103#Seller_2-103 is a https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-104#Merchant_2-104with respect to goods of that kind. Under this section the serving for value of food or drink to be consumed either on the premises or elsewhere is a sale.

https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-105#Goods_2-105to be merchantable must be at least such as

[*](a) pass without objection in the trade under the https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-106#contract_2-106description; and
[*](b) in the case of fungible https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-105#Goods_2-105, are of fair average quality within the description; and
[*](c) are fit for the ordinary purposes for which such https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-105#Goods_2-105are used; and
[*](d) run, within the variations permitted by the https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-106#agreement_2-106, of even kind, quality and quantity within each unit and among all units involved; and
[*](e) are adequately contained, packaged, and labeled as the https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-106#agreement_2-106may require; and
[*](f) conform to the promise or affirmations of fact made on the container or label if any.

Mike Nemeth
4 months ago

I also read over the past few days that the cost of lithium-ion batteries are going down. Bloomberg New Energy Finance (BNEF) reports that lithium-ion battery prices have fallen “by almost half just since 2014”
Still, the price of the lithium-ion cells used in electric-car battery packs is going down—and it's doing so at a much faster rate than predicted."

'https://wardsauto.com/ideaxchange/two-tidbits-ces could drop below $100 per kilowatt-hour by 2020, and below $80 per kwh not long after that, reports WardsAuto.'

I haven't read anywhere that they have found a new technology for storage as much as lithium-ion is now the standard being used and the price coming down due to production going up. By the time we are ready for a new battery we may see a significant drop in the cost.

I've been also experimenting with speed settings as I ride since I've ran out twice. The last two rides I have started out in level 2 normal mode and have gone to level 3 on the way back. 20-21 mile rides, no wind, some elevation change. I had 1/2 to 3/4 of my battery left when I came back.

5 months ago

Mark - thanks for posting the trailway vids. Plans are in the works to extend this 43.7 connected Bronx-Westchester-Putnam route. My company, an engineering and land surveying firm, has been providing design services for a number of downstate NY trails, including the Hudson River Greenway on the west side of NYC that the guys rode in Court's video. We recently bid on a design/build project for Metro North Railroad which will consist of a 23 mile shared pedestrian bike trail connecting the Putnam Maybrook Trailway to the Dutchess Rail Trail. The Dutchess Rail Trail, Walkway over the Hudson, and the Hudson Valley Rail Trail will add another 18 miles of continuous paved ped/bike path and take you to the west side of the Hudson River past Poughkeepsie into Ulster County. This is all part of the Governor's initiative to build 350 miles of new trail running from the metro NYC area to Canada called the New York Empire State Trail. This would connect 750 miles of trail across and through the state by 2020. Let's hope that initiative continues to be funded through subsequent administrations. This is only going to happen if we all continue to be active advocates for alternative, healthier transportation routes.

5 months ago

Definitely the bigger the better but there is no reason in the world a battery this size should cost $1000 besides greed, Luna has proven that. You can buy a high quality 17 ah battery from them for just about half that, a little more but not much and there's something wrong with that picture.

5 months ago

Again, The question was should OP upgrade to a 17.4ah if they want to travel at assist level 3, with a 20mi commute, on hilly terrain with a single charge? The OP is not on flat land texas or throttle in the mountains of Colorado. Neither is the OP trying to travel 30+ mi at 30mph. Because you seem to be in a situation that is perfect conditions for an ebike (and not your exaggerated examples) doesn't make it universally applicable. Taking into factors that the battery should be charged ~85% and the motor starts to sputter under 30%, during real world performance, I suggest OP buy a 17.4ah battery for that situation. My situation also warrants a 17.4ah (21ah can't fit in s/t). I am considering a 17.4 battery and an 8.8ah backup. I'd carry the 8.8ah instead of a charger on longer rides and can be swapped out for the home stretch or errands with less bulk. Lots of local rides are atleast 20mi round trip through terrain, which I wouldn't feel confident doing on a 12.8ah battery. What made you go for the CC-S over the CC Air or light bicycle if you are always in eco boost?

Niche isn't bad, toys aren't just for kids, like supercars or 3d printers. CC-S is still probably the best sub $3k ebike but there are grey areas in the market as well. Are e-bikes bulky overpowered bicycles, slimmed down under-powered motorcycles, gas alternative, all terrain or road, etc? My state won't all ow me be register as a bicycle because it has motor assistance, and can't be a moped because it has pedal assist. Battery/mileage is always a limiting factor whether phones or teslas. I would compare Cross Current to the iPhone, the Cross Current S to the iPhone 3g, and hopefully the Cross Current 2020 will be the iPhone 4s. Advancements from CC -> CC-s, seeing prices for battery packs increase in size and decrease in price, and even kickstarter (see: delfast bikes), are encouraging but I don't think you could convince a college student to buy an CC-S over a beater car or moped.

6 months ago

My money has been locked up for a very very loooong two years. Can one guess how many missed delivery dates before the mind wonders whether the designers are viable or their intention has gone awry. Only recently they started to now claim all delivery dates were estimated but who would have ever invested with open ended delivery promises. Yeah, sure, your 2015 car might arrive in 2020, maybe. And, we want out money up front. What kind of company would operate that way?

They're still on the PR push but life, and new product, is passing them by, and they just don't get it. Sad.

I'm still hoping to get the bike but don't believe anything the developers say. Maybe it'll show before my 70th birthday; I'm almost 69 now.

7 months ago

I live in Louisville, 130 miles from center track at Hopkinsville, KY.
I couldn't buy any "eclipse glasses" Friday, after I found out they existed Thursday night. Welding dept of the Farm supply was out of grade 10 glass, somebody else was thinking. I didn't find my grade 11 welding glass from years ago in the garage until Sunday night at 2200. Then I had to decide- pedal the 130 miles on my mountain bike? 20 hours left x 10 mph, doable. Weather was perfect. Oh, how I wished I had the electric wheel kit installed already. I decided my setter wasn't ready for 16 hours on the saddle. No I don't have running cars. and my friends could care less about science. They believe it is all a myth, just like evolution.
The traffic jam on the I65 freeway interchange (Elizabethtown) was so bad Sun afternoon & Monday that made the news. On the bike I would have taken US 60 west then KY 79 southwest, but Kentucky doesn't have wide lanes or even berms on blue line highways. Another reason I didn't go.
So I saw the crescent sun through grade 7 glasses plus grade 11 welding hood, and only glanced, so no ill effects. No the crecent is not anything to write home about. It got darker today in a storm that it did here 130 miles off the path of the total eclipse.
Next total eclipse in 2024 goes through maybe Colombus IN; I could get there on a bike in about 10 hours. Electric about 6. US 31 in Indiana has 13' lanes, much better than KY. If I last that long - I'm age 67.

7 months ago

The 5050 is a good pedal, I've got a couple friends that have and like them very much. Piece of cake installing. This should help, the video should be about a minute and a half long, but.....the.....guy.....talks.....very.....slow. He's right on though.

8 months ago

I'm well, thanks. Glad to see you back in the saddle.

Ergon makes quality products, I own their great grips. The grip on those pedals would likely be minimal and in the rain possibly non existent. The size looks good and they look potentially comfortable. I wouldn't worry too much how they look, like a helmet you can't see them while your using them;)

Why I chose the Spry? Grip (power), comfort and ground clearence. I've ridden many style and price range of pedal, the lesser pedal can be painful riding more than an hour or so and they rarely offer good grip. The ones like the Spry can be unforgiving, should the rider make a mistake and their shin comes in contact with the studs. Toe clip pedals are probably the most forgiving for road riding. Not too many using toe clips these days with the variety of clipless pedals around. Clipless has it's own challenges, it can be a painful learning curve. Just a couple of weeks ago a guy I was riding a trail with, when we got off at a trailhead, he could not detach and he went down on the pavement. This was a very experienced clipless rider. I had to dismount and help him out of his bike. Scratched up bike and dented pride. You do get a full rotation power stroke with clips or clipless, you don't with other pedals and that's why some riders use them.

I've ridden platform and 5.10 shoes for about 3 to 4 years. The shoes are designed to lock onto the studs. With practice and concentration, a rider can achieve about 60% rotation power stroke. With pedals like the Ergon and normal sneakers, you might achieve 40% or so. Another reason to choose a pedal like the Spry is the option to change the studs or pins to double tips or actual pointed spikes. Not something I want coming in contact with my legs, but some competition riders need that for real mountain biking.

Given your last comment about the boots. That could be the issue. The weight and lug sole could be the reason for lack of grip and slipping. I use waterproof hikers in winter, when the weather warrants. They are really lightweight though. Most times I get away with silicone treated 5.10 high tops with merino wool socks. Before spending anything, I'd try some different shoes. Something lightweight that grips the pedals you have. See if that resolves the issue.

Lastly, in my opinion, the 3 areas bike manufactures supply modest parts are: saddles, grips and pedals. They assume riders are going to tweak those to their personal preference. Those are also the most difficult to give another rider recommendations. Where your body comes in contact with the bike, it's personal and there's no right or wrong.

Good luck and welcome back!

Mark Peralta
8 months ago

The SHIMANO A530 SPD PEDALS have 2 sides. One as a platform and the other side as clipless pedal. When I use clipless cycling shoes, it keeps my feet centered, prevent my feet from slipping, and prevent my shoes from rubbing the pedal cranks (one cause of inefficiency). When I unclip my shoes, the pedal has the natural tendency to rotate and expose the platform surface so I can easily continue pedaling on it (very helpful when coming to a stop). I can also ride it even when not using my cycling shoes since it has the platform side.

I use MTB shoes over road cycling shoes since I can still walk comfortably with it as opposed to difficult-to-walk road cycling shoes.

I fell once at a stop when I unclipped my shoes but one shoe accidentally clipped again. Ouch! I learned from that painful experience and it never happened again.

8 months ago

If you find lift worthwhile but don't like the restraint of clip pedals or straps, try "half clips". The Zefal Cristophe are nice and durable https://tinyurl.com/y8e8pra3 , and they work great with a moderately priced alloy pedal like a Wellgo https://tinyurl.com/y7t6kelu .

10 months ago

What was the final result and price tag for parts and labor?

10 months ago

I don't sweat it over batteries nor do I waste my valuable time trying to maximize life. I have several ebikes and I just charge them up and use them. I don't use any special chargers, timers etc. My oldest lithium is 7-years old and still holds over 95% capacity. My 2nd oldest ebike battery is from 2013 and has only lost 10% capacity. I don't do 80% charge, 60% charge or whatever. I just charge them up and use them and don't think twice about it until I need to charge it again. Yea batteries are expensive but even if you get 3-4 years out of it, who knows what the technology will be in 2021-22.

Robert Eaves
2 years ago

I've gotta say are you sponsored by Thud Buster and Body Float ? Every video they get a mention lol.

2 years ago

i wonder how much the kit alone would be . not heard of it yet . nice low price city cruiser

2 years ago

+NWforager I'm not sure, seems like it's made by the Scud group from China (which is primarily a battery manufacturer) they have systems on other bikes as well including the Freway VR-01 https://electricbikereview.com/freway/vr-01/

2 years ago

Of all the lesser known companies, it seems like you liked the Surface 604 best for motor responsive-ness.

2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com court, I am still amazed at how many never heard-of-before companies pop-up in your reviews. It must mean something that there are more e-bike companies now than regular non-powered bike brands. (or at least it seems that way)

2 years ago

+ForbinColossus Yeah, they did a great job... I also liked the E-Lux bikes recently which only had 6 magnet sensors but actually seemed to work better than the 10 sensor unit on the Everly, surprising.

brighton dude
2 years ago

I think there is a lot to like about that e-bike. Although the brakes and gears are pretty cheap these could be upgraded in the future.

That simple inexpensive steel frame is just as good as the fancy expensive aluminium ones, in fact better in many ways because it is easily repaired.

I quite like the smaller battery because for shorter trips it is less weight. If you live in a city, like me, then the vast majority of trips are about 3 to 4 miles. You don’t need a big battery for that. If you do want to go on a longer journey then you can take a second battery.

With a totally standard frame like that one the options for luggage carrying and mudguards are enormous.

Leather saddle as standard is rather cool. That will be very comfortable after about 200 miles if it is like the Brooks saddles.

2 years ago

+brighton dude Cool, thanks for sharing these examples

brighton dude
2 years ago

 - Yes steel is easier to weld and it can be bent whereas aluminium is a problem in that regard.

Any bike frame builder could also customise that frame easily. If you decided to have different dropouts or perhaps bottle cage mounts in a different position, this can all be done whereas with an aluminium frame that is not usually possible.

Steel is real!

2 years ago

+brighton dude Yeah, most of the component mounts and sizing are "standard" so they would be easy to upgrade with Shimano parts if you wanted (the cassette and derailleur, bottom bracket, brakes etc.)

I'm a fan of steel when it's used on a bike like this, it's actually the recommended material for front-mounted motors because it's stronger. Is Steel easier to weld, is that what you mean by repairable or like bend back into place while Aluminum is more brittle?

2 years ago

I really like the traditional look about this bike. it doesn't scream ebike so cops are less likely to be a problem.

2 years ago

+DrZarkloff Yeah, if the Everly used a battery pack like we saw on the Add-E the thing would be super-stealth https://electricbikereview.com/add-e/250w-kit/

Flo Mo
2 years ago

An urban classic. Very beautiful. Great video. Thank you. :)

2 years ago

+Elya Cornovier Sure thing, classic is the perfect word... it's a beautiful bike :D

J. McInen
2 years ago

Again, you took the time to find a beautiful location for filming. Like I commented in the discussion section, besides entertaining my curiosity for e-bikes, your videos are like free 15 minute virtual holidays in beautiful sunny locations. I mostly watch Youtube on my Xbox One through my TV in 1080p, so the quality of your videos really comes through. Thank you!

2 years ago

+Joergen8 o_O Hey, awesome! I really appreciate the feedback and realize that not all of the videos are at cool spots... but I try my best to get out there ;)

duwaine blake
2 years ago

that seat liked d
your ass is going to be in pain

2 years ago

+duwaine blake For a while... yeah, probably if you ride a lot. Leather breaks in eventually (like cowboy boots) and then it's tough but also softer

duwaine blake
2 years ago

looks like garbage... pass

Ole Fredrik Schreuder
2 years ago

Hi, do you know if this bike is available in Europe? Great review btw. :)

2 years ago

+Ole Fredrik Schreuder Hi Ole! I cannot say for sure but the manufacturer has shipped to Canada and Mexico before so I'm guessing Europe would be a possibility? Check out their website and maybe reach out to one of the online sellers to see what it would cost and if they'd do it: http://everly.bike/ I'd love to hear back from you here if you find out and what it costs!