Haibike XDURO Trekking RX Review

Haibike Trekking Rx Electric Bike Review 1
Haibike Trekking Rx
Haibike Trekking Rx 350w Centerdrive
Haibike Trekking Rx 36v Removable Battery
Haibike Trekking Rx Bosch Lcd Panel
Haibike Trekking Rx Front Sr Fork
Haibike Trekking Rx Rack And Pump
Haibike Trekking Rx Rear Disc Brake
Haibike Trekking Rx Sram Dualdrive
Haibike Trekking Rx Electric Bike Review 1
Haibike Trekking Rx
Haibike Trekking Rx 350w Centerdrive
Haibike Trekking Rx 36v Removable Battery
Haibike Trekking Rx Bosch Lcd Panel
Haibike Trekking Rx Front Sr Fork
Haibike Trekking Rx Rack And Pump
Haibike Trekking Rx Rear Disc Brake
Haibike Trekking Rx Sram Dualdrive

Summary

  • Ultra efficient centerdrive motor leverages nine speed cassette and three speed SRAM hub for climbing and distance
  • Top of the line commuting accessories including dynamo powered LED lights, rear rack with pump, suspension fork and fenders
  • Low and balanced weight distribution, removable battery pack for convenient charging, hydraulic disc brakes

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Haibike

Model:

XDURO Trekking RX

Price:

$4,000 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

5 Year Frame, 2 Year Motor and Battery

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

51 lbs (23.13 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.5 lbs (2.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum 6061, Hydroformed Tubes, Gravity Casting Interface, Tapered

Frame Sizes:

18.89 in (47.98 cm)20.47 in (51.99 cm)22.04 in (55.98 cm)23.62 in (59.99 cm)

Frame Types:

Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Grey with Black and Neon Green Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour NCX-D LO CTS, With Lockout, 63 mm Travel, Tapered

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

29 Speed 3×9 SRAM PG 950, SRAM Dual Drive 3-Speed Rear Hub

Shifter Details:

SRAM Dual Drive Trigger Shifters on Left and Right Bars

Cranks:

Xduro Aluminum

Pedals:

XLC One-Piece

Headset:

FSA No. 57, Semi-Integrated, Tapered

Stem:

Xduro Aluminum, A-Head

Handlebar:

Xduro Lowriser Aluminum

Brake Details:

Tektro Gemini Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Reach Adjust Levers

Grips:

XLC Sport with Locking Rings

Saddle:

Selle San Marco Milano

Seat Post:

Xduro Aluminum

Rims:

Rodi T 622, Alloy Double Wall, Eyelets

Spokes:

DT Swiss Industry, black, 2.0 mm

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Energizer Pro, 700 x 38c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewalls

Accessories:

LED Superbright Headlight by Trelock and Haibike Iceberg taillight, Pletscher ARA Kickstand, Aluminum Rack with Tire Pump, Composite Fenders with Mud Flaps

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Gen 2 with Shift Detection

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

550 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

65 miles (105 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Intuvia, Removable Backlit Grayscale LCD

Readouts:

Speed, 4 Assist Levels, Battery Voltage, Odometer, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Button Feedback

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Combined Torque, Cadence and Speed Measured 1,000 Times Per Second), (Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The XDURO Trekking RX is Haibike at its best. Originally known for producing powerful and sturdy off-road electric bikes like the AMT PRO, this bike is a pioneer in the touring and commuting category. You get nearly every accessory needed to deal with cargo transport, nighttime riding and damp weather conditions. There’s even a little hand-pump attached to the rear rack and dealing with flats is a breez on this and other centerdrive ebikes because the wheels are just like a normal bicycle. At $4K this bike is priced in line with other high end touring systems and the four frame sizes offered make for a better fit (something that has traditionally been harder to come by in the electric bicycle world). With incredible range, climbing ability and support provided by Currie Technologies in the US this is an impressive product.

Powering the Haibike Trekking RX is the Gen2 Bosch centerdrive motor now offering 350 watts of power. It keeps motor weight low and center on the bike frame (right where you want it for balance) and leverages 29 speeds for the most efficient electric drive of all ebikes in the Haibike range at this time. The rear hub is a Sram Dual Drive with three internal gears and there’s a nine speed cassette next to it that uses a regular bicycle chain. One of the neat things about this and other mid-drive ebikes is that maintenance and service on the wheels is handle just like a regular bike. The motor is smart enough to sense when you’re switching gears and that means you won’t experience as much wear or mashing on the chain and cassette. While the motor is a bit louder than some gearless hub designs (producing a soft high pitched whine shown in the video review) it’s not as loud as some and depending on the surroundings and riding terrain it’s not something that bothered me.

The battery pack used with this system is a 36 volt 11 amp hour Lithium-ion configuration that’s light weight and long lasting. It’s removable for easy charging or multiple pack use on those long distance rides. Even though the official specs say 25 to 35 miles my experience is that it can go much further. By leveraging the gears on this bike and always using pedal assist (there’s no throttle mode) you get excellent range. The battery has a nice LED indicator on the side that displays battery level even without turning the bike on which is nice. The pack is low and center, just like the motor, but does take up the space where a bottle cage might have otherwise mounted. I feel like they could have added bosses to the seat tube for a cage mount but it’s not the end of the world. There are some cool handlebar bottle bags, pannier bags and CamelBak solutions that can work here.

I like the Bosch display unit and extended button panel used on the Trekking. You get a large, backlit screen that shows speed, distance and assist level but don’t have to take your hand off the grip to interact with it. On the left bar there’s a small plastic button pad with up, down and info selectors. The other neat thing about the display is that you can either lock it to the mount with a set screw or remove the screw and take the panel with you (to prevent tampering and vandalism). I’m a fan of taking it with me during work commute trips where the bike will be left in a garage or public place. It’s nice that they give you the choice here though I’ve heard that removing screens too often can allow for dirt and debris to build up and weaken the electronic connection… just clean it every once in a while ;)

The Trekking RX is an electric bike capable of going the distance, hauling gear and staying comfortable with fenders, lights and suspension. The front fork offers lockout and 63mm of travel but doesn’t add much weight to the overall system. This bike weighs in at ~51 pounds which is average for ebikes but impressive here considering all of the options and accessories. It’s like an electric bike for non-ebikers who love riding but might be struggling with hills or longer distances. As with the eMountain Bike niche that Haibike first introduced and now dominates, this is another space that I feel is on the verge of adoption. The Trekking wold make an excellent touring bike, commuter or light trail bike. It has efficient tires, a unique frame with sloping top-tube for easier standing and hydraulic disc brakes that keep your hands from getting tired but provide plenty of stopping power even with a full load.

Pros:

  • Light weight frame and components, well balanced drive system (motor and battery low and center)
  • Includes integrated front and rear LED lights with custom matching design that look awesome
  • Rear rack is sturdy and functional with standard gauge tubing and included tire pump for easy flat repairs
  • Bosch drive system is efficient, smooth and powerful with removable battery for convenient charging
  • Stiff cranks, decent pedals, rigid frame for good power transfer when riding
  • Impressive 9 speed cassette with three speed internal hub for 29 pedaling speeds! Excellent for touring or commuting
  • Great customer support and warranty from Currie Technologies in the US (part of Accell Group which owns Haibike)
  • Four frame sizes so the bike will fit and feel great over long distances (48cm, 52cm, 56cm, 60cm)
  • Centerdrive design makes wheel repairs much easier than hub motors which have extra cables and add weight to the wheel

Cons:

  • The battery pack takes up the space where a water bottle cage might otherwise mount
  • Externalized battery and larger bottom bracket make it obvious that this is an electric bike “less stealth”
  • No throttle mode, this bike only uses pedal assist (like all Bosch powered systems)

Resources:

More Haibike Reviews

Haibike XDURO AllMtn 8.0 Review

  • MSRP: $6,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

The highest specced all mountain electric model from Haibike, longer 150 mm travel on front and rear air suspension by Magura and Fox paired with a steeper fork angle and plus sized tires let you handle most terrain. Premium Magura hydraulic disc brakes 203/180 size with adjustable lightweight carbon levers and quad piston…...

Haibike SDURO HardFour 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high performance, purpose built electric mountain bike for kids or petite adults... but mostly kids! Limited top speed of 15 mph for safety, full 9-speed Shimano drivetrain. Capable 160 mm hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable-reach levers for smaller hands, only available in…...

Haibike SDURO HardNine 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the most affordable Haibikes in the line, available in four frame sizes, relatively lightweight, large 29er tires provide float and momentum at speed for cross country riding. Very capable mid-drive system (the same motor and battery as some higher-priced Haibike models), zero…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty, 28 mph, commuter-ready, electric bicycle made in six frame sizes across two styles, a stiffer high-step and easy approach step-thru. Reinforced fenders stay quiet, oversized rack with spring latch and Racktime connector, integrated LED lights…...

Haibike XDURO FullSeven Carbon Ultimate Review

  • MSRP: $16,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high-performance electric mountain bike available in four frame sizes, stiff carbon frame for improved power transfer and handling, carbon accents include seat post, saddle, handlebar, wheelset and more. Eleven speed Shimano Deore XTR drivetrain with Di2 electronic shifting for faster, more precise gear…...

Haibike SDURO AllMtn 6.0 Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A trail worthy, full suspension electric mountain bike with stiff lightweight frame construction, optimized suspension and a tightly integrated mid-drive motor from Yamaha. Upgraded 500 watt hour battery pack delivers 60+ miles on medium assist, powerful hydraulic disc…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautiful and capable all mountain style ebike with premium components from Schwalbe, Shimano, Magura and RockShox, the frame, fork and saddle are paint matched. The drive system is surprisingly powerful, delivering 80 Newton meters of peak torque output, it…...

Haibike XDURO Urban S RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed road bike with electric assist up to 28 mph (45 km/h), available in five frame sizes for improved fit and a vibration dampening seat post and shock stem for improved comfort. Efficient low-resistance tires with deep-dish aero rims and bladed spokes, keep the tire pressure up…...

Haibike SDURO Full FatSix Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only full suspension fat electric bikes I've seen, quality hardware including 20 speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, solid 2 year motor and battery warranty with 5 years on the frame. Powered by the Yamaha mid-drive ebike system with 500 watt motor, Zero Cadence pedal assist,…...

Haibike SDURO FullNine RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension 29er with mid-drive motor, slim battery and removable display by Yamaha, offers 80 Nm of torque and zero-cadence pedal assist response. The RX trim level is top of the line with light weight hardware from Shimano,…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN RC Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all mountain trail + downhill mid drive powered electric bike with 150 mm air suspension, rigid thru axles (15 mm front 142 x 12 mm rear). Impressive 20 speed drivetrain with quality Shimano Deore XT groupset, capable Shimano M615 hydraulic disc…...

Haibike XDURO DWNHLL Pro Review

  • MSRP: $8,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only true downhill ready electric bikes being made in series production, delivers a worldcup ready chassis and pro level components. Shimano Saint drivetrain and brakes (top of the line downhill groupset), with two piece Ice-Tech…...

Haibike XDURO FullLife RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Custom geometry with shorter reach to accommodate women (who tend to have shorter arms and torso but longer legs), shorter saddle with wider back, adjustable position brake levers for smaller hands. plush 120 mm front and rear Fox air suspension with 15 mm thru-axle front and…...

Haibike SDURO HardSeven SM Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable Haibike in the 2016 line, features the Yamaha drive system with a basic fixed LED display console, basic saddle, heavier oil suspension fork and cheaper Kenda tires without liners. Solid nine-speed SRAM X-4 drivetrain, no shift sensing or motor inhibitors, large 180 mm hydraulic…...

Haibike SDURO HardLife SL Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable women's specific electric bike from Haibike, leverages the Yamaha mid-drive, features an upgraded LCD screen with USB charging port. Excellent weight distribution, battery and motor are mounted low and center, the top tube is…...

Haibike XDURO Fullseven RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high performance full suspension electric mountain bike with quality components from Shimano, RockShox, and Fox. Responsive, durable and intuitive drive systems powered by Bosch, solid two year comprehensive warranty, five…...

Haibike XDURO AMT RX Review

  • MSRP: $6,350
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A high performance all-mountain electric bike with premium suspension from Fox and hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano. Thru axles on front and rear wheel for improved stiffness and durability, seat post dropper…...

Haibike XDURO Nduro Pro Review

  • MSRP: $9,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Premium downhill capable electric bike with 180 mm travel on front and rear Fox air suspension, available in four frame sizes for improved fit. Excellent weight distribution, Bosch-made Centerdrive motor and battery kept low and center on the frame,…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking Pro Review

  • MSRP: $4,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A long-range capable touring our commuting style electric bike that climbs well, has a balanced weight distribution and offers 27 speeds for a steady cadence at most speeds. Excellent accessories including LED lights, full-length fenders and sturdy rear-rack with spring latch...

Haibike XDURO Nduro RX

  • MSRP: $7,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The entry-level performance downhill electric bike from Haibike with 26" wheels , long travel 180 mm air suspension by Fox with CTD adjust and hydraulic Shimano SLX disc brakes. Excellent frame balance with motor and battery mounted low and center, quick release wheels with…...

Haibike XDURO Urban Review

  • MSRP: $4,450
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An efficient, light weight road style electric bike with a perfectly balanced all-aluminum frame and electric drive system. Convenient quick release wheels, integrated LED lights, quality hydraulic disc brakes and a removable battery…...

Haibike XDURO Fatsix Review

  • MSRP: $5,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The only Bosch powered electric fat bike I've seen with a suspension fork, RockShox air with remote lockout. Burly 15 mm front and 12 mm rear thru axles, extended bottom bracket and spindle…...

Haibike XDURO Race Review

  • MSRP: $6,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An extremely well balanced, light weight, high speed electric road bike - one of the only ebikes with drop bars that I've seen. Efficient centerdrive from Bosch can reach speeds of 28 mph and distance in excess of…...

Haibike XDURO FS RX 27.5″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance, well balanced, full suspension electric mountain bike with motor and battery kept low and center. Available in four frame sizes for good fit, larger 27.5" wheels improve traction, momentum and…...

Haibike XDURO RX 29″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Capable and sturdy eMountain bike with great frame balance, motor and battery (mounted low and center). Available in four frame sizes for good fit, large 29" wheels provide improved traction, momentum…...

Haibike XDURO Superrace Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the lightest weight, most efficient and fastest riding electric road bikes available. Premium components including Magura MT4 hydraulic disc brakes, Integrated LED lights and SRAM X0 drivetrain...

Haibike XDURO AMT Pro Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Top of the line all mountain style electric bike with full suspension and middrive motor. Light weight, high end frame and components keep bike under 50 pounds...


Bike_on
4 years ago

Nice review Court! This bike does seem to have it all – except the H2O mount. :)

One long term thought is the rear SRAM 3/9 speed drive. My first bike was a Giant Lite, 250W mid drive. I upgraded from a NExus 4 speed to an SRAM 7 speed internal hub, to increase my speed. What I found is that the wear and torque of the 250W mid drive motor took it’s toll on the internal hubs. I had to replace parts after 2 years of hard riding.

I think a cassette design is fine. Just change the cassette/chain, as needed. The mid drives will have chain wear and tooth wear. It’s a part of life for mid drives. But the internal hubs have smaller moving parts.

The internal hubs are convenient and more sleek, but unproven, in my mind, when used with a motor. The one exception may be the Rohloff 14 speed system, which I think has a torque rating of around 100nm. The Optibike systems, M55 Terminus and Outrider use it.

Reply
Bike_on
4 years ago

The Bosch Display looks very refined and solid. It blows away the Falco dsiplay unit I have, and offers something Optibike doesn’t have.

Reply
Dave Brown
4 years ago

It is definitely a beautiful, well integrated machine. I would love to know more about the efficiency of the motor in this configuration in a controlled test as it relates to the range of the bike. The motor does seem to be a bit noisier than the Bafang 8fun middrive that I have installed a Surly Ogre for similar duty. The audible wine from the drivetrain under power would definitely gather more annoyed looks on the bike path. Thank you for another interesting review.

Reply
Ian
4 years ago

Does this Bosch system have regenerative braking?

Reply
Court Rye
4 years ago

Hello Ian, no this system does not offer regenerative braking. In fact, I’m not aware of any mid-drive systems that do. The most common setup for regen is to use a gearless rear hub motor setup in a direct drive configuration. Bikes like the Specialized Turbo offer it as well as the Focus Jarifa Offroad and all of the BionX kits.

Reply
Michael
4 years ago

Everything looks excellent about this bike. I don’t know if European buyers are generally more affluent than folks in the US, but the $4,000 would seem to be too large hurdle for most of us, especially given many nearly as good choices at closer to a $2,000 price point….which already feels high. Does anyone else have thoughts on this?

Reply
Court Rye
4 years ago

Hi Michael! You’re right that this bike feels expensive and that Europeans might be more conditioned to ebikes (which would make the price more palatable). This is just my opinion but the Bosch drive system is at the very top end in terms of quality, durability and efficiency. You can literally get 70 miles per charge (depending on which assist level you choose) and the low centered weight, ease of repairing wheels/tires and extras like the dynamo powered LED’s, attached pump, fenders and rack really set it apart. Here’s a comparable ebike from another German company called Kalkhoff that offers a similar experience and goes for a slightly higher price. If you’re going to uses an electric bike to replace your car, these are the best choice but they do cost a pretty penny ;)

Reply
Jim Silva
4 years ago

Is there a date when the Trekking RX will be available for delivery. I test rode the RX version this weekend as was impressed with the control. Thanks

Reply
Court Rye
4 years ago

Great question Jim, I’d contact your nearest Currie Technologies dealer (eZip, IZIP and Haibike) to ask if they can order you one. I think some of these were selling out and have been backordered but I cannot say for sure. I haven’t seen this bike at any shops yet but have seen a few other Haibikes like the 29er.

Reply
Jim Silva
4 years ago

Thanks, I actually purchased the RX version at an opening in SF this weekend, figuring I would add a rack and fenders and then saw on their local website the Trekking versions. I have changed the order tentatively as the local guy is trying to find out a date also. I thought maybe you had other info??!

Reply
Jeff Petersen
4 years ago

This looks like the best integrated electric assist commuter bike on the market. Living on a hill, it will allow my wife to be comfortable climbing the hills to the bike path and home. We have two of these bikes on order and should receive them in a few weeks. We have enjoyed the first generation Giant Twisp bikes (now discontinued) at our seasonal home and am looking forward to the same at our permanent home.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

I’m not sure what other information you’re thinking of? Currie is preparing their 2015 models which are similar. The Trekking does come with fenders and a rack, it sounds like that might be what you want?

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Jeff, sounds like you two live in a beautiful place! I’m glad to hear ebikes have made riding more enjoyable and am excited for you with the Haibike Trekking (it’s a great design). Feel free to share your thoughts once you guys test it out either here or in the forums.

Reply
Greg Harm
3 years ago

It’s nice to see that Bosch is beginning to sell bikes in the US. Unfortunately, Bosch’s website, while it references a number of domestic bikes, such as Trek, Giant and others that are supposed to have Bosch motors on them, my attempts to learn more about these domestically available bikes came up short.

Am anxious to find more Bosch bikes, and hopefully, ones that don’t require a $4,000 investment. Please keep us posted on these new units as they become available.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Will do Greg, I think this drive system will be very popular on the ebikes we see here in the US for 2015. Yamaha is also coming out with a mid-drive system and IZIP has one for the E3 Peak. I think the Bosch systems are more premium so you’ll probably always be paying $3,000+ but that’s just a guess :)

Reply
Ben Harapat
3 years ago

Court, what is the top speed on this bike? I just had a look at one at a local dealer and he said that there is a chip that overides the top limit to generate 50kms an hour assist (30mph). Wondering if this is true and accurate. Love your reviews.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Ben, the stock maximum speed for the Trekking RX is 20 mph (~32 kph) but some Bosch powered electric bikes are capable of reaching 28 mph including the Race and Superrace from Haibike. There is a speed dongle out there which tricks the low-speed Bosch bikes into going faster by altering the speed signal going from the rear magnet readout into thinking the bike is always going half of the actual speed. I’ve been told this dongle voids the warranty but do not have hands on experience myself. Maybe in the future we’ll see more speed-pedelec Haibikes and you won’t have to mess with it aftermarket :)

Reply
Sandy
3 years ago

I just bought the Haibike Trekking RX this weekend and I am overjoyed with my purchase! I have exercise-induced asthma which greatly impacts my ability to handle hills without making my asthma kick in. My husband is a very accomplished cyclist and even though I’m fit and in good shape, the asthma really hinders my performance and I’m either left in the back every time we cycle together or I feel as though I’m holding back the group which is really embarrassing. I feel like I’m constantly making excuses for not being able to keep up and it’s really been discouraging me from wanting to get into cycling more often. After riding my Haibike this weekend, my experience was truly exceptional. At one point my 15 year old son who is very fit and strong had to ask me to slow down! What?! This never would have happened before getting the Haibike. My belief is that this bike essentially neutralizes hills when you’re riding. You still feel as though you’ve gotten a workout however you no longer feel like you’re having to kill yourself to complete your ride. We did 12.5 miles on Sunday after purchasing the bike and I never would have enjoyed my ride the way that I did had I been on my regular Trek bike. It’s not cheap but if you read the manual, removing the battery and not keeping it on the charge all the time helps to extend it’s life, as does keeping it in a ~ 70 degree environment. I’m hoping to enjoy my bike for a long time to come. I’ve already started looking for a small bike trailer for our Havanese dog so that she can join us on rides. :)

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

That is awesome Sandy! I experienced the challenges of exercise induced asthma as a young man while participating in recreational soccer (I barely made the team despite being fit, agile and interested). I’m so glad the Haibike has helped you overcome the discomfort of short breath and wheezing and coughing. It sounds like your Son likes it and the dog trailer is an awesome idea! I’d love to see some pics of that once it’s complete :D

Reply
Alan
3 years ago

29 speeds? 3 x 9 = ??

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Wow! Thanks for the heads up, I’ve changed each mention of “29 speeds” to the accurate 27 which is indeed what 3*9= :)

Reply
Gene Stacy
2 years ago

I live in Fussen Germany 6 months out of the year and mile from me is a Haibike dealer. They have the Sduro model which is a little cheaper than the X model. £2,599 but you can purchase the Xduro for £ 3,199

Reply
fred braakman
2 years ago

What is the difference between the XDURO Trekking Pro and the XDURO Trekking RX?

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Fred! I’ve been scanning the catalog trying to eek out an answer for you but all I’m seeing are two Trekking RX high step models (with one having an S designation) and two RX low-step along with the Yamaha powered SDURO models which it didn’t seem like you were asking about. So I don’t see an XDURO Pro for 2016… the big difference I see right now between the standard RX and S is that the S is a speed pedelec capable of hitting ~28 mph vs. just 20 mph. I also see a different component group with XT ont he standard and Deore on the speed version. I hope this helps! In my opinion the extra speed could be worth it if you enjoy going fast and the terrain isn’t too bumpy. Note that the higher speeds do tend to sap the battery quicker :)

Reply
Al Jimenez
2 years ago

I rode one of these and was disappointed in the Bosch behavior once the bike reaches 20mph and on flat terrain. If one wants to pedal to ride above 20mph, the Bosch stops assisting, as expected, but it has quite a drag on the bike and this is unexpected. Is this the behavior of these Bosch drives, or is there some adjustment that needs to be done?

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Al, I didn’t notice any kind of motor drag behavior during my test rides but I did notice how much harder it was to pedal unassisted above 20 mph due to wind resistance and the added weight of an ebike vs. traditional. Have you pedaled around with a Bosch ebike turned off completely? I feel like that would be a good indicator for how much resistance the motor creates in the 2:1 step down they use with the smaller sprocket.

Reply
Al Jimenez
2 years ago

After further testing I do not see any drag after a few seconds. I think when turning the motor off, it takes a few seconds for the clutches to get out of the way is my guess as to what I saw the first time. I agree about the wind resistance fooling me too when going above 20mph.

Brian
2 years ago

Court, are you planning to review the 2015 and 2016 versions of this bike? Would love to get a better understanding of the differences. The 2015 is on deep discount in some stores and the 2016 seems to be arriving at stores now / soon.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Brian! I may get an opportunity to do this test but stock seems to be limited on some Haibike models and they didn’t have as many when I visited the HQ earlier this year. Also… there are so many different versions, I’m just not sure I’ll be able to get to them all like last year :)

Reply
Cheri
4 months ago

How does this bike compare to the Lacuba Evo E45. We plan to use on packed gravel, pavement with numerous climbs. We are both 60 and weight 200-250.

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

They have a lot in common but I believe the Lacuba Evo E45 is a speed pedelec and the Haibike I reviewed here is not, so you’d be limited to ~20 mph vs. ~28 mph… which isn’t so bad because it will help you go further for each charger. I haven’t reviewed the Haibike Trekking models for a while, hoping to dig more into them in 2018. Both companies are reputable, so it might come down to price or having a local dealer who can assist with fitting and post-purchase maintenance etc.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Kurt in CT
6 hours ago

Thank you Mister. Good looking bike!
Actually vacillating on the throttle subject. Somebody recently told me that just having it on the bike will open me up to potential scrutiny on a trail. I'm also not really needing it, More just for fun occasionally.

Scooteretti
11 hours ago

@DaveinMtAiry I completely understand. The Yamaha bike is a great option and if you have a 2K budget it would certainly be a good choice and you can't go wrong honestly.

@ris Nolte over at Propel has a good deal going on for the bike you mentioned https://propelbikes.com/product/haibike-sduro-cross-4-0-2017/

hope this helps,

Will
shop.scooteretti.com

Ravi Kempaiah
21 hours ago

I too would say a DD hub is the best choice for on-road, long distance commuting.
I used to commute 60 miles round trip on my Stromer ST2. The silence, the power and efficiency was amazing.
Now, I have been commuting on a Haibike Speed pedelec because I need to carry the bike up many stairs and I can tell you it is not best for high speed commuting. The mechanical advantage at low speeds becomes a negative at high speed as you are running through the gears all the time.

Ravi Kempaiah
21 hours ago

That's just PW not the PW-X system.

bob armani
23 hours ago

Surfstar-If you want to buy cheap now and wait for 2019 models, have you considered looking for demo bikes with little wear and tear? You may be able to find one at a very reasonable price and sell it later without taking a big loss...

LimboJim
1 day ago

My Bulls FS3 eMTB has a Brose motor, same as your Turbo Levo, Jim. Sure, Specialized "custom-programmed" the motor's software, but it's still cranking the same 90Nm of extra torque through the drivetrain. I also own a Haibike Sduro Allmtn+ with a Yamaha (80Nm), and a Motobecane w/Shimano (75Nm). My friends and I have put hundreds of trail miles on all three, and we've broken a few chains.

We've all been mountain biking since the early '90s, and consider ourselves to be experienced riders who know how and when to shift. eMTBs, however, are a different story. I find that they're far more susceptible than unassisted MTBs to bending chain links when shifting under any kind of load and/or the slightest cross-chaining, and are totally intolerant of standstill shifts (especially when caked in dried mud, which makes everything stickier). Of these three ebikes, the Bulls w/Brose has been the most prone to chain breaks, even when freshly cleaned and properly lubed. I suspect it's because of the motor's higher torque (it's also the heaviest of the three).

My 2002 Stumpjumper could go indefinitely without lubing its chain, and did 15 years ago when I first got it. One of my buds now wants to buy his own eMTB, which is great, but he only cleans his current MTB semi-annually, and maintenance is not something he does frequently, either. I told him what I'm saying to you - if you expect to treat an eMTB just like a mountain bike, you'll likely be disappointed. For me, pedal assist amplifies the fun factor by at least 10, but also requires three times the maintenance.

That's a trade-off I'm willing to make.

Arnel Philippines
1 day ago

Hi. We dont have motostrano here in Philippines. We buy from USA. We try some other brand of e-bike at first and we dont like the ride. And we check the high bike and check all comments on it. Thats why we try ome haibike first. The All mountain pro. And we love it. So we buy different models for our group. Its good to have haibike. Hope maybe someday there will be dealer in Philippines.

Ravi Kempaiah
1 day ago

Haibike, Rlaeigh and Izip uses TranzX motor on several bikes. They have a long business history with TranzX and a company like Accell that owns Haibike, Izip, Raleigh would not have any problem sourcing a motor if the issue arises.
If you use the bike regularly, you get the money back within a year and after that it's all profit!

ryanmclaughlin
1 day ago

Haibike for $1699 ? Does it use the same motor like other haibikes which are priced like $3000

DaveinMtAiry
1 day ago

It does Will, all the posts help. I get what you are sayings, sort of. So if you have 2 equal bikes with the same tires etc the batter with the higher rating will allow for more miles per charge.

Did you see the link I posted on the Haibike Saduro? What is your thoughts on the ability of that bike to lug a 240 pound man who will be in retirement (read old) up big Tennessee mountains?

J.R.
1 day ago

Both Yamaha mid drives are 250 watts nominal, 500 watts peak.

PW:

https://global.yamaha-motor.com/business/e-bike-systems/pw/drive-unit/

PW-X:

https://global.yamaha-motor.com/business/e-bike-systems/pw-x/drive-unit/

They're very capable hill climbers. I agree with Ann, watt rating doesn't tell the whole story. I also believe many sellers use the watt spec in false advertising or hype to sell bikes. Nothing new or scandalous there, automobile manufactures have been doing that for a long time.

With so many opinions available, it's impossible to remove all doubt. The minute one thinks they have it all figured out, someone will write a new set of facts based on personal experience. Much of it is just anecdotal facts.

Good luck in your search.

christoph
8 months ago

hello , help me with my choice please .
2 weeks ago , my haibike xduro trekking S PRO highspeed ( 2016) was stolen
now i can buy the same bike new for 2700 euro in Germany and the haibike xduro trekking RX (2016) for 2400 euro .
But i can also buy a used riese muller delite nuvinci (25 km speed) ,model 2016 with 1000 km for 2750 euro .
This bike looks as good as new and i can use a dongle on this bike .

thanks in advance

Ravi Kempaiah
1 year ago

http://www.crazylennysebikes.com/ is on a mission to put 2500 people on E-bikes this year.
We truly believe in the transformative power of E-bikes and have been investing a lot in the last two years. Seeing these prices, many dealers don't like it and think it is a race to the bottom but we know what we are doing. E-bike market is picking up but still it's minuscule compared to what it can be.

Our end of season sale is yet another effort to introduce more people into E-bikes.
Feel free to call the store 608-276-5921 or Len at 608-575-8711.

Following bikes- Brand new and Demo models on sale now. All bikes come with full warranty.
[LIST=1]
[*]New- Haibike Xduro Trekking Rx 2015 (all sizes) - $1950
[*]New Haibike Full Seven Rx 2015 (all sizes) - $2780
[*]New BH Easy Motion Xenion City Wave 2015 (Med) - $2180
[*]New BH Easy Motion Xenion Cross 2015 (Med)- $1950
[*]New BH NEO Nitro City 2015 (Med)- $1850
[*]New BH EVO 29er 2015 (Lar)- $1780
[*]New Haibike Xduro Fat Six 2015 - $3100
[*]New Haibike Xduro Nduro Rx 2015 - $3890
[*]New BH Easy Motion EVo Jet 2015 (M/L) - $1490
[*]New Haibike Xduro Trekking pro 2015 52cm - $2590
[*]New Stromer Sport V1 - $1650 (w/ 14.5 Ah battery, hydraulic brakes)
[*]New BH EVO Street 2015 - $1850
[*]Demo Haibike Full Seven S Rx (45cm) - $3190 (28mph S-pedelec)
[*]Demo Stromer ST1 platinum - $2690
[*]Demo Haibike Super Race - $3690 (28mph S-pedelec)
[*]Demo BULLS E-stream EVO 29er 45cm- $2980
[*]Demo Magnum UI5- $1280
[*]Demo Pedego trail tracker - $2190
[*]Demo Juiced UDK Cargo bike 32Ah version - $2280
[*]Demo Izip Zuma 2016 - $1180
[*]Demo Izip Vibe Plus 2016 - $1290
[*]Demo Haibike Sduro Hard Seven RC 45cm 2016- $2190
[*]Demo Izip Path plus large/med 2016- $1680

Paul H.
1 year ago

Hey everyone. I've been loving EBR and the forums for the past several weeks, but I haven't made an official appearance yet. I guess I was waiting to get my bike from the shop, so I could be an official e-bike owner before I said hello.

A few days ago, I became the proud owner of a 2016 Haibike Xduro Trekking RX. I bought it from the http://newwheel.net, an incredibly awesome e-bike specialty shop, with lots of support and guidance. Brett and Karin, the owners of The New Wheel, are incredible people with a great vision. They started the shop several years ago in San Francisco, and recently opened a new branch in Marin County. Just had to sign their praises for a moment.

I haven't ridden bikes much as an adult, so I started out with a simple goal by looking for something I could ride locally to go get groceries and run light errands. (Unfortunately, the bulk of the driving I do is shuttling my teenage twins around to various practices and events.) I fell in love with the Stromer line and took home a Stromer ST1 T to test for a day. It was transformative. I live in Mill Valley, which is in the shadow of Mt. Tamalpais, and suddenly I was able to ride around in the hills in a way I've never been able to do on my regular bike. I was hooked.

(I guess I could mention here the reason I was looking for an e-bike the in the first place was because my husband and I were traveling in Switzerland this summer and we rented e-bikes in Zurich and it rocked my world. So Stromer, being Swiss, and from Bern no less, was very appealing. Bern is awesome.)

I watched Court's videos over and over and over as I tried to decide what to do. The problem was I started wanting the best I could get, and I made the mistake of taking the Stromer ST2 home to test for a day. That really spoiled me. But I couldn't justify the $7,000 price tag given that this was a new experiment. I have a history of getting excited about things and then letting them slip, and I knew my husband would roll his eyes and think I was crazy if I bought a bike for that much.

So I'm "settling" for the Haibike Xduro Trekking, which is fantastic. I'm actually really curious to find out more (from those who go to Interbike) about the Stromer STX, which might end up being the right mix of features and price for me. If it's as good as it looks, I think I might sell the Haibike and switch brands. On the other hand, I rode the new bike today for 20 miles without breaking a sweat (just kidding, I was sweating like a pig when I got home), and it's a sweet ride. I might forget about the Stromer in a few months. Especially if it doesn't hit the US until March or later.

I've been reading through the Forums. It seems like a very nice, friendly, and supportive community. Looking forward to being a part of the discussion.

Oh, and Court, if you see this: we have a nice guest cottage that's always available for you if you're coming to the North Bay and ever need a place to crash. It has its own entrance and is very private. I'd love it if you could make use of it sometime. And we can go on a ride up Mt. Tam.

Ron T
1 year ago

Just bought a 2015 Haibike Xduro Trekking RX. I rode 75 miles on so far. Any E bikers from MN?

Robert Smith
2 years ago

Well, I went up to NH, and when I mentioned CrazyLenny I got a frosty response. Tried out a few bikes (they weren't crazy about that) on very level ground. I liked (a lot) the haibike they let me ride. Since a friend was also into getting a bike (he went up to NH too), and we bought two for a good price (I think?). I got a Sduro trekking RC and he got a Xduro trekking RX.
Thanks to all of you who offered such good advice. I think I learned about as much as possible in so short a time thanks to all of you. Will post pictures when the bikes come (mine will be a week delayed).
Best,
Robert

JayVee
2 years ago

It was pretty close to this one:

http://overvolted.com/the-2016-haibike-lineup-and-pricing/img_5457/

Of which you can see a video here (this is the women's version):

But this is the actual bike I demoed which is quite similar apart from a couple of details:

http://www.haibike.de/produkte_detail_en,,22699,detail.html

dvenardos
2 years ago

Is this the bike you demoed (Haibike Xduro Trekking RX)?
http://wheelworld.com/product/haibike-xduro-trekking-rx-220867-1.htm?variations=1305450,1305445&gclid=Cj0KEQjwj7q6BRDcxfG4pNTQ2NoBEiQAzUpuW6JN-zpd6o_bttXhMdUR0xuAQEsoIFmgO0-fKJ8Oo3QaAi6x8P8HAQ

edit: I see that has a Bosch motor, so that wouldn't it.

I am not set on only the Trek or the Specialized.

Jack Sherefkin
3 years ago

Anyone know why Haibike dropped their 27 gears on their Xduro Trekking RX line for 9 gears on their 2015 model?

Kaldeem
3 years ago

As long as I've been on the forums, I haven't had a chance to test ride any ebikes. Most likely why I still don't own one, but that has changed as of today. I found a bike shop that is much closer to home and today I got to test ride a few bikes.

I want to give a shout out to my new favorite ebike shop; E spokes 4 folks in Denver Co. You guys are killing it!

http://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/2014-epik-se/: Honestly, I was surprised at the zippyness of this bike. Especially for my 5'11 276 lb frame sitting on it. It handled very well and felt pretty balanced. I like the design and color, and overall performance of the E-Joe.

http://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/anggun-3-0/: Although this bike has more features and an LCD display, it didn't feel as zippy as the Epik, and I felt kinda cramped on it.

http://electricbikereview.com/izip/e3-dash/: Wow, this bike is fast, but I wasn't super impressed with the overall feel of the bike. It's super sleek though.

http://electricbikereview.com/pedego/classic-interceptor/: I now know why they are one of the top dealers in electric bikes. This thing is like an old time American muscle car. It handles superbly and has the look and feel of quality made bike. However, I do not care for the super cruiser handlebars...ugh.

http://electricbikereview.com/pedego/city-commuter/: All the same as above. As well as having the slightly less curved cruiser handlebars makes this bike top notch.

http://electricbikereview.com/haibike/xduro-fs-rx-27-5/: I will admit, that I wasn't able to test this bike as well as I would have liked. I was kinda intimidated by the price tag, and the bike itself. Not to mention the owner of the bike store said that this was his actual bike, and he likes to leave it on the floor. Okay, so there must be some getting used to the Bosch system, as I didn't feel the responsiveness that is reported by @t . Granted, I still enjoyed the ride, the physicality of the mid-drive system is appealing and I can imagine that once I get my own bike, and it's dialed in, and I get used to the interface and shifting, I'll feel the hype that is widely reported. Other than that I assume it's most likely it's user error, but I plan on giving it another test before I commit to the Haibike Xduro Trekking RX. Additionally, for being such an expensive bike, the stock saddle is terrible. It's like sitting on a busted up cinder block.

*** On a side note, if you read my status in the last few days you might be wondering about it's cryptic message/meaning. Allow me to disclose a little; on tuesday of this week, I drove to http://espokes4folks.com/Home_Page.html to meet with Terry the owner, and his super nice wife. We chatted about ebikes and cars, and a little business. It's half offical right now, but I am the newest member of their ebike representatives here in CO. I will be working with them on everything for ebikes, especially selling and events. Terry is assembling a young crowd of enthusiastic electric bike minded adults who are up for the challenge of riding an ebike every day and talking about them to complete strangers and giving out demo rides. "So hard!" (sarcasm) I mean wow, really I get commision for selling an ebike, which is really just me sharing my story about how I got involved with ebikes and riding them all day!!! So stoked!!***

Dean
3 years ago

I bought a bike yesterday, the Haibike Xduro Trekking RX. After considering all your helpful counsel and experience and doing some test riding on the actual roads/hills I will be commuting over, I was able to recognize that for me, a mid-drive is quite important. First, I had to spend enough time on them to get over my complete focus on how great it felt to be on an electric bike, which was all consuming.
Riding on my hills, I conceptualize the difference between mid-drive and hub drive in the following way - the mid-drive feels like a stronger me while the hub drive feels like I am engaging someone to push me. Once I sorted that out, I found that I really liked having the dual gearing (for Haibike, instead of a front derailleur, they use an internal hub 3-speed gearing). This bike encouraged me to get the level of workout I wanted because instead of just changing the power, I could use the more natural shifting solutions to go up and down hills, which I did much more than I thought I would.
Sadly, this bike's rear wheel is quite complicated to remove (in part because of the internal hub shifting). So
I got "flat-proof" tires and one year of maintenance (parts and labor), which gives me some peace of mind. I imagine if I get a flat on the road and fail at the "patch the tube with the wheel on the bike" plan, I will hail Uber and hope their trunk is large enough to take the bike with the quick release front wheel off. We'll see.
Thanks all!

Shea N Encinitas
3 years ago

$4k SportE - MINUS $2.8k (I've already seen the 2015 Dash for $2,800), = $1,200. So that 10 lbs difference is only $120/lb... not bad. Funny because I'm a Dash owner (3 months) 'looking' at the Felt SportE & Haibike XDURO Trekking RX, both $4k (and Bosch mid drives), but one is 10 lbs lighter - and well the Trekking comes with fenders, lights, rear rack, pump - hydro brakes, all the commuter stuff, weight comparable to my Dash.

Regarding Dash concerns I believe the motor issue is history, better epoxy or whatever. The electrical problems while not ideal, have only occurred twice in nearly 2K miles (some minor off-roading, washed a few times), and did not require shop repair so much as a little wire management/strain relief. The brakes, well probably the main reason I'm looking elsewhere.

Because I have roadbike history (and E.R. frequent flyer miles) I'm attracted to the Felt Sport-e, it's weight, center of gravity, and 38c tires seem like a good middle between a roady and the Dash. The XDURO Trekking is also attractive, getting me the brake system I want and all the accessories I might otherwise pay for as add-ons. Since I'm ready to bail on road biking I would basically be trading two really nice bikes (Super 6 Di2 & 2014 Dash) for a dreamier machine.

-Shea

HackHunter1835
4 weeks ago

And if one of those cars backed out of one of those spaces? Keep it safe Court. Love the design of the 27 speeds without a front derailleur

Califa G
6 months ago

in order for me to believe you as a touring bike, please load de bike with paniers and climb a hill!!!!!

Al Jimenez
2 years ago

I rode one of these and was disappointed in the Bosch behavior once the bike reaches 20mph and on flat terrain. If one wants to pedal to ride above 20mph, the Bosch stops assisting, as expected, but it has quite a drag on the bike and this is unexpected. Is this the behavior of these Bosch drives, or is there some adjustment that needs to be done?

Al Jimenez
2 years ago

+Tonahuac Theonewhocarriesthelight I bought this bike three days ago. I have not been riding it for very long rides yet. I am still learning about how to operate it effectively and efficiently. This is my first electric bike. So far, I am very positive about how naturally it works. One nice thing is to set the assist level high when stopping at a traffic light and it is so nice to take off on green even faster than traffic. The drag issue is really not existing; I have ridden long sections with the motor set to OFF and it rides like a heavy bike, which it is coming from a 20 pound one. I like the 27 gears which makes it riding unassisted very doable.

Cess Outdoors
2 years ago

do you own this bike ?how do you like it so far?and are you stil having issues with the drag?

Al Jimenez
2 years ago

After more testing, it appears that it takes a few seconds for the bosch motor to get all its clutches out of the way to remove the drag.

Ferenc Rékasi
2 years ago

I hate bosch, beacause they system can't do regen breaking.

Nathan Miller
3 years ago

I'm interested in the 2015 version. If I put on mountain biking tires will this do well off road as a mountain bike?

ricky
3 years ago

Nice review. That's a very peaceful environment you have there.
In the UK you need ear plugs due to the abuse from illegally modified cars and motorcycles everywhere.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+richy69ify Bummer! We have some very obnoxious drivers here in the US as well :\ this video review was actually shot at a private resort. I was invited as a member of the media to try out new bikes so it was a very nice setting for filming :)

1650million
3 years ago

The new SDURO Trekking RC 2015 has the new Yamaha motor, which I hear is a little bit more pushy in ECO mode than the Bosch system. It also comes with a second chainring for a grand total of 20 speeds, which I think it´s a great compromise. And best of all, it is significantly cheaper than this model, at least here in Europe.

Any chance you´ll be reviewing that model, Court?

1650million
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com It looks like it´s "Review old comments day"... ;)

I´ve seen it here in Spain already, but I haven´t had the opportunity to test it, yet. The LCD panel feels cheaper than the Bosch system, and the charger is a very imposing brick, much more so than the Bosch one, I would say.

Some people out there are saying the estimated range can be a little better than the Bosch system, which is something that coupled with that second chainring, and a much cheaper price, could make this a very interesting alternative indeed. If I finally find the opportunity to test the bike out, I´ll let you know how it goes.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+1650million It's definitely on my list! Will be a little while before it ends up here in the US but I'm excited to see how the dual chainring thing works, whether shift detection handles it well or not :)

John Migliore
3 years ago

Look Ma! No Hands... Can't do that on my Zurich. Seriously good Video, though Court! 

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+John Migliore Thanks for the feedback John! Rating the bikes is the most difficult part to be honest. I factor in the price, availability, warranty, features and of course a dash of qualitative opinion. Getting third party input like yours here is really valuable. Feel free to share those same opinions in the forum or as a reply to the written review to help others :)

John Migliore
3 years ago

Hi Court! I am very happy with the Zurich IX  ST;
The bike works well for my work commutes. I was able to reduce my commute time an average of 30 minutes per R/T. New tires and a B-17 saddle will tweak my speed a bit.

Anyhow, I put in 1959 miles in 109.75 hours of work commutes. The bike continued trouble free, and I am look forward to another commuting year.

Some of the Zurich's greater attributes are 12 AH Li-Ion battery, thumb throttle, cadence sensor drive, selectable power levels, front and rear full fenders and lights, Tektro AL Alloy Electric brake Levers, rear rack, bell, and 700c wheels. It would be even better if it was 10# lighter weight.

Your review is what alerted me to the availability of this brand and model, I remain grateful for your informative reviews. However, I think your review on the Zurich under values the bike about .5 point.  

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Ha! Glad you enjoyed it... I try to have fun with the reviews (but also ride safe and use a helmet). How are you liking the EG Zurich? I'm assuming this is what you have correct: http://electricbikereview.com/eg/zurich-350-ix/

eBike Sussex Electric Bike Shop
3 years ago

Great review! We sell these in the UK, they are awesome!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Thanks! It seems like ebikes have been around longer in the UK and you have many great options with high quality like Focus, Kalkhoff and these Haibikes :)

TheEdge008
4 years ago

Excellent review, again!

At 4:36 into the video, you mentioned that the system is smart enough to let up on the power when you're shifting. Was that the same for the Haibike XDURO FS RX?

With the dual drive, did you feel any drag from it?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Yeah, all Gen2 Bosch systems on the Haibikes can sense when you're shifting and ease off to avoid mashing. Glad you enjoyed the video!

Taggerung
4 years ago

That bike has almost everything I want! Plus, it's Bosch! What's the price???

markharrispt
4 years ago

Ideal for the commuter/ tourer. If you notice, the rear rack is almost a battery rack. Two batteries are ideal for longer commutes, holidays, and touring, for those who want or need a little assist. The best build & design available.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Yeah, and they will sell second battery pack as optional so you could easily put it in a rear bag or panniers. Excellent design, very excited for this and it will release soon (July/Aug 2014): http://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/availability-update.468/

Joe G.P.
4 years ago

i see why you like it so much, i think it's one of my favorites as well

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Yeah, the drive system is awesome and the styling on the Haibikes is great as well. The Trekking is a unique design, especially with the dual drive 3 speed hub and all of the racks and accessories. Very functional :)