Haibike XDURO Trekking RX Review

Haibike Trekking Rx Electric Bike Review 1
Haibike Trekking Rx
Haibike Trekking Rx 350w Centerdrive
Haibike Trekking Rx 36v Removable Battery
Haibike Trekking Rx Bosch Lcd Panel
Haibike Trekking Rx Front Sr Fork
Haibike Trekking Rx Rack And Pump
Haibike Trekking Rx Rear Disc Brake
Haibike Trekking Rx Sram Dualdrive
Haibike Trekking Rx Electric Bike Review 1
Haibike Trekking Rx
Haibike Trekking Rx 350w Centerdrive
Haibike Trekking Rx 36v Removable Battery
Haibike Trekking Rx Bosch Lcd Panel
Haibike Trekking Rx Front Sr Fork
Haibike Trekking Rx Rack And Pump
Haibike Trekking Rx Rear Disc Brake
Haibike Trekking Rx Sram Dualdrive

Summary

  • Ultra efficient centerdrive motor leverages nine speed cassette and three speed SRAM hub for climbing and distance
  • Top of the line commuting accessories including dynamo powered LED lights, rear rack with pump, suspension fork and fenders
  • Low and balanced weight distribution, removable battery pack for convenient charging, hydraulic disc brakes

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Haibike

Model:

XDURO Trekking RX

Price:

$4,000 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

5 Year Frame, 2 Year Motor and Battery

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

51 lbs (23.13 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.5 lbs (2.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum 6061, Hydroformed Tubes, Gravity Casting Interface, Tapered

Frame Sizes:

18.89 in (47.98 cm)20.47 in (51.99 cm)22.04 in (55.98 cm)23.62 in (59.99 cm)

Frame Types:

Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Grey with Black and Neon Green Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour NCX-D LO CTS, With Lockout, 63 mm Travel, Tapered

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

29 Speed 3×9 SRAM PG 950, SRAM Dual Drive 3-Speed Rear Hub

Shifter Details:

SRAM Dual Drive Trigger Shifters on Left and Right Bars

Cranks:

Xduro Aluminum

Pedals:

XLC One-Piece

Headset:

FSA No. 57, Semi-Integrated, Tapered

Stem:

Xduro Aluminum, A-Head

Handlebar:

Xduro Lowriser Aluminum

Brake Details:

Tektro Gemini Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Reach Adjust Levers

Grips:

XLC Sport with Locking Rings

Saddle:

Selle San Marco Milano

Seat Post:

Xduro Aluminum

Rims:

Rodi T 622, Alloy Double Wall, Eyelets

Spokes:

DT Swiss Industry, black, 2.0 mm

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Energizer Pro, 700 x 38c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewalls

Accessories:

LED Superbright Headlight by Trelock and Haibike Iceberg taillight, Pletscher ARA Kickstand, Aluminum Rack with Tire Pump, Composite Fenders with Mud Flaps

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Gen 2 with Shift Detection

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

550 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

65 miles (105 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Intuvia, Removable Backlit Grayscale LCD

Readouts:

Speed, 4 Assist Levels, Battery Voltage, Odometer, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Button Feedback

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Combined Torque, Cadence and Speed Measured 1,000 Times Per Second), (Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The XDURO Trekking RX is Haibike at its best. Originally known for producing powerful and sturdy off-road electric bikes like the AMT PRO, this bike is a pioneer in the touring and commuting category. You get nearly every accessory needed to deal with cargo transport, nighttime riding and damp weather conditions. There’s even a little hand-pump attached to the rear rack and dealing with flats is a breez on this and other centerdrive ebikes because the wheels are just like a normal bicycle. At $4K this bike is priced in line with other high end touring systems and the four frame sizes offered make for a better fit (something that has traditionally been harder to come by in the electric bicycle world). With incredible range, climbing ability and support provided by Currie Technologies in the US this is an impressive product.

Powering the Haibike Trekking RX is the Gen2 Bosch centerdrive motor now offering 350 watts of power. It keeps motor weight low and center on the bike frame (right where you want it for balance) and leverages 29 speeds for the most efficient electric drive of all ebikes in the Haibike range at this time. The rear hub is a Sram Dual Drive with three internal gears and there’s a nine speed cassette next to it that uses a regular bicycle chain. One of the neat things about this and other mid-drive ebikes is that maintenance and service on the wheels is handle just like a regular bike. The motor is smart enough to sense when you’re switching gears and that means you won’t experience as much wear or mashing on the chain and cassette. While the motor is a bit louder than some gearless hub designs (producing a soft high pitched whine shown in the video review) it’s not as loud as some and depending on the surroundings and riding terrain it’s not something that bothered me.

The battery pack used with this system is a 36 volt 11 amp hour Lithium-ion configuration that’s light weight and long lasting. It’s removable for easy charging or multiple pack use on those long distance rides. Even though the official specs say 25 to 35 miles my experience is that it can go much further. By leveraging the gears on this bike and always using pedal assist (there’s no throttle mode) you get excellent range. The battery has a nice LED indicator on the side that displays battery level even without turning the bike on which is nice. The pack is low and center, just like the motor, but does take up the space where a bottle cage might have otherwise mounted. I feel like they could have added bosses to the seat tube for a cage mount but it’s not the end of the world. There are some cool handlebar bottle bags, pannier bags and CamelBak solutions that can work here.

I like the Bosch display unit and extended button panel used on the Trekking. You get a large, backlit screen that shows speed, distance and assist level but don’t have to take your hand off the grip to interact with it. On the left bar there’s a small plastic button pad with up, down and info selectors. The other neat thing about the display is that you can either lock it to the mount with a set screw or remove the screw and take the panel with you (to prevent tampering and vandalism). I’m a fan of taking it with me during work commute trips where the bike will be left in a garage or public place. It’s nice that they give you the choice here though I’ve heard that removing screens too often can allow for dirt and debris to build up and weaken the electronic connection… just clean it every once in a while ;)

The Trekking RX is an electric bike capable of going the distance, hauling gear and staying comfortable with fenders, lights and suspension. The front fork offers lockout and 63mm of travel but doesn’t add much weight to the overall system. This bike weighs in at ~51 pounds which is average for ebikes but impressive here considering all of the options and accessories. It’s like an electric bike for non-ebikers who love riding but might be struggling with hills or longer distances. As with the eMountain Bike niche that Haibike first introduced and now dominates, this is another space that I feel is on the verge of adoption. The Trekking wold make an excellent touring bike, commuter or light trail bike. It has efficient tires, a unique frame with sloping top-tube for easier standing and hydraulic disc brakes that keep your hands from getting tired but provide plenty of stopping power even with a full load.

Pros:

  • Light weight frame and components, well balanced drive system (motor and battery low and center)
  • Includes integrated front and rear LED lights with custom matching design that look awesome
  • Rear rack is sturdy and functional with standard gauge tubing and included tire pump for easy flat repairs
  • Bosch drive system is efficient, smooth and powerful with removable battery for convenient charging
  • Stiff cranks, decent pedals, rigid frame for good power transfer when riding
  • Impressive 9 speed cassette with three speed internal hub for 29 pedaling speeds! Excellent for touring or commuting
  • Great customer support and warranty from Currie Technologies in the US (part of Accell Group which owns Haibike)
  • Four frame sizes so the bike will fit and feel great over long distances (48cm, 52cm, 56cm, 60cm)
  • Centerdrive design makes wheel repairs much easier than hub motors which have extra cables and add weight to the wheel

Cons:

  • The battery pack takes up the space where a water bottle cage might otherwise mount
  • Externalized battery and larger bottom bracket make it obvious that this is an electric bike “less stealth”
  • No throttle mode, this bike only uses pedal assist (like all Bosch powered systems)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Haibike Reviews

Haibike XDURO AllMtn 8.0 Review

  • MSRP: $6,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

The highest specced all mountain electric model from Haibike, longer 150 mm travel on front and rear air suspension by Magura and Fox paired with a steeper fork angle and plus sized tires let you handle most terrain. Premium Magura hydraulic disc brakes 203/180 size with adjustable lightweight carbon levers and quad piston…...

Haibike SDURO HardFour 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high performance, purpose built electric mountain bike for kids or petite adults... but mostly kids! Limited top speed of 15 mph for safety, full 9-speed Shimano drivetrain. Capable 160 mm hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable-reach levers for smaller hands, only available in…...

Haibike SDURO HardNine 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the most affordable Haibikes in the line, available in four frame sizes, relatively lightweight, large 29er tires provide float and momentum at speed for cross country riding. Very capable mid-drive system (the same motor and battery as some higher-priced Haibike models), zero…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty, 28 mph, commuter-ready, electric bicycle made in six frame sizes across two styles, a stiffer high-step and easy approach step-thru. Reinforced fenders stay quiet, oversized rack with spring latch and Racktime connector, integrated LED lights…...

Haibike XDURO FullSeven Carbon Ultimate Review

  • MSRP: $16,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high-performance electric mountain bike available in four frame sizes, stiff carbon frame for improved power transfer and handling, carbon accents include seat post, saddle, handlebar, wheelset and more. Eleven speed Shimano Deore XTR drivetrain with Di2 electronic shifting for faster, more precise gear…...

Haibike SDURO AllMtn 6.0 Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A trail worthy, full suspension electric mountain bike with stiff lightweight frame construction, optimized suspension and a tightly integrated mid-drive motor from Yamaha. Upgraded 500 watt hour battery pack delivers 60+ miles on medium assist, powerful hydraulic disc…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautiful and capable all mountain style ebike with premium components from Schwalbe, Shimano, Magura and RockShox, the frame, fork and saddle are paint matched. The drive system is surprisingly powerful, delivering 80 Newton meters of peak torque output, it…...

Haibike XDURO Urban S RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed road bike with electric assist up to 28 mph (45 km/h), available in five frame sizes for improved fit and a vibration dampening seat post and shock stem for improved comfort. Efficient low-resistance tires with deep-dish aero rims and bladed spokes, keep the tire pressure up…...

Haibike SDURO Full FatSix Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only full suspension fat electric bikes I've seen, quality hardware including 20 speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, solid 2 year motor and battery warranty with 5 years on the frame. Powered by the Yamaha mid-drive ebike system with 500 watt motor, Zero Cadence pedal assist,…...

Haibike SDURO FullNine RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension 29er with mid-drive motor, slim battery and removable display by Yamaha, offers 80 Nm of torque and zero-cadence pedal assist response. The RX trim level is top of the line with light weight hardware from Shimano,…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN RC Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all mountain trail + downhill mid drive powered electric bike with 150 mm air suspension, rigid thru axles (15 mm front 142 x 12 mm rear). Impressive 20 speed drivetrain with quality Shimano Deore XT groupset, capable Shimano M615 hydraulic disc…...

Haibike XDURO DWNHLL Pro Review

  • MSRP: $8,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only true downhill ready electric bikes being made in series production, delivers a worldcup ready chassis and pro level components. Shimano Saint drivetrain and brakes (top of the line downhill groupset), with two piece Ice-Tech…...

Haibike XDURO FullLife RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Custom geometry with shorter reach to accommodate women (who tend to have shorter arms and torso but longer legs), shorter saddle with wider back, adjustable position brake levers for smaller hands. plush 120 mm front and rear Fox air suspension with 15 mm thru-axle front and…...

Haibike SDURO HardSeven SM Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable Haibike in the 2016 line, features the Yamaha drive system with a basic fixed LED display console, basic saddle, heavier oil suspension fork and cheaper Kenda tires without liners. Solid nine-speed SRAM X-4 drivetrain, no shift sensing or motor inhibitors, large 180 mm hydraulic…...

Haibike SDURO HardLife SL Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable women's specific electric bike from Haibike, leverages the Yamaha mid-drive, features an upgraded LCD screen with USB charging port. Excellent weight distribution, battery and motor are mounted low and center, the top tube is…...

Haibike XDURO Fullseven RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high performance full suspension electric mountain bike with quality components from Shimano, RockShox, and Fox. Responsive, durable and intuitive drive systems powered by Bosch, solid two year comprehensive warranty, five…...

Haibike XDURO AMT RX Review

  • MSRP: $6,350
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A high performance all-mountain electric bike with premium suspension from Fox and hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano. Thru axles on front and rear wheel for improved stiffness and durability, seat post dropper…...

Haibike XDURO Nduro Pro Review

  • MSRP: $9,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Premium downhill capable electric bike with 180 mm travel on front and rear Fox air suspension, available in four frame sizes for improved fit. Excellent weight distribution, Bosch-made Centerdrive motor and battery kept low and center on the frame,…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking Pro Review

  • MSRP: $4,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A long-range capable touring our commuting style electric bike that climbs well, has a balanced weight distribution and offers 27 speeds for a steady cadence at most speeds. Excellent accessories including LED lights, full-length fenders and sturdy rear-rack with spring latch...

Haibike XDURO Nduro RX

  • MSRP: $7,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The entry-level performance downhill electric bike from Haibike with 26" wheels , long travel 180 mm air suspension by Fox with CTD adjust and hydraulic Shimano SLX disc brakes. Excellent frame balance with motor and battery mounted low and center, quick release wheels with…...

Haibike XDURO Urban Review

  • MSRP: $4,450
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An efficient, light weight road style electric bike with a perfectly balanced all-aluminum frame and electric drive system. Convenient quick release wheels, integrated LED lights, quality hydraulic disc brakes and a removable battery…...

Haibike XDURO Fatsix Review

  • MSRP: $5,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The only Bosch powered electric fat bike I've seen with a suspension fork, RockShox air with remote lockout. Burly 15 mm front and 12 mm rear thru axles, extended bottom bracket and spindle…...

Haibike XDURO Race Review

  • MSRP: $6,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An extremely well balanced, light weight, high speed electric road bike - one of the only ebikes with drop bars that I've seen. Efficient centerdrive from Bosch can reach speeds of 28 mph and distance in excess of…...

Haibike XDURO FS RX 27.5″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance, well balanced, full suspension electric mountain bike with motor and battery kept low and center. Available in four frame sizes for good fit, larger 27.5" wheels improve traction, momentum and…...

Haibike XDURO RX 29″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Capable and sturdy eMountain bike with great frame balance, motor and battery (mounted low and center). Available in four frame sizes for good fit, large 29" wheels provide improved traction, momentum…...

Haibike XDURO Superrace Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the lightest weight, most efficient and fastest riding electric road bikes available. Premium components including Magura MT4 hydraulic disc brakes, Integrated LED lights and SRAM X0 drivetrain...

Haibike XDURO AMT Pro Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Top of the line all mountain style electric bike with full suspension and middrive motor. Light weight, high end frame and components keep bike under 50 pounds...


Bike_on
4 years ago

Nice review Court! This bike does seem to have it all – except the H2O mount. :)

One long term thought is the rear SRAM 3/9 speed drive. My first bike was a Giant Lite, 250W mid drive. I upgraded from a NExus 4 speed to an SRAM 7 speed internal hub, to increase my speed. What I found is that the wear and torque of the 250W mid drive motor took it’s toll on the internal hubs. I had to replace parts after 2 years of hard riding.

I think a cassette design is fine. Just change the cassette/chain, as needed. The mid drives will have chain wear and tooth wear. It’s a part of life for mid drives. But the internal hubs have smaller moving parts.

The internal hubs are convenient and more sleek, but unproven, in my mind, when used with a motor. The one exception may be the Rohloff 14 speed system, which I think has a torque rating of around 100nm. The Optibike systems, M55 Terminus and Outrider use it.

Reply
Bike_on
4 years ago

The Bosch Display looks very refined and solid. It blows away the Falco dsiplay unit I have, and offers something Optibike doesn’t have.

Reply
Dave Brown
3 years ago

It is definitely a beautiful, well integrated machine. I would love to know more about the efficiency of the motor in this configuration in a controlled test as it relates to the range of the bike. The motor does seem to be a bit noisier than the Bafang 8fun middrive that I have installed a Surly Ogre for similar duty. The audible wine from the drivetrain under power would definitely gather more annoyed looks on the bike path. Thank you for another interesting review.

Reply
Ian
3 years ago

Does this Bosch system have regenerative braking?

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hello Ian, no this system does not offer regenerative braking. In fact, I’m not aware of any mid-drive systems that do. The most common setup for regen is to use a gearless rear hub motor setup in a direct drive configuration. Bikes like the Specialized Turbo offer it as well as the Focus Jarifa Offroad and all of the BionX kits.

Reply
Michael
3 years ago

Everything looks excellent about this bike. I don’t know if European buyers are generally more affluent than folks in the US, but the $4,000 would seem to be too large hurdle for most of us, especially given many nearly as good choices at closer to a $2,000 price point….which already feels high. Does anyone else have thoughts on this?

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Michael! You’re right that this bike feels expensive and that Europeans might be more conditioned to ebikes (which would make the price more palatable). This is just my opinion but the Bosch drive system is at the very top end in terms of quality, durability and efficiency. You can literally get 70 miles per charge (depending on which assist level you choose) and the low centered weight, ease of repairing wheels/tires and extras like the dynamo powered LED’s, attached pump, fenders and rack really set it apart. Here’s a comparable ebike from another German company called Kalkhoff that offers a similar experience and goes for a slightly higher price. If you’re going to uses an electric bike to replace your car, these are the best choice but they do cost a pretty penny ;)

Reply
Jim Silva
3 years ago

Is there a date when the Trekking RX will be available for delivery. I test rode the RX version this weekend as was impressed with the control. Thanks

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Great question Jim, I’d contact your nearest Currie Technologies dealer (eZip, IZIP and Haibike) to ask if they can order you one. I think some of these were selling out and have been backordered but I cannot say for sure. I haven’t seen this bike at any shops yet but have seen a few other Haibikes like the 29er.

Reply
Jim Silva
3 years ago

Thanks, I actually purchased the RX version at an opening in SF this weekend, figuring I would add a rack and fenders and then saw on their local website the Trekking versions. I have changed the order tentatively as the local guy is trying to find out a date also. I thought maybe you had other info??!

Reply
Jeff Petersen
3 years ago

This looks like the best integrated electric assist commuter bike on the market. Living on a hill, it will allow my wife to be comfortable climbing the hills to the bike path and home. We have two of these bikes on order and should receive them in a few weeks. We have enjoyed the first generation Giant Twisp bikes (now discontinued) at our seasonal home and am looking forward to the same at our permanent home.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

I’m not sure what other information you’re thinking of? Currie is preparing their 2015 models which are similar. The Trekking does come with fenders and a rack, it sounds like that might be what you want?

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Jeff, sounds like you two live in a beautiful place! I’m glad to hear ebikes have made riding more enjoyable and am excited for you with the Haibike Trekking (it’s a great design). Feel free to share your thoughts once you guys test it out either here or in the forums.

Reply
Greg Harm
3 years ago

It’s nice to see that Bosch is beginning to sell bikes in the US. Unfortunately, Bosch’s website, while it references a number of domestic bikes, such as Trek, Giant and others that are supposed to have Bosch motors on them, my attempts to learn more about these domestically available bikes came up short.

Am anxious to find more Bosch bikes, and hopefully, ones that don’t require a $4,000 investment. Please keep us posted on these new units as they become available.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Will do Greg, I think this drive system will be very popular on the ebikes we see here in the US for 2015. Yamaha is also coming out with a mid-drive system and IZIP has one for the E3 Peak. I think the Bosch systems are more premium so you’ll probably always be paying $3,000+ but that’s just a guess :)

Reply
Ben Harapat
3 years ago

Court, what is the top speed on this bike? I just had a look at one at a local dealer and he said that there is a chip that overides the top limit to generate 50kms an hour assist (30mph). Wondering if this is true and accurate. Love your reviews.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Ben, the stock maximum speed for the Trekking RX is 20 mph (~32 kph) but some Bosch powered electric bikes are capable of reaching 28 mph including the Race and Superrace from Haibike. There is a speed dongle out there which tricks the low-speed Bosch bikes into going faster by altering the speed signal going from the rear magnet readout into thinking the bike is always going half of the actual speed. I’ve been told this dongle voids the warranty but do not have hands on experience myself. Maybe in the future we’ll see more speed-pedelec Haibikes and you won’t have to mess with it aftermarket :)

Reply
Sandy
3 years ago

I just bought the Haibike Trekking RX this weekend and I am overjoyed with my purchase! I have exercise-induced asthma which greatly impacts my ability to handle hills without making my asthma kick in. My husband is a very accomplished cyclist and even though I’m fit and in good shape, the asthma really hinders my performance and I’m either left in the back every time we cycle together or I feel as though I’m holding back the group which is really embarrassing. I feel like I’m constantly making excuses for not being able to keep up and it’s really been discouraging me from wanting to get into cycling more often. After riding my Haibike this weekend, my experience was truly exceptional. At one point my 15 year old son who is very fit and strong had to ask me to slow down! What?! This never would have happened before getting the Haibike. My belief is that this bike essentially neutralizes hills when you’re riding. You still feel as though you’ve gotten a workout however you no longer feel like you’re having to kill yourself to complete your ride. We did 12.5 miles on Sunday after purchasing the bike and I never would have enjoyed my ride the way that I did had I been on my regular Trek bike. It’s not cheap but if you read the manual, removing the battery and not keeping it on the charge all the time helps to extend it’s life, as does keeping it in a ~ 70 degree environment. I’m hoping to enjoy my bike for a long time to come. I’ve already started looking for a small bike trailer for our Havanese dog so that she can join us on rides. :)

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

That is awesome Sandy! I experienced the challenges of exercise induced asthma as a young man while participating in recreational soccer (I barely made the team despite being fit, agile and interested). I’m so glad the Haibike has helped you overcome the discomfort of short breath and wheezing and coughing. It sounds like your Son likes it and the dog trailer is an awesome idea! I’d love to see some pics of that once it’s complete :D

Reply
Alan
2 years ago

29 speeds? 3 x 9 = ??

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Wow! Thanks for the heads up, I’ve changed each mention of “29 speeds” to the accurate 27 which is indeed what 3*9= :)

Reply
Gene Stacy
2 years ago

I live in Fussen Germany 6 months out of the year and mile from me is a Haibike dealer. They have the Sduro model which is a little cheaper than the X model. £2,599 but you can purchase the Xduro for £ 3,199

Reply
fred braakman
1 year ago

What is the difference between the XDURO Trekking Pro and the XDURO Trekking RX?

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Fred! I’ve been scanning the catalog trying to eek out an answer for you but all I’m seeing are two Trekking RX high step models (with one having an S designation) and two RX low-step along with the Yamaha powered SDURO models which it didn’t seem like you were asking about. So I don’t see an XDURO Pro for 2016… the big difference I see right now between the standard RX and S is that the S is a speed pedelec capable of hitting ~28 mph vs. just 20 mph. I also see a different component group with XT ont he standard and Deore on the speed version. I hope this helps! In my opinion the extra speed could be worth it if you enjoy going fast and the terrain isn’t too bumpy. Note that the higher speeds do tend to sap the battery quicker :)

Reply
Al Jimenez
1 year ago

I rode one of these and was disappointed in the Bosch behavior once the bike reaches 20mph and on flat terrain. If one wants to pedal to ride above 20mph, the Bosch stops assisting, as expected, but it has quite a drag on the bike and this is unexpected. Is this the behavior of these Bosch drives, or is there some adjustment that needs to be done?

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Al, I didn’t notice any kind of motor drag behavior during my test rides but I did notice how much harder it was to pedal unassisted above 20 mph due to wind resistance and the added weight of an ebike vs. traditional. Have you pedaled around with a Bosch ebike turned off completely? I feel like that would be a good indicator for how much resistance the motor creates in the 2:1 step down they use with the smaller sprocket.

Reply
Al Jimenez
1 year ago

After further testing I do not see any drag after a few seconds. I think when turning the motor off, it takes a few seconds for the clutches to get out of the way is my guess as to what I saw the first time. I agree about the wind resistance fooling me too when going above 20mph.

Brian
1 year ago

Court, are you planning to review the 2015 and 2016 versions of this bike? Would love to get a better understanding of the differences. The 2015 is on deep discount in some stores and the 2016 seems to be arriving at stores now / soon.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Brian! I may get an opportunity to do this test but stock seems to be limited on some Haibike models and they didn’t have as many when I visited the HQ earlier this year. Also… there are so many different versions, I’m just not sure I’ll be able to get to them all like last year :)

Reply
Cheri
2 months ago

How does this bike compare to the Lacuba Evo E45. We plan to use on packed gravel, pavement with numerous climbs. We are both 60 and weight 200-250.

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

They have a lot in common but I believe the Lacuba Evo E45 is a speed pedelec and the Haibike I reviewed here is not, so you’d be limited to ~20 mph vs. ~28 mph… which isn’t so bad because it will help you go further for each charger. I haven’t reviewed the Haibike Trekking models for a while, hoping to dig more into them in 2018. Both companies are reputable, so it might come down to price or having a local dealer who can assist with fitting and post-purchase maintenance etc.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

rich c
3 hours ago

I'm a huge Haibike fan, I own two 2016 bikes. A Full Seven XDURO S RX mtb, and a Trekking XDURO S RX. Both are speed versions, 28mph, both are Bosch. You get a little noise from the Bosch mid drive (as compared to the Brose for example), but it's so smooth in handling power and torque. Personally, I feel the Bosch is worth every penny. If you ride many hills, you'll appreciate the 28mph bikes. When riding a 20mph bike, you go over that coming down the grade. But when you get to that 20mph setting as you level out, you can feel it hunt between assist and no assist. With the 28mph, you just don't hit that annoyance. Right now is the perfect time to buy a Haibike. I bought one in November 2016 and the other in March 2017. Both highly discounted from MSRP.

hurricane56
3 days ago

Awesome - thanks for the incredible write up. You've convinced me to steer clear of the yamaha drives for the time being. Which of course means that I would need to step up to a Xduro treekking for significant more money.

Local dealer just called and offered a 2017 Haibiki Xduro Trekking S (bosch speed powered) for $3200. Hmm ... I think I might be able to do a tad better if I wait a bit longer ..

Still very much worried about buying the IZIP via remote dealer, having an issue and then being stranded without local dealer support. Even though the price is very attractive. It seems like even if I don't buy the IZIP from the local dealer, they may still be able to / obligated to help with IZIP warranty work? The Xduro 5.0 sure is tempting, but it a bit overkill for my current needs.

The service portion is something you'll need to check with the iZip. Just as an example, my friend with a Bulls bike had to pay the LBS a diagnostic fee to initiate a warranty claim on his Bosch powerpack 400. He did not buy the bike at the LBS. This is the one grey zone with many ebike service experiences, it probably varies widely amongst manufacturer and LBS. Even my local dealer where I purchased the bike from has to charge for labor on a warranty parts replacement. The last time I had a repair done they were kind enough to waive the fee, but were upfront about disclosing that before work commenced. I'm guessing Haibike does not compensate the LBS for their time. If you do inquire with the iZip people, you'll also want to ask if the TransX takes software updates and if that would result in a dealer service fee as well.

Ravi Kempaiah
3 days ago

My bike is powered by Bosch Performance Line. Seems you all have gotten many more miles on your chain.
I didn't have any issues with the chain and derailleur but constant noise from the chain when pedaling. At first I would clean and lube the chain and it would quiet down but after maybe 50 miles or so it would be noisy again. Switched from dry lube to ChainL with the same results. And the last attempt or so to lube and quiet the chain was unsuccessful, still noisy after the lube.
While in the shop for the new chain the Sprocket Equalizing System (S.E.S) bearing was replaced as it exhibited some binding as it rotated. It was replaced with an upgraded ceramic bearing.
I would say my riding is not severe at all, mostly smooth paved bike paths and an occasional stretch of dirt path.
I do try to keep the bike and all its running gear clean and well lubed. I hope this eBike specific chain will outlast the original Shimano.

Have you cleaned the complete drive train?
Like the chaining, cassette, derailleur etc.

I am amazed that people get less than 1000 miles on their chain. I don't do off-road stuff but mostly on-road. Chicago winters are harsh and in the last 14 months, I put ~5000 miles on my Xduro Trekking Speed bike and had to replace the chain only around 4000 miles. Granted, I never the use Turbo, 99% Tour mode and I clean and lube the drive train every 250 miles.

Bryan995
3 days ago

1. The drive has a tendency to resist your efforts above a certain RPM level, and the cadence window in which it provides power is pretty limited. This is perceptible in Standard mode, and painfully perceptible in ECO and ECO+ modes.

This has several consequences:

- If you want to tour around in a hilly area, you need to be really fit with the Yamaha. I use ECO mode only when absolutely needed. The Bosch and Shimano ECO modes are infinitely easier on the knees.

- If you want to climb a hill, the lowest gears might not necessarily be the best gears. If you're spinning away in 1st gear you will quickly hit a cadence where power drops off. This means you'll need to shift up a gear or two to get power. But it also means that climbing will be more difficult on the knees (once again). I climb a 7% grade incline every day and the bike is in 8th or 9th gear (meaning, 2-3 gears away from 11 teeth). I hand't noticed this until someone remarked that I was climbing in a really high gear. Might explain why my knees ache sometimes...

- Because the cadence is limited, the bike requires an inordinate number of gear shifts in traffic. Think of a scenario where you have several consecutive red lights. After the first red light goes green, I need to shift up 6 times to reach cruising speed. But as soon as I reach cruising speed, I have to shift down several times as well. And start over at each red light. Other drives, like the Bosch or the Shimano have a more intelligent way of dealing with this. Start in 1st gear and shift into second or third gear, then increase the number of RPMs instead of shifting through all the gears. You'll get just as much power and won't constantly be changing gears.

2. The engineering on some of the parts isn't up to Yamaha standards.

- The remote is fastened by screws which “bite” into the plastic casing. The result is that it’s impossible to tighten them so that the remote doesn’t swivel around the handlebars. This means that it’s nearly impossible to walk the bike up a hill using RUN mode. Press on the RUN button and the remote simply swivels out of your hand.

-The bike’s remote is designed in such a manner that you have to take your right hand off the handlebars in order to switch to another level of assist. But the remote often slips away...

- The button to power on the bike is starting to fail. Sometimes it works, sometimes not.

- The diagnostic button on the battery sometimes doesn't work.

3. Although not directly Yamaha's fault, the lighting on many Trekking Sduros is not sufficient for riding in the countryside at night. I have a Trekking Sduro S 6.0 which has a 60 lux light. When riding in the forest at night I can't see the contours of the road ahead. This is because the projected beam is too narrow and the lights not powerful enough.

So, if I had to do it again, I wouldn't buy a Yamaha powered bike. This is particularly true of the older PW drive system, which still equips most SDUROs.

Awesome - thanks for the incredible write up. You've convinced me to steer clear of the yamaha drives for the time being. Which of course means that I would need to step up to a Xduro treekking for significant more money.

Local dealer just called and offered a 2017 Haibiki Xduro Trekking S (bosch speed powered) for $3200. Hmm ... I think I might be able to do a tad better if I wait a bit longer ..

Still very much worried about buying the IZIP via remote dealer, having an issue and then being stranded without local dealer support. Even though the price is very attractive. It seems like even if I don't buy the IZIP from the local dealer, they may still be able to / obligated to help with IZIP warranty work? The Xduro 5.0 sure is tempting, but it a bit overkill for my current needs.

Over50
4 days ago

... Will have to call for pricing but I have a feeling the Xduro trekking may be closer to 3k?...
In that case is it worth the 2x price increase over the IZIP? If the haibike will hold its value more so than the IZIP then I have no issue paying a bit more now. But if in 4 years both are down to $500 resale then the IZIP seems like the way to go. Thanks for the help!

I was seeing the Xduro prices yesterday of about $3500. Maybe they will come down more. But I like your thinking. If you're testing the waters and think you might upgrade in a few years - and particularly because your commute is shorter - then the IZIP sounds like a great way to go (although I don't have experience with IZIP). It would be nice if you could find a local dealer for that IZIP however. You'd definitely want to test it out.

Bryan995
4 days ago

Just for reference my Trekking S Xduro was $2699 during last years clearance.

As for resale the Haibike might have an edge but seeing resale ads for ebikes here in the SF Bay Area, many bikes are posted for sale at 40-50% off the original sale price after less than a year. I’d recommend buying the bike that fits your needs now and not factor in resale.

Perfect - appreciate that data point. Best I can find for the Sduro trekking 4.0 is $1999, so $700 more for the Xduro seems reasonable. Still need to do a bit more searching around re. best pricing. I am down in SD.

hurricane56
4 days ago

Just for reference my Trekking S Xduro was $2699 during last years clearance.

As for resale the Haibike might have an edge but seeing resale ads for ebikes here in the SF Bay Area, many bikes are posted for sale at 40-50% off the original sale price after less than a year. I’d recommend buying the bike that fits your needs now and not factor in resale.

Bryan995
4 days ago

Actually the poster didn't specify Xduro or Sduro (unless I missed it) but I guess based on the price quoted it has to be Sduro. But both are discounted pretty heavily right now so Xduro would be a good suggestion. Perhaps the prices will come down even more as we get to year end. So the commute sounds very short but with a large hill. The Bosch CX will power up that hill and since the distance is short range will not be an issue.

Yes sorry all. I was refering to the Sduro Trekking 4.0 with Yamaha PW not the Bosch powered Xduro. Everything I read says to go Bosch and it seems like you all echo that :).

Will have to call for pricing but I have a feeling the Xduro trekking may be closer to 3k?

In that case is it worth the 2x price increase over the IZIP? If the haibike will hold its value more so than the IZIP then I have no issue paying a bit more now. But if in 4 years both are down to $500 resale then the IZIP seems like the way to go. Thanks for the help!

Over50
4 days ago

@Over50 owns a Trekking 4.0.

His experiences are described in the thread below:

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/over-50s-2017-xduro-trekking-4-0-chronicles.13845/

Actually the poster didn't specify Xduro or Sduro (unless I missed it) but I guess based on the price quoted it has to be Sduro. But both are discounted pretty heavily right now so Xduro would be a good suggestion. Perhaps the prices will come down even more as we get to year end. So the commute sounds very short but with a large hill. The Bosch CX will power up that hill and since the distance is short range will not be an issue.

JayVee
4 days ago

@Over50 owns a Trekking 4.0.

His experiences are described in the thread below:

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/over-50s-2017-xduro-trekking-4-0-chronicles.13845/

rich c
3 weeks ago

I upgraded to the 500whr on the 2016 XDURO S RX Trekking I bought this spring. $300 swap out when everything was brand new. So I swap the 400 and 500 back and forth between the XDURO Full Seven S RX and the Trekking S RX. I've gone 55 miles on the 500 pack with 2 bars showing on the Trekking. Heck of a way to get a second pack, but buying a 2016 in March 2017 was a real bargain!

Over50
3 weeks ago

...I did find that both bikes seemed more difficult to pedal above the 2O mph limit compared to the Brose, Yamaha and Shimano bikes which I also have limited experience test riding ... The bikes I rode it seemed like the motor cut off in the 18 mph range ...

My experience with my Haibike XDuro Trekking 4.0 with the CX motor: it cuts off somewhere between 19.5 and 19.8 MPH consistently and it is so smooth I can't even really detect it except for the fact that I feel some increased resistance. There is no noise or jerking of the motor to indicate shutoff or restart. But if I want to increase my speed past 20 mph - it is really difficult. On flat ground, I can actually obtain higher speeds (with less effort after 20 mph) on my human powered Spot Champa (Alfine 8 speed). I can consistently max out around 23 mph on my human powered bike (without killing myself) whereas it takes a lot more effort to hit that on my Haibike. Of course the Spot is a lot lighter. In my commuting on the Haibike, I've concluded it is counter-productive to let the motor cutout with the intent to increase my speed - say to catch a green light. Counter-productive because the amount of energy I have to expend for that extra 1 or 2 mph really isn't worth it. I've really stopped trying to push the bike past 20 and have become accustomed to cruising around 18-19 and making my time with the jack-rabbit acceleration of the CX motor from the stops. Ultimately I'd level high praise at the CX motor for two things: 1). the smooth and powerful acceleration up to the cutoff and 2). the smooth, almost undetectable cutoff of the motor approaching 20 mph. The negative is pedaling the bike over 20 mph - really difficult to do on a flat.

bob armani
3 weeks ago

There seems to be an error on Haibike's website. The new Trekking Xduro S 9.0 is depicted with the same frame as for 2017 (shown in the picture below). But the spec sheet mentions an IBC (Intube Battery Concept) frame coupled with a traditional Power Pack. So something doesn't quite add up. If you have an intube frame, it would make sense to ship with an intube battery. Either the image is wrong or the spec sheet is wrong. Unfortunately, I suspect the image is correct and the stated specs are wrong.

Link: https://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/695/2018-xduro-trekking-s-9-0?variant=3840424848

The picture on the website:

The accompanying description:

However, an Intube frame should look like this:

Edit: Checked it. The spec sheet is wrong on Haibike's website. The 2018 Trekking S-Pedelec model is basically the same as the 2017 model (meaning no Intube battery). The 2018 model is shown at 2:37 in this video:

Yeah, I see what you are referring to in 2.37. No IBC on the frame. So many models to choose from; just another way to confuse the consumer with almost too many models. I personally like the IBC on any model of an ebike to stay with the stealthy looks. Great move for Haibike, but long overdue IMHO! I assume most/all of the Yamaha models in the video have the new PBX motor?? Great video though for many new models to look forward to giving test rides and possible purchase! FUN!

rich c
1 month ago

Fall colors finally showing in the Illinois River Valley, in Peoria Heights, IL. Haibike 2016 XDURO Trekking S RX.

1/1
Over50
1 month ago

@Over50, Haibike was the first who put the Bosch first generation drive unit into the mountain bikes in 2011...

Thanks Wildtrak. I don't currently do any off-road riding but I'm city commuting on a Haibike XDuro 4.0 Trekking and a R&M Charger (Nuvinci speed pedelec). I'm thinking that if all goes well mid-2018 I'd like to upgrade one of those bikes for a dual-battery capacity commuter. It appears the Haibike Sduro Trekking 9.0 for 2018 is basically the same bike as the XDuro 4.0 (frame and components) but allows for dual-battery with their new rail system and in-tube design. I definitely have my eye on the Trekking 9.0 but I'm also attracted to the Moustache Samedi and XRoads models (hidden battery but not dual-battery). As for a speed pedelec choice I have my eyes on the New Charger by R&M and the Bulls full suspension commuter the Six50 TR Street. Also, I'm pretty certain I'm also going to buy the Tern GSD as a grocery hauler/wife's bike/day tripper. So 2 new bikes for 2018 is the plan: the Tern GSD and a commuter replacement bike (Haibike, R&M or Bulls most likely). For the German brands that sell Bosch powered commuter bikes in the USA, it looks like they use similar specs/components but do you have an opinion coming from Germany, about which brand is better in terms of overall quality, customer service/support and innovation?

rich c
2 months ago

Posting your inquiry in the Forum Rules and Etiquette is going to limit responses, so maybe ask the admin to move it. I ride 3 different ebikes. I've ridden 1700 miles on a cheap Sondors fat bike, owned it for 19 months. The motor is getting a rattle in it. It's a known issue with that motor that the glue fails on the magnets, so will be opening it up to epoxy them back in soon. Also getting close to needing brake pads. I'm coming up on one year on a Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX mountain bike. 1600+ miles on it since last November, no issues. Almost 1,200 miles on a Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX, no issues. I highly recommend Haibikes, but you would have to add all the mileage on 3 bikes to come close to the mileage you may be talking about.

rich c
2 months ago

For a commuter, I would prefer a class III bike, capable of 28mph. I hardly ever ride that fast, but really often hit 22-23mph. Also much prefer hydraulic brakes, not familiar with the brakes spec'd on the Voltbike. I'd consider that Voltbike a little short on gears, but since it has a throttle, you may be okay. Don't know the size of your children, but loaded down you may like a lower gear that you get with the 7. My Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX has 10. The price is very attractive on that Voltbike, but if I depended on my bike to get to work, I'd want a better class of components. Just a lot of my preferences here, but I started on a cheap Chinese eBike, but really only ride Haibike XDURO (Bosch mid drive) bikes now. Two of my eBikes are over 1600 miles, the Trekking is over 1100 miles. Just a bit of reference for my riding experience. Edit; If you want both kids to ride, look at a GSD cargo bike. You should also look at Thudbuster or Bodyfloat suspension seat posts with the style bike you are looking at.

rich c
2 months ago

This time of year you can almost get a Haibike XDURO Trekking for $3000. 50 miles a day is achievable with the 400whr Bosch. Get one with a 500whr and you get 75+ miles.

Mark Adams
2 months ago

I ride three different kinds of eBikes, Sondors Fat bike, Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX, and a Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX. I have over 1000 miles on the Trekking, over 1500 miles on the Sondors and Full Seven. The fat bike was my first ebike, found it on Craigslist. It has been relegated to snow and an occasional ride on a crushed rock rail trail. It rides like an old Jeep. Heavy physical weight and heavy response. You have to actually put effort into the handlebars to turn the bike. Those wide tires do not make for a nimble bike. Huge rolling resistance in the tires. The Trekking bike can be ridden on a gravel road, but much better suited for touring on pavement. The small tires do not make for a fun ride on the gravel. I would not take it into rock and tree roots. The full suspension mountain bike will go anywhere. It was a demo model, and came with Schwalbe Super Moto-X 27.5 x 2.4 tires. For me, this is the ideal go anywhere bike. The smoother tread pattern on the Super Moto-X is great on pavement, and by letting out a few psi they really grip on dry single trails. It will climb a really steep incline with the 11 gear cassette. The full suspension makes riding great for my 65 year old body, on any conditions. Rough city streets, gravel, or trails with rocks and roots, are all smoothed out in the ride. I now see no need for any bike with tires over the 2.4".
I don’t feel the fat tire is that cumbersome. But have not ridden a Sondors also have a Surly pugsly fat and my regular Mt bike sits most of the time . But everything is a trade off so best answer is a nice quiver of rides to choose from.

rich c
2 months ago

I ride three different kinds of eBikes, Sondors Fat bike, Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX, and a Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX. I have over 1000 miles on the Trekking, over 1500 miles on the Sondors and Full Seven. The fat bike was my first ebike, found it on Craigslist. It has been relegated to snow and an occasional ride on a crushed rock rail trail. It rides like an old Jeep. Heavy physical weight and heavy response. You have to actually put effort into the handlebars to turn the bike. Those wide tires do not make for a nimble bike. Huge rolling resistance in the tires. The Trekking bike can be ridden on a gravel road, but much better suited for touring on pavement. The small tires do not make for a fun ride on the gravel. I would not take it into rock and tree roots. The full suspension mountain bike will go anywhere. It was a demo model, and came with Schwalbe Super Moto-X 27.5 x 2.4 tires. For me, this is the ideal go anywhere bike. The smoother tread pattern on the Super Moto-X is great on pavement, and by letting out a few psi they really grip on dry single trails. It will climb a really steep incline with the 11 gear cassette. The full suspension makes riding great for my 65 year old body, on any conditions. Rough city streets, gravel, or trails with rocks and roots, are all smoothed out in the ride. I now see no need for any bike with tires over the 2.4".

JayVee
2 months ago

There seems to be an error on Haibike's website. The new Trekking Xduro S 9.0 is depicted with the same frame as for 2017 (shown in the picture below). But the spec sheet mentions an IBC (Intube Battery Concept) frame coupled with a traditional Power Pack. So something doesn't quite add up. If you have an intube frame, it would make sense to ship with an intube battery. Either the image is wrong or the spec sheet is wrong. Unfortunately, I suspect the image is correct and the stated specs are wrong.

Link: https://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/695/2018-xduro-trekking-s-9-0?variant=3840424848

The picture on the website:

The accompanying description:

However, an Intube frame should look like this:

Edit: Checked it. The spec sheet is wrong on Haibike's website. The 2018 Trekking S-Pedelec model is basically the same as the 2017 model (meaning no Intube battery). The 2018 model is shown at 2:37 in this video:

1/3
rich c
3 months ago

Bosch sells 400wh and a 500wh battery packs. I have one of both on two different bikes, and never have taken them below 30%. Pretty flat riding, I weigh 250 pounds, average around 15 mph on rail trails and streets. I'd say realistically, at least 45 to 60 miles on the packs respectively. I bought one bike as a demo with 150 miles on it, the other off season. Paid $2800 for one, $2600 for the other. Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX, and XDURO Trekking S RX. Both are class III, 28mph bikes. I ran a sole proprietor small business. With good equipment, you make money. It should cost you nothing if you correctly calculate your overhead and have a good accountant at tax time. A single year depreciation write off if used solely for a business.

Mark Peralta
3 months ago

I put 1500 miles on a Sondors Fat, then wanted a different kind of ride. I bought a Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX. It is a class 3 bike, 28mph, but no throttle. The Bosch mid drive will actually pull the suspension forks up in Turbo mode, so don't need a throttle as long as you can just move your legs. Large dia. rotors and hydraulic brakes to haul you quickly to a stop from 28mph. Then I bought a second bike, a Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX. Same Bosch mid drive, 28mph. But it has a 500whr battery instead of the 400 on the mtb. It also has smaller gravel type tires, full fenders, a rear rack, and 10 speeds vs 11. I've now put on 2500 miles on the two Haibikes, the Sondors collects dust in the corner until snow flies in the winter. I'm crazy about the quality and precision of Haibike and Bosch.
I'm a little similar to your situation but different brands and different combinations. I have 2 ebikes sharing the same battery, one mid drive and the other hub drive (Raleigh Tekoa and Izip Dash). And a third one with mid drive that does not share battery with the rest (Luna BBSHD) .

rich c
3 months ago

I put 1500 miles on a Sondors Fat, then wanted a different kind of ride. I bought a Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX. It is a class 3 bike, 28mph, but no throttle. The Bosch mid drive will actually pull the suspension forks up in Turbo mode, so don't need a throttle as long as you can just move your legs. Large dia. rotors and hydraulic brakes to haul you quickly to a stop from 28mph. Then I bought a second bike, a Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX. Same Bosch mid drive, 28mph. But it has a 500whr battery instead of the 400 on the mtb. It also has smaller gravel type tires, full fenders, a rear rack, and 10 speeds vs 11. I've now put on 2500 miles on the two Haibikes, the Sondors collects dust in the corner until snow flies in the winter. I'm crazy about the quality and precision of Haibike and Bosch.

Califa G
4 months ago

in order for me to believe you as a touring bike, please load de bike with paniers and climb a hill!!!!!

Al Jimenez
1 year ago

I rode one of these and was disappointed in the Bosch behavior once the bike reaches 20mph and on flat terrain. If one wants to pedal to ride above 20mph, the Bosch stops assisting, as expected, but it has quite a drag on the bike and this is unexpected. Is this the behavior of these Bosch drives, or is there some adjustment that needs to be done?

Al Jimenez
1 year ago

+Tonahuac Theonewhocarriesthelight I bought this bike three days ago. I have not been riding it for very long rides yet. I am still learning about how to operate it effectively and efficiently. This is my first electric bike. So far, I am very positive about how naturally it works. One nice thing is to set the assist level high when stopping at a traffic light and it is so nice to take off on green even faster than traffic. The drag issue is really not existing; I have ridden long sections with the motor set to OFF and it rides like a heavy bike, which it is coming from a 20 pound one. I like the 27 gears which makes it riding unassisted very doable.

Cess Outdoors
1 year ago

do you own this bike ?how do you like it so far?and are you stil having issues with the drag?

Al Jimenez
1 year ago

After more testing, it appears that it takes a few seconds for the bosch motor to get all its clutches out of the way to remove the drag.

Ferenc Rékasi
2 years ago

I hate bosch, beacause they system can't do regen breaking.

Nathan Miller
2 years ago

I'm interested in the 2015 version. If I put on mountain biking tires will this do well off road as a mountain bike?

ricky
3 years ago

Nice review. That's a very peaceful environment you have there.
In the UK you need ear plugs due to the abuse from illegally modified cars and motorcycles everywhere.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+richy69ify Bummer! We have some very obnoxious drivers here in the US as well :\ this video review was actually shot at a private resort. I was invited as a member of the media to try out new bikes so it was a very nice setting for filming :)

1650million
3 years ago

The new SDURO Trekking RC 2015 has the new Yamaha motor, which I hear is a little bit more pushy in ECO mode than the Bosch system. It also comes with a second chainring for a grand total of 20 speeds, which I think it´s a great compromise. And best of all, it is significantly cheaper than this model, at least here in Europe.

Any chance you´ll be reviewing that model, Court?

1650million
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com It looks like it´s "Review old comments day"... ;)

I´ve seen it here in Spain already, but I haven´t had the opportunity to test it, yet. The LCD panel feels cheaper than the Bosch system, and the charger is a very imposing brick, much more so than the Bosch one, I would say.

Some people out there are saying the estimated range can be a little better than the Bosch system, which is something that coupled with that second chainring, and a much cheaper price, could make this a very interesting alternative indeed. If I finally find the opportunity to test the bike out, I´ll let you know how it goes.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+1650million It's definitely on my list! Will be a little while before it ends up here in the US but I'm excited to see how the dual chainring thing works, whether shift detection handles it well or not :)

John Migliore
3 years ago

Look Ma! No Hands... Can't do that on my Zurich. Seriously good Video, though Court! 

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+John Migliore Thanks for the feedback John! Rating the bikes is the most difficult part to be honest. I factor in the price, availability, warranty, features and of course a dash of qualitative opinion. Getting third party input like yours here is really valuable. Feel free to share those same opinions in the forum or as a reply to the written review to help others :)

John Migliore
3 years ago

Hi Court! I am very happy with the Zurich IX  ST;
The bike works well for my work commutes. I was able to reduce my commute time an average of 30 minutes per R/T. New tires and a B-17 saddle will tweak my speed a bit.

Anyhow, I put in 1959 miles in 109.75 hours of work commutes. The bike continued trouble free, and I am look forward to another commuting year.

Some of the Zurich's greater attributes are 12 AH Li-Ion battery, thumb throttle, cadence sensor drive, selectable power levels, front and rear full fenders and lights, Tektro AL Alloy Electric brake Levers, rear rack, bell, and 700c wheels. It would be even better if it was 10# lighter weight.

Your review is what alerted me to the availability of this brand and model, I remain grateful for your informative reviews. However, I think your review on the Zurich under values the bike about .5 point.  

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Ha! Glad you enjoyed it... I try to have fun with the reviews (but also ride safe and use a helmet). How are you liking the EG Zurich? I'm assuming this is what you have correct: http://electricbikereview.com/eg/zurich-350-ix/

eBike Sussex Electric Bike Shop
3 years ago

Great review! We sell these in the UK, they are awesome!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Thanks! It seems like ebikes have been around longer in the UK and you have many great options with high quality like Focus, Kalkhoff and these Haibikes :)

TheEdge008
4 years ago

Excellent review, again!

At 4:36 into the video, you mentioned that the system is smart enough to let up on the power when you're shifting. Was that the same for the Haibike XDURO FS RX?

With the dual drive, did you feel any drag from it?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Yeah, all Gen2 Bosch systems on the Haibikes can sense when you're shifting and ease off to avoid mashing. Glad you enjoyed the video!

Taggerung
4 years ago

That bike has almost everything I want! Plus, it's Bosch! What's the price???

markharrispt
4 years ago

Ideal for the commuter/ tourer. If you notice, the rear rack is almost a battery rack. Two batteries are ideal for longer commutes, holidays, and touring, for those who want or need a little assist. The best build & design available.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Yeah, and they will sell second battery pack as optional so you could easily put it in a rear bag or panniers. Excellent design, very excited for this and it will release soon (July/Aug 2014): http://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/availability-update.468/

Joe G.P.
4 years ago

i see why you like it so much, i think it's one of my favorites as well

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Yeah, the drive system is awesome and the styling on the Haibikes is great as well. The Trekking is a unique design, especially with the dual drive 3 speed hub and all of the racks and accessories. Very functional :)