IZIP E3 Sumo Review

2017 Izip E3 Sumo Electric Bike Review
2017 Izip E3 Sumo
2017 Izip E3 Sumo Bosch Performance Line Cx Motor
2017 Izip E3 Sumo Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
2017 Izip E3 Sumo Handlebar Bosch Intuvia Display
2017 Izip E3 Sumo Rigid Alloy Fork 15 Mm Thru Axle Quick Release
2017 Izip E3 Sumo Alexrims Blizzerk 80 Punched Rims Alloy Fork With Rack Bosses
2017 Izip E3 Sumo Kenda Juggernaut Fat Tires
2017 Izip E3 Sumo 10 Speed Shimano Slx Drivetrain
2017 Izip E3 Sumo 190 12 Mm Thru Axle Rubber Slap Guard
2017 Izip E3 Sumo Electric Bike Review
2017 Izip E3 Sumo
2017 Izip E3 Sumo Bosch Performance Line Cx Motor
2017 Izip E3 Sumo Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
2017 Izip E3 Sumo Handlebar Bosch Intuvia Display
2017 Izip E3 Sumo Rigid Alloy Fork 15 Mm Thru Axle Quick Release
2017 Izip E3 Sumo Alexrims Blizzerk 80 Punched Rims Alloy Fork With Rack Bosses
2017 Izip E3 Sumo Kenda Juggernaut Fat Tires
2017 Izip E3 Sumo 10 Speed Shimano Slx Drivetrain
2017 Izip E3 Sumo 190 12 Mm Thru Axle Rubber Slap Guard


  • A rigid electric fat bike with provisions for front and rear racks, available in two frame sizes for improved fit, designed with a steep top tube for comfortable stand over and steadying
  • Beautifully integrated Bosch Performance Line CX motor and battery pack, downtube is cut away and left crank arm is spaced out to align the chain, fun digital-camo accents
  • Robust 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes with four-piston calipers for cool stopping power, stiff thru-axles support the heavier tires, punched out rims reduce wheel weight
  • Solid 10 speed Shimano SLX drivetrain with wide 11-42T gear range, chainring offers narrow wide tooth pattern to reduce slip, may experience some chain suck if muddy due to smaller chainring and lack of pulley wheel or independent guide

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





E3 Sumo



Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Trail, Sand and Snow

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53.1 lbs (24.08 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.4 lbs (2.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminium Alloy

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Medium: 17" Seat Tube, 28" Stand Over Height, 22.5" Reach, 76" Length

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Satin Army Green

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Alloy, 5 Threaded Bosses on Each Side for Front Racks, 150 mm / 15 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

190 mm / 12 mm Thru Axle with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fork Bosses, Front Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano SLX Derailleur, 11-42 SunRace Cogset

Shifter Details:

Shimano SLX Triggers on Right


Lasco EB06 Right and EB11 Left (Offset) Cranks, 175 mm Length, 18T Narrow-Wide Chainring with Alloy Bash Guard


Aluminum Alloy Platform, Oversized with Adjustable Pins


FSA, Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2"


Alloy, 7° Rise, 31.8 mm Bore, 70 mm Length


Alloy Low Rise, 700 mm Length, 90 mm Rise

Brake Details:

TRP Slate T4 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, 4 Piston Calipers, TRP Slate T4 Textured Levers with Adjustable Reach


Velo Flat Rubber, Locking


Velo Racing

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm


Alexrims Blizzerk 80, Alloy, Double Wall, Punched Out, 80 mm Width, 32 Hole


Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda Juggernaut, 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

5 to 30 PSI, 30 TPI Casing, Wire Bead

Tube Details:

Presta Valve


Rubber Slap Guard, Alloy Vented Motor Protector Skid Plate


Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.6 lb 4 Amp Charger, KMC X10eRB High-Torque Chain (Rust Proof)

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line CX

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

75 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

55 miles (89 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD


Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 5 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50% 40 Nm, Tour 120% 50 Nm, Sport 210% 60 Nm, Turbo 300% 75 Nm)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The 2017 IZIP E3 Sumo is a complete upgrade from prior year models. Instead of using the mid-tier TranzX motor system, IZIP has opted for the top-tier Bosch Performance Line CX motor system. This thing offers 75 Newton meters of peak torque output, shift-sensing and shift recommendation, as well as a compact design. Electric bike shops that I visit regularly praise Bosch motors as being the most reliable… but they do produce a bit more noise than Brose due to higher RPM operation. The chainring is much smaller than you’d normally see and is rotated at roughly 2.5x your pedal cadence making it very responsive. In short, the motor generates a lot of power but whines a bit at high speed and can be vulnerable to chain suck if coated with mud. On some other Bosch powered ebikes that have rear suspension, pulley wheels and chain guides have been added to reduce chain slap, slip and kickback. The E3 Sumo does not have any of this additional hardware because it has a solid rear end but the chain suck thing could still be an issue. Notice how close the yolk and right chainstay are to the chain when riding in high gears… I saw the chain possibly bouncing into the joint where the yolk meets the stay in the video I shot and this gave me pause. Given the smaller chainring, narrow-wide teeth (that grip the chain) and tight chainring guard, would chain suck be an issue? I’m only theorizing here but it is an issue that has been brought up in the EBR forums before and fat bikes are designed for snow, sand and muddy riding. Depending on the type of terrain you intend to explore, I’d approach with these considerations in mind and possibly bring a cleaning tool. In the future, if this does present itself as an issue, maybe a lower guide will be added to the bike?

The frame on this thing is purpose built with internal cable routing and a custom battery motor interface. In order to fit a standard Bosch motor and align the chain properly, the motor has been seated to the right edge of the bottom bracket mount and a spacer has been added to the left crank arm. It has an alloy skid plate below but is otherwise much more compact than Bosh systems from a year or two ago which had bulky plastic covers and were mounted flat vs. at an angle. It’s an impressive design to be sure and the paint job looks great with digital camo stickers on the frame and battery and accents on the saddle. With two sizes to choose from, this bike becomes much more accessible and gives you the option of riding a bit small to bring in reach and make handling quicker. I love how steep the top tube is because this makes mounting and stabilizing the bike easier which is a huge deal if you’ve added racks and lots of gear. One thing it does not have is a kickstand or mounting bracket to add one. That sucks if you want to go bikepacking and are trying to put gear onto racks without having the already heavy 53 lb bike tip over. Again, I’m extrapolating here but the ample rack bosses suggest that this ebike is meant to carry a load.

Powering the bike is a standard Bosch Powerpack 400 rated at 36 volts and 11 amp hours. I say standard because Bosch now has a 500 watt hour pack that would take you further and be welcome for the rigors of soft surface riding with lower tire pressure or long steady climbs. Of course, those packs cost a bit more and the IZIP E3 Sumo is impressively priced at just over $3k. The battery interface remained the same from the Powerpack 400 to the 500 so you could always get one of the larger batteries later if you wanted. The battery case is thoughtfully designed with a handle loop at the top and an LED charge level indicator on the left. You can charge it on or off the bike and the charger is relatively lightweight at ~1.7 lbs and compact enough to toss into a bag. Rated at 4 Amps, it fills the battery faster than many other electric bike chargers which are only rated at 2 Amps. Charging the battery whilst on the bike requires the removal of a large rubber plug… which I love. It seats firmly and has several rows of ridges to keep water and debris out of the charging socket. The only downside here is if you set the plug down and forget it. There’s not leash or attachment to keep this plug with the bike and I feel like that’s a big tradeoff. Most of the other charge port covers on Bosch ebikes have a thinner rubber cover which do have attachments. It doesn’t get in the way and keeps the cover from getting lost… but those covers don’t always seat as well.

Operating the bike is intuitive and fast. Once the battery is charged and mounted you just press the power button near the lower left corner of the LCD display panel. This display is large, making it easy to read, and faintly backlit so it can be used at night. Unfortunately, you can’t turn the backlight off, it’s always there and in some ways that’s distracting. The bike doesn’t come with lights but some shops can wire them in and then you can use the Intuvia display panel to turn them on and off… Running lights off the main battery is favorable to charging and mounting them separately in my opinion but you could also charge a clip-on light with the Micro-USB port built into the right edge of the display panel. It feels like this display does everything. You can tilt it forward and back to reduce glare, remove it completely to keep it safe and deter tampering and you can even replace the display with the COBI system which uses your smartphone and offers even more features like GPS. Navigating the stock display is easy once it has been powered on. You can press the up or down key on the remote button pad which is mounted within reach of the left grip. Being able to add or reduce power while riding without taking your hands off is a great thing, especially for off-road riding. There are four levels of assist and the highest one will easily accelerate the bike to the top speed of 20 mph when on flat smooth surfaces. And while you only get five ticks to estimate charge level on the battery and display panel, there is another menu called range which dynamically estimates how far you can go and interprets it based on battery level, assist level and the last three miles of acutal ride performance. You can access this and other menus like average speed, max speed, clock and odometer by pressing the i button on the display or button pad.

The motor, battery and display panel on this electric bicycle aren’t as seamless and hidden as some others… partially because of their color and partially because they are larger and tacked on vs. built into the frame. But, they are a vast improvement over earlier designs and in many ways match the black tires, handlebar, and seat. Aside from the chain suck concerns I raised earlier, I feel like this is a really great bike. The price is impressive, the weight distribution is perfect and you’re getting high-quality braking and pedaling systems from leading brands. IZIP now sells online through their official website and fulfills using a mobile bike service called Beeline but it’s preferable to test ride in shops, especially to compare sizes, and they do have a solid network of dealers in the USA. I could see myself and friends riding these on long daytrips and possibly camping. It has the capacity to work with racks but does not include them stock like the Felt Outfitter. Hopefully, seeing that bike will give you some idea of what the Sumo could be with a little customization… The $2k price difference gives you a lot of wiggle room for customizing the bike and I think the Sumo has a much nicer motor and battery integration (though it is much newer). Apparently Felt used Old Man Mountain racks for their bike. Lots to consider, it’s a cool platform to say the least and I’m excited to see what people do with it. Big thanks to IZIP for partnering with me on this review and inviting me out to their headquarts in Simi Valley California to do some riding.


  • Significant motor and drivetrain upgrades from prior model year, you get a wide-range 11-42 tooth cassette with Shimano SLX derailleur and a high torque Bosch Performance Line CX motor
  • Very few mid drive motors offer shift sensing technology but Bosch is one of them and it will reduce stress on the drivetrain, especially relevant for climbing and moving heavier wheels like the E3 Sumo has
  • The motor is tilted up and integrated into the frame more than some other electric fat bikes that use Bosch (or similar mid-drive systems), it has sleek casing on the sides and a metal skid guard on the bottom for protection
  • The battery pack is also neatly integrated into the bike frame with a flattened downtube and cup-shaped bottom… it looks great and frees up the triangle for lifting the bike and putting the battery on easier (since it snaps in from the top)
  • Lots of attachment option, there are five bosses on each side of the fork and two bosses on each side of the seat stays which could be used for outfitting this with heavy duty racks for bikepacking, hunting or other adventures
  • Deep angle on the top tube makes mounting and steadying the bike easier, it comes in two frame sizes for improved fit and handling for a range of rider body types
  • Impressive stock pedals, they offer space, stiffness, and traction beyond what I usually see and look great on the bike
  • Incredible price point given the level of components and Bosch drive system, it costs a lot to produce niche models like this and to see it in multiple sizes with such a cool aesthetic and quality hardware got me excited
  • Sturdy thru-axles keep the wheels stiff and can handle longer hubs (the rear is 190 mm long), punched-out Alexrims reduce weight and offer a bit more cushion on bumpy terrain
  • Narrow to wide tooth pattern on the chainring improves grab and reduces slipping,
    this is great for off-road riding
  • At this time, Bosch does not make a fat bike specific motor so IZIP had to really customize the frame with a narrower yolk that’s welded to the chainstays and an offset spacer on the left crank arm, it’s excellent engineering work and keeps the chainring aligned with the drivetrain
  • Large 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes with four-piston calipers deliver the stopping power you need for mountain riding and hauling heavy gear, the levers offer adjustable reach so you can bring them in if you’re wearing gloves
  • Both the battery pack and display panel are removable so you can reduce the weight of the bike for transport and store the sensitive expensive bits separately (inside) if you have to leave the bike somewhere else


  • Despite having so many rack mounting points they were not able to squeeze in water bottle cage bosses, it appears that there just wasn’t room in the center triangle given the lowered top tube and on-frame battery pack
  • The four inch tires offer good comfort but we’re starting to see fat bikes with suspension forks and even full suspension, this isn’t so much a con as a consideration… the rigid alloy fork and solid frame won’t be as forgiving without suspension, consider swapping the seat post with a 31.6 mm suspension post like the Suntour NCX but note that it will raise the minimum seat height by a few inches
  • Keep an eye on the left crank arm and left chainstay because they pass very close and the Bosch speed sensor wire is run along the top of the tubing, if you’re riding in muddy terrain I feel like this area could get bumped around more easily (especially if you pedal backwards and aren’t careful)
  • I love the big rubber plug that covers the battery charging port on the left side of the bike but noticed that it does not have a leash to keep it with the bike when pulled off, it would be easy to set down while charging and forget… and lose
  • Watching the frame-mounted camera towards the end of the video review above, it looks like the chain may be sucked up after rotating through the chainring, I’ve heard this can be an issue when chains get really muddy but perhaps the NW teeth are causing it on this brand new demo bike?


More IZIP Reviews

IZIP E3 ProTour Review

  • MSRP: $3,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An efficient, feature-complete, speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speed with excellent frame balance but limited suspension and comfort options. Alloy fenders and minimalist rear rack stay quiet on bumpy terrain, an alloy chain guide…...

IZIP E3 Peak+ Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A mean looking cross country style hardtail electric mountain bike, beautifully integrated battery pack and motor keep weight low and center, has rear-rack bosses!. Locking removable battery pack can be charged on or off the bike, the display is…...

IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A value-priced urban electric bike that includes fenders, integrated LED lights, a rear rack, and hydraulic disc brakes, it's available in three frame sizes but only high-step. This is a high-speed Class 3 ebike that can reach ~28 mph assisted and because…...

IZIP E3 Go Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A purpose-built electric tricycle with efficient and well-balanced middrive motor system, powerful 48 volt battery and optional second battery bay for increased range, rear wheel drive offers good traction. Comfortable swept-back handlebar with ergonomic grips, massive padded saddle with springs and hybrid tires keep…...

IZIP E3 Peak DS Review

  • MSRP: $4,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A value-driven full suspension electric cross country mountain bike with higher end drive system and components from Bosch, SRAM and RockShox, it's $300 cheaper than prior year with lots of upgrades. Beautiful hydroformed frame with inset battery mount and tapered head tube, the motor hangs down…...

2016 IZIP E3 ProTour Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the coolest looking, most feature rich high-speed electric bicycles I've tested... the battery is beautifully integrated and the small motor stays almost completely hidden behind the chainring. Pedal assist gets you 28 mph using speed, cadence and torque sensing and you can…...

2016 IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the lighter weight, higher powered and more affordable off-road capable fat bikes I've tested, you get 15 mm and 12 mm thru-axles with quick release and punched out rims. Sturdy Shimano M396 hydraulic disc brakes front and rear, no motor inhibitors in the levers…...

IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A 650B hardtail trail or mountain ebike with a powerful 73 Nm mid-drive motor, it's one of the quieter motors but less responsive (mostly cadence sensing) and no shift sensing. Nice 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes, quick release for both wheels and a 15 mm…...

2016 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A feature complete speed pedelec (capable of ~28 mph top speeds) with a high torque mid-drive motor from TranzX. Quality full length plastic fenders from SKS with integrated mud flaps, mid-level suspension fork with…...

IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An efficient, light weight commuter electric bike available in two frame sizes and high-step or step-thru styles, the adjustable stem and swept back bars support a surprisingly comfortable upright body position. Narrower tires, firm saddle and all-Aluminum frame and fork provide great power transfer when pedaling…...

IZIP E3 Vibe+ Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An approachable electric bike with deep low-step frame, adjustable stem, swept back handle bars and a large comfortable saddle. Simple linear pull brakes work well and are easy to adjust, quick release skewers on…...

IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high powered, cruiser style electric bike with four levels of zippy pedal assist and a twist throttle drive mode. Available in two high-step sizes (18" and 20") and one step-thru (18") for easier mounting,…...

2015 IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the only fat tire style electric bikes I've tested to date that is legally capable of 25+ mph top speeds in pedal assist mode. Good value considering the custom fat frame in two sizes, solid warranty and availability, hydraulic…...

2015 IZIP E3 Peak DS Review

  • MSRP: $4,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Full suspension electric bike with powerful mid-drive motor for effective climbing and balanced weight, higher ~28 mph top speed. Removable battery pack and quick release wheels make charging and servicing convient, reduce weight when…...

2015 IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $3,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Hardtail trail-ready electric bike with powerful centerdrive motor for effective climbing and balanced weight, ~28 mph top speed. Removable battery pack for convenient charging and reduced transport weight, lockout suspension fork by RockShox…...

2015 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,550
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Cruiser style electric bike with two frame styles, two frame sizes, 11 custom colors and a wonderfully balanced purpose-built frame. Removable battery can be charged on or off the bike, optional matching fenders, rear rack…...

2015 IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,600
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Near-silent commuter style electric bike offering pedal assist and throttle mode, fenders and a carry rack. Comfortable ride with upright seating position, swept back handlebars and oversized Velo comfort saddle...

2015 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance city style electric bike that offers throttle mode up to 20mph and pedal assist up to 28mph. Comfortable ride with oversized 700x45c tires, suspension fork with lockout and updated Velo Street saddle...

IZIP E3 Twn:exp Review

  • MSRP: $2,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A sturdy, highly adjustable city bike that's perfect for rentals or fleets. High torque 400 watt direct drive motor is quiet and extremely durable, encased in rear…...

2014 IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

An active urban-style electric bike with near-silent motor operation and clean design helping it blend in. Strong 500 watt motor paired with large 48 volt battery that's removable and uses premium…...

IZIP E3 Metro Review

  • MSRP: $2,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy, stiff and capable of hauling cargo with the reinforced front basket and welded rear rack. Oversized tires, adjustable stem and seat post suspension improved comfort when riding...

2014 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,400
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Clean design with integrated battery pack improves balance, eight frame colors to choose from. Delivers smooth pedal assist and twist throttle mode for easy start from rest...

2014 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,600
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

High quality features and well rounded drive system at an excellent price. Strong but quiet 500 watt gearless rear hub motor offers throttle mode and torque-sensing pedal…...

2014 IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $3,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Mid-level off road electric mountain bike with excellent weight distribution. Centerdrive motor offers high-torque, leverages rear cassette and makes servicing wheels and tires much easier...

2013 IZIP E3 Metro Review

  • MSRP: $2,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Strong 500 watt motor is capable of moving heavier riders and heavier loads in the integrated racks. Weight is spread out from rear and kept low to the ground with battery built…...

IZIP E3 Compact Review

  • MSRP: $2,150
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Built on the industry leading Dahon single speed folding bicycle frame. Offers both pedal assist and twist and go throttle mode...

IZIP E3 Path Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

An affordable, classic style electric bike with balanced features. Weaker 250 watt motor offers less torque but also weighs less...

2013 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Solid frame with oversized cushy tires and seat delivers a fluid enjoyable ride. Powerful 500 watt geared rear hub motor paired with 36 volt Lithium-ion battery offers torque…...

IZIP Express Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2012, 2013

Ultra powerful and rugged long-range electric bike, originally designed for use by the Los Angeles police force for urban patrols. Unique mid-drive belt system delivers high torque for climbing and accelerating, speed pedelec design capable…...

IZIP E3 Ultra Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Powerful 500 Watt motor paired with strong 36 Volt battery for acceleration and climbing ability. Sensitive pedal assist mode becomes jerky when climbing hills but is otherwise very responsive...

IZIP E3 Vibe Review

  • MSRP: $999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Upright seating with high-rise handlebars, wide sprung saddle and seat post shock for improved comfort. 250 watt brushless rear hub motor works well with pedal assist or throttle mode for…...

IZIP Trekking Enlightened Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2009

Discontinued in 2009, replaced with the E3 Path which is sturdier, less expensive and features twist throttle as well as pedal assist. Designed to be pedaled, the Trekking Enlightened lacks throttle mode but features 24 speed, lights,…...

IZIP Urban Cruiser Enlightened Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2009

A relaxed, comfortable and stable cruiser style electric bike with integrated downtube-battery that keeps weight low and center. Smooth torque sensing pedal assist is responsive but requires more care when working on the…...

11 months ago

Am dying to how this 10 Speed 1×10 Shimano SLX Derailleur, 11-42 setup would do if swapped for SRAM’s new EX1 system. I wonder if that is marketing hype or a genuine improvement over more gears (cogs, to be precise).

11 months ago

I keep hearing about their ebike specific system, will keep an eye out and dig deeper on it… thanks Shaggy!


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

1 day ago

Drew, I know exactly what you're talking about - I had to get rid of a perfectly good iZip due to a lack of battery replacement. Although I appreciate Ann M's attempt to put a good face on an untenable situation the fact of the matter is that anyone buying an eBike, even from a so-called top tier vendor at top prices can't count on being able to get spare parts (many of which are proprietary) in the future. As for the cell phone comment, look at the press Apple is getting for purposely slowing thier phones as the battery wore down to force people to upgrade. The battery situation makes ebikes an incredibly ungreen solution - they end up getting dumped in landfills. Yes lithium technology has issues, but as car manufacturers have shown if the vendor isn't greedy and takes this into account by not allowing severe discharge and trying to inflate range claims they can actually last a long time. Anyway, my solution has been to buy the cheapest, simplest eBike available knowing full well that it won't have much of a life span. With a $1500 eBike that's doable, but not so much fun with a $5,000 bike. And yes, the top tier vendors supposedly have these long warranties that people go on about, but when you read the fine print such as that of Haibike the coverage is laughable - such as not covering labor costs, or excluding so many items - this is never pointed out in the reviews, but we sure hear about it from forum members who have had problems with their expensive bikes and are trying to get warranty repairs.

Ann M.
1 day ago

Sorry that you feel that way, @ew. As a 17 year veteran of this industry; I can concur that the batteries are a real issue. There are reputable battery rebuilding companies or individuals out there and the beauty of this is that those new cells will have a much greater capacity and potentially range, depending upon how it's built. You certainly will get more charge cycles if the battery is built with known good cells. We have dealt with this dilemma and have a couple of options at our shop. One is to order a whole new battery with a box from a known good manufacturer or to have a known competent electronics specialist rebuild it using the case and possibly the BMS (if it's still good) providing a bit of savings over a whole new battery.

A replacement battery is a lot less expensive than a whole new ebike. Now with that said, the technology and styling has changed a bit since your 2012 Zuma. Those have good strong hub motors but a bit more weight in the back than is optimal. If you like how this bike rides, then replace or rebuild the battery or if you like some of the newer styles; get a new bike. The last Izip Zuma battery our shop purchased from Currie Tech for a customer cost $800 plus shipping, so a build by a battery manufacturer or a rebuild from a good service provider would save a bit of money.

Your ebike shop didn't burn you; 6 years is a good run on a new technology product. Can you say the same for your cell phone? ;)

1 day ago

It's was so easy to say that, wasn't it? But it sounds like you haven't been on the e-bike scene for very long.

Because the reality is, there are no "OEM" batteries for a lot of not-so-old bikes.

For instance, Currie does not have any OEM replacement batteries for my 2012 iZip E3 Zuma.

And my e-LBS, where I bought the bike, referred me to batteryrefill.com.

Rather than pour $600 into the speculative venture of rebuilding a battery for a bike with 5000 miles on it, I am simply buying a new bike.

And it ain't gonna be no Currie. And I ain't buying it from my e-LBS. Once burned, twice shy on both counts.

2 days ago

Really good explanation from Tora on the advantages of having a throttle in stop start urban riding. For the past 18 months I have been using a bafang BBS01 kit as a pedelec motor without the throttle, but I've experienced issues Tora mentioned a couple of times I've struck my derailleur or my right pedal against a curbstone at low speed passing cars curbside, or found myself in the wrong gear at a stop light facing uphill, so I'm swapping out my derailleur for an IGH so I can shift down when stationary and fitting the throttle so I can coast without pedalling when necessary. I appreciate the versatility of a kit motor that lets me switch over from a Class 1 to a Class 2 by simply adding a throttle, the optional boost button on Raleigh and Izip ebikes does the same thing.

I also find walk assist useful when pushing my heavy ebike up ramps when towing a trailer or up the 3 steps into my backyard. Trek and other manufacturers are wrong not to activate walk assist on Bosch powered ebikes in the US. I know it's not legal in New York state at present to have a throttle but walk assist is capped to like 3mph so this is just stupid corporate BS. On the bright side I'm encouraged the People for Bikes model ebike legislation is being adopted by more and more states that legalizes both Class 1 and 2 riding on bike paths and sidewalks.

2 weeks ago

Took my izip out today for the first time this year. No way could I get that thing on my car. I love it but really need something portable. for the most part I will be riding streets, but I bought a camper last year and eventually want to be able to ride trails. I am leaning toward the rad mini as it has the fat tires. Anyone have any experience with that one?

bob armani
3 weeks ago

Surfstar-I agree with you on many of your points and your suggestions in your post. Everyone likes a great deal during the winter/spring sales. Can't beat it! Paying retail sucks when there are bargains out there with much better components. I also have issues with Haibikes missing wanted components. Somehow you'll have to mix and match comparisons on those bikes to get close to what you really want in an ebike. The Urban Plus is great, I just wish it had an option to either use COBI or use a traditional center mount display like an Intuvia or something similar.
Not sure if one can be retrofitted or not??

I also like Surface604 as well. Their full Carbon Oryx for 4k is a real beauty of a bike, however, never discounted. Looks like a very solid company for well built ebikes.

Juiced may not be a bad choice considering Tora has made some improvements and looks like his heart is into making a good product. A lot of bike for the $$$ and you can also make mods later if you see fit. I myself like rear hub drives with a TMM4 torque sensor on any ebike. Mid-drives have their place, but for commuting, that is my preference. Love the zippy feeling off the line in any gear from the powerful 350/500 watt motor. :p

3 weeks ago

I don't mean to be rude but to find one of those %50 mid drive deals, I did a lot of homework and in the end I could have easily gotten "screwed" by at least $600-1000 because no one bothered to decrease even $50 (When I got in touch with one of the dealers on this forums he wasn't even taking one step back from the 2300+tax of a 2016 xduro cross which I eventually got it from another online store "brand new" for $700 less after tax. The same dealer advertised that bike for $1700 after a month,another one ,a lbs, was trying to sell me a 2016 demo fullnine RC for 3000+tax now 2017 fullnine 6.0 (same components + 500W battery) is sold $2200 Brand New.) .

You should understand that you are lucky and having those really nice deals without even having to worry about it, quite frankly for those prices you can just get a non-electric version of those bikes. I understand wanting throttle but I have to say your range with a throttle may not be much. If you are fit and if you don't want to tire yourself out just put it to the highest assist level and you will have a very comfortable ride.

3 weeks ago

Another set of test rides yesterday at a different shop (I wanted to ride my mtb there, but somehow the rear tire has gone completely flat and won't hold air - WTH)

Still trying to find a "cheap" hub motor setup to simulate riding a RadCity. The shop didn't carry the $1550 bike they showed online. Their only hub motor was a $3000 setup (emotion evo street), but I still took that for a spin, and then a couple mid-drive Giant bikes.

This was good, as it cemented a major realization for me:
I prefer the "lazy" ability of a throttle. All of the mid-drive, torque sensors are really just like riding a bike, but faster/easier. They still require a workout, which is not what I'm actually looking for. I want a faster, non-sweaty, biking commute. Its funny, though, as I am someone who prefers to be active - we run, hike, rock climb, surf, etc., and I do like biking; I just want to have the ability to not have to push when pedaling up a slight hill, and the mid-drive torque motors aren't meeting that for my needs - they require too much push on the pedals to give full assist, for me. Also, the mid-drives require you to stay on top of your shifting for best performance - just like riding a real bike. If I wanted to get a workout and everything, I would just buy a hybrid city commuter, for like $500, that was a little bit faster than my current mtb and ride a regular bike to work. That's not what I'm looking for in an ebike, I've realized.

The other conflict, is that I love a great deal (who doesn't!?!) - and all of the crazy 50% off deals I've been finding, are mid-drives!

If I was short, I'd grab the Raleigh Sprint IE - one left on their website for $1499, and you can add a boost (throttle) to it. If I could somehow know that the IZIP/Raleigh boost button would be able to adapt to the Haibike Urban Plus, I'd go that route (same TranzX motor, but Haibike may use a different controller? The Haibike does offer shift detection vs the others). If someone wants to buy this bike, they should click-through ActiveJunky.com for another 3% discount (use this link: https://www.activejunky.com/invite/18072 and you get an extra $10 if its your first time - so figure a small frame Sprint IE for $1450 after discounts!) https://raleighelectric.com/sprint-ie

Then I also see a Misceo IE Sport for half off - again, great price, hydraulic brakes, decent components, but mid-drive, no throttle. For anyone else looking: https://www.bikesourceonline.com/product/raleigh-electric-misceo-sport-ie-255681-1.htm

As, you can see, I'm good at finding deals online, but have yet to find one on a bike that will fit my "wants." Missed a quick deal on a Surface 604 Colt http://www.ebikesofne.com/Colt-Surface604-p/colt-surface-604.htm $1539, but now out of stock. That I should have jumped on.

So, I'm now leaning towards the Juiced CrossCurrent S - but, I hate to pay full retail, plus tax (CA). That puts it into the same price range as all of the Haibikes I've been looking at. And those seem like a better bike, although I would prefer the hub motor and throttle. As part of my deal finding knack - I hate paying full price for something ;) and feel that the RadCity and CCS would suit me well, IF I snagged a deal on one - like $200 off or something - lol. Just hard for me to pay the same price for a direct to consumer RadCity/CCS, when the fit and finish of a Haibike is much better! I do enjoy getting a good value for my dollar, but the lack of throttle is preventing me from the Haibikes. I realize that I'm such a sucker for a good deal / value, and that is strongly pulling me towards the Urban Plus. If only it could adapt the boost-throttle!

Just some more insight into my thought process as I figure this thing out. Ironically, I may go full circle and just get the RadCity which is what originally got me looking at ebikes...!

3 weeks ago

Hi Over50, I hate to resurrect this topic, but I too am struggling with the “right size” question. I’m 5-10 with a 31-inch inseam. I am 53 years old and want an ebike for use on paved bike paths and maybe some very light off-road. I am looking at the 2017 xduro cross 4.0, which appears to be identical to the xduro trekking 4.0 bike w/o the fenders, lights, etc. I started this process thinking the 56(M) would be the most appropriate frame size – because I have always been a medium. Fortunately, I spoke to some very knowledge folks who were well aware of Haibike’s useless size designations for this bike. The choice is now between the S and XS. It looks like you went with the XS 48. I read some feedback you provided shortly after you got the bike in July. I got the sense you thought it was a good fit, but you had some concern with the reach. Has your opinion of the size changed after six or seven months? Any suggestions for me on the size decision? I hate the idea of a bike that is too small. My one complaint with my old 1989 mountain bike is that my hands go numb on long rides. I assume that one explanation for that problem is that I’m riding a bike that is too small (18-inch frame) - but I suspect the real explanation may be more complicated. Alternatively, if I got the XS, I think my 5-5 wife could ride this bike in a pinch (until she gets her own.) I fear that if I got the S(52), that would not be an option – but maybe I’m wrong. Any insight you can provide on any of this would be greatly appreciated.

3 weeks ago


Feb 24, 25

This Saturday & Sunday, http://www.motostrano.com is hosting two great ebike events, starting with an all day store demo event at our Redwood City location Saturday, followed by a 4 hour ebike demo ride Sunday in Pacifica.

These two back-to-back events are designed to give anyone interested in taking the plunge on an ebike a real-world experience to test, compare and experience a wide variety of ebikes in real-world riding environments, with the guidance and learning offered by factory reps, as well as other riders just like yourself. You are invited!
[*]Demo Saturday. The first event is this Saturday the 24th at our Redwood City store. We'll have a demo fleet of Haibike, Raleigh, iZIP, Cube and Moustache ebikes ready to test. The event is sponsored by Haibike, who will be on hand showing the latest models from their 2018 line-up. We'll have 10 to 20 models available including off-road and on-road models. INFO: https://www.facebook.com/events/188799298556548/
[*]Pacifica Ride To The Sky Sunday. Then Sunday, the 25th, meet us in front of Devil's Slide Taproom from 9AM to 2PM to test ride Haibike, iZIP and Raleigh models on the trails of Montara Mountain and the bike paths surrounding Pacifica. Enjoy the area's wonderful riding trails and fantastic views of the Ocean. See how an ebike lets you climb up 2400 feet above sea level! After we're done we will meet for lunch and beer at the Devil's Slide Taproom. This event is sponsored by the Pacifica Chamber of Commerce and Visitor's Center. Event INFO: https://www.facebook.com/events/1979133315659710/

Plus, this weekend series of events is happening while we still have the big 2017 model year clearance going on! Get great deals on 2017 Haibike, iZIP and Raleigh models while supplies last.


Call 650-918-6259

926 Broadway
Redwood City CA 94063

3 weeks ago

I don't understand one thing with Magnum. the battery brand is mentioned as "Samsung / DLG / Panasonic ". So do they use random batteries or mixed ones as i see no way to choose one of them.

3 weeks ago

I have an EV and I would like a folding bike as an emergency travel option if I need to leave the car charging as well as for travel fun. I an 5 foot one and wight 260 (don't judge). I have RA and was also hit by a car and had my back and sacrum and fibula broken and at 53 that healing process is slower now. I need a comfy, not too heavy folding bike, and have been looking at the Evelo Quest one, the Mate s and the RADmini. I am open to all and any suggestions. I have an iZip cruiser but it is too big for the Bolt. Thanks!

Brooklyn Tony
7 months ago

Fret not! Here's a couple of other fat tire options from low to high pricepoints:
Sondors Original, X, Fold, and Fold X,
Voltbike Yukon, and Mariner,
RadPower Rad Rover and Rad mini,
Pedego trail tracker
Luna cycles homebrewed stuff
iZip E3 Sumo
Emotion Big Bud
Bulls Monster

bob armani
10 months ago

Same with my MTB-in over 25 years of solid riding, never broke a chain or had any major tune-ups or cable snaps. Just some lubing and light cleaning! A solid ride (Trek 7000 MTB American made in Wisc).

Ravi Kempaiah
10 months ago

"Suspension corrected geometry"

This would be important if you add let's say 120mm travel fork on a bike that is only designed for short rigid fork. Frames that are designed with this "correction" would yield no significant difference in handling even if you change out the rigid ones for a longer suspensions.
Most rigid forks are shorter than suspension forks and to offset this, manufacturers like Salsa, Surly have released frames that can accommodate certain changes without making the bike too squirrely. In fact, you can even find "suspension corrected rigid forks" that are longer than the typical rigid forks.

Also, running BBS-HD in conjunction with a powerful hub motor would be completely unnecessary and heavy. Tora designed the frames in such a way that you can simply remove the rear wheel and install a BBS-HD and plug into the same battery if that's what customers prefer.

Juiced bikes has certain advantage compared to all other brands because they make their own battery packs and enable 8-10A charging , modularity and upgradeability.
PS: I spent insane amount of time last fall figuring out how to add RockShox air fork to Haibike SuperRace w/o ruining the nimbleness.

10 months ago

James Kohls, you make many good points, specially regarding the value of local dealer support and regarding exercising caution with the new HyperFat until other users have uncovered its bugs.

However, I have to disagree with your statement: "But there's nothing stopping you from adding [a suspension fork] later." If the frame geometry is not "suspension-corrected", adding a suspension fork may make handling squirrely. I don't know if the iZip E3 Sumo has a suspension-corrected geometry, but I would definitively ask the manufacturer before buying an aftermarket suspension fork.

Some manufacturers, such as Surly, make a point of noting which of their frames is "suspension-corrected." Unfortunately, Surly does not make any ebikes (I wish their Big Fat Dummy was an electric bike!). As far as I know, no manufacturer of ebikes tells us whether their frames are suspension-corrected. You either get them with suspension or you don't. (Anybody, please correct me if I'm wrong.)

James Kohls
10 months ago

Yes, our selection of eBike dealers in Minnesota is pretty thin. Those that do sell eBikes rarely carry much stock and often means you will still have to buy sight unseen. I am personally considering the Specialized Turbo Levo HT Comp Fat that @i Kempaiah mentioned. It is among my top contenders because it can handle very wide tires. Tho, I saw that @racer83l was able to fit 4.8" Jumbo Jims on his https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/4-8-jumbo-jims-on-a-rover.13431/. But cadence sensing is just not for me.

Your desire for a throttle probably means sticking to Internet online brands as most major brands that stores carry around here are all switching or have switched to mid-drive setups without throttles. The Juiced HyperFat is interesting, but for an online bike, my personal thought is to wait until people have had them for a while. See what bugs crop up after wide release. Given its option for a torque sensor, it would by my recommendation given your preferred budget.

Speaking from experience, I do think that local dealer support and repair is worth a significant chunk of change. Thousands of dollars more? That's up to the individual. The biggest concerns I have with purchasing an eBike from an online dealer is support for proprietary components—basically, the e-part. Typically these companies handle electronic repairs via mail. May want to check with owners about who pays for return shipping of damaged parts (and if they require such thing). This would also place you on the hook for replacing them—something that depends on your comfort with such things. Most I've seen don't appear overly complicated.

One that may be of note, that is available from Eric's Bike Shop in MN, is the iZip E3 Sumo. The 2015 model has a throttle and is technically a speed pedalec. Downside to your wish list is no suspension fork. But there's nothing stopping you from adding one later. Maybe the big fat tires will be sufficient for your needs. Uses TranzX mid-drive and is on closeout for $2399.

Or there's the new Bosch center drive (no throttle) version for $2899.

If you live in an Eric's market, you'd have local dealer support.

Edit: In a month or two, they'll be releasing the Raleigh version of the Sumo. Not sure if it will be $2899 like the Sumo or the MSRP of $3199. (Starts @ ~1m29s)

bob armani
10 months ago

Jim= I have had my MTBs for over 25 years (Trek 7000-Made locally) and have never had a chain snap! Lucky I guess. I have always cross chained with no issues.

11 months ago

Addendum: my Bulls had maybe 120 miles on it at the time of this incident, so the chain was relatively "young."

Last year I had a chain break on my 2015 iZiP E3 Sumo (73Nm of rated torque), but it had a few hundred hardy trail miles on it at the time. I had to walk/coast the bike 3 miles that day...

I've since bought a https://www.amazon.com/Park-Tool-CC-3-2-Chain-Indica/dp/B000BR3LHQ/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1493736964&sr=8-2&keywords=chain+checker and check my chains regularly. I also carry a https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002VYB4QC?psc=1 (with built-in chain-pin breaker) and the right size https://www.amazon.com/SRAM-Powerlink-Bicycle-Chain-Connector/dp/B002BBRM98/ref=sr_1_4?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1493737149&sr=1-4&keywords=chain%2Bconnector%2Blink&th=1 for my chain with me on all my rides. Sure came in handy this time!

Chain breaks seem to be more common with my eMTBs - in ~30 years of "regular" MTBing, I don't remember ever breaking a chain! Of course, my bike weighed a lot less and my legs never put out this much force.

James Kohls
1 year ago

It is a bit above $2,000, but Lunacycle has the Black Friday 4 Season 1k for $2300


If you are bike savvy, you could add a mid-drive to a pedal-only fat bike using a kit. Check the DIY section for help with that.

Also there is the Voltbike Yukon


Maybe state a bit about what type of riding you want to use it for. What types of terrain (sand, dirt, snow, pavement, etc)? Do you need things like fenders? bike rack mounts? bottle cage mounts?

If you want higher end components, you really need to breach the $3,000 mark. Then you can start getting into bikes like the iZip E3 Sumo (~$3200) with Shimano SLX and Bosch motor (2017 model)


2 years ago

This is a great question. The gentleman that purchased the bike from me asked me the same thing. I am sure there is a software override for the bike. The Rad Rover guys are great, and I'm sure they would know the answer. I am getting my new Izip E3 Sumo from Ravi tomorrow. It took me forever to find a 2015 model, which is not restricted to 20mph, like the 2016. It also has a throttle, which I miss on my Haibike. I will keep you posted. I love the Transx mid drives. They are not as responsive as the Bosch, but the value is definitely there. I really liked the Bulls Monster Fat Tire when I rode it at the Expo. It has the Bosch CX mid drive, but it was close to $6k. Glad to hear the Big Bud is working for you. I was real curious to find how people enjoy the two hub motors. It makes sense.
Ravi is my favorite E-bike expert. This is the second bike I've bought from him. It will be exciting to follow him on his quest to break the E-bike distance record.
I have changed my mind about the new Strummer. I was so opposed to hub drive e-bikes, so I missed my change to try one out at the E-bike workshop. Now, I'm sorry I didn't. Ravi's videos make the bike look really fun. I now have 4 E-bikes, so I will have to hold off buying any more . . . for now.

2 years ago

I have owned seven e-bikes, so I hope I can provide you with some great experience lessons, so that you can make an informed decision.
It sounds like you would do well with a light Cargo bike. Here are some things I would humbly suggest you avoid:
First, if you want even minimal health/exercise benefits, avoid a hub motor. Most are cadence sensor, and most do have a throttle that you will find yourself using almost exclusively. If you test drive a hub motor e-bike, you will think they are great. That's because you probably haven't tested a mid-drive. The only decent hub-motor, in my opinion is the Strummer, which is probably out of your price range. Also hub drives are incredibly heavy; I mean really heavy.

Next, don't buy a Pedego. These are solid bikes; however, they are over priced and provide minimal exercise value. Again, if you test drive one, you'll definitely be sold, but be patient. This company has excellent customer service and does spend a lot on advertising. But they usually target people who don't really want much exercise out of their bike.

Now, here are the things you should do:
Test drive as many models as you can, if possible, even if you have to drive far to do it. Go on this web site and view as many of Court's reviews as you can. He is definitely the master review and is incredible thorough. I have bought any bikes, just on his review, and I have been very satisfied.

Of all the bikes I have owned, the Izip mid-drive bikes are by far the best value. They provide excellent customer support and have lots of dealers. Their mid-drive motors are not as great as the Bosch, but they hold their own. If you want a Bosch, it will cost you and, to my knowledge, none have throttles.

I would highly recommend the Yuba Spicy Currie. Great mid-drive cargo bike. Also get a mid-drive that goes 28mph (also known as a speed pedalec). Most of the Izips no longer have throttles. Instead they have speed buttons, which are the same as a throttle and they are $50 extra (well worth it). These retail for a bit outside your budget, but I can guaranty you that Lenny can probably get it for well below retail price, free shipping and no tax, which is really a big savings.

I hope this helps, and good luck. If you take a little time and buy the right bike, it will change your life.

I would highly recommend any Izip mid-drive bike. I am buying a E3 Sumo myself, but do own the Diamondback version of the Izip E3 Peak.

2 years ago

I loved my Diamondback/Izip Overdrive Exec. I had the Rad Rover Fat Bike, but the hub drive was a drawback for me (great bike, just hated the hub).

I had been "eyeing" the Sumo since it came out in 2015. Not a bad price (relatively speaking), but I still could not afford it. The 2016s came out. . . . I saw dealers were closing out the 2015 models. I purchased one online, only to find there had been an error: the only one left in stock was a large, and I ordered a medium. This happened a couple of times. It turns out that there was a packaging error. The box said Medium, but the bike was a large.

I checked everywhere and there wasn't a medium to be found. All sold out. I looked at the geometry and compared it to my Rad Rover. It looks like there are some differences and it appears I can change out the stem and maybe the seatpost.

I'm 5'5" and the large is designed for someone 5'8". Big difference, I know, but I'm wondering if anyone owns an E3 Sumo large or medium and if they could give me some advice on the feel, the size and/or a "shrink down"? I know that some would say the size down is not possible, but I've already bought the bike, so I'll have to work with what I've got. I look forward to encouraging, positive advice. Thanks in advance

Cameron Newland
2 years ago

...so they combined the E3 Sumo and the E3 Peak into one bike?

Edit: that is the Sumo. Nevermind. Haha :D

Ian Mangham
3 months ago

I love fat bike's, wish I was young I'd buy one, I gotta stay loyal to my mongoose now I'm old, but every kid should get a free fat bike from the government

Ian Mangham
3 months ago

She's beautiful

5 months ago

I love that colour!

Gary Bryan
6 months ago

Nice review like all the others. My question is I have the idea that the rims with holes is somewhat generic. Opinion and are they of a good quality?

Christoffer Gustafsson
10 months ago

i am thinking of an Fatbike or a 27,5+. Of course electric after seeing many of your Reviews but i cant decide! i´m about to push the buy button!

David Keenan
5 days ago

Did you buy one ?

Arnold Winters
10 months ago

Aren't all chains strong and rustproof in the mid to more expensive bikes? Even the low cost ones?

Tim VonWald
10 months ago

Just picked one up. It's an awesome ride.
Thanks again for the great review.

11 months ago

my 2015 Sumo is still not jealous of the '17 as it goes 28+ mph and this is 20mph .
But this has all the awesome bosses for a ton of racks . ANd shift sensing .. awesome addition . Thanks for #HUNTING ebike keyword . Lots of hunting ATVs could be left home . These are silent , gas free and trail friendly

J Clar
11 months ago

no tested torque, top speed, time to speed, or real world range. Time to charge. Recommended maintenance. How well does it coast. Problems reported by owners and dealers.
No basics, so, finding all these reviews totally missing and useless, I had to go to my dealer and ride 12 different bikes before deciding on my kalkhoff. Also he's not talking to dealers about reliability and support, which is how I decided on mine vs Stromer. I learned Curry (aka iZip) provided excellent dealer support, even breaking down a bike for a dealer, calling that dealer, and reporting wiring info to that dealer, to solve a throttle problem for the customer. But I'm no expert and don't know about Haibike, ESV, Reise and Muller in these respects.
Real world wise, "color schemes" aside, I had to spend two afternoons at my dealer really learning about OBJECTIVE PERFORMANCE because these videos are really useless. Especially mounting a camera on the chain stay and filming a ride. What on earth does that show or prove.

11 months ago

Haha. He said dongle...

joes joey
11 months ago

Everything seems great quality and well build only thing i hate is skeletonized motor protection also skeletonized chain guard more space for dirt and rocks to go in and trust me a small rock can mess your expensiv bike!great revieW Court!

Learn Socialist Justice
11 months ago

Hi EBR, i have 2 electric bikes, they are great when i ride the greenways. Now i want 2 more to ride on the beach for 20 miles. What bikes are good for ridding the beach? I seen your E-LUX bikes they look amazing

Ian Mangham
3 months ago

Learn Socialist Justice He rides a sonders on a beach I think, on one of his vids

Baron Of Hell
11 months ago

This is the model the army uses to hunt down terrorist. You can mount a rifle or water bottle on it. Next time please put a American flag on the back.

Donald MacLeay
11 months ago

The chain was grabbing the chain ring, but then again the chain looked completely dry.

Ray Tenpenny
11 months ago

Great reviews. Any plans to do the Cannondale Quick Neo any time soon?

Karl Fonner
11 months ago

I don't mean to be hating but 36 V how long will that last you in the real world looks great in the parking lot for 10 minutes how well can it really climb ? And for how long ?

11 months ago

Hi Karl, in my experience the 36 volt system is extremely capable when used on mid-drive ebikes. Bosch, Yamaha, Shimano and Brose use this voltage with varying amp hours for larger or smaller watt hour capacities. I'd look at the torque rating for power and amp hours for range and go higher if it's a mid-drive. This model (with the fat tires) might get slightly less range... but if used on packed flats it could still top 30 miles per charge on the mid levels of assist. The highest level might only get 20 to 25 depending on terrain. Hope this helps!

Bob Brawley
11 months ago

Karl Fonner good observation. Not a very goodreview more like a sales pitch . This fellow weighs @135 pounds and that escews the preformance demo. parking lot riding is not much ofa demostration. I watch many of his videos because he explans many different bicycles but the preformance capablities are not adquatly demonstrated

Tim VonWald
11 months ago

Thank you for all the reviews you're doing.
Thinking of buying one of these.
I appreciate the wealth of knowledge you share.

11 months ago

Thanks Tim! I've created a directory that should help you search locally and by brand... it's being updated right now so the data is thin but maybe it will help you find more places to visit for this or other ebikes: https://electricbikereview.com/shop-directory/

Tim VonWald
11 months ago

Difficult to find one that's available in a local shop however.

brighton dude
11 months ago

I'm not very keen on that offset motor and the special left crank pedal. If you decided the crank length was not good for you can you easily get alternative lengths?

11 months ago

I believe the cranks are a bit longer on this model, 175 mm vs. standard 170 mm but the width is probably also slightly more. To me, it felt great... you could probably change the crank arms but not the width of the stance

Mark Mealman
11 months ago

You always do great reviews. Just picked up a Radrover for my first ebike based in large part on your reviews on it. These bikes make you feel like a kid again. Just pure fun.

11 months ago

Hey Mark! That's awesome, hope you have a blast with it :) the Rad Power Bikes team is a lot of fun and their product gets better every year

Seb K
11 months ago

If they smooth welded the frame it would look nicer .

Seb K
11 months ago

Possibly . I know Specialized have developed internal welding techniques on their new frames so you don't even see any connection as such . However this comes at a price .

11 months ago

Good call, maybe it was a cost savings thing?