Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Review

Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Electric Bike Review
Kalkhoff Agattu B7
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Bosch Active Line E Bike Motor With Chain Cover
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Rack Mounted Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Relaxed Swept Back Handlebars Adjustable Stem
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Bosch Purion Closeup
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Axa Echo15 Headlight Plastic Fenders
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Selle Bassano Volare Gel Saddle With Post Modern Suspension Post
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Rear Rack With Spring Latch
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Shimano Nexus Inter 7 Igh
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Magura Hs 11 Hydraulic Rim Brakes
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Portable 2 Amp Electric Bike Charger
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Electric Bike Review
Kalkhoff Agattu B7
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Bosch Active Line E Bike Motor With Chain Cover
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Rack Mounted Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Relaxed Swept Back Handlebars Adjustable Stem
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Bosch Purion Closeup
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Axa Echo15 Headlight Plastic Fenders
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Selle Bassano Volare Gel Saddle With Post Modern Suspension Post
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Rear Rack With Spring Latch
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Shimano Nexus Inter 7 Igh
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Magura Hs 11 Hydraulic Rim Brakes
Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Portable 2 Amp Electric Bike Charger


  • Very affordable Bosch powered electric city bike, comes with all of the accessories you need for commuting in rain or shine along with several comfort upgrades
  • Integrated LED lights, with an aimable headlight, keep you visible and help you navigate in the dark, reflective tires provide a larger visual footprint so cars notice you
  • Internally geared hub keeps the bike frame clean and is less likely to take damage at crowded bike racks or in the event of a tip, the chain should stay on track as well
  • Available in two sizes with separate wheel sizes to provide a great fit, the rear rack mounted battery isn't as balanced as mid-frame, Bosch Performance Line motor is zippy and responsive

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





Agattu B7


$2,499 USD

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes


5 Year Frame, 2 Year Motor and Battery


United States, Europe

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53 lbs (24.04 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.4 lbs (2.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

17.72 in (45 cm)19.69 in (50.01 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Small 17.72": 18" Seat Tube Length, 22.25" Reach, 18" Stand Over Height, 71.5" Length

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Satin Black with Grey Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour CR-7V Spring, 50 mm Travel, 100 / 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

130 / 10 mm Threaded Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1×7 Shimano Nexus Inter 7, 22T Cog

Shifter Details:

Shimano Nexus Grip Shift on Right


Miranda, Alloy, 170 mm Length, 18T Chainring


Plastic Platform with Rubber Tread


Threaded, 1-1/8"


Alloy, Quill, Adjustable Angle, 70 mm Length


Concept, Alloy, Swept Back, 26" Length, 25.4 mm Diameter

Brake Details:

Magura HS 11 Hydraulic Rim Brakes, Magura HS 11 Levers with Adjustable Reach


Ergonomic, Rubber


Selle Bassano Volare, Gel

Seat Post:

Post Modern Suspension with Shim (31.6 mm to 27.2 mm)

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm


Concept, Alloy, Double Wall, Machined Sidewall, 32 Hole, Reinforcement Eyelets


Stainless Steel, 14G, Silver with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Energize Life, 26" x 1.75" (47-559) or Schwalbe Energizer Life 28" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Active Line KGuard, Reflective Sidewall Tape, 45-70 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Plastic Fenders, Alloy Rack with Pannier Blockers and Spring Latch and Mini-Pump (20 kg Max Weight), Plastic Chain Cover, Integrated AXA Echo15 LED Headlight (15 Lux), Integrated LED Backlight, Press Bell on Left, Adjustable Length Kickstand


Locking Removable Battery Pack with LED Charge Level Indicator, 1.4 lb 2 Amp Travel Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Torque:

63 Newton meters

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

65 miles (105 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Purion, Fixed, Grayscale, Backlit LCD, (Hold - and Press Power for Standard to Metric)


Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Trip Distance, Total Distance, Estimated Range

Display Accessories:

5 Volt 500 mA Micro-USB Port for Diagnostics

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Combined Torque, Cadence and Speed Measured 1,000 Times Per Second), (Eco 40%, 35 Nm Tour 100% 40 Nm, Sport 150% 45 Nm, Turbo 250% 48 Nm)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

For several years now (since 2014), Kalkhoff has been importing some of the most feature-rich, and comfortable, city style electric bikes to the US. This is a company with Dutch and German roots, known for utility and precision. What you get with their Agattu B7 model is a value-priced step-thru that has all of the bells and whistles you might expect from Kalkhoff along with the trusted Bosch Performance Line in lieu of Kalkhoff’s own Impulse drive system. As a Bosch fan myself, I appreciate the familiar control pad interface, smart responsive motor support, and standardized battery pack. This isn’t the highest-end Bosch mid-drive, and the charger is a bit slower at 2 Amps vs. 4 Amps, but the lower torque and slightly reduced RPM of the motor give it a smooth relaxing feel that some riders might prefer. It’s a great system for neighborhood and city riding or commuting. And it’s available in two frame sizes with slightly different wheel diameters, this is the kind of electric bike that is easy to mount and less intimidating to ride for people with limited flexibility or a shorter inseam. The seat tube is lower and the rear rack is positioned further back making room for the saddle to go all the way down. A spring suspension fork and seat post suspension take the edge off of bumpy terrain and a comfortable gel saddle, swept-back handlebar with an adjustable stem, and ergonomic grips make it feel almost like a cruiser. But you get a better pedaling experience than most cruiser style e-bikes and at ~53 lbs, this thing is lighter than most cruisers as well. While the suspension fork is not highly adjustable and does not include lockout, the hybrid tires are very efficient and the mid-drive motor leverages whichever gear you choose to maximize power delivery. A full-length pair of plastic fenders and tight plastic chain cover will keep your pants or dress snag-free and the integrated LED lights and reflective tires help keep you safe day or night without the hassle and potential obstruction of clip-on lights. Despite having so many features and accessories, including a unique bell, rack integrated mini-pump, and adjustable length kickstand, the bike rides quietly and is priced incredibly low at $2,500. If you watch the video review and the ride test towards the end, you may hear the internally geared hub clicking and the Bosch centerdrive whining a bit, but it’s not really that bad. I personally feel that this is a category killer because it’s just so complete and well done. My gripes include slower shifting with the internally geared hub, a non-removable display panel, a bit of frame flex due to the rack mounted battery and wave style frame, and the lack of bottle cage bosses.

Driving the bike is a Bosch Performance Line mid-motor producing 250 watts of power nominal and up to 63 Newton meters of torque. The video and original writeup here said that the motor was a Bosch Active Line which is noticeably gentler and slower than the standard Performance Line and CX units but I was told that this is just a faceplate issue and that the actual motor delivers the full 120 RPM and high torque vs. 48 Nm on the Active Line. It still measures rear wheel speed, pedal cadence, and pedal torque 1,000x per second and offers software driven shift detection (if you’ve got the latest 2017 firmware, which shops can install). Compared to the Impulse drive units on older Kalkhoff electric bikes, this motor can be louder and the shift detection isn’t quite as good because it’s not physical. Given the seven-speed internally geared hub however, it’s not such an issue. The hub can be shifted at standstill but won’t engage until pressure is relieved. I noticed this while pedaling during the ride test and tended to ease off a bit when shifting gears for a faster response. The chain on the Agattu B7 is slightly thicker and sturdier than a traditional chain because it doesn’t have to flex and jump between sprockets, there are just two cogs here so the chain is always tight and straight. The hub itself is more compact and durable than a cassette because it doesn’t have a derailleur hanging off of the side that could be bumped at a rack or bent if the bike tips. Internally geared hubs (IGH) tend to be slightly heavier, but I think it’s a perfect choice for this platform and seven gears is enough for climbing and reaching the top supported 20 mph speed. You can indeed ride without turning the motor on and you can top 20 mph if you pedal hard or are coasting down a hill… so it’s nice that the brakes on this product are also higher-end. You get Magura HS 11 hydraulic rim brakes with adjustable reach levers and rubber pads that feel soft. These offer excellent braking power and de-clutter the rear hub area. In the video, Chris demonstrates how easy it is to release the left caliper in order to make wheel maintenance easier (the front wheel has a quick release skewer). No more fiddling with cables that stretch and gunk up over time.

Powering the bike is a standard Bosch Powerpack 400 rack-mount battery. It offers an average capacity but uses long-lasting Lithium-ion cells that won’t develop a memory or wear down as quickly as some older battery chemistries. As mentioned earlier, the Agattu B7 comes with the slower 2 Amp charger vs. the 4 Amp, but it’s very compact and lightweight. The first half of the battery charges very quickly because the cells inside don’t have to be balanced as precisely. I could see myself tossing the charger into a trunk bag and bringing the bag and the battery inside for a fill-up during the workday. Being able to charge the battery on or off the bike is convenient, and the charger doesn’t require any accessories or adapters to plug into both ports (bike or battery pack) like some other drive systems like Shimano. The lower back end of the pack has a sort of handle molded into it for easy sliding onto the rack and carrying. And the saddle actually has an integrated handle as well… though I’d be careful about using this given the suspension seat post. For those who really want to lower their seat as far as possible (to stand over the saddle at stops for example) you might consider swapping to a non-suspension post at 31.6 mm or 27.2 mm diameter. I guess my only complaint with regard to the battery is that it is not mid-mounted… and that would impact how easy the bike is to mount and ride. It’s a trade-off that produces some frame flex, raises the weight of a trunk bag and panniers, and can change the ride feel with a bit of “crack the whip” but at 5.4 lbs, it’s really not that bad. Expect to have access to replacement Bosch batteries like this one for years to come, and note that in 2017 a new Powerpack 500 was introduced for the mid-mount design which may also come to the rack style as well. I love that Bosch has made their battery interface systems forward compatible and that all of their packs have LED charge level indicators built in for quick feedback whether it’s on the bike or not.

Operating this bike, turning it on, is fairly intuitive but the control pad isn’t quite as feature rich or easy to navigate as the full sized Bosch Intuvia. With the compact Purion, you get a control pad and display all in one. It’s still backlit with a faint blue glow, but it is not removable… leading to more weather wear and scratches over time. At the top, it shows your current speed and at the bottom, it shows a five-bar battery infographic. For better feedback about range, hold the minus button for a second to switch from assist level readout to trip distance to odometer (total distance) and then range. The range readout is dynamic, so it accounts for your current state of charge, chosen assist level, and the last mile or so of riding. Range will be different for each rider and in each environment which is very cool. It’s way more useful than a 20% charge level and allows you to naturally raise or lower the assist level while ensuring that you’ll make it home before running low on power. Some extras to note here are the walk mode (press the walk button at the base and then hold the + button) which helps you push the 50+ lb bike through crowds or up hills, the light activation (hold the + button for a couple of seconds), and the change units feature (hold – and tap the power button to go from km to mi). All in all, the control pad is easy to reach and simple enough to operate without even looking down. I do feel that the Purion buttons aren’t as reliable as the Intuvia button pad was, there were times when I had to click twice to get it to respond, but I was told by Chris from Propel Bikes in Brooklyn (where this review was done) that they can upgrade you to the Intuvia for something like $200 if you really want.

In conclusion, this is an awesome electric bike that will work for a wide range of body types and use cases… as long as they are primarily urban. Whether you’re a guy or a girl, the sleek black color scheme will look good, and even if you’re on a tight budget… this bike seems within reach. Yes, it’s still $2,500 but this is the type of product that will withstand daily commuting use and years of riding. Bosch offers a two-year comprehensive warranty on their systems and Kalkhoff works through dealers who will be there for you to fit, maintain, and replace when necessary. I personally enjoy the zippier feel and higher cadence support of the Performance Line or even the higher 28 mph assistance of the Bosch Speed motor but for commuting or grocery getting, I think this would be a top pic. Sometimes I worry about expensive ebikes getting scratched up and thus, I don’t use them as frequently… but this bike is tough and I feel like it could withstand tips and scrapes without bothering me so much. The all-Aluminum frame is reinforced for strength and cables are internally routed to reduce snags. Note again, the adjustable headlight and integrated backlight which have some side visibility and are positioned to stay out of the way if you add a trunk bag or panniers. Keep an eye on the adjustable stem because they can sometimes rattle loose over time (or consider swapping for the appropriate rigid stem). For shorter riders, definitely, go with the smaller frame because the 26″ wheelset brings the frame lower to the ground. Keep an eye on the tire pressure every few days to keep them up and reduce pinch flats, and get the internally geared hub checked once a year for cleaning if necessary. Big thanks to Kalkhoff and Propel for partnering with me on this post, it was great to visit Chris in Brooklyn, NY and ride this in a city environment, the suspension worked great! We didn’t have to test it in the rain but I have used similar fenders on other Kalkhoff models and they offer good body protection and stay clear of your feet when pedaling and turning.


  • This is one of the first Bosch powered electric bikes from Kalkhoff to arrive in the US market and the price point is very impressive, for $2.5k you get a premium drive system and lots of useful accessories
  • The Agattu B7 comes stock with plastic fenders, an alloy rack with mini-pump, plastic chain cover, and integrated LED lights so you can use it in almost any type of riding conditions
  • Very comfortable and adjustable, the bike comes in two frame sizes, has an adjustable angle stem, includes a suspension fork and suspension seat post, and the gel saddle feels great
  • The internally geared hub stays clean, tends to be more protected than a derailleur at racks or in the event of a tip, and should be reliable between regular maintenance checkups and oil baths
  • I’m more used to seeing hydraulic disc brakes but these hydraulic rim brakes were just as easy to actuate, they have adjustable levers for people with small or large hands, and they make space for the internally geared hub
  • While the satin black and grey color scheme is unisex and looks professional, it isn’t the most visible… so I love that they included integrated lights and tires with reflective sidewalls
  • Wave style step-thru frame is much easier to mount than trying to swing your leg up and over the rear rack, especially if it’s loaded with gear! It’s a good setup for people with short inseams, hip, or knee sensitivity
  • Provides good fit because it is made in two frame sizes with separate wheel sizes that either raise or lower the overall frame height, the larger wheels are more efficient and span cracks well but make the bike less nimble
  • Elongated chain cover with full-surround chainring cover keeps your pants, skirt, and other loose clothing from getting dirty or snagged while riding
  • No quick release on the rear wheel or the seat post collar, this may be designed to help deter theft in urban environments, the tires have Active Line KGuard puncture protection so hopefully, you won’t need to mess with them very often if you keep the tires at the recommended PSI
  • The battery can be easily removed for charging off the bike, perfect if you commute to work and need a fill-up during the day
  • The weight of the bike is fairly low at ~53 lbs (for the small frame) considering all of the accessories and suspension elements, most comparable e-bikes weight at least 55+ lbs and they don’t usually come with a mini-pump
  • Clean frame with internally routed cables so you don’t snag, the kickstand is also out of the way but has a nice height adjustment feature
  • The rack is spaced far back from the seat tube so you can lower the saddle without colliding with a trunk bag, the lower seat tube provides a more comfortable fit if you have a shorter inseam (you can lower the saddle to be able to sit at stops vs. hopping off and forward)
  • The included bell is very cool, it’s large, easy to reach, and produces a pleasant chime that sets it apart from cheaper after market products
  • The wheelset has reinforcement eyelets which spread spoke tension and reduce the potential for cracking, this makes the bike more capable of carrying heavier riders or a fully loaded rack (max rated weight on the rack is ~44 lbs)
  • The cockpit is fairly clean, I like the ergonomic grips and half-grip twist for shifting gears, it has a little window so you can easily tell which gear is in use and because the Agattu B7 uses an internally geared hub, you can shift at standstill (useful if you have to make an unexpected stop on an incline)
  • In 2017 there was a software update for the Bosch drive system that your shop could help you install (if it isn’t pre-installed) and this introduces improved shift detection for internally geared hubs, ultimately it reduces wear on the drivetrain and makes shifting smoother
  • The battery pack casing has an integrated handle along the bottom to make it easy to pull off and carry around, the pack slides into place easier than a lot of other rack batteries I have tested
  • The chain is a bit thicker and sturdier because there isn’t a cassette to shift through and this means it won’t stretch as easily and is ideal for a mid-drive setup, it also should not drop off as easily on bumpy terrain
  • You get walk mode (press the walk button at the base of the Purion display and then hold +) which is useful if the bike is loaded with gear and you’re navigating through a crowd or maybe up a hill, I have used it to walk with friends in the city


  • Rear rack mounted battery brings some of the weight up and away from the center of the bike which impacts handling a little, but the battery is relatively lightweight at ~5.4 lbs
  • I like how compact the Bosch Purion display is but it doesn’t offer as many readouts as the Intuvia and is not removable so it could take some damage and weather-wear over time at the bike rack
  • Adjustable angle stems are great for dialing in body position, I tend to raise the bars for a more upright relaxed ride, but they can come loose over time if you ride on a lot of bumpy streets, just keep an eye on it
  • Despite the long open downtube and seat tube, the Agattu B7 doesn’t come with any bottle cage bosses, this would be nice for adding a folding lock or water bottle… consider a trunk bag with a bottle holster like this
  • I was told that despite the presence of a Micro-USB port on the Bosch Purion display, it’s only for diagnostics and does not work for charging portable devices… boo! The larger Intuvia display does work for this and is handy if you use your smartphone for GPS directions
  • The little rubber cover that protects the charging port on the battery mount (on the right side) tends to be a little tricky to stick into place, I feel that they could have made it open left to right vs. right to left because that would be in line with wind and any brush or obstacles that touch the bike when riding forward
  • The Kalkhoff Agattu B7 comes with a slower 2 Amp battery charger vs. most Performance Line models which offer 4 Amp chargers… it is probably one of the things that bring the price point down, at least this charger is small and lightweight
  • Rim brakes provide good heat displacement and leverage but can get dirtier than disc brakes, the pads could get contaminated if the rims get dusty and muddy but apparently, they don’t squeak as much
  • The Purion display panel is more difficult to navigate because there isn’t an i button to swap trip stats, instead, you have to hold the minus key for a second, and to activate the lights you have to hold the plus key for a second, hold + and – together in trip distance mode to clear it, apparently you can swap the Purion for an Intuvia display system if you want to pay an additional ~$200
  • This is a minor grip but I would like to have the option to turn off the dim blue backlighting on the Purion and Bosch displays, as it is, they are always backlit
  • I did notice a bit of frame flex happening during my rides, the step-thru frame is reinforced at the bottom but having the battery weight in that rack does produce some flex


More Kalkhoff Reviews

Kalkhoff Include 8 Premium Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

One of the most popular bikes in the Kalkhoff line, it comes in four frame sizes, three frame types (including wave step-thru) and two colors, impressive two-year complete warranty. Excellent hardware including Shimano hydraulic brakes, and internally geared 8 speed hub (that can be…...

Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Review

  • MSRP: $5,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A premium speed pedelec designed for hassle free, reliable and quiet commuting with a two year warranty, available in four frame sizes for improved fit, adjustable stem. The Gates carbon belt drive is near-silent and stays centered with CDX tracking technology, an…...

Kalkhoff Tasman Classic Impulse 8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the most capable step-thru cruisers around, excellent range, stiff frame, good weight distribution and safety features. Aluminum alloy fenders and rear carry rack are painted to match the frame (and they…...

Kalkhoff Agattu Impulse 8 HS Review

  • MSRP: $3,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A long-range capable comfort electric bike available in wave (step-thru) or diamant (high-step) style and four frame sizes. Efficient mid-drive Impulse 2.0 motor system, center-mounted Lithium-ion battery pack, dynamo powered lights, full length…...

Kalkhoff Sahel Impulse 8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An extremely capable, thoughtfully engineered and moderately comfortable commuting or touring style electric bike. This ebike seems to have everything from dynamo powered LED lights with safety "standing mode"…...

Kalkhoff Sahel Compact Impulse 8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A premium compact electric bike with excellent weight distribution and a powerful responsive motor. Up to 85 miles per charge, utilitarian fenders, chain guard, carry rack and dynamo powered…...

Kalkhoff Agattu Premium Impulse 8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,750
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Truly premium electric bike with top of the line accessories and a sophisticated mid-drive motor system. Dynamo powered LED lights, ergonomic grips, quality fenders with mud flap on the rear, rack…...

Kalkhoff Pro Connect S10 Review

  • MSRP: $4,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

City style electric bike with high torque and high speed mid-drive motor by Panasonic. Magura MT4 hydraulic disc brakes, front and rear fenders, rack with built in mini-pump, integrated…...

Kalkhoff Pro Connect S27 Review

  • MSRP: $4,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Urban commuter bike with efficient Panasonic mid-drive motor capable of higher top speeds (25+ miles per hour). High end features including Magura MT4 hydraulic disc brakes, SKS fenders, rack with mini-pump, integrated…...

Kalkhoff Pro Connect X27 Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Setup for urban riding or distance touring with a more active, forward leaning geometry. High end feature set including Shimano XT drivetrain, hydraulic disc brakes, Continental Eco Contact tires,…...

Kalkhoff Sahel Compact i8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

While not officially a folding bike, the stem does pivot and pedals do fold to create a slim profile. Rigid frame paired with oversized Schwalbe Big Ben ballon tires creates a solid but comfortable…...

Kalkhoff Sahel i8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Great hill climber due to geared mid-drive motor and internally geared eight speed rear hub. Quality build with full range of accessories including fenders, dynamo powered lights and rear rack...

Kalkhoff Pro Connect C8 Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Light weight, efficient city style electric bike with mid drive and internally geared 8 speed hub. Ready to ride with fenders, lights, chain guard, bell and a simple LED console interface...

Kalkhoff Tasman Tour C8 Premium Review

  • MSRP: $3,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Amazing hill climber, Impulse mid drive motor leverages eight speed internally geared hub. Premium commuting extras including fenders, enclosed chain guard and dynamo powered LED lights...

9 months ago

Kalkhoff confirmed by email: “The bike does come with a Performance Line Motor. There was a mistake at the factory — an ‘Active Line’ plastic plate was accidentally placed over some of the Performance Line motors. We have since mailed the ‘Performance Line’ plastic cover out to dealers. All 2017 Kalkhoff Agattu bikes come with a Performance Line Motor.”

9 months ago

Awesome, thanks for posting this comment, Dewey. I received an email from Kalkhoff a few days ago with similar information and updated the review when I confirmed it today. Sorry if you saw the original incorrect information I had posted. I’m very impressed with this ebike!


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

2 days ago

I think it was a very good decision @Thomas Gårdelöv ! Although the motor issues were really anoying, the brilliant service at the end keeps the image of Kalkhoff on a high level. Which bike with which motor system will be your next one?

Ravi Kempaiah
2 days ago

2 days ago

Hi Everyone!

Thank you, in advance, for reading this through and providing any insight or advice!

About 4 years ago, frustrated with the rising cost of public transportation, I decided to eliminate my dependence on it as much as possible and purchased a bike. It's a folder; Tern P24h and I've loved it. It's a workhorse and has taken all the that abuse I, and nature, could through at it. It also manages our many hills like a champ.

My ride is about 12 miles round trip. I use one form of public trans to get me in the City. It's a regretful compromise and also the reason I have a folder.

Lately I've been thinking about getting an upgraded ride for my commute and discovered the cost of a higher-end folder is close to that of an e-bike! Why pay for folding, when I could pay for power? :)

And this brings us to one of the main reasons I'd like to go electric: to exchange my current route for a picturesque, pub-trans-free route which goes up and down the Hudson River (for those who know the area). It's a 40 mile round-trip journey. I have taken this route with my folder and found that life keeps getting in the way of being able to build the endurance needed to make this a typical weekday commute.

Other reasons include just being able to take longer trips, pick up more groceries, visit friends with ease...normal stuff that probably most of us here want to do.

My budget is about $5k.

I've tried the Bosch CX, Performance, and Active line. I like Performance the best (if that's the one that reaches 28 mph).

These are four bikes I'm considering and I'd love your opinion about them, and am open to suggestions if you have a better option:

[*]Cannondale Contro-E 2017
[*]Bulls Urban Evo 2018
[*]Kalkhoff Endeavour Advance B10 Speed
[*]Riese & Muller Roadster HS

The main issue that concerns me is durability. I could put 10,000 miles on the bike in a year, in all kinds of weather and in all temperatures. Will these engines last? Which bikes are the easiest to maintain? Which need it the least?

Thank you for reading this and for offering any experiences and/or advice you have. I really appreciate it! :)

Thomas Gårdelöv
3 days ago

I have returned the bike to the dealer and my dealer did put a claim against Kalkhoff and they have given all my money back for the bike! I'm so satisfied how this was solved in the end and it's all thanks to my dealer E24. Now I'm waiting for my new bike to arrive and it's not an Kalkhoff.

Ann M.
3 weeks ago

It's a swift paced overview of new ebikes that haven't made it to the U.S. yet and others that we're already familiar with along with a flash of some nifty accessories. Liked the trippy music overlay and Court lists all of the items he zoomed in on in a list below the video. Don't know how the London Bike Show compares in size to our Interbike; however, it looks like a huge show!

Hi guys, I was visiting London to film some reviews with a shop called Fully Charged and happened to wind up at the London Bike Show. This video is a quick overview of interesting products I saw. Each shot takes a moment to highlight the electric bike or accessory and then show the name of the company who produced it. One of the highlights for me was the new Electric Brompton. I have not gotten a chance to ride it yet. The music used in this review is from Be Svendsen, used with permission. You can visit their Soundcloud page to listen to more tracks at: https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fsoundcloud.com%2Fbesvendsen&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description you can learn more about the London Bike Show at their official website: https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fthelondonbikeshow.co.uk%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description

Highlights in order of appearance: - Air to the Throne (freeride mountain bike jumpers) https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fthelondonbikeshow.co.uk%2Fair-to-the-throne&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Métier Cycling Clothing https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.metiercycling.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Gocycle premium folding ebikeshttps://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fgocycle.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Navigata Pedibal Bikes https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.pedibal.com%2Fnavigata%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Brompton Electric https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.brompton.com%2FBrompton-Electric&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Kalkhoff electric bikes https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.kalkhoff-bikes.com%2Fen.html&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Velosock bike cover https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fvelosock.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Orange bicycles, model: Alpine 6 E https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.orangebikes.co.uk%2Fbikes%2Falpine-6-e-le&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Focus bikes https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.focus-bikes.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Bar [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.clifbar.co.uk%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']http://www.clifbar.co.uk/[/URL]-
Tern bicycles, model: GSD [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ternbicycles.com%2Fca%2Fbikes%2F471%2Fgsd&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.ternbicycles.com/ca/bikes...[/URL]-
Hummingbird lightweight folding bicycle [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fhummingbirdbike.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://hummingbirdbike.com/[/URL]-
ARCC Innovations [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Farccinnovations.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://arccinnovations.com/[/URL]-
KwikFold folding ebikes [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.kwikfold.co.uk%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.kwikfold.co.uk/[/URL]-
Batribike electric bicycles [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.batribike.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.batribike.com/[/URL]-
Neomouv electric bikes [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fneomouv.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://neomouv.com/[/URL]-
Ezee Bike [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fezeebike.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']http://ezeebike.com/[/URL]-
L-BOW Safety Light for bicycles [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fl-bow.co%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://l-bow.co/[/URL]-
Furo Systems carbon electric bikes [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.furosystems.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.furosystems.com/[/URL]-
Closca bike helmets, model: Fuga [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fclosca.com%2Fproducts%2Ffuga-helmet%3Fvariant%3D53832191509&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://closca.com/products/fuga-helm...[/URL]-
FlyKly e-bike motor [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fflykly.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']http://flykly.com/[/URL]-
Tailfin bike rack [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.tailfin.cc%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.tailfin.cc/[/URL]-
Coboc electric bikes [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.coboc.biz%2Fen%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.coboc.biz/en/[/URL]-
Fully Charged bike shop in London [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.fullycharged.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']http://www.fullycharged.com/[/URL]
I rushed to get this video processed and posted because the event continues tomorrow (Sunday February 25th). Check it out if you're in town, the bicycle ramp riders were amazing.

Thomas Jaszewski
4 weeks ago


This fellow should be pretty reasonable. https://www.hicbattery.com/Battery-Rebuild-Services_ep_41.html
You may be able to find a pack to fit but I'm afraid there might be some pitfalls and problems that would arise. You could use a soft pack battery in a nylon case in place, but I'd consider going the rebuild route. It's really not a very big pack maybe 7S/3-4P 21-28 cells. And with newer 3000-3500maH cells you'd gain aH and range. Careful if you decide to buy a soft pack and adapt. Make sure the reseller has been checked out. I can reference one to be trusted, but again, Call Hi C first!

4 weeks ago

Thanks very much. I'd like to try an alternative battery given the age of the bike. Within a couple of years I'm likely to get a new bike but the available options seem to keep on getting better and other than the battery issue my Kalkhoff serves my needs.

Amazon lists a number of relatively cheap 24v ebike batteries and I see that the second pedelecs entry that you copied gives the necessary information on electrical connections. I am pretty sure that I can figure out a way to mount the battery on the bike but I am concerned about waterproofing and making connections that won't shake loose. Is there any way that a pre-made battery back (one that doesn't require that I do spot welding between cells) might fit inside the case for the current battery? For example, this web site lists what they call "naked" battery backs like this one here (https://ebikemarketplace.com/collections/lithium-batteries).

In terms of having the current pack re-celled, the forum entries on this site made the process seem time consuming, a bit uncertain and likely close to as expensive as a new battery pack if I could find one. I'm not sure if that is an accurate evaluation on my part.

Thanks again.

Thomas Jaszewski
4 weeks ago

EDIT after being frustrated at the lack of information I gave it one more try. There are alternatives. AND you could save a lot of $$ by using an alternative battery. BUT it CAN be re-celled. You may have to subscribe.

Read to post #16 in this thread. A 24V battery and some simple soldering or wire crimping will work!

Thomas Jaszewski
4 weeks ago

There's a shop in Las Vegas, and a fellow on Facebook in the endless sphere group that does repairs. I spent a few minutes trying to find information on their batteries, but there's not a lot out there. My biggest worry would be having a proprietary communication system that needs to be in place to "talk" to the controller. I can't find that answer either. Spend sometime researching and reading forums to gather as much info as you can and I'll happily help you find a solution, or repair person.

Ravi Kempaiah
4 weeks ago

From the comments section in that article;

I build and service all makes of ebikes.
Simply put, you are wrong.

Hub motors are far more reliable, less complex, and can put far more power to the ground than any mid drive. The mid drive total power is limited by the chain and freewheel. These are drive train parts which were never designed to handle the torque of any motor, they were designed for human power (which is about 250 watts if you want to translate that to electric force). You are stressing these components far beyond their design parameters with a mid drive.

There is more room for a larger and more powerful motor within the wheel than there is between the cranks. I don’t know where you are getting your information about lack of power from hub motors, but I can easily build a 60+ MPH bike if anybody is foolhardy enough to ride one. Climbing hills is not a problem. You speak of uneven weight distribution. Most of my customers prefer a very erect riding position to the more aggressive racing or mountain bike stance. When sitting erect the balance is pretty uneven (biased to the rear) on most any frame I know of. If the rider is very concerned with weight distribution there are very reliable, quite powerful geared hub motors available.

On average they weigh about 6 Lbs. the standard bike hub (about 1 Lb.) is replaced by these, so effectively about 5Lbs is added to the front or rear wheel. If you carry your lunch in a front or rear basket you are already altering the weight bias by the same amount.
Hub motors have far fewer moving parts, if fact a direct drive hub motor only has the stator rotating within it, and no other gears, clutches, freewheels, Etc. These motors will go thousands upon thousands of miles trouble free.

Electric motors have full torque at zero rpm, so I don’t understand your claim of more power obtained by a gear reduction. If the motor is of appropriate size, there is no hill or terrain which will challenge the motor.

Another thing to note is that the Bosch mid drive is not serviceable in the USA. All units are required to be returned to the factory in Germany for service. That should run up a pretty hefty shipping bill (more than the cost of a hub motor) and require a pretty fair amount of time when the unit needs to be repaired. I’m not aware of other manufacturers repair or parts policies.
I believe it’s a no brainer, the hub motor makes far more sense.
You write this article as an expert, but clearly you do not have the experience and information to write an in depth article about this subject.



Heya Shepherd,
Welcome to the site and thanks for your input. It’s great to see that I’ve created a discussion which allows us to clear things up with experiences that different people have had.
Firstly, with your point that hub drives are more reliable and less complex, I completely agree. I did state that in the article, not sure if I was clear on that or not (my apologies).
I can see where you’re coming from with the rest of your points such more power to get up a hill and the added drivetrain stress. This article was written as a general comparison between the two types of motors, towards the more general consumers interested in eBikes, and whom would most likely want something not so ludicrous.
So when comparing a general hub motor and a general mid drive motor, a mid drive motor would outperform a hub drive on hill climbs without a doubt. Do you agree with me there?
I won’t deny the fact you can get a hub drive motor that can get you up a hill, but to match the hill climbing performance of a mid drive, you’d need a higher output motor yes? It makes sense, otherwise high end electric bike companies (no matter if it’s commuter or eMTB) wouldn’t use a mid drive system. If you look at Haibike, Kalkhoff, Riese and Muller etc., they all use mid drive motors.
Like you said, there is added stresses to the drivetrain which I also mentioned in the article. However typically speaking when a cassette, crankset etc., are designed, they are designed with engineering safety factors such that they can withstand forces greater than typical usage. But even with that, I agree there still is a lot of stress on the gears and I have seen quicker damage to it. To combat this, bike manufacturers and riders could use the SRAM EX1 drivetrain. These are designed for eBikes and are more robust.
Your point on the weight distribution is fair for rear hub drives that are compact. Anything large or if equipped on the front hub, the balance of the bike would change significantly.
Yes electric motors exhibit maximum torque at stall RPM like I mentioned in the article, however I wasn’t clear with the power statement. With mid drives, you can actually change your torque value. With hub drives the maximum torque you’re receiving and going to output to the ground is fixed to whatever the motor is capable of. Since a mid drive uses the gears on the cassette, a change in the ratio of the cassette or chainring can increase torque and power. Using a 11-42t cassette will obviously output more torque to the ground than a 11-36t cassette. Same deal with the chainrings. As for power to the ground, if you get a 250W hub motor and a 250W mid drive motor on the exact same bike and ran a dyno test, the 250W mid drive motor will have a greater power band.
As for servicing Bosch motors in Australia (we’re Australian based), I think we have a service centre locally. Regardless there is still shipping and more costs, which I also did mention in the article.
Simply put, the mid motors are generally a better performer, whereas hub drives are more reliable and cheaper. It depends on what the rider is looking for, and I was going to answer this article with that answer, but like I said it was a little too cliché.
I never mentioned I was an expert, however with an engineering background, it does help me understand the mechanics better which I attempt to explain to the general audience.
– Eric

1 month ago

I have a 2010 Kalkhoff pro connect sport, which I have used a great deal. The battery has lasted a lot longer than I had expected but is now starting to fail. The bike has a 250w Panasonic center drive motor that runs at ~26 volts. Replacement batteries used to be readily available but I am not having much luck finding one quickly. Also, I know that the batteries were upgraded in terms of capacity but I don't really need that capacity for my daily commute. Given the age of the bike I am a reluctant to spend the roughly $800 that the high-capacity batteries were selling for in the past. I'd appreciate suggestions about where I could get a suitable battery or whether the current battery could be re-celled.

2 months ago

The combination of super-moto tires, mid-drive motor, belt drive, and Alfine 8 IGH, on the Pedego Conveyor means for comparison sake the same tires and belt drive are on the Riese and Müller Charger which with the Nuvinci IGH is the same $5k price and $300 more for the Charger with a Rohloff IGH. If you wanted the tires but could live without the belt drive and IGH you might look at the Moustache Friday. Other belt driven mid-drive ebikes include the Scott Silence, Bulls Lacuba, Evelo Galaxy, Piaggio Wi-bike, and Kalkhoff Integrale. All of these would be a nice commuter ebike.

8 months ago

The https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/hybrid-bikes/electric-bikes/lift/lift-lowstep/p/1325601-2017/ weighs 45lb including battery and has a small size frame option for riders over 5' with 26" wheels, it has drop out eyelets for attaching a rack and fenders, here's https://electricbikereview.com/trek/lift-plus/ of the diamond frame version. The http://www.kalkhoff-bikes.com/en/bikes/2017/e-bike/e-city/agattu-b7.html weighs 53lb and has a suspension fork and suspension seatpost for a comfortable ride, and already comes with a rack, fenders, lights, and a bell, of the available frame sizes the small frame is a good choice for shorter riders because it has 26" wheels, here's https://electricbikereview.com/kalkhoff/agattu-b7/. Both ebikes offer pedal assist, no throttle. Apart from the accessories the main difference is with the Trek the battery is mounted on the down tube which puts the weight of the battery in the center of the bike, versus the Kalkhoff that has the battery mounted on the rear rack which means you get a lower step over height which is great for hopping on and off the bike but the trade off is the battery weight is towards the rear and that can feel a little tippy if you add the weight of grocery bags in panniers on the rear rack. With both ebikes you could remove the battery before lifting it onto the van rack to lessen the weight, also probably a good idea to get some sort of tarp/cover you can tie around the bike when it's on the van rack for when it rains.

9 months ago

Thanks Chris. I've since also had an email from Kalkhoff's brand owner Pon stating that for the US market "the bike does come with a Performance Line Motor. There was a mistake at the factory -- an 'Active Line' plastic plate was accidentally placed over some of the Performance Line motors. We have since mailed the 'Performance Line' plastic cover out to dealers. All 2017 Kalkhoff Agattu bikes come with a Performance Line Motor."

Chris Nolte
9 months ago

I can confirm that the both the Agattu B7 and B8 have the Performance Line motor in the US. The cover says Active line, but the motor is actually performance.

Also - I agree with you're sentiments about Bosch and I highly doubt Kalkhoff is going anywhere despite some comments above. They're owned by one of the largest bike groups in the world and they are investing heavily in this space. They are committed to working with quality shops and we're grateful to be one of their dealers.

Linda Baer
10 months ago

I think I have come to that conclusion as well, but I've been looking for two weeks now and can't find a dealer near me in the western Chicago suburbs or anywhere except Bend, Oregon for that matter. I'm reasonable certain that is the right bike but I can't even find a Kalkhoff dealer. Can anyone help?

10 months ago

The Kalkhoff Agattu B7 in size XS frame is a bike with 26" wheels. The larger sizes are 28"-wheel bikes.

Personally, I would go for the Kalkhoff Agattu Impulse 8 HS if only for the better, more balanced position of the battery, low and just behind the seatpost. This model also comes with a 26"-wheel option for the Small stepover frame size. It claims a range of 127 miles in low-assist mode, something that should be taken with a mouthful of salt!

11 months ago

The Impulse 2.0 motor has https://pedelecmonitor.wordpress.com/mittelmotoren/mittelmotoren-2/impulse/ and for 2017 Kalkhoff's owner Derby Cycles ordered a switch to the Bosch motor for Agattu models for North America so if you buy one be sure it is a 2017 model year with the Bosch motor.

George Krompacky
11 months ago

Another possibility I'm considering would be the Kalkhoff Agattu B7, even though that takes me up to the $2,500 range. The E3 Vibe Plus comes in under $2,000, too. Any thoughts?

Chris Nolte
12 months ago

I would check out the Kalkhoff Agattu B7. It has the virtually indestructible Bosch motor and a very comfortable upright position great for any rider, including your 75 y/o mother in law.

I think it's very important to have a very reliable motor system since it might be difficult to get support locally. In our experience the Bosch system is the most reliable.

The only thing is there aren't too many Bosch powered bikes at this pricepoint, but the Kalkhoff seems to tick all the marks. Feel free to reach out if we can assist further.

Sjaak De Winter
5 months ago

Germany and the Netherlands are two different country s.

Chance Bergreen
4 months ago

Found the Dutchman

Ed Miles
7 months ago

Kalkhoff is a 100% German company and all bikes are made in Germany.

Martin Weber
7 months ago

really a built in pump is a plus. just makes it easier for a %$#@ to steal it.

Adriano Muniz
9 months ago

the yellow bike review! ^^)

Geoff Worthington
9 months ago

Will this bikes available in Australia?

9 months ago

Hey man I've been requesting for a review can you please review the genesis b1 commuter electric bike?

leonie burnham
9 months ago

that is a sweet little bike... being a bit of a shorty myself 5'4"... that is perfect.
Cort ... just as an idea would love to see you and Mony do a weekend away purely on ebikes. particularly if one could be a stretch cargo. Just to see the planning, range maybe a solar charger double batteries a good fast/slow charger??... if B&B's are open to let you charge over night... can they be kept securely... can you get your wine home in one piece!!.
It's something I'd like to do back here in Australia but I know I'd need to get some pricey-ish kit but we've got some gorgeous places about 80-100kms from most cities here. some of the journey can be done on trains here as we can take bikes on most trains.
Would definitely love to see you both out in the countryside again.

9 months ago

:-/ With all due respect, $2,499 isn't on the cheap end from my estimation. Are there really no options closer to $1,000 or lower? A cheap bike + conversion kit can get you a great bike for far less than $2,500.

Wayne Rhea
9 months ago

smAsPa you can do a cyclone mid drive a normal bike and a lifepo4 battery for less than 1500$

Lynn Recker
9 months ago

Love the bell!

9 months ago

Cheap?!?! That shit is 2,500.00...

James Mason
9 months ago

that pump is cool didn't know they had those

9 months ago

Yeah! It's a great accessory to have and neat that you don't have to pay extra or even carry bags to use it :D

Michigan Mister
9 months ago

super clean, I love this one. Court, now that I'm healed up, (don't ask) I'm able to pedal now. when I'm in pedelec, every gear is free spin. no resistance whatsoever? why would this be? thanks for ANY help. (boomerang+)

Michigan Mister
9 months ago

thanks. one cat told me it's supposed to work like that? it's a pickle.

9 months ago

Hmm, it sounds like your drivetrain might need some maintenance? I'm not sure exactly what's going on but I'm sorry to hear your bike isn't working as expected?

9 months ago

Where's Brooklyn at !!! ? Where's Brooklyn at !!! ? Where's Brooklyn at !!! ? Where's Brooklyn at !!! ? 🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔫🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪🔪 😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛😛


Pibbles 'n Bits
9 months ago

Brooklyn is on Planet Earth located in the Milky Way Galaxy.

Ernesto Rivera
9 months ago

can u tell me the address of location and how to get there

Steve Donovan
9 months ago

That seatpost didn't look bad for an inexpensive linear suspension, it actually worked. I was recently looking at the Magura hydraulic rim brakes on eBay, some good pricing if your patient. Chris' comments make them even more appealing.

9 months ago

Yeah, this thing is setup very well, I'm glad the different angles helped to demonstrate the shocks because they added a lot of comfort :)

9 months ago

it is very similar to my BH bike , only difference 28 inch wheels and battery is between seat stay and wheel cortically

9 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com a very old model with the Panasonic middrive system 250w front suspension and it has a similar seat suspension . My wife is very happy with it , she doesn't like cycling but now doesn't mind any journey as it irons out the hills 😁. I noticed the post office using the same system for the workforce.

9 months ago

Yeah, BH has been doing a great job with their city models, which one do you have supernova1976?