Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Review

Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Electric Bike Review
Kalkhoff Integrale S11
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Impulse Evo 3 Mid Drive Motor Belt Drive
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Impulse Battery 36v 16 75ah
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Impulse 3 Evo Smart Display
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Concept Ex Twin Headlight 100 Lux
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Racktime Rear Rack Bm Toplight Line Brake Light
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Shimano Nexus Internally Geared Hub
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Adjustable Kickstand Magura Mt5 Brakes
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Battery Charger Energybus Rosenberger Interface
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Electric Bike Review
Kalkhoff Integrale S11
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Impulse Evo 3 Mid Drive Motor Belt Drive
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Impulse Battery 36v 16 75ah
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Impulse 3 Evo Smart Display
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Concept Ex Twin Headlight 100 Lux
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Racktime Rear Rack Bm Toplight Line Brake Light
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Shimano Nexus Internally Geared Hub
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Adjustable Kickstand Magura Mt5 Brakes
Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Battery Charger Energybus Rosenberger Interface

Summary

  • A premium speed pedelec designed for hassle free, reliable and quiet commuting with a two year warranty, available in four frame sizes for improved fit, adjustable stem
  • The Gates carbon belt drive is near-silent and stays centered with CDX tracking technology, an 11 speed internally geared hub requires less maintenance and is less vulnerable than a derailleur if the bike tips
  • You get a sleek rear rack, integrated lights and fenders, a battery that can be charged on or off the frame and one of the deepest interfaces I've seen with lots of adjustability
  • The battery rotates in vs. clicking straight down and can get a little tight at times, the display is rather large and isn't removable, the bike costs a lot

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Kalkhoff

Model:

Integrale S11

Price:

$5,699 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20162017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

56.5 lbs (25.62 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.9 lbs (3.12 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.4 lbs (3.81 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

18.7 in (47.49 cm)19.69 in (50.01 cm)21.65 in (54.99 cm)23.62 in (59.99 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

32.5" Stand Over Height

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Red Accents

Frame Fork Details:

RST Pulse Air, Magnesium, 60 mm Travel with Lockout Adjust, 15 mm Floating Axle

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle with Bolts

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

11 Speed 1x1 Shimano Nexus Internally Geared Hub, Gear Ration Front 46, Rear 22

Shifter Details:

Shimano Alfine Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Miranda, Aluminum Alloy, Black

Pedals:

Plastic Platform with Rubber Tread

Headset:

Tapered 1-1/8"

Stem:

Concept EX Integrated, Adjustable Angle

Handlebar:

Concept EX Low-Riser (Almost Flat), 27" Length

Brake Details:

Magura MT5 Speed Hydraulic Disc, 180 mm Rotor in Front and 160 mm Rotor in Rear, 4 Piston Calipers, Magura MT5 Levers with Brake Light Bright Activation

Grips:

Ergon Ergonomic Locking

Saddle:

Concept Integrale

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Concept EX

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Concept EX Alloy, Black

Spokes:

15G Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Ben, 28" x 2"

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Performance Line RaceGuard, LiteSkin, Reflective Sidewall Stripe, 35-70 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Adjustable Length Kickstand, Full Length Wide Alloy Fenders, Racktime Alloy Rear Rack with 15 kg Max Weight, Integrated B&M Toplight Line with Parking Delay in Rear, Integrated Concept EX Twin LED Headlight (100 Lux) in Front, Gates Carbon Drive CDX, Alloy Bash Guard

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.8 lb 3 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Impulse 3.0 Evo

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

100 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Impulse

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

16.75 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

603 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

6 hours

Estimated Min Range:

55 miles (89 km)

Estimated Max Range:

125 miles (201 km)

Display Type:

Impulse Evo Smart, Fixed, Monochrome Backlit LCD with Adjustable Angle and Bluetooth App Integration for GPS Navigation

Readouts:

Battery Level with Range Estimate, Time, Assist Level (Off, Eco, Sport, Power, Ultra), Speed, Cadence, Odometer, Trip Time, Trip Distance, Trip Max Speed, Trip Average Speed, Tour Distance, Tour Average Speed, Climb Assist Mode, User Profile

Display Accessories:

Backlit Independent Button Pad Near Left Grip

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Cadence, Pedal Torque and Bicycle Speed, Offers Physical Shift Sensing)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Kalkhoff Integrale S11 is a speed pedelec (capable of 28 mph top speeds, assisted) with an internally geared 11 speed hub. It runs a clean, quiet belt drive instead of a chain and comes outfitted with a sleek rear rack, plastic fenders and a bottle cage mounting point so it’s ready for commuting or a bit of touring. I was impressed with the name brand extras… locking ergonomic grips from Ergon, hydraulic disc brakes from Magura, integrated LED lights from B&M and a light weight air suspension fork from RST. You do pay for these upgrades however and at $5,699 this is not a cheap electric bike.

The first thing I noticed about the Integrale S11 was how nice the frame, fork and battery looked together. Everything is color matched here and the integrated design nearly hides the fact that it’s an ebike. Kalkhoff is using the Impulse 3.0 drive system for this model and the custom battery was designed to rotate in from the side instead of clicking down. This reduces the vertical clearance required to seat and unseat it which makes bumping the pack on the top tube and seat tube less likely. Getting it on and off required a bit of experimentation for me (I approached the bike without any kind of introduction from the team). First you unlock it then pull at the top of the pack from the left side of the frame and it will start tipping out. After doing it once, the process got a lot easier and you can see it in action in the video review above. The one thing I noticed however was that there’s a bit of play even when the pack is securely locked in. I didn’t notice it rattling a lot during my rides but there was a gap along the bottom and perhaps some foam pads or bumpers would help with future designs?

The battery charges using an EnergyBus port that’s magnetic, it can be charged on or off the bike and weighs about seven pounds so removing it will bring the bike down to ~48 lbs total making it easier to lift onto car racks or carry up stairs. The front wheel is removable using quick release but the rear is bolted in, perhaps since it uses an internally geared hub without a chain tensioner. Thankfully, the upgraded Schwalbe tires have a puncture resistant layer. I mentioned lights earlier but the tires also have reflective sidewall stripes keeping you visible from the side. Considering the bike only comes in this dark gray/black color scheme, I’m glad they added those for safety. You can get this bike in four different sizes for optimal fit and it felt stiff and responsive to me during the tests, even at high speed! Instead of using a standard 11 mm skewer up front, Kalkhoff upgraded the axle to 15 mm like you’d find on some mountain bikes. This improves strength and makes the wheel easier to get on when you’re lining up the disc brake rotor in my experience. This, combined with the tapered head tube and diamond frame make the bike feel solid.

While the battery configuration is more range oriented than power, I found the bike to be quite capable when accelerating and climbing… It offers 36 volts and 16.75 amp hours. The motor is rated at 350 watts nominal, but offers a massive 100 Nm of torque! That’s more than almost any other mainstream mid-drive I’ve tested. In practice, it feels similar but that may be due to my lighter weight of ~135 lbs. I had a great time climbing and speeding along on the flats. I had no problem hitting ~28 mph in the ultra setting and noticed the responsiveness of the assist sensors which measure rear wheel speed, pedal speed and pedal torque. Along with that power, you also get sensitivity because this is one of the few e-bikes out there with physical shift sensing. It’s designed to ease off a bit when shifting gears so you don’t end up straining the belt or mechanical shifting mechanisms.

So many of the drive settings can be adjusted with the Impulse 3.0 system, it’s truly versatile and delightful to explore. Whether you want the lights to stay on for a few minutes after you’ve stopped ridding (for safety) or you want to dial up the shift sensing… you can link the display to your mobile phone for GPS enabled turn by turn directions, you can dial in how quickly the motor responds to your pedal input and you can adjust the maximum speed. Note that riding over 20 mph significantly increases air resistance and drag which will cut into your range. If you enjoy the speed and don’t have as far to go, enjoy the zippy Class 3 performance but otherwise, consider dialing it down for maximum range. While I wasn’t super impressed with the large plastic non-removable display panel, I did like the options it presented and that fact that you didn’t need to download an app to access all of them. I love that it had a Micro USB port built into the back for charging your devices on the go and at least it can be angled to reduce glare. All things considered, this is a fantastic bike that’s ready to dominate urban landscapes. It looks great, handles well and comes with an impressive two year comprehensive warranty. Kalkhoff is a leader in the European market where they thoroughly test their frames and final builds. I could see the quality and felt more comfortable at high speed than with some other competing bikes. Big thanks to Kalkhoff for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • As far as speed pedelecs go, ebikes that can top 20 mph, this one is super streamlined and quiet thanks to its internally geared 11 speed hub and carbon belt drive
  • The belt drive is from Gates, a trusted leader in the space, uses carbon strands for strength and has an alignment strip down the middle so it won’t slip
  • The internally geared Nexus hub isn’t as vulnerable if the bike tips and shouldn’t require as many tuneups as a more traditional derailleur… it can also be shifted at standstill
  • Sleek rack design capable of supporting ~15 kg (~33 lbs), it isn’t as wide or bulky as some other racks I’ve seen but also can’t carry as large a load
  • I love that the bike has integrated lights, they run off the main battery pack for convenience, you don’t have to take them off each time you stop and the rear light is integrated with the rack so it won’t get blocked as easily a seat post lights (jackets can sometimes hang down over that style)
  • 2″ wide Schwalbe Big Ben tires improve comfort, have a puncture protection lining, reflective sidewalls for safety but still roll efficiently thanks to an urban tread, I like that the fenders are wide enough to completely cover them and how good the fenders look
  • High quality physical shift sensing protects the gears when pedaling hard and shifting simultaneously, it’s one of the best designs around
  • Lots of system adjustability here including how quickly the bike responds and how long it continues after you ease off on pedal torque (that’s their climb-assist feature), how much battery is reserved to power the lights if you’re getting low, you can even connect with your phone with Bluetooth for turn by turn GPS feedback or tune down the top speed from 28 mph to 20 mph or lower if you want to optimize range or just improve your own feeling of comfort and safety
  • Quick release on the front wheel for easy maintenance (I would say it helps with transport but the fender is still there and could be vulnerable without the wheel), I like that the axle is upgraded to 15 mm for strength given the higher top speeds here
  • Very sturdy adjustable angle stem to help dial in your body position, ergonomic grips and a suspension fork… consider a 31.6 mm seatpost suspension for even more comfort
  • Excellent weight distribution, the motor and battery are centered and low, in my opinion the weight of the bike is actually fairly low at ~56 lbs given all of the accessories and suspension as well as the large battery… I think the fact that it uses an air fork helps
  • Available in four frame sizes for improved fit, this is important considering that the frame only comes in a high-step design, I love that the managed to squeeze in bottle cage bosses on the seat tube! Consider adding a side entry cage or sturdy folding lock here
  • You can adjust how long the lights stay lit after you park (for safety as you lock the bike) and the rear light activates more brightly when you squeeze the brake levers
  • Solid two year comprehensive warranty, Kalkhoff is part of the Pon Group which also owns Gazelle and Focus, they are a leader in Europe
  • The charger uses the EnergyBus Rosenberger interface standard that sends data and electricity for easier diagnostics at the shop and a safer plug (it’s magnetic and just unclips if you trip over it vs. bending pins and knocking the bike over), it charges at 3 Amps vs. just 2 Amps for most e-bikes I test
  • I love that they included a Micro USB charging port on the back of the display panel! This lets you charge mobile devices like phones or music players and it’s mostly out of the way so you won’t snag your feet or arms while riding the bike
  • The button pad that you use to interact with the display panel on this bike is excellent, it doesn’t take up too much space on the bar, is backlit for easy use in low light conditions and seems very durable – well sealed against water
  • This bike offers excellent torque power with up to 100 Nm output, it should climb easily if you’re in the higher levels of assist and shift gears appropriately
  • This is a completely custom, purpose built electric bike with internally routed cables, matching paint across the frame, battery pack and fork and it just looks great

Cons:

  • The display is kind of big, clunky and ugly in my opinion… you can’t take it off and the plugs at the back can get squished if you angle it far forward
  • The “rotate in” battery pack is unique and allows the top tube to be lower but can be a little tricky to work with… I also felt like it was a little loose and rattly on the bike I tested (which was a demo model that goes to the Ebike Expo)
  • There’s a lot of high quality hardware on this bike including the belt drive, internal gearing, hydraulic brakes etc. but the price is pretty high at ~$5,700
  • The rack doesn’t offer pannier blockers or an obvious clip point at the bottom and can only support 15 kg vs. 25 kg on a lot of other racks I see out there
  • This isn’t a huge deal but I was surprised that the seat post was so short, usually they are 300 to 350 mm long but this one was only about 250 mm and I wanted to put the seat higher
  • This may be adjustable but I feel like the response time for power cutoff on the motor when you stop pedaling is a little long as shown in the video, Bosch feels faster and more responsive
  • The seat tube collar was unique and maybe not my favorite, it uses a vertical bolt and different wedge design vs. the horizontal quick release, I appreciate that it comes with a rubber cap and maybe that it is less vulnerable to theft?

Resources:

More Kalkhoff Reviews

Kalkhoff Agattu B7 Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Very affordable Bosch powered electric city bike, comes with all of the accessories you need for commuting in rain or shine along with several comfort upgrades. Integrated LED lights, with an aimable headlight, keep you visible and help you navigate in…...

Kalkhoff Include 8 Premium Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

One of the most popular bikes in the Kalkhoff line, it comes in four frame sizes, three frame types (including wave step-thru) and two colors, impressive two-year complete warranty. Excellent hardware including Shimano hydraulic brakes, and internally geared 8 speed hub (that can be…...

Kalkhoff Tasman Classic Impulse 8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the most capable step-thru cruisers around, excellent range, stiff frame, good weight distribution and safety features. Aluminum alloy fenders and rear carry rack are painted to match the frame (and they…...

Kalkhoff Agattu Impulse 8 HS Review

  • MSRP: $3,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A long-range capable comfort electric bike available in wave (step-thru) or diamant (high-step) style and four frame sizes. Efficient mid-drive Impulse 2.0 motor system, center-mounted Lithium-ion battery pack, dynamo powered lights, full length…...

Kalkhoff Sahel Impulse 8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An extremely capable, thoughtfully engineered and moderately comfortable commuting or touring style electric bike. This ebike seems to have everything from dynamo powered LED lights with safety "standing mode"…...

Kalkhoff Sahel Compact Impulse 8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A premium compact electric bike with excellent weight distribution and a powerful responsive motor. Up to 85 miles per charge, utilitarian fenders, chain guard, carry rack and dynamo powered…...

Kalkhoff Agattu Premium Impulse 8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,750
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Truly premium electric bike with top of the line accessories and a sophisticated mid-drive motor system. Dynamo powered LED lights, ergonomic grips, quality fenders with mud flap on the rear, rack…...

Kalkhoff Pro Connect S10 Review

  • MSRP: $4,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

City style electric bike with high torque and high speed mid-drive motor by Panasonic. Magura MT4 hydraulic disc brakes, front and rear fenders, rack with built in mini-pump, integrated…...

Kalkhoff Pro Connect S27 Review

  • MSRP: $4,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Urban commuter bike with efficient Panasonic mid-drive motor capable of higher top speeds (25+ miles per hour). High end features including Magura MT4 hydraulic disc brakes, SKS fenders, rack with mini-pump, integrated…...

Kalkhoff Pro Connect X27 Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Setup for urban riding or distance touring with a more active, forward leaning geometry. High end feature set including Shimano XT drivetrain, hydraulic disc brakes, Continental Eco Contact tires,…...

Kalkhoff Sahel Compact i8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

While not officially a folding bike, the stem does pivot and pedals do fold to create a slim profile. Rigid frame paired with oversized Schwalbe Big Ben ballon tires creates a solid but comfortable…...

Kalkhoff Sahel i8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Great hill climber due to geared mid-drive motor and internally geared eight speed rear hub. Quality build with full range of accessories including fenders, dynamo powered lights and rear rack...

Kalkhoff Pro Connect C8 Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Light weight, efficient city style electric bike with mid drive and internally geared 8 speed hub. Ready to ride with fenders, lights, chain guard, bell and a simple LED console interface...

Kalkhoff Tasman Tour C8 Premium Review

  • MSRP: $3,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Amazing hill climber, Impulse mid drive motor leverages eight speed internally geared hub. Premium commuting extras including fenders, enclosed chain guard and dynamo powered LED lights...


Tom V
1 year ago

I test-rode one of these but decided against it. It feels like a really well built, high quality product but I was put off by a few small points:

  • The high price.
  • I tried starting off facing up a steep hill and there was a good few seconds before I got any assistance and there is no throttle to help in this situation.
  • I live in Seattle where the transit buses have a bike rack on the front which can carry up to 3 bikes. The city is OK with electric bikes using the racks but there is a weight limit of 55 pounds which the Integrale exceeds. (Note it was quite hard to find this out because Kalkhoff annoyingly do not seems to publish the weight of their bikes).
Reply
court
1 year ago

Great points Tom, interesting to hear about the weight restrictions for ebikes on busses in Seattle… I was just visiting, great town! Many ebikes these days are in the 50 lb range… the Integrale does weigh more due in part to the higher battery capacity and accessories. I’m assuming you’d want fenders on any ebike you got given the rain? One of the big reasons I dig so deep for details on these reviews is that indeed, many companies do not list weight, stand over height etc. and even if I’m only looking at one of the four sizes, the weight should be fairly close. Appreciate you sharing your thoughts on the bike :)

Reply
TOM V
1 year ago

Yes, fenders are a must for Seattle riding :)

I appreciate the details in your reviews Court, and the consistency. I don’t have the same priorities as you (eg I have never used a bottle cage) but having your reviews as a reliable baseline when comparing bikes is very useful.

Eric Smith
1 year ago

Thanks Court for the great work you do here! With the help with your site and after test riding many myself, ended up buying an Integrale S11 in August 2016 (despite the fact I think you hadn’t done a full review yet). I really love almost everything about this bike and it was a pleasure to ride. But there’s more to share here…

I concur with everything Court mentions about this bike (Pros and Cons) in his review. A few other ‘pros’ to mention:

  • There’s a single-speed “walk mode” available if you hold down the ‘+’ button. This is very welcome because I have a steep sidewalk on part of my commute where riding is prohibited. Although the walk mode speed is more like a trot or jog speed, and I’m 6′, it’s still a welcome feature.
  • The charger is very light weight.
  • The lights work good, although some night commuters might want to supplement the front with something brighter if they ride on very dark paths, or super bright roadways for visibility. The front light can be aimed up and down a little on the fly, and more with tools.
  • The bike feels solid and offers a comfortable ride.

Cons. As mentioned in my story below, there are some things that I hope Kalkhoff improves:

  • I hope they devise a way to install a pannier front rack with at least three attachment points and goes over the fork. (A front rack that just clamps onto each side separately of the suspension fork tubes, is unstable, wobbles, and possibly even dangerous.)
  • The display should be delivered to US customers set to English. Without a manual, or speaking German, it was frustrating to figure out how to do that.
  • The license frame should be removed, or at least fully attached so it doesn’t bounce around.
  • The dealer should be instructed to make sure the rear internal gear hub is properly tested and adjusted before customer delivery.
  • The front fender needs a rain/mud flap. (Ok, I’m in Seattle, so this might not be applicable to those of you in dry zones.) Otherwise the sturdy fenders are great!

I ended up returning it in October after both the shop and the bike itself gave me a less-than-expected experience. I only had use of the bike for ~2 weeks during that two+ month time due to service challenges and delays with the bike shop. But I did mostly enjoy my 12km (7mi) Seattle commute a couple times. One of the issues was before purchase, the shop told me they could put a front low-boy pannier rack on it. (Riding with low boy bags in front is so much nicer and more stable than rear bags.) After an unstable wobbly front rack solution from the dealer, and then their proposal to custom manufacture something I gave up on the front rack idea, and them. Another issue was that the S11 rear internal hub was either defective or not properly adjusted from day-one ownership. It sometimes skipped, failed to shift, and made loud cracking sounds. The shop claimed it was not adjusted properly, …after telling me it was defective. I still don’t know. The shop did not properly prepare the display for delivery, did not have the correct owner manual, and left on a partially attached EU license plate accessory which rattled over every bump. I also later discovered the bike I purchased was over a year old (August 2015), yet they told me it was a 2016. (My bike shop experience should not necessarily dissuade others from considering this fantastic speed pedelec bike.)

I plan to purchase a different make/model that tied with this one in my research and test rides. I’ll report back after that. And thanks again Court. Every time I watch one of your road test vids I feel nostalgic for South Bay in So. Cal. where I grew up! Nostalgic, but I still love the Pacific Northwest. :-)

Reply
court
1 year ago

Hey Eric, that’s some GREAT feedback… you were objective and related that each shop works differently and I appreciate that. Interesting points about the front rack, the license plate holder and your experience getting the display set to English. Most of this was either taken care of or irrelevant during my tests and it’s the kind of feedback that can only come from real life buyers! I’m hopeful that Kalkhoff team USA will see it and maybe work more closely with their dealers in the future. I wish you luck with your next electric bicycle, whatever it may be ;)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

grnmtnbk
5 days ago

I'm considering the 2018 Kalkhoff Image Advance B8 in the step-thru "wave" frame. It is anticipated to arrive this spring/summer once the new Bosch PowerTube battery is approved in the U.S.

Do any EBR European members have experience with this new bike? If so, please elaborate.

Thank you.

Ken M
6 days ago

There are smaller "value oriented" brands like Magnum, Juiced, FLC, & Rad that have pretty good bikes with component groups that tend to match their value goals. I believe the best of the value oriented brands is PIM as their component groups tend to be a bit higher end and they engineered their own hub motor that is pretty powerful. For the most part they will either have geared or gearless hub motors because integration of a mid-drive motor is more costly at lower volumes so the larger OEMs like Giant, Trek, Specialized will tend to go with mid-drives. The best off-road enthusiast bikes will be exclusively mid-drives for obvious reasons that I have touched on.

You seem to be looking at high quality brands like Kalkhoff and Cannondale which should also include Bulls, Haibike, R&M, etc. You can get a great bike from any of these companies but the price will be higher as they do have more infrastructure to support (down the road that will likely be a good thing especially if you go with a mid-drive eBike). Strommer is a very high end brand that utilizes gearless hub motors because they understand the benefits of that technology in fast pedelecs as I think Grace does as well. Don't go with a mid-drive just because so many in the industry "claim" it's the best technology - mainly these motors comply with European low power regulations while providing adequate performance.

Ken M
7 days ago

Grace makes a model that is similar looking but has a rear gearless hub motor and a Pinion front transmission. I was actually considering buying a Kalkhoff traditional bike that had a Pinion transmission to convert to a fast eBike with selected components but just haven't got around to it.

http://www.grace-bikes.com/en/bikes/urbanic/

They actually made some demo models with a 2000W motor that was capable of pedelec speeds over 55kph/35mph. I think it was shelved because of Europes low power & slow speed regulations that aren't really a good fit with the more suburban riding in the US.

I have both Bosch and Yamaha mid drive Haibike models. They are very nice but the PIM prototype I ride is simply better for urban commuting. I can sustain a speed of 25mph easily on the PIM which even with the speeds limits of the Bosch and Yamaha "unlocked" it's very difficult to sustain that speed because so much of the motors torque is lost thru the drive train (if you running on say a 44T front sprocket and an 11T rear 75% of the torque is lost just due to the gear ratio). A hub drive's torque is delivered directly to the rear wheel so while tyipically they have a lower peak torque than the mid drives as faster speeds they put more power to the rear wheel in reality. If you spend most of riding time below 20mph the mid drives are wonderful. I just tend to like to ride fast when I'm commuting because time is money when you are trying to get to work.

grnmtnbk
7 days ago

Thanks for your suggestion, Ken. I am set on a step-thru frame, so I wouldn't be contender for your mid-step or mixte bike.

After visiting the "Step-Thru" forum, I am very intrigued with the 2018 Kalkhoff Image Advance B8 due later this year.

If you have specific thoughts on the Cannondale Mavaro model referenced above, I welcome your input.

Thanks again, kind regards.

Thomas Jaszewski
2 weeks ago

In my NSHO, we should be demanding standarized battery packs. Selling proprietary 13s, 5-6p packs for tripple the value will not grow the industry.

Using, Tesla as an example is far from a reasonable comparison. I see several eBikes a day, but a Tesla is rare. Tesla a favored company run by a personal hero offers me hope for the future, but as it stands an incredibly small market segment. I’m most excited about cobbling a new battery with their latest cell. Tesla battery manufacturing could make USA built batteries affordable. Creating serious competition for those asshats making packs proprietary. See recent Bionx reports of bankruptcy.

BTW, i can buy a USA built, best current technology, battery pack for a lot less than some branded, spendy eBike designer. Damned if some of the one or two bike experts aren’ t completely insulated and making judgements based on anecdotal forum posts. Please, lets use bes5 data available and not make thos3 who can’t spend $2500 feel like second class citizens.

For the most part we all want the same thing. Let’s focus on best technology...

Sorry, didnt spiel chick or grammar review....

Over50
2 weeks ago

When I first started shopping in 2016 I wanted a bike with an internally housed battery. I dropped that requirement when I found the options were limited (Stromer and Kalkhoff Integrale were two I looked at). After having the Bosch bikes for a while now, the aesthetics of the external pack don't bother me anymore and I've come to appreciate the flexibility of the externally mounted powerpacks. I can quickly and easily remove the pack, throw it in my backpack. I can use the neoprene cover in cold weather (no tight tolerances of an internal downtube battery housing to worry about). I also don't think the externally mounted battery looks bad on purpose built bikes that have burly frames. Where I do think it looks odd is on the kit bikes where a dolphin pack is used on a bike with a skinny frame. So I guess I'm a member of the public too and I happen to think the purpose built bikes with external battery mounts are not an indication of a design failure or laziness (and most to me are still aesthetically pleasing).

Now if offering an intube design brings a true performance benefit then I'm all over that and would quickly choose that as an option. I'm specifically referring to Riese and Muller's New Charger and the Haibike SDuro Trekking 9.0 wherein you will be able to optionally mount an external powerpack on top of the downtube's internally-housed battery for a dual battery option.

redalexx
1 month ago

I think it was a very good decision @Thomas Gårdelöv ! Although the motor issues were really anoying, the brilliant service at the end keeps the image of Kalkhoff on a high level. Which bike with which motor system will be your next one?

Ravi Kempaiah
1 month ago

hachster
1 month ago

Hi Everyone!

Thank you, in advance, for reading this through and providing any insight or advice!

BACKGROUND
About 4 years ago, frustrated with the rising cost of public transportation, I decided to eliminate my dependence on it as much as possible and purchased a bike. It's a folder; Tern P24h and I've loved it. It's a workhorse and has taken all the that abuse I, and nature, could through at it. It also manages our many hills like a champ.

My ride is about 12 miles round trip. I use one form of public trans to get me in the City. It's a regretful compromise and also the reason I have a folder.

Lately I've been thinking about getting an upgraded ride for my commute and discovered the cost of a higher-end folder is close to that of an e-bike! Why pay for folding, when I could pay for power? :)

REASON
And this brings us to one of the main reasons I'd like to go electric: to exchange my current route for a picturesque, pub-trans-free route which goes up and down the Hudson River (for those who know the area). It's a 40 mile round-trip journey. I have taken this route with my folder and found that life keeps getting in the way of being able to build the endurance needed to make this a typical weekday commute.

Other reasons include just being able to take longer trips, pick up more groceries, visit friends with ease...normal stuff that probably most of us here want to do.

BUDGET, ETC.
My budget is about $5k.

I've tried the Bosch CX, Performance, and Active line. I like Performance the best (if that's the one that reaches 28 mph).

These are four bikes I'm considering and I'd love your opinion about them, and am open to suggestions if you have a better option:

[*]Cannondale Contro-E 2017
[*]Bulls Urban Evo 2018
[*]Kalkhoff Endeavour Advance B10 Speed
[*]Riese & Muller Roadster HS

MAIN CONCERN
The main issue that concerns me is durability. I could put 10,000 miles on the bike in a year, in all kinds of weather and in all temperatures. Will these engines last? Which bikes are the easiest to maintain? Which need it the least?

CONCLU
Thank you for reading this and for offering any experiences and/or advice you have. I really appreciate it! :)

Thomas Gårdelöv
1 month ago

I have returned the bike to the dealer and my dealer did put a claim against Kalkhoff and they have given all my money back for the bike! I'm so satisfied how this was solved in the end and it's all thanks to my dealer E24. Now I'm waiting for my new bike to arrive and it's not an Kalkhoff.

Ann M.
2 months ago

It's a swift paced overview of new ebikes that haven't made it to the U.S. yet and others that we're already familiar with along with a flash of some nifty accessories. Liked the trippy music overlay and Court lists all of the items he zoomed in on in a list below the video. Don't know how the London Bike Show compares in size to our Interbike; however, it looks like a huge show!

Hi guys, I was visiting London to film some reviews with a shop called Fully Charged and happened to wind up at the London Bike Show. This video is a quick overview of interesting products I saw. Each shot takes a moment to highlight the electric bike or accessory and then show the name of the company who produced it. One of the highlights for me was the new Electric Brompton. I have not gotten a chance to ride it yet. The music used in this review is from Be Svendsen, used with permission. You can visit their Soundcloud page to listen to more tracks at: https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fsoundcloud.com%2Fbesvendsen&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description you can learn more about the London Bike Show at their official website: https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fthelondonbikeshow.co.uk%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description

Highlights in order of appearance: - Air to the Throne (freeride mountain bike jumpers) https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fthelondonbikeshow.co.uk%2Fair-to-the-throne&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Métier Cycling Clothing https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.metiercycling.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Gocycle premium folding ebikeshttps://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fgocycle.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Navigata Pedibal Bikes https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.pedibal.com%2Fnavigata%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Brompton Electric https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.brompton.com%2FBrompton-Electric&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Kalkhoff electric bikes https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.kalkhoff-bikes.com%2Fen.html&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Velosock bike cover https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fvelosock.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Orange bicycles, model: Alpine 6 E https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.orangebikes.co.uk%2Fbikes%2Falpine-6-e-le&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Focus bikes https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.focus-bikes.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Bar [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.clifbar.co.uk%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']http://www.clifbar.co.uk/[/URL]-
Tern bicycles, model: GSD [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ternbicycles.com%2Fca%2Fbikes%2F471%2Fgsd&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.ternbicycles.com/ca/bikes...[/URL]-
Hummingbird lightweight folding bicycle [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fhummingbirdbike.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://hummingbirdbike.com/[/URL]-
ARCC Innovations [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Farccinnovations.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://arccinnovations.com/[/URL]-
KwikFold folding ebikes [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.kwikfold.co.uk%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.kwikfold.co.uk/[/URL]-
Batribike electric bicycles [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.batribike.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.batribike.com/[/URL]-
Neomouv electric bikes [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fneomouv.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://neomouv.com/[/URL]-
Ezee Bike [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fezeebike.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']http://ezeebike.com/[/URL]-
L-BOW Safety Light for bicycles [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fl-bow.co%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://l-bow.co/[/URL]-
Furo Systems carbon electric bikes [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.furosystems.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.furosystems.com/[/URL]-
Closca bike helmets, model: Fuga [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fclosca.com%2Fproducts%2Ffuga-helmet%3Fvariant%3D53832191509&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://closca.com/products/fuga-helm...[/URL]-
FlyKly e-bike motor [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fflykly.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']http://flykly.com/[/URL]-
Tailfin bike rack [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.tailfin.cc%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.tailfin.cc/[/URL]-
Coboc electric bikes [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.coboc.biz%2Fen%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.coboc.biz/en/[/URL]-
Fully Charged bike shop in London [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.fullycharged.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']http://www.fullycharged.com/[/URL]
I rushed to get this video processed and posted because the event continues tomorrow (Sunday February 25th). Check it out if you're in town, the bicycle ramp riders were amazing.

Thomas Jaszewski
2 months ago

Th

This fellow should be pretty reasonable. https://www.hicbattery.com/Battery-Rebuild-Services_ep_41.html
You may be able to find a pack to fit but I'm afraid there might be some pitfalls and problems that would arise. You could use a soft pack battery in a nylon case in place, but I'd consider going the rebuild route. It's really not a very big pack maybe 7S/3-4P 21-28 cells. And with newer 3000-3500maH cells you'd gain aH and range. Careful if you decide to buy a soft pack and adapt. Make sure the reseller has been checked out. I can reference one to be trusted, but again, Call Hi C first!

piperpilot12w
4 months ago

I'm 6'5 with a 34 inch inseam, and weight 200 pounds. I'm looking for a commuter bike with mid drive.
There are a lot of hills where I live and from what I've read a mid drive would be preferable for this.
Price range is $3,000 - $4,500. I can go higher if needed, but would delay the purchase some.

Any thoughts for a quality bike that would fit my needs? I live in Southern California

On my list thus far
KALKHOFF INTEGRALE S11 - more than I want to spend, but is an option
OHM Urban - Rear drive that may not do as well on the hills where I live

redalexx
6 months ago

I agree!

Ok, in Germany I heared that the warranty is longer ... but 2 years is also good. And that is the thing, all other manufacturers won't give another 2 years warranty on the changed drive unit. So if there is still a problem, you can be sure to get the motor replaced for free.

Motor from Aug. 2015? Give it a try - else you will get a new 2017 drive unit. So no risk - if the dealer is not that far away! The Kalkhoff Service is really good.

This is an overview of the current situation.
You can see here:
- number of registered motor systems
- mileage of all motor systems per type
- members year of purchase per motor system

There aro no failures in it. The failures are summarized in the "motors & statistics" section under each run time chart.

So buy it if the price is ok. Ask if you get another bike if your new one needs to be fixed.

Alex

RoadHammer
6 months ago

Redalexx,
Thanks so much for your help. I noticed that you are creator of that database. Great job! Looks like a very good resource. As I've been looking through it, I'm understanding a bit more. Google translate is pretty good!

The Kalkhoff Integrale S11 looks like such a nice bike and has a lot of features (e.g. belt drive, internally geared hub, speed pedelec). I talked with the dealer today about warranty and he says that Kalkhoff has been good on their warranty support. He mentioned that there is a 2 year warranty, and if the motor needs to be replaced under warranty, the new motor would have a new 2 year warranty. The bike I was looking at had a motor date of Aug 2015 and was an Impulse EVO RS.

I found the chart below in my searches. Is this yours? Is it showing reported failures per calendar year for each of the drive systems? I wonder if it's possible to find out how many of each of the drive units have been manufactured.

You mentioned that one user may being having issues with a torque sensor. Have you ever found a motor tear down on the web? I've looked and haven't seen any.

Thanks again!

Ravi Kempaiah
1 year ago

There are few bikes that match your criteria!
Riese and Muller is def one of them.

Kalkhoff Integrale S11

Lacuba E8 (except that it's 20mph limited but the motor can be swapped out for a Speed version)

http://www.grace-bikes.com/bikes/mx2urban/

Chris Nolte
1 year ago

Beautifully integrated Urban Commuter Bike!

Kalkhoff Integrale S11 Medium Demo - Low Miles - Excellent Condition - $4600 normally $5899

Link: http://propelbikes.com/product/kalkhoff-integrale-s11-demo/

Stem | No Tangled Cables: The brake lines are guided through the new stem. Its patented continuously variable setting function is equally innovative.

Front Light | No Blind Flight: Flood light as standard: the Concept Twin LED double front light guarantees exceptional illumination even when riding at high speeds thanks to an output of 100 lux.

Fork Crown | Uncompromising: The fork crown in the comfortable suspension fork has been specially adapted to the diameter of the frame. The results speak for themselves.

Down Tube | No Expense Spared: State-of-the-art production technology for perfect integration: the head tube, down tube and motor mount of the Kalkhoff Integrale aluminum chassis are produced as one piece in the die casting mold. This guarantees exceptional precision and maximum stability.

Belt | No Chain: The high-end models in the Kalkhoff Integrale range with hub gears feature a low-maintenance and clean belt drive.

Dropout | No Restrictions: The Kalkhoff Integrale frame is designed for a belt drive as standard, exchangeable dropout plates are available for hub and derailleur gears.

Pannier Rack | Not Just for Show: The minimalist design of the pannier rack offers more than meets the eye: this special structure can hold loads of up to 15 kg. An extensive range of accessories can be used thanks to the Snap-it system.

Mudguards | No Plastic: The aluminum mudguards which are color-coordinated with the frame underscore our passion for high-quality design and, at the same time, increase the rigidity of the pannier rack connection.

Seatpost Clamp | No Clip: Integration down to the very last detail: the seatpoint clamp is not visible from the outside.

upguy
1 year ago
Chris Nolte
2 years ago

We just posted some new http://propelbikes.com/product-category/sale-and-demo-ebikes/. They're moving quickly so if you're interested act now!

List is below. Click the links for more details and pricing:
http://propelbikes.com/product/cannondale-mavaro-performance-electric-bike-floor-model/
http://propelbikes.com/product/cannondale-contro-e-rigid-floor-model/
http://propelbikes.com/product/faraday-porteur-s-2016/
http://propelbikes.com/product/felt-sporte-demo/
http://propelbikes.com/product/felt-nine-e-electric-bike-html/ - sold
http://propelbikes.com/product/felt-lebowske-fat-tire-demo/
http://propelbikes.com/product/felt-bruhaul-floor-model/
http://propelbikes.com/product/haibike-sduro-allmtn-sl-floor-model/
http://propelbikes.com/product/haibike-xduro-urban-floor-model/
http://propelbikes.com/product/kalkhoff-integrale-s11-demo/
[URL='http://propelbikes.com/product/kalkhoff-sahel-impulse-8r-8-2015-1648494899-html/']Kalkhoff Sahel Impulse Medium, Large[/URL]
[URL='http://propelbikes.com/product/kalkhoff-agattu-impulse-8-hs-floor-model/']Kalkhoff Agattu 8 Low Step 2016 Small[/URL]
[URL='http://propelbikes.com/product/kalkhoff-agattu-impulse-7-hs-floor-model/']Kalkhoff Agattu 7 Low Step Small, Medium[/URL]
[URL='http://propelbikes.com/product/moustache-starckbike-asphalt-demo/']Moustache Asphalt Speed Medium[/URL]
[URL='http://propelbikes.com/product/moustache-friday-27-speed-demo/']Moustache Friday Speed Medium[/URL] - sold
[URL='http://propelbikes.com/product/scott-e-sub-evo-bike/']Scott E-Sub Evo Medium, Large[/URL]
[URL='http://propelbikes.com/product/scott-e-sub-tour/']Scott E-Sub Tour Small[/URL]
[URL='http://propelbikes.com/product/specialized-turbo-s-floor-model/']Specialized Turbo S Medium[/URL]
[URL='http://propelbikes.com/product/specialized-turbo-levo-ht-comp-6fattie-floor-model/']Specialized Levo Comp HT Black Medium[/URL]
[URL='http://propelbikes.com/product/specialized-turbo-levo-fsr-comp-6fattie-demo-medium/']Specialized Levo Comp FSR Green Medium[/URL] - sold

Feel free to call or email for more info hello@propelbikes.com or 718.643.4542

Over50
2 years ago

Cool! What a nice looking ride! I'd be eager to hear some rider feedback once you put some miles on it. I'm considering the Kalkhoff Integrale S11 so I'd really like to hear what you think of the belt drive and motor system (Kalkhoff and Focus are same company so perhaps traits of one will apply to the other). I wasn't sure Focus still made the 1.0 but definitely a bike I would consider if some of my other choices don't pan out. Anxious to hear your take on the bike after some use!

Over50
2 years ago

Thanks Fig - Great to hear from an actual owner. I've only seen the Integrale S11 in pictures/video. One thing that impresses me at least in the photos is the integration of the motor housing with the frame. It has to be one of the cleanest I've seen (again judging from photos and videos only). Have you had any interaction with Kalkhoff for any service or warranty related items? I'm just wondering how their customer service is (recognizing you would probably go through the dealer first). And last (probably dumb) question: I can't recall if I've seen any weight statistics for the Kalkhoffs - at least they don't put them on their website. Do you have an idea on the weight of the bike? I would bet over 50 pounds but lighter than a Stromer - maybe about 55 pounds?

Fig
2 years ago
Fig
2 years ago
E-Wheels
2 years ago

Gates carbon belts have been and are still used to drive petrol powered motor cycles and drive the super chargers on top fuel drag racing cars so reliability and performance will not be a problem. Have a read here http://www.gatescarbondrive.com/Story

Kanal
3 months ago

Thanx for the great review. I've seldom watched such an informative, detailed and agreeable bike-review. And yes, it's really expensive. Here in Europe you get it for 3750 € (lowest price on the net) and you've got to save, let's say 250 €/year for a new battery, which I guess becomes due after about 4 years. And you've got to insure a speed-pedelec (faster than 25km/h) for about 70€/year in Germany. You've got to wear a helmet, a back mirror has to be installed, you need a lighted number plate and you are not allowed to drive on cycle paths (kind of crazy, isn't it?). Anyway it still remains a good alternative for a car.

al gibson
6 months ago

This review was posted about a year ago. Any word on the reliability of the motor over the past year? I've heard there have been issues with the Impulse motor in the past and some people are reporting issues with the EVO motor that comes with this bike.

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA
8 months ago

Solid Build so you get what you pay for also e Bikes are still new to the scene so MSRP is going to be really high due to demand levels being really low... Remember when the 1st computers and E Vehicles came out they where a lot of money but now you can get the new Tesla for 35k and a computer for 200-500 bucks, patience is a virtue so waiting on e bikes is ideal!!! even the DIY e bike kits are pricey so if your on a budget just wait it out!!!

Le Lu Yan
10 months ago

How popular is the brand Kalkoff? i'm not sure how is going to be when this bike needs servicing. I would like all the motor choices however i really don't want to end up with a very heavy bike when the motor breaks. For instance in NL bosch is most popular but lesser brands like kalkoff is very rare.

VideoNOLA
11 months ago

So how long do those CDX "belts" tend to last? I ride through a lot of dirt and rain = wear on traditional chains.

George G
4 months ago

Gates says their carbon belt drive gets 3X the life of a standard chain.

Michael V
4 months ago

VideoNOLA I read it should last roughly 3 times longer than chains, a chain on hub! But by the rule of physic little stones or hits are not good for belts. Because of that I wouldn't chose it for mnt bike.
I'm riding Gates CDX up to now 2000 km and I'm still very satisfied with it in rain, icy and bone dry condition but prevent dirt or mud. Riding city and forest ways. I clean the pedelec and belt once a month by using bicycle soap cleaner and a teeth brush. After that apply some try silicon spray on the belt, that's all.

USandNL
1 year ago

I just bought the i8 version of this bike and it's incredible. I love the large display and the fact that it's permanently attached. No need to remove it every time you run into the store! Quality German craftsmanship. I already have over 200 miles on it. The only thing I changed was the seat. I swamped it for a Brooks real leather touring seat which added a lot for comfort.

marketingvp1
1 year ago

Fantastic bike! I just bought mine and couldn't be happier :)

1FriendFishing
1 year ago

Anybody know What's it like for a trailer? Like a Bob Yak? This bike is a rear hub. Others have a cassette with a pin which would be compatible with a bob yak, for example. Yes I know I should look up Bob Yak website, but does anyone know here? Have experience with them?

Hugh A N
1 year ago

I'm giving serious consideration to one of these. However, the last few hundred metres to my place of work consist of a *very* steep hill. Can I assume that this bike would handle the daily climb? It's a very important factor in my decision to take the plunge (or not).

George G
4 months ago

Update? Did you wind up purchasing one?

Sjaak De Winter
1 year ago

This e bike is the creme de la creme.
Try it and you buy it.

Predrag Starcevic
1 year ago

Hey man, I'm really liking your reviews - they are very educational and concise ! I'm really eager to see what the future brings for this industry, because even in smaller and less economically powerfull countries like my own the culture of e-bikes has grown really fast in the last couple of years.

One thing I dont like tho, and please dont mind me saying, it is the way you produce your videos. I wish less frames were hand held shots, maybe if you had yourself camera stand of some kind it would be much more eye pleasing to watch. I do believe so... I understand that you dont have a huge crew etc and you do this in a most efficient way on your own, these reviews. It is really appreciated.

Dan Martin
1 year ago

Court, looks like a nice bike for long distance commuting, so might be a good option for me! How does it compare in terms of effort and feel with a Stromer or Bosch S-pedelec for cruising 25-28 mph?

Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

I think it's comparable. It's easier to maintain higher speeds with the Stromer and the Bosch system is slightly more refined as far as power delivery.

Bernard Manansala
1 year ago

Looks like a Mid-Drive Stromer

Omid Zade
1 year ago

Your videos are so dumb dumb ass

Javierm0n0
1 year ago

this is a nicely designed bike. Definitely would get one if i could spare the cash.

George G
4 months ago

Still interested in buying this bike?

Flo Mo
1 year ago

Kalkhoff belongs to the upper class. It is a Mercedes at the eBikes. The price is high and the quality is also. Typical German. Thank you Court for the awesome video.

ᛒåᚱᛏ טייַך
1 year ago

"A lot of this stuff is pioneered in Europe"; can confirm. Stromer is a latecomer compared to European markets, lol.

Fancy a Bev Mate?
1 year ago

This was the only ebike I was going to buy here in the UK however because of the legislation about speed etc it put me off.... However I'm really shocked that the main distributor of the bike in the uk doesn't mention about what you have stated in the video about the speed settings for limiting them I'm going to look into the bike again as on our public roads I can select the limit and then off road use the higher speed. Thanks court

ilikewasabe
1 year ago

i love the bike! it does not look like an ebike. Btw how often do you have to replace the belt? i have no experience on belt drives and integrated geared hub. looks very sturdy and requires little maitenance

trainluvr
1 year ago

These belts are similar to car engine timing belts. I replaced the timing belt in my 18 year old Accord with 90,000 miles on it and it was indistinguishable from a new belt.

FRANK ROBY
1 year ago

Court the motor should be 350watt .