Piaggio Wi-Bike Active Plus Review

Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Electric Bike Review
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Piaggio Mid Motor 60 Nm Torque
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus 37 Volt Lithium Ion Battery 11 6 Amp Hours
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Removable Display Panel Handlebar
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Axa Nano50 Headlight Monoshock Fork
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Shimano M315 Brake Levers Flick Bell
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Nuvinci Harmony Cvt Drivetrain
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Integrated Supernova E3 Tail Light
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Kickstand Tubular Alloy Fenders
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus App Drive Modes
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus App Gps Navigation
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus App Handbook Battery Motor Display
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus App Profile Setup
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Smartphone App
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Tire Pressure Seat Height Recommendations
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Display Panel Connection
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Ebike
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Optional Piaggio Axa Frame Lock
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus 4 Amp Battery Charger Bag And Manual
Piaggio Wi Bike Custom Motor Specs
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Electric Bike Review
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Piaggio Mid Motor 60 Nm Torque
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus 37 Volt Lithium Ion Battery 11 6 Amp Hours
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Removable Display Panel Handlebar
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Axa Nano50 Headlight Monoshock Fork
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Shimano M315 Brake Levers Flick Bell
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Nuvinci Harmony Cvt Drivetrain
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Integrated Supernova E3 Tail Light
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Kickstand Tubular Alloy Fenders
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus App Drive Modes
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus App Gps Navigation
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus App Handbook Battery Motor Display
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus App Profile Setup
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Smartphone App
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Tire Pressure Seat Height Recommendations
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Display Panel Connection
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Ebike
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus Optional Piaggio Axa Frame Lock
Piaggio Wi Bike Active Plus 4 Amp Battery Charger Bag And Manual
Piaggio Wi Bike Custom Motor Specs

Summary

  • A beautiful looking, feature-complete, well balanced, Class 3 speed pedelec (capable of ~27 mph top speeds) from Italian automotive company Piaggio, the same brand that makes Vespa scooters and Aprilia motorcycles
  • Custom alloy frame has been sculpted with smooth welds and some blade accents that double as gussets for strength, the frame is longer to accommodate the battery mounting position, perfectly matched mono-shock fork and chain cover
  • NuVinci continuously variable transmission works well with the belt drive and custom mid-motor, shifting is done automatically and you set a desired cadence using the LCD display and smartphone app, lots of features to explore
  • Available in two frame sizes and with the NuVinci CVT or 10-Speed Shimano Deore (which is lighter and less expensive), optional rear rack, premium integrated lights, no bottle cage bosses, only available in high-step for now

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Piaggio

Model:

Wi-Bike Active Plus

Price:

$3,999

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Italy, Netherlands, Germany, Spain, United Kingdom, France

Model Year:

20172018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

60.1 lbs (27.26 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.1 lbs (2.76 kg)

Motor Weight:

9.9 lbs (4.49 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy, Hydroformed

Frame Sizes:

19.7 in (50.03 cm)21.65 in (54.99 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Large 55 cm: 22" Seat Tube, 23.5" Reach, 33" Stand Over Height, 26.5" Width, 79" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Aluminum Opaco, Matte Verde Opaco

Frame Fork Details:

Aluminum Alloy with Integrated Head-Tube Shock, 20 mm Travel, 100 mm Hub Spacing, 9 mm Security Lock Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

135 mm Hub Spacing, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 Speed 1x∞ NuVinci N360 Harmony Electric Continuously Variable Transmission (Fully Automatic Electronic Shifting System), 20T Rear Sprocket

Shifter Details:

Independent Button Pad on Left (The Same as Assist and Display Interaction)

Cranks:

FSA, Aluminum Alloy, 175 mm Arm Length, 42 Tooth Beltring

Pedals:

VP Large Plastic Platform

Headset:

FSA Threadless, Sealed Cartridge, Internal Cups, 1-1/8" Straight

Stem:

Aluminum Alloy, 100 mm, 17° Angle, 31.8 mm Clamp Diameter, Two 10 mm Spacers, One 5 mm Spacer

Handlebar:

Aluminum, Flat, 680 mm Length

Brake Details:

Shimano M315 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Dual-Piston Calipers, Two-Finger Leers with Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Flat Leather, Locking, Black

Saddle:

Velo Active, Leather, Black

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

340 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, Deep V Design, 36 Hole, Red or Black

Spokes:

Stainless Steel,14 Gauge Front and 13 Gauge Rear, Black with Adjustable Nipples

Tire Brand:

Continental E-Contact, 28" x 1.6" (42 x 622)

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripe, Puncture Resistant, 73 PSI, 5.0 BAR

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Proprietary Aluminum Alloy Tubular Fenders (45 mm Width), AXA Nano50 Integrated LED Headlight (40 Lux), Supernova E3 Integrated LED Backlight, Paint-Matched Plastic Chain Cover, Flick Bell on Right, Water Resistant Small Canvas Backpack for Charger, Optional Piaggio Branded AXA ART 4001 Cafe Lock

Other:

IP67 Rated Electronics (Highly Water Resistant), Locking Removable Seat Tube Mounted Battery Pack, 2.4 lb 4 Amp Battery Charger, Multi-Language User Manual

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Piaggio

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

37 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

75 miles (121 km)

Display Type:

Continental, Removable, Backlit, Greyscale, LCD

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Bars), Clock, Speed, Assist Level (Off, Eco, Tour, Power), Infographic Gear (Human and Motor), Range, Battery Percentage, Odometer, Trip, Max Speed, Avg Speed, Watt Hours, Watt Hours Per Mile, Timer, Settings

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad, USB Type A 2.0 Female Plug 5 Volt 0.5 Amp, Bluetooth Smartphone App and Diagnostics

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Rear Wheel Speed, Pedal Rate, Left-Pedal Torque, Pedal Acceleration)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

I’m most familiar with the Piaggio company because of their gas powered Vespa scooters, which were launched in 1946… but the parent company is actually a lot older than that! dating all the way back to 1884. Their latest product offering is a line of electric bicycles called Wi-Bike. The Active models, that I’m focusing on with this review, offer Class-3 speed pedelec performance with up to ~27 mph pedal-assisted speeds that are activated through advanced cadence and torque sensors. The bikes feel smooth and stable, pedaling is efficient, and the motor is relatively quiet. If you opt for the belt drive system, it will produce even less noise and stay cleaner. The video review above shows several different models but I focused in on the Active Plus, which pairs the belt with an auto-shifting continuously variable transmission hub from NuVinci, called the NuVinci N360 Harmony. This model retails for $3,999 vs. the stock Active model which uses a still-good Shimano Deore 10-speed derailleur and traditional metal chain for $3,499. The standard Active model seems to be setup more for commuters because it includes a rack, adjustable-angle stem, and suspension seat post. If you’re looking for luxury, aren’t so worried about hauling cargo, and appreciate the latest auto-shifting technology, then the Active Plus model is perfect. And of course, you can always swap the stock rigid seat post with a 31.6 mm suspension post like this to match the dual-suspension feel of the standard Active model. In my opinion, what sets the Wi-Bikes apart from other ebike products on the market right now is their style, premium accessories (like tubular alloy fenders, integrated lights, and color-matched chain guard and battery casing), along with the service you will get from Vespa dealers who will begin carrying the bikes in 2017/2018. Actually, it sounds like some independent electric bike dealers will also be stocking Wi-Bike… Similar to most other high-end ebike brands, the Wi-Bike products come with a two-year comprehensive warranty, and there’s a line of optional accessories like racks, bags, and locks designed to fit perfectly. During the ride test portion of this review, I noticed how evenly weight was distribution across the frame. It felt stable and coasted easily even when I took my hands off the bar, thanks to larger 700c 28″ wheels. All current Wi-Bikes models are longer than most competing electric bicycles I’ve covered, by about seven inches, due to the battery position behind the seat tube. I love that they offer this bike in two colors (silver being my favorite, for improved visibility at night) as well as two frame sizes. The black spokes, deep-dish rims, reflective tires, and leather touch points make this product look and feel more like a Vespa than a bicycle, and I was amazed at how many features were built into the optional smartphone app. It’s quite good… and you can charge your phone while riding the bike because the display mount has a USB Type A port on the left side! The app has GPS tracking and alerts built in, so you can rest easy that your investment is safe at the rack during work… or at least, somewhat findable if it gets stolen. This service is included free for the first two years but then costs something like $35/yr, which seems very reasonable to me. Helping with this review was a gentleman named Andrew, from Vespa Brooklyn, who was dressed very nicely in a long sleeve shirt. He talked about riding the bike to work without getting sweaty but also mentioned how it can be used to get a workout when paired with a heart rate monitor! You can tell the bike to adjust electric assist to help you hit and maintain a set heart rate, which is very unique. Also helping with this electric bike review was the Wi-Bike Project Lead for North America, Larry Ferracci, and my friend, Chris Nolte, from Propel bikes (a competing ebike-only shop located just down the street in Brooklyn, NY). I tried to be comprehensive with the specs, measurements, and ride test which are all available as part of this review. And, you can explore the lower-speed Wi-Bike Comfort model in this review, as it costs less and is available in step-thru frame style for riders with hip and knee sensitivity.

Driving the bike is a 350 watt nominally rated mid-drive motor that has been designed, developed and produced by Piaggio in Italy. This is a company which has been producing gas powered motors for over 100. For people who live in Europe and have access to the Wi-Bike line, the motor may be rated at 250 watts to comply with local legislation. The motor controller measures rear wheel speed, pedal speed, pedal cadence, and pedal torque to provide a responsive and natural feel. It can produce up to 80 Newton meters of torque, according to their literature, which is above average for mid-drives. I cannot confirm, but perhaps the lower speed motor only offers 60 Nm of torque, as this is what I was told during the preparation phase of the review, and that is still about average and very capable if you shift appropriately for climbing. These motor units are a bit heavier than the competition, at about 9.9 lbs. I found that the Cruise model motor started and stopped with a bit of delay compared to the Active Line which is more zippy. You can see the chainring activate and spin down after I stop pedaling in the video above, and you can hear the high-pitched electronic whir soften as I pedal slower. Considering that this bike is rated up to ~28 miles per hour, I found that it mostly stayed in the ~26 mph range, and that may be due to the auto-shifting of the NuVinci compared with traditional gearing. I did not have difficulty climbing hills, and I rode mostly with a higher cadence of 74 RPM vs. the default 60 RPM because I come from a road cycling background where spinning is common, and I have a sensitive knee. It was easy to change RPM settings once I was at the appropriate menu on the display, but wasn’t as immediately intuitive or fast as using a traditional physical shifter. Shifting gears with the NuVinci N360 Harmony is a unique experience, and it caught me by surprise as the bike naturally adjusted to the way I was pedaling… If I pedaled harder, the bike went faster, but my RPM remained fairly constant. The motor on this bike does not have shift detection and if you were pedaling hard in the highest level of assist (perhaps while climbing) and tried to shift down using the cassette and derailleur (stock on the standard Active model), it would mash and bang a bit as shown in the video, causing wear on the drivetrain. So, while the NuVinci is heavier by ~3 lbs and more expensive, it does seem very durable and well suited to this motor. My favorite part about the motor is actually how hidden it is. Piaggio has done a great job matching the plastic covers and protectors around the motor and battery to make it stealthy.

Powering the bike is a 37 volt 11.6 amp hour battery pack mounted just behind the seat tube. I would call the 417.6 watt hour capacity somewhat average for the 2018 timeframe, where many products are hitting the 500 watt hour mark without being any heavier. The pack itself weighs about 6.1 pounds and can be charged on or off the frame. The charge port cover has a spring built in and works very well, there’s much less screwing around with a dirty rubber flap like on other e-bikes. If you decide to remove the battery for safe keeping or more convenient charging, there’s a large comfortable handle built into the top. The battery locks onto the bike frame using a trusted AXA locking core and then tips out to the left when being removed. I think it would be neat if AXA offered a keyed-alike program for this lock so that you could match it to the optional cafe lock from Piaggio (also made by AXA) or other folding/u-lock accessories like this. As it stands, you may end up dealing with several unique keys. In closing, the battery gets the job done and its capacity will be spent efficiently if you shift gears thoughtfully or set the cadence at a medium or quick pace. Mid-drive motors are frequently praised for their ability to go further with the same energy as a hub motor… and while I could not range test the bike during this review, I have no reason to think that it would not be comparable or even better than the zippy Bosch Performance Line Speed motor which is rated very similarly in terms of specs with 75 Nm of torque and 350 to 570 watts output. I do wonder how the plastic casing around the battery pack works, and if it can be transferred to a different battery pack if/when it starts to run low and requires replacement after several years of continuous use? That could increase the price and complexity of replacement, but if you store the pack in a cool-dry location and keep it at ~50% capacity when not in use, it should hold up very well over the long term. Perhaps the paint-matched shielding can be re-attached to a new battery?

Operating this electric bike is potentially more involved than other products, but that’s only because it provides so many cool features AND handles shifting (if you get the Active Plus model)… You don’t have to use the fancy app features if you don’t want to. The included LCD display is removable, backlit, and easy to activate on its own. Just press the power button on the control pad near the left grip and then cycle through the three levels of assist, watch as the speedometer changes, keep track of your battery capacity, and keep an eye on the gear info-graphic which communicates motor power and rider pedal power back to back, so you can see how much the bike is helping. The Mode key lets you cycle through trip stats as well as the NuVinci pedal RPM settings which is how you “change gears”. If you’re off the bike and walking it through a crowded space or pushing it up a hill… or possibly dealing with a flat tire, you can use walk-assist by arrowing down to the no-assist level and then then hold the walk mode button. If you hold the mode key on the display, you can enable bluetooth in the settings menu and connect your Android or iOS smartphone using the Wi-Bike App. This is where the real fun begins! Rather than just three levels of assist, the app provides ten power steps and four different ride modes including Fitness, which can sync with a heartrate monitor (as mentioned earlier). The app even lets you create a profile and will recommend tire pressure and saddle height all based on your body measurements like height and weight. It can even do GPS route planning and remember you “home” to make it easy to get around. I love that the app has a battery percentage readout as well as the five-bar infographic to really let you track and plan rides, and avoid getting stranded. I’m glad that the bike charges pretty quickly with the four-Amp charger, it’s just a little bulky and heavy compared to some others I have seen and I really cannot imagine carrying along a secondary battery pack because of the bulkiness of the design and big handle ontop. Sometimes it’s nice to just have a simple display to work with and other times it can be fun to geek out and dial the settings in. I like that you can completely remove the stock display and use your phone as both the key fob and settings adjuster for the bike if you want. This entire system feels more like an automobile or just a premium scooter to me, the hardware feels durable and the software is deeper, this helps to justify the higher price point.

All things considered, I really enjoyed the Wi-Bike Active and Active Plus. They offer the unique belt drive + CVT combination which is smooth, quite, and durable. The motor seems like a good fit in terms of performance and stability while also being durable and efficient. I trust Piaggio, so even though this is a relatively new motor for the United States market, I feel that it will be well supported and probably very durable. I like all of the integrated accessories, especially the lights, and am a big fan of hydraulic disc brakes. Performance was good, style was great, and the app was fantastic. Depending on your needs and tastes, this could be a great bike to consider. There is room for improvement with the addition of bottle cage bosses, and as Chris mentioned in the video, you might want to stock up on some long-stem inner tubes because the deep dish rims require something like 60 mm presta valve stems vs. the stock 48 mm. I feel that 10-speed Shimano Deore version of standard Active (vs. the Active Plus) would be lighter, shift quicker, and allow you to hit slightly higher speeds. At the time of this review, there were nine dedicated dealers of the new Wi-Bike products in North America, but that number is growing. Some of the final little highlights I noticed were guides on the rear sprocket and chainring to keep the belt on track, excellent motor assistance at higher RPM pedaling (at least 120, and possibly even higher), and just how smooth the motor started and stopped. Big thanks to Vespa Brooklyn and the Piaggio team for meeting me with several bikes and partnering with me on this post. They helped to pay for my travel and accommodations to make this review possible and provided support in figuring out all of the technical nuances of the app.

Pros:

  • Very nice integrated lights, the headlight points where you steer and is aimable while the backlight is positioned out of the way for a rack or clothing that might hang down, the silver frame color option would stand out at night and the tires have reflective sidewall strips to further increase the visual footprint of the bike
  • Sturdy dual-layer tubular Aluminum alloy fenders will keep you dry and clean without rattling and the chain/belt cover is also sturdier than I usually see, it will keep your pant legs grease/snag free
  • Belt drives tend to be quiet and durable because they maintain a fixed length, many ebike shops have told me that belts don’t require as much service or tuning as chains
  • The frame is beautiful, look at the smooth welds and unique bladed accents near the base of the downtube and just behind the seat tube (where the optional rack would connect), this thing is purpose-built and all of the wires and cables are neatly tucked away, the fork and chain cover are perfectly paint-matched in color
  • Battery and motor weight are kept low and center on the frame, which improves stability and handling, the wheelbase is a bit longer which isn’t as snappy and maneuverable, but it still rides comfortably (most ebikes I measure are ~72″ long and this one is ~79″ long because the battery is behind the seat tube which makes the chain stays longer)
  • The NuVinci continuously variable transmission can be shifted at standstill and isn’t as susceptible to damage or wear when combined with a mid-drive like this (compared to a geared hub or traditional cassette with sprockets), it does weigh more and cost more though
  • Most of the standard NuVinci CVT drivetrains I see use mechanical shifting where you have to grip hard and twist to adjust gearing ratios, but this one is purely electronic (using the Harmony system and the ebike display), it shifts itself automatically to keep you pedal cadence RPM constant so you can focus on steering and enjoying the ride
  • I love that the battery pack is removable, for convenient charging and protection (store away from extreme heat and cold), and that the display is also removable and acts as a key to unlock the bike, the front wheel is attached with a security bolt vs. quick release so it’s going to be tamper resistant if you’re commuting and park at a public rack
  • Nice Shimano hydraulic disc brakes, the adjustable-reach levers are going to be easy to pull and hold whether you’ve got long or short fingers
  • The battery has a large, comfortable handle at the top which makes it easy and safe to carry around, I like how it tips into the mounting position and appreciate the design that WiBike is using for the charging port cover (a little plastic spring loaded door to keep dust and water out when riding), just be careful with the bike if you charge the pack mounted because the cable will be near the left crank arm and could get bent or sheered off
  • Nicer flick bell to signal pedestrians while riding, upgraded and enlarged plastic platform pedals for improved grip and traction compared to the Comfort models
  • Hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano provide good stopping power, note the larger front rotor, it’s good to have this sort of brake setup because the bike is a bit heavier than average at ~60 lbs (in part because of the NuVinci CVT drivetrain on the bike I reviewed)
  • It’s neat that Piaggio has created an app to let you plan routes, get diagnostics, and even learn how to set your tire pressure and seat height correctly, but you don’t need to use this if you prefer to rely on the LCD display only, one other cool feature is GPS tracking to help recover bikes if they get stolen and Piaggio offers two years of free data with the purchase as I understand it
  • Piaggio sells a branded line of accessories, such as the trunk bag, so you can maintain the beautiful look and brand consistency across the bike, the trunk bag had some reflective fabric on it as well as zip-down panniers on both sides
  • I believe that the Wi-Bikes are only sold through dealers, but it appears that Vespa has a large network of dealers so finding and test riding the product could be easier, as well as getting help with the two-year warranty should something go wrong
  • The motor is custom made for Piaggio but seemed very high quality (comparable to the Yamaha or Bosch Active Line motors in terms of build and performance for me), it measures four signals including rear wheel speed, pedal cadence, pedal speed, and pedal torque for fluid operation
  • The mount for the display has a full sized USB Type A female port built in so you can charge portable electronics and maybe keep your phone full while using the app and riding

Cons:

  • All of the Active Line Piaggio Wi-Bike electric bike models are built around a high-step frame, this adds stiffness and is a good choice for higher speed riding, but might be difficult to mount and stand over for petite riders… at least they offer two frame sizes here and if you get the standard Active model there’s an adjustable-angle stem for upright or forward body position
  • The headlight is very nice, I love how the top portion is cut off and the beam is aimed down so you don’t blind oncoming cyclists or traffic, however, they did mount this light to the lower moving portion of the suspension fork and it could bounce around more as a result
  • The sleek mono-shock offers a bit of comfort but isn’t as plush as full size suspension forks with two stanchions, the deep-dish rims could ride stiffer and there’s no suspension seat post… even the flat bar, flat grips, and active saddle are a bit sporty, consider adding your own 31.6 mm suspension seat post aftermarket if you ride on bumpy terrain frequently
  • This bike is priced a bit higher than average considering it is using a proprietary drivetrain, but the frame had to be custom made to work with the belt (since it cannot be unlinked like a chain) and you do get a feature-complete setup here with an excellent two-year warranty and dealer support
  • The motor casing is larger than many of the other mid-motors I have seen and test ridden, the motor itself weighs more as well at ~9.9 lbs vs. 6.61 lbs for the Brose Drive T and 8.8 lbs for the Bosch Performance Line
  • This bike does weigh a bit more than average at ~60 lbs, and I think that has to do with the custom mid-motor, NuVinci CVT drivetrain, metal fenders, and the longer frame
  • It looks like they thought of everything, except for bottle cage bosses, even on the high-step frame! That’s a bummer because sometimes I like to ride without bags or a backpack but want to bring some fluids to drink or maybe a folding lock, and there’s nowhere to mount that here by default, you might have to use an aftermarket adapter and those just aren’t as sturdy or good looking
  • The battery charger is quite big and weighs more than average at ~2.4 lbs, this could make it difficult to bring along (taking up more space in your backpack) but at least it fills quickly with 4 Amps vs. a lot of basic chargers that just fill at 2 Amps
  • I wasn’t able to figure out how to de-activate backlighting on the display, it’s a minor gripe, but sometimes the bright light can be distracting and it would be nice to have some adjustability there
  • I wish they offered the AXA frame lock option keyed-alike so that you didn’t have to use two sets of keys if you plan on locking the bike frequently that way, or even three sets of keys if you also get a u-lock or cable lock to be very secure
  • Because this bike is longer than average, it could be difficult to fit through angled spaces or store in small sheds and closets, it has an addition ~7 inches to deal with and the rear fender could get bumped (or the light that’s mounted lower on it)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Piaggio Reviews

Piaggio Wi-Bike Comfort Plus Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A blend of active and comfort riding with unique drivetrain options such as a belt drive and continuously variably transmission from NuVinci or traditional 9-speed Shimano Deore derailleur. Available in two frame sizes and two frame styles (step-thru or high-step) as well as…...

Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

john w
2 days ago

hello, looking to buy my 1st ebike as a commuter bike. Came across this brand and on paper their mountain bike looks a decent bike to suit my needs but i cant find any reviews. https://www.panther-ebike.co.uk/why-choose-us . Anybody had any experience with this brand? I have sent a few questions via their contact us page just to see if they're active on the sales side of things.

Shamuadon
1 week ago

$6,500 FOR EVERYTHING

MEDIUM FRAME 17 INCHES
Cash Only

comes with:

1) Body Float Seat Suspension (Retail price of $250.00 before tax).
2) Abus Bordo 6000 Folding Lock (Retail price of $160.00 before tax).
3) Phone Mount included, already attached to bike.
4) Original box and battery set, practically new.

The bike has barely been rode (less than 10 miles), and in almost perfect condition. It was assembled in August 2016. There are one or two small scuff marks that aren't noticeable, the price is LOWER than any floor model you will find in a store except it is in MUCH better condition.

*STROMER WARRANTY STILL ACTIVE UP TO AUGUST 2018*

PICTURES :

1/6
Mark Peralta
5 hours ago

I think the easiest way (most user friendly) to use a mid drive is to pair it with automatic transmission like the nuvinci harmony (or H/SYNC in the Bosch). It is also the most efficient since it will always keep your cadence at the optimum window, thus extending your battery range. Another advantage is it automatically shifts down to the lowest gear (first gear equivalent) when stopping and then upshifts by itself when you regained speed (just like your typical car with automatic transmission).

The system is so easy to operate. you just set it and forget it. Even a novice can fully appreciate the joy of riding a bicycle.

However, the cost is prohibitive as an aftermarket product (in fact it's not even openly offered as an aftermarket, only the manual version is available in the stores). I inquired FLX if they can offer Nuvinci Harmony and they said it's too pricey and a little heavier compared to the traditional gear cluster.

http://www.fallbrooktech.com/cycling/harmony

These are the ebikes that I'm aware of in the US to offer the OEM nuvinci automatic transmission.

1. Corratec Lifebike (H/SYNC). This ebike is originally designed in partnership with "Dr. Ludwig V. Geiger who developed the LIFE concept, aimed at encouraging people who would not normally ride to improve their life style with exercise." The frame is designed to handle heavy riders to almost 350 pounds. (You can use german to english google translator.)
http://e-bike-test.org/vergleich/der-vater-des-corratec-lifebike-bei-uns-im-interview/
You can change the setting on the youtube below for english caption.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=869&v=nXuYlbN2cRo
https://electricbikereview.com/corratec/lifebike/

2. CUBE SUV Hybrid SL 27.5 (H/SYNC)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=483&v=Ctq6QzD_eZ4
https://electricbikereview.com/cube/suv-hybrid-sl-27-5/

3. Piaggio Wi bike active plus (H/SYNC, 28 mph top speed).

http://www.wibikenyc.com/activeplus/
It can also be applied as a fitness trainer using a smartphone app.
--https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4bGnlk-W1Fs

4. Evelo Galaxy ST & TT (programamble top speed, I think), it uses the H8 controller.

https://www.evelo.com/electric-bicycles/galaxy-st/
https://www.evelo.com/electric-bicycles/galaxy-tt/

5. Tempo electric bikes, a company supposedly catered for the ladies, short people (lower seat tube), for seniors with limited flexibility, and also for the novice and the non-mechanically inclined riders. However, you'll be surprised to find premium quality parts in these ebikes. It uses the more simple H3 controller with 3 predetermined cadence settings (low, medium, & high).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=3&v=E5rmCe1T6Zw
http://tempobicycles.com/bikes/

There may be other models that I am not aware of.

ADDENDUM:

6. RIESE & MULLER CRUISER (H/SYNC)

https://propelbikes.com/product/riese-muller-cruiser/

7. eProdigy Logan (H8 controller)

https://electricbikereview.com/eprodigy/logan/

1/1
Mark Peralta
2 weeks ago

Hey guys! So lucky to have access to such a great website and community. I'm a bike messenger based out of New York and thought it was a good idea to invest in an electric bike/system. Weekend days, I ride upwards of 50 miles in a single day. After a while, it began to take a toll on my back, I ultimately ride 200 miles a week. Initially I was looking for an entire bike for $3,000 but haven't found a single one that can manage a 50 mile range. If you know a bike that fits my budget and has 50 miles or range, please comment. I've stumbled upon the BionX D-500 and it seems to be the choice to go with. I figured I'll most likely be converting my bike. Should I go with the BionX D-500? Based on the reads, BionX seems to be the industry leader. Will it be able to handle 10,000 miles in a course of a year? How much would I have to spend on maintenance? There are other conversion kits that cost significantly less, around $700 for 25 miles. I was thinking on installing two slots for batteries, like the Riese & Müller bike https://electricbikereview.com/riese-muller/delite-gt-nuvinci-hs/ and make it more affordable. Are their other routes I can take? Thanks for reading. Please feel free to share.
Just to give you a general idea , battery mileage depends on the actual size of your battery, your speed, frequency of stops, hills, overall weight, aerodynamics, to name a few. Here is a tabulation from Juicedbikes of battery consumption both throttle only and active pedaling at different speeds using different battery capacities.

https://www.juicedbikes.com/products/battery-pack-for-crosscurrent-oceancurrent

Sherco-jack
2 weeks ago

OP: With a handle such as Sherco-jack, you are obviously a M/C trials rider. Decipher my handle...
My guess - An early adopter of any interesting new trend. And you go at it aggressively. Note: i do trials and also ride a gasgas ec250. Both are 2 strokes and sometimes hard to start. Thus, my interest in ebikes. Since i am retired, my wife wants me to ride our backyard - have several natural sections so can ride anytime. The local bike scene n the bentonville ar area is active w lots of nice trails.

Rooster
2 weeks ago

The torque sensing PAS system on the bike I have works well while underway but not that well from a stop, especially if you are on an incline. Having a throttle handy to give a little blip to get you started and activating the PAS right away works much better.

I really still don't see the hate for throttles. They are quite useful and do not necessarily preclude active pedaling.
I agree 100%, super nice to have in many situations but just because you have it doesn't mean you have to use it. Too many people think it takes away from being a bicycle but that's b.s.

JRA
2 weeks ago

The torque sensing PAS system on the bike I have works well while underway but not that well from a stop, especially if you are on an incline. Having a throttle handy to give a little blip to get you started and activating the PAS right away works much better.

I really still don't see the hate for throttles. They are quite useful and do not necessarily preclude active pedaling.

JRA
2 weeks ago

Got the beta from the display figured out today. You have to press the +i- buttons at the same time at startup and toggle the i.

Looks like the controller is 15A x 52v = 780 or about a hundred more hot off the charger. Seeing as how I was only using eco and tour leaving sport and turbo alone and have been going as fast as I want it seems ok. Eco in tight single track is all I need and it will even climb a steep section at that. But if you kick it up to tour for steep climbs it does the job better. All with active pedaling. Anyway there were some other things to do but I didn't get a chance to really deal with it today.

Big surprise was the bike weighs 20.3kg (44.75lbs) ready to ride, and dirty. There is a lot of hub bub about the new Pivot Shuttle weighing 44lbs and how it is setting the standard for light weight.....ha.

And I quote:

Shuttle - Pivot Cycles | Pivot Cycles | Performance Redefined
www.pivotcycles.com/bike/shuttle/
Available only in Europe/UK. Pivot Shuttle – go further, ride harder, and conquer the toughest technical challenges with Pivot's revolutionary eMTB. At 19.95kg ( 44lbs) for a complete bike, the full carbon Shuttle sets a new benchmark for light weight,"

Granted that is FS compared to my HT but my FS bike weighs even less than my hardtail as it is aluminum and the Qbota is steel so adding the same system to it should actually be about the same. For my style of slow and steady riding in rough terrain the Qbota is all I would probably need but I know I will mount one on the FS at some point.....just because.

Dej
3 weeks ago

Hi everyone,

I am looking into buying either the Tern Vektron or Riese and Muller Tinker - I currently own the BH Neo Volt Sport and one thing I love about it is how responsive it is, i.e. you tap, it goes, which is great in heavy traffic. Does anyone have an opinion about which of the two bikes is more responsive? I see that the Tinker has the Bosch CX motor versus the the Vektron as the Active - is there a big difference in the feel / responsiveness between the two motors? Thx
I like those bikes but they are way too expensive. I have the Neo volt sport and the Neo
Prox. Just asking, why do you want a new bike?

Macc
3 weeks ago

There was some discussion in another thread about accessories. I've been busy riding the bike and now have about 200 miles on it, any specific things you'd like to know about it?
Yeh, I know, I'm active in that thread as well. Here's my latest from that thread:

Has anyone used a chain keeper on this bike yet? If so, what brand?

I was thinking of the kind similar to that shown in the images below that might work with our non-quick release wheels, or does it even matter if it has a quick release on it or not? I already took my rear wheel off once and made a mess of my chain--put like 4 loops in it and couldn't figure out how to straighten it out.

1/2
e-boy
4 weeks ago

Piaggio Wi-Bike Active Plus
GEAR SHIFTER AND TRANSMISSION
NuVinci HSYNC Electronically controlled continuously variable transmission with Continental belt final drive
http://www.wibikenyc.com/activeplus/

Julian Seidenberg
4 weeks ago

Hi Richard,
I was just going to post a very similar question.

I'm struggling to find good eBike body armor. My 28mph eBike is fast enough that I worry what would happen to my body if I were to crash at full speeds. Most mountain bike armor seems far too bulky, being built to protect the ride from being impaled by a tree branch. Motorcycle armor seems far too hot and heavy for active riding. So, what is there in between? I would greatly appreciate any advice and links to specific products that might be suitable.

That said, I have found these shorts, which look pretty nice: https://www.planet-knox.com/product/trooper-mtb-shorts/
There is also this armored shirt: https://www.planet-knox.com/product/knox-armoured-shirt-men/
but it provides no abrasion resistance for sliding on tarmac after a crash.

And yes, any knee pads will make pedalling pretty uncomfortable.

Mark Peralta
2 weeks ago

1. Looking further at the hub drive efficiency
https://endless-sphere.com/w/index.php/EBike_Efficiency
2. Exploring for more ways to increase the motor efficiency
3.The pros and cons of positioning the motor at the crank.

A hub motor's efficiency loss at lower speed can be minimized by reducing the limit current from 50A to 30A. The start up torque and and power at low speed is slightly decreased but the peak power is still retained and most especially, the efficiency at lower speed is slightly increased (yellow green curve).

However, if the limit current is further decreased (for the sake of more efficiency), there won't be enough torque that is needed for the motor to start from a dead stop, or to climb hills.

If we really want to prioritize efficiency even if it means sacrificing torque and power output, then it won't be appropriate anymore as the original hub drive. However, it can still work in 2 ways. First is by the use geared hub and increase the gear ratio high enough for adequate start up torque and torque for the hills while sacrificing top speed. The second method is by relocation of the motor to the crank and then take full advantage of the multiple gear ratios from the drive train. We will continue by exploring the second method, which is the mid drive. But first, we will further expand the efficiency of the motor at the expense of decrease in power.

A huge reduction of the limit current from 50A all the way to 12A further broadens the efficiency band of the motor (peak power goes down from 750W down to 450W). On this new power curve (light blue curve) The peak motor power coincides with the peak efficiency of the motor (in contrast to the 50A and 30A, where the peak motor power and peak efficiency are at different motor speeds). The start up torque and torque at low speed is not that important anymore since it is channeled through the drive train. However, this is in exchange for mandatory downshifts at the stops and hills. All in the attempt to increase efficiency.
In this example, the same hub motor is used and applied as a mid drive. The gear reduction at the crank is strategically chosen so that it will coincide with the cyclist's normal cadence range (~ 70-90PRM) . As long as the rider pedals within the normal cadence range (yellow window), the motor will operate at peak efficiency all the time, conserving energy and increasing the range of the battery. Notice the new power curve at 12A (light blue curve at the chart above) is similar to the Bosch and Shimano power curve on the chart below.

A similar simulation is found here with the hub drive with standard controller
http://www.ebikes.ca/tools/simulator.html?bopen=false&motor=M2707&cont=C35&batt=B4812_MH&autothrot=false&throt=100&axis=mph&cont_b=cust_12_12_0.03_V&motor_b=M2707&batt_b=B4812_MH&add=false&blue=Lbs

And then the limit current is reduced to 12A and comaparing between the two.
http://www.ebikes.ca/tools/simulator.html?bopen=true&motor=M2707&cont=C35&batt=B4812_MH&autothrot=false&throt=100&axis=mph&cont_b=cust_12_14_0.03_A&motor_b=M2707&batt_b=B4812_MH&add=false&blue=Lbs

With the new power curve at 12A, the speed is changed to cadence (kph x 2) for mid drive application. (You can play around with the throttle to simulate percentage level of pedal assist)
http://www.ebikes.ca/tools/simulator.html?bopen=false&motor=M2707&cont=cust_12_14_0.03_A&batt=B4812_MH&autothrot=false&throt=100&axis=kph&cont_b=cust_12_14_0.03_A&motor_b=M2707&batt_b=B4812_MH&add=false&blue=Lbs&k_b=.87&k=1.05

Using a mid drive to gain efficiency is easier said than done, since in actual application, the most troublesome part of the ride is the mashing of the drive train when changing gears, and the associated loss of momentum and loss of speed in the process. Sometimes, the efficiency gain is lost in actual translation when going uphill and then missed to shift in the right gear and then you slowed down or even come to a full stop. Whatever efficiency gain you had are now all gone.

Cutting the power to gain efficiency results to performance handicap to the mid drives (slow acceleration) when compared to hub drives, most especially noticed in stop and go situations. Just imagine having to downshift especially if the stops are very near apart and very frequent. That would be an unpleasant riding experience with a sore shifting thumb, from a supposedly efficient ebike.

However, the big players are working hard to fine tune their mid drives to make it as user friendly as hub drives. And I think there will be more sophisticated controllers in the future with a "city mode" button or push button dedicated to provide enough start up torque without having to downshift.

Or you can just pair it to a continuously variable transmission (CVT) like the Nuvinci Harmony where it will keep your cadence in the efficient zone automatically and also shifts down to the lowest gear (first gear equivalent) at every stop. However, the price of this Nuvinci Harmony is still prohibitive to most riders, for now.

http://www.fallbrooktech.com/cycling/harmony

In the US, the ebikes (that I'm aware of) that offer OEM nuvinci automatic transmission are the following:

1. Corratec Lifebike
https://electricbikereview.com/corratec/lifebike/
2. CUBE SUV Hybrid SL 27.5
https://electricbikereview.com/cube/suv-hybrid-sl-27-5/
3. Piaggio Wi bike active plus (28 mph top speed)
http://www.wibikenyc.com/activeplus/
4. Evelo Galaxy ST (programamble top speed, I think)
https://www.evelo.com/electric-bicycles/galaxy-st/
5. Tempo electric bikes
http://tempobicycles.com/bikes/

1/2
Mark Peralta
1 month ago

So I just took the bike to my first morning commute to work. around 5 miles. few tiny hills, but other than that just straight road.

Pros:
- The power - this is of course the main reason why everyone bought this bike. it's very easy to get to 30mph, with little extra effort to 31 or 32. I am in good shape, active sports guy.
- Gearing - really well geared, even at the highest speeds there is still a lot of resistance and it feels good
- Weight - honestly I though this thing would be way heavier than it is
- Agility - I think it's more agile than RadRover, easier to turn in curves

Cons:
- Geometry - I really don't like it. I feel I am way too stretched to reach handlebars.
- Stem and Handlebars - very connected to the geometry point. This bike deserves better stem to hold the handlebars, it's the first thing I am going to change. Also the handlebars should be wider. I just don't like my position on this bike, it does not feel natural. (I am 6'2 and have the XL frame)
- Low speed motor hiccups - at very low speeds the motor makes weird sounds and just does not pull properly. Keeps lagging, etc. Happened to me only once though.
I feel your pain on the forward and aggressive riding position. I also wanted a relaxed upright position and made some changes on mine. There are many option to address it and you can combine those options.
1. Relaxed swept handle bar. Make sure you have the correct diameter at the clamp.

http://www.treefortbikes.com/product/333222409416/1430/Soma-Fabrications-Sparrow.html?utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&adpos=1o2&scid=scplp3332224094169141&sc_intid=3332224094169141&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIsa3oxNuH2AIV00oNCh0eBAexEAQYAiABEgJaD_D_BwE

2. Short stem, to bring the handlebar closer to you.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Aluminum-Alloy-Fixed-31-8mm-Cycling-Mountain-Bike-Short-Handlebar-Stem-Riser/172747096633?_trkparms=aid=222007&algo=SIM.MBE&ao=1&asc=20160908110712&meid=7cfe5e9e80804b529ded93aaf9c33b60&pid=100677&rk=11&rkt=29&sd=272959241036&_trksid=p2385738.c100677.m4598

3. Stem riser.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/MTB-Bike-Bicycle-Head-Handlebar-Stem-Raiser-Riser-Extender-Extension-28-6mm-B126/361323370746?_trkparms=aid=555019&algo=PL.BANDIT&ao=1&asc=41375&meid=ad24c6907003405b9bd5b0a0dc625ed9&pid=100706&rk=1&rkt=1&&_trksid=p2045573.c100706.m4781

4. Or you can use adjustable stem (I saw some feedbacks that these are not very strong).

https://www.ebay.com/itm/XLC-Adj-Stem-31-8Mm-95Mm-0-60-Black-2501552400/311961485115?_trkparms=aid=888007&algo=DISC.MBE&ao=1&asc=49564&meid=ea3ead3c99fb403d99672ca9ff61436e&pid=100009&rk=2&rkt=2&sd=292265781099&_trksid=p2047675.c100009.m1982

I used the combination of 1, 2, and 3 on my 2 ebikes.

Andy_in_CA
1 month ago

So I just took the bike to my first morning commute to work. around 5 miles. few tiny hills, but other than that just straight road.

Pros:
- The power - this is of course the main reason why everyone bought this bike. it's very easy to get to 30mph, with little extra effort to 31 or 32. I am in good shape, active sports guy.
- Gearing - really well geared, even at the highest speeds there is still a lot of resistance and it feels good
- Weight - honestly I though this thing would be way heavier than it is
- Agility - I think it's more agile than RadRover, easier to turn in curves

Cons:
- Geometry - I really don't like it. I feel I am way too stretched to reach handlebars.
- Stem and Handlebars - very connected to the geometry point. This bike deserves better stem to hold the handlebars, it's the first thing I am going to change. Also the handlebars should be wider. I just don't like my position on this bike, it does not feel natural. (I am 6'2 and have the XL frame)
- Low speed motor hiccups - at very low speeds the motor makes weird sounds and just does not pull properly. Keeps lagging, etc. Happened to me only once though.

I swapped out the stock handle bars on my CCS with a Jones Hbar.. .and love it. They have two widths or you can buy the wider one and trim it if you don't like the width....and they mark it for you 710 and 660 i think.

hurricane56
1 month ago

So I just took the bike to my first morning commute to work. around 5 miles. few tiny hills, but other than that just straight road.

Pros:
- The power - this is of course the main reason why everyone bought this bike. it's very easy to get to 30mph, with little extra effort to 31 or 32. I am in good shape, active sports guy.
- Gearing - really well geared, even at the highest speeds there is still a lot of resistance and it feels good
- Weight - honestly I though this thing would be way heavier than it is
- Agility - I think it's more agile than RadRover, easier to turn in curves

Cons:
- Geometry - I really don't like it. I feel I am way too stretched to reach handlebars.
- Stem and Handlebars - very connected to the geometry point. This bike deserves better stem to hold the handlebars, it's the first thing I am going to change. Also the handlebars should be wider. I just don't like my position on this bike, it does not feel natural. (I am 6'2 and have the XL frame)
- Low speed motor hiccups - at very low speeds the motor makes weird sounds and just does not pull properly. Keeps lagging, etc. Happened to me only once though.

What kind of stem do you think you'll use?

Eglon
1 month ago

So I just took the bike to my first morning commute to work. around 5 miles. few tiny hills, but other than that just straight road.

Pros:
- The power - this is of course the main reason why everyone bought this bike. it's very easy to get to 30mph, with little extra effort to 31 or 32. I am in good shape, active sports guy.
- Gearing - really well geared, even at the highest speeds there is still a lot of resistance and it feels good
- Weight - honestly I though this thing would be way heavier than it is
- Agility - I think it's more agile than RadRover, easier to turn in curves

Cons:
- Geometry - I really don't like it. I feel I am way too stretched to reach handlebars.
- Stem and Handlebars - very connected to the geometry point. This bike deserves better stem to hold the handlebars, it's the first thing I am going to change. Also the handlebars should be wider. I just don't like my position on this bike, it does not feel natural. (I am 6'2 and have the XL frame)
- Low speed motor hiccups - at very low speeds the motor makes weird sounds and just does not pull properly. Keeps lagging, etc. Happened to me only once though.

I agree with just about everything here. That's funny that you mention feeling cramped. I'm also 6'2" with the XL frame and I scooted my seat all the way back and still feel like I could use a longer stem. I have unusually long arms though so that's a big factor. I also feel that the frame is is good. My seat isn't way high and I like that. I like to have most of the seat post in the frame.
I think that the low speed hiccup is related to the lack of an internal speed sensor in the MAC motor. It has happened to me a couple of times as described in the setup and troubleshooting instructions.

sowhat
1 month ago

So I just took the bike to my first morning commute to work. around 5 miles. few tiny hills, but other than that just straight road.

Pros:
- The power - this is of course the main reason why everyone bought this bike. it's very easy to get to 30mph, with little extra effort to 31 or 32. I am in good shape, active sports guy.
- Gearing - really well geared, even at the highest speeds there is still a lot of resistance and it feels good
- Weight - honestly I though this thing would be way heavier than it is
- Agility - I think it's more agile than RadRover, easier to turn in curves

Cons:
- Geometry - I really don't like it. I feel I am way too stretched to reach handlebars.
- Stem and Handlebars - very connected to the geometry point. This bike deserves better stem to hold the handlebars, it's the first thing I am going to change. Also the handlebars should be wider. I just don't like my position on this bike, it does not feel natural. (I am 6'2 and have the XL frame)
- Low speed motor hiccups - at very low speeds the motor makes weird sounds and just does not pull properly. Keeps lagging, etc. Happened to me only once though.

John from Connecticut
1 month ago

Is this even possible in the US at the moment? Unlike Asia and Europe where bikes are actually seen as a legitimate means of transportation most of what I've seen in the States is that biking is seen more as a recreational activity with only a tiny number (relatively speaking) of users. This isn't just limited to ebikes, when I ride a bike in my small town for every 5 persons who actually seem to be using their bikes to go to the market or work or whatever there seem to be 15 bikers riding high-end road bikes with the spandex getup which I just can't see being apoted by non-entusiasts. Even in places like Washington DC and Portland that are seen as super-bike friendly the number of bikers you see are a very small number compared to car users. So long as gas costs are so low here and the use of cars so high what little infrastructure there is for bikes seems to be, at best, an afterthought. Hopefully I'm totally wrong but seeing how the bikes that are talked about the most are high priced, very top of the line bikes it seems that the bike makers are looking to become the next Ferrari and not too concerned about building the next Toyota Corolla.

Hello.
I completely agree. My opinion.... Based on just good old observations and general conversations I've had with folks about bike riding, there never will be a
Michael Dell of e-Bike in the US. Cycling in the main stay is going no where. ( No pun intended ) I talk up the value and virtues and how I love my e-Bike,
to most anyone capable of riding hoping to spark some interest... Zero interest in riding a bike, never mind an e-Bike. Bike riding is not part of the
American culture.

I hear things like " Oh yea, I have a bike but haven't it in ( fill in the years ) 10, 15 who knows." Yes, the road folks are very active in the sport, but have
you checked the average age of road club riders ? They're not 'kids' and I'm being kind. When those folks are gone then what ? ( for cycling in general that is)

We all know the joy ease and fun of a quality e-bike, that's a no brainer. The issue is bike riding is just not in many or most folks thought process. That's
what it gets down to. My guess....The major manufacturers know this and are building 'Ferraris' and not 'Toyota Corolla' 'cause folks like myself and others
are willing to purchase and really value a quality product. ..There is a ray of hope. The owner of my LBS told me the growth in cycling is e-Bikes and wait for it
BMX.

One very last thought. It troubles me that some LBS owners are struggling, because they play a huge role for a first or second time buyer and without
them it will be even more difficult get and or keep new riders in the sport. Just my two cents.

John from CT

Popeye Gordon
2 months ago

Hi Popeye,
Thank you for the diplomatic and informative reply, I appreciate it.
I suppose what I was trying to get at is that there should be some point at which a vehicle becomes too heavy to be considered primarily human powered and by definition a bicycle or velomobile.

I definitely take issue when something like this: https://www.velometro.com/veemo/
can still be classified as a bicycle and by association as a velomobile because I am very concerned about the negative effects these may have on the Ebike and velomobile communities of today.

Here is a video of one new PEBL owner that would classify a true velomobile as I do:

Also this quote from new PEBL owner, Eric Fischnaller is quite telling:

"My experience thus far is the power just barely offsets the extra weight of the PEBL. Thus, as a typical rider would like to just hit the throttle and glide up the hill, pedaling to "assist". My experience is that you really have to keep cranking or you slow down practically to a crawl. I haven't tried any really long or steep hills, but suspect that I'll be in gear 1 spinning my heart out trying to keep moving forward and it'll get very tiring. The PEBL is a beast to keep moving, particularly if I'm carrying my 13 year old in the back or any cargo. It also has a lot of rolling resistance from the internal hub, extra wheel, drum hubs, and motor. When gliding down a hill, it gets speed up pretty quick due to its weight, but when the hill flattens out, it quickly slows down comparably as well. I'll probably try to show a little longer/steeper hill on my next video since it's been a common request."
I follow all the Youtube videos. If you read the comments below the videos I am very active there. If you listen to them you hear the loud whine of a geared motor. OT abandoned geared motors long ago in favor of the increased performance of un-geared motors that have a more useful power curve. Better.bike also decided the pretty useless regenerative feature and a reverse gear was worth using a motor design with less total power from the same 750 watt rating. Now they have to deal with those decisions. The market will decide but there is no objective standard that says with authority that a heavy sluggish hybrid velo does not qualify as a velomobile, that remains an arbitrary call on your part. The PEBL really needs a 1000 watt motor to handle the weight but federal law will make that unlikely. OT sells a 1000 watt "tactical ELF" that is not legal for civilians to drive on US streets.
The velo vlogger video is by an extremist who has repeatedly attacked me in the Youtube venue as an imagined "shill" for Organic Transit. He is only one person and a very touchy opinionated one at that. His opinions will not change dictionary definitions or industry standards.
The velometro was conceived as a rental vehicle. It would have an outrageous price if sold at retail. They went overboard even more than the PEBL and include side door windows that roll up! Too heavy. And it is not actually in the marketplace.

e-boy
2 months ago

AFAIK , this model has not been officially released yet ; it's not on Trek.com .
It uses Bosch's new entry level Active drive , which I read is light , quiet , and pedals unpowered like a regular bicycle .
https://www.bosch-ebike.com/us-en/products/active-line/?setLanguage=3
At max speed of 20mph and max torque of 40Nm , I think it's meant as a neighborhood/city cruiser , bike path , recreational type of bike ; in other words , an eBike version of the push bike Verve .
I think it retails for US$2300 or 0.24 Bitcoin . :) .
If it fits and is comfortable , you can't go wrong with Trek and Bosch .

What did you like about it ?
What are you looking for in an ebike ?
Where are you located ?

Scooteretti
2 months ago

@e-boy definitely the new Active and Active Plus systems are incredibly easy to pedal without any assistance and coast Rear hub units like on the Easy Motion also makes life super easy. In looking at a bike don't forget that tire width and components like hubs, gearing systems all have an influence, so don't forget to take that into consideration when choosing a great bike.

good luck on your search,

Will
shop.scooteretti.com

Echos
2 months ago

Weiterstadt, Germany - Riese & Müller - www.r-m.de - a maker of luxury eBikes sold worldwide has introduced the stylishly minimal and clean Roadster that will change how you look at eBikes. The Roadster’s sleek frame and traditional aesthetics combined with the best new e-technology are sure to catch the eye as you navigate urban areas or head out of the city and into the countryside.

Stylish, clean and minimal define the approach and lines of the redesigned Roadster while offering all of the technology and performance expected from Riese & Müller. The Roadster factors in concepts of classic bicycle frames: diamond frame construction, narrow rounded tube cross-sections, almost horizontal top-tube and delicate seat stays. The result is a clean, lightweight and sporty appearance that Riese & Muller have dubbed E-sthetics for those who love the classic construction and feel the technical elements of an eBike detract from the overall look of a bicycle. The Roadster incorporates a new, lighter Bosch Active Plus motor, the Gates belt drive, and Suntour NCX fork, bringing the total weight to just below 44 pounds. The Roaster is a perfect city rocket built for those who want all the benefits of an eBike in a classic look.

Features:

Bosch Performance CX Motor

36V / 500 watt battery

Shimano Deore 10-speed drivetrain

Magura MT4 hydraulic brakes

Suntour NCX Suspension Front Fork

Three Available Sizes

Mixte Model Available

Available colors: Electric Green Metallic, Black Matte, White

MSRP: $3879 (starting price)

Landing Page

Echos
2 months ago

Weiterstadt, Germany - Riese & Müller - www.r-m.de - a maker of luxury eBikes sold worldwide has introduced the stylishly minimal and clean Roadster that will change how you look at eBikes. The Roadster’s sleek frame and traditional aesthetics combined with the best new e-technology are sure to catch the eye as you navigate urban areas or head out of the city and into the countryside.

Stylish, clean and minimal define the approach and lines of the redesigned Roadster while offering all of the technology and performance expected from Riese & Müller. The Roadster factors in concepts of classic bicycle frames: diamond frame construction, narrow rounded tube cross-sections, almost horizontal top-tube and delicate seat stays. The result is a clean, lightweight and sporty appearance that Riese & Muller have dubbed E-sthetics for those who love the classic construction and feel the technical elements of an eBike detract from the overall look of a bicycle. The Roadster incorporates a new, lighter Bosch Active Plus motor, the Gates belt drive, and Suntour NCX fork, bringing the total weight to just below 44 pounds. The Roaster is a perfect city rocket built for those who want all the benefits of an eBike in a classic look.

Features:

Bosch Performance CX Motor

36V / 500 watt battery

Shimano Deore 10-speed drivetrain

Magura MT4 hydraulic brakes

Suntour NCX Suspension Front Fork

Three Available Sizes

Mixte Model Available

Available colors: Electric Green Metallic, Black Matte, White

MSRP: $3879 (starting price)

Landing Page

ABOUT RIESE & MÜLLER
It all began with two engineers, a good idea and a garage. But not in California, rather in the south of Hesse. In Darmstadt, to be more precise. In the parent's courtyard. Immediately after the company was founded, it won the Innovation Prize in 1993 and has grown to become an internationally renowned premium manufacturer of E-Bikes and folding bikes. As previously, Riese & Müller manufactures the most innovative bikes of tomorrow with the passion of yesteryear - and still in Weiterstadt, not far from the old garage.

Kaden Karuna
5 hours ago

3840x2160

D Danilo
6 hours ago

I just KNOW that somewhere, in a dark, damp, cobweb-filled basement room, there's a totally mad engineer feverishly working on a "separator-link" of some sort for belt drive systems. It will eliminate the need for frame-weakening joints on the rear of our bicycle frames. Just sayin'......

Ddr Hazy
7 hours ago

Electrical components are not more than $1k. $3k for a custom frame from Piaggio. Overpriced.

Roger Unwin
9 hours ago

That shifter cable dangling by the drive belt really needs tying to the frame.

David Macdonald
9 hours ago

This is a lot better than anything els out there , with the app Tec.

Adog828
11 hours ago

Where are the bottle cage bosses

Jone Gomez
12 hours ago

I love absolutely everything about this bike, I wouldn't add or take off anything, gorgeous. As for the price, man dunno we got to the point that these prices don't sound absurd anymore, so guess the market has finally settled an we know what is crazy high, cheap and this mid high price... So yes, me want 😁👍

John Moura
14 hours ago

28" wheels?

Meno Passini
14 hours ago

Wow, 2018 is a game changer. Will be interesting to compare 2017 E bike of the year, Trek's Super Commuter to the 2018 E bike of the year. Amazing progress in one year. The App, self diagnosis, theft warning and 2 year warranty are great selling points. Just 18 months ago it was rebranded Chinese bikes.

Rotormatic
17 hours ago

Gorgeous frame!

ElectricBikeReview.com
17 hours ago

I agree, beautiful design and clean welds, the cutout on the right seat stay for the belt drive was done very well too

Dreamer 111
18 hours ago

Wow... I will have to go try this bike.
Great review as always!

ElectricBikeReview.com
17 hours ago

Thanks! It's a fun one, exciting to see Piagio entering the ebike space with something custom and special vs. a pieced-together bike

trekkeruss
19 hours ago

Good looking bikes, but I would be very hesitant to buy an e-bike with a proprietary motor, especially if there is not a larger dealer network.

ElectricBikeReview.com
17 hours ago

Normally I'd feel that way as well, but I trust Piaggio based on its reputation with scooters and motorcycles, they put a lot more effort into this motor than other companies that slap a Bafang on the frame. I still like Bosch and Brose the best, but this thing worked great for the review and the rep was very excited and confident about the R&D they had conducted... that said, all reps are excited :P

pj520
19 hours ago

Love the look and finish of these bikes and nice lights. The belt drive is a big step forward for bikes. Lots of fancy stuff with the app and all, hope it never breaks cause who is going to fix it.

ElectricBikeReview.com
17 hours ago

Yeah, the lights are definitely a step up, along with the fenders. Good point about the complexity of the app and stuff, I got the impression that the display could be easily replaced and their software can be patched and updated too. Most of these big companies simply replace batteries and motors if there is an issue and that can be done by the dealers without too much effort from what I've seen

Human After All
20 hours ago

nice bike awesome but that light gray color will not hide squash and dirt I like the gunmetal color nice design as usual good review

ElectricBikeReview.com
17 hours ago

Thanks! It looks like they offer this bike in silver and black with a satin finish. The colors and the appearance was more automotive grade. I was impressed with how closely the frame matched the fork and plastic bits around the motor and battery pack

Armando Aleman
20 hours ago

TOO MUCH MONEY for that Bolognese pasta dish! Ey buddy what about Mark Sparx (?)

ElectricBikeReview.com
17 hours ago

Hey Armando, I haven't seen Mark for a bit, just that last video in Brooklyn when he got a ticket and then got it dropped in court. How have you been doing?

Florida Scot
20 hours ago

nice quality bikes, the belt must be nice & quiet compared to a chain.

ElectricBikeReview.com
17 hours ago

Yeah, I really like belt drives but usually end up with a chain and cassette with derailleur because I like to mountain bike and they are lighter and faster to shift :) but this thing is durable and very smooth

joes joey
21 hours ago

Another genious review Court need to catch up on your vids been working hard! looking Riese & muller maybe are they reliable and fast?

joes joey
8 hours ago

nice gonna be watching vids thanks!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
17 hours ago

Hey! Yeah, this was a very interesting ebike because of the custom motor and advanced smartphone app. I've got a few more Riese & Müller bikes in the works and a bunch of bulls, a trek, the evelo folder with belt drive... I do think R&M is one of the best products, it's just that they cost more :)