Stromer ST1 Elite Review

Stromer St1 Elite Electric Bike Review 1
Stromer St1 Elite
Stromer St1 Elite Hub Motor
Stromer St1 Elite Pedal
Stromer St1 Elite Lcd Computer
Stromer St1 Elite Disc Brake
Stromer St1 Elite Electric Bike Review 1
Stromer St1 Elite
Stromer St1 Elite Hub Motor
Stromer St1 Elite Pedal
Stromer St1 Elite Lcd Computer
Stromer St1 Elite Disc Brake

Summary

  • High performance components, beautiful aesthetic, pedal assist only
  • Strong 500 watt gearless hub motor with regenerative braking
  • Fewer gears, lower top speed and no shock option as compared with the Stromer ST1 Platinum
  • Heavier and more expensive than comparable electric bikes

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Stromer

Model:

ST1 Elite

Price:

$3,599 USD

Body Position:

Forward Aggressive

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Battery (Or 1,000 Full Charge Cycles), 2 Year Motor, 3 Year Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20132014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62 lbs (28.12 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.6 lbs (2.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in (41.91 cm)20 in (50.8 cm)

Frame Types:

High-Step, Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid, Carbon Fiber

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

9 Speed 1x9 Shimano Sora, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

Rapid Fire on Right Bar

Cranks:

42T or 52T Depending on Motor

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform

Handlebar:

Low Rise

Brake Details:

Magura MT2 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors and Motor Cutoff Sensor

Grips:

Semi-Ergonomic

Saddle:

Stromer Special

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Ben, 26" x 2.125

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Single Side Kickstand, Optional City Kit with Front and Rear LED Lights (B+M Lumotec IQ Fly/Supernova E3 Front and B+M Toplight Mini Rear), Fenders and Rear Carry Rack by Racktime

Other:

TMM4 Torque Sensor, Regenerative Braking

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

TDCM (Mountain 33" Model)

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

40 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah (Optional 14.5 ah)

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh (Optional 522 wh)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Manganese

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Display Type:

Backlit Monochrome LCD on Right Bar

Readouts:

Speed, Odometer, Trip Time, Battery Level, Assist Level (4 Modes), Regeneration Level (2 Modes)

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Stromer ST1 Elite is one step down from the Platinum and offers fewer gears, a lower top speed, no front shock option and one less color choice… but you save $600. This is a well designed bike that rides smooth and looks amazing. It does not offer twist throttle mode which means you’ll have to pedal continuously to activate the motor, but that reduces complexity in the system. On the upside, this bike offers regenerative braking and the motor is activated via torque sensor vs. the simpler pedalec system. It truly feels like you’re flying when you ride this bike but the price tag is pretty steep.

Driving this bike is a gearless 500 watt motor rated at 600 watts which basically means you get extra power. Gearless motors coast silently and in this case, offer regenerative braking which extends range and reduces wear on the brakes. The brakes themselves are oversized hydraulic discs that work exceedingly well. The system is clean with minimal wires and cables that are integrated seamlessly below the downtube. It’s easy to fall for the aesthetic of this bike and forget it’s electric at all.

The battery pack driving the motor offers 36 volts of power and 10 amp hours of range in the form of Lithium Nickel Metal Hydride. Stromer offers an amazing three year warranty on this battery and you can also buy a second one to extend range for $700. All in all, this battery pack is average in terms of size and power but that keeps it light and dare I say, more affordable? The LCD computer system that connects the battery with the motor is intuitive, sleek and well protected offering the standard speed, capacity and power settings you’d expect.

The truth about this bike is that it works much better than some of Stromer’s older designs like the Sport but it’s not perfect. For one thing, it’s heavy! weighing in at 62 pounds. That’s due in part to the gearless hub motor which enables the regenerative braking. If you compare this bike with the Easy Motion Neo Race, you spend $400 less and have a 42 pound bike! Now you won’t get regenerative braking and large cushy tires… but the ride will be comparable and you’ll get twist throttle support.

Overall I’m very impressed with the ST1 Elite. It’s fun to ride, looks great, comes in multiple sizes for a good fit and the battery warranty is amazing. Stromer has been around since 2010 and continues to refine their bikes. They now offer a City Kit with integrated lights, fenders and a rear rack + basket system. You can even have your company logo painted onto the frame. If you’re looking for a solid performer and can spare the extra cash this is a great choice.

Pros:

  • Clean, focused design with limited clutter and complexity
  • Awesome regenerative braking system, extends range and reduces wear on brakes
  • Strong 500 watt motor 36 volt battery combination, battery is removable
  • Sturdy, oversized tires are puncture resistant and provide shock absorption when riding
  • High quality “City Kit” upgrade includes lights, fenders and rack + basket
  • Multiple frame sizes, including step-through, and two colors to choose from (black and white)
  • Awesome three year warranty on the battery pack
  • Ability to customize graphics on the frame if you pay extra

Cons:

  • Only offers pedal assist whereas other ebikes also offer throttle mode
  • Bike is heavier than comparable ebikes, partially due to gearless hub motor vs. geared
  • Expensive as compared with similarly specced electric bikes
  • Only available with a carbon fork vs. shock absorber (have to upgrade to the Platinum to get the shock)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Stromer Reviews

Stromer ST1 X Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A more affordable Stromer electric bike that still offers regenerative braking and speed pedelec performance with ~28 mph top speeds, available in high-step and mid-step frames. Beautifully integrated touch display and companion mobile app can be used to track the bike…...

Stromer ST1 Limited Edition Review

  • MSRP: $3,990
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A limited run (only 399 produced) speed pedelec with premium integrated lights from Supernova and Toplight, Aluminum fenders, rear carry rack from Racktime and Magura hydraulic disc brakes. High end Shimano Deore XT drive train with nine sprockets geared for 28+ mph riding…...

Stromer ST2 S Review

  • MSRP: $9,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

An urban racer with smooth electronic shifting, app-driven performance tuning, ultra-bright dynamic lighting that responds to braking, five levels of power regen and regenerative braking. Available in three high-step frame sizes for improved fit, impressive weight distribution for a hub-powered…...

Stromer ST1 S Review

  • MSRP: $4,790
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed urban electric bike emphasizing sport riding (flatter handle bar, no rack) available in two frame sizes, one high-step style and one color (metallic lime green). Carbon fiber fork reduces weight and dampens vibration, oversized road tires cushion the ride and…...

Stromer ST1 T Review

  • MSRP: $4,790
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A solid, high speed city ebike with purpose built Aluminum frame, custom fenders and minimalist rack, premium integrated lights and hidden downtube battery. Available in two frame sizes and with an optional suspension fork for $350 more, the…...

Stromer ST2 Review

  • MSRP: $6,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016, 2017

Extremely polished, high performance urban style electric bike available in two frame sizes and configurations. One of the most responsive and satisfying electric bikes I've tested, speed pedelec can reach…...

Stromer ST1 Platinum Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

High quality components, beautiful clean aesthetic, pedal assist only. Powerful 500 watt gearless rear hub motor with regenerative braking...

Stromer Sport Review

  • MSRP: $3,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2012, 2013

Beautiful design integrates the battery, controller and wires while evenly distributing weight from front to rear. Powerful, near-silent, 500 watt gearless rear hub motor can reach 25 mph in pedal assist…...


Jason in Modesto
2 years ago

Stromers, including the ST1 Elite, have a Boost mode which requires no peddling. By default it will only go to 12.5mph, but can be configured with the controller code 3775 setting to go to 20mph.

https://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/stromer-st1-codes.1521/

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Wow! This is really cool Jason, thanks for sharing and providing a link to the different codes. How does the boost work exactly? Do you hold down on the up arrow or something?

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

TntE3+
1 month ago

New in the box never used Thompson elite dropper seat.
31.6 with 125mm travel external cable.
My bulls is 30.9 and my cannondale is 27.5.
Everything is in the box, cable, lever and post still in plastic.
250.00 or trade for 30.9 with 100mm travel.
Tim
559-217-8734

1/1
TntE3+
2 months ago

I have a new in the box Thompson elite external 125mm travel dropper post never been taken out of bag.
It’s the wrong size for my bike and it was a gift and don’t have receipt so return isn’t possible.
Everything is there in the box as it came from Thompson.
275.00

1/1
Ravi Kempaiah
3 months ago

In 2018, the Stromer ST1 will no longer be available from the company. Maybe, some retailers will still have some in stock.

With this decision, the "electronics in the motor" era is over. That's a benefit. On the other hand, there will be no affordable Stromer anymore. At the time, there is no statement, how long spare parts (the battery!) will be available

@bluecat , I think you spoke too soon. This is a forum mainly read by the US continent and may be it's good to correct the title. It is important not to give incorrect information.

ST1 is a great bike and Stromer USA has decided to continue offering this model. They will stock all the spare parts, batteries and motor for all the models (V1, Elite, Platinum, Ltd etc).
Here is the spec sheet and the details of US Specific ST1 for MY2018

Class-3 / 28mph
P48 Motor w/ASI Controller
SR Suspension Fork
1x 9-Speed Drivetrain
Stromer City-Kit (Stromer Alloy Fenders – Stromer/Racktime Carrier / B+M Light Set)
NEW MSRP = $ 2,999 w/BO522 Battery
BO630 Battery optional
All spare parts available.

1/2
bluecat
3 months ago

The ST1 is going to remain in the US for MY 2018 with some changes (includes city kit and front suspension) and with reduced price points ($2999 for platinum/Elite with 522Whr battery)).

Many thanks for this information!

The most dealer here complaint about the loss of the entrance model. On the other hand, they already started the sale campaign with dream prices...

1/1
Ravi Kempaiah
3 months ago

the ST1 will disappear.

The ST1 is going to remain in the US for MY 2018 with some changes (includes city kit and front suspension) and with reduced price points ($2999 for platinum/Elite with 522Whr battery)).

Ravi Kempaiah
3 months ago

Is this a good deal?

https://minneapolis.craigslist.org/hnp/bik/d/2014-stomer-st1-elite-145ah/6266226789.html

Check the battery and make sure everything is in good condition. Yes, it is a great value.

Steve Plattner
3 months ago

In 2018, the Stromer ST1 will no longer be available from the company. Maybe, some retailers will still have some in stock.

With this decision, the "electronics in the motor" era is over. That's a benefit. On the other hand, there will be no affordable Stromer anymore. At the time, there is no statement, how long spare parts (the battery!) will be available

That's too bad, end of an era in a way. Overall, despite some quirks, the ST-1 Elite and Platinum were excellent bikes, and still relatively affordable. The ST1-X is more expensive, but offers more features. The ST2 and coming ST5 are pretty much out of reach for most people, including me.

The interesting thing will be the future of Stromer's support for the ST1. Will they continue to sell batteries, and for how long? Is there a supply of LCD screens and motors and all of the other parts? Will the ST1 be orphaned soon? Makes me nervous to see that the gold batteries are being discontinued, and I believe the purple battery was already discontinued, which leaves the 630 wH battery--very, very pricey.

If you look around, there are great deals on ST1's--and I mean great deals.

Farbike
4 months ago

Hey,

We just finished a new video with the debut of the new 2018 Newport Elite Electric Beach Cruiser by X-treme E-Bike. Check it out.

Specs are:

15-20 mile range
300 watt zero resistance geared rear hub motor
24v 9.6ah LiFEPO4 battery
Big comfy seat
Rear Rack and front basket included

What do yall think? For more info check it out at FarBike.com - X-treme Newport Elite Electric Beach Cruiser

1/1
nwroller
5 months ago

I just wrote a review on my ST1X - not the same as an elite, but I can give some feedback. There is a big difference between a 20 mph and a 28 mph ebike. The 20 mph ones I seem to feel it is always held back - 28 is a lot more fun. For me it is easy to get and stay at 27-28 on flat ground. On a slight hill I do around 24, and on a steep 10%+ I go around 8-12 depending on effort, hill and what gear I am in. I have not changed the controller to remove the governor, but I might consider it in a year if there are any reviews of it.

JamesTh
5 months ago

Hi EBR community

I am about to pull he trigger on an Elite model and am curious as to the real world experience of the speed of the bike ( originally I was looking at class 3 bike with a throttle and top speed of 28 mph ....then I came across the Stromer brand and have fallen in love with the looks and the reviews raving about the 'quality' of the ride )

I know that it's a peddle assist upto 20mph . But I am also aware that the controller codes can be changed to improve the top speed , but there are mixed reports as to what this actually means ...

I am interested in the real world experience after the controller has been changed on he Elite.

1. Is there a boost mode ? What are the top speeds have you achieved in the boost mode after code change ?

2. What is the consistent top speed you comfortably achieve pedalling on the Elite after the code changes? . I read of some speed pedalics who claim 28mph top speed but real world reviews often say it's easy to get to 28mph but hard to stay there . What about the Elite after the 'hack' , what is a realistic expectation of top speeds ??

Many thanks for you time

James

Steve Plattner
5 months ago

Based on the maximum speed, sounds like the ST1-Platinum. And it comes with the gold battery, not the purple that came stock on the ST1-Elite.

ELPORTO
5 months ago

Hi,

Purchased a ST 1 with 9 speeds, solid top frame, one ring cog in front, battery is gold -522 Wh, no fenders and bike goes 28 MPH. Motor says power 48. having a tough time determining what model (Elite/Platinum) did I get the best battery as seller told me? My guess would be elite but the motor is rated at 28 MPH-perhaps I have a Frankenstein. By the way bike was discounted to 3000.00 What model do I have, is the battery the best I could get and did I get fair deal?

Thanks! was in a hurry so paid and rode off...

5ebikes
5 months ago

Looking for a commuter for a 20 mile round trip commute in hilly terrain. My wife has a Stromer ST1 Elite that I like but with so much weight in the back it isn't the most balanced bike I've ever ridden. I haven't test ridden the Specialized as there isn't one local yet but the reviews intrigued me. Anyone know if the Stromer ST1 Elite battery is compatible with the ST1x? Any input, advice, or other suggestions appreciated.
Thanks!

Neither, get the Bulls Lacuba evo e45. It has better specs than the Stromer and Vado. I prefer the e45 over the Giant and the Integrale 11 too.
Call Brent at Great Western Ebikes, if you go in the store, he will work you a deal. btw, I own a Levo and an e45, so I have a dog in both fights. The e45 rides like a dream.

Jeff Kirn
5 months ago

Ken.
I find this interesting. In 2014 you could purchase a Mt. 33 In other countries ( Not USA ) with two sz options on the front chain ring. ( 42t or 48t ) Now in 2015 you can purchase the Elite or Platinum with Mt.33 or Power 48. ( Go to Stromer web site and build a bike in any other country ) The Elite Comes with one chain ring ( 42t) The platinum comes with three chain rings But you can order any sz motor you like. In USA we only get one choice Mt. 33 with a 42t chain ring or a Platinum with three chain rings. So I am not sure why you could not add any chain ring you like. I added a 46t to mine. I strongly believe there is not a large difference between motors. Yes a small difference. There was a great review from a dealer in Canada who sold and road both ( Mt 33 and Power 48) and felt the same as I. I have ridden both and chose the Elite because I do not see the need for three chain rings and the help of a motor is needed for my riding. I put the larger front chain ring on as to get and keep my high speed up longer and easier. It works just great. I don't recommended going as lg. as 50t or 52t because if you are climbing a hill you might not have enough lower gearing. You could add a front derailer and two or three chain rings, but again I find that over kill and now you are at a Platinum with a Mt33 motor. This might bring out some interesting replies, that is all good. In the end it is what works for you and your riding. the good news is you own a Stromer ST1. I love mine.
gp

Ken,
Any chance you could get me the part # for your 46 tooth front chain ring? I've been to 2 dealers and neither can locate a size that fits the Stromer ST1. Thanks!

mattinutah
6 months ago

Looking for a commuter for a 20 mile round trip commute in hilly terrain. My wife has a Stromer ST1 Elite that I like but with so much weight in the back it isn't the most balanced bike I've ever ridden. I haven't test ridden the Specialized as there isn't one local yet but the reviews intrigued me. Anyone know if the Stromer ST1 Elite battery is compatible with the ST1x? Any input, advice, or other suggestions appreciated.
Thanks!

mattinutah
6 months ago

Looking for a commuter for a 20 mile round trip commute in hilly terrain. My wife has a Stromer ST1 Elite that I like but with so much weight in the back it isn't the most balanced bike I've ever ridden. I haven't test ridden the Specialized as there isn't one local yet but the reviews intrigued me. Anyone know if the Stromer ST1 Elite battery is compatible with the ST1x? Any input, advice, or other suggestions appreciated.
Thanks!

Cody1231
6 months ago

European bike Shop are dealers of fantastic selection of bicycles, accessories, and apparel from some of the best brands available. as Cannondale Road/Mountain Bikes, Specialized Road/Mountain Bikes, Trek Road/Mountain Bikes and many others at an affordable offer.

2017 Specialized Enduro Pro Carbon 650b...$6,699.00
2017-Specialized Enduro Elite Carbon 650b...$3,899.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Enduro 650b...$8,199.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Demo 8...$7,699.00
2017-Specialized Demo 8 I Carbon...$5,149
2017-Specialized Demo 8 II Alloy...$4,999.00
2017-Specialized Demo 8 I Alloy...$2,694.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Stumpjumper FSR 29...$7,499.99
2017-Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Pro Carbon 29...$5,999.99
2017-Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Expert Carbon 29...$4,499.99
2017-Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp Carbon 29...$2,999.99
2017-Specialized S-Works Epic FSR Di2...$11,999.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Epic FSR World Cup...$9,999.00
2017-Specialized Epic FSR Expert Carbon World Cup...$3,999.00
2017-Specialized Epic FSR Comp Carbon World Cup...$3,099.00
2017-Specialized Women’s Epic HT Expert Carbon World Cup...$2,999.00
2017-Specialized Epic FSR Comp...$2,499.99

2017-Specialized S-Works Venge ViAS Disc eTap ..$12,999.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Ruby eTap ...$9,399.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Tarmac Disc eTap...$8,999.00
2017-Specialized Venge ViAS Pro Disc UDi2...$7,999.000...$9,999.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Tarmac Dura-Ace...$6,999.00
2017-Specialized Tarmac Expert eTAP...$4,299.00
2017-Specialized Venge ViAS Expert Disc Ultegra...$3,999.00
2107.Specialized Amira Expert UDi2...$3,249.00
2017-Specialized Tarmac Expert Disc....$2,999.00
2017-Specialized Amira Comp...$2,649.00
2017-Specialized Tarmac SL4 Comp UDi2...$2,649.00
2017-Specialized Tarmac Comp Disc...$2,399.00

2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Hi-MOD Dura Ace 2...$5,599.99
2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Disc Ultegra...$3,699.99
2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Ultegra Di2 – 2017...$2,799.99
2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Hi-MOD Red eTap...$8,799.99
2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Women’s Ultegra Di2...$2799.99
2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Disc Ultegra – 2017...$3,699.99
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Race...$9,720.00
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Team...9,620.00
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Carbon 1...$7,699.99
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Carbon 20...$6,310.00
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Carbon 3...$4,390.00
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Carbon Women’s 2 ...$3,499.99
2017-Cannondale F-Si Carbon 2...$4,299.00
2017-Cannondale SuperX Team...$9,499.00
2017-Cannondale SuperX Force...$4,999.99
2017-Cannondale SuperX Women’s Force....$2,899.99
2017-Cannondale SuperX Ultegra...$2,699.9

We offer international standard warranty with full acceptance for replacement or full refund of money and this led to other equally significant services and policies like our Overnight Shipping and Price Protection Plan which allows you to receive your product the next two business day at the best price.

INTERESTED BUYERS SHOULD CONTACT BELOW FOR MORE INFORMATION.

WEBSITE: www.europeanbikeshop.com
EMAIL: info@europeanbikeshop.com
SKYPE: European Bike Shop

1/3
eagamer80
6 months ago

@Douglas Ruby, I am so tempted to buy the 691Wh battery that you have no idea... for the moment my standard 391Wh battery works ok for the range of 44 km/ 28 miles per day commuting to work, but now I am also debating internally in adquire the Specialized Sirrus Elite Carbon bike (2016 model is around 1k). I know it has nothing to do with an electric bike, but for almost the same money, I could buy this bike (I do not own a decent 2nd bike). Or I could buy the battery and the 2nd bike and have the divorce papers ready. Mental battle ongoing.

opimax
6 months ago

my understanding is that is an older sport frame w/st1 electronics. I believe it is the elite motor though. There is some number on a sticker on your motor about RPM , that will tell if you have a high speed or high torque version (Platinum or Elite). The batteries are interchangeable , I think those are the older brakes , not 100% on though. My Sports had mech adj brakes I think. There were /are a few bikes out there like this from Stromer due to initial bad motor in wheel issues , could not sell as is so they were modified after the the issue was fixed, you probaly dont have a throttle, the original sport did, usually a good deal. I think Lenny sells these may call them and ask or call stromer 800-819-4262, very friendly and helpful

Stromer Bomber
6 months ago

I have a 2013 ST1 Platinum that I bought new in July of 2013. My bike also has 27 speeds and a gold battery. If your bike was a St1, and it has 27 speeds, it would be a St1 Platinum - as the ST1 Elite only came with a 9 speed and a purple battery, but you could upgrade to a gold battery. A ST1 Platinum can also reach speeds of 28 mph, while the Elite is rated at 20 mph. I have thousands of fun filled miles on my bike, and those are miles I haven't put on my car. Let me know if I can help you with your bike.

britannic
7 months ago

I just sold one of my Stromers (ST1 Elite) on eBay and shipped it from the west coast to the east, using a shipping box from https://www.shipbikes.com. I was able to get a discounted FedEx ground rate using their website. The buyer said the bike arrived in excellent shape. I had to use the Aircaddy box (it has to ship via ground though) the service provides, since the Stromer is a heavy bike. The battery is left installed.

George Jetson
7 months ago

Hello Ravi, thanks for your response!

Glad to hear that the motors very similar, with the removal of the controller the bike is much more balanced, and the heat dissipation is greatly improved from the ST1 (I also have an St1 elite). I purchased the ST1x with the 814wh battery, and will be installing a Supernova fixture if it's compatible.

You are researching a great field of study, and at a very good time in history. I also have an EV, and I closely watch the changing technology. I'd love to hear your thoughts regarding battery tech! Maybe that's for another discussion, but the recent articles from Dr Goodenough's work on solid-state glass electrolyte battery could be the next evolution of energy storage. I hope it is, and it would trickle down to eBikes as well.
You might be interestedin this thread that I started... https://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/posts/2105598/

PTFC Brian
7 months ago

Honestly, I do not have deep insight into situation this but all the reliable sources indicate that Li-ion will prevail for at least next 10 years. Gigafactory and Panasonic folks just invested a lot of money in building a new factory. There is enough lithium supply for the next 50 years. If you have time, you may want to watch this video.

Re: ST1-X bike, I suggest you put something like a tire liner in the rear tire. It is no fun fixing a flat on a heavy hub motor bike.
I'll watch the video this evening, thanks!

Yes, the dreaded rear hub-motor/flat tire challenge (the only real flaw of the hub-motor design). Funny you should mention this. I had a few rear flats on my ST1 elite, then added a tire liner and Slime tube. I wanted to see how good the Big Ben Puncture Guard tires are without the added protection, and that wasn't a good idea. Took a 1" ring nail through the center of the tire, and unfortunately my pump failed to function, and I had to call my wife to pick me up.

As you noted, The Cyro Drive is similar to the Syno Drive, and a lot better than the ST1 motor. It's much easier to remove, and there are no rear zip-ties! The early reviews and photos showed a rear zip-tie, but the final design excluded it. There is just a power wire and controller wire to unscrew, and remove the through-axle, that's it. Since then, I put heavy-duty Slime tubes on both wheels, and kevlar tire liners.

InversionEnabled
4 years ago

It seems relatively quiet

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Yeah, the direct drive (gearless) hub motor is pretty quiet indeed :)

Aubrizzle
4 years ago

Any news about the st2?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

I've heard a couple people talk about it but haven't seen or heard much myself. You could create a thread in the Community and maybe get some input from other Stromer fans http://electricbikereview.com/community/forums/stromer/ If I see you there I'll dig in a bit and post what I've heard :)

mo jooly
4 years ago

Laws R made 2 B steped on

Joe Pah
4 years ago

You're making me nervous riding like that on a city street!  Get a cheap mounter camera.. Please..

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Thanks for the concern Joe, this was one of the busier test locations I've been at. I try to keep my helmet handy and use common sense but a different camera setup might also help :)

mike willis
4 years ago

great review i think u really need to invest in a go pro cam so u can do a longer better safer drive test and it would mos def help your channel grow!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Thanks for the suggestion, I've been considering it and have actually updated my filming technique a bit recently. Still trying to get it right ;)

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Cool, thanks again for calling this out and the tip :)

tobbe lerone
4 years ago

seems to be a throttle, this guy got it reviewed: NYCeWheels, search for his video over here

MRTHAKKAR123
4 years ago

How much does this cost?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Thanks for calling this out and providing the solution here! When it's in boost mode, how do you actually "throttle" the bike? Is there another button or a lever or twister?

tobbe lerone
4 years ago

also, it would be great to see some maybe daily vlogs on the interbike ;) cheers

tobbe lerone
4 years ago

i already figured it out, in the manual it says you have to long press the selection button to get in the boost mode. it will support riding without pedaling between 3 and 20 km/h. i think most people get this wrong, also in the shops because you have to read as it isnt obvious.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Great catch, to be honest I'm not really sure? I didn't see a throttle or setting for that on the bike but maybe it's buried in the computer system? I tried these bikes at a shop and the manager had said the were only pedal assist... Maybe a newer model has come out? I'll ask the reps at Interbike this next week and try to get back to you with the info here :)

tobbe lerone
4 years ago

are you sure you got your facts right?? because on the stromer site it says the following:

The support mode can be selected from four different output modes. In addition, the Stromer has a boost mode (riding mode without pedaling support) and push assistance.

So, to my understanding the boost mode is a mode where u can use a twist throttle? right or wrong, did you test these modes?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Good call, everyone keeps asking me about Prodeco bikes but I just haven't had the chance to review them yet. I rode one at Interbike last year and was unimpressed due to the geometry. It rode like a downhill bomber and I didn't like the rear rack.

I really like what Easy Motion is doing, they have bikes that offer everything this Stromer does at a fraction of the price and they can go above 20mph too! I mention this in the full review of the Stromer Platinum on the site.

george04b
4 years ago

if this bike had a throttle it would be in my house now, even with the almost 4000 price tag. i love the 28mph but there is also the prodeco ss wish is almost half the price and has a throttle but im saving and will wait for interbike :) tho i saw your pics on fb and i saw that they are rasing the prices....