Stromer ST1 Elite Review

Stromer St1 Elite Electric Bike Review
Stromer St1 Elite
Stromer St1 Elite Hub Motor
Stromer St1 Elite Pedal
Stromer St1 Elite Lcd Computer
Stromer St1 Elite Disc Brake
Stromer St1 Elite Electric Bike Review
Stromer St1 Elite
Stromer St1 Elite Hub Motor
Stromer St1 Elite Pedal
Stromer St1 Elite Lcd Computer
Stromer St1 Elite Disc Brake

Summary

  • High performance components, beautiful aesthetic, pedal assist only
  • Strong 500 watt gearless hub motor with regenerative braking
  • Fewer gears, lower top speed and no shock option as compared with the Stromer ST1 Platinum
  • Heavier and more expensive than comparable electric bikes

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Stromer

Model:

ST1 Elite

Price:

$ 3599.00 USD

Body Position:

Forward Aggressive

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Battery (Or 1,000 Full Charge Cycles), 2 Year Motor, 3 Year Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20132014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62 lbs ( 28.12 kg )

Battery Weight:

6.6 lbs ( 2.99 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step, Step-Thru

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in ( 41.91 cm )20 in ( 50.8 cm )

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid, Carbon Fiber

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

9 Speed 1x9 Shimano Sora, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

Rapid Fire on Right Bar

Cranks:

42T or 52T Depending on Motor

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform

Handlebar:

Low Rise

Brake Details:

Magura MT2 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors and Motor Cutoff Sensor

Grips:

Semi-Ergonomic

Saddle:

Stromer Special

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Ben, 26" x 2.125

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Single Side Kickstand, Optional City Kit with Front and Rear LED Lights (B+M Lumotec IQ Fly/Supernova E3 Front and B+M Toplight Mini Rear), Fenders and Rear Carry Rack by Racktime

Other:

TMM4 Torque Sensor, Regenerative Braking

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

TDCM (Mountain 33" Model)

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

40 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah (Optional 14.5 ah)

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh (Optional 522 wh)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Manganese

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles ( 48 km )

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles ( 72 km )

Display Type:

Backlit Monochrome LCD on Right Bar

Readouts:

Speed, Odometer, Trip Time, Battery Level, Assist Level (4 Modes), Regeneration Level (2 Modes)

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

20 mph ( 32 kph )

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Stromer ST1 Elite is one step down from the Platinum and offers fewer gears, a lower top speed, no front shock option and one less color choice… but you save $600. This is a well designed bike that rides smooth and looks amazing. It does not offer twist throttle mode which means you’ll have to pedal continuously to activate the motor, but that reduces complexity in the system. On the upside, this bike offers regenerative braking and the motor is activated via torque sensor vs. the simpler pedalec system. It truly feels like you’re flying when you ride this bike but the price tag is pretty steep.

Driving this bike is a gearless 500 watt motor rated at 600 watts which basically means you get extra power. Gearless motors coast silently and in this case, offer regenerative braking which extends range and reduces wear on the brakes. The brakes themselves are oversized hydraulic discs that work exceedingly well. The system is clean with minimal wires and cables that are integrated seamlessly below the downtube. It’s easy to fall for the aesthetic of this bike and forget it’s electric at all.

The battery pack driving the motor offers 36 volts of power and 10 amp hours of range in the form of Lithium Nickel Metal Hydride. Stromer offers an amazing three year warranty on this battery and you can also buy a second one to extend range for $700. All in all, this battery pack is average in terms of size and power but that keeps it light and dare I say, more affordable? The LCD computer system that connects the battery with the motor is intuitive, sleek and well protected offering the standard speed, capacity and power settings you’d expect.

The truth about this bike is that it works much better than some of Stromer’s older designs like the Sport but it’s not perfect. For one thing, it’s heavy! weighing in at 62 pounds. That’s due in part to the gearless hub motor which enables the regenerative braking. If you compare this bike with the Easy Motion Neo Race, you spend $400 less and have a 42 pound bike! Now you won’t get regenerative braking and large cushy tires… but the ride will be comparable and you’ll get twist throttle support.

Overall I’m very impressed with the ST1 Elite. It’s fun to ride, looks great, comes in multiple sizes for a good fit and the battery warranty is amazing. Stromer has been around since 2010 and continues to refine their bikes. They now offer a City Kit with integrated lights, fenders and a rear rack + basket system. You can even have your company logo painted onto the frame. If you’re looking for a solid performer and can spare the extra cash this is a great choice.

Pros:

  • Clean, focused design with limited clutter and complexity
  • Awesome regenerative braking system, extends range and reduces wear on brakes
  • Strong 500 watt motor 36 volt battery combination, battery is removable
  • Sturdy, oversized tires are puncture resistant and provide shock absorption when riding
  • High quality “City Kit” upgrade includes lights, fenders and rack + basket
  • Multiple frame sizes, including step-through, and two colors to choose from (black and white)
  • Awesome three year warranty on the battery pack
  • Ability to customize graphics on the frame if you pay extra

Cons:

  • Only offers pedal assist whereas other ebikes also offer throttle mode
  • Bike is heavier than comparable ebikes, partially due to gearless hub motor vs. geared
  • Expensive as compared with similarly specced electric bikes
  • Only available with a carbon fork vs. shock absorber (have to upgrade to the Platinum to get the shock)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Stromer Reviews

Stromer ST1 Limited Edition Review

  • MSRP: $ 3990.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A limited run (only 399 produced) speed pedelec with premium integrated lights from Supernova and Toplight, Aluminum fenders, rear carry rack from Racktime and Magura hydraulic disc brakes. High end Shimano Deore XT drive train with nine sprockets geared for 28+ mph riding…...

Stromer ST2 S Review

  • MSRP: $ 9490.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An urban racer with smooth electronic shifting, app-driven performance tuning, ultra-bright dynamic lighting that responds to braking, five levels of power regen and regenerative braking. Available in three high-step frame sizes for improved fit, impressive weight distribution for a hub-powered…...

Stromer ST1 S Review

  • MSRP: $ 4790.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed urban electric bike emphasizing sport riding (flatter handle bar, no rack) available in two frame sizes, one high-step style and one color (metallic lime green). Carbon fiber fork reduces weight and dampens vibration, oversized road tires cushion the ride and…...

Stromer ST1 T Review

  • MSRP: $ 4790.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A solid, high speed city ebike with purpose built Aluminum frame, custom fenders and minimalist rack, premium integrated lights and hidden downtube battery. Available in two frame sizes and with an optional suspension fork for $350 more, the…...

Stromer ST2 Review

  • MSRP: $ 6990.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Extremely polished, high performance urban style electric bike available in two frame sizes and configurations. One of the most responsive and satisfying electric bikes I've tested, speed pedelec can reach…...

Stromer ST1 Platinum Review

  • MSRP: $ 4399.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

High quality components, beautiful clean aesthetic, pedal assist only. Powerful 500 watt gearless rear hub motor with regenerative braking...

Stromer Sport Review

  • MSRP: $ 3399.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2012, 2013

Beautiful design integrates the battery, controller and wires while evenly distributing weight from front to rear. Powerful, near-silent, 500 watt gearless rear hub motor can reach 25 mph in pedal assist…...


Jason in Modesto
9 months ago

Stromers, including the ST1 Elite, have a Boost mode which requires no peddling. By default it will only go to 12.5mph, but can be configured with the controller code 3775 setting to go to 20mph.

https://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/stromer-st1-codes.1521/

Court Rye
9 months ago

Wow! This is really cool Jason, thanks for sharing and providing a link to the different codes. How does the boost work exactly? Do you hold down on the up arrow or something?

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Ravi Kempaiah
6 hours ago
Ed I
Just bought one. Is this a real stromer? What racks fit? Can lights be wired in? Not much info on the sport. Mine has suspension front fork and single chain ring. The LCD screen is hard to see. I put a suntour suspension seat post on it. It rides real nice. I will post a few pics when I can
It's a special model by Stromer.
When they released their Stromer Sport model back in 2012, it had some electrical problems and I guess they had lots of frames in their warehouse. So, they put the ST1 Elite motor and battery to make it very affordable for customers. High volume dealers like Lenny's have them in stock.
The V1 Sport comes with Mountain 33 motor, 11Ah battery, Tektro mechanical disc brakes, retails for $1500
The V1 Elite comes with Mountain 33 motor, 14.5 Ah battery, Hydraulic disc brakes and retails for $1990.

They ride just like ST1 and do come with suspension forks. It has very good PAS system, integration, and features.
russ moir
13 hours ago
Limber 48V ~$1800 in Vic, $1600 on the web from Canadian dealers.
Stromer ST1 Elite ~$3850 from Scooteretti Ottawa, with gold (large capacity) battery. Vic dealer stocks the Platinum for quite a bit more.
I'm sure there's a Specialized dealer on the island, and the turbo has great reviews, though is priced up with the ST1
George S.
18 hours ago
I googled Marathon Plus Mountain in the spring and came up with Chain Reaction as just about the only supplier. I never ran anything else on the bike, so can't compare. These MB Marathons are easy to get through my heavy gravel driveway and they are fun on dirt trails, which I rarely find.

Seems like right now Amazon is at $65 (third party seller) and Chain Reaction is at $32. I would like to swap the street tires for mountain bike tires on my Bikes Direct Elite with a front Mac. The MB tires are listed at 30# which might soften the ride. I have a Trek 820 with a rear Magic Pie, and the ride is very decent over the roughest roads. The Trek has a very basic front suspension but like the guy at the bike shop said, something can be a lot better than nothing for standard road bumps, if not off road.

(Edit: Chain Reaction was the source)
MLB
1 month ago
Kenny,
Don't know about the Pedego but Kalkhoff makes very high quality bikes that are lust-worthy. I'd be interested in anything they make.
The Pedego looks nice, but I hate tail mounted batteries. The 2 I've ridden both "wagged their tails" (flexed the frame) when cornering at any speed. Just a bad place for extra weight.
Add the mid drive over front hub motor if you have any hills and to me it's a no-brainer for the Kalkhoff.
To me Kalkhoff comes in the elite group of expensive and very well made bikes that are actually worth the extra money over some less expensive but still nice bikes. Lots of expensive, nice little details on them.
In this case $1,000 of a barely used demo is a screaming deal better than the Prodeco at $150 off list. JMO!
You may disagree :)
looker
1 month ago
Hello members,
I finally take delivery of this beautifully integrated Bulls enduro.
one thing I want to add into Court's detailed review is the Boost rear wheel.
Not the front wheel. ITs good that you can use wider tires ,not so if you want to upgrade to a light wheel ,which can cost for this mismatch (Boost).
Form my view point ,very much like Court.
1.very quiet as I took it to the trail up and down right next to other cyclist ,none has take any notice ,unlike the Haibike FS xduro I had for a year ,and still running trail very well ,however , every other cyclist (front and back)noticed that was an electric bike because they can hear the hi winding motor sound),even if I peddle with the matching gear.
As for the bulls there is a sweat ,quiet gear that match the right Cad.then you will not hear any noise at all!(you only feel it ,smooth power)
2.Though only 3 level assist is a good thing , as I find out through out the entire trial ride ,I set it 2nd level and I can ride the course climb up and down ..just simply shifting/ changing gear without worry changing power level(still makes through some very steep slope. This is not true to Haibike with Borsch motor which I have to change power level more time to adjust to right Cad.or it makes too much noise, or not enough assist. I think that is where the 90N come from yet the power assist- delivery very smoothly.
3.Non removable battery could have 2 good things.
I have so many time driven to the trailhead, then realized I had forgotten my battery! That cuts my riding short.
One less thing to setup and worry that may be damaged or knock off when you crash.(and I did so many times, even broken off the brake lever and peddles!)
4. The spec that come with the bike are so good .Just understated ,eg.
The e13 chainguide is very special, because you can remove your chain if it's jammed .
Finally I have to say Bulls do know very well and test ride this bike because of the spec they have chosen so purposely (that turn into weight punishment at 49.5Lb )
Fortunately , I am able to upgrade & down grade them to 46Lb & once I get hold of a rear boost crossmax elite wheel it will be even less.
one last comment on Brose motor vs Yamaha and Bosch is refinement .
Brose win ,however Bosch motor is very reliable at this point (1 year of rough trail use ).
also notice on a tec-jump ,once airborn for a few sec of freewheel ,it seems fool the bike sensor ,the motor will power up and down (assist)slightly ,If I am descripting correctly? However ,returns to normal a few sec after.Just need to hold on your Siant brake.

John46
1 month ago
George S.
I put a Magic Pie on the Trek. I wanted a steel frame. The weight of the MP is 20 lbs, and the frame on the Trek is heavy. It works, as an ebike, but it's heavier than most people would want. I don't recall finding a decent steel bike at BD. I bought a cruiser with a CrMo fork, from them, put a front Golden Smart Pie on it.

I believe the Mac is around ten pounds. Half the weight and similar performance (some noise). I'd rather have a Mac back there, but it's a very close call. The MP is silent and the DD means no real wear parts at all. The Mac is very serviceable, and it's a price class where you can start to write it off after a couple of years. The Mac is a great compromise over the Golden DD's because of the weight, plus they are smaller across, but the MP is elegantly slender, which helps with disk brakes and other fitting issues. The Mac has a better throttle, not jumpy or hard to modulate.

I don't think I want a mid-drive, so I am not in the mainstream of DIY. I climb decent hills, maybe 7%, and it's not a problem. I can ride without shifting, just using the throttle to start and get up to speed, then pedaling normally.

The Trek has basic brakes, but I tend to go 18 mph on the flats. Steel bikes tend to be cheap with basic parts. BD will upgrade parts, up to a point. You can find older stuff or find a bike or shop and get disk brakes. I think I have those basic Tektro disks on my Elite. They are OK, nothing special. I had some Avid hydraulics on another bike. I miss them. The Trek front suspension work pretty well for me. It's a bike shop bike so you can test it.

You don't want to push a $400 bike too far. That's a bike designed to be ridden 16mph by a fit rider. A true mountain bike, even a 'value' mountain bike ($1500+) is going to be designed to take more abuse. You don't see reports of problems converting $400 bikes, but I would at least go with ebike speed rated tires and run real brake tests.
George thank you for your comments. What is it you do not like about mid-drive? This is this the question I am wrestling with.
George S.
1 month ago
I put a Magic Pie on the Trek. I wanted a steel frame. The weight of the MP is 20 lbs, and the frame on the Trek is heavy. It works, as an ebike, but it's heavier than most people would want. I don't recall finding a decent steel bike at BD. I bought a cruiser with a CrMo fork, from them, put a front Golden Smart Pie on it.

I believe the Mac is around ten pounds. Half the weight and similar performance (some noise). I'd rather have a Mac back there, but it's a very close call. The MP is silent and the DD means no real wear parts at all. The Mac is very serviceable, and it's a price class where you can start to write it off after a couple of years. The Mac is a great compromise over the Golden DD's because of the weight, plus they are smaller across, but the MP is elegantly slender, which helps with disk brakes and other fitting issues. The Mac has a better throttle, not jumpy or hard to modulate.

I don't think I want a mid-drive, so I am not in the mainstream of DIY. I climb decent hills, maybe 7%, and it's not a problem. I can ride without shifting, just using the throttle to start and get up to speed, then pedaling normally.

The Trek has basic brakes, but I tend to go 18 mph on the flats. Steel bikes tend to be cheap with basic parts. BD will upgrade parts, up to a point. You can find older stuff or find a bike or shop and get disk brakes. I think I have those basic Tektro disks on my Elite. They are OK, nothing special. I had some Avid hydraulics on another bike. I miss them. The Trek front suspension work pretty well for me. It's a bike shop bike so you can test it.

You don't want to push a $400 bike too far. That's a bike designed to be ridden 16mph by a fit rider. A true mountain bike, even a 'value' mountain bike ($1500+) is going to be designed to take more abuse. You don't see reports of problems converting $400 bikes, but I would at least go with ebike speed rated tires and run real brake tests.
John46
1 month ago
George S.
I've run a Mac motor for 18 months. It's a great compromise. The price is low, but it's a geared hub with a clutch. It's more premium than the basic Ebay stuff. I like the 10 pound weight, and it climbs pretty well up to 10% grades with some pedal effort. The composite gears may be the best around and you can buy kits for the gears and the clutch for under $100.

I noticed they have a page on Alibaba. Compared to Bafang, this is a tiny, tiny company, like 30,000 units a year, mostly for export. I got the motor from Paul, EM3ev, but eventually I would expect Mac to try to sell directly off Ali.

It might help if they could integrate a torque sensor, or maybe allow the motor to be programmed with Bluetooth. These hubs are great, DD or geared, because they are simple. You bolt the motor onto the frame, wire it up, and ride. Hubs mean less maintenance on chains and gears. My three hub builds seem to require little or no maintenance.

https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/class-leading-bicycle-electric-motor-ebike_325172247.html?s=p

You can tab over to a company profile. This is why I think Alibaba has a decent future. There must be stuff out there that no one in the US wants to build up as a product line.
Hi George: I am still on the fence between a Mac (rear wheel) and a bbso2 750 w. I know that in the end I need to make the call but from what I have read, and I have read plenty, I like them both. Maybe you can sway me. For all intents and purposes they are the same price, at least they are from em3ev after you put on a pedal sensor, torque arm, ect. My biggest concern is the effort it takes to fit a flat. I don't need torque because I live in a flat area, I am not commuting only pleasure riding. I don't like the size of the dd hub motors but the geared are more stealth. It is really a tough call but one that I don't want to regret. On another note I am looking for some advice one a bike, but i may need to create a new post to get some opinions. I can get a Trek 820, no disc brakes at my lbs for $369 plus tax or I can get a Motobecane Elite or the Motobecane 400 HT mtn bike for similar price and they have disc brakes. Any thoughts. John
John46
1 month ago
George S. do you like the Elite, I was also thinking of the model with the disc brakes. I looked at the units from em3ev and they really appear to be good quality. There are so many variables. rear drive more complicated if you need to change a tire. Although it seems to me that is nothing more than ordinary after you disconnect some wires. The gearing with the 8Fun is kind of nice, but the free wheel with the Mac is also nice. See my delima? First thing is the bike I suppose.
George S.
1 month ago
I have a Mac on an Elite. The newer rear Mac is around 1200 watts and you can get a speed winding from EM3ev. Best if you don't have any serious hills. The BBS02 could be configured for a speed chainring. You can find a restrained discussion of the chainrings here.

Everything DIY seems to run on 48 volts. The big batteries give decent range, much less at higher speeds. The pedal assist is something you need to add for a Mac, included with the Bafang. The throttle/cruise control work OK on the Mac. Cruise locks in the speed so you don't use the throttle.

For any speed in the 20's I would want solid disk brakes and a reasonable front suspension.
elbikefun
1 month ago
britannic
I've used an Oberon StreetFighter black bar end mirror on both my ST1 Elite and ST2S. They are rock solid and have never vibrated loose in 2000 miles. The mirrors are actually designed for motorbikes, but work great for e-bikes as well.

View attachment 8907
That looks like a solid mirror ! Your body does not reduce rear-view ?
I got the mirror which came with the bike (standard in Germany). But if I were to have a new one; the one you showed would be the type I would look for.
britannic
1 month ago
I've used an Oberon StreetFighter black bar end mirror on both my ST1 Elite and ST2S. They are rock solid and have never vibrated loose in 2000 miles. The mirrors are actually designed for motorbikes, but work great for e-bikes as well.

View attachment 8907
Dej
2 months ago
Undercover Brother
Personally, it's not worth the risk to put a 48v Nitro battery into a 36v NEO bike for the reasons Ravi stated. Go with a 12ah battery, unless you need extra torque and speed. If you want to put a 48v Nitro battery in a NEO just remember you know own a "kit" bike w/o a warranty. For some that's fine, but for most it's too much risk. Take that from someone who has been modding motorcycles, cars and other toys for over 30 years. It's a heap of fun, but you do so often with considerable risk ($$$ and safety). Just because something appears to work, doesn't mean it will stand the test of time.

What I have to often remind folks is that we are talking about bicycles here. If you can't get up a hill w/o more effort than whats needed on one of our bikes, it might be time for a motorcycle or scooter. Having measured a 730w continuous output at full boost on our "350w" motor, I'd say by most folks standards, that's pretty decent. Maybe that's why I have outclimbed a Specialized Turbo, Lapierre Bosch mid-drive mountain bike, Currie E3 Peak, and Stromer Elite on our 650b Jumper and with more comfort. Anyway, everyone has to find what works best for them.

Will technology improve, absolutely! Will battery capacity and motor efficiency also improve, certainly. When that happens I hope to be the first in line. In the meanwhile, there are some great choices our there, so find (or build) the best bike for you...and enjoy the ride seeing as today is all we have!

Peace.
Hey Undercover bro are you still on this forum ,I have a question for you ?
grench
3 months ago
Here is todays ride. Very similar to the above with no gravel.

I figured out how to sync my cadence and heart rate monitors to the camera. This is a good video for conversations about if you get a workout on an ebike. My heart rate climbs to 162 on one of the hills. There is a little error in the numbers but viewed as a whole I think you get a good idea.

Camera: Garmin Virb Elite
Cadence Sensor: Wahoo Speed and Cadence
Heart Rate Monitor: Vivosmart HR -Wrist band with optical sensor

smitty
3 months ago
Steve Plattner
I have had two Stromer--both ST-1's--first the Elite, and now the Platinum. Both have occasionally suffered from the safe problem--using different batteries always with 50-75% power remaining--when I went to start the bike after pausing from riding for 5-10 minutes--it wouldn't start up. The only way to get it going is to unplug the LCD control unit for about a minute, then reconnect it. It worked fine after that.

Any idea what is causing this? Have others experienced it? Any solutions?
interesting...the electric gremlins are always with us I think. My first thought when they appear is to remove the battery, then reinstall it. Needless to say, I always carry the key with me on rides. My other thinking in this regard is that if I get stuck with an electrical problem out on the road, and the chase care was not available, I could remove the battery and hide it to peddle home with 8 or 10lbs less weight. Hope that I never have to do that...
JBJO
3 months ago
Steve Plattner
I have had two Stromer--both ST-1's--first the Elite, and now the Platinum. Both have occasionally suffered from the safe problem--using different batteries always with 50-75% power remaining--when I went to start the bike after pausing from riding for 5-10 minutes--it wouldn't start up. The only way to get it going is to unplug the LCD control unit for about a minute, then reconnect it. It worked fine after that.

Any idea what is causing this? Have others experienced it? Any solutions?
antimirov
Guys, is there a battery inside the display of ST1? If so, why does is then reset date/time every time I'm removing the main battery to charge it home?
Yes there is a battery in the display.. And be very careful when you remove the display and then put it back on.. It seems as if the plastic on these displays have the structural integrity of cheese.. They snap very very easily..
Steve Plattner
3 months ago
You mean replace the battery in the display? I had my Elite for a year, and the Platinum for about 7 weeks so that battery at least is almost new. If that's what you are suggesting I will try it.
daniel2ride
4 months ago
Ann M.
@BTB do you know how old those bikes are that this rental company is selling? Most rental companies keep their bikes for one season, maybe two so could ask a little higher price. A 3+ year old rental bike is not a bargain at $12oo no matter what brand it is.
That's what I keep coming around to....the more I research ebikes, the more nervous I get about no warranty. It's a beautiful bike that's maxed with features, but no warranty and engine failure is 1400 hundred, while new battery is almost 800...it's definitely something that would play on my mind daily. Now I can say that I am yet to see a 2013 elite that is priced even half ad well as these.....with the xtra battery, adding the city kit, and with a saddle bag, he selling a 6700 mile elite for 1k, and he throwing a helmet in......very tempting :(
BTB
4 months ago
Craigslist doesn't say, but Daniel thinks the Elite he is looking at is vintage 2013.

On a separate note, there is the question of whether Wanderbikes had to close down due to the Illinois low speed electric bike law. It allows unlicensed ebikes on the street provided they do not exceed 20mph, but otherwise prohibits operating ebikes on sidewalks in Illinois. It's possible that the Chicago lakefront bike paths may be considered sidewalks for such purpose. Whether your average Stromer rider could avoid a ticket is one thing, but a rental company could run into an existential issue either with the police or with the company's liability insurance carrier, to the extent Illinois law conflicts with a bike path based business model. I'm not saying that was the case here, but it would be interesting to find out if Illinois law became an issue.
daniel2ride
4 months ago
5thumbs
I think this is a good deal if you dont mind a used bike. I would go out and ride it and ask if you can ride it for 15 miles or so. Request that they charge the battery all the way before you start. See how much consumption you use and relate that to how far you think you will ride. If you have more than 50% left on the battery after 15 miles, it is probably in pretty good shape. If there are no major problems, I think it is a good deal, especially with 2 batteries. Oh, go up some hills and see if it helps you get up them and if so, the motor is in good enough shape for you. I dont remember if there is a manufacture date on the battery but that may be worth looking at.

I bought a Stromer Elite a few years back with an upgraded battery (gold color not purple) and paid almost 3x of the $1200!

However I did have an issue with the bike (partially my fault) and Stromer came in and went beyond the call of duty to make it like new again.
Thanks!..really appreciate the insightful post. Another poster sent me a link to a bike shop in Wisconsin selling demo bikes at some great prices, and with warranties. They have a Stromer Sport V1 with 22 miles on it for about 980. I don't know much about the model, but get the impression it's not on the St1's level, but the peace of mind might make it worth a look.
5thumbs
4 months ago
I think this is a good deal if you dont mind a used bike. I would go out and ride it and ask if you can ride it for 15 miles or so. Request that they charge the battery all the way before you start. See how much consumption you use and relate that to how far you think you will ride. If you have more than 50% left on the battery after 15 miles, it is probably in pretty good shape. If there are no major problems, I think it is a good deal, especially with 2 batteries. Oh, go up some hills and see if it helps you get up them and if so, the motor is in good enough shape for you. I dont remember if there is a manufacture date on the battery but that may be worth looking at.

I bought a Stromer Elite a few years back with an upgraded battery (gold color not purple) and paid almost 3x of the $1200!

However I did have an issue with the bike (partially my fault) and Stromer came in and went beyond the call of duty to make it like new again.
InversionEnabled
3 years ago
It seems relatively quiet
ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Yeah, the direct drive (gearless) hub motor is pretty quiet indeed :)

Aubrizzle
3 years ago
Any news about the st2?
ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

I've heard a couple people talk about it but haven't seen or heard much
myself. You could create a thread in the Community and maybe get some input
from other Stromer fans
http://electricbikereview.com/community/forums/stromer/ If I see you there
I'll dig in a bit and post what I've heard :)

mo jooly
3 years ago
Laws R made 2 B steped on
Joe Pah
3 years ago
You're making me nervous riding like that on a city street! Get a cheap mounter camera.. Please..
ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Thanks for the concern Joe, this was one of the busier test locations I've
been at. I try to keep my helmet handy and use common sense but a different
camera setup might also help :)

mike willis
3 years ago
great review i think u really need to invest in a go pro cam so u can do a longer better safer drive test and it would mos def help your channel grow!!
ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Thanks for the suggestion, I've been considering it and have actually
updated my filming technique a bit recently. Still trying to get it right ;)

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago
Cool, thanks again for calling this out and the tip :)
tobbe lerone
3 years ago
seems to be a throttle, this guy got it reviewed: NYCeWheels, search for his video over here
MRTHAKKAR123
3 years ago
How much does this cost?
ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago
Thanks for calling this out and providing the solution here! When it's in boost mode, how do you actually "throttle" the bike? Is there another button or a lever or twister?
tobbe lerone
3 years ago
also, it would be great to see some maybe daily vlogs on the interbike ;) cheers
tobbe lerone
3 years ago
i already figured it out, in the manual it says you have to long press the selection button to get in the boost mode. it will support riding without pedaling between 3 and 20 km/h. i think most people get this wrong, also in the shops because you have to read as it isnt obvious.
ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago
Great catch, to be honest I'm not really sure? I didn't see a throttle or setting for that on the bike but maybe it's buried in the computer system? I tried these bikes at a shop and the manager had said the were only pedal assist... Maybe a newer model has come out? I'll ask the reps at Interbike this next week and try to get back to you with the info here :)
tobbe lerone
3 years ago
are you sure you got your facts right?? because on the stromer site it says the following: The support mode can be selected from four different output modes. In addition, the Stromer has a boost mode (riding mode without pedaling support) and push assistance. So, to my understanding the boost mode is a mode where u can use a twist throttle? right or wrong, did you test these modes?
ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago
Good call, everyone keeps asking me about Prodeco bikes but I just haven't had the chance to review them yet. I rode one at Interbike last year and was unimpressed due to the geometry. It rode like a downhill bomber and I didn't like the rear rack. I really like what Easy Motion is doing, they have bikes that offer everything this Stromer does at a fraction of the price and they can go above 20mph too! I mention this in the full review of the Stromer Platinum on the site.
george04b
3 years ago
if this bike had a throttle it would be in my house now, even with the almost 4000 price tag. i love the 28mph but there is also the prodeco ss wish is almost half the price and has a throttle but im saving and will wait for interbike :) tho i saw your pics on fb and i saw that they are rasing the prices....