Stromer ST1 Elite Review

Stromer St1 Elite Electric Bike Review 1
Stromer St1 Elite
Stromer St1 Elite Hub Motor
Stromer St1 Elite Pedal
Stromer St1 Elite Lcd Computer
Stromer St1 Elite Disc Brake
Stromer St1 Elite Electric Bike Review 1
Stromer St1 Elite
Stromer St1 Elite Hub Motor
Stromer St1 Elite Pedal
Stromer St1 Elite Lcd Computer
Stromer St1 Elite Disc Brake

Summary

  • High performance components, beautiful aesthetic, pedal assist only
  • Strong 500 watt gearless hub motor with regenerative braking
  • Fewer gears, lower top speed and no shock option as compared with the Stromer ST1 Platinum
  • Heavier and more expensive than comparable electric bikes

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Stromer

Model:

ST1 Elite

Price:

$3,599 USD

Body Position:

Forward Aggressive

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Battery (Or 1,000 Full Charge Cycles), 2 Year Motor, 3 Year Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20132014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62 lbs (28.12 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.6 lbs (2.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in (41.91 cm)20 in (50.8 cm)

Frame Types:

High-Step, Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid, Carbon Fiber

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

9 Speed 1x9 Shimano Sora, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

Rapid Fire on Right Bar

Cranks:

42T or 52T Depending on Motor

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform

Handlebar:

Low Rise

Brake Details:

Magura MT2 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors and Motor Cutoff Sensor

Grips:

Semi-Ergonomic

Saddle:

Stromer Special

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Ben, 26" x 2.125

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Single Side Kickstand, Optional City Kit with Front and Rear LED Lights (B+M Lumotec IQ Fly/Supernova E3 Front and B+M Toplight Mini Rear), Fenders and Rear Carry Rack by Racktime

Other:

TMM4 Torque Sensor, Regenerative Braking

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

TDCM (Mountain 33" Model)

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

40 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah (Optional 14.5 ah)

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh (Optional 522 wh)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Manganese

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Display Type:

Backlit Monochrome LCD on Right Bar

Readouts:

Speed, Odometer, Trip Time, Battery Level, Assist Level (4 Modes), Regeneration Level (2 Modes)

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Stromer ST1 Elite is one step down from the Platinum and offers fewer gears, a lower top speed, no front shock option and one less color choice… but you save $600. This is a well designed bike that rides smooth and looks amazing. It does not offer twist throttle mode which means you’ll have to pedal continuously to activate the motor, but that reduces complexity in the system. On the upside, this bike offers regenerative braking and the motor is activated via torque sensor vs. the simpler pedalec system. It truly feels like you’re flying when you ride this bike but the price tag is pretty steep.

Driving this bike is a gearless 500 watt motor rated at 600 watts which basically means you get extra power. Gearless motors coast silently and in this case, offer regenerative braking which extends range and reduces wear on the brakes. The brakes themselves are oversized hydraulic discs that work exceedingly well. The system is clean with minimal wires and cables that are integrated seamlessly below the downtube. It’s easy to fall for the aesthetic of this bike and forget it’s electric at all.

The battery pack driving the motor offers 36 volts of power and 10 amp hours of range in the form of Lithium Nickel Metal Hydride. Stromer offers an amazing three year warranty on this battery and you can also buy a second one to extend range for $700. All in all, this battery pack is average in terms of size and power but that keeps it light and dare I say, more affordable? The LCD computer system that connects the battery with the motor is intuitive, sleek and well protected offering the standard speed, capacity and power settings you’d expect.

The truth about this bike is that it works much better than some of Stromer’s older designs like the Sport but it’s not perfect. For one thing, it’s heavy! weighing in at 62 pounds. That’s due in part to the gearless hub motor which enables the regenerative braking. If you compare this bike with the Easy Motion Neo Race, you spend $400 less and have a 42 pound bike! Now you won’t get regenerative braking and large cushy tires… but the ride will be comparable and you’ll get twist throttle support.

Overall I’m very impressed with the ST1 Elite. It’s fun to ride, looks great, comes in multiple sizes for a good fit and the battery warranty is amazing. Stromer has been around since 2010 and continues to refine their bikes. They now offer a City Kit with integrated lights, fenders and a rear rack + basket system. You can even have your company logo painted onto the frame. If you’re looking for a solid performer and can spare the extra cash this is a great choice.

Pros:

  • Clean, focused design with limited clutter and complexity
  • Awesome regenerative braking system, extends range and reduces wear on brakes
  • Strong 500 watt motor 36 volt battery combination, battery is removable
  • Sturdy, oversized tires are puncture resistant and provide shock absorption when riding
  • High quality “City Kit” upgrade includes lights, fenders and rack + basket
  • Multiple frame sizes, including step-through, and two colors to choose from (black and white)
  • Awesome three year warranty on the battery pack
  • Ability to customize graphics on the frame if you pay extra

Cons:

  • Only offers pedal assist whereas other ebikes also offer throttle mode
  • Bike is heavier than comparable ebikes, partially due to gearless hub motor vs. geared
  • Expensive as compared with similarly specced electric bikes
  • Only available with a carbon fork vs. shock absorber (have to upgrade to the Platinum to get the shock)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Stromer Reviews

Stromer ST1 X Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A more affordable Stromer electric bike that still offers regenerative braking and speed pedelec performance with ~28 mph top speeds, available in high-step and mid-step frames. Beautifully integrated touch display and companion mobile app can be used to track the bike…...

Stromer ST1 Limited Edition Review

  • MSRP: $3,990
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A limited run (only 399 produced) speed pedelec with premium integrated lights from Supernova and Toplight, Aluminum fenders, rear carry rack from Racktime and Magura hydraulic disc brakes. High end Shimano Deore XT drive train with nine sprockets geared for 28+ mph riding…...

Stromer ST2 S Review

  • MSRP: $9,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

An urban racer with smooth electronic shifting, app-driven performance tuning, ultra-bright dynamic lighting that responds to braking, five levels of power regen and regenerative braking. Available in three high-step frame sizes for improved fit, impressive weight distribution for a hub-powered…...

Stromer ST1 S Review

  • MSRP: $4,790
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed urban electric bike emphasizing sport riding (flatter handle bar, no rack) available in two frame sizes, one high-step style and one color (metallic lime green). Carbon fiber fork reduces weight and dampens vibration, oversized road tires cushion the ride and…...

Stromer ST1 T Review

  • MSRP: $4,790
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A solid, high speed city ebike with purpose built Aluminum frame, custom fenders and minimalist rack, premium integrated lights and hidden downtube battery. Available in two frame sizes and with an optional suspension fork for $350 more, the…...

Stromer ST2 Review

  • MSRP: $6,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016, 2017

Extremely polished, high performance urban style electric bike available in two frame sizes and configurations. One of the most responsive and satisfying electric bikes I've tested, speed pedelec can reach…...

Stromer ST1 Platinum Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

High quality components, beautiful clean aesthetic, pedal assist only. Powerful 500 watt gearless rear hub motor with regenerative braking...

Stromer Sport Review

  • MSRP: $3,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2012, 2013

Beautiful design integrates the battery, controller and wires while evenly distributing weight from front to rear. Powerful, near-silent, 500 watt gearless rear hub motor can reach 25 mph in pedal assist…...


Jason in Modesto
2 years ago

Stromers, including the ST1 Elite, have a Boost mode which requires no peddling. By default it will only go to 12.5mph, but can be configured with the controller code 3775 setting to go to 20mph.

https://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/stromer-st1-codes.1521/

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Wow! This is really cool Jason, thanks for sharing and providing a link to the different codes. How does the boost work exactly? Do you hold down on the up arrow or something?

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Farbike
2 days ago

Hey,

We just finished a new video with the debut of the new 2018 Newport Elite Electric Beach Cruiser by X-treme E-Bike. Check it out.

Specs are:

15-20 mile range
300 watt zero resistance geared rear hub motor
24v 9.6ah LiFEPO4 battery
Big comfy seat
Rear Rack and front basket included

What do yall think? For more info check it out at FarBike.com - X-treme Newport Elite Electric Beach Cruiser

1/1
nwroller
1 month ago

I just wrote a review on my ST1X - not the same as an elite, but I can give some feedback. There is a big difference between a 20 mph and a 28 mph ebike. The 20 mph ones I seem to feel it is always held back - 28 is a lot more fun. For me it is easy to get and stay at 27-28 on flat ground. On a slight hill I do around 24, and on a steep 10%+ I go around 8-12 depending on effort, hill and what gear I am in. I have not changed the controller to remove the governor, but I might consider it in a year if there are any reviews of it.

JamesTh
1 month ago

Hi EBR community

I am about to pull he trigger on an Elite model and am curious as to the real world experience of the speed of the bike ( originally I was looking at class 3 bike with a throttle and top speed of 28 mph ....then I came across the Stromer brand and have fallen in love with the looks and the reviews raving about the 'quality' of the ride )

I know that it's a peddle assist upto 20mph . But I am also aware that the controller codes can be changed to improve the top speed , but there are mixed reports as to what this actually means ...

I am interested in the real world experience after the controller has been changed on he Elite.

1. Is there a boost mode ? What are the top speeds have you achieved in the boost mode after code change ?

2. What is the consistent top speed you comfortably achieve pedalling on the Elite after the code changes? . I read of some speed pedalics who claim 28mph top speed but real world reviews often say it's easy to get to 28mph but hard to stay there . What about the Elite after the 'hack' , what is a realistic expectation of top speeds ??

Many thanks for you time

James

Steve Plattner
1 month ago

Based on the maximum speed, sounds like the ST1-Platinum. And it comes with the gold battery, not the purple that came stock on the ST1-Elite.

ELPORTO
2 months ago

Hi,

Purchased a ST 1 with 9 speeds, solid top frame, one ring cog in front, battery is gold -522 Wh, no fenders and bike goes 28 MPH. Motor says power 48. having a tough time determining what model (Elite/Platinum) did I get the best battery as seller told me? My guess would be elite but the motor is rated at 28 MPH-perhaps I have a Frankenstein. By the way bike was discounted to 3000.00 What model do I have, is the battery the best I could get and did I get fair deal?

Thanks! was in a hurry so paid and rode off...

5ebikes
2 months ago

Looking for a commuter for a 20 mile round trip commute in hilly terrain. My wife has a Stromer ST1 Elite that I like but with so much weight in the back it isn't the most balanced bike I've ever ridden. I haven't test ridden the Specialized as there isn't one local yet but the reviews intrigued me. Anyone know if the Stromer ST1 Elite battery is compatible with the ST1x? Any input, advice, or other suggestions appreciated.
Thanks!

Neither, get the Bulls Lacuba evo e45. It has better specs than the Stromer and Vado. I prefer the e45 over the Giant and the Integrale 11 too.
Call Brent at Great Western Ebikes, if you go in the store, he will work you a deal. btw, I own a Levo and an e45, so I have a dog in both fights. The e45 rides like a dream.

Jeff Kirn
2 months ago

Ken.
I find this interesting. In 2014 you could purchase a Mt. 33 In other countries ( Not USA ) with two sz options on the front chain ring. ( 42t or 48t ) Now in 2015 you can purchase the Elite or Platinum with Mt.33 or Power 48. ( Go to Stromer web site and build a bike in any other country ) The Elite Comes with one chain ring ( 42t) The platinum comes with three chain rings But you can order any sz motor you like. In USA we only get one choice Mt. 33 with a 42t chain ring or a Platinum with three chain rings. So I am not sure why you could not add any chain ring you like. I added a 46t to mine. I strongly believe there is not a large difference between motors. Yes a small difference. There was a great review from a dealer in Canada who sold and road both ( Mt 33 and Power 48) and felt the same as I. I have ridden both and chose the Elite because I do not see the need for three chain rings and the help of a motor is needed for my riding. I put the larger front chain ring on as to get and keep my high speed up longer and easier. It works just great. I don't recommended going as lg. as 50t or 52t because if you are climbing a hill you might not have enough lower gearing. You could add a front derailer and two or three chain rings, but again I find that over kill and now you are at a Platinum with a Mt33 motor. This might bring out some interesting replies, that is all good. In the end it is what works for you and your riding. the good news is you own a Stromer ST1. I love mine.
gp

Ken,
Any chance you could get me the part # for your 46 tooth front chain ring? I've been to 2 dealers and neither can locate a size that fits the Stromer ST1. Thanks!

mattinutah
2 months ago

Looking for a commuter for a 20 mile round trip commute in hilly terrain. My wife has a Stromer ST1 Elite that I like but with so much weight in the back it isn't the most balanced bike I've ever ridden. I haven't test ridden the Specialized as there isn't one local yet but the reviews intrigued me. Anyone know if the Stromer ST1 Elite battery is compatible with the ST1x? Any input, advice, or other suggestions appreciated.
Thanks!

mattinutah
2 months ago

Looking for a commuter for a 20 mile round trip commute in hilly terrain. My wife has a Stromer ST1 Elite that I like but with so much weight in the back it isn't the most balanced bike I've ever ridden. I haven't test ridden the Specialized as there isn't one local yet but the reviews intrigued me. Anyone know if the Stromer ST1 Elite battery is compatible with the ST1x? Any input, advice, or other suggestions appreciated.
Thanks!

Cody1231
2 months ago

European bike Shop are dealers of fantastic selection of bicycles, accessories, and apparel from some of the best brands available. as Cannondale Road/Mountain Bikes, Specialized Road/Mountain Bikes, Trek Road/Mountain Bikes and many others at an affordable offer.

2017 Specialized Enduro Pro Carbon 650b...$6,699.00
2017-Specialized Enduro Elite Carbon 650b...$3,899.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Enduro 650b...$8,199.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Demo 8...$7,699.00
2017-Specialized Demo 8 I Carbon...$5,149
2017-Specialized Demo 8 II Alloy...$4,999.00
2017-Specialized Demo 8 I Alloy...$2,694.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Stumpjumper FSR 29...$7,499.99
2017-Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Pro Carbon 29...$5,999.99
2017-Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Expert Carbon 29...$4,499.99
2017-Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp Carbon 29...$2,999.99
2017-Specialized S-Works Epic FSR Di2...$11,999.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Epic FSR World Cup...$9,999.00
2017-Specialized Epic FSR Expert Carbon World Cup...$3,999.00
2017-Specialized Epic FSR Comp Carbon World Cup...$3,099.00
2017-Specialized Women’s Epic HT Expert Carbon World Cup...$2,999.00
2017-Specialized Epic FSR Comp...$2,499.99

2017-Specialized S-Works Venge ViAS Disc eTap ..$12,999.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Ruby eTap ...$9,399.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Tarmac Disc eTap...$8,999.00
2017-Specialized Venge ViAS Pro Disc UDi2...$7,999.000...$9,999.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Tarmac Dura-Ace...$6,999.00
2017-Specialized Tarmac Expert eTAP...$4,299.00
2017-Specialized Venge ViAS Expert Disc Ultegra...$3,999.00
2107.Specialized Amira Expert UDi2...$3,249.00
2017-Specialized Tarmac Expert Disc....$2,999.00
2017-Specialized Amira Comp...$2,649.00
2017-Specialized Tarmac SL4 Comp UDi2...$2,649.00
2017-Specialized Tarmac Comp Disc...$2,399.00

2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Hi-MOD Dura Ace 2...$5,599.99
2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Disc Ultegra...$3,699.99
2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Ultegra Di2 – 2017...$2,799.99
2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Hi-MOD Red eTap...$8,799.99
2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Women’s Ultegra Di2...$2799.99
2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Disc Ultegra – 2017...$3,699.99
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Race...$9,720.00
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Team...9,620.00
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Carbon 1...$7,699.99
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Carbon 20...$6,310.00
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Carbon 3...$4,390.00
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Carbon Women’s 2 ...$3,499.99
2017-Cannondale F-Si Carbon 2...$4,299.00
2017-Cannondale SuperX Team...$9,499.00
2017-Cannondale SuperX Force...$4,999.99
2017-Cannondale SuperX Women’s Force....$2,899.99
2017-Cannondale SuperX Ultegra...$2,699.9

We offer international standard warranty with full acceptance for replacement or full refund of money and this led to other equally significant services and policies like our Overnight Shipping and Price Protection Plan which allows you to receive your product the next two business day at the best price.

INTERESTED BUYERS SHOULD CONTACT BELOW FOR MORE INFORMATION.

WEBSITE: www.europeanbikeshop.com
EMAIL: info@europeanbikeshop.com
SKYPE: European Bike Shop

1/3
eagamer80
2 months ago

@Douglas Ruby, I am so tempted to buy the 691Wh battery that you have no idea... for the moment my standard 391Wh battery works ok for the range of 44 km/ 28 miles per day commuting to work, but now I am also debating internally in adquire the Specialized Sirrus Elite Carbon bike (2016 model is around 1k). I know it has nothing to do with an electric bike, but for almost the same money, I could buy this bike (I do not own a decent 2nd bike). Or I could buy the battery and the 2nd bike and have the divorce papers ready. Mental battle ongoing.

opimax
2 months ago

my understanding is that is an older sport frame w/st1 electronics. I believe it is the elite motor though. There is some number on a sticker on your motor about RPM , that will tell if you have a high speed or high torque version (Platinum or Elite). The batteries are interchangeable , I think those are the older brakes , not 100% on though. My Sports had mech adj brakes I think. There were /are a few bikes out there like this from Stromer due to initial bad motor in wheel issues , could not sell as is so they were modified after the the issue was fixed, you probaly dont have a throttle, the original sport did, usually a good deal. I think Lenny sells these may call them and ask or call stromer 800-819-4262, very friendly and helpful

Stromer Bomber
2 months ago

I have a 2013 ST1 Platinum that I bought new in July of 2013. My bike also has 27 speeds and a gold battery. If your bike was a St1, and it has 27 speeds, it would be a St1 Platinum - as the ST1 Elite only came with a 9 speed and a purple battery, but you could upgrade to a gold battery. A ST1 Platinum can also reach speeds of 28 mph, while the Elite is rated at 20 mph. I have thousands of fun filled miles on my bike, and those are miles I haven't put on my car. Let me know if I can help you with your bike.

britannic
3 months ago

I just sold one of my Stromers (ST1 Elite) on eBay and shipped it from the west coast to the east, using a shipping box from https://www.shipbikes.com. I was able to get a discounted FedEx ground rate using their website. The buyer said the bike arrived in excellent shape. I had to use the Aircaddy box (it has to ship via ground though) the service provides, since the Stromer is a heavy bike. The battery is left installed.

George Jetson
3 months ago

Hello Ravi, thanks for your response!

Glad to hear that the motors very similar, with the removal of the controller the bike is much more balanced, and the heat dissipation is greatly improved from the ST1 (I also have an St1 elite). I purchased the ST1x with the 814wh battery, and will be installing a Supernova fixture if it's compatible.

You are researching a great field of study, and at a very good time in history. I also have an EV, and I closely watch the changing technology. I'd love to hear your thoughts regarding battery tech! Maybe that's for another discussion, but the recent articles from Dr Goodenough's work on solid-state glass electrolyte battery could be the next evolution of energy storage. I hope it is, and it would trickle down to eBikes as well.
You might be interestedin this thread that I started... https://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/posts/2105598/

PTFC Brian
3 months ago

Honestly, I do not have deep insight into situation this but all the reliable sources indicate that Li-ion will prevail for at least next 10 years. Gigafactory and Panasonic folks just invested a lot of money in building a new factory. There is enough lithium supply for the next 50 years. If you have time, you may want to watch this video.

Re: ST1-X bike, I suggest you put something like a tire liner in the rear tire. It is no fun fixing a flat on a heavy hub motor bike.
I'll watch the video this evening, thanks!

Yes, the dreaded rear hub-motor/flat tire challenge (the only real flaw of the hub-motor design). Funny you should mention this. I had a few rear flats on my ST1 elite, then added a tire liner and Slime tube. I wanted to see how good the Big Ben Puncture Guard tires are without the added protection, and that wasn't a good idea. Took a 1" ring nail through the center of the tire, and unfortunately my pump failed to function, and I had to call my wife to pick me up.

As you noted, The Cyro Drive is similar to the Syno Drive, and a lot better than the ST1 motor. It's much easier to remove, and there are no rear zip-ties! The early reviews and photos showed a rear zip-tie, but the final design excluded it. There is just a power wire and controller wire to unscrew, and remove the through-axle, that's it. Since then, I put heavy-duty Slime tubes on both wheels, and kevlar tire liners.

Ravi Kempaiah
3 months ago

Hello Ravi, thanks for your response!

Glad to hear that the motors very similar, with the removal of the controller the bike is much more balanced, and the heat dissipation is greatly improved from the ST1 (I also have an St1 elite). I purchased the ST1x with the 814wh battery, and will be installing a Supernova fixture if it's compatible.

You are researching a great field of study, and at a very good time in history. I also have an EV, and I closely watch the changing technology. I'd love to hear your thoughts regarding battery tech! Maybe that's for another discussion, but the recent articles from Dr Goodenough's work on solid-state glass electrolyte battery could be the next evolution of energy storage. I hope it is, and it would trickle down to eBikes as well.

Thank you @PTFC Brian. I hope you enjoy the ST1-X immensely.
As you know, batteries are constantly evolving. There are lot of interesting things going on that could trickle down to eBikes very soon, like 20700 batteries instead of 18650, Smarter BMS etc.
Prof. Goodenough is a hero in the electrochemical research community. The fact that he hasn't gotten a Nobel prize speaks ill of the Nobel committee. I recently did speak to couple of Professors regarding his solid state electrolyte work and they think it might work for Grid-scale energy storage with lot of improvements but not for the EVs.

PTFC Brian
3 months ago

Hi Brian,

There are few minor differences in the CYRO drive vs SYNO drive. First, the thru-axle system is little different and 2nd, the way power cable exits the motor is also different.
Even though the top speed is similar ~28mph, SYNO drive has little more Copper mass and hence gets upto speed quicker. I don't pictures for the internals of the motor but since the platform is same, it wouldn't look much different.

If you get the 814 Whr battery, upgrade the lights to Supernova and upgrade the grips/pedals you will have ~85% ST2 at a much nicer price point.
Hello Ravi, thanks for your response!

Glad to hear that the motors very similar, with the removal of the controller the bike is much more balanced, and the heat dissipation is greatly improved from the ST1 (I also have an St1 elite). I purchased the ST1x with the 814wh battery, and will be installing a Supernova fixture if it's compatible.

You are researching a great field of study, and at a very good time in history. I also have an EV, and I closely watch the changing technology. I'd love to hear your thoughts regarding battery tech! Maybe that's for another discussion, but the recent articles from Dr Goodenough's work on solid-state glass electrolyte battery could be the next evolution of energy storage. I hope it is, and it would trickle down to eBikes as well.

J.R.
4 months ago

That quote sounds perfect. Have you ever driven over speed limit? I didn't say I roll up and down bike path at 28mph.
Ask a young family with stroller and youngster dragging behind on tricycle what they think of new law allowing electric bikes to zip up and down path at 20mph.
I bought my 28mph bike before laws were written, and ride at speeds that are safe for everyone. I am a good example of why ebikes are not bad. In any 28 vs 20mph factory bike I can think of- the 20mph is the more powerful of the two.
Can you tell the difference between st1 platinum and st1 elite? Haibike full seven 45 or full seven 20mph? If everybody self polices as you suggest, why are their cops at all?
If I had to choose now after the fact, I probably would choose the legal 20mph bike. My normal ride to beach was 9 miles one way. 3 miles were heavenly multiuse paths and the other six were bike lanes. By keeping my speed below 20 on paths and way lower as situation dictated, yea, I'm going to break that law. In fact, in Ventura, CA, the path has multiple signs stating "no motorized bicycles". Would you not ride on the path at all or would you ride responsibly and low key enough to enjoy that nice car free path?
Too big a straw man for me to want to take the time to burn down. My comment wasn't an attack. My only point was, if one was to willfully take a 28 mph ebike where it was prohibited by law and someone got hurt, it wouldn't matter to the police, judge or the damaged plaintiff's attorney if the rider was going 3 mph. It didn't belong there. My car belongs on any public roadway.

The vast majority of laws work because most don't want to deal with the hassle or cost of getting caught breaking them.

fxr3
4 months ago

That's what makes laws work in the US, otherwise you'd need a cop on every street corner. As it is too many disregard "worse case", that tends to fill the jails and leaves victims in the wake. Willfully riding an ebike too powerful by law on a bike path and having an "accident" that seriously hurts someone, let alone a kid, changes the legal charge from civil to criminal.
That quote sounds perfect. Have you ever driven over speed limit? I didn't say I roll up and down bike path at 28mph.
Ask a young family with stroller and youngster dragging behind on tricycle what they think of new law allowing electric bikes to zip up and down path at 20mph.
I bought my 28mph bike before laws were written, and ride at speeds that are safe for everyone. I am a good example of why ebikes are not bad. In any 28 vs 20mph factory bike I can think of- the 20mph is the more powerful of the two.
Can you tell the difference between st1 platinum and st1 elite? Haibike full seven 45 or full seven 20mph? If everybody self polices as you suggest, why are their cops at all?
If I had to choose now after the fact, I probably would choose the legal 20mph bike. My normal ride to beach was 9 miles one way. 3 miles were heavenly multiuse paths and the other six were bike lanes. By keeping my speed below 20 on paths and way lower as situation dictated, yea, I'm going to break that law. In fact, in Ventura, CA, the path has multiple signs stating "no motorized bicycles". Would you not ride on the path at all or would you ride responsibly and low key enough to enjoy that nice car free path?

Alan8668
4 months ago

Good morning. I'm new to this forum and I'm hoping to find some help. I live quite far from where I purchased my ST1 so bringing it to 'my dealer' is not really an option if something goes wrong. I bought this bike to replace my car and so far I've loved it. But my intention was/is to get to know the bike inside out so that I can look after any issues without having to rely on anyone.

I have the ST1 elite (mountain33) and after eight weeks of daily use (including riding in salty slush, snow, rain), I am now experiencing power loss and it's getting worse. The handlebar interface shows the power cutting out intermittently without any change in the amount of force I apply to the pedals. Not only does it feel like a complete loss in power assist when this happens, it also feels like I'm suddenly pulling a trailer. I've checked the rear brake sensor, cleaned the torque sensor and checked all of the connections...to no avail. The interface is not giving me any error messages. I should add that the bike (so far, might change today) has ran like normal when I leave for work from a 'cold' start. But the power loss has been consistent in kicking-in after about 5 or 6 kilometres of riding. Power loss has been immediate when I leave work to come home (weird).

So after that explanation, I'm at a loss. Like I said earlier, this bike is my only means of transportation. Am I doing further damage by continuing to ride it until I get the issue resolved? How am I to service this bike myself? I'd like to test the entire system (state of charge, motor, etc.). What tools can I invest in? I am meticulous in how I look after my equipment and frankly, feel I could do an excellent job at keeping my bike purring like a kitten for years to come, if I had the proper training and tools. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!!

Stromer Bomber
4 months ago

I own a 2013 ST1 Platinum that still rides like new. One way to tell if it's a Platinum is if it has 27 speeds - an Elite only has 9 speeds and no front derailleur. The Platiunum can reach 28 mph, and the Elite is listed as 20 mph - the extra speed is really nice.

My buddy just bought a new 2014 ST1 Partinum for around $3,100 and he loves it. They are warranting the entire bike and the two year warranty on the battery just started - so that's one less thing to be worried about. My buddy's bike also came with the city kit, which is nice if you're going to use it for commuting.

Let me know if you have any other questions.

Olley
4 months ago

I stumbled upon an ST1 for sale at a local triathlon specialty shop. The shop is not a Stromer dealer and they have no other e-bikes, so I'm not sure what the story is here. I asked whether it was a Platinum or Elite and they had no idea what I was talking about. Fine print on the tag said "P48" so I'm assuming it's the Platinum. Planning to go back when I have time to test ride and talk more with the staff. I live in an area with a huge cycling community but unfortunately e-bikes just haven't caught on (despite legal status for pedal-assist). The nearest Stromer dealer is 200+ miles away, so this ST1 feels like a big find. Sale price is $3199 (originally $4249), which still seems too much for a 2014 model. My hunch is that they would probably slash the price further to be rid of it. My concern is that it seems like the bike has just been sitting there for potentially 3+ years. I've been reading about e-bikes off/on for a while, and I really think a Stromer would be ideal for my commute, but I also feel like I don't totally know what I'm doing. Sorry if this is a dumb question, but are there any major issues I should have in mind when checking out this "new" 2014 Stromer? Any advice is much appreciated.

Matt A
5 months ago

Yeah Matt, I certainly would have preferred the belt. The only experience I've had with a Gates belt drive was on a Harley I once owned. Apples and oranges, I know (motorcycle vs. bicycle), but it was a great improvement over chain lines. That said, I don't have an issue with a chain with the Rohloff. I've been using White Lightning chain lube for 20 + yrs on all my bikes. It is a wax based lube. It will still tattoo you if you haven't cleaned the chain in awhile, but generally it is still much cleaner than petroleum based lubes. Only problem is that it does tend to cake up on components such as derailleurs and tensioners, so you occasionally need to take care of that + I tend to use a lot of it since it is designed to flake off with the contaminants as you ride. The thing with the Rohloff is that you are not continually bashing the chain against the cogs every time you shift. It simply runs from front to rear sprocket, no side to side movement jumping up and down on a rear cassette + front chainrings. Chain life, with a little attention, is probably triple that of a derailleur. The sprockets will eventually need replacement, but not for a long time. Also, the Roloff has a reversible sprocket. You simply spin it off and turn it around, so you get twice the life. Just did that on my trike Rohloff after getting maybe 10K miles on the one side. Only the second sprocket I've had on the trike in over 20K miles.

Oh man, that's an age-old problem with no good answer. My thoughts on that: the bicycle, by design, is a bit of a torture device. You are forced to bend over like a pretzel while getting a seemingly postage stamp size saddle ("so called support") up your butt. I don't know if anyone totally beats that issue. I think we just minimize the problem. When purchasing a new bike, my LBS has allowed me to take a saddle and try it out for a few rides, then return it an try another if that isn't working out. I've heard of shops that will accept a deposit, then do the same thing. The thing is, everyone is built differently and each bike has different geometry. Getting the right saddle for yourself is a black art - and certainly there are no pat answers. You will find that very slight tweaks in handlebar and seat height, or the forward/backward pitch of the saddle, can make a huge difference. Everyone is different. I find the Terry Men's Liberator:

http://www.terrybicycles.com/Saddles/Mens-Saddles/Liberator-Y-Elite

works great for me - all day riding with no pain - but I have friend who thinks it sucks. He is a Brooks guy. Retro-grouch. I did buy a Brooks about 15 years ago and lived with if for maybe 2000 miles. Beautiful workmanship, but it never broke in to my satisfaction. To each their own. I have never tried the Ergon saddle (same as yours) that comes with the GX, but I'll certainly give it a shot before switching it out. The Bisaddle looks very interesting. I'm guessing that you'll end up with one, so please let us know your impressions. The immediate - though not elegant - solution for you may be to get a gel cover for the Ergon, at least until you figure out the best solution. My wife has a saddle that the guys at my LBS call "the sofa". Super wide, looks like it is made for a stationary trainer (probably is). She has a gel cover on it and it got her through thousands of touring miles. Like I said, all of us are different and the combinations/solutions are endless . . . One reason I bought a trike was that those issues totally go away: you are pedaling in a relaxed, laid back recumbent position while sitting on what almost amounts to a lawn chair.

Matt: it is great to hear that you are so enjoying your bike. Makes me super eager to get a hold of my Delite and start riding. Kind of glad I have been forced to wait a few weeks for delivery though - at the moment in NY it is windy and cold for the foreseeable future. Snow today, super cold over the weekend, and more snow predicted for next week. If I had the bike now, like you, I'd be out there courting frostbite, for sure.
I braved the storm today and rode about 20 miles throughout the afternoon/evening in Philadelphia today. I put up a picture of the bike tonight while waiting for the subway home.

The GT tires did alright. I was riding on a bunch of different snow situations; soft thick snow, slushy roads, hard packed snow, ice. The bike just goes right through the majority of it. You cant really go through 6 inches of soft snow without slipping unless its only a few feet. When I had to go through that I would ride until the bike would slip to one side and just catch it and walk the rest. After a while I started getting some courage and riding right through it, usually had to put my foot down to stop from falling over every few feet though.

Over hard packed snow and really thick slush, you can move quickly but you have to keep perfect balance and go straight, if you turn the handlebars at all you start to slide and have to hope you catch yourself. When I was riding on a thin layer of slush up to an inch or so it was fine, you will only slip if you turn try to turn fast. When it was later in the evening and all that soft snow turned to that crunchy ice snow, the bike went over and through that perfectly fine almost as if it was asphalt, you could turn and go fast. Most of the main roads were just wet with patches of snow/slush so it wasn't too bad. The back roads were tough though, sometimes I would use the sidewalk since that was the only thing plowed. I enjoyed riding the bike in the snow even tough I had to put my foot down to stop from sliding at least a hundred times lol. Just thought I would share that experience!

P.S. When I am not logged into the site and try to read the forums, it tells me my IP address is banned. It allows me on the site but if I click forum it would say I am banned unless I login. Weird....

1/1
InversionEnabled
3 years ago

It seems relatively quiet

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Yeah, the direct drive (gearless) hub motor is pretty quiet indeed :)

Aubrizzle
4 years ago

Any news about the st2?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

I've heard a couple people talk about it but haven't seen or heard much myself. You could create a thread in the Community and maybe get some input from other Stromer fans http://electricbikereview.com/community/forums/stromer/ If I see you there I'll dig in a bit and post what I've heard :)

mo jooly
4 years ago

Laws R made 2 B steped on

Joe Pah
4 years ago

You're making me nervous riding like that on a city street!  Get a cheap mounter camera.. Please..

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Thanks for the concern Joe, this was one of the busier test locations I've been at. I try to keep my helmet handy and use common sense but a different camera setup might also help :)

mike willis
4 years ago

great review i think u really need to invest in a go pro cam so u can do a longer better safer drive test and it would mos def help your channel grow!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Thanks for the suggestion, I've been considering it and have actually updated my filming technique a bit recently. Still trying to get it right ;)

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Cool, thanks again for calling this out and the tip :)

tobbe lerone
4 years ago

seems to be a throttle, this guy got it reviewed: NYCeWheels, search for his video over here

MRTHAKKAR123
4 years ago

How much does this cost?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Thanks for calling this out and providing the solution here! When it's in boost mode, how do you actually "throttle" the bike? Is there another button or a lever or twister?

tobbe lerone
4 years ago

also, it would be great to see some maybe daily vlogs on the interbike ;) cheers

tobbe lerone
4 years ago

i already figured it out, in the manual it says you have to long press the selection button to get in the boost mode. it will support riding without pedaling between 3 and 20 km/h. i think most people get this wrong, also in the shops because you have to read as it isnt obvious.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Great catch, to be honest I'm not really sure? I didn't see a throttle or setting for that on the bike but maybe it's buried in the computer system? I tried these bikes at a shop and the manager had said the were only pedal assist... Maybe a newer model has come out? I'll ask the reps at Interbike this next week and try to get back to you with the info here :)

tobbe lerone
4 years ago

are you sure you got your facts right?? because on the stromer site it says the following:

The support mode can be selected from four different output modes. In addition, the Stromer has a boost mode (riding mode without pedaling support) and push assistance.

So, to my understanding the boost mode is a mode where u can use a twist throttle? right or wrong, did you test these modes?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Good call, everyone keeps asking me about Prodeco bikes but I just haven't had the chance to review them yet. I rode one at Interbike last year and was unimpressed due to the geometry. It rode like a downhill bomber and I didn't like the rear rack.

I really like what Easy Motion is doing, they have bikes that offer everything this Stromer does at a fraction of the price and they can go above 20mph too! I mention this in the full review of the Stromer Platinum on the site.

george04b
4 years ago

if this bike had a throttle it would be in my house now, even with the almost 4000 price tag. i love the 28mph but there is also the prodeco ss wish is almost half the price and has a throttle but im saving and will wait for interbike :) tho i saw your pics on fb and i saw that they are rasing the prices....