Stromer ST1 Elite Review

Stromer St1 Elite Electric Bike Review 1
Stromer St1 Elite
Stromer St1 Elite Hub Motor
Stromer St1 Elite Pedal
Stromer St1 Elite Lcd Computer
Stromer St1 Elite Disc Brake
Stromer St1 Elite Electric Bike Review 1
Stromer St1 Elite
Stromer St1 Elite Hub Motor
Stromer St1 Elite Pedal
Stromer St1 Elite Lcd Computer
Stromer St1 Elite Disc Brake


  • High performance components, beautiful aesthetic, pedal assist only
  • Strong 500 watt gearless hub motor with regenerative braking
  • Fewer gears, lower top speed and no shock option as compared with the Stromer ST1 Platinum
  • Heavier and more expensive than comparable electric bikes

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





ST1 Elite


$3,599 USD

Body Position:

Forward Aggressive

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Year Battery (Or 1,000 Full Charge Cycles), 2 Year Motor, 3 Year Frame


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62 lbs (28.12 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.6 lbs (2.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in (41.91 cm)20 in (50.8 cm)

Frame Types:

High-Step, Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid, Carbon Fiber

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

9 Speed 1x9 Shimano Sora, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

Rapid Fire on Right Bar


42T or 52T Depending on Motor


Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform


Low Rise

Brake Details:

Magura MT2 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors and Motor Cutoff Sensor




Stromer Special

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Ben, 26" x 2.125

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Single Side Kickstand, Optional City Kit with Front and Rear LED Lights (B+M Lumotec IQ Fly/Supernova E3 Front and B+M Toplight Mini Rear), Fenders and Rear Carry Rack by Racktime


TMM4 Torque Sensor, Regenerative Braking

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

TDCM (Mountain 33" Model)

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

40 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah (Optional 14.5 ah)

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh (Optional 522 wh)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Manganese

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Display Type:

Backlit Monochrome LCD on Right Bar


Speed, Odometer, Trip Time, Battery Level, Assist Level (4 Modes), Regeneration Level (2 Modes)

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Stromer ST1 Elite is one step down from the Platinum and offers fewer gears, a lower top speed, no front shock option and one less color choice… but you save $600. This is a well designed bike that rides smooth and looks amazing. It does not offer twist throttle mode which means you’ll have to pedal continuously to activate the motor, but that reduces complexity in the system. On the upside, this bike offers regenerative braking and the motor is activated via torque sensor vs. the simpler pedalec system. It truly feels like you’re flying when you ride this bike but the price tag is pretty steep.

Driving this bike is a gearless 500 watt motor rated at 600 watts which basically means you get extra power. Gearless motors coast silently and in this case, offer regenerative braking which extends range and reduces wear on the brakes. The brakes themselves are oversized hydraulic discs that work exceedingly well. The system is clean with minimal wires and cables that are integrated seamlessly below the downtube. It’s easy to fall for the aesthetic of this bike and forget it’s electric at all.

The battery pack driving the motor offers 36 volts of power and 10 amp hours of range in the form of Lithium Nickel Metal Hydride. Stromer offers an amazing three year warranty on this battery and you can also buy a second one to extend range for $700. All in all, this battery pack is average in terms of size and power but that keeps it light and dare I say, more affordable? The LCD computer system that connects the battery with the motor is intuitive, sleek and well protected offering the standard speed, capacity and power settings you’d expect.

The truth about this bike is that it works much better than some of Stromer’s older designs like the Sport but it’s not perfect. For one thing, it’s heavy! weighing in at 62 pounds. That’s due in part to the gearless hub motor which enables the regenerative braking. If you compare this bike with the Easy Motion Neo Race, you spend $400 less and have a 42 pound bike! Now you won’t get regenerative braking and large cushy tires… but the ride will be comparable and you’ll get twist throttle support.

Overall I’m very impressed with the ST1 Elite. It’s fun to ride, looks great, comes in multiple sizes for a good fit and the battery warranty is amazing. Stromer has been around since 2010 and continues to refine their bikes. They now offer a City Kit with integrated lights, fenders and a rear rack + basket system. You can even have your company logo painted onto the frame. If you’re looking for a solid performer and can spare the extra cash this is a great choice.


  • Clean, focused design with limited clutter and complexity
  • Awesome regenerative braking system, extends range and reduces wear on brakes
  • Strong 500 watt motor 36 volt battery combination, battery is removable
  • Sturdy, oversized tires are puncture resistant and provide shock absorption when riding
  • High quality “City Kit” upgrade includes lights, fenders and rack + basket
  • Multiple frame sizes, including step-through, and two colors to choose from (black and white)
  • Awesome three year warranty on the battery pack
  • Ability to customize graphics on the frame if you pay extra


  • Only offers pedal assist whereas other ebikes also offer throttle mode
  • Bike is heavier than comparable ebikes, partially due to gearless hub motor vs. geared
  • Expensive as compared with similarly specced electric bikes
  • Only available with a carbon fork vs. shock absorber (have to upgrade to the Platinum to get the shock)


More Stromer Reviews

Stromer ST1 X Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A more affordable Stromer electric bike that still offers regenerative braking and speed pedelec performance with ~28 mph top speeds, available in high-step and mid-step frames. Beautifully integrated touch display and companion mobile app can be used to track the bike…...

Stromer ST1 Limited Edition Review

  • MSRP: $3,990
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A limited run (only 399 produced) speed pedelec with premium integrated lights from Supernova and Toplight, Aluminum fenders, rear carry rack from Racktime and Magura hydraulic disc brakes. High end Shimano Deore XT drive train with nine sprockets geared for 28+ mph riding…...

Stromer ST2 S Review

  • MSRP: $9,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

An urban racer with smooth electronic shifting, app-driven performance tuning, ultra-bright dynamic lighting that responds to braking, five levels of power regen and regenerative braking. Available in three high-step frame sizes for improved fit, impressive weight distribution for a hub-powered…...

Stromer ST1 S Review

  • MSRP: $4,790
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed urban electric bike emphasizing sport riding (flatter handle bar, no rack) available in two frame sizes, one high-step style and one color (metallic lime green). Carbon fiber fork reduces weight and dampens vibration, oversized road tires cushion the ride and…...

Stromer ST1 T Review

  • MSRP: $4,790
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A solid, high speed city ebike with purpose built Aluminum frame, custom fenders and minimalist rack, premium integrated lights and hidden downtube battery. Available in two frame sizes and with an optional suspension fork for $350 more, the…...

Stromer ST2 Review

  • MSRP: $6,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016, 2017

Extremely polished, high performance urban style electric bike available in two frame sizes and configurations. One of the most responsive and satisfying electric bikes I've tested, speed pedelec can reach…...

Stromer ST1 Platinum Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

High quality components, beautiful clean aesthetic, pedal assist only. Powerful 500 watt gearless rear hub motor with regenerative braking...

Stromer Sport Review

  • MSRP: $3,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2012, 2013

Beautiful design integrates the battery, controller and wires while evenly distributing weight from front to rear. Powerful, near-silent, 500 watt gearless rear hub motor can reach 25 mph in pedal assist…...

Jason in Modesto
2 years ago

Stromers, including the ST1 Elite, have a Boost mode which requires no peddling. By default it will only go to 12.5mph, but can be configured with the controller code 3775 setting to go to 20mph.

2 years ago

Wow! This is really cool Jason, thanks for sharing and providing a link to the different codes. How does the boost work exactly? Do you hold down on the up arrow or something?


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

1 day ago

It depends what kind of a bike you have. With respect to batteries, we have several companies over here in the EU that refurb these. It’s usually expensive (same price as new battery), except for the Stromer refurbs that are a “bargain” (up to 40% less than the price of an original ST2 battery).

There is also a battery aftermarket for certain bikes. Finding a battery for a Bosch classic is not a problem. There’s a 3rd party battery for the Yamaha PW system as well, which is quite cheap. Availability of parts is actually why it’s a good idea to stay away from stuff that’s too proprietary. Finding a 26V Panasonic battery is not a problem. It’s not cheap but it’s available. And then there are the bikes which use pretty standard stuff out of the box. Even in 6 years time, you’ll be able to find a battery for a CC...

It’s a choice you have to make at purchase time. I’m fairly confident that Yamaha parts will be available a long time. It’s one of the reasons I bought into that system.

As for your Pedego, you might be surprised what it’s possible to do in 5 years. A rear drive is always almost replaceable. And even solutions to replace old mid-drives exist. A fellow on the German Pedelec forum made custom mounting brackets for an old Panasonic drive so that he could fit a BBS01 (edit) onto it...

Original thread:

(skip to post 20 for a picture of the Baflyer = Bafung + Flyer)

1 day ago

Here is my dilemma my LBS has no major hills nearby that would be similar to my daily commute. I like the Stromer ST1 Elite how does this compare to the more powerful motor of the Radcity hill climbing? If I go the mid-drive route I would most likely look for an internal hub or Nuvinci system bike both of which I have not ridden as of yet. Am I asking too much? Please do tell.


Chris Hammond
2 days ago

If you choose to recharge at the office, you could very easily use the recommended 20-80% charge cycle that will dramatically extend battery life. Basically if you don't charge the battery to more than 80% of capacity or discharge it lower than 20%, you will likely see usable battery life increase by 200 to 400%.
Buying a bike with the largest capacity you can reasonably afford will make this easier to accomplish.
It seems you are primarily interested in higher end bikes that are mid-drives. I would suggest you also look at a few hub drive bikes. Hub drives are likely going to be lower maintenance machines overall just by design. Mid-drives increase wear on all drivetrain components. A good choice to look at in the high end hub drive market is Stromer. For the prices you are likely considering, you can also get a larger battery with the Stromer, exception being the R&M.

Frank D
2 days ago

l have not trouble to believe what you say about the flooded downtube. l just went in a bike store to see how the Strömer's where built and that's one thing l've noticed on the ST1x: the door would not fit perfectly the downtube and the gap was really visible. Water would no doubt infiltrate that space. Doors on the ST1 where better for what l saw. it's a weak point for Stromer ST1 x's....

For the your brake issue, for me it's not a problem. My bike is equiped with Magura hydrolic brake and they work good in all conditions.

2 days ago

The downtube can get flooded in torrential rain, and it may damage the controller. Common problem with the ST1X and ST2...

I ride my Yamaha powered bike in the rain but stay away from heavy downpours. Nevertheless there’s sometimes lots of water on the ground and the brake calipers get flooded which makes it difficult to brake. That’s more of a problem than anything else. Oddly no one ever mentions it.

Frank D
2 days ago

l do have a Bosch ebike. Someone told me that the o ring in the bottom bracket is weak. And not only the center drive motor does get sprayed, but the battery connection to. That's why l thought about a Strömer because the system is more integrated to the frame...

Nova Haibike
3 days ago

When you're riding through the wet and muck, unless you have good long mudguards fitted to the bike, the bottom bracket area get hit with a fair amount of water. A hub is much more protected from the elements, as spray is directed away from it.

Frank D
3 days ago

What system would you recommend for winter riding in Canada/Montreal ? Bosch or Strömer ?

Frank D
3 days ago

Thanks for that info.
In your opinion, what would be the best ebike system against winter elements (cold, rain, snow but specially potential problems caused by salt) between the Bosch and the Strömer system ?

3 days ago

One of our former salesmen who has two young children and runs a daycare went car free about 4 years ago. I do not see him very frequently any more but last time I saw him he said it was working very well for him. Both him and his wife own Stromer ST2 they use Burley and custom made trailers. The also have a Spicy curry. He said he would never go back to owning a car. Madison is a very bike friendly city with an extensive trail system, much easier to get around with a bike. The weather is not so bike friendly but I know a lot of year round riders even with children. I see him riding around and he sure looks happy with his decision.

4 days ago

Stromer ST1 or Haibike Urban Plus can be had for the same price as a CCS, but would require a battery recharge at work (packs won't be as large as the CCS).

4 days ago

The Swedish Bike Show in Stockholm this weekend wasnt much to write home about.

It was the big swedish retailers showing off their bikes and only some ebikes from standard brands like Scott, Merida, ecoRide, Wallerang, Crescent, Monark etc.

No smaller retailer with any for me more exciting and interesting brands where there like Bulls, R&M, Haibike, Stromer, Cube or Moustache.

I will go to Elovelo (ebike store in Stockholm) this week and test ride and compare R&M and Moustache.

The search continues!

7 days ago

the ST1 Elite I believe is 40nm is here

2 weeks ago

Looking for E-Bike under $2K
Me (5'10" 190#) mid 50's
Commute 14 Miles round trip (Last 2.5 miles to my home is uphill (3-7%) steepest incline (13%) for about 200 yards.
The bike will be used on weekends for other recreational rides. All mountainous terrain but mostly pavement (grades 0-22%).
Would like racks, fenders, lights, and comfort
Roads are mostly pavement.
I have tried Haibike Bosche and Stromer ST1 Elite but would prefer a bike with a throttle.
Would a Stromer ST1 Elite have what is needed to climb these hills without too much effort? (slightly over my price range, no throttle but very nice)

Bikes on my short list are:
Crosscurrent S
Magnum Metro
Biktrix Stunner
EGlide ST

3 weeks ago

I am researching to buy a low-end ebike for weekend fun on the bike trails. My budget is around $1500 and I can afford to buy Stromer ST1 elite or Haibike HardSeven or SDuro Cross from local dealer.

I know they are totally different bikes in terms of specs but I believe both work for me. However, I am not sure which one is better. Mid-drive yamaha motor on Haibike or rear-wheel drive motor on the ST1 elite ?


3 months ago

Hi All,

Firstly, I am a new member. I have been commuting by motorcycle for the last 5 years and I’m tired of sitting in stop and go traffic, burning my ass while bicycles pass me:)

Anyways, I want a bike for under $2500 Canadian ($2000 usd) that will make my 15km commute really quick. The commute has some hills but nothing really steep and the roads are smooth. I want at least 45km/hr. Right now Stromer st1 elites are on sale for $2300 and I can get a CrossCurrent s for the same amount. I am leaning heavily towards the CrossCurrent because of the speed.

I value any input and help making this decision as it is not a minuscule investment. All opinions are valued, thank you in advance.

6 months ago are selling for $2k in large 20" size. It is a pedal assist but the display can be to increase the speed limit of the boost function to 20mph pressing the + button as a throttle. Here's a, it says you might need to replace the squeaky brake pads.

9 months ago

Neither, get the Bulls Lacuba evo e45. It has better specs than the Stromer and Vado. I prefer the e45 over the Giant and the Integrale 11 too.
Call Brent at Great Western Ebikes, if you go in the store, he will work you a deal. btw, I own a Levo and an e45, so I have a dog in both fights. The e45 rides like a dream.

9 months ago

Looking for a commuter for a 20 mile round trip commute in hilly terrain. My wife has a Stromer ST1 Elite that I like but with so much weight in the back it isn't the most balanced bike I've ever ridden. I haven't test ridden the Specialized as there isn't one local yet but the reviews intrigued me. Anyone know if the Stromer ST1 Elite battery is compatible with the ST1x? Any input, advice, or other suggestions appreciated.

9 months ago

Looking for a commuter for a 20 mile round trip commute in hilly terrain. My wife has a Stromer ST1 Elite that I like but with so much weight in the back it isn't the most balanced bike I've ever ridden. I haven't test ridden the Specialized as there isn't one local yet but the reviews intrigued me. Anyone know if the Stromer ST1 Elite battery is compatible with the ST1x? Any input, advice, or other suggestions appreciated.

Stromer Bomber
10 months ago

I have a 2013 ST1 Platinum that I bought new in July of 2013. My bike also has 27 speeds and a gold battery. If your bike was a St1, and it has 27 speeds, it would be a St1 Platinum - as the ST1 Elite only came with a 9 speed and a purple battery, but you could upgrade to a gold battery. A ST1 Platinum can also reach speeds of 28 mph, while the Elite is rated at 20 mph. I have thousands of fun filled miles on my bike, and those are miles I haven't put on my car. Let me know if I can help you with your bike.

George Jetson
10 months ago

You might be interestedin this thread that I started...

PTFC Brian
10 months ago

I'll watch the video this evening, thanks!

Yes, the dreaded rear hub-motor/flat tire challenge (the only real flaw of the hub-motor design). Funny you should mention this. I had a few rear flats on my ST1 elite, then added a tire liner and Slime tube. I wanted to see how good the Big Ben Puncture Guard tires are without the added protection, and that wasn't a good idea. Took a 1" ring nail through the center of the tire, and unfortunately my pump failed to function, and I had to call my wife to pick me up.

As you noted, The Cyro Drive is similar to the Syno Drive, and a lot better than the ST1 motor. It's much easier to remove, and there are no rear zip-ties! The early reviews and photos showed a rear zip-tie, but the final design excluded it. There is just a power wire and controller wire to unscrew, and remove the through-axle, that's it. Since then, I put heavy-duty Slime tubes on both wheels, and kevlar tire liners.

4 years ago

It seems relatively quiet
4 years ago

Yeah, the direct drive (gearless) hub motor is pretty quiet indeed :)

4 years ago

Any news about the st2?
4 years ago

I've heard a couple people talk about it but haven't seen or heard much myself. You could create a thread in the Community and maybe get some input from other Stromer fans If I see you there I'll dig in a bit and post what I've heard :)

mo jooly
4 years ago

Laws R made 2 B steped on

Joe Pah
4 years ago

You're making me nervous riding like that on a city street!  Get a cheap mounter camera.. Please..
4 years ago

Thanks for the concern Joe, this was one of the busier test locations I've been at. I try to keep my helmet handy and use common sense but a different camera setup might also help :)

mike willis
4 years ago

great review i think u really need to invest in a go pro cam so u can do a longer better safer drive test and it would mos def help your channel grow!!
4 years ago

Thanks for the suggestion, I've been considering it and have actually updated my filming technique a bit recently. Still trying to get it right ;)
5 years ago

Cool, thanks again for calling this out and the tip :)

tobbe lerone
5 years ago

seems to be a throttle, this guy got it reviewed: NYCeWheels, search for his video over here

5 years ago

How much does this cost?
5 years ago

Thanks for calling this out and providing the solution here! When it's in boost mode, how do you actually "throttle" the bike? Is there another button or a lever or twister?

tobbe lerone
5 years ago

also, it would be great to see some maybe daily vlogs on the interbike ;) cheers

tobbe lerone
5 years ago

i already figured it out, in the manual it says you have to long press the selection button to get in the boost mode. it will support riding without pedaling between 3 and 20 km/h. i think most people get this wrong, also in the shops because you have to read as it isnt obvious.
5 years ago

Great catch, to be honest I'm not really sure? I didn't see a throttle or setting for that on the bike but maybe it's buried in the computer system? I tried these bikes at a shop and the manager had said the were only pedal assist... Maybe a newer model has come out? I'll ask the reps at Interbike this next week and try to get back to you with the info here :)

tobbe lerone
5 years ago

are you sure you got your facts right?? because on the stromer site it says the following:

The support mode can be selected from four different output modes. In addition, the Stromer has a boost mode (riding mode without pedaling support) and push assistance.

So, to my understanding the boost mode is a mode where u can use a twist throttle? right or wrong, did you test these modes?
5 years ago

Good call, everyone keeps asking me about Prodeco bikes but I just haven't had the chance to review them yet. I rode one at Interbike last year and was unimpressed due to the geometry. It rode like a downhill bomber and I didn't like the rear rack.

I really like what Easy Motion is doing, they have bikes that offer everything this Stromer does at a fraction of the price and they can go above 20mph too! I mention this in the full review of the Stromer Platinum on the site.

5 years ago

if this bike had a throttle it would be in my house now, even with the almost 4000 price tag. i love the 28mph but there is also the prodeco ss wish is almost half the price and has a throttle but im saving and will wait for interbike :) tho i saw your pics on fb and i saw that they are rasing the prices....