Tern Node D8 with BionX Review

Tern Node D8 With Bionx Electric Bike Review 1
Tern Node D8 With Bionx
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Folded
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Removable Battery
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Display Panel
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Cassette Derailleur
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Center Fold Lock
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Folded Top View
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Gearless Motor
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Rim Brakes Fender
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Stem Fold Lock
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Electric Bike Review 1
Tern Node D8 With Bionx
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Folded
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Removable Battery
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Display Panel
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Cassette Derailleur
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Center Fold Lock
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Folded Top View
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Gearless Motor
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Rim Brakes Fender
Tern Node D8 With Bionx Stem Fold Lock


  • High quality folding frame from Tern combined with sophisticated, durable and quiet drive system from BionX
  • Four levels of pedal assist and regen as well as regenerative braking and variable speed trigger throttle
  • Smoother riding electric bike thanks to larger 24" wheels vs. traditional 20", display panel and battery pack are removable for convenience and reduced weight

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





Node D8 with BionX


$2,750 USD

Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Travel, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


5 Year Frame, 2 Year Electronics and Battery


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

45 lbs (20.41 kg)

Battery Weight:

6 lbs (2.72 kg)

Motor Weight:

9 lbs (4.08 kg)

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

(Folded Size 39 cm x 86 cm x 84 cm)

Frame Types:

Folding (Patented OCL Joint, DoubleTruss Technology)

Frame Colors:

Black with Blue Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Hi-Tensile Steel

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rack Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 8x1 Suntour Neos 1.0, (12-32T)

Shifter Details:

SRAM MRX Comp Half-Twist on Right Handle Bar


Folding Aluminum and Plastic Platform


Flux, Cartridge Bearings, Tri-Seal Technology


Physis 3D, Forged Aluminum


Flat (Aluminum)

Brake Details:



BioLogic Ergo



Seat Post:

SuperOversize, 6061 Aluminum with Micro Adjust Clamp


Aluminum (With Brass Spoke Nipples)


Stainless Steel

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Road Cruiser with KevlarGuard, 24" x 1.6"

Wheel Sizes:

24 in (60.96cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewalls


Front and Rear Fenders with Mud Flaps, Rear Portage Rack with Bungee Cords


Magnetix 2.0 Folding Clasp Connector

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:


Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

40 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

6.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

316.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Manganese Cobalt

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Display Type:

Backlit LCD (Removable, Symmetrical Integrated Buttons for Right or Left Handed Users)


4 Proportional Assist and Generate Modes, Lighting Controls, Battery Voltage, Trip Distance, Odometer, Chronometer, Average Speed, Clock

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (With Variable Speed Trigger Throttle)

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (Throttle Will Not Activate Below 2 mph, Assist Levels 35%, 75%, 150%, 300%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Tern Node D8 with BionX is a mid-sized folding electric bike with larger 24″ wheels meant to smooth out the ride and improve handling. It features a higher end drive system from BionX that’s durable, powerful and quiet to operate in a range of modes including pedal assist and throttle. Even with the battery attached, the Node folds completely but you can opt to remove it for reduced weight or convenient charging. Both Tern and BionX are respected manufacturers, known for quality builds and good support. In my opinion they’ve created one of the most functional, well balanced and beautiful folding electric bikes around with the Node D8. Depending on your needs, they offer a very similar ebike called the Link D8 that uses 20″ wheels allowing it to become even more compact when folded. Either bike performs well and the Link is $50 less, but overall these are higher end and that’s reflected in the price and 5 year frame, 2 year drive system warranty.

The motor driving the Tern Node D8 electric is a 350 watt gearless direct drive hub from BionX. It’s located in the rear wheel for improved traction. Note that this motor has a larger diameter and higher weight than some equally specced gearless hubs but delivers increased toughness and quieter operation. I’m not aware of many folding electric bikes that offer regenerative braking or regen modes but the Node D8 with BionX has both. There are actually four levels of regen here to help you recapture energy while simultaneously slowing the bike and sparing your brake pads when coasting down hills. This feature can also be used as a form of increased challenge if you want to raise your heart rate and don’t have any hills around to climb. While this bike does not have a rear quick release mechanism (only on the front wheel) the rear wheel is still easier to service because the motor has a built in torque sensor vs. an external dropout strain gauge.

Powering the Tern Node D8 is a BionX made Lithium-ion battery pack containing Panasonic cells. It offers 48 volts of power which is above average. This has several benefits including increased torque, improved climbing ability and more efficient electricity transfer. In terms of overall capacity, this pack is slightly smaller than the stock BionX kits but that enables the folding-with-battery feature mentioned earlier and keeps the overall weight of the bike down. At 45 pounds (with the 6 pound battery attached) this isn’t the world’s lightest folding ebike but that’s due in part to the high quality fenders and rack that add utility. You could always remove these extras to shave a bit off and reduce any rattling noise that can develop over time with use, folding and storage.

The control panel on this bike is one of my favorites because it’s slim, removable, backlit and packed with readouts but not overly complex to use. It’s a second generation display from BionX with four buttons (two on each side) that are symmetrical, designed to be usable on the left or right hand side. What I’ve found is that I usually only press the upper right hand button on the display to get the bike powered up and then rely on the stand-alone button pad and throttle which are mounted on the right handle bar. Many ebikes forego throttles but it can be useful when your legs get tired (especially on a smaller bike like this) or trying to balance groceries and packages. The rear rack helps with this but you get the point… imagine crossing a puddle and wanting to keep your feet raised temporarily but still needing to move forward, that’s where a throttle can really shine. On this system (as well as other BionX) you have to get the bike up to 2 mph before the throttle will activate and this is a safety feature.

Aside from the display and buttons I like the ergonomic grips and simple grip shifter on the right side of the handlebar. I’d consider adding a bell and lights to this setup depending on your intended use. I should mention that only the right brake lever has a motor cutoff and regen activator built in. If you brake with the left lever, regenerative braking will not activate. This is a minor gripe and again, a design feature related to all BionX kits at the time of this review. Other grips include basic grips (no lockers to keep them straight), basic plastic folding pedals vs. aluminum, basic v-brakes vs. disc (they get the job done pretty well and keep the price down), and lack of suspension or the ability to add a seat post shock due to the extra-long length required.

The Tern Node D8 with BionX combines two proven platforms. The quality locking mechanisms and folding design from Tern are superb and I love the magnetic clasp meant to keep the bike from unfolding. The silent and durable motor from BionX feels zippy and the removable battery is convenient. I’m a fan of pedal assist but see the value in throttles so it’s nice that this folding ebike offers both. The eight speed cassette provides good range for climbing or pedaling fast (which is less wobbly on a bike with larger 24″ wheel size). I like the reflective sidewalls on the wheels and the Kevlar lining to deter flats. The crank arms on this bike are actually quite long for a smaller bike and that makes pedaling feel natural. While many folding electric bikes opt for rear mounted batteries I love that this one has a more balanced weight distribution combined with a “full frame” feel that doesn’t feel squished. If you’re looking for quality and can trade some space for improved ride quality then the Link D8 would be an excellent choice. It would be useful on an RV, Boat or cabin where space is limited but you plan to bike frequently and for longer distances.


  • Solid two year warranty on the frame, drive system and battery pack – Tern and BionX are both large, well established companies
  • Beautiful aesthetic with matching black and blue frame and black battery casing featuring co-branded Tern + BionX art
  • Just about every drive mode you could ask for including four levels of torque sensing pedal assist, four levels of energy regeneration and variable speed trigger throttle
  • Independent button pad on right side of handle bar is easy to reach (to change assist mode or use the throttle) doesn’t require that you take your hand off the grip to use
  • Battery pack can be charged on or off the bike, does not have to be removed for the frame to fold completely
  • Motor is powerful, durable (thanks to the gearless direct drive configuration) and very quiet to operate
  • Full length front and rear fenders with mud flaps, rear carry rack includes built in bungee cords for securing cargo
  • Several nice extras including reflective sidewalls on tires and backlit LCD display panel for improved safety during evening and night riding, ergonomic grips for improved comfort and magnetic clasp for secure folded position
  • Good weight distribution with the 9 pound hub motor at the rear and the 6 pound battery pack mounted forward on the downtube
  • BionX battery has a deep sleep protection feature that keeps it from discharging in a way that could hurt the battery over longer periods of storage
  • Satisfying to pedal thanks to the longer crank arms and eight speeds cassette, good for climbing or riding faster


  • Larger 24″ wheels provide a more comfortable ride and elevate the frame for larger riders but limit how small this bike can get when folded, consider the Tern Link D8 if space is very limited in your intended use
  • Only the right brake lever cuts power to the motor and activates power regeneration mode, it would be nice if both did
  • Rear wheel does not feature quick release, will have to use traditional tools during maintenance or fixing a flat


More Tern Reviews

Tern GSD Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A sturdy, reliable, non-flexy, compact electric cargo bike with plenty of accessories to transport kids or even other adults, rated to haul up to 400 lbs. Available in three fun colors, highly visible with reflective tires, frame and bag decals, and…...

Tern Vektron Review

  • MSRP: $3,400
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A premium folding electric bike with Bosch drive system and leading warranty, sturdy and quiet with plenty of adjustability (seat post height and stem angle), smart accessories help you carry gear and stay dry without noise. The folding joints are thick and sturdy but don't have sharp edges, both latches have…...

Tern Link D8 with BionX Review

  • MSRP: $2,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High quality folding frame from Tern combined with sophisticated and quiet drive system from BionX. Four levels of pedal assist and regen as well as regenerative braking and variable speed…...

Ken Sanders
3 years ago

Really like that BionX system.

3 years ago

Me too Ken, they’ve been ahead of the pack with hub motor design for several years and the software and integrated update network that dealers use to troubleshoot and fix stuff is pretty amazing… this application is neat because it addresses a new niche of people who want folding but appreciate the more traditional size and ride quality of a full size bike :D

12 months ago

Every bike I read about lately that seems perfect doesn’t seem to exist any more. I don’t see a 24″ electric folding bike on their site at the moment. Did someone else add the Bionx to the Tern D8?

12 months ago

Good point, this was one of the only 24″ folding ebikes I have ever seen… it’s an uncommon wheel size, folding or otherwise! Not sure what to tell you. I guess it just wasn’t popular enough and people wanted the smaller wheels or preferred thicker tires that approximate 20″+ diameter since they add comfort.


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Ravi Kempaiah
4 hours ago

5 hours ago

Hi Everyone!

Thank you, in advance, for reading this through and providing any insight or advice!

About 4 years ago, frustrated with the rising cost of public transportation, I decided to eliminate my dependence on it as much as possible and purchased a bike. It's a folder; Tern P24h and I've loved it. It's a workhorse and has taken all the that abuse I, and nature, could through at it. It also manages our many hills like a champ.

My ride is about 12 miles round trip. I use one form of public trans to get me in the City. It's a regretful compromise and also the reason I have a folder.

Lately I've been thinking about getting an upgraded ride for my commute and discovered the cost of a higher-end folder is close to that of an e-bike! Why pay for folding, when I could pay for power? :)

And this brings us to one of the main reasons I'd like to go electric: to exchange my current route for a picturesque, pub-trans-free route which goes up and down the Hudson River (for those who know the area). It's a 40 mile round-trip journey. I have taken this route with my folder and found that life keeps getting in the way of being able to build the endurance needed to make this a typical weekday commute.

Other reasons include just being able to take longer trips, pick up more groceries, visit friends with ease...normal stuff that probably most of us here want to do.

My budget is about $5k.

I've tried the Bosch CX, Performance, and Active line. I like Performance the best (if that's the one that reaches 28 mph).

These are four bikes I'm considering and I'd love your opinion about them, and am open to suggestions if you have a better option:

[*]Cannondale Contro-E 2017
[*]Bulls Urban Evo 2018
[*]Kalkhoff Endeavour Advance B10 Speed
[*]Riese & Muller Roadster HS

The main issue that concerns me is durability. I could put 10,000 miles on the bike in a year, in all kinds of weather and in all temperatures. Will these engines last? Which bikes are the easiest to maintain? Which need it the least?

Thank you for reading this and for offering any experiences and/or advice you have. I really appreciate it! :)

Chris Hammond
9 hours ago

The broken spoke issue seems to be resolved. This is based on limited data. Juiced changed both the type/brand of rear spokes they use and the lacing pattern of the spokes in November. I haven't been hearing complaints by owners of the new bikes about broken spokes. Like I said limited info at this time.
As far as the chain drop issue goes, I am not aware of a fix from Juiced at this point. There have been mixed reviews about shortening the chain to resolve this. I know Reid was looking at a "narrow-wide tooth" front chainring. He also mentioned that he hasn't been able to find a front chainstay that will work on the bike. He changed to a Shimano shadow rear derailler with 10 spd cassette. IIRC he reported that has seemed to fix the problem for him. Also, FWIW, this does not seem to be a universal problem as clearly not all owners are reporting it.

FWIW, I placed an order for the 52V battery CCS a few weeks ago. Just waiting for them to arrive. I am not really worried about the chain drop issue. If it shows up on my bike, I will deal with it. Perhaps Tora at Juiced will come up with a solution that can be provided to prior owners??? I am sure if it has been a big enough issue, he is aware of it, and looking for a viable solution. He has clearly been very actively involved with addressing problems quickly. The rear spoke problem is a great example, as he made the changes to production in real time to affect new shipments.

12 hours ago

I was just lamenting today on the FB Pedego Owners page that I had my first pangs of regret of buying my Stretch. I LOVE that bike - serious love it.

Then, time, thought, and a few respondants got me thinking more. One, it will cost $900 more for these two motors. Second, it doesn't say it, but, it will have to weigh more. This thing is already a beast in weight. Third, I have been 100% satisfied with the performance of this product. So why was I lamenting? Is bigger or MORE really better? I think we get sucked into that too much. I have NEVER needed or wanted to go faster or longer than what the machine can do now to still feel safe. I think they have to make it seem stronger because people get caught up in the more power mode of thinking.

My ONLY complaints are:

1. lack of accessories
a. like bags that FIT the Stretch specifically - I've found great alternatives, but it took sleuthing and guessing)
b. like a top box/basket for the seat that fits style wise and can be easily removable.
2. That it was an easy and quick fix to switch foot rests to widening the top rack. With the wood panel set? It's virtually impossible
3. That it was easier to take on and take off the velcro seat attachment to go from rider to hauling cargo.
4. That it still came with the short back "tail" instead of just having the tall tail/long tail.
5. Better/stronger lights for night vision (easy fix)
6. That it wasn't so dang HEAVY as it basically makes it impossible for me to take it anywhere.

What I adore?
1. I can haul anything practically - including a tall adult as a passenger.
2. It's a very stable ride.
3. It's gorgeous (I have the green)
4. I have had ZERO times it couldn't handle me/the load, etc. and I usually ride with 0-2 assist. It is like a car for me.
5. It's fun to ride as it's responsive and comfortable
6. That it has given me back a favorite past time - I no longer use my car for errands around home. I bike it.

bob armani
13 hours ago

Thanks lilrich for your input! Yes, I have the silver locking collars and silver colored contacts on the plugs and cradle, however, I have checked most of your suggestions from time to time. The spring action on the contacts are all okay except for one that is 'lazy' and takes time to protrude out like the rest of them. I worked it with a hollow pencil end and air spray, however, it still takes time to become level with the others. The spring must be a weak one inside the display. I am hesitant to spray any type of lubricant inside the back spring.

Sounds like you are referring to the center mount with the larger numbers. Much nicer unit IMO. Perhaps I may be ready for an upgrade instead of staying with the side mount. My Evo bikes are about a year old and I purchased both from your shop.

Another question-You indicated you own the 500watt version of the Jet. I have the 350watt. I weigh approx 135lbs. Is there much of a difference in speed and power output on your Jet opposed to mine. The Evo 27.5 Pro + I think has the same motor which is also on my radar.

1 day ago

You are right in all respects 5,6 are motor related error but when grouped like that likely false positives. 13 comm error and 14 is footer (powering up with pedal pressure) the most common cause...display or display cradle. Wipe contacts with a clean cloth (or dirty shirt tail HA) no solvent usually needed. If corroded or really dirty (sometimes moisture gets in) a pencil erasure will work. Check the contacts on the back of your display by pressing in with your fingernail, they should spring back out freely. sometimes they stick. Check the connector plug to the display. Unscrew the silver knurled locking collar and unplug, replug making sure to secure the collar. Finally make sure the display cradle mounting screws are not overtightened, the cradle should be able to rotate with slight resistance on the handlebar. Overtightening the cradle will distort it and interrupt connection. Lastly if the problem persists there may be an internal intermittent connection in the cradle. If you have a cradle with silver colored contacts seemed to be more prone, newer runs of the cradle have gold colored contacts and seem less problematic. And really lastly the display could be at fault, rare but not unheard of. PM me if this does not solve your issue we have all the parts in stock if you need anything. If it turns out to be the display we only carry the latest version new, fully compatible and larger digits for our old eyes. If you are a stickler for original we do have a limited number of used old style in white, tested good but with miles on them.

Nova Haibike
1 day ago

To my knowledge, there are no e-bike specific trainers.

I do not see why not. The only difficulties would be if there was any obstructions on the bike's wheel axle that would prevent mounting the bike; for example, an internally geared hub would not work with a trainer. Also, because an e-bike is heavy, you might need a second person to hold the bike while you aligned the rear end of the bike into the trainer.

1 day ago

At the time of writing (2018), what's the best option for buying/making a fatbike? At the moment, I'm prepared to consider the following:

[*]Haibike FullFat (yes I want dual-sus). The only thing that annoys me is the lack of dual battery, which for a fatbike seems to be an absolute must.
[*]Luna Apex. I don't really like Luna or their attitude towards other bike manufacturers, but I wouldn't mind trying out their Apex bike. Except they don't ship internationally.
[*]Electrifying my Salsa Blackborow using a Bafang kit. I've never done anything like this but it could be fun... if only I knew where to start.

I'm open to other ideas. And yeah I'm in Europe just in case you want to suggest something.

Bruce Arnold
1 day ago

If you're interested in a cargo bike/people mover, you might also consider the Pedego Stretch. Here's Court's review:


There have been upgrades since this review was published. For instance, I saw one recently at a local dealer and it had pads on the seat and back rest, making it more comfortable for a passenger. Built pretty strong and lots of ways to haul stuff on it.

So on the commuting question: My wife and I both use ebikes for commuting and errands. It has been only 2 months but so far so good. We have committed to selling our 2nd car to our daughter when she graduates from nursing school in May, so we are only using one car now to get used to it. We don't have dreadful winters here but have had to contend with freezing temps and precipitation during this time. Not that different from Livermore; I was a bicycle messenger in San Francisco in the 1970s and winter weather in that part of CA was much like it is here in eastern NC. Our summers are a lot hotter and more humid, so we'll have to contend with that. "There is no bad weather, only bad clothing" as they say in Finland.

Her commute is 8 miles round trip, mine is 14. She rides a Pedego City Commuter and I ride a Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S. You might like the CCS if you like that road bike, it's pretty sporty. You could easily knock out that 6 mile commute in 15 minutes, which is not too shabby.

Happy to share more if you have specific questions.

Mr. Coffee
2 days ago

For the length of your commute and the terrain there are an enormous number of options available to you.

The idea of a compact cargo bike like the Tern GSD ought to be pretty appealing to you:

bob armani
2 days ago

Livermore, CA-My working colleague relocated to that small town up near San Fran just a couple of years ago. He loves it there considering he had lived in the Midwest most of his life. The only complaint I get is dealing with some of those annoying small roadside fires that can back up traffic and cause a little upset until the local FD arrives. He never mentioned anything about it being a redneck town. Never know until you live there...

2 days ago

Yea, it's not all bad. It might just be the neighborhood we live in that makes it seem redneck. There's a guy with a big lifted truck next door, and once a week he just sits in it with the engine running for over an hour. I have no idea what he's doing in there, but it's really weird. Also, I feel like all I see in Livermore is old, fat, white people, and while there's nothing wrong with that, we have a hard time making friends our age and we feel really alienated and lonely.

Yes, but we actually live on the western edge of Livemore, so I wouldn't call it downtown. I work at LLNL, which is a great place to work. I've met other lab people that don't like Livermore. Many of them have accepted long car commutes to avoid living here.

technomadia - chris
2 years ago

The feedback from this group has been great - thank you all!

I've been doing some work to distill down further what we are looking for, and I've started to put together a short list of contenders.

Here is what we are looking for:

Size Constraints:

[*]RV Bike “Garage” is 28” tall, 32” wide, and 36+” deep. Storing bikes upright in this space is desired.
[*]When away from our RV, we will want to transport both of our bikes in the rear (seat folded down) of a Mini Cooper.

Style of Riding / Terrain:

[*]Primarily leisurely exploration around-towns, campgrounds, state parks, and desert areas. We also hope to use the bikes for local errand running - such as trips to the market. We are not out to commute anywhere fast.
[*]Outings of 15-20 miles will be a typical max range, though further on occasion is possible.
[*]Comfort is key. Comfortable seat and riding position, and a relatively smooth ride desired.
[*]We’ll ride a mix of paved and dirt / gravel roads, as well as mild trails.
[*]Hills are likely - gears to get up them comfortably (if slowly) are a must.
[*]Rider #1 is 5’11” and 250lbs, and needs a bike that can handle his weight.
[*]Rider #2 is 5’5” and needs a bike that can handle her height.
[*]Electric assist is great - but the bike still needs to be enjoyable to ride without. Being able to shed the weight of the battery to leave it behind is ideal.

Desired Features:

[*]Simple & Reliable - We are constantly traveling and will not have a “home” bike shop to return to regularly for maintenance. We want bikes we can count on, and which will be able to put up with regular use and getting knocked around.
[*]Cargo rack or basket - we need a way get things home from farmer’s markets, etc.
[*]Fenders - we want to be able to go down a wet dirt road without ending up wearing it.
[*]Kick Stand - It boggles my mind that some bikes lack this??
[*]Lights - Easy enough to add, but nice if they are built in.
[*]Wheels - Hybrid-style tires suitable for both on and off pavement. 20” wheels minimum, potentially larger if possible.
[*]Easy Folding - If it takes more than a few minutes to pack the bikes down to fit into the garage storage space, we will not use them nearly as often as we should.

Desired eBike Features:

[*]Ideally Both Pedal Assist & Throttle - If only one, he would pick pedal assist. She would prefer a throttle.
[*]Regenerative Braking is exciting to us. We are geeks like that.
[*]Removable Battery.
[*]Nice bike computer display.
[*]Bonus geek points for anything that can talk to an iPhone.

Are there other key features that we should be looking for?

Current Short List:
We are just starting our research, and are trying to find the bikes that best fit our requirements. We are open to dedicated eBikes, or traditional folding bikes upgraded with BionX or other add-on systems.

Here are some of the contenders that we are researching, and we are looking for other options we should consider:

[*]e-Joe Epik SE
[*]Enzo eBike
[*]EZ Pedaler X350
[*]Easy Motion Neo Volt — Too tall when folded?
[*]Dayak New Yorker
[*]A2B Kuo
[*]iZip E3 — Single speed, no gear. May be limiting?
[*]Energie Cycles Excursion 2.0 — Single speed, no gears. May be too limiting.
[*]Tern Node D8 with BionX
[*]Montague Paratrooper with BionX — Full size wheels.
[*]Montague Crosstown with BionX — Full size wheels.

We’ve had a chance to test drive a Prodeco Mariner 500 and a Sierra Cycles Synergy, and both were impressive in their own ways - but not a great overall match for our target feature list.

What else should be on this list? What isn’t worth looking deeper at?

A matched pair of bikes is nice, but not necessary. We are open to two different designs.

Our goal is to have bikes picked out and purchased no later than the end of the year - and sooner is better.


- Chris // http://www.technomadia.com

Mike leroy
3 years ago

I am in the process of converting this info into a spreadsheet.


[*]High quality folding frame from Tern combined with sophisticated, durable and quiet drive system from BionX
[*]Four levels of pedal assist and regen as well as regenerative braking and variable speed trigger throttle
[*]Smoother riding electric bike thanks to larger 24" wheels vs. traditional 20", display panel and battery pack are removable for convenience and reduced weight


[*]Make / Model : Tern / Node D8 with BionX
[*]Price MSRP : $2,750.00 USD
[*]Body Position / Suggested Use : Upright / Travel, Urban
[*]Electric Bike Class : Throttle on Demand (Class 2) - Learn More about http://electricbikereview.com/guides/electric-bike-classes/
[*]Warranty : 5 Year Frame, 2 Year Electronics and Battery
[*]Availability / Model Year / Overall Rating :United States / 2015 / 9 of 10

Electronic Details:

[*]Motor Type / Nominal Output : Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub / 350 watt - Learn More about http://electricbikereview.com/guides/difference-between-ebike-motors/
[*]Motor Brand / Motor Torque : BionX / 40 Newton meters
[*]Battery Voltage / Amp Hours / Watt Hours : 48 volt / 6.6 ah / 316.8 wh
[*]Battery Brand / Chemistry : Panasonic / Lithium Manganese Cobalt
[*]Estimated Charge Time / Estimated Min and Max Range : 3.5 hrs / 35 to 50 miles (56.33 to 80.47 kilometers)
[*]Display Type / Readouts / Accessories : Backlit LCD (Removable, Symmetrical Integrated Buttons for Right or Left Handed Users) / 4 Proportional Assist and Generate Modes, Lighting Controls, Battery Voltage, Trip Distance, Odometer, Chronometer, Average Speed, Clock / Independent Button Pad(With Variable Speed Trigger Throttle)
[*]Drive Modes / Top Speed : Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (Throttle Will Not Activate Below 2 mph, Assist Levels 35%, 75%, 150%, 300%) / 20 mph (32.19 km/ hour)

Bicycle Details:

[*]Total Weight / Motor Weight / Battery Weight : 45 lbs (20.41 kg) 9 lbs (4.08 kg) 6 lbs (2.72 kg)
[*]Frame Types / Frame Sizes : Folding (Patented OCL Joint, DoubleTruss Technology) / Medium in ( cm ) (Folded Size 39 cm x 86 cm x 84 cm)
[*]Frame Material / Frame Colors : 7005 Aluminum / Black with Blue Accents
[*]Fork Details : Hi-Tensile Steel
[*]Attachment Points : Fender Bosses, Rack Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses
[*]Gearing Details / Shifter Details : 8 Speed 8x1 Suntour Neos 1.0, (12-32T) / SRAM MRX Comp Half-Twist on Right Handle Bar
[*]Pedals : Folding Aluminum and Plastic Platform
[*]Headset / Stem / Handlebar : Flux, Cartridge Bearings, Tri-Seal Technology / Physis 3D, Forged Aluminum / Flat
[*]Brakes Details : V-Brakes
[*]Grips / Saddle / Seatpost : BioLogic Ergo / Velo / SuperOversize, 6061 Aluminum with Micro Adjust Clamp
[*]Rims / Spokes : Aluminum / Stainless Steel
[*]Tire Brand / Wheel Sizes / Tire Details : Schwalbe Road Cruiser with KevlarGuard, 24" x 1.6" / 24 in (60.96 cm ) / Reflective Sidewalls
[*]Accessories / Other Details : Front and Rear Fenders with Mud Flaps, Rear Portage Rack with Bungee Cords / Magnetix 2.0 Folding Clasp Connector

2 weeks ago

to many talking boring

3 years ago

How come you guys don't publish price ranges? Seems that would be a vital part of any review.

3 years ago

Great question! I do sometimes mention price in the reviews but many times the product isn't out yet (like in this case... it's a 2015 bike and I just got a first look at a trade show). I do publish prices back at the site along with all of the specs that the manufacturer provides for accuracy and even then, sometimes I have to change them because they change throughout the year. Here's the full Link D8 writeup with price http://electricbikereview.com/tern/node-d8-with-bionx/

Zeev Kirsh
3 years ago

i tried this exact 24'' model with bionx at greenpath bikes in broolkyn this week. there is clearly something wrong with the throttle. it is producing oscillating thrust . i thought it was just an idiosyncracy with my particular bike i was testing, but if you're having the same problem. there's an issue with it for some reason. it's clearly not supposed to be that way. 

good job!

3 years ago

I enjoy your reviews, but not my kind of bike.

3 years ago

Thanks! Yeah, this one's unique... if you don't need it to fold then there are other options that can do similar things. The BionX system is pretty great and I do like Tern frames so this is a good setup :)

Clouds Rain
3 years ago

Nice review.

3 years ago

Thanks :D

3 years ago

At least the battery is not over the rear wheel but the battery is high.  I wonder if the bikes rides better than a rear rack mounted battery?  This is a really cool bike considering it folds up and can be put away.

3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com So am I.  I presume your impressions are positive as mine are.

3 years ago

This design definitely rides better than something with a heavy rear rack... It's about as good as I've seen from a folding setup with 24" wheels and you can still put a carry rack on the back for actual storage. It could be a little bit nicer if the battery was actually inside the downtube but then the frame would have to be reinforced which would add weight and the price would go up. Given the BionX drive system in use here, I'm very impressed with the bike :)