VoltBike Mariner Review

Voltbike Mariner Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Mariner
Voltbike Mariner 500 Watt Bafang Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Mariner 48 Volt Sanyo Removable Battery Pack
Voltbike Mariner Apt Led Display Panel Shifter Compass Bell
Voltbike Mariner Led Integrated Headlight And Steel Fender
Voltbike Mariner Folding Wellgo Pedals Bottom Bracket Stand Guard
Voltbike Mariner Kenda Krusade 4 Inch Fat Tires
Voltbike Mariner Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc Brakes 180 And 160
Voltbike Mariner Carry Rack With Light And Pannier Blockers
Voltbike Mariner Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Mariner
Voltbike Mariner 500 Watt Bafang Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Mariner 48 Volt Sanyo Removable Battery Pack
Voltbike Mariner Apt Led Display Panel Shifter Compass Bell
Voltbike Mariner Led Integrated Headlight And Steel Fender
Voltbike Mariner Folding Wellgo Pedals Bottom Bracket Stand Guard
Voltbike Mariner Kenda Krusade 4 Inch Fat Tires
Voltbike Mariner Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc Brakes 180 And 160
Voltbike Mariner Carry Rack With Light And Pannier Blockers

Summary

  • A miniaturized fat tire electric bike that's sand and snow capable, you get fenders, a rack and integrated lights for utility and safety no matter the terrain
  • Mid-mount battery design keeps weight low and centered, it's removable for reduced weight (when folding and transporting the bike) but requires that the seat be removed to get it off
  • Seat post suspension improves ride quality, you get nine levels of assist as well as trigger throttle mode that overrides for help climbing or slogging through soft stuff
  • Key must be left in when riding and can jingle a bit, the display is not removable and it along with the compass, bell and throttle could get bumped when folding, no clasps to keep it folded

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

VoltBike

Model:

Mariner

Price:

$1,249 ($70 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

20162017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

59.5 lbs (26.98 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.7 lbs (3.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

12 lbs (5.44 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

23 reach, 24" Stand Over Height, 67" Length

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Folding

Frame Colors:

Black

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid, 11 mm Axle

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

6 Speed 1x6 Shimano Acera, MF-TZ20, 11-28

Shifter Details:

Shimano Tourney TX50R6CT Thumb Shifter Plus

Cranks:

Alloy Bash Guard, 52T Chainring

Pedals:

Wellgo F-265T Aluminum Alloy Folding Platform

Stem:

Telescoping, SVMONO SM-A150-8R

Handlebar:

Promax Flat, 23" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Artek Vigorous Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Flat Rubber, Black

Saddle:

Velo VL-8020E, Comfort

Seat Post:

Promax SP-252, Aluminum Alloy with Suspension

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled Alloy, Black

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel

Tire Brand:

Kenda Krusade, 20" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Integrated LED Lights, Floating Ball Compass, Flick Bell, Steel Fenders, Carry Rack with Spring Latch (25 kg Max Load)

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Rust Resistant Z Chain, Hold the Up Button to Activate Lights

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Sanyo

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

499.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

APT Development, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Assist Level (1-9), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Mariner is one of just a handful of mini sized electric fat bikes I’ve seen that are designed to be both easier to mount and ride for short people as well as transportable for people who maybe have a boat, RV or trunk space. It’s a bike that’s fairly adaptable with telescoping stem (to raise the handle bars) and a seat post that can also raise and has a built in suspension element for comfort. The frame on the bike is sturdy but rigid and it comes with a bolt-on rear rack so you can add a trunk bag or panniers. Also, it has a headlight and tail light for improved safety and perhaps a bit of off-road nighttime adventure! Ultimately, it’s a surprisingly affordable little bike with a big personality that younger people, women and even large guys can enjoy on nearly any type of terrain.

For this review, I was able to get the company that makes them, VoltBike, to send a unit to Cabo San Lucas Mexico for testing at a resort called Cabo Adventures. This company specializes in scuba, zip line and biking adventures and has been considering adding electric bikes but was unsure how they would fare in the soft sand (and with different types of riders). Ultimately, the bike worked VERY well in the sand… even soft sand, which surprised and delighted me. To be fair, all of our fat tire ebikes handled the sand and the larger-wheeled models performed best, but even the 20″ x 4″ tires on this folding model made it through once the tire pressure was lowered sufficiently. Note, lowering the tire pressure makes a HUGE difference on soft terrain like sand or snow. The 500 watt internally geared Bafang hub motor zipped along in pedal assist and throttle mode without a hitch. Being able to add power on demand with the throttle (overriding assist on demand) made a big difference for me and my girlfriend and the fact that VoltBike uses a trigger throttle helped to keep the grips feeling solid vs. the half-twist design that some other bikes employ. It’s personal preference though and I noticed that the throttle on this bike is always active which means it could get bumped if you forget to turn the bike off after riding (if you lift it or decide to fold and pack it up).

Getting in to some of the gripes I have about the bike… activating it is a two step process which takes a bit of extra time and attention and can leave you wondering if it’s charged or has some sort of issue if you haven’t ridden for a while. First, insert the key into the battery and turn to on then hold the little on button at the control pad near the left grip. At this point the display comes to life showing speed, assist level, battery level and sone other stats about ride time and distance. You can activate the LED lights by holding up which is very nice and you can arrow up or down to navigate nine levels of assist but you cannot go to zero. So the throttle and assist are constantly active once the bike is on. Also, those keys mentioned earlier are constantly dangling and at risk of snagging or bending… but at least they’re harder to lose. I appreciate that the battery pack on the Mariner is mounted low and center, just behind the seat tube, and that it has a handle on top for easy removal. But you do have to slide the seat and seat post off in order to actually remove the battery in my experience.

Riding the bike is easy enough because the fat tires are wider and more stable than traditional ones. They cushion the ride a bit and offer plenty of traction. I found that braking with the rear kept me stable on soft sand and became almost fun like sliding out. Both brakes are mechanical disc and the levers have motor inhibitors so any time you activate them the power cuts out instantly for safety. I love that the cadence sensor they chose (for motor activation) features 12 magnets vs. six on some other models because that helps it respond quicker and on soft or unstable terrain it’s nice to feel in control. I also appreciate the black color scheme they chose for the bike because it hides the cables and wires coming from the brakes, display and shifter up front as they snake towards the rear end. You get six gears here which is very minimal and basic but the chainring is extra large to help balance out the extra small wheels. Pedaling feels normal and shifting is tight thanks to a slightly upgraded Shimano Acera derailleur. The shifter levers are extra large and take up some space at the handle bars but may be easier to use with gloves… and that’s nice if you’re getting this bike for use in the snow.

VoltBike is a Canadian company with a whole range of different styles of electric bikes that are all value priced. They only charge $70 to ship to the continental USA and offer a solid year long warranty. Note that anytime you’re buying an e-bike or other heavy, large and somewhat intricate product online there’s room for error. The Mariner we got made it all the way from Canada through the USA and into Mexico with just one busted part. The kickstand got mangled but we were able to take it off and use the bike without issue. I do like that it comes with a kickstand and a fun little bell compass combo. It would be easy to remove if you wanted but otherwise adds to the fun and sense of adventure. My girlfriend loved the narrower tube because she didn’t hit her knee as easily as with some other bikes we tested and I liked that both folding points locked for safety but noticed that there wasn’t a magnetic clasp or bungee system to keep the bike from unfolding. We all had a blast with this bike and the full sized models, VoltBike does sell a larger fat tire electric bicycle called the Yukon that I preferred for its suspension fork and larger tires but given the convenience and impressive performance on the Mariner, I could see myself being swayed by the space savings and flexibility… also being able to share with a wider range of friends. Big thanks to VoltBike for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • This is one of the most affordable mini-fat bikes on the market and shipping from Canada is just $70 to the US… overall it’s a fun capable bike and the motor is powerful enough to ride in soft sand as shown in the video review (just lower the air pressure first)
  • Low standover height makes this a great option for kids, petite riders like my girlfriend and some other ladies or people with sensitive knees or back that can’t swing their legs up high
  • Longer telescoping adjustable-length stem allows you to dial in fit, this is great if you’re a taller rider and in my experience the stem didn’t feel loose or wobbly as some designs do
  • The top tube is fairly narrow and the joint where it folds doesn’t stick out as much as some competing bikes meaning you shouldn’t hit your knee as easily when getting on or off (still good to be careful)
  • The fact that it folds means you can bring this bike to more fun spots, just stick it in your trunk or back seat
  • A 12 magnet cadence sensor provides very quick on/off motor performance, it felt responsive and controlled to me which is great for riding off road… some other ebikes only use a six magnet sensor which usually requires more time, this e-bike also has brake levers with motor inhibitors so the motor stops instantly whenever you brake
  • I like that the kickstand is mounted far back and out of the way, this makes it easier to work on the cranks, bottom bracket and chain or back the bike up without colliding and bending the stand, I also felt that the stand worked pretty well on the soft sandy beach
  • Suspension seat post adds to the comfort of those larger 4″ wide tires and comfort saddle… smaller wheels usually aren’t as comfortable (less air to cushion) so having this post shock really helps if you’re on a bumpy beach or trail
  • Front and rear integrated LED lights really take this ebike to the next level! It’s ot something I’d fault the bike for not having because I assume most riding would be during the day out on trails vs. nighttime but then again… if it snows or you’re camping those lights can come in handy and do keep you safe
  • Front and rear fenders help to keep you dry when riding, they add to the utility of the lights and rear rack making this both portable and capable as a hauler perhaps for grocery getting or other errands, I was surprised that they are made of steel however because it can rust if scraped vs. aluminum or plastic which would be more durable in salty environments (sea and salted snowy streets)
  • The rear cargo rack is pretty awesome! It’s constructed of standard gauge tubing so you can mount most panniers and even has pannier blockers along the sides to keep your straps from rubbing on the extra-wide tires, the rack can support up to 25 kg (~55 lbs) and protects the rear light
  • The bike is a bit rear heavy but I love that the battery is not mounted on the rack, instead it is kept low and more central just behind the seat tube so you have more space to haul cargo and get better balance when riding
  • Name brand Kenda tires with improved grip and durability, upgraded mechanical disc brakes with a larger 180 mm rotor up front to improve stopping power
  • Fun little extras like the compass bell make you feel like an adventurer but could be easily removed if you wanted (be careful with it when folding)
  • Oversized Wellgo folding pedals are a huge win for me, they are still small (as with most folding designs) but are larger, sturdier and stiffer than the cheap plastic ones I see a lot… great upgrade there ;)
  • Chain guard and a metal rest below the bottom bracket help to protect your chain and sprocket when folding and transporting the bike
  • Upgraded Shimano Acera derailleur should be tighter and provide more shifts between tuneups, it’s two steps up from the base level Tourney component group… you get six gears on the bike which is enough but not great
  • The bike ships fully assembled including the front wheel so you don’t have to mess around much in order to get up and going

Cons:

  • Neither wheel offers quick release, perhaps this allows for tighter stronger axle mounting but it does mean you’ll need a tool for repairs or flat fixes
  • At ~60 lbs this is not a light electric bike but given the larger tires, stronger motor and high capacity battery pack I can understand where the weight comes from, at least the ~7.7 lb battery is removable (highly recommended if you’re folding and lifting the bike)
  • I didn’t see any rubber bands or clasps to help keep the bike from coming unfolded… consider purchasing some of your own adjustable bungee cords and maybe using an old towel to keep it from rattling and coming undone
  • Considering the off-road nature of fat bikes, I was surprised to not see a slap guard? the chain is upgraded to be rust resistant and the tubing is aluminum so rust isn’t the issue, just the little chips in the paint, consider an after-market neoprene guard like this
  • During our tests, the bike must have fallen over or bumped into the bars of another bike because the plastic button pad got bent, the cover sort of bent upward and didn’t protect the clicker beneath as well so be careful with yours, these might just be more delicate than the rubberized flat button designs I’ve seen on some other bikes
  • I love that the bike offers assist and throttle mode but would have liked a throttle-only option, minor gripe… I also found that whenever the bike is on, the throttle is always active which can lead to more easy accidental motor bursts (especially if you’re trying to fold it without shutting it off first), that said… it’s a trigger throttle so slightly less likely to bump than a twist throttle and this is my preference for off-roading because it allows for more grip options and just a sturdier feel on the grip
  • The keys have to be inserted and twisted then left in the bike in order to activate and use it, this presents some challenges like jingling keys and potential snags when riding, consider a small carabiner? Once the battery is on you have to press and hold the power button on the control pad to activate the bike fully… you’ll see the display come to life then
  • The black color was a good choice because the wires blend in, they aren’t integrated through the frame and stick out a bit up front and below the frame… but that makes them easier to reach for repairs, mixed…
  • The motor was a bit louder than some other hubs but performed very well, even for larger riders, it’s an fat-tire specific wider motor from a well known company in the space, Bafang
  • The motor power cable protrudes directly from the end of the right side of the axle so be careful not to tip the bike onto it (or bump it when folding and transporting), this is also where the derailleur is so the right side of the bike is just more delicate in general
  • I think they could make the bike tougher by adding a derailleur guard, tucking the motor cable in further (I’ve seen some different designs that do this) and adding a second bash guard plat to the chainring so you’d have a guide which prevents dropping the chain as easily
  • The display can be swiveled forward and back to reduce glare but is not removable, this means it could get bumped easier if the bike tips, when you’re folding it and when it’s being stored and transported
  • As with a lot of the folding electric bicycles I test, this one didn’t include bottle cage bosses so you might want to get a trunk bag with a built in bottle holster like this for bringing along fluids

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More VoltBike Reviews

VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An exceptionally affordable, feature rich electric bike, built around an approachable frame that's easier to mount and stand over, offers pedal assist and throttle override operation. The battery pack is protected by the top tube, positioned low and center along the…...

VoltBike Enduro Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable full suspension trail bike with quiet, but powerful, mid-drive motor and integrated downtube battery pack, full-sized USB charging port on battery, adjustable top speed. Integrated LED headlight, backlit LCD display panel, and standard reflectors for urban riding, high-pressure tires…...

VoltBike Yukon 750 Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable but surprisingly powerful and quiet electric fat bike, sells online only and ships from Canada with a flat rate $70 fee, comes with a comprehensive 1 year warranty. Upgraded Kenda Juggernaut tires that feel good on pavement, dirt, sand and snow, removable battery…...

VoltBike Urban Review

  • MSRP: $1,049
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An ultra-affordable folding electric bike sold online from Canada, offers a full range of accessories including lights, fenders and a rear carry rack. Available in black or white but only one size, you get six gears with a…...

VoltBike Yukon Review

  • MSRP: $1,159
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value priced electric fat bike with a six speed drivetrain, integrated headlight and optional fender + rack kit. Available in two flavors (350 watt motor or more powerful 500 watt motor), sold online…...

2015 VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A very affordable city style electric bike with lots of useful accessories including integrated lights, fenders and rack. Only available in one frame size ~19" but the adjustable stem and seat hight help…...

VoltBike Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value oriented electric bike available in one size (19"), one frame style (step-thru) and one color (black). Comes standard with lots of useful accessories including full length plastic fenders, a rear carry…...


John Carey
7 months ago

If you go into menu you can program ” 0 ” mode which is no pedal assist and power only by thumb throdle or people power. Cool !- JLC

Reply
Court Rye
7 months ago

Cool! Thanks for the tip John :D

Reply
dayrate
7 months ago

Thanks for the excellent reviews and videos Court! I’m trying to decide between folding electric, and a folding electric fat bike. We will use them around town on class B RV trips for errands, as well as paved and unpaved trails. The fat version gives us snow and sand possibilities as well as softer base trail riding opportunities. Coming from years of road biking travels and some mountain biking, I am wondering how comfortable and efficient the fat bike version, such as the Voltbike Mariner, will be. For off-road use it seems an easy decision. Next question would be choosing between the Mariner and the RadMini. With some accessories, two of these bikes will max-out our budget so they feel like the best two to compare. Finally, have you or will you be reviewing the Citizen Frisco? Thanks again, we really appreciate your thorough write-ups!

Reply
Court Rye
7 months ago

There are minor differences in how the throttle works but it might come down to which design looks better or if you get a deal buying two at the same time. I’ve listed the other minor differences in the reviews and am traveling so don’t have time to clarify at the moment. I have not seen the Citizen Frisco yet but will keep an eye out for it. It looks compact and light weight but wouldn’t handle the trails, sand, or snow as well… but that may not be an issue depending on where you ride :)

Reply
Thanh Nguyen
6 months ago

I am 250 lbs, am I ok to ride the Voltbike Mariner 500w? What is the max weight that this bike can carry?

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Hi Thanh, my guess would be yes… most electric bikes I review are rated for up to 250 lbs and many will carry more than that but the manufacturers want to play it safe. This being a folding electric bike, might not be quite as strong as a high step non-folder but the smaller wheels tend to be stronger so it’s a mix. You could reach out to VoltBike to confirm but my gut says you’ll be fine, and the rack on the back can probably hold up to 40 lbs.

Reply
Geo
4 months ago

I’m deciding between a Sondors Fold and a Mariner. With folders I believe wheelbase, (axle to axle) affects stability and ride-ability yet reviews lack this detail, this one included. My inquiry about the Mariner wheelbase got no response so far. Their chat says “ask me anything” (apparently except that). Sondors quickly responded their Fold wheelbase is 42 inches.

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Cool, thanks for sharing your experience with customer support and prodding me to include that with more of my reviews. I do try to include overall length of bikes now to help people understand what kind of space would be required to store. I also include stand over height and width. Hoping to review the Sondors Fold someday, whatever you choose, I hope it works out well for you and invite your feedback and comments here and in the Electric Bike Review Forums.

Reply
Geo
4 months ago

Update, Voltbike responded that their Mariner’s wheelbase is just over 46 inches which is a bit longer than the Sondors.

Folding bikes have their quirks. Apparently it’s tempting to make them shorter and thus more compact. I modified one of mine to get it as small as possible and still ridable. I discovered they get squirrelly when I went off the back of mine. The shorter it is, the closer the seat must be to the center point of the wheels, and balance gets touchy. It gets too easy to unexpectedly raise the rear wheel on a quick stop or do a wheelie taking off. That being said, it fit a suitcase and it was handy in Europe.

Geo
4 months ago

My early Dahon made that trip. No such luxury as electric power. Europe swarms with bikes, yet the Dahon attracted way more attention than in the US. I often had an audience when folding or unfolding and questions to answer.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

vincent
2 weeks ago

what kind of riding do you plan to do?

dont think you would go wrong with a radmini or voltbike mariner- i dont have any experience with the sondors fold but it may be a good option too

i am 5'6" and have a rad rover
the rover is on the big side, it is doable but i have another smaller frame off brand bike similar to the rover and it is easier for me to "handle" overall

also have a radmini in my ebike stable and have to say for riding 25-35 miles think i prefer the rover, the bigger tires and the front shock just seem to give a better ride overall

one thing that is an issue for me on the rover is my favorite bike seat is a big cruiser type seat, that pushes me forward and make the taller top bar more of an issue, when i ride it with a smaller footprint seat the top tube/bike fits me better ...

hope some of this helps

Dewey
2 weeks ago

folding fat tire bikes?

Court had a blast testing the VoltBike Mariner on a beach in Mexico, it is very close to the similar RadMini and both companies have been making upgrades since Court's reviews. Both bikes now use the same motor, same size 11.6ah battery, 180mm brake rotors, 20x4 fat tires, metal folding pedals, twist throttle, and metal cages to protect the derailleur/motor wires, and front chain ring when folded. The differences are the Mariner has a lower 24" stand over height vs 26.5" (Yukon has a 29.5" stand over height), it's slightly cheaper even with the $70 shipping charge to the US, and comes with some accessories you don't get on the RadMini like seatpost suspension, fenders, and a free DoT polo style helmet.

zap016VOLTAGE
3 weeks ago

The End
Victim of its own success

Today I sold my Mariner.
There was a number of factors which influenced my decision to sell it.
It wasn’t the ebike its self.
Although in the end, it was the ebike its self.

The Mariner rode like a cloud! The experience was cross between a motorbike and a bicycle. Because of its large size and being somewhat heavy it felt more moto than bicycle. Most appealing was its exhilarating swoosh! Out accelerating gassers from stop light to stop light. Having the capacity to scale obstacles with aplomb no hills were too steep. Even stairs presented little challenge to the Mariner.

What’s in a name? “Mariner” suggest adventure, long distance travel. However range was somewhat lacking. I came to expect no more than 20 miles or so. While encouraging exploration the distance it was able to travel ultimately was limited.

Another cause for frustration was its Silverfish style battery. I believed those batteries to be standardized. One was like another I assumed. Only after purchasing the Mariner did I learn otherwise. Not all Silverfish batteries are created equal. While battery’s having greater capacity do exist, there’s no telling whether it might work on the Mariner or no.

However compelling the Mariner may be, the inability to increase it’s milage, as well a few other issues - NYC ebike crackdown - caused me to rethink ownership.

It was fun while it lasted.

Good bye:(

PCDoctorUSA
4 weeks ago

So looking at my first ebike, and after spending countless hours settled on a Mariner. Have tried multiple times to contact VoltBike with a simple capacity question, but have never received a response? This makes me nervous to commit purchasing from VoltBike, as one has to wonder if support is ever needed, will they be there?

Any VoltBike owners recently contacted support, and received replies?

I hate to start the search over, but may have to look at other manufacturers at this point?
I usually got a response within one business day if not the same day.

Ann M.
4 weeks ago

That's odd, @Sundance; Voltbike is in business. They have 3 ways to contact them on their website- phone # (800) 350-4840, email- sales@voltbike.com or by using the submission form on their contact page. The Mariner is a great bike and there are several happy EBR owners. Keep trying.

Sundance
4 weeks ago

So looking at my first ebike, and after spending countless hours settled on a Mariner. Have tried multiple times to contact VoltBike with a simple capacity question, but have never received a response? This makes me nervous to commit purchasing from VoltBike, as one has to wonder if support is ever needed, will they be there?

Any VoltBike owners recently contacted support, and received replies?

I hate to start the search over, but may have to look at other manufacturers at this point?

draf
1 month ago

@Cnugget Thank you very much for your answers! Great explanation and details, as always!
I intend to use the Mariner as a daily commute in the Montreal metropolitan area and the terrain has around 60m elevation from home to work for ~24km distance. Google Maps says it should take me around 1h 20min to complete the commute one way, but it seems they use a conservative 16km/h average speed. If the Mariner can travel comfortably to 32km/h (using pedal power + power assist), this should cut the commuting time in half which would be faster then by car (due to regular congestion)! I can't wait spring to order the bike! The temperature is expected to drop bellow freezing point in a couple of days here... Or maybe I should order now and benefit of the 11% off sale price?

Cnugget
1 month ago

@draf I have used the Mariner as a commuter for just over a year now. It did ride very well at higher speeds (going downhill 65km/hr) without any steering wheel wobble until a few crashes changed that. Not really the bikes fault though. I believe it may have some whip-it but not bad. That has never bothered me though.

It is possible to ride the bike without power. If you have flat terrain this is not a problem but will feel like you are a good 20-40lbs or more (60lbs) heavier. The sac of potatoes is a great idea for a trial feel maybe even flatten your tires as well. Going uphill is where you will notice gravity at it's worst. Because the bike only has 6 gears no low end climbing gears exist. You really need to crank it out hard or walk it at that point. If you are looking for a really great workout though... nothing could be finer :p. A slick tire would likely help a bit too but rolling resistance 4" tire will slow you more overall than a 1-2" tires. Higher PSI will also result in better rolling resistance and battery life on pavement. I have heard of people considering a smaller tire width but have not tried that myself (still running factory on my front).

If you plan to pedal the entire way and go more bike speed and not ebike speed you should be able to go 30mi /50km as a rough estimate. To maintain or cancel out the effects of the heavier bike etc.. level 3 or 4 of 9 PAS would likely be where you would maintain.. ~18km/hr or ~11mi/hr. My new controller replaced by Volt Bike does take me above the 32km/hr threshold.. but not much and at a reduced rate. I think max 35km/hr is more realistic MAX if in ideal conditions (no wind, flat terrain, good psi, no hills). If you have downhill on your commute well then.. expect faster speeds as a benefit to gravity... and prepare to hold on. :D

I pedal the entire distance to work and use full PAS Level 9 but I have hills both up and down. It takes me 35-40mins to get to work travelling about 16km with 1600ft / 500m total eGain. :eek: It really DOES depend.. In this case and after 5500km my battery will die in under 32km. I can make it last if I choose but usually I charge at work for the way home. This was not the case until about 2500km? mark I believe and before the first winter.

Cnugget
1 month ago

Hi guys! What is the maximum comfortable cruising speed for you in PAS mode? I mean how fast can you go on the Mariner for extended periods of time, until the battery is drained?

How fast? Comfortable cruising speed? Likely to get some personal opinion responses. Here's mine. :p
The battery will give you everything it's got until it's pretty much done. The top of the battery does tend to give you a bit more punch fresh off a charge. But the steady drain till almost dead are benefits of lithium battery power. To me that also means knowing how much charge you actually have left is a challenge and not to expect your battery indicator to be as accurate. Personal experience is usually the better judge. If you have a limiter on, it will max out at 32km/hr or 20mi/hr. My bike will still give me limited power above that on flat terrain so I can cruise round about 35km/hr or ~21.5mi/hr. Comfortable to me, would that be for you? Your max speed will be less and less the steeper up the hill and dependent on the controller and tire friction with the road/pavement or dirt. Maybe I could go faster or have the battery last longer if I had slicks on and weighed less. ~180lbs + what ever is in my bag (20lbs?).

How fast really depends on a variety of factors. The terrain, speed, temps, wind, hills, how fast you dare to go etc etc. I went over 60km in distance the other day on flat terrain but not at full speed with good temps, no wind and using some leg power and still had some battery left. Ave speed was 17km/hr or 10.6mi/hr PAS was 3-6 out of 9. I have not done a test at full speed on flat terrain (mostly because it is hard to find flat terrain where you can go max speed). :D My battery is also 1+ years of use now and the older 10.4ah not the 11.6ah. Conservative guess would be 30mi or 50km distance going as fast as 35km/hr or 21mi/hr.. but I do think distance would be longer on a battery under 1500 mi or 2500km odo.

Another FYI.. The Volt Bikes are small batch so that means there could be variety or changes that occur from set to set. What I experience may not be what you experience. To me both a pro and a con. :)

Hope that helps.

draf
1 month ago

Hi guys! What is the maximum comfortable cruising speed for you in PAS mode? I mean how fast can you go on the Mariner for extended periods of time, until the battery is drained?

draf
1 month ago

Hello,

I am looking to buy a Voltbike Mariner 500w Limited and use it as my daily commuter (around 50km total per day). I did a lot of reading about this bike on this forum (thank you all for your tremendous contribution, I have learnt a lot!), but I still have questions that you could help me find answers to :). Thank you in advance!

1. I believe it is possible to use the bike without power assist, like a normal bike. How would it compare in this case with other non-electric bikes in terms of effort and speed?

2. Given flat terrain and around 180lbs total load, what range should I expect from the battery considering I intend to pedal the entire distance and use the electric motor only to assist in order to reduce the effort and maintain the speed?

3. What cruising speed should I expect in power assist mode? I believe the controller will cut the power above 32km/h, but is it possible to maintain higher speeds (at least 40km/h) for extended periods of time, if pedaling and using the power assist in the same time?

Thank you so much!

Ian in Alberta
2 months ago

I bought a Mariner. It's a fun bike, and I love riding it. It's more versatile than the Elegant, perhaps, because of the fat tires and foldability.

VLee
2 months ago

Hey Kiwi..so howdy you like the GB500? I was thinking of getting one or the prodecotech Mariner 5. How many miles do you ride?

zap016VOLTAGE
2 months ago

Just an update.. I had my bike into visit George @Voltbike to change out the controller to see if this would address the issue of my lights (cutting out/not working). For a short bit my lights worked but then they turned off again. Bummer!:oops: There must be a loose wire somewhere. I will have it in sometime soon for a longer visit.. Hopefully during a long rainy section. It will take more time to find the culprit wire. Thanks to @Voltbike for being so helpful. :) One day my lights will work properly.

NEW CONTROLLER (different than the old IMHO):
The new controller acts different to the the old one. At least if feels this way to me (Not sure what model it is). It seems more subtle on taking off.. which I always thought would be nice to have. :) It also doesn't instant cut out at 31 km's but gradually rolls off the power on the top end. It feels like it has a bit less power/ now overall.. Full speed at level 9 (highest PAS) takes longer to achieve, which means I am biking mostly in this level through out the ride. . This is more noticeable when going uphills where the bike has a bit less pull.. I hate to say this, but I sort of miss the full raw power the old controller had... sometimes. :D Wouldn't it be nice to have the best of both worlds.. haha..

OH NO!
@Cnugget said "It feels like it has a bit less power/ now overall.":eek:

The Mariner's "RAW POWER," - Rocket launches from a stand still - is the Mariner's best feature.:D
Love how quickly the eMoto accelerates to 33Kph.
Some times, I could out accelerate gassers from stop light to stop light.
On occasions, I've been able to wheelie it.

Sad :(

Cnugget
2 months ago

The Mariner is still working through the wind and the rain.. I will be reaching 5,600km's tomorrow. Just hit my 90th commute since starting to eBike back in August of 2016. It's getting colder now so each time I make it out, I feel really happy I did. It seems to come down to perseverance.. Keep the wheels a rolling.. well at least until the ice arrives for me... :D

The narrow bike seat has changed how I ride the bike now. More balance and connection to the bike, less luxury & leisure. It's more like what I would think a spinning class would be like.. outside and in the rain. :p

I've come up with some home made gear that has been helping with the chillier wind and sort of the rain. It's a bit rough but it gets the job done with no excessive extra costs. I bought a paint suit at a hardware store and made chaps and some mitt covers.

My bike telescoping neck has a little play to it.. Has had so for quite some time after a bigger fall I had last winter in the snow. While I used to enjoy hands free with out the shudder effect.. it's more hands on now for control. Hand signals and turning while going downhill and trying to brake all at the same time can be a challenge. Not lying. Sometimes I wish I had turn signals. All said and done though, if there was one thing I would add to the bike it would be better brakes. Saving up. :)

1/1
Alcide
2 months ago

Thanks to all those who have shared their experiences so I could learn the easy way. I'm wondering if anyone else has had the misfortune of battery failure. I placed my battery on my sidewalk while getting my bike out of storage, and it fell onto its side. Within one day it was no longer working. I have nearly 500 km on my new Mariner and have contacted Voltbike support a few days ago, with no reply from them yet. I'm hoping that it can be repaired locally, if it needs to be.

I have taken many precautions, adjusting my brakes as needed, sealing the control box with silicone as was suggested, added a bash-guard on the inside of the crank, checked all bolts and screws for tightness, added a mirror, found a good helmet and added a powerful light on it, and added slime in my tires.

I won't set the battery down on end any longer. I'm surprised it only took one fall to damage the battery.

dabanasa
2 months ago

I would caution anyone from buying a bike direct from Prodeco. I own two Mariner 7's that I purchased through a bike shop, and was happy with them. Giving these bikes to grandchildren and needing step-through models, I purchased two Stride 500's directly from Prodeco. M.C., senior national account manager, was happy to take my order on Aug 25, 2017 and instantly charge my credit card. He suggested by bikes would be shipped within a week. On Aug. 29 I called because I had no tracking number nor even an invoice. He sent me an invoice with a shipping date of Sept 1. The bikes finally shipped Sept 22, after I threatened cancelling my order and disputing the credit card charge (I stress the need to use a credit card such as AMEX which allows charges to be disputed and money refunded). Others at Prodeco promised delivery dates but did not follow through: D.A., vp business development and L.C.

The bikes finally arrived. The Stride 500 has a Promax 25.4 Cruise 600mm adjustable Handlebar which requires a 6mm t-handle wrench to attach to the frame. (Neither the manual nor "quick start guide" have been updated to show this handlebar.) This critical tool is missing. Attempting to ride the bike without sufficiently tightening the handle bar is potentially life-threatening. Contacting the online support about this went unanswered. I had to threaten a BBB formal complaint before the tool was finally shipped. However, the e-mail confirming shipment stated "The tools were shipped this morning. It was not an easy task as they were discontinued 2 years ago, but we did find them and got them in for your bikes. 2 #6 allen head full size tools were sent." So even though this tool is necessary and specified in the assembly instructions, Prodeco does not apparently intend to include it. I have filed a safety complaint with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) on this issue.

On a related issue, I believe it took my negative BBB review to get them to ship a replacement battery, ordered before my new bikes, for my Mariner 7. Prodeco bikes are well-built (if heavy) and are entry-level priced. Purchasing through a dealer who has them in stock may be appropriate, but consider the poor customer support and long delay in getting parts.

Dwight Anderson
2 months ago

I too, have been trying to figure out how to remove the speed limit. This is just an great option to keep with traffic, if you're riding on the road.

I have a Mariner and believe the controller is similar to the Yukon 750. Here's a photo of the Mariner controller. I was able to decipher/trace majority of the wires, but none that seems to be able to disable the speed limit. Perhaps it is wired inside the Hub motor?

Any insights by other members???

As far as I can decipher:

Thick Red/Black: Power to the controller

Thick Y/G/Blue: Power to the Hub Motor
Attached R/Blk/W: Some sort of signal relayed from the Hub Motor (most likely the throttle)

Controller R/Blk to Exterior Blk/Blk-w: Power to attached bike lights (on/off controlled by an unknown signal (wire) going into the controller)

Controller Light Blue/R/Blk: Cadence sensor (the 12 magnets disc)

Now here comes the fun part:

Exterior R/B/Blk/G/Y: This is the cable strip that connects to the LCD Controller (R, Blk: is most likely power; rest is most likely transmission of data)

Controller R/Blk/Green-Yw to Exterior Grey/Purple: ???? Unknown (My guess is brake lever cut-off sensor)

Controller Dual Grey/Blk to Exterior White: Unknown. I trial and error this wire hoping is the speed limit but unfortunately is not. If unplugged, then brake lever motor cut-off would not function. If plugged to the Single Grey/Blk connector, appears to make no difference - both brake lever motor cut-off still works.

Controller Single Grey/Blk: Unplugged. Unknown

Controller Grey/Red *male: Unplugged. Unknown - some how the plug appears reversed, controller plugs mostly female.......so my deduction is this is some sort of power feeding to bike accessories just like the bike lights plugs????

Exterior Brown *female: Unplugged. Unknown. Based on the manual simplified wiring diagram, the bike lights is labeled "Brown". So my deduction is this wire is to control brake light if the bike is equipped???

The Blk wire loop: This loops one ground to another. Probably has nothing to do with speed.

As far as I know, the bike is not limited to 32 km/hr. I think it is somewhere around 48.

zap016VOLTAGE
2 months ago

Columba 26 inch Folding Bike Bag
When the need arise, I've folded and stored the Mariner in Columba's 26 in Folding Bike Bag that I sourced on Amazon.
• Can swallow whole the bike's girth
• Inside is vinyl coated
• Strong:D - The Mariner weights in around 60lbs! :eek:
• Inexpensive
• Foldable - It can be folded and placed in a bicycle backpack

1/4
zap016VOLTAGE
2 months ago

@zap016VOLTAGE. Thank you for your posts and review.

Which model of the 2kSilver Columba bag did you get?

The Bag 20 or the Bag 26? Just want to make sure it fits, they're on sale right now and I need one, good timing.

You happy with the bag?

Thank you @Denis Shelston. ;)
I'd purchased the Columba 26 inch Folding Bike Bag on Amazon.
The bag was inexpensive and it is well made, its inside is vinyl coated.
While the bag hasn't seen regular use, however considering that the Mariner weights in around 60 lbs - the Mariner is hardly a Brompton, it has held up.:)
Overall Very Good!:D

harryS
2 months ago

You can chew on these too .

The Ancheer 20" on ebay for $600 shipped.

Also the Voltbike Mariner fpr $1289 plus $70 shipping,
These fat tire folders weigh over 50 pounds. Not light. A 20" folder with 36V battery has a top speed around 18 mph. If your students want more speed, then a 48V battery is needed, although I don't know if I would want to ride over 20 mph in traffic. You're too small. Not easily seen, and your speed will be misjudged by motorists.

I'd treat them like bikes that can make a 15 mile trip less of a chore, but it will still take an hour and you will use up over half your battery so there's no guarantee you won't do the return trip on the motor.

Chris_x
3 months ago

Hi guys!

I don’t have much experience on bikes, I’m kinda new to all of this. Got a Voltbike Mariner a month ago and yesterday I got a flat tire, a tiny nail punctured it. -_-

What should I do? Just replace the tube? Or do I need to get a new tire too?

Can I patch the tire? How?

Here is the photo of the situation lol

Thanks for your help!

1/3
attyjenkins
3 months ago

Cnugget, I am jealous. I have waited half a month for my Mariner to be delivered, and it finally arrived today. You have 5,000 km, and I have zero.

I think this is a new model of Mariner. It has that fancy bell for the left thumb. The throttle is now a twist grip (just the final two inches, under the thumb and index finger). There is a bash guard over the derailleur and a slap guard under the chain. Here are some photos.

But the frustrating part is that Voltbike has included a charger that won't fit. The battery has an outlet the size of a dime, with 3 small numbered holes. But the charger cable ends with a single round plug. Voltbike indicated that this may be a common problem with their new production from China. They promised to send me a new charger, and I hope it comes soon.

This is worse than waiting for delivery -- now I can see and touch my shiny new bike, but I just can't use it.

1/4
attyjenkins
3 months ago

Well, my Voltbike Mariner arrived (after some struggle with the shipper, who did not want to come down my street at first, but wanted me to meet him at an intersection a quarter-mile away). The box was banged up, but the inner packaging was very good and the bike had not a scratch.

Here are some pictures.

It looks like some changes from what I expected. Primarily, the throttle is a twist grip (and the red button a cut-off). There is now a guard over the fragile right rear axle, and a neoprene guard between the frame and the chain.

But the main problem is this -- the charger's plug does not match the battery. Apparently, this new shipment has mismatched parts. So now I have to wait until Voltbike can send me a new charger.

This may be worse than waiting for the delivery -- now I can see and touch my new bike, but I cannot use it.

1/4
Sir John Michael
1 month ago

I just have to say, chains should be discontinued. With belt drives from Harley's to new bicycles there's no reason to put a chain on anything.

Josi De Martino
3 months ago

where is this fantastic place?

Fist OfTheNorthStar
3 months ago

How does the volt stand up to rain and snow?

Modern Shootter
3 months ago

Is this bike pedal assist??? Or does it work by itself?

VoltBike
3 weeks ago

This bike is with both pedal assist and throttle (power on demand). We recently upgraded the bike with half twist throttle with safety ON/OFF switch.

Jon Neet
4 months ago

Riding in sand can be tricky. As an old motorcyclist I learned very early that if you go slowly through the sand, the tired dig in and fight you, and wander all over. If you keep the speed up, it kind of hydroplanes over the deep stuff. It does still wander some, but you don't fight it. Let the wander a bit and relax. A little like riding over a draw bridge with the steel grating. Relax and let the bike wander a bit, and don't try to fight it. It is a bit disconcerting, but going slowly in sand and fighting the bike, wears you out much quicker.

Brigadier Jones
5 months ago

Just a minor point for your videos the review would be better with pro's and con's at the end of the video would make the review more complete not everyone has time for reading a whole review on a website these days especially with 20+ minute videos.

lance clayton
5 months ago

Look at this on eBay http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/272764361324 BUY ONE ON EBAY UK

vanart
5 months ago

It would be perfect if it had a gearless motor...
I don't have MAriner but I had about 6 e-bikes in the past.

Tammy Stevens
5 months ago

With a different seat and/ post, could I get 30 inches from the ground to the seat. I'm just 5 foot tall and like to be able to at least touch my toes on the ground with one leg.

VoltBike
4 months ago

Hi Tammy, we normally do recommend Voltbike Mariner for person 5'5" or taller. The bike stand taller mainly because of the 4" wide tires. Also Voltbike Mariner comes with seat post suspension which also bring the seat few inches higher.

VenoStuff
6 months ago

Where i can't get those fenders for my bike?

Mr Mr
8 months ago

He says Derailier..... Foo its derailer.... lol
Thanks for the videos none the less

Sam Binder
8 months ago

Court, Love your videos. I live in philadelphia and am thinking that a fat tire folding bike might be great for getting around.I have my eye on either a voltbike mariner of radmini. Is the Radmini really more powerful or is it same motor rated higher? I like the ambassador program from voltbike which will allow me to share my bike and defray the cost.

Kathrine Kukova
8 months ago

Update April/2017. I just bought Mariner. Came standard with splash guard and rear derailleur guard. It's nice that you supply helmets with your bikes, but they are heavy! DOT helmets more suitable for motorbikes.

OldHickory
4 months ago

Only thing you didn't mention was battery life where the RAD Mini is far superior then the Mariner. You can buy a lot of fenders for the savings on the Battery life IMHO

Waltkat
4 months ago

Martin Kuka
From what I understand, the motor in the Radmini is also 500W, so no advantage there. Rad just publishes the peak power which happens to be 750W. A little bit of marketing mumbo jumbo to boost sales. And the last time I checked, Rad wants $120 for a pair of plastic fenders/mudguards for their Mini. Highway robbery, in my book.

Martin Kuka
8 months ago

Well yes and no, I didn't realize how heave the bike is until I got it (same with the rad). I would choose it over rad mini any day (better components, except motor, plus fenders, love the lights) I use the bike to get me around Boston, so the heavy fat tires aren't ideal, but that isn't bikes flaw. Dragging it up the stairs while opening the doors is a torture. The 500w motor has plenty of power for this bike. I would only see 750w motor as an advantage if these bikes could go over 20mph. Its too bad, you wont really go over 21-22mph unless you go downhill. The resistance from the wind (you sit upright) and tires itself is too high.

Mo Poppins
8 months ago

What do you think of the bike? Are you happy with your decision? I was thinking of getting the Rad Mini, but now this bike is looking quite tempting.

Electric Bike City
9 months ago

That beach ride looked like a lot of fun!

Lu Diamonds
9 months ago

was wondering what is the weight capacity before I make this purchase. and I do mean the actual weight the volt bike mariner can handle???

Norsemen Galleries
9 months ago

Hello Court...

Great Review!!! One of your best ever! I noticed that you had a RadMini on beach as well... Concerning strictly performance on the beach & loose/packed sand, how did the RAD compare to VoltBike? Why?

After viewing this review, I called George(founder) @ VoltBike... Talked at length... Hands-down, Mariner has substantially better price, performance, quality, features and higher-end components v.s. RadMini...

And they both have 500w motors... RAD is mis-leading stating @ website that their's is 750w... It is 500w with a 750w peak if I am not mistaken... Please verify for me...

Thanks for all your reviews... Planning on buying a Mariner at end of May, once it warms up here in COLDDDDD Minnesota...

Ken Brose
Facebook -->> Kenneth Brose
3/10/2017

hellochriis
10 months ago

Same as the hoverfly bike. Both claim to be the manufacturer.

Dean Champion
10 months ago

I've had 5 electric bikes. I liked the folding bike with small tires, except when hitting the crappy streets and potholes of Boston (it nearly broke my spine). Forget off road, except on a smooth beach. But good if your city has good, smooth streets. If your city has hills, definitely opt for more power... period. And a swing arm or shock absorber on the back is really great; but a shock on the front is a flat-out necessity.

SustainUsFarm
10 months ago

Rad Mini vs. this one?? Anyone???

VoltBike
9 months ago

I would suggest Voltbike Mariner. It comes with installed fenders, rear rack and also front and rear lights connected to the main battery.

Zaw Aung
11 months ago

is there any other video about this bike?