VoltBike Mariner Review

Voltbike Mariner Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Mariner
Voltbike Mariner 500 Watt Bafang Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Mariner 48 Volt Sanyo Removable Battery Pack
Voltbike Mariner Apt Led Display Panel Shifter Compass Bell
Voltbike Mariner Led Integrated Headlight And Steel Fender
Voltbike Mariner Folding Wellgo Pedals Bottom Bracket Stand Guard
Voltbike Mariner Kenda Krusade 4 Inch Fat Tires
Voltbike Mariner Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc Brakes 180 And 160
Voltbike Mariner Carry Rack With Light And Pannier Blockers
Voltbike Mariner Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Mariner
Voltbike Mariner 500 Watt Bafang Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Mariner 48 Volt Sanyo Removable Battery Pack
Voltbike Mariner Apt Led Display Panel Shifter Compass Bell
Voltbike Mariner Led Integrated Headlight And Steel Fender
Voltbike Mariner Folding Wellgo Pedals Bottom Bracket Stand Guard
Voltbike Mariner Kenda Krusade 4 Inch Fat Tires
Voltbike Mariner Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc Brakes 180 And 160
Voltbike Mariner Carry Rack With Light And Pannier Blockers

Summary

  • A miniaturized fat tire electric bike that's sand and snow capable, you get fenders, a rack and integrated lights for utility and safety no matter the terrain
  • Mid-mount battery design keeps weight low and centered, it's removable for reduced weight (when folding and transporting the bike) but requires that the seat be removed to get it off
  • Seat post suspension improves ride quality, you get nine levels of assist as well as trigger throttle mode that overrides for help climbing or slogging through soft stuff
  • Key must be left in when riding and can jingle a bit, the display is not removable and it along with the compass, bell and throttle could get bumped when folding, no clasps to keep it folded

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

VoltBike

Model:

Mariner

Price:

$1,249 ($70 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

20162017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

59.5 lbs (26.98 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.7 lbs (3.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

12 lbs (5.44 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

23 reach, 24" Stand Over Height, 67" Length

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Folding

Frame Colors:

Black

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid, 11 mm Axle

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

6 Speed 1x6 Shimano Acera, MF-TZ20, 11-28

Shifter Details:

Shimano Tourney TX50R6CT Thumb Shifter Plus

Cranks:

Alloy Bash Guard, 52T Chainring

Pedals:

Wellgo F-265T Aluminum Alloy Folding Platform

Stem:

Telescoping, SVMONO SM-A150-8R

Handlebar:

Promax Flat, 23" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Artek Vigorous Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Flat Rubber, Black

Saddle:

Velo VL-8020E, Comfort

Seat Post:

Promax SP-252, Aluminum Alloy with Suspension

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled Alloy, Black

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel

Tire Brand:

Kenda Krusade, 20" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Integrated LED Lights, Floating Ball Compass, Flick Bell, Steel Fenders, Carry Rack with Spring Latch (25 kg Max Load)

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Rust Resistant Z Chain, Hold the Up Button to Activate Lights

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Sanyo

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

499.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

APT Development, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Assist Level (1-9), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Mariner is one of just a handful of mini sized electric fat bikes I’ve seen that are designed to be both easier to mount and ride for short people as well as transportable for people who maybe have a boat, RV or trunk space. It’s a bike that’s fairly adaptable with telescoping stem (to raise the handle bars) and a seat post that can also raise and has a built in suspension element for comfort. The frame on the bike is sturdy but rigid and it comes with a bolt-on rear rack so you can add a trunk bag or panniers. Also, it has a headlight and tail light for improved safety and perhaps a bit of off-road nighttime adventure! Ultimately, it’s a surprisingly affordable little bike with a big personality that younger people, women and even large guys can enjoy on nearly any type of terrain.

For this review, I was able to get the company that makes them, VoltBike, to send a unit to Cabo San Lucas Mexico for testing at a resort called Cabo Adventures. This company specializes in scuba, zip line and biking adventures and has been considering adding electric bikes but was unsure how they would fare in the soft sand (and with different types of riders). Ultimately, the bike worked VERY well in the sand… even soft sand, which surprised and delighted me. To be fair, all of our fat tire ebikes handled the sand and the larger-wheeled models performed best, but even the 20″ x 4″ tires on this folding model made it through once the tire pressure was lowered sufficiently. Note, lowering the tire pressure makes a HUGE difference on soft terrain like sand or snow. The 500 watt internally geared Bafang hub motor zipped along in pedal assist and throttle mode without a hitch. Being able to add power on demand with the throttle (overriding assist on demand) made a big difference for me and my girlfriend and the fact that VoltBike uses a trigger throttle helped to keep the grips feeling solid vs. the half-twist design that some other bikes employ. It’s personal preference though and I noticed that the throttle on this bike is always active which means it could get bumped if you forget to turn the bike off after riding (if you lift it or decide to fold and pack it up).

Getting in to some of the gripes I have about the bike… activating it is a two step process which takes a bit of extra time and attention and can leave you wondering if it’s charged or has some sort of issue if you haven’t ridden for a while. First, insert the key into the battery and turn to on then hold the little on button at the control pad near the left grip. At this point the display comes to life showing speed, assist level, battery level and sone other stats about ride time and distance. You can activate the LED lights by holding up which is very nice and you can arrow up or down to navigate nine levels of assist but you cannot go to zero. So the throttle and assist are constantly active once the bike is on. Also, those keys mentioned earlier are constantly dangling and at risk of snagging or bending… but at least they’re harder to lose. I appreciate that the battery pack on the Mariner is mounted low and center, just behind the seat tube, and that it has a handle on top for easy removal. But you do have to slide the seat and seat post off in order to actually remove the battery in my experience.

Riding the bike is easy enough because the fat tires are wider and more stable than traditional ones. They cushion the ride a bit and offer plenty of traction. I found that braking with the rear kept me stable on soft sand and became almost fun like sliding out. Both brakes are mechanical disc and the levers have motor inhibitors so any time you activate them the power cuts out instantly for safety. I love that the cadence sensor they chose (for motor activation) features 12 magnets vs. six on some other models because that helps it respond quicker and on soft or unstable terrain it’s nice to feel in control. I also appreciate the black color scheme they chose for the bike because it hides the cables and wires coming from the brakes, display and shifter up front as they snake towards the rear end. You get six gears here which is very minimal and basic but the chainring is extra large to help balance out the extra small wheels. Pedaling feels normal and shifting is tight thanks to a slightly upgraded Shimano Acera derailleur. The shifter levers are extra large and take up some space at the handle bars but may be easier to use with gloves… and that’s nice if you’re getting this bike for use in the snow.

VoltBike is a Canadian company with a whole range of different styles of electric bikes that are all value priced. They only charge $70 to ship to the continental USA and offer a solid year long warranty. Note that anytime you’re buying an e-bike or other heavy, large and somewhat intricate product online there’s room for error. The Mariner we got made it all the way from Canada through the USA and into Mexico with just one busted part. The kickstand got mangled but we were able to take it off and use the bike without issue. I do like that it comes with a kickstand and a fun little bell compass combo. It would be easy to remove if you wanted but otherwise adds to the fun and sense of adventure. My girlfriend loved the narrower tube because she didn’t hit her knee as easily as with some other bikes we tested and I liked that both folding points locked for safety but noticed that there wasn’t a magnetic clasp or bungee system to keep the bike from unfolding. We all had a blast with this bike and the full sized models, VoltBike does sell a larger fat tire electric bicycle called the Yukon that I preferred for its suspension fork and larger tires but given the convenience and impressive performance on the Mariner, I could see myself being swayed by the space savings and flexibility… also being able to share with a wider range of friends. Big thanks to VoltBike for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • This is one of the most affordable mini-fat bikes on the market and shipping from Canada is just $70 to the US… overall it’s a fun capable bike and the motor is powerful enough to ride in soft sand as shown in the video review (just lower the air pressure first)
  • Low standover height makes this a great option for kids, petite riders like my girlfriend and some other ladies or people with sensitive knees or back that can’t swing their legs up high
  • Longer telescoping adjustable-length stem allows you to dial in fit, this is great if you’re a taller rider and in my experience the stem didn’t feel loose or wobbly as some designs do
  • The top tube is fairly narrow and the joint where it folds doesn’t stick out as much as some competing bikes meaning you shouldn’t hit your knee as easily when getting on or off (still good to be careful)
  • The fact that it folds means you can bring this bike to more fun spots, just stick it in your trunk or back seat
  • A 12 magnet cadence sensor provides very quick on/off motor performance, it felt responsive and controlled to me which is great for riding off road… some other ebikes only use a six magnet sensor which usually requires more time, this e-bike also has brake levers with motor inhibitors so the motor stops instantly whenever you brake
  • I like that the kickstand is mounted far back and out of the way, this makes it easier to work on the cranks, bottom bracket and chain or back the bike up without colliding and bending the stand, I also felt that the stand worked pretty well on the soft sandy beach
  • Suspension seat post adds to the comfort of those larger 4″ wide tires and comfort saddle… smaller wheels usually aren’t as comfortable (less air to cushion) so having this post shock really helps if you’re on a bumpy beach or trail
  • Front and rear integrated LED lights really take this ebike to the next level! It’s ot something I’d fault the bike for not having because I assume most riding would be during the day out on trails vs. nighttime but then again… if it snows or you’re camping those lights can come in handy and do keep you safe
  • Front and rear fenders help to keep you dry when riding, they add to the utility of the lights and rear rack making this both portable and capable as a hauler perhaps for grocery getting or other errands, I was surprised that they are made of steel however because it can rust if scraped vs. aluminum or plastic which would be more durable in salty environments (sea and salted snowy streets)
  • The rear cargo rack is pretty awesome! It’s constructed of standard gauge tubing so you can mount most panniers and even has pannier blockers along the sides to keep your straps from rubbing on the extra-wide tires, the rack can support up to 25 kg (~55 lbs) and protects the rear light
  • The bike is a bit rear heavy but I love that the battery is not mounted on the rack, instead it is kept low and more central just behind the seat tube so you have more space to haul cargo and get better balance when riding
  • Name brand Kenda tires with improved grip and durability, upgraded mechanical disc brakes with a larger 180 mm rotor up front to improve stopping power
  • Fun little extras like the compass bell make you feel like an adventurer but could be easily removed if you wanted (be careful with it when folding)
  • Oversized Wellgo folding pedals are a huge win for me, they are still small (as with most folding designs) but are larger, sturdier and stiffer than the cheap plastic ones I see a lot… great upgrade there ;)
  • Chain guard and a metal rest below the bottom bracket help to protect your chain and sprocket when folding and transporting the bike
  • Upgraded Shimano Acera derailleur should be tighter and provide more shifts between tuneups, it’s two steps up from the base level Tourney component group… you get six gears on the bike which is enough but not great
  • The bike ships fully assembled including the front wheel so you don’t have to mess around much in order to get up and going

Cons:

  • Neither wheel offers quick release, perhaps this allows for tighter stronger axle mounting but it does mean you’ll need a tool for repairs or flat fixes
  • At ~60 lbs this is not a light electric bike but given the larger tires, stronger motor and high capacity battery pack I can understand where the weight comes from, at least the ~7.7 lb battery is removable (highly recommended if you’re folding and lifting the bike)
  • I didn’t see any rubber bands or clasps to help keep the bike from coming unfolded… consider purchasing some of your own adjustable bungee cords and maybe using an old towel to keep it from rattling and coming undone
  • Considering the off-road nature of fat bikes, I was surprised to not see a slap guard? the chain is upgraded to be rust resistant and the tubing is aluminum so rust isn’t the issue, just the little chips in the paint, consider an after-market neoprene guard like this
  • During our tests, the bike must have fallen over or bumped into the bars of another bike because the plastic button pad got bent, the cover sort of bent upward and didn’t protect the clicker beneath as well so be careful with yours, these might just be more delicate than the rubberized flat button designs I’ve seen on some other bikes
  • I love that the bike offers assist and throttle mode but would have liked a throttle-only option, minor gripe… I also found that whenever the bike is on, the throttle is always active which can lead to more easy accidental motor bursts (especially if you’re trying to fold it without shutting it off first), that said… it’s a trigger throttle so slightly less likely to bump than a twist throttle and this is my preference for off-roading because it allows for more grip options and just a sturdier feel on the grip
  • The keys have to be inserted and twisted then left in the bike in order to activate and use it, this presents some challenges like jingling keys and potential snags when riding, consider a small carabiner? Once the battery is on you have to press and hold the power button on the control pad to activate the bike fully… you’ll see the display come to life then
  • The black color was a good choice because the wires blend in, they aren’t integrated through the frame and stick out a bit up front and below the frame… but that makes them easier to reach for repairs, mixed…
  • The motor was a bit louder than some other hubs but performed very well, even for larger riders, it’s an fat-tire specific wider motor from a well known company in the space, Bafang
  • The motor power cable protrudes directly from the end of the right side of the axle so be careful not to tip the bike onto it (or bump it when folding and transporting), this is also where the derailleur is so the right side of the bike is just more delicate in general
  • I think they could make the bike tougher by adding a derailleur guard, tucking the motor cable in further (I’ve seen some different designs that do this) and adding a second bash guard plat to the chainring so you’d have a guide which prevents dropping the chain as easily
  • The display can be swiveled forward and back to reduce glare but is not removable, this means it could get bumped easier if the bike tips, when you’re folding it and when it’s being stored and transported
  • As with a lot of the folding electric bicycles I test, this one didn’t include bottle cage bosses so you might want to get a trunk bag with a built in bottle holster like this for bringing along fluids

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More VoltBike Reviews

VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An exceptionally affordable, feature rich electric bike, built around an approachable frame that's easier to mount and stand over, offers pedal assist and throttle override operation. The battery pack is protected by the top tube, positioned low and center along the…...

VoltBike Enduro Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable full suspension trail bike with quiet, but powerful, mid-drive motor and integrated downtube battery pack, full-sized USB charging port on battery, adjustable top speed. Integrated LED headlight, backlit LCD display panel, and standard reflectors for urban riding, high-pressure tires…...

VoltBike Yukon 750 Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable but surprisingly powerful and quiet electric fat bike, sells online only and ships from Canada with a flat rate $70 fee, comes with a comprehensive 1 year warranty. Upgraded Kenda Juggernaut tires that feel good on pavement, dirt, sand and snow, removable battery…...

VoltBike Urban Review

  • MSRP: $1,049
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An ultra-affordable folding electric bike sold online from Canada, offers a full range of accessories including lights, fenders and a rear carry rack. Available in black or white but only one size, you get six gears with a…...

VoltBike Yukon Review

  • MSRP: $1,159
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value priced electric fat bike with a six speed drivetrain, integrated headlight and optional fender + rack kit. Available in two flavors (350 watt motor or more powerful 500 watt motor), sold online…...

2015 VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A very affordable city style electric bike with lots of useful accessories including integrated lights, fenders and rack. Only available in one frame size ~19" but the adjustable stem and seat hight help…...

VoltBike Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value oriented electric bike available in one size (19"), one frame style (step-thru) and one color (black). Comes standard with lots of useful accessories including full length plastic fenders, a rear carry…...


John Carey
5 months ago

If you go into menu you can program ” 0 ” mode which is no pedal assist and power only by thumb throdle or people power. Cool !- JLC

Reply
Court Rye
5 months ago

Cool! Thanks for the tip John :D

Reply
dayrate
5 months ago

Thanks for the excellent reviews and videos Court! I’m trying to decide between folding electric, and a folding electric fat bike. We will use them around town on class B RV trips for errands, as well as paved and unpaved trails. The fat version gives us snow and sand possibilities as well as softer base trail riding opportunities. Coming from years of road biking travels and some mountain biking, I am wondering how comfortable and efficient the fat bike version, such as the Voltbike Mariner, will be. For off-road use it seems an easy decision. Next question would be choosing between the Mariner and the RadMini. With some accessories, two of these bikes will max-out our budget so they feel like the best two to compare. Finally, have you or will you be reviewing the Citizen Frisco? Thanks again, we really appreciate your thorough write-ups!

Reply
Court Rye
5 months ago

There are minor differences in how the throttle works but it might come down to which design looks better or if you get a deal buying two at the same time. I’ve listed the other minor differences in the reviews and am traveling so don’t have time to clarify at the moment. I have not seen the Citizen Frisco yet but will keep an eye out for it. It looks compact and light weight but wouldn’t handle the trails, sand, or snow as well… but that may not be an issue depending on where you ride :)

Reply
Thanh Nguyen
4 months ago

I am 250 lbs, am I ok to ride the Voltbike Mariner 500w? What is the max weight that this bike can carry?

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Thanh, my guess would be yes… most electric bikes I review are rated for up to 250 lbs and many will carry more than that but the manufacturers want to play it safe. This being a folding electric bike, might not be quite as strong as a high step non-folder but the smaller wheels tend to be stronger so it’s a mix. You could reach out to VoltBike to confirm but my gut says you’ll be fine, and the rack on the back can probably hold up to 40 lbs.

Reply
Geo
2 months ago

I’m deciding between a Sondors Fold and a Mariner. With folders I believe wheelbase, (axle to axle) affects stability and ride-ability yet reviews lack this detail, this one included. My inquiry about the Mariner wheelbase got no response so far. Their chat says “ask me anything” (apparently except that). Sondors quickly responded their Fold wheelbase is 42 inches.

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Cool, thanks for sharing your experience with customer support and prodding me to include that with more of my reviews. I do try to include overall length of bikes now to help people understand what kind of space would be required to store. I also include stand over height and width. Hoping to review the Sondors Fold someday, whatever you choose, I hope it works out well for you and invite your feedback and comments here and in the Electric Bike Review Forums.

Reply
Geo
2 months ago

Update, Voltbike responded that their Mariner’s wheelbase is just over 46 inches which is a bit longer than the Sondors.

Folding bikes have their quirks. Apparently it’s tempting to make them shorter and thus more compact. I modified one of mine to get it as small as possible and still ridable. I discovered they get squirrelly when I went off the back of mine. The shorter it is, the closer the seat must be to the center point of the wheels, and balance gets touchy. It gets too easy to unexpectedly raise the rear wheel on a quick stop or do a wheelie taking off. That being said, it fit a suitcase and it was handy in Europe.

Geo
2 months ago

My early Dahon made that trip. No such luxury as electric power. Europe swarms with bikes, yet the Dahon attracted way more attention than in the US. I often had an audience when folding or unfolding and questions to answer.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

harryS
5 days ago

You can chew on these too .

The Ancheer 20" on ebay for $600 shipped.

Also the Voltbike Mariner fpr $1289 plus $70 shipping,
These fat tire folders weigh over 50 pounds. Not light. A 20" folder with 36V battery has a top speed around 18 mph. If your students want more speed, then a 48V battery is needed, although I don't know if I would want to ride over 20 mph in traffic. You're too small. Not easily seen, and your speed will be misjudged by motorists.

I'd treat them like bikes that can make a 15 mile trip less of a chore, but it will still take an hour and you will use up over half your battery so there's no guarantee you won't do the return trip on the motor.

Chris_x
2 weeks ago

Hi guys!

I don’t have much experience on bikes, I’m kinda new to all of this. Got a Voltbike Mariner a month ago and yesterday I got a flat tire, a tiny nail punctured it. -_-

What should I do? Just replace the tube? Or do I need to get a new tire too?

Can I patch the tire? How?

Here is the photo of the situation lol

Thanks for your help!

1/3
attyjenkins
3 weeks ago

Cnugget, I am jealous. I have waited half a month for my Mariner to be delivered, and it finally arrived today. You have 5,000 km, and I have zero.

I think this is a new model of Mariner. It has that fancy bell for the left thumb. The throttle is now a twist grip (just the final two inches, under the thumb and index finger). There is a bash guard over the derailleur and a slap guard under the chain. Here are some photos.

But the frustrating part is that Voltbike has included a charger that won't fit. The battery has an outlet the size of a dime, with 3 small numbered holes. But the charger cable ends with a single round plug. Voltbike indicated that this may be a common problem with their new production from China. They promised to send me a new charger, and I hope it comes soon.

This is worse than waiting for delivery -- now I can see and touch my shiny new bike, but I just can't use it.

1/4
attyjenkins
3 weeks ago

Well, my Voltbike Mariner arrived (after some struggle with the shipper, who did not want to come down my street at first, but wanted me to meet him at an intersection a quarter-mile away). The box was banged up, but the inner packaging was very good and the bike had not a scratch.

Here are some pictures.

It looks like some changes from what I expected. Primarily, the throttle is a twist grip (and the red button a cut-off). There is now a guard over the fragile right rear axle, and a neoprene guard between the frame and the chain.

But the main problem is this -- the charger's plug does not match the battery. Apparently, this new shipment has mismatched parts. So now I have to wait until Voltbike can send me a new charger.

This may be worse than waiting for the delivery -- now I can see and touch my new bike, but I cannot use it.

1/4
mrgold35
3 weeks ago

Sounds like a 4" folding fat tire bike from Radmini, Indegogo MOAR, Volt Mariner, Ride Scoozy VeeGo Fat tire, or Sondors to name a few. I like the option of:
- store back of RV on bike rack or inside the RV because of weather or protect from thieves (even place inside a towed vehicle if have a car on the hitch)
- all terrain with snow, sand, paved roads, and soft to hard trails
- usually have enough utility and power for shopping and grocery runs with added rack+bags
- prices can range from $700 to $1500 compared to $1500 to $4000 for eMTB
- hub motor fold bikes can have PAS and throttles (throttles very handy in urban settings getting across a 6 lane intersection in a hurry)
- don't need a bike rack to transport in your hometown if you don't have hitch or trunk mounted bike rack for your other vehicles
- minimal prep time to place on bike rack or fold for storage inside (can remove seat and lower handle bars for an even smaller footprint)
- easy to store at home after the vacation.

Dewey
3 weeks ago

A trio of 20" folding fat tire ebikes include:

Sondors Fold X $900 for the single speed, $1k for the 7-speed, plus $200 shipping.
VoltBike Mariner $1300 all in.
RadMini $1500 all in

ReallyGoodEbikes
3 weeks ago

There are a few folders that you might want to consider at that price point, but make sure they have a sturdy build quality. I would recommend taking a look at, in ascending order by price, the E-Mojo Lynx, Prodecotech Mariner LD V5, Joulvert Playa Desert, and Ride Scoozy VeeGo (available in late October).

attyjenkins
3 weeks ago

OK, I had the big debate about which ebike to get -- Radmini or Voltbike Mariner. For me, Voltbike won. It was close, but I went for the suspension seat post and fenders (though I think I could have easily lined the bottom of Radmini's front and rear racks with milk jugs cut to shape as fenders). So, I pulled the trigger and ordered online.

The first disappointment -- although the Voltbike website says "in stock", I was told it would be a few days before they could ship. All right, I am patient. Second problem, the helmet was not available in the color I wanted. OK, it is "free" so how can I complain.

A few days later, I am told my shiny new bike has shipped, and here is the tracking number. The shipper, YRC Freight, tracks by saying basically "It is on its way", and estimated arrival is 10 days. Really? Are they pedaling it here? Later, that was pushed back another day, but who knows? It isn't here yet.

Oh, and one last disappointment -- the price. Voltbike advertises on Facebook for a great price, but no, they simply don't honor that. So I pay the website price, quoted in US dollars. But my credit card charges a 2% foreign transaction fee. So any price advantage shrinks a lot.

I hope when my Mariner finally arrives some of the bitterness fades.

attyjenkins
3 weeks ago

OK, I had the big debate about which ebike to get -- Radmini or Voltbike Mariner. For me, Voltbike won. It was close, but I went for the suspension seat post and fenders (though I think I could have easily lined the bottom of Radmini's front and rear racks with milk jugs cut to shape as fenders). So, I pulled the trigger and ordered online.

The first disappointment -- although the Voltbike website says "in stock", I was told it would be a few days before they could ship. All right, I am patient. Second problem, the helmet was not available in the color I wanted. OK, it is "free" so how can I complain.

A few days later, I am told my shiny new bike has shipped, and here is the tracking number. The shipper, YRC Freight, tracks by saying basically "It is on its way", and estimated arrival is 10 days. Really? Are they pedaling it here? Later, that was pushed back another day, but who knows? It isn't here yet.

Oh, and one last disappointment -- the price. Voltbike advertises on Facebook for a great price, but no, they simply don't honor that. So I pay the website price, quoted in US dollars. But my credit card charges a 2% foreign transaction fee. So any price advantage shrinks a lot.

I hope when my Mariner finally arrives some of the bitterness fades.

Garys_PDX
3 weeks ago

I fully endorse the Mariner for trail riding. I'm 67 years old, have ridden mine 450 miles -- about half on trails-- and just love the bike. With its wide tires it's stable enough to roll over rocks and roots, thick sand or gravel, has plenty of power, and can fold into the back seat of a sedan (I bungee mine to the headrest). It's taken me on countless adventures. I say that because I never really intended to use it much as a mountain bike. I just wanted something versatile enough to ride on the occasional groomed park trail and leave more rugged trails for hiking. Kind of what you are saying, right? However, this thing is so capable that I'd actually rather ride on a trail than pavement, because it's more fun, rather ride than hike, and have ended up exploring so much more than I used to on foot. It's nothing to decide to ride up a side trail I'd never hiked up before, because I can do it quickly and effortlessly. If the trail goes up a steep hill, so what? I very rarely go over level 7 out of 9 for even the steepest terrain (although 9 is nice to have for the really mean grades). Usually, I'm on level 2-4 on a trail. And if the trail is rough, the fat tires generally roll right right on through. If not, the Mariner has a low crossbar, so it's easy to slide forward off the seat and have both feet flat on the ground, knees bent.

The thing that prevented me from ever being a mountain biker on a normal bike is the hills, and at my age that's even more of a consideration. You find yourself faced with endless circumstances on trails, and one I used to hate was one where you had to stop and cross over some kind of rut, or to slow to a crawl going around a sharp corner or around some obstacle, and then be faced with a steep uphill section that is next to impossible to start up from a standstill. No problem on this bike. Just set the pedal assist level, push the thumb throttle to get going while you start to pedal, and up you go.

The rack in back is really sturdy. I bungee a day pack to mine to get it off my back. You can buy a hard locking case for the back rack as well (3rd party, not from Volt Bike), but I don't like it for trails.

The seat and handlebar heights are adjustable & I've found the ride comfortable and much easier on the back than my normal bikes.

I've never ridden a Rad Mini, but they are probably similar in a lot of ways.
Thanks for your thoughts. I received my Mariner a little over a week ago so I'm still getting used to it on the pavement but look forward to more adventuresome rides soon.

Uphill
3 weeks ago

I fully endorse the Mariner for trail riding. I'm 67 years old, have ridden mine 450 miles -- about half on trails-- and just love the bike. With its wide tires it's stable enough to roll over rocks and roots, thick sand or gravel, has plenty of power, and can fold into the back seat of a sedan (I bungee mine to the headrest). It's taken me on countless adventures. I say that because I never really intended to use it much as a mountain bike. I just wanted something versatile enough to ride on the occasional groomed park trail and leave more rugged trails for hiking. Kind of what you are saying, right? However, this thing is so capable that I'd actually rather ride on a trail than pavement, because it's more fun, rather ride than hike, and have ended up exploring so much more than I used to on foot. It's nothing to decide to ride up a side trail I'd never hiked up before, because I can do it quickly and effortlessly. If the trail goes up a steep hill, so what? I very rarely go over level 7 out of 9 for even the steepest terrain (although 9 is nice to have for the really mean grades). Usually, I'm on level 2-4 on a trail. And if the trail is rough, the fat tires generally roll right right on through. If not, the Mariner has a low crossbar, so it's easy to slide forward off the seat and have both feet flat on the ground, knees bent.

The thing that prevented me from ever being a mountain biker on a normal bike is the hills, and at my age that's even more of a consideration. You find yourself faced with endless circumstances on trails, and one I used to hate was one where you had to stop and cross over some kind of rut, or to slow to a crawl going around a sharp corner or around some obstacle, and then be faced with a steep uphill section that is next to impossible to start up from a standstill. No problem on this bike. Just set the pedal assist level, push the thumb throttle to get going while you start to pedal, and up you go.

The rack in back is really sturdy. I bungee a day pack to mine to get it off my back. You can buy a hard locking case for the back rack as well (3rd party, not from Volt Bike), but I don't like it for trails.

The seat and handlebar heights are adjustable & I've found the ride comfortable and much easier on the back than my normal bikes.

I've never ridden a Rad Mini, but they are probably similar in a lot of ways.

Uphill
3 weeks ago

I fully endorse the Mariner for trail riding. I'm 67 years old, have ridden mine 450 miles -- about half on trails-- and just love the bike. With its wide tires it's stable enough to roll over rocks and roots, thick sand or gravel, has plenty of power, and can fold into the back seat of a sedan (I bungee mine to the headrest). It's taken me on countless adventures. I say that because I never really intended to use it much as a mountain bike. I just wanted something versatile enough to ride on the occasional groomed park trail and leave more rugged trails for hiking. Kind of what you are saying, right? However, this thing is so capable that I'd actually rather ride on a trail than pavement, because it's more fun, rather ride than hike, and have ended up exploring so much more than I used to on foot. It's nothing to decide to ride up a side trail I'd never hiked up before, because I can do it quickly and effortlessly. If the trail goes up a steep hill, so what? I very rarely go over level 7 out of 9 for even the steepest terrain (although 9 is nice to have for the really mean grades). Usually, I'm on level 2-4 on a trail. And if the trail is rough, the fat tires generally roll right right on through. If not, the Mariner has a low crossbar, so it's easy to slide forward off the seat and have both feet flat on the ground, knees bent.

The thing that prevented me from ever being a mountain biker on a normal bike is the hills, and at my age that's even more of a consideration. You find yourself faced with endless circumstances on trails, and one I used to hate was one where you had to stop and cross over some kind of rut, or to slow to a crawl going around a sharp corner or around some obstacle, and then be faced with a steep uphill section that is next to impossible to start up from a standstill. No problem on this bike. Just set the pedal assist level, push the thumb throttle to get going while you start to pedal, and up you go.

The rack in back is really sturdy. I bungee a day pack to mine to get it off my back. You can buy a hard locking case for the back rack as well (3rd party, not from Volt Bike), but I don't like it for trails.

The seat and handlebar heights are adjustable & I've found the ride comfortable and much easier on the back than my normal bikes.

I've never ridden a Rad Mini, but they are probably similar in a lot of ways.

1/3
Garys_PDX
1 month ago

Hi @america94, we do stock both fat tires and inner tubes Kenda for both our Voltbike Yukon and Voltbike Mariner series. In fact we also offer either free helmet or free inner tube if you decide to purchase Voltbike Yukon or Voltbike Mariner.
I understand is hard to find in Canada, but I can assure you we have enough of those in-stock.
Here is the direct page of the Kenda Krusde 20x4" Tire.
http://www.voltbike.ca/replacement-parts/electric-bike-parts/kenda-krusade-sport-tire-20-x-4.html

Wish you had made that clearer when ordering as I would have gladly given up the helmet that I wont be using for a spare tube.

Cnugget
1 month ago

Bike just rolled over to 5,000 km or 3,100 mi. Volt Bike Mariner. Just over 1 year old now purchased last Aug 2016.

Reema Ylla
2 months ago

I had lots fun making the review of this bike, i thought i make another one for the hell of it.

Let me know what you guys think and what i should include in the next vid

Brooklyn Tony
2 months ago

Thanks. I just wanted this bike but it wasn't meant to be I guess.

Fret not! Here's a couple of other fat tire options from low to high pricepoints:
Sondors Original, X, Fold, and Fold X,
Voltbike Yukon, and Mariner,
RadPower Rad Rover and Rad mini,
Pedego trail tracker
Luna cycles homebrewed stuff
iZip E3 Sumo
Emotion Big Bud
Bulls Monster

Garys_PDX
2 months ago

Not sure if this is true for the Mariner; but, the Radmini has a twist throttle that applies full 750w of power at any PAS level of 0-5. Comes in handy walking the bike up steep inclines, over obstacles, or even powering up stairs. I ride my Radrover singletrack and often take my Nikon DSLR in my backpack. Nice to have the full power throttle when you need to get up a short incline or when the trail gets too narrow to pedal.

The only suspension with the Radmini depends on how much PSI in the tires since there isn't a front suspension fork. A suspension seatpost from Thudbuster, Bodyfloat, or Suntour is a plus when trail riding.

Thanks for our thoughts.

g

mrgold35
2 months ago

Not sure if this is true for the Mariner; but, the Radmini has a twist throttle that applies full 750w of power at any PAS level of 0-5. Comes in handy walking the bike up steep inclines, over obstacles, or even powering up stairs. I ride my Radrover singletrack and often take my Nikon DSLR in my backpack. Nice to have the full power throttle when you need to get up a short incline or when the trail gets too narrow to pedal.

The only suspension with the Radmini depends on how much PSI in the tires since there isn't a front suspension fork. A suspension seatpost from Thudbuster, Bodyfloat, or Suntour is a plus when trail riding.

Garys_PDX
2 months ago

We use ours on the trails and gravel roads all the time they are fantastic!! you will not regret the Mariner on the trails

Thanks for the input.

gary

Trac1
2 months ago

We use ours on the trails and gravel roads all the time they are fantastic!! you will not regret the Mariner on the trails

Garys_PDX
2 months ago

Hi, I'm an amateur photographer and am looking for a folding e-bike that will allow me to get out and do more photography (I have severe arthritis in my legs which makes walking any distance difficult but I have no problem riding a bike.). I have pretty much decided on either the Mariner or the RadMini as both have the main characteristics that I'm looking for, folding, fenders & rear rack. My question is: does anyone have experience with the Mariner on gravel roads and trails? I need a bike that handles reasonably well off pavement as I will typically be carrying camera equipment that is worth a lot more than the bike. I'm not looking to ride single track or any terrain that is particularly challenging as I did enough of that in my younger days. Thanks for any thoughts or advice.

Garys_PDX
2 months ago

Hi, I'm an amateur photographer and am looking for a folding e-bike that will allow me to get out and do more photography (I have severe arthritis in my legs which makes walking any distance difficult but I have no problem riding a bike.). I have pretty much decided on either the Mariner or the RadMini as both have the main characteristics that I'm looking for, folding, fenders & rear rack. My question is: does anyone have experience with the Mariner on gravel roads and trails? I need a bike that handles reasonably well off pavement as I will typically be carrying camera equipment that is worth a lot more than the bike. I'm not looking to ride single track or any terrain that is particularly challenging as I did enough of that in my younger days. Thanks for any thoughts or advice.

Denis Shelston
2 months ago

Now with a report on a broken seat post tube, there may be a concern on this new aluminum frame design! Sondors accessories or update parts are notoriously higher priced than the aftermarket supply chain. Faster delivery from the aftermarket as well.

Yes, saw that too. I've seen paint issues as well, where the paint was not dry or cured before bolts were put on, now the seat post, very thin-walled. Think I'm going to go with either Mariner or Voltbike, better warranty as well.

Reema Ylla
2 months ago

Hi Everyone! I just got a Voltbike Mariner, all good but I'm having a little issue with the lights... they just won't turn off :/

Everytime I turn on the battery the lights turn on. And if I click the UP button the LCD panels changes from on to off and vice versa but tje lights stay on.

Anyone knows a way to reset them? or a fix for this?

Thanks!
I had the same problem, then I realized that there was water in the controller and had to get a new controller

Josi De Martino
2 weeks ago

where is this fantastic place?

Fist OfTheNorthStar
3 weeks ago

How does the volt stand up to rain and snow?

Modern Shootter
3 weeks ago

Is this bike pedal assist??? Or does it work by itself?

Jon Neet
2 months ago

Riding in sand can be tricky. As an old motorcyclist I learned very early that if you go slowly through the sand, the tired dig in and fight you, and wander all over. If you keep the speed up, it kind of hydroplanes over the deep stuff. It does still wander some, but you don't fight it. Let the wander a bit and relax. A little like riding over a draw bridge with the steel grating. Relax and let the bike wander a bit, and don't try to fight it. It is a bit disconcerting, but going slowly in sand and fighting the bike, wears you out much quicker.

Brigadier Jones
3 months ago

Just a minor point for your videos the review would be better with pro's and con's at the end of the video would make the review more complete not everyone has time for reading a whole review on a website these days especially with 20+ minute videos.

lance clayton
3 months ago

Look at this on eBay http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/272764361324 BUY ONE ON EBAY UK

vanart
3 months ago

It would be perfect if it had a gearless motor...
I don't have MAriner but I had about 6 e-bikes in the past.

Tammy Stevens
3 months ago

With a different seat and/ post, could I get 30 inches from the ground to the seat. I'm just 5 foot tall and like to be able to at least touch my toes on the ground with one leg.

VoltBike
2 months ago

Hi Tammy, we normally do recommend Voltbike Mariner for person 5'5" or taller. The bike stand taller mainly because of the 4" wide tires. Also Voltbike Mariner comes with seat post suspension which also bring the seat few inches higher.

VenoStuff
4 months ago

Where i can't get those fenders for my bike?

Mr Mr
6 months ago

He says Derailier..... Foo its derailer.... lol
Thanks for the videos none the less

Sam Binder
6 months ago

Court, Love your videos. I live in philadelphia and am thinking that a fat tire folding bike might be great for getting around.I have my eye on either a voltbike mariner of radmini. Is the Radmini really more powerful or is it same motor rated higher? I like the ambassador program from voltbike which will allow me to share my bike and defray the cost.

Kathrine Kukova
6 months ago

Update April/2017. I just bought Mariner. Came standard with splash guard and rear derailleur guard. It's nice that you supply helmets with your bikes, but they are heavy! DOT helmets more suitable for motorbikes.

OldHickory
2 months ago

Only thing you didn't mention was battery life where the RAD Mini is far superior then the Mariner. You can buy a lot of fenders for the savings on the Battery life IMHO

Waltkat
2 months ago

Martin Kuka
From what I understand, the motor in the Radmini is also 500W, so no advantage there. Rad just publishes the peak power which happens to be 750W. A little bit of marketing mumbo jumbo to boost sales. And the last time I checked, Rad wants $120 for a pair of plastic fenders/mudguards for their Mini. Highway robbery, in my book.

Martin Kuka
6 months ago

Well yes and no, I didn't realize how heave the bike is until I got it (same with the rad). I would choose it over rad mini any day (better components, except motor, plus fenders, love the lights) I use the bike to get me around Boston, so the heavy fat tires aren't ideal, but that isn't bikes flaw. Dragging it up the stairs while opening the doors is a torture. The 500w motor has plenty of power for this bike. I would only see 750w motor as an advantage if these bikes could go over 20mph. Its too bad, you wont really go over 21-22mph unless you go downhill. The resistance from the wind (you sit upright) and tires itself is too high.

Mo Poppins
6 months ago

What do you think of the bike? Are you happy with your decision? I was thinking of getting the Rad Mini, but now this bike is looking quite tempting.

Electric Bike City
7 months ago

That beach ride looked like a lot of fun!

Lu Diamonds
7 months ago

was wondering what is the weight capacity before I make this purchase. and I do mean the actual weight the volt bike mariner can handle???

Norsemen Galleries
7 months ago

Hello Court...

Great Review!!! One of your best ever! I noticed that you had a RadMini on beach as well... Concerning strictly performance on the beach & loose/packed sand, how did the RAD compare to VoltBike? Why?

After viewing this review, I called George(founder) @ VoltBike... Talked at length... Hands-down, Mariner has substantially better price, performance, quality, features and higher-end components v.s. RadMini...

And they both have 500w motors... RAD is mis-leading stating @ website that their's is 750w... It is 500w with a 750w peak if I am not mistaken... Please verify for me...

Thanks for all your reviews... Planning on buying a Mariner at end of May, once it warms up here in COLDDDDD Minnesota...

Ken Brose
Facebook -->> Kenneth Brose
3/10/2017

hellochriis
8 months ago

Same as the hoverfly bike. Both claim to be the manufacturer.

Dean Champion
8 months ago

I've had 5 electric bikes. I liked the folding bike with small tires, except when hitting the crappy streets and potholes of Boston (it nearly broke my spine). Forget off road, except on a smooth beach. But good if your city has good, smooth streets. If your city has hills, definitely opt for more power... period. And a swing arm or shock absorber on the back is really great; but a shock on the front is a flat-out necessity.

SustainUsFarm
8 months ago

Rad Mini vs. this one?? Anyone???

VoltBike
7 months ago

I would suggest Voltbike Mariner. It comes with installed fenders, rear rack and also front and rear lights connected to the main battery.

Zaw Aung
9 months ago

is there any other video about this bike?

Zaw Aung
9 months ago

Radpower mini bike vs this one. which one do you recommend?

VoltBike
2 months ago

For 2x bikes we offer only one shipping fee of $70 USD even though you purchase 2x bikes which bring the price down to $1324 USD per bike. On top of that as we mention before you get motorcycle DOT approved helmet which is $30 value and front and rear fenders. Hope this works for you.

OldHickory
2 months ago

I appreciate the update. and those changes make your bike very attractive.. With that said I will have to disagree on your cost difference. I see on your site that the Mariner is currently listed at $1289 plus $70 shipping with no discount for multiple buys which indicates $1359 for each bike whereas the RAD Mini is listed at $1499 with free shipping and a discount of $200 if you buy two bikes which calculates out to $1399 a bike. Since I would be purchasing two bikes I don't see a significant cost advantage in the Volt and with a $50 referral program I could reduce the cost even more.Does Volt offer discounts for multiple buys  (say two bikes) or referrals?

VoltBike
2 months ago

Hi @OldHickory...Since the video review come out we upgraded our battery to Samsung 11.6Ah which makes it the same as on the RadMini. The manufacturer gives 800 recycle charges. On top of that Voltbike Mariner comes with fenders and free motorcycle grade helmet. All that for $200+ less than RadMini. Hope this helps.

OldHickory
2 months ago

It was one of many that were being evaluated for use down there and the RAD Mini was among those tested as well. I wouldn't read too much into this as this did not determine the one Bike they decided on

OldHickory
2 months ago

RADMini has a longer battery life ( recharge completely drained Mariner 500 times, RADMini 800 times....Battery cost around $500. That should be a huge selling point in favor of the RAD Mini IMHO even without fenders. Panasonic over Sanyo Battery should also favor RADMini IMHO.