VoltBike Mariner Review

Voltbike Mariner Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Mariner
Voltbike Mariner 500 Watt Bafang Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Mariner 48 Volt Sanyo Removable Battery Pack
Voltbike Mariner Apt Led Display Panel Shifter Compass Bell
Voltbike Mariner Led Integrated Headlight And Steel Fender
Voltbike Mariner Folding Wellgo Pedals Bottom Bracket Stand Guard
Voltbike Mariner Kenda Krusade 4 Inch Fat Tires
Voltbike Mariner Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc Brakes 180 And 160
Voltbike Mariner Carry Rack With Light And Pannier Blockers
Voltbike Mariner Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Mariner
Voltbike Mariner 500 Watt Bafang Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Mariner 48 Volt Sanyo Removable Battery Pack
Voltbike Mariner Apt Led Display Panel Shifter Compass Bell
Voltbike Mariner Led Integrated Headlight And Steel Fender
Voltbike Mariner Folding Wellgo Pedals Bottom Bracket Stand Guard
Voltbike Mariner Kenda Krusade 4 Inch Fat Tires
Voltbike Mariner Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc Brakes 180 And 160
Voltbike Mariner Carry Rack With Light And Pannier Blockers

Summary

  • A miniaturized fat tire electric bike that's sand and snow capable, you get fenders, a rack and integrated lights for utility and safety no matter the terrain
  • Mid-mount battery design keeps weight low and centered, it's removable for reduced weight (when folding and transporting the bike) but requires that the seat be removed to get it off
  • Seat post suspension improves ride quality, you get nine levels of assist as well as trigger throttle mode that overrides for help climbing or slogging through soft stuff
  • Key must be left in when riding and can jingle a bit, the display is not removable and it along with the compass, bell and throttle could get bumped when folding, no clasps to keep it folded

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

VoltBike

Model:

Mariner

Price:

$1,249 ($70 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

20162017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

59.5 lbs (26.98 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.7 lbs (3.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

12 lbs (5.44 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

23 reach, 24" Stand Over Height, 67" Length

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Folding

Frame Colors:

Black

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid, 11 mm Axle

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

6 Speed 1x6 Shimano Acera, MF-TZ20, 11-28

Shifter Details:

Shimano Tourney TX50R6CT Thumb Shifter Plus

Cranks:

Alloy Bash Guard, 52T Chainring

Pedals:

Wellgo F-265T Aluminum Alloy Folding Platform

Stem:

Telescoping, SVMONO SM-A150-8R

Handlebar:

Promax Flat, 23" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Artek Vigorous Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Flat Rubber, Black

Saddle:

Velo VL-8020E, Comfort

Seat Post:

Promax SP-252, Aluminum Alloy with Suspension

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled Alloy, Black

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel

Tire Brand:

Kenda Krusade, 20" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Integrated LED Lights, Floating Ball Compass, Flick Bell, Steel Fenders, Carry Rack with Spring Latch (25 kg Max Load)

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Rust Resistant Z Chain, Hold the Up Button to Activate Lights

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Sanyo

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

499.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

APT Development, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Assist Level (1-9), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Mariner is one of just a handful of mini sized electric fat bikes I’ve seen that are designed to be both easier to mount and ride for short people as well as transportable for people who maybe have a boat, RV or trunk space. It’s a bike that’s fairly adaptable with telescoping stem (to raise the handle bars) and a seat post that can also raise and has a built in suspension element for comfort. The frame on the bike is sturdy but rigid and it comes with a bolt-on rear rack so you can add a trunk bag or panniers. Also, it has a headlight and tail light for improved safety and perhaps a bit of off-road nighttime adventure! Ultimately, it’s a surprisingly affordable little bike with a big personality that younger people, women and even large guys can enjoy on nearly any type of terrain.

For this review, I was able to get the company that makes them, VoltBike, to send a unit to Cabo San Lucas Mexico for testing at a resort called Cabo Adventures. This company specializes in scuba, zip line and biking adventures and has been considering adding electric bikes but was unsure how they would fare in the soft sand (and with different types of riders). Ultimately, the bike worked VERY well in the sand… even soft sand, which surprised and delighted me. To be fair, all of our fat tire ebikes handled the sand and the larger-wheeled models performed best, but even the 20″ x 4″ tires on this folding model made it through once the tire pressure was lowered sufficiently. Note, lowering the tire pressure makes a HUGE difference on soft terrain like sand or snow. The 500 watt internally geared Bafang hub motor zipped along in pedal assist and throttle mode without a hitch. Being able to add power on demand with the throttle (overriding assist on demand) made a big difference for me and my girlfriend and the fact that VoltBike uses a trigger throttle helped to keep the grips feeling solid vs. the half-twist design that some other bikes employ. It’s personal preference though and I noticed that the throttle on this bike is always active which means it could get bumped if you forget to turn the bike off after riding (if you lift it or decide to fold and pack it up).

Getting in to some of the gripes I have about the bike… activating it is a two step process which takes a bit of extra time and attention and can leave you wondering if it’s charged or has some sort of issue if you haven’t ridden for a while. First, insert the key into the battery and turn to on then hold the little on button at the control pad near the left grip. At this point the display comes to life showing speed, assist level, battery level and sone other stats about ride time and distance. You can activate the LED lights by holding up which is very nice and you can arrow up or down to navigate nine levels of assist but you cannot go to zero. So the throttle and assist are constantly active once the bike is on. Also, those keys mentioned earlier are constantly dangling and at risk of snagging or bending… but at least they’re harder to lose. I appreciate that the battery pack on the Mariner is mounted low and center, just behind the seat tube, and that it has a handle on top for easy removal. But you do have to slide the seat and seat post off in order to actually remove the battery in my experience.

Riding the bike is easy enough because the fat tires are wider and more stable than traditional ones. They cushion the ride a bit and offer plenty of traction. I found that braking with the rear kept me stable on soft sand and became almost fun like sliding out. Both brakes are mechanical disc and the levers have motor inhibitors so any time you activate them the power cuts out instantly for safety. I love that the cadence sensor they chose (for motor activation) features 12 magnets vs. six on some other models because that helps it respond quicker and on soft or unstable terrain it’s nice to feel in control. I also appreciate the black color scheme they chose for the bike because it hides the cables and wires coming from the brakes, display and shifter up front as they snake towards the rear end. You get six gears here which is very minimal and basic but the chainring is extra large to help balance out the extra small wheels. Pedaling feels normal and shifting is tight thanks to a slightly upgraded Shimano Acera derailleur. The shifter levers are extra large and take up some space at the handle bars but may be easier to use with gloves… and that’s nice if you’re getting this bike for use in the snow.

VoltBike is a Canadian company with a whole range of different styles of electric bikes that are all value priced. They only charge $70 to ship to the continental USA and offer a solid year long warranty. Note that anytime you’re buying an e-bike or other heavy, large and somewhat intricate product online there’s room for error. The Mariner we got made it all the way from Canada through the USA and into Mexico with just one busted part. The kickstand got mangled but we were able to take it off and use the bike without issue. I do like that it comes with a kickstand and a fun little bell compass combo. It would be easy to remove if you wanted but otherwise adds to the fun and sense of adventure. My girlfriend loved the narrower tube because she didn’t hit her knee as easily as with some other bikes we tested and I liked that both folding points locked for safety but noticed that there wasn’t a magnetic clasp or bungee system to keep the bike from unfolding. We all had a blast with this bike and the full sized models, VoltBike does sell a larger fat tire electric bicycle called the Yukon that I preferred for its suspension fork and larger tires but given the convenience and impressive performance on the Mariner, I could see myself being swayed by the space savings and flexibility… also being able to share with a wider range of friends. Big thanks to VoltBike for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • This is one of the most affordable mini-fat bikes on the market and shipping from Canada is just $70 to the US… overall it’s a fun capable bike and the motor is powerful enough to ride in soft sand as shown in the video review (just lower the air pressure first)
  • Low standover height makes this a great option for kids, petite riders like my girlfriend and some other ladies or people with sensitive knees or back that can’t swing their legs up high
  • Longer telescoping adjustable-length stem allows you to dial in fit, this is great if you’re a taller rider and in my experience the stem didn’t feel loose or wobbly as some designs do
  • The top tube is fairly narrow and the joint where it folds doesn’t stick out as much as some competing bikes meaning you shouldn’t hit your knee as easily when getting on or off (still good to be careful)
  • The fact that it folds means you can bring this bike to more fun spots, just stick it in your trunk or back seat
  • A 12 magnet cadence sensor provides very quick on/off motor performance, it felt responsive and controlled to me which is great for riding off road… some other ebikes only use a six magnet sensor which usually requires more time, this e-bike also has brake levers with motor inhibitors so the motor stops instantly whenever you brake
  • I like that the kickstand is mounted far back and out of the way, this makes it easier to work on the cranks, bottom bracket and chain or back the bike up without colliding and bending the stand, I also felt that the stand worked pretty well on the soft sandy beach
  • Suspension seat post adds to the comfort of those larger 4″ wide tires and comfort saddle… smaller wheels usually aren’t as comfortable (less air to cushion) so having this post shock really helps if you’re on a bumpy beach or trail
  • Front and rear integrated LED lights really take this ebike to the next level! It’s ot something I’d fault the bike for not having because I assume most riding would be during the day out on trails vs. nighttime but then again… if it snows or you’re camping those lights can come in handy and do keep you safe
  • Front and rear fenders help to keep you dry when riding, they add to the utility of the lights and rear rack making this both portable and capable as a hauler perhaps for grocery getting or other errands, I was surprised that they are made of steel however because it can rust if scraped vs. aluminum or plastic which would be more durable in salty environments (sea and salted snowy streets)
  • The rear cargo rack is pretty awesome! It’s constructed of standard gauge tubing so you can mount most panniers and even has pannier blockers along the sides to keep your straps from rubbing on the extra-wide tires, the rack can support up to 25 kg (~55 lbs) and protects the rear light
  • The bike is a bit rear heavy but I love that the battery is not mounted on the rack, instead it is kept low and more central just behind the seat tube so you have more space to haul cargo and get better balance when riding
  • Name brand Kenda tires with improved grip and durability, upgraded mechanical disc brakes with a larger 180 mm rotor up front to improve stopping power
  • Fun little extras like the compass bell make you feel like an adventurer but could be easily removed if you wanted (be careful with it when folding)
  • Oversized Wellgo folding pedals are a huge win for me, they are still small (as with most folding designs) but are larger, sturdier and stiffer than the cheap plastic ones I see a lot… great upgrade there ;)
  • Chain guard and a metal rest below the bottom bracket help to protect your chain and sprocket when folding and transporting the bike
  • Upgraded Shimano Acera derailleur should be tighter and provide more shifts between tuneups, it’s two steps up from the base level Tourney component group… you get six gears on the bike which is enough but not great
  • The bike ships fully assembled including the front wheel so you don’t have to mess around much in order to get up and going

Cons:

  • Neither wheel offers quick release, perhaps this allows for tighter stronger axle mounting but it does mean you’ll need a tool for repairs or flat fixes
  • At ~60 lbs this is not a light electric bike but given the larger tires, stronger motor and high capacity battery pack I can understand where the weight comes from, at least the ~7.7 lb battery is removable (highly recommended if you’re folding and lifting the bike)
  • I didn’t see any rubber bands or clasps to help keep the bike from coming unfolded… consider purchasing some of your own adjustable bungee cords and maybe using an old towel to keep it from rattling and coming undone
  • Considering the off-road nature of fat bikes, I was surprised to not see a slap guard? the chain is upgraded to be rust resistant and the tubing is aluminum so rust isn’t the issue, just the little chips in the paint, consider an after-market neoprene guard like this
  • During our tests, the bike must have fallen over or bumped into the bars of another bike because the plastic button pad got bent, the cover sort of bent upward and didn’t protect the clicker beneath as well so be careful with yours, these might just be more delicate than the rubberized flat button designs I’ve seen on some other bikes
  • I love that the bike offers assist and throttle mode but would have liked a throttle-only option, minor gripe… I also found that whenever the bike is on, the throttle is always active which can lead to more easy accidental motor bursts (especially if you’re trying to fold it without shutting it off first), that said… it’s a trigger throttle so slightly less likely to bump than a twist throttle and this is my preference for off-roading because it allows for more grip options and just a sturdier feel on the grip
  • The keys have to be inserted and twisted then left in the bike in order to activate and use it, this presents some challenges like jingling keys and potential snags when riding, consider a small carabiner? Once the battery is on you have to press and hold the power button on the control pad to activate the bike fully… you’ll see the display come to life then
  • The black color was a good choice because the wires blend in, they aren’t integrated through the frame and stick out a bit up front and below the frame… but that makes them easier to reach for repairs, mixed…
  • The motor was a bit louder than some other hubs but performed very well, even for larger riders, it’s an fat-tire specific wider motor from a well known company in the space, Bafang
  • The motor power cable protrudes directly from the end of the right side of the axle so be careful not to tip the bike onto it (or bump it when folding and transporting), this is also where the derailleur is so the right side of the bike is just more delicate in general
  • I think they could make the bike tougher by adding a derailleur guard, tucking the motor cable in further (I’ve seen some different designs that do this) and adding a second bash guard plat to the chainring so you’d have a guide which prevents dropping the chain as easily
  • The display can be swiveled forward and back to reduce glare but is not removable, this means it could get bumped easier if the bike tips, when you’re folding it and when it’s being stored and transported
  • As with a lot of the folding electric bicycles I test, this one didn’t include bottle cage bosses so you might want to get a trunk bag with a built in bottle holster like this for bringing along fluids

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More VoltBike Reviews

VoltBike Enduro Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable full suspension trail bike with quiet, but powerful, mid-drive motor and integrated downtube battery pack, full-sized USB charging port on battery, adjustable top speed. Integrated LED headlight, backlit LCD display panel, and standard reflectors for urban riding, high-pressure tires…...

VoltBike Yukon 750 Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable but surprisingly powerful and quiet electric fat bike, sells online only and ships from Canada with a flat rate $70 fee, comes with a comprehensive 1 year warranty. Upgraded Kenda Juggernaut tires that feel good on pavement, dirt, sand and snow, removable battery…...

VoltBike Urban Review

  • MSRP: $1,049
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An ultra-affordable folding electric bike sold online from Canada, offers a full range of accessories including lights, fenders and a rear carry rack. Available in black or white but only one size, you get six gears with a…...

VoltBike Yukon Review

  • MSRP: $1,159
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value priced electric fat bike with a six speed drivetrain, integrated headlight and optional fender + rack kit. Available in two flavors (350 watt motor or more powerful 500 watt motor), sold online…...

VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A very affordable city style electric bike with lots of useful accessories including integrated lights, fenders and rack. Only available in one frame size ~19" but the adjustable stem and seat hight help…...

VoltBike Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value oriented electric bike available in one size (19"), one frame style (step-thru) and one color (black). Comes standard with lots of useful accessories including full length plastic fenders, a rear carry…...


John Carey
3 months ago

If you go into menu you can program ” 0 ” mode which is no pedal assist and power only by thumb throdle or people power. Cool !- JLC

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Cool! Thanks for the tip John :D

Reply
dayrate
3 months ago

Thanks for the excellent reviews and videos Court! I’m trying to decide between folding electric, and a folding electric fat bike. We will use them around town on class B RV trips for errands, as well as paved and unpaved trails. The fat version gives us snow and sand possibilities as well as softer base trail riding opportunities. Coming from years of road biking travels and some mountain biking, I am wondering how comfortable and efficient the fat bike version, such as the Voltbike Mariner, will be. For off-road use it seems an easy decision. Next question would be choosing between the Mariner and the RadMini. With some accessories, two of these bikes will max-out our budget so they feel like the best two to compare. Finally, have you or will you be reviewing the Citizen Frisco? Thanks again, we really appreciate your thorough write-ups!

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

There are minor differences in how the throttle works but it might come down to which design looks better or if you get a deal buying two at the same time. I’ve listed the other minor differences in the reviews and am traveling so don’t have time to clarify at the moment. I have not seen the Citizen Frisco yet but will keep an eye out for it. It looks compact and light weight but wouldn’t handle the trails, sand, or snow as well… but that may not be an issue depending on where you ride :)

Reply
Thanh Nguyen
2 months ago

I am 250 lbs, am I ok to ride the Voltbike Mariner 500w? What is the max weight that this bike can carry?

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Thanh, my guess would be yes… most electric bikes I review are rated for up to 250 lbs and many will carry more than that but the manufacturers want to play it safe. This being a folding electric bike, might not be quite as strong as a high step non-folder but the smaller wheels tend to be stronger so it’s a mix. You could reach out to VoltBike to confirm but my gut says you’ll be fine, and the rack on the back can probably hold up to 40 lbs.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Cristina
4 hours ago

Thanks for the replies. I did look at the Radmini and Mariner but they're not quite what I was looking for, though it did offer some advantages with a lower stand over height. Also great to see that the RadRover works for someone who is 4'11". I am 5'4" so hopefully it won't be too much of a struggle. I am guessing that the RadRover and Yukon are pretty similar in size, but the RadRover seems to have a more upright position for riding.

Pedego Trail Tracker looks very nice, but it is out of my budget at the moment, especially for a first e-bike. It is too bad because they are local for me.

I saw that M2S Bikes (https://m2sbikes.com/) offer different frame sizes which is nice, but it seems they are already out of pre-orders next month, and I haven't really seen a lot of reviews online about their bikes.

The touring saddle is a good idea. I have read some people trim the post of their bike, but I would rather not do that right away since I'm sure it would void the warranty. I am thinking maybe wearing boots with a heel might help out a little bit too. Really leaning towards the Voltbike Yukon at the moment, for all of the features for the price.

Ravi Kempaiah
1 day ago

Electric Bike Review reviewed a 24" fat tire bike that was pretty nice in the past month or so. That would drop the seat height substantially versus 26". As noted the 20" wheels would have the seat even lower.

I concur MLB's idea.
@Cristina ,

a 24" Pedego trailtracker would be a good choice.

You could also look at Radmini, Voltbike mariner or Sondors fold and use the forums to gain some knowledge on the basics of maintenance.

Dewey
1 day ago

Wheel size makes a height difference. Folding fat tire ebikes like the Sondors Fold X and Voltbike Mariner typically use smaller 20" wheels that lower the bike. Also hub motors have mechanical advantage when threaded into smaller wheels.

Mark Peralta
6 days ago

I am trying to figure out ways to add some range to the voltbike mariner before I buy it. I have read a lot of reviews on range from people - but none based on purely using the throttle. First off, it would be nice to know the range of this bike based purely on using the throttle. In addition, it would also be nice if anyone could confirm whether I could use a battery like this in tandem with the stock battery and if not, could I just use the battery quoted below, it has twice the capacity and would surely be nice to get a range close to the 50 - 60 KM range full throttle.

https://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Ebike-Battery-48v-20Ah-1000W-Electric-Bike-Battery-48V-with-Charger-BMS-Lithium-Battery-48V/806274_32480815407.html
In pure throttle, your range maybe 15 miles (24 km). Why ruin a brand new ebike by messing up the electrical system? You are going to put custom battery mounting that will completely occupy the rear rack, you will need extra parallel circuit wiring, dangling around that will destroy the appearance of your ebike, you will need to disconnect the batteries every time you recharge them separately, and you would need different charger for the 2 batteries. For me, the extra mileage is not worth the hassle and inconvenience. If I plan to have longer rides then I would just carry a spare factory battery. If you pedal a little bit, then your battery may take you 20-25 miles (32-40 km). So 2 batteries can take you 50 miles (80 km) ride.

Uphill
6 days ago

C Nugget --I got a flat on my rear tire also, but was super lucky -- a slow leak happened overnight and so I wasn't stuck miles from a road somewhere. A bike shop reluctantly agreed to fix the flat and I watched them with all their equipment labor through it for about 40 minutes. If I was on my own along some trail, I know I'd have been there for hours. I asked the repairman if he had heard of Slime & he encouraged me not to use it, because he said the next bike shop which repaired a flat or changed my tire would hate me.
But there's no other great options out there, and I loaded about 7/8 of a bottle into each tire about 3 months ago and it's given me great piece of mind. I do a lot of trail riding with my Mariner (just topped 400 miles, at least half of which are off road) and I used to be pretty worried. Knock on wood, not worried at all now, no matter how rough the terrain or how far from a road I am. On the Slime website, people say they pull briars out of their tires when they get home and there's no leak.
I can't notice any difference in the ride at all. I'm a little reluctant to see what happens if I want to deflate the tires for any reason --not sure whether it will squirt out the valve stem or not. But until then, I'm happy.

1/1
dick fitsgood
6 days ago

I am trying to figure out ways to add some range to the voltbike mariner before I buy it. I have read a lot of reviews on range from people - but none based on purely using the throttle. First off, it would be nice to know the range of this bike based purely on using the throttle. In addition, it would also be nice if anyone could confirm whether I could use a battery like this in tandem with the stock battery and if not, could I just use the battery quoted below, it has twice the capacity and would surely be nice to get a range close to the 50 - 60 KM range full throttle.

https://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Ebike-Battery-48v-20Ah-1000W-Electric-Bike-Battery-48V-with-Charger-BMS-Lithium-Battery-48V/806274_32480815407.html

Uphill
6 days ago

MARINER AND SEDAN TRUNK:
3000 km's today YAY! My bike had a special surprise in store for me to celebrate this occasion memorably.

While heading to work in the rain I got a flat! Ak o_O Then it tipped over onto the gear side while trying to sort out a ride. :oops: I pulled everything off of the bike and then my battery (which was minding it's own business) got by bumped and tipped over too!! Ahhhhh..:eek: The taxi arrived and just fit my bike into the back trunk of the Toyota Corolla (newer model) but alas the lid would not close.. So for all you people wondering if it might fit in a standard sized trunk of a sedan, the answer is likely no.. UNLESS... you like to keep an open trunk with bungees or have a larger that average trunk.. :D Of note:

I don't have the gear protector like the new versions have(yes I am a bit envious) .. This may impair getting a bike into the trunk. .

I will be going to an LBS today (they groaned when I said it was a rear hub electric with a flat on the back). Oh dear..:confused: Just trying to get it up and running ASAP. I must learn to be more mechanically sound. Unsure of the required repairs involved at this point. Hopefully it won't be a exciting as the morning. Fingers & toes crossed...

-Keep you gear shift-r protected

Alex M
7 days ago

Are the only smaller folding e-bike options the Rad Mini, Sondors Fold, and VoltBike Mariner? I saw this guy pitching his Hoverfly e-bikes in a YouTube video, and it looks like they're rebranded Mariners, or copies.
Copies. As soon as you start manufacturing something at a Chinese factory - and this is where 99% of ebikes are being made - a dozen clones come out few weeks later, from several factories nearby (could be even from the same factory).

Traveling with a truck and camper, carrying a trike will be a pain. Leave this for the last, if two-wheel won't work for you.
I understand the appeal of a folding bike, given a limited space inside. But... There is a price to pay. Smaller wheels, heavier weight (than a comparable rigid bike), fewer choice of handlebars style, fewer suspension options. Unless you are absolutely sure you need it to fold.

Just my 2 cents.

BreakAes
1 week ago

Thanks for the help.

Are the only smaller folding e-bike options the Rad Mini, Sondors Fold, and VoltBike Mariner? I saw this guy pitching his Hoverfly e-bikes in a YouTube video, and it looks like they're rebranded Mariners, or copies. I think the Rad Mini is superior to the Mariner.

Interesting that the Vee8 tires were that much of an upgrade.

And yeah, Sondors only has a 30 day warranty, so that's another point.

I probably will go for the Rad Mini if I feel like an e-bike will work for me, and there's nothing better out there. The 750 watt motor is the main draw in my mind, and I think I'd need the racks. An e-trike would probably be the best option for me, but those are large and heavy, and more expensive. I'll have to see how I feel after testing the Rad Mini.

I think the main thing I need to consider with riding a bike and having this injury is the effect on the function of my legs, and if that would make things too difficult to ride. I thought I would deal with getting suspension down the line, however, my roommate works for Cirrus Cycles, and he was telling me their BodyFloat is the best suspension seatpost in the industry, so I might go for that if I really want it...so much money. Several years ago I bought an SR Suntour SP-8 NCX seatpost, but the BodyFloat does seem better. Any thoughts on the BodyFloat?

I actually did join the Sondors Facebook group, and the Sondors Forums where I started a thread. I'm thinking the Rad Mini would be the better option, but I'll keep looking into Sondors since their Fold models just got released, and there's not much info on them yet.

Chris_x
2 weeks ago

Hi Chris,

My Enduro uses an ambient light sensor to determine whether or not it should have the headlight on. Is that the same for the Mariner? And if so is it possible that you've covered it somehow, tricking it into thinking its always dark? Just spitballing ideas.
Hi! Yeah I was thinking about maybe being a sensor, but the manual doesn't say anything about it, for what I have read on the manual you turn them on and off manually.

Hmm but I'll check thoroughly if there is a sensor, just in case, thanks for the advice!

ShumaBike
2 weeks ago

Hi Chris,

My Enduro uses an ambient light sensor to determine whether or not it should have the headlight on. Is that the same for the Mariner? And if so is it possible that you've covered it somehow, tricking it into thinking its always dark? Just spitballing ideas.

Chris_x
2 weeks ago

Hi Everyone! I just got a Voltbike Mariner, all good but I'm having a little issue with the lights... they just won't turn off :/

Everytime I turn on the battery the lights turn on. And if I click the UP button the LCD panels changes from on to off and vice versa but tje lights stay on.

Anyone knows a way to reset them? or a fix for this?

Thanks!

Chris_x
2 weeks ago

Hi! so far are you happy with the bag @RayH ? Is this the same as yours?
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01A0U3DVM

Comparing the dimensions of the folded Mariner (39"x29"x22" (length x height x width)) with the ones of the bag (130x25x82CM) it looks like it wouldn't fit

Does the bag expand more than what is specified on the site? Or am I looking at another bag?

I would really appreciate your input, I´ve been looking for a bag for my Mariner like crazy, but no luck

Thanks!

Ian in Alberta
2 weeks ago

Hi, Mariner owners...I could use some help. The screen/controller on my Mariner stopped showing speed and distance a few weeks ago, though everything else seemed to function. I emailed Voltbike, and George sent me a new controller, which I've installed. Same problem.

Has anyone had this issue, and if so, have you found a solution? Is it perhaps in the settings? Any help would be appreciated. I live 800 miles from the Voltbike location, so it's hard to get there for service. But I'm pretty discouraged now.

Thank you Ian in Alberta

Denis Shelston
4 weeks ago

Hi Denis, I haven't watched it but here's a review of the Mariner.... https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/1-month-with-the-voltbike-mariner.14025/#post-111467

Thank you, yes I have seen it.

My wife wants to wait for now, she's just not sure what she wants...

tarhead
4 weeks ago

As a

Thanks for the suggestion.

As a matter of fact I did, or should I say 'she' did, she does not particularly like the look of it, industrial, delivery bike, steampunk are some of the words she used... Guess the front rack is an issue for her. Mind you she was not thrilled with the Mariner's look initially, but she warmed up to it.

It's a tad more expensive too, the Voltbike is currently $1599. CAD.

Call me Canadian but, given a choice, I'd rather encourage a Canadian enterprise.
Hi Denis, I haven't watched it but here's a review of the Mariner.... https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/1-month-with-the-voltbike-mariner.14025/#post-111467

Reema Ylla
4 weeks ago

Hello,
A fellow youtube by the name of GixrGuy brought to my attention that i should post my review and get some feedback! Thanks for taking the time to watch it.

Ill be bring more videos about my experience through the year, i hope to get feedback from all you.

Denis Shelston
1 month ago

As a
Hi Denis just wondered if you had looked at the small foldable bike at RadPower. Given @america94's comments about the Volt bikes it might be a better bet particularly if you travel to the US a lot. I had looked a Rad Rover but it cost $400 to have it delivered to Canada which was a deal killer. @america94 said it appears to be well built bike so hopefully the quality on the small folder would be the same.

Thanks for the suggestion.

As a matter of fact I did, or should I say 'she' did, she does not particularly like the look of it, industrial, delivery bike, steampunk are some of the words she used... Guess the front rack is an issue for her. Mind you she was not thrilled with the Mariner's look initially, but she warmed up to it.

It's a tad more expensive too, the Voltbike is currently $1599. CAD.

Call me Canadian but, given a choice, I'd rather encourage a Canadian enterprise.

america94
1 month ago

I am sure the experience cannot be comparable to flying and the hotel life. Freedom!!! Although I totally envy you, I'll console myself with the 40mpg with my Corolla ;);) Mariner in white looks good and their owners are very satisfied.

Denis Shelston
1 month ago

You know gas is not cheap in Canada, true. But we love visiting everywhere, next spring we're leaving for our Western trek for 4-5 months: North West US and Canada. We have relatives on the island, so we'll take the ferry to Victoria for sure. Even at 9 mpg, it's still cheaper than flying in most cases. It's a whole different experience too.

We'll be re-doing the South West US in 2019. We missed a few spots in Utah and around.

A white Mariner looks like the ticket. I'll work on protecting all the exposed wiring, and those holes at the bottom, close to the controller.

Tires seem to be a tad easier to get too.

Will keep you posted.

EBs_are_fun
1 month ago

I am also considering the Mariner. Just sitting on the fence at the moment and have watched every Youtube video made (as of July 12). Some good, come bad. Had considered the eJoe and Magnum 48v but still leaning toward the Voltbike Mariner.

If I could afford the Magnum Premium, it seems like an extremely nice bike. How will you be riding your bike? Commuting? Mostly on road, or other surfaces?

america94
1 month ago

Very impressive rig indeed! You have to get out of Canada ASAP to enjoy normally priced fuel, right? :rolleyes:

I thought the Mariner would be a great compromise for your wife between a regular bike and a large fat one. There must be some sandy areas that are super enjoyable where she would not have been able to follow you with a regular bike. If you ever get by Las Vegas, try the Red Rock Canyons with the bikes. That's where my son and I tried ebikes for the first time and it was phenomenal. Shout out to Allison and John, owners of Red E Bike Tours!

Denis Shelston
1 month ago

Looks like the Voltbike Mariner will fit the bill for my wife.

Will fit easy with my Téo at the back of our RV 5th Wheel.

The rack at the back is rated for 450 lbs.

More to follow.

1/1
Poincare
1 month ago

I am also considering the Mariner. Just sitting on the fence at the moment and have watched every Youtube video made (as of July 12). Some good, come bad. Had considered the eJoe and Magnum 48v but still leaning toward the Voltbike Mariner.

Brigadier Jones
4 weeks ago

Just a minor point for your videos the review would be better with pro's and con's at the end of the video would make the review more complete not everyone has time for reading a whole review on a website these days especially with 20+ minute videos.

lance clayton
4 weeks ago

Look at this on eBay http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/272764361324 BUY ONE ON EBAY UK

vanart
4 weeks ago

It would be perfect if it had a gearless motor...
I don't have MAriner but I had about 6 e-bikes in the past.

Tammy Stevens
1 month ago

With a different seat and/ post, could I get 30 inches from the ground to the seat. I'm just 5 foot tall and like to be able to at least touch my toes on the ground with one leg.

VenoStuff
2 months ago

Where i can't get those fenders for my bike?

Mr Mr
4 months ago

He says Derailier..... Foo its derailer.... lol
Thanks for the videos none the less

Sam Binder
4 months ago

Court, Love your videos. I live in philadelphia and am thinking that a fat tire folding bike might be great for getting around.I have my eye on either a voltbike mariner of radmini. Is the Radmini really more powerful or is it same motor rated higher? I like the ambassador program from voltbike which will allow me to share my bike and defray the cost.

Kathrine Kukova
4 months ago

Update April/2017. I just bought Mariner. Came standard with splash guard and rear derailleur guard. It's nice that you supply helmets with your bikes, but they are heavy! DOT helmets more suitable for motorbikes.

Waltkat
2 weeks ago

Martin Kuka
From what I understand, the motor in the Radmini is also 500W, so no advantage there. Rad just publishes the peak power which happens to be 750W. A little bit of marketing mumbo jumbo to boost sales. And the last time I checked, Rad wants $120 for a pair of plastic fenders/mudguards for their Mini. Highway robbery, in my book.

Martin Kuka
4 months ago

Well yes and no, I didn't realize how heave the bike is until I got it (same with the rad). I would choose it over rad mini any day (better components, except motor, plus fenders, love the lights) I use the bike to get me around Boston, so the heavy fat tires aren't ideal, but that isn't bikes flaw. Dragging it up the stairs while opening the doors is a torture. The 500w motor has plenty of power for this bike. I would only see 750w motor as an advantage if these bikes could go over 20mph. Its too bad, you wont really go over 21-22mph unless you go downhill. The resistance from the wind (you sit upright) and tires itself is too high.

Mo Poppins
4 months ago

What do you think of the bike? Are you happy with your decision? I was thinking of getting the Rad Mini, but now this bike is looking quite tempting.

Electric Bike City
5 months ago

That beach ride looked like a lot of fun!

Lu Diamonds
5 months ago

was wondering what is the weight capacity before I make this purchase. and I do mean the actual weight the volt bike mariner can handle???

Norsemen Galleries
5 months ago

Hello Court...

Great Review!!! One of your best ever! I noticed that you had a RadMini on beach as well... Concerning strictly performance on the beach & loose/packed sand, how did the RAD compare to VoltBike? Why?

After viewing this review, I called George(founder) @ VoltBike... Talked at length... Hands-down, Mariner has substantially better price, performance, quality, features and higher-end components v.s. RadMini...

And they both have 500w motors... RAD is mis-leading stating @ website that their's is 750w... It is 500w with a 750w peak if I am not mistaken... Please verify for me...

Thanks for all your reviews... Planning on buying a Mariner at end of May, once it warms up here in COLDDDDD Minnesota...

Ken Brose
Facebook -->> Kenneth Brose
3/10/2017

hellochriis
6 months ago

Same as the hoverfly bike. Both claim to be the manufacturer.

Dean Champion
6 months ago

I've had 5 electric bikes. I liked the folding bike with small tires, except when hitting the crappy streets and potholes of Boston (it nearly broke my spine). Forget off road, except on a smooth beach. But good if your city has good, smooth streets. If your city has hills, definitely opt for more power... period. And a swing arm or shock absorber on the back is really great; but a shock on the front is a flat-out necessity.

SustainUsFarm
6 months ago

Rad Mini vs. this one?? Anyone???

VoltBike
5 months ago

I would suggest Voltbike Mariner. It comes with installed fenders, rear rack and also front and rear lights connected to the main battery.

Zaw Aung
7 months ago

is there any other video about this bike?

Zaw Aung
7 months ago

Radpower mini bike vs this one. which one do you recommend?

bruce budd
18 hours ago

He said he emailed you and you never responded and you expect anyone to believe you that this customer doesn't exist? Because of this comment, I certainly won't buy from your company!

Alex Kunze
7 days ago

It would be awesome for EBR to reply to this question.

random tv 1
1 month ago

Zaw Aung daymak newyorker fat tire ?

VoltBike
5 months ago

Hi Derrick, apologize but I still can't find your inquiry in our email list but I will be more than happy to speak with your either by phone or email. When you call just mention this conversation and I will come on the phone. You can also email me at our support. Waiting very much to speak with you and hear any feedback or recommendation. By the way Voltbike Urban is using rear motor. It's not on the front

Derrick Lee
5 months ago

This is one of my online names. I bought a Mariner first then an Urban. One of the stickers on the front rim of Mariner peeled off on just the second time I rode it in dry conditions. I can live with that. The front rotor made noises right after I unpacked the Urban. That's unacceptable. I emailed you two times and got zero response.

oo walker
7 months ago

this 36v 500w motor ? what was the volume of the battery?

VoltBike
5 months ago

Hi, Voltbike Mariner comes with 48v 500w rated motor power. The current battery size as I write this is 48v 10.4ah. This may increase in the future.

David Frobel
7 months ago

I don't think I would take a bike on the beach what ever they say,,the sand and salt will kill it ,,unless it is an old junk bike

Mo Poppins
4 months ago

You could always maintain it and wash off the salt and sand, shortly afterwards. It's not like it's some humongous, imposing vehicle that would take a long time to clean.

If you think the adventure and exploration are worth it, you probably wouldn't care. If not, no worries...it's your life.

Owen Morrrison
8 months ago

yeah I speak to a few people and they all share the same sentiment , but am just hoping for a smooth transaction .

Owen Morrrison
8 months ago

Can anyone please respond to me , I want to know is it right if am buying a bike from Canada I pay for it whit my credit card the seller requesting my social security number claiming that government agencies say any purchase to the US over 1000 they want the customer social security number anyone can relate to this activity please thank you ?

Perkunas T
5 months ago

The US is doing crazy stuff, I was going to buy bike tires, and they would only accept a certified bank draft.As a bank draft costs more then the tires, I told them to stick it. The bank also wanted to know where the money came from. Not to mention all the duty and taxes they hit you buying anything from the US. All magical numbers they make up. I think the US is trying to go bankrupt on purpose, as I and others, will never buy anything there, ever again.

smilesatyourfuneral
5 months ago

With the Voltbike, if you go with paypal, you can opt to pay 99$ a month for the bike, so you can have the bike, pay overtime, and circumvent your problem.

Darryl BEAN
8 months ago

Sounds kinky? Call customs and ask them. As you are no doubt aware, be careful who you give your SS number to.