VoltBike Mariner Review

Voltbike Mariner Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Mariner
Voltbike Mariner 500 Watt Bafang Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Mariner 48 Volt Sanyo Removable Battery Pack
Voltbike Mariner Apt Led Display Panel Shifter Compass Bell
Voltbike Mariner Led Integrated Headlight And Steel Fender
Voltbike Mariner Folding Wellgo Pedals Bottom Bracket Stand Guard
Voltbike Mariner Kenda Krusade 4 Inch Fat Tires
Voltbike Mariner Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc Brakes 180 And 160
Voltbike Mariner Carry Rack With Light And Pannier Blockers
Voltbike Mariner Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Mariner
Voltbike Mariner 500 Watt Bafang Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Mariner 48 Volt Sanyo Removable Battery Pack
Voltbike Mariner Apt Led Display Panel Shifter Compass Bell
Voltbike Mariner Led Integrated Headlight And Steel Fender
Voltbike Mariner Folding Wellgo Pedals Bottom Bracket Stand Guard
Voltbike Mariner Kenda Krusade 4 Inch Fat Tires
Voltbike Mariner Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc Brakes 180 And 160
Voltbike Mariner Carry Rack With Light And Pannier Blockers


  • A miniaturized fat tire electric bike that's sand and snow capable, you get fenders, a rack and integrated lights for utility and safety no matter the terrain
  • Mid-mount battery design keeps weight low and centered, it's removable for reduced weight (when folding and transporting the bike) but requires that the seat be removed to get it off
  • Seat post suspension improves ride quality, you get nine levels of assist as well as trigger throttle mode that overrides for help climbing or slogging through soft stuff
  • Key must be left in when riding and can jingle a bit, the display is not removable and it along with the compass, bell and throttle could get bumped when folding, no clasps to keep it folded

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers







$1,249 ($70 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Year Comprehensive


United States, Canada

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

59.5 lbs (26.98 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.7 lbs (3.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

12 lbs (5.44 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

23 reach, 24" Stand Over Height, 67" Length

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Folding

Frame Colors:


Frame Fork Details:

Rigid, 11 mm Axle

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

6 Speed 1x6 Shimano Acera, MF-TZ20, 11-28

Shifter Details:

Shimano Tourney TX50R6CT Thumb Shifter Plus


Alloy Bash Guard, 52T Chainring


Wellgo F-265T Aluminum Alloy Folding Platform


Telescoping, SVMONO SM-A150-8R


Promax Flat, 23" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Artek Vigorous Levers with Motor Inhibitors


Flat Rubber, Black


Velo VL-8020E, Comfort

Seat Post:

Promax SP-252, Aluminum Alloy with Suspension

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm


Double Walled Alloy, Black


13 Gauge, Stainless Steel

Tire Brand:

Kenda Krusade, 20" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Integrated LED Lights, Floating Ball Compass, Flick Bell, Steel Fenders, Carry Rack with Spring Latch (25 kg Max Load)


Locking Removable Battery Pack, Rust Resistant Z Chain, Hold the Up Button to Activate Lights

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:


Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

499.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

APT Development, Fixed Backlit LCD


Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Assist Level (1-9), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Mariner is one of just a handful of mini sized electric fat bikes I’ve seen that are designed to be both easier to mount and ride for short people as well as transportable for people who maybe have a boat, RV or trunk space. It’s a bike that’s fairly adaptable with telescoping stem (to raise the handle bars) and a seat post that can also raise and has a built in suspension element for comfort. The frame on the bike is sturdy but rigid and it comes with a bolt-on rear rack so you can add a trunk bag or panniers. Also, it has a headlight and tail light for improved safety and perhaps a bit of off-road nighttime adventure! Ultimately, it’s a surprisingly affordable little bike with a big personality that younger people, women and even large guys can enjoy on nearly any type of terrain.

For this review, I was able to get the company that makes them, VoltBike, to send a unit to Cabo San Lucas Mexico for testing at a resort called Cabo Adventures. This company specializes in scuba, zip line and biking adventures and has been considering adding electric bikes but was unsure how they would fare in the soft sand (and with different types of riders). Ultimately, the bike worked VERY well in the sand… even soft sand, which surprised and delighted me. To be fair, all of our fat tire ebikes handled the sand and the larger-wheeled models performed best, but even the 20″ x 4″ tires on this folding model made it through once the tire pressure was lowered sufficiently. Note, lowering the tire pressure makes a HUGE difference on soft terrain like sand or snow. The 500 watt internally geared Bafang hub motor zipped along in pedal assist and throttle mode without a hitch. Being able to add power on demand with the throttle (overriding assist on demand) made a big difference for me and my girlfriend and the fact that VoltBike uses a trigger throttle helped to keep the grips feeling solid vs. the half-twist design that some other bikes employ. It’s personal preference though and I noticed that the throttle on this bike is always active which means it could get bumped if you forget to turn the bike off after riding (if you lift it or decide to fold and pack it up).

Getting in to some of the gripes I have about the bike… activating it is a two step process which takes a bit of extra time and attention and can leave you wondering if it’s charged or has some sort of issue if you haven’t ridden for a while. First, insert the key into the battery and turn to on then hold the little on button at the control pad near the left grip. At this point the display comes to life showing speed, assist level, battery level and sone other stats about ride time and distance. You can activate the LED lights by holding up which is very nice and you can arrow up or down to navigate nine levels of assist but you cannot go to zero. So the throttle and assist are constantly active once the bike is on. Also, those keys mentioned earlier are constantly dangling and at risk of snagging or bending… but at least they’re harder to lose. I appreciate that the battery pack on the Mariner is mounted low and center, just behind the seat tube, and that it has a handle on top for easy removal. But you do have to slide the seat and seat post off in order to actually remove the battery in my experience.

Riding the bike is easy enough because the fat tires are wider and more stable than traditional ones. They cushion the ride a bit and offer plenty of traction. I found that braking with the rear kept me stable on soft sand and became almost fun like sliding out. Both brakes are mechanical disc and the levers have motor inhibitors so any time you activate them the power cuts out instantly for safety. I love that the cadence sensor they chose (for motor activation) features 12 magnets vs. six on some other models because that helps it respond quicker and on soft or unstable terrain it’s nice to feel in control. I also appreciate the black color scheme they chose for the bike because it hides the cables and wires coming from the brakes, display and shifter up front as they snake towards the rear end. You get six gears here which is very minimal and basic but the chainring is extra large to help balance out the extra small wheels. Pedaling feels normal and shifting is tight thanks to a slightly upgraded Shimano Acera derailleur. The shifter levers are extra large and take up some space at the handle bars but may be easier to use with gloves… and that’s nice if you’re getting this bike for use in the snow.

VoltBike is a Canadian company with a whole range of different styles of electric bikes that are all value priced. They only charge $70 to ship to the continental USA and offer a solid year long warranty. Note that anytime you’re buying an e-bike or other heavy, large and somewhat intricate product online there’s room for error. The Mariner we got made it all the way from Canada through the USA and into Mexico with just one busted part. The kickstand got mangled but we were able to take it off and use the bike without issue. I do like that it comes with a kickstand and a fun little bell compass combo. It would be easy to remove if you wanted but otherwise adds to the fun and sense of adventure. My girlfriend loved the narrower tube because she didn’t hit her knee as easily as with some other bikes we tested and I liked that both folding points locked for safety but noticed that there wasn’t a magnetic clasp or bungee system to keep the bike from unfolding. We all had a blast with this bike and the full sized models, VoltBike does sell a larger fat tire electric bicycle called the Yukon that I preferred for its suspension fork and larger tires but given the convenience and impressive performance on the Mariner, I could see myself being swayed by the space savings and flexibility… also being able to share with a wider range of friends. Big thanks to VoltBike for partnering with me for this review.


  • This is one of the most affordable mini-fat bikes on the market and shipping from Canada is just $70 to the US… overall it’s a fun capable bike and the motor is powerful enough to ride in soft sand as shown in the video review (just lower the air pressure first)
  • Low standover height makes this a great option for kids, petite riders like my girlfriend and some other ladies or people with sensitive knees or back that can’t swing their legs up high
  • Longer telescoping adjustable-length stem allows you to dial in fit, this is great if you’re a taller rider and in my experience the stem didn’t feel loose or wobbly as some designs do
  • The top tube is fairly narrow and the joint where it folds doesn’t stick out as much as some competing bikes meaning you shouldn’t hit your knee as easily when getting on or off (still good to be careful)
  • The fact that it folds means you can bring this bike to more fun spots, just stick it in your trunk or back seat
  • A 12 magnet cadence sensor provides very quick on/off motor performance, it felt responsive and controlled to me which is great for riding off road… some other ebikes only use a six magnet sensor which usually requires more time, this e-bike also has brake levers with motor inhibitors so the motor stops instantly whenever you brake
  • I like that the kickstand is mounted far back and out of the way, this makes it easier to work on the cranks, bottom bracket and chain or back the bike up without colliding and bending the stand, I also felt that the stand worked pretty well on the soft sandy beach
  • Suspension seat post adds to the comfort of those larger 4″ wide tires and comfort saddle… smaller wheels usually aren’t as comfortable (less air to cushion) so having this post shock really helps if you’re on a bumpy beach or trail
  • Front and rear integrated LED lights really take this ebike to the next level! It’s ot something I’d fault the bike for not having because I assume most riding would be during the day out on trails vs. nighttime but then again… if it snows or you’re camping those lights can come in handy and do keep you safe
  • Front and rear fenders help to keep you dry when riding, they add to the utility of the lights and rear rack making this both portable and capable as a hauler perhaps for grocery getting or other errands, I was surprised that they are made of steel however because it can rust if scraped vs. aluminum or plastic which would be more durable in salty environments (sea and salted snowy streets)
  • The rear cargo rack is pretty awesome! It’s constructed of standard gauge tubing so you can mount most panniers and even has pannier blockers along the sides to keep your straps from rubbing on the extra-wide tires, the rack can support up to 25 kg (~55 lbs) and protects the rear light
  • The bike is a bit rear heavy but I love that the battery is not mounted on the rack, instead it is kept low and more central just behind the seat tube so you have more space to haul cargo and get better balance when riding
  • Name brand Kenda tires with improved grip and durability, upgraded mechanical disc brakes with a larger 180 mm rotor up front to improve stopping power
  • Fun little extras like the compass bell make you feel like an adventurer but could be easily removed if you wanted (be careful with it when folding)
  • Oversized Wellgo folding pedals are a huge win for me, they are still small (as with most folding designs) but are larger, sturdier and stiffer than the cheap plastic ones I see a lot… great upgrade there ;)
  • Chain guard and a metal rest below the bottom bracket help to protect your chain and sprocket when folding and transporting the bike
  • Upgraded Shimano Acera derailleur should be tighter and provide more shifts between tuneups, it’s two steps up from the base level Tourney component group… you get six gears on the bike which is enough but not great
  • The bike ships fully assembled including the front wheel so you don’t have to mess around much in order to get up and going


  • Neither wheel offers quick release, perhaps this allows for tighter stronger axle mounting but it does mean you’ll need a tool for repairs or flat fixes
  • At ~60 lbs this is not a light electric bike but given the larger tires, stronger motor and high capacity battery pack I can understand where the weight comes from, at least the ~7.7 lb battery is removable (highly recommended if you’re folding and lifting the bike)
  • I didn’t see any rubber bands or clasps to help keep the bike from coming unfolded… consider purchasing some of your own adjustable bungee cords and maybe using an old towel to keep it from rattling and coming undone
  • Considering the off-road nature of fat bikes, I was surprised to not see a slap guard? the chain is upgraded to be rust resistant and the tubing is aluminum so rust isn’t the issue, just the little chips in the paint, consider an after-market neoprene guard like this
  • During our tests, the bike must have fallen over or bumped into the bars of another bike because the plastic button pad got bent, the cover sort of bent upward and didn’t protect the clicker beneath as well so be careful with yours, these might just be more delicate than the rubberized flat button designs I’ve seen on some other bikes
  • I love that the bike offers assist and throttle mode but would have liked a throttle-only option, minor gripe… I also found that whenever the bike is on, the throttle is always active which can lead to more easy accidental motor bursts (especially if you’re trying to fold it without shutting it off first), that said… it’s a trigger throttle so slightly less likely to bump than a twist throttle and this is my preference for off-roading because it allows for more grip options and just a sturdier feel on the grip
  • The keys have to be inserted and twisted then left in the bike in order to activate and use it, this presents some challenges like jingling keys and potential snags when riding, consider a small carabiner? Once the battery is on you have to press and hold the power button on the control pad to activate the bike fully… you’ll see the display come to life then
  • The black color was a good choice because the wires blend in, they aren’t integrated through the frame and stick out a bit up front and below the frame… but that makes them easier to reach for repairs, mixed…
  • The motor was a bit louder than some other hubs but performed very well, even for larger riders, it’s an fat-tire specific wider motor from a well known company in the space, Bafang
  • The motor power cable protrudes directly from the end of the right side of the axle so be careful not to tip the bike onto it (or bump it when folding and transporting), this is also where the derailleur is so the right side of the bike is just more delicate in general
  • I think they could make the bike tougher by adding a derailleur guard, tucking the motor cable in further (I’ve seen some different designs that do this) and adding a second bash guard plat to the chainring so you’d have a guide which prevents dropping the chain as easily
  • The display can be swiveled forward and back to reduce glare but is not removable, this means it could get bumped easier if the bike tips, when you’re folding it and when it’s being stored and transported
  • As with a lot of the folding electric bicycles I test, this one didn’t include bottle cage bosses so you might want to get a trunk bag with a built in bottle holster like this for bringing along fluids


More VoltBike Reviews

VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An exceptionally affordable, feature rich electric bike, built around an approachable frame that's easier to mount and stand over, offers pedal assist and throttle override operation. The battery pack is protected by the top tube, positioned low and center along the…...

VoltBike Enduro Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable full suspension trail bike with quiet, but powerful, mid-drive motor and integrated downtube battery pack, full-sized USB charging port on battery, adjustable top speed. Integrated LED headlight, backlit LCD display panel, and standard reflectors for urban riding, high-pressure tires…...

VoltBike Yukon 750 Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable but surprisingly powerful and quiet electric fat bike, sells online only and ships from Canada with a flat rate $70 fee, comes with a comprehensive 1 year warranty. Upgraded Kenda Juggernaut tires that feel good on pavement, dirt, sand and snow, removable battery…...

VoltBike Urban Review

  • MSRP: $1,049
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An ultra-affordable folding electric bike sold online from Canada, offers a full range of accessories including lights, fenders and a rear carry rack. Available in black or white but only one size, you get six gears with a…...

VoltBike Yukon Review

  • MSRP: $1,159
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value priced electric fat bike with a six speed drivetrain, integrated headlight and optional fender + rack kit. Available in two flavors (350 watt motor or more powerful 500 watt motor), sold online…...

2015 VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A very affordable city style electric bike with lots of useful accessories including integrated lights, fenders and rack. Only available in one frame size ~19" but the adjustable stem and seat hight help…...

VoltBike Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value oriented electric bike available in one size (19"), one frame style (step-thru) and one color (black). Comes standard with lots of useful accessories including full length plastic fenders, a rear carry…...

John Carey
11 months ago

If you go into menu you can program ” 0 ” mode which is no pedal assist and power only by thumb throdle or people power. Cool !- JLC

11 months ago

Cool! Thanks for the tip John :D

10 months ago

Thanks for the excellent reviews and videos Court! I’m trying to decide between folding electric, and a folding electric fat bike. We will use them around town on class B RV trips for errands, as well as paved and unpaved trails. The fat version gives us snow and sand possibilities as well as softer base trail riding opportunities. Coming from years of road biking travels and some mountain biking, I am wondering how comfortable and efficient the fat bike version, such as the Voltbike Mariner, will be. For off-road use it seems an easy decision. Next question would be choosing between the Mariner and the RadMini. With some accessories, two of these bikes will max-out our budget so they feel like the best two to compare. Finally, have you or will you be reviewing the Citizen Frisco? Thanks again, we really appreciate your thorough write-ups!

10 months ago

There are minor differences in how the throttle works but it might come down to which design looks better or if you get a deal buying two at the same time. I’ve listed the other minor differences in the reviews and am traveling so don’t have time to clarify at the moment. I have not seen the Citizen Frisco yet but will keep an eye out for it. It looks compact and light weight but wouldn’t handle the trails, sand, or snow as well… but that may not be an issue depending on where you ride :)

Thanh Nguyen
9 months ago

I am 250 lbs, am I ok to ride the Voltbike Mariner 500w? What is the max weight that this bike can carry?

9 months ago

Hi Thanh, my guess would be yes… most electric bikes I review are rated for up to 250 lbs and many will carry more than that but the manufacturers want to play it safe. This being a folding electric bike, might not be quite as strong as a high step non-folder but the smaller wheels tend to be stronger so it’s a mix. You could reach out to VoltBike to confirm but my gut says you’ll be fine, and the rack on the back can probably hold up to 40 lbs.

7 months ago

I’m deciding between a Sondors Fold and a Mariner. With folders I believe wheelbase, (axle to axle) affects stability and ride-ability yet reviews lack this detail, this one included. My inquiry about the Mariner wheelbase got no response so far. Their chat says “ask me anything” (apparently except that). Sondors quickly responded their Fold wheelbase is 42 inches.

7 months ago

Cool, thanks for sharing your experience with customer support and prodding me to include that with more of my reviews. I do try to include overall length of bikes now to help people understand what kind of space would be required to store. I also include stand over height and width. Hoping to review the Sondors Fold someday, whatever you choose, I hope it works out well for you and invite your feedback and comments here and in the Electric Bike Review Forums.

7 months ago

Update, Voltbike responded that their Mariner’s wheelbase is just over 46 inches which is a bit longer than the Sondors.

Folding bikes have their quirks. Apparently it’s tempting to make them shorter and thus more compact. I modified one of mine to get it as small as possible and still ridable. I discovered they get squirrelly when I went off the back of mine. The shorter it is, the closer the seat must be to the center point of the wheels, and balance gets touchy. It gets too easy to unexpectedly raise the rear wheel on a quick stop or do a wheelie taking off. That being said, it fit a suitcase and it was handy in Europe.

7 months ago

My early Dahon made that trip. No such luxury as electric power. Europe swarms with bikes, yet the Dahon attracted way more attention than in the US. I often had an audience when folding or unfolding and questions to answer.


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

1 day ago

I have a Voltbike Mariner style bike and noticed that the rear spokes on the braks disc side only were all pretty loose. I could hear them clicking. Has anyone else had this issue with these 20 inch fat tire wheels?

3 days ago

Back on track

Bergamont E-Ville N330 (Germany)

EBCO Urban City UCL-80 (England)

Volt Kensington (not related to VoltBike) (England)

Wisper Torque (England)

Woosh Santana CD (England)

5 days ago

Have you already looked at their http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-elegant.html model as a paved road commuter? Unfortunately, it only comes in a step-thru version.

5 days ago

Hello wakjagner and Banzai,
Thank you both for your input, it is much appreciated. I have in fact looked at the possibility of getting a Radmini, since it would easily fit into the back of my Tucson. However, since I already have a fat tire bike which I like for the situations that I use it in, which are riding on the gravel shoulders of the highways in my area and on gravel trails; I much prefer the ride (and lack of noise ) that a bike with skinnier, road type tires provides. So, that has left me with what I see as two possible choices: a folding bike with 20 inch wheels like the Voltbike Urban or a bike like the Radcity. I am thinking that with the front wheel removed and the seat removed as well, the Radcity or the Radcity stepthru might fit into the Tucson. The reason I say that is because I am able to get my Yukon into the back of the Tucson with the front wheel removed, but in truth, it is a heavy beast and it was a struggle, almost a two person job. I would think that my best option would be to spring for a 20 inch folder, but I have never ridden one and am uncertain about how well suited it would be for longer rides in terms of comfort and handling (twitchy?).

Again, thanks to you both for your very helpful input. I will continue to gather information and ideas from people to aid me in my (seemingly never-ending) search.

Best regards.

5 days ago

I'm at around 270 and have experienced zero concern with flexion in the Rad City Stepthru. I haven't done any real offroading with it, just street and a few trails, but it's overbuilt quit extensively in that regard.
I'd be cautious regarding the take down- this bike is surprisingly large. If you could fit your Yukon in your Tucson by taking off the front wheel, you'd probably be able to fit the Step Thru by doing so, but I was a bit surprised by the overall height and girth of the bike- perhaps I was too used to my touring bike but the Step Thru seems much taller at the handlebars and seat.

Banzai- Glad to hear regarding the sand and the trails, I haven't gotten very adventurous with mine yet and that's good to know.
You must be in significantly better shape than me, as pushing this lumbering bike around with out PAS was unappealing to me :D

5 days ago

Hello guys;
I see that voltbike updated their Yukon 750 limited model but I am looking at other models as Fattire would be too big for daily pavement road ride, so is there any news for model update for other Voltbike models expected soon?
I really like the Enduro model but would be much better anticipation if there was new update with recent upgrades being applied to this ebike.

5 days ago

Hello guys;
So, I've been following this forum for some time and I see most of the budget brands like Radrover, Voltbike, Teo are all offering Fat bikes, but my commute is mostly pavement road, are these fat bikes good on pavement road? What about Fat tires are they good on road or very inefficient?

And, is there any alternative for budget friendly and latest upgraded components type ebike, as I'm looking for 750w 19AH rating and a good parts and not too heavy throttle based ebike for daily commute.
What are good options for Canadian at around $2500 budget, thanks in advance.

5 days ago

Hello guys, it seems voltbike and Radrover have introduced their new models for 2018, but I am waiting for any news about update to Teo Fat ebike; as Others are catching up to Teo in terms of upgrades, it would be really sweet if I can find out any new update news.

Thanks in advance and look forward to any update that you guys can offer; thanks.

5 days ago

Hello Banzai,

Thanks for the helpful review of the RPB Stepthru. I also come from a motorcycling background, but haven't ridden for several years. I'm 68 years old, over weight and out of shape at 265 pounds. I have a Voltbike Yukon 750 Limited with a 500 watt geared hub motor and it is great at hill climbing, but I need a bike that I can fit into my 2016 Hyundai Tucson. I think that Radcity or a Radcity Stepthru with the front wheel removed should fit. Now, I like the looks of both bikes, but I would prefer to get the high step, because I think that there would be less frame flexing; however, I just wonder how accurate the stand over height of the high step frame is on the Radcity website. My inseam is 29 inches and I wonder if I would be able to stand over the frame without touching it. With my Yukon, the top tube is right in my crotch and I shudder to think what would happen if I had to stop hard and come off the seat onto the top tube (OUCH!!!) I like the idea of a stepthru because of what I just mentioned, but worry about it flexing under hard pedaling because of my weight. Also, I wonder if the motor on either version of the bike with the gearless direct drive motor would have enough power to carry me (while pedaling) up hills (on road).

The temperature up here in Port Perry, Ontario (NE of Toronto) is still a bit too cold for riding, but hopefully, I will be able to get out on the Yukon in another week or so.

So, if anyone who has the direct drive motor on their bike could comment, I would appreciate it.


1 week ago

Either of those would be a good choice though both have a 20mph speed limit. The Juiced Cross Current S is certainly quick, also https://crazylennysebikes.com/collections/demo/products/eg-milan-500-ex-demo-madison are selling an https://electricbikereview.com/eg/milan-500-ex/ for a grand and a http://www.bagibike.com/electric-bicycles/bagibike-b29-white for https://crazylennysebikes.com/collections/demo/products/bagi-bike-b29-demo-winter-garden-florida plus maybe $300 shipping and either will get up to 28mph pedalling.

1 week ago

Look at the http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-elegant/voltbike-elegant.html currently listed at $1349. 500W geared rear hub motor, rear rack. front light, fenders, battery integrated into the tube and step-thru design. They have distribution centers in Canada and US. The review from EBR is on their webpage too. Court starts out sounding unimpressed with the bike until he rides it. I have no idea how it would do on your climb.

bob armani
1 week ago

Xeon- I agree with Chris regarding the Juiced bikes in either a step thru or a size small frame. The Voltbike looks like it fits also. Not sure where you are located, but there are some shops that stock Juiced for a test ride to see how the geometry on the bike fits your stand over and reach to the handlebars.

I also recommend Easy Motion -The Easy Go bikes listed on their website in the Prior Models category. I particularly like the 'Easy Go Street' which would be a candidate in your price range. We own one and is a great bike for the $$ and carries a great warranty if needed. https://emotionbikesusa.com/easygo-street/

2 weeks ago

Not yet, still snowing here :(. I plan to test ride it as soon the weather allows me to and order it this spring. I'll be back with my review! :)

2 weeks ago

I'm curious to know if you purchased the Mariner or not. If so, how do you like it?

4 weeks ago

good point joepah

agree- if the option was throttle only or pas i would do pas

all my bikes are pas with throttle override except the easy motion street
and the prodeco mariner which is throttle only

to me pas with throttle override is the best combo whether it is torque sensor or cadence

to answer a couple of other questions you asked

for me i use my throttles a lot on all the bikes except on the easy motion street where it has to be turned down to 0 pas before you can use it - the only time that would be handy is if there was a mechanical malfunction on the easy motion like the chain broke and i needed to get back home, other than that too much hassle to use throttle on this particular bike

no one has ever commented on the throttles on my bikes, agree most people wont be able to tell the difference, that may change in the next few years if more ebikes are out there...

my bikes are mostly fat bikes and most people just notice the tires and not even that they are electric

i am like you it is better to have throttle and not need it than not have it

4 weeks ago

GreenBike USA does now have a GB500 fat tire model. I have 2 regular GB500's and we love them.

4 weeks ago

As an update Voltbike did send a replacement frame. I got the frame replaced at Urban Adventours in Boston alongside a new seat post and I'm back on the road. Shoutout to them, they hadn't worked on Bafang before but were willing to give it a try and the results were pretty great. I had to eat the cost on the replacement (just north of $300) but I'm back on the road and the bike is running well. I'm about 150 miles past the 1,000 mark now.

This repair and a previous one replacing the cassette has added about $400 to the original cost of the bike, which would put its MSRP at around $2200. Aside from the possibly dying if the post broke while I was in traffic or something the bikes actually been fine for the cost. It's got the feature set of a bike a grand above it, and (most) of the parts have held up well in over 1,000 miles of aggressive commuting. It's not too heavy for someone of my stature, it looks cool, it's fast, and the rides pretty smooth. Voltbikes service and warranty is super hit or miss. They replaced this frame but didn't pay for the repair, replaced a cassette earlier, but sent me the wrong pedal arm and never sent me the right one after I paid to send the wrong one back. They always seem to pick up the phone but emails are often just messages in a bottle.

Overall I'm still happy with the purchase, though this was definitely a pretty poor experience.

In related news I actually saw a Voltbike Mariner in the downtown the other day. First time I've ever seen another Voltbike in the wild.

1 month ago

Thanks so much for your post. I greatly appreciate it.

I will check out YouTube again. One bike that I have decide to purchase is the Dahon Mariner D8. However making a decision on which ebike is giving me a headache :)

John from Connecticut
1 month ago

Hello Alasken,

Wow ! What a great idea. I have two identical Bosch Batteries and have just ordered a roll of the SOLAS Reflective Tape from the Bay
link you included.

Thank you for your post,
John from CT

1 month ago

As a long time mariner, I always try to find equipment and needed supplies without the dreaded "M word" (marine) in the label. This can be true in the bike world as well.

Example: I wanted to add more reflective surface to my helmet and my bike. Under bicycle supply, a small piece of adhesive backed, reflective tape coasts $12 or more.

I went on eBay and found marine grade, SOLAS (safety of life at sea) tape, with adhesive rated to keep it in place during a storm at sea. The stuff is highly reflective and a 10 foot roll of 1" tape made by 3m cost $12.75. To see the stuff click https://www.ebay.com/itm/10-Reflective-SOLAS-Safety-Life-At-Sea-High-Visibility-Marine-Tape-3M-1-Wide/362234735324?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS) = Safety of Life on Road

I have added the tape to the sides of the Bosch battery and to the back of my helmet.

1 month ago

Hi, does anyone know the spoke size on the Mariner. Is it 13g?

Thank you

1 month ago

I bought the Mariner after a long look at both. At the time, both had 500w motors. I liked the appearance, price and features of the Marinier more, and was able to test drive a friend’s. He was totally happy with his. I ordered mine and can say the same.

I probably would have also been happy with a Mini, who knows. But after a year with the Marinier and 800 miles —half or more on trails— I’m still thrilled with the bike and my choice.

There are very few hills I can’t get up, and the ones that have stopped me are easily negotiated with the walk-assist feature that allows you to walk alongside the bike. I’ve taken the bike in ridiculous places where no bike should be, and came out the other side. I bike on trails I used to hike up and the side trails I used to walk by. I’ve never been a mountain biker until this year, because this bike is so capable.

Agree with the thumb throttle kudos over twist grip. I use the thumb throttle mostly to start rolling from a stop, at a stop light with cars or when stopped on a hill, especially. Why would you want a movable grip where you need a stable handhold?

I think both bikes have many similarities and merit consideration. I’m pitching in to say if you choose the Marinier I doubt you’ll look back.

1 month ago

I don't have one of those so no pics. Is that bracket reversible? maybe they installed it upside down at the factory?

Josi De Martino
6 months ago

where is this fantastic place?

Fist OfTheNorthStar
6 months ago

How does the volt stand up to rain and snow?

Modern Shootter
6 months ago

Is this bike pedal assist??? Or does it work by itself?

4 months ago

This bike is with both pedal assist and throttle (power on demand). We recently upgraded the bike with half twist throttle with safety ON/OFF switch.

Jon Neet
7 months ago

Riding in sand can be tricky. As an old motorcyclist I learned very early that if you go slowly through the sand, the tired dig in and fight you, and wander all over. If you keep the speed up, it kind of hydroplanes over the deep stuff. It does still wander some, but you don't fight it. Let the wander a bit and relax. A little like riding over a draw bridge with the steel grating. Relax and let the bike wander a bit, and don't try to fight it. It is a bit disconcerting, but going slowly in sand and fighting the bike, wears you out much quicker.

Brigadier Jones
8 months ago

Just a minor point for your videos the review would be better with pro's and con's at the end of the video would make the review more complete not everyone has time for reading a whole review on a website these days especially with 20+ minute videos.

lance clayton
8 months ago

Look at this on eBay http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/272764361324 BUY ONE ON EBAY UK

8 months ago

It would be perfect if it had a gearless motor...
I don't have MAriner but I had about 6 e-bikes in the past.

Tammy Stevens
8 months ago

With a different seat and/ post, could I get 30 inches from the ground to the seat. I'm just 5 foot tall and like to be able to at least touch my toes on the ground with one leg.

7 months ago

Hi Tammy, we normally do recommend Voltbike Mariner for person 5'5" or taller. The bike stand taller mainly because of the 4" wide tires. Also Voltbike Mariner comes with seat post suspension which also bring the seat few inches higher.

9 months ago

Where i can't get those fenders for my bike?

Mr Mr
11 months ago

He says Derailier..... Foo its derailer.... lol
Thanks for the videos none the less

Sam Binder
11 months ago

Court, Love your videos. I live in philadelphia and am thinking that a fat tire folding bike might be great for getting around.I have my eye on either a voltbike mariner of radmini. Is the Radmini really more powerful or is it same motor rated higher? I like the ambassador program from voltbike which will allow me to share my bike and defray the cost.

Kathrine Kukova
12 months ago

Update April/2017. I just bought Mariner. Came standard with splash guard and rear derailleur guard. It's nice that you supply helmets with your bikes, but they are heavy! DOT helmets more suitable for motorbikes.

7 months ago

Only thing you didn't mention was battery life where the RAD Mini is far superior then the Mariner. You can buy a lot of fenders for the savings on the Battery life IMHO

8 months ago

Martin Kuka
From what I understand, the motor in the Radmini is also 500W, so no advantage there. Rad just publishes the peak power which happens to be 750W. A little bit of marketing mumbo jumbo to boost sales. And the last time I checked, Rad wants $120 for a pair of plastic fenders/mudguards for their Mini. Highway robbery, in my book.

Martin Kuka
11 months ago

Well yes and no, I didn't realize how heave the bike is until I got it (same with the rad). I would choose it over rad mini any day (better components, except motor, plus fenders, love the lights) I use the bike to get me around Boston, so the heavy fat tires aren't ideal, but that isn't bikes flaw. Dragging it up the stairs while opening the doors is a torture. The 500w motor has plenty of power for this bike. I would only see 750w motor as an advantage if these bikes could go over 20mph. Its too bad, you wont really go over 21-22mph unless you go downhill. The resistance from the wind (you sit upright) and tires itself is too high.

Mo Poppins
12 months ago

What do you think of the bike? Are you happy with your decision? I was thinking of getting the Rad Mini, but now this bike is looking quite tempting.

Electric Bike City
1 year ago

That beach ride looked like a lot of fun!

Lu Diamonds
1 year ago

was wondering what is the weight capacity before I make this purchase. and I do mean the actual weight the volt bike mariner can handle???

Norsemen Galleries
1 year ago

Hello Court...

Great Review!!! One of your best ever! I noticed that you had a RadMini on beach as well... Concerning strictly performance on the beach & loose/packed sand, how did the RAD compare to VoltBike? Why?

After viewing this review, I called George(founder) @ VoltBike... Talked at length... Hands-down, Mariner has substantially better price, performance, quality, features and higher-end components v.s. RadMini...

And they both have 500w motors... RAD is mis-leading stating @ website that their's is 750w... It is 500w with a 750w peak if I am not mistaken... Please verify for me...

Thanks for all your reviews... Planning on buying a Mariner at end of May, once it warms up here in COLDDDDD Minnesota...

Ken Brose
Facebook -->> Kenneth Brose

1 year ago

Same as the hoverfly bike. Both claim to be the manufacturer.

Dean Champion
1 year ago

I've had 5 electric bikes. I liked the folding bike with small tires, except when hitting the crappy streets and potholes of Boston (it nearly broke my spine). Forget off road, except on a smooth beach. But good if your city has good, smooth streets. If your city has hills, definitely opt for more power... period. And a swing arm or shock absorber on the back is really great; but a shock on the front is a flat-out necessity.

1 year ago

Rad Mini vs. this one?? Anyone???

12 months ago

I would suggest Voltbike Mariner. It comes with installed fenders, rear rack and also front and rear lights connected to the main battery.

Zaw Aung
1 year ago

is there any other video about this bike?

Zaw Aung
1 year ago

Radpower mini bike vs this one. which one do you recommend?

Potter's Work
1 month ago

Ponchoguns , are you still liking the Bike? Any issues over the last couple of months? Trying to decide between this bike and the RadMini

4 months ago

OldHickory Isn't it 150 more for finders on the Rad?

4 months ago

I bought this a few weeks ago. Very happy with the product and customer service. I might buy another next week. Also it has been upgraded. Twist throttle and derailleur guard.

7 months ago

For 2x bikes we offer only one shipping fee of $70 USD even though you purchase 2x bikes which bring the price down to $1324 USD per bike. On top of that as we mention before you get motorcycle DOT approved helmet which is $30 value and front and rear fenders. Hope this works for you.

7 months ago

I appreciate the update. and those changes make your bike very attractive.. With that said I will have to disagree on your cost difference. I see on your site that the Mariner is currently listed at $1289 plus $70 shipping with no discount for multiple buys which indicates $1359 for each bike whereas the RAD Mini is listed at $1499 with free shipping and a discount of $200 if you buy two bikes which calculates out to $1399 a bike. Since I would be purchasing two bikes I don't see a significant cost advantage in the Volt and with a $50 referral program I could reduce the cost even more.Does Volt offer discounts for multiple buys  (say two bikes) or referrals?