VoltBike Mariner Review

Voltbike Mariner Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Mariner
Voltbike Mariner 500 Watt Bafang Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Mariner 48 Volt Sanyo Removable Battery Pack
Voltbike Mariner Apt Led Display Panel Shifter Compass Bell
Voltbike Mariner Led Integrated Headlight And Steel Fender
Voltbike Mariner Folding Wellgo Pedals Bottom Bracket Stand Guard
Voltbike Mariner Kenda Krusade 4 Inch Fat Tires
Voltbike Mariner Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc Brakes 180 And 160
Voltbike Mariner Carry Rack With Light And Pannier Blockers
Voltbike Mariner Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Mariner
Voltbike Mariner 500 Watt Bafang Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Mariner 48 Volt Sanyo Removable Battery Pack
Voltbike Mariner Apt Led Display Panel Shifter Compass Bell
Voltbike Mariner Led Integrated Headlight And Steel Fender
Voltbike Mariner Folding Wellgo Pedals Bottom Bracket Stand Guard
Voltbike Mariner Kenda Krusade 4 Inch Fat Tires
Voltbike Mariner Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc Brakes 180 And 160
Voltbike Mariner Carry Rack With Light And Pannier Blockers

Summary

  • A miniaturized fat tire electric bike that's sand and snow capable, you get fenders, a rack and integrated lights for utility and safety no matter the terrain
  • Mid-mount battery design keeps weight low and centered, it's removable for reduced weight (when folding and transporting the bike) but requires that the seat be removed to get it off
  • Seat post suspension improves ride quality, you get nine levels of assist as well as trigger throttle mode that overrides for help climbing or slogging through soft stuff
  • Key must be left in when riding and can jingle a bit, the display is not removable and it along with the compass, bell and throttle could get bumped when folding, no clasps to keep it folded

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

VoltBike

Model:

Mariner

Price:

$1,249 ($70 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

20162017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

59.5 lbs (26.98 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.7 lbs (3.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

12 lbs (5.44 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

23 reach, 24" Stand Over Height, 67" Length

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Folding

Frame Colors:

Black

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid, 11 mm Axle

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

6 Speed 1x6 Shimano Acera, MF-TZ20, 11-28

Shifter Details:

Shimano Tourney TX50R6CT Thumb Shifter Plus

Cranks:

Alloy Bash Guard, 52T Chainring

Pedals:

Wellgo F-265T Aluminum Alloy Folding Platform

Stem:

Telescoping, SVMONO SM-A150-8R

Handlebar:

Promax Flat, 23" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Artek Vigorous Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Flat Rubber, Black

Saddle:

Velo VL-8020E, Comfort

Seat Post:

Promax SP-252, Aluminum Alloy with Suspension

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled Alloy, Black

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel

Tire Brand:

Kenda Krusade, 20" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Integrated LED Lights, Floating Ball Compass, Flick Bell, Steel Fenders, Carry Rack with Spring Latch (25 kg Max Load)

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Rust Resistant Z Chain, Hold the Up Button to Activate Lights

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Sanyo

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

499.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

APT Development, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Assist Level (1-9), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Mariner is one of just a handful of mini sized electric fat bikes I’ve seen that are designed to be both easier to mount and ride for short people as well as transportable for people who maybe have a boat, RV or trunk space. It’s a bike that’s fairly adaptable with telescoping stem (to raise the handle bars) and a seat post that can also raise and has a built in suspension element for comfort. The frame on the bike is sturdy but rigid and it comes with a bolt-on rear rack so you can add a trunk bag or panniers. Also, it has a headlight and tail light for improved safety and perhaps a bit of off-road nighttime adventure! Ultimately, it’s a surprisingly affordable little bike with a big personality that younger people, women and even large guys can enjoy on nearly any type of terrain.

For this review, I was able to get the company that makes them, VoltBike, to send a unit to Cabo San Lucas Mexico for testing at a resort called Cabo Adventures. This company specializes in scuba, zip line and biking adventures and has been considering adding electric bikes but was unsure how they would fare in the soft sand (and with different types of riders). Ultimately, the bike worked VERY well in the sand… even soft sand, which surprised and delighted me. To be fair, all of our fat tire ebikes handled the sand and the larger-wheeled models performed best, but even the 20″ x 4″ tires on this folding model made it through once the tire pressure was lowered sufficiently. Note, lowering the tire pressure makes a HUGE difference on soft terrain like sand or snow. The 500 watt internally geared Bafang hub motor zipped along in pedal assist and throttle mode without a hitch. Being able to add power on demand with the throttle (overriding assist on demand) made a big difference for me and my girlfriend and the fact that VoltBike uses a trigger throttle helped to keep the grips feeling solid vs. the half-twist design that some other bikes employ. It’s personal preference though and I noticed that the throttle on this bike is always active which means it could get bumped if you forget to turn the bike off after riding (if you lift it or decide to fold and pack it up).

Getting in to some of the gripes I have about the bike… activating it is a two step process which takes a bit of extra time and attention and can leave you wondering if it’s charged or has some sort of issue if you haven’t ridden for a while. First, insert the key into the battery and turn to on then hold the little on button at the control pad near the left grip. At this point the display comes to life showing speed, assist level, battery level and sone other stats about ride time and distance. You can activate the LED lights by holding up which is very nice and you can arrow up or down to navigate nine levels of assist but you cannot go to zero. So the throttle and assist are constantly active once the bike is on. Also, those keys mentioned earlier are constantly dangling and at risk of snagging or bending… but at least they’re harder to lose. I appreciate that the battery pack on the Mariner is mounted low and center, just behind the seat tube, and that it has a handle on top for easy removal. But you do have to slide the seat and seat post off in order to actually remove the battery in my experience.

Riding the bike is easy enough because the fat tires are wider and more stable than traditional ones. They cushion the ride a bit and offer plenty of traction. I found that braking with the rear kept me stable on soft sand and became almost fun like sliding out. Both brakes are mechanical disc and the levers have motor inhibitors so any time you activate them the power cuts out instantly for safety. I love that the cadence sensor they chose (for motor activation) features 12 magnets vs. six on some other models because that helps it respond quicker and on soft or unstable terrain it’s nice to feel in control. I also appreciate the black color scheme they chose for the bike because it hides the cables and wires coming from the brakes, display and shifter up front as they snake towards the rear end. You get six gears here which is very minimal and basic but the chainring is extra large to help balance out the extra small wheels. Pedaling feels normal and shifting is tight thanks to a slightly upgraded Shimano Acera derailleur. The shifter levers are extra large and take up some space at the handle bars but may be easier to use with gloves… and that’s nice if you’re getting this bike for use in the snow.

VoltBike is a Canadian company with a whole range of different styles of electric bikes that are all value priced. They only charge $70 to ship to the continental USA and offer a solid year long warranty. Note that anytime you’re buying an e-bike or other heavy, large and somewhat intricate product online there’s room for error. The Mariner we got made it all the way from Canada through the USA and into Mexico with just one busted part. The kickstand got mangled but we were able to take it off and use the bike without issue. I do like that it comes with a kickstand and a fun little bell compass combo. It would be easy to remove if you wanted but otherwise adds to the fun and sense of adventure. My girlfriend loved the narrower tube because she didn’t hit her knee as easily as with some other bikes we tested and I liked that both folding points locked for safety but noticed that there wasn’t a magnetic clasp or bungee system to keep the bike from unfolding. We all had a blast with this bike and the full sized models, VoltBike does sell a larger fat tire electric bicycle called the Yukon that I preferred for its suspension fork and larger tires but given the convenience and impressive performance on the Mariner, I could see myself being swayed by the space savings and flexibility… also being able to share with a wider range of friends. Big thanks to VoltBike for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • This is one of the most affordable mini-fat bikes on the market and shipping from Canada is just $70 to the US… overall it’s a fun capable bike and the motor is powerful enough to ride in soft sand as shown in the video review (just lower the air pressure first)
  • Low standover height makes this a great option for kids, petite riders like my girlfriend and some other ladies or people with sensitive knees or back that can’t swing their legs up high
  • Longer telescoping adjustable-length stem allows you to dial in fit, this is great if you’re a taller rider and in my experience the stem didn’t feel loose or wobbly as some designs do
  • The top tube is fairly narrow and the joint where it folds doesn’t stick out as much as some competing bikes meaning you shouldn’t hit your knee as easily when getting on or off (still good to be careful)
  • The fact that it folds means you can bring this bike to more fun spots, just stick it in your trunk or back seat
  • A 12 magnet cadence sensor provides very quick on/off motor performance, it felt responsive and controlled to me which is great for riding off road… some other ebikes only use a six magnet sensor which usually requires more time, this e-bike also has brake levers with motor inhibitors so the motor stops instantly whenever you brake
  • I like that the kickstand is mounted far back and out of the way, this makes it easier to work on the cranks, bottom bracket and chain or back the bike up without colliding and bending the stand, I also felt that the stand worked pretty well on the soft sandy beach
  • Suspension seat post adds to the comfort of those larger 4″ wide tires and comfort saddle… smaller wheels usually aren’t as comfortable (less air to cushion) so having this post shock really helps if you’re on a bumpy beach or trail
  • Front and rear integrated LED lights really take this ebike to the next level! It’s ot something I’d fault the bike for not having because I assume most riding would be during the day out on trails vs. nighttime but then again… if it snows or you’re camping those lights can come in handy and do keep you safe
  • Front and rear fenders help to keep you dry when riding, they add to the utility of the lights and rear rack making this both portable and capable as a hauler perhaps for grocery getting or other errands, I was surprised that they are made of steel however because it can rust if scraped vs. aluminum or plastic which would be more durable in salty environments (sea and salted snowy streets)
  • The rear cargo rack is pretty awesome! It’s constructed of standard gauge tubing so you can mount most panniers and even has pannier blockers along the sides to keep your straps from rubbing on the extra-wide tires, the rack can support up to 25 kg (~55 lbs) and protects the rear light
  • The bike is a bit rear heavy but I love that the battery is not mounted on the rack, instead it is kept low and more central just behind the seat tube so you have more space to haul cargo and get better balance when riding
  • Name brand Kenda tires with improved grip and durability, upgraded mechanical disc brakes with a larger 180 mm rotor up front to improve stopping power
  • Fun little extras like the compass bell make you feel like an adventurer but could be easily removed if you wanted (be careful with it when folding)
  • Oversized Wellgo folding pedals are a huge win for me, they are still small (as with most folding designs) but are larger, sturdier and stiffer than the cheap plastic ones I see a lot… great upgrade there ;)
  • Chain guard and a metal rest below the bottom bracket help to protect your chain and sprocket when folding and transporting the bike
  • Upgraded Shimano Acera derailleur should be tighter and provide more shifts between tuneups, it’s two steps up from the base level Tourney component group… you get six gears on the bike which is enough but not great
  • The bike ships fully assembled including the front wheel so you don’t have to mess around much in order to get up and going

Cons:

  • Neither wheel offers quick release, perhaps this allows for tighter stronger axle mounting but it does mean you’ll need a tool for repairs or flat fixes
  • At ~60 lbs this is not a light electric bike but given the larger tires, stronger motor and high capacity battery pack I can understand where the weight comes from, at least the ~7.7 lb battery is removable (highly recommended if you’re folding and lifting the bike)
  • I didn’t see any rubber bands or clasps to help keep the bike from coming unfolded… consider purchasing some of your own adjustable bungee cords and maybe using an old towel to keep it from rattling and coming undone
  • Considering the off-road nature of fat bikes, I was surprised to not see a slap guard? the chain is upgraded to be rust resistant and the tubing is aluminum so rust isn’t the issue, just the little chips in the paint, consider an after-market neoprene guard like this
  • During our tests, the bike must have fallen over or bumped into the bars of another bike because the plastic button pad got bent, the cover sort of bent upward and didn’t protect the clicker beneath as well so be careful with yours, these might just be more delicate than the rubberized flat button designs I’ve seen on some other bikes
  • I love that the bike offers assist and throttle mode but would have liked a throttle-only option, minor gripe… I also found that whenever the bike is on, the throttle is always active which can lead to more easy accidental motor bursts (especially if you’re trying to fold it without shutting it off first), that said… it’s a trigger throttle so slightly less likely to bump than a twist throttle and this is my preference for off-roading because it allows for more grip options and just a sturdier feel on the grip
  • The keys have to be inserted and twisted then left in the bike in order to activate and use it, this presents some challenges like jingling keys and potential snags when riding, consider a small carabiner? Once the battery is on you have to press and hold the power button on the control pad to activate the bike fully… you’ll see the display come to life then
  • The black color was a good choice because the wires blend in, they aren’t integrated through the frame and stick out a bit up front and below the frame… but that makes them easier to reach for repairs, mixed…
  • The motor was a bit louder than some other hubs but performed very well, even for larger riders, it’s an fat-tire specific wider motor from a well known company in the space, Bafang
  • The motor power cable protrudes directly from the end of the right side of the axle so be careful not to tip the bike onto it (or bump it when folding and transporting), this is also where the derailleur is so the right side of the bike is just more delicate in general
  • I think they could make the bike tougher by adding a derailleur guard, tucking the motor cable in further (I’ve seen some different designs that do this) and adding a second bash guard plat to the chainring so you’d have a guide which prevents dropping the chain as easily
  • The display can be swiveled forward and back to reduce glare but is not removable, this means it could get bumped easier if the bike tips, when you’re folding it and when it’s being stored and transported
  • As with a lot of the folding electric bicycles I test, this one didn’t include bottle cage bosses so you might want to get a trunk bag with a built in bottle holster like this for bringing along fluids

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More VoltBike Reviews

VoltBike Yukon 750 Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable but surprisingly powerful and quiet electric fat bike, sells online only and ships from Canada with a flat rate $70 fee, comes with a comprehensive 1 year warranty. Upgraded Kenda Juggernaut tires that feel good on pavement, dirt, sand and snow, removable battery…...

VoltBike Urban Review

  • MSRP: $1,049
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An ultra-affordable folding electric bike sold online from Canada, offers a full range of accessories including lights, fenders and a rear carry rack. Available in black or white but only one size, you get six gears with a…...

VoltBike Yukon Review

  • MSRP: $1,159
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value priced electric fat bike with a six speed drivetrain, integrated headlight and optional fender + rack kit. Available in two flavors (350 watt motor or more powerful 500 watt motor), sold online…...

VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A very affordable city style electric bike with lots of useful accessories including integrated lights, fenders and rack. Only available in one frame size ~19" but the adjustable stem and seat hight help…...

VoltBike Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value oriented electric bike available in one size (19"), one frame style (step-thru) and one color (black). Comes standard with lots of useful accessories including full length plastic fenders, a rear carry…...


Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Alex_G
1 week ago

I am 61 years old, 5 foot 9 inches tall, and weigh about 260lbs and I'd like to get an eBike to help me get back in shape, something with throttle on demand and power assisted peddling and free peddling if possible. I would like a folding bike as I drive an SUV and live in a rural area. Being 260 lbs. I think I would need about 350 to 500 watts, 2" plus 20" wheels, a comfortable saddle. Something that will bring me home if I run out of leg power :) It would also have to be durable. I have been looking at the Voltbike Mariner being I am from Canada but I am not sure if the 4" x 20" tires would make it too rough on road and too awkward to fold and put in the SUV. I am more thinking of a 2" x 20" wheel ebike that is lighter and easier to lift and carry, I am really looking for help here, I have a list of conditions and my doctors say I am ok to exercise and I hate tread mills and bikes that take you no where. My budget is less important than getting a good quality ebike that might extend my life.

vincent
2 weeks ago

hey dave

i like the fat tire bikes and most of mine are fat tire

have a rad rover and radmini, these are decent bikes for the price- 48 volt 750 watt - excellent customer service - replacement parts/batteries easy to get
on all the cadence sensing bikes i have ridden/owned like these the pas is not great
in my experience they all tend to be too fast in the lower levels, rad has worked on this and my bikes have an older controller that is pretty controlled in level 1 and 2

an 2016 easy motion street torque sensor 48 volt 500 watt which is my most expensive/higher end bike- excellent warranties
it is a nice bike but i do a decent amount of dirt/gravel roads and do not like the skinny tires so will be selling/trading it
it was a good deal

have a 2016 prodeco mariner folder which is a decent bike , throttle only but my lightest bike, easy to fold up and put in a car

a couple of cheap chinese bikes i bought at interbike- both 48 volt 500 watt cadence, although one has 9 levels of pas and is actually pretty good control/smoothness in pas and throttle
one is so ridiculous fast in pas i have it turned off and only use throttle on that one

and have a folding full suspension cheap mtn bike called a cemoto that was my first bike and fine but i would not buy that one again
the battery is in the frame which is a major hassle and cheap full suspension bikes are just cheap
this bike is going on 2 years old so a lot of stuff has changed battery wise etc since then

personally i am a big fan of having the throttle option, think it has a lot of good uses like being able to get the bikes home if something breaks or i get hurt somehow, especially on cadence bikes the ability to go slow is nice

this being said all my throttles act different and some seem to be touchy/wide open or off which i do not like
all my bikes are hub motors

i am looking to sell a few and get down to 4-5
most likely will buy a juiced hyper fat if the frame fits me ok, very excited for this bike to get released
also want a plus size tire mid drive yamaha or brose

at this point my riding time is limited and i am aggravated having to adjust disc brakes etc too often, would like all my bikes to be higher end with hydraulic brakes etc
since i like fat tire bikes finding 20 inch fat tires with torque sensor/throttle and hydraulic brakes is not easy, so my 20 inch fat tires/pretty much friend bikes may eventually get mid drive kits on them with those options...

just reread all this and i agree with some of the other comments, you wont be unhappy spending more money and getting a better bike
since you have a lot of hills a mid drive might be better but most of them are more expensive

i think the rad power bikes and voltbikes are good starter bikes, both companies seem to have very good customer service

hope this helps some

vincent
3 weeks ago

these are 20 inch bikes and fat but what about the radmini or voltbike mariner
think a lot of people have put smaller tires on them like 2.5 inch wide tires if you dont want a fat bike

i know for sure the radmini does throttle from a stop- with or without pas on
and pretty sure the voltbike does too

know what you mean about the pas - even at level 1 being too fast
that was a big turnoff for me on a lot of bikes also

Olrocker
3 weeks ago

I ended up getting two RadMinis for my wife and me (hers is white, mine black.) They will be here Tuesday. The Mariner looks fine, but it has the same frame and features as a number of other Chinese-made folding ebikes, so I went with the more unique style. The 750W hub motor on the Rad appealed to me as well.

Cheers!

SuperGoop
3 weeks ago

I'm not sure if I posted my findings on this thread. Here is what I've been able to gather from various sources for my Voltbike Yukon 750 (maybe same for the Voltbike Mariner?). Hopefully someone will be able to add to it:

S7 - (km/mile)

bL1 - backlight brightness display (3)

OFf - auto time(min) display off (5)

W d - wheel diameter (26)

bU0 - voltage set (48V)

PSd - password (1919)

SPL - speed limit (45km) - gov cuts off at 32km

CUL - MAX Current Limit set (default 15A)

HAL - Magnetic Pole numbers of speed sensor (default=1. Use Unknown ???)

ASs(AS5) - 1-15 ??? (default 12) # of Cadence magnets?

Hd6 - sets the throttle to 6km/h; 1=ON, 0=OFF (default 0)

HdP - toggles the throttle power/current level to match the PAS level. 1=ON; 0=OFF (default 0, full power independent of PAS level)

PAs - levels of assist (set to 0-9; default 1-5)

Cnugget
4 weeks ago

Sure. I'm interested in upgrading to a higher Ah battery than originally came on my Voltbike Mariner (10.4 Ah). I asked George of Voltbike how much Ah can the controller handle and he said 15Ah. He does not recommend going over 15Ah.

Thanks for the update. :)

america94
4 weeks ago

On a number of occasions, I'd asked @Voltbike George about offering higher Ah batteries. I mentioned to him that others, sold nearly identical, Mariner clones that had 20ah batteries. My suggestion to him was for Voltbike to offer a couple of battery options, which is inline with a number of retailers. I'm NOT attempting to disparage George, I understand he's very busy, however he never clearly stated his aversion.

Perhaps he should partner with a 3rd party - maybe EMP for the American market, some other for Canada - for replacement batteries, upgrades and repairs?
On a funny note, that Mariner clone you cited has a value of $6500 according to the seller, now on "sale" at $2200! lol! Speaking of that 20Ah battery, they have "made a deal with Panasonic and have installed their newest battery which is NOT available elsewhere yet!" I had some good laughs reading some of their stuff. There's a lot more funny stuff to read about ;-)

zap016VOLTAGE
4 weeks ago

Sure. I'm interested in upgrading to a higher Ah battery than originally came on my Voltbike Mariner (10.4 Ah). I asked George of Voltbike how much Ah can the controller handle and he said 15Ah. He does not recommend going over 15Ah.

On a number of occasions, I'd asked @Voltbike George about offering higher Ah batteries. I mentioned to him that others, sold nearly identical, Mariner clones that had 20ah batteries. My suggestion to him was for Voltbike to offer a couple of battery options, which is inline with a number of retailers. I'm NOT attempting to disparage George, I understand he's very busy, however he never clearly stated his aversion.

Perhaps he should partner with a 3rd party - maybe EMP for the American market, some other for Canada - for replacement batteries, upgrades and repairs?

Cargo Bike Trailer Josh
1 month ago

Care to elaborate?

Sure. I'm interested in upgrading to a higher Ah battery than originally came on my Voltbike Mariner (10.4 Ah). I asked George of Voltbike how much Ah can the controller handle and he said 15Ah. He does not recommend going over 15Ah.

Cnugget
1 month ago

Thanks Cnugget. There was an ad on here for two nearly new Mariners in my area (Raleigh NC); $2K for both but I missed the opportunity. I was thinking about splitting the difference and getting the Radmini for me and the Mariner for my wife; then I could really do a comparison.

Cheers!
Haha.. Now that would be a worthy video and I would watch. :)

Some things are hard to tell until you get on them. Looks like the bike has had some new updates... Hopefully it's all good. I wasn't sure if I would use an ebike at all. My bow and I decided it would be better to have two bikes at ~3,000 instead of just one.. It is a great cheap date and we have fun saving the money and commuting. It is a good launcher into the world of ebikes.. I don't expect it to last forever nor compete with some of the other amazing things out there but happy so far.. but that is just me. Good luck with your purchase. Rad or Volt or whatever.. May it be fun and give you lots of grins and chuckles.

Don't forget accessories will cost ya as well.. I've probably dropped about $500 on stuff for the bike since I've picked it up. It's a can of worms so save some dollars for that too.. :D

Cnugget
1 month ago

Haha.. Ya I have the Mariner Volt Bike for myself but was hoping to find a nice step thru for my mom that might not launch her off and be easy to get on and off.. Mine also has a swift take off rocket launcher effect which is fine for me but maybe not so fine for my mom. Thanks for the info. Still love the look of this bike. :)

Cnugget
1 month ago

Lollolololol.. Mmk. Chuckles..:) It could take that weight likely without snapping it in half... but it would likely not be covered by warranty. I've had ~280lb on the bike. I still would be concerned with lack of real estate/reach. When you peddle and any(if any) molson muscle exists you end up moving that with each pedal stroke. If you don't have this issue (not sure of your body type) then at a very min you would need a longer seat post??? Maybe @flbum could help ya out a bit more than I for height I think he is 6' 2"... mention's some info here: https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/volt-bike-mariner-2016-so-far-so-happy-observations-as-they-happen.7239/page-7

Hope that helps :)

Olrocker
1 month ago

Thanks Cnugget. There was an ad on here for two nearly new Mariners in my area (Raleigh NC); $2K for both but I missed the opportunity. I was thinking about splitting the difference and getting the Radmini for me and the Mariner for my wife; then I could really do a comparison.

Cheers!

flbum
1 month ago

Here are pictures of the new bell, derailleur cage and chainstay protector on the Mariner. I have also included a picture of the entire bike which includes the longer seat post that I have added due to my height of 6'2". I rode 24.5 miles yesterday. I still had more battery, but had to quit due to seat pain. I'm definitely going to get a new seat!

1/3
flbum
1 month ago

I tested the range of the battery on my new Mariner. I set the display parameter so that manual full throttle would match the PAS level. I used full throttle without peddling at a constant PAS level of 4. I took several breaks during the trip. This was my 3 rd charge of the battery. So, I expect that I am probably experiencing the peak performance of the battery. I returned to the same location from which I started. So, I went downwind as much as I went upwind. Still, I'm sure that the wind decreased my overall range. Here are the parameters and results of the test:

Range: 16.7 miles

Payload: 250 pounds
Average Moving Speed: 11.8 mph
Terrain: Flat paved surface
Tire Pressure: 30 psi

Measuring Device: Garmin Vivoactive HR (GPS)
PAS: 4 (Throttle only / no pedaling)
Total elapsed time: 1:53:37 (including breaks)
Moving Time: 1:24:57
Max Speed: 13.9 mph
Wind speed: 10 mph

The display speed and distance were pretty close to those measured by my GPS. I had the wheel diameter set at 22". I'll bet that the display computer adds 2" inches to the wheel diameter to account for the increase in diameter resulting from an average tire. However, our tires probably add closer to 4 inches to the wheel diameter. This is probably why a 22" wheel diameter yields the best match for the GPS measurements.

I thought that the resulting range with no pedaling was pretty good considering the large payload. :)

Cnugget
1 month ago

Mariner.. but I am biased. :D I don't have the most recent upgrades they have done to the Mariner. Never tried a RadMini.
Easier to fold/lift. If you can at all test drive them, I recommend it.

Cnugget
1 month ago

Great find! Thank you!

I found out the the controller in the latest version of the Voltbike Mariner can only handle up to a 15Ah battery.
Care to elaborate?

Cargo Bike Trailer Josh
1 month ago

EMP - Ebike Market Place

While I have no issues with my Mariner's battery:), although lowering bike's tyres inflation pressure zaps the battery quickly so the Mariner could use a 52V battery in IMHO;), nonetheless I've explored replacement battery optionso_O. My hope was find a company, located here in the USA, that not just sold high capacity - i.e.: 20ah - Silverfish style batteries, but could repair existing batteries as well. Some time ago, I contacted Luna Cycles inquiring about this. Their reply was that they had no plans to offer them:(. Recently I came across EMP, ebike market place, online. EMP not only can replace old battery packs, they sell a 48V 16ah Silver fish style ebike battery as well:). At some point, I may reach out to them about either upgrading my battery or purchasing a new one. Stay Tuned!:D

Great find! Thank you!

I found out the the controller in the latest version of the Voltbike Mariner can only handle up to a 15Ah battery.

StacksAMilli
1 month ago

Hi, very excited to order a Voltbike but have a few questions for those who have ordered or have experience with there newest model of the Voltbike Mariner 500W Limited.

Would it be suitable for a larger man? 6 foot, 6 foot 1, 300 pounds, without any hardware failure (Knowing the seat can be upgraded to a softer seat, and the bike may go a little bit slower, but will it still do the job and won't just snap like a toy?)

How long does it take to arrive / did it take to arrive after purchasing and sending the money, how long it took to ship once paid and how long did it take to arrive once shipped, and did it include tracking?

These are my two final questions to make me pull the trigger on purchasing so I really need some clarification on both, thanks.

zap016VOLTAGE
1 month ago

EMP - Ebike Market Place

While I have no issues with my Mariner's battery:), although lowering bike's tyres inflation pressure zaps the battery quickly so the Mariner could use a 52V battery in IMHO;), nonetheless I've explored replacement battery optionso_O. My hope was find a company, located here in the USA, that not just sold high capacity - i.e.: 20ah - Silverfish style batteries, but could repair existing batteries as well. Some time ago, I contacted Luna Cycles inquiring about this. Their reply was that they had no plans to offer them:(. Recently I came across EMP, ebike market place, online. EMP not only can replace old battery packs, they sell a 48V 16ah Silver fish style ebike battery as well:). At some point, I may reach out to them about either upgrading my battery or purchasing a new one. Stay Tuned!:D

Cnugget
1 month ago

I am hoping that someone might have advice on an issue that I'm having with my new Voltbike Mariner... The battery on my Mariner tends to bounce around making a lot of noise with every little bump. So, it is constantly rattling. The noise is generated by the entire assembly shaking and not the components inside the battery.... Has anyone else experienced this problem? If so, do you have a better solution?

SCREW ON BATTERY RAIL CHECK:
I'm not sure if this is the issue but definitely something to check. Mine was rattling when I first got it. Pull out the battery and check the rail is screwed in all the way to the frame. You can see in the photos below mine was rattling and yanked around before the we found the screw and tightened it up. Once it was tightened up it hasn't need re-tightening since but we check it now and again. Here are some photos of the screw to check. Hope it helps.. If not post some photos of the issue maybe @Voltbike can help. :)

1/3
flbum
1 month ago

I am hoping that someone might have advice on an issue that I'm having with my new Voltbike Mariner. I haven't seen a reference to this problem in any of the posts. So, I'm wondering if it is unique to my one bike.

The battery on my Mariner tends to bounce around making a lot of noise with every little bump. So, it is constantly rattling. The noise is generated by the entire assembly shaking and not the components inside the battery. I believe that the assembly is shaking on the slide rail that holds the battery as the fit is loose. There is also a gap between the seat tube and the battery. As a temporary solution, I have rolled up a handi-wipe cloth and wedged it between the seat tube and the battery assembly. That is not an elegant solution, but it works for now. I'm considering attaching an adhesive rubber strip to the side of the battery which faces the seat tube to push it tight against the slide rail.

Has anyone else experienced this problem? If so, do you have a better solution?

flbum
1 month ago

I just got my new Mariner a few days ago. I'm grateful to find all the useful information which has been shared here. Overall, I'm pleased with the bike. In particular, I noticed that there are a number of nice improvements since @Court published his awesome review. There is now a derailleur guard, a chainstay protector, and a truly awesome bell. These escaped my notice in the new Voltbike Mariner commercial video. However, I can see them now that I am looking for them. Although I am used to going an average of 15 mph on my full sized manual bicycle, there is just a totally different feeling when the motor is doing it for me and I'm not busting my gut to maintain my speed. I'm still picking the bugs out of my teeth from riding with the grin. :)

There are a few minor mods that I had to make when I got the bike. There was a lot of play in the folding mechanism for the handlebars. A trivial adjustment of the latch fixed that once I figured out that was available. I'm 6' 2" tall, 240 pounds. I purchased a Gusset 450 mm seat post in anticipation of needing it to get proper leg extension with my Mariner. As expected, I did need a longer seat post. I would have been able to get by with 400 mm at the minimum insertion line. However, I'm glad that I got the extra post length inside the seat tube. A little more set back would have been nice. I thought that I might need some sort of riser extension to raise the handlebars. I might look at upgrading the seat, but haven't done that yet. I was a little sore after riding 21 miles the other day. However, it seems that the maximum height is close enough to avoid an extension. I'm pleased with the fit for a Clydesdale like me considering the advantages obtained by having a versatile folding electric bike. Overall, the bike was well adjusted upon receipt. I was very pleased to find that the spokes were tight and the wheels were true. I have not had good luck with that on my last few manual bicycle purchases.

I need some advice on one issue which I'll put in a separate post.

I'm looking forward to obtaining years of enjoyment out of my new Voltbike Mariner!

Cargo Bike Trailer Josh
1 month ago

Hello everybody, I'm pleased to join your group. I have just bought myself an IGO Explorer E-Bike and I look forward to using it once the snow is gone. It is equiped with a 500 watt motor ( Maximum of 700 Watt capacity) and a 48 Volts and 13 amp Battery, it is designed and build in Montreal, Quebec but sold all over North America.. See you soon on the roads.
Robert

Bienvenue!

I'm also in Montreal, downtown. I have the Voltbike Mariner. It's fun to connect!

Joshua

Sam Binder
3 days ago

Court, Love your videos. I live in philadelphia and am thinking that a fat tire folding bike might be great for getting around.I have my eye on either a voltbike mariner of radmini. Is the Radmini really more powerful or is it same motor rated higher? I like the ambassador program from voltbike which will allow me to share my bike and defray the cost.

Kathrine Kukova
3 weeks ago

Update April/2017. I just bought Mariner. Came standard with splash guard and rear derailleur guard. It's nice that you supply helmets with your bikes, but they are heavy! DOT helmets more suitable for motorbikes.

Martin Kuka
2 weeks ago

Well yes and no, I didn't realize how heave the bike is until I got it (same with the rad). I would choose it over rad mini any day (better components, except motor, plus fenders, love the lights) I use the bike to get me around Boston, so the heavy fat tires aren't ideal, but that isn't bikes flaw. Dragging it up the stairs while opening the doors is a torture. The 500w motor has plenty of power for this bike. I would only see 750w motor as an advantage if these bikes could go over 20mph. Its too bad, you wont really go over 21-22mph unless you go downhill. The resistance from the wind (you sit upright) and tires itself is too high.

Mo Poppins
2 weeks ago

What do you think of the bike? Are you happy with your decision? I was thinking of getting the Rad Mini, but now this bike is looking quite tempting.

Electric Bike City
1 month ago

That beach ride looked like a lot of fun!

Lu Diamonds
1 month ago

was wondering what is the weight capacity before I make this purchase. and I do mean the actual weight the volt bike mariner can handle???

Norsemen Galleries
2 months ago

Hello Court...

Great Review!!! One of your best ever! I noticed that you had a RadMini on beach as well... Concerning strictly performance on the beach & loose/packed sand, how did the RAD compare to VoltBike? Why?

After viewing this review, I called George(founder) @ VoltBike... Talked at length... Hands-down, Mariner has substantially better price, performance, quality, features and higher-end components v.s. RadMini...

And they both have 500w motors... RAD is mis-leading stating @ website that their's is 750w... It is 500w with a 750w peak if I am not mistaken... Please verify for me...

Thanks for all your reviews... Planning on buying a Mariner at end of May, once it warms up here in COLDDDDD Minnesota...

Ken Brose
Facebook -->> Kenneth Brose
3/10/2017

hellochriis
2 months ago

Same as the hoverfly bike. Both claim to be the manufacturer.

Dean Champion
2 months ago

I've had 5 electric bikes. I liked the folding bike with small tires, except when hitting the crappy streets and potholes of Boston (it nearly broke my spine). Forget off road, except on a smooth beach. But good if your city has good, smooth streets. If your city has hills, definitely opt for more power... period. And a swing arm or shock absorber on the back is really great; but a shock on the front is a flat-out necessity.

SustainUsFarm
3 months ago

Rad Mini vs. this one?? Anyone???

VoltBike
4 weeks ago

I would suggest Voltbike Mariner. It comes with installed fenders, rear rack and also front and rear lights connected to the main battery.

Zaw Aung
3 months ago

is there any other video about this bike?

Zaw Aung
4 months ago

Radpower mini bike vs this one. which one do you recommend?

VoltBike
4 weeks ago

Hi Derrick, apologize but I still can't find your inquiry in our email list but I will be more than happy to speak with your either by phone or email. When you call just mention this conversation and I will come on the phone. You can also email me at our support. Waiting very much to speak with you and hear any feedback or recommendation. By the way Voltbike Urban is using rear motor. It's not on the front

Derrick Lee
4 weeks ago

This is one of my online names. I bought a Mariner first then an Urban. One of the stickers on the front rim of Mariner peeled off on just the second time I rode it in dry conditions. I can live with that. The front rotor made noises right after I unpacked the Urban. That's unacceptable. I emailed you two times and got zero response.

VoltBike
4 weeks ago

Hi Derrick Lee, I am not sure where did you purchase your bikes, but we don't have customer under your name. We searched carefully our database and our email list and I don't have any customer "Derrick Lee". Having rotor noise is serious defect and we would never leave it like that. We always respond to customer queries either before of after sale. Also our bikes do not use stickers. Our frame logo is actually part of the paint so it can't just peel off.

Derrick Lee
4 weeks ago

I wouldn't recommend Voltbike. I just bought 2 bikes from them last month. The bikes seemed ok with just minor problems like rotor making noises and stickers peeling off. I emailed them 2 times but got absolutely no response. They always responded to my inquiries before I made the purchase. So expect zero service after the sale from Voltbike if you decide to buy from them.

VoltBike
2 months ago

Of course Voltbike Mariner. You get better equipped bike with fenders, rear rack, front and rear light connected to the main battery for less money. It's no brainer.

oo walker
4 months ago

this 36v 500w motor ? what was the volume of the battery?

VoltBike
4 weeks ago

Hi, Voltbike Mariner comes with 48v 500w rated motor power. The current battery size as I write this is 48v 10.4ah. This may increase in the future.

David Frobel
4 months ago

I don't think I would take a bike on the beach what ever they say,,the sand and salt will kill it ,,unless it is an old junk bike

Mo Poppins
2 weeks ago

You could always maintain it and wash off the salt and sand, shortly afterwards. It's not like it's some humongous, imposing vehicle that would take a long time to clean.

If you think the adventure and exploration are worth it, you probably wouldn't care. If not, no worries...it's your life.

Owen Morrrison
5 months ago

yeah I speak to a few people and they all share the same sentiment , but am just hoping for a smooth transaction .

Owen Morrrison
5 months ago

Can anyone please respond to me , I want to know is it right if am buying a bike from Canada I pay for it whit my credit card the seller requesting my social security number claiming that government agencies say any purchase to the US over 1000 they want the customer social security number anyone can relate to this activity please thank you ?

Perkunas T
1 month ago

The US is doing crazy stuff, I was going to buy bike tires, and they would only accept a certified bank draft.As a bank draft costs more then the tires, I told them to stick it. The bank also wanted to know where the money came from. Not to mention all the duty and taxes they hit you buying anything from the US. All magical numbers they make up. I think the US is trying to go bankrupt on purpose, as I and others, will never buy anything there, ever again.

smilesatyourfuneral
2 months ago

With the Voltbike, if you go with paypal, you can opt to pay 99$ a month for the bike, so you can have the bike, pay overtime, and circumvent your problem.

Darryl BEAN
5 months ago

Sounds kinky? Call customs and ask them. As you are no doubt aware, be careful who you give your SS number to.

Ken A
5 months ago

For just general riding around city streets in Florida which one do you think would be better for comfort and handing the SSR Trailviper or this one. Thanks

Miguel Garbanzos
5 months ago

I need to know if this bike coasts? I read other people's opinions on this bike and I heard you can't go faster than 20mph? What if your going down hill and you don't need to use to throttle? Can you just coast and use gravity to go faster or does it still slow down because the speed is fixed? Please let me know I like the functionality of this bicycle

love2cruz
5 months ago

Miguel Garbanzos The motor speed cuts out at 20mph. Not the bike itself. You can ride down hills faster than 20mph.

Osama Baig
6 months ago

for longer distances would you recommend the mariner or the Yukon 750watt. Also, kinda paranoid about bike getting stolen, would the mariner be less tempting for someone to steal?

Martin Kuka
3 weeks ago

Upright position on the mariner makes for a lot more wind resistance, so its not that great for long distances. You will be a lot faster on Yukon I think.

Vagelis 4VP
3 months ago

You just keep it in house.... and when outside, always lock it with a good u-lock, and keep in eye-sight distance....(also they sell gps trackers for to know where your bike at, at any time)

Osama Baig
6 months ago

But I still wonder, would the 700watt one be a lot faster? Im thinking about getting it, but scared it may be stolen. So I migjt just go with the smaller Mariner (looks less tempting for people to steal).

Sub bass
6 months ago

i think they would still both .. they look realy awsome man ..
i live in peru i was thinking the same shit they will still it so fast

McNuggetEh
6 months ago

You can get a level 0 on the bike inside the settings menu. It's just not set as default when you first get the bike. It is completely manual so no throttle and no PAS but it's nice to have the lights and bike monitor or if you'd like to pedal without power. Also of note there is a walk assist.

Mark Woods
6 months ago

Another great review. This one would be great for carrying around while you travel. Especially for older folks.

VoltBike
6 months ago

Yes Mark, and you also feel very stable when you ride, thanks for the 4" fat tires.

Roger Dueck
6 months ago

I've been waiting for this particular review for a while now :) I'm saving up for an electric bike but am not sure how well the transition is gonna go cause I live in Edmonton, Canada and it snows alot here. So I want a bike that can handle the winter but at the same time be able to fold it up and put it into a car. So I'm really happy to know that you liked it :)

VoltBike
6 months ago

Hi Roger..thanks for your feedback. Just to mention that shipping anywhere in Canada is just $49 CAD. Sweet heh...