VoltBike Yukon 750 Review

Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Yukon 750
Voltbike Yukon 750 Bafang 8fun Fat Bike Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Removable Inset 48 Volt Battery
Voltbike Yukon 750 Lcd Display Trigger Throttle
Voltbike Yukon 750 Cranks 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Fat Bike Suspension
Voltbike Yukon 750 Adjustable Kickstand 160 Mm Disc Brakes
Voltbike Yukon 750 Shimano Tourney 7 Speed Derailleur
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Yukon 750
Voltbike Yukon 750 Bafang 8fun Fat Bike Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Removable Inset 48 Volt Battery
Voltbike Yukon 750 Lcd Display Trigger Throttle
Voltbike Yukon 750 Cranks 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Fat Bike Suspension
Voltbike Yukon 750 Adjustable Kickstand 160 Mm Disc Brakes
Voltbike Yukon 750 Shimano Tourney 7 Speed Derailleur

Summary

  • An affordable but surprisingly powerful and quiet electric fat bike, sells online only and ships from Canada with a flat rate $70 fee, comes with a comprehensive 1 year warranty
  • Upgraded Kenda Juggernaut tires that feel good on pavement, dirt, sand and snow, removable battery is convenient to charge and has a USB port on the side mostly out of the way for portable electronics
  • More active saddle and bar setup, the reach was a bit longer which might suit taller riders, integrated headlight is convenient on cloudy days for winter riding or at night, trigger throttle design doesn't compromise grip
  • Only available in one color scheme and one frame size, basic Shimano Tourney 7 speed drivetrain, average mechanical disc brakes, the battery rattled a bit on my unit, suspension is fork is entry level

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

VoltBike

Model:

Yukon 750

Price:

$1,499 ($70 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62 lbs (28.12 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs (3.26 kg)

Motor Weight:

14 lbs (6.35 kg)

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

72" Length, 29.5" Stand Over Height, 24" Reach

Frame Material:

Aluminum

Frame Colors:

Black

Frame Fork Details:

Basic Top Gun Suspension with 90 mm Travel, 135 mm Dropout Width, 11 mm Axle

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, MF-TZ21, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shiman SIS Index Shifter on Right

Cranks:

42T Chainring with Aluminum Bash Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo M248DU Alloy Cage Style Platform

Headset:

VP-A41ACK

Stem:

Promax DA-3210 ~8° Rise

Handlebar:

Promax Low-Rise, 25" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Artek Vigorous Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Flat Rubber, Black

Saddle:

Selle Royal Freccia

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

320 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Samson Double Walled Alloy, Punched Out

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Juggernaut, 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

31TPI, Wire Bead, 5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Integrated LED Headlight, Rust Resistant Z Chain, Floating Ball Compass, Flick Bell, Optional Fenders and Rack $100

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, USB Charging Port on Right Side of Battery

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Sanyo

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

499.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

APT Development, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Assist Level (1-9), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

VoltBike is a leader in low cost electric bikes, I visited their headquarters near Vancouver Canada in 2015 and learned more about their online sales business… shipping to Canada and the US for a flat $70. If you don’t live near a bike shop but want an efficient city ebike or something a little more wild like the Yukon here, they can be a great option. My experience testing their products has been mostly good with only the occasional minor damage in shipping (the kickstand arrived broken on one of their folding mini fat bikes recently). All things considered, with their one year warranty and wide selection of styles I’ve been pretty impressed. Of course, there are always trade-offs when you try to hit lower price points and I encountered a few with the updated Yukon 750. Their prior Yukon model was built around a slightly weaker and louder 500 watt geared hub motor and had an exposed controller box and top mounted battery. It’s easy to appreciate how much nicer the 750 looks as well as how the frame balance has been improved. The top tube here is sloped down to make standing over the frame more comfortable and a suspension fork has been added to improve comfort… all for just $350 more!

But as I said, there are some trade off’s with the value approach and some that I noticed were the more basic seven speed Shimano Tourney drivetrain. It does the job but might go out of tune easier, adds some weight and just has a limited selection. There’s no slap guard on the right chainstay but that’s not a huge deal considering the frame is Aluminum and won’t rust there if it gets knicked. The suspension fork is comfortable but very basic with no adjustments or lockout and it’s probably heavier than something like a RockShox Bluto air fork. By the way, don’t rush out and buy that fork for this ebike because I believe it’s designed for a tapered head tube and I think the Yukon 750 is straight. The battery rattled a bit during my ride and I tried to demonstrate this in the video review but it never cut out and the model I tested was an early build so perhaps that will be resolved? That’s about it… these are all minor gripes and yes, I wish it had a bottle cage mounting point on the seat tube but there are accessories to work around that.

Getting back to what works on this bike… the motor is powerful, it offers enough zip to start and maintain in deep soft sand and this really surprised me! You get a nice large LCD display panel that’s backlit and an integrated headlight that doesn’t require separate batteries! A rechargeable backlight could be added inexpensively later if you do a lot of early morning or evening riding. The battery can be charged on or off the frame and helps to reduce the weight of the bike when lifting for transport or service but I wish the front wheel offered quick release to further reduce weight. It’s not a huge deal to unscrew though and I love the adjustable length kickstand that’s far back and out of the way for pedaling so if you back up and the cranks turn they don’t collide :)

The tires on this bike were a big upgrade from before and since they take a lot of abuse if you ride off-road and could potentially make a lot of noise if you stay on road I feel like the tread pattern they chose was thoughtfully chosen. It offers good durability and is a good all-around design. The only other big consideration with this particular bike is that the stem is kind of long, the bars are low-rise and the saddle is active. That means you tend to lean forward more when riding and can feel the bumps in your arms, shoulders and bottom. The saddle itself is a nice one, just not super soft. Consider adding a 27.2 mm Thudbuster to improve comfort along with lowering tire PSI (especially for riding on soft surfaces like sand… we used ~7 PSI). I guess one final area is worth scrutinizing here and that’s the brakes which are average sized with 160 mm rotors. They’re mechanical which require more wrist strength to actuate and again, smaller rotors means less mechanical advantage and the bike is on the heavier side at ~62 lbs. When you’re slashing prices you have to make trade offs and I feel like VoltBike made them pretty well. This is the kind of bike that could get rusty and beat up if used in salty sand or salty snow environments. When you spend a ton of money on a really nice bike sometimes it’s not as fun to actually take it out, knowing that it is going to be damaged. With a cheaper bike like this you still get good power and can have a lot of fun and again, I feel like it looks really nice and has really been improved since the original 500 watt model.

This review was shot with the help and financial support of Cabo Adventures in Cabo San Lucas Mexico! If you’d like to go for an electric fat bike ride on the beach like we did for these photos and video you can visit their website at www.cabo-adventures.com to learn more. I found their commitment to environmental sustainability to be inspiring, they offer lots of activities outside of ebikes, the food was good and their employees were wonderful. Cabo itself is one of the safest parts of Mexico, the airport is nice, roads are good and lots of celebrities visit because it’s only a 2.5 hour flight from Los Angeles. I shot a fun vlog about the visit where you can see some of the behind the scenes action here. My thanks again to the organization for being open to a creative review like this where we could truly test the bikes in a rigorous and majestic environment :D Big thanks to VoltBike for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • The motor is fairly quiet but feels zippy and had no problem with the soft sand or hills we tested it on, when the air pressure was lowered in the tires to ~7 PSI the bike worked great, the 8Fun motor seemed to be fat-bike specific and extra wide to support the spoke pattern of the wheels, it looked nice
  • The battery can be charged on or off the bike, has an integrated USB charging port (though it’s a bit exposed on the right side) and you only need to push one button to get the bike powered on, not two! Also, keys don’t have to be left in when riding
  • Pedal assist relies on a 12 magnet sensor, that’s the highest number I see on other bikes and it leads to faster on/off activation, I also love that the brake levers override all power modes and cut the motor when pulled
  • It’s neat that you can override assist at any time with the trigger throttle with full power output! Note however that assist is always active, there is not throttle-only mode on the bike
  • I love that this bike offers nine levels of pedal assist because the increments are finder and differences are more subtle… you can find the perfect level for your terrain, range and ride style
  • I love that VoltBike sells a matching fender and rack set for just $100, it can be difficult to find the correct size of accessories when dealing with unique frames like those of fat tire bicycles
  • Thumb throttles work great for off-road riding because they don’t compromise your grip on the handle bar, I hear some people say that they are also easier to actuate and can be adjusted up or down to sit wherever your thumb feels most comfortable
  • The punched out rims are cool looking, reduce weight and might offer a little bit more comfort and cushion than solid ones, the red liners show through and match the paint accents on the frame
  • I like that the battery is seated into the downtube and doesn’t stick up very far, it leaves a bit more room for hanging the bike on some racks, lifting it and possibly adding a tight fitting bottle cage adapter to the seat tube like this
  • I appreciate having a kickstand and love that this one is adjustable and mounted far enough back on the left chainstay that it doesn’t collide with the crank and pedal if you are backing up (the crank automatically turns)
  • The Kenda Juggernaut pro tires are high quality… light but durable and with a good off-road tread pattern that’s still fairly dense for use on hard surfaces
  • Quality battery cells from Sanyo, a generous one year comprehensive warranty and flat rate shipping to the US and Canada for just $70 (cheaper than almost all other bikes I see being sold online)
  • I like that the top tube slopes down, lowering stand over height to accommodate people with shorter inseams, I feel like it could slant more but VoltBike also has the Mariner folding fat bike for people who really need a lower stand over or just don’t like the big frames

Cons:

  • The display panel is compact, swivels to reduce glare and offers a lot of information but isn’t removable… this means it could take more damage if left outside, I do like that it’s backlit and that the headlight is powered off the main battery pack however
  • The button pad is easy to reach and fairly intuitive so you can arrow up or down when riding for more or less pedal assist power but the plastic cover is more delicate than inset buttons, ours got bent during tests when the bike crashed
  • This isn’t necessarily a bad thing but the saddle felt firm and the stem and bars were positioned further forward and lower down to accommodate active riding or larger longer-armed riders, you could always swap the stem out, replace the seat and get different bars like cruiser style if you prefer, I like that the bike has suspension but it’s not adjustable or lockable… just basic
  • Maybe it was just the unit I was testing but the battery rattled a little bit, I was surprised because it seems very securely mounted, maybe the fit is just a little loose?
  • The pedals are decent but I prefer wider, grippier ones like these Wellgo’s especially if you’re riding in snow… I do like the oversized thumb shifter however which works great with gloves on
  • The brakes are kind of average being mechanical vs. hydraulic and since the rotors are smaller at 160 mm vs. 180 mm they heat up a bit more and require more hand strength to stop
  • I wish the chainring had a plate on both sides, not just the outside, because sometimes when riding at higher speeds using the throttle bounding around off-road the chain can come off, I’d also appreciate a slap guard on the right chain stay
  • The floating compass is unique but a little gimmicky, I definitely appreciate the bell, would be nice if the grips were locking but considering their basic flat design it’s not a huge deal if they spin
  • Considering how large and heavy the bike is I love that you can take the battery pack off to reduce weight but I wish the front wheel had quick release, just to make it easier to fit into cars and other tight spaces vs. loosening and twisting the handlebars

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More VoltBike Reviews

VoltBike Mariner Review

  • MSRP: $1,249
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A miniaturized fat tire electric bike that's sand and snow capable, you get fenders, a rack and integrated lights for utility and safety no matter the terrain. Mid-mount battery design keeps weight low and centered, it's removable for reduced weight (when folding…...

VoltBike Urban Review

  • MSRP: $1,049
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An ultra-affordable folding electric bike sold online from Canada, offers a full range of accessories including lights, fenders and a rear carry rack. Available in black or white but only one size, you get six gears with a…...

VoltBike Yukon Review

  • MSRP: $1,159
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value priced electric fat bike with a six speed drivetrain, integrated headlight and optional fender + rack kit. Available in two flavors (350 watt motor or more powerful 500 watt motor), sold online…...

VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A very affordable city style electric bike with lots of useful accessories including integrated lights, fenders and rack. Only available in one frame size ~19" but the adjustable stem and seat hight help…...

VoltBike Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value oriented electric bike available in one size (19"), one frame style (step-thru) and one color (black). Comes standard with lots of useful accessories including full length plastic fenders, a rear carry…...


William
6 months ago

Great review once again Court! Good to see you had fun riding the Yukon at the beach over variable soft/hard sand and rock. Look forward to your review on the other VoltBike Mariner and how it compares with the similar Trail Viper 350W, and if it feels stable in terms of loose parts/components when going over bumps, since you mentioned the battery on the Yukon rattled, so I suspect things to be worse on folding bikes. Also, please comment whether you feel the power and speed difference between the Yukon 750 vs Mariner 500 vs Trail Viper 350, when doing 0 to 20mph. I believe shipping to US is $69 and Canada is $49, last I checked when looking to shop for an eBike on VoltBike website, so you may want to double check that.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

SuperGoop
3 days ago

@Ian in Alberta It is very easy to change the settings. Just double-click quickly to get into the setup. As you page down the menus, one of them require you to enter a password. For my Yukon 750, it is "1919". It opens a new set of advanced settings. Be sure to write down the original default values in case you mess it up. I believe the last one is to change the PAS mode.

I summarized the settings and their meanings here:
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/volt-bike-mariner-2016-so-far-so-happy-observations-as-they-happen.7239/page-5#post-90537

SuperGoop
3 days ago

@Ian in Alberta From my experience, the battery indicator is not linear. See my post here: https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/new-voltbike-yukon-750-spotted.8120/page-7#post-99807

5 bars: 100%
4 bars: 60%
3 bars: 30%
2 bars: 10%
1 bar: 0%
0 bar: ? don't know, never been this low

In your case, I am guessing you pedalled a lot during your 25km ride (thus conserving battery). Your battery is probably above 60%, which explains why you are still seeing 5 bars of battery. Once it drops below 60%, it will show 4 bars.

I also pedal a lot, and I also see full 5 bars at around the 25 km mark. At around the 30 km mark, I will begin to see 4 bars. If I shut off the bike and let it rest for about 15 minutes, it will bounce back to 5 bars (but only temporarily).

What you are seeing is normal. Keep in mind that the 1st bar lasts the longest. The remaining 4 bars will deplete much faster!

P.S. The percentage indicator doesn't work for me either (I have the Yukon 750).

pxpaulx
4 days ago

Does anyone find it difficult to remove the 26x4 Kenda Juggernaut? My Yukon 750 comes with a 30 TPI wired bead, and it is stiff. I attempted to rotate my tires because the rear was wearing faster than the front, but my standard plastic tire levers were not strong enough for the task, so I just left it alone for now.

On YouTube, it seemed so easy, but I think it is because those fat tires are 60 tpi, or 120 tpi and much softer.

Make sure that the same side wire bead on the opposite side of the wheel (opposite of the wheel itself, not one side of the rim to the other...) is all the way to the center of the rim - this will allow relief on the side that you're trying to remove. I had the hardest time with my radrover, same tire - went to the shop and they suggested I try that...went out to my car and it popped off like nothing!

america94
5 days ago

I would just say the battery design is an important consideration for "future-proofing". I know this Voltbike battery design is new and very popular, so it should be around for a long time. For example, Juiced Bikes uses the same battery type. This design has 2 types that are not interchangeble... a long and short version. Voltbike and Juiced Bikes uses the short version.

If you bought the Urban Ryder at Costco, I wonder if the battery can be easily replaced in the future. Keep in mind that Lithium batteries are difficult to ship, so shopping online or even from the U.S. may not be an option.

In terms of quality, price and customer service, I have nothing but good things to say about Voltbike. George (the owner) has been wonderful and quick to respond. As I said, I own the Yukon 750 with over 1,000 kms on it already.

From your list, the seat post and derailleur guard is an easy and inexpensive fix. I don't like twist throttle either, but I can live with it.

I prefer a non-integrated rack... in black. Like you said, something that is removeable with a spring clamp.

I know the above picture is a pre-release version, but I hope the final version will have more tasteful design on the paint. Right now, it looks really bare in plain white.

P.S. As a comparison, this Voltbike design is similar to the Surface604 Rook.

Thanks for your great feedback as always @SuperGoop. The Urban Ryder is sold by a Canadian cie in BC (Green Light Cycles). They have an actual shop in BC for locals and the exclusive deal with Costco online. Just like Voltbike and Georges, GLC and the owner/staff have rave reviews in terms of service and friendliness. I contacted them a few times and got very prompt responses. That's how I found out that the battery pack for the Urban Ryder is 360$ canadian, which i find quite reasonable (and also about the peak amp for the controller).

I would never buy it at $2000, but at 1500$ shipping included, it's more tempting. My idea so far has been to put the $500 difference on accessories, tools, clothing instead. Push comes to shove, I can always return it for a refund.

I agree about the seat post and derailleur guard - easy and cheap fixes.

Good eye for the Surface604 Rook! Almost twins, hey? :-)

SuperGoop
5 days ago

I would just say the battery design is an important consideration for "future-proofing". I know this Voltbike battery design is new and very popular, so it should be around for a long time. For example, Juiced Bikes uses the same battery type. This design has 2 types that are not interchangeble... a long and short version. Voltbike and Juiced Bikes uses the short version.

If you bought the Urban Ryder at Costco, I wonder if the battery can be easily replaced in the future. Keep in mind that Lithium batteries are difficult to ship, so shopping online or even from the U.S. may not be an option.

In terms of quality, price and customer service, I have nothing but good things to say about Voltbike. George (the owner) has been wonderful and quick to respond. As I said, I own the Yukon 750 with over 1,000 kms on it already.

From your list, the seat post and derailleur guard is an easy and inexpensive fix. I don't like twist throttle either, but I can live with it.

I prefer a non-integrated rack... in black. Like you said, something that is removeable with a spring clamp.

I know the above picture is a pre-release version, but I hope the final version will have more tasteful design on the paint. Right now, it looks really bare in plain white.

P.S. As a comparison, this Voltbike design is similar to the Surface604 Rook.

america94
7 days ago

Hi @america94 , since our new Voltbike model is coming pretty soon, it would be no secret to release it here.
It features the same in-frame design battery as Yukon which is 48v 10.4Ah, the same LCD screen, 500w motor 8Fun, adjustable stem, front suspension SR Suntour, fenders, rear rack, chain guard, disc brakes Tektro and front and rear light (not seen at the photo.) plus Kenda tires 26x2.1". Price would be in the $1600 CAD range or $1300 USD. It will be available in black and white.

I second that motion @SuperGoop ! I think you got yourself a winner here @Voltbike . Very nice integrated rack, it looks great. Anyone not into fat bikes and mucho $$ will love this.

From my online research so far, I would say one of the best offerings at that price point for canadians (taking into consideration the reputation of Voltbike as a company in general and the reliability of their bikes).

Can you let us know the peak current limit (in amps) of the controller? looks like a twist throttle? 7 speeds? thanks

Voltbike
1 week ago

Hi @america94 , since our new Voltbike model is coming pretty soon, it would be no secret to release it here.
It features the same in-frame design battery as Yukon which is 48v 10.4Ah, the same LCD screen, 500w motor 8Fun, adjustable stem, front suspension SR Suntour, fenders, rear rack, chain guard, disc brakes Tektro and front and rear light (not seen at the photo.) plus Kenda tires 26x2.1". Price would be in the $1600 CAD range or $1300 USD. It will be available in black and white.

SuperGoop
1 week ago

Does anyone find it difficult to remove the 26x4 Kenda Juggernaut? My Yukon 750 comes with a 30 TPI wired bead, and it is stiff. I attempted to rotate my tires because the rear was wearing faster than the front, but my standard plastic tire levers were not strong enough for the task, so I just left it alone for now.

On YouTube, it seemed so easy, but I think it is because those fat tires are 60 tpi, or 120 tpi and much softer.

america94
1 week ago

Hi @america94 , I will try to comment on the Urban Ryder bike, since it's in the Voltbike forum, otherwise I would not do it. From what i see at their website you pay significantly more for what you will get. (Plastic half size fenders, no rack, no rear light, old frame design which I see around for 4 years, unknown battery brand, lower quality tires compared to Kenda, not stainless steel or rust resistant chain which will rust easy after few water splashes). The only positive thing I would see in this transaction would be the 1 year return policy. If you plan to use it 1 year and return it, then it's well worth it.

I am not sure if you noticed our full suspension Voltbike Enduro which is using regular size tires Kenda 26x2.1"
You can check it here. It's our top of the line bike with second generation mid-drive Max Drive system by Bafang. The price however is on the higher end of our line of products mainly because of the very expensive mid drive motor from Bafang..

We are also planning to release another more budget friendly version step through frame which will use regular size 26x2.1" tires and rear hub 500w motor and integrated along the frame battery the same as on the Voltbike Yukon and and Voltbike Enduro.
This will come in mid April, 2017.
Hi @Voltbike. Thanks for the info. I agree with your analysis (although the Urban Ryder will be 500$ off soon at 1500$ which helps the comparison in their favor to a certain extent). The more I see fatbikes and all the attention they garner, the more I feel like sticking to a more stealthy looking bike! Any chance you can tease us with some pictures/idea of pricing for your new entry? I was planning to order the Urban Ryder March 28th. I would hate myself if the bike you offer in April is a better purchase!

america94
1 week ago

Hi @america94, we do stock both fat tires and inner tubes Kenda for both our Voltbike Yukon and Voltbike Mariner series. In fact we also offer either free helmet or free inner tube if you decide to purchase Voltbike Yukon or Voltbike Mariner.
I understand is hard to find in Canada, but I can assure you we have enough of those in-stock.
Here is the direct page of the Kenda Krusde 20x4" Tire.
http://www.voltbike.ca/replacement-parts/electric-bike-parts/kenda-krusade-sport-tire-20-x-4.html
thanks for the info. I wrote to @Voltbike a while ago to inquire about the tires but did not hear back. I don't believe they were showing on the website either at the time (although the tube was). I find that 75$ for a tire and 28$ for a tube quite expensive (before tax and shipping) compared to regular 26X2 wheels, but it is nice to know you have both in stock.

Bsbs
1 week ago

I too, have been trying to figure out how to remove the speed limit. This is just an great option to keep with traffic, if you're riding on the road.

I have a Mariner and believe the controller is similar to the Yukon 750. Here's a photo of the Mariner controller. I was able to decipher/trace majority of the wires, but none that seems to be able to disable the speed limit. Perhaps it is wired inside the Hub motor?

Any insights by other members???

As far as I can decipher:

Thick Red/Black: Power to the controller

Thick Y/G/Blue: Power to the Hub Motor
Attached R/Blk/W: Some sort of signal relayed from the Hub Motor (most likely the throttle)

Controller R/Blk to Exterior Blk/Blk-w: Power to attached bike lights (on/off controlled by an unknown signal (wire) going into the controller)

Controller Light Blue/R/Blk: Cadence sensor (the 12 magnets disc)

Now here comes the fun part:

Exterior R/B/Blk/G/Y: This is the cable strip that connects to the LCD Controller (R, Blk: is most likely power; rest is most likely transmission of data)

Controller R/Blk/Green-Yw to Exterior Grey/Purple: ???? Unknown (My guess is brake lever cut-off sensor)

Controller Dual Grey/Blk to Exterior White: Unknown. I trial and error this wire hoping is the speed limit but unfortunately is not. If unplugged, then brake lever motor cut-off would not function. If plugged to the Single Grey/Blk connector, appears to make no difference - both brake lever motor cut-off still works.

Controller Single Grey/Blk: Unplugged. Unknown

Controller Grey/Red *male: Unplugged. Unknown - some how the plug appears reversed, controller plugs mostly female.......so my deduction is this is some sort of power feeding to bike accessories just like the bike lights plugs????

Exterior Brown *female: Unplugged. Unknown. Based on the manual simplified wiring diagram, the bike lights is labeled "Brown". So my deduction is this wire is to control brake light if the bike is equipped???

The Blk wire loop: This loops one ground to another. Probably has nothing to do with speed.

1/2
SuperGoop
4 days ago

We are also planning to release another more budget friendly version step through frame which will use regular size 26x2.1" tires and rear hub 500w motor and integrated along the frame battery the same as on the Voltbike Yukon and and Voltbike Enduro.
This will come in mid April, 2017.I look forward to this, but hope the step-through design is not too "nerdy".

I just really want a "normal" looking bike... regular tire size, non-foldable, stealthy geared hub motor, 48v, and lighter weight that is readily available to Canadians, and not too expensive. Even without suspension is fine too.

The Enduro is nice, but the geometry just doesn't look right to me. It looks a bit stretched. If you look at the chain, it looks really long. I can't find the wheelbase specs in millimeters, but it seems a bit too long. Maybe it is the full suspension. Maybe if it was a hardtail, it may look better, lighter weight, and less expensive too! Also, I am not a big fan of white strip on the tires (or is it shiny metal from the wheel?), but others may like it.

Some example of what geometry I like is the Juiced Cross Current or the Magnum Peak, but I don't need the high end components like hydraulic brakes, air shocks, etc. if that can keep the price low.

I have the Yukon 750 with over 1,000 km of trouble-free distance, and I absolutely love it. The fat tires is a love-hate relationship. I love it, but it draws too much attention, lol. Everyone is complimenting on my Yukon 750, but I just want to quietly ride the trails unnoticed.

I prefer a 48v powerful geared hub motor. I think it is less expensive, simpler and much more stealthy (compared to mid-drives).

P.S. I also don't like regenerative hub motors (like on the RadCity) because it is heavier with larger magnets, and drags on the wheel and doesn't free wheel like a normal bike. Regen is overrated, IMO. The efficiency is just too low to be effective. I'd rather coast freely than having the added drag.

Voltbike
2 weeks ago

Hi @america94 , I will try to comment on the Urban Ryder bike, since it's in the Voltbike forum, otherwise I would not do it. From what i see at their website you pay significantly more for what you will get. (Plastic half size fenders, no rack, no rear light, old frame design which I see around for 4 years, unknown battery brand, lower quality tires compared to Kenda, not stainless steel or rust resistant chain which will rust easy after few water splashes). The only positive thing I would see in this transaction would be the 1 year return policy. If you plan to use it 1 year and return it, then it's well worth it.

I am not sure if you noticed our full suspension Voltbike Enduro which is using regular size tires Kenda 26x2.1"
You can check it here. It's our top of the line bike with second generation mid-drive Max Drive system by Bafang. The price however is on the higher end of our line of products mainly because of the very expensive mid drive motor from Bafang..

We are also planning to release another more budget friendly version step through frame which will use regular size 26x2.1" tires and rear hub 500w motor and integrated along the frame battery the same as on the Voltbike Yukon and and Voltbike Enduro.
This will come in mid April, 2017.

Voltbike
2 weeks ago

Hi @america94, we do stock both fat tires and inner tubes Kenda for both our Voltbike Yukon and Voltbike Mariner series. In fact we also offer either free helmet or free inner tube if you decide to purchase Voltbike Yukon or Voltbike Mariner.
I understand is hard to find in Canada, but I can assure you we have enough of those in-stock.
Here is the direct page of the Kenda Krusde 20x4" Tire.
http://www.voltbike.ca/replacement-parts/electric-bike-parts/kenda-krusade-sport-tire-20-x-4.html

SuperGoop
2 weeks ago

I just really love my Voltbike Yukon 750, and try to understand it as much as possible, but I have no skill in electronics, hacks, mods, etc.

I would just say that going faster than 32km/h will not be very useful very long. The pedal cadence will not be able to keep up comfortably for long. I would be spinning my legs without helping the motor very much. Therefore, the motor will be doing all the work, and at that 32km/h throttle only, the battery will only last less than 1 hour, not to mention the strain on the motor, battery and controller.

Wind resistance will make high speed riding very inefficient, especially on a fat bike. I would much rather go a bit slower at around 22-25 km/h and double my battery range. In reality, I usually ride at around 20-22 km/h for a good balance between speed and range.

On really long rides (70+ km round trip), I go even slower at around 16-20 km/h and try to "hyper-mile" as much as possible. "Hypermiling" is a technique used to in the automobile world to maximize mileage by minimizing braking and wind resistance.

For example, I pedal just enough to get me to the peak of a hill, but never more because I know the decent will carry me the rest of the way, and I don't want to use my brakes on the decent, and therefore wasting precious energy.

P.S. Having said that, having the "ability" to get more wattage, or go faster than 32km/h is still useful for short bursts of fun, for emergency, or as needed.

SuperGoop
1 week ago

I just noticed that Voltbike.ca updated the description of the Yukon 750 to say that it is a 750W motor, but for Canadians, it is "limited" to 500W to comply with Canadian regulations.

Looks like Voltbike updated the description again. It now reads "(For Canadian consumers top speed limited to 32km/h... )". They no longer mention the 500W limit:

america94
2 weeks ago

I am in Canada too. Have you checked out www.mec.ca? They have some really good prices. This is the one I use (only CAD$269 at the time) for my Voltbike Yukon 750 Fatbike. Come with an Universal (1¼" and 2") hitch receiver:

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/best-ebike-rack-bikestand-all-in-one-fat-ebikes-with-fenders-welcomed.10190/
Thanks SuperGoop. I did check them out indeed. Your rack is amazing, but it's for class II and up hitches (i have a class I). Plus I read somewhere earlier that with an adapter to go from 2" to 1 1/4" (or vice versa) you lose 50% of max tongue weight. But looking at mec.ca, I see a tower rack almost identical to mine and those racks always have a max weight total, never a "per bike" or per slot max weight. I think these tubular racks seem sturdier because they don't have the much thinner arms to put the bikes on (?)... just an impression not backed by any scientific knowledge though! (ex. https://www.mec.ca/en/product/4003-247/3-Bike-Non-Folding-Ball-Mount-Rack rated at max 48kg or 105 pounds). Looks like that actual rack could easily handle a single ebike...

Ravi Kempaiah
2 weeks ago

Ravi, I am getting very close to ordering a Rad Mini but then I see all this new stuff coming out. I like that the Mini folds , fat tires and low stand over height. I would love to have the motor and electronics of the new Hype on a Mini !!! Any thoughts on that idea or is it not even probable ?? I already have a Giant Yukon with a BBSHD . A little more power and speed than this 64 year old needs. Thanks for any thoughts you might have on the Mini. Tom G.

Hi Tom,

I think Tora is working on some very interesting projects but right now but a folding fat bike may low on his list of priorities.
The industry is evolving everyday and if you're looking for a folding FAT bike with torque sensing and hydraulic brakes, here is a good one. @Hangzhou BTN ebike have come up with this product.
But I would love to see a Fat bike with the HYP-E motor.

1/1
sexton Tom
2 weeks ago

It's difficult for a small company to produce multiple frame sizes until the economies of scale works in their favor.
The cross current has multiple frame sizes and styles and it might take a while for this bike to be produced in multiple sizes too. It's the same problem with RadPower Bikes.

Ravi, I am getting very close to ordering a Rad Mini but then I see all this new stuff coming out. I like that the Mini folds , fat tires and low stand over height. I would love to have the motor and electronics of the new Hype on a Mini !!! Any thoughts on that idea or is it not even probable ?? I already have a Giant Yukon with a BBSHD . A little more power and speed than this 64 year old needs. Thanks for any thoughts you might have on the Mini. Tom G.

SuperGoop
2 weeks ago

To make matters worse, I am in Canada! so as always, we have a lot less selection than the US, and pretty much nothing under an insane price.

thanks in advance for your help!I am in Canada too. Have you checked out www.mec.ca? They have some really good prices. This is the one I use (only CAD$269 at the time) for my Voltbike Yukon 750 Fatbike. Come with an Universal (1¼" and 2") hitch receiver:

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/best-ebike-rack-bikestand-all-in-one-fat-ebikes-with-fenders-welcomed.10190/

SuperGoop
3 weeks ago

Have you considered this instead: http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-urban/voltbike-urban-black.html

This is an updated version, but Court has reviewed the previous model. It includes a rack, full fenders, suspension fork, bigger 350W motor, 20 mph, 45 lbs, and a bigger 36v 10Ah battery... for US$1,049 + $69 shipping. I bought the Yukon 750 from Voltbike.ca last year, and they seem to be a good company.

Drónos Vili
5 days ago

This or the radrover? I really want to decide wich one i should get? No power only mode on the voltbike?

jason mcclure
3 weeks ago

i read on the website its 70 bucks to ship to your business 30 extra bucks to ship to your house

iddddaduncan
1 month ago

What are theses bikes like out west for mountain trails? I live in Idaho and would love to take this into the backcountry.

Clark Kormier
2 months ago

This is the one...In the fat tire ebike category I couldn't find a better value anywhere for the features offered and price point. Now I ride it 6 days out of 7 lol. Shipping was cheap and easy.

1rcproductions
5 days ago

Clark Kormier How is it on pavement? Trying to decide between fat or mountain style of ebike. Thanks.

40footgiantowl
3 months ago

i recently bought a electric fat bike and was wondering what the usb port on the battery was for?

VoltBike
2 months ago

Voltbike Yukon 750 comes with built-in USB port. You can use this port to charge external devices like cell phone, camera or similar.

John Grijalva
3 months ago

this bike or the radrover?

VoltBike
2 months ago

We get this question quite a few times over the phone. Voltbike Yukon 750 is our latest fat bike upgraded over the years. Compared to RadRover it comes with integrated battery partially built into the frame. This design provides better weight balance compared to one battery chunk on the frame. This battery design also secures the battery batter for rainy days or snow weather. Our controller is also nicely hidden inside the frame, so from the side the bike looks pretty sleek and close to regular non electric bike. On top of that we currently ship our 2017 edition which comes with water bottle holder mounted on the seat post tube, upgraded water proof brake levers and longer handlebar for better handling. For the 2017 edition we also increased the size of the pedals thanks to customers feedback from last year. The bike is better than ever. And hey, on top of that you get this nice motorcycle grade helmet, which everybody loves it. :)

Clark Kormier
3 months ago

This bike was a better choice for me. More upgraded options, nicer frame design with the battery built into the down tube, and less shipping cost really sealed the deal. The Yukon 750 is a beast and I love mine on the street or the beach. Right out of the box it was tuned and ready to go.

jose ignacio alvarez
3 months ago

que precio valen esa bici ?? pueden enviar en ESPAÑA

Seani Vostro
3 months ago

I just bought Yukon 750 limited three days ago. Picked it up in their warehouse. Bike is powerful considering i am 6.1 and 230 Lb having lots of fun!

VoltBike
2 months ago

Hi Seani, it was nice meeting you in our warehouse. Glad you are enjoying your Yukon 750.

Clark Kormier
3 months ago

Me too, I got mine 2 weeks ago and it is so much fun I have to ride it every day.

Jesus Jimenez
3 months ago

Court do you know, How I can change the max speed on my Yukon 750? I just got my bike today but it didn't come with a owners manual.

Clark Kormier
3 months ago

I just got my new Yukon 750. I love it, this thing is a beast. It is a large bike but fits my 5'11" frame great. Comes completely assembled except for mounting the handlebars and the pedals, quick and easy. The battery housing is solid on mine and doesn't rattle at all. The mechanical disc brakes work well for basic rides and moderate trails, but for a lot of downhill riding an upgrade is in order. Right out of the box it was tuned and ready to go. For an extra $100 I opted for the upgraded version, and I really like the aluminum flat black fenders, rear rack, and integrated tail light. For the coin this is an amazing, eye-catching package. Peddle assist on the lowest setting had me flying around the local park.

Darryl BEAN
5 months ago

?? isn't the RadRover and the Volt Yukon both rated at 750 w motors?? Same output? Thanks

snowbird29803
6 months ago

I've been following your videos for a while and seriously contemplating a purchase of an electric bike for nearby errands and light shopping. I like this Voltbike for the perceived (by me a novice) value. I am a senior man at 200Lbs. and not a bike guy. So, what makes this bike worth almost a Grand more than the Sondors, shipping notwithstanding? And do YOU as an expert think this is a good bike for the price...or can you recommend any other fat tire electric for me in this price class that is actually available now and would be better for an old guy.

VoltBike
5 months ago

Hi snowbird29803, Yukon 750 is completely different battery setup. The battery and frame on Voltbike Yukon 750 are newer design. The battery is partially integrated into the frame which provides better weight distribution. The motor is also more powerful. Yukon is using brand name Tektro disc brakes and the battery is Sanyo (by Panasonic). Hope this helps.

koolstup
6 months ago

That long stem with the bars forward look very uncomfortable. You could rotate the bars towards you, this would give a shorter reach. I had to do this with my own bike (non electric)

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Yeah, it's good if you're someone with long arms but I'd probably get a shorter stem or riser bars to make it fit me better :)

Boulderdaceous
6 months ago

BUMMER ... I ordered and pretty much got ZERO response from the VoltBike people, so I had to cancel (bummer). VOLTBIKE PEOPLE HAVE REFUSED ANSWERING MY EMAILS, MY PHONE CALLS AND MY TEXTS ! ... Sad that such a good bike is sold by such a poor company

Jessy Cliche
4 months ago

I've just contacted them (email) today for technical info and got an answer about 3-4 hours later. Seems to me as quite a nice company actually! Pretty weird that they won't answer you..?

Boulderdaceous
6 months ago

I'm sure the Volts folks are super and that I'm the only one who ever had a bad experience with them. Having been in the industry for over four decades, I would request that they post All shipping charges (both commercial and residential), it keeps everyone in the know. Also, having been there, companies should Always be alert and respond to emails, phone calls and texts from customers. You're running a business after all.

FYI - currently riding a Phantom XR V5 and loving it ! Great Bike :-)

MrSuperGoop
6 months ago

I had great experiences with Voltbike.  I emailed them twice and asked a web question, and all 3 inquiries got answered (in a few days).  I called them by phone on 2 separate occasions, and someone answered each time, and I spoke with someone immediately. This was around Sept/Oct 2016.  They do get very business when a new shipment arrive, so maybe you just caught them at a busy time.  The second time I called, I think I could hear busy warehouse noises in the background.The 1st phone call was over 10 minutes because I had so much questions to ask about the new Yukon 750 and whether I should buy now or wait because they are also releasing a mid-drive model soon.  He was very patient and open with information, and I appreciated that.

Franky Alvarez
6 months ago

That's weird. When my brother got his, they were great

Teffy Teflon
6 months ago

l have the older Yukon and really happy with it for the price point. I have to agree with you on the long stem. I changed mine out for a shorter one with more angle rise. I do a long commute and changing it has made my back a lot less sore. l also changed to a wider bar which makes steering way smoother. l think the wider bar would help with not loosing steering control in the sand you mentioned in the video. The wider bar also allowed me to put on full size grips which are so much better than the original ones. the original ones wore out in a couple weeks.

l kinda wish l waited for the 750 but that being said make sure you know you local E-bike laws. Where l am from a 500 watt motor is the legal max.

Karl Fonner
6 months ago

Would it be good for climbing and descending?

yazid shuqair
6 months ago

how much???

the world over
6 months ago

nice holiday
back to work !
thanks

Kaanoski95
6 months ago

Can you please do a review of the new Electric Vintage Scrambler ?

Freelee
6 months ago

Great work dude.
I see Yamaha have increased the max cadence from 86 up to 120 for 2017.