VoltBike Yukon 750 Review

Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Yukon 750
Voltbike Yukon 750 Bafang 8fun Fat Bike Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Removable Inset 48 Volt Battery
Voltbike Yukon 750 Lcd Display Trigger Throttle
Voltbike Yukon 750 Cranks 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Fat Bike Suspension
Voltbike Yukon 750 Adjustable Kickstand 160 Mm Disc Brakes
Voltbike Yukon 750 Shimano Tourney 7 Speed Derailleur
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Yukon 750
Voltbike Yukon 750 Bafang 8fun Fat Bike Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Removable Inset 48 Volt Battery
Voltbike Yukon 750 Lcd Display Trigger Throttle
Voltbike Yukon 750 Cranks 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Fat Bike Suspension
Voltbike Yukon 750 Adjustable Kickstand 160 Mm Disc Brakes
Voltbike Yukon 750 Shimano Tourney 7 Speed Derailleur

Summary

  • An affordable but surprisingly powerful and quiet electric fat bike, sells online only and ships from Canada with a flat rate $70 fee, comes with a comprehensive 1 year warranty
  • Upgraded Kenda Juggernaut tires that feel good on pavement, dirt, sand and snow, removable battery is convenient to charge and has a USB port on the side mostly out of the way for portable electronics
  • More active saddle and bar setup, the reach was a bit longer which might suit taller riders, integrated headlight is convenient on cloudy days for winter riding or at night, trigger throttle design doesn't compromise grip
  • Only available in one color scheme and one frame size, basic Shimano Tourney 7 speed drivetrain, average mechanical disc brakes, the battery rattled a bit on my unit, suspension is fork is entry level

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

VoltBike

Model:

Yukon 750

Price:

$1,499 ($70 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62 lbs (28.12 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs (3.26 kg)

Motor Weight:

14 lbs (6.35 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

72" Length, 29.5" Stand Over Height, 24" Reach

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Black

Frame Fork Details:

Basic Top Gun Suspension with 90 mm Travel, 135 mm Dropout Width, 11 mm Axle

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, MF-TZ21, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shiman SIS Index Shifter on Right

Cranks:

42T Chainring with Aluminum Bash Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo M248DU Alloy Cage Style Platform

Headset:

VP-A41ACK

Stem:

Promax DA-3210 ~8° Rise

Handlebar:

Promax Low-Rise, 25" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Artek Vigorous Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Flat Rubber, Black

Saddle:

Selle Royal Freccia

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

320 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Samson Double Walled Alloy, Punched Out

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Juggernaut, 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

31TPI, Wire Bead, 5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Integrated LED Headlight, Rust Resistant Z Chain, Floating Ball Compass, Flick Bell, Optional Fenders and Rack $100

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, USB Charging Port on Right Side of Battery

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Sanyo

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

499.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

APT Development, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Assist Level (1-9), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

VoltBike is a leader in low cost electric bikes, I visited their headquarters near Vancouver Canada in 2015 and learned more about their online sales business… shipping to Canada and the US for a flat $70. If you don’t live near a bike shop but want an efficient city ebike or something a little more wild like the Yukon here, they can be a great option. My experience testing their products has been mostly good with only the occasional minor damage in shipping (the kickstand arrived broken on one of their folding mini fat bikes recently). All things considered, with their one year warranty and wide selection of styles I’ve been pretty impressed. Of course, there are always trade-offs when you try to hit lower price points and I encountered a few with the updated Yukon 750. Their prior Yukon model was built around a slightly weaker and louder 500 watt geared hub motor and had an exposed controller box and top mounted battery. It’s easy to appreciate how much nicer the 750 looks as well as how the frame balance has been improved. The top tube here is sloped down to make standing over the frame more comfortable and a suspension fork has been added to improve comfort… all for just $350 more!

But as I said, there are some trade off’s with the value approach and some that I noticed were the more basic seven speed Shimano Tourney drivetrain. It does the job but might go out of tune easier, adds some weight and just has a limited selection. There’s no slap guard on the right chainstay but that’s not a huge deal considering the frame is Aluminum and won’t rust there if it gets knicked. The suspension fork is comfortable but very basic with no adjustments or lockout and it’s probably heavier than something like a RockShox Bluto air fork. By the way, don’t rush out and buy that fork for this ebike because I believe it’s designed for a tapered head tube and I think the Yukon 750 is straight. The battery rattled a bit during my ride and I tried to demonstrate this in the video review but it never cut out and the model I tested was an early build so perhaps that will be resolved? That’s about it… these are all minor gripes and yes, I wish it had a bottle cage mounting point on the seat tube but there are accessories to work around that.

Getting back to what works on this bike… the motor is powerful, it offers enough zip to start and maintain in deep soft sand and this really surprised me! You get a nice large LCD display panel that’s backlit and an integrated headlight that doesn’t require separate batteries! A rechargeable backlight could be added inexpensively later if you do a lot of early morning or evening riding. The battery can be charged on or off the frame and helps to reduce the weight of the bike when lifting for transport or service but I wish the front wheel offered quick release to further reduce weight. It’s not a huge deal to unscrew though and I love the adjustable length kickstand that’s far back and out of the way for pedaling so if you back up and the cranks turn they don’t collide :)

The tires on this bike were a big upgrade from before and since they take a lot of abuse if you ride off-road and could potentially make a lot of noise if you stay on road I feel like the tread pattern they chose was thoughtfully chosen. It offers good durability and is a good all-around design. The only other big consideration with this particular bike is that the stem is kind of long, the bars are low-rise and the saddle is active. That means you tend to lean forward more when riding and can feel the bumps in your arms, shoulders and bottom. The saddle itself is a nice one, just not super soft. Consider adding a 27.2 mm Thudbuster to improve comfort along with lowering tire PSI (especially for riding on soft surfaces like sand… we used ~7 PSI). I guess one final area is worth scrutinizing here and that’s the brakes which are average sized with 160 mm rotors. They’re mechanical which require more wrist strength to actuate and again, smaller rotors means less mechanical advantage and the bike is on the heavier side at ~62 lbs. When you’re slashing prices you have to make trade offs and I feel like VoltBike made them pretty well. This is the kind of bike that could get rusty and beat up if used in salty sand or salty snow environments. When you spend a ton of money on a really nice bike sometimes it’s not as fun to actually take it out, knowing that it is going to be damaged. With a cheaper bike like this you still get good power and can have a lot of fun and again, I feel like it looks really nice and has really been improved since the original 500 watt model.

This review was shot with the help and financial support of Cabo Adventures in Cabo San Lucas Mexico! If you’d like to go for an electric fat bike ride on the beach like we did for these photos and video you can visit their website at www.cabo-adventures.com to learn more. I found their commitment to environmental sustainability to be inspiring, they offer lots of activities outside of ebikes, the food was good and their employees were wonderful. Cabo itself is one of the safest parts of Mexico, the airport is nice, roads are good and lots of celebrities visit because it’s only a 2.5 hour flight from Los Angeles. I shot a fun vlog about the visit where you can see some of the behind the scenes action here. My thanks again to the organization for being open to a creative review like this where we could truly test the bikes in a rigorous and majestic environment :D Big thanks to VoltBike for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • The motor is fairly quiet but feels zippy and had no problem with the soft sand or hills we tested it on, when the air pressure was lowered in the tires to ~7 PSI the bike worked great, the 8Fun motor seemed to be fat-bike specific and extra wide to support the spoke pattern of the wheels, it looked nice
  • The battery can be charged on or off the bike, has an integrated USB charging port (though it’s a bit exposed on the right side) and you only need to push one button to get the bike powered on, not two! Also, keys don’t have to be left in when riding
  • Pedal assist relies on a 12 magnet sensor, that’s the highest number I see on other bikes and it leads to faster on/off activation, I also love that the brake levers override all power modes and cut the motor when pulled
  • It’s neat that you can override assist at any time with the trigger throttle with full power output! Note however that assist is always active, there is not throttle-only mode on the bike
  • I love that this bike offers nine levels of pedal assist because the increments are finder and differences are more subtle… you can find the perfect level for your terrain, range and ride style
  • I love that VoltBike sells a matching fender and rack set for just $100, it can be difficult to find the correct size of accessories when dealing with unique frames like those of fat tire bicycles
  • Thumb throttles work great for off-road riding because they don’t compromise your grip on the handle bar, I hear some people say that they are also easier to actuate and can be adjusted up or down to sit wherever your thumb feels most comfortable
  • The punched out rims are cool looking, reduce weight and might offer a little bit more comfort and cushion than solid ones, the red liners show through and match the paint accents on the frame
  • I like that the battery is seated into the downtube and doesn’t stick up very far, it leaves a bit more room for hanging the bike on some racks, lifting it and possibly adding a tight fitting bottle cage adapter to the seat tube like this
  • I appreciate having a kickstand and love that this one is adjustable and mounted far enough back on the left chainstay that it doesn’t collide with the crank and pedal if you are backing up (the crank automatically turns)
  • The Kenda Juggernaut pro tires are high quality… light but durable and with a good off-road tread pattern that’s still fairly dense for use on hard surfaces
  • Quality battery cells from Sanyo, a generous one year comprehensive warranty and flat rate shipping to the US and Canada for just $70 (cheaper than almost all other bikes I see being sold online)
  • I like that the top tube slopes down, lowering stand over height to accommodate people with shorter inseams, I feel like it could slant more but VoltBike also has the Mariner folding fat bike for people who really need a lower stand over or just don’t like the big frames

Cons:

  • The display panel is compact, swivels to reduce glare and offers a lot of information but isn’t removable… this means it could take more damage if left outside, I do like that it’s backlit and that the headlight is powered off the main battery pack however
  • The button pad is easy to reach and fairly intuitive so you can arrow up or down when riding for more or less pedal assist power but the plastic cover is more delicate than inset buttons, ours got bent during tests when the bike crashed
  • This isn’t necessarily a bad thing but the saddle felt firm and the stem and bars were positioned further forward and lower down to accommodate active riding or larger longer-armed riders, you could always swap the stem out, replace the seat and get different bars like cruiser style if you prefer, I like that the bike has suspension but it’s not adjustable or lockable… just basic
  • Maybe it was just the unit I was testing but the battery rattled a little bit, I was surprised because it seems very securely mounted, maybe the fit is just a little loose?
  • The pedals are decent but I prefer wider, grippier ones like these Wellgo’s especially if you’re riding in snow… I do like the oversized thumb shifter however which works great with gloves on
  • The brakes are kind of average being mechanical vs. hydraulic and since the rotors are smaller at 160 mm vs. 180 mm they heat up a bit more and require more hand strength to stop
  • I wish the chainring had a plate on both sides, not just the outside, because sometimes when riding at higher speeds using the throttle bounding around off-road the chain can come off, I’d also appreciate a slap guard on the right chain stay
  • The floating compass is unique but a little gimmicky, I definitely appreciate the bell, would be nice if the grips were locking but considering their basic flat design it’s not a huge deal if they spin
  • Considering how large and heavy the bike is I love that you can take the battery pack off to reduce weight but I wish the front wheel had quick release, just to make it easier to fit into cars and other tight spaces vs. loosening and twisting the handlebars

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More VoltBike Reviews

VoltBike Mariner Review

  • MSRP: $1,249
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A miniaturized fat tire electric bike that's sand and snow capable, you get fenders, a rack and integrated lights for utility and safety no matter the terrain. Mid-mount battery design keeps weight low and centered, it's removable for reduced weight (when folding…...

VoltBike Urban Review

  • MSRP: $1,049
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An ultra-affordable folding electric bike sold online from Canada, offers a full range of accessories including lights, fenders and a rear carry rack. Available in black or white but only one size, you get six gears with a…...

VoltBike Yukon Review

  • MSRP: $1,159
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value priced electric fat bike with a six speed drivetrain, integrated headlight and optional fender + rack kit. Available in two flavors (350 watt motor or more powerful 500 watt motor), sold online…...

VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A very affordable city style electric bike with lots of useful accessories including integrated lights, fenders and rack. Only available in one frame size ~19" but the adjustable stem and seat hight help…...

VoltBike Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value oriented electric bike available in one size (19"), one frame style (step-thru) and one color (black). Comes standard with lots of useful accessories including full length plastic fenders, a rear carry…...


William
7 months ago

Great review once again Court! Good to see you had fun riding the Yukon at the beach over variable soft/hard sand and rock. Look forward to your review on the other VoltBike Mariner and how it compares with the similar Trail Viper 350W, and if it feels stable in terms of loose parts/components when going over bumps, since you mentioned the battery on the Yukon rattled, so I suspect things to be worse on folding bikes. Also, please comment whether you feel the power and speed difference between the Yukon 750 vs Mariner 500 vs Trail Viper 350, when doing 0 to 20mph. I believe shipping to US is $69 and Canada is $49, last I checked when looking to shop for an eBike on VoltBike website, so you may want to double check that.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Ann M.
2 days ago

Funny how important those 'silly little screws' are @Yukon 500. :D Good thing you're a quick study. Glad your overall experience with the Yukon has been good. AirZound horns are 115 db & Hornits are 140 db; you will be heard.

Yukon 500
2 days ago

Thanks, Ann for setting this up.

i have had my Yukon 500 since last November and already put roughly 1,000KM on it. Overall, very happy with it but i would like to share my experience.

i am in Toronto Canada and i mostly used it for commute (25KM one way mostly on bike trail with pretty flat terrain). Yukon 500 is perfect for this purpose and i have not had any major issues/repairs yet. below are just what i want to share with you out there.

don't be over-confident in tire traction. I fell three times in winter with very little ice/snow on surface. Luckily no injury nor damage to bike. But do be very careful even in rains especially on newly paved surface, wooden or metal bridges. In early spring, you should be mindful that even most places are clear of ice, there could be left-over on trail and sometimes it looks perfectly ok when you survey some stretches during the day, but rain could turn into ice overnight and pose challenges
get a big horn because this thing can easily go over 35Km and you would want people to hear you when you are zooming along, especially now there are a lot of people wearing headphones and think they own the trail
four minor issues i had with the bike:

the left crank arm got loose around 300KM and i tightened it up myself. but it got loose again a few days later. I took it to a bike shop and the guy helping me used a long wrench to tighten it up and after that no issue. I guess I did not put enough torque when i did it first time.
being new to bike, i did a silly thing when i had my monthly check. I noticed a few screws were loose and tightened up. did not know those are limit screws on rear derailleur. after that i realized that i cannot upshift to the highest gear and this went on for a few days until i googled and found out. did an adjustment and it worked like magic. now every gear works perfectly
the small cable leading up to the front LED light got loose a few times and it is not easy to put it back on properly. I thought it will not work but i did manage to put it back on. After that, i marked the two wires with colors so i know which side each needs to go if it does fall again
the disc brakes are rubbing since day one (cannot tell it is front or rear, maybe both), but this is a known issue for disc brake and it is not bothering me. but i do intend to have it checked when i do a tune-up next time in a shop

Noodlez
4 days ago

I haven't got a RadRover yet. Been looking into what I want and what I can afford. I'd like to see the Rover get a Limited edition like the Voltbike Yukon 750 Limited. IE include the fenders and rack as a bundle package with a bit of a discount.

SuperGoop
4 days ago

I am not a big fan of the rear rack welded permanently to the seat stay. The welds also look "gunky" and excessive. I'd much prefer a clean bolt-on rack (with standard mounting screws) that can be removed or replaced. The rack from the Yukon 750 is nice. I especially like the spring-clamp, which is very functional for me.

Also, I prefer a black rack. The white-on-white doesn't appeal to me, IMO.

ace20ri
4 days ago

Nice work @SuperGoop as usual! Great info on the add-ons. I definitely would like to add the ability to record my rides.

Since I haven't posted in a while here is an update to my current sense resistor swap. It was successful but had some temporary set backs. Here are some pics of the swap...sorry I was caught up in the moment and did not take a lot of them. If the solder job looks a little crappy it is because the pcba has conformal coating which sucks to remove.

Existing current sense resistor:

Current sense resistor removed:

New current sense resistor (Vishay 3W 0.005Ohm):

I improved the solder job after I took these pics (promise!). I also added more solder around the FET pads and the FET rail (right side of the picture above). The Vishay 3W current sense resistor improved the rated current to 24.5A so no more worrying about pushing the controller to hard (besides worrying about the FETS and capacitors but they seem to be pretty robust based on my research). Now I did run into an issue taking the bike out after this update. The motor would cut out every time I tried to accelerate from rest. The power reading would ramp to 500-600W and then cut out and start from 0. After it restarted then it would accelerate no problem. I was worried that resistance change caused to much ripple current and caused the motor to trip due to under voltage. BUT after unplugging the battery and fully charging it and reconnecting it seemed to have corrected itself. Not really sure how that is the case (I'm asking my electrical engineer coworkers to explain). I have been able to accelerate from rest without any cut outs and it's great. I can feel the difference on some of the hills I climb during my commute. I really want to take it to Half Moon Bay beach to really test it out.

One thing I did notice when I accessed the current parameter in the LCD display is that I can increase the current to 30A now. I was pretty sure that 20A was the previous limit. I'm not sure if it our controller is smart enough to know that it received an upgrade but somehow it does. @SuperGoop can you confirm that your bike max current setting is 20A? Or can you increase it to 30A (obviously don't leave it at 30A)?

Either way yay for me! All that I am missing is the ability to tweak the controller programming from the back end...need George's help with that! Since I live in Silicon Valley, I would really like to take advantage of every possible avenue to increase my speed for commuting.

I am looking into the magnetics side of our motor to see if we are truly limited by the windings of the coils or if Voltbike is limiting us due to country/state laws. I do feel that since we purchased the bikes we should have the ability to change the bike to how we see fit easily.

Lastly, here are some pics of my Classic 2.0 Garment pannier for commuting (https://www.twowheelgear.com/products/commuter-garment-pannier):

I have changed the bike a lot since these pics but they work for showing the pannier. Needless to say, I love my purchase and glad that I made it.

Okay, really lastly for this post if anyone is taking a trip to Cabo San Lucas, Mexico in the near future I highly recommend booking the Ebike outing with Cabo Adventures. They have a bunch of RadRovers (the Yukon is way better IMO) and take you for a 2 hour ride up and down the Pacific ocean coast. You then go to a remote pavilion to make real Mexican quesadillas and learn how to make Mexican margaritas! Ask for Hector the Protector! (I do not get anything for referals just wanted to share because my fiancé and I had a blast!).

1/5
america94
1 week ago

I was/am also considering the Maxxis for my Yukon 750, but because I have fenders, I think it will look out of place with a large gap from the smaller Maxxis. Maybe if I removed the fenders, but I really like my fenders.
I agree about your concern there... Width wise, I think it would look ok since your fenders are not too wide. There is a 2in diameter difference; maybe you could remove your front wheel and move it away 2in from the fender to have an idea what it would look like (?). Even submit a pic and get opinions about aesthetics if still unsure. Another option is to buy the Maxxis on Amazon, try the front wheel altogether and return them for free if you don't like the look (only problem with that option: I bought the last 2 out of 3 tires, so only 1 remains, and there is no mention of "more on the way").

UPDATE: now Amazon states they have 3 in stock, go figure.

SuperGoop
1 week ago

I was/am also considering the Maxxis for my Yukon 750, but because I have fenders, I think it will look out of place with a large gap from the smaller Maxxis. Maybe if I removed the fenders, but I really like my fenders.

america94
1 week ago

Hello,
I have a Voltbike Yukon 750 with the 26x4 inch tires. I had originally ordered a Lezyne HV mountain bike pump from my LBS. It was CAD $89.99 before taxes. The quality looked good online and there were some favourable reviews, but when the pump finally arrived at the shop, I told them I didn't want it since I had seen the portable electric pump on amazon.ca, and it was cheaper. I went to amazon.com and there were quite a few very positive reviews about this pump, so I ordered it. It may well be that using a mini floor type portable pump will inflate a large tire like the ones on the Yukon, but, I am soon to be 68, I'm overweight and out of shape and I know that for me it would not be fun pumping the tire up from zero psi. Also, this bike is so heavy and I carry so much in terms of weight (tools, water, lights and batteries, etc.) that for the few extra ounces that this battery operated pump would add to the overall gross vehicle weight, to me it will be well worth it if I ever flat out somewhere far from home. However, I won't know how good this pump is for me until it arrives and I give it a try.
Something else crossed my mind. I have a CAA membership, and they have been running some commercials on tv stating that their programs cover the member and not the vehicle. So, if my Yukon 750 broke down for some reason, I wonder if they would come out to pick me up????? I must give them a call to find out. If they do, it could be a real stress reliever if fixing a flat poses a problem for someone who has little or no experience do so.
Here's keeping my fingers crossed.
Regards
I totally agree with you. Now some countries have roadside assistance for bikes, but I highly doubt CAA covers bikes. They do cover the individual, not the vehicle indeed, but only service cars I am afraid. Would be nice if they serviced bikes as well!

PortPerryBob
1 week ago

I looked it up now that I had more time - looks promising! please keep us posted with your review. What size tire/pressure are you looking at?

Hello,
I have a Voltbike Yukon 750 with the 26x4 inch tires. I had originally ordered a Lezyne HV mountain bike pump from my LBS. It was CAD $89.99 before taxes. The quality looked good online and there were some favourable reviews, but when the pump finally arrived at the shop, I told them I didn't want it since I had seen the portable electric pump on amazon.ca, and it was cheaper. I went to amazon.com and there were quite a few very positive reviews about this pump, so I ordered it. It may well be that using a mini floor type portable pump will inflate a large tire like the ones on the Yukon, but, I am soon to be 68, I'm overweight and out of shape and I know that for me it would not be fun pumping the tire up from zero psi. Also, this bike is so heavy and I carry so much in terms of weight (tools, water, lights and batteries, etc.) that for the few extra ounces that this battery operated pump would add to the overall gross vehicle weight, to me it will be well worth it if I ever flat out somewhere far from home. However, I won't know how good this pump is for me until it arrives and I give it a try.
Something else crossed my mind. I have a CAA membership, and they have been running some commercials on tv stating that their programs cover the member and not the vehicle. So, if my Yukon 750 broke down for some reason, I wonder if they would come out to pick me up????? I must give them a call to find out. If they do, it could be a real stress reliever if fixing a flat poses a problem for someone who has little or no experience do so.
Here's keeping my fingers crossed.
Regards

SuperGoop
2 weeks ago

My Voltbike Yukon 750 has a 6 km/h walk mode which I initially thought was too fast. However, I now realize that the only time I really use this mode is when I have to push my bike up a very steep (un-rideable) hill.

Therefore, in a real-use situation, 6 km/h bogs down to around 4 km/h because of the steep hill, which is perfect.

SuperGoop
2 weeks ago

How do you deal with the vibration of the bike and bumps?The vibration is very acceptable to me. Perhaps because I have a front suspension fork and also fat tires on my Voltbike Yukon 750.

Alan Acock
2 weeks ago

Since I have the Voltbike Yukon 750, I posted in the "Voltbike" forum how I successfully use an automotive dashcam as a "bikecam" for only US$75 with GPS (real-time location & speed & 1440p resolution)! This can be useful to anyone, so I thought I'd post a link here:

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/new-voltbike-yukon-750-spotted.8120/page-8#post-102559

How do you deal with the vibration of the bike and bumps?

FoxtrotAviator
2 weeks ago

Yeah I think that is excellent how they integrated the battery into the frame like that.
When viewing side by side photos of both bikes (Voltbike 750 and Rad Rover), they appear very similar. But I just read something interesting.
But back to the Battery.
The Voltbike advertises a SANYO. And the Rover a Panasonic . Both 48V
This is obviously confusing at first, since Panasonic owns Sanyo. I wonder what exactly the differences are . I just read the FAQ and Specs of Both Bikes to see what type of life these batteries will have.
Below are quotes from the FAQ:

VOLTBIKE YUKON 750- 48 VOLT 10.4Ah- "The Life cycle of a Voltbike battery is up to 500 charges."

RAD ROVER- 48 VOLT 11.6Ah 30 amp continuous "Panasonic li-ion cells will provide approximately 800 charge cycles before a replacement is recommended ."

That is something to think about . I wouldn't say it's a deal breaker either way...But that is a significant difference.

We obviously drifted WAY OFF topic here .
It's a moot point anyway as I ordered a Rad Rover about 10 minutes ago.
So now I'm sure someone will post the $100 discount code!

FoxtrotAviator
2 weeks ago

You can remove the sticker. All ebikes are pretty much made in China. They maybe assembled in USA but all the factories are in China.

I think they are both decent and have the same or similar components overall like motor, brakes, derailer etc. They even look alot alike. I give the edge to 2017 updated Yukon limited. It costs a slight bit more than the RadRover but you get free helmet, free fenders and rack, shipping is only $70 in US and I like that the battery is partially integrated and not sticking out as much as the Rovers.
Yeah I think that is excellent how they integrated the battery into the frame like that.

jazz
2 weeks ago

I know they are Chinese made bikes.
So is the VOLTBIKE.
But the Rad bikes Electrical components are assembled onto the Bikes in USA.
And it's shipped free from the USA.
Don't need to import it.
And it's an American company.
Most of the profit goes to Americans.
For the money we pay for these bikes , they pretty much require dealing with China.
I think the main reason I want the RAD...The voltbike has a big sticker on the side "VOLTBIKE.CA"
I can't have that. LOL

You can remove the sticker. All ebikes are pretty much made in China. They maybe assembled in USA but all the factories are in China.

I think they are both decent and have the same or similar components overall like motor, brakes, derailer etc. They even look alot alike. I give the edge to 2017 updated Yukon limited. It costs a slight bit more than the RadRover but you get free helmet, free fenders and rack, shipping is only $70 in US and I like that the battery is partially integrated and not sticking out as much as the Rovers.

Barkme Wolf
2 weeks ago

Thanks everyone for the replies. So Far none are working. That Radlifeasus16 expired I guess . I even tried RADLIFEASUS17 Just to see if it was "year" specific.
The only code I have found that is currently working was "Jerryrigeverything " which is good for a $50 discount . Oh well ...Beats full price I guess.
I just KNOW 5 minutes after I place my order, someone will send me a valid $100 coupon.
I may even buy my wife the RADCITY bike . So maybe I'll just wait a few days to see if anyone on this forum knows of any more to try.
I also just saw a bike that looks to be a direct competitor In every way to the ROVER. That's the
"VOLTBIKE YUKON 750" I actually like their Battery arrangement . But it's made in Canada. And ultimately I think Rad Rover still has it beat.
Rad Power Bikes are made in China.

FoxtrotAviator
2 weeks ago

Thanks everyone for the replies. So Far none are working. That Radlifeasus16 expired I guess . I even tried RADLIFEASUS17 Just to see if it was "year" specific.
The only code I have found that is currently working was "Jerryrigeverything " which is good for a $50 discount . Oh well ...Beats full price I guess.
I just KNOW 5 minutes after I place my order, someone will send me a valid $100 coupon.
I may even buy my wife the RADCITY bike . So maybe I'll just wait a few days to see if anyone on this forum knows of any more to try.
I also just saw a bike that looks to be a direct competitor In every way to the ROVER. That's the
"VOLTBIKE YUKON 750" I actually like their Battery arrangement . But it's made in Canada. And ultimately I think Rad Rover still has it beat.

SuperGoop
2 weeks ago

The website on the white bike shows a 28" standover. That doubt that, because we know the diameter of a 26x4" fat tire is 29". From the picture, it is clear that the lowest point is much higher than the top of the tires. I'd estimate the standover on the white bike to be more like 31" (not 28").

Here is an easy method to determine true standover height on any bike. I don't rely on manufacturer's specs. They all measure it differently:

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/new-voltbike-yukon-750-spotted.8120/#post-65704

SuperGoop
2 weeks ago

@america94 From my experience, the battery indicator is not linear... more like this.

5 Bars: 100%
4 Bars: 60%
3 Bars: 30%
2 Bars: 10%
1 Bar: 0% (motor can still assist at very low power, and cut out intermittently).
0 Bar: completely dead, won't start at all

When by Yukon 750 was new, I would PAS for 50 kms and still have 3 bars left and extrapolated a 100+ km range. As it turned out, the next 10 km depleted another bar (down to 2), and the next 5 km depleted another bar (down to 1). Total range is around 65 km with PAS only (minimal throttle).

america94
2 weeks ago

Very nice looking bike. How is the 17 ah battery holding out for you? Fenders look great. The front may be not long enough for your muddy conditions. I have seen some that strap onto the downtube. Not sure if they look good though.

How is the front suspension? Yukon 750 is not soft enough... perhaps because I am not that heavy.
Thanks. I have been pondering about making/buying a downtube fender but they are not pretty indeed. But who cares about looks in trails and forest really. So I might just build one since people seem to like my fender results :)

Hard to say yet about the 17ah battery because a) can't compare to a 10ah since this is my first ebike and b) I never rode twice in the same conditions so far. Once mostly on flat and pedaling at 2-3 out of 6 PAS, I did 25km in one day (two outings) and I had 4 bars out of 5 on the battery. Yesterday, my son and I took turns and used it mostly on throttle for about 12 kms. Lots of strong face wind. 25% snow, trail, water, 75% pavement. As I was coming back home, the display showed 2 bars and was sometimes hitting 1 bar. When I parked it, it settled on 3 bars. Bare in mind that we used throttle between 25 and 40 km/hr and tires are inflated at about 7psi.

At lunch today, rode 10km, 50% throttle at 40km/hr, 50% PAS 6 to 9 (I changed PAS from 0-6 to 0-9 this week-end) Still showing full.

So based on my 25km outing on pavement not using too much pedal assist (which looks like what most people do), I could see hitting close to the projected range of 80km

SuperGoop
2 weeks ago

Very nice looking bike. How is the 17 ah battery holding out for you? Fenders look great. The front may be not long enough for your muddy conditions. I have seen some that strap onto the downtube. Not sure if they look good though.

How is the front suspension? Yukon 750 is not soft enough... perhaps because I am not that heavy.

SuperGoop
3 weeks ago

Wow, you are able to fit the fat bike in the trunk of you car?! Even with the front wheel removed, that must be no easy task, especially with the heavy weight. Do you do it by yourself or with help?

I know I won't be able to lift my Yukon 750 into a trunk without scratching the car & bike, even if it could fit.

SuperGoop
2 weeks ago

Since I have the Voltbike Yukon 750, I posted in the "Voltbike" forum how I successfully use an automotive dashcam as a "bikecam" for only US$75 with GPS (real-time location & speed & 1440p resolution)! This can be useful to anyone, so I thought I'd post a link here:

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/new-voltbike-yukon-750-spotted.8120/page-8#post-102559

SuperGoop
2 weeks ago

Below are updates to my Yukon 750 since my last revealing. I now have over 1,200 km:

I lowered the rack 1 notch. It is now at the lowest position. Quick-release saddle bag. Suntour NCX Suspension seatpost with optional soft spring rated <65 kg (<143 lbs).

Zip-tied blinking light to the rear fender. 5 LED very bright. Using 2 rechargeable Panasonic Eneloop AAA batteries.

Anker 5000 mAh USB powerbank for my VIOFO A119+GPS dashcam. Provides up to 8 hours of continuous dashcam recording on 1 charge! Connected to 90 degree angle adaptor for the USB cable running to the handlebar.

Upgraded Pedals - bigger and more secure 12-pin grip. Also, protective rubber crank boots. Protects crank arms from rock damage.

Floor pump with integrated pressure gauge. The USB cable for the dashcam runs neatly alongside the rear brake cable.

Three (3) Abus Bordo 5700 Folding Locks - redundant protection or daisy-chain for extra long option. 2 lbs each, mounted low for better weight distribution. I don't usually bring all 3 locks with me, unless I need to secure the bike for a long period.

Zip-tied water bottle holder (adjustable/rotatable/side-insertion).

Busy cockpit, but necessary. Voltbike's stock handlebar is short, only 680mm.

VIOFA A119 Dashcam. Records real-time GPS location, speed & sound. 128 GB SDcard holds 10 hours of looped recording. Dashcam supports "Image Flip" which is perfect for my mounting needs. Bonus feature is that the GPS keeps accurate time/date automatically.

Mounted on a cellphone holder after removing the arms. Fully adjustable ball-joint allows precise aim.

Also, Convoy S2+ true (verified) 1120 lumens flashlight, wide 73 degrees field angle, with 1 Panasonic 18650 3500 mAh Li-Ion battery (1 spare 18650 in the saddle bag). This flashlight is too bright. Off-road use only.

Sample Dashcam footage - with GPS and Speed info. Very sharp picture even bouncing at 33 km/h on a rough moving bike.

Up to 10 hours of continuous recording on 128 GB memory card, 8-hour battery life, with GPS location, speed & sound for US$75 (on sale)! A great alternative to GoPro. It is not waterproof but has a quick release for easy removal.

Anker 3350 mAh USB powerbank for iPhone. Extra-short iPhone cable. Mirrycle Mirror.

Bull horn bar ends - protect cockpit; allows different hand positions. Also allows bike to flip upside-down during repairs without needing to remove cockpit accessories. Does anyone know where to buy these brand new? These are from my old bike.

Zip-tied bright blink light to helmet. No need for those expensive integrated-light helmet.

Extra spoke reflectors from eBay.

Low profile bell. It is a Knog Bicycle Bell knockoff from eBay. Sounds just as good, I think. Only a few dollars each. Comes in different colours.

Drónos Vili
1 month ago

This or the radrover? I really want to decide wich one i should get? No power only mode on the voltbike?

Derrick Lee
4 weeks ago

Try Rad Power. I got zero response from Voltbike after I bought 2 from them with some quality issues.

jason mcclure
2 months ago

i read on the website its 70 bucks to ship to your business 30 extra bucks to ship to your house

iddddaduncan
2 months ago

What are theses bikes like out west for mountain trails? I live in Idaho and would love to take this into the backcountry.

Clark Kormier
3 months ago

This is the one...In the fat tire ebike category I couldn't find a better value anywhere for the features offered and price point. Now I ride it 6 days out of 7 lol. Shipping was cheap and easy.

1rcproductions
1 month ago

Clark Kormier How is it on pavement? Trying to decide between fat or mountain style of ebike. Thanks.

40footgiantowl
4 months ago

i recently bought a electric fat bike and was wondering what the usb port on the battery was for?

VoltBike
3 months ago

Voltbike Yukon 750 comes with built-in USB port. You can use this port to charge external devices like cell phone, camera or similar.

John Grijalva
4 months ago

this bike or the radrover?

VoltBike
4 weeks ago

Hi Derrick, apologize but I still can't find your inquiry in our email list but I will be more than happy to speak with your either by phone or email. When you call just mention this conversation and I will come on the phone. You can also email me at our support or let me know what is your real name so I can find your order. Waiting very much to hear any feedback or comments you may have. By the way Voltbike Urban is using rear motor. It's not on the front.

Clark Kormier
4 weeks ago

That is too bad, I had no problems with customer service, and the gang I know on our Voltbike Facebook page have had good experiences with them. I absolutely love my Yukon 750. I am still riding it straight out of the box 4 months later, and she runs great. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Derrick Lee
4 weeks ago

This is one of the names I use online. Just review the emails you ignored within the past 2 weeks, you'll know who I am.

VoltBike
4 weeks ago

Hi Derrick Lee, I see your comments on few other Voltbike Youtube videos. I will reply here as well. We don't have customer under the name of Derrick Lee. We searched also our email list from the past 2 years and I can't find any request under either your first or last name. We always respond to customer enquiry either before or after the sale. (Most of the time even after regular work hours.) In fact, customer after sale support has been always our number one priority. We realised this early in our business.

Nigel Sookram
4 weeks ago

Derrick Lee too bad man I'm really thinking of buying one

jose ignacio alvarez
4 months ago

que precio valen esa bici ?? pueden enviar en ESPAÑA

Seani Vostro
5 months ago

I just bought Yukon 750 limited three days ago. Picked it up in their warehouse. Bike is powerful considering i am 6.1 and 230 Lb having lots of fun!

VoltBike
3 months ago

Hi Seani, it was nice meeting you in our warehouse. Glad you are enjoying your Yukon 750.

Clark Kormier
4 months ago

Me too, I got mine 2 weeks ago and it is so much fun I have to ride it every day.

Jesus Jimenez
5 months ago

Court do you know, How I can change the max speed on my Yukon 750? I just got my bike today but it didn't come with a owners manual.

Clark Kormier
4 months ago

I just got my new Yukon 750. I love it, this thing is a beast. It is a large bike but fits my 5'11" frame great. Comes completely assembled except for mounting the handlebars and the pedals, quick and easy. The battery housing is solid on mine and doesn't rattle at all. The mechanical disc brakes work well for basic rides and moderate trails, but for a lot of downhill riding an upgrade is in order. Right out of the box it was tuned and ready to go. For an extra $100 I opted for the upgraded version, and I really like the aluminum flat black fenders, rear rack, and integrated tail light. For the coin this is an amazing, eye-catching package. Peddle assist on the lowest setting had me flying around the local park.

Darryl BEAN
6 months ago

?? isn't the RadRover and the Volt Yukon both rated at 750 w motors?? Same output? Thanks

snowbird29803
7 months ago

I've been following your videos for a while and seriously contemplating a purchase of an electric bike for nearby errands and light shopping. I like this Voltbike for the perceived (by me a novice) value. I am a senior man at 200Lbs. and not a bike guy. So, what makes this bike worth almost a Grand more than the Sondors, shipping notwithstanding? And do YOU as an expert think this is a good bike for the price...or can you recommend any other fat tire electric for me in this price class that is actually available now and would be better for an old guy.

Derrick Lee
4 weeks ago

Expect zero response to your inquiries from Voltbike if you have quality issues. This is my actual experience with Voltbike after buying 2 bikes from them.

VoltBike
6 months ago

Hi snowbird29803, Yukon 750 is completely different battery setup. The battery and frame on Voltbike Yukon 750 are newer design. The battery is partially integrated into the frame which provides better weight distribution. The motor is also more powerful. Yukon is using brand name Tektro disc brakes and the battery is Sanyo (by Panasonic). Hope this helps.

koolstup
7 months ago

That long stem with the bars forward look very uncomfortable. You could rotate the bars towards you, this would give a shorter reach. I had to do this with my own bike (non electric)

ElectricBikeReview.com
7 months ago

Yeah, it's good if you're someone with long arms but I'd probably get a shorter stem or riser bars to make it fit me better :)

Boulderdaceous
7 months ago

BUMMER ... I ordered and pretty much got ZERO response from the VoltBike people, so I had to cancel (bummer). VOLTBIKE PEOPLE HAVE REFUSED ANSWERING MY EMAILS, MY PHONE CALLS AND MY TEXTS ! ... Sad that such a good bike is sold by such a poor company

Derrick Lee
4 weeks ago

You were lucky it happened before you spent your money. I just bought 2 bikes from Voltbike last month. They always replied to my inquiries before the sale, but gave zero response after the sale.

Jessy Cliche
6 months ago

I've just contacted them (email) today for technical info and got an answer about 3-4 hours later. Seems to me as quite a nice company actually! Pretty weird that they won't answer you..?

Boulderdaceous
7 months ago

I'm sure the Volts folks are super and that I'm the only one who ever had a bad experience with them. Having been in the industry for over four decades, I would request that they post All shipping charges (both commercial and residential), it keeps everyone in the know. Also, having been there, companies should Always be alert and respond to emails, phone calls and texts from customers. You're running a business after all.

FYI - currently riding a Phantom XR V5 and loving it ! Great Bike :-)

MrSuperGoop
7 months ago

I had great experiences with Voltbike.  I emailed them twice and asked a web question, and all 3 inquiries got answered (in a few days).  I called them by phone on 2 separate occasions, and someone answered each time, and I spoke with someone immediately. This was around Sept/Oct 2016.  They do get very business when a new shipment arrive, so maybe you just caught them at a busy time.  The second time I called, I think I could hear busy warehouse noises in the background.The 1st phone call was over 10 minutes because I had so much questions to ask about the new Yukon 750 and whether I should buy now or wait because they are also releasing a mid-drive model soon.  He was very patient and open with information, and I appreciated that.

Franky Alvarez
7 months ago

That's weird. When my brother got his, they were great

Teffy Teflon
7 months ago

l have the older Yukon and really happy with it for the price point. I have to agree with you on the long stem. I changed mine out for a shorter one with more angle rise. I do a long commute and changing it has made my back a lot less sore. l also changed to a wider bar which makes steering way smoother. l think the wider bar would help with not loosing steering control in the sand you mentioned in the video. The wider bar also allowed me to put on full size grips which are so much better than the original ones. the original ones wore out in a couple weeks.

l kinda wish l waited for the 750 but that being said make sure you know you local E-bike laws. Where l am from a 500 watt motor is the legal max.

Karl Fonner
7 months ago

Would it be good for climbing and descending?

yazid shuqair
7 months ago

how much???

the world over
7 months ago

nice holiday
back to work !
thanks

Kaanoski95
7 months ago

Can you please do a review of the new Electric Vintage Scrambler ?

Freelee
7 months ago

Great work dude.
I see Yamaha have increased the max cadence from 86 up to 120 for 2017.