VoltBike Yukon 750 Review

Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Yukon 750
Voltbike Yukon 750 Bafang 8fun Fat Bike Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Removable Inset 48 Volt Battery
Voltbike Yukon 750 Lcd Display Trigger Throttle
Voltbike Yukon 750 Cranks 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Fat Bike Suspension
Voltbike Yukon 750 Adjustable Kickstand 160 Mm Disc Brakes
Voltbike Yukon 750 Shimano Tourney 7 Speed Derailleur
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Yukon 750
Voltbike Yukon 750 Bafang 8fun Fat Bike Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Removable Inset 48 Volt Battery
Voltbike Yukon 750 Lcd Display Trigger Throttle
Voltbike Yukon 750 Cranks 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Fat Bike Suspension
Voltbike Yukon 750 Adjustable Kickstand 160 Mm Disc Brakes
Voltbike Yukon 750 Shimano Tourney 7 Speed Derailleur

Summary

  • An affordable but surprisingly powerful and quiet electric fat bike, sells online only and ships from Canada with a flat rate $70 fee, comes with a comprehensive 1 year warranty
  • Upgraded Kenda Juggernaut tires that feel good on pavement, dirt, sand and snow, removable battery is convenient to charge and has a USB port on the side mostly out of the way for portable electronics
  • More active saddle and bar setup, the reach was a bit longer which might suit taller riders, integrated headlight is convenient on cloudy days for winter riding or at night, trigger throttle design doesn't compromise grip
  • Only available in one color scheme and one frame size, basic Shimano Tourney 7 speed drivetrain, average mechanical disc brakes, the battery rattled a bit on my unit, suspension is fork is entry level

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

VoltBike

Model:

Yukon 750

Price:

$1,499 ($70 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62 lbs (28.12 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs (3.26 kg)

Motor Weight:

14 lbs (6.35 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

72" Length, 29.5" Stand Over Height, 24" Reach

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Black

Frame Fork Details:

Basic Top Gun Suspension with 90 mm Travel, 135 mm Dropout Width, 11 mm Axle

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, MF-TZ21, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shiman SIS Index Shifter on Right

Cranks:

42T Chainring with Aluminum Bash Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo M248DU Alloy Cage Style Platform

Headset:

VP-A41ACK

Stem:

Promax DA-3210 ~8° Rise

Handlebar:

Promax Low-Rise, 25" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Artek Vigorous Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Flat Rubber, Black

Saddle:

Selle Royal Freccia

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

320 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Samson Double Walled Alloy, Punched Out

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Juggernaut, 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

31TPI, Wire Bead, 5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Integrated LED Headlight, Rust Resistant Z Chain, Floating Ball Compass, Flick Bell, Optional Fenders and Rack $100

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, USB Charging Port on Right Side of Battery

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Sanyo

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

499.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

APT Development, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Assist Level (1-9), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

VoltBike is a leader in low cost electric bikes, I visited their headquarters near Vancouver Canada in 2015 and learned more about their online sales business… shipping to Canada and the US for a flat $70. If you don’t live near a bike shop but want an efficient city ebike or something a little more wild like the Yukon here, they can be a great option. My experience testing their products has been mostly good with only the occasional minor damage in shipping (the kickstand arrived broken on one of their folding mini fat bikes recently). All things considered, with their one year warranty and wide selection of styles I’ve been pretty impressed. Of course, there are always trade-offs when you try to hit lower price points and I encountered a few with the updated Yukon 750. Their prior Yukon model was built around a slightly weaker and louder 500 watt geared hub motor and had an exposed controller box and top mounted battery. It’s easy to appreciate how much nicer the 750 looks as well as how the frame balance has been improved. The top tube here is sloped down to make standing over the frame more comfortable and a suspension fork has been added to improve comfort… all for just $350 more!

But as I said, there are some trade off’s with the value approach and some that I noticed were the more basic seven speed Shimano Tourney drivetrain. It does the job but might go out of tune easier, adds some weight and just has a limited selection. There’s no slap guard on the right chainstay but that’s not a huge deal considering the frame is Aluminum and won’t rust there if it gets knicked. The suspension fork is comfortable but very basic with no adjustments or lockout and it’s probably heavier than something like a RockShox Bluto air fork. By the way, don’t rush out and buy that fork for this ebike because I believe it’s designed for a tapered head tube and I think the Yukon 750 is straight. The battery rattled a bit during my ride and I tried to demonstrate this in the video review but it never cut out and the model I tested was an early build so perhaps that will be resolved? That’s about it… these are all minor gripes and yes, I wish it had a bottle cage mounting point on the seat tube but there are accessories to work around that.

Getting back to what works on this bike… the motor is powerful, it offers enough zip to start and maintain in deep soft sand and this really surprised me! You get a nice large LCD display panel that’s backlit and an integrated headlight that doesn’t require separate batteries! A rechargeable backlight could be added inexpensively later if you do a lot of early morning or evening riding. The battery can be charged on or off the frame and helps to reduce the weight of the bike when lifting for transport or service but I wish the front wheel offered quick release to further reduce weight. It’s not a huge deal to unscrew though and I love the adjustable length kickstand that’s far back and out of the way for pedaling so if you back up and the cranks turn they don’t collide :)

The tires on this bike were a big upgrade from before and since they take a lot of abuse if you ride off-road and could potentially make a lot of noise if you stay on road I feel like the tread pattern they chose was thoughtfully chosen. It offers good durability and is a good all-around design. The only other big consideration with this particular bike is that the stem is kind of long, the bars are low-rise and the saddle is active. That means you tend to lean forward more when riding and can feel the bumps in your arms, shoulders and bottom. The saddle itself is a nice one, just not super soft. Consider adding a 27.2 mm Thudbuster to improve comfort along with lowering tire PSI (especially for riding on soft surfaces like sand… we used ~7 PSI). I guess one final area is worth scrutinizing here and that’s the brakes which are average sized with 160 mm rotors. They’re mechanical which require more wrist strength to actuate and again, smaller rotors means less mechanical advantage and the bike is on the heavier side at ~62 lbs. When you’re slashing prices you have to make trade offs and I feel like VoltBike made them pretty well. This is the kind of bike that could get rusty and beat up if used in salty sand or salty snow environments. When you spend a ton of money on a really nice bike sometimes it’s not as fun to actually take it out, knowing that it is going to be damaged. With a cheaper bike like this you still get good power and can have a lot of fun and again, I feel like it looks really nice and has really been improved since the original 500 watt model.

This review was shot with the help and financial support of Cabo Adventures in Cabo San Lucas Mexico! If you’d like to go for an electric fat bike ride on the beach like we did for these photos and video you can visit their website at www.cabo-adventures.com to learn more. I found their commitment to environmental sustainability to be inspiring, they offer lots of activities outside of ebikes, the food was good and their employees were wonderful. Cabo itself is one of the safest parts of Mexico, the airport is nice, roads are good and lots of celebrities visit because it’s only a 2.5 hour flight from Los Angeles. I shot a fun vlog about the visit where you can see some of the behind the scenes action here. My thanks again to the organization for being open to a creative review like this where we could truly test the bikes in a rigorous and majestic environment :D Big thanks to VoltBike for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • The motor is fairly quiet but feels zippy and had no problem with the soft sand or hills we tested it on, when the air pressure was lowered in the tires to ~7 PSI the bike worked great, the 8Fun motor seemed to be fat-bike specific and extra wide to support the spoke pattern of the wheels, it looked nice
  • The battery can be charged on or off the bike, has an integrated USB charging port (though it’s a bit exposed on the right side) and you only need to push one button to get the bike powered on, not two! Also, keys don’t have to be left in when riding
  • Pedal assist relies on a 12 magnet sensor, that’s the highest number I see on other bikes and it leads to faster on/off activation, I also love that the brake levers override all power modes and cut the motor when pulled
  • It’s neat that you can override assist at any time with the trigger throttle with full power output! Note however that assist is always active, there is not throttle-only mode on the bike
  • I love that this bike offers nine levels of pedal assist because the increments are finder and differences are more subtle… you can find the perfect level for your terrain, range and ride style
  • I love that VoltBike sells a matching fender and rack set for just $100, it can be difficult to find the correct size of accessories when dealing with unique frames like those of fat tire bicycles
  • Thumb throttles work great for off-road riding because they don’t compromise your grip on the handle bar, I hear some people say that they are also easier to actuate and can be adjusted up or down to sit wherever your thumb feels most comfortable
  • The punched out rims are cool looking, reduce weight and might offer a little bit more comfort and cushion than solid ones, the red liners show through and match the paint accents on the frame
  • I like that the battery is seated into the downtube and doesn’t stick up very far, it leaves a bit more room for hanging the bike on some racks, lifting it and possibly adding a tight fitting bottle cage adapter to the seat tube like this
  • I appreciate having a kickstand and love that this one is adjustable and mounted far enough back on the left chainstay that it doesn’t collide with the crank and pedal if you are backing up (the crank automatically turns)
  • The Kenda Juggernaut pro tires are high quality… light but durable and with a good off-road tread pattern that’s still fairly dense for use on hard surfaces
  • Quality battery cells from Sanyo, a generous one year comprehensive warranty and flat rate shipping to the US and Canada for just $70 (cheaper than almost all other bikes I see being sold online)
  • I like that the top tube slopes down, lowering stand over height to accommodate people with shorter inseams, I feel like it could slant more but VoltBike also has the Mariner folding fat bike for people who really need a lower stand over or just don’t like the big frames

Cons:

  • The display panel is compact, swivels to reduce glare and offers a lot of information but isn’t removable… this means it could take more damage if left outside, I do like that it’s backlit and that the headlight is powered off the main battery pack however
  • The button pad is easy to reach and fairly intuitive so you can arrow up or down when riding for more or less pedal assist power but the plastic cover is more delicate than inset buttons, ours got bent during tests when the bike crashed
  • This isn’t necessarily a bad thing but the saddle felt firm and the stem and bars were positioned further forward and lower down to accommodate active riding or larger longer-armed riders, you could always swap the stem out, replace the seat and get different bars like cruiser style if you prefer, I like that the bike has suspension but it’s not adjustable or lockable… just basic
  • Maybe it was just the unit I was testing but the battery rattled a little bit, I was surprised because it seems very securely mounted, maybe the fit is just a little loose?
  • The pedals are decent but I prefer wider, grippier ones like these Wellgo’s especially if you’re riding in snow… I do like the oversized thumb shifter however which works great with gloves on
  • The brakes are kind of average being mechanical vs. hydraulic and since the rotors are smaller at 160 mm vs. 180 mm they heat up a bit more and require more hand strength to stop
  • I wish the chainring had a plate on both sides, not just the outside, because sometimes when riding at higher speeds using the throttle bounding around off-road the chain can come off, I’d also appreciate a slap guard on the right chain stay
  • The floating compass is unique but a little gimmicky, I definitely appreciate the bell, would be nice if the grips were locking but considering their basic flat design it’s not a huge deal if they spin
  • Considering how large and heavy the bike is I love that you can take the battery pack off to reduce weight but I wish the front wheel had quick release, just to make it easier to fit into cars and other tight spaces vs. loosening and twisting the handlebars

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More VoltBike Reviews

VoltBike Enduro Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable full suspension trail bike with quiet, but powerful, mid-drive motor and integrated downtube battery pack, full-sized USB charging port on battery, adjustable top speed. Integrated LED headlight, backlit LCD display panel, and standard reflectors for urban riding, high-pressure tires…...

VoltBike Mariner Review

  • MSRP: $1,249
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A miniaturized fat tire electric bike that's sand and snow capable, you get fenders, a rack and integrated lights for utility and safety no matter the terrain. Mid-mount battery design keeps weight low and centered, it's removable for reduced weight (when folding…...

VoltBike Urban Review

  • MSRP: $1,049
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An ultra-affordable folding electric bike sold online from Canada, offers a full range of accessories including lights, fenders and a rear carry rack. Available in black or white but only one size, you get six gears with a…...

VoltBike Yukon Review

  • MSRP: $1,159
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value priced electric fat bike with a six speed drivetrain, integrated headlight and optional fender + rack kit. Available in two flavors (350 watt motor or more powerful 500 watt motor), sold online…...

VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A very affordable city style electric bike with lots of useful accessories including integrated lights, fenders and rack. Only available in one frame size ~19" but the adjustable stem and seat hight help…...

VoltBike Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value oriented electric bike available in one size (19"), one frame style (step-thru) and one color (black). Comes standard with lots of useful accessories including full length plastic fenders, a rear carry…...


William
9 months ago

Great review once again Court! Good to see you had fun riding the Yukon at the beach over variable soft/hard sand and rock. Look forward to your review on the other VoltBike Mariner and how it compares with the similar Trail Viper 350W, and if it feels stable in terms of loose parts/components when going over bumps, since you mentioned the battery on the Yukon rattled, so I suspect things to be worse on folding bikes. Also, please comment whether you feel the power and speed difference between the Yukon 750 vs Mariner 500 vs Trail Viper 350, when doing 0 to 20mph. I believe shipping to US is $69 and Canada is $49, last I checked when looking to shop for an eBike on VoltBike website, so you may want to double check that.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Joe EE
10 hours ago

Hello all. Looking into this bike. Presently riding a Voltbike Yukon 750. My question is; at my 230 pound 6 foot size, in your opinion is the 500 Watt motor going to be enough. It is fairly hilly where I live and the Yukon is fine. Really peppy uphill actually. The Colt looks like a great bike. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

gcoop
3 days ago

Hi,

Thanks @westwood for your help. I spoke with George and he is sending me a new thumb throttle.

Hopefully, that's what it is but I don't think it's the throttle.

If anyone has a simple map of the wiring system for the Volt Yukon 750 Limited, I would love to have a copy so I can have a good look at the connections.

Thanks,

GC.

ace20ri
6 days ago

@Bsbs I decided to not exhaust any more energy on removing the speed limit on my Yukon and went with an overhaul of the power electronics all together.

I have not posted in a while and have been pretty busy DIYing. Here is my new setup:

Phaserunner by Grin Technologies (Dimensions 99mm x 40mm x 34mm)

The voltage range is from 30v-90v and can handle up 50A from the battery. The cables are long for a diverse setup but I checked and it can fit in the nook where the shipping controller is located. I decided not to do this since the controller is programmable and must get "tuned" to the motor. There are lots of settings and I am still tweaking them so hiding the controller would be a pain. Really awesome controller that allows the motor to start using the hall sensors and then run in sensorless mode after initial feedback from the hall sensors. Of course there are speed settings and many other fun settings like injecting field weakening current that can pull increase the motor's RPM without a lot of additional current. (Speed boost!).

I also added a Cycle Analyst (CA3-DP)

This display has too many features to list. I recommend installing the new firmware to get the benefit of using a potentiometer and digital input to control power or amp levels along with adding PAS level functionality.

Here are few pics of my latest setup:

Hard to see but I swapped the rear freewheel to a DNP Epoch 11-30 Freewheel to stay in cadence at the higher speeds I am able to achieve now (33mph!)

View of the cycle analyst V3 along with the potentiometer (assigned to control overall power level), digital aux 2 button input (I have it assigned to control PAS levels) and my Lifeproof Bike Handlebar Mount for my iPhone 7+

Close up of the phaserunner:

Cockpit view with new longer 720mm OUTDAD handlebar, Ergon GP5 grips and EM3EV Power Switch with horn button:

Close up of my 48V Uxcel horn This thing is so loud and sounds like a car horn! Must have if riding in city traffic. I wired it up to the switch with a 20A in-line fuse just in case. Only supposed to use 200mA but you never know.

I'm waiting for my YITAMOTOR 36W LED spotlight, I mean headlight to arrive so that I can mount it to my handlebar. Got tired of barely seeing the road and cars seeing me leaving late from the office.

If anyone decides to take on such an upgrade, definitely invest in a JST kit like this. I had to swap quite a few connectors for fitment and wire routing. I also purchased the Bikehand Pro bike stand along with Feedback Handlebar holder.

Lots of information so my apologies but hopefully if anyone is looking to overhaul their Yukon this may help. I will post pictures of the stock Yukon controller connector map soon for anyone interested. I also noticed that the on the stock controller PCBA there are plated through holes which resemble programming pads so I may try and see if I can adapt a harness to see if I can figure out overriding any board level programming now it's just collection dust. I will obviously share my results.

Depending how the second half of the year looks, I may take the battery apart and replace the cells with higher energy density cells. Unfortunately the cells will be proprietary to the company I work for but may be able to recommend some "equivalents" that are off the shelf. Not sure how much air is inside the battery housing but hoping to fit 2170 cells to really get improved capacity.

1/10
gcoop
6 days ago

I'm at the 600 km mark with my Yukon 750 and just noticed that the throttle is intermittently working. Pedal Assist is working fine but straight throttle works sometimes and other times is completely dead.

It feels like there is a fault connection from throttle to controller to motor? I've written to Volt to see if they have suggestions and am waiting to hear back.

One thing, when PAS is engaged and I'm cruising, if I then engage the throttle it is more likely to work but rarely works from a dead stop?

Any and all suggestions are appreciated.

GC.

gcoop
6 days ago

I'm at the 600 km mark with my Yukon 750 and just noticed that the throttle is intermittently working. Pedal Assist is working fine but straight throttle works sometimes and other times is completely dead.

It feels like there is a fault connection from throttle to controller to motor? I've written to Volt to see if they have suggestions and am waiting to hear back.

One thing, when PAS is engaged and I'm cruising, if I then engage the throttle it is more likely to work but rarely works from a dead stop?

Any and all suggestions are appreciated.

GC.

SuperGoop
2 weeks ago

Thanks @TTT On my (1st edition) Yukon 750, "48V x 10.4Ah" is on that white sticker barcode. Looks like it is not there anymore. Good to know that George confirmed it is now upgraded to 11.6Ah. Enjoy your bike.

gcoop
2 weeks ago

Loving the Yukon!!

1/1
Yukon 500
2 weeks ago

Hi,

I've had a new Voltbike Enduro and have ridden it for about 230 miles now and I have noticed that when the battery is low (but not empty) the motor will start to struggle or intermittently cut out. The LCD display will often show that I have 2 "bars" of power left (out of 10), but the battery itself will display 1 light out of 5 and sometimes even 0. I understand that 1 light and 2 bars are the same with that math, but since the motor is cutting out and sometimes simply ceasing all together the computer displaying 20 percent power (rather than 10%) seems very inaccurate. It has caused me to misjudge my remaining distance, keeping the motor at its highest setting when I should have been much more conservative.

It hasn't been a huge problem for me, as I've just adjusted how often I charge the battery and I'm large enough that I can manage this large bike without the motor, but it's something that could be problematic for some.

I have a Yukon 500 and put around 1,300 miles on it. The battery is still working perfectly for me and never experienced any issue. I have a commute of 15 miles each way everyday and and battery is showing 2 lights (4 lights when fully charged) after each ride. But I do charge to full after each ride.

Having said that, I agree the battery indicator on the LCD (handlebar) is not accurate at all, nor does the indicators on the battery itself. 2 lights does not mean there are 50% power left. I noticed for a few times that when I was going uphill or against strong wind, the indicator dropped suddenly from 50% to almost zero and started flashing. It looks like there is no power left at all. But once I reached flat terrain or when the gust is over, the indicator went back to its normal level. The motor never cut off though.

I think you'd better charge the battery after each ride. You do not have to second-guess how much is left then. And I heard that will also extend your batter life by increasing the number of charge cycles significant. I remember seeing a chart somewhere on internet, saying it could even double the number from 350 to 700. I am not sure whether there is any scientific proof to quantify that, but I think the statement is true overall.

TTT
2 weeks ago

Thanks @Joe EE I think if you remove the battery, the sticker is at the bottom part, hidden inside the bike frame.

I'm expecting delivery tomorrow on my Yukon 750 and was told it would be shipped with the 11.6 Ah battery. I'll see if I can find any markings when it arrives and post.

Jeff McNab
3 weeks ago

Mine is just over 2,000km and I really enjoyed it. There have been no repairs but i do clean/lube chains/derailleur regularly.

I plan to take it to a shop end of the month to do a tune-up. By then, I probably need to replace the rear tire as well and I have no experience at all with fat tires before. Hope a shop in my neighborhood can do it for me and check the brakes too.

The rear tire has significant wear compared with front. My commute is mostly on paved surfaces (asphalt/concrete and a few short stretches on gravels). At first, I thought maybe I use rear brake much more than front. So I started to use the front more often about a month ago but did not notice any difference. I am sure the rear tire wears more because it is the "drive" wheel. Like front-drive cars, the front tires always have more wear but unfortunately it is not worthwhile to rotate the two tires on the bike. I do not think it is possible to rotate the wheels without taking off the tires. If someone knows how to do this, please share.

If anyone here have put more mileage on their bikes than I did, can you share when (what mileage) did you replace your tires (rear and front)? A quick visual check on mine tells me i will have to replace the rear tire at 3,000km at latest. And probably can keep the front one for another 3,000.

I've got 20 years of cycling experience and am an avid road/ MTB rider. This bike is for commuting on night shifts, when I don't always want to pedal my butt off home. I work downtown as a beat cop and get plenty of exercise/ adrenaline on duty - no nead to experience it on my commute. I've ridden this Yukon thru blizzard conditions at 4AM.

Anyways, I can say that riding on ashphalt with these tires will give you maybe 1k - 2k of tread life.

The tires are one of he most popular fat bike tires in my area, so many shops should have them in stock.

I plan on changing the tire myself. When I get near replacement time I'll order the tire and keep it around until I'm feeling keen enough to undergo the task.

Be advised, the wire bead on these tires is very tight. You'll nead three of the plastic tire irons, readily available at bike shops. Make sure to torque the rear wheel nuts snug enough not to slip and loose enough not to strip.

It shouldn't be a big deal for a local bike shop.

america94
3 weeks ago

Hi Jeff, you can check out assembly and original packaging on the 1st page of the original thread here. I put a lot of pictures and made videos (bare in mind, my first videos ever!). Assembly is very straight forward, you'll see.

Shipping packing has improved since I took delivery beginning of April. I visited the Teo store recently and the owner already has the manufacturer adding extra padding on the bike itself and he is reinforcing the boxes before shipping from his location. More improvements to come there as well in the very near future as he is weighing options (check out this post for more details):

Showdown!! Teo Fat Bike vs Voltbike Yukon vs Rad Rover test drive!

I did not pay for shipping since I picked it up at the store. Great bike, great owner, excellent price! :D

gcoop
3 weeks ago

@gcoop I usually just bring 1 (but sometimes up to 3) Abus folding locks, depending on my ride. Each lock weighs 2 lbs.

Multiple locks allow options. Either daisy chain for extra length, or multiple locks for extra protection.

Here is my post with pictures:

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/new-voltbike-yukon-750-spotted.8120/page-3#post-77679
Many thanks! Ended up buying the ABUS 6000.

america94
3 weeks ago

The Teo sounds like a good option but at a height of 6'3" that seat tube is too short.

The large Teo has a 16" seat tube length.

The Voltbike Yukon has a seat tube length of just longer then 19".

With a lot of exposed seatpost the Yukon fits me and gives me a nice reach to the bars. My daughter is 5'5" and can ride my Yukon with the seat height lowered. There is about 8-10" of seatpost exposed on my Yukon when she rides it.

My daughter rides a 16" Specialized, that is properly fit, so I don't understand how the Teo is supposed to fit adult males.

Also, the website is all in French. - doesn't work for me.

Edit to add: the Teo actually has a 18" seat tube - It looks smaller in the photo. The Teo looks very similar to the Yukon except for some details - nice details too. Also, I found I can select English on the website at the top (my bad)

Let us know how the Teo works out? Looks cool.
I am 6' tall and my friend who just bought a Teo is 6'2" and it is high enough for both of us to pedal with extended legs (although the seat post is at its highest). You are correct, the Teo large has an 18" seat tube (and the medium is 16"). The bike is BIG but it does look small in the pictures. You can indeed select english on the website :-)

america94
3 weeks ago

I would stick with voltbike the teo does not even look good nor is it price competitive looks like someone bombing the thread with their ads for teo we have 2 Mariner Voltbike's and totally enjoy them
I am curious to know what you base yourself on stating the Teo price is not competitive. Even Yukon owners agree that the Teo offers more for almost the same price. Just the 17.4ah battery with a much longer range and high quality hydraulic brakes are enough to put the Teo on top. Pretty much all components are of higher quality.

I got to compare them side by side and drive them BOTH on the same day. You own a Mariner, not even a Yukon, right? The Yukon is slower, feels flimsy, is not very well designed to resist water/humidity damage compared to the Teo and the brakes are ok, but never as effective. Although they look pretty much the same, you have to drive them both to immediately feel the difference. The Yukon is a decent bike don't get me wrong and I am sure I would love it if I never got to compare it with something superior. But even just on paper without trying them both, I can't see how you can argue that the Yukon is a better deal.

SuperGoop
3 weeks ago

@gcoop I usually just bring 1 (but sometimes up to 3) Abus folding locks, depending on my ride. Each lock weighs 2 lbs.

Multiple locks allow options. Either daisy chain for extra length, or multiple locks for extra protection.

Here is my post with pictures:

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/new-voltbike-yukon-750-spotted.8120/page-3#post-77679

Jeff McNab
3 weeks ago

The Teo sounds like a good option but at a height of 6'3" that seat tube is too short.

The large Teo has a 16" seat tube length.

The Voltbike Yukon has a seat tube length of just longer then 19".

With a lot of exposed seatpost the Yukon fits me and gives me a nice reach to the bars. My daughter is 5'5" and can ride my Yukon with the seat height lowered. There is about 8-10" of seatpost exposed on my Yukon when she rides it.

My daughter rides a 16" Specialized, that is properly fit, so I don't understand how the Teo is supposed to fit adult males.

Also, the website is all in French. - doesn't work for me.

Edit to add: the Teo actually has a 18" seat tube - It looks smaller in the photo. The Teo looks very similar to the Yukon except for some details - nice details too. Also, I found I can select English on the website at the top (my bad)

Let us know how the Teo works out? Looks cool.

Jeff McNab
3 weeks ago

Voltbike Yukon

At approx 1000km I have lost one of the bolts from my kickstand.

No worries, a M6 10mm from homedepot fixed it. This time I used some blue loctite. It's not a hex head screw anymore but maybe I'll order one off eBay.

I have had to adjust the brakes and fine tune the derrealet a couple of times but now it's smooth and quiet.

Great bike, I would buy it all over again.

Falken
3 weeks ago

I would also like to see that review. He gave the VB 750 Yukon a pretty good review. Can't see why the Teo S wouldn't do even better.

Jazzcat
4 weeks ago

Hi Claudio,
I ended up getting neither the Yukon nor the Mariner. I found another Canadian company called Teo Fat Bike with a great product. Apparently the bike frame is an upgrade and the bike has 15 other important upgrades, making it a better bike all around. The upgrades that sold me on it were the 17 amp hour battery vs the 10.4 amp hour one the Yukon LTD uses, this means nearly twice the range, and the Teo has hydraulic disc brakes vs the mechanical ones on the Yukon and Mariner.

The list price for both basic versions is the same, though there is a $200 off sale on the Yukon currently. The Teo S Ltd version is a couple hundred more, but is well worth it. I believe it to be a better bike all around. You can check out the Teo Fat Bike here:

https://teofatbike.com/boutique/index.php?route=common/home&tracking=59305d1c8d490

If you decide to buy one, please use the above link and I'll get a small commission for promoting the bike. You can sign up for that too once you buy a Teo. Not that I do it for the few bucks it makes me, the important thing is that this is a great bike and the owner of the company, Benoit, is a really nice guy, very helpful, and his goal is to make happy customers.

I got the medium frame version in White with Brown seat and handlebar grips. See below. :)

1/1
zap016VOLTAGE
4 weeks ago

Well the mariner is on the way, I tracked it this morning... should be here next week. I just hope I made the right decision by buying the mariner vs the yukon!

Good luck with your ebike.
Don't forget to share your experiences.

Claudio
4 weeks ago

Well the mariner is on the way, I tracked it this morning... should be here next week. I just hope I made the right decision by buying the mariner vs the yukon!

america94
4 weeks ago

Hi,
After discussions with Benoit and Stephane (Thank you both!) I ordered a white medium frame Teo, which hopefully will arrive with those beautiful brown seat and handlebar grips. I'm really looking forward to putting this bike together and riding it! This is very exciting! I live right next to some awesome trails that beg for more exploring and a new walking/biking path has just been built following the train tracks into town. This is going to be FUN!
Kind regards,
Patrick,
Coombs, BC
Hi @Jazzcat, don't worry you will get those beautiful brown seat and handlebar grips :-)

Check out more info and pictures here (this is what I was working on when we chatted earlier :-) )

america94
4 weeks ago

I paid Teo Fat bike a visit at their store today! I spent 1.5 hours with Benoit and had a blast. I have a lot to report, so I will split the info in separate related posts under the main thread.

The most exciting part of my visit was to test drive the new upgraded Teo, back to back with the Voltbike Yukon and the Rad Rover! That was a complete revelation!

For those hesitating and wondering which bike to get, I will to stop your suffering right here!

I've been riding my Teo for 650km already since April 8th or so. So I am extremely used to my bike and could notice the differences of riding a new bike instantly, in every possible way (feel, sound, etc).

1. the improved Teo, ready for shipping June 10th

The new Teo comes with many improvements, at no extra cost. They have been mentioned before, but I will sum up again:
- 2 frame sizes, medium and large
- 2 new colors, red and white
- new chain. A much more expensive model, 5 times stronger
- new seat. More plush, with an integrated handle in the back (love the handle!!)
- Low and behold, for those who heard all the fuss about the throttle: the twist throttle now works from a standstill, without the need to pedal half a turn like the previous model.
- Derailleur guard

I must say the red looks amazing in person!
The white is growing on me. I wasn't sure with the brown seat and handles at first, but it looks better in person as well.

Test drive:

What can I say here? I love this bike and the test drive was a blast as always riding this bike. The throttle working from a standstill is a nice addition and the new seats are indeed more comfortable. The bike is fast, strong, solid as heck. The handle on the back of the seat is surprisingly useful to maneuver the bike.

Here are some pictures before moving on to the Yukon and Rad Rover.

First, yours truly after riding the Voltbike and Rad Rover... man I'm getting old! :)

2. Rad Rover test drive

Although I feel the Teo takes the palm vs the Rad Rover in terms of design and specs, the Rad Rover is a nice machine. It feels solid and steady and was nice to ride. But for roughly the same price I believe, the Teo seems to me like the better option. Benoit showed me to differences between the Teo and Rad Rover and again, a no brainer!

3. Voltbike test drive

This is where I feel bad stating my opinion. We know on paper that the Teo, for about the same price, is superior in almost every way and component. But this unfortunately translates a LOT during the test drive.

Before getting on the Voltbike, just moving it around walking next to it, I could already feel the difference in quality. I find the Yukon feels flimsy compared to the others. It does not feel as "tight" or solid. I am honestly holding back here, but am just so glad I found Teo fat bike, when I was about to pull the trigger on a Voltbike!

Riding it, the first thing that hit me is how sloooooowly it accelerates on throttle only vs the Teo. It is just too slow or I am just too used to the Teo's much more potent acceleration. And that was a 750w model! I also understood rapidly what Benoit meant by hydraulic brakes being much better! The braking power was there, but never as strong as with the Teo.

Some might say I am biased to Teo bikes... but I honestly feel that I am able to be objective here. And if I had to do it all over again, I would still not hesitate and get a Teo bike.

I know I am getting a small fee from Teo from his affiliate program, but I had already test drove the Teo and purchased it with major excitement and satisfaction before he ever told me about the program. I remember telling him at the time that affiliate program or not, I would definitely help him out online as I decided at the time that his young business, stellar bikes and service needed to get better known :) I enjoy shopping local and helping out local business all over my surrounding, it is just in my nature!

So there it is, a clear winner for me! Again, I am always glad to help, feel free to contact me anytime. (A special salutation for my new friend @Jazzcat who just decided to go with Teo after we had a very pleasant chat :))

If you feel I have been helpful enough to convince you to purchase a Teo Fat Bike, please CLICK HERE to access their website for your purchase. For my efforts, Teo Fat Bike gives me a small fee for each bike sold

1/10
Falken
4 weeks ago

Hi everyone, I have been following the forum for a while now and I like to thank @america94 @Falken for all the great feedback that was passed along. As a few months ago I would of order a Yukon, but after having saw this forum I sure did change my mind. I was able to go at the Salon last weekend and looked at the Teo, which I did found them very impresive! And I was totally sold after the little ride on the circuit they had. So today I emailed Benoit with my intention to purchase a S Ltd, but I would like to go at his shop first and properly try the 750W and 500W.

I was wondering if @america94 if you had the chance to try both what difference did you see, like top speed?

I think my biggest issue now is having to wait until June 10th...
Hi @Stoker283! The real thanks surely belongs to @america94, and I'm happy some of the answers that he gave to my questions has helped. Welcome to the forum :)

DeluxeMan12345
5 days ago

nice review as always. you may want to look into deflatators or a portable pump with a gage to lower the psi perfectly

valveman12
2 weeks ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Ok so based on your review, I just bought the Yukon Limited with the fenders and rear rack. So if I hate it, it will be you fault. Nah just kidding. I'm sure I will like it.

Drónos Vili
3 months ago

This or the radrover? I really want to decide wich one i should get? No power only mode on the voltbike?

Clark Kormier
1 month ago

Rad Rover is a decent product with almost as nice features. If you don't mind the fact that the battery and controller pack look like bricks that were added onto the generic frame with zip ties as an afterthought..

Derrick Lee
3 months ago

Try Rad Power. I got zero response from Voltbike after I bought 2 from them with some quality issues.

jason mcclure
4 months ago

i read on the website its 70 bucks to ship to your business 30 extra bucks to ship to your house

iddddaduncan
4 months ago

What are theses bikes like out west for mountain trails? I live in Idaho and would love to take this into the backcountry.

Clark Kormier
5 months ago

This is the one...In the fat tire ebike category I couldn't find a better value anywhere for the features offered and price point. Now I ride it 6 days out of 7 lol. Shipping was cheap and easy.

Clark Kormier
1 month ago

It's fine on pavement, but if it is wet and rainy the stock knobby tires have a little less grip than a smoother road tire. This beast is designed for off road riding, but it's super fun just running errands around town.

1rcproductions
3 months ago

Clark Kormier How is it on pavement? Trying to decide between fat or mountain style of ebike. Thanks.

40footgiantowl
6 months ago

i recently bought a electric fat bike and was wondering what the usb port on the battery was for?

VoltBike
5 months ago

Voltbike Yukon 750 comes with built-in USB port. You can use this port to charge external devices like cell phone, camera or similar.

John Grijalva
6 months ago

this bike or the radrover?

VoltBike
3 months ago

Hi Derrick, apologize but I still can't find your inquiry in our email list but I will be more than happy to speak with your either by phone or email. When you call just mention this conversation and I will come on the phone. You can also email me at our support or let me know what is your real name so I can find your order. Waiting very much to hear any feedback or comments you may have. By the way Voltbike Urban is using rear motor. It's not on the front.

Clark Kormier
3 months ago

That is too bad, I had no problems with customer service, and the gang I know on our Voltbike Facebook page have had good experiences with them. I absolutely love my Yukon 750. I am still riding it straight out of the box 4 months later, and she runs great. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Derrick Lee
3 months ago

This is one of the names I use online. Just review the emails you ignored within the past 2 weeks, you'll know who I am.

VoltBike
3 months ago

Hi Derrick Lee, I see your comments on few other Voltbike Youtube videos. I will reply here as well. We don't have customer under the name of Derrick Lee. We searched also our email list from the past 2 years and I can't find any request under either your first or last name. We always respond to customer enquiry either before or after the sale. (Most of the time even after regular work hours.) In fact, customer after sale support has been always our number one priority. We realised this early in our business.

Nigel Sookram
3 months ago

Derrick Lee too bad man I'm really thinking of buying one

jose ignacio alvarez
6 months ago

que precio valen esa bici ?? pueden enviar en ESPAÑA

Seani Vostro
7 months ago

I just bought Yukon 750 limited three days ago. Picked it up in their warehouse. Bike is powerful considering i am 6.1 and 230 Lb having lots of fun!

VoltBike
5 months ago

Hi Seani, it was nice meeting you in our warehouse. Glad you are enjoying your Yukon 750.

Clark Kormier
6 months ago

Me too, I got mine 2 weeks ago and it is so much fun I have to ride it every day.

Jesus Jimenez
7 months ago

Court do you know, How I can change the max speed on my Yukon 750? I just got my bike today but it didn't come with a owners manual.

Clark Kormier
6 months ago

I just got my new Yukon 750. I love it, this thing is a beast. It is a large bike but fits my 5'11" frame great. Comes completely assembled except for mounting the handlebars and the pedals, quick and easy. The battery housing is solid on mine and doesn't rattle at all. The mechanical disc brakes work well for basic rides and moderate trails, but for a lot of downhill riding an upgrade is in order. Right out of the box it was tuned and ready to go. For an extra $100 I opted for the upgraded version, and I really like the aluminum flat black fenders, rear rack, and integrated tail light. For the coin this is an amazing, eye-catching package. Peddle assist on the lowest setting had me flying around the local park.

Darryl BEAN
8 months ago

?? isn't the RadRover and the Volt Yukon both rated at 750 w motors?? Same output? Thanks

snowbird29803
9 months ago

I've been following your videos for a while and seriously contemplating a purchase of an electric bike for nearby errands and light shopping. I like this Voltbike for the perceived (by me a novice) value. I am a senior man at 200Lbs. and not a bike guy. So, what makes this bike worth almost a Grand more than the Sondors, shipping notwithstanding? And do YOU as an expert think this is a good bike for the price...or can you recommend any other fat tire electric for me in this price class that is actually available now and would be better for an old guy.

Derrick Lee
3 months ago

Expect zero response to your inquiries from Voltbike if you have quality issues. This is my actual experience with Voltbike after buying 2 bikes from them.

VoltBike
9 months ago

Hi snowbird29803, Yukon 750 is completely different battery setup. The battery and frame on Voltbike Yukon 750 are newer design. The battery is partially integrated into the frame which provides better weight distribution. The motor is also more powerful. Yukon is using brand name Tektro disc brakes and the battery is Sanyo (by Panasonic). Hope this helps.

koolstup
9 months ago

That long stem with the bars forward look very uncomfortable. You could rotate the bars towards you, this would give a shorter reach. I had to do this with my own bike (non electric)

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Yeah, it's good if you're someone with long arms but I'd probably get a shorter stem or riser bars to make it fit me better :)

Boulderdaceous
9 months ago

BUMMER ... I ordered and pretty much got ZERO response from the VoltBike people, so I had to cancel (bummer). VOLTBIKE PEOPLE HAVE REFUSED ANSWERING MY EMAILS, MY PHONE CALLS AND MY TEXTS ! ... Sad that such a good bike is sold by such a poor company

Derrick Lee
3 months ago

You were lucky it happened before you spent your money. I just bought 2 bikes from Voltbike last month. They always replied to my inquiries before the sale, but gave zero response after the sale.

Jessy Cliche
8 months ago

I've just contacted them (email) today for technical info and got an answer about 3-4 hours later. Seems to me as quite a nice company actually! Pretty weird that they won't answer you..?

Boulderdaceous
9 months ago

I'm sure the Volts folks are super and that I'm the only one who ever had a bad experience with them. Having been in the industry for over four decades, I would request that they post All shipping charges (both commercial and residential), it keeps everyone in the know. Also, having been there, companies should Always be alert and respond to emails, phone calls and texts from customers. You're running a business after all.

FYI - currently riding a Phantom XR V5 and loving it ! Great Bike :-)

MrSuperGoop
9 months ago

I had great experiences with Voltbike.  I emailed them twice and asked a web question, and all 3 inquiries got answered (in a few days).  I called them by phone on 2 separate occasions, and someone answered each time, and I spoke with someone immediately. This was around Sept/Oct 2016.  They do get very business when a new shipment arrive, so maybe you just caught them at a busy time.  The second time I called, I think I could hear busy warehouse noises in the background.The 1st phone call was over 10 minutes because I had so much questions to ask about the new Yukon 750 and whether I should buy now or wait because they are also releasing a mid-drive model soon.  He was very patient and open with information, and I appreciated that.

Franky Alvarez
9 months ago

That's weird. When my brother got his, they were great

Teffy Teflon
9 months ago

l have the older Yukon and really happy with it for the price point. I have to agree with you on the long stem. I changed mine out for a shorter one with more angle rise. I do a long commute and changing it has made my back a lot less sore. l also changed to a wider bar which makes steering way smoother. l think the wider bar would help with not loosing steering control in the sand you mentioned in the video. The wider bar also allowed me to put on full size grips which are so much better than the original ones. the original ones wore out in a couple weeks.

l kinda wish l waited for the 750 but that being said make sure you know you local E-bike laws. Where l am from a 500 watt motor is the legal max.

Karl Fonner
9 months ago

Would it be good for climbing and descending?

yazid shuqair
9 months ago

how much???

the world over
9 months ago

nice holiday
back to work !
thanks