VoltBike Yukon 750 Review

Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Yukon 750
Voltbike Yukon 750 Bafang 8fun Fat Bike Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Removable Inset 48 Volt Battery
Voltbike Yukon 750 Lcd Display Trigger Throttle
Voltbike Yukon 750 Cranks 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Fat Bike Suspension
Voltbike Yukon 750 Adjustable Kickstand 160 Mm Disc Brakes
Voltbike Yukon 750 Shimano Tourney 7 Speed Derailleur
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Yukon 750
Voltbike Yukon 750 Bafang 8fun Fat Bike Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Removable Inset 48 Volt Battery
Voltbike Yukon 750 Lcd Display Trigger Throttle
Voltbike Yukon 750 Cranks 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Fat Bike Suspension
Voltbike Yukon 750 Adjustable Kickstand 160 Mm Disc Brakes
Voltbike Yukon 750 Shimano Tourney 7 Speed Derailleur

Summary

  • An affordable but surprisingly powerful and quiet electric fat bike, sells online only and ships from Canada with a flat rate $70 fee, comes with a comprehensive 1 year warranty
  • Upgraded Kenda Juggernaut tires that feel good on pavement, dirt, sand and snow, removable battery is convenient to charge and has a USB port on the side mostly out of the way for portable electronics
  • More active saddle and bar setup, the reach was a bit longer which might suit taller riders, integrated headlight is convenient on cloudy days for winter riding or at night, trigger throttle design doesn't compromise grip
  • Only available in one color scheme and one frame size, basic Shimano Tourney 7 speed drivetrain, average mechanical disc brakes, the battery rattled a bit on my unit, suspension is fork is entry level

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

VoltBike

Model:

Yukon 750

Price:

$1,499 ($70 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62 lbs (28.12 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs (3.26 kg)

Motor Weight:

14 lbs (6.35 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

72" Length, 29.5" Stand Over Height, 24" Reach

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Black

Frame Fork Details:

Basic Top Gun Suspension with 90 mm Travel, 135 mm Dropout Width, 11 mm Axle

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, MF-TZ21, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shiman SIS Index Shifter on Right

Cranks:

42T Chainring with Aluminum Bash Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo M248DU Alloy Cage Style Platform

Headset:

VP-A41ACK

Stem:

Promax DA-3210 ~8° Rise

Handlebar:

Promax Low-Rise, 25" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Artek Vigorous Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Flat Rubber, Black

Saddle:

Selle Royal Freccia

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

320 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Samson Double Walled Alloy, Punched Out

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Juggernaut, 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

31TPI, Wire Bead, 5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Integrated LED Headlight, Rust Resistant Z Chain, Floating Ball Compass, Flick Bell, Optional Fenders and Rack $100

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, USB Charging Port on Right Side of Battery

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Sanyo

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

499.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

APT Development, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Assist Level (1-9), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

VoltBike is a leader in low cost electric bikes, I visited their headquarters near Vancouver Canada in 2015 and learned more about their online sales business… shipping to Canada and the US for a flat $70. If you don’t live near a bike shop but want an efficient city ebike or something a little more wild like the Yukon here, they can be a great option. My experience testing their products has been mostly good with only the occasional minor damage in shipping (the kickstand arrived broken on one of their folding mini fat bikes recently). All things considered, with their one year warranty and wide selection of styles I’ve been pretty impressed. Of course, there are always trade-offs when you try to hit lower price points and I encountered a few with the updated Yukon 750. Their prior Yukon model was built around a slightly weaker and louder 500 watt geared hub motor and had an exposed controller box and top mounted battery. It’s easy to appreciate how much nicer the 750 looks as well as how the frame balance has been improved. The top tube here is sloped down to make standing over the frame more comfortable and a suspension fork has been added to improve comfort… all for just $350 more!

But as I said, there are some trade off’s with the value approach and some that I noticed were the more basic seven speed Shimano Tourney drivetrain. It does the job but might go out of tune easier, adds some weight and just has a limited selection. There’s no slap guard on the right chainstay but that’s not a huge deal considering the frame is Aluminum and won’t rust there if it gets knicked. The suspension fork is comfortable but very basic with no adjustments or lockout and it’s probably heavier than something like a RockShox Bluto air fork. By the way, don’t rush out and buy that fork for this ebike because I believe it’s designed for a tapered head tube and I think the Yukon 750 is straight. The battery rattled a bit during my ride and I tried to demonstrate this in the video review but it never cut out and the model I tested was an early build so perhaps that will be resolved? That’s about it… these are all minor gripes and yes, I wish it had a bottle cage mounting point on the seat tube but there are accessories to work around that.

Getting back to what works on this bike… the motor is powerful, it offers enough zip to start and maintain in deep soft sand and this really surprised me! You get a nice large LCD display panel that’s backlit and an integrated headlight that doesn’t require separate batteries! A rechargeable backlight could be added inexpensively later if you do a lot of early morning or evening riding. The battery can be charged on or off the frame and helps to reduce the weight of the bike when lifting for transport or service but I wish the front wheel offered quick release to further reduce weight. It’s not a huge deal to unscrew though and I love the adjustable length kickstand that’s far back and out of the way for pedaling so if you back up and the cranks turn they don’t collide :)

The tires on this bike were a big upgrade from before and since they take a lot of abuse if you ride off-road and could potentially make a lot of noise if you stay on road I feel like the tread pattern they chose was thoughtfully chosen. It offers good durability and is a good all-around design. The only other big consideration with this particular bike is that the stem is kind of long, the bars are low-rise and the saddle is active. That means you tend to lean forward more when riding and can feel the bumps in your arms, shoulders and bottom. The saddle itself is a nice one, just not super soft. Consider adding a 27.2 mm Thudbuster to improve comfort along with lowering tire PSI (especially for riding on soft surfaces like sand… we used ~7 PSI). I guess one final area is worth scrutinizing here and that’s the brakes which are average sized with 160 mm rotors. They’re mechanical which require more wrist strength to actuate and again, smaller rotors means less mechanical advantage and the bike is on the heavier side at ~62 lbs. When you’re slashing prices you have to make trade offs and I feel like VoltBike made them pretty well. This is the kind of bike that could get rusty and beat up if used in salty sand or salty snow environments. When you spend a ton of money on a really nice bike sometimes it’s not as fun to actually take it out, knowing that it is going to be damaged. With a cheaper bike like this you still get good power and can have a lot of fun and again, I feel like it looks really nice and has really been improved since the original 500 watt model.

This review was shot with the help and financial support of Cabo Adventures in Cabo San Lucas Mexico! If you’d like to go for an electric fat bike ride on the beach like we did for these photos and video you can visit their website at www.cabo-adventures.com to learn more. I found their commitment to environmental sustainability to be inspiring, they offer lots of activities outside of ebikes, the food was good and their employees were wonderful. Cabo itself is one of the safest parts of Mexico, the airport is nice, roads are good and lots of celebrities visit because it’s only a 2.5 hour flight from Los Angeles. I shot a fun vlog about the visit where you can see some of the behind the scenes action here. My thanks again to the organization for being open to a creative review like this where we could truly test the bikes in a rigorous and majestic environment :D Big thanks to VoltBike for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • The motor is fairly quiet but feels zippy and had no problem with the soft sand or hills we tested it on, when the air pressure was lowered in the tires to ~7 PSI the bike worked great, the 8Fun motor seemed to be fat-bike specific and extra wide to support the spoke pattern of the wheels, it looked nice
  • The battery can be charged on or off the bike, has an integrated USB charging port (though it’s a bit exposed on the right side) and you only need to push one button to get the bike powered on, not two! Also, keys don’t have to be left in when riding
  • Pedal assist relies on a 12 magnet sensor, that’s the highest number I see on other bikes and it leads to faster on/off activation, I also love that the brake levers override all power modes and cut the motor when pulled
  • It’s neat that you can override assist at any time with the trigger throttle with full power output! Note however that assist is always active, there is not throttle-only mode on the bike
  • I love that this bike offers nine levels of pedal assist because the increments are finder and differences are more subtle… you can find the perfect level for your terrain, range and ride style
  • I love that VoltBike sells a matching fender and rack set for just $100, it can be difficult to find the correct size of accessories when dealing with unique frames like those of fat tire bicycles
  • Thumb throttles work great for off-road riding because they don’t compromise your grip on the handle bar, I hear some people say that they are also easier to actuate and can be adjusted up or down to sit wherever your thumb feels most comfortable
  • The punched out rims are cool looking, reduce weight and might offer a little bit more comfort and cushion than solid ones, the red liners show through and match the paint accents on the frame
  • I like that the battery is seated into the downtube and doesn’t stick up very far, it leaves a bit more room for hanging the bike on some racks, lifting it and possibly adding a tight fitting bottle cage adapter to the seat tube like this
  • I appreciate having a kickstand and love that this one is adjustable and mounted far enough back on the left chainstay that it doesn’t collide with the crank and pedal if you are backing up (the crank automatically turns)
  • The Kenda Juggernaut pro tires are high quality… light but durable and with a good off-road tread pattern that’s still fairly dense for use on hard surfaces
  • Quality battery cells from Sanyo, a generous one year comprehensive warranty and flat rate shipping to the US and Canada for just $70 (cheaper than almost all other bikes I see being sold online)
  • I like that the top tube slopes down, lowering stand over height to accommodate people with shorter inseams, I feel like it could slant more but VoltBike also has the Mariner folding fat bike for people who really need a lower stand over or just don’t like the big frames

Cons:

  • The display panel is compact, swivels to reduce glare and offers a lot of information but isn’t removable… this means it could take more damage if left outside, I do like that it’s backlit and that the headlight is powered off the main battery pack however
  • The button pad is easy to reach and fairly intuitive so you can arrow up or down when riding for more or less pedal assist power but the plastic cover is more delicate than inset buttons, ours got bent during tests when the bike crashed
  • This isn’t necessarily a bad thing but the saddle felt firm and the stem and bars were positioned further forward and lower down to accommodate active riding or larger longer-armed riders, you could always swap the stem out, replace the seat and get different bars like cruiser style if you prefer, I like that the bike has suspension but it’s not adjustable or lockable… just basic
  • Maybe it was just the unit I was testing but the battery rattled a little bit, I was surprised because it seems very securely mounted, maybe the fit is just a little loose?
  • The pedals are decent but I prefer wider, grippier ones like these Wellgo’s especially if you’re riding in snow… I do like the oversized thumb shifter however which works great with gloves on
  • The brakes are kind of average being mechanical vs. hydraulic and since the rotors are smaller at 160 mm vs. 180 mm they heat up a bit more and require more hand strength to stop
  • I wish the chainring had a plate on both sides, not just the outside, because sometimes when riding at higher speeds using the throttle bounding around off-road the chain can come off, I’d also appreciate a slap guard on the right chain stay
  • The floating compass is unique but a little gimmicky, I definitely appreciate the bell, would be nice if the grips were locking but considering their basic flat design it’s not a huge deal if they spin
  • Considering how large and heavy the bike is I love that you can take the battery pack off to reduce weight but I wish the front wheel had quick release, just to make it easier to fit into cars and other tight spaces vs. loosening and twisting the handlebars

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More VoltBike Reviews

VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An exceptionally affordable, feature rich electric bike, built around an approachable frame that's easier to mount and stand over, offers pedal assist and throttle override operation. The battery pack is protected by the top tube, positioned low and center along the…...

VoltBike Enduro Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable full suspension trail bike with quiet, but powerful, mid-drive motor and integrated downtube battery pack, full-sized USB charging port on battery, adjustable top speed. Integrated LED headlight, backlit LCD display panel, and standard reflectors for urban riding, high-pressure tires…...

VoltBike Mariner Review

  • MSRP: $1,249
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A miniaturized fat tire electric bike that's sand and snow capable, you get fenders, a rack and integrated lights for utility and safety no matter the terrain. Mid-mount battery design keeps weight low and centered, it's removable for reduced weight (when folding…...

VoltBike Urban Review

  • MSRP: $1,049
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An ultra-affordable folding electric bike sold online from Canada, offers a full range of accessories including lights, fenders and a rear carry rack. Available in black or white but only one size, you get six gears with a…...

VoltBike Yukon Review

  • MSRP: $1,159
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value priced electric fat bike with a six speed drivetrain, integrated headlight and optional fender + rack kit. Available in two flavors (350 watt motor or more powerful 500 watt motor), sold online…...

2015 VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A very affordable city style electric bike with lots of useful accessories including integrated lights, fenders and rack. Only available in one frame size ~19" but the adjustable stem and seat hight help…...

VoltBike Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value oriented electric bike available in one size (19"), one frame style (step-thru) and one color (black). Comes standard with lots of useful accessories including full length plastic fenders, a rear carry…...


William
1 year ago

Great review once again Court! Good to see you had fun riding the Yukon at the beach over variable soft/hard sand and rock. Look forward to your review on the other VoltBike Mariner and how it compares with the similar Trail Viper 350W, and if it feels stable in terms of loose parts/components when going over bumps, since you mentioned the battery on the Yukon rattled, so I suspect things to be worse on folding bikes. Also, please comment whether you feel the power and speed difference between the Yukon 750 vs Mariner 500 vs Trail Viper 350, when doing 0 to 20mph. I believe shipping to US is $69 and Canada is $49, last I checked when looking to shop for an eBike on VoltBike website, so you may want to double check that.

Reply
Rick
1 month ago

VoltBike’s web site has the Yukon’s batter at 48V 11.6Ah / 556Wh Lithium-ion with Samsung INR18650-33G cells .

Reply
Court Rye
1 month ago

Thanks Rick, it may have been updated since this review was filmed. I find that VoltBike and some of the other direct-to-consumer brands make incremental improvements throughout the year.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

ace20ri
18 hours ago

Consolidating this post from another one I made!

I recently swapped out the nubby stock Juggernauts for Origin8 Supercell tires. Talk about a huge difference! My ride is so much smoother and quite. I also converted the wheels to tubeless and have not looked back. Here are a few pics:

Origin8 next to the stock Kenda's:

Gorilla tape shown applied to wheel for tubeless conversion. I also took the liberty to change the liner from red to black. A lot more stealthy

Origin8 mounted next to stock Kenda's mounted.

Picture of my beast of a Yukon.

Close up on tire tread (I took some frustration out on the front fender during another upgrade).

Side view of front tire tread.

Side view of rear tire.

ace20ri
18 hours ago

I looked at Osprey as well when I thought about going with a back pack instead of a pannier. I do feel a little more "nimble" with a back pack instead of a pannier but my back had a lot to say about that after a few round trips. I have over 1k miles with my garment pannier and could not be happier. Since the Yukon is a rear hub, it takes the extra load like a champ. The rack system is pretty universal so what ever you choose I'm sure it will work out.

PCDoctorUSA
5 days ago

@mrgold35 I had a Topeak MTX Trunk Bag for a couple of years until one of the side pouches where I kept my dress shoes for work started to rip. Great bag but awkward to carry if I had to make a stop somewhere. If I go with the Yukon, replacing the tires will be my first task, and I'll let my LBS do the work. Looking at the Origin8 Supercells.

I've been fortunate in my road sharing experience and find that most motorists will move over to provide an additional buffer. However, there's always the occasional jerk that tries to polish his side mirror with my sleeve, or tries to beat me to the intersection so he can make a right turn without having to stop to wait on me to cross. A separated bike path is the way to go, but if it's a "multi-use pathway" like I have along a portion of my route, you have to put up with the soccer moms out walking 3 abreast, or the lone jogger that's weaving from side-to-side. Calling out "On your left!" is usually met with a WTF look. I recently got a bell, but it doesn't work on pedestrians with earbuds wedged in their ears.

I started to video all my rides with my GeekPro after a couple of close encounters with vehicles. Like many places, bicyclists are considered fair game for motorists in Hawaii and there's a definite lack of enforcement. Riding on the sidewalk is illegal in business districts, Waikiki, and where otherwise posted. Where it is allowed, bicyclists are required not to exceed 10 mph, which I can understand. I've seen videos on YT of some awesome bike infrastructure in California that makes me envious. I guess it will take another 1979 energy crisis (anyone here old enough to remember that one?) before Government seriously considers bicycles as a viable transportation alternative and makes the necessary investment. Sorry, time to get off my soap box.

Denis Shelston
5 days ago

The 30TPI Juggernauts on the Yukon are a bear to remove. I have the process down now but I break a tire lever every time I had to remove the tires on the Yukon. ;)

I've seen a few youtube videos using zip ties, wonder if it's makes it easier...

ace20ri
6 days ago

@ace20ri Are you happy with the panniers? I had a Topeak MTX Trunk Bag on my Trek until one of the side pouches started to rip. Great bag, but the hard shell made it awkward for carrying over my shoulder if I needed to stop somewhere and leave the bike. I didn't want to spend $100-200 at the time for new panniers so I took the "functional value" route and installed a wire basket on the rear. Granted it would kill the whole fung shui of a Yukon, but it works for my Trek FX. I just drop in my backpack and go. If I get a Yukon, the wire basket is staying on the Trek. ;)

I am really happy with the garment pannier. Besides keeping my clothes somewhat presentable when I take them out it has a padded laptop section inside that is pretty well protected from moisture. It comes with a rain cover but never had to use it since rainfall is pretty unusual where I live. The few times I was surprised with rain, it was a light drizzle and the pannier held up well keeping everything inside dry.

I did not want to spend a lot either on a pannier but I have a bad back from my college football days so a backpack was not an option for my 25 mile daily round trip commute.

I would never judge anyone and their taste so if a basket works for you then go for it. But I would agree with you that the basket should stay off the Yukon ;):D:cool:

ace20ri
6 days ago

@ace20ri Correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm guessing with going tubeless it will be easier to plug a tire puncture than having to go through the hassle of removing the wheel to replace a tube. My commute is 16 miles round-trip and 100% paved surface (asphalt/concrete). In Hawaii, a street sweeper would be a truck with a broom caught underneath the frame. In all fairness, I did see a street sweeper here once, but I haven't seen it since. We probably only have one.

That's the thought, whether that turns out to be true I'll eventually find out. The 30TPI Juggernauts on the Yukon are a bear to remove. I have the process down now but I break a tire lever every time I had to remove the tires on the Yukon. I have been checking tire for punctures and have not found any yet. The tires have been holding pressure at 18 psi. The day after I converted them to tubeless I had to add a few psi, which I read is pretty normal after going tubeless, especially on a rim that is not tubeless ready. One thing to know is the rim used on Yukon's purchased around October/November of 2016 have a seem that I found leaks. Eventually Stan's sealant did it's job but it took about a day to seal so keep that in mind if you go that route. Nice joke about the street sweeper. Seems like there is probably only one in Silicon Valley as well ;)

John from Connecticut
6 days ago

Hello all - I need some help. I am getting the below 4x4 Sprinter Van that has a bed that raises. I want to put two bikes under the bed that fit when it is lowered - which will require taking the front wheel off.

What my requirements are:

A fun - want to ride every day - ride.
Suspension (through forks / tires) that will allow us to ride on easy to medium trails. I assume the full suspension bikes can't take a bike rack.....
Must have a bike rack as we will be taking camping stuff at least 10 miles down the trail... or getting groceries.
Long lasting battery.
Tough as we will be banging this thing around.
Unique - I love having cool things that spark conversations. Not to show off - but to start a conversation... I like to talk....
Weight - In my experience the lighter the bike the better the carve. But... I understand the electric bike is a lot heavier which is fine - expected - but 70+ pounds I wonder if that is too heavy for some of these??

We will be peddling a lot - I have a Carbon Fiber DaVinci (which is over my head in capabilities) so I want a bike that I can peddle a lot of the time.... maybe 50% on assist 1 or 2.. At least that is my vision - might change as I've never had an electric bike! I'm 48 and still want to go to places that others people aren't.

The bikes (I need two - one for me / one for my girl -- 5' 10" / 5' 6") that I'm kind of excited about are:

Haibike SDURO Trekking 9.5 - a little expensive and unsure about the off road capability. Looks like it is well put together - well thought out bike. Looks mad cool. A take down from this bike might be the M2S XC Sport?? Half the price.

M2S R750 Looks like a nice bike for the price. Looks like it is mad fun and has decent options. Unsure if that is an actual 750 Watt motor or the peak? Wish the battery was 52v. 62 pounds.

RadRover Man I love this company - flew from Key Largo up to Seattle to tested the bike. My only problem with the RadRover is that it seems that it hasn't been updated that much. I wish it had an option for a better battery and forks.

Volt Yukon Limited Looks like a real nice bike - possibly a step above the Rad but that is more like a Ford / Chevy argument.... they are too close to call so go with the one that looks the best. And the Volt guy is a little aggressive replying to comments anywhere the Volt is talked about. If I had to pick between the two - I think I would go Volt but would choose the R750 over both.

Teo S Another well priced bike and it seems to be a pretty nice one with a 750W motor . I am unsure how it compares the other Rad / Volt. Looks like the people who bought this bike really like it. But that is all relative -

Bulls / Specialized / Trek / and many other high end brands that make amazing bikes... but they seem to be a lot more expensive. I'm sure super nice rides - but is the price justified?

HaiBike
https://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/672/2018-sduro-trekking-9-5?variant=3840272848
M2S XC Sport
https://shop.m2sbikes.com/collections/frontpage/products/xc-mid-drive-electric-commuter?variant=38435959432
M2S R750
https://shop.m2sbikes.com/collections/frontpage/products/all-terrain-electric-fat-bike
RadRover
https://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radrover-electric-fat-bike?variant=1121017965
Volt Yukon Limited
http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-yukon/voltbike-yukon-750-limited.html
Teo S
https://teofatbike.com/boutique/en/teo-s/teo-s-medium-noir-750w-p111c83/

Hello SV Moving On,
Looking for opinions on e-Bikes. I purchased a Trek XM700+ this past July and I absolutely love it ! My average daily ride is 20-ish miles and I hate to stop.

The Bosch Performance Motor is silky smooth, but very powerful, the Intuvia Controller is simple to use. My XM700+ glides along bringing me great joy....Hills, 'there are none' : ) I never thought cycling could be so much fun !... I made one change and added the Cirrus Bodyfloat seat post which I consider and absolute must. For me the frame stiffness was more then my back would tolerate, but the Bodyfloat is a marvelous piece of engineering, now my Trek is so comfortable...

The disk brakes are strong, extremely smooth and boy do they work. The swept back handlebars and the ergonomic grips make for a very comfortable ride.... The bike feels rock solid and is very well built. I've put on a little over 1000 miles in 3 months.

I'm sure there are many fine e-bikes out there, and I'm sure a few that are 'not so fine', but to me the Trek XM700+ plus is worth every penny and I'd do it all over again...

In fact I'm sort of doing that. I just ordered a Trek Powerfly 7 Mountain Bike based on my 700+ experience. I want to ride gravel/stone dust trails and I don't feel stable enough on the 7oo. The bike is fine, the issue is me, my 71 year old agility isn't what it used to be.

One last thing...A bike rack. I bought a Sirrus Freedom SuperClamp 2. It is great, once the hitch is installed, the rack is simple to install and remove from your vehicle. The rack is well built. Sirrus is a US company ( Madison Wisconsin ) . They've been in Wisconsin for 40 years, long before the catch phrase "Make America great again" . : ) I hope this was helpful.
All the best, John

PCDoctorUSA
6 days ago

@Mike Burns Your points are spot on about the impression of the step-thru Elegant vs the Yukon. I definitely think Voltbike could sweep the entry-level commuter market by designing a commuter bike with a more aggressive look with the same quality build as their other bikes and keep the selling price under $1500. Take the look of Prodecotech's Phantom XR and outfit it with a removable rear rack, fenders, and the rest of the Voltbike component package and I'll buy one today.

Regarding tires, I thought I had to stay with a 4" tire on such a wide rim. I guess that shows how much I know. If I go with the Yukon (hope to make a decision within the next few weeks), my plans were to have my LBS swap out the Kenda's for something quieter like the Origin8 Supercell tires. As for the Elegant, I wish Voltbike had made the rear rack removable instead of a weld-on. And while I don't have a problem with the step-thru frame, it does prevent me from putting it on my car's hanging bike rack if I need to transport it due to a roadside emergency or scheduled maintenance at my LBS. I thought maybe I could get around it by using one of those adapter bars that are made specifically for women's and kids' bikes, but most of them have a weight limit of under 40#.

Joy
6 days ago

Forgive me, but ive owned the yukon 750 for about 3 hours now, and I have lots of questions. I would greatly appreciate the help since I do not see any details guide aside from one PDF.
1. does pedal assist need to be at zero in order for the throttle to engage completely ie: so I can not pedal at all?
2. how can I go into advanced settings and set pedal assist to 0?
3. as I am in Canada and I want to bike in the winter, aside from the neoprene battery cover, do you have any other suggestions? Will the display be OK if snowed upon? Is there something simple that I could cover that with?
I am sure I will have more questions once I actually ride it for more than a minute! Thank you !

Mike Burns
6 days ago

@Mike Burns Thank you for your insight. I love how cool the Yukon looks, but the Elegant is probably the more practical choice for my commute.

Everybody says the same thing. The Elegant is the right design mechanically but doesn't have the "attitude" or look that they want. Lots of people feel "dweeby" riding anything with a step-thru frame. I personally have no issue with the look and have never had a negative comment riding the flat-black Elegants.
No one makes a moderatly-priced, agressive-looking ebike with 2.5-3" tires. I will suggest such a mid-fat tire option on the Yukon/step-over Elegant to Voltbike. You could always put 26x2.5 Hookworms on the Yukon. I am using them on a 6000-watt full-suspension enduro bike conversion. Great traction on anything but snow, mud, sand, and deep loose gravel. Handle wonderfully on pavement even at 50 MPH. My daily driver ebike for 4 years.

ace20ri
6 days ago

Thanks for those photos.

How many TPI for the Origin8 you installed, 30TPI ?

They are 30TPI

@ace20ri Great looking Yukon! I checked out your post "Customized Voltbikes", and you have definitely taken the bike to a new level. Those Supercell tires would definitely be the first thing I change if I go with the Yukon. How do they hold up against punctures and what PSI are you running them at? What motivated you to go tubeless and where did you get the black liner? Can I also ask what your commute is like? Distance, road surface, grades, etc. Sorry for all the questions.

Thanks for checking out the post. I only have 125 miles on the Origin8 Supercell tires but so far but no punctures yet.. I have had 5 flats on my rear wheel in the past 4 months so this last flat I decided to go tubeless. I am still messing around with the PSI setting, but right now I run them at 18PSI, with a max of 20PSI possible. I ordered the Origin8 liners from Amazon (hyperlink attached). My commute 25mi/day is all paved road (both asphalt and concrete) with about 300 feet of elevation. I live in Silicon Valley in California so we have great bike lanes but depending on the city the lanes can have lots of debris due to the lack of street sweepers. I am itching to try them out on the beaches here.

PCDoctorUSA
6 days ago

@ace20ri Are you happy with the panniers? I had a Topeak MTX Trunk Bag on my Trek until one of the side pouches started to rip. Great bag, but the hard shell made it awkward for carrying over my shoulder if I needed to stop somewhere and leave the bike. I didn't want to spend $100-200 at the time for new panniers so I took the "functional value" route and installed a wire basket on the rear. Granted it would kill the whole fung shui of a Yukon, but it works for my Trek FX. I just drop in my backpack and go. If I get a Yukon, the wire basket is staying on the Trek. ;)

PCDoctorUSA
6 days ago

@ace20ri Great looking Yukon! I checked out your post "Customized Voltbikes", and you have definitely taken the bike to a new level. Those Supercell tires would definitely be the first thing I change if I go with the Yukon. How do they hold up against punctures and what PSI are you running them at? What motivated you to go tubeless and where did you get the black liner? Can I also ask what your commute is like? Distance, road surface, grades, etc. Sorry for all the questions.

Denis Shelston
6 days ago

@PCDoctorUSA I commute with my Yukon and love it. Granted, I have changed a lot on my ebike, I recently swapped out the nubby stock Juggernauts for Origin8 Supercell tires. Talk about a huge difference! My ride is so much smoother and quite. I also converted the wheels to tubeless and have not looked back. Here are a few pics:

Origin8 next to the stock Kenda's:

Gorilla tape shown applied to wheel for tubeless conversion. I also took the liberty to change the liner from red to black. A lot more stealthy

Origin8 mounted next to stock Kenda's mounted.

Picture of my beast of a Yukon.

Close up on tire tread (I took some frustration out on the front fender during another upgrade).

Side view of front tire tread.

Side view of rear tire.

Thanks for those photos.

How many TPI for the Origin8 you installed, 30TPI ?

ace20ri
6 days ago

@PCDoctorUSA I commute with my Yukon and love it. Granted, I have changed a lot on my ebike, I recently swapped out the nubby stock Juggernauts for Origin8 Supercell tires. Talk about a huge difference! My ride is so much smoother and quite. I also converted the wheels to tubeless and have not looked back. Here are a few pics:

Origin8 next to the stock Kenda's:

Gorilla tape shown applied to wheel for tubeless conversion. I also took the liberty to change the liner from red to black. A lot more stealthy

Origin8 mounted next to stock Kenda's mounted.

Picture of my beast of a Yukon.

Close up on tire tread (I took some frustration out on the front fender during another upgrade).

Side view of front tire tread.

Side view of rear tire.

1/7
PCDoctorUSA
7 days ago

@Mike Burns Thank you for your insight. I love how cool the Yukon looks, but the Elegant is probably the more practical choice for my commute.

Mike Burns
7 days ago

@Mike Burns I'm looking for my first ebike and Voltbike's offerings are definitely in my price range. I stumbled across Voltbike after seeing EBR's review of their Elegant model, but then got really interested in the Yukon. However, after reading some feedback on my recent post ("Any Yukon Commuters") I'm revisiting the Elegant. My biggest concern is how well the bike will hold up on the terrible roads over here. An elevated rail system is being built along my route so the roadway underneath is taking a beating from the heavy equipment. Riding on the sidewalk is illegal through business districts, which only encompasses a small portion of my route but that short time on the road can take a toll on a bike. Do you think the Elegant would hold up as a daily commuter?

Regarding the fenders, can they be removed? Is it possible to outfit it with better fitting fenders or modify the existing one enough so it's not an issue? In the EBR review of the Elegant, Court highlighted the flimsy fenders and their clearance.

If you have any experience with the Yukon 750, I'd love to hear your feedback on that post.

The Elegant should hold up fine. The frame is quite robust and the rack in welded on. The tires are wide enough to deal with rough roads without being so wide as to limit range. The battery and controller are identical to the Yukon. I can't comment on the long-term durability of the front fork but I haven't heard of any broken ones. As with any bicycle, check every single bolt when you buy it and every so often after that. Inspect your spokes regularly and keep them tensioned properly. If you have loose spokes, you will end up with bent wheels and broken spokes. Also, when you are about to hit a pothole or bump, get your butt off the saddle. Your legs are probably the best suspension out there! I see people and their bikes take jarring hits all the time that could have been avoided by rising off the saddle.

Fenders can easily be removed in less than 5 minutes. The front one is the problem. It is way too close to the tire. The back one visibly shakes (as do all bicycle fenders), but does not rattle or rub. Enlarging the slot on the front fender did not provide enough additional clearance. Reversing the metal bracket and positioning the fender above the fork brace instead of below works. You don't have road salt in Hawaii, so I would just remove it. I have ridden a bunch of fat bikes and owned one for a bit. If I was riding on the snow or sand, they are amazing. Might even consider a full-suspension one as my next normal off-road bike. Don't think they make great commuters because of the tires weird handling on pavement handling and their effect on range. I think 2-2.5" tires are the sweet spot for commuters with variable road conditions.

PCDoctorUSA
7 days ago

@SuperGoop Did you ever get an Elegant? I haven't crossed the Yukon 750 off my list as a commuter, but your comments and others did get me to revisit my short list and the Elegant was on it. Any thoughts on the Elegant as my commuter? I don't mind spending a $100 - $200 to change out a few components to get it right. I do wish the top tube was more of a conventional slope so I could haul it on my hanging rack when necessary.

PCDoctorUSA
7 days ago

@Mike Burns I'm looking for my first ebike and Voltbike's offerings are definitely in my price range. I stumbled across Voltbike after seeing EBR's review of their Elegant model, but then got really interested in the Yukon. However, after reading some feedback on my recent post ("Any Yukon Commuters") I'm revisiting the Elegant. My biggest concern is how well the bike will hold up on the terrible roads over here. An elevated rail system is being built along my route so the roadway underneath is taking a beating from the heavy equipment. Riding on the sidewalk is illegal through business districts, which only encompasses a small portion of my route but that short time on the road can take a toll on a bike. Do you think the Elegant would hold up as a daily commuter?

Regarding the fenders, can they be removed? Is it possible to outfit it with better fitting fenders or modify the existing one enough so it's not an issue? In the EBR review of the Elegant, Court highlighted the flimsy fenders and their clearance.

If you have any experience with the Yukon 750, I'd love to hear your feedback on that post.

PCDoctorUSA
1 week ago

@mrgold35 Thanks for sharing how you use your Rad Rover. The Rad Rover and Voltbike Yukon have been my two top fat-tire bikes all along, but the Yukon eventually bumped the Rover out of the running when Rad Bikes wanted $400 for shipping versus $120 from Volt. That $280 difference buys a lot of aftermarket accessories like a suspension seat post and quieter road tires. ;) On that note, can anyone recommend a quieter fat-tire bike for primarily asphalt road travel? I've seen another commuter with a fat-tire bike along my route a few times, but we seem to always be at opposite corners of a large busy intersection so I can't stop him to get his opinion. I also can't tell if he's riding an ebike or not.

@rich c Any recommendations on a "plus tire bike?"

SuperGoop
1 week ago

I don’t think the Yukon 750 will make a good commuter bike, IMO. It is too heavy, and the fat tires make locking it up on bike racks difficult. I have the “Limited” version with fenders and rack, and it is 70+ lbs with cargo, pannier, etc.

It may also standout too much on bike racks. You may need 2 locks, or one big lock because of the fat tires.

I also have the Voltbike Urban, which may work for you as a commuter bike and it is only US$1,059. It is much lighter, smaller, and stealthy. I think the new version is around 47 lbs.

PCDoctorUSA
1 week ago

Currently living on O'ahu and have been commuting 8 miles each way into Honolulu on my Trek FX 7.2 fitness bike for the past 2 years due to economic necessity (one-car family) and to preserve my sanity (Honolulu ranks 8th for most traffic-congested city). The terrible roads here have taken a toll on my bike: 3 flats and 3 broken spokes so far. However, I can still beat the city bus home and I never sit in traffic.

Having well exceeded membership age for AARP, my daily bike commute isn't getting any easier and ebike could help keep me in the game longer and hopefully make it more enjoyable. I was looking at the usual fare of commuter ebikes and knew I needed a strong geared hub motor for some of the hills on my route. The last mile home is an average 5% grade ascent, which makes for a great descent going to work (40.8 mph coasting record to date). I was looking at the Prodecotech Phantom XR and more recently Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S, but then I started reading about commuters using fat-tire ebikes.

To make a long story short, the Yukon 750 Limited has made it to the top of my shopping list due to pricing, rider reviews and the quick response I've received from George Krastev to my questions. Now, I'd like to hear back from any Yukon 750 commuters out there to get their feedback and hear of their personal experiences and whether or not they would buy the bike again.

PCDoctorUSA
1 week ago

If there is one lesson after 2,500 km, I’d consider a less flashy bike. The fat tires draw too much attention. I am now looking at the Surface 604 Colt.
Thanks for all the feedback. I don't want to have to start changing things straight out of the box, which is only going to add to the cost of the bike and defeat the purpose of going with the lower priced Yukon.

I am concerned about the Yukon drawing unnecessary attention since Honolulu hasn't decided how to treat ebikes. Currently, you can't register them as a bike, but they don't consider them a moped either. Certain key players in the Hawaii Bicycling League have made it known on camera that they don't want ebikes in the bike lanes, but everyone wants to find a solution to Honolulu's traffic congestion. The bike lanes along my route are either being removed due to construction or nearly void of riders. There is one multi-use path where I might get some stares, but I may switch to the roadway anyway so I don't have to deal with crosswalks. I have yet to hear of any ebike riders being hassled by HPD for using established bike lanes. Like anything else, be responsible and don't be an a**hole on the bike.

I was interested in the new Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S, but I've read they've been having some quality control issues, which is probably due to the company trying to keep up with consumer demand. Their bikes are well-equipped at a price that's under $2k making them very attractive. One of the ebike shops that was carrying Juiced Bikes has stopped, so I can't check one out for myself. Another ebike dealer here carries Prodecotech bikes, and I really like the look of the Phantom XR. It could easily blend right in as any other bike, but the price tag is over $2k. Finally, I've got another ebike dealer with a used Motiv Shadow that includes a new battery for $999. I'm just nervous about buying a used ebike when I don't know how it was treated. Decisions, decisions.

SuperGoop
1 week ago

A large YUKON sticker would be a nice option from Volt. I was thinking of looking for a talented local art student who could paint the image of a water bottle in its cage to camouflage the battery.
I thought about having no sticker after my white vinyl mod, but it looks really weird naked. I couldn’t just get a VOLTBIKE sticker, and even if I could, the word “Voltbike” screams E-bike!

While my Yukon 750 still gets (positive) attention now, it draws much less attention on the trails and bike paths.

Andy hoff
5 days ago

no throttle only?? that was a deal breaker for me. ugh!

John Barrios
4 weeks ago

Hey what is the weight limit????

Richard Hodgkinson
1 month ago

whats with you running low tire pressure the lower pressure = greater resistance because of more frictions I call that shorter duration between tire replacement if you need a more cushy ride get air bags

HighsNBurgers
2 months ago

Get out there and hump in the ocean? 14:50

actnowone
2 months ago

Great review, love how your reviews on YouTube integrate into your website this all must take you a very long time

Kittawh
4 months ago

nice review as always. you may want to look into deflatators or a portable pump with a gage to lower the psi perfectly

valveman12
4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Ok so based on your review, I just bought the Yukon Limited with the fenders and rear rack. So if I hate it, it will be you fault. Nah just kidding. I'm sure I will like it.

Drónos Vili
7 months ago

This or the radrover? I really want to decide wich one i should get? No power only mode on the voltbike?

Clark Kormier
5 months ago

Rad Rover is a decent product with almost as nice features. If you don't mind the fact that the battery and controller pack look like bricks that were added onto the generic frame with zip ties as an afterthought..

Derrick Lee
7 months ago

Try Rad Power. I got zero response from Voltbike after I bought 2 from them with some quality issues.

jason mcclure
8 months ago

i read on the website its 70 bucks to ship to your business 30 extra bucks to ship to your house

iddddaduncan
8 months ago

What are theses bikes like out west for mountain trails? I live in Idaho and would love to take this into the backcountry.

Clark Kormier
9 months ago

This is the one...In the fat tire ebike category I couldn't find a better value anywhere for the features offered and price point. Now I ride it 6 days out of 7 lol. Shipping was cheap and easy.

Clark Kormier
5 months ago

It's fine on pavement, but if it is wet and rainy the stock knobby tires have a little less grip than a smoother road tire. This beast is designed for off road riding, but it's super fun just running errands around town.

1rcproductions
7 months ago

Clark Kormier How is it on pavement? Trying to decide between fat or mountain style of ebike. Thanks.

40footgiantowl
10 months ago

i recently bought a electric fat bike and was wondering what the usb port on the battery was for?

VoltBike
9 months ago

Voltbike Yukon 750 comes with built-in USB port. You can use this port to charge external devices like cell phone, camera or similar.

John Grijalva
10 months ago

this bike or the radrover?

VoltBike
7 months ago

Hi Derrick, apologize but I still can't find your inquiry in our email list but I will be more than happy to speak with your either by phone or email. When you call just mention this conversation and I will come on the phone. You can also email me at our support or let me know what is your real name so I can find your order. Waiting very much to hear any feedback or comments you may have. By the way Voltbike Urban is using rear motor. It's not on the front.

Clark Kormier
7 months ago

That is too bad, I had no problems with customer service, and the gang I know on our Voltbike Facebook page have had good experiences with them. I absolutely love my Yukon 750. I am still riding it straight out of the box 4 months later, and she runs great. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Derrick Lee
7 months ago

This is one of the names I use online. Just review the emails you ignored within the past 2 weeks, you'll know who I am.

VoltBike
7 months ago

Hi Derrick Lee, I see your comments on few other Voltbike Youtube videos. I will reply here as well. We don't have customer under the name of Derrick Lee. We searched also our email list from the past 2 years and I can't find any request under either your first or last name. We always respond to customer enquiry either before or after the sale. (Most of the time even after regular work hours.) In fact, customer after sale support has been always our number one priority. We realised this early in our business.

Nigel Sookram
7 months ago

Derrick Lee too bad man I'm really thinking of buying one

jose ignacio alvarez
10 months ago

que precio valen esa bici ?? pueden enviar en ESPAÑA

Seani Vostro
10 months ago

I just bought Yukon 750 limited three days ago. Picked it up in their warehouse. Bike is powerful considering i am 6.1 and 230 Lb having lots of fun!

VoltBike
9 months ago

Hi Seani, it was nice meeting you in our warehouse. Glad you are enjoying your Yukon 750.

Clark Kormier
10 months ago

Me too, I got mine 2 weeks ago and it is so much fun I have to ride it every day.

Jesus Jimenez
10 months ago

Court do you know, How I can change the max speed on my Yukon 750? I just got my bike today but it didn't come with a owners manual.

Clark Kormier
10 months ago

I just got my new Yukon 750. I love it, this thing is a beast. It is a large bike but fits my 5'11" frame great. Comes completely assembled except for mounting the handlebars and the pedals, quick and easy. The battery housing is solid on mine and doesn't rattle at all. The mechanical disc brakes work well for basic rides and moderate trails, but for a lot of downhill riding an upgrade is in order. Right out of the box it was tuned and ready to go. For an extra $100 I opted for the upgraded version, and I really like the aluminum flat black fenders, rear rack, and integrated tail light. For the coin this is an amazing, eye-catching package. Peddle assist on the lowest setting had me flying around the local park.

Darryl BEAN
12 months ago

?? isn't the RadRover and the Volt Yukon both rated at 750 w motors?? Same output? Thanks

snowbird29803
1 year ago

I've been following your videos for a while and seriously contemplating a purchase of an electric bike for nearby errands and light shopping. I like this Voltbike for the perceived (by me a novice) value. I am a senior man at 200Lbs. and not a bike guy. So, what makes this bike worth almost a Grand more than the Sondors, shipping notwithstanding? And do YOU as an expert think this is a good bike for the price...or can you recommend any other fat tire electric for me in this price class that is actually available now and would be better for an old guy.

Derrick Lee
7 months ago

Expect zero response to your inquiries from Voltbike if you have quality issues. This is my actual experience with Voltbike after buying 2 bikes from them.

VoltBike
1 year ago

Hi snowbird29803, Yukon 750 is completely different battery setup. The battery and frame on Voltbike Yukon 750 are newer design. The battery is partially integrated into the frame which provides better weight distribution. The motor is also more powerful. Yukon is using brand name Tektro disc brakes and the battery is Sanyo (by Panasonic). Hope this helps.

koolstup
1 year ago

That long stem with the bars forward look very uncomfortable. You could rotate the bars towards you, this would give a shorter reach. I had to do this with my own bike (non electric)

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Yeah, it's good if you're someone with long arms but I'd probably get a shorter stem or riser bars to make it fit me better :)