VoltBike Yukon 750 Review

Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Yukon 750
Voltbike Yukon 750 Bafang 8fun Fat Bike Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Removable Inset 48 Volt Battery
Voltbike Yukon 750 Lcd Display Trigger Throttle
Voltbike Yukon 750 Cranks 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Fat Bike Suspension
Voltbike Yukon 750 Adjustable Kickstand 160 Mm Disc Brakes
Voltbike Yukon 750 Shimano Tourney 7 Speed Derailleur
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Yukon 750
Voltbike Yukon 750 Bafang 8fun Fat Bike Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Removable Inset 48 Volt Battery
Voltbike Yukon 750 Lcd Display Trigger Throttle
Voltbike Yukon 750 Cranks 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Fat Bike Suspension
Voltbike Yukon 750 Adjustable Kickstand 160 Mm Disc Brakes
Voltbike Yukon 750 Shimano Tourney 7 Speed Derailleur

Summary

  • An affordable but surprisingly powerful and quiet electric fat bike, sells online only and ships from Canada with a flat rate $70 fee, comes with a comprehensive 1 year warranty
  • Upgraded Kenda Juggernaut tires that feel good on pavement, dirt, sand and snow, removable battery is convenient to charge and has a USB port on the side mostly out of the way for portable electronics
  • More active saddle and bar setup, the reach was a bit longer which might suit taller riders, integrated headlight is convenient on cloudy days for winter riding or at night, trigger throttle design doesn't compromise grip
  • Only available in one color scheme and one frame size, basic Shimano Tourney 7 speed drivetrain, average mechanical disc brakes, the battery rattled a bit on my unit, suspension is fork is entry level

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

VoltBike

Model:

Yukon 750

Price:

$1,499 ($70 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62 lbs (28.12 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs (3.26 kg)

Motor Weight:

14 lbs (6.35 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

72" Length, 29.5" Stand Over Height, 24" Reach

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Black

Frame Fork Details:

Basic Top Gun Suspension with 90 mm Travel, 135 mm Dropout Width, 11 mm Axle

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, MF-TZ21, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shiman SIS Index Shifter on Right

Cranks:

42T Chainring with Aluminum Bash Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo M248DU Alloy Cage Style Platform

Headset:

VP-A41ACK

Stem:

Promax DA-3210 ~8° Rise

Handlebar:

Promax Low-Rise, 25" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Artek Vigorous Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Flat Rubber, Black

Saddle:

Selle Royal Freccia

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

320 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Samson Double Walled Alloy, Punched Out

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Juggernaut, 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

31TPI, Wire Bead, 5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Integrated LED Headlight, Rust Resistant Z Chain, Floating Ball Compass, Flick Bell, Optional Fenders and Rack $100

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, USB Charging Port on Right Side of Battery

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Sanyo

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

499.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

APT Development, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Assist Level (1-9), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

VoltBike is a leader in low cost electric bikes, I visited their headquarters near Vancouver Canada in 2015 and learned more about their online sales business… shipping to Canada and the US for a flat $70. If you don’t live near a bike shop but want an efficient city ebike or something a little more wild like the Yukon here, they can be a great option. My experience testing their products has been mostly good with only the occasional minor damage in shipping (the kickstand arrived broken on one of their folding mini fat bikes recently). All things considered, with their one year warranty and wide selection of styles I’ve been pretty impressed. Of course, there are always trade-offs when you try to hit lower price points and I encountered a few with the updated Yukon 750. Their prior Yukon model was built around a slightly weaker and louder 500 watt geared hub motor and had an exposed controller box and top mounted battery. It’s easy to appreciate how much nicer the 750 looks as well as how the frame balance has been improved. The top tube here is sloped down to make standing over the frame more comfortable and a suspension fork has been added to improve comfort… all for just $350 more!

But as I said, there are some trade off’s with the value approach and some that I noticed were the more basic seven speed Shimano Tourney drivetrain. It does the job but might go out of tune easier, adds some weight and just has a limited selection. There’s no slap guard on the right chainstay but that’s not a huge deal considering the frame is Aluminum and won’t rust there if it gets knicked. The suspension fork is comfortable but very basic with no adjustments or lockout and it’s probably heavier than something like a RockShox Bluto air fork. By the way, don’t rush out and buy that fork for this ebike because I believe it’s designed for a tapered head tube and I think the Yukon 750 is straight. The battery rattled a bit during my ride and I tried to demonstrate this in the video review but it never cut out and the model I tested was an early build so perhaps that will be resolved? That’s about it… these are all minor gripes and yes, I wish it had a bottle cage mounting point on the seat tube but there are accessories to work around that.

Getting back to what works on this bike… the motor is powerful, it offers enough zip to start and maintain in deep soft sand and this really surprised me! You get a nice large LCD display panel that’s backlit and an integrated headlight that doesn’t require separate batteries! A rechargeable backlight could be added inexpensively later if you do a lot of early morning or evening riding. The battery can be charged on or off the frame and helps to reduce the weight of the bike when lifting for transport or service but I wish the front wheel offered quick release to further reduce weight. It’s not a huge deal to unscrew though and I love the adjustable length kickstand that’s far back and out of the way for pedaling so if you back up and the cranks turn they don’t collide :)

The tires on this bike were a big upgrade from before and since they take a lot of abuse if you ride off-road and could potentially make a lot of noise if you stay on road I feel like the tread pattern they chose was thoughtfully chosen. It offers good durability and is a good all-around design. The only other big consideration with this particular bike is that the stem is kind of long, the bars are low-rise and the saddle is active. That means you tend to lean forward more when riding and can feel the bumps in your arms, shoulders and bottom. The saddle itself is a nice one, just not super soft. Consider adding a 27.2 mm Thudbuster to improve comfort along with lowering tire PSI (especially for riding on soft surfaces like sand… we used ~7 PSI). I guess one final area is worth scrutinizing here and that’s the brakes which are average sized with 160 mm rotors. They’re mechanical which require more wrist strength to actuate and again, smaller rotors means less mechanical advantage and the bike is on the heavier side at ~62 lbs. When you’re slashing prices you have to make trade offs and I feel like VoltBike made them pretty well. This is the kind of bike that could get rusty and beat up if used in salty sand or salty snow environments. When you spend a ton of money on a really nice bike sometimes it’s not as fun to actually take it out, knowing that it is going to be damaged. With a cheaper bike like this you still get good power and can have a lot of fun and again, I feel like it looks really nice and has really been improved since the original 500 watt model.

This review was shot with the help and financial support of Cabo Adventures in Cabo San Lucas Mexico! If you’d like to go for an electric fat bike ride on the beach like we did for these photos and video you can visit their website at www.cabo-adventures.com to learn more. I found their commitment to environmental sustainability to be inspiring, they offer lots of activities outside of ebikes, the food was good and their employees were wonderful. Cabo itself is one of the safest parts of Mexico, the airport is nice, roads are good and lots of celebrities visit because it’s only a 2.5 hour flight from Los Angeles. I shot a fun vlog about the visit where you can see some of the behind the scenes action here. My thanks again to the organization for being open to a creative review like this where we could truly test the bikes in a rigorous and majestic environment :D Big thanks to VoltBike for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • The motor is fairly quiet but feels zippy and had no problem with the soft sand or hills we tested it on, when the air pressure was lowered in the tires to ~7 PSI the bike worked great, the 8Fun motor seemed to be fat-bike specific and extra wide to support the spoke pattern of the wheels, it looked nice
  • The battery can be charged on or off the bike, has an integrated USB charging port (though it’s a bit exposed on the right side) and you only need to push one button to get the bike powered on, not two! Also, keys don’t have to be left in when riding
  • Pedal assist relies on a 12 magnet sensor, that’s the highest number I see on other bikes and it leads to faster on/off activation, I also love that the brake levers override all power modes and cut the motor when pulled
  • It’s neat that you can override assist at any time with the trigger throttle with full power output! Note however that assist is always active, there is not throttle-only mode on the bike
  • I love that this bike offers nine levels of pedal assist because the increments are finder and differences are more subtle… you can find the perfect level for your terrain, range and ride style
  • I love that VoltBike sells a matching fender and rack set for just $100, it can be difficult to find the correct size of accessories when dealing with unique frames like those of fat tire bicycles
  • Thumb throttles work great for off-road riding because they don’t compromise your grip on the handle bar, I hear some people say that they are also easier to actuate and can be adjusted up or down to sit wherever your thumb feels most comfortable
  • The punched out rims are cool looking, reduce weight and might offer a little bit more comfort and cushion than solid ones, the red liners show through and match the paint accents on the frame
  • I like that the battery is seated into the downtube and doesn’t stick up very far, it leaves a bit more room for hanging the bike on some racks, lifting it and possibly adding a tight fitting bottle cage adapter to the seat tube like this
  • I appreciate having a kickstand and love that this one is adjustable and mounted far enough back on the left chainstay that it doesn’t collide with the crank and pedal if you are backing up (the crank automatically turns)
  • The Kenda Juggernaut pro tires are high quality… light but durable and with a good off-road tread pattern that’s still fairly dense for use on hard surfaces
  • Quality battery cells from Sanyo, a generous one year comprehensive warranty and flat rate shipping to the US and Canada for just $70 (cheaper than almost all other bikes I see being sold online)
  • I like that the top tube slopes down, lowering stand over height to accommodate people with shorter inseams, I feel like it could slant more but VoltBike also has the Mariner folding fat bike for people who really need a lower stand over or just don’t like the big frames

Cons:

  • The display panel is compact, swivels to reduce glare and offers a lot of information but isn’t removable… this means it could take more damage if left outside, I do like that it’s backlit and that the headlight is powered off the main battery pack however
  • The button pad is easy to reach and fairly intuitive so you can arrow up or down when riding for more or less pedal assist power but the plastic cover is more delicate than inset buttons, ours got bent during tests when the bike crashed
  • This isn’t necessarily a bad thing but the saddle felt firm and the stem and bars were positioned further forward and lower down to accommodate active riding or larger longer-armed riders, you could always swap the stem out, replace the seat and get different bars like cruiser style if you prefer, I like that the bike has suspension but it’s not adjustable or lockable… just basic
  • Maybe it was just the unit I was testing but the battery rattled a little bit, I was surprised because it seems very securely mounted, maybe the fit is just a little loose?
  • The pedals are decent but I prefer wider, grippier ones like these Wellgo’s especially if you’re riding in snow… I do like the oversized thumb shifter however which works great with gloves on
  • The brakes are kind of average being mechanical vs. hydraulic and since the rotors are smaller at 160 mm vs. 180 mm they heat up a bit more and require more hand strength to stop
  • I wish the chainring had a plate on both sides, not just the outside, because sometimes when riding at higher speeds using the throttle bounding around off-road the chain can come off, I’d also appreciate a slap guard on the right chain stay
  • The floating compass is unique but a little gimmicky, I definitely appreciate the bell, would be nice if the grips were locking but considering their basic flat design it’s not a huge deal if they spin
  • Considering how large and heavy the bike is I love that you can take the battery pack off to reduce weight but I wish the front wheel had quick release, just to make it easier to fit into cars and other tight spaces vs. loosening and twisting the handlebars

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More VoltBike Reviews

VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An exceptionally affordable, feature rich electric bike, built around an approachable frame that's easier to mount and stand over, offers pedal assist and throttle override operation. The battery pack is protected by the top tube, positioned low and center along the…...

VoltBike Enduro Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable full suspension trail bike with quiet, but powerful, mid-drive motor and integrated downtube battery pack, full-sized USB charging port on battery, adjustable top speed. Integrated LED headlight, backlit LCD display panel, and standard reflectors for urban riding, high-pressure tires…...

VoltBike Mariner Review

  • MSRP: $1,249
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A miniaturized fat tire electric bike that's sand and snow capable, you get fenders, a rack and integrated lights for utility and safety no matter the terrain. Mid-mount battery design keeps weight low and centered, it's removable for reduced weight (when folding…...

VoltBike Urban Review

  • MSRP: $1,049
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An ultra-affordable folding electric bike sold online from Canada, offers a full range of accessories including lights, fenders and a rear carry rack. Available in black or white but only one size, you get six gears with a…...

VoltBike Yukon Review

  • MSRP: $1,159
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value priced electric fat bike with a six speed drivetrain, integrated headlight and optional fender + rack kit. Available in two flavors (350 watt motor or more powerful 500 watt motor), sold online…...

2015 VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A very affordable city style electric bike with lots of useful accessories including integrated lights, fenders and rack. Only available in one frame size ~19" but the adjustable stem and seat hight help…...

VoltBike Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value oriented electric bike available in one size (19"), one frame style (step-thru) and one color (black). Comes standard with lots of useful accessories including full length plastic fenders, a rear carry…...


William
1 year ago

Great review once again Court! Good to see you had fun riding the Yukon at the beach over variable soft/hard sand and rock. Look forward to your review on the other VoltBike Mariner and how it compares with the similar Trail Viper 350W, and if it feels stable in terms of loose parts/components when going over bumps, since you mentioned the battery on the Yukon rattled, so I suspect things to be worse on folding bikes. Also, please comment whether you feel the power and speed difference between the Yukon 750 vs Mariner 500 vs Trail Viper 350, when doing 0 to 20mph. I believe shipping to US is $69 and Canada is $49, last I checked when looking to shop for an eBike on VoltBike website, so you may want to double check that.

Reply
Rick
3 months ago

VoltBike’s web site has the Yukon’s batter at 48V 11.6Ah / 556Wh Lithium-ion with Samsung INR18650-33G cells .

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Thanks Rick, it may have been updated since this review was filmed. I find that VoltBike and some of the other direct-to-consumer brands make incremental improvements throughout the year.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

NOBLNG
4 days ago

I received my Yukon 750 Limited last week. It has all of the upgrades that owners have been asking for. First impressions are WOW this thing is great!
Well I got a chance to ride along with my buddy this weekend. We went twice around a 7km long twisty single track trail through the bush at a local provincial park. I've got to say this bike is NOT designed for this type of riding! There is a bit of lag to get going and a LOT of lag before the motor cuts out after I stop pedaling. I needed to keep cutting the power constantly via the brakes to avoid hitting the trees or careening off the path. The motor is not geared low enough to maintain a slow-controllable pace on a super tight trail. My buddy is a more experienced rider and has a mid-drive and seemed to make out better. That said, I love the bike on the street and it will be just fine on more open trails. I did not buy it with the intention of doing tight trails or winter riding so I am looking forward to better weather so I can really get some use out of it.
Greg.

NOBLNG
1 week ago

I just purchased a Volt Yukon (geared hub drive) and it has a twist throttle and pedal assist. It also has a defeat button which will lock out the throttle so it can't be accidentally actuated.

Dwight Anderson
1 week ago

Two observations:

1) The power of the Yukon 750 is not restricted. You can set the current from 1A to 30A. The label on the controller shows max 20A. I believe the default setting is U.S. 15A (x 48V ~ 750W motor) and Canada 10A (x 48V ~ 500W motor). It is not locked, so the user can change it. I tried setting it to 20A, and my display shows 1,000W on full throttle. I set it back to 15A, because 1,000W is beyond the operating Wattage of the motor, and I don't need that much power.

2) The 32 km/h max speed is based on an average rider weight (say 180 lbs) on flat ground. If you are lighter or going downhill, the throttle alone can go faster than 32 km/hr. Conversely, if you are heavier, then the throttle alone may not reach 32 km/h on flat.

As an experiment, I lifted the rear wheel off the ground (ie. weightless rider), and the throttle alone can reach max 40 km/h. This makes sense, because with a 180 lbs rider, the speed will drop back down to the legal 32 km/h .
Glad to hear you all love your bikes! I ordered mine on Thursday and received it on Monday. It was too good of a deal to pass up, $200 off regular price plus free shipping. I have very little experience with e-bikes. My Buddy has a Bionix and also added a BBSHD to his KHS500. I rode them each briefly one day and was hooked. My new Yukon 750 Limited has the chain stay protector, derailleur protector and an adjustable handlebar stem. It also has an 11.6Ah battery and a twist throttle instead of a thumb style. I have not ridden it yet except once around the yard at work. It's -14C right now but is supposed to get up to -2 on the weekend. I hope it does so I can try it out a bit. Thanks to all, I enjoyed reading this thread greatly. It is good to know that the bike is so user-friendly and that all sorts of upgrades are possible.
Greg.

Welcome Nobling. You are going to love your bike. I have the Yukon 750 limited and it is everything I hoped for in an electric bike.

NOBLNG
1 week ago

I too got timely responses through the submission form. I ordered a Yukon on Thursday and received it on Monday.

NOBLNG
1 week ago

Glad to hear you all love your bikes! I ordered mine on Thursday and received it on Monday. It was too good of a deal to pass up, $200 off regular price plus free shipping. I have very little experience with e-bikes. My Buddy has a Bionix and also added a BBSHD to his KHS500. I rode them each briefly one day and was hooked. My new Yukon 750 Limited has the chain stay protector, derailleur protector and an adjustable handlebar stem. It also has an 11.6Ah battery and a twist throttle instead of a thumb style. I have not ridden it yet except once around the yard at work. It's -14C right now but is supposed to get up to -2 on the weekend. I hope it does so I can try it out a bit. Thanks to all, I enjoyed reading this thread greatly. It is good to know that the bike is so user-friendly and that all sorts of upgrades are possible.
Greg.

Deafcat
2 weeks ago

If you're considering the Volt Yukon I'd also recommend looking at Biktrix, I think you will get more power and battery options for comparable cost. Biktrix also wins in communications and service.

Lou B.
2 weeks ago

Hello everyone. I am new to this forum and new to Ebikes as well. I am trying to evaluating the voltbike yukon 750 vs Teo bike, from an esthetic point of view, why is the rear rack that comes from the factory slanted vs being level or as level as could be? I could see why, but one would think if a after market rack could mounted level/adjustable the OEM rack should be as well? thxs. LB

Kristopher Holmes
2 weeks ago

Hello.. Been scouring every ounce of info I can find on a fat tire ebike. Almost addicted to researching them. Looking for a reliable bike that can carry me and at times a cart with camping gear down some logging rds. I live in western Washington so hills and rain are pretty common.

Im leaning towards the M2s r750 all terrain at this point, but before I order I was hoping to get some info from those in the know. My 2 biggest wants are quality brakes and distance. Im not concerned about speed, but realize I'll need some oomph to get up some of the hills. Hoping to stay under $2k.

Right now the M2s r750, Yukon 750, and Rad are on my short list. Any others I should be looking at in that price range?

Thank you

PCDoctorUSA
2 weeks ago

I've looked at both for my first ebike (waiting on Santa now), and if I had to pull the trigger on one today it would be the Yukon 750 Limited (includes rack and fenders). For one, I prefer the Yukon's aesthetics over the Rad Rover when it comes to the controller and battery setup. A fat tire bike commands enough attention with its tires alone, and the Rad Rover's battery back just screams, "I'm electric!" Not a bad thing if trail riding, but not something you necessarily want when commuting in a community with restrictive ebike laws.

As I've been following one of the Yukon 750 threads, I've seen Voltbike respond to riders' input by making improvements to the bike. I haven't read any of the Rad forums so I would recommend checking to see if they are as responsive. Price-wise, both bikes are comparable, but when I posed the question about shipping to Honolulu (both companies ship from the West Coast) Rad Bikes wanted $400 while Voltbike only charged $120. My shipping question and any others I had were responded to within one business day by both companies.

DIY-ing an electric bike is definitely out of my comfort zone, but there are quite a few riders here that could speak to that option. I think the best perk with doing a DIY bike is you get to choose which components to use instead of settling for a vendor's package. Best of luck on your endeavor!

Dewey
2 weeks ago

folding fat tire bikes?

Court had a blast testing the VoltBike Mariner on a beach in Mexico, it is very close to the similar RadMini and both companies have been making upgrades since Court's reviews. Both bikes now use the same motor, same size 11.6ah battery, 180mm brake rotors, 20x4 fat tires, metal folding pedals, twist throttle, and metal cages to protect the derailleur/motor wires, and front chain ring when folded. The differences are the Mariner has a lower 24" stand over height vs 26.5" (Yukon has a 29.5" stand over height), it's slightly cheaper even with the $70 shipping charge to the US, and comes with some accessories you don't get on the RadMini like seatpost suspension, fenders, and a free DoT polo style helmet.

daniel58
2 weeks ago

I found another E-bike manufacturer Volt Bike, that uses the same battery case as ours in their Yukon 750 series. 48V 11.6Ah. On sale right now for $499.00. http://www.voltbike.ca/replacement-parts/electric-bike-parts/li-ion-battery-48v-10-4ah-68.html
So there are a number of ways to go when it's time to replace the battery. If you charge your battery 200 times a year, it might be 4 or 5 years until you will have to replace the battery. And also there seems to be a number of companies now that can rebuild the battery which I suppose is replacing the individual Panasonic cells inside the housing.

Luna Cycles and EM3EV both carry 48V as well as 52V lithium ion batteries at much more competitive compatible prices; EM3EV also has a massive very large 52V at 27.9Ah triangular lithium ion battery pack that lowers the cost further to only to 42.9 cents per watt hour also as well which can easily be put in one of their EM3EV battery bags over the top tube also as well and also be connected via the XT-60 power connector via making a simple XT-60 power connector; very easy to do got instructions on how to do it on youtube;

EM3EV(https://em3ev.com/shop/preditor-l-47v-8-4ah-11-8ah-frame-battery/)

47V at 12.4Ah for $319;
which means its cost is only $319 divided by 12.4Ah equals $25.73 per amp hour;
and it produces 47V times 12.4Ah equals 583 watt hours;
$319 divided by 583 watt hours equals 55 cents per watt hour

as compared to the 48V at 17ah for $1,000;
which means its cost is a whooping $1,000 divided by 17Ah equals $58.82 per amp hour;
and it produces 48V times 17Ah equals 816 watt hours;
$1,000 divided by 816 watt hours equals $1.22 per watt hour

with the above comparison cost analysis one can buy basically three EM3EV
47V at 12.4Ah for $319 times 3 for still only $957;
and it will have a whopping 37.2Ah of total amp hour capacity
and it will produce 47 times 12.4Ah times 3 equals 1748 watt hours;
$957 divided by 1748 watt hours equals 54.7 cents per watt hour;

yes one can in fact get an additional;
37.2Ah minus 17Ah equals 20.2Ah of additional total amp hour capacity for absolutely free;
with 1748watt hours minus 816 watt hours equals an added 932 watt hours for absolutely free;
this will enable at least an additional;
932 watt hours divided by 15 watt hours per mile equals at least an additonal 62 miles for free;

all one has to do is simply note the actual polarity and rig up a XT-60 universal power connector;
very easy to do; just look it up on youtube on how to make an XT-60 universal pigtail power connector; one just needs male and female ends for XT-60 universal power connector; once again very easy to do;

since one can easily get an additional 20.2Ah for free and/or 932 watt hours for free; that is worth according to Juiced Bikes 17Ah battery $1000 divided 17Ah equals $58.82;
$58.82 times 20.2Ah equals a whopping $1,188 for absolutely free;
sign me up for that pronto like yesterday I am getting some massive free battery driving power for free; sorry Juiced Bikes I am not feeling the love and I for one refuse to be fleeced into buying one of your massively overpriced and marked up lithium ion battery packs; perhaps that is truly why they refuse to sell the 8.8ah battery with their Juiced Bikes(massive greedy avarice profit incentive motivation by "Tora Harris" to literally "rip off" Juiced Bikes customers); oh well the game may have been rigged but the "rigged Juiced Bike hyper marketing infomercial youtube styled gig is up" and we are not going to take any prisoners when it comes to getting free battery power or at least I am not for the free taking; my koala bear mascot in particular also likes the idea of getting additional lithium ion battery power to get oneself home for absolutely free by the way with no lithium ion battery range anxiety worries whatsoever anymore; its really simple one can easily get over 20.2Ah and/or 932 watt hours of energy for absolutely free; that is over twice the difference and more than enough free power to bring oneself home for absolutely free of charge; thereby simply and effectively doubling ones effective lithium ion battery range to include a free return round trip powered up by the effective doubling of one lithium ion battery range away from ones power outlet.

Cole
2 weeks ago

My friend got a Dayak and is very unhappy. He calls is a Chinese peice of crap. I am personally going to wasn’t until January, and get the new 2018 Radrover with their new battery design and color scheme. It will be sick. I trust radar over the most out of all the other companies. I just wish that Radrover would integrate the battery into the frame like the Volt Yukon 750.

Cole
2 weeks ago

I have been researching affordable e-bikes (specifically mountain bikes) lately and have a very low budget of under $1600. I have narrowed down my search to the Radrover and the Volt Yukon 750. I’ve heard that Radrovers have more upgrade options and come with some better components stock. But I just love the look of the Volt Yukon 750 and it’s intergrated battery. I would I have also considered building my own but would like to spare the hassle (I’m not good with electronics) and just buy a budget company made bike. I plan to commute on my future ebike and do some cross country mtb trails. Any help is greatly appreciated :) ! I am open to Suggestions for other bikes I just want quality and mtb capability.

WaiLingLo
2 weeks ago

Hi all! Newbie here! I've been doing my research on ebikes for a while and believe a fat tire bike would make the most sense to me because of the versatility of the bike. I'm 5'6" with an inseam of 29.5". While I like the specs of the RadRover and Voltbike Yukon 750, but I'm not sure if the bikes would be too big for me. There's also the M2S All Terrain R750. It comes in a low step thru frame (which I like the most), but they're out of stock until Feb/Mar and I don't want to wait that long. Are there other options? Or should I focus on getting a folding fat tire bikes?

Mike Nemeth
3 weeks ago

I found another E-bike manufacturer Volt Bike, that uses the same battery case as ours in their Yukon 750 series. 48V 11.6Ah. On sale right now for $499.00. http://www.voltbike.ca/replacement-parts/electric-bike-parts/li-ion-battery-48v-10-4ah-68.html
So there are a number of ways to go when it's time to replace the battery. If you charge your battery 200 times a year, it might be 4 or 5 years until you will have to replace the battery. And also there seems to be a number of companies now that can rebuild the battery which I suppose is replacing the individual Panasonic cells inside the housing.

PCDoctorUSA
1 month ago

You might be able to glean some info from the forum thread New Voltbike Yukon 750 Spotted. Would like to hear your feedback on the bike. It's my pick for a fat tire bike, but I'm also looking at the E-Glide ST now for something more stealthy on my daily commutes.

Aaron94
1 month ago

Yes the Yukon 750 limited, ill fix it in my title

PCDoctorUSA
1 month ago

Did you mean to say "Voltbike Yukon 750?"

Aaron94
1 month ago

I just recently purchased the colt 750 limited w/2017 upgrades and was wondering anyone has experience with this bikes and their thoughts. I haven't found much only concerning it. I know it closely relates to the original 750.

Anything helps :)

http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-yukon/voltbike-yukon-750-limited.html

PCDoctorUSA
1 month ago

Hi, I just wanted to write a little non professional review of the E-Glide ST. This is my first E-bike and my decision was based on price, components compared to comparable priced E-bikes, and the two reviews done by EBR. One on the ST and also one on Dave and the E-Glide outfit in Santa Monica.

I received the bike overnight Fedex and it was pretty simple putting it together as long as you have some allen wrenches and a crescent wrench. I paid an additional 75.00 for the Schwable Marathon Mondial tires and I also received the Maxi Ardent off road tires that where originally on the bike. I wanted a more street orientated tire and I love the highly reflective sidewalls on the Mondials.

Since I received the ST on May 9th I've gone on 4 rides, all of them rides I could not have done on my Giant 15 speed bike due to distance, elevation, and today, heat. I'm 57 years old and I just don't have the endurance I once had. The bike is 52 lbs which is not that heavy for an E-bike and with the electric pedaling assist the additional weight just disappears. I also have a bag I hang on the rack that I keep a igloo cooler full of ice and drinks and don't even think of having to carry the extra weight.

The bike is a joy to ride. I can drive farther now then I could if I was 15 years younger on a standard bike. The cadence assisted power is great but since I never drove a torque assist bike or a mid-drive motor I don't have anything to compare it to. The rear hub drive with the cadence sensor works very well.

Now my three little nitpicks.

(1) The controller speedometer is exaggerated and so then is the odometer. I added my Garmin E-Trex to determine the actual speed. This is something I have run across on both my Suzuki motorcycle and Honda scooter. I don’t know why manufacturers of vehicles do that accept maybe due to liability issues. Today I changed the wheel size on the controller to 26 inch and that brought it closer to the actual speed. Next time I ride I’ll try to reset it to 24 inches and see what happens.

(2) The steering stem is not adjustable. The bike is comfortable right out of the box but being a little older I would like a little more relax position with the handlebars. The ST is designed to handle dirt roads so the riding position is a little more aggressive then a comfort bike. I would like the ability to move the bars a little up and back for my taste. The problem with the control cables are you do not have a lot of extra length to work with. Same as regular bicycles and motorcycles. I think if I could move the bars and inch up and inch back it would work for me. Something you might want to consider on your purchase is what type of riding you will be doing. I also want to point out I purchased the 21 inch frame since I’m 6’ 1” and have a 32 inch inseam.

(3) The gear ratio seems like it should be higher to me. The power assist has 5 levels and I have kept it in normal which there are also eco and power modes. Most of my riding I seem to be in 9th and 10th gear. With the power assist even set on level 1 I don’t seem to use the lower gears. I have to say in level 3 in 10th gear I’m pedaling at 18 mph. Sometime I get to the point where I’m cruising and I wish I had another gear or an overdrive. I have to pedal very fast when I’m going like 24 mph. Yes, depending on the road elevation decline you can go a good clip! Once again it may be a safety thing so you are limited on how fast you can get the bike up to. The lower gears would come in handy if you all of a sudden did not have the electric assist to get you home. I seem to feel I would like to pedal a little more leisurely at 18-20 mph.

So my early impression is I got a great bike for the price and it has opened up a whole new world of riding abilities. I'm just starting out on E-bikes but now I got my foot in the door and can start my learning curve. I was also looking at the Rad City by Rad Power as my 2nd choice and if you check out this EBR site there are a lot of great bikes out there to fit your budget. I did not have to pay any sales tax on the bike being out of state so the bike was 1700.00, tire upgrade 75.00 and overnight shipping 175.00 for a total purchase of 1950.00. I have two E-bike stores in my city and a comparable bike out the door would have been 3000.00.
Thanks for the great review. I'm looking for my first ebike, but am limited with my budget ceiling of $2k and a delivery disadvantage of being in Honolulu. Had planned on going with Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S, but the local ebike shop that was carrying Juiced Bikes has since stopped due to issues with getting replacement parts and poor communication with JB. I've also been following the JB forums, and JB seems to be experiencing some quality control issues that can accompany popular products in high demand. I figured it may be best to look elsewhere while they work out their issues. I also looked at Biktrix and Rad Bikes, but they want $400 to ship their bikes. That left 2 models from Voltbike on my list: Elegant and Yukon 750.

Both models fit comfortably within my budget, but I'm not a fan of Elegant's step-thru design. The Yukon 750 looks awesome, but some have commented it's not the best option for a commuter while others love it. If I go with the Yukon, I know that the first thing I need to change are those aggressive tires. Definitely not a good choice for 100% asphalt riding. I've also had my share of flats along my route, and changing out the tube on a fat tire bike sounds like a bear. Still, I've had good communication with Voltbike, they're a well-respected outfit, and they'll only charge me $120 to ship either bike to Honolulu.

The E-Glide ST definitely meets all my requirements and with only $175 for shipping I'm just under $2k. I just sent an email to E-Glide to confirm the shipping charge along with a couple of other questions. For 100% asphalt travels, I'm thinking of going with the Schwalbe Big Ben Plus tire upgrade. Your thoughts?

PCDoctorUSA
1 month ago

Biktrix might have a better shipping cost (typically free), their bikes are nicer than Voltbike too!

Juggernaut vs Yukon: bigger motor options on Juggernaut, bigger battery options (the short Dorado on Yukon is 14Ah max, Juggernaut can take a 20Ah pack).

Biktrix bikes typically come with both pedal assist, and a throttle as well. Torque sense is an option on the MX/Ultra versions.
I hadn't checked them out. Unfortunately, Biktrix is charging $400 shipping to Hawaii just like Rad Bikes. This puts the Juggernaut at $2399 for me ($1999 sale price for 750w model + shipping). My budget is $2k with wiggle room already included. @HunterNott , definitely worth looking at if you're in the contiguous 48 or Canada.

Deafcat
1 month ago

Biktrix might have a better shipping cost (typically free), their bikes are nicer than Voltbike too!

Juggernaut vs Yukon: bigger motor options on Juggernaut, bigger battery options (the short Dorado on Yukon is 14Ah max, Juggernaut can take a 20Ah pack).

Biktrix bikes typically come with both pedal assist, and a throttle as well. Torque sense is an option on the MX/Ultra versions.

PCDoctorUSA
2 months ago

When shopping, the bike's specs or description should mention the levels of assist and whether or not there is a throttle. On a pedal assist bike, the throttle overrides the pedal assist, which is useful when you need a quick boost of power like when pulling away after a stop or encountering an incline. I know for sure that both the Yukon and Rad Rover have pedal assist + throttle. Without looking at their product page, I feel confident that the Teo and Surface 604 are also configured the same.

PCDoctorUSA
2 months ago

Voltbike is the least expensive and I like the integrated battery. They've also responded to my email questions within 1 business day, which impresses me.

There are a lot of Rad Rover users on YT, so plenty of feedback to read through and their components were a notch up from the Yukon.

The Teo is probably the best looking bike IMO, but the price is at the top of my budget. They're also a new company, so not much history on after sale service.

We all have our personal preferences, riding style, budget limits, etc. Start shopping and have fun.

Ian Mangham
1 week ago

Nobody has ridden anywhere near as many ebikes than court, probably/most definitely rode more different type's of bicycle than any other human in the observable universe 👾

Andy hoff
2 months ago

no throttle only?? that was a deal breaker for me. ugh!

John Barrios
3 months ago

Hey what is the weight limit????

Richard Hodgkinson
3 months ago

whats with you running low tire pressure the lower pressure = greater resistance because of more frictions I call that shorter duration between tire replacement if you need a more cushy ride get air bags

HighsNBurgers
4 months ago

Get out there and hump in the ocean? 14:50

actnowone
4 months ago

Great review, love how your reviews on YouTube integrate into your website this all must take you a very long time

Kittawh
6 months ago

nice review as always. you may want to look into deflatators or a portable pump with a gage to lower the psi perfectly

valveman12
6 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Ok so based on your review, I just bought the Yukon Limited with the fenders and rear rack. So if I hate it, it will be you fault. Nah just kidding. I'm sure I will like it.

Drónos Vili
9 months ago

This or the radrover? I really want to decide wich one i should get? No power only mode on the voltbike?

Clark Kormier
7 months ago

Rad Rover is a decent product with almost as nice features. If you don't mind the fact that the battery and controller pack look like bricks that were added onto the generic frame with zip ties as an afterthought..

Derrick Lee
9 months ago

Try Rad Power. I got zero response from Voltbike after I bought 2 from them with some quality issues.

jason mcclure
10 months ago

i read on the website its 70 bucks to ship to your business 30 extra bucks to ship to your house

iddddaduncan
10 months ago

What are theses bikes like out west for mountain trails? I live in Idaho and would love to take this into the backcountry.

Clark Kormier
11 months ago

This is the one...In the fat tire ebike category I couldn't find a better value anywhere for the features offered and price point. Now I ride it 6 days out of 7 lol. Shipping was cheap and easy.

Clark Kormier
7 months ago

It's fine on pavement, but if it is wet and rainy the stock knobby tires have a little less grip than a smoother road tire. This beast is designed for off road riding, but it's super fun just running errands around town.

1rcproductions
9 months ago

Clark Kormier How is it on pavement? Trying to decide between fat or mountain style of ebike. Thanks.

40footgiantowl
12 months ago

i recently bought a electric fat bike and was wondering what the usb port on the battery was for?

VoltBike
11 months ago

Voltbike Yukon 750 comes with built-in USB port. You can use this port to charge external devices like cell phone, camera or similar.

John Grijalva
12 months ago

this bike or the radrover?

VoltBike
9 months ago

Hi Derrick, apologize but I still can't find your inquiry in our email list but I will be more than happy to speak with your either by phone or email. When you call just mention this conversation and I will come on the phone. You can also email me at our support or let me know what is your real name so I can find your order. Waiting very much to hear any feedback or comments you may have. By the way Voltbike Urban is using rear motor. It's not on the front.

Clark Kormier
9 months ago

That is too bad, I had no problems with customer service, and the gang I know on our Voltbike Facebook page have had good experiences with them. I absolutely love my Yukon 750. I am still riding it straight out of the box 4 months later, and she runs great. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Derrick Lee
9 months ago

This is one of the names I use online. Just review the emails you ignored within the past 2 weeks, you'll know who I am.

VoltBike
9 months ago

Hi Derrick Lee, I see your comments on few other Voltbike Youtube videos. I will reply here as well. We don't have customer under the name of Derrick Lee. We searched also our email list from the past 2 years and I can't find any request under either your first or last name. We always respond to customer enquiry either before or after the sale. (Most of the time even after regular work hours.) In fact, customer after sale support has been always our number one priority. We realised this early in our business.

Nigel Sookram
9 months ago

Derrick Lee too bad man I'm really thinking of buying one

jose ignacio alvarez
12 months ago

que precio valen esa bici ?? pueden enviar en ESPAÑA

Seani Vostro
1 year ago

I just bought Yukon 750 limited three days ago. Picked it up in their warehouse. Bike is powerful considering i am 6.1 and 230 Lb having lots of fun!

VoltBike
11 months ago

Hi Seani, it was nice meeting you in our warehouse. Glad you are enjoying your Yukon 750.

Clark Kormier
12 months ago

Me too, I got mine 2 weeks ago and it is so much fun I have to ride it every day.

Jesus Jimenez
1 year ago

Court do you know, How I can change the max speed on my Yukon 750? I just got my bike today but it didn't come with a owners manual.

Clark Kormier
12 months ago

I just got my new Yukon 750. I love it, this thing is a beast. It is a large bike but fits my 5'11" frame great. Comes completely assembled except for mounting the handlebars and the pedals, quick and easy. The battery housing is solid on mine and doesn't rattle at all. The mechanical disc brakes work well for basic rides and moderate trails, but for a lot of downhill riding an upgrade is in order. Right out of the box it was tuned and ready to go. For an extra $100 I opted for the upgraded version, and I really like the aluminum flat black fenders, rear rack, and integrated tail light. For the coin this is an amazing, eye-catching package. Peddle assist on the lowest setting had me flying around the local park.

Darryl BEAN
1 year ago

?? isn't the RadRover and the Volt Yukon both rated at 750 w motors?? Same output? Thanks

snowbird29803
1 year ago

I've been following your videos for a while and seriously contemplating a purchase of an electric bike for nearby errands and light shopping. I like this Voltbike for the perceived (by me a novice) value. I am a senior man at 200Lbs. and not a bike guy. So, what makes this bike worth almost a Grand more than the Sondors, shipping notwithstanding? And do YOU as an expert think this is a good bike for the price...or can you recommend any other fat tire electric for me in this price class that is actually available now and would be better for an old guy.

Derrick Lee
9 months ago

Expect zero response to your inquiries from Voltbike if you have quality issues. This is my actual experience with Voltbike after buying 2 bikes from them.

VoltBike
1 year ago

Hi snowbird29803, Yukon 750 is completely different battery setup. The battery and frame on Voltbike Yukon 750 are newer design. The battery is partially integrated into the frame which provides better weight distribution. The motor is also more powerful. Yukon is using brand name Tektro disc brakes and the battery is Sanyo (by Panasonic). Hope this helps.