VoltBike Yukon 750 Review

Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Yukon 750
Voltbike Yukon 750 Bafang 8fun Fat Bike Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Removable Inset 48 Volt Battery
Voltbike Yukon 750 Lcd Display Trigger Throttle
Voltbike Yukon 750 Cranks 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Fat Bike Suspension
Voltbike Yukon 750 Adjustable Kickstand 160 Mm Disc Brakes
Voltbike Yukon 750 Shimano Tourney 7 Speed Derailleur
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Yukon 750
Voltbike Yukon 750 Bafang 8fun Fat Bike Geared Hub Motor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Removable Inset 48 Volt Battery
Voltbike Yukon 750 Lcd Display Trigger Throttle
Voltbike Yukon 750 Cranks 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Voltbike Yukon 750 Electric Fat Bike Suspension
Voltbike Yukon 750 Adjustable Kickstand 160 Mm Disc Brakes
Voltbike Yukon 750 Shimano Tourney 7 Speed Derailleur

Summary

  • An affordable but surprisingly powerful and quiet electric fat bike, sells online only and ships from Canada with a flat rate $70 fee, comes with a comprehensive 1 year warranty
  • Upgraded Kenda Juggernaut tires that feel good on pavement, dirt, sand and snow, removable battery is convenient to charge and has a USB port on the side mostly out of the way for portable electronics
  • More active saddle and bar setup, the reach was a bit longer which might suit taller riders, integrated headlight is convenient on cloudy days for winter riding or at night, trigger throttle design doesn't compromise grip
  • Only available in one color scheme and one frame size, basic Shimano Tourney 7 speed drivetrain, average mechanical disc brakes, the battery rattled a bit on my unit, suspension is fork is entry level

Search EBR

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

VoltBike

Model:

Yukon 750

Price:

$1,499 ($70 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62 lbs ( 28.12 kg )

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs ( 3.26 kg )

Motor Weight:

14 lbs ( 6.35 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Sizes:

19 in ( 48.26 cm )

Geometry Measurements:

72" Length, 29.5" Stand Over Height, 24" Reach

Frame Material:

Aluminum

Frame Colors:

Black

Frame Fork Details:

Basic Top Gun Suspension with 90 mm Travel, 135 mm Dropout Width, 11 mm Axle

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, MF-TZ21, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shiman SIS Index Shifter on Right

Cranks:

42T Chainring with Aluminum Bash Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo M248DU Alloy Cage Style Platform

Headset:

VP-A41ACK

Stem:

Promax DA-3210 ~8° Rise

Handlebar:

Promax Low-Rise, 25" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Artek Vigorous Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Flat Rubber, Black

Saddle:

Selle Royal Freccia

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

320 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Samson Double Walled Alloy, Punched Out

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Juggernaut, 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )

Tire Details:

31TPI, Wire Bead, 5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Integrated LED Headlight, Rust Resistant Z Chain, Floating Ball Compass, Flick Bell, Optional Fenders and Rack $100

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, USB Charging Port on Right Side of Battery

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Sanyo

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

499.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles ( 24 km )

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles ( 56 km )

Display Type:

APT Development, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Assist Level (1-9), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph ( 32 kph )

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

VoltBike is a leader in low cost electric bikes, I visited their headquarters near Vancouver Canada in 2015 and learned more about their online sales business… shipping to Canada and the US for a flat $70. If you don’t live near a bike shop but want an efficient city ebike or something a little more wild like the Yukon here, they can be a great option. My experience testing their products has been mostly good with only the occasional minor damage in shipping (the kickstand arrived broken on one of their folding mini fat bikes recently). All things considered, with their one year warranty and wide selection of styles I’ve been pretty impressed. Of course, there are always trade-offs when you try to hit lower price points and I encountered a few with the updated Yukon 750. Their prior Yukon model was built around a slightly weaker and louder 500 watt geared hub motor and had an exposed controller box and top mounted battery. It’s easy to appreciate how much nicer the 750 looks as well as how the frame balance has been improved. The top tube here is sloped down to make standing over the frame more comfortable and a suspension fork has been added to improve comfort… all for just $350 more!

But as I said, there are some trade off’s with the value approach and some that I noticed were the more basic seven speed Shimano Tourney drivetrain. It does the job but might go out of tune easier, adds some weight and just has a limited selection. There’s no slap guard on the right chainstay but that’s not a huge deal considering the frame is Aluminum and won’t rust there if it gets knicked. The suspension fork is comfortable but very basic with no adjustments or lockout and it’s probably heavier than something like a RockShox Bluto air fork. By the way, don’t rush out and buy that fork for this ebike because I believe it’s designed for a tapered head tube and I think the Yukon 750 is straight. The battery rattled a bit during my ride and I tried to demonstrate this in the video review but it never cut out and the model I tested was an early build so perhaps that will be resolved? That’s about it… these are all minor gripes and yes, I wish it had a bottle cage mounting point on the seat tube but there are accessories to work around that.

Getting back to what works on this bike… the motor is powerful, it offers enough zip to start and maintain in deep soft sand and this really surprised me! You get a nice large LCD display panel that’s backlit and an integrated headlight that doesn’t require separate batteries! A rechargeable backlight could be added inexpensively later if you do a lot of early morning or evening riding. The battery can be charged on or off the frame and helps to reduce the weight of the bike when lifting for transport or service but I wish the front wheel offered quick release to further reduce weight. It’s not a huge deal to unscrew though and I love the adjustable length kickstand that’s far back and out of the way for pedaling so if you back up and the cranks turn they don’t collide :)

The tires on this bike were a big upgrade from before and since they take a lot of abuse if you ride off-road and could potentially make a lot of noise if you stay on road I feel like the tread pattern they chose was thoughtfully chosen. It offers good durability and is a good all-around design. The only other big consideration with this particular bike is that the stem is kind of long, the bars are low-rise and the saddle is active. That means you tend to lean forward more when riding and can feel the bumps in your arms, shoulders and bottom. The saddle itself is a nice one, just not super soft. Consider adding a 27.2 mm Thudbuster to improve comfort along with lowering tire PSI (especially for riding on soft surfaces like sand… we used ~7 PSI). I guess one final area is worth scrutinizing here and that’s the brakes which are average sized with 160 mm rotors. They’re mechanical which require more wrist strength to actuate and again, smaller rotors means less mechanical advantage and the bike is on the heavier side at ~62 lbs. When you’re slashing prices you have to make trade offs and I feel like VoltBike made them pretty well. This is the kind of bike that could get rusty and beat up if used in salty sand or salty snow environments. When you spend a ton of money on a really nice bike sometimes it’s not as fun to actually take it out, knowing that it is going to be damaged. With a cheaper bike like this you still get good power and can have a lot of fun and again, I feel like it looks really nice and has really been improved since the original 500 watt model.

This review was shot with the help and financial support of Cabo Adventures in Cabo San Lucas Mexico! If you’d like to go for an electric fat bike ride on the beach like we did for these photos and video you can visit their website at www.cabo-adventures.com to learn more. I found their commitment to environmental sustainability to be inspiring, they offer lots of activities outside of ebikes, the food was good and their employees were wonderful. Cabo itself is one of the safest parts of Mexico, the airport is nice, roads are good and lots of celebrities visit because it’s only a 2.5 hour flight from Los Angeles. I shot a fun vlog about the visit where you can see some of the behind the scenes action here. My thanks again to the organization for being open to a creative review like this where we could truly test the bikes in a rigorous and majestic environment :D Big thanks to VoltBike for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • The motor is fairly quiet but feels zippy and had no problem with the soft sand or hills we tested it on, when the air pressure was lowered in the tires to ~7 PSI the bike worked great, the 8Fun motor seemed to be fat-bike specific and extra wide to support the spoke pattern of the wheels, it looked nice
  • The battery can be charged on or off the bike, has an integrated USB charging port (though it’s a bit exposed on the right side) and you only need to push one button to get the bike powered on, not two! Also, keys don’t have to be left in when riding
  • Pedal assist relies on a 12 magnet sensor, that’s the highest number I see on other bikes and it leads to faster on/off activation, I also love that the brake levers override all power modes and cut the motor when pulled
  • It’s neat that you can override assist at any time with the trigger throttle with full power output! Note however that assist is always active, there is not throttle-only mode on the bike
  • I love that this bike offers nine levels of pedal assist because the increments are finder and differences are more subtle… you can find the perfect level for your terrain, range and ride style
  • I love that VoltBike sells a matching fender and rack set for just $100, it can be difficult to find the correct size of accessories when dealing with unique frames like those of fat tire bicycles
  • Thumb throttles work great for off-road riding because they don’t compromise your grip on the handle bar, I hear some people say that they are also easier to actuate and can be adjusted up or down to sit wherever your thumb feels most comfortable
  • The punched out rims are cool looking, reduce weight and might offer a little bit more comfort and cushion than solid ones, the red liners show through and match the paint accents on the frame
  • I like that the battery is seated into the downtube and doesn’t stick up very far, it leaves a bit more room for hanging the bike on some racks, lifting it and possibly adding a tight fitting bottle cage adapter to the seat tube like this
  • I appreciate having a kickstand and love that this one is adjustable and mounted far enough back on the left chainstay that it doesn’t collide with the crank and pedal if you are backing up (the crank automatically turns)
  • The Kenda Juggernaut pro tires are high quality… light but durable and with a good off-road tread pattern that’s still fairly dense for use on hard surfaces
  • Quality battery cells from Sanyo, a generous one year comprehensive warranty and flat rate shipping to the US and Canada for just $70 (cheaper than almost all other bikes I see being sold online)
  • I like that the top tube slopes down, lowering stand over height to accommodate people with shorter inseams, I feel like it could slant more but VoltBike also has the Mariner folding fat bike for people who really need a lower stand over or just don’t like the big frames

Cons:

  • The display panel is compact, swivels to reduce glare and offers a lot of information but isn’t removable… this means it could take more damage if left outside, I do like that it’s backlit and that the headlight is powered off the main battery pack however
  • The button pad is easy to reach and fairly intuitive so you can arrow up or down when riding for more or less pedal assist power but the plastic cover is more delicate than inset buttons, ours got bent during tests when the bike crashed
  • This isn’t necessarily a bad thing but the saddle felt firm and the stem and bars were positioned further forward and lower down to accommodate active riding or larger longer-armed riders, you could always swap the stem out, replace the seat and get different bars like cruiser style if you prefer, I like that the bike has suspension but it’s not adjustable or lockable… just basic
  • Maybe it was just the unit I was testing but the battery rattled a little bit, I was surprised because it seems very securely mounted, maybe the fit is just a little loose?
  • The pedals are decent but I prefer wider, grippier ones like these Wellgo’s especially if you’re riding in snow… I do like the oversized thumb shifter however which works great with gloves on
  • The brakes are kind of average being mechanical vs. hydraulic and since the rotors are smaller at 160 mm vs. 180 mm they heat up a bit more and require more hand strength to stop
  • I wish the chainring had a plate on both sides, not just the outside, because sometimes when riding at higher speeds using the throttle bounding around off-road the chain can come off, I’d also appreciate a slap guard on the right chain stay
  • The floating compass is unique but a little gimmicky, I definitely appreciate the bell, would be nice if the grips were locking but considering their basic flat design it’s not a huge deal if they spin
  • Considering how large and heavy the bike is I love that you can take the battery pack off to reduce weight but I wish the front wheel had quick release, just to make it easier to fit into cars and other tight spaces vs. loosening and twisting the handlebars

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More VoltBike Reviews

VoltBike Mariner Review

  • MSRP: $1,249
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A miniaturized fat tire electric bike that's sand and snow capable, you get fenders, a rack and integrated lights for utility and safety no matter the terrain. Mid-mount battery design keeps weight low and centered, it's removable for reduced weight (when folding…...

VoltBike Urban Review

  • MSRP: $1,049
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An ultra-affordable folding electric bike sold online from Canada, offers a full range of accessories including lights, fenders and a rear carry rack. Available in black or white but only one size, you get six gears with a…...

VoltBike Yukon Review

  • MSRP: $1,159
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value priced electric fat bike with a six speed drivetrain, integrated headlight and optional fender + rack kit. Available in two flavors (350 watt motor or more powerful 500 watt motor), sold online…...

VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A very affordable city style electric bike with lots of useful accessories including integrated lights, fenders and rack. Only available in one frame size ~19" but the adjustable stem and seat hight help…...

VoltBike Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value oriented electric bike available in one size (19"), one frame style (step-thru) and one color (black). Comes standard with lots of useful accessories including full length plastic fenders, a rear carry…...


William
4 months ago

Great review once again Court! Good to see you had fun riding the Yukon at the beach over variable soft/hard sand and rock. Look forward to your review on the other VoltBike Mariner and how it compares with the similar Trail Viper 350W, and if it feels stable in terms of loose parts/components when going over bumps, since you mentioned the battery on the Yukon rattled, so I suspect things to be worse on folding bikes. Also, please comment whether you feel the power and speed difference between the Yukon 750 vs Mariner 500 vs Trail Viper 350, when doing 0 to 20mph. I believe shipping to US is $69 and Canada is $49, last I checked when looking to shop for an eBike on VoltBike website, so you may want to double check that.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Thomas Jaszewski
5 days ago
SuperGoop
Personally, I like powerful Hub Motors. It is more stealthy. It nicely hides behind the rear cassette. It is mechanically simple. It is basically just an electromagnetic coil with 3 planetary gears. Not much to go wrong, and parts can be easily replaced. And the torque makes it feel zippy in any gear (not just the low gears).

I saw a video of someone servicing a mid-drive motor. It looks very complex and proprietary inside.

Court reviewed the Yukon 750 here: https://electricbikereview.com/voltbike/yukon-750/

@Thomas Jaszewski The Yukon 750 is 750W (not 500W), 80 N.m., unless you are referring to the older model or another bike.
I followed the link. But 750w is a nice motor!
SuperGoop
5 days ago
Personally, I like powerful Hub Motors. It is more stealthy. It nicely hides behind the rear cassette and brake rotor. It is mechanically simple. It is basically just an electromagnetic coil with 3 planetary gears. Not much to go wrong, and parts can be easily replaced. And the torque makes it feel zippy in any gear (not just the low gears).

I saw a video of someone servicing a mid-drive motor. It looks very complex and proprietary inside.

Court reviewed the Yukon 750 here: https://electricbikereview.com/voltbike/yukon-750/

@Thomas Jaszewski The Yukon 750 is 750W (not 500W), 80 N.m., unless you are referring to the older model or another bike.
SuperGoop
5 days ago
Don't forget to price in shipping costs. I like my Voltbike Yukon 750. All Voltbikes ship pretty low:

US$69 commercial U.S. address
US$99 residential U.S. address
CAD$49 anywhere in Canada

Voltbike has warehouses in both U.S. and in Canada, so custom and duty is not a problem.

Their Yukon Fat Tire are from US$1,349 (base model) to US$1,599 (latest model, fully loaded with fenders and rack, 750W Bafang Geared hub motor, 80 N.m., 48V 10.4Ah Panasonic battery). Check it out, I love mine!

http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-yukon.html

SuperGoop
5 days ago
Here is what I've been able to gather from various sources for my Voltbike Yukon 750 (maybe same for the Voltbike Mariner?). Hopefully someone will be able to add to it:

S7 - (km/mile)

bL1 - backlight brightness display (3)

OFf - auto time(min) display off (5)

W d - wheel diameter (26)

bU0 - voltage set (48V)

PSd - password (1919)

SPL - speed limit (45km) - gov cuts off at 32km

CUL - MAX Current Limit set (default 15A)

HAL - Magnetic Pole numbers of speed sensor (default=1. Use Unknown ???)

ASs(AS5) - 1-15 ??? # of Cadence magnets?

Hd6 - sets the throttle to 6km/h; 1=ON, 0=OFF (default 0)

HdP - toggles the throttle power/current level to match the PAS level. 1=ON; 0=OFF (default 0, full power independent of PAS level)

PAs - levels of assist (set to 0-9; default 1-5)
stan
6 days ago
Cnugget
@SuperGoop
The codes I have adjusted included: SPL, Wd, OFf, bL1, PAs (set to 0-9 instead of default 1-9).
I was not able to uncode the others still or play with for fear of hurting something (IE. Can't imagine adjusting the voltage would be a good idea.) I did send an email to @Voltbike but I did not get a response in regards to the codes. The manual that is online did not have all of the features included.
Is there any way to contact the LCDs manufactuer for the information, they should know what codes are for! I have a YUKON 750 with no manual for the Intelligent LCD. VOLTBIKE needs to provide the correct up to date manuals for his customers on his WEB site.
stan
6 days ago
ace20ri
@SuperGoop I was referring to the nominal battery voltage of 48v and the maximum current setting parameter in the LCD display as 10A. I set it to 16A. As you listed there are far more things to consider when speaking about power to the motor since the cells have voltage ranges and behave differently at different currents. Another thing to consider is the "C" rating of the battery as well which impacts the voltage range of the cell for cycle life. Not sure how "smart" our battery packs are but there could be some de-rating designed in for the charge/discharge cycles.

Another day I will take the controller apart to see what mosfets are used and the voltage the capacitors can handle. Hopefully the capacitors are rated at min 63V ( higher would be better) for better efficiency (minimize losses).

@SuperGoop stated both are definitely worth the purchase and really inexpensive to save future expensive repairs.
Are you talking about the YUKON 750? Are you using the Intelligent LCD display? How did you change the LCD display from 10A to 16A? What is the result when you made this change?
SuperGoop
6 days ago
Don't forget to price in shipping costs. Shipping costs for the Yukon 750 (and all Voltbikes) are pretty low:

US$69 commercial U.S. address
US$99 residential U.S. address
CAD$49 anywhere in Canada

Voltbike has warehouses in both U.S. and in Canada, so custom and duty is not a problem.

ALSO, if you are in Canada, you'll find it is much better to buy from Voltbike because the currency rate is much better. For example, the Yukon 750 Limited is US$1,599 or CAD$1,899. That is a great exchange rate for Canadians.

ALSO, the Yukon 750 Limited US$ 1,599 (CAD$1,899) includes:
1) full size front and back fenders
2) rear rack with spring loaded flap (very useful for me, no need for bungee cords)
3) front and REAR lights integrated to the main battery and controlled with the display (very convenient)
4) Front suspension fork

There is a long Yukon 750 thread (with lots of detailed pictures) here: https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/new-voltbike-yukon-750-spotted.8120/

I have over 900 km on mine:

stan
6 days ago
ace20ri
@SuperGoop I was referring to the nominal battery voltage of 48v and the maximum current setting parameter in the LCD display as 10A. I set it to 16A. As you listed there are far more things to consider when speaking about power to the motor since the cells have voltage ranges and behave differently at different currents. Another thing to consider is the "C" rating of the battery as well which impacts the voltage range of the cell for cycle life. Not sure how "smart" our battery packs are but there could be some de-rating designed in for the charge/discharge cycles.

Another day I will take the controller apart to see what mosfets are used and the voltage the capacitors can handle. Hopefully the capacitors are rated at min 63V ( higher would be better) for better efficiency (minimize losses).

@SuperGoop I was referring to the nominal battery voltage of 48v and the maximum current setting parameter in the LCD display as 10A. I set it to 16A. As you listed there are far more things to consider when speaking about power to the motor since the cells have voltage ranges and behave differently at different currents. Another thing to consider is the "C" rating of the battery as well which impacts the voltage range of the cell for cycle life. Not sure how "smart" our battery packs are but there could be some de-rating designed in for the charge/discharge cycles.

Another day I will take the controller apart to see what mosfets are used and the voltage the capacitors can handle. Hopefully the capacitors are rated at min 63V ( higher would be better) for better efficiency (minimize losses).

@SuperGoop stated both are definitely worth the purchase and really inexpensive to save future expensive repairs.
SuperGoop
Can you explain this a little bit? How did you get "480W"? Did you multiply 48V x 10A current? You said it can be pushed to 16A... does that mean the motor peaks at 48Vx16A=768W? A freshly charged battery is around 54.6V, right? So 54.6Vx16A=874W peak?

Most importantly, how did you push it to 16A, when the "Rated Current is only 10A? How did you know it was running at 16A? Thanks again!

For reference, my limited knowledge is that:

- Individual 18650 cells run from 3.0V (dead) to 4.2V (fully charged). Nominal "resting" voltage is 3.7V.

- The Yukon 750 uses quality Panasonic 2600 mAh cells. That is why our battery is rated at 10.4 Ah (4 bundles x 2600 mAh)

- In our bike's battery, we have 4 bundles of 13 cells = 52 Panasonic 18650 cells.

Voltages are:
(13 cells x 3.0V/cell) = 39.0V (dead)
(13 cells x 3.7V/cell) = 48.0V (nominal)
(13 cells x 4.2V/cell) = 54.6V (fully charged)

- This is the battery standard we use: http://reention.com/product/detail/66 There is a longer version, but we use the shorter 440mm/52 cells version. The longer version is 505mm/65 cells

- Yukon 750's controller cuts off at 41.0V to protect the cells.
Kerfuffle
1 week ago
Another near $2K is the Biktrix Juggernaut which is $2399: http://www.biktrix.com/products/biktrix-juggernaut-mid-drive. I've narrowed my own search down to the Rad, the Yukon and the Juggernaut.

Although the Luna bike looks interesting... More choices
James Kohls
1 week ago
It is a bit above $2,000, but Lunacycle has the Black Friday 4 Season 1k for $2300

https://lunacycle.com/black-friday-4-season-1000-fat-tire-ebike-khs/

If you are bike savvy, you could add a mid-drive to a pedal-only fat bike using a kit. Check the DIY section for help with that.

Also there is the Voltbike Yukon

http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-yukon.html

Maybe state a bit about what type of riding you want to use it for. What types of terrain (sand, dirt, snow, pavement, etc)? Do you need things like fenders? bike rack mounts? bottle cage mounts?

If you want higher end components, you really need to breach the $3,000 mark. Then you can start getting into bikes like the iZip E3 Sumo (~$3200) with Shimano SLX and Bosch motor (2017 model)

http://www.izipusa.com/electric-dirt-bike-e3-sumo
stan
2 months ago
I am 5 ft 8 and I would say to be comfortable on this bike you should be 5 ft 8 or taller. The Yukon 750 has 9 levels of power so yes you can get a workout. The bike is " solid " very good quality and easy to assemble. The shipping took 2 days to get to my house.
Benno
2 months ago
Can you still get a good workout on the Yukon 750? Is it a tall bike?
stan
2 months ago
I own the 750 YUKON LIMITED (VOLT)
View attachment 12446 I give it a 9 out of 10, a bigger battery would make it a 10, so you could ride longer and faster!!!
J.R.
2 months ago
I don't own either, that said these two are very different in more than just price. The Biktrix is a BBSHD mid drive with the option to limit power to 500 watts for street legal use in Canada and is currently priced at $2299.00. For the same price you have the option of 1000 watts right out of the gate. Either way, as I understand the HD is programmable, that allows for options. That price includes a 557 WH battery. That's a great price for a factory built ebike that includes the BBSHD.

The Volt Yukon is a 750 watt hub drive with a 499 WH battery for $1499.00.

Both bikes are really nice and get great reviews from owners, but are very different and hard to compare. If I were forced to choose between these two and could afford either without a struggle, I'd go for the mid drive and performance of the Biktrix. Biktrix also offers two other battery options of 603 and 728 WH. The 728 WH sounds very tempting.

It really boils down to how you intend to use your ebike. If you don't need the power and performance the mid drive provides, then you could save some money. Good luck, let us know how it shakes out.
Benno
2 months ago
Yukon 750! Half the price! The biktrix may be a little better bike put together, but not worth $1500+ more.
Cnugget
2 months ago
ace20ri
APT Intelligent LCD (800S) as the Mariner...
I believe the HD6 parameter sets the throttle to 6km/h; 0 for off and 1 for on. HDP toggles the throttle power/current level to match the PAS level (1 for on) or off (0) for full power independent of PAS level.

I would like to know what ASs (or may be it is AS5) does. Input choices are 1-15 so I'm wondering if this parameter is supposed to match the number of magnets on the bike? Yukon 750 has 12 magnets near the pedals.


Of course still curious what the outstanding ASs or AS5 does as well if you connect the dots..
Cnugget
2 months ago
SuperGoop
Conclusion: 32 km/h is only 28% faster, but uses 100% (double) the wattage! I can greatly extend my range simply going a bit slower.

In practice, I always pedal at average speeds ~22 km/h. My typical range (with pedaling) is around 70+ km with around 2 bars left. That's over 3 hours of pedaling with rest in between. I have done 4 of these 70+ km rides so far. Most other rides are around 30-40 km roundtrip.

P.S. I have the Yukon 750.
I believe the Yukon battery has a bit more capacity and the motor is a bit beefier. Perhaps this can extend the range your bike can go. I have noticed you can go slower and get more battery as well but I hadn't quite narrowed it down to 22km/h. I will keep that in mind though it's hard to not push it to the max when you are headed to work.

What did you mean by this? @SuperGoop
"my "Power/Wattage" shows that on throttle only (no pedaling)"
Did you mean the display only shows you the Pass/Wattage level when you are on throttle only? Perhaps I have misread.
Josh88
2 months ago
Hello everyone. Looks like I will be part of the Yukon family cone the 23rd. I am very excited to finally try an ebike out! I ordered it the 9th and got a confirmation on the 14th. Tracking number confirms that it's on a truck heading my way. Can anyone tell me if there are any differences with this batch compared to the older ones? Stuff like a slap guard? I also heard that they went with a shorter stem? Can anyone tell me if this is true? Thank you. I am so stoked to get this thing.
SuperGoop
2 months ago
My 4-Bike hitch rack:



Loading the heavy Yukon 750 is made easy by lowering the rack. I hardly need to lift the bike at all. The front wheel is almost touching the ground (see below). I remove the heavy battery and locks ahead of time.

Step 1: Lower the rack; start from the outside:



Step 2: Work my way towards the vehicle:



Step 3: Finally, push the rack up and lock into place:



I can still open the tailgate with (up to) 4 bikes mounted (max capacity: 160 lbs):



Stows compactly behind a door or in a closet for storage. The official weight is 42 lbs, but I weighted the main unit here (without the arms) to be only 32.4 lbs. The small size and light weight makes it easy to align into the hitch receiver:



Bike Stand Mode:

Lower rack and mount bike on outside rail. Works great for bike maintenance. No need to buy (and store) another expensive and bulky bike stand:

Josh88
2 months ago
I went with the voltbike Yukon. It should be here on the 23rd. I am very excited to find out what the ebikes are all about. 750w befang G06 geared hub motor, fat tires, integrated battery and controller, clean looking battery installed in down tube, and shipping was only 70 dollars. I couldn't really refuse. I hope it will be worth the money. We will find out.
SuperGoop
2 months ago
1) I'd like to know also...

3) The stock tires on the Yukon 750 are 30 TPI Wire Bead which makes them very puncture resistant. They are heavy, stiff and hard to remove, but worth it if flats are a concern, IMO. In contrast, foldable 60TPI and 120TPI tires are much softer and "premium", but more susceptible to punctures. I think the Radrover comes with 60 TPI tires.

8) The default assist is level 1 - 9 (ie. always on). However, it can be set to 0-9 instead, which means that it can be turned off. I use assist 0 a lot in a crowded situation.
40footgiantowl
4 weeks ago

i recently bought a electric fat bike and was wondering what the usb port
on the battery was for?

John Grijalva
4 weeks ago

this bike or the radrover?

Clark Kormier
4 weeks ago

This bike was a better choice for me. More upgraded options, nicer frame
design with the battery built into the down tube, and less shipping cost
really sealed the deal. The Yukon 750 is a beast and I love mine on the
street or the beach. Right out of the box it was tuned and ready to go.

jose ignacio alvarez
4 weeks ago

que precio valen esa bici ?? pueden enviar en ESPAÑA

Seani Vostro
1 month ago

I just bought Yukon 750 limited three days ago. Picked it up in their
warehouse. Bike is powerful considering i am 6.1 and 230 Lb having lots of
fun!

Clark Kormier
4 weeks ago

Me too, I got mine 2 weeks ago and it is so much fun I have to ride it
every day.

Jesus Jimenez
1 month ago

Court do you know, How I can change the max speed on my Yukon 750? I just
got my bike today but it didn't come with a owners manual.

Clark Kormier
3 weeks ago

I just got my new Yukon 750. I love it, this thing is a beast. It is a
large bike but fits my 5'11" frame great. Comes completely assembled except
for mounting the handlebars and the pedals, quick and easy. The battery
housing is solid on mine and doesn't rattle at all. The mechanical disc
brakes work well for basic rides and moderate trails, but for a lot of
downhill riding an upgrade is in order. Right out of the box it was tuned
and ready to go. For an extra $100 I opted for the upgraded version, and I
really like the aluminum flat black fenders, rear rack, and integrated tail
light. For the coin this is an amazing, eye-catching package. Peddle assist
on the lowest setting had me flying around the local park.

Darryl BEAN
3 months ago

?? isn't the RadRover and the Volt Yukon both rated at 750 w motors?? Same
output? Thanks

snowbird29803
3 months ago

I've been following your videos for a while and seriously contemplating a
purchase of an electric bike for nearby errands and light shopping. I like
this Voltbike for the perceived (by me a novice) value. I am a senior man
at 200Lbs. and not a bike guy. So, what makes this bike worth almost a
Grand more than the Sondors, shipping notwithstanding? And do YOU as an
expert think this is a good bike for the price...or can you recommend any
other fat tire electric for me in this price class that is actually
available now and would be better for an old guy.

VoltBike
3 months ago

Hi snowbird29803, Yukon 750 is completely different battery setup. The
battery and frame on Voltbike Yukon 750 are newer design. The battery is
partially integrated into the frame which provides better weight
distribution. The motor is also more powerful. Yukon is using brand name
Tektro disc brakes and the battery is Sanyo (by Panasonic). Hope this helps.

koolstup
4 months ago

That long stem with the bars forward look very uncomfortable. You could
rotate the bars towards you, this would give a shorter reach. I had to do
this with my own bike (non electric)

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Yeah, it's good if you're someone with long arms but I'd probably get a
shorter stem or riser bars to make it fit me better :)

Boulderdaceous
4 months ago

BUMMER ... I ordered and pretty much got ZERO response from the VoltBike
people, so I had to cancel (bummer). VOLTBIKE PEOPLE HAVE REFUSED ANSWERING
MY EMAILS, MY PHONE CALLS AND MY TEXTS ! ... Sad that such a good bike is
sold by such a poor company

Jessy Cliche
2 months ago

I've just contacted them (email) today for technical info and got an answer
about 3-4 hours later. Seems to me as quite a nice company actually! Pretty
weird that they won't answer you..?

Boulderdaceous
4 months ago

I'm sure the Volts folks are super and that I'm the only one who ever had a
bad experience with them. Having been in the industry for over four
decades, I would request that they post All shipping charges (both
commercial and residential), it keeps everyone in the know. Also, having
been there, companies should Always be alert and respond to emails, phone
calls and texts from customers. You're running a business after all.

FYI - currently riding a Phantom XR V5 and loving it ! Great Bike :-)

MrSuperGoop
4 months ago

I had great experiences with Voltbike. I emailed them twice and asked a
web question, and all 3 inquiries got answered (in a few days). I called
them by phone on 2 separate occasions, and someone answered each time, and
I spoke with someone immediately. This was around Sept/Oct 2016. They do
get very business when a new shipment arrive, so maybe you just caught them
at a busy time. The second time I called, I think I could hear busy
warehouse noises in the background.The 1st phone call was over 10 minutes
because I had so much questions to ask about the new Yukon 750 and whether
I should buy now or wait because they are also releasing a mid-drive model
soon. He was very patient and open with information, and I appreciated
that.

Franky Alvarez
4 months ago

That's weird. When my brother got his, they were great

Teffy Teflon
4 months ago

l have the older Yukon and really happy with it for the price point. I have
to agree with you on the long stem. I changed mine out for a shorter one
with more angle rise. I do a long commute and changing it has made my back
a lot less sore. l also changed to a wider bar which makes steering way
smoother. l think the wider bar would help with not loosing steering
control in the sand you mentioned in the video. The wider bar also allowed
me to put on full size grips which are so much better than the original
ones. the original ones wore out in a couple weeks.

l kinda wish l waited for the 750 but that being said make sure you know
you local E-bike laws. Where l am from a 500 watt motor is the legal max.

Karl Fonner
4 months ago

Would it be good for climbing and descending?

yazid shuqair
4 months ago

how much???

the world over
4 months ago

nice holiday
back to work !
thanks

Kaanoski95
4 months ago

Can you please do a review of the new Electric Vintage Scrambler ?

Freelee
4 months ago

Great work dude.
I see Yamaha have increased the max cadence from 86 up to 120 for 2017.

augsburg
4 months ago

Love your reviews. Since you have a girlfriend, maybe have her give a
"woman's" perspective once in a while. I know my wife likes to see that
kind of thing. And since you are an average height and very lightweight guy
(lucky you!), maybe offer a little more from the standpoint of a bigger
man. That is 6'2" plus and over 250 lbs.

piotr feder
4 months ago

Do you know this Dutch bike ? maybe you could test it . Gazelle
Cityzen-Speed,
https://www.gazelle.nl/fietsen/cityzen-speed/ .

ForbinColossus
4 months ago

@14:39 Lovely girlfriend - can't wait for the review!

Tyler Russell
4 months ago

Hey I got a electrical tricycle and the brakes writes got pulled out of the
socket plug so I got no back brakes can you help me