Electra Townie Commute Go! 8i Review

Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Electric Bike Review 1
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Color Matched Chain Cover
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Custom Bend Handlebar Bosch Intuvia Display
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Tektro Auriga Hydraulic Disc Brakes And Front Rack
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Velo Shock Absorbing Saddle
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Integrated Spanninga Pixeo Backlight And Fenders
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Rear Rack And Cafe Lock
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Eight Speed Internally Geared Shimano Nexus Hub
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Electric Bike Review
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Stock Step Through Black
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Stock High Step Grey
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Electric Bike Review 1
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Color Matched Chain Cover
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Custom Bend Handlebar Bosch Intuvia Display
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Tektro Auriga Hydraulic Disc Brakes And Front Rack
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Velo Shock Absorbing Saddle
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Integrated Spanninga Pixeo Backlight And Fenders
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Rear Rack And Cafe Lock
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Eight Speed Internally Geared Shimano Nexus Hub
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Electric Bike Review
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Stock Step Through Black
Electra Townie Commute Go 8i Stock High Step Grey

Summary

  • A feature-rich electric bike that blends commuting utility and efficiency with cruiser comfort and style, large swept-back handlebar and oversized saddle
  • Integrated LED lights, reflective Balloon tires, premium bell, and paint-matched fenders and chain cover keep you safe and clean in all types of conditions
  • Available in two frame styles (slightly different sizes) and three colorways: wavy step-thru in blue and black or rigid high-step in grey and black
  • The kickstand can get in the way of the left crank arm, the front rack turns with the bike so it's easier to spill (especially when parking), the steel chain protector could rust if scratched

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Electra

Model:

Townie Commute Go! 8i

Price:

$2,999

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Cruising, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

57.8 lbs (26.21 kg) (Step-Thru 58.5, High-Step 57.5)

Battery Weight:

5.6 lbs (2.54 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061-T6 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)20.5 in (52.07 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Men’s High-Step Measurements: 20.5" Seat Tube, 24.25" Reach, 29.5" Stand Over Height, 29.5" Width, 76.5" Length, Women’s Step-Thru Measurements: 19” Seat Tube, 24” Reach, 21” Stand Over Height, 29.5” Width, 76.5” Length

Frame Types:

High-Step, Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Satin Black, Stone Grey, Black, Mineral Blue

Frame Fork Details:

Hi-Ten Steel Unicrown, Straight Tapered Leg, 100 mm Hub Length, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Frame Rear Details:

135 mm Hub Length, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Nexus Inter-8 Internally Geared Hub

Shifter Details:

Shimano Nexus 8-Speed Grip Twist

Cranks:

FSA Forged Alloy, 170 mm Length, 20 Tooth Chainring

Pedals:

VP Alloy Platform wtih Non-Slip Rubber Tread

Headset:

1-1/8" Steel Threaded, Semi-Integrated

Stem:

Forged Alloy, 25.4 mm Quill, 80 mm Extension

Handlebar:

Alloy Custom Bend, 24.8" Width, 3.5" Rise

Brake Details:

Tektro Auriga Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Tektro Auriga Two-Finger Levers with Reach Adjust

Grips:

Ergo-Shaped Hand-Stitched Leatherette

Saddle:

Electra Branded Velo, Ergonomic with Shock-Absorbing Elastomers

Seat Post:

Butted Alloy, Micro-Adjust

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Alexrims ATE-2, Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 622x19, 36 Hole, Silver

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Adjustable Nipples, Silver

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Fat Frank Balloon, 28" x 2.0" (50 x 622)

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

30 to 65 PSI, 2.0 to 4.5 BAR, K-Guard 3 Puncture Protection, Reflective Sidewall Stripe

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Alloy Front Rack (9.1 kg / 20 lb Max Load), Alloy Rear Rack (25 kg / 55 lb Max Load), Steel Paint-Matched Chain Cover, ABUS ART Cafe Lock (Key Matched to Battery), Integrated Spanniga Kendo LED Headlight, Integrated Spanninga Pixeo LED Backlight, Massload Center-Mount Kickstand, Disconnected Shimano Dynamo Front Hub DH-3D37-NT

Other:

Locking Removable Downtube Mounted Battery Pack, 1.1 lb 2 Amp Compact Battery Charger, KMC X10e 1/2" x 3/32" Nickel Plated Chain, Maximum Load for Bike 136 kg / 299.8 lb

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line Cruise

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Torque:

63 Newton meters

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

65 miles (105 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD, (Hold Reset and i for Settings Menu)

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (5 Bars), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 5 Volt 500 mA Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50% 40 Nm, Tour 120% 50 Nm, Sport 190% 55 Nm, Turbo 275% 63 Nm)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (25 km/h in Europe)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The original Townie Go! has become one of the most popular mainstream electric bikes to hit the market since it first launched in 2012. Since that time, Electra has upgraded the motor from Bosch Active Cruise to Bosch Performance Cruise (going from 50 Nm to ~60 Newton meters of torque), adding color options, and refining some of the touch points. With the introduction of a new Townie Commute Go! 8i model in 2017, many people have wondered what the differences are and why you’d choose the Commute over the original Townie Go! (which is still being sold). In short, the Commute offers a more upright body position and active ride experience for those who might be pedaling faster and riding further… commuting to work vs. relaxing in a park or neighborhood setting. It doesn’t completely shake the cruiser look, and is still one of the most relaxed and comfort oriented cruisers on the market, but the wider wheel diameter (28″ vs. 26″) and less-offset bottom bracket emphasize pedaling. Other technical differences include the use of powerful hydraulic disc brakes, a front rack in addition to the standard rear rack, reflective tires, a single side kickstand vs. a double-legged center stand, a premium paint-matched bell for signaling and a lighter overall footprint. There’s a lot to appreciate with this new model but a few things did confuse me… the front wheel has a dynamo hub built into it (or at least the demo models I tested did), and yet, this dynamo does not appear to be connected to anything. It’s creating drag on the front wheel but the electricity is going nowhere? It probably adds weight and expense, so there must be a reason for it. Perhaps this was included on European models and setup with some different sort of headlight and simply left on the American version to hit economies of scale and reduce manufacturing complexities and variations? The front rack is another area of mixed results for me, it turns as you steer which can change the handling feel or dump supplies off of either side depending on how tight the turns are. And if you park, because the bike uses a single-side kickstand, the front rack may tip to the left and shift contents. A more sturdy design would be to have the rack mounted to the steerer tube / head tube, but that may cost more and can be a little confusing visually as you steer the bike but see the rack staying straight. It’s all about trade off’s I guess, but one thing they really nailed is the two frame sizes and multiple colors. As an average sized male, standing 5’9″ tall, I would probably get the black step-thru because of how easy it is to mount. It doesn’t look as feminine as the light blue step-thru and handled very well (the frame felt stiff vs. flexy as a lot of other wave designs are). With the motor and battery mounted low and center on the frame, the bikes handled well and left plenty of room for cargo, especially on the rear rack which is not compromised by a rack-mounted battery.

Driving the bike is a standard Bosch Performance Line Cruise motor producing 250 to 500+ watts of power output and up to 63 Newton meters of torque. It’s incredibly capable and super responsive. This motor responds to rear wheel speed, pedal cadence, and pedal torque. It listens for these signals 1,000 times per second and spins a smaller 20 tooth sprocket to deliver maximum chain grab and start power. The world of electric bikes has grown a lot over the past five years and there are many cruiser options with throttles and super powerful motors but Bosch, with it’s smart pedal-assist only design, has remained one of my favorites. I have found that it responds quickly and powerfully enough (depending on the gear, and the level of assist you choose) to almost feel like a throttle. It isn’t difficult to start out on a hill from zero if you’re in a lower gear. And that’s easy to accomplish with the Townie Commute Go! 8i because you can shift gears at standstill. The 8i in the name stands for eight speed internally geared. Simply twist the half-grip shifter on the right side of the bar and it will click into the next gear. It works pretty well, but can take some getting used to for those who are more familiar with trigger shifters. For example, if you shift while applying a lot of pressure on the pedals and cranks, the Shimano Nexus hub may not shift immediately and you’ll hear a clicking sound. This will continue until you ease back just a bit and let the new gear engage. The Bosch mid-motor has a built in micro-gap to help shifting occur naturally, they call this shift detection, but the best thing to do as a rider is ease off slightly if you need the gear to change. The combination of a mid drive with an internally geared hub means there are only two chainrings in use and the chain itself can stay straight and tight. Electra did not opt for a horizontal dropout design here (used to tighten the chain for single sprocket setups like this) and instead is using a chain tensioner that looks a bit like a derailleur. Perhaps this means they will have a cassette version of the bike for less money in the future or maybe they just shared the dropout section of the frame with another model? Whatever the cases, it works fine and chain didn’t bounce or fall off during my tests. Most of the shifting mechanisms are protected near the hub and should require less maintenance than a standard derailleur. If the bike tips or gets bumped from the right side, the hub is more protected… and your pants or dress will also be protected thanks to a painted chain cover. I love how minimalist this cover is but noticed that it is made from Steel vs. Aluminum which means it could probably rust if scratched. Be careful not to step on the cover or graze it with your right shoe while pedaling. Note also, that internally geared hubs tend to weigh a bit more than derailleurs and sprockets, they also add to the cost.

Powering the bike is a standard Bosch Powerpack 400 that is mounted directly to the downtube. It’s not especially refined or integrated like some of the fancy new e-mountain bikes, many of which also use Bosch, but it doesn’t look that out of place here. It’s easy to get at for charging or removal and I would definitely recommend taking it off if you have to lift the bike or are storing it in an environment that experiences extreme heat or cold. The battery case has a nice loop at the top to make carrying easier and safer, it has an integrated 5-LED power readout so you can see how full it is without mounting to the bike, and it doesn’t require a special adapter to work with the charger as some other less refined systems sometimes do. The battery charger that you get with the Commute Go! is the more basic Compact version which puts out a standard 2 Amps vs. 4 Amps. But it’s smaller and lighter, it works fine for the Powerpack 400 here. Bosch now offers a larger Powerpack 500 which offers 25% more capacity, and the good news is that you can buy this pack separately and it will work with the same interface on the downtube. Both batteries use the same sort of Lithium-ion chemistry but the Powerpack 500 has a higher energy density makeup in its cells. It doesn’t weigh much more but will increase your range which can be nice. The stock Powerpack 400 should deliver between 20 to 60 miles depending on the level of assist chosen and I love how easy it is to gauge distance using the Bosch Intuvia display panel which has a range menu.

The Intuvia is one of my favorite display systems from any ebike manufacturer because it’s large and easy to read, has a Micro-USB port built into the side, can be navigated with a remote button pad so you don’t have to take your hands off the grips to make adjustments while riding, and it can be remove easily for safe storage. This display isn’t overly complicated, the basic interactions are on, up, and down. You could literally just turn it on and arrow up with + and down with – buttons to achieve the optimal support… or you could go further and press the i button to explore trip readouts such as distance, time, max speed, and that range menu I mentioned earlier. It all works together nicely, and the display is backlit with a faint blue glow for use at night. Since the Townie Commute Go! 8i has integrated LED lights, the display panel is also used to turn them on or off by pressing the lightbulb button at the lower right corner. My own experience with this system has been that it balances function with form but leans a bit more towards function. Bosch now has a Purion display that combines an LCD with buttons and is much smaller and not removable. For someone who actually commutes, and might leave their electric bike out in the rain, direct sunlight, or in a rougher bike rack, the removability factor is huge. You can often pay to have shops swap display models if you prefer the smaller, and I did notice that the button pad wire was stretched pretty far to reach all the way to the left grip. It seems like there’s a bit of room for refinement there, but overall the system works very well. I also like that the display mount can be swiveled forward and back (if not over-tightened) to help reduce glare.

At the end of the day, I think I could be happy on either the original Townie Go! or the new Commute model. The smaller diameter of the Townie Go! means that the frame is lower to the ground, and it has wider more stable tires… but it does weigh just a bit more and lacks the hydraulic disc brakes that the Commute offers. Both bikes will likely receive incremental design and accessory improvements over the years (we have already seen that with the Townie Go!) but one thing that remains great is the wide network of dealers who can help fit you and service the product long term. I want to thank Summit Bicycles in San Jose, California for letting me showcase the Townie Go! and Townie Commute Go! side by side. They also sell the non-electric Townie models which cost just $500. It’s a bit jarring to see basically the same bike for $2,500 more because it’s electrified… but the Bosch drive system is worth it if you’re struggling to keep up with a friend, trying to go further, or just don’t want to arrive to work all sweaty. If buying the Townie Go Commute or another electric bike means that you can forego an automobile and save on gas, insurance, and repairs, then the price can make sense. In the world of electric bikes, this would be considered a mid-level price for all of the accessories and dealer support that you get. There are competing products out there which may not last as long or perform as quickly, powerfully, or smoothly. Again, the frame and color options draw me in and I think this could be a great option for many purposes and types of riders.

Pros:

  • Technically, the Townie Commute Go! comes in two styles and each one is a slightly different size (both are measured in the specs above) and this allows it to fit a wider range of riders with different body types, I also like how the quill stem can be raised or lowered but feels more solid than some of the adjustable angle stems
  • At ~57.4 lbs for the step-thru frame style and 57.8 lbs for the high-step, this is not the lightest weight electric bike on the market but it’s also not terrible considering that you get alloy fenders, chain protector, two racks, custom elongated bars, a large comfort saddle, and integrated lights… and the upgrade to hydraulic disc brakes here vs. band Brakes on the original Townie Go! means you can stop much faster and without exerting as much hand effort
  • By using a Steel fork, swept-back handlebar with padded ergonomic grips, a large bumper saddle, and larger Balloon tires from Schwalbe, Electra has improved the the comfort of this e-bike without using suspension which adds weight, cost and a feeling of bob… for those who want to further enhance comfort, consider upgrading the stock seat post with a 27.2 mm suspension seat post like the BodyFloat or less expensive Suntour NCX (just keep in mind, these suspension posts will raise the minimum saddle height by a few inches)
  • I’m a big safety nut and the integrated LED lights, standard reflectors, premium bell, and reflective sidewall stripes on the tires all combine to make this a bike that will be noticed and respected in different environments and lighting conditions
  • The rear rack is very functional, it’s positioned well behind the saddle so that you can lower the seating position without blocking usable rack space, I like that it’s also color-matched to the black and blue frame colors
  • With an internally geared hub system like the Shimano Nexus 8 here, you can shift gears at standstill to prepare for a climb (though it may take a moment of low-torque pedaling for the shift to occur), and I have been told by shops that internally geared hubs don’t get bent out of alignment as easily or require as much maintenance as traditional derailleurs… they do weigh a bit more however
  • The brake levers used on the Townie Commute Go! 8i are adjustable so you can bring them in if you have petite hands or are wearing gloves, the two-finger design stays out of the way and is a bit higher end as you might see on a mountain bike
  • Electra is now owned by Trek, one of the Big Three manufacturers to sell in the USA, and they have dealers all across the nation, that means you can find and test ride the Townie models much easier, get fit correctly, and receive help if there is ever a warranty issue or you need a tuneup
  • The bike comes stock with a built-in frame lock that uses the same key as the battery pack, this lock basically slides a rod through the rear spokes so nobody can grab your bike and ride away with it… but they could still lift it and try to run off, it’s a nice little extra that’s useful for quick stops at the coffee shop for example
  • Overall, the frame is very well balanced with motor and battery weight positioned low and center, this is important for handling while riding or if you have to lift the bike up a curb while walking it
  • Both the battery and display panel can be easily removed for safe keeping or reduced weight, this feature comes in handy if you have to park at a public rack and want to charge up inside, I love that the display panel also has a Micro-USB port on the right side for use with your own portable electronic devices while riding, I have used it to charge my phone on occasion
  • The Bosch drive system and controller are very advanced, they provide shift detection to protect your drivetrain and have a range-estimate menu to help inform your rides (it’s much more useful than a battery infographic because it responds to the level of assist you choose)

Cons:

  • Be careful not to step on the chain protector or scratch it while pedaling because it’s made from Steel and can rust vs. the fenders which are Aluminum and will not, I like that it’s painted to match the frame and not super big or overdone which would just add weight, it’s quieter than a plastic chain cover
  • The kickstand is positioned towards the middle of the bicycle, just behind the bottom bracket where the motor is, and this is fine for balancing the bike but it does get in the way of the left crank arm (specifically, when you back the bike up if the stand is still deployed, they will collide)
  • It looks neat to have a front rack in addition to the more standard rear rack, but the way it’s mounted, the front rack turns as you steer and can more easily dump cargo, this even happens when you park the bike because there’s no deflopilator spring holding the front wheel straight and the kickstand is a side design vs. center mount
  • I noticed that the front wheel hub was a dynamo energy generator vs. a standard lighter, simpler, less-expensive normal hub, I’m guessing this even adds some resistance to your front wheel spinning and I have no idea why it was present on both of the bikes I saw considering that it’s not even connected? Both of the lights run off of the main battery pack, at least on the USA models I reviewed
  • Unfortunately, neither the Women’s step-thru or Men’s high-step have bottle cage bosses, consider using a handlebar drink holder or a trunk bag with a bottle holster for fluids
  • Minor gripe here but the Electra Townie models appear to come with the Compact Bosch Charger which only fills at 2 Amps vs. 4 Amps on their high-end charger, I haven’t compared directly but it might take 5+ hours to fill vs. 4 hours and in this case, the bike comes with the smaller Bosch Powerpack 400 battery vs. the new Powerpack 500, this reduces weight slightly and saves cost, the good news is that the Powerpack 500 is backwards compatible so you could upgrade to that or buy a second battery and it would still work with the interface on this bike
  • Minor gripe here but the button pad used to arrow up or down through the assist levels just barely reaches the mounting point near the left grip, you can see in the pictures that the cable is stretched to the max… and they want to put that control pad close so you don’t have to take your hand off while riding but at the same time, I feel that this cable is vulnerable and should just be longer… maybe Bosch needs to think about offering a longer cable for cruiser bars like this so the cable won’t be as vulnerable and tight as it was on the Electra Townie Commute Go! 8i models I tested
  • Depending on how you ride, and whether you live somewhere that has a lot of rain, the stock pedals might not be ideal, they aren’t super wide and the rubberized tread can become slippery, my favorite affordable replacement are Wellgo BMX pedals like this

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Electra Reviews

Electra Townie Go! Review

  • MSRP: $2,729
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The best Electra Townie Go! design I've tested to date, better weight distribution, increased efficiency and greater power thanks to the Bosch Performance Cruise drive system. Available in six different colors with matching aluminum fenders, chain guard, rims and carry rack,…...

2014 Electra Townie Go Review

  • MSRP: $2,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Comfortable, simple to use and affordable cruiser style electric bike built on the proven Electra Townie platform. The SRAM EMATIC system has no computer to mess with, no extra cables or settings…...

2013 Electra Townie Go Review

  • MSRP: $2,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2012, 2013

Proven platform, Electra's Townie is comfortable, durable and stylish. Incredibly simple and clean, no computer to mess with, no extra cables or settings...


John
4 months ago

I got my Electra Townie Go Commute about 6 weeks ago. It does not have a front dynamo and the front wheel has quick releases. I love the ride and my only complaint is that they did not key the battery and the cafe lock together. I have to carry three keys, including my chain lock, with me when I ride.

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Huh, that’s very interesting… Thanks for chiming in about the dynamo and quick release front wheel. I wonder if the bikes I saw were from a different batch or had different requirements or something? Would you mind sharing which state you bought yours in? I conducted this review in Santa Clara, California (near San Francisco).

Reply
John Kuecks
4 months ago

I bought mine at Santiago Cycling in Tustin, CA, Southern California. Mine is the Stone Grey/White model. I had wanted the Townie Go high step but Santiago Cycling stated their supplier, and they are a Trek shop, was all out of Townie e-bikes except for the Commute, so that’s what I bought. It sounded like they might have more in September.

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Thanks for the update John! That’s interesting, I hope you enjoy the Commute :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Solarbuddy
3 months ago

I'm wondering what is the best way to affix a Boomerang alarm/GPS-tracker to a Electra since they don't come with built in bottle-holder bosses. Although I live in one of the best towns in California for cycling (Redlands), none of the staff in the local shops (I've visited 3 and spoken to six in all) seems to have any idea how to solve this seemingly trivial problem.

harryS
3 months ago

I'm always dubious of the electricals on an ebike that is transported at highway speeds in a pouring rain. You'll want some kind of sturdy cover for the display and controls that won't fray away in the wind. Battery too, although I take the batteries off to save the load on my hitch mounted racks when I transport with my car.

You'll also want some good protection for loose batteries. They are fire risks and probably shouldn't be left charging while away from the RV. I would charge them outside the RV, just in case. However, I'm sure a lot of RV stuff runs off lithium power, so you probably know better than me.

As for theft. I think good insurance is best. Even if you had a video camera monitoring the bikes, my opinion is that police in far away towns don't have time for tourists unless they're issuing a ticket for revenue. More likely for the bikes to get stolen if you rode somewhere for shopping.

Electra Townie Commute look fine to me. I'd buy one if money didn't matter.

Paul H
3 months ago

We are looking to purchase our first pedal assisted e-bikes. We are an active retired couple each about 70 years old, about 5 ft 7 in, and normal weight. We travel roughly 10,000 miles per year in our motorhome and will carry the bikes on a rack on the back of the motorhome. The cost of the e-bikes is not a major concern. The e-bikes will be primarily used on paved bike trails. The e-bike we are leaning to at the moment is the Electra Townie Commute Go because: Electra is the only brand of e-bike sold by the bicycle shops in our local area, we think the front and back racks on the Commute would help us lift the e-bikes onto the bike rack, and we are thinking the internal gear hub would be preferable given the e-bikes will be carried many miles on a rack. The bike rack we are leaning to is the Hollywood Sport Rider for electric bikes. Our current bicycles are the Day 6 Journey which we bought about 6 years ago. We welcome any suggestions/advice on choosing an e-bike and rack that would be suitable for us. Thanks.

ForlornMTL
4 months ago

I have a new bike (under warranty) with an odd "glitch." I just need an idea what I'm dealing with.
Whenever I've shifted into 5th gear with the assist on, after a quarter to a half mile the crank acts like it
has jumped a chain link. It may happen several times while riding. Now for the odd part. I rode over a mile
in fifth gear with the assist off, and nothing happened. In fact, with the assist off it behaves completely normal. This problem only seems to happen in fifth gear with the assist on. All the other gears are fine. Any ideas? Thanks!

I had the same issue with my Townie Commute Go. Got it less than a week ago.
Found a video that explains it clearly. It's something that happens on a brand new bicycle. Cables get "stretched" or settled into place.
It's an easy fix that does not need any tools at all. I would call it an adjustment.
Also, all bolts need to be checked after the first week or two of use. As vibrations could loosen things up.

Alexander T.
4 months ago

I purchased a Townie Commute Go! 8i less than a week ago and have ridden approximately 10 miles on it. It rides nicely. One of the features of the bike is a built in frame lock for quick stops in relatively secure areas. The frame lock has the Abus brand name on it. I found the frame lock difficult to use the first 3 times I used it. It was a little difficult to insert the key and it has a spring loaded lever which is used as part of the locking process. The key was sticky in the lock and I would have to fuss with it to get the key to come out after loading the spring lever. This frame lock requires that the key stay inserted when unlocked, which means that the key (and key ring) dangle at your side as you ride. And this pretty much forces one to use the frame lock when stopped, even if using an external lock. Otherwise someone could come along, see the key hanging out, lock the bike, and then steal the battery after removing the key. The third time I went to use the frame lock, it failed in the locked position. It looks like the tumbler fell into the lock. This was incredibly inconvenient, as I couldn't roll the bike away after removing my external lock. It had to be transported to a bike repair shop by vehicle.

1/1
Over50
4 months ago

Just recently purchased my first Ebike, a Townie Commute Go. Thanks to the riding position, carpal tunnel
syndrome is no longer a problem. Even though I'm in my sixties, I feel like a kid again!
Howdy right back at ya and welcome to the forum. I'm a born and raised West Texan but now living in more northern climes. I was fond of taking my mountain bike down around Ft Davis State Park and even once ran into a group of Javalinas (or Peccaries I suppose). And I used to mountain bike in Palo Duro Canyon as well. But my avatar/photo is the Franklin Mountains State Park which was almost my backyard growing up. And I have good memories of hunting fossils and arrowheads in the Guadalupe Mountains, the Pecos River, around Carlsbad etc ... but now I feel the nostalgia setting in so best get back to ebikes. How do you find that Townie? I've been eyeing that brand for my wife but most of their models seem a bit big for her - at least those I've seen at my local Trek shop.

Katman4532
4 months ago

I also recommend the Trek Lift+, even though I bought the Townie Commute Go. I took a test ride at our
LBS on one. Very impressed. I only went with the Townie because I planned on using an Ebike mostly for
street use. With that said, I may see if the LBS will take my old Trek 6000 as a trade in sometime in the future.
Not sure how I'll be able to sneak it home without the wife finding out.

Katman4532
4 months ago

I have a new bike (under warranty) with an odd "glitch." I just need an idea what I'm dealing with.
Whenever I've shifted into 5th gear with the assist on, after a quarter to a half mile the crank acts like it
has jumped a chain link. It may happen several times while riding. Now for the odd part. I rode over a mile
in fifth gear with the assist off, and nothing happened. In fact, with the assist off it behaves completely normal. This problem only seems to happen in fifth gear with the assist on. All the other gears are fine. Any ideas? Thanks!

Katman4532
4 months ago

Hello to Marleen and anyone else who may be interested in the Townie Commute Go,
Last night, my wife and I rode after dark on a road with no street lights. The light on the Townie
was bright enough to see the road easily. Today I rode just over 18 miles mostly in Eco mode, but sometimes with
the assist turned off. I accidentally stumbled on some 4x4 trails today along an area lake. The "siren call" of these
trails was too much to resist, so off I went. I was actually pleasantly surprised at how well this bike did. I wouldn't
recommend doing this on a regular basis, but it did confirm that it can be used on mild trails. I plan on going back
to these trails again, but with my old Trek 6000. One other experiment my wife and I did had to do with
rolling resistance. My wife has an old Trek Navigator mountain bike with street tires. While going up a gradual
incline, we both stopped pedaling at the same time and just coasted. The Townie pulled ahead. The same thing
happened going down a small hill. Nothing scientific, but interesting results. So far, this bike has been a real joy
to ride. The only problem I'm currently having occurs in fifth gear with the assist on. The bike "acts" like the chain
briefly jumps ahead. It may do this several times, but only in fifth gear and with the assist on. Oh well, that's what
a warranty is for.

Katman4532
4 months ago

Just recently purchased my first Ebike, a Townie Commute Go. Thanks to the riding position, carpal tunnel
syndrome is no longer a problem. Even though I'm in my sixties, I feel like a kid again!

Katman4532
4 months ago

Hi Marleen!
I realize this is an old thread, but I recently took possession of a Townie Commute Go. So, here is my mini-review.
First of all, this bike is heavy; perhaps a little heavier than the Townie Go. I live in West Texas which is mostly flat
terrain similar to where you live. I bought this bike sight unseen simply going by my experience on a regular Townie.
The first thing I noticed is that this bike is quite tall with the 700c tires. In fact, unless the seat was lowered almost all
the way, I could not sit "flat footed", (I'm 5ft. 10in. Tall). The bike itself seemed to be very well made with very clean
welds. On my first ride, I purposely left the assist off for the first mile which consisted of 1/2 mile flat road with a 20 mph
crosswind. Next half mile was slight incline with a 20 mph headwind. I had no trouble pedaling in first gear at 6 to 8
Mph. I was concerned about how difficult this would be to pedal with a dead battery. Not bad at all. The next 5 miles
was done on the eco setting (20 mph headwind and rolling terrain). At the 6 mile point, I turned around (time constraints) and pedaled back with the assist off doing between 15 and 23 mph. Two days later, I did a 10 mile circular
ride and then a 6 mile trip to the LBS for a gel seat cover (highly recommended) using mostly the tour setting. Altogether,
I've put almost 31 miles on the bike using 2 out of 5 "bars" battery power. So, here's my opinion so far. The bike is
taller than what I would have liked, however, traffic has no trouble seeing me. The drive system is quiet and seems to
give a boost that comes on subtly but increases as needed. Very nice. I don't think the weight will be a factor since your
terrain is flat. You will want to use the boost coming out of an intersection. I'm going to ride after dark tonight to see
how well the lights work. The ride is very comfortable with the gel pad on the seat, in fact, perhaps the most comfortable
bike I've ever owned. I'm in my early sixties and fit for my age; pedaling with the assist off is quite doable. My only two
complaints are the height and weight. Hope this helps. Feel free to ask any questions!

Marleen
5 months ago

Another update!

Ok so today my mum actually got to take a little spin on a regular (so non-electric) step thru Townie just to be able to experience its fit in order to maybe eliminate it from the three available Electra ebike options beforehand. Or to instantly get hooked and just forget about the rest ;-)
We actually managed to find one(!) step thru Townie at some local bike rent company we've never paid any attention for they are of course for tourists only ;-)

The pro's first. She felt, like on any Electra bike, safe and stable and more importantly, the steer luckily turned out to be much less straight and narrow than expected! That was really the biggest surprise/ relief.
On the other hand, and even though her Electra cruiser also has 26inch wheels, she kept on saying she somehow felt like riding a kids bike?!
But I should add this probably also had to do with the fact that the bike was stripped of any fenders, racks whatsoever, which somehow made it look(!) a lot smaller. 'Look' because when we put it next to a 'fully dressed' mens/ step over Townie, that initially looked much taller, it turned out they actually were the exact same height! So quite the optical illusion there I guess.
After properly measuring the step thru height (I just made that up ;-) but I mean the crank and tube height combined) of the Townie, it indeed turned out to be even lower(!) (about 5cm/2 inch) than on her step thru Electra cruiser.

So while the Townie model is definitely not eliminated, she now also is really convinced the slightly bigger 28inch wheels on the Commute and Loft, with the matching slightly higher placed crank and step thru positions, should be much less of an issue. Plus as long as the model still has the flat foot technology, the mounting of the bike should automatically become less of an issue.

As for the difference between the Bosch Active and Performance line: I suddenly realised the Urban Arrow Family bike we presented as a gift to my brother and his family is actually equipped with the more powerful Performance line. (At the time the bike shop accidentally sold our ordered gift bike to someone else.... so as an apology they offered a free upgrade to the Performance line)
So I can now say, out of my own experience, being familiar with both, I really can't tell the difference! Then again I should emphasize, this is in The Low Countries; so only in non-hilly conditions.
But I think I can safely say that in our mostly flat Dutch landscape the difference between the Performance (Townie and Commute) and the Active (Loft) seems of no real importance when it comes to choosing one. Apart from the slight difference in their reach as I have mentioned before. +20km in lowest support mode (eco) +1km in the highest support mode (turbo)
Cool for by 'eliminating' as much of these 'complicating' extra's, my mum can just focus on what is really most important to her; her actual seating/cycling position.

But I guess most of all this proofs just how very important an actual test ride is!!
And of course, with that being said, how very valuable these awesome test ride video's Court does really are!
Im still convinced there is no such thing as too much information when it comes to the tech specs; I still want to know as much as detailed as possible, but eventually riding a bike yourself and/or watching someone else doing just that and telling about that is still the best tool for making a good choice!

Ok that's it for now
And needless to say if anybody has any experiences with any of the new Commute and or Loft Go! bikes please don't be shy!
To be continued!

Marleen
5 months ago

A quick update!

So the best news first! For it actually looks like we are, after all, going to be able to test ride all three Go! models ourselves somewhere in, hopefully, fingers crossed, the near future.
And even in The Netherlands! Yippee!
So a big thank you to Bram @ Electra Benelux
My mum shall test the step thru Townie Go! and Loft Go! I shall test the step over Townie Commute Go!
Of course I shall, at the time, do a full and extensive review here!

- As for the mystery about the walk assist function: according to Electra Benelux walk assist is now enabled on all Go! bikes, at least in Europe, and otherwise you could apparently(?) always let your local mechanic enable it still. Only the very first Go! models didn't have any walk assist at least that is what I am told.

- Then about the difference between the Active and Performance line. I am told it is in effect almost not noticable for the rider. Albeit the performance line being a more powerful motor indeed, it mostly has to do with the way the power is distributed and not so much with how you actually experience it while cycling.

Gazelle uses the same Bosch system and they report only a small to a very small difference between the Active and Performance line when it comes to their reach.
Combined with a 400Wh accu the performance line allows you to go 20km further when you are using the Eco mode (which is the lowest support mode) but while using the most powerful Turbo mode the difference is reduced to only 1km?!

You can see it below: (and learn some Dutch while you are at it ;-)

- As for the weight of the bikes; apparently they all weigh somewhere between 25 and 26kg.
So no really big differences there.

That's it for now!
Still looking very much forward to Court his pro-review and findings and discussing the outcomes of his testing here!
And then of course to our very own testing that, fingers crossed, hopefully will take place soon and on which I shall report extensively here then.

Marleen
5 months ago

Court thanks for your feedback, as always very much appreciated!
And for your kind words! You must know my mom is equally if not much cooler than I am ;-) and I am just as happy and proud for having her in my life and riding bikes.
I always say she is The Original I am 'just' The Remix ;-) She disagrees, of course ;-)
But ok I shall stop this shameless pouring of love now for this is after all a bike forum!

Although you are quite right to point out that I have a deep and rather strong love for Electra too, the feeling just hasn't been completely reciprocated yet ;-) but I remain optimistic!
I actually am in contact now with the freshly appointed manager for the Benelux area so that's a start ;-)
While he still has to set up shop here properly, as he only started this brandnew(!) job last monday, he seems like a nice guy and willing to help us.
Besides trying to answer the already mentioned questions / issues raised here, he actually promised to try and get one demo bike (most probably the Loft Go!) from Hamburg to the Third World Bicycle Country that is The Netherlands ;-) Hallelujah! ;-)
I am of course still trying, as hard as I can, with all my super powers, to persuade him to ship all three! For naturally I would still very much prefer for us to be able to check out and test ride all of the available models before actually buying one.

Especially because, while we are familiar with all the different cruiser models from Electra, neither of us have ever taken a ride on an actual Townie model! And the Townie is quite different compared with the classic cruiser. I mean with its much smaller and straight steer you just have to end up being in a very different seating position than on a cruiser while cycling? To me it seems you would be in a less laid back position? I am now actually trying to hunt down a regular Townie somewhere in the neighborhood asap so we could at least try the fit of this bike first. I mean it would help a lot were we to find out we could eliminate the Townie from the options. Or if it turned out to be the complete opposite of course.

Which leads me to another interesting question; why is there actually no electric version of the cruiser model? So an Electra Classic Cruiser Go! It seems pretty odd right, especially considering all of the different new ebike models Electra has now presented. And considering that, to me at least, the cruiser is still the ultimate embodiment of what Electra is.

So all in all chances are still pretty big we shall head to Hamburg in the near future to be able to check out and test the entire Go! family ourselves. So yes I guess that is how far (pun unintended sorry) our Electra love goes ;-) In which case btw we shall of course report on our findings extensively right here!

Weird story about leaving out the walk assistance option btw.
Now the rules on the European market are of course different to those in the US. Here in The Netherlands there are f.e. no such classifications or legal limitations to enabling a function like walk assist. But I was told that the first generation Bosch Go! bikes form Electra indeed also didn't have this feature in Europe. I am still waiting for a final answer from Electra Benelux about whether they have in the meantime altered this for the European market; meaning this function could now indeed be enabled in Europe. To be continued!

The point you made Court about the potential risk of the moving pedals with walk assist is indeed something to take into account. On the other hand most bikes here that actually have walk assist don't have their pedals moving when it is turned on. I think that depends on the type of gears you have on the bike? My guess is the only plausible explanation for it being disabled Stateside is out of fear for legal liability. In Europe we have completely different legislation when it comes to this. Then again chances are slim they will make an exception for Europe for all the bikes are imported from the US here if I am right? Much easier of course to make just one type per model bike for the whole market.

Quite an eyeopener btw to point out here that the Townie Loft actually sports a different, less powerful, model Bosch motor (the Active line) Whereas both the Townie Go and the Commute Go! actually sport the more powerful Bosch Performance line. I actually have printouts of the different specs on the Electra website so my mum and myself could visualize the differences better, but on these the difference between active and performance line motor is not mentioned. It is on the website but somehow just not on these? (These print-outs appear after you click on the small specs plus print icon top left on the picture of any choosen bike on the Electra website)

But I like your thoughts on why they might have opted for this less powerful motor on the Loft model. ("slower to start, weaker overall so it will expand battery range and feel safer and more predictable to riders maybe") Therefore it might even end up being a better option when more safety and stability are your absolute priorities!
But then again on paper the overall position just seems less relaxed, less laid back. It somehow reminds me of the citybikes the Italians ride. I don't know if anybody else knows what I am talking about here? Plus the saddle doesn't have the shock absorbing elastomers like the Townie and Commute, it does have a spring though. Curious what kind of an effect that has.

And then there are the 28 inch tires, not as fat as the 26 inch fat franks on the Townie Go! plus they do bring up the whole bike just that tad bit higher. When you look at the pictures of the different models next to each other, it even looks like the distance between the crank and the upper tube is a bit bigger with both the Commute and the Loft. This seems irrelevant but when you are older and/or smaller this could just turn out to be that tad bit annoying when mounting/ dismounting your bike.

Plus your conclusion that the less powerful motor must effect battery range must be apt too, for the accu still has the same power as on the bikes with the stronger more powerful motors. Then again this is not mentioned by Electra. The specs when it comes to distances are the same for all the different Go! types: "20-100 miles / 40-120 km depending on your mode and terrain"

On a side note; as much as I really enjoy and love the happy, colorful and flashy Electra website for it seems completely in sync with the whole brand/ 'cycling as a lifestyle' idea. When it comes to the tech specs they could maybe improve it a little. Moustache f.e. has this cool drawn model of each specific bike type with all the measurements mentioned. And no that wouldn't just be cool for so called 'geeky bike nerds' (nothing but love and respect there) but it could really help out anyone while trying to narrow down the exact type of bike of your preference. Especially since there sadly is not an Electra (e)bike shop or showroom on every street corner, which makes the online availability of relevant and correct information, be it technical, just practical or visual all the more important!

Ok enough said for now.
I shall return here as soon as I get some interesting new info thru the Benelux manager. And of course as soon as I have managed to get my hands on one, or even better, on all of the new Go! models myself.
In the meantime I shall be dreaming of the apparently impossible combination; an actual electric classic cruiser bike by Electra. Or as Court said quite rightly; why to his surprise they (just) haven't put larger beach bars on the Townie Go?

NKB
5 months ago

I am 62 years old and live in a hilly town, and have decided to invest in an e-bike. I have travelled to several different bike shops to try out different models (Trek, Pedago, Townie, Faraday and now Kalkhoff). For my body shape and fit, the Kalkhoff fAgattu Impulse (2016 model) feels like a better bike, but the "lightness" and portability of the Faraday Courtland S made me feel more in control. My average commute to work on the bike will only be 3 miles each way, but I am worried about the range on the Courtland. Any users out there who have ridden these two models have any suggestions? THANKS!

Court
5 months ago

Hi Marleen, thanks for sharing your enthusiasm for cycling and complimenting our work here. I’d love to share a few thoughts and try to help :)

My own Mother has had a couple of bicycle tips over the past few years and I’ve seen her become sensitive to riding, especially in crowded environments and around faster cyclists. You mentioned stability and I feel that the Electra models (or any cruiser style ebike) could be a great fit because they tend to have wider tires and a more relaxed geometry. Sometimes, they even have smaller 26” wheels vs. the standard city/road 28” 700c. You touched on this in your post with the Fat Frank tires ;)

You really explained the Flat Foot technology from Electra well, it allows the saddle height to be lower so that riders can put their feet down while seated, but still get reasonable leg extension forward to pedal. They have a patent on this but you can see some competitors trying to imitate it by using back-angled seat tubes. Moustache does this with their Lundi 26 https://electricbikereview.com/moustache/lundi-26/ and Pedego does it with their 24” Cruiser which is unique because of the even smaller 24” wheels which bring the entire frame down closer to the ground https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/24-step-thru-interceptor/ The downside of both examples here is that they use rear-rack mounted batteries vs. the downtube design on Electra’s Townie model. This increases frame flex and makes the back rear heavy which can lead to crack-the-whip handling and easier frame tips. Pedego in particular, tends to be very rear heavy because they use a rack battery and hub motor system vs. the mid-motor on the Moustache and Townie. One upside is that the Pedego has a throttle while no Bosch systems offer that.

Bosch makes one of my favorite drive systems and it’s cool that you’re already familiar with it from the Urban Arrow. The reliability, responsiveness, and balance make it desirable but of course, it’s also a bit pricier.

So I have not seen the Commute Go! or Loft Go! in person but I have studied the official website and you did a great job narrowing down. I view these as more efficient “commute” type of bikes with lager 700c 28” tires that raise the bike slightly, hydraulic disc brakes that are going to be easier to pull and smoother to brake with, and swept-back handlebar designed to be comfortable (positioning you upright) but still narrow to fit through doors and between cars. Frankly, I’m suprised that the Townie Go! doesn’t have larger beach bars… but maybe the reach distance is already short enough? It’s an interesting design choice there compared to Pedego and others… perhaps they wanted to really raise the bar vs. raise and sweep back? I’m not sure. Anyway, my guess is that the Loft Go! will be the lightest model because it uses narrower tubing than the Commute Go! The look on the Loft Go! is more classy vs. beach cruiser but it shares a lot of similarities with the Commute Go! models and they all appear to use the Bosch Active Line motor which is slower to start and weaker overall (so it will extend battery range but also feel safer and more predictable to riders perhaps).

Based on what I have heard from Trek recently, none of the Trek or Electra models will have walk mode enabled and I’m not clear on why. In the past, some other large companies have been shy about any kind of throttle application because it changes the bike from Class 1 to Class 2. Now, a two-mph walk mode that requires two button presses to activate (and ongoing holding of the plus button) doesn’t seem like a big issue to me, and I love the idea that you could get help moving a 50 lb bike, that might have cargo loaded, up a hill or steep driveway. One concern however, is that the cranks turn when this mode is active and that can put your legs in the path of sharp pedals which could cause a scrape or surprise you enough that you actually drop the bike or something. I’m not really sure what drives the policy for them. Maybe someone will chime in with more info or perhaps this policy will change one day?

I’m sorry to hear that so far it has been difficult to locate a Trek dealer with ebikes to demo. Hopefully that will also change soon… or you can become one of the first to own the new models, it sounds like you are already a great ambassador for their brand of bikes :)

I’ll do my best to review the new models soon and appreciate your enthusiastic and well-researched comments Marleen. You seem very cool and your Mom must be very proud and happy to have you in her life riding bikes.

Marleen
5 months ago

Hi there I'm new to this, let me just say amazingly explanatory and well informed forum! Really brilliant! Hats off to Court and everyone involved!

My name is Marleen, I am from The Netherlands so you could say naturally an absolute bike junkie, but more importantly in this context, an avid Electra fan!

Because my still superfit and equally Electra loving 72 yrs young ;-) mum is currently looking for a new ebike I ended up here. Main reasons for her wanting a new ebike are more stability and more safety. This partly because of some minor and major incidents that happened in the past year that sadly ended up making her (and me about her) feel less secure on her bike.

Her current ebike is a Gazelle Innergy Chamonix frameheight 49cm and she has been really very satisfied with its flawless(!) performance over the passed 6 years. Used it daily and extensively for commuting, leisure, for longer and shorter rides at home in The Low Countries but also in more hilly conditions abroad.

The only downside turned out to be the fact that with this bike she is not able to reach the ground while remaining seated in her saddle at the same time. Something that, as we recently discovered, sadly is still not possible when she tried a Gazelle in their current smallest frame height 46cm. She is 163cm btw. I also should mention that a frame height of 46 and 49cm are considered fitting and appropriate for a person of 163cm. Luckily because she also owns an ELECTRA cruiser bike she knows that there is actually a bike that does offer the possibility of having your feet flat on the ground whilst being firmly seated! Also known as Electra's 'flat foot technology'.

Another very positive aspect of the ELECTRA cruiser are its fat frank tires! The relatively smaller tires on her Gazelle can pose quite a challenge, especially with all the tramrails we Dutch happen to have in all of our city centres. They can get stuck in there pretty easily and when it has been raining, not too uncommon here, you can imagine that can happen even quicker as goes for the risk of slipping. The fat frank balloon tires just give you an instant boost of confidence for they immediately enhance your stability, on and off road, plus they act as an extra cushion protecting you from experiencing every bump in the road yourself.

So after the most recent incident, where she ended up hurting herself after toppling over (because she simply wasn't able to reach the ground quickly enough while she was still seated) we decided it was time to look for a new ebike. Preferably one with all the aforementioned benefits of her ELECTRA.
Only then did we discover ELECTRA now actually have an ebike range! Now even combined with the top end Bosch motor system. Already familiar to us because it is also used on the Urban Arrow Family ebike we use. It really is just a super neat and frankly, in our opinion, one of the best motorsystems out there for an ebike. The combination of an Electra bike with its flat foot technology and the fat frank tires combined with the top end Bosch motor just has to be the best of both worlds!

So after we narrowed our search down to the ebike collection of ELECTRA, that are all called Go! btw, we now face 'the problem' of choosing just one of the three available models. There is the already slightly older ELECTRA Townie Go! (already reviewed by Court in another great video) but now you also have the ELECTRA Townie Commute Go! And there is the ELECTRA Loft Go! Online I could, up until now, only find a short introduction of the two latest additions by ELECTRA themselves, but this consisted of a mere summing up of some of the specs.

Now luckily Court (after some serious stalking on my part ;-) has promised to do his review on (one of) the new two Go! models in the nearby future. Depending on whether and how soon he can get his hands on (one of) these bikes ofcourse.
But this would be extra nice because right now there are still some questions about the pro's and cons between these three models.

The newly added models offer hydraulic disc brakes. On paper this looks like an upgrade, but is it also an upgrade in reality? Then there is the alteration to the steer; the new models sport the so called 'café bar steer' it is less straight than the one on the original Townie so what does this mean for your actual seating position? Then there is the difference in the used tires; while the original Townie Go! Sports the famous 26 inch Fat frank balloons the newly added models seem to have less fat tires and am I right to assume they are 28 inch? And what about the differences in total weight?
These are all technical differences apart from the obvious visual differences between the various models of course and the two frame options; step over (male) and the lower step thru (female)
Plus they all come in different colours.

And some questions about the Go! series as a whole.
Like do they also offer walk assist? It is not mentioned anywhere, but I know from our Urban Arrow Family bike, that all Bosch powered ebikes provide this rather handy feature. In The Netherlands f.e. we have quite a lot of underground bike cellars not only near train stations or other public buildings but also underneath quite a lot of appartment buildings in the city. So having to push your electric bike up a pretty steep hill on a daily base is not a very nice idea. Especially when you don't travel light in the first place, or when you're a bit older. Plus the average ebike is just always a bit on the heavy side compared to a regular bike, so a little walk assistance seems like a very good idea and would be a very neat feature on the Go! series indeed!

On a more general note I'd like to add that sadly ELECTRA is, up until now, not very present in my country The Netherlands. Meaning test riding one of their ebikes here has up until now just been impossible. They currently only have one flagship store in Europe which is located in Hamburg Germany. In The Netherlands their official dealers only sell the bikes online meaning they want you to buy the bike first for only then will they order it for you and then they even refuse to take it back because 'they ordered it especially for you'. Meaning there is, up until now, no possibility to check these bikes out first or take them for a test ride prior to deciding if and what kind of model you would like to purchase.

I find this especially sad because the whole checking, trying, comparing and buying process of a bike could and should be such a nice and awesome experience in itself. It could also be such a priceless opportunity for a brand to show and sell themselves to its potential customers and to keep its fanbase happy!
I remember buying each and every bike I own exactly and with my first ELECTRA I even considered sleeping over in the garage. Ok so maybe Im a bit crazy, but just referring people to an anonymous online shop experience while you are marketing and selling a so called lifestyle bike does seem a bit odd? Or at least contradictory.

But I am an optimistic person so let's hope for some progress here and the introduction of some properly equipped ELECTRA (e)bikestores here in The Netherlands soon! For seriously not a day goes by while I'm out and about with my bike that I don't get some positive remarks on my ELECTRA wheels and let me tell you there are quite a lot of bicycles here in The Nethetlands. Just saying! Plus the potential market for safe and stable yet funky looking ebikes is pretty amazing here!

For now I am very much looking forward to watching Court his, no doubt awesome, review video on the newly added member(s) of the ELECTRA Go! Family and on discussing his findings (and those of other people who have had the opportunity to (test) ride any of these bikes and are willing to share) here further. And on informing whoever else is interested here about the further developments in this whole process. Maybe you could help us with your experiences or maybe you find yourself in a similar situation and our story could end up helping you along the way of finding your new ELECTRA ebike!

Keep on rolling ;-)
Marleen

Dewey
6 months ago

Not a great idea. You bought a 20MPH bike...Best to save you nickels and do a total upgrade...There are several versions of motors used for the Townie. If you have the Bosch his link is relevant.

Agree this won't work with an earlier model year, I assumed because OP stated he has a "new" bike that meant he has a >2016 Townie Go! with the Bosch motor. Also agree about the upgrades, at the least if you're modifying a stock Townie Go! for speed you will want to replace the Shimano roller brakes with the hydraulic disc brakes from the 2017 Townie Commute Go! I agree OP would be better off trading in for a purpose built speed pedelec.

Demented PoV
3 weeks ago

I'm betting WAY over 300lb limit. There is a video of a man who rides the non electric version of the Townie at 430lb full stock other than the seat.

room-360
4 months ago

By the way - are there any electric bikes for kids?

Silver Wolf
4 months ago

I just bought this bike. I have not picked it up yet as I just put a hitch on my suv. Here is the problem: With the fenders you can't ratchet down the tires? So does anyone have suggestions on a type of rack for these ebikes? You're video's are very good, It would be nice if you included transport vid's. A one stop shop for info so to speak. Cheers!

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA
4 months ago

I'm digging this e Bike Might buy it!!! Love your channel!!!

Vin Chung
4 months ago

These are nice. But too pricey. I'll stick with gas powered bike.

Greg Palmer
4 months ago

Hey Court , I purchased a Electra Townie Go !  because of your review. My thoughts are high quality  great handling bike.  I only disagree on two points. 1) the brakes became one of my favorite parts of the bike. The were stronger than I expected and they were smoother than my wife's disc brakes. 2)I cant agree in calling this bike a commuter for one reason. The motor , although strong ad torque rich  , does not reach 20 mph. I grew to hate the 19.4 mph cutout where  it seemed like riding through wet cement. I ended up selling the bike since I started commuting  and the frustration of this was a total killjoy.I watch your reviews every day , keep it up !!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Thanks for the insights Greg, maybe you'd like the new Vintage Electric Cafe? It offers a beautiful cruiser look, is lighter than the Townie Commute Go! and can hit ~28 mph https://electricbikereview.com/vintage-electric-bikes/cafe/

Allard Freichmann
4 months ago

The more people buying e-bikes the cheaper they become. The batteries will improve so the bikes. It's just a matter of time. Don't forget there is a world market.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

That's true, they have already come down in price about 25% since I started reviewing five years ago! It's neat to see, and just have more choices of high quality products ;)

philodygmn
4 months ago

Townie GO! desperately needs class 1 or 2 throttle that has override and walk mode with reverse. I can't believe they didn't use disc brakes for regular Townie GO! They need to ditch steel completely: the massive weight is nowhere near worth the cushioning especially with fat tires (I own a classic non-electric Townie Balloon 3i that has the Fat Frank tires). The "Commute" is redundant and should just be a series of optional components keeping the classic Townie stance _exactly_ as in the original non-electric: racks (front that does _not_ turn with the wheel), more swept back handlebars, option to have both double kickstand in the center and single kickstand near the rear wheel. Integrate the lights. Nuvinci rather than Shimano rear hub would get rid of the obnoxious racket Shimano hubs make while idling. I see no real reason not to use a belt drive given the chain is fixed and Townie is all about bridging utility and fun like beach cruisers (I live by the coast so salt air is an issue). Electra/Trek have made so many frustrating, bizarre trade-offs in bringing electric assist to Townie.

philodygmn
4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com You're probably right about marketing and build-out, Court; the proliferation of different pieces for each model specifically is what I find baffling, though. Why mess with success? Townie's frame was perfect, but they keep scooting its cranks in, changing the handlebars, leaving off disc brakes for the one closest to the original design, etc.

Also, hopefully a Class 2 direct drive system with throttle, walk mode, and an option to use a belt will eclipse Intuvia, whether Bosch puts it out or someone else…

Thanks for your detailed reviews and I'm glad to see you recognized by someone in that recent video 😉

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

There's definitely room for improvement but I think the large companies avoid customizing in favor of different model types to keep building and selling simpler for their employees. Perhaps it also makes marketing more clear. I was surprised that Trek disabled walk mode for all of their ebikes but I'm not surprised that there is no throttle option, Bosch systems have never offered this (perhaps to reduce motor strain or comply with European law)

F r e e l e e
4 months ago

Good work Sir.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Well, thanks you :D

James Mason
4 months ago

can the front rack be removed

Allard Freichmann
4 months ago

Or use it.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

James Mason Yeah, I believe it's a bolt-on design and can be easily removed, same with the rear rack

Martian Megafauna
4 months ago

I like the look of the Electra cruisers and the retro stuff they have done. For the price, I considered it good stuff.
However, with this bike they have combined that asia-cheap thing with quality electrics, and the price has soared.
Unless Trek has started supplying them with Alpha 7000 aluminum and relabeled Bontrager (say that 3x fast, Court. ;) ),
the price/value ratio seems to have tilted away from 'reasonable' toward 'really?'.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

For a Bosch powered bike, I feel it's reasonable but not a great value. You can get a very similarly outfitted Bulls Cross E for a couple hundred less and it comes in more frame styles and size choices and has the larger Powerpack 500 https://electricbikereview.com/bulls/cross-e/ though it uses the weaker Bosch Active line motor vs. Performance here.

Jeff Ellermeyer
4 months ago

OK It took me at least a month of watching your videos before springing for an e bike. After looking for a off road trek powerfly my wife and I bought the townie go bikes for starters. We LOVE them. Unbelievable ease and stability around town and up and down hills. I would NEVER have thought an e.ectric cruiser would be so much fun. Smiles all around. BTW. I am 70 yrs young and wifey is younger. Great bike out the door price of $2K each 2017 models. I still am going to buy the 2018 powerfly 7 FS for a bit of off road fun. Thanks for the videos! I think Trek is a good product.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

That's great Jeff! It sounds like you and your wife share a fun active lifestyle. Glad you found a deal and I hope the Powerfly works great for you, I'd love to hear your thoughts on that once you get some time in the saddle

the devil is back now he is here
4 months ago

very nice bikes. my only gripe would be a lack of colour choice for the high step model and I'd like to see colour matching of the motor. minor issues though :)

the devil is back now he is here
4 months ago

Perhaps. I've seen some bikes with colour matched covers over the motors, perhaps it's a cost thing too :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Yeah, they could do more to integrate the battery but most of the Bosch casing I see is black, maybe their hands were tied on that?

277kne
4 months ago

Can a throttle be added to this or the Lyft?

277kne
4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Thank you for the information. Are there other mid drives without a throttle?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

277kne No, I don't think that any of the Bosch powered electric bikes can be outfitted with a throttle, same thing for Shimano STePs

Alfred lucky
4 months ago

You're the best when come to bike review. Like it

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Alfred lucky Thanks for the compliment, doing my best ;)

Monstah Jones
4 months ago

I've always loved that frame, but always wished they'd make one with a fat tire option, even just 80mm rims would be great, and i'm pretty sure they'd sell like hot cakes..

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

That sounds cool, have you heard of E-Lux? They sell cruiser style ebikes that do come with fat tires and some nice fenders and cruiser bars: https://electricbikereview.com/brand/e-lux/ they use hub motors but have throttles vs. just pedal assist

GIANNIS LYMPEROPOYLOS
4 months ago

YOU MAKE THE BEST EBIKE REVIEWS ON THE NET...SO MUCH INFORMATION...SO MUCH KNOWLEDGE AND ATTENTION TO THE MOST TINY DETAIL IN EVERY BIKE...EVEN IF SOMEONE KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT BICYCLES JUST BY WATCHING RANDOMLY ONE OF YOUR VIDEOS ....HE CAN GET A PERFECT CLEAR PICTURE ABOUT THE EBIKE WORLD...KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

GIANNIS LYMPEROPOYLOS Thanks for the compliment, I really work hard at this and am glad it makes a difference for people, thanks :D

Groucho
4 months ago

hi, i just want to let you know, that the difference between me with and without a electric bike was you. tbh 3 nights of one great review follows the next :D i love your channel. i learned a lot about ebikes from you, and in a world full of ebikes i bought this one for my private commute some weeks before this review, because it is just the perfect one for me. thx! :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Groucho Awesome! I hope it's working out well for you, glad that these videos and the site helped guide you :D

Steve Hyder
4 months ago

Please can you tell me what set up you use to film? Thanks

Steve Hyder
4 months ago

Thanks very much, keep up the good work!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Hi Steve, I use this setup:
- GoPro Hero 4 Silver: http://amzn.to/1U6HAJy
- Micover Sticker: http://amzn.to/1XClfYP
- Motorized Gimbal: http://amzn.to/1XCkHC8

This Isn't my real name Google.
4 months ago

New viewer here! Love your videos! You guys deserve so many more views.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Thanks! Appreciate your support :D