Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Commuter Kit Review

Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Commuter Kit Review
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Commuter
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Commuter 350 Watt Geared Hub
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Commuter 36 V 11 Ah Lithium Battery
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Commuter Led Console Trigger Throttle
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Commuter Controller Box
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Commuter Front
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Commuter Kit Review
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Commuter
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Commuter 350 Watt Geared Hub
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Commuter 36 V 11 Ah Lithium Battery
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Commuter Led Console Trigger Throttle
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Commuter Controller Box
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Commuter Front

Summary

  • An affordable, all-inclusive electric bike kit available in many wheel sizes (front or rear) with a nice one year warranty
  • You get a standard 350 watt internally geared motor, 36 volt Lithium-ion battery pack and a trigger throttle
  • No display console or pedal assist modes come stock with this kit, just a simple LED power meter and throttle mode, EBO has several upgraded kits and can sell custom packages
  • Predominantly available online but finding their way to more and more dealers in the United States

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Electric Bike Outfitters

Model:

EBO Commuter Kit

Price:

$704

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

30 Day Return, 1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20152016

Bicycle Details

Battery Weight:

5.5 lbs (2.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

6 lbs (2.72 kg)

Gearing Details:

9 Single Speed or Shimano 6 or 7 Speed Cassettes or SunRace 8 and 9 Speed Cassettes

Brake Details:

Mechanical Wuxing Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Double Walled

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 36

Wheel Sizes:

16 in (40.64cm)20 in (50.8cm)24 in (60.96cm)26 in (66.04cm)27.5 in (69.85cm)28 in (71.12cm)

Accessories:

Optional Twist Throttle, Optional Cadence Sensor with 3 Mode LED Console and Controller for $31 at Time of Purchase or $105 Later (Because of the Additional Console and Controller)

Other:

Rear Motors Cost $25 to $50 Extra, Dropout Widths Front: 100 mm, Rear 120 mm or 135 mm, Brake Clamp Diameter 22.2 mm, 14 Amp Controller

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub, Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Charge Level (Red, Yellow, Green)

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The EBO Commuter is the most affordable kit (at the time of this review) from Electric Bike Outfitters. This is a relatively new electric bicycle company based in Denver Colorado. The first things I noticed were the excellent price and all-inclusive setup. Unlike some kits, this one doesn’t tease you with a “battery not included” price tag. For well under $1k you get a modest motor and mid-mounted Lithium-ion battery that will take you 15 to 20 miles per charge and work on most traditional bikes. You can choose the wheel size from a wide selection of 16″, 20″, 24″, 26″, 27.5″ and 28″ which means folding bikes, kids bikes, cruisers, mountain bikes and city bikes will all work! The one hangup here is the slightly wider hub design that might not fit all fork widths, consider the EBO Phantom if you’ve got a single speed city bike because that hub was specially designed to be narrower and avoid scraping. Also, as you consider this kit, ask yourself whether you want pedal assist because it can be added for just $30 but costs over $100 after the fact (because it uses a different controller). This is the only kit from EBO that doesn’t come stock with assist and for many people that will be fine but your thumb might get a little tired after longer trips.

Powering the bike is a generic 350 watt planetary geared hub. It seems like the front-mounted design is a bit quieter but they both produce a bit of whirring noise and endure more wear than a gearless direct drive hub. The big benefits are small size, good torque at lower speeds and light weight ~6 lbs. The Pure City demo bike I was riding in the video review above weighed just 45 lbs with the kit installed! That’s pretty good… and the pricetag for the bike plus kit was under $1,200 making this a very affordable ebike option. Even though the motor you get here isn’t the most powerful and might not be the highest quality, it does offer a lot of value and you get an awesome all-inclusive warranty with the bike so that gives me peace of mind. Considering that it is a kit, you could also probably pick up a replacement on individual parts in the future should one fail.

The battery pack on the EBO Commuter electric bike kit is a mix of good and bad. The upside is that it’s downtube-mounting which improves weight distribution, frees up the rear portion of the bike for adding a rack and fenders and is pretty well protected by the frame. I like the canister design, it has a built-in LED charge level indicator and seats well once you’ve screwed the mounting bracket into the bottle cage bosses on your bike (your bike must have bottle cage bosses on the downtube for this kit to work). The downside is that while this battery pack is removable (for lighter transport and convenient charging) taking it off and putting it back on is a pain. Most downtube batteries (including those on the higher-end Electric Bike Outfitters kits) just click in and make contact with metal prongs, on this kit you have to manually screw the power cable into the battery and the space for getting your fingers in there and twisting the metal ring is very limited… It’s a pain but if you just leave the pack on and charge while mounted you’ll never have to do it.

Operating the EBO Commuter system is extremely simple in its stock form. You charge the battery, mount it and attach the power cable then click the on/off toggle switch at the base of the battery pack. Next you press the red button on the LED console near the trigger throttle and it lights right up. At this point, you can use the variable speed trigger throttle to your heart’s content. It can reach up to ~20 mph but also does well at lower speeds. I found myself juicing it from standstill then easing off once I hit a speed that felt comfortable for pedaling. Honestly, I think my thumb would get tired after too much riding with a throttle like this, especially given the grip style gear shifter on the right bar… this made the reach to the throttle a bit further and required more energy for me. You can screw around with the throttle position and find the perfect fit and as mentioned earlier, you can also upgrade to pedal assist but that requires more installation time and effort as well as an LCD display.

This e-bike kit is all about simplicity and in my opinion it’s a winner. While the ~$500 Pure City Bourbon that the demo kit was installed on felt great and had a lot of extras including an 8 speed derailleur, fenders, rack, nice grips and a comfortable swept-back bar… you could easily find a bike at Walmart with similar features for under $200 and get yourself a sub $1,000 electric bike that would work just fine. Keep in mind that this hub motor design is wider than the EBO Phantom and that you don’t get pedal assist stock but otherwise you do have the nice color coded wires that are easy to setup as well as upgraded brake levers with motor inhibitors. All kits tend to add a mess of wires to the bike so I usually go for black or dark colored frames that help them blend in. You’ll probably extend more time and effort with a rear-mounted kit but that’s usually my preference for traction and improved steering… especially if you have a weak suspension fork.

Pros:

  • Color coded wires are easy to setup, the motor cable has a quick disconnect point that makes servicing the wheel (front or rear) much easier
  • You get brake levers with integrated motor inhibitors here which could come in handy if you upgrade to pedal assist (much more affordable to do when you buy the bike ~$30 vs. later since it uses a different controller)
  • I like trigger throttles because they are easier to fit with existing grips and twist shifters, they also perform better for off-road use because they don’t compromise your grip, this one worked well but you can upgrade to a twist throttle if you prefer
  • Available in a huge assortment of wheel sizes including 16″, 20″, 24″, 26″, 27.5″ (650B) and ~28″ (700c) so you can convert folding bikes, kids bikes, road bikes, mountain bikes etc. and they all cost the same
  • Relatively light weight with the battery at ~5.5 lbs and the motor ~6 lbs so you aren’t going to end up with a heavy ride
  • The mechanical brake levers are compatible with traditional designs as well as disc brakes and the motor has a mounting pattern for use with a disc brake rotor

Cons:

  • Generic motor and battery cells might not last as long and produce a bit more noise under power but are still covered by the one year warranty
  • Basic LED display panel won’t show your precise battery level, speed, range or other details that the higher end kits will
  • The battery pack clicks into the holster easily but has a screw-in power connector that can be tricky and time consuming to connect, it also takes up most of the space where a bottle cage would mount… consider a saddle rail adapter, rear rack with a bottle bag or a hydration pack
  • The controller unit is built into a separate box vs. being integrated into the battery mount or motor, this just means more things have to be screwed onto the frame and possibly more wires
  • If you decide to upgrade and get pedal assist, it will require more effort to install and the units I saw only had a five sensor disc which isn’t as responsive
  • You have to power the battery pack on as well as the display unit to get the bike going… this adds a bit of time to each ride but also makes it easier to forget to turn the battery pack off when you park

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Electric Bike Outfitters Reviews

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Mountaineer Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,180
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A high power, high speed electric bike kit capable of 30 mph top speeds, can be operated with pedal assist, trigger throttle or optional twist throttle. Heavier but sturdy 750 watt gearless hub motor, can be mounted in the front or…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Front Range Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,083
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A powerful gearless hub motor kit capable of being installed as a front or rear wheel, sturdy and relatively quiet. Gearless motors tend to be heavier and this one is ~12 lbs and does not…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Phantom Kit Review

  • MSRP: $925
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An affordable electric bike kit with everything you need to get going: motor, battery, throttle, pedal assist. Custom designed casing is narrower than many other 350 watt motors and fits in 100…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Cruiser Kit Review

  • MSRP: $925
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A feature rich, reasonably priced, electric bike kit with trigger throttle and cadence sensing pedal assist drive modes. The battery pack mounts into a sturdy universal rear-rack that can support ~55 lbs and…...


cyclist2009
1 year ago

What are the dimensions of the battery?

Court Rye
1 year ago

I’m not exactly sure, this would be a great question to email Electric Bike Outfitters about because sometimes cases change and I reviewed their models last year.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Stoker283
3 hours ago

@america94 if you feel like Tom Cruise, I probably feel like Michael Schumacher on my red one!!!:cool: It is true that many people are asking about the bike and it is definitely a head turner.

The ride on the sand was only for a short distance and unexpected, I just notice the beach was close and I figure that I should try it. So my tires were at 25 psi, definitely not the recommended pressure, but because the sand was wet and pack it still ride well. If I would of have a pump with the pressure gauge I would of drop it to 7 psi. I have see @Court video where he normally drop it down to that pressure on the beach and it seems like perfect!

Talking about your Maxxis, how do they fit on the 4" rims? I was thinking in installing a pair of commuter tire, but don't really find anything that is 4" wide.

I did go through most of all the screws on the bike, but since it was a Demo Benoit had already lock tight many screws. I only had issue with the only holding the rear fender in the middle, it was the real B to get at, which is where I learn how to remove and reinstall the rear wheel. :mad: I really which I had a maintenance rack like yours, do you remember where you got it?

I did got some basic maintenance supply from WD40 for bicycle, but I sure wouldn't mind to see how and what you do for maintenance on yours.

Over50
6 hours ago

Thanks, Over50. I did see some of the locking threads and there do seem to be some good options out there. I was mostly curious if there were those who are taking the risk of leaving their beautiful ebike out there and exposed for the day...and what methods (locks, motion sensors, etc) they use to deter. What has your experience been? I must have a little PTSD in this area as I had my beautiful mountain/road hybrid bike that I loved dearly stolen at a bus station years ago - it's painful to think about 20 years later. :)

That is a bit of a different situation (having to leave all day sight unseen). I am parking in front of two different office buildings. Both are high traffic and have security teams. Which isn't to say that I have a lot of confidence they are monitoring the bike racks. The one in front of my office is a hangout for the office smokers so from 8am to 5pm there is generally someone standing close by. And me being paranoid I check on it about 10 times per day. The other office building I use about 50% of the time because the racks are covered- but it is 3 blocks from my office. So I can only check on the bike a couple of times per day. I had the Boomerang GPS but the unit failed and I haven't worked out a replacement yet. Your situation is why I wasn't commuting by bike prior to getting the ebike. I did have the option of riding my regular bike to a bus stop about 5 miles from my house and taking the bus to work. But I didn't feel there was a safe place to lock the bike for the entire day. The ebike gave me the ability to ride all the way to work and back. I would have a tough time leaving either my ebike or my human powered city commuter locked up for the entire day in any of the areas around my office or even my home if I couldn't check on it from time to time. I probably have too much separation anxiety for that...

Saratoga Dave
7 hours ago

<<quite hilly with stop signs in the middle of the hills>>

Hub drive with a throttle. Far easier to get going and across a street quickly, then ride as usual with the pedal assist helping as you desire. I'd say a Pedego City Commuter, but they're heavy (and top heavy as well, since the battery is on the rear rack)... very strong throttle. That Cross Current mentioned above with a throttle might be a good idea. A lot lighter than the Pedego.

You can certainly get going on an XM700 - I own and love one - by making sure you are in a low gear and kicking up the assist to Sport, but the throttle jobs are really simple and great for that purpose.

San Diego Fly Rides
8 hours ago

Yay! A new e-biker! I definitely understand the concern about the bike getting stolen. I'd second Dewey's recommendations. We use ABUS folding locks at our shop and I use the New York U-lock for personal usage.

In terms of bikes you might be interested in, I'd be less concerned about weight more about it being the right size. It sounds like you want something with that's easy to mount and dismount, so stick to step-thru frames (also sometimes called low-step) or wave frames. I'd start by checking out the Bulls Cross Lite E or the Bulls Lacuba Evo E8. These are both bikes that are great on hills and great from stops. Basically, you're looking for a higher torque to accelerate more quickly out of the gate. Both Bosch and Brose motors offer higher torques. If you want something a bit cheaper, check out the IZIP Dash. Still a great commuter bike, but definitely going to save you some money.

I'd say the ultimate in security would be to take the bike into work with you, so you might also want to consider some foldable options. Most foldable electrics can easily fit underneath a desk. This way it's with you all day. My favorites are the Blix Vika+ and the Tern Vektron. Let us know if you have any questions!

Javagenki
11 hours ago

I'm about to make a purchase of a RadRover. I would like to be able to use it to ride to my park and ride a few miles away where I would lock it an leave it for the workday but I am very concerned about theft or vandalism...even with a secure lock. Is anyone else doing this and what methods and tools are you using to deter theft and/or vandalism?

Thanks!

Blisandt
1 day ago

Hey there. East Coast here. I just do 14miles a day work and back, lucky to live on a rail trail that drops off into woods and spits me out into suburban neighborhood.

I'm interested in hearing about area rides - the event and the venue - if there are any.

Blisandt
1 day ago

Raleigh Retroglide iE 2017

It's Red. I have had this bike for 60 days. I just had it tuned up and it is a gem! I am selling because I want to do MORE biking than I could have imagined, but this is a GREAT commuter bike! Not a thing wrong with it!

Raleigh's Retroglide iE sports classic retro styling with a modern, technological twist. A classically styled aluminum frame is morphed with a pedal-assist motor that helps you go farther, faster, and with less effort.

Whenever you need a boost, the Currie Electro-Drive Centerdrive motor lets you zip along at up to 20 miles per hour, for up to 35 miles! Sturdy wheels, and a smooth-shifting 7-speed drivetrain to help on the hills, the Retroglide iE is ready for endless cruising. Keeping with the throwback theme, there's a springer seat for superb comfort on every adventure, fat balloon tires, cool fenders, and a stamped Raleigh chain guard to add to the classy looks. And a COMFY SEAT!

Pictures available upon request.

Selling with no sales tax... $1500 It's located in BOSTON Area and I will not ship it... but we can meet if you are in N. E. It's in "excellent used" condition because my pannier and basket have made marks on the paint job. Those are the only blemishes!

Additional Information
FRAME Aluminum 6061, Comfort Geometry
FORK High Tensile Steel w/Fender Mounts
MOTOR SPECS Currie Electro-Drive Centerdrive 350W
DRIVE SYSTEM Currie Electro-Drive Centerdrive 350W
BATTERY TYPE/WEIGHT 48V Lithium-ion, 8.7Ah, 417Wh
RANGE ON FULL CHARGE 16-35 miles
MAX. ASSISTED SPEED 20 mph (32 kph)
RIMS/WHEELS Weinmann XTB26 Double Wall 36h
HUBS Modus 36h w/QR
TIRES Kenda 26×2.25", 30TPI
CRANKSET Centerdrive
CHAINRING 42T
REAR DERAILLEUR Shimano Altus
REAR COGS Shimano 7spd (12-32t)
SHIFTERS Shimano SL-TX50 7spd
BRAKES Tektro Linear Pull
HANDLEBARS Alloy 25.4, W:630mm
TAPE/GRIPS Raleigh Grips
STEM Alloy quill, 80mm
SADDLE Velo Raleigh
SEATPOST Alloy 27.2x350mm

TrevorB
1 day ago

Give Smartmotion Pacer a try. Lot cheaper, good review. My friend has one and loves it, perfect commuter.

Doug D.
1 day ago

I am ready to put two e-bikes on the back of my motor home and take off. I need help. Since we are not pulling a car, I want to purchase two e-bikes for me and my wife. We will use them as our "commuter vehicle" when we are at a camp ground. . .that means traveling to the store, visiting sites (about 15-20 miles max on paved and maybe some dirt roads).

I would like to pay less than $2000 a piece. Can you give some advice?

Hub Motor vs Mid Motor?
Throttle?
Minimum Voltage
Minimum Amps

Anything else I am missing?

Thanks for the help.

Doug D.

Dewey
2 days ago

Just got my Trek XM700+. Love it.
Hello from Arlington, VA. Great choice for a commuter speed pedelec. You may like to know a safety update is coming for the Bosch Performance Line motor with the Intuvia display in the form of ABS for the front brake and rear wheel lift control.

Ridetherain
2 days ago

Hi. I'm thinking about getting my first e-bike for commuting to work a few days a week. It seems like the more I research, the less I know. Help!

I'm average height (5'7") but weigh practically nothing so I'm concerned that a heavy bike would tip me over at a stop sign or something. So something lightweight is probably a good idea.

I plan to ride about 7 miles each way to work and it's quite hilly with stop signs in the middle of the hills. I currently can't ride my regular bike that far and I have to walk up those hills after I hit the first stop sign - just can't get going again. I'm not sure if an e-bike is enough to help with that.

I'm a little concerned about theft - I work at a courthouse and I don't know if that makes it more or less likely... I like the idea of accessories like lights being either removable or integrated as well as any displays. Any recommendations on whether to get a bike with them integrated or just buy stuff separate that I can take with me when I lock up at work?

mams99
2 days ago

So, while I'm REALLLY all about getting a tandem... if I get into that and actually use it, the next thing I'm going to look into is an electric urban commuter bike.

I love in a burb of DC/B'More. Too far from work to commute it all (20 miles) and it's not a bike friendly commute. I work at the tip top of DC - right on the edge of Silver Spring. Most of my commute time is getting through/out of that area - then I fly. I wonder about parking my car and riding in. Anyone do a commute like that?

I wouldn't want a bike on the car, but fit "in" the car.

mrgold35
3 days ago

I did take a 22 mile all paved bike ride loop around the city starting at 2:30pm just to see how hot is too hot on an ebike. It showed 101 degrees on the internet; but, it was probably 100-107 depending on the part of the city (started heading east from work near downtown, headed to north side of ABQ, cut down towards the west to the north/south river trail, and back home on west side). The Radrover rode like a champ the entire way. Never felt under powered, zero issues with braking, or it had any issues maintaining PAS 3 at 17-21 mph. I did up the PAS to 4 for longer inclines to maintain my speed and used the throttle at full 750w on short but steep inclines.

SPEED is your friend! It really helped keeping my speed +17 mph because it aided in the cooling. I never felt overheated during the ride (commuter Osprey backpack, vented bike helmet, sunglasses, half finger glove, long sleeve bike shirt, extra long baggy bike shorts with spandex under, and regular running shoes). I like the long sleeve shirts to keep from getting sun burned when riding.

I ran into a few other bikers and they could only travel 1/2 to 3/4 of my speed on the same paved trails. A few were walking their bikes or taking breaks in the shady spots along the river. I did the same loop on my old pedal bike last year during the summer and that left me tired into the next day.

RostHaus
3 days ago

http://www.vilanobikes.com/vilano-core-electric-belt-drive-single-speed-commuter-bike-700c.html

Its incredibly inexpensive at $799 and belt driven what?!. No idea what branded parts they are using. I see "sun moon" stamped nearly the belt drive hub motor. May make a good review bike!

I'm currently building a bbs02 electric step-through off of one of Vilano's budget bikes. I wasn't sure what to expect, Some non electric Vilanos get good reviews in the $300-500 range for a entry bike. But this one was under $150!

Overall its not a terrible quality bike, as I was expecting to replace some of the bad parts from the start. Cheaper than building from any of the half way decent step through frames I could buy.

sanglee007
3 days ago

Does anyone have an Ibera pakrak ? I was thinking of getting this for my RadRover. Is a little less expensive than the Topeak system. Both the rack and the quick release commuter trunk can be had for about $80. I'm not doing any serious trekking, just want something to keep my locks and cables in once in a while. Any recommendations?

Hi dapope_22,

I have an ibera pakrak 5 (https://www.amazon.com/Ibera-Bicycle-Touring-IB-RA5-Frame-Mounted/dp/B00AA8GFSI) on my RadMini but I prefer the Topeak Super tourist disc (https://www.amazon.com/Topeak-Super-Tourist-Tubular-Bicycle/dp/B000ZKHN6Y)

A couple of things that annoy me about the Ibera pakrak5;

The bottom part of the rack is too high and my panniers with hooks cannot be secured
The seat stay mounts, while super solid, are tubular instead of the 'floppy' flattened steel mounts a lot of racks use

If I had to do it over, I would probably find a more fatbike specific Topeak (https://www.amazon.com/Topeak-super-Tourist-Rack-Black/dp/B0187ZSMYA)

EDIT: I also had the Topeak on my RadRover, and I preferred having that extra security when attaching my panniers.

Sang

mrgold35
4 days ago

I have two his/her Radrovers with 4" fat tires, 750w rear hub motor, and just front spring suspension forks. My ebikes see double-duty as a weekday work commuter and morning/evening/weekend paved or single track rider. I usually 2X-4X my mileage fun riding compared to 13 mile round trip work commuting. I added a larger seat and suspension seatpost and that improved work and trail riding (Sunlite Cloud-9 and Bodyfloat V2.0 with orange springs).

We have about 20-30 miles of paved, dirt service roads, horse trails, and single track paths along the Rio Grand River in ABQ. I wasn't able to ride the single track trails much for a few months because the spring run-off from the mountain snows raised the Rio Grande river and flooded a lot of the trails nearest to the river. The trails are almost completely dry with the lower river height and 95-103 degree temps. I like the north/south river run because it is half way on my east/west work commute, mostly level paths, and a few degrees cooler because of the river and tall trees. There are around the same amount of trails near the foothill at the base of Sandia mountains starting at 6000 feet (a little steep in spots and can be really rocky). My tail heavy Radrover didn't do as well on steep rocky terrain because you need to "bunnyhop" up some of the rocks that are +6 inches tall.

I also purchased very bright Niterider lights for my handlebars and helmet for night rides along the river trails. I really like night riding and I usually have the trails to myself once the sun goes down. I did have to purchase elbow and knee pads because of a few spills and got tired of scratching my arms and legs on branches on the single track trails. I always wear a helmet, gloves, and eye protection day and night when riding. My head has hit a few branches and had a lot bugs in my face on the trails day or night.

The only downside to trail riding is having to clean and lube your bike afterwards (and getting use to all the dents and scratches).

Themis1988
4 days ago

Because I want to buy from a local dealer, I went to Ichi Bike in Des Moines' East Village today. They were out of Pedego models so I test rode the Izip E3 Vibe+ on a medium frame and the E3 Path Plus commuter on a large frame. I definitely need the large frame. Not being an aggressive rider, the frames felt very sturdy. It was my first time on an e-bike and was thrilling, a bit scary, and reassuring all at once. I loved that I could start from a stop quickly and get up the steep local hill without any difficulty. Wow, those can fly downhill! :D I really liked the cush of the Vibe with fatter tires and had no problem on the hill with it, even at low to mid-throttle. Maybe I didn't shift correctly on the Path, but without throttle, the pedal assist was not quite as helpful on the hill. This was probably my error but I love the option of either or both pedal assist & throttle on the Vibe. I wouldn't have any problem with either of these bikes and felt very comfortable with the upright position, but would go with the Vibe over the Path because of the softer ride over pavement bumps and the throttle assist. Either would need a suspension post and softer seat. ;) I ordered a Pedego 28" step-thru City Commuter to try without purchase obligation. When it arrives I will test them against each other. I am HOOKED! :p

Themis1988
5 days ago

What a great site and forums! I've asked Court to review the Electra Loft Go! with step-through frame. Wanting to get into some semblance of shape again after too many years at a desk job, I would like to find an electric bicycle to be gentle on my knees when needed on starts and hills. Otherwise I plan to pedal with minimal assist. I am female, age 57, 5'10" large-frame and 260# so need a sturdy ride to run errands, exercise and for general cruising. From searching specs and forums so far, I need a 500 w motor and 48 v 15 amp battery. My budget is in the $2500 - $3500ish range. I also plan to retire and buy a van-sized RV in the next year or two, and will take my e-bike along on a rear-mount track rack (?) for supplemental transportation within parks and shorter-range sight-seeing. I'm concerned cruiser handlebars may be too wide for this rack style. This site has enabled me to do lots of homework and I have narrowed choices to Pedego Step-Thru Interceptor, City Commuter or Comfort Cruiser, or Electra Loft Go! or Townie Go! I'm not confident about the weight capacity of some of the other brands (Raleigh and Izip) with local dealers in Iowa. Appreciating your insight and advice,
Themis

dapope_22
1 week ago

Does anyone have an Ibera pakrak ? I was thinking of getting this for my RadRover. Is a little less expensive than the Topeak system. Both the rack and the quick release commuter trunk can be had for about $80. I'm not doing any serious trekking, just want something to keep my locks and cables in once in a while. Any recommendations?

Mark Peralta
1 week ago

Same battery capacity, power, number of assist levels.

Giant's advantages:
Cheaper by 100 bucks
Comes with fenders and lights
Dual chain rings (20 speed)
https://electricbikereview.com/giant/quick-e-plus/

Raleigh's Advantages:
Lighter by 1.5 pounds
Stealth appearance
https://electricbikereview.com/raleigh/redux-ie/

Giant appears more utilitarian and more of a commuter setup. Raleigh appears more for fun and sport with lesser practicality (no fenders, no lights).

1/1
E-Wheels
2 weeks ago

I rode the Super Commuter tonight. Just about 3 blocks so I can't really provide much of a review. It showed up at my local Trek shop (small frame) this week. I took my R&M Charger in for a Nuvinci check and they had just charged the battery on the SC and insisted I be the first to take the bike out. Its definitely a more forward aggressive riding position vs my Charger. The bike feels light, nimble and quick and the battery integration is very well done. I first politely declined to be the first test rider because I said I wouldn't likely purchase the SC until they have an option with some suspension and another color. But nevertheless they wanted me to give it a try whilst they checked out my Charger. I heard/felt some brake rubbing and perhaps the front wheel was pulling left a bit so I only rode the few blocks and returned to the shop. I think they said more SCs are showing up at their shop this week. It seemed like the fenders, rack and lighting were pretty well done and there was no rattling.
If only the SC was available in Australia

Over50
2 weeks ago

I rode the Super Commuter tonight. Just about 3 blocks so I can't really provide much of a review. It showed up at my local Trek shop (small frame) this week. I took my R&M Charger in for a Nuvinci check and they had just charged the battery on the SC and insisted I be the first to take the bike out. Its definitely a more forward aggressive riding position vs my Charger. The bike feels light, nimble and quick and the battery integration is very well done. I first politely declined to be the first test rider because I said I wouldn't likely purchase the SC until they have an option with some suspension and another color. But nevertheless they wanted me to give it a try whilst they checked out my Charger. I heard/felt some brake rubbing and perhaps the front wheel was pulling left a bit so I only rode the few blocks and returned to the shop. I think they said more SCs are showing up at their shop this week. It seemed like the fenders, rack and lighting were pretty well done and there was no rattling.

hmagoo
2 weeks ago

I carry a TiGr Mini Lock on the commuter. It is less than a pound and pretty secure. I don't lock up much when I commute. https://www.tigrlock.com/about
Their new rectangular mini+ looks like it would work better for me.
On the car hitch rack I use an inexpensive kryptonite ulock with two cables to secure the hitch rack as well as a bike or two while traveling.

bob armani
2 weeks ago

Does anyone know why the Emotion / Easy Motion Evo Jet was discontinued? It's now posted under the websites "Prior Models" section here:

https://emotionbikesusa.com/evo-jet-500-prior/

Seems like a decent commuter bike, no?

Thanks!

Stephan

Hello Stephan-

Just purchased the 2015 EVO Jet from a dealer in Madison,WI and the bike is really well built and has some nice components. The rear hub motor is very responsive and reaches speeds of over 20mph within a few short seconds. It also does quite well on 5-10% uphill grades.

I noticed that the BH webisite (US) also does not have the NEO Jet listed in their prior models page. I think it also may be compatible.

DrZarkloff
2 years ago

I can't find anything that will allow me to convert my 32 inch Kent.

Flo Mo
2 years ago

Your videos are great. Thank you. :) More and more people ride e-bikes.... maybe they view your videos. :) COOL.

Jay Gurung
2 years ago

Hey Mr.Court,can you do the review of the EasyGo Race by BH EasyMotion please.

Flo Mo
2 years ago

Very good video. I like your channel. And this bike looks like old school. I like it. Cheap and nice. Very good. Thank you. :)

mn3m0n1c
2 years ago

Would be nice if manufacturers consider integrating control unit with battery pack. One detachable box would be a lot more convenient to carry when it comes to leaving an e-bike unattended in not too safe area.

ForbinColossus
2 years ago

I looked at BionX, eRad, Copenhagen wheel, Belon Electron - all of which have quirks and limitations. Confusing array of choices - none offers it all - where do you want to compromise? I lean slightly towards the copenhagen wheel for ease of setup, assuming the company gets it sorted out.
For anyone thinking of a kit, be sure to look at EBR's website and use the *compare* feature.
http://electricbikereview.com/tag/kits/

Eskil Eriksson
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com What made it for me was the mid drive, the opportunity to use the gears on the bike for both torque and high speed.Being able to do both hills and good speed on the flats is perfect for me.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+ForbinColossus Yeah, even the kits that seem to nail most of the features end up being more expensive which is a big trade off for people. I personally really like BionX for a full kit setup because you get assist, throttle, several size and power options, battery size options, regeneration, integrated lights if you want etc. but they cost so much... The all-in-one solutions are cool and I really like the Zehus and FlyKly for simplicity but then you don't get gears... so the Copenhagen Wheel seems like the winner but then again it still isn't out, it only comes in red, limited wheel size options, no throttle mode and the battery isn't removable and has yet to really be proven in the motor like that. Lots of choices, but at least that means lots of potential for finding something perfect for your needs ;)

Jonathan Seagull
2 years ago

Golden Motor Canada 1,000 watt motor, built in controller, variable speed throttle etc with Lithium battery is under $1,000...buy torque arms tho.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Jonathan Seagull Ha! Yeah... those larger motors can be pretty strong. Electric Bike Outfitters has two direct drive hubs at 500 and 750 watts (the Mountaineer goes 30+ mph and is more of an off-road thing). These cheaper kits are cool to keep things light and discreet ;)

R Valdez
2 years ago

Please do a review on "add-e" or "go-e" kit.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+R Valdez I'll keep an eye out for sure! Got a bunch more Daymak and Electric Bike Outfitters kits at the moment and a website redesign :D keep an eye out... thanks for the suggestions.

Eskil Eriksson
2 years ago

I have the same battery, and the connection is a big downside. Unless you can keep the battery on the bike most of the time, due to no extreme temperatures.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Eskil Eriksson Hmm, glad to hear you've had the same experience with the plug, thanks for your feedback. Seemed like a big hassle to me but their other kits click right in without the screw bit so they're way more convenient if you're willing to pay a bit extra.