Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Front Range Kit Review

Ebo Front Range Electric Bike Kit Review 1
Electric Bike Outfitters Front Range Kit
Electric Bike Outfitters Front Range Gearless Motor Cassette
Electric Bike Outfitters Front Range Battery Pack And Controller
Electric Bike Outfitters Front Range Led Console And Twist Throttle
Electric Bike Outfitters Front Range 500 Watt Direct Drive Motor
Electric Bike Outfitters Front Range Battery Lock And Power Button
Electric Bike Outfitters Front Range Controller Box
Ebo Front Range Electric Bike Kit Review 1
Electric Bike Outfitters Front Range Kit
Electric Bike Outfitters Front Range Gearless Motor Cassette
Electric Bike Outfitters Front Range Battery Pack And Controller
Electric Bike Outfitters Front Range Led Console And Twist Throttle
Electric Bike Outfitters Front Range 500 Watt Direct Drive Motor
Electric Bike Outfitters Front Range Battery Lock And Power Button
Electric Bike Outfitters Front Range Controller Box

Summary

  • A powerful gearless hub motor kit capable of being installed as a front or rear wheel, sturdy and relatively quiet
  • Gearless motors tend to be heavier and this one is ~12 lbs and does not offer a regeneration option for regenerative braking
  • The display console is more basic (LED lights vs. an LCD screen) but also takes up less space, the kit comes stock with trigger throttle but has a twist throttle as an opion
  • Quality Samsung cells in the battery pack, larger capacity at 14.5 amp hours, solid one year warranty on all parts

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Electric Bike Outfitters

Model:

EBO Front Range

Price:

$1,083

Suggested Use:

Urban, Trail, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

30 Day Return, 1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20152016

Bicycle Details

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

12 lbs (5.44 kg)

Gearing Details:

9 (Single Speed or Shimano 6 or 7 Speed Cassettes or SunRace 8 and 9 Speed Cassettes)

Brake Details:

Mechanical 5 Brand Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy

Spokes:

13 Gauge Stainless Steel, 36 Spoke

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)27.5 in (69.85cm)28 in (71.12cm)

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Female USB Charge Port on Battery Pack, EBO Quick Connect Anti-Water Wiring, Optional Black or Silver Motor Color, Optional Black or White Battery Color, Optional Twist Throttle, Optional Wuxing Twist Throttle

Other:

Compatible with Disc Brakes or Caliper Style Brakes (Clamp Diameter 22.2 mm), Compatible with 100 mm, 120 mm, or 135 mm Dropout Sizes, Compatible with 26", 27.5" or 700C Wheel Size, 22 Amp Controller

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub, Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

14.5 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

522 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Display Type:

Fixed LED Console

Readouts:

Mode (Low, Med, High), Speed (5-33 MPH), Charge Level (1-4)

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle, Twist Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The EBO Front Range Kit is a mixed bag for me. I appreciate the more powerful 500 watt motor but given the gearless direct-drive design it weighs more than the more affordable planetary geared kits. Gearless motors are said to be tougher (no gears rubbing inside) and often allow for regenerative braking but that isn’t an option here. What you get is a relatively affordable, medium-power ebike kit. It operates quietly and should last well (you get a one year warranty which is great) but the display is more basic and there’s not throttle-only mode which can come in handy for off-road riding on bumpy terrain.

Even though the Front Range kit is compatible as a front or rear wheel motor, I would almost always choose to put it in the rear. The added weight in the front would definitely impact steering and might even spin out on loose terrain. At the rear, you get a more solid mounting point (especially if you’ve got a suspension fork up front as the demo bike I tried did) and you’re still balancing some of the weight forward with the downtube-mounted battery. The battery is actually one of my favorite parts of this kit because it uses quality Samsung cells, offers more capacity than some of the smaller kits and is easy to remove or lock onto the frame. This pack style is called a “Dolphin” and it can power your bike as well as a USB accessory given the female port on the right side. I’d mostly use this off the bike as a backup power source because when you’re pedaling it’s easy to snag this are of the pack (and any protruding USB plug and wire) with your shoe or leg.

I accidentally snagged the power cable running to the motor on this kit during the video review above and that goes to show how cable management can be a chore on any ebike kit. It’s nice to have your cables all zip tied up but even the best cable management can still look a bit tacky… that’s why all-black frames are a good choice because the cables blend in more. In addition to cables, this kit also has an independent controller box which can be mounted to the seat tube or possibly a rear rack. It’s just one more thing to deal with and it completely takes up the space for any kind of accessory or bottle cage when paired with the downtube style battery.

Overall, this is a solid package but generic gearless motors aren’t my personal preference. I’m a light weight guy who likes to pedal so I tend to opt for geared hubs or mid-drives. Some ebikes like the Stromer ST2 and Specialized Turbo show off what’s possible when you go high-end gearless because their motors are light, fast and offer regeneration but you’ll spend quite a bit more for that performance. I feel like the EBO Front Range motor could benefit from a 48 volt battery here to take full advantage of the extra copper windings inside but as it stands you’re going to get more power and drive than with some of their lighter kits. For true power however, I’m more excited about the EBO Mountaineer for just $100 more.

Pros:

  • There’s a built-in female USB port at the top right portion of the battery pack and this can be used to power a phone or other mobile device while riding the bike or as a backup source of power off the bike
  • Solid value at just over $1k considering you get a powerful 500 watt gearless motor and an oversized 14.5 amp hour battery! Most ebike kits offer 350 watt motors with a 10 ah battery, the cells on this bike are also Samsung and I trust that they are higher quality
  • Not only does Electric Bike Outfitters offer a one year comprehensive warranty, they also provide a 30 day money back guarantee and in my experience have been very willing to do custom swaps to get you the right wheel size or a different throttle unit (twist vs. trigger) free of charge or for very little money
  • Great wiring hardware (color coded makes it easier to setup and repair), the 5 Star brake levers are more generic but they do include motor inhibitor switches to cut power whenever you barke
  • Pedal assist is great for conserving the battery and getting some exercise and three modes is alright but I love that you’ve also got a throttle that can override at any time to help power up a hill or pass a fellow cyclist
  • The hub motor design on this kit is compatible with disc brakes but you can also use standard rim brakes as well, the one thing that requires a changeout is hydraulic brakes because the included levers only work with mechanical systems, you could use hydraulic levers of your own but if they don’t have electronic brake inhibitors built in you won’t be operating as safely (especially given the “all the time” pedal assist design)
  • The kit comes in several configurations to replace a 26″, 27.5″ or 700c wheel, to fit a 100 mm, 120 mm, or 135 mm dropout, and to work as either a front or rear wheel drive kit (though I’d highly recommend rear given the weight of the motor so as not to adversely impact steering)
  • The battery pack snaps on and off easily and quickly for convenient charging or lighter weight transport, you also get a solid locking core built into the battery for when it’s mounted to the frame
  • Especially for trail and mountain use the default trigger throttle works very well as it does not compromise your grip though it might take more space on your bars than the twist throttle (I just don’t like full-grip twists)

Cons:

  • I like the USB charging port but it’s positioned on the side of the battery which makes it easier to bump with your leg when pedaling or to snag the wire… would be better on the top or front end of the pack vs. the side
  • The controller unit for this kit is built into a separate black box which adds clutter to the frame and means more wires have to be dealt with
  • On the demo bike I filmed and photographed above the battery was mounted to the downtube using the stock water bottle cage bosses and the controller box was fit onto the seat tube so there wasn’t anywhere to add a bottle… Consider an aftermarket saddle rail adapter, a rear carry rack with bottle bag or using a Camelbak
  • The LED console offers several readouts (mode, charge level and speed) but is still more basic than an LCD which could show trip distance, time, max speed etc. the unit they chose is fairly small, tough and more affordable so it’s not too bad
  • The battery pack has an independent on/off button built into it which has to be activated before the display panel is turned on, this extra step makes the pack easier to leave on accidentally and can be confusing if you forget and try to activate the bike just using the display
  • There are no lights built into this kit and I think it would be difficult to wire them in, I like when I can run everything off of one battery but you can always get some aftermarket lights that are rechargeable if you ride at night a lot
  • While the cadence sensing pedal assist worked alright, it only uses a five magnet system vs. 12 on a lot of newer builds and kits I’ve seen which means it is less responsive (especially in higher gears where pedal rotation can be slower at low speeds)
  • Gearless motors are very durable and operate without producing much noise but they do weigh more and this one is ~12 lbs, the battery is also a bit heavier because it’s a larger capacity pack so ~7 lbs
  • Sometimes gearless motors offer regenerative braking which can extend rides by ~10% but that feature was not included with this kit (likely to keep the price down)
  • There is no throttle-only mode with this kit, you have to enable one of three pedal assist settings in order to use the throttle and this means that any pedal movement can also activate the motor which could cause instability for some applications
  • The pedal assist sensor is not a clip-on design so you actually have to remove the crank arms in order to mount it, once it’s on however it feels solid and is actually quite responsive

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Electric Bike Outfitters Reviews

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Mountaineer Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,180
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A high power, high speed electric bike kit capable of 30 mph top speeds, can be operated with pedal assist, trigger throttle or optional twist throttle. Heavier but sturdy 750 watt gearless hub motor, can be mounted in the front or…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Phantom Kit Review

  • MSRP: $925
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An affordable electric bike kit with everything you need to get going: motor, battery, throttle, pedal assist. Custom designed casing is narrower than many other 350 watt motors and fits in 100…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Cruiser Kit Review

  • MSRP: $925
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A feature rich, reasonably priced, electric bike kit with trigger throttle and cadence sensing pedal assist drive modes. The battery pack mounts into a sturdy universal rear-rack that can support ~55 lbs and…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Commuter Kit Review

  • MSRP: $704
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An affordable, all-inclusive electric bike kit available in many wheel sizes (front or rear) with a nice one year warranty. You get a standard 350 watt internally geared motor, 36 volt Lithium-ion battery pack and…...


Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Denis Shelston
3 days ago

By Michael Skopes. August 2017
With permission

A 2017 E-Bike Adventure

One day, not so long ago, I opened a door to enter an area where I am employed. I was hit, full on, with the fact that I no longer have any passion for what it is I do there. My days there are only a passing of time spent wondering about other things more important to me; my family, my home,...me, and other more fun activities.

At the same time, I appreciate the compensation that my job affords me - money and health care benefits. You know, all that boring stuff like an IRA, 401k, and such. But, all that, is for the most part, pleasureless. The most pleasing aspect of that crap is the toys I can buy to make my life more FUN.

The following sentence involves a subject, which to me, borders on the surreal. Retirement...is...just...around...the...corner. Hell, retirement is something old people do. I don't qualify as an old person. At least, not in my mind, I don't.

I don't know how my twenties turned into my sixties so quickly. My brain, my heart, and my soul, all tell me it's time for another game of 500 in the park, or a few high dives off of top board at my hometown swimming pool. But, uh oh...the deep end no longer has those old diving boards! In fact, the entire pool has been completely re-built and almost unrecognizable. And, unfortunately, what my body tells me about physical activity is not quite the same as what my brain, heart, and soul communicate.

Go for a long endorphin filled cross country type run? Uh uh. Don't even think about it. My lower back and knees won't take the pounding. Damn, I loved running so much. Extend my body airborne for that long pass at the goal line like I once often did? Not a good idea. Hitting the green grass wearing pads at one time was exhilarating, not debilitating. Hey, how about attacking a radical mogul course on freshly fallen snow? Get real fella! Not anymore. Oh, the knees, the hips, the lower back. Skiing became my all time favorite winter activity while in my mid to late twenties.

Get this, though. Physical exertion is far from a thing of my youthful past. Hooray for the bicycle! Hip hip hooray for the electric bicycle! I'll get to the e-bike in just a minute. Allow me to back track for a moment.

One of my very first loves, as a young boy, was learning how to ride a bicycle. And, after mastering that marvelous activity, the extended range that became my daily excitement, grew longer and longer. Soon, I disappeared from my parents' view for hours at a time as I biked with my pals from one end of town to the other. Minutes, hours, and miles meant nothing to us. We had trusty mechanical steeds whose rolling wheels seemed capable of endless, small town, summer time adventures. If we weren't kicking up dust, pebbles, and basic dirt while racing around Chapin Park's baseball field, we were busy slamming on our brakes while screaming down swimming pool hill.

That excellent downhill activity, of melting bicycle tire rubber, left twenty foot long black streaks on the blacktop. Bald tires? We never cared. That was part of the deal. And when those rubber burning slides ended, we just might opt to take a little detour out to the long abandoned strip mines. Out there, on the outskirts of town, the giant coal digging machines of old left us with huge mounds of gray/white earth. Over time, outstanding trails developed throughout those sometimes treacherous hills which were intertwined with deep, blue pools of water that stretched for hundreds of feet. Riding those paths brought many a boy, and a few girls, to the point of total exhaustion, and in some cases...broken frames and fractured bones.

Yes, my childhood relationship with my Monark bicycle was a love affair. Many of my friends had that same love affair. Several of us participated in the annual Corn Festival bicycle parade. We decorated our bikes with crepe paper, flags and banners. Some kids wore costumes. I donned a Marlon Brando type motorcycle cap - the tough guy look like from his fifties movie, "The Wild One".

But that love affair broke my heart when some criminal stole my beloved Monark. Sadness became my middle name. Consolation on the part of my mother didn't even help. And I adored my mother, and how she did so much for me and my two sisters. My father offered a matter of fact response to my long face with a few well chosen words and a simple pat on my shoulder. All that did little to mend my deep psychological wound. But Dad had a quiet way about him that endeared me to him just as much as Mom.

In time, a replacement two-wheeler appeared. That tale is one whose details I won't divulge in this story. I would rather keep that for anyone interested in reading my book "My Little Skinny Greek Life: On Liberty Street". Find it on Amazon. I don't want to spoil that story here. What I will go into here, is the flash forward to today.

FLASH!

For years, various physical problems have kept me from fully enjoying the activity that I had loved for so much of my life. Before losing the ability to travel by bicycle, I had the pleasure of making two long road trips. The first, at age twenty nine and turning thirty, went on for 1500 miles from California to Illinois.

Some of the information written in an unsolicited newspaper article about that tour - going all the way to Maine, down to Florida, and back to California - never happened. Those plans had to be changed for several reasons. I actually can't recall the primary reason. It may have been that being a touring novice, I bit off more than I could pedal.

I have read, in my current research, that the number one reason for many new bike touring enthusiasts cutting their tours short is because of unrealistic goals. Their mental and physical preparations couldn't match up with their lofty plans. Really. Just imagine coming up with the idea of riding a heavily outfitted bicycle for 7,000 miles without ever having done any touring at all prior to that. Hmm...you see what I mean? However, I did go over 1,500 miles on my Centurion two wheeler.

My second major distance bicycle adventure took me from Monterey, California south to Los Angeles and specifically, Northridge to attend a Super Bowl party. However, I only managed to put in about 155 miles because I strained my knee and had to grab a bus for part of the remaining distance.

So, as I mentioned above, hip hip hooray for the electric bike. Because now, I am so happy to say that I have returned to the joyful activity of riding a long distance tour by bicycle. I am in the middle of one as I write this story. It is forty miles this time. Nowhere near 1,500...yet.

This time, so many calendar years later and with bike technology that is light years ahead of 1982, I now ride a RadRover from Rad Power Bikes, out of Seattle, Washington. They have created a beauty that comes in two colors; black or white. I chose black. It is an electrically powered fat bike which I have modified to fit my practical and esthetic needs.

It is known as a fat bike partly because it has four inch wide knobby, fat, tires. It is, in essence, a mountain bike which is very capable as a road bike at the same time. The 750 watt motor and the 48 volt battery can take me up to 25 miles with my leg power added. With a second battery stowed away in my Burley Nomad trailer, my distance doubles. When that runs out, I hopefully am already camped or in a hotel where I can re-charge for the next day of travel.

My interest in bicycle touring was recently re-kindled by stumbling upon a few videos on YouTube. Seeing the various examples of which panniers to purchase, how and what to pack in them, brought back memories of my past pannier preparations. There is a certain excitement related to the process of deciding upon what to buy, where, and how much to spend. So, familiar tour preparation became a big part of my daily thoughts. This was particularly true while at my personally unsatisfying job.

Every day, while at work, my mind wandered away from vocational duties to adventurous daydreams. I couldn't help it. Every day, as I commuted to and from work, all I could think about was bike touring. Could I even physically do it anymore? I would soon find out.

Suffering through the slow stop and go crawl of heavy rush hour traffic turned into something completely different. My mind turned off the disgust associated with this daily grind and welcomed the fantasies I conjured up instead. Rather than mutter under my breath my roadway discontent with hundreds of other cars and trucks that surrounded me, I was smiling internally at the prospect of my next, long awaited, two wheeled adventure. Hot damn!

Well, the days passed by. Each night after work I would stitch together more and more ideas that percolated in my mind in the hopes of making my fantasy adventure come true. I pulled down my old Centurion Super Le Mans twelve speed that had been hanging in the garage for years and started the process of giving it new life. Yes, the very same bike that took me to Illinois from California thirty five years ago. It needed new tubes and tires for sure, and a good amount of service all totaling $240. That figure was just under what I paid for the bike new from Joslyn's Bike Shop in Monterey thirty seven years earlier. Ouch.

After that, an expense that ultimately turned out to be an unnecessary one, I rode it around my neighborhood for about a mile with no bags other than the old handlebar bag. It felt very familiar and good. The next day, I added the matching rear Eclipse panniers I had stored away from those past tours. I partially filled them with a few items to ease into a touring weight. I rode for three miles. That was not bad, but I did feel the difference and the need to get into better shape if a real extended tour were to take place. By the way, I tried desperately to figure out a way to once again use those great old blue bags on my Rover. I couldn't quite get their proprietary configuration to conform to my new ride satisfactorily, so I had to let them go back into storage after the third and final test run coming up. Bummer!

The following day, for that final test run, I went out for six miles. This time I had to walk up a few hills and also stop for a good rest or two along the way. It occurred to me, that there was no way I could realistically take this sentimental bike for a long tour ever again. My hopes faded. The idea of embarking on another tour adventure looked pretty much impossible. Then, I stumbled upon the e-bike world and everything changed.

I discovered a video, among many others, that was created by a young man named Adamm Jarvis. He produced an interesting review of the RadRover. It can be found on YouTube easily enough. I watched it a couple of times and thought the Rover was worth a better look, so I went to the Rad web site to learn more. I was impressed with the company and its young founders. Still, I needed to look around for other choices, which I did, just to be sure I was satisfied with my research.

I kept going back to Rad. I spoke with them on the phone a few times, telling them my plans and they thought the Rover would work best for my touring idea. I saw more reviews - EBR, Electric Bike Review, was another good one.

I returned to Adamm's video. There was something about it that spoke to me. It had an easy going vocal delivery by Adamm himself, music, and good production value. Along with the bike itself, featured in the video, that twenty something minute video helped me make up my mind. The Rover is what I wanted.

It is now June, 30th 2017. Today, I have pedaled my Rover twenty miles to the Sycamore Campground at the beach near Malibu, CA. Roughly ten miles on roads and streets, and ten miles on the great trail from inland to the beach. I am the only person in the hike and bike area. My campsite begins to take shape.

This may only be a shorter overnight adventure, but boy, am I ever loving it. The ride was wonderful - not hot at all, but perfect. I took this trail part way three other times. Having taken this trail now for the fourth time, and adding the camp out element to it, I am filled with a sense of adventure. I've longed for this touring/camping feeling. This short bike tour brings back all the experiences that my other longer tours gave me - scenery, fresh air, camping, exercising by bike, saying hello to new people as they go about their camping fun. The little kids on their bikes smile as they ride past me among the camp sites. I think one of those smiling little ones was the same one who woke up early the next morning and would not stop screaming. Seriously, for well over an hour, I struggled with those screams and the incessant small dog barking that complimented the shrieking. So much for a peaceful way to wake up with the great outdoors.

My penthouse suite tent is roomy and functional, but it isn't sound proof. It has enough room to hold my Rover and trailer all secured, dry and safe without a need to lock it up. I think it is fine with me right beside it. Even so, ever since my first bike was stolen so many years ago, I have never forgotten the hollow feeling of having lost such a treasured possession to some cold hearted thief. However, in my actual garage at home, my Rover is kept securely locked.

I kid around when asked about the space inside my voluminous tent.
"I have a garage, a bedroom, kitchen, and bathroom."
When people hear me say that, they often chuckle. It's true. I really make good use of the giant tent...I create a garage, a bedroom, a kitchen, and a bathroom within the nylon walls.

Many a campground will have a tendency to gross me out when it comes to the bathroom facilities. I decided to take my self contained idea to new heights by incorporating the survivalist style bathroom. I have a sliced section of a pool noodle circling the rim of a small bucket lined with a plastic waste bag, a hospital urinal, a hospital wash basin (I've spent a few days in hospital care recently), plenty of t. p., small trash bags, wet wipes, wash cloths, towels, soap, and I fill up one or two gallon plastic bottles with water from the campground source. All these comforts ease the hassle of having to walk to the facilities in the middle of the night if necessary. In fact, I am now so spoiled by this, I can't help but think that this is the only way to camp by bicycle.

Having my indoor kitchen is convenient, too. Boiling water for morning coffee without going outside is great. Oatmeal and coffee at my fingertips - perfect. My only concern is if Yogi Bear's cousins come snooping around. I had better start keeping the bulk of my minimalist food stuffs outside during the night. Ya think?

My bedroom set up is an important one. I have to be comfortable with my necessary pillow configuration, and mattress combo. My ground tarp is the first protective layer followed by the tent floor, a one half inch thick layer of foam rubber, topped with my air mattress, the Klymit Insulated Static V Sleeping Pad. I researched the mattresses and knew I had to have a top of the line product. It inflates with only about twelve deep breaths. The Klymit I bought is not their most expensive version. That said, I was not going to sacrifice my comfort to save a few bucks by going any lower.

My new sleeping bag, the OutdoorsmanLab sleeping bag is not of the mummy type. I feel way too restricted if and when I can't sprawl as part of my comfort zone. The bag also allows for poking your feet out when it gets too hot. I like that for sure. Everything is lightweight, and compact. That, my friends, is more than just desirable when biking. It is imperative.

There is so much room to work in my tent garage. I'm away from any flying pests or crawling bugs as I work. I fabricated a kick stand/tent floor protector out of a plastic coffee can lid, cardboard and gaff tape. I need to prevent holes in the tent floor. Spreading out my tools and parts inside my tent near my Rover and Nomad bicycle trailer makes it easier to be a do-it-yourselfer. Very convenient.

Here are some thoughts as the sun sinks behind the dry mountain a few yards west of my camp site.

We're taught from an early age to share. Share that Popsicle, or candy bar. Back in 1982, a lanky gray haired gentleman walked out of a small grocery store in Glacier National Park and saw I was bicycle touring. He had just unwrapped his candy bar and offered to share it with me. I think it was a Hershey bar - kindness.

"Here, have a bite of my Slim Jim, or half of my sandwich." That's a comment that may sound familiar to many of us from times past. Similarly, at another stop at a campground in northern Montana, an older retired couple, who upon learning I was in the middle of a cross country bicycle tour, offered dinner and homemade blueberry pie in their motor home camper. I will never forget the look on the woman's face, and her exclamation;

"You're doing what?? You must be hungry!"

I find it touching when on the receiving end of kindness and generosity. At the same time, I see the compassion and satisfaction on the faces of those who offer it. Those moments lead me into a more spiritual place where I often ponder the bigger picture, and how little things we do can have so much meaning.

Ah, the wonder of it all. The world going by at 70 to 80 miles per hour in a car is quite different from the world I see at 5 to 25 miles an hour by bicycle. The world I witness from a slower perspective has a more complete way of becoming a part of me. I see more. I hear more. I feel more. I acutely sense the wonder of it all.

I guess my philosophical nature comes from being Greek. My ancestors managed to produce a few good ones way back when. I'm sure you can recall their names.

This trip is only the beginning. I'd like to make several of these e-bike journeys to help re-capture some of the youthful times I loved so much. I want to retire soon and take advantage of the physical abilities I still have before they wither away never to be again. I can't see myself spending anymore precious days than I absolutely have to working in an unsatisfying job. I want to feel the wind against my face as I bike along a secluded trail. I want to hear the birds calling, see the squirrels, lizards, and rabbits dart across the trail in front of me as they rush toward their own little palaces. I want to cross the shallow stream that meanders across the trail in three different locations and get wet, muddy, and laugh about it to myself.

I travel alone. I don't mind the solitude, the mud, the sweat, the tough hills, and the occasional mechanical repair. They're all part of the smile. My smile. And I will savor all of these moments as they find me - as nature comes to me. I won't wonder, one day, why I didn't take advantage of the mountains, the beaches, the nights under the stars. Nope. That little boy who ate up the streets of small town USA while pedaling on his Monark still exists. He is just a little bigger, wiser, and definitely more gray. He continues to occupy the space between my ears and the heart of my soul.

So, this is my camp/biking story that replaced the original, longer, Santa Barbara round trip which had to be cancelled. Some of you have been waiting for this documentary of sorts for too long. I apologize for the delay. Perhaps I will get to the Santa Barbara adventure before my legs tell me to give it up. I hope to make that tour soon. For now, I hope you found this little story interesting. Perhaps even inspiring. Thanks for taking the time to share my adventure.

vadim1836
4 days ago

I'm researching fat bikes, comparing different brands/models. I really like Teo S fat bike, read and watched tons of postings and videos comparing it to Volt Yukon and RadRover bikes. However, there is another similar bike Daymak Wild Goose that I couldn't find any recent reviews (Jan 2016 is the latest) and there isn't much info on Daymak sub-forum either.
Spec-wise Daymak is similar to the above bikes and the price is very competitive, so I'm wondering if anyone can share their personal experience about Wild Goose.

Motor: 500W Hybrid Pie Brushless Hub Motor
Battery: 48V 10AH Lithium
Battery type: Lithium Ion Polymer
Battery life: 800 charges
Brakes: Hydraulic front and back disc brakes
Charger type: 48V
Max speed: up to 32km/h
Range: up to 40 km on throttle/ up to 80 km on pedal assist
Max load: 120 kg
Gross weight: 42 kg
Climbing incline: 15 degrees
Tire size: 26" x 4"
Gauges: Battery level, speedometer, odometer, 6 speed pedal-assist mode, 7 speed Shimano torney Gearing system
Lights: Front LED
Removable battery: YES
Key ignition: YES
Front Shocks: YES

NovaEbike
1 week ago

Thanks for yet again another insightful post. I have been debating what size pack (I think I have pre-range anxiety, I don't even have a bike yet!) and was expecting to buy a bigger battery any way.

When you + the bike weighed 350 lbs do you feel that you were at the max the bike could handle? I haven't weighed myself + gear +travel accessories and I know I'll be pushing the manufacturers weight limit. I think I'll be ok buy I am not sure.

I am in the same boat as you mentioned - similar distances and evevation to climb. When i order the bike I will plan to order the 11g spokes because I'm expecting to break a few due to amount of riding and weight.

Honestly, the thought that I might be above any sort of weight limit never even crossed my mind. It probably should have. But no, I never felt like I was approaching what the bike could handle as far as weight goes. I've never weighed myself with my gear, but guessing I started around 285-290 with the larger battery pack so say an even 300, plus my backpack with I'd guess close to 30 lbs fully loaded with water, tools, clothes, etc. I've stopped on the way home and bought groceries which probably added another 20 lbs without issues. My advice would be, don't overthink it, engineers build in safety factors for a reason. If using the e-bike to commute is your motivation to get in shape and improve your life (like it is for me) then don't let the weight limit distract you from your goal. In my younger days I was big into jeeps and a motto from there that I still carry, is that things don't break, they just offer opportunity for upgrades (thus the 11 gauge spokes).

Other things you should get though, right off the bat, from my experience:
- spoke wrench (standard bike multi tools don't have the tool for 12 gauge (let alone 11) spokes. Ask me how I know . . .
- quality inner tubes, at least 3-4. I've gotten 2 flats so far, both from debris in the road but I was within a mile from home so I haven't had to do a trail change yet, just walked it home. I also carry a GAADI tube that is a bike tube that you don't need to remove the wheel for. If I do need to change it on the trail, I can always cut out the old tube and put that one in for the rear to get me home and put a regular tube in. I couldn't find it domestically, so I ordered it from some German bike website.
- 18 mm offset wrench (I stress this because I have a lot of tools, but didn't have this and had to make a special run to the autoparts store to get one)
- zip ties (every time you remove the rear wheel you have to cut off a zip tie that hold the wire connection so you'll need to replace it)
- brake pads and a brake bleed kit. I got my cross current refurbished and I don't know if they put new pads on it before sending it to me. I changed my pads in the rear at around 800 miles from when I got the bike.
- chain cleaner and chain lube (you should do it weekly for commuting)
- you can figure out clothes, bike shorts, helmet, gloves etc. haha But I will say that I didn't start with gloves but bought them on day 2.

EDIT: I just noticed in a previous replay, you mentioned the 11 gauge spokes for the FRONT wheel. I have not broken ANY spokes in the front, no issues there. It's the REAR wheel spokes that'll break because of the weight and the hub motor. Get the 230mm 11 gauge spokes for the rear wheel. You could probably use standard spokes for the front as there's not nearly as much weight there.

fredi
1 week ago

This is my first ebike and my decision to buy her was based on getting the best ebike for me at the best price. First a little about me, I’m 60 years old, 6’1” and 230 lbs. A have a 34” Class-A RV and travel the east coast. On long trips I normally tow a Jeep Wrangler with a tray-style bike rack loaded with two or three mountain bike from a big box store. On short trips I leave the Jeep at home and mount the bike rack to the RV. Typical use of the bikes is for recreational riding in National and State parks. I thought it was time for a better bike and was intrigued with the idea of using ebikes and leaving the Jeep at home more.

I originally looked at Evelo because of their mid-drive with the NuVinci hub. They didn’t offer any local sales but work with local bike shops to provide service in conjunction with their 4-year/20,000-mile warranty. I was drawn to the Delta with the 750 watt mid-drive since all I’ve ever owned was mountain bikes and I wanted to make sure that it would get me up the hills. I soon discovered that where I live they only allow 500 watts and mid-drives are more efficient using the power, so while a 750 watt hub drive may struggle to get me up the hill, a 350 watt mid-drive should have less problems because they have higher performance, more torque and use less battery power. I also have always hated not being in the right gear at the right time and gnashing the gears and an Internally Geared Hub (IGH) like the NuVinci would solve those problems. Since I was planning on adding lots of comfort accessories like a plush seat, road tires, rear rack, fenders, lights, etc. and the Galaxy comes with all of those so I felt it was a better fit for me.

The Galaxy is billed as a comfort cruiser with an upright riding position, 27.5″ wheels and 2” tires on a ridge frame. Evelo makes two models the Galaxy, the GT with a step-through frame and the TT a traditional top tube frame. Each model comes in two versions, Premium or Fully Loaded. The Fully Loaded version upgrades the NuVinci N380 transmission to the Harmony fully automatic transmission and adds hydraulic brakes. So I ordered the Fully Loaded Galaxy TT version with a list price of $3899.

The bike came in about a week. She was double boxed and very well packed. The hardest part was getting the bike out of the box. I recommend having a little help here. Evelo isn’t kidding when they say the bike come almost fully assembled. Install the brake caliper, front wheel and fender, handlebars, headlight, and you’re done. They recommend charging the battery for 12 hours before the first use, so I plugged it in to charge overnight and then set about the process of assembling the bike which took about 30 minutes. They provided several allen wrenches, a couple of “real” boxed end wrenches and armed with the step by step instructions it was much easier to assemble than any bike I’ve ever bought from a big box store. My recommendation is that you put the fender on before you install the front wheel and then attach the brake caliper. The front wheel comes with a “Quick Release” so it’s really not a big deal.

The Galaxy is one of a small number of electric bikes that offer the NuVinci Harmony Automatic Transmission which allows me to enjoy the ride while it takes care of the shifting. In automatic it finds the proper gear while I dial in a comfortable cadence and set the assist level for my perfect ride. No more gnashing the gears and getting stuck on a hill because I was in the wrong gear. A simple button press changes the hub to manual mode, but I mostly I keep it in automatic on the lowest setting. The brushless motor combined with the Gates belt drive and the Harmony makes the ride smooth and virtually silent. I set the tire pressure to 50 lbs for a softer ride.

She comes with a 350 watt Bafang Max mid-drive motor (peak 600 watts) and uses a torque sensor (internal to the motor) and speed to determine how much power is drawn from the battery. The torque sensor uses a strain gauge inside the motor to measure pressure on the pedals. This allows for quick engagement and better sensitivity. I was concerned about the Galaxy’s uphill performance but found that she can easily climb hills at 8-12 mph that would normally bring me to a crawl. On level roads I can quickly reach the 20+ mph limit. At those speeds it’s nice to have the Tektro 180mm hydraulic disc brakes that provide great stopping power and simultaneously cut power to the motor. Once you stop there is a double fork kickstand to keep her upright.

The large backlit LCD display panel (made by King) is mounted center of the handlebars and can swivel forward or back to reduce glare. It’s easy to read and offers information about speed, distance, pedal assist, watts and a five segment battery charge level indicator. The control pad is located near the left grip, from there you can turn the bike on/off and select the level of assist. I really liked that holding the UP button turns on/off the backlight and holding the DOWN button activates “Walk” mode which moves the bike forward at about two mph. Pressing both the UP and DOWN buttons for 3 seconds puts you in the settings menu where you can increase the maximum speed to 25 mph, set the backlight level, and miles or kilometers. I set the wheel diameter to 27.5 inches since it defaulted to 26.

The bike has a thumb throttle but as a safety feature it doesn't engage unless the bike is moving. I originally thought I would need the throttle to get across an intersection or when starting up a hill, but the bike's torque sensor measures pressure on the pedals, so it quickly engages. It is so responsive and natural feeling that I haven't used the throttle much but I certainly have used “walk” mode several times.

The rear tail light is mounted directly beneath the battery rack so it isn’t blocked by my pannier and is powered by a couple of AA batteries. The LED Head Light has five modes and is USB rechargeable. It quickly installs on the handlebars with a rubber strap and the single large button on top makes it easy to turn on and change modes while riding.

Powering the bike is a 36 volt, 13 amp (468 wh) battery pack with an advertised 50 miles of range. I rode for over twenty miles before the charge indicator dropped from five to four bars. The battery weighs 8 lbs, can be charged on or off the bike and has its own level indicator. The small rubber cap protecting the charge terminal opens easily and stays closed. The battery is nicely protected in the full-size cargo rack and has a key lock which keeps it there and provides anti-theft security. You don’t need to leave the key in while riding and there’s a built-in handle to help remove the battery and carry it. Removing the battery makes it easier to lift the 46 lb bike onto my tray style carrier. The battery placement in the rack makes the bike a little heavy in the back, but frees up space for bottle cage bosses on the seat tube and allowed me to mount my folding lock on the down tube. All I did was add my Cloud-9 seat, bottle cage, pannier and a suspension seat post and I was ready to go.

After about a week of riding I took her to a local dealer for a full checkup. They did a minor adjustment to the brakes and gave her a clean bill of health, no charge. They were impressed at how well “I” put the bike together (LOL) and they loved the belt and throttle. I’ll be sure to make the checkup an annual event and return to that dealer.

Let me know if you have any questions

1/1
NovaEbike
1 week ago

Thank you for this response. I am pretty much sold on buying this after your response, including the 11g spokes for the front wheel. I think we're in the same area, as I don't have a LBS that has these in stock either.

Congrats on losing so much weight, especially that quick with the bike. I hope to do the same thing as you are (commute with bike even though it may add 30-45 minutes to the commute). Any tips on losing the weight besides biking?

I'm no weight loss expert haha. I'm trying to keep changes to my lifestyle and small and gradual so I don't give up on anything. I'm trying to eat a little healthier (more lean meats, fruits, veggies, and less carbs/sugar) but for the most part, I'm eating the same or similar to before but trying to do a LOT better with portion control. If I tried to do a diet, I probably wouldn't stick to it and I do all the cooking in my house for my wife and small children (3 and 4).

Also, going back to your original post, for battery recommendation since I have the 17.4ah pack. When I started I was in sport mode the whole way and I brought my charger to work to charge at my desk because I had range anxiety but I never got to work or home with less then 60% (according to the display LEDs). When I dropped to level 3, I started leaving it at home and still do. I can do the full 35 mile round trip in level 3 (using sport mode for hills only) and still have 60-80% (again according to the display LEDs) when I get home. Going to work I have around 450 ft of elevation gain and 850 ft of gain on the way home according to strava. I average 15-17 mph with crossings, hills, etc. I honestly think I could do the full round trip in sport mode if I had to. So I'd recommend the 17.4 ah if your commute distance looks similar. Also, when the battery capacity starts to degrade, having the larger pack should mean that I still have enough even at 50% of the original capacity since by that time I should be able to cruise along in level 1 and save battery for hills and when the trail is less congested and I can safely open her up haha.

Burp
1 week ago

I bought a crosscurrent back in June to do the same thing you are now. Get back in shape by commuting to/from work. I'm 6'-0 and I got a large frame which is perfect for me. I don't know what my starting weight was, but back in March at the doc I weighed in at 285-290. This morning I was 255. My commute is about 17 miles each way and as I've gotten stronger, I decrease the assistance level to get more of a workout but still am able to get to/from work in an hour or so. With my backpack of work stuff and the 17.4ah battery, my bike was probably around 350 at the beginning. I've had some issues with the bike, mostly broken spokes. I've broken 3 or 4 since I bought it. But honestly, a broken spoke is pretty easy to fix yourself. I just zip tie it out of the way until I get home and then remove the wheel, tire/tube, and replace it. My mistake was going too long with a broken spoke while waiting on replacements from Juiced (I'm on the east coast) and then broke a second one. When a second one broke, it knocked my wheel out of true enough to rub the frame so I took it to the bike shop to have it re-trued. That costs $15. But i did find 230 mm 11 gauge spokes from the husky bicycles website and bought 50 of them for like $12 i think. I just replaced a spoke last night and changed it out with the 11 gauge. Eventually I'll respoke the whole wheel with them, but for now just replacing one at a time.

In all, this bike has been GREAT for me and getting back in shape. I could not have started commuting on a regular bike at this distance, at least not everyday. Just know that like any bike, there's going to be maintenance. And when you're putting 175 miles a week on a bike, that's a LOT more than normal. But all the maintenance is cheap compared to driving. I save $17 a day in parking and $60 a week in gas. It takes 45-60 min to drive each way so I'm only increasing my commute by 30 min/day and getting in two good workouts.

And lastly, none of my LBS carry Juiced so I'm definitely on my own. They carry specialized and stromer, but those were WAY outside my price range. Watch youtube videos, learn to be handy with your bike and go for it.

EDIT: Also, you should know that you need an 18mm OFFSET box end wrench (similar to this https://www.amazon.com/uxcell-Point-Offset-Wrench-Spanner/dp/B0087ZU6DQ) to remove the nut on the rear tire with the power cord.
Thank you for this response. I am pretty much sold on buying this after your response, including the 11g spokes for the front wheel. I think we're in the same area, as I don't have a LBS that has these in stock either.

Congrats on losing so much weight, especially that quick with the bike. I hope to do the same thing as you are (commute with bike even though it may add 30-45 minutes to the commute). Any tips on losing the weight besides biking?

Calicoskies
1 week ago

Model S from the Electric Bike Company (EBC) – Ordered June 19th and not delivered on July 28th as told, arrived August 1st instead. I built our first e-bike for the wife. After hours of research chose this kit: 48V-1000W-26-Front Wheel along with a LunaCycle 48v-Pansonic-17-5ah-black-killer-whale battery. Installed both on a new cruiser bike, Phat Cycles Del Ray. I am a first-time builder but did not have any issues and think it came out very nicely. Battery is on rear rack, controller in the basket on front. Went for my first ride and have been smiling ever since. Since this is my wife’s bike I needed a second one for me so we can ride together in very hilly Raleigh, NC. Being in our 50’s we gave up biking long ago because the hills were just too much to make it enjoyable. Now with a little bit of motor power the hills have disappeared.

We wanted to go the factory-built route and see if the differences were worth the 40% premium in cost. After doing more internet searches and reading reviews on electric beach cruisers we decided on a bike from Electric Bike Company in Newport Beach, CA. After Court Rye’s (electricbikereview.com) review, mostly the 20min YouTube, placed the order. I was not able to find any reviews from owners accept for the short comments on the EBC website. This is the main reason I am writing a longer review. Order process was easy and straight forward on the website. Communications with Sean Lupton-Smith, the CEO, have been outstanding. There is a $250 shipping charge that is considerable, but involves a large heavy box with a lithium battery that requires special handling.

Bike feels very sturdy and is a joy to ride. Bike components come together to make a really sharp looking bike. All the components seem to be high quality and makes the ride smooth. I had to go through options on LCD to turn the cruise function on but that was no big deal, some people may not even know it is available. The Pedal Assist is working great, not always using the thumb accelerator is nice and seems to go on and off without jerking you around. We went with the 18ah battery so should be able to go 40 miles easily even with me being 250lbs. Power is great and able to go up to 28 mph easily and quickly if I want. Kickstand is heavy duty and I asked if I could buy a second for my other bike which they ok’d and are shipping now. The lights on front and rear work well, I added more blinking lights because you can never have too many. Compared to the front hub motor on my other bike this one is louder, was surprising on my first ride. After taking a long ride the motor’s hum/whine does not bother me, so would not say it is a negative. I would give the bike itself a 10 out of 10 for me but my wife would say 1 out of 10 since she can’t ride it as the seat to ground clearance is too high for her and bike is very heavy so she wants to be able to firmly plant feet on ground not just tiptoes. She is 5’7”. She does agree that bike looks fantastic and seems extremely well made.

Bike arrived with some damage on the rear hitch from rubbing against something during ship. In my opinion the hitch scratches were the only damage from shipping. Overall packing was done well. The basket on the front was really messed up with several large paint flakes chipped off, it looks like the paint did not adhere properly during the painting process. Also several other paint chips IMO were possibly made when the bike was assembled and not during shipping. The Suntour suspension post that site talks about as being a great addition was not even installed on bike. After calling EBC, they explained they do not include those on bikes anymore, it’s a website error. I checked other items like the brakes, tires and motor and they all seem to be as advertised. Noticed a cut-out on side of battery case for 12VDC jack but it is not there, so no 12vdc to USB adapter to power items on back as listed in reviews. This may be an option or just not available with the 18ah battery.

Bike is taller from saddle to ground compared to other bikes. My wife was not able to touch the ground flat footed with seat post lowered completely. I was able to use a different seat that is thinner to make her more comfortable but when she went to try and ride it just didn’t feel comfortable for her. She has ridden multiple beach cruisers without this issue. Looks like she will never be able to even try it so I am not happy about that. Suggest you do measurements somehow if you think this may be issue for you, wife is 5’7”. A woman need some strength as the bike is very heavy.

I wrote an email to report the issues to EBC and did not receive a reply for more than 24hrs. Also called and left 3 messages. This was a Tuesday. EBC finally replied via email that a new basket would be sent but they are on back order. No red touch-up paint available for scratches on frame which is disappointing. They said they will send the suspension seat post with no explanation of why it was not included as advertised. I did happen to have some red paint that was a similar red from one of my cars to fix paint chips. I would have appreciated a little more concern about these issues after the considerable cost of bike and ship.

I could not get the Pedal Assist to work because I did not know that you needed to hold down the bottom arrow for 5 seconds to turn on. I did find it in the manual later but was frustrated at first thinking something was not working. After other items on bike were missing I assumed the PAS was another item.

I thought the battery came completely out including the built-in BMS and charger, but that’s not the case. This will not work for me in the summer heat of NC. I need to charge in a cool house and under supervision. EBC has an external charger that can be used with the battery while removed from bike, which I have ordered. In the mean time I am carrying heavy bike up front porch steps and inside to charge.

After all my concerns I asked if we could trade the seat post for the charger which is equal value but was told no and sent invoice instead. I find it odd that during the buying process I could send an email and get an answer within one hour and now after delivery I am lucky if I hear back the next business day. With the warranty EBC provides I hope I do not have any issues I can’t take care of myself. I guess this may be a reason to buy a bike locally. All three of my adult children want to buy e-bikes but I am not sure at this point I am going to recommend this company. I say this because the bike itself great after about 50 miles but the customer service and communication is concerning.

https://www.electricbikecompany.com/features-specifications/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2mRYmGTOY8A Court Rye from Electric Bike Review April 30th, 2017

https://electrek.co/2017/06/29/electric-bike-companys-beach-cruiser-is-the-perfect-1300-e-bike-for-summer/

http://www.ebikeschool.com/list-great-inexpensive-electric-bicycle-parts/ Used to select my battery and motor kit for build my own.

https://lunacycle.com/48v-pansonic-ga-17-5ah-black-killer-whale-ebike-pack-huge-range/

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Wholesale-48V-1000W-26-Rear-Wheel-Electric-Bicycle-Ebike-Conversion-Kits-2015-New-Style-with-LCD/1947983314.html?spm=2114.13010608.0.0.2HJDYe

1/2
Rich N
2 weeks ago

All,
I bought my Vado 3.0 a few weeks ago after buying and returning a Turbo S a week before that. The Turbo S was disappointing (turned out it was actually a 2014 model and had no Bluetooth and was way overpriced) mostly because of the dealer (which I won't mention and will never shop at again).

However, I couldn't be happier with the Vado or the shop I bought it from (Dirty Harry's in Verona, PA). The Turbo Vado is light years better. The pedal crank motor makes the bike much more balanced - I had trouble lifting the Turbo S onto my bike rack due to the weight of the hub motor way in back. The push button controls are more solid than the flimsy rubber joystick of the Turbo S. Also, with the Vado you get the all weather fenders, standard bike rack with taillight, and front lockable suspension! I guess appearance is a personal preference, but I think the Vado looks awesome and I get compliments on it from other riders a lot.

Mine came with the proper software updates (it has a 20mph limit on the electric boost) but also does not seem to have bluetooth enabled. I was trying to get some information from Specialized, but I think we need an update to the Mission Control App for Vado, and probably another firmware upgrade on the bike to enable Bluetooth. I don't really need the extra functions of Mission Control right now anyway. I have only ridden about 100 miles so far - I keep the boost on minimum - and it seems like on moderately hilly terrain I will probably get about 30-40 miles of range. I guess that will vary greatly depending on speed and climb.

So far, so good - looking forward to lots more miles!

Chris Nolte
2 weeks ago

We are excited to learn about the new bike Tern released today! It's called the Tern GSD and it's a compact electric cargo bike with some really awesome features! I listed some of the highlights below.

20" wheels front and rear with custom made Schwalbe Super Moto X Tires
Bosch Performance Line with a Dual Battery Option
Thru-Axles for added stability and strength
4 colorways
A Suite of accessories made for the bike
Capable of carrying 2 Yepp Seats
Fits a wide range of rider heights

More at: http://www.ternbicycles.com/bikes/471/gsd

1/1
E-Wheels
2 weeks ago

Thanks. I'm trying to avoid a rack if possible - I wear a camelback for my gear, but don't want the added weight of a u-lock inside that, as sometimes I'll have an oxygen C-tank in there if I'm riding above 7500-8000 feet elevation (one working lung, so without eBike I needed the tank for every ride around here).

I LOVE THE POWEFLY 7 - MINI REVIEW:

It's quite well built, with nice welds and workmanship - everything is perfect except the following. I was surprised that the rear axel is not a 15mm thru axel like the front, but is a 9mm mountain bike quick release with slots instead (didn't know if this was typical). The seat padding is nonexistent, but if you get your butt back far enough it's livable, although I replaced it with a slim foam seat that's a little thicker. They also didn't run the derailleur cable inside the frame like with their other eBikes, so it runs along the right side of the lower frame while the rear brake line still runs along the left side. Lastly, I was surprised that the Deore XT shift lever doesn't display which gear I'm in for reference, while the feature is on the other 3 bikes.

It FITS me much better than the 50mm XM700+ that they originally ordered for me, or the 18" Neko+ and 17.5" Dual Sport+ that they had in stock. They did put a 17 degree riser on the handlebar stem (I think a 17x90), after having seen the issues I had on the other 3 bikes. With the riser the riding position is perfect - I've been able to ride down the 1140 foot hill from my house to the shopping center and back up to my home twice (6 mile trip each time), and my hands never went to sleep like with the Dual Sport+ and Neko+. I can lift the front wheel about 1" off the ground when straddling the bar, and I can just get my toes on both feet down to the ground when sitting on the seat.

VS the DUAL SPORT+: Despite the higher weight I still can hop up curbs fairly easily, and the fatter tires absorb the bumps better. At high speeds downhill on the road the PF7 is more stable and not as scary as the Dual Sport+ which put too much weight on my hands and seemed absolutely twitchy. I also have more confidence in the PF7's larger brakes and it's fatter tires which have a tight enough knobby pattern to work well on pavement and dirt. With the PF7 I could lean the bike farther in turns with more confidence, due to the larger contact patch.

BATTERY RANGE: My only concern is that the battery clearly isn't going to last as long as the Dual Sport+. After the ride on hilly roads yesterday and then giving it a full charge, it was estimating the battery will give me 16-48 miles on my next ride (in high vs low power). That's vs 30-55 miles estimated by the Dual Sport+ after the same ride and re-charging procedure. This includes my going to ECO or OFF whenever the ride is flat but requires pedaling, or downhill without pedaling. Before my riding it hard yesterday, the PF7 was estimating 29-94 miles, after only 1/4 mile of an easy flat-ground test ride by the shop after they assembled it.

After a quick 4 mile ride today (with only a 600 foot climb) and before I put it back on the charger, the PF7 estimated that I still had 13-42 miles of battery left to keep riding (13 miles in TURBO, 16 miles in SPORT, 21 in TOUR, and 42 in ECO mode). I would have been able to complete todays ride in only ECO and TOUR mode in the low gears, but I really needed SPORT and TURBO to finish it with decent double digit speed.

So, with a mix of all 4 power levels I believe that I could go an additional 18-21 miles on this hilly terrain; however, I'd prefer to have 30 to last a weekend before charging. But the 32 mile round-trip ride that we have planned this summer is fairly flat with only a slight climb of 300-400 feet over the first 16 miles, and slightly downhill on the way back, with two short hills both directions. So I should be able to make that particular 30+ mile trip just fine.

POWER: I'm not convinced that TURBO (300%) feels stronger than SPORT (200%) when I'm pulling a hill while seated in higher gears with a slower cadence. However, in the lower gears with a higher cadence I can really feel the increase in power on the hills. Unfortunately I poop out with a cadence rate about 65+, and tend to cruise at 50-60 rpm in higher gears, so I wont get as much benefit from TURBO except on a really hard steep hill at low speeds.
Larry is your PF7 a 2016 or 2017 model

hurricane56
2 weeks ago

You "could" use the bike without the battery, but don't expect much over 10-12mph. These bikes are heavy, even without the battery. Some people like higher speed touring, the drop bars reduce wind drag. My Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX has a single front, 10 rear. I bought it at a year end close-out for $2700. With the 500w/hr battery, the 40-60 mile range is fairly easy to hit. I like the idea of a short travel suspension fork, but not crazy about the spring unit on the Haibike. I'll likely upgrade that next year.

When did you buy your bike? I got the exact same bike on clearance and only got the 400wh battery. As for the suspension fork, I just ditched the stock Suntour fork for a RockShox Paragon. It makes a huge difference to have a real air suspension and that is the main disappointment with Haibike as they use the lower end Suntour spring fork on many of their models.

rich c
2 weeks ago

You "could" use the bike without the battery, but don't expect much over 10-12mph. These bikes are heavy, even without the battery. Some people like higher speed touring, the drop bars reduce wind drag. My Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX has a single front, 10 rear. I bought it at a year end close-out for $2700. With the 500w/hr battery, the 40-60 mile range is fairly easy to hit. I like the idea of a short travel suspension fork, but not crazy about the spring unit on the Haibike. I'll likely upgrade that next year.

Farbike
2 weeks ago

Hey E-Bikers,

I want to hear what you all think about these new bikes we will release at the end of August.

We just got an update on the new X-treme Electric Bicycles for 2018. First off the geared hub motors are going to be zero resistance thanks to a clutch that disengages the motor when the electricity is not one. Very cool.

Here are the specs we have so far:

48 Volt High Power Long Range Electric Mountain Bicycle
10.4AH Integrated Lithium Battery (15AH Optional Battery Pack)
500 Watt Zero Resistance Rear Hub Motor With Clutch
Up To 70 Miles Range Using Low PAS & Flat Terrain While Pedal Assisting
Ultimate Hill Climbing - Tested 18 MPH Constant Speed While Climbing 7% to 8% Grade For 45 Minutes On Battery
King Meter LCD Smart PAS Digital System With USB Phone Charging Port
Digital Torque Sensing
Suntour Front Suspension - Unnecessary But Why Not Have The Best?
Shimano Altus 9 Speed
Tektro Disk Brakes With Hydraulic Upgrade Option
Kenda High End Beach Tires
Velo Seat - Velo Grips
Aluminum Everything - Zero Rust - Every Bolt - Every Nut - Every Nipple - Every Spoke - Zero Rust
Drink Holder On Handle Bars Included

Final pricing is not out yet, but will be around $1300-$1500

I have some early factory pics you can see at these links: More to come once we get them in the photo studio.

X-treme Catalina Electric Beach Cruiser
X-treme E-Bike Santa Cruz Mens Electric Beach Cruiser
X-treme E-Bike Rocky Road 48v Fat Tire Electric Bike

Let me know what yall think. There will also be a full suspension update for the X-treme Rubicon and X-treme Sedona Electric Mountain Bike coming at the same time.

-Eric

Wildmalta
2 weeks ago

Hi all

I’m looking for my first e-bike.

I currently have only ever owned mountain bikes, currently on a workhorse that suits me fine for going off road, some longer training on-road rides & occasional commuting.

My problem is that the work commute, although short is hilly and I end up sweating with no showers at work. An e-bike looks like the answer so that I can do it more regularly.

I’ve also been after a touring bike for trips of some 60 – 100km per day (40 - 60 miles) and wondering whether I can find one bike that does it all, ideally also including my current off-roading. However I’m open-minded to keep my current bike for thrashing off road & an e-bike that’s more road oriented.

A couple of questions that might sound stupid:

Obviously the battery comes out for charging, but can I still use the bike without battery? I know I’ll still have the added weight of the motor but at least I can save the battery weight for shorter non-commuting / training rides.

I assume that tourers are built for demanding conditions so should be able to deal with some off-road (not downhill) with all-round tires. I guess a sprung saddle would help with this.

I’m seeing several touring bikes have drop handlebars – I would have thought that cycling for long hours is more comfortable in a more upright position. What am I missing here?

What sort of gear range can I expect on a touring e-bike? I guess they are all single speed up front with 6 -9 speed at the rear?

What can I expect to pay for a decent model including hydraulic discs?

I’m looking at the lower end of the budget but then if I commute I’ll save fuel so willing to consider going higher if truly justified, say internal gears.

All ideas appreciated!

Thanks

86 and still kicking
3 weeks ago

I live in a medium-sized community (~200K people) but we seem to have relatively few options in terms of ebikes in the shops, mostly limited to higher-end, big brand name bikes (Trek; Giant; Specialized, Electra; Haibike). I would like to get a decent-quality bike for commuting (10 miles, partly uphill in each direction) and fun on local trails, for under $2000. The cheapest bikes with the features I want cost $2700+ locally.

If you knew nothing about bike repair/had always relied on bike shops to maintain and fix your bikes, would you order a bike online, or stick to whatever overpriced options were in your area? And if you say "stick to local shops," are there mainstream e-bikes that have a relatively good price point for their quality and reliability?

Wish List:
Torque-sensing rather than cadence-sensing
Front suspension and/or seat suspension for comfort over potholes/cracks/curbs
Range: at least 25 miles in high-assist mode
Power: 350W motor for hills
Battery that can be charged both on or off the bike
Frame fit for my body (I'm 5'2" and 125 pounds); hybrid riding posture
Easy riding when the bike is not using electrical assistance (not sure what this translates into: gearing? bike weight?)

Short list of bikes, based on above (NONE of which are sold in my area): E-Glide ST; e-Joe Epik SE; Juiced Bikes Cross Current; Surface 604 Rook. Other ideas welcome, based on the above.
The e-city from Smart Motion is a very good fit for you. Message me and I will tell you more about it and how to get it.

Andrea Bozoki
3 weeks ago

I live in a medium-sized community (~200K people) but we seem to have relatively few options in terms of ebikes in the shops, mostly limited to higher-end, big brand name bikes (Trek; Giant; Specialized, Electra; Haibike). I would like to get a decent-quality bike for commuting (10 miles, partly uphill in each direction) and fun on local trails, for under $2000. The cheapest bikes with the features I want cost $2700+ locally.

If you knew nothing about bike repair/had always relied on bike shops to maintain and fix your bikes, would you order a bike online, or stick to whatever overpriced options were in your area? And if you say "stick to local shops," are there mainstream e-bikes that have a relatively good price point for their quality and reliability?

Wish List:
Torque-sensing rather than cadence-sensing
Front suspension and/or seat suspension for comfort over potholes/cracks/curbs
Range: at least 25 miles in high-assist mode
Power: 350W motor for hills
Battery that can be charged both on or off the bike
Frame fit for my body (I'm 5'2" and 125 pounds); hybrid riding posture
Easy riding when the bike is not using electrical assistance (not sure what this translates into: gearing? bike weight?)

Short list of bikes, based on above (NONE of which are sold in my area): E-Glide ST; e-Joe Epik SE; Juiced Bikes Cross Current; Surface 604 Rook. Other ideas welcome, based on the above.

Velome
4 weeks ago

I thought I would give my ST1x review as it has been around a month and 200 miles since I received it in the mail. Sorry for the long post, but I hope someone will find all the information useful.

ORDER:
I decided to place an order with an E-bike shop instead of buying from my local shop because of the massive savings I received. I ordered the Sport (high bar) in 22" and charcoal. The shop upgraded me to the ST2 battery (814wh) and provided a body float seat post for a small charge. I got an email from Stromer the day after I placed the order to setup my account/app as the shop tied my bike to my phone number before it was shipped. It took about 12 days in total to get the bike, but there was a holiday weekend that increased that time. 7-10 days is probably reasonable expectation. Saving the 10% Seattle sales tax was also a contributing factor as they included shipping for free. All said and done very happy with the price and the shop I ordered from and would not have done it different.

RECEIVING:
The bike is in a large box that weights over 60 lbs. Because of this there was a local delivery company that did the final transit. Due to this it took an extra weekend to get to me because I had to schedule the delivery. They showed up in a 18-wheeler which caused the driver to have some issues blocking traffic on a busy road to hand truck the bike to my door. But all arrived safely and he wheeled it into my garage.

The bike came nearly fully assembled. I needed to straighten the handle bars (mm allen wrench) which was pretty easy (they are shipped at 90 degrees so the box is flatter). The peddles also needed to be screwed on - the right side goes on traditionally, the left is reverse threaded. I swapped out the seat post (cannot remember if the seat was on the bike or not when shipped), and I was all ready to go. Wheel reflectors, the charger were also in the box with manuals. The first charge took about 2-3 hours to be fully charged.

INITIAL IMPRESSIONS:
So much fun. I had tried out electric bikes before, but this was my first Speed Pedelec and really glad I went that direction, it is addicting. Some people say you work just as hard on an e-bike, but it is hard to explain why. I don't burn as many calories, but your muscles are still sore. You want to work hard just to maintain the speed and always feel the boost. So you work as hard, but over a shorter period of time because you are going so much faster.

The ST1x has a boost/throttle - kind of. If you hold the [+] button it will move you without peddling. But I have yet to have a situation where I could not peddle faster than the boost. On a flat it will get you to about 10-12 mph, on a decent hill you are lucky to get half that. In all cases I can get the bike to go at least 20%-100% faster by peddling at a moderate rate. The brakes squeak a bit (see the EBR videos, sounds the exact same) but they are solid. I am 6'3" 220lbs. The frame size is pretty good for me, but if you are 6'5" I think you might find it a bit too small - and they don't make it any bigger.

I have had several friends take it for a spin, they're all in love with it.

200 MILE REVIEW:
I have had a few issues so lets get those out of the way. About 20 miles in the right peddle was wobbling considerably. I took the peddle off and the aluminum threads were stripped. I put the peddle on so it is possible it was something I did, but I am pretty good with tools and am pretty sure it was a factory defect. I called the bike shop I ordered from and they shipped an entirely new bottom bracket and crankset. It took around 7 days to get that and another 2-3 for a bike shop to do the work (I did not have the right tools). It is working perfectly now. It was all done under warranty through the bike shop I purchased from - I d not call Stromer. All I had to do was send in photos and provide a write up. I think this was more to make sure they sent the right part than not trusting me.

At 100 miles I got a rear flat. Of course I didn't have a spare, pump or tools with me (Murphy!) so my wife picked me up and I swapped the tube with the same kind that came with the bike. I now have a trunk bag with a spare tube, tools and a pump. All of which I had, just not with me at the time.

I have a few complaints as well. The bike creeks a lot. Not sure what exactly is making the sound, but it sounds like tapping on a carbon frame (there is no Carbon), and it bothers me, but does not seem to an issue. Could be that I am too fat. The drivetrain is a little bit clunky. It does not shift as crisp as I would hope. Again, not an issue, but it bothers me. I have learned that if I am not in the right gear it will either not shift right away or will shift really hard. So as I come to a stop I move up a few sprockets to a larger one, and then gradually down shift as I pick up speed. I rarely ever use the largest cogs as with the motor it is rarely needed (even in 10-12% grade)

Absolutely love riding this bike. I rarely take it out of assist level 3 just because it is so much fun. I ride about 14 miles round trip to work and it takes me about 20-25 minutes each way - my commute is across a valley so steep hills going each way with some flat in the middle and a hand full of signals that have a long rotation. I average about 16-20mph. During peak traffic I can easily make the trip quicker than I could in a car. If I took it really easy I could probably get away without showering at work, but the way I ride I always sweat a bit. I charge it every other day and usually have about 50% battery left after the 28 miles. I have not rode it outside of commuting yet, so I have yet to test the range.

OMNI is alright. Signal strength is terrible and does not work from my house. I have a secure bike cage at work so I have only used the electric lock once. I don't really like the screens they have to choose from. I find myself switching between them on a regular basis. I think they could improve this quite a bit - perhaps ill get an update. Stromer - If you are reading this, reach out to me and I'll provide a bunch of feedback.

I added a mirror and upgraded the handle grips.

SUMMARY:
I would buy it again in a heartbeat. 28mph is a must - glad I got that 35 mph would be even better. Get a body float - my bumpy broken asphalt paths would have killed me without it.

Happy to answer questions if anyone has them - I probably could have written twice as much. I plan to do some videos as there is not a lot of info on the ST1x and I can walk through some of the above in more detail.
What kind of impact do you have from the front fork? I see one person mentioned the Redshift Shockstop to lessen feedback from the road. I think I'll add that to my Trek XM700+.

Over50
4 weeks ago

My XDuro Trekking 4.0 arrived and I test rode it today - XS 48 cm.

To recap: the LBS agreed to put the bike back in stock if it didn't fit and order a different size. I've already paid full purchase price. I had some very knowledgeable folks advise me to order the S (52 cm) and some equally knowledgeable folks advise me to order the XS. For example, a Haibike Marketing Manager was in the small camp and Ravi and the shop advertising to be the biggest Haibike seller (California) was in the XS camp. I set the bike side by side with my Riese and Muller Charger (M - 49 cm) and it does seem a bit smaller front to back but not noticeably so. The height seemed the same. I straddled the XS Haibike with shoes on and I touch the top tube. This is almost identical Stand-Over to the Charger although their specs say they are different by a cm or two. Judging solely on Stand-Over, I think the XS must be the right bike as I would have zero clearance on the next larger size.

Now considering reach: the bike felt good when I started riding. It is actually more upright vs the Charger and my arms were extended without being locked. It seemed fine but after about 30 minutes of riding I felt some pressure on my hands that I don't feel on the Charger. This seemed odd to be with a more upright position. I think the seat could be pushed back about 1/2 inch and the grips could be rotated. An LBS employee commented that the bike looked a bit short in terms of reach. So this is the odd thing about the Haibike vs the R&M. It has the scrunched up Top Tube and shorter wheelbase and everything seems closer together. I like the sporty feel of the bike and I even like the wider handle bars. They do help me starting from a stop because I have more leverage. I feel like the bike will be easier to take over curbs and sidewalks when necessary whereas the R&M is a better cruiser over long distance. I definitely wouldn't say I like it better than the R&M it is just different in ride and handling. The Haibike is sportier, perhaps lighter, and feels more agile. The R&M feels like it is more comfortable and would be particularly more comfortable over longer distance of on-road riding (it is worth mentioning that they have the same tires).

As for the 20mph CX motor: I definitely can't get the top speeds I get with the R&M but we're talking 19-20 mph vs 22-25 mph. I don't know though if it will really slow my commute. I did the test ride a lot in Sport mode and the torque is impressive. I feel like I just jump right up to 19 mph effortlessly. I'm sure it will cost me a bit of time on my commute but I don't think it will be much. It might save me some effort given the amount of start/stop on my commute and also have and advantage at those downtown intersections. I usually ride the R&M in Tour and Eco and focus more on range vs fast starting and top speed. The Haibike in Sport mode just jumps into action and then levels off between 19 and 20 mph. I didn't have much success maintaining a speed over 21 although I did top out at 21 on my test ride. The motor cutoff is extremely smooth and I don't necessarily feel it cutting out. I moreso just notice that I can't keep accelerating.

I think it is going to be a good 2nd commuter offering very different ride characteristics. My LBS guy left on vacation today so I didn't take delivery of the bike. Next steps are to order a BodyFloat and some pedals (opting for the same Origin8 Slimline 9s currently in use on my R&M). When my LBS guy is back I'll go back in for some additional fit confirmation before I agree to take this bike.

Just a note on the rear carrier: there was a thread here about panniers/bags for the rack. I ordered the 20 mm Ortleib hooks and took them to the LbS to check the size. They seemed way too large. Odd because folks seemed pretty certain the Standwell rack requires the 20 mm hooks. The rack is a bit wider vs the Racktime on the R&M thus the Vaude bag with the Racktime adaptor will not fit. Also, the lights are not daytime running and can be turned on/off. I thought they would be like the euro-lights on the R&M and 'always on'. But I'm glad for the potential daylight battery savings when I can use my USB rechargeable flashers. When/if I take delivery of this bike next week I will post some side by side comparison pictures to the R&M.

Benjamin
4 weeks ago

Hi there,

for quite some time I plan to buy a pedelec for commuting around 30 km but really can't decide between two awesome bikes.

The first one is the Gocycle G3. I like the design, the lightweight(!) and the technical innovation a lot on this bike.
Because the drivedrain is enclosed there should be very little maintanace to do and it is easy to transport in trains an small cars if needed.
My only concern is the limited range (300 wh) and the small front wheel motor.
So I thought that someone who already owns a Gocycle G3 could share his experiences about real life performance.
I have read quite a lot reviews but no one seems to measure the real life range of this bike. Intead there is always the 80 km mentioned from the datasheet which is the best case scenario with very little assistance.
In addition I am wondering whether the little front hub motor performce compared to other bikes with a front hub motor.

Thanks for your help!

WilliamT
4 weeks ago

After getting some new mid drive kits for my other bikes, I had a Dillenger 36v geared hub kit lying around so I decided to install it on my Radwagon. The battery easily fits on the back rack. You could have a row of batteries setting back there.

Hill climbing is a lot easier now. Most of the time I leave the front assist a Level 3/5 and the rear assist in Level 1/5. This give me a range of over 40 miles with an average speed of 16-17 mph on flat surfaces. The only time I really notice the front hub assist is starting from a stop. Once the PAS catches, the bike takes off.

Level 4 up front and Level 2 in the back pushes it up to around 20 mph average cruising speed.

The steel forks makes it ideal for a small front hub motor. The 27.5 in wheel the kit was on happen to fit on my Radwagon which initially used a 26 in wheel. I got a narrower tire 27.5 x 2.0 and that kept it under the fender.

1/4
mrgold35
4 weeks ago

I'm new to ebiking and have his/her Radrovers since Sept/2016 with +2600 miles between them. I enjoyed riding so much, I parked my car and ebike work commute 3-4 times a week (switch off both bikes to keep wear/tear/mileage the same). I put around half my mileage trail riding single tracks. Things I've learned:

- factor in about 20%-40% at a minimum above the cost of the ebike for gear, maint, tools, accessories, cold/wet/warm weather clothing, bike rack, etc...
- check out the max weight and utility. The Radrover can handle 275lbs with the rider weight and gear. I also added a rear rack+bag w/ foldout panniers when needed. Some bikes may have wight restrictions or no mounting points for a full rear rack.
- bottle cage points. My Radrover has 3 pre-drilled bottle cage mounting points. Comes in handy for securing locks, extra water bottles, or I use the downtube bottle cage mounting point for my Boomerang GPS tracker.
- regular tires, plus size tires (around 2"-3"), or fat tire (+4"). I like my 4" fat tires because they smooth out the ride and I can transition between pavement, dirt trails, uneven surfaces, and sand smoothly.
- storage and charging at work and home
- public transportation friendly; fat tire bikes are too big for bus racks, some utility cargo ebikes too long, folding ebike might work better.
- Commute range, hills, wind, weight, weather, (cold) temp: Everything lessens your range except riding downhill and/or a stiff tailwind. May need a larger battery, spare battery, or bring a charger if environmental conditions take too much of a hit on your range (I have another charger I leave at work to top off).
- any local bike and/or ebike restrictions (bike paths, parks, no bike lanes on main roads, etc...)
- front suspension with either springs or hydraulic forks help smooth out the ride at +20 mph. Some folks prefer locking out the front suspension; but, all that vibration has to go somewhere? I rather have the suspension vibrate instead of my arms.
- full suspension or hard tail. Some full suspension bikes may not have points for adding a rear rack for a bag with panniers. Sucks wearing a backpack when it is hot outside.
- with or without throttle. I rather have it and not need it compared to need it and not have it. I use my throttle on every ride and I wouldn't want to ride an ebike without one because of the way I ride.
- Hub or mid-drive. Hubs can be cheaper, always tail heavy, average hill climbing depending on grade and weight, easier to fix/upgrade, can have throttle+PAS, take 10 seconds to learn how to operate, and usually less range in the 20-40 mile range. Mid-drives can be 2X-4X more expensive, a lot more range of choices, much longer range, better at inclines, less weight, more balanced, hard to find with throttle, and ebike components can be more $$ to fix.

I would plan a weekend to test ride different ebikes depending on how far you are from the closest ebike store. I would mostly compare hub-vs-mid, narrow-vs-plus-vs-fat tires, with or without suspension, and eMTB-vs-cargo-vs-city bikes.

Joe EE
1 month ago

Hey everyone. Just want to start off by saying: I am not an expert on any of this. Just started riding this season after a 30 year hiatus so I am just happy to be back up on 2 wheels again. I have been riding the Yukon since Memorial Day and I still haven't put 100 mikes on that yet. Close, but not yet. I work a lot. Just got my Colt this week and did a 16 mile round trip today and it was lots of fun but these bikes are a sharp contrast in a lot of ways.
The Yuke arrived almost completely assembled, I needed to attach the handlebars and the pedals and it was easy. It came with the necessary tools and the tires were properly inflated. It has been riding as it was designed and I love it. There are some cons in my opinion but they have nothing to do with the design or manufacturing. I suspected that riding a fatbike would feel kind of "trucky" and it does. Very solid, lots of momentum once you get going but agile is not a word I would use to describe it. I'm fine with it but I remember my childhood riding and the bikes I had were always nimble. The Yuke is also a heavy beast, upwards of 70 lbs. I could never pedal it without the motor assist. With the motor she is lots of fun and very solid feeling. I get a lot of range out of the battery and I am satisfied with purchase and the price.
Again I am not knocking either of these bikes, just going to point out the differences. The Colt came with more assembly necessary and I wouldn't call it easy exactly. Surface has some assembly videos on Youtube but I had a harder time than I would have liked. The front wheel is a quick release so that was straightforward. Every review and advertisement of the bike I have seen shows a lever assembly adjustment for the handlebar height. That is not what arrived, I am assuming what I got is an upgrade? No tools came with this bike either. Fortunately, I still have the Voltbike tools so they came in handy and I don't keep a workshop. Just attaching the handlebars was tough, as that bolt that goes straight down was tough to tighten enough to the point where if felt secure and I was nervous I was going to snap it. The allen key adjustment for the height adjustment was easy enough but started to loosen after the first 2 miles around the neighborhood. Not exactly confidence inspiring. I tightened the bejesus out of that bolt also and have gotten rid of that wobble, hopefully for good. The tires needed to be correctly inflated and the bike also does not come with a bell.
I have a lot of positive things to say about the Colt after my first ride. She's fast! It's a lighter bike and with the relatively skinny tires (compared to the beast) she just goes and goes. I think I coasted half the way today! The Yukon does not coast unless you are going downhill. I think the torque sensor is a better approach than the cadence sensor. I like the mild assist when pedaling lightly but more when you push, it's almost like it's reading your thoughts which is a little weird but lot's of fun. The display has a photocel so it backlights automatically when you go into a tunnel and such and I loved that feature also. This bike is noticeably more agile as well and I spent the day happily swerving all over and I can easily control it with one hand. The throttle will only give you the percentage of power that is associated with the level of pedal assist you are in 1-5, which I think is a battery saver also. After 16 miles today I barely dented the charge on the battery. Pedal assist 1 most of the way and up to 3 on a quarter mile hill on the way back. I barely expended 2 of the 10 bars on the charge indicator. I was concerned about "only" 500 Watts from the motor as I weigh 235 but this bike was zooming today. Uphill no problems at all. I also love the ergonomic grips which I will be putting on the Yukon at the end of the season. They make for a much more pleasant riding experience. I believe I am also going to go to a height adjustable set of bars on the Voltbike, as that leanover gets fatiguing after a while
Anyway, that's my 5 cents worth. I am glad I went something so drastically different and both of these bikes at less than 2000 apiece, I think has been a great deal. Safe riding everyone.

1/4
SuperGoop
1 month ago

I now have around 100 km the Voltbike Urban. Some observations:

- On my first full charge, I went 65 km (at random speeds, not too aggressive).
- Motor doesn't cut in-and-out when nearing low battery. It simply gets weaker and weaker, until there is no more power.
- Took a lot longer to fully charge an empty battery than I expected. 6.5 hours with the included 2A charger.
- Lots of low-end torque and power. High-end speed & power is not as great as my Yukon 750.
- On freshly charged battery, I can easily hit 32+km/h with throttle only on flats. But when the battery is below 80%, then the top speed is around 30km/h on throttle only.
- With pedaling, it is easy to maintain around 30-32km/h regardless of battery strength.
- Much more jarring than my Yukon 750 (fat tires). Perhaps due to its smaller & stiffer 20" tires.
- Fairly light (53 lbs), and easy to carry with the built-in handle on the top-tube.
- Key must be inserted and in the ON position to operate the motor.
- Battery range is not really an issue, because the bike rides like a regular folding bike even without motor assistance.
- The Urban is more suited to lower speeds (around 25km/h). It can go faster, but it feels inefficient and bumpy above 25km/h.
- The front shocks are very nice and effective. It is on the softer side, which I like.
- I can very accurately gauge the battery level by monitoring the real-time voltage (42V=full, 32V=dead).
- Every time the display is switched off, the "Trip" meter is reset back to zero. However, you can leave the display on, and it will got to "Sleep" without resetting the Trip meter.
- The rear light is aimed a bit too high and partially blocked by the rear rack. I had to bend it down a little with a wrench. Now, it is perfect.
- The front light runs off the main battery and is bright enough to be seen, even during daytime.
- Due to the small bike, panniers need to be small and mounted further back to avoid interfering with pedaling.
- The rack does not have the spring clasp like last year's model, which I miss.

Any questions, let me know.

86 and still kicking
1 month ago

Hmm. Good questions. I live in the country and would mostly be riding country roads. Off of these roads there are many or service dirt roads that I would like to follow as well. Good suspension Is a must. Fatter tires? Definitely pedal assist a must. Throttle for sure. Part of this pleasure riding has a exercise element for sure. Hard to imagine riding more than 25-30 miles per trip. Not hauling stuff except my 200# body. Fenders, lights, rack ,gears, not sure if hub drive or mid drive? Budget? Best product for the money? $3-5K? Maybe upright riding position but I could be talked out of this. So pleasure and adventure and exercise is what I would use an ebike for. Thanks so much for input
I may have the perfect bike for you. It is called the Pacer from SmartMotion. It has a head shock for front suspension, is a 28mph speed pedelec, has full throttle that can be used in pedal assist at any time, cadence or torque sensing pedal assist, fenders, and a lighting system that not only includes front and rear lights but a nighttime riding mode that turns on a fantastic set of LED's in the downtube and the back of the rear rack. It lights up like a Christmas tree at night. Simply pop on a rear tail bag that locks in place (Ortlieb trunk bag) or a set of panniers and you have the ideal rig We can even throw a fatter set of tires on it. And, the biggest plus is that you can order it with a whoppping 48V 17.5A battery (other option for 14.5A) to give you up to a 70 mile range. If you buy the Pacer with the larger batter and head shock it is $3100. Add a bag and you are set to go. The Pacer is the bike I ride every morning. It has a Dapu 500W geared rear hub that gets you up to speed very quickly. I average about 22-24 mph on flat roads with a normal cadence.

Robert Wetzel
2 years ago

Nice review as always - you guys at the other side of the big lake sure have not only the nicer landscapes, but also the nicer e-bike laws. All we get here is 250 Watts / 25 km/h or 500 Watts / 45 km/h but in the latter case you already need a driving license, a helmet, a license plate, are not allowed on bike paths and so on.....bummer.

Anyways, is there a chance you might make a more general video explaining the differences between the geared and gearless hub motors? What are the respective advantages, and so on....
Thanks for the good work anyways, keep it up!

Robert Wetzel
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com
Wow, thanks for the quick and exhaustive answer! I can see how you are a very light person by most standards, and this affects engine performance of course. At 230 lbs, and another 70 lbs by the bike, I'd often wish for more than just 250 Watts.
Thank you also so much for the link, I'll read it right away. Your verdict about mid-drives is surprising, as most other reviews I came across laude the Yamaha over the Bosch as the former is supposed to be more powerful (70 Nm vs. 60 Nm, no idea how many lb ft that would be in your whacky system ;-)) as well as being quieter.
What positively surprised me about the Bosch was its endurance - we rented two mid-drive pedelecs in Switzerland and the battery lasted a little shy of 50 km with about 1500 meters height difference, and performed decently until the very end.
With my cheap system power will noticeably fall when passing about 70% battery.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Robert Wetzel Yeah... I've heard about the restrictive laws in some parts of Europe. Fun fact, the 750 watt 20 mph law was passed under George W. Bush here in the US... it's like one of the only cool things he did while in office :P

Great question on the hub motors, I've created an article about it here: http://electricbikereview.com/guides/difference-between-ebike-motors/ with some great pictures and I'll probably do a video in the future. The short answer is that geared is lighter, peppier and usually more affordable but doesn't offer power regeneration and might not last as long (gears rubbing inside vs. just magnets). I'm an active type of rider and I don't weigh much so I usually choose geared. These days I've really developed a taste for mid-drive motors and you can get these awesome kits with shift sensing (to reduce wear and strain on your chain) from e-RAD which offer pedal assist and throttle actuation: http://electricbikereview.com/category/e-rad/ otherwise I really like Bosch (Impulse and Yamaha are pretty good as well but not as responsive and "quick" feeling in my opinion).

DrZarkloff
2 years ago

still the Sonders is more bike for the money. when will these kit manufacturers get with the program?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+DrZarkloff The Sondors has been a decent deal for people in the US who got them delivered. I still get emails from people in the UK and Australia that haven't received theres (in fact I heard most of Australia was refunded because of legal restrictions?) not everyone wants a fat bike frame so kits like this can be great, Electric Bike Outfitters sells several others for even less like the "EBO Commuter" that's rated at 350 watts just like the Sondors http://electricbikereview.com/electric-bike-outfitters/ebo-commuter-kit/

James Jacocks
2 years ago

Court, you have a strong international following-very good show! Yes, Denver is a great place to live (or ride bikes). I an looking for a front wheel kit for my beloved Fisher hybrid from the early nineties. It is a light bike with a bumper shock. Any ideas? Great vid, per usual!

Flo Mo
2 years ago

Your bike tests are cool. Now I feel like I'm in Denver/Colorado. :) It's great to ride with you on the test bikes. You make very good shots. Thanks for that. Greetings from Berlin.

LUIZ FELIPE MENDONÇA RIBEIRO
2 years ago

Congratulations on video

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+LUIZ FELIPE MENDONÇA RIBEIRO Thanks, doing my best, lots more to come ;)