BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 Review

Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Electric Bike Review
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Shimano Xt Dront Derailleur 44 30t Plastic Chain Guard
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Integrated Bmz Battery 37 Volt 17 5 Amp Hours
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Ci Backlit Display Panel Removable
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Ergon Gc1 Locking Grips And Bell
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 10 Sprocket Shimano Deore Xt
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Integrated Toplight Line E Responding Brake Light
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Sr Suntour Cts 2 Suspension Fork
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Tektro Dorado Hydraulic Disc Brakes 203 Mm
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Ebike High Step
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Electric Bike Review
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Shimano Xt Dront Derailleur 44 30t Plastic Chain Guard
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Integrated Bmz Battery 37 Volt 17 5 Amp Hours
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Ci Backlit Display Panel Removable
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Ergon Gc1 Locking Grips And Bell
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 10 Sprocket Shimano Deore Xt
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Integrated Toplight Line E Responding Brake Light
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Sr Suntour Cts 2 Suspension Fork
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Tektro Dorado Hydraulic Disc Brakes 203 Mm
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Ebike High Step


  • Available in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step and mid-step) with an adjustable stem, active-comfort saddle and ergonomic grips, this bike can fit well and feel good at speed and over long distances
  • Capable of 28 mph top speeds, this is a Class 3 electric bike with an extra large 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack so you can commute, go touring or trekking... upgraded display panel with realtime power feedback
  • A long list of high quality accessories and components including fenders, rear rack, integrated lights, smooth powerful 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes and a 20 speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore XT derailleurs
  • This bike costs more and weighs a bit more due to all of the extras and larger battery, the keyhole for unlocking the pack is dangerously close to the left crank and the battery cap doesn't fit quite right

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





Lacuba EVO E45



Body Position:

Upright, Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Touring

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Years Motor and Battery, 5 Years Frame


Europe, Canada, United States, Australia, New Zealand

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

61.5 lbs (27.89 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.61 lbs (2.99 kg)

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminium

Frame Sizes:

18.89 in (47.98 cm)19.68 in (49.98 cm)20.86 in (52.98 cm)21.65 in (54.99 cm)23.62 in (59.99 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

27" Stand Over Height for Step-Thru Model

Frame Types:

High-Step, Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Satin Silver with Matte Black and Blue Highlights

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour CTS 29, 63 mm Travel, Lockout and Preload Adjust, 11 mm QR Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm QR Skewer

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rack Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

20 Speed 2x10 Shimano Deore XT Derailleurs, 11-34T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore XT SL-M780 Triggers on Right and Left


FSA, 44-30T


Wellgo Alloy Platform with Rubber Tread


FSA Tapered 1-1/8"


Humpert Ergotec 6 Adjustable Angle Stem, 100 mm Length


Low Rise, Alloy Ergotec Plus XL, 610 mm or 630 mm Length, 12° Bend or 14° Bend

Brake Details:

Tektro Dorado HD-E715 Hydraulic Disc with 203 mm Rotors, Tektro Dorado Levers with Motor Inhibitors


Ergon GC1 Locking, Ergonomic


Selle Royal Respiro Moderate, Cool X Senium Mesh Ventilation

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Humpert Ergotec

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm


RYDE Double Wall, 36 Hole


Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge Front 13 Gauge Rear, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Energizer Plus, 28" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Performance Line GreenGuard, Reflective Sidewall Stripe, 45-70 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve


Velo Battery Protector Pad, Fuxon Integrated LED Headlight, Toplight Line E LED Backlight (Goes Extra Bright When Braking), SKS Plastic Fenders, i-RACK with Pannier Blockers and Spring Latch with 25 kg Max Load, SKS Rookie Mini Pump, FSA Bash Guard, Plastic Chain Cover, Hebie Auto Spring Kickstand


IP56 Ingress Rating, 2.5 lb 5 Amp Energy Bus Charger from BMZ

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Brose E45

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

530 watts

Motor Torque:

90 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

37 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

17.5 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

647.5 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Estimated Max Range:

130 miles (209 km)

Display Type:

BULLS CI, Removable Backlit LCD Display


Battery Level (5 Bars), Speed, Assist Level (None, Eco, Tour, Sport), Total Distance, Trip Distance, Trip Time, Trip Calories, Max Speed, Avg. Speed, Total Time, Time of Day, Average Motor Power, Average Rider Performance

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, Lights Button, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Cadence and Torque Sensing)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 is the kind of electric bicycle I’d choose in place of a car. It can go far, it can go fast (28 mph vs. 20 mph on most electric bikes) and it’s fairly comfortable. With full length integrated fenders, a slim chain guard, twenty gears to shift through and integrated lights with a brake mode that goes extra bright anytime you pull the levers… this ebike is fully capable and safe feeling, adding to the LED lights is reflective tire paint that is visible from the sides so you are less likely to get blindsided. Given the longer distances and faster performance from this bike I think it’s important to also feel comfortable and tho that end you get name brand locking ergonomic grips from Ergon, a sturdy adjustable angle stem and a vented comfort saddle from Selle Royale. The battery pack offers 37 volts and a whopping 17.5 amp hours of capacity for extended range and I think that makes it a contender for trekking and touring rides as well as commuting. One feature that really stood out to me when testing this bike was the large display panel that communicates your leg power and the motor power with charts on either side of the dash so you can lear to ride more in sync with the bike and perhaps shift more efficiently. At $4,400 this is not the worlds cheapest electric bike but the Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, multiple size offering and two frame builds (high-step and mid-step) don’t come free. You do get a two year comprehensive warranty and BULLS is an international brand going on its second year in the USA as of 2017 with positive feedback from the consumers I’ve chatted with.

Some things I do not like as much about this bike include the kickstand, which springs back up automatically and makes the frame easier to tip accidentally. The battery can be charged on or off the bike but the rubber flap that covers the charging port on the downtube doesn’t fit into the slot very easily and might let dust and water in over time. The keyhole, where you unlock the pack, is also positioned in a sort of vulnerable spot right where the left crank arm rotates by… so it could get bent or even broken if you’re not careful. And while I love the aesthetic of this and other BULLS models, the battery pack mounts up into the downtube so getting it out requires a bit of extra care and coordination so that it doesn’t drop down and hit the ground. Note that the battery can be left on the bike without being locked on as well, this just adds one more consideration and process to forget or skip. I’m more a fan of other systems like Bosch and Yamaha that automatically lock the pack in once it’s seated. Finally, as with all current gen Brose drive systems, there is no shift sensing so you’ll want to be extra careful when riding and shifting… plan ahead so you don’t mash those gears and chain, just ease off the pedals to de-activate the torque sensor and then shift while spinning more gently.

So coming back to what works on this bike and where it would fit in terms of use. I think there are three big considerations when purchasing an electric bike for daily use and transportation. The reliability is important, the balance and handling and the fit. There are always ways to improve comfort with accessories or adjustments to the existing hardware but the Lacuba E45 already has that nailed down with the adjustable stem and range of sizes. I think I’d strongly consider the step-thru frame here vs. the more traditional “male” diamond high-step because I’d put the rack to use with a trunk bag or panniers and really hate knocking my knee on those things when swinging it over. One thing that impressed me with the frame designs was how stiff and solid they felt, even the mid-step, because of the triangular multi-tube designs. Yes, the low-step isn’t as low as some wave frames but it offers better performance. I was delighted to see that they even managed to squeeze a bottle cage in the triangle and added a second pair of bosses to the top tube! Again, excellent almost necessary additions if you want to ride long distance.

At the end of the day, I see this ebike as true transportation. You don’t have the speed limitations, the safety concerns or the quality questions that some other cheaper bikes present. It was very comfortable and built solid. Even if you did really push this thing and run out of juice before arriving at your destination, the 20 speed drivetrain ensures you could still lug this 61.5 lb bike up a hill without too much effort (though it would be slow). On the flip side, pedaling at full speed also felt comfortable and the frame handled well… no speed wobble here. The motor and battery blend in perfectly with the gray/black color scheme and keep weight super low and centered. The charger is a little larger and heavier than some others I’ve seen but it’s not the worst and you could easily toss it into a trunk bag for charging on the go. The carry rack has excellent pannier blockers on the side and is made by iRack so you can fit their branded accessories (kind of like Topeak does) or you could get something like this for $17 which has a zip-out pannier flaps and a shoulder strap for easy transport when you get off the bike… taking your gear along to keep it safe. The nice thing is, you don’t have to worry about taking the lights with you, the display is removable to reduce exposure and vandalism and the battery locks securely. It’s a great setup in my opinion. Big thanks to Bulls for partnering with me for this review.


  • Not only does the bike come in a high-step and a mid-step frame style but there are four frame sizes to choose from and all of them have two pairs of bottle cage bosses! Many times I see electric bikes that don’t have these extra mounting points and that makes accessing water or accessories less convenient
  • This e-bike would make for an excellent commuting or trekking platform because of the premium rack (with pannier guards and clasp point) and full-length fenders… not to mention integrated lights front and rear and nice bell
  • The rear light is setup to get brighter when you activate the brakes, this make you even more visible when riding in low-light conditions and specifically when changing speeds
  • Massive 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes for smooth but powerful stopping, they’re designed to reduce the effort needed to brake and stand up to heavier loads if you’re trekking and carrying a lot of gear
  • Slim, light weight chain guard keeps your pants or dress from getting greasy and dirty, the kickstand is positioned far back on the frame to stay clear of your crank arms
  • Comfortable Selle Royal saddle, slim adjustable suspension fork, ergonomic grips and adjustable angle stem help you ride longer, even the handle bar (which is raised a bit) improves comfort and control
  • In addition to the lights, which help you see and be seen, are reflective striping marks on the tires, these increase your visual footprint so cars and other cyclists notice you coming from the side
  • The Schwalbe Energizer Plus tires are designed to be puncture resistant, they feature a Kevlar lining that resists thorns, tacks, glass and other sharp objects
  • The display panel is bright, easy to read and understand and its casing is sturdy, I love that it can be completely removed from the mount for safe keeping, I also like that they included two power graphs that show you real-time how much energy you are exerting and how much the bike is spending… it might change how you ride and shift the gears and ultimately help you conserve electricity on longer rides
  • Both wheels offer quick release making service and transport easier, the battery pack also comes off the frame fairly easily and can be charged separately
  • The Lacuba EVO E45 is one of the stealthiest electric bikes I’ve seen thanks to its completely integrated battery and compact mid-drive motor… it’s also very quiet
  • I love that the bike can go above 20 mph! This is useful for commuting, keeping up with traffic and just cutting down on the time it takes
  • You get an extra large battery pack here that’s designed to make trekking and touring possible or offset the air resistance drag of riding at higher speeds
  • Excellent two year comprehensive warranty provides some peace of mind, also, BULLS has been operating in Europe and other countries for years and seems to have a good reputation for quality
  • You get 20 gears on this bike so you can really dial in how you pedal, making it comfortable and capable for climbing or riding at high speed… it’s nice having those extra gears if you ride super far and run out of battery just short of your destination because the bike does weigh 60+ lbs, most mid-drive bikes are limited to 11 gears and don’t have a front derailleur like this so that’s one big advantage of the Brose motor system
  • The short travel suspension fork and medium width tires offer a good balance of comfort to efficiency and performance but if you’re riding far and hitting bumpy rattly terrain consider a 31.6 mm seat post suspension, SR Suntour (the same people who make the fork for this bike) make a good one called the NCX here


  • If the bike hasn’t been used for a while the battery enters sleep mode and you have to press the power button on top of the pack as well as on the control pad, this confused me at first when going directly to the display pad as I thought maybe the bike needed to be charged or had an issues
  • The rubber charging cover for the battery didn’t fit easily and made me wonder if dust and water might get in over time… I like that the interface is magnetic so the plug doesn’t get bent or tip the bike if you trip over it however
  • Be sure to lock the battery to the bike as you can simply connect it without locking (many other bikes activate the lock when the battery clicks in?) also note that if the key is left in it could get bent by the left crank arm which rotates close past the keyhole
  • No shift sensing technology on this bike… considering you get 20 speeds to shift through I’d recommend being careful and learning how to ease off pressure when shifting to avoid mashing of the chain and sprockets, the motor uses torque sensing so it’s easy to pedal up to speed then back off while still rotating in order to reduce strain when shifting
  • I dislike the Hebie spring activated kickstand, yes it’s mounted in the correct place but the fact that it automatically swivels up makes the bike less stable and this thing is expensive, I don’t want it to tip and in my experience normal fixed kickstands work just fine :(
  • At roughly 2.2 lbs the battery charger is a little heavy and large, though I love that it uses the EnergyBus standard (sending data and electricity) because I believe it makes updates easier
  • Since the battery mounts up into the downtube vs. sitting on top of it I found that you have to use more care when removing it (so that it doesn’t just drop out and hit the ground)


More BULLS Reviews

BULLS Cross Mover Speed Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A sporty speed pedelec with beautiful motor, battery, and able integration, the grey and black color scheme help the drive systems blend in, three frame styles to choose from (wave, step-thru, diamond). Bosch Performance Line Speed motor offers ~28 mph support, shift detection, and 120 RPM pedal…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO AM 4 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A high-end, full suspension, electric mountain bike, with the high-torque Brose S mid-motor, and a high-capacity 37 volt 17.5 amp hour Lithium-ion battery, excellent weight distribution with hidden drive systems. Rugged all-mountain performance with 150 mm RockShox air suspension front and rear, 15 mm and…...

BULLS Urban EVO Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

One of the stealthiest 28 mph urban electric bikes I have seen, the Bosch Powertube battery pack is completely hidden inside the downtube and the compact black motor casing blends perfectly with the matte black paint job. The mid-motor is angled up to blend into downtube visually, increase ground clearance, and shorten…...


  • MSRP: $7,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A top-end all mountain electric bike with 150 mm suspension from Fox, Shimano Deore XTR 11-speed drivetrain, Bosch CX high-torque motor, and Magura MT Trail hydraulic disc brakes. Wider Boost hub spacing offers a strong bracing angle for the spokes and room for…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E45S Review

  • MSRP: $3,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A high-speed 28 mph commuter style electric bike that comes in four frame sizes and three styles (high-step, mid-step, and step-thru), it offers excellent weight distribution (motor and battery are positioned low and center). Beautiful aesthetic with hidden wires, an internally mounted battery, and a smaller motor casing, the…...

BULLS E-Core Di2 FS 27.5+ Review

  • MSRP: $5,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A full suspension electric trail or enduro mountain bike with 150 mm travel, large 2.8" plus sized tires, and Boost hub spacing for strength, made in three frame sizes. All-black frame, fork, and anodized RockShox stanchions makes for a mean look, Shimano STePs E8000…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

One of the most popular models in the Bulls ebike lineup, it comes in four frame sizes and three styles (high-step diamond, mid-step, and step-thru wave), motor and battery weight are low and center. Extremely stealthy, the drive system and battery are almost completely hidden on this frame and…...

BULLS Monster E FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

Top of the line, full suspension, fat tire electric trail bike with RockShock Bluto and Monarch air, remote lockout for the fork, 11-speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain with Shadow Plus clutch, robust skid plate and alloy drivetrain guides. High-torque Bosch Performance Line CX motor with eMTB drive mode, sand and snow capable if…...


  • MSRP: $5,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An all-mountain style electric bike with longer travel 150 mm air suspension from RockShox, an internalized downtube battery from Bosch, and three frame size options. Fatter 2.8" plus sized tires provide increased traction, reduced deflection, and improved comfort while remaining…...

BULLS Cruiser E Review

  • MSRP: $3,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A feature-complete cruiser style electric bicycle with paint-matched fork, fenders, rear rack, chain cover, and motor casing, available in three frame sizes with adjustable stem for good fit. Large sprung saddle, puffy stitched grips, swept back handlebars, and the deep step-thru frame make…...

BULLS Aminga TR 1 Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A full suspension, cross country style, electric mountain bike made just for the ladies with shorter reach, available in two smaller size options, features a turquoise fuchsia colorway. Sturdy Suntour XCR 34 air suspension fork with remote lockout for easy transitions from rough…...


  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A tough, sporty looking, high-quality, kids electric bike that can reach ~15.5 mph with four levels of pedal assist, smaller wheels keep the frame low and approachable. Premium accessories including tires from Schwalbe, a Shimano Altus 8-speed drivetrain, and Tektro hydraulic disc…...

BULLS Cross E Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Well priced considering the quality Bosch-made electric drive system, four frame size choices, and three frame styles (high, mid, and low-step). Integrated LED lights and premium Continental tires with reflective sidewall stripes help to keep you…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 2 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

One of the cleanest looking full suspension cross country electric bikes I've reviewed, the battery and motor are built into the frame and match the matte black paint perfectly. Extra large battery capacity for longer rides, EnergyBus magnetic charging standard works on or off…...

BULLS SIX50 E 1.5 Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A hardtail trail ready e-bike with comfortable plus sized tires and a spring suspension fork (with lockout), sturdy tapered head tube, rigid thru-axles, and Boost. Capable as a commuting platform if you prefer a mountain bike vs. hybrid or city…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

An active, sporty looking, commuter style electric bike with low standover height, available in three frame sizes to improve fit and comfort. High-end drivetrain and motor systems, you get eleven gears with a tough mountain bike level…...

BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

An all-mountain electric bike with plus sized tires for improved stability, traction and comfort, 150 mm air suspension with compression and rebound adjust. Battery and motor mount design are tighter than older Bosch systems, weight is kept low…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A high quality full suspension e-mountain bike that's also a speed pedelec (capable of 28 mph top speeds), solid hydraulic disc brakes, wide thru-axles with Boost Technology. Adjustable 150 mm RockShox suspension front and rear, four-bar rear swing arm to reduce brake…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 3 Carbon 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A Carbon fiber electric cross country mountain bike with premium components and ultra-integrated motor and battery system, excellent weight distribution. The Brose motor is quiet and responsive offering up to 90 Nm of torque output,…...

BULLS DAIL-E Grinder Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

One of the first Gravel Grinder style electric bikes to make it to America! Made with premium components, high performance lights and a purpose built frame in three sizes. Capable of high speed 28 mph performance, the Bosch centerdrive motor measures bike speed, pedal…...

BULLS SIX50 E2 Street Review

  • MSRP: $3,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A fully equipped speed commuter capable of 28 mph operation, running on the proven Bosch Performance mid-drive motor and updated 500 watt hour Samsung battery. Extra large 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes offer smooth solid stops without requiring exorbitant hand…...

2017 BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A versatile urban electric bike well suited to commuting, touring and trekking because of its efficient mid-drive motor and larger than average battery capacity, durable internal gearing and belt drive. Available in five frame sizes and three frame styles including wave, mid-step and high-step diamond…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A stealthy full suspension all-mountain electric bike with longer travel 150 mm suspension, fully adjustable air fork by RockShox, color matched to frame. Larger 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack to assist with steeper climbs and longer…...

2017 BULLS Monster E FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Full suspension fat bike with a high quality mid-drive motor from Bosch and their updated 500 watt hour battery pack for extended range. Cool fluorescent paint job that extends all the way through the fork, rear shock housing,…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all-mountain electric bike with beautifully integrated battery, motor and display... it blends in more than most other e-mountain bikes I've tested and runs quiet. Sturdy 15 mm thru axle in the front and 12 mm axle in the rear…...


  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A loaded full suspension mountain bike with premium electric drivetrain from Bosch offering 75 Nm of climbing torque with the CX motor and a 400 watt hour Samsung battery. RockShox air suspension with 120 mm travel front and rear for solid trail or all…...

BULLS Monster E S Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

Premium hardtail electric fat bike with all the fixins, highlights include rear rack bosses, tubeless-ready tires and punched out rims, RockShox air fork with remote lockout and high torque Bosch CX motor. Quality 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano for excellent stopping power and modulation, impressive…...

BULLS Outlaw E45 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty looking, fairly comfortable speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speeds, it's running on an optimized geared hub motor design with heat pipe technology for maximum performance. Unique mid-mount battery box fills the main frame triangle keeping weight low and centered while…...

BULLS Sturmvogel E EVO Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautifully designed urban electric bike painted white for visibility and modern appeal, white walled tires, reflective sidewall stripes, LED lights. Extra sturdy and durable thanks to a 15 mm thru-axle on the front wheel (with…...


  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension, Bosch powered, cross country style electric bike with efficient 29" wheels, it's available in three sizes for good fit and would feel taller and larger for riders with long legs but still fits some shorter riders given the angled top tube. Quick release for both wheels ads convenience for fixes and transporting the bike, I love…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fully loaded urban electric bicycle with great accessories for commuting including an aluminum rear rack, full length fenders with mud flaps and integrated LED lights. Relatively light weight at under 50 lbs, this is due in part to the nicer…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS Enduro 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An enduro style full suspension electric mountain bike with longer 160 mm suspension travel, seat post dropper, 27.5" wheelset and premium hydraulic brakes. Downtube-integrated battery pack is out of sight and keeps weight low and centered across the…...

9 months ago

Bulls, I bought this bike and it arrives this week. I’m a bit peeved that the bike doesn’t come stock with an IGH. Now I have to buy a rim an IGH and have it laced up, expensive and a pain. Why not offer a service called myBull? Which allows a user to customize their bike?

9 months ago

Hmm, that’s a cool idea, kind of like what Dell did with PC Computers years ago. I think there’s a long wait time between manufacturing and shipping from Asia and Europe before the bikes could be delivered as specced but maybe in the future we will see more manufacturing in North America and customization like this could make sense, I’d love that kind of service! I hope you enjoy your bike and welcome your comments once you’ve had a chance to use it some ;)

9 months ago

I received my new e45 and have about 90 miles on it so far. As an update to the article, there is now a new firmware on the Bulls bike, and from what my dealer said, every Bulls bike gets it. It now has 5 power modes, off + 1-4 levels of assist. I mostly ride the bike in level 3 and it ranges from 9-10 miles per battery bar (5 bars total). I have done several 20 mile round trips using 2 bars of battery. I’m averaging about 20 miles per hour. As Court states in the review, you have to work for 28mph, but staying in the 22-24mph range is pretty easy. I have noticed a decrease in power at temperatures over 100 degrees outside (may be protection sensors). If you want to buzz around fast in the mid 20’s at level 3 of 4 assist, you can expect about 45-50 miles of real range.

One bummer is that the Specialized Levo chargers do not work on the Bulls bike, seems kind of silly to me. They are probably all made in China at the same factory. This bike comes with a whopping 5amp charger!

Final verdict, I think this bike is the best commuter bike on the market. The serious contenders are the Giant (loud motor) and the Integrale 11 (noisy and creaky). I have rode all 3 and the Lacuba wins, hands down. The brakes, quiet ride, and the capacity put it over the top. I can’t overstate how nice it is to have 203mm (8 inch) rotors when you are in a jam at 28mph. I bought mine at Great Western Ebike.

9 months ago

Awesome comment, thanks for sharing your experience with the Lacuba and other models… it’s great to hear from an owner and yeah, it’s too bad that the charger doesn’t work with the Turbo. I think the bigger ebike companies are being super careful so that their batteries don’t have any issues (like the Samsung phones did). It sounds like you’re quite the ebike connoisseur given that you also have a Turbo Levo?!

9 months ago

I have too many ebikes…but the Levo FSR Comp is my favorite. My only complaints on the Levo’s are the crappy brakes and no initial option on the battery upgrade. I do a lot of long, steep descents and the stock brakes are just junk. I eventually switched them out for Shimano Zee’s. The bad brakes are the reason I passed on the Vado for my commuter, which comes stock with 180/160mm. So in addition to paying nearly a grand more for the Vado, I would have to pay another $500 for decent brakes.

Way to go Bulls on putting some really nice stock components on the Lacuba. In fact, I was initially bummed about the lack of IGH, but the XTs have shifted pretty smoothly. We’ll see after 1,000 miles though. The Lacuba is soo smooth, feels like a BMW 7 series or something. btw, I went with your suggestion on the XCR suspension seat, I like it, thank you!

9 months ago

I did a leisure ride today of 28 miles averaging 16mph. I was able to get 18.1 miles per 1 battery bar on level 2 of 4 assist, that puts the range at about 85-90 miles in level 2. After the 28 mile ride, I still had 4 bars remaining.

Here’s my guess on range at this point, based on my rides:

  • Level 3 = 45-50 miles at 20mph
  • Level 2 = 85-90 miles at 16mph

I’m super impressed with the battery and motor efficiency. I’ll post some high-speed numbers in the next week or so.

9 months ago

This is very useful, thanks for sharing your experience with the bike since you’ve had a chance to really use it. There may be a drop over time but you should get 1,000+ solid cycles of high output before the Lithium-ion batteries begin to fade.

9 months ago

I bought the Lacuba Evo E45 a few months ago, partly because of your review. I LOVE this bike! It’s smooth, quiet, powerful, has good range, and I love all the touches. The lights, the brake light, the rack, the fenders, the shifters, the bell, the display the water bottle bosses…. all of it adds up to greatness. The brakes work. What I mean by that is, I’m not really into what size they are, or how they’re mechanized, I only care about the result, and the result is perfect. I weighed 270 pounds when I bought the bike, and have panniers on it, so it’s well over 300 pounds total, and it stops easily and smoothly, without me thinking about it other than to put on the brake.

Also, I have a Giant LA Free (very old, I know) and it also has the motor in the bottom bracket. It CAN be ridden without motor assist, but it tires me out in about 2 blocks. Functionally, it doesn’t really work. The E45, however, rides amazingly well for such a big and heavy bike. I actually have repeatedly ridden several blocks before I remember to turn on the assist. Admittedly it’s a slight downhill slope coming out of my home, but the bike can truly be ridden without assist.

I keep the bike on level 3 assist all the time (when I remember) and it probably does only have 50-60 mile range going above 20MPH most of the time with a 260lb rider, but that’s still pretty impressive. The integration of power is so smooth, it makes me literally smile. The LaFree used to surge when you applied torque. It was fun to feel, but I’d subjectively describe the way this bike rides differently. You can tell the bike is helping, particularly when you change assist levels, but if you just leave it, and don’t think about it, the feeling you get is just that you’re riding a bike, and you’re just stronger and faster and have more endurance than you thought. It’s so seamless, you can forget it’s helping. Don’t think that means it’s not helping or underpowered because nothing’s further from the truth. It’s just perfectly matched to you so it amplifies what you do.

My only complaint has already been noted – saying it’s a 28MPH top speed is technically true, but you have to seriously work to get there. If you think you’re going to commute at 28MPH, forget it. I’m not sure whether the motor doesn’t have the power, or if the firmware just drops it’s assist, but anything above 25 is mostly the rider, even at the highest assist. That said, I can pretty easily sustain speeds between 20 and 25 on level ground.

It’s expensive. Once you get past that, it’s close to perfect.

9 months ago

Hey Greg! I loved reading your comment, so glad you found my review helpful and thank you for giving back and sharing your weight and ride experiences… that seriously helps others and that’s what EBR is all about! Ride safe out there man :D

9 months ago

Greg, did you get the new firmware update? The new firmware has 4 Assist levels. Mine came with the new firmware, but mine is only a week old.

8 months ago

I bought the bike online, since the closest Bulls dealer is an hour away, and I can’t transport the bike anyway. I contacted Bulls about the upgrade, as well as the closest dealer, but neither has responded to me (it’s been a week). I’ll try again. I want the upgrade, but I’m worried it’ll be tough to get it, after reading other people’s comments.

9 months ago

Hi Court, I am confused. A lot of websites (mainly in USA) claim that this bike has a Brose 350W motor. But most European websites write it has a Brose 250W motor. Also the official Bulls website.

Today I did a test ride at a bike shop here in Belgium with an Bulls E-STREAM EVO 45 FS. The reason I did the test ride with this bike is that the shop owner told me it has the same build (motor, …) as the Lacuba Evo E45, but just an other frame and tires. I asked him if he knew how much the motor power was. He claimed it had 350W.

Do you know more? I am planning to by the Lacuba for commuting and selling my car but I like to be sure of all the specs this bike has. And if it would be a 250W motor, wouldn’t that be to low for a 45km/h bike, meaning also that I have to work harder to drive at higher speeds compared to a 350W? Sorry for all these questions.

BTW, nice reviews of all these ebikes. Keep up the good work. They explain a lot. Best regards, Gert

9 months ago

Great question Gert! It’s confusing for me too sometimes… There’s the reality (Bosch and Brose hardware is the same regardless of country) and the marketing (Europe says 250 watts to be legal there and the US says 350 because people want more power). The truth as I understand it is that the motors offer 90 Nm of torque and that, along with the smoothness and responsiveness of the controller, is what makes it a good system. You have to shift gears to hit the top speed but with that torque, the nominal wattage is not an issue… most of these motors peak above 500 watts (the Bosch CX above 600 watts) but they don’t focus on that as much for legal reasons. They don’t want people like you to feel confused but they do also want to seem competitive against these hub motors that say 1,000 watts (which is illegal but not really enforced unless there’s an accident). I would say, don’t worry about the watts. Look at the rated top speed, think about how it rode, assume it’s the same (especially since this is the speed pedelec so not tuned down to 25 km/h (15.5 mph) for Euro standards. Does this help? I’m happy to clarify or answer more questions :)

8 months ago

Thanks, Court, for the very fast reply. You definitely helped me out here. Things are more clear on wattage and peaks values and so. Still, I am a bit unsure about the 250W Brose motor because it seemed to have had some overheating issues in the past on these speed pedelecs. Maybe Brose wanted to jump on the train too fast with these speed pedelecs, not having developed a 350W motor yet. In 2018, they will have 3 new motors coming out. Here in Belgium a 350W motor is legal for a speed pedelec. Yesterday, I also contacted Bulls via FB with the question how powerful the motor was. They answered it was a 250W motor.

Today I did a test drive with a Stromer ST1 (500W hub motor). I could definitely feel the difference. The Stromer was much easier to keep the +40 km/h range. But what I don’t like is the seating position on the Stromer. The Lacuba is more my way of riding, ie more upright. Well, my search continues. Thank you very much for your help. Gert

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

2 days ago

I have Chesters on my Bulls and Wah Wah IIs on my Haibike, and prefer the Wah Wahs on trails.

I also use crank boots, but the Wah Wah's won't work with them.

2 days ago

Nice with some fellow swedes here! The ebike sales in Sweden has really increased alot since the government subsidy was introduced.

I would check out pro-e-bike.se on the site https://www.allabolag.se/5562402015/heat-engineering-technology-europe-ab before deciding to buy from them. The economic numbers doesnt look that good.

Have you got any response from Sunstorm? I might stop by their shop (Batteridoktorn) and check it out.

Nova Haibike
2 days ago

Of the four you listed, I would not recommend the Cannondale, because of the proprietary fork. While their Headshok is pretty reliable and easy to work on, it is still proprietary. Also, it is an ugly bike. LOL. The R&M is more expensive relative to the other two. The Bulls is the best value; it is the only one with an air fork.

A couple of other bikes that look good to me are the Moustache Friday 27 Speed and the Trek Crossrip+. I like the Moustache for its bulletproof wheels. It is a rigid bike, but to me that is a plus; it is lighter and there is no suspension to service...the tires will offer plenty of cush on their own. I like the Trek because (for me) there is nothing more comfortable for longer rides than a good set of drop bars.

Ravi Kempaiah
2 days ago

2 days ago

Hi Everyone!

Thank you, in advance, for reading this through and providing any insight or advice!

About 4 years ago, frustrated with the rising cost of public transportation, I decided to eliminate my dependence on it as much as possible and purchased a bike. It's a folder; Tern P24h and I've loved it. It's a workhorse and has taken all the that abuse I, and nature, could through at it. It also manages our many hills like a champ.

My ride is about 12 miles round trip. I use one form of public trans to get me in the City. It's a regretful compromise and also the reason I have a folder.

Lately I've been thinking about getting an upgraded ride for my commute and discovered the cost of a higher-end folder is close to that of an e-bike! Why pay for folding, when I could pay for power? :)

And this brings us to one of the main reasons I'd like to go electric: to exchange my current route for a picturesque, pub-trans-free route which goes up and down the Hudson River (for those who know the area). It's a 40 mile round-trip journey. I have taken this route with my folder and found that life keeps getting in the way of being able to build the endurance needed to make this a typical weekday commute.

Other reasons include just being able to take longer trips, pick up more groceries, visit friends with ease...normal stuff that probably most of us here want to do.

My budget is about $5k.

I've tried the Bosch CX, Performance, and Active line. I like Performance the best (if that's the one that reaches 28 mph).

These are four bikes I'm considering and I'd love your opinion about them, and am open to suggestions if you have a better option:

[*]Cannondale Contro-E 2017
[*]Bulls Urban Evo 2018
[*]Kalkhoff Endeavour Advance B10 Speed
[*]Riese & Muller Roadster HS

The main issue that concerns me is durability. I could put 10,000 miles on the bike in a year, in all kinds of weather and in all temperatures. Will these engines last? Which bikes are the easiest to maintain? Which need it the least?

Thank you for reading this and for offering any experiences and/or advice you have. I really appreciate it! :)

3 days ago

"...still some models"
XM700 is listed on Trek website as 2018 ; has it been discontinued ?
I think new model line up is announced late summer ?
I'd like to see the XM700 develop into something similar to the Bulls Urban EVO ; 500 Wh battery , 700c x50 tires , Suntour fork .

4 days ago

The Swedish Bike Show in Stockholm this weekend wasnt much to write home about.

It was the big swedish retailers showing off their bikes and only some ebikes from standard brands like Scott, Merida, ecoRide, Wallerang, Crescent, Monark etc.

No smaller retailer with any for me more exciting and interesting brands where there like Bulls, R&M, Haibike, Stromer, Cube or Moustache.

I will go to Elovelo (ebike store in Stockholm) this week and test ride and compare R&M and Moustache.

The search continues!

4 days ago

Hello fellow Swedes!
So im in the same position as you are. Been researching for over a year now.
Me and my spouse have moved from the city to the more rural forests of Närke and we want to go more sustainable.
To replace the diselvan as much as possible is our goal.

I've been reading everything and watched so many reviews from different manufacturers and i can't really decide.

So this Saturday we went and bought a rawbike from "blocket" for 12k SEK. It's a class II moped, 750w, 48v 15.4 Ah. 25km/h topspeed but i unlocked it to 35km/h. It's for my spouse so she can go to the bus and home.
We have a hill that is 3.5km long and has an elevation of 150m. I have to take that one home after working 12h nightshift.

For myself i cant decide what to buy. I'd like an electric ATV but there is only kidsized ones available.

The models i have researched so far:
Haibike trekking 7.5 or 4.0 (dual battery)
R&M - all of them, but supercomuter with 2x500w is the one i think.
Bulls Evo street http://www.pro-e-bike.se/sv/elcyklar-emtb-ebike/marken/bulls-six50-evo-street.html
Scott Sub Tour 10
Butcher and bicycles cargobike

Radrhino fatbike 750w - the Eu model is not updated with the larger battery yet according to their website.

My requirements are Bosch CX and 500wh battery. I'd like a dual battery setup since i have 25km to the city and i want to make sure i can go home at max assist and speed if i need.
And yes i will buy a dongle for it if i get one.

I think there is not much that differs between these models. Motor and battery is key. The rest i "meh".

But then there is the Super soco moped with 2kw and 29Ah battery for 32k SEK with option for another battery.
With the new EU rules there is the speed bikes too. Elcykelguiden.se had an article about it and they mentioned this site:

2kw, 60v 18Ah and topspeed 60km/h for 23k and possible less if you are chosen as a testpilot. I sent an email yesterday.
I like fatbikes and have an Kona Wozo fatbike as my current MTB.

E-Bike or Moped or something in between... That is the question.

5 days ago

Have a 2016 FullSeven Xduro RC and it came with Rock Shox 120mm travel Recon solo air forks. They were OK, but nothing like the Pikes on my Bulls. Also liked the slacker 66 degree head angle on the Bulls as apposed to the 69 degrees on the RC. I found a great deal on a new 160mm travel Lyrik but wondered if installing the longer travel forks on the 120mm travel frame would mess up the geometry. Turns out it totally improved the handling far more than even hoped! Don't notice the higher BB (maybe 20mm), but it gave me about 1 degree slacker head angle and just makes the bike so much better for the rocky terrain I ride. Before the upgrade I preferred my Brose powered Bulls, but now with the new fork and the e-Mtb mode software upgrade it's a total toss up!

I'm wondering if the geometry of this series of Haibike frames are pretty much the same. A buddy has the same year Sduro AMT with 150mm front and rear suspension and it has a 68 head angle which is the same as I now have.

5 days ago

"What’s that!?!?!? It’s a mountain bike! It’s a commuter bike! It’s the Six50 E TR STREET." (From Bulls website)

Ravi Kempaiah
6 days ago


This can certainly do light off road given the 120mm travel.

1 week ago

i been looking hard at Rad products. i like the way they answer questions. I did ride an older model rad city and it was soooo nice. I also rode a BULLS EVO and that was really nice... different ride all together. I am checking used bikes now and shops that sell used. I think for noobs an accessible repair guy is key. I'm prolly going with the rad mini but its hard too make up my mind... i think carr--less folks with e-bikes are the new badass's in town

6 months ago

Hi. I just joined the forum. I have been used this site extensively to research e-bikes. What a fantastic resource...., kudos and thanks to Court Rye. I'm an avid mountain biker and casual road-biker. My limited road biking is on cross bike which I use mainly for training when I cant get onto the trails. We also have a pair of 14 year old MTB/Cruiser hybrids which have served us well although they are now on their last legs.

My wife and I have just sprung for a pair of BULLS Lacuba EVO E45's after watching and reading many dozens of reviews and taking two short-listed bikes for a test-ride. We plan to use these new steeds for transportation (we both work from home so no to-work commuting) and touring. We are excited at the prospect of owning e-bikes and all the benefits they will provide.

Mark Peralta
7 months ago

I feel your pain. I wonder if the wobble you are describing is the same as in the video at 21:39.

If that's the case, then your ebike does not have enough torsional rigidity to handle the payload. The LACUBA EVO E8 WAVE only has the down tube attached to the seat tube, and has no top tube that enhances the strength and rigidity. I suggest you try to ride the high step version or the BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 which has similar frame but with the top tube, and then see if you can still duplicate the problem. Either way, I think you should exchange your ebike since it is not safe for you.

Here is educational video on speed wobble.

Ravi Kempaiah
7 months ago

Pleasure is mine!
Many people have been very kind to me and have helped immensely. I am happy to help in anyway I can.
Trek FX+ is a pretty old model and the tech has moved on quite a bit. The latest bikes are in a league of its own.
I live close to the UIC campus. Let me know if you want to try out my ST2 or Trekking S Rx or both for a day or two and see if it suits your commute.
Whatever you choose, I am pretty certain that these new crop of ebikes will re-ignite your passion for biking.

7 months ago

Wow!!!! Thank you for the prompt reply and all the information! I was really impressed by Court's video of the Specialized Turbo Vado 6.0 and thought it would be the one . . . for some reason, I keep coming back to the Stromer ST2. I don't foresee myself doing century rides with it but it would be nice for commuting (@5am) as well as running errands/shopping. The Haibikes (Trekking S Rx and the SDURO Trekking 5) look like great options. The Bulls LACUBA EVO E45 intrigues me even more than the Dail-E Grinder; as for lighting, I have the DesignShine DS-500 tail light and DS-1300 headlight ( http://store.designshinelighting.com ) - phenomenal lighting!

I really appreciate your genuine passion for e-bikes and sharing your knowledge with others to be a better consumer. I'd like to bend your ear some more but I'd be happy to repay you with your favorite beverage (coffee/beer - whatever your drink of choice is!) or meal.

I'm hesitant to try another Trek e-bike since my Trek FX+ was a disappointment. It did get me back into bicycling after a +15 yr hiatus, putting in 3500mi/yr commuting and casual biking. I have lost interest the past few years and hope that this next step will re-ignite the passion. I still plan to ride my Domane 5.9 and I also have a Madone 4.7 that spends most of it's life attached to a Wahoo Kickr Snap or on my Kreitler rollers.

Thanks again for all you do! I look forward to hearing more from you . . .

9 months ago

checkout the Bulls Lacuba evo e45. It's got plenty of hill climbing power and the same motor as the Vado. I live on a steep hill and can maintain 15mph.
You also get real brakes on the Bulls, rather than the 180/160's on the Vado. The e45 comes with 8" rotors. Last, the battery is bigger on the e45.

9 months ago

Neither, get the Bulls Lacuba evo e45. It has better specs than the Stromer and Vado. I prefer the e45 over the Giant and the Integrale 11 too.
Call Brent at Great Western Ebikes, if you go in the store, he will work you a deal. btw, I own a Levo and an e45, so I have a dog in both fights. The e45 rides like a dream.

9 months ago

Thanks Stephen, I will check them out!

@xpaulx You are right, I have a few bikes on my list. I have been looking at Stromer ST2, Bulls Lacuba EVO E45, and Trek Super Commuter.

That said, I have also been looking at just not buying at all and replacing my car with an Uber strategy. That also saves a lot of money, just not nearly as much as this would; that and I wouldn't get the health benefits of riding a bike. I feel like with any of these bikes there is a major element missing that will irk me, and that the industry just needs a little more time for someone to get it all into one bike.

For example, if I buy the Stromer ST2, I get a motor with half the torque and then still have to aftermarket the fork. If I get the Lacuba E45 I have to live with that kick stand, ugly display unit, and a non air shock. The Trek Super Commuter is just... I dunno. It has the motor and lights, but it feels way overpriced for what you get. Neither the Bulls or the Trek have anti-theft features.

If I had to say which one I lean to the most, it's the Lacuba E45. Seems fairly comprehensive. I guess I could always rely on Kryptonite's New York Chain anti-theft insurance?

This was kind of a last ditch effort to see if anyone knew of some obscure high-priced brand, that doesn't advertise a lot, which has all these features.

1 year ago

I'm not asking for a one for all solution .
There is a section on EBR called categories , ie , City Style , Cargo , 28MPH , ect ...
I'm saying I'd like to see a Car Alternative section .
EBR reviewer Court , mentioned in his review of the Bulls LACUBA 45 , that he thought it was a good car replacement .
I'm simply curious what other eBikes in general forum members thought fit the category .

Actually the reviews first sentence is "The BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 is the kind of electric bicycle I’d choose in place of a car. "

Peter Polling
1 year ago

Interesting! I am Dutch, so I use the metric system.
I make 55 km with my Bulls Lacuba EVO E45. 648 Wh, and I use mostly mid-level (2 of 3) support.
My weight: 95 kg. Bike: 28 kg. Holland, so very flat surface. Temp: around 0 Celsius.

Curtis Paddock
1 year ago

Thanks Ravi, I have been zeroing in on the evo 45 for my first ebike/car replacement. I love that it has every feature I would want in a ready-to-ride package. Probably will add a Body Float and still stay under 5K. Moving to San Diego in 30 days and can't wait to test drive one. Alooooha!

Ravi Kempaiah
2 years ago

BULLS is introducing Lacuba EVO E45 this year in the US market. This is one of top end commuter offerings from them along with a host of other Bosch Pedelec/S-pedelecs.

I have been anticipating this bike for sometime and quite excited about it. Brose system is one of the smoothest and this bike comes with the new speed engine. Their pedelec version runs on 250W motor but this one is 350W, speed engine. Perfect for anyone who likes to pedal.


Attention to details and top of the line components make it a top contender for anyone looking for a well-balanced S-pedelec commuter.

I will highlight what I like in this bike.
[*]Quality components. Shimano XT shifters, derailleurs, both front and rear hubs are Shimano XT. Tektro Dorado hydraulic brakes with 203 mm !! rotors. Well, that's an overkill for commuting but why not?!

[*]B & M brake light + a decent headlight but they run off of the main battery. Ergon GP1 grips, adjustable stem and upright riding position. Reminds me of OHM bikes' geometry.

[*]36V, 17.5Ah BMZ pack with 4A charger. Much better than 400Whr offered by Bosch. But because it runs at 36V, expect some voltage sag. This drive is perfect for stop and go traffic. Range ~ 45-50 miles.

[*]Of course, the water bottle cage! Kickstand, mirror. E-bike specific tires for extra puncture protection. Overall a fully featured commuter.

Now, what looks good on paper may not always translate to real world performance. But, this bike has the same engine that you would find on Specialized Turbo Vado. Why would Specialized engineers pick that engine if they were not convinced of its performance?

Finally, price point! I think the MSRP is ~ $4500. You may spend $700 on a bike and call it a complete waste of money or spend $5000 and think it's a great value. Totally depends on the use and for commuters, this bike would be a great choice.

2 years ago

For those who are going, can you check out the Bulls Lacuba Evo e45? The specs online seem awesome, and would love to hear any reviews about the model while you are there! I appreciate it very much!

Freddie von Stange
9 months ago

Great job! Very well spoken, great angles, and very informative! I'm very impressed, this was done so professionally! Thanks!

11 months ago

Thank you, Court, for this most excellent video! Because of this review, I bought me a Lacub-R-a (lol) step-thru version from San Diego Fly Rides.

The Brose motor is really powerful and yet quiet, which was what I was looking for.

Most of the time on flats, I don't use the motor. When going against the wind on flats, I use Level 1 assist, sometimes. When climbing decently steep hills, I will go to Level 2. So far, I haven't found a need for Level 3.

The one thing that I wish Bulls would offer is a dummy battery door so that the electrical contacts aren't exposed when I leave the bike outside, say on the balcony of our apartment.

You weren't kidding when you said that this bike is HEAVY! I wish someone out there would develop a motorized bike rack so that I don't have to lift it onto the mounts of a Yakima or Thule.

10 months ago

Went on a ride yesterday and nearly psyched myself out: There was a sign that said, "12% Grade." I was going to turn around and go another route, but instead I decided to go for it. Yep, even at Level 2 assist I was able to climb it with no problems!

At various points, people were working outside on their yards and didn't even look at me like I was on a motorized bicycle. The Brose motor really is quiet.

In my rides so far, I still haven't found a use for Level 3 yet.

jeremy scarsone
1 year ago

Love your videos court! I just purchased this bike from Chris @propel. I can't wait to get it. Did you notice on the display in your review while you were thumbing through the modes it said the top speed was 84 mph. I wonder what's up with that, anyway thanks for the great reviews and keep them coming!!

lomaanu liya
1 year ago

nice videos bro and very good work and those bell sounds are osum....keep going..

Bernd Hachmeister
1 year ago

Hi. I love your reviews! FYI the automatic kickstand is a must have criteria by law for speed pedelecs - at least in Germany. Similar to motorbikes. It is to prevent you from crashing when driving a curve with the kickstand down. But they are a kind of bommer IMHO too.

Tommi Honkonen
1 year ago

Feminists triggered because you referred to the cyclist as man :D Even tho you corrected afterwards.

George Herman
1 year ago

How many people in these days can afford to buy a bike that cost almost 5 grand. I mean "really". Ridiculousness. Can buy a Honda PCX 150 that costs 2 grand less and gets 100 miles per gallon and goes up 65 mph. Makes no sense to even consider this.

George Herman
1 year ago

Good for you. Carry on.

jeremy scarsone
1 year ago

George Herman I just ordered one. Loved my rad rover so much I wanted to upgrade to something smoother and with more battery capacity

Claudia Moran
1 year ago

George Herman Someone with a steady job, who saves money for what they want can get anything they set their mind to. Besides, at least the bike benefits you with health, there is no price for that.

David Macdonald
1 year ago

nice to see a brake light

Flo Mo
1 year ago

Are not all your tested ebikes your favorites? :) You always say it. But I understand you. Many ebikes are great like this BULLS.

1 year ago

at wallmart the best mens mountian bike costs 170 and it only has disk brakes in the front--you think they would offer something better

Fernando H. Dutra
1 year ago

Man ! Thank you for all the reviews. Im from brazil, and i always watch your videos. Can i give a suggestion ? Is more like a favor to me hehehe
Could you try the WIND SENSES ( is a brazilian pedelec bike ).
Also i saw your revier from vela, i learned a lot.
Anyway great job, and thank you for doing it.

scorpin king
1 year ago

you have a lot of e bikes but in my city there is no e bikes at all and if I buy it from the internet it will take a lot of money but I so huppy to see that tecnology and you do great becuase I am arabic person and watching you keep contiue

Chauncey Smith
1 year ago

great review.

Chauncey Smith
1 year ago

ElectricBikeReview.com looks like it .

1 year ago

Thanks Chauncey! This is one of my favorite ebikes so far for 2017 :)

Julia M
1 year ago

How Much is it? What is the warranty, who makes the the battery and what is replacement cost?

1 year ago

Great questions! all of them are answered in the writeup which I link at the top of every video description: https://electricbikereview.com/bulls/lacuba-evo-e45/

1 year ago

a sweet commuter ebike, beautiful one, only downside is the 350w

Mike B
1 year ago

Good motors(systems) use nominal (normal) wattage in listing their motors.
Cheaper stuff uses the MAXIMUM wattage rating that motor can support for short times.
That 350w nominal is likely 500-600 max.
This ain't bafang. ;)

1 year ago

mid drive produce more power than rear drive motors. this Brose motor is Quiet 350W with 90Nm of torque is claimed the most advanced ebike system in the world.

1 year ago


1 year ago

Thanks Frank! Had a great time with this... it feels like they did EVERYTHING with this bike :P