BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 Review

Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Electric Bike Review
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Shimano Xt Dront Derailleur 44 30t Plastic Chain Guard
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Integrated Bmz Battery 37 Volt 17 5 Amp Hours
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Ci Backlit Display Panel Removable
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Ergon Gc1 Locking Grips And Bell
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 10 Sprocket Shimano Deore Xt
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Integrated Toplight Line E Responding Brake Light
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Sr Suntour Cts 2 Suspension Fork
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Tektro Dorado Hydraulic Disc Brakes 203 Mm
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Ebike High Step
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Electric Bike Review
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Shimano Xt Dront Derailleur 44 30t Plastic Chain Guard
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Integrated Bmz Battery 37 Volt 17 5 Amp Hours
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Ci Backlit Display Panel Removable
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Ergon Gc1 Locking Grips And Bell
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 10 Sprocket Shimano Deore Xt
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Integrated Toplight Line E Responding Brake Light
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Sr Suntour Cts 2 Suspension Fork
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Tektro Dorado Hydraulic Disc Brakes 203 Mm
Bulls Lacuba Evo E45 Ebike High Step

Summary

  • Available in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step and mid-step) with an adjustable stem, active-comfort saddle and ergonomic grips, this bike can fit well and feel good at speed and over long distances
  • Capable of 28 mph top speeds, this is a Class 3 electric bike with an extra large 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack so you can commute, go touring or trekking... upgraded display panel with realtime power feedback
  • A long list of high quality accessories and components including fenders, rear rack, integrated lights, smooth powerful 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes and a 20 speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore XT derailleurs
  • This bike costs more and weighs a bit more due to all of the extras and larger battery, the keyhole for unlocking the pack is dangerously close to the left crank and the battery cap doesn't fit quite right

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

BULLS

Model:

Lacuba EVO E45

Price:

$4,399

Body Position:

Upright, Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Touring

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Motor and Battery, 5 Years Frame

Availability:

Europe, Canada, United States, Australia, New Zealand

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

61.5 lbs (27.89 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.61 lbs (2.99 kg)

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminium

Frame Sizes:

18.89 in (47.98 cm)19.68 in (49.98 cm)20.86 in (52.98 cm)21.65 in (54.99 cm)23.62 in (59.99 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

27" Stand Over Height for Step-Thru Model

Frame Types:

High-Step, Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Satin Silver with Matte Black and Blue Highlights

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour CTS 29, 63 mm Travel, Lockout and Preload Adjust, 11 mm QR Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm QR Skewer

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rack Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

20 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore XT Derailleurs, 11-34T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore XT SL-M780 Triggers on Right and Left

Cranks:

FSA, 44-30T

Pedals:

Wellgo Alloy Platform with Rubber Tread

Headset:

FSA Tapered 1-1/8"

Stem:

Humpert Ergotec 6 Adjustable Angle Stem, 100 mm Length

Handlebar:

Low Rise, Alloy Ergotec Plus XL, 610 mm or 630 mm Length, 12° Bend or 14° Bend

Brake Details:

Tektro Dorado HD-E715 Hydraulic Disc with 203 mm Rotors, Tektro Dorado Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Ergon GC1 Locking, Ergonomic

Saddle:

Selle Royal Respiro Moderate, Cool X Senium Mesh Ventilation

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Humpert Ergotec

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

RYDE Double Wall, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge Front 13 Gauge Rear, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Energizer Plus, 28" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Performance Line GreenGuard, Reflective Sidewall Stripe, 45-70 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Velo Battery Protector Pad, Fuxon Integrated LED Headlight, Toplight Line E LED Backlight (Goes Extra Bright When Braking), SKS Plastic Fenders, i-RACK with Pannier Blockers and Spring Latch with 25 kg Max Load, SKS Rookie Mini Pump, FSA Bash Guard, Plastic Chain Cover, Hebie Auto Spring Kickstand

Other:

IP56 Ingress Rating, 2.5 lb 5 Amp Energy Bus Charger from BMZ

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Brose E45

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

530 watts

Motor Torque:

90 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

BMZ

Battery Voltage:

37 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

17.5 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

647.5 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Estimated Max Range:

130 miles (209 km)

Display Type:

BULLS CI, Removable Backlit LCD Display

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Bars), Speed, Assist Level (None, Eco, Tour, Sport), Total Distance, Trip Distance, Trip Time, Trip Calories, Max Speed, Avg. Speed, Total Time, Time of Day, Average Motor Power, Average Rider Performance

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, Lights Button, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Cadence and Torque Sensing)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 is the kind of electric bicycle I’d choose in place of a car. It can go far, it can go fast (28 mph vs. 20 mph on most electric bikes) and it’s fairly comfortable. With full length integrated fenders, a slim chain guard, twenty gears to shift through and integrated lights with a brake mode that goes extra bright anytime you pull the levers… this ebike is fully capable and safe feeling, adding to the LED lights is reflective tire paint that is visible from the sides so you are less likely to get blindsided. Given the longer distances and faster performance from this bike I think it’s important to also feel comfortable and tho that end you get name brand locking ergonomic grips from Ergon, a sturdy adjustable angle stem and a vented comfort saddle from Selle Royale. The battery pack offers 37 volts and a whopping 17.5 amp hours of capacity for extended range and I think that makes it a contender for trekking and touring rides as well as commuting. One feature that really stood out to me when testing this bike was the large display panel that communicates your leg power and the motor power with charts on either side of the dash so you can lear to ride more in sync with the bike and perhaps shift more efficiently. At $4,400 this is not the worlds cheapest electric bike but the Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, multiple size offering and two frame builds (high-step and mid-step) don’t come free. You do get a two year comprehensive warranty and BULLS is an international brand going on its second year in the USA as of 2017 with positive feedback from the consumers I’ve chatted with.

Some things I do not like as much about this bike include the kickstand, which springs back up automatically and makes the frame easier to tip accidentally. The battery can be charged on or off the bike but the rubber flap that covers the charging port on the downtube doesn’t fit into the slot very easily and might let dust and water in over time. The keyhole, where you unlock the pack, is also positioned in a sort of vulnerable spot right where the left crank arm rotates by… so it could get bent or even broken if you’re not careful. And while I love the aesthetic of this and other BULLS models, the battery pack mounts up into the downtube so getting it out requires a bit of extra care and coordination so that it doesn’t drop down and hit the ground. Note that the battery can be left on the bike without being locked on as well, this just adds one more consideration and process to forget or skip. I’m more a fan of other systems like Bosch and Yamaha that automatically lock the pack in once it’s seated. Finally, as with all current gen Brose drive systems, there is no shift sensing so you’ll want to be extra careful when riding and shifting… plan ahead so you don’t mash those gears and chain, just ease off the pedals to de-activate the torque sensor and then shift while spinning more gently.

So coming back to what works on this bike and where it would fit in terms of use. I think there are three big considerations when purchasing an electric bike for daily use and transportation. The reliability is important, the balance and handling and the fit. There are always ways to improve comfort with accessories or adjustments to the existing hardware but the Lacuba E45 already has that nailed down with the adjustable stem and range of sizes. I think I’d strongly consider the step-thru frame here vs. the more traditional “male” diamond high-step because I’d put the rack to use with a trunk bag or panniers and really hate knocking my knee on those things when swinging it over. One thing that impressed me with the frame designs was how stiff and solid they felt, even the mid-step, because of the triangular multi-tube designs. Yes, the low-step isn’t as low as some wave frames but it offers better performance. I was delighted to see that they even managed to squeeze a bottle cage in the triangle and added a second pair of bosses to the top tube! Again, excellent almost necessary additions if you want to ride long distance.

At the end of the day, I see this ebike as true transportation. You don’t have the speed limitations, the safety concerns or the quality questions that some other cheaper bikes present. It was very comfortable and built solid. Even if you did really push this thing and run out of juice before arriving at your destination, the 20 speed drivetrain ensures you could still lug this 61.5 lb bike up a hill without too much effort (though it would be slow). On the flip side, pedaling at full speed also felt comfortable and the frame handled well… no speed wobble here. The motor and battery blend in perfectly with the gray/black color scheme and keep weight super low and centered. The charger is a little larger and heavier than some others I’ve seen but it’s not the worst and you could easily toss it into a trunk bag for charging on the go. The carry rack has excellent pannier blockers on the side and is made by iRack so you can fit their branded accessories (kind of like Topeak does) or you could get something like this for $17 which has a zip-out pannier flaps and a shoulder strap for easy transport when you get off the bike… taking your gear along to keep it safe. The nice thing is, you don’t have to worry about taking the lights with you, the display is removable to reduce exposure and vandalism and the battery locks securely. It’s a great setup in my opinion. Big thanks to Bulls for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • Not only does the bike come in a high-step and a mid-step frame style but there are four frame sizes to choose from and all of them have two pairs of bottle cage bosses! Many times I see electric bikes that don’t have these extra mounting points and that makes accessing water or accessories less convenient
  • This e-bike would make for an excellent commuting or trekking platform because of the premium rack (with pannier guards and clasp point) and full-length fenders… not to mention integrated lights front and rear and nice bell
  • The rear light is setup to get brighter when you activate the brakes, this make you even more visible when riding in low-light conditions and specifically when changing speeds
  • Massive 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes for smooth but powerful stopping, they’re designed to reduce the effort needed to brake and stand up to heavier loads if you’re trekking and carrying a lot of gear
  • Slim, light weight chain guard keeps your pants or dress from getting greasy and dirty, the kickstand is positioned far back on the frame to stay clear of your crank arms
  • Comfortable Selle Royal saddle, slim adjustable suspension fork, ergonomic grips and adjustable angle stem help you ride longer, even the handle bar (which is raised a bit) improves comfort and control
  • In addition to the lights, which help you see and be seen, are reflective striping marks on the tires, these increase your visual footprint so cars and other cyclists notice you coming from the side
  • The Schwalbe Energizer Plus tires are designed to be puncture resistant, they feature a Kevlar lining that resists thorns, tacks, glass and other sharp objects
  • The display panel is bright, easy to read and understand and its casing is sturdy, I love that it can be completely removed from the mount for safe keeping, I also like that they included two power graphs that show you real-time how much energy you are exerting and how much the bike is spending… it might change how you ride and shift the gears and ultimately help you conserve electricity on longer rides
  • Both wheels offer quick release making service and transport easier, the battery pack also comes off the frame fairly easily and can be charged separately
  • The Lacuba EVO E45 is one of the stealthiest electric bikes I’ve seen thanks to its completely integrated battery and compact mid-drive motor… it’s also very quiet
  • I love that the bike can go above 20 mph! This is useful for commuting, keeping up with traffic and just cutting down on the time it takes
  • You get an extra large battery pack here that’s designed to make trekking and touring possible or offset the air resistance drag of riding at higher speeds
  • Excellent two year comprehensive warranty provides some peace of mind, also, BULLS has been operating in Europe and other countries for years and seems to have a good reputation for quality
  • You get 20 gears on this bike so you can really dial in how you pedal, making it comfortable and capable for climbing or riding at high speed… it’s nice having those extra gears if you ride super far and run out of battery just short of your destination because the bike does weigh 60+ lbs, most mid-drive bikes are limited to 11 gears and don’t have a front derailleur like this so that’s one big advantage of the Brose motor system
  • The short travel suspension fork and medium width tires offer a good balance of comfort to efficiency and performance but if you’re riding far and hitting bumpy rattly terrain consider a 31.6 mm seat post suspension, SR Suntour (the same people who make the fork for this bike) make a good one called the NCX here

Cons:

  • If the bike hasn’t been used for a while the battery enters sleep mode and you have to press the power button on top of the pack as well as on the control pad, this confused me at first when going directly to the display pad as I thought maybe the bike needed to be charged or had an issues
  • The rubber charging cover for the battery didn’t fit easily and made me wonder if dust and water might get in over time… I like that the interface is magnetic so the plug doesn’t get bent or tip the bike if you trip over it however
  • Be sure to lock the battery to the bike as you can simply connect it without locking (many other bikes activate the lock when the battery clicks in?) also note that if the key is left in it could get bent by the left crank arm which rotates close past the keyhole
  • No shift sensing technology on this bike… considering you get 20 speeds to shift through I’d recommend being careful and learning how to ease off pressure when shifting to avoid mashing of the chain and sprockets, the motor uses torque sensing so it’s easy to pedal up to speed then back off while still rotating in order to reduce strain when shifting
  • I dislike the Hebie spring activated kickstand, yes it’s mounted in the correct place but the fact that it automatically swivels up makes the bike less stable and this thing is expensive, I don’t want it to tip and in my experience normal fixed kickstands work just fine :(
  • At roughly 2.2 lbs the battery charger is a little heavy and large, though I love that it uses the EnergyBus standard (sending data and electricity) because I believe it makes updates easier
  • Since the battery mounts up into the downtube vs. sitting on top of it I found that you have to use more care when removing it (so that it doesn’t just drop out and hit the ground)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More BULLS Reviews

BULLS Cross E Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Well priced considering the quality Bosch-made electric drive system, four frame size choices, and three frame styles (high, mid, and low-step). Integrated LED lights and premium Continental tires with reflective sidewall stripes help to keep you…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 2 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the cleanest looking full suspension cross country electric bikes I've reviewed, the battery and motor are built into the frame and match the matte black paint perfectly. Extra large battery capacity for longer rides, EnergyBus magnetic charging standard works on or off…...

BULLS SIX50 E 1.5 Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A hardtail trail ready e-bike with comfortable plus sized tires and a spring suspension fork (with lockout), sturdy tapered head tube, rigid thru-axles, and Boost. Capable as a commuting platform if you prefer a mountain bike vs. hybrid or city…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An active, sporty looking, commuter style electric bike with low standover height, available in three frame sizes to improve fit and comfort. High-end drivetrain and motor systems, you get eleven gears with a tough mountain bike level…...

BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An all-mountain electric bike with plus sized tires for improved stability, traction and comfort, 150 mm air suspension with compression and rebound adjust. Battery and motor mount design are tighter than older Bosch systems, weight is kept low…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high quality full suspension e-mountain bike that's also a speed pedelec (capable of 28 mph top speeds), solid hydraulic disc brakes, wide thru-axles with Boost Technology. Adjustable 150 mm RockShox suspension front and rear, four-bar rear swing arm to reduce brake…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 3 Carbon 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A Carbon fiber electric cross country mountain bike with premium components and ultra-integrated motor and battery system, excellent weight distribution. The Brose motor is quiet and responsive offering up to 90 Nm of torque output,…...

BULLS DAIL-E Grinder Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the first Gravel Grinder style electric bikes to make it to America! Made with premium components, high performance lights and a purpose built frame in three sizes. Capable of high speed 28 mph performance, the Bosch centerdrive motor measures bike speed, pedal…...

BULLS SIX50 E2 Street Review

  • MSRP: $3,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A fully equipped speed commuter capable of 28 mph operation, running on the proven Bosch Performance mid-drive motor and updated 500 watt hour Samsung battery. Extra large 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes offer smooth solid stops without requiring exorbitant hand…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A versatile urban electric bike well suited to commuting, touring and trekking because of its efficient mid-drive motor and larger than average battery capacity, durable internal gearing and belt drive. Available in five frame sizes and three frame styles including wave, mid-step and high-step diamond…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A stealthy full suspension all-mountain electric bike with longer travel 150 mm suspension, fully adjustable air fork by RockShox, color matched to frame. Larger 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack to assist with steeper climbs and longer…...

BULLS Monster E FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Full suspension fat bike with a high quality mid-drive motor from Bosch and their updated 500 watt hour battery pack for extended range. Cool fluorescent paint job that extends all the way through the fork, rear shock housing,…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all-mountain electric bike with beautifully integrated battery, motor and display... it blends in more than most other e-mountain bikes I've tested and runs quiet. Sturdy 15 mm thru axle in the front and 12 mm axle in the rear…...

BULLS SIX50 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A loaded full suspension mountain bike with premium electric drivetrain from Bosch offering 75 Nm of climbing torque with the CX motor and a 400 watt hour Samsung battery. RockShox air suspension with 120 mm travel front and rear for solid trail or all…...

BULLS Monster E S Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Premium hardtail electric fat bike with all the fixins, highlights include rear rack bosses, tubeless-ready tires and punched out rims, RockShox air fork with remote lockout and high torque Bosch CX motor. Quality 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano for excellent stopping power and modulation, impressive…...

BULLS Outlaw E45 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty looking, fairly comfortable speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speeds, it's running on an optimized geared hub motor design with heat pipe technology for maximum performance. Unique mid-mount battery box fills the main frame triangle keeping weight low and centered while…...

BULLS Sturmvogel E EVO Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautifully designed urban electric bike painted white for visibility and modern appeal, white walled tires, reflective sidewall stripes, LED lights. Extra sturdy and durable thanks to a 15 mm thru-axle on the front wheel (with…...

BULLS TWENTY9 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension, Bosch powered, cross country style electric bike with efficient 29" wheels, it's available in three sizes for good fit and would feel taller and larger for riders with long legs but still fits some shorter riders given the angled top tube. Quick release for both wheels ads convenience for fixes and transporting the bike, I love…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fully loaded urban electric bicycle with great accessories for commuting including an aluminum rear rack, full length fenders with mud flaps and integrated LED lights. Relatively light weight at under 50 lbs, this is due in part to the nicer…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS Enduro 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An enduro style full suspension electric mountain bike with longer 160 mm suspension travel, seat post dropper, 27.5" wheelset and premium hydraulic brakes. Downtube-integrated battery pack is out of sight and keeps weight low and centered across the…...


BULLSreadTHIS
2 months ago

Bulls, I bought this bike and it arrives this week. I’m a bit peeved that the bike doesn’t come stock with an IGH. Now I have to buy a rim an IGH and have it laced up, expensive and a pain. Why not offer a service called myBull? Which allows a user to customize their bike?

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Hmm, that’s a cool idea, kind of like what Dell did with PC Computers years ago. I think there’s a long wait time between manufacturing and shipping from Asia and Europe before the bikes could be delivered as specced but maybe in the future we will see more manufacturing in North America and customization like this could make sense, I’d love that kind of service! I hope you enjoy your bike and welcome your comments once you’ve had a chance to use it some ;)

Reply
bullsreadthis
2 months ago

I received my new e45 and have about 90 miles on it so far. As an update to the article, there is now a new firmware on the Bulls bike, and from what my dealer said, every Bulls bike gets it. It now has 5 power modes, off + 1-4 levels of assist. I mostly ride the bike in level 3 and it ranges from 9-10 miles per battery bar (5 bars total). I have done several 20 mile round trips using 2 bars of battery. I’m averaging about 20 miles per hour. As Court states in the review, you have to work for 28mph, but staying in the 22-24mph range is pretty easy. I have noticed a decrease in power at temperatures over 100 degrees outside (may be protection sensors). If you want to buzz around fast in the mid 20’s at level 3 of 4 assist, you can expect about 45-50 miles of real range.

One bummer is that the Specialized Levo chargers do not work on the Bulls bike, seems kind of silly to me. They are probably all made in China at the same factory. This bike comes with a whopping 5amp charger!

Final verdict, I think this bike is the best commuter bike on the market. The serious contenders are the Giant (loud motor) and the Integrale 11 (noisy and creaky). I have rode all 3 and the Lacuba wins, hands down. The brakes, quiet ride, and the capacity put it over the top. I can’t overstate how nice it is to have 203mm (8 inch) rotors when you are in a jam at 28mph. I bought mine at Great Western Ebike.

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Awesome comment, thanks for sharing your experience with the Lacuba and other models… it’s great to hear from an owner and yeah, it’s too bad that the charger doesn’t work with the Turbo. I think the bigger ebike companies are being super careful so that their batteries don’t have any issues (like the Samsung phones did). It sounds like you’re quite the ebike connoisseur given that you also have a Turbo Levo?!

Reply
bullsreadthis
2 months ago

I have too many ebikes…but the Levo FSR Comp is my favorite. My only complaints on the Levo’s are the crappy brakes and no initial option on the battery upgrade. I do a lot of long, steep descents and the stock brakes are just junk. I eventually switched them out for Shimano Zee’s. The bad brakes are the reason I passed on the Vado for my commuter, which comes stock with 180/160mm. So in addition to paying nearly a grand more for the Vado, I would have to pay another $500 for decent brakes.

Way to go Bulls on putting some really nice stock components on the Lacuba. In fact, I was initially bummed about the lack of IGH, but the XTs have shifted pretty smoothly. We’ll see after 1,000 miles though. The Lacuba is soo smooth, feels like a BMW 7 series or something. btw, I went with your suggestion on the XCR suspension seat, I like it, thank you!

BULLSREADTHIS
2 months ago

I did a leisure ride today of 28 miles averaging 16mph. I was able to get 18.1 miles per 1 battery bar on level 2 of 4 assist, that puts the range at about 85-90 miles in level 2. After the 28 mile ride, I still had 4 bars remaining.

Here’s my guess on range at this point, based on my rides:

  • Level 3 = 45-50 miles at 20mph
  • Level 2 = 85-90 miles at 16mph

I’m super impressed with the battery and motor efficiency. I’ll post some high-speed numbers in the next week or so.

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

This is very useful, thanks for sharing your experience with the bike since you’ve had a chance to really use it. There may be a drop over time but you should get 1,000+ solid cycles of high output before the Lithium-ion batteries begin to fade.

Reply
Greg
1 month ago

I bought the Lacuba Evo E45 a few months ago, partly because of your review. I LOVE this bike! It’s smooth, quiet, powerful, has good range, and I love all the touches. The lights, the brake light, the rack, the fenders, the shifters, the bell, the display the water bottle bosses…. all of it adds up to greatness. The brakes work. What I mean by that is, I’m not really into what size they are, or how they’re mechanized, I only care about the result, and the result is perfect. I weighed 270 pounds when I bought the bike, and have panniers on it, so it’s well over 300 pounds total, and it stops easily and smoothly, without me thinking about it other than to put on the brake.

Also, I have a Giant LA Free (very old, I know) and it also has the motor in the bottom bracket. It CAN be ridden without motor assist, but it tires me out in about 2 blocks. Functionally, it doesn’t really work. The E45, however, rides amazingly well for such a big and heavy bike. I actually have repeatedly ridden several blocks before I remember to turn on the assist. Admittedly it’s a slight downhill slope coming out of my home, but the bike can truly be ridden without assist.

I keep the bike on level 3 assist all the time (when I remember) and it probably does only have 50-60 mile range going above 20MPH most of the time with a 260lb rider, but that’s still pretty impressive. The integration of power is so smooth, it makes me literally smile. The LaFree used to surge when you applied torque. It was fun to feel, but I’d subjectively describe the way this bike rides differently. You can tell the bike is helping, particularly when you change assist levels, but if you just leave it, and don’t think about it, the feeling you get is just that you’re riding a bike, and you’re just stronger and faster and have more endurance than you thought. It’s so seamless, you can forget it’s helping. Don’t think that means it’s not helping or underpowered because nothing’s further from the truth. It’s just perfectly matched to you so it amplifies what you do.

My only complaint has already been noted – saying it’s a 28MPH top speed is technically true, but you have to seriously work to get there. If you think you’re going to commute at 28MPH, forget it. I’m not sure whether the motor doesn’t have the power, or if the firmware just drops it’s assist, but anything above 25 is mostly the rider, even at the highest assist. That said, I can pretty easily sustain speeds between 20 and 25 on level ground.

It’s expensive. Once you get past that, it’s close to perfect.

Reply
Court Rye
1 month ago

Hey Greg! I loved reading your comment, so glad you found my review helpful and thank you for giving back and sharing your weight and ride experiences… that seriously helps others and that’s what EBR is all about! Ride safe out there man :D

Reply
BULLSREADTHIS
1 month ago

Greg, did you get the new firmware update? The new firmware has 4 Assist levels. Mine came with the new firmware, but mine is only a week old.

Reply
Greg
1 month ago

I bought the bike online, since the closest Bulls dealer is an hour away, and I can’t transport the bike anyway. I contacted Bulls about the upgrade, as well as the closest dealer, but neither has responded to me (it’s been a week). I’ll try again. I want the upgrade, but I’m worried it’ll be tough to get it, after reading other people’s comments.

Gert
1 month ago

Hi Court, I am confused. A lot of websites (mainly in USA) claim that this bike has a Brose 350W motor. But most European websites write it has a Brose 250W motor. Also the official Bulls website.

Today I did a test ride at a bike shop here in Belgium with an Bulls E-STREAM EVO 45 FS. The reason I did the test ride with this bike is that the shop owner told me it has the same build (motor, …) as the Lacuba Evo E45, but just an other frame and tires. I asked him if he knew how much the motor power was. He claimed it had 350W.

Do you know more? I am planning to by the Lacuba for commuting and selling my car but I like to be sure of all the specs this bike has. And if it would be a 250W motor, wouldn’t that be to low for a 45km/h bike, meaning also that I have to work harder to drive at higher speeds compared to a 350W? Sorry for all these questions.

BTW, nice reviews of all these ebikes. Keep up the good work. They explain a lot. Best regards, Gert

Reply
Court Rye
1 month ago

Great question Gert! It’s confusing for me too sometimes… There’s the reality (Bosch and Brose hardware is the same regardless of country) and the marketing (Europe says 250 watts to be legal there and the US says 350 because people want more power). The truth as I understand it is that the motors offer 90 Nm of torque and that, along with the smoothness and responsiveness of the controller, is what makes it a good system. You have to shift gears to hit the top speed but with that torque, the nominal wattage is not an issue… most of these motors peak above 500 watts (the Bosch CX above 600 watts) but they don’t focus on that as much for legal reasons. They don’t want people like you to feel confused but they do also want to seem competitive against these hub motors that say 1,000 watts (which is illegal but not really enforced unless there’s an accident). I would say, don’t worry about the watts. Look at the rated top speed, think about how it rode, assume it’s the same (especially since this is the speed pedelec so not tuned down to 25 km/h (15.5 mph) for Euro standards. Does this help? I’m happy to clarify or answer more questions :)

Reply
Gert
1 month ago

Thanks, Court, for the very fast reply. You definitely helped me out here. Things are more clear on wattage and peaks values and so. Still, I am a bit unsure about the 250W Brose motor because it seemed to have had some overheating issues in the past on these speed pedelecs. Maybe Brose wanted to jump on the train too fast with these speed pedelecs, not having developed a 350W motor yet. In 2018, they will have 3 new motors coming out. Here in Belgium a 350W motor is legal for a speed pedelec. Yesterday, I also contacted Bulls via FB with the question how powerful the motor was. They answered it was a 250W motor.

Today I did a test drive with a Stromer ST1 (500W hub motor). I could definitely feel the difference. The Stromer was much easier to keep the +40 km/h range. But what I don’t like is the seating position on the Stromer. The Lacuba is more my way of riding, ie more upright. Well, my search continues. Thank you very much for your help. Gert

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Alberto Orchansky
21 hours ago

Is the drive the sole element binding the seatpost tube to the downtube.? If so that might be the issue. Here in Switzerland a company called Flyer produces ´classic shaped frames' (i.e Dutch style bikes) for many of its models. In a TV interview, a rep. explained that this is the most difficult type of frame to produce because the structures need to be reinforced in order to resist increased loads. This comes from a company that has produced Dutch style frames for over 15 years. Now, looking at the design of your bike, it almost looks like the drive is a single porting element that bears the loads coming from the down tube and seat tube.

I just happen to have a Flyer bike with me, so I took a picture. Looking at the frame design below, you can see that it's structurally reinforced in 3 places: headtube, bottom bracket drive assembly, and under the seat post. It's a very stiff bike. There's nothing I can do to induce any torsion and I weigh 210 pounds. I've pushed it pretty hard going uphill.

I appreciate so much your contribution. Yes, the drive is the sole element binding the seatpost tube to the downtube, being 'reinforced' with the gusset pointed by @JRA in two of his comments. It is unfortunate there is no other Lacuba Wave owner joining this thread. His/her comment and ability to replicate the issue would be of extreme help for everybody.
In the meantime, I am in contact with Bulls through my vendor. I had the bike professionally inspected twice, (at a cost of CDN 300, not too bad considering it's CND 5,500 brand new bike). As reported previously, nothing but an adjustment for my weight on the fork's air pressure was required. Now I am requested to have the front spokes checked since Bulls believe that may also explain the issue.
I envy so much your Flyer bike...!
Thanks

DavidP
2 days ago

I bought an E-bike (2013 Izip E3 Metro) a few years ago, and don't ride it much . . primarily because I think I'm scared of the thing. It's power is a bit unpredictable to me (caused me to fall almost immediately after getting it), and just doesn't feel natural.

I now think that a mid-drive with a GOOD system will alleviate much of this. The Benno Eboost really caught my attention (probably won't actually use the ability to carry cargo, but I want the option, will probably buy all the racks and bags). And to be completely honest, I just love the "story" that goes with the Benno bikes. Or maybe I'm just attracted to "different" and what some people would call "ugly" bikes (I got the Metro in ORANGE, and would get the Benno in yellow).

I can't find a local dealer that has the Benno to drive, but I did drive an Easy Motion Atom Diamond (Brose drive with Shimano Nexus IGH) and some other bike that had the Bosch system with a 10-speed derailler (like the Benno). Both drives seemed fine to me, but the SMOOTHNESS of the Brose/Nexus system (primarily due to the IGH, I'm sure) really struck me. And the quietness.

Now, it's possible that the bike I rode with the Bosch simply didn't have the derailler properly adjusted that led to the lack of smoothness.

I really like the BIG tires on the Benno Eboost, pretty sure I'd like the 24" x 2.6" tires, and the whole bike. But it keeps bugging me that the Brose/Nexus just seemed soooo smooth.

It looks like perhaps a Bulls Lacuba EVO E8 would get me the Brose/Nexus drive system with larger tires (2" vs 1.5" of the Easy Motion, but still not the 2.6" of the Beeno or the 24" wheel diameter.

Any other bikes I should be looking at? Or should I just get the Benno and not worry about the derailler and the lack of smoothness I detected in the bike I test-drove? I guess I should go test-drive another bike or two somewhere with the Bosch system if I can find one.

Anybody got the Benno Boost and love it or hate it?

Alberto Orchansky
3 days ago

Unfortunately, @JRA, that hybrid frame design in the prior image is not an "add on" feature; it has to be done during the initial build of the bike. Other brands of really low step ebikes have had a similar wobble issue with hub motor setups and rear mounted batteries, particularly with bigger riders. It is most apparent at the initial acceleration and sometimes at deceleration to a stop. The added rigidity of some additional piece to the frame, an added strut (and it doesn't have to be much) will resolve the issue. Look at the first edition of Currie Tech's Izip Zuma low step ebikes; they had the same issue. Next season, they added a small extra reinforcement just above the crank arms which solved the shimmy issue.

As for a fix, the shop and buyer will have to work this out; Bulls may not have realized how much vibration would happen with this style of frame since their focus has really been more on other styles of frames. Hopefully all 3 can find a middle ground so @Alberto Orchansky, can find the bike that works for him. I would strongly suggest a lot of test riding prior to taking a bike home.

Thanks @JRA
I am attaching a photo and made a composite of it. On the left, and marked with a RED CIRCLE, is the photo sent from BULLS to my vendor/dealer explaining how the seat post is attached to the front of the bike. The explanation from BULLS to the photo is quote: As I mentioned on the phone this is the first claim we’ve heard of a Lacuba EVO E8 having any speed wobble. Our wave frame doesn’t have a top tube but is strengthened with a wide downtube and also a reinforcement tube that’s welded at the “dip” (pics attached) end of quote. The BULLS photo -on the left- is the one with the RED CIRCLE. On the right, is a photo of my bike, which I submitted back to my vendor, which is going to be sent to BULLS including my own comment: I composed a photo whereas the original you sent -with the red circle- is on the left. My bike is on the right shown with the measuring tape. If you count the number of welding 'spots', there is a difference of 3 welding spots between both bikes. Assuming each weld is of the same thickness, the height of the (almost) triangular piece welded between the vertical and horizontal bars must be different: higher on the triangular piece of the BULLS photo. Also, and this might be just an illusion due to the angle of the photo, I have the impression that the triangular piece marked on the red circle is higher and steeper than the one on my bike.
I'll keep you posted and many thanks for your interest.

1/1
Sonoboy
4 days ago

There are 3 versions of this ebike. You can try the low step version and see if you can lift your foot above the top tube. Some people, me included, lean the bike 45 degrees (or even lower) towards me before I step over the bike.
http://propelbikes.com/product/bulls-lacuba-evo-e8-2017/

Wave is an interesting name for a product that shimmies and wobble.
It makes one wonder if they increased the tube wall thickness on the Wave or simply "left off" the other frame elements. Doesn't inspire confidence in the design.

Mark Peralta
4 days ago

There are 3 versions of this ebike. You can try the low step version and see if you can lift your foot above the top tube. Some people, me included, lean the bike 45 degrees (or even lower) towards me before I step over the bike.
http://propelbikes.com/product/bulls-lacuba-evo-e8-2017/

Wave is an interesting name for a product that shimmies and wobble.

1/1
Rincon
4 days ago

I am posting this because this Lacuba model is being sold by BULLS without any warnings such: this bike should not, under any circumstances, be ridden by any person heavier than 200 lbs and taller than 5'8".

What is your height and weight?

McSpiffy
5 days ago

Pleasure is mine!
Many people have been very kind to me and have helped immensely. I am happy to help in anyway I can.
Trek FX+ is a pretty old model and the tech has moved on quite a bit. The latest bikes are in a league of its own.
I live close to the UIC campus. Let me know if you want to try out my ST2 or Trekking S Rx or both for a day or two and see if it suits your commute.
Whatever you choose, I am pretty certain that these new crop of ebikes will re-ignite your passion for biking.

Hi Ravi!

I've been communicating with Josh @ CrazyLenny's and I've narrowed my interest down to three: 2017 Haibike Urban Plus, 2017 Bulls Lacuba EVO45 and the Stromer ST2. The Urban Plus really looks like it would fit-the-bill, however; I'm a little concerned with the TransX M25 GTS drive unit with the recalls (forum posts do appear that repair/replacement was prompt and some posted that they can definitely feel a difference post-replacement) and the Cobi Smart-connected biking system . . . still working the bugs out or is it truly not ready for prime time? The Urban Plus is a 10+ aesthetically and really surpassed other manufacturers with their choice in components. The Lacuba EVO45 has the Brose drive unit but I'm concerned with how they chose to mount the battery (bottom vs. top-mounted) and where they chose to locate the key lock. On to the Stromer

. . . damn this impresses me but I'm gun-shy after reading several negative posts; can it really be that bad? I also don't want to spend another 1K on an already-pricey ride with stem/front shock upgrades to account for road vibration.

Is there a way to PM or IM you will a few more questions before I head out to CLB's?

Thanks for all your help!

Paul

Alberto Orchansky
5 days ago

Thanks Mark for your attention.
No, the wobble I experience is of such magnitude that unless you stop, or try to stop the bike, you'll be thrown out of it. It's not a 'vibration', it's a side to side wobble of the entire bike. The girl riding the bike in the video would've been so scared she would've come back walking, assuming she didn't fall breaking something. Moreover, note that particular bike has the battery mounted on the back and the motor located on the rear wheel, therefore most of the weight is on the back. Some wobble, on any low-step 'girls' bike, is expected due to the lack of the upper tube and a reduced frame torsion. However, I totally agree with you that what I am experiencing won't happen with a 'top tube' bike. The issue is that -due to my physical limitations- I am able to ride only step-through bikes. I cannot 'mount' a 'boys' bike.
I am posting this because this Lacuba model is being sold by BULLS without any warnings such: this bike should not, under any circumstances, be ridden by any person heavier than 200 lbs and taller than 5'8". Please note this warning has not been tested with people of any other weight/height combinations. Therefore, ride it at your own risk.
Thanks again Mark,
Alberto

Mark Peralta
5 days ago

I feel your pain. I wonder if the wobble you are describing is the same as in the video at 21:39.

If that's the case, then your ebike does not have enough torsional rigidity to handle the payload. The LACUBA EVO E8 WAVE only has the down tube attached to the seat tube, and has no top tube that enhances the strength and rigidity. I suggest you try to ride the high step version or the BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 which has similar frame but with the top tube, and then see if you can still duplicate the problem. Either way, I think you should exchange your ebike since it is not safe for you.

Here is educational video on speed wobble.

Alberto Orchansky
5 days ago

This is a copy of the email sent to Citrus Cycle and to BULLS on August 14, 2017

I bought an LACUBA EVO E8 WAVE from Citrus Cycle, Kelly Demoline, Ladysmith, BC, Canada on May 31, 2017. The choice of this model was due to my physical conditions. A few years ago I had an accident suffering serious injuries in my neck. As a consequence, my neck is fused, limiting my head movement. I have been an active bicycle rider, both mountain, and road- all my life, but since the accident, I was not able to get back to riding anyone.

Meeting Kelly Dmoline from Citrus Cycles changed all this once he introduced me the EVO E8 Wave.
It's riding position was just perfect for me, absolutely comfortable and the pedal-assisted feature made possible for me to get back safely to the road.

Unfortunately, and just within a couple of days, I had a terrifying and literally life threatening experience. While 'testing' the bike downhill on a paved road, reaching about 40 k/h (not pedaling) the bike started to wobble violently. Only thanks to the experience I have riding bicycles I was able to stop it safely.

The experience was so shocking that I immediately contacted Kelly Demoline, having decided to return the bike. He was very surprised about the issue but, without hesitation, was ready to take the bike back.

Overnight I thought about it, about how much the bike was going to give me back to my life, that I decided to keep it with the condition I set to myself to never get to 40 km/h again.

However, the problem subsisted at different speeds, 30, 25, 20 km/k and so. I kept trying to figure out what may be out of line to induce such a behavior. I have the bike checked in a bike shop without finding anything abnormal. All they did was to adjust the suspension fork pressure for my weight, 200 lbs.

Finally, today August 15, 2017, with the odometer at 179 km I was able to induce and reproduce the problem myself AT ANY SPEED.

Riding the bike on a paved road with enough grade to force the bike to increase its speed, WITHOUT PEDALING, once reaching about 15 km/h start jiggling the handlebar left-right right left quite fast. The movement will induce a wobble on the front end that will rapidly be transferred, amplified to the back, reaching its maximum where most of the weight is concentrated. I tend to think the weight and location of the battery are crucial components in this wave resonance / dynamic amplification problem.

The meaning of this is that just a pebble, pothole or any irregularity on the road may lead to a 'handlebar jiggle', inducing the wobbling effect AT ANY SPEED.

That's exactly why it happens to me so many times and at different speeds.

I understand the problem is magnified due to the typical riding position of an urban type bike, where there is limited rider's weight on the handlebars.

Another situation associated with the weight on the handlebars is when making a traffic signal: a single hand on the handlebar and very little control upon the jiggling/wobbling effect with the other hand.

To summarize, I do not believe there is nothing technically wrong or defective with my particular bicycle.

However, I strongly believe there is a conceptual flaw in the design of this particular model, making it unsafe to ride it to the point that it should be discontinued and a recall issued.

Sincerely,

Ravi Kempaiah
6 days ago

Wow!!!! Thank you for the prompt reply and all the information! I was really impressed by Court's video of the Specialized Turbo Vado 6.0 and thought it would be the one . . . for some reason, I keep coming back to the Stromer ST2. I don't foresee myself doing century rides with it but it would be nice for commuting (@5am) as well as running errands/shopping. The Haibikes (Trekking S Rx and the SDURO Trekking 5) look like great options. The Bulls LACUBA EVO E45 intrigues me even more than the Dail-E Grinder; as for lighting, I have the DesignShine DS-500 tail light and DS-1300 headlight ( http://store.designshinelighting.com ) - phenomenal lighting!

I really appreciate your genuine passion for e-bikes and sharing your knowledge with others to be a better consumer. I'd like to bend your ear some more but I'd be happy to repay you with your favorite beverage (coffee/beer - whatever your drink of choice is!) or meal. I'd like to make the pilgrimage to Madison to visit Crazy Lenny's and compare some of these before a final purchase.

I'm hesitant to try another Trek e-bike since my Trek FX+ was a disappointment. It did get me back into bicycling after a +15 yr hiatus, putting in 3500mi/yr commuting and casual biking. I have lost interest the past few years and hope that this next step will re-ignite the passion. I still plan to ride my Domane 5.9 and I also have a Madone 4.7 that spends most of it's life attached to a Wahoo Kickr Snap or on my Kreitler rollers.

Thanks again for all you do! I look forward to hearing more from you . . .

Pleasure is mine!
Many people have been very kind to me and have helped immensely. I am happy to help in anyway I can.
Trek FX+ is a pretty old model and the tech has moved on quite a bit. The latest bikes are in a league of its own.
I live close to the UIC campus. Let me know if you want to try out my ST2 or Trekking S Rx or both for a day or two and see if it suits your commute.
Whatever you choose, I am pretty certain that these new crop of ebikes will re-ignite your passion for biking.

McSpiffy
6 days ago

Funny you ask that.
I live in Chicago myself and given the terrible road conditions here, I switched from Stromer ST2 to Haibike Trekking S Rx. While I absolutely enjoy the smoothness and quiet power delivery of ST2, hitting bumps and pot holes every 10m was not a nice feeling. I still use that for long distance travel.
I got my Trekking from Lenny's in Madison. Lenny has been like a father figure in my life and he even sponsored by Guinness Record ride last summer. So, mentioning him might be a conflict of interest here. But, I am happy to give you my honest answer.

Among your list, Trek Super Commuter 8+ would be a great choice. You could run those Super Moto X at low PSI and with the Body Float, you would have no problem on the Chicago roads.
Looks like you are a pretty seasoned cyclist (not everyone rides a Trek Domane 5.9 wth Di2). You should also consider the BULLS Dail-E Grinder. It does come with Di2, Bosch speed motor and the Supernova M99 lighting that you see on the Trek Super commuter. The geometry is more relaxed compared to the Trek but it's so much lighter than the ST2 and the trekking S Rx. At 48lbs, it really handles very well. 2" Marathon Supereme + RockShox paragon does a great job of mitigating bumps.
http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/dail-e-grinder/

The rack on the Dail-E grinder is rated for 60lbs. So, I don't see any problem carrying stuff like groceries or laptop/lunch.

I recently did a weekend ride to Milwaukee and back on my Haibike Trekking S Rx: https://www.strava.com/activities/1118854733. While I was able to do the trip on 2 batteries, I also came to realize that upright riding positions just doesn't cut it for long rides like that. I am looking to switch back to the Dail-E grinder myself and retire the Trekking S Rx. It has been a great bike. I rode it throughout the winter and it has performed flawlessly. If you have the opportunity to pick up a Trekking S Rx, I would recommend it because it's an older year model and most shops offer some sale on those. You could also switch out the batteries to the newer 500Whr ones.

I am hesitant to recommend the Vado 6.0. I rode that bike at the Chicago Bike Expo and it rode great. In theory, that would be a terrific bike for the Chicago roads but there are some glitches with the Specialized firmware, their mission control app but if you have a dealer near you who is willing to back you up, it is worth a shot.
If you already have a pretty good relationship with your Trek dealer, then Super Commuter 8+ would be a great choice as well. My thinking may be different from yours. I am not going to own any system that has super proprietary battery geometry and related hardware. If I get another Bosch powered bike (whether it is Tern GSD or Yuba Spicy cargo bike or even Mountain bike), I could switch out batteries and chargers. Also, if two or more family members have similar kind of bikes, then you gain additional battery for occasional rides and stuff like that. With Bosch, you have more flexibility. There are more spares and accessories available for Bosch than the Specialized. I am not trying to downplay specialized here but their mountain bike battery is different from road bike and both of these are very different from their Turbo bikes. Now, I could use Trekking S Rx batteries on Yuba Cargo or any eMTB and eliminate redundancy.

Wow!!!! Thank you for the prompt reply and all the information! I was really impressed by Court's video of the Specialized Turbo Vado 6.0 and thought it would be the one . . . for some reason, I keep coming back to the Stromer ST2. I don't foresee myself doing century rides with it but it would be nice for commuting (@5am) as well as running errands/shopping. The Haibikes (Trekking S Rx and the SDURO Trekking 5) look like great options. The Bulls LACUBA EVO E45 intrigues me even more than the Dail-E Grinder; as for lighting, I have the DesignShine DS-500 tail light and DS-1300 headlight ( http://store.designshinelighting.com ) - phenomenal lighting!

I really appreciate your genuine passion for e-bikes and sharing your knowledge with others to be a better consumer. I'd like to bend your ear some more but I'd be happy to repay you with your favorite beverage (coffee/beer - whatever your drink of choice is!) or meal. I'd like to make the pilgrimage to Madison to visit Crazy Lenny's and compare some of these before a final purchase.

I'm hesitant to try another Trek e-bike since my Trek FX+ was a disappointment. It did get me back into bicycling after a +15 yr hiatus, putting in 3500mi/yr commuting and casual biking. I have lost interest the past few years and hope that this next step will re-ignite the passion. I still plan to ride my Domane 5.9 and I also have a Madone 4.7 that spends most of it's life attached to a Wahoo Kickr Snap or on my Kreitler rollers.

Thanks again for all you do! I look forward to hearing more from you . . .

Ravi Kempaiah
3 weeks ago

Bulls EVO E8 is materially superior to Pedego in every way.
Good torque sensor, huge battery, hydraulic brakes, good aesthetics, Gates drive, battery in the downtube = better handling.
Pedego is much more powerful than the BULLS and frankly, most ladies love the Pedego. The color and the relaxed styling is what charms them.

B/w ST2 and Lacuba E45, you just need to test ride and see what works for you. ST2 is really an excellent bike if you are not dealing with lots of hills or stop-go traffic.
If you are ok with shifting, then any mid-drive BULLS with Brose or Bosch would work well.

The best thing would be to rest them and see which one you like the best.

scrambler
3 weeks ago

Hi, new here, but long time lurker :)

I am looking into an E-bike for my wife that would ideally have the following characteristics

Integrated Torque / speed / cadence sensor for best of breed PAS
IGH, Ideally a NuVinci CVT, ideally with Harmony
Gates carbon drive belt system
Mid drive with as much power as possible for the steep hills of the SF Bay Area... The Bosch 350W would be a minimum, the new Bafang Max looks interesting with more torque, and the Bafang Max Ultra sounds exciting with 1000W...
Front suspension, plus suspension seat post for light trail riding.

I have a few on my radar (see below), none of which of course fit the complete bill, so I am looking at what it would take to customize one of the almost perfect ones to fit the bill.
One of these customization, would be to replace the rear derailleur and cassette by a NuVinci.

Hence my Question / post title.
Does anyone know of a bike shop in the San Francisco Bay Area that can source and install the NuVinci system on an electric bike?

Thank you for any insights.

PS: For those sharing the same specs interest, here is my current shortlist.
EVELO new Galaxy model (closest to spec at lowest price): Would need to add a suspension fork and seat posts.
FLX Blade (more exciting motor): Would need to Add the new NuVinci 380x, and a Belt drive system
RIESE &MUELLER Nevo (expensive, no throttle ): Would need to add the harmony controller
Other expensive contenders:
FELT versa E10; Cube SUV Hybrid pro 500; BULL Lacuba Evo E8 Wave

Jim Dove
3 weeks ago

First, thanks for the feedback on the husband and wife thread I started. More research has me comparing these two bikes for my wife. I thought a new thread would elicit more response, so apologies for the noise.

Is The Bulls materially superior to the Pedego. The latter has the advantage of my wife loving the color choices and the local dealer.

For me, I am deciding between a Stromer ST2 versus a Bulls Lacuba EVO45 and leaning toward the Bulls. Any advice there welcome too. Again -- spectacular forum and information on the site. This has been very helpful.

Many thanks,
Jim

5ebikes
3 weeks ago

I have really been enjoying my Lacuba e45, but it has developed a terrible creaking noise at around 350 miles. I wish someone would post a teardown video of the Bulls/Brose system. It seems crazy to drive a CAR a couple hours to a dealer to tighten a couple bolts (I think it is the motor mount bolts). Anyone have a dealer manual for this bike? I haven't had any luck finding a video on youtube either.

I think these are the required tools:
Isis bottom bracket tool
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0052TC9NA/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Isis crank puller
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001N883JS/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Also curious if this item is required and how it is used?
http://www.pro-cycling-golla.de/Werkzeug/Abziehhuelse_zur_Demontage_des_Spiders_artikel575d2e41991c7.html

When you are putting on 200 miles a week, it is not feasible to go to a dealer for every minor adjustment. Bulls needs to be more friendly to commuters, especially when they are selling commuter model bikes.

art newcomer
4 weeks ago

Bunny. I bought my wife the Bulls Lacuba EVO 8 with the wave frame. It is awesome! I wouldn't suggest a full suspension eBike as there are some tricky engineering challenges that cost money to overcome.
You should at least get a bike with front fork shocks, and you can buy seat posts that have a suspension in them.
There are a few "wave" frames out there for a 5'2" person.

art newcomer
4 weeks ago

I'm looking for a bike that is good in the city, mid-drive that can do 28MPH and also handle some light off road or trail riding, mainly dirt roads. Does anyone have suggestions for such a bike?

I bought the Lacuba EVO 8, it's governed at 20MPH. The EVO 45 is the 28 mph versio. The tires are the same, they have some sort of Kevlar lining. I use my bike on dirt 75% of the time. It does well.
Loose sand with an my eBike has been my only source of concern.

art newcomer
4 weeks ago

Hi all,
I am a 42 year old 6'0" chubby guy pushing 280 lbs and I need to get back on the bike to commute for health and sanity sake. I ride 16-22 miles round trip to work over some hilly roads. Right now on my commuter bike I take about an hour to do the trip when I am feeling good. I want an e-bike to speed things up a bit for the commute. I have narrowed down my choices between the Izip E3 Dash or the Bulls Lacuba Evo for a commuter e-bike and need some input. Price wise the Izip is a little easier to digest where as the Bulls looks like a better motor and battery. So looking for suggestions and input?

Josh, I bought the Lacuba EVO 8 with the gates belt drive. Love it. I am just slightly thinner than you. My bike climbs the hills just fine with me onboard.
I highly recommend it!

5ebikes
2 months ago

I'm new to this. I'm 6' 4" and weigh 245 Lbs. Do I need an "S" bike? I'm looking at the upcoming Vado 3.0 or 5.0. Would the 3.0 work for me with my planned rides (up to 25 miles RT and relatively flat or should I up for a 5.0 just due to my bulk/weight?). I just don't want to buy something that will have the battery quit on me due to my weight. Thanks!

you will not be happy with a 20mph governer. Either, get a tuning dongle to increase the speed or get a 28mph bike. I like and own the Lacuba e45. My Levo has the 20mph governer and it is just fine for a mountain bike, but not acceptable for a street bike.

5ebikes
2 months ago

checkout the Bulls Lacuba evo e45. It's got plenty of hill climbing power and the same motor as the Vado. I live on a steep hill and can maintain 15mph.
You also get real brakes on the Bulls, rather than the 180/160's on the Vado. The e45 comes with 8" rotors. Last, the battery is bigger on the e45.

5ebikes
2 months ago

Looking for a commuter for a 20 mile round trip commute in hilly terrain. My wife has a Stromer ST1 Elite that I like but with so much weight in the back it isn't the most balanced bike I've ever ridden. I haven't test ridden the Specialized as there isn't one local yet but the reviews intrigued me. Anyone know if the Stromer ST1 Elite battery is compatible with the ST1x? Any input, advice, or other suggestions appreciated.
Thanks!

Neither, get the Bulls Lacuba evo e45. It has better specs than the Stromer and Vado. I prefer the e45 over the Giant and the Integrale 11 too.
Call Brent at Great Western Ebikes, if you go in the store, he will work you a deal. btw, I own a Levo and an e45, so I have a dog in both fights. The e45 rides like a dream.

Linda Baer
2 months ago

We've been loving the Wave frame models from Bulls. Check out the Bulls Cross Lite E and the Bulls Lacuba Evo E8. Super easy to mount and dismount and very much in the upright position. Go for the Lacuba if you're looking for the longest battery life. Brose batteries go forever.
I did super like the lacuba, but it's a bit pricey. I'm planning to get the Kalkhoff Agutta B7 in a couple weeks. I think I have done my research and decided it has all the bells and whistles at an affordable price...and it fits me. Thanks so much everyone for your feedback!

pxpaulx
2 months ago

Have you considered the bulls six 50 e 2 street? Very similar to the trek super commuter for over a thousand less (more if you negotiate).

I've ridden the six fifty and the lacuba 45 and liked the six fifty much better. The lacuba is a very upright stance while the six fifty is more forward facing.

With your commute distance so short you don't need more than the 500wh batteries either.

Do you really need a speed pedelec? There are so many more options when you take that requirement out (or did everything you see looking at just happen to fall in this category?).

Btw you can get actual bike insurance for under $200 a year with reasonable deductibles. That plus a good lock are all you need for security.

Finally, I'd say full suspension is absolutely worth it. I'll take my bulls evo fs 27.5 over my easy motion evo pro 27.5 for comfort every time. I do have the body float on my easy motion though, and it does a good job of dampening road bumps, but I wouldn't want it in anything really rough. If you want a speed pedelec and full suspension maybe the bulls evo 45 fs would be a good fit?

Freddie von Stange
2 months ago

Great job! Very well spoken, great angles, and very informative! I'm very impressed, this was done so professionally! Thanks!

TheEdge008
4 months ago

Thank you, Court, for this most excellent video! Because of this review, I bought me a Lacub-R-a (lol) step-thru version from San Diego Fly Rides.

The Brose motor is really powerful and yet quiet, which was what I was looking for.

Most of the time on flats, I don't use the motor. When going against the wind on flats, I use Level 1 assist, sometimes. When climbing decently steep hills, I will go to Level 2. So far, I haven't found a need for Level 3.

The one thing that I wish Bulls would offer is a dummy battery door so that the electrical contacts aren't exposed when I leave the bike outside, say on the balcony of our apartment.

You weren't kidding when you said that this bike is HEAVY! I wish someone out there would develop a motorized bike rack so that I don't have to lift it onto the mounts of a Yakima or Thule.

TheEdge008
3 months ago

Went on a ride yesterday and nearly psyched myself out: There was a sign that said, "12% Grade." I was going to turn around and go another route, but instead I decided to go for it. Yep, even at Level 2 assist I was able to climb it with no problems!

At various points, people were working outside on their yards and didn't even look at me like I was on a motorized bicycle. The Brose motor really is quiet.

In my rides so far, I still haven't found a use for Level 3 yet.

jeremy scarsone
5 months ago

Love your videos court! I just purchased this bike from Chris @propel. I can't wait to get it. Did you notice on the display in your review while you were thumbing through the modes it said the top speed was 84 mph. I wonder what's up with that, anyway thanks for the great reviews and keep them coming!!

Brian Jong, de
6 months ago

I have this bike and Bulls tells me that there is no 350 W version of the brose motor.  Only the 250 W version

Eric de Jong
5 months ago

Strange., because this info is from brose itself.

Eric de Jong
6 months ago

This is my reaction. My son was logged in without me knowing ;-)

lomaanu liya
9 months ago

nice videos bro and very good work and those bell sounds are osum....keep going..

Bernd Hachmeister
9 months ago

Hi. I love your reviews! FYI the automatic kickstand is a must have criteria by law for speed pedelecs - at least in Germany. Similar to motorbikes. It is to prevent you from crashing when driving a curve with the kickstand down. But they are a kind of bommer IMHO too.

Tommi Honkonen
10 months ago

Feminists triggered because you referred to the cyclist as man :D Even tho you corrected afterwards.

George Herman
10 months ago

How many people in these days can afford to buy a bike that cost almost 5 grand. I mean "really". Ridiculousness. Can buy a Honda PCX 150 that costs 2 grand less and gets 100 miles per gallon and goes up 65 mph. Makes no sense to even consider this.

George Herman
5 months ago

Good for you. Carry on.

jeremy scarsone
5 months ago

George Herman I just ordered one. Loved my rad rover so much I wanted to upgrade to something smoother and with more battery capacity

Claudia Moran
9 months ago

George Herman Someone with a steady job, who saves money for what they want can get anything they set their mind to. Besides, at least the bike benefits you with health, there is no price for that.

David Macdonald
10 months ago

nice to see a brake light

Flo Mo
10 months ago

Are not all your tested ebikes your favorites? :) You always say it. But I understand you. Many ebikes are great like this BULLS.

123bigred
10 months ago

at wallmart the best mens mountian bike costs 170 and it only has disk brakes in the front--you think they would offer something better

Fernando H. Dutra
10 months ago

Man ! Thank you for all the reviews. Im from brazil, and i always watch your videos. Can i give a suggestion ? Is more like a favor to me hehehe
Could you try the WIND SENSES ( is a brazilian pedelec bike ).
Also i saw your revier from vela, i learned a lot.
Anyway great job, and thank you for doing it.

scorpin king
10 months ago

you have a lot of e bikes but in my city there is no e bikes at all and if I buy it from the internet it will take a lot of money but I so huppy to see that tecnology and you do great becuase I am arabic person and watching you keep contiue

Chauncey Smith
10 months ago

great review.

Chauncey Smith
10 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com looks like it .

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Thanks Chauncey! This is one of my favorite ebikes so far for 2017 :)

Julia M
10 months ago

How Much is it? What is the warranty, who makes the the battery and what is replacement cost?

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Great questions! all of them are answered in the writeup which I link at the top of every video description: https://electricbikereview.com/bulls/lacuba-evo-e45/

3dkiller
10 months ago

a sweet commuter ebike, beautiful one, only downside is the 350w

Mike B
10 months ago

Good motors(systems) use nominal (normal) wattage in listing their motors.
Cheaper stuff uses the MAXIMUM wattage rating that motor can support for short times.
That 350w nominal is likely 500-600 max.
This ain't bafang. ;)

chgofirefighter
10 months ago

mid drive produce more power than rear drive motors. this Brose motor is Quiet 350W with 90Nm of torque is claimed the most advanced ebike system in the world.

FRANK ROBY
10 months ago

excellent.

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Thanks Frank! Had a great time with this... it feels like they did EVERYTHING with this bike :P