MOAR eBikes 24/7 Review

Moar 24 7 Electric Bike Review
Moar Indiegogo Ebike
Moar 24 7 Bafang 500 Watt Internally Geared Hub Motor Fat Bike Specific
Moar 24 7 Removable 48 Volt Battery Pack
Moar 24 7 Button Pad Lights And Horn Handle Bar
Moar 24 7 King Meter Sw Lcd Display
Moar 24 7 Basig Ergonomic Grips Non Locking
Moar 24 7 Generic Suspension Fork With Lockout Punched Rims
Moar 24 7 Custom Led Projection Headlights With Flashing
Moar 24 7 Rear Fender Custom Battery Holster
Moar 24 7 Integrated Led Light By Spanninga On Battery
Moar 24 7 Shimano Tourney 8 Speed Drivetrain
Moar 24 7 Kspeed Bumper Suspension For Rear Swing Arm
Moar 24 7 Wellgo Folding Aluminum Alloy Platform Pedals
Moar 24 7 Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc Brakes 160 Mm
Moar 24 7 Internal Cables At Fold Joint
Moar 24 7 Folded And Fit Into An Suv Trunk
Moar 24 7 Electric Bike Review
Moar Indiegogo Ebike
Moar 24 7 Bafang 500 Watt Internally Geared Hub Motor Fat Bike Specific
Moar 24 7 Removable 48 Volt Battery Pack
Moar 24 7 Button Pad Lights And Horn Handle Bar
Moar 24 7 King Meter Sw Lcd Display
Moar 24 7 Basig Ergonomic Grips Non Locking
Moar 24 7 Generic Suspension Fork With Lockout Punched Rims
Moar 24 7 Custom Led Projection Headlights With Flashing
Moar 24 7 Rear Fender Custom Battery Holster
Moar 24 7 Integrated Led Light By Spanninga On Battery
Moar 24 7 Shimano Tourney 8 Speed Drivetrain
Moar 24 7 Kspeed Bumper Suspension For Rear Swing Arm
Moar 24 7 Wellgo Folding Aluminum Alloy Platform Pedals
Moar 24 7 Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc Brakes 160 Mm
Moar 24 7 Internal Cables At Fold Joint
Moar 24 7 Folded And Fit Into An Suv Trunk


  • An entry-level full suspension fat tire electric bike with unique battery rack design, adjustable integrated headlights, two backlights, turn signals and electronic horn, you also get a USB port on the display for your own accessories
  • Between the lower PSI rating on the tires and basic suspension systems, the bike is comfortable to ride over bumps, one trade-off is increased frame flex and wobble at higher speeds
  • Available in two colors, sold worldwide through Indiegogo with $195+ for shipping, one-year parts warranty (where they send you fixes), multi-speed drivetrain and nicer brake levers
  • I feel like the brakes would work better if they were larger and hydraulic, especially given the ~75 lb weight, plastic chainring guide is vulnerable when folded, twist throttle is always live (good for advanced users but a hazard when folding if bike is left on)

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers



MOAR eBikes




$2,399 ($195 Shipping in Contiguous USA, $225+ International)

Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Trail, Sand and Snow

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Year Parts Support


United States, Worldwide

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

74.5 lbs (33.79 kg)

Battery Weight:

8.5 lbs (3.85 kg)

Motor Weight:

9 lbs (4.08 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)(Folded Size 39 cm x 86 cm x 84 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

19" Seat Tube, 22" Reach, 30.5" Stand Over Height, 76" Length, Folded Dimensions: (46" Long, 36" High, 20" Wide)

Frame Types:

High-Step, Folding (Patented OCL Joint, DoubleTruss Technology)

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

DNM Suspension with 60 mm Travel, Lockout, Preload Adjust, 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

Kspeed Bumper Suspension with Limited Adjustability, 11 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Rear Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Tourney HG-200-8, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Triggers on Right


Prowheel Forged Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 48T Chainring


Wellgo K79 Folding Aluminum Alloy Platform


Sealed Cartridge Bearings, 1-1/8"


TruVativ 90 mm Length, 7° Rise


Low-Rise, 25" Length, Aluminum Alloy (Aluminum)

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Integrated Bell on Left, Rubberized Edge and Motor Inhibitors


Generic Ergonomic, Rubber


Velo, Brown

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm


Double Wall, Aluminum Alloy, Punched Out, 32 Hole (With Brass Spoke Nipples)


Stainless Steel, 14G Front and 13G Rear, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Juggernaut, 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

30 Threads Per Inch, 5 to 30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Adjustable Length Rear Mounted Kickstand, Integrated Spanninga Lineo Rear LED Light, Two Custom Integrated Projection LED Lights, Integrated LED Brake Light and Turn Signals, Integrated Electric Horn, Plastic Chain Guide


Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.5 lb 2 Amp Charger, Max Weight 220

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:


Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

624 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

5.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Display Type:

King Meter SW-LCD, Fixed, Backlit, LCD, 5 Volt Female USB Port on Left (Removable, Symmetrical Integrated Buttons for Right or Left Handed Users)


Battery Level (5 Bars), Odometer, Trip Meter, Speed, Assist Level (1-5), Timer, Watt

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (With Variable Speed Trigger Throttle)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Cadence Sensor)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (Up to 25 mph Unlocked)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

If you’re interested in fat tire electric bikes and follow crowdfunding sites like Kickstarter and Indiegogo, you might have seen the new MOAR eBikes campaign. Their product line is decidedly affordable, awesome looking and offers full suspension making it unique. If successfully funded, the bikes should arrive in June or July of 2017 and while I normally don’t cover pre-production stuff, I have worked with their marketing agency before and seen other projects, like the Sondors, become very successful… so I wanted to help inform those who might be new to all of this. The thing about crowd funding and online-only products is that they can change, the campaign can fail or be delayed, shipping can cost extra ($195+ in this case), there’s assembly required and you can’t usually test ride it yourself before committing to buy or “support” the project. Thankfully, at least with the Sondors ebike, the product was a big success and I think most people were happy with the delivery timeline and end product.

So I was contacted to review the mid-level MOAR 24/7 model which has a slightly upgraded battery capacity, directable headlights, a brake light, LED turn signals and an electronic horn. In many ways, this thing is approaching moped performance and utility… even moped speed, because you can unlock it to surpass the legal 20 mph limit for off-road or licensed operation. If you’re mostly riding on paved surfaces and packed dirt paths it could be a fun, but heavy, transporter. This is where some of the big questions come up for me, the axles aren’t especially strong and the frame flexes quite a bit due to the pivot points and single-tube design… perhaps the folding bit contributes to this as well? While riding without hands, I noticed significant speed wobble resonating at the front of the bike. Of course, you’ll probably ride with both hands on the bar but this simulates what could happen at higher speeds (I have experienced it and crashed before on other bikes). While most electric bicycles I review weigh ~50 lbs, the MOAR 24/7 was ~75 due to its heavy-duty frame, larger tires, higher rated motor and battery (plus the battery rack arm). This really isn’t a trail or mountain ready ebike though it might look that way. In my opinion, it’s a sporty looking neighborhood electric bike with some cool technology upgrades. Some of the most meaningful upgrades I saw on this model compared with other affordable bikes were the eight-speed drivetrain, alloy folding pedals and included LCD display. Note that the Sondors only came with one gear and you had to pay extra for the display which allowed for pedal assist. This thing gives you five levels of assist and a throttle override (with full power) from the get-go.

Driving the bike is a 500 watt internally geared hub motor from the well-known Bafang company in China. To me, it’s a solid piece of hardware that should last, I appreciate that the motor casing is fat bike specific for better spoke placement and alignment. It offers the kind of power necessary for moving a heavier more friction-full fat bike like the MOAR. And it’s fairly quiet, during my ride tests I noticed that the tires actually produce more noise than the motor. Internally geared motors are more compact and lightweight than gearless or mid-drives but they position the weight that they do add towards the rear. This is clearly a negative with the two lower level MOAR ebikes (the Sun&Fun and 24/7) because the battery is also mounted towards the back. Another area to be aware of is the electronic cable routing which strings along the right chainstay then enters the axle at the right. It didn’t protrude much but could be bent or even cut if the bike tipped over or got pushed up against a wall or thick brush while riding. The derailleur is also mounted on the right side of the bike so just be extra careful with it all, these are the sensitive bits.

Powering the motor and all of those fancy lights is a beautifully packaged 48 volt 13 amp hour battery pack. It slides easily into a custom, sturdy feeling tray and can be charged either on or off the bike. The rubber cover for the charge port can be tricky to press back in but that’s not unique to this specific ebike (come on China! please fix those…) What I really love is how slim the casing is and that it has a name-brand Spanninga light integrated along the back edge along with a large reflector! The pack didn’t rattle like some of the other rear-battery setups I’ve seen and perhaps that’s due in part to the larger tire and rear suspension. The pack locks solidly to the frame but you don’t have to leave the keys in to jingle around as you ride and apparently the final version will have bosses along the left and right as well as the bottom (where the fender is) for adding a cargo rack. Please, do be careful about how much weight and cargo you add, this is already a heavy platform and pack (the battery weighs ~8.5 lbs on its own) and adding too much more could compromise the frame and further impact handling. It might also limit how far your saddle can go down and the angle isn’t great. I’d steer clear of side-hanging panniers too because they could easily rub on the fat tire when turning, or perhaps even get caught and stop the bike. Note, there are not bottle cage bosses on this electric bike. My best suggestion for bringing stuff along isn’t a rack at all, I’d simply wear a hydration pack or normal backpack.

Operating the MOAR electric bikes is a multi-step process and a bit untraditional. Once the battery is charged and slid-on and locked you can toggle an on/off switch on the pack itself then jump to the handle bars and press the Mode button for a few seconds. From here, the display comes on but you’ll have to move back to the battery again in order to activate the Spanninga light mentioned earlier, press the rubberized power button on top of the pack. As soon as the bike is on and the display is working the throttle is live. This isn’t ideal in my opinion because the bike is heavy and you might not be finished positioning it or perhaps parking and folding it. Please be careful with the twist throttle because an accidental twist could lead to the bike taking off and tipping ton one side… and it’s heavy and sort of vulnerable (as mentioned earlier). My own approach would be to have a Zero level that is the default when powered on. In this mode the throttle would not work and you’d be able to handle the bike with lower risk of tipping or taking off. Once arrowing up through the five levels of assist, the throttle could be active and used instantly. I do like that the throttle is currently designed to override assist because it gets you going from stanstill and can be used to pass other riders or ascend a steep hill without messing with the control pad (arrowing up for higher assist). I also like how large and easy to use the display is, and that it has a USB charging port. The obvious downside to all of the display options, nice upgraded brakes and fancy aimable lights is that they crowd the handlebar. Check out the overhead picture I took of the handles and see how nearly all of the space is already taken. I do like the custom lights for safety, and they do light your way a bit! but would be careful with my knees if I were taller. The MOAR e-bike frames only come in one size and the bars are not adjustable, just the saddle height.

I personally feel that the MOAR 24/7 does a lot right but would probably opt for the higher level mid-drive Rapt model if I were going to get one of these. I like to ride more aggressively and feel that the mid-drive would offer the climbing power and reduced frame flex needed for basic trail riding. None of these bikes are going to accel on real mountain bike paths but I bet they’d do alright in some soft dirt and a bit of snow. They look very cool but aren’t as sporty and capable in real life. The suspension is very low end, especially for the rear, and the drivetrain is one of the lowest Shimano offers. I noticed a bit of chain slip while riding and would be extra careful with the mid-drive version due to added forces on the chain… not to mention the impact of the up and down motions from the swing arm. The Bafang mid-drive units I have tried don’t usually offer shift sensing so you’re combining high power with low durability parts and no buffer besides your own riding skills and experience with electric bikes. I’m not sure how many times you’d be able to successfully pull an SUV before needing to replace the chain but that was a fun marketing video on their site. Could you climb stairs? Maybe an advanced rider with some time to practice. I felt unstable at times and really had to slow down when turning due to the weight distribution and flex. But I don’t want this to all sound like a warning, I think their marketing is just that… marketing, but at least the specs, weight and story are authentic. I’m excited to see how this thing does and as mentioned earlier, I feel that they are using better parts and accessories than many other crowd funded electric bikes. You’re getting something unique and fun for your dollar here but it is heavy and there are limitations to what it can do. Note that the headlights can flash (one side or the other at a time) by turning them on and then off again to cycle through. I also want to communicate that the turn signal feature is cool but with the fender I’m not sure how visible it would be. Big thanks to the MOAR and Agency 2.0 teams for partnering with me to make this review possible, especially in advance of their crowd funding campaign launch.


  • Given the low crowdfunding price, I love the fun extras and mid-level components used here compared with some other projects like the Sondors… namely, the eight-speed drivetrain, metal folding pedals and quality brake levers
  • I’m glad they went with disc brakes but 160 mm rotors just barely cut it for a bike this large and heavy, it would be better to have 180 mm rotors (at least up front) and hydraulic lines vs. mechanical for easier actuation
  • Unique lighting options, depending on the model you choose the bike will come with up to four wired-in LED lights! The two headlights can be aimed, the rear brake light goes bright when pulling the brake lever, there are turn signals and a more traditional red backlight
  • Punched-out rims reduce weight, look neat (with the tire liner showing through) and allow for more give and cushion while riding, the PSI range was stated as 5 to 30 which allows for traction in sand or snow at the low end and efficient coasting at the higher end (the tires seemed too full during my ride tests)
  • I love that the chainring has a plastic guide because I almost dropped the chain while riding hard in my review, I do wish the guide was metal instead of plastic however because there didn’t appear to be a stand to protect it while folded (you may end up damaging it if you rest this section of the bike on the ground) and if you try to navigate over logs or big rocks it could make contact
  • The 12-magnet cadence sensor is responsive and you can override instantly with throttle power at all times, I like this kind of control but be careful because the throttle is always live… turn the bike off before trying to fold or lift it!
  • Nice kickstand at the rear, it’s mounted properly which means your left crank arm won’t collide and you can do some chain maintenance without a full stand
  • The display is large, easy to use and backlit… I love that it features a USB charging port on the left (under a protective rubber flap) so you can charge your phone, MP3 player or other portable electronic device from the main battery
  • Unlike many other crowd-funded electric bicycles, this one purports to have a basic one year warranty where they will send parts if there’s a defect, I also found that their crowd-funding documentation was more accurate and less exaggerated and hyped than some past projects
  • I really like the rear fender add-on but am not sure it will come with all versions of the MOAR, the battery box itself acts as a fender and works well enough as-is
  • Many of the cables are internally routed through the frame, this surprised me given how large and heavy it all is, I wasn’t sure if that would compromise strength but they say the bike can still hold up to 220 lbs
  • The charger is compact and lightweight, it’s not super fast at just 2 Amps but it would be easy to carry along for a refill at a friend’s house
  • To activate backlighting on the display hold up and Mode, I like that when you pull the brake levers they cut power to the motor and activate a bright mode for the rear light


  • The bike is heavy, at 74.5 lbs I highly recommend removing the battery and front wheel before lifting (and possibly still getting a friend to help)
  • I experienced a lot of frame flex while riding, this usually happens with heavier electric bikes that have a rear mounted battery and basic suspension designs
  • The folding joint mid-frame protrudes a bit on either side and I bumped my knee while pedaling hard and turning, it’s something to be careful with to avoid bruises
  • While you can get three flavors of the MOAR (including at least two colors and multiple options) the frame sizes are all the same, it’s a taller bike that might not work for people with short legs and less upper body strength (just given the weight and balance of it)
  • Basic suspension means added weight up front and very little adjustability in the rear (with short travel), I’m not sure the added weight and compromise on frame stiffness is worth it for the rear design… you already get a lot of cushion from the large tires, I do like that the front fork can be locked out
  • Multi-step power on process requires a toggle-switch at the battery then a rubber power button at the control panel, same situation with the lights (power on the switch to activate) but I love that the key can be removed while riding
  • Consider bringing along a bungee cord to keep this thing folded during transport and storage, it doesn’t come with magnets or a rubber strap like some higher-end folding ebikes
  • Some assembly required! As with many ebikes using Kickstarter or Indiegogo the MOAR requires a bit of effort to unpack and setup… consider using a local bike shop to dial things in and prepare for a bit of hostility and resentment that you didn’t buy from them (it’s unfortunately but true), note also that shipping is $195+ depending on your location
  • The cockpit is a little crowded with the turn signals and stuff, the display isn’t removable so it could take more damage over time, while some cables are routed through the frame there’s still a big jumble of wires at the front before they enter the tubing
  • This bike positions a lot of weight high up and towards the rear, this is not ideal for handling… and while it looks like a tuff off-road machine it’s probably better suited to neighborhood riding and some light trails (note the flexy frame, thinner 9 mm skewers and low-end derailleur)
  • The grips aren’t locking which means they can twist easier if you’re really holding on tight, for a bike this large and heavy that might be more of an issue as you steer with more force
  • The bike didn’t shift especially well during my ride tests, the derailleur said 6-7 but the grip twist and rings numbered 8 so perhaps this is not final
  • I’ve noticed that some rear heavy bikes and certain frame designs can lend themselves to speed wobble (where the front wheel and bars shake as you go faster), this happened with the MOAR so be careful when you ride to use two hands


1 year ago

Hi, I was looking at this or the RAPT model of this for some mainly on-road urban rides with light off road occasionally. Right now the 24/7 is around $1400 shipped and the RAPT is $2200 shipped. Is there a better all around solution ebike like this that would fold and fit in a trunk? Or for Urban fun rides is this the way to go in 2017 for under $2500?

1 year ago

Hi Micah! I think your intended use is right on… this is one of the only folding fat ebikes around right now (especially full sized with suspension) and the price is solid. I lean towards the mid-drive for improved balance and was told by Ken that it would have shift sensing for reduced drivetrain wear. Not sure it’s worth the extra money for you, the hub motor is zippy and works well enough. If you’ve watched the video I think you get the downsides… if you assemble it correctly and don’t mind some flex on the trails then it might be a good fit for you :)

7 months ago

If youre in a hurry to get the bike DO NOT PURCHASE . i prepaid in MARCH 2017 and STILL HAVENT recieved the bike i am devastated

7 months ago

Ouch, that’s a bummer MARKUS. This is why I sometimes hesitate to review pre-production electric bikes. I cannot say what will actually happen, if the product will arrive, what will change. I am so sorry, this really feels bad to me as someone who wants to help people out. I hope your bike arrives soon, are the MOAR people in touch with you with updates at least?

Douglas Wallis
1 year ago

Ahoy Court , My Most Sincere Thanks for sharing your time , energy , and wisdom with us newbe’s . Your reviews have been extremely helpful to me , while researching my ebike choice . With regard to frame wobble at higher speeds , were you suggesting that the over-hung battery weight contributed to this wobble ? Would there be a field fix to stiffen up that rear suspension , like adding a rear package rack and moving the battery location forward and lower ?

1 year ago

Hi Douglas! I believe the frame flex and wobble comes from the single tube design, possibly the folding joint, the rear suspension links (going to a heavy rear wheel) and the rack weight (including the battery pack). I think it’s this combination of having weight at the extremities and a flexible center that leads to wobble as I have felt similar things on very similar looking ebikes like the EVELO Aries. However, that bike has normal sized tires, a mid-drive motor and double tubing. It’s less flexy but I still felt it which is why the suspension link and battery position strike me as areas that contribute. Hope this helps!

Adrian Chila Cardenosa
1 year ago

Hi Court, Ken has published an update saying that the frame flex is only from screws not being tightened properly. Does this seem feasible to you? I don’t want to get this if it wobbles at moderate-high speeds, but there is no alternative for me at the moment (as I need to find one that ships to Australia!) and this one hits the right price point. Any advice? Thanks!

1 year ago

Hi, this is Ken from MOAR. I’m currently in China overlooking the final fine tuning of the bike. I’m a big fan of EBR, and always looking forward to watching your reviews. Thanks Court, for a great and constructive review. These are as you noted prototypes that were hand-built from scratch because we designed this bike basically from the ground up and these bikes have been used heavily in shoots and tested to death. We ran hundreds of miles on these things to make sure we got the bike right. We love the fact that you noticed the very special attention we paid to making this bike as safe as possible on the road, with our Dual Projection LED Headlights, Integrated LED Brake Light and Turn Signals. And even the loud electric horn is definitely intentional and necessary for riders meshing up with other traffic, rather than just riding in the wild. These are standard features you won’t find on any other ebikes right now.

As you mentioned in your review, there are 3 major areas that we needed to address. 1. The rear wheel assembly. 2. The brakes. 3. The suspension. First thing is we have seriously beefed up the frame, especially in regards to the rear wheel assembly and the swing arms. And we will be going through proper stress tests to ensure that the final frames are solid. Second, we are outfitting them with 180mm brake disc and hydraulic brakes. Thirdly, the suspensions will be an oil damped front fork and rear shock.

We designed the bike basically as an all-around bike with a lot of thought going into it to be fun to ride over the weekend, practical for daily commuting use and designed with road safety in mind since more and more people will be riding these as a commuting solution over city streets rather than just as weekend toys. Finally, yes, we do have shift sensing on the 750w mid-drive model, sorry I forgot to tell you.

We will be coming up with the final pre-production master soon and would love to have you run another test on it, together with the mid-drive model that you might have watched the video of running up the stairs and pulling an SUV from a standstill.” Thanks again for coordinating that review with us!

1 year ago

This is excellent feedback Ken, I’m so glad you took the time to read and watch my review of the bike and have solutions in mind for some of the concerns. I’m excited for you guys (looks like you are successfully funded on Indiegogo!) and would love to stay in touch as the final product is delivered. Again, thanks for making yourself available and being responsive :)

1 year ago

Hi Court, I love how passionate you and your fans are about bikes, your feedbacks are invaluable to our improving our products.

After seeing the way our bike shook in the video I asked my LA team to look into it and they found out what the problem was. They are implementing a quick fix and hopefully we will have something to report back to you guys tmrw.

1 year ago

Cool, thanks for the update Ken, I wish you luck and appreciate your involvement with the comments here, on YouTube and in the forums :)

David Elton
1 year ago

I’m strongly considering the Rapt version of this. While watching the video I was definitely concerned about the wobble as I’ll be commuting in the early morning when there’s little to no traffic on the streets and down some steep hills so I definitely don’t want to experience any wobble or flex. After seeing Ken pop in and claim he’s addressing the wobble, definitely comforts me and makes me feel like the final version will have it addressed.

Also, i have about 30 stairs to climb to get to my front door. If I’m able to ride up those stairs that would be absolutely killer and make this a slam dunk as carrying it all the way up would be a real bummer. As it is I’ll be folding and storing it below and just taking the battery up to my house.

The other thing that is tipping me towards this bike is the awesome lighting situation. Since I’ll be riding a lot in the early dark hours of the morning, I like the idea of really good lighting, especially at the price point. I just want to make sure that if I’m tipping 28 mph, that I’m not feeling the wobble.

1 year ago

Hi David! I’m pretty sure you’ll feel some frame flex but the wobble of wheels might be lessened with some updates (and if you take care of the bike better than their demo model). It’s a neat concept and I like the lights too, the up-stairs maneuver could be difficult if they are narrow, be careful but let me know how it turns out if you go for it :P

Ken MacLean
12 months ago


I live in western Canada and I am exploring ebikes to extend my mountain rides with some electricity as I age. Your review is excellent and helpful as I investigate crowdsourced bikes as an alternative to brand names. I greatly appreciate the completeness and usefulness of your review.


12 months ago

Awesome! Thanks for the positive feedback Ken, I appreciate you taking the time to comment and let me know that this was useful. Feel free to chime in with more comments or in the forums when you find the best bike for your needs… and have fun :D

11 months ago

Hi Court, just stumbled on this review and site. Fantastic review and appreciate your honesty and thoroughness. Will check out your other reviews, in search of my first electric bike. Thanks again.

11 months ago

Hi Dennis! Thanks for the compliment, I try to be fair and deliver a constructive “review” but honestly have only limited time and my own past experiences to draw from. People who actually buy the bikes sometimes comment and the forum can be a useful resource as well. Glad you’ve enjoyed it so far :)


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Ann M.
11 months ago

No ebike is perfect, this is a thread dedicated to sharing known issues or problems with electric bikes from Moar eBikes as well as any help and solutions you know of. Sometimes that means a DIY fix and other times it can mean a recall, software update or part replacement by a dealer.

Please be respectful and constructive with feedback, this is not a space for hate speech. In many cases, representatives from the company will see feedback and use it to improve their product. In the end, the goal is to enjoy riding and help each other go further and be safer.

2 weeks ago

weight-225, physical condition fair, riding style conservative, looking for FS either 27.5 or 29 for intermediate singletrack in mountainous terrain as well as gravel and paved roads,budget 2500-3000. On a test ride yesterday, the lowest setting on a turbo levo was plently of assistance on singletrack, but used highest setting on the road.

2 weeks ago

I totally agree with you. I have 1500 kilometers or more on about 12 different systems, but I always need a little context to answer this type of question. Even the rider’s weight and physical condition matter. Some people here weigh 130 pounds and are very fit, whereas I weigh 220 and am sort of fit. So what seems zippy to them might seem sluggish to me.

2 weeks ago

It might be helpful if you give some specs you are looking for in an ebike. Just asking for the best motor for you can be related on your particular riding style, type of ebike you are looking for, conditioning level, 24/7/365 riding environment, and budget.

2 months ago

Old question. and late reply. 40 years ago, I managed a team that did environment testing. Being a mangy manager, I didn't know nothing, but one of the engineers explained that humid air cooled worse than dry air. The guys would put gear into chambers at 120% RH, 110F and we wanted the printers to run almost 24/7 without paper jams. In the ebike case, at 20 mph air flow on a plastic case ... it's tougher in theory, but unless you run a monster motor, I wouldn't worry.

5 months ago

I ride a bike ~52 weeks a year; fortunatly it only gets down to -10 deg F in S. Indiana. I don't run a car anymore, and riding the bus ceases to be an option when they stack piles of snow/ice on the 10 deg slope the 1000' from my home to the bus stop, and pile show/ice on the sidewalk/grass the 500' from the bus shelter to the door at the discount/grocery store. If I'm going to be in the plowed street, I'd rather ride a bike at 6 mph with flashing lights, than waddle in the street with bags of groceries, or a backpack. Jumping out of the way of cars, that don't really fear police when it snows, or even have visibility except for a little hole straight ahead, is a PI**. The bike in the street gets me in the center of that little hole on the windshield, with brightz flashing red or green lights.
So much shopping is requred in the above post. 99.999% of clothing comes from a country I defended this nation against in the 70's, and who has a pet now that threatens in videos to nuke attack Los Angeles, Washington, & Guam. Plus steals oil fields and fish from its neighbors. You are not allowed to know in this country where anything was made if you buy online, so I mostly shop at Goodwill or Salvation Army resale for used clothing, to avoid supporting the oligarchs who want to overpower us, or the lords of commerce that are selling us into slavery to them.
10 Deg & below I wear 5 layers on top, 4 layers below the belt, 2 layers socks, and thick sole high top freshly polished (water resistant) leather Army boots. Ordinary clothing including sweater and a water resistant fluff or quilt lined jacket suffice, especially if the collar snaps up around my neck. But three cold weather items have to be bought new, made in ***** since there is no alternative. Gloves: 2 layers of gloves salvaged from the berm don't make it below 10 deg F, especially if the wind is high. What works (here, only -25 deg wind chill) is work gloves from the farm supply; thinsulate is one brand and there are competitor branded linings. The fluffy lined leather splits outer work gloves only protect down to 10 deg F IMHO. I've gone into shock wearing those and had to stop in a dollar store to warm the hands up.
The cotton long underwear I usually wear as a second layer which formerly came from harmless Guatamala/Costa Rica has disappeared from the stores, and the list for $40/item underwear in branded material listed above from sportswear companies explains the reason I suppose. I'm not going to be out 24/7 on the North slope of Alaska, but when I was out 24/5 at -18 deg and 40 mph wind at Ft Riley, cotton long underwear + cotton jeans + oversized fatigue pants + rainsuit (vinyl) pants sufficed instead of the itchy wool overpant the Army issued. We did wear rubber insulated boots in the Ft Riley field below 0 deg. Here in S. Indiana, a bibbed fluff stuffed work pant sold by Carhart in farm/welding supplies , and made in central America, is nicely warm when wind chill is below -10 F. I wear that over dickies polyester/cotton pants, long cotton underwear, regular cotton/poly underwear. One other essential imported item, a quilted helmet liner to cover my ears from the welding supply. Inevitibly these days. made in *****. My regular bike helmet goes over that nicely. I do wear clear uvex glasses from the welding supply, or grade 5 welding glasses if the sun is bright. Those trucks sling de-ice rocks at your face.
Because they do plow here on the way to the store and my volunteer jobsite, I don't mess with the studded tires. The knobby kendall 2.0"X26" I ride year round do okay in fresh fluffy stuff or wet slush, before they plow. After they plow, I'm in the street, or pushing the bike. Oddly, pushing a bike with 40 lb groceries in a basket I find easier, than tromping over 30" piles of ice with a backpack. One advantage of the Kendall tires, they come from a country that has never attacked anybody. Tubes inevitably come from *****, can't be avoided or bought used. Glare Ice and snow over 1/2" frozen rain, I try to stay inside and eat canned food for a week. No mode of transporation I do except crawling is safe in that stuff.

6 months ago

That Moar 24/7 is a pretty interesting looking bike. Certainly seems to tick a lot of your checkmarks.

I'll second Tern, they have some very good stuff. Good ebike builder imo, their product are VERY well thought out.

You could also consider the Kutty from Biktrix. It has a throttle though (I personally prefer pure pedelecs). Using the throttle significantly reduces your battery range. But it's got pretty meaty tires and I think checks off everything on your list.

6 months ago

While the following is what I'm looking for, I understand it doesnt exist and trade-offs will happen. I would like a bike that is foldable, durable in all its parts, maintains speeds of 20mph, manages cold weather and has the option to install tires for snow, bearable rideability in the event of no battery, has a superior battery life, easily switched out battery, integrated lights and phone mount.

I need the foldability and durability first. It will be used for about 60 miles per day and folded many times. However, weight isn't too much of an issue as long as it can relativly easily be put into the trunk of my car. The battery isn't super important as I can just purchase back-ups, but I don't want to need to switch a dozen times during the day, and the more I switch it out, the easier I would like it to be. I could live with a slightly lower speed and the roads I'll be riding on -should- be plowed. Rideability - I'll be using the motor almost exclusively, so it's only for emergecies and not particularly important either. Intergrated stuff I could go without and just add later if needed. But the less I have to trade-off the better.

I know almost nothing about electric bikes, but I was considering the MOAR 24/7. What are your professional opinions?

86 and still kicking
6 months ago

We advise never buying an eBike you have not test ridden as the first test any bicycle must pass is correct geometry for the rider. If the geometry of the bike does not work, all the features in the world will not make the customer ride the bike. No matter where you buy your bike you should:

a. test ride, test ride, test ride
b. establish a relationship with a local service provider to handle any and all issues for you.
c. have your local dealer build and setup the bike properly. We receive 6 to 10 new ebikes a week for customers and they come almost assembled except for handlebars and sometimes front wheel. Our mechanics typically spend 90-120 minutes to build each bike as we have yet to see a bike come from the factory perfectly setup. We remove and check cranks for proper lubrication and torque, remove wheels to true and spoke tension, check derailleur alignment and then adjust, et. al. These are things the average consumer will never do.

We have no brick and mortar an carry no inventory. We spend the margin we make on a sale in service back to the customer. We provide 24/7 phone or email support, 12 months of free roadside assistance, free warranty service pick up and delivery, and install all accessories for free. I spent last Sunday night on the phone with a customer who got a flat rear tire and walked him through how to remove the wheel and change the tire. It was not a warranty issue but we fully realize that the reason folks return to a company for continued purchase is service.

We provide at home or office test rides for up to 2 eBikes and will be glad to leave one overnight in case someone wants to take an extended test ride or try commuting to work.

My point is that a happy eBike rider and future purchaser does not end with the sale but begins with the sale. You may not find a local dealer with our model but having a long-term partner in your riding experience is both comforting and important.

7 months ago

I've still haven't seen any ebikes in the New Mexico the routes I usually travel. I think the price of admission for ebikes found locally at Trek or REI is still scaring folks off along with ebikes don't provide "real exercise" stigma. I've notice more folks are weekend biking now compared to just 4-5 years ago and I see more vehicles with bike racks on them 24/7.

Might have to see a significant drop in prices to get folks on ebikes in my neck of the woods.

7 months ago

I see your point but on the flip side having a dedicated, active community is far more useful than if he had 20 customer service people. Facebook is 24/7, the support to questions and issues is almost immediate, the price is right and you can't get that from a standard customer service model. Also, in his newest release of ebikes and the latest enhancements such as 7-speed options, front suspension and 48v system was all based on the direct feedback he received from that same group. You won't find many "major players" listening to their own customers like that.

Sondors just announced a plan to let you invest and become part of the company. Lets see a "major player" do that!

9 months ago

The Vee8 roll so much easier, less noise on paved roads, faster acceleration, 1-2 mph higher cruising speed, top speed 1-2 mph faster, less flats, and they seem to wear less compared to the Kenda. The Vee8 have more than enough knobs for the single track riding I like to do with hard packed dirt to sandy conditions. It really felt like the Kenda take a little bit more effort when riding and that might have zapped my acceleration and range a little bit. I didn't notice the extra effort until I had Kenda on one bike and Vee8 on the other. I've noticed the Vee8 feel a little better at higher PSIs of 20-25 compared to the Kenda I would run in th 12-20 PSI range. I tried running the Vee8 at lower PSI of 12-17 and they felt real squirrelly. I only got around 800 miles from the rear Kenda tires with about 30%-35% tread left before I switched one bike to Vee8. I'm now around 500 miles on this bike with the Vee8 and the tread still looks pretty good with way more tread at this time compared to Kenda.

I've had the Boomerang since Sept/2016 on both bikes ($200 for unit, $50 per year monitoring). I usually keep the bikes in my garage or small server room next to my office when I work commute. I like to travel with the RR and I can't always take both bikes into the hotel rooms or have to leave unattended for hours. A lot of thieves target hotels in my hometown because of all of the out of state travelers (I figure they would do the same when I travel). I have extra locks, chains, and U-Bolts I can add when parked. I figured the extra locks will take a few minutes to cut; but, the Boomerang should alarm in seconds to let me know if there is a problem. It uses the Verizon cell network and your smartphone app to arm/disarm, alarm with 110 db alarm when moved, notify you by email, and track your bike using google maps. You can also track using the internet app; but, you can't arm/disarm or get the email notifications with this (smartphone only). I think this is one of the 1st gen version of cell based GPS trackers that work pretty good. I'm thinking we should see more smaller, cheaper, and better systems in the next few years. I would recommend Boomerang or other GPS trackers if you travel or have to leave your bike unattended for hours in a less secure location.

An added feature is I sometimes put a Boomerang unit in the back of my SUV (I have a 12v plug in the hatch). I use it as a cheap Lo-Jack system for my vehicle if I'm traveling without the bikes. I did this when traveling to LA, Vegas, Utah, and Colorado without any problems. I don't arm it, I just use the google map tracking feature. I figure I'm paying for 24/7 tracking, might as well use it as much as I can with or without the bikes.

3 weeks ago

I can attest that the release version of this bike does not wobble whatsoever, and is very solid!

2 months ago

this bike really appeals to me, but i just can't bring myself to buy one until i see a follow up review that conclusively shows that the wobble issue has been rectified. no way am i taking that sort of gamble with that sort of money. MOAR really needs to put out a "final product" for review. i suppose i'll have to wait until the first wave of crowdfunders do their reviews. maybe i'll be able to get one by summer 2019

3 months ago

What is the fastest speed?

dawin win
4 months ago

MOAR $$?

Peter Crutchley
4 months ago

Your presentation and camera work is excellent.

Pedro Aramburu
5 months ago

This company needs to address a lot of issues. Great honest review. Keep up the work eventually you might get there. I like the idea but it still needs work . Check Lunacycle. These guys know what they are doing !

Dan Lund
5 months ago

Thankfully this was an early prototype.

Dan Lund
5 months ago

Production has been started but the first official 1.0 version hasn’t been shipped yet. That shipment should happen either this month or next, since all things have ironed itself out with production. I purchased batch 2 which will be later. Once it comes out in production, a review of that bike would be great.
5 months ago

Right, I heard they improved some of it, might do a follow-up review in the future. Did you get it? I'm open to feedback if you have gotten to test out the updates?

Christoph Pichlbauer
8 months ago

This thing doesnt look like it can pull a suv 😂 sure not

10 months ago

Who would trust their life with that much frame flex ?

Arnold Winters
10 months ago

The heavy total weight, with the high battery design and rear weight distribution paired with an overly flexible frame makes this an unsafe bike for me. Plus the wires are not hidden and are all over the place. There is a small brake cylinder and mechanical grips which make the braking system inadequate. I give this bike a poor grade for me. For $1,799 + $70 Shipping you can get a Full suspension Voltbike Enduro, with a low mid hub motor. That is a much safer bike with a less expensive price.

Gary Shirey
10 months ago

We are at the beginning of the evolution of these things. In a decade or two, we will look back and smile at how crude these models are, just like with cars and motorcycles. But, don't knock it; they will get better.

Alen Spyctaron
10 months ago

Where i can buy this bike ? the MOAR 24 7, can some one tell me ?

human 64
6 months ago

Just google it

10 months ago

thank you for your reviews..old saying goes on ...think b4 u buy and see the professional and technical reviews, pron & cons and design construction and so on if the e-bike for city use, semi-off road use or non off-road use at all...
Ur reviews is appreciated very much it gives as educational technical info for this.

Hariz Azhar
11 months ago

Well, this e-bike is my goal now

11 months ago

too expensive

11 months ago

Thanks a bunch for the review showing clearly the pros and cons of the bike. A prototype having this kind of wobble and flex in the frame stopped me from making the jump! While an airplane wing must be flexible, a bike shouldn't at the areas you've pointed out. No matter this is addressed by the manufacturer, this would appear like "adding plaster on a wooden leg". Maybe a markII will be have the issue corrected?

11 months ago

why on Earth did you not ask the guys about the rear wheel wobble that is the only thing that has me hesitating on sponsoring this

11 months ago

Its 2017 , still no flying bikes ! Why we still in stonage with wheels

Raven M.
11 months ago

At time 21:56 it sounds like he accidentally blows the bikes horn while folding the bike to load into the SUV. How would that have been possible with the battery removed?

11 months ago

the cap in the controller still have power not much just enough to hear the horn omg

Myles Nicholas
12 months ago

Excellent review, the bike has a long way to go to be user friendly.
The folding mechanism looks lethal, a cluttered handle bar is unsightly.
All those sprockets belong on a push bike not an e-bike.
Even a tooth belt would be an improvment.