Evelo Aries Review

2014 Evelo Aries Electric Bike Review
2014 Evelo Aries Electric Bike
2014 Evelo Aries Mid Drive Motor 500w
2014 Evelo Aries Rear Battery Pack Rack
2014 Evelo Aries Display Throttle Shifter
2014 Evelo Aries Nuvinci Continuously Variable Transmission
2014 Evelo Aries Center Shock Absorber
2014 Evelo Aries Nuvinci Shifter
2014 Evelo Aries Headlight Fender Mount
2014 Evelo Aries
2014 Evelo Aries Mid Drive Canister
2014 Evelo Aries Removable Battery Pack
2014 Evelo Aries Cockpit Display Shifters
2014 Evelo Aries Rockshox Lockout
2014 Evelo Aries Rear Suspension
2014 Evelo Aries Mechanical Disc Brake
2014 Evelo Aries Led Headlight
2014 Evelo Aries Chain Tensioner
2014 Evelo Aries Cadence Sensor Magnets
2014 Evelo Aries Backlit Display Panel
2014 Evelo Aries 12 Sensor Cadense
2014 Evelo Aries Electric Bike Review
2014 Evelo Aries Electric Bike
2014 Evelo Aries Mid Drive Motor 500w
2014 Evelo Aries Rear Battery Pack Rack
2014 Evelo Aries Display Throttle Shifter
2014 Evelo Aries Nuvinci Continuously Variable Transmission
2014 Evelo Aries Center Shock Absorber
2014 Evelo Aries Nuvinci Shifter
2014 Evelo Aries Headlight Fender Mount
2014 Evelo Aries
2014 Evelo Aries Mid Drive Canister
2014 Evelo Aries Removable Battery Pack
2014 Evelo Aries Cockpit Display Shifters
2014 Evelo Aries Rockshox Lockout
2014 Evelo Aries Rear Suspension
2014 Evelo Aries Mechanical Disc Brake
2014 Evelo Aries Led Headlight
2014 Evelo Aries Chain Tensioner
2014 Evelo Aries Cadence Sensor Magnets
2014 Evelo Aries Backlit Display Panel
2014 Evelo Aries 12 Sensor Cadense


  • Full suspension city bike with basic mid-drive system (upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options)
  • Nice accessories including USB charger, front and rear LED lights, mechanical disc brakes and a fender
  • Battery weight is mounted high vs. low and center, the motor isn't sophisticated enough to let up when shifting which can mash gears, the frame is relatively heavy and can feel squishy vs. stiff

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away


National eBike Shops

Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205
Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers







$2,079 USD (Add $400 for NuVinci N360, Add $500 for Larger Battery, Add $675 for Larger Motor)

Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


18 Month Comprehensive, Add 6 Months for $99


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

59 lbs ( 26.76 kg )

Battery Weight:

8 lbs ( 3.62 kg ) (Larger Pack 9 lbs)

Frame Types:


Frame Sizes:

19 in ( 48.26 cm )

Geometry Measurements:

Overall Length: 66"

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

RockShox XC28 Suspension with Lockout

Frame Rear Details:

Basic Suspension

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Alivio or NuVinci CVT

Shifter Details:

Shimano RM410 Grip Twist on Right Bar (Optional NuVinci Grip Twist on Right Bar)


Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform


Tonaro TDS-C215, Adjustable Angle

Brake Details:

Tektro Novelo Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Cutoff


Rubber, Ergonomic


Velo (Optional Upgrade Program)

Tire Brand:


Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )


Single Side Kickstand, Rear Rack with Spring Latch, Front and Rear LED Lights by Spinnga, Front Fender


Removable Battery Pack, 12 Magnet Pedelec Sensor, Quick Release Front and Rear Wheel

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts (Optional 250w)

Battery Brand:

Samsung (Optional Panasonic)

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10 ah (Optional 17 ah)

Battery Watt Hours:

360 wh (Optional 612 wh)

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4.5 hours (Up to 6 With Larger Pack)

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles ( 32 km )

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles ( 97 km )

Display Type:

Backlit Monochrome LCD


Speed, Odometer, Battery Level, Assist Level

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Left Bar

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph ( 32 kph )

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Evelo Aries offers a cool aesthetic and comfortable “full suspension” ride that’s best suited for on-road and light trail riding. The frame is relatively heavy, somewhat bouncy and limited to a medium size. It’s meant to offer the benefits of mid-drive (improved climbing ability, balance and range) at a value price but suffers from a couple of technical issues (slower pedal cadence and rougher shifting). These issues can be be addressed if you’re willing to pay a bit extra for the 500 watt motor and NuVinci continuously variable transmission (CVT) but that will also add extra weight to an already solid 59 pound bike. The core of this bike hasn’t changed since version one but in 2014 several improvements were made including the addition of a large backlit LCD display panel with included USB charger, tighter battery case that no longer rattles, stiffer front fender that reduces bouncing motion in the headlight and a 12 magnet cadence sensor with smoother assist activation.

The stock motor on the Aries is a 250 watt mid-drive canister that pulls the same chain that the rider does when pedaling. By doing this, it is able to leverage the rear cassette cogs to improve mechanical efficiency when climbing or gaining speed. The logic here is “why make the motor only use one gear when there are eight available” and it makes a lot of sense. The downside is increased stress on the chain and rear chain ring teeth. It also doesn’t work very well if the motor speed range is limited (which is the case here) because it changes the way you have to pedal in order to “match the motor” vs. having it just work for you. This issue can be somewhat addressed with the upgraded 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery (that will also improve power for climbing) but it’s still not perfect.

You can also improve the ride by upgrading to the NuVinci N360 hub which doesn’t rely on gears and can thus be adjusted at standstill or on the fly without any grinding. I love these “upgrade” options that Evelo offers but together they will cost over $1,000. There are other drive systems available on the market like the Bosch centerdrive that actually sense when you shift and cut the motor off. Many of these systems spin at higher RPM’s by default for a smoother more natural ride. Another more affordable ebike called the IZIP Peak actually senses your cadence, torque and speed to direct the motor while the Evelo Aries mid-drive system only uses cadence. If you’re planning to actually go off road, the Peak is also rated for trail riding and has a more rigid frame in part thanks to the hardtail setup. A future full suspension Peak is planned but will cost more.

The battery design on the Aries has been improved from the first generation and no longer rattles when riding which is fantastic. The pack consists of either Samsung or Panasonic Lithium ion cells in a 36 volt configuration at 10 or 17 amp hours respectively or 48 volt 10 amp hour with the upgraded 500 watt motor. These packs are high quality and come with an 18 month warranty which is great. I love that you can charge the pack on or off the bike and that removing it reduces the overall weight of the unit for transport. Still, the way it’s mounted high and in the rear isn’t my favorite in terms of balance. This is especially true for a full suspension design where the rear end bounces around when traveling off curbs due to the lack of rebound and extra weight of the battery. I like that they’ve included a basic metal rack on top of the battery rack for a bag or panniers but there aren’t guards along the sides so make sure your panniers aren’t too long or they could bump into the tire and spokes.

One of the biggest areas of improvement for this version of the Aries is a large backlit LCD display panel mounted right at the center of the handle bars. It’s easy to read and offers information about speed, distance, pedal assist level and battery capacity. I’ve seen this display (made by King) in use on other ebikes and am a big fan, you can even swivel it forward or back to reduce glare. As mentioned before, it includes a USB port along the backside to make charging your portable electronics easy and the main battery is also wired into the front and rear light so basically you can run everything from one central location. Reaching the display panel is simple thanks to a small control pad located near the grip on the left handle bar. From here you can turn the bike on and navigate up or down through different levels of assist. All in all the cockpit on this ebike is easy to use and the grip shifter on the right compliments the twist throttle on the left. I appreciate the Tektro brake levers which activate the mechanical disc brakes and simultaneously cut power to the motor (which can be useful when shifting gears). If you do end up going off road, the disc brakes will stay cleaner than rim brakes might and that will improve stopping power.

The Aries isn’t a perfect bike, it only comes in one size and costs a bit extra to really get right, but it’s one of the few lower-end full suspension ebikes available. The RockShox suspension fork really smoothes things out and includes a lockout for improved efficiency by reducing energy loss through “bobbing” as a result of heavy pedaling but there are no such adjustments at the rear. The ergonomic grips add a bit of comfort but don’t have lockers at the end and may spin if you grip them tightly when riding. It’s great that they offer black and white color options and the oversized Wellgo platform pedals are stiff and grippy… This is one of the more affordable mid-drive ebikes (especially if you pass up on the NuVinci and motor upgrades). Most mid-drive ebikes aren’t as immediately satisfying as a hub motor design but they do offer that increased range and climbing ability and Evelo offers excellent customer service. They are very responsive and committed to ongoing improvement (as evidenced through all of the improvements shown here).


  • Mid-drive motor system offers efficient power use by leveraging the rear cassette (good for climbing and extended range)
  • Upgraded LCD display panel is backlit and includes a break-out button pad for easy reach when riding
  • Optional NuVinci continuously variable transmission hub is smooth, can be changed at rest and won’t mash when pedaling
  • Battery pack doubles as a fender and includes a spring rack on top for mounting a bag, battery can be removed for charging off the bike or to make the unit lighter during transport
  • Tires and wheels are easier to service on a mid-drive bicycle because you don’t have extra wires and the weight of a hub motor to deal with
  • Solid RockShox suspension fork with long travel and lockout for use on hard pavement to reduce bobbing
  • Basic rear suspension provides extra cushion when riding over cracks, bumps and potholes
  • Good mechanical disc brakes with Tektro levers that cut power to the motor when used
  • The cadence sensor uses 12 magnets which smoothes out assist (old units used just 5 sensors)
  • Front and rear LED lights work well and are wired right into the main battery, there is also a USB charger for use with portable electronics like mobile phones or mp3 players
  • Comfort saddle and adjustable stem improve ergonomics for riders of different sizes
  • Solid year and a half warranty on everything including frame, motor and battery pack
  • Lithium-ion battery cells are from higher end manufacturers (Samsung and Panasonic) offering higher energy density and increased number of charge cycles
  • Solid kickstand is easy to use and stays high out of the way when riding


  • Front fender design has been improved (stiffer than 1st gen) but the LED light can still bounce a bit and the fender doesn’t offer the same water protection as a closer and longer one might
  • In its base form this bike is offers good value but the price can really add up with the NuVinci, 500 watt motor and extended range 17 amp hour battery pack
  • The motors used for this bike can’t sense when you’re shifting gears and thus, will not ease up which can cause mashing and strain the chain
  • The battery pack is mounted high up and in the rear which is not ideal for balance, the weight here creates a bouncy feeling with the rear suspension
  • The rear spring rack is decent but doesn’t work very well for longer panniers
  • There are no water bottle mounts, have to use the saddle rack with a bag or a camel back
  • This full suspension frame design bends and bounces more than higher end true off-road electric bikes which stay rigid and keep battery weight closer to the main triangle vs. off to the back
  • If you get the NuVinci CVT hub there will be extra cables that run across the downtube (it requires two cables vs. one with standard derailleurs) see pictures above


Trusted Advertisers

More EVELO Reviews

Evelo Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $2,079
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Value driven but well rounded mid-drive ebike with upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options. Great features include backlit LCD display with built in USB charger, front and rear LED…...

2013 Evelo Aries Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable full suspension electric bike with mid-grade Lithium polymer battery. Decent strength (36 Volts of power) and range (10 amp hour capacity)...

2013 Evelo Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Offers lots of features but isn't particularly strong or fast as an electric bike. Entry level components get the job done and keep the price lower, unique frame flexes...

George Sears
2 years ago

I am trying to sort out this review and the earlier review. The video on YouTube is dated 2014, but this review is dated 2013, but I assume both are about the updated 2014 version. I was surprised by the original review because the people who bought bikes and posted reviews on the Evolo site seemed pretty happy. It seemed like an older crowd.

I don't really think that the low-end mid-drive offers that much. If you can go with NuVinci it's obviously better, but so many people ride 500w hub motor systems and never complain about hill climbing or shifting. Some people don't use the gears. I ran my X3 up a 5% grade and it goes around 15mph without much pedaling. (ProdecoTech rates the battery case on the back to carry less than 10 pounds on top. No rack.)

I'm sure a Bosch system would be completely refined, but it's just in a different price segment. I appreciate what Evolo is trying to do but I wonder if they could just make a nice rear hub system with basic gearing, quality components, etc, and then work their value pricing magic. It's under-spec'd at the published price, and it you add what you probably need to make a good system, it starts to leap in price over other ebikes, maybe the E3 Dash or Neo Jet.

It's always great to see comprehensive reviews. Thanks.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi George! Thanks for the tip about review date. I just missed updating the year, it was shot in early 2014 and published this July.

I love the great marketing, iterative improvements and support that EVELO offers but agree that the cost benefit loses some punch with the added price of the NuVinci, 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery upgrade. They've been around for a while now and are doing a great job as a company, excited to see how their technology improves or shifts with the next generation of products :)

Boris Mordkovich
2 years ago

Dear Court and ElectricBikeReview Readers:

My name is Boris Mordkovich. I’m the co-founder and CEO of EVELO Electric Bicycle company. I really appreciate the comments brought up in this review and just wanted to let you know that if anyone has any further questions, concerns or other feedback, I’m available to address it personally – so please don’t hesitate to get in touch. To reach me directly, just call 877-991-7272 or email at boris@evelo.com.

I realize that some of the readers may be concerned about the rating in this review. To provide a bit more context, we just wanted to share some of the feedback that we've received from our customers over the years:

http://www.facebook.com/iloveevelo (see Reviews section)

More importantly, we encourage anyone considering an electric bike to connect with another EVELO owner through our Ambassador program: http://www.evelo.com/find-dealer/#ambassador - either in person or by phone. It's a great way to hear more about different people's experiences with their electric bikes.

If there are any questions or issues that I can address, please don't hesitate to reach out. Our team and I are here to help! Look forward to hearing from you!

Best Regards,
Boris Mordkovich | CEO & Co-Founder

2 years ago

I choose the white Aurora from Evelo because its style of frame allowed me to get on the bicycle easier. It has the NuVinci 360 drivetrain, thank goodness. After receiving the bike it was assembled and ridden within 15 minutes, even the battery had a partial charge. Once able to ride more frequently I made a few personal changes for my comfort. Evelo supplied me with a taller bar stem and a credit for a more comfortable seat. I’ve had a few minor problems which Evelo addressed immediately. They have excellent customer service. I started out slow and now ride 15 to 20 miles a day, six days a week. I don’t know how it compares with other electric bikes but this bicycle fits my needs perfectly. I even mounted a speaker for my ipod to have even more entertainment on my rides. Without the Evelo bike I doubt that I would even be riding. Thank you sincerely, Larry Zimmerman, Alta, CA

2 years ago

Evelo is an amazing bike and company. Everyone at the business has been great. I bought the aries with all upgrades. I have owned e bikes in the past, I love this bike. I can't drive and hardly walk because of disability. This bike has set me free. I am amazed every time I ride. Thank you for making a great bike, Boris Mordkovich! We had several discussions, I do appreciate the help. All off your associates are great! Todd Matousek

Court Rye
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing your experience here Todd. I agree that EVELO offers great customer service. I've met Boris and he's a smart, hard working individual :)

2 years ago

Hello Court, Im looking at the Luna model from Evelo for a more sit up straight style ride and easy to get on and off plus waiting at a light its easy to just stand and hold the bike and then get back on the seat. The full fenders good to for when we have wet raod from rain here in Bradenton, Fla:) I would get their upgrade transmission system for it and also the larger battery and might even carry an extra one in a saddle bag that they are including I think free for a special too plus a discount on the battery upgrade. Its all flat ground around here and will right just on pavement and sidewalks. Not sure if there are any dealers near me here in 5007 Lorraine Bradenton, Fla 34211. The people I read about seem to like the company. Im new to the electric bike world:)

Boris Mordkovich
1 year ago

Dear Jack,

My name is Boris Mordkovich. I’m the co-founder and CEO of EVELO Electric Bicycle company.

I've just noticed the comment you left here a few months ago regarding the Luna. I - and the rest of our team - are always available to address any questions or concerns you may have.

Would you be able to give us a call at 877-991-7272 or shoot us a quick email at www.evelo.com/contact-us/? We have friendly customer service team available 7 days a week and guarantee a response within 24 hours (usually just within 2!).

I look forward to hearing from you!

Boris Mordkovich
EVELO CEO & Co-Founder

Bill G
1 year ago

If I had to describe my New Aries in one word.... ZOOM. I have put over 260 miles on my Evelo Aries in the past few weeks. I have the 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery up grade, and the Nu-Vinci CV Hub. Zoom! Nothing but fun. And more fun. After 25 miles on pedal assist I still have over half a battery left. Hills become flat. I have been riding on pavement, dirt roads and trails in the forest. Riding a regular bike is quite a bit of work in hilly areas like where I live. My Evelo makes riding fun. My bike gets me out of the house going to places I would not go other-wise. When I go to public places like the farmers market half the people ask me about my bike and think it looks pretty cool. It's a great ice breaker. Evelo customer service is the tops. Real people calling or emailing quickly concerning questions I had. Changing gear ratio with the Nu-Vinci hub...easy...Zoom. Pedal assist power level, push a button....ZOOM. I use my Aries mostly for recreation, in Flagstaff AZ, 60 plus miles of Urban Trails. But I can leave the car at home and Zoom to the post office too. Bill G. Flagstaff, AZ

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Bill! It's great to hear how much you're enjoying the Aries, I agree that it's a cool looking bike and the NuVinci is great. I was disapointed with the weight, frame flex and limited suspension performance for true off-road riding but around town it works well and you're right about support, I think EVELO puts more into their customer care and marketing than most ebike companies and I really appreciate that. Ride safe!

Bill G
1 year ago

Hi Court Rye ! The last bike I owned was a Moto Becon... spell that. A street bike. That was thirty years old. I never owned a Mountain Bike. I am not a "bike person" . I am a late 50s guy, I am letting my Aries do half the work. Instead for sitting around and a weekend, I am riding 30 mile a day to.....everywhere. Half my rides are packed gravel paths, Awesome Urban Trails, the rest pavement It is not a mountain bike for sure. I tried our forest 'Trails". It is not a Rock Climber for sure. The bike is heavy for sure. And I do feel the flex. I have two neighbors in their 30s. Between them they own two dozen bikes, street and mountain. They build bikes from parts. They have light, strong mountain bikes. Those bikes cost more then my bike. Just a bike frame is pricey. They gave my Aries a once over and a test ride. They laughed at the weight. They laughed more when they rode it up a steep hill at 15 plus MPH with power assist pedaling. They commented in the positive of the Rock Shox and Breaks. I would not know a "good" bike from a "poor" bike. I do know I am having FUN. Zoom. Grins. Ride On !

Miguel Maldonado
8 months ago

Will it be possible to upgrade this review to a 2015 or 2016 Aries fully upgraded ebike? This is one of the ebikes that I am evaluating to get in the next couple of months. Thanks (the other one is the Easy Motion Evo 27.5 Jumper)

Court Rye
8 months ago

Hi Miguel! I probably won't see one of their latest models within the coming month or two, sorry about that... I personally love the Easy motion Evo Jumper but it tends to be more expensive. What I found is that the frame is lighter, stiffer and the motor is more responsive. Easy Motion has a great warranty and their bikes also look good with the integrated battery (and are very well balanced compared with the rear-rack battery on the Aries). I hope this helps you!

Hugo Munoz-Breto
4 months ago

First about the Evelo Aries: I have no less to say than "GENIUS" !!! The combination of a mid drive and the NuVinci is a match made in heaven. I am able to cruise at 15 MPH and use 120 Watts of power by setting the NuVinci in the right position. The battery holds up great and I know this because I am commuting 50 Miles round trip Monday through Friday. I have gotten a lot of WOW remarks about the bike from people along my commuting route and questions about the bike.

The customer service has been excellent and fast bringing the issues to resolution. Thank you for your help and we will keep in touch. Regards Hugo Munoz-Breto

Court Rye
3 months ago

Glad to hear the bike has been working well for you Hugo, I agree that the NuVinci CVT is pretty awesome!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

James S. Franchek
2 months ago
Bill Mitchell
My wife and I are both 67 and will be riding in the semi-bike-friendly environs of Boston and Brookline. Some local hills present challenges for our bad knees, thus our interest in ebikes as opposed to the 15 year-old city bikes we're riding now. Considering Evelo Luna (http://blixbike.com/products/komfortplus). We're newbies, so welcome any and all counsel you can provide. Thanks!
I am from Wayland and bought an Aries last June. I ride between 50 and 100 miles a week. I took time getting used to the Nuvinci transmission but like it now (I think). I seem to not change gears very often however. I am not loving the disk brakes as they have needed adjustment three times already and I have just under 500 miles on the bike. I am not mechanically inclined and so these adjustments are a real pain. I am 60 and find a great health benefit to riding the ebikes. This is my second. Just thought that I would say hello.
William Hemmingsen
3 months ago
Bruce L
Thinking about replacing the rear shock on an Evelo Aries. What is on the bike now is an HLT-620. I can't find out anything about it. But I suspect it is basically just a metal spring in a can with some kind of dampening. I'm wondering if an air shock would work better for a smoother ride, and then which one to get?
It is just a spring in a can for the most part. I doubt it has much actual dampening. Does the shock have a spring rate on it? My guess is its about 500-1000. What is the eye to eye measurement? Measure bolt to bolt with no weight on the bike, by lifting the rear if the bike by the seat post.

Depending on the spring weight and measurement will determine if you can use an air sock or not. If its a high spring weight over 800lbs+, you will have a hard time finding an air shock that could hold that kind of pressure (at least not an afordable one ). The good news is you can get a proper spring shock with adjustable dampening for rather cheap that will work wonders compared to the stock pogo stick shock.

Most people say coil shocks are more plush, but air shocks are lighter. Not sure a pound here are there will make much difference on an already heavy e-bike. I would find a compatible proper coil shock, and save the money for other things. Now if your had a Haibike and planned to do some serious XC, then my answer would be different. You should see a huge difference IMO if you replace that pogo stick with a proper coil shock.

1 year ago
Here's another one. It also has the NuVinci hub which replaces the cassette and derailleur. There are tradeoffs with this bike's design, as the review explains:

2 years ago
Also, what do you guys think of the Motiv Shadow and Evelo Aries? Both look fantastic and the Shadow is fast. The Stromer has impeccable reviews, so if the price is right and I can actually buy it, i'll go with that.
Still think it would be great if you can try the bike out first. I personally couldn't buy anything without trying it. Do you have any vacations coming up? Could you travel to a city cheaply, (Bolt bus, Train, Southwest Air, hitch a ride through craigslist). Please be patient, this is a big purchase, see what your return policy is, and ease of repair service. Maybe contact the bike company that you are interested in and see if anyone is planning opening an outlet near you. I would hate to see you get stuck with an ebike that you don't enjoy riding. I have tried many and they all ride different. I'm 5' 8" and tried the Stromer, felt heavy to me but liked the ride. My two favorites have been the Felt Sporte, and the Haibike Trekking. Still waiting to try some of the new 2015 Easy Motion bikes and see what their reviews are. Good Luck!
2 years ago
Also, what do you guys think of the Motiv Shadow and Evelo Aries? Both look fantastic and the Shadow is fast. The Stromer has impeccable reviews, so if the price is right and I can actually buy it, i'll go with that.
R Star
9 months ago

how can you afford to buy these bikes so you can make a review? id love to
have an extra 2/3 thou left over after about 6 months or so of work and
savings :p . do you own a car? i guess you could afford to buy them if you
could get a loan like you would for a car but Ive never searched out the
availability of such a thing. hmmmmm

12 months ago

makers obvioulsy spent some time developing this bike but it's over
complicated, excessively heavy and downright heinously ugly.

everton j. roque
2 years ago

evelo waterproof bike?

2 years ago

Hi Everton, I don't think this bike is waterproof... more like water
resistant. If you completely submerged the drive unit, controller or
battery in water they would likely fail or begin to degrade. If however,
you simply rode it in rain or got splashed it would probably be alright :)

Julian Sanghvi
2 years ago

Would the Leed 30k E-Bike Kit be compatible with the shamano 21 speed 700c?

2 years ago

Sure, you can get that kit in a 700c wheel and then it will fit basically
any bike. It's easy to setup because the motor is built into the front
wheel. If you want to discuss this kit please comment on it's video review
here Leed 30k E-Bike Kit Video Review - Mid Sized Front Wheel Electric Bike
Conversion Kit

Julian Sanghvi
2 years ago

I really want an electric bike that goes up hills well but isn't too
expensive. My budget is - 1,000 dollars. Do you know of one that fits my
needs. Oh and I'm short. 

2 years ago

Hi Julian, I'm replying here to keep our conversation organized. In your
other comment you said you weigh ~100 pounds and are growing. The most
affordable ebikes I've reviewed are listed at
http://electricbikereview.com/tag/affordable/ and really, all of these are
going to climb about the same. You can pay more for a better design with a
hub motor, lighter weight batteries and higher voltage but the most
affordable one on the list is the eZip Trailz here
http://electricbikereview.com/ezip/trailz/ hope this helps.

2 years ago

Hey Julian, how much do you weigh and are you willing to pedal along? There
are very few sub $1K ebikes and the drive systems work differently.
Depending on how you ride even something like this kit can do pretty well
and it will fit on an existing bike:

Noam Salingre
2 years ago

I have to say that they didn't impress me at all. looks like a chinese bike
with a rockshox front shock. its good for un-spoiled riders maybe lol..
maybe its just because i HATE rack batteries.

2 years ago

+Noam Salingre Thanks for your input. I agree that there are opportunities
for improvement for this design. I am also probably a spoiled ebiker... but
I try to review everything because different people need different things
and sometimes a cheaper bike can work well if you use it correctly and know
what you're getting into.

Noam Salingre
2 years ago

forgot to say its finished so bad, the wiring is too 'busy' and there's too
much of it, the pedal assist kit is in the wrong side, you wont believe how
easy it is to break this magnet, and behind the crank it wont happend.

carlos leonguerrero
2 years ago

What's your favorite e bike?

carlos leonguerrero
2 years ago

Thanks :)

2 years ago

Hey Carlos, good question... that kind of depends on what type of riding I
plan on doing. I actually like the Haibike FS 27.5" because it can
basically go anywhere and is very balanced
http://electricbikereview.com/haibike/xduro-fs-rx-27-5/ it's also very
expensive though... Another favorite is the Specialized Turbo, that thing
is so fast and smooth...
http://electricbikereview.com/specialized/2013-turbo/ for less money I like
the Easy Motion Neo bikes like the Neo City
http://electricbikereview.com/easy-motion/neo-city/ because it has lights,
fenders and a rack but still a nice low center of gravity.

david Rodriguez
2 years ago

I find your videos very good...greetings from Colombia!!

2 years ago

Hey David! Thanks man... I'm glad to hear you enjoy the videos. About five
years ago I made a friend from Colombia named Gisela. She was studying
English in Mountain View, CA and we would go salsa dancing with her other
friends (they were working as au pauirs). She would always tell me how
beautiful it was where you live :)

2 years ago

Thank u so much! I looked at all the bikes and I am deciding between two of
them! :) 

2 years ago

Sure thing, hope the review helps and you can always discover other
electric bikes back at the site http://electricbikereview.com/

2 years ago

Also what is the fastest electric bike?

2 years ago

+Kandykiller maniac That's a pretty great price range there! If you don't
mind a hardtail setup the Haibike RX 29" is ~$4K
http://electricbikereview.com/haibike/xduro-rx-29/ and if you do want full
suspension I like the Easy Motion Neo 650B Jumper for $4.2K
http://electricbikereview.com/easy-motion/neo-650b-jumper/ you could also
afford the IZIP E3 Dash and Stromer ST1 Platinum at ~$3.9K. but these
aren't mountain bikes. Here's a full list of the off-road style ebikes I've
reviewed http://electricbikereview.com/tag/mountain/ My favorite is the
Haibike FS 27.5" but it's just out of your price range at $4.9K (because
taxes will cost maybe more than $100?) I hope this helps, feel free to ask
for other advice in the Compare section of the forum:

2 years ago

Also are any of these bikes mountain bikes I am Looking for 3000$-5000$
mountain bike for trails in the woods I looked at all the bikes u put the
pinks of and they are all great but just I am mainly looking for fast
mountain bikes in that price range thank u ahead of time u always give me
great answers! :)

2 years ago

Thank you so much!!!! I my price range is $3000-$5000 are any of those
bikes you mentioned in that range?

2 years ago

That really depends on whether it is a legal electric bicycle or more of a
motorcycle. I'm sure the new Zero electric motorcycles are some of the
fastest production bikes around http://www.zeromotorcycles.com/ as for
bikes that you could actually ride on paths and roads... one of the fastest
is the Specialized Turbo S
http://electricbikereview.com/specialized/turbo-s/ but the Stromer ST1
Platinum is also very fast
http://electricbikereview.com/stromer/st1-platinum/ and then the Haibike
Superrace is also a speed pedelec designed for ~28mph top speeds:
http://electricbikereview.com/haibike/xduro-superrace-28/ but these are all
super expensive. A more affordable speed pedelec is the IZIP E3 Dash:
http://electricbikereview.com/izip/e3-dash/ does any one of those stand out
to you?! Are you thinking about buying a high end ebike?

2 years ago

If u could pick one electric bike to use without a price limit what would u
pick? By the way you are almost at 7,000 subscribers!!

2 years ago

+Kandykiller maniac Thanks! Great choice, the Bomber is a ton of fun and
one of the most rugged electric bikes I've ever tested

2 years ago

I would pick a stealth bomber and upgrade it fully by the way nice choice :)

2 years ago

Ha! Thanks, the site is going well and I'm just trying to be steady and
honest in the way reviews are done. If I could pick any bike regardless of
price but could not sell it (and pocket the money) I'd choose the Haibike
FS 27.5 because I love full suspension and like the low balanced design of
this bike. It's sturdy but not too heavy, rugged but still nimble and not
setup like a downhill bomber:
http://electricbikereview.com/haibike/xduro-fs-rx-27-5/ how about you?
There are lots of awesome bikes out there, this is a great question...