OHM Mountain Review

Ohm Mountain Electric Bike Review
Ohm Mountain
Ohm Mountain 10 Speed Shimano Deore Xt With Shadow Plus
Ohm Mountain 48 Volt Bionx Battery Charging Port Touch Ring
Ohm Mountain Bionx Removable Color Lcd Display Panel
Ohm Mountain Suntour Raidon Xc Lo R Air Suspension Fork 100 Mm Travel
Ohm Mountain Schwalbe Nobby Nic Plus Sized Tires
Ohm Mountain Samox Sealed Cartridge Hollow Spindle Bb Chain Guide
Ohm Mountain Branded Ergon Sport Gel Smc4 Saddle
Ohm Mountain Bionx D Series Motor Cable
Ohm Mountain Trp Zurich Hydraulic Disc Brake Levers Adjustable With Motor Inhibitor Switch
Ohm Mountain 3 45 Amp Ebike Charger
Ohm Mountain Electric Bike Review
Ohm Mountain
Ohm Mountain 10 Speed Shimano Deore Xt With Shadow Plus
Ohm Mountain 48 Volt Bionx Battery Charging Port Touch Ring
Ohm Mountain Bionx Removable Color Lcd Display Panel
Ohm Mountain Suntour Raidon Xc Lo R Air Suspension Fork 100 Mm Travel
Ohm Mountain Schwalbe Nobby Nic Plus Sized Tires
Ohm Mountain Samox Sealed Cartridge Hollow Spindle Bb Chain Guide
Ohm Mountain Branded Ergon Sport Gel Smc4 Saddle
Ohm Mountain Bionx D Series Motor Cable
Ohm Mountain Trp Zurich Hydraulic Disc Brake Levers Adjustable With Motor Inhibitor Switch
Ohm Mountain 3 45 Amp Ebike Charger

Summary

  • A sleek, extremely quiet, cross country style electric bike built around a custom hardtail frame that comes in four sizes (including stem, bar, and crank arm differences)
  • 100 mm air suspension fork from Suntour, larger 3" plus sized tires from Schwalbe, longer Boost hubs, sturdy thru-axles front and rear, the bike feels stiff and responsive
  • Torque sensing pedal assist is fluid and natural, the D-Series larger diameter hub motor provides great torque and stays cool, you get four levels of assist and regeneration
  • Can be setup as a Class 2 or Class 3 Speed pedelec, priced a bit higher and only available online or at the OHM store in Vancouver Canada, only one color choice, noisy kickstand and awkward pedals

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

OHM

Model:

Mountain

Price:

$3,455

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

3 Year Electronics, 5 Year Frame

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

20172018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

51.1 lbs (23.17 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.4 lbs (3.35 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

ADVANCE™ Hydroformed Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in (41.91 cm)18.5 in (46.99 cm)20.5 in (52.07 cm)22.5 in (57.15 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Medium 18.5" Measurements: 18.5" Seat Tube Length, 21.5" Reach, 29” Stand Over Height, 27.25” Width, 73.5” Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Green with Orange Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Suntour RAIDON XC-LO-R Air Suspension, 100 mm Travel, Compression Clicker with Lockout, Rebound Adjust, Boost 110 mm Hub, 15QLC 15 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

BionX Proprietary, 142 mm Hub, 12 mm Axle with M6 End Cap Bolts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore XT with Shadow Plus Derailleur, 11-36T Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano Dyna-Sys Two-Way Triggers on Right

Cranks:

OHM Branded Chainway Custom Specced Crank Arms, Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 38T Chainring with Chain Guide, SAMOX Sealed Cartridge Bottom Bracket, Splined, Hollow Spindle

Pedals:

Wellgo MG6 Magnesium Platform with Adjustable Pins

Headset:

Ritchey Pro Logic Press Fit, Tapered 1 1/ 8"- 1 1/ 2", Three 10 mm Spacers, One 5 mm Spacer

Stem:

Promax Alloy, 70 mm, 6° Rise, 31.8 mm Clamp Diameter with Custom Light Mount

Handlebar:

Ritchie Comp, Aluminum Alloy, Low-Rise, 680 mm Length, 25 mm Rise, 31.8 mm Diameter

Brake Details:

TRP Zurich Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Quad Piston Calipers, Three-Finger TRP Levers with Tool-Free Adjust Reach, BionX Motor Inhibitor for Regen Activation on Right

Grips:

Ergon GE1, Ergonomic Rubber, Locking, 135 mm Length

Saddle:

OHM Branded Ergon Sport Gel SMC4, Chromoly Rails, Nylon Composite Shell, Orthopedic Comfort Foam with Gel Pads

Seat Post:

Ritchey Comp, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Alexrims MD40, Alloy, Double Wall, 32 Hole

Spokes:

Sapim Strong, Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black, Brass Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Nobby Nic, 27.5" x 3"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

15 to 35 PSI, Performance, Reflective Logos

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Pletscher ESGE Adjustable Center-Mount Kickstand, Signal Bell, Optional BodyFloat Suspension Seatpost ($249), ABUS Bordo Combo Lite 6150 ($129)

Other:

Locking Removable Semi-Integrated Downtube Battery Pack, 0.9 lb 3.45 Amp BionX Compact Charger, KMC X10 EPT for MTB Chain, (Size Specific Handlebar 680 / 720 mm, Stem 70 / 80 / 90 mm, Crank Arms 170 / 175 mm)

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

BionX, D-Series

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

1000 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters (Nominal 25 Nm)

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

70 miles (113 km)

Display Type:

BionX DS3, Removable, Backlit, Color LCD (Hold the White Key on Setup for Settings Menu 24:26 in Video Review)

Readouts:

Three Display Layouts (Basic, Enhanced, Data View), Assist Level (1-4 Support, 1-4 Regeneration), Power Graph (Output, Regeneration), Speed (mph / kph), Battery Level (10 Bars), Setup, Odometer, Trip Timer, Trip Distance, Average Speed, Clock

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (On/Off, Lights, +, -, Left Clicker, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Level (4 Dots for Power and Regeneration), Right Clicker), Optional Standard Sized USB Port

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph) (20 mph Throttle Only)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

OHM offers several high-quality electric bike models and for 2017/2018 they all share a similar frame design, the exact same battery pack (which seats in from the left and is positioned on the downtube), and are available in a range of sizes. The Mountain is their most rugged off-road e-bike and it comes with some excellent components such as TRP Zurich hydraulic disc brakes, a 10-speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, and an air suspension fork. What separates it from other cross country oriented electric mountain bikes is the hub motor design. In an age where many companies are turning to mid-motors, the hub motor offers a few trade offs. On the positive side, it is extremely quiet, offers regen drive modes and regenerative braking, does not interfere with shifting and is therefore easier on the chain, sprocket, and derailleurs, and it can be activated with a throttle as well as torque sensing pedal assist. On the negative side, there’s more weight in the rear wheel (which would impact suspension if this was a full suspension model) and there’s no quick release on the back wheel, just the front. You don’t get quite as much torque or efficiency because you’re not able to leverage the gears… but this does offer a more consistent ride which requires less shifting to reach full speed. And speaking of speed, the OHM Mountain can be setup as a Class 2 product with throttle and assist limited to 20 mph or you can ask for a Class 3 configuration where the top speed would be 28 mph in pedal assist mode and 20 mph with the throttle. If you wanted to use it as an “all terrain” commuter platform, you could add a rear rack for cargo or panniers and OHM can even add a USB charging port and integrated lights if you pay extra. The frame is Aluminum alloy and offers a high quality paint finish and upgraded head tube, bottom bracket and yoke. Thru-axles and wider Boost hubs provide stiffness and strength and the overall weight is ~51 lbs which is great given how powerful the motor is and how much capacity the battery offers. A few compromised were made around how the kickstand was mounted, and you can hear it rattling when we ride the mountain trails at Mount Fromme in North Vancouver Canada, but this is easy to remove. Stock, the bike comes with comfortable 3″ plus sized tires and a 100 mm suspension fork but I would probably opt to pay a bit extra for their BodyFloat suspension post option and keep an eye on the tire pressure to reduce vibration.

Driving this bike is one of the coolest hub motors I have seen (and I have reviewed it on several other e-bikes in the past including some from OHM). This is the D-Series 500 watt gearless hub motor. It’s very wide but skinny, and is encased in a composite plastic shell vs. heavier Aluminum alloy. The motor gets a good mechanical advantage from the wide design and because there is more air inside, it also stays cooler. Offering up to 50 Newton meters of peak torque, it’s very capable for climbing if you pedal along (even just a bit) and I found that it could climb moderate inclines with the throttle only, as long as I had a bit of momentum going in. Unlike most other hub motors, this one is connected just to the hub and spokes run around the casing instead of connecting to it. The benefit is comfort and durability, you get a more natural and consistent feel with this motor design. Perhaps the biggest drawback is that it looks kind of funky and unique. Gearless hub motors have fewer moving parts, nothing is rubbing inside and therefore, they tend to last longer

Powering the bike is an efficient and powerful 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery. As mentioned earlier, it’s the same battery as OHM is using on their Urban, Step Thru, and Sport models. The sam color, size, and mounting design. Unlike some of the older BionX batteries that mounted in a rear rack or onto the downtube, this one seats into it a bit. This lowers the battery position, looks more solid to me, and provides some extra space in the triangle section of the frame for bottle cage bosses and a lower top tube. Notice how the top tube angles down a bit to make standing over the bike easier. Between the four frame size options, this lower top tube, and some changes between the stem, bar, and crank arm length of each size, the bike offers a great fit. This battery pack can be charged on or off the bike frame, and this allows for independent storage as well. I recommend keeping the battery away from extreme temperatures, aim for cool dry storage locations and if you don’t plan to ride for a bit, store at ~50% full. You can tell how full the battery pack is by using the display panel, the Bluetooth app, or the little control ring near the right grip… or you can touch the metal plug port on the left side of the battery and it will light up with green, orange, or red. This battery isn’t quite as hidden as some of the internal packs we are starting to see, but it clicks onto the frame easily, uses six rubber pads to reduce any kind of noise and scratching between the pack and the frame, and it charges quickly because BionX includes one of the nicest ebike battery chargers on the market today! This thing weighs less than a pound, is super compact, and yet it puts out 3.45 Amps vs. just 2 Amps on most standard chargers

The display options on this electric bike are many, whether you choose to use the minimalist LED readouts on the control ring, or the transflective backlit color LCD display, or your smartphone, you can control four levels of assist and four levels of regen. All of the most important control features are always available to you, and the + and – keys on the control pad are very intuitive. In it’s most basic form, you get to choose how much power the motor delivers or how much it works to slow you down! I used the highest level of regeneration -4 to help slow my descent for a half an hour and found that the battery recuperated about 3% during that time (about 2.7 miles). I had used up nearly 60% during the longer ascent, but I was frequently riding in the highest level of assist and using the throttle. We arrived back at the cars, having ridden over six miles total, with over 38% battery capacity and I am sure the regen feature also reduced wear on the brake pads and left my hands more relaxed because I wasn’t having to squeeze as hard or as much. So anyway, that’s the most basic function of the plus and minus buttons, but there is also a left and right key which can be used to navigate the LCD display to show different views. I preferred the basic view and loved that it shows 10 bars to illustrate how full the battery pack is… but if you arrow to the right twice, there is an advanced or data view display readout that shows battery percentage along with more trip stats and details. It’s so cool to have this as an option, in part because data view is black and white which could be less distracting for some riders. Note that you can also enter into a settings menu by arrowing right to setup and then holding the grey key for a few seconds. This is definitely one of the nicest displays I have used but I love how open and flexible it is… while still being simple.

All things considered, this is not the best platform for all mountain or enduro type riding with big bumps and rocks everywhere. The larger tires are designed to be stable, comfortable, and floaty so you can ride over obstacles and soft terrain vs. nimbling around them. It’s a blast to ride on packed dirt trails and performed very well on some of the wood bridge features we discovered in the forest. I thought it also handled very well on concrete, as we took a road for half a mile before and after the mountain trail sections. I feel like OHM has made some smart decisions by using the same motor and battery for most of their 2017/2018 lineup. This reduces cost, allows them to provide better support, and makes replacing parts easier. Priced at $3,455 I would not call the OHM Mountain cheap, but you get what you pay for, including one of the best warranties out there with three years comprehensive and five on the frame. OHM has been around since 2012 and BionX has been around much longer (and is part of a big automotive company in Toronto Canada). There’s great momentum and a track record of quality from both of these companies. I had fun pushing the bike and exploring new places with Liam, one of the OHM team members and avid downhill rider, and appreciate that they were able to price this model a bit lower because it doesn’t come with the lights, fenders, and rack, while still offering some of that as paid upgrades. Big thanks to OHM for partnering with me on this review, hosting me at their headquarters, and taking me out on some neat adventures around British Columbia. I feel that Liam was honest as we discussed some of the trade-offs and acknowledged the strengths and weaknesses of the hub motor design and other hardware like the kickstand. I love that the bike comes with a chain keeper to perform well on bumpy terrain, and that you get premium touch points like the Ergon grips and saddle along with the Schwalbe Nobby Nic tires.

Pros:

  • The OHM Mountain comes in four frame sizes to really ensure a good fit (even the stem, handlebars, and crank arms change length as you select different sizes, this could be a great e-bike for taller riders), the top tube is sloped so you get the strength of a diamond frame with the more comfortable, lower, stand-over height, this is possible in part because of the side-mount battery design vs. top-down like the Bosch Powerpack and some of the more generic brands, note also the custom yoke which has a cutaway to accommodate the chainring and standard Q Factor but allow for fatter tires while still being sturdy
  • Purpose built frame was designed to withstand off-road use, note the tapered head tube, upgraded bottom bracket with lightweight hollow spindle and protective plating in front of the cables, internally routed cables that are out of the way on most of the bike, and the well-protected motor power cable below the left chain stay with quick disconnect
  • Great drivetrain, the 10-speed Shimano Deore XT shifts quickly, allows for multi-shift action, should require less maintenance than a lower-end component, and has the Shadow Plus clutch so you can tighten the chain and reduce bounce (perfect for off-road riding, just click the grey lever into the up position on the side of the derailleur hangar), I also like that OHM either uses narrow wide sprockets or a chain keeper as seen here to reduce drops
  • More and more electric bikes are opting for plus sized tires to improve comfort and stability, I think it makes perfect sense to go with the largest 3″ plus sized tires here because it’s a hardtail cross country setup so it doesn’t need to be as nimble (you get reduced deflection and more rolling momentum instead), the Schwalbe Nobby Nic brand is high-quality and should perform well, the longer Boost hubs provide strength and stiffness for better power transfer and handling along with the thicker thru-axles (15 mm front and 12 mm rear)
  • Great suspension fork with lots of adjustability, you can opt for a suspension seat post to further improve comfort, just make sure you get it from OHM in the appropriate size (which looks like 30.9 mm diameter)
  • Considering this e-bike uses a gearless hub motor that looks big, and offers a higher capacity battery pack,
    I was impressed that it only weighs ~51 lbs, the weight seemed well distributed when I lifted it to weigh it
  • Gearless hub motors tend to be very durable and in this case, offers regenerative braking, and four levels of regen (to simulate climbing or let you slowly charge the battery on steep descents)
  • Pedal assist relies on a torque sensor that feels smooth and responsive, I love that you also have a variable speed trigger throttle, it stays out of the way but is very handy and fun to use on occasion, triggers are much more practical for off-road applications in my opinion because they don’t compromise your grip as a half-grip twist throttle would
  • OHM has been in business selling electric bikes since 2005 and offer an amazing three-year comprehensive warranty with five years on the frame, they produce high-quality stuff and pretty much stick with one system to make repairs, replacement, and upgrades easier
  • I love the little display panel, it’s highly adjustable, easy to read and understand in part because it uses color, and can be removed for secure storage or outdoor public parking, I do wish it had a USB port for charging portable accessories but this is something OHM will add for you near the right side of the downtube if you pay a bit extra
  • OHM has managed to squeeze in water bottle cage bosses on the seat tube, I love that they were able to fit these in because they can double as a place to mount a mini-pump or folding lock, OHM also sells their own rear rack solution if you want to transport stuff more easily without wearing a backpack
  • The battery pack is easily removable, for charging or storing off-bike, and I love where the charging port is mounted (high up and out of the way of the left crank arm), the battery charger is one of the most compact but high-speed in the market today offering 3.45 Amps vs. 2 Amps on a lot of others
  • Sealed cartridge bottom bracket and headset keep water out, they have been selective about hardware to eliminate rust and have tested the bikes in wet conditions at their headquarters in Vancouver Canada
  • For a hub motor setup, vs. a mid-drive, you get a lot of torque and I was able to climb for long periods without pedaling hard or at all (just using the throttle), the BionX D-Series motor is wide which improves the torque and mechanical advantage and there’s a lot of air inside to keep it cool
  • Great brakes, they offer plenty of power and heat dissipation in part because of the quad-piston calipers which allow for more surface area and force to be applied, apparently TRP hydraulic brakes are easier to bleed and use mineral oil which isn’t so hard on skin, is easier to clean up, and it uses a dual syringe system
  • The bike does come with some special inserts to allow for some experimentation with choosing your own rear rack, however, OHM sells a special custom rear rack or you could use a seat post mounting beam-rack design like this, just keep in mind that they can get bumped side to side easier and might not fit if you have a seat post suspension
  • I really like the trigger shifters they chose, SLX is is an upgrade from most electric bike shifters I see and that provides a two way high shifter lever and a three-click low shifter lever for more sporty performance and versatility
  • It sounds relatively easy to wire-in lights that would run off of the main battery pack, OHM can set this model up with the high quality Supernova LED e-bike lights seen on their Urban and Sport models at time of purchase which could be great for commuting in a mixed terrain environment
  • BionX has a Bluetooth smartphone app but the LCD display works very well on its own and you can even operate the bike just using the compact control ring (with the display off) so there are lots of options here and they are all really good in my opinion
  • The display panel is transflective and backlit so it works well in a range of lighting conditions, I like that it shows 10 bars for the battery capacity vs. just four or five on a lot of competing products (you can even see battery percentage in data view, click the right key to cycle through views), I feel that it boots up a little slow but is otherwise pretty great
  • The battery pack is minimalist and I love how you can touch the charging port and it lights up with a color to let you know how full it is, between 20%-70% is orange, below 20% is red, above 70% is green
  • Apparently OHM can unlock the bike to go 28 mph and become a Class 3 speed pedelec, and it would still have the 20 mph throttle mode as well, this is very unique and lots of fun if you commute or just enjoy a faster feel

Cons:

  • OHM has decided to pick just one color for each of their models, you could get grey or blue but that would require switching to a city model, I think it looks nice but you only get this green in the mountain setup
  • Priced at ~$3,500 this is not the most affordable hardtail ebike I have reviewed, but they have really outfitted it with great components and it feels like you get your money’s worth, this model is actually less expensive than some of the others because it does not have fenders, a rack, or integrated lights
  • The battery pack is IP67 rated against water and dust ingress but the charging port doesn’t actually have a cover, so I feel like it might be a little vulnerable, and the case doesn’t have a handle so it made me feel cautious carrying it around because it weighs ~7 lbs and could get damaged if dropped, I do like that it has little rubber feet on the bottom to reduce vibration when mounted to the downtube
  • The front wheel offers quick release but you don’t get that on the rear, so you might want to bring a toolset in case of a flat fix, thankfully the thru-axle seems easy to work with and align so the torque sensor shouldn’t be as delicate to work around and the quick disconnect power cable is convenient
  • This is a minor consideration, the throttle won’t activate until the bike is moving ~2 mph for safety reasons, this could be frustrating if you wanted to use the throttle to reduce effort when starting and stopping a lot, or if you have a sensitive knee and don’t want to push hard, the torque sensor design also requires a bit more leg effort than some of the simpler cadence sensors but it’s much more natural feeling and predictable which is important in off-road environments with unstable terrain
  • The model I tested only had a motor inhibitor and regeneration switch on the right brake lever, they both have adjustable reach which is great for people with different sized hands (or when you wear gloves) but it would be nice to have inhibitors on both sides
  • I want to love the pedals because they are lightweight and stiff, offer a large surface area, and have adjustable pins for traction but the middle spindle just feels weird under my foot vs. a more flat feeling, I felt uncomfortable on them like it was pressing on a narrow section under the ball of my fee
  • It’s great that this bike comes with a kickstand, but it did bounce around quite a bit when riding off road and is positioned at the middle of the frame where it could collide with the left crank arm when left down, I might take it off for the majority of my mountain biking rides

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More OHM Reviews

OHM Sport Review

  • MSRP: $3,959
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A trail-worthy speed pedelec with premium accessories like aluminum fenders, integrated Supernova lights, a removable color LCD display, and regenerative braking. Very well balanced, especially for a hub-motor electric bike, the air fork, hollow-spindle bottom bracket,…...

OHM Urban Review

  • MSRP: $3,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A near-silent, feature rich, urban hardtail electric bike that's available in four frame sizes and can be switched from Class 2 with throttle to high-speed Class 3. Proprietary torque sensor is integrated into the 12 mm rear-axle, it feels fluid and sporty…...

OHM Sport XS750 Plus 16 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A fatty electric bike with medium sized 3.25" tires, strikes a balance between cushion, traction and handling. Powerful BionX D-Series motor offers good torque and higher top speeds ~28 mph in pedal…...

OHM Urban XU700 16 Review

  • MSRP: $4,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high power, high speed, urban style electric bike with nearly every accessory you could, great for commuting or trekking. Extremely quiet drivetrain, four levels of assist and regen with variable speed trigger throttle, removable…...

OHM Urban XU700 LS 15 Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A feature-complete urban style electric bike with premium rack, fenders and lights, sturdy mid-cut hydroformed aluminum frame available in three sizes. Offers variable speed throttle, four levels of assist and four regen in addition to regenerative…...

OHM Sport XS750 15 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A powerful and sturdy city style electric bike with comfortable but slightly more aggressive ergonomics, premium tires and upgraded suspension fork with lockout. 500 watt BionX D-Series motor is near silent but very strong for climbing, BionX DV…...

OHM Urban XU700 LS 16 Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A premium step-thru electric bike with fenders, rack, lights and suspension fork (with lockout) for under $3k. Reinforced hydro formed aluminum alloy frame is sturdier than other low-step models I've tested, the…...

OHM Urban XU700 Review

  • MSRP: $3,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Sturdy, feature rich ebike designed for efficient commuting with four regen modes and regenerative braking. Uses the direct drive BionX 350 HT (high torque) motor and features 27 speeds for…...

OHM XU450 E2 Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

A sturdy, elegant and simple-to-use ebike with auto-shifting gears, a quiet belt drive system, fenders and rack. SRAM EMATIC motor, battery and control system offer efficiency in power and range and look…...

OHM Sport XS750 Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Fully featured, high-end electric mountain bike with great power and thoughtful design. Powered by industry leading BionX battery pack, controller and gearless rear hub motor...


Martine
2 weeks ago

I was debating between the Urban and Mountain models from Ohm. In the end, I ended up with the Mountain. Been really really happy with it. The battery range is excellent. Someday, I need to ride it up the Sea to Sky Highway from Squamish and see how far I get at max assist. It would be nice to know what range I could get with climbing and level 4 assist. Did a 25km ride one day in Squamish. Did lots of climbing on trails and battery had tons of power left in it. I also love the quietness of the BionX system. My kickstand does not rattle like Court’s bike did – it probably needed an adjustment.

I selected the Mountain because I wanted a few more granny gears than the Urban model offered. Although, I do miss the delightful speed one could attain on the Urban :) I didn’t need the full integrated fenders but would love to get a rack for the Mountain model for when I use it for groceries and more town use. Ohm put a head light on for me and I am hoping to create a rack that can be put on the Mountain without needing the rear fender.

No regrets. Just smiles. And Liam at Ohm is amazing. He was incredibly helpful and patient. So impressed with the high quality of the Ohm bikes and great customer service.

Reply
Court Rye
2 weeks ago

Thanks for sharing your experience with the OHM Mountain and why you chose it over the Urban Martine, I enjoyed your comments and am glad that the folks at OHM treated you well. Ride on! Have a blast out there :D

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Ann M.
3 days ago

Named after the historic Junto Club started by Benjamin Franklin a couple of hundred years ago, the Junto Gen1 electric bike is an incredibly well thought out design at a very reasonable price, $2,200. Designed for all around city riding, the bottom bracket, headset & hub bearings are all sealed, so you're not going to get road grit & water out of the bearings. Junto chose a very high torque 350 watt geared Bafang motor and a larger 48V 11ah lithium pack for better range & overall lighter weight. With the weight balanced a little to the front, you have more positive steering and quicker reaction, much like a better made mountain bike and offsetting the weight of the rear hub motor. Note too the reinforced eyelets on these wheels; a much stronger build. And with Junto's focus on just one model right now, the bike is built to be upgraded without a lot of problems. I'm looking forward to an opportunity to test one of these bikes soon! Check out Court's review for all the details.

https://electricbikereview.com/junto/... The Junto Gen 1 is a sporty, responsive, urban style electric bike with 29er wheels and higher volume tires that create stability and add comfort, available in three frame sizes and two color options. All-aluminum frame is purpose built for ebike applications with a suspension-corrected geometry so you can add a 100 mm suspension fork aftermarket, tapered head tube and 15 mm thru axle. Excellent 11-speed Shimano SLX drivetrain with Shadow Plus clutch, wider 25 mm rims with reinforcement eyelets and thicker 13 gauge spokes in the rear to support the 350 watt geared motor. Simple display only shows battery level and 1-5 assist, the blue LED's can be annoyingly bright in dark ride conditions, nice locking ergonomic grips, gel saddle, and alloy platform pedals, hydraulic 180 mm disc brakes with motor inhibitors.

Ken M
4 days ago

Great point ... actually that was my intent. The issue is that it is difficult to find unbiased information. Manufacturers don't want to say a mid-drive is best for say mtn biking but less suited for fast urban pedelec riding. It is next to impossible to find information on long term cost of ownership of the different drive systems - chain & chain ring replacements, maintenance of the motor, etc., but my guess is that a hub motor is dramatically superior in this regard (this is something that universally matters regardless of rider needs but will fall way down the list of important factors for any enthusiast riding a high performance mountain bike).

Mtn biking has some unique performance demands that riding in an urban environment simply does not so in my opinion what should be considered best for you needs for urban riding should be best efficiency of the system. Vice versa, it makes no sense to put a 5kg hub motor on a full suspension eBike because that much mass will ruin the performance of the rear suspension and without a doubt mid-drives are more efficient for low speed climbing (the benefits of the motor's internal gearing and the gearing of the drive train both aid in this).

Johnny
6 days ago

I am someone who recently returned biking after 2 years. I have a trek hybrid that I like riding and I usually use it for commuting too (around 20 miles round-trip). I can climb hills and I am kinda fit however I like to extend my range and sometimes I don't want to sweat too much in my commute.

At first I was planning to switch to a road bike then I realized that I also want to go to trails every now and then and I want some assurance that even on the days that I feel a little worn out I can still ride. So I have been having many thoughts about e-bikes.

Although I have an understanding on the electrical components (I used to build RC planes and in that hobby you deal with lipo batteries, speed controllers , chargers etc a lot) when it comes to bikes I don't know much.

I do know that I want to keep getting my exercise (so I don't want a throttle, I want some pedal assist at times to increase my range and provide convenience) and I also want to be able to completely disable it and still ride the bike without getting resistance from the motor.

I have two main options:

1. Getting a e-bike conversion kit for my current bike. I searched for a kit with torque sensor however I couldn't find and sellers in the US. If I ordered from China then the price is still too high to risk it. If someone can point me to a US based kit with torque sensors I can give it a try.

2. Just getting an ebike which is a pain altogether. I didn't know that there were so many small manufacturers. I am more into getting into a well known brand like Trek, Giant etc. since even the cheaper options (which on paper they look great value) are between 1.5k-2K,

Here are some of the bikes I had in mind,

- Giant Road E 1 https://www.giant-bicycles.com/us/bikes-road-eplus, I really like a road bike and this seemed great at first but then again, it will be heavy and although I love dropbars I don't know how much of a bike I am getting and how much I am paying for the motor system.

- Trek Crossrip+ https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/hybrid-bikes/electric-hybrid-bikes/crossrip/crossrip/p/1373000-2018/?colorCode=black, seems to be a e-cyclocross then again 4.5K price and the frame looks like an entry level model.

Now that I realized that I don't have many choices in road/gravel type e bikes I began considering more hybrid like bikes,

- Trek Super Commuter, https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/hybrid-bikes/electric-hybrid-bikes/super-commuter/super-commuter-8s/p/1367000-2018/?colorCode=red, again too expensive and does not seem to be designed for agility or fitness.

- Giant Quick -E https://www.giant-bicycles.com/us/bikes-quick-eplus, looks to be a much better choice compared to super commuter both in design and price.

The real problem is since bike is so heavy does it really matter to go for a solid fork ? I am seriously thinking about getting a bike with front suspension like the ones below.

- Trek Powerfly https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/mountain-bikes/electric-mountain-bikes/powerfly/powerfly-5/p/2914600-2018/?colorCode=grey_black

-Giant Explore https://www.giant-bicycles.com/us/explore-eplus-3 , this one at $2.350 is priced very nicely seems to have some trail capabilities.

- Haibike hard seven https://wheelworld.com/product/haibike-sduro-hardseven-4.0-297072-1.htm

I don't know how Haibike stacks against the Brand bikes. I also don't know if the front suspension e-bikes will be good commuters on the road. It seems like since weight is not as big of an issue with e bikes the companies can still make durable bikes at those price ranges.

I also don't wanna pay $3K + for a bike since it is still a bike I don't really like to spend that much.

I will be happy if I can get some help.

daniel58
1 week ago

Hi Liz,
Have you considered building your own? If you have a bike you enjoy, and it sounds like you do, then building an ebike based on the bike you have might be the answer. I know it sounds daunting, but there are several kits out there that completely plug and play. With just a few hand tools and a little patience you can DIY!
You might look at the Bafang BBSHD. I have put many of these on bikes (just did another one today!), it only takes a few hours, and the results are amazing! And reasonably priced! You can get a complete kit with a very good battery for around $1250-1350, which fits your price point nicely, and you get an ebike that will do 35mph top speed and has about a 30 mile range, and will climb very steep hills with ease. They are very robust, I personally have logged thousands of miles on mine and I have not broke it yet! They include a throttle, which is not included on many factory bikes, and they are completely user programmable, so you can easily dial down the performance to suit local laws and your own needs. The entire kit adds only about 18lbs to your bike. If you do not feel you are up to the task you can have the kit installed for you (I can help with that!) and still be well below your 2k price point! I checked out your bike on line and it looks to be an ideal candidate for a ebike build! You CAN DIY! PM me for more info!

Is there any such thing as a direct drive electric gearless and brushless hub drive motor e-bike conversion kit; I hear that they are very reliable and have been around for awhile now; with basically no moving geared moving parts to potentially have to lubricate and to even go bad down the line; now I also hear good things about direct drive electric hub drive motors in that they can also potentially effectively assist one to help slow down ones e-bike safely also as well; and in doing so that would allow one to actually help to prolong ones mechanical disk brake pad life as an added benefit; especially down those long down hill mountain stretches in particular; I don't know of any potential direct drive electric hub drive motor e-bike conversion kits that might be worth considering for a potential e-bike application; I will also probably have to also likely get a decent branded name Raleigh host bike that has decent performing mechanical disk brakes also as well; that would also give the additional capability of having a triple chain ring front derailleur also as well; this to be able to maintain flexibly in switching from a set of lower set of gearing ranges; while also at the same time also being also capable of switching oneself to a higher set of gearing ranges also as well; I realize that this might be a tall order for a potential D.I.Y e-bike project as most e-bikes converted typically only have a single common front chain ring in front typically; hopefully direct drive electric hub drive motors have improved to the point where they are not only truly affordable but also cost effective to get as I would prefer to get one around 750 watts in power so that their is always plenty of electric motor reserve demand power on tap if needed also as well along with a powerful decent sized higher current controller and something like a King Meter larger sized bicycle computer graphics screen with one or two programmable custom power presets; now I don't quite nearly see that many branded name direct drive electric hub drive motor e-bike conversion kits especially ones with brand name reputable two year direct drive electric hub drive motor product warranties in particular versus the more universal non-branded name direct drive electric electric motor e-bike conversion kits it would seem; I have also potentially looked at RadBikes also as well but they unfortunately also only have a single chain ring in the front which only allows one to have a rather limited selection of higher set of range gears and no selection at all for lower set of range of gears; so that also does not appear to be an ideal effective custom e-bike choice also as well either; so here I am at a crossroads torn between having to make some rather limited effective e-bike conversion choices similar to what Liz was stating previously; is it actually possible to roll and build oneself a custom e-bike and hopefully still save some money in the process; to directly reinvest those savings into getting a somewhat larger higher 48 to 52V 28ah capacity lithium ion battery for $599 from EM3EV; which according to the e-bike forums is tops in battery pricing, battery performance and battery capacity for the money; now if that can all be done cost effectively that would be a really great custom e-bike alternative solution indeed.

bob armani
2 weeks ago

Thanks everyone! I have been working out strength training 2x per week with a personal trainer for the last year. I still have my 1995 IBOC Mongoose, Mountain Bike Magazine Bike of the year. I still ride it ($1500 new back then, no shocks at all). I am doing great with CHF. From stage 2 to stage 1, but wanted a mid drive for off road riding like I did 20 year ago. Shifting doesn't bother me, I even have a 2005 Christi AWD bike: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0007W2FOA/ref=oh_details_o02_s00_i00

Anyway the Brose just cuts out power at 18 mph, not 20 mph. I know 2 mph might not seem like much, but when your use to 20 on an older bike, and going slower on a new bike is not the best. Heck, I have my Honda 1800cc Valkyrie that will do 0-60 mph in 3.1 seconds for speed.

Anyway I found a solution on ebay, and ordered it. Coming from France, it's cut's the speed in 1/2, so effectively doubling it. It's not that I want to go 36 mph, but do want more assist to a higher speed. I will post the results of this mod: http://www.ebay.com/itm/tuning-kit-hi-speed-ebike-brose-POLINI-ebike-tuning-/232371698818?epid=2040617132&hash=item361a6ebc82:g:pHEAAOSw0j9ZQPrv when I get it, most likely not till November.

In the meantime I will continue to ride, at 16 mph, my bpm is at 129 with the brose and 119 with the hub motor. My 15 year old son in great shape has his bpm at the same level as mine with both bikes.

FooDoDaddy-Do you think the speed dongle from France could somehow damage the internal parts of your Brose motor? I do believe that it can void the warranty if anyone finds out it was installed. BTW-I know how frustrating it can be when your ebike cuts out at 18mph. My EasyMotion has a 350 watt rear hub motor and it easily gets me up to 22mph in the lowest gear right out of the box. Must be tuned that way with all of the defaults set to high in all pedal assist modes. A very zippy motor indeed. On the other hand, my wife has an EM ebike with a 250 watt rear hub drive motor that cuts out at 16.5 mph and you notice the difference right away. I am very curious to see how the speed dongle works out. Good luck!

john peck
2 weeks ago

Check out Juiced Bikes, they'll have something you'll like & can afford. As a commuter their CCS has Haibike & Stromer
running scared. Haibike just cut the price of their 350 watt commuter in half, But I still wouldn't want it. The Juiced
'Ocean Current might also appeal to you, or perhaps one of Radpower's mountain bikes. If finances are tight, you might
look into a Sondors bike.
Personally, I'm hoping for someone to come up with a long-distance, touring ebike.

Cole
2 weeks ago

I have been researching affordable e-bikes (specifically mountain bikes) lately and have a very low budget of under $1600. I have narrowed down my search to the Radrover and the Volt Yukon 750. I’ve heard that Radrovers have more upgrade options and come with some better components stock. But I just love the look of the Volt Yukon 750 and it’s intergrated battery. I would I have also considered building my own but would like to spare the hassle (I’m not good with electronics) and just buy a budget company made bike. I plan to commute on my future ebike and do some cross country mtb trails. Any help is greatly appreciated :) ! I am open to Suggestions for other bikes I just want quality and mtb capability.

barry c
2 weeks ago

Hi, I'm an avid mountain biker, I ride cross country and to a lesser extent mild downhill runs. I put in usually around 100 miles + per week. I ride a Yeti MTB. I'm getting older, knees falling apart and a few other issues, etc so I've decided to invest in an Ebike to ride part time. I've been looking at ebike reviews and unfortunately I cannot find any haibike reviews from actual mountain bikers. I've found one or two, but it's usually someone jumping jumps or riding up a gravel road or paved road. Nobody ever really discusses the frame geometry, how they handle etc? Or if they're good on rocky rooty trails etc. I don't ride on dirt paths, I ride on actual singletrack roots and rocks and switchbacks etc too.

I have ordered a Haibike Sduro Nduro RX. I only found a few reviews and videos for this bike, none of which told me much. This has a long travel fork (180mm) which would normally be excessive for regular cross country riding but it can be adjusted down to 150mm which isn't too bad...especially since this has a motor to haul it around? Or I'm hoping this will be the case anyway?

Is anyone here a regular experienced mountain biker? Does anyone here have a Haibike mountain bike? Do they handle well? I would have gone with the specialized since it's a known quantity, specialized FSR is a pretty decent bike, and the turbo lev just added a motor...but the Haibike was a much better value, but I know nothing about the bike/handling/etc.

Thank you.

Hey, I ride a 2017 haibike Xduro all mountain 7 that has 3" tires (boost) and 27.5 wheels and it rips the single track. I raced for many years and still avidly ride 2000 miles a year on single track in the N cali sierras Tahoe and grass valley areas. I keep an extra 500 battery on board and use it regularly when riding over 20 miles. The tires gobble up obstacles (10 to 15 lb. pressure) like they are not there and my confidence is 30% higher i will make it through a tough spot.
I committed and rode centuries for decades and even raced pro mountain bike in the 80s.
I am 70 and last year developed knee arthritis. I just a month ago finished a procedure called Regenexx. The short version is an MD takes bone marrow blood from your hip and spins it down to get the stem cells and injects it into your knees.
In a month my knees are 80% better and expect the regeneration of my soft tissue to continue for another year. I could not even walk before i was on crutches. This is so cool!! its expensive $7K and no insurance will pay for it. A friend of mine had it done to his hips a year ago and he is way better. I highly recommend it. More info if you ask.

Marc Webster
2 weeks ago

I think you'll be really happy with any of those bikes. It is a win/win: they are simply wonderful bikes to ride.

As far as keeping it a long time......I can't believe we won't see a period of rapid evolution. I remember the first mountain bikes, and man, did they ever improve in those early years. I would say a high quality bike at the lowest price would be the way to go. Save the $1700 difference, invest it wisely, and put it towards the future bike we all know is coming.
Im taking this advice. I figured I may be jumping a bit early on the ebike bandwaggon and there are sure to be more amazing bikes and motor systems to come out in the future so I may as well buy used for now. The owner of the Haibike All Mountain 7 has agreed to $2900 and its pretty much brand new. Also has tubeless tire mod, different grips, seat and bars. Also comes with stock items removed. Its likely a much better bike than I will ever need so for me it should suit me fine. Now I need to make the decision on if I sell my FSR 29er or keep it. My wife is sure to notice a new bright yellow bike and selling the old one is a bit more PC in her view... LOL

LimboJim
2 weeks ago

I've never heard of this company making ebikes until now. Very interesting history connected to this brand! Max Commencal is one of the most successful downhill mountain bike designers on the planet. Very good background here: http://www.bikeradar.com/us/gear/article/interview-max-commencal-19709/
I read that and some other stories on Max & Co. - I was inspired to do so by the following excerpt from their website statement about their ebikes. Apparently E-MOUNTAINBIKE Magazine and others covered Commencal's EU ebike intro back in April - somehow I missed it!

We have been perfecting our own ebike for several years now.
We have built a number of prototypes, we have tested many motors and we have combined them with different types of batteries.
However, we couldn’t launch an ebike without a reliable and efficient electric system. No rush!

Then, Shimano released their E8000.
Compact, lightweight and powerful motor; ingeniously located display;
perfect trigger ergonomics; Bluetooth connection to adjust the set ups and update the system…
and the worldwide aftersales service from Shimano!
In a nutshell, it was the perfect time to enter the game!
...
The icing on the cake appeared when we were comparing the downhill times between the META and the META POWER (unassisted by the motor).
Surprisingly, the times were very close. That day we understood that we reached our goal!

As for those who tried it, they all came back saying:

Can I Keep It?

rich c
3 weeks ago

Here is my advice on selecting an eBike. What you choose, depends on how much of a bike mechanic you are, or want to be. I've built drag cars from scratch when I was a young man. Now I'm 65 and want to ride a LOT more than build. So I now buy higher end bikes from a dealer. Bikes I can hop on and thrash through anything I want. Just keeping the chain clean and oiled, brakes adjusted, and tire pressures. That's it, I ride. I have a Haibike full suspension mountain bike, and a Haibike Trekking bike. Bikes that really perform extremely well at their designed application. My first ebike was a $500 Sondors Fat Bike off Craigslist. I rode it 1500 miles, it's a looker, but rides like a log truck. It doesn't do anything particularly well, but does ride. So choose what you want to do. Buy cheap and do upgrades and fixes, or buy high end and have fun! About 3,000 miles of fun on the two high end bikes so far. Buy high end at the end of the season, or last year's model and you save at least 30%. You really have to be careful on suppliers. Anyone with a credit card can go on Alibaba and buy 500 cheap bikes and call themselves dealers. They are sellers, not dealers. They may not order parts, may know very little about bikes.

MV94941
3 weeks ago

Thanks for all the positive replies! Glad to hear I can look forward to many more years of smiling on my ebike!

(Now off to climb mount Tam on my regularl mountain bike - with my daughter in tow on the trailer bike... I’m going to wish I had a motor...)

bob armani
3 weeks ago

My wife and I are long time mountain bikers in Oregon. We just picked up a pair of the Motobecane HAL ebikes, and are enthralled with how much fun they are. We already do much of our riding outside of the official single-track trail system here, and we have all sorts of legal ebike mountain biking available. We are on Google Earth every night now, planning adventures .....

newfydog-Those are some really beautiful ebikes head to toe (seen for $3500.00 US online)! How do you like the new Shimano E8000 motor. Does it have enough power @ 250 watts? Looks like the Diamondback Ranger is very similar but currently unavailable in the US. Congrats on your new purchase! Ride safe!;)

LimboJim
3 weeks ago

Thanks Limbojim,

I have ridden a BBS02 converted bike and while it did have a ton of speed and power it was not refined and easily controllable in singletrack as you mentioned. That is why when I converted my commuter I chose a small Q128 hubmotor from BMS. I wanted a bike under 40lbs that still felt like a bike. Also on the off chance I lose power I wanted it to not have too much drag and the geared hubmotos hardly have any. I pedaled my dads BBS02 bike and it was abysmal to pedal with all the drag. I did pedal the All Mountain 7 with the motor off and it was even worse than the BBS02. I had read the shimano system pedals a bit better and the Brose system completely decouples. Some of the points newfydog mentions sound good and also seems the shimano bikes batteries are a bit less then the Bosch. I do like that you have experience on both so that puts the All mountain 7 more on top for me and if needed I can take the money I save on the used All Mountain 7 to buy an extra battery one day.

I will think this all over and do more research over the holiday.
Have you had to ride ebikes with no power often? I've got ~3-4k trail miles (mostly) on several eMTBs now, and can count the number of times I've had to pedal them unassisted on one hand. Maybe I've been lucky or don't ride as far or long as some folks, but Bosch/Yamaha motor/battery reliability has been very good, in my experience.

I do, however, seem to wear chains and brakes out quickly - there are some steep hills in my State Park backyard! Recently I've been keeping my KMC ebike chains cleaner and better lubed, and started using metallic pads, which seems to help extend their lives.

Good luck - I look forward to reading about your final decision!

ChrisKoz
3 weeks ago

I have a Specialized Sirrus that is about 5 years old that I am planning putting an ebike kit on. I live in Baltimore and use the bike around town, as well as on some light mountain trails. I think I'm going with a BB02 Kit with a 48v battery and 46t sprocket that I was planning on getting from Luna Cycle. I plan on pedaling most of the time, and am not that interested in a throttle, but will use it until I figure out how I'll truly be using the bike. The main issue I'm having is that I get older, 51, I 'm finding hills harder on my joints and would like a little assistance. I don't usually go more that 15-20 miles at a time and I'm not trying to increase my overall speed that much. I'm decent at wrenching, and do most of my own fixes. Is there anything I should watch out for or should I just pull the trigger and get it going? I'm a little worried about messing with the bottom bracket but feel like a mid drive is the most natural; that being said I'm open to a rear hub motor. I appreciate any feedback.

newfydog
3 weeks ago

My wife and I are long time mountain bikers in Oregon. We just picked up a pair of the Motobecane HAL ebikes, and are enthralled with how much fun they are. We already do much of our riding outside of the official single-track trail system here, and we have all sorts of legal ebike mountain biking available. We are on Google Earth every night now, planning adventures .....

harryS
4 weeks ago

Does anyone have thoughts about using the charge in the battery as a non-lethal zap deterrent?

Well, there is the popular video on youtube. youtube.com/watch?v=4bN76TvJspY
I left out www so the video doesn't embed. It's somewhat tasteless and likely dangerous, as here the thief would likely come up shooting.

Good luck on the Jolt. Looks like a good package for a boat. One thing in its favor is that the sponsor didn't post here. Half of the crowd-funded programs posted in this forum are outright scams in my opinion. The other thing in its favor is that the pricing is in line with what one can buy off the docks.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Folding-20-Electric-Mountain-Bike-Bicycle-Ebike-Aluminum-Alloy-01/112591382134?hash=item1a36f82676:g:EiYAAOSw~HBZ8qWt

fourday
4 weeks ago

Hello I have been lurking, researching E bikes for the last 6 months or so, since I realized I will not be able to ride as I used to, due to a recent medical issue. I have been riding bikes all my life, since retiring, wife and I would load bikes on motor home and go. I am 68 years old, and my wife is 69. Retired from the fire service after 35 years, and was recently diagnosed with cancer, which has affected my endurance but not my will to get out and ride. wife was a nurse for 40 years, and knees are not as strong. E bikes seem to be the answer for us. some must have's include throttle and assist . looking at the 3 to 4 k range, but must admit i rode a classic ebike scrambler and loved it, but 7 k is too much especially when i am looking for 2 bikes. I have been looking specifically at the Evelo galaxy, for my wife and the delta for myself. We have also been looking at the Luna brand. my wife likes the Evelo due to the ease of mounting,and the Nuvinci N380 transmission. some riding includes dirt roads bike trails, no extreme mountain biking any more. especially looking for quality and good service. thanks Bob

Riki
1 month ago

I am like a lot of new people I have seen on the forum, I am looking for a leisure/Mountain bike to ride around town, off the curb, on a paved trail here and there and on a gravel trial once every blue moon. I DO NOT do ANY serious off-road riding. I like to ability to fold a bike it is not paramount. I am not commuting to work and my longest ride would be 10 to 15 miles average would be 5 to 8 miles. I have limited hills in my area but would like a bike that makes hills a non-issue when I do encounter them. Ride comfort, reliability, repairability, and price are my main concerns. I have looked at the Ancheer offerings and while I think it is durable enough for my needs, repairability or lack thereof is a turn-off.
Here are the bikes I am considering I would appreciate your input
http://www.x-tremescooters.com/products/electric-bicycles/24-volt-electric-bicycles/x-cursion

The major concern, I called a dealer I found on their website and was told he no longer carries them because he could not reach them for support, the 2nd dealer he works from home the 3rd on just does service and has never done warranty work.

Limited online reviews

https://www.electric-bike-kit.com/hill-topper-folding-electric-bike.aspx
Major concerns, No peddle assist, do I need it, Is it possible to add peddle assist? No local dealer, unsure how the warranty work is handled (I can figure that out but anyone who has had prior experience your input would be great.) The only reviews I could find was a guy who got a free bike. Nothing on Amazon. Kits are $100 less than the bike how good can the bike be? Amazone ad says (Hill Topper bikes are made of premium bicycle components. Some of which include: Shimano Hydraulic Disc Brakes, SR Suntour XCM30 Suspension Fork, Tourney derailleurs, Shimano trigger shifters.) Their site says bikes are better than the China imports, I am wondering how so? Who makes their batteries?

https://store.electrobike.com/products/steel
No info on this eBike at all

I have been told I need to spend 2K plus to get a bike to meet my needs so I am leading away from this but thought I would get some other insights.

Thank you all so much!!!!
Hi there, My advice I have is that it is best to purchase an ebike from a local dealer that can offer you warranty after sales service, can service the electrics as well as the bike itself and finally have all parts in stock. You might have cheap e-bikes online, but it doesnt take much for an ebike to crap out especially something as simple as water in the cables blowing the controller which means your e-bike will not work. E-Bikes are fun and they are not unbreakable. Hope this helps.

Wtkinsella3
1 month ago

My wife is 5 foot and I am 6 ft tall, so we need a bike that will accommodate our different sizes. We currently have Benelli classicas which I really like other than it can't go off road at all and it doesn't fold. So far I've considered the G-bike, the vello Rocky Mountain and the e-joe spik. We would like all features fenders, carrier, lights, Bells, disc brakes, kick stand, travel suitcase, everything we need to be able to ride and fly. I would appreciate your best recommendation?

indianajo
1 month ago

Okay, controllers and batteries have different types of DC feed connectors. The first battery I bought had bare wires. The second battery I bought (which worked) had an andnsm connector for controller feed and IEC male for charge. The controller I bought, which looks like both aosom and that second one, used a ****ese knockoff of the .157" diameter bullet crimp connector, two females. I bought .157" male & female bullet connectors from Dorman at ORiellys auto supply, and put two males on the controller end. They matched. I put one male and one female on the battery end of the 12 ga battery-controller wires. (so they wouldn't short together). I cut the Andnsm connector off since I don't know any sources of them. I understand people that do drones tend to solder on some connector from the battery called X90, which I can have from Newark if I pay $7 freight. Who knows what connector Falcon is using. It has to be 30 amp rated for the 1000 watt motor (26.5 amps). Dorman bullet connectors made in ****** are 30 amp rated (by my experience with cars) but ****ese made similar looking connectors formerly sold by R**** S**** are thinner and will melt out at 30 amps.
As I said my first battery, allegedly made of samsung 18650 cells, was only working on one stack when I bought it and failed after 11 miles. Poor weld on the cell stacks, my diagnosis tells me (I took the top off and probed the battery controller board after they gave me my money back.) I had the battery out at my summer camp, kept going out of supplies 30 miles from town, and took 3.5 weeks to get the kit installed, so when the battery failed on my way home I had 2 days to notify Amazon, which worked okay. When the motor or controller failed 2 weeks later it was about 50 days since I bought it, and there was no warrenty language anyway, so I didn't even contact the motor/controller seller. It's winter, the e-bike is 30 miles out in the cold windy country while I ride my regular mountain bike everywhere here in town.
The second battery, also 15 ah, was made ***** by sun-ebike.com and sold through a LA ebay vendor, worked okay 60 miles. It discharged from 61 v to 48 v in 60 miles, some at 25 mph. So I think it is at least an 80 mile battery as I wanted it to be. I was LIfePO4 since these are cheaper , non-flammable, and allegedly have 50% more charge cycles than LiIon. LiFePo4 is heavier, and bulky.
As far as RichC objection, the new wheels come with their own controllers, so the old 36 v controller is a dead issue. The second wheel metioned is out of stock when I checked the link. It does come with its own gear cluster, so you don't have to worry about buying a tool to unscrew one from the old wheel, plus a $130 6 jet torch, $35 hoses, $140 regulators and $250 acetelyn and oxygen tanks, to break the rust to get the old one off. My wheel vendor was charging $15 for a new gear cluster, but I went with the front wheel to balence my bike that has 40 lb of baskets on the back plus up to 50 lb supplies for my summer camp.
I don't expect any throttle to work with any other kit, but you might luck out. Falcon would know if their new controller works with their old throttle, but you didn't want to buy that. Power wheel kits come with their own throttles free anyway, mine did. If you use the new throttle with the new controller, surprise, the connectors are going to match up. Same with the motor killing brake handles, use the new ones.

Gogogordy
1 month ago

Good point about kits. I picked up a good 500w kit for under $1000 and now have a full-suspension hybrid mountain bike that was fairly simple to set up and is lightweight and fun to ride.

If ebike companies want to increase sales in this country they will have to lower prices substantially. I guess that can't happen unless sales increase. Seems like a catch-22 situation.
I dont see prices coming DOWN in order to drive sales UP when traditional bikes (decent + ones anyway) creep up year after year in the bike biz and it easy to spend as much and more for a good traditional bicycle as any good to excellent ebike. More cheap product = more cheap product.

Now, producing better ebikes with higher cap batteries, more powerful motors and awesome after sale support at the same (cost adjusted) point will be the more natural evolution.

And of course some serious paradigm shifts by the general public.

Mark Stonich
1 month ago

Thanks for your answer. She had a motorcycle accident when younger. Things were actually fine until last year when she slipped on an ice patch and broke her knee cap. That's when the knee problems started to come back. There's a loss of strength accompanied by pain when putting too much pressure on the knee. Walking is not a problem, but carrying heavy loads is no longer possible. Not sure of all the details, as it's a friend's wife. I offered to help put the bike/kit together as they're both over 75.

In a lot of cases the apparent lack of strength isn't that the muscle isn't strong, but pain prevents you from applying full tension with it. Reducing the bend in the knee with short cranks and spinning freely (easier with shorties) often helps. That she has no trouble walking, where the knee isn't loaded while bent, suggests that reducing the bend MAY help. She should run this past her Ortho and PT to get their opinion.

If she's a candidate for knee replacement, everyone I know who's had one, including my wife, says they should have done it sooner. 7 weeks after Jane's TKR she was climbing much better than before. And she rode 9 miles the day before her surgery. But after replacement, a lot of people lose range of motion and still need shorties. I've sold at least 100 sets 100mm or shorter to adults. Many to people with knee replacements whose PT wasn't aggressive enough.

If you want to have them contact me I can help them determine if short cranks are likely to help. I have all the work I want/need and would have retired years ago if there was someone else, anywhere on the planet, doing the work. So if her situation doesn't warrant shorties, I won't try to talk them into anything to try to make a sale. If nothing else, I can offer her some strategies for biking with bad knees. And Jane can share her experience with the Copenhagen Wheel.

Mark Stonich; BikeSmith Design & Fabrication
5349 Elliot Ave S. Minneapolis, MN 55417 USA
Ph. (612) 710-9593 http://bikesmithdesign.com
https://www.flickr.com/photos/bikesmith/ (Mostly Wildlife)

Recommended reading;
Crank Length, Leg Length and Power
Short Women / Short Crank Feedback
Range of Motion Limitations & Crank Length

In case they worry that short cranks will cost her power;

I recently got a phone call from an average sized adult mountain biker who says he's climbing familiar hills 1 or 2 gears higher on 135s than he'd used with 175s before he messed his knee up. He was just hoping shorties would let him ride again. Now he wants to get back into racing. He’s in Big Bear Lake California where the “Hills” are mountains.

A local Gravel Road racer is 6'-2” (188cm) and after much trial and error finds he is fastest on 135s despite having no RoM or other issues.

Another 6’2” gent in Texas competes in long distance Brevets on 95mm cranks due to severe range of motion limits. Another man with range of motion limits is climbing the hills of San Francisco with a single 38t chainring and a 12-25 cassette, also on 95s. The fellow in San Francisco bends pedal spindles. I just heard from another gent who does the grueling 200 mile Seattle to Portland on 95s.

One of my customers, 5'-7" (170cm) tall professional triathlete Courtney Ogden, won the big money 2011 Western Australia Ironman on 145s. He's done extensive work with the people at PowerCranks where they are becoming big advocates of shorter cranks.

A few years ago a team of 4 Australian MTB racers, ranging in height from 5'10 to 6"1 won a 24 hour MTB race on 125s. With the shorter cranks they rarely had to stand. conserving energy. And they were able to get by with a single chainring, before today’s monster cassettes, because the useful RPM range is so wide with shorties. Many customers have reported that they notice themselves needing to shift much less often.

This from a serious roadie with severe range of motion limitations;
"I’m 5’8” 168lbs – regarding strength, I’m not the strongest. However, I’m not the last up the hills and can do more than my fair share on the front of the group. The 115mm Andels you made for me still have no issues what so ever, I’m on my second set of rings! Please send me another set of 115s for my new bike.”
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Knee Friendly Pedaling

Riders usually push down on the pedals by using their quads to straighten the knee joint. First pushing the pedal forward, then down. There is always going to be a bit of this going on but you can do a lot to reduce the loads on your knees.

Try concentrating on using your glutes and hip flexors to swing your knees up and down. Relax your quads and just let everything below the knee act as a connecting rod between the knees and pedals. At the bottom of the pedal stroke use your hamstrings just a little bit to pull your foot back as though you were scraping mud off your shoe. Don't consciously push forward at the top of the circle. That's when knees are most bent and the tissues around them are most vulnerable.

If you aren't clipped into the pedals, and most of the time even if you are, you don't pull up on the pedal. But the idea of using the hip flexors to lift the knee is to reduce the amount of work done by the front foot that is wasted by raising the weight of the other leg and foot. If you aren't clipped into your pedals you don't want to completely unweight the upward foot. Some contact is needed to keep it located on the pedal. A grippy pedal like a spiky MTB platform or the MKS Grip King (AKA Lambda) makes this easier.

Pedalling on the mid-foot instead of the ball of the foot reduces stress on the knee. And testing has shown that it increases endurance, at a slight cost in peak power. However, be careful to avoid toe/tire interference.

If you do this while spinning freely, in low gears, you won't have to apply much force with any single muscle group. If you aren't comfortable spinning, your cranks are probably too long. 21-21.6% of inseam is best for healthy, non-triathlets, without joint issues. When a person is uncomfortable at higher RPM it isn't due to the muscles switching from extension to contraction more often. It is because their muscles are extending and contracting at a speed that is too fast for them. This recruits more fast twitch muscles, which produce more heat and lactic acid. Shortcranks reduce this speed by moving the muscles a shorter distance per revolution. Allowing more use of slow twitch fibers for a higher comfortable cadence.

Your quads will still end up doing much of the work. But easing some of the tension pulling your patella down onto the joint can make a big difference. When I get a twinge in my knee, it reminds me to concentrate on my pedaling and I actually accelerate.

BTW I read about this type of pedaling years ago, as a way to help you spin better. So it has a double benefit.

For eBike types, think of more efficient pedaling as a way to lessen drain on your batteries. ;)

Al P
1 month ago

But a damn good kit, that's dirt simple to install, is going to be developed, that will be at great price point, still have good margin, and will work on the bikes that people already love, that are sitting in their garages unused for various reasons. All the signs are already pointing that direction. I see more and more people everyday asking for me to convert their bike, rather than buy an entire new ebike. People are going to dust off their old bikes they haven't ridden, that they previously loved, and actually fit, and ride them with the new e assist. Thats going to wipe out a lot of also rans, and going to force the players who are charging $3000 to $5000 to significantly drop their prices, OR just get out of the business. Kit sales with really less than desirable characteristics are easily in the millions here in the US already.
Good point about kits. I picked up a good 500w kit for under $1000 and now have a full-suspension hybrid mountain bike that was fairly simple to set up and is lightweight and fun to ride.

If ebike companies want to increase sales in this country they will have to lower prices substantially. I guess that can't happen unless sales increase. Seems like a catch-22 situation.

joes joey
2 months ago

Another great review Court,been waiting for this one ! great bikes i personally think these are top of the line bikes best combinations and made to perfections i mean go over it it literally has no flaws defects even charging hole is out of the way of pedals.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

So glad you enjoyed it! Yeah, I feel like OHM and BionX put effort into the details and have made something special with the 2018 lineup, the Mountain is one of my favorites :)

Gregory Alston
2 months ago

Will you be reviewing the new bike from Luna Cycles? The Apex? It looks awsome!

Paul Bamber
2 months ago

Hey Court, you seem to have used only 58% of battery going up that hill (not 68) so you should feel even more proud 😛😎

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Ha! Good catch, thanks for the feedback... yeah, it performed great and I was using the throttle and high assist quite a bit

LeoInterHyenaem
2 months ago

The best thing about this bike's design is the Ergon seat post. And secondarily, the bottom tube. The seat stay / chain stay combo is hideous! And so is the top tube. And the rear wheel.
Today's "beautiful" is the endless ugly.

Johannes Nilsen
2 months ago

I reccomend using a timber bell or similar instead of a standard bell as you can just turn it on and it makes noise, no need to use the thumb all the time, so this is a game changer on gnarly fast trails.

Johannes Nilsen
2 months ago

if you want fenders, Mudhugger is a great option.

Johannes Nilsen
2 months ago

The chainring the guy has is Renthal narrow wide chainring, Renthal is a well known high end motorcycle and bicycle handlebar brand, but few years ago they started making chainrings too. I can tell by the Renthal gold color. http://cycling.renthal.com/shop/cycle-products/cycle-chainrings/1xr-chainring

Johannes Nilsen
2 months ago

38T chainring that's overkill, unless you have a huge wide range 11-speed cassette in the back.

Johannes Nilsen
2 months ago

Custom cranks?? these are just standard od shool cheap cranks, the black area on the TRP rotors is to remove dirt.

Steve Donovan
2 months ago

I would say you should charge the OHM guys a day's salary riding on that trail.

Greg McMahon
2 months ago

Nice bike on a cool trail.

Alex NC
2 months ago

Nice trails, nice bikes!

Joseph Gizzi Jr
2 months ago

Nice bike, I like the understated “sleeper” look.

Mark Elford
2 months ago

Very nice machine, what a cool mntn trail, im spoiled i live in BC ...

Martin Schmidt
2 months ago

I think Its a lil bit too expensive for a suntour fork and the weight.other bikes for the same price have more to offer.

joes joey
2 months ago

MY COMPANY? LOL im not a company and i dont work for ohm lol just from all the rugged tests ive done ohm has defeated all ebikes currently on the market.no point in continue this conversation you like bosch i like ohm lol.

Martin Schmidt
2 months ago

joes joey i know a lot of ebike dealer. They all say Bosch is the most reliable on the market. Fewest repairs etc.also a hub drive is Not as effective as a mid drive. Also the hub drives arent that robust bc the tires they sit in get Bend over time and the repair is more complicated than mid drives. Hub drives play No significant role on the Western ebike market. The Bosch drives are also used with s pedelecs which drive fast enough. Its obvious that you make Things up to defend your Company but i think i said everything. No need for further messages from you . Thx. :)

joes joey
2 months ago

bet if you raced your e bike with any ohm bikes you would lose so hard lol.

joes joey
2 months ago

Ive had most problemes with bosch systems.. first of all their blocked to 15mph lol second plastic frame protecting Bosch systems are really weak and will crack easly and a hudge pain to repair. havnt had one single probleme with bionx or ohm company ever no failure no damage plastic of bionx systems are so damn strong they dont even scratch,and bionx systems can be deblocked for high speeds not Bosch with a 200w motor.not hating Bosch just dont like the materials,power of the systems and overall setups.

Martin Schmidt
2 months ago

joes joey Sure Its a different area for using this bike. but Its a german quality Brand and a Bosch mid drive which is the most reliable on the market today. dont have to "study" ebikes for 25 yrs to know that. I dont think the ohm has a better frame. The parts of my ex6 are better than the ohm parts . Do you drive a canadian quality car also? ;)

Tristan Edwards
2 months ago

Nice how much for that model shipped to Australia Melbourne and how long is the waiting time

A Jolly Hiker
2 months ago

FYI. The e in Schwalbe is silent. See https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yjPIkfgqmC8

stupidscum josh
2 months ago

That's very nice 😨😀

James Mason
2 months ago

is the D- series bionx top system

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

In a way, yes, it's the most powerful for sure and the design is more advanced. It just costs more and looks larger. I think it comes down to budget and type of ebike... like OHM is going to offer a 350 watt motor on their step-thru and price it lower for people who aren't climbing as much and that's cool

laurent sebbah
2 months ago

Nice bike

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

I agree, beautiful design and excellent performance, the BionX system is pretty solid... different, but solid, and OHM builds some of the best bikes with it in my opinion