OHM Urban Review

Ohm Urban Electric Bike Review
Ohm Urban
Ohm Urban 10 Speed Shimano Deore Xt Drivetrain
Ohm Urban Bionx Semi Integrated Downtube Battery Pack
Ohm Urban Transflective Removable Lcd Display Panel Ergon Grips
Ohm Urban Suntour Raidon Xc Lo R Air Suspension Fork 100 Mm Travel
Ohm Urban 165 Lumen Supernova E3 Ebike V6s Headlight
Ohm Urban Supernova E3 Led Tail Light On Racktime Rack
Ohm Urban 48 Tooth Chainring Hollow Spindle Magnesium Wellgo Pedals
Ohm Urban Bionx D Series Hub Motor Regen Braking 180 Mm Hydraulic Trp Zurich Brakes
Ohm Urban Portable Ebike Fast Charger 3 45 Amp
Ohm Urban Electric Bike Review
Ohm Urban
Ohm Urban 10 Speed Shimano Deore Xt Drivetrain
Ohm Urban Bionx Semi Integrated Downtube Battery Pack
Ohm Urban Transflective Removable Lcd Display Panel Ergon Grips
Ohm Urban Suntour Raidon Xc Lo R Air Suspension Fork 100 Mm Travel
Ohm Urban 165 Lumen Supernova E3 Ebike V6s Headlight
Ohm Urban Supernova E3 Led Tail Light On Racktime Rack
Ohm Urban 48 Tooth Chainring Hollow Spindle Magnesium Wellgo Pedals
Ohm Urban Bionx D Series Hub Motor Regen Braking 180 Mm Hydraulic Trp Zurich Brakes
Ohm Urban Portable Ebike Fast Charger 3 45 Amp

Summary

  • A near-silent, feature rich, urban hardtail electric bike that's available in four frame sizes and can be switched from Class 2 with throttle to high-speed Class 3
  • Proprietary torque sensor is integrated into the 12 mm rear-axle, it feels fluid and sporty to pedal with and less finicky than older TMM4 or bottom bracket sensors
  • OHM overbuilds their bikes so even though this is an urban model, it still has a tapered head tube, 15 mm thru-axle, adjustable air fork, and hollow spindle bottom bracket
  • The BionX D-Series hub motor is powerful and quick but visually it does stand out more than a compact gearless design, the trigger throttle only activates if the bike is moving

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

OHM

Model:

Urban

Price:

$3,599

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

3 Year Electronics, 5 Year Frame

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

20172018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

55.7 lbs (25.26 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.4 lbs (3.35 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

ADVANCE™ Hydroformed Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in (41.91 cm)18.5 in (46.99 cm)20.5 in (52.07 cm)22.5 in (57.15 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Medium 18.5" Measurements: 18.5" Seat Tube Length, 21.5" Reach, 28.5" Stand Over Height, 26.75" Width, 71" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Grey

Frame Fork Details:

Suntour RAIDON XC-LO-R Air Suspension, 100 mm Travel, Compression Clicker with Lockout, Rebound Adjust, 100 mm Hub, 15QLC 15 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

BionX Proprietary, 142 mm Hub, 12 mm Axle with M6 End Cap Bolts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore XT with Shadow Plus Derailleur, 11-36T Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano Dyna-Sys Two-Way Triggers on Right

Cranks:

OHM Branded Chainway Custom Specced Crank Arms, Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 48T Chainring with Alloy Chain Guide, SAMOX Sealed Cartridge Bottom Bracket, Splined, Hollow Spindle

Pedals:

Wellgo MG6 Magnesium Platform with Adjustable Pins

Headset:

Ritchey Pro Logic Press Fit, Tapered 1 1/ 8"- 1 1/ 2", Four 10 mm Spacers, One 5 mm Spacer

Stem:

Promax Alloy, 70 mm, 6° Rise, 31.8 mm Clamp Diameter with Custom Light Mount

Handlebar:

Ritchie Comp, Aluminum Low-Rise, 670 mm Length, 35 mm Rise, 31.8 mm Diameter

Brake Details:

TRP Zurich Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Quad Piston Calipers, TRP Levers with Tool-Free Adjust Reach, BionX Motor Inhibitor for Regen Activation on Right

Grips:

Ergon GP1, Ergonomic Rubber, Locking, 150 mm Length

Saddle:

OHM Branded Ergon Sport Gel SMC4, Chromoly Rails, Nylon Composite Shell, Orthopedic Comfort Foam with Gel Pads

Seat Post:

Ritchey Comp, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Alexrims FR30, Alloy, Double Wall, 32 Hole, Aluminum Eyelets

Spokes:

Sapim Strong, Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black, Brass Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Ben Plus, 27.5" x 2.0"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

35 to 70 PSI, Performance Line GreenGuard, SnakeSkin, Reflective Stripe

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Pletscher ESGE Adjustable Center-Mount Kickstand, Signal Bell, Racktime Alloy Rack (25 kg 55 lb Max Weight), Racktime Aluminum Alloy Fenders (60 mm Width), Integrated Supernova E3 E-BIKE V6s Headlight (165 Lumens), Integrated Supernova E3 Tail Light 2, Optional BodyFloat Suspension Seatpost ($249), ABUS Bordo Combo Lite 6150 ($129)

Other:

Locking Removable Semi-Integrated Downtube Battery Pack, 0.9 lb 3.45 Amp BionX Compact Charger, KMC X10 EPT for MTB Chain, (Size Specific Handlebar 680 / 720 mm, Stem 70 / 80 / 90 mm, Crank Arms 170 / 175 mm, Grips Small 130 mm / 150 mm)

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

BionX, D-Series

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

1000 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters (Nominal 25 Nm)

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

70 miles (113 km)

Display Type:

BionX DS3, Removable, Backlit, Color LCD

Readouts:

Three Display Layouts (Basic, Enhanced, Data View), Assist Level (1-4 Support, 1-4 Regeneration), Power Graph (Output, Regeneration), Speed (mph / kph), Battery Level (10 Bars), Setup, Odometer, Trip Timer, Trip Distance, Average Speed, Clock

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (On/Off, Lights, +, -, Left Clicker, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Level (4 Dots for Power and Regeneration), Right Clicker), Optional Standard Sized USB Port

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph) (20 mph Throttle Only)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

OHM is a Premiere BionX partner from Vancouver Canada that has been in the ebike business since 2005, using BionX electric drive systems exclusively during that time. I have reviewed eight of their prior year models here on EBR and always come away feeling impressed. In a world where fancy mid-drive systems are generating attention for mountain biking and turning heads with high-torque power output, the BionX system remains unique because it has a throttle, offers regenerative braking, does not interfere with shifting, and operates almost silently. Yes, it’s less efficient overall and weaker in terms of peak torque output because you cannot leverage a drivetrain… but it’s simpler to use and more enjoyable to ride for many people. The Urban electric bike model from OHM, featured here, was the first bike I had tested that utilizes the new semi-integrated downtube battery and transflective color display from BionX. The motor, battery, and display are excellent on their own but what really set the end product apart for me was how OHM overbuilt the frame, including top-end parts and accessories, but still managed to keep weight down. Despite having an 8.8 lb hub motor spoked into the rear wheel, this bike is well balanced from front to rear. It’s quiet, despite having large alloy fenders and a rear rack, powerful but efficient with smooth torque sensing operation, and thoughtfully laid out with lower top tube and side mounting battery design. And, because it’s available in four frame sizes, the lower top tube and smallest size is more approachable to petite riders and those with shorter inseams or injured hips. It’s also safe, thanks to premium Supernova integrated ebike lights and reflective tires. The two other 2017 OHM e-bike models I saw during this visit emphasize light trail and mountain riding and it seems like OHM just kept things simple by recycling frames, forks, sealed bottom brackets, custom crank arms, and drivetrains etc. vs. speccing them down for the city model. What that means is, the company saves money on volume orders, can have an easier time servicing any of the bikes in the lineup because they have so much in common, and you get a city ebike here that’s much more capable than a lot of competitors. I also noticed that the different sized bikes have different length stems, handlebars, crank arms, and grips! They get longer for the larger models to dial in comfort and control. The product does cost more, but not as much as I expected initially… At $3,599 USD, it’s only $1k more than the BionX D-Series stand-alone kit but looks a whole lot nicer. Cables are internally routed, the right brake lever has an integrated motor inhibitor vs. aftermarket glue-on solution, and you can add a USB charging port to maintain or fill your portable electronics on the go. There’s always a lot to talk about with the high-end electric bikes and I especially enjoy highlighting the comfort aspects such as Ergon grips and gel saddle here, the 100 mm air suspension fork which includes a compression clicker with lockout and rebound adjust, and slightly wider 2″ tires that provide stability and vibration dampening. OHM goes through several production prototypes each year before settling on a final version and it’s clear when you take a ride and actually spend some time up close that this is the real deal. The addition of bottle cage bosses, custom rear rack support bosses, iconic overbuilt head tube, and Magnesium pedals are not common.

Driving the bike is a 500 watt nominally rated, gearless direct-drive hub motor. With peak torque output at 50 Newton meters and peak wattage around 750, it’s one of the strongest legal hub motors to be found. And it certainly looks unique… the design has grown on me over the past year but it’s hard to deny that it does stand out. The large diameter provides a mechanical advantage for the magnets and electromagnetic staters inside which increases torque while simultaneously improving cooling due to increased air volume. The casing itself is a sort of composite plastic that is lightweight, durable, and unobtrusive in black. It shouldn’t get scratched or nicked up and show damage as much as a painted alloy hub. Yes, it could catch some wind from the side, but that shouldn’t impact steering because it’s the rear wheel and there is still a lot of space between open spokes above and below. The spokes actually connect from rim to hub vs. rim to hub motor… meaning that they are normal full-length sized. This increased spoke length provides some comfort in the form of flex while riding. And while shorter spokes can be stronger, they translate energy into the frame and rims which can cause bending and cracking on rims. That’s not such an issue here but even so, OHM opted for double wall alloy rims with reinforcement eyelets just to be safe… and possibly because this is what their mountain models use. They painted the spokes black to match the hub motor casing, and they chose a capable drivetrain from Shimano to reduce maintenance intervals, speed up shifting, and improve chain tension. You get a 10-speed 11 to 36 tooth cassette here with Shimano Deore XT derailleur that has Shadow Plus (a one way clutch to tighten the chain). I found shifting to be easy, fast, and quiet. I was pedaling naturally, feeling empowered vs. carried or pushed like some cadence sensing e-bikes, and never surprised or annoyed by delays from sensor to motor output. It felt very smooth but definitely more powerful than average. Another minor note here is that the trigger shifters for changing gears and arrow buttons for raising and lowering assist were easy to reach and not too crowded near the right grip. I think this has a lot to do with the small form factor of the BionX button pad. It doesn’t take up much space so your brake lever and shifter mounts can all be close together, right where you need them.

Powering the bike, backlit display, two lights, and optional USB power port, is a high capacity Lithium-ion battery. It offers efficient 48 volt energy transfer with 11.6 amp hours for a total of 556.8 watt hours. That’s over half a kilowatt hour, definitely above average, but it spends quickly if you opt for the Class 3 speed pedelec setup or use the throttle constantly. I estimated range between 25 and 70 miles but that greatly depends on how you ride. Higher speed riding takes a big toll on efficiency because of air resistance and throttle mode, while fun, is a battery hog because the D-Series motor accelerates so quickly. The trigger throttle is ramped so you can press gently for less power, but the movement is relatively small (to keep it compact) so precise throttling takes some practice. Unlike many competing throttles, this one is easy to reach and not so fatiguing to use constantly. It is perhaps one of my favorite throttle designs because it’s a trigger vs. twist and that means you can really grip and handle the bike well. And you can use the throttle at full power to override assist! No need for clicking up and down through different menus to get the throttle going the way you do on some bikes like Easy Motion’s Evo line. The throttle is always active as long as the bike is moving ~1.5 mph. Yes, throttle from standstill would be nice, but this one activates super fast… again, I was bummed out by the 6 mph cutoff on one of Evelo’s 2017 models using the Bafang Max drive. Sometimes ebike manufactures are limited by what their motor supplier offers but kudos to BionX for their good work here. It’s part of why they were invited to be an advertiser here. They offer something unique, put a lot of thought into the design, and support it well. Anyway, the battery can be charged on or off the bike frame and uses a quick 3.45 Amp charger vs. the standard 2 Amp so you can fill the battery quickly and get back out onto the road! The removability of the display, battery, quick release front wheel, and seat post, make the bike easy to transport, protect, and store. I usually bring my battery into the office to fill up during the day before my ride home. Note that the battery does not have an obvious handle and would definitely get scratched and even damaged if dropped… at 7.4 lbs, it’s not the lightest thing… so be careful or use a bag to carry it.

I apologize for not going into the Bluetooth smartphone app, but there was a lot to cover with the included LCD display and control ring. BionX balanced features and choice against usability here and came out with a good result. You can choose from three default layouts but I feel that two might have been enough. The basic and advanced views are mostly the same except for some charts and icons that appear as motor power increases or regenerative braking is activated. Only the right brake lever activates regen, but this reduces clutter and possibly saves money? Anyway, perhaps the flicker and movement of colors on the advanced display could be distracting for some and that’s why a basic readout was also offered? For those who really like to dig into the stats and know exactly what’s happening at all times, there is also a data view. This is almost like an instrument panel in an airplane or something, just a lot of labels and numbers in a grid. It might be optimal for night use because the background is mostly black and there are not colors. You can select from the three menus by clicking left or right and you can arrow up or down through four levels of assist and regen by using the plus and minus keys. There is also a power button and lights button above the plus key. I love how easy the buttons are to reach and that if the display was removed or lost, you can still use the control ring to operate the bike. It has an integrated LED readout for battery level (five bars) and four more bars to let you know what assist level is in use. It’s like night and day to see this control ring and then look at a basic throttle that’s oversized and cheap feeling… this is part of what you’re paying for and it’s easy to appreciate in person.

Not everyone is ready to spend big bucks on a more premium product like OHM offers but those who do will benefit from an excellent warranty and a system that is very refined. I hear people complain about the noise produced by some drive systems, Bosch mid-drives in particular, and have also heard about chain wear and shifting difficulty. I personally like having a throttle at my disposal and love integrated tuff lights because I commute in early morning and late light situations a lot and want to be seen. There are only a handful of little things that bug me about this model including the mid-mounted kickstand that gets in the way of the left crank arm, the visual appearance of the larger hub motor, the increased hassle of changing a rear flat tire, the longer boot up time of the display panel, and to a minor extent how the pedals feel because of a thicker spindle with lower outer rim… I felt the spindle under my foot vs. a large flat surface. As OHM transitions toward a direct to consumer model, it is difficult to find their products in ebike stores and actually test ride them but the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable with over a decade of ebike sales and support experience. This is one of my favorite speed pedelecs on the market right now and has built my appreciation for the small details that go into frame design and hardware choice. The sealed cartridge headset and bottom bracket will keep water out and the unique rack support mounts provide strength and allow for a more visually pleasing free stand design. I probably would spend the extra money to upgrade to a BodyFloat suspension post because I have back and neck sensitivity and high speed can really bring out the stiffness of a hardtail frame. As you park and lock this e-bike, be sure to secure the front wheel, frame, and seat post and saddle rails if you do get the upgrade because those are expensive premium parts.

Pros:

  • Premium rack and 60 mm Aluminum alloy fenders offer a ton of utility, the stock photo shows plastic fenders with mud flaps but the production bike is upgraded and the metal fenders are solid and very quiet
  • Only the highest-end electric bikes seem to offer integrated lights from Supernova and they tend to last longer because of metal housings and sturdy mounts, I love how the headlight is positioned below the handlebar to make room for the LCD display
  • There are so many ways to control this e-bike including the mini control ring near the right grip, the compact color LCD panel, or the smart phone app, being able to remove the display for parking (to reduce wear and tampering) is fantastic
  • Four frame sizes mean you can find an appropriate fit and the semi-integrated battery makes space for a bottle cage and lower top tube to make the bike easier to mount
  • Considering how sturdy and well accessorized this ebike is, I was impressed with the 55.7 lb weight, it has metal lights, a high-capacity battery, and a powerful motor but things like magnesium pedals, a minimalist kickstand, hollow spindle bottom bracket, and air fork all make a difference
  • OHM has been around since 2005 and offers a unique 3+ year warranty on their products, they use high-end parts and are a premiere BionX partner so their bikes tend to last, since they have three models that all use the same battery design it’s easier to get replacements
  • I like how this bike looks, the decals are minimalist and the light grey is gender neutral, the oversized headset is a signature look and also provides more strength
  • Upon first seeing the bike, and knowing that the BionX D-Series motor weighs ~8.8 lbs, I was expecting it to be rear-heavy… but I lifted it just in front of the saddle nose and it tipped forward vs. back, I feel that it’s very well balanced and the weight is all kept low for improved handling vs. a rack battery
  • Comfortable touch points including locking ergonomic grips, finger-adjustable brake levers, a sporty Ergon gel saddle, and wider Schwalbe tires with a medium-range pressure recommendation
  • For me, safety is a big deal, so the lighter frame color, reflective tires, and bright integrated lights are a big win, everything just works and the lights run off of the primary battery
  • OHM offers a Body Float suspension seat post upgrade, folding lock accessories, and does a trade-in program on their older bikes so you could possibly get a discount to buy their latest stuff
  • Riding this bike just feels good, it’s more polished, quiet and balanced than a lot of others… it’s also one of the few that even offer a throttle mode which is fun to use (at least for me!)
  • Even though regenerative braking doesn’t put much power back into the battery, it does reduce wear on brake pads and can be used to simulate climbing with the four levels on the BionX system, overall it’s pretty neat
  • The unique design of the hub motor casing, being relatively slim but tall, allows for the spokes to connect at the hub vs. the outside of the hub motor and this allows them to flex naturally providing a level of comfort and performance that most other hub motor ebikes lack
  • The battery pack clicks in from the left side vs. down from the top which means it won’t bump into the frame as easily and the top tube can be lower, I like that the battery is rated against dust and water, uses a fast charger, can be filled on or off the bike, and even has a touch-activated capacity indicator (where the charger plugs in) it lights up green at 70%+, orange between 20% and 70%, and red when below 20%
  • After a few minutes of inactivity, the display panel automatically powers off… it has lots of settings where you can change brightness, units, etc. to make it fit your preferences and style
  • Larger 180 mm hydraulic brakes provide the kind of stopping power that mountain bikers need, so it’s cool to have them on more of an urban bike, specifically because it weighs more and can be switched to 28 mph Class 3 if you want (I think you need OHM to do this and change the Class sticker before it’s shipped to you)
  • Shimano Deore XT is a mid to high-level drivetrain and ten speeds is enough to let you climb and reach higher speeds comfortably… though the larger 48 tooth chainring is setup more for speed, there were more times where I was riding in the absolute lowest gear because of the hilly terrain in Vancouver, I like that the derailleur has a one way clutch to reduce chain bounce (the little grey lever, point it up to tighten the chain)
  • The chainring has an alloy guard to keep your pants or skirt clear along with a plastic inner guide to reduce drops, basically they combine to create reliability when on bumpy terrain

Cons:

  • I appreciate how the kickstand is adjustable length but it still gets in the way where it’s mounted, just below and behind the crank arms, if you back the bike up or pedal with the stand down it will collide
  • OHM has moved away from dealers, they only sell direct now which means it could be difficult to go for a test ride unless you live near their factory store in North Vancouver, BC Canada
  • The large black hub motor casing definitely stands out visually, the design provides great torque for acceleration and climbing but may also catch a bit of side wind and attract attention compared to smaller gearless hubs
  • The display panel and battery pack don’t have an integrated Micro-USB port by default but apparently for $20 OHM can wire one in and stick it to the right side of the frame near the top of the downtube
  • It would be nice if both brake levers had the regeneration switch vs. just the right one, but I guess that reduces clutter up front, a bit of weight, and expense
  • The display panel takes longer to boot up than Bosch and some of the other high-end products, not much longer, but enough to be a little annoying every time you turn the bike on and are eager to go right away!
  • As much as I appreciate the large platform and grippy adjustable pins on the lightweight Magnesium pedals… I felt like the spindle at the center was too high, I could feel it at the ball of my foot vs. a more flat platform which is what I usually feel, they left me mixed vs. fully impressed
  • It’s no fun to change inner tubes if you get a flat so the upgraded Performance Line GreenGuard Plus tires are a welcome part, I love that the front axle uses quick release to make it easier to service, but have to acknowledge that most hub motor setups can be a pain to work with on the rear wheel because of the additional motor wire and bolts or nuts, the BionX motor has a quick disconnect point and mounts fairly easily with the correct 6M hex wrench, but it still takes more time and tools than a mid-drive
  • Some of the other high-end ebike displays offer a range estimation stat which can help you plan trips, that isn’t available with the BionX setup used here but at least it does show a high precision 10-bar battery infographic and battery percentage! Their battery packs are also smart and go into a deep-sleep mode when not used for long periods

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More OHM Reviews

OHM Mountain Review

  • MSRP: $3,455
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A sleek, extremely quiet, cross country style electric bike built around a custom hardtail frame that comes in four sizes (including stem, bar, and crank arm differences). 100 mm air suspension fork from Suntour, larger 3" plus sized tires from Schwalbe, longer…...

OHM Sport Review

  • MSRP: $3,959
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A trail-worthy speed pedelec with premium accessories like aluminum fenders, integrated Supernova lights, a removable color LCD display, and regenerative braking. Very well balanced, especially for a hub-motor electric bike, the air fork, hollow-spindle bottom bracket,…...

OHM Sport XS750 Plus 16 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A fatty electric bike with medium sized 3.25" tires, strikes a balance between cushion, traction and handling. Powerful BionX D-Series motor offers good torque and higher top speeds ~28 mph in pedal…...

OHM Urban XU700 16 Review

  • MSRP: $4,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high power, high speed, urban style electric bike with nearly every accessory you could, great for commuting or trekking. Extremely quiet drivetrain, four levels of assist and regen with variable speed trigger throttle, removable…...

OHM Urban XU700 LS 15 Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A feature-complete urban style electric bike with premium rack, fenders and lights, sturdy mid-cut hydroformed aluminum frame available in three sizes. Offers variable speed throttle, four levels of assist and four regen in addition to regenerative…...

OHM Sport XS750 15 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A powerful and sturdy city style electric bike with comfortable but slightly more aggressive ergonomics, premium tires and upgraded suspension fork with lockout. 500 watt BionX D-Series motor is near silent but very strong for climbing, BionX DV…...

OHM Urban XU700 LS 16 Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A premium step-thru electric bike with fenders, rack, lights and suspension fork (with lockout) for under $3k. Reinforced hydro formed aluminum alloy frame is sturdier than other low-step models I've tested, the…...

OHM Urban XU700 Review

  • MSRP: $3,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Sturdy, feature rich ebike designed for efficient commuting with four regen modes and regenerative braking. Uses the direct drive BionX 350 HT (high torque) motor and features 27 speeds for…...

OHM XU450 E2 Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

A sturdy, elegant and simple-to-use ebike with auto-shifting gears, a quiet belt drive system, fenders and rack. SRAM EMATIC motor, battery and control system offer efficiency in power and range and look…...

OHM Sport XS750 Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Fully featured, high-end electric mountain bike with great power and thoughtful design. Powered by industry leading BionX battery pack, controller and gearless rear hub motor...


Neil Snyder
5 months ago

This is an extremely well-designed eBike. We have experience with the BionX D-500 and it is a superb performer, one of the best rear hubs on the market. Ohm should do very well with these models. Kudos to Ohm for a job well done.

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Thanks for your input Neil! That’s great feedback and I agree that the BionX drive systems (and the D-Series in particular) are some of the best on the market right now, especially for hub motors.

Reply
Bike_On
5 months ago

Super good review- Court. This is an impressive OEM ddhub , with all the touch points, including dual mode throttle/PAS. High quality components and rated accordingly. I would love to read a long term commuter review.

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Me too, I haven’t owned a BionX powered ebike long term but given the gearless design and “big company” reputation, I’m guessing it would be a lasting high-value bike. Got a couple more of these OHM models to review and post in the coming weeks. Hope you’re well, great to see your comment here!

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Dewey
4 days ago

For folks seeking a step-through donor pedal bicycle frame to convert to an ebike with a DIY motor kit, the Reddit City Bikes spreadsheet has a column indicating where a step-through frame is available together with price, type of drivetrain, and web link:
https://www.reddit.com/r/citybike/comments/45zbr3/the_rcitybike_spreadsheet_updated_for_spring_2016/

Common features of ebikes used in urban bikeshare systems such as the Smoovengo E-Bike (Paris), Social Bicycles JUMP (Washington, DC), Bewegen Pedelec (Baltimore), and BCycle Dash+ (designed by Trek, coming in 2018), are a step-through frame, 26" wheels, 3 or 7 speed IGH, Class 1 pedelec, 250w front hub or 350w mid-drive motor, and rollerbrakes. Dock based systems recharge off the bikeshare dock vs dockless systems like JUMP incorporate a GPS locator chip and require you lock up the ebike with a provided U-lock and a maintenance guy either swaps out the battery or recharges it at a hub collection point every 2-3 days.

Joseph Green
5 days ago

Kenny - We have one in the shop that I have ridden several times. My initial thoughts are: Compact bike made to fit a variety of riders. It rides like a full size bike due to the stiff frame and wider tires and it's a lot of fun and very easy to handle making it great for urban environments.

Let me know if I can answer any questions.

Chris, I really like the comfort and versatility of the Tinker. I have a few questions about configuring the Tinker:
1) Ideally i'd like more seatpost suspension combined with an original Tinker seatpost: Can R&M fit it with a Cane Creek Thudbuster LT instead of an ST, or even a Body Float? I know they don't show those options online, but maybe you have inside info. I'd prefer not to use shims, and to get the adjustment tick marks and the full range of height adjustments of the original unsuspended seatpost.
2) Is R&M's CCT ST seatpost just as long as their unsuspended seatpost? I'm 6'6" and the Tinker felt comfortable only at the highest unsuspended seatpost setting. My wife is much shorter, so I'm also wondering if the ST adds to the minimum seat height (maybe not since I think the unsuspended seatpost doesn't go all the way down either)?
3) Are there any pneumatic suspension fork options (from R&M or Propel)? Seems like this should be an option for a ~$5k ebike.

Thank you!
Joe

Ann M.
6 days ago

Named after the historic Junto Club started by Benjamin Franklin a couple of hundred years ago, the Junto Gen1 electric bike is an incredibly well thought out design at a very reasonable price, $2,200. Designed for all around city riding, the bottom bracket, headset & hub bearings are all sealed, so you're not going to get road grit & water out of the bearings. Junto chose a very high torque 350 watt geared Bafang motor and a larger 48V 11ah lithium pack for better range & overall lighter weight. With the weight balanced a little to the front, you have more positive steering and quicker reaction, much like a better made mountain bike and offsetting the weight of the rear hub motor. Note too the reinforced eyelets on these wheels; a much stronger build. And with Junto's focus on just one model right now, the bike is built to be upgraded without a lot of problems. I'm looking forward to an opportunity to test one of these bikes soon! Check out Court's review for all the details.

https://electricbikereview.com/junto/... The Junto Gen 1 is a sporty, responsive, urban style electric bike with 29er wheels and higher volume tires that create stability and add comfort, available in three frame sizes and two color options. All-aluminum frame is purpose built for ebike applications with a suspension-corrected geometry so you can add a 100 mm suspension fork aftermarket, tapered head tube and 15 mm thru axle. Excellent 11-speed Shimano SLX drivetrain with Shadow Plus clutch, wider 25 mm rims with reinforcement eyelets and thicker 13 gauge spokes in the rear to support the 350 watt geared motor. Simple display only shows battery level and 1-5 assist, the blue LED's can be annoyingly bright in dark ride conditions, nice locking ergonomic grips, gel saddle, and alloy platform pedals, hydraulic 180 mm disc brakes with motor inhibitors.

Ken M
7 days ago

How fast do you ride, Ken ? When I ride around town 28 is about it for me with a fatbike. I can see with a commuter bike and good roads, maybe a little faster. Riding faster than that in a urban situation, is a little crazy to me.

Good question. There is actually some studies on average riding speed for people that own Class 3 45kph speed pedelec in Europe. They average around 20mph/32kph so that data can make people think that there is no value to having a faster bike. Most of time I'm commuting (not stopped at a light) I'm cruising at around 23-25mph/40kph (my PIM/Polaris eBike assist ends at that speed so it's a comfortable cruising speed. But there are some long stretches I go faster but essentially on under my own power and I'm on the road where it would be nice to get up to 35mph/50kph crusing speed.

I have Schwalbe Moto X 27.5 x 2.4 tires on this bike and they provide the performance and handling that make higher speeds feel comfortable/safe. Just because an eBike has the capability to assist up to 50kph doesn't mean responsible riders are going to be running over pedestrians (although I would prefer they walk in the grass :-) ) and running slower riders into the ditch (although like some bad drivers inevitably they end up there anyway). Anyway, I'm just joking around but when you are commuting approx 15 miles each way as often as possible (my bike does not replace my car) having the higher speed capability does save time. IT'S IMPORTANT! Bizarre that Europe has Autobahns with crazy high speeds for cars but they think bikes should be literally manufactured with speed limitation build in (I guess the conservatives were thrown a bone on that legislation as that is the only explanation I can come up with as to why they did this - sorry conservatives but you did fight to keep the highway speed limits here in the US at 55mph....thankfully you lost that debate...your scared of speed, I can respect that so stay in the slow lane and let me pass).

bob armani
7 days ago

Hello Nora,

On the Copenhagen wheel since the battery has a total capacity of 279Wh then this too qualifies as a DG (Dangerous Goods) shipment and cannot be brought on board as regular baggage. It must be shipped per ICAO/IATA regulations as a DG shipment and packed / shipped accordingly.

Thanks so much Chris and Will for helping us ebikers understand this very complicated restriction with shipment of your products. I wanted to take my ebike oversees with my wife to ride and do some urban commutes, however, as Will has indicated, a more viable option would be to perhaps rent locally to save a lot of hassles. As we all know, dealing with airline companies could be dangerous in the event of being dragged off a plane (as in the 'Jimmy Kimmel Airline skit') shown on one of his episodes. LOL! Thanks guys!

Ken M
7 days ago

Great point ... actually that was my intent. The issue is that it is difficult to find unbiased information. Manufacturers don't want to say a mid-drive is best for say mtn biking but less suited for fast urban pedelec riding. It is next to impossible to find information on long term cost of ownership of the different drive systems - chain & chain ring replacements, maintenance of the motor, etc., but my guess is that a hub motor is dramatically superior in this regard (this is something that universally matters regardless of rider needs but will fall way down the list of important factors for any enthusiast riding a high performance mountain bike).

Mtn biking has some unique performance demands that riding in an urban environment simply does not so in my opinion what should be considered best for you needs for urban riding should be best efficiency of the system. Vice versa, it makes no sense to put a 5kg hub motor on a full suspension eBike because that much mass will ruin the performance of the rear suspension and without a doubt mid-drives are more efficient for low speed climbing (the benefits of the motor's internal gearing and the gearing of the drive train both aid in this).

vroom
3 weeks ago

Hi,

I am looking to buy an e bike and I have some requirements that I think most people will find odd. These are specific to me and since I am new to this world of e-bikes I would like some advice please.

Goals: I want to use an e bike for daily commutes -all year round without sweating. (I want to use e-bike for easy commute)

Choices: Mid-drive motors, Front hub motors, Rear hub motors.

Specifics of my commute:
The areas I travel in have some smooth, some bumpy, some hilly roads and very few off-roads.
I carry 3 bags with me: office briefcase + gym bag+ grocery bag for when need be (and a small cycle tool bag).
Weight = 150 (me) + additional = 220 at most. Max= 300 if carrying exceptional loads, like luggage.
I want to ride through all seasons.
I am currently using a bike.
When I ride I wear office attire/suit or, casual clothing so, mostly shirts and trousers and jackets. As a result I want to avoid sweating as much as possible.
My commutes happen in urban areas so, there are lots of stops every now and then.
Total distance traveled I assume is usually under 22 miles in a day and rarely crosses 30, but can happen once in a few months.

Problems faced:
I find myself sweating in rainy and winter (snow prone region, not yet) conditions when I have to wear insulated clothes + windproof coats/jackets, particularly on hills.
(I do not have means to carry three different bags properly. I have to explore options, rear panniers+rear baskets, etc.)

Goals to be met:
I want to meet my needs of commute, carry bags properly and avoid sweating (Can I use ebike for commute and not exercise).

So, what type of motor would be suitable for the experience I am seeking?
Choices: Mid-drive motors, Front hub motors, Rear hub motors.

Suggestions for bikes and carrying arrangements are welcome.

Note: Carrying office clothes in a separate bag is not ideal and only changes the problem without solving it.

Thank you in advance for all your help.

Edit 1:
Male, late 20s.
150lbs, 5 ft, 8.5.
Located in US, east coast.
Health: average.
Injury: None
Pre-existing condition: very mild back pain. so, upright position is how I currently ride.

Edit 2:
At this point I am thinking a combination of some type of pedal assistance (lots of traffic stops) and throttle would be useful for hills and keeping up with traffic when needed.
Does that limit my choices?

Echos
3 weeks ago

Weiterstadt, Germany - Riese & Müller - www.r-m.de - a maker of luxury eBikes sold worldwide has introduced the stylishly minimal and clean Roadster that will change how you look at eBikes. The Roadster’s sleek frame and traditional aesthetics combined with the best new e-technology are sure to catch the eye as you navigate urban areas or head out of the city and into the countryside.

Stylish, clean and minimal define the approach and lines of the redesigned Roadster while offering all of the technology and performance expected from Riese & Müller. The Roadster factors in concepts of classic bicycle frames: diamond frame construction, narrow rounded tube cross-sections, almost horizontal top-tube and delicate seat stays. The result is a clean, lightweight and sporty appearance that Riese & Muller have dubbed E-sthetics for those who love the classic construction and feel the technical elements of an eBike detract from the overall look of a bicycle. The Roadster incorporates a new, lighter Bosch Active Plus motor, the Gates belt drive, and Suntour NCX fork, bringing the total weight to just below 44 pounds. The Roaster is a perfect city rocket built for those who want all the benefits of an eBike in a classic look.

Features:

Bosch Performance CX Motor

36V / 500 watt battery

Shimano Deore 10-speed drivetrain

Magura MT4 hydraulic brakes

Suntour NCX Suspension Front Fork

Three Available Sizes

Mixte Model Available

Available colors: Electric Green Metallic, Black Matte, White

MSRP: $3879 (starting price)

Landing Page

Echos
3 weeks ago

Weiterstadt, Germany - Riese & Müller - www.r-m.de - a maker of luxury eBikes sold worldwide has introduced the stylishly minimal and clean Roadster that will change how you look at eBikes. The Roadster’s sleek frame and traditional aesthetics combined with the best new e-technology are sure to catch the eye as you navigate urban areas or head out of the city and into the countryside.

Stylish, clean and minimal define the approach and lines of the redesigned Roadster while offering all of the technology and performance expected from Riese & Müller. The Roadster factors in concepts of classic bicycle frames: diamond frame construction, narrow rounded tube cross-sections, almost horizontal top-tube and delicate seat stays. The result is a clean, lightweight and sporty appearance that Riese & Muller have dubbed E-sthetics for those who love the classic construction and feel the technical elements of an eBike detract from the overall look of a bicycle. The Roadster incorporates a new, lighter Bosch Active Plus motor, the Gates belt drive, and Suntour NCX fork, bringing the total weight to just below 44 pounds. The Roaster is a perfect city rocket built for those who want all the benefits of an eBike in a classic look.

Features:

Bosch Performance CX Motor

36V / 500 watt battery

Shimano Deore 10-speed drivetrain

Magura MT4 hydraulic brakes

Suntour NCX Suspension Front Fork

Three Available Sizes

Mixte Model Available

Available colors: Electric Green Metallic, Black Matte, White

MSRP: $3879 (starting price)

Landing Page

ABOUT RIESE & MÜLLER
It all began with two engineers, a good idea and a garage. But not in California, rather in the south of Hesse. In Darmstadt, to be more precise. In the parent's courtyard. Immediately after the company was founded, it won the Innovation Prize in 1993 and has grown to become an internationally renowned premium manufacturer of E-Bikes and folding bikes. As previously, Riese & Müller manufactures the most innovative bikes of tomorrow with the passion of yesteryear - and still in Weiterstadt, not far from the old garage.

tinotino
1 month ago

Nice pics! I almost forgot this thread. Did you road test it already?

Did a first ride test drive yesterday. Rode about 22 miles. I did 1/3 thottle only, 2/3 on various power settings. The battery started from 5/6 and down to 1/6, pretty close to empty. My commute route is 12.5m each way so I guess it's possible to do a round trip with 1 charge.

A couple observations:
* power setting 1-5 might as well simplified to 1-3, I don't feel enough difference between them.

* This is my first time riding an ebike, all my previous bikes were 26-28" no suspension commuter hybrid bikes.

* The front suspensing doesn't feel that useful to me, it only helps in certain down curb situation. I now understand why a lot of bikes don't have it. Maybe I need to upgrade the seat but so far standing up on the pedals is still a better "suspension".

* 20" with suspension is still worst than bigger wheels, epecially on concrete and bricked sidewalk, but I need a smaller folding bike.

* My original observation of commuting in New York was correct, there is almost no point in getting faster ebikes because there is so little chance to go over 15m, 18m in any long stretch. If I start over again, I would still choose the Urban for cheap, or an old model year Easy Motion Volt for the dealer support and 5 year warranty. EM doesn't sell the spear battery separately is one reason I chose Voltbike. Voltbike acts more like a Chinese company, you can buy parts from them.

* The power setting is probably just a voltage setting not a top speed setting, I haven't read the manual yet. When I was on power 1 (weakest), I could still coast to 20mph, however when the battery was on 1/6, it only went up to 12mph, and then 10mph, 8mph top speed. On my last mile the trottle was going slower than my human powered pedaling.

* The throttle is a really good idea. Even if you pedal 90% of the time, it really helps you in many situations, such as going pass an intersection in the safest speed. Countries and cities that outlaw throttles are retarded. It's like a mouse vs controller argument. If you can use the mouse for more precise control, why shouldn't you use it? Commuting is not a game.

* Oh yeah it really can use a pair of bottle holder screws holes. Now I have to jerryrig a solution.

TomC
1 month ago

Riding in a city of about 200,000... Major urban through road - four lanes each way, left and/or right turn lanes added at each intersection as appropriate, speed limit 50KPH (31MPH), cruising in the rightmost through lane at the speed limit on a long downhill curve, I glance down and notice that the right front corner of a Mercedes is visually in line with the left end of my handlebar (that puts him not quite under my handlebar) -- I'm annoyed, but not worried; the driver is closer than he should be, but probably didn't realize that my handlebars were that wide until he got close enough to actually see them. The Mercedes slows slightly and moves a bit to the left giving me adequate clearance (as long neither of us does anything stupid). A few moments later I hear a quick tap of the two-tone horn that the Polizei use. Glancing back I see the Mercedes being pulled over and I'm pretty sure that having gotten that close to me is going to cost him 40 marks (about $12 at the exchange rate then).

As I approach the bottom of the hill, I signal and change lanes to reach the left turn lane at the next light where I will be turning left. The next section of the day's run will be north along a bike path paralleling the Lech River.

Needless to say, this would not have been possible in a US city of similar size.

And, oh by the way, that was on a conventional bike, not an ebike.

Dewey
1 month ago

A quick look at the “discussion by brand” forum on this very board, and it’s 150+ subforums...which brands do you anticipate will still be viable, and among the top 5 of the entirety of ebike brands in say 5 years

This review site does not have sub-forums for every bike brand that has an electric model available to buy in the US/Canada, e.g. there are no sub-forums for Babboe, Bakfiets, Breezer, Electrobike, Ghost, Madsen, Opus, Rambo, Rungu, Wike, Zero, or smaller US frame builders, etc. The big 3 US bicycle brands Trek, Giant, and Specialized will still be selling ebikes in 5 years, Trek has been expanding their shop network recently. The biggest US ebike brand is Pedego and their store network providing local support and offerings targeted at an older, wealthier, leisure/recreational market mean they will probably still be #1 in 5 years. Niche producers will continue to thrive as long as there is interest in their products e.g. Zero specializes in high performance electric motorcycles, Rambo resells fat tire ebikes for the hunting market. Cargo ebikes and eBikeshare offer potential for growth in American cities provided urban bicycle infrastructure continues to be built and the pace of state and local ebike regulatory reform is maintained. I think internet sales will continue to be important for lower cost brands competing on price or catering to the DIY market, or for buyers who want to buy a used ebike or new from a discount wholesaler. For higher priced brands offering local support is important for buyers who value in-person test-rides/sales/warranty/maintenance work, the brands that succeed will be those that partner with ebike friendly local bike shops, or mobile mechanics like velofix, or retail chains that have regional or national distribution eg Prodecotech sold through Dicks sporting goods. The cost of ebike technology, motors and lithium batteries may continue to fall gradually excepting any revolutionary battery advance, but cost of doing business margins need to be met, and international trade or WTO decisions threaten to introduce new cost barriers - for example in Europe the EBMA has filed a complaint with the European Commission to introduce punitive tariff's to counter dumping of chinese ebikes in European countries, and of course the current US administration is making protectionist noises.

Ken M
2 months ago

My wife and I were riding our ebikes around Venice, FL this weekend and ran into another couple riding regular beach cruiser type bikes. They were pretty much tired out from riding their bikes in the heat and humidity and were really interested in our ebikes until they asked the price. We have inexpensive bikes, but when I told them that one cost about $1,200 and the other was about $2,800 they lost all interest, and were pointing out that they purchased theirs at a local bike shop for about $300 each. This is a pretty wealthy little town and the couple we were talking to live up North and have a vacation home on the beach here, so we're not talking about people who don't have money to buy an ebike- but from what I can tell as long as people in the US regard bikes as toys and not real transportation there is going to be a very limited number of buyers of ebikes that cost in the thousands, just as there are very few buyers of multi-thousand dollar non-powered bikes. Obviously many people in a specialized forum such as this may feel differently, but there is a reason why almost all bikes being sold are in the lower price ranges.
I think you have a good point on how an eBike is perceived - just a fun toy or a serious form of transportation. This summer I started riding to work as much as possible which is about a 25 mile round trip. I actually bought a $500 eBike originally and learned very quickly it was not up to the task of being a serious urban commute bike (it was great for riding around the neighborhood but not much else). Personally I think the trend towards Class 1-3 eBikes (ie basically legislation to allow DMV and insurance companies to ruin the industry because they will not establish long term reasonable rates) will hurt the adoption of eBikes as a serious form of transportation. It makes sense to have speed limits on paths where differentials of bike speeds may increase risks, but when someone is on a 60lb eBike on the street they are far less safe if they are limited to assist speeds of 20 or 28mph. It's no wonder that most serious commuters are finding way to de-restrict the speed controls on their eBikes. Anyone that thinks the police have the time or the equipment to check the power of every eBike motor or it's speed capability is probably someone working at DMV or an insurance company wanting some revenue stream from eBikes and will never ride one.

PCDoctorUSA
2 months ago

Hello forum members. I apologize in advance if this thread is annoying or repetitive. I recently got a new job 8 miles from home in a very urban city. Flat terrain. I want to continue to bike to work but often work erratic hours and feel that perhaps an electric bike could alleviate some of the stress of the commute and work I do. I weigh 180lbs, am 5ft6in and appreciate visually appealing bikes. Budget is under 2k. Also, i like to haul cargo sometimes. Like a random trip tp grocery store or whatever. Can you recommend anything? Thank you for reading.
Your commute distance is the same as mine, but I've got a few rises in the road to deal with. The fact that your commute is flat terrain gives you a lot more options since you won't need a powerful motor. You can do a search on EBR and filter it by price to start. Once you've got a short list of contenders, check out their full review on EBR as well as user comments here on this forum and from YT posters.

I too am shopping for my first ebike and need to keep it under $2k. Since I need power for hill climbing, I looked at bikes with no less than a 500w "geared" hub. My short list came down to models offered by Juiced Bikes and Voltbike. For JB, it's there new CrossCurrent S. For Voltbike, it's between their Elegant and the really cool Yukon 750 Limited. Voltbike is an online vendor, and living in Hawaii, a trip to their store in Canada is a little out of the neighborhood for me to do a test drive. One of the local bike shops here used to carry Juiced Bikes but after having difficulty getting replacement parts from them he stopped. So, going with either bike will be based on my research and the reviews of others.

Have fun shopping and just ask the Forum if you have any questions.

e-boy
2 months ago

Piaggio wi-Bike listed for upcoming eBike Expo Costa Mesa , Dec 1-3 , 2017

"Brands such as Abus, BMW, Brose, Bulls, Cannondale, Easy Motion, Elby, GeoOrbital, Ohm, Piaggio/wi-Bike, Riese Muller, Schwinn, Smartmotion, Specialized, Stromer, Superpedestrian, and Urban Arrow will be on display. Additional brands available for test rides such as Haibike, Tern, and Electra will be available too."

https://electricbikeassociation.org/events/costamesa/

Akatsuki69
2 months ago

Th

thank you denis. What do you think? Are you gonna wait for the website update before jumping in

@Denis Shelston have you seen ness rua ebike? Im comparing voltbike urban and ness rua. What do you think?

mrgold35
2 months ago

I don't have a Volt bike; but, I've been using my his/her Radrovers for over a year for work commuting the 13 miles round trip (4900ft to 5400ft) and fun rides with around 3500 miles between them. The Volt and Rad would ride and feel pretty much 90%-95% identical with slight differences. I'm 6'3" and +270lbs with my Rad coming in at +70lbs with rack, rack bag, accessories, tools, etc... I would recommend a suspension seat post like Suntour, Thudbuster, or Bodyfloat for any bike you decide upon (unless it has a rear suspension). You might have to play with the PSI from 15-30 or change out for more urban tires if you are +90% paved roads for a smoother and less noisy ride. I do the same thing of keeping my rover in the garage at home and storing in my server room at work during the day (to recharge battery also).

I really enjoy the flexibility of the 4" fat tires to transition from paved roads, uneven road surfaces, sidewalks, dirt lots, soft-to-hard trails, and sandy conditions without missing a beat. I would just be stuck on paved roads and hard packed trails with any other urban ebike. The fat tires do really help smooth out the ride on dirt trails or 20-22 mph road speeds (along with front suspension and suspension seat post). Because of the 4" fat tires, I find trail riding is at least 10X more fun compared to just riding straight down paved bike paths for fun rides. I just like having the option of taking a detour down a dirt path or making my own path with the 4" fat tires. The 4" fat tires will be overkill if you are strictly an urban rider because the extra width of the fat tires mostly make contact with ground on softer terrain leaving just the center 1-2 inches of the tread taking most of wear on paved roads.

The fat tire bike is also a great conversation starter at work, bike trails, and stop lights. I wouldn't change a thing and would purchase a fat tire ebike again for the way I like to ride.

Mark Peralta
2 months ago

Hello!
i have a round trip commute of 34 miles (total). The road is mostly flat. I am looking for a fast class 3 bike that also offer offroad mode, that allows me to ride faster than 28 miles limit.

any recommendations?

thank you

With your kind of application where you ride 34 miles round trip, mostly flat road at speeds faster than 28 mph, that would require enormous energy (30+wh/mile). You will need a 1,000 watt-hour+ battery and you will need a robust hub drive capable of sustained 500+ watts without overheating (a mid drive will just shred your drive train prematurely).

You are right, the ebike that has that potential is the Crosscurrent S with the biggest battery option 1008 watt-hour (42v 21ah)

Or the Stromer with 983 wh battery.

Other ebikes have smaller batteries but they are still capable for the range but you have to slow down a little bit with average speed somewhere in the 22-24 mph to reduce your battery consumption to about 22wh/mile. Or you can bring a charger with you so you can charge up before going back home. These are the other ebike options with smaller batteries.
Magnum cruiser

Ohm

Smartmotion

Bulls outlaw E45

Easy motion Nitro

Magmun Metro plus

Vintage

These are just some of your options. Note that some ebikes will cut the power above 28 mph while others will not.
Source: https://electricbikereview.com/category/speed/

Ravi Kempaiah
2 months ago

I'm riding an ebike with 27.5 x 2.4 Schwalbe Moto X tires that has an active suspension (obviously many urban / road bikes do not have active front suspensions). When I lock-out the forks I really don't perceive that the ride quality is really any worse so I'm considering changing out the Magura active suspension forks for a carbon fiber fork.

I'm just wondering if there is a general consensus if a front suspension really adds much to ride quality of a street bike.

You could run your front tires at 30psi with a carbon fork, you really don't need any suspension fork. That's exactly what Trek did with their Super commuter ebike.
I have a Haibike Trekking S Rx with a heavy, cheap Suntour fork. Hate it. It's too heavy and doesn't respond to small road imperfections. A balloon tire would be far more responsive than a cheap suspension fork, at low PSI.

Ken M
2 months ago

I'm riding an ebike with 27.5 x 2.4 Schwalbe Moto X tires that has an active suspension (obviously many urban / road bikes do not have active front suspensions). When I lock-out the forks I really don't perceive that the ride quality is really any worse so I'm considering changing out the Magura active suspension forks for a carbon fiber fork.

I'm just wondering if there is a general consensus if a front suspension really adds much to ride quality of a street bike.

Ken M
2 months ago

The price delta of carbon vs aluminum seat posts, stems and bars has come down dramatically in recent years but I believe the perceived value of carbon is still significant. I simply want to know if most riders would be willing to pay an additional $50 on a new bike to get those 3 components made of full carbon vs aluminum?

Carbon does provide some weight savings vs aluminum but not a big factor for eBikes, but it also improves the ride quality somewhat and some may consider the cosmetic quality carbon of value.

If not worth an additional $50, how much would you subjectively be willing to pay for those 3 components to be made of carbon vs aluminum.

I'm also wanting to compare carbon forks vs. active suspension forks on urban / road bikes but that's a harder question to frame as some people perceive an active front suspension as essential for ride quality. Any ideas on this would add some merit to this thread.

Background: I just bought my 2nd eBike and ended up immediately replacing the OEM aluminum components with carbon components I ordered online but was wondering if my perception of the value of carbon was common with other riders.

Court
2 months ago

I've been doing some more Gazelle e-bike reviews and they recently sent me this press release about a new model called the Avenue so I wanted to share it:

INTRODUCING THE GAZELLE AVENUE
The Perfect Bike For An Urban Lifestyle

Monday, October 2, 2017 — SANTA CRUZ, CA - Gazelle - www.gazellebikes.com - Introduces the Gazelle Avenue, a secure and stable eBike equipped with Shimano STEPS intelligent drivetrain that is perfect for the urban commuter. The Avenue is ideal for everyday activities whether picking up dinner or commuting to work, the capable Avenue is the best choice for a reliable, safe and swift ride.

The Avenue features a lightweight aluminum frame that is balanced to perfection with a low-step design, single tube, and integrated cables. The geometry is based around 26” wheels and optimized for comfort with a 68-degree headtube angle and 70-degree seat tube angle that creates a relaxed and stable ride. The 250 watt Shimano STEPS has an average range of 50 miles and a max distance that can approach almost 80 miles. Magura brakes provide dependable, controlled safety with swift and smooth braking. Combining design and performance, the Avenue never disappoints. Enjoy the ride!

Features:

Shimano STEPS
36V / 504 watt battery
8-speed Shimano internal hub
Magura HS22 hydraulic brakes
Frame: Low-Step
Suspension Seatpost
Suspension Front Fork
Unisex
Available colors: Saturn Blue Mat (with more colors to follow)
MSRP: $2,899 (limited edition price)

ABOUT GAZELLE BIKES
Gazelle’s history is very much the history of the bicycle as a popular means of urban transportation. Their original Dutch style comfort bike won over the hearts of the Netherlands 125 years ago and their continued design and technology have people all over the world falling in love today. Today, Gazelle remains at the forefront of invention to make cycling more enjoyable and accessible. Gazelle is an integral part of Dutch cycling heritage and have kept in cadence with today’s global innovation with their new line of e-bikes. Gazelle has positioned themselves as the benchmark for urban mobility - traditionally and contemporarily. Learn more at www.gazellebikes.com/usa/

1/8
Geggs
3 months ago

While I can ride reasonably long distances (e.g. I have cycled the ~40 mile NYC 5 Boro Bike Ride on a bike just powered by myself) and am comfortable cycling in traffic, I can't handle the hilly terrain in Atlanta, so I'm looking for an EBike to help with that. I'm 200lbs, 5'6" and will primarily be riding on roads in an urban setting where drivers aren't as good one would like. Good brakes are thus a must. With the Ebikes I have test rode, I prefer those with higher definition sensors, as I find the pedal lag kind of annoying. I'm on somewhat of a budget, so something around $1000 would be great, but I could be convinced to spend more ($500?) with good reason. My 5'11" wife may borrow my bike on occasion.

Given my budget constraints, I'm willing to sacrifice two things: speed and range. The EBike doesn't have to be fast, nor does it need long range. I imagine most rides will be under 5 miles and maybe the longest ride without charge would be 10 miles.

Finally, if possible, I'd like the bike to be sold by a storefront in Atlanta (for support), be light-weight and be able to fit some kind of child transport (e.g. child seat or trailer). None of these are must-haves, but would be nice.

If you suggest a particular bike, and it doesn't meet all of the above, please let me know what's missing as I'm no expert on EBikes! Thanks for any advice or suggestions you may have!

Mark Peralta
3 months ago

Assuming we use the current model of Ohm Urban commuter ebike and plugging in the ebike's information to the ebike simulator website: http://www.electricbikesimulator.com/index,enmi.html
This is what you get: By clicking the "Range" button, the range vs speed window will appear.. At 28 mph your range will be 17-18 miles. But I doubt if the battery can maintain a 500 watt output nor the motor can continue to operate at 500 watts without overheating.

Playing with the simulator, you need to dial the throttle all the way up to achieve this and it will give you a whole bunch of information from range at the top left, to power and power consumption at the bottom right.

Franky Giuffrida
2 weeks ago

$3500 and only 28 mph? I'll pass.

Edgar Cuevas
2 months ago

you need to buy some sunglasses lol always covering your face. great bike reviews by the way, I purchase the bull outlaw from sam thanks to you.

Joeschmoe
3 months ago

How do you keep all this info in your head? I can't even remember what I ate for breakfast.

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA
4 months ago

So many companies within the eBike scene! Going to wait it out until these eBikes are finalized.

bqironking
4 months ago

It's so beautiful I want it 😭😭

Waldo
4 months ago

Just out of curiosity, do you have any idea what is battery theft like? Is it something you need to worry about, as in is it worth pulling it off whenever you park the bike for a few hours? I guess it depends on how hard it is to resell them, and how sturdy the locking mechanism that attaches it to the bike is. Seems like it would be harder to resell than something like wheels or a seatpost that are more commonplace, but the value is also higher. This is one of my large concerns when I'm thinking of getting an e-bike, because if it does happen, that will cost me a ton to replace.

Eugenio Urbina
4 months ago

Does anyone know anything about the shareroller V2 by Jeff Guida? Have not heard anything about it for the last 2 yes.

Eugenio Urbina
4 months ago

I saw your channel exactly 2 years ago and I saw your review on the shareroller V2 can you find out for us what has happened to that gizmo since then ? The guy you interviewd Jeff Guida said alot about his invention and l 've have been searching everywhere on the internet and nothing is showing up . It seemed really promising in many different ways for those of us that like this sort of stuff. Please review This for us if you can find it for us especially since you know how to get a hold of Jeff Guida .thanks...

David Helms
4 months ago

I ordered this bike a couple of days ago, thanks largely to this review. I really appreciate the work you do here and on your site.

I think comparing Ohm to Stromer is the right way to look at this bike. It has all the features that I would want from the Stromer without the features that I think drive the higher Stromer prices, but that are not really that important to me.

I prefer the motor, instrumentation and controls of the Ohm, but I like the overall look, with the battery really hidden away, of the Stromer better. At the end of the day, its the build quality, value for money, and the Bionx D500 system that sold me on this purchase.

I'm excited to receive this bike and I'll follow up with my first impressions once I've had a couple of days with it.

joes joey
4 months ago

tHESE BIKES ARE CLEARLY SUPERIOR THEN ANY OTHER EBIKE FOR THE PRICE TO. YOU WOULD SAY THE SAME TRYING IT !!

THENEWWRANGLER
4 months ago

Can you please take a look at lithium cycles and the super 73 I just ordered a super 73 Rose Avenue

joes joey
4 months ago

OMFG been waiting for this one holy freaking cow this is nice! from what ive heard this is the best e bikes in the market strenght and power also heard the ohm cycles staff is great!thanks court for this great detailed review!

Laurence
4 months ago

I have a Easy Motion Neo City (2014) , the OHM bike has many outstanding features , rock solid quite and power,,,,, temptation , oh why not , I think I will check this bike out for myself.

Jon Maguire
5 months ago

THANK YOU, for sharing all of your knowledge on these bikes! I've watched all of them and am just unable to make up my mind.. I would greatly appreciate if you could help me with any suggestions on a bike for speed that cost around 2500-5000. The bike I need is just to get back and forth from school and work then home to sleep;)
School starts in a few weeks so please let me know soon.
Thanks again !
-Jon

Jon Maguire
5 months ago

Electricbikereview.com

Steven Wilson
5 months ago

OHM is the one. My biggest concerns about going electric is motor and battery cooling. I live in southern Nevada. The proximity of Ohm to Grin Technologies is something that I'm hoping results in improvements in this area. Thanks for all you do, Court.

rpmbxdj
5 months ago

Does Ohm only ship it class 3 for California residents only?

Denis
5 months ago

Am I the only one who thinks laws and regulations ruined this industry? The sheer lack of decent performance in pre-made e-bikes me go the "build it myself" route. I just think that if I'm going electric i want it to go faster than I can pedal.

Taz Brown
5 months ago

Loving your channel. I have A request...can you do a review on car racks to carry the electric bikes(especially the cargo style bikes that are longer) And standard bikes at the same time. I am a mobile mechanic (I have a rad wagon) and our town has become electrified thissummer in preparation for some major construction happening later this summer which will close down half of our roads. If you have already done this please direct me to the review! Thanks!

Mo Poppins
5 months ago

Michael's so sweet and smiley. Great energy. :) Nice review, as always, Court!

F r e e l e e
5 months ago

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Tongsheng-36-48V-250-500W-Geared-Torque-Sensor-Mid-Drive-Kit-eBike-VLCD5-Display-/232295335702