ShareRoller Version 1 Review

Shareroller Electric Bike Kit Review 1
Shareroller
Shareroller Polyeurothane Roller Stored
Shareroller Front Handle Headlights
Shareroller Cockpit Throttle Mount
Shareroller Back Side Mounted
Shareroller Front View
Shareroller Mounting To Citi Bike
Shareroller Power Button Charger Slot
Shareroller Side Wound Throttle
Shareroller Throttle Winding
Shareroller Top Pressure Rod
Shareroller Trigger Throttle Mount
Shareroller Usb Charger Outlet
Shareroller Wheel Contact Roller
Shareroller Electric Bike Kit Review 1
Shareroller
Shareroller Polyeurothane Roller Stored
Shareroller Front Handle Headlights
Shareroller Cockpit Throttle Mount
Shareroller Back Side Mounted
Shareroller Front View
Shareroller Mounting To Citi Bike
Shareroller Power Button Charger Slot
Shareroller Side Wound Throttle
Shareroller Throttle Winding
Shareroller Top Pressure Rod
Shareroller Trigger Throttle Mount
Shareroller Usb Charger Outlet
Shareroller Wheel Contact Roller

Summary

  • Friction drive electric bike kit designed to work with major bicycle share programs
  • Quick and easy to install, operate and charge, includes LED headlights for safety
  • Optional mounting bracket lets you use the kit with Brompton folding bikes and others
  • Adds a bit of weight to steering and operates a bit noisier than some hub motor kits

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

ShareRoller

Model:

Version 1

Price:

$1,295 USD

Suggested Use:

Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2014

Bicycle Details

Motor Weight:

6.5 lbs (2.94 kg) (7.5 lbs with Extended Range Battery)

Accessories:

Two LED Headlights, Integrated Handle for Easy Carrying, USB Power Port for Charging Phone or Electronics, 5 amp Battery Charger, Optional High Speed 7 amp Charger for Upgraded Battery, Optional Mounting Brackets for Brompton Folding Bikes

Other:

Works with Most Bicycle Sharing Programs (New York, Chicago, Washington DC, Boston, Minneapolis, San Francisco - Bay Area, Columbus, Chattanooga, Denver, London, Montreal, Toronto and others),Throttle Only Activates When Pedaling (This is Why it's Class 1)

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Battery Voltage:

30 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8 ah (Optional 14 ah Extended Range Upgrade)

Battery Watt Hours:

240 wh (Optional 420 wh Extended Range Upgrade)

Battery Chemistry:

Nickel Cadmium Manganese Cobalt

Charge Time:

2 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The ShareRoller electric bike kit is a friction drive system designed to work seamlessly with bike share programs all around the world. In short, these bikes have a triangular metal bracket protruding from their head tube which lock into a computerized rack. This is how the bikes are checked in or out, the metal bracket is used to secure them… With the ShareRoller system, this metal bracket is repurposed for mounting a briefcase sized battery, control unit and motor that propel the bike forward. It’s an impressive system because it’s actually smaller than a briefcase at 11″ x 8″ x 2.7″, relatively light weight at 6.5 to 7.5 pounds (depending on the battery size you choose) and feature rich (integrated LED lights and USB charger). The thing folds and unfolds quickly and looks pretty unassuming when it’s not mounted up.

The unit shown here is a V1 prototype that’s a bit larger and louder than the new ones. It was used in a Kickstarter campaign and sold to a limited number of customers in 2013/2014. The really neat part about this and future iterations is that in addition to bike share programs they can also be used with Brompton folding bikes and kick scooters, which is shown in the video. I’m told that the standard mounting bracket is almost ready and should allow the ShareRoller to be used with ~50% of bikes. Beyond that, they can design custom brackets for a bit more. The bracket is designed to replicate the triangular metal piece mentioned previously and you also get a handlebar piece that supports the throttle clip. When testing the system I was amazed to find out that different clips can enable different top speeds… it goes slower with kick scooters because they tend to feel wobbly at 20mph. That kind of attention to detail and integration can be found throughout the product which is really something special in my mind.

The motor driving this thing offers 750 watts of power which is at the upper limit of what’s legal in the United States. That doesn’t mean it goes extra fast (it adheres to the legal top speed of 20mph), it just means it’s capable of moving heavier bikes and riders. That’s a good thing because the bicycles used in the bike share program weigh about 50 pounds! By contrast, most normal bikes weigh between 20 and 30 pounds… Instead of using a hub motor mounted inside the wheel or mid-drive motor design to pull the chain, the ShareRoller uses a friction drive. Basically, it’s a small outrunner motor (a bit smaller than a can of soda) that’s mounted horizontally. When it spins, the outside canister (which is rubberized to provide grip in wet or dry conditions) rubs against the top of the bicycle tire and propels you forward. In my experience it works pretty well.

The battery powering the ShareRoller system offers ~30 volts of power and ~14 amp hours of capacity (depending on the size you get). It’s enough to ride ~20 miles without pedaling which is pretty impressive! The cells are all contained inside the rectangular plastic case and are made with a Lithium-ion chemistry that’s designed to be light weight and long lasting. You don’t have to worry about taking the batteries out to charge because the entire ShareRoller unit is so small… You can take the whole thing inside and plug it in using the two-hour fast charger. You also don’t have to worry about bringing your bike inside or even owning a bike because the unit is so easy to install and remove. This is a really disruptive concept here… In the same way that people who live in a large city don’t have to own cars (they can rely on cabs or rentals instead) the ShareRoller means you no longer have to own a bicycle because you can rely on share programs.

The control panel interface on the ShareRoller is minimal and easy to use. Once the unit is mounted to the front bracket of your chosen bicycle you just clip the trigger throttle to your handlebar, toggle the on/off switch at the back of the main unit and you’re ready to go. There’s no speed or range indicator here as with some purpose built electric bikes, just a small trigger that provides variable speed output. Before it will activate however, you’ll have to pedal one or two strokes (for legal reasons to qualify as pedal assist). When I was testing the unit I found the throttle easy to reach and use which made riding feel relaxed because I wasn’t distracted. I used it mostly to get up to speed before resuming pedaling on my own at a more comfortable cadence.

In a world where bicycle share programs are popping up all over it’s awesome to have a way to add some electric assist. These bikes are designed to be rugged and durable but they just aren’t very nimble or light… the ShareRoller makes riding them easier. Sure, there may be electric bike share programs someday but the big challenge is keeping the units charged and dealing with even more maintenance issues at the program level. With the ShareRoller you bring your own electric drive system and you take it with you meaning the battery isn’t exposed to potentially damaging cold or hot conditions or persistent severe weather. It’s a brilliant idea executed very well in my opinion. The addition of LED lights, a USB charger and versatile mounts for use with scooters and folding bikes is just icing on the cake and while the unit shown here is a bit loud, the V2 units are even more polished and should become available in mid 2014.

Pros:

  • Extremely creative design that’s durable, compact, easy to carry
  • Special rubber and grooves on front roller resists slipping when tires are wet
  • Built in LED lights and USB charger for your phone or other electronics are handy
  • LED state of charge indicator shows how much energy is remaining in the battery pack
  • Fairly powerful with 30 volt battery and 750 watt motor, able to propel 50lb city bikes with ease
  • Solid one year limited warranty that covers the motor, battery, throttle and electronics
  • Throttle system is easy to use, designed to only activate once the bike is at 2mph to comply with “assist-only” laws in New York and parts of Europe
  • Two battery sizes make the unit lighter weight and cost less depending on your needs
  • Built in handle and compact design reduces attention and makes it easy to transport
  • With this kit you wouldn’t need to buy a bicycle which means you don’t need to lock it up, carry it up stairs, repair it etc.

Cons:

  • Friction drive and motor create more noise than a gearless hub motor and some other designs
  • Requires a bit of fiddling around to mount each time (not that bad though, pretty easy once you get the hang of it)
  • Only provides throttle assistance, no pedal assist settings here
  • No LCD display panel to let you know how fast or far you’ve been going
  • Have to spend a bit more to buy a special mounting bracket if you plan to use your own kick scooter, standard bicycle or Brompton

Resources:

Keith
3 years ago

We’re launching V3 on indigogo tonight at 12AM NYC time.

Reply
court
3 years ago

Hi Keith! That’s awesome, so glad you guys are keeping with it and improving the design. I just visited your website and saw the link to pre-order. I’d love to check out the new model and do another review. Reach out to me with the contact form if you guys have a demo unit or will be in or around Los Angeles :)

Reply
Jeff Guida
3 years ago

Thanks Court! We’ll definitely find a way to get you to review the new ShareRoller soon. Or at least a V2! And here is the link for the ShareRoller V3 Indiegogo campaign – we’re offering some amazing limited-time only deals, so please be sure to visit soon: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/shareroller-world-s-best-bike-scooter-motor#/

Reply
Jack
3 years ago

This review illustrates one of Court’s special qualities: He digs up an amazingly eclectic collection of bikes & bike systems and even manages to get to them, ride them and video them for us. And here he is in downtown Manhattan!

This review is now way-dated given the current maturity of Shareroller’s V3 design. The feature evolution (e.g. Bluetooth throttle control) and fresh packaging are both impressive. Biggest issues for me are the noticeable presence of motor noise heard in the review and the suspected difficulty of a spring-loaded throttle switch, with perhaps 1/2″ of throw, to offer discrete enough positioning to provide a steady ride pace. Especially given the movement of the handlebars when riding on uneven surfaces. (Notice how Court, in his very brief ride, was either going ‘full steam ahead’ or releasing. I wonder how inevitable an issue this might be in the production version).

One big attraction of this system not mentioned is the reality that many of us who want to ride our bikes but also want to augment our bike’s capability electrically can’t find an ebike store. Many ebike owners mention how local non-ebike stores don’t have an interest in supporting ebike bikes, lack the skills and want to avoid warranty issues. And on-line ebike ordering, coupled with product quality issues, seems a mixed blessing. It’s an appealing option, for me at least, to consider supporting a local bike shop, get all the mechanical support there which I need, and yet can augment my bike’s (and my!) capabilities with a self-contained Shareroller. A smaller unmentioned benefit is how much easier it would be to load a non-ebike on a car bike rack, needing to only lift perhaps half the weight. Clever if unusual idea, I’m thinking.

Reply
court
3 years ago

Thanks for the props Jack! I’ve been doing my best to include all kinds of ebikes in my reviews. The ShareRoller is such a cool concept and I’m hoping to review their latest version next year… There are many benefits but the ride for V1 wasn’t as fluid or quiet as many purpose-built models I test. You make great points about ebike shop availability (or lack thereof) and the reluctance of traditional bicycle dealers to service. Kits are one way to overcome this and the ShareRoller is one of the simplest “kits” if you could even call it that. The new version is supposed to be even smaller, lighter and quieter than the one shown here. Still, it’s throttle-only and now you can buy decent 2016 complete bikes from companies like IZIP, Volton and GenZe for ~$1,500 with assist and still take the battery off to reduce weight. Lot’s of variables to consider but yeah, this kit is awesome especially for folding bikes.

Reply
Nirmala
2 years ago

Hi Court,

The ShareRoller now does offer an add on PAS system for a little extra cost.

It also has an interesting built-in feature called Tailwind which adds a small but steady amount of power any time you are going above a preset speed of 8 mph. So it feels like you have a tailwind all of the time, and does not interfere with stopping as it cuts out once your speed drops below 8 mph. This can be overridden with the throttle also to work similar to how a low pedal assist level can work with added throttle for hills or passing other bikes. This may be enough for many people and would mean it was not necessary to buy or mount the add-on PAS unit.

I am really looking forward to trying this new friction drive and have preordered one.

Reply
court
2 years ago

Cool! I’m looking forward to testing out the new version, Jeff and I stay in touch about updates but right now I’m visiting the West coast so it’s not convenient to meet. I respect the guy a lot and also appreciate your update comment here to help people learn about the new features.

Reply
jack thomas
2 years ago

How can I order one

Reply
court
2 years ago

Hi Jack, it appears that you can go to their official website here and either pre-order or get one on Indiegogo “in demand” which is a program that lets you purchase successfully funded products. Hope this helps, the ShareRoller is a neat product and the founder seemed smart and caring.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Allie Miller
2 weeks ago

To Lin B:

(1) I paid for this product. -- There is no product. Despite dozens of promises (or estimates, if you prefer), the Shareroller is more than two years overdue. Shareroller v1 could have been shipped as promised, but it wasn't because Shareroller decided to hold the backers hostage while improving their product on their own schedule. You like to cite crowdfunded projects, but I will cite businesses: Businesses improve their products on their own time not on their customers' time. (Okay, businesses other than Microsoft.)

(2) As to my positive attitude -- I, too, have a positive attitude when treated fairly and reasonably. Being manipulated or toyed with makes one look for answers sometimes, so one might appear to some to have a "negative" attitude.

(3) I feel sorry for you -- If that is sincere, thank you.

(4) something constructive to do -- Holding people responsible--even if only in chat--for their words and actions is constructive. More good people should do it more often.

(5) trolling and spreading conspiracy theories -- "Theories"? I had one (not two or more) straightforward and reasonable question about your standing given your months and years of Shareroller advocacy. There is no "theory" and certainly no "theories." And indiscriminate people throw around the word "troll" (a useful word and idea to describe something negative, it is true) even in the face of real, honest, good commentary.

Fairness and Reasonableness are the watchwords.

(6) I have backed approximately [sic] 8 crowdfunded projects -- This is the source of your big problem in all of this, Lin B. You have said that "everyone" knows that there will be long delays, "everyone" knows that crowdfunded products may not be shipped at all, "everyone" is fine with the delays, "everyone" is fine with being told something would happen and then it doesn't and told/misled not once, not twice, but dozens of times. I do not believe that "everyone" is on board with all of this, and I do not like your trying to cut off discussion or embarrass or browbeat people into not complaining about how they are being treated. Say what you have to say and let others say what they have to say. Cite facts and support them to point out errors in what other people say. Just because you have the luxury of time and money to play around with crowdfunded projects doesn't mean everyone does. Defend Jeff if you want to by saying, "It isn't his fault if some people are naive," but do not presume to try to shut off fair and reasonable ongoing discussion about ongoing problems.

Lin B
2 weeks ago

I'm only going to answer you this one time - I'm a backer. I paid for this product. I'm not affiliated with Jeff in any way except I'm a backer. I have had many questions about fitting the new design to my bike as it is an unusual model and Jeff and Grace have responded to my many questions without making me feel like a moron. I have backed approximately 8 crowdfunded projects - and only one has come in on time or close to it. As to my positive attitude - we get what we expect in life. I'm sure you get exactly what YOU expect and I feel sorry for you. But it's not my problem that you are a negative person who spends time trying to create drama over something you haven't even purchased. Now - done with you and blocked. Go find something constructive to do with your time instead of trolling and spreading conspiracy theories.

Allie Miller
2 weeks ago

Lin B to me: "I'm a backer, You are not. Jeff and Grace are very responsive to my questions. Now go away troll."

Lin B, are you paid by and/or compensated by and/or related to and/or friends with Jeff and/or Shareroller and/or anyone working for or with Shareroller in any way?

In other words, Lin B, are you a Shareroller cheerleader and apologist with clean hands?

Allie Miller
2 weeks ago

"[H]ire a communications and customer relations staffer."

The irony here, as I have commented on before, is seen when one looks at the pretty well done marketing for Shareroller v1. Lots of good articles and video, lots of attention paid to marketing (on a small budget, at least). You know what the difference is? The media and YouTube viewers are free agents that need to be won over; the Indiegogo backers are stuck.

Lares1090b
2 weeks ago

Since it appeared that I was temporarily banned for no other reason than being critical of Shareroller (that was the reason given when I tried to login a few days ago), I'd like to say that, like most here, I like Shareroller and the concept of it and think it has the potential to fill a much needed gap in the cycling/bike share industries. It seems like Jeff is really trying to build a top quality and modern friction drive system. With that said...

These delays are frustrating. When I saw him put up a "countdown" on his website, my first thought was that there's no way he's going to update this every day and he hasn't. It says 8 days left, but shouldn't we be closer to 5? He's his own worst enemy when it comes to communicating effectively with his backers and potential buyers. Every time he says his product will be released and it isn't, the credibility of him and the brand suffers.

We're supposed to be excited about the new throttle and sensor that clearly exists in a CAD file, but with real photos being noticeably absent, the message between the lines is that the throttle doesn't really exist yet.

And, correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't the final hiccup the shipment of battery packs? So why is the throttle now an issue if everything else was good to go?

I've been following Shareroller since the first model and I'm merely pointing out inconsistencies and things for consideration. I don't believe Jeff has acted in bad faith and I do believe he is honestly trying to release Shareroller, I just think he's tried to not worry everyone by issuing unrealistic timelines and its acted to his own detriment in some ways. My advice to him if he ever gets Shareroller out the door and has some kind of a budget - hire a communications and customer relations staffer.

Lin B
2 weeks ago

I'm a backer, You are not. Jeff and Grace are very responsive to my questions. Now go away troll.

Allie Miller
2 weeks ago

Predicted July missive from Jeff: "Unfortunately, our rangfoozler supplier recently noticed a 2% increase in water penetration. We have completely redesigned the entire rangfoozler assembly. With new molds, testing of the re-designed rangfoozler, etc., we estimate a one month delay from our previous estimate of the delivery date. Thank you for your continued support."

Predicted July response by Lin B: "I was quite pleased about the new and improved rangfoozler. I had been worried about the rangfoozler all this time. I will be fine if we get delivery by the fall riding season. Delays like this are common to all crowdfunded projects, so we should count ourselves lucky. Everyone knew and expected this to happen. That is understood when you send money to someone for something like this."

Predicted July post by Allie Miller: "Is Lin B really Jeff Guida or one of the Shareroller staff? How does Lin B have what seems to be insider knowledge about Shareroller? Or is Lin B simply a PR consultant--everything has a positive spin on it, after all. Problems are minimized, future benefits extolled. Still, after all of this silliness, I do want to own a Shareroller."

Gator
2 weeks ago

I like fat bikes. I am trying to balance the widest tire possible with year round use and distance. Not sure what that looks like. Especially a fat bike for 6' 5" of me. Thanks for your reply.

pocomo
2 weeks ago

Since you already have a bike you like, check out the ShareRoller forum here. It's an easy-on/easy-off 750w friction drive unit that is shipping next month. Won't be cheap (~ $1200) but seems to me like a good way to get started and easily returned if you don't like it.

If you're truly committed to riding through the OH winter you'll need studded tires, which won't work with the SR4. I would want an electric fat bike for winter commuting, YMMV.

Nirmala
2 weeks ago

And yet another update from Jeff. They are still improving, but the shipping now looks like July at the earliest:

Hello ShareRoller Indiegogo backer:

We promise we truly did set out to write a 'quick' Update many, many days ago, but brevity just doesn't seem to be something we're good at... thus we present the Update below:

1) Delivery Timing Update
2) Wireless Throttle Challenges
3) Wireless Throttle Breakthrough(!)
4) Wireless PAS Reveal
5) SR4+Throttle+PAS Combined
6) Photo/Video Shoots, Website Update, & Pre-Orders:

1) Delivery Timing Update

The finish line is in sight, but unfortunately we've encountered another incremental delay with our battery packs. Our supplier determined that we needed a separate molded rubber cap for our magnetic power connector to ensure a waterproof seal (the cap previously had been molded out of plastic which proved inadequate in testing). And as is the case with anything molded, this necessitated a week or so of design revision and then 3 weeks+ of mold tooling (and of course more expense..).

So instead of shipping us the samples in late April for approval, they now expect to ship them to us sometime next week. This means pack production and UN38.3 testing can't start for at least another two weeks, which means it will be the end of the month before we will have any production packs to start shipping, and probably early July before we get them all.

2) Wireless Throttle Challenges

To add insult to injury, we also discovered last month that our wireless throttle supplier was having issues completing FCC certification of their remotes and would not be able to deliver our certified production order in a timely fashion(!) BUT, this actually turned out to be a blessing in disguise, as this was the only SR4 component we had not designed completely in-house, and as a result it never had all the functionality we desired OR the form factor that would be ideal...

3) Wireless Throttle Breakthrough(!)

Fortunately, while developing our Wireless PAS sensor earlier this year, we implemented a wireless system architecture that we realized could also be used for a Wireless Throttle system. AND, this wireless system allows TWO-WAY communication (the old throttles could only send data, not receive it) which opens up some very cool functionality adds (see below). So we took the plunge, and in a mad sprint we designed, built, and tested an entirely new and much improved wireless Throttle over literally the past month(!)

Form Factor & Mounting:

One big improvement to the form factor came about because our new Wireless PAS sensor enabled throttle-free SR4 use on bikeshare, meaning we no longer needed the bulky spring clamp to mount the Wireless Throttle to bikeshare handlebars. So without the spring clamp, we were able to make the Wireless Throttle MUCH smaller (about the size of a luxury car key), and much sleeker.

For regular bike and scooter mounting, we chose to use the commonly available CatEye quick-release handlebar mount ecosystem to attach our new Wireless Throttle to the bars. The CatEye mount is a tiny bracket that is highly flexible in mounting location/position, and enables a fast and easy install/remove of the Wireless Throttle. Plus the brackets are quite inexpensive so it's easy to add one to all your bikes and scooters. Take a look at CatEye's 1602194 'Flex-Tight' bracket or the 1602980 'Zip-Tie' handlebar bracket to see what we mean. You can find them at many online retailers for $5-10 and we expect to have them in-stock ourselves soon. And we'll of course include at least one mount with each Throttle.

So the new Wireless Throttle is a lot smaller and very easy to quickly install or remove on any bike or scooter - it literally snaps on or off in about a second. And we'll have an adaptor that lets you use it on bikeshare too for those that really like Throttle control. Now, how about that vastly improved functionality...

Functionality:

First off, instead of a Single-axis joystick, we've upgraded to a Two-axis joystick that enables easier control over PAS/TailWind levels (+/0) and Throttle/Brake application.

Second, we've added more buttons (3 vs 2) to allow enhanced functionality, and the possibility of a quasi-menu system down the road...

AND

(drum roll please)

We've managed to squeeze in a 0.96in 128x64 OLED Display! How's that for an upgrade!?

Now, the SR4 Phone App is certainly awesome, and shows TONS of info while also providing TONS of functionality. It's definitely the most comprehensive and useful 'Dashboard' possible for ShareRoller, outside of a laptop of course (and trust us from early testing, you DO NOT want to use a laptop while riding a bike!). But let's face it, not all of us want to mount a $700 smartphone to our bike or scooter handlebars, or not all the time at least!

But a tiny display in the throttle itself? Perfect. Now of course a 0.96in display is too small to show everything, so we carefully packed in 6 critical pieces of information that you really want while riding:

1) PAS / TailWind Power Level: If you're not using Throttle control for power, this is the key figure to know how much power ShareRoller is adding to your ride

2) Main Battery Charge %: Probably the single most important piece of info when riding: how much longer do I have before the battery runs out?!

3) Throttle Battery Charge %: We've equipped both of our wireless peripherals with high-capacity batteries, and they should last for many ride sessions on one charge. But you'd probably like to know that you're not about to lose your Throttle controller mid-ride!

4) PAS Battery Charge %: Same as above, and since the PAS Sensor is pretty hard to watch while riding (plus it doesn't have a display and relies on a single RGB LED to communicate status), having this figure on your Throttle display is a big help.

5) Speed: Since the days of the first bike computers, this was always a must-have... and since you'll be riding much FASTER with SR4, it's lots of fun to watch.

6) Distance: And of course you'll be going FURTHER with ShareRoller too. Now you'll always know how much.

And now for some images of this amazing new Wireless Throttle (the two buttons are above and below the joystick, and the third button is the joystick itself, which can be pressed down as well as moved in two axes):

One more thing, it's also reversible for right or left hand operation, or can be used in vertical orientation if desired (plus, the screen rotates automatically!). And rest assured, everything is waterproof, including the exposed USB-Micro port you see above.
We'll send some photos of how this looks on various bikes and scooters soon.

4) Wireless PAS Reveal

Now onto the Wireless PAS that we revealed in the last Update. We've been using it extensively on both regular bikes and bikeshare, and can report that it is pretty magical. Fitting it on the bikeshare bikes presented a real challenge, as there is VERY little clearance between the pedal end of the crank and the bike frame/fairing. So we made the sensor VERY thin and designed it to not protrude past the end of the crank. Here are some nice renders to give you a much clearer idea of how it looks:

The sensor is very light, and the magnetic hold is quite secure on most bikes, but if your crank design (or riding style) requires a bit more security, there are two tabs for easily looping a rubber band around the crank arm.

5) SR4+Throttle+PAS Combined

And now for the best part - both our Wireless PAS and Wireless Throttle fit perfectly in the assembled SR4 for transport (and easily snap in place magnetically). Take a look below:

It's a lot tidier package than with our old throttle / spring-clamp combo, so we're really happy that this last minute change was required. And we really hope you're as pleased with the upgrade as we are!

6) Photo/Video Shoots, Website Update, & Pre-Orders: As you can imagine, the re-design of the Wireless Throttle put our re-launch on hold. But we're marching down that path again, so look for all that to happen in a few more weeks.

We know Summer is here and the desire to have your ShareRollers ASAP is surely off-the-charts. Please understand that we continue to push with the utmost urgency and are doing anything and everything we can. We sincerely hope we don't encounter any more negative surprises and that the next email will be to confirm final accessory orders and shipping addresses.

Thank you again for your patience and support.

Jeff Guida & The ShareRoller Team

Allie Miller
2 weeks ago

Another ShareRoller competitor on Kickstarter? This one looks similar to ShareRoller except that the friction drive part doesn't come off quickly to go with you when you park your bike (among lots of other features it is missing, I am sure).

The estimated future retail price (MSRP) is listed as 399 British pounds which is about $530 right now.

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/revolutionworks/revos-transform-your-bike-into-an-ebike?ref=nav_search&result=project&term=revos

Edit: I just looked, and the Rubbee X is listed as $399 (US) on their home page. Of course, none of the three--Shareroller, Rubbee, Revos--is shipping yet.

Lin B
2 weeks ago

Updated on shareroller.com tonight:
ALL-NEW SHAREROLLER SRV4 LAUNCH COUNTDOWN:
10 DAYS
Limited Pre-Order Openings Will Be Available - Sign Up Below
(Sorry this is taking longer than anticipated, but we want to be 100% SURE of delivery timing BEFORE we start accepting Pre-Orders)

smitty
2 months ago

Beryo...something's amiss. I can easily get my Vado 6 past 20mph, which I could not do with the Fatty Levo. They use the same Brose motor version 1.2, but the Vado is supposed to be a 1.2S which simply means that they have re-tuned the 1.2 motor used in the turbo-Levo to increase the cutoff to 28mph for the Vado, thus renaming it the 1.2S. You might want to check with the dealer to be sure that the software/firmware has indeed been upgraded? That's the only thing I can think of that would keep you from easily getting past 20 mph all the way up to 28mph where the motor then cuts off and you are on your own to get past the 28mph cutoff. If you are on your own after 20mph on the Vado, then something is definitely wrong...Without the "cogging" effect on the Stromer (due to its being a hub motor), the Vado rolls nicely when up to speed, it really flies under those circumstances. I hope the dealer can solve the problem (basically by hooking it up to the dealer's Specialized website and checking the firmware). If not, try another Vado if he has one and see what happens. It's a very nice bike.

Arnel Philippines
4 months ago

Hi! Guys is there software can download using laptop computer to ugrade the system of bosch perfirmance line cx?

Reid
6 months ago

Agreeing with all the good advice already given! Below are some possibly helpful links.

That dark pin is the master pin in the CCS's KMC K99 128 link chain. I broke my CCS chain with a chain tool the other day, to take it off the frame and solvent wash it to remove the gunky factory lube that gets all pasty with the aluminum paint-like coating of the chain. It really picks up road grit.

Well, I pushed the master pin back home carefully, but that dark pin is somewhat riveted, mushroomed a bit: that's how the factory makes that special pin stay in place. The joint required a little bit of English on the chain tool to get the joint working freely again. I did not get it working perfectly freely, it was binding just a little, but it is OK enough.

Sidebar. I have long since settled on https://www.amazon.com/Finish-Line-Bicycle-4-Ounce-Squeeze/dp/B00Z779GMO/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1514850252&sr=1-1-catcorr&keywords=finish%2Bline%2Bdry%2Blube&th=1: PTFE solids and a very light synthetic oil in a hexane solvent carrier. I apply the stuff regularly and wipe the chain down frequently. I mention this sort of lube, of the many classes available, because its oil is so very thin and light that it grabs and holds less road grit; it does not make a thick pasted gunk collection of mud. And the worst of the dirt that does accumulate can be washed off with soap and water very easy and the "dry" lube reapplied. Upon re-application, the stuff (like any other liquid chain lube) will displace water and some dirt from the internal moving surfaces of the chain. Your chain will always blacken a clean rag, however. That's the nature of chain wear: the polished off micro particles of steel always look gray or black on a rag. The same principle as polishing metal, the rag darkens.

I found a video where the fellow explains a flex-fix technique on a Shimano chain similar to what we have on the CCS bikes

Here is https://www.amazon.com/Missing-Chains-Mountain-Connector-Bicycle/dp/B074134TVZ/ref=sr_1_fkmr3_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1514849365&sr=8-3-fkmr3&keywords=shimano+9+speed+master+link to replace the master pin system. This is the common sort of master link and it is reusable.

It's easier to deal a master link with the https://www.amazon.com/Park-Tool-Master-Pliers-MLP-1-2/dp/B00D9NW32I/ref=sr_1_1?s=hi&ie=UTF8&qid=1514849657&sr=8-1&keywords=park+master+link+pliers.

The chain being the bike's lifeline, it is empowering to have the few simple tools needed to make the chain work, or replace it, or take it down for cleaning, etc. Here is https://www.amazon.com/Park-Tool-CT-5-Chain-Brute/dp/B000OYHCHG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1514850500&sr=8-1&keywords=park+mini+chain+tool. You might find it a few dollars cheaper if you shop around....

Popeye Gordon
8 months ago

https://evmc2.wordpress.com/2013/10/09/elf-by-organic-transit-repairs-and-service/[/QUOTE]
This page you linked is quite old and features an outdated version. There have been 400 improvements to the ELF addressing many complaints since 2013. Original kickstarter version( shown in the thread), version 1.5 (mine), version 1.8 with mid-drive and the electronics bay moved up under the front shelf. 2.0 is next. A better source is the three Facebook groups. The private group has 500 members and is a treasure trove of information, troubleshooting, resources and upgrade ideas. You should be an owner to join it.
This whole industry just got a boost by the opening of the new PEBL vehicle factory, a direct (copycat) competitor to the ELF from better.bike. Soon there should be a PEBL group on this EBR site.

Azu
8 months ago

In my case there was nothing to do but send it to Bosch.
The guys at the shop tried to fix the issue with the diagnosis software that apparently on dealers have, it didn’t work.
Looking at the information on the Nyon, the is SW ver. 1.6.0.2
Here’s the Release notes:

07/2017: Release Notes for Nyon software version 1.6.0.2 (Nyon part number xxxx xxx 907) and 2.6.0.2 (Nyon part number xxxx xxx 915). The part number is shown on the back of your device (10 digits).
Preliminary remark:
To ensure that you always have access to the latest features and improvements, we recommend that you update your Nyon on-board computer to the latest software version. For information on how to update the software on your device, please refer to our FAQs: https://www.ebike-connect.com/en/faq.html#G_09_01_EN. You can find your Nyon's current software version on the Dashboard.

Improvements:

[*]Maps: An update for the maps (status March 2017) is immediately available to download. The map update also includes the eBike Connect smartphone app and the ebike-connect.com online portal.
[*]Moving the map view: The map can be moved directly using the joystick. This provides a better overview of the surrounds and the route.
[*]Map view in the direction of travel: The orientation of the 2D map view can be determined in the settings - northerly direction or direction of travel.
[*]eMTB mode: The new riding mode for the Performance Line CX replaces the previous Sport mode and switches between the Tour and Turbo riding modes.
[*]Energy consumption display: Energy consumption over the last few kilometres covered can be displayed within the user-defined screens.
[*]DualBattery: The charging states of the PowerPacks are displayed separately in the settings.
[*]Altitude profile display: The altitude profile or the map is displayed in navigation mode.
[*]New keypad layout: The new keypad layout (typewriter) ensures that destinations can be entered easily and conveniently.
[*]eShift: Support for Shimano and Rohloff integrated electronic gear shifting.
[*]System information: The screen has been revised and extended to include further details on the individual components.
[*]SMS: An error when displaying SMS messages has been fixed.

Wooju
10 months ago

Hello,
I woukd like to get the emtb mode on my Haibike too. I have the Nyon dispaly on version 1.6 (updated from version 1.5 3-4 weeks ago) but when i select search for the newe fw, it does't find anything.
I have a walk assist and bike has been purchased in Poland... Any sugestions?

JayVee
10 months ago

Feel free to post a video. I'm curious about any other ways to do this. Because it's true that making these videos takes a lot of 'production' and is time-consuming.

About your video creation issue, I was wondering if you had the following installed:

- Microsoft .NET framework 4.7
- Microsoft Visual C++ 2015 redistributable (I have version 14.0.23026)

Anyway, when I install Windows 10, I'll update the info here on whether it works or not. I sort of like Dashware even if it's not the easiest to use.

P.S. I'm still on Windows 7.

jasond1979
11 months ago

I took my Townie Go Bosch Performance motor in for some work at the local dealer. For some reason the battery wouldn't charge beyond 75% and it would turn on in my bike. Well they upgraded the software to 1.7 cleared out all the errors and the bike works better than before. So I would say from my experience that you should defininately upgrade you system to 1.7 from 1.6, I feel that the bike runs smoother, and it also seems that I have more range on my bike for some reason. Maybe just my imagination but it seems that it shows more range than before. Also I didn't really like version 1.6, it seems I started having problems when I upgraded to 1.6. Bottom line upgrade to 1.7

Nirmala
2 years ago

Yes, it seems to be par for the course with a lot of crowd-funded campaigns for completely new products for there to be a lot of delays. I still have a good feeling about the ShareRoller, and some of the delays are due to the decision to make some major improvements to the design, so hopefully it will all be worth it in the end.

Ann M.
2 years ago

Sorry to hear that @irmala, the concept is unique and manufacturing has challenges. The ShareRoller has so much stuff packed into such a small box, I wondered if they would have issues when they started upgrading from version 1. Hope it all works out sooner rather than later. One of my customers who has 3 different bikes is very interested in the ShareRoller, he wants to be able to electrify them all without buying 3 kits.

Marko
2 years ago

Come to think of it, the resetting could not be consistent otherwise the bike you are buying would be at zero. But I know there was resetting going on, but when it occurred, I dont know for sure. The software version 18 has the fix, but to my knowledge there is no way of checking the version unless you have the diagnostic device and software.

If I ride in eco (30%) mode about 9 miles, the battery will have drained to about 70-75%, some hills, variable conditions from summer windless to strong winds and subzero temps. So you should be able to get about 30+ miles in the eco 30 mode. Turbo mode will of course decrease the range considerably.
Under favorable conditions (summer, no wind or tailwind, flat terrain) I can maintain 45 km/h for a short while (about 1 km) even in the eco30 mode. In turbo mode it's easy. In winter with snow and studded tires I can quite easily maintain 30+ km/h in the eco mode. Only with strong headwinds I use the turbo mode.

Rick Huizinga
2 years ago

My bike has received the first update, but still hasn't received the second update and is still running version 1.5. Is there anyway to force the bike to check for the second update?

Xad
12 months ago

21:50 - _"you didn't hit that classic engineer thing where you design design design forever"_
I guess they did kind of get stuck in that design thing. Three years on and this thing still doesn't exist on the market and very few updates on their facebook with constant delays and promises of new features.

Lysle Basinger
1 year ago

Makes my $500 Ancheer electric folder look pretty good.

mr bezo
1 year ago

this guy is smart as hell

Othéra Flores
1 year ago

where is it now tho?

Logan Stewart
2 years ago

14:20 i legit thought he fell off 😂😂

Brompton bike Lover
3 years ago

$1350 buy a bike

NFS HOT PURSUIT VIDEOS
3 years ago

He on Indiegogo right now and there is 27 days left on his campaign which is already funded.

MotorheadRedo
3 years ago

It wouldn't surprise me if Citibike banned these portable electric motors if the motors were shown to cause increased tire wear or deemed a safety hazard. Problem for motor owners is NYPD would be used to issue tickets to riders seen using the motors as well as Citibike modifying the v-shaped adapter used to mount the motor making the motor useless. Good idea though for the scooters and folding bicycles.

Niel van Schoor
2 years ago

+MotorheadRedo I am laughing out of South Africa for all the Americans that just want to sue everybody for everything. If you bump your toe at work it is your own problem. Come on... man up a bit. This is a perfect concept with loads of potential.

Georgie Man
2 years ago

+MotorheadRedo Officers see hub motors on bikes all the time.  Yet nobody bats an eye.  But with a friction drive it's somehow different?  One accident and it's all downhill?  Until that happens, and it hasn't, we can't say for certain.  In my opinion there would have be a unilateral incident across the board by many people before eyebrows are raised.  Something explodes or the thing goes nuts and reverses itself.  But none of that has happened.  As with any technology people use, just because one thing happens it shouldn't spell the end of it all.  People fall off bikes all the time on their own.  You're more likely to run into user error than an error with the device.

MotorheadRedo
3 years ago

All you need is one Citibike accident using this contraption, and its all down hill from there. Insurance company gets involved and the party is over. Wouldn't take long to train officers to recognize the device. I wouldn't fork over the money for this motor and be dependent on Citibike.

Georgie Man
3 years ago

+MotorheadRedo CitiBike tires, like any utility bike tires, are beefy and tough enough to withstand the daily pounding of asphalt. The urethane of a little motor would be completely negligible. In any event, it grips the wheel tightly so there is no friction or loss of traction. Except in wet conditions that is but then again you can just pedal to regain traction. NYPD would not be issuing tickets because they have no idea what or where to look for this device. Most people don't even understand what it is. It fits nicely under the basket and blends right in. And as described it serves as an assist. Besides why would they if you obeyed the laws of traffic? For the most part reactions are that of wonder and astonishment. And if the v-shaped docking piece changes, it can simply be rescanned into a new mount.

bike share
4 years ago

Where do I find your face book

bike share
4 years ago

Thanks

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

It's at https://www.facebook.com/ElectricBikeReview :)

bike share
4 years ago

https://www.change.org/p/blacktown-city-council-public-bike-share-around-sydney-for-cleaner-air great pls let my council know if u come to australia u be happy to use their bike share trying get more ppl put their name saying they support it

bike share
4 years ago

https://www.change.org/p/blacktown-city-council-public-bike-share-around-sydney-for-cleaner-air great pls let my council know if u come to australia u be happy to use their bike share trying get more ppl put their name saying they support it

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Cool, I shared this on the EBR Facebook page to let other people in Sydney know about it. Cheers :)

bike share
4 years ago

if anyone Australia in nsw http://www.change.org/p/blacktown-city-council-public-bike-share-around-sydney-for-cleaner-air I like one in Sydney as well even if not in Australia would u like as tour

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

+bike share Me too, Australia is a beautiful country and I love your people :)

bike share
4 years ago

I hopeing one day sydney catches on like you

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Are you offering to give people tours on the bike share in Sydney? That's nice :)

Everton Burrell
4 years ago

Another great american mind, wish him all the best with such a clever device.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Great positive words! I agree that he's done an excellent job here and really offering something unique and useful :)

Bret H
4 years ago

Every item on the checklist seems to be marked .
I think this is the iPhone electric bicycles most impressive ...

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Yeah, it's a very neat kit. Easier to install than almost any other I've seen and very versatile :)

funsterkeyven
4 years ago

You could see the twinkle in his eye when he talks about it. It's obviously a labor of love and I wish him all the best. Can't wait for mine to arrive.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Yeah, I think it's really something special and am excited to see the final version :)

Byron McBride
4 years ago

Brilliant. What thorough design. I bought a Brompton just for this and I’m waiting on pins and needles for it to arrive. Then I can get rid of my giant Giant pedelectric and have the best of both the Brompton world and an electric assist for a codger with a weak ticker.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Nice, I hope it works well for you! Very excited to see the final production kit myself, was great to try this thing and see how versatile it is. I'd love to see your setup and hear thoughts on the system once you get it, I'll be adding a ShareRoller section to the forums soon at http://electricbikereview.com/community/

Mighty Tiki
4 years ago

Pre-ordered, wish you would've linked up with this guy earlier--could've saved a few bucks. Looks like an amazing product, looking forward to getting mine this August :)

Mighty Tiki
4 years ago

+Electric Bike Review I sincerely appreciate your in-depth review of this product, I'm amazed by it and plan to use it on both my Brompton and Xootr.  Safe travels and keep up the reviews :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Cool! Yeah, I was trying to review this kit for a while. We missed each other and I drove all the way back from Maine to NYC to see him and get this footage. I've been on the road for two months traveling the US doing reviews and still have over a dozen videos to post once the trip slows down and I'm back with reliable internet :)

ytesb1
4 years ago

very impressive guy! really articulate. Happy to hear someone like him is working on ebikes.

Keith Olwell
3 years ago

+ytesb1 About to launch the V3 Indigogo campaign. Lots and lots of new crazy cool stuff to offer on the V3

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

I agree, Jeff is an awesome guy... really sharp and perceptive. Great to have him focusing like this on the space :)

far77fae
4 years ago

Very innovative. I am betting this guy as other projects.  I wish him the best of luck.

Renzogmg
4 years ago

How about Dahon bikes?
I have a Speed Uno would it be nice if this product can be compatible with my bike. I will become customer.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

I think Jeff tried to reply but I don't see it here (so here's what he wrote): Hi it's Jeff from ShareRoller.  Thanks everyone for the comments.  The Speed Uno would definitely be compatible, and in fact would likely work with one of our universal mounts.  If not, a custom mount

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

I'm almost positive it would work with the Dahon folding bikes... He has adapted it to several frames and I'm sure he'll keep working on the mounts so it can go on nearly any bike at some point :)