ShareRoller Version 1 Review

Shareroller Electric Bike Kit Review 1
Shareroller
Shareroller Polyeurothane Roller Stored
Shareroller Front Handle Headlights
Shareroller Cockpit Throttle Mount
Shareroller Back Side Mounted
Shareroller Front View
Shareroller Mounting To Citi Bike
Shareroller Power Button Charger Slot
Shareroller Side Wound Throttle
Shareroller Throttle Winding
Shareroller Top Pressure Rod
Shareroller Trigger Throttle Mount
Shareroller Usb Charger Outlet
Shareroller Wheel Contact Roller
Shareroller Electric Bike Kit Review 1
Shareroller
Shareroller Polyeurothane Roller Stored
Shareroller Front Handle Headlights
Shareroller Cockpit Throttle Mount
Shareroller Back Side Mounted
Shareroller Front View
Shareroller Mounting To Citi Bike
Shareroller Power Button Charger Slot
Shareroller Side Wound Throttle
Shareroller Throttle Winding
Shareroller Top Pressure Rod
Shareroller Trigger Throttle Mount
Shareroller Usb Charger Outlet
Shareroller Wheel Contact Roller

Summary

  • Friction drive electric bike kit designed to work with major bicycle share programs
  • Quick and easy to install, operate and charge, includes LED headlights for safety
  • Optional mounting bracket lets you use the kit with Brompton folding bikes and others
  • Adds a bit of weight to steering and operates a bit noisier than some hub motor kits

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

ShareRoller

Model:

Version 1

Price:

$1,295 USD

Suggested Use:

Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2014

Bicycle Details

Motor Weight:

6.5 lbs (2.94 kg) (7.5 lbs with Extended Range Battery)

Accessories:

Two LED Headlights, Integrated Handle for Easy Carrying, USB Power Port for Charging Phone or Electronics, 5 amp Battery Charger, Optional High Speed 7 amp Charger for Upgraded Battery, Optional Mounting Brackets for Brompton Folding Bikes

Other:

Works with Most Bicycle Sharing Programs (New York, Chicago, Washington DC, Boston, Minneapolis, San Francisco - Bay Area, Columbus, Chattanooga, Denver, London, Montreal, Toronto and others),Throttle Only Activates When Pedaling (This is Why it's Class 1)

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Battery Voltage:

30 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8 ah (Optional 14 ah Extended Range Upgrade)

Battery Watt Hours:

240 wh (Optional 420 wh Extended Range Upgrade)

Battery Chemistry:

Nickel Cadmium Manganese Cobalt

Charge Time:

2 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The ShareRoller electric bike kit is a friction drive system designed to work seamlessly with bike share programs all around the world. In short, these bikes have a triangular metal bracket protruding from their head tube which lock into a computerized rack. This is how the bikes are checked in or out, the metal bracket is used to secure them… With the ShareRoller system, this metal bracket is repurposed for mounting a briefcase sized battery, control unit and motor that propel the bike forward. It’s an impressive system because it’s actually smaller than a briefcase at 11″ x 8″ x 2.7″, relatively light weight at 6.5 to 7.5 pounds (depending on the battery size you choose) and feature rich (integrated LED lights and USB charger). The thing folds and unfolds quickly and looks pretty unassuming when it’s not mounted up.

The unit shown here is a V1 prototype that’s a bit larger and louder than the new ones. It was used in a Kickstarter campaign and sold to a limited number of customers in 2013/2014. The really neat part about this and future iterations is that in addition to bike share programs they can also be used with Brompton folding bikes and kick scooters, which is shown in the video. I’m told that the standard mounting bracket is almost ready and should allow the ShareRoller to be used with ~50% of bikes. Beyond that, they can design custom brackets for a bit more. The bracket is designed to replicate the triangular metal piece mentioned previously and you also get a handlebar piece that supports the throttle clip. When testing the system I was amazed to find out that different clips can enable different top speeds… it goes slower with kick scooters because they tend to feel wobbly at 20mph. That kind of attention to detail and integration can be found throughout the product which is really something special in my mind.

The motor driving this thing offers 750 watts of power which is at the upper limit of what’s legal in the United States. That doesn’t mean it goes extra fast (it adheres to the legal top speed of 20mph), it just means it’s capable of moving heavier bikes and riders. That’s a good thing because the bicycles used in the bike share program weigh about 50 pounds! By contrast, most normal bikes weigh between 20 and 30 pounds… Instead of using a hub motor mounted inside the wheel or mid-drive motor design to pull the chain, the ShareRoller uses a friction drive. Basically, it’s a small outrunner motor (a bit smaller than a can of soda) that’s mounted horizontally. When it spins, the outside canister (which is rubberized to provide grip in wet or dry conditions) rubs against the top of the bicycle tire and propels you forward. In my experience it works pretty well.

The battery powering the ShareRoller system offers ~30 volts of power and ~14 amp hours of capacity (depending on the size you get). It’s enough to ride ~20 miles without pedaling which is pretty impressive! The cells are all contained inside the rectangular plastic case and are made with a Lithium-ion chemistry that’s designed to be light weight and long lasting. You don’t have to worry about taking the batteries out to charge because the entire ShareRoller unit is so small… You can take the whole thing inside and plug it in using the two-hour fast charger. You also don’t have to worry about bringing your bike inside or even owning a bike because the unit is so easy to install and remove. This is a really disruptive concept here… In the same way that people who live in a large city don’t have to own cars (they can rely on cabs or rentals instead) the ShareRoller means you no longer have to own a bicycle because you can rely on share programs.

The control panel interface on the ShareRoller is minimal and easy to use. Once the unit is mounted to the front bracket of your chosen bicycle you just clip the trigger throttle to your handlebar, toggle the on/off switch at the back of the main unit and you’re ready to go. There’s no speed or range indicator here as with some purpose built electric bikes, just a small trigger that provides variable speed output. Before it will activate however, you’ll have to pedal one or two strokes (for legal reasons to qualify as pedal assist). When I was testing the unit I found the throttle easy to reach and use which made riding feel relaxed because I wasn’t distracted. I used it mostly to get up to speed before resuming pedaling on my own at a more comfortable cadence.

In a world where bicycle share programs are popping up all over it’s awesome to have a way to add some electric assist. These bikes are designed to be rugged and durable but they just aren’t very nimble or light… the ShareRoller makes riding them easier. Sure, there may be electric bike share programs someday but the big challenge is keeping the units charged and dealing with even more maintenance issues at the program level. With the ShareRoller you bring your own electric drive system and you take it with you meaning the battery isn’t exposed to potentially damaging cold or hot conditions or persistent severe weather. It’s a brilliant idea executed very well in my opinion. The addition of LED lights, a USB charger and versatile mounts for use with scooters and folding bikes is just icing on the cake and while the unit shown here is a bit loud, the V2 units are even more polished and should become available in mid 2014.

Pros:

  • Extremely creative design that’s durable, compact, easy to carry
  • Special rubber and grooves on front roller resists slipping when tires are wet
  • Built in LED lights and USB charger for your phone or other electronics are handy
  • LED state of charge indicator shows how much energy is remaining in the battery pack
  • Fairly powerful with 30 volt battery and 750 watt motor, able to propel 50lb city bikes with ease
  • Solid one year limited warranty that covers the motor, battery, throttle and electronics
  • Throttle system is easy to use, designed to only activate once the bike is at 2mph to comply with “assist-only” laws in New York and parts of Europe
  • Two battery sizes make the unit lighter weight and cost less depending on your needs
  • Built in handle and compact design reduces attention and makes it easy to transport
  • With this kit you wouldn’t need to buy a bicycle which means you don’t need to lock it up, carry it up stairs, repair it etc.

Cons:

  • Friction drive and motor create more noise than a gearless hub motor and some other designs
  • Requires a bit of fiddling around to mount each time (not that bad though, pretty easy once you get the hang of it)
  • Only provides throttle assistance, no pedal assist settings here
  • No LCD display panel to let you know how fast or far you’ve been going
  • Have to spend a bit more to buy a special mounting bracket if you plan to use your own kick scooter, standard bicycle or Brompton

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

Keith
2 years ago

We’re launching V3 on indigogo tonight at 12AM NYC time.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Keith! That’s awesome, so glad you guys are keeping with it and improving the design. I just visited your website and saw the link to pre-order. I’d love to check out the new model and do another review. Reach out to me with the contact form if you guys have a demo unit or will be in or around Los Angeles :)

Reply
Jeff Guida
2 years ago

Thanks Court! We’ll definitely find a way to get you to review the new ShareRoller soon. Or at least a V2! And here is the link for the ShareRoller V3 Indiegogo campaign – we’re offering some amazing limited-time only deals, so please be sure to visit soon: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/shareroller-world-s-best-bike-scooter-motor#/

Reply
Jack
2 years ago

This review illustrates one of Court’s special qualities: He digs up an amazingly eclectic collection of bikes & bike systems and even manages to get to them, ride them and video them for us. And here he is in downtown Manhattan!

This review is now way-dated given the current maturity of Shareroller’s V3 design. The feature evolution (e.g. Bluetooth throttle control) and fresh packaging are both impressive. Biggest issues for me are the noticeable presence of motor noise heard in the review and the suspected difficulty of a spring-loaded throttle switch, with perhaps 1/2″ of throw, to offer discrete enough positioning to provide a steady ride pace. Especially given the movement of the handlebars when riding on uneven surfaces. (Notice how Court, in his very brief ride, was either going ‘full steam ahead’ or releasing. I wonder how inevitable an issue this might be in the production version).

One big attraction of this system not mentioned is the reality that many of us who want to ride our bikes but also want to augment our bike’s capability electrically can’t find an ebike store. Many ebike owners mention how local non-ebike stores don’t have an interest in supporting ebike bikes, lack the skills and want to avoid warranty issues. And on-line ebike ordering, coupled with product quality issues, seems a mixed blessing. It’s an appealing option, for me at least, to consider supporting a local bike shop, get all the mechanical support there which I need, and yet can augment my bike’s (and my!) capabilities with a self-contained Shareroller. A smaller unmentioned benefit is how much easier it would be to load a non-ebike on a car bike rack, needing to only lift perhaps half the weight. Clever if unusual idea, I’m thinking.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Thanks for the props Jack! I’ve been doing my best to include all kinds of ebikes in my reviews. The ShareRoller is such a cool concept and I’m hoping to review their latest version next year… There are many benefits but the ride for V1 wasn’t as fluid or quiet as many purpose-built models I test. You make great points about ebike shop availability (or lack thereof) and the reluctance of traditional bicycle dealers to service. Kits are one way to overcome this and the ShareRoller is one of the simplest “kits” if you could even call it that. The new version is supposed to be even smaller, lighter and quieter than the one shown here. Still, it’s throttle-only and now you can buy decent 2016 complete bikes from companies like IZIP, Volton and GenZe for ~$1,500 with assist and still take the battery off to reduce weight. Lot’s of variables to consider but yeah, this kit is awesome especially for folding bikes.

Reply
Nirmala
2 years ago

Hi Court,

The ShareRoller now does offer an add on PAS system for a little extra cost.

It also has an interesting built-in feature called Tailwind which adds a small but steady amount of power any time you are going above a preset speed of 8 mph. So it feels like you have a tailwind all of the time, and does not interfere with stopping as it cuts out once your speed drops below 8 mph. This can be overridden with the throttle also to work similar to how a low pedal assist level can work with added throttle for hills or passing other bikes. This may be enough for many people and would mean it was not necessary to buy or mount the add-on PAS unit.

I am really looking forward to trying this new friction drive and have preordered one.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Cool! I’m looking forward to testing out the new version, Jeff and I stay in touch about updates but right now I’m visiting the West coast so it’s not convenient to meet. I respect the guy a lot and also appreciate your update comment here to help people learn about the new features.

Reply
jack thomas
2 years ago

How can I order one

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Jack, it appears that you can go to their official website here and either pre-order or get one on Indiegogo “in demand” which is a program that lets you purchase successfully funded products. Hope this helps, the ShareRoller is a neat product and the founder seemed smart and caring.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Johnny
8 hours ago

@Dewey: Again thanks for the info, I didn't know that Giant customized their motors. Again when I was looking into the specifications I did not see much information about the motor. It seems Explore uses a version that is speed limited to 20, yet I see 28 mph version of the same "sport " model.

I'm a huge Haibike fan, I own two 2016 bikes. A Full Seven XDURO S RX mtb, and a Trekking XDURO S RX. Both are speed versions, 28mph, both are Bosch. You get a little noise from the Bosch mid drive (as compared to the Brose for example), but it's so smooth in handling power and torque. Personally, I feel the Bosch is worth every penny. If you ride many hills, you'll appreciate the 28mph bikes. When riding a 20mph bike, you go over that coming down the grade. But when you get to that 20mph setting as you level out, you can feel it hunt between assist and no assist. With the 28mph, you just don't hit that annoyance. Right now is the perfect time to buy a Haibike. I bought one in November 2016 and the other in March 2017. Both highly discounted from MSRP.

Thanks for the response, so you advise going for a 2017 x duro instead of an sduro ? I realize that for some models they did not state the maxspeed but should I assume that it is 28mph if the system is 350w Bosch CX ?
I think at some place that Bosch system will not accept other battery packs (and I see that Bosch insanely overprices their packs ) is it still the case?

I should find a shop and test these models.

Dewey
9 hours ago

do you think Giant is better? is there any way to reprogram to achieve 25mph ?

A comparable Haibike is the Sduro Cross 4.0 which uses the Yamaha PW motor with 3 sensors vs 4 on the Giant Explore’s Yamaha SyncDrive motor and Giant use custom software presumably to incorporate the 4th sensor. The criticism I have read online about the Yamaha-PW is the motor delivers less pedal assist after 80rpm and stops supporting at 100rpm cadence so that won’t affect you too much if you like to pedal around 80rpm. The new Yamaha PW-X and Giant version of the motor called the SyncDrive Pro support up to 120rpm cadence and are available on more expensive Haibike and Giant speed pedelec models. Giant have more brand presence in local bike shops if local warranty support is what you’re thinking about. A summary of controller over-rides is at https://www.ebiketuning.com/comparison/yamaha-tuning.html but you will void your warranty and they don’t ship to the US, personally I don’t see the point, you will probably break something so if you want to go faster just buy a speed pedelec.

Ed P
1 day ago

I've been pedaling a non-electric, crank -forward Fuji for years, but age is catching up with me. The geometry that allows me to place my feet firmly on the ground when needed is even more important to me now in my early eighties. I need an electric version. What category do these bikes fall in? EBR doesn't seem to make it clear. Is it "cruiser" or "comfort" or something else?
And which electric bikes have this geometry? The only one I've found is the Electra Townie Go, which is actually higher adjusted for me than it should be - not really a "flat foot" in my opinion, and has fatter tires than I like for pedaling. Are there other electric bikes out there with the crank-forward geometry?
Any help will be much appreciated. Thanks.
I, too, have loved my non-electric, crank-forward, step-thru bike (RANS Fusion) for the past 10 years here in somewhat hilly Washington, DC; 10 months ago I brought it to the flat, Delaware shore and finally decided on a a step-thru e-bike (Kalkhoff Include 8) for use here and have been very pleased.

Baron
3 days ago

I've been pedaling a non-electric, crank -forward Fuji for years, but age is catching up with me. The geometry that allows me to place my feet firmly on the ground when needed is even more important to me now in my early eighties. I need an electric version. What category do these bikes fall in? EBR doesn't seem to make it clear. Is it "cruiser" or "comfort" or something else?
And which electric bikes have this geometry? The only one I've found is the Electra Townie Go, which is actually higher adjusted for me than it should be - not really a "flat foot" in my opinion, and has fatter tires than I like for pedaling. Are there other electric bikes out there with the crank-forward geometry?
Any help will be much appreciated. Thanks.
I am 72 and absolutely love my townie go

JohnT
3 days ago

Big news! I’m at our Pedego dealer meeting this week, and we were introduced to a few interesting new models! I’m not going to get into details, but I thought people would be interested in a quick overview. I’m going from my notes and from memory, so don’t be surprised if I get something wrong.

“Elevate” - A full suspension eMTB with Shimano Steps mid-drive, and plus size knobby tires. Class 1, pedal assist only, no throttle.

“Conveyer” - A solid street ride with a Brose mid-drive, Gates carbon belt drive (Conveyer belt, get it?), Shimano Nexus 8 IGH, and plus size street tires. No chain and no derailleur! Class 1, PA only, no throttle.

City Commuter Mid-Drive - Basically what I said, it’s a City Commuter with a mid-drive. The interesting thing is that it has a throttle, but it only activates while the pedals are moving. Like all City Commuters, it has PA. I’m not sure whether this makes it Class 1 or 2.

City Commuter Black Edition - This upgrades the regular City Commuter similarly to how the Platinum Edition upgrades the Interceptor. This means front suspension, torque sensing pedal assist, hydraulic disc brakes, and Shimano SLX for smooth shifting. The trim is blacked out.

Dual Motor Stretch - The Stretch is our cargo bike. In this version, a unique controller splits power variably between a torque wound rear motor and a speed wound front motor, resulting in both more torque and better efficiency while keeping the total power under 750w!

Another exciting development is that we’re going to be integrating some “smart” technology into our bikes. I’m not sure which are are going to be available when, so I won’t discuss them today, but at least one model will have built in GPS for anti-theft and navigation!

Most of this is available now, and some will be available soon. I can’t wait to see Court review the new bikes!

elliot friedman
4 days ago

I checked the diagnostic that was preformed a couple of weeks ago and it stated what version firmware was present in the motor, the battery and the Intuvia. The battery and the Intuvia were the same but the motor firmware was more recent than was listed on bosch's website.
Brought the bike in last week for some minor adjustments in the brakes and derailleur and changing a failed chain link. It now feels somewhat better. Maybe the problem was strictly physical. Hope so. I'll keep you informed after my next lengthy excursion when the weather allows.
I also suggest to all who are interested in the breakdown of how the system performs, the length of time in each assisted mode, the current firmware, how many full charges have taken place, plus numerous other specs for their specific bike to have one of these diagnostics performed. Hopefully, it can be done where your bike was purchased, otherwise, it sounds like and expensive ordeal. Original dealers seem to do it for little or no expense at all.

Thanks for all of your inputs.......elliot

Attached is the diagnostic report

1/1
bob armani
4 days ago

Yes, we are the factory of the electric bikes, we have been have 3000 sq meter space in California,USA. so we what we can do for the online shop seller or shops;

1. Ship the bikes to customers after you sold the bike ONLINE.

2. Keep good profit for the shops(example: drop shipping price 900USD, Retail price 1599USD. you get 699USD )

3. Always update the ebikes from customer&shop's feedback

4. Newest version ebike from china. we will update the ebikes every month.

5. All shops in US and Canada keep same retail price

Contact:

Lily Xu

info@eunorau-ebike.com

www.eunorau-ebike.com
I thought perhaps you would have several different models on your website. I only see 2 fatbikes with limited specs listed. Are you going to expand your offerings anytime soon on your website?

shivas
5 days ago

I'm curious, I know a lot of folks here use their bikes to commute to work. Do any of you receive a $20-per-month bicycle commuter benefit.

I just got an email from people for bikes stating in part:
"Over the weekend the U.S. Senate passed their version of a new tax bill that eliminates the $20-per-month bicycle commuter benefit. This is a tax-free reimbursement that employers can pay their employees for expenses related to bicycle commuting."

Seems they left no stone unturned in their zeal to account for every nickel and dime. (Trying not to be political in my wording.)

america94
5 days ago

Who bought A Teo thinking they were getting a 750 watt version, not the 500 watt Canadian version? Seems Bennoit was more interested in getting bikes out the door back in June.
Anyways, I have took my bike apart, sent wires hub and the local newspaper back to Bennoit at my cost. Awaiting their return to sunny Florida ( work/ vacation )
Dennis was one that was concerned about the wires going through the holes in the upper frame, It was tight! I used a 90' pick and long needle nose pliers. Use the pliers to keep the square plug straight with the hole. The pick from the bottom to pull through when aligned. I had pulled the hall effect cable (crank sensor ) through before hand.
So attached cable to contoller, shipped bare wheel , hub, wire, display and control button. ( 79$ us USPS from Florida ) Bennoit has recieved, so look for an update. Used a Home Depot box, gusseted inside opposite the direction of the wheel. It sat diagonal in the box.
Holes you are fishing through,

I will be deburing the inside hole! And other upgrades!
203mm rotors

I'll update soon!!

Yes tires as well, Vee Rubber mission command.

Update:> Parts came back, 6 days for mine to get their. 6 days for the return trip. Bennoit even reused my shipping box! / wonder if he liked the Florida news? /. And he didn't send the power cable back. He Thought I didn't send it, it was connected to the controller. He did put a nice gift in the box. A bar lock similar to the Abus unit.
So I drilled the burrs out of the access hole in the frame, 1/2" drill bit from 2 angles.

Also got a new exchange headlight?

During the down time I'm upgrading the brakes to 203mm rotors and Kevlar pads. Changed the tire liner too a blue one!

so while down hear in Florida I have done some beach riding, aired tires down, got through the soft sand no problem. Some rouge waves happen to get in the way. So now the wheel bearings feel gritty. Yes I washed the beast right after leaving the beach.
I used a marine grease hoping this would repel any water next time.

Stay tuned be right back:
Hey Dan! great write up :-) please show us details on how you did the tape for the wheels! did you take pictures as you went along? been looking into doing the same, but the stock tape is SO well applied, I don't want to take it off at the same time!
Who bought A Teo thinking they were getting a 750 watt version, not the 500 watt Canadian version? Seems Bennoit was more interested in getting bikes out the door back in June.
Anyways, I have took my bike apart, sent wires hub and the local newspaper back to Bennoit at my cost. Awaiting their return to sunny Florida ( work/ vacation )
Dennis was one that was concerned about the wires going through the holes in the upper frame, It was tight! I used a 90' pick and long needle nose pliers. Use the pliers to keep the square plug straight with the hole. The pick from the bottom to pull through when aligned. I had pulled the hall effect cable (crank sensor ) through before hand.
So attached cable to contoller, shipped bare wheel , hub, wire, display and control button. ( 79$ us USPS from Florida ) Bennoit has recieved, so look for an update. Used a Home Depot box, gusseted inside opposite the direction of the wheel. It sat diagonal in the box.
Holes you are fishing through,

I will be deburing the inside hole! And other upgrades!
203mm rotors

I'll update soon!!

Yes tires as well, Vee Rubber mission command.

Update:> Parts came back, 6 days for mine to get their. 6 days for the return trip. Bennoit even reused my shipping box! / wonder if he liked the Florida news? /. And he didn't send the power cable back. He Thought I didn't send it, it was connected to the controller. He did put a nice gift in the box. A bar lock similar to the Abus unit.
So I drilled the burrs out of the access hole in the frame, 1/2" drill bit from 2 angles.

Also got a new exchange headlight?

During the down time I'm upgrading the brakes to 203mm rotors and Kevlar pads. Changed the tire liner too a blue one!

so while down hear in Florida I have done some beach riding, aired tires down, got through the soft sand no problem. Some rouge waves happen to get in the way. So now the wheel bearings feel gritty. Yes I washed the beast right after leaving the beach.
I used a marine grease hoping this would repel any water next time.

Stay tuned be right back:

Hangzhou BTN ebike
5 days ago

Yes, we are the factory of the electric bikes, we have been have 3000 sq meter space in California,USA. so we what we can do for the online shop seller or shops;

1. Ship the bikes to customers after you sold the bike ONLINE.

2. Keep good profit for the shops(example: drop shipping price 900USD, Retail price 1599USD. you get 699USD )

3. Always update the ebikes from customer&shop's feedback

4. Newest version ebike from china. we will update the ebikes every month.

5. All shops in US and Canada keep same retail price

Contact:

Lily Xu

info@eunorau-ebike.com

www.eunorau-ebike.com

1/1
jazz
7 days ago

I whole heartily agree with the local support. It's weighing heavily on my mind. I was concerned with the lack of hydraulic brakes. There will be many occasions where I'll have a heavy load coming down some pretty good hills. Is there not much difference?

Thanks again
I personally wouldn't ride without hydro brakes on any ebike because the stopping power is so much better in all weathers. I would go with Rad because of good local support (add hydro brakes). Crazy Lenny has the Easy Motion Big Bud All Wheel Drive fat ebike on demo special for just over your budget $2150 (plus shipping). It is 2wd setup with 48v battery. Front is 25ow and rear is 350w. Seems low but it is more that adequate. I have the 29er version of this bike with same set up. It is very smooth and gets up to 20mph+ fast. You can run front motor only, rear only or both motors at once. No throttle but does have torque sensing and hydraulic brakes which is cool. - https://crazylennysebikes.com/collections/demo/products/easy-motion-evo-big-bud-awd-demo

bob armani
7 days ago

Hello Fred,
I believe your initial post was a request for info from the members of this forum on the selection of an e-bike. To that end members respectfully
responded with thoughts, opinions and their personal e-bike experiences.

After reading your reply it became very apparent that your position differs significantly from the members that took the to time to
pass along what they've experienced and where they stand....I completely agree with your right to have an 'opposing view' from what was presented.

While I support that right to reject the opinions presented, I completely and strongly oppose that no member ever should
be allowed to rant in the manor as seen in the following quotes.....

"I hear all the bikes knobs talk about who's going to put your bike together..."

"Seems like all the guys on this form like to hang out in there locally-owned bike shop to shoot the stuff."

"I would have been pissed had I paid full price for the bike I bought knowing I could have bought direct from China for half the cost."

"Don't fall for all the bull malarkey on the site save yourself a ton of money and buy it online. "

I take offense to anyone telling me how to send my money.... It's my money, I earned. I know what is important to me and
and I know best how to spend my money. I know what brings me great joy in my cycling endeavor. I found that joy in a 15 minute test ride
on a Trek XM700+ at my local bike shop. I bought the XM700+ on the spot....It's tough to test ride over the Internet.

As for spending my money, do I think the $3,500 I spent on the Trek XM700+ was worth it...every penny and would I do it again
if I could ? Yes and I did....I bought a Trek Powerfly 7 . See I told you I knew how best to spend my money : )

I've always maintained that cycling, if done with genuine interest, drive and enthusiasm is a very personal endeavor.
It gets down to the rider and the bike.

I hope this was helpful,
John from CT

John from CT-Well said. I hope you got through to Fred that this is a very personal decision during research/purchase. Not sure why he has taken the stance he has on this forum. We are all here just to HELP each other and stay as informative as possible. I'm sure the people that administer this forum would agree.

BTW-The XM700+ and Trek Powerfly 7 are awesome ebikes! I test rode both at the Expo this year and they are all quality built indeed. I also like the way Trek has paired the different motors with their different line of bikes. The SuperCommuter8 seems to give a better ride than the BMW version with Bosch.
I still have my standard Trek 7000 full aluminum since '92 (made in Waterloo, WI) and it is still going strong with minimal maintenance and breakdown. Now the Verve is getting great reviews also. Way to go!

Gaby
1 week ago

Gabby-Great, glad to help. Looks like the newer version has a lot more improvements and easier to use, however, it is not available until 2018. Perhaps you can reach out to Gedas from Rubbee on this forum to get more details or get an 'early bird' special. Does not hurt to at least try if you are interested. Good Luck and happy shopping!

Thank you! I will check it out and see what happens from there! Thanks for taking to time in replying back to me! :)

Dewey
1 week ago

My 2 biggest wants are quality brakes and distance. Hoping to stay under $2k.

Biktrix Juggernaut. The $2k Max version has no throttle but a torque pedal assist sensor, hydraulic brakes with 180mm disks, and a decent sized 504wh battery.

bob armani
1 week ago

I like the idea of buying a "portable electric system." But, to be completely honest, this would be two separate purchases for me, the system plus a good bike. I am not entirely sure how long each purchase would take to ship. I would prefer to buy an e-bike that is set to go as I would like to learn how to use the bike before traveling. Thank you for your recommendation! I will research Rubbee as well, since I do like the concept of it.

Gabby-Great, glad to help. Looks like the newer version has a lot more improvements and easier to use, however, it is not available until 2018. Perhaps you can reach out to Gedas from Rubbee on this forum to get more details or get an 'early bird' special. Does not hurt to at least try if you are interested. Good Luck and happy shopping!

john peck
1 week ago

stay safe John!..... Its getting "cold" here in Socal... which I like... also to be safe I ordered a pair of coverall rain pants from Shower Pass... and I got a nice new winter riding jacket from REI. :)

yeah My bike is already fixed and ready for pickup. I have the stock Kenda tires.. and plan on upgrading next season.

I've got a pair of rain pants I've had at least a decade & never worn. Here in the rain forest you just get used to it virtually everyday
this time of year. I ride rain or shine. The CCS is down for a little bit, but I've got 3 other bikes. Just finished upgrading my 40cc
gasser to the same derailleur & freewheel as the CCS plus a 50/40/26 in front. Haven't put the
motor back on yet. It's as fast & powerful as the CCS, but noisy. It has more range, & pedals
better without power. There is, of course, a kinda nebulous legal limbo. I just put the engine
cover on & pedal anywhere I think I might be stopped. It's primarily off-road anyway.
Other upgrades are aimed at turning it into my version of the Hyperfat.

Gaby
1 week ago

How about the Rubbee compact portable electric drive system reviewed on this forum: https://electricbikereview.com/rubbee/drive-2-0/

There is also a newer version coming soon also on this forum https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/rubbee-x-introduction.15247/#post-121643

I like the idea of buying a "portable electric system." But, to be completely honest, this would be two separate purchases for me, the system plus a good bike. I am not entirely sure how long each purchase would take to ship. I would prefer to buy an e-bike that is set to go as I would like to learn how to use the bike before traveling. Thank you for your recommendation! I will research Rubbee as well, since I do like the concept of it.

bob armani
1 week ago

I was accepted to go Study Abroad for Spring 2018 in South Korea. I travel by car to my home university and either walk or use a golf-cart service to my classes. The golf-cart service is provided for those with different disabilities. I have a very mild form of muscular deficiency. I am perfectly capable of walking and performing normal physical activities, but compared to an average human being, I perform these activities at a slower rate. I am perfectly capable of riding a bike as well :).

While abroad, I will not have a car with me and even though South Korea has a good transportation system, I would like to invest in an e-bike. The university I will be attending is known to be in a 'hilly' location. The e-bike will give me a little boost for those hills and at the same time, I will have a way of transportation. I plan to use the e-bike as a normal bike and use assistance for hills or longer travels.

I am looking for an e-bike that is not too heavy, but my main goal is to find an e-bike that can get me up those steep hills. I have been looking at models such as:

- Populo Sport Electric Bicycle V3
- Faraday Cortland
- Gazelle NL C7 HMB

I understand that all of these models are quite different, but I am new at this and not sure where to start. Please keep in mind that I am a university student and these e-bikes are not cheap. However, I am open to any suggestions! I am open to ALL recommendations :)

How about the Rubbee compact portable electric drive system reviewed on this forum: https://electricbikereview.com/rubbee/drive-2-0/

There is also a newer version coming soon also on this forum https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/rubbee-x-introduction.15247/#post-121643

John from Connecticut
1 week ago

Seems like Trek's answer to Turbo Levo como...
But, I like the specialized's design better. Bigger tires on this would be nice.

e-boy , I think you nailed it when you wrote......

"At max speed of 20mph and max torque of 40Nm , I think it's meant as a neighborhood/city cruiser ,
bike path , recreational type of bike ; in other words , an eBike version of the push bike Verve . I think it retails for US$2300 or 0.24 Bitcoin . :) . "

I agree. I don't think Trek had anything at this price point with a Bosch Drive System, perhaps this is their way of being a little more aggressive in the US market place.

John from CT

e-boy
1 week ago

... don't think this is Trek's answer to anything .
seems to be an underpowered eBike version of the regular low step Verve .
But the low step Verve + does look similar to the low step Specialized Turbo Vado .
And yes , Specialized is a cleaner more integrated design .

Puu
1 week ago

Solid, simple design at a decent price. The only downside is the rear rack battery.

https://www.prodecotech.com/folding-electric-bikes/
Solid, simple design at a decent price. The only downside is the rear rack battery.

https://www.prodecotech.com/folding-electric-bikes/

Thank you so much for your speedy reply J.R. Very interesting the 500 watt version! Aloha from Hawai'i.

e-boy
1 week ago

Looking forward to the Super Trekking +
They made some minor changes to the regular Verve to develope the eBike version Verve + , so I'm sure they can do it with the 1120 .

barry c
1 week ago

Hi, I'm an avid mountain biker, I ride cross country and to a lesser extent mild downhill runs. I put in usually around 100 miles + per week. I ride a Yeti MTB. I'm getting older, knees falling apart and a few other issues, etc so I've decided to invest in an Ebike to ride part time. I've been looking at ebike reviews and unfortunately I cannot find any haibike reviews from actual mountain bikers. I've found one or two, but it's usually someone jumping jumps or riding up a gravel road or paved road. Nobody ever really discusses the frame geometry, how they handle etc? Or if they're good on rocky rooty trails etc. I don't ride on dirt paths, I ride on actual singletrack roots and rocks and switchbacks etc too.

I have ordered a Haibike Sduro Nduro RX. I only found a few reviews and videos for this bike, none of which told me much. This has a long travel fork (180mm) which would normally be excessive for regular cross country riding but it can be adjusted down to 150mm which isn't too bad...especially since this has a motor to haul it around? Or I'm hoping this will be the case anyway?

Is anyone here a regular experienced mountain biker? Does anyone here have a Haibike mountain bike? Do they handle well? I would have gone with the specialized since it's a known quantity, specialized FSR is a pretty decent bike, and the turbo lev just added a motor...but the Haibike was a much better value, but I know nothing about the bike/handling/etc.

Thank you.

Hey, I ride a 2017 haibike Xduro all mountain 7 that has 3" tires (boost) and 27.5 wheels and it rips the single track. I raced for many years and still avidly ride 2000 miles a year on single track in the N cali sierras Tahoe and grass valley areas. I keep an extra 500 battery on board and use it regularly when riding over 20 miles. The tires gobble up obstacles (10 to 15 lb. pressure) like they are not there and my confidence is 30% higher i will make it through a tough spot.
I committed and rode centuries for decades and even raced pro mountain bike in the 80s.
I am 70 and last year developed knee arthritis. I just a month ago finished a procedure called Regenexx. The short version is an MD takes bone marrow blood from your hip and spins it down to get the stem cells and injects it into your knees.
In a month my knees are 80% better and expect the regeneration of my soft tissue to continue for another year. I could not even walk before i was on crutches. This is so cool!! its expensive $7K and no insurance will pay for it. A friend of mine had it done to his hips a year ago and he is way better. I highly recommend it. More info if you ask.

Dan Edwards
6 days ago

Who bought A Teo thinking they were getting a 750 watt version, not the 500 watt Canadian version? Seems Bennoit was more interested in getting bikes out the door back in June.
Anyways, I have took my bike apart, sent wires hub and the local newspaper back to Bennoit at my cost. Awaiting their return to sunny Florida ( work/ vacation )
Dennis was one that was concerned about the wires going through the holes in the upper frame, It was tight! I used a 90' pick and long needle nose pliers. Use the pliers to keep the square plug straight with the hole. The pick from the bottom to pull through when aligned. I had pulled the hall effect cable (crank sensor ) through before hand.
So attached cable to contoller, shipped bare wheel , hub, wire, display and control button. ( 79$ us USPS from Florida ) Bennoit has recieved, so look for an update. Used a Home Depot box, gusseted inside opposite the direction of the wheel. It sat diagonal in the box.
Holes you are fishing through,

I will be deburing the inside hole! And other upgrades!
203mm rotors

I'll update soon!!

Yes tires as well, Vee Rubber mission command.

Update:> Parts came back, 6 days for mine to get their. 6 days for the return trip. Bennoit even reused my shipping box! / wonder if he liked the Florida news? /. And he didn't send the power cable back. He Thought I didn't send it, it was connected to the controller. He did put a nice gift in the box. A bar lock similar to the Abus unit.
So I drilled the burrs out of the access hole in the frame, 1/2" drill bit from 2 angles.

Also got a new exchange headlight?

During the down time I'm upgrading the brakes to 203mm rotors and Kevlar pads. Changed the tire liner too a blue one!

so while down hear in Florida I have done some beach riding, aired tires down, got through the soft sand no problem. Some rouge waves happen to get in the way. So now the wheel bearings feel gritty. Yes I washed the beast right after leaving the beach.
I used a marine grease hoping this would repel any water next time.

Stay tuned be right back:

1/12
Xad
5 months ago

21:50 - _"you didn't hit that classic engineer thing where you design design design forever"_
I guess they did kind of get stuck in that design thing. Three years on and this thing still doesn't exist on the market and very few updates on their facebook with constant delays and promises of new features.

Lysle Basinger
6 months ago

Makes my $500 Ancheer electric folder look pretty good.

willie bezo
7 months ago

this guy is smart as hell

Othéra Flores
11 months ago

where is it now tho?

Logan Stewart
2 years ago

14:20 i legit thought he fell off 😂😂

Brompton bike Lover
2 years ago

$1350 buy a bike

NFS HOT PURSUIT VIDEOS
2 years ago

He on Indiegogo right now and there is 27 days left on his campaign which is already funded.

MotorheadRedo
3 years ago

It wouldn't surprise me if Citibike banned these portable electric motors if the motors were shown to cause increased tire wear or deemed a safety hazard. Problem for motor owners is NYPD would be used to issue tickets to riders seen using the motors as well as Citibike modifying the v-shaped adapter used to mount the motor making the motor useless. Good idea though for the scooters and folding bicycles.

Niel van Schoor
2 years ago

+MotorheadRedo I am laughing out of South Africa for all the Americans that just want to sue everybody for everything. If you bump your toe at work it is your own problem. Come on... man up a bit. This is a perfect concept with loads of potential.

Georgie Man
2 years ago

+MotorheadRedo Officers see hub motors on bikes all the time.  Yet nobody bats an eye.  But with a friction drive it's somehow different?  One accident and it's all downhill?  Until that happens, and it hasn't, we can't say for certain.  In my opinion there would have be a unilateral incident across the board by many people before eyebrows are raised.  Something explodes or the thing goes nuts and reverses itself.  But none of that has happened.  As with any technology people use, just because one thing happens it shouldn't spell the end of it all.  People fall off bikes all the time on their own.  You're more likely to run into user error than an error with the device.

MotorheadRedo
2 years ago

All you need is one Citibike accident using this contraption, and its all down hill from there. Insurance company gets involved and the party is over. Wouldn't take long to train officers to recognize the device. I wouldn't fork over the money for this motor and be dependent on Citibike.

Georgie Man
2 years ago

+MotorheadRedo CitiBike tires, like any utility bike tires, are beefy and tough enough to withstand the daily pounding of asphalt. The urethane of a little motor would be completely negligible. In any event, it grips the wheel tightly so there is no friction or loss of traction. Except in wet conditions that is but then again you can just pedal to regain traction. NYPD would not be issuing tickets because they have no idea what or where to look for this device. Most people don't even understand what it is. It fits nicely under the basket and blends right in. And as described it serves as an assist. Besides why would they if you obeyed the laws of traffic? For the most part reactions are that of wonder and astonishment. And if the v-shaped docking piece changes, it can simply be rescanned into a new mount.

bike share
3 years ago

Where do I find your face book

bike share
3 years ago

Thanks

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

It's at https://www.facebook.com/ElectricBikeReview :)

bike share
3 years ago

https://www.change.org/p/blacktown-city-council-public-bike-share-around-sydney-for-cleaner-air great pls let my council know if u come to australia u be happy to use their bike share trying get more ppl put their name saying they support it

bike share
3 years ago

https://www.change.org/p/blacktown-city-council-public-bike-share-around-sydney-for-cleaner-air great pls let my council know if u come to australia u be happy to use their bike share trying get more ppl put their name saying they support it

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Cool, I shared this on the EBR Facebook page to let other people in Sydney know about it. Cheers :)

bike share
3 years ago

if anyone Australia in nsw http://www.change.org/p/blacktown-city-council-public-bike-share-around-sydney-for-cleaner-air I like one in Sydney as well even if not in Australia would u like as tour

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+bike share Me too, Australia is a beautiful country and I love your people :)

bike share
3 years ago

I hopeing one day sydney catches on like you

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Are you offering to give people tours on the bike share in Sydney? That's nice :)

Everton Burrell
3 years ago

Another great american mind, wish him all the best with such a clever device.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Great positive words! I agree that he's done an excellent job here and really offering something unique and useful :)

Bret H
3 years ago

Every item on the checklist seems to be marked .
I think this is the iPhone electric bicycles most impressive ...

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Yeah, it's a very neat kit. Easier to install than almost any other I've seen and very versatile :)

funsterkeyven
3 years ago

You could see the twinkle in his eye when he talks about it. It's obviously a labor of love and I wish him all the best. Can't wait for mine to arrive.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Yeah, I think it's really something special and am excited to see the final version :)

Byron McBride
3 years ago

Brilliant. What thorough design. I bought a Brompton just for this and I’m waiting on pins and needles for it to arrive. Then I can get rid of my giant Giant pedelectric and have the best of both the Brompton world and an electric assist for a codger with a weak ticker.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Nice, I hope it works well for you! Very excited to see the final production kit myself, was great to try this thing and see how versatile it is. I'd love to see your setup and hear thoughts on the system once you get it, I'll be adding a ShareRoller section to the forums soon at http://electricbikereview.com/community/

Mighty Tiki
3 years ago

Pre-ordered, wish you would've linked up with this guy earlier--could've saved a few bucks. Looks like an amazing product, looking forward to getting mine this August :)

Mighty Tiki
3 years ago

+Electric Bike Review I sincerely appreciate your in-depth review of this product, I'm amazed by it and plan to use it on both my Brompton and Xootr.  Safe travels and keep up the reviews :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Cool! Yeah, I was trying to review this kit for a while. We missed each other and I drove all the way back from Maine to NYC to see him and get this footage. I've been on the road for two months traveling the US doing reviews and still have over a dozen videos to post once the trip slows down and I'm back with reliable internet :)

ytesb1
3 years ago

very impressive guy! really articulate. Happy to hear someone like him is working on ebikes.

Keith Olwell
2 years ago

+ytesb1 About to launch the V3 Indigogo campaign. Lots and lots of new crazy cool stuff to offer on the V3

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

I agree, Jeff is an awesome guy... really sharp and perceptive. Great to have him focusing like this on the space :)

3 years ago

WHAT!!!!!!!!! how this didn't get to their kickstarter goal? anyways glad they kept going. awesome video

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

I guess it just came down to timing, was neat to hear him talk about the history and mention the Kickstarter campaign like that. I'm glad he kept going with it :)

far77fae
3 years ago

Very innovative. I am betting this guy as other projects.  I wish him the best of luck.