BULLS Monster E FS Review

Bulls Monster E Fs Electric Bike Review
Bulls Monster E Fs
Bulls Monster E Fs Bosch Performance Line Cx Chain Tensioner
Bulls Monster E Fs Bosch Powerpack 500 Battery
Bulls Monster E Fs Removable Bosch Intuvia Display Panel
Bulls Monster E Fs Rockshox Monarch Rt Rear Suspension
Bulls Monster E Fs Rock Shox Bluto Rl Solo Air
Bulls Monster E Fs Magura Mt Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Bulls Monster E Fs Shimano Deore Xt 11 Speed Drivetrain
Bulls Monster E Fs Electric Bike Review
Bulls Monster E Fs
Bulls Monster E Fs Bosch Performance Line Cx Chain Tensioner
Bulls Monster E Fs Bosch Powerpack 500 Battery
Bulls Monster E Fs Removable Bosch Intuvia Display Panel
Bulls Monster E Fs Rockshox Monarch Rt Rear Suspension
Bulls Monster E Fs Rock Shox Bluto Rl Solo Air
Bulls Monster E Fs Magura Mt Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Bulls Monster E Fs Shimano Deore Xt 11 Speed Drivetrain

Summary

  • Full suspension fat bike with a high quality mid-drive motor from Bosch and their updated 500 watt hour battery pack for extended range
  • Cool fluorescent paint job that extends all the way through the fork, rear shock housing, swing arm and battery pack, I think the battery blends in nicely and appreciate the metal base cup
  • Premium hardware here including tubeless-ready Schwalbe Jumbo Jim tires that can be ridden at lower pressure, light weight punched out rims and RockShox air fork
  • Eleven speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain with chain tensioner, shift sensing software in the motor controller, Magura hydraulic disc brakes and thru-axles for improved stiffness

Search EBR

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

BULLS

Model:

Monster E FS

Price:

$5,299

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Sand and Snow

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Motor and Battery, 5 Years Frame

Availability:

Europe, Canada, United States, Australia, New Zealand

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

55.6 lbs ( 25.21 kg )

Battery Weight:

5.7 lbs ( 2.58 kg )

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs ( 3.99 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Sizes:

18.11 in ( 45.99 cm )20.07 in ( 50.97 cm )

Geometry Measurements:

31" Stand Over Height, 76" Length

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminium

Frame Colors:

Neon Yellow with Matte Black Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rock Shox Bluto RL Solo Air, 100 mm Remote Lockout, 15 mm E-Thru Axle

Frame Rear Details:

RockShox Monarch RT High Volume with 120 mm Travel, Rebound Adjust, 12 mm Quick Release Thru-Axle

Gearing Details:

11 Speed 1x11 Shimano Deore XT, 11-40

Shifter Details:

Shimano XT Triggers on Right

Cranks:

FSA CK-760/IS Cranks, 15T Chainring

Pedals:

Wellgo Alloy Platform, Cage STyle

Headset:

Tapered 1 1/8"

Stem:

7° Rise (80 mm, 90 mm)

Handlebar:

Low Rise, 720 mm, 25 mm Rise, 9° Bend

Brake Details:

Magura Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, MT-5 Four Piston Front MT-4 Two Piston Back Calipers, Magura MT Levers

Grips:

Ergon GA30 Locking Grips, Flat, Black

Saddle:

Selle Royale Seta M1

Seat Post:

Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Alloy, Punched Out Square Holes, 32 Hole, 80 mm Width

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Jumbo Jime, 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )

Tire Details:

Pace Star 3, Tubeless Easy Snakeskin

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Sticker Slap Guard, Chain Tensioner with Narrow Wide Teeth

Other:

Aluminum Skid Plate, Locking Removable Battery Pack

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line CX, Gen 2

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

75 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

482.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

45 miles ( 72 km )

Estimated Max Range:

130 miles ( 209 km )

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 210%, Turbo 300%)

Top Speed:

20 mph ( 32 kph )

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Fat tire electric bikes offer a perfect blend of technology and adventure in my opinion… an unpowered fat bike is fun, sure, but the added weight and drag of larger wheels and tires means that most people are limited in how far and long they can actually enjoy the ride. Furthermore, if you actually do seek out the snowy fields and sandy beaches that those fat tires yearn for (as I did in this video review), they can become uncomfortable because the terrain isn’t always smooth! And once you’ve added suspension there’s increased weight and often some bob as you pedal along. So that’s where this whole full suspension fat tire electric bicycle concept fits in… In many ways, it isn’t that surprising right? We see full suspension motocross bikes all the time, in fact I think most motorcycles (even road bikes) offer full suspension. But they’re loud, heavy and usually illegal on bike paths, mountain trails and beaches. The Monster E FS delivers something special in this domain, an ebike that’s both capable of handling a wide variety of terrain and usually well accepted there. It’s made with some of the best consumer/performance level hardware on the market as of this review (Magura brakes, Shimano Deore XT derailleur) and is driven by one of my favorite motor systems around, the Performance Line CX from Bosch.

With internally routed cabling, a sporty paint job and some additional metal shields in place, the battery pack truly blends in on this bike. And despite offering about 25% larger battery capacity than the previous Powerpack 400, the battery form factor is exactly the same and it weighs less than a half a pound more! You can still charge it on or off the bike and it’s even backwards compatible so if you already own a Bosch powered electric bike from the 2014-2016 timeframe you can swap them out or carry an extra along for increased range. Having tested and reviewed some of the other BULLS electric bike models recently, those with the more tightly integrated Brose battery/motor system, I gained renewed appreciation for how beautifully and simply the Bosch pack clicks in and locks. You don’t have to worry so much about bumping the key if you accidentally leave it in and you don’t have to physically twist the key to lock the pack… just when you unlock it, and this increases security. Going from there, the control panel and button pad that let you interact with the battery and motor are both very well done. You can switch assist levels on the fly without lifting your left hand and compromising your grip… just a bit of thumb work. And you can also cycle through display readouts this way. One of my favorite menus is range approximation because it dynamically updates depending on how you’re riding, what assist level you’ve selected and how much battery capacity remains in the pack. This is the sort of feedback that ensures you won’t get stuck way out in the backcountry with a depleted pack. This is especially relevant because the battery indicator only shows five bars vs. 10 on some other bike displays. That’s one of my minor gripes.

If you do get stranded on this ebike, no worries because it has a wide range of 11 gears for pedaling. And in the electric bicycle world, that’s quite a few! I found that the bike was operable on human power alone (especially on pavement) and enjoyed the rolling momentum that the tires offered once up to speed. It was easy to handle the bike on all terrain types we tested thanks to longer mountain bike style bars with locking Ergon grips and I appreciated the remote lockout on the Bluto suspension fork. Many of the hardware components chosen for this bike are of a higher build quality and designed to be light weight. At just under 56 lbs… this is what I would consider very light given how large it looks and the fact that it’s a fat bike with full suspension. It is missing a few things though, no kickstand means it could tip into your fancy car in the garage more easily and no bottle cages mean you’ll need a hydration pack. Part of me yearned for throttle on demand operation in addition to pedal assist but I recognize that this would change the class of the bike, exhaust the battery much faster and ad clutter to the cockpit. It might also delay how quickly the motor cut out resulting in sketchy performance on difficult technical terrain. Yes, this is a hard core capable bike that would handle serious riding. Bosch offers one of the most responsive, zippy feeling drive systems around and if you’re in the highest level of assist (there are four to choose from) it works very well, almost responding like a throttle without requiring exhaustive pedaling force. Almost as soon as you’ve stopped pedaling, the motor also stops and that’s a great feeling… but it works the other way too, responding especially fast as your cadence increases (ie. shifting to lower gears for climbing or maneuvering through an obstacle course of rocks, ice or fauna).

I honestly don’t have many complaints to share about this ebiket. Its great that given just how custom and unique a build it is, BULLS was able and willing to manufacture two sizes. Their two year comprehensive warranty is excellent and despite the perceived higher price point, I actually think you’re getting a good deal relative to what other companies charge for similarly specced builds using less interesting drive systems. Consider their hardtail Monster E model if you’re looking to save $1,000 and don’t mind a stiffer rear… In that case you could always add a seatpost suspension as a compromise. As someone with limited storage space, I tend to choose one high quality bike to “do it all” and that’s exactly what this offers. You get comfort, longer lasting parts and a bike that won’t quite. In a world with more and more 3″ tires it’s great to see an actual full sized 4″ wide fat tire bike that’s done so well. Powerful hydraulic disc brakes, thru axles, a tapered head tube and a custom replaceable metal skid plate make this bike extra tuff. Not to mention the chain tensioner with fully surrounding guide and narrow wide teeth. I love that you can easily and quickly take both wheels off for compact storage and transport and am glad that BULLS opted for the four bar rear suspension design to optimize traction, reduce bob and lower as much weight as possible. It’s a great bike, lots of fun and easy to use. Compared with some other full suspension fat ebikes I’ve tested, it offered a wider range of pedaling speeds while still supporting me with motor power. The motor is just more capable at high RPM and that’s how I prefer to pedal, it happens naturally as I shift down approaching hills, I don’t feel like the motor quits on me. As someone with sensitive knees, this has been one of my favorite fat bikes so far and I’m optimistic about how it could be used on so many terrain types and in so many seasons. Big thanks to Bulls for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • Custom paint and decal job that includes the frame, rear swing arm and pivot point, suspension fork and rear suspension housing! EVERYTHING matches and looks awesome
  • Sturdy 15 mm thru axle on the front with 12 mm at the rear, keeps the larger heavier wheels tight and responsive, both offer quick release which is handy for repairs or simply transporting the bike since it’s so large
  • In addition to removable wheels, the battery pack and display console are also removable… I love that the battery can be charged on or off the frame and is backwards compatible with the older Bosch Powerpack 400 batteries
  • Top-end components from Magura, Rock Shox, Schwalbe, Ergon and Shimano that will hold up in off-road conditions and are backed by the BULLS comprehensive two year warranty
  • I was impressed that even with the larger capacity battery, full suspension setup and fat tires this bike weighs just ~55 lbs and I love that it comes in two sizes for improved rider fit
  • Most of the weight is positioned low and center across the frame, this improves handling and since it’s a mid-drive, reduces unsprung weight compared to a hub motor
  • You get 11 gears so pedaling feels comfortable at a wide range of speeds… even if the bike is turned off and the Bosch motor offers shift sensing to reduce wear
  • I love that they included a chain tensioner with a full hood to act as a guide (clearing debris and mud), it should reduce kickback from the rear swing arm and the narrow wide tooth pattern is designed to reduce chain slip
  • Punched out rims reduce weight, look cool and might add some cushion to the tires for improved comfort and traction at lower PSI
  • Sturdy metal motor cover… like a louvered push guard on a truck, designed to protect the sensitive bits but be replaceable if you encounter major damage
  • This is the only Bosch powered full suspension fat bike I’ve seen to date and is definitely my preference in terms of power, zip and responsiveness compared to Yamaha and other mid-drive systems, the chainring spins fast and is super quick to start and stop which is great for unstable terrain
  • The Bosch Intuvia display panel is large and easy to read, simple to use and doesn’t require that you reach far while holding the grips to operate, a remote button pad with tactile feedback is mounted very close to the left grip… I also like that the display panels has a Micro USB charging port built into the side for maintaining your portable electronics

Cons:

  • The bike worked fine in the sand but requires pedaling (Class 1 pedal assist) and there are times when it’s nice to have throttle power just to power through soft terrain or get started again after stopping… the benefit of Class 1 is that it’s allowed on more trails vs. Class 2 throttle powered ebikes
  • The rear suspension joints and shock take up the space where a bottle cage or other accessory mount might have been fit… you can’t add a rear rack easily (unless you compromise with a beam rack) so you might end up using a hydration pack all the time
  • The Bosch battery doesn’t blend in with the frame quite as nicely as the Brose battery on some other BULLS ebike models but it is easier to remove and comes in a higher ~500 watt hour capacity here for longer range rides, I like that the built some metal plates around the base to help it blend in… and added those matching yellow stripe stickers
  • This is an expensive electric bike… you’re getting a lot of high quality hardware but if you ride it near saltwater without rinsing it afterwards or if you’re on other corrosive terrain frequently (salted snow?!) then it will wear out more quickly, there’s a trade-off with bikes like this where you can get one that’s pretty good for half the price and then completely replace it in a year or two vs. one very nice one that you need to care more about to extend

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More BULLS Reviews

BULLS DAIL-E Grinder Review

  • MSRP: $5,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the first Gravel Grinder style electric bikes to make it to America! Made with premium components, high performance lights and a purpose built frame in three sizes. Capable of high speed 28 mph performance, the Bosch centerdrive motor measures bike speed, pedal…...

BULLS SIX50 E2 Street Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A fully equipped speed commuter capable of 28 mph operation, running on the proven Bosch Performance mid-drive motor and updated 500 watt hour Samsung battery. Extra large 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes offer smooth solid stops without requiring exorbitant hand…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A versatile urban electric bike well suited to commuting, touring and trekking because of its efficient mid-drive motor and larger than average battery capacity, durable internal gearing and belt drive. Available in five frame sizes and three frame styles including wave, mid-step and high-step diamond…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A stealthy full suspension all-mountain electric bike with longer travel 150 mm suspension, fully adjustable air fork by RockShox, color matched to frame. Larger 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack to assist with steeper climbs and longer…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Available in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step and mid-step) with an adjustable stem, active-comfort saddle and ergonomic grips, this bike can fit well and feel good at speed and over long distances. Capable of 28 mph top speeds, this is a Class 3 electric bike with an…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all-mountain electric bike with beautifully integrated battery, motor and display... it blends in more than most other e-mountain bikes I've tested and runs quiet. Sturdy 15 mm thru axle in the front and 12 mm axle in the rear…...

BULLS SIX50 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A loaded full suspension mountain bike with premium electric drivetrain from Bosch offering 75 Nm of climbing torque with the CX motor and a 400 watt hour Samsung battery. RockShox air suspension with 120 mm travel front and rear for solid trail or all…...

BULLS Monster E S Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Premium hardtail electric fat bike with all the fixins, highlights include rear rack bosses, tubeless-ready tires and punched out rims, RockShox air fork with remote lockout and high torque Bosch CX motor. Quality 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano for excellent stopping power and modulation, impressive…...

BULLS Outlaw E45 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty looking, fairly comfortable speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speeds, it's running on an optimized geared hub motor design with heat pipe technology for maximum performance. Unique mid-mount battery box fills the main frame triangle keeping weight low and centered while…...

BULLS Sturmvogel E EVO Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautifully designed urban electric bike painted white for visibility and modern appeal, white walled tires, reflective sidewall stripes, LED lights. Extra sturdy and durable thanks to a 15 mm thru-axle on the front wheel (with…...

BULLS TWENTY9 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension, Bosch powered, cross country style electric bike with efficient 29" wheels, it's available in three sizes for good fit and would feel taller and larger for riders with long legs but still fits some shorter riders given the angled top tube. Quick release for both wheels ads convenience for fixes and transporting the bike, I love…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fully loaded urban electric bicycle with great accessories for commuting including an aluminum rear rack, full length fenders with mud flaps and integrated LED lights. Relatively light weight at under 50 lbs, this is due in part to the nicer…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS Enduro 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An enduro style full suspension electric mountain bike with longer 160 mm suspension travel, seat post dropper, 27.5" wheelset and premium hydraulic brakes. Downtube-integrated battery pack is out of sight and keeps weight low and centered across the…...


Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

kennyb
1 week ago
Barkme Wolf
I can dig it. I need to learn how to check my spokes. Other than that, after getting tire liners I just take it in for tune ups and broke spokes now and then. If I had the money though, I would get a real fast monster bike.
Your LBS should be able to work on what ever bike you get. I bought local so I could look them in the eye when I had a problem. It has been helpful. I live close to Seattle so I can stop by the Rad Power shop when ever there is an issue.
I have read some good things about radpower, but I too would like to look the people in the eye who sold me the bike when something goes wrong
Barkme Wolf
1 week ago
kennyb
I understand what you are saying on the price. However, as a non-mechanical kind of guy, I really need to buy a bike close by so that I can get help when the bike needs parts and fixing.
I can dig it. I need to learn how to check my spokes. Other than that, after getting tire liners I just take it in for tune ups and broke spokes now and then. If I had the money though, I would get a real fast monster bike.
Your LBS should be able to work on what ever bike you get. I bought local so I could look them in the eye when I had a problem. It has been helpful. I live close to Seattle so I can stop by the Rad Power shop when ever there is an issue.
ace20ri
1 month ago
Finally had a chance to take a few pics of my experience and upgrades. After 100 miles I was sidelined a day by my friend the screw. The screw decided to hitch a ride on my rear tire and not the front tire for a challenge. Unfortunately I was not fully equipped to perform the type of tire surgery this bike requires on the road so I had to call my better half for pick up. All I can say is removing the tire is a BEAR!!!! The wire bead and 30 TPI design of the Kenda Juggernaut makes this already rigorous task a work out! I'm wondering if I'm a victim of the tolerance monster between the tire and rim. I no longer have my 3 tire levers as they sacrificed themselves to get me back on the road. So I suggest if you haven't already purchased robust tire levers order/pick some up now. The more the merrier! Here are few pics:

View attachment 12482View attachment 12485

Pro-Bikegear slap guard:
View attachment 12488View attachment 12494

Rock Bros pedals:
View attachment 12497View attachment 12500
View attachment 12503

Cyrusher Derailleur Guard:
View attachment 12506

Suntour SP12-NCX Seat post:
View attachment 12509

Zefal DT Armor frame guard:
View attachment 12512

Tesla has been keeping me pretty busy on the weekends so one of these weekends I will try and snap a few pics of the bike with some kool scenery of Portola Valley, CA

Overall really happy with the purchase. Still trying to figure out how to get this bad boy to go 28mph assisted by the motor (legal limit in California) without having to destroy my legs in the process. Fortunately I'm a mechanical engineer with plenty of EE coworkers to tap for assistance!
Ann M.
2 months ago
No kidding,
George S.
4 months ago
pxpaulx
The larger brands definitely want to paint a clear line between bikes with assist and bikes with a throttle. I can't say I blame them, rider contribution to power output probably should be a differentiating factor, imho anyway. I've had two bikes with a throttle and just don't really see the point....always felt a little lazy using it.
There's the monster, Accell, which is European. There is BH, which is Spanish. But the 'larger' brands (based) in the US are probably Sondors, Pedego, and Prodeco. They all use throttles on most of their bikes. It's already been pointed out that the Europeans are the ones looking for a bright line.

California tried to put the throttles in Class 2 with some restrictions. It did not fly, so they took out the restrictions, basically, but left a differentiation. It all seemed a little mean spirited to me.

I don't see the industry backing away from making California the model for the US. That means throttles are fine, A-OK, on 20 mph limited ebikes, and they are treated as bikes. The Cal law means 750 watts max and it allows 28 mph s-peds that aren't really bikes.

If you want to re-open the 'model' law, good luck. They need to get the 'model' law in a bunch of states. Going back and making little changes is not going to speed that along, and not having a national law is bad for any manufacturer. Right now the Speed-peds are only legal in maybe 3 states, the ones that have adopted the model law. Everyone else is in a really bad situation. Do they ship 28 mph bikes to states where they aren't legal, hoping the rules will change?

It seems like a fair number of people act like they won on the throttle/PAS thing in California. But they didn't. This is a nutso industry. I think everyone is stuck with the California model law, and the best you can hope for is uniformity if it ever shows up.

As for trail access on BLM or National Forest or National Parks land, that seems to be a 'motorized' vehicle issue, and the Feds seem adamant that the bikes are motorized if they have a 750 watt electric assist of any kind.

There are tortured rationales that DIY vendors use to high wattage ebikes. There are tortured rationales that giant corporations apparently use to make the California law something it isn't.

I've restricted the power on my 3 ebikes. My ebikes are legal in Utah, though the details of the recent law are not known, yet. My bikes have throttles. I'd like to see better throttles. A Chinese vendor could develop cruise controls that could replace the very expensive and inherently high maintenance torque sensing type PAS units. Just keep saying that cruise control coupled with a throttle isn't pedal assist. It's not the law. It's not a fact.

Maybe there is better technology than what Europe offers. We can't sustain dealers in rural areas. We need simple stuff. If Haibike is going to attack my approach, my tech, I'm going after Haibike and Accell. Really, if you favor PAS and torque sensing you are saying only big city folk can have ebikes, because those bikes are a 5 hour drive from my location, or whatever. You could develop reasonably priced PAS systems, TS systems. That would help.

Get real.
TheHunt
4 months ago
SDH
I live in the Colorado foothills surrounded by endless trails right out my back door. On my 1500w 52v e-mtb, I can cover insane distances in difficult terrain, climb monster hills & still have plenty of stamina left to ride hard for hours after reaching the top. I can explore more terrain in one summer than I could in a lifetime on my standard mtb. I rarely see hikers and bikers where I venture and that is my goal, so I don't have to worry about offending the sensitive delicate types with my awesome toy. When I do cross paths with others, I'm always courteous, always yield to oncoming traffic (since they have to work harder), and even hide my speed & climbing capabilities so as not to offend. Regardless, I still get some nasty looks & even some backhanded comments from the elitest bike snobs. So be it...I'm not giving up my toy and you look like a girl in those bike shorts!
What do you use? I live in Washington State and opportunities as well. What setup do you have? You posted 1500W and 52V battery. Is this something you setup yourself?
Voltman
5 months ago
I CHOSE THE VOLTBIKE MARINER

PLEASE FORGIVE this loooong post. I'm so stoked! I've just taken delivery of my Voltbike Mariner. This matt-black model is EXTREMELY COOL. Even "parked" this bike makes grown-ups gasp. Kids go nuts. (“Cool bike, man!”)

I live at the bottom of a monster hill that has been the nemesis of my first converted LiFePO4 ebike, as well as its replacement 60-volt LiFePO4 scooter. (Cheaper low C-rate LiFePOs wear out quickly from repeated sustained climbs. Not the Mariner's latest, high C-rate Panasonic/Samsung cells.) The big question: Could the Mariner, with its lightweight geared-hub motor, claw its way up and out of Ford Cove’s deep “gravity well” – and its even steeper backside? On the sizzlingly hottest day of the year, I selected PAS 9 and 3rd gear and… peddling very easy… suddenly found myself at the top. What hill was that? Was there a hill there? Aboard the Mariner there are NO HILLS.

It was never fun removing/remounting the fairings on my e-scooter to access its thousand-dollar battery. I chose the Mariner because it's much lighter than an e-scooter, and I can see and reach all components right on the frame. Lifting out the battery and taking it inside will be another big plus in winter temperatures. And of course you can fold up this bike and put it in your pocket... Well, not quite. But any size car trunk will do – another huge advantage if I have a breakdown on the road and need to be "rescued". Or just want to take this “folder” travelling by bus or car.

Those surprisingly light Kenda knobbies are noisy on pavement – a BIG safety factor when overtaking pedestrians and bike riders who hear you coming. The motor also sings merrily. It's not loud or annoying, and I LIKE hearing those metal gears performing useful work. (Not nylon gears like Bafangs). Also per safety, the free helmet is excellent, and both the headlight and tail light are wired to the battery so you can run lights day and night without worrying about dead AA/AAAs. Very Yes!

The bike rolls easy and can be peddled (with some exertion) on the flats. Range with high and low assist (PAS 2-9) on a mix of pavement and trails is 34km with three steep hills thrown in and 1 bar on the battery indicator remaining. With a 20-amp Samsung battery, you could probably pedal this bike to the moon.

The Mariner is my sole transportation. It will haul just about anything. (Think, “jeep”.) After my excellent heart attack, I wanted easy, healthy, no-strain peddling over any terrain. This bike delivers! And it quickly becomes a game adjusting the PAS level and 6 gears to peddle more, use less power, and extend the range.

The Voltbike’s price is crazy low. I could not convert any folding bike with similar components for under CDN$2,200. Plus, the Mariner comes with fenders, which are otherwise impossible to source for a 20" fat bike. And the big shocker – it comes with disc brakes and derailleur tuned-up, ready to ride right out of the box. After battery charging, of course. The supplied charger is light, compact, well made and very slow - 2 amps/4-5 hrs. (Satiator anyone?)


BEFORE YOU RIDE...
The high-torque, hill-gobbling Mariner is a very unique rainforest animal. If deflected by rock or root, that big front tire wants to kick out and steer itself. It's not "brutish" but it’s quick, that jerk on the handlebars. As on ALL bikes, you must keep both hands firmly on the bars when trail riding. This means no reaching for controls or bell, which are happily close to hand.

Please buy and mount a mirror before street riding. (Amazon, eBay.)

Also BEWARE: Inching the bike forward by a single pedal downstroke in PAS 2 or 3 will kick in the motor after a slight delay (when you think you've stopped) – propelling you into a ditch, tree or intersection if you are not prepared!

Happily, such embarrassment is easily avoided. As with any escooter or ebike – ALWAYS SQUEEZE A BRAKE LEVER BEFORE SWITCHING ON.

Make this your personal default habit. On the Voltbike, partial deflection of either brake lever will instantly cut out the motor circuit. With the hub motor inactivated, you can peddle the bike forward – perhaps to see past an obstruction – without suddenly shooting forward.

Once you’re settled in the saddle, release the brake lever and continue (or begin) peddling in PAS 1 or 2. Select 3 if you’re starting off on a slight incline. If steeper, use the thumb throttle to start moving and then “arrow up” the PAS with the left-hand thumb pad as appropriate.

If you are vertically challenged like me, put on your cowboy hat and use a stirrup: Put your left foot on the down left pedal, shove off with your right foot and swing your right leg over the saddle. As you “take your seat” the bike will be slowing down to a near stop. To avoid the “wobblies”, push down on the right-hand thumb throttle. Unlike the trigger-happy PAS, moderate thumb-throttle application at low speeds is quite gradual and easy to modulate. With the bike moving under control and your seating and grip secure, dial in as much PAS as you like – and enjoy the ride!

(When “landing” it’s helpful to select 3rd gear for your next take-off, since gears must NOT be shifted when the bike is stopped. Don’t worry if you forget or you’re too busy. The Mariner has plenty of power to start off in 6th gear. )

Once underway, selecting PAS 9 will pin your ears back – gobs of clean, smooth acceleration is Very Fun. Until the motor cuts out at 30kph...

The Mariner cannot be "hot-rodded" as delivered. But this is a bicycle, not a scooter. Think “25-27kph” cruise, which is plenty. Besides, those big knobbies do NOT like to roll fast. (Do not exceed 45kph downhill.) Also, at 5'5" I have to dismount to stop since I can't quite reach the ground while seated. Just use the "down" pedal for a step and it's no biggie. Straddling the top tube, there’s enough clearance to keep me a baritone. Not a soprano.


After two long familiarization rides on pavement and mountain trails, I can't stay off this bike! (I'm also 67...) THE MARINER IS HUGE FUN. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Mariner over any scooter. And service from George at voltbike.ca is A1. Excuse me again, I must go for another ride immediately. -VOLTMAN (Hornby Island, BC)

PS Dalekinthewwing is right. This bike is much bigger than I'd imagined. But after my 120-pound scooter, it feels "light". Treat it like a Mongolian pony and you're good.
Nutella
5 months ago
SDH
I live in the Colorado foothills surrounded by endless trails right out my back door. On my 1500w 52v e-mtb, I can cover insane distances in difficult terrain, climb monster hills & still have plenty of stamina left to ride hard for hours after reaching the top. I can explore more terrain in one summer than I could in a lifetime on my standard mtb. I rarely see hikers and bikers where I venture and that is my goal, so I don't have to worry about offending the sensitive delicate types with my awesome toy. When I do cross paths with others, I'm always courteous, always yield to oncoming traffic (since they have to work harder), and even hide my speed & climbing capabilities so as not to offend. Regardless, I still get some nasty looks & even some backhanded comments from the elitest bike snobs. So be it...I'm not giving up my toy and you look like a girl in those bike shorts!
Nice! Where do you live? I travel in Colorado a lot.
grench
5 months ago
SDH
I live in the Colorado foothills surrounded by endless trails right out my back door. On my 1500w 52v e-mtb, I can cover insane distances in difficult terrain, climb monster hills & still have plenty of stamina left to ride hard for hours after reaching the top. I can explore more terrain in one summer than I could in a lifetime on my standard mtb. I rarely see hikers and bikers where I venture and that is my goal, so I don't have to worry about offending the sensitive delicate types with my awesome toy. When I do cross paths with others, I'm always courteous, always yield to oncoming traffic (since they have to work harder), and even hide my speed & climbing capabilities so as not to offend. Regardless, I still get some nasty looks & even some backhanded comments from the elitest bike snobs. So be it...I'm not giving up my toy and you look like a girl in those bike shorts!
I am aligned!!
SDH
5 months ago
I live in the Colorado foothills surrounded by endless trails right out my back door. On my 1500w 52v e-mtb, I can cover insane distances in difficult terrain, climb monster hills & still have plenty of stamina left to ride hard for hours after reaching the top. I can explore more terrain in one summer than I could in a lifetime on my standard mtb. I rarely see hikers and bikers where I venture and that is my goal, so I don't have to worry about offending the sensitive delicate types with my awesome toy. When I do cross paths with others, I'm always courteous, always yield to oncoming traffic (since they have to work harder), and even hide my speed & climbing capabilities so as not to offend. Regardless, I still get some nasty looks & even some backhanded comments from the elitest bike snobs. So be it...I'm not giving up my toy and you look like a girl in those bike shorts!
MLB
5 months ago
Douglas Wever
Bosch, the Stuttgart, Germany company may be focusing on the European market where the e-bike market is massively larger than the American market. In Europe the middling battery on the Trek bikes would be adequate as motors generally can not exceed 250 watts and therefore don't need a monster battery like is available from Stromer or Pedego.

One must also wonder given where the e-bike business is the biggest, if Trek itself is more focused on it's domestic or international markets. The latter finds Trek in over 90 countries. The new e-bikes from Trek went live on their UK website before the Trek U.S. website.
OR the much more experienced Euro riders have wised up that very few people need the battery size that the avg american needs to feel secure with their range anxiety.
Douglas Wever
5 months ago
grench
Bosch has plenty of middle of the pack offerings...how about a big and fast?
Bosch, the Stuttgart, Germany company may be focusing on the European market where the e-bike market is massively larger than the American market. In Europe the middling battery on the Trek bikes would be adequate as motors generally can not exceed 250 watts and therefore don't need a monster battery like is available from Stromer or Pedego.

One must also wonder given where the e-bike business is the biggest, if Trek itself is more focused on it's domestic or international markets. The latter finds Trek in over 90 countries. The new e-bikes from Trek went live on their UK website before the Trek U.S. website.
Jan
6 months ago
I am the proud owner of a Fullseven S (yes, "S") RX. I tested the CX on a Bulls Monster, and I agree, there is more torque. I seriously thought about buying a CX and doing the governor override, "tuning". I just didn't want to risk the potential voided warranty issues. It was a tough decision. I hear Motorstrano has got tuning down to a "science", so the risks may not be valid. Also Joe has some "Clearance" Haibikes that have been "upgraded", and his prices are good. I came very close to going this way.

I now have 200 miles on my new bike, which I have owned less than a week. It is awesome!! I can go about 70 miles with one battery change, but that includes serious hills.

Yes, the torque was a sacrifice. But here's the thing: every time I look at the speedometer and it grins back with 27 and 28mps, I realize I made the right decision. I have had some bikes with the 20mph cutoff and it is so frustrating, especially when a brightly colored Cervelo rider passes you and you know you'd have no problem if only that stupid limiter was not holding you back.

If you want to wait, Bosch will probably make the CXs officially speed pedals after Interbike. They are also coming out with a dual battery pack. Some people are patient. . . not me. Life is way to short to wait to ride (my opinion.)

My Izip has 73n/m and the torque differentiation is definitely detectable. But ahhh the shifting. You really wouldn't know there's a motor on the Bosch bike. It is so smooth.

If you do decide on the Performance S, get it assembled by a professional shop, or have the integrated lights installed before it is shipped (not recommended). Putting the integrated lights on is really challenging. It goes in the bottom of the head tube, so you have to slide the forks out. Also, check your pedals. I put mine on the correct sides, but I should have done just a bit more tightening, as one fell off, and I didn't have my pedal wrench. I thought I had stripped the threads, as I couldn't get it in. It finally went in once I got home. These bikes don't work well with only one pedal. . . . good to know! Maybe Bosch could take the governor chip off the CXs and just ship the bike with one pedal. This would assure that everyone would go under 20mph. . . .I will contact them today and let them know I've already tested this idea.

In my opinion the bike is not worth retail price. But then, again, neither are the CX models. I talked to a lot of dealers and there seemed to be a consensus that most people just don't want to dish out 5k or more on a 20mph bike. . . . I totally agree.

If you do get a "tuned" CX, make sure you live near the dealer that did it. If it ships modified and there's a problem, find out what the steps are and get something in writing. I was going to get a KTM with a CX from Performance Bikes. I talked to the KTM people in Florida and they said "Yeah, we help the customers modify their bikes; it's easy". I called again to confirm and another person said that I had been misinformed and it would void the warranty.

Well, I've got to ride my bike home, now. So far I haven't done a lot of off-roading, but I do commute 30 miles to work, about 1 mile is on a non-technical back road, horse path. I feel a bit guilty not riding more off road; because the bike loves the trail.

I hope this was helpful. Lots of shops are getting these bikes, now. I highly recommend a test drive.
Adrian
7 months ago
walawn
Coming from a motorcycle technician background with almost 2 decades of experience, I've always wanted to build my own ebike. Living in NoVa for the past few years, in a small apartment with a fraction of the tools I once had with me though, I let that prospect scare me away into buying a pre-built ebike for the second time in 3 years. The more I get on these forums like Endless Sphere and browse sites like Luna Cycle, the more I think that it is completely within my capability to do so. I've been toying around with the idea of building a 1000W mid-drive with the Bafang kit, but now I think that I may want to modify my new Radrover. I'm thinking of installing the same motor from the rear inside the front wheel. Not sure if I should add another controller or battery, or replace the controller with one to control both motors and upgrade the battery in the system to something larger or custom. I could see using the Shark battery packs to reduce weight and the stock controller is small enough to mount a second one easily. Synchronization could be an issue though. This idea may never been anything more than that, but it is exciting to think about double the torque and both the wheels of my 60+ lb. ebike pulling their own weight. Now don't get me wrong; I love my new Radrover. It is night and day better over my old Prodeco Phantom X3, which cost $400 more. I think I just can't go too long without wrenching on something. Maybe I should just build a second ebike from scratch to see if that gets rid of this urge to craft a muscle/monster ebike...
Just put a BBSHD on it.
NinjaNick
7 months ago
I have 2 more bikes coming in. A Volt bike folding clone and a Sondors Fat bike. Since the RAD Mini is my designated dog carrier, I was thinking of putting the tires on my new folding bike. This clone comes with a front suspension and a 20 AH 48v battery!

View attachment 6404

I wanted to sell that RAD Mini, but I have a feeling the RAD bike will have qualities I will miss. I am also understanding some draw backs with front suspension and a Shock absorbing seat post. Suspension front fork adds some comfort but also adds weight and reduces power transferred. When I ride with my GF she is 5'4 and needs the seat post to be all the way down. With the suspension post it will lose about 3 inches from the lowest setting. So for easy dog riding I am using the solid RAD bike, I will mess with the one from China and make it a monster.

So my plan is to keep the RAD MINI as is, I have a upgraded Silverfish battery that is 48v 20AH coming at the same time as the new folder so we will see what the pros and cons are.

Volt Bike Clone - 2000 - crazy shipping costs and fees from China
Front Suspension
Hydrolic Brakes
48v 20AH Battery
Bafang 500w prolly runs at 750 motor
LCD with PAS
front and rear lights that run from battery
rear rack
same components for drive like the MINI

I am trying to become and authorized dealer for these bikes. Everything I ordered has been spoken for this round and I have not setup a pre order system yet. If you are interested in seeing the differences, I'd be willing to meet you on the trail once my new baby arrives!

Nick
Metalusion
7 months ago
can anyone comment on the torque. it's rated at 90nm which is twice that of the Radrover. does it seem like it has monster power in the torque dept? does it make you ride any differently up a hill? take on steep hills that you've been afraid of previously?
Barkme Wolf
8 months ago
I took off the running boards. They get in the way when walking the bike. When I load this monster up for a camping trip I will reattach them. Took off a couple pounds, bonus.
J.R.
9 months ago
Ravi Kempaiah
That's because E-bikes help you stay in the aerobic respiration zone and truly provide a terrific workout. Our bodies know this... take a look at this article.
http://www.sciencemusicvideos.com/aerobic-and-anaerobic-respiration/

You should read what Haibikes are doing to people across the world.
Here is one example: http://www.pedelecs.co.uk/news/haibike-electric-bike-making-impossible/

They have a large team of dedicated engineers working on several projects. Haibike will be successful even if you and me suddenly disappear from the face of this earth.



That's where the magic lies. Human brain is wired for something called "cognitive ease". People like using iPhone because you don't need a manual to know what is what.. you just know intuitively.
Similarly, when you're using pedal assist, the sensor does all the job of sync'ing your input with the machine and that leads a seamless behavior of this human-machine combo and it is truly pleasurable.
Just pedal and bike knows what kind of watts to push through the drive train.





A BBSHD is lot of fun but it is well beyond the limits of human power and it doesn't feel like a riding a bicycle anymore.
One of the major benefits of E-bikes is that they offer tremendous health benefits. If you take away the PAS option, the usage will go down because it is not that much anymore.
May be you can use it for commuting. But it is hard to produce this kind of smile on a throttle only bike.

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=1708138742743469
Just think all those newbies in the video are getting all that power and speed, "This is fast", on bikes likely with Euro spec 250 watt motors and speed limited to 15 MPH. It doesn't have to be a monster motor to get job number one done, fun! This is a great time of year to be reading these forums with all the posts from new ebike riders.

Thanks for posting that video Ravi!
Ann M.
9 months ago
I'd take a look at Court's review of the Haibike SDURO ALLMTN RC, it's the same Yamaha 250 watt motor, 500 watt peak with slightly more narrow tires (consider changing those yourself?) for several hundred $$ less. This Yamaha motor has 80Nm of torque, so would be a monster climbing hills! Motostrano is selling the bike you mention but refers to the motor only by the peak motor output, so don't be mislead.

Just check the specs and consider what performance you want on a full suspension mountain bike, then buy. As an ebike dealer for almost 15 years, the Haibikes require regular maintenance but put up with serious beatings by mountain trails better than a lot of other less expensive ebikes and come with a team of well trained techs. So go brew your own cup of coffee and get out their and RIDE!

J.R.
9 months ago
NormL1
I just did a research binge on the Internet and there is a lot to know about poly-carbonate. Now that I am a couch expert on the stuff, I am going to score and break it like I first thought, but, with the knowledge that it is going to be way harder than I thought.

J.R. we do have the plastics company's like you reference, but, they are all up in the horrible traffic areas that are to be avoided at all costs. Hopefully it isn't a glare monster, but, I did see that I can buy thinner sheet on line and non glare as well. Thanks for the comment
You can get polycarbonate as thin as business card stock, but that'a more of a specialty item. It's fairly common to find thickness down to 1/16". It can be readily cut with most types of saws and routers, acrylic cuts better via scoring since it's more brittle. If you do use non-glare, look at it closely as it's only one sided. Also never use any glass cleaner on clear plastic, use isopropyl alcohol or mild dish detergent.

Good luck with your project, I'm enjoying your thread!
NormL1
9 months ago
I just did a research binge on the Internet and there is a lot to know about poly-carbonate. Now that I am a couch expert on the stuff, I am going to score and break it like I first thought, but, with the knowledge that it is going to be way harder than I thought.

J.R. we do have the plastics company's like you reference, but, they are all up in the horrible traffic areas that are to be avoided at all costs. Hopefully it isn't a glare monster, but, I did see that I can buy thinner sheet on line and non glare as well. Thanks for the comment
T. N.
6 days ago

Nice Ebike. I want two.

Larry Conger
1 week ago

WOW this bike is amazing. This is the best looking Fat bike I have seen
plus the Bosch engine! Full Suspension knock out...

TheGreekBiscuit
2 weeks ago

Let's just pretend if i don't want to pedal for a day will the mid drive
still work by me accelerating?

PlastaSin
3 weeks ago

Dude! You're all riding past parked cars with neither a door's width
clearance nor even acknowledging any hazard. Be safe out there people.

ThingsDemystified
1 month ago

Nice video. I'm glad you stopped at the stop sign. Need to educate others
to follow the law.

EdWatts
1 month ago

I remember times when an American could purchase a Cadillac, a Corvette, or
a Ferrari for $5299. Yeah, I'm old, but does anyone need any further
evidence of how far America has fallen? Bicycles? Please...

Tyrone brown
1 month ago

how much does it cost

NOMagz.com
1 month ago

Gòod bikes. And i like your town.

WANSKA
1 month ago

I wish someone made a proper touring fatty with Rohloff hub and Gates
Carbon belt. Sand and dirt in the gears and chain is just a bitch to clean
all the time not to mention when using these bikes in the winter time for
heavy commute use

Brad Armstrong
1 month ago

Did the brake rotor warp on your test drive or not? It seems you suggested
that it did but you did not follow up on that. I would like one of these
bikes, but does it need heavier brakes?

Michael De Lazzer
1 month ago

I get that these are slick, well manufactured e-bikes. But for $5200,
you're getting an underpowered 36V system with a 350W motor on a 60lb bike.
It doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me. You can do much better for less
money. I don't doubt the bike is fun, and I love the components, I expect
more "umph" for that kind of cash.

Bladehouse
2 months ago

Great review! Boy do I want to ride around in Cali right now!

Mark Hepple
2 months ago

Can you get these in Aus? I'd love the yellow one in a hard tail with semi-
slicks :D

jacob clemoune
2 months ago

Go check stealth bikes theyre handcrafted in australia. approx 80kph for
the high ends

chopin4321
2 months ago

i have damage knees from skiing...thanks to clear my doubts when you said
at 9:10 " i have a sensitive knee and i prefer to spin at a higher rpm so
my knee isn´t overworked and bosh totally lets me do that...and it feels
like is giving me more power." i will take your word...i´m saving for a
2017 bosh 500 bike...probably get the cheapest...any recomendations on
which is nicer on knee injuries...greetings from sunny spain

turbolevo
2 months ago

nice bike,wish we had more of these bikes in are neighbourhood to try it.
specialized is the only dealer close by.

rccrashburn
2 months ago

Price at 5:25

Mike Changy
2 months ago

Outrageous!

carlin hicks
2 months ago

Your friend is a muppet, blasting through stop signs with his helmet
hanging half on the back of his head, otherwise cool vid.

Win Power Car Light (Official)
2 months ago

Great review! would you like to review our electric bike please?

M B
2 months ago

Looking good Fer!

MonotuneMc
2 months ago

this fat Bike seems realy Nice ..But it is, also a very expensive
One..Anyway,,you make Good Reviews. THX for.