BULLS Monster E FS Review

Bulls Monster E Fs Electric Bike Review
Bulls Monster E Fs
Bulls Monster E Fs Bosch Performance Line Cx Chain Tensioner
Bulls Monster E Fs Bosch Powerpack 500 Battery
Bulls Monster E Fs Removable Bosch Intuvia Display Panel
Bulls Monster E Fs Rockshox Monarch Rt Rear Suspension
Bulls Monster E Fs Rock Shox Bluto Rl Solo Air
Bulls Monster E Fs Magura Mt Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Bulls Monster E Fs Shimano Deore Xt 11 Speed Drivetrain
Bulls Monster E Fs Electric Bike Review
Bulls Monster E Fs
Bulls Monster E Fs Bosch Performance Line Cx Chain Tensioner
Bulls Monster E Fs Bosch Powerpack 500 Battery
Bulls Monster E Fs Removable Bosch Intuvia Display Panel
Bulls Monster E Fs Rockshox Monarch Rt Rear Suspension
Bulls Monster E Fs Rock Shox Bluto Rl Solo Air
Bulls Monster E Fs Magura Mt Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Bulls Monster E Fs Shimano Deore Xt 11 Speed Drivetrain

Summary

  • Full suspension fat bike with a high quality mid-drive motor from Bosch and their updated 500 watt hour battery pack for extended range
  • Cool fluorescent paint job that extends all the way through the fork, rear shock housing, swing arm and battery pack, I think the battery blends in nicely and appreciate the metal base cup
  • Premium hardware here including tubeless-ready Schwalbe Jumbo Jim tires that can be ridden at lower pressure, light weight punched out rims and RockShox air fork
  • Eleven speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain with chain tensioner, shift sensing software in the motor controller, Magura hydraulic disc brakes and thru-axles for improved stiffness

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

BULLS

Model:

Monster E FS

Price:

$5,299

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Sand and Snow

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Motor and Battery, 5 Years Frame

Availability:

Europe, Canada, United States, Australia, New Zealand

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

55.6 lbs (25.21 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.7 lbs (2.58 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminium

Frame Sizes:

18.11 in (45.99 cm)20.07 in (50.97 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

31" Stand Over Height, 76" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Neon Yellow with Matte Black Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rock Shox Bluto RL Solo Air, 100 mm Remote Lockout, 15 mm E-Thru Axle

Frame Rear Details:

RockShox Monarch RT High Volume with 120 mm Travel, Rebound Adjust, 12 mm Quick Release Thru-Axle

Gearing Details:

11 Speed 1x11 Shimano Deore XT, 11-40

Shifter Details:

Shimano XT Triggers on Right

Cranks:

FSA CK-760/IS Cranks, 15T Chainring

Pedals:

Wellgo Alloy Platform, Cage STyle

Headset:

Tapered 1 1/8"

Stem:

7° Rise (80 mm, 90 mm)

Handlebar:

Low Rise, 720 mm, 25 mm Rise, 9° Bend

Brake Details:

Magura Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, MT-5 Four Piston Front MT-4 Two Piston Back Calipers, Magura MT Levers

Grips:

Ergon GA30 Locking Grips, Flat, Black

Saddle:

Selle Royale Seta M1

Seat Post:

Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Alloy, Punched Out Square Holes, 32 Hole, 80 mm Width

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Jumbo Jime, 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Pace Star 3, Tubeless Easy Snakeskin

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Sticker Slap Guard, Chain Tensioner with Narrow Wide Teeth

Other:

Aluminum Skid Plate, Locking Removable Battery Pack

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line CX, Gen 2

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

75 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

482.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Estimated Max Range:

130 miles (209 km)

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 210%, Turbo 300%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Fat tire electric bikes offer a perfect blend of technology and adventure in my opinion… an unpowered fat bike is fun, sure, but the added weight and drag of larger wheels and tires means that most people are limited in how far and long they can actually enjoy the ride. Furthermore, if you actually do seek out the snowy fields and sandy beaches that those fat tires yearn for (as I did in this video review), they can become uncomfortable because the terrain isn’t always smooth! And once you’ve added suspension there’s increased weight and often some bob as you pedal along. So that’s where this whole full suspension fat tire electric bicycle concept fits in… In many ways, it isn’t that surprising right? We see full suspension motocross bikes all the time, in fact I think most motorcycles (even road bikes) offer full suspension. But they’re loud, heavy and usually illegal on bike paths, mountain trails and beaches. The Monster E FS delivers something special in this domain, an ebike that’s both capable of handling a wide variety of terrain and usually well accepted there. It’s made with some of the best consumer/performance level hardware on the market as of this review (Magura brakes, Shimano Deore XT derailleur) and is driven by one of my favorite motor systems around, the Performance Line CX from Bosch.

With internally routed cabling, a sporty paint job and some additional metal shields in place, the battery pack truly blends in on this bike. And despite offering about 25% larger battery capacity than the previous Powerpack 400, the battery form factor is exactly the same and it weighs less than a half a pound more! You can still charge it on or off the bike and it’s even backwards compatible so if you already own a Bosch powered electric bike from the 2014-2016 timeframe you can swap them out or carry an extra along for increased range. Having tested and reviewed some of the other BULLS electric bike models recently, those with the more tightly integrated Brose battery/motor system, I gained renewed appreciation for how beautifully and simply the Bosch pack clicks in and locks. You don’t have to worry so much about bumping the key if you accidentally leave it in and you don’t have to physically twist the key to lock the pack… just when you unlock it, and this increases security. Going from there, the control panel and button pad that let you interact with the battery and motor are both very well done. You can switch assist levels on the fly without lifting your left hand and compromising your grip… just a bit of thumb work. And you can also cycle through display readouts this way. One of my favorite menus is range approximation because it dynamically updates depending on how you’re riding, what assist level you’ve selected and how much battery capacity remains in the pack. This is the sort of feedback that ensures you won’t get stuck way out in the backcountry with a depleted pack. This is especially relevant because the battery indicator only shows five bars vs. 10 on some other bike displays. That’s one of my minor gripes.

If you do get stranded on this ebike, no worries because it has a wide range of 11 gears for pedaling. And in the electric bicycle world, that’s quite a few! I found that the bike was operable on human power alone (especially on pavement) and enjoyed the rolling momentum that the tires offered once up to speed. It was easy to handle the bike on all terrain types we tested thanks to longer mountain bike style bars with locking Ergon grips and I appreciated the remote lockout on the Bluto suspension fork. Many of the hardware components chosen for this bike are of a higher build quality and designed to be light weight. At just under 56 lbs… this is what I would consider very light given how large it looks and the fact that it’s a fat bike with full suspension. It is missing a few things though, no kickstand means it could tip into your fancy car in the garage more easily and no bottle cages mean you’ll need a hydration pack. Part of me yearned for throttle on demand operation in addition to pedal assist but I recognize that this would change the class of the bike, exhaust the battery much faster and ad clutter to the cockpit. It might also delay how quickly the motor cut out resulting in sketchy performance on difficult technical terrain. Yes, this is a hard core capable bike that would handle serious riding. Bosch offers one of the most responsive, zippy feeling drive systems around and if you’re in the highest level of assist (there are four to choose from) it works very well, almost responding like a throttle without requiring exhaustive pedaling force. Almost as soon as you’ve stopped pedaling, the motor also stops and that’s a great feeling… but it works the other way too, responding especially fast as your cadence increases (ie. shifting to lower gears for climbing or maneuvering through an obstacle course of rocks, ice or fauna).

I honestly don’t have many complaints to share about this ebiket. Its great that given just how custom and unique a build it is, BULLS was able and willing to manufacture two sizes. Their two year comprehensive warranty is excellent and despite the perceived higher price point, I actually think you’re getting a good deal relative to what other companies charge for similarly specced builds using less interesting drive systems. Consider their hardtail Monster E model if you’re looking to save $1,000 and don’t mind a stiffer rear… In that case you could always add a seatpost suspension as a compromise. As someone with limited storage space, I tend to choose one high quality bike to “do it all” and that’s exactly what this offers. You get comfort, longer lasting parts and a bike that won’t quite. In a world with more and more 3″ tires it’s great to see an actual full sized 4″ wide fat tire bike that’s done so well. Powerful hydraulic disc brakes, thru axles, a tapered head tube and a custom replaceable metal skid plate make this bike extra tuff. Not to mention the chain tensioner with fully surrounding guide and narrow wide teeth. I love that you can easily and quickly take both wheels off for compact storage and transport and am glad that BULLS opted for the four bar rear suspension design to optimize traction, reduce bob and lower as much weight as possible. It’s a great bike, lots of fun and easy to use. Compared with some other full suspension fat ebikes I’ve tested, it offered a wider range of pedaling speeds while still supporting me with motor power. The motor is just more capable at high RPM and that’s how I prefer to pedal, it happens naturally as I shift down approaching hills, I don’t feel like the motor quits on me. As someone with sensitive knees, this has been one of my favorite fat bikes so far and I’m optimistic about how it could be used on so many terrain types and in so many seasons. Big thanks to Bulls for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • Custom paint and decal job that includes the frame, rear swing arm and pivot point, suspension fork and rear suspension housing! EVERYTHING matches and looks awesome
  • Sturdy 15 mm thru axle on the front with 12 mm at the rear, keeps the larger heavier wheels tight and responsive, both offer quick release which is handy for repairs or simply transporting the bike since it’s so large
  • In addition to removable wheels, the battery pack and display console are also removable… I love that the battery can be charged on or off the frame and is backwards compatible with the older Bosch Powerpack 400 batteries
  • Top-end components from Magura, Rock Shox, Schwalbe, Ergon and Shimano that will hold up in off-road conditions and are backed by the BULLS comprehensive two year warranty
  • I was impressed that even with the larger capacity battery, full suspension setup and fat tires this bike weighs just ~55 lbs and I love that it comes in two sizes for improved rider fit
  • Most of the weight is positioned low and center across the frame, this improves handling and since it’s a mid-drive, reduces unsprung weight compared to a hub motor
  • You get 11 gears so pedaling feels comfortable at a wide range of speeds… even if the bike is turned off and the Bosch motor offers shift sensing to reduce wear
  • I love that they included a chain tensioner with a full hood to act as a guide (clearing debris and mud), it should reduce kickback from the rear swing arm and the narrow wide tooth pattern is designed to reduce chain slip
  • Punched out rims reduce weight, look cool and might add some cushion to the tires for improved comfort and traction at lower PSI
  • Sturdy metal motor cover… like a louvered push guard on a truck, designed to protect the sensitive bits but be replaceable if you encounter major damage
  • This is the only Bosch powered full suspension fat bike I’ve seen to date and is definitely my preference in terms of power, zip and responsiveness compared to Yamaha and other mid-drive systems, the chainring spins fast and is super quick to start and stop which is great for unstable terrain
  • The Bosch Intuvia display panel is large and easy to read, simple to use and doesn’t require that you reach far while holding the grips to operate, a remote button pad with tactile feedback is mounted very close to the left grip… I also like that the display panels has a Micro USB charging port built into the side for maintaining your portable electronics

Cons:

  • The bike worked fine in the sand but requires pedaling (Class 1 pedal assist) and there are times when it’s nice to have throttle power just to power through soft terrain or get started again after stopping… the benefit of Class 1 is that it’s allowed on more trails vs. Class 2 throttle powered ebikes
  • The rear suspension joints and shock take up the space where a bottle cage or other accessory mount might have been fit… you can’t add a rear rack easily (unless you compromise with a beam rack) so you might end up using a hydration pack all the time
  • The Bosch battery doesn’t blend in with the frame quite as nicely as the Brose battery on some other BULLS ebike models but it is easier to remove and comes in a higher ~500 watt hour capacity here for longer range rides, I like that the built some metal plates around the base to help it blend in… and added those matching yellow stripe stickers
  • This is an expensive electric bike… you’re getting a lot of high quality hardware but if you ride it near saltwater without rinsing it afterwards or if you’re on other corrosive terrain frequently (salted snow?!) then it will wear out more quickly, there’s a trade-off with bikes like this where you can get one that’s pretty good for half the price and then completely replace it in a year or two vs. one very nice one that you need to care more about to extend

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More BULLS Reviews

BULLS Cruiser E Review

  • MSRP: $3,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A feature-complete cruiser style electric bicycle with paint-matched fork, fenders, rear rack, chain cover, and motor casing, available in three frame sizes with adjustable stem for good fit. Large sprung saddle, puffy stitched grips, swept back handlebars, and the deep step-thru frame make…...

BULLS Aminga TR 1 Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A full suspension, cross country style, electric mountain bike made just for the ladies with shorter reach, available in two smaller size options, features a turquoise fuchsia colorway. Sturdy Suntour XCR 34 air suspension fork with remote lockout for easy transitions from rough…...

BULLS TWENTY4 E Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A tough, sporty looking, high-quality, kids electric bike that can reach ~15.5 mph with four levels of pedal assist, smaller wheels keep the frame low and approachable. Premium accessories including tires from Schwalbe, a Shimano Altus 8-speed drivetrain, and Tektro hydraulic disc…...

BULLS Cross E Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Well priced considering the quality Bosch-made electric drive system, four frame size choices, and three frame styles (high, mid, and low-step). Integrated LED lights and premium Continental tires with reflective sidewall stripes help to keep you…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 2 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

One of the cleanest looking full suspension cross country electric bikes I've reviewed, the battery and motor are built into the frame and match the matte black paint perfectly. Extra large battery capacity for longer rides, EnergyBus magnetic charging standard works on or off…...

BULLS SIX50 E 1.5 Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A hardtail trail ready e-bike with comfortable plus sized tires and a spring suspension fork (with lockout), sturdy tapered head tube, rigid thru-axles, and Boost. Capable as a commuting platform if you prefer a mountain bike vs. hybrid or city…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

An active, sporty looking, commuter style electric bike with low standover height, available in three frame sizes to improve fit and comfort. High-end drivetrain and motor systems, you get eleven gears with a tough mountain bike level…...

BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

An all-mountain electric bike with plus sized tires for improved stability, traction and comfort, 150 mm air suspension with compression and rebound adjust. Battery and motor mount design are tighter than older Bosch systems, weight is kept low…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A high quality full suspension e-mountain bike that's also a speed pedelec (capable of 28 mph top speeds), solid hydraulic disc brakes, wide thru-axles with Boost Technology. Adjustable 150 mm RockShox suspension front and rear, four-bar rear swing arm to reduce brake…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 3 Carbon 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A Carbon fiber electric cross country mountain bike with premium components and ultra-integrated motor and battery system, excellent weight distribution. The Brose motor is quiet and responsive offering up to 90 Nm of torque output,…...

BULLS DAIL-E Grinder Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

One of the first Gravel Grinder style electric bikes to make it to America! Made with premium components, high performance lights and a purpose built frame in three sizes. Capable of high speed 28 mph performance, the Bosch centerdrive motor measures bike speed, pedal…...

BULLS SIX50 E2 Street Review

  • MSRP: $3,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A fully equipped speed commuter capable of 28 mph operation, running on the proven Bosch Performance mid-drive motor and updated 500 watt hour Samsung battery. Extra large 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes offer smooth solid stops without requiring exorbitant hand…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A versatile urban electric bike well suited to commuting, touring and trekking because of its efficient mid-drive motor and larger than average battery capacity, durable internal gearing and belt drive. Available in five frame sizes and three frame styles including wave, mid-step and high-step diamond…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A stealthy full suspension all-mountain electric bike with longer travel 150 mm suspension, fully adjustable air fork by RockShox, color matched to frame. Larger 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack to assist with steeper climbs and longer…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

Available in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step and mid-step) with an adjustable stem, active-comfort saddle and ergonomic grips, this bike can fit well and feel good at speed and over long distances. Capable of 28 mph top speeds, this is a Class 3 electric bike with an…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all-mountain electric bike with beautifully integrated battery, motor and display... it blends in more than most other e-mountain bikes I've tested and runs quiet. Sturdy 15 mm thru axle in the front and 12 mm axle in the rear…...

BULLS SIX50 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A loaded full suspension mountain bike with premium electric drivetrain from Bosch offering 75 Nm of climbing torque with the CX motor and a 400 watt hour Samsung battery. RockShox air suspension with 120 mm travel front and rear for solid trail or all…...

BULLS Monster E S Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

Premium hardtail electric fat bike with all the fixins, highlights include rear rack bosses, tubeless-ready tires and punched out rims, RockShox air fork with remote lockout and high torque Bosch CX motor. Quality 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano for excellent stopping power and modulation, impressive…...

BULLS Outlaw E45 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty looking, fairly comfortable speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speeds, it's running on an optimized geared hub motor design with heat pipe technology for maximum performance. Unique mid-mount battery box fills the main frame triangle keeping weight low and centered while…...

BULLS Sturmvogel E EVO Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautifully designed urban electric bike painted white for visibility and modern appeal, white walled tires, reflective sidewall stripes, LED lights. Extra sturdy and durable thanks to a 15 mm thru-axle on the front wheel (with…...

BULLS TWENTY9 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension, Bosch powered, cross country style electric bike with efficient 29" wheels, it's available in three sizes for good fit and would feel taller and larger for riders with long legs but still fits some shorter riders given the angled top tube. Quick release for both wheels ads convenience for fixes and transporting the bike, I love…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fully loaded urban electric bicycle with great accessories for commuting including an aluminum rear rack, full length fenders with mud flaps and integrated LED lights. Relatively light weight at under 50 lbs, this is due in part to the nicer…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS Enduro 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An enduro style full suspension electric mountain bike with longer 160 mm suspension travel, seat post dropper, 27.5" wheelset and premium hydraulic brakes. Downtube-integrated battery pack is out of sight and keeps weight low and centered across the…...


Tim Star
4 weeks ago

Have you reviewed any of the M2S line of electric bikes?

Reply
Court Rye
4 weeks ago

Hi Tim, not quite yet! But I am in touch with them and hope to cover some of the M2S bikes for 2018 :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

TntE3+
2 weeks ago

Oh the 35 mm stem takes a few miles to get used to once your comfortable with the stock stem.
But the bike is so much more agile and feels 10lbs lighter with the short stem.
Also really helps on chunky drops the bike pushes through better. 180 berms the bike is much faster and more balanced, square edge drops the bike floats off and you don’t feel the need to rub you butt on rear tire to keep the front from dropping out on you.
The company i ride with are very accomplished riders on Evil wreckoning and Santa Cruz. High tower LT.
both 9k plus builds and when the trail is chunky, steep and fast the Fs3 gives them all they can handle and when it gets chattery machine gun arm rough the 50lbs monster shines and they can’t match the speed.
18 KOM on strava now with the Fs3 on lagit enduro trails that put a pucker factor on most seasoned of riders.
I went from hating this bike stock and took it back to bike shop asked them to sell it because there was no data available to set it up. To completely blown away and it was less then 400 invested in mods.
Dropper seat, 35mm riser bars, grid tires, 35mm stem, 160mm air rod, 203mm rotors, 1 air token front, 3 shock tokens rear.
The monarch rear shock is the biggest limit and keeps big air out of this bikes comfort Zone, But i take this bike on any chair lift DH run and feel solid.

Mark Stonich
1 month ago

Thanks for your answer. She had a motorcycle accident when younger. Things were actually fine until last year when she slipped on an ice patch and broke her knee cap. That's when the knee problems started to come back. There's a loss of strength accompanied by pain when putting too much pressure on the knee. Walking is not a problem, but carrying heavy loads is no longer possible. Not sure of all the details, as it's a friend's wife. I offered to help put the bike/kit together as they're both over 75.

In a lot of cases the apparent lack of strength isn't that the muscle isn't strong, but pain prevents you from applying full tension with it. Reducing the bend in the knee with short cranks and spinning freely (easier with shorties) often helps. That she has no trouble walking, where the knee isn't loaded while bent, suggests that reducing the bend MAY help. She should run this past her Ortho and PT to get their opinion.

If she's a candidate for knee replacement, everyone I know who's had one, including my wife, says they should have done it sooner. 7 weeks after Jane's TKR she was climbing much better than before. And she rode 9 miles the day before her surgery. But after replacement, a lot of people lose range of motion and still need shorties. I've sold at least 100 sets 100mm or shorter to adults. Many to people with knee replacements whose PT wasn't aggressive enough.

If you want to have them contact me I can help them determine if short cranks are likely to help. I have all the work I want/need and would have retired years ago if there was someone else, anywhere on the planet, doing the work. So if her situation doesn't warrant shorties, I won't try to talk them into anything to try to make a sale. If nothing else, I can offer her some strategies for biking with bad knees. And Jane can share her experience with the Copenhagen Wheel.

Mark Stonich; BikeSmith Design & Fabrication
5349 Elliot Ave S. Minneapolis, MN 55417 USA
Ph. (612) 710-9593 http://bikesmithdesign.com
https://www.flickr.com/photos/bikesmith/ (Mostly Wildlife)

Recommended reading;
Crank Length, Leg Length and Power
Short Women / Short Crank Feedback
Range of Motion Limitations & Crank Length

In case they worry that short cranks will cost her power;

I recently got a phone call from an average sized adult mountain biker who says he's climbing familiar hills 1 or 2 gears higher on 135s than he'd used with 175s before he messed his knee up. He was just hoping shorties would let him ride again. Now he wants to get back into racing. He’s in Big Bear Lake California where the “Hills” are mountains.

A local Gravel Road racer is 6'-2” (188cm) and after much trial and error finds he is fastest on 135s despite having no RoM or other issues.

Another 6’2” gent in Texas competes in long distance Brevets on 95mm cranks due to severe range of motion limits. Another man with range of motion limits is climbing the hills of San Francisco with a single 38t chainring and a 12-25 cassette, also on 95s. The fellow in San Francisco bends pedal spindles. I just heard from another gent who does the grueling 200 mile Seattle to Portland on 95s.

One of my customers, 5'-7" (170cm) tall professional triathlete Courtney Ogden, won the big money 2011 Western Australia Ironman on 145s. He's done extensive work with the people at PowerCranks where they are becoming big advocates of shorter cranks.

A few years ago a team of 4 Australian MTB racers, ranging in height from 5'10 to 6"1 won a 24 hour MTB race on 125s. With the shorter cranks they rarely had to stand. conserving energy. And they were able to get by with a single chainring, before today’s monster cassettes, because the useful RPM range is so wide with shorties. Many customers have reported that they notice themselves needing to shift much less often.

This from a serious roadie with severe range of motion limitations;
"I’m 5’8” 168lbs – regarding strength, I’m not the strongest. However, I’m not the last up the hills and can do more than my fair share on the front of the group. The 115mm Andels you made for me still have no issues what so ever, I’m on my second set of rings! Please send me another set of 115s for my new bike.”
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Knee Friendly Pedaling

Riders usually push down on the pedals by using their quads to straighten the knee joint. First pushing the pedal forward, then down. There is always going to be a bit of this going on but you can do a lot to reduce the loads on your knees.

Try concentrating on using your glutes and hip flexors to swing your knees up and down. Relax your quads and just let everything below the knee act as a connecting rod between the knees and pedals. At the bottom of the pedal stroke use your hamstrings just a little bit to pull your foot back as though you were scraping mud off your shoe. Don't consciously push forward at the top of the circle. That's when knees are most bent and the tissues around them are most vulnerable.

If you aren't clipped into the pedals, and most of the time even if you are, you don't pull up on the pedal. But the idea of using the hip flexors to lift the knee is to reduce the amount of work done by the front foot that is wasted by raising the weight of the other leg and foot. If you aren't clipped into your pedals you don't want to completely unweight the upward foot. Some contact is needed to keep it located on the pedal. A grippy pedal like a spiky MTB platform or the MKS Grip King (AKA Lambda) makes this easier.

Pedalling on the mid-foot instead of the ball of the foot reduces stress on the knee. And testing has shown that it increases endurance, at a slight cost in peak power. However, be careful to avoid toe/tire interference.

If you do this while spinning freely, in low gears, you won't have to apply much force with any single muscle group. If you aren't comfortable spinning, your cranks are probably too long. 21-21.6% of inseam is best for healthy, non-triathlets, without joint issues. When a person is uncomfortable at higher RPM it isn't due to the muscles switching from extension to contraction more often. It is because their muscles are extending and contracting at a speed that is too fast for them. This recruits more fast twitch muscles, which produce more heat and lactic acid. Shortcranks reduce this speed by moving the muscles a shorter distance per revolution. Allowing more use of slow twitch fibers for a higher comfortable cadence.

Your quads will still end up doing much of the work. But easing some of the tension pulling your patella down onto the joint can make a big difference. When I get a twinge in my knee, it reminds me to concentrate on my pedaling and I actually accelerate.

BTW I read about this type of pedaling years ago, as a way to help you spin better. So it has a double benefit.

For eBike types, think of more efficient pedaling as a way to lessen drain on your batteries. ;)

Over50
2 months ago

... is not helped by the sale of monster ebikes (like the Luna Apex) which push the limits of ebike legality with top speeds of over 40 mph...

I recall visiting a small LBS when I first started my e-bike search (I think they were a Felt dealer). They told me basically "we don't sell any purpose built e-bikes but we can build you a kit and the bike will do 40 mph easy". When I responded "that isn't going to be legal" I got a surprised look in return. I took it to mean surprise that anyone even cared about legality. Just seems highly irresponsible for a shop to jeopardize the future of an industry via complete disregard for current law, rider and bystander safety etc. So with all these throttle and perhaps 28mph+ delivery bikes in NYC, I'm thinking that there have to be a lot of shops building/selling these things(?). If so, are they garage/black market operations or licensed bike shops? Seems NYC should crack down on some of the sellers and in the process help the legit shops like Propel via the increased Class 1 sales.

Yamanote
2 months ago

The enforcement actions came up due to a caller to the "Ask the Mayor" program hosted by Brian Lehrer on WNYC. An Upper West Side resident called in to ask Mayor DeBlasio why the regulations regarding e-bikes was not being enforced, which was a follow up to a news piece earlier in the week also on WNYC. The caller's position is that ebikes are a growing problem, threatening pedestrians, particularly older people. The issue seemed to be primarily throttle ebikes being used for restaurant take out deliveries, which is a common sight in NYC. The mayor gave the caller a positive response, with a promise to follow up, the result being the increased enforcement actions. Chris Nolte, who is frequently on this site, has been outspoken in the media about the enforcement issue, which I interpret as being being caused by reckless abuse by delivery restaurants. Its seems all ebikes (and ordinary non commercial riders) are now being caught in the net, even category 1 bikes. Just my opinion, the situation is not helped by the sale of monster ebikes (like the Luna Apex) which push the limits of ebike legality with top speeds of over 40 mph. One other result is this is causing the dumbing down of some otherwise very capable ebikes to avoid falling into category 2/3. Specifically, I am guessing that Haibike disables its walk assist to avoid any risk of this being considered a throttle, thus falling into an illegal category is some jurisdictions.

harryS
2 months ago

I own both mid-drive and hub drive (geared), although these are kit motors. I also went to a Bike Expo and test rode a bunch of commercial e-bikes, some quite sophisticated and others probably worse than my home kits due to sloppy setup/maintenance. As long as the hub motor is reasonably light, I couldn't see much difference in handling, whether front wheel or rear wheel, for riding about town. I couldn't detect much power robbing cogging in the Evelo and Stromer direct drives. At 16 mph, all seemed to have enough power for me. Got to see what torque sensing felt too. Bottom line, all ebikes are fun on a demo day.

No single solution here. The Winnebago poster should tell us how he plans to use his bikes. I thought he was going to have a 40 foot monster, but the Revel isn't big . I would want a strong platform rack on a 2" hitch. A pair of fat tired 20" bikes for easier carrying, although they are heavy. Two monster fat bikes? A pair of mid drive mountain bikes. Light street bikes if he never goes into the woods? Range, ease of pedaling (if desired) and comfort matter first, along with price. Given a choice between throttle/pedal to 20 mph or pedal only to 28 mph, I would pick the throttle.

Mid drive who ride 25 mph on throttle only (although you can't buy this bike) report high gear/chain wear. I never take mine past 18 mph, and it's old bike with already worn gear/chain. They haven't gotten worse, although I put on a new chain this summer. I see posts from road bikers who do ride that fast on legs alone, and their chains don't last either. I think we can ignore this issue for mid drive.

I also figure we aren't supposed to ride up hills that we couldn't pedal in the lowest gear, but owners try to do this with a motor in the highest gear and smoke the notors Use the gears, go slow, and I think a 500W motor will do the job.

Craig Crowder
3 months ago

Just returned from 10 days mountain biking in NC with new MTBE upgrade. I really like it. I put it in mtbe mode and leave it there. It is much smoother than manually shifting the boost level. It also reduces the need to shift gears as the torque changes via mtbe accomplish the same result. I have a Bulls Monster EFS and still don't have walk assist capability. I see from an earlier post from a Bulls owner that it works, so wonder what I am doing wrong. Suggestions?

How to enable walk assist; 1) Select a speed (Eco,tour,sport/emtb,turbo). 2) press the walk assist button. 3) within 2 seconds of pressing the walk button press the + button and the bike will start walking. Let me know if that works for you :)

Scubamike
3 months ago

Just wondering if anyone has found a kickstand that works with a full suspension ebike. I have a Monster E FS.

ROJA
3 months ago

I think this is a super interesting question. I know of a guy who built up a bike himself and can do a hilly 100-mile ride (at speeds much slower than 25 mph, though), so anything is possible. Supposedly the high-end Stromer can also go 100 miles on a charge.

My view is that with a good ebike, you could probably do your 50 miles at an average speed of close to 20 mph using two batteries. Keep in mind that an extra battery can be around $1000. That assumes you can currently do this ride on your Trek at an average speed around 14-15 mph. @Energetic James - is that about right?

Here are some data points in case it's helpful:

BACKGROUND: I'm a fairly fit recreational cyclist in my 40s. I will routinely ride the local hills (Bay Area) and average ~100 ft/mile. I'm riding a $4500 Specialized Turbo X (nice hub-drive bike with a 250W nominal motor and a 562WH battery). You could certainly beat these specs, but I like the warranty and dealer service that comes with buying a major brand from a shop.

HIGH SPEED: Flat 18-mile commute (sometimes windy; mix of dirt and pavement; very few lights): I can average about 21-22 mph (feels like I'm mostly cruising at 24-26 mph) and it will use 65-80% of my battery. Expect a range of 20-25 miles per battery.

LOWER SPEED: Hilly ride: 32 miles; 3800 ft of climbing averaging 19.4 mph used my entire battery (and I used regen on the downhills). Assuming you are at least as fit as I am, this would mean you could definitely do your commute on two batteries.

Bottom line is that I don't think 25 mph is doable without a monster motor and a huge battery capacity. But 19 mph? Definitely. And we're still talking about at least an hour quicker than riding your Trek.

Let us know what you're thinking. This would be a significant investment for you, but I think you'd love being able to do it!

ESBiker
3 months ago

Just returned from 10 days mountain biking in NC with new MTBE upgrade. I really like it. I put it in mtbe mode and leave it there. It is much smoother than manually shifting the boost level. It also reduces the need to shift gears as the torque changes via mtbe accomplish the same result. I have a Bulls Monster EFS and still don't have walk assist capability. I see from an earlier post from a Bulls owner that it works, so wonder what I am doing wrong. Suggestions?
Also, has anyone changed out the Intuvia for the Purion? If so, does the plug in the motor have a catch that has to be released, or do you just pull it out? The Intuvia is exposed to crashes and the plastic wedges holding it on will shear, disabling the bike. I zip tied it back on until I can switch to the Purion which I can mount so it is not as exposed.

Brooklyn Tony
4 months ago

Thanks. I just wanted this bike but it wasn't meant to be I guess.

Fret not! Here's a couple of other fat tire options from low to high pricepoints:
Sondors Original, X, Fold, and Fold X,
Voltbike Yukon, and Mariner,
RadPower Rad Rover and Rad mini,
Pedego trail tracker
Luna cycles homebrewed stuff
iZip E3 Sumo
Emotion Big Bud
Bulls Monster

harryS
5 months ago

Except for one store bought electric beach cruiser, all my other ebikes are regular bikes with motor added. Weights range from 34 to 54 pounds w/o battery. We live in flat Illinois, and I have no problem pedalling any of these at 12-14 mph w/o power. Also have ridden a few other commercial ebikes, 50 pounders, and they're about the same.

We took two of those bikes to Colorado this week. Wow. What they call a mild hill (300 feet) is a monster to me, especially at 9000 feet. I could do it w/o power, but it sure was work. So it's all subjective. Best advice is to tes tride the ebike that interests you.

I use a Swagman XTC2 platform rack. Didn't realize it's rated for two 35 pound bikes. I have one 35 pound bike and a 45 pound bike sitting on it right now. Pulled off batteries and seats to get the weights down. Added 20 pounds of chain though. Driven 2045 miles so far. Another 700 miles and I'll be home tomorrow! My car is a VW with only a 1 1/4 hitch. Wish I still had my old SUV with its 2" hitch.

AguassissiM
5 months ago

That chain is a monster, right? got the same at Mec as well. Best ratio quality/price in my opinion for Canada.

I like that store, good stuff and decent prices for several items. You often have a better selection online for home delivery though.

Tip to save on shipping costs: if you want to buy something online that is not in your local store that would require shipping costs, drop by the store and have them order it for you = free shipping :)

How do you like the seat? looks very comfy, like a lazy-boy for bikes

Edit: i have been fiddling around with the bolt inside the post, yes. It is at its loosest right now and it does not give. Sometimes it's the opposite, too much bounce. I find that loosening the cap at the top of the tube, right under the rubber springy cover does have quite an effect sometimes. I just can't get it to be relatively cushy/springy permanently. Once I get it cushy, after a few rides, it becomes stiff again. There is plenty of grease inside, I dismantled it twice already.
That chain feels like someone is hitching a ride on the back rack, hopefully it will give the would be thief way too much hassle and he`ll keep on walking instead of riding with our bikes away.
@america94 perhaps the top part is binding once you tighten the inner bolt? or it just gets tired and keeps on taking extra long siesta...hope you get it sorted out before the rest of us start having same symptoms.
The new seat did help but i still feel the discomfort, it must be all those years of being lazy or away from riding a bike has came back to hunt me and i just have to pay my dues. Still i like it much better than the original besides it matches the rest of the bikes color scheme.

america94
5 months ago

Sorry to hear that was a complete waste of your time @america94 , perhaps it works better for me since i replaced the original saddle and i`m a short and chubby fella? Have you tried adjusting the bolt inside the seat post?
Just came back from MEC with more goodies, got this chain lock and this cable to help with security. Also got a new pair of KEEN shoes, now just waiting for the rain to stop so i can test them out. Now my shopping list is complete, o wait still got to get a bike stand , darn it.....so close.
That chain is a monster, right? got the same at Mec as well. Best ratio quality/price in my opinion for Canada.

I like that store, good stuff and decent prices for several items. You often have a better selection online for home delivery though.

Tip to save on shipping costs: if you want to buy something online that is not in your local store that would require shipping costs, drop by the store and have them order it for you = free shipping :)

How do you like the seat? looks very comfy, like a lazy-boy for bikes

Edit: i have been fiddling around with the bolt inside the post, yes. It is at its loosest right now and it does not give. Sometimes it's the opposite, too much bounce. I find that loosening the cap at the top of the tube, right under the rubber springy cover does have quite an effect sometimes. I just can't get it to be relatively cushy/springy permanently. Once I get it cushy, after a few rides, it becomes stiff again. There is plenty of grease inside, I dismantled it twice already.

Shoestring
6 months ago

E-boy , that's an interesting question. I own one, and it's a great bike, so far. I looked at Haibike as THE premium brand. Prices from $2500- 15,000+ puts it in the "BMW" category as far as I'm concerned. That said, I've yet to need warrantee service, replacement parts or factory accessories, so I don't know what to think as a company. I can also say I was NOT prepared to pay full retail for the bike. I can afford 5k for a bike, but I cannot justify the expense. For example: I would love to have a Bulls Monster fs fatty, But there is no freaking way I'm dropping $5,300+shipping and taxes for one , no matter how cool it is. I'm sure that I'm not the only one who feels this way and I'm also sure this is an industry stumbling block bringing new riders to the ebike family.

Joaquin V
6 months ago

Thanks! Got it insured now ;) I was wondering: how tight should I feel the breaks? In a regular bike going at full speed I could break to a full stop in 3,5s. When I'm on this monster, it feels like eternity to stop. Perhaps the breaks are a little loose. Any feedback on this?

Mr. Coffee
6 months ago

@Barkme Wolf - Our family have the Pocket Rocket stoves and like them. We also have a couple of 25 year old Scorpion that still work well but have a hose between stove and gas, so not as convenient although quite small.

Canister stoves are awesome, especially if you are in the boil-water-and-stir school of outdoor cooking.

There are lots of great models out there. I like the ones with a sparker so you don't need to keep track of a lighter or matches.

I've had this little monster for sixteen years (the stove, not the canister):

1/1
richiebike
7 months ago

Kudos on the S-Works and Expert. I've had the FSR COMP for about a month now. It's monster green....had to get it due to heart issues. Started out using trail-mode about 90% of the time. Since then, I've gained strength from biking so much and now I use eco-mode about 90% of the time. I have trouble quitting before it gets dark because I'm having so much fun. I'm totally sold on 3 inch tires, they're icing on the cake.

Traveler7477
7 months ago

I'm at a state park in pa. I have a bulls monster e fs class one. I was just told by the grounds keeper no motorized vehicles in state parks. Im at Swatara state park in pa. I thought class one bikes were considered regular mountain bikes. Can someone help? Thanks

Goodair
8 months ago

FXR3, my buddy just picked up a 17 Bulls Monster FS from a LBS at a $200 over preminum, we do support the local economy, but not blindly. The other purchases, they weren't even in the same zip code with pricing, about $800 off. BULLS should contract out to VELOfix or during DEMO Days, have their techs work on customer's bikes. I know Intense Bikes do routine services on ALL Intense bikes during Demo Days, BULLS can do the same.

Goodair
8 months ago

We just got a 2017 Monster FS with the BOSCH, pick this instead of the Haibike, the Haibike Fat Bike is only made in Yamaha. The 2017 comes with a 500watt pack, basically the same bike as the 16, but with 20% more juice. The suspension is dialed in, super fast on DH, compare to my Haibike Fat Six and Specialized Fat Boy, this bike rocks going up, and super fun coming down. Top notch component group... Buy It!!!!

1/1
Goodair
8 months ago

I received a call today from BULLS today, apparently, they had an emergency meeting to discuss this issue, they are very concern on providing the BEST customer service in the industry. Barney called me right after the meeting, and informed me that BULLS had changed their policy with firmware updates. According the Barney, the limited access was due to insurance and liability issue, they are hoping to resolve this matter ASAP. Barney spoke with me at length and reassured me that I will get the firmware update needed at NO cost.

Stay tuned, I am keeping my fingers crossed! I have a few friends that are in the market to buy new E-bikes, they are on hold to see if BULLS comes thru. I have another friend that picked up 2017 Bulls Monster FS, the quality on Bosch Bike is impeccable, we compared it to a 2016 Haibike Fat Six, the BULLS definitely has a better component group, the welding is top notch. I think their product is superior to Haibike, just need to fix their LBS issues.

Customer Service in this emerging market is critical for newcomers. If you can have a great product backed by great customer service, there is no way you will fail. I hope this sends a loud and clear message to the leadership of BULLS. Unlike 20 years, the flow of information is much faster, customers are much more informed, they need to re-think their business model, hanging your hat on just LBS, might not be a wise business decision, in fact, all it takes is one or two bad LBS, and your reputation is done.

kennyzzz
8 months ago

( I've read some places online that say I should make sure to have a pure Sine Wave inverter to recharge the ebike battery. Other places say a modified sine wave inverter is fine. )
you should have a pure sine wave inverter.
this is My experience with a modified sine wave inverter ...
well I'll share my experience with cigar plug inverter, went through 2 vcr's and 1 power brick for my computer, it (cigar plug inverter in my travel trailer ) was not a pure sine wave converter, hence it slowly burnt up me electronic entertainment. so the money i thought i saved my buying a 40 dollar inverter. so buy a pure sine wave inverter .
like i said it burned the stuff out slowly.
now I know why my tv had this buzzing background noise, it was the cheep power inverter .
this is what I purchased
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002O5P8BA/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
now it's worry free for me using my computer and tv in my travel trailer when camping without campground power.
that old tv commercial rang true to me pay me now of later. cheap inverter or pure one. but at the time I did not know any better because i bought a great brand name one, (monster power) I thought it was a quality product . but i did not know the differences of them,.
just trying too help.

Douglas Ruby
8 months ago

With my changeover to the 11-42 Shimano XT 11 speed on my base Turbo, I went back to the 48T. Personally, I think this is ideal since an 80 cadence gets you to the 40+kmh range in top gear. If you are riding in mountainous terrain and want to pedal monster descents in leg power, up to 54T bcd 104 chain rings can be purchased.

The bigger issue is finding matching bash guards and adjustment slack in the chain retension guard to keep the chain on. I had a pretty tough time finding the 44t bcd 104 bash guard. Most mountain bike guards support smaller chainrings and most road cranks designed for larger chain rings are bcd 110.

DaveinMtAiry
8 months ago

Thanks again for the replies. More Noob questions:

How exactly dose a mid-drive motor work and what makes it so much more efficient than a hub motor? Is the motor the only thing that determines power and torque or does the voltage of the batter matter as well? At my size and the need for hills would 350 W with a 36 V battery meet my needs?

Did you guys really order a bike online without riding it first? I can't imagine doing that but I have also found that bike store purchases are way more expensive.

I have ridden one but it was on a lark and I have no idea of the specifics of the bike other than it costs over 2 grand. Rode it around the lot and really liked it but I was surprised that I still needed to work a lot to go up a hill, even in the highest (or is it lowest) setting that gave me the most boost. I really need to make sure I get a bike that can haul me up the steepest hill. We haven't picked out a specific area yet but pretty obvious it will have monster hills and I want to be able to walk out my front door and go bike riding without loading onto a truck and going somewhere.

André M
1 week ago

The helmet of your friend fits well 😂

Nick Morris
1 month ago

The guy who does these reviews doesn't know that most people can't afford a fucking 5000.00$ bike......that's my review of him, reviewing these bikes.

vasudama
1 month ago

Just cancelled my order for an Earth T-REX for one of these babies !!!

Phil M
2 months ago

Thanks for stopping at the stop sign unlike the other guy.  Once anyway.  You can't get angry with cars if YOU don't follow the rules of the road.

The Luxurious
2 months ago

10:55 made my Siri turn on

wide awake
2 months ago

A Kraken is the same price and ten times better!

tanmoy nath
2 months ago

i like this cycle

Michael Towler
2 months ago

I will go for one when they make a dual suspension with a 65 head angle, 160 Forks and a dropperpost .

Mark Hollander
3 months ago

Great bikes but what's with the random stop signs? In Aus we never have stops signs on the "main" road of a T junction, only for the side roads.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Welcome to America?! I don't know, each state and city is a bit different but we are starting to get more roundabouts because they cause fewer accidents and speed up traffic

Zekeriyya Altintop
3 months ago

dostum fıyatı nedır bunun ??

SZN
3 months ago

OK

SZN
3 months ago

plz plz plz plz plz plz plz plz

SZN
3 months ago

i wanted to buy this bike plz bring in nepal

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Wow, you live in Nepal?! That's awesome, do you enjoy hiking in the mountains? I cannot say whether Bulls will bring this product to Nepal, but perhaps you could hire a company to import one for you?

ıllıllı קåȋη-åкåтsυкι ıllıllı ı
3 months ago

*Guys someone tell me a downhill mtb for 900-1000€ i live in italy tell me a model please*

influenza99
4 months ago

maybe lose the hand gestures.

Skräcken
5 months ago

Someone tell that dude how to wear a helmet

Michal Sobota
5 months ago

This is one great looking bike

mako
5 months ago

Hey, do a review on a electric bike that is very cheap and good

RoboticusMusic
5 months ago

Think you could do that with 27.5+ 2.8" tires on a more powerful bike? Doesn't salt water destroy your bike even if you wash your bike after and relube the chain?

A Clark
6 months ago

This guy ends every sentence as if its a question. valley girl sissy sounding