Pedego Interceptor Review

2014 Pedego Interceptor Electric Bike Review
2014 Pedego Interceptor
2014 Pedego Interceptor 600 Watt Motor
2014 Pedego Interceptor Battery Pack
2014 Pedego Interceptor Chain Guard
2014 Pedego Interceptor Headlight
2014 Pedego Interceptor Electric Bike Review
2014 Pedego Interceptor
2014 Pedego Interceptor 600 Watt Motor
2014 Pedego Interceptor Battery Pack
2014 Pedego Interceptor Chain Guard
2014 Pedego Interceptor Headlight


  • Great power for acceleration, climbing or moving heavier riders with a 500 watt geared rear hub motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery combination
  • Offers twist throttle and five levels of pedal assist for increased range, removable battery for easy charging
  • Functional rear rack, front and rear LED lights, sturdy kickstand, optional fenders, awesome little bell built into left hand brake housing, larger frame is a good fit for big / tall riders

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away


National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers







$2,895 USD

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Year Components, 3 Year Battery


United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, Europe

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

61 lbs ( 27.66 kg )

Battery Weight:

9 lbs ( 4.08 kg )

Motor Weight:

8 lbs ( 3.62 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step (Cantilever Style)

Frame Sizes:

18 in ( 45.72 cm )

Geometry Measurements:

(Wheelbase 47 in)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

Aluminum, Black, Lime Green, Neon Blue, Neon Orange

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses, Welded Rear Rack with Spring Latch

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano

Shifter Details:

Grip Shifter on Left Bar


Aluminum Alloy Platform


Fixed Promax



Brake Details:

Avid BB7 Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors





Seat Post:

Suspension Shock

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Fat Frank, 26" x 2.35"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )

Tube Details:



Aluminum Alloy Chain Guard, Bell Integrated Into Left Brake Lever, Single-Side Kickstand, Front and Rear LED Lights Powered by Main Battery, Optional Metal Fenders, Optional Kevlar Lined Balloon Tires


Removable Battery Pack (Charge on or Off the Bike), Quick-Connect Modular Throttle and Motor Cables for Easy Repair or Replacement

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:


Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

40 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

480 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles ( 48 km )

Estimated Max Range:

50 miles ( 80 km )

Display Type:

Backlit LCD on Left Bar


Speed, Odometer, 5 Assist Levels, Battery Voltage

Display Accessories:

Integrated Four Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (Half Grip Throttle on Right Bar)

Top Speed:

20 mph ( 32 kph )

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Interceptor is Pedego’s work horse. It’s large, powerful and sturdy and up until this second revision (known informally as the Interceptor II) it hasn’t really differed from the 48 volt version of the Classic Cruiser. Same frame, same drive system configuration… just a stronger power source. All of that changed in 2014 when the Interceptor adopted the controller and pedelec sensor that were introduced with the City Commuter. The new Pedego Interceptor offers the versatility of twist throttle and pedal assist mode with the ride quality of a relaxed cruiser.

Driving this ebike is a powerful 500 watt geared rear hub motor. The older Interceptor ran a gearless design which was a bit quieter but much larger and heavier. Given the geared nature of this new motor, there are more parts to rub and wear over time but in reality it should hold up fine. It’s the same motor that drives the City Commuter which has been out for nearly two years and had very few, if any, complaints. So it’s lighter, smaller, still provides great torque and provides space for a seven speed Shimano Acera cassette.

The gears on this bike shift smoothly using a twist grip style shifter mounted on the left handle bar and seven speeds is a decent range that provides leverage for climbing hills or pedaling at speeds in excess of 20 miles per hour. A matching chain guard keeps pants from getting snagged or greasy on the chain and I love the new silver circlet positioned in the center of the front chain ring. I assume it’s just for decoration but it also conceals the pedelec sensor (possibly protecting it from dirt and water when riding). As with other Pedego bikes, the pedals are made from solid aluminum, providing a wide surface area with plenty of grip. The LCD controller allows you to easily switch from twist throttle mode to one of five pedal assist levels and see your speed, distance traveled and remaining battery capacity.

A few other changes with this iteration of Interceptor are the rear rack, pedal position and kickstand. Firstly, the rack and battery pack have been reinforced and improved with a built in light. It’s not the world’s brightest but it does run off the main battery (as well as the front light) and can be activated by pressing a button on the battery pack itself. Unlike some of the other new European ebikes, the light is not connected to a dynamo for use if the battery does get drained. That would be nice to see on future iterations and it may be that the more lax regulations in the US do not require it as a standard feature. Secondly, the bottom bracket on the Interceptor and other cruisers from Pedego (and other brands) has been pulled back to align with the seat post tube. This was done to honor Electra’s “Flat Foot” patent. The idea being that pedals which are positioned further forward create a more relaxed seating position. Still, the Interceptor rides great and feels very relaxed thanks to the plush seat and enormous handle bars which are some of the largest on any ebike I’ve tested. Thirdly, the kickstand has been changed to an adjustable single-side design which is lighter and less intrusive than the older double-sided motorcycle style stand. I really didn’t like that kickstand because it seemed to bounce and hang low – also occasionally bumping the tire and pedal arms when riding if not adjusted perfectly.

On to the battery! While the Lithium-ion chemistry and 48 volt 10 amp hour capacity remain unchanged, the casing has been improved. As mentioned earlier, it now features a built in light and mini control panel that displays remaining amp hours when pressed. It’s the same battery design used on the City Commuter and it looks rather nice, though removing the pack can be a bit of work – you have to pull pretty hard the first few times to get it loosened up. The biggest improvement in design is that now the metal tubing that makes up the rack actually encloses the battery, protecting it from bumps and scrapes. It also includes a spring loaded metal arm on top for securing minor articles such as a coat or papers. It also positions the weight of the battery lower than the old design (though possibly more extended off the back). I imagine the new design also provides equal or greater structural strength with support arms that extend directly towards the chain stays vs. curving inward.

All things considered, this is a winning electric bike that’s comfortable, powerful and fun to ride. I love the addition of pedal assist and minor design improvements like the addition of water bottle cage mounting points and front and rear disc brakes! It’s those little improvements that Pedego is known for making along with their dealer network which offer great support. The Interceptor isn’t for everyone, especially because the frame is so large and I believe it only comes in a high step version. For smaller individuals or those requiring less power there is always the regular Cruiser series or the much smaller 24″ Cruiser which is a very thoughtful offering in the world of ebikes. While the price of the Interceptor has slowly risen, the improvements I’ve seen certainly validate the outlay and I love the optional Kevlar tires, matching fenders and three color options.


  • Wonderful extras including the built in bell, front and rear lights and seat post shock
  • Braze on mounting points on the downtube for adding a water bottle cage
  • Offers five levels of pedal assist using a pedelec cadence sensor in addition to the standard twist throttle mode
  • Great power and torque coming from the 500 watt geared motor and 48 volt battery pack combination
  • Available in bright fluorescent green, brushed aluminum or gloss black
  • LCD computer controls lights, displays speed, range and battery capaicity
  • LCD computer is easy to reach for changing modes when riding and rubber sealed for water resistance
  • Soft seat, balloon tires and oversized handlebars smooth out the ride and create a relaxed upright seating position
  • Proven frame and components are shared with the Pedego Cruiser lineup, great bike for rentals, larger riders or those pulling trailers as it is very sturdy
  • Comfortable seat comes with rubber bumpers and is available in leather and colored options
  • All tubes come pre-Slimed and the optional Kevlar lined tires really fend off thorns and other hazards
  • Modular electronic systems are easier to replace individually or disconnect for repairs
  • Battery locks to the frame to deter theft and tampering but key must be left in when riding, thankfully it stays out of the way


  • Avoid lifting the bike by the seat as the seat post shock can be fragile and the seat can twist off due to narrower diameter connection point at tip of shock
  • Battery pack is mounted high and towards the back which is less ideal than a lower mid-mount design which would be more balanced
  • Oversized tubing on rear rack is not compatible with all standard panniers and bags, I use strapping to secure mine and recommend those by BASIL
  • Fenders do not come stock but the rear rack keeps the stripe off your back and you can pay extra for matching fenders
  • Integrated chain guard can be a bit fragile, avoid kicking or stepping on it
  • This ebike is heavier than most at ~60lbs but it’s very sturdy and a bit larger than others, to reduce weight when transporting remove the battery pack which weighs eight pounds


Trusted Advertisers

More Pedego Reviews

Pedego Latch Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sturdy folding electric bike with a full-sized feel, the extra long seat post and telescoping stem fit a wider range of body types than most folders I've tested. Premium drivetrain features and accessories including a Gates belt drive, Shimano Nexus internally geared hub,…...

Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $3,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fined fat tire electricbike with balanced down tube battery and purpose-built "extrawide" hub motor for improved drive train operation and torque. Nice LCD display panel with integrated buttons and swivel, includes a USB port for charging…...

Pedego Ridge Rider Review

  • MSRP: $3,395
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A delightfully capable and refined 27.5" hardtail electric mountain bike with powerful 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery pack. Nice upgrades on the adjustable air fork with lockout, 15 mm thru-axle, locking grips, hydraulic…...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A smaller version of the Interceptor that's easier to mount, it offers great power thanks to its smaller wheels paired with a 500 watt geared hub motor and 48 volt battery. Offers twist throttle and five levels of assist for increased range, throttle override puts you…...

Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stripped down comfort cruiser with easy-mount step-thru frame, throttle on demand only, optional fenders, multiple color choices and multiple battery size options from 36v 10ah up to 48v 15ah. Locking removable battery pack is protected in the color-matched rear rack, mechanical disc brakes are…...

Pedego Classic Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy, powerful cruiser style electric bike with large 500 watt geared motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery. Balloon tires, comfort saddle, suspension seat post and oversized handlebars create a relaxed upright ride...

2015 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A fat style ebike with zippy 500 watt geared motor and powerful 48 battery (available in 10ah or 15ah for extended range). Four fun color options, integrated headlight, pedal assist and throttle mode, quality mechanical disc brakes...

Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy and powerful electric bike that's a bit more active than the cruisers (more forward body position, narrower handlebars) and is available in several frame sizes for improved fit. Lots of great extras including full length aluminum fenders, chain guard, puncture resistant tires with…...

Pedego Stretch Review

  • MSRP: $3,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stylish and comfortable cruiser style electric cargo bike with removable tubing supports that extend the carrying platform or double as a back rest and running boards to accommodate a second rider. Offers two battery options for extended range and two drive modes including pedal assist (1-5)…...

Pedego Boomerang Review

  • MSRP: $2,495.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the easiest electric bikes to mount with extra low step-thru design, frame stiffness reduced as a result. Powerful 500 watt geared motor is quiet to operate and blends in well with cassette…...

Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Iconic cruiser style frame is sturdy, provides a relaxed seating position and comes in multiple colors. Powerful 500 watt direct drive (gearless) rear hub motor is durable, fast and relatively quiet...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A smaller step-through electric bike with 24" wheels for riders who are petite. Very powerful for its size, uses a 500 watt direct drive hub motor with three…...

Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the only purpose-built electric bikes that is setup to be a tandem for two adult riders. Sturdy frame, fun classic design, reliable drive system with six speeds, great support and warranty...

2014 Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy cruiser style electric bike with simple twist throttle operation and upgradable battery pack. Large tires, swept back handlebars, plush seat and padded grips dampen vibration to smooth out…...

2013 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,975
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Off-road design with 4" wide tires, increased contact patch enables the bike to ride on sand, snow and other rugged terrain, larger tires also provide cushion for improved riding comfort. Ultra powerful 600 watt geared motor and 48 volt battery pack for improved torque and…...

Pedego Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Stable three wheel design with battery, motor and controller mounted low under the cargo bin. No pedal assist option with this bike but the twist throttle is intuitive to use…...

2013 Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Powerful combination of 500w motor and 48v Lithium battery. Durable and proven frame is borrowed from the Pedego Comfort Cruiser...

2013 Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,675
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

One of the only tandem style electric bikes available anywhere, large 500 watt motor offers good power. Built on the time tested, super simple, Pedego Cruiser cantilever style aluminum alloy frame...

2013 Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Smaller version of the full sized Pedego Cruiser Step-Through, lighter and easier to handle for petite riders. Unassuming design looks like a laid back cruiser and comes in many fun color choices...

2013 Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Classic upright commuter frame is quiet, sturdy and functional with welded rear rack. Integrated seat post shock, lights, bell, and computer with clean wire management...

2013 Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Solid, durable and extremely quiet to ride due to gearless rear hub motor. Casual design looks like a laid back cruiser and comes in many fun color choices...

2 years ago

Court, great review. Does the Interceptor have the same "con" that you detailed in the Pedego City Commuter,"Twist throttle does not override pedal assist, can only be used separately"?

I was ready to settle on the Commuter but that con made me cross it off the list.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Yeah Mark, I believe that's the case. you are either in pedal assist mode or you switch down to zero and you can use the throttle.

2 years ago

Just tried this bike as I'm in the market for an ebike, have been using this site a lot. My experience with the Interceptor II was that it DID respond to throttle even in pedal assist mode. I'm new to ebikes, so this might be misunderstanding your question, but that's my experience based on what I tried today.

2 years ago

Bought a City Commuter yesterday and was expecting having to turn the pedal assist off for the throttle to work. I was positively surprised that the throttle worked in all modes (0-5).

It seems that Pedego also enhanced the battery switch; it now has a clear silicon cover to make it water tight.

2 years ago

I can confirm Meredith's observation, albeit not on the "Interceptor": I have just bought a Pedego City Commuter and it has the same behaviour; the throttle does work in PAS mode. I can leave the bike, let's say in PAS mode 3, and stop for a traffic light. The throttle allows me then to get the bike started before I start peddling and before the PAS kicks in again.

It seems to me that Pedego is continuously improving their bikes. I also noted that the battery on/off switch is modified. It now has a clear silicon cover to make it water-proof.

It would seem logical that the "Interceptor" would also display this improved behaviour.

Edward Jacobson
2 years ago

Hi, I've been riding a 1st generation interceptor for two years. Generally, your review is spot on. It highlights the difference between my bike and the new edition.

I have but one quarrel: the pannier bags. I commuted with the pedego bag, the basil, another bag I can't remember, and ended up with one from ortleib (with a hand towel at the bottom). I needed to carry a battery: 8 lbs of solid, edged weight. I needed to carry my 17" laptop, not at the same time. The only bomb proof, bullet proof bag turned out to be ortleib. Had it for a year. The basil sent me looking for my laptop on the road one day. The basil actually broke. A linus kept creeping off the rack.

The Ortleib has been there a year and takes the bad roads, the speed, all of it. It also mounts right on to the thick tubing in the rack. I live in Southern California, ride 17 miles in, then 17 back 3 or 4 times a week. Weather was not an issue. I do not ride into bad weather on purpose.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Cool! Thanks for the update Thomas, Pedego is pretty good about improving their products ongoing and sometimes these reviews fall behind a bit. Appreciate the details you've shared :)

Court Rye
2 years ago

Great feedback Edward, I also like Ortleib and agree that it might be sturdier vs. style focused. So sorry to hear about your laptop incident! That's no fun, especially with such an expensive object falling out :(

Edward Jacobson
2 years ago

Actually, the bag came apart at the strap stitching. Somebody found the laptop and told the folks at work, so I got it back. Sometimes the world is a nice place.

Gator Bob
2 years ago

The 2015 Interceptor was given throttle override when in pedal assist. Also, a new hi-vis color, fluorescent orange replaced the 2014 neon green. Those are the only changes. I bought one.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Nice! Thanks for the update, I'm excited to see their new kit at Interbike this Fall. Are you enjoying your so far? What's the best part and how are you using it?

2 years ago

Hi Court,

I'm seriously considering the Interceptor II. Do you know, is the geared motor prone to falling apart after awhile? Also, are there other ebikes out there that have pedal assist with direct drive?


Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Adam, the geared motor on this bike is very reliable (and very powerful). The Interceptor is one of my favorite ebikes from Pedego because it has pedal assist as well as a throttle and the frame is large and strong. If you're 6ft or taller and a bit larger this is a great option, I wouldn't worry about the motor... Pedego has great customer service and offers a solid warranty. To answer your second question, yes, there are other bikes with pedal assist and direct drive (gearless) motors like the Specialized Turbo, any of the Stromer electric bikes and the Focus ebikes. All of these also offer regenerative braking and regen modes.

Bill Miller
2 years ago

I am trying to decide between the Pedego Interceptor and the Easy Motion Neo City. I'm just shy of 6 feet, 215 pounds. I notice you give a half-point higher rating to the Neo. Just from reading it seems the Neo has a much less powerful motor. Should that be concerning? What earned Neo the extra half-point? Thanks for your site and your help.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Bill, great question! Thanks for providing your height and weight. My recommendation between the two for you would be the Interceptor because it has a larger frame and stronger motor. The Neo City and Neo street were rated higher for a more sophisticated pedal assist sensor, better battery integration (downtube vs. rear rack) and removable display panel. While the motor on the Easy Motion bikes is less powerful, it's still great for people under 180 lbs and could be fine over that as well but would require more pedaling and not feel as zippy. Hope this helps! The Interceptor is a great bike and Pedego tends to have good customer service :)

2 years ago

Thanks Court. What a great help and invaluable resource you have been!

Court Rye
2 years ago

Sure thing Bill, ride safe out there and have fun :)

Bud Baker
2 years ago

The old addage that my home is uphill both ways really does apply in my case here in New Hampshire. The upside is that going from my home is downhill. This bike seems perfect for me but I wonder how well it will navigate our dirt roads and the Rail Trail, which is gravel and well maintained. The Rail to Trail project is over 30 miles long and goes from Lebanon, NH to as far South as Concord. It is easy for me to get to but the ride home is killer on my Trex cruiser. This is why I am considering an Ebike. Can you give me an idea how it will perform going from pavement to well cared for dirt and gravel roads?

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Bud, great question. I used to ride a Pedego City Commuter to and from work in Austin, TX and half of the ride was on loose gravel. The balloon tires provided some cushion but I eventually bought a seatpost suspension shock like this and finally just sold that bike and got more of a trail setup with large knobby tires for grip and a proper front suspension fork (the Thudbuster seatpost just kept sliding down over time as I bounced up and down). So depending on your budget, weight and height you might consider either a cruiser with suspension like the OHM XU450 or a more aggressive hardtail commuter trail bike like the Volton Alation Mid-Drive. I must say, the Pedego Interceptor is a solid bike with great features, it's just not ideal for gravel and I personally like suspension for my wrists (I type a lot as you might imagine). Hope this helps!

Bud Baker
2 years ago

Thank you for your advice. I am finding making a choice on purchasing an Ebike quite an adventure. I purchased your Ebook at Amazon and have explored many of your reviews and both have been very useful and informative. When researching a car purchase, the field is narrowed due to personal experience and bias. Not so with an Ebike purchase as the company names and models and history are all so new. At least to me. I have been to 4 bike shops and none carry Ebikes. They all said the electric bike has been slow to sell in the US due to price point and some phobia against riding a pedal assisted bike. Europe and China seem to realize the value of electric bikes vs. car ownership. I am getting closer to selecting the Ebike for me and my geographical,economic and personal needs. Cheers, Bud Baker, Enfield, NH

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Bud! I think you've hit the nail on the head here... Ebikes are slowly emerging in the US but our road systems are much larger and things are spread out. Cars work very well in the US but if you just want to enjoy cycling, climb easier or commute in a city electric bikes can make a lot of sense (did you see this video I shot?). Sorry that you've struggled to find a dealer. If you're looking for some help with specific bikes just reach out and I'll try to point you in the best direction.

2 years ago

Was's been said that the interceptor II is good for big folks. I'm 6'7" and in the market for a sturdy, strong, reliable cruiser type. Advice?

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Buzz, I think you're right on target. The second generation Interceptor comes with a relatively large, sturdy frame. The upsides are many including front and rear lights, pedal assist and throttle, great warranty, nice colors and design elements. The only downside is the rear-heavy layout with battery and motor in the back. If You're thinking about purchasing this bike and have more questions (or want to share more details about your intended use) feel free to connect with me using this form.

9 months ago

I liked you video of your commute to work; stating the distance and time it took. I noticed that you seem to be fairly young, in rather good shape, and looks like you weigh about 170lbs. How would this bike work for a 62 yr old, outta shape, and over-weight person? I am 6'0' and weigh about 250lbs. I am retired and just looking to get around in about a 10-15 mile radius. How long to the batteries last and how much does an extra one cost? I live in SW Florida (Cape Coral) and want something that is durable, long lasting battery, and has sufficient avoid getting stuff thrown at me! lol

Btw... I am new to this ebike stuff, so please understand my premise in your reply. In-other-words, I really don't know squat! Thanks

Court Rye
9 months ago

Hi! My name is Court and I weigh 135 lbs and am the person in the video (who wrote the review). Pedego sells larger battery options that can go further and provide more power for heavier loads (definitely get the 48 volt pack). If you pedal along vs. using the throttle constantly it will extend your range. I think that with your taller build the Pedego Interceptor would be a great choice as it's fairly large but also sturdy and delivers a nice relaxed seating position. Hope this quick feedback helps, you found a good bike for the type of person you are and Pedego has a great warranty and excellent dealers who can help fit you and teach you how to ride ;)

2 years ago

Leaning toward the Volton Alation 500 over Pedego bikes because of its lighter weight and it can go off-road. My only pause is the comment about height/weight. At 6 feet tall 210 pounds, would I feel a power reduction with the Volton versus a bigger, presumably more powerful Pedego bike? Goal is to lose 10-15 pounds on the bike. Local dealership has Volton at $2,200 and Pedego priced down 10% to $2,605.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Bob, there is a 100 watt motor difference between the Interceptor and the Alation 500 but frankly, they are both fairly powerful given the 48 volt battery setup. I'm 5'9" and the Volton feels good, I actually prefer the mid-mounted battery vs. the rear rack on the Pedego. You're a bit taller than me but if you prefer the active design and the Alation 500 feels alright when you sit on it and test ride at the local shop it seems like it could work well for you and you'd save some money. Either way, great bikes and I'm sure you'll benefit from the exercise of getting out more often and being able to go further :)

Ben Kopp
2 years ago

Hi Court, will you be testing the updated version of the interceptor any time soon? Regards, Ben

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Ben! I'm a little behind but all of Pedego's 2015 models are on my list to review. I'm targeting April.

2 years ago

Amazing Interceptor! According to the comparison chart, for only a few hundred dollars and 4 lbs more than the Commuter, it goes up to twice as far minimum range, and only uses 66% of the battery power of the to do it! I guess what I'm really saying is we need realistic values of non-assisted range at whatever weight you choose to test. Then we can compare fairly which set of electronics and engineering gets efficient use of battery power. We can add and subtract our own range changes based on how hard we plan to work and how much heavier we weigh. I don't mind pedaling myself home all the way, but I want to get to work in the morning doing only half the work to eliminate sweating and there's nothing here that makes me comfortable on that point. The $500 Currey Trailz works well for me, but i'm considering changing to a longer commute. I can add a couple spare batteries and stay under $1000 total, but I'd like to have a reason to step up if the numbers add up correctly. Also, the chart is correct that this 48V 10AH battery = 480WH power, but incorrect that the City Commuter's 48V 15AH is the same power. At that price point I can only guess the battery was trimmed to save cost, but how much? I am interested now to go to your three wheel site and see how the 36V battery applied to a smaller motor generates the same torque. Trouble is, I won't really know what to believe when I read it, but at least there's more storage room for an extra battery if needed. It makes it hard to compare with your own models and others when we can clearly see that some numbers are not close to sane. Hope this helps you improve the value of your site, Randy

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Randy, thanks for the feedback. I've learned a lot about range in recent years and acknowledge that not all specs are accurate. As you probably know, it depends on rider weight, terrain and pedal assist level. A good rule of thumb is to divide the watt hours by 20 for a good estimate of throttle only range. So for the Interceptor with a 48 volt 10 amp hour battery (480 watt hours) you might get 20 miles or so. I'll be reviewing the 2015 Pedegos soon and I'll focus on accurate range verses copying what the company listed.

2 years ago

My apologies, I mistakenly thought this was a re-branded Pedego site and I now see it is not. You guys are doing a great job of representing many brands and I'm sure the specs you post are direct from the manufacturers. Please keep up the good work!

Court Rye
2 years ago

No worries Randy, I'm basically a one person team doing the site, reviews, video editing etc. and some of the older content isn't as refined or in depth as the new stuff. I'll be reviewing the 2015 Pedego ebikes soon and will add more insights when I do :)

VB Ebikes
1 year ago

Love the Interceptor. My favorite boardwalk cruiser with it's handle bar USB port for ITunes and Harley like comfort!

4 months ago

Hi! I'm looking for an electric bike because I'm trying to add some cardio into my daily routine but idk what bike can support me. I'm 6' 2" and 320lbs. Is there a bike that could support me. Or a bike that I could get and add spokes or frames or something for it to support me?? Plz get back to me ASAP. Thank you

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Alex, sorry for the short delay... In my opinion the Pedego Interceptor is one of your best choices. This thing is built well, offers a lot of power and can be setup for you and serviced by a dealer (Pedego has one of the largest dealer networks out there). Do you know if there's a shop near your house? I feel like you found the best choice on your own so you must have been doing a bit of research to get here, are there other questions I could answer or models you wanted to compare? This is a cruiser so pedaling isn't as efficient as a hybrid but it's going to be more comfortable given your size, more upright and stable feeling which I feel might be important.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

2 days ago
Anxious to hear. The 3 Faraday Porteurs I have ridden at nearby dealers all had"issues" as noted in my first post. That is making me wonder about reliability. If these test vehicles are having problems, what happens when it's ridden every day. As noted, I need to drive a very long way to actually try a Cortland in size Medium (largest size available). I have tested several e-bikes and didn't like some thing about each one (Trek Lift Plus, Townie Go, Pedego City Commuter and Interceptor). I know nothing is perfect, but for $3000 plus dollars, I expect something pretty darn good. I was hoping Cortland might be the one.
Again, I have no emotional attachment to this new e-bike as it sits in the garage waiting for a ride today. I'll write something about it later today.

I'm sure this new Cortland will be reliable. The accessories ordered with the bike, like the rack, have not yet arrived. The dealer didn't know about the extras that people could order with it via the Kickstarter campaign. Until the rack comes, I'll continue commuting on the battlewagon Ohm Urban I've had since 2012.
2 days ago
Anxious to hear. The 3 Faraday Porteurs I have ridden at nearby dealers all had"issues" as noted in my first post. That is making me wonder about reliability. If these test vehicles are having problems, what happens when it's ridden every day. As noted, I need to drive a very long way to actually try a Cortland in size Medium (largest size available). I have tested several e-bikes and didn't like some thing about each one (Trek Lift Plus, Townie Go, Pedego City Commuter and Interceptor). I know nothing is perfect, but for $3000 plus dollars, I expect something pretty darn good. I was hoping Cortland might be the one.
Blue Monkey
3 weeks ago
Mirrycles are our favorite mirrors but we have found the Axiom Fast Flash works well on Interceptor and Cruiser handlbars as you can mount it farther up the bar and closer to the display. The bar end mounted Mirrycle can be too far back on the swooped cruiser style handlebars.
Pedego Greater Long Beach
3 weeks ago
Roger Grissom
Hi all, I'm thinking of buying one soon. How do y'all like yours and do y'all recommend them after owning one for awhile?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Hi Roger. With Pedego, the most important part of any bike (or model) is the rider. Because of that, I'd say your choice depends on your preferred riding position. On a City Commuter, you will tend to lean forward a bit more. So if you're used to that, it's a good fit. The Ridge Rider also requires the rider to lean forward more, and we're selling some of those to longtime road bike riders who prefer that position. Personally, I found that the arthritis in my hands is a factor. If I ride for more than 20 - 30 miles on a City Commuter, I start to feel the results of leaning on them. So for me, a cruiser style is more comfortable for longer rides. And I love riding an Interceptor or Stretch cargo bike on longer rides. The functionality of the City Commuters and the Interceptors is essentially the same, especially if you choose a City Commuter with a 48-volt battery. So, make it a choice for comfort.
Dominique Séguier
1 month ago
"Brooks saddles have been around for more than a hundred years for two reasons, yeah they look cool... but they work!"

Yesss! The first thing I did after I started riding my new 2015 Pedego Interceptor III was scrap its oversized "comfort" saddle and replace it with a properly oiled "B17 Standard" Brooks saddle. The Brooks provides real "comfort" for my 86 year old butt.
I did exactly the same thing as soon as I got my Electra Townie 8i. The saddle was cheap an much too smooth. I bought a Brooks B67, what a difference. It's expensive but the feeling is great.
2 months ago
And I have a Pedego 24" Interceptor. I too have had lamenectomies and ddd, especially in the neck.
I sit up straight on my bike, the easily adjustable handle bars (fwd/back) help alot.
2 months ago
I just looked at the Commuter, nice looking bike. Because I needed the 24", I didn't look at the Commuter. Can anyone tell me what the difference is, between the Interceptor and the Commuter?

From what I briefly read, the style, 8 lbs lighter, is the only difference. I think that they have the same battery, wattage, etc
2 months ago
Heya Jamee,

I'm actually in a VERY similar situation to you. Looking to get a sturdy commuting ebike in Vancouver, BC for about a 15 km one way commute towing a trailer (for my 25 pound dog). I'm still pretty early in research to find out what motor and whatnot is best for me (6ft 210 lbs + trailer and dog).

This is roughly the commute I'll be doing (exact start/end is different for anonymity): and as you can see it does have some hills which are my main concern for towing.

So far, these are the bikes that I am looking at incase they may work for you as well:

urban ryder ($1900 cdn)
rad wagon ($2000 cdn)
biktrix MONTECAPRO ($1600-$2600 cdn)
Voltbike interceptor ($1700 cdn
juiced crosscurrent ($2000 cdn)
What bike did you end up with ? I'm 5'2" and in a similar boat. Would live to hear how it went.
2 months ago
John M
Thanks for the info. My girlfriend is 5'2"
Do you think it would be too tall for her?
How long have you had yours? Do you like it so far? I actually found the Volt Yukon that I am considering.


I'm about just under 5'4". The EG Athens was a good size, 250 W.
I had an Evo St, but my feet couldn't keep me balanced. Stopping was difficult. Power On has one, and she is doing ok.
I am waiting for delivery of a Pedego 24" Interceptor. 24" is the important factor, not many bikes make them.

She should test ride a few, at least a few miles. She might like the EG Athens, it just wasn't quite right for me.
There are reviews of all 3, here on EBR.

Happy trails
2 months ago
My hill is about a 7% grade, about 3 blocks long
I got up it using the throttle on an Athens. Evo St was good, just too big. I fell twice because I couldn't get off the seat , near stand sill. The pedego Interceptor should be v gd.

I am not a good person to give you info re the mechanical/electrical aspects of Ebikes. I am not very experienced.
2 months ago
Easy Motion Evo Street is a good one, if you are 5'5" or taller imho
I am 5' almost 4", and just traded my Evo for a Pedego 24" Interceptor
Ann M.
2 months ago
I'm 5'4'' too and found that a slightly smaller 24" wheel made for a super comfortable fit with handling like a larger wheel bike. Did a BionX conversion on a custom folding bike with skinny tires...keeps me happy as I'm sure the Interceptor does for you!
Deacon Blues
2 months ago
My wife is also 5' 4" and is very happy with her Interceptor. Great fit.
5 months ago
Robert hi,
Here is one other suggestion.
Biktrix Stunner
It's a cruiser, $1900.oo, cheaper than townie go, and will have more hill power than the Interceptor, your 2 choices in the first post.

I got one of the first ones this year, have 780 miles on it since the snow left. It will climb the hills as stated. I live on English Mtn. Rd. that rises 600 feet, an average of 8%, and some sections are steeper. I do that hill on PAS level 2 out of 5, I pedal like I'm on the level, and do it three times faster than I did before E-bike.

Just one more model to consider.

PS, since that pic. on their website is of a prototype, the bike actually comes with the so-called shark pack battery, better looking IMO. Also the color is much closer to black, than the grey looking picture.....I'll see if I can find my post when mine arrived.....
6 months ago
Based on both Electric Bike Reviews and answers gathered in this forum, here is where consumers could decide what to do with the $700.00 price difference between purchasing a brand new base-level 2015 Pedego Interceptor or a brand new 2016 base-level Ariel Rider:

A.) Pay the extra $700.00 for the $3,000 2015 Pedego Interceptor, which includes US brand recognition, dealers all over the US for maintenance on a self-serviceable e-bike, and the following (in comparison to the 2016 Ariel Rider):
  • Bottle Cage (versus N/A for the Ariel)
  • Rear Rack (versus N/A for the Ariel)
  • USB Port (versus N/A for the Ariel)

B.) Or you could keep the $700.00 in your pocket for the $2,300.00 2016 base-model Ariel Rider, which has a very good reputation in 16 countries with recent openings and growing markets in the US. Including the following upgraded features (in comparison to the 2015 Pedego Interceptor):

  • 556.8 Watt Hours (versus 480wh for the Pedego)
  • 4hrs Battery Charge Time (versus 4.5hrs for the Pedego)
  • 25mi Minimum Range (versus 15mi for the Pedego)
  • 8lb Battery Weight (versus 8.8lb for the Pedego)
  • 6 Levels of Pedal Assist (versus 5 for the Pedego)
  • Quick Release Front Wheel (versus N/A for the Pedego)
  • Parental Control Adjustable Speed Limit (versus N/A for the Pedego)
  • Real-Time Rear Brake Light (versus N/A for the Pedego)
  • Memory Foam Saddle (versus N/A for the Pedego)
  • Larger Disc Brakes (versus smaller disc brakes for the Pedego)
  • Full Length Fenders w/ Mud Flaps (versus no fenders for the Pedego)
  • Cables Wired Inside The Frame (versus outside the frame wiring for the Pedego)
  • Even Weight Distribution (versus rear heavy weight distribution for the Pedego)
Everything else about these two e-bike cruisers are the same. Of course, different spokes for different folks, but it is worth discussing the justification behind Pedego charging an extra 1/3rd the total price of the Ariel Rider for the 2015 Interceptor based on today's market and competition?

Ravi Kempaiah
6 months ago
Ravi. Being 70, 195lbs which post will give me the softest ride. Remember I came off a Pedego Interceptor. What about LT vs ST .... Bob
I have used both. I would go with BodyFloat. It's a superior engineering design and offers a very flexible damping system. You can tune it with an allen key.
You can purchase various springs for $7 to really dial in the damping rate. If you order from Body Float direct, tell Charlie that you're part of the EBR community and ride an ST2, he may offer you a good discount that will bring the price close to Thudbuster LT.
6 months ago
Ravi Kempaiah
Thudbuster is based on the angled lateral movement of an elastomer.
BodyFloat is based on a parallelogram design of springs and offers slightly better isolation.
Ravi. Being 70, 195lbs which post will give me the softest ride. Remember I came off a Pedego Interceptor. What about LT vs ST .... Bob
Garrett Adams
2 years ago what do you think about if pedego had heated handle
grips and seat?

san delag
2 years ago

Hi! Ypu know what is the cheapest e-bike on the market? Cheap but also
good, just curiosity, in anyway I really want this bike though...
2 years ago

+san delag Sure thing, glad I could be of some help ;)

san delag
2 years ago
Thanks for the answer man! :)
2 years ago

Good question... I have listed all of the more "affordable" ebikes I found
at and one of my favorites is
the EG Athens: but it does
have a weaker motor so keep that in mind.

Matthew Sherman
2 years ago

I really like this bike, similar to my Izip Zuma, I'd like it if they could
put one dual shocks and turn signals etc. nice work Pedego I might be
buying this bike
2 years ago

+Salih Alexander Sure, the Phantom X2 would be fine and there is also a
version of the Outlaw that is street legal called the Outlaw EX (I should
have just linked to that one for you to begin with). These aren't my
favorite bikes but at least it's an alternative to the Interceptor that
would work for heavier, taller riders

Salih Alexander, Esq.
2 years ago

What about the Phantom X2?

Salih Alexander, Esq.
2 years ago

It says the outlaw is not street legal.
2 years ago

+Salih Alexander There are very few electric bikes that have turn signals
and most of them are designed more like scooters - too heavy to pedal
around efficiently and they only have one gear. Given your height and
weight I would still recommend the Pedego Interceptor and just suggest
adding signals yourself like the ones from Amazon listed above. Here is one
other large, high powered ebike that is still good for pedaling:

Salih Alexander, Esq.
2 years ago

+Electric Bike Review
Are there any ones with turn signals? I'm 6'2" 245 so I need a powerful

2 years ago

2 years ago

This bike goes for about $2,900 and you can find dealers using the main
Pedego website. I provide all of the stats and link to every manufacturer
website from the full review page (which I put in the description of each
video review). Sometimes I forget to say the price or they don't have it
set yet so I always put it back at the site

3 years ago

Several months ago, I posted some very nasty comments. I was out of line. I
3 years ago

No worries! Happens to the best of us... what a great and awesome apology.
Accepted, reach out anytime.

3 years ago

Great video. Do you know if the handlebars are different from the original
Interceptor? I test drove one last year and my knees got in the way on
tight turns. Keep up the good work.

Don DiCostanzo
3 years ago

Pedego Comfort Cruiser handlebars are 28"' on the Pedego Classic Cruiser
and Interceptor models which are standard width for a cruiser bike. They
can be raised or changed out easily to suit ones personal comfort. The
Pedego Step Thru 26" Model uses 26" width and the Pedego 24" Step Thru
model version uses 24" width.
3 years ago

These may be updated, they seem a bit smaller than the bars used on the
IZIP Zuma or Motiv Spark but smaller than some of the older Pedego Cruiser
models (those things were enormous... but comfortable). I haven't had a
problem hitting my knees on the bars but I do occasionally scrape my leg
and bang my knee on the rear rack when swinging my leg over.

Here's a picture of the really big bars I'm talking about, they look
similar to the Interceptor here at 0:35 maybe they are the same?

3 years ago


Volt Report
3 years ago

That is so awesome. What a dreamer!