Pedego Interceptor Review

2014 Pedego Interceptor Electric Bike Review 1
2014 Pedego Interceptor
2014 Pedego Interceptor 600 Watt Motor
2014 Pedego Interceptor Battery Pack
2014 Pedego Interceptor Chain Guard
2014 Pedego Interceptor Headlight
2014 Pedego Interceptor Electric Bike Review 1
2014 Pedego Interceptor
2014 Pedego Interceptor 600 Watt Motor
2014 Pedego Interceptor Battery Pack
2014 Pedego Interceptor Chain Guard
2014 Pedego Interceptor Headlight

Summary

  • Great power for acceleration, climbing or moving heavier riders with a 500 watt geared rear hub motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery combination
  • Offers twist throttle and five levels of pedal assist for increased range, removable battery for easy charging
  • Functional rear rack, front and rear LED lights, sturdy kickstand, optional fenders, awesome little bell built into left hand brake housing, larger frame is a good fit for big / tall riders

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Pedego

Model:

Interceptor

Price:

$2,895 USD

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Components, 3 Year Battery

Availability:

United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, Europe

Model Year:

2014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

61 lbs (27.66 kg)

Battery Weight:

9 lbs (4.08 kg)

Motor Weight:

8 lbs (3.62 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

18 in (45.72 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

(Wheelbase 47 in)

Frame Types:

High-Step (Cantilever Style)

Frame Colors:

Aluminum, Black, Lime Green, Neon Blue, Neon Orange

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses, Welded Rear Rack with Spring Latch

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano

Shifter Details:

Grip Shifter on Left Bar

Pedals:

Aluminum Alloy Platform

Stem:

Fixed Promax

Handlebar:

28

Brake Details:

Avid BB7 Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors

Grips:

Padded

Saddle:

Comfort

Seat Post:

Suspension Shock

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Fat Frank, 26" x 2.35"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tube Details:

Pre-Slimed

Accessories:

Aluminum Alloy Chain Guard, Bell Integrated Into Left Brake Lever, Single-Side Kickstand, Front and Rear LED Lights Powered by Main Battery, Optional Metal Fenders, Optional Kevlar Lined Balloon Tires

Other:

Removable Battery Pack (Charge on or Off the Bike), Quick-Connect Modular Throttle and Motor Cables for Easy Repair or Replacement

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Dapu

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

40 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

480 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Display Type:

Backlit LCD on Left Bar

Readouts:

Speed, Odometer, 5 Assist Levels, Battery Voltage

Display Accessories:

Integrated Four Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (Half Grip Throttle on Right Bar)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Interceptor is Pedego’s work horse. It’s large, powerful and sturdy and up until this second revision (known informally as the Interceptor II) it hasn’t really differed from the 48 volt version of the Classic Cruiser. Same frame, same drive system configuration… just a stronger power source. All of that changed in 2014 when the Interceptor adopted the controller and pedelec sensor that were introduced with the City Commuter. The new Pedego Interceptor offers the versatility of twist throttle and pedal assist mode with the ride quality of a relaxed cruiser.

Driving this ebike is a powerful 500 watt geared rear hub motor. The older Interceptor ran a gearless design which was a bit quieter but much larger and heavier. Given the geared nature of this new motor, there are more parts to rub and wear over time but in reality it should hold up fine. It’s the same motor that drives the City Commuter which has been out for nearly two years and had very few, if any, complaints. So it’s lighter, smaller, still provides great torque and provides space for a seven speed Shimano Acera cassette.

The gears on this bike shift smoothly using a twist grip style shifter mounted on the left handle bar and seven speeds is a decent range that provides leverage for climbing hills or pedaling at speeds in excess of 20 miles per hour. A matching chain guard keeps pants from getting snagged or greasy on the chain and I love the new silver circlet positioned in the center of the front chain ring. I assume it’s just for decoration but it also conceals the pedelec sensor (possibly protecting it from dirt and water when riding). As with other Pedego bikes, the pedals are made from solid aluminum, providing a wide surface area with plenty of grip. The LCD controller allows you to easily switch from twist throttle mode to one of five pedal assist levels and see your speed, distance traveled and remaining battery capacity.

A few other changes with this iteration of Interceptor are the rear rack, pedal position and kickstand. Firstly, the rack and battery pack have been reinforced and improved with a built in light. It’s not the world’s brightest but it does run off the main battery (as well as the front light) and can be activated by pressing a button on the battery pack itself. Unlike some of the other new European ebikes, the light is not connected to a dynamo for use if the battery does get drained. That would be nice to see on future iterations and it may be that the more lax regulations in the US do not require it as a standard feature. Secondly, the bottom bracket on the Interceptor and other cruisers from Pedego (and other brands) has been pulled back to align with the seat post tube. This was done to honor Electra’s “Flat Foot” patent. The idea being that pedals which are positioned further forward create a more relaxed seating position. Still, the Interceptor rides great and feels very relaxed thanks to the plush seat and enormous handle bars which are some of the largest on any ebike I’ve tested. Thirdly, the kickstand has been changed to an adjustable single-side design which is lighter and less intrusive than the older double-sided motorcycle style stand. I really didn’t like that kickstand because it seemed to bounce and hang low – also occasionally bumping the tire and pedal arms when riding if not adjusted perfectly.

On to the battery! While the Lithium-ion chemistry and 48 volt 10 amp hour capacity remain unchanged, the casing has been improved. As mentioned earlier, it now features a built in light and mini control panel that displays remaining amp hours when pressed. It’s the same battery design used on the City Commuter and it looks rather nice, though removing the pack can be a bit of work – you have to pull pretty hard the first few times to get it loosened up. The biggest improvement in design is that now the metal tubing that makes up the rack actually encloses the battery, protecting it from bumps and scrapes. It also includes a spring loaded metal arm on top for securing minor articles such as a coat or papers. It also positions the weight of the battery lower than the old design (though possibly more extended off the back). I imagine the new design also provides equal or greater structural strength with support arms that extend directly towards the chain stays vs. curving inward.

All things considered, this is a winning electric bike that’s comfortable, powerful and fun to ride. I love the addition of pedal assist and minor design improvements like the addition of water bottle cage mounting points and front and rear disc brakes! It’s those little improvements that Pedego is known for making along with their dealer network which offer great support. The Interceptor isn’t for everyone, especially because the frame is so large and I believe it only comes in a high step version. For smaller individuals or those requiring less power there is always the regular Cruiser series or the much smaller 24″ Cruiser which is a very thoughtful offering in the world of ebikes. While the price of the Interceptor has slowly risen, the improvements I’ve seen certainly validate the outlay and I love the optional Kevlar tires, matching fenders and three color options.

Pros:

  • Wonderful extras including the built in bell, front and rear lights and seat post shock
  • Braze on mounting points on the downtube for adding a water bottle cage
  • Offers five levels of pedal assist using a pedelec cadence sensor in addition to the standard twist throttle mode
  • Great power and torque coming from the 500 watt geared motor and 48 volt battery pack combination
  • Available in bright fluorescent green, brushed aluminum or gloss black
  • LCD computer controls lights, displays speed, range and battery capaicity
  • LCD computer is easy to reach for changing modes when riding and rubber sealed for water resistance
  • Soft seat, balloon tires and oversized handlebars smooth out the ride and create a relaxed upright seating position
  • Proven frame and components are shared with the Pedego Cruiser lineup, great bike for rentals, larger riders or those pulling trailers as it is very sturdy
  • Comfortable seat comes with rubber bumpers and is available in leather and colored options
  • All tubes come pre-Slimed and the optional Kevlar lined tires really fend off thorns and other hazards
  • Modular electronic systems are easier to replace individually or disconnect for repairs
  • Battery locks to the frame to deter theft and tampering but key must be left in when riding, thankfully it stays out of the way

Cons:

  • Avoid lifting the bike by the seat as the seat post shock can be fragile and the seat can twist off due to narrower diameter connection point at tip of shock
  • Battery pack is mounted high and towards the back which is less ideal than a lower mid-mount design which would be more balanced
  • Oversized tubing on rear rack is not compatible with all standard panniers and bags, I use strapping to secure mine and recommend those by BASIL
  • Fenders do not come stock but the rear rack keeps the stripe off your back and you can pay extra for matching fenders
  • Integrated chain guard can be a bit fragile, avoid kicking or stepping on it
  • This ebike is heavier than most at ~60lbs but it’s very sturdy and a bit larger than others, to reduce weight when transporting remove the battery pack which weighs eight pounds

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Pedego Reviews

Pedego 24″ Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the only 24" sized fat e-bikes I have ever seen, it's easier to approach, stand over, and handle for short to mid-sized riders, Pedego also offers a 20" fat model for kids. Large comfortable tires that work well on sand or snow when deflated to 5-8 PSI,…...

Pedego Platinum Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $3,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A premium cruiser style electric bike with upgraded suspension fork, suspension seat post, integrated LED lights, a sturdy rack and hydraulic disc brakes. Powerful 500 to 1,000+ watt hub motor from Dapu with high-torque rating and durable protected…...

Pedego Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A custom designed electric trike with large plastic cargo bin at the back, three-speed internally geared hub can be shifted at standstill and is more durable than a traditional derailleur. Two mechanical disc brakes provide good stopping power, max speed limited to 7 mph in…...

Pedego 20″ Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sturdily built, lower speed electric bike with seven gears and throttle-only operation designed primarily for kids and youth but also a good fit for short riders. Max weight of 350 lbs, bosses in the rear for adding a rack and hauling…...

Pedego Latch Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sturdy folding electric bike with a full-sized feel, the extra long seat post and telescoping stem fit a wider range of body types than most folders I've tested. Premium drivetrain features and accessories including a Gates belt drive, Shimano Nexus internally geared hub,…...

Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $3,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fined fat tire electricbike with balanced down tube battery and purpose-built "extrawide" hub motor for improved drive train operation and torque. Nice LCD display panel with integrated buttons and swivel, includes a USB port for charging…...

Pedego Ridge Rider Review

  • MSRP: $3,395
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A delightfully capable and refined 27.5" hardtail electric mountain bike with powerful 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery pack. Nice upgrades on the adjustable air fork with lockout, 15 mm thru-axle, locking grips, hydraulic…...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A smaller version of the Interceptor that's easier to mount, it offers great power thanks to its smaller wheels paired with a 500 watt geared hub motor and 48 volt battery. Offers twist throttle and five levels of assist for increased range, throttle override puts you…...

Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stripped down comfort cruiser with easy-mount step-thru frame, throttle on demand only, optional fenders, multiple color choices and multiple battery size options from 36v 10ah up to 48v 15ah. Locking removable battery pack is protected in the color-matched rear rack, mechanical disc brakes are…...

Pedego Classic Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy, powerful cruiser style electric bike with large 500 watt geared motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery. Balloon tires, comfort saddle, suspension seat post and oversized handlebars create a relaxed upright ride...

2015 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A fat style ebike with zippy 500 watt geared motor and powerful 48 battery (available in 10ah or 15ah for extended range). Four fun color options, integrated headlight, pedal assist and throttle mode, quality mechanical disc brakes...

Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy and powerful electric bike that's a bit more active than the cruisers (more forward body position, narrower handlebars) and is available in several frame sizes for improved fit. Lots of great extras including full length aluminum fenders, chain guard, puncture resistant tires with…...

Pedego Stretch Review

  • MSRP: $3,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stylish and comfortable cruiser style electric cargo bike with removable tubing supports that extend the carrying platform or double as a back rest and running boards to accommodate a second rider. Offers two battery options for extended range and two drive modes including pedal assist (1-5)…...

Pedego Boomerang Review

  • MSRP: $2,495.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the easiest electric bikes to mount with extra low step-thru design, frame stiffness reduced as a result. Powerful 500 watt geared motor is quiet to operate and blends in well with cassette…...

Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Iconic cruiser style frame is sturdy, provides a relaxed seating position and comes in multiple colors. Powerful 500 watt direct drive (gearless) rear hub motor is durable, fast and relatively quiet...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A smaller step-through electric bike with 24" wheels for riders who are petite. Very powerful for its size, uses a 500 watt direct drive hub motor with three…...

Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the only purpose-built electric bikes that is setup to be a tandem for two adult riders. Sturdy frame, fun classic design, reliable drive system with six speeds, great support and warranty...

2014 Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy cruiser style electric bike with simple twist throttle operation and upgradable battery pack. Large tires, swept back handlebars, plush seat and padded grips dampen vibration to smooth out…...

2013 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,975
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Off-road design with 4" wide tires, increased contact patch enables the bike to ride on sand, snow and other rugged terrain, larger tires also provide cushion for improved riding comfort. Ultra powerful 600 watt geared motor and 48 volt battery pack for improved torque and…...

2014 Pedego Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Stable three wheel design with battery, motor and controller mounted low under the cargo bin. No pedal assist option with this bike but the twist throttle is intuitive to use…...

2013 Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Powerful combination of 500w motor and 48v Lithium battery. Durable and proven frame is borrowed from the Pedego Comfort Cruiser...

2013 Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,675
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

One of the only tandem style electric bikes available anywhere, large 500 watt motor offers good power. Built on the time tested, super simple, Pedego Cruiser cantilever style aluminum alloy frame...

2013 Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Classic upright commuter frame is quiet, sturdy and functional with welded rear rack. Integrated seat post shock, lights, bell, and computer with clean wire management...

2013 Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Solid, durable and extremely quiet to ride due to gearless rear hub motor. Casual design looks like a laid back cruiser and comes in many fun color choices...


Mark
4 years ago

Court, great review. Does the Interceptor have the same “con” that you detailed in the Pedego City Commuter,”Twist throttle does not override pedal assist, can only be used separately”?

I was ready to settle on the Commuter but that con made me cross it off the list.

Reply
Court Rye
4 years ago

Yeah Mark, I believe that’s the case. you are either in pedal assist mode or you switch down to zero and you can use the throttle.

Reply
Meredith
4 years ago

Just tried this bike as I’m in the market for an ebike, have been using this site a lot. My experience with the Interceptor II was that it DID respond to throttle even in pedal assist mode. I’m new to ebikes, so this might be misunderstanding your question, but that’s my experience based on what I tried today.

Reply
Thomas
3 years ago

Bought a City Commuter yesterday and was expecting having to turn the pedal assist off for the throttle to work. I was positively surprised that the throttle worked in all modes (0-5).

It seems that Pedego also enhanced the battery switch; it now has a clear silicon cover to make it water tight.

Reply
Thomas
3 years ago

I can confirm Meredith’s observation, albeit not on the “Interceptor”: I have just bought a Pedego City Commuter and it has the same behaviour; the throttle does work in PAS mode. I can leave the bike, let’s say in PAS mode 3, and stop for a traffic light. The throttle allows me then to get the bike started before I start peddling and before the PAS kicks in again.

It seems to me that Pedego is continuously improving their bikes. I also noted that the battery on/off switch is modified. It now has a clear silicon cover to make it water-proof.

It would seem logical that the “Interceptor” would also display this improved behaviour.

Reply
Edward Jacobson
3 years ago

Hi, I’ve been riding a 1st generation interceptor for two years. Generally, your review is spot on. It highlights the difference between my bike and the new edition.

I have but one quarrel: the pannier bags. I commuted with the pedego bag, the basil, another bag I can’t remember, and ended up with one from ortleib (with a hand towel at the bottom). I needed to carry a battery: 8 lbs of solid, edged weight. I needed to carry my 17″ laptop, not at the same time. The only bomb proof, bullet proof bag turned out to be ortleib. Had it for a year. The basil sent me looking for my laptop on the road one day. The basil actually broke. A linus kept creeping off the rack.

The Ortleib has been there a year and takes the bad roads, the speed, all of it. It also mounts right on to the thick tubing in the rack. I live in Southern California, ride 17 miles in, then 17 back 3 or 4 times a week. Weather was not an issue. I do not ride into bad weather on purpose.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Cool! Thanks for the update Thomas, Pedego is pretty good about improving their products ongoing and sometimes these reviews fall behind a bit. Appreciate the details you’ve shared :)

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Great feedback Edward, I also like Ortleib and agree that it might be sturdier vs. style focused. So sorry to hear about your laptop incident! That’s no fun, especially with such an expensive object falling out :(

Reply
Edward Jacobson
3 years ago

Actually, the bag came apart at the strap stitching. Somebody found the laptop and told the folks at work, so I got it back. Sometimes the world is a nice place.

Reply
Gator Bob
3 years ago

The 2015 Interceptor was given throttle override when in pedal assist. Also, a new hi-vis color, fluorescent orange replaced the 2014 neon green. Those are the only changes. I bought one.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Nice! Thanks for the update, I’m excited to see their new kit at Interbike this Fall. Are you enjoying your so far? What’s the best part and how are you using it?

Reply
Adam
3 years ago

Hi Court,

I’m seriously considering the Interceptor II. Do you know, is the geared motor prone to falling apart after awhile? Also, are there other ebikes out there that have pedal assist with direct drive?

Thanks!

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Adam, the geared motor on this bike is very reliable (and very powerful). The Interceptor is one of my favorite ebikes from Pedego because it has pedal assist as well as a throttle and the frame is large and strong. If you’re 6ft or taller and a bit larger this is a great option, I wouldn’t worry about the motor… Pedego has great customer service and offers a solid warranty. To answer your second question, yes, there are other bikes with pedal assist and direct drive (gearless) motors like the Specialized Turbo, any of the Stromer electric bikes and the Focus ebikes. All of these also offer regenerative braking and regen modes.

Reply
Bill Miller
3 years ago

I am trying to decide between the Pedego Interceptor and the Easy Motion Neo City. I’m just shy of 6 feet, 215 pounds. I notice you give a half-point higher rating to the Neo. Just from reading it seems the Neo has a much less powerful motor. Should that be concerning? What earned Neo the extra half-point? Thanks for your site and your help.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Bill, great question! Thanks for providing your height and weight. My recommendation between the two for you would be the Interceptor because it has a larger frame and stronger motor. The Neo City and Neo street were rated higher for a more sophisticated pedal assist sensor, better battery integration (downtube vs. rear rack) and removable display panel. While the motor on the Easy Motion bikes is less powerful, it’s still great for people under 180 lbs and could be fine over that as well but would require more pedaling and not feel as zippy. Hope this helps! The Interceptor is a great bike and Pedego tends to have good customer service :)

Reply
Bill
3 years ago

Thanks Court. What a great help and invaluable resource you have been!

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Sure thing Bill, ride safe out there and have fun :)

Reply
Bud Baker
3 years ago

The old addage that my home is uphill both ways really does apply in my case here in New Hampshire. The upside is that going from my home is downhill. This bike seems perfect for me but I wonder how well it will navigate our dirt roads and the Rail Trail, which is gravel and well maintained. The Rail to Trail project is over 30 miles long and goes from Lebanon, NH to as far South as Concord. It is easy for me to get to but the ride home is killer on my Trex cruiser. This is why I am considering an Ebike. Can you give me an idea how it will perform going from pavement to well cared for dirt and gravel roads?

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Bud, great question. I used to ride a Pedego City Commuter to and from work in Austin, TX and half of the ride was on loose gravel. The balloon tires provided some cushion but I eventually bought a seatpost suspension shock like this and finally just sold that bike and got more of a trail setup with large knobby tires for grip and a proper front suspension fork (the Thudbuster seatpost just kept sliding down over time as I bounced up and down). So depending on your budget, weight and height you might consider either a cruiser with suspension like the OHM XU450 or a more aggressive hardtail commuter trail bike like the Volton Alation Mid-Drive. I must say, the Pedego Interceptor is a solid bike with great features, it’s just not ideal for gravel and I personally like suspension for my wrists (I type a lot as you might imagine). Hope this helps!

Reply
Bud Baker
3 years ago

Thank you for your advice. I am finding making a choice on purchasing an Ebike quite an adventure. I purchased your Ebook at Amazon and have explored many of your reviews and both have been very useful and informative. When researching a car purchase, the field is narrowed due to personal experience and bias. Not so with an Ebike purchase as the company names and models and history are all so new. At least to me. I have been to 4 bike shops and none carry Ebikes. They all said the electric bike has been slow to sell in the US due to price point and some phobia against riding a pedal assisted bike. Europe and China seem to realize the value of electric bikes vs. car ownership. I am getting closer to selecting the Ebike for me and my geographical,economic and personal needs. Cheers, Bud Baker, Enfield, NH

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Bud! I think you’ve hit the nail on the head here… Ebikes are slowly emerging in the US but our road systems are much larger and things are spread out. Cars work very well in the US but if you just want to enjoy cycling, climb easier or commute in a city electric bikes can make a lot of sense (did you see this video I shot?). Sorry that you’ve struggled to find a dealer. If you’re looking for some help with specific bikes just reach out and I’ll try to point you in the best direction.

Reply
Buzz
3 years ago

Was wondering…it’s been said that the interceptor II is good for big folks. I’m 6’7″ and in the market for a sturdy, strong, reliable cruiser type. Advice?

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Buzz, I think you’re right on target. The second generation Interceptor comes with a relatively large, sturdy frame. The upsides are many including front and rear lights, pedal assist and throttle, great warranty, nice colors and design elements. The only downside is the rear-heavy layout with battery and motor in the back. If You’re thinking about purchasing this bike and have more questions (or want to share more details about your intended use) feel free to connect with me using this form.

Reply
Powerfader
2 years ago

I liked you video of your commute to work; stating the distance and time it took. I noticed that you seem to be fairly young, in rather good shape, and looks like you weigh about 170lbs. How would this bike work for a 62 yr old, outta shape, and over-weight person? I am 6’0′ and weigh about 250lbs. I am retired and just looking to get around in about a 10-15 mile radius. How long to the batteries last and how much does an extra one cost? I live in SW Florida (Cape Coral) and want something that is durable, long lasting battery, and has sufficient speed…to avoid getting stuff thrown at me! lol

Btw… I am new to this ebike stuff, so please understand my premise in your reply. In-other-words, I really don’t know squat! Thanks

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi! My name is Court and I weigh 135 lbs and am the person in the video (who wrote the review). Pedego sells larger battery options that can go further and provide more power for heavier loads (definitely get the 48 volt pack). If you pedal along vs. using the throttle constantly it will extend your range. I think that with your taller build the Pedego Interceptor would be a great choice as it’s fairly large but also sturdy and delivers a nice relaxed seating position. Hope this quick feedback helps, you found a good bike for the type of person you are and Pedego has a great warranty and excellent dealers who can help fit you and teach you how to ride ;)

Bob
3 years ago

Leaning toward the Volton Alation 500 over Pedego bikes because of its lighter weight and it can go off-road. My only pause is the comment about height/weight. At 6 feet tall 210 pounds, would I feel a power reduction with the Volton versus a bigger, presumably more powerful Pedego bike? Goal is to lose 10-15 pounds on the bike. Local dealership has Volton at $2,200 and Pedego priced down 10% to $2,605.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Bob, there is a 100 watt motor difference between the Interceptor and the Alation 500 but frankly, they are both fairly powerful given the 48 volt battery setup. I’m 5’9″ and the Volton feels good, I actually prefer the mid-mounted battery vs. the rear rack on the Pedego. You’re a bit taller than me but if you prefer the active design and the Alation 500 feels alright when you sit on it and test ride at the local shop it seems like it could work well for you and you’d save some money. Either way, great bikes and I’m sure you’ll benefit from the exercise of getting out more often and being able to go further :)

Reply
Ben Kopp
3 years ago

Hi Court, will you be testing the updated version of the interceptor any time soon? Regards, Ben

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Ben! I’m a little behind but all of Pedego’s 2015 models are on my list to review. I’m targeting April.

Reply
Randy
3 years ago

Amazing Interceptor! According to the comparison chart, for only a few hundred dollars and 4 lbs more than the Commuter, it goes up to twice as far minimum range, and only uses 66% of the battery power of the to do it! I guess what I’m really saying is we need realistic values of non-assisted range at whatever weight you choose to test. Then we can compare fairly which set of electronics and engineering gets efficient use of battery power. We can add and subtract our own range changes based on how hard we plan to work and how much heavier we weigh. I don’t mind pedaling myself home all the way, but I want to get to work in the morning doing only half the work to eliminate sweating and there’s nothing here that makes me comfortable on that point. The $500 Currey Trailz works well for me, but i’m considering changing to a longer commute. I can add a couple spare batteries and stay under $1000 total, but I’d like to have a reason to step up if the numbers add up correctly. Also, the chart is correct that this 48V 10AH battery = 480WH power, but incorrect that the City Commuter’s 48V 15AH is the same power. At that price point I can only guess the battery was trimmed to save cost, but how much? I am interested now to go to your three wheel site and see how the 36V battery applied to a smaller motor generates the same torque. Trouble is, I won’t really know what to believe when I read it, but at least there’s more storage room for an extra battery if needed. It makes it hard to compare with your own models and others when we can clearly see that some numbers are not close to sane. Hope this helps you improve the value of your site, Randy

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Randy, thanks for the feedback. I’ve learned a lot about range in recent years and acknowledge that not all specs are accurate. As you probably know, it depends on rider weight, terrain and pedal assist level. A good rule of thumb is to divide the watt hours by 20 for a good estimate of throttle only range. So for the Interceptor with a 48 volt 10 amp hour battery (480 watt hours) you might get 20 miles or so. I’ll be reviewing the 2015 Pedegos soon and I’ll focus on accurate range verses copying what the company listed.

Reply
Randy
3 years ago

My apologies, I mistakenly thought this was a re-branded Pedego site and I now see it is not. You guys are doing a great job of representing many brands and I’m sure the specs you post are direct from the manufacturers. Please keep up the good work!

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

No worries Randy, I’m basically a one person team doing the site, reviews, video editing etc. and some of the older content isn’t as refined or in depth as the new stuff. I’ll be reviewing the 2015 Pedego ebikes soon and will add more insights when I do :)

Reply
VB Ebikes
2 years ago

Love the Interceptor. My favorite boardwalk cruiser with it’s handle bar USB port for ITunes and Harley like comfort!

Reply
Alex
1 year ago

Hi! I’m looking for an electric bike because I’m trying to add some cardio into my daily routine but idk what bike can support me. I’m 6′ 2″ and 320lbs. Is there a bike that could support me. Or a bike that I could get and add spokes or frames or something for it to support me?? Plz get back to me ASAP. Thank you

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Alex, sorry for the short delay… In my opinion the Pedego Interceptor is one of your best choices. This thing is built well, offers a lot of power and can be setup for you and serviced by a dealer (Pedego has one of the largest dealer networks out there). Do you know if there’s a shop near your house? I feel like you found the best choice on your own so you must have been doing a bit of research to get here, are there other questions I could answer or models you wanted to compare? This is a cruiser so pedaling isn’t as efficient as a hybrid but it’s going to be more comfortable given your size, more upright and stable feeling which I feel might be important.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Paul Cavasino
1 week ago

Today I went to the local Pedego shop and rode the City Commuter and the Interceptor. I wanted to ride the Platinum Interceptor as well, but they said that they didn't carry that, though they could order it for me. That was kinda disappointing because I wanted to try an ebike with hydraulic brakes and compare them to the normal disc ones.

Maybe because it was my first time on an ebike but I was rather nervous at first due to the speed but also neither bike felt like it had stopping power. I was struggling to stay still on a hill and wound up falling by accident (at walking speeds). At the end of the hour period I did feel alot better but just disappointed about the brakes. Or maybe it was totally normal.

This could be due to a few reasons:

Haven't ridden a bike in a while (though this was on the second bike at around 40 minutes into riding)
I test rode the bikes that they use for rental so they were a little beat up.

TL;DR

I couldn't try a bike with hydraulic breaks and i wanted to see if anyone felt that it was worth it. If it is then I will probably wind up buying the Juiced CrossCurrent S since that has the hydraulic breaks and it has a torque sensor (which i couldn't test out) although i'm taking a risk since the forums seem to have mixed feelings about the quality and service of the CCS. If normal brakes are fine then I will just by the Pedego City Commuter since I can take it to the local shop for maintenance and issues.

Thanks!
Yes,...We own 2 Pedegos, his & hers,...( City Commuter & Step thru-Interceptor),...& Have Immensely Enjoyed Our Biking Adventures for 2 Years Now !! GO PEDEGO,...they're rated one of the most reliable EBIKES out there !!

JohnT
1 week ago

Big news! I’m at our Pedego dealer meeting this week, and we were introduced to a few interesting new models! I’m not going to get into details, but I thought people would be interested in a quick overview. I’m going from my notes and from memory, so don’t be surprised if I get something wrong.

“Elevate” - A full suspension eMTB with Shimano Steps mid-drive, and plus size knobby tires. Class 1, pedal assist only, no throttle.

“Conveyer” - A solid street ride with a Brose mid-drive, Gates carbon belt drive (Conveyer belt, get it?), Shimano Nexus 8 IGH, and plus size street tires. No chain and no derailleur! Class 1, PA only, no throttle.

City Commuter Mid-Drive - Basically what I said, it’s a City Commuter with a mid-drive. The interesting thing is that it has a throttle, but it only activates while the pedals are moving. Like all City Commuters, it has PA. I’m not sure whether this makes it Class 1 or 2.

City Commuter Black Edition - This upgrades the regular City Commuter similarly to how the Platinum Edition upgrades the Interceptor. This means front suspension, torque sensing pedal assist, hydraulic disc brakes, and Shimano SLX for smooth shifting. The trim is blacked out.

Dual Motor Stretch - The Stretch is our cargo bike. In this version, a unique controller splits power variably between a torque wound rear motor and a speed wound front motor, resulting in both more torque and better efficiency while keeping the total power under 750w!

Another exciting development is that we’re going to be integrating some “smart” technology into our bikes. I’m not sure which are are going to be available when, so I won’t discuss them today, but at least one model will have built in GPS for anti-theft and navigation!

Most of this is available now, and some will be available soon. I can’t wait to see Court review the new bikes!

Paul Cavasino
2 weeks ago

My City commuter & Her step thru Interceptor have had the Plastic Battery sleeves crack @ Various points along the Mid-seam & the Screw nodules in the casing actually breaking apart. The problem was initially noticed while riding along & Hearing a "Slapping" Noise coming from the back Of the bike. Upon closer examination I Stooped down & jiggled the Battery in an up & down motion when I noticed that the seam in the casing actually separated. That was causing the "Plastic Slapping Noise". My remedy was to Connect 2 Medium length ZIP TIES together, loop them around the Back of the casing & Draw it tight !! In Her case I additionally cut & taped along the seams on both sides of the casing with "Gaffers Tape". So far, so good until I decide to call Pedego Tech. Dept & see if they can send us another Battery Casing for each Bike.

JohnT
1 month ago

I am 250 lbs and own a Pedego Interceptor Platinum. The post that comes with isn't quite up to the task of my weight. I bottom it out and it just sits there, providing no suspension. I am also "shorter of leg" so I keep my seat low. Only a couple inches of post showing. This combo concerns me as I do not know what suspension post will provide the comfort I desire, while also accepting my weight and not adding the height I am concerned about. If anyone has any suggestions I'd be mighty appreciative!
FYI, the firmness of the stock Pedego suspension post can be adjusted. See the bottom of the post. Screw in to make firmer. Not sure whether it’ll be enough for you.

I checked my wife’s BodyFloat vs the stock suspension post, and it looks like the BodyFloat is just under an inch higher. It moves the seat back a little more than stock, and she likes hers as far back as it’ll go (position is adjustable), so her issue is the seat clearing the battery sleeve. If you don’t need it back as far, I’d guess it’ll work for you.

I think the Thudbuster and NCX both have higher minimum heights than the BodyFloat, but I’m not 100% sure.

Dominique Séguier
1 month ago

I hate to revive a dead post but I also hate starting another when this one already exists, so...

I am 250 lbs and own a Pedego Interceptor Platinum. The post that comes with isn't quite up to the task of my weight. I bottom it out and it just sits there, providing no suspension. I am also "shorter of leg" so I keep my seat low. Only a couple inches of post showing. This combo concerns me as I do not know what suspension post will provide the comfort I desire, while also accepting my weight and not adding the height I am concerned about. If anyone has any suggestions I'd be mighty appreciative!
The Suntour NCX does the job, according to your weight, you'll have to order the strongest spare spring.

PlatinumIntercept
1 month ago

I hate to revive a dead post but I also hate starting another when this one already exists, so...

I am 250 lbs and own a Pedego Interceptor Platinum. The post that comes with isn't quite up to the task of my weight. I bottom it out and it just sits there, providing no suspension. I am also "shorter of leg" so I keep my seat low. Only a couple inches of post showing. This combo concerns me as I do not know what suspension post will provide the comfort I desire, while also accepting my weight and not adding the height I am concerned about. If anyone has any suggestions I'd be mighty appreciative!

Rincon
2 months ago

I'm going to seek out a pedago Interceptor. Anything that can smoke a st2- is definitely something to try. I never felt a need for more power with my st2.
Of course if the hill gets steep enough- even the most gutless mid drive will walk right up it........ at 2 miles an hour.
If you weighed 110 lbs I’m guessing you’d go a lot faster too.

fxr3
2 months ago

It has to have way more torque. My wife can smoke me with her Pedago Interceptor....I mean really smoke those bikes are fast up hills and she is only 5'4 and 110 pounds.
I'm going to seek out a pedago Interceptor. Anything that can smoke a st2- is definitely something to try. I never felt a need for more power with my st2.
Of course if the hill gets steep enough- even the most gutless mid drive will walk right up it........ at 2 miles an hour.

Disaresta
2 months ago

After getting my ebike with hydraulics, I'll never go back. Very low maintenance requirements, they're highly responsive, and they stop on a dime in any weather. Invest in them; you won't regret it.

Good to know! I'll keep that in mind. If I go that route I don't have the budget for the Pedego Platinum Interceptor so I would take my chances with the Juiced CrossCurrent S.

Disaresta
2 months ago

not sure if the ones you rode were cadence or torque, not up on pedegos offerings but a year ago i did not like them

I rode the City Commuter and the Interceptor which were both cadence sensors to my knowledge. When I asked the Pedego bike shop if there were any other bikes besides the Platinum Interceptor (which they didn't have in stock) that had torque sensors they just gave me a "???" face. Nice people but didn't seem too knowledgeable about the product they were selling.

I would like to try a torque one but I didn't think the cadence felt weird or anything.

Disaresta
2 months ago

Today I went to the local Pedego shop and rode the City Commuter and the Interceptor. I wanted to ride the Platinum Interceptor as well, but they said that they didn't carry that, though they could order it for me. That was kinda disappointing because I wanted to try an ebike with hydraulic brakes and compare them to the normal disc ones.

Maybe because it was my first time on an ebike but I was rather nervous at first due to the speed but also neither bike felt like it had stopping power. I was struggling to stay still on a hill and wound up falling by accident (at walking speeds). At the end of the hour period I did feel alot better but just disappointed about the brakes. Or maybe it was totally normal.

This could be due to a few reasons:

Haven't ridden a bike in a while (though this was on the second bike at around 40 minutes into riding)
I test rode the bikes that they use for rental so they were a little beat up.

TL;DR

I couldn't try a bike with hydraulic breaks and i wanted to see if anyone felt that it was worth it. If it is then I will probably wind up buying the Juiced CrossCurrent S since that has the hydraulic breaks and it has a torque sensor (which i couldn't test out) although i'm taking a risk since the forums seem to have mixed feelings about the quality and service of the CCS. If normal brakes are fine then I will just by the Pedego City Commuter since I can take it to the local shop for maintenance and issues.

Thanks!

msnow
3 months ago

This isn't really a problem with the bikes...

I recently replaced my tires and tubes on my Interceptor. When reinstalling the rear wheel I made the serious mistake of using the little adjustable wrench in the awful little toolkit to retighten the wheel nuts. Well, that little wrench didn't let me use sufficient torque to adequately tighten the wheel nut. During a short test ride the wheel slipped, and while it did not come off I managed to knock both the rear disc brake and the derailleur out of adjustment.

So now I carry a full-size 18mm wrench in my toolkit so I can adequately tighten those rear wheel nuts.
Mines 19mm. Has anyone measured the diameter of the axle itself?

JohnT
3 months ago

I looked at the owners manual online and it stated on page 12/Safety/Weight Capacity of being 250 lbs for all models (Boomerang, Boomerang Plus, City Commuter, Comfort Cruiser, Interceptor, and Tandem): http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/Master-Manual-WEB.pdf
The Pedego Interceptor and Boomerang Plus are available with a Mag wheel option which brings capacity to 400 pounds. Also, the Stretch is capable of at least that.

We've put 6' tall guys on stock Interceptors and Stretches, but I might recommend a longer seatpost. The Boomerang would likely feel cramped with the stock bars, so I'd recommend swapping to bars that don't sweep back as much. Many people like to use the City Commuter bars and adjustable stem. The Stretch comes with them stock.

On any bike with wire spokes that regularly carries 350 pounds, whatever the rating, I'd recommend keeping a close eye on spoke tension. That's where a failure is most likely to occur.

JohnT
3 months ago

As a Pedego dealer, my expertise lies with that brand, so I'll focus there.

Like you, my wife is 5'1", and her three favorite Pedegos to ride are the Stretch, the City Commuter 26" Step Thru, and the Interceptor 24" Step Thru.

Neither the Interceptor nor the City Commuter is specifically designed for off-road use, but many use them on fire roads and such. Those who want to smooth out the ride often opt for a BodyFloat seatpost. My wife likes the City Commuter with the BodyFloat and a suspension fork conversion for light trail riding. We don't know of a decent suspension fork for the 24" Interceptor.

Whether the Interceptor or City Commuter is better depends a lot on you. Most people find one more comfortable than the other, and it's often not the one you think it'll be. I recommend riding them both, if you can, before purchasing. People with road bike or mountain bike experience tend to find the City Commuter riding position more familiar. People with knee or back issues often, but not always, find the Inerceptor riding position more comfortable. The 24" Interceptor is a bit smaller than the 26" City Commuter and has a lower step through. Either bike can be tweaked through adjustments or part swaps.

Pedegos are reliable and easy to get parts for. Last I heard, there were around 100 Pedego stores in the US, so if you run into trouble while traveling, a dealer might not be too far out of your way. I'm obviously biased, but I also have a lot of first hand experience at seeing how happy Pedego owners are and how well Pedego treats its customers.

Whatever way you decide to go, I bet you're in for a great time! Ebikes and RVs go great together!

Mr. Coffee
3 months ago

Disclainer: I own a Pedego (Interceptor).

The premium you pay on a Pedego bike is paying for the large dealer network and the fairly generous warranty. If you plan on riding the bike hard and depending on it those things are valuable to you. If you aren't doing those things the value of said premium is more questionable.

In general all Pedego bikes I've tried have an "overbuilt" feel to them compared to other ebikes I have tried. The downside of "overbuilt" is that it makes the bikes heavy monsters to haul around and the upside is they can take quite a bit of abuse (and use).

One question: you are focused on the 24" trail tracker here. Is that because that bike is more likely to fit you? I agree that there are very few options for a fat-tire ebike in that particular wheel size.

Mr. Coffee
4 months ago

This isn't really a problem with the bikes...

I recently replaced my tires and tubes on my Interceptor. When reinstalling the rear wheel I made the serious mistake of using the little adjustable wrench in the awful little toolkit to retighten the wheel nuts. Well, that little wrench didn't let me use sufficient torque to adequately tighten the wheel nut. During a short test ride the wheel slipped, and while it did not come off I managed to knock both the rear disc brake and the derailleur out of adjustment.

So now I carry a full-size 18mm wrench in my toolkit so I can adequately tighten those rear wheel nuts.

ElectricBikeFan
4 months ago

It has to have way more torque. My wife can smoke me with her Pedago Interceptor....I mean really smoke those bikes are fast up hills and she is only 5'4 and 110 pounds.

Katman4532
4 months ago

@Over50, the TownieGo does come in a low step version, still 26" wheels. If you think that's still a little large for her take a look at the Pedego Step-Thru Interceptor with 24" wheels; the overall sizing is scaled down but the same size motor & power.

Court has a Guide with suggestions for bikes for smaller people; it's a good starting point. There are also newer reviews, too.

@Katman4532, glad to hear that you're out & about in our Texas summers; happy trails!
I think you're right about the low step version being great for shorter people. I would love to get my wife on an Ebike.
I have to keep turning off the assist to let her catch up!

Ann M.
4 months ago

@Over50, the TownieGo does come in a low step version, still 26" wheels. If you think that's still a little large for her take a look at the Pedego Step-Thru Interceptor with 24" wheels; the overall sizing is scaled down but the same size motor & power.

Court has a Guide with suggestions for bikes for smaller people; it's a good starting point. There are also newer reviews, too.

@Katman4532, glad to hear that you're out & about in our Texas summers; happy trails!

J.R.
5 months ago

The Worksman Stretch trike is rated to 550lb.

The Pedego Interceptor and Boomerang Plus models with the optional 26" magnesium wheels are rated to 400lb.
Yes, good options and quality brands. They are included with other ebikes by Zize Bikes noted above. The owner of Zize is a dealer of those brands and has both personal and business understanding of what the bigger rider needs for a good experience biking. With many models, they fine tune or customize the bikes with robust parts/accessories for the larger rider. I think saddles, bars/grips, tires and pedals are the most common items. They've been doing this for a long time. It's great customer service, few dealers would be willing to do. I ran accross them while doing research for a recommendation a couple years ago. Interesting story too.

Dewey
5 months ago

The Worksman Stretch trike is rated to 550lb.

The Pedego Interceptor and Boomerang Plus models with the optional 26" magnesium wheels are rated to 400lb.

mrgold35
5 months ago

I don't know what the official weight limit is, but a Pedego City Commuter is built like a tank... for that matter, so are the rest of them, I suspect. I know they have heavy duty wheels as an add on to several of their models as well. Certainly a mainstream bike with a solid reputation. My wife has one - no weight problem for her - and loves it. Worth a look.

I looked at the owners manual online and it stated on page 12/Safety/Weight Capacity of being 250 lbs for all models (Boomerang, Boomerang Plus, City Commuter, Comfort Cruiser, Interceptor, and Tandem): http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/Master-Manual-WEB.pdf

PedegoElectricBikes
5 months ago

Longtime pedal bike shop owners choose Number 1 electric bike brand for new store

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., July 6, 2017 — The world’s 100th Pedego® Electric Bikes store is now open in Simsbury, Conn. Owned by Mike and Rachel Wolf, Pedego Simsbury is the fifth Pedego store in New England. Pedego also has stores in Boston, Rhode Island, Cape Cod and South Norwalk. Pedego Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. There will be ribbon cutting ceremony by the Main Street Partnership on July 6th to celebrate the opening.

“We're pleased to announce that Pedego Simsbury is our 100th Pedego electric bike store in the world,” said Pedego Electric Bikes CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. “Opening the 100th Pedego store is a testament to the growing popularity of electric bikes, and we’re delighted to be leading the revolution.”

THE PUBLIC IS INVITED TO JOIN THE RIBBON CUTTING CELEBRATION

WHAT: Ribbon Cutting Ceremony by the Main Street Partnership including refreshments and free test rides

WHERE: Pedego Simsbury store, 528 Hopmeadow Street, Simsbury, Conn.

WHEN: Thursday, July 6 at 4:30 p.m.

WHO: Store co-owners Mike and Rachel Wolf, plus representatives from the Main Street Partnership, Simsbury Chamber of Commerce, and City of Simsbury as well as Pedego representative Cassidy Castleman

Store owners Mike and Rachel Wolf, 77 and 71 years old respectively, are well-known in the area for their two long-established cycling shops. Nearly 67 years ago, Mike’s father established Connecticut's oldest bike shop, Bloomfield Bicycle & Repair Shop. Mike has worked there for 64 years, since he was 13 years old, and today, it is the oldest bike store in the region. It also carries the largest inventory of electric bikes in the area, with 150 electric bikes in stock. Of the nine electric bicycle brands Wolf carries at his Bloomfield bike shop, Pedego is the leading brand, which led him to open the Pedego Simsbury store. The Wolfs also own the Bike Cellar in Simsbury, which specializes in pedal bikes.

“Electric bikes are a game changer, enabling people of all ages to ride bikes,” Mike said. “We firmly believe that 60 percent of all bike sales in the future will be electric bikes, and we’ve decided to go with Pedego, the Number 1 electric bike brand, as Pedego is devoted to delighting its customers and empowering its dealers.”

The Wolfs are not only Pedego electric bikes salespeople, they are big fans themselves. An avid Pedego rider, Mike lost 54 pounds and lowered his cholesterol and blood pressure over the past 18 months with his Pedego electric bike. Weather permitting, the septuagenarian rides more than 20 miles every morning. He said, “Not only have I gained back my health, I’ve also gotten better looking, thanks to my electric bike.”

Pedego Simsbury’s opening is the culmination of Mike’s decade-long friendship with Pedego CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. They met when DiCostanzo owned an electric bike shop in Newport Beach, Calif., long before he co-founded Pedego. DiCostanzo said, “We are thrilled to welcome Mike and Rachel to the Pedego family. They share a passion for bringing electric bikes to the region and getting Baby Boomers back on bikes.”

Pedego Simsbury offers sales of all 12 Pedego Electric Bikes models that empower riders to zoom up hills and through headwinds. All Pedego bikes have a 500-watt hub motor that helps riders cruise distances of 30 to 60 miles without getting tired and sweaty. Now available at the new Simsbury store are California-styled cruisers, including the Pedego Platinum Interceptor, a fully loaded cruiser bike; the Pedego Interceptor, which boasts a 48-volt battery that propels riders with extra power; and Pedego’s Comfort Cruiser, which is powered by a 36-volt battery for gentle help with hills. Also available are the Trail Tracker fat-tire bike for riding on gravel and snow; the Ridge Rider electric mountain bike; the sleek City Commuter; the sturdy Stretch cargo bike and the Latch, an ingenious folding bike, designed for portability and convenience. Pedego also recently introduced the Airstream model for camping devotees.

Rentals and sales of Pedego bikes are available. Located near the Pedego Simsbury store are the Farmington Canal Heritage Trail and Farmington River Trail, two scenic trails that meet in the town. The Farmington River Trail is part of the rail-to-trail bike path network that takes riders up into Massachusetts or down into New Haven, Conn. The store provides maps so renters can enjoy riding through the beautiful countryside. Simsbury was recently voted the most bike-friendly community in Connecticut.

Pedego Simsbury also offers top-notch service for Pedego electric bikes. Everything from maintenance to customizations can be handled by the team.

About Pedego Simsbury

Pedego Simsbury has the distinction of being the 100th Pedego Electric Bikes store in the world and is the region’s premier dealer in Pedego Electric Bikes. Pedego Simsbury offers a large selection of Pedego electric bikes sales, rentals, accessories and service. Free test rides are available. Located at 528 Hopmeadow Street in Simsbury, Conn., Pedego Simsbury is close to the Farmington Canal Heritage Trail and Farmington River Trail, two trails that combine for a scenic ride through a forest. The store is open seven days per week: Monday through Friday, 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Saturdays 9:00 am. to 5:00 p.m., and Sundays 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. To learn more and reserve a test ride, call 860-413-2543 or email info@pedegosimsbury.com. Follow us on Facebook and visit our website at http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/dealers/simsbury/

About Pedego

Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 12 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at 100 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

1/1
PedegoElectricBikes
5 months ago

Electric Bikes energize the town with fun and fanfare

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., July 5, 2017— A Pedego® Electric Bikes store is now open in Petoskey, Mich., bringing an exhilarating new activity to town. Pedego Petoskey co-owners Bryan Newman and husband-wife team Bill and Pat Anton are excited to introduce the nation’s Number 1 electric bike brand with a party that includes free test rides on the elegant electric bikes. It is the 99th Pedego store worldwide. Pedego’s enormous popularity grew from the brand’s stylish designs and quality components. Every Pedego bike features a 500-watt motor that empowers riders to conquer hills, headwinds and long distances with ease.

THE PUBLIC IS INVITED TO JOIN THE GRAND OPENING & RIBBON-CUTTING CELEBRATION

What: Grand Opening and Ribbon-cutting Ceremony will include free test rides and snacks

Where: Pedego Petoskey, 438 East Mitchell Street, Petoskey, MI, 49770

When: Thursday, July 13 from 4:00 to 8:00 p.m. Ribbon-cutting Ceremony at 4:45 p.m.

Who: Store co-owners Bryan Newman and Bill & Pat Anton, store manager Dawn Marie Hansen, Friends & Family, Petoskey Chamber and various City Ambassadors will be present as well as Pedego California representatives Tom Bock and Cassidy Castleman.

Newman is an experienced Pedego dealer as he also owns Pedego La Quinta and Pedego Palm Springs, both in Southern California. Every winter since opening his other stores, Newman has had visitors from Michigan rave about the electric bikes as the best part of their California vacation, so he decided to bring the fun of Pedego electric bikes to Petoskey, an established vacation destination. “I chose to become a Pedego dealer because it’s all about fun, and now I'm thrilled to bring the fun to Petoskey,” he said.

Pedego riders can cruise for hours enjoying Petoskey’s miles of scenic paths without over-exerting. Located in the Northwest tip of Michigan’s Lower Peninsula, Emmet County offers a variety of paths that blend scenic splendor with rich historical sites. Long stretches of sandy beaches, quaint downtowns and year-round activities beckon outdoor enthusiasts, including families. Little Traverse Wheelway, a re-established turn-of-the-century trail that goes from Walker Road, Charlevoix, to Hoyt Street in Harbor Springs, presents more than 26 miles of pure riding enjoyment. This and several other trails await riders who want to explore the area while having fun on electric bikes.

Pedego Petoskey offers sales of all 12 Pedego Electric Bikes models that empower riders to zoom up hills and through headwinds. All Pedego bikes have a 500-watt hub motor that helps riders cruise distances of up to 60 miles without getting tired and sweaty. Now available at the new store are California-styled cruisers, including the Pedego Platinum Interceptor, a fully loaded cruiser bike; and the Pedego Interceptor, which boasts a 48-volt battery that propels riders with extra power. Also available are the sleek City Commuter; the Trail Tracker fat-tire bike for riding on gravel and snow; the Ridge Rider electric mountain bike; the sturdy Stretch cargo bike and the Latch, an ingenious folding bike, designed for portability and convenience. Pedego also recently introduced the Airstream model for camping devotees.

Available for rent are Pedego’s cruiser-style Interceptors, sporty Ridge Riders, ultra-low step-thru Boomerang Plus bikes, fat-tire Trail Trackers, Stretch cargo bikes, sleek City Commuters and a shiny red Tandem. Helmets and locks are included with rentals.

“Petoskey is such a beautiful place with miles and miles of scenic bike paths to enjoy,” said Pedego Electric Bikes CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. “We're very happy that riders will now be able to see, experience and enjoy Petoskey on Pedego electric bikes.”

About Pedego Petoskey

Pedego Petoskey is the region's premier dealer in Pedego Electric Bikes. Offering a large selection of Pedego electric bikes for sale and rental as well as accessories and service. Riders can cruise near sandy beaches, through quaint downtowns and enjoy year-round activities on Pedego electric bikes. Little Traverse is a local bike path offering more than 26 miles of scenic splendor combined with fascinating historical sites. Open Sunday through Thursday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., and Friday and Saturday, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Located at 438 E. Mitchell, Petoskey, MI 49770. To learn more and reserve a test ride, call (231) 881-9488 or email info@pedegoPetoskey.com. Follow us on Facebook and visit our website at http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/dealers/Petoskey/.

About Pedego

Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 12 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at nearly 100 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

1/1
jeffs1000
5 months ago

Is the frame steel or aluminum?

Michigan Mister
8 months ago

been binge watching your reviews one last time before I get my Interceptor. (thanks to your help on so many questions) Court, can you comment on motor/brake noise on this ride comparatively to other bikes in it's class?  (your bestest fan) Chris

Supership Supernaut
11 months ago

Love your video's. Any thoughts on adult training wheels? Are they as good as a trike?

Garrett Adams
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com what do you think about if pedego had heated handle grips and seat?

san delag
3 years ago

Hi! Ypu know what is the cheapest e-bike on the market? Cheap but also good, just curiosity, in anyway I really want this bike though...

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+san delag Sure thing, glad I could be of some help ;)

san delag
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com
Thanks for the answer man! :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Good question... I have listed all of the more "affordable" ebikes I found at http://electricbikereview.com/tag/affordable/ and one of my favorites is the EG Athens: http://electricbikereview.com/eg/athens-250/ but it does have a weaker motor so keep that in mind.

Matthew Sherman
3 years ago

I really like this bike, similar to my Izip Zuma, I'd like it if they could put one dual shocks and turn signals etc.  nice work Pedego I might be buying this bike

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Salih Alexander Sure, the Phantom X2 would be fine and there is also a version of the Outlaw that is street legal called the Outlaw EX (I should have just linked to that one for you to begin with). These aren't my favorite bikes but at least it's an alternative to the Interceptor that would work for heavier, taller riders http://electricbikereview.com/prodecotech/outlaw-ex/

Salih Alexander, Esq.
3 years ago

What about the Phantom X2?

Salih Alexander, Esq.
3 years ago

It says the outlaw is not street legal.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Salih Alexander There are very few electric bikes that have turn signals and most of them are designed more like scooters - too heavy to pedal around efficiently and they only have one gear. Given your height and weight I would still recommend the Pedego Interceptor and just suggest adding signals yourself like the ones from Amazon listed above. Here is one other large, high powered ebike that is still good for pedaling: http://electricbikereview.com/prodecotech/outlaw-ss/

Salih Alexander, Esq.
3 years ago

+Electric Bike Review
Are there any ones with turn signals?  I'm 6'2" 245 so I need a powerful bike.

bill739123
4 years ago

HOW MUCH . WHERE IS THE WEB SITE I CAN GET ONE FROM

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

This bike goes for about $2,900 and you can find dealers using the main Pedego website. I provide all of the stats and link to every manufacturer website from the full review page (which I put in the description of each video review). Sometimes I forget to say the price or they don't have it set yet so I always put it back at the site http://electricbikereview.com/pedego/interceptor/

RC-Collector
4 years ago

Great video. Do you know if the handlebars are different from the original Interceptor? I test drove one last year and my knees got in the way on tight turns. Keep up the good work.

Don DiCostanzo
4 years ago

Pedego Comfort Cruiser handlebars are 28"' on the Pedego Classic Cruiser and Interceptor models which are standard width for a cruiser bike.  They can be raised or changed out easily to suit ones personal comfort. The Pedego Step Thru 26" Model uses 26" width and the Pedego 24" Step Thru model version uses 24" width.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

These may be updated, they seem a bit smaller than the bars used on the IZIP Zuma or Motiv Spark but smaller than some of the older Pedego Cruiser models (those things were enormous... but comfortable). I haven't had a problem hitting my knees on the bars but I do occasionally scrape my leg and bang my knee on the rear rack when swinging my leg over.

Here's a picture of the really big bars I'm talking about, they look similar to the Interceptor here at 0:35 maybe they are the same? http://electricbikereview.com/wp-content/uploads/built-in-rack-pedego-ebike.jpg

ANDREI SARPE
4 years ago

nice!

Volt Report
4 years ago

That is so awesome. What a dreamer!