Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Electric Bike Review
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Bafang 750 Watt Fat Bike Motor
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Wellgo Pedals Ebike Controller Box
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Handlebar Shifter Throttle
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Backlit King Meter Lcd Display
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Stitched Leather Grips Integrated Bell
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Top Gun Suspension Fat Bike
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Two Virtical Bottle Cage Mounts
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Shimano Acera 7 Speed With Guard
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Side Mounted Kickstand Adjustable
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Removable 48 Volt Battery Panasonic Cells
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Black And White Colors
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Battery Charger
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Electric Bike Review
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Bafang 750 Watt Fat Bike Motor
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Wellgo Pedals Ebike Controller Box
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Handlebar Shifter Throttle
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Backlit King Meter Lcd Display
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Stitched Leather Grips Integrated Bell
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Top Gun Suspension Fat Bike
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Two Virtical Bottle Cage Mounts
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Shimano Acera 7 Speed With Guard
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Side Mounted Kickstand Adjustable
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Removable 48 Volt Battery Panasonic Cells
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Black And White Colors
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Battery Charger

Summary

  • Strikes an excellent balance delivering high power with mid-level components for a reasonable price, you get throttle and pedal assist with an on/off on the throttle! solid one year warranty for the original owner, flat rate $175 shipping in the US
  • Even though the battery and controller box are bolted on vs. integrated into the frame, they use extra bolts for strength and kept them mostly out of the way, both are mounted low for improved stability
  • Nice extras including an integrated LED headlight, stand alone rear light, USB charging outlet on the battery, handle at the back of the seat, quick release front wheel, bash guard on the chainring and derailleur... optional fenders and rack
  • Only available in one frame size but comes in black or white color choices, the 180 mm disc brakes work well enough but hydraulic would be nice, the grips spin a bit if you squeeze hard, excellent kickstand placement, clean wire integration

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Rad Power Bikes

Model:

RadRover

Price:

$1,499 ($175 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive (Original Owner)

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

63 lbs (28.57 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs (3.26 kg)

Motor Weight:

14 lbs (6.35 kg)

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Sizes:

18.25 in (46.35 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

580 mm Top Tube, 463 mm Seat Tube, 1155 mm Wheelbase, 794 mm Standover Height

Frame Material:

Aluminum

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

Top Gun Suspension with Lockout, Adjustable Preload, 5" Travel, 11 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Acera, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shiman SIS Index Shifter on Right

Cranks:

42T Chainring with Aluminum Bash Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform, Black

Headset:

VP-A41ACK

Stem:

Zoom ~6° Rise

Handlebar:

Zoom Low-Rise, 25" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Aries Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors, Rubberized Edge and Integrated Bell

Grips:

Stitched Ergonomic, Black

Saddle:

Velo Plush with Integrated Handle

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

320 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled Alloy, Black

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Juggernaut, 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

31TPI, Wire Bead, 5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Spanninga Micro Integrated LED Headlight, Blaze-Lite RL1800 Independent LED Back Light, Neoprene Slap Guard, Side Mounted Adjustable Kickstand, Two USB Charging Ports for Portable Electronics (On Battery and Display)

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Aluminum

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

King Meter SW-LCD, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer, Watts, PAS level (1-5)

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (6 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Rad Power Bikes has rapidly grown their business from a crowd funded single-product offering to include a cargo bike and a mini fat folding bike in just a couple of short years! But it all started with the RadRover… This classic fat tire electric bike offers some of the best value I’ve seen on the market without compromising comfort and quality. Upgrades like the Shimano Acera derailleur (which is two steps up from the standard Tourney I frequently see) should last longer and provide tighter shifting. There’s a beautifully integrated bell that doesn’t clutter the handlebars because it’s designed into the brake levers (which offer motor cutoff when pulled). You get a fat bike specific motor from Bafang that maxes out on power for what’s legal in the US at 750 watts. It includes two LED lights and while the rear is more basic, relying on stand-alone battery cells, the front is integrated and runs off the main battery pack… which is huge! Not only do you get a powerful 48 volt configuration, the cells inside are from Panasonic, one of the most trusted and longest lasting from what I hear at shops and from consumers. And! there’s a USB charging port mounted on the side of that pack so you can use it for backup power (charging a cell phone perhaps) or running extra lights on your bike. Unfortunately, the positioning is a little vulnerable because your leg and foot pass near the side of the battery. Consider a right-angle USB adapter if you intend to plug things in while riding. But the USB power doesn’t stop there, another plug is built into the display panel so you can still get energy without running a long cable.

Powering on the bike is a two step process where you press a silver button on the battery and then hold the mode button on the control pad. It’s an extra step that not every electric bike has but at least it’s not too difficult to reach. This may reduce phantom power draw from the battery if you take it off the bike and are using it to charge with one of the USB ports mentioned earlier. The button pad mentioned a moment ago, is mounted near your left hand so you can adjust pedal assist levels while riding without taking your hand off the grip. There are five levels of power and a level zero! In zero, the bike won’t respond to your pedaling but the throttle will (if you’ve activated it) and that’s kind of cool. In all normal assist levels the throttle can override with additional power for catching up with friends or topping a hill. I love having a throttle on fat bikes because snow, sand and hilly terrain can sneak up on you and being able to power through or get extra help on demand makes for fewer crashes and generally more comfortable riding. And, since the RadRover is using a more basic pedal assist cadence sensor (with just six magnets vs. 12) I found that using the throttle and brake levers can lead to more precise control. Cadence sensors aren’t generally as responsive as torque sensors but they are less complicated, less expensive and they don’t make you work as hard. In the future, maybe they will switch to a 12 magnet design but still, the throttle helps and being able to one step further and actually disable the throttle with the red toggle button mounted near its base, is fantastic. Sometimes you don’t want to worry about accidentally twisting that throttle (like on really difficult terrain or descending or when you’re loading the bike up). Turning it off means that 750 watt motor won’t accidentally get out of control.

Using this bike can take some extra practice just because there are more drive options and the display has a lot of readouts. I prefer it this way but as a more advanced rider, I don’t feel as overwhelmed. What you see with the display is the speed, assist level and battery gauge (along wth a lot of other little readouts). The display is backlit which is great for night riding and it can be swiveled to reduce glare but it is not removable. Some quick tips on the display panel: you can hold up to switch from average speed to max speed, hold up and mode to turn on the headlight and hold down to activate walk-mode which propels the bike gently forward so you don’t have to push it up hills (if you decide to walk vs. ride). In the video review you can see us riding in deeper sand and I share a few tips about accelerating slowly to maintain balance. Once or twice I decided to walk the bike to meet with a friend just down the way and using walk mode significantly helped because the bike weighs ~63 lbs and sort of sinks in when you’re on the sand. Yes, you could just twist the throttle but that’s more sensitive and tends to kick up sand if you accidentally twist too hard.

At the end of the day, Rad Power Bikes has proven that they can produce reliable ebikes at reasonable prices and deliver and support them well. This is why I recommended them as one of the possible platforms for Cabo Adventures (where this video review was shot). The resort wanted to buy some bikes that would empower visitors to ride on the beach even in deep soft sand and not get exhausted when it’s super hot outside. The bikes performed beyond my expectation and were some of the most comfortable I tried. The mid-rise handlebars, ergonomic grips and softer saddle just made it feel good. The suspension fork, while basic, did its job marvelously and kept my wrists, forearms and shoulders from getting sore. One of the bigger points here is that we rode the bikes in sand and near salt water and they did begin to rust after a week. Rinsing them off after this sort of riding is a good idea. Whether you’re in snow where salt has been scattered to melt ice or near the ocean the bikes will show wear. In my opinion, if that’s the sort of terrain you expect to encounter, it feels nice knowing you didn’t spend $5,000+ on a bike than one you can pour some money into ongoing for replacement parts. I don’t mean to say the bikes won’t hold up, even with rust on the chainrings they should continue to perform. There are so many bikes coming to market these days that do not have a throttle mode and in conditions like the ones we rode in it can be very very useful and almost everyone who tried the bikes there (including my girlfriend) said they loved the throttle. There’s more to say about this bike and I’ve done my best in the pros/cons below but you can also watch and read comments for the older RadRover model from 2015 here. Big thanks to Rad Power Bikes for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • Given the upgraded 750 watt internally geared hub motor, I wasn’t sure how loud it would be running at full power but it actually stayed much quieter than some competing motors on fat bikes that I’ve tested, even lower powered ones, and I like how wide it is (custom for fat tires) because that supports the spokes
  • Lots of upgraded components here including a Shimano Acera derailleur with metal protector (in case the bike tips), premium Panasonic battery cells and 180 mm mechanical disc brakes
  • Given the mid-frame battery design, I love that they were able to angle the to-tube to reduce stand over height and still include bottle cage bosses! There are two vertical mounts just behind the head tube on the left and right which would be great for folding locks, mini pumps or standard cages
  • I’m ~5’9″ and this fat bike felt comfortable in terms of reach, the stem isn’t super long and the bars have a nice mid-rise in them… I also felt like the saddle was more comfortable than some competing offerings
  • Even though I’m used to seeing Top Gun as the most basic low-end suspension provider on on a lot of bikes, this one was upgraded to include lockout and worked fairly well, combined with the fat tires this ebike is pretty comfortable but a 27.2 mm suspension seat post could soften up the back if you’ve got a sensitive neck or back
  • I like that they included a little neoprene slap guard on the right chainstay… I noticed the chain bouncing when I was riding fast across the bumpy dirt road and without this pad the paint would get chipped up and there would be more noise
  • It’s cool that RadRover sells accessories like fenders, saddle bags, rear carry racks and even transport racks for your car all designed to fit their bikes, there are threaded bosses at the rear-end of the bike so you could easily add your own rack if you’ve got something like the Topeak slide-on bag system
  • I love that the mechanical cables for the brakes and shifters are all run through the frame, even the electronic wires are well organized and tucked away which prevents snags and just looks good (especially on the white frame where they would stand out more)
  • Rad Power Bikes offers flat rate shipping in the continental United States for $175 which is a pretty good deal given the weight and size of the bike in my opinion… do take this into consideration though on the price
  • I really like that there’s a handle built into the back of the saddle! This makes the bike easier to lift and position… also since the kickstand is mounted way towards the back, you can pedal the bike backwards and work on the chain more easily even if you don’t have a professional stand
  • The battery interface, the plastic slide where it mounts to the downtube, is bolted onto the frame with three bolts vs. just two on most kits and some cheaper ebikes so it doesn’t rattle and feels pretty sturdy, this is good considering you might ride it on bumpy terrain
  • I love that the bike offers throttle-only mode with zero assist, that gives you a lot of control and if you do turn on assist you can still override with more power using the throttle later

Cons:

  • At ~63 lbs this electric fat bike isn’t especially light weight but at least the front wheel has a quick release skewer and teh battery can be easily removed… this will reduce the space required by the bike and make it easier and lighter to lift
  • I was surprised that the cadence sensor only used six magnets? Many newer models use 12 so the motor will respond faster as you pedal (both starting and stopping), it’s nice that the brake levers have integrated motor cutoff switches so at least you can command a stop immediately in case of emergency
  • I like having a throttle and the twist version works well enough, especially with the integrated on/off toggle, but sometimes a trigger is nicer for off-road bumpy riding so that your grip is solid, I’ve also heard some riders with smaller hands prefer the trigger but it’s really personal preference
  • The bike handled well and was ridden by some individuals in the 200+ lb range during this review but both skewers are the thinner 11 mm style vs. some of the newer 12 mm and 15 mm thru-axles seen on a lot of mountain bikes used on tough terrain, thicker axles on fat bikes would support the weight and stresses of fat tires
  • You have to turn the battery pack on before you can power up the display panel, it’s a two step process that isn’t difficult but takes extra time and isn’t mandatory with some other electric bicycles
  • I like that there are two little USB charging ports integrated into this bike, running off the main battery pack, especially because the bike doesn’t come with an integrated tail light (you could buy an affordable USB rechargeable light to replace the rear Blaze Light if), but the positioning of this port is near where your legs and feet move as you ride… it would be much better if this was on top of the pack or maybe built into the display
  • The grips feel thick and comfortable, I personally enjoy the ergonomic leather style like this, but they aren’t locking so as you ride if you’re pulling and twisting hard they may begin to spin and given the off-road design of the bike and heavy footprint that can happen more easily
  • I prefer disc brakes for any type of off-road riding, be it snow, dirt or sand and feel that the 180 mm rotors chosen here are a good fit in terms of size but I wish they were hydraulic because those require less hand strength and are smoother to actuate
  • The chainring has a nice Aluminum bash guard protecting the teeth from the outside which is great if you’re riding over angled rocks or wood that might collide with it but there isn’t a plat on the inside which would act as a guide, this means you can drop the chain more easily, especially when riding in throttle mode on higher gears where there’s less tension in the chain
  • I think the price on the RadRover is really good and I like how it performed but there are some trade-offs in aesthetics here with the controller box and battery mounted on top of the frame tubing vs. being integrated or combined

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Rad Power Bikes Reviews

Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A funky miniaturized folding fat tire bike with two cargo racks! Truly capable of sand and snow riding, LED lights guide and keep you safe, the bike offers assist and throttle drive modes. Basic seven speed drivetrain from Shimano, plastic chain guide keeps things on track, metal derailleur…...

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A value priced but featured packed urban commuter style electric bike with everything from fenders, to LED lights, rear carry rack and regenerative braking. Solid driving and braking performance with a 750 watt gearless hub motor and 180 mm…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A folding fat tire electric bike with front and rear cargo racks and double-tube frame for improved strength (good option for larger riders). Powerful 750 watt internally geared fat-bike specific motor paired with a large 48 volt 11.6…...

Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Affordable, feature rich cargo style electric bike with a stiffer and lighter frame because it's not quite as long as some others. Offers five levels of pedal assist, throttle mode and throttle override as well as regenerative…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An Indiegogo funded electric fatbike with a powerful 500 watt motor, ample 48 volt battery and seven speed drivetrain. Comfortable saddle, ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout, two color choices but only one…...


dm nelson
5 months ago

Enjoyed the review, Court, as it mostly reflects the experience my partner & I have had with our Radrovers for the past month. These bikes are lots of fun, fat tires, throttles and all. I was able to swap the suspension seat-post off my regular mtn bike and immediately enjoyed the smoother ride experience on the rover. My partner is ordering a cane creek for herself. I upgraded a couple other components, also. When I noticed the chain bounce I swapped the Shimano Acera derailleur for an Alivio. Now the chain seems to have more tension and less bounce on bumpy, packed trails. Replaced stock brake cables with Jagwire mtn cables and now the brakes feel more fully responsive to me. While they do take a bit more energy to use than the hydraulics I have on another bike, these Tektro brakes stop this heavy bike adequately, even going downhill. I had not seen such a derailleur bashguard before like on this bike and was impressed. When one of the two bikes I ordered arrived with the box damaged, bashguard bent and Bafang motor cable damaged, I realized that protecting the motor cable is that guard's primary purpose. With that part of the cable which goes directly into the motor hub damaged the only remedy was to replace the motor hub. Perhaps someday Bafang will make this cable replaceable without taking the motor apart.. Lastly I want to offer gratitude for the great customer and tech support from this Rad Power company. ~David

Court Rye
5 months ago

Great feedback David! Sounds like you really went to town customizing! Thanks for being specific about the parts you swapped out so others might benefit as well. Hope your partner enjoys her Thudbuster and you have many more fun and comfortable miles ahead of you ;)

Errol
4 months ago

What's the model number of the Bell helmet your wearing doing the Radrover review? It looks good and is it also comfortable? Thanks

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Errol! That's the Bell Super 2R MIPS with Star Wars "Trooper" theming. I bought it because I could mount my camera to the front jaw piece AND the jaw and the helmet can unbuckle and be packed easily. Since I travel a lot this is a great feature... did an overview/review story about it with more pictures and a video here :D

Joe
4 months ago

Are there any lightweight eBikes out there that are reliable and won't break the bank? What are some of your favorite models? I really like everything I have read bout the rad rover other than the fact that it's 60 lbs, although I know eBikes are going to run a little heavier with the battery.

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Joe! The advances search options here let you sort by weight (and I do weigh all bikes personally so it should be very accurate). With so many options on style of bike it's tough for me to say. Do you want a fat bike, a city bike, are you okay with a folding bike? Check out my affordable category here for other models priced in line with the RadRover and dig into products that catch your eye... maybe even ask around on the forums for how durable people think they are. Most of the time I test brand new bikes for a limited time so it's difficult to speculate on durability :/

Errol
4 months ago

Hi Count Rye, after some of your reviews I decided to buy the RadRover. Received it a couple of days ago and already tested it out. Great ebike for the price and also ordered the rear rack. Bought it on Cyber Monday so I saved on the shipping cost.. I agree it could use a plat on the inside to help prevent the chain falling off which already happened once when my wife was dismounting and the bike came to the ground. Also when first testing it out the derailer was not set right and the chain got tangled some, turned the bike upside down and readjusted it.

I'm looking for a fat ebike for my wife, mine is to tall for her, especially when dismounting. Which fat ebike does your girlfriend like best ( I believe her name is Moa ). I seen her with the Voltbike Mariner and the Radmini. Are their other similar fat ebike? Thanks for your reviews.

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Errol! Thanks for sharing your experience with the RadRover so far. My girlfriend Mony struggled with the height of the top tube as well but enjoyed the VoltBike Mariner much more. I'd say it's fairly comparable to the RadMini but uses a trigger throttle vs. twist and has a narrower top tube and folding point. this was an area where she still bonked her knee once on the RadMini and felt a little sensitive after that. Another company to consider is E-Lux which has a full-sized fat tire bike called the Tahoe which you can get in high-step or step-thru and is very comfortable, powerful and clean thanks to integrated metal fenders. Another folding fat mini bike is the SSR Motorsports Trail Viper but I haven't seen their latest iteration. Once you decide and get something for her I'd love to hear how it all works out!

Errol
3 months ago

Hi again Count Rye,

After much consideration and help from your EBR, we're going with the Voltbike Mariner. I texted Voltbike and they said there going forward putting derailleur guards on. They also said prices will increase in January. Maybe your site had some good influence. Also they were offering a free motorcycle helmet with purchase. We also bought two of the Star Wars trooper helmets that I asked you about before.

Thanks,
Errol

Court Rye
3 months ago

Awesome! Sounds like you're going to have a blast... Glad the site helped expose you to some different choices so you could narrow down. George is a great guy, it's really cool that you're getting the lower price AND he's doing derailleur guards and the helmets. I love that he offers helmets :)

Matthew
3 weeks ago

Hello everyone, I am interested in buying the Rad Rover and I had a question. I was wondering if there is anyone who has found or modified cargo trailer to work with the Rad Rover? I live in Colorado and am intersted in this bike so I can commute to work (about 10-14 miles round trip, depending on which location I need to go to) year round and maybe do the occasional trail riding on the weekend. I would like to find a trailer that would work on the bike so I can go without my car entirely and so I can take my dog kennel. My dog had knee surgery and can't really keep up with a bike anymore, especially an E-bike. Any advice would be much appreciated! Thanks for you time.

Court Rye
3 weeks ago

Hi Matthew! Great question, I have seen a range of trailers on Amazon and the suspension IBEX trailer from BOB Yak but can't confirm whether they will work. Maybe your best bet is to ask in the Rad Power Bikes forums here, it's a pretty active place and there are actual owners of the bike (I just reviewed it but don't have one in front of me to confirm how a trailer would attach). Hope this helps, feel free to share what you end up with back here to help others :)

Matthew
3 weeks ago

Hi Court, thanks for the quick reply! I called Rad Power Bikes today and they said that while they are hesitant to recommend trailers for the Rad Rover, they did say that any seat post mounted trailer will work or any trailer that can attach to a Burley Trailer hitch will work (amazon link here). Super easy to get a hold of someone at Rad Power Bikes and they answered all of my questions in no time. Thanks to your awesome, highly detailed, website, write ups and youtube videos, I pulled the trigger and bought a Rad Rover and Rad Mini today! Thanks for the help!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

mrgold35
3 hours ago

A platform type rack would be easier to load the Radwagon compared to a hanging rack.

I have a Saris Freedom SuperClamp 4 bike platform rack for a 2" hitch I like very much. It has clamps for the front and back tires with straps for the tire platforms to keep the bike very stable. Saris makes two 1 1/4 platform rack for 2 ebikes at 60lbs each.

Saris Freedom SuperClamp 2 (clamps for tires): https://www.saris.com/product/superclamp-2
Saris Freedom 2 (center bar to secure on downtube): https://www.saris.com/product/freedom-2

I have my platforms that support the tires at max distances apart for my Radrover. Saris does mark an extra long wheel base bike arm for bikes up to 57 inch wheelbase: https://www.saris.com/product/freedom-long-wheelbase

The only issue I see if you pick the SuperClamp model is trying to secure the Radwagon rear tire with the rack+fender+bag. Picking a platform rack with a center bar to secure on the down tube will work better.

Saris Rack on my smaller SUV with wheel platforms at max distance apart. I added extra 4-way lights because the fat tires blocked the rear lights.

1/1
skypup
18 hours ago

After thinking about it, my fat tire Radrover might be a little wider at the pedals to equal what you will have with the extensions on the Radwagon.

A friend is thinking of buying a Radover, his son just did. After riding mine the closeness of the pedals are his main concern. We're going to see if this addition helps,

mrgold35
1 day ago

After thinking about it, my fat tire Radrover might be a little wider at the pedals to equal what you will have with the extensions on the Radwagon.

skypup
1 day ago

I ended up putting larger and wider pedals with better grip spikes for my Radrover that fit my size 14 shoes a lot better.

I thought of that too. Just thought I would try this first. I don't really mind the pedal size but more length from the cranks seems like it will make a difference.

mrgold35
1 day ago

I ended up putting larger and wider pedals with better grip spikes for my Radrover that fit my size 14 shoes a lot better.

Lost
1 day ago

Radrover with some accessories and Luna 52V 17.5 AH battery pack. Stock dolphin pack fits in the battery bag as well. A little bit more power and a lot more range. Also installed shimano 42T chainring and crank arms. running 2.5" Hookworms and a side mirror.
Why the new chainring? Isn't that the stock size? (42?)

Looks awesome, any hard numbers on your range extension with the Luna battery? The stock battery fits in addition to the Luna battery? Did you wire in an XT 90 to the stock battery?

Nice!

Thomas Jaszewski
1 day ago

Radrover with some accessories and Luna 52V 17.5 AH battery pack. Stock dolphin pack fits in the battery bag as well. A little bit more power and a lot more range. Also installed shimano 42T chainring and crank arms. running 2.5" Hookworms and a side mirror.
That poor overwatered house plant!
Love those hook worms! Nicest tire I run!

triggeraa
1 day ago

Radrover with some accessories and Luna 52V 17.5 AH battery pack. Stock dolphin pack fits in the battery bag as well. A little bit more power and a lot more range. Also installed shimano 42T chainring and crank arms. running 2.5" Hookworms and a side mirror.

1/4
alexbclark
2 days ago

@MazzyScar This pack will give you more range at the same Ah, or you can add 2 more Ah for $30:

http://lunacycle.com/batteries/packs/52v/52v-pansonic-11-5ah-or-13-5ah-dolphin/

Plus, your Radrover will have better acceleration, torque, and top-speed. I did this to mine the first month and the controller and motor handles the increased voltage fine. The stock system is very overbuilt for the amperage and voltage that RPB chose to run through the system.

Is that extra voltage still working okay for you? I'm trying to decide which battery to get and would love to maximize my range. I plan on taking my RadCity out for camping trips and need to get 40 - 60 miles with only two batteries powering my butt and gear. Luckily, there are a ton of great State Parks near Seattle with electric hookups at each campsite so charging will be easy.

mrgold35
2 days ago

I sometimes take my wife's Radrover battery if I might be pushing my range on a weekend rides alone. I had to use the spare battery a few times the last few miles from home after a 27-32 mile ride. Lugging around 7 extra pounds to double my range in my rack bag or saving the 7 lbs and spending +$500 for 10%-20% greater range is what I'm considering. This is more of problem when my wife and I ride together and she (125lbs) can go so much further while I'm down 1-2 bars and have to pedal harder (I'm at 270lbs) on the same run trying to keep up with her (and not looking like I'm working that hard). I ended up even purchasing a 2nd charger for work because really windy days can zap my range home if I don't top off at work.

Best solution for me is to purchase and carry a spare battery. If I could just drop the 7lbs, it would be as if the battery isn't there.

mrgold35
2 days ago

I have two Radrover 4" fat tire ebikes with a 2" Saris Freedom Superclamp 4 rack. I ended up adding a makeshift license plate holder and adding 4-way lights and red reflective tape to the rear of my rack because the tires and the center triangle bag blocked my SUV lights and plate from the rear. I only put on the license plate holder when traveling out of state with the ebikes. I connect the extra lights every time I use the rack.

Hitch Cagro Carrier Magnetic Mount LED 4-flat, $80, Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GR7P55A/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o08_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1/1
mrgold35
2 days ago

You might want to think about a bike with a throttle also like the Vibe. PAS is good if you can pedal all the time. My Radrover has both and I had plenty of situations where the throttle was a much needed feature like:
- moving across intersections faster (zero need to adjust PAS levels since throttle can add full power at anytime with Radrover)
- assist in acceleration/power up short steep hills
- use the throttle in a walk situation if you need to push the bike up a steep embankment or over obstacles
- sore leg/knee from pedaling and you need to rest it a bit
- in tight turns or limited space or ground clearance where the pedals in the lowest position would hit if you use them

I would also think about a bike with a front suspension, comfy cruiser seat, and adding a suspension seatpost (Suntour, Bodyfloat, Thudbuster). All those road imperfections vibrations have to go somewhere and they will end up on your backside, legs and arms without some type of suspension to soak them up.

mrgold35
2 days ago

The triangle bag on my Radrover is from Luna Cycles, $25: https://lunacycle.com/batteries/battery-bags/luna-cycles-triangle-battery-bag/

I don't see why it wouldn't fit on the Radwagon also? I got the bag to help keep the battery warm in winter commuting and keep the dust off the battery during trail riding. It should work with Seattle rain and adding a little water proofing spray to the outside wouldn't hurt. I had to cut 3 holes in the bottom of the bag to fit the battery tray inside. I cut another hole towards the bottom rear for the battery tray power cable to exit. There are vent holes top and bottom. The bag also has a double zipper on the left side to access the battery power button, battery charging port, or unzip a little more if it is really hot outside. It also has pockets on both sides with velcro (I use to store extra zip ties and velcro strips). I ended up cutting out the velcro strips on the inside of the bag because they were just in the way. Closing in on 6 months with the bag and had zero issues with it.

I used a black marker to color in the white Luna Cycle logo:

1/1
Barkme Wolf
3 days ago

Checked out your video and you have the same type of issue I have with road commuting. I just don't have to deal with the rain in the southwest; but, I have 15-25 mph headwinds with gust +30 mph in the afternoons sometimes. I also doubled up on front and rear lights, loud jackets, big butt comfy seat, spare battery, and you can never have too much storage. I never realized how hard a car suspension is working until I road the same streets on a bike.

I did the BM Works Speed Extender for extra space on my handlebars. I just didn't have enough space for my toys and the curved handlebars make it hard to add an extra light at the right angle. The Extender fit perfectly within the space under the Radrover LCD screen.

BM Works, Amazon, $22: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00M13QMVA/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Barkme Wolf
3 days ago

Checked out your video and you have the same type of issue I have with road commuting. I just don't have to deal with the rain in the southwest; but, I have 15-25 mph headwinds with gust +30 mph in the afternoons sometimes. I also doubled up on front and rear lights, loud jackets, big butt comfy seat, spare battery, and you can never have too much storage. I never realized how hard a car suspension is working until I road the same streets on a bike.

I did the BM Works Speed Extender for extra space on my handlebars. I just didn't have enough space for my toys and the curved handlebars make it hard to add an extra light at the right angle. The Extender fit perfectly within the space under the Radrover LCD screen.

BM Works, Amazon, $22: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00M13QMVA/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

More pics please. What is the bag on your frame?

thatdude902
14 hours ago

For future reference, when others start contemplating swapping out the freewheels on their Radrover, Radmini or other electric bikes with similar wiring. On the left is an old Shimano freewheel tool I got years ago with a 10mm opening (same as Park), and on the right is the DNP epoch tool with an ~18.5mm opening. So no drilling or grinding necessary to get around the wheel hub motor wire connector. Thanks for finding it.

Edit: Oh shi.... still isn't going to work. Here's something I totally forgot to account for, the nut that's holding the wheel to the frame. That nut is also in the way like the connector. At the widest point, it's 20.5 mm so there is no way to pass through that freewheel tool. Maybe with some strategic grinding on the tool for 6 corners of the nut, and a little touchup on corners of the nut itself (about .5mm). Still might be possible.

Ok, I ended up splitting the tool. Wasn't too bad with a Dremel tool plus fiber reinforced-cutoff-wheel. At least the DNP tool is easier to split than the Park tool, thinner walls. I'll see how it goes this weekend when I take off the rear wheel from the bike.

1/1
mrgold35
3 days ago

Checked out your video and you have the same type of issue I have with road commuting. I just don't have to deal with the rain in the southwest; but, I have 15-25 mph headwinds with gust +30 mph in the afternoons sometimes. I also doubled up on front and rear lights, loud jackets, big butt comfy seat, spare battery, and you can never have too much storage. I never realized how hard a car suspension is working until I road the same streets on a bike.

I did the BM Works Speed Extender for extra space on my handlebars. I just didn't have enough space for my toys and the curved handlebars make it hard to add an extra light at the right angle. The Extender fit perfectly within the space under the Radrover LCD screen.

BM Works, Amazon, $22: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00M13QMVA/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1/2
Barkme Wolf
3 days ago

How hard would it be to upgrade the front suspension? I've tried commuting to work with my front suspension locked on my Radrover. It is suppose to be more "efficient" compared to having the front tire bounce and lose forward momentum on every pedal stroke. It was too rough and it transmitted too much vibration to my arms. Keeping the suspension open and adjusting the amount of rebound to a min added a lot of comfort along with the suspension seat post.

I tried the Suntour NCX SP-12 and it was big improvement over the standard fixed seatpost. Decided to give the Bodyfloat v2.0, orange springs, a try and this was an improvement over the Suntour. The Bodyfloat does a much better job of reducing what you feel with small road imperfections over wavy concrete, uneven side walk cracks, broken/cracked asphalt, and washboard hardpacked trails. I now spend about 90-95% of my time on my seat instead of lifting up over every little bump before I tried the suntour or bodyfloat.

I too would like to change out my front forks, raise my handlebars and get one of those fancy seat posts. If there were only some way to add shocks or something to the rear. I think that would definitely give me some more life on my spokes. I think the only way to do it would be a structural change to the frame itself.

mrgold35
3 days ago

How hard would it be to upgrade the front suspension? I've tried commuting to work with my front suspension locked on my Radrover. It is suppose to be more "efficient" compared to having the front tire bounce and lose forward momentum on every pedal stroke. It was too rough and it transmitted too much vibration to my arms. Keeping the suspension open and adjusting the amount of rebound to a min added a lot of comfort along with the suspension seat post.

I tried the Suntour NCX SP-12 and it was big improvement over the standard fixed seatpost. Decided to give the Bodyfloat v2.0, orange springs, a try and this was an improvement over the Suntour. The Bodyfloat does a much better job of reducing what you feel with small road imperfections over wavy concrete, uneven side walk cracks, broken/cracked asphalt, and washboard hardpacked trails. I now spend about 90-95% of my time on my seat instead of lifting up over every little bump before I tried the suntour or bodyfloat.

windmill
3 days ago

Cassette removal tool I just remembered I had in the bottom of my bike tools
http://www.woollypigs.com/2011/10/meet-the-hypercracker/

I've used it on my older bikes, wondering how it would work on the RadRover & RadMini...

From the article, it looks like there are a few other touring style freewheel lockring removal tools:

Found one on Amazon: Stein Mini Cassette Lockring driver 30+ bucks

https://www.amazon.com/Stein-Mini-Cassette-Lockring-Driver/dp/B001GSSCAU

Sang
Damn, I totally forgot about those types of tools. Just the ticket for those with the wire in the axle. Well done!

sanglee007
3 days ago

The freewheel on the Rover is tricky, I think it's the same situation on the mini also. The wire for the motor comes out of middle of the hub there and is connected to the controller via a connector. The tricky part is getting freewheel tool pass that connector to get to the freewheel. I measured that connector at 18mm diameter.

I've seen people talk about splitting the freewheel tool, others talk about using method that destroys the old freewheel as seen on youtube. What I have in mind is making the hole in the freewheel tool bigger. That DNP freewheel tool linked above is supposed to have a 14mm hole. I should be able to take a small round grinding stone on a dremel tool and take it up to 18mm. It's going to be time consuming. But I think splitting a freewheel tool would be time consuming also.

Cassette removal tool I just remembered I had in the bottom of my bike tools
http://www.woollypigs.com/2011/10/meet-the-hypercracker/

I've used it on my older bikes, wondering how it would work on the RadRover & RadMini...

From the article, it looks like there are a few other touring style freewheel lockring removal tools:

Found one on Amazon: Stein Mini Cassette Lockring driver 30+ bucks

https://www.amazon.com/Stein-Mini-Cassette-Lockring-Driver/dp/B001GSSCAU

Sang

1/1
mrgold35
4 days ago

I've always like the ideal of adding a mid-drive kit to an already existing fat tire bike. Most ebikes in the $2000 price range will not be top of the line parts for the bike since most of the money was spent on the ebike components. I have a $1500 Radrover and the bike is probably in the $500-$700 range compared to the electric drive system.

I still have a 6 months left on my warranty and I already replaced my controller, left pedal crank, and wiring harness under warranty. If my Radrover dies after the warranty period, I will most likely convert into a Bafang BBSHD mid-drive 1000w, starting at $700, from Luna Cycle: https://lunacycle.com/bafang-bbshd-1000w-mid-drive-kit/

You can then purchase an excellent new/used full suspension MTB or full suspension fat tire bike, add the mid-drive, and have the power to handle any hill.

pxpaulx
6 days ago

Does anyone find it difficult to remove the 26x4 Kenda Juggernaut? My Yukon 750 comes with a 30 TPI wired bead, and it is stiff. I attempted to rotate my tires because the rear was wearing faster than the front, but my standard plastic tire levers were not strong enough for the task, so I just left it alone for now.

On YouTube, it seemed so easy, but I think it is because those fat tires are 60 tpi, or 120 tpi and much softer.

Make sure that the same side wire bead on the opposite side of the wheel (opposite of the wheel itself, not one side of the rim to the other...) is all the way to the center of the rim - this will allow relief on the side that you're trying to remove. I had the hardest time with my radrover, same tire - went to the shop and they suggested I try that...went out to my car and it popped off like nothing!

mrgold35
1 week ago

I have a Saris Freedom SuperClamp 4 Bike Rack and have the same concerns when I travel out of state with my two Radrover ebikes. Never an issue around town or even around my sate of NM because I see all kinds of bike racks and hitch cargo carriers (with in state and out of state plates) without clearly visible license plates.

My two 4" fat tire bikes both have Luna Cycle triangle bags covering the batteries mid frame. I also have a traveling bike cover if I run into bad weather out of town. Very hard to see my rear lights and license plate with and without the cover (no front plates for NM vehicles). Since both of my SUVs have a hitch+wiring harness; I ended up adding a magnetic mounted LED 4 way lights to the back of my Saris Rack. I also rigged up a License plate holder the tilts for when the Saris rack is in the up or down position.

I only use the license plate setup when heading out of town like when I took the ebikes to the Grand Canyon and Sedona for about a week. The Aux lights are used every time I connect my rack. The Magnetic Aux lights may not work if you have an aluminum rack.

Magnetic mount LED tail light, $80, Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GR7P55A/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o08_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Drónos Vili
3 weeks ago

Hey there:-) how long is the battery less with 1 charge?

Jim Williamson
2 months ago

Your videos are great. I have been researching ebikes since February 2016. Because of your videos, I ordered the RadRover yesterday. Very nice folks at Rad Power Bikes.

G G
3 months ago

my commute is only 2 miles, I am going to get one of these for spring/summer

Marcin O
3 months ago

Shame you cant buy these here in UK

Josefwintzent Libot
4 months ago

can this be bought in the philippines?

Maine Explorer
4 months ago

Thanks for the great info. I just ordered a Rad Rover and told them your videos were very helpful.

Gone TROPPO
4 months ago

wicked bike , thanks

Steven
5 months ago

I have a RadRover and put lil over 350 miles on it so far. I do street riding, dirt trails, rock trails. Only problem I have ever had is chain coming off going down hill while in a low gear. Besides that not one problem. I would like to see grip lock outs as well.

MrMike47274
2 months ago

Steven My knees are starting to bother me some also. last year I ride my first CENTURY and since then... well,,, I'm getting nervous. So,,,, in turn I may need one of these for myself down the road. I love biking and hate to think I may not be able to ride anymore. I'm glad you can get out still and enjoy the outdoors. :)

Steven
2 months ago

I was donated the bike from "The Independence fund", they help out disabled veterans. I have many problems from my knees to having massive migraine headaches from multiple Traumatic brain injuries. If I over exert my self I get these massive headaches. So with this bike I do what I can and when it is too much I have the assist I need. This bike has open up my life from just staying in my room.

MrMike47274
2 months ago

Steven Glad to hear you like these bikes. I'm really wanting to buy one for my wife. She likes to ride with me. But do to aches and pains in her body,, she doesn't have the stamina. So, our rides together are very short lived.

Ephesus RH
5 months ago

Im thinking of getting this for my commuting to school instead of car

babsisfish
5 months ago

Thanks to this bike I now expect more bang for my buck out of everything I buy! Had a couple warranty issues that were immediately resolved by Cory. I have both the rover and mini, both great bikes.

madogblue
5 months ago

Great video. I bought a Framed Alasken fat bike ,non electric and I love it

choski76
5 months ago

cables under yhe bottom bracket are vulnerable.

PonderDuke
5 months ago

Put on a gates belt drive and and Rohloff hub and you will have no problem with the the stand in your gears. A real beach cruiser.

\\\\\\\\ \\
5 months ago

do you know if the bike could/is a coaster brake? i dont know if i trust the brakes, specifically myself with handbrakes.

\\\\\\\\ \\
5 months ago

in this video the seat is up almost aligned with the handle bars, how low can the seat go?

wjf213
5 months ago

Would a front hub motor help with riding in soft sand or other soft terrain? Keep up the great work.

Yousuf A
5 months ago

how many miles can it go in one run???

NWforager
5 months ago

its rated at about 20 but depends on pedaling and terrain

Pete From OC
5 months ago

I have put about 500 miles with mine and still going strong without any problems so far. I'm 5'11 and weight 270 lbs and this bike gets me through all the steep hills around my neighborhood. If you weight more than 200lbs don't waist time with any 36v 350w bike. I also have easy motion Evo 29er with 36v 500w motor which cost twice the RadRover but does not come close to RadRover. I also recommend RadMini which I also have that has same motor but feels even more powerful due to its 20 × 4 tire size.

Theo Volpe
2 days ago

Can this bike be used when raining ?

jeremy scarsone
1 week ago

Pete From OC nice Pete. I also have about 500 miles on my rad rover and I absolutely love it. So much so that I actually just purchased a bulls Lacuba e45 because I do most of my riding on the street. I wish the rover got a little better mileage but other than that I love it

Taylor Guziewicz
5 months ago

You need to put that Bike on a Diet 😉