Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Electric Bike Review
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Bafang 750 Watt Fat Bike Motor
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Wellgo Pedals Ebike Controller Box
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Handlebar Shifter Throttle
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Backlit King Meter Lcd Display
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Stitched Leather Grips Integrated Bell
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Top Gun Suspension Fat Bike
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Two Virtical Bottle Cage Mounts
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Shimano Acera 7 Speed With Guard
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Side Mounted Kickstand Adjustable
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Removable 48 Volt Battery Panasonic Cells
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Black And White Colors
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Battery Charger
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Electric Bike Review
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Bafang 750 Watt Fat Bike Motor
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Wellgo Pedals Ebike Controller Box
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Handlebar Shifter Throttle
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Backlit King Meter Lcd Display
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Stitched Leather Grips Integrated Bell
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Top Gun Suspension Fat Bike
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Two Virtical Bottle Cage Mounts
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Shimano Acera 7 Speed With Guard
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Side Mounted Kickstand Adjustable
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Removable 48 Volt Battery Panasonic Cells
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Black And White Colors
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Battery Charger

Summary

  • Strikes an excellent balance delivering high power with mid-level components for a reasonable price, you get throttle and pedal assist with an on/off on the throttle! solid one year warranty for the original owner, flat rate $175 shipping in the US
  • Even though the battery and controller box are bolted on vs. integrated into the frame, they use extra bolts for strength and kept them mostly out of the way, both are mounted low for improved stability
  • Nice extras including an integrated LED headlight, stand alone rear light, USB charging outlet on the battery, handle at the back of the seat, quick release front wheel, bash guard on the chainring and derailleur... optional fenders and rack
  • Only available in one frame size but comes in black or white color choices, the 180 mm disc brakes work well enough but hydraulic would be nice, the grips spin a bit if you squeeze hard, excellent kickstand placement, clean wire integration

Search EBR

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Rad Power Bikes

Model:

RadRover

Price:

$1,499 ($175 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive (Original Owner)

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

63 lbs ( 28.57 kg )

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs ( 3.26 kg )

Motor Weight:

14 lbs ( 6.35 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Sizes:

18.25 in ( 46.35 cm )

Geometry Measurements:

580 mm Top Tube, 463 mm Seat Tube, 1155 mm Wheelbase, 794 mm Standover Height

Frame Material:

Aluminum

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

Top Gun Suspension with Lockout, Adjustable Preload, 5" Travel, 11 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Acera, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shiman SIS Index Shifter on Right

Cranks:

42T Chainring with Aluminum Bash Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform, Black

Headset:

VP-A41ACK

Stem:

Zoom ~6° Rise

Handlebar:

Zoom Low-Rise, 25" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Aries Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors, Rubberized Edge and Integrated Bell

Grips:

Stitched Ergonomic, Black

Saddle:

Velo Plush with Integrated Handle

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

320 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled Alloy, Black

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Juggernaut, 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )

Tire Details:

31TPI, Wire Bead, 5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Spanninga Micro Integrated LED Headlight, Blaze-Lite RL1800 Independent LED Back Light, Neoprene Slap Guard, Side Mounted Adjustable Kickstand, Two USB Charging Ports for Portable Electronics (On Battery and Display)

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Aluminum

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles ( 32 km )

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles ( 64 km )

Display Type:

King Meter SW-LCD, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer, Watts, PAS level (1-5)

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (6 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph ( 32 kph )

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Rad Power Bikes has rapidly grown their business from a crowd funded single-product offering to include a cargo bike and a mini fat folding bike in just a couple of short years! But it all started with the RadRover… This classic fat tire electric bike offers some of the best value I’ve seen on the market without compromising comfort and quality. Upgrades like the Shimano Acera derailleur (which is two steps up from the standard Tourney I frequently see) should last longer and provide tighter shifting. There’s a beautifully integrated bell that doesn’t clutter the handlebars because it’s designed into the brake levers (which offer motor cutoff when pulled). You get a fat bike specific motor from Bafang that maxes out on power for what’s legal in the US at 750 watts. It includes two LED lights and while the rear is more basic, relying on stand-alone battery cells, the front is integrated and runs off the main battery pack… which is huge! Not only do you get a powerful 48 volt configuration, the cells inside are from Panasonic, one of the most trusted and longest lasting from what I hear at shops and from consumers. And! there’s a USB charging port mounted on the side of that pack so you can use it for backup power (charging a cell phone perhaps) or running extra lights on your bike. Unfortunately, the positioning is a little vulnerable because your leg and foot pass near the side of the battery. Consider a right-angle USB adapter if you intend to plug things in while riding. But the USB power doesn’t stop there, another plug is built into the display panel so you can still get energy without running a long cable.

Powering on the bike is a two step process where you press a silver button on the battery and then hold the mode button on the control pad. It’s an extra step that not every electric bike has but at least it’s not too difficult to reach. This may reduce phantom power draw from the battery if you take it off the bike and are using it to charge with one of the USB ports mentioned earlier. The button pad mentioned a moment ago, is mounted near your left hand so you can adjust pedal assist levels while riding without taking your hand off the grip. There are five levels of power and a level zero! In zero, the bike won’t respond to your pedaling but the throttle will (if you’ve activated it) and that’s kind of cool. In all normal assist levels the throttle can override with additional power for catching up with friends or topping a hill. I love having a throttle on fat bikes because snow, sand and hilly terrain can sneak up on you and being able to power through or get extra help on demand makes for fewer crashes and generally more comfortable riding. And, since the RadRover is using a more basic pedal assist cadence sensor (with just six magnets vs. 12) I found that using the throttle and brake levers can lead to more precise control. Cadence sensors aren’t generally as responsive as torque sensors but they are less complicated, less expensive and they don’t make you work as hard. In the future, maybe they will switch to a 12 magnet design but still, the throttle helps and being able to one step further and actually disable the throttle with the red toggle button mounted near its base, is fantastic. Sometimes you don’t want to worry about accidentally twisting that throttle (like on really difficult terrain or descending or when you’re loading the bike up). Turning it off means that 750 watt motor won’t accidentally get out of control.

Using this bike can take some extra practice just because there are more drive options and the display has a lot of readouts. I prefer it this way but as a more advanced rider, I don’t feel as overwhelmed. What you see with the display is the speed, assist level and battery gauge (along wth a lot of other little readouts). The display is backlit which is great for night riding and it can be swiveled to reduce glare but it is not removable. Some quick tips on the display panel: you can hold up to switch from average speed to max speed, hold up and mode to turn on the headlight and hold down to activate walk-mode which propels the bike gently forward so you don’t have to push it up hills (if you decide to walk vs. ride). In the video review you can see us riding in deeper sand and I share a few tips about accelerating slowly to maintain balance. Once or twice I decided to walk the bike to meet with a friend just down the way and using walk mode significantly helped because the bike weighs ~63 lbs and sort of sinks in when you’re on the sand. Yes, you could just twist the throttle but that’s more sensitive and tends to kick up sand if you accidentally twist too hard.

At the end of the day, Rad Power Bikes has proven that they can produce reliable ebikes at reasonable prices and deliver and support them well. This is why I recommended them as one of the possible platforms for Cabo Adventures (where this video review was shot). The resort wanted to buy some bikes that would empower visitors to ride on the beach even in deep soft sand and not get exhausted when it’s super hot outside. The bikes performed beyond my expectation and were some of the most comfortable I tried. The mid-rise handlebars, ergonomic grips and softer saddle just made it feel good. The suspension fork, while basic, did its job marvelously and kept my wrists, forearms and shoulders from getting sore. One of the bigger points here is that we rode the bikes in sand and near salt water and they did begin to rust after a week. Rinsing them off after this sort of riding is a good idea. Whether you’re in snow where salt has been scattered to melt ice or near the ocean the bikes will show wear. In my opinion, if that’s the sort of terrain you expect to encounter, it feels nice knowing you didn’t spend $5,000+ on a bike than one you can pour some money into ongoing for replacement parts. I don’t mean to say the bikes won’t hold up, even with rust on the chainrings they should continue to perform. There are so many bikes coming to market these days that do not have a throttle mode and in conditions like the ones we rode in it can be very very useful and almost everyone who tried the bikes there (including my girlfriend) said they loved the throttle. There’s more to say about this bike and I’ve done my best in the pros/cons below but you can also watch and read comments for the older RadRover model from 2015 here. Big thanks to Rad Power Bikes for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • Given the upgraded 750 watt internally geared hub motor, I wasn’t sure how loud it would be running at full power but it actually stayed much quieter than some competing motors on fat bikes that I’ve tested, even lower powered ones, and I like how wide it is (custom for fat tires) because that supports the spokes
  • Lots of upgraded components here including a Shimano Acera derailleur with metal protector (in case the bike tips), premium Panasonic battery cells and 180 mm mechanical disc brakes
  • Given the mid-frame battery design, I love that they were able to angle the to-tube to reduce stand over height and still include bottle cage bosses! There are two vertical mounts just behind the head tube on the left and right which would be great for folding locks, mini pumps or standard cages
  • I’m ~5’9″ and this fat bike felt comfortable in terms of reach, the stem isn’t super long and the bars have a nice mid-rise in them… I also felt like the saddle was more comfortable than some competing offerings
  • Even though I’m used to seeing Top Gun as the most basic low-end suspension provider on on a lot of bikes, this one was upgraded to include lockout and worked fairly well, combined with the fat tires this ebike is pretty comfortable but a 27.2 mm suspension seat post could soften up the back if you’ve got a sensitive neck or back
  • I like that they included a little neoprene slap guard on the right chainstay… I noticed the chain bouncing when I was riding fast across the bumpy dirt road and without this pad the paint would get chipped up and there would be more noise
  • It’s cool that RadRover sells accessories like fenders, saddle bags, rear carry racks and even transport racks for your car all designed to fit their bikes, there are threaded bosses at the rear-end of the bike so you could easily add your own rack if you’ve got something like the Topeak slide-on bag system
  • I love that the mechanical cables for the brakes and shifters are all run through the frame, even the electronic wires are well organized and tucked away which prevents snags and just looks good (especially on the white frame where they would stand out more)
  • Rad Power Bikes offers flat rate shipping in the continental United States for $175 which is a pretty good deal given the weight and size of the bike in my opinion… do take this into consideration though on the price
  • I really like that there’s a handle built into the back of the saddle! This makes the bike easier to lift and position… also since the kickstand is mounted way towards the back, you can pedal the bike backwards and work on the chain more easily even if you don’t have a professional stand
  • The battery interface, the plastic slide where it mounts to the downtube, is bolted onto the frame with three bolts vs. just two on most kits and some cheaper ebikes so it doesn’t rattle and feels pretty sturdy, this is good considering you might ride it on bumpy terrain
  • I love that the bike offers throttle-only mode with zero assist, that gives you a lot of control and if you do turn on assist you can still override with more power using the throttle later

Cons:

  • At ~63 lbs this electric fat bike isn’t especially light weight but at least the front wheel has a quick release skewer and teh battery can be easily removed… this will reduce the space required by the bike and make it easier and lighter to lift
  • I was surprised that the cadence sensor only used six magnets? Many newer models use 12 so the motor will respond faster as you pedal (both starting and stopping), it’s nice that the brake levers have integrated motor cutoff switches so at least you can command a stop immediately in case of emergency
  • I like having a throttle and the twist version works well enough, especially with the integrated on/off toggle, but sometimes a trigger is nicer for off-road bumpy riding so that your grip is solid, I’ve also heard some riders with smaller hands prefer the trigger but it’s really personal preference
  • The bike handled well and was ridden by some individuals in the 200+ lb range during this review but both skewers are the thinner 11 mm style vs. some of the newer 12 mm and 15 mm thru-axles seen on a lot of mountain bikes used on tough terrain, thicker axles on fat bikes would support the weight and stresses of fat tires
  • You have to turn the battery pack on before you can power up the display panel, it’s a two step process that isn’t difficult but takes extra time and isn’t mandatory with some other electric bicycles
  • I like that there are two little USB charging ports integrated into this bike, running off the main battery pack, especially because the bike doesn’t come with an integrated tail light (you could buy an affordable USB rechargeable light to replace the rear Blaze Light if), but the positioning of this port is near where your legs and feet move as you ride… it would be much better if this was on top of the pack or maybe built into the display
  • The grips feel thick and comfortable, I personally enjoy the ergonomic leather style like this, but they aren’t locking so as you ride if you’re pulling and twisting hard they may begin to spin and given the off-road design of the bike and heavy footprint that can happen more easily
  • I prefer disc brakes for any type of off-road riding, be it snow, dirt or sand and feel that the 180 mm rotors chosen here are a good fit in terms of size but I wish they were hydraulic because those require less hand strength and are smoother to actuate
  • The chainring has a nice Aluminum bash guard protecting the teeth from the outside which is great if you’re riding over angled rocks or wood that might collide with it but there isn’t a plat on the inside which would act as a guide, this means you can drop the chain more easily, especially when riding in throttle mode on higher gears where there’s less tension in the chain
  • I think the price on the RadRover is really good and I like how it performed but there are some trade-offs in aesthetics here with the controller box and battery mounted on top of the frame tubing vs. being integrated or combined

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Rad Power Bikes Reviews

Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A funky miniaturized folding fat tire bike with two cargo racks! Truly capable of sand and snow riding, LED lights guide and keep you safe, the bike offers assist and throttle drive modes. Basic seven speed drivetrain from Shimano, plastic chain guide keeps things on track, metal derailleur…...

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A value priced but featured packed urban commuter style electric bike with everything from fenders, to LED lights, rear carry rack and regenerative braking. Solid driving and braking performance with a 750 watt gearless hub motor and 180 mm…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A folding fat tire electric bike with front and rear cargo racks and double-tube frame for improved strength (good option for larger riders). Powerful 750 watt internally geared fat-bike specific motor paired with a large 48 volt 11.6…...

Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Affordable, feature rich cargo style electric bike with a stiffer and lighter frame because it's not quite as long as some others. Offers five levels of pedal assist, throttle mode and throttle override as well as regenerative…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An Indiegogo funded electric fatbike with a powerful 500 watt motor, ample 48 volt battery and seven speed drivetrain. Comfortable saddle, ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout, two color choices but only one…...


dm nelson
3 months ago

Enjoyed the review, Court, as it mostly reflects the experience my partner & I have had with our Radrovers for the past month. These bikes are lots of fun, fat tires, throttles and all. I was able to swap the suspension seat-post off my regular mtn bike and immediately enjoyed the smoother ride experience on the rover. My partner is ordering a cane creek for herself. I upgraded a couple other components, also. When I noticed the chain bounce I swapped the Shimano Acera derailleur for an Alivio. Now the chain seems to have more tension and less bounce on bumpy, packed trails. Replaced stock brake cables with Jagwire mtn cables and now the brakes feel more fully responsive to me. While they do take a bit more energy to use than the hydraulics I have on another bike, these Tektro brakes stop this heavy bike adequately, even going downhill. I had not seen such a derailleur bashguard before like on this bike and was impressed. When one of the two bikes I ordered arrived with the box damaged, bashguard bent and Bafang motor cable damaged, I realized that protecting the motor cable is that guard's primary purpose. With that part of the cable which goes directly into the motor hub damaged the only remedy was to replace the motor hub. Perhaps someday Bafang will make this cable replaceable without taking the motor apart.. Lastly I want to offer gratitude for the great customer and tech support from this Rad Power company. ~David

Court Rye
3 months ago

Great feedback David! Sounds like you really went to town customizing! Thanks for being specific about the parts you swapped out so others might benefit as well. Hope your partner enjoys her Thudbuster and you have many more fun and comfortable miles ahead of you ;)

Errol
1 month ago

What's the model number of the Bell helmet your wearing doing the Radrover review? It looks good and is it also comfortable? Thanks

Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi Errol! That's the Bell Super 2R MIPS with Star Wars "Trooper" theming. I bought it because I could mount my camera to the front jaw piece AND the jaw and the helmet can unbuckle and be packed easily. Since I travel a lot this is a great feature... did an overview/review story about it with more pictures and a video here :D

Joe
1 month ago

Are there any lightweight eBikes out there that are reliable and won't break the bank? What are some of your favorite models? I really like everything I have read bout the rad rover other than the fact that it's 60 lbs, although I know eBikes are going to run a little heavier with the battery.

Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi Joe! The advances search options here let you sort by weight (and I do weigh all bikes personally so it should be very accurate). With so many options on style of bike it's tough for me to say. Do you want a fat bike, a city bike, are you okay with a folding bike? Check out my affordable category here for other models priced in line with the RadRover and dig into products that catch your eye... maybe even ask around on the forums for how durable people think they are. Most of the time I test brand new bikes for a limited time so it's difficult to speculate on durability :/

Errol
1 month ago

Hi Count Rye, after some of your reviews I decided to buy the RadRover. Received it a couple of days ago and already tested it out. Great ebike for the price and also ordered the rear rack. Bought it on Cyber Monday so I saved on the shipping cost.. I agree it could use a plat on the inside to help prevent the chain falling off which already happened once when my wife was dismounting and the bike came to the ground. Also when first testing it out the derailer was not set right and the chain got tangled some, turned the bike upside down and readjusted it.

I'm looking for a fat ebike for my wife, mine is to tall for her, especially when dismounting. Which fat ebike does your girlfriend like best ( I believe her name is Moa ). I seen her with the Voltbike Mariner and the Radmini. Are their other similar fat ebike? Thanks for your reviews.

Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi Errol! Thanks for sharing your experience with the RadRover so far. My girlfriend Mony struggled with the height of the top tube as well but enjoyed the VoltBike Mariner much more. I'd say it's fairly comparable to the RadMini but uses a trigger throttle vs. twist and has a narrower top tube and folding point. this was an area where she still bonked her knee once on the RadMini and felt a little sensitive after that. Another company to consider is E-Lux which has a full-sized fat tire bike called the Tahoe which you can get in high-step or step-thru and is very comfortable, powerful and clean thanks to integrated metal fenders. Another folding fat mini bike is the SSR Motorsports Trail Viper but I haven't seen their latest iteration. Once you decide and get something for her I'd love to hear how it all works out!

Errol
1 month ago

Hi again Count Rye,

After much consideration and help from your EBR, we're going with the Voltbike Mariner. I texted Voltbike and they said there going forward putting derailleur guards on. They also said prices will increase in January. Maybe your site had some good influence. Also they were offering a free motorcycle helmet with purchase. We also bought two of the Star Wars trooper helmets that I asked you about before.

Thanks,
Errol

Court Rye
1 month ago

Awesome! Sounds like you're going to have a blast... Glad the site helped expose you to some different choices so you could narrow down. George is a great guy, it's really cool that you're getting the lower price AND he's doing derailleur guards and the helmets. I love that he offers helmets :)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

mrgold35
5 hours ago
I did the triangle bag from Luna Cycle, $25: https://lunacycle.com/batteries/battery-bags/luna-cycles-triangle-battery-bag/

The Luna Bag has a double zipper that goes along the top and back side for easy removal of the battery. I just had to punch three holes in the bottom of the bag, unscrew the battery tray, ran the wires outside the bottom corner of zipper, and secured inside the bag under the tray. I didn't want to attempt cutting the wires to the tray to run the wires out the wire slot. It just turned the bag into a single zipper instead of a double zipper bag.

Mdh01
2 days ago
I installed mine yesterday. They fit fine under the RadRover rack. Haven't tried them yet in the snow, but planning to this weekend. the front fender comes down pretty low, obnly about 5 inches or so from the ground. I might have to trim it shorter for trail riding.
pxpaulx
3 days ago
mrgold35
I think the laws haven't caught up to the technology when it comes to Class I/II ebikes. My 4" fat tire bike does far less damage to the trails compared to the thinner MTB tires that dig ruts and create more dust when riding. MTB bikes can reach higher mph downhill than my 7 geared Radrover. The only advantage my $1500 ebike has over a $7000 MTB is this +50 year old overweight soon to be AARP member can pass them up on an incline.
Don't get me wrong I'm 100% on your side of the argument, but the other rider was technically right in this case. Seems like anywhere state or local in az has to specifically state ebikes aren't allowed, otherwise they are just a bike, similar to Minnesota law here. The exception to that is federal land, where in the case of the US forest service at least ebikes are banned unless the specific area says they are allowed.
mrgold35
4 days ago
pxpaulx
I did a little digging. You're right, the Arizona laws are quite favorable for ebikes. It looks like the trail @mrgold35 was on is US forest land though, and from everything I've seen posted over at the mtbr ebike sub forum the US forest service doesn't allow electric bikes on its trails.
I think the laws haven't caught up to the technology when it comes to Class I/II ebikes. My 4" fat tire bike does far less damage to the trails compared to the thinner MTB tires that dig ruts and create more dust when riding. MTB bikes can reach higher mph downhill than my 7 geared Radrover. The only advantage my $1500 ebike has over a $7000 MTB is this +50 year old overweight soon to be AARP member can pass them up on an incline.
Alphbetadog
4 days ago
mrgold35
I took my Radrover to the Grand Canyon and Sedona during the week of Veterans day holiday in Nov/2016.
MrGold35,
Sad to hear that Sedona is so anti-ebike on the trails. Surprised as well since I've found AZ to allow a lot more freedoms than other States I've lived in such as OR & CA. I've done a lot of off-road M/C & RZR riding and there are lots of places open. You can even register a dirt bike & side-by-side to drive on the streets (provided you have the basic equipment (horn, mirror, brakelight, etc.). It is probably a City of Sedona thing as tourism is huge and they probably did the typical bureaucratic over reaction. I'm still going up there this spring when it warms up a little and check things out for myself. I'm not afraid of getting stopped or even a citation if that what it comes to.
EdVille
4 days ago
mrgold35
I took my Radrover to the Grand Canyon and Sedona during the week of Veterans day holiday in Nov/2016. It would be worth a day trip to the Grand Canyon if you have the time. It shouldn't cost you more than gas and lunch for a full day of riding if you have a hotel in Sedona or Flagstaff.

Thank you very much mrgold35 for the very detailed information. I will certainly check the links that you provided. Our trip will most likely include a visit to a friend's place in Dewey but I'm not sure just yet how long we will stay. We are still in the planning stages of the trip (which will also include Nevada) but I really appreciate the effort in putting these links together. I'm really glad I joined this forum precisely because of the resources and advice offered, just like yours. Much appreciated!


Grand Canyon:
There is a paved 6.5 mile trail starting from north end of the town of Tusayan near the south gate (past the IMAX theater and take a left turn at traffic circle heading out of town) to the Tusayan Greenway trail. The good thing about taking the bike trail is you don't have to pay the $30 for the 7 day pass if you drove your car into the park. The wife and I rode near Mather point and the bike path heads right (or east) to allow bikes (no bikes allowed in main visitor lookout area near rim). We rode to South Kaibab Trailhead, turned around at Yaki Point, and head back down the Tusayan trail for about 25 miles of bike riding that day. The next day, we took the same path to the rim; but, turned left (or west) to bike down the Hermit Road Greenway Trail. We didn't like this trail as much because bikes are only allowed on the paved waking trails near the rim for about 1/4 to 1/3 of the 3 mile length. We had to share the road with large tourist buses (no views) and could only stop at crowded tourist lookout points at the rim edge. Still nice to take to see a different vantage point of the Grand Canyon.

Grand Canyon link: https://www.nps.gov/grca/planyourvisit/bicycling.htm

Sedona:
We headed off to Sedona for the weekend to ride the dirt trails around town. We did 9 mile round trip Bell Rock trail south of town first thing in the morning (+75 degrees expected by lunch in Nov). It was an easy-moderate trail ride with spectacular views. Unfortunately, MTB "purist" felt the need to stop and chat to let us know ebikes are not allowed on any trails in Sedona designated to walking/hiking/MTB riding. The only trails for ebike use are the ones where motorized vehicles are allowed (motorcycles, 4-wheelers, off road trucks, etc...). We were already 90% done riding by the time the "intervention" happened and the trail was starting to get extremely crowded right before lunch (Holiday weekend).

I was loading up the Radrovers in the parking lot and I overheard the same guy complaining to other MTB riders my "motorized" ebike on the trail. I'm pretty sure he would have tracked down a park ranger if one was available to voice his concerns. I wouldn't feel safe riding the same trails as motorcycle/4-wheelers because I would be a hazard at my 10-14 mph trail cruising speeds compared to them going 40-50 mph.

Bell Rock link: http://www.sedonahikingtrails.com/bell-rock_courthouse-butte_loop.htm

If there is a next time, the wife and I were thinking about doing one of the guided ebike tours around town. We could see more and learn the do's/don't of ebike riding in Sedona. You can rent from them or ride your own ebike for the tour.

Sedona ebike Tours: https://ebikesedona.com/
mrgold35
4 days ago
I'm 6'3" and 265 lbs (down from 287 lbs when I started biking again at the end of summer). I've had pretty good luck with my 2016 Radrover. I added a larger Sunlite cloud-9 seat 11.5 X 12.5 size and a Suntour NCX SP-12 suspension seat post. I didn't have to adjust anything else for a comfortable ride. The longest ride I've taken with my ebike was 36 miles at PAS 3 and my legs gave out before the battery did (just under 20% battery life). I use the ebike mostly for commuting to work 13 miles round-trip on paved main and side roads. I'm probably 290-300 lbs with cold riding weather gear, large back pack, Topeak Rack bag with Panniers, work cloths, lunch, and cool weather gear for the afternoon.

It is mostly a drop in elevation to work of 5400 ft down to 4900 ft and I maintain speeds between 20-23 mph at PAS 5. My speed range heading home is between 15-17 mph at PAS 3-4 depending on how stiff the headwind is that day. I have no problems maintaining 18-19 mph at PAS 3 on level ground (again, any headwind will drop my speed).

One thing I really like about my 4" fat tire bike is it can transition from paved road, bumpy dirt lots, dirt trail, rocky trails, mud, and sand on the same ride. If you are planning to ride at all in the sand, fat tires with low PSI make it possible.

Which ever ebike you pick, I would plan to upgrade the seat post to a suspension type like thudbuster, cirrus body float, or Suntour NCX SP12 (assuming it is not a full suspension bike). I would also lean towards a bike with:
- front suspension forks
- larger tires to fat tires if possible to smooth out the ride more (cracked paved road are very bumpy at 15-23 mph)
- PAS and throttle
- opt for a larger battery capacity if available because you and I seill always use more e-power because of the extre weight
- plan on upgrading the seat and seat post. My seat Suntour seatpost is 27.2mm/400mm long. A 350mm lenght will work; but, you will be at its max height if you have long legs.
- make sure the bike comes with or has places to add accessories like water bottle(s), fenders, and racks.
mrgold35
5 days ago
EdVille
Visiting Sedona in May. Any good bike trails in Sedona?
I took my Radrover to the Grand Canyon and Sedona during the week of Veterans day holiday in Nov/2016. It would be worth a day trip to the Grand Canyon if you have the time. It shouldn't cost you more than gas and lunch for a full day of riding if you have a hotel in Sedona or Flagstaff.

Grand Canyon:
There is a paved 6.5 mile trail starting from north end of the town of Tusayan near the south gate (past the IMAX theater and take a left turn at traffic circle heading out of town) to the Tusayan Greenway trail. The good thing about taking the bike trail is you don't have to pay the $30 for the 7 day pass if you drove your car into the park. The wife and I rode near Mather point and the bike path heads right (or east) to allow bikes (no bikes allowed in main visitor lookout area near rim). We rode to South Kaibab Trailhead, turned around at Yaki Point, and head back down the Tusayan trail for about 25 miles of bike riding that day. The next day, we took the same path to the rim; but, turned left (or west) to bike down the Hermit Road Greenway Trail. We didn't like this trail as much because bikes are only allowed on the paved waking trails near the rim for about 1/4 to 1/3 of the 3 mile length. We had to share the road with large tourist buses (no views) and could only stop at crowded tourist lookout points at the rim edge. Still nice to take to see a different vantage point of the Grand Canyon.

Grand Canyon link: https://www.nps.gov/grca/planyourvisit/bicycling.htm

Sedona:
We headed off to Sedona for the weekend to ride the dirt trails around town. We did 9 mile round trip Bell Rock trail south of town first thing in the morning (+75 degrees expected by lunch in Nov). It was an easy-moderate trail ride with spectacular views. Unfortunately, MTB "purist" felt the need to stop and chat to let us know ebikes are not allowed on any trails in Sedona designated to walking/hiking/MTB riding. The only trails for ebike use are the ones where motorized vehicles are allowed (motorcycles, 4-wheelers, off road trucks, etc...). We were already 90% done riding by the time the "intervention" happened and the trail was starting to get extremely crowded right before lunch (Holiday weekend).

I was loading up the Radrovers in the parking lot and I overheard the same guy complaining to other MTB riders my "motorized" ebike on the trail. I'm pretty sure he would have tracked down a park ranger if one was available to voice his concerns. I wouldn't feel safe riding the same trails as motorcycle/4-wheelers because I would be a hazard at my 10-14 mph trail cruising speeds compared to them going 40-50 mph.

Bell Rock link: http://www.sedonahikingtrails.com/bell-rock_courthouse-butte_loop.htm

If there is a next time, the wife and I were thinking about doing one of the guided ebike tours around town. We could see more and learn the do's/don't of ebike riding in Sedona. You can rent from them or ride your own ebike for the tour.

Sedona ebike Tours: https://ebikesedona.com/
mrgold35
5 days ago
Are those the Radrover fenders? I have the other plastic fenders offered by RR and really didn't like them. I'm assuming the fenders would still fit if you have a rear rack?

I also have the Bar Mitts for winter riding. The combo of the Bar Mitts with my spring riding gloves work better than my heavy duty winter riding gloves alone. They fit perfectly inside my panniers on my topeak rack bag when not needed.
Steven F. Schluter
6 days ago
sanglee007
Chuck,

I'm using Sunlite XL Cruiser 20 x 4 1/4 tires on my RadMini.
I and a few people have the Maxxis Hookworms 26 x 2.5" mounted on the RadRover, so maybe the 3" shinkos might fit the fat tire rims.


Sang
How do you like the Sunlite-XL tires Sang? Do they feel heavy?

Thanks for your reply.

Steve
mrgold35
7 days ago
I have the Virelli Universal phone mount, Amazon, $20, for my iPhone 6S plus. I also have an Mophie wireless charging juice pack case and that increases the size of my iPhone. I've used the Virelli on my other bikes when I had the smaller iPhone 4S. The spring loaded clamp and rubber stays can hold my old 4S with Mophie case and new 6S Plus with Mophie case equally on my 13 mile work commute or trail riding on the weekends.

I added the BM Works Speed Extender, Amazon, $20, because the iPhone 6S Plus was so big and I had limited real estate on my Radrover handle bars. Adding the BM Works, I can swing the iPhone landscape or vertical for best viewing. The Virelli comes with 3 rubber straps and I needed to add a 2nd strap to accommodate the larger 6S Plus+case.

Kingsinger
1 week ago
Barkme Wolf
Hate to differ with you and maybe I am confused but my research shows:
https://www.seattle.gov/transportation/steepest.htm

I ride from Renton to Redmond and run up several long steep hills greater than 15%. I keep my PAS set at 2 regular and 3 on hills, haven't had an issue in over 2000 miles although I have been passed up by people on Radrovers and other electrics, I assume they did not read the manual.
Doesn't the Radrover have a geared hub, rather than a direct drive motor like on the Radwagon? That would mean better torque on hills, no?

JL
mrgold35
1 week ago
I have the exact same Softride 4-bike rack. I installed the Swagman, Amazon, $38, wall mount to store my Softride in the garage off the floor. I've used the Softride and Swagman to work on my 30lbs pedal power bikes. I can swing the Softride rack up to 180 degrees for better access bike access or just stowing the rack. I think I would need to add thicker bolts for me to feel comfortable using this for my +60 lbs Radrover on this wall mount.

I also installed the Softride garage storage station and I have to reuse the Softride rack arms to store my 3 pedal power bikes above the Softride bike rack. I purchased the second work stand because it was too much of a pain to dismount the 3 bikes to use the Softride rack arms every time I needed to do bike maint.

Roger Dahl
4 weeks ago
Mike Radenbaugh
Hi All,

RadMini Fenders are shipping before the weekend, and the first batch of RadRover fenders should be on the website for order later next week, shipping out to customer mid-December! We had hoped to have both versions available at the same time, but the larger size of the Rover fenders required adjustments to the vacuum form tool in order to dial in the thickness of the plastics near the extremities.
I ordered my mini fenders when they became available on line. Received them about a week ago, but hey, no instructions for installation? Do I need to call the shop in Seattle to see if they will send instructions or go on line to see if instructions are now part of the Rad mini assembly experience?
The fenders are pricey especially when tax and shipping are added ($185). But then, so too is the "Body Float" shock absorber seat. WOW! What a difference in ride quality on the mini. I actually look for bumps and dips in the road just to feel this seat in action.
mrgold35
4 weeks ago
Radrover Error Codes from my 2016 manual:

21: Abnormal Current - Check to see if all plugs are connected properly or have been damaged.

22: Throttle Fault – This error is often a result of holding down the thumb throttle while turning the E-bike on.

23: Motor Phase Problem – This error is often a result of a connection error between the plug and motor. Check to see if all plugs are connected properly or have been damaged.

24: Motor Hall Defect – This error is often a result of a connection error between the motor and controller. Check to see if all plugs are connected properly or have been damaged.

25: Brake Failed Or Brake Applied While Turning On – This error is often a result of holding down the brake handle while turning the E-bike on.

30: Abnormal Communication – This error is often a result of a connection error between the display and the controller. Check to see if all plugs are connected properly or have been damaged.
mrgold35
1 month ago
Not sure if you are a four season rider or you park during the winter. The 18650 batteries don't like a full charge, extremely low charge, or cold temps for long-term storage. Best to leave them around 50%-80% charge at room temperature if do plan to park the Radrover for a while.
mrgold35
2 months ago
I have a GT Transeo 3.0 XL commuter bike and I only rode it to work once after getting the Radrover in September. Ended up being a strong head wind that day for my ride home on my old bike and it took me a little more than twice as long compared to using my Radrover. My old bike has been parked ever since. You get spoiled really quick with an ebike when commuting at that speed and comfort compared to a regular bike.
mrgold35
2 months ago
Nice write up.

What made you decide on the Radwagon vs the Radcity or Radrover?

I added a suspension seatpost (Suntour SP12 NCX) and the Sunlite cloud-9 (12 X 11 size) to my Radrover and that really smoothed out the road for my commute.

The Radrover only has 7 gears and we max out also around 20-22 mph depending on the incline. I noticed I don't need to shift as much as I was expecting I would with PAS. I usually just downshift when coming to a stop just to help the motor out when I need to accelerate. It still feels like fun riding my bike to work (even at 22 degrees at 5:30am).
Dennis Reid
2 months ago
littlebuddha
Hi guys, my wife and I are looking for a second ebike to compliment our radwagon. The two that we have seen are the Radcity and the Surface 604 Rook. The pricing is actually not too different once you factor in that the shipping is free for the Surface 604 (+5% discount code) so I did some research on the features - here is what I found for a short comparison since I have not found one online. Not sure if I am missing anything crucial but despite the slightly higher price point - the Surface 604 models seem like better value despite the 130 dollar price difference once the various discounts have been applied due to the slightly higher quality components- especially the hydraulic brakes, the torque sensors and step through frame/color options?

Surface 604:
Frame -
comes in step through configuration + color options - which is great.
more of an integrated battery into the frame which I love
has chain guard + more reflective accents
integrated front and rear lights, compared to just the front for the RadCity
hydraulic 160mm brakes vs 180mm mechanical discs on the RadCity (has regen braking)
10 Speed 1x10 SRAM X5 vs 7 speed shimano on the Radcity
Slightly lighter at 57.5 vs 60.5lb weight for the RadCity
rear rack may not be compatible with easyfit yepp child seat like th RadCity which is a direct fit.

Electronics
3 year warranty on the frame, 1 year electronic vs 1 year warranty for the RadCity
500w (peak 750w) Geared Hub motor vs the more powerful 750w Direct Drive Hub motor on the RadCity
torque sensing setup vs cadence setup for the Radcity
Does not have throttle override (thumb) compared to the twist throttle for the RadCity
Has a smaller 10.6ah Samsung lipo vs 11.6ah Panasonic lipos for the RadCity
has higher (thinner) wheels - 15g front and 13g rear - compared to 12 gauge for Radcity
single button to turn everything on - auto shut off.

Other Considerations
Surface 604 website has 0% APR financing and can use Paypal + the 5% EBR discount
Radrover are having a 100 off promo for the first 75 orders of the Radcity.

Anything else important that I'm missing? The only other bike I am looking forward to is the Mate on indiegogo - seems like a cool little bike but not much in terms of details so keeping an eye on that one as well.

RadPower is having an Internet Monday Sale on Nov.21. No $175 shipping cost.

That being said, the Surface 604 Colt has more extended fenders and an enclosed chain guard that would be better for wet weather. I also like the adjustable handlebars for longer trips and carpel tunnel wrist issues.

Because I live in a hilly area, I think the 750w hub motor and 7 gears is a better way to go with the Rad City. I don't want to have to be changing gears all the time to get the equivalent with the 500w and 10 gears on the 604.

There is also a USB port on the left side of the Rad Display Monitor.

I was one of the first 75 pre-orders for the Rad City.
mrgold35
2 months ago
woodsusa
MrGold, 435 is for the 11.5ah the 52v 13.5ah is 465. I just ordered one last Sunday. It should be here next Tuesday.
Thanks for the clear up!

I'm hoping the battery upgrade will fit exactly like the old battery. I added a Luna Cycle cover; but, that doesn't look like it takes up too much additional space with the old battery.

I would like to hear about any performance and range boost with the new battery once you make your rounds with it. We had a wind storm move in yesterday with 25 mph head winds and 30-35 mph gust for my +6 mile ride home (and +500 feet in elevation gain). I was 100% charged at work and arrived home at 2 bars. The Radrover was between 500-740 watts the whole time. Might not of made it home if I lived +10 miles out.

A little extra range and power wouldn't hurt.
walawn
2 months ago
@MazzyScar This pack will give you more range at the same Ah, or you can add 2 more Ah for $30:

http://lunacycle.com/batteries/packs/52v/52v-pansonic-11-5ah-or-13-5ah-dolphin/

Plus, your Radrover will have better acceleration, torque, and top-speed. I did this to mine the first month and the controller and motor handles the increased voltage fine. The stock system is very overbuilt for the amperage and voltage that RPB chose to run through the system.
Jim Williamson
5 days ago

Your videos are great. I have been researching ebikes since February 2016.
Because of your videos, I ordered the RadRover yesterday. Very nice folks
at Rad Power Bikes.

Dustin Casper (GohanBurner)
4 weeks ago

my commute is only 2 miles, I am going to get one of these for
spring/summer

Marcin O
1 month ago

Shame you cant buy these here in UK

Josefwintzent Libot
2 months ago

can this be bought in the philippines?

Maine Explorer
2 months ago

Thanks for the great info. I just ordered a Rad Rover and told them your
videos were very helpful.

Gone TROPPO
2 months ago

wicked bike , thanks

Steven (Steven111)
2 months ago

I have a RadRover and put lil over 350 miles on it so far. I do street
riding, dirt trails, rock trails. Only problem I have ever had is chain
coming off going down hill while in a low gear. Besides that not one
problem. I would like to see grip lock outs as well.

MrMike47274
5 days ago

Steven My knees are starting to bother me some also. last year I ride my
first CENTURY and since then... well,,, I'm getting nervous. So,,,, in turn
I may need one of these for myself down the road. I love biking and hate to
think I may not be able to ride anymore. I'm glad you can get out still and
enjoy the outdoors. :)

Steven (Steven111)
5 days ago

I was donated the bike from "The Independence fund", they help out disabled
veterans. I have many problems from my knees to having massive migraine
headaches from multiple Traumatic brain injuries. If I over exert my self I
get these massive headaches. So with this bike I do what I can and when it
is too much I have the assist I need. This bike has open up my life from
just staying in my room.

MrMike47274
5 days ago

Steven Glad to hear you like these bikes. I'm really wanting to buy one for
my wife. She likes to ride with me. But do to aches and pains in her body,,
she doesn't have the stamina. So, our rides together are very short lived.

Ephesus RH
2 months ago

Im thinking of getting this for my commuting to school instead of car

babsisfish
2 months ago

Thanks to this bike I now expect more bang for my buck out of everything I
buy! Had a couple warranty issues that were immediately resolved by Cory. I
have both the rover and mini, both great bikes.

madogblue
3 months ago

Great video. I bought a Framed Alasken fat bike ,non electric and I love it

choski76
3 months ago

cables under yhe bottom bracket are vulnerable.

PonderDuke
3 months ago

Put on a gates belt drive and and Rohloff hub and you will have no problem
with the the stand in your gears. A real beach cruiser.

\\\\\\\\ \\
3 months ago

do you know if the bike could/is a coaster brake? i dont know if i trust
the brakes, specifically myself with handbrakes.

\\\\\\\\ \\
3 months ago

in this video the seat is up almost aligned with the handle bars, how low
can the seat go?

wjf213
3 months ago

Would a front hub motor help with riding in soft sand or other soft
terrain? Keep up the great work.

Mwhahaha
3 months ago

great bike but too much verbal diarrhea.

Yousuf A
3 months ago

how many miles can it go in one run???

NWforager
3 months ago

its rated at about 20 but depends on pedaling and terrain

Pete From OC
3 months ago

I have put about 500 miles with mine and still going strong without any
problems so far. I'm 5'11 and weight 270 lbs and this bike gets me through
all the steep hills around my neighborhood. If you weight more than 200lbs
don't waist time with any 36v 350w bike. I also have easy motion Evo 29er
with 36v 500w motor which cost twice the RadRover but does not come close
to RadRover. I also recommend RadMini which I also have that has same motor
but feels even more powerful due to its 20 × 4 tire size.

Taylor Guziewicz
3 months ago

You need to put that Bike on a Diet 😉

Paul Rhim
3 months ago

I noticed that you also had a Rad Mini on that trip. Would love to see
another review of that bike. Thanks for all the great videos!

Adam Samadi
3 months ago

wow really good video bro keep it up