Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Electric Bike Review
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Wellgo Platform Pedals Side Mounted Kickstand
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Downtube Mounted 48 Volt 14 Amp Hour Ebike Battery
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Large Lcd Display Button Pad Thumb Shifter
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Stitched Faux Leather Grips Twist Throttle
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Spring Suspension Fork With Integrated Led Light
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover 7 Speed Shimano Acera With Derailleur Guard
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Fully Potted Sealed Ebike Controller
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Alloy Chain Guide 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Cargo Accessories
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Waterproof Fremont Bags Reflective
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Optional Small Front Platform And Basket
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Rear Rack With Optional Fremont Pannier Bags
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover 2 Amp Ebike Charger
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Electric Bike Review
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Wellgo Platform Pedals Side Mounted Kickstand
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Downtube Mounted 48 Volt 14 Amp Hour Ebike Battery
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Large Lcd Display Button Pad Thumb Shifter
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Stitched Faux Leather Grips Twist Throttle
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Spring Suspension Fork With Integrated Led Light
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover 7 Speed Shimano Acera With Derailleur Guard
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Fully Potted Sealed Ebike Controller
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Alloy Chain Guide 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Cargo Accessories
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Waterproof Fremont Bags Reflective
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Optional Small Front Platform And Basket
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Rear Rack With Optional Fremont Pannier Bags
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radrover 2 Amp Ebike Charger

Summary

  • An affordable, powerful, electric fat bike with responsive 12-magnet pedal assist and twist-throttle on demand, available in two colors with lots of accessory options including fenders and racks
  • Only one frame size but the top tube is sloped and the shorter stem pairs nicely with the mid-rise handlebar for upright or forward body position and taller or shorter riders, sturdy oversized pedals
  • Spring suspension fork with compression clicker, lockout, and preload adjust, the fat tires offer a good PSI range for improved comfort and managing soft terrain like sand and snow, optional suspension seat post
  • Integrated headlight but the back light runs on independent AAA batteries and could get blocked by your coat or a rear rack bag, nice adjustable kickstand, upgraded battery pack with locked-off mode, great price with optional Velofix assembly and delivery

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Rad Power Bikes

Model:

RadRover

Price:

$1,499

Body Position:

Forward, Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Europe, Canada

Model Year:

2018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

66.5 lbs (30.16 kg) (275 lbs With Flat Bed)

Battery Weight:

7.7 lbs (3.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

13 lbs (5.89 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

18 in (45.72 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

18" Seat Tube, 30.5" Stand Over Height, 22.5" Reach, 28.5" Width, 74.5" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black, Gloss White

Frame Fork Details:

RST Spring Suspension, 100 mm Travel, Compression Adjust with Lockout, Preload Adjust, 135 mm Hub Spacing, 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

170 mm Hub Spacing, 12 mm Threaded Axle with 10 mm Flats, Nuts

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Front Rack Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Acera Derailleur, MF-TZ31 MegaRange Freewheel 14-34T Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano SIS Index Thumb Shifter on Right

Cranks:

Prowheel, Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 42T Chainring, Alloy Chain Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform with Reflectors, CrMo Axle, Black

Headset:

VP, Semi-Integrated, Sealed Cartridge, 1-1/8" Straight

Stem:

Promax, 50 mm Length, 30º Angle, 15 mm Rise, Two 10 mm Spacers, One 20 mm Spacer

Handlebar:

Promax, Mid-Rise, Aluminum Alloy, 700 mm Width

Brake Details:

Tektro Aries Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Four-Finger Tektro Levers with Rubberized Edges and Bell on Left and Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Ergonomic, Stitched Imitation Leather, Brown

Saddle:

Velo Plush with Lifting Handle, Brown

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 80 mm Width, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 12 Gauge, Silver with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda Juggernaut, 26" x 4" (98-559)

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

5 to 30 PSI, 0.4 to 2.1 BAR, 40 to 210 Kpa

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Rear-Mount Adjustable Kickstand, Steel Derailleur Guard, Integrated Spanninga Axendo 60 LED Headlight, Independent Seat Post Mounted LED Backlight (Two AAA Batteries), Neoprene Slap Guard, Optional Rear Rack with Yepp! Window, Optional Plastic Fenders (102 mm Width), Optional Front Rack, Optional Small Basket, Optional Large Basket, Optional Platform, Optional Small Pannier (Fremont Bag), Optional RAD Backlight, Optional SR Suntour NCX Seat Post Suspension, Optional RAM Torque Handlebar Phone Mount X

Other:

Locking Removable Downtube-Mounted Battery Pack, 1.1 lb 2 Amp Charger, Fully Potted Motor Controller, Stainless Steel Torque Arm, 275 lb Maximum Weight Rating

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang, Fat Tire Specific

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung 18650 35E

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

14 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

672 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium NCA (LiNiCoAlO2)

Charge Time:

6 hours

Estimated Min Range:

22 miles (35 km)

Estimated Max Range:

42 miles (68 km)

Display Type:

Rad Power Bikes Branded King Meter SWLCD, Fixed, Adjustable-Angle, Backlit, Color LCD

Readouts:

Battery Indicator (5 Bars), Trip Meter, Odometer, Current Speed, Average Speed, Max Speed, Pedal Assist Level (0-5 as Eco, Std, Power, Speed), Light Icon, Motor Power Watts

Display Accessories:

Independent Control Pad and Throttle On/Off Button on Right (Buttons: Up, Mode, Down), Hold Up for Speed Display Mode, Hold Down for Walk Mode, Hold Mode and Up for Lights, Hold Up and Down for Settings Menu, 5-Volt 1 Amp USB Type A Port at Base of Display

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (12-Magnet Cadence Sensor)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The RadRover is a special electric bike to me because it has reached the masses by being affordable, fun, and well-supported. Rad Power Bikes sells direct, meaning that you have to take a leap of faith when purchasing online vs. trying in person and getting help from a local electric bike shop… unless you live in or near Seattle Washington where their headquarters and factory store are located. What makes this and other RPB ebikes work is the relatively low price point of $1,499, solid one-year comprehensive warranty, and attentive online and phone support. The 2018 RadRover covered in this review is their second generation offering, meaning that most of the bugs have been ironed out and a lot of the design and components have been refined or enhanced. It’s a solid product in my opinion, one that is capable and versatile. The larger 26″ x 4″ fat tires allow it to romp across dirt trails, cushion bumpy streets, and even manage soft sandy or snowy environments if you lower the pressure around 5 to 10 PSI… I have actually tested this out with the help of a resort called Cabo Adventures in Cabo San Lucas Mexico in 2016, and you can watch the video here! Just because it has big tires doesn’t mean that it’s not capable and fun on smooth pavement, especially if you raise the PSI around 20 to 30, you definitely hear the rubber knobs and the enlarged contact patch produces some drag which lowers efficiency, but that also provides some stability. One thing I noticed right away about this second generation of RadRovers is that they use a shorter steeper stem and mid-rise handlebar which can be adjusted forward for increased reach if you’re taller or prefer a sporty body position or upright if you like comfort or aren’t able to reach as far. This design and hardware change, coupled with three spacers and the adjustable seat post height, provides a range of fit options even though the frame comes in just one size. Notice the sloped top tube and consider the 26″ wheels which lower the frame a little compared to 27.5″ or 29″ (but not much since the tires are so fat). I love the updated colors and paint job, which looks sporty. The frame is a hydroformed Aluminum alloy with reinforced connector points at the head tube and seat tube and a flattened section where the battery mounts, making it sturdier and lowering the battery slightly. I’ve praised the bike a lot so far, but there are trade-offs that had to be made in order to keep the price low and those include heavier weight of ~66.5 lbs because of a spring suspension fork which uses a more basic 9 mm skewer and does not have a tapered steering column (which would expand the options for upgrading to an air fork down the road), the somewhat limited 7-speed drivetrain (vs. 9, 10, or 11 on many competing models), a stand-alone rear light that attaches to the seat post vs. the frame or back end of the rack (unless you’re in Europe and get the RadRhino model which does have a nicer light on the rack), mechanical disc brakes vs. hydraulic, and a simple cadence sensor vs. torque or multi-sensor.

Now, I don’t want to imply that cadence sensors are bad… Rad Power Bikes had moved to a higher resolution 12-magnet sensor for 2018 models that will start and stop faster. It’s just not as dynamic as a torque sensor and can produce an on/off experience along with delays that aren’t ideal for technical off-road riding. Starting might not be as fast, but you can always override and stop the motor by pulling either brake lever, because they both have motor inhibitor switches. Given that the motor used here is a fat-bike specific 750 watt part from Bafang, it’s great to have an override. The motor is compact and slightly lighter than the gearless direct drive hub motor used on the RadWagon and RadCity models, but it’s also louder because it uses three planetary reduction gears to generate power. I really like this motor because it’s extra wide, providing better spoke bracing support, and I like that Rad Power Bikes has opted for thicker 12 gauge spokes and even made them black to blend in with the motor casing and rims. The rims themselves seem alright, but don’t feature punched out holes to reduce weight and provide some liner flex like the fancier fat e-bikes I’ve seen lately. Also, the motor power cable is a bit exposed, protruding from the right axle. You really don’t want to bend or cut this cable because it could create inconsistent response or even stop working… so it’s nice to see that Rad Power Bikes has added a derailleur guard that also surrounds the power cable. One one of the demo bikes I was filming, you could see where this guard had been scraped up when a bike tipped or got pushed against another bike or wall. The chain is also well-protected on this bike because there’s a pair of Aluminum alloy plates on the chainring which reduce drops and keep your pant leg from getting greasy or snagged. I really like this sort of attention to detail and appreciate that even though you get a more limited number of gears, the lowest gear is extra low for easier climbing (which could come in handy if your battery runs out) and that the derailleur is two steps up from base level in the Shimano line, the Acera part should hold true longer between tuneups.

Compared to the first generation of Rad Power Bikes, the new battery pack offers ~20% higher capacity and only weighs 0.5 lbs more! So, hopefully you won’t run out of juice on longer rides! The new pack is slimmer, mounts to the frame on a track that bolts down in three places for added strength, and can still be charged on or off the frame (making it convenient for commuting and easier to care for in extreme heat or cold weather). Considering just how large and heavy the RadRover is, I could see myself storing the bike outside or in a shed and then bringing the battery into a neutral, dry location for safe keeping. If you know it’s very cold out, keep the battery warm before taking a ride because otherwise the cells won’t last as long. If you plan to store the pack for more than a month without using it, I have heard that keeping it around 50% full can be easier on the Lithium-ion cells. The actual cells inside are Samsung 18650 size 35E high energy density. It impressed me to discover that this 48 volt 14 amp hour pack can be replaced for just $499, and I think that’s partially because the controller unit is made separate. This reduces complexity, heat exposure, and makes fixes easier… but it doesn’t look quite as good. Even though the RadRover is a purpose-built electric bicycle, the battery and controller box are still external… and it’s not as efficient or effective at climbing as some of the new mid-drives, or as balanced. All things considered, I feel that weight is still distributed well, and I love that little things like a neoprene slap guard, larger wider pedals, and bottle cage bosses have all been added to make the experience as good as it can be.

Operating the bike is relatively simple but improved from earlier designs because of the new battery. Before, once you had charged the pack, you would press a silver circle button to activate the battery… and anyone could do this, even when the bike was parked at a rack. Because the RadRover has a throttle that can be used at standstill, people could then tamper with the display and motor even when the bike was locked (if you left the battery on the bike). The new battery solves this, and prevents accidental drops, by requiring you to lock the battery to the frame in an off or on mode. So now, you cannot start riding until the pack is locked in place and people cannot tamper with it if you locked it in the off position! To activate the display, just hold the Mode button in the middle of the rubberized control pad (near the left grip) and it blinks to life. This display is not removable, but it does swivel forward and back just enough to reduce glare. It’s large, which makes it easy to read from a distance, and it shows your battery level, trip stats, speed, and assist level 0-5. If you press the mode button, it cycles from trip distance to total distance (odometer), and if you hold the up arrow it will cycle from current speed to average speed and max speed. For those who want to mess around with settings, hold the up and down arrow keys simultaneously, and for those dark riding moments (or to be extra safe during the daytime) just hold up and mode simultaneously to activate the headlight. The final tip I have is that you can hold the down arrow while the bike is in assist levels 1-5 to activate walk mode, which can be very handy if you have to walk a difficult section of trail, cross a non-bikeable area with a loaded rack, or get a flat tire. I love that in addition to the range of power levels that you can ride with, the throttle offers full power at all times. This is nice for saving energy but still having access to quick bursts of power for climbing or catching up to friends. And, the throttle can be completely shut off if you want, just press the black toggle button near the right grip. This is very useful when mounting the bike, walking it, or picking it up. Of course, I recommend always disabling the bike completely by turning it off to be extra safe when handling. I should also mention that the charger for all Rad Power Bikes is just 1.1 lbs and offers a standard 2 Amps output for ~6 hour charging from empty. It’s not the fanciest thing in the world but it gets the job done without being too bulky and I like that the charging port on the battery is positioned out of the way of the crank arms so it won’t get snagged or bent as easily.

I always get excited by products that look great, offer neat accessories, and fit into my budget. I have more fun with bicycles that I’m not super paranoid about damaging or getting stolen when they cost less… and I think all of this applies to the RadRover. It’s a well-designed, well-priced, and comfortable electric bike that makes smart compromises and is supported by a friendly growing team. There are other, even less expensive, electric fat bikes out there, but they just aren’t offering the full package the way that I feel Rad Power Bikes is. Honestly, I’m not getting special treatment from these guys, I have just seen them growing and have heard good things from real customers. I see the first generation of RadRovers all over the place and they seem to be holding up well. There are no hidden costs like $200 shipping or 30 day warranty tricks, in fact shipping is free! For those who want a bit more help with assembly, fitting, and a 30-day tuneup, Rad Power Bikes has partnered with Velofix and charges just $100. This is well worth the money in my opinion, because ebikes come shipped with lots of cardboard and tend to be ridden further and faster than regular bicycles, so it’s good to have them adjusted correctly to begin. If I were getting this product for myself, I’d definitely consider the suspension seat post because my back and neck are sensitive. I love the new front rack design (which is compatible across the entire range of models) because it mounts directly to the head tube and frame vs. the fork which would interfere with steering and be more difficult to load. The rear rack isn’t perfect, but it’s quite capable and looks nice. The extra-wide plastic fenders are a big win because they are guaranteed to fit and will keep you dry and clean when riding in mud or wet conditions like we saw in Seattle for this review. I love how the black frame blends perfectly with the black suspension fork and all of the accessories and wires… but the white could be safer in dark conditions, so cars can see you from the side easier. Big thanks to Rad Power Bikes for partnering with me on this post and inviting me out to their headquarters in Seattle to compare the different models back to back. I got to go very deep and showcase how the different motors fit and noticed that all of the bikes have stainless steel torque arms to reinforce the frame and handle the extra power. I loved riding on hilly terrain, testing stability, and getting to splash around through some puddles ;)

Pros:

  • Fat 4″ tires, a 100 mm spring suspension fork, adjustable-angle stem, and new mid-rise handlebar with shorter stem work together to provide more comfort than the first generation RadRover, you can achieve an upright body position and the Velo Plush saddle and ergonomic grips further this experience
  • Great aesthetics, the new hydroformed Aluminum alloy frame is smooth, thicker near the head tube for strength, and stepped in and flattened out where the battery mounts which provides a sturdier surface
  • Even though the battery and control box are mounted externally, this is a purpose-built electric bike with internally routed cables and wires, note the stainless steel torque arm on the rear left dropout for added frame strength
  • Available in two refined colors with nicer accents, some of the older RadRovers looked a lot simpler but it has always been nice to choose from a dark and light color because the white is going to be more visible at night and that could make it safer
  • Safety is a big consideration for me as a cyclist who rides in the city occasionally, so I love that Rad Power Bikes has been including lights and that the new headlight is extra bright and aimable
  • It’s cool that Rad Power Bikes has expanded to Europe and Canada, and specced their motor down from 750 watts to 500 watts in order to comply, they offer free shipping and in the US are partnering with Velofix for assembly and delivery for an additional $100
  • I like the sturdy Wellgo platform pedals, alloy chain guide, and steel derailleur guard on this bike because it means you won’t slip off as easily, won’t have the chain dropping, and can keep the sensitive shifter parts and motor power cable from getting bent or snagged if the bike tips or is parked in a crowded rack
  • The new battery design is awesome, it’s slimmer, can be locked to the frame in an off position to prevent tampering with the display, can be charged on or off the bike, is using energy dense Samsung 35E cells that take up less space and weigh less, and it’s only $499 to replace because the controller unit is separate
  • In addition to the bottle cage bosses that were added along the downtube, this bike has tons of optional accessories that look great and provide massive utility such as wide plastic fenders, a rear rack with reflective pannier bags, a front platform rack and basket, a phone mount, and a suspension seat post upgrade
  • The display is large and easy to read, it angles slightly to help you reduce glare, and I love that it has a standard sized USB port on the bottom so you can maintain a phone or other portable electronics as you ride, interacting with the display is easy and safe because the button pad is mounted within reach of the left grip
  • Rad Power Bikes has upgraded to high-resolution 12-magnet cadence sensors for all of their second generation models and this makes starting and stopping more predictable, I love that they also included motor inhibitors on both brake levers and that you can disable the throttle with the on/off toggle button near the right grip
  • The kickstand is adjustable, has a wide platform at the bottom to keep it from sinking in to soft terrain, and it works well if you’re loading the bike with gear, I love that the front rack is frame-mounted so it won’t interfere with steering or tip the bike sideways when parked like fork mounted racks
  • Both wheels are built with thicker 12 gauge spokes for increased durability and weight capacity on the bike, the official max weight rating is 275 pounds (~125 kilograms)
  • The geared hub motor is quite zippy and powerful, moreso than the RadWagon and RadCity models which use a gearless hub motor… so the geared motor doesn’t offer regeneration and it does produce some more noise, but it’s torquey enough to power through snow and soft sand if you lower the tire PSI to the 5-10 range

Cons:

  • Only one frame size for the RadRover at this time but that’s part of what keeps the price down, the top tube is sloped to lower stand-over height and the adjustable seat post and stem provide a range of fit options
  • It’s nice to have lights but the rear one is a bit more basic and cheap, it runs on two AAA batteries vs. being wired in and this makes for extra steps turning on/off and makes it easier to misplace or have stolen because it’s not mounted as permanently, I do like that it has a flash mode vs. just solid, the European RadRhino comes with an integrated tail light because that’s a law there
  • I’m not a huge fan of the big thumb shifter design because it seems like I have to stretch my right hand to reach it and the gears don’t shift as quickly or crisply, but the team at RPB told me this part was chosen to make room for their throttle on/off switch which is a great safety feature… so I’m okay with it
  • The 180 mm mechanical disc brakes worked well during my ride test but I definitely prefer hydraulic because the levers are easier to pull and can be reach-adjusted for small and large hands, this is one part on the bike that seems to be a compromise in order to keep the price lower
  • One consideration with the spring fork is that it’s heavier than an air fork and uses a straight steering post vs. tapered along with a 9 mm skewer vs. 15 mm thru-axle which means it’s not as stiff and sturdy or upgradeable as many of the more expensive products out there, at least it has compression lockout and preload adjust though
  • The optional rear rack is great for hauling gear but if you add a trunk bag on top, it could block the seat post mounted light (so consider moving it or getting another light for the back of the rack) and it seems like this rack would limit how low you could position the saddle before it collides, this is not the case with the RadCity and RadWagon models which have integrated racks that are wider so the saddle can go low even with gear
  • The display is large and easy to read but not removable, so it could take extra weather wear and possibly get scratched at a bike rack or if the bike gets crashed but it seems well protected in the lower section of the mid-rise handlebars

Resources:

More Rad Power Bikes Reviews

Rad Power Bikes RadBurro Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordably priced, heavy-duty, utility style electric bike with four bed options including flat, truck bed with sides, hot/cold insulated box, and covered pedicab passenger seat. Borrows components and hardware from mopeds and motorcycles for added strength and durability, tough 17”…...

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An approachable, comfortable, and relatively affordable, city style electric bicycle that comes in one color and one frame size, swept-back handlebars and adjustable stem improve fit range. Ready for all sorts of ride conditions and applications with full-coverage plastic fenders, LED lights,…...

Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A compact, fat tire electric bike that folds to save space, the suspension fork and larger 4-inch wide tires add comfort and allow it to ride on soft sand and snow if you lower the tire pressure, or you can lockout the fork and raise pressure for efficiency on pavement. Only available in one frame size for now, but the handlebar height is adjustable along…...

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordable, feature-rich, city style electric bike that comes in two sizes, two colors, and offers great adjustment in the stem and handlebar position for comfortable upright body position. Responsive 12-magnet cadence sensor provides faster starts and stops, both brake levers have motor inhibitors,…...

Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordable, feature-rich, electric cargo bike with cadence sensing pedal assist and throttle on demand operation, available in one frame size with adjustable bars and two color options. Gearless direct-drive hub motor is heavier but super quiet, durable, and capable of regenerative braking…...

2017 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A funky miniaturized folding fat tire bike with two cargo racks! Truly capable of sand and snow riding, LED lights guide and keep you safe, the bike offers assist and throttle drive modes. Basic seven speed drivetrain from Shimano, plastic chain guide keeps things on track, metal derailleur…...

2017 Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A value priced but featured packed urban commuter style electric bike with everything from fenders, to LED lights, rear carry rack and regenerative braking. Solid driving and braking performance with a 750 watt gearless hub motor and 180 mm…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Strikes an excellent balance delivering high power with mid-level components for a reasonable price, you get throttle and pedal assist with an on/off on the throttle! solid one year warranty for the original owner, flat rate $175 shipping in the US. Even though the battery and controller box are bolted on vs. integrated into the frame,…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A folding fat tire electric bike with front and rear cargo racks and double-tube frame for improved strength (good option for larger riders). Powerful 750 watt internally geared fat-bike specific motor paired with a large 48 volt 11.6…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Affordable, feature rich cargo style electric bike with a stiffer and lighter frame because it's not quite as long as some others. Offers five levels of pedal assist, throttle mode and throttle override as well as regenerative…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An Indiegogo funded electric fatbike with a powerful 500 watt motor, ample 48 volt battery and seven speed drivetrain. Comfortable saddle, ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout, two color choices but only one…...


Marty
2 months ago

On the previous Radrover, you could set the display so as to reach 25mph. Do you know if this option is still possible on the 2018 bike?

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Marty, I think the display menus and settings are the same as before. I heard something about raising the speed to ~23 mph when we were talking about the 2018 models so I would guess that yes, you probably can raise the speed a bit through the menu system. I did not test this and cannot say for sure but perhaps someone else will chime in or you could ask in the EBR Rad Forums here.

Reply
Marty
2 months ago

Thank you! Happy holidays!

Vin R
1 month ago

I just received my 2018 Rover and I can confirm that it’ll let you max it out at 25 mph for pedal assist and throttle. You probably wont want to go much faster than that though as the gearing has you peddling pretty fast at that point.

Reply
Court Rye
1 month ago

Thanks for the feedback Vin! I appreciate your perspective and agree that it can be difficult to go faster than 25 mph based on the gearing (and weight/friction) of this model. Hope you’re enjoying it :)

Dennis Stetter
2 months ago

You mention 275Lbs total weight, so since the bike is 65lbs, is it 210 lbs recommended max rider/cargo weight for the bike? Is that the same for the 2017 models?

I assume the bike can support more, but I would think range is impacted as weight goes up.

Great review,
Dennis

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Dennis! That’s a great question… I’ll ask Rad Power Bikes and get back to you but my impression is that the bike can support up to 275 lbs including the rider and cargo but not including the weight of the bike itself. So basically, if you weigh 265 lbs and put 10 lbs on the rear rack… you should be good! And yeah, thanks! I did my best to present the bikes thoroughly and fairly, with a bit of fun, and I suppose that climbing ability and range would be impacted by increased weight ;)

Reply
Paul Allison
2 months ago

How many miles can you go before you have to charge it? Also, if you pedal the bike, does it recharge the battery?

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Paul! The range depends on many factors such as rider weight + gear, tire pressure, inclines, and weather (wind and rain in particular). If it’s very cold out, the battery won’t go as far. A complete refill will probably take about six hours on this ebike because of the higher capacity and average two-Amp charger. This particular Rad Power Bike does not offer regenerative braking but the RadCity and RadWagon models do. You can learn more about pedaling to generate energy from this video. I hope this helps!

Reply
Marty
1 month ago

Hey Court, one more question. I noticed they make a European model that features a built in tail/break light. Any idea why they wouldn’t offer this to us? I mean it’s an American company, why wouldn’t we be afforded the same features? I see this as a very important and safe option.

Reply
Court Rye
1 month ago

I like those options too… I think Rad Power Bikes included them in Europe because of legal requirements. Maybe they could start offering this stuff as a stock option for the RadRover in the future? It’s cool that they at least have the rear rack, maybe you could ask about a rear light or other upgrades if you contact them. I hope this helps :)

Reply
Marty
1 month ago

Thank Court! I actually ask them if it was possible to have the 2017 handle bars on the 2018 model, and they said no. So I can’t see that happening. I’m assuming they are shipped from overseas and built one way, and that’s what you get. Which is okay too. I’ve followed their company from the beginning and can’t wait to finally own their bike! They seem like great people!

Luke
4 weeks ago

Hello!

Thanks for all of the great reviews. I’m looking to get my first electric bike and I’m torn between the RadRover Electric Fat Bike and the Juiced CrossCurrent S.

I live in Austin, TX, so it will be a lot of city biking, but I will be riding on bike trails, paved and not paved. Most I would do in a day would be about 20 miles round trip, so range shouldn’t be a huge issue for me. I like the Juiced Bike because it seems like you get a lot of bang for your buck. The RadRover is intriguing because of the fat tires and overall build.

Do you all have any thoughts on what might be best for my situation?

Thanks in advance!

Reply
Court Rye
4 weeks ago

Hi Luke! I used to live in Austin, that’s where Electric Bike Review started :D

Anyway, those are two very different ebikes, but both offer great value. If you are okay with the extra weight, the RadRover will probably be more comfortable and fun to play with… but if you live up stairs, expect to have to fix flat tires, are wanting to ride faster on the streets etc. then the Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S is going to take the lead. My ride style is more sporty and fast on road, so I’d tend to lean that direction… also for convenience at the bike rack etc. but I also love mountain biking and there are some fun spots near Zilker Park, like back behind Zilker Springs etc. that would be great to explore. I think you’ll be happy with either product to be honest. Perhaps there’s someone selling a used RadRover on Craigslist that you can test ride before you make a final decision. Also, check out Rocket Electrics as they have bikes you can test ride to see what the CrossCurrent S might feel like (or if you like one of their bikes even better). Good luck!

Reply
patrick obrien
2 weeks ago

I love your reviews have not got a ebike yet but you are making it easy with your awesome reviews!

Reply
Court Rye
2 weeks ago

Awesome! Thanks for the positive feedback Patrick, we’re doing our best to help you out. I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the space ;)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

mrgold35
3 days ago

All Rad Power bikes usually weight around the same at +62 lbs and not geared for very fast pedaling without some level of power assist from PAS and/or throttle. You won't get up to the same speeds like a lighter pedal bike on the same level terrain. Radmini is great for compact size if you need to transport or store in limited spaces, heavy load hauling up to 275lbs total weight, all terrain capabilities, all weather capabilities, leveling out hills, and negating head winds.

Any type of headwind or incline makes these heavy bikes 2X-3X more difficult to pedal at speed without power. I once ran out of power about 1/2 mile from home (headwind of +15 mph and an incline) and it 2-3 mph was my max speed. I just had to do that once to realize never ever again.

You can still ride these bikes without power at PAS 0 or PAS level 1 with very minimal assist. You still have the full power 750w throttle available if you need a quick boost to get across intersections or up small inclines as needed.

mrgold35
5 days ago

I have two 2016 Radrover 4" fat tire bikes with +3800 miles between them with work and trail riding. I'm 6'3", 270 lbs, and about 70-75 lbs for the Radrover with all accessories (62 lbs for Radrover, rack, rack bag, lights, suspension seat post, tools, etc...). My 13 mile round-trip work commute elevation change goes from 4900ft at work to 5450ft for my home. Most Radrover ebikes all weigh about the same. Not going to save that much overall weight with a radcity, radmini, or radrover (radwagon weights the most).

The Radrover has the same 750 watt max power like the other Rad power bikes. I've never felt the Radrover was underpowered on the steepest part of my commute. Most riders on pedal bikes walk their bikes up the steepest part or they pedal 2-4 mph max. I can ride up the same steep section in PAS 3 (375 watts) or PAS 4 (550 watts) with my speed between 10-17 mph (depends on how energetic I am after work or how stiff the head wind).

I haven't tried Rad Power bikes other types of ebikes with the same 750w power. Maybe the 2X extra wide 4" rear hub motor might help put down more TQ when needed compared to other Rad bikes with thinner motors? My wife is 4'11" and 130 lbs and she flies up the same hill in PAS 3 while I need PAS 4, more pedalling, and a touch of full 750w throttle every once in a while to keep up with her.

The things I love about the Radrover 4" fat tires are:
- full 750 watt throttle at any PAS level, throttle comes in handy getting across intersections in a hurry
- fat tires are really smooth on any type of pavement, sidewalks, curbs, hard packed dirt, sandy trails, and rocky trails, very easy to transition to road, dirt, sand, mud, etc... without missing a beat
- comfortable upright riding position
- it can haul some weight and gear, max limit is 290 lbs for the Radrover
- inexpensive, I was able to get two radrovers+Saris platform rack for the average price of one mid-drive
- easy to work on, easy to upgrade, easy to ride

Mike Nemeth
2 weeks ago

I purchased some black leather handlebar grips from Rad Power Bikes. Comes in brown leather, black leather and black rubber. $25.00 even. No shipping or tax. Very nice. Fit exactly except for the plug on the left side. I had a spare that was narrower. Also did the rack update.

https://www.radpowerbikes.com/collections/replacement-parts/products/handlebar-grips?variant=24749941313

PCDoctorUSA
3 weeks ago

I've enjoyed reading this thread as I hope to make my first ebike purchase in the coming months. My opinion is that ebike manufacturers should require a LBS wanting to be a dealer of their bikes to perform warranty service on their bikes regardless of where it was purchased. Now, I'm assuming that the manufacturer has an agreed reimbursement schedule with their dealers. If there is no schedule or written reimbursement terms then as a LBS I wouldn't sell the bike. I think the manufacturer also has a responsibility to refrain from selling their bikes direct to the public at less than MSRP, or at all, to protect their dealers. A manufacturer should also not make their bikes available to online dealers or big box stores for less than the LBS can buy them for. If I'm a LBS dealer for your brand, and you make the same bikes I'm selling available to Here-Today-Gone-Tomorrow-Bikes.com for less than what you're selling them to me for, I can guarantee you I'm going to drop your brand. Now, if the online dealer or another LBS dealer wants to discount the retail price to their customers that's their business. For the record, I'm very pro-LBS but there's a limit to my loyalty. The ebike dealers here on O'ahu that sell known ebike brands have starting prices of $2500 for something comparable to a Juiced CrossCurrent. The local Trek and Specialized dealers have their budget ebike offerings starting at $3k. There's one shop that sells some unbranded stuff under $2k, but I wouldn't touch it. To some, those prices may seem fine, but when the budget for your first ebike is max'd out at $2k, those prices are prohibitive. When you question why their price is HUNDREDS more than a LBS on the Mainland, they'll all say, "Well, we have to ship it here." Something tells me there were a lot of other goods on the container ship from CA than the half-dozen ebikes on your showroom floor. Yes, I can order an ebike online for A LOT cheaper than something comparable from any of the O'ahu LBSs until I get to that "Calculate Shipping" portion of the web form. It's either, "Shipping is not available to your area" or I get slapped with an outrageous shipping charge like Rad Power Bikes who wants $450 to ship a Rad Rover. Fortunately, there are a few vendors who don't view Hawaii as Antarctica and their shipping charges are much more reasonable. E-Glide Electric Bikes charges $175 and Voltbikes charges an additional $70 on top of their normal flat shipping rate. I think Juiced was $190, but don't quote me on that. Now, I've found a few offerings that inclusive of shipping stay below my $2k budget, but what if need service whether under warranty or not. Both E-Glide and Voltbike state in their warranty if they can't fix it by sending you a replacement part or talking you through it over the phone then they'll work with a LBS in your area to get it resolved. From E-Glidebike, "It rarely happens, but sometimes issues can arise during shipping. If any parts happen to be damaged during shipping, E-Glide will send a replacement part at our expense and will work with you or the bike shop of your choice to fix the issue. If the issue cannot be fixed, E-Glide will exchange the bicycle. For warranty issues, E-Glide will cover the cost of labor involved handling the warranty service within a 30-day period after delivery. We will work with, and pay directly, your local bike shop of choice. After the 30-day free repair labor period, the owner will be responsible for labor costs associated with warranty replacements." The question then becomes, can I find a LBS willing to work with E-Glide in such warranty matters, and is there a LBS that will work on ebikes they didn't sell for non-warranty issues? That's what I'm working on finding out right now. Regardless of what I discover, I think for me the choice is to go with a company who has a track record of making a valid effort at satisfying their customers post-sale. I may not find a LBS willing to work on an ebike they don't sell, but if the company that sold me the bike will send me the part and a link to a YouTube video that will walk me through the process of replacing it than I should be good to go. Personally and professionally, I think any LBS that turns away a customer because of the "you didn't buy it from me" attitude loses a potential future customer. Just my 2-cents.

bob armani
4 weeks ago
bluegoatwoods
4 weeks ago

Hello, all.

I'm a recent buyer of two e-bikes from Rad Power bikes of Seattle. One "Rad Rover" and one "Rad Mini". Purchased them in Dec, 17. I've got about a hundred miles on the Rover and about 50 miles on the Mini. And I'm highly impressed with both.

I guess I was inclined to write here some of my impressions of the strengths and weaknesses of these bikes. In the hope of helping someone who's considering an e-bike but hasn't yet chosen which one. But I don't suppose those folks will be looking for that info in an 'intro' thread. So instead I'll try to give you folks some notion of just what sort of rider I am. That might give you some notion of the life that my bikes will lead.

And.....since I am capable of being fairly long-winded and cheerfully self-appreciative.....I'll start at the beginning.

I'm a lifelong bicyclist. For a few years there, fresh out of high school, I didn't own one and it didn't occur to me that I might want to ride one. But I got lucky; my market turned to mush and the career that I'd been starting up crashed. Out of sheer desperation I went to the west coast and got a job as a bicycle messenger.

It was a blast. And I was also very impressed with my ability to get around quickly using a mode of transport that was obviously much more healthy than four wheels. I haven't been without a bicycle since.

That would have been in the range of 35 years ago now. Sometimes the need to make a living has limited those riding miles. After the bike messenger gig, that is. That only lasted a few years. It was fun but it was a dirt poor living. I'm not even all that acquisitive. But I needed to make at least a bit more than minimum wage equivalent. (Big city traffic was getting on my nerves, too.) But... anyway... I was still riding some even when I had less time for it and there can be no doubt that it's helped me keep my health.

About 30 years ago now I started raising a family and I've stayed in the same spot since. This is in Illinois, roughly half-way between Chicago and St Louis. We live on a bluff. The highest point is about 200 feet in elevation over the commercial district below that we deal with mostly. But I don't live at the highest point. I live about 50 feet below. And the road does go through the highest point. So I've been dealing with pretty serious hills the whole time. In both directions. Not complaining; it was a wonderful place to raise my kids. But my bikes, and I, haven't had it exactly easy. I do still drive sometimes, of course. But I've always been pretty good about going on two wheels unless four was absolutely necessary. I haven't taken the easy way all that often.

My kids are good with a bicycle, too. I made sure that they rode. And they did become skilled at it. But I might have burnt them out. As adults two of them simply refuse...a pity.....and one talks about maybe getting a bike together and riding it. But she doesn't seem to get around to it. Perhaps that hill killed the fun for them? But there wasn't any choice. Ya gotta work with what ya got. E-bikes might have helped, though. But they were more primitive and less available then.

About ten years ago now I started messing with those 2 cycle gasoline motors that mount on a bicycle. It's possible that I knew intuitively that the day would come when I just couldn't pedal quite as strong as I was accustomed to. Maybe, maybe not. At the time I merely thought that a moped on-the-cheap sounded like fun. And the first one, too, was really meant for my wife. Who is no fan of the pedal bicycle. But those bicycle/gasoline motor combos are finicky and she failed completely. So I rode that one plus built another that was more my size. They were good. But they just weren't quite good enough. You'd get one all 'tuned in' to the point where you'd actually get along nicely for a while. Then something would go out of kilter. Getting that back in line puts something else out of place. You find yourself tearing your hair out and not feeling quite sure that you'll make it to work. Or home. But you finally get everything working well again. Then the magneto dies. Quickly and completely. They're cheap and not hard to swap. But it gets frustrating. Better components are available. But the price skyrockets.

So about six or seven years ago I tried out my first E-bike. It was a Currie E-Zip Trailz. The bike wasn't bad. Though the drive-train was a bit clumsy, I guess. Those SLA batteries really did stink, though. One trouble I had was that I'd charge those batteries and have range that was certainly good enough. Other times I'd charge those batteries, apparently no differently than before, and then find myself pushing that heavy bike up the hill. I've never been able to account for just why the full charge would sometimes seem to be so much less than other times. Plus the batteries needed to be replaced more often than one would have hoped. There were Lithium Ion batts, and I think a few other chemistries, available. But I was a bit reluctant to put any real money into it only to find, I feared, that maybe they weren't even enough. (I no longer have such fears, by the way. Lithium Ion is just fine.)

My wife and kids, by the way, really did enjoy that bike. My wife sometimes frightened me with her recklessness. And she's not gentle with a bike either. So I found that bike suffering wear and tear that I would never put on a machine I loved. I probably could have lived with that and simply maintained the bike a bit more strictly than I'd have needed to on my own. But after only a couple of years I noticed that the motor was growing louder and giving less torque. So I knew it was over and I gave up on that bike. Just like the gasoline motors; good but not good enough. Nice frame, though. I kept that around for a few years hoping to find some use for it. Nothing came of that. But that front fork got some more life on other bikes.

So I took another stab at the gasoline motors. I was getting better at it and my last bike was getting into the range of having some real style and some actual strength. For a while both I and one daughter used those as work commuters. She did well. I remember one time coming home and finding her bike sitting on the patio with the rear wheel completely dis-assembled. I went inside and found her stretched out on the sofa, all-but-dead to the world, with her arms folded up toward her face covered nearly to the elbows in grease.

I woke her up and asked, "What's wrong with your bike?"

"Nothing's really wrong. It just felt like the rear wheel bearings could use some adjustment. But after I got it all apart I realized that you had the cone wrenches."

She realized, of course, that she needed to wait for me. Her job at that time was intense physical labor. She was tired enough that she didn't even bother to wash her hands. She just figured she'd rest her poor body while she waited for me. But she passed out. Poor thing.

It was nearly sunset and we had to hustle to get that wheel and drive-train back together for the morning. But we made it. Using a flashlight at the end.

Not long after, she got a better job. But with a commute that put and end to bicycling. Too bad.

I kept going for a few years at, perhaps, half pedal bicycle and half motored bike. Even to this day I have a working pedal bike. But for the last three or four years I simply haven't ridden it very much. Age is diminishing my abilities there. I'm in my late 50s now. I can still push pretty hard on those pedals. I simply can't do it every day anymore. It used to keep me strong. Now it just wears me out. It's a shame. But I had a good run.

During all of this time I've been trying, and scheming, to find some way of getting my wife out of the car and on to two wheels. I finally figured it out. Better late than never, I guess. It would have been January of 2016. I told her, "You know......I've been thinking about buying you a scooter."

She turned to me. I've never seen such an obvious 'green light' on her face. Before or since. I've forgotten exactly what she said. But it was short and it boiled down to, "Tell me more!"

But there wasn't much to say. We went down to the local Honda dealer the next morning and bought her a Metropolitan 50cc scooter. The temp was about 12 deg F and the salesman just assumed that we wouldn't be riding that thing for a month, at least. But we were riding it that day. Taking turns going to the gas station and getting a cup of hot chocolate. Stuff like that. She was enthusiastic from day one and still is. Now she does also frighten me with her recklessness on this vehicle, too. That's too bad. But I have no choice but to take it on faith that she'll be observant enough to avoid catastrophe. And it is good to see her not driving her car every day of her life. I have a pickup truck. And there are times when our trouble is getting those two vehicles out and moving a bit. Rather than just sitting and getting stiff. Wintertime? Not so much. But in the summer it actually has been a bit of a concern. I've also noticed they get awfully dirty when they just sit.

What I was figuring is that we could ride together. She on her scooter and my on my motored bike. And, yes, we rode together. But those two bikes have such different characters that it could never be done very gracefully. So after about a half a year I bought myself a scooter. No regrets there. It's fun.

My plan was to ride both vehicles more or less alternately. But I only took my motored bike out once after buying that scooter. It was like operating a civil war era steam locomotive compared to that smooth and sophisticated scooter. On the way home I just kinda knew that I'd never ride that motored bike again. And I haven't.

The scooters really are great. And they're so inexpensive that I soon realized that having more would be desirable. So I bought two more. For spares and also for sharing with the kids or friends who might want to do some riding. We've found that most of the people around us are either not very interested or too shy. It's puzzling. I do have one friend up the road who's pretty enthusiastic about it. His wife is scared to ride, though. And he's the type who's just always, always running around. So he doesn't manage to ride with me very much.

My kids have done better. One daughter is so enthusiastic about riding that I've sort of, kind of, almost given her one of the scooters. It spends most nights in her driveway, for instance. Another daughter doesn't seem very interested. She'll take gentle rides and acts like she's enjoying it. But she doesn't come around looking for more. One daughter (the one who took apart the bicycle wheel) is more enthusiastic and quite competent. But she really craves a motorcycle. I nearly bought her a second hand Yamaha V-Star 250 a few months back. But there was some bad timing and I found myself anticipating a big expense and tight budget. So I backed away. But perhaps we can manage to get her on a real motorcycle pretty soon. Right now the weather is (January) that I don't have to act quickly.

So......let's see here............just where was I going with all of this?

Oh, yes! I know! E-bikes, of course! That's what we're here for.

So.... the scooters are great. But from about Christmas to sometime in February we can manage some rides. But racking up any real miles is all but impossible. So we've been needing something more. And that's where these pretty neat bikes from Rad come in.

I sure hope I chose well by going with fat bikes. Clearly they'll be good on actual snow. In fact I've already tested that and they pass. I'm still not sure how they'll do on slick, traffic beaten ice. But even I won't be riding all that much in such conditions. Some, yes. Every single day? No. In any case, snow, ice and mud are just why I chose fat bikes. I'd better get some fenders. I've already got skunk stripes on my back.

The Rad Mini was meant for my wife. I didn't even buy the Rover at the same time. I wanted to get a feel for the Mini first. But the moment I rode it I knew I wanted one for myself. So I placed the order for the Rover.

I've got about a hundred miles on the Rover and about fifty on the Mini. My wife has only rode hers once so far. But she's enthusiastic. The weather's been very bad for two wheels. She's actually willing to face that pretty well. But she's so careless about keeping proper clothes on hand and I don't want to invite her out if she's going to get frostbite.

But better weather will come. Good enough that she can dress carelessly if she wants without being in actual danger. And I can tell already that she has high hopes for this bike.

I can already tell that mine is a magnificent machine with enough power for my uses. It might even be too much bicycle for summer. That'll be no matter. I can always rig up something a bit lighter. In fact I do have the components on hand.

And I'd actually like to tell a bit more about just what makes this bike so great. Plus those few downsides (such as big a a bit clumsy) that it has.

But I'll try to save that, instead, for a thread that might help someone who's shopping for bikes.

So instead I'll just say, "It's nice to meet you all!"

Chris Hammond
1 month ago

Rad power bikes makes a FTB called the Rad Rover. It's actually reviewed on EBR as a best buy for inexpensive FTB. They upgraded their batteries this year to 48V 14 Ah using Samsung cells. Pricing starts at $1499. It's a class 2 bike so assisted speed is limited to 20 mph.
Juiced bikes also just released a FTB called the Rip Current S. It comes commuter ready with front and rear lights and fenders, plus a rear rack. Base battery is similar at 48V 13.5Ah. It has a bigger battery option of 19Ah for $299. Pricing starts at $1699. It comes as a class 3 bike, but the factory can reprogram to class 2 before shipment.
Neither is likely to have a dealer close by to you. There are plenty of other options out there. Good luck.

BillTheGalacticHero
2 months ago

The reviewer on the EBR YouTube channel is always saying that the Rad Power Bikes chargers are cheap/passable.

I just pre-ordered a 2018 bike. What chargers are out there that would be considered a compatible "upgrade" over the charger that comes with the bike? What features would a "better" charger have?

Andy_in_CA
2 months ago

I don't know about fat bikes... but Rad Power Bikes Power Wagon has fatter wheels and looks nice... plus Court just did a review on it.

Andy

mrgold35
2 months ago

Maybe you can modify the title to something else like "Anyone have the new specs of the 2018 Rad Power Bikes"

mrgold35
3 months ago

I have two his/her Rad Rovers since Sept/16 with around 3800 miles between both ebikes. The Rad is equally comfortable work commuting at 18-22 mph or single track trail riding. I'm +270lbs and add in 60lbs Rad+30lbs gear, rack, commuter backpack, and accessories. I've had zero issues with the 180mm cable brakes stopping me in emergency stops or on steep down hill runs at top speed. I think the 4" fat tires have a larger contact patch on the ground that helps with stopping power compared to thinner tires. Some folks have upgraded the cable brakes to a cable/hydro combo from https://www.competitivecyclist.com/trp-hy-rd-cable-actuated-hydraulic-disc-brake

My range is usually between 24-30 miles using mostly PAS 3 with occasional PAS 4 on longer inclines and occasional 750w throttle use for intersections, boost up to cruising speed faster if I had to slow down, or short inclines. I've gone as far as +36 miles with around 10%- 20% battery power if I kept the PAS at level 2 and my speed around the 10-13 mph range. The Rad's heavy duty controller is designed to give you max power until the battery is depleted. The Rad will haul you up that hill, push you through that sand trap, and maintain your speed in a +20 mph headwind because of the programming. The tradeoff is the battery range will be cut by 1/2 or more if you want speed/power over range. I can almost use 60%-70% battery power on my 6 miles work commute home (4900ft to 5400ft) when I have a +25mph stiff headwind and I want to maintain my +18 mph cruising speed.

If range is an issue, you can purchase an extra battery from https://www.radpowerbikes.com/collections/radrover-accessories/products/radrover-battery-pack or https://lunacycle.com/48v-18650-ebike-battery-pack/:

48v X 11.5ah = 552 watts (standard Rad battery)
48v X 13.5ah = 648 watts (my pick for most bang for the buck)
52v X 11.5ah = 598 watts
52v X 13.5ah = 702 watts

The Rad rover's battery tray is standard and the 48v and 52v Dolphin packs fit plug-n-play with zero mods to frame or controller. You have to purchase a 52v charger if you go the larger volt route (the Rad 48v charger will work for the 48v/13.5ah Luna cycle pack). Depending on how you use the 52v battery pack, it can give you even more off the line power/faster acceleration/more hill climbing power and longer range.

007vsMagua
3 months ago

Hey Jim, still online?

It's been over a year since I started thinking about e-bikes. My finances have improved so I'm almost ready to climb onboard. I have a new favorite bike: the RadCity. With Winter coming, I'm tempted to order one now and just have it in my living room with flashing Christmas lights hanging on it until Spring. But then again, the current RadCity is well over a year old and considering Rad Power Bikes advancement I suspect a new model should be on the horizon. My gut tells me to wait. (See: RadRhino-Europe _ YouTube)

There are other considerations like: Helmet; Tool Kit; Bags; Spare Inner Tube; Water Bottle; Cell Phone; Better Lighting?

I could think of all those other items as stocking stuffers:)

PS_ Cort, Maybe you could head back to Seattle and take a RadCity on a 20 mile off-road minor mountain bike trail and share your thoughts.

Calgarymao
50 mins ago

Can any kindly add some comments on this one? I am about to pull trigger on this one after doing my research on Yukon, Teo, and Radrover. Thanks.

BVC
2 days ago

Reminds me of the honda civic owners dropping $6k rims on their rides for a smoother ride and better power to weight ratio.

I agree - The forks can be better. Sure. EVERYTHING can be better. All depends what you want at the end of the day.

The radrover is a GREAT bike out of the box shipped to your door. You want more? Expect more? Sure - you can buy a pre-made bike and upgrade the parts you ALREADY PAID FOR to bigger/better. Or just understand that building your own bike will be cheaper/better in the long run.

You pair the radrover to a Sondors - For about the same price point - Rad is FAR greater than the junk Sondors rips folks off with. Now that's not to say that Rad is fantastic. For their price point - they are. They are great for the lower middle class folks who can't afford $3k e-bikes. Or can afford $6k for a pair of ebikes (I know some losers will post up saying "well you can get two ebikes for $3k" - yeah.. it's simple math. Two separate ebikes doesn't mean better quality. Learn how to debate before you type).

mrgold35
1 week ago

My last three flats on my Radrover was from a 4" brass wood screw, road debris that put a 1/4 inch slit my rear tire, and trail riding when I ran over wood spike that puncture the tire, Mr. Tuffy, and tube. All three of those flats required me to replace the tube to get back on the road (usually 3-6 miles from home when it happened). I keep all the tools/parts needed to repair/replace a flat. I'm not sure if going tubeless would have the same result compared to carrying a spare tube?

harryS
3 weeks ago

Is that crushed gravel on the C&O? You don't need a fat tire bike to ride that. But given the choice, I'd take the Radrover with Veeco Speedster tires ($180). These are smooth tread with low rolling resistance, comfortable on pavement, and absolutely silent. I have them on my fatbike which is a home built, but does use the same motor as the Radrover. I also added a front derailleur, so I can always find a good gear for pedalling w/o power. The sound of my fatbike with Veeco Snowshoes is like the buzzing of the old plans in Dawn Patrol. Too loud. The few fatbikes I see around me have loud tires.

Knighthonor
3 weeks ago

That's the thing. That thread is what made me sign up because that was between the RadRover and RadWagon. I don't want the Wagon so that wasn't a choice for me. I am looking between the RadRover and RadCity.

Some multi-use trails like the C&O Canal is a small rock gravel trail with some paved spots. Isn't the RadCity tires similar to a standard Mountain bike tire or is it more hybrid/city bike tire?

Knighthonor
3 weeks ago

Hi I am new. I want to get my first Ebike after tax season. I plan to use it on the multi-use trails. Most of these trails are a good 16 miles one way so about 32 miles overall some having a few hills here and there. I will do some city riding as well. Was wondering which 2018 version would best fit me. From what I researched the RadCity has a Direct Drive, while the RadRover has a Geared drive. Not sure how the feel is different. The only Ebike I ever rode was a Jump DC Ebike which was a easy share bike. So not sure which version that was. But I want to be able to go long distances better and more efficient on a single charge but with option to bike if the battery dies. Which both seem to be able to do. But obviously one if fat tire and other is not. I never owned a fat tire bike. So not sure how that will play out for long distance multi-use trails riding. They both seem to use the same attachments so both can make use of many of the add ons available it seem. I could be wrong. Do they both have the same WH and AH motor? But which do you suggest over the other?

Mark Wyvratt
3 weeks ago

I loved the throttle on my first ebike, the radrover. It helped with starting out at intersections when I needed to get up to speed quickly and also when my legs were fried and needed a couple of minutes to recover. Not having to ask the group to stop again for several minutes is definitely a plus not just for me but for the whole group of riders. Not everyone riding a ebike is just lazy or out of shape

LimboJim
3 weeks ago

More power to ya, Mark, and welcome to the EBR forums! Glad you got some function back; I've battle Lyme a few times this past decade, though with nowhere near the difficulty you experienced. The last time made climbing the steep Holyoke Range trails in my backyard downright miserable on my old Stumpjumper. Until I learned about pedal assist, I thought I was done cycling singletrack after 25+ years, but now I ride further, longer and more often than I ever did, even in my 30s.

Aside from its "stealth," that Bulls is a FAR superior bike, and well worth 2-3X the price, especially for trail riding! Throttles have no place on bicycle trails, IMO.

Mark Wyvratt
3 weeks ago

I developed Guillain Barre syndrome six years ago. I was paralyzed from the waist down. Eventually was able to walk again with difficulty. Still with poor balance. Exercise intolerance with constant pain and numbness of my lower legs and right arm. If it wasn’t for the ebike I wouldn’t be able to ride at all. Riding make me feel alive again. Some riders told me they would not ride with me because of the E bike. I had to explain to them the rationale for why I use it. I had a radrover this summer and it was great but heard too many negative comments on the local trails near Pittsburgh so I upgraded to the bulls estream evo 45 fs mainly because it is a great bike that doesn’t look like a ebike.

Lost
3 weeks ago

The ones I posted about.

mrgold35
3 weeks ago

I'm assuming the PAS set-up for the Radrover is the same for the Radmini and there wasn't any changes for the latest 2018 models of each.

Each PAS level has a certain wattage assigned to each PAS level that stays constant until the motor cut-off at 20 mph, for the 2016 Radrover:
PAS 0: 0 watts
PAS 1: 75 watts
PAS 2: 175 watts
PAS 3: 375 watts
PAS 4: 550 watts
PAS 5: 750 watts

Any pedaling you do is really to assist the rear hub motor to help improve acceleration, increase range, and stress off the hub motor. I usually ride PAS 2 for trails (6-12 mph) and PAS 3 for paved roads (14-22 mph). I always pick a gear that is close to 55-75 rpms because that is the pedal speed I'm comfortable with to do longer rides. Really depends on my speed, twist/turns, and inclines/declines; but, usually between 5th to 7th on paved surfaces and around 3rd to 5th on hardpacked/single track trails.

I also cheat a little bit and use the throttle since it can provide full 750 watts of power at any PAS level. I can be as PAS 3, leave it in 7th gear, and use the throttle to get me up to my cruising speed of 18-20 mph faster. I do this a lot in the morning when it is 15-30 degrees on my work commute and I have thick gloves and Bar Mitts on the handle bars. I do a lot more shifting when the weather is warmer outside.

Ivan O
4 days ago

Will this go faster than a 49cc engine bike?

dphotos
1 week ago

This is a wonderful bike at a good and fair price point. This company is smart to do that. Anymore money I would not be interested in an E-bike.

shadowdance4666
1 week ago

I would gladly pay extra for true regenerative braking system

DASO MILITIA
2 weeks ago

Tuck in your jeans !!!

ArthurDentZaphodBeeb
3 weeks ago

Get rid of the crappy faux leather grips ffs.

DJ Hamilton
3 weeks ago

Love my RadRover!!!! I've had a great year on her 🚴

BlindViking
3 weeks ago

If i'm going to make a 6 mile comute both ways in a small city, part of which is 2 miles on a highway should I get the Radrover or Radcity

Victor Da Silva
4 weeks ago

Kinda ugly

Graham Gilley
4 weeks ago

Great job, Court. But am wondering why VOLTBIKES YUKON 750 do not get the same mentions about the same space they share? You did reviews in Mexico which were great but they have upgraded beyond RAD since that review. I won't say they are identical, but Volt has been ahead of the curve (as Rad has with their latest 2018s) with continuous improvement - adjustable handlebars, battery, integrated design, chain protection, pedals, aluminum (not plastic) fenders and racks for $100, improved LED headlight, integrated rear light, fantastic bell...I dunno...just think RAD has a bigger marketing budget and connects with your Court brand, but would be interested in any comments on where the VOLT YUKON 750 is compared to the RAD ROVER 2018 model??

Flstcgranucci
4 weeks ago

Ordered mine yesterday!

Verdi Lowe
1 month ago

Fast zippy detailed presentation keep it up, ive learned so much about Rad bikes. Cheers

guitartec
1 month ago

Cort Rye..... Man, you're impossible to get a hold of, even from your site. Please review the new Juiced RipCurrent S. I just pre-ordered one which is due in the next few months (hopefully). I may review it before you get a chance to meet with Tora. If so, you are welcome to fly out to RI when I get it and review it, but the weather may be a problem at that time.

Marabou
1 month ago

really good review video!

Marks Daman
1 month ago

I will be buying one soon. Great bike for a great price.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 month ago

Sweet, I agree with you, they struck a good value... and I like how it looks :)

John LeGresley
1 month ago

I also noticed they are ripping us off on the exchange up here in Canada. That bike may retail for $1500 US, which should equal $1800 C. But they are charging $2000, that's $200 premium!

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 month ago

Maybe their operation is smaller or the import costs are higher? I think they import into Seattle and then have to cross? In any case, there are some great Canadian brands like Surface 604, VoltBike, OHM, Amigo, eProdigy to explore too :)

Derber Masliph
1 month ago

I love my 2017 RadRover!! I like the new paint on the '18! I bought mine after watching Many of EBR vids. Thanks, buddy! I want the new model now...

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 month ago

Awesome! Glad the videos helped you decide, I also like the 2018 paint and updated color scheme :D

Light Up The Truth
1 month ago

I am a 5'0 tall and a female, do you think this size would fit my or would it be too tall?

David Kenefick
3 weeks ago

ElectricBikeReview.com what would the min height you would need to be for this bike

Light Up The Truth
1 month ago

I am trying to decide between these two bikes. I will be using it mostly on flat road and some dirt roads. Which one would you suggest out of the two as far as longevity and reliability and quality? https://electricbikereview.com/surface-604/rook/ OR https://electricbikereview.com/rad-power-bikes/radmini/

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 month ago

Hi B G, I think this model is on the tall side if you have a shorter inseam. You might be able to make it work, but mounting could be difficult. Have you considered the shorter RadMini model? They added suspension for 2018 and I think it's a great product with similar performance characteristics, just not as tall: https://electricbikereview.com/rad-power-bikes/radmini/ or you could get a 20" wheel fat bike (made for kids) from Pedego: https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/20-trail-tracker/ that could be fun, I test rode it and am 5'9" and it worked well :)

EQUINOX
1 month ago

Fat tire bikes are ultra dumb, exta wieght, extra drag, extra wieght, and did i say extra wieght and if we are honest zero extra traction, fat tires are all look for gimps that think OMG fat tires that must be awesome, reality is they are shit, you are far better with traditioal size not only for speed , weight but also for replacment tires, and no the fat tires do not offer better traction they actually in realty offer more drag than traction so you are fat better with standard wheeles

Jud Holmes
1 month ago

Hey, great review. I am also interested in the Juiced Crosscurrent S, but I live by the beach in FL and the thought of riding this big tire bike on the beach seems like it would be a lot of fun. With a single frame size, I'm wondering if I'll look too big for this bike at 6' tall. How tall are you? Thanks!

Snickterp
1 month ago

Thanks for all your reviews! This one pushed me over the edge to order a 2018 RadRover! It should be arriving on Monday :)