Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Electric Bike Review
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Bafang 750 Watt Fat Bike Motor
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Wellgo Pedals Ebike Controller Box
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Handlebar Shifter Throttle
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Backlit King Meter Lcd Display
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Stitched Leather Grips Integrated Bell
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Top Gun Suspension Fat Bike
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Two Virtical Bottle Cage Mounts
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Shimano Acera 7 Speed With Guard
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Side Mounted Kickstand Adjustable
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Removable 48 Volt Battery Panasonic Cells
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Black And White Colors
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Battery Charger
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Electric Bike Review
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Bafang 750 Watt Fat Bike Motor
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Wellgo Pedals Ebike Controller Box
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Handlebar Shifter Throttle
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Backlit King Meter Lcd Display
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Stitched Leather Grips Integrated Bell
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Top Gun Suspension Fat Bike
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Two Virtical Bottle Cage Mounts
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Shimano Acera 7 Speed With Guard
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Side Mounted Kickstand Adjustable
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Removable 48 Volt Battery Panasonic Cells
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Black And White Colors
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Battery Charger

Summary

  • Strikes an excellent balance delivering high power with mid-level components for a reasonable price, you get throttle and pedal assist with an on/off on the throttle! solid one year warranty for the original owner, flat rate $175 shipping in the US
  • Even though the battery and controller box are bolted on vs. integrated into the frame, they use extra bolts for strength and kept them mostly out of the way, both are mounted low for improved stability
  • Nice extras including an integrated LED headlight, stand alone rear light, USB charging outlet on the battery, handle at the back of the seat, quick release front wheel, bash guard on the chainring and derailleur... optional fenders and rack
  • Only available in one frame size but comes in black or white color choices, the 180 mm disc brakes work well enough but hydraulic would be nice, the grips spin a bit if you squeeze hard, excellent kickstand placement, clean wire integration

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Rad Power Bikes

Model:

RadRover

Price:

$1,499 ($175 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive (Original Owner)

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

63 lbs (28.57 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs (3.26 kg)

Motor Weight:

14 lbs (6.35 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

18.25 in (46.35 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

580 mm Top Tube, 463 mm Seat Tube, 1155 mm Wheelbase, 794 mm Standover Height

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

Top Gun Suspension with Lockout, Adjustable Preload, 5" Travel, 11 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Acera, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shiman SIS Index Shifter on Right

Cranks:

42T Chainring with Aluminum Bash Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform, Black

Headset:

VP-A41ACK

Stem:

Zoom ~6° Rise

Handlebar:

Zoom Low-Rise, 25" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Aries Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors, Rubberized Edge and Integrated Bell

Grips:

Stitched Ergonomic, Black

Saddle:

Velo Plush with Integrated Handle

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

320 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled Alloy, Black

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Juggernaut, 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

31TPI, Wire Bead, 5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Spanninga Micro Integrated LED Headlight, Blaze-Lite RL1800 Independent LED Back Light, Neoprene Slap Guard, Side Mounted Adjustable Kickstand, Two USB Charging Ports for Portable Electronics (On Battery and Display)

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Aluminum

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

King Meter SW-LCD, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer, Watts, PAS level (1-5)

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (6 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Rad Power Bikes has rapidly grown their business from a crowd funded single-product offering to include a cargo bike and a mini fat folding bike in just a couple of short years! But it all started with the RadRover… This classic fat tire electric bike offers some of the best value I’ve seen on the market without compromising comfort and quality. Upgrades like the Shimano Acera derailleur (which is two steps up from the standard Tourney I frequently see) should last longer and provide tighter shifting. There’s a beautifully integrated bell that doesn’t clutter the handlebars because it’s designed into the brake levers (which offer motor cutoff when pulled). You get a fat bike specific motor from Bafang that maxes out on power for what’s legal in the US at 750 watts. It includes two LED lights and while the rear is more basic, relying on stand-alone battery cells, the front is integrated and runs off the main battery pack… which is huge! Not only do you get a powerful 48 volt configuration, the cells inside are from Panasonic, one of the most trusted and longest lasting from what I hear at shops and from consumers. And! there’s a USB charging port mounted on the side of that pack so you can use it for backup power (charging a cell phone perhaps) or running extra lights on your bike. Unfortunately, the positioning is a little vulnerable because your leg and foot pass near the side of the battery. Consider a right-angle USB adapter if you intend to plug things in while riding. But the USB power doesn’t stop there, another plug is built into the display panel so you can still get energy without running a long cable.

Powering on the bike is a two step process where you press a silver button on the battery and then hold the mode button on the control pad. It’s an extra step that not every electric bike has but at least it’s not too difficult to reach. This may reduce phantom power draw from the battery if you take it off the bike and are using it to charge with one of the USB ports mentioned earlier. The button pad mentioned a moment ago, is mounted near your left hand so you can adjust pedal assist levels while riding without taking your hand off the grip. There are five levels of power and a level zero! In zero, the bike won’t respond to your pedaling but the throttle will (if you’ve activated it) and that’s kind of cool. In all normal assist levels the throttle can override with additional power for catching up with friends or topping a hill. I love having a throttle on fat bikes because snow, sand and hilly terrain can sneak up on you and being able to power through or get extra help on demand makes for fewer crashes and generally more comfortable riding. And, since the RadRover is using a more basic pedal assist cadence sensor (with just six magnets vs. 12) I found that using the throttle and brake levers can lead to more precise control. Cadence sensors aren’t generally as responsive as torque sensors but they are less complicated, less expensive and they don’t make you work as hard. In the future, maybe they will switch to a 12 magnet design but still, the throttle helps and being able to one step further and actually disable the throttle with the red toggle button mounted near its base, is fantastic. Sometimes you don’t want to worry about accidentally twisting that throttle (like on really difficult terrain or descending or when you’re loading the bike up). Turning it off means that 750 watt motor won’t accidentally get out of control.

Using this bike can take some extra practice just because there are more drive options and the display has a lot of readouts. I prefer it this way but as a more advanced rider, I don’t feel as overwhelmed. What you see with the display is the speed, assist level and battery gauge (along wth a lot of other little readouts). The display is backlit which is great for night riding and it can be swiveled to reduce glare but it is not removable. Some quick tips on the display panel: you can hold up to switch from average speed to max speed, hold up and mode to turn on the headlight and hold down to activate walk-mode which propels the bike gently forward so you don’t have to push it up hills (if you decide to walk vs. ride). In the video review you can see us riding in deeper sand and I share a few tips about accelerating slowly to maintain balance. Once or twice I decided to walk the bike to meet with a friend just down the way and using walk mode significantly helped because the bike weighs ~63 lbs and sort of sinks in when you’re on the sand. Yes, you could just twist the throttle but that’s more sensitive and tends to kick up sand if you accidentally twist too hard.

At the end of the day, Rad Power Bikes has proven that they can produce reliable ebikes at reasonable prices and deliver and support them well. This is why I recommended them as one of the possible platforms for Cabo Adventures (where this video review was shot). The resort wanted to buy some bikes that would empower visitors to ride on the beach even in deep soft sand and not get exhausted when it’s super hot outside. The bikes performed beyond my expectation and were some of the most comfortable I tried. The mid-rise handlebars, ergonomic grips and softer saddle just made it feel good. The suspension fork, while basic, did its job marvelously and kept my wrists, forearms and shoulders from getting sore. One of the bigger points here is that we rode the bikes in sand and near salt water and they did begin to rust after a week. Rinsing them off after this sort of riding is a good idea. Whether you’re in snow where salt has been scattered to melt ice or near the ocean the bikes will show wear. In my opinion, if that’s the sort of terrain you expect to encounter, it feels nice knowing you didn’t spend $5,000+ on a bike than one you can pour some money into ongoing for replacement parts. I don’t mean to say the bikes won’t hold up, even with rust on the chainrings they should continue to perform. There are so many bikes coming to market these days that do not have a throttle mode and in conditions like the ones we rode in it can be very very useful and almost everyone who tried the bikes there (including my girlfriend) said they loved the throttle. There’s more to say about this bike and I’ve done my best in the pros/cons below but you can also watch and read comments for the older RadRover model from 2015 here. Big thanks to Rad Power Bikes for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • Given the upgraded 750 watt internally geared hub motor, I wasn’t sure how loud it would be running at full power but it actually stayed much quieter than some competing motors on fat bikes that I’ve tested, even lower powered ones, and I like how wide it is (custom for fat tires) because that supports the spokes
  • Lots of upgraded components here including a Shimano Acera derailleur with metal protector (in case the bike tips), premium Panasonic battery cells and 180 mm mechanical disc brakes
  • Given the mid-frame battery design, I love that they were able to angle the to-tube to reduce stand over height and still include bottle cage bosses! There are two vertical mounts just behind the head tube on the left and right which would be great for folding locks, mini pumps or standard cages
  • I’m ~5’9″ and this fat bike felt comfortable in terms of reach, the stem isn’t super long and the bars have a nice mid-rise in them… I also felt like the saddle was more comfortable than some competing offerings
  • Even though I’m used to seeing Top Gun as the most basic low-end suspension provider on on a lot of bikes, this one was upgraded to include lockout and worked fairly well, combined with the fat tires this ebike is pretty comfortable but a 27.2 mm suspension seat post could soften up the back if you’ve got a sensitive neck or back
  • I like that they included a little neoprene slap guard on the right chainstay… I noticed the chain bouncing when I was riding fast across the bumpy dirt road and without this pad the paint would get chipped up and there would be more noise
  • It’s cool that RadRover sells accessories like fenders, saddle bags, rear carry racks and even transport racks for your car all designed to fit their bikes, there are threaded bosses at the rear-end of the bike so you could easily add your own rack if you’ve got something like the Topeak slide-on bag system
  • I love that the mechanical cables for the brakes and shifters are all run through the frame, even the electronic wires are well organized and tucked away which prevents snags and just looks good (especially on the white frame where they would stand out more)
  • Rad Power Bikes offers flat rate shipping in the continental United States for $175 which is a pretty good deal given the weight and size of the bike in my opinion… do take this into consideration though on the price
  • I really like that there’s a handle built into the back of the saddle! This makes the bike easier to lift and position… also since the kickstand is mounted way towards the back, you can pedal the bike backwards and work on the chain more easily even if you don’t have a professional stand
  • The battery interface, the plastic slide where it mounts to the downtube, is bolted onto the frame with three bolts vs. just two on most kits and some cheaper ebikes so it doesn’t rattle and feels pretty sturdy, this is good considering you might ride it on bumpy terrain
  • I love that the bike offers throttle-only mode with zero assist, that gives you a lot of control and if you do turn on assist you can still override with more power using the throttle later

Cons:

  • At ~63 lbs this electric fat bike isn’t especially light weight but at least the front wheel has a quick release skewer and teh battery can be easily removed… this will reduce the space required by the bike and make it easier and lighter to lift
  • I was surprised that the cadence sensor only used six magnets? Many newer models use 12 so the motor will respond faster as you pedal (both starting and stopping), it’s nice that the brake levers have integrated motor cutoff switches so at least you can command a stop immediately in case of emergency
  • I like having a throttle and the twist version works well enough, especially with the integrated on/off toggle, but sometimes a trigger is nicer for off-road bumpy riding so that your grip is solid, I’ve also heard some riders with smaller hands prefer the trigger but it’s really personal preference
  • The bike handled well and was ridden by some individuals in the 200+ lb range during this review but both skewers are the thinner 11 mm style vs. some of the newer 12 mm and 15 mm thru-axles seen on a lot of mountain bikes used on tough terrain, thicker axles on fat bikes would support the weight and stresses of fat tires
  • You have to turn the battery pack on before you can power up the display panel, it’s a two step process that isn’t difficult but takes extra time and isn’t mandatory with some other electric bicycles
  • I like that there are two little USB charging ports integrated into this bike, running off the main battery pack, especially because the bike doesn’t come with an integrated tail light (you could buy an affordable USB rechargeable light to replace the rear Blaze Light if), but the positioning of this port is near where your legs and feet move as you ride… it would be much better if this was on top of the pack or maybe built into the display
  • The grips feel thick and comfortable, I personally enjoy the ergonomic leather style like this, but they aren’t locking so as you ride if you’re pulling and twisting hard they may begin to spin and given the off-road design of the bike and heavy footprint that can happen more easily
  • I prefer disc brakes for any type of off-road riding, be it snow, dirt or sand and feel that the 180 mm rotors chosen here are a good fit in terms of size but I wish they were hydraulic because those require less hand strength and are smoother to actuate
  • The chainring has a nice Aluminum bash guard protecting the teeth from the outside which is great if you’re riding over angled rocks or wood that might collide with it but there isn’t a plat on the inside which would act as a guide, this means you can drop the chain more easily, especially when riding in throttle mode on higher gears where there’s less tension in the chain
  • I think the price on the RadRover is really good and I like how it performed but there are some trade-offs in aesthetics here with the controller box and battery mounted on top of the frame tubing vs. being integrated or combined

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Rad Power Bikes Reviews

Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A funky miniaturized folding fat tire bike with two cargo racks! Truly capable of sand and snow riding, LED lights guide and keep you safe, the bike offers assist and throttle drive modes. Basic seven speed drivetrain from Shimano, plastic chain guide keeps things on track, metal derailleur…...

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A value priced but featured packed urban commuter style electric bike with everything from fenders, to LED lights, rear carry rack and regenerative braking. Solid driving and braking performance with a 750 watt gearless hub motor and 180 mm…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A folding fat tire electric bike with front and rear cargo racks and double-tube frame for improved strength (good option for larger riders). Powerful 750 watt internally geared fat-bike specific motor paired with a large 48 volt 11.6…...

Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Affordable, feature rich cargo style electric bike with a stiffer and lighter frame because it's not quite as long as some others. Offers five levels of pedal assist, throttle mode and throttle override as well as regenerative…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An Indiegogo funded electric fatbike with a powerful 500 watt motor, ample 48 volt battery and seven speed drivetrain. Comfortable saddle, ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout, two color choices but only one…...


dm nelson
1 year ago

Enjoyed the review, Court, as it mostly reflects the experience my partner & I have had with our Radrovers for the past month. These bikes are lots of fun, fat tires, throttles and all. I was able to swap the suspension seat-post off my regular mtn bike and immediately enjoyed the smoother ride experience on the rover. My partner is ordering a cane creek for herself. I upgraded a couple other components, also. When I noticed the chain bounce I swapped the Shimano Acera derailleur for an Alivio. Now the chain seems to have more tension and less bounce on bumpy, packed trails. Replaced stock brake cables with Jagwire mtn cables and now the brakes feel more fully responsive to me. While they do take a bit more energy to use than the hydraulics I have on another bike, these Tektro brakes stop this heavy bike adequately, even going downhill. I had not seen such a derailleur bashguard before like on this bike and was impressed. When one of the two bikes I ordered arrived with the box damaged, bashguard bent and Bafang motor cable damaged, I realized that protecting the motor cable is that guard’s primary purpose. With that part of the cable which goes directly into the motor hub damaged the only remedy was to replace the motor hub. Perhaps someday Bafang will make this cable replaceable without taking the motor apart.. Lastly I want to offer gratitude for the great customer and tech support from this Rad Power company. ~David

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Great feedback David! Sounds like you really went to town customizing! Thanks for being specific about the parts you swapped out so others might benefit as well. Hope your partner enjoys her Thudbuster and you have many more fun and comfortable miles ahead of you ;)

Reply
Errol
12 months ago

What’s the model number of the Bell helmet your wearing doing the Radrover review? It looks good and is it also comfortable? Thanks

Reply
Court Rye
12 months ago

Hi Errol! That’s the Bell Super 2R MIPS with Star Wars “Trooper” theming. I bought it because I could mount my camera to the front jaw piece AND the jaw and the helmet can unbuckle and be packed easily. Since I travel a lot this is a great feature… did an overview/review story about it with more pictures and a video here :D

Reply
Joe
12 months ago

Are there any lightweight eBikes out there that are reliable and won’t break the bank? What are some of your favorite models? I really like everything I have read bout the rad rover other than the fact that it’s 60 lbs, although I know eBikes are going to run a little heavier with the battery.

Reply
Court Rye
12 months ago

Hi Joe! The advances search options here let you sort by weight (and I do weigh all bikes personally so it should be very accurate). With so many options on style of bike it’s tough for me to say. Do you want a fat bike, a city bike, are you okay with a folding bike? Check out my affordable category here for other models priced in line with the RadRover and dig into products that catch your eye… maybe even ask around on the forums for how durable people think they are. Most of the time I test brand new bikes for a limited time so it’s difficult to speculate on durability :/

Reply
Errol
12 months ago

Hi Count Rye, after some of your reviews I decided to buy the RadRover. Received it a couple of days ago and already tested it out. Great ebike for the price and also ordered the rear rack. Bought it on Cyber Monday so I saved on the shipping cost.. I agree it could use a plat on the inside to help prevent the chain falling off which already happened once when my wife was dismounting and the bike came to the ground. Also when first testing it out the derailer was not set right and the chain got tangled some, turned the bike upside down and readjusted it.

I’m looking for a fat ebike for my wife, mine is to tall for her, especially when dismounting. Which fat ebike does your girlfriend like best ( I believe her name is Moa ). I seen her with the Voltbike Mariner and the Radmini. Are their other similar fat ebike? Thanks for your reviews.

Reply
Court Rye
12 months ago

Hi Errol! Thanks for sharing your experience with the RadRover so far. My girlfriend Mony struggled with the height of the top tube as well but enjoyed the VoltBike Mariner much more. I’d say it’s fairly comparable to the RadMini but uses a trigger throttle vs. twist and has a narrower top tube and folding point. this was an area where she still bonked her knee once on the RadMini and felt a little sensitive after that. Another company to consider is E-Lux which has a full-sized fat tire bike called the Tahoe which you can get in high-step or step-thru and is very comfortable, powerful and clean thanks to integrated metal fenders. Another folding fat mini bike is the SSR Motorsports Trail Viper but I haven’t seen their latest iteration. Once you decide and get something for her I’d love to hear how it all works out!

Reply
Errol
11 months ago

Hi again Count Rye,

After much consideration and help from your EBR, we’re going with the Voltbike Mariner. I texted Voltbike and they said there going forward putting derailleur guards on. They also said prices will increase in January. Maybe your site had some good influence. Also they were offering a free motorcycle helmet with purchase. We also bought two of the Star Wars trooper helmets that I asked you about before.

Thanks,
Errol

Reply
Court Rye
11 months ago

Awesome! Sounds like you’re going to have a blast… Glad the site helped expose you to some different choices so you could narrow down. George is a great guy, it’s really cool that you’re getting the lower price AND he’s doing derailleur guards and the helmets. I love that he offers helmets :)

Reply
Matthew
9 months ago

Hello everyone, I am interested in buying the Rad Rover and I had a question. I was wondering if there is anyone who has found or modified cargo trailer to work with the Rad Rover? I live in Colorado and am intersted in this bike so I can commute to work (about 10-14 miles round trip, depending on which location I need to go to) year round and maybe do the occasional trail riding on the weekend. I would like to find a trailer that would work on the bike so I can go without my car entirely and so I can take my dog kennel. My dog had knee surgery and can’t really keep up with a bike anymore, especially an E-bike. Any advice would be much appreciated! Thanks for you time.

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Hi Matthew! Great question, I have seen a range of trailers on Amazon and the suspension IBEX trailer from BOB Yak but can’t confirm whether they will work. Maybe your best bet is to ask in the Rad Power Bikes forums here, it’s a pretty active place and there are actual owners of the bike (I just reviewed it but don’t have one in front of me to confirm how a trailer would attach). Hope this helps, feel free to share what you end up with back here to help others :)

Reply
Matthew
9 months ago

Hi Court, thanks for the quick reply! I called Rad Power Bikes today and they said that while they are hesitant to recommend trailers for the Rad Rover, they did say that any seat post mounted trailer will work or any trailer that can attach to a Burley Trailer hitch will work (amazon link here). Super easy to get a hold of someone at Rad Power Bikes and they answered all of my questions in no time. Thanks to your awesome, highly detailed, website, write ups and youtube videos, I pulled the trigger and bought a Rad Rover and Rad Mini today! Thanks for the help!

Erik
3 months ago

Court, First of all I have to say your reviews are amazingly thorough and detailed. I started out looking for an e-cruiser and watched all of your videos on mid price 1500-3000 cruisers. I have finally concluded that I want a Fat E bike instead. I live in Arizona and my wife and I are in good shape in our mid forties and we have miles and miles of desert trails available to us and I think the ride will be better on pavement . I am really stuck between the Rad Rover and the Newport Tahoe. I wish the Rad Rover had a bigger battery AH capacity and hydraulic brakes and it would be the perfect bike! My question to you is if you could only have one of these bikes which would you choose and why? Lastly what can you tell me about the samsung battery vs. the panosonic. I see they use differnt technology. Which one do you think is better? Thanks alot and keep up the amazing work! Erik

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Erik! These days, most companies are using Lithium-ion batteries and while Panasonic is perceived as the highest quality by many people, I often cannot tell which cell rating they are using or if the brand they say is actually the brand used… I’d assume both batteries are decent in this case, name brand cells that are mid or high level in terms of quality. E-Lux has some beautiful looking electric bikes that include nice fenders. To me, they are more on-road oriented. If I was going to hit the trails and transport the bike in my car and expect to really work it, I’d probably get the RadRover. But if I was just enjoying the neighborhood, some packed trails and snow, and wanting the more relaxed body position (due to the long cruiser bars) I’d go E-Lux. I hope this helps :)

Reply
Tom
2 weeks ago

Great info in these reviews…. My wife and I are thinking of buying two of these RadRover fat tire bikes for accessing remote beach surf breaks. I would love feedback/comments on two points:

  1. My wife is 5’5″. Based on experience of others mentioned above, is she likely to have trouble with the frame height?
  2. We would use these on beaches that require fording some creeks running out into the surf, sometimes as deep as wheel-hub deep (but its fresh water…..). Are these bikes designed to handle water that deep?

Thanks!!!

Reply
Court Rye
2 weeks ago

Hi Tom! I think a balanced rider could deal with the higher top tube and just top to the side when stopping or hang a leg over with a bent knee… but there’s definitely more weight and height to this model than the RadMini. I had my girlfriend with me in Mexico testing multiple models for these reviews and she hurt her thigh (and maybe her crotch a bit) jumping off into the soft sand and landing on the bar but she’s like 5’3″ I think. She preferred the RadMini so that might be worth exploring but the wheels are smaller and the hub motor is even lower. I would not recommend submerging it or the battery, ideally, only the tires and maybe part of the lower spokes but none of the wires or other electronics.

Reply
Tom
1 week ago

Thanks, this helps!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Jim Carroll
2 days ago

Thanks Stoker,Well after much deliberation I decided I should go with the smaller frame.I contacted Benoit and he informed me it was too late to change my order.c'est la vie I guess.
With the Radrover universal frame being 18" and Voltbike universal one size frame being 19".I am sure the 18" will work out for me.
There may have been a comunication gap on the delivery though.I recieved a message from DSL that my bike would arrive on Fri the 24th the day after Tanksgiving.I wonder if they really deliver on that day.Perhaps Benoit
meant that the bike would be shipped within three day not delivered in three days.Anyways greatly anticipating delivery.One thing you mentioned was the hub may be the secret to tell if I recieved the 750 watt controller or not.
I hasve heard that the motor may be the same on the 500 watt bike as is the 750 watt bike.I may have to see if I can get hold of Dan Edwards on this subject he would probably know better that anyone.Living in Canada did you buy the
500 watter????I have one more quick question before I go, when you locktited the screws on you bike what strenght locktite did you use?????
Thank you for the heads up on the Facebook page.I joined the group but I left my comment under the wrong thread,I deleted it and tried again but apparetly it has locked me out for now.
Take Care

daniel58
4 days ago

I almost bought the Metro +. It has a lot to offer and I think since this summer they have upgrade their battery to a 13 amp hour probably to compete with the CCS.

Ultimately I didn't go with Magnum because I couldn't find a local dealer that had the bike in stock thus being a special order. And I heard mixed experiences from dealers about their customer service in the LA area.

I happened across a local dealer in SoCal (Electric Bike Center in Fullerton) that had one of the first the CCS bikes in stock, in their store and I got it because it rode so nice and the specs are hard to beat. Not many bikes at this price point have a torque\cadence sensor.... Metro was close. Yes Metro + had better stock tires but for me it was about what I could test ride.

Not knocking anyone's experiences with Juiced... I went in with full knowledge of their customer support, but honestly I haven't had any issues. My CCS came without a light, which they shipped (from China which was slow to get here)... and I bought the specialty wrench which took a long time to get because it came from China. I have talked to them once on the phone and 2 times on the chat app through the website without issue.

But honestly how widespread is the motor burn out and spoke issues? Yes I feel bad for the forum member that it happened to and it did take waaaay to long to resolve....(not giving Juiced a pass)... but really how high is the failure rate?

Again I hope they get their act together with stock and customer service....as noted on the forums. (for my own selfish future needs)

I love this bike (CCS)... for me its a solid platform, I enjoy riding it and its fast. But a first run product is going to have hickups..especially from a small company... in this Kickstarter world you need to expect some of that....if you don't then spend $3+ on a Trek.

In a different situation if a Metro+ was on the showroom floor vs a CCS, I probably would have purchased that....

Hopefully you can vent your frustration and then enjoy riding your Metro+

best of luck riding

Andy

Andy

I have considered many potential E-Bike brands and typical E-Bike consumer pitfalls in the process of doing ones usual due diligence homework prior to purchasing an actual E-Bike; I am also not in any rush by any stretch of the creative imagination; and I usually take a very very long time in considering all the pro's and con's prior to making any kind of potential actual E-Bike purchase as much ultimately has to be considered overall; now Magnum like many other potential E-Bike offerings also offer very compelling alternatives indeed to consider; they do have a rather extensive network of bicycle dealers that are willing to not only sell but are actually also willing to do all of the potential servicing, maintaining and even the inevitable potential e-bike repair services on ones e-bike in particular during the actual product warranty period timeframe; so this is a very important primary consideration indeed in of itself; I am also not afraid to consider other excellent E-Bike brands such as RadBikes with their very competitive RadCity, RadRover, even their RadWagon($1c599) competitive E-Bike market offering starting at only $1,499; is just another choice and possibility for potential consideration especially at its rather attractive cost competitive price point for the value and performance dollar given; their are also many other choices to potentially choose from at under $2k in particular; which may even include building ones own custom E-Bike from Luna Cycle(excellent provider of E-Bike Conversion kits) also as well;

Electric Bike Center out of Fullerton, CA is definitely one of the better electric bike shops with actual extensive experience servicing and potentially troubleshooting e-bike service issue(s), along with any other related associated e-bike maintenance and/or repair issues; my main primary issue with Juiced Bikes is their lack of totally committed primary support of their chosen bike dealers whether it be in California and/or nationwide(will naturally be worse support); Juiced Bikes has a major massive ongoing verbal and written communications failure problem with both their dealers and also their paying customers that is seriously affecting the ability to deliver normal expected proper quality customer servicing that a typical paying e-bike customer should expect to get without question, expectation or even having to ask or beg in the first place; after all they have just paid the stated perceived value of the offered asking price in "total and in full"; in order so that they can actually receive and fully expect to get the full expected measure of ones actual expected total E-Bike support that is due to them even on a post purchase basis; not this alternative half baked, half thought thru and/or half measure support for any future potential customer service support issues Juiced Bikes has become so well known and famous for instead;

now if this is Juiced Bikes great marketing idea of complete and totally committed E-Bike customer support; then they will likely only have further ongoing negative customer service support issues and/or concerns going forward that will only get more complex and ultimately cause the existing relationships that they have with their bike dealers(outside California) to de-evolve and ultimately further deteriorate to the point of not being able to effectively deliver an acceptable level of paying Juiced Bikes customer service post purchase support; as an very graphic illustration how "on earth" can one actually expect a local Juiced Bikes bike dealer to actually pull spare parts off of completely working multiple Juiced Bikes store display "for demonstration purposes only" models is yet again another effective highly illustrative objective demonstration of a purely insane, illogical and also irrational in nature highly ineffective business model practices(if one ever existed at all) if ones is to actually take Juiced Bikes as a serious E-Bike company that is actually going to compete with the other major E-Bike competitive companies(HaiBike/Bulls) and also for any potential Juiced Bikes E-Bike customer to actually take seriously prior to actually purchasing a Juiced Bikes E-Bikes;

now since I have not heard of any Juiced Bikes officially taking on any new actual customer service support initiatives to actual support ongoing potential paying Juiced Bikes customers from Tora Harris himself; I will assume that it's business as usual at Juiced Bikes HQ and that their will not be anything further done for their potential paying Juiced Bikes customers with potential future customer servicing issue(s) and/or concerns in case they actually run into any potential customer service issues during the actual twelve month product warranty period time frame; I could see Juiced Bikes also taking particular advantage of a potential paying Juiced Bikes customer who at ten months into the actual Juiced Bikes product warranty might be delayed "on purpose" to a future point in time where they are actually beyond the actual initial twelve month product warranty period time frame; and also when does the actual Juiced Bikes twelve month product warranty begin exactly; from the date one places one original order; or when one actually receives and accepts ones actual Juiced Bikes product from the asian Chinese factory at ones physical address; now it's literally quite true that if it's not actually in physical writing; then Juiced Bikes might literally make up the rules as Juiced Bikes sees or even deems fit to profit handsomely from; which really does not surprise me at all at this point if it did so;

now most potential Juiced Bikes customers may in fact not ride their E-Bike for many miles other than for the occasional recreational outings with family but what if the potential Juiced Bikes customers actually uses it for actual every day E-Bike travel commuting and actual every day recreational enjoyment bicycle tour riding which does in fact start to add on and stack up substantial miles quite rapidly(where will their investment in Juiced Bikes E-Bike end up-take a wild guess); will Juiced Bikes be able to actually deliver 20,000 miles for example in a typical four years like a typical Evelo fully equipped Orion Series E-Bike(four year warranty with 20,000 miles full unquestioned product warranty coverage) for example and what can one fully expect from ones local bike dealer in terms of actual Juiced Bikes E-Bike support to hopefully resolve any potential future inevitable Juiced Bikes aggravating customer service support issues that they may experience in the first four years of potential E-Bike ownership; my confidence is not high at all based from the written testimony feedback that I have seen so far based on the objective evidence I have seen thus far in navigating the various E-Bike forums that I have intercepted and continue to collect and analyze data on; now for the time being I have put Juiced Bikes "on hold-due to lack of Juiced Bikes from taking on definitive corrective action in so far as with their current unsatisfactory customer service practices" indefinitely until they actually get their current sadly lacking "customer services" act hopefully together sooner rather than later; its rather unsurprising just how "apathetic" and "uncaring" they actually turns out to be when Juiced Bikes actually is; once it has conveniently intercepted your money and somehow mysteriously vanished on the written promised basic excellent customer service support front; which is basically an irrational logical insult to the potential paying Juiced Bikes customer who has been dis-serviced and thrown directly under the bus; which is fine so long as its not me who personally gets thrown under the bus(naturally of course..my preference).

daniel58
4 days ago

This seems like a troll posting an advertisement for Magnum. Are you getting paid by the word? Why is it so long? Allow me to state, that I've had zero Customer Service issues with Juiced (I got a CC Air that needed throttle replacement), but I had to file an Amazon A-Z claim against Magnum to get my money back. Soooooooo, people's experiences with these companies aren't always the same.

I have considered many potential E-Bike brands and typical E-Bike consumer pitfalls in the process of doing ones usual due diligence homework prior to purchasing an actual E-Bike; I am also not in any rush by any stretch of the creative imagination; and I usually take a very very long time in considering all the pro's and con's prior to making any kind of potential actual E-Bike purchase; much has to be considered; now Magnum like many other potential E-Bike offerings also offer very compelling alternatives indeed to consider; they do have a rather extensive network of bicycle dealers that are willing to not only sell but are actually also willing to do all of the potential servicing, maintenaning and even the inevitable potential repair services on ones e-bike in particular; so this is a very important primary consideration indeed in of itself; I am also not afraid to consider other excellent E-Bike brands such as RadBikes with their very competitive RadCity, RadRover, even their RadWagon($1c599) competitive E-Bike market offering starting at only $1,499; is just another choice and possibility for potential consideration especially at its rather attractive cost competitive price point for the value and performance dollar given; their are also many other choices to potentially choose from at under $2k in particular; which may even include building ones own custom E-Bike from Luna Cycle(excellent provider of E-Bike Conversion kits) also as well;

Electric Bike Center out of Fullerton, CA is definitely one of the better electric bike shops with actual extensive experience servicing e-bike service, maintenance and repair issues; my main primary issue with Juiced Bikes is their lack of totally committed primary support of their bike dealers whether it be in California and/or nationwide(will naturally be worse support); Juiced Bikes has a major massive ongoing verbal and written communications failure problem with both their dealers and also their paying customers that is seriously affecting the ability to deliver normal expected proper quality customer servicing that a typical paying e-bike customer should expect to get without question, expectation or even having to ask or beg in the first place; after all they have just paid the stated perceived value of the offered asking price in "total and in full"; in order so that they can actually receive and fully expect to get the full expected measure of actual E-Bike support that is due to them even post purchase; not this half baked and/or half measure support customer service issues Juiced Bikes has become so well known and famous for instead;

now if this is Juiced Bikes great marketing idea of complete and totally committed E-Bike customer support; then they will likely only have further ongoing negative customer service support issues and/or concerns going forward that will only get more complex and ultimately cause the existing relationships that they have with their bike dealers(outside California) to de-evolve and ultimately further deteriorate to the point of being able to effectively deliver an acceptable level of paying Juiced Bikes customer service post purchase support; now to expect a local Juiced Bikes bike dealer to actually pull spare parts off of multiple Juiced Bikes store display demonstration models is yet again another effective highly illustrative objective demonstration of a purely insane, illogical and also irrational in nature highly ineffective business model(if one ever existed at all) if ones is to actually take Juiced Bikes as a serious E-Bike company that is actually going to compete with the other major E-Bike competitive companies(HaiBike/Bulls) and also for a potential Juiced Bikes E-Bike customer to actually take seriously;

now since I have not heard of any Juiced Bikes officially taking on any new actual customer service support initiatives to actual support ongoing potential paying Juiced Bikes customers from Tora Harris himself; I will assume that it's business as usual at Juiced Bikes HQ and that their will not be anything further done for their potential paying Juiced Bikes customers with potential customer servicing issue(s) in case they actually run into any potential customer service issues during the actual twelve month product warranty period time frame; I could see Juiced Bikes also taking particular advantage of a potential paying Juiced Bikes customer who at ten months into the actual Juiced Bikes product warranty being delayed on purpose to a future point in time where they are actually beyond the actual twelve month product warranty period time frame; and also when does the actual Juiced Bikes product warranty begin exactly; from the date one places one original order; or when one actually receives and accepts ones actual Juiced Bikes product from the asian Chinese factory at ones physical address; now it's literally quite true that if it's not actually in physical writing; then Juiced Bikes can literally make up the rules as Juiced Bikes sees or even deems fit to profit from; which really does not surprise me at all at this point if it did;

now most potential Juiced Bikes customers may in fact not ride their E-Bike for many miles other than for the occasional recreational outings with family but what if the potential Juiced Bikes customers uses it for actual every day E-Bike travel commuting and actual every day recreational enjoyment bicycle tour riding which does in fact start to add on and stack up the miles quite rapidly; will Juiced Bikes be able to actually do 20,000 miles for example in four years like a typical Evelo fully equipped Orion Series E-Bike for example and what can one fully expect from ones local bike dealer in terms of actual Juiced Bikes E-Bike support to resolve any potential inevitable customer service support issues that they may experience in the first four years of potential E-Bike ownership; my confidence is not high at all based from the written testimony feedback that I have seen on the E-Bike forums that I have intercepted and continue to collect and analyze; for the time being I have put Juiced Bikes "on hold-due to lack of taking definitive corrective action" indefinitely until they actually get their act hopefully together sooner rather than later.

daniel58
7 days ago

[QUOhttps://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radrover-electric-fat-bike?variant=1121017969TE="Rooster, post: 120185, member: 15666"]Yes but this ocean current already has vee tire co. Speedster 2.80x26 fat tires and looks the roll[/QUOTE]

I actually got the idea from watching youtube video's of actual e-bike product demonstrations that featured bikes with both front and rear wheel electric hub motor drives; now with both front and rear wheel electric hub motor drives engaged with the ground all the time one can actually ride on the beach even thru dry and/or wet sand without getting potentially stuck; while at the same time being also able to go directly thru muddy trails without getting potentially stuck; to be able to actually have a powered e-bike that is actually capable of powering as if one had the equivalent of all terrain 4wd for a bicycle is something that can be realized with a relatively modest additional investment in ones existing e-bike purchase;

for example consider the Radrover E-Bike Fat Tire Bike for $1499(link below); just imagine the actual potential possibilities of having an all terrain 4wd fat tire E-Bike with a powered front wheel electric hub motor drive; yes one can go on amazon and literally add a 750 watt powered front wheel electric hub motor for a relatively modest e-bike upgrade cost; that would give even the Juiced Bikes Hyperfat E-Bike that is currently still in product development; some rather serious no nonsense E-Bike fat tire ultra performance potential market competition at a very competitive price point offering to boot easily under $2,000;

which is still a very easy modest doable post purchase e-biker end user upgrade project that can actually be purchased right now as we speak(all component parts needed); and yes it would be a turbocharged version of Juiced Bikes Hyperfat with 500 watts in your case combined with 750 watts from front powered front wheel electric hub motor drive; for a combined 1250 watts or 1.25Kw of pure 4wd turbocharged performance one could literally in fact go up a truly massive 25 degree hilly incline if actually needed or if the need ever potentially arose; heck I might just go looking for a 25 degree incline to actually see how it does performance wise to witness and experience the e-bike performance wow factor before and after the turbocharging of the Hyperfat Ebike;

now one of course might have to contact Court and have him do a performance test evaluation review of ones end user post purchase modified E-Bike whether its a CCS, OceanCurrent, or even a custom modified RadRover E-Bike; especially if one also added a Cycling Analyst 3.0(by Grin Technologies) to actually control and customize the end user actual output power levels going to the motor controller that would be delivering the actual adjustable variable output power to the front wheel electric hub motor drive; all to deliver a end user totally customizable 4wd turbocharged surrealistic terra firma ground gripping engaging 4wd E-Biking experience;

as that is truly something that may not have been done before or be directly customized and/or adjusted by the end user in "real time" on the fly; one could for example easily adjust for more or less desired end user target objective needed customized power going to the forward front wheel electric hub motor drive in relative comparison to the actual power going to the rear wheel electric hub motor drive; now the end user might be able to actually go into the Cycling Analyst and set up a custom power level preset to deliver an end user defined custom output power level going to the motor controller that would be effectively delivering and transferring a certain amount of end user pre-defined usable output power to the front wheel on demand.

One can literally turn it into a super cool urban assault commuter bike; by swapping out the default tires for the higher end Kenda Juggernaut Fat Bike tires; just imagine for a moment riding up intense mountain trails being a breeze to pedal and having the time of ones lives cycling enjoying the great outdoors e-biking; now the dual forward and rear electric hub motor pedal assist experience would be nothing short of amazing to realize in real life; by being able to take on mountain trails terrain with the kind of aggressive dual traction being provided from both ones electric powered wheels that one really needs on typical mountain trails;

one can literally be suddenly able to selectively carefully climb and pick ones way through potential sand, snow, loose rock, loose gravel, grass, rough fields and even climb some steep boulders also as well; for at least 25 miles to 30 miles and for about at least 3 to 3.5 hours time worry free with a decent generously sized lithium ion battery pack; now this dual purpose urban and mountain trails assault e-bike would be an absolute blast to experience riding indeed and one could definitely see how much fun it could actually be to get out on some rather grueling mountain trails that I have hiked on before previously to look forward revisiting once again using this very powerful e-biking mountain trail touring tool;

now the Easy Motion Evo Big Bud Pro has the dual wheel electric hub motor setup for $3,600; with 350 watts for the rear wheel electric hub motor and 250 watts for the front wheel electric hub motor; while the Rad Rover has its fat e-biking setup for $1,500; the Rad rover has a 750 watts for the rear wheel electric hub motor and one can rather easily as another add on optional front wheel driven 750 watts for the front wheel electric hub; for a total potential combined total power output of up to 1,500 watts in 4wd mode if needed;

so for the Rad Rover fat bike setup for $1,500 that comes with its included 750 watts rear wheel electric hub motor and let's say about $300 conservatively for the option to add the 750 watt front wheel electric hub motor from Amazon along with a Cycling Analyst 3.0; and even adding $500 for another 11.4 lithium ion battery pack mounted to a front rack mount; that is still only about $2,300 in total costs as compared to the $3,600 Easy Motion Evo Big Bud Pro; that is still a major savings in cost of just over $1,300;

now the other major thing to consider of course is the Easy Motion Evo Big Bud Pro for $3,600 is only 600 watts total combined power output for both the front and rear electric hub drive motors; while the Rad Rover fat bike setup has for just about $2,300 only has just over 1,500 watts total continuous combined power output for both the front and rear electric hub drive motors and that is not even considering what the total peak power output might actually turn out to be;

now guys the actual total cost for the modified dual drive all wheel drive customized fat e-bike setup for the Rad Rover is only $2,300(as described previously above); while still able to deliver at least 1,500 watts of total potential continuous output power to ones dual wheels on the ground thru its dual all wheel drive fat e-bike specific top quality Kenda Juggernaut tires; now with the customized fat e-bike setup described Rad Rover described above that is actually just a bit over two and a half times the total combined power output of the Easy Motion Evo Big Bud Pro dual drive all wheel drive fat e-bike setup and yet it still somehow manages to cost basically still somehow less than $1,300; holy cow that is basically a "steal of a deal";

now that is definitely a fat e-bike project that is practically basically begging to be built just for the upgrade performance cost in parts in terms relative to the cost of the basic core $1,500(about 1.5x) Rad Rover fat e-bike itself versus about 2.4x the cost of a core Rad Rover $1,500 fat e-bike; for the Easy Motion Evo Big Bud Pro turn key fat e-bike configuration; while it basically costs just about only $800 additional to performance upgrade ones Rad Rover fat e-bike with some additional upgrade parts($300 for the 750 watt front wheel hub electric motor drive and $500 for the second lithium ion battery pack); and we are not even talking about the potential doubling of the power that the Rad Rover is going to be definitely experiencing going from 750 watts on the rear wheel electric drive hub motor to another 750 watts on the front wheel drive hub motor; for heavens sake, that is another whole additional 900 watts of pure total watts of potential unmitigated continuous output power that can be potentially applied "in real life" to ones dual wheel Rad Rover fat e-bike tires and any terra firma that may yet lay beneath them to be explored on mountain trails and the like hopefully;

and yet another point for potential contention and mutual consideration; exactly how many dual wheel all wheel drive capable fat tire e-bike configuartion does one know of; that can actually provide 1,500 watts of total combined output power thru its massive dual fat e-bike tires for not more than $2,300? Tora Harris(founder of Juiced Bikes) eat your heart out we just may have in fact just taken out his very own Hyperfat fat tire e-bike still in actual product development currently having ongoing problems still trying to be developed and built successfully in their asian chinese factories; and their is a very strong distinct chance and actual "real world reality" probability possibility that this dual wheel all wheel drive customized Rad Rover fat tire e-bike design can easily beat not only the Hyperfat fat tire e-bike and but also perhaps even the original "all wheel drive" flagship design by Easy Motion Evo Big Bud Pro($3,600) quite badly on a performance specification wise basis at least also as well; and one can actually build it actually right now without any further waiting and also build it at a significant anticipated project cost savings over the projected cost of the actual HyperFat fat tire e-bike when it does actually come out and easily beat the cost of the Easy Motion Evo Big Bud Pro($3,600) also quite handily by a huge cost factor and absolutely ridiculous cost savings margin; at the same time also as well.

https://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radrover-electric-fat-bike?variant=1121017969

One horsepower equals 745.7 watts; 1,500 watts divided by 745.7 watts equals 2.01 horsepower; and guys that is only the defined rated continuous output power; as the actual peak output power is actually not 750 watts but actually 1095 watts maximum peak output power; or

1095 watts peak maximum output power times two wheels equals 2,190 watts peak maximum output power; 2190 watts divided by 745.7 watts equals 2.94hp actual total maximum peak output power in terms of rated equivalent horsepower; holy cow guys that is almost 3 horsepower peak total maximum power output in terms of rated equivalent horsepower; that would seem like more than enough to potentially beat the HyperFat fat tire e-bike at least on a paper technical specification basis; for not much more money to boot also as well(no brainer-build it and find out; no worries Cycling Analyst 3.0(Grin Technologies-they also actually sell pairs of massively heavily reinforced hardened steel(think lawn mower blade hardened reinforced tempered steel) torque arms for ones front fork-cannot be to safe they say its actually true in real life) will confirm ones actual power output is all genuine, authentic and real for "real world" confirmation and proof of actual power output in terms of maximum continuous power and maximum peak power total actual power output figures-so their will be no doubt at all if one actually somehow beats the HyperFat fat tire e-bike and/or the Easy Motion Evo Big Bud Pro fat tire e-bike; then one can go on youtube and actually go viral after proving one has beat any of the other fat tire e-bike potential competition hopefully and then go on to hopefully even extensively document this do it yourself (DIY) fat tire e-bike upgrade project on Youtube to also enable other potential hardcore fellow fat tire e-bikers to be able to put their very own custom dual wheel all wheel drive fat tire e-bike together for themselves also as well); now this fat tire e-bike would also make for the ultimate all terrain vehicle snow bike(with both ice and snow hardened steel studded equipped fat bike tires-same kind they use on bmx enduro downhill motocross snow racing tires) thanks to its highly variable customizable adjustable power output dual wheel all wheel drive fat tire e-bike drive power transmission system;

yes guys one can actually do a do-it-yourself(DIY) Rad Rover end user customized fat tire e-bike build for just about $2,300 that will definitely result in at least 1,500 watt or at least two horsepower of total potential continuous output power(2.94hp actual total maximum peak output power in terms of rated equivalent horsepower-see above actual derived calculation) being directly applied to ones dual wheels on the ground thru its dual all wheel drive fat e-bike specific top quality Kenda Juggernaut tires; now if that is actually worth $2,300 to any hard core fat tire e-biking individuals out their; please report back if anyone has built anything remotely like this previously in the past or even considering also building something along the lines of a dual wheel all wheel drive fat tire e-bike as previously extensively described and discussed above.

P.S. to Andy in Ca; it need not be a lithium ion battery pack hog; that is what the Cycling Analyst 3.0 is for; as it is being used as a programmable cycling computer, where it can supposedly set up a end user defined customized power output profile to drive ones front wheel electric hub motor drive; so one can very precisely and accurately dial in the exact end user defined power output going to the motor controller that is driving the front wheel electric hub drive motor; and yes it can actually be both varied and also adjusted on the fly in "real time" to fit ones "real world" and "real time" conditions on an as needed "user defined on demand" basis; naturally of course one can also do the same with setting up another Cycling Analyst 3.0 programmable cycling computer to also actually customize and control the actual amount of power going to the motor controller for the rear wheel electric hub drive motor also as well similar to what is going to be done in conjunction with the front wheel electric hub drive motor; also Andy the Cycling Analyst 3.0 can also if needed to conserve both power and range on ones lithium ion battery pack if needed by also being able to put a optimal end user defined maximum speed velocity threshold cutoff value if actually needed and/or also be able to additionally put a optimal end user defined maximum current threshold cutoff value if also actually needed and/or necessary to still make it to home base without potentially running out of critical potential needed power on ones lithium ion battery pack also as well in an potential unexpected emergency for example of course.

DRR
1 week ago

Thanks for your excellent blog of experiences to date. I currently own my first ebike, a Cyclamatic CX3 and it is outstanding! Chinese made, alloy frame; sold on line only by Shop247.com for $750 (available on Amazon); outstanding value. (I’d love to see review by Court/EBR!). It has 250w rear hub motor and 36v 10.4 amp battery. I have about 250 miles so far with no problems. I love the front suspension, and have lowered rear tire pressure to about 30+ psi to improve the ride - I’m also considering a suspension seat post. I also installed a wider more comfortable seat, and a 110mm adjustable stem to move the handlebars up and towards me; also cheap plastic fenders from Amazon. It has a great display and 9-speed controller; pedal assist only. Normally I ride at about 15-18 mph (I upped the max speed) and the range is about 20-25 miles. They say it weighs 42 lb; I travel a lot so I remove the battery and quick-release front wheel, and lay it atop all the stuff in my SUV when we travel - very manageable. For lighter weight, you may want to take a look at the Cyclamatic CX3 - I recommend it highly.
I’m already thinking about my next ebike and have enjoyed reading Court’s reviews on EBR. I’m considering the Radrover (which I love!) and the Voltbike Enduro; but they both weigh 60+ lb. so not sure about those for my travels. BTW, I’m 78, 5’10”, weigh about 178 lb. and live in Michigan. I ride 12-15 miles a day and I’ve been a bike rider on and off since my youth. Hope my ramblings are of some interest. Keep biking!

mrgold35
2 weeks ago

Well I am totally bummed and not happy with rad rover at all... so right away I would get error messages but then a reboot would clear them then after a very high humidity couple of days the bike would start then just take off instantly when started NOT GOOD that seemed to go away when it dried out finally when i returned from the beach I washed it off and wala Broken again this time no recovery just a error code after 15 seconds (30) and the shut off tried another battery same issue so its broken and since it was exposed to H20 the company... VOIDED the warranty and now I'm stuck with a 1500$ piece of JUNK!! yup not happy and recommend that no one trust these guys or waste their money on this shoddy product!

I had the same 30 maintain error on one of my Radrovers. I don't ride when it is wet (we only get 5-6 inches of rain per year anyways in ABQ, NM). I would get the error message at random times and frequently when starting my ride a few minutes in or the error message wouldn't happen up to an hour later. A new Radrover controller fixed the issue. I've had to replace both controllers on either bikes during the warranty period.

Unless you had the rover up to the handlebars in salt water, I don't see why they voided the warranty for this Seattle based company? I lived in Tacoma, WA (actually Puyallup) for +4 years and they call the +150 rainy days "liquid sunshine". A poorly sealed controller or wiring harness might be the issue.

I would call Rad to see the price for a new controller compared to changing it out with something from Luna Cycles. I'm out of warranty after a year of ownership and I would convert my Rad into a Luna Cycle mid-drive when the ebike components fail (already have the battery to cut the cost by 1/2).

Barkme Wolf
2 weeks ago

Hey Barkme Wolf, thanks for the accessory video!

I only do around 15 miles a day if I do straight to/from work (I leave between 5am - 5:30am 3X-5X a week). I've sometimes do 30-35 miles a day if I take detours for fun rides if the weather is nice. I also have an extra battery I try and rotate to keep the charge/discharge cycles around the same.

I run into a same concern of it is better to be seen with extra (bright) lights in low and limited light in early morning ebike commuting. I think the human brain is conditioned to be more alert and more cautious when they see a flashing light because of fire/police/emergency services. Even a distracted driver on a cell phone will respond to a flashing light. Any flashing light front and rear can be a potential life save for the ebiker on the public roads day or night.

I use my Radrover headlight, NiteRider Pro 3600lm on lowest setting on handlebars (solid at night, blinking during day), and NiteRider Pro 2200lm on lowest setting on helmet. I also have two 70lm Light and Motion Vis 180 USB rechargeable tail lights for the back of the rad rear rack and my helmet, and the Brightz, Ltd Go Brightz LED bike light under the seat to help with side illumination. I only need to re-charge once a week since I put in a lot less mileage.

I like the focused helmet light to 2X the amount of light on the road when needed to avoid debris and obstacles (there is so much glass/rocks/car parts in the share the road bike lanes), check the road out during a tight turn, and shine at a cars on side roads nearing a stop signs that might turn in-front of me when I have the right away on the main road. I look as bigger and brighter than a motorcycle moving at 20 mph that early in the morning.

I still wear reflective clothing also. I pass other bike commuters that early in the morning with zero lights, reflective gear, protective clothing, or helmets. That is crazy to me.

I hear good things about the NiteRider-

mrgold35
2 weeks ago

Hey Barkme Wolf, thanks for the accessory video!

I only do around 15 miles a day if I do straight to/from work (I leave between 5am - 5:30am 3X-5X a week). I've sometimes do 30-35 miles a day if I take detours for fun rides if the weather is nice. I also have an extra battery I try and rotate to keep the charge/discharge cycles around the same.

I run into a same concern of it is better to be seen with extra (bright) lights in low and limited light in early morning ebike commuting. I think the human brain is conditioned to be more alert and more cautious when they see a flashing light because of fire/police/emergency services. Even a distracted driver on a cell phone will respond to a flashing light. Any flashing light front and rear can be a potential life save for the ebiker on the public roads day or night.

I use my Radrover headlight, NiteRider Pro 3600lm on lowest setting on handlebars (solid at night, blinking during day), and NiteRider Pro 2200lm on lowest setting on helmet. I also have two 70lm Light and Motion Vis 180 USB rechargeable tail lights for the back of the rad rear rack and my helmet, and the Brightz, Ltd Go Brightz LED bike light under the seat to help with side illumination. I only need to re-charge once a week since I put in a lot less mileage.

I like the focused helmet light to 2X the amount of light on the road when needed to avoid debris and obstacles (there is so much glass/rocks/car parts in the share the road bike lanes), check the road out during a tight turn, and shine at a cars on side roads nearing a stop signs that might turn in-front of me when I have the right away on the main road. I look as bigger and brighter than a motorcycle moving at 20 mph that early in the morning.

I still wear reflective clothing also. I pass other bike commuters that early in the morning with zero lights, reflective gear, protective clothing, or helmets. That is crazy to me.

mrgold35
2 weeks ago

I have the same suspension seatpost on my Radrover (27.2mm X 400mm) and it is very comfy over large bumps and undulating trails. The Suntour's limits are with washboard or pockmarked trails. The Bodyfloat does a better job if you need a touch more out of the seatpost and you have and extra $150 above the price of the Suntour to spend.

My Radrover looks just like yours after single track trail riding. I couldn't find a cover made by Suntour when I was looking; but, the Thudbuster neoprene cover fits perfectly over the Suntour: Cane Creek Crudbuster Boot, Amazon, $18. One less thing to clean and oil after single track riding.

mrgold35
2 weeks ago

I'm 6'3" and 270 lbs and I've had my two his/her Radrovers since Sept/2016. I have around 3600 miles between both bikes. The wife doesn't ride hers as much as I do and I end up using both for work/fun rides (keep wear/tear/mileage the same for both). When I was looking last year, it was only a choice between Sondors, Volt, and Rad in the same price range. It was my first ebike after getting back into biking a few years ago after a +20 year break.

You will get use to how a fat tire bike rides and there are a lot of benefits with the extra size like instant conversation starter, smoother ride on rough surfaces at any speed, easy to transition for smooth roads to rough dirt trails with a minimal drop in ride quality or speed, can handle sandy conditions that would stop thinner tires, and you can make your own trail if you need to ride around obstacles.

A lot of these fat tire ebikes are very similar in style and features to almost in the same way trying to pick from a Accord, Camry, or Altima sedans. I dug a little deeper to see if there were any features that might be useful for daily commuting and trail riding (my list from a year ago).

I went with a 2016 model Radrover (in black and white) because:
- looked like a more upright riding position compared to Volt, less stress on arms and shoulders, I could go for longer rides.
- ergo hand grips, lessen the effects of "numb hands"
- the Rad had adjustable forks with lock out
- the Rad had 180mm front/rear brakes, extra size brakes comes in handy for emergency stops at +270lbs and +20 mph
- easy to adjust the motor cut off speed from the standard 20 mph down to 7 mph or up to a little under 25 mph with a few presses in the set-up screen.
- narrower handle bars, helps keep less stress on upper body, narrow handle bars help with obstacles on narrow single track trails.
- three bottle cage connections (either side of upper top tube near handle bars, one on down tube facing the ground)
- throttle has a red on/off switch, you can turn it on when needed
- throttle power is available at full 750w power in PAS 0-5. Very handy for getting across busy intersections, short inclines to boost your speed, if you need to push you Rad up a hill, or riding around obstacles that would hit the pedals in PAS. I even used the throttle to help push my Rad up a flight of stairs.
- the Radrover is a 4" fat tire bike with ebike components added. I can remove all ebike components and add to another fat tire bike, upgrade components like the battery/controller/hub motor, convert the rad into a mid-drive, or just remove all ebike components and turn the rover into a regular fat tire bike. A little harder to do all those things with a ebike with an integrated battery in the frame.
- customer service, communications, and warranty claims has been 100% in my book

I did have to make some mods to my Rover to fit me a little better like adding:
- Sunlite 0-60 degree adjustable stem
- Sunlite 11.5X12.5 Cloud-9 cruiser seat
- Suntour SP-12 NCX 400mm suspension seatpost
- 1859 Northwest ebike throttle attachment
- BM Works Speed Extender for the handlebar for my cell iphone 6S Plus and headlight (rover handlebars too crowded and curved too much to add directly there)

RobMatthies Vancouver
2 weeks ago

Unfortunately, two days ago, my 2017 Rad Rover eBike was stolen while parked and locked at my local public library. The cable lock I used was no match for the cutters that were used to remove the lock and as witnesses reported, it did take long for the thief to free my RadRover and ride off in plain sight of others...

This incident got me thinking of ways to protect my next bike. Other than a stronger lock and paying attention to where you leave your bike, I'm thinking that incorporating a hidden GPS tracking device into the bike would provide an additional level of security and might provide owners and law enforcement a way to locate and recover the bike. I don't think it would be too expensive to add the hardware and would be a desirable feature.

It could be powered from the bike's battery pack, or have its own battery and be integrated into the controller or display unit. An alternative to a built-in tracker might be an add-on accessory which could be installed somewhere inconspicuous. I don't know if such an accessory is currently available?
What are others doing to prevent the theft of their ebikes which are very attractive to thieves ?

Sincerely,

Marc

I once had 4 ebikes/escooters stolen in one night from an apartment gated garage area. They got stolen only because I got tired of changing/charging batteries every day, on the 7 electric rides I had at that time, spread out in 3 locations.

Prior to that, I no e-cycle had been stolen, since ~1998, roughly some 10 years of successful e-bike ownership.

Here's what works, and you'll find these highly unusual:

- U-locks that sent a signal to a receiver at the house.
- Human-sensing "doorknob" alarms
- Motion-sensing bike alarm adjacent to a vox-activated GMRS walkie-talkie inside one of the saddlebags. The receiver GMRS was in the house.
- Built-in motion-sensing alarm on the China-made electric scooters

What didn't work:
- The Kryptonite New York chain.
- Regular U-locks, even the pricey stainless-steel one

Interesting:
- The thieves left a home-made bump key in one of the scooters that had a motion sensing alarm.

Hanz
3 weeks ago

I currently have a radrover fatbike I love. Also thinking about getting a Bulls E-Stream Evo 45 FS. A LBS near Pittsburgh will have a demo next week. Looking for real world pros and cons. I read all the reviews I could find. Any opinions greatly appreciated.

1/1
Gary_G
3 weeks ago

Hi, everyone- I just purchased my first e-bike a few weeks ago, a RadRover. I thought I was doing the smart thing, having it delivered straight to my LBS for assembly and a hydraulic brake upgrade before I even tried it out, but that hasn't worked out so well for me. This LBS is very good with 'normal' bicycles, but has zero prior experience with e-bikes. In spite of that, I remembered how happy I was with their service on my Cannondale years ago (after another LBS left me thoroughly unimpressed, twice) and there are no e-bike shops in my area, so I went and begged them to put my new RadRover together for me.

They got the bike put together and working well in straight-from-the-box configuration, before installing the 203mm front rotor and Luna Cycle "BBSXX-BRKS-M615 Shimano Deore M615 Hydraulic Brake Set with Bafang Ebrake cut off" (which I no longer see listed for sale on their website) that I wanted. During installation, the LBS noted that the Ebrake cutoff would not mate up to my RadRover wiring (even though the RR does have a Bafang controller). The RadRover wiring has two-pronged red connectors, and the Luna brakes have three-pronged yellow connectors. Does anyone know where I can get adapters, or connectors, and/or how I need to wire things up to compensate for this?

Initially, I assumed this simply meant that until I could find and install the proper connectors, I would not have instant motor cutoff when the brakes were applied- the same as if I had 'normal' brakes, with no cutoff... That didn't seem so bad, given that I had bumped up the front rotor size and gone hydraulic, so as soon as I got my RR home I eagerly jumped on it and went for a spin around my neighborhood... which turned out to be a *VERY SLOW* spin, with no motor assistance in any Pedal Assist mode nor while twisting the throttle.

I then reasoned that the open ebrake circuit was activating the motor cutoff, and that, as a temporary workaround, I should be able to hang my old (no longer installed) brakes on my handlebars, and plug in their sensor wiring, thereby closing the sensor circuit and allowing the motor to run.

Nope. No self-propulsion whatsoever.

Can anybody help me understand and correct this problem? I have fully charged the battery. I have properly turned on both the battery and the display. I have properly reinstalled the battery after charging. Am I overlooking something here, or would y'all be inclined to agree that the ebrake motor cutoff is likely the only issue- in which case, why didn't my field expedient fix work? What do I do for a permanent fix? Where do I find any necessary parts? Who would you turn to for technical support here- Rad Power? Luna? Bafang?

Thanks, in advance, to any and all who might be able to help me out here!

GG.

KandK
3 weeks ago

Hey folks…we have two RadRover fat tire bikes that we need to haul on our truck that has a slide in camper. Being able to swing the rack out of the way was the most important feature to us, since the access to the camper is (only) in the rear. We also needed something that would make it a easier to load -- compared to the "challenging" hanging rack we had. We found the right rack, so sharing info in case others are in the same boat.

The BackStage 2 is a slick platform-style mount. It snugly holds two bikes (up to 60lb. each). You can swing the loaded carrier away from the back of your vehicle and off to the side to access your hatchback/camper/van etc.). Brilliant!

What I really love about this is that it came with everything needed to take care of two fat tire bikes…didn’t have to buy any extenders or anything.

The rack also tilts 30 degrees (easily) for quick access to the back. Came with hitch pin lock and integrated cable lock that is is a deterrent, though not much more.

Caveats: two bikes max. 2” receivers only. Assembly instructions were lacking - though it wasn't overly difficult.

Check it out if need this type of rack…we are really happy to have found it and recommend it.

https://rockymounts.com/collections/fat-bike-compatible-racks/products/backstage-swing-away-platform-hitch-rack

mrgold35
4 weeks ago

One thing I do like about the Sondors and Rad is the potential for upgrades with Luna Cycles. I like their approach of a regular fat tire bike with ebike components added compared to having a custom frame you find with other mid-drives or fat tire bikes. I don't think other fat tire bikes with built-in battery pack within the frame like Volt or Teo have the same upgrade potential. Between battery packs, fwd and/or 2wd systems, +1000w hubs, and up to 7500w mid-drives gives the Sondors and Rad frames a longer life once the original controllers/battery pack/motors wear out. We can even remove all Sondors/Rad ebike components and add to another fat tire bike if we wanted.

I have a similar issue with my Radrover once I put a Luna Cycle triangle bag over the battery pack. I have a front/rear Blackvue DR650 dash cam on my SUV I can switch to if my regular licence plate mounted back-up cam is blocked by the rovers. I also added extra 4-way lights to my Saris bike carrier and plug into my hitch harness since the 4" fat tires block the rear tail lights and back up light a little bit.

BVC
4 weeks ago

Thanks for highly detailed review of the two products.

The only things I would add would be:
- the warranty periods of both bikes,
- tire sizes,
- seat and seatpost sizes (Rover had both upgraded seatpost and seat)
- the tire upgrade to Origin8 from the OEM 26X4" Kenda Juggernauts on the Radrover
- Levels of PAS and how fast does the motor engages (takes between 1/3 to 1/2 turn of the pedal to engage PAS on the Rover with 6 magnets)
- how the throttle engages for both bikes (full 750w of power at any PAS level 0-5 on Rover, Sondors ?)
- range with either bike on the same route traveled at the same speed
- ride quality and stopping power
- Issues in or out of warranty

The Sondors limited power, 30 day warranty, lack of dealerships/customer support in USA, bottle cage points, and smaller brakes scratched it off my list a year ago when I was deciding between Rad, Volt, and Sondors.

I did forget to mention the warranty. I did add this to my description however. Good call.

Tire sizes - that's... kinda personal opinion and not something that should be compared. Plus I don't have enough knowledge of tires to know if the Sondors tires are any quality.

I did do a origin8 tire review. Separate video tho

I COULD do a full review of the Sondors to answer your other questions. But I'd rather not put that much effort into this bike anymore. Already pissed I spent that much on a shitty bike to start with lol

mrgold35
4 weeks ago

Thanks for highly detailed review of the two products.

The only things I would add would be:
- the warranty periods of both bikes,
- tire sizes,
- seat and seatpost sizes (Rover had both upgraded seatpost and seat)
- the tire upgrade to Origin8 from the OEM 26X4" Kenda Juggernauts on the Radrover
- Levels of PAS and how fast does the motor engages (takes between 1/3 to 1/2 turn of the pedal to engage PAS on the Rover with 6 magnets)
- how the throttle engages for both bikes (full 750w of power at any PAS level 0-5 on Rover, Sondors ?)
- range with either bike on the same route traveled at the same speed
- ride quality and stopping power
- Issues in or out of warranty

The Sondors limited power, 30 day warranty, lack of dealerships/customer support in USA, bottle cage points, and smaller brakes scratched it off my list a year ago when I was deciding between Rad, Volt, and Sondors.

Rooster
1 month ago

Where can you do better? It's not a 17AH battery like a power bank that has a few tens of watt hours, it has 78 18650 cells in it and over 800WH. You can get something similar from Luna for about $650 shipped: https://lunacycle.com/48v-pansonic-ga-17-5ah-black-killer-whale-ebike-pack-huge-range/ but it can't deliver as much current, doesn't come with a warranty, and comes with bare wires on the end. This is close to rock bottom from a large domestic seller.

You will pay even more than this for a 300-400WH replacement battery (!) for a Trek or Specialized.
From another small manufacturer, you can get a 550wh battery for $500 (https://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radrover-battery-pack). Juiced does 420WH for $400 or 610WH for $600, i.e., everyone's about a buck a WH.

The big ones from Juiced do cost more per WH. Panasonic 18650s aren't cheap, shipping Li Ion batteries aren't cheap, and engineering isn't cheap either. The big batteries have machined cases that the CNC'ed parts of the frame were engineered around. They tooled their own injection molded parts. Do you notice how every "shark" or "dolphin" pack looks the same? Whatever engineering costs there were for the case were paid for long ago.

Juiced seems to have attracted some customers from a niche where they see the value in more power/upgrades beyond what's available on the low end or bike shop bikes, but don't want to get into DIY. If it drives you insane that the $1000 battery only has $300 or $400 worth of cells in it, or that you're paying some employee's salaries, rent for the buildings, R&D costs - you are welcome to DIY. To be clear - I've been extremely frustrated with Juiced at times and think they really need to improve with customer service - but suggesting they are somehow gouging on these is crazy. Their prices for standard sized packs are pretty much in line with this end of the industry (not surprising, given that most of these are commodity chinese cases and manufacturing and Japanese cells). The big ones cost more, but they designed their own case and handled all the chinese manufacturing on a brand new product. If you don't see the value in it - maybe a hobbyist bike like they build over at Endless Sphere is a better fit for you. The performance on them can exceed anything Juiced or any non-bespoke manufacturer offers - you're just taking on all the R&D, safety, dealing with China, etc., costs yourself.
Yep, for about $600 you can get the battery with 65 Panasonic ga cells which are some of the best out there , that's a deal but I will build it myself.

doyle
1 month ago

Try to buy an extra, $999. That's ridiculous for a 17ah freaking battery and that is where they get ya but fortunately for someone that can do the work all you need is the case. For the rest, they got ya.

Where can you do better? It's not a 17AH battery like a power bank that has a few tens of watt hours, it has 78 18650 cells in it and over 800WH. You can get something similar from Luna for about $650 shipped: https://lunacycle.com/48v-pansonic-ga-17-5ah-black-killer-whale-ebike-pack-huge-range/ but it can't deliver as much current, doesn't come with a warranty, and comes with bare wires on the end. This is close to rock bottom from a large domestic seller.

You will pay even more than this for a 300-400WH replacement battery (!) for a Trek or Specialized.
From another small manufacturer, you can get a 550wh battery for $500 (https://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radrover-battery-pack). Juiced does 420WH for $400 or 610WH for $600, i.e., everyone's about a buck a WH.

The big ones from Juiced do cost more per WH. Panasonic 18650s aren't cheap, shipping Li Ion batteries aren't cheap, and engineering isn't cheap either. The big batteries have machined cases that the CNC'ed parts of the frame were engineered around. They tooled their own injection molded parts. Do you notice how every "shark" or "dolphin" pack looks the same? Whatever engineering costs there were for the case were paid for long ago.

Juiced seems to have attracted some customers from a niche where they see the value in more power/upgrades beyond what's available on the low end or bike shop bikes, but don't want to get into DIY. If it drives you insane that the $1000 battery only has $300 or $400 worth of cells in it, or that you're paying some employee's salaries, rent for the buildings, R&D costs - you are welcome to DIY. To be clear - I've been extremely frustrated with Juiced at times and think they really need to improve with customer service - but suggesting they are somehow gouging on these is crazy. Their prices for standard sized packs are pretty much in line with this end of the industry (not surprising, given that most of these are commodity chinese cases and manufacturing and Japanese cells). The big ones cost more, but they designed their own case and handled all the chinese manufacturing on a brand new product. If you don't see the value in it - maybe a hobbyist bike like they build over at Endless Sphere is a better fit for you. The performance on them can exceed anything Juiced or any non-bespoke manufacturer offers - you're just taking on all the R&D, safety, dealing with China, etc., costs yourself.

BVC
1 month ago

In this review I compared a Sondors 7 which is nearly identical in terms of options to a radrover to see how the two bikes stack up.

I go over the bikes side by side in a comparison along with the ordering experience and the online community support (Facebook).

Enjoy!!!

Jmegabite
1 month ago

I think I'm just going to print out the conversion affidavit from Mass/Dot RMV and fill out what applies to the RadRover , and also print out a copy of the Federal Laws definition for Low-Speed Electric Bike and carry it on the bike in case I get stopped , hopefully that should suffice . Maybe get some "LSEB" stickers a plaster them all over the bike and my helmet !!!

Jmegabite
1 month ago

You hit the nail on the head , very well said !!! I spoke with our local registry in MA and the RMV in Boston , and actually brought my iPad in our local registry to show them the manufactures web page with all the specs on the RadRover , clearly pointing out it's 20 mph top speed , 750 watt motor , and class 2 vehicle , and they still didn't have a clue , they kept associating it with a 50cc motor , and I explained it's not a gas motor it's electric , so both went to speak with a supervisor and both came back still talking 50cc and telling me I needed to register it using their Motorized Bicycle (Moped) Registration Certificate , all for the low cost of $40.00 for 2 years , at the time I was unaware of the Federal law pertaining to Low Speed Electric Bikes , which I believe the RadRover clearly is .

mrgold35
1 month ago

I figured the upgrades I made to my Radrover would have been the same if I did purchase a $750 fat tire bike (suspension seatpost, tires, pedals, handle bar riser, front/rear lights, etc...). I probably could have added a hub or mid-drive kit from Luna cycles to the $750 pedal bike to have something just as good or better than the Radrover. I ended up taking the Rover route and getting an ebike ready to go out the box compared to kit bike with a lot of tinkering. I also had need for the 1 year warranty for the bike parts and e-components alike. I was able to give/receive a ton of advice and ideals on the rover from other ebike owners on this forum.

There is always something better; but, you either have to pay extra $$$ for it and/or wait until the technology becomes available the next model year. I really don't think I would have done anything differently in the last +3500 miles of e-riding if I had a $4000-$7000 top-of-the-line ebike compared to my Rover?

Sounds like you might have to sell the RadCity and go for something in-line with your expectations for an ebike experience.

Jmegabite
1 month ago

As far as I know the RadRover is a class two eBike and according to federal law it is NOT a motor vehicle and is to be treated as a bicycle and does not need to be licensed. If I recall the federal law says it superceeds any state law in that mater. States can still regulate where an eBike can be used. So you can own it anywhere and not need to license it, but that doesn’t mean you can use it.

Hi Larry , So do you think I'll run into problems if I purchase this bike , I don't want to buy something I can't use .

jay w
1 week ago

I've never heard so much horseshit in my life. Purpose frame? more bullshit. Take a $5-750(retail) mountain bike, add $300 in Motor/battery.

Pat Montreal
4 weeks ago

You do not speak about the holes in the wheel .... the sand and the dust does not seem to penetrate there? Easy to clean ?

Joshua The Science god
1 month ago

definitely a virgin

Ramesh Shrestha
1 month ago

I have owned a RadRover for a year and I love it.

Robert Ho
2 months ago

I’m research ebikes for a pending purchase. Your reviews have been most useful in almost deciding which e-bike to purchase. Rad power bikes has the most informative dimension pertinent to consumers. Like the stand over height you keep mentioning. Minimum and maximum seat to ground and handle bars to ground. Also horizontal distance from seat to handle bar. Another useful dimension would be min and max dimension seat to peddle.

Barry Swedeen
2 months ago

I just wanted to let your viewers know that the folks at Rad Power Bikes are quick to respond to any email inquiries. I had some questions about the RadRover versus the RadCity, and by the next business day I got a personal response from Dan Nelson.

brudyboy 58
2 months ago

Why only 20 mph? 30 would be much better.

mister-lbp
3 months ago

I wanted one but is didn't know it looked so stupid

wildwilllis1
3 months ago

More air in the front tire might help it to keep it from washing out

Sharon Lee Lockhart
3 months ago

Well, after watching your videos on the different Rad Electric Bicycles, we have ordered one. Now, about your helmet? Where did you get it? How much? Do you have a link you can post, so others can look for one, when buying a RadMini?
Thanks for these videos. They show a lot of stuff about these bikes and make them seem to be good for anyone to have.
We will be looking for more of these kind of videos, to keep up with what you are learning about them.

no name
4 months ago

how do you buy this and how much

Peter Piccolo
4 months ago

nice review man i love this fat bike.... i have a low budget but what would you recommend.. im 6 ft 2 weigh close to 240 and am super interested in getting a good ebike with at least front suspension and fat tires or at least 3" tires... whatt would you recommend as a good electric bike with a throttle and pedal assist and the option to change gears and pedal manually if i wanted to.... thanks in advance, i cant wait to hear some of your recommendations ive been doing research for more than 6 months now... id love to hear what you have to say.. i also like the sondors ebike but cant find anyplace online or local shops that actually sell it... do u know where u can get one of those? im just looking for a fatbike with front suspension and gears i can change if im pedaling uphill or using it with the throttle to reach higher speeds... let me know what you think what the best ebike for me based on the prior. thanks again,

-pete piccolo

Jeremy Jones
4 months ago

This is the whitest thing I had ever seen

xflyingtiger
4 months ago

Would it cost a lot more money to produce this bicycle with a torque sensor rather than a cadence sensor? Yes, it seems like 6 magnets versus 12 would make a difference.

Philip Samaniego
4 months ago

Thank you EBR! I purchased a Radrover after hours and nights of insomnia watching or reading your reviews and community blogs. I have become educated and confident in a short time knowing nothing only a few weeks ago. Despite the compromises this bike is amazing! Here's my details that may help the next buyer. I'm 5'6" 185lbs with 30" pant legs. The 31" standover is as far as I can comfortably stand flat over the bar, although, standing on the pedals I needed to raise the seat 4 7/8" to extend my legs properly. That was enough the add a Thudbuster ST with the minimum 3 3/4" lift pushed to the bottom. I wanted a Thudbuster LT but, I will never be fit properly. Short people use ST, taller folks use the LT if you can. After 175 miles in one week my biggest recommendation is to slow down when you are coming into hard curbs, rutts or bumps with the heavy rear hub. Using 2 and 3 PAS with some throttle, I can get 22 miles for 90 minutes and still have 3/5 bars. One journey home, I used all 4 and 5 PAS and rocked the throttled 6.8miles from work and used 1 bar. I was cold riding at 22mph average so, I bought a windbreaker. Trust me, you'll need it in July at night.... My last recommendation is to open up the settings and turn max speed up to 40 kmph to get 24mph throttle only max. That also increases the strength of your PAS power. I know, I know 20 mph BUT, My car does 160mph AND they Cannot give me a speeding ticket for 160mph UNLESS I am SEEN PAS riding OR THROTTLING past 20MPH. Does everyone understand that part well enough? GOOD, Now get some brand of ebike and you'll love it. Absolutely the best thing that I have treated myself with. THANKS AGAIN EBR!!!!!

Francis Kavanagh
4 months ago

Thank you
one of the best review videos I have seen!

gbird5000
6 months ago

Will one of these bikes fit on a bus bike rack?

VideoNOLA
6 months ago

I can definitely see wanting to "embiggen" my ride one day and go electric, but I am a huge rider (350 lbs) so must ask: "Do these 'fat-tire' bikes tend to come with beefier max load weight limits??"

Combustion69
6 months ago

Fatbikes serve no purpose and look gay

Joshua Huang
4 months ago

until u try riding one in the sand

sten beetlex
6 months ago

i do wish they have a gearless simpler version thats cheaper.......... i love this but hate the gears which i'm paranoid about getting stuck eventually..........!