Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Electric Bike Review
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Bafang 750 Watt Fat Bike Motor
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Wellgo Pedals Ebike Controller Box
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Handlebar Shifter Throttle
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Backlit King Meter Lcd Display
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Stitched Leather Grips Integrated Bell
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Top Gun Suspension Fat Bike
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Two Virtical Bottle Cage Mounts
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Shimano Acera 7 Speed With Guard
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Side Mounted Kickstand Adjustable
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Removable 48 Volt Battery Panasonic Cells
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Black And White Colors
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Battery Charger
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Electric Bike Review
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Bafang 750 Watt Fat Bike Motor
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Wellgo Pedals Ebike Controller Box
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Handlebar Shifter Throttle
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Backlit King Meter Lcd Display
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Stitched Leather Grips Integrated Bell
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Top Gun Suspension Fat Bike
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Two Virtical Bottle Cage Mounts
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Shimano Acera 7 Speed With Guard
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Side Mounted Kickstand Adjustable
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Removable 48 Volt Battery Panasonic Cells
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Black And White Colors
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Battery Charger

Summary

  • Strikes an excellent balance delivering high power with mid-level components for a reasonable price, you get throttle and pedal assist with an on/off on the throttle! solid one year warranty for the original owner, flat rate $175 shipping in the US
  • Even though the battery and controller box are bolted on vs. integrated into the frame, they use extra bolts for strength and kept them mostly out of the way, both are mounted low for improved stability
  • Nice extras including an integrated LED headlight, stand alone rear light, USB charging outlet on the battery, handle at the back of the seat, quick release front wheel, bash guard on the chainring and derailleur... optional fenders and rack
  • Only available in one frame size but comes in black or white color choices, the 180 mm disc brakes work well enough but hydraulic would be nice, the grips spin a bit if you squeeze hard, excellent kickstand placement, clean wire integration

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Rad Power Bikes

Model:

RadRover

Price:

$1,499 ($175 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive (Original Owner)

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

63 lbs (28.57 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs (3.26 kg)

Motor Weight:

14 lbs (6.35 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

18.25 in (46.35 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

580 mm Top Tube, 463 mm Seat Tube, 1155 mm Wheelbase, 794 mm Standover Height

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

Top Gun Suspension with Lockout, Adjustable Preload, 5" Travel, 11 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Acera, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shiman SIS Index Shifter on Right

Cranks:

42T Chainring with Aluminum Bash Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform, Black

Headset:

VP-A41ACK

Stem:

Zoom ~6° Rise

Handlebar:

Zoom Low-Rise, 25" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Aries Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors, Rubberized Edge and Integrated Bell

Grips:

Stitched Ergonomic, Black

Saddle:

Velo Plush with Integrated Handle

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

320 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled Alloy, Black

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Juggernaut, 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

31TPI, Wire Bead, 5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Spanninga Micro Integrated LED Headlight, Blaze-Lite RL1800 Independent LED Back Light, Neoprene Slap Guard, Side Mounted Adjustable Kickstand, Two USB Charging Ports for Portable Electronics (On Battery and Display)

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Aluminum

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

King Meter SW-LCD, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer, Watts, PAS level (1-5)

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (6 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Rad Power Bikes has rapidly grown their business from a crowd funded single-product offering to include a cargo bike and a mini fat folding bike in just a couple of short years! But it all started with the RadRover… This classic fat tire electric bike offers some of the best value I’ve seen on the market without compromising comfort and quality. Upgrades like the Shimano Acera derailleur (which is two steps up from the standard Tourney I frequently see) should last longer and provide tighter shifting. There’s a beautifully integrated bell that doesn’t clutter the handlebars because it’s designed into the brake levers (which offer motor cutoff when pulled). You get a fat bike specific motor from Bafang that maxes out on power for what’s legal in the US at 750 watts. It includes two LED lights and while the rear is more basic, relying on stand-alone battery cells, the front is integrated and runs off the main battery pack… which is huge! Not only do you get a powerful 48 volt configuration, the cells inside are from Panasonic, one of the most trusted and longest lasting from what I hear at shops and from consumers. And! there’s a USB charging port mounted on the side of that pack so you can use it for backup power (charging a cell phone perhaps) or running extra lights on your bike. Unfortunately, the positioning is a little vulnerable because your leg and foot pass near the side of the battery. Consider a right-angle USB adapter if you intend to plug things in while riding. But the USB power doesn’t stop there, another plug is built into the display panel so you can still get energy without running a long cable.

Powering on the bike is a two step process where you press a silver button on the battery and then hold the mode button on the control pad. It’s an extra step that not every electric bike has but at least it’s not too difficult to reach. This may reduce phantom power draw from the battery if you take it off the bike and are using it to charge with one of the USB ports mentioned earlier. The button pad mentioned a moment ago, is mounted near your left hand so you can adjust pedal assist levels while riding without taking your hand off the grip. There are five levels of power and a level zero! In zero, the bike won’t respond to your pedaling but the throttle will (if you’ve activated it) and that’s kind of cool. In all normal assist levels the throttle can override with additional power for catching up with friends or topping a hill. I love having a throttle on fat bikes because snow, sand and hilly terrain can sneak up on you and being able to power through or get extra help on demand makes for fewer crashes and generally more comfortable riding. And, since the RadRover is using a more basic pedal assist cadence sensor (with just six magnets vs. 12) I found that using the throttle and brake levers can lead to more precise control. Cadence sensors aren’t generally as responsive as torque sensors but they are less complicated, less expensive and they don’t make you work as hard. In the future, maybe they will switch to a 12 magnet design but still, the throttle helps and being able to one step further and actually disable the throttle with the red toggle button mounted near its base, is fantastic. Sometimes you don’t want to worry about accidentally twisting that throttle (like on really difficult terrain or descending or when you’re loading the bike up). Turning it off means that 750 watt motor won’t accidentally get out of control.

Using this bike can take some extra practice just because there are more drive options and the display has a lot of readouts. I prefer it this way but as a more advanced rider, I don’t feel as overwhelmed. What you see with the display is the speed, assist level and battery gauge (along wth a lot of other little readouts). The display is backlit which is great for night riding and it can be swiveled to reduce glare but it is not removable. Some quick tips on the display panel: you can hold up to switch from average speed to max speed, hold up and mode to turn on the headlight and hold down to activate walk-mode which propels the bike gently forward so you don’t have to push it up hills (if you decide to walk vs. ride). In the video review you can see us riding in deeper sand and I share a few tips about accelerating slowly to maintain balance. Once or twice I decided to walk the bike to meet with a friend just down the way and using walk mode significantly helped because the bike weighs ~63 lbs and sort of sinks in when you’re on the sand. Yes, you could just twist the throttle but that’s more sensitive and tends to kick up sand if you accidentally twist too hard.

At the end of the day, Rad Power Bikes has proven that they can produce reliable ebikes at reasonable prices and deliver and support them well. This is why I recommended them as one of the possible platforms for Cabo Adventures (where this video review was shot). The resort wanted to buy some bikes that would empower visitors to ride on the beach even in deep soft sand and not get exhausted when it’s super hot outside. The bikes performed beyond my expectation and were some of the most comfortable I tried. The mid-rise handlebars, ergonomic grips and softer saddle just made it feel good. The suspension fork, while basic, did its job marvelously and kept my wrists, forearms and shoulders from getting sore. One of the bigger points here is that we rode the bikes in sand and near salt water and they did begin to rust after a week. Rinsing them off after this sort of riding is a good idea. Whether you’re in snow where salt has been scattered to melt ice or near the ocean the bikes will show wear. In my opinion, if that’s the sort of terrain you expect to encounter, it feels nice knowing you didn’t spend $5,000+ on a bike than one you can pour some money into ongoing for replacement parts. I don’t mean to say the bikes won’t hold up, even with rust on the chainrings they should continue to perform. There are so many bikes coming to market these days that do not have a throttle mode and in conditions like the ones we rode in it can be very very useful and almost everyone who tried the bikes there (including my girlfriend) said they loved the throttle. There’s more to say about this bike and I’ve done my best in the pros/cons below but you can also watch and read comments for the older RadRover model from 2015 here. Big thanks to Rad Power Bikes for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • Given the upgraded 750 watt internally geared hub motor, I wasn’t sure how loud it would be running at full power but it actually stayed much quieter than some competing motors on fat bikes that I’ve tested, even lower powered ones, and I like how wide it is (custom for fat tires) because that supports the spokes
  • Lots of upgraded components here including a Shimano Acera derailleur with metal protector (in case the bike tips), premium Panasonic battery cells and 180 mm mechanical disc brakes
  • Given the mid-frame battery design, I love that they were able to angle the to-tube to reduce stand over height and still include bottle cage bosses! There are two vertical mounts just behind the head tube on the left and right which would be great for folding locks, mini pumps or standard cages
  • I’m ~5’9″ and this fat bike felt comfortable in terms of reach, the stem isn’t super long and the bars have a nice mid-rise in them… I also felt like the saddle was more comfortable than some competing offerings
  • Even though I’m used to seeing Top Gun as the most basic low-end suspension provider on on a lot of bikes, this one was upgraded to include lockout and worked fairly well, combined with the fat tires this ebike is pretty comfortable but a 27.2 mm suspension seat post could soften up the back if you’ve got a sensitive neck or back
  • I like that they included a little neoprene slap guard on the right chainstay… I noticed the chain bouncing when I was riding fast across the bumpy dirt road and without this pad the paint would get chipped up and there would be more noise
  • It’s cool that RadRover sells accessories like fenders, saddle bags, rear carry racks and even transport racks for your car all designed to fit their bikes, there are threaded bosses at the rear-end of the bike so you could easily add your own rack if you’ve got something like the Topeak slide-on bag system
  • I love that the mechanical cables for the brakes and shifters are all run through the frame, even the electronic wires are well organized and tucked away which prevents snags and just looks good (especially on the white frame where they would stand out more)
  • Rad Power Bikes offers flat rate shipping in the continental United States for $175 which is a pretty good deal given the weight and size of the bike in my opinion… do take this into consideration though on the price
  • I really like that there’s a handle built into the back of the saddle! This makes the bike easier to lift and position… also since the kickstand is mounted way towards the back, you can pedal the bike backwards and work on the chain more easily even if you don’t have a professional stand
  • The battery interface, the plastic slide where it mounts to the downtube, is bolted onto the frame with three bolts vs. just two on most kits and some cheaper ebikes so it doesn’t rattle and feels pretty sturdy, this is good considering you might ride it on bumpy terrain
  • I love that the bike offers throttle-only mode with zero assist, that gives you a lot of control and if you do turn on assist you can still override with more power using the throttle later

Cons:

  • At ~63 lbs this electric fat bike isn’t especially light weight but at least the front wheel has a quick release skewer and teh battery can be easily removed… this will reduce the space required by the bike and make it easier and lighter to lift
  • I was surprised that the cadence sensor only used six magnets? Many newer models use 12 so the motor will respond faster as you pedal (both starting and stopping), it’s nice that the brake levers have integrated motor cutoff switches so at least you can command a stop immediately in case of emergency
  • I like having a throttle and the twist version works well enough, especially with the integrated on/off toggle, but sometimes a trigger is nicer for off-road bumpy riding so that your grip is solid, I’ve also heard some riders with smaller hands prefer the trigger but it’s really personal preference
  • The bike handled well and was ridden by some individuals in the 200+ lb range during this review but both skewers are the thinner 11 mm style vs. some of the newer 12 mm and 15 mm thru-axles seen on a lot of mountain bikes used on tough terrain, thicker axles on fat bikes would support the weight and stresses of fat tires
  • You have to turn the battery pack on before you can power up the display panel, it’s a two step process that isn’t difficult but takes extra time and isn’t mandatory with some other electric bicycles
  • I like that there are two little USB charging ports integrated into this bike, running off the main battery pack, especially because the bike doesn’t come with an integrated tail light (you could buy an affordable USB rechargeable light to replace the rear Blaze Light if), but the positioning of this port is near where your legs and feet move as you ride… it would be much better if this was on top of the pack or maybe built into the display
  • The grips feel thick and comfortable, I personally enjoy the ergonomic leather style like this, but they aren’t locking so as you ride if you’re pulling and twisting hard they may begin to spin and given the off-road design of the bike and heavy footprint that can happen more easily
  • I prefer disc brakes for any type of off-road riding, be it snow, dirt or sand and feel that the 180 mm rotors chosen here are a good fit in terms of size but I wish they were hydraulic because those require less hand strength and are smoother to actuate
  • The chainring has a nice Aluminum bash guard protecting the teeth from the outside which is great if you’re riding over angled rocks or wood that might collide with it but there isn’t a plat on the inside which would act as a guide, this means you can drop the chain more easily, especially when riding in throttle mode on higher gears where there’s less tension in the chain
  • I think the price on the RadRover is really good and I like how it performed but there are some trade-offs in aesthetics here with the controller box and battery mounted on top of the frame tubing vs. being integrated or combined

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Rad Power Bikes Reviews

Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A funky miniaturized folding fat tire bike with two cargo racks! Truly capable of sand and snow riding, LED lights guide and keep you safe, the bike offers assist and throttle drive modes. Basic seven speed drivetrain from Shimano, plastic chain guide keeps things on track, metal derailleur…...

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A value priced but featured packed urban commuter style electric bike with everything from fenders, to LED lights, rear carry rack and regenerative braking. Solid driving and braking performance with a 750 watt gearless hub motor and 180 mm…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A folding fat tire electric bike with front and rear cargo racks and double-tube frame for improved strength (good option for larger riders). Powerful 750 watt internally geared fat-bike specific motor paired with a large 48 volt 11.6…...

Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Affordable, feature rich cargo style electric bike with a stiffer and lighter frame because it's not quite as long as some others. Offers five levels of pedal assist, throttle mode and throttle override as well as regenerative…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An Indiegogo funded electric fatbike with a powerful 500 watt motor, ample 48 volt battery and seven speed drivetrain. Comfortable saddle, ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout, two color choices but only one…...


dm nelson
7 months ago

Enjoyed the review, Court, as it mostly reflects the experience my partner & I have had with our Radrovers for the past month. These bikes are lots of fun, fat tires, throttles and all. I was able to swap the suspension seat-post off my regular mtn bike and immediately enjoyed the smoother ride experience on the rover. My partner is ordering a cane creek for herself. I upgraded a couple other components, also. When I noticed the chain bounce I swapped the Shimano Acera derailleur for an Alivio. Now the chain seems to have more tension and less bounce on bumpy, packed trails. Replaced stock brake cables with Jagwire mtn cables and now the brakes feel more fully responsive to me. While they do take a bit more energy to use than the hydraulics I have on another bike, these Tektro brakes stop this heavy bike adequately, even going downhill. I had not seen such a derailleur bashguard before like on this bike and was impressed. When one of the two bikes I ordered arrived with the box damaged, bashguard bent and Bafang motor cable damaged, I realized that protecting the motor cable is that guard’s primary purpose. With that part of the cable which goes directly into the motor hub damaged the only remedy was to replace the motor hub. Perhaps someday Bafang will make this cable replaceable without taking the motor apart.. Lastly I want to offer gratitude for the great customer and tech support from this Rad Power company. ~David

Court Rye
7 months ago

Great feedback David! Sounds like you really went to town customizing! Thanks for being specific about the parts you swapped out so others might benefit as well. Hope your partner enjoys her Thudbuster and you have many more fun and comfortable miles ahead of you ;)

Errol
5 months ago

What’s the model number of the Bell helmet your wearing doing the Radrover review? It looks good and is it also comfortable? Thanks

Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi Errol! That’s the Bell Super 2R MIPS with Star Wars “Trooper” theming. I bought it because I could mount my camera to the front jaw piece AND the jaw and the helmet can unbuckle and be packed easily. Since I travel a lot this is a great feature… did an overview/review story about it with more pictures and a video here :D

Joe
5 months ago

Are there any lightweight eBikes out there that are reliable and won’t break the bank? What are some of your favorite models? I really like everything I have read bout the rad rover other than the fact that it’s 60 lbs, although I know eBikes are going to run a little heavier with the battery.

Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi Joe! The advances search options here let you sort by weight (and I do weigh all bikes personally so it should be very accurate). With so many options on style of bike it’s tough for me to say. Do you want a fat bike, a city bike, are you okay with a folding bike? Check out my affordable category here for other models priced in line with the RadRover and dig into products that catch your eye… maybe even ask around on the forums for how durable people think they are. Most of the time I test brand new bikes for a limited time so it’s difficult to speculate on durability :/

Errol
5 months ago

Hi Count Rye, after some of your reviews I decided to buy the RadRover. Received it a couple of days ago and already tested it out. Great ebike for the price and also ordered the rear rack. Bought it on Cyber Monday so I saved on the shipping cost.. I agree it could use a plat on the inside to help prevent the chain falling off which already happened once when my wife was dismounting and the bike came to the ground. Also when first testing it out the derailer was not set right and the chain got tangled some, turned the bike upside down and readjusted it.

I’m looking for a fat ebike for my wife, mine is to tall for her, especially when dismounting. Which fat ebike does your girlfriend like best ( I believe her name is Moa ). I seen her with the Voltbike Mariner and the Radmini. Are their other similar fat ebike? Thanks for your reviews.

Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi Errol! Thanks for sharing your experience with the RadRover so far. My girlfriend Mony struggled with the height of the top tube as well but enjoyed the VoltBike Mariner much more. I’d say it’s fairly comparable to the RadMini but uses a trigger throttle vs. twist and has a narrower top tube and folding point. this was an area where she still bonked her knee once on the RadMini and felt a little sensitive after that. Another company to consider is E-Lux which has a full-sized fat tire bike called the Tahoe which you can get in high-step or step-thru and is very comfortable, powerful and clean thanks to integrated metal fenders. Another folding fat mini bike is the SSR Motorsports Trail Viper but I haven’t seen their latest iteration. Once you decide and get something for her I’d love to hear how it all works out!

Errol
5 months ago

Hi again Count Rye,

After much consideration and help from your EBR, we’re going with the Voltbike Mariner. I texted Voltbike and they said there going forward putting derailleur guards on. They also said prices will increase in January. Maybe your site had some good influence. Also they were offering a free motorcycle helmet with purchase. We also bought two of the Star Wars trooper helmets that I asked you about before.

Thanks,
Errol

Court Rye
4 months ago

Awesome! Sounds like you’re going to have a blast… Glad the site helped expose you to some different choices so you could narrow down. George is a great guy, it’s really cool that you’re getting the lower price AND he’s doing derailleur guards and the helmets. I love that he offers helmets :)

Matthew
2 months ago

Hello everyone, I am interested in buying the Rad Rover and I had a question. I was wondering if there is anyone who has found or modified cargo trailer to work with the Rad Rover? I live in Colorado and am intersted in this bike so I can commute to work (about 10-14 miles round trip, depending on which location I need to go to) year round and maybe do the occasional trail riding on the weekend. I would like to find a trailer that would work on the bike so I can go without my car entirely and so I can take my dog kennel. My dog had knee surgery and can’t really keep up with a bike anymore, especially an E-bike. Any advice would be much appreciated! Thanks for you time.

Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Matthew! Great question, I have seen a range of trailers on Amazon and the suspension IBEX trailer from BOB Yak but can’t confirm whether they will work. Maybe your best bet is to ask in the Rad Power Bikes forums here, it’s a pretty active place and there are actual owners of the bike (I just reviewed it but don’t have one in front of me to confirm how a trailer would attach). Hope this helps, feel free to share what you end up with back here to help others :)

Matthew
2 months ago

Hi Court, thanks for the quick reply! I called Rad Power Bikes today and they said that while they are hesitant to recommend trailers for the Rad Rover, they did say that any seat post mounted trailer will work or any trailer that can attach to a Burley Trailer hitch will work (amazon link here). Super easy to get a hold of someone at Rad Power Bikes and they answered all of my questions in no time. Thanks to your awesome, highly detailed, website, write ups and youtube videos, I pulled the trigger and bought a Rad Rover and Rad Mini today! Thanks for the help!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Antia
5 hours ago

My husband installed a yep child seat on his radrover. It works great for our two year old.

Ericmacfan
6 hours ago

Yeah I remember talking about the Radrover at the time! Back then there were like 2 fat options from the bigger ebike companies - guess we were a little impatient, look at the landscape now - and they are charging the same or close prices as non-fat bikes as well. It is actually quite amazing how much the industry has progressed in the last 2 years as well - the big brands are really refined, and the value brands are emerging and competing a ton for that sub-$2k market.

Have you received your bulls yet? It is SUCH a nice bike. I wish I had gotten the plus version, but I'm not losing sleep over it. I'm also probably getting an easy motion evo 27.5 Pro+ (the new one with the thru axle hub motor and 600wh battery) - BH bikes go a few miles over 20mph when pedaling - I've owned a BH before and really liked it, and plan to use this for commuting home several days a week (maybe more...but its 27 miles one way; going to take the bus in the morning, ride home at night).

Funny thing over the last 2 days - I had just the radrover up for sale on craigslist, but planned on selling my haibike as well afterward (haibike is super nice, but I rode it again 2 weeks ago and just don't think I'd go back to it now that I have the bulls). Long story short, I mentioned the haibike to one guy who inquired about the radrover...turns out he wanted to test the waters with the radrover but really wanted a mid-drive...so he bought the haibike instead and I had another buyer already lined up for the radrover the same night - sold them both this morning!
Congrats on the quick sale !!

mrgold35
14 hours ago

So what I understand from your reply is that an e-bike is a very fun device to use, but you would only use it as a mean of transportation if you know you have a safe place inside to store it (and possibly charge it) at your destination. With this said, you would still count on a car in a few occasions. Does that sum it up?

Pretty much sums it up.

I still like to have a car for after-work errands once I get home, doctor's appt during the day, just feeling too tired to ride that day, or bad weather (extreme wind or rain/snow). I would still ride my bike to work if I couldn't store indoors because I can remove the battery to re-charge in my office (probably keep a water proof bike cover in my office to use when needed). I just moved my errands to the weekends mostly (or one day during the week) to combine my car trips to 1-2 outings. I think I would still ride my Radrover to/from work if my mileage was up to 15-20 miles one-way. E-biking +20 miles one-way would be harder because of the inclines and windy afternoons impacting my range sometimes. Ran out of juice once about a mile from home after taking a +20 mile single track trail ride detour near the Rio Grande River on a windy day. Didn't enjoy pedaling a +70lbs fat tire ebike with zero power in a +15 mph headwind.

tinynja98
15 hours ago

I've had my Radrover ebike since Sept/2016. I have a 700X40c pedal bike (Transeo GT) I've had for almost 4 years. I'm at 5000-5400ft, +95 degree summer heat, a lot of inclines, and usually 10-15 mph winds with gust +25 mph in the springtime. It was getting too hard to enjoy exercising when it is faster to walk compared to riding in a +20 mph headwind and the hills were getting to me at 51 yrs old.

I enjoyed riding the Radrover so much, I started riding the 6.5 miles to work. My server room is next to my office on the 2nd floor and I park my ebike there to recharge the battery. The bike rack in front of the security guard station is exposed to the elements in the front of the building. I started out with fun and now use my ebike to replace my vehicle to commute to work. I don't like to ride if it is extremely windy, snowy, or raining. I would gas my car up every week when I drove to work. I now gas up about 1-2 times a month (mostly use car on weekends) and have over 2000 miles on the bike.

I couldn't go 100% ebike. It nice to have the option for using an ebike or driving depending on what I need to do that day.

So what I understand from your reply is that an e-bike is a very fun device to use, but you would only use it as a mean of transportation if you know you have a safe place inside to store it (and possibly charge it) at your destination. With this said, you would still count on a car in a few occasions. Does that sum it up?

Rollin
1 day ago

Hi All

I am waiting for the arrival of my new radrover and am looking to see if anyone has installed a child seat on the rear rack or installed a child trailer. Thanks

mrgold35
1 day ago

I've had my Radrover ebike since Sept/2016. I have a 700X40c pedal bike (Transeo GT) I've had for almost 4 years. I'm at 5000-5400ft, +95 degree summer heat, a lot of inclines, and usually 10-15 mph winds with gust +25 mph in the springtime. It was getting too hard to enjoy exercising when it is faster to walk compared to riding in a +20 mph headwind and the hills were getting to me at 51 yrs old.

I enjoyed riding the Radrover so much, I started riding the 6.5 miles to work. My server room is next to my office on the 2nd floor and I park my ebike there to recharge the battery. The bike rack in front of the security guard station is exposed to the elements in the front of the building. I started out with fun and now use my ebike to replace my vehicle to commute to work. I don't like to ride if it is extremely windy, snowy, or raining. I would gas my car up every week when I drove to work. I now gas up about 1-2 times a month (mostly use car on weekends) and have over 2000 miles on the bike.

I couldn't go 100% ebike. It nice to have the option for using an ebike or driving depending on what I need to do that day.

Thomas Jaszewski
2 days ago

I was thinking about getting a second set of rims and have commuter slicks on one and knobby for trails on the other set. It is hard to find an affordable fat/plus size tire mid-drive with a full power throttle on any PAS level like the Radrover.I shopped around and did just that. I have a set of rims with winter tires, studs, and a set with Maxxis Hookworms (2.5").

mrgold35
2 days ago

My Radrover is my starter bike to get me into the ebike world. I want to eventually upgrade to a full suspension mid-drive for lighter weight, balance, front/rear quick release rims, TQ, and longer range. I was thinking about getting a second set of rims and have commuter slicks on one and knobby for trails on the other set. It is hard to find an affordable fat/plus size tire mid-drive with a full power throttle on any PAS level like the Radrover.

mrgold35
2 days ago

I have a Radrover 4" fat tire bike with 0-5 PAS and throttle. I couldn't imagine riding without a throttle because it really comes in handy in emergencies, work commute, and single track trail riding. I once had to take my 70lbs bike up one flight of stairs and the throttle made it extremely easy compared of lugging it up the stairs.

mrgold35
3 days ago

A few improvements I'd like to see:
Weather pack connection for the headlight and a more powerfull headlight with optional strobe mode.
A clock in the LCD
Ride time display on LCD
Reset button for the trip odometer, so it doesn't re-set every time the the LCD is turned off.
Toe clip option for the pedals.

I hate it when the Radrover shuts off if I pause too long and it resets my trip data.:mad:

I like the option for an updated (color?) LCD screen because I use my iPhone for tracking data; but, it does get wet or dusty on rides sometimes. I even wrecked and was very lucky I didn't destroy my phone because I flipped over the bike and landed on the handlebars and ended up snapping two bolts and bending a 3rd bolt to the stem connected to the handle bar (inches from my phone mount). My phone and phone mount didn't get damage in wreck.

Noodlez
4 days ago

I haven't got a RadRover yet. Been looking into what I want and what I can afford. I'd like to see the Rover get a Limited edition like the Voltbike Yukon 750 Limited. IE include the fenders and rack as a bundle package with a bit of a discount.

pxpaulx
4 days ago

Wow Paul, looks like I am following your steps :)

Yeah I remember talking about the Radrover at the time! Back then there were like 2 fat options from the bigger ebike companies - guess we were a little impatient, look at the landscape now - and they are charging the same or close prices as non-fat bikes as well. It is actually quite amazing how much the industry has progressed in the last 2 years as well - the big brands are really refined, and the value brands are emerging and competing a ton for that sub-$2k market.

Have you received your bulls yet? It is SUCH a nice bike. I wish I had gotten the plus version, but I'm not losing sleep over it. I'm also probably getting an easy motion evo 27.5 Pro+ (the new one with the thru axle hub motor and 600wh battery) - BH bikes go a few miles over 20mph when pedaling - I've owned a BH before and really liked it, and plan to use this for commuting home several days a week (maybe more...but its 27 miles one way; going to take the bus in the morning, ride home at night).

Funny thing over the last 2 days - I had just the radrover up for sale on craigslist, but planned on selling my haibike as well afterward (haibike is super nice, but I rode it again 2 weeks ago and just don't think I'd go back to it now that I have the bulls). Long story short, I mentioned the haibike to one guy who inquired about the radrover...turns out he wanted to test the waters with the radrover but really wanted a mid-drive...so he bought the haibike instead and I had another buyer already lined up for the radrover the same night - sold them both this morning!

mrgold35
4 days ago

I have two 2016 Radrovers since Sept/2016 with about 1000 miles each. First issue I've had was related to shipping and one of the Rovers with minor damage like:
- bent rear derailleur causing the chain to rub the rear tire in 3 lower gears (bent back in alignment)
- damage to pedal crank and it fell off in the first 10 miles. Only a replacement crank under warranty worked.
- minor stuff like re-torquing nuts/bolts/screws, adjusting brakes, adjusting derailleur (constantly), and tightening spokes

I later developed and issue on the same RR with the shipping damage with the controller hitting the power cut-off and watts show 000 and the power wouldn't re-engage when you mph slow down below the cut off speed. I had to pause my peddling for 2-4 seconds before it would restart the motor. New controller under warranty resolved this issue.

The same Radrover (with shipping damage) battery stopped charging after 200 miles (it would power the bike and discharge properly). Replaced under warranty.

The second Radrover shipping box was in very condition. I assumed both were shipped at the same time side-by-side because they arrived on the same delivery truck. A thicker box with extra padding would help solve warranty issues as you ship further across the country (WA to NM).

The second Radrover developed a controller issue (30 maintain error) around the 500 mile mark. It started only at start-up 1-3 times in a row; but, wouldn't occur for the rest of the ride (6-30 mile rides). A few months later, the 30 maintain error would occur in the middle of the ride and shut down +10 times a ride. Rad Power Bikes sent me a new controller, wiring harness, and controller under warranty to resolve the issue. Installed all 3 and got the same 30 maintain error every single time I engaged the PAS. Put the old controller back on the RR to trouble-shoot and that worked and zero errors after +350 miles.

I have to commend Rad Power Bikes on their responsiveness and customer service. Never an issues trouble-shooting with them and shipping of replacement parts. I worry about how much $$ it might cost to keep the Radrover running out of warranty. I might convert to a mid-drive depending on the cost of replacement parts.

Ericmacfan
4 days ago

You're gong to love it, truly a new more natural riding experience. My radrover is up on Craigslist, haven't rode it in a year, just maintained the battery!
Wow Paul, looks like I am following your steps :)

mrgold35
6 days ago

I measured my Radrover bottle cage distance and all 3 are about 2 1/2 inches apart.

pxpaulx
1 week ago

After getting on on the first Radrovers from Rad Power Bikes almost 2 years ago, I broke my piggy bank and just bought this :
http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/e-stream-evo-2-27-5-plus-2/

I am very excited! Does anybody have the same bike or had a chance to try it ?

You're gong to love it, truly a new more natural riding experience. My radrover is up on Craigslist, haven't rode it in a year, just maintained the battery!

Mike Radenbaugh
1 week ago

You all rock! I wish I could be on the forum more often, but it is great to see so much solid real world feedback and see the community of owners develop and work together in promoting the ebike revolution. There won't be a new RadRover in 2017 however, since we made so many enhancements to the bike in 2016. Traditional bicycle OEM's like specialized and trek usually make smaller changes year after year, but we made such a massive revision in 2016 that we are locked in for a while.

Mike Radenbaugh
1 week ago

@LimboJim Bafang did not have a 750 watt stamped G06 motor until we had this change implemented by Bafang. Ever since we implemented the Bafang motor on the RadRover, it has been paired with a controller outputting 750 watts. The max torque, RPM, gear construction and housings are all identical. The winding density and I believe winding diameter is slightly different now, but this has literally an unnoticeable effect on torque, speed, etc. The fact of the matter is at the time of production, there was no G06 motor stamped/labeled/etched with a 750 watt marking, so we utilized the 500 watt marked motor (running at 750 watts) which is very common practice across a multitude of higher power ebikes. Once we leveraged Bafang to change the marking to 750 watts (because it was causing consumer confusion like you experienced), the label changed, and Bafang has made small improvement to the motor over time, but nothing of substance. By "from the start" I meant from the start of using the Bafang motor, I should have made that more clear. If your bike was subjected to extreme humidity, it would make sense if you saw some rust develop. I will check with our customer service team to see why they didn't get back to your response originally, that sounds like an anomaly as this is a common topic that we discuss and educate consumers on in an open way. Having ridden extensively on both the Original Hengtai Motors and past and current Bafang motors on the RadRover, you were not supplied an inferior product, I could argue it was superior, that is why we made the switch, we were not going backwards. We are continuously enhancing our products, while keeping the MSRP constant, with the help of higher sales volumes and awesome customer input like yours, so thank you for that! Sorry your experience was not satisfactory, glad you have found bikes that meet your personal needs.

@BVC Best thing to do is send a picture of your forks to support@radpowerbikes.com of your forks, or send them your order number to pull the fork version info for you. Agree with your local bike shop, installing a massive rotor and hydraulic disks could impact safety. Will be great to have you closer to Seattle for any Rad meetups!

LimboJim
1 week ago

Hi @LimboJim

- Both the 500 watt and 750 watt stamped Bafang motors we have used from the start have both been mechanically equivalent, the only difference being the stamping/label on the side of the motors. After some negotiations and additional lab testing we were able to get Bafang to agree to change the stamping on the motor to reflect our 750 watt use case, until this time, they had only rated the motors to 500 watts from the factory, but we had been successfully implementing the motors at higher wattages in high volumes without issues. All Rad Power Bikes have been full 750 watts since the early days, the motor controllers power output to the motor is the true measurement, not the sticker/label on the motor.

- The metal gears/oil bath in the original Hengtai motors were a nice improvement, but we had been testing the new Bafang fat bike hub motors in a parallel path of testing, and Bafang’s a more consistent supplier and the motors performance and durability were superb. Sorry if you did not get what you expected, but I hope that you have been happy with the Bafang motor. Most electric fat bike manufacturers followed our lead and have started adopting the same motor late last year and now in 2017 they are on a lot of bikes.

I appreciate your response, @Mike Radenbugh, but feel that I must refute your claim that the different wattage Bafang motors were "mechanically equivalent." First off, the Bafang G06 motor that my Rover came equipped with was engraved 500W, not stickered; I doubt they'd have gone to the expense of doing so at the time if different wattage motors were otherwise identical. Bafang's own website showed several several varying wattage versions of that model (partial screenshot below), and they responded as follows to my inquiry on the matter: "The physical size of the motors my very well be the same, but the actual copper winding inside is different." There was also a corresponding cost increase with the thicker/denser copper coils that came with higher-watt versions...

As stated in my original post, I sold my Radrover - at a loss and with full disclosure to the buyer - less than 6 months after I got it. To be clear, I was not "happy with the Bafang motor," which you did not use "from the start," especially since I got the impression from your many promos at the time that I was getting a better motor than came with my much cheaper Sondors, who used the 350W version of the G06 months before you began using the 500W. I had additional concerns with my Rover; the wheel bolts, gear cassette and some other parts rusted in extreme humidity... I'd wager you're using less rust-prone parts now because I don't see people posting about it. My Sondors was stored in the same garage and conditions at the same time, and showed zero rust.

FYI, I emailed my complaints to your Customer Service Manager at the time, and at first he made the same claims about the motors' equivalency that you did here. When I sent him Bafang's statement about the cooper wiring difference, I got no further response.

america94
1 week ago

For some reason, the Maxxis looks a lot nicer on your bike than on the Radrover in the Maxxis Hookworms thread. Maybe because it matches a black bike better, or maybe your pictures are better angled. I like it!
I did not want to rain on anyone's parade, but I thought the same too. That yellow logo does not match all bikes for sure. The black on black looks nice indeed.

The sidewall of the tire is very thick and that whitish film did not help for the look either. I washed the bike and applied some automotive tire treatment on the sidewalls which makes the black pop. That might help compared to other bikes as well (?) I don't think it's the angle since I used a few of them, some just like the Radrover.

SuperGoop
1 week ago

For some reason, the Maxxis looks a lot nicer on your bike than on the Radrover in the Maxxis Hookworms thread. Maybe because it matches a black bike better, or maybe your pictures are better angled. I like it!

DaveinMtAiry
1 week ago

hey dave

i dont know much about bicycles and did not understand the mid drive vs hub thing either, plus i am pretty adamant about having throttle on my bikes for various reasons and throttles seem to be more on hub drives

am also a heavy person and had a hard time seeing how a 36 volt 350 watt mid drive was going to work better for me than my 48 volt 750 watt radrover

but i went to crazy lennys in madison, wisconsin - one of the biggest ebike stores in the country and rode a lot of different bikes , a lot of mid drives and it is just totally different
they climb hills very different, i dont know why or how but they do
i was zipping up a lot of hills in the medium setting on these mid drives that would have been a lot tougher/maybe not possible for me on the rover

that being said if you already are a pretty strong bike rider the extra help of the hub motor might be enough

really try to get to a store and ride some if you can

maybe check craigslist and see if there is an ebike club

This is a great post, thanks for the help. As I said climbing hills is a requirement and as this bike will take me into retirement I will need the help from the bike more and more as I get older. You guys know better than I do and the universal opinion is mid-drive will be needed for a guy my size.

This has been a great learning experience, it's why I came here. Thanks again to everyone.

vincent
1 week ago

hey dave

i dont know much about bicycles and did not understand the mid drive vs hub thing either, plus i am pretty adamant about having throttle on my bikes for various reasons and throttles seem to be more on hub drives

am also a heavy person and had a hard time seeing how a 36 volt 350 watt mid drive was going to work better for me than my 48 volt 750 watt radrover

but i went to crazy lennys in madison, wisconsin - one of the biggest ebike stores in the country and rode a lot of different bikes , a lot of mid drives and it is just totally different
they climb hills very different, i dont know why or how but they do
i was zipping up a lot of hills in the medium setting on these mid drives that would have been a lot tougher/maybe not possible for me on the rover

that being said if you already are a pretty strong bike rider the extra help of the hub motor might be enough

really try to get to a store and ride some if you can

maybe check craigslist and see if there is an ebike club

mrgold35
1 week ago

That doesn't look half bad. I'm trying to get my girlfriend to sew me up a water proof cover.

You cover both bikes (when needed) while on the hitch behind your vehicle as you drive down the road?? Not sure I'd feel safe with that setup. That's a lot of drag/pressure

I have a 7 seat SUV and it is a travel bike cover with semi transparent windows on both bike wheels for tail lights. I only use it if there is an unavoidable storm or I cover the bikes on the road at the Hotel. I can't see out the rear window and it feels like I'm dragging a parachute at +65mph. I just don't want the Radrover to be hit with rain at that speed (like washing your entire bike with a high pressure hose for hours). The one I have can fit around both RadRovers and my Saris bike rack completely with plenty of built-in cords to tighten it down.

I saw a lot outdoor covers on Amazon for 1-2 bikes that fold small enough to fit in a rear bike bag or toss in the back of the car when needed at the campsite.

Dual Bike Cover, Amazon, $46+shipping: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000WENDUS/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Mainer Man
4 days ago

The greatest point is you would never be able to do this on a beach without an e-bike. That is the awesome part! It is a responsibility people need to be aware of. We are able to go place and see things quietly, clean, respectfully. Some if not most will never appreciate without an e-bike

Eddie Gelman
1 week ago

What beach were you on?

Eugene Moore
1 month ago

I ordered my RadRover yesterday. Thanks for your reviews. I live in Johnstown, Colorado and can't wait to hit some trails.

Drónos Vili
2 months ago

Hey there:-) how long is the battery less with 1 charge?

Jim Williamson
4 months ago

Your videos are great. I have been researching ebikes since February 2016. Because of your videos, I ordered the RadRover yesterday. Very nice folks at Rad Power Bikes.

G G
4 months ago

my commute is only 2 miles, I am going to get one of these for spring/summer

Marcin O
5 months ago

Shame you cant buy these here in UK

Josefwintzent Libot
5 months ago

can this be bought in the philippines?

Maine Explorer
5 months ago

Thanks for the great info. I just ordered a Rad Rover and told them your videos were very helpful.

Gone TROPPO
5 months ago

wicked bike , thanks

Steven
6 months ago

I have a RadRover and put lil over 350 miles on it so far. I do street riding, dirt trails, rock trails. Only problem I have ever had is chain coming off going down hill while in a low gear. Besides that not one problem. I would like to see grip lock outs as well.

MrMike47274
4 months ago

Steven My knees are starting to bother me some also. last year I ride my first CENTURY and since then... well,,, I'm getting nervous. So,,,, in turn I may need one of these for myself down the road. I love biking and hate to think I may not be able to ride anymore. I'm glad you can get out still and enjoy the outdoors. :)

Steven
4 months ago

I was donated the bike from "The Independence fund", they help out disabled veterans. I have many problems from my knees to having massive migraine headaches from multiple Traumatic brain injuries. If I over exert my self I get these massive headaches. So with this bike I do what I can and when it is too much I have the assist I need. This bike has open up my life from just staying in my room.

MrMike47274
4 months ago

Steven Glad to hear you like these bikes. I'm really wanting to buy one for my wife. She likes to ride with me. But do to aches and pains in her body,, she doesn't have the stamina. So, our rides together are very short lived.

Ephesus RH
6 months ago

Im thinking of getting this for my commuting to school instead of car

babsisfish
6 months ago

Thanks to this bike I now expect more bang for my buck out of everything I buy! Had a couple warranty issues that were immediately resolved by Cory. I have both the rover and mini, both great bikes.

madogblue
6 months ago

Great video. I bought a Framed Alasken fat bike ,non electric and I love it

choski76
6 months ago

cables under yhe bottom bracket are vulnerable.

PonderDuke
6 months ago

Put on a gates belt drive and and Rohloff hub and you will have no problem with the the stand in your gears. A real beach cruiser.

\\\\\\\\ \\
6 months ago

do you know if the bike could/is a coaster brake? i dont know if i trust the brakes, specifically myself with handbrakes.

\\\\\\\\ \\
6 months ago

in this video the seat is up almost aligned with the handle bars, how low can the seat go?

wjf213
6 months ago

Would a front hub motor help with riding in soft sand or other soft terrain? Keep up the great work.