Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Electric Bike Review
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Folding Electric Fat Bike
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 48 Volt 14 Amp Hour Ebike Battery Samsung 18650 35e Cells
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Large King Meter Display With Shimano Thumb Shifter
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Kenda Krusade Sport 20 4 Fat Tires
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Spanninga Axendo 60 Led Headlight
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 7 Speed Shimano Acera Neoprene Slap Guard
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Spanninga Solo Aaa Powered Rear Light
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Side Mounted Kickstand Velo Plush Saddle Wellgo Metal Folding Pedals
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Sturdy Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Folding Platform Pedals Plastic Chain Guide
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Folded Front View
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Folded Side View Small Fat Ebike
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Black With Fenders And Racks
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Optional Front Rack And Basket
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 2 Amp Electric Bike Battery Charger
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Electric Bike Review
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Folding Electric Fat Bike
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 48 Volt 14 Amp Hour Ebike Battery Samsung 18650 35e Cells
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Large King Meter Display With Shimano Thumb Shifter
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Kenda Krusade Sport 20 4 Fat Tires
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Spanninga Axendo 60 Led Headlight
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 7 Speed Shimano Acera Neoprene Slap Guard
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Spanninga Solo Aaa Powered Rear Light
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Side Mounted Kickstand Velo Plush Saddle Wellgo Metal Folding Pedals
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Sturdy Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Folding Platform Pedals Plastic Chain Guide
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Folded Front View
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Folded Side View Small Fat Ebike
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Black With Fenders And Racks
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Optional Front Rack And Basket
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 2 Amp Electric Bike Battery Charger

Summary

  • A compact, fat tire electric bike that folds to save space, the suspension fork and larger 4-inch wide tires add comfort and allow it to ride on soft sand and snow if you lower the tire pressure, or you can lockout the fork and raise pressure for efficiency on pavement
  • Only available in one frame size for now, but the handlebar height is adjustable along with the saddle so it can actually fit a wide range of body types, the stand-over height is relatively low and the folding joint is narrow, you get two color choices (black or white) with orange accents
  • Large 180 mm disc brake rotors provide excellent stopping power and control, the 750 watt fatbike-specific geared hub motor is zippy and powerful, both systems benefit from a mechanical advantage because of the smaller diameter 20" wheel size
  • Some basic parts were chosen to keep the price down including a 7-speed Shimano Tourney derailleur with large thumb shifter, non-locking grips, a plastic chain guide, mechanical brakes vs. hydraulic, and stand-alone rear light, but the folding pedals, adjustable kickstand, and integrated headlight are all great

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Rad Power Bikes

Model:

RadMini

Price:

$1,499

Body Position:

Forward, Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Europe, Canada

Model Year:

2018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

63.7 lbs (28.89 kg) (275 lbs With Flat Bed)

Battery Weight:

7.7 lbs (3.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

13 lbs (5.89 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

17.25" Seat Tube, 27" Stand Over Height, 22" Reach, 26" Width, 67" Length

Frame Types:

Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black, Gloss White

Frame Fork Details:

RST Spring Suspension, 60 mm Travel, Compression Adjust with Lockout, Preload Adjust, 135 mm Hub Spacing, 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

170 mm Hub Spacing, 12 mm Threaded Axle with 10 mm Flats, Nuts

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Front Rack Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, Freewheel 14-28T Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano SIS Index Thumb Shifter on Right

Cranks:

Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 48T Chainring, Plastic Chain Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Folding Platform with Reflectors, CrMo Axle, Black

Headset:

Semi-Integrated, Sealed Cartridge, 1-1/8" Straight

Stem:

Aluminum Alloy, Folding, Telescoping Height 300 mm to 370 mm, 50 mm Length, 13º Angle, 15 mm Rise

Handlebar:

Low-Rise, Aluminum Alloy, 640 mm Width

Brake Details:

Tektro Aries Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Four-Finger Tektro Levers with Rubberized Edges and Bell on Left and Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Ergonomic, Stitched Imitation Leather, Black

Saddle:

Velo Plush with Lifting Handle, Black

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 80 mm Width, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 12 Gauge, Silver with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda Krusade Sport, 20" x 4" (98-406)

Wheel Sizes:

24 in (60.96cm)

Tire Details:

5 to 30 PSI, 0.4 to 2.1 BAR, 40 to 210 Kpa

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Rear-Mount Adjustable Kickstand, Steel Derailleur Guard, Integrated Spanninga Axendo 60 LED Headlight, Independent Spanninga Solo LED Backlight (Two AAA Batteries), Neoprene Slap Guard, Bolt-On Rear Rack with Yepp! Window, Optional Plastic Fenders (105 mm Width), Optional Front Rack, Optional Small Basket, Optional Large Basket, Optional Platform, Optional Small Pannier (Fremont Bag), Optional RAD Backlight, Optional SR Suntour NCX Seat Post Suspension, Optional RAM Torque Handlebar Phone Mount X

Other:

Locking Removable Seat Tube-Mounted Battery Pack, 1.1 lb 2 Amp Charger, Fully Potted Motor Controller, Stainless Steel Torque Arm, 275 lb Maximum Weight Rating

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang, Fat Tire Specific

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung 18650 35E

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

14 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

672 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium NCA (LiNiCoAlO2)

Charge Time:

6 hours

Estimated Min Range:

22 miles (35 km)

Estimated Max Range:

42 miles (68 km)

Display Type:

Rad Power Bikes Branded King Meter SWLCD, Fixed, Adjustable-Angle, Backlit, Color LCD

Readouts:

Battery Indicator (5 Bars), Trip Meter, Odometer, Current Speed, Average Speed, Max Speed, Pedal Assist Level (0-5 as Eco, Std, Power, Speed), Light Icon, Motor Power Watts

Display Accessories:

Independent Control Pad and Throttle On/Off Button on Right (Buttons: Up, Mode, Down), Hold Up for Speed Display Mode, Hold Down for Walk Mode, Hold Mode and Up for Lights, Hold Up and Down for Settings Menu, 5-Volt 1 Amp USB Type A Port at Base of Display

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (12-Magnet Cadence Sensor)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Rad Power Bikes is well known for their full sized fat tire electric bike called the RadRover. It’s comfortable, off-road capable, and priced well… but as much fun as that product is, the stand over height is ~30.5″ and even with the quick release wheels, it’s just a big bike to move and store. By contrast, the compact RadMini has a lower 27″ stand over height, can fold in half to save space, and weighs ~3 lbs less. All this, and it can still support up to 275 lbs and uses the same high-capacity battery and powerful 750 watt geared hub motor. In some ways, the RadMini is more capable than the RadRover because it runs smaller 20″ x 4″ wheels which gain a mechanical advantage for the motor and 180 mm mechanical disc brakes. Compared to the first generation RadMini model, this latest version offers a suspension fork with lockout, hydroformed Aluminum alloy frame with reinforcement gussets to provide strength, and a higher definition 12-magnet cadence sensor compared to 6 magnets before. The price hasn’t changed, it’s still $1.5k, but in my opinion, the new model has a nicer paint job and the new front-rack design is much more capable and stable to ride with. And, RPB has expanded their accessories line so you can get a suspension seat post, wide plastic fenders, pannier bags, or connect a Yepp! child seat directly to the included rear rack because it has the correctly sized rectangular window. Whether you’re someone who wants the fat bike experience, which will take you through soft terrain like sand and snow, or someone who just wants a folding model that can share the same battery pack as other second generation Rad Power Bikes, or you’re a shorter rider who simply cannot approach and mount the full sized RadRover, the new RadMini has a lot to offer. Of course, it’s not perfect and some compromises had to be made in order to keep the price low, but I’ll lay those out in the paragraphs below and try to help you navigate what the compromises mean and when they are most relevant.

Driving this bike is a fat tire specific hub motor from Bafang. The wider casing on this motor provides a sturdier bracing angle for the thick 12-gauge spokes while permitting wider staters and magnets inside, to provide more power. It’s rated at 750 watts, which is the absolute maximum that’s legal in the United States, and is specced down to 500 watts for Canada to comply with local regulations. This motor is relatively lightweight at 13 lbs (compared to the 15 pound gearless motors on the RadWagon and RadCity models) and it’s compact, nearly hidden between the 7-sprocket cassette and 180 mm disc brake rotor. The pedaling drivetrain on this bike is the most basic of all Rad Power Bikes, using an entry-level Shimano Tourney derailleur, but it definitely gets the job done and feels natural from zero to 20+ mph, which is the top assisted speed. In order to make pedaling feel right, given the smaller wheels, a large 48 tooth chainring and standard 170 mm crank arms were chosen. Compared to regular folding models, which also use 20″ wheels but narrower 1.5″ to 2.25″ tires, this bike is higher up and feels more like a full sized bicycle. It’s definitely more stable and comfortable than a lot of folding bikes and I love that it offers both pedal assist and throttle mode. Starting from standstill can be difficult in soft terrain, so being able to use the motor to help you generate some speed and stability before picking your feet up to pedal is perfect. I used the throttle extensively a couple of years back when test riding the Gen 1 RadMini in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. It was incredible to actually see these things (the full sized RadRover and compact RadMini) plowing through soft sand… they key is to lower the air pressure to 5-10 PSI. Back on paved sections or hard packed Earth, the 20 to 30 PSI range is more efficient. I love how responsive the new 12-magnet cadence sensor is and that you can arrow down to zero for throttle only mode or press the throttle toggle button to completely disable it. You get full control of how the motor performs on this electric bike. Yes, geared motors produce a bit more noise and the power cable leading to this motor is a bit exposed on the right side of the rear axle, but Rad has included a Steel derailleur guard to reduce bumps and snags… an excellent decision given that this bike folds and could end up getting jostled around.

Compared to the first generation of Rad Power Bikes, the new battery pack offers ~20% higher capacity and only weighs 0.5 lbs more! So, hopefully you won’t run out of juice on longer or more adventurous and strenuous paths. The new pack is slimmer, mounts to the frame on a track that bolts down in three places for added strength, and can still be charged on or off the frame (making it convenient for commuting and easier to care for in extreme hot or cold weather). Considering just how large and heavy the RadMini is, despite looking compact, I could see myself storing the bike outside or in a shed and then bringing the battery into a more neutral, dry location for safe keeping. If you know it’s very cold out, keep the battery warm before taking a ride because otherwise the cells won’t last as long. This is especially relevant on those days when you’re planning to ride the Rad Mini in slow! If you plan to store the pack for more than a month without using it, I have heard that keeping it around 50% vs. completely full can be easier on the Lithium-ion cells. The actual cells inside are Samsung 18650 size 35E high energy density. It impressed me to discover that this 48 volt 14 amp hour pack can be replaced for just $499, and I think that’s partially because the controller unit is made separate. This is one area where the RadMini looks a bit different than the other models which have a plastic controller box mounted to the seat tube. Instead, the RadMini has a controller box situated just below the bottom bracket, and I love that there’s also a metal support arm here that protects it and the chainring from damage. I was told that the independent controller reduces complexity, heat transfer to the battery, and makes fixes easier… but it doesn’t look quite as good as if they were all combined in my opinion. Even though the RadMini is a purpose-built electric bicycle, the battery and controller box are still external… and it’s not as efficient or effective at climbing as some of the new mid-drives, or as balanced. That said, I haven’t seen any mid-motor folding fatbikes yet. All things considered, I feel that weight is still distributed well on this frame, and I love that little things like the neoprene slap guard, plastic guide that will reduce chain drops, and large and sturdy folding pedals vs. the narrow flexy plastic ones on most other ebikes.

Operating the bike is relatively simple but improved from earlier designs because of the new battery. Before, once you had charged the pack, you would press a silver circle button to activate the battery… and anyone could do this, even when the bike was parked at a rack. Because the RadMini has a throttle that can be used at standstill, people could then tamper with the display and motor even when the bike was locked (if you left the battery on the bike). The new battery solves this, and prevents accidental drops, by requiring you to lock the battery to the frame in an off or on mode. So now, you cannot start riding until the pack is locked in place and people cannot tamper with it if you locked it in the off position! To activate the display, just hold the Mode button in the middle of the rubberized control pad (near the left grip) and it blinks to life. This display is not removable, but it does swivel forward and back just enough to reduce glare. It’s large, which makes it easy to read from a distance, and it shows your battery level, trip stats, speed, and assist level 0-5. If you press the mode button, it cycles from trip distance to total distance (odometer), and if you hold the up arrow it will cycle from current speed to average speed and max speed. For those who want to mess around with settings, hold the up and down arrow keys simultaneously, and for those dark riding moments (or to be extra safe during the daytime) just hold up and mode simultaneously to activate the headlight. The final tip I have is that you can hold the down arrow while the bike is in assist levels 1-5 to activate walk mode, which can be very handy if you have to walk a difficult section of trail, cross a non-bikeable area with a loaded rack, or get a flat tire. I love that in addition to the range of power levels that you can ride with, the throttle offers full power at all times. This is nice for saving energy but still having access to quick bursts of power for climbing or catching up to friends. And, the throttle can be completely shut off if you want, just press the black toggle button near the right grip. This is very useful when mounting the bike, walking it, or picking it up. Of course, I recommend always disabling the bike completely by turning it off to be extra safe when handling. I should also mention that the charger for all Rad Power Bikes is just 1.1 lbs and offers a standard 2 Amps output for ~6 hour charging from empty. It’s not the fanciest thing in the world but it gets the job done without being too bulky and I like that the charging port on the battery is positioned out of the way of the crank arms so it won’t get snagged or bent as easily.

Earlier in this review, I did mention that there were some trade-offs to consider with the RadMini, compromises that were made to keep it affordable. One of the biggest to me, is the use of mechanical brakes vs. hydraulic which are easier to pull and usually have adjustable-reach levers to fit smaller hands. Mechanical brakes are easier to adjust post-purchase, and the big rotors do a great job actually stopping this bike, but that’s to be expected considering that it’s heavier and larger than a lot of other e-bike models. Buying from a direct seller like Rad Power Bikes means that you may not get to test ride before making a purchase decision and you will also have to spend some extra time and energy unpacking and tuning the bike… However, RPB does offer a solid one year comprehensive warranty, the company has been growing fast and has a lot of bikes out there in the real world (so maybe you could see or test ride one in the wild), and now they have partnered with Velofix to assemble, deliver, fit, and give a 30 day tuneup post-purchase for just $100. It’s a neat approach, one that continues to keep the price low while upping the convenience factor. A few little delighters for me are the integrated USB charging port on the display, the stainless steel torque arm on the rear dropout, the flashing mode on the rear light (even though it’s not wired in like the headlight, and is easier to forget to turn on/off), and the narrow double-step folding joint at the middle of the frame. The handlebar and seat height can be raised or lowered slightly to improve fit, but take care not to go too high or the cables and wires at the front can get pulled (or even interfere with the front rack option). Note that the headlight has been upgraded from Gen 1 and is brighter and nicer overall, but it’s going to bounce up and down a bit because they positioned it on the suspension arch vs. the head tube or handlebars, and if you get the optional front rack and basket, the light gets repositioned onto the bottom and will not turn as you steer the bike. I like that they chose black spokes, to match the hub motor and black rims, but they did not use punched out rims which would reduce weight and allow for liner flex and improved comfort when riding. The seat has a handle built in, which is handy for lifting and repositioning the bike, but it could become a point of vulnerability if you opt for the suspension seat post (which is more fragile than the rigid alloy post). The new battery design is easier to mount and dismount than the older one, and lighter because it’s plastic vs. aluminum, and it seems like you can actually take the battery off without removing the seat like you did before. Finally, the kickstand is positioned perfectly so that it supports the rear rack when loaded and stays out of the way of your left crank arm. It offers adjustable length and a wider base so it won’t let the bike tip too far or sink in to soft terrain like sand/snow as easily. I hope this in-depth review helps you to compare and contrast some of the different Rad Power Bike models and I’d like to thank the company for partnering with me on this post, providing both colors, and many accessories to showcase during the review. Feel free to post your questions and comments below or in the EBR Forums for input from people who might have owned the first generation.

Pros:

  • Fat 4-inch wide tires, a 60 mm spring suspension fork, adjustable-height steering tube, and shortened stem work together to provide more comfort than the first generation RadMini, you can achieve an upright body position that will fit a range of rider body types and the Velo Plush saddle and ergonomic grips feel nice
  • Great aesthetics, the new hydroformed Aluminum alloy frame has an angled top tube for lower stand over height, extra plating gussets where it meets the seat tube and steering tube, and a flattened section behind the seat tube where the battery mounts which provides a sturdier surface
  • Available in two refined colors with nicer accents than Gen 1, some of the older RadRovers looked a lot simpler but I’ve always appreciated the option to go with a dark and light color scheme because the white is going to be more visible at night and that could make it safer
  • Safety is a big consideration for me as a cyclist who rides in the city occasionally (or in new unfamiliar locations, since this is a folding portable model), so I love that Rad Power Bikes has been including lights and that the new headlight is extra bright and aimable, the folding pedals also have nice reflectors
  • It’s cool that Rad Power Bikes has expanded to Europe and Canada, and specced their motor down from 750 watts to 500 watts in order to comply with local regulations, they offer free shipping and in the US are partnering with Velofix for assembly and delivery for an additional $100
  • I love the sturdy Wellgo platform pedals they chose here, many other folding pedals are plastic and offer less surface area and rigidity, the plastic chain guide and steel derailleur guard also keep it running smoothly and protected when folding and unfolding, the chain shouldn’t drop off and you’ll be less likely to get a snag or bend in the derailleur cable and motor power cable
  • The new battery design is awesome, it’s slimmer, can be locked to the frame in an off position to prevent tampering with the display, can be charged on or off the bike, is using energy dense Samsung 35E cells that take up less space and weigh less, and it’s only $499 to replace because the controller unit is separate, it’s also cross-compatible with other second generation Rad Power Bike models
  • This folding fat bike has tons of optional accessories that look great and provide massive utility such as wide plastic fenders, reflective pannier bags that fit onto the rear rack, a front platform rack and basket, a phone mount, and a suspension seat post upgrade
  • The display is large and easy to read, it angles slightly to help you reduce glare, and I love that it has a standard sized USB port on the bottom so you can maintain a phone or other portable electronics as you ride, interacting with the display while riding is easy and pretty safe because the button pad is mounted within reach of the left grip
  • Rad Power Bikes has upgraded to a high-resolution 12-magnet cadence sensors for all of their second generation models and this makes starting and stopping more predictable, I love that they also included motor inhibitors on both brake levers and that you can disable the throttle with the on/off toggle button near the right grip, I always turn the bike completely off before hopping on or off and folding just to be safe
  • The kickstand is adjustable, has a wide platform at the bottom to keep it from sinking in to soft terrain, and it works pretty well if you’re loading the bike with gear, I love that the front rack is frame-mounted so it won’t interfere with steering or tip the bike sideways when parked like fork mounted racks (the first generation of RadMini models did have a fork mounted rack that wasn’t nearly as nice as this)
  • Both wheels are built with thicker 12 gauge spokes for increased durability and weight capacity on the bike, the official max weight rating is 275 pounds (~125 kilograms) which is outstanding for a folding model
  • The folding points at the steering tube and mid-frame have a two-step lock to ensure that there are no accidental unfolding situations while riding
  • The geared hub motor is zippy and powerful, it gets a big mechanical advantage because of the smaller 20″ wheels and can produce more torque than the RadWagon and RadCity models which use gearless hub motors… so the geared motor doesn’t offer regeneration and it does produce some more noise, but it’s more capable at low speeds and can power through snow and soft sand if you bring down the tire PSI to the 5-10 range
  • The rear rack is bolt-on but I like that they color matched it and that it stays out of the way so you can really lower the saddle height if you want and still have a trunk bag!
  • Some folding bikes skip the bungee cord, magnet, or a Velcro strap to keep them from coming unfolded but the RadMini does not, it comes with a Velcro strap! But you could still use your own bungee cords or get an adjustable one like this to keep the frame extra secure when transporting in a car, boat, plane, RV, etc.

Cons:

  • The battery and controller box are mounted externally vs. combined and hidden (the controller box is just below the bottom bracket where the battery sits and is surrounded by an Aluminum box), wires aren’t internally routed like some of the other Rad models, but weight distribution is good and I appreciate the support arm below the controller box that protects the chainring and gives the bike a stable resting position when folded, it’s possible that external cables will be less prone to damage when folding so that could be why they aren’t as hidden
  • Only one frame size for the RadMini at this time but that’s part of what keeps the price down, the top tube is more angled than before and this helps to lower stand-over height
  • It’s nice to have lights but the rear one is not wired in, it runs on two disposable AAA batteries which means that there are extra steps turning it on/off every time you want to ride, and if you forget, you’ll either be less safe when riding or have the battery slowly running out while not using it
  • I’m not a huge fan of the big thumb shifter design for the gears because it seems like I have to stretch my right hand to reach it and the gears don’t shift as quickly or crisply, but the team at RPB told me this part was chosen to make room for their throttle on/off switch which is a great safety feature… so it makes sense, and the larger shifter pieces can be easier to interact with when wearing gloves
  • The 180 mm mechanical disc brakes worked well during my ride test, especially with the smaller 20″ wheels, but I definitely prefer hydraulic because the levers are easier to pull and can be reach-adjusted for small and large hands, this is one part on the bike that seems to be a compromise in order to keep the price lower and the folks at Rad told me that they are easier for people to work on themselves vs. needing help from a shop
  • One consideration with the spring fork is that it’s heavier than an air fork, I love that it has a lockout adjust and that they included it compared to Gen 1 which used a rigid fork
  • The display is large and easy to read but not removable, so it could take extra weather wear and possibly get scratched at a bike rack, if the bike gets crashed, or if you’re folding it
  • Minor gripe here, there doesn’t appear to be any bottle cage mounting points, you might have to use a trunk bag with a bottle holster like this or maybe wear a hydration pack or something, I can see why they skipped bosses because the frame is compact and the folding could bend an accessory

Resources:

More Rad Power Bikes Reviews

Rad Power Bikes RadBurro Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordably priced, heavy-duty, utility style electric bike with four bed options including flat, truck bed with sides, hot/cold insulated box, and covered pedicab passenger seat. Borrows components and hardware from mopeds and motorcycles for added strength and durability, tough 17”…...

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An approachable, comfortable, and relatively affordable, city style electric bicycle that comes in one color and one frame size, swept-back handlebars and adjustable stem improve fit range. Ready for all sorts of ride conditions and applications with full-coverage plastic fenders, LED lights,…...

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordable, feature-rich, city style electric bike that comes in two sizes, two colors, and offers great adjustment in the stem and handlebar position for comfortable upright body position. Responsive 12-magnet cadence sensor provides faster starts and stops, both brake levers have motor inhibitors,…...

Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordable, powerful, electric fat bike with responsive 12-magnet pedal assist and twist-throttle on demand, available in two colors with lots of accessory options including fenders and racks. Only one frame size but the top tube is sloped and the shorter stem pairs…...

Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordable, feature-rich, electric cargo bike with cadence sensing pedal assist and throttle on demand operation, available in one frame size with adjustable bars and two color options. Gearless direct-drive hub motor is heavier but super quiet, durable, and capable of regenerative braking…...

2017 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A funky miniaturized folding fat tire bike with two cargo racks! Truly capable of sand and snow riding, LED lights guide and keep you safe, the bike offers assist and throttle drive modes. Basic seven speed drivetrain from Shimano, plastic chain guide keeps things on track, metal derailleur…...

2017 Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A value priced but featured packed urban commuter style electric bike with everything from fenders, to LED lights, rear carry rack and regenerative braking. Solid driving and braking performance with a 750 watt gearless hub motor and 180 mm…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Strikes an excellent balance delivering high power with mid-level components for a reasonable price, you get throttle and pedal assist with an on/off on the throttle! solid one year warranty for the original owner, flat rate $175 shipping in the US. Even though the battery and controller box are bolted on vs. integrated into the frame,…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A folding fat tire electric bike with front and rear cargo racks and double-tube frame for improved strength (good option for larger riders). Powerful 750 watt internally geared fat-bike specific motor paired with a large 48 volt 11.6…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Affordable, feature rich cargo style electric bike with a stiffer and lighter frame because it's not quite as long as some others. Offers five levels of pedal assist, throttle mode and throttle override as well as regenerative…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An Indiegogo funded electric fatbike with a powerful 500 watt motor, ample 48 volt battery and seven speed drivetrain. Comfortable saddle, ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout, two color choices but only one…...


Bicyclista
2 months ago

Court, thank you for another great review! The 2018 model of the RadMini makes it an even more desirable bike, specially with the addition of the suspension fork and the optional suspension seat post. The rear rack and the optional front rack(s) make it into a mini-cargo bike with fat tires. A go-anywhere expedition bike!

If I remember correctly, in your review of the original RadMini you mentioned a bit of frame flex due to the hinge that allows the bike to fold. Perhaps I missed it, but has this issue been resolved to the point where there is no frame flex anymore?

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Bicyclista! The frame flexes less now because they put an extra plate just behind the steering tube on the bottom of the downtube AND a gusset where the top tube meets the seat tube. The way the front rack is mounted to the head tube now also improves rigidity. Considering the larger, heavier wheels on this thing… I think it performs very well, the battery position is excellent and while there is still a bit of frame flex, it isn’t as much of an issue now and most bicycles have at least some flex in their design. I didn’t highlight it as much with this review because I didn’t notice it :)

Reply
Don
4 weeks ago

Hi Court, a couple of weeks ago I decided I wanted an electric bike. I saw the Sondor, but eliminated it after a couple of reviews comparing it to others. Then I found your site. I finally decided on a Radmini. I’m only going to use it on city streets and paved bike trails. No sand, no forests, no trails. But I think it will do okay. Your views are all great and I’ve started playing them for other people. But I miss that you do not do comparisons. For instance, I would like for you to do a comparison of some of the folding bikes. This one is better for off-road, this one is better for Beach, this one is for people who only ride on city streets and paved bike trails. That would have helped me immensely. But I think I’ll probably enjoy the Radmini anyway. Thanks again for your reviews.

Reply
Court Rye
4 weeks ago

Hi Don! I think the RadMini will work very well for you, even on concrete ;) their folding bike is unique in that it could also handle some sand or snow… but the only downside is a bit of drag, extra noise from the tires, and increased comfort! I really appreciate your thoughts about how I could suggest what each model is good for, I’ll take that into account for future reviews and again, thanks for spending some time to share your thoughts here! Feel free to post updates as you ride the RadMini here or in the Rad Forums.

Reply
John Delta
4 weeks ago

Love your reviews, but still wondering about the Rad mini vs. the Rad Rover. They both seem excellent but I wondering how the basic ride comparison is on road and on trails. The Mini seemes like it might preform with more agility off road, traction, turning etc… I have loved my full size/full suspension mtn. bike and wonder if I would miss the full size feel with the Mini, but I am naturally attracted to it. Any pertinent info/ideas on the feel of riding both on and off road for a 5′ 10′ 150 lb. male on both bikes ?

Thanks! John

Reply
Court Rye
3 weeks ago

Hi John! The larger wheels on the RadRover allow you to span cracks and holes, you can ride over rocks and roots vs. nimbly steering around them. The wheels on the RadMini will be lighter and turn faster, the suspension fork helps to smooth out hits if you have to take them head on. I prefer the RadRover at high speed and in terms of steering. The drivetrain isn’t quiet as nice, but the foldability and similar accessories are nice. They are both fun and capable bikes, I just think I’m more comfortable with the larger tires and comfort is my biggest priority, because my back and neck are a little sensitive. I hope this helps, again, I think they would both be fun and perhaps you should go with your gut if the RadMini is calling to you ;)

Reply
Mike
3 weeks ago

I have a Rad Mini. When comparing with the Rover, the riding positions are totally different. The Mini is an upright position. It takes a little getting used to especially off pavement.

Reply
Court Rye
3 weeks ago

I agree that the Mini is more upright, especially compared to the 2017 Rover. For 2018, they shortened the stem and added mid-rise bars for the RadRover so it’s also more upright and comfortable (you can still tip the bar forward if you want to be aggressive and sporty). Which model years do you have mike?

Eli Romack
3 days ago

I can’t see the comment you made about mid drive bikes the new mid-drive bikes but can you elaborate a little bit more on that and tell me some brands that have more efficient and better hillclimbing capability and some prices compared to rad mini. Just a second thought In the videos I always thought you liked the rad mini more than the rad Rover. The reason I say that is you always look like you’re having so much fun talking about it and riding it and have so many good things to say about it.

Reply
Court Rye
3 days ago

Hi Eli! My experience has been that different types of drive systems are better for different types of riding… I love how simple hub motors can be, but mid-drives offer balance and efficiency, sometimes even a throttle (but usually not from standstill). You can use the search filters to sort all bikes on the site by drive mode or go to the mid-drive category and then sort by price after that. I’ve set it up for you here, just click and it should show you all of the mid-motor bikes with the least expensive at the top :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

mrgold35
3 days ago

All Rad Power bikes usually weight around the same at +62 lbs and not geared for very fast pedaling without some level of power assist from PAS and/or throttle. You won't get up to the same speeds like a lighter pedal bike on the same level terrain. Radmini is great for compact size if you need to transport or store in limited spaces, heavy load hauling up to 275lbs total weight, all terrain capabilities, all weather capabilities, leveling out hills, and negating head winds.

Any type of headwind or incline makes these heavy bikes 2X-3X more difficult to pedal at speed without power. I once ran out of power about 1/2 mile from home (headwind of +15 mph and an incline) and it 2-3 mph was my max speed. I just had to do that once to realize never ever again.

You can still ride these bikes without power at PAS 0 or PAS level 1 with very minimal assist. You still have the full power 750w throttle available if you need a quick boost to get across intersections or up small inclines as needed.

mrgold35
5 days ago

I have two 2016 Radrover 4" fat tire bikes with +3800 miles between them with work and trail riding. I'm 6'3", 270 lbs, and about 70-75 lbs for the Radrover with all accessories (62 lbs for Radrover, rack, rack bag, lights, suspension seat post, tools, etc...). My 13 mile round-trip work commute elevation change goes from 4900ft at work to 5450ft for my home. Most Radrover ebikes all weigh about the same. Not going to save that much overall weight with a radcity, radmini, or radrover (radwagon weights the most).

The Radrover has the same 750 watt max power like the other Rad power bikes. I've never felt the Radrover was underpowered on the steepest part of my commute. Most riders on pedal bikes walk their bikes up the steepest part or they pedal 2-4 mph max. I can ride up the same steep section in PAS 3 (375 watts) or PAS 4 (550 watts) with my speed between 10-17 mph (depends on how energetic I am after work or how stiff the head wind).

I haven't tried Rad Power bikes other types of ebikes with the same 750w power. Maybe the 2X extra wide 4" rear hub motor might help put down more TQ when needed compared to other Rad bikes with thinner motors? My wife is 4'11" and 130 lbs and she flies up the same hill in PAS 3 while I need PAS 4, more pedalling, and a touch of full 750w throttle every once in a while to keep up with her.

The things I love about the Radrover 4" fat tires are:
- full 750 watt throttle at any PAS level, throttle comes in handy getting across intersections in a hurry
- fat tires are really smooth on any type of pavement, sidewalks, curbs, hard packed dirt, sandy trails, and rocky trails, very easy to transition to road, dirt, sand, mud, etc... without missing a beat
- comfortable upright riding position
- it can haul some weight and gear, max limit is 290 lbs for the Radrover
- inexpensive, I was able to get two radrovers+Saris platform rack for the average price of one mid-drive
- easy to work on, easy to upgrade, easy to ride

Mike Nemeth
2 weeks ago

I purchased some black leather handlebar grips from Rad Power Bikes. Comes in brown leather, black leather and black rubber. $25.00 even. No shipping or tax. Very nice. Fit exactly except for the plug on the left side. I had a spare that was narrower. Also did the rack update.

https://www.radpowerbikes.com/collections/replacement-parts/products/handlebar-grips?variant=24749941313

PCDoctorUSA
3 weeks ago

I've enjoyed reading this thread as I hope to make my first ebike purchase in the coming months. My opinion is that ebike manufacturers should require a LBS wanting to be a dealer of their bikes to perform warranty service on their bikes regardless of where it was purchased. Now, I'm assuming that the manufacturer has an agreed reimbursement schedule with their dealers. If there is no schedule or written reimbursement terms then as a LBS I wouldn't sell the bike. I think the manufacturer also has a responsibility to refrain from selling their bikes direct to the public at less than MSRP, or at all, to protect their dealers. A manufacturer should also not make their bikes available to online dealers or big box stores for less than the LBS can buy them for. If I'm a LBS dealer for your brand, and you make the same bikes I'm selling available to Here-Today-Gone-Tomorrow-Bikes.com for less than what you're selling them to me for, I can guarantee you I'm going to drop your brand. Now, if the online dealer or another LBS dealer wants to discount the retail price to their customers that's their business. For the record, I'm very pro-LBS but there's a limit to my loyalty. The ebike dealers here on O'ahu that sell known ebike brands have starting prices of $2500 for something comparable to a Juiced CrossCurrent. The local Trek and Specialized dealers have their budget ebike offerings starting at $3k. There's one shop that sells some unbranded stuff under $2k, but I wouldn't touch it. To some, those prices may seem fine, but when the budget for your first ebike is max'd out at $2k, those prices are prohibitive. When you question why their price is HUNDREDS more than a LBS on the Mainland, they'll all say, "Well, we have to ship it here." Something tells me there were a lot of other goods on the container ship from CA than the half-dozen ebikes on your showroom floor. Yes, I can order an ebike online for A LOT cheaper than something comparable from any of the O'ahu LBSs until I get to that "Calculate Shipping" portion of the web form. It's either, "Shipping is not available to your area" or I get slapped with an outrageous shipping charge like Rad Power Bikes who wants $450 to ship a Rad Rover. Fortunately, there are a few vendors who don't view Hawaii as Antarctica and their shipping charges are much more reasonable. E-Glide Electric Bikes charges $175 and Voltbikes charges an additional $70 on top of their normal flat shipping rate. I think Juiced was $190, but don't quote me on that. Now, I've found a few offerings that inclusive of shipping stay below my $2k budget, but what if need service whether under warranty or not. Both E-Glide and Voltbike state in their warranty if they can't fix it by sending you a replacement part or talking you through it over the phone then they'll work with a LBS in your area to get it resolved. From E-Glidebike, "It rarely happens, but sometimes issues can arise during shipping. If any parts happen to be damaged during shipping, E-Glide will send a replacement part at our expense and will work with you or the bike shop of your choice to fix the issue. If the issue cannot be fixed, E-Glide will exchange the bicycle. For warranty issues, E-Glide will cover the cost of labor involved handling the warranty service within a 30-day period after delivery. We will work with, and pay directly, your local bike shop of choice. After the 30-day free repair labor period, the owner will be responsible for labor costs associated with warranty replacements." The question then becomes, can I find a LBS willing to work with E-Glide in such warranty matters, and is there a LBS that will work on ebikes they didn't sell for non-warranty issues? That's what I'm working on finding out right now. Regardless of what I discover, I think for me the choice is to go with a company who has a track record of making a valid effort at satisfying their customers post-sale. I may not find a LBS willing to work on an ebike they don't sell, but if the company that sold me the bike will send me the part and a link to a YouTube video that will walk me through the process of replacing it than I should be good to go. Personally and professionally, I think any LBS that turns away a customer because of the "you didn't buy it from me" attitude loses a potential future customer. Just my 2-cents.

bob armani
4 weeks ago
bluegoatwoods
4 weeks ago

Hello, all.

I'm a recent buyer of two e-bikes from Rad Power bikes of Seattle. One "Rad Rover" and one "Rad Mini". Purchased them in Dec, 17. I've got about a hundred miles on the Rover and about 50 miles on the Mini. And I'm highly impressed with both.

I guess I was inclined to write here some of my impressions of the strengths and weaknesses of these bikes. In the hope of helping someone who's considering an e-bike but hasn't yet chosen which one. But I don't suppose those folks will be looking for that info in an 'intro' thread. So instead I'll try to give you folks some notion of just what sort of rider I am. That might give you some notion of the life that my bikes will lead.

And.....since I am capable of being fairly long-winded and cheerfully self-appreciative.....I'll start at the beginning.

I'm a lifelong bicyclist. For a few years there, fresh out of high school, I didn't own one and it didn't occur to me that I might want to ride one. But I got lucky; my market turned to mush and the career that I'd been starting up crashed. Out of sheer desperation I went to the west coast and got a job as a bicycle messenger.

It was a blast. And I was also very impressed with my ability to get around quickly using a mode of transport that was obviously much more healthy than four wheels. I haven't been without a bicycle since.

That would have been in the range of 35 years ago now. Sometimes the need to make a living has limited those riding miles. After the bike messenger gig, that is. That only lasted a few years. It was fun but it was a dirt poor living. I'm not even all that acquisitive. But I needed to make at least a bit more than minimum wage equivalent. (Big city traffic was getting on my nerves, too.) But... anyway... I was still riding some even when I had less time for it and there can be no doubt that it's helped me keep my health.

About 30 years ago now I started raising a family and I've stayed in the same spot since. This is in Illinois, roughly half-way between Chicago and St Louis. We live on a bluff. The highest point is about 200 feet in elevation over the commercial district below that we deal with mostly. But I don't live at the highest point. I live about 50 feet below. And the road does go through the highest point. So I've been dealing with pretty serious hills the whole time. In both directions. Not complaining; it was a wonderful place to raise my kids. But my bikes, and I, haven't had it exactly easy. I do still drive sometimes, of course. But I've always been pretty good about going on two wheels unless four was absolutely necessary. I haven't taken the easy way all that often.

My kids are good with a bicycle, too. I made sure that they rode. And they did become skilled at it. But I might have burnt them out. As adults two of them simply refuse...a pity.....and one talks about maybe getting a bike together and riding it. But she doesn't seem to get around to it. Perhaps that hill killed the fun for them? But there wasn't any choice. Ya gotta work with what ya got. E-bikes might have helped, though. But they were more primitive and less available then.

About ten years ago now I started messing with those 2 cycle gasoline motors that mount on a bicycle. It's possible that I knew intuitively that the day would come when I just couldn't pedal quite as strong as I was accustomed to. Maybe, maybe not. At the time I merely thought that a moped on-the-cheap sounded like fun. And the first one, too, was really meant for my wife. Who is no fan of the pedal bicycle. But those bicycle/gasoline motor combos are finicky and she failed completely. So I rode that one plus built another that was more my size. They were good. But they just weren't quite good enough. You'd get one all 'tuned in' to the point where you'd actually get along nicely for a while. Then something would go out of kilter. Getting that back in line puts something else out of place. You find yourself tearing your hair out and not feeling quite sure that you'll make it to work. Or home. But you finally get everything working well again. Then the magneto dies. Quickly and completely. They're cheap and not hard to swap. But it gets frustrating. Better components are available. But the price skyrockets.

So about six or seven years ago I tried out my first E-bike. It was a Currie E-Zip Trailz. The bike wasn't bad. Though the drive-train was a bit clumsy, I guess. Those SLA batteries really did stink, though. One trouble I had was that I'd charge those batteries and have range that was certainly good enough. Other times I'd charge those batteries, apparently no differently than before, and then find myself pushing that heavy bike up the hill. I've never been able to account for just why the full charge would sometimes seem to be so much less than other times. Plus the batteries needed to be replaced more often than one would have hoped. There were Lithium Ion batts, and I think a few other chemistries, available. But I was a bit reluctant to put any real money into it only to find, I feared, that maybe they weren't even enough. (I no longer have such fears, by the way. Lithium Ion is just fine.)

My wife and kids, by the way, really did enjoy that bike. My wife sometimes frightened me with her recklessness. And she's not gentle with a bike either. So I found that bike suffering wear and tear that I would never put on a machine I loved. I probably could have lived with that and simply maintained the bike a bit more strictly than I'd have needed to on my own. But after only a couple of years I noticed that the motor was growing louder and giving less torque. So I knew it was over and I gave up on that bike. Just like the gasoline motors; good but not good enough. Nice frame, though. I kept that around for a few years hoping to find some use for it. Nothing came of that. But that front fork got some more life on other bikes.

So I took another stab at the gasoline motors. I was getting better at it and my last bike was getting into the range of having some real style and some actual strength. For a while both I and one daughter used those as work commuters. She did well. I remember one time coming home and finding her bike sitting on the patio with the rear wheel completely dis-assembled. I went inside and found her stretched out on the sofa, all-but-dead to the world, with her arms folded up toward her face covered nearly to the elbows in grease.

I woke her up and asked, "What's wrong with your bike?"

"Nothing's really wrong. It just felt like the rear wheel bearings could use some adjustment. But after I got it all apart I realized that you had the cone wrenches."

She realized, of course, that she needed to wait for me. Her job at that time was intense physical labor. She was tired enough that she didn't even bother to wash her hands. She just figured she'd rest her poor body while she waited for me. But she passed out. Poor thing.

It was nearly sunset and we had to hustle to get that wheel and drive-train back together for the morning. But we made it. Using a flashlight at the end.

Not long after, she got a better job. But with a commute that put and end to bicycling. Too bad.

I kept going for a few years at, perhaps, half pedal bicycle and half motored bike. Even to this day I have a working pedal bike. But for the last three or four years I simply haven't ridden it very much. Age is diminishing my abilities there. I'm in my late 50s now. I can still push pretty hard on those pedals. I simply can't do it every day anymore. It used to keep me strong. Now it just wears me out. It's a shame. But I had a good run.

During all of this time I've been trying, and scheming, to find some way of getting my wife out of the car and on to two wheels. I finally figured it out. Better late than never, I guess. It would have been January of 2016. I told her, "You know......I've been thinking about buying you a scooter."

She turned to me. I've never seen such an obvious 'green light' on her face. Before or since. I've forgotten exactly what she said. But it was short and it boiled down to, "Tell me more!"

But there wasn't much to say. We went down to the local Honda dealer the next morning and bought her a Metropolitan 50cc scooter. The temp was about 12 deg F and the salesman just assumed that we wouldn't be riding that thing for a month, at least. But we were riding it that day. Taking turns going to the gas station and getting a cup of hot chocolate. Stuff like that. She was enthusiastic from day one and still is. Now she does also frighten me with her recklessness on this vehicle, too. That's too bad. But I have no choice but to take it on faith that she'll be observant enough to avoid catastrophe. And it is good to see her not driving her car every day of her life. I have a pickup truck. And there are times when our trouble is getting those two vehicles out and moving a bit. Rather than just sitting and getting stiff. Wintertime? Not so much. But in the summer it actually has been a bit of a concern. I've also noticed they get awfully dirty when they just sit.

What I was figuring is that we could ride together. She on her scooter and my on my motored bike. And, yes, we rode together. But those two bikes have such different characters that it could never be done very gracefully. So after about a half a year I bought myself a scooter. No regrets there. It's fun.

My plan was to ride both vehicles more or less alternately. But I only took my motored bike out once after buying that scooter. It was like operating a civil war era steam locomotive compared to that smooth and sophisticated scooter. On the way home I just kinda knew that I'd never ride that motored bike again. And I haven't.

The scooters really are great. And they're so inexpensive that I soon realized that having more would be desirable. So I bought two more. For spares and also for sharing with the kids or friends who might want to do some riding. We've found that most of the people around us are either not very interested or too shy. It's puzzling. I do have one friend up the road who's pretty enthusiastic about it. His wife is scared to ride, though. And he's the type who's just always, always running around. So he doesn't manage to ride with me very much.

My kids have done better. One daughter is so enthusiastic about riding that I've sort of, kind of, almost given her one of the scooters. It spends most nights in her driveway, for instance. Another daughter doesn't seem very interested. She'll take gentle rides and acts like she's enjoying it. But she doesn't come around looking for more. One daughter (the one who took apart the bicycle wheel) is more enthusiastic and quite competent. But she really craves a motorcycle. I nearly bought her a second hand Yamaha V-Star 250 a few months back. But there was some bad timing and I found myself anticipating a big expense and tight budget. So I backed away. But perhaps we can manage to get her on a real motorcycle pretty soon. Right now the weather is (January) that I don't have to act quickly.

So......let's see here............just where was I going with all of this?

Oh, yes! I know! E-bikes, of course! That's what we're here for.

So.... the scooters are great. But from about Christmas to sometime in February we can manage some rides. But racking up any real miles is all but impossible. So we've been needing something more. And that's where these pretty neat bikes from Rad come in.

I sure hope I chose well by going with fat bikes. Clearly they'll be good on actual snow. In fact I've already tested that and they pass. I'm still not sure how they'll do on slick, traffic beaten ice. But even I won't be riding all that much in such conditions. Some, yes. Every single day? No. In any case, snow, ice and mud are just why I chose fat bikes. I'd better get some fenders. I've already got skunk stripes on my back.

The Rad Mini was meant for my wife. I didn't even buy the Rover at the same time. I wanted to get a feel for the Mini first. But the moment I rode it I knew I wanted one for myself. So I placed the order for the Rover.

I've got about a hundred miles on the Rover and about fifty on the Mini. My wife has only rode hers once so far. But she's enthusiastic. The weather's been very bad for two wheels. She's actually willing to face that pretty well. But she's so careless about keeping proper clothes on hand and I don't want to invite her out if she's going to get frostbite.

But better weather will come. Good enough that she can dress carelessly if she wants without being in actual danger. And I can tell already that she has high hopes for this bike.

I can already tell that mine is a magnificent machine with enough power for my uses. It might even be too much bicycle for summer. That'll be no matter. I can always rig up something a bit lighter. In fact I do have the components on hand.

And I'd actually like to tell a bit more about just what makes this bike so great. Plus those few downsides (such as big a a bit clumsy) that it has.

But I'll try to save that, instead, for a thread that might help someone who's shopping for bikes.

So instead I'll just say, "It's nice to meet you all!"

Chris Hammond
1 month ago

Rad power bikes makes a FTB called the Rad Rover. It's actually reviewed on EBR as a best buy for inexpensive FTB. They upgraded their batteries this year to 48V 14 Ah using Samsung cells. Pricing starts at $1499. It's a class 2 bike so assisted speed is limited to 20 mph.
Juiced bikes also just released a FTB called the Rip Current S. It comes commuter ready with front and rear lights and fenders, plus a rear rack. Base battery is similar at 48V 13.5Ah. It has a bigger battery option of 19Ah for $299. Pricing starts at $1699. It comes as a class 3 bike, but the factory can reprogram to class 2 before shipment.
Neither is likely to have a dealer close by to you. There are plenty of other options out there. Good luck.

BillTheGalacticHero
2 months ago

The reviewer on the EBR YouTube channel is always saying that the Rad Power Bikes chargers are cheap/passable.

I just pre-ordered a 2018 bike. What chargers are out there that would be considered a compatible "upgrade" over the charger that comes with the bike? What features would a "better" charger have?

Andy_in_CA
2 months ago

I don't know about fat bikes... but Rad Power Bikes Power Wagon has fatter wheels and looks nice... plus Court just did a review on it.

Andy

mrgold35
2 months ago

Maybe you can modify the title to something else like "Anyone have the new specs of the 2018 Rad Power Bikes"

mrgold35
3 months ago

I have two his/her Rad Rovers since Sept/16 with around 3800 miles between both ebikes. The Rad is equally comfortable work commuting at 18-22 mph or single track trail riding. I'm +270lbs and add in 60lbs Rad+30lbs gear, rack, commuter backpack, and accessories. I've had zero issues with the 180mm cable brakes stopping me in emergency stops or on steep down hill runs at top speed. I think the 4" fat tires have a larger contact patch on the ground that helps with stopping power compared to thinner tires. Some folks have upgraded the cable brakes to a cable/hydro combo from https://www.competitivecyclist.com/trp-hy-rd-cable-actuated-hydraulic-disc-brake

My range is usually between 24-30 miles using mostly PAS 3 with occasional PAS 4 on longer inclines and occasional 750w throttle use for intersections, boost up to cruising speed faster if I had to slow down, or short inclines. I've gone as far as +36 miles with around 10%- 20% battery power if I kept the PAS at level 2 and my speed around the 10-13 mph range. The Rad's heavy duty controller is designed to give you max power until the battery is depleted. The Rad will haul you up that hill, push you through that sand trap, and maintain your speed in a +20 mph headwind because of the programming. The tradeoff is the battery range will be cut by 1/2 or more if you want speed/power over range. I can almost use 60%-70% battery power on my 6 miles work commute home (4900ft to 5400ft) when I have a +25mph stiff headwind and I want to maintain my +18 mph cruising speed.

If range is an issue, you can purchase an extra battery from https://www.radpowerbikes.com/collections/radrover-accessories/products/radrover-battery-pack or https://lunacycle.com/48v-18650-ebike-battery-pack/:

48v X 11.5ah = 552 watts (standard Rad battery)
48v X 13.5ah = 648 watts (my pick for most bang for the buck)
52v X 11.5ah = 598 watts
52v X 13.5ah = 702 watts

The Rad rover's battery tray is standard and the 48v and 52v Dolphin packs fit plug-n-play with zero mods to frame or controller. You have to purchase a 52v charger if you go the larger volt route (the Rad 48v charger will work for the 48v/13.5ah Luna cycle pack). Depending on how you use the 52v battery pack, it can give you even more off the line power/faster acceleration/more hill climbing power and longer range.

007vsMagua
3 months ago

Hey Jim, still online?

It's been over a year since I started thinking about e-bikes. My finances have improved so I'm almost ready to climb onboard. I have a new favorite bike: the RadCity. With Winter coming, I'm tempted to order one now and just have it in my living room with flashing Christmas lights hanging on it until Spring. But then again, the current RadCity is well over a year old and considering Rad Power Bikes advancement I suspect a new model should be on the horizon. My gut tells me to wait. (See: RadRhino-Europe _ YouTube)

There are other considerations like: Helmet; Tool Kit; Bags; Spare Inner Tube; Water Bottle; Cell Phone; Better Lighting?

I could think of all those other items as stocking stuffers:)

PS_ Cort, Maybe you could head back to Seattle and take a RadCity on a 20 mile off-road minor mountain bike trail and share your thoughts.

Chewbacca
2 days ago

Got my 2018 radmini today and took it out for a spin. I'm still grinning.
I got my wife a 2017 radmini about 8 months ago because she couldn't keep up with me on the local fire trails... then I couldn't keep up with her, prompting me to get my own mini. I could have gotten the rover but I plan to take these camping and the folding ability makes sense.... I also think 20" fat tires look cool. I'm not a big time mountain biker, so the little bike is perfect for the fire trails and gravelly roads.
There is some difference in the 2017 vs the 2018.
The 2018 sits a little higher at the crossbar, and the handle bars are a little higher. Works great for me... but my wife at 5'2" feels more comfortable with her 2017. The 2018 frame is beefed up in a few areas, and the front suspension is a great addition. I'll see if the bigger battery capacity is noticeable, but I'm a battery power hog with the throttle and power level 5, while my wife only uses power level 2... so it might not be a fair comparison... but should make our rides more compatible.
I'll do a scientific test, but for now, I swear the 2018 has more zip.
Great bikes, but just as important is the company and people that stand behind Rad Power, and I've found everyone I've talked to at Rad Power to be better than you could ever ask for. Friendly, knowledgeable and professional... what a concept! Hope they all do well.
San Francisco Bay Area

Chewbacca
2 days ago

Got my 2018 radmini today and took it out for a spin. I'm still grinning.
I got my wife a 2017 radmini about 8 months ago because she couldn't keep up with me on the local fire trails... then I couldn't keep up with her, prompting me to get my own mini. I could have gotten the rover but I plan to take these camping and the folding ability makes sense.... I also think 20" fat tires look cool. I'm not a big time mountain biker, so the little bike is perfect for the fire trails and gravelly roads.
There is some difference in the 2017 vs the 2018.
The 2018 sits a little higher at the crossbar, and the handle bars are a little higher. Works great for me... but my wife at 5'2" feels more comfortable with her 2017. The 2018 frame is beefed up in a few areas, and the front suspension is a great addition. I'll see if the bigger battery capacity is noticeable, but I'm a battery power hog with the throttle and power level 5, while my wife only uses power level 2... so it might not be a fair comparison... but should make our rides more compatible.
I'll do a scientific test, but for now, I swear the 2018 has more zip.
Great bikes, but just as important is the company and people that stand behind Rad Power, and I've found everyone I've talked to at Rad Power to be better than you could ever ask for. Friendly, knowledgeable and professional... what a concept! Hope they all do well.
San Francisco Bay Area

Olrocker
1 week ago

Here's a shot of our RadMinis at Ft. DeSoto Campground just south of St. Petersburg in January. Great biking!

MikeDD
1 week ago

I have a Radmini,, for my opinion it is the best.

Olrocker
1 week ago

I'm selling two sets of RadMini fenders, new in box, never installed. Selling them because they won't work with the way I transport and store the bikes. $75 for each set or $140 for both, plus shipping from Raleigh NC.

Johnfol
2 weeks ago

I've looking at the Radmini, Sondors, and motoradd moton. What is a good 20" fat tire folding electric bike for the money???

vincent
2 weeks ago

what about a radmini or voltbike mariner and just put smaller tires on it or that sondors fold bike and put smaller tires on it a lot of the rover guys put smaller thinner tires on their bikes for commuting, but maybe the 26 inch tire is easier to find in thinner tires, not sure

rich c
3 weeks ago

It's a huge step from a recumbent to a 20" folding bike. You should ride one first. I think you'll be cranking like a gerbil to get a Radmini to hit 25 mph without assist.

Wavshrdr
3 weeks ago

Thanks for the input. Stealth is really high on my list followed by performance (range and cruise speed). The Radmini is sort of a porker when you put it on the scales and I would like stealthier for sure.

I saw the video on the Luna page, it does look like a very good option and I am leaning more towards it every day. Another option is to see if I can slap a set of Schwalbe Big Apple tires on it. They are about 2" wide and have worked well for me on a lot of other bikes. The Luna looks like a lot of bang for the buck for sure.

Unfortunately I am stuck flying places for work as I can't get from one place to another, typically a few thousands miles with only a day to get there and I travel a lot internationally. I am so tired of flying for work that if it less than 500 miles or so I just drive there rather than fly. Flying is such a hassle overall with TSA, delays, and more in the US that if I can avoid it in any way I do.

harryS
3 weeks ago

Fat tired Radmini may not scream lookit-ebike, but I don't see it as very stealthy. Not important though, if you're more comfortable on it. I bet it's a 50 pound bike though. Oops, specs say 63 pounds.

Did you watch the video on the Luna page? Independently tested for 25 mile range at 15 mph on throttle with the Luna Mini. 38 pounds. 31 mph top speed. Wheelies at will. I am impressed.

Otherwise, I think most folders are going to be 20 mph, 350W rear motor, 36V battery on rack or integrated in frame, 45-50 pounds.

I don't see a good solution for airline travel with batteries. I have the time (and interest) to drive, so that's how I've taken my ebikes around the country.

Dave Fyffe
6 days ago

how was it on hills street hills

miriamspandereta
1 week ago

Can you get full leg extension while pedaling?

Ed Fajardo
3 weeks ago

Hi Cort! Great review... How tall are you? I have a Prodeco Tech Phantom XR V5; I am 5'7" and it fits me fine but for my wife (5' 3") it's a little too big. Planning on selling the Phantom and picking up the RadMini... I think it would be a better fit for wifey (and me). Your thoughts?
Keep up the great reviews and ride safe....

Ken Saint John
1 month ago

Their tech-support is not OK, their tech-support is excellent. I have the 2017 model of this bike and just couldn’t be happier with it. These are some very nice upgrades. I honestly don’t know how you could do better for a $1500 folding bike. Kudos to RAD for holding the price point on the 2018 model.

Ken Saint John
4 weeks ago

Nice choice Rick. If your experience with the mini is anything like mine I am confident that you will be very happy. Never hesitate to call support for any kind of assistance you may need, even the simplest question. My impression is the tech department is treated very well by RAD and this is reflected by their excellent attitude and service. There is a “RAD Power Bike” closed user group on Facebook that is friendly and very helpful as well. Best of luck!

Rick Navarro
4 weeks ago

I just ordered a 2018 mini and I'm glad it has the suspention and new 14ah battery, almost went with the SONDORS FOLD X but really wanted the 750Watt motor and Rad seems like a better company, also they offered free shipping and a 1 year warranty!

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 month ago

Thanks for chiming in Ken! I agree that Rad seems to be doing a very good job as a company, and their products offer excellent value :)

Snafu Times
1 month ago

I weigh 260lbs. What would the range be on flat roads and an easy pace?

Darrell Grisham
1 month ago

I have one of these bikes. I use 20 psi on the street and 10 psi in the dirt and sand. I am 73 live in Arizona. It is to bad that the new head light can not be retro fitted to the 2016 model of this bike. I have after market saddle bags and a trailer for shopping. I get so many comments on this electric and always take as much time as I can to explain and sell electrics. I find that acceleration is better than my big tire bike which I sold. This is my only transportation and do go to the desert with a spare battery. I have put 80 miles a day on this. I do prefer these brakes over hydraulic for simplicity.

Bicycle Seen
1 month ago

How is the folding with the rack on the front like the black bike? Can you demonstrate?

Living in a Canadian climate, snow, water and salt would be a concern for me. My regular bike collects an impressive amount of dirty snow on the rear hub, gears, derailleur and bottom bracket.
How well protected from the elements is the controller and battery connection point near the bottom bracket as well as the rear hub with the motor.

Ticky Tocky
1 month ago

rear rim is bent

beef jones
1 month ago

Ticky tock dumb as a rock. You are one dumb son of a gun.if rim was bent bike would not be able to run in a straight line. Rewatch the video.

Ticky Tocky
1 month ago

Buy some glasses.  I like how the camera only shakes on the wheel.  duh.  Also at 25:11.

beef jones
1 month ago

no it is not you are seeing the camera shaking. get a clue.

Ticky Tocky
1 month ago

Yes it is, watch starting at 23:50. Watch when he's coasting, definitely bent.

beef jones
1 month ago

no it is not tocky ticky clock.

QuakA Oats
2 months ago

What's mikes helmet

Tracey McNeel
2 months ago

What would be the max size as for rear pannier bags that will fit on the rear rack of this rad-power mini electric bike?

Tracey McNeel
2 months ago

What would be a Max height recommendation for this type of bike?

rccrashburn
2 months ago

Is there frame shimmy? How much???
All folders have SOME..

beef jones
1 month ago

own a brompton, no frame shimmy.

Ken Snyder
2 months ago

Any taller riders with this type bike? I'm 6'3"+ 34 inseam. I want a folding bike but concerned about comfort pedaling. Thanks

JVONROCK
4 weeks ago

Ken Snyder 6’3” 165 lbs. 65yrs old. I’ve had the Folding Rad for about a year an a half. With 583mi. I chose the white (in test it’s the most recognized, visible color) also the fenders, which change to whole experience. When I was a kid, my bike was like most guys, a 20” Schwinn, no kickstand, fenders or chain guard. Fat tires, you stood up an peddled, safety between your ears.
Anyway I’ve had many bikes since. But this one and the many bike trails around, got me back in that world...Fun.
I’ve decked it out, alarm, Bluetooth stereo, auxiliary power, gun safe, side bags, a Burley Travoy trailer, with bags. Tools and such. I don’t have a camera or phone going on, but there are pictures of me out there.
The more I used it the better the feel, it’s not. A bike or a motorcycle, it’s powerful and I wouldn’t want it weaker. Its really fun and you don’t want to quit. Even looking at it I just wanted to ride. It’s not afraid of the rain, just the controller, yet I had to cover it, I’m not ready for rain, cold an snow biking. After I rode It a hundred miles or so and breaking it down several times (it fit in the back of my Prius fine, along with extra gear) and decided I was sold I took things farther and got a renogy folding 100W solar panel, 2 Costco 6V golf batteries, a Bestex 300W inverter and things have been working fine, long haul, I’ve only one so far. I took the charger and inverter, 12V or 110 I was fine.

Oh sorry. Back to your question 6’2” 34. I’m the same. The seat I can put up to were I can’t touch the ground, for cruising. the handle bars about maxed but no wobble or difference. I like the seat low around busy trails an roads, being able to touch the ground easily with both feet, it gives it a motorcycle feel and control. The only complaint if I had one, they fixed. The front suspension. It’s strong, well made. You’ve watched the videos, the price will have to get higher, the specs and power are second to none. Check out the ‘Burley Travoy’ this thing is amazing, I’ve intentionally drove it over curbs, in gullies, tried to flip it, it’s, well you’ll see. These are suddenly going to go fast, supply and price, spring coming, Awareness.
I need to come back and erase this novel, good luck an have fun, both almost guaranteed.

Alex Kincaid
2 months ago

For commuting to work 10 miles each way, would you prefer the mini or the city? Why?

Alex Kincaid
2 months ago

Joey-eLL agreed, I think I will go that route as well. I think this is much better than the previous generation which kept me away until they could get a few years of the bugs worked out especially since most of the components are off the shelf they needed to be tried and proven a little better for the application.

Joey-eLL
2 months ago

Alex Kincaid i would say city, for me i’ll use the mini because i would like to take the train to work so I’ll need a foldable

Ken Saint John
2 months ago

About the controller on the RAD (2017 model, perhaps this has changed on the 2018 model). Been talking with other RAD owners and checked the controllers manual. Per manual the controller supplies 5v/500ma. 500ma is basically a trickle charge to my iPhone6+ and doesn’t support any of the phones functionality. In fact when connected the moment I attempt to use GPS the charging indicator disappears from my iPhone screen.

Steven James DeBlasi
2 months ago

Looks great! I'm moving back home to Seattle soon. I think I'm going to buy this bike after I get there!

beef jones
2 months ago

does the key need to stay in with the power on?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Thanks Sidharth, you're correct, the keys do not need to be left in when riding but there are two locked positions (on and off) so you can now secure the battery to the frame and keep people from tampering with it :D

Sidharth Sen
2 months ago

no .. you can and should remove it on whichever setting it's locked onto.

Genecop Coppola
2 months ago

Good review . Think I found our next bikes...good for the boat and RV...

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Thanks! I really like this model, will be great for your boat and RV trips for sure :D

Lysle Basinger
2 months ago

What is Mike’s helmet?

QuakA Oats
2 months ago

Lysle Basinger I just called them it's a leatt helmet

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Not sure, maybe he will chime in and help answer?

Tdburn
2 months ago

How are the new geared motors on steeper hills?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

They perform well, better than the gearless motors on the RadCity models and the RadWagon, very zippy and you get a mechanical advantage with the smaller 20" wheels on the RadMini