Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Electric Bike Review
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 750 Watt Geared Hub Motor And Bash Guard
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Slide In 48 Volt Battery Pack
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Lcd Console Ergonomic Grips
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Front Rack Attached Led Light
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Adjustable Length Rear Rack And Kickstand
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 7 Speed Shimano Tourney
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Folding Alloy Wellgo Pedals
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Battery Charger
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Electric Bike Review
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 750 Watt Geared Hub Motor And Bash Guard
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Slide In 48 Volt Battery Pack
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Lcd Console Ergonomic Grips
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Front Rack Attached Led Light
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Adjustable Length Rear Rack And Kickstand
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 7 Speed Shimano Tourney
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Folding Alloy Wellgo Pedals
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Battery Charger

Summary

  • A funky miniaturized folding fat tire bike with two cargo racks! Truly capable of sand and snow riding, LED lights guide and keep you safe, the bike offers assist and throttle drive modes
  • Basic seven speed drivetrain from Shimano, plastic chain guide keeps things on track, metal derailleur guard protects the sensitive bits if the bike tips over to the right
  • Nice 180 mm mechanical disc brakes with e-bike specific brake levers that cut power to the system when pulled, I like the integrated bell on the left lever and rubberized front edges for comfort
  • The front rack turns as you steer the bike and if you aren't careful when parking, it can tip to the side and spill your gear out, no bungee or clasps to keep it from unfolding

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Rad Power Bikes

Model:

RadMini

Price:

$1,499 ($175 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive (Original Owner)

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62.1 lbs (28.16 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.8 lbs (3.53 kg)

Motor Weight:

12 lbs (5.44 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

560 mm Top Tube, 400 mm Seat Tube, 1092 mm Wheelbase, 673 mm Stand Over Height

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Folding

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid, 11 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shiman SIS Index Shifter on Right

Cranks:

48T Chainring with Plastic Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Folding Platform, Black

Headset:

Neco

Stem:

Folding

Handlebar:

Low-Rise, 24" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Aries Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors, Rubberized Edge and Integrated Bell

Grips:

Stitched Ergonomic, Black

Saddle:

Velo Plush with Integrated Handle

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

320 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled Alloy, Black

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Innova, 20" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Spanninga Micro Integrated LED Headlight, Spanninga Duxo Independent LED Back Light, Neoprene Slap Guard

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Hold Mode and Up to Activate Headlight,Hold Up and Down for Settings

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Aluminum

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

King Meter, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer, Watts, PAS level (1-5)

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (6 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The RadMini combines two bicycle concepts that at first seem a bit opposite but ultimately pair well… Namely, a “go anywhere” fat tire bike and the “take anywhere” folding bike. What you end up with is an electric bicycle that shorter riders can enjoy more comfortably, a fat bike that’s truly sand and snow capable (as demonstrated in the video review) and a bike that will fit inside the trunk space of most SUV’s and station wagons… and even some sedans. At roughly 62 lbs this is not a light bike but you can remove the battery and front wheel easily, shaving 10+ lbs. While not as smooth riding as a full sized 26″ fat tire bike, it worked surprisingly well and I appreciated the larger chainring used in combination with the basic seven speed drivetrain. Pedaling felt natural and I loved the larger metal folding pedals by Wellgo. This is one area a lot of folding ebike skimp on, opting for flimsy less-grippy plastic. The RadMini is off-road capable but still shines on road if you’re in need of a fun commuter, perhaps a road + trail bike to get you from the city into the woods?

Powering the bike is an impressive fat-bike specific 750 watt internally geared hub motor. I say fat-bike specific because it’s wider than most planetary geared hubs I see and this allows for wider spoke mounting and thus, stronger wheels. It really does pack a punch at 750 watts, which is the maximum allowable rating for electric bicycles in the USA. But I was impressed with just how quiet it operated. Having tested this back to back with some other fat bikes using different motors, I found it to be a leader sound wise. I absolutely love that the bike can be ridden with one of five levels of pedal assist AND overridden with full power using the twist throttle at any moment. This is especially useful for getting started in soft terrain like sand. You can even use the throttle from rest in level zero and furthermore, can switch the throttle completely off. This is useful for bumpy sections where you might bear down on the grips and accidentally activate. Considering some electric bikes have trigger throttles while others have half-twist like this, it’s just nice to have that extra off switch.

The drive system, large backlit display and front headlight are all powered by a large 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery pack. Inside are name brand, extra durable Panasonic cells that should age well if cared for properly. That is, kept in a cool dry location and topped off every month or so if not in use. This is easy to do given the removability of the battery… though it’s not as easy as some competing models. In order to get the pack off you need to insert the key, twist to the left then either remove the seat post or twist so the saddle doesn’t block the path of the up-sliding battery pack. I don’t love the battery design, especially since the keys must remain in to activate it. I noticed that it must be firmly pressed down in order to lock and once powered on, you cannot remove the keys which may jingle. Ultimately, I can appreciate that it’s mounted low and relatively center on the frame. You may leave it here and charge it this way as long as you can get the bike reasonably close to a power outlet.

Charging the bike takes around five hours from completely empty while powering it up takes just a few seconds. Twist the key, hold the power button then watch as the fixed display blinks to life. It is backlit by holding the mode and up button (which also activates the headlight). I appreciate how large and easy to read it is. Press mode again for different menu readouts or arrow up and down to navigate the five levels of assist. It would be nice to have a removable display, especially given the off-road nature of the bike. I found that even on rough terrain the frame felt solid and became curious about the rack systems. The rear rack slides out horizontally for maximum storage space (though I’m not sure what I’d put there? Perhaps a large pizza?!) and the front rack is about the size of a six pack of beverages. Note however, that if the front cargo is not secured, it may dump out as the fork turns when you park and lean the bike. Unlike some sturdier racks, it is not mounted to the head tube.

I had a blast testing this bike and came to appreciate all of the little nuances that Rad Power Bikes dialed in. You get a saddle that has an integrated handle at the back for easier positioning and folding. You get a derailleur cage to protect the sensitive bits near the rear wheel which keeps things in shape once folded. You get nice brake levers with rubberized edges and an integrated bell. The grips are a bit larger and fairly comfortable (though they may spin if you bear down since they are not locking). Keep an eye on the rear light, remember to turn it off when you stop or the batteries will run out quicker. The disc brakes are solid, fairly large and work well considering the price point. This is an electric bike that can handle rough terrain but won’t break your heart when it ultimately gets beat up and rusty if you really do go to the beach. That’s one of the trade-offs with fat ebikes specifically. Do you get the premium one that you’re afraid to ride in hazardous terrain or maybe two of the cheaper ones that you can afford to lose? Regardless of use, this one will fit those petite riders which means more people can come along for the good times. Big thanks to Rad Power Bikes for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • Uses a fat-bike specific hub motor which spaces the spokes out wider for improved strength, I found that it was quieter than similarly specced geared hub motors
  • I like that the bike offers both pedal assist and twist throttle mode, it’s useful to have immediate access to full power when you’re riding in sand or snow even if you don’t have assist enabled or are in a lower level… but they also included an on/off switch for the throttle so you can avoid accidentally activating it
  • The bike seems pretty tough overall, designed to handle bumpy terrain with a plastic chain guide and there’s a metal guard around the derailleur on the right in case it tips, simple black or white paint choices are easy to touch up or cover if it gets scratched
  • Neat rack system, plenty of extra space for hauling food on a picnic or tents and other gear on an adventure, the rear rack extends horizontally for increased cargo space
  • The folding design of the bike works well enough but I appreciate the extra locking clips that reduce any potential for loosening or opening while riding
  • Despite being a mid-step folding frame design, I found it to be fairly stiff and solid feeling… the double tube design definitely improves strength
  • My girlfriend isn’t especially tall but she was still able to use this bike and ride on the beach with the rest of us, stand over height is ~26.5″ but there is a wide point where the frame folds so even if you can stand over it be careful with your knees and inner legs to avoid scrapes and little bruises from this
  • If the tires are run a bit low, they add some cushion along with the ergonomic grips and comfort saddle… no suspension fork or seat post suspension on this bike but the price is pretty competitive at ~$1,500 and you could add your own basic 27.2 mm seat post suspension after market for as little as $30
  • I like the disc brakes because they don’t get as wet or dirty as rim brakes (being mounted higher) and found the brake levers to be comfortable with rubberized edges, I like that they chose the models with a bell integrated into the left grip and appreciate the integrated motor inhibitors
  • I love that the bike comes with LED lights, it’s handy that the front one is designed to run straight off the main battery… they didn’t wire in the rear because it’s further back at the end of the rack and I’m told that in flashing mode it can last quite a long time
  • Normally I dislike folding pedals because they’re shorter and less rigid than traditional platforms (being made of plastic), in this case however, the pedals are a bit larger and made from Aluminum allow so they work pretty well
  • I like that they included a slap guard on the right chainstay (to protect it from the chain bouncing and chipping it on rough terrain) and that they used a torque arm washer for the rear wheel AND that the front wheel is quick release so you can reduce weight and size further when folding if you wish
  • I love that it comes with an adjustable kickstand and that it’s mounted towards the back, out of the way of your cranks and pedals because that makes it easier to maneuver when parking

Cons:

  • The front rack turns as you turn the handle bars and steer the bike, I noticed that if it’s loaded and you park the bike without stabilizing the front wheel it will tip to the side and sometimes dump your gear out
  • The RadMini uses a cadence sensor to activate pedal assist and the part only uses six magnets while some other bikes use 12, in practice it worked fine (perhaps their software is really dialed in?) but this is an area that gave me pause
  • I like how the twist throttle feels but sometimes people with smaller hands or those worried about bumpy terrain don’t like them as much as trigger throttles
  • Some folding electric bicycles have magnetic clasps or rubber bungee loops that keep the bike from coming unfolded or rattling around and scratching but this one does not, consider using your own bungee cords or an adjustable cord like this
  • While the battery is removable, you basically have to slide the seat tube out or twist the saddle sideways in order to get it off, I do like that the saddle has an integrated handle for moving the bike or working with the battery in this case
  • There are labels on the side of the tires that say “inflate to 35 PSI” but in my experience you want to hit between 5 to 30 PSI depending on terrain, go much lower towards the ~5 for soft sand or snow
  • Two step on/off process wit this bike… first you insert and twist the key (which has to be left in the battery while riding) then hold the power button on the control pad near the left grip, this takes longer and the key can jingle if you have anything connected to it
  • For a folding bike, this thing is definitely on the heavy side… as you might expect with the fat tires and racks, still worth considering (remove the battery and front wheel to reduce weight somewhat)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Rad Power Bikes Reviews

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A value priced but featured packed urban commuter style electric bike with everything from fenders, to LED lights, rear carry rack and regenerative braking. Solid driving and braking performance with a 750 watt gearless hub motor and 180 mm…...

Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Strikes an excellent balance delivering high power with mid-level components for a reasonable price, you get throttle and pedal assist with an on/off on the throttle! solid one year warranty for the original owner, flat rate $175 shipping in the US. Even though the battery and controller box are bolted on vs. integrated into the frame,…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A folding fat tire electric bike with front and rear cargo racks and double-tube frame for improved strength (good option for larger riders). Powerful 750 watt internally geared fat-bike specific motor paired with a large 48 volt 11.6…...

Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Affordable, feature rich cargo style electric bike with a stiffer and lighter frame because it's not quite as long as some others. Offers five levels of pedal assist, throttle mode and throttle override as well as regenerative…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An Indiegogo funded electric fatbike with a powerful 500 watt motor, ample 48 volt battery and seven speed drivetrain. Comfortable saddle, ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout, two color choices but only one…...


Nirmala
9 months ago

How does the bike fit a taller rider? I noticed in some of the video, you have the seat set very low…..were you able to dial it in for a taller rider?

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Hi Nirmala, yeah the seat can go higher… it was set low in this video for my girlfriend Mony. We were all riding around the beach swapping bikes and I should have raised the seat but knew I was going to hop back onto one of the larger models so I did not. You can indeed raise the seat and there are even some extra-tall seat posts that you could buy to replace the included 320 mm post if needed. Hope this helps :)

Reply
Mehdi
9 months ago

Hi Court, I’m thinking about getting this bike for my commute to work which includes taking the T. How does the dimensions (folded) and weight of this bike compare to regular folding bikes like Dahon? The weight is almost twice as a regular folding bike but, I’m not sure about the dimensions. Do you think it would be a good option if a part of your commute is to get on a train with this folding bike?

Also, recently I came across a folding ebike from Genesis. Seems like a nice affordable ebike but, I couldn’t find any reviews on YouTube or other website. It would be nice if you can review it. Thanks, Mehdi

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Hi Mehdi! I’d say there is a hug difference in both size and weight of the RadMini fat folding ebike vs. a more traditional sized folder… As a smaller, not super strong guy myself I’d probably opt for something else if I was going to take it on the train. There are lots of folding options that I have reviewed here but not the Genesis model yet. Thanks for the heads up, I’ll keep an eye out for them in the future :)

Reply
brian brown
9 months ago

yery good bike can it be bought in the u.k and does the warranty included also in the u.k

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

I have no idea! Will ask the Rad Power Bikes team to chime in about international orders :)

Reply
James Scherber
9 months ago

Curious. I’m 5 feet 10 inches. 200 pounds. How does this thing handle San Francisco hills?

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Hey James, I didn’t climb the steepest hills in SF when I reviewed the older version but for me (a 135 lb guy) it worked fine there and surprisingly well on the sand. One advantage it has for climbing and soft terrain is the smaller diameter wheels… when used with a hub motor there’s a mechanical advantage because it’s easier to turn. The bike isn’t especially light and there is more drag from the fat tires but again, it worked fine even with the larger guys in our group on the beach :)

Reply
brian brown
9 months ago

good e-bike i would love one, are they comeing to the u.k.?

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Hi Brian, I’m not sure but their support and customer service is pretty good so maybe reach out? I’d love to hear back if you find out about the cost of shipping overseas :)

Reply
JP
9 months ago

Love the look of this one. I live on top of a hill that’s about a 15 to 23 degree incline for about a block and a half. Based on your experience with it, how well do you think rad mini would handle that?

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Hey JP! Without knowing your weight and intended cargo it’s difficult to say for sure bit I was VERY impressed with the power this little thing had, being able to ride through the sand on the beach. If you approach your hill with a bit of momentum I bet it would do fine, especially if you pedal along a little bit on the steepest part. Shouldn’t be too much work and I find that it helps the motor a lot (I often pedal along when starting from zero in sand).

Reply
Bruce Bechtel
8 months ago

This looks like something I could use for RVing. I like the idea of durability for trails and trips to market. What do you think? Also does a folding design like this lend itself to use of a small trailer, for groceries and such?

Reply
Court Rye
8 months ago

Hi Bruce! Despite the smaller wheel size, this is still a very powerful electric bike. If you could figure out how to attach a trailer (possibly using a custom mounting plate) I’m sure it would pull fine. The fat tires make it a bit more comfortable and trail-capable so it sounds like a good fit for what you’re thinking. I also like that the battery comes off (to reduce weight) because even though it folds, this is still a heavy machine ;)

Reply
Vincethesoundguy
8 months ago

Court. Keep up the good work. I’ve watched a few of your reviews, and like how comprehensive they’ve all been. I am full time RV’er and was contemplating buying a gas powered scooter or dirt bike for fun and for short hops. I’m touring the SW right now, Arizona, Colorado, Utah, and Montana, and I think this is a good fit for my situation. A RV park neighbor had two of these hanging off the back of motor home, so I decided to check them out on-line, and found your review. I do think the folding version makes sense for me, as I may want to store it inside the motor home at times, or put it in the back of my Kia Soul.

Two questions:

  • Is the full size Rad bike quicker, or does it travel farther because of the larger tires?
  • Is the folding version easier to handle in soft sand, gravel, or snow because of the smaller tires and lower center of gravity?
Reply
Court Rye
8 months ago

Cool! So glad you found my work here useful. Sounds like your friend is having a blast with their ebike and I’d be happy to help answer your questions. In my experience, the larger wheels smooth out the ride a little and might coast easier but they shouldn’t change your range much. Both the full sized RadRove and RadMini should go similar distances if they have the same motor and battery size. To extend range, it’s best to pedal along and help the bike get started vs. just juicing it from standstill. As far as soft sand goes, both the standard 26″ and smaller 20″ wheels worked well for me in the recent beach reviews. The larger wheels had a slight edge in terms of “float” because more surface area made contact with the sand due to a larger diameter (more forward and backwards contact). I’ve got footage here of both bikes in the sand and large and small riders tried both with success… just be sure to lower the air pressure to 5 to 10 PSI and note that this will reduce range due to increased drag. We still went a LONG way per charge with low PSI but it’s not as far as full tires. I think the bigger consideration is how tall you are, how comfortable the larger frame might be (as it’s higher and maybe difficult to mount if your legs aren’t super long) and also whether you want to get that thing and put it on a rack vs. packing your bike in the back of your car with the folding version. I bet the RadMini would fit in your Kia Soul. Hope this helps :D

Reply
Pete
6 months ago

Thanks for all the comprehensive reviews. Quick question, I’ve had problems with mechanical breaks in the past, are the breaks on radmini ok and is it possible o upgrade from mechanical to hydraulic disc brakes?

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Great question Pete… my guess is that yes, you could convert to hydraulic disc brakes yourself (or with help from a shop) but I don’t think this is an upgrade that Rad Power Bikes offers themselves. Their customer service email and phone number are pretty responsive, I’d suggest reaching out directly to see what they say, and I’d love to hear back what you decide on and what the options are :D

Reply
Went Lef
1 month ago

so I absolutely love my RADMINI, coolest kid in school, was the coolest kid in school. **Now im pedelin this damn thing all over my dad will kill me if he finds out someone stole the battery pack. can i take three of his lithium milwaukee 18 volt batteries and wire em together to replace it….please help??

Reply
Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi Went, I remember being in middle school and high school and seeing friends get into tough situation and make them worse by trying to fix it themselves or hide it… not saying you aren’t capable, but there have been fires resulting from Lithium-ion batteries that even shops have worked on. It’s not at all worth the risk in my opinion. Maybe call Rad Power Bikes and ask them for a discount on the battery or something? Get your parents to help. It’s not your fault that someone else stole the battery but it will be your fault if you wreck his other power tools or start a fire… or get yourself hurt. Welcome to being an adult, do the right thing here man ;)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Cristina
4 hours ago

Thanks for the replies. I did look at the Radmini and Mariner but they're not quite what I was looking for, though it did offer some advantages with a lower stand over height. Also great to see that the RadRover works for someone who is 4'11". I am 5'4" so hopefully it won't be too much of a struggle. I am guessing that the RadRover and Yukon are pretty similar in size, but the RadRover seems to have a more upright position for riding.

Pedego Trail Tracker looks very nice, but it is out of my budget at the moment, especially for a first e-bike. It is too bad because they are local for me.

I saw that M2S Bikes (https://m2sbikes.com/) offer different frame sizes which is nice, but it seems they are already out of pre-orders next month, and I haven't really seen a lot of reviews online about their bikes.

The touring saddle is a good idea. I have read some people trim the post of their bike, but I would rather not do that right away since I'm sure it would void the warranty. I am thinking maybe wearing boots with a heel might help out a little bit too. Really leaning towards the Voltbike Yukon at the moment, for all of the features for the price.

MarkElvis
11 hours ago

A friend and I have Radminis. When starting using electric power, or at low speeds, mine is almost silent, while their's makes a rattling, vibrating noise that emanates from the motor. When the back wheel is lifted and throttle applied, the rattling sound is much less than when sitting on the bike and starting. Thus, when the motor is under more load, the vibration (rattling sound) is more noticeable.

Talking to Rad support, they suggesting adjusting the derailleur -- which is very easy, but did not address the problem.

Any suggestions? Has anyone else had a similar problem?

Ravi Kempaiah
1 day ago

Electric Bike Review reviewed a 24" fat tire bike that was pretty nice in the past month or so. That would drop the seat height substantially versus 26". As noted the 20" wheels would have the seat even lower.

I concur MLB's idea.
@Cristina ,

a 24" Pedego trailtracker would be a good choice.

You could also look at Radmini, Voltbike mariner or Sondors fold and use the forums to gain some knowledge on the basics of maintenance.

mrgold35
1 day ago

Depends on your height and leg length to see if the Radrover is too tall for you. I think the normal height range is 5'2" to 6'2" with around 31.25" stand over height for the Radrover. I'm 6'3" and I needed to get a longer 400mm seatpost and 0-60 degree adjustable stem for the Radrover to fit me a touch better. My wife is 4'11" and I move the adjustable stem down to 0 degrees and added the ISM Touring Saddle, Amazon, $60, to give her the extra room for stand over at a stop (she can straddle the Radrover at stop with both feet flat on the ground with the new saddle). Without the smaller ISM seat, she had to lean to one side with only one foot touching the ground because the nose of a regular seat moved her too far up the top bar at a stop.

Some folk said when they changed out the Kenda tires with Hookworms also lowered the straddle height of the Radrover a bit.

My wife's biggest complaint is the just the weight of the Radrover of 65-70lbs with rack, rack bag, accessories, gear, and water. Hard for her to maneuver slowly and getting started if there is an incline. Zero issues once she gets going. The Radrover is too heavy for her to put on our platform bike rack by herself even with the battery and rack bag removed. The Radmini folding bike is smaller; but, still weights the same as the Radrover.

You can see my bike with Cloud-9+Bodyfloat seatpost and my wife's bike with the ISM seat:

1/2
vincent
6 days ago

I bet someome around your area has a radmini to try

Maybe try radpowers facebook page

I think the big cat does have a throttle but i may be wrong, i like those step thru fat tires they have and considered getting one a while back

Post on the big cat forum and ask someone to measure the seat height for you

mrgold35
1 week ago

I was on the fence about a year ago between Sondors, Radrover, and Volt 4" fat tire bikes. I marked Sondors off the list because of the 30 day warranty and small motor. No one ever said "My ebike has too much power and I wish I've gone with a much smaller watt motor."

I'm about 270lbs and I add about another 20-25 lbs with bike accessories, rack+gear, and commuter back pack. The Radrover weights the same as the Radmini. I have zero issue pedaling in PAS 2-4 and/or using the throttle to get going across intersections in a hurry or up inclines. The Rad Power bikes have a nice feature of an on/off button for the twist throttle AND you have full 750 watts of power at any PAS level from 0-5. I added a clip on thumb throttle for easier access and better control. Also nice to have the throttle if you need to walk your bike up inclines or stairs. I trail ride a lot and thumb attachment makes it easier to access the gears, brake, throttle, and holding tight on handlebar grips. I would check with the Sondors X to see how the throttle works compared to the Radmini.

I ended up with purchasing two Rad Rovers and put over 3000 miles between them both in less than a year. I would also factor in a suspension seat post since the folding ebikes don't have a front suspension.

One side note: I always used PAS 5 on my work commutes with the standard Kenda tires and my top cruising speed was around 18-19 mph with peak (downhills) around 21-22 mph. I wore my rear Kenda out in around 800 miles and replaces with Vee8 tires. I can now cruise 19-20.5 mph in PAS 3-4 (depending on wind and how level) and my top peak speed is 23-25 mph on the same inclines. I never use PAS now and just use the throttle if I need full power for a short run.

Xiggy
3 weeks ago

Reported a problem with my Radmini. I noticed that the top of the controller box had cracked when I removed the battery as I was getting ready to fold the bike to put it in the trunk of my car. I It holds together once the battery is back on the rail and connected to the contacts, but I can see it will eventually be a fatal problem.

1/1
Redeemed
4 weeks ago

So, my wife and I ride our Rad's to work most days. Her mini slowly walks away from me, and I'm peddling hard in 6th gear on PAS 3., and she is running the mini in 4th gear on PAS 4.
Also when using just the throttle, the speedometer reads 19.3 - 19.5 on flat ground...never 20MPH. Is that normal?

subzero
1 month ago

Has anyone had any experience with this bike? It looks very comparable to a Radmini and a Voltbike Mariner.

I like the different color schemes and low-step frame.

subzero
1 month ago

If you feel daring enough to buy something from China and alibaba, here is one:

https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/chinese-fat-tire-electric-bike-20_60570487430.html?spm=a2700.7724838.2017115.10.RIlgQC&s=p

-It folds
-500 W motor
-48 V battery
-no rear cargo rack :(

https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/Factory-selling-350W-20-fat-tire_60619508928.html?spm=a2700.7724838.2017115.93.bZEM8u

^ This is the Chinese version of the Radmini, except it is only 350 W :(

In case you're wondering if you can procure items from Alibaba WITHOUT owning a business. I did some research and I have gotten mixed answers but here's where I went:

https://www.quora.com/Do-I-need-to-form-a-company-to-buy-products-on-Alibaba

subzero
2 months ago

I was thinking about ordering this bike, but, I want a fat tire bike in case I ever go to the beach and bike on the soft sand. That's why I'm debating between the Voltbike Mariner and the Radmini.

But, one cannot go wrong with the Urban also. That price point is crazy good. I see it being good for biking around on pavement, but, based on the video review I saw, the tires can be changed out if you're going camping and bike on dirt.

subzero
2 months ago

I hope so. I know that Radmini does not allow me to buy a bike with multiple credit cards. They offered a workaround of buying a gift card with one credit card and the rest for the bike itself on another card. I don't think Voltbike offers gift cards to my knowledge?

mrgold35
2 months ago

I have a Radrover with the same 750w rear hub motor. The controllers are set to a certain wattage at each PAS level until the motor cut off at 20 mph:
PAS 0: 0 watts
PAS 1: 75 watts
PAS 2: 175 watts
PAS 3 375 watts
PAS 4 550 watts
PAS 5 750 watts

The throttle can be used at any PAS level from 0-5 and it provides up to the full 750 watts of power depending on amount of twist you provide. I usually don't need more than PAS 3 or 4 on level ground when I work commute on paved roads at 18-22 mph. The extra power comes in handy when I need to hit a short but steep incline to maintain my speed, pick up speed quickly to move across and intersection, stiff head winds, maintain higher speeds on longer inclines, sand starts to get a little deep in spots, or when I'm maxing out the weight of the Radrover (I'm already at +270 lbs and +20lbs for accessories, tools, and commuter gear). The Radmini and Radrover are both about 2-3 lbs heavier than the Voltbike. Both bikes have similar battery packs.

The radmini would be like adding a supercharger to your Scion FR-S for around +35% more hp/tq.

subzero
2 months ago

VOLTBIKE MARINER VS. RAD MINI

My first serious fatbike infatuation was the Rad Mini offered by Rad Power bikes in Seattle. (Nice people!) The marketing video on their website, plus Court’s outstanding video review – which I only watched about 200 times – made me demented with lust.

I ended up choosing the Mariner because:

1. It’s price point is nuts. (Leaving enough change for accessories/spare battery.)

2. It comes with matching metal fenders. (Impossible to find online.)

3. The rear hub motor has a quick disconnect for removing the rear wheel.

4. Front and rear lights are wired to the Mariner’s battery.

5. It’s lighter than the Rad Mini.

6. That helpfully sloping top tube looks cooler than the more “linear” Rad Mini. (I've found it also facilitates bailing out.)

7. No US$400 shipping fee. With customs duty on top. (I live in BC.)

8. Parts and service in Vancouver, on this side of a lithium-shy border.

-Voltman

Nice break down, Voltman. I'm also contemplating between these two ebikes. Another cool thing about the Voltbike Mariner is that it comes fully assembled and currently ships with a free helmet. Whereas, the Radmini does not. The main advantage, imo, of the Radmini is that it has a 750W motor versus the Mariner's 500W.

subzero
2 months ago

Hi, sorry for the newbie question. I'm deciding between Radmini and the Voltbike Mariner. The mariner has 500W while the Radmini has 750W.

What benefit does having higher watts (W) give me?

I plan on mostly riding for recreational purposes. I need a folding bike because my car is tiny. I drive a Scion FR-S. I hope that when the seat is dropped that a folding fat ebike can fit in there. If not, then I'll have to get a bike rack.

mrgold35
2 months ago

Once you add up two Radrover ebikes, shipping, and any extra accessories, you will be under the $2000 per if you picked the Radrover. Rad Power Bikes also makes a folding Radmini with 4" fat tires if you need a smaller storage footprint or you need something with a lower stand over height. The Radcity has pretty much the same specs as the Rover; but, has 2.3" tires, fenders, two different frame sizes, rear rack along with front suspension. I like the 4" fat tires because they can travel between paved roads, sandy beaches, and every where else in-between very smoothly. I work commute at 20-23 mph for 13 miles roundtrip on paved roads and sometimes take a detour to ride the hard packed to sandy single track trails before or after work without missing a beat.

You can find the same mix of bikes with Volt, Teo, and some others around the same price range. I would get something within the 2"-4" tire range, 48v, 11 to 17 A/h battery, twist or hand throttle with Pedal assist, front suspension forks, cargo capacity (or mounts for racks/baskets), 500-750 watts, and 180mm brakes.

Pretty much all ebikes in this range are around +60 lbs if that is a consideration. That weight is too heavy for my wife to lift on our platform bike rack even with the 7 lbs battery removed.

I don't have a RV; but, I do travel with my Radrovers on my SUV (Grand Canyon, Sedona, eastern NM). I had no problems travelling with the Radrover once I prepped for the road (removed battery, seat post with seat, rack bag, wrapped LCD in saran wrap, etc...). I even have a weather proof travel cover that encases both bikes and the rack if we run into really bad weather or if I want to cover the bikes overnight on the back of the SUV.

Steven F. Schluter
2 months ago

Just got my RadMini a couple of days ago (no real miles yet) which I will use in conjunction with my campervan as I travel the backroads in North America.

Just got my RadMini a couple of days ago (no real miles yet) which I will use in conjunction with my campervan as I travel the backroads in North America.

Awesome setup!!

dapope_22
2 months ago

Hi dapope_22,

I have an ibera pakrak 5 (https://www.amazon.com/Ibera-Bicycle-Touring-IB-RA5-Frame-Mounted/dp/B00AA8GFSI) on my RadMini but I prefer the Topeak Super tourist disc (https://www.amazon.com/Topeak-Super-Tourist-Tubular-Bicycle/dp/B000ZKHN6Y)

A couple of things that annoy me about the Ibera pakrak5;

The bottom part of the rack is too high and my panniers with hooks cannot be secured
The seat stay mounts, while super solid, are tubular instead of the 'floppy' flattened steel mounts a lot of racks use

If I had to do it over, I would probably find a more fatbike specific Topeak (https://www.amazon.com/Topeak-super-Tourist-Rack-Black/dp/B0187ZSMYA)

EDIT: I also had the Topeak on my RadRover, and I preferred having that extra security when attaching my panniers.

Sang

I just installed the same Ibera system on my Radrover and I am super happy with it. Fits perfectly on the Radrover and installation was super easy. I don't think you can beat it for the money. I do like the Topeak system, I just didn't like the price. I could see how it might sit too high on your RadMini though.

sanglee007
2 months ago

Does anyone have an Ibera pakrak ? I was thinking of getting this for my RadRover. Is a little less expensive than the Topeak system. Both the rack and the quick release commuter trunk can be had for about $80. I'm not doing any serious trekking, just want something to keep my locks and cables in once in a while. Any recommendations?

Hi dapope_22,

I have an ibera pakrak 5 (https://www.amazon.com/Ibera-Bicycle-Touring-IB-RA5-Frame-Mounted/dp/B00AA8GFSI) on my RadMini but I prefer the Topeak Super tourist disc (https://www.amazon.com/Topeak-Super-Tourist-Tubular-Bicycle/dp/B000ZKHN6Y)

A couple of things that annoy me about the Ibera pakrak5;

The bottom part of the rack is too high and my panniers with hooks cannot be secured
The seat stay mounts, while super solid, are tubular instead of the 'floppy' flattened steel mounts a lot of racks use

If I had to do it over, I would probably find a more fatbike specific Topeak (https://www.amazon.com/Topeak-super-Tourist-Rack-Black/dp/B0187ZSMYA)

EDIT: I also had the Topeak on my RadRover, and I preferred having that extra security when attaching my panniers.

Sang

mrgold35
2 months ago

I have a Radrover hub drive bike at around 70 lbs fully loaded (accessories, rack, rack bag). It does have 2 mph walk feature; but, I've never tried to use it up inclines or stairs. I just use the throttle (converted from a twist to thumb throttle). I have tried the throttle up 2 flights of stairs and it work great because it only turns the rear wheel and you can modulate or hold between zero and full 750w of power with the thumb throttle I added.

Even at +70 lbs, the Radrover is very easy to walk down stair just by using both hand brakes (not ride down; but, walk beside it). When I work commute, I store my Radrover in my server room next to my office on the 2nd floor. Elevator up in the morning at 6am and down the fire escape stairs well out the back door at 3pm.

Rad Power Bikes does make the Radcity with the same programming and 750w rear hub motor (2 sizes, headlight, throttle and PAS levels 0-5, rear rack, front/rear fenders, front suspension forks included). The only difference is it has smaller 2.3" tires for city riding; but, it still comes in at +60 lbs like the larger Radrover (minus 7 lbs without battery). Even the small Radmini folding bike still comes in at +60 lbs.

MuffinsaurusRex
2 months ago

Hi Vincent,

I have both a Radrover and a Radmini, I use them for commuting through suburban neighborhoods in San Jose, CA

I'm probably around 200lbs and it's been over a decade or since I rode ... I did ride a lot back then, mostly road, around the south bay, nothing serious.

Radmini with suspension seat post

Tires: 20x4 stock tires

comfort: 2.5/5 (so buzzy when on streets)

Tires: Sunlite/Kenda 20x4 street tires @ 24psi

comfort: 3/5

The mini is my commute bike and it can get a bit buzzy on the handlebars on San Jose suburban roads.
I've added a suspension seatpost (origin8)

Radrover with suspension seat post

Tires: 26x4 stock tires @ 30psi

5/5 - even with high psi...so much cushion on the tires. Front suspension keep my hand from feeling fatigued with the buzzy knobbies

Tires: 26x2.5 Maxxis Hookworms

4.5/5 - definitely feel more through the back wheel, even with the suspension seatpost, but the trade off is that hookworms are fast and quiet

The Rover is a bit tall for me (5' 7" with short legs, longer torso) so I switched to the Mini. I recently installed Maxxis Hookworms as recommended in the forums and it brought it down an inch in standover height. It's workable for me, but not comfortable. If you're concerned about standover, I would look at the Mini.

Suspension fork: I've seen a few posts about 20" folding bikes with front suspension, but have not found them for sale separately.

Sang

Can one use the 26x2.5 Maxxis Hookworms on the RadRover with the tubes that came with the RadRover?

Edit: just found this thread which indicates that tubes should be bought as well (link for tubes in thread):
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/maxxis-hookworms.3390/page-2

Andre Reid
3 months ago

Hi Guys

My RadMini is alreay 30 miles, and I really love it.
Only the back brakes are squeaking a little bit.

Minnesota Jeff
3 months ago

I've had my Radmini for 2 weeks now and Love It!
Couple problems, almost lost my kickstand on the 1st ride. Waiting for new hardware from Rad.
Lost power on a ride and finally figured out the main cable to the display got pulled apart by just a little.
Here's my 1st additions, a new bar and light, works great.
[/URL][/IMG][/URL][/IMG] [/URL][/IMG]

1/1
windmill
4 months ago

Those are great links @J.R. thanks for sharing!
Just spoke with our technical support and service managers, and the only common questions they receive regarding the rear axle hardware on the RadWagon is how to re-install/arrange/what order the washers go on after being removed to change flats. I believe the round axle, versus double D shaped axles (two flats) results in more friction grip because of more thread engagement and the thick steel frame + locking washers prevent self-loosening normally caused by side sliding or rocking of the hub motor axle under accel and decel. Vibrations and twisting torque also contribute to loosening, and I would suspect sin wave controllers paired with direct drive hub motors smooth these factors out.

My guess is the bike which Ann M.’s shop had in for service either 1) Had improperly torqued axle nuts or 2) Had the washers in an incorrect orientation which resulted in poor clamp force, then self-loosening. This is a good tip for owners and service providers for our bikes: Check with us (support@radpowerbikes.com) whenever performing service if there are questions on the correct orientation of hardware, getting replacement hardware or torque specifications. Properly setup and checked as part of normal service intervals and folks won’t have any trouble.

The RadRover, RadMini and RadCity all have a different style of axle, by design, compared to the RadWagon since they are outfitted with an aluminum frame. These models use a combination of Nyloc and serrated flange lock nuts, torque washers, flat washers (to keep the nut from scraping the aluminum frame) and torque arms for additional security in light of these being aluminum.

The feedback is definitely appreciated, and thanks again for sharing those links, your posts are some of the most value loaded on this forum.

My daily 16 mile RT commute includes a mile long 15% to 18% hill (James st in Kent) and a couple of short hills close to 20% , I was having trouble keeping the OE axle nuts tight with those climbs and descents, and the nut threads were degrading. I've had the same issue on other bikes with IGH hubs, and my go to solution has been axle nuts with captive serrated washers from Problem Solvers http://problemsolversbike.com/products/hubs/axle_nuts_-_25017. They do not loosen from the torque reaction of climbing and braking.

I didn't see any torque specifications in the manual so I defaulted to the standard torque specification for grade 2, 3/8 X 24 tpi @ 26 ft-lb. This also falls withing the torque range recommended by Shimano and Park tool.

1/1
RVing LiveThe Dream
3 days ago

Cool Bike, I am considering purchasing one. We RV and this would be useful.

RVing LiveThe Dream
3 days ago

Cool Bike, I am considering purchasing one. We RV and this would be useful.

Joyce Barnett
1 week ago

I like this electric bike. I think that it would be something I could use. Thanks for sharing this video with me.

Owen Thomas
1 week ago

One more time but lose those shorts and top Moni

mayonnaise man
3 weeks ago

ay, why do you have a hospital bracelet?

Screww Googlle
7 days ago

How in the F is that any business of yours ?

BJ Nicholls
3 weeks ago

A reviewer should know how to set up a bike. That skyward pointing saddle is ridiculous, as is the squat seat height. But it looks like you don't do much real pedaling.

Tommy Nikon
4 weeks ago

I took the RadMini out for a test ride last week. Feelings are mixed.

The front rack is pretty worthless, aside from a MadMax vibe. Using it actually causes the front fork to rotate to the left, and even w/ kickstand down, weight disparity/CG thrown off. It WILL fall over. (if it had a center stand, it would work much better)

As a longtime bike rider and 18 years of motorcycle experience too, I found the Rad more elec...than bike. What I mean is....the crank rotation, noise, vibration, gear changes, etc. is NOT a "silky" experience.

20" tires demand alot of attention; it's twitchy, rider beware. I found the tires good for shock-absorption, since the grips and seat aren't shock dampened.

Acceleration is good. With small diameter tires, at 20mph, you feel like you're screaming along. (I'm 190#)

The folding feature is great; takes about 90sec.; I tried it. The weight: well, for the folding feature you pay a weight penalty. This model was 60lb+ (w/ battery), so not something I'd wanna carry 4 stories up in my walk-up condo.

I'm considering this type of E-bike (20" wheels, folding) because I need a little "assist" now at my age/condition, and geography: I live in downtown Seattle....HILLS galore!

Also doing some RV travelling w/ my dad...and this would be a viable alternative to a tow car for once you get "there".

ps: Hey Rad Power Bikes: Sponsor me, support me, supply me for the following: A ride on the Mini from downtown Seattle to Gig Harbor, WA. About 60mi. Give me 2-3 batteries, some Go Pros, and beer at the end of the trip.

Tom Purcell
1 month ago

The Rad Mini seems cool, so does the Rover.  I saw a rider coasting up a windy hill with the Rad Mini on my local trail.  We chatted, he was quite happy with it and maybe the only E-biker that I've met who didn't envy my Super 73.  Well, he liked the tires on the 73 better but there's nothing wrong with the Rad Mini tires!  It looks like a lot of fun.

michael s
2 months ago

holy shit ride it already

G Henrickson
1 month ago

New to this channel are we? The riding is always 10-12 minutes in.

claudeinatl
2 months ago

my mini motor just stopped.the road is wet does that affect the motor or controller?

hdidane00
2 months ago

we need to know which are the best folding fat tire bikes. in terms of motor power , range , built quality and of course price.the rad? the voltbike? in terms of power is this one significantly more powerful? which would you choose?

Robert Forrester
2 months ago

Great reviews...Question: Who makes a more street oriented tire for this bike. 20x4 is tough to find.

jeevan padam
3 months ago

uhhhh did u say 5,1? holy small people. still love ur channel tho, have been binging vids.

MsBrucemike
3 months ago

Looks too big to put in a suitcase. anyone try?

Keen Rays
5 months ago

I wonder if a person that is 6'8 or 7'0 tall can ride this Ebike?

Electric Bike City
5 months ago

Whoever is designing these bikes must have a lot of fun. The way all the components are put together is very creative.

Daryl Parsons
6 months ago

Stop waving your hand in front of the camera....we can see most of what you saying, we don't need to see your hand waving. If you talk to people do you wave your hand in their face?

Taylor Guziewicz
8 months ago

Just out of curiosity how much lighter does going tubeless make?

Taylor Guziewicz
8 months ago

It's perfect for traveling on Greyhound or another bus company.
Great for someone who doesn't own a vehicle or simply doesn't want to drive. You can go from city to city charge your battery courtesy of
bus.

Wind and Waves Mazatlan-Mex
8 months ago

Cool bro, nice reviews. By the way, when are you reviewing the MADSEN 271 KG, it would be good to have your perspective over that one, just a comment. Congrats.