Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Electric Bike Review
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 750 Watt Geared Hub Motor And Bash Guard
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Slide In 48 Volt Battery Pack
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Lcd Console Ergonomic Grips
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Front Rack Attached Led Light
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Adjustable Length Rear Rack And Kickstand
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 7 Speed Shimano Tourney
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Folding Alloy Wellgo Pedals
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Battery Charger
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Electric Bike Review
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 750 Watt Geared Hub Motor And Bash Guard
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Slide In 48 Volt Battery Pack
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Lcd Console Ergonomic Grips
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Front Rack Attached Led Light
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Adjustable Length Rear Rack And Kickstand
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 7 Speed Shimano Tourney
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Folding Alloy Wellgo Pedals
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Battery Charger

Summary

  • A funky miniaturized folding fat tire bike with two cargo racks! Truly capable of sand and snow riding, LED lights guide and keep you safe, the bike offers assist and throttle drive modes
  • Basic seven speed drivetrain from Shimano, plastic chain guide keeps things on track, metal derailleur guard protects the sensitive bits if the bike tips over to the right
  • Nice 180 mm mechanical disc brakes with e-bike specific brake levers that cut power to the system when pulled, I like the integrated bell on the left lever and rubberized front edges for comfort
  • The front rack turns as you steer the bike and if you aren't careful when parking, it can tip to the side and spill your gear out, no bungee or clasps to keep it from unfolding

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Rad Power Bikes

Model:

RadMini

Price:

$1,499 ($175 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive (Original Owner)

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62.1 lbs (28.16 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.8 lbs (3.53 kg)

Motor Weight:

12 lbs (5.44 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

560 mm Top Tube, 400 mm Seat Tube, 1092 mm Wheelbase, 673 mm Stand Over Height

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Folding

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid, 11 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shiman SIS Index Shifter on Right

Cranks:

48T Chainring with Plastic Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Folding Platform, Black

Headset:

Neco

Stem:

Folding

Handlebar:

Low-Rise, 24" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Aries Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors, Rubberized Edge and Integrated Bell

Grips:

Stitched Ergonomic, Black

Saddle:

Velo Plush with Integrated Handle

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

320 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled Alloy, Black

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Innova, 20" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Spanninga Micro Integrated LED Headlight, Spanninga Duxo Independent LED Back Light, Neoprene Slap Guard

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Hold Mode and Up to Activate Headlight,Hold Up and Down for Settings

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Aluminum

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

King Meter, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer, Watts, PAS level (1-5)

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (6 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The RadMini combines two bicycle concepts that at first seem a bit opposite but ultimately pair well… Namely, a “go anywhere” fat tire bike and the “take anywhere” folding bike. What you end up with is an electric bicycle that shorter riders can enjoy more comfortably, a fat bike that’s truly sand and snow capable (as demonstrated in the video review) and a bike that will fit inside the trunk space of most SUV’s and station wagons… and even some sedans. At roughly 62 lbs this is not a light bike but you can remove the battery and front wheel easily, shaving 10+ lbs. While not as smooth riding as a full sized 26″ fat tire bike, it worked surprisingly well and I appreciated the larger chainring used in combination with the basic seven speed drivetrain. Pedaling felt natural and I loved the larger metal folding pedals by Wellgo. This is one area a lot of folding ebike skimp on, opting for flimsy less-grippy plastic. The RadMini is off-road capable but still shines on road if you’re in need of a fun commuter, perhaps a road + trail bike to get you from the city into the woods?

Powering the bike is an impressive fat-bike specific 750 watt internally geared hub motor. I say fat-bike specific because it’s wider than most planetary geared hubs I see and this allows for wider spoke mounting and thus, stronger wheels. It really does pack a punch at 750 watts, which is the maximum allowable rating for electric bicycles in the USA. But I was impressed with just how quiet it operated. Having tested this back to back with some other fat bikes using different motors, I found it to be a leader sound wise. I absolutely love that the bike can be ridden with one of five levels of pedal assist AND overridden with full power using the twist throttle at any moment. This is especially useful for getting started in soft terrain like sand. You can even use the throttle from rest in level zero and furthermore, can switch the throttle completely off. This is useful for bumpy sections where you might bear down on the grips and accidentally activate. Considering some electric bikes have trigger throttles while others have half-twist like this, it’s just nice to have that extra off switch.

The drive system, large backlit display and front headlight are all powered by a large 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery pack. Inside are name brand, extra durable Panasonic cells that should age well if cared for properly. That is, kept in a cool dry location and topped off every month or so if not in use. This is easy to do given the removability of the battery… though it’s not as easy as some competing models. In order to get the pack off you need to insert the key, twist to the left then either remove the seat post or twist so the saddle doesn’t block the path of the up-sliding battery pack. I don’t love the battery design, especially since the keys must remain in to activate it. I noticed that it must be firmly pressed down in order to lock and once powered on, you cannot remove the keys which may jingle. Ultimately, I can appreciate that it’s mounted low and relatively center on the frame. You may leave it here and charge it this way as long as you can get the bike reasonably close to a power outlet.

Charging the bike takes around five hours from completely empty while powering it up takes just a few seconds. Twist the key, hold the power button then watch as the fixed display blinks to life. It is backlit by holding the mode and up button (which also activates the headlight). I appreciate how large and easy to read it is. Press mode again for different menu readouts or arrow up and down to navigate the five levels of assist. It would be nice to have a removable display, especially given the off-road nature of the bike. I found that even on rough terrain the frame felt solid and became curious about the rack systems. The rear rack slides out horizontally for maximum storage space (though I’m not sure what I’d put there? Perhaps a large pizza?!) and the front rack is about the size of a six pack of beverages. Note however, that if the front cargo is not secured, it may dump out as the fork turns when you park and lean the bike. Unlike some sturdier racks, it is not mounted to the head tube.

I had a blast testing this bike and came to appreciate all of the little nuances that Rad Power Bikes dialed in. You get a saddle that has an integrated handle at the back for easier positioning and folding. You get a derailleur cage to protect the sensitive bits near the rear wheel which keeps things in shape once folded. You get nice brake levers with rubberized edges and an integrated bell. The grips are a bit larger and fairly comfortable (though they may spin if you bear down since they are not locking). Keep an eye on the rear light, remember to turn it off when you stop or the batteries will run out quicker. The disc brakes are solid, fairly large and work well considering the price point. This is an electric bike that can handle rough terrain but won’t break your heart when it ultimately gets beat up and rusty if you really do go to the beach. That’s one of the trade-offs with fat ebikes specifically. Do you get the premium one that you’re afraid to ride in hazardous terrain or maybe two of the cheaper ones that you can afford to lose? Regardless of use, this one will fit those petite riders which means more people can come along for the good times. Big thanks to Rad Power Bikes for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • Uses a fat-bike specific hub motor which spaces the spokes out wider for improved strength, I found that it was quieter than similarly specced geared hub motors
  • I like that the bike offers both pedal assist and twist throttle mode, it’s useful to have immediate access to full power when you’re riding in sand or snow even if you don’t have assist enabled or are in a lower level… but they also included an on/off switch for the throttle so you can avoid accidentally activating it
  • The bike seems pretty tough overall, designed to handle bumpy terrain with a plastic chain guide and there’s a metal guard around the derailleur on the right in case it tips, simple black or white paint choices are easy to touch up or cover if it gets scratched
  • Neat rack system, plenty of extra space for hauling food on a picnic or tents and other gear on an adventure, the rear rack extends horizontally for increased cargo space
  • The folding design of the bike works well enough but I appreciate the extra locking clips that reduce any potential for loosening or opening while riding
  • Despite being a mid-step folding frame design, I found it to be fairly stiff and solid feeling… the double tube design definitely improves strength
  • My girlfriend isn’t especially tall but she was still able to use this bike and ride on the beach with the rest of us, stand over height is ~26.5″ but there is a wide point where the frame folds so even if you can stand over it be careful with your knees and inner legs to avoid scrapes and little bruises from this
  • If the tires are run a bit low, they add some cushion along with the ergonomic grips and comfort saddle… no suspension fork or seat post suspension on this bike but the price is pretty competitive at ~$1,500 and you could add your own basic 27.2 mm seat post suspension after market for as little as $30
  • I like the disc brakes because they don’t get as wet or dirty as rim brakes (being mounted higher) and found the brake levers to be comfortable with rubberized edges, I like that they chose the models with a bell integrated into the left grip and appreciate the integrated motor inhibitors
  • I love that the bike comes with LED lights, it’s handy that the front one is designed to run straight off the main battery… they didn’t wire in the rear because it’s further back at the end of the rack and I’m told that in flashing mode it can last quite a long time
  • Normally I dislike folding pedals because they’re shorter and less rigid than traditional platforms (being made of plastic), in this case however, the pedals are a bit larger and made from Aluminum allow so they work pretty well
  • I like that they included a slap guard on the right chainstay (to protect it from the chain bouncing and chipping it on rough terrain) and that they used a torque arm washer for the rear wheel AND that the front wheel is quick release so you can reduce weight and size further when folding if you wish
  • I love that it comes with an adjustable kickstand and that it’s mounted towards the back, out of the way of your cranks and pedals because that makes it easier to maneuver when parking

Cons:

  • The front rack turns as you turn the handle bars and steer the bike, I noticed that if it’s loaded and you park the bike without stabilizing the front wheel it will tip to the side and sometimes dump your gear out
  • The RadMini uses a cadence sensor to activate pedal assist and the part only uses six magnets while some other bikes use 12, in practice it worked fine (perhaps their software is really dialed in?) but this is an area that gave me pause
  • I like how the twist throttle feels but sometimes people with smaller hands or those worried about bumpy terrain don’t like them as much as trigger throttles
  • Some folding electric bicycles have magnetic clasps or rubber bungee loops that keep the bike from coming unfolded or rattling around and scratching but this one does not, consider using your own bungee cords or an adjustable cord like this
  • While the battery is removable, you basically have to slide the seat tube out or twist the saddle sideways in order to get it off, I do like that the saddle has an integrated handle for moving the bike or working with the battery in this case
  • There are labels on the side of the tires that say “inflate to 35 PSI” but in my experience you want to hit between 5 to 30 PSI depending on terrain, go much lower towards the ~5 for soft sand or snow
  • Two step on/off process wit this bike… first you insert and twist the key (which has to be left in the battery while riding) then hold the power button on the control pad near the left grip, this takes longer and the key can jingle if you have anything connected to it
  • For a folding bike, this thing is definitely on the heavy side… as you might expect with the fat tires and racks, still worth considering (remove the battery and front wheel to reduce weight somewhat)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Rad Power Bikes Reviews

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A value priced but featured packed urban commuter style electric bike with everything from fenders, to LED lights, rear carry rack and regenerative braking. Solid driving and braking performance with a 750 watt gearless hub motor and 180 mm…...

Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Strikes an excellent balance delivering high power with mid-level components for a reasonable price, you get throttle and pedal assist with an on/off on the throttle! solid one year warranty for the original owner, flat rate $175 shipping in the US. Even though the battery and controller box are bolted on vs. integrated into the frame,…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A folding fat tire electric bike with front and rear cargo racks and double-tube frame for improved strength (good option for larger riders). Powerful 750 watt internally geared fat-bike specific motor paired with a large 48 volt 11.6…...

Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Affordable, feature rich cargo style electric bike with a stiffer and lighter frame because it's not quite as long as some others. Offers five levels of pedal assist, throttle mode and throttle override as well as regenerative…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An Indiegogo funded electric fatbike with a powerful 500 watt motor, ample 48 volt battery and seven speed drivetrain. Comfortable saddle, ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout, two color choices but only one…...


Nirmala
1 year ago

How does the bike fit a taller rider? I noticed in some of the video, you have the seat set very low…..were you able to dial it in for a taller rider?

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Nirmala, yeah the seat can go higher… it was set low in this video for my girlfriend Mony. We were all riding around the beach swapping bikes and I should have raised the seat but knew I was going to hop back onto one of the larger models so I did not. You can indeed raise the seat and there are even some extra-tall seat posts that you could buy to replace the included 320 mm post if needed. Hope this helps :)

Reply
Mehdi
1 year ago

Hi Court, I’m thinking about getting this bike for my commute to work which includes taking the T. How does the dimensions (folded) and weight of this bike compare to regular folding bikes like Dahon? The weight is almost twice as a regular folding bike but, I’m not sure about the dimensions. Do you think it would be a good option if a part of your commute is to get on a train with this folding bike?

Also, recently I came across a folding ebike from Genesis. Seems like a nice affordable ebike but, I couldn’t find any reviews on YouTube or other website. It would be nice if you can review it. Thanks, Mehdi

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Mehdi! I’d say there is a hug difference in both size and weight of the RadMini fat folding ebike vs. a more traditional sized folder… As a smaller, not super strong guy myself I’d probably opt for something else if I was going to take it on the train. There are lots of folding options that I have reviewed here but not the Genesis model yet. Thanks for the heads up, I’ll keep an eye out for them in the future :)

Reply
brian brown
12 months ago

yery good bike can it be bought in the u.k and does the warranty included also in the u.k

Reply
Court Rye
12 months ago

I have no idea! Will ask the Rad Power Bikes team to chime in about international orders :)

Reply
James Scherber
12 months ago

Curious. I’m 5 feet 10 inches. 200 pounds. How does this thing handle San Francisco hills?

Reply
Court Rye
12 months ago

Hey James, I didn’t climb the steepest hills in SF when I reviewed the older version but for me (a 135 lb guy) it worked fine there and surprisingly well on the sand. One advantage it has for climbing and soft terrain is the smaller diameter wheels… when used with a hub motor there’s a mechanical advantage because it’s easier to turn. The bike isn’t especially light and there is more drag from the fat tires but again, it worked fine even with the larger guys in our group on the beach :)

Reply
brian brown
12 months ago

good e-bike i would love one, are they comeing to the u.k.?

Reply
Court Rye
12 months ago

Hi Brian, I’m not sure but their support and customer service is pretty good so maybe reach out? I’d love to hear back if you find out about the cost of shipping overseas :)

Reply
JP
12 months ago

Love the look of this one. I live on top of a hill that’s about a 15 to 23 degree incline for about a block and a half. Based on your experience with it, how well do you think rad mini would handle that?

Reply
Court Rye
12 months ago

Hey JP! Without knowing your weight and intended cargo it’s difficult to say for sure bit I was VERY impressed with the power this little thing had, being able to ride through the sand on the beach. If you approach your hill with a bit of momentum I bet it would do fine, especially if you pedal along a little bit on the steepest part. Shouldn’t be too much work and I find that it helps the motor a lot (I often pedal along when starting from zero in sand).

Reply
Bruce Bechtel
12 months ago

This looks like something I could use for RVing. I like the idea of durability for trails and trips to market. What do you think? Also does a folding design like this lend itself to use of a small trailer, for groceries and such?

Reply
Court Rye
12 months ago

Hi Bruce! Despite the smaller wheel size, this is still a very powerful electric bike. If you could figure out how to attach a trailer (possibly using a custom mounting plate) I’m sure it would pull fine. The fat tires make it a bit more comfortable and trail-capable so it sounds like a good fit for what you’re thinking. I also like that the battery comes off (to reduce weight) because even though it folds, this is still a heavy machine ;)

Reply
Vincethesoundguy
11 months ago

Court. Keep up the good work. I’ve watched a few of your reviews, and like how comprehensive they’ve all been. I am full time RV’er and was contemplating buying a gas powered scooter or dirt bike for fun and for short hops. I’m touring the SW right now, Arizona, Colorado, Utah, and Montana, and I think this is a good fit for my situation. A RV park neighbor had two of these hanging off the back of motor home, so I decided to check them out on-line, and found your review. I do think the folding version makes sense for me, as I may want to store it inside the motor home at times, or put it in the back of my Kia Soul.

Two questions:

  • Is the full size Rad bike quicker, or does it travel farther because of the larger tires?
  • Is the folding version easier to handle in soft sand, gravel, or snow because of the smaller tires and lower center of gravity?
Reply
Court Rye
11 months ago

Cool! So glad you found my work here useful. Sounds like your friend is having a blast with their ebike and I’d be happy to help answer your questions. In my experience, the larger wheels smooth out the ride a little and might coast easier but they shouldn’t change your range much. Both the full sized RadRove and RadMini should go similar distances if they have the same motor and battery size. To extend range, it’s best to pedal along and help the bike get started vs. just juicing it from standstill. As far as soft sand goes, both the standard 26″ and smaller 20″ wheels worked well for me in the recent beach reviews. The larger wheels had a slight edge in terms of “float” because more surface area made contact with the sand due to a larger diameter (more forward and backwards contact). I’ve got footage here of both bikes in the sand and large and small riders tried both with success… just be sure to lower the air pressure to 5 to 10 PSI and note that this will reduce range due to increased drag. We still went a LONG way per charge with low PSI but it’s not as far as full tires. I think the bigger consideration is how tall you are, how comfortable the larger frame might be (as it’s higher and maybe difficult to mount if your legs aren’t super long) and also whether you want to get that thing and put it on a rack vs. packing your bike in the back of your car with the folding version. I bet the RadMini would fit in your Kia Soul. Hope this helps :D

Reply
Pete
9 months ago

Thanks for all the comprehensive reviews. Quick question, I’ve had problems with mechanical breaks in the past, are the breaks on radmini ok and is it possible o upgrade from mechanical to hydraulic disc brakes?

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Great question Pete… my guess is that yes, you could convert to hydraulic disc brakes yourself (or with help from a shop) but I don’t think this is an upgrade that Rad Power Bikes offers themselves. Their customer service email and phone number are pretty responsive, I’d suggest reaching out directly to see what they say, and I’d love to hear back what you decide on and what the options are :D

Reply
Went Lef
4 months ago

so I absolutely love my RADMINI, coolest kid in school, was the coolest kid in school. **Now im pedelin this damn thing all over my dad will kill me if he finds out someone stole the battery pack. can i take three of his lithium milwaukee 18 volt batteries and wire em together to replace it….please help??

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Went, I remember being in middle school and high school and seeing friends get into tough situation and make them worse by trying to fix it themselves or hide it… not saying you aren’t capable, but there have been fires resulting from Lithium-ion batteries that even shops have worked on. It’s not at all worth the risk in my opinion. Maybe call Rad Power Bikes and ask them for a discount on the battery or something? Get your parents to help. It’s not your fault that someone else stole the battery but it will be your fault if you wreck his other power tools or start a fire… or get yourself hurt. Welcome to being an adult, do the right thing here man ;)

Reply
Martin
3 months ago

Not relevant to the bike, but where was this filmed? That beach looks beautiful!

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Martin! This review was filmed at a private beach near Cabo San Lucas, Mexico with the help of Cabo Adventures which does ebike tours there now. You can contact them for more information through their website here :)

Reply
jon
1 month ago

Watching this video got me thinking about a Radmini, or maybe another fat tires ebike. I’m soon to be 64, and started riding motorcyles off road when I was eight. I’ve owned over 25 motorcycles and scooters in the last 56 years of riding, and I bet half of my motorcycles have been dual sports. I even raced in “scrables” races during high school, I had considered that I might like another dual sport motorcycle. Also, I have been thinking about getting an ebike. Maybe I should combine both lines of thinking, and get a fat tired ebike like the Radmini, or the SSR similiar bike. We have a lot of dirt and gravel roads on Hawaii Island in the Puna District, many are pretty rough. I also have a bad right knee, hence I’ve been considering folding ebikes, as swinging my right leg over the seat doesn’t work real well. Riding a 62, or 55 pound fat tired ebike would be a whole lot easier than fighting many of the relatively heavy dual sport motorcycles I’ve owned and loved to ride for so many years. Rad bikes are made in, or head quartered in Seattle, where I was born, and lived in that area for 58 years. I think I need to watch, and read, your review of the SSR model again.

Reply
Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi Jon, it sounds like you’re on the right track. I also used to jump gas powered dirt bikes and had a lot of fun off-roading in my younger years. These days, I enjoy the bike paths and some packed mountain trails in Colorado, California, and Texas. The Rad Power Bikes and SSR ebikes offer the fun and comfort of big tires and a lot of control with the little throttle. They aren’t as powerful as a gas motobike but they weigh a lot less and are easy to work on. Hawaii sounds great, I believe their is a dealer out there, maybe on the Big Island? In the mean time, I hope my reviews help you out, the beach rides were a blast :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Gregory Benner
3 weeks ago

Love my new RadMini, but found the gearing a bit low for my tastes. Lower than the Rover, probably due to 20" v 26" wheels. After looking on another thread and call Rad, I did the following.

Purchased a DP 11/28 Freewheel on Amazon for $32 (free shipping with Prime). (DNP Epoch Freewheel 7spd 11-28 Nickel Plated)

Purchased the "special" rear cassette tool from Rad for $5.00 (the guy in tech said many shops didn't have the specific tool for the Rad Ebike).

Took it the local shop, they charged me $10 to change it. The mechanic at first said they had all the tools needed, but later said he did need the special tool from Rad. Just FYI.

It's more than a 20% change in top gear (11 v 14) and is quite noticeable when cruising at speeds in excess of 15 mph. The low gear (28) is unchanged.

Michelle Jacobs
3 weeks ago

On the RadMini, when the motor is under power, such as when climbing a hill, I would sometimes get an annoying moaning rattle sound. I took the telescoping rack off the back and the sound went away. Unfortunately, there's a bit of play in the rack that tightening of bolts does not solve. So I've shoved a couple pieces of half inch wide velcro in the tubes to take up the play and the rattle is gone.

Gregory Benner
1 month ago

I have a new Mini, and love it. I have a small SunLight Utility bag which fits perfectly on the rear rack, maybe 6" x 13". Zipper opening, not water proof nor tamper proof. Looking for ideas for the front rack. Perhaps something lockable which could be zip tied (or otherwise) mounted to the rack. Not really theft proof, but theft resistant (LOL). Or something else?

It looks like 7" x 9 or 10"?

Any/all ideas appreciated.

thx

greg

vincent
1 month ago

I have a radmini and rover, neither have had excessive flats but i do have slime or whatever sealant the lbs put in all the tires and did that before we rode at all

Here in az lots of thorns etc
Occassionally i will find a tire low , but i just air it back up, spin it and they are fine again for months...

I have probably just been lucky, but maybe try a sealant

mid drive merv
1 month ago

This excellent review strikes me as being strong on both veracity and fairness. I have an acquaintance who purchased an ebike from the same company. Difference was that he purchased the RadMini. Near the same experience with the onset of early and multiple flats and frustration with getting to and fixing the rear tire ones.

Gregory Benner
1 month ago

I also have a new Radmini, which I really like, but unless I'm going up a steep hill I don't have much pedal resistance beyond PAS 1. I.e. PAS 1 is hard work, but PAS 2 is a quantum leap up in power assist, leaving me basically doing nothing even in gear 7. I am also looking into a larger front gear and want to maintain the double chain guard. I plan to take it to the bike shop next week to see what they can come up with.

MarkE, I notice exactly the same thing. When I rented both the Mini and the Rover I noticed a significant different in the PAS1 - Pas2 Power assist in the Mini versus the Rover. The Rover has more assist in PAS1 so the jump to PAS 2 is much more sensible, and useable. The owner where I rented from (Balboa island who had maybe 30 + RAD bikes of all models) said the difference was in the programming? I called RAD Tech Support before I bought, and the lady I spoke with said she didn't think that was the case, thought "maybe" the difference was due to the smaller wheels on the Mini. I don't really agree, that might make some difference, but not all.

Please post as to what you find at your bike shop. The factory gearing, (which works well on their other bikes with larger wheels) seems way too low on the Mini.

MarkElvis
1 month ago

I also have a new Radmini, which I really like, but unless I'm going up a steep hill I don't have much pedal resistance beyond PAS 1. I.e. PAS 1 is hard work, but PAS 2 is a quantum leap up in power assist, leaving me basically doing nothing even in gear 7. I am also looking into a larger front gear and want to maintain the double chain guard. I plan to take it to the bike shop next week to see what they can come up with.

SV Moving On
2 months ago

guess you dont want any of the folders? they would be easy to fold the handlebars down and lower the seat and fit under there

i have 2 -20 inch fat bikes and really like them
1 is the radmini
The folding bikes are on the bottom of my list as they don't have as solid control - those handlebars are move a lot when you are on trails... but... if the others won't fit under that drop down bed then the Rad will be one of the ones I'll think about! I rode the Rad Mini once in Seattle - thought it was a great bike for the road / grass / dirt roads.

vincent
2 months ago

guess you dont want any of the folders? they would be easy to fold the handlebars down and lower the seat and fit under there

i have 2 -20 inch fat bikes and really like them
1 is the radmini

mrgold35
2 months ago

Sounds like a 4" folding fat tire bike from Radmini, Indegogo MOAR, Volt Mariner, Ride Scoozy VeeGo Fat tire, or Sondors to name a few. I like the option of:
- store back of RV on bike rack or inside the RV because of weather or protect from thieves (even place inside a towed vehicle if have a car on the hitch)
- all terrain with snow, sand, paved roads, and soft to hard trails
- usually have enough utility and power for shopping and grocery runs with added rack+bags
- prices can range from $700 to $1500 compared to $1500 to $4000 for eMTB
- hub motor fold bikes can have PAS and throttles (throttles very handy in urban settings getting across a 6 lane intersection in a hurry)
- don't need a bike rack to transport in your hometown if you don't have hitch or trunk mounted bike rack for your other vehicles
- minimal prep time to place on bike rack or fold for storage inside (can remove seat and lower handle bars for an even smaller footprint)
- easy to store at home after the vacation.

Dewey
2 months ago

A trio of 20" folding fat tire ebikes include:

Sondors Fold X $900 for the single speed, $1k for the 7-speed, plus $200 shipping.
VoltBike Mariner $1300 all in.
RadMini $1500 all in

attyjenkins
2 months ago

OK, I had the big debate about which ebike to get -- Radmini or Voltbike Mariner. For me, Voltbike won. It was close, but I went for the suspension seat post and fenders (though I think I could have easily lined the bottom of Radmini's front and rear racks with milk jugs cut to shape as fenders). So, I pulled the trigger and ordered online.

The first disappointment -- although the Voltbike website says "in stock", I was told it would be a few days before they could ship. All right, I am patient. Second problem, the helmet was not available in the color I wanted. OK, it is "free" so how can I complain.

A few days later, I am told my shiny new bike has shipped, and here is the tracking number. The shipper, YRC Freight, tracks by saying basically "It is on its way", and estimated arrival is 10 days. Really? Are they pedaling it here? Later, that was pushed back another day, but who knows? It isn't here yet.

Oh, and one last disappointment -- the price. Voltbike advertises on Facebook for a great price, but no, they simply don't honor that. So I pay the website price, quoted in US dollars. But my credit card charges a 2% foreign transaction fee. So any price advantage shrinks a lot.

I hope when my Mariner finally arrives some of the bitterness fades.

attyjenkins
2 months ago

OK, I had the big debate about which ebike to get -- Radmini or Voltbike Mariner. For me, Voltbike won. It was close, but I went for the suspension seat post and fenders (though I think I could have easily lined the bottom of Radmini's front and rear racks with milk jugs cut to shape as fenders). So, I pulled the trigger and ordered online.

The first disappointment -- although the Voltbike website says "in stock", I was told it would be a few days before they could ship. All right, I am patient. Second problem, the helmet was not available in the color I wanted. OK, it is "free" so how can I complain.

A few days later, I am told my shiny new bike has shipped, and here is the tracking number. The shipper, YRC Freight, tracks by saying basically "It is on its way", and estimated arrival is 10 days. Really? Are they pedaling it here? Later, that was pushed back another day, but who knows? It isn't here yet.

Oh, and one last disappointment -- the price. Voltbike advertises on Facebook for a great price, but no, they simply don't honor that. So I pay the website price, quoted in US dollars. But my credit card charges a 2% foreign transaction fee. So any price advantage shrinks a lot.

I hope when my Mariner finally arrives some of the bitterness fades.

Eric Ryder
2 months ago

made some mods to my radmini

I was scrolling thru this forum and almost scrolled right past this picture without seeing it...!! (sic)

MikeDD
2 months ago

I am a 67 year old ebike rider, my suggestion is do not buy a bike without a throttle. Practice riding with the throttle only, then start pedaling. I ride a RadMini. You did not say if your dad currently rides a bike, or his ability to balance on a bike. My wife who has a balance problem uses a e-trike.

We did add wider MTB pedals and a suspension seat post.

Good luck with your purchase.

brrrett
2 months ago

I just hit 800 miles on my RADmini this morning! WOO!

I am not sure as I am just getting back into biking using this as both my commuter vehicle and recreational fun. However I have noticed as far as "performance per watt" (just intuitive observation) that if you step down your PAS to PAS 2 and pedal harder I've been able to hit 23mph consistently and every once in a while 24mph. Of course down hill you can get going quite fast. There is a hill in my area I was going almost 40mph! Kind of freaked me out so was slowly edging the brakes.

Any rate the controller for the RADmini sets the rules to abide bike lane laws in the majority of states which is limited to 20mph. If you haven't noticed already it stops feeding power once you exceed 20mph (I remember a trick in the King Meter settings to get it to roughly 22mph before it cuts out, it's in this forum thread somewhere).

If you find a chain ring to upgrade to perhaps let us know! I have considered swapping the controller out for something that is "dumb" and would just let me power the motor as much as I want to instead of governing at 20mph.

@brrrett you should also try taking challenging grassy or dirt trail hills. This bike makes me feel like a champ and is really does so well up hills. I weigh 180 and can hit 15mph steady with just throttle however I dont do that because I like to feel a little burn. Hope this helps some at least for your new mini. :)
Thanks GingerBeardMan, I will look for the controller settings thread. I did try some mild single track uphill yesterday and realized that PAS 5 was too much! Will have to remember to select assist level while approaching trail sections.

GingerBeardMan
2 months ago

Bought two Rad minis this Friday in Seattle. White for my wife and black for me. I already own one electric commuter but liked the folding capability and fat tires for mild trail riding while we are traveling. They are so easy to fold and the 750 watt motor is so torquey, love it. I would like a taller gear set as I am used to pedaling my commuter from the preset twenty to twenty five mph with some effort. Can anybody recommend a rear cassette that will fit and not have me pedaling 1000 rpm like a madman in PAS 5?

I just hit 800 miles on my RADmini this morning! WOO!

I am not sure as I am just getting back into biking using this as both my commuter vehicle and recreational fun. However I have noticed as far as "performance per watt" (just intuitive observation) that if you step down your PAS to PAS 2 and pedal harder I've been able to hit 23mph consistently and every once in a while 24mph. Of course down hill you can get going quite fast. There is a hill in my area I was going almost 40mph! Kind of freaked me out so was slowly edging the brakes.

Any rate the controller for the RADmini sets the rules to abide bike lane laws in the majority of states which is limited to 20mph. If you haven't noticed already it stops feeding power once you exceed 20mph (I remember a trick in the King Meter settings to get it to roughly 22mph before it cuts out, it's in this forum thread somewhere).

If you find a chain ring to upgrade to perhaps let us know! I have considered swapping the controller out for something that is "dumb" and would just let me power the motor as much as I want to instead of governing at 20mph.

@brrrett you should also try taking challenging grassy or dirt trail hills. This bike makes me feel like a champ and is really does so well up hills. I weigh 180 and can hit 15mph steady with just throttle however I dont do that because I like to feel a little burn. Hope this helps some at least for your new mini. :)

BVC
2 months ago

Interesting. Following this thread.

We ALMOST got the fold. We were looking for a bike for the wifey. I personally own a RadRover but wanted to try Sondors out. So for the wifey we looked at a few bikes and waited for the details of the FOLD to come out. It was either a standard fat tire bike, the fold or the Radmini. What we really liked about the Mini was the built in front/rear adjustable rack & 750w motor paired with a 48v samsung or panasonic battery. We liked the overall look/style of the FOLD and color combinations.

End of the day I'd go with he Radmini due to specs/function/warranty and AWESOME customer service. I was put off by the wait time for the fold, smaller motor & lack of information of how easy it'd be to install a rack if there were any mounting points, issues with racks getting in the way of folding, ect. The lack of detail on that portion is mostly what steered her away. I will say the Fold does look nice tho..sleeker for sure and concealed battery inside the frame is a huge plus. but the Rad mini looks easier to carry?? Either way both are hefty lol

End of the day we ended up buying a Sondors 7 fat tire bike in silver. The standover height between the folding vs standard frames were not far off at all. Plus less hassle trying to mount the Sondors 7 on a platform rack than dealing with 20" wheels on the platform rack (Kuat NV 2.0).

Now we're playing the waiting game for the Sondors to arrive.. 1 week in. 3 weeks to go......

MarkElvis
3 months ago

I have a Radmini and generally carry camera equipment with me. As MikeDD says, it handles off-road well, just don't go too fast. Also, make sure everything is strapped down to handle vibrations and big bumps. Since the mini does not have suspension, consider getting a suspension seat post. Finally, remember that the bike is relatively heavy, so it might tip over on its' little stand when parked on uneven terrain.

Garys_PDX
3 months ago

Not sure if this is true for the Mariner; but, the Radmini has a twist throttle that applies full 750w of power at any PAS level of 0-5. Comes in handy walking the bike up steep inclines, over obstacles, or even powering up stairs. I ride my Radrover singletrack and often take my Nikon DSLR in my backpack. Nice to have the full power throttle when you need to get up a short incline or when the trail gets too narrow to pedal.

The only suspension with the Radmini depends on how much PSI in the tires since there isn't a front suspension fork. A suspension seatpost from Thudbuster, Bodyfloat, or Suntour is a plus when trail riding.

Thanks for our thoughts.

g

mrgold35
3 months ago

Not sure if this is true for the Mariner; but, the Radmini has a twist throttle that applies full 750w of power at any PAS level of 0-5. Comes in handy walking the bike up steep inclines, over obstacles, or even powering up stairs. I ride my Radrover singletrack and often take my Nikon DSLR in my backpack. Nice to have the full power throttle when you need to get up a short incline or when the trail gets too narrow to pedal.

The only suspension with the Radmini depends on how much PSI in the tires since there isn't a front suspension fork. A suspension seatpost from Thudbuster, Bodyfloat, or Suntour is a plus when trail riding.

sephknite
3 months ago

Hey all. I'm also in the market for a foldable ebike.

The 3 I'm eyeing are the RADMini, Magnum Premium 48, and the BPM F15X.

https://www.bpmimports.com/shop/f15...ng-electric-bike-with-rack-20/?v=f24485ae434a

I'm wondering if anyone has heard of BPM and if they're reliable or any good.

sephknite
3 months ago

I asked them some questions, and they mentioned that the have a 1-year warranty on battery and motor.

I also wasn't able to see the top speed--they replied saying it's between 24-30mph.

I'm still debating between the RADMini, Magnum Premium 48, or this BPM F15X.

Garys_PDX
3 months ago

Hi, I'm an amateur photographer and am looking for a folding e-bike that will allow me to get out and do more photography (I have severe arthritis in my legs which makes walking any distance difficult but I have no problem riding a bike.). I have pretty much decided on either the Mariner or the RadMini as both have the main characteristics that I'm looking for, folding, fenders & rear rack. My question is: does anyone have experience with the Mariner on gravel roads and trails? I need a bike that handles reasonably well off pavement as I will typically be carrying camera equipment that is worth a lot more than the bike. I'm not looking to ride single track or any terrain that is particularly challenging as I did enough of that in my younger days. Thanks for any thoughts or advice.

Christopher Smith
3 weeks ago

I’m actually ordering a mini for my wife today. We ordered two Rad Rovers before. I really like my Rover, but my wife turned out to be just a tad too short for the standover height, and lost confidence in the bike after taking a fall and whacking her elbow pretty hard. I sold hers for pretty close to what I paid for it to a friend who is somewhat handicapped, and now he is able to get out and ride. You should see him grin.

Trey Drier
4 weeks ago

It looks like a great electric bike but, seriously, what's the point in making a folding bike that's HUGE like the RadMini. It defeats the purpose. (Mini it's not.) I do like the off-road capabilities though. Very cool bike.

fabian kirton
4 weeks ago

Can you put one of those Styrofoam things that comes with kids bike but bigger size, on the mini Rad just where the folding bar is, so it won,t mess up your leg

Viva la buena Música!!!
1 month ago

velocidad maxima???

Nats Tech Time
2 months ago

Beautiful beach with no one else around...where was this?

Don Fernando Capili
2 months ago

How is the bike without any pedal assist?

Ryan Keshet
2 months ago

Can the back hold a person? I know it's not meant to but can it?

Darrell Grisham
2 months ago

I have the big tire Radpower Rover and my mini arrived today just in time for it to rain (9/09/2017). Really looking forward to ridding this smaller bike, these are more fun than should be allowed. I am 73, do not own a vehicle, so these will allow me to ride all the different terrain here in Arizona USA

Freelancing Thoughts
3 months ago

This or the voltbike Mariner?

RVing LiveThe Dream
3 months ago

Cool Bike, I am considering purchasing one. We RV and this would be useful.

Darrell Grisham
2 months ago

Short answer. BUY the Radrover mini! NOW

RVing LiveThe Dream
3 months ago

Cool Bike, I am considering purchasing one. We RV and this would be useful.

Joyce Barnett
3 months ago

I like this electric bike. I think that it would be something I could use. Thanks for sharing this video with me.

Owen Thomas
3 months ago

One more time but lose those shorts and top Moni

mayonnaise man
4 months ago

ay, why do you have a hospital bracelet?

Screww Googlle
3 months ago

How in the F is that any business of yours ?

BJ Nicholls
4 months ago

A reviewer should know how to set up a bike. That skyward pointing saddle is ridiculous, as is the squat seat height. But it looks like you don't do much real pedaling.

Tommy Nikon
4 months ago

I took the RadMini out for a test ride last week. Feelings are mixed.

The front rack is pretty worthless, aside from a MadMax vibe. Using it actually causes the front fork to rotate to the left, and even w/ kickstand down, weight disparity/CG thrown off. It WILL fall over. (if it had a center stand, it would work much better)

As a longtime bike rider and 18 years of motorcycle experience too, I found the Rad more elec...than bike. What I mean is....the crank rotation, noise, vibration, gear changes, etc. is NOT a "silky" experience.

20" tires demand alot of attention; it's twitchy, rider beware. I found the tires good for shock-absorption, since the grips and seat aren't shock dampened.

Acceleration is good. With small diameter tires, at 20mph, you feel like you're screaming along. (I'm 190#)

The folding feature is great; takes about 90sec.; I tried it. The weight: well, for the folding feature you pay a weight penalty. This model was 60lb+ (w/ battery), so not something I'd wanna carry 4 stories up in my walk-up condo.

I'm considering this type of E-bike (20" wheels, folding) because I need a little "assist" now at my age/condition, and geography: I live in downtown Seattle....HILLS galore!

Also doing some RV travelling w/ my dad...and this would be a viable alternative to a tow car for once you get "there".

ps: Hey Rad Power Bikes: Sponsor me, support me, supply me for the following: A ride on the Mini from downtown Seattle to Gig Harbor, WA. About 60mi. Give me 2-3 batteries, some Go Pros, and beer at the end of the trip.

Tom Purcell
4 months ago

The Rad Mini seems cool, so does the Rover.  I saw a rider coasting up a windy hill with the Rad Mini on my local trail.  We chatted, he was quite happy with it and maybe the only E-biker that I've met who didn't envy my Super 73.  Well, he liked the tires on the 73 better but there's nothing wrong with the Rad Mini tires!  It looks like a lot of fun.

michael s
5 months ago

holy shit ride it already

Ronnie Dylan
2 weeks ago

Lol, though I totally appreciate homeboy's detailed reviews, I always watch the intro at a minimum of 1.5x faster speed (thank you for the option YouTube!) or faster. Once he starts riding I put it back to normal.

Trey Drier
4 weeks ago

You know you can skip forward using your mouse, right? Geezus!

G Henrickson
5 months ago

New to this channel are we? The riding is always 10-12 minutes in.

claudeinatl
5 months ago

my mini motor just stopped.the road is wet does that affect the motor or controller?

hdidane00
5 months ago

we need to know which are the best folding fat tire bikes. in terms of motor power , range , built quality and of course price.the rad? the voltbike? in terms of power is this one significantly more powerful? which would you choose?