Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Electric Bike Review
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 750 Watt Geared Hub Motor And Bash Guard
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Slide In 48 Volt Battery Pack
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Lcd Console Ergonomic Grips
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Front Rack Attached Led Light
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Adjustable Length Rear Rack And Kickstand
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 7 Speed Shimano Tourney
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Folding Alloy Wellgo Pedals
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Battery Charger
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Electric Bike Review
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 750 Watt Geared Hub Motor And Bash Guard
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Slide In 48 Volt Battery Pack
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Lcd Console Ergonomic Grips
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Front Rack Attached Led Light
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Adjustable Length Rear Rack And Kickstand
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 7 Speed Shimano Tourney
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Folding Alloy Wellgo Pedals
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Battery Charger

Summary

  • A funky miniaturized folding fat tire bike with two cargo racks! Truly capable of sand and snow riding, LED lights guide and keep you safe, the bike offers assist and throttle drive modes
  • Basic seven speed drivetrain from Shimano, plastic chain guide keeps things on track, metal derailleur guard protects the sensitive bits if the bike tips over to the right
  • Nice 180 mm mechanical disc brakes with e-bike specific brake levers that cut power to the system when pulled, I like the integrated bell on the left lever and rubberized front edges for comfort
  • The front rack turns as you steer the bike and if you aren't careful when parking, it can tip to the side and spill your gear out, no bungee or clasps to keep it from unfolding

Search EBR

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Rad Power Bikes

Model:

RadMini

Price:

$1,499 ($175 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive (Original Owner)

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62.1 lbs ( 28.16 kg )

Battery Weight:

7.8 lbs ( 3.53 kg )

Motor Weight:

12 lbs ( 5.44 kg )

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Folding

Frame Sizes:

16 in ( 40.64 cm )

Geometry Measurements:

560 mm Top Tube, 400 mm Seat Tube, 1092 mm Wheelbase, 673 mm Stand Over Height

Frame Material:

Aluminum

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid, 11 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shiman SIS Index Shifter on Right

Cranks:

48T Chainring with Plastic Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Folding Platform, Black

Headset:

Neco

Stem:

Folding

Handlebar:

Low-Rise, 24" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Aries Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors, Rubberized Edge and Integrated Bell

Grips:

Stitched Ergonomic, Black

Saddle:

Velo Plush with Integrated Handle

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

320 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled Alloy, Black

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Innova, 20" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in ( 50.8 cm )

Tire Details:

5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Spanninga Micro Integrated LED Headlight, Spanninga Duxo Independent LED Back Light, Neoprene Slap Guard

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Hold Mode and Up to Activate Headlight,Hold Up and Down for Settings

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Aluminum

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles ( 32 km )

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles ( 64 km )

Display Type:

King Meter, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer, Watts, PAS level (1-5)

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (6 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph ( 32 kph )

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The RadMini combines two bicycle concepts that at first seem a bit opposite but ultimately pair well… Namely, a “go anywhere” fat tire bike and the “take anywhere” folding bike. What you end up with is an electric bicycle that shorter riders can enjoy more comfortably, a fat bike that’s truly sand and snow capable (as demonstrated in the video review) and a bike that will fit inside the trunk space of most SUV’s and station wagons… and even some sedans. At roughly 62 lbs this is not a light bike but you can remove the battery and front wheel easily, shaving 10+ lbs. While not as smooth riding as a full sized 26″ fat tire bike, it worked surprisingly well and I appreciated the larger chainring used in combination with the basic seven speed drivetrain. Pedaling felt natural and I loved the larger metal folding pedals by Wellgo. This is one area a lot of folding ebike skimp on, opting for flimsy less-grippy plastic. The RadMini is off-road capable but still shines on road if you’re in need of a fun commuter, perhaps a road + trail bike to get you from the city into the woods?

Powering the bike is an impressive fat-bike specific 750 watt internally geared hub motor. I say fat-bike specific because it’s wider than most planetary geared hubs I see and this allows for wider spoke mounting and thus, stronger wheels. It really does pack a punch at 750 watts, which is the maximum allowable rating for electric bicycles in the USA. But I was impressed with just how quiet it operated. Having tested this back to back with some other fat bikes using different motors, I found it to be a leader sound wise. I absolutely love that the bike can be ridden with one of five levels of pedal assist AND overridden with full power using the twist throttle at any moment. This is especially useful for getting started in soft terrain like sand. You can even use the throttle from rest in level zero and furthermore, can switch the throttle completely off. This is useful for bumpy sections where you might bear down on the grips and accidentally activate. Considering some electric bikes have trigger throttles while others have half-twist like this, it’s just nice to have that extra off switch.

The drive system, large backlit display and front headlight are all powered by a large 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery pack. Inside are name brand, extra durable Panasonic cells that should age well if cared for properly. That is, kept in a cool dry location and topped off every month or so if not in use. This is easy to do given the removability of the battery… though it’s not as easy as some competing models. In order to get the pack off you need to insert the key, twist to the left then either remove the seat post or twist so the saddle doesn’t block the path of the up-sliding battery pack. I don’t love the battery design, especially since the keys must remain in to activate it. I noticed that it must be firmly pressed down in order to lock and once powered on, you cannot remove the keys which may jingle. Ultimately, I can appreciate that it’s mounted low and relatively center on the frame. You may leave it here and charge it this way as long as you can get the bike reasonably close to a power outlet.

Charging the bike takes around five hours from completely empty while powering it up takes just a few seconds. Twist the key, hold the power button then watch as the fixed display blinks to life. It is backlit by holding the mode and up button (which also activates the headlight). I appreciate how large and easy to read it is. Press mode again for different menu readouts or arrow up and down to navigate the five levels of assist. It would be nice to have a removable display, especially given the off-road nature of the bike. I found that even on rough terrain the frame felt solid and became curious about the rack systems. The rear rack slides out horizontally for maximum storage space (though I’m not sure what I’d put there? Perhaps a large pizza?!) and the front rack is about the size of a six pack of beverages. Note however, that if the front cargo is not secured, it may dump out as the fork turns when you park and lean the bike. Unlike some sturdier racks, it is not mounted to the head tube.

I had a blast testing this bike and came to appreciate all of the little nuances that Rad Power Bikes dialed in. You get a saddle that has an integrated handle at the back for easier positioning and folding. You get a derailleur cage to protect the sensitive bits near the rear wheel which keeps things in shape once folded. You get nice brake levers with rubberized edges and an integrated bell. The grips are a bit larger and fairly comfortable (though they may spin if you bear down since they are not locking). Keep an eye on the rear light, remember to turn it off when you stop or the batteries will run out quicker. The disc brakes are solid, fairly large and work well considering the price point. This is an electric bike that can handle rough terrain but won’t break your heart when it ultimately gets beat up and rusty if you really do go to the beach. That’s one of the trade-offs with fat ebikes specifically. Do you get the premium one that you’re afraid to ride in hazardous terrain or maybe two of the cheaper ones that you can afford to lose? Regardless of use, this one will fit those petite riders which means more people can come along for the good times. Big thanks to Rad Power Bikes for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • Uses a fat-bike specific hub motor which spaces the spokes out wider for improved strength, I found that it was quieter than similarly specced geared hub motors
  • I like that the bike offers both pedal assist and twist throttle mode, it’s useful to have immediate access to full power when you’re riding in sand or snow even if you don’t have assist enabled or are in a lower level… but they also included an on/off switch for the throttle so you can avoid accidentally activating it
  • The bike seems pretty tough overall, designed to handle bumpy terrain with a plastic chain guide and there’s a metal guard around the derailleur on the right in case it tips, simple black or white paint choices are easy to touch up or cover if it gets scratched
  • Neat rack system, plenty of extra space for hauling food on a picnic or tents and other gear on an adventure, the rear rack extends horizontally for increased cargo space
  • The folding design of the bike works well enough but I appreciate the extra locking clips that reduce any potential for loosening or opening while riding
  • Despite being a mid-step folding frame design, I found it to be fairly stiff and solid feeling… the double tube design definitely improves strength
  • My girlfriend isn’t especially tall but she was still able to use this bike and ride on the beach with the rest of us, stand over height is ~26.5″ but there is a wide point where the frame folds so even if you can stand over it be careful with your knees and inner legs to avoid scrapes and little bruises from this
  • If the tires are run a bit low, they add some cushion along with the ergonomic grips and comfort saddle… no suspension fork or seat post suspension on this bike but the price is pretty competitive at ~$1,500 and you could add your own basic 27.2 mm seat post suspension after market for as little as $30
  • I like the disc brakes because they don’t get as wet or dirty as rim brakes (being mounted higher) and found the brake levers to be comfortable with rubberized edges, I like that they chose the models with a bell integrated into the left grip and appreciate the integrated motor inhibitors
  • I love that the bike comes with LED lights, it’s handy that the front one is designed to run straight off the main battery… they didn’t wire in the rear because it’s further back at the end of the rack and I’m told that in flashing mode it can last quite a long time
  • Normally I dislike folding pedals because they’re shorter and less rigid than traditional platforms (being made of plastic), in this case however, the pedals are a bit larger and made from Aluminum allow so they work pretty well
  • I like that they included a slap guard on the right chainstay (to protect it from the chain bouncing and chipping it on rough terrain) and that they used a torque arm washer for the rear wheel AND that the front wheel is quick release so you can reduce weight and size further when folding if you wish
  • I love that it comes with an adjustable kickstand and that it’s mounted towards the back, out of the way of your cranks and pedals because that makes it easier to maneuver when parking

Cons:

  • The front rack turns as you turn the handle bars and steer the bike, I noticed that if it’s loaded and you park the bike without stabilizing the front wheel it will tip to the side and sometimes dump your gear out
  • The RadMini uses a cadence sensor to activate pedal assist and the part only uses six magnets while some other bikes use 12, in practice it worked fine (perhaps their software is really dialed in?) but this is an area that gave me pause
  • I like how the twist throttle feels but sometimes people with smaller hands or those worried about bumpy terrain don’t like them as much as trigger throttles
  • Some folding electric bicycles have magnetic clasps or rubber bungee loops that keep the bike from coming unfolded or rattling around and scratching but this one does not, consider using your own bungee cords or an adjustable cord like this
  • While the battery is removable, you basically have to slide the seat tube out or twist the saddle sideways in order to get it off, I do like that the saddle has an integrated handle for moving the bike or working with the battery in this case
  • There are labels on the side of the tires that say “inflate to 35 PSI” but in my experience you want to hit between 5 to 30 PSI depending on terrain, go much lower towards the ~5 for soft sand or snow
  • Two step on/off process wit this bike… first you insert and twist the key (which has to be left in the battery while riding) then hold the power button on the control pad near the left grip, this takes longer and the key can jingle if you have anything connected to it
  • For a folding bike, this thing is definitely on the heavy side… as you might expect with the fat tires and racks, still worth considering (remove the battery and front wheel to reduce weight somewhat)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Rad Power Bikes Reviews

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A value priced but featured packed urban commuter style electric bike with everything from fenders, to LED lights, rear carry rack and regenerative braking. Solid driving and braking performance with a 750 watt gearless hub motor and 180 mm…...

Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Strikes an excellent balance delivering high power with mid-level components for a reasonable price, you get throttle and pedal assist with an on/off on the throttle! solid one year warranty for the original owner, flat rate $175 shipping in the US. Even though the battery and controller box are bolted on vs. integrated into the frame,…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A folding fat tire electric bike with front and rear cargo racks and double-tube frame for improved strength (good option for larger riders). Powerful 750 watt internally geared fat-bike specific motor paired with a large 48 volt 11.6…...

Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Affordable, feature rich cargo style electric bike with a stiffer and lighter frame because it's not quite as long as some others. Offers five levels of pedal assist, throttle mode and throttle override as well as regenerative…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An Indiegogo funded electric fatbike with a powerful 500 watt motor, ample 48 volt battery and seven speed drivetrain. Comfortable saddle, ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout, two color choices but only one…...


Nirmala
2 months ago

How does the bike fit a taller rider? I noticed in some of the video, you have the seat set very low.....were you able to dial it in for a taller rider?

Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Nirmala, yeah the seat can go higher... it was set low in this video for my girlfriend Mony. We were all riding around the beach swapping bikes and I should have raised the seat but knew I was going to hop back onto one of the larger models so I did not. You can indeed raise the seat and there are even some extra-tall seat posts that you could buy to replace the included 320 mm post if needed. Hope this helps :)

Mehdi
2 months ago

Hi Court, I'm thinking about getting this bike for my commute to work which includes taking the T. How does the dimensions (folded) and weight of this bike compare to regular folding bikes like Dahon? The weight is almost twice as a regular folding bike but, I'm not sure about the dimensions. Do you think it would be a good option if a part of your commute is to get on a train with this folding bike?

Also, recently I came across a folding ebike from Genesis. Seems like a nice affordable ebike but, I couldn't find any reviews on YouTube or other website. It would be nice if you can review it. Thanks, Mehdi

Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Mehdi! I'd say there is a hug difference in both size and weight of the RadMini fat folding ebike vs. a more traditional sized folder... As a smaller, not super strong guy myself I'd probably opt for something else if I was going to take it on the train. There are lots of folding options that I have reviewed here but not the Genesis model yet. Thanks for the heads up, I'll keep an eye out for them in the future :)

brian brown
2 months ago

yery good bike can it be bought in the u.k and does the warranty included also in the u.k

Court Rye
2 months ago

I have no idea! Will ask the Rad Power Bikes team to chime in about international orders :)

James Scherber
2 months ago

Curious. I'm 5 feet 10 inches. 200 pounds. How does this thing handle San Francisco hills?

Court Rye
2 months ago

Hey James, I didn't climb the steepest hills in SF when I reviewed the older version but for me (a 135 lb guy) it worked fine there and surprisingly well on the sand. One advantage it has for climbing and soft terrain is the smaller diameter wheels... when used with a hub motor there's a mechanical advantage because it's easier to turn. The bike isn't especially light and there is more drag from the fat tires but again, it worked fine even with the larger guys in our group on the beach :)

brian brown
2 months ago

good e-bike i would love one, are they comeing to the u.k.?

Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Brian, I'm not sure but their support and customer service is pretty good so maybe reach out? I'd love to hear back if you find out about the cost of shipping overseas :)

JP
2 months ago

Love the look of this one. I live on top of a hill that's about a 15 to 23 degree incline for about a block and a half. Based on your experience with it, how well do you think rad mini would handle that?

Court Rye
2 months ago

Hey JP! Without knowing your weight and intended cargo it's difficult to say for sure bit I was VERY impressed with the power this little thing had, being able to ride through the sand on the beach. If you approach your hill with a bit of momentum I bet it would do fine, especially if you pedal along a little bit on the steepest part. Shouldn't be too much work and I find that it helps the motor a lot (I often pedal along when starting from zero in sand).

Bruce Bechtel
1 month ago

This looks like something I could use for RVing. I like the idea of durability for trails and trips to market. What do you think? Also does a folding design like this lend itself to use of a small trailer, for groceries and such?

Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi Bruce! Despite the smaller wheel size, this is still a very powerful electric bike. If you could figure out how to attach a trailer (possibly using a custom mounting plate) I'm sure it would pull fine. The fat tires make it a bit more comfortable and trail-capable so it sounds like a good fit for what you're thinking. I also like that the battery comes off (to reduce weight) because even though it folds, this is still a heavy machine ;)

Vincethesoundguy
3 weeks ago

Court. Keep up the good work. I've watched a few of your reviews, and like how comprehensive they've all been. I am full time RV'er and was contemplating buying a gas powered scooter or dirt bike for fun and for short hops. I'm touring the SW right now, Arizona, Colorado, Utah, and Montana, and I think this is a good fit for my situation. A RV park neighbor had two of these hanging off the back of motor home, so I decided to check them out on-line, and found your review. I do think the folding version makes sense for me, as I may want to store it inside the motor home at times, or put it in the back of my Kia Soul.

Two questions:

  • Is the full size Rad bike quicker, or does it travel farther because of the larger tires?
  • Is the folding version easier to handle in soft sand, gravel, or snow because of the smaller tires and lower center of gravity?
Court Rye
3 weeks ago

Cool! So glad you found my work here useful. Sounds like your friend is having a blast with their ebike and I'd be happy to help answer your questions. In my experience, the larger wheels smooth out the ride a little and might coast easier but they shouldn't change your range much. Both the full sized RadRove and RadMini should go similar distances if they have the same motor and battery size. To extend range, it's best to pedal along and help the bike get started vs. just juicing it from standstill. As far as soft sand goes, both the standard 26" and smaller 20" wheels worked well for me in the recent beach reviews. The larger wheels had a slight edge in terms of "float" because more surface area made contact with the sand due to a larger diameter (more forward and backwards contact). I've got footage here of both bikes in the sand and large and small riders tried both with success... just be sure to lower the air pressure to 5 to 10 PSI and note that this will reduce range due to increased drag. We still went a LONG way per charge with low PSI but it's not as far as full tires. I think the bigger consideration is how tall you are, how comfortable the larger frame might be (as it's higher and maybe difficult to mount if your legs aren't super long) and also whether you want to get that thing and put it on a rack vs. packing your bike in the back of your car with the folding version. I bet the RadMini would fit in your Kia Soul. Hope this helps :D

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Fred in Seattle
3 days ago
Juan_rgil
Hello Everyone,

I need help choosing a replacement folding E-bike. Mine just got stolen today (left it outside for three hours- 18 millimeter chain was cut with a power tool). My bike was a Dahon formula s18- 20 inch- with the Bionx Motor and electronics. I used it everyday to commute from and to work in Manhattan, New York. I really enjoyed the pedal assist, the powerful motor and the relative lightness of it. I normally kept it in the same gear and rarely used the other many ones the bike offered. I believe they are not making any more of them so Im looking to buy a new similar model.

It has to be foldable and preferably 20 inch wheels. I've been looking at fat tire addmotor 150 on Amazon for 1300 bucks. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01B17HE1S/ref=ask_ql_qh_dp_hza does any one have an opinion on these?

I also looked at the Radmini http://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radmini-electric-folding-fat-bike?variant=17586850561. I like the fact that this one has racks because I occasionally carry up to 30lbs of stuff with me.

I like the idea of having thicker tires to be able to use it in mild snow showers (I bike all year round almost everyday).

However I also found this one which is not a fat tire bike but has an affordable price tag and seems very close to what I had:
GreenBike USA G5
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0131H5USA/ref=olp_product_details?_encoding=UTF8&me=

The acceleration and motor power are very important to me. It would be ideal if I can pedal past the 20 mph limit of the motor. Any thoughts on this on which could ? Thanks for any help.
The Luna City Folding Bike is by far and away the best folding cycle out there. I wish I could trade my RAD Mini in for one ! Mid hub great torque. In a package that is 25 lbs less than my RAD Mini .
Thom473
2 days ago
Well, I don't think the controller on the Radmini works in quite the same way. In PAS level 0-obviously, no watts. In PAS 1, there is no wattage displayed, but it is helping a tiny bit as compared with zero. In level 2 it goes to about 175. PAS3 gets you to 500+ and the amount of assist seems to depend on cadence (but I could be misinterpreting what I saw/felt).. PAS 4 and 5 also seem to boost based on cadence and wattage. Throttle only mode gets you to 20 mph or 750 watts but there seems to be another limit because I've seen the display at 300 watts and 16 mph but I don't know what that other limit is yet. The bike is still new to me (only about 20 miles so far), but that's what I saw/felt today...
As an aside, I don't know what the wheel diameter adjustment does since today I had it set to 14 but didn't see or feel any difference from when I had it set to 20. Anyway, don't take this as gospel, it is just my impressions from today's ride.
Had some email correspondence with RadPwr and they indicate to me that you can get limited wattage by pedaling very slow, but after a certain cadence (still pretty slow according to them), it'll power up to the max for that PASlevel.
vincent
5 days ago
definitely think something is wrong unless you have major hills where you are?

i get a lot more than that miles wise

would contact rad power and let them help you figure out how to diagnose/eliminate problems

i did have an issue where the shop that assembled the radmini for me either did not check the brakes or had them crazy tight and it was only getting about 20 miles a battery
rad told me to check the brakes and once those were fixed it now gets as many miles as the rover
mobiker
1 week ago
Hello, Radminites! I've had the Radmini for about two months now and it's a fun bike. This is my first ebike, and I did much research before settling on it. Most bikes are single purpose, but I was looking for a versatile "jack of all trades" that could handle a little of everything. I looked at every clone equivalent, but they were either too costly or lacked a warranty.

And I needed that warranty. I had problems with the fork out of the box, but Rad Power Bikes sent a replacement without too much hassle, although I had to pay labor to have it fixed. The bike now rolls fine and I've had fun with it despite a frigid winter.

The bike attracts stares, as few people have ebikes where I'm at, and no one has a mini folding fat ebike! I feel like I might be invited to ride in parades. When I brought it into the bike shop, the whole store came over to look. The shop manager stated, "This bike contains every design feature we generally cringe at, but nevertheless it's cool." I showed the RadMini to a relative who said it looks "mildly apocalyptic" and would have been perfect for Burning Man. =-) It's definitely a conversation starter!

I'm glad the Radmini folds, because it attracts too much attention to leave outside. The tires and low height have been great in the rain and snow, but I need fenders. I think the headlight it ships with is practically useless. I bought an 800 lumen bike light off Amazon that's drop-in compatible with the front carrier mount. I definitely hope to get more riding in once it warms up and look forward to modding it.

Anyway, that's my experience so far. Love the thread and info!
Steven F. Schluter
1 week ago
sanglee007
Chuck,

I'm using Sunlite XL Cruiser 20 x 4 1/4 tires on my RadMini.
I and a few people have the Maxxis Hookworms 26 x 2.5" mounted on the RadRover, so maybe the 3" shinkos might fit the fat tire rims.


Sang
How do you like the Sunlite-XL tires Sang? Do they feel heavy?

Thanks for your reply.

Steve
Roger Dahl
1 month ago
Mike Radenbaugh
Hi All,

RadMini Fenders are shipping before the weekend, and the first batch of RadRover fenders should be on the website for order later next week, shipping out to customer mid-December! We had hoped to have both versions available at the same time, but the larger size of the Rover fenders required adjustments to the vacuum form tool in order to dial in the thickness of the plastics near the extremities.
I ordered my mini fenders when they became available on line. Received them about a week ago, but hey, no instructions for installation? Do I need to call the shop in Seattle to see if they will send instructions or go on line to see if instructions are now part of the Rad mini assembly experience?
The fenders are pricey especially when tax and shipping are added ($185). But then, so too is the "Body Float" shock absorber seat. WOW! What a difference in ride quality on the mini. I actually look for bumps and dips in the road just to feel this seat in action.
Fred in Seattle
1 month ago
Juan_rgil
Hello Everyone,

I need help choosing a replacement folding E-bike. Mine just got stolen today (left it outside for three hours- 18 millimeter chain was cut with a power tool). My bike was a Dahon formula s18- 20 inch- with the Bionx Motor and electronics. I used it everyday to commute from and to work in Manhattan, New York. I really enjoyed the pedal assist, the powerful motor and the relative lightness of it. I normally kept it in the same gear and rarely used the other many ones the bike offered. I believe they are not making any more of them so Im looking to buy a new similar model.

It has to be foldable and preferably 20 inch wheels. I've been looking at fat tire addmotor 150 on Amazon for 1300 bucks. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01B17HE1S/ref=ask_ql_qh_dp_hza does any one have an opinion on these?

I also looked at the Radmini http://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radmini-electric-folding-fat-bike?variant=17586850561. I like the fact that this one has racks because I occasionally carry up to 30lbs of stuff with me.

I like the idea of having thicker tires to be able to use it in mild snow showers (I bike all year round almost everyday).

However I also found this one which is not a fat tire bike but has an affordable price tag and seems very close to what I had:
GreenBike USA G5
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0131H5USA/ref=olp_product_details?_encoding=UTF8&me=

The acceleration and motor power are very important to me. It would be ideal if I can pedal past the 20 mph limit of the motor. Any thoughts on this on which could ? Thanks for any help.
Hi,.
You can change the freewheel to a 11Tooth cluster in lieu of the 13 T . That would add another 3.6 m/h. Also you can change the programming on the mtr controller to 40 km (~ 24 mi)/hr the combination of both should give ~ 28 m/h. Others have reported that you can change the wheel size in the controller to increase the apparent speed. ( I haven't tried this) . Also I'm looking at changing to a smooth tire base on a Moped tire size. It will give a larger wheel size which will increase the speed also.
vincent
1 month ago
Voltbike Mariner and radmini are both great options


I do not know the answer as to whether you can pedal past 20 mph on the mini since I have never tried to do it
but think you can, post on the rad power forum and someone will answer you I'm sure

I would imagine both of these bikes are heavier than the one you had stolen
But the fat tires are awesome

Sorry about your bike, that sucks
Juan_rgil
1 month ago
Thank you! Does any one know if with the Radmini you can pedal past the motor speed limit of 20mph?
BH eBiker
2 months ago
sanglee007
I'm using 20x4.4" sunlite tires & have 20x4 mongoose tubes on my RadMini, which I use to commute on the streets with a little fireroad in a county park.


Sunlite XL Cruiser Tires, 20 x 4-1/4", Black/Black

Mongoose MG78457-6 Fat Tire Tube, 20 x 4"


Sang
Sang - Do you have pictures of your bike?
sanglee007
2 months ago
walawn
@Subwaync

4" wide tire:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B012EIXCWI/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o05_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

4" wide tube:

https://www.amazon.com/Mongoose-MG7...76934623&sr=1-1&keywords=26+x+4+fat+tire+tube

4" wide tire liner:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00U0FRT7M/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I'm using 20x4.4" sunlite tires & have 20x4 mongoose tubes on my RadMini, which I use to commute on the streets with a little fireroad in a county park.


Sunlite XL Cruiser Tires, 20 x 4-1/4", Black/Black

Mongoose MG78457-6 Fat Tire Tube, 20 x 4"


Sang
BH eBiker
2 months ago
Hi, ordered my RadMini and fenders on Monday. Going to make it a commuter.

Did a little street tire searching:

20x4 Vee Tire co., offroad but the tread looks ok for street use. Tubeless, will that work on the RadMini wheel?: https://www.modernbike.com/vee-tire...olding-bead-mpc-compound-tubeless-ready-black

20x4.25 cruiser tire might work, super cheap, quality might not be so good: https://www.amazon.com/Sunlite-XL-Cruiser-Tires-Black/dp/B0063R2X86

Fat tire 101: https://fat-bike.com/2013/03/fat-bike-101-tires/

Chopper bike 20x4.25 (out of stock): http://www.niagaracycle.com/categories/chopper-tire-20-x-4-1-4-black

I would also like to add an SKS chain guard/chainboard/chainblade. Anyone know if these will work and what size to buy?

https://www.sks-germany.com/en/productcategories/chainguards/
Cnugget
2 months ago
Maybe we could get a list of interested folk.. I am pretty sure the RadMini has the same battery/connectors so between both there could be enough? Of course if the cost isn't insane.
zap016VOLTAGE
2 months ago
Cnugget
Is there a queue for this now on the Volt site or are you just saying you'd be the first to buy? Or.. did you buy from this other site you linked (TLH BATTERY)?

I could find no reference to the Radmini's being sold with a 20 ah battery only the same 10 ah.. I emailed RadMini and they said they had no intention of stocking 20 ah silverfish. The replacement silverfish battery you could purchase also would not come with any kind of warranty... (yikers). Any info on how many cycles one could expect out of the 20 ah vs. the 10 ah?

What happened the 52V idea?
• 52V 20ah silverfish battery: I'd emailed at this time.

Maybe
@Voltbike can reach out to Lunacycle about suppling high output batteries for their ebikes?
52V battery option would be pretty awesome!
Cnugget
2 months ago
Is there a queue for this now on the Volt site or are you just saying you'd be the first to buy? Or.. did you buy from this other site you linked (TLH BATTERY)?

I could find no reference to the Radmini's being sold with a 20 ah battery only the same 10 ah.. I emailed RadMini and they said they had no intention of stocking 20 ah silverfish. The replacement silverfish battery you could purchase also would not come with any kind of warranty... (yikers). Any info on how many cycles one could expect out of the 20 ah vs. the 10 ah?

What happened the 52V idea?
zap016VOLTAGE
2 months ago
love2cruz
Would a 20ah battery from say a radmini be a direct swap?
The Radmini's battery connection plug arrangement and number - male plugs between the motor controller cover plate inserts into female battery bottom - might have a different. As I don't know anyone with a Radmini, I'm unable to compare batteries. I can not answer your question. Sorry.
love2cruz
2 months ago
Would a 20ah battery from say a radmini be a direct swap?
Toynut
2 months ago
Hmmm....
I like the forward pivoting seatpost as a means to quickly access/remove the battery. It would look to be a useful upgrade to the Radmini or the Voltbike Mariner bikes. Any thoughts?
jamiek
2 months ago
Mike Radenbaugh
Hi @sid5427 !

You might be happy with these, but the steel fatbike fenders I have tested for both the RadMini and RadRover were not ideal for weight and noise/vibration compared to the plastic equivalent. I think fender manufactures go steel so they don't have to invest in vacuum or injection mold tooling.

We are closing in on having the first production batch of RadRover and RadMini specific, full coverage thermoplastic olefin (TPO) fenders to compliment our standard fatbike fenders already on the website. I can't tell you much about these in advance of the release, but they should be available on our online store in 3-4 weeks and will be a SOLID full coverage fender option. Also.....made in Seattle!
Thanks Mike! I will also want one of these when they are available. Just got back from a city ride and am very muddy.
vincent
3 months ago
roflo did you ride a new radmini? my 2-3 month old mini is pretty mellow in level 1 and 2, although i still think level 3 is too big a jump up

i know rad power has been working on this, so it is possible you rode one with an older controller that is faster

will be very interested to see what your experience is with the mariner vs how the mini felt to you

i did not realize the mariner does not have a throttle only mode, it comes in handy when you have a too fast cadence sensing pas
Roflo
3 months ago
Interesting post about lower PAS settings and too much power. I was deciding between the Radmini and the Mariner limited 5oo watt special edition. I drove an hour up the coast to demo a Rad Mini. Thought it look super cool but on the flats it seem to have too much power at the lower PAS settings. By PAS level 3 seem so jarring and fast compared to level 2 that it was completely outpacing me. It created a very jerky on and off feeling on the flats. I ended up ordering the Mariner which still hasn't shipped yet. But I couldn't test drive the Mariner because I live in the states, I am hoping the lower levels of PAS are more gentler than the Rad Mini I tried. Is there a way to adjust and customize each of the levels of PAS on the Mariner ,so for example that you feel level 3-5 are just too powerful or ramp up to quickly that you could adjust each of those levels individually to suit your taste.
If you are pedaling down hill and not using very much pedal assist once you reach 20 MPH does that engine automatically shut off? It
seems like that could be weird and a bit jerky when it just randomly kicks back in.
Also is there a throttle only option on the Mariner? Cant wait to get mine , should be shipping in about ten days. Cross my fingas its everything I'd hope for.
Taylor Guziewicz
1 month ago

Just out of curiosity how much lighter does going tubeless make?

Taylor Guziewicz
1 month ago

It's perfect for traveling on Greyhound or another bus company.
Great for someone who doesn't own a vehicle or simply doesn't want to
drive. You can go from city to city charge your battery courtesy of
bus.

Wind and Waves Mazatlan-Mex
1 month ago

Cool bro, nice reviews. By the way, when are you reviewing the MADSEN 271
KG, it would be good to have your perspective over that one, just a
comment. Congrats.

Fat Bike Freak
1 month ago

Ugh...both those bikes have old people riding positions...not off-road
friendly riding position...

Aquahawk
1 month ago

Didn't you already do a RadMini review? Or is this a slightly new model?

d k
1 month ago

Awesome bike, it's a all rounder very good review 👍🏻

low rez
1 month ago

This is probably an odd question but which do you think would make a better
first bike/ebike? The RadMini or a Sondors?

Chris Bates
1 month ago

That front rack looks like a six pack holder. I wouldn't put too much up
there, but nice to have.

Mattson McCraw
1 month ago

I think it's weird that is it's the same price as the RadRover.

Joe Price
1 month ago

I love this channel

John Moura
1 month ago

Baja to Brooklyn and back!

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 month ago

Oh yeah! I'm actually planning a trip to Mexico again in the next few days
to visit Mony's family... lots of travel going on lately ;)

EPSTomcat11
1 month ago

What shoes is she wearing?

EPSTomcat11
1 month ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Thanks for asking! Yeah they did look like water
shoes - Crocs maybe?

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 month ago

I asked Mony and it sounds like they are water shoes, not sure on the brand
:)

EPSTomcat11
1 month ago

This bike would be perfect with a 750watt mid-drive.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 month ago

Thanks, the rack they chose is neat but not nearly as stable and useful as
it could be if it was fixed to the head tube :)

EPSTomcat11
1 month ago

And a fixed front rack (good point)

Mark Hissner
2 months ago

What helmets are you guys using? I really like that white Bell one

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 month ago

Hi Mark, I spoke to Mony about her helmet and it sounds like it was
actually a loaner from Cabo Adventures and not her Specialized :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 month ago

Hey Mark! I brought that helmet with me because the jaw piece disconnects
from the top and I built a camera mount on it for rides. More pics and info
here: https://electricbikereview.com/accessories/bell/super-2r-mips/ not
sure on Mony's helmet, she just got it from a Specialized store in Colorado