Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Electric Bike Review
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 750 Watt Geared Hub Motor And Bash Guard
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Slide In 48 Volt Battery Pack
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Lcd Console Ergonomic Grips
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Front Rack Attached Led Light
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Adjustable Length Rear Rack And Kickstand
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 7 Speed Shimano Tourney
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Folding Alloy Wellgo Pedals
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Battery Charger
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Electric Bike Review
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 750 Watt Geared Hub Motor And Bash Guard
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Slide In 48 Volt Battery Pack
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Lcd Console Ergonomic Grips
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Front Rack Attached Led Light
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Adjustable Length Rear Rack And Kickstand
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini 7 Speed Shimano Tourney
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Folding Alloy Wellgo Pedals
2017 Rad Power Bikes Radmini Battery Charger

Summary

  • A funky miniaturized folding fat tire bike with two cargo racks! Truly capable of sand and snow riding, LED lights guide and keep you safe, the bike offers assist and throttle drive modes
  • Basic seven speed drivetrain from Shimano, plastic chain guide keeps things on track, metal derailleur guard protects the sensitive bits if the bike tips over to the right
  • Nice 180 mm mechanical disc brakes with e-bike specific brake levers that cut power to the system when pulled, I like the integrated bell on the left lever and rubberized front edges for comfort
  • The front rack turns as you steer the bike and if you aren't careful when parking, it can tip to the side and spill your gear out, no bungee or clasps to keep it from unfolding

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Rad Power Bikes

Model:

RadMini

Price:

$1,499 ($175 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive (Original Owner)

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62.1 lbs (28.16 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.8 lbs (3.53 kg)

Motor Weight:

12 lbs (5.44 kg)

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Folding

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

560 mm Top Tube, 400 mm Seat Tube, 1092 mm Wheelbase, 673 mm Stand Over Height

Frame Material:

Aluminum

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid, 11 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shiman SIS Index Shifter on Right

Cranks:

48T Chainring with Plastic Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Folding Platform, Black

Headset:

Neco

Stem:

Folding

Handlebar:

Low-Rise, 24" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Aries Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors, Rubberized Edge and Integrated Bell

Grips:

Stitched Ergonomic, Black

Saddle:

Velo Plush with Integrated Handle

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

320 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled Alloy, Black

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Innova, 20" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Spanninga Micro Integrated LED Headlight, Spanninga Duxo Independent LED Back Light, Neoprene Slap Guard

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Hold Mode and Up to Activate Headlight,Hold Up and Down for Settings

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Aluminum

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

King Meter, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer, Watts, PAS level (1-5)

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (6 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The RadMini combines two bicycle concepts that at first seem a bit opposite but ultimately pair well… Namely, a “go anywhere” fat tire bike and the “take anywhere” folding bike. What you end up with is an electric bicycle that shorter riders can enjoy more comfortably, a fat bike that’s truly sand and snow capable (as demonstrated in the video review) and a bike that will fit inside the trunk space of most SUV’s and station wagons… and even some sedans. At roughly 62 lbs this is not a light bike but you can remove the battery and front wheel easily, shaving 10+ lbs. While not as smooth riding as a full sized 26″ fat tire bike, it worked surprisingly well and I appreciated the larger chainring used in combination with the basic seven speed drivetrain. Pedaling felt natural and I loved the larger metal folding pedals by Wellgo. This is one area a lot of folding ebike skimp on, opting for flimsy less-grippy plastic. The RadMini is off-road capable but still shines on road if you’re in need of a fun commuter, perhaps a road + trail bike to get you from the city into the woods?

Powering the bike is an impressive fat-bike specific 750 watt internally geared hub motor. I say fat-bike specific because it’s wider than most planetary geared hubs I see and this allows for wider spoke mounting and thus, stronger wheels. It really does pack a punch at 750 watts, which is the maximum allowable rating for electric bicycles in the USA. But I was impressed with just how quiet it operated. Having tested this back to back with some other fat bikes using different motors, I found it to be a leader sound wise. I absolutely love that the bike can be ridden with one of five levels of pedal assist AND overridden with full power using the twist throttle at any moment. This is especially useful for getting started in soft terrain like sand. You can even use the throttle from rest in level zero and furthermore, can switch the throttle completely off. This is useful for bumpy sections where you might bear down on the grips and accidentally activate. Considering some electric bikes have trigger throttles while others have half-twist like this, it’s just nice to have that extra off switch.

The drive system, large backlit display and front headlight are all powered by a large 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery pack. Inside are name brand, extra durable Panasonic cells that should age well if cared for properly. That is, kept in a cool dry location and topped off every month or so if not in use. This is easy to do given the removability of the battery… though it’s not as easy as some competing models. In order to get the pack off you need to insert the key, twist to the left then either remove the seat post or twist so the saddle doesn’t block the path of the up-sliding battery pack. I don’t love the battery design, especially since the keys must remain in to activate it. I noticed that it must be firmly pressed down in order to lock and once powered on, you cannot remove the keys which may jingle. Ultimately, I can appreciate that it’s mounted low and relatively center on the frame. You may leave it here and charge it this way as long as you can get the bike reasonably close to a power outlet.

Charging the bike takes around five hours from completely empty while powering it up takes just a few seconds. Twist the key, hold the power button then watch as the fixed display blinks to life. It is backlit by holding the mode and up button (which also activates the headlight). I appreciate how large and easy to read it is. Press mode again for different menu readouts or arrow up and down to navigate the five levels of assist. It would be nice to have a removable display, especially given the off-road nature of the bike. I found that even on rough terrain the frame felt solid and became curious about the rack systems. The rear rack slides out horizontally for maximum storage space (though I’m not sure what I’d put there? Perhaps a large pizza?!) and the front rack is about the size of a six pack of beverages. Note however, that if the front cargo is not secured, it may dump out as the fork turns when you park and lean the bike. Unlike some sturdier racks, it is not mounted to the head tube.

I had a blast testing this bike and came to appreciate all of the little nuances that Rad Power Bikes dialed in. You get a saddle that has an integrated handle at the back for easier positioning and folding. You get a derailleur cage to protect the sensitive bits near the rear wheel which keeps things in shape once folded. You get nice brake levers with rubberized edges and an integrated bell. The grips are a bit larger and fairly comfortable (though they may spin if you bear down since they are not locking). Keep an eye on the rear light, remember to turn it off when you stop or the batteries will run out quicker. The disc brakes are solid, fairly large and work well considering the price point. This is an electric bike that can handle rough terrain but won’t break your heart when it ultimately gets beat up and rusty if you really do go to the beach. That’s one of the trade-offs with fat ebikes specifically. Do you get the premium one that you’re afraid to ride in hazardous terrain or maybe two of the cheaper ones that you can afford to lose? Regardless of use, this one will fit those petite riders which means more people can come along for the good times. Big thanks to Rad Power Bikes for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • Uses a fat-bike specific hub motor which spaces the spokes out wider for improved strength, I found that it was quieter than similarly specced geared hub motors
  • I like that the bike offers both pedal assist and twist throttle mode, it’s useful to have immediate access to full power when you’re riding in sand or snow even if you don’t have assist enabled or are in a lower level… but they also included an on/off switch for the throttle so you can avoid accidentally activating it
  • The bike seems pretty tough overall, designed to handle bumpy terrain with a plastic chain guide and there’s a metal guard around the derailleur on the right in case it tips, simple black or white paint choices are easy to touch up or cover if it gets scratched
  • Neat rack system, plenty of extra space for hauling food on a picnic or tents and other gear on an adventure, the rear rack extends horizontally for increased cargo space
  • The folding design of the bike works well enough but I appreciate the extra locking clips that reduce any potential for loosening or opening while riding
  • Despite being a mid-step folding frame design, I found it to be fairly stiff and solid feeling… the double tube design definitely improves strength
  • My girlfriend isn’t especially tall but she was still able to use this bike and ride on the beach with the rest of us, stand over height is ~26.5″ but there is a wide point where the frame folds so even if you can stand over it be careful with your knees and inner legs to avoid scrapes and little bruises from this
  • If the tires are run a bit low, they add some cushion along with the ergonomic grips and comfort saddle… no suspension fork or seat post suspension on this bike but the price is pretty competitive at ~$1,500 and you could add your own basic 27.2 mm seat post suspension after market for as little as $30
  • I like the disc brakes because they don’t get as wet or dirty as rim brakes (being mounted higher) and found the brake levers to be comfortable with rubberized edges, I like that they chose the models with a bell integrated into the left grip and appreciate the integrated motor inhibitors
  • I love that the bike comes with LED lights, it’s handy that the front one is designed to run straight off the main battery… they didn’t wire in the rear because it’s further back at the end of the rack and I’m told that in flashing mode it can last quite a long time
  • Normally I dislike folding pedals because they’re shorter and less rigid than traditional platforms (being made of plastic), in this case however, the pedals are a bit larger and made from Aluminum allow so they work pretty well
  • I like that they included a slap guard on the right chainstay (to protect it from the chain bouncing and chipping it on rough terrain) and that they used a torque arm washer for the rear wheel AND that the front wheel is quick release so you can reduce weight and size further when folding if you wish
  • I love that it comes with an adjustable kickstand and that it’s mounted towards the back, out of the way of your cranks and pedals because that makes it easier to maneuver when parking

Cons:

  • The front rack turns as you turn the handle bars and steer the bike, I noticed that if it’s loaded and you park the bike without stabilizing the front wheel it will tip to the side and sometimes dump your gear out
  • The RadMini uses a cadence sensor to activate pedal assist and the part only uses six magnets while some other bikes use 12, in practice it worked fine (perhaps their software is really dialed in?) but this is an area that gave me pause
  • I like how the twist throttle feels but sometimes people with smaller hands or those worried about bumpy terrain don’t like them as much as trigger throttles
  • Some folding electric bicycles have magnetic clasps or rubber bungee loops that keep the bike from coming unfolded or rattling around and scratching but this one does not, consider using your own bungee cords or an adjustable cord like this
  • While the battery is removable, you basically have to slide the seat tube out or twist the saddle sideways in order to get it off, I do like that the saddle has an integrated handle for moving the bike or working with the battery in this case
  • There are labels on the side of the tires that say “inflate to 35 PSI” but in my experience you want to hit between 5 to 30 PSI depending on terrain, go much lower towards the ~5 for soft sand or snow
  • Two step on/off process wit this bike… first you insert and twist the key (which has to be left in the battery while riding) then hold the power button on the control pad near the left grip, this takes longer and the key can jingle if you have anything connected to it
  • For a folding bike, this thing is definitely on the heavy side… as you might expect with the fat tires and racks, still worth considering (remove the battery and front wheel to reduce weight somewhat)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Rad Power Bikes Reviews

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A value priced but featured packed urban commuter style electric bike with everything from fenders, to LED lights, rear carry rack and regenerative braking. Solid driving and braking performance with a 750 watt gearless hub motor and 180 mm…...

Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Strikes an excellent balance delivering high power with mid-level components for a reasonable price, you get throttle and pedal assist with an on/off on the throttle! solid one year warranty for the original owner, flat rate $175 shipping in the US. Even though the battery and controller box are bolted on vs. integrated into the frame,…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A folding fat tire electric bike with front and rear cargo racks and double-tube frame for improved strength (good option for larger riders). Powerful 750 watt internally geared fat-bike specific motor paired with a large 48 volt 11.6…...

Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Affordable, feature rich cargo style electric bike with a stiffer and lighter frame because it's not quite as long as some others. Offers five levels of pedal assist, throttle mode and throttle override as well as regenerative…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An Indiegogo funded electric fatbike with a powerful 500 watt motor, ample 48 volt battery and seven speed drivetrain. Comfortable saddle, ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout, two color choices but only one…...


Nirmala
4 months ago

How does the bike fit a taller rider? I noticed in some of the video, you have the seat set very low.....were you able to dial it in for a taller rider?

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Nirmala, yeah the seat can go higher... it was set low in this video for my girlfriend Mony. We were all riding around the beach swapping bikes and I should have raised the seat but knew I was going to hop back onto one of the larger models so I did not. You can indeed raise the seat and there are even some extra-tall seat posts that you could buy to replace the included 320 mm post if needed. Hope this helps :)

Mehdi
4 months ago

Hi Court, I'm thinking about getting this bike for my commute to work which includes taking the T. How does the dimensions (folded) and weight of this bike compare to regular folding bikes like Dahon? The weight is almost twice as a regular folding bike but, I'm not sure about the dimensions. Do you think it would be a good option if a part of your commute is to get on a train with this folding bike?

Also, recently I came across a folding ebike from Genesis. Seems like a nice affordable ebike but, I couldn't find any reviews on YouTube or other website. It would be nice if you can review it. Thanks, Mehdi

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Mehdi! I'd say there is a hug difference in both size and weight of the RadMini fat folding ebike vs. a more traditional sized folder... As a smaller, not super strong guy myself I'd probably opt for something else if I was going to take it on the train. There are lots of folding options that I have reviewed here but not the Genesis model yet. Thanks for the heads up, I'll keep an eye out for them in the future :)

brian brown
4 months ago

yery good bike can it be bought in the u.k and does the warranty included also in the u.k

Court Rye
4 months ago

I have no idea! Will ask the Rad Power Bikes team to chime in about international orders :)

James Scherber
4 months ago

Curious. I'm 5 feet 10 inches. 200 pounds. How does this thing handle San Francisco hills?

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hey James, I didn't climb the steepest hills in SF when I reviewed the older version but for me (a 135 lb guy) it worked fine there and surprisingly well on the sand. One advantage it has for climbing and soft terrain is the smaller diameter wheels... when used with a hub motor there's a mechanical advantage because it's easier to turn. The bike isn't especially light and there is more drag from the fat tires but again, it worked fine even with the larger guys in our group on the beach :)

brian brown
4 months ago

good e-bike i would love one, are they comeing to the u.k.?

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Brian, I'm not sure but their support and customer service is pretty good so maybe reach out? I'd love to hear back if you find out about the cost of shipping overseas :)

JP
4 months ago

Love the look of this one. I live on top of a hill that's about a 15 to 23 degree incline for about a block and a half. Based on your experience with it, how well do you think rad mini would handle that?

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hey JP! Without knowing your weight and intended cargo it's difficult to say for sure bit I was VERY impressed with the power this little thing had, being able to ride through the sand on the beach. If you approach your hill with a bit of momentum I bet it would do fine, especially if you pedal along a little bit on the steepest part. Shouldn't be too much work and I find that it helps the motor a lot (I often pedal along when starting from zero in sand).

Bruce Bechtel
4 months ago

This looks like something I could use for RVing. I like the idea of durability for trails and trips to market. What do you think? Also does a folding design like this lend itself to use of a small trailer, for groceries and such?

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Bruce! Despite the smaller wheel size, this is still a very powerful electric bike. If you could figure out how to attach a trailer (possibly using a custom mounting plate) I'm sure it would pull fine. The fat tires make it a bit more comfortable and trail-capable so it sounds like a good fit for what you're thinking. I also like that the battery comes off (to reduce weight) because even though it folds, this is still a heavy machine ;)

Vincethesoundguy
3 months ago

Court. Keep up the good work. I've watched a few of your reviews, and like how comprehensive they've all been. I am full time RV'er and was contemplating buying a gas powered scooter or dirt bike for fun and for short hops. I'm touring the SW right now, Arizona, Colorado, Utah, and Montana, and I think this is a good fit for my situation. A RV park neighbor had two of these hanging off the back of motor home, so I decided to check them out on-line, and found your review. I do think the folding version makes sense for me, as I may want to store it inside the motor home at times, or put it in the back of my Kia Soul.

Two questions:

  • Is the full size Rad bike quicker, or does it travel farther because of the larger tires?
  • Is the folding version easier to handle in soft sand, gravel, or snow because of the smaller tires and lower center of gravity?
Court Rye
3 months ago

Cool! So glad you found my work here useful. Sounds like your friend is having a blast with their ebike and I'd be happy to help answer your questions. In my experience, the larger wheels smooth out the ride a little and might coast easier but they shouldn't change your range much. Both the full sized RadRove and RadMini should go similar distances if they have the same motor and battery size. To extend range, it's best to pedal along and help the bike get started vs. just juicing it from standstill. As far as soft sand goes, both the standard 26" and smaller 20" wheels worked well for me in the recent beach reviews. The larger wheels had a slight edge in terms of "float" because more surface area made contact with the sand due to a larger diameter (more forward and backwards contact). I've got footage here of both bikes in the sand and large and small riders tried both with success... just be sure to lower the air pressure to 5 to 10 PSI and note that this will reduce range due to increased drag. We still went a LONG way per charge with low PSI but it's not as far as full tires. I think the bigger consideration is how tall you are, how comfortable the larger frame might be (as it's higher and maybe difficult to mount if your legs aren't super long) and also whether you want to get that thing and put it on a rack vs. packing your bike in the back of your car with the folding version. I bet the RadMini would fit in your Kia Soul. Hope this helps :D

Pete
3 weeks ago

Thanks for all the comprehensive reviews. Quick question, I've had problems with mechanical breaks in the past, are the breaks on radmini ok and is it possible o upgrade from mechanical to hydraulic disc brakes?

Court Rye
3 weeks ago

Great question Pete... my guess is that yes, you could convert to hydraulic disc brakes yourself (or with help from a shop) but I don't think this is an upgrade that Rad Power Bikes offers themselves. Their customer service email and phone number are pretty responsive, I'd suggest reaching out directly to see what they say, and I'd love to hear back what you decide on and what the options are :D

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

thatdude902
6 hours ago

For future reference, when others start contemplating swapping out the freewheels on their Radrover, Radmini or other electric bikes with similar wiring. On the left is an old Shimano freewheel tool I got years ago with a 10mm opening (same as Park), and on the right is the DNP epoch tool with an ~18.5mm opening. So no drilling or grinding necessary to get around the wheel hub motor wire connector. Thanks for finding it.

1/1
Doug Edwards
11 hours ago

Ok, so maybe I hadn't rode a bike for a year or so before I got my RadMini. And maybe I don't know the correct seat sizing / setting for this type of bike. In any event, until just now it was very difficult for me to get on and off the bike, and to stop and start the bike. Going back to when it arrived, after assembly I got on and almost messed up my knees trying to pedal the bike. The seat was all the way down, and my knees were bent like crazy. Ah yes, "When the pedal is almost down and the leg is at its furthest extension, the knees should just be slightly bent". I fiddled with the height of the seat, and set it. Nice - lots of power when pedaling, and very comfortable. But, with that seat rising up in the air so high, I was either going to need a ladder, or was going to have to lean the bike almost flat to get on and off. And when I went to stop, my feet did not reach the ground, so I was forced to jump forward and straddle the bike (I have fallen a couple times though). I learned to live with it, but was not happy. So today, I decided to revisit the seat height. I lowered it so I could touch the ground with my toes, or lean slightly and put my foot down. Pedaling was not quite as powerful as before, but I think it is close (I wouldn't win any races before anyway). My knees feel the extra bending a bit, but I think will be fine. All in all, a completely different and I think better and safer experience.

windmill
1 day ago

Cassette removal tool I just remembered I had in the bottom of my bike tools
http://www.woollypigs.com/2011/10/meet-the-hypercracker/

I've used it on my older bikes, wondering how it would work on the RadRover & RadMini...

From the article, it looks like there are a few other touring style freewheel lockring removal tools:

Found one on Amazon: Stein Mini Cassette Lockring driver 30+ bucks

https://www.amazon.com/Stein-Mini-Cassette-Lockring-Driver/dp/B001GSSCAU

Sang
Damn, I totally forgot about those types of tools. Just the ticket for those with the wire in the axle. Well done!

sanglee007
1 day ago

The freewheel on the Rover is tricky, I think it's the same situation on the mini also. The wire for the motor comes out of middle of the hub there and is connected to the controller via a connector. The tricky part is getting freewheel tool pass that connector to get to the freewheel. I measured that connector at 18mm diameter.

I've seen people talk about splitting the freewheel tool, others talk about using method that destroys the old freewheel as seen on youtube. What I have in mind is making the hole in the freewheel tool bigger. That DNP freewheel tool linked above is supposed to have a 14mm hole. I should be able to take a small round grinding stone on a dremel tool and take it up to 18mm. It's going to be time consuming. But I think splitting a freewheel tool would be time consuming also.

Cassette removal tool I just remembered I had in the bottom of my bike tools
http://www.woollypigs.com/2011/10/meet-the-hypercracker/

I've used it on my older bikes, wondering how it would work on the RadRover & RadMini...

From the article, it looks like there are a few other touring style freewheel lockring removal tools:

Found one on Amazon: Stein Mini Cassette Lockring driver 30+ bucks

https://www.amazon.com/Stein-Mini-Cassette-Lockring-Driver/dp/B001GSSCAU

Sang

1/1
Olrocker
6 days ago

Brand-new to e-bikes and the forum. My wife and I are looking for a pair of e-bikes to take with us on our RV travels. After some research on this site and others, we've pretty much narrowed it down to the Radmini and Voltbike Mariner since we like the idea of something we could take on the beach or off-road as well as the street.

The reviews for these two bikes have them neck-and-neck in our view. Similar weight, style, and capabilities. We'd be carrying them in the bed of our Tundra (we tow a 27' travel trailer.) Does anyone with experience with both have a preference? One question I have regarding the Radmini: it has two reviews on EBR; the older one says it has a 12 magnet cadence sensor and plastic pedals and the more recent one says a 6 magnet sensor and aluminum pedals. Was that a change made for the production run?

Any other observations are welcome. Thanks in advance!

quazimootoo
1 week ago

I'm trying to find a suitable battery upgrade for my rad mini. I read somewhere the rad mini uses a silver fish 48v 11.6ah battery.

Does anybody know where I can find a more powerful battery? I'm having trouble finding silver fish batteries that are not on aliexpress. I haven't seen any silver fish batteries on luna cycles either.

Ideally I would want something with this kinda range: https://lunacycle.com/48v-pansonic-ga-17-5ah-black-killer-whale-ebike-pack-huge-range/ or https://lunacycle.com/48v-panasonic-17-5ah-jumbo-shark-ebike/ to get that increased range with 17.5ah.

If I were to get either the killer whale or jumbo shark battery pack (because silver fish is so hard to find), how would I go about fitting it onto my rad mini? Any tips?

Thanks

SuperGoop
1 week ago

I like white to contrast against the black tires, handlebar and stem, seat post, battery, etc. Also, I like the brown grips and saddle on the white Radmini. White is also more visible at in low light conditions.

Thom473
2 weeks ago

Pretty much, the radmini is just what I needed out of the box. But, I did discard the useless tool kit that comes with it and replaced it with "Fix-it-Sticks". I needed a rear view mirror. Only need one for the left side since I stay to the right. So I got one at Amazon that I mounted under the left handlebar. Tiny thing but does the job and went on with no tools. I got a cool shopping bag that turns into a backpack at Amazon for $10. I also got a horse saddlebag set that is nylon and lined to keep leakage inside (ie, flexible cooler). I easily modified it to attach to the rear rack ($20). I bought a combination bike lock and an extension coiled spring for security, I attach both to the front rack when cycling. And I got insurance for $100 a year. I got a helmet. Most recently, I bought a thumb throttle that grips onto the twist throttle from Amazon for $5.

SO, didn't have to get much to make my Radmini "perfect for me".

vincent
2 weeks ago

lost i dont know why yours has the old controller, but i am sure rad will take care of you and swap it out- surely for no charge

i have a bike with the CA and it is pretty cool, but you will have to cut up wiring etc and void your warranty

definitely talk to rad and see if they will send you a new controller to try, they are easy to swap out

try that first

i tried the new controller on my radmini and did not like it at all but according to the specs it should do exactly what you want

Thomas Brohl
3 weeks ago

Anyone know what the cadence speed is in high gear at 20 mph On the RadMini?
Thanks,
Tom

Thom473
3 weeks ago

I'm about at 100 miles on my radmini and have some similar observations. I have seen the speedo say 28 going down hills just coasting (some steep hills in Benicia). On flat or slightly rising and/or headwind, PAS 5 I can barely help the motor. I don't want a higher gear, though since changing the main sprocket would cause the lowest gear to be higher and I need to get the gears down to 1 to get up some hills I have to climb. My bike does not, however, try to come up at me on climbing steeper hills. I do stay seated at all times, though; I expect the shorter stature of the mini keeps the weight lower and more centered. I don't ride in the rain nor ride off road, so I expect I'll not need fenders. All said, I am having a lot of fun on my mini. I get lots of "looks". My use is mostly 7-10 mile trips for fun or for groceries or short errands (get haircut...). Battery level indicator drops very low on full throttle or PAS 4-5 and on hills...makes sense since it is only a voltmeter (Watts = Amps times Volts). I've gone 20+ miles on a single charge and at the end of the trip in high speed the voltmeter is at the final bar which is blinking; came back to 2 full bars after stopping. I suspect the battery is useable to 80% of 48v or around 40 volts. Nice thing about LI-ion is it goes about 2000 cycles before needing to be replaced. I'm considering selling my BMW C600 since I've been using it for the same sort of short trips I'm currently using the mini for (too many toys).

Daryl Parsons
4 weeks ago

Stop waving your hand in front of the camera....we can see most of what you saying, we don't need to see your hand waving. If you talk to people do you wave your hand in their face?

Taylor Guziewicz
3 months ago

Just out of curiosity how much lighter does going tubeless make?

Taylor Guziewicz
3 months ago

It's perfect for traveling on Greyhound or another bus company.
Great for someone who doesn't own a vehicle or simply doesn't want to drive. You can go from city to city charge your battery courtesy of
bus.

Wind and Waves Mazatlan-Mex
4 months ago

Cool bro, nice reviews. By the way, when are you reviewing the MADSEN 271 KG, it would be good to have your perspective over that one, just a comment. Congrats.

Fat Bike Freak
4 months ago

Ugh...both those bikes have old people riding positions...not off-road friendly riding position...

Aquahawk
4 months ago

Didn't you already do a RadMini review? Or is this a slightly new model?

R D
4 months ago

Awesome bike, it's a all rounder very good review 👍🏻

low rez
4 months ago

This is probably an odd question but which do you think would make a better first bike/ebike? The RadMini or a Sondors?

Chris Bates
4 months ago

That front rack looks like a six pack holder. I wouldn't put too much up there, but nice to have.

Mattson McCraw
4 months ago

I think it's weird that is it's the same price as the RadRover.

Joe Price
4 months ago

I love this channel

John Moura
4 months ago

Baja to Brooklyn and back!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Oh yeah! I'm actually planning a trip to Mexico again in the next few days to visit Mony's family... lots of travel going on lately ;)

EPSTomcat11
4 months ago

What shoes is she wearing?

EPSTomcat11
3 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Thanks for asking! Yeah they did look like water shoes - Crocs maybe?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

I asked Mony and it sounds like they are water shoes, not sure on the brand :)

EPSTomcat11
4 months ago

This bike would be perfect with a 750watt mid-drive.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Thanks, the rack they chose is neat but not nearly as stable and useful as it could be if it was fixed to the head tube :)

EPSTomcat11
4 months ago

And a fixed front rack (good point)

Mark Hissner
4 months ago

What helmets are you guys using? I really like that white Bell one

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Hi Mark, I spoke to Mony about her helmet and it sounds like it was actually a loaner from Cabo Adventures and not her Specialized :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Hey Mark! I brought that helmet with me because the jaw piece disconnects from the top and I built a camera mount on it for rides. More pics and info here: https://electricbikereview.com/accessories/bell/super-2r-mips/ not sure on Mony's helmet, she just got it from a Specialized store in Colorado