Dillenger Street Legal Electric Bike Kit Review

Dillenger Street Legal Electric Bike Kit Review
Dillenger Street Legal Electric Bike Kit
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Shengyi Geared Hub Motor
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Downtube Battery Pack 36 Volts
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit King Meter Display Panel Thumb Throttle
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Remote Button Pad
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor Ring
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Battery Mounting Plate
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Battery Plug And Usb Charging Port
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Bundled Cables Zip Tied To Frame
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Front View
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Side View Battery Mount
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Wiring For Wheelm Motor
Trek 7 2 Fx Bicycle Electric Bike Conversion
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Unboxing
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Wheel With Hub Motor Boxed
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Battery Cables In Boxes
Dillenger Street Legal Electric Bike Kit Review
Dillenger Street Legal Electric Bike Kit
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Shengyi Geared Hub Motor
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Downtube Battery Pack 36 Volts
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit King Meter Display Panel Thumb Throttle
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Remote Button Pad
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor Ring
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Battery Mounting Plate
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Battery Plug And Usb Charging Port
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Bundled Cables Zip Tied To Frame
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Front View
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Side View Battery Mount
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Wiring For Wheelm Motor
Trek 7 2 Fx Bicycle Electric Bike Conversion
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Unboxing
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Wheel With Hub Motor Boxed
Dillenger Street Legal Ebike Kit Battery Cables In Boxes

Summary

  • An electric bike kit that includes everything you need to get rolling aside from an inner tube and tire (consider buying in advance or using the one off of your target bicycle)
  • Available in 20, 24, 26, 27.5 and 28 inch wheel sizes! That means you can convert everything from trikes to city bikes and even mountain bikes to electric, it's relatively easy and fast to install, the cadence sensor clips on so you don't have to remove crank arms
  • Offers a variable speed trigger throttle for smooth but instant power as well as pedal assist with a 12 magnet super-responsive cadence sensor, you also get a remote button pad for easy control of assist levels while riding
  • The geared hub motor freewheels so there's no drag but it does still add weight to your front wheel and this impacts steering (and can lead to speed wobble when riding no-handed), the axle and hub screws were were wider than our fork allowed which required some filing

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Dillenger

Model:

Street Legal Electric Bike Kit - Samsung Power

Price:

$699

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Australia, United Kingdom, Europe

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

17 lbs (7.71 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.7 lbs (3.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.3 lbs (2.85 kg) (8.7 lbs Including Wheel)

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, Eyelett

Spokes:

13 Gauge Stainless Steel, Black

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)24 in (60.96cm)26 in (66.04cm)27.5 in (69.85cm)28 in (71.12cm)

Accessories:

USB Charging Port on Battery

Other:

Locking Removable Battery, EB-BUS Waterproof Cable Set, SANS 36V 2A Smart Charger, KT Sign Wave Controller with 7-15 Amp Operating Range, Hold Up and Down to Enter and Clear Trip Meter

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Shengyi DGW07

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts (Restricted to 250 Watt in Europe)

Battery Brand:

Samsung ICR 18650-26F 2600 mAh

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

468 wh

Battery Chemistry:

LiMn2O4 Lithium Ion

Charge Time:

6.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Display Type:

King Meter KT3, Fixed, Backlit, Monochrome

Readouts:

Speed, Battery Level (4 Bars), Assist Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Meter, Max Speed, Average Speed, Voltage, Watts, Temperature

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (Restricted to 15.5 MPH in Europe)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Dillenger offers some of the most polished electric bike conversion kits I’ve tested and their Street Legal Samsung Power product is one of my favorites. This kit is well priced at ~$700 including the motor, controller, display, throttle, battery and all of the wires you need to get up and running. The only things it does not included that will require extra money and effort to install are a an inner tube and tire. This saves waste because you probably already have a tube and tire on your soon-to-be converted bicycle… but it requires some doing and possibly even tools that you don’t have like tire levers. I also used a bike stand to get this kit on and you can find them for ~$100 which will save your handlebars and seat from wear (if you plan on flipping your bike). We had to flip our bike once to modify the fork and used some of the cardboard and foam packing materials from the box which was free :D

Okay, so installing this kit took longer than I expected (or perhaps remembered as I had already installed their older version a couple years back) but that’s just how it goes sometimes… because every bike is different. In this case, we used a Trek 7.2 FX model. It seemed like the perfect platform because the downtube was very open and had bottle cage bosses (offering plenty of strength and space for the battery pack to mount). Ultimately, we ran into some challenges because the dropouts on the fork were a millimeter or two too narrow and had to be filed down to fit the hub motor axle. We also had to file the screw heads on the hub motor itself so they wouldn’t rub on the sleek fork. This kind of alteration is always a little scary and might require even more tools (we used a standard mill bastard file) but that’s what I’ve come to expect with kits because it’s never truly one size fits all. I love that this kit comes in a range of wheel sizes 20″ to 29″ where the motor is spoked-in to a rim. That versatility comes with the trade-off of not being perfectly suited to any one specific bike. The rim might be narrower or wider than yours and the spoke colors might not match. I actually really like the black paint job on the hub motor, spokes and rim here because it helps them to blend in. There’s always going to be some screwing around when it comes to kits and even if the effort is minimal, the extra wires aren’t going to look as sleek and clean as if they were run through the frame, as is the case with purpose-built electric bikes. For this build, we were using a black bike so the black wires sort of fade away and the whole thing turned out really nice.

I like saving money, I love how well designed the Dillenger kits are (with color coded wires) and appreciate more open systems that give you throttle and pedal assist modes (making this a Class 2 ebike). I was a bit surprised that you can’t use the throttle at assist level zero for “throttle only” operation but it works great in level 1 and offers full power with variable output (so you can press gently for slower, less powerful operation). I enjoyed riding around with minimal assist then juicing it to climb a hill, take off from a stop sign or catch up with my friend. The display, throttle and independent button pad (used to switch the display on and select from five levels of assist) were easy to position and ultimately reach while riding. Our brake levers were integrated with the shifters and that kept the cockpit clean but didn’t align as well for the brake lever motor inhibitor sensors. The display isn’t removable which is a bit sad given how nice it looks (hoping nobody messes with it at the bike racks). I also struggled to figure out how to change settings like going from metric to imperial but my guess is that it’s possible? To activate backlighting you just hold the up arrow for a few seconds and holding the down button will turn on walk mode which is neat.

At 350 watts (250 for parts of Europe) the power offered by this kit is average but the battery pack is above average with 36 volts and 13 amp hours! That’s nearly a half kilowatt hour total meaning you should go further with each charge. Of course, if you don’t pedal and constantly gun it to top speed your mileage may suffer. The Euro version should deliver higher range as air resistance efficiency loss is much lower at lower speed. Note that you can ride above the top assisted speed if you pedal hard and the wheel freewheels efficiently, nothing will hold you back besides your own strength and endurance :) At the end of the day, the kit isn’t quite perfect (I wish it came with a paper instruction sheet for one) but I guess that just like the tube and tire, they are saving money and reducing waste. Instructions are available online and Dillenger has wonderful customer support options with multiple phone numbers (for the US, UK and Australia where the company is based). Even though I’ve stated that the motor size/power is average, in my experience it’s enough for pleasurable rides around town and small to medium hills. There’s always a trade-off when it comes to weight and price, what the Street Legal kit offers is great value and in practice it more than doubles my own pedaling output. The entire kit only adds ~17 lbs to your bike and the removable battery is convenient and easy to work with. This is a winner in my book and it’s easy to see why the kit is a top seller for Dillenger. Big thanks to Dillenger for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • Relatively affordable if you’ve got a pre-existing bike to work with, you get the motor, controller, battery, display and all of the wires needed to get up and running for well under $1k
  • The packaging looked great and seemed very well padded, none of the parts were damaged or missing! Frequently I receive kits or even ebikes with missing screws and damage, Dillenger also offers a solid 1 year comprehensive warranty
  • The kit is indeed street legal in most situations, it maxes out at 20 mph but includes both assist and throttle mode for versatile riding, I like the throttle for use when starting at zero to reduce strain on my knees
  • The front wheel design is super easy to install, way less complex than a rear wheel ebike kit, and the wires are all color coded to make them intuitive to figure out, you also get plenty of zip ties but I was a bit surprised that our kit didn’t have an instruction sheet? We had to go online to figure it out, I also love that the cadence sensor uses a clip-on design so you don’t have to remove the cranks on your bike
  • The display is large, backlit and offers a ton of readouts including speed, odometer, battery level, voltage, watts and access to assist settings, it’s not removable but for what it is, it works well… I love that you get a separate button pad because it makes changing levels easy, you don’t have to take your hand off the grip
  • The battery pack locks to the frame for security but is removable for convenient charging, there’s a built-in LED scale to communicate charge level even when it’s off the bike and a female USB port for charging portable electronics! It’s a solid design and the capacity of nearly 1/2 kilowatt hour is great, I also trust and prefer Samsung cells to generic
  • I love that the kit included brake sensors so you can improve safety (cutting power to the system whenever you brake) and that if you decide to not use them, the system still works
  • Dillenger offers this kit in multiple wheel sizes including 20″, 24″, 26″, 27.5″ and 700c 28″ so you can use it with some trikes, smaller bikes, city bikes and mountain bikes
  • I like that the kit comes with a trigger throttle because it means you don’t have to cut your grip in half, triggers are also easier to use if you ride on bumpy terrain, they don’t compromise your grip at all

Cons:

  • The wheel doesn’t come with a tube or tire so you have to spend extra time swapping it from your original wheel… this means switching back to non-electric takes longer or you have to spend more money to buy an additional tube/tire but it also that there’s less waste and probably keeps the kit cheaper and lighter to ship
  • We weren’t able to figure out how to switch from metric to imperial or enter into the menu and adjust the number of pedal assist levels… we did figure out the backlighting though, just hold the up button
  • We had to file the dropouts on our Trek 7.2 FX bicycle to fit the larger axle that’s setup with the kit (it’s ~9.9 mm wide) we also had to file some of the screw heads because they were scraping the fork… but it worked!
  • You need to be in one of the five levels of pedal assist to use the throttle, I love that it overrides at full power but kind of wish it worked at level zero for throttle-only mode
  • The battery box is fairly large and took up the entire downtube triangle area on our test bike so even though there was a second set of bottle cage bosses we couldn’t use them, it’s just bulkier than some new purpose built ebikes with downtube integrated batteries
  • Front-wheel powered electric bikes don’t usually offer as much traction because your body weight is usually further back over the rear wheel, I also feel that the added weight of the hub motor changes steering a bit and was told by Darlington that he felt speed wobble when trying to ride with no hands (this is when the bars vibrate back and forth with increasing speed)
  • It wasn’t obvious which way to point the wheel… I have installed kits before only to find out that the motor is spinning backwards! I wish there was an arrow on the wheel or more information in the instructions
  • Kits tend to have “one size fits all” extra long cables and that means you end up wrapping them and zip tying them to the bike, be sure to clip the ends of the zip ties close so you don’t get scratched, I used a tool like this, even if you do a GREAT job the bike still looks a bit messier than if the cables were the perfect length or integrated through the frame
  • Activating this kit is a two step process… you have to press a power button on the battery then hold the power button on the control pad as well, it’s not a huge deal and this isolates power on the battery to reduce phantom draw and improve stability but it does add time and not all purpose built ebikes are two-step like this

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Dillenger Reviews

Dillenger 750W Gearless Electric Bike Kit Review

  • MSRP: $999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A powerful electric bike kit designed to replace your existing rear wheel (works with 24", 26" and ~28" wheels). Offers throttle mode and five levels of pedal assist, locking removable battery, great wire management...

Dillenger 350W Geared Electric Bike Kit Review

  • MSRP: $989
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the easiest electric bike kits to install that I've ever tested, front wheel mounting, color coded quick-connect wires, clip-on 12 magnet cadence sensor ring. Offers both throttle mode and pedal assist with five levels, can reach 20 mph in…...

Dan
1 year ago

I purchased this kit about 2 months ago. Below is my experience with it!

  1. Installation: Installation went relatively smoothly. I had some issues centering the motor / wheel and aligning the brakes, but this is mostly because I’m not an expert at bikes. I was unable to initially install the cadence sensor. I had to purchase a longer crank arm connector piece (not sure what it’s called). Apparently they come in multiple sizes, and mine was the shortest version. It was only a matter of millimeters. Once that was installed, the cadence sensor worked as well. (Until then I was able to use the throttle). One minor inconvenience is that many of the wires are quite long. If you’re installing on a really long bike or something like that, this is helpful, I suppose. It seems like it’d be helpful to include shorter wires for normal sized bikes so you don’t have bundles of extra wires to secure that look a bit messy.
  2. Riding around: The 350W motor is quite powerful. It powers me effortlessly up hills. Usually I pedal along, as that makes the pedal assist work. But I could probably get up hills without pedaling at all, should I really be lazy. I also pull a trailer with two toddlers. I’m not sure how fast I’d be going if I wasn’t pedaling, but just pedaling normally / lightly, I’m able to go up hills at 12 – 15 mph while pulling a trailer! It makes transporting the kids a breeze! Yesterday I probably biked about 20 hilly miles, and the battery was still indicating half full. The throttle is super-helpful for starting up at red lights, especially since I tend to leave the bike in higher gears now. Maybe – going up hills, I downshift into a mid level gear. I haven’t used granny gear since I got the kit. Overall, this kit is both powerful and has a lot of capacity. I can’t see needing anything more powerful – at least on normal streets! It really wouldn’t feel safe to go much faster!
  3. Concerns and annoyances: The computer is terrible. To adjust any of the settings requires a lengthy sequence of button pushes that don’t seem to lead where they’re supposed to. The computer takes up a lot of space on the dash, when all I think I’d really want is what power assist level I’m in (1-5), and my battery life. Things like speed seem to be flat out wrong. And there’s a dozen or so other metrics that just aren’t necessary or useful. Things like temperature (I’m outside already, I don’t need the bike to tell me that I’m hot or cold!), the amount of time the bike has been turned on this trip; the amount of time the bike has been turned on – ever; take up lots of space on the computer and on the dash had have limited value. I had to move my light and bell to make room for the large computer… bummer. It doesn’t really seem to effect the operation of the bike, however. It’d be nice if it had a built in light or something, especially since the computer takes the space where lights are mounted.
  4. The motor seems to cut out briefly when going up long hills. Not sure what’s happening – if it’s overheating, or switching gears, or what? It doesn’t seem to be a big deal – it maybe only cuts out for a second or so…. as long as this doesn’t become more frequent or for longer intervals, it’s not a big deal.
  5. A couple times, the unit has failed to turn on and has indicated that the battery is dead when it has at least half capacity. Eventually, after trying to turn it on a few times, it has worked. Concerning, but as long as it continues to work, not a big problem.

Anyhow, overall, I think this was the right unit for the right price. At $700, it’s not the cheapest model out there, but it’s a really good option that seems to have a fair bit of power and capacity. And why a lot of the reviews, etc. seem to try to steer you to a mid-drive kit, I really think that the front drive seems to be the simplest and the cadence sensor + throttle is very simple and very effective.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Excellent feedback Dan! Thanks for taking the time to share and help others. I agree with many of your points and also appreciate the simplicity of a front hub motor and hope we see more integrated light options… especially if it was just a headlight since the display is already there and taking up space as you mentioned :)

Reply
Dan
1 year ago

One thing – here on your website you have an extra 0 in the prices for this company’s bikes. Obviously this is a $700 kit, not a $7000 kit. But if you search by price, it might come up incorrectly.

Drummond
1 year ago

I bought a Dillenger Hunter Hub 2016, in summary, the ‘bulletproof’ hub motor broke after about 200 miles of gentle use not offroad. Dillenger took 2 months to diagnose the problem, then offered to deliver after a further 2 months or deliver faster for 150gbp. The bike is under warranty only 3 months old. The marketing proudly pronounces this bike is based on their popular and proven tried and tested kit, using exactly the same motor. However Dillenger say they cannot send a motor from the UK (where I’m based) from one of their kits which are in stock. So overall 4 months to send another ‘bulletproof’ replacement motor or pay alot of money. Sent tens of emails to sort it out, and had to take the bike apart for their diagnosis, in total messing about probably over a week’s work.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Ouch, I’m sorry to hear about all the hassle you’ve gone through Drummond. Thanks for sharing here… and waiting to do so until you tried working with them a bit to find a solution. I hope that your problem is resolved soon and that they are able to avoid this type of situation with other customers in the future :/

Reply
Jack
9 months ago

I installed the 350 watt kit on my Trek bike a couple years ago. It worked beautifully for about a month and then began to quit if the throttle was advanced too far. Soon it quit altogether. The support was horrible. They wanted me to send a video of the failure happening. That was an impossibility for me. I offered to purchase any parts needed if they could tell what I needed. No way, the video was still required. They are in Australia so any hope of visiting their facility is certainly limited. I ended up giving the kit to a neighbor who is an electrical engineer. I do not know if he was able to get it working. Also, the entire kit is made in China so I would guess Dillenger is merely a reseller. If you buy one do not expect much in the way of service.

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Ouch… sorry to hear about that Jack. I wish I had the ability to predict more or warn about possible issues but I appreciate you giving a testimonial here and being pretty fair and even-toned about it. I hope your next ebike experience is better :/

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

WilliamT
3 weeks ago

I have a 350 watt geared front hub kit from Dillenger and I use it on my daily commuter. It uses HIGO connectors that do a good job of keeping water out. I've have about 700 miles on it so far and have ridden through heavy downpours in it and in freezing temperatures. It's been a reliable workhorse. The motor has a good amount of torque and can get my bike going pretty quickly with just a flip of the throttle. The kit comes with a 13.6ah Samsung battery that gives me a range of 30 miles on a 120 lb electric cargo bike using level 3/5 with pedal assist. At that assist, I do about 16-18 mph, and on level 4/5 I get 19-21 mph with assist. On my previous hard tail where it weighed 45 lbs (w/kit) I was able to go 45-50 miles on a single charge.

I have purchased 2 kits from then (1st gen and 2nd gen) and have been pleased with them. Just get yourself from some Grin torque arms and your all set. (Total kit price $629)

https://dillengerelectricbikes.com/electric-bike-kits/best-sellers/street-legal-electric-bike-kit-samsung-power-13ah-by-dillenger.html

You can download the user manual to install it yourself. Its easy to follow and was the first kit I did myself on my existing bike. It was pretty easy.

fxr3
1 month ago

As seen on the front view picture above, the whole wiring is removed from outside the handlebar. This is all done by myStromer AG, a tiny company from Switzerland.

Now let's have a look how Bosch, a very large player in the E-bike sector, solves this problem:

You'll recognize the horn and the Supernova M99pro. Therefore it's clearly more than a prototype, it is a 2018 street legal e-bike. It carries Bosch' new invention, the ABS system for electric bicycles. The huge thing above #3 is Bosch's own bike computer. Keep in mind, the ST5 shown at Eurobike was also a prototype...

Picture taken at EICMA motorcycle fair in Milano and first published in german eMTB news.
You don’t have to go that far to critique Bosch.
They just started putting battery in “the tube”,
As in where it should have been all along.

bluecat
1 month ago

As seen on the front view picture above, the whole wiring is removed from outside the handlebar. This is all done by myStromer AG, a tiny company from Switzerland.

Now let's have a look how Bosch, a very large player in the E-bike sector, solves this problem:

You'll recognize the horn and the Supernova M99pro. Therefore it's clearly more than a prototype, it is a 2018 street legal e-bike. It carries Bosch' new invention, the ABS system for electric bicycles. The huge thing above #3 is Bosch's own bike computer. Keep in mind, the ST5 shown at Eurobike was also a prototype...

Picture taken at EICMA motorcycle fair in Milano and first published in german eMTB news.

Robert W Green
2 months ago

Hi Harry,

Don’t really follow much on Endless Sphere. Karl called it Endless Drama. I know the people know a lot more than I do in any technical area.

It seems like Lectric Cycle has gotten pretty heavily involved in these DDIY (Don’t Do It Yourself) kits, prebuilt kits. So I assume over the last year or so it hasn’t blown up in their face. The difference in price between Lectric and Luna is a little shocking.

The mounting point of Bafang drives is the weak link, I guess. Maybe they can beef it up if they sell specific bikes. Put an additional mount somewhere, built for the Giant. Luna is trying to sell the BBSHD as a street legal version. If that’s really 750 watts, the drive is going to be pretty bullet-proof. Maybe they can include the tools to keep it tight. I don’t know how bulletproof the packs are in the cradles, but I’m sure there are ways to insure the integrity. I use fasteners on my Luna Shark.

I have a hard time buying into the argument there is something magical in the engineering of a bike built to be an ebike. Trying to adapt the BBS drives to every bike out there is tough, and some people have real problems. How many people really ride the bikes hard? Some of this is about comfort. But if you find a really nice bike and work through all the stuff that makes the build a good build, I wonder how different it is? The reviews say the Giant MTB is a very nice bike, great value. The HD has been reliable, and the street version is a half power version of an over-engineered drive. I’m asking for an objective comparison of real bikes that people actually use. With the Giant/HD, there is a bike you can compare to something in the Bulls or Haibike lines. Is it going to happen? The industry doesn’t really want to take DIY stuff that seriously. And the industry is too small.

Two years ago I bought a Bigcat Fatcat XL, my first purpose built ebike. At $1550 it was not a bad bike and the mechanical parts still work but the electric parts have stopped communicating(error code 30). It's been in the shop for going on 5 weeks and I expect to get the call any day now that 'they did everything that they could do but the patient just didn't make it. Sorry Mr. Green.' I know that my bike couldn't compare with a higher end bike for quality and performance, but in the end you all will get the same call for the ebike part of your bike. Now what do I do with this half a bike. At least with my new ebike conversion( a Sun EZ-1 Supercruiser with BBS02) if the electric parts fail or the whole kit dies I can turn it back into an unpowered bike. My Fatcat will be an awful unpowered bike and I just don't have the money to gut it and start over with a kit. RIP Fatcat XL. I'll probably change my mind later but right now I prefer kits. What the ebike world needs is more available spare parts.

DR Win
3 months ago

I understand your "pain". I'm 78 (male) and losing my eyesight (macular degeneration) for driving and have been looking at ebikes as a solution for getting around when I lose my drivers license. Fortunately in our small Western Montana town it is mostly flat in the valley. But I want to be able to haul panniers full of groceries, beer, wine, etc. We have one bike shop in town with limited experience with ebikes but it was important to me to deal locally so that I would be welcome when I needed service done. (Next nearest LBSs are 40 miles away) As a result I finally decided on a 2018 Giant Quick E+. It has a reasonably good set of components along with 2" tires. No front suspension unfortunately but I plan to install a BodyFloat suspension seat post once I take delivery as well as a rack for a trunk bag cum panniers. The upshot is: my suggestion would be to look locally and see what brands of ebikes your local bike shops handle.
"ebikes as a solution for getting around when I lose my drivers license." If your vision has gone bad, this is a pretty risky move. Drivers make it bad enough even when the cyclist has good vision. My own plan is a small electric car, like an enclosed golf cart; street legal without a license in CA.

Dewey
4 months ago

The Reddit ebikes forum has a lot of information about the first generation Schwinn ebikes, including links to service manuals, battery pack teardowns, etc.

The Schwinn Tailwind is a good option for converting to a city/commuter ebike with a replacement 36v or 48v front hub kit motor/battery in a 700c wheel. Someone in Texas is selling them on eBay for $325 with free shipping. The Nexus IGH, full chain case, front suspension fork, swept back handlebars, and upright riding position are desirable features on a city bike, the front rim brake ought to be replaced with a disk brake or hydraulic rim brake as the rear only uses a roller brake, and you would need to remove the original 24v tongxin front hub motor and toshiba rack battery, but as these were lashed to the bike with zip ties the wiring should be easy to cut off. This would be a good donor frame for a front hub kit motor/battery like a Dillenger 36v kit in a 700c wheel although there are no bottle cage bosses on the frame so you would need to tie the battery pack to the rack.

john peck
4 months ago

It's pricy, if you get the hyper-extended range battery pack & coming on the market next month, but
Juiced Bike's Hyperfat fat bike has boocoo power to get you anywhere. At 1000 watts it may have
a bit more power than is exactly legal, but having once weighed #350, the extra watts are a plus.
it's solid, but may be faster than you're comfortable with. It's a beast! I just bought Juiced's CCS,
I've waited for years for an electric bike with this kind of range & features. I've looked a lot of
$5k bikes that don't get close. $2400 with the long range battery pack, $1700 standard. Not
cheap, but not outrageous. Image shown is the CCS, 650 watts totally street legal in U.S. 100 mi +.
Their U500 might also suit your needs.

1/1
Marleen
5 months ago

Court thanks for your feedback, as always very much appreciated!
And for your kind words! You must know my mom is equally if not much cooler than I am ;-) and I am just as happy and proud for having her in my life and riding bikes.
I always say she is The Original I am 'just' The Remix ;-) She disagrees, of course ;-)
But ok I shall stop this shameless pouring of love now for this is after all a bike forum!

Although you are quite right to point out that I have a deep and rather strong love for Electra too, the feeling just hasn't been completely reciprocated yet ;-) but I remain optimistic!
I actually am in contact now with the freshly appointed manager for the Benelux area so that's a start ;-)
While he still has to set up shop here properly, as he only started this brandnew(!) job last monday, he seems like a nice guy and willing to help us.
Besides trying to answer the already mentioned questions / issues raised here, he actually promised to try and get one demo bike (most probably the Loft Go!) from Hamburg to the Third World Bicycle Country that is The Netherlands ;-) Hallelujah! ;-)
I am of course still trying, as hard as I can, with all my super powers, to persuade him to ship all three! For naturally I would still very much prefer for us to be able to check out and test ride all of the available models before actually buying one.

Especially because, while we are familiar with all the different cruiser models from Electra, neither of us have ever taken a ride on an actual Townie model! And the Townie is quite different compared with the classic cruiser. I mean with its much smaller and straight steer you just have to end up being in a very different seating position than on a cruiser while cycling? To me it seems you would be in a less laid back position? I am now actually trying to hunt down a regular Townie somewhere in the neighborhood asap so we could at least try the fit of this bike first. I mean it would help a lot were we to find out we could eliminate the Townie from the options. Or if it turned out to be the complete opposite of course.

Which leads me to another interesting question; why is there actually no electric version of the cruiser model? So an Electra Classic Cruiser Go! It seems pretty odd right, especially considering all of the different new ebike models Electra has now presented. And considering that, to me at least, the cruiser is still the ultimate embodiment of what Electra is.

So all in all chances are still pretty big we shall head to Hamburg in the near future to be able to check out and test the entire Go! family ourselves. So yes I guess that is how far (pun unintended sorry) our Electra love goes ;-) In which case btw we shall of course report on our findings extensively right here!

Weird story about leaving out the walk assistance option btw.
Now the rules on the European market are of course different to those in the US. Here in The Netherlands there are f.e. no such classifications or legal limitations to enabling a function like walk assist. But I was told that the first generation Bosch Go! bikes form Electra indeed also didn't have this feature in Europe. I am still waiting for a final answer from Electra Benelux about whether they have in the meantime altered this for the European market; meaning this function could now indeed be enabled in Europe. To be continued!

The point you made Court about the potential risk of the moving pedals with walk assist is indeed something to take into account. On the other hand most bikes here that actually have walk assist don't have their pedals moving when it is turned on. I think that depends on the type of gears you have on the bike? My guess is the only plausible explanation for it being disabled Stateside is out of fear for legal liability. In Europe we have completely different legislation when it comes to this. Then again chances are slim they will make an exception for Europe for all the bikes are imported from the US here if I am right? Much easier of course to make just one type per model bike for the whole market.

Quite an eyeopener btw to point out here that the Townie Loft actually sports a different, less powerful, model Bosch motor (the Active line) Whereas both the Townie Go and the Commute Go! actually sport the more powerful Bosch Performance line. I actually have printouts of the different specs on the Electra website so my mum and myself could visualize the differences better, but on these the difference between active and performance line motor is not mentioned. It is on the website but somehow just not on these? (These print-outs appear after you click on the small specs plus print icon top left on the picture of any choosen bike on the Electra website)

But I like your thoughts on why they might have opted for this less powerful motor on the Loft model. ("slower to start, weaker overall so it will expand battery range and feel safer and more predictable to riders maybe") Therefore it might even end up being a better option when more safety and stability are your absolute priorities!
But then again on paper the overall position just seems less relaxed, less laid back. It somehow reminds me of the citybikes the Italians ride. I don't know if anybody else knows what I am talking about here? Plus the saddle doesn't have the shock absorbing elastomers like the Townie and Commute, it does have a spring though. Curious what kind of an effect that has.

And then there are the 28 inch tires, not as fat as the 26 inch fat franks on the Townie Go! plus they do bring up the whole bike just that tad bit higher. When you look at the pictures of the different models next to each other, it even looks like the distance between the crank and the upper tube is a bit bigger with both the Commute and the Loft. This seems irrelevant but when you are older and/or smaller this could just turn out to be that tad bit annoying when mounting/ dismounting your bike.

Plus your conclusion that the less powerful motor must effect battery range must be apt too, for the accu still has the same power as on the bikes with the stronger more powerful motors. Then again this is not mentioned by Electra. The specs when it comes to distances are the same for all the different Go! types: "20-100 miles / 40-120 km depending on your mode and terrain"

On a side note; as much as I really enjoy and love the happy, colorful and flashy Electra website for it seems completely in sync with the whole brand/ 'cycling as a lifestyle' idea. When it comes to the tech specs they could maybe improve it a little. Moustache f.e. has this cool drawn model of each specific bike type with all the measurements mentioned. And no that wouldn't just be cool for so called 'geeky bike nerds' (nothing but love and respect there) but it could really help out anyone while trying to narrow down the exact type of bike of your preference. Especially since there sadly is not an Electra (e)bike shop or showroom on every street corner, which makes the online availability of relevant and correct information, be it technical, just practical or visual all the more important!

Ok enough said for now.
I shall return here as soon as I get some interesting new info thru the Benelux manager. And of course as soon as I have managed to get my hands on one, or even better, on all of the new Go! models myself.
In the meantime I shall be dreaming of the apparently impossible combination; an actual electric classic cruiser bike by Electra. Or as Court said quite rightly; why to his surprise they (just) haven't put larger beach bars on the Townie Go?

TruTru9
7 months ago

You sound like a very nice brother and generous.

I don't think you want to suprise your brother with this.....special needs or not.

Does he currently ride a bicycle on a regular basis? Cause if he doesn't he's going to be overwhelmed by a really fast bicycle..

I wish I could take credit for the idea. It was one of his co-worker's that had the idea to get him an ebike.

He has a single speed bike that he has been riding to work. He is starting to dislike buses. He takes back roads and neighborhoods to avoid the bike lane as much as possible. It takes him hours to get to work. One of his co-workers came up with the idea to hook him up with an electric bike so the commute doesn't have to be so 'hard' and a little bit more 'fun'

I thought I made a decision and ordered the raleigh redux small but the order ended up not going through and of course I'm having second thoughts now.

We have a few special needs customers, and they tend to be hard on their bikes and greatly benefit from having us nearby to help with any issues. If possible, I suggest buying from someone within riding distance.

This is exactly why I wanted to find something that's low maintenance as possible. So I was looking at bikes with internal hubs, nuvinci harmony, belt drives etc etc just so that everything can be as simple as possible and it's not so overwhelming but then I decided to just break the surprise. I TOLD him he is getting an ebike and I regret it so much because now he has a FAVORITE and of course it's the fastest and the super super expensive one. He doesn't understand money :) He wanted the Bulls E-stream FS 45 which doesn't even look like it's street legal. So now, no matter what else I get, it's going to be the 2nd best :(

ShumaBike
7 months ago

https://electricbikereview.com/voltbike/enduro/
some pics at the end

Hey. This is my first post and my first bike since I was in my teens, so if I misuse terms or I sound like a laymen it's because I am!

As a bit of history I have been commuting by car in the city of Boston for the last five or so years. Boston is a terrible city for car commuting, there are few parking spots, minor collisions are inevitable (I was hit at least four times between 2014 and my cars unfortunate death two months ago), tickets are a fact of life if you are forced into street parking like I was, and it's the most expensive insurance market in the country (A year in car insurance on a used VW alone pretty much buys this bike).

That's all before my car was totaled when a semi rear ended me. I was done driving in this warzone.

The Bike

Cost:

I settled on the Enduro after doing a ton of research into alternative modes of transportation and then watching/reading plenty of reviews on this site. I tried to buy a clearance bike from a local bike shop that sold FELT electrics, but they just weren't able to bring the price to something I could accept. I think a four thousand dollar electric bike is probably worth the price, but so does every bike thief in the city and that's a liability I just wasn't into. That said, I also didn't want to go cheap, this site did a pretty good job convincing me that trying to go as cheap as I could was going to result in a bad experience.

I had initially tried to buy the IZIP E3 Vibe+ but that was back ordered for months. I'm glad I didn't as the roads in Boston are often a step away from disintegrating and the shocks are great to have. I feel like the Voltbike Enduro is the perfect price for someone in my situation and I haven't felt let down at all by the product. So far it's been worth every penny. With the 70 dollar shipping, free helmet, a Kryptonite bike lock and other minor accessories I have spent about $2,000 so far. An eighth the cost of the car its replacing, and that thing was used. I am excited watching the overall cost of electrics go down. I feel like this bike is part of a new generation of higher quality bikes that still sit in a somewhat affordable price range.

Initial experience:

The box came pretty beat up, but it looked almost identical to the one in this sites review unit, so I guess that's just standard for bike shipping The review had no problem with it and the bike suffered no damage I could notice. The bike assembly was easy. I was able to figure it out with no instructions within a half hour of getting the box shipped to my office. This is coming from someone who has never assembled or even tuned a bike before, so that's a good thing.

The gearing was notably misaligned and the brakes were very loose out of the box. The rear air shock was also so over-filled it felt like it did nothing at all. I didn't fix anything for my first week, but the chain was dropping and it felt a little unsafe. Once I had some time alone with the bike and some youtube tutorials I was able to tune the derailleur and tighten the brakes. The brakes were easy, but tuning up gearing on a bike is not an easy process if you've never done anything like it before. I also made the exact mistake Court made in his review where I released all the air from the rear shock at once. Having no shock felt the same as an over-full one, except the bike then ran a good deal shorter. Luckily a local bike shop was nice enough to refill it for me and now it feels great. I would strongly suggest getting the bike tuned up out of the box if you're able, most aspect that can be tinkered with in my experience needed to be.

100 miles in:

I've had the bike for a few weeks and I passed the 100 mile mark on the trip meter today. Tuned up the bike runs wonderfully. Once I found the password and upped the governor to 28mph my commute time dropped noticeably. The battery doesn't last very long at the max power AND speed settings, with a range that feels to be around 20 miles, but I was getting better performance when I was trying to ride conservatively at a middle power setting and had not yet ungoverned the motor. I believe the documented min/max distances and I had been expecting a loss in battery life when I pushed the motor to a 28 cap. I find it very strange that they limited the motor to 14 MPH, which seems well below a legal limit anywhere, and I would suggest immediately upping it to whatever setting you feel comfortable with (there's a hard cap at 28). The motor can not hit the 28 mph it theoretically limits at. Even downhill while pedaling pretty hard passing 26mph is difficult and the tires are not built for speed, but it's relatively easy to maintain 20-23mph speeds on flat ground while sitting down. That has felt perfectly fine for me, Boston has a lot of stop signs and few straights. I think this is just an aspect of gearing, the bike just doesn't have a high enough gear for the motor to provide useful torque at speeds above the low 20's.

I have had one hiccup where at what looked to be 20% power the motor began to stutter, with the battery at one point seemingly dying. I popped the battery out and put it back in and it ran well enough to get me back home. I suspect this may have something to do with maxing out the engines cap, or it could be that the system inaccurately reads the batteries charge state at low levels. It ran fine the next day after a charge, so I am keeping watch.

The bike survived riding in a thunderstorm just fine, but I did get pretty wet. Fenders would be nice, but probably aren't realistic given the style of bike this is. It's a tradeoff, the rear shocks make the bumpy streets much smoother. If I had the choice I would go with the shocks over staying dry, but that's a personal preference.

I am a 6 foot 200 pound male and I mirror some of the complaints Court had in his review. Even raising the seat and setting it as far forward as possible it feels like there is too much distance between me and the handlebars. I've gotten used to it, but this is not a bike for small people and I would prefer the bike not be so long. It's also hell to get up to my second story apartment. I have been switching between upstairs and in the buildings basement. The weight makes the second floor climb annoying, but the bikes length makes navigating the tight basement stairs equally difficult. I am a gym goer, but this is a very awkward thing to carry with few good places to grasp. Again, this is not a bike for small people.

The bikes appearance is great. I have received several compliments on it. The matte black paint scheme is very attractive and I am happy that it lacks some of the more extreme sports inspired flourishes bikes often have in their design and paint jobs. I have made converts out of several co workers with both the looks and by giving them a ride. Most people are surprised trying an electric for the first time. It's an easy sell. The motorcycle style helmet is kinda dorky, but maybe that's just how it sits on me. It's definitely a fashion statement. The helmet is comfortable and feels sturdy and safe, so that's a plus.

Wrapup:

I really like this bike. If the battery hiccup mentioned earlier turns out to be nothing then it'll be a purchase I have absolutely no regrets about and would suggest to anyone above a certain physical size. Looking at bikes that are twice the cost I can see their quality, but I think this thing holds its own. Looking at other bikes in the same price category or cheaper and this bike suddenly looks like an amazing value. The previously mentioned IZIP E3 Vibe+ has a rear rack serving as a fender and a step through frame but totally lacks the shocks that make this a great commuter at high speeds.

I am not a hardcore bike guy, and while I do a lot of hiking I have never done mountain biking. I'd like to in the future, but this is strictly from the perspective of a commuter. As a commuter this bike has been a dream, and riding is much more pleasant than driving. The weight is high and the bike is just too big overall, but that comes with the territory of a one size fits all approach. I have gotten a little bit of bike elitism thrown at me for buying an Electric with one co-worker jokingly (or maybe not?) saying they would beat me up if they saw me on a trail with it. This bike does not feel like it has the torque to actually damage a trail, but it's heavy so if you're skidding around every corner you could probably do some damage. But then so could anyone on any bike. I guess that comes with the territory of joining a new subculture. That one instance doesn't outweigh the good things people have been saying about the bike and I feel great riding it.

If you have any questions feel free to ask. I'll probably add to this if anything new pops up.

1/2
fxr3
7 months ago

That's what makes laws work in the US, otherwise you'd need a cop on every street corner. As it is too many disregard "worse case", that tends to fill the jails and leaves victims in the wake. Willfully riding an ebike too powerful by law on a bike path and having an "accident" that seriously hurts someone, let alone a kid, changes the legal charge from civil to criminal.
That quote sounds perfect. Have you ever driven over speed limit? I didn't say I roll up and down bike path at 28mph.
Ask a young family with stroller and youngster dragging behind on tricycle what they think of new law allowing electric bikes to zip up and down path at 20mph.
I bought my 28mph bike before laws were written, and ride at speeds that are safe for everyone. I am a good example of why ebikes are not bad. In any 28 vs 20mph factory bike I can think of- the 20mph is the more powerful of the two.
Can you tell the difference between st1 platinum and st1 elite? Haibike full seven 45 or full seven 20mph? If everybody self polices as you suggest, why are their cops at all?
If I had to choose now after the fact, I probably would choose the legal 20mph bike. My normal ride to beach was 9 miles one way. 3 miles were heavenly multiuse paths and the other six were bike lanes. By keeping my speed below 20 on paths and way lower as situation dictated, yea, I'm going to break that law. In fact, in Ventura, CA, the path has multiple signs stating "no motorized bicycles". Would you not ride on the path at all or would you ride responsibly and low key enough to enjoy that nice car free path?

Dewey
8 months ago

do I want/need a 500w motor and what is the difference in performance between a 36 V and 48V battery?
Hi Dave,

I think Maryland regulates ebike power to 500W, but in Tennessee ebikes are not regulated according to Wikipedia. The federal CPSC regulated ebike definition is 750W and 20mph and this definition is used by insurers. Peak power is calculated by multiplying the battery voltage by the amp setting in the controller e.g. 36V x 18A = 648W, or 48V x 25A = 1200W, usually controller amps are listed on the tech specs. This blog post describes how to calculate the watt hours of a battery pack which helps estimate range. Climbing ability is sometimes described in terms of torque, in his reviews on this site Court Rye generally lists torque rating in Newton Meters. There are a few articles that talk about the pros and cons of different types of ebike motors e.g here, and here. Some off-road riders advocate for high-power electric motorcycles but the mountain bike community does not want ebikes to threaten bike access to trails. People for Bikes have a database of eMTB trails for off-roading.

Martin Delira
1 month ago

Can anyone comment on their reliability? I will put 900 miles a month on one of these.

Andy Nguyen
3 months ago

Why not just by an actual ebike it cost the same

Kevin
3 months ago

Hi I am very interested in this kit and considering getting it very soon. I wanna know if there is any reliability issues and is the 27.5 disc brake compatible?

sponge720
4 months ago

Thank you, thank you! I was going to buy another kit that looked questionable at best until I saw this review and kit. Sold.

Bklyn Sleepy
5 months ago

I want to go to a shop in NYC and get a ebike to make delivery but I heard it's illegal i was planing to spend 1000 or a little more what do u think??

Christiaan Baron
6 months ago

it is like putting an electric motor on an exercise machine

John Doe
6 months ago

I wanted to pull the trigger on one of these but there's a lot of comments saying they stop working after a month or two and then Dillenger are terrible to resolve the problem. I see Darlington below states the same that it broke after a month or so. I'd love to know if it got resolved or not and if the unit is still working after all this time. I'm not dropping around 1k on something that's got no longevity.

Jessa Phillips
6 months ago

I think a bike like this with a front electric motor using pedal assist is probably as good for snow as a twin motor ebike and more efficient for the daily ride

Jennifer Gerbi
7 months ago

Great video. How did you end up getting the screws mounting the motor to clear the fork arms? That seems like a pretty significant issue...

Charles Twitchell
3 weeks ago

Just installed mine. Had the same issue. I had an aluminum fork and was able to spread it wider and use spacers. Seems. Fine now. But it was annoying at first. Had to drop by my bike shop thinking I would need a different fork.

John Doe
6 months ago

You'd probably need to use a spacer.

Charles Hicks
7 months ago

What rack is on the back

Iishana Artra
7 months ago

super helpful.

Bill B
8 months ago

This review was very helpful, thanks! I just ordered a kit and can't wait.

Peter Elverson
8 months ago

I was curious about how the cadence sensor is attached. It seems like the disc was just very loosely held on and could easily be knocked out of alignment. How is it secured? And how good is that method?

Dale Wildey
10 months ago

Nice kit, looks very straight forward to install. Sometimes a bit of fabricating would be necessary as all bikes are made from different parts. Most Joes or Joanne's should be able to get it working. Good video thanks

cold productions
1 year ago

He paints his nails ?

Tommy TheDiamond
3 weeks ago

cold productions lol

Andrew Wong
1 year ago

Hello!  I am looking at getting this kit for my mountain bike for commuting.  I was just wondering how is this kit working out for Mr. Darlington after 2 months?  Thanks!

George26
1 year ago

great stuff ... do you think you could manage it to road bike or to cyclocross? Btw why did dude with glasses frame without glasses ....

tastemysaucer
1 year ago

Don't file off anything on the fork for the love of God

TPHVICTIMS
1 year ago

Tell me I didn't see you running with scissors.

brian43ny
1 year ago

Bought this kit after watching this review and I am enjoying the kit. Only issue is the e brake cut off, magnets won't mount. Bike works good without.