Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Phantom Kit Review

Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Review
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit 350 Watt Motor
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Battery Pack
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Kt Lcd Display Panel
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Side View
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Review
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit 350 Watt Motor
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Battery Pack
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Kt Lcd Display Panel
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Side View

Summary

  • An affordable electric bike kit with everything you need to get going: motor, battery, throttle, pedal assist
  • Custom designed casing is narrower than many other 350 watt motors and fits in 100 mm dropouts without scraping the fork, perfect for cycle cross, fixies and city style bike conversions
  • Front or rear wheel compatible, available in 16, 20, 24, 26 and 700c ~28" sizes, you choose from single speed, 6, 7, 8 or 9 speed cassette options for a bit extra
  • Fewer magnets on the cadence sensor (5 vs. 12) so not quite as responsive, have to take the crank arm off to get it installed, smaller battery capacity (but also lighter and smaller size), solid one year warranty on the kit

Search EBR

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Electric Bike Outfitters

Model:

EBO Phantom Kit

Price:

$925

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

30 Day Return, 1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20152016

Bicycle Details

Battery Weight:

5.5 lbs ( 2.49 kg )

Motor Weight:

6 lbs ( 2.72 kg )

Gearing Details:

9 Single Speed or Shimano 6 or 7 Speed Cassettes or SunRace 8 and 9 Speed Cassettes

Brake Details:

Mechanical 5 Brand Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy

Spokes:

13 Gauge Stainless Steel, 36 Spoke

Wheel Sizes:

16 in ( 40.64 cm )20 in ( 50.8 cm )24 in ( 60.96 cm )26 in ( 66.04 cm )27.5 in ( 69.85 cm )28 in ( 71.12 cm )

Accessories:

EBO Quick Connect Anti-Water Wiring, Optional Black or Silver Motor Color, Optional Twist Throttle

Other:

Rear Motors Cost $25 to $50 Extra, Dropout Widths Front: 100 mm, Rear 120 mm or 135 mm, Brake Clamp Diameter 22.2 mm, 17 Amp Controller

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub, Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

374.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles ( 24 km )

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles ( 56 km )

Display Type:

Fixed Monochrome Backlit LCD by KT

Readouts:

Battery Level (4 Bars), Assist Level (0-5), Speedometer, Clock, Odometer, Wattage, Temperature, Average Speed, Max Speed

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

20 mph ( 32 kph )

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The EBO Phantom Kit is my favorite product in the Electric Bike Outfitters lineup so far. It delivers all of the features and hardware you need to commute or just have some fun cruising around. The battery pack mounts lower and improves balance and handling over the EBO Cruiser Kit and I love how it matches the optional black hub and wires. For under $1k you get a relatively light weight kit with a nice LCD display, throttle and pedal assist mode and peace of mind with a one year warranty. It’s relatively easy to install except for the pedal assist sensor which requires that you completely remove one crank arm (that means extra tools and time) and the sensor itself feels a bit basic and outdated with five magnets vs. 12 on newer purpose built ebikes and kit’s I’ve seen around. Overall, considering you can get a front or rear wheel and choose from 16″ all the way up to 700c and go for a single speed or 6, 7, 8 and 9 speed cassette it’s a wonderful product. I got to test it out in the front-wheel style (which seemed quieter than rear-wheel) on a single speed State Tiburon which came out to just ~36 lbs with the kit installed! You can get this same frame yourself for ~$500 and it looks great, the real win is that the motor casing has been custom designed by Electric Bike Outfitters to fit without scraping the inside edges of narrower 100 mm front forks. That’s a big deal, I’ve run into this issue with previous kits and it’s not something you think about when selecting a bike. With the EBO Phantom you don’t have to think and it works with 100 mm, 120 mm and 135 mm setups (the larger two working with rear dropout widths).

Powering the wheel you select with this kit is a 350 watt internally geared hub motor. It’s generic… not 8Fun or some other brand I’ve seen, but clearly upgraded in terms of size and performance. I got to speak with the founder of Electric Bike Outfitters and asked about quality. He acknowledged that the entry level EBO Commuter Kit uses one of the cheapest options around but that more had been done with the higher end kits including the Phantom. In all cases, you get a one year warranty which is nice. Geared motors like this tend to be light weight, zippy and stealth (because of how small they are). You can choose from black or silver here but all of the spokes are silver and all rims are matte black. The rim is about one inch wide and should work with narrower tires as well as larger mountain style products but might not be ideal for the super narrow road tires. I believe the tires used for the demo were 700x23c.

Powering the kit is nicely sized “tube style” battery pack that mounts to the downtube. Most bikes with enough room in this triangle space (or an open downtube like a step-thru) should work as long as you’ve got two bottle cage bosses to mount it to. This does mean that you might need a rear rack with a trunk bag or saddle rail adapter to actually bring along water… The battery can be charged on or off the frame mount and clips in and out very easily. I commented on the EBO Commuter that it took longer to seat the battery pack because you had to manually screw in the power cable and that is not the case here. Inside the pack are quality Samsung Lithium-ion cells offering 36 volts and 10.4 amp hours for a very average 374.4 amp hours of capacity. I estimated range at 15 to 20 miles but you’ll go much further on some bikes than others. This State bike with its larger diameter wheels, hybrid-slick tires and narrow bar (for improved aerodynamics when reaching) could go 30+ in pedal assist mode on flat smooth terrain. Anyway, the pack has an integrated LED readout to help you discern the current charge level which is nice. The one downside is that you have to switch the pack on and off separately from the LCD display. It’s just an extra step that takes time and is easy to forget at the end of a ride.

Operating the EBO Phantom kit is fairy traditional once that battery and display have been activated. The display panel itself looks great and includes a backlight (hold up on the button pad). It can swivel a bit if you don’t over tighten the mount but it’s not removable so the sun and weather could take a toll over time. With the standard setup you’d have the three button pad mounted near your left grip and the trigger throttle over near the right. The display sits right in the middle and shows your power, speed, pedal assist level and some other readouts. I wouldn’t mind more increments on the battery icon (it just shows four) and while I love that you can override the five levels of pedal assist with the throttle it does not appear that you can operate it on level zero… so there’s basically no “throttle only” mode, just a low pedal assist with the option of full throttle override. All in all, not bad for a sleek and affordable kit.

I really like that this kit comes with everything you need and that it does not use a rear rack for the battery. I love that the battery itself is small and sleek looking, the motor is also fairly small and would hide nicely behind a cassette if you chose something other than a single speed. For the 6 and 7 speed options it’s $25 extra and for the 8 and 9 speed cassettes it’s closer to $50 but you’re still under $1k total. It’s fun to find a bicycle frame that suits your personality, style of riding or body type. Many taller riders struggle to find purpose-built ebikes that will fit them properly. Kits like this can be one solution and while the power and range are more average, they are still way better than human-only power in terms of speed and climbing ability. For people in more restrictive geographies, Electric Bike Outfitters offers a 250 watt version of their motor to comply with local laws. The cables are color coded for easy install and I believe you could also use this as a throttle only ebike or pedal assist only changing it from a Class 2 to Class 1 for use in different areas. Note that most kits add tackiness and ugliness with wires and zip ties vs. having them all integrated through the frame but you can hide this a bit with a darker colored frame. The review bike here had an extra long set of wires that were originally used with a tandem bicycle. The ones that come with aren’t as long… unless you make a special request :)

Pros:

  • Custom designed motor casing to fit in narrow 100 mm dropouts (commonly found on city bikes and fixies) without rubbing on the forks
  • Very light weight kit, smaller tube style battery improves balance and fits (verses a rear-rack setup) and should fit on a wide assortment of frames as long as they have bottle cage mounts on the downtube, the controller is built into the bottom seating area of the mount so you don’t need an extra box or wires mounted to the bike
  • The battery pack seats quickly and easily compared to the lower end EBO Commuter which requires you to screw a cable into the pack, it also locks for security and has an integrated LED charge indicator for use when the pack is not mounted to the system
  • Color coded wires are easy to setup, the motor cable has a quick disconnect point that makes servicing the wheel (front or rear) much easier
  • The included mechanical brake levers include a motor inhibitor switch which is important for pedal assist mode, they won’t work with hydraulic brake systems however
  • The wheelset and hub design are compatible with traditional brakes as well as disc brakes, there’s a screw pattern on the side of the hub for mounting a disc rotor
  • The trigger throttle works without changing your grip setup and doesn’t take up much space but you can also ask for a twist throttle if you prefer that style
  • Available in a huge assortment of wheel sizes including 16″, 20″, 24″, 26″, 27.5″ (650B) and ~28″ (700c) so you can convert folding bikes, kids bikes, road bikes, mountain bikes etc. and they all cost the same
  • This kit offers more Amps for increased starting and climbing power vs. the entry level EBO Commuter, that model is 14 Amps and this one is 17
  • You can override pedal assist with the variable speed throttle at full power at any time but there is no throttle-only mode so you’ll need to be in 1-5 to use it

Cons:

  • The pedal assist cadence sensor requires more effort to install than some of the clip-on designs I’ve seen in recent years
  • The cadence sensor only offers a five magnet disc vs. 10 or 12 on some newer hardware I’ve seen from other companies, it sounds like Electric Bike Outfitters might upgrade this in the future and frankly, it worked alright during my tests
  • If you have hydraulic disc brakes, the brake levers that are included with this kit won’t work so you won’t have a motor inhibitor
  • You have to power the battery pack on as well as the display unit to get the bike going… this adds a bit of time to each ride but also makes it easier to forget to turn the battery pack off when you park
  • There are no lights built into this kit and I think it would be difficult to wire them in, I like when I can run everything off of one battery but you can always get some aftermarket lights that are rechargeable if you ride at night a lot

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Electric Bike Outfitters Reviews

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Mountaineer Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,180
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A high power, high speed electric bike kit capable of 30 mph top speeds, can be operated with pedal assist, trigger throttle or optional twist throttle. Heavier but sturdy 750 watt gearless hub motor, can be mounted in the front or…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Front Range Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,083
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A powerful gearless hub motor kit capable of being installed as a front or rear wheel, sturdy and relatively quiet. Gearless motors tend to be heavier and this one is ~12 lbs and does not…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Cruiser Kit Review

  • MSRP: $925
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A feature rich, reasonably priced, electric bike kit with trigger throttle and cadence sensing pedal assist drive modes. The battery pack mounts into a sturdy universal rear-rack that can support ~55 lbs and…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Commuter Kit Review

  • MSRP: $704
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An affordable, all-inclusive electric bike kit available in many wheel sizes (front or rear) with a nice one year warranty. You get a standard 350 watt internally geared motor, 36 volt Lithium-ion battery pack and…...


J.C. Smith
1 year ago

I installed the EBO Phantom kit on a Jamis Coda Comp in January, 2016. Installation took me 4 hours or so, mostly because I had never removed a bottom bracket before. It's not hard to do, I 'm just slow the first time around. Both the trigger throttle and cadence sensor work very well. I did have to pry the dropouts apart about 2mm, but that should be OK with a steel frame. The control panel competes for space with a bunch of other stuff, so I added a Topeak bar extender for the panel. The ride is lots of fun. The battery boost gets me commuted with less sweat. Exercise has its place, but sometimes I just want to get to work/home. I'm very satisfied with the Phantom kit at this point.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hey J.C. thanks for sharing your experience, the bar extender idea is genius! I didn't even know those existed, did you use something like this or was it different?

J.C. Smith
1 year ago

That's the one. I installed it on the stem extension, pointing up, so the control panel sits on the extender, above the stem. That lets me keep a headlight, bell and trigger throttle in place on the handlebar, underneath the control panel I also use Bar Mitts in Winter, so that's one more thing to deal with on the bar. I tried the bar extender on the handlebar, but it slipped too much because the bar is tapered from the stem clamp towards the end, and the extender could not grip tightly enough on the tapered section. Fortunately, the extender's clamp can be adjusted to a wide range of diameters, so it works fine on the stem extension.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Nice, thanks J.C.! I love Bar Mitts, just got some as a gift for my uncle. I like your idea for the extendar and appreciate the thoughts on how it worked with the tapered handlebar.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

David Thomas of Peshtigo
7 months ago
After a 5-month wait, I got my Trek XM700+ in early August. Overall, I'm very pleased. I had high expectations, and the XM hasn't disappointed me in any way. Some observations in my first 200 or so miles:
  • Smooth pedal assist. It is more subtle than my girlfriends hub drive, which supplies a dramatic surge when you hit pedals or throttle. In contrast, the XM's pedelect system supplies energy that is so well-integrated with the rider's pedal strokes that it is hard to tell them apart. It just feels like I've got a lot more power in my legs!
  • Impressive range in lower-power modes ("Eco" and "Tour"). If I'm content to ride around 16 mph, the on-board computer tells me I can ride 65 miles or so on a full charge.
  • The bike handles very well, with power assist on or off. There will be no problem pedaling home with a discharged battery (it's flat terrain here, which helps).
  • The frame is tall for 55cm. I'm 6' tall and have just enough standover clearance.
  • Love the brakes: smooth, powerful, quiet.
  • The front fender rattled a bit over bumps. I stuck a small piece of rubber (cut from an inner tube) between the fork and fender just under the fork crown, using a piece of double-sided foam tape. This has mostly eliminated the rattle.
  • For greater comfort, I changed the stock saddle for a Planet Bike ARS (Anatomic Relief). As others have discovered, a good suspension seatpost--I installed a Thudbuster LT--smooths out the ride nicely.
  • My bike had served as a demo, and the Powerpack 400 battery was scuffed up from coming loose due to improper insertion. As Court Rye noted in his excellent vido review of the XM700, the battery has to be firmly inserted to lock to the frame properly.
  • I bought a battery cover to cover up all the scuffs and scratches on the battery case (see item above). In addition to this cosmetic improvement, they say the cover will keep the battery warmer in cold weather, cooler in hot weather (?), and protect the case from a drop (too late for that). Here's where I bought it: http://www.bike-discount.de/en/buy/...ry-power-pack-300-and-400aktive-perfor-448153
  • The "walk assist", supposedly disabled for USA imports, is still enabled on my unit. The bad news: it "walks" itself at a brisk 9mph.
  • Girlfriend's daughter said of the black color scheme, "It looks like a phantom." Viola, the bike found its name: The Phantom. (Sometimes I call it "Sparky" too.)
I'll be glad to post additional observations after I get more experience. Best wishes!
MLB
8 months ago
Andreas
Over the past few years I test rode what ever bike is available on the market. Last year I bought the Prodeco Tech Phantom X with a 500 watt geared rear motor and has a throttle only, no power assist. I love the torque on this bike climbing up the steep hills, but no matter what on how hard I pedal with the motor my Phantom does not exceed 21 mph. My friend has a BionX e-bike kit with a 360 watt motor and pedal assist which does not have the torque but has the top speed of 48 Km'h (28 mph) pedaling and motor combined, which is awesome. I recently test rode the 2016 Specialized turbo X with a 350 watt rear hub motor and pedal assist which I loved the most from all e-bikes on the market. Awesome smooth power delivery and so much fun to ride, my favorite for sure. It will be my next bike. I was surprised how powerful the 350 watt rear hub motor was. Like I said, well balanced bike and very well built. I also just test rode the new Cube with a 250 watt center motor and most say it was the least favorite of my e-bike experience. It is really nice to cruise on a straight stretch of paved pathway, but I don't like the lack of torque up any hill.
Motor size is not like a car engine. Bigger is not necessarily stronger. And any size motor can be a speed pedalec (28mph top assisted speed). There is a Brose 250W (minimal!!) motor that puts out 90nm of torque!!
Andreas
8 months ago
To your last question, I'm riding the the Phantom X for one year and over 1200 miles and must say it works well. I got used to throttle only. However, pedal assist would be nice for longer distances which would give you more even power and can control the battery life much better. It depends on your use. If you ride a lot of up hills I would recommend at least a 500 watt power gear driven motor, gives you a lot of torque.
Andreas
8 months ago
I only have a throttle on my Prodeco tech Phantom X and I wish I had pedal assist sometimes. Both would be nice.
Andreas
8 months ago
Over the past few years I test rode what ever bike is available on the market. Last year I bought the Prodeco Tech Phantom X with a 500 watt geared rear motor and has a throttle only, no power assist. I love the torque on this bike climbing up the steep hills, but no matter what on how hard I pedal with the motor my Phantom does not exceed 21 mph. My friend has a BionX e-bike kit with a 360 watt motor and pedal assist which does not have the torque but has the top speed of 48 Km'h (28 mph) pedaling and motor combined, which is awesome. I recently test rode the 2016 Specialized turbo X with a 350 watt rear hub motor and pedal assist which I loved the most from all e-bikes on the market. Awesome smooth power delivery and so much fun to ride, my favorite for sure. It will be my next bike. I was surprised how powerful the 350 watt rear hub motor was. Like I said, well balanced bike and very well built. I also just test rode the new Cube with a 250 watt center motor and most say it was the least favorite of my e-bike experience. It is really nice to cruise on a straight stretch of paved pathway, but I don't like the lack of torque up any hill.
cbmojo
8 months ago
walawn
Hey guys. I'm thinking of changing the cheap front suspension fork on my Radrover. I'm considering this one below:

https://www.sram.com/rockshox/products/bluto

I liked the same brand on my old ebike (Prodeco Phantom X3). Here is a review of the fork I want below:

http://www.singletracks.com/blog/mtb-gear/review-rockshox-bluto-fat-bike-suspension-fork/

Let me know what you guys think. I know the fork is a third of the retail price of the bike, but I've already spent hundreds upgrading the bike anyway. It's only money lol! I saw the Radrover as a great platform for upgrading from the start anyway....
wont fir RR does not have a tapered neck and its offset is too wide
Adrian
8 months ago
walawn
Coming from a motorcycle technician background with almost 2 decades of experience, I've always wanted to build my own ebike. Living in NoVa for the past few years, in a small apartment with a fraction of the tools I once had with me though, I let that prospect scare me away into buying a pre-built ebike for the second time in 3 years. The more I get on these forums like Endless Sphere and browse sites like Luna Cycle, the more I think that it is completely within my capability to do so. I've been toying around with the idea of building a 1000W mid-drive with the Bafang kit, but now I think that I may want to modify my new Radrover. I'm thinking of installing the same motor from the rear inside the front wheel. Not sure if I should add another controller or battery, or replace the controller with one to control both motors and upgrade the battery in the system to something larger or custom. I could see using the Shark battery packs to reduce weight and the stock controller is small enough to mount a second one easily. Synchronization could be an issue though. This idea may never been anything more than that, but it is exciting to think about double the torque and both the wheels of my 60+ lb. ebike pulling their own weight. Now don't get me wrong; I love my new Radrover. It is night and day better over my old Prodeco Phantom X3, which cost $400 more. I think I just can't go too long without wrenching on something. Maybe I should just build a second ebike from scratch to see if that gets rid of this urge to craft a muscle/monster ebike...
Just put a BBSHD on it.
walawn
8 months ago
@J.R. The more time goes by the more I'm starting to think that my battery is in good shape and didn't take any damage in the fall. We will know when I disassemble and check everything though. I will post a full write up with pictures. I'll take your advice and let mine cool from now on. I think I've only placed it on charge once right after a ride. I did 26 miles on it today (3/4 in ECO mode 2 and 1/4 in STD mode 3) so it's nice to know that it has the range of my old Prodeco Phantom X3 which is what I wanted.
walawn
9 months ago
@J.R. No worries. I checked the voltage this morning when I took it off of the charger. It was just under 54 V. I did a stress test on the battery and motor this morning by only doing full throttle with no pedaling. It was mostly flat with a few hills here and there. I made it 13 miles before battery dropped down to 25% on the on-board gauge and E flashing on the display. The last few miles were windy and I am 180 lbs. I did a mix of pedaling (w/ assist) and motor (throttle only) to get me the last 4 miles home. I just checked it after letting it cool down 10 minutes: 1 bar on LCD "fuel"gauge, red light (25% or less) on at battery, and a little over .5 V when I checked the battery. The motor was hot and the battery warm. It seems like my old Prodecotech Phantom X3 had more range out of it's battery than this one, but it was a 500W direct drive hub motor that would do about 20 mph if you gave it some distance. I don't remember the Ah, but I know the battery chemistry was different. The Radrover definitely has more tourqe with its geared 750W motor.
Nick Miller
9 months ago
I'm finding that out now. My rear hub motor is leaking lubricant, called them, emailed them, no response! I gave $2,365 for the Phantom XR and have only had it 1 month!
J.R.
9 months ago
John_V
Hi Manny:

I've been completely enjoying riding my prodeco genesis. In fact the longer I own it the more fun I'm having! I did lose one of the little black plastic/rubber bolt covers that fits over the rear axle bolt. I don't have a rack yet for my car, so when I was laying it down in the back of my car it must have fallen off. The bolt takes an 18mm wrench - but I can't seem to easily find the proper size replacement bolt cover. Seems like the nearest I could find was 17mm plastic ones here:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/10x-M6-M8-M...hash=item43e7600e4d:m:mfZ5Ut5IxHDjEszUa_EoH-w

There are ones that will fit 17mm or 19mm ("spanner size"). But no 18mm. Any ideas where I could look. I wrote to ProdecoTech via their web page, but never heard anything back.
John,

Did you try calling ProdecoTech in Florida and ask if they would send you the axle cover? When I had a few of spokes break on my Phantom X3, I called and spokes were sent to me right away. If you tell them the cover fell off, I suspect they would send you one for free. The nice thing about PT is that all the bikes are assembled in the U.S., so parts like that are readily available. Call on the phone though, I had no luck via electronic communication.

Phone: 800.943.6190

Good luck, glad you're enjoying the bike!
J.R.
9 months ago
There is only one you can buy today I think and that's the Easy Motion. Maybe two, I'm not sure about the Biktrix and their availability. Those all seem like good bikes, I'm not sure they're all good commuters though.

I'm in PA, 6'2" @ 190 lb. and "middle age" HA! That time period tends to get longer every year for some reason. A little soft in the middle, with some spine problems, but in decent shape. I wouldn't say I'm a strong rider necessarily, I'd say I'm a determined rider. My first ebike wasn't the best commuter, but did the job of 6000 miles in one year commuting 34 miles round trip. That was a ProdecoTech Phantom X3.

I still have the X3 and use it in the snow, but my everyday bike is an Easy Motion Evo 29'er. Fits me like a glove and I love it! At the time of purchase I was offered the Snow, but I was more concerned about range. If I ever thought I'd do serious off road technical riding in the snow, in my spare time, I'd have the Snow. But commuting and rec riding, nah. In addition I did a really bad winter with the one wheel drive X3 with studded tires in snow and ice pack, so I knew I would be able to do all I wanted on the 29'er.

I don't think you have all that much snow to deal with down there, but if this looks familiar to you, all your options will likely get you there and back with studded tires. These rides were all with the X3
View attachment 6145View attachment 6146View attachment 6147

You can turn a lot of bikes into commuters, it's just a matter of how hard or easy do you want it to be. I'll be giving my X3 to a friend, because he needs it. So next winter I'll be sleigh riding with the Evo 29'er.

Good luck! I hope you get what you want before the summer is gone.
Vlad in MI
9 months ago
I received my RadMini last Friday and have been commuting on it this week. Here are some impressions:
The bike arrived well packaged, but I was a tad surprised by the amount of assembly I had to do: front wheel, seat, pedals, light, front rack. I would not have been a big deal, but some things gave me trouble. For example, the front wheel's axle appeared to be too short for the fork. Only after installing the quick-release rod and closing it, the fork got pinched together and works fine. Similar problem was with the front rack, which did not seem to fit. I tried different positions of the connecting rods, but to no-avail. I finally brute-forced it to fit. I disassembled it and will try again, hopefully with more luck this time. Finally: the front light... It is made of really cheap and brittle plastic. I might have tightened it too much (so that it would not move) and its mount just crumbled into small pieces. In any case, when mounted on the front rack, it is sticking out so much that it won't last very long. I'm awaiting a replacement lamp and will have to figure something out to make it last.
The ride is great. The motor is quieter than I expected. The fat tires add a bit of noise, but that's actually pleasant to my ear. I have a throttle-only bike, so the pedal-assist gets some getting used to. I'm still not there yet. I hope I can find a guide to riding this kind of bike most efficiently.
For people who like speed (like myself), this bike will disappoint a little. I could get to 20 mph only on full throttle, going slightly downhill (I'm adding 180 lbs to the 60 lbs bike). On pedal-assist, at best 17 mph, which seems a bit counter-intuitive, since I'm adding muscle power... Again, it may be my lack of experience with this mode. Also, I noticed that the bike lurches forward a bit when I stop pedaling (not using throttle) - it's become disconcerting on street crossings. I may be wrong about that, or... yes, lack of experience.
I'm a bit concerned about the battery. After riding 16 miles one day I noticed the power level down to one bar. I used pedal-assist, switching between levels 3 and 4, so I expected more power to remain. However, I do not think the display is terribly reliable, as it sometimes shows 2 bars, only to go to 4 a minute later, and to 5 at rest. I do not think it is the fault of the display, but the nature of the power type, which, unlike gasoline, is difficult to measure accurately.
Another small disappointment was with the user manual, which came half-Mandarin, half-English. I am a realist, but I was secretly hoping that this bike would at least be assembled in the US. I probably would have bought it anyway, since it offers so much at a good price, bit I'm thinking that for my next bike I will go straight to the source and save some money.
Other things I like about this bike:
  • I like the look of it - so unique!
  • My back is straight, not bent. This may prove to be worse for my spine - time will tell - but it feels comfortable. (Till now the bent-forward position has been giving me trouble.)
  • The seat is perhaps the most comfortable in any new bike I had, so I do not have to replace it right away
  • It is a very practical bike. I purchased a bag for the rear rack, so I no longer have to wear a backpack. I have yet to do any grocery shopping with this bike, but this is coming.
  • It is not intimidating like my Phantom X, so I hope my cautious wife can be convinced to ride it.
  • It feels solidly built, but with attention to detail
Last but not least: I hope Rad Power Bikes will offer fenders for this bike. For now I will go to my local bike shop - maybe they will find something for me.
Joe Remi
10 months ago
Tonk
Greetings all. I have done a decent amount of research but am still unsure what bike to get. I love to ride but have physical issues which puts me between 2 bike styles. I live in Sedona, AZ with very little flat riding & moderate to challenging elevation changes. I will be riding 60/70% paved, 30/40% maintained fire roads/trail, 10-40 miles at a time. This terrain suggests a MB but the forward lean along with the straight bar creates unbearable hand numbness within minutes if not seconds. Really enjoy cruisers but the forward crank positioning would make hill climbing difficult & road bikes are a no go. I've not been impressed with standard hybrids so I haven't considered them in ebikes but I've been wrong before.

I currently have an old school Giant ATX 880 MB that I converted to a beach/comfort cruiser by changing out to a C9 seat & swept back high rise hanger bars. Love to ride this around Mission Bay/PB area which I visit couple times a year but can't ride much at home due to hilly to mountainous terrain here.

57 yrs old, 5'9", 30" pants inseam, 235lbs. Besides being overweight I have multiple back issues of which one is ongoing nerve damage that effects my extremities. I need to lose weight & work my muscles but hate doing exercise just for the sake of exercising but I LOVE biking. An ebike seems to be a perfect solution. Like many I want the best bike for the least amount of money. I don't need anything more than a comfortable, durable ebike that does what it's supposed to, which is help me get out & ENJOY on the road conditions I have here. Running without peddling is of no interest to me so a throttle while nice in certain situations isn't necessary. I'm willing to spend for quality & performance but I don't need to impress anyone. $1000. - $3000. seems to be the range for what I need. Bikes I like but am unsure about due to above mentioned design flaws for my situation;
Low End - Xtreme Trail Maker, Xtreme X version,
Mid - Prodecotech Phantom X, Motiv Spark (cruiser), BME Shadow (my favorite MB)
High End (for me) - BME Nighthawk, Electra Townie Go (my favorite cruiser accept for price)

Being rural, test rides of any ebike is slim to none. Phoenix which is 90 miles one way is an option but then it's flat terrain down there which doesn't give me a real world testing. If you made it to here, thank you for your time. I would appreciate any knowledgeable input. This is a lot of money to me so help is appreciated.
You need to focus on riding position more than category of bicycle, in my opinion. Pretty much any mtb or hybrid can be outfitted with cruiser bars, so you would have the sweepback without the crank-forward pedal position. I don't know ebike models very well - I have two kitted bikes which I did myself - so I can't advise on them, but you should be able to make a decision based on the riding position you need.

Btw, the pedaling position for climbing will be much less important with assist. If you buy enough power for the hills you climb, you'll be sitting and spinning without major stress on the legs and back. It's a wonderful thing.
John_V
11 months ago
Hi Manny -

Your mount for the watt meter is excellent. I just ordered one of those holders myself, to modify as you show in your diagram. I have been trying to think of a mount to use for the watt meter. Up until I saw your idea I was using a modified bicycle speedometer holder - but it didn't work well because it was too weak and would bounce a little during riding. Anyway this is my bike, the Genesis R V5. I think it is mechanically the same as your Phantom X. I've only had mine for about a week.View attachment 5842
Asthmatic Spaz
1 year ago

How much torque in lb?

Flo Mo
1 year ago

It's puristic and nice. Thanks for this video.^^

GNiessen
1 year ago

Seems like a bad location for the on-off switch. Is it meant to be operated by foot?