Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Phantom Kit Review

Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Review
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit 350 Watt Motor
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Battery Pack
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Kt Lcd Display Panel
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Side View
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Review
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit 350 Watt Motor
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Battery Pack
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Kt Lcd Display Panel
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Side View


  • An affordable electric bike kit with everything you need to get going: motor, battery, throttle, pedal assist
  • Custom designed casing is narrower than many other 350 watt motors and fits in 100 mm dropouts without scraping the fork, perfect for cycle cross, fixies and city style bike conversions
  • Front or rear wheel compatible, available in 16, 20, 24, 26 and 700c ~28" sizes, you choose from single speed, 6, 7, 8 or 9 speed cassette options for a bit extra
  • Fewer magnets on the cadence sensor (5 vs. 12) so not quite as responsive, have to take the crank arm off to get it installed, smaller battery capacity (but also lighter and smaller size), solid one year warranty on the kit

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers



Electric Bike Outfitters


EBO Phantom Kit



Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


30 Day Return, 1 Year Comprehensive


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Battery Weight:

5.5 lbs (2.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

6 lbs (2.72 kg)

Gearing Details:

9 Single Speed or Shimano 6 or 7 Speed Cassettes or SunRace 8 and 9 Speed Cassettes

Brake Details:

Mechanical 5 Brand Levers with Motor Inhibitors


Aluminum Alloy


13 Gauge Stainless Steel, 36 Spoke

Wheel Sizes:

16 in (40.64cm)20 in (50.8cm)24 in (60.96cm)26 in (66.04cm)27.5 in (69.85cm)28 in (71.12cm)


EBO Quick Connect Anti-Water Wiring, Optional Black or Silver Motor Color, Optional Twist Throttle


Rear Motors Cost $25 to $50 Extra, Dropout Widths Front: 100 mm, Rear 120 mm or 135 mm, Brake Clamp Diameter 22.2 mm, 17 Amp Controller

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub, Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

374.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

Fixed Monochrome Backlit LCD by KT


Battery Level (4 Bars), Assist Level (0-5), Speedometer, Clock, Odometer, Wattage, Temperature, Average Speed, Max Speed

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The EBO Phantom Kit is my favorite product in the Electric Bike Outfitters lineup so far. It delivers all of the features and hardware you need to commute or just have some fun cruising around. The battery pack mounts lower and improves balance and handling over the EBO Cruiser Kit and I love how it matches the optional black hub and wires. For under $1k you get a relatively light weight kit with a nice LCD display, throttle and pedal assist mode and peace of mind with a one year warranty. It’s relatively easy to install except for the pedal assist sensor which requires that you completely remove one crank arm (that means extra tools and time) and the sensor itself feels a bit basic and outdated with five magnets vs. 12 on newer purpose built ebikes and kit’s I’ve seen around. Overall, considering you can get a front or rear wheel and choose from 16″ all the way up to 700c and go for a single speed or 6, 7, 8 and 9 speed cassette it’s a wonderful product. I got to test it out in the front-wheel style (which seemed quieter than rear-wheel) on a single speed State Tiburon which came out to just ~36 lbs with the kit installed! You can get this same frame yourself for ~$500 and it looks great, the real win is that the motor casing has been custom designed by Electric Bike Outfitters to fit without scraping the inside edges of narrower 100 mm front forks. That’s a big deal, I’ve run into this issue with previous kits and it’s not something you think about when selecting a bike. With the EBO Phantom you don’t have to think and it works with 100 mm, 120 mm and 135 mm setups (the larger two working with rear dropout widths).

Powering the wheel you select with this kit is a 350 watt internally geared hub motor. It’s generic… not 8Fun or some other brand I’ve seen, but clearly upgraded in terms of size and performance. I got to speak with the founder of Electric Bike Outfitters and asked about quality. He acknowledged that the entry level EBO Commuter Kit uses one of the cheapest options around but that more had been done with the higher end kits including the Phantom. In all cases, you get a one year warranty which is nice. Geared motors like this tend to be light weight, zippy and stealth (because of how small they are). You can choose from black or silver here but all of the spokes are silver and all rims are matte black. The rim is about one inch wide and should work with narrower tires as well as larger mountain style products but might not be ideal for the super narrow road tires. I believe the tires used for the demo were 700x23c.

Powering the kit is nicely sized “tube style” battery pack that mounts to the downtube. Most bikes with enough room in this triangle space (or an open downtube like a step-thru) should work as long as you’ve got two bottle cage bosses to mount it to. This does mean that you might need a rear rack with a trunk bag or saddle rail adapter to actually bring along water… The battery can be charged on or off the frame mount and clips in and out very easily. I commented on the EBO Commuter that it took longer to seat the battery pack because you had to manually screw in the power cable and that is not the case here. Inside the pack are quality Samsung Lithium-ion cells offering 36 volts and 10.4 amp hours for a very average 374.4 amp hours of capacity. I estimated range at 15 to 20 miles but you’ll go much further on some bikes than others. This State bike with its larger diameter wheels, hybrid-slick tires and narrow bar (for improved aerodynamics when reaching) could go 30+ in pedal assist mode on flat smooth terrain. Anyway, the pack has an integrated LED readout to help you discern the current charge level which is nice. The one downside is that you have to switch the pack on and off separately from the LCD display. It’s just an extra step that takes time and is easy to forget at the end of a ride.

Operating the EBO Phantom kit is fairy traditional once that battery and display have been activated. The display panel itself looks great and includes a backlight (hold up on the button pad). It can swivel a bit if you don’t over tighten the mount but it’s not removable so the sun and weather could take a toll over time. With the standard setup you’d have the three button pad mounted near your left grip and the trigger throttle over near the right. The display sits right in the middle and shows your power, speed, pedal assist level and some other readouts. I wouldn’t mind more increments on the battery icon (it just shows four) and while I love that you can override the five levels of pedal assist with the throttle it does not appear that you can operate it on level zero… so there’s basically no “throttle only” mode, just a low pedal assist with the option of full throttle override. All in all, not bad for a sleek and affordable kit.

I really like that this kit comes with everything you need and that it does not use a rear rack for the battery. I love that the battery itself is small and sleek looking, the motor is also fairly small and would hide nicely behind a cassette if you chose something other than a single speed. For the 6 and 7 speed options it’s $25 extra and for the 8 and 9 speed cassettes it’s closer to $50 but you’re still under $1k total. It’s fun to find a bicycle frame that suits your personality, style of riding or body type. Many taller riders struggle to find purpose-built ebikes that will fit them properly. Kits like this can be one solution and while the power and range are more average, they are still way better than human-only power in terms of speed and climbing ability. For people in more restrictive geographies, Electric Bike Outfitters offers a 250 watt version of their motor to comply with local laws. The cables are color coded for easy install and I believe you could also use this as a throttle only ebike or pedal assist only changing it from a Class 2 to Class 1 for use in different areas. Note that most kits add tackiness and ugliness with wires and zip ties vs. having them all integrated through the frame but you can hide this a bit with a darker colored frame. The review bike here had an extra long set of wires that were originally used with a tandem bicycle. The ones that come with aren’t as long… unless you make a special request :)


  • Custom designed motor casing to fit in narrow 100 mm dropouts (commonly found on city bikes and fixies) without rubbing on the forks
  • Very light weight kit, smaller tube style battery improves balance and fits (verses a rear-rack setup) and should fit on a wide assortment of frames as long as they have bottle cage mounts on the downtube, the controller is built into the bottom seating area of the mount so you don’t need an extra box or wires mounted to the bike
  • The battery pack seats quickly and easily compared to the lower end EBO Commuter which requires you to screw a cable into the pack, it also locks for security and has an integrated LED charge indicator for use when the pack is not mounted to the system
  • Color coded wires are easy to setup, the motor cable has a quick disconnect point that makes servicing the wheel (front or rear) much easier
  • The included mechanical brake levers include a motor inhibitor switch which is important for pedal assist mode, they won’t work with hydraulic brake systems however
  • The wheelset and hub design are compatible with traditional brakes as well as disc brakes, there’s a screw pattern on the side of the hub for mounting a disc rotor
  • The trigger throttle works without changing your grip setup and doesn’t take up much space but you can also ask for a twist throttle if you prefer that style
  • Available in a huge assortment of wheel sizes including 16″, 20″, 24″, 26″, 27.5″ (650B) and ~28″ (700c) so you can convert folding bikes, kids bikes, road bikes, mountain bikes etc. and they all cost the same
  • This kit offers more Amps for increased starting and climbing power vs. the entry level EBO Commuter, that model is 14 Amps and this one is 17
  • You can override pedal assist with the variable speed throttle at full power at any time but there is no throttle-only mode so you’ll need to be in 1-5 to use it


  • The pedal assist cadence sensor requires more effort to install than some of the clip-on designs I’ve seen in recent years
  • The cadence sensor only offers a five magnet disc vs. 10 or 12 on some newer hardware I’ve seen from other companies, it sounds like Electric Bike Outfitters might upgrade this in the future and frankly, it worked alright during my tests
  • If you have hydraulic disc brakes, the brake levers that are included with this kit won’t work so you won’t have a motor inhibitor
  • You have to power the battery pack on as well as the display unit to get the bike going… this adds a bit of time to each ride but also makes it easier to forget to turn the battery pack off when you park
  • There are no lights built into this kit and I think it would be difficult to wire them in, I like when I can run everything off of one battery but you can always get some aftermarket lights that are rechargeable if you ride at night a lot


More Electric Bike Outfitters Reviews

Electric Bike Outfitters Front Range 2.0 Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,445
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A powerful internally geared hub motor that is well-suited to cargo bikes and climbing applications, it weighs more and produces more noise but offers more torque. Comes with motor-inhibiting mechanical brake levers, an eight magnet cadence sensor, and a fancy LCD…...

Electric Bike Outfitters Mountaineer Mid Drive Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,590
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An efficient, compact, and relatively lightweight, mid-drive electric bike kit that's compatible with 68 mm to 73 mm bottom bracket sizes, works with downtube or rear-rack battery. Responsive torque sensing pedal assist as well as throttle mode (choose from half-grip, full-grip, or…...

Electric Bike Outfitters Phantom Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,112
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

One of the lightest weight, coolest looking, most affordable electric bike kits from EBO, it emphasizes efficiency and style over brute force but still performs well. Hand-spoked into a wide range of wheel sizes and available in multiple hub spacings to…...

Electric Bike Outfitters Clydesdale 2.0 Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,350
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A durable, high-powered, gearless hub motor electric bike kit, custom-spoked into a wide range of rim sizes 20" to 28" and multiple hub spacings, you choose black or silver accents. The stock display provides abundant choices for setting the top speed, pedal assist sensitivity, a…...

Electric Bike Outfitters 48V Cruiser Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,412
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A versatile geared hub motor ebike kit with rear rack-mounted battery pack, integrated rear light keeps you visible and can be used even if the motor is display is turned off. Lots of options, different colored hub motors, rims, and racks, front or rear mount design,…...

Electric Bike Outfitters 48V Burly Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,412
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An efficient, compact, electric bike kit, with silver or black color options and multiple wheel sizes and hub spacings to suite a wide range of bicycle platforms. The downtube battery pack keeps weight low and center on the frame, it can be…...

Electric Bike Outfitters 36V Burly Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,112
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An efficient, lightweight, electric bike kit, with silver or black color options and multiple wheel sizes and hub spacings to suite a wide range of bicycle platforms. The downtube battery pack keeps weight low and center on the frame, it can be…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Mountaineer Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,180
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A high power, high speed electric bike kit capable of 30 mph top speeds, can be operated with pedal assist, trigger throttle or optional twist throttle. Heavier but sturdy 750 watt gearless hub motor, can be mounted in the front or…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Front Range Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,083
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A powerful gearless hub motor kit capable of being installed as a front or rear wheel, sturdy and relatively quiet. Gearless motors tend to be heavier and this one is ~12 lbs and does not…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Cruiser Kit Review

  • MSRP: $925
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A feature rich, reasonably priced, electric bike kit with trigger throttle and cadence sensing pedal assist drive modes. The battery pack mounts into a sturdy universal rear-rack that can support ~55 lbs and…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Commuter Kit Review

  • MSRP: $704
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An affordable, all-inclusive electric bike kit available in many wheel sizes (front or rear) with a nice one year warranty. You get a standard 350 watt internally geared motor, 36 volt Lithium-ion battery pack and…...

J.C. Smith
2 years ago

I installed the EBO Phantom kit on a Jamis Coda Comp in January, 2016. Installation took me 4 hours or so, mostly because I had never removed a bottom bracket before. It’s not hard to do, I ‘m just slow the first time around. Both the trigger throttle and cadence sensor work very well. I did have to pry the dropouts apart about 2mm, but that should be OK with a steel frame. The control panel competes for space with a bunch of other stuff, so I added a Topeak bar extender for the panel. The ride is lots of fun. The battery boost gets me commuted with less sweat. Exercise has its place, but sometimes I just want to get to work/home. I’m very satisfied with the Phantom kit at this point.

2 years ago

Hey J.C. thanks for sharing your experience, the bar extender idea is genius! I didn’t even know those existed, did you use something like this or was it different?

J.C. Smith
2 years ago

That’s the one. I installed it on the stem extension, pointing up, so the control panel sits on the extender, above the stem. That lets me keep a headlight, bell and trigger throttle in place on the handlebar, underneath the control panel I also use Bar Mitts in Winter, so that’s one more thing to deal with on the bar. I tried the bar extender on the handlebar, but it slipped too much because the bar is tapered from the stem clamp towards the end, and the extender could not grip tightly enough on the tapered section. Fortunately, the extender’s clamp can be adjusted to a wide range of diameters, so it works fine on the stem extension.

2 years ago

Nice, thanks J.C.! I love Bar Mitts, just got some as a gift for my uncle. I like your idea for the extendar and appreciate the thoughts on how it worked with the tapered handlebar.

11 months ago

Hi. Just new to electric bike kits and plan on buying my first one. Ive read a lot of reviews, including this one. Great page, by the way. very helpful.

Question: What realistic range might I expect with the Phantom (rear motor — I have a carbon fork so think rear would be better since I don’t want to buy a new fork, on a trek road bike that I have adapted to be more of a hybrid). I intend to always pedal .. not that interested in throttle only. Mostly flat or slight incline, maybe an occasional hill, but nothing crazy. I’m hoping to be able to ride 20+ miles, pedal assisted. Is that a reasonable expectation? Thanks.

11 months ago

Hi Joe! Yeah, I think the rear-mount makes great sense given your Carbon fork… I’ve had to bend some of my dropouts to fit motors and even file screws before because the hub casing was rubbing on dropout arms or rear stays… especially for narrow road bikes (keep that in mind or call and ask the kit company for measurements after measuring your own bike). As for efficiency and range, if you pedal along, I’d say that 20+ miles per charge is achievable for a ~350 watt hour pack. I usually divide watt hours by 20 to get an estimate of throttle-only range. It’s a quick and dirty approach that yields 17.5 miles in this case which would easily be topped by helping. I wish you luck and welcome you to share what you discover first hand with your kit and subsequent rides! Comments here or with pictures in the forum are always welcome and appreciated :)


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

1 month ago

Hi guys!

In recent years, I have discovered a couple of good resources for getting help with refilling and repacking batteries for electric bikes, electric scooters, electric skateboards, hoverboards, neighborhood electric vehicles, and other products that use higher watt hour battery packs (often with Lithium-ion, Lithium-polymer, or Lithium iron phosphate LiPo or LiFePO4 cells).

It sounds like some of the fancier battery packs (Bosch, BionX, Stromer etc.) are more proprietary in design, and if the battery management system (BMS) is damaged or loses power for a moment, the internal memory will be erased and the battery becomes permanently useless or "bricked". For this reason, it seems wise to get help before a battery completely goes dead if possible.

The first resource I discovered was called Rechargeable Power Energy (RPE), and this was back in 2016. I believe that they are based in Las Vegas and part of a larger battery company that also sells kits. In recent years, they updated their website and seem to be operating as the EBike Marketplace. I created https://electricbikereview.com/guides/how-to-replace-an-ebike-battery/ with some pictures and an interview with Sam, from the Electric Bicycle Center in Fullerton California, where he talks about working with this company. You can reach their main landing page for battery repairs https://ebikemarketplace.com/collections/rebuilt-batteries. They advertised on EBR for a short period in late 2017/2018 and then I was told that they were restructuring or having some business changes and needed to pause. I welcome your feedback about them and my goal here is to guide people towards the best resource so they don't have to throw batteries away or end up in a frustrating, time consuming business exchange.

The second, more recent, resource I discovered was called Hi-C Battery. This happened when I was in Denver, Colorado filming reviews for Electric Bike Outfitters. The founder of Hi-C is Patrick Duggan, a former automobile mechanic who lots of shops in Denver know and have worked with for their own battery needs. Patrick is a high-speed kit guy who not only repacks and repairs batteries, but also tries to upgrade them to offer more capacity. He and I spent some time talking on camera and that is included in the EBO tour video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X0HDwy5w4uU. Patrick has been super friendly and responsive in sharing what services he is working on offering and asking for feedback about https://www.hicbattery.com/, which looks pretty good.

In my experience, Patrick has been the most responsive and seems to offer the widest range of services for ebike battery repair and repacking. He strikes me as an expert and my goal in sharing with you here is to help reduce waste by recycling and re-using existing ebikes vs. having to buy a new one. Many companies, including Bosch, seem to have their own programs and replacement packs available, but many older or smaller companies may not provide this level of support or simply may have gone out of business. I welcome your feedback and links to other great service providers and programs for recycling old packs, tips on shipping with hazmat hazardous materials, and your experience actually working with these companies.

Here are a few closing notes from a text exchange that Patrick and I had recently. He said that he has been studying reviews on EBR to determine which battery pack designs to stock and sell. He believes that Hi-C will be able to cover 75% of the batteries being sold with his replacements, about 15% of bikes will have to recycle the original case and rebuild the cell insert which is more expensive. Most of the cells he uses are high drain Lithium-manganese (INR) chemistry. The final 10% of batteries use the proprietary BMS and may be rebuildable... but only if the power has not shut out completely and reset the software. He is also able to rebuild custom packs for electric rides which I review sometimes on https://electricridereview.com/. He told me that one of the main reasons he has chosen to offer rebuild services is that he hates to see useable items wind up in the landfill. He's not into planned obsolescence... and I agree with him there :)

Ann M.
11 months ago

No ebike is perfect, this is a thread dedicated to sharing known issues or problems with electric recumbent bikes from Electric Bike Outfitters as well as any help and solutions you know of. Sometimes that means a DIY fix and other times it can mean a recall, software update or part replacement by a dealer.

Please be respectful and constructive with feedback, this is not a space for hate speech. In many cases, representatives from the company will see feedback and use it to improve their product. In the end, the goal is to enjoy riding and help each other go further and be safer.

1 year ago

Also consider installing a kit such as the Electric Bike Outfitters if you like your current bike.

Ken from Philadelphia
1 year ago

I purchased this bike, https://biria.com/bike/balloon-7, on 12/1/2016. I had been looking for a used one for about 6 months with no luck. My bike is black with black wall tires. It's a nice bike even without electrics.
Around 2/1/2017 I added a 350W front wheel kit from Electric bike outfitters, http://www.electricbikeoutfitters.com/ebo-cruiser.aspx
I didn't want to be the fastest kid on the block, but I do want to cruise with and sometimes without electric power. Hopefully this combination will be the ticket.
So far I've only put about 1.5 hours on the bike. I'm still in the test ride mode.
I'll post updates here.

1 year ago

I'm delighted with the EBO kits, and even put one on my wife's bike which has enabled us to do a lot more riding together. Almost every Sunday we ride quite a ways down the pathways to old town and have a nice lunch together. They are rated 350 watt geared motors and assist up to about 19-20mph, and I have gone 43 miles and still had a "bar" of charge remaining.

1 year ago

Very nice. I'll check out Electric Bike Outfitters. I was just reading a thread and watching a video on a Dillenger front wheel kit that was really affordable and had everything on my wish list for a conversion kit, except it was only a 350 motor and a front wheel conversion. I originally wanted the front wheel conversion, but I want more power and a rear wheel conversion seems a whole lot safer.

1 year ago

Supramax, if you already have a bike you like, a kit is a great way to go. I started out with putting an Electric Bike Outfitters kit on my old Trek 830 and it is a wonderful machine. In fact, it is my "go-to" bike for riding on the street, bike paths, and errands, despite my having a couple of mid-drive emtbs.

Ann M.
2 years ago

Exploring a more high powered direct drive motor system, Court reviews the rugged Electric Bike Outfitters' new Mountaineer system. This is an opportunity to see a system tested on a crunchy off road trail!

The Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Mountaineer is a high power, high speed electric bike kit capable of 30 mph top speeds, can be operated with pedal assist, trigger throttle or optional twist throttle. Heavier but sturdy 750 watt gearless hub motor, can be mounted in the front or rear wheel (I'd recommend front) and works with 0, 6, 7, 8 or 9 speed cassettes. Custom 25 Amp controller is built into a metal box that attaches to seat tube bosses so you need to make sure your bike has them there. More basic LED console with limited readouts, five magnet pedelec sensor isn't as responsive, decent warranty and overall low price for this much power and speed.

Tara D.
2 years ago

The Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Front Range Kit is a powerful gear-less hub motor kit capable of being installed as a front or rear wheel, sturdy and relatively quiet!

Ann M.
2 years ago

Denver based Electric Bike Outfitters newest kit, the Phantom, is either a front or rear mount with a narrow enough profile to install on a single gear bike. Nice too, is that this kit comes with disc brake mounting and available for a number of wheel sizes.

The Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Phantom Kit is an affordable electric bike kit with everything you need to get going: motor, battery, throttle, pedal assist. Custom designed casing is narrower than many other 350 watt motors and fits in 100 mm dropouts without scraping the fork, perfect for cycle cross, fixies and city style bike conversions. Front or rear wheel compatible, available in 16, 20, 24, 26 and 700c ~28" sizes, you choose from single speed, 6, 7, 8 or 9 speed cassette options for a bit extra. Fewer magnets on the cadence sensor (5 vs. 12) so not quite as responsive, have to take the crank arm off to get it installed, smaller battery capacity (but also lighter and smaller size), solid one year warranty on the kit.

7 months ago

There are freewheels, which are most common in older and/or less expensive bikes, and there are cassettes that are on newer/more expensive bikes. Freewheels are pretty easy to remove with the special tool, but I'll bet your local bike shop will remove it for free or at the most a very nominal charge. Putting them back on is easy - just spin it on. If have a freewheel then you can reuse it on the EBO wheel, if not then order one, but you can get them from Amazon for significantly less money.

Here is a photo of an EBO Phantom kit I installed on one of my neighbor's bike. He loves it.

7 months ago

Don't rule out the EBO kits, just get it in rear drive! I have two of the EBO Burley kits, and two of my neighbors have EBO Phantom kits - all of them rear wheel drive. All have worked great and are very good quality. You only need a torque arm for front wheel kit. Get the rear wheel kits so you have better handling and don't have the torque arm issue. There is almost no rolling resistance if you want to use it as regular bike. This is what my wife does with her's - rides for 3/4s of our 25 mile ride with it turned off as she wants to get more exercise, and just uses the motor for the last part with up hills back to our house. Works great.

7 months ago

Hi all - I'm looking for some feedback on the kits I'm considering. I have a 2014 Diamondback Outlook mountain bike. I ride it frequently for recreation and also use it once or twice a week for commute. I'm looking to install an ebike conversion kit on it so the ride is easier on the commute (less sweat) and if I want to go a little faster when I ride for fun.

I'm looking for a simple but reliable kit where I can remove the battery if I just want to ride the bike as a normal bike. The two choices I am considering is the EBO Phantom kit and the hub motor kits offered by Lunacycle.

The EBO Phantom kit is really attractive to me because there's a low amount of components compared to the kits at Lunacycle (no need to replace the handlebar grips for one). The issue I have is that the EBO kit doesn't include a torque arm and based on what I read at Lunacycle, it's highly recommended for safety reasons. I also read that I shouldn't have a front hub motor if I have front suspension.

Does that rule out EBO for me?

David Person
2 years ago

I have purchased two EBO Phantom kits. The first one at the beginning of March to try on my Public D8i and to see if the battery would fit on my wife's Linus M8. After installing the kit on my bike and using it for a week or so I decided to purchase a second kit, as the battery fit was just fine on the Linus. Both kits are the front hub motor version, as both the bikes are equiped with Shimano 8 speed IGHs in the rear. The install is very clean, only two cables running from the front of the bike to the controller/battery mounted on the down tube. All the wires from the handlebar area (left and right e-brakes, throttle, and the KT-LCD3 display) plug into a pigtail with only one cable at the other end that runs down the down tube, back to the controller. The motor cable is the second cable running back to the controller. The PAS sensor mounted at the bottom bracket plugs into the third cable that exits the controller. Very clean. Jason and his crew at EBO have done a great job of getting the length of the cables just about right so that you don't end up feet of extra cable to deal with. I had about a foot or so excess cable from the motor that needed to be looped and zip tied to the seat tube down by the bottom bracket. On the Public, because it has full length chain guard with mount at the bottom bracket, in the same location that the PAS sensor mount is located, I needed to do some modifications to the chain guard bracket so that both it and the PAS bracket could be mounted together behind the fixed cup of the bottom bracket. I felt this was a better solution than mounting the PAS on the left side of the bottom bracket, which I guess is possible but would have been a more difficult modification that what I wound up doing. I should also mention that the Linus was equipped with a 46t front chainring, which make contact with the battery mount. I switched it out for a 42t, like what is on the Public, and the clearance was fine. I also switched the rear cog to a 22t from 20t to keep the gearing the same as before. My only other suggestion/complaint is that the three button selector that controls the KT-LCD3 display is hardwired to the display and that wire could be a bit longer. Had a bit of a challenge getting the three button selector positioned next to the left grip, particularly on the Linus. Almost ran out of cable, but was ultimately able to get it done.

I love the KT-LCD3 display. There is a lot of adjustability to the settings. Court covered some if it in his video, but not all. The instructions aren't always the clearest, but with some playing around it becomes clearer (although I would not mess with setting P1 - P3, leave those were they are. Same with C2) Yes, there is a cruise setting (Parameter C7, if set to 1 then cruise function is On), and the throttle can be set to come on without pedaling or it can be set that it will function only when pedaling. With either set up, you are able to coast while in the cruise setting. And yes Court, there is even a setting to allow the throttle to function in assist level zero (P4 Parameter set to 0 and C4 Parameter set to 3), although I have not personally tried this setting. Parameters P4 and C4 work together to set up the throttle/PAS functionality. One of the programmable settings is the max speed. The unit default setting is 25 kph but the max setting is 72kph. I've set ours for 45kph (28 mph). One side note, the display only registers speed and time when the motor is operating. So when you coast without using the throttle or on cruise, the speed drops to zero and the trip time (used for average speed and time of trip) stops registering until the motor is running again. I will say that the e-brakes are great. I really like that feature and is one of the reasons I went with the EBO kit over another companies, who don't offer them for their kits). I won't mention who that company is, but they just put out an installation video for their new 500w kits and I have to say it does nothing to make me what to buy one of their kits. Not even a mention of which side of the bike the motor cable should on (to ensure the motor powers the wheel in the right direction).

I first became aware of this kit via the review on ElectricBikeReview.com and the accompanying video. My decision to go with the EBO Phantom kit was based a lot on the aesthetics of the installed kit (didn't want a ton of different wires running every which way to deal with), balancing power and range with weight and cost. Each kit added 13 lbs to the bikes. The power and range work well for our needs. We are no hotrodders, but we do pedal while riding and don't use the bikes like mopeds. We can move along at 18-20 mph in level 2 or 3 on level ground with no problem. We live in an area with rolling hills, so find ourselves using levels 4 or 5 for short climbs . But mostly we ride in level 2 or 3. Would I like more power? Sometimes, but it's not worth the extra expense and weight. Our typical ride is 10 miles and we return with 1 bar out on the little battery icon on the display. My longest ride was 21 miles with a lot of rolling hills and some headwind for part of the the ride. When I was done I had two bars (out of four) out on the display and 2 of the 4 green lights out on the battery.

Jason at EBO has been a pleasure to deal with. I've spoken to him several times on the phone with questions. He's been very responsive and has provided details on things like the specific cells used the the battery (Samsung 26F). This was my first venture into e-Bikes and I wanted to start with a commercial kit rather than purchasing a complete bike, so that I would have a better understanding of the system. Because of the high level if integration with this kit, other than playing with the settings on the display, it does not lend itself to customization. For instance, the controller is integrated into the bottom of the battery mount. Makes for a very clean install but you are not able to connect a watt meter (like a Watt's Up or Cycle Analyst) between the battery and controller to analyze the battery performance. So there are trade-offs.

This is an unsolicited review of the EBO Phantom kit. I have no personal connection to EBO or any of their employees and I paid the full retail price for each kit I purchased.

David Person

Mike The Bike
2 years ago


wat voor remmen heb je achter?
what kind of brakes you have behind?

Asthmatic Spaz
2 years ago

How much torque in lb?

Flo Mo
2 years ago

It's puristic and nice. Thanks for this video.^^

2 years ago

Seems like a bad location for the on-off switch. Is it meant to be operated by foot?