Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Phantom Kit Review

Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Review
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit 350 Watt Motor
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Battery Pack
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Kt Lcd Display Panel
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Side View
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Review
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit 350 Watt Motor
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Battery Pack
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Kt Lcd Display Panel
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Phantom Kit Side View

Summary

  • An affordable electric bike kit with everything you need to get going: motor, battery, throttle, pedal assist
  • Custom designed casing is narrower than many other 350 watt motors and fits in 100 mm dropouts without scraping the fork, perfect for cycle cross, fixies and city style bike conversions
  • Front or rear wheel compatible, available in 16, 20, 24, 26 and 700c ~28" sizes, you choose from single speed, 6, 7, 8 or 9 speed cassette options for a bit extra
  • Fewer magnets on the cadence sensor (5 vs. 12) so not quite as responsive, have to take the crank arm off to get it installed, smaller battery capacity (but also lighter and smaller size), solid one year warranty on the kit

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Electric Bike Outfitters

Model:

EBO Phantom Kit

Price:

$925

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

30 Day Return, 1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20152016

Bicycle Details

Battery Weight:

5.5 lbs (2.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

6 lbs (2.72 kg)

Gearing Details:

9 Single Speed or Shimano 6 or 7 Speed Cassettes or SunRace 8 and 9 Speed Cassettes

Brake Details:

Mechanical 5 Brand Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy

Spokes:

13 Gauge Stainless Steel, 36 Spoke

Wheel Sizes:

16 in (40.64cm)20 in (50.8cm)24 in (60.96cm)26 in (66.04cm)27.5 in (69.85cm)28 in (71.12cm)

Accessories:

EBO Quick Connect Anti-Water Wiring, Optional Black or Silver Motor Color, Optional Twist Throttle

Other:

Rear Motors Cost $25 to $50 Extra, Dropout Widths Front: 100 mm, Rear 120 mm or 135 mm, Brake Clamp Diameter 22.2 mm, 17 Amp Controller

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub, Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

374.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

Fixed Monochrome Backlit LCD by KT

Readouts:

Battery Level (4 Bars), Assist Level (0-5), Speedometer, Clock, Odometer, Wattage, Temperature, Average Speed, Max Speed

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The EBO Phantom Kit is my favorite product in the Electric Bike Outfitters lineup so far. It delivers all of the features and hardware you need to commute or just have some fun cruising around. The battery pack mounts lower and improves balance and handling over the EBO Cruiser Kit and I love how it matches the optional black hub and wires. For under $1k you get a relatively light weight kit with a nice LCD display, throttle and pedal assist mode and peace of mind with a one year warranty. It’s relatively easy to install except for the pedal assist sensor which requires that you completely remove one crank arm (that means extra tools and time) and the sensor itself feels a bit basic and outdated with five magnets vs. 12 on newer purpose built ebikes and kit’s I’ve seen around. Overall, considering you can get a front or rear wheel and choose from 16″ all the way up to 700c and go for a single speed or 6, 7, 8 and 9 speed cassette it’s a wonderful product. I got to test it out in the front-wheel style (which seemed quieter than rear-wheel) on a single speed State Tiburon which came out to just ~36 lbs with the kit installed! You can get this same frame yourself for ~$500 and it looks great, the real win is that the motor casing has been custom designed by Electric Bike Outfitters to fit without scraping the inside edges of narrower 100 mm front forks. That’s a big deal, I’ve run into this issue with previous kits and it’s not something you think about when selecting a bike. With the EBO Phantom you don’t have to think and it works with 100 mm, 120 mm and 135 mm setups (the larger two working with rear dropout widths).

Powering the wheel you select with this kit is a 350 watt internally geared hub motor. It’s generic… not 8Fun or some other brand I’ve seen, but clearly upgraded in terms of size and performance. I got to speak with the founder of Electric Bike Outfitters and asked about quality. He acknowledged that the entry level EBO Commuter Kit uses one of the cheapest options around but that more had been done with the higher end kits including the Phantom. In all cases, you get a one year warranty which is nice. Geared motors like this tend to be light weight, zippy and stealth (because of how small they are). You can choose from black or silver here but all of the spokes are silver and all rims are matte black. The rim is about one inch wide and should work with narrower tires as well as larger mountain style products but might not be ideal for the super narrow road tires. I believe the tires used for the demo were 700x23c.

Powering the kit is nicely sized “tube style” battery pack that mounts to the downtube. Most bikes with enough room in this triangle space (or an open downtube like a step-thru) should work as long as you’ve got two bottle cage bosses to mount it to. This does mean that you might need a rear rack with a trunk bag or saddle rail adapter to actually bring along water… The battery can be charged on or off the frame mount and clips in and out very easily. I commented on the EBO Commuter that it took longer to seat the battery pack because you had to manually screw in the power cable and that is not the case here. Inside the pack are quality Samsung Lithium-ion cells offering 36 volts and 10.4 amp hours for a very average 374.4 amp hours of capacity. I estimated range at 15 to 20 miles but you’ll go much further on some bikes than others. This State bike with its larger diameter wheels, hybrid-slick tires and narrow bar (for improved aerodynamics when reaching) could go 30+ in pedal assist mode on flat smooth terrain. Anyway, the pack has an integrated LED readout to help you discern the current charge level which is nice. The one downside is that you have to switch the pack on and off separately from the LCD display. It’s just an extra step that takes time and is easy to forget at the end of a ride.

Operating the EBO Phantom kit is fairy traditional once that battery and display have been activated. The display panel itself looks great and includes a backlight (hold up on the button pad). It can swivel a bit if you don’t over tighten the mount but it’s not removable so the sun and weather could take a toll over time. With the standard setup you’d have the three button pad mounted near your left grip and the trigger throttle over near the right. The display sits right in the middle and shows your power, speed, pedal assist level and some other readouts. I wouldn’t mind more increments on the battery icon (it just shows four) and while I love that you can override the five levels of pedal assist with the throttle it does not appear that you can operate it on level zero… so there’s basically no “throttle only” mode, just a low pedal assist with the option of full throttle override. All in all, not bad for a sleek and affordable kit.

I really like that this kit comes with everything you need and that it does not use a rear rack for the battery. I love that the battery itself is small and sleek looking, the motor is also fairly small and would hide nicely behind a cassette if you chose something other than a single speed. For the 6 and 7 speed options it’s $25 extra and for the 8 and 9 speed cassettes it’s closer to $50 but you’re still under $1k total. It’s fun to find a bicycle frame that suits your personality, style of riding or body type. Many taller riders struggle to find purpose-built ebikes that will fit them properly. Kits like this can be one solution and while the power and range are more average, they are still way better than human-only power in terms of speed and climbing ability. For people in more restrictive geographies, Electric Bike Outfitters offers a 250 watt version of their motor to comply with local laws. The cables are color coded for easy install and I believe you could also use this as a throttle only ebike or pedal assist only changing it from a Class 2 to Class 1 for use in different areas. Note that most kits add tackiness and ugliness with wires and zip ties vs. having them all integrated through the frame but you can hide this a bit with a darker colored frame. The review bike here had an extra long set of wires that were originally used with a tandem bicycle. The ones that come with aren’t as long… unless you make a special request :)

Pros:

  • Custom designed motor casing to fit in narrow 100 mm dropouts (commonly found on city bikes and fixies) without rubbing on the forks
  • Very light weight kit, smaller tube style battery improves balance and fits (verses a rear-rack setup) and should fit on a wide assortment of frames as long as they have bottle cage mounts on the downtube, the controller is built into the bottom seating area of the mount so you don’t need an extra box or wires mounted to the bike
  • The battery pack seats quickly and easily compared to the lower end EBO Commuter which requires you to screw a cable into the pack, it also locks for security and has an integrated LED charge indicator for use when the pack is not mounted to the system
  • Color coded wires are easy to setup, the motor cable has a quick disconnect point that makes servicing the wheel (front or rear) much easier
  • The included mechanical brake levers include a motor inhibitor switch which is important for pedal assist mode, they won’t work with hydraulic brake systems however
  • The wheelset and hub design are compatible with traditional brakes as well as disc brakes, there’s a screw pattern on the side of the hub for mounting a disc rotor
  • The trigger throttle works without changing your grip setup and doesn’t take up much space but you can also ask for a twist throttle if you prefer that style
  • Available in a huge assortment of wheel sizes including 16″, 20″, 24″, 26″, 27.5″ (650B) and ~28″ (700c) so you can convert folding bikes, kids bikes, road bikes, mountain bikes etc. and they all cost the same
  • This kit offers more Amps for increased starting and climbing power vs. the entry level EBO Commuter, that model is 14 Amps and this one is 17
  • You can override pedal assist with the variable speed throttle at full power at any time but there is no throttle-only mode so you’ll need to be in 1-5 to use it

Cons:

  • The pedal assist cadence sensor requires more effort to install than some of the clip-on designs I’ve seen in recent years
  • The cadence sensor only offers a five magnet disc vs. 10 or 12 on some newer hardware I’ve seen from other companies, it sounds like Electric Bike Outfitters might upgrade this in the future and frankly, it worked alright during my tests
  • If you have hydraulic disc brakes, the brake levers that are included with this kit won’t work so you won’t have a motor inhibitor
  • You have to power the battery pack on as well as the display unit to get the bike going… this adds a bit of time to each ride but also makes it easier to forget to turn the battery pack off when you park
  • There are no lights built into this kit and I think it would be difficult to wire them in, I like when I can run everything off of one battery but you can always get some aftermarket lights that are rechargeable if you ride at night a lot

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Electric Bike Outfitters Reviews

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Mountaineer Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,180
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A high power, high speed electric bike kit capable of 30 mph top speeds, can be operated with pedal assist, trigger throttle or optional twist throttle. Heavier but sturdy 750 watt gearless hub motor, can be mounted in the front or…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Front Range Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,083
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A powerful gearless hub motor kit capable of being installed as a front or rear wheel, sturdy and relatively quiet. Gearless motors tend to be heavier and this one is ~12 lbs and does not…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Cruiser Kit Review

  • MSRP: $925
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A feature rich, reasonably priced, electric bike kit with trigger throttle and cadence sensing pedal assist drive modes. The battery pack mounts into a sturdy universal rear-rack that can support ~55 lbs and…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Commuter Kit Review

  • MSRP: $704
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An affordable, all-inclusive electric bike kit available in many wheel sizes (front or rear) with a nice one year warranty. You get a standard 350 watt internally geared motor, 36 volt Lithium-ion battery pack and…...


J.C. Smith
2 years ago

I installed the EBO Phantom kit on a Jamis Coda Comp in January, 2016. Installation took me 4 hours or so, mostly because I had never removed a bottom bracket before. It’s not hard to do, I ‘m just slow the first time around. Both the trigger throttle and cadence sensor work very well. I did have to pry the dropouts apart about 2mm, but that should be OK with a steel frame. The control panel competes for space with a bunch of other stuff, so I added a Topeak bar extender for the panel. The ride is lots of fun. The battery boost gets me commuted with less sweat. Exercise has its place, but sometimes I just want to get to work/home. I’m very satisfied with the Phantom kit at this point.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hey J.C. thanks for sharing your experience, the bar extender idea is genius! I didn’t even know those existed, did you use something like this or was it different?

Reply
J.C. Smith
2 years ago

That’s the one. I installed it on the stem extension, pointing up, so the control panel sits on the extender, above the stem. That lets me keep a headlight, bell and trigger throttle in place on the handlebar, underneath the control panel I also use Bar Mitts in Winter, so that’s one more thing to deal with on the bar. I tried the bar extender on the handlebar, but it slipped too much because the bar is tapered from the stem clamp towards the end, and the extender could not grip tightly enough on the tapered section. Fortunately, the extender’s clamp can be adjusted to a wide range of diameters, so it works fine on the stem extension.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Nice, thanks J.C.! I love Bar Mitts, just got some as a gift for my uncle. I like your idea for the extendar and appreciate the thoughts on how it worked with the tapered handlebar.

Reply
Joe
8 months ago

Hi. Just new to electric bike kits and plan on buying my first one. Ive read a lot of reviews, including this one. Great page, by the way. very helpful.

Question: What realistic range might I expect with the Phantom (rear motor — I have a carbon fork so think rear would be better since I don’t want to buy a new fork, on a trek road bike that I have adapted to be more of a hybrid). I intend to always pedal .. not that interested in throttle only. Mostly flat or slight incline, maybe an occasional hill, but nothing crazy. I’m hoping to be able to ride 20+ miles, pedal assisted. Is that a reasonable expectation? Thanks.

Reply
Court Rye
8 months ago

Hi Joe! Yeah, I think the rear-mount makes great sense given your Carbon fork… I’ve had to bend some of my dropouts to fit motors and even file screws before because the hub casing was rubbing on dropout arms or rear stays… especially for narrow road bikes (keep that in mind or call and ask the kit company for measurements after measuring your own bike). As for efficiency and range, if you pedal along, I’d say that 20+ miles per charge is achievable for a ~350 watt hour pack. I usually divide watt hours by 20 to get an estimate of throttle-only range. It’s a quick and dirty approach that yields 17.5 miles in this case which would easily be topped by helping. I wish you luck and welcome you to share what you discover first hand with your kit and subsequent rides! Comments here or with pictures in the forum are always welcome and appreciated :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Trace martini
3 days ago

I have a phantom x, had it about a year and a half. When I start riding in morning, after it's charged all night, it has all 3 lights lit for about a mile, then the green light cuts off, about 3 miles into ride the yellow light is out, only the red light will stay on under load. I pedal most all the time, just use battery to maintain speed and lighten effort needed. I work about 5 miles from house and the battery has never died on way to work, but I charge it when I get there. It's a flat trip and I weigh 170. The bike has about 500 miles on it. Is this normal? Does the battery need replacing soon? Prodecotech says there is a 30 mile range but i figure it's more like 20, but it still concerns me that it has has only 1 light after 4 miles and it's relatively new. Any thoughts?

Dan Edwards
2 weeks ago

I had a 2013 G Stride 500.
I used it around the neighborhood and to go to the beach (South Florida)
My motor died before two years of use.
Prodeco said the motor had water damaged and wasn't covered by warranty. So I had to pay for a new motor. They treated me well with the bill though.
I was caught by the rain many times, and had to leave the bike parked under the rain many times.

About six months after replacing the motor, the battery died, probably because of water damaged too. The battery was two years old.
That was the end of it. The bike gathered dust for two years and I finally sold it for cheap as it was.
Now I'm shopping around for another eBike so I stopped here to leave some feedback.

Hopefully newer models are more water resistant, and warranty covers water damage now.

I friend of mine also had a water problem. He had the big orange bike, don't know the model name, but one of the expensive ones. His battery died and he found out that with the rain, the water didn't drain and made a pond on the batter rack holder.
Prodeco didn't recognize his claim, so he bought a new battery and drilled some holes on the battery holder to let the water out. Later on, his bike bike was stolen. :(

Another small issues with my 2013 G Stride 500 were:

Center stand too small. Even if it had two supports, it was kind of narrow and the bike was unstable on it.

Again under the rain, with the bike parked and tied, the motor would start to spin by itself. Somehow, water inside the throttle would make the motor to start spinning.

The On/Off red button could have an status indicator. It'd be nice, but I just saw that the newer models don't have it either. At least the Phantom that I saw on the store.

New models (again, at least the Phantom) don't have the option of cutting off power with the key. So if you leave the bike parked and tied, anyone could play with your engine and cause damage. Here in South Florida, bicycle theft is a big business. I already got two nice bikes stolen.

Other than that, very nice bike.

eBike makers could get ideas and solutions from motorcycles and and scooters. Everything would be easier. It's all invented already. They don't need to re invent the wheel.

Also, since we can mix with the traffic, rear turn signals could be nice to have.

Cheers.

As a new e bike user, we bought 2 of different makes, Rad Bikes, and Teo Fat bike.
I can say shop around online, look as those 2 and M2s bikes., Luna bikes.
I did notice that prodeco uses the same battery mounts/ frame design as Teo and M2s. But Prodecos line up is very under powered compared to the other brands.
Just my 2 cents

PCDoctorUSA
2 months ago

@Mike Burns Your points are spot on about the impression of the step-thru Elegant vs the Yukon. I definitely think Voltbike could sweep the entry-level commuter market by designing a commuter bike with a more aggressive look with the same quality build as their other bikes and keep the selling price under $1500. Take the look of Prodecotech's Phantom XR and outfit it with a removable rear rack, fenders, and the rest of the Voltbike component package and I'll buy one today.

Regarding tires, I thought I had to stay with a 4" tire on such a wide rim. I guess that shows how much I know. If I go with the Yukon (hope to make a decision within the next few weeks), my plans were to have my LBS swap out the Kenda's for something quieter like the Origin8 Supercell tires. As for the Elegant, I wish Voltbike had made the rear rack removable instead of a weld-on. And while I don't have a problem with the step-thru frame, it does prevent me from putting it on my car's hanging bike rack if I need to transport it due to a roadside emergency or scheduled maintenance at my LBS. I thought maybe I could get around it by using one of those adapter bars that are made specifically for women's and kids' bikes, but most of them have a weight limit of under 40#.

PCDoctorUSA
2 months ago

Currently living on O'ahu and have been commuting 8 miles each way into Honolulu on my Trek FX 7.2 fitness bike for the past 2 years due to economic necessity (one-car family) and to preserve my sanity (Honolulu ranks 8th for most traffic-congested city). The terrible roads here have taken a toll on my bike: 3 flats and 3 broken spokes so far. However, I can still beat the city bus home and I never sit in traffic.

Having well exceeded membership age for AARP, my daily bike commute isn't getting any easier and ebike could help keep me in the game longer and hopefully make it more enjoyable. I was looking at the usual fare of commuter ebikes and knew I needed a strong geared hub motor for some of the hills on my route. The last mile home is an average 5% grade ascent, which makes for a great descent going to work (40.8 mph coasting record to date). I was looking at the Prodecotech Phantom XR and more recently Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S, but then I started reading about commuters using fat-tire ebikes.

To make a long story short, the Yukon 750 Limited has made it to the top of my shopping list due to pricing, rider reviews and the quick response I've received from George Krastev to my questions. Now, I'd like to hear back from any Yukon 750 commuters out there to get their feedback and hear of their personal experiences and whether or not they would buy the bike again.

PCDoctorUSA
2 months ago

If there is one lesson after 2,500 km, I’d consider a less flashy bike. The fat tires draw too much attention. I am now looking at the Surface 604 Colt.
Thanks for all the feedback. I don't want to have to start changing things straight out of the box, which is only going to add to the cost of the bike and defeat the purpose of going with the lower priced Yukon.

I am concerned about the Yukon drawing unnecessary attention since Honolulu hasn't decided how to treat ebikes. Currently, you can't register them as a bike, but they don't consider them a moped either. Certain key players in the Hawaii Bicycling League have made it known on camera that they don't want ebikes in the bike lanes, but everyone wants to find a solution to Honolulu's traffic congestion. The bike lanes along my route are either being removed due to construction or nearly void of riders. There is one multi-use path where I might get some stares, but I may switch to the roadway anyway so I don't have to deal with crosswalks. I have yet to hear of any ebike riders being hassled by HPD for using established bike lanes. Like anything else, be responsible and don't be an a**hole on the bike.

I was interested in the new Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S, but I've read they've been having some quality control issues, which is probably due to the company trying to keep up with consumer demand. Their bikes are well-equipped at a price that's under $2k making them very attractive. One of the ebike shops that was carrying Juiced Bikes has stopped, so I can't check one out for myself. Another ebike dealer here carries Prodecotech bikes, and I really like the look of the Phantom XR. It could easily blend right in as any other bike, but the price tag is over $2k. Finally, I've got another ebike dealer with a used Motiv Shadow that includes a new battery for $999. I'm just nervous about buying a used ebike when I don't know how it was treated. Decisions, decisions.

Topaz
3 months ago

I had a 2013 G Stride 500.
I used it around the neighborhood and to go to the beach (South Florida)
My motor died before two years of use.
Prodeco said the motor had water damaged and wasn't covered by warranty. So I had to pay for a new motor. They treated me well with the bill though.
I was caught by the rain many times, and had to leave the bike parked under the rain many times.

About six months after replacing the motor, the battery died, probably because of water damaged too. The battery was two years old.
That was the end of it. The bike gathered dust for two years and I finally sold it for cheap as it was.
Now I'm shopping around for another eBike so I stopped here to leave some feedback.

Hopefully newer models are more water resistant, and warranty covers water damage now.

I friend of mine also had a water problem. He had the big orange bike, don't know the model name, but one of the expensive ones. His battery died and he found out that with the rain, the water didn't drain and made a pond on the batter rack holder.
Prodeco didn't recognize his claim, so he bought a new battery and drilled some holes on the battery holder to let the water out. Later on, his bike bike was stolen. :(

Another small issues with my 2013 G Stride 500 were:

Center stand too small. Even if it had two supports, it was kind of narrow and the bike was unstable on it.

Again under the rain, with the bike parked and tied, the motor would start to spin by itself. Somehow, water inside the throttle would make the motor to start spinning.

The On/Off red button could have an status indicator. It'd be nice, but I just saw that the newer models don't have it either. At least the Phantom that I saw on the store.

New models (again, at least the Phantom) don't have the option of cutting off power with the key. So if you leave the bike parked and tied, anyone could play with your engine and cause damage. Here in South Florida, bicycle theft is a big business. I already got two nice bikes stolen.

Other than that, very nice bike.

eBike makers could get ideas and solutions from motorcycles and and scooters. Everything would be easier. It's all invented already. They don't need to re invent the wheel.

Also, since we can mix with the traffic, rear turn signals could be nice to have.

Cheers.

philjlihp
3 months ago

I've had a phantom installed on a craigslist nashbar 29er frame since April of 2016. Since that time, I regularly commuted 15 miles per day for about 3 months, then 7 miles per day for about 10 months, and now just to and from the bus stop (<1.5 miles/day total). Getting a bit weary of traffic in orange county CA and the gov't pays for my bus pass. The battery isn't what it was a year ago, but still does well. I just rode the Santa Ana river trail to Huntington Beach round trip (40 miles) with some wind on the way down and the battery helped me make it through, although I was pretty low on power by the time I made it home. The battery is a good size/capacity - very sufficient for most ebike users. 350 watt motor is pretty peppy (75 kg rider). I recommend 29er (or similar) tires to keep the shock of road vibrations low on the battery and connections. Now look at my bike. Not a bad bike for $1100. I'm saving a lot of cash having no car.

1/1
ReallyGoodEbikes
4 months ago

Full Disclosure: I sell ebikes online and would love to have you as a customer.

That being said, there are a number of ebikes that meet your criteria and are worth considering. Here are a few I think might meet your needs, all from very reputable ebike manufacturers.

Emojo Breeze
Green Bike USA GB2
Phantom Swirl
eProdigy Banff
Espin Flow

Please let me know if you have any questions. I would love to help.

Steve
ReallyGoodEbikes.com
805-881-3365

ElectricBikeRevolution
4 months ago

My wife LOVES the EMOJO Breeze! The battery is right under the seat and that helps keep it balanced. 500w/36V gives it good power, but it won't overwhelm you on your gravel flat trail. Plus she loves the colors.

Another good one she likes is the Phantom Swirl... has some good power, but is also a great cruiser bike that can be used for commuting.

Both are great bikes that my wife loves, good luck Bethy and welcome to the electric bike community!!

fit4lyfe
4 months ago

I dropped the money on the Phantom kit. Looks like I will need to take apart the bottom bracket to install the PAS. If I get a standard bicycle tool kit, will it have everything I need to do this install (remove bottom bracket and transfer current freewheel to new rim)? I'll probably get a tool kit and torque arms from Amazon.

Alphbetadog
4 months ago

Alphbetadog - did you get the hub with or without a freewheel? I don't know much about how complicated it is to remove a freewheel so it if isn't something simple, I should just get the hub with a freewheel installed.
There are freewheels, which are most common in older and/or less expensive bikes, and there are cassettes that are on newer/more expensive bikes. Freewheels are pretty easy to remove with the special tool, but I'll bet your local bike shop will remove it for free or at the most a very nominal charge. Putting them back on is easy - just spin it on. If have a freewheel then you can reuse it on the EBO wheel, if not then order one, but you can get them from Amazon for significantly less money.

Here is a photo of an EBO Phantom kit I installed on one of my neighbor's bike. He loves it.

Alphbetadog
4 months ago

Don't rule out the EBO kits, just get it in rear drive! I have two of the EBO Burley kits, and two of my neighbors have EBO Phantom kits - all of them rear wheel drive. All have worked great and are very good quality. You only need a torque arm for front wheel kit. Get the rear wheel kits so you have better handling and don't have the torque arm issue. There is almost no rolling resistance if you want to use it as regular bike. This is what my wife does with her's - rides for 3/4s of our 25 mile ride with it turned off as she wants to get more exercise, and just uses the motor for the last part with up hills back to our house. Works great.

fit4lyfe
4 months ago

Hi all - I'm looking for some feedback on the kits I'm considering. I have a 2014 Diamondback Outlook mountain bike. I ride it frequently for recreation and also use it once or twice a week for commute. I'm looking to install an ebike conversion kit on it so the ride is easier on the commute (less sweat) and if I want to go a little faster when I ride for fun.

I'm looking for a simple but reliable kit where I can remove the battery if I just want to ride the bike as a normal bike. The two choices I am considering is the EBO Phantom kit and the hub motor kits offered by Lunacycle.

The EBO Phantom kit is really attractive to me because there's a low amount of components compared to the kits at Lunacycle (no need to replace the handlebar grips for one). The issue I have is that the EBO kit doesn't include a torque arm and based on what I read at Lunacycle, it's highly recommended for safety reasons. I also read that I shouldn't have a front hub motor if I have front suspension.

Does that rule out EBO for me?

Alphbetadog
4 months ago

If you already have comfortable bikes that you like, and you are reasonably handy, consider getting an ebike kit such as the ones from Electric Bike Outfitter (EBO) http://www.electricbikeoutfitters.com/index.aspx I put these kits on both my wife's and my old "comfort" bikes and we love them, and ride a LOT more than we used to do since hills and headwinds are no big deal. You can dial in up to 5 levels of assistance so you still get as much exercise as you want, yet don't have to worry about getting pooped out half way home. I've gotten over 43 miles and still had a bar of battery left. EBO's Phantom kit is pretty nice.

Dewey
8 months ago

Haibike sduro hard seven SM has a torquey Yamaha motor. Izip E3 dash or Raleigh Route IE use the transX motor. The 2017 Focus Jafira 29 ($2800) uses the Bosch Performance Line CX motor. The Prodecotech Phantom mid-drive isn't on sale yet but will have the new Bafang Max motor, it would be worth waiting to test ride the Phantom if you're prepared to wait and spend a bit more ($3k). Treks use the Shimano Steps motor which provides less torque but more range. Try different motors to find what works for you.

CosmicWarrior
8 months ago

I have a Phantom X. I know it's not really made for off road, but I still do some bumpy riding. I have to have cruiser bars, Can't do the straight bars. I found some I like on Amazon, but they seem kind of cheap. I am attaching a link to the bars I like. I read some reviews that said that these bars have broken. I am not a heavy person and I doubt that would happen, but like I said, I do a bit of rough riding. Has anyone out there converted their handlebars to cruisers? Any brands that you might recommend? Do you think the ones I like would work out alright on the phantom? I might have to get new cables, but oh well. It says 38.1, so they should work, right? Will I need a different stem too? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks

https://www.amazon.com/Sunlite-Handlebar-31-8mm-Clamp-Length/dp/B0014VV9TA/ref=pd_sim_468_4?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B0014VV9TA&pd_rd_r=HXCY01NPJYDC6QEBAB9Y&pd_rd_w=u7YYk&pd_rd_wg=mwS43&psc=1&refRID=HXCY01NPJYDC6QEBAB9Y

Josh Levinson
9 months ago

I'm looking to get into ebikes!
I have fairly short last mile commute: ~4 miles, 5 days a week, in hilly/busy SF.

I'm 24yo, 5'10" 145lbs.
I'm active/moderately fit.
I don't currently bike frequently, but want to use my new commute as a reason to exercise via biking (so I don't mind a pedal assist; throttle isn't a requirement).

Right now, I'm looking at a used
- Prodecotech phantom X2
- a2b metro
- kalkhoff agattu impulse 7
- public d8 electric

all of which I've found preowned within my budget ($1k).

My preferences in a bike are:
- pedal assist, preferably dedicated/pure throttle
- suspension fork
- foldable (nice-to-have for train ride)
- well-made/name-brand parts

Any advice on one bike vs the other, or any general advice at all would be greatly appreciated!

Mike The Bike
2 years ago

Vertaal

wat voor remmen heb je achter?
what kind of brakes you have behind?

Asthmatic Spaz
2 years ago

How much torque in lb?

Flo Mo
2 years ago

It's puristic and nice. Thanks for this video.^^

GNiessen
2 years ago

Seems like a bad location for the on-off switch. Is it meant to be operated by foot?