Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Cruiser Kit Review

Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit Review
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser 350 Watt Internally Geared Hub
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Rear Battery Rack Samsung Cells
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kt Lcd Display With Throttle
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit Intalled
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit Review
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser 350 Watt Internally Geared Hub
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Rear Battery Rack Samsung Cells
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kt Lcd Display With Throttle
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit Intalled

Summary

  • A feature rich, reasonably priced, electric bike kit with trigger throttle and cadence sensing pedal assist drive modes
  • The battery pack mounts into a sturdy universal rear-rack that can support ~55 lbs and includes pannier blockers
  • You get to choose from a wide range of wheel sizes, front or rear mounted motor setup and add a cassette of gears from 1 to 6, 7, 8 or 9 but that costs $25 to $50 extra, you can choose from silver or black for motor casing color
  • Installing the cadence sensor for this kit can be more tedious and it only offers five magnets vs. 12 on some other kits I've tested, the battery pack, tail light and main display have to be powered on separately which can be easier to forget when you stop riding

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Electric Bike Outfitters

Model:

EBO Cruiser Kit

Price:

$925

Suggested Use:

Cruising, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

30 Day Return, 1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20152016

Bicycle Details

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

6 lbs (2.72 kg)

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

9 Single Speed or Shimano 6 or 7 Speed Cassettes or SunRace 8 and 9 Speed Cassettes

Brake Details:

Mechanical 5 Brand Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy

Spokes:

13 Gauge Stainless Steel, 36 Spoke

Wheel Sizes:

16 in (40.64cm)20 in (50.8cm)24 in (60.96cm)26 in (66.04cm)27.5 in (69.85cm)28 in (71.12cm)

Accessories:

Rear Carry Rack with Pannier Blockers (25 kg Weight Limit), EBO Quick Connect Anti-Water Wiring, Integrated Backlite (LINEO by Spanninga) Optional Twist Throttle

Other:

Rear Motors Cost $25 to $50 Extra, Dropout Widths Front: 100 mm, Rear 120 mm or 135 mm, Brake Clamp Diameter 22.2 mm, 17 Amp Controller

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub, Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Fixed Monochrome Backlit LCD by KT

Readouts:

Battery Level (4 Bars), Assist Level (0-5), Speedometer, Clock, Odometer, Wattage, Temperature, Average Speed, Max Speed

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Cruiser Kit from Electric Bike Outfitters is unique in that it offers a rear-rack style battery pack vs. one that mounts mid-frame on the downtube. This rack style battery used to be more common in the ebike kit space but has become less popular in recent years due to balance and handling limitations. Basically… they are rear heavy and position weight higher up which can be less stable when parked and more dangerous if tipped. I personally tend to prefer the lower center of gravity that mid-mounted batteries offer but recognize that for some applications, like step-thru frames, the benefits of easily mounting the bike and comfortably standing over the bike when stopped become more important. And so, for this demo we were using the ~$500 Crosby model from Pure City Cycles which looks beautiful and perfectly illustrates the strengths and weaknesses of the EBO Cruiser Kit. The Crosby comes stock with its own silver rack which was replaced here by the handsome and sturdy black battery-mount rack that is included with the EBO Cruiser conversion kit. This bike also had fenders, a comfortable saddle and swept back handlebars for that upright relaxed cruiser feel which all remained in tact. Basically, the e-bike kit itself is plug and play… you can choose a front or rear mounted wheel with motor pre-installed and it’s designed to work with traditional brakes or disc brakes. There’s definitely some screwing around and effort that goes into getting everything setup correctly (especially the cadence sensor) but it looks great and rides well once complete. My biggest complaint about this particular build was actually the kickstand that comes with the Crosby… it barely held the bike up once the heavy battery pack was mounted to the rear rack and I think I’d replace that immediately if this was my own bike, Amazon has several adjustable kickstands on offer.

There are lots of choices when it comes to this electric bike kit and the first major one is wheel size. It’s an easy choice though because your bike will probably only accommodate one size! The Crosby I was testing with here had 26″ wheels so that’s the size used for the review. Electric Bike Outfitters offers 16″, 20″, 24″, 26″, 27.5″ and 700c or ~28″ which is common on city bikes. If you aren’t sure what size wheel you need, look at both sides of the tires on your bike and try to find a measurement… You might see some air pressure ratings like 30 to 50 PSI and likely the size such as 700x35c. If you’re ordering the bike online or through a shop just read the details in the description or call Electric Bike Outfitters for help, their website is pretty nice and easy to use. So the next choice is whether you want a front or rear mounted motor. For those who might want to swap between their traditional unmotorized wheels I recommend a front motor because it’s much easier to install and take off. For those who plan to ride more and want the best traction and steering I recommend he rear motor but it can end up costing $25 to $50 more if you add sprockets to work with your gearing system. The Pure City Crosby I was testing with had an 8 speed setup stock so the kit also had to have 8 gears to work properly. Note that you can choose from a single speed design and 6, 7, 8 or 9 speeds. The final question to ask yourself is whether you want silver or black. The spokes are always silver so that hub tends to blend in more but the rim has a black accent on it so both end up looking alright in the end. I found that the front motor operated more quietly… both offer the same power rating of 350 watts nominal and are internally geared which allows them to feel peppier when starting and climbing but also tends to wear more quickly than a gearless direct drive motor. The motors whir a bit (especially at low speeds and under heavy load) but are warrantied for a year. I’d estimate that the motor on its own weighs about six pounds.

Powering this kit is a beautiful slide-in rack mounted battery with premium Samsung Lithium-ion cells. The batter and rack are colored black to match each other and the pack feels well protected when locked into the controller box surrounded by the rack. The tubing on the rack is a bit oversized but may still work with clip-on panniers and you get pannier blockers on both sides of the rack to keep bags and cargo from snagging in the wheel. My favorite part about the whole setup is the integrated LINEO LED light by Spanninga. It feels really polished and has a built-in reflector… but unfortunately you have to turn it on and off separately from the battery and the main display. It’s actually not a huge deal because this allows you to operate the light when the kit is completely shut off (perhaps you’ve almost completely discharged your battery but still want to ride safe). All things considered, the battery, rack and light all work very well and offer an above-average capacity of 36 Volts, 11.6 Amp hours for a total of 417.6 Watt hours which should go 17+ miles per charge on throttle power alone for a 170 lb rider on flat paved terrain. You can extend your range by pedaling along and using the lower settings in pedal assist.

Pedal assist is a great option to have on any electric bike in my opinion because it incentivizes pedaling allowing you to get more exercise, stretch your legs, focus your hands on steering and let your fingers relax (vs. pressing a trigger throttle or twist throttle). The great news for the EBO Cruiser is that it offers both assist and Throttle mode so you can choose how to ride and even override with the throttle at any time. I use this strategy a lot… riding in level two or three in pedal assist then stepping it up with the throttle to pass a fellow rider, get up to speed quickly from a stop sign or climb a short hill. Once my objective is complete I release the throttle and go back to pedaling. One complaint about the EBO Cruiser kit (and most of the Electric Bike Outfitters systems) is that there is no throttle-only mode. You have to be in PAS 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 to use the throttle. But at least you can use full power with the throttle, it doesn’t matter which PAS mode you’re in. Another question mark I had while riding was how well the limited five sensor cadence disc was performing. I was impressed to be honest, I see a lot of 12 magnet sensors these days so five had me worried. Apparently EBO plans to upgrade their sensors in the future but the five magnet setup really wasn’t all that bad. The real challenge is getting it on when installing the kit. You have to take your crank arm completely off which can be a two person job and require special tools… this might be worth paying a local shop to help with but that adds to the overall price of the kit.

The final consideration here is operation and the kit is pretty standard… You do have to power the battery and display on separately, there’s a toggle switch at the rear of the pack and a power button on the remote pad usually mounted near your left grip. Lots of ebikes and kits function this way but I’m always forgetting to turn the battery off after each ride so hopefully you’ll remember on your own ebike ;) Once powered up the display shows battery charge level, speed, assist level, odometer, time, temperature and a few more readouts. It’s a lot to take in but the screen is easy to read in light or dark because it’s backlit (just hold the up arrow for a few seconds). The brake levers included with this kit are wired into the system so anytime you pull, they will cut power to the motor and that’s important for pedal assist mode. To me, this kit is a winner because it’s flexible and relatively affordable. You get literally everything you need to convert most bicycles to electric for under $1,000 and you get a one year warranty to boot. These days you can get some entry level electric bikes starting at ~$1,500 and the wires will all be integrated and you won’t have to do much work compared to a kit… but those tend to be lower quality bikes with limited sizing options. On the flip side, many purpose built quality cruisers like those from Pedego cost $2k to $3,500. There’s room for improvement refining this kit by swapping the cadence sensor for one with more sensors that’s easier to install and integrating the battery, light and display with fewer on/off buttons but for the price it’s a good setup.

Pros:

  • Color coded wires are easy to setup, the motor cable has a quick disconnect point that makes servicing the wheel (front or rear) much easier
  • You get brake levers with integrated motor inhibitors here which could come in handy if you upgrade to pedal assist (much more affordable to do when you buy the bike vs. later since it uses a different controller)
  • I like trigger throttle because it allows you to use your existing grips and twist shifter but you can upgrade to a twist throttle if you prefer
  • Available in a huge assortment of wheel sizes including 16″, 20″, 24″, 26″, 27.5″ (650B) and ~28″ (700c) so you can convert folding bikes, kids bikes, road bikes, mountain bikes etc. and they all cost the same
  • This kit offers more Amps for increased starting and climbing power vs. the entry level EBO Commuter, that model is 14 Amps and this one is 17
  • The mechanical brake levers are compatible with traditional designs as well as disc brakes and the motor has a mounting pattern for use with a disc brake rotor
  • You can override pedal assist with the throttle at any time but there is no throttle-only mode so you’ll need to be in 1-5 to use it
  • The rack-mounted battery pack comes with a built in Spanninga LED light that looks great and works whether the bike is powered on or not

Cons:

  • The pedal assist cadence sensor requires more effort to install and the units I saw only had a five sensor disc which isn’t as responsive as the 10 and 12 magnet designs
  • You have to power the battery pack on as well as the display unit to get the bike going… this adds a bit of time to each ride but also makes it easier to forget to turn the battery pack off when you park – same thing with the rear light, it is activated with a separate rubber switch at the rear but this isn’t so bad if you just want the light on and aren’t using the battery to power the bike
  • The cadence sensor only offers a five magnet disc vs. 10 or 12 on some newer hardware I’ve seen from other companies, it sounds like Electric Bike Outfitters might upgrade this in the future and frankly, it worked alright during my tests

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Electric Bike Outfitters Reviews

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Mountaineer Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,180
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A high power, high speed electric bike kit capable of 30 mph top speeds, can be operated with pedal assist, trigger throttle or optional twist throttle. Heavier but sturdy 750 watt gearless hub motor, can be mounted in the front or…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Front Range Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,083
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A powerful gearless hub motor kit capable of being installed as a front or rear wheel, sturdy and relatively quiet. Gearless motors tend to be heavier and this one is ~12 lbs and does not…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Phantom Kit Review

  • MSRP: $925
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An affordable electric bike kit with everything you need to get going: motor, battery, throttle, pedal assist. Custom designed casing is narrower than many other 350 watt motors and fits in 100…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Commuter Kit Review

  • MSRP: $704
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An affordable, all-inclusive electric bike kit available in many wheel sizes (front or rear) with a nice one year warranty. You get a standard 350 watt internally geared motor, 36 volt Lithium-ion battery pack and…...


Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

RoadWrinkle
16 hours ago

Have owned a motiv cruiser since 2014, have about 500 miles on it. The BMS geared hub motor is pretty durable and the 48 volt/10Ah battery is still charging full and with the rated output. A better chain, chain ring and cassette is needed to avoid two reoccurring problems: chain slip and chainsuck. When you have to peddle a bit harder to get up a hill, even with careful shifting and cadence, these problems occur (this with a chain at the correct tension).

RoadWrinkle
16 hours ago

Attached a rear rack (Ibera Pack Rack) using the factory bosses, had to fab the rear stabilizer arms out of flat bar, and used spacers at the rear drop outs for better clearance. Mounts strong and sturdy, no vibrations or noise. Had to cut the right ergo grip to fit with the throttle. Used M-Factory (ebay, $59.00 pair) bar end mirrors that are sturdy, adjustable, and small but slightly heavier than most bicycle mirrors. This actually has a noticeable stabilizing effect to the front end handling and steering.

I know there are larger Ah batteries available after market that fit into the slide-in, the Samsung pack for example, still looking for a source other than ebay or Ali Express, where some sellers try to sell name brand batteries with generic cells from China.

1/6
Chris Nolte
4 days ago

Still looking for a stealthy purpose built mid-drive with IGH and throttle that doesn't look like and Ebike. Bulls comes closest with the Evo with Gates belt but no throttle.
Lots of us in our 60s need that boost to start a heavy bike while at a stop light in heavy traffic and the IGH to shift down if in the wrong gear. There's a big market here for geezers that love biking and want something with more personality than a cruiser style ebike. Looks like FLX bikes are getting close with the Bafang Max but no IGH yet.
With a proper pedal assistance it shouldn't take much effort at all to get the bike going. We hear many with this same argument and then they test a bike with a Bosch or similar system and they get it. Maybe I'm a bit biased though since I don't have any bike with throttles in the shop. Several leading shops seem to be moving in a similar direction though. With proper pedal assist you don't need a throttle.

romagjack
4 days ago

Still looking for a stealthy purpose built mid-drive with IGH and throttle that doesn't look like and Ebike. Bulls comes closest with the Evo with Gates belt but no throttle.
Lots of us in our 60s need that boost to start a heavy bike while at a stop light in heavy traffic and the IGH to shift down if in the wrong gear. There's a big market here for geezers that love biking and want something with more personality than a cruiser style ebike. Looks like FLX bikes are getting close with the Bafang Max but no IGH yet.

Barkme Wolf
7 days ago

Love the saddle- Here is my video review.

Billy Burditt
1 week ago

I'm looking for an electric mountain bike. I'll mainly be using it to commute to work, so it will primarily be used as a road bike. I want a mountain bike in case I decide to take up trail riding in the future and for occasional off roading.

I rented a cruiser bike on vacation, and I really enjoyed the twist throttle. However, the only mountain bike that I could find with a twist throttle is the pedago ridge rider. Are there other mountain bikes with a twist throttle?

The pedago ridge rider seems like a nice bike, but I want to look at all options before making such a large purchase. I have a trek and izip dealer near me, so I was considering those too.

Robert W Green
1 week ago

Hey @Robert W Green, glad the site has helped you and thanks for chiming in here and sharing your experience. My first ebike experience was lame too but I saw the potential and am happy to see these things getting better with each passing year! Which ebike are you looking at now or what did you buy after the Craigslist one?

Last year I bought a BigCat Fatcat XL and a year later have over 2200 miles on it. I had to replace the seat with a noseless seat and the mtb handlebars with beachcruiser handlebars and now own what I call a bruiser. I'll be recieving an UbanX all in one wheel soon that I think I'll install on an Electra Cruiser 7D. This bike will be my weekender and backup bike for when the FatCat is in the shop. I wanted to add pictures but couldn't get them to fit.

hualalai
1 week ago

The Scoop

I’ve benefitted tremendously from the insights and tips from everyone on this board, so I wanted to add my experience to the mix. Since I’m a complete noob to the electric bike universe, I suspect my observations will only be helpful to those who are coming from a similarly inexperienced place, but here goes....

The Search

46 year old male. Moderately out of shape, with some back and knee issues that have kept me off of non-stationary bikes for more than 20 years. At 6’1, 185 pounds I was looking for, above all else for a bike that would be comfortable to ride. Upright riding, pedal forward, cushy seat, easy to handle. I’m lucky enough to live just steps away from the coolest beach bike path on the planet (in my humble opinion), but in the six years I’ve been living here, I haven’t set foot on it once. Totally nuts, I know. So after wistfully watching the bikes fly by for years, I decided it was time to jump in. A pedelec beach cruiser seemed like the perfect solution to allow me to get back in shape without taxing my joints and back too much.

The Budget

I decided that something in the $2,000 range would be fine. While I could afford to go higher, $2000 was the most I was willing to spend on a first attempt at an ebike -- something that might ultimately wind up collecting dust in my garage if I wound up making a tremendous mistake. I did a little bit of research, found this terrific site, when to the Expo in Long Beach. Was ambivalently drifting toward Pedego, as it seemed to meet most of my specs (except my budget), when I stumbled upon...

The E-Lux Newport Step Thru. Definitely love at first sight here. Based on absolutely nothing, I heard the voice in my head say “You must have this bike” At around $1900 before extras, bells and whistles, it was a good $1000 cheaper than similar Pedego models, and I was hard pressed to find much of a difference. My biggest hesitation was that Pedego is a much more established company, and I worried that ELUX’s startup status might make service and parts an issue down the road. I also wanted to take a test ride to see if the ride lived up to the fantastic visuals.

The Test Ride/Buying Experience

Decided to drive about an hour down to Orange County, the home of ELUX’s headquarters and rental operation to take one out to the beach for a couple of hours, and ask a few questions from their sales staff. To be honest, I was sold after my first ten minutes on the bike. It was precisely what I was looking for, and even the well-travelled rental rode beautifully. And while I’m still concerned about the long-term advisability of buying a big ticket item from a small company with a shorter track record, this was balanced by the OUTSTANDING customer service I received during the sales process. Renee was the sales rep who assisted me with the rental, but she also patiently answered all of my questions during the follow up, and eventual sales process. All of the costs, pros/cons were spelled out clearly, and I never felt the slightest bit of sales pressure at any point. They should give some pointers to the car dealerships! Even though there is an ELUX dealer in Santa Monica (very close to me), the OC location had a slightly better price, and they offered to have it delivered completely assembled to my home up in LA. The model with the particular specs I wanted was already in the warehouse, so I ordered the bike on a Saturday morning, and had it pulling up to my house on a Sunday afternoon!! The guy who delivered the bike was (I believe) one of the co-owners of the company, and couldn’t have been nicer. He took the time to walk me through some of the last minute setup questions I had, and made sure everything was in working order before leaving. Customer service should always be this terrific. With an upgraded battery (from 10AH to the 14AH) and a decision to upgrade the standard comfy seat to a SERFAS CRS-1 Super Cruiser, my total cost wound up being around $2200. And while this is hardly a cheap bike, I do feel like it’s a tremendous value for what I got.

The Ride

In almost every way, the ELUX Newport Step Thru met my primary goal of a comfortable ride. The pedal-forward design has given my knees a real break, and the upright riding position and wide handle bars, have me sitting straight and enjoying the beautiful Pacific Ocean vistas! Because of my limited flexibility, I chose the low step thru model versus the step over. And after a moment of embarrassment for choosing the one clearly designed as a “women’s bike”, I was super glad that I did. Hopping on and off of the step thru is a breeze, and the absence of the top bar seems to compromise the stability of the bike only very minimally. The frame is sturdy and can stand up to quite a bit of punishment. Even though 80% of my riding is on the well-paved beach bike paths, I do take it out on to city streets, and it absorbs quite a few potholes and bumps. The construction of the ELUX frame seems solid, and holds up fine. The look of the paint and fenders is fantastic. The Newport comes in White, Black, Powder Blue, and Sea Foam Green. Each color is so vibrant and stark, that I genuinely had a hard time choosing, ultimately going for the sea foam green to go with the beach vibe that I wanted. And while I have picked up a scratch or two in my first two months of use (about 300 miles), this is probably more due to my carelessness than the quality of the paint job, which seems to weather quite well. Simply put, it is a gorgeous bike.

One of the complaints that I had read in some reviews of the ELUX Newport was that the back end weight of the battery can lead to a slightly unbalanced ride. And while this is hardly a deal breaker, I can confirm that the rear end weight (particularly on a bike that is so heavy overall) is noticeable. I probably exacerbated this problem a bit by choosing to zip tie a basket over the rear cargo area, rather than the front. Something to keep in mind. Also, I’m constantly concerned that the bike it going to tip over when I have it parked, especially if I have any cargo whatsoever in the rear basket. Even empty, it seems to teeter a bit, in spite of a well-made, heavy duty kickstand that is provided with the bike. That said, the placement of the battery itself is intuitive and simple. Removing and reinserting the battery is a breeze, and it makes for great recharging flexibility.

The LED display on the ELUX is, from everything I can tell, identical to the one on most Pedago models, and it’s pretty simple to use, giving you all of the essential controls at your fingertips. Moving between levels of pedal assist is easy, and in short order becomes as intuitive as you could ever want. For me, having the option of a throttle only override was a must, and I think it should be for you too. There are just too many occasions where you want that instant boost of power to pass someone/something on the road. Personally, I like the trigger throttle of the ELUX over the twist throttle of the Pedago, but that may just be me.

The grips on the ELUX Newport were comfortable and quality, but I can’t say the same for the cheap, poorly made bell. Mine was shifting in place and junky from almost day one. When I get around to it, I’ll replace with something more reliable (for safety reasons). Not a big deal though.

If I did have one structural complaint about the bike itself, it would be in the area of suspension. Now granted, I don’t have a lot to compare it to, and I realize that this is definitely NOT a mountain bike. It’s a beach cruiser, and the suspension is not designed to absorb every tiny bump on the road. Nonetheless, comfort was a big priority of mine, and even with the cushy seat and the mostly even terrain that I ride, I do find my self feeling it in the seat when I come up against small rattles and shakes. Ultimately, I may explore adding some kind of additional suspension, so if there’s anyone out there who’s had similar issues with the Newport, I’d be interested to hear your thoughts.

I’ve been pretty impressed with the quality and efficiency of the motor so far. I had heard comments in other reviews that it was on the noisy side, but I’ve found mind to be unnoticeable, and almost whisper-quiet (perhaps because I’m riding near the ocean, or on city streets). Regardless, it’s fairly responsive, even though I find myself often riding in the least responsive, battery saving, “ECO mode” most of the time. I haven’t done enough hilly riding to comment about the power of the motor for steep climbs, but I will say that in the highest power mode, I’m zipping from 0 to 20 mph in a flash. I have had one or two incidents where the motor did not kick in upon initially powering the bike on. This was instantly remedied by powering the bike off and rebooting. Never a big deal, and overall reliability of the motor has been very good.

The Battery

I’m only able to get out riding a couple of times per week, but when I ride, I like to ride far. My dream trail takes me about 19-20 miles each way, for a total of 38-40 miles. So the question is, can you get that far on the Elux Newport? The answer: yes... pretty much. I learned the hard way on my first few outings that there are some severe limitations to the accuracy of the LED display power indicator. I purchased the 14AH battery (A MUST, as it turns out) which on a full charge starts you with about 54w. The owners manual indicates that an empty battery is 42w, but this is complete nonsense. In reality, once the display dips to 46-47ish you are on borrowed time. And since it is a bad idea to run a lithium battery all the way down to empty, it is really annoying that there isn’t more precision in the gauge. I suspect that this is a drawback of most non-super high end ebikes, but having a more reliable and accurate power indicator would be a big help. As it is, I had to do some trial and error to figure out precisely how far a full charge could take me, and do so independently on the display number, which I find draws down very slowly early in the ride, and then tumbles down rapidly once it dips below 50w. The power bar is similarly unreliable. You start with 5 bars, and it takes quite a while to drop to 4 or 3, but then 2 bars disappears very quickly. Apart from the damage it probably does to the battery, I can say from personal experience that running out of juice on an obscenely-heavy beach cruiser.... really sucks. Fortunately, I’ve made my mistakes in that department, and won’t make them again. I’ve also taken to carrying my charger with me when I ride (it weighs very little), and feel better knowing that I can sneak into a cafe for some emergency recharging when push comes to shove.

The good news, (in spite of all my complaining) is that the actual range of the 14AH battery is actually quite reasonable. I find that I’m able to make my full 40 mile ride on one charge, (without completely going down to fumes), if I am diligent about putting in a decent amount of exercise on the pedassist as I go. On an average trip, I’d say I’m doing 10% at level 1, 50% at level 2, 30% at level 3, and 10% at level 4. With this distribution, and paying close attention to the display, I’m able to complete my full ride without stopping to recharge. What this will do to the lifespan of my battery, I can’t really say. I’ve read so many comments on the board about keeping your battery in the middle range to prolong it’s life, and I’m obviously not doing that. Mine is more of a carpe diem approach, and I’m just hoping that I can enjoy my bike and not worry too much about battery life. If I can get a couple of years out of it before noticing diminished range and having to replace it, that will be ok by me. If anyone thinks I’m deluding myself, or has any advice, I’d be eager to hear your thoughts.

The Bottom Line

Having only had the ELUX Newport for about two months, I can’t speak to long-term issues (service, replacement parts, durability, etc). But I can say that, so far, ELUX delivered on exactly what I wanted: A beautiful bike with a hassle-free, comfortable, FUN, riding experience that has gotten me back outside, enjoying the sun, and exercising far more than I thought I would. In short, I’m having a blast. If there are others out there looking for a similar biking experience, I can highly recommend the Newport. I’m eager to connect with other ELUX owners, particularly those who enjoy (as I do) the gorgeous 20 mile stretch of beach between Santa Monica and Torrance on the Braude Bike Trail.

HAPPY RIDING!!!

1/1
mrgold35
2 weeks ago

My wife and I both purchased the RadRover (both of us are 51, I'm 6"3" 270lbs, wife 4'11" 135lbs). We were able to get two bike for the price of one of the higher end bikes. The fat tires, front suspension, and upright riding position makes the bike very comfortable to ride. I added a larger cruiser seat, Bodyfloat adjustable seatpost, rear rack, Topeak rack bag with panniers also for extra comfort and space. The 750w rear hub has enough power to move me up the steepest inclines in ABQ, NM (5000 ft around town to 7000 ft in foothills).

I started parking my car and riding my bike the 13 miles roundtrip to work 3-4 times a week. The fat tires do a very good job smoothing out the road bumps on almost any surface and very easy to transition from road, trail, sand, gravel, mud, etc... Maintenance has be very simple since it is really a regular bike with ebike components added

Barbara
3 weeks ago

Small frame, 24" wheels, throttle available at a stop when PAS is off

Those are pretty much my only must-have conditions and so far I can't find one. Pedego mini-ceptor requires PAS level 1, every other bike I've seen at that size (reviewed here) either doesn't exist any more or doesn't have throttle or requires PAS or requires you to be going 2 or 4 mph before you can use it. I also want cruiser handlebars for upright seating but I can have that put on by the shop.

My plan is to ride almost 100% like a non-electric bike, using throttle for help with hills, getting off to a quick start if necessary, etc. I'll probably use PAS at times, maybe when riding with others who are in better shape or going up long hills, but so far every bike I've tried has taken me faster than I want or need to go at the moment, even at PAS1.

I'm 5'2" with short legs. I just tried the Blix Komfort+ with 26" wheels today, and while my tippy-toes could read the ground with the saddle at its lowest position, it just felt too big for me. At one point I stopped and didn't think to immediately slide off the seat to get my feet on the ground, and next thing I knew I was tipping over. Thank goodness my husband was there to catch me before I slammed into the ground.

I loved everything else about it. Sigh. I'm thinking my best bet it to just strap blocks to the bottom of my shoes.

Can anyone help? I've looked at all the bikes in the "small people" thread, to no avail. Budget up to $2500.

Thanks -- Barbara

Cally
3 weeks ago

My Radmini should arrive in the next day. Hubby has Rad Cruiser. I test rode the Volt and liked it but opted for the Radmini for a couple reasons. Battery Volt a bit better, has dual carrier racks on front and back and the stand over. I'm short...5' 2" so the extra 8" on the stand over make a big difference for me :}. Also prefer the white vs. the black only offered by Volt. Agree that either would be a good choice but you can get $200 off when you buy two Rads at same time!!

Tom899
3 weeks ago

Hi everyone, I received my RadMini a couple weeks ago but finally got the fenders so the bike is now complete, at least for now...
I added a BodyFloat seat post, Garmin Explore 1000 GPS, Dinotte lights, Spank Oozy Trail Platform Pedals, Zydek cargo bag, Mountain Mirrycle Mirrors, Kenda Sunlite XL Cruiser Tires, 20 x 4-1/4, and fenders. The lights and GPS I transferred from another bike.
So far, the bike performs beautifully!!

1/6
CosmicWarrior
3 weeks ago

I have a Phantom X. I know it's not really made for off road, but I still do some bumpy riding. I have to have cruiser bars, Can't do the straight bars. I found some I like on Amazon, but they seem kind of cheap. I am attaching a link to the bars I like. I read some reviews that said that these bars have broken. I am not a heavy person and I doubt that would happen, but like I said, I do a bit of rough riding. Has anyone out there converted their handlebars to cruisers? Any brands that you might recommend? Do you think the ones I like would work out alright on the phantom? I might have to get new cables, but oh well. It says 38.1, so they should work, right? Will I need a different stem too? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks

https://www.amazon.com/Sunlite-Handlebar-31-8mm-Clamp-Length/dp/B0014VV9TA/ref=pd_sim_468_4?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B0014VV9TA&pd_rd_r=HXCY01NPJYDC6QEBAB9Y&pd_rd_w=u7YYk&pd_rd_wg=mwS43&psc=1&refRID=HXCY01NPJYDC6QEBAB9Y

mrgold35
3 weeks ago

I'm 51, 6'3" and 270 lbs (down from 287 lbs before I purchased my ebike +6 months ago. I commute to work about 45-75 miles per week and trail ride after work and on weekends.

I'm just going to muddy the waters a little bit; but, I went with the Radrover 4" fat tire bike for $1500+shipping (Class II ebike, 750w rear hub, front suspension, 20 mph max speed, 7 speed, full power throttle at any PAS level, PAS 0-5, and comfortable upright riding position.

I ride mostly at an elevation between 5000-6500 feet in ABQ, NM. My commute is mostly paved roads and bike paths. There are a lot of single track or double-wide trails and they are at least 10X more fun to ride compared to the straight bike paths around town (especially at night near the Rio Grande river). I've gone as far at 36 miles on a single charge and average around 23-28 miles depending on PAS, wind, and inclines.

I added a rack, rack bag with panniers, extra headlights, rear tail light, Bodyfloat v2.0 with orange springs suspension seat, and Sunlite Cloud-9 12.5X11.5 cruiser seat. The fat tires can transition from almost any terrain from smooth/broken pavement, dirt lots, trails, mud, or sand very easily. The 750w rear hub has plenty of power for me to get up hills and short inclines (you can apply extra throttle power if you need more). Very stable bike at full speed and smooth because to fat tires when the road get a little rough.

I wanted to see how much weight I was pushing around with my full commuter gear in the very cold of winter and everything came out to 387 lbs on my bathroom digital scale.
- ebike
- rack/rack bag with panniers with extra battery (took the wife's Radrover battery for double the range)
- Osprey commuter back pack with work cloth, lunch, extra cloths
- cold weather gear
- Bar Mitts
-- accessories (lights, battery, flat stuff, tools, warmer weather stuff, bodyfloat, etc...)

The Radrover has been excellent for commuter duties and plenty of power with the weight I'm pushing around.

Kelly @ CitrusCycles.ca
3 weeks ago

I'm glad to hear that the videos were helpful for you. I agree, if you plan on riding a lot, then it is worth the investment in a quality eBike, and the Riese & Muller certainly are excellent quality.

I just posted a review of the R&M Cruiser and Swing, along with a long term review of the Charger GX Rohloff. I'm hoping to do the Charger GT Nuvinci once it stops raining here! (The rain doesn't keep me from riding, but it is harder to do videos in the rain.)

PasoPete
3 weeks ago

We pre-ordered 2 Ocean Current Step-Thru's in Feb, and the first week of March they arrived; both in excellent condition as they were very well packed. Only minor assembly needed, and after a check for bolt tightness, airing up the tires, and topping off the batteries we were off. Our only previous E-bike experience was on rented Pedelec Interceptors. We have only put just over 4o miles on our Oceans, but I have to say these bikes are AWESOME. I find I prefer using the PAS vs throttle so I am getting some exercise and am covering alot more ground on a very comfortable-to-ride bike. Today's ride took up up some fire roads and over to a county park, on which we encountered a few 10% + grades on both paved and packed dirt. The cruiser-style may not be the best for these conditions, but these bikes handled it well. I had hoped for a upright ride-style bike that would handle this terrain as well as do close to 25 mph on the flats, and these Oceans have exceeded our expectations. I will update my post after a few more miles. Lots of E-bikes out there to choose from - and we are happy with our choice. Thank you Juiced Bikes !

mrgold35
4 weeks ago

Congrats on the new rides!

A few things I did (probably be the same for any bike):
- Mr. Tuffy liners for 4" fat tires. It is amazing the amount of debris, broken car parts, and broken glass you find in the road bike lanes. Trails seem to be less hazardous to tires compared to roadways.
- added Stans tire sealant (two 2-0z bottles per tire). We have a lot of goat heads in the southwest and Stans helps seal minor punctures that make it through the tire, Mr. Tuffy, and tube.
- Added a suspension seatpost like the Suntour NCX SP-12 or Bodyfloat v2.0. It helps smooth out the ride even more with the 4" fat tires
- I added the Sunlite Cloud-9 12.5X11.5 cruiser seat. A little more comfy for my 51 year old bottom

Ostentatious
1 month ago

Thanks folk's, really!
Honestly I was thinking negatively about my coil ex as a foundation, but (since it was all I had lying around... I figured I'd give it a go!) wanted to hear your more informed opinion. I also have the brand new late wife's Schwen beach cruiser to use as foundation, but find flaws with that plan as well.
Ok - so I need to throw the "light off road & trail" out of the picture. I'm fine with working with a pure commuter setup. I will want! a throttle (getting back into riding haha), and NEED a long range (commute), however I'm also on extreme budget due to recent family issues. So... I need the brightest, most resourceful minds at work on this one for me. PLEASE!? Oh, and yes I am fairly adept - to soaking in all the technical goodness or other's tip's & "hack's", is what I meant to say, basically... Haha!
Have fun & hope to hear from you soon! Oh yes, I do NOT have any bicycle specific tool's required for this. If it helps, I will provide the beer ;).

Phil M
1 month ago

We ride Juiced Ocean Currents they are a cruiser style with Body float
seat post
The body float makes the ride so much better and you are sitting up straighter so not as much pressure on the hands but you will still get some shock from the front
We ride both paved (are roads are crappy )and un paved roads and trails nothing to rough it just not our style
That being said we love our bikes
Thanks Larry... we'll check them out

Larry Juiced rider
1 month ago

We ride Juiced Ocean Currents they are a cruiser style with Body float
seat post
The body float makes the ride so much better and you are sitting up straighter so not as much pressure on the hands but you will still get some shock from the front
We ride both paved (are roads are crappy )and un paved roads and trails nothing to rough it just not our style
That being said we love our bikes

Doug Edwards
1 month ago

Doug, after tweaking the seat height, are you still in an up right riding position ?
I think I know what you are getting at. I am not leaning forward like with a mountain bike. This bike for me at least has always been more of a cruiser type bike experience.

Phil M
1 month ago

[Chris]... A cruising style bike like the Lift....

A Lift isn't really a cruiser. I've been riding a Trek Shift for 18 months on undeveloped roads and gravel paths with no difficulty. Recently, I tested the new e-assist Lift on pavement and gravel. The Shift and Lift models share very similar geometry. The main difference both bikes have over standard frames is a few degrees of added angle to the seat tube. That very slight crank-forward design allows good pedaling leverage with a more upright riding posture. Crank location on the typical "cruiser" is more forward which does interfere with efficiency.

[Phil M]... I've never been comfortable on a Mtn bike because I couldn't sit upright and Lesa needs the upright to take the pressure of her wrists and hands...

I'm on that wavelength. Those reasons are why the Lift should be on your test-ride list. It's a very comfortable riding bike which handles well, and has a surprising amount of muscle for climbing [smaller chainring option, too]. If your ATV roads are extremely rough, just add more aggressive tires and a Serfas EG8000 seat.
Thanks for your input Chris... we did test ride the Lift and it was very comfortable on the asphalt....that said my biggest concern is the lack of front suspension and most of our riding will be on uneven dirt/gravel so leaning twd's modified suspension ebike thinking that additional suspension will make for a better experience in the long run w the goal of 'it feels good' we'll be riding more

emco5
1 month ago

[Chris]... A cruising style bike like the Lift....

A Lift isn't really a cruiser. I've been riding a Trek Shift for 18 months on undeveloped roads and gravel paths with no difficulty. Recently, I tested the new e-assist Lift on pavement and gravel. The Shift and Lift models share very similar geometry. The main difference both bikes have over standard frames is a few degrees of added angle to the seat tube. That very slight crank-forward design allows good pedaling leverage with a more upright riding posture. Crank location on the typical "cruiser" is more forward which does interfere with efficiency.

[Phil M]... I've never been comfortable on a Mtn bike because I couldn't sit upright and Lesa needs the upright to take the pressure of her wrists and hands...

I'm on that wavelength. Those reasons are why the Lift should be on your test-ride list. It's a very comfortable riding bike which handles well, and has a surprising amount of muscle for climbing [smaller chainring option, too]. If your ATV roads are extremely rough, just add more aggressive tires and a Serfas EG8000 seat.

mrgold35
1 month ago

Are you looking at a beach cruiser, mountain bike, road bike, cargo, or comfort bike?

I have two 750w rear hub Radrovers with PAS 0-5 and a throttle that is about 60 lbs out the box and maybe around 70-72 lbs with my accessories mounted (rack, rack bag, suspension seatpost, lights, fender). It also has a very comfortable upright riding position for long distance.

I wouldn't want to ride this bike without PAS because the extra mass, tail heavy design, and increasing wind drag because of the upright riding position the faster you go. I can only ride this bike without PAS at very low speed of 6-12 mph on level ground with no wind, if I have a stiff tailwind, or downhill using gravity assist. I don't think rear hub motors on average are as efficient and you will not get the same range as mid-drives. I never riden a mid-drive; but, they seem to be lighter in overall weight on average, more balanced on weight because motor/battery are low and center mounted, larger gear ratio, more gears, more advance PAS, can apply more tq longer on inclines, and front/rear tire quick release (if you need to toss in the back seat for transport).

You might find hub drives bikes can be cheaper compared to mid-drives versions. I was able to purchase two Radrovers for the price of one mid-drive. I sometimes take my wife's 7 lbs battery when I need to ride +30 miles as a back-up. I've gone as far as 36 miles on a single charge and 2X that range with the spare battery. Hub motor can also be very easy to fix, upgrade, or convert to a mid-drive ebikes for a longer road life.

Steve Petttyjohn
1 year ago

I have the Burly model from EBO which is similar but has the "dolphin" battery pack mounted on the down tube. I have it on my lugged frame '85 Trek All Mountain (before they started calling them Mtb). I absolutely love this kit and how it gave new life to an old friend. The quality of the EBO kits are great and Jason was readily available to answer any questions. On fairly flat ground I've done 45 miles on 1 or 2 assist levels and still had a bar left of juice. Couldn't be more satisfied.

WorldRecordvideos
1 year ago

It wil be intereting how this bikes stacks up against the new Electra Townie GO. Both have 8 speeds and are cruiser bikes. Cost per mile over 3 years comparison.

FUNNY MEDIA
1 year ago

can you do a bike collection?

George Vandalay
1 year ago

Hey whats the best ebike for someone who wants a lifetime warranty? Thanks.

Robert Tabor
1 year ago

If you are doing a review on a motor or a bike it would be nice to know what it can handle. So testing it on a flat and maybe posting the weight of the bike and then telling us a top speed would be good information.

Jay Gurung
1 year ago

Hey Mr. Court when is new BH EasyMotion EasyGo Race review coming? Please review that bike as soon as possible. Seems like a really good bike for city(NYC) commute. Thanks in advance.

Flo Mo
1 year ago

I'm Elya from Fort William in Scotland. 23 years old. I currently live in Germany. I like your videos. What is your first name? And I have one more question: Can I distribute your videos in my channel? Only if you allow it. I would support you. :) I would make a channel only for your videos with german descriptions.

vothry
1 year ago

Your show inspired me to go big, trading in my car and commuting 33 miles daily with the Trek XM700+. Thanks again man. Check me out on Instagram @thecyclingtherapist

Flo Mo
1 year ago

I like it. It's puristic and cheep. It works pretty well. Nice look. Greetings from Germany.