Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Cruiser Kit Review

Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit Review
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser 350 Watt Internally Geared Hub
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Rear Battery Rack Samsung Cells
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kt Lcd Display With Throttle
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit Intalled
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit Review
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser 350 Watt Internally Geared Hub
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Rear Battery Rack Samsung Cells
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kt Lcd Display With Throttle
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit Intalled

Summary

  • A feature rich, reasonably priced, electric bike kit with trigger throttle and cadence sensing pedal assist drive modes
  • The battery pack mounts into a sturdy universal rear-rack that can support ~55 lbs and includes pannier blockers
  • You get to choose from a wide range of wheel sizes, front or rear mounted motor setup and add a cassette of gears from 1 to 6, 7, 8 or 9 but that costs $25 to $50 extra, you can choose from silver or black for motor casing color
  • Installing the cadence sensor for this kit can be more tedious and it only offers five magnets vs. 12 on some other kits I've tested, the battery pack, tail light and main display have to be powered on separately which can be easier to forget when you stop riding

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Electric Bike Outfitters

Model:

EBO Cruiser Kit

Price:

$925

Suggested Use:

Cruising, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

30 Day Return, 1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20152016

Bicycle Details

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

6 lbs (2.72 kg)

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

9 Single Speed or Shimano 6 or 7 Speed Cassettes or SunRace 8 and 9 Speed Cassettes

Brake Details:

Mechanical 5 Brand Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy

Spokes:

13 Gauge Stainless Steel, 36 Spoke

Wheel Sizes:

16 in (40.64cm)20 in (50.8cm)24 in (60.96cm)26 in (66.04cm)27.5 in (69.85cm)28 in (71.12cm)

Accessories:

Rear Carry Rack with Pannier Blockers (25 kg Weight Limit), EBO Quick Connect Anti-Water Wiring, Integrated Backlite (LINEO by Spanninga) Optional Twist Throttle

Other:

Rear Motors Cost $25 to $50 Extra, Dropout Widths Front: 100 mm, Rear 120 mm or 135 mm, Brake Clamp Diameter 22.2 mm, 17 Amp Controller

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub, Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Fixed Monochrome Backlit LCD by KT

Readouts:

Battery Level (4 Bars), Assist Level (0-5), Speedometer, Clock, Odometer, Wattage, Temperature, Average Speed, Max Speed

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Cruiser Kit from Electric Bike Outfitters is unique in that it offers a rear-rack style battery pack vs. one that mounts mid-frame on the downtube. This rack style battery used to be more common in the ebike kit space but has become less popular in recent years due to balance and handling limitations. Basically… they are rear heavy and position weight higher up which can be less stable when parked and more dangerous if tipped. I personally tend to prefer the lower center of gravity that mid-mounted batteries offer but recognize that for some applications, like step-thru frames, the benefits of easily mounting the bike and comfortably standing over the bike when stopped become more important. And so, for this demo we were using the ~$500 Crosby model from Pure City Cycles which looks beautiful and perfectly illustrates the strengths and weaknesses of the EBO Cruiser Kit. The Crosby comes stock with its own silver rack which was replaced here by the handsome and sturdy black battery-mount rack that is included with the EBO Cruiser conversion kit. This bike also had fenders, a comfortable saddle and swept back handlebars for that upright relaxed cruiser feel which all remained in tact. Basically, the e-bike kit itself is plug and play… you can choose a front or rear mounted wheel with motor pre-installed and it’s designed to work with traditional brakes or disc brakes. There’s definitely some screwing around and effort that goes into getting everything setup correctly (especially the cadence sensor) but it looks great and rides well once complete. My biggest complaint about this particular build was actually the kickstand that comes with the Crosby… it barely held the bike up once the heavy battery pack was mounted to the rear rack and I think I’d replace that immediately if this was my own bike, Amazon has several adjustable kickstands on offer.

There are lots of choices when it comes to this electric bike kit and the first major one is wheel size. It’s an easy choice though because your bike will probably only accommodate one size! The Crosby I was testing with here had 26″ wheels so that’s the size used for the review. Electric Bike Outfitters offers 16″, 20″, 24″, 26″, 27.5″ and 700c or ~28″ which is common on city bikes. If you aren’t sure what size wheel you need, look at both sides of the tires on your bike and try to find a measurement… You might see some air pressure ratings like 30 to 50 PSI and likely the size such as 700x35c. If you’re ordering the bike online or through a shop just read the details in the description or call Electric Bike Outfitters for help, their website is pretty nice and easy to use. So the next choice is whether you want a front or rear mounted motor. For those who might want to swap between their traditional unmotorized wheels I recommend a front motor because it’s much easier to install and take off. For those who plan to ride more and want the best traction and steering I recommend he rear motor but it can end up costing $25 to $50 more if you add sprockets to work with your gearing system. The Pure City Crosby I was testing with had an 8 speed setup stock so the kit also had to have 8 gears to work properly. Note that you can choose from a single speed design and 6, 7, 8 or 9 speeds. The final question to ask yourself is whether you want silver or black. The spokes are always silver so that hub tends to blend in more but the rim has a black accent on it so both end up looking alright in the end. I found that the front motor operated more quietly… both offer the same power rating of 350 watts nominal and are internally geared which allows them to feel peppier when starting and climbing but also tends to wear more quickly than a gearless direct drive motor. The motors whir a bit (especially at low speeds and under heavy load) but are warrantied for a year. I’d estimate that the motor on its own weighs about six pounds.

Powering this kit is a beautiful slide-in rack mounted battery with premium Samsung Lithium-ion cells. The batter and rack are colored black to match each other and the pack feels well protected when locked into the controller box surrounded by the rack. The tubing on the rack is a bit oversized but may still work with clip-on panniers and you get pannier blockers on both sides of the rack to keep bags and cargo from snagging in the wheel. My favorite part about the whole setup is the integrated LINEO LED light by Spanninga. It feels really polished and has a built-in reflector… but unfortunately you have to turn it on and off separately from the battery and the main display. It’s actually not a huge deal because this allows you to operate the light when the kit is completely shut off (perhaps you’ve almost completely discharged your battery but still want to ride safe). All things considered, the battery, rack and light all work very well and offer an above-average capacity of 36 Volts, 11.6 Amp hours for a total of 417.6 Watt hours which should go 17+ miles per charge on throttle power alone for a 170 lb rider on flat paved terrain. You can extend your range by pedaling along and using the lower settings in pedal assist.

Pedal assist is a great option to have on any electric bike in my opinion because it incentivizes pedaling allowing you to get more exercise, stretch your legs, focus your hands on steering and let your fingers relax (vs. pressing a trigger throttle or twist throttle). The great news for the EBO Cruiser is that it offers both assist and Throttle mode so you can choose how to ride and even override with the throttle at any time. I use this strategy a lot… riding in level two or three in pedal assist then stepping it up with the throttle to pass a fellow rider, get up to speed quickly from a stop sign or climb a short hill. Once my objective is complete I release the throttle and go back to pedaling. One complaint about the EBO Cruiser kit (and most of the Electric Bike Outfitters systems) is that there is no throttle-only mode. You have to be in PAS 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 to use the throttle. But at least you can use full power with the throttle, it doesn’t matter which PAS mode you’re in. Another question mark I had while riding was how well the limited five sensor cadence disc was performing. I was impressed to be honest, I see a lot of 12 magnet sensors these days so five had me worried. Apparently EBO plans to upgrade their sensors in the future but the five magnet setup really wasn’t all that bad. The real challenge is getting it on when installing the kit. You have to take your crank arm completely off which can be a two person job and require special tools… this might be worth paying a local shop to help with but that adds to the overall price of the kit.

The final consideration here is operation and the kit is pretty standard… You do have to power the battery and display on separately, there’s a toggle switch at the rear of the pack and a power button on the remote pad usually mounted near your left grip. Lots of ebikes and kits function this way but I’m always forgetting to turn the battery off after each ride so hopefully you’ll remember on your own ebike ;) Once powered up the display shows battery charge level, speed, assist level, odometer, time, temperature and a few more readouts. It’s a lot to take in but the screen is easy to read in light or dark because it’s backlit (just hold the up arrow for a few seconds). The brake levers included with this kit are wired into the system so anytime you pull, they will cut power to the motor and that’s important for pedal assist mode. To me, this kit is a winner because it’s flexible and relatively affordable. You get literally everything you need to convert most bicycles to electric for under $1,000 and you get a one year warranty to boot. These days you can get some entry level electric bikes starting at ~$1,500 and the wires will all be integrated and you won’t have to do much work compared to a kit… but those tend to be lower quality bikes with limited sizing options. On the flip side, many purpose built quality cruisers like those from Pedego cost $2k to $3,500. There’s room for improvement refining this kit by swapping the cadence sensor for one with more sensors that’s easier to install and integrating the battery, light and display with fewer on/off buttons but for the price it’s a good setup.

Pros:

  • Color coded wires are easy to setup, the motor cable has a quick disconnect point that makes servicing the wheel (front or rear) much easier
  • You get brake levers with integrated motor inhibitors here which could come in handy if you upgrade to pedal assist (much more affordable to do when you buy the bike vs. later since it uses a different controller)
  • I like trigger throttle because it allows you to use your existing grips and twist shifter but you can upgrade to a twist throttle if you prefer
  • Available in a huge assortment of wheel sizes including 16″, 20″, 24″, 26″, 27.5″ (650B) and ~28″ (700c) so you can convert folding bikes, kids bikes, road bikes, mountain bikes etc. and they all cost the same
  • This kit offers more Amps for increased starting and climbing power vs. the entry level EBO Commuter, that model is 14 Amps and this one is 17
  • The mechanical brake levers are compatible with traditional designs as well as disc brakes and the motor has a mounting pattern for use with a disc brake rotor
  • You can override pedal assist with the throttle at any time but there is no throttle-only mode so you’ll need to be in 1-5 to use it
  • The rack-mounted battery pack comes with a built in Spanninga LED light that looks great and works whether the bike is powered on or not

Cons:

  • The pedal assist cadence sensor requires more effort to install and the units I saw only had a five sensor disc which isn’t as responsive as the 10 and 12 magnet designs
  • You have to power the battery pack on as well as the display unit to get the bike going… this adds a bit of time to each ride but also makes it easier to forget to turn the battery pack off when you park – same thing with the rear light, it is activated with a separate rubber switch at the rear but this isn’t so bad if you just want the light on and aren’t using the battery to power the bike
  • The cadence sensor only offers a five magnet disc vs. 10 or 12 on some newer hardware I’ve seen from other companies, it sounds like Electric Bike Outfitters might upgrade this in the future and frankly, it worked alright during my tests

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Electric Bike Outfitters Reviews

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Mountaineer Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,180
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A high power, high speed electric bike kit capable of 30 mph top speeds, can be operated with pedal assist, trigger throttle or optional twist throttle. Heavier but sturdy 750 watt gearless hub motor, can be mounted in the front or…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Front Range Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,083
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A powerful gearless hub motor kit capable of being installed as a front or rear wheel, sturdy and relatively quiet. Gearless motors tend to be heavier and this one is ~12 lbs and does not…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Phantom Kit Review

  • MSRP: $925
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An affordable electric bike kit with everything you need to get going: motor, battery, throttle, pedal assist. Custom designed casing is narrower than many other 350 watt motors and fits in 100…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Commuter Kit Review

  • MSRP: $704
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An affordable, all-inclusive electric bike kit available in many wheel sizes (front or rear) with a nice one year warranty. You get a standard 350 watt internally geared motor, 36 volt Lithium-ion battery pack and…...


Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Kelly @ CitrusCycles.ca
38 mins ago

Hello! We've got some pretty long, steep hills here in Ladysmith, and I've had no problem with the Colt or Rook on any of them. Of course, that is with me pedalling - I haven't tried with throttle only, but perhaps I should sometime. We use the Rook and Colt for our eBike tours, and our tours end with a very long, steep hill and so far everyone has made it up just fine.

If it helps, I've done a video review of the Rook here, which is the same bike but with a lower crossbar: http://citruscycles.ca/surface-604-colt-cruiser-ebike

It looks like we will be receiving our first batch of black Rooks later next week - they've changed from Grey to Black which I think is great.

Alex M
7 hours ago

Bosses for water bottle and rear rack (either rack or bosses for rack) - yes, absolutely, for light grocery trips and general fooling around.

Full suspension bikes will work, though not really necessary, as to the OP intended use - paved roads and some dirt roads. BUT... It would be nice to have wid-er tires for better comfort, 2.0-2.3". Their intended use places them somewhere in commuter-cruiser category.

Calicoskies
12 hours ago

Just finished building this weekend. It's a Phat Cycle Del Ray cruiser with Luna's Killer Whale battery in rear bag. Controller in front basket. Got the 48v 1000w hub motor kit from Aliexpress. This bike is so much fun to ride!

1/1
Alex M
2 days ago

I would like to pay less than $2000 a piece. Can you give some advice?

Plenty. https://electricbikereview.com/category/affordable/

Hub Motor vs Mid Motor?

Not important for this application, or not enough details. Might need to go for high-torque/highwatt motor if you're heavy and hills are steep (and then it will likely be mid-drive). Many other people are OK with 500W hub.

Throttle?

Not very important for this application, it's a matter of preference, in this case.

Minimum Voltage

Not important as long as the battery is +400WH, for a trip of total 20 miles. That is - if you're using it as a bicycle. If you think of using it as an electric car, don't like sweating much, then upgrade battery to 500WH or more and consider a model with throttle.

Minimum Amps

For a battery it's watt-hours or amp-hours, not amps. See above. Amps limit of controller will be what it will be, it's OEM.

Anything else I am missing?

Weight, step-trhough or step-over, handlebars cruiser-style or no preference. In any event, battery should be easily removable.

mams99
5 days ago

Wednesdays are my day off. I am going into B'more today to try out the Pedego Stretch to see how it fits and works and if it's worth saving up for to get it. Then, this Friday I am driving a bit to test out the used xtracycle edgerunner with the bafang assist and see how that is. It's loaded with nice accessories and is 1/3 the price of buying the Pedego - but at it's half life and who knows if there's been damage done to the chain or drive, etc (as I see can happen with these added mid-drives to the Edgerunner). I'll have my son with me both times. Reality is that the two passenger usage will probably be rare, but farmer's market, grocery store, etc will not be rare.

Of course all of this thought and maybe all I will need/want is a regular cruiser bike with assist. I do have the Burley Travoy to use - which I did use for grocery trips on my regular bike, but that all uphill to get to the store... and all downhill to get home (about 2 miles). I literally didn't have to pedal to get home except for about 1-2 minutes.

Themis1988
7 days ago

What a great site and forums! I've asked Court to review the Electra Loft Go! with step-through frame. Wanting to get into some semblance of shape again after too many years at a desk job, I would like to find an electric bicycle to be gentle on my knees when needed on starts and hills. Otherwise I plan to pedal with minimal assist. I am female, age 57, 5'10" large-frame and 260# so need a sturdy ride to run errands, exercise and for general cruising. From searching specs and forums so far, I need a 500 w motor and 48 v 15 amp battery. My budget is in the $2500 - $3500ish range. I also plan to retire and buy a van-sized RV in the next year or two, and will take my e-bike along on a rear-mount track rack (?) for supplemental transportation within parks and shorter-range sight-seeing. I'm concerned cruiser handlebars may be too wide for this rack style. This site has enabled me to do lots of homework and I have narrowed choices to Pedego Step-Thru Interceptor, City Commuter or Comfort Cruiser, or Electra Loft Go! or Townie Go! I'm not confident about the weight capacity of some of the other brands (Raleigh and Izip) with local dealers in Iowa. Appreciating your insight and advice,
Themis

Thomas Jaszewski
1 week ago

Very Nice Cruiser- Like it very much

Cruiser SWEET RIDE! Man, nice seat post and saddle too! I can't read the brand? I wonder is that the standard battery model I'm seeing on some builders sites.

Brad Ersly
1 week ago

Very Nice Cruiser- Like it very much

Cruiser

1/1
Larry Juiced rider
1 week ago

I just received my Ocean Current- First I love the bike BUT.... the set up out of the box was TERRIBLE, both disc brakes were almost unuseable, the shifting was terrible due to cabling being so loose that it would not shift 90 % of the time.Being a person that is not very comfortable with adjusting new bikes, I took to a very qualified shop who took more that 30 minutes getting the brakes right. The guy said he was not sure what the issue was but the brakes were not adjusting as normal brakes and he was very familiar with these brakes. ( I read a post from an e bike dealer that noted that on many of his brakes he was having to actually shim them to get them right, this may be the issue my dealer was wrestling with ) Anyway, 45 minutes later, my dealer had most everything working ok, shifting is still a touch sloppy but about OK about 95% of the time.

I love the bike and I would recommend this bike but I do wish they had the bike out of the box in a much closer state to riding. I was hoping that with putting the handlebars, front tire and seat post on, I would ride away - no luck

Anyway, I am now going to enjoy, it is such a wonderful feeling to be on a completely upright comfortable style beach cruiser but be flying down the road at 24MPH- FANTASTIC !! I also put a thudbuster on for the full magic carpet ride
Super fun bikes ours came with everything pretty much adjusted .
But did have to adjust the brakes after a little riding on the steep down hill grades

JohnT
1 week ago

Love the stretch cruiser look! But there could be a couple problems.

I assume NX3 means it has an internally geared hub, and that's why you chose a front hub motor. Seems like the right move, but there are a couple things you might want to consider.

I don't know anything about that fork, but I doubt it's up to the task of holding a Magic Pie. A Magic Pie is a big, heavy motor, and it'd be tough on any suspension fork, let alone a flexy springer fork. Swapping a fork is easy to do though.

Also, if you're planning on running at anything close to fun speeds, you'll want a front brake. If you get a new fork, maybe you can get one with a disk brake mount. Rim brakes might be ok, but with that much weight spinning in a front wheel, I'd personally opt for disk.

Maybe someone else can comment on the feasibility of using a small, geared, hub motor on a springer fork or maybe a mid-drive.

Brad Ersly
1 week ago

I just received my Ocean Current- First I love the bike BUT.... the set up out of the box was TERRIBLE, both disc brakes were almost unuseable, the shifting was terrible due to cabling being so loose that it would not shift 90 % of the time.Being a person that is not very comfortable with adjusting new bikes, I took to a very qualified shop who took more that 30 minutes getting the brakes right. The guy said he was not sure what the issue was but the brakes were not adjusting as normal brakes and he was very familiar with these brakes. ( I read a post from an e bike dealer that noted that on many of his brakes he was having to actually shim them to get them right, this may be the issue my dealer was wrestling with ) Anyway, 45 minutes later, my dealer had most everything working ok, shifting is still a touch sloppy but about OK about 95% of the time.

I love the bike and I would recommend this bike but I do wish they had the bike out of the box in a much closer state to riding. I was hoping that with putting the handlebars, front tire and seat post on, I would ride away - no luck

Anyway, I am now going to enjoy, it is such a wonderful feeling to be on a completely upright comfortable style beach cruiser but be flying down the road at 24MPH- FANTASTIC !! I also put a thudbuster on for the full magic carpet ride

Brad Ersly
1 week ago

I just received my Ocean Current- First I love the bike BUT.... the set up out of the box was TERRIBLE, both disc brakes were almost unuseable, the shifting was terrible due to cabling being so loose that it would not shift 90 % of the time.Being a person that is not very comfortable with adjusting new bikes, I took to a very qualified shop who took more that 30 minutes getting the brakes right. The guy said he was not sure what the issue was but the brakes were not adjusting as normal brakes and he was very familiar with these brakes. ( I read a post from an e bike dealer that noted that on many of his brakes he was having to actually shim them to get them right, this may be the issue my dealer was wrestling with ) Anyway, 45 minutes later, my dealer had most everything working ok, shifting is still a touch sloppy but about OK about 95% of the time.

I love the bike and I would recommend this bike but I do wish they had the bike out of the box in a much closer state to riding. I was hoping that with putting the handlebars, front tire and seat post on, I would ride away - no luck

Anyway, I am now going to enjoy, it is such a wonderful feeling to be on a completely upright comfortable style beach cruiser but be flying down the road at 24MPH- FANTASTIC !! I also put a thudbuster on for the full magic carpet ride

Al_R
3 weeks ago

I switched out to a Sunlite cloud 9 cruiser seat. Much better than the stock seat. I am 68 and 270 lbs so a better seat is a must. For the price it is worth a try. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000H87PUI/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I also added the The Suntour seatpost with the heavier spring. The Radwagon is rigid and has no suspension.

I went ahead and ordered this seat...glad I did it's a great seat! Thanks for posting the link!

keyboardmashing
3 weeks ago

https://www.electricbikecompany.com/product/model-s-step-through/
https://electricbikereview.com/electric-bike-company/model-s/

Court reviewed this bike well, and the components seem great. I like the strong motor and option for a huge battery. It appears to be very fast.

However:
-The website is confusing. They list the motor at 500W, whereas Court lists it as 750-990W. There was no warranty information. They didn't list the volts.
-I can find no reviews on the forums from other owners.
-There was recently a battery fire with this model.

I want to like this bike. In many ways it seems nicer than the juiced cruiser... but the lack of information on the website seems rather unprofessional.

niteman
3 weeks ago

Very interested in Pedegos but open to other brands. Budget is between $2,000-$$3,700.
Looking for the fun of a fat tire bike for occasional off road trails, but mostly on paved country roads, but with a very comfortable Cruiser seat. I'm not a small guy so power on inclines is also important. Thanks very much!
I would give a hard look at Emotion bikes. The parent company is a 100 yr bike manufacturer,hence choice of frame sizes. Fit is still critical. Good quality components with company support. Bring a little more $ to the table and look at haibike. Best of luck in your search.

peteranglebrandt
3 weeks ago

I have a well maintained TerraTrike Cruiser for sale in Melvindale MI (near exit 107 on I 80/90). Upgrades include: Hi-Speed Drive, Schalbe Marathon Tires, Rear Luggage Rack, Two Mirrors, Seat Wedge, Water Bottle Cage, SRAM Twist Shifter, Tools and Spare Idlers. The boom is 16 1/2 inches over all length. The machine is set-up for a 5'-10" rider with available seat position adjustment in both directions. I am asking $1000.00. Pictures are available by text for serious inquiries.
peteranglebrandt@yahoo.com/+1 520-286-9465

Mike Burns
3 weeks ago

I'm needing to commute about 20 miles each day, and will be in bike lanes on the pavement, for the most part. Wanting to see what you would think the effect would be by swapping out the knobby tires for some more appropriate street tires. Mariner has a bigger engine and looks like more zip.

Maxxis Hookworms if they are available in your size! My e-bike was scary over 25 mph with mountain bike tires. Hookworms at 45 MPH increase range by 25 percent at 15-25 MPH and handle wonderfully at 45-50 MPH. On my e-bike (full-suspension 26" endure bicycle), better cornering than any cruiser motorcycle at that speed. Wouldn't try that kind of speed if you are new to bikes (I used to race motocross and MotoGP.)

peteranglebrandt
3 weeks ago

I have a well maintained TerraTrike Cruiser for sale in Melvindale,MI (near exit 107 on I 80/90). Upgrades include: Hi-Speed Drive, Schalbe Marathon Tires, Rear Luggage Rack, Two Mirrors, Seat Wedge, Water Bottle Cage, SRAM Twist Shifter, Tools and Spare Idlers. The boom is 16 1/2 inches over all length. The machine is set-up for a 5'-10" rider with available seat position adjustment in both directions. I am asking $1000.00. Pictures are available by text or email for serious inquiries.
peteranglebrandt@yahoo.com

1/1
Thomas Jaszewski
3 weeks ago

Hi, this is Ron/spinningmagnets. I try to be as independent as possible, and to write information to help the average guy, because I am an average blue-collar guy. Bosch/Yamaha vs BBSHD...whats my opinion?

I have ridden a Bosch, and also the Yamaha (at two Interbike conventions). If you like that sort of thing, save a few bucks and get the Yamaha. I don't hate on the Bosch, but they charge a premium just because Europeans have a bias towards German products over Japanese. If you own a Bosch and are happy with it? sweet...let's ride together and have fun on a beautiful spring day. When armchair mechanics argue, it's just another Ford vs Chevy crap-fest.

Are you foolish for buying an expensive Bosch / Yamaha? No...there is a market for that. If you like it? Be happy, and don't waste time with regrets. That being said...I can afford anything I want, and my most often ridden ebike is an Electra stretch cruiser with a BBSHD. I went with a 52V battery pack because, the stock controller will work with 48V or 52V. A nominal 60V battery can produce a spark that can penetrate dry human skin, but 52V? no. I literally wrote the article on electricbike.com about benefits/drawbacks of a 14S pack.

If a friend of mine had to make a choice between a small 52V pack, or getting a much larger 48V pack? I'd say get the larger pack, there are a lot of reasons a bigger pack (regardless of vendor) is better for the owner. That being said, I own a very large 52V pack, and I can afford as many watt-hours as I like.

Bosch and Yamaha drives are very sophisticated and they are very similar. They take a small amount of input watts, and turn that into as much wheel-torque as possible. It is accomplished in a very smooth and sophisticated way. This is like the Mercedes, Porsche, BMW market...when they sell a 4-cylinder car (which they have done). Its nice when they are new and under warranty by a local shop, but...if you buy a 5-year-old one? what can an average blue-collar guy do to hack a cheap used 5-year-old M/P/B car?

I am an old gear-head (58-ish), and as a much as I appreciate a sophisticated aluminum 4-cylinder turbo 4-valve engine with EFI...when it comes to buying and wrenching on a motor? the BBSHD is the Chevy 350 of the Ebike world.

Use a thermal IR camera on it...it is not even breathing hard at 52V X 30A = 1500W. I would not run it at 3000W, but...it has been verified to run at 52V X 50A = 2600W, or...72V X 35A (using an external controller)...so...the mechanical portion of the drive can sustain 2600W. Will it wear out faster than when it is run at 1500W? If you ask that question, then...you don't understand what is going on.

If a certain customer is like an engineer, and he wants decent wheel torque at the lowest possible input watts...get the Yamaha mid drive. If you want LOT of fun, and you also want the ability to upgrade your fun-result in the future? Get the BBSHD. Also, get a spare primary reduction gear and a tube of high-quality grease, because...I am going to beat on mine like it is a rented mule. Try 2600W on a cheap drive unit and then tell me that it doesn't put a freakin smile on your face...
I had hoped there would be a post revealing the facts that this isnt just a blue collar poster, rather an employee of Lunacycle and paid writer for electricbike.com. Hardly independent nor impartial. Always a good read but not always forthcoming.

Ron/Spinningmagnets
3 weeks ago

Hi, this is Ron/spinningmagnets. I try to be as independent as possible, and to write information to help the average guy, because I am an average blue-collar guy. Bosch/Yamaha vs BBSHD...whats my opinion?

I have ridden a Bosch, and also the Yamaha (at two Interbike conventions). If you like that sort of thing, save a few bucks and get the Yamaha. I don't hate on the Bosch, but they charge a premium just because Europeans have a bias towards German products over Japanese. If you own a Bosch and are happy with it? sweet...let's ride together and have fun on a beautiful spring day. When armchair mechanics argue, it's just another Ford vs Chevy crap-fest.

Are you foolish for buying an expensive Bosch / Yamaha? No...there is a market for that. If you like it? Be happy, and don't waste time with regrets. That being said...I can afford anything I want, and my most often ridden ebike is an Electra stretch cruiser with a BBSHD. I went with a 52V battery pack because, the stock controller will work with 48V or 52V. A nominal 60V battery can produce a spark that can penetrate dry human skin, but 52V? no. I literally wrote the article on electricbike.com about benefits/drawbacks of a 14S pack.

If a friend of mine had to make a choice between a small 52V pack, or getting a much larger 48V pack? I'd say get the larger pack, there are a lot of reasons a bigger pack (regardless of vendor) is better for the owner. That being said, I own a very large 52V pack, and I can afford as many watt-hours as I like.

Bosch and Yamaha drives are very sophisticated and they are very similar. They take a small amount of input watts, and turn that into as much wheel-torque as possible. It is accomplished in a very smooth and sophisticated way. This is like the Mercedes, Porsche, BMW market...when they sell a 4-cylinder car (which they have done). Its nice when they are new and under warranty by a local shop, but...if you buy a 5-year-old one? what can an average blue-collar guy do to hack a cheap used 5-year-old M/P/B car?

I am an old gear-head (58-ish), and as a much as I appreciate a sophisticated aluminum 4-cylinder turbo 4-valve engine with EFI...when it comes to buying and wrenching on a motor? the BBSHD is the Chevy 350 of the Ebike world.

Use a thermal IR camera on it...it is not even breathing hard at 52V X 30A = 1500W. I would not run it at 3000W, but...it has been verified to run at 52V X 50A = 2600W, or...72V X 35A (using an external controller)...so...the mechanical portion of the drive can sustain 2600W. Will it wear out faster than when it is run at 1500W? If you ask that question, then...you don't understand what is going on.

If a certain customer is like an engineer, and he wants decent wheel torque at the lowest possible input watts...get the Yamaha mid drive. If you want LOT of fun, and you also want the ability to upgrade your fun-result in the future? Get the BBSHD. Also, get a spare primary reduction gear and a tube of high-quality grease, because...I am going to beat on mine like it is a rented mule. Try 2600W on a cheap drive unit and then tell me that it doesn't put a freakin smile on your face...

Dewey
4 weeks ago

Re: Ergon Grips, the image above is the Ergon GP1 grips for flat bars, Irene's Pedego has swept back cruiser bars for which the Ergon GC1 grips are designed with a more prominent forward curve.

They come in both long and short variants, or a mix of the two so you could have a long grip on the left and a shorter grip compatible with twist shifter or throttle on the right.

Dewey
4 weeks ago

Pedego's are good, you might also want to look at e-lux Tahoe fat tire cruiser bikes, they'll ship anywhere in the US for $150. Here's Court's review.

Linda Baer
4 weeks ago

There are other Kalkhoff dealers in the US. Here is one in So Cal, and I'm sure there are others: https://electricbikecentral.com/collections/kalkhoff-electric-bikes.

Ebikes are niche market, overpriced relatively to production costs, and expensive ebikes are a smaller market yet. Call Kalkhoff.

Agreed on recommendations to avoid rear-rack battery (if possible). On the Kalkhoff homepage in the section "US/AUS Models" the Impulse 8HS isn't listed. They must have renamed it. There are similar models with battery behind the seat post: http://www.kalkhoff-bikes.com/en/bikes/2017/e-bike/e-city.html.

I don't see anything in their line-up with really upright position, with wide swept-back cruiser handlebars. Though probably more upright than what you're riding now.

120 miles range? Maybe. Keep in mind that it's mere 250W motor.
I put a call into them to see if they can help me. This search is becoming exhausting. :(

ScottyCaps
4 weeks ago

Very interested in Pedegos but open to other brands. Budget is between $2,000-$$3,700.
Looking for the fun of a fat tire bike for occasional off road trails, but mostly on paved country roads, but with a very comfortable Cruiser seat. I'm not a small guy so power on inclines is also important. Thanks very much!

Steve Petttyjohn
1 year ago

I have the Burly model from EBO which is similar but has the "dolphin" battery pack mounted on the down tube. I have it on my lugged frame '85 Trek All Mountain (before they started calling them Mtb). I absolutely love this kit and how it gave new life to an old friend. The quality of the EBO kits are great and Jason was readily available to answer any questions. On fairly flat ground I've done 45 miles on 1 or 2 assist levels and still had a bar left of juice. Couldn't be more satisfied.

WorldRecordvideos
2 years ago

It wil be intereting how this bikes stacks up against the new Electra Townie GO. Both have 8 speeds and are cruiser bikes. Cost per mile over 3 years comparison.

FUNNY MEDIA
2 years ago

can you do a bike collection?

George Vandalay
2 years ago

Hey whats the best ebike for someone who wants a lifetime warranty? Thanks.

Robert Tabor
2 years ago

If you are doing a review on a motor or a bike it would be nice to know what it can handle. So testing it on a flat and maybe posting the weight of the bike and then telling us a top speed would be good information.

Jay Gurung
2 years ago

Hey Mr. Court when is new BH EasyMotion EasyGo Race review coming? Please review that bike as soon as possible. Seems like a really good bike for city(NYC) commute. Thanks in advance.

Flo Mo
2 years ago

I'm Elya from Fort William in Scotland. 23 years old. I currently live in Germany. I like your videos. What is your first name? And I have one more question: Can I distribute your videos in my channel? Only if you allow it. I would support you. :) I would make a channel only for your videos with german descriptions.

vothry
2 years ago

Your show inspired me to go big, trading in my car and commuting 33 miles daily with the Trek XM700+. Thanks again man. Check me out on Instagram @thecyclingtherapist

Flo Mo
2 years ago

I like it. It's puristic and cheep. It works pretty well. Nice look. Greetings from Germany.