Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Cruiser Kit Review

Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit Review
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser 350 Watt Internally Geared Hub
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Rear Battery Rack Samsung Cells
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kt Lcd Display With Throttle
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit Intalled
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit Review
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser 350 Watt Internally Geared Hub
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Rear Battery Rack Samsung Cells
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kt Lcd Display With Throttle
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit Intalled

Summary

  • A feature rich, reasonably priced, electric bike kit with trigger throttle and cadence sensing pedal assist drive modes
  • The battery pack mounts into a sturdy universal rear-rack that can support ~55 lbs and includes pannier blockers
  • You get to choose from a wide range of wheel sizes, front or rear mounted motor setup and add a cassette of gears from 1 to 6, 7, 8 or 9 but that costs $25 to $50 extra, you can choose from silver or black for motor casing color
  • Installing the cadence sensor for this kit can be more tedious and it only offers five magnets vs. 12 on some other kits I've tested, the battery pack, tail light and main display have to be powered on separately which can be easier to forget when you stop riding

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Electric Bike Outfitters

Model:

EBO Cruiser Kit

Price:

$925

Suggested Use:

Cruising, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

30 Day Return, 1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20152016

Bicycle Details

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

6 lbs (2.72 kg)

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

9 Single Speed or Shimano 6 or 7 Speed Cassettes or SunRace 8 and 9 Speed Cassettes

Brake Details:

Mechanical 5 Brand Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy

Spokes:

13 Gauge Stainless Steel, 36 Spoke

Wheel Sizes:

16 in (40.64cm)20 in (50.8cm)24 in (60.96cm)26 in (66.04cm)27.5 in (69.85cm)28 in (71.12cm)

Accessories:

Rear Carry Rack with Pannier Blockers (25 kg Weight Limit), EBO Quick Connect Anti-Water Wiring, Integrated Backlite (LINEO by Spanninga) Optional Twist Throttle

Other:

Rear Motors Cost $25 to $50 Extra, Dropout Widths Front: 100 mm, Rear 120 mm or 135 mm, Brake Clamp Diameter 22.2 mm, 17 Amp Controller

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub, Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Fixed Monochrome Backlit LCD by KT

Readouts:

Battery Level (4 Bars), Assist Level (0-5), Speedometer, Clock, Odometer, Wattage, Temperature, Average Speed, Max Speed

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Cruiser Kit from Electric Bike Outfitters is unique in that it offers a rear-rack style battery pack vs. one that mounts mid-frame on the downtube. This rack style battery used to be more common in the ebike kit space but has become less popular in recent years due to balance and handling limitations. Basically… they are rear heavy and position weight higher up which can be less stable when parked and more dangerous if tipped. I personally tend to prefer the lower center of gravity that mid-mounted batteries offer but recognize that for some applications, like step-thru frames, the benefits of easily mounting the bike and comfortably standing over the bike when stopped become more important. And so, for this demo we were using the ~$500 Crosby model from Pure City Cycles which looks beautiful and perfectly illustrates the strengths and weaknesses of the EBO Cruiser Kit. The Crosby comes stock with its own silver rack which was replaced here by the handsome and sturdy black battery-mount rack that is included with the EBO Cruiser conversion kit. This bike also had fenders, a comfortable saddle and swept back handlebars for that upright relaxed cruiser feel which all remained in tact. Basically, the e-bike kit itself is plug and play… you can choose a front or rear mounted wheel with motor pre-installed and it’s designed to work with traditional brakes or disc brakes. There’s definitely some screwing around and effort that goes into getting everything setup correctly (especially the cadence sensor) but it looks great and rides well once complete. My biggest complaint about this particular build was actually the kickstand that comes with the Crosby… it barely held the bike up once the heavy battery pack was mounted to the rear rack and I think I’d replace that immediately if this was my own bike, Amazon has several adjustable kickstands on offer.

There are lots of choices when it comes to this electric bike kit and the first major one is wheel size. It’s an easy choice though because your bike will probably only accommodate one size! The Crosby I was testing with here had 26″ wheels so that’s the size used for the review. Electric Bike Outfitters offers 16″, 20″, 24″, 26″, 27.5″ and 700c or ~28″ which is common on city bikes. If you aren’t sure what size wheel you need, look at both sides of the tires on your bike and try to find a measurement… You might see some air pressure ratings like 30 to 50 PSI and likely the size such as 700x35c. If you’re ordering the bike online or through a shop just read the details in the description or call Electric Bike Outfitters for help, their website is pretty nice and easy to use. So the next choice is whether you want a front or rear mounted motor. For those who might want to swap between their traditional unmotorized wheels I recommend a front motor because it’s much easier to install and take off. For those who plan to ride more and want the best traction and steering I recommend he rear motor but it can end up costing $25 to $50 more if you add sprockets to work with your gearing system. The Pure City Crosby I was testing with had an 8 speed setup stock so the kit also had to have 8 gears to work properly. Note that you can choose from a single speed design and 6, 7, 8 or 9 speeds. The final question to ask yourself is whether you want silver or black. The spokes are always silver so that hub tends to blend in more but the rim has a black accent on it so both end up looking alright in the end. I found that the front motor operated more quietly… both offer the same power rating of 350 watts nominal and are internally geared which allows them to feel peppier when starting and climbing but also tends to wear more quickly than a gearless direct drive motor. The motors whir a bit (especially at low speeds and under heavy load) but are warrantied for a year. I’d estimate that the motor on its own weighs about six pounds.

Powering this kit is a beautiful slide-in rack mounted battery with premium Samsung Lithium-ion cells. The batter and rack are colored black to match each other and the pack feels well protected when locked into the controller box surrounded by the rack. The tubing on the rack is a bit oversized but may still work with clip-on panniers and you get pannier blockers on both sides of the rack to keep bags and cargo from snagging in the wheel. My favorite part about the whole setup is the integrated LINEO LED light by Spanninga. It feels really polished and has a built-in reflector… but unfortunately you have to turn it on and off separately from the battery and the main display. It’s actually not a huge deal because this allows you to operate the light when the kit is completely shut off (perhaps you’ve almost completely discharged your battery but still want to ride safe). All things considered, the battery, rack and light all work very well and offer an above-average capacity of 36 Volts, 11.6 Amp hours for a total of 417.6 Watt hours which should go 17+ miles per charge on throttle power alone for a 170 lb rider on flat paved terrain. You can extend your range by pedaling along and using the lower settings in pedal assist.

Pedal assist is a great option to have on any electric bike in my opinion because it incentivizes pedaling allowing you to get more exercise, stretch your legs, focus your hands on steering and let your fingers relax (vs. pressing a trigger throttle or twist throttle). The great news for the EBO Cruiser is that it offers both assist and Throttle mode so you can choose how to ride and even override with the throttle at any time. I use this strategy a lot… riding in level two or three in pedal assist then stepping it up with the throttle to pass a fellow rider, get up to speed quickly from a stop sign or climb a short hill. Once my objective is complete I release the throttle and go back to pedaling. One complaint about the EBO Cruiser kit (and most of the Electric Bike Outfitters systems) is that there is no throttle-only mode. You have to be in PAS 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 to use the throttle. But at least you can use full power with the throttle, it doesn’t matter which PAS mode you’re in. Another question mark I had while riding was how well the limited five sensor cadence disc was performing. I was impressed to be honest, I see a lot of 12 magnet sensors these days so five had me worried. Apparently EBO plans to upgrade their sensors in the future but the five magnet setup really wasn’t all that bad. The real challenge is getting it on when installing the kit. You have to take your crank arm completely off which can be a two person job and require special tools… this might be worth paying a local shop to help with but that adds to the overall price of the kit.

The final consideration here is operation and the kit is pretty standard… You do have to power the battery and display on separately, there’s a toggle switch at the rear of the pack and a power button on the remote pad usually mounted near your left grip. Lots of ebikes and kits function this way but I’m always forgetting to turn the battery off after each ride so hopefully you’ll remember on your own ebike ;) Once powered up the display shows battery charge level, speed, assist level, odometer, time, temperature and a few more readouts. It’s a lot to take in but the screen is easy to read in light or dark because it’s backlit (just hold the up arrow for a few seconds). The brake levers included with this kit are wired into the system so anytime you pull, they will cut power to the motor and that’s important for pedal assist mode. To me, this kit is a winner because it’s flexible and relatively affordable. You get literally everything you need to convert most bicycles to electric for under $1,000 and you get a one year warranty to boot. These days you can get some entry level electric bikes starting at ~$1,500 and the wires will all be integrated and you won’t have to do much work compared to a kit… but those tend to be lower quality bikes with limited sizing options. On the flip side, many purpose built quality cruisers like those from Pedego cost $2k to $3,500. There’s room for improvement refining this kit by swapping the cadence sensor for one with more sensors that’s easier to install and integrating the battery, light and display with fewer on/off buttons but for the price it’s a good setup.

Pros:

  • Color coded wires are easy to setup, the motor cable has a quick disconnect point that makes servicing the wheel (front or rear) much easier
  • You get brake levers with integrated motor inhibitors here which could come in handy if you upgrade to pedal assist (much more affordable to do when you buy the bike vs. later since it uses a different controller)
  • I like trigger throttle because it allows you to use your existing grips and twist shifter but you can upgrade to a twist throttle if you prefer
  • Available in a huge assortment of wheel sizes including 16″, 20″, 24″, 26″, 27.5″ (650B) and ~28″ (700c) so you can convert folding bikes, kids bikes, road bikes, mountain bikes etc. and they all cost the same
  • This kit offers more Amps for increased starting and climbing power vs. the entry level EBO Commuter, that model is 14 Amps and this one is 17
  • The mechanical brake levers are compatible with traditional designs as well as disc brakes and the motor has a mounting pattern for use with a disc brake rotor
  • You can override pedal assist with the throttle at any time but there is no throttle-only mode so you’ll need to be in 1-5 to use it
  • The rack-mounted battery pack comes with a built in Spanninga LED light that looks great and works whether the bike is powered on or not

Cons:

  • The pedal assist cadence sensor requires more effort to install and the units I saw only had a five sensor disc which isn’t as responsive as the 10 and 12 magnet designs
  • You have to power the battery pack on as well as the display unit to get the bike going… this adds a bit of time to each ride but also makes it easier to forget to turn the battery pack off when you park – same thing with the rear light, it is activated with a separate rubber switch at the rear but this isn’t so bad if you just want the light on and aren’t using the battery to power the bike
  • The cadence sensor only offers a five magnet disc vs. 10 or 12 on some newer hardware I’ve seen from other companies, it sounds like Electric Bike Outfitters might upgrade this in the future and frankly, it worked alright during my tests

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Electric Bike Outfitters Reviews

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Mountaineer Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,180
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A high power, high speed electric bike kit capable of 30 mph top speeds, can be operated with pedal assist, trigger throttle or optional twist throttle. Heavier but sturdy 750 watt gearless hub motor, can be mounted in the front or…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Front Range Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,083
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A powerful gearless hub motor kit capable of being installed as a front or rear wheel, sturdy and relatively quiet. Gearless motors tend to be heavier and this one is ~12 lbs and does not…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Phantom Kit Review

  • MSRP: $925
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An affordable electric bike kit with everything you need to get going: motor, battery, throttle, pedal assist. Custom designed casing is narrower than many other 350 watt motors and fits in 100…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Commuter Kit Review

  • MSRP: $704
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An affordable, all-inclusive electric bike kit available in many wheel sizes (front or rear) with a nice one year warranty. You get a standard 350 watt internally geared motor, 36 volt Lithium-ion battery pack and…...


Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Rob Bay
5 days ago

I purchased a 20" 750w folding fat bike from B.P.M. imports through eBay in June and have used it to commute about 15 miles a day (plus adventure riding), every day since purchased for a total of about 1800-2000 miles on it. I had seen the Rad Beach Cruiser and decided I wanted one like it but wanted more power, range etc. Those of you are correct in assuming that feedback reviews were sent very quickly. B.P.M. imports these bikes from China just like many other companies and puts their brand on them (I looked up their import records) just like many other companies out there. I had to haggle with the shipping and it was very late getting delivered. I asked the same questions after realizing I might need repair parts. I've had only very minor issues such as a motor inhibitor switch, break pads and a cable to deal with. When I initially asked about warranty they told me "one year". Seems like they offer implied warranty but nothing written or discriptive. When I initially inquired about issues they told me to bring it to a bike shop and they would pay for adjustments, repairs. Well there is not a bike shop within 30 miles of me. "I am the bike shop". Overall it's a very decent bike and very similar to the Rad. Only thing is I want to tell them to up their customer service game.

Mark Peralta
6 days ago

Hello!
i have a round trip commute of 34 miles (total). The road is mostly flat. I am looking for a fast class 3 bike that also offer offroad mode, that allows me to ride faster than 28 miles limit.

any recommendations?

thank you

With your kind of application where you ride 34 miles round trip, mostly flat road at speeds faster than 28 mph, that would require enormous energy (30+wh/mile). You will need a 1,000 watt-hour+ battery and you will need a robust hub drive capable of sustained 500+ watts without overheating (a mid drive will just shred your drive train prematurely).

You are right, the ebike that has that potential is the Crosscurrent S with the biggest battery option 1008 watt-hour (42v 21ah)

Or the Stromer with 983 wh battery.

Other ebikes have smaller batteries but they are still capable for the range but you have to slow down a little bit with average speed somewhere in the 22-24 mph to reduce your battery consumption to about 22wh/mile. Or you can bring a charger with you so you can charge up before going back home. These are the other ebike options with smaller batteries.
Magnum cruiser

Ohm

Smartmotion

Bulls outlaw E45

Easy motion Nitro

Magmun Metro plus

Vintage

These are just some of your options. Note that some ebikes will cut the power above 28 mph while other will not.
Source: https://electricbikereview.com/category/speed/

Robert W Green
1 week ago

This is my Sun EZ1 Super Cruiser after installing the Luna Cycle BBS02 kit. The EZ1 is known for being slow and good as a transitional bike for new bent riders, but this bike isn't slow anymore. I feel like I'm strapping into a jet fighter every time I ride it. Now I'm a double heretic switching to a recumbent and going electric. Love this bike and this kit!

1/1
roshan
2 weeks ago

Check out the brand new Stunners! 7sp IGH, 750W motor, the whole deal!
https://www.biktrix.com/collections/bikes/products/biktrix-stunner?variant=25166348998

Reid
2 weeks ago

John and Dunbar, thanks for the heads-up!

I have a Cross Current S on order. I planned to replace the stock tires.

I need only moderate flat protection, and am leery of the thick protection strip of the Marathon Plus.

It must also eat up some power, all that thick, Plus rubber; here is a site that tested the thinner Greenguard Marathons, and other tires, for rolling resistance. Be that as it may, it is your first hand observations which confirm: I do not want Marathon Plus.

Have two bikes here, a 26"x 38C cruiser and a 700 23C singlespeed, on Michelin Protek city tires. I like the performance, plus the reflective sidewall vital because I ride at night.

So, the other day I ordered the newest Proteck city tire version,
https://www.biketiresdirect.com/product/michelin-protek-urban-700c-tire
in 38C ready to install on the CCS when it arrives.

I bet the new Urban tread design will be pretty quiet and the tire responsive with good grip in the wet.

Thank you guys for your Marathon advice!

So, what are some other good tire choices?

Gogogordy
2 weeks ago

My prized 1963 Schwinn Beach cruiser hasn't seen much action the last few years, and definitely not since my THR.
We (wife and I) bought EuroMini folders in May and enjoy them so much we added some Magnum Premium 48 folders about a month ago. The upshot is, the folders are so much better suited to our sizes, age, and riding preferences we now have 1 of each (electric and non electric) and enjoy riding them both! The ebikes kinda sorta fill the void left by us selling our Vespas and m/c after my THR. Exercise is good....even electrically assisted exercise.

Gogogordy
3 weeks ago

My first folder was a standard (non elec) folder and now my first ebike os also a folder. Still have and enjoy my pedal only bike and my ebike as well.

The folder replaced my beach cruiser....I'm over it!

mid drive merv
3 weeks ago

Wondering if anyone has any experience with this bike:
http://www.micargibicycles.com/cyclone/
It may be a recent release, I'm not sure. I think it certainly does have a look about it. Any facts or opinions appreciated.

It does have that retro motorbike look. I did a bit of digging on it and it certainly has a premium Panasonic 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery pack. That, paired with the 500 watt Bafang hub motor seems pretty good. But it is listed at 83 pounds and that seems about right just looking at how long it is and the components used. In general terms, ebikes are getting on the heavy side when they get up to 60 to 65 pounds. The bike has only one gear so it would not be at all pleasant to pedal should one run out of battery or have some other affliction with the motor assist during one's trek. It does not come with a rack and does not appear to be set up to be mindful of utilitarian purposes. But it does have that look and if one wants a cruiser for stylin' around and that will provide decent power on mostly level ground to small hills, then that seems to be a niche it would fill nicely. I live where there are plenty of tough hills and I need a bike that is designed to help carry me and my often moderate to heavy cargo up those hills. This is not a bike for riders like me, but there are riders, rider needs, and riding environments where this bike would likely be just what is wanted.

JayVee
3 weeks ago

The title says it all.

I found this picture:

1/1
Deafcat
4 weeks ago

well it is a fat-tired cruiser with a suspension fork... (I've added the large fenders for muddy-road driving)

The funniest part is how awesome a cruiser can feel on rough trails and off road, been taking a 20km commute route mostly off-pavement with it and it's a blast!

Dewey
4 weeks ago

The Juiced OceanCurrent for $1300 has beach cruiser styling, wide swept back handlebars, two frame shapes: high and mid-step, 26" x 2.35" tires, one frame size but the maximum rise of the saddle is 42" which ought to fit a 6'1" rider, a 48v 500w rear hub motor, mechanical disk brakes, weighing 51lb, pedal assist with a torque sensor and a thumb throttle, and a centrally mounted battery.

Crazy Lenny's are selling ex-demo Pedego City ebikes for $1500 but check they can sell you the large 17" diamond frame size. A 48v 500w rear hub motor, mechanical disk brakes, 28" x 2" tires, weighing 60lb, pedal assist and twist throttle, and a rear mounted battery. It's slightly more expensive than the Juiced but you get extras like the fenders, chain guard, seatpost suspension, rear rack, puncture-resistant Schwalbe brand tires, integrated bell, and lights that run off the main battery, plus lots of dealers.

Nicknick
4 weeks ago

Curious to hear how you’ll like the Jones Hbar. It looks interesting, but not higher than the current bar, just more swept back like beach cruiser style, which I guess will also allow you to sit up more straight?

One thing I forgot to mention: my chain has dropped from the front chainring twice now. No big deal as it’s easy to put back (and the throttle always works so I could even go home before fixing it) but any idea how to prevent that? Do you have this problem as well?

Rincon
4 weeks ago

Did you read the electricbike-blog report from the Playa?
That is a great post on why not to bring an ebike to Burning Man. I attended Burning Man for the first time this year. I rented a beach cruiser for the burn, delivered straight to the playa, and thought I wanted my ebike--until I actually arrived at Black Rock City and started seeing the sights. We spent 8-10 hours a night in the saddle, riding around the deep playa looking at the incredible artworks, and still didn't see half of the ~200 jaw dropping installations. That was just three weeks ago.

Now that I'm back home, I would never bring an e-bike to Burning Man, and not for the reasons given in the blog post--which are all true and correct. I wouldn't bring an e-bike there because you only ride at 3-5 mph, you're barely peddling, the ground could not be flatter, and you're constantly stopping to see the next incredible attraction. The slower you go, the more you will see. You just don't need an ebike. And you don't ride in straight lines from one attraction to the next. You start out in a straight line, but then immediately get sidetracked because you see another amazing artwork just to the right, that you can't believe you didn't see before. So your short ride to the next installation gets shorter by stopping at something in between. Most of this exploration happens at night by the way. Many of the illuminated artworks can only be discerned in the dark when you are close, so you zigzag your way through the warm desert evening.

The distance from once side of Black Rock City to the other is about 3.5 miles, with an infinite number of distractions between the edges. You need a cheap combination lock for Burning Man, not an e-bike. (Don't bring a keyed lock. If you drop that key in the playa dust, you'll never see it again.) My bike was stolen the one time I left it unlocked to grab a quick look at the Mayan Warrior Mutant Vehicle blasting out 70,000 watts of dance music in the deep playa. I was wandering around forlorn, thinking of the long walk back, when this dude rode up on the bike and handed it back to me. He said, "Sorry, I needed a ride." Then the jerk hugged me and walked away. That's Burning Man.

If you love riding bikes and would enjoy spending several days absolutely gobsmacked from dawn to dusk, then leave the ebike at home, rent a beach cruiser for playa delivery and pickup, and head to Burning Man next August.

1/3
jazz
1 month ago

I'm about 270lbs and maybe another 20-25 lbs for rack bag, accessories, and commuter back pack. I would have to ride the 600 watt 2wd fat bike to see if it feels the same as my 750w Rover. I know my Radrover is on the extreme lower end of ebikes in general and you get what you paid for. Just not sure if the Easy Motion is worth $2000 more than the Radrover?

I have two Radrovers for about a year with around 3300 miles between them. I use them for work commuting and single track trail riding equally. I work commuted with the front forks locked out compared to open. Much smoother ride with the suspension open (on and off road) with the rover. I also have a 400mm Suntour SP-12 NCX and Bodyfloat orange springs V2.0 350mm seatpost with Cloud-9 11.5X12.5 cruiser seats. Much less vibrations hitting bottom, spine, and my upper body with the suspension seatpost and forks compared when I first rode the same routes without the seatpost and suspension locked out (still feel the vibrations in my lower legs from the pedals and that is how I know how hard the two suspensions are working).

I've experimented with PSI set as low as 12 and high as 25 with 26X4" Kenda Juggernaut and Vee8 tires. The lower PSI work best for sand and rocky/hilly terrain. Higher PSI for level is fine for single track or work commuting combo riding (+22 PSI if 100% paved roads for max speed).

We are definitely different types of riders so maybe the front suspension works fine for you. For me, I would be afraid to do the kinda of riding I do with a cheap front suspension. I do agree with using a good suspension post.

mrgold35
1 month ago

Not on a fat bike. Have you ever ridden one? Even with no suspension they are one smooth and cushy ride. You don't really need a suspension on a fat bike and if you do there is only one worth getting and that is the Bluto which is expensive. The cheaper front suspensions that come stock with most fat ebikes are crap and you are better off without one.

I don't have the Big Bud Pro but one of my ebikes is an E-Motion 2WD that has the same exact system and I will tell you that it has pretty good power (48v), torque sensing, smooth , hydro brakes and you have 2WD with control over both motors or front and rear separately. The frame is beautiful and the integration is flawless.

I'm about 270lbs and maybe another 20-25 lbs for rack bag, accessories, and commuter back pack. I would have to ride the 600 watt 2wd fat bike to see if it feels the same as my 750w Rover. I know my Radrover is on the extreme lower end of ebikes in general and you get what you paid for. Just not sure if the Easy Motion is worth $2000 more than the Radrover?

I have two Radrovers for about a year with around 3300 miles between them. I use them for work commuting and single track trail riding equally. I work commuted with the front forks locked out compared to open. Much smoother ride with the suspension open (on and off road) with the rover. I also have a 400mm Suntour SP-12 NCX and Bodyfloat orange springs V2.0 350mm seatpost with Cloud-9 11.5X12.5 cruiser seats. Much less vibrations hitting bottom, spine, and my upper body with the suspension seatpost and forks compared when I first rode the same routes without the seatpost and suspension locked out (still feel the vibrations in my lower legs from the pedals and that is how I know how hard the two suspensions are working).

I've experimented with PSI set as low as 12 and high as 25 with 26X4" Kenda Juggernaut and Vee8 tires. The lower PSI work best for sand and rocky/hilly terrain. Higher PSI for level is fine for single track or work commuting combo riding (+22 PSI if 100% paved roads for max speed).

Alex M
1 month ago

ouch, 79lbs!!

34 kg (without box) is ~75 lb. Yes, heavy. They probably used thicker tubes than on their 2.3" step-through cruiser.

It's not just a fat step-through, it's a fat step-through cruiser, with swept-back handlebars. A real beach cruiser, for relaxed riding on sand. Cruisers with 2.3" tires are more "boardwalk cruisers" than "beach cruisers" :). People don't cruise on sand on purpose very often, sand and salty air don't mix well with bikes, sand sticks to greasy chain. But I would imagine how comfy it will be on bumpy country roads.

Big Cat Long Beach Cruiser comes to mind, fat tires, same size battery, smaller 500W motor, no suspension, 63 lb including rear rack.

Alex M
1 month ago

Well, not unique - I recall at least one other step-through fat cruiser. Still, impressive. And look at this introductory price!

Partially integrated battery is a move towards stylish crowd - as opposed to the "first" Stunner with a more common "Shark pack" bolted onto the frame, appealing more to cost-conscious people.
Shimano Tourney for a (potentially) offroad bike - yeah, well, can be upgraded...
I know about LAX airport, have even been there :) ... LAX motor, anybody heard of it?

MikeBCO
1 month ago

Hi. I just joined the forum. I have been used this site extensively to research e-bikes. What a fantastic resource...., kudos and thanks to Court Rye. I'm an avid mountain biker and casual road-biker. My limited road biking is on cross bike which I use mainly for training when I cant get onto the trails. We also have a pair of 14 year old MTB/Cruiser hybrids which have served us well although they are now on their last legs.

My wife and I have just sprung for a pair of BULLS Lacuba EVO E45's after watching and reading many dozens of reviews and taking two short-listed bikes for a test-ride. We plan to use these new steeds for transportation (we both work from home so no to-work commuting) and touring. We are excited at the prospect of owning e-bikes and all the benefits they will provide.

J.R.
1 month ago

I'm trying to decide on a set as well.

I'm stuck between Schwalbe:
BIG BEN PLUS
Marathon Plus

My Trek came uses more of a cruiser style tire size 26 x 2.125, so if I want to get close to that width, the Big Ben would be my sole option from Schwalbe. but the Big ben plus 26 x 2.15 size seems a bit hard to find in the states.
Checkout Chain Reaction Cycles. Located in the UK, but have a huge following here in the U.S., A+ reputation too. I believe they're still offering free standard shipping to the U.S., 4 to 7 days, for orders over $50. Double check that though. I believe these are the tires you're looking for?

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/mobile/us/en/schwalbe-big-ben-plus-mtb-tyre-greenguard/rp-prod154936

Even when I've had to pay shipping from Chain Reaction it's never very high. They always seem to have everything in stock and at great prices.

RostHaus
1 month ago

I'm trying to decide on a set as well.

I'm stuck between Schwalbe:
BIG BEN PLUS
Marathon Plus

My Trek uses more of a cruiser style tire size 26 x 2.125, so if I want to get close to that width, the Big Ben would be my sole option from Schwalbe. but the Big ben plus 26 x 2.15 size seems a bit hard to find in the states.

indianajo
1 month ago

Bionx has a custom battery with a computer that talks to the controller. If there is a problem you buy another bionx battery.
You need to measure front-rear weight distribution to decide front or rear wheel drive. My bike was way off rear heavy so I am hanging the battery over the front wheel and bought a wheel that would go either place - trying front first. If I don't like it I can get a shimano/sun 7 spd freewheel adapter for the motor, I think.
All the amazon wheel kits I looked at were missing something. No brake handle shutoff. No pedal sensors. No description of assist versus motor only. No gears in motor (I have serious hills). No mention if there was a one-way clutch in the motor to unload it from resisting you while you were pedaling. No description of controller features. Picture not good enough to tell if you could put an anti-torque strut on it. No width dimension. No description of compatibility with disk brakes. (Bafang wheel motor is too fat) One of the above. Of course amazon shows low price first.
EBO was just expensive, I think.
Lunacycle has more support but their thin geared motor wheel was out of stock & $450. Besides somebody posted their rim is incompatible with generic bike tube stem. e-bikes.ca has a great instructive site with great explanations if you live in Canada. ebikling checked all my boxes for a wheel with motor, possibly it will only last 2 weeks, but for $200 48v generic battery compatibility & 1000 w, I thought it was worth the risk. They sell 20", 24", 26", 700 mm wheels. $150 if you buy the LED controller display. I found them through bing. In Schaumberg IL for less freght & delay to IN than CA.
I wanted long range so I bought a 48v 15AH battery from btrbattery through amazon. $435. Most shops are selling 9 or 10 AH. Comes with a 3 A charger and a battery monitor board inside the battery. (cells in series have to balance or something weird happens). Case is rectangular so I'm building a frame out of AL angle to hold it over the wheel. Battery will be in the wind for maximum cooling. Once screws are glued in frame, it will take a saw to get it off & sell at the pawn shop Those hanging bag batteries look real easy to get on - and real easy to get off and carry away if you park in public. I do.
Just some thoughts. Should know more in a couple of weeks- boxes should be waiting at a lady's house out near my summer camp.
Okay, update 9/10/17
I've unboxed the ebikling geared front wheel kit, and the btrbattery 15 ah 48 v battery.
There may be bikes where this will all install in an hour, but I spent 7 hours yesterday and still not done.
My target bike was a 1990? Huffy Savanna 10 speed cruiser bike on the theory that a heavier frame is better, and 5 of the speeds are too tall for me anyway.
There are no instructions in the ebikeling box, you are supposed to check their site on the internet. My target bike is out at my summer camp where I don't even have a land line or bargain cell phone service, much less the internet. I'd looked at the site before going out there.
The "powerwheel" (sticker on the wheel) has a plastic rim which is two layer. Just like the one complained about on Lunacycle's site. It is just barely compatible with conventional schwinn tubes from the grocery store. If you mash the tire down totally flat, you get enough stem out of the wheel to fasten the air pump chuck on to the stem. I can't imagine ever adding air to this with a clip on pump chuck. One of the obsolete milton service station pump chucks that has 100 psi air behind it at all times would work perhaps.
The motor is totally thick as the space in my front fork. Forget adding a brake disk or a freewheel to it. There are bolt holes for those, 5 mm, but no thickness available for that. In fact the thrust washers with tangs were too thick to go into my fork with the tangs out. I had to pop the pins on the control connector to reverse the thrust washer to go into the slot. I had to make a pin popper to do that. (grind down a big lots origin pick to be really pointy). There is plenty of shaft outside the fork to put a torque plate, but none was for sale on ebikeling's site. I made one out of a strip of steel cut from a bed leg, ground out to make a flatted cicle slot. I used 3/16' diameter drill, to make two holes, then a 20000 rpm electric grinder and a tree bit to wallow out to fit. (use safety glasses with power tools).
The torque plate will screw to an aluminum angle strut on the outside of the fork, which will hold the 13 lb battery up, ending at the handlebars.
The shaft of the motor was too thick to fit my fork. I had to grind .030" out of the fork with a 4 1/2" angle grinder. The shaft of the motor is not 1/2"x26tpi like huffy, suntour, shimano sis shafts. It may be 14 mm x 1.5 thread, but I didn't have anything to compare it with or measure it out there. I need two more nuts to capture the torque arm & battery support strut.
The magnet plate for the pedal sensor had a hole too small to fit on the huffy shaft. I had to grind the center out with the 20000 rpm grinder, using a ball end bit this time. The prox switch pickup was on a circle of steel, but it didn't fit anywhere. Would fit under the nut but you only get one circle before the wire wraps around the frame. ??? I had to make a bracket out of scrap lawnmower plastic to bolt to the kick-stand rails, then glued the prox switch pickup circle to it. Glueing the magnet plate to the pedal shaft is TBD.
It got dark at that point and I had to come to town today. The next challenge is, the battery feed to the controller is bullet connectors, so I took some out sold by Dorman at Obriens auto supply. The don't fit. The ****ese have some new standard for bullet connectors, probably sold in lots of 100000 on alibaba. cutting the connectors off would obviously void the warrentee.
Ebikling didn't send me the disk brakes I ordered in the first box. I hope another box is forthcoming, after the container is shipped from ***** and unloaded. They won't fit anyway. They did send me a battery headlight I didn't order.
The battery is a square box made of heat shrink, with fiberboard top and bottom. The wires come out the top and were bare. This is obviously not protected enough for leaving out in the rain. I cut some of the foam it wsa wrapped in, and glued it to the top and bottom, capturing it with rubber bands while the glue dried. The covers will be further captured by the angle aluminum cage I'm going to build around it. I crimped coverd 1/4 flag terminals to the charge wires, male for minus and female for plus. Dorman parts I've tested at over 30 amps in cars (Radio shack flag terminals melted at 30 amps). The battery was charged to 49 v already. I put it on the charger, which gets a green light at 58.8 v. I stopped before there because I don't know if the powerwheel controller can take that high a voltage. I have a 55 v Dc power supply surplus from the trash bin that needs new e-caps, I'll use that I think. I don't know where I stopped because I tried to measure the voltage on 250 ma scale and blew the meter fuse, which obviously I didn't have that far out in the country.
The brake switch handles, the twist throttle and matching red hand grip, the wire harness, the display, the controller, were all in the box. Mounting on the handlebar & frame shouldn't be a problem, unless my handlebars are the "wrong" size (quite likely since globalization of the bike industry).
If interested, stay tuned for further adventures.

bazzapage
1 month ago

Had a quick look at the new Turbo Como 2.0 yesterday. Same drive etc as the Vado, but a relaxed 'cruiser' geometry, balloon tyres. Hopefully will get to ride one soon and will report.

JohnT
2 months ago

I looked at the owners manual online and it stated on page 12/Safety/Weight Capacity of being 250 lbs for all models (Boomerang, Boomerang Plus, City Commuter, Comfort Cruiser, Interceptor, and Tandem): http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/Master-Manual-WEB.pdf
The Pedego Interceptor and Boomerang Plus are available with a Mag wheel option which brings capacity to 400 pounds. Also, the Stretch is capable of at least that.

We've put 6' tall guys on stock Interceptors and Stretches, but I might recommend a longer seatpost. The Boomerang would likely feel cramped with the stock bars, so I'd recommend swapping to bars that don't sweep back as much. Many people like to use the City Commuter bars and adjustable stem. The Stretch comes with them stock.

On any bike with wire spokes that regularly carries 350 pounds, whatever the rating, I'd recommend keeping a close eye on spoke tension. That's where a failure is most likely to occur.

Tora Harris
2 months ago

All I can say is I ordered a ocean current that was advertised clearly as having 500 to 720 watts not 350 to 500 watts and in order to get what I paid for they wanna send me a new frame and me send mine back, I do all the work of swapping everything around, then I pay for a new controller and LCD display, who knows what that will cost, all in order to get the LCD that I originally ordered and they discontinued. I'm not spending another dime on this P.O.S. clearly false advertising and your mouth overloading your butthole. They will never get another dime from me and I'm in the process of talking to my lawyer but I doubt it does me any good, probably wind up just taking the loss. Good for them that I live across country or I would really be a pain in the ass. From now on I will make sure I know what I'm buying.

Ok, just to clarify on the open forum. Rooster, we apologize for this issue. As stated in the many support exchanges: it may appear that our designers were intentionally trying to make your bike obsolete at the moment you bought the bike, this is not the case.

When the OceanCurrent was originally designed it was spec to use a 6-Transistor controller. The downtube has a bend at the top in keeping with the classic lines of a beach cruiser. The bend makes it difficult to fit the controller which is rectangular in shape.

We moved to the 9 Transistor controller for some Current-Series e-bikes as it is easier to manage it thermally since some 6-Transistor controllers could struggle with heat. But the 9 Transistor controller is physically even bigger. And could not fit the OceanCurrent frame.

The CrossCurrent S and CrossCurrent Airs do not have much difficulty to fit the longer controller as the downtube is straight.

We later asked the frame company to adjust the tooling used to make the bend in the downtube. After a bunch of tries they managed to get the 9-transistor controller to fit and still maintain the cruiser look.

Now with all the Current-Series e-bikes using the EXACT same controller, it makes it much easier to stock parts and service bikes in the field.

So in short, there are some bikes in the field that would be very difficult to fit the longer controller, less than 200 units. Of all the bikes in the field only one customer requested a 9-Transistor upgrade from the 6-Transistor controller. This is one of your support tickets and we have a Tech following it to completion.

All this was made clear in many support exchanges and we decided the only way would be to change the frame of the bike and you agreed as you stated to be a mechanic and comfortable with the swap.

We put in a very special order of 1 black OC frame to the factory that can fit the 9-Transistor controller. It is understood that it will take some time to work its way through the supply chain to you, but we would eventually make this right.

I hope this helps clarify this issue.

Steve Petttyjohn
2 years ago

I have the Burly model from EBO which is similar but has the "dolphin" battery pack mounted on the down tube. I have it on my lugged frame '85 Trek All Mountain (before they started calling them Mtb). I absolutely love this kit and how it gave new life to an old friend. The quality of the EBO kits are great and Jason was readily available to answer any questions. On fairly flat ground I've done 45 miles on 1 or 2 assist levels and still had a bar left of juice. Couldn't be more satisfied.

WorldRecordvideos
2 years ago

It wil be intereting how this bikes stacks up against the new Electra Townie GO. Both have 8 speeds and are cruiser bikes. Cost per mile over 3 years comparison.

UNKOWN123G
2 years ago

can you do a bike collection?

George Vandalay
2 years ago

Hey whats the best ebike for someone who wants a lifetime warranty? Thanks.

Robert Tabor
2 years ago

If you are doing a review on a motor or a bike it would be nice to know what it can handle. So testing it on a flat and maybe posting the weight of the bike and then telling us a top speed would be good information.

Jay Gurung
2 years ago

Hey Mr. Court when is new BH EasyMotion EasyGo Race review coming? Please review that bike as soon as possible. Seems like a really good bike for city(NYC) commute. Thanks in advance.

Flo Mo
2 years ago

I'm Elya from Fort William in Scotland. 23 years old. I currently live in Germany. I like your videos. What is your first name? And I have one more question: Can I distribute your videos in my channel? Only if you allow it. I would support you. :) I would make a channel only for your videos with german descriptions.

vothry
2 years ago

Your show inspired me to go big, trading in my car and commuting 33 miles daily with the Trek XM700+. Thanks again man. Check me out on Instagram @thecyclingtherapist

Flo Mo
2 years ago

I like it. It's puristic and cheep. It works pretty well. Nice look. Greetings from Germany.