Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Cruiser Kit Review

Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit Review
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser 350 Watt Internally Geared Hub
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Rear Battery Rack Samsung Cells
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kt Lcd Display With Throttle
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit Intalled
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit Review
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser 350 Watt Internally Geared Hub
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Rear Battery Rack Samsung Cells
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kt Lcd Display With Throttle
Electric Bike Outfitters Ebo Cruiser Kit Intalled

Summary

  • A feature rich, reasonably priced, electric bike kit with trigger throttle and cadence sensing pedal assist drive modes
  • The battery pack mounts into a sturdy universal rear-rack that can support ~55 lbs and includes pannier blockers
  • You get to choose from a wide range of wheel sizes, front or rear mounted motor setup and add a cassette of gears from 1 to 6, 7, 8 or 9 but that costs $25 to $50 extra, you can choose from silver or black for motor casing color
  • Installing the cadence sensor for this kit can be more tedious and it only offers five magnets vs. 12 on some other kits I've tested, the battery pack, tail light and main display have to be powered on separately which can be easier to forget when you stop riding

Search EBR

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Electric Bike Outfitters

Model:

EBO Cruiser Kit

Price:

$925

Suggested Use:

Cruising, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

30 Day Return, 1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20152016

Bicycle Details

Battery Weight:

7 lbs ( 3.17 kg )

Motor Weight:

6 lbs ( 2.72 kg )

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

9 Single Speed or Shimano 6 or 7 Speed Cassettes or SunRace 8 and 9 Speed Cassettes

Brake Details:

Mechanical 5 Brand Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy

Spokes:

13 Gauge Stainless Steel, 36 Spoke

Wheel Sizes:

16 in ( 40.64 cm )20 in ( 50.8 cm )24 in ( 60.96 cm )26 in ( 66.04 cm )27.5 in ( 69.85 cm )28 in ( 71.12 cm )

Accessories:

Rear Carry Rack with Pannier Blockers (25 kg Weight Limit), EBO Quick Connect Anti-Water Wiring, Integrated Backlite (LINEO by Spanninga) Optional Twist Throttle

Other:

Rear Motors Cost $25 to $50 Extra, Dropout Widths Front: 100 mm, Rear 120 mm or 135 mm, Brake Clamp Diameter 22.2 mm, 17 Amp Controller

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub, Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles ( 24 km )

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles ( 64 km )

Display Type:

Fixed Monochrome Backlit LCD by KT

Readouts:

Battery Level (4 Bars), Assist Level (0-5), Speedometer, Clock, Odometer, Wattage, Temperature, Average Speed, Max Speed

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

20 mph ( 32 kph )

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Cruiser Kit from Electric Bike Outfitters is unique in that it offers a rear-rack style battery pack vs. one that mounts mid-frame on the downtube. This rack style battery used to be more common in the ebike kit space but has become less popular in recent years due to balance and handling limitations. Basically… they are rear heavy and position weight higher up which can be less stable when parked and more dangerous if tipped. I personally tend to prefer the lower center of gravity that mid-mounted batteries offer but recognize that for some applications, like step-thru frames, the benefits of easily mounting the bike and comfortably standing over the bike when stopped become more important. And so, for this demo we were using the ~$500 Crosby model from Pure City Cycles which looks beautiful and perfectly illustrates the strengths and weaknesses of the EBO Cruiser Kit. The Crosby comes stock with its own silver rack which was replaced here by the handsome and sturdy black battery-mount rack that is included with the EBO Cruiser conversion kit. This bike also had fenders, a comfortable saddle and swept back handlebars for that upright relaxed cruiser feel which all remained in tact. Basically, the e-bike kit itself is plug and play… you can choose a front or rear mounted wheel with motor pre-installed and it’s designed to work with traditional brakes or disc brakes. There’s definitely some screwing around and effort that goes into getting everything setup correctly (especially the cadence sensor) but it looks great and rides well once complete. My biggest complaint about this particular build was actually the kickstand that comes with the Crosby… it barely held the bike up once the heavy battery pack was mounted to the rear rack and I think I’d replace that immediately if this was my own bike, Amazon has several adjustable kickstands on offer.

There are lots of choices when it comes to this electric bike kit and the first major one is wheel size. It’s an easy choice though because your bike will probably only accommodate one size! The Crosby I was testing with here had 26″ wheels so that’s the size used for the review. Electric Bike Outfitters offers 16″, 20″, 24″, 26″, 27.5″ and 700c or ~28″ which is common on city bikes. If you aren’t sure what size wheel you need, look at both sides of the tires on your bike and try to find a measurement… You might see some air pressure ratings like 30 to 50 PSI and likely the size such as 700x35c. If you’re ordering the bike online or through a shop just read the details in the description or call Electric Bike Outfitters for help, their website is pretty nice and easy to use. So the next choice is whether you want a front or rear mounted motor. For those who might want to swap between their traditional unmotorized wheels I recommend a front motor because it’s much easier to install and take off. For those who plan to ride more and want the best traction and steering I recommend he rear motor but it can end up costing $25 to $50 more if you add sprockets to work with your gearing system. The Pure City Crosby I was testing with had an 8 speed setup stock so the kit also had to have 8 gears to work properly. Note that you can choose from a single speed design and 6, 7, 8 or 9 speeds. The final question to ask yourself is whether you want silver or black. The spokes are always silver so that hub tends to blend in more but the rim has a black accent on it so both end up looking alright in the end. I found that the front motor operated more quietly… both offer the same power rating of 350 watts nominal and are internally geared which allows them to feel peppier when starting and climbing but also tends to wear more quickly than a gearless direct drive motor. The motors whir a bit (especially at low speeds and under heavy load) but are warrantied for a year. I’d estimate that the motor on its own weighs about six pounds.

Powering this kit is a beautiful slide-in rack mounted battery with premium Samsung Lithium-ion cells. The batter and rack are colored black to match each other and the pack feels well protected when locked into the controller box surrounded by the rack. The tubing on the rack is a bit oversized but may still work with clip-on panniers and you get pannier blockers on both sides of the rack to keep bags and cargo from snagging in the wheel. My favorite part about the whole setup is the integrated LINEO LED light by Spanninga. It feels really polished and has a built-in reflector… but unfortunately you have to turn it on and off separately from the battery and the main display. It’s actually not a huge deal because this allows you to operate the light when the kit is completely shut off (perhaps you’ve almost completely discharged your battery but still want to ride safe). All things considered, the battery, rack and light all work very well and offer an above-average capacity of 36 Volts, 11.6 Amp hours for a total of 417.6 Watt hours which should go 17+ miles per charge on throttle power alone for a 170 lb rider on flat paved terrain. You can extend your range by pedaling along and using the lower settings in pedal assist.

Pedal assist is a great option to have on any electric bike in my opinion because it incentivizes pedaling allowing you to get more exercise, stretch your legs, focus your hands on steering and let your fingers relax (vs. pressing a trigger throttle or twist throttle). The great news for the EBO Cruiser is that it offers both assist and Throttle mode so you can choose how to ride and even override with the throttle at any time. I use this strategy a lot… riding in level two or three in pedal assist then stepping it up with the throttle to pass a fellow rider, get up to speed quickly from a stop sign or climb a short hill. Once my objective is complete I release the throttle and go back to pedaling. One complaint about the EBO Cruiser kit (and most of the Electric Bike Outfitters systems) is that there is no throttle-only mode. You have to be in PAS 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 to use the throttle. But at least you can use full power with the throttle, it doesn’t matter which PAS mode you’re in. Another question mark I had while riding was how well the limited five sensor cadence disc was performing. I was impressed to be honest, I see a lot of 12 magnet sensors these days so five had me worried. Apparently EBO plans to upgrade their sensors in the future but the five magnet setup really wasn’t all that bad. The real challenge is getting it on when installing the kit. You have to take your crank arm completely off which can be a two person job and require special tools… this might be worth paying a local shop to help with but that adds to the overall price of the kit.

The final consideration here is operation and the kit is pretty standard… You do have to power the battery and display on separately, there’s a toggle switch at the rear of the pack and a power button on the remote pad usually mounted near your left grip. Lots of ebikes and kits function this way but I’m always forgetting to turn the battery off after each ride so hopefully you’ll remember on your own ebike ;) Once powered up the display shows battery charge level, speed, assist level, odometer, time, temperature and a few more readouts. It’s a lot to take in but the screen is easy to read in light or dark because it’s backlit (just hold the up arrow for a few seconds). The brake levers included with this kit are wired into the system so anytime you pull, they will cut power to the motor and that’s important for pedal assist mode. To me, this kit is a winner because it’s flexible and relatively affordable. You get literally everything you need to convert most bicycles to electric for under $1,000 and you get a one year warranty to boot. These days you can get some entry level electric bikes starting at ~$1,500 and the wires will all be integrated and you won’t have to do much work compared to a kit… but those tend to be lower quality bikes with limited sizing options. On the flip side, many purpose built quality cruisers like those from Pedego cost $2k to $3,500. There’s room for improvement refining this kit by swapping the cadence sensor for one with more sensors that’s easier to install and integrating the battery, light and display with fewer on/off buttons but for the price it’s a good setup.

Pros:

  • Color coded wires are easy to setup, the motor cable has a quick disconnect point that makes servicing the wheel (front or rear) much easier
  • You get brake levers with integrated motor inhibitors here which could come in handy if you upgrade to pedal assist (much more affordable to do when you buy the bike vs. later since it uses a different controller)
  • I like trigger throttle because it allows you to use your existing grips and twist shifter but you can upgrade to a twist throttle if you prefer
  • Available in a huge assortment of wheel sizes including 16″, 20″, 24″, 26″, 27.5″ (650B) and ~28″ (700c) so you can convert folding bikes, kids bikes, road bikes, mountain bikes etc. and they all cost the same
  • This kit offers more Amps for increased starting and climbing power vs. the entry level EBO Commuter, that model is 14 Amps and this one is 17
  • The mechanical brake levers are compatible with traditional designs as well as disc brakes and the motor has a mounting pattern for use with a disc brake rotor
  • You can override pedal assist with the throttle at any time but there is no throttle-only mode so you’ll need to be in 1-5 to use it
  • The rack-mounted battery pack comes with a built in Spanninga LED light that looks great and works whether the bike is powered on or not

Cons:

  • The pedal assist cadence sensor requires more effort to install and the units I saw only had a five sensor disc which isn’t as responsive as the 10 and 12 magnet designs
  • You have to power the battery pack on as well as the display unit to get the bike going… this adds a bit of time to each ride but also makes it easier to forget to turn the battery pack off when you park – same thing with the rear light, it is activated with a separate rubber switch at the rear but this isn’t so bad if you just want the light on and aren’t using the battery to power the bike
  • The cadence sensor only offers a five magnet disc vs. 10 or 12 on some newer hardware I’ve seen from other companies, it sounds like Electric Bike Outfitters might upgrade this in the future and frankly, it worked alright during my tests

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Electric Bike Outfitters Reviews

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Mountaineer Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,180
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A high power, high speed electric bike kit capable of 30 mph top speeds, can be operated with pedal assist, trigger throttle or optional twist throttle. Heavier but sturdy 750 watt gearless hub motor, can be mounted in the front or…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Front Range Kit Review

  • MSRP: $1,083
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A powerful gearless hub motor kit capable of being installed as a front or rear wheel, sturdy and relatively quiet. Gearless motors tend to be heavier and this one is ~12 lbs and does not…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Phantom Kit Review

  • MSRP: $925
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An affordable electric bike kit with everything you need to get going: motor, battery, throttle, pedal assist. Custom designed casing is narrower than many other 350 watt motors and fits in 100…...

Electric Bike Outfitters EBO Commuter Kit Review

  • MSRP: $704
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An affordable, all-inclusive electric bike kit available in many wheel sizes (front or rear) with a nice one year warranty. You get a standard 350 watt internally geared motor, 36 volt Lithium-ion battery pack and…...


Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Thomas Jaszewski
2 months ago
Christopher
As an ebike consumer and enthusiast, its unfortunate Electra has a strangle hold on cruiser style ebikes able to be built without a true upright, relaxed riding position crank forward design for proper leg extension allowing to plant our feet flat on the ground whenever we want without leaving the saddle.

Crank forward design should be an industry standard on all cruiser ebikes, but as you stated earlier, Trek was trying to bring its customers more comfort and control and were caught infringing on Electra's patent. Sad.
I guarantee the Trek Pure and KHS are completely heads up and flat foot. I'm trying to find the picture of the Townie I converted. If you can find ANY of the Trek frames named in the suit they are also FABULOUS flat foot frames. My KHS achieve the Townie ride but as I wrote they messed them up in 2016. I bought one and committed before I realized the changes. SO I'm upgrading the brakes, wheels, handlebars and seat.
Christopher
2 months ago
As an ebike consumer and enthusiast, its unfortunate Electra has a strangle hold on cruiser style ebikes being able to be built without a true upright, relaxed riding position crank forward design for proper leg extension allowing to plant our feet flat on the ground whenever we want without leaving the saddle.

Crank forward design should be an industry standard on all cruiser ebikes, but as you stated earlier, Trek was trying to bring its customers more comfort and control and were caught infringing on Electra's patent. Sad.
Thomas Jaszewski
2 months ago
View attachment 14058View attachment 14064View attachment 14055View attachment 14058
Drop a vertical line from the center of the seat post. The townie is more forward, but the Pedego is definitely more forward than a typical cruiser. Making it an attractive build to me. Sorry having a silly time with the photo editor. But the patent must have loopholes. Given the extreme forward position of the Pure, failed lawsuit, and the KHS Smoothie.

That said I think the Pure and the Townie were the best builds of all. Best gear and quality. The Pedego sure looks nice!
Thomas Jaszewski
2 months ago
Electra Files Patent Infringement Suit
Published January 25, 2011
VISTA, CA (BRAIN)—When Electra received a patent for its Flat Foot technology last summer, it put the industry on notice it would protect this patent. In December it filed a patent infringement suit against Trek over its Pure and Cruiser bikes.

“Our supply of bikes will not be impacted and our dealers can continue to sell bikes with confidence,” said Bob Burns, Trek’s general counsel. Burns would not comment further.

While Electra filed the suit in Northern California district court, it has not served Trek with the suit. Discussions between the two companies are ongoing as they try to resolve the dispute out of court.

Electra claims Trek’s Pure, Pure Lowstep, Pure Sport, Pure Sport Lowstep, Pure DLX, Pure DLX Lowstep, Cruiser Classic, Classic Deluxe, Calypso and Cruiseliner bikes infringe on co-founder Benno Baenziger’s Flat Foot technology, patent #7,740,262. It is seeking compensation for damage to its business caused by Trek’s infringing models.

The Flat Foot patent covers a range of geometry, seat tube and head tube angles intended to create a forward pedaling ride position. Electra introduced the design in its Townie line of bikes in 2003 and later added it to its Cruiser and Amsterdam lines.

—Matt Wiebe
Steven F. Schluter
2 months ago
sanglee007
The Sunlite XL Cruiser's do feel a bit heavy, but they feel solid.

The neighborhood streets I use for my commute are generally clean, but I do ride through 2 days of trash pickup, so they can get a bit messy on those days. The Sunlites give me a little more confidence on those days riding through dirty streets. I bought and installed the full fenders from radpowerbikes, but I haven't had time to go riding with them.


Sang
I really need to post some pics
Thanks for the quick reply.
sanglee007
2 months ago
Steven F. Schluter
How do you like the Sunlite-XL tires Sang? Do they feel heavy?

Thanks for your reply.

Steve
The Sunlite XL Cruiser's do feel a bit heavy, but they feel solid.

The neighborhood streets I use for my commute are generally clean, but I do ride through 2 days of trash pickup, so they can get a bit messy on those days. The Sunlites give me a little more confidence on those days riding through dirty streets. I bought and installed the full fenders from radpowerbikes, but I haven't had time to go riding with them.


Sang
I really need to post some pics
Steven F. Schluter
2 months ago
sanglee007
Chuck,

I'm using Sunlite XL Cruiser 20 x 4 1/4 tires on my RadMini.
I and a few people have the Maxxis Hookworms 26 x 2.5" mounted on the RadRover, so maybe the 3" shinkos might fit the fat tire rims.


Sang
How do you like the Sunlite-XL tires Sang? Do they feel heavy?

Thanks for your reply.

Steve
Over50
2 months ago
Edvic
Agree. Just ordered a Cruiser Mixte because of the load it can carry.
Nice looking bike. Which dealer did you order from?
Asunder
2 months ago
Mark Peralta
I myself was also intrigued by the positive feedback and high price of B67 ( https://www.amazon.com/Cloud-9-Cruiser-Select-Airflow-Saddle/dp/B00PY92BTU ) combination.

My initial observation is that the leather Brooks saddle conforms to the shape of your butt giving a more even pressure on a wider area of your behind leading to less tendency to pressure related butt pain.
That is why I am choosing the leather saddle instead of a plastic or composite. And I will let you know how it feels after a few months of break in.
Mark Peralta
2 months ago
Asunder
After further review, I think I am going to go with the B67 instead of the B17. I ride fairly upright.
I myself was also intrigued by the positive feedback and high price of B67 ( https://www.amazon.com/Cloud-9-Cruiser-Select-Airflow-Saddle/dp/B00PY92BTU ) combination.

My initial observation is that the leather Brooks saddle conforms to the shape of your butt giving a more even pressure on a wider area of your behind leading to less tendency to pressure related butt pain.
Christopher
2 months ago
Joe Pipes
It may be more difficult to choose my second bike than selecting my first bike. When starting out, you dont know the questions to ask. Once you get into it, er- addicted, you get kind of picky.

I am currently riding a Pedego City Commuter. 45v 15a battery the range is awesome. and comfort is sweet.

Here is my spec list, if anything jumps to your attention of a brand / model to look into. Let me know.
Front Suspension, If my pedego had front suspension forks, I prop would not change.
Pedal Assist, not throttle only / pedal mode
I prefer longer range over top speed. I can ride three four five hours and enjoy it. up to 50 miles +
relaxed / easy / upright position. I enjoy the cruising, not racing or in a hurry.
Rear fender rack, either standard or add on I like to pack a lot, too much
Front rack. Yes I told you I pack way too much s*it. But hey I am never hungry or thirsty.
digital display, battery life - miles - speed

If a particular model / brand comes to mind, please share.
thanks
Joe
JoeT, you asked and Pedego listened!

Based on your needs listed above, I highly recommend the Pedego Interceptor Platinum Edition:

1.) New front suspension feature added (RST Zeus).

2.) New and improved Panasonic 48V 15a battery for longer range over top speed. Pedego is transitioning from Samsung to Panasonic battery cells (Tesla electric vehicles use the top of the line Panasonic battery cells).

3.) New and improved swept back handle bars for a more relaxed / easy / upright position.

4.) The Pedego Interceptor Platinum Edition is hands-down the ultimate cruiser-style e-bike on the market today.

5.) Rear fender rack with optional clamp.

6.) Solid frame built pannier blockers. Instead of a front rack, I recommend a pannier for increased storage since you like to pack a lot. Or you could always add a basket to the front if you need more storage than a pannier can handle.

7.) Last but not least, priced at the low end of your 3-5k budget, listed for $3,795.


Cheers,

Christopher


BH eBiker
3 months ago
sanglee007
I'm using 20x4.4" sunlite tires & have 20x4 mongoose tubes on my RadMini, which I use to commute on the streets with a little fireroad in a county park.


Sunlite XL Cruiser Tires, 20 x 4-1/4", Black/Black

Mongoose MG78457-6 Fat Tire Tube, 20 x 4"


Sang
Sang - Do you have pictures of your bike?
sanglee007
3 months ago
walawn
@Subwaync

4" wide tire:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B012EIXCWI/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o05_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

4" wide tube:

https://www.amazon.com/Mongoose-MG7...76934623&sr=1-1&keywords=26+x+4+fat+tire+tube

4" wide tire liner:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00U0FRT7M/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I'm using 20x4.4" sunlite tires & have 20x4 mongoose tubes on my RadMini, which I use to commute on the streets with a little fireroad in a county park.


Sunlite XL Cruiser Tires, 20 x 4-1/4", Black/Black

Mongoose MG78457-6 Fat Tire Tube, 20 x 4"


Sang
JohnT
3 months ago
Kevinst123
The original trail tracker cruiser style is what caught my attention about e bike styles awhile ago. But they discontinued that model.
Do you not like the current gen Trail Trackers? If not, maybe you can find a used one. We have an old one in our Pedego store that we use for rentals. Maybe one of the Canada stores has one, too.

Kerfuffle
I was on the Biktrix site and used the chat function and Roshan (the founder) jumped on and answered a bunch of my questions. Seems really solid
Yes, Roshan was who I was talking about. Is it 3rd or 4th gen already? Seems like just yesterday the 1st gen came out!
BH eBiker
3 months ago
Hi, ordered my RadMini and fenders on Monday. Going to make it a commuter.

Did a little street tire searching:

20x4 Vee Tire co., offroad but the tread looks ok for street use. Tubeless, will that work on the RadMini wheel?: https://www.modernbike.com/vee-tire...olding-bead-mpc-compound-tubeless-ready-black

20x4.25 cruiser tire might work, super cheap, quality might not be so good: https://www.amazon.com/Sunlite-XL-Cruiser-Tires-Black/dp/B0063R2X86

Fat tire 101: https://fat-bike.com/2013/03/fat-bike-101-tires/

Chopper bike 20x4.25 (out of stock): http://www.niagaracycle.com/categories/chopper-tire-20-x-4-1-4-black

I would also like to add an SKS chain guard/chainboard/chainblade. Anyone know if these will work and what size to buy?

https://www.sks-germany.com/en/productcategories/chainguards/
Kevinst123
3 months ago
The original trail tracker cruiser style is what caught my attention about e bike styles awhile ago. But they discontinued that model. So now Il try and find a comfortable fat tire e-bike and modify to a semi cruiser style. A lot of that style in the states but not many Canadian made.
barry donaldson
3 months ago
Thanks Thomas.
I have been looking at sine wave controller units, to wire up front and rear lights, on and off key switch, throttle control.
Is it possible to run two battery's through one of these controller to the motor.
I had considered a flick switch between the two. But I want both battery's to work in tandem.
I had looked at both the Lekkie and Luna as you suggested. But I have been told that there is no need to change the chain ring, supplied by Bafang. The bike will just be a city cruiser.
So do you think it would benefit from a new chain ring or do you believe the one supplied would be ok.
Once again thank you
Barry
Mark Peralta
3 months ago
Bodyfloat is tunable to your exact weight and can also be tuned for soft, medium, or firm setting. It is worth the money especially if you had back surgery. I have body floats on my 2 ebikes. I also have a thud buster but the bodyfloat is a class above the other suspension seat post. I am also using an upright bicycle seat with springs as added cushion. http://www.derri-air.com/11-exercise-bike-seat.htm
Here's a less expensive source, http://bicyclehabitat.com/product/cloud-9-cruiser-gel-ar-seat-67884-1.htm
mrgold35
3 months ago
I've had a few "that's cheating" or "you can't get any exercise on an ebike" from folks. Most folks seems to don't recognize my Radrover is an ebike and just focus on the 4" fat tires. I haven't seen another ebike (only about 2-3 fat tire bikes) the on paved, off road trails, or on my bike commute to work in Albuquerque in the last few years. The 4" fat tires are a very good conversation starter and I'm usually asked about the tires or get a positive comment about my bike at least once a day. New Mexico bike riders are split between comfort cruiser, lightweight road bikes, or full/half suspension 26"/29" mountain bikes.

I did use my old GT Transeo 3.0 bike for the 13 miles round trip commute to my job and it took me 60-75 minutes because of hills, wind, and traffic sometimes. The same commute on my ebike takes me 40-45 minutes round trip because the bike evens out hills and lessens the effect of wind. I actually feel safer on my ebike at 20-22 mph on the road compared to 10-12 mph with my old bike. I think I put maybe 1 mile on my old bike and +500 miles on the Radrover in the last 3 months since getting the ebike.
barry donaldson
4 months ago
Harry Thanks for additional information. what do you suggest for chain ring if I am to change it out.
Yes that was always the intention with the battery's to have them side by side with a tank cover. I am trying to build a city cruiser type bike with very long ride range and 15.5 top speed. Little peddling as possible.
can battery's be charged on the bike or do they have to come off.

once again thank you
LI-ghtcycle
4 months ago
Court
That would be fun! Where's your shop at? I'm preparing a massive road trip for 2017 but planning to start in the Southern parts of the US where it will be warmer in the winter months

I am currently working to build my first hand built Stretch Cruiser much like the one you see in my signature, I believe that E-Bikes are something more than just electrically assisted bicycles, along the lines of California's creating different classes of E-Bikes for different needs, but a new more accessible form of transportation, particularly for those unable to travel as well on pedaling alone.

In my case, I much prefer an E-Bike that will help haul my mobile repair trailer (about 150 lbs) up a 10% grade and allow my reaching customers up to 5 miles away. Here in Oregon City, a steep 2 mile long hill separates the city, and we have the US's only outdoor municipal elevator to help connect down-town to up-town.

I have been building E-Bike from kits for some time after my father had a nasty bicycle accident in 2007, and upon his recovery, was unable to get back on a bicycle with out the electric assist, my own health issues have been tremendously improved with an E-Bike, you might say I am a bit of a E-Bike Evangelist.
LI-ghtcycle
4 months ago
Check out this company:

http://www.trucktrike.com/

Really hard to beat for the ultimate in a utility trike with E-Assist.

For the every-day E-Bike, also check out a vendor selling the Bafang BBS02 or BBSHD as they will convert 99% of bicycles out there to a very versatile E-bike.

I really like Luna Cycles version, they have a good product at a great price including all the rest you need in the kit including battery.

Avoid converting the typical "adult tricycle" as in something similar to a Schwinn Meridian, as they are VERY unstable while turning, even at pedaling speeds.

Tricycles such as those made with smaller wheels to keep the center of gravity low like a good Worksman Cycle would make a good trike to convert however, as they have 24" or even 20" tires while keeping the riding position very standard.

I prefer a more recumbent style of seating, but that will definitely increase costs, and I would also avoid the typical "tadpole" style recumbent that is very low to the ground for lack of visibility in traffic.

I ride something of a "semi-recumbent" stretched cruiser, and if I need to haul cargo, I bring a trailer.


Ravi Kempaiah
4 months ago
ROCebike
Hi guys. So now I'm looking for my first ebike. Having read and binge watched multiple reviews, I could use some community guidance. Unlike Court, I'm 6'2" and 230 lbs. So it's hard to get a feel for the specs listed and what to avoid. Here's what I'd like:
- 70% Street, 30% Hardpack former trolley trails
- No commuting. But want to ride for fun, health, and maybe lose 30 lbs.
- Need less aggressive to upright position due to neck issue. Not cruiser style.
- 2 - 4 hour rides perhaps 4 days per week ( semi retired). Maybe 30 mile average rides.
- Prefer speed pedelecs, but need some good torque.
- Kicker is I live on a hill (sound familiar?), 14 % rise for about half mile.

So what motor and battery should I spec? Torque sensor or cadence?
Willing to upgrade components for comfort e.g. Thudbuster, etc
Quality parts and build, I hate buyers remorse.

Seems a Stromer ST2 fits the bill, but my budget is up to $4000. Cross Current looks interesting, but power and torque seems too low.

Appreciate any thoughts or recommendations.
You're in for luck. There is one bike that matches all those requirements.
Two weeks ago, I would have hesitated to recommend it but now I am very comfortable recommending Outlaw E45 from BULLS.
By far, the most torque out of a geared hub motor.

You can see Court's video here.

If you want to see more high-res pics of every component, you can see here.

@grench is perhaps the first in the US to have an upgraded controller and this new controller makes the bike a completely different beast.
He is over 300 lbs and this thing has quite impressive hauling power.
I have ridden the torquey geared hub motors, the 2017 line up from Easy Motion is up there with MAC motors. The SR Suntour motor on the Outlaw is little noisy but it is extremely torquey as well. The fork on that alone retails for $700. It doesn't come with fenders or racks but looks like you're not looking to commute.

You can get it for under $4K and it comes 48V, 14Ah. A massive 670Whrs and for a 230 lb rider, you're looking at 45 miles range easily.
Steve Petttyjohn
12 months ago

I have the Burly model from EBO which is similar but has the "dolphin" battery pack mounted on the down tube. I have it on my lugged frame '85 Trek All Mountain (before they started calling them Mtb). I absolutely love this kit and how it gave new life to an old friend. The quality of the EBO kits are great and Jason was readily available to answer any questions. On fairly flat ground I've done 45 miles on 1 or 2 assist levels and still had a bar left of juice. Couldn't be more satisfied.

WorldRecordvideos
1 year ago

It wil be intereting how this bikes stacks up against the new Electra Townie GO. Both have 8 speeds and are cruiser bikes. Cost per mile over 3 years comparison.

FUNNY MEDIA
1 year ago

can you do a bike collection?

George Vandalay
1 year ago

Hey whats the best ebike for someone who wants a lifetime warranty? Thanks.

Robert Tabor
1 year ago

If you are doing a review on a motor or a bike it would be nice to know what it can handle. So testing it on a flat and maybe posting the weight of the bike and then telling us a top speed would be good information.

Jay Gurung
1 year ago

Hey Mr. Court when is new BH EasyMotion EasyGo Race review coming? Please review that bike as soon as possible. Seems like a really good bike for city(NYC) commute. Thanks in advance.

Flo Mo
1 year ago

I'm Elya from Fort William in Scotland. 23 years old. I currently live in Germany. I like your videos. What is your first name? And I have one more question: Can I distribute your videos in my channel? Only if you allow it. I would support you. :) I would make a channel only for your videos with german descriptions.

vothry
1 year ago

Your show inspired me to go big, trading in my car and commuting 33 miles daily with the Trek XM700+. Thanks again man. Check me out on Instagram @thecyclingtherapist

Flo Mo
1 year ago

I like it. It's puristic and cheep. It works pretty well. Nice look. Greetings from Germany.