Pedego Ridge Rider Review

Pedego Ridge Rider Electric Bike Review
Pedego Ridge Rider
Pedego Ridge Rider 500 Watt Dapu Geared Hub Motor
Pedego Ridge Rider Custom Removable Samsung Battery Pack
Pedego Ridge Rider Lcd Display Twist Throttle Trigger Shifters
Pedego Ridge Rider 10 Ring Shimano Cassette Slx Derailleur
Pedego Ridge Rider 15 Mm Quick Release Thru Axle
Pedego Ridge Rider Double Chain Ring Bottom Bracket Wires
Pedego Ridge Rider Sr Suntour Xcr Suspension Fork
Pedego Ridge Rider Torque Cadence Sensor Bb From Dapu
Pedego Ridge Rider Backlit Monochrome Lcd Locking Grips 1
Pedego Ridge Rider Electric Bike Review
Pedego Ridge Rider
Pedego Ridge Rider 500 Watt Dapu Geared Hub Motor
Pedego Ridge Rider Custom Removable Samsung Battery Pack
Pedego Ridge Rider Lcd Display Twist Throttle Trigger Shifters
Pedego Ridge Rider 10 Ring Shimano Cassette Slx Derailleur
Pedego Ridge Rider 15 Mm Quick Release Thru Axle
Pedego Ridge Rider Double Chain Ring Bottom Bracket Wires
Pedego Ridge Rider Sr Suntour Xcr Suspension Fork
Pedego Ridge Rider Torque Cadence Sensor Bb From Dapu
Pedego Ridge Rider Backlit Monochrome Lcd Locking Grips 1

Summary

  • A delightfully capable and refined 27.5" hardtail electric mountain bike with powerful 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery pack
  • Nice upgrades on the adjustable air fork with lockout, 15 mm thru-axle, locking grips, hydraulic disc brakes and composite pads
  • Solid year long warranty with excellent dealer support and availability, only available in one size and color, no quick release on rear wheel
  • Offers four levels of responsive torque sensing pedal assist which compliment the 20 speed drivetrain nicely, you also get one level of cadence sensing assist for relaxed pedaling, a throttle override in any assist level and a throttle-only drive mode

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Pedego

Model:

Ridge Rider

Price:

$3,395

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Mountain, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive + 2 Year Pro Rated Replacement on Battery

Availability:

United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, Europe

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

56 lbs (25.4 kg)

Battery Weight:

8.1 lbs (3.67 kg)

Motor Weight:

6 lbs (2.72 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

18.5 in (46.99 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

18.5" Seat Tube, 23.5" Reach, 31" Stand Over Height, 73" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCR-Air LO-R 15QLC32 Suspension with 100 mm Travel, Rebound Adjustment and Lockout, 15 mm Thru Axle

Frame Rear Details:

142 mm Dropout Width

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

20 Speed 2x10, Shimano SLX Derailleur, 12-32 Deore HG62 Cassette

Shifter Details:

Trigger Shifters on Left and Right

Cranks:

203 mm, 3 Piece Aluminum Alloy

Pedals:

Wellgo, Aluminum Alloy Platform, Black

Headset:

VP Sealed Bearing

Stem:

70 mm Length

Handlebar:

22 mm Rise, 720 mm Width, Low-Rise Aluminum Alloy

Brake Details:

Magura MTe Hydraulic Disc with Magura Storm 180 mm Rotors, Integrated Motor Inhibitor and Ball-End Levers

Grips:

Flat Rubber with Lockers

Saddle:

MTB Brand, Black

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Black

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Alex MD19, 32 Hole Front, 36 Hole Rear

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge Front, 12 Gauge Rear

Tire Brand:

Kenda, 27.5″ x 2.10″

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tube Details:

Shrader Valve, Pre-Slimed

Accessories:

Sturdy Oversized Kickstand, Neoprene Slap Guard on Right Chain Stay

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Shimano HG 62-10 Cassette, Dapu Torque and Cadence Sensing Bottom Bracket with 11.75" (29.845 cm) Drop, Quick Release Seat Post and Front Axle, Shimano SLX M678 Front Hub Centerlock Disc, KMC Chain with 116 Links, Air Fork Settings: 115 – 135 lbs (60 – 80 PSI), 135 – 155 lbs (80 – 100 PSI), 155 – 175 lbs (100 – 120 PSI), 175 – 195 lbs (120 – 140 PSI), 195 – 215 lbs (140 – 160 PSI), 215+ lbs (160 – 180 PSI), 180 PSI Maximum

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Dapu

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

864 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

6 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD with USB Charging Port

Readouts:

Speed, Torque Sensing Assist (1-4), Cadence Sensing Assist (5), Throttle Mode (6), Battery Charge Percentage, Battery Charge Cycles, Battery Voltage, Time, Odometer, Trip Meter

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle, Advanced Pedal Assist (Dapu Torque Sensing and Cadence Sensing Bottom Bracket)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Since late 2014 I’ve seen Pedego secretly working on an electric mountain bike and this first generation Ridge Rider is the culmination of that effort. To be honest, it’s far more capable and technical than I was expecting… my preconception of the brand has been built around their wide selection of comfort-oriented cruisers with fun colors aimed at more casual riders. Pedego basically invented the beach cruiser electric bike in the USA and they’ve done very well as a leader in that category, furthering their reputation with excellent dealer and warranty support. So I went into this review with an open mind, perhaps expecting the Ridge Rider to be a less technical, heavier and less refined version of other e-mountain bikes I’ve tested like the EVO 27.5″ from Easy Motion.

To be fair, the EVO 27.5″ is indeed lighter than the Ridge Rider but that’s partially because it has a much smaller and weaker battery pack. Both bikes are hardtails with bosses for adding a rear rack (perfect for weekend warriors that commute via ebike during the week) but only the Ridge Rider has bottle cage bosses, both have decent suspension forks and both offer a nice drivetrain with 30 speeds on the EVO vs. just 20 on the Ridge Rider… though it offers an SLX component group which is more premium than Deore. My goal isn’t to overemphasize Easy Motion vs. Pedego or the Ridge Rider vs. the Evo 27.5 here, especially because the EVO 27.5″ is a 2015 model, I’m just genuinely impressed that the first generation electric mountain bike from Pedego can hold its own compared with a longstanding leader, a second generation ebike from a European company… Actually, it’s more like a third or fourth gen if you count the bikes sold overseas by BH and these two models just have a lot in common. Both only come in one size ~18″ Evo and ~18.5″ Ridge Rider, both use Dapu motors, both have throttles and pedal assist, both have custom downtube integrated battery packs and both cost a similar amount of money.

So the Pedego Ridge Rider gives you a 500 watt internally geared hub motor from Dapu running at 18 Amps and the battery offers 48 volts with 11.6 amp hours for a 556.8 watt hour capacity. That’s a lot of power and it’s extremely satisfying to zip around with in throttle mode. I’ve long been a fan of twist throttles in addition to pedal assist because it’s fun and just plain handy when passing other riders or topping hills. I prefer to spend most of my time riding in assist level 2 using the torque sensor to get a workout and extend my range but the throttle can instantly override this lower power output all without looking down or changing hand position. It’s wonderful, though it could lead to accidental power surge on bumpy terrain if you bear down on the grip for balance and accidentally engage. One other consideration here is that the torque sensing assist is active at standstill… so there were a couple of times where I had braked into a stop, put one foot down and rested the other on my pedal with some force being applied. I loosened my grip on the brakes and the motor started to activate. This has also happened with Easy motion and other ebikes I’ve tried that use torque sensors so I’m mostly sharing to create awareness. This is a more advanced design and with responsiveness comes a higher level of operation and awareness.

Some of the other upgrades and technical features I loved about the Ridge Rider are the Magura hydraulic disc brakes with large 180 mm rotors and composite pads! They didn’t squeak during my test rides and they are supposed to work better in extreme temperatures and damp conditions as well. I loved the quick release 15 mm thru axle on the front wheel because it makes alignment of the disc brake rotor easier and adds stiffness for off-road riding (though I wish the rear wheel also had a quick release feature and I can’t wait for the updated motor design with tighter cable integration). The XCR suspension fork from Suntour is wonderful, surprisingly satisfying and capable. You can adjust the air pressure to accommodate your weight (guide listed above in the specs under Other) and there are several portable pumps for this sold online so you can make changes based on the load you’re carrying. I also just really like the display Pedego uses on all of their new bikes because it has great readouts, swivels to reduce glare and has an integrated USB charging port for portable electronics. It would be perfect if it was also removable, but it’s still pretty great :)

All things considered, I loved the RidgeRider and could see this performing well on trails, light mountain coditions or around town as a more aggressive commuter bike. The 27.5″ wheel size is a great compromise between speed and stability offered on something like a 29er and nimble speed offered on a 26″. The larger 2.1″ diameter of the tires adds some cusion and when combined with the 100 mm of travel on the fork it makes for a very enjoyable ride, even at speed and over longer distances. This is the kind of electric bike I have had the most fun commuting to work with because it can take on any sort of terrain you encounter around town and while you don’t get lights or a rack stock, those can be added pretty affordably… Just make sure you get a disc brake compatible rack like this and consider rechargeable lights like these from Cygolite. The rear rack will work as a fender to keep you clean but something like this could help keep mud out of your eyes on the front and this will protect the battery a bit more. Mucky Nutz also offers a short rear fender that should work if you don’t use a rack.

Pros:

  • I like that this hardtail could easily be used for commuting thanks to the rear rack bosses, be sure to get a disc brake compatible rack
  • There are two threaded eyelets on the seat tube so you can add a bottle cage, mount a portable pump or carry along a folding lock
  • Great power from the Dapu motor, I appreciate the larger 500 watt design and powerful 48 volt battery, the controller sends 18 amps through the system
  • The on/off switch for the battery is easy to reach and deters tampering with the display if you turn it off when parked, I like that the display is backlit
  • The integrated USB charging port at the base of the display is right where you’d want it to be, easy to access but out of the way (great for powering a GPS, lights or portable music player while riding), I also like that you can see how many charge cycles have been used, battery percentage and voltage along with the more traditional readouts like speed and assist level
  • I love that you get responsive torque sensing assist with this ebike because it’s actually useful for technical riding but they also pack in a cadence sensing mode for when you don’t want to strain your legs or knees and the throttle can override everything as well as a throttle-only mode
  • Sturdy 15 mm thru axle on the front wheel adds strength for rougher conditions and ensures alignment for the disc brake when the wheel is taken off and then re-attached
  • I like the 27.5″ wheel size for a balance of handling vs. speed and stability but the tubes and tires can be more expensive so it’s nice that Pedego pre-Slimed them to add durability
  • The suspension fork is very comfortable with 100 mm of travel, it’s adjustable according to your weight (recommended settings listed above in the “Other” section and the rebound and lockout setting reduces bob for on-road efficiency
  • Overall, good balance with the battery low and center on the frame, it blends in, locks and can be charged on or off the frame
  • I appreciate the custom programming that the Pedego design/engineering team did for the display and pedal assist modes, it’s responsive and feature complete in my opinion
  • The hydraulic disc brakes are powerful but smooth and the levers are ebike specific with ball-end features to improve safety, the ceramic pads are quiet and work better in a wide range of conditions, replace with something like this as they wear out vs. standard pads
  • Even though this is a more technically capable electric bike, I appreciate the inclusion of a high quality kickstand for easier storage and parking if used as a commuter or urban ride

Cons:

  • Quick release is great on the front wheel but there isn’t an easy way to get the back wheel off, you’ll need extra tools and this can be a bummer on the trail or mountain
  • Due to the more powerful motor, larger battery and aluminum frame this isn’t the lightest electric mountain bike weighing in at ~56 lbs
  • At the time of this review the Ridge Rider was only available in one frame size ~18.5″ medium and one color matte black, I’d love to see a larger frame for taller riders
  • The suspension fork had lockout but didn’t offer much in the way of stiffness, travel or rebound adjust that you might find on a Fox CTD
  • The power cable for the hub motor is currently run through the axle and may be easier to snag or bump if the bike is tipped, in the future I believe Pedego is switching to a more integrated cable design tucked behind the disc brake rotor
  • The display panel is fixed which means you cannot easily take it off the bike for storage, leaving it with increased exposure to sunlight or harsh weather elements or potential vandalism; however, it does swivel up and down to help reduce glare

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Pedego Reviews

Pedego 24″ Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the only 24" sized fat e-bikes I have ever seen, it's easier to approach, stand over, and handle for short to mid-sized riders, Pedego also offers a 20" fat model for kids. Large comfortable tires that work well on sand or snow when deflated to 5-8 PSI,…...

Pedego Platinum Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $3,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A premium cruiser style electric bike with upgraded suspension fork, suspension seat post, integrated LED lights, a sturdy rack and hydraulic disc brakes. Powerful 500 to 1,000+ watt hub motor from Dapu with high-torque rating and durable protected…...

Pedego Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A custom designed electric trike with large plastic cargo bin at the back, three-speed internally geared hub can be shifted at standstill and is more durable than a traditional derailleur. Two mechanical disc brakes provide good stopping power, max speed limited to 7 mph in…...

Pedego 20″ Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sturdily built, lower speed electric bike with seven gears and throttle-only operation designed primarily for kids and youth but also a good fit for short riders. Max weight of 350 lbs, bosses in the rear for adding a rack and hauling…...

Pedego Latch Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sturdy folding electric bike with a full-sized feel, the extra long seat post and telescoping stem fit a wider range of body types than most folders I've tested. Premium drivetrain features and accessories including a Gates belt drive, Shimano Nexus internally geared hub,…...

Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $3,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fined fat tire electricbike with balanced down tube battery and purpose-built "extrawide" hub motor for improved drive train operation and torque. Nice LCD display panel with integrated buttons and swivel, includes a USB port for charging…...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A smaller version of the Interceptor that's easier to mount, it offers great power thanks to its smaller wheels paired with a 500 watt geared hub motor and 48 volt battery. Offers twist throttle and five levels of assist for increased range, throttle override puts you…...

Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stripped down comfort cruiser with easy-mount step-thru frame, throttle on demand only, optional fenders, multiple color choices and multiple battery size options from 36v 10ah up to 48v 15ah. Locking removable battery pack is protected in the color-matched rear rack, mechanical disc brakes are…...

Pedego Classic Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy, powerful cruiser style electric bike with large 500 watt geared motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery. Balloon tires, comfort saddle, suspension seat post and oversized handlebars create a relaxed upright ride...

2015 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A fat style ebike with zippy 500 watt geared motor and powerful 48 battery (available in 10ah or 15ah for extended range). Four fun color options, integrated headlight, pedal assist and throttle mode, quality mechanical disc brakes...

Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy and powerful electric bike that's a bit more active than the cruisers (more forward body position, narrower handlebars) and is available in several frame sizes for improved fit. Lots of great extras including full length aluminum fenders, chain guard, puncture resistant tires with…...

Pedego Stretch Review

  • MSRP: $3,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stylish and comfortable cruiser style electric cargo bike with removable tubing supports that extend the carrying platform or double as a back rest and running boards to accommodate a second rider. Offers two battery options for extended range and two drive modes including pedal assist (1-5)…...

Pedego Boomerang Review

  • MSRP: $2,495.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the easiest electric bikes to mount with extra low step-thru design, frame stiffness reduced as a result. Powerful 500 watt geared motor is quiet to operate and blends in well with cassette…...

Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Iconic cruiser style frame is sturdy, provides a relaxed seating position and comes in multiple colors. Powerful 500 watt direct drive (gearless) rear hub motor is durable, fast and relatively quiet...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A smaller step-through electric bike with 24" wheels for riders who are petite. Very powerful for its size, uses a 500 watt direct drive hub motor with three…...

Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the only purpose-built electric bikes that is setup to be a tandem for two adult riders. Sturdy frame, fun classic design, reliable drive system with six speeds, great support and warranty...

2014 Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy cruiser style electric bike with simple twist throttle operation and upgradable battery pack. Large tires, swept back handlebars, plush seat and padded grips dampen vibration to smooth out…...

Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Great power for acceleration, climbing or moving heavier riders with a 500 watt geared rear hub motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery combination. Offers twist throttle and five levels of pedal assist for increased range, removable battery for…...

2013 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,975
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Off-road design with 4" wide tires, increased contact patch enables the bike to ride on sand, snow and other rugged terrain, larger tires also provide cushion for improved riding comfort. Ultra powerful 600 watt geared motor and 48 volt battery pack for improved torque and…...

2014 Pedego Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Stable three wheel design with battery, motor and controller mounted low under the cargo bin. No pedal assist option with this bike but the twist throttle is intuitive to use…...

2013 Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Powerful combination of 500w motor and 48v Lithium battery. Durable and proven frame is borrowed from the Pedego Comfort Cruiser...

2013 Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,675
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

One of the only tandem style electric bikes available anywhere, large 500 watt motor offers good power. Built on the time tested, super simple, Pedego Cruiser cantilever style aluminum alloy frame...

2013 Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Classic upright commuter frame is quiet, sturdy and functional with welded rear rack. Integrated seat post shock, lights, bell, and computer with clean wire management...

2013 Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Solid, durable and extremely quiet to ride due to gearless rear hub motor. Casual design looks like a laid back cruiser and comes in many fun color choices...


Cameron Newland
2 years ago

I couldn’t agree more with the findings of your review. When I tested this at Interbike, I was actually riding it inside of a carpeted convention meeting room with little room to run, but still, in that small area, I discovered that this bike is VERY fast and torquey (500W is certainly seems to be a modest power rating for this thing!), and quite well-built. Great brakes. I’d love to own one of these bikes.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Yeah, I think it’s 500 nominal with maybe 850+ peak? The 18 Amp flow of power and 48 volt pack really empower the motor to perform. By the way, I enjoyed your website Overvolted :)

Reply
Dan
2 years ago

Super review Court. I’m kind of in the market due to my Trek DS8.4+Falco getting plowed by a car.

I like the sturdy frame, air shock, Hyd brakes, 15mm axel, brazons, and the 6 modes are well done to offer a mix of riding options.

500W w/ a geared hub is equal to a ddhub of 750W, you think? Less weight, better torque. A bit noisier, and no regen, but the torque and weight reduction /small profile is super.

dan

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Ouch! Sorry to hear about your Trek :/ are you alright?! the Ridge Rider really impressed me, they went beyond a basic trail capable ebike and added some great rugged features. The motor and battery power were solid and while most customers will probably still stay on easy terrain it’s nice to have a sturdy build under you and yeah, I agree that a geared hub with higher amps flowing offers more torque. I tend to lean towards lighter weight builds myself and this one isn’t super light but I think that’s due in part to the sturdy frame and more dense battery here.

Reply
Gus
2 years ago

I’ve got over 200 miles on this bike, a lot of it in the mountains here in Utah and it’s been great so far. One issue with using this as a mountain bike is coming down the mountain there’s a lot of weight so it’s real easy to get going fast and I’m glad it has good brakes. It rides very comfortably, I had a Pedego City Commuter before this which was good but I love being able to climb over any obstacles in the city and then take it off road when I want to. It is a fast bike, the top speed it can be set to is 25 mph but with a fully charged battery it’ll go above 26 mph on throttle only. The one thing I love the most about this bike is that I can ride it like a motorcycle since it has that throttle on demand. So much fun

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Gus! Great feedback, thanks for the warning about riding down trails with loose dirt (I’ve noticed that with e-mountain bikes as well… solid brakes are important). Your thoughts on twist throttle align with my own, it’s a fun feature and kind of neat that this model can go a bit above 20 ;)

Reply
jacob
1 year ago

trying to decide between the easy motion evo nitro city and the specialized turbo x and then rode this bike. now i’ve got 3 bikes that i can’t decide between. this bike was surprisingly awesome! so much torque and speed, and the throttle makes it extra fun. not considering cost, which would you lean toward as a commuter bike (on rough nyc roads)? thanks!!

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

I love how quiet the Turbo is but the hub is much larger… I’m thinking from a stealth perspective where everything blends in. Having front suspension is nice, integrated batteries etc. they could all work. The Ridge rider is great in that it does have a throttle and the hub motor is smaller in size. You’ll get a bit of whirring but not too much. If there’s a Pedego dealer nearby you’ll get excellent support :)

Reply
Douglas Wever
1 year ago

I did a 31 mile general ride Wednesday and then a 28 mile loop on this bike both as a rental in Nashville (Franklin). After the second rental, I bought their in stock new Ridge Rider, and they applied my rent to purchase.

It would appear perhaps at this time of ebike technology, that mountain bikes are able to take better advantage of the power assists provided by ebikes – this owes largely to the fact that the things that made mountain bikes harder to achieve on the road and that road bikes shined at, such as motion efficiency are gone as the mountain bikes inferior motion efficiency on roads has been overcome by 500 watts of power. and we can now benefit on the road from mountain bikes suspensions and toughness in ways unimaginable in our leg-power only days.

  1. The general ride is superior. I did not lock-out the front air suspension, I just had it set for 200 lbs. (I am 190), and between the wide tires, the 100 mm of travel at the front forks and my BodyFloat, just a great road set up to eat up ruts and bumps that my road bike can not approach.
  2. I went 28 miles Saturday on my two hour plus test ride mostly on full torque assist (4) and then full cadence assist (5) on some big grades. I had 26% battery left! Wow. Pedego’s upcoming release of a higher capacity battery for a Ridge Rider just makes it sweeter.
  3. You have the feeling of something that is very solid with great industrial design. I still love my road ebike. Just not as much.
Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

I am completely with you Douglas! The feel of mountain bikes has always appealed to me… just more comfortable and fun and capable than road but the speed has and extra work was always a factor. Now with assistive technology you get the best of both worlds. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the Pedego Trail Tracker! Enjoy the ride :D

Reply
Kris
1 year ago

I bought a Pedego Ridge Rider a few months ago from Practical Cycle in Sacramento, California (they shipped the bicycle to me in Spokane, WA). At this point, I have put almost 500 miles on the Ridge Rider and here are my findings:

Pros:

  • Once I put the bike together and did my first ride, I immediately got really happy because I knew I had made a great choice – sight unseen.
  • Very fast bike – goes to 25 MPH max from electric motor
  • Suspension and brakes work amazing!
  • Battery life is great. I can go 33 miles (I weighed around 230 lbs when I tested this – I have lost 10 lbs since then) before battery starts dying too bad. If you get to 40% battery life, you will notice it starting to get weaker – time to charge it up. This is a really long ride so not likely going to be an issue for anybody.
  • I am 5′-11″ tall and the bike fits me great
  • Bike looks great. Gets lots of compliments.
  • I can maintain 20 mph up 7% mile-long grades with the bike if I really push the motor and myself. I fly up hills.

Cons:

  • Problem 1: On my first ride, I noticed the chain would rub the front derailleur a bit. I did some adjustment which fixed it for the most part, however it will rubs in higher gears. It appears the chain rings were not (or were improperly) hardened, causing them to be soft enough to fold. Prepare to swap at least the large chain ring out with something better. I went with Shimano and it’s much better now.
  • Problem 2: The front large chain ring got a little bent up – I think due to the cadence sensor (the “crank” part that the pedal arms are bolted to) having some minor play which caused the chain to fall off. I had Practical Cycle send me a new cadence sensor (crank piece) and it wasn’t too bad to replace. This problem of a loose crank is now solved.
  • Problem 3: I weighed about 230 lbs and had to come to a very hard stop while on a road as a car ran through a stop sigh. The brakes worked VERY well, however my front wheel turned side ways and folded. Because this wasn’t necessarily (or provable) a bike defect, I built my front wheel with better (yet lighter) spokes and a better, lighter rim (using the existing hub as it was just fine).
  • Problem 4: The tires that came with the bike are pure crap. I blew one out within 15 miles of getting the bike. I replaced them with Continental X-King Protection tires (German version — NOT crappy asian version) and they have held up beyond expectation.

I know the above issues sound like a big deal (they really were more minor issues or else great dealer support solved the issues), however once they were resolved, the bike is like new again and I am glad I have it.

My rides:

  • About 50/50 road / trail biking
  • Lots of rocks and sand (stock tires failed, but Continental X-King Protection are champs)
  • Lots of up and down steep hills on all terrain
Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Awesome! I’ve been to Practical Cycles, glad they provided good support for you… Neat to hear about your rides and how fast and far the bike would go. You sound pretty handy rebuilding the wheel and fixing the chainrings. Rock on!

Reply
Douglas Wever
1 year ago

Just a couple of follow up comments from my first post above. I am 6’1″ 190 lbs and after my first hundred miles or so I was can’t-stop-smiling happy with the Ridge Rider, but not optimally dialed in as the bike was a bit small for me. Subsequently, the Pedego only dealer in Franklin, TN installed 4″ risers to bring the handlebars up and moved the BodyFloat fore/aft adjustment to it’s most rear setting bringing of course the seat with it. Now this bike fits just about perfect. No compromises. Pictures of these changes on my bike are in the forums here.

I met with the management of our area non-profit Land Trust which has a serious network of bike trails. I got permission to use the Ridge Rider before buying it; I am very glad for the integrated down-tube battery as the bike is obviously electric but not screaming it with an external mounted battery. I also have a large electric road ebike, only mod is another BodyFloat. Unexpectedly, the Ridge Rider is supplanting my road bike on the road. Here’s why:

  1. Range. I’m often using more assistance in the Summer to avoid needing an arrival shower after say a six or twelve mile ride to a restaurant in the heat. My road bike gets me about 19-22 miles – less than the advertised minimum 25, and no upgrade from the company available. My Ridge Rider gives me 38 – 45 miles of range (I do not use the 25 mph as I want to get out of the hospital the same day). Somehow the guy I ride with who outweighs me does better with his slightly older RidgeRider as he always has more battery left than me. Aside: The Pedego community keeps hearing a 17 ah battery is about to be released (current is 11.6 with a handful of 14’s out there).
  2. Ride. The Ridge Rider’s wide tires, 120mm travel air forks (set a bit stiff for the road) are perfect for absorbing the road along with a BodyFloat and gel seat (my springs are tuned orange over black).
  3. Power. The Ridge Rider really flattens hills if you’re not working out and just getting somewhere.
  4. Work outs. I like the Pedego’s four torque sensor modes for hard work outs over the cadence sensor modes on my road bike.
  5. Build. Nice industrial design and build quality. As a mountain bike of course you deal with curbs and such much differently than on your road bike.

To be fair, my Ridge rider retailed for more cost more than my road bike, and it may be that if I road a similarly priced road bike such as the Trek XM 700+ my tune might be altered.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Awesome update! I just checked out your forum post too, love the pictures :D hopefully Pedego will offer higher capacity batteries in the future, your setup looks great.

Reply
Vijay Judge
1 year ago

I credit my recent purchase to the reviews you’ve laid out Court – I thank you for that.

I just recently tested the Stromer ST1, E Motion EVO 500W. I was settled on the Stromer but what changed my mind was the Ridge Rider. Unbelievable torque and the common theme I’d like to share is I can’t stop smiling when I’m on it and I can’t wait to get on it to do my chores, groceries, etc.

This bike supports my large frame and it is exhilarating! My only con: is the 11.6 ah battery and I’m glad to hear there is an upgrade coming because I’m 6’0″ and tip the scales at 260lbs which apparently is 10lbs more than the bike max weight. I don’t see any negative effects other than the motor have to work harder to carry me and the battery draining faster maximizing my distance to 30 miles. On some reviews I hear that the max weight capacity the Ridge Rider is 300lbs. Can anyone verify that? Love this bike!!!

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Vijay! Glad you’re enjoying the bike… I think Pedego did an excellent job with the Ridge Rider. Since you were curious about weight I just called the PR rep at Pedego who helped get us an answer from the bikes designer, Paul Auclair who said “We advertise 250 lbs max weight, but we have had riders up to 350 on the bikes. Broken spokes is generally the biggest issue.”

Pretty sweet! I have heard about broken and loose spokes being an issue for riding with heavier loads before, not just on this bike. I love that Pedego offers the cast aluminum and magnesium mag wheels for some of their bikes. This can solve the spoke issue but I hear other people use Loctite Blue to keep them from coming loose. Haven’t tried it myself :)

Reply
Vijay Judge
1 year ago

Thanks for the max weight follow-up Court, its very reassuring. If the spokes become an issue I’ll give the Loctite Blue a go.

Vijay Judge
1 year ago

Court, I have tried emailing you but it seems this is the only way I can get you a message. Have any of your website followers have any difficulty using the “Show All Filters” feature? It does not appear to work any more?

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Thanks for the feedback Vijay! Sorry for the difficulty… I’ve been out of country then traveling to Interbike and beyond. Will look into the show all filters, seems to be working on my end right now, what exactly were you experiencing? Like the button didn’t work or searching didn’t work once you had shown the filters? What Internet browser are you using?

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

RCG
3 weeks ago

I'm 65 years young and wanted to extend my riding radius around my home. I have always enjoyed riding bikes, but I'm not in the kind of shape where I can ride 25 miles a day without a little help. this is where the electric bike comes in. After test driving a number of bikes and reading Court's reviews I chose the Pedigo Ridge Rider. I liked the quality, distance, speed, pedal assist choices and throttle that the bike offered. The bike shop gave me 3 years of support which sealed the deal. Reading the many stories of "issues" that you can run into (particularly when you order a bike over the internet) reminded me of some of the early days with computers I had gone through. Picking the right company with the right business philosophy is as important as the right bike. It seems that the jury is still out as to whom the ultimate leaders will be.

One of the things that I appreciated about Pedigo was their incremental quality improvements. Today's delivered bike is better than the bike that C0urt reviewed in 2016. It has a bigger battery, better tires, and improved wheels. Having worked in the manufacturing industry for over 30 years, CPI (Continuous Process Improvements) is the only way to refine these types of products. Nice job Pedego!

I am lucky enough to live in a beautiful spot in California and I hope that my new bike will allow me to see more of it. I will share a couple of my special spots...

1/2
JohnT
3 weeks ago

Lots of good advice here. Here’s my two cents.

Since you’re a commuter, I recommend focusing on quality and buying locally if you can. That way you’re less likely to have something go wrong, and if you do, you have someone nearby to help get you rolling again quickly. Plus, test riding before purchasing really helps in choosing the right bike.

I sweat easily, and no pedal assist only system is going to keep me dry. I would need a throttle. While I’m rolling, I’m fine, but when I stop, I feel the heat. What I do is pedal for most of the way, then as I get close to my destination, I stop pedaling, allowing my body to cool while still rolling.

Someone recommended the Pedego Ridge Rider. It’s a great bike, and we have a customer who commutes on one who is close to your loaded weight limit. Since you’re not carrying that weight on your body, I think the Pedego Stretch might be a better option for you. It’s a smallish cargo bike and has more ways to carry things. We have several customers who commute on them, and it’s my wife’s favorite bike to ride. It’s very stable, even while loaded, and can easily carry a passenger.

There’s a lot of info on different drive systems, so I won’t get into it too deeply here, but I prefer rear geared hubs, unless you’re often hauling 300 lbs up lots of steep hills. If you are, then mid-drive might be better. I don’t usually recommend direct drive hubs, unless running illegal power levels, especially for hauling weight up hills. I agree that rear hubs are better than front, but I have zero experience in snow.

Scooteretti
3 weeks ago

Hi Guys,

Personally working in a ebike shop I'm not a fan of the PCS 10 due to the round tubing used. Typically I have found that this stand caused the bike to move around. Keep in mind I am always moving the bikes up and down and flipping them when working on them so I am constanntly adjusting it.

Traditional lighter bikes are OK but I find that the heavier ebikes really need to have a portable stand that uses tapered tubes like the PRS-25 and I am sure there are other brands out there that have a similar design out there. These tubes will help keep the bikes a little more stable when on the stand. Especially useful when torquing something down. It makes life a lot easier and your bike will stay put. When we do events I always take the PRS-25 with me.

Always look for a stand with legs that extend out as far as possible (yeah this can get in the way on occasions), but it will keep the bike from tipping over if the stand is extended or is flipped upside down. Example when you take the rear wheel off the Pedego Ridge Rider.

Hope this helps,

Will
shop.scooteretti.com

Marceltt
3 weeks ago

hi guys , I’m looking to buy a bike stand to work on my bike. I have the Pedego Ridge Rider and would appreciate some feedback on stands for this bike. Thanks in advance

J.R.
4 weeks ago

Checkout Pedego Ridge Rider.

https://pedegoelectricbikes.com/shop/ridge-rider/

Might be more mountain than you need, but good front suspension, powerful 500 watt geared hub with throttle and more than enough battery. Pedego also has a lot of dealers, you should be able to test ride and service after sale will be there for you should you need it.

Court's review:

https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/ridge-rider/

Some Easy Motion bikes have throttle as well.

https://electricbikereview.com/?s=Easy+Motion

Marceltt
1 month ago

Hi guys , just wondering if anyone knows were you can buy the socket tools to work on a Pedego ridge rider Dapu motor ? Thanks

JohnT
2 months ago

I try not to be too self serving on this forum, but I had to share this great Wall Street Journal article! It’s about a friend and customer who rides a Pedego Ridge Rider electric mountain bike on our local trails. Enjoy!

http://pedego.ontraport.com/c/s/2jK/6uJ5/6/sp/sc9/6Rs0Pd/zZ5oG1O6vs/P

(Moderators: please let me know if this is at all inappropriate. Thanks!)

1/1
mrgold35
3 months ago

Wow sounds like you love the Rad. The Trail Tracker is an expensive buy but the Teo &a Rad are half the price. Do you find it easy to work on the Rad. I'm a hands on guy and love to do my own work. With the ridge rider I am limited as you need special tools that only Pedego makes to work on certain areas of this bike.

Pretty much everything about the Radrover has standard parts, nut, bolts, allen sizes as a regular bike. I upgraded to an adjustable 0-60 degree stem, added a Suntour NCX SP-12 400mm suspension seat, transfered my handlebar extender from my other bike for my cell phone holder, upgraded the pedals to MTB type, and added a topeak rack+bag to my Radrover.

Another added bonus with the Radrover is you can adjust the motor cut-off in a few minutes to a little under 25 mph if you need some extra mph. The Radrover is not a perfect bike. It only the front tire has a quick-release, the front suspension with lock-out is just a spring, and the rover has cable brakes. I've had zero issues during an emergency stop with the 60 lbs Rover at +20 mph with the cable brakes (I'm 270lbs+25lbs of gear/accessories).

Marceltt
3 months ago

I've had my two his/her 2016 Radrovers for almost a year with 3200 miles between them. The wife doesn't use her Rover as much and I end up using both for work commuting and trail riding equally (I keep the wear/tear/mileage the same for both). The Radrover does a good job of being a "jack of all trades and master of none" type of bike for $1500.

Sounds like you might want more of hardpacked to single track fat tire bike mostly? The fat tire choices you picked will go anywhere your Pedego Ridge Rider can go offroad with the addition of loose sand being added to the mix with the extra wide tires. The Radrover only has 5 levels of PAS (PAS 0-5) that are designed to provide X amount of watts per PAS level until the 20 mph motor cutoff:
PAS 0: 0 watts,
PAS 1: 75 watts,
PAS 2: 175 watts,
PAS 3: 375 watts,
PAS 4: 550 watts,
PAS 5: 750 watts.

PAS 2-3 works best for me when trail riding. I've never had a need to use PAS 5 trail riding or work commuting because PAS 3-4 can get me at or near max speed of 20-21 mph usually.

I like the Radrover twist throttle because it provide full 750 watts of power in any PAS level (even in PAS 0). Full power throttle comes in handy for short inclines, deep sandy spots, walking the bike up inclines, getting across intersection in a hurry, tight trails when pedaling would hit obstacles, etc...

I went with the Radrover because it is a fat tire bike with ebike components added. I can remove, repair, transfer, or replace ebike hardware if they fail after the warranty period to mod the Rover with more power or just turn it into a regular 4" fat tire bike. At the price point of the Rover, it left me a lot of room for accessories, platform bike rack, lights and gear to travel and trail ride in/out of state day or night. The wife and I had a lot of fun and put over +100 miles on each Radrover in a couple of days at the Grand Canyon and Sedona last November.
Wow sounds like you love the Rad. The Trail Tracker is an expensive buy but the Teo &a Rad are half the price. Do you find it easy to work on the Rad. I'm a hands on guy and love to do my own work. With the ridge rider I am limited as you need special tools that only Pedego makes to work on certain areas of this bike.

Falken
3 months ago

Hi guys , I'm thinking of getting a fat bike and I already own the Pedego Ridge Rider. I have nailed it down to three - Trail tracker , Teo or the Rad. I'm torn between the three. Any input. I have read all the posts but still can't decide
Hi @Marceltt

I also have the Teo and am loving it! I can't speak hands on for either of the other bikes you mentioned but there is a Teo owner who's wife owns the Rad. He might be able to share some thoughts between those two bikes? His name is @Dan Edwards .
I can't see anyone regretting buying a Teo. It's been a great bike so far. From what I've read the Rad is a great bike as well. Good luck on your purchase!:)

mrgold35
3 months ago

I've had my two his/her 2016 Radrovers for almost a year with 3200 miles between them. The wife doesn't use her Rover as much and I end up using both for work commuting and trail riding equally (I keep the wear/tear/mileage the same for both). The Radrover does a good job of being a "jack of all trades and master of none" type of bike for $1500.

Sounds like you might want more of hardpacked to single track fat tire bike mostly? The fat tire choices you picked will go anywhere your Pedego Ridge Rider can go offroad with the addition of loose sand being added to the mix with the extra wide tires. The Radrover only has 5 levels of PAS (PAS 0-5) that are designed to provide X amount of watts per PAS level until the 20 mph motor cutoff:
PAS 0: 0 watts,
PAS 1: 75 watts,
PAS 2: 175 watts,
PAS 3: 375 watts,
PAS 4: 550 watts,
PAS 5: 750 watts.

PAS 2-3 works best for me when trail riding. I've never had a need to use PAS 5 trail riding or work commuting because PAS 3-4 can get me at or near max speed of 20-21 mph usually.

I like the Radrover twist throttle because it provide full 750 watts of power in any PAS level (even in PAS 0). Full power throttle comes in handy for short inclines, deep sandy spots, walking the bike up inclines, getting across intersection in a hurry, tight trails when pedaling would hit obstacles, etc...

I went with the Radrover because it is a fat tire bike with ebike components added. I can remove, repair, transfer, or replace ebike hardware if they fail after the warranty period to mod the Rover with more power or just turn it into a regular 4" fat tire bike. At the price point of the Rover, it left me a lot of room for accessories, platform bike rack, lights and gear to travel and trail ride in/out of state day or night. The wife and I had a lot of fun and put over +100 miles on each Radrover in a couple of days at the Grand Canyon and Sedona last November.

Marceltt
3 months ago

Hi guys , I'm thinking of getting a fat bike and I already own the Pedego Ridge Rider. I have nailed it down to three - Trail tracker , Teo or the Rad. I'm torn between the three. Any input. I have read all the posts but still can't decide

Marceltt
4 months ago

Just wanted to share my excitement.

Did a nice ride from home and back.

Data from MapMyRide

Distance 79.2km
Duration 5h32m
Elevation
Gain 388m
Start 168m
Max 177m
Avg Speed 14.3 km/h
Max Speed 43.6 km/h

Battery was fully charged, came back with 1 good bar, lost 2nd bar 4 km from home.

PA 2 to 5.

Bottom line: range is excellent. Don't be afraid to wander, our Téo WILL handle it.
I'm impressed. Is there any complaints about your bike. Trying to buy a second one between the Teo or Rad Rover. I already have the Pedego Ridge Rider.

Moonshine
5 months ago

I have the Jones H Bar on my ridge rider and it made a world of difference on my wrists. More natural posture. Love it

Thank you. H Bar is on it's way! :D

Marceltt
5 months ago

I have the Jones H Bar on my ridge rider and it made a world of difference on my wrists. More natural posture. Love it

1/1
PedegoElectricBikes
6 months ago

Longtime pedal bike shop owners choose Number 1 electric bike brand for new store

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., July 6, 2017 — The world’s 100th Pedego® Electric Bikes store is now open in Simsbury, Conn. Owned by Mike and Rachel Wolf, Pedego Simsbury is the fifth Pedego store in New England. Pedego also has stores in Boston, Rhode Island, Cape Cod and South Norwalk. Pedego Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. There will be ribbon cutting ceremony by the Main Street Partnership on July 6th to celebrate the opening.

“We're pleased to announce that Pedego Simsbury is our 100th Pedego electric bike store in the world,” said Pedego Electric Bikes CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. “Opening the 100th Pedego store is a testament to the growing popularity of electric bikes, and we’re delighted to be leading the revolution.”

THE PUBLIC IS INVITED TO JOIN THE RIBBON CUTTING CELEBRATION

WHAT: Ribbon Cutting Ceremony by the Main Street Partnership including refreshments and free test rides

WHERE: Pedego Simsbury store, 528 Hopmeadow Street, Simsbury, Conn.

WHEN: Thursday, July 6 at 4:30 p.m.

WHO: Store co-owners Mike and Rachel Wolf, plus representatives from the Main Street Partnership, Simsbury Chamber of Commerce, and City of Simsbury as well as Pedego representative Cassidy Castleman

Store owners Mike and Rachel Wolf, 77 and 71 years old respectively, are well-known in the area for their two long-established cycling shops. Nearly 67 years ago, Mike’s father established Connecticut's oldest bike shop, Bloomfield Bicycle & Repair Shop. Mike has worked there for 64 years, since he was 13 years old, and today, it is the oldest bike store in the region. It also carries the largest inventory of electric bikes in the area, with 150 electric bikes in stock. Of the nine electric bicycle brands Wolf carries at his Bloomfield bike shop, Pedego is the leading brand, which led him to open the Pedego Simsbury store. The Wolfs also own the Bike Cellar in Simsbury, which specializes in pedal bikes.

“Electric bikes are a game changer, enabling people of all ages to ride bikes,” Mike said. “We firmly believe that 60 percent of all bike sales in the future will be electric bikes, and we’ve decided to go with Pedego, the Number 1 electric bike brand, as Pedego is devoted to delighting its customers and empowering its dealers.”

The Wolfs are not only Pedego electric bikes salespeople, they are big fans themselves. An avid Pedego rider, Mike lost 54 pounds and lowered his cholesterol and blood pressure over the past 18 months with his Pedego electric bike. Weather permitting, the septuagenarian rides more than 20 miles every morning. He said, “Not only have I gained back my health, I’ve also gotten better looking, thanks to my electric bike.”

Pedego Simsbury’s opening is the culmination of Mike’s decade-long friendship with Pedego CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. They met when DiCostanzo owned an electric bike shop in Newport Beach, Calif., long before he co-founded Pedego. DiCostanzo said, “We are thrilled to welcome Mike and Rachel to the Pedego family. They share a passion for bringing electric bikes to the region and getting Baby Boomers back on bikes.”

Pedego Simsbury offers sales of all 12 Pedego Electric Bikes models that empower riders to zoom up hills and through headwinds. All Pedego bikes have a 500-watt hub motor that helps riders cruise distances of 30 to 60 miles without getting tired and sweaty. Now available at the new Simsbury store are California-styled cruisers, including the Pedego Platinum Interceptor, a fully loaded cruiser bike; the Pedego Interceptor, which boasts a 48-volt battery that propels riders with extra power; and Pedego’s Comfort Cruiser, which is powered by a 36-volt battery for gentle help with hills. Also available are the Trail Tracker fat-tire bike for riding on gravel and snow; the Ridge Rider electric mountain bike; the sleek City Commuter; the sturdy Stretch cargo bike and the Latch, an ingenious folding bike, designed for portability and convenience. Pedego also recently introduced the Airstream model for camping devotees.

Rentals and sales of Pedego bikes are available. Located near the Pedego Simsbury store are the Farmington Canal Heritage Trail and Farmington River Trail, two scenic trails that meet in the town. The Farmington River Trail is part of the rail-to-trail bike path network that takes riders up into Massachusetts or down into New Haven, Conn. The store provides maps so renters can enjoy riding through the beautiful countryside. Simsbury was recently voted the most bike-friendly community in Connecticut.

Pedego Simsbury also offers top-notch service for Pedego electric bikes. Everything from maintenance to customizations can be handled by the team.

About Pedego Simsbury

Pedego Simsbury has the distinction of being the 100th Pedego Electric Bikes store in the world and is the region’s premier dealer in Pedego Electric Bikes. Pedego Simsbury offers a large selection of Pedego electric bikes sales, rentals, accessories and service. Free test rides are available. Located at 528 Hopmeadow Street in Simsbury, Conn., Pedego Simsbury is close to the Farmington Canal Heritage Trail and Farmington River Trail, two trails that combine for a scenic ride through a forest. The store is open seven days per week: Monday through Friday, 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Saturdays 9:00 am. to 5:00 p.m., and Sundays 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. To learn more and reserve a test ride, call 860-413-2543 or email info@pedegosimsbury.com. Follow us on Facebook and visit our website at http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/dealers/simsbury/

About Pedego

Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 12 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at 100 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

1/1
PedegoElectricBikes
6 months ago

Electric Bikes energize the town with fun and fanfare

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., July 5, 2017— A Pedego® Electric Bikes store is now open in Petoskey, Mich., bringing an exhilarating new activity to town. Pedego Petoskey co-owners Bryan Newman and husband-wife team Bill and Pat Anton are excited to introduce the nation’s Number 1 electric bike brand with a party that includes free test rides on the elegant electric bikes. It is the 99th Pedego store worldwide. Pedego’s enormous popularity grew from the brand’s stylish designs and quality components. Every Pedego bike features a 500-watt motor that empowers riders to conquer hills, headwinds and long distances with ease.

THE PUBLIC IS INVITED TO JOIN THE GRAND OPENING & RIBBON-CUTTING CELEBRATION

What: Grand Opening and Ribbon-cutting Ceremony will include free test rides and snacks

Where: Pedego Petoskey, 438 East Mitchell Street, Petoskey, MI, 49770

When: Thursday, July 13 from 4:00 to 8:00 p.m. Ribbon-cutting Ceremony at 4:45 p.m.

Who: Store co-owners Bryan Newman and Bill & Pat Anton, store manager Dawn Marie Hansen, Friends & Family, Petoskey Chamber and various City Ambassadors will be present as well as Pedego California representatives Tom Bock and Cassidy Castleman.

Newman is an experienced Pedego dealer as he also owns Pedego La Quinta and Pedego Palm Springs, both in Southern California. Every winter since opening his other stores, Newman has had visitors from Michigan rave about the electric bikes as the best part of their California vacation, so he decided to bring the fun of Pedego electric bikes to Petoskey, an established vacation destination. “I chose to become a Pedego dealer because it’s all about fun, and now I'm thrilled to bring the fun to Petoskey,” he said.

Pedego riders can cruise for hours enjoying Petoskey’s miles of scenic paths without over-exerting. Located in the Northwest tip of Michigan’s Lower Peninsula, Emmet County offers a variety of paths that blend scenic splendor with rich historical sites. Long stretches of sandy beaches, quaint downtowns and year-round activities beckon outdoor enthusiasts, including families. Little Traverse Wheelway, a re-established turn-of-the-century trail that goes from Walker Road, Charlevoix, to Hoyt Street in Harbor Springs, presents more than 26 miles of pure riding enjoyment. This and several other trails await riders who want to explore the area while having fun on electric bikes.

Pedego Petoskey offers sales of all 12 Pedego Electric Bikes models that empower riders to zoom up hills and through headwinds. All Pedego bikes have a 500-watt hub motor that helps riders cruise distances of up to 60 miles without getting tired and sweaty. Now available at the new store are California-styled cruisers, including the Pedego Platinum Interceptor, a fully loaded cruiser bike; and the Pedego Interceptor, which boasts a 48-volt battery that propels riders with extra power. Also available are the sleek City Commuter; the Trail Tracker fat-tire bike for riding on gravel and snow; the Ridge Rider electric mountain bike; the sturdy Stretch cargo bike and the Latch, an ingenious folding bike, designed for portability and convenience. Pedego also recently introduced the Airstream model for camping devotees.

Available for rent are Pedego’s cruiser-style Interceptors, sporty Ridge Riders, ultra-low step-thru Boomerang Plus bikes, fat-tire Trail Trackers, Stretch cargo bikes, sleek City Commuters and a shiny red Tandem. Helmets and locks are included with rentals.

“Petoskey is such a beautiful place with miles and miles of scenic bike paths to enjoy,” said Pedego Electric Bikes CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. “We're very happy that riders will now be able to see, experience and enjoy Petoskey on Pedego electric bikes.”

About Pedego Petoskey

Pedego Petoskey is the region's premier dealer in Pedego Electric Bikes. Offering a large selection of Pedego electric bikes for sale and rental as well as accessories and service. Riders can cruise near sandy beaches, through quaint downtowns and enjoy year-round activities on Pedego electric bikes. Little Traverse is a local bike path offering more than 26 miles of scenic splendor combined with fascinating historical sites. Open Sunday through Thursday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., and Friday and Saturday, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Located at 438 E. Mitchell, Petoskey, MI 49770. To learn more and reserve a test ride, call (231) 881-9488 or email info@pedegoPetoskey.com. Follow us on Facebook and visit our website at http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/dealers/Petoskey/.

About Pedego

Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 12 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at nearly 100 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

1/1
PedegoElectricBikes
6 months ago

Pedego San Diego brings energetic vibe to Downtown’s fashionable BRIC

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., July 5, 2017 — The first Pedego® Electric Bikes store in Downtown San Diego has opened a pop-up shop in front of their soon-to-be permanent location on the ground floor of the elegant new BRIC center on San Diego Bay. Pedego San Diego offers Pedego’s 12 stylish models of powerful electric bikes that enable riders to enjoy cruising all over town with ease. Pedego Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego San Diego is Pedego’s 98th store worldwide.

The Pedego San Diego pop-up shop offers free test rides, sales and rentals of the popular electric bikes. They're located at BRIC San Diego along with the Marriott Residence Inn, Spring Hill Inn and Suites Bayfront Hotels at Lane Field, just one block from the Santa Fe Depot train station. The store is open Sunday from Noon–6 p.m.; Monday from 10 a.m.–6 p.m.; Closed on Tuesday; and Wednesday through Saturday from 10 a.m.–6 p.m.

Store co-owners husband-and-wife Sean and Chelsea Chavez, and Sean’s dad Celso Chavez, are excited to bring Pedego electric bikes to Downtown San Diego, giving visitors and locals alike an easy, fun and green alternative to cars. “With Pedego electric bikes, you can discover more of this beautiful city without the hassles of parking or worrying about hills or headwinds,” Sean said.

From the store, riders can easily cruise to the city’s great landmarks, including the Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Balboa Park and museums, Old Town and Harbor and Shelter Islands. Riders can also take their bikes on the ferry to Coronado Island or bike to the island via the full 24-mile Bayshore Bikeway, which conveniently begins across the street from the store.

Pedego San Diego offers sales of all 12 Pedego Electric Bikes models that empower riders to zoom up hills and power through headwinds. All Pedego bikes have a 500-watt hub motor that helps riders cruise distances of 20 to 60 miles without getting tired and sweaty. Now available at the new San Diego store are California-styled cruisers, including the Pedego Platinum Interceptor, a fully loaded cruiser bike; the Pedego Interceptor, which boasts a 48-volt battery that propels riders with extra power; Pedego’s Comfort Cruiser, which is powered by a 36-volt battery for gentle help with hills; and the Pedego Tandem, the most stylish and powerful electric tandem available. Also available are the Trail Tracker fat-tire bike for riding on sand and gravel; the Ridge Rider electric mountain bike; the sleek City Commuter; the sturdy Stretch cargo bike that allows for extra cargo or an extra adult or two children to ride along; and the Latch, an ingenious folding bike, designed for portability and convenience. Rentals start at $20 per hour and $75 per day, depending on the model.

“San Diego’s famous sunshine and outdoor lifestyle make it a perfect home for a top-notch Pedego store,” said Pedego Electric Bikes CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. “Pedego riders will enjoy riding longer, farther and faster, seeing more of this great city without having to deal with traffic or parking.”

About Pedego San Diego

Pedego San Diego is the region’s premier dealer in Pedego Electric Bikes, offering a large selection of Pedego electric bikes sales, rentals, accessories and service. Test rides, rentals and sales are available at a nearby pop-up site during construction of the store’s permanent location in the elegant BRIC hotel complex, an exciting lifestyle destination in the heart of Downtown San Diego. Riders can cruise to the city’s great landmarks, including the Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Balboa Park and museums, Old Town and Harbor and Shelter Islands. Open Sunday Noon–6 p.m.; Monday 10 a.m.–6 p.m.; Closed on Tuesday; and Wednesday through Saturday 10 a.m.–6 p.m. Located at 900 Bayfront Ct., Suite 100, San Diego, CA 92101. To learn more and reserve a test ride, call (800) 604-7187 or email info@pedegoSD.com. Follow us on Facebook and visit our website at www.pedegosandiego.com.

About Pedego

Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 12 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at nearly 100 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

1/1
Marceltt
7 months ago

Hi guys , I own a pedego ridge rider and was looking for info if I can change my throttle to a thumb throttle? I don't use it that often and would like a full length handle bar grip or close to it. Any ideas guys and gals ?

1/1
E-Wheels
7 months ago

hi guys what size of spoke wheel wrench does a pedego ridge rider need ? Also which tool would you recommend? Thanks.
https://www.amazon.com/Avenir-94-27-001-Round-Spoke-Wrench/dp/B00165U0T4

Marceltt
7 months ago

hi guys what size of spoke wheel wrench does a pedego ridge rider need ? Also which tool would you recommend? Thanks.

Ravi Kempaiah
7 months ago

I too feel that the title of this thread is little demeaning and should be changed.

BULLS is a young company in the US but from my experience, they are easy to work with and very supportive of their customers.
There are other companies that are arrogant and muscle you but BULLS has always been cordial. [no, I haven't taken the Bulls kool-aid ;)]

What is powerful and what is under-powered is a very relative term.

A friend of mine owns Pedego Ridge Rider, Haibike and a BULLS. He really likes the BULLS because he enjoys biking a lot. But his kids and friends do not share his taste and like the Pedego Ridge Rider, which has a powerful hub motor.

Those who have ridden Stromer, think Bosch/Brose/Yamaha are all under powered. Those who have unlocked BBS-HD think everything else is crap and their Bafang is the S%^$.
All the mid-drive folks think hub motors are old technology etc. Unless we have ridden a bike for 500+ miles, all that we read and hear is going to be 2-dimensional. There are great benefits to a well-tuned DD hub for road riding, mid-drives defeinitely have their place for trails and eMTB.

That begs the question, if Brose motor is under-powered why would big companies like Specialized and BH risk their millions of $ investment and go with Brose? I think their engineers are smart enough to discern what would work best for their investment.

Marceltt
8 months ago

For myself with bad knees and a back surgery my ridge rider gets me back out cycling. I use mostly number 2-3 pas but when my knees need a break I do use my throttle or going up bigger hills. To me there's no price tag for the freedom I get back with a throttle. I don't do single track racing or bother cyclist that want just regular bikes on these paths. I'm just happy to go cruzing along the road or paved bike paths. No throttle bike haters needed.

Billy Burditt
8 months ago

I'm looking for an electric mountain bike. I'll mainly be using it to commute to work, so it will primarily be used as a road bike. I want a mountain bike in case I decide to take up trail riding in the future and for occasional off roading.

I rented a cruiser bike on vacation, and I really enjoyed the twist throttle. However, the only mountain bike that I could find with a twist throttle is the pedago ridge rider. Are there other mountain bikes with a twist throttle?

The pedago ridge rider seems like a nice bike, but I want to look at all options before making such a large purchase. I have a trek and izip dealer near me, so I was considering those too.

Donald Hall
2 months ago

I just got back from Europe and the best e-bikes there had Bosch motors. What does this have? And what is the rated range in miles? Realize it varies, but need something to compare or is fully a function of power?

okanaganmedia
4 months ago

I'm looking for an ebike that can assist up a pretty steep hill. Im a big guy so the most powerful motor is necessary. Would you recommend the Surface 604 or the Pedego Ridge rider for steeper hills? Maybe you have a suggestion other than these two I mentioned. Thanks

gstea1
4 months ago

Are ebikes for people who are not in good shape or have handicaps. I get if you commute to work and don't want to exert and sweat it may make sense. But if using a bike for errands, around town, etc and you are on flat ground what's the point?

Vivian Frerichs
1 year ago

Looks like an awesome bike! Thanks for giving us a thorough review of it.

Felix Gonzales
1 year ago

do you think this ridge rider rides nicer than their trail tracker. im going crazy trying to decide. i tried the ridge rider and fell in love with it but I really would like the extra traction with the 4 inch tires on the other one. bit im afraid its going to be slower and not be able to dial it in so perfectly like this bike with the pedal assist. the ridge rider felt so perfect . which do you like better?

Lloyd Purnell
1 year ago

At what max speed does the pedal assist shut down

Greg
2 years ago

Greg ringham

nastythomashobbs
2 years ago

Very nice looking bike. Not a fan of hub motors though. Pedal assist is only great in the top mode with a hub motor as the assistance is consistent. . With a mid drive the assistance is consistent not on and off like a rear drive. You can actually use all 4 modes and and only notice less of an assistance and still pedal till 20 mph. Way too jerky with a hub motor.

Seth G
2 years ago

Hmmmmm it struggled a bit taking you up a hill from a dead stop ...and I have 70lbs on you. Scary thought paying 4000+ for a bike that can't take me up a hill.

dakiwiistda
2 years ago

Thats the bike for me,have 4 weeks for it to arrive here in New Zealand,just can't wait,as it will be my every day ride,just love your reviews,keep up the good work and cheer,s.:-)

Douglas Kmiotek
2 years ago

Wow,...this is an excellent ride. I wish it was a speed pedalec myself,... When pedaling it's totally legal to hit 28 mph. I just don't get why it isn't built to allow the rider to fly when you feel like it. Still, I have to start saving for my ebike. It'll be required for multi-modal transportation soon.

Douglas Kmiotek
2 years ago

PS: we gotta get a fat guy (I wish it was me) to try these bikes for you. I'd like to see it haul me (235+ lbs) up that hill. Lol!!!

MotorheadRedo
2 years ago

Nice! I hope Pedego comes out with more mountain bikes, or at least a larger frame for the Ridge Rider. Does anyone know what happens on a cadence sensing ebike when your moving forward but you pedal backwards? Does the motor turn on?

H. Sunde
2 years ago

Can i ship this to Norway with throttle? Thanks for the review, i love all your videos!! ;)

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+H. Sunde Thanks! I'm not sure but there are a few shops within US that ship all around the country and might be willing to do something special for you. One is Propel Bikes in New York, Another is Electric Cyclery in California. Hopefully someday the different countries relax some of the laws so more people can use throttles :)

George Sears
2 years ago

Nice bike. Guess it's a class 2, so maybe limited to 20 mph, which works for me. If it can push 18 amps, that's close to 900 watts on a fresh battery. That's a nice amount of power, legal in Utah. Deep down, I'd go for all these assist modes if you still give me a throttle. It's the right battery. Love the brakes. That seems to be about what ebikes weigh. You got the idea that mid-drives might be dominant, for a while, but hubs with decent power can do most of the things people want. Great job. (You and Don)

xXxBoGGiesxXx
2 years ago

+George Sears definitely, anytime. ebike speeds are definitely moving up for sure. this bike is amazing, i rode it and it was such a breeze,i took it on along trial, soon as you pull that throttle down it takes off in a second. you're very welcome buddy. if you get this bike trust me you wont be disappointed.

George Sears
2 years ago

I guess I'm not surprised. It is too hard to sell an ebike that is limited to 20 mph, so the top speeds are moving up. It might be something Pedego is doing or something people do with the controller. It's a lot easier to sell this bike if it has a throttle and it goes 25 mph. Thanks. I was wondering if this would happen.

xXxBoGGiesxXx
2 years ago

+George Sears hi george i test ride this bike i, went 25.7 miles per hour using throttle mode only at level 6. and 29.2 mphs using throttole and pettle assist. it was super fast . id say this bike is beyond 20 mphr

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+George Sears "only when the rider is pedaling" booo!!! This must have been leftover from when they were trying to get rid of throttles all together and go with the European standard. I was told by Pedego that Pedego petitioned for them to include throttle mode but maybe they only did it for Class 2 and forgot to edit those minor details for Class 3. I want a 28 mph speed pedelec AND a 20 mph throttle. How is that any different than what a Class 2 already is? Booo!!!!

George Sears
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Court, I think this is where they ended up: 

(3) A “class 3 electric bicycle,” or “speed pedal-assisted electric bicycle,” is a bicycle equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches the speed of 28 miles per hour, and equipped with a speedometer.

DrZarkloff
2 years ago

this seems to be the ebike for me. it looks like I'll have to save a few more pennies as it is a bit pricey.

Corn Dog
6 months ago

Likewise! AND it's twist throttle!

DrZarkloff
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com the override is a seller for me, too.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+DrZarkloff It's a pretty sweet ride... one of the few with assist, throttle and throttle override :)

denva
2 years ago

and also the scott genius plus 720 those are also good for review

G Henrickson
5 months ago

Wait...that is an electric bike? The scott genius plus 720?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+denva Cool, I'll keep an eye out for that one as well :)

denva
2 years ago

that's the focus E-SPORT / JARIFA FAT that is. it's seems to me like a heavy duty kinda ebikes 😊and I can't wait to get my fingers on those bad boys

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+denva Cool!

denva
2 years ago

when will you test the E-SPORT / JARIFA FAT?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+denva As soon as I can?! I'm booking visits to all of the major manufacturers in Southern California right now but weather plays a role and I'm also trying to catch up with the new site design (some bug fixes and stuff). There are also a few more Daymak reviews from 2015 to finish. Appreciate your interest, when you say Jarifa Fat are you talking about the Focus Jarifa? Is the E-Sport from Felt? I want to make sure we're on the same page :)

benjamin Ofuasia
2 years ago

review a motoped pro as a direct competitor to this overly expensive paperweight.

Douglas Kmiotek
2 years ago

+Nobody Inc. Gas using, pollution producing garbage. 👎👎👎

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+benjamin Ofuasia Thanks man, I appreciate your support and I agree that some of these ebikes are out of reach for most people price wise. Even though I see a lot of them, I still sleep in my car when traveling and live on a modest budget to try to keep the site from feeling over-advertised and to feel like I'm being fair and objective. Slowly the business is growing for me but I'm just glad I can get out there and bring some data to the discussion. Always open to positive or critical feedback to get better :)

benjamin Ofuasia
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com no you are right, i was a bit harsh here, but i do believe that it is slightly overpriced and under spec-ed. BTW i forgot to add that i am a big fan of your videos

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+benjamin Ofuasia Hey Benjamin, I hope you're not getting hurt feelings here. Your words of "expensive paperweight" set off a bit of backlash but you're still accepted and I'm sure motopeds are lots of fun. Hope you're having a good weekend bud :)

Douglas Kmiotek
2 years ago

+SickOfThisCrap1 True dat!!!