Surface 604 YunBike C1 Review

Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Electric Bike Review
Surface 604 Yunbike C1
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 180 Watt Gearless Hub Motor
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Removable Battery With Usb Charging Port
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Velo Comfort Ergonomic Saddle Curved Bar
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Ergonomic Grips And Bell
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Four Colors High Step Mid Step
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 20 Inch Wheels Kenda Kwik Tires
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Formula Linear Pull Brakes
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Integrated Led Light On Battery
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Rear Mounted Kickstand
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Red Spoke Accent 12 Gauge
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Single Speed Drivetrain Chain Cover
Surface 604 Yunbikes On Car Rack
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 2 Amp Charger And Battery Pack
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Electric Bike Review
Surface 604 Yunbike C1
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 180 Watt Gearless Hub Motor
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Removable Battery With Usb Charging Port
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Velo Comfort Ergonomic Saddle Curved Bar
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Ergonomic Grips And Bell
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Four Colors High Step Mid Step
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 20 Inch Wheels Kenda Kwik Tires
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Formula Linear Pull Brakes
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Integrated Led Light On Battery
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Rear Mounted Kickstand
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Red Spoke Accent 12 Gauge
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 Single Speed Drivetrain Chain Cover
Surface 604 Yunbikes On Car Rack
Surface 604 Yunbike C1 2 Amp Charger And Battery Pack


  • A light weight, compact, single speed electric bike that's well suited to neighborhood riding or short commutes... optional fenders and front or rear rack expand utility
  • Smaller capacity 187.2 watt hour battery limits range but the torque-sensing pedal assist requires more active riding and the motor is also smaller, just sipping power you end up doing alright distance wise
  • Two USB charging ports, one on the battery for off-bike use as a portable power source, optional free mobile app, simple intuitive built in display panel, unique integrated LED lights for anytime riding
  • Stiffer ride due to narrow tires and lack of suspension, the trigger throttle only activates walk mode ~2 mph, limited top speed of ~15.5 mph with assist, only seems to show units in metric

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers



Surface 604


YunBike C1



Body Position:

Upright, Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Commuting, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Year Comprehensive, 3 Year Frame


United States, Canada

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

34.7 lbs (15.73 kg)

Battery Weight:

3.2 lbs (1.45 kg)

Motor Weight:

4.4 lbs (1.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

19" Seat Tube Length, 20" Reach, 21" and 28.5" Stand Over Height, 60" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step, Mid-Step, Compact

Frame Colors:

Graphite, Mint, Red, White

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Alloy, 11 mm Axle with Bolts

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle with Bolts

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 Single Speed, 11T Rear Sprocket


170 mm Crank Arms, 44T Chainring


Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform, Cage Type


Custom CNC Alloy, 1-1/8"


Custom CNC Alloy, Hollowed


22.5" Length, Aluminum Alloy, Flat or Swept Back

Brake Details:

Formula C1 Mechanical V-Brakes, Formula C1 Levers with Motor Inhibitors


Rubber Ergonomic


Velo Ergonomic

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm


Alloy Double Wall, BMX Brand, 32 Hole, Brass Eyeletts


Stainless Steel 15G Front 12G Rear, Silver with Single Red Accent Spoke

Tire Brand:

Kenda Kwest, 20" x 1 1/8"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

40 to 65 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve


Plastic Chain Guard, Side Mounted Kickstand, USB Charging Port Beneath Display, Second USB Charging Port on Battery (Acts as Power Bank), Frame Integrated LED Lights, Flick Bell on Left Bar, Optional Clamp Rack $59, Optional Front Basket $59, Optional Plastic Fender Set $29


120 kg (260 lb) Max Load, Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.8 lb 2 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Yunbike C1

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

180 watts

Motor Peak Output:

250 watts

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

5.2 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

187.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

3 hours (2 Hours for ~80%)

Estimated Min Range:

10 miles (16 km)

Estimated Max Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Display Type:

Yunbike, Fixed Backlit Monochrome LCD


Battery Level (4 Bars), Speed in km/h, Assist Level (1-3), Trip Distance, Total Distance, Hold + Button to Activate Lights and Display Backlighting

Display Accessories:

Walk Mode Trigger Throttle on Right, Power Button on Battery (Pressing Alternates Rear Light Mode: Solid, Chasing, Flashing), UMA Smartphone App (Distance Ridden, Map History, Battery Level)

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist (Strain Sensor in Motor)

Top Speed:

15.5 mph (25 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The YunBike C1 is a dainty little electric bike from Surface 604 that leans more towards human powered cycling than zippy moped or gocart feel. Weighing in at roughly 35 lbs with the battery attached, it’s one of the lightest weight electric bikes I’ve ever tested… and yet it’s also one of the most affordable. The bike keeps things very simple with just one gear (making it a single speed) but doesn’t compromise on safety or utility with integrated LED lights and a plastic chain guard. It’s also no slouch in the style department, coming in four different colors and two frame designs. You can choose from either the traditional high-step diamond frame or a unique angled top tube mid-step that might be easier to stand over for petite riders. They’re clearly going for a his and hers dynamic with the colors and frame differences but in practice, the two are basically the same size. The biggest difference I noticed is that the mid-step “hers” frame comes with a swept-back handle bar that will be easier to reach.

If you’re venturing outside of the neighborhood, keep in mind the YunBike has a more limited top speed of just 20 Kilometers per hour (15.5 mph) vs. the more traditional US top speed of 20 mph. Given the smaller 20″ wheel diameter and narrow tires, I’m not sure I’d feel comfortable going too much faster than 20 anyway. The brakes are sort of average; cable actuated linear pull design with old-school rubber pads, but they get the job done. Both brake levers send a signal to cut motor power for safety. I did notice a wheel release lever on the brakes that helps them spread wider and get around the tires which was nice. Again, lots of the details on this bike have been scrutinized and optimized. That includes the threaded bosses on the downtube meant for adding a water bottle cage. Believe it or not, many e-bikes forego this sort of thing. The bike has a QR code printed on the stem that you can scan with your smart phone to download their app (or search for UMA Bike) but it freaked me out at first being all in Chinese in the screenshots. I took the risk, downloaded it and explored the different settings. Basically, you choose your type of bike and can then connect with other riders in a social area, see a map with points of interest or read your ride stats. Sadly, despite having a newer phone and trying my best to pair via Bluetooth I was unable to actually get the app going.

In terms of drive system performance and layout, I feel that the YunBike makes a couple of good compromises. First, because it has such a small capacity battery pack, the YunBike has opted for a pedal-assist only drive mode configuration. This is a mixed blessing because remember, it’s a single speed bike. By making you work a little harder, the motor can operate more efficiently and thus provide a decent range per charge. The downside is that struggling feeling of starting out from zero. Yes, the assist does kick in and help you but it’s not as much as other ebikes. Frustratingly, there is a trigger throttle sitting RIGHT THERE begging to be pressed… but when you do, it only gets you going a couple miles per hour as it is set to be a walk mode trigger. Maybe they will change this in the future but at least it does something. And, hidden just below the display panel is one of two USB charging ports! This could be used for additional lights like string-lights for the holidays, keeping your phone topped off (especially useful if you’ve got the app running) or perhaps powering portable speakers. The second USB port is built right into the battery pack and is designed to be used separately from the bike… like a backup power bank. Very cool little additions here in my opinion.

Overall, the bike is easy to use and understand. It’s a bit rear-heavy given the motor and battery are both at the back and there’s more effort involved with pedaling but it’s still easier than a non-electric bike. They felt moderately comfortable but clearly aren’t designed for touring or off road riding. Surface 604 does sell optional front and rear racks as well as fenders for people who want to commute or have to endure inclement weather. The bike isn’t perfect but the price is inspiring and I could see myself hopping aboard for quick neighborhood errands and simple enjoyment. Not a lot can go wrong if you just top the battery off now and again and keep those tires from getting too low. Seriously, because they are so narrow, it will be easier to get pinch flats by jumping curbs or just letting them go soft so check regularly. And that’s one of the little bummers here, the tires on the mid-step model didn’t say how full to inflate them? I was guessing upwards of 50 PSI depending on your weight, similar to road bike tires and then discovered that the Kenda Kwest model tires on the high step model do say 40 to 65 PSI. Big thanks to Surface 604 for partnering with me for this review.


  • Even though this ebike just looks like a cute getaround type product it can actually become quite practical if you purchase the optional front or rear racks and fender set… it’s neat that it comes stock with a plastic chain cover to keep you clean and all of the accessories are priced well and fit perfectly vs. trying to find something yourself aftermarket for such a unique sized bike
  • I was impressed with the little kickstand, funny as that might sound, because it’s sturdy and mounted far back – out of the way of your crank and pedal so you can oil the chain or walk the bike backwards without colliding
  • The four color options are really fun and the little style enhancements like a single red spoke and the unique tire tread add a bit of charm
  • I love the mid-step frame, it is still sturdy and basically the same dimensions as the high-step but makes mounting and standing over the bike easier for shorter riders, it also has a curved back handlebar to shorten the reach :)
  • Both models have comfortable ergonomic grips and come with basic flick bells so you can signal to other pedestrians or your friends in a cheerful way
  • I absolutely love that they included two USB charging ports! The first one is easy to reach and use while riding (mounted just below the display panel near the right grip) and the other one is on the protected end of the battery pack meant to be used when you aren’t riding… like a backup power source for your portable electronics!
  • Whether you’re riding for fun around the block or using this as a compact light weight commuter the integrated LED lights improve safety and keep you seen by cars
  • This ebike is very affordable at just under $1k but doesn’t compromise on style or warranty, you get one year comprehensive coverage from Surface 604, a company that has been around for several years as of this review in 2016
  • Being a single speed, the bike isn’t going to get out of true as easily… you won’t have to worry so much about dropping the chain or dealing with a derailleur and shifters that might otherwise crowd the cockpit bar area
  • I love that the battery can be removed to reduce the weight of the bike and that you can charge it on or off the frame… sort of, the plug at the base can be a little tricky to reach and plug/unplug as a result
  • The gearless motor is very durable and quiet, it should hold up well with lots of use but does weigh a bit more than geared motors, though it’s so small that the weight isn’t so bad
  • I love that they were able to fit bottle cage bosses on both frame types! This makes it easier to bring along hydration (note that it’s a tight fit on the step-thru, consider a side-mount cage like this), a mini-pump with Presta interface or something like a folding lock for security


  • Try as I might, I was unable to figure out how to change the display panel or the smart phone app from Kilometers per hour to Miles per hours… perhaps they’re trying to help America finally convert to metric ;)
  • The app is shown with Chinese characters when you search for it in the app store or scan the QR code on the stem and it’s rated 17+ age strangely… but once downloaded it is in English and allows you to search for points of interest, get feedback about your ride and connect with other riders
  • My heart was broken when I discovered that the trigger throttle only activates a walk mode… not a throttle mode (meaning you can only go a few miles per hour with it vs. top speed), this would have been very useful for getting up to speed after stop signs and lights considering the bike only has one gear
  • Because the YunBike uses a torque sensor for pedal assist I felt like I had to push harder and work more than with other “neighborhood” electric bikes, that’s not something I always want, especially since there are multiple levels of assist and sometimes my commute is short so I’m not worried about conserving power
  • The ride isn’t super comfortable given the super skinny tires… they are efficient and light but the bike doesn’t have any sort of suspension so this is really your only shock absorber aside from the saddle, consider swapping the rigid seat post with a 31.6 mm suspension post like this Thudbuster short travel model but note that it will raise the minimum saddle height a bit
  • The battery isn’t especially large, nor is the motor especially powerful at 180 watts nominal, thankfully the top speed is lower at ~20 km/h (that’s 15.5 mph) and you have to pedal to get the bike going so range doesn’t suffer quite as much as with comparable bikes
  • Overall, this electric bike is more like a bicycle than an ebike and for someone like me who rides a LOT of ebikes for reviews, that was a bit disappointing at first… but then I came around and enjoyed the simplicity of it
  • The narrow tires could get pinch flats more easily so keep them full… unfortunately they don’t have a recommended PSI range printed on them so I’m guessing 50? And, the narrow 20″ tubes to replace them might be difficult or expensive
  • The brake lines are reversed from what I am used to in America… the right lever activates the front brake vs. the rear and this was confusing at first, I have heard about some people having an instinct for which lever to pull and ending up feeling uncomfortable when it isn’t set up their way, perhaps this could be adjusted by your local shop?


More Surface 604 Reviews

Surface 604 Boar E750 Hunter Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A camouflaged fat tire electric bike complete with sturdy racks and a powerful 750 watt motor, responsive torque-sensing pedal assist and throttle on demand. Powerful 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes, sturdy alloy platform pedals, stiff 15 mm thru-axle with…...

Surface 604 Rook Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A step-thru urban electric bike that hits a sweet spot between cruiser comfort and city efficiency performance, adjustable angle stem, locking suspension fork and hydraulic disc brakes. The bike comes with fenders, a sturdy oversized rack (with standard gauge pannier rods), integrated…...

Surface 604 Colt Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A sturdy, purpose-built electric bike that would be great for neighborhood cruising, urban commuting or rentals, featuring an upgraded fork, SRAM X5 10 speed drivetrain and hydraulic disc brakes. I love the integrated LED lights, both run off the main battery pack and there's…...

Surface 604 Boar E350 Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A purpose built fat electric bike available in two sizes and three colors, optional fenders, racks, upgraded tires and suspension fork. Tapered head tube, 15 mm thru-axle with quick release, hydraulic disc brakes and integrated battery…...

Surface 604 Element Electric Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Well-rounded "fat style" electric bike with three levels of pedal assist, a twist throttle and seven gears for going off road. Oversized tires provide cushion on bumps and won't sink in sand or snow, solid derailleur…...

Jakub Ditrich
1 year ago

Are you serious to call Surface 604 a maker of this bike..? That is really funny.. this is UMA C1 from InnoMake Technology in Hangzhou – China, backed by Xiaomi – check it out here. Also the price offered is about 5 times higher than the retail in China. So guys, calm down.

1 year ago

Hi Jakub! Someone else mentioned this on YouTube and I was told that this was a bike that had been designed outside of Surface 604 when I covered it. My approach is to take each model at face value… regardless of what it costs on the other side of the world, regardless of who the original designer was, the review I shot accurately reflects the hardware and user experience in the USA. For me, ~$1,000 is still a decent price for the bike and the reputation and warranty from Surface 604 is good :) I’d rather buy from them than risk having it shipped and given that they negotiated a business relationship with InnoMake or Xiaomi and are legally carrying it as a rebranded product is all good. That’s how business works… many of the computer products we buy in the US for example, are also made by third party companies that are less well recognized. Note that I did critique the app for not working quite right and having Chinese (or another language) in the search results. I think the review is fair but I welcome your thoughts and appreciate the call out.

I also want to mention that if the YunBike had been fully designed by Surface 604, I believe the throttle would have worked for more than just walk mode and that would have been an improvement to the design in my opinion. It’s great when companies work together to approach international markets and bring better designs that fit the end user, I hope that InnoMake and Xiaomi read my review and consider the ways that their next iteration could be improved for people like me :)

Jakub Ditrich
1 year ago

hey Court. Thx for reply, I am chilled, don’t worry. Just dislike when the public gets confused, this is not an OEM stuff, the young chinese manufacturer is really rolling out its own brand. I can ask them if they gave to US company a permission to brand the product. The rest of your test is OK, I have had similar findings using this version of YunBike.

The price – well the market decide whether ok or high… Jakub

Meraj Husain
12 months ago

You will fail or fed up to get any spare part of this bicycle from company or factory or service Center. I have Facing The Problem. My display unit has broke, neither dealer nor company are ready to solving this issue. Just wait n watch.

12 months ago

Sorry to hear about this Meraj, I wish the situation was different for you but appreciate the feedback to help others :/

6 months ago

Just got a reply from Surface 604. They have dropped the Yunbike. I kind of liked the model. First I noticed that the drop bar frame model was nowhere to be found on the website. The higher frame model is still on the site, but no longer being sold.

6 months ago

Hmm, I wonder if you can find a dealer and get it at a lower price now that it has been discontinued? It was an interesting bike, I would have liked it more if the throttle was more useful :)

K Samson
5 months ago

Managed to get my hands on a brand new mid-step one of these for $450 cdn due to it being discontinued. Since I saved a bit of money I decided to beef the bike up with 1.5″ rims & tires (had to rebuild back motor wheel which was surprisingly easy) mid rise handle bars & longer brakes. Unfortunately, the frame will only accommodate the slight upgrade in wheel width to 1.5″. Anything bigger will rub against the frame, but even this small upgrade makes for a dramatically improved feel & handling on the road. I’ll likely throw on a suspension seat to improve it further.

The biggest bonus with the bike is the battery pack with its usb port. Detached it from bike and brought it to a cabin retreat where it provided enough off the grid power to recharge 4 phones and 2 laptops for a week.

5 months ago

That’s awesome! Good for you, hope the YunBike works out well and thanks for sharing some of the upgrades you figured out :)


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

3 weeks ago

The decline wasn't that much, but if you're right about the cells only costing a fraction of the total, that's probably why. The whole ebike industry is crying out for consolidation to hit lower prices, IMO, so you're not spending all that money on r and d for a company that only sells a couple thousand ebikes.

The ebike industry is weird in that the smaller players have the most competitive prices (eg Juiced, Luna), and the biggest don't (Pedego). That smacks of stagnation on the vendor side.

My sister just got a reasonably priced ebike from small brand Surface 604, which I hadn't heard of before. Almost as well priced as Juiced, given that she bought it at a retail store. The salesman told her it was their bestselling bike (Rook/Colt). $1900, 500w motor, 48v, 10ah, SRAM transmission.

3 weeks ago

Hi there, I am looking for an bike that has battery power to get me to and from on my 18km commute - each way. I can charge it in between. On the way home I have mountains to climb. 3 km pretty much straight up. I don't want to spend more than 2500 and have looked at juiced and surface 604. Can someone help me? I know I need a 500 W motor with 48 volt battery. But how do i know what will get me up the hill after work without losing all the battery? I am tired at 11pm at night and want a lot of help. thanks

3 weeks ago

The Surface 604 Colt is also nearly identical to the

bob armani
4 weeks ago

Surfstar-I agree with you on many of your points and your suggestions in your post. Everyone likes a great deal during the winter/spring sales. Can't beat it! Paying retail sucks when there are bargains out there with much better components. I also have issues with Haibikes missing wanted components. Somehow you'll have to mix and match comparisons on those bikes to get close to what you really want in an ebike. The Urban Plus is great, I just wish it had an option to either use COBI or use a traditional center mount display like an Intuvia or something similar.
Not sure if one can be retrofitted or not??

I also like Surface604 as well. Their full Carbon Oryx for 4k is a real beauty of a bike, however, never discounted. Looks like a very solid company for well built ebikes.

Juiced may not be a bad choice considering Tora has made some improvements and looks like his heart is into making a good product. A lot of bike for the $$$ and you can also make mods later if you see fit. I myself like rear hub drives with a TMM4 torque sensor on any ebike. Mid-drives have their place, but for commuting, that is my preference. Love the zippy feeling off the line in any gear from the powerful 350/500 watt motor. :p

4 weeks ago

Have a short list of three bikes... two from major manufacturers..
The third is the Surface 604 Colt...
Great buy and specs for the money...
Should I be concerned about what happens if the company disappears? Most of the components are pretty stock - but it appears to have a custom battery. Should I be concerned about getting a replacement down the road?
The other two bikes have similar specs but are more money...
Thanks for any wisdom.

4 weeks ago

I don't mean to be rude but to find one of those %50 mid drive deals, I did a lot of homework and in the end I could have easily gotten "screwed" by at least $600-1000 because no one bothered to decrease even $50 (When I got in touch with one of the dealers on this forums he wasn't even taking one step back from the 2300+tax of a 2016 xduro cross which I eventually got it from another online store "brand new" for $700 less after tax. The same dealer advertised that bike for $1700 after a month,another one ,a lbs, was trying to sell me a 2016 demo fullnine RC for 3000+tax now 2017 fullnine 6.0 (same components + 500W battery) is sold $2200 Brand New.) .

You should understand that you are lucky and having those really nice deals without even having to worry about it, quite frankly for those prices you can just get a non-electric version of those bikes. I understand wanting throttle but I have to say your range with a throttle may not be much. If you are fit and if you don't want to tire yourself out just put it to the highest assist level and you will have a very comfortable ride.

4 weeks ago

Another set of test rides yesterday at a different shop (I wanted to ride my mtb there, but somehow the rear tire has gone completely flat and won't hold air - WTH)

Still trying to find a "cheap" hub motor setup to simulate riding a RadCity. The shop didn't carry the $1550 bike they showed online. Their only hub motor was a $3000 setup (emotion evo street), but I still took that for a spin, and then a couple mid-drive Giant bikes.

This was good, as it cemented a major realization for me:
I prefer the "lazy" ability of a throttle. All of the mid-drive, torque sensors are really just like riding a bike, but faster/easier. They still require a workout, which is not what I'm actually looking for. I want a faster, non-sweaty, biking commute. Its funny, though, as I am someone who prefers to be active - we run, hike, rock climb, surf, etc., and I do like biking; I just want to have the ability to not have to push when pedaling up a slight hill, and the mid-drive torque motors aren't meeting that for my needs - they require too much push on the pedals to give full assist, for me. Also, the mid-drives require you to stay on top of your shifting for best performance - just like riding a real bike. If I wanted to get a workout and everything, I would just buy a hybrid city commuter, for like $500, that was a little bit faster than my current mtb and ride a regular bike to work. That's not what I'm looking for in an ebike, I've realized.

The other conflict, is that I love a great deal (who doesn't!?!) - and all of the crazy 50% off deals I've been finding, are mid-drives!

If I was short, I'd grab the Raleigh Sprint IE - one left on their website for $1499, and you can add a boost (throttle) to it. If I could somehow know that the IZIP/Raleigh boost button would be able to adapt to the Haibike Urban Plus, I'd go that route (same TranzX motor, but Haibike may use a different controller? The Haibike does offer shift detection vs the others). If someone wants to buy this bike, they should click-through for another 3% discount (use this link: and you get an extra $10 if its your first time - so figure a small frame Sprint IE for $1450 after discounts!)

Then I also see a Misceo IE Sport for half off - again, great price, hydraulic brakes, decent components, but mid-drive, no throttle. For anyone else looking:

As, you can see, I'm good at finding deals online, but have yet to find one on a bike that will fit my "wants." Missed a quick deal on a Surface 604 Colt $1539, but now out of stock. That I should have jumped on.

So, I'm now leaning towards the Juiced CrossCurrent S - but, I hate to pay full retail, plus tax (CA). That puts it into the same price range as all of the Haibikes I've been looking at. And those seem like a better bike, although I would prefer the hub motor and throttle. As part of my deal finding knack - I hate paying full price for something ;) and feel that the RadCity and CCS would suit me well, IF I snagged a deal on one - like $200 off or something - lol. Just hard for me to pay the same price for a direct to consumer RadCity/CCS, when the fit and finish of a Haibike is much better! I do enjoy getting a good value for my dollar, but the lack of throttle is preventing me from the Haibikes. I realize that I'm such a sucker for a good deal / value, and that is strongly pulling me towards the Urban Plus. If only it could adapt the boost-throttle!

Just some more insight into my thought process as I figure this thing out. Ironically, I may go full circle and just get the RadCity which is what originally got me looking at ebikes...!

4 weeks ago

I tried Andy's this morning, had a great time with it :).

My sister just bought Surface 604's Rook, said it is the stores bestselling model (plus the diamond version, Colt, I imagine). Like Juiced, it offers great value compared to the more well known brands.

Car companies like to benchmark their products against rivals, and Juiced could do the same with Surface.

Two thoughts:
1. Chain guard, so that you don't need to cinch your pants. This is a cheap no brainer IMO.
2. Real variable frame sizing. Longer top tubes for bigger sizes, not just bigger seat posts. I know Juiced wants those sweet bulk discounts, but with more sales this would be less of an issue.
3. Also, not sure if the bikes should have a seatpost that's so easy to remove. Markings on the seat post are also cool.

Not really an upgrade, but despite the excitement of others, paying $1000 extra, 50% more, for 18% more watt hours, seems like a tough pill to swallow, for the CCS 48V 19.2 aH vs 21 aH 52V.

bob armani
1 month ago

Surfstar-If you want to buy cheap now and wait for 2019 models, have you considered looking for demo bikes with little wear and tear? You may be able to find one at a very reasonable price and sell it later without taking a big loss...

1 month ago

Bear with me for a lengthy post:

Just got back from my mtb commute - only the second time I’ve ridden to my new job. Used Google Fit for some tracking info. (side note, I think I would put 1500-2500 mi/yr on the bike)

Route: It’s only 5.1 mi, and my ride home has a steady incline of maybe 250’ gain over 2 miles, then mostly flat. I averaged 10mph roughly. My morning commute is of course the opposite, and averages a little faster with the downhill and less traffic. The uphill section usually has the most stops and starts, also.

stop/go factor: on my afternoon commute, since I stick to the main street with a nice bike lane, it has lots of stop lights and if you hit everyone, I can currently keep up with cars. An ebike may let me branch out to other faster streets with no dedicated bike lane, but I would be flowing with traffic, so I could up my speed and still be safe, I imagine. Either way, there is enough stop and go and I only hit a top speed of 16mph currently, so I see no need to rule out 20mph limited bikes now. Realizing that I may have a more stop and go pattern than many users with dedicated bike paths, I am now wondering if a geared hub motor would offer the best performance? Additionally, I do think I would like a throttle…
...which leads me to realizing that I need to at least ride a mid-motor torque pedalec and throttle/hub for test rides, even if they are not the exact models I may be looking at. They do at least have the Haibike locally. Hopefully that will help me determine if I have a preference for either speed sensor and/or throttle.

So, of course, more models keep popping up: Surface 604 Colt - will that be the best options/compromise for me? Is it worth ~$350 more than a RadCity? I can only imagine how the 2019 models may offer even more features for the same $. Which then makes me thing, go cheap, sell and upgrade later on... lol

Just thinking out loud, but also voicing my process as the additional info may give you guys help in any recommendations…

Rich Baum
1 month ago

This is one of the reasons I’m going with the E-Glide ST as not only is it a great bike but it doesn’t scream E- Bike!

Joe EE
2 months ago

Thanks for clarifying that. I didn’t think that sounded like a good idea. I have a Surface 604 Colt that has a quick release front wheel and I guess it’s a convenience but I don’t trust it as much as bolts.

Gordon Lai
2 years ago

Hi guys! It's Gordon from the Surface604 team. We're extremely excited about the future of ebikes and would like to be largely involved with it. A couple days ago, we launched the Surface604 Yunbike C1 and we are very excited to see how the public will perceive the bike. The bike itself was made by Xiaomi and we are partnering up with them to distribute these bikes in North America. It will come in both classic and step-through designs and will be available in Graphite, Mint, Red and White. For more information on the bike, leave a comment or visit us at

If you guys have any questions about any Surface604 bikes, I am more than willing to answer them!

Here is a video so you can see the bike for yourself.

Also, if you're interested in reading more about the bike and how we put this together, take a read at this article one of our writers put together!

Surface 604 presents the Next Generation in Smart E-bikes

Surface 604 has a reputation of offering quality built electric bicycles that give you the freedom to move on two wheels. Our flagship product – the Boar – is a fat-tire e-bike that has proven to be a game changer for those looking for something tough enough to handle the grittiest terrains.

Building on the success of the Boar, Surface 604 has teamed up with Chinese technology giant, Xiaomi, to distribute the next generation of urban commuter electric assist bikes. As such, we are thrilled to introduce the Yunbike C1 to the North American market – a compact, lightweight, and stylishly designed urban e-bike that is affordably priced at just $999.

The C1 has been specifically designed and built for the modern city cyclist. The aluminum frame and lithium ion battery mean that unlike its heavier counterparts, the C1 weighs just 35lbs; perfect for carrying in and out of the apartment and heading off to work. With two frame options – classic or step-through – and a range of colors, these bikes offer something for everyone, without a hint of compromise.

As an electric assist city bike, the C1 provides you with the added boost you need to tackle any hill, without giving up on the joy of pedaling. Imagine cycling to an important meeting without having to worry about losing your breath or breaking a sweat. The battery holds enough power to travel up to 50 km on a full charge, so you never have to think about finding time between appointments to recharge your battery.

What makes the C1 special is not just its agility or the freedom to pedal anywhere life takes you. It offers so many features; you’ll wonder how you lived without them.

The C1 is a smart electric bike, which means that through the built-in smart system that communicates directly with an app on your mobile device, tracking your speed, distance ridden, and battery life is at your fingertips. The handlebar display and throttle also contains a USB port that charges your mobile device as you pedal to your destination. Additionally, the removable battery includes a convenient USB power bank with enough energy for 22 individual device charges.

Even the battery is more than just a power source. Its discrete placement at the rear keeps the design sleek and stylish, as well as providing a built-in rear light. Paired with a front light, the integrated LED system means you’re set for riding into the night.

While budget has played a factor in the growth of electric urban commuters, the C1 – with a retail price of just $999 – is the most affordable electric smart bike on the market, and an excellent option for anyone looking to experience the joy of e-bikes.


2 days ago

I watched the video just for the kitty

5 months ago

Isn't this bike made by Xiaomi?

Maneb Expert
7 months ago

How many km can it run on one battery charge?

Daniel Clement
8 months ago

Great, informative review!

8 months ago

$999 and xiaomi sells them for $459

8 months ago

Buy And forget any Kind of Service for this Product, from Company or dealers.

Skyler King
9 months ago

These bikes cost less than $500, here.

Vas Eelee
9 months ago

Ok this is something really important to me. Why did you pant so hard after the ride? I am worried about the amount of effort it requires. And it looked like you were working quite a bit.

Liz O
11 months ago

Unfortunate for me and other seniors here in FL. We don't want to peddle at all. Got excited about the weight since I wanted to take it on the bus with me. oh well.

Ken Maruska
11 months ago

Hi, i just test rode one of these and immediately purchased it. The ride is nice and the quality of the bike is excellent. The simplicity of this design is a huge positive in my opinion. You don't need disc brakes, full suspension, or a large color LCD to get from A to B.

Lysle Basinger
12 months ago

Tell us about your bicycle rack.

bala murugan
1 year ago

what about the suspension - is it there or not?

Danny secret
1 year ago

That house covered in ivy .. Must be a rat hotel

Mattias Filander
1 year ago

Definitely not a "European thing" to have the front break on the right hand side. More of a motor bike thing. But you just have to swap the cables between the levers on the handle bar to get it the way you are used to.

1 year ago

love your channel! can you please pkease please review the qicycle?

Vincent Li
1 year ago

where can I buy one in USA???

1 year ago

Very good review 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

Jacques Gravelle
1 year ago


Chad Burge
1 year ago

What do you look for before you buy a used bike to make sure you're getting a good deal? I was looking at a used Wave and they do not have charger, anyway to make sure the motor still works without charger? Thanks! Your videos are awesome!!

Jason Kasten
1 year ago

i dont get why the rad wagon you like so much is only 1700 dollars but the xm 700 trek is a whopping 3500 dollars, why is that, i really need your feedback, i have even seen bike kits that do 40 mph on ebay for under a 1000 dollars from china, i just dont get it??