Trek Dual Sport+ Review

Trek Dual Sport Plus Electric Bike Review
Trek Dual Sport Plus
Trek Dual Sport Plus Shimano Steps 250 Mid Motor
Trek Dual Sport Plus 36 Volt 11 Amp Hour Shimano Downtube Ebike Battery
Trek Dual Sport Plus Large Shimano Steps Transflective Display Panel
Trek Dual Sport Plus Sr Suntour Nrx Spring Suspension Fork
Trek Dual Sport Plus 10 Speed Shimano Deore Drivetrain
Trek Dual Sport Plus Shimano Hydraulic Disc Brakes 160 Mm Rear Kickstand
Trek Dual Sport Plus Electric Bike Review
Trek Dual Sport Plus
Trek Dual Sport Plus Shimano Steps 250 Mid Motor
Trek Dual Sport Plus 36 Volt 11 Amp Hour Shimano Downtube Ebike Battery
Trek Dual Sport Plus Large Shimano Steps Transflective Display Panel
Trek Dual Sport Plus Sr Suntour Nrx Spring Suspension Fork
Trek Dual Sport Plus 10 Speed Shimano Deore Drivetrain
Trek Dual Sport Plus Shimano Hydraulic Disc Brakes 160 Mm Rear Kickstand


  • A lightweight, trail-capable, hybrid commuter electric bike, the larger 700c wheelset provides efficient rolling momentum and lower attack angle to smooth out cracks and bumps
  • Shimano STePs mid-drive is responsive, less power hungry than competing products, and relatively quiet, The chainring has a guide to reduce drops and keep your pants clean
  • Excellent Shimano Deore XT 10-speed drivetrain with Shadow Plus clutch to reduce chain bounce and noise, decent Shimano hydraulic disc brakes with average 160 mm rotors
  • Removable battery, display panel, and quick release wheels make the Dual Sport+ easy to transport, store, and service but the charger requires a dongle adapter

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





Dual Sport+



Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Urban, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Years Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

43 lbs (19.5 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.9 lbs (2.67 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.05 lbs (3.19 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)17.5 in (44.45 cm)20 in (50.8 cm)22.5 in (57.15 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Large 20": 23" Reach, 30" Stand Over Height, 24.5" Width, 71.5" Length

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Red Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour NRX DL Spring Suspension, 63 mm Travel, Compression Clicker with Lockout, Preload Adjust, Hydraulic Lockout, 100 mm / 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

135 mm / 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore RD-M615 GS Derailleur with Shadow Plus One-Way Clutch, Shimano CS-HG50 Cassette 11-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore SL-T610 Triggers on Right


Shimano Alloy 170 mm Length Crank Arms, 44T Chainring with Plastic Guide


Wellgo C015 Aluminum Body, Aluminum Cage


FP-H825PL, 1-1/8" Threadless, Black


Bontrager Elite Stem, 90 mm Length, 7° Rise, 31.8 mm Clamp Diameter, One 20 mm Headset Spacer, One 10 mm Headset Spacer


Bontrager Approved Lowriser, 600 mm Length, 31.8 mm Clamp Diameter, 15 mm Rise, 9° Bend, 4° Upsweep, Blast Anodized Black

Brake Details:

Shimano Deore M355 Hydraulic Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Shimano 3-Finger Levers with Adjustable Reach


Bontrager Satellite Elite, Ergonomic Rubber, 130 mm Length, Lock On, Grey with Black Clamps


Bontrager Nebula H1, Black

Seat Post:

Bontrager Aluminum Alloy, 31.9 mm Clamp, 8 mm Offset

Seat Post Length:

330 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm


Bontrager Approved TLR Disc 700c, Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 32 Hole, Black


Stainless Steel, 14G, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Bontrager LT2 Hard-Case Lite, 700 x 38c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

50 to 80 PSI, 3.4 to 5.5 BAR

Tube Details:

Presta Valve


Bontrager Integrated Chainstay Mount Kickstand, ABUS Battery Locking Core


Locking Removable Battery Pack, 3.1 Amp 1.7 Pound Charger with Adapter Dongle, 11.6 Amp Motor Controller, KMC X10e Chain

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Shimano STePs

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Shimano STePS, Down Tube, BT-E6010

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Display Type:

Shimano STePs Large Model SC-E6010, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Transflective Monochrome, Backlit LCD


Speed (mph or km/h), Average Speed, Max Speed, Odometer, Trip Meter, Range, Battery Level Percentage, Assist Mode (Off, Eco, Normal, High), Time Clock

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad near Left Grip (Hold Up and Down for Settings Menu)

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence, and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 70% 30 Nm, Normal 150% 40 Nm, High 230% 50 Nm)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Dual Sport+ is an electrified version of the classic Dual Sport bicycle from Trek, one of the world’s largest bike manufacturers. It’s a model that leans towards efficiency, lightweight design, and quiet operation vs. high torque and raw power that many competing trail and mountain models target. To me, this compromise is a welcome one. Weighing in at just 43 lbs vs. the 50+ that so many other competing products hit, it’s an ebike that feels nimble to ride and is easy to lift up stairs or onto bike racks. Even riding unpowered, the bike feels capable and enjoyable, it coasts efficiently and has a wide enough gear range to manage hills without difficulty. The Dual Sport+ doesn’t come with fenders or a rack stock but it does have mounting provisions in place to add them later on… It even has bottle cage bosses on the seat tube! a feature that so many e-bikes lack due to frame geometry and battery placement compromises. For $3k, you get Shimano hydraulic disc brakes, a 10-speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, and the Shimano STePs drive system all warrantied for two years. The frame comes in four sizes, ensuring a better fit for most riders, but if you’re petite or struggle with taller high-step diamond frames, Trek offers a sister model called the Neko+ with a sloping top tube that’s about five inches lower. Both frames are diamond shaped vs. wave because of the strength it provides which is important for off-road riding. You’ll forego the bottle cages bosses and end up with a sparkly black paint job on the Neko+ vs. the matte black on the Dual Sport+, but it’s a great option to have, and not overly feminine. Most of the components are otherwise the same between the two models. I met a Trek rep named Stephanie Jones in Colorado for this review and she excitedly referred to the Dual Sport+ as a “Colorado commuter” because it works great on paved and packed Earth alike. I guess that’s part of the naming direction as well. It’s not overbuilt like a true mountain bike, but the hybrid knobby tires and 63 mm suspension fork make it capable as a weekend fun bike or a “scenic route” commuting platform. For me, the relative light weight and removable battery and display panel combined with quick release wheels make it a great “everything” bike. As someone who only has enough space and money for one electric bike but enjoys a variety of bike riding activities, it seemed like a great option.

Driving the Dual Sport Plus is an efficient Shimano STePs 250 watt mid-drive motor. It’s compact, relatively quiet, and very durable according to some of the shops I’ve chatted with over the past year. I mentioned that many of the hardware components on this bike come from Shimano, and it might even be a brand you’ve heard of before because they have been designing shifter systems for many years. The STePs motor doesn’t offer as much torque as some of the Yamaha, Brose, or Bosch centerdrives, but I believe it doesn’t use energy as quickly on average or weigh as much. Putting out up to 50 Newton meters of torque, the motor relies on a combination of signals from the controller. It listens to rear wheel speed, pedal cadence, and pedal torque as you spin along. This creates a natural feeling with smooth acceleration that is predictable. It also allows for smoother shifting if you ease off a bit from pressing down on the pedals as you change gears, and this helps to extend the life of the drivetrain (chain, sprockets, and derailleur). The chainring is standard sized and has a plastic guide sandwiching the chain, keeping it on track if you encounter bumpy terrain. The Shimano derailleur has a Shadow Plus clutch mechanism (a little grey lever) that tightens the chain to further reduce the chance of a drop and keep it quiet. During more relaxed smooth rides, you can push this lever into the forward-down position for easier shifting.

Powering the bike is a 36 volt downtube mounted battery pack with Lithium-ion cells. It’s compact, relatively lightweight, and fairly easy to carry because the curved top edge has a recessed area for your hand. I’d call it average in terms of capacity, but the energy is spent efficiently by the mid-motor and if you shift thoughtfully (lower gears for climbing and higher gears for reaching and maintaining the 20 mph top assisted speed) it will offer great range. I love that the battery clicks in from the left side vs. down from the top like most other packs because this reduces the chances of bumping the battery case into the top tube of the frame. It also allows the top tube to be closer to the battery which allows it to be mounted further towards the head tube and make room for those bottle cage bosses. The battery mount is connected to a flattened section of the downtube which was custom designed to keep it lower and nicer looking, blending in with the design of the bike vs. being connected to a standard round tube. You can charge the battery on or off the bike, but one of my gripes is that you need a little adapter piece to do so because the plug design is different on the battery mount vs. the battery itself. If you lose the adapter plug piece, you will only be able to charge the pack when mounted to the bike. In my opinion, the charger is also a bit large and bulky which makes it less fun to lug around.

Operating the Dual Sport+ is a cinch. Once the battery is charged and mounted (and the display is clicked into place) you can press the power button on the battery or hold the black button on the control pad to get it booted up. The display has three menu layouts that provide more or less information but they all show your speed and battery level. I love that the battery indicator shows percentage in one of the readout views vs. just an infographic with five bars. It’s easy to navigate through, but not overwhelming. Shimano has offered two display panels in recent years and this is the larger transflective version. It looks great in bright direct light and is backlit for use in dim conditions as well. With just three buttons to work with, it’s intuitive and easy to use, even without looking down, but offers a surprisingly deep settings area. If you hold the up and down arrows, the settings menu comes up allowing you to change the units, invert the bright and dark areas (which is handy for dim conditions, so the display won’t be so bright), and even turn off the electronic beep that sounds ever time you click the arrow buttons. This is a huge deal for me, the beeping noise can get pretty annoying after a while. The only thing the display does not offer is a USB charging port for your portable electronics. This is a feature that some of the cheaper bikes are offering standard and it can be a great way to use a phone for GPS or just keep your MP3 player filled on a longer ride. All in all, the display panel and button pad work well, are easy to read and reach while riding, and are a big step up from the older square panel in my opinion.

Trek now offers a range of electric bikes but the Dual Sport+ and Neko+ are two of my favorites. I’m not a huge guy and I enjoy pedaling along… but my knee can get sensitive over time and it’s nice to have help climbing trails or just arriving to work without sweating. Being able to lift this bike up stairs, ride across easy dirt paths, and take the battery pack off and into work for a fillup is just right. Yeah, I wish the charger had a leash for the adapter plug (or didn’t require an adapter at all), and yeah I’d love a USB charging port somewhere like Bosch has on their Intuvia display. But I love how open the settings are, it’s a huge deal that the bike comes in so many sizes, and I prefer to buy in person from dealers when possible so Trek (being one of the bigger brands) can offer that. Ebikes are a bit more complex and expensive than regular bikes, so having someone fit you properly and being able to get help or replacement parts in a year or two down the line shouldn’t be overlooked. This is not the most affordable electric bicycle, nor is it feature complete with integrated lights, fenders, or a rack stock, but you can add those things if you need them. The disc brakes work well enough for urban and light trail riding and the hydraulic setup just feels better and is more adjustable than mechanical. Even the larger 700c tires are a nice touch, they roll smoothly and offer better efficiency than 26” but the knobby tires make them trail worthy. By the way, I was test riding the 20″ frame for this review and noticed that on all of the models, the handlebar was a bit shorter than a mountain bike (less wide) which is a nice touch for squeezing through traffic and office doors. I liked the ergonomic grips and riser bar, it felt a bit more upright and comfortable than a lot of the true trail bikes and for me, that was a good thing. Big thanks to Trek for partnering with me on this review and sending Stephanie out to meet me with several bikes to compare back to back. We had a good time and I think I agree that this would make a good Colorado commuting platform :P


  • This is one of the lightest weight electric bikes I have ever reviewed, it’s a cross between an urban commuter and mountain bike capable of light trail riding, so you could cut across dirt paths in the city and maintain traction and comfort
  • Removable display panel and battery can be stored inside if you have to park at a bike rack or leave it outside in the rain/snow and even the wheels have quick release for easy trail maintenance or sticking the bike into the trunk of a car for a weekend getaway
  • Purpose-built frame flattens out a bit at the downtube to make the battery look nicer and sit lower, notice that most of the wires and cables are integrated to keep it looking clean and to reduce snags
  • Available in four frame sizes so you can optimize fit, the Dual Sport+ only comes in high-step but is actually a companion bike to the Neko+ which has a sloping top tube, diamond frames tend to be more stiff and sturdy, are easier to lift, and hang off of many car and bus racks better by using that flat top tube
  • There are plenty of provisions for adding a rear rack, fenders, and even a bottle cage at the seat tube which many other e-bikes aren’t able to squeeze in
  • Hydraulic disc brakes provide smooth stopping power without as much hand and finger effort, they tend to stay cleaner if you do ride through mud or dusty terrain, and the brake levers are adjustable so you can bring the reach in if you have small hands or are wearing gloves
  • The 10-speed Shimano Deore drivetrain is great, it’s a mid-level part that is several steps up from base and not only provides great range for climbing and going fast but allows for multi-shifting and has a one-way clutch to keep the chain tight (just click the little grey lever into the up position to reduce chain bounce on rough terrain), this drivetrain should hold up well between tuneups and is probably overkill for urban riding
  • The bike coasts efficiently and feels smooth over small cracks and bumps because of the larger wheel diameter (lowering the attack angle of the tires) and also because of the rubber knobs on the tires
  • I really appreciate the thick ergonomic grips, comfortable Bontrager Nebula H1 saddle, and 63 mm travel suspension fork with compression adjust and lockout! The blue lever locks the fork out which could reduce bobbing and dive on smooth terrain or for heavier riders
  • Trek is one of the biggest bicycle manufacturers in the world and they have a vast network of dealers who can let you test ride, help you get fitted, and provide warranty and maintenance service
  • The chainring is sandwiched between two plastic discs that help to keep it on track when riding across bumpy terrain and also help your pant leg to not rub or get greasy, it’s a great setup for a trail-worthy ebike like this
  • I’ve become a big fan of the Shimano STePs display + button pad system, the LCD panel is transflective so it looks great in bright daylight conditions and has some adjustability of settings if you hold the up and down arrow buttons for a few seconds when it’s on, this allows you turn off the beeping noise, change the units, and even invert the display colors for night riding, I also like that the readout shows battery percentage vs. just a five-bar infographic like many others
  • Battery and motor weight are well positioned, low and center across the frame, and I love how efficient and responsive the motor is, this electric bike handles well and doesn’t surprise you with jerky acceleration, it actually measures how hard you are pedaling and tries to match it smoothly which has the added benefit of reducing drivetrain wear when you shift… if you just ease off a bit on pedaling as you shift


  • Minor consideration here, the disc brakes are average sized with 160 mm rotors vs. 180 at the front, they might not cool as efficiently or provide the stopping power for true mountain biking or long steep descents (especially with the wider 700c wheels), but they are good for urban and light trail riding
  • I’m a big fan of rear-mounted kickstands because they stay out of the way of your crank arms, but this one is also placed strategically to support the weight of a rack and cargo if you add it post-purchase, my gripe is that it does not allow for length adjustment and seemed kind of short during my review, the bike tipped pretty far to the left side
  • As great as the knobby tires and suspension fork are, they are still a compromise towards reduced weight and ride efficiency vs. full comfort… so I’d consider swapping the seat post with a 27.2 mm adjustable Bodyfloat or Suntour NCX suspension post, just keep in mind that these products will raise the minimum saddle height by a few inches which could make the seating position too high for some riders
  • In recent years, Shimano has updated their battery design to allow for on and off-bike charging, but this particular pack requires a special adapter to do so. If you lose the adapter dongle (which is easy to do because it doesn’t have a connector leash to the main charger cord) you could be out of luck for off-bike charging or have to buy a replacement, it’s just bulky and less convenient than if there was only one charging port plug type


More Trek Reviews

Trek Verve+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A versatile city electric bike with sturdy paint-matched aluminum fenders, a bright and aimable headlight as well as a flashing backlight (both are powered by the main battery), and mounting points for a bottle cage and rear rack. Surprisingly comfortable, the wider tires provide cushion and stability, the saddle and suspension seat post…...

Trek Lift+ Lowstep Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable, low-step, cruiser style electric bike with balanced motor and battery position, multiple fun color choices, and several sizes (also available in high-step). Nicer 10-speed drivetrain with clutch for reducing chain bounce and slap, easy to pull hydraulic…...

Trek CrossRip+ Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A lightweight, high speed, electric road bike with sturdy 12 mm thru-axle on the front wheel, Carbon fiber fork, and Alpha 200 Gold alloy frame to dampen vibration. Capable and comfortable on hard packed trails as a gravel grinder, sturdy Aluminum fenders and…...

Trek Neko+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sporty hybrid electric bike offering a blend of efficiency and trail capability, suspension fork with lockout, hydraulic disc brakes. Removable battery and display panel reduce weight when lifting and transporting the bike, quick release…...

Trek Super Commuter+ 8S Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A streamlined, feature-complete, commuter style electric bike with Class 3 high-speed operation (up to 28 mph), available through a wide network of dealers. 11-speed Shimano SLX drivetrain offers plenty of range for comfortable pedaling at low and high…...

Trek Powerfly 8 FS Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A full suspension trail bike from one of the "big three" brands in the US, it offers 130 mm travel with custom tuning for the added weight and power of the bike, excellent weight distribution. Quick-release wheels, removable battery, and removable display make the bike flexible and easy to transport…...

Trek XM700+ Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017, 2018

A sleek, light weight, speed pedelec capable of reaching ~28 mph, built around the Bosch Performance Speed drive system and a Shimano SLX 10 speed drivetrain. Integrated plastic fenders and chain guard keep you clean and are reinforced to reduce rattle…...

Trek Conduit+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A light weight, high-step only electric bike with premium fenders, pannier rack and integrated LED lights that would be perfect for commuting or short range touring. Delivers Shimano hydraulic disc brakes, a 10 speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore derailleur and quality…...

Trek Lift+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A light weight, efficient and more upright city style electric bike with a two year warranty, features an adjustable stem and is available in both high-step and step-thru frame styles in four sizes for improved fit. Leverages the Shimano STePs drive system keeping weight low and centered across the frame, the…...

2011 Trek FX+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,679
  • MODEL YEAR: 2010, 2011

An efficient road-style electric bike with narrow slick tires and carbon fiber fork available in five frame sizes. Integrated LED lights run off the main battery pack, lots of additional mounting points for…...

2011 Trek Transport+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,679
  • MODEL YEAR: 2011

One of the earliest mass produced electric cargo bikes in the US (available in 2011) offered a purpose built frame with lots of attachment points (front basket, rear rack, running boards and included cargo bag). High-end drive system from BionX, rebranded as "Electric Propulsion Systems" EPS by Trek offering smooth,…...

Stephen Bookout
6 months ago

The Trek Dual Sport electric bike sounds like best choice for me but have not been able to find a Trek Dealer who has one in stock, or willing to order one, without me purchasing ahead of time. Any ideas on how to find a Trek dealer who might have one available for me to test ride? Or, be able to contact Trek direct for help?

Enjoy your reviews. Good information. Thanks.


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

1 hour ago

I cross shopped these and a CCS. Ended up buying an ST1 on clearance.
I think I would have enjoyed the cobi more than my simple interface I have now, to be honest. Originally the cobi was seen as a potential negative.
The Urban Plus is a solid bike and great deal at it's 1/2 off price.

You should buy from a local dealer as haibike has some language that makes it seem like the warranty is between you and the place you bought it from. Not like a car that you could take to any Manu. dealer for warranty work.

6 hours ago

Brick and mortar stores could initially compete with online merchants because of ship times and charges associated with online purchases. Along comes Amazon Prime and now the shipping wait and cost are no more. Until CarMax came along, you had to brush up on your martial arts skills and poker face to fend off the circling car salesmen at the dealership. Now, you see the car online, kick the tires at the CarMax lot and go inside and tell the salesperson you want to take a test drive. The price on the sticker is non-negotiable.

I supported my LBS when I bought my last non-ebike and I had a good experience. When I brought it back for maintenance, not so much. I got the impression that the LBS was happy to sell me a $600 Trek, but not really interested in the post-sale tune-up. If a customer isn't going to get over-the-top service after the sale, they're going to start asking, "Why do I need this middleman to buy the bike in the first place?" People start looking online like they do with other products and gamble that they're going to be happy with the bike without taking a demo ride first.

Personally, I think the individual that's going to come out on top of all this retail downsizing as it relates to LBS is the one working out of his Velofix van. If I had the talent, guts, and the savings, I might give it a go.

9 hours ago

The Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires will be difficult to deal with if you don't remove the wheel from the bike. I just put a set of the same tires on my Trek non-ebike last weekend and I can't imagine trying to pop one side off in order to patch the tube and then pop it back on without being able to manhandle it off the bike. If you didn't install the Schwalbes yourself, review the steps in this to become familiar with the process to make it easy. I also recommend the, and make sure you have cable ties and something to cut the ties off when you're done.

Ken M
16 hours ago

Rad Power interestingly has ebikes with both geared and direct drive hub motors - maybe the only company that has both which allows for a unique comparison opportunity. I do believe that the result of a comparison will come down to how hilly the environment is where most of the riding / commuting will take place. A geared hub motor will be a bit better on hills (assuming somewhat similar wattage ratings) but the simplicity of a direct drive hub in my mind is preferable when the performance is adequate for where it's going to be used.

I ride about 13 miles each way to work 2-3 days a week in the Denver area (some hills but not really significant), I'm 56 years old, and I really like the performance of the Polaris Diesel (Power in Motion) eBike with the direct drive 750W nominal (900W peak) motor. I have a Haibike Trekking model with a Yamaha PW that is great if I just like to cruise in at slower speeds (the assist thru the drive train just falls off fast due to the gear ratio at higher speeds - the Bosch is less succeptable to this because of the 2.5 X front smaller sprocket speed but still is impacted).

Jeffrios...where are you located? If in the Denver area maybe we should try to hook up and you can take my bikes for a spin. I don't want to plug sales on EBR but I'm working with PIM on an urban commute model eBike with carbon forks, integrated bars/stem, and suspension seat post (like the Canyon / Ergon flexible carbon seatpost - actually very effective at absorbing most road vibrations and smaller impacts). This model will be available last April but I have a prototype in Denver.

1 day ago

I think, if possible, you should try them out to see which you need. Of course, if money isn't a real consideration, then 2 motors might be perfect!

I weigh about the same, And I ride all the time with heavy loads - including carrying my 145 pound, 12 year old son, on the back. Several times last year during summer on my day off (monday) or telework day (Friday) I would pick him up from camp. Now, we weren't climbing HUGE hills and I was pedaling the entire time, but we never had issues with the hills. On one steep-ish (short) one I would turn it all the way up and use throttle and have it in easiest gear, but that was still to take it at a decent clip, not anywhere close to falling over.

But that is the extent I would need such a bike. I don't plan to do big, long hills or big treks with this thing. It's my commuter/around town bike.

John from Connecticut
1 day ago


I quickly checked out the Pedigo Bomerang and noticed one difference between it and the Townie Go. The Townie Go
design is such that the crank is forward of the seat down tube, thus when you come to a stop the only place your feet can
go the pavement. The Pedigo Bomerang crank/pedal design is much more 'typical' .

The Townie-Go is ridden in a very upright position ala sitting in a chair which contributes to it's safety. Regarding your tech
question about type of motor battery, controller etc to buy, those questions have all been 'answered' vis the Bosch Power system
standard on the Townie.

As mentioned prior in Bosch Performance line motor and battery and the Intuvia Controller are one of
the best systems, if not the best out there. I have two e-bikes with the exact same power system and they've worked
flawlessly. The motors are powerful and silky smooth. Trek, which owns Townie is fantastic for customer support.I've had several
occasions to take advantage of their service.

You asked about throttle...That is a personal choice, no right or wrong. I'm not a fan of throttles. To me throttles remove the
direct and real tactile connection between the rider and the bike when they are used.

Regarding bike manufacturers there are other quality e-bike companies in addition to Trek, but this is a good place to start. You may want
to check out the review video below of a Gazelle Arroyo. A forum poster listed last week and it is a really nice high quality bike. The price
reflects is, but everything about this bike class...I like this bike.

John from CT

John from Connecticut
1 day ago

Hello Sherry,
Welcome, Have you checked out the Trek Electra Townie Go ? The bike is incredibly stable, very well built
and has a Bosch Power system which is top of the line.... Here's Court's review.

John from CT

2 days ago

Nice with some fellow swedes here! The ebike sales in Sweden has really increased alot since the government subsidy was introduced.

I would check out on the site before deciding to buy from them. The economic numbers doesnt look that good.

Have you got any response from Sunstorm? I might stop by their shop (Batteridoktorn) and check it out.

Nova Haibike
2 days ago

Of the four you listed, I would not recommend the Cannondale, because of the proprietary fork. While their Headshok is pretty reliable and easy to work on, it is still proprietary. Also, it is an ugly bike. LOL. The R&M is more expensive relative to the other two. The Bulls is the best value; it is the only one with an air fork.

A couple of other bikes that look good to me are the Moustache Friday 27 Speed and the Trek Crossrip+. I like the Moustache for its bulletproof wheels. It is a rigid bike, but to me that is a plus; it is lighter and there is no suspension to service...the tires will offer plenty of cush on their own. I like the Trek because (for me) there is nothing more comfortable for longer rides than a good set of drop bars.

2 days ago

Police model is nice.

Thought that guy posted saying Trek didn't have them (XM 700)?

John from Connecticut
2 days ago

I drive a 1993 Honda Accord, have two Trek e-bikes, combined weight 95 lbs.

I purchased this Saris 2 bike rack ( no longer available ) last summer which I love.... .

My Draw Tite hitch came from

Both Saris and eTrailer were fantastic answering questions and support. The Draw Tite hitch makes
for extremely install and removal of the Saris rack, which I do after each time I use it. I hope this was helpful.

John from CT

3 days ago

Trek Bontrager rack, select by frame size:

Third Eye Bar End Mirror, folding and quickly adjusted, strong mount:

Seat Post: whatever 31.6mm you like

I'll add a bell. The Spurcycle is pricey but it is beautifully made, all metal and very sturdy. It has the best ring tone I've heard in forty years of bicycling.

8 months ago

Larry is your PF7 a 2016 or 2017 model

Larry Ganz
11 months ago

It's funny how a heavy motorcycle feels safe and planted at highway speeds to me (cruiser or sport), but a Trek eMountain bike feels too light and less planted = pretty scary flying downhill above 30-35mph (but much safer than the Dual Sport+ hybrid trail with it's steeper steering angle).

Larry Ganz
11 months ago

Great story!

I sometimes wonder if I made the right choice with the Powerfly 7 instead of the 8FS, but I've always felt that a hardtail was more efficient when climbing and that's the big reason I needed an eBike - with my health I can't climb without pedal assist.

The Powerfly 7 hardtail is still great on the trails, and the 29x2.3" tires seem to roll pretty easily over rocks/roots and on the pavement for long rides to get to the trails. I have settled on pressuring the tires up to 50psi for the street and down to 30 for the trails, but it does well off road even at 45psi. When I'm on pavement at 30psi I do feel like I need more pedal assist than when aired up to the max.

I found my Powerfly 7 to give me a better riding position than the XM700+ commuter or the Dual Sport+ hybrid trail that I tried out, both of which had too much weight on my wrists and made my hands go to sleep too quickly. I still went with a shorter steeper stem to move my handlebars up and back a little, but the shop tried a similar stem on the XM700+ for me to test ride the bike, and it didn't help.

So you may still want to consider new wheels/tires for commuting rather than investing $$$ into a second bike. The money you save could get you a second battery, and it's not that hard to swap the wheels out - unless you really are just dying for a second commuter eBike that can hit 28mph like the Supercommuter or a Specialized Vado 5.0.

Larry Ganz
11 months ago

I would expect that for a fairly heavy person that a more powerful motor with a lot of torque is more important than it's speed rating.

For example, if you were considering something from Trek (which I researched a lot before buying), I would have recommended the 20mph 75NM Powerfly over the 28mph 63NM XM700+ speed pedelec, because the slower bike has more torque to get a heavier person moving, especially on hills. At 215 lbs I didn't have any trouble climbing with a 50NM Dual Sport+ at 200%, but the 75NM Powerfly makes steep hills almost effortless at 300% assist.

The Vado 5.0 seems to give you both high speed and 90NM torque, with a larger battery to support the extra power you might draw (350W vs 250W of the 3.0). Regardless, with the mid-drive taking advantage of the gearing I'd expect most of these bikes with over 50NM to work up to 250lbs (max rating for Trek), depending on the number of hills you have to pull.

With both offering 90NM torque, maybe your choice could be based on (1) big price difference and (2) whether you will be riding in places that only allow a class 1 eBike (eliminating the 5.0).

However, Court has the Vado 3.0 and 5.0 both listed as providing lower % levels of assist than Trek, at 20% ECO, 50% Sport, and 100% Turbo. I don't know if that is a typo, but I fear that you'd have to own extremely powerful legs to get the full 90NM out of the motor at only 100% assist. I've run into some hills that have required the 200% support level that the Trek eBikes offer, and some where I was stuck at 5-7 mph uphill if I chose to stick with only 100% support, but I am disabled with only one working lung and fibromyalgia.

I've tried the same steep hill with a 50NM Dual Sport+ and 75NM Powefly 7, and 100% was almost not enough in some parts of my climb, although it was doable at slower speeds. But the 120% assist of the Powerfly in Tour mode was a noticeable bump over the 100% of the Dual Sport+ in NORM mode - and that same hill with 200% pedal assist doesn't make me stop to rest and sees 10+ mph speeds (while my 300% feels like cheating).

I'll have to go watch Court's video reviews now.

EDIT - I mention the hills, even though your ride is flat, because hills make the bike perform as if I'm heavier than I am, which could replicate your experience with an extra 30 lbs to push.

Larry Ganz
12 months ago

We live in a hilly area, and our Trek mid-drive eBikes are a breeze to ride up steep (10% or more) hills, using the proper gearing to get a good cadence rate and power delivery. Mine is a Powerfly 7 eMTN bike with 75NM Bosche system, and my wife's is a Neko+ trail/hybrid with 50NM Shimano Steps system.

Before buying, I test drove a friend's 350 watt hub motor eBike with my 215 lb weight, and if my speed dropped too slow then the motor assist became useless as it fell below it's powerband. With the Trek mid-drive (including the Dual Sport+ with Steps that I test rode before buying) we can drop to first gear and pull the hills in the lowest assist mode (ECO) at 4-5 mph, or kick it up to 200% assist (HIGH or SPORT) and fly up the hills at over 10-15 mph. We tend to use the least amount of boost that will allow us to climb, to get a better workout, so we'll use the lower two power levels the most, even if it means going slower. At those slow speeds the hub motor could not help propel me uphill.

So, after putting 115 miles on our bikes in the first month of ownership, with big elevation changes and climbs on each ride, I could not see myself going with a hub motor for pedal assist. I like how well the mid-drives integrate both torque sensing and cadence into calculating the boost, and how they allow the gears to assist the motor for climbing. On steep mountain bike trails the 300% boost of the Bosche has come in handy in the lower gears when I can't go fast to keep up momentum, but need to power through a tough climb over rocks and roots.

Larry Ganz
1 year ago

Thanks, I'm looking forward to your next report. We plan to take a long but relatively flat ride along the river bike path in town this Sunday, and I'm looking forward to seeing what the range estimate will show after that easier ride. Then I'll have an idea of my bike's best range under better conditions, and I hope that the range will double over what I'd get in the steep hills.

The following weekend we plan to do the same ride at Garden of the Gods that I did with the Dual Sport+ two weeks ago. On that 10 mile ride I used up 22% of the Dual Sport+ battery, and I estimated that I'd get a total 45 miles on the battery at that discharge rate - which matched the avg estimate from the bike's computer. So we'll see how the PF7 compares under those conditions.

Unfortunately, based on a 5-bars battery meter, I wont be able to see actual % used like you can with the dual sport - when the first bar goes away I know I'm at 80%, and when the second bar goes away I know I'm down to 60%, with no way to know when I'm at 90% or 70%, etc. They should offer a flash ROM update for s better battery gauge.

NOTE - When I first picked up the bike last Saturday it had been ridden by the shop mechanic on flat ground to test it after assembly, and it was showing 27/34/45/88 miles on the display at the different power levels. When I got home I gave it a full charge, and it was showing 29/36/48/94 before I took it out on the hills for the first time. Then I rode it 6 miles to the bottom of the hill and back home with my son twice, plus a shorter 4 mile ride by myself. After those 16 miles on the hills, and topping it off each time, I get the current 12/15/20/40 estimate.

Larry Ganz
1 year ago

Thanks. I'm trying to avoid a rack if possible - I wear a camelback for my gear, but don't want the added weight of a u-lock inside that, as sometimes I'll have an oxygen C-tank in there if I'm riding above 7500-8000 feet elevation (one working lung, so without eBike I needed the tank for every ride around here).


It's quite well built, with nice welds and workmanship - everything is perfect except the following. I was surprised that the rear axel is not a 15mm thru axel like the front, but is a 9mm mountain bike quick release with slots instead (didn't know if this was typical). The seat padding is nonexistent, but if you get your butt back far enough it's livable, although I replaced it with a slim foam seat that's a little thicker. They also didn't run the derailleur cable inside the frame like with their other eBikes, so it runs along the right side of the lower frame while the rear brake line still runs along the left side. Lastly, I was surprised that the Deore XT shift lever doesn't display which gear I'm in for reference, while the feature is on the other 3 bikes.

It FITS me much better than the 50mm XM700+ that they originally ordered for me, or the 18" Neko+ and 17.5" Dual Sport+ that they had in stock. They did put a 17 degree riser on the handlebar stem (I think a 17x90), after having seen the issues I had on the other 3 bikes. With the riser the riding position is perfect - I've been able to ride down the 1140 foot hill from my house to the shopping center and back up to my home twice (6 mile trip each time), and my hands never went to sleep like with the Dual Sport+ and Neko+. I can lift the front wheel about 1" off the ground when straddling the bar, and I can just get my toes on both feet down to the ground when sitting on the seat.

VS the DUAL SPORT+: Despite the higher weight I still can hop up curbs fairly easily, and the fatter tires absorb the bumps better. At high speeds downhill on the road the PF7 is more stable and not as scary as the Dual Sport+ which put too much weight on my hands and seemed absolutely twitchy. I also have more confidence in the PF7's larger brakes and it's fatter tires which have a tight enough knobby pattern to work well on pavement and dirt. With the PF7 I could lean the bike farther in turns with more confidence, due to the larger contact patch.

BATTERY RANGE: My only concern is that the battery clearly isn't going to last as long as the Dual Sport+. After the ride on hilly roads yesterday and then giving it a full charge, it was estimating the battery will give me 16-48 miles on my next ride (in high vs low power). That's vs 30-55 miles estimated by the Dual Sport+ after the same ride and re-charging procedure. This includes my going to ECO or OFF whenever the ride is flat but requires pedaling, or downhill without pedaling. Before my riding it hard yesterday, the PF7 was estimating 29-94 miles, after only 1/4 mile of an easy flat-ground test ride by the shop after they assembled it.

After a quick 4 mile ride today (with only a 600 foot climb) and before I put it back on the charger, the PF7 estimated that I still had 13-42 miles of battery left to keep riding (13 miles in TURBO, 16 miles in SPORT, 21 in TOUR, and 42 in ECO mode). I would have been able to complete todays ride in only ECO and TOUR mode in the low gears, but I really needed SPORT and TURBO to finish it with decent double digit speed.

So, with a mix of all 4 power levels I believe that I could go an additional 18-21 miles on this hilly terrain; however, I'd prefer to have 30 to last a weekend before charging. But the 32 mile round-trip ride that we have planned this summer is fairly flat with only a slight climb of 300-400 feet over the first 16 miles, and slightly downhill on the way back, with two short hills both directions. So I should be able to make that particular 30+ mile trip just fine.

POWER: I'm not convinced that TURBO (300%) feels stronger than SPORT (200%) when I'm pulling a hill while seated in higher gears with a slower cadence. However, in the lower gears with a higher cadence I can really feel the increase in power on the hills. Unfortunately I poop out with a cadence rate about 65+, and tend to cruise at 50-60 rpm in higher gears, so I wont get as much benefit from TURBO except on a really hard steep hill at low speeds.

Larry Ganz
1 year ago

Jeff, I was a little confused when you wrote here on Feb 16 2017 that you had a Powerfly 7, sorry as I saw elsewhere you had the 8FS+ model.

Anyway, I brought the Dual Sport+ loaner back to the shop tonight, and after further discussion with the shop owner and salesman I went with the Powerfly 7. It'll be here next week. I have only owned mountain bikes for the past 25 years (Huffy, then Trek, and currently a Kona Nunu mountain bike) and trying to ride a street or hybrid road/trail bike just didn't feel as good as what I'm used to riding, even though I do less time on the dirt than when I was younger.

It would have taken a little bit more work to get the riding position more upright with the Dual Sport+, if I had decided to buy the loaner (it was new but with 17 miles on it when I took it home Saturday, and I put another 13 miles on it). I certainly don't plan to have them order the Powerfly for me, and then tell them I'd rather have the Dual Sport+ after all. If anything would make me unhappy with the Powerfly 7 I think it would only be the range, only if it's not as good as I have estimated above.

My wife is slightly frustrated that I didn't see the sky blue Powerfly 5 before we ordered her black Neko+ because it's prettier. She saw the 18" Neko+ in the shop and picked that model in small over the small low-step orange Lift+ they had, and she'd never complained about the color. But she's already struggling to pick up the 42 lb Neko+ and the Powerfly 5 women's bike is 4 lbs heavier.

I'm slightly frustrated with myself that I didn't see it, because we'd be able to swap Bosche batteries. It's too late now - I can't screw around the bike shop forever with changes, especially when she likes the fit of the Neko+. She'd always ridden road bikes and hasn't owned a mountain bike, and the Neko+ as a hybrid trail bike fit's her perfectly. A PF5 women's model might have been a poor fit for her needs, and then we would have declined delivery of both bikes we ordered.

Larry Ganz
1 year ago

So, would most of that apply to the Powefly 7 that I'm considering (has 500WH batt)?

I think in the Powerfly 7 that I'm considering that the cables to the rear for shifter and brakes runs next to the frame, but that's the least important issue. The XM700+ has been ruled out before the weekend, and I've been evaluating the Dual Sport+ on Sat and Sunday, as the don't have a Powerfly in stock.

I'm reading above that you can go almost 20 miles in turbo with Powerfly 8FS+ and still have enough juice left for your wife to finish the ride with your battery if you swap to hers. Unfortunately my wife is on a Neko+ with Shimano Steps. That's why I'm testing out a Dual Sport+ that I have to return tonight, or keep it and get it sized for me.

The Shimano has three power levels, or off, and I spent most of my time in OFF, ECO, or NORM and only needed HIGH for a few of the harder hills. We are on hilly roads but not off-road trying to climb a trail. I imagine off-road climbing a trail that I'd be in HIGH/SPORT or TURBO mode more often, but that will be rare vs more civil bike trails and paths that we'll ride. So, I believe that my range will be a bit higher, and I have been estimating 30 miles with a mix of power levels.

The Dual Spor+t Riding position is more aggressive than I'd like, leaving me angled more forward like with a street touring bike. Will the Powerfly 7 seating position be more upright as I'm guessing from the bike's geometry numbers?



Larry Ganz
1 year ago

Jeff - knowing that you have a Powerfly 7 and that you gave me advice in your XM700+ mods thread, I also posted many of these questions there first. Could you answer a few questions please?

I'm new here, so sorry if this gets to be a pain, and sorry it's so long - in person discussing each point pro and con could be made more easily and be less cumbersome.

I would like to make a decision by tomorrow afternoon between ordering the Powerfly 7 or buying the DualSport+ that I had on extended test ride this weekend. I'm torn trying to decide right now.

From the frame specs, the PF7 might fit me better without making me reach so far for the bars, as with the DS+ I keep finding myself trying to sit on the front part of the seat. Otherwise I don't have any major gripes about the DS+ where I have been on rides yesterday and today that I could NEVER do on a regular bike.

SPEED QUESTION: I decided to skip the XM700+ since it feels too tall for me and it's a class 3 bike that can be treated differently from a regular bicycle, where I might be forbidden from riding in places where my wife's Neko+ is allowed. But I loved the Bosche's extra power, although it almost seemed like the XM700+ motor was holding me back once I hit the top speed limiter, where the pedal resistance really went up and held me back. I'll be mostly riding with my wife who rarely goes past 15-20mph, so a 20mph limit isn't a major issue.

But does the Powerfly 7 (or your XM700+) seem to hold you back if you want to go over the limiter speed under your own steam? The DualSport+ Shimano motor cuts out at 20mph but I could hit 26mph on flat ground for briefs periods of time while pedaling.

POWER QUESTION: On the DualSport+ extended test ride I noticed it has a power output gauge that shows whether you are using just a little bit or a lot of the motor's potential output - a black bar on the LCD stretches out from left > right as you put more force into the pedals or as you click to a higher power level. I maxed out the line several times in a few places along the route on the ride today. I was able to push through those tough spots, but in HIGH power I had to drop it down to one of the 3 lowest gears in a few climbs in order to maintain a high enough cadence rate to keep it at 5-8mph while using full power.

The Shimano power assist seemed to be greater with a high cadence/pedal rate, and it tops out at 50NM torque vs 75NM of the Powerfly 7. How does your Powerfly 7 handle pedal assist in the higher gears vs lower gears? i.e. can it push through using a higher gear than recommended at low speed (grunt), or are you also forced to downshift to get your cadence up in order to get more output?

With my health issues, today's ride would have been an impossible without an eBike. I could happily live with the DualSport+ power output for the types of rides we'll most often go on. But I'm afraid that someday I'll go on a new ride for the first time where I'll find it to be more challenging than I expected for the Shimano's power output. Do you think the 75NM torque is enough reason to get the Powerfly 7, or do you think the DualSport's greater range in HIGH power would be more beneficial because then I could leave it in HIGH more often and not wear myself or the battery out too fast?

RANGE QUESTION: So my previous question leads to the next issue. I'm mostly worried about range on hilly paved roads and hilly packed gravel roads with the Powerfly 7 vs the DualSport+. I can't find a published estimated range for the Powerfly 7, while I've read numbers of 30-75 miles with the Shimano powered bikes, and read about 15-65 miles for the Bosche powered XM700+, depending on conditions.

Today we rode 10 miles on hilly pavement with a cumulative elevation gain of over 1600 feet. We started out at the high point, rode downhill, pedaled back up, and then repeated this 5 mile loop once. By the end of the ride my DS+ battery had dropped to 78%, and my wife's Neko+ was down to 86% - potentially giving me a 45 mile range vs my wife's 70 mile range.

My goal is to have at least 30 miles of range with the PF7 on a ride like this, but the XM700+ that I tried was estimating that I'd only go 19 miles in TURBO, 21 in SPORT, 24 in TOUR, with 55 in ECO.

Using the above XM700+ range estimates, I calculate that if I went about 25 miles in ECO mode then I'd still have 50% of battery available for use in TURBO or SPORT mode, which would translate to at least 10 more miles, for a 35 mile ride (depending on conditions). Since the PF7 has a 500WH battery pack with lower top speed than the XM700+, and based on your experience, how much better range would the PF7 get vs the XM700+ or DS+ in general?

I'm trying to estimate how this would all translate to the Powerfly 7, and I assume that if it has 30% less range than the DS+ today, that it could still complete a ride like this for 30 miles before running out of juice.

OTHER CONCERNS: I like the USB charging port, which only the Bosche Treks have. I also like that the Powerfly 7 has bigger brakes and wider tires than the Dual Sport+, but I worry that the fatter tires would make it harder to pedal with the motor off.
Do the benefits to ride quality and traction from the fatter 29x2.3" tires outweigh the added rolling resistance of the PF7 tires for long rides on pavement and packed gravel, or is increased rolling resistance not even an issue with the PF7?

The DS+ and Neko+ have everything but the hydraulic brakes run through the frame.
Does the Powerfly have anything internally wired through the frame like the others, because it doesn't appear so in the photos?

Does the PF7 have a quick release rear wheel like the Dual Sport+, and can a kick stand be added that works as well as the one on the DS+? (can't find pics of the bike's left side)

Do you have any other advice that you can share?

Larry Ganz
1 year ago

So now I'm officially off-topic, sorry. I didn't take the XM700+.

By the time I was going to add a 500WH battery, knobby tires, and Rock Shox Paragon Gold forks I'd be up there in price between a Powerfully 7 and 8FS+. The bike shop didn't put up any resistance regarding letting me change my deposit from the XM700+ to either a Dual Sport+ (in stock) or Powerfly 7 (must order). They're just putting the XM700+ on the sales floor to sell. My two concerns between the two new choices are riding position and standover height.

Of the two choices I've given myself, I'd still prefer one with a Bosche drivetrain (which can be hacked) that has 75NM torque vs 50NM of the Shimano steps drivetrain. I also like that Bosche can charge my phone with my USB adapter, and has a more responsive motor. But after them fetching me an XM700+ and then finding out it's not the right bike for me, I don't want to ask them to order another one until I've ruled out the DualSport+ that they have on hand.

In order to help me rule out/in the Dual Sport+ they let me try out the 17.5" bike on the streets around the shop, and it's certainly adequate, but the riding position is more aggressive than the XM700+ (or the Powerfly 7 based on specs on paper). While riding I'm bent over at a sharper angle so that it's harder to breath with only one working lung and a large tidal volume to compensate for that.

The Powerfly 7 specs for the same size bike looks like I'd be in a more upright riding position without being crowded between the seat and bars. However, the standover on the Dual Sport+ or 8FS+ is a nice and short 75mm vs the Powerfly 7 at 79mm. So the PF7 standover is only 1cm lower than the XM700+ (every little bit counts). The shop says the DualSport+ would have less rolling resistance with the narrower 700x38 tires vs the 29x2.3" tires on the PF7, but they have a vested interest in making me choose the DS+. More rolling resistance can be made up with the more powerful motor, at the expense of slightly less range.

Anyway, to see if the Dual Sport+ was strong enough to get me up the hill to our house, they let us take it home on a two day drive-test till Monday. We paid for an picked up my wife's Neko+ while we were at the bike shop, so we could ride together. With the 250W/50NM Shimano Steps drivetrain we were able to do the 6.79 mile round trip with 1140 foot climb up from the shopping center to my house and back down (per my Apple watch).

I had to use a mix of ECO, NORM, and HIGH power, and I definitely had to use HIGH more often than my wife did, who is very good shape. It would be nice to know if we take a new route that the Bosche would have some extra oomph to keep me out of trouble, but I could make it with this one. However, going downhill puts a lot of pressure on my wrists and made my hands tingle after 10 minutes, although it did the same to my wife on her Neko+.

So, we're going to ride more on Sunday, but my wife is pushing for me to just get the DualSport+ and my son is pushing me to get the Powerfly 7 with fatter tires and moar power, because I think he wants to inherit the bike if I die soon.

Larry Ganz
1 year ago

Well, I have a dilemma, from issues on multiple fronts, and need help with a decision. Mostly about bike size, but a little about whether I picked the wrong bike style just to get the more powerful Bosche 350W vs 250W motor (while trying to figure out how the 250W gets 75NM torque vs only 63 from the 350W motor).

The bike came in and is at the bike shop. It would have been ready this weekend but Trek shipped it without a key to remove the battery. So the Trek representative has to come to the shop early next week (Mon/Tues) to re-key the battery lock. He is willing to give me the lock core and keys from his Trek Powerfly so that I don't have to wait too long to get new ones. I have no idea how he plans to remove the current lock core when the battery is locked onto the bike (it shipped assembled, wheels and all, except for the handle bars not installed).

Unfortunately, in the meantime this 50mm bike is very tall for me, and it's the smallest XM700+ they make. Just standing over the top tube is a "nut crusher". I'm 5-9 (215 lb) with a 30" inseam for my pants (31" pants tend to drag the ground a little) and the standover is about 80mm, which is 31.5". I've only owned mountain bikes for the past 25 years and a tall road bike is new to me. When straddling the top tube I can only lift the bike front tire up 1/4 to 1/2" before my nuts are in my throat and it won't go higher, and the dealer says this is normal.

Not only is the top tube a nut crusher, but with the proper seat height to reach the pedals with full leg extension I can only get one foot down on the ball of the foot if I don't come off the seat. If I don't slide off the seat I feel like I'll fall over, and again the dealer says this is normal.

If I slide forward off the seat to straddle the top tube (not recommended as per above) then I barely have any room between the seat and handle bars to maneuver the bike at a walking pace. This is because the bike with swept back bars may be too short in length for me (yet too tall at the same time). The shop wants me to try it with a 90x100 stem at 15-17 degrees to move the bar up and forward so I still have a relaxed riding position and weight off my wrists.

Next, the suspension travel seems much shorter than 35mm (about half that), and I wanted to be able to ride a few trails with my wife on her Neko+ and I'm worried that the street tires and short travel will be a problem. That's why I considered the Paragon Gold forks that Jeff is rocking, and maybe losing the street tires and fenders for larger and more aggressive knobby tires. But without fenders I'd still only be able to go up to a 42 or 45 tire to fit inside the fork and rails (it has 40c on the bike now).

Additionally, I'm being told that some bikes are too fast to be allowed onto some trails, and that the XM700+ could get me into trouble here in Colorado. I'm sold on only the Bosche system (no Shimano please), and wanted the 350W motor on the XM700+ as I'm 215 lbs with one working lung at 6000+ feet, and need to be able to climb 800 feet over 2.7 miles to get back to my house, with a grade that varies from 2% to 10% (avg 6%). I had no idea at the time the Powerfly Bosche CX motor had 20% more torque. My understanding is that more torque will get me moving more quickly (grunt), and more power will keep me moving more easily (speed), and I need climbing power and distance more than speed.

After a short test ride (1 mile) my Intuvia display says I'll get 53 miles on ECO, 27 miles on TOUR, 23 miles on SPORT, and 19 miles on TURBO mode. My wife's Neko+ display right now says she'll get 58 miles in ECO, 48 in NORM, and 43 in SPORT on a single charge. That's a lot more range than mine, unless I don't use anything higher than ECO mode. I really want closer to 30 miles minimum for some of the rides that we'll do, and I was going to add the 500WH battery to get me there. The 500WH already comes on the Powerfly 7/8FS+ and it will hit my goal of 30 miles in SPORT mode (level 3/4) vs 23 for the XM700+. And I'm told it will do 43 miles in TOUR (level 2/4) vs 27 for XM700+.

It was only today that I saw that the Powerfly 7/8FS+ has more torque (75 NM vs 63NM) despite only 250W, and just gives less top speed and more range in return. I won't be commuting with my bike on the streets (except to go down to the shopping center at the bottom of Cheyenne Mountain). Rather, we'll be riding on both paved and gravel bike paths most of the time, plus a few trails that can be fairly bumpy and loose. I picked the XM700+ more for the 350W power than it's 28MPH top speed. I won't be going faster than 20 if I want my wife to keep up and not make me suffer later for leaving her in my dust, but I need the 63-75 NM of torque from the Bosche over the 50NM from the Shimano drive on the Dual Sport+ and Neko+.

If I upgrade my suspension and tires, and maybe order a 500WH battery pack, I'll be closer to the price of the Powerfully 7 or 8S. With those I'll only need a handlebar stem riser (and maybe new bars) to get to a less aggressive riding position with less weight on my hands. I've only made a deposit on the bike, and I don't pay the balance until I take delivery (after they get the battery lock core and keys replaced).

Basically my concerns in a nut shell are:
(1) is it too tall ?
(2) is it not long enough ?
(3) is 400WH not enough juice for distance on the 350W motor ?
(4) is the 75NM/250 watt motor with 500WH battery and 20MPH top speed a better choice for me wanting increased ride range and climbing hills (vs 63NM/350W/400WH)?
(5) On the Trek website it says top speed for power assist on the Powerfly 7/8FS+ is 20MPH in one spot, and 15MPH in another spot. So which is it?
(6) is the XM700+ speed-pedelec too fast to legally take on many off-road mountain bike trails, and how badly will the front mono-shock hold it back on slower off-road rides?

ADVICE PLEASE: Should I just take a step back and have them order a Powerfly 7 or 8FS+, and then do the stem riser on that bike to get the weight of my old wrists? I have to know if the upgrade to 75NM torque in the PF7 or 8FS+ is enough to offset it's less powerful 250W motor for climbing hills vs the XM700 350W/63NM motor.

PS: if the riding position is too aggressive my right hand will go to sleep after 15 minutes - not counting the Lift+ that I don't want, the XM700+ is the least aggressive of the Trek eBikes.

3 days ago

FYI 700c wheels are the same diameter as 29". I've put 700c tires on 29"wheels with absolutely no issues.

Rick Gross
2 weeks ago

hope you can reply I was at a Trek dealer and looked at this bike. The guy told at minium assist you can go 88 miles. I said kiliometers and he repeated miles. Is he BS'ing me? Whats funny is the bicycle computer did say 88 miles as full charge minimum assist. Is 88 miles distance overly inflated?

James Dance
3 months ago

hey court i just bought a dual sport 1st e-bike so thanks for all the reviews i think for what i can afford this is giving me more bang for my buck and looks good and well made

Dooneegomaface Ifinnaspring
4 months ago

These big brand bike companies should just give up trying to cater to ebike consumers. We do not care about your Tour De France, LBS, Macho man, BS. I despise your agenda and your consumers. Keep your overpriced bikes.

Dooneegomaface Ifinnaspring
2 months ago

dayum_itzhim If you were above it, you wouldn't be here expecting your lazy rag-tag one-liner to impress anyone. Welcome to my drowning pool.

2 months ago

This argument is the dumbest thing I've ever seen

2 months ago

Dooneegomaface Ifinnaspring
Jealous much? Dude, I know you're mentally feeble, but I didn't think you were this borderline stupid.

Dooneegomaface Ifinnaspring
2 months ago

AirplaneFreak Ha! I have you ticked! You McDollar menu studdering fool. "While you're you're at it at it" Your dad is one misdemeanor away from being a dine and dash desperado. He's a bonifide burger bandit, and very proud of his Thrifty Boy.

2 months ago

Dooneegomaface Ifinnaspring Go chug some Drano, and while you're at it, have a Tide Pod while you're at it. Your arguments are invalid. When someone has a different opinion, you act all but hurt and your fragile little ego is shattered. Then you brag about the things you don't have and to top it all off, you're broke. There is no such things as brokeish. How can you be superior to me when you can't even afford to spell? You're right at one thing, I failed to be broke, which is what you have succeeded at. For that, I tip my hat to you.

Lars Ödman
4 months ago

1800$ in Sweden, merida espresso 600 almost the same bike. Asian produced.

Mushukyo Seppuku
7 months ago

Anotha One!

Matt Green
7 months ago

Can you do a review of the bikes from Lithium Cycles (Super 73)? Love your videos man!

Lysle Basinger
7 months ago

Anxious to see your coverage of Sam's open house.

Jacklamotta 001
7 months ago

jedes deiner videos der selbe scheiß

Greg Palmer
7 months ago

My Wife and I tested both the Bosch and Shimano trading back and forth. I really felt the Shimano was much stronger at takeoff from a stop.I was going to ask if Shimano made a high speed - but you answered that.Thanks ,

stupidscum josh
7 months ago


stupidscum josh
7 months ago

Good looking bike

Jessa Phillips
7 months ago

if i remember correctly the bosch mid drive has something like 2:1 gearing so the electric motor is more efficient, wouldn't that make the range way better on a bosch mid drive vs this shimano with a similar battery and amp/hour rating? or does that affect the reaction speed of the motor or the peak power more?

Jessa Phillips
7 months ago

by the way i like that you're putting the price in the title of the videos now, wish you could go back and do it on the old reviews but it's all at the website

Jessa Phillips
7 months ago

actually i think you touched on this in the video around the 12:45 mark... the torque is less but the efficiency is more and its quieter

James Mason
7 months ago

are you going to review that 8s

F r e e l e e
7 months ago

All large production E bikes are under powered and over priced best get a bike from Luna, double the power and double the range oh and a lot cheaper also.

F r e e l e e
7 months ago

Big TIt loves 500 watts what a fool.

Big T
7 months ago

@Freelee from where I'm sitting, it looks like you're the one that's brainwashed.

F r e e l e e
7 months ago

Steve your comment shows im correct.

Steve Donovan
7 months ago

good grief

F r e e l e e
7 months ago

Sounds like you have been brain washed.

7 months ago

Thanks Stephanie!

7 months ago

Nice bike ! tfs!

Finn Green
7 months ago


maybe restating your height every so often will provide a better sense of sizing and proportions of the bike being reviewed

always professional

and detailed

and appreciated

7 months ago

Every trek bike ever made is overpriced except for their touring bike , trek 920. Trek makes great bikes. Just not a lot of bang for the buck.

Dooneegomaface Ifinnaspring
4 months ago

"Service" is laughable at these LBS. You get hipster "Sup Man" condescending, second-guessing, sabotaging BS. I work on my own bike unless its a personally trusted mechanic. No one with tattoos or piercings will ever touch my bikes.

Big T
7 months ago

Trek pricing in the UK has gone nuts recently, earlier this year I paid £2400 ($3100) for a Powerfly 7 - for next year the retail price for the 2018 model is £3300 ($4260)!!! No wonder they call us 'Treasure Island'...
7 months ago

I've seen prices drop a lot in recent years from all brands but part of what you pay for with a Trek is the dealer network, warranty, and service. It also costs more to offer a range of sizes

Martian Megafauna
7 months ago

Here is what my MBA taught me: the price of anything and everything, and the value of nothing. Talk amongst yourself.