Pedego 20" Trail Tracker Review

Pedego 20 Trail Tracker Electric Bike Review
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker Clean Simple Handlebars
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker Simple Led Console With Twist Throttle
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker Tektro Ebike Brake With Bell
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker 500 Watt Fat Bike Dapu Hub Motor
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker 160 Mm Tektro Mechanical Disc Brakes
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker 36 Volt Downtube Battery
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Tx With Derailleur Guard
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker Charger Tools Instructions Box
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker Electric Bike Review
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker Clean Simple Handlebars
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker Simple Led Console With Twist Throttle
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker Tektro Ebike Brake With Bell
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker 500 Watt Fat Bike Dapu Hub Motor
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker 160 Mm Tektro Mechanical Disc Brakes
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker 36 Volt Downtube Battery
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Tx With Derailleur Guard
Pedego 20 Trail Tracker Charger Tools Instructions Box

Summary

  • A sturdily built, lower speed electric bike with seven gears and throttle-only operation designed primarily for kids and youth but also a good fit for short riders
  • Max weight of 350 lbs, bosses in the rear for adding a rack and hauling cargo (perhaps to school?) and mid-level mechanical disc brakes providing clean powerful stops
  • The cockpit is clear of distractions, simple to use and less vulnerable to bumps and scrapes, a derailleur guard protects the sensitive bits, the bike is priced lower than the adult sized Trail Trackers (24” and 26” models)
  • Two-step power up process, no room for a bottle cage, limited suspension but the tires absorb a lot of shock, shifters could be difficult for small hands to reach while riding, spectacular two year all-inclusive warranty

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Pedego

Model:

20" Trail Tracker

Price:

$2,495

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Youth, Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, Europe

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

52.5 lbs (23.81 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.5 lbs (2.94 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.36 lbs (3.79 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

14 in (35.56 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

14" Seat Tube, 20.5" Reach, 24" Stand Over Height, 66" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Steel, 9 mm Axle with Nuts

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7, Shimano Tourney TX, 12-32T

Shifter Details:

Shimano SIS Index Shifter on Right, Model FT55

Cranks:

140 mm, Aluminum Alloy, 38 Tooth Chainring, Alloy Bash Guard

Pedals:

Pedego Branded Wellgo, Aluminum Alloy Platform, Black

Headset:

Neco 1-1/8

Stem:

Four 4 mm Spacer Stacks

Handlebar:

Flat Aluminum Alloy, 620 mm Length, Anodized Black

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc Brakes with 160 mm Rotors, Tektro Brake Levers with Rubberized Edges and Integrated Motor Inhibitors, Integrated Bell on Left

Grips:

Pedego Branded Velo, Flat Rubber with Lockers

Saddle:

Pedego Branded Velo, Black

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

28.6 mm

Rims:

3" Width 36 Hole, Double Wall Aluminum Alloy, Bright Orange Gloss

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 13G, Black, Nickle Plated Brass Plated Nipples

Tire Brand:

Chao Yang, 20″ x 4″

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

5 to 20 PSI

Tube Details:

Shrader Valve, Pre-Slimed

Accessories:

Adjustable Length Kickstand, Neoprene Slap Guard on Right Chain Stay

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 18 Amp Controller (21 Peak), Shimano HG20 Chain, VPBC63 Sealed Bottom Bracket 100 mm x 151.5 mm, 1.9 lb 3 Amp High Power Technology Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Dapu

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

882 watts

Motor Torque:

35 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic, 18650 Cells

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level (Red, Yellow Green)

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle (Variable Speed Hall Sensor)

Top Speed:

12 mph (19 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

In recent years, Pedego has expanded their original line of electric bikes by adding different frame types and sizes. The original Trail Tracker featured a high-step frame with standard 26” wheels. The tires elevated the frame offering full leg extension for adult riders, they improved rolling momentum, surface contact and added comfort by helping to span gaps. Unfortunately, the downside was a heavier build that was difficult to mount and ride for some people. With the 24” and 20” models Pedego has taken this popular all-purpose platform and made it accessible to shorter riders and even kids! I think they chose an awesome bike to make in a 20” size because it’s extremely tuff, can go anywhere (including soft dirt, sand and snow if you lower the tire pressure) and it offers good cushion even without suspension. Weighing in at about 52 pounds with a removable 6.5 lb battery pack, it’s easier to load into cars or carry into the house or shop for maintenance than its big sister the 24” and big brother the 26”. It’s a unique electric bike, one of the very few that is purpose built for young people. And you benefit from Pedego’s massive global dealer network and outstanding 2 year comprehensive warranty. The only downside here is price, at $2,495 this is an expensive toy… but it could be more than a toy for an emerging youth. A sense of empowerment and responsibility with seven gears and disc brakes but a slightly lower top speed of 20 mph.

Powering the bike is a grown-up 500 watt internally geared fat bike specific hub motor mounted in the rear. It’s made by Dapu, a leader in the space that also produces hubs for Easy Motion. You get enough power to zip up hills but it isn’t especially loud. In my experience, these geared motors have been very durable and I love how it’s painted black to match the tires, spokes and frame. Notice also how the drivetrain derailleur is protected by a metal cage guard on the right and how the power cable feeding the motor is tucked behind the chain stay on the left. These design choices and hard ware upgrades will keep the Mini-Tracker going longer between tune ups. Note also that the front and rear wheels are attached using sturdy nuts vs. quick release skewers. For younger riders, this is probably a good thing because flat fixes could require parental help (or the Pedego shop’s help) and this way nobody gets pranked with a missing or loose wheel.

A long time ago, Pedego’s first Trail Tracker had a rack mounted battery that made it rear heavy. These latest versions spread the weight out by bringing the battery down and center onto the frame. The battery looks almost seamless and is paint matched. A new locking mechanism lets you click it on without using the key and of course you can ride without leaving the key in (where it might otherwise get bumped or snag clothing). On top of the battery is a silver power button and the left side has a flip cover protecting the charger port. This custom battery pack uses premium Panasonic Lithium-ion cells that are known for being long lasting and reliable and it can be charged on or off the frame. I like how the charger is built into a metal box for protection but doesn’t weigh more than 2 lbs. You could easily bring it along if a rear rack was added to the bike or toss it into a backpack. The battery is probably one of the main reasons for why this electric bike costs more but to me, it’s well worth it because it blends in making the bike stealth. Perhaps this would result in less attention from peers and adults alike. One area that would be nice to see upgrade options for in the future is integrated lights. These would add safety but also present more complexity and room for damage so for now, rechargeable aftermarket lights work fine.

Operating the Pedego 20” Trail Tracker is simpler than most other Pedego ebikes. You don’t get a fancy display panel or pedal assist options, this thing is twist and go only. So you charge the battery, mount it correctly, press that silver button on top then press the big red button at the base of the twist throttle near the right grip. The LED charge level display will light up and that’s it, you’re ready to start zipping around. The throttle itself is spring loaded with variable output so you can go slower by twisting part way. As a word of warning, I have used a lot of twist throttles over the years of reviewing and noticed that when you let the thing snap back into position vs. easing it off, the wires inside can get damaged. If you or your child does this a lot, it might lead to inconsistent performance so be gentle with it. Still, this is a less expensive part to fix and all of the wires are color coded and threaded so it’s something the shop should be able to help with quickly… and again, this is a higher quality twist throttle so maybe you won’t have this issue as I have. The other area to be considerate about is the off switch on the battery pack, try to remember to turn the twist throttle off and then the battery. This is going to be very easy to overlook and might run the battery down slightly if left on all day. In some ways I’d prefer a single power button but this two-step process acts as a tamper deterrent if used properly. Interested peers might press the big red button and mess with the throttle at a bike rack but if they don’t know about the silver button it’s easy to overlook.

In conclusion, not only is the 20” TrailTracker one of the few kid-specific electric bikes available today, it’s a really nice one! You’re getting parts from trusted brands like Velo, Dapu, Tektro and Shimano. And even though the derailleur is a more basic entry level part, seven gears is plenty for the speed range offered here. the bike is extra stable thanks to those large 4” wide tires and the frame is sturdy and well protected from most angles. I noticed that the kickstand position lets it collide with the crank arms if you back the bike up (so be careful for that) and that the all-black frame could be less visible in the dark… consider some reflective stickers off Amazon and one of the light-up helmets to raise visibility given the short rider and shorter frame. Perhaps eventually we will see a silver or white frame to mix things up a bit as Pedego is known for their fun color schemes. I’d also love to see hydraulic disc brakes as an option because the levers allow for adjustable reach and are easier to pull (great for small-handed riders). If you can afford to get one of these bikes, it will surely last. There’s enough adjustability in the seat post height that it should last for several years and Pedego is well known so reselling if outgrown shouldn’t be difficult… and then you can get the 24” or even 26” model if you’d like. It’s great to have options :)

Pros:

  • The Mini Tracker is sturdy and simplified compared to its larger adult versions but doesn’t skimp too muck, you still get disc brakes and a seven speed cassette
  • Capable of supporting up to 350 lbs, this ebike isn’t limited strictly to kids, shorter adults could also benefit from the frame geometry and smaller wheels (higher speeds may be unlockable with dealer assistance)
  • Simple branding and design approach looks good extends to the grips, saddle and pedals… Pedego is a leading ebike maker and they include things like touch-up paint so you can keep the bike looking new
  • Sturdy thicker spokes with brass nipples should hold up longer between adjustments, the derailleur cage should protect the sensitive gear shifting mechanism on the right and the tucked power cable for the motor is a big improvement from older designs (where the cable could get snagged or bent if the bike tipped)
  • The top tube is sloped down aggressively to lower stand over height, this is possible thanks to the integrated battery design which keeps weight low and centered improving handling
  • Sturdy oversized pedals are grippy and work well with muddy shoes or in wet environments, they are the right choice for an e-bike like this
  • Locking grips tend to hold up better over time, not twisting or getting messed up when bikes tip or are laid on one side, I appreciate the bash guard on the chainring for extra protection (though might like a full chain guide to avoid drops)
  • Cables are all wrapped and internally routed through the frame, this reduces snags and makes the bike look nicer, connection points are threaded and water tight
  • Pedego dealers are plentiful and now global so you can visit one for a test ride and rest assured you’ll get support down the line, they can also help with accessories
  • The battery clicks in and locks automatically even without the key, I found it easy to take off and handy to charge and store that way… removing it reduces the weight of the bike for easier transport
  • Slightly thicker seat post diameter adds strength, you could swap the stock one out for a suspension post to improve comfort but note that it will raise the minimum seat height which could change the fit for riders with short legs
  • The integrated bell is awesome, the way it’s designed you can reach it and make a friendly noise but it won’t get broken or loose as easily as some aftermarket bells
  • Both brake levers have motor inhibitors built in which means they cut power to the motor even if the throttle is twisted, for new riders this is great little extra to keep them in control and safe
  • The battery charger is durable, encased in an Aluminum box, but still compact and relatively light at ~2 lbs, it offers 3 Amps of current for slightly faster charging but isn’t so fast that it would stress the battery cells

Cons:

  • I’m a big fan of kickstands, even on trail bikes and such, just based on keeping bike frames scratch free and this one is large and adjustable but positioned just below the crank arm where it can collide if you back up before stowing
  • Smaller riders tend to have shorter fingers and weaker hands, hydraulic brakes would be much easier to pull and easier to reach (most have adjustable reach levers) and I don’t think they would change the price much… they are also fairly easy and affordable to service with help from a shop
  • At ~52 lbs I want to call this electric fat bike light (it is compared to most full sized models) but that’s still a lot to deal with for a young person, perhaps a future version could have punched out rims to reduce weight
  • Only available in one color combination at this time, I think it looks fine and this is just a minor gripe considering Pedego is known for their wide color selection
  • The matte black frame looks sharp but I’d opt for more reflective white and possibly some sort of reflective paint on the tires just to keep children extra visible in limited lighting conditions
  • The basic display means you can’t tell how far you’ve gone or precisely how much battery capacity remains which could make it easier to run out of juice far from home, I noticed the green LED switching off as I juiced the throttle (because voltage was dropping) but that didn’t necessarily reflect how full the pack was, the system makes you guess
  • Because the wheels a much smaller and the frame is shorter, I noticed that the long kickstand would bang on the rear disc brake rotor when stowed, be careful to not bend the rotor (also do not touch the rotor as oils from your hands can ruin the pads)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Pedego Reviews

Pedego 24″ Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the only 24" sized fat e-bikes I have ever seen, it's easier to approach, stand over, and handle for short to mid-sized riders, Pedego also offers a 20" fat model for kids. Large comfortable tires that work well on sand or snow when deflated to 5-8 PSI,…...

Pedego Platinum Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $3,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A premium cruiser style electric bike with upgraded suspension fork, suspension seat post, integrated LED lights, a sturdy rack and hydraulic disc brakes. Powerful 500 to 1,000+ watt hub motor from Dapu with high-torque rating and durable protected…...

Pedego Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A custom designed electric trike with large plastic cargo bin at the back, three-speed internally geared hub can be shifted at standstill and is more durable than a traditional derailleur. Two mechanical disc brakes provide good stopping power, max speed limited to 7 mph in…...

Pedego Latch Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sturdy folding electric bike with a full-sized feel, the extra long seat post and telescoping stem fit a wider range of body types than most folders I've tested. Premium drivetrain features and accessories including a Gates belt drive, Shimano Nexus internally geared hub,…...

Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $3,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fined fat tire electricbike with balanced down tube battery and purpose-built "extrawide" hub motor for improved drive train operation and torque. Nice LCD display panel with integrated buttons and swivel, includes a USB port for charging…...

Pedego Ridge Rider Review

  • MSRP: $3,395
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A delightfully capable and refined 27.5" hardtail electric mountain bike with powerful 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery pack. Nice upgrades on the adjustable air fork with lockout, 15 mm thru-axle, locking grips, hydraulic…...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A smaller version of the Interceptor that's easier to mount, it offers great power thanks to its smaller wheels paired with a 500 watt geared hub motor and 48 volt battery. Offers twist throttle and five levels of assist for increased range, throttle override puts you…...

Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stripped down comfort cruiser with easy-mount step-thru frame, throttle on demand only, optional fenders, multiple color choices and multiple battery size options from 36v 10ah up to 48v 15ah. Locking removable battery pack is protected in the color-matched rear rack, mechanical disc brakes are…...

Pedego Classic Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy, powerful cruiser style electric bike with large 500 watt geared motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery. Balloon tires, comfort saddle, suspension seat post and oversized handlebars create a relaxed upright ride...

2015 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A fat style ebike with zippy 500 watt geared motor and powerful 48 battery (available in 10ah or 15ah for extended range). Four fun color options, integrated headlight, pedal assist and throttle mode, quality mechanical disc brakes...

Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy and powerful electric bike that's a bit more active than the cruisers (more forward body position, narrower handlebars) and is available in several frame sizes for improved fit. Lots of great extras including full length aluminum fenders, chain guard, puncture resistant tires with…...

Pedego Stretch Review

  • MSRP: $3,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stylish and comfortable cruiser style electric cargo bike with removable tubing supports that extend the carrying platform or double as a back rest and running boards to accommodate a second rider. Offers two battery options for extended range and two drive modes including pedal assist (1-5)…...

Pedego Boomerang Review

  • MSRP: $2,495.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the easiest electric bikes to mount with extra low step-thru design, frame stiffness reduced as a result. Powerful 500 watt geared motor is quiet to operate and blends in well with cassette…...

Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Iconic cruiser style frame is sturdy, provides a relaxed seating position and comes in multiple colors. Powerful 500 watt direct drive (gearless) rear hub motor is durable, fast and relatively quiet...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A smaller step-through electric bike with 24" wheels for riders who are petite. Very powerful for its size, uses a 500 watt direct drive hub motor with three…...

Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the only purpose-built electric bikes that is setup to be a tandem for two adult riders. Sturdy frame, fun classic design, reliable drive system with six speeds, great support and warranty...

2014 Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy cruiser style electric bike with simple twist throttle operation and upgradable battery pack. Large tires, swept back handlebars, plush seat and padded grips dampen vibration to smooth out…...

Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Great power for acceleration, climbing or moving heavier riders with a 500 watt geared rear hub motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery combination. Offers twist throttle and five levels of pedal assist for increased range, removable battery for…...

2013 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,975
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Off-road design with 4" wide tires, increased contact patch enables the bike to ride on sand, snow and other rugged terrain, larger tires also provide cushion for improved riding comfort. Ultra powerful 600 watt geared motor and 48 volt battery pack for improved torque and…...

2014 Pedego Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Stable three wheel design with battery, motor and controller mounted low under the cargo bin. No pedal assist option with this bike but the twist throttle is intuitive to use…...

2013 Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Powerful combination of 500w motor and 48v Lithium battery. Durable and proven frame is borrowed from the Pedego Comfort Cruiser...

2013 Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,675
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

One of the only tandem style electric bikes available anywhere, large 500 watt motor offers good power. Built on the time tested, super simple, Pedego Cruiser cantilever style aluminum alloy frame...

2013 Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Classic upright commuter frame is quiet, sturdy and functional with welded rear rack. Integrated seat post shock, lights, bell, and computer with clean wire management...

2013 Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Solid, durable and extremely quiet to ride due to gearless rear hub motor. Casual design looks like a laid back cruiser and comes in many fun color choices...


Monica
5 months ago

Hi Court,

Thanks for the review. Can someone who is 5’5 comfortable ride on this bike? or would they be better off the 24″ model?

Reply
Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi Monica! My guess would be yes, the 20″ Trail Tracker has fat 4″ tires that make it ride almost like a 24″ Cruiser model in my experience. So the number can be misleading, I don’t think it’s that much smaller and if you prefer the stability and cushion of the fat tires then I’d say go for it… or at least try one out at a dealer! That’s how Pedego operates, most dealers should let you take a test ride :) I had fun riding it and I’m 5’9″ you can always raise the seat! I’d love to hear how everything works out for you.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

john peck
2 months ago

Commute every day 34 miles round trip. Two mile 7% uphill
Bikes owned now:
ST2s 4000 miles (rear flat tire & engine replacement cable) You get what you pay for. . . best bike ever. I'm first in line for the St5
Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX 2500 miles (In the shop now Saratoga Dave's issue above. Button probably needs compressed air). Flat tires are the only issue. Stromer trumps Haibike, however (my opinion)

Other bikes ownes:
eJoe folder 4 years old mileage unknown, okay bike with good support
Rad Rover Fat tire 1st line production crowd funding (best value bike ever, but not a workout bike). Excellent support
Diamond Back (izip Transx mid-drive) over 2000 miles, relatively few problems. I thought it was the cat's meow, then I got the Haibike. Get value & daily commuter two years. Passed it on to a friend and it's still going strong. Okay support, but not great. Good price and value
Pedego Trail Tracker 1500 miles (super over priced. glorified scooter, good support)
Motiv Shadow (my first ebike. Way over priced. It broke down the first day I got it. Worst ebike ever made. Support is non-existent. I hope they don't make them anymore)

I'm considering the Specialized Turbo S because they are closing them out due to end line production. The specs look good but the Specialized Forum doesn't have many worry-free customers.

Bottom line: Sell a kidney and get the Stromer. . . . life it too short to not experience electronic shifting and Lance Armstrong-like, steroid-enhanced pedaling (without actually using steroids; you'll understand once you ride one).

Good luck, brother.

Leon Washington
2 months ago

Commute every day 34 miles round trip. Two mile 7% uphill
Bikes owned now:
ST2s 4000 miles (rear flat tire & engine replacement cable) You get what you pay for. . . best bike ever. I'm first in line for the St5
Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX 2500 miles (In the shop now Saratoga Dave's issue above. Button probably needs compressed air). Flat tires are the only issue. Stromer trumps Haibike, however (my opinion)

Other bikes ownes:
eJoe folder 4 years old mileage unknown, okay bike with good support
Rad Rover Fat tire 1st line production crowd funding (best value bike ever, but not a workout bike). Excellent support
Diamond Back (izip Transx mid-drive) over 2000 miles, relatively few problems. I thought it was the cat's meow, then I got the Haibike. Get value & daily commuter two years. Passed it on to a friend and it's still going strong. Okay support, but not great. Good price and value
Pedego Trail Tracker 1500 miles (super over priced. glorified scooter, good support)
Motiv Shadow (my first ebike. Way over priced. It broke down the first day I got it. Worst ebike ever made. Support is non-existent. I hope they don't make them anymore)

I'm considering the Specialized Turbo S because they are closing them out due to end line production. The specs look good but the Specialized Forum doesn't have many worry-free customers.

Bottom line: Sell a kidney and get the Stromer. . . . life it too short to not experience electronic shifting and Lance Armstrong-like, steroid-enhanced pedaling (without actually using steroids; you'll understand once you ride one).

Good luck, brother.

Marceltt
3 months ago

Hi.

Can't speak of the Trail Tracker, don't know much about it.

I have a Teo and cannot say enough good things about it. I have a Red S Limited with fenders, rear rack with light. Very nice paint job.

But I have to admit the Rad Rover is also a good buy, it is very similar to the Teo Fat. Rad customer support is getting lots of praises, good warranty and a very vibrant community with lots of riders helping everyone out, here and on Facebook.

But the Teo has hydraulic brakes, bigger 17AH battery, 12 magnet cadence sensor, 9 speed derailleur, quick release on front wheel, among others. Worth the $ in my humble opinion.

The Rad Rover does show Watts used on its LCD display, the Téo does not. It also has nipples for a bottle holder on the frame, the Téo does not.

Both are made from pretty standard components, hence will be relatively easy to maintain over the years.

So yes the Teo is a good call. It ships out of Montreal in Canada, bike made in China, as many are, including Rad.

Good luck.
Thanks for your input. Ok now I'm down to the Rad and Teo. This is a tough one

mrgold35
3 months ago

Wow sounds like you love the Rad. The Trail Tracker is an expensive buy but the Teo &a Rad are half the price. Do you find it easy to work on the Rad. I'm a hands on guy and love to do my own work. With the ridge rider I am limited as you need special tools that only Pedego makes to work on certain areas of this bike.

Pretty much everything about the Radrover has standard parts, nut, bolts, allen sizes as a regular bike. I upgraded to an adjustable 0-60 degree stem, added a Suntour NCX SP-12 400mm suspension seat, transfered my handlebar extender from my other bike for my cell phone holder, upgraded the pedals to MTB type, and added a topeak rack+bag to my Radrover.

Another added bonus with the Radrover is you can adjust the motor cut-off in a few minutes to a little under 25 mph if you need some extra mph. The Radrover is not a perfect bike. It only the front tire has a quick-release, the front suspension with lock-out is just a spring, and the rover has cable brakes. I've had zero issues during an emergency stop with the 60 lbs Rover at +20 mph with the cable brakes (I'm 270lbs+25lbs of gear/accessories).

Marceltt
3 months ago

I've had my two his/her 2016 Radrovers for almost a year with 3200 miles between them. The wife doesn't use her Rover as much and I end up using both for work commuting and trail riding equally (I keep the wear/tear/mileage the same for both). The Radrover does a good job of being a "jack of all trades and master of none" type of bike for $1500.

Sounds like you might want more of hardpacked to single track fat tire bike mostly? The fat tire choices you picked will go anywhere your Pedego Ridge Rider can go offroad with the addition of loose sand being added to the mix with the extra wide tires. The Radrover only has 5 levels of PAS (PAS 0-5) that are designed to provide X amount of watts per PAS level until the 20 mph motor cutoff:
PAS 0: 0 watts,
PAS 1: 75 watts,
PAS 2: 175 watts,
PAS 3: 375 watts,
PAS 4: 550 watts,
PAS 5: 750 watts.

PAS 2-3 works best for me when trail riding. I've never had a need to use PAS 5 trail riding or work commuting because PAS 3-4 can get me at or near max speed of 20-21 mph usually.

I like the Radrover twist throttle because it provide full 750 watts of power in any PAS level (even in PAS 0). Full power throttle comes in handy for short inclines, deep sandy spots, walking the bike up inclines, getting across intersection in a hurry, tight trails when pedaling would hit obstacles, etc...

I went with the Radrover because it is a fat tire bike with ebike components added. I can remove, repair, transfer, or replace ebike hardware if they fail after the warranty period to mod the Rover with more power or just turn it into a regular 4" fat tire bike. At the price point of the Rover, it left me a lot of room for accessories, platform bike rack, lights and gear to travel and trail ride in/out of state day or night. The wife and I had a lot of fun and put over +100 miles on each Radrover in a couple of days at the Grand Canyon and Sedona last November.
Wow sounds like you love the Rad. The Trail Tracker is an expensive buy but the Teo &a Rad are half the price. Do you find it easy to work on the Rad. I'm a hands on guy and love to do my own work. With the ridge rider I am limited as you need special tools that only Pedego makes to work on certain areas of this bike.

Falken
3 months ago

Hi guys , I'm thinking of getting a fat bike and I already own the Pedego Ridge Rider. I have nailed it down to three - Trail tracker , Teo or the Rad. I'm torn between the three. Any input. I have read all the posts but still can't decide
Hi @Marceltt

I also have the Teo and am loving it! I can't speak hands on for either of the other bikes you mentioned but there is a Teo owner who's wife owns the Rad. He might be able to share some thoughts between those two bikes? His name is @Dan Edwards .
I can't see anyone regretting buying a Teo. It's been a great bike so far. From what I've read the Rad is a great bike as well. Good luck on your purchase!:)

Denis Shelston
3 months ago

Hi.

Can't speak of the Trail Tracker, don't know much about it.

I have a Teo and cannot say enough good things about it. I have a Red S Limited with fenders, rear rack with light. Very nice paint job.

But I have to admit the Rad Rover is also a good buy, it is very similar to the Teo Fat. Rad customer support is getting lots of praises, good warranty and a very vibrant community with lots of riders helping everyone out, here and on Facebook.

But the Teo has hydraulic brakes, bigger 17AH battery, 12 magnet cadence sensor, 9 speed derailleur, quick release on front wheel, among others. Worth the $ in my humble opinion.

The Rad Rover does show Watts used on its LCD display, the Téo does not. It also has nipples for a bottle holder on the frame, the Téo does not.

Both are made from pretty standard components, hence will be relatively easy to maintain over the years.

So yes the Teo is a good call. It ships out of Montreal in Canada, bike made in China, as many are, including Rad.

Good luck.

Marceltt
3 months ago

Hi guys , I'm thinking of getting a fat bike and I already own the Pedego Ridge Rider. I have nailed it down to three - Trail tracker , Teo or the Rad. I'm torn between the three. Any input. I have read all the posts but still can't decide

Dewey
3 months ago

So, we expand bikeways and MUPS.

A recent analysis noted cyclist injury patterns and severity were similar on roads and bike paths alike. Another analysis of cyclist injury data mentioned problems at intersections include turning vehicles, the presence of bus stops, and length of crossing whereas a median helps. A new report from the Governors Highway Safety Association touched on ebike safety on page 47 mentioning a 2016 German study which reported ebike riders are twice as likely as pedal cyclists to come into conflict with motorists at intersections. The GHSA report points to a need to change the built environment in US cities to be more accommodating for higher speed ebike cyclists, pedal cyclists, and pedestrians alike. Suggested accident prevention measures include protected bike lanes, redesigning intersections along busy bicycle commuting roads with marked bicycle box waiting areas at intersections and separate bicycle signals timed in advance of traffic to give cyclists a fighting chance to get ahead of turning vehicles, redesigning corners to add more sidewalk width and adding medians to shorten intersection crosswalks. I would add widening MUPs so as to be able to separate the bicycle and pedestrian paths, also require/monitor haulage companies to add side protection bars to prevent cyclists being pulled under truck wheels. Future gazing we might anticipate more sophisticated automated collision avoidance systems in cars and trucks perhaps built into autonomous vehicle software, although this article mentions the difficulties software has in identifying cyclists in real-world conditions driving on the street. To enable MUP/bike path access for distance ebike commuters who might prefer the faster Class 3 speed pedelecs but need to slow down when using bicycle infrastructure closer in maybe something phone/gps based using trail geofencing using Google maps, gps tracker chips in bike frames, and bluetooth controllers could be implemented by ebike manufacturers to automatically limit speed of ebikes on MUPs - this type of relatively simple application would support the case for ebike trail access.

Mr. Coffee
3 months ago

Disclainer: I own a Pedego (Interceptor).

The premium you pay on a Pedego bike is paying for the large dealer network and the fairly generous warranty. If you plan on riding the bike hard and depending on it those things are valuable to you. If you aren't doing those things the value of said premium is more questionable.

In general all Pedego bikes I've tried have an "overbuilt" feel to them compared to other ebikes I have tried. The downside of "overbuilt" is that it makes the bikes heavy monsters to haul around and the upside is they can take quite a bit of abuse (and use).

One question: you are focused on the 24" trail tracker here. Is that because that bike is more likely to fit you? I agree that there are very few options for a fat-tire ebike in that particular wheel size.

Brooklyn Tony
4 months ago

Thanks. I just wanted this bike but it wasn't meant to be I guess.

Fret not! Here's a couple of other fat tire options from low to high pricepoints:
Sondors Original, X, Fold, and Fold X,
Voltbike Yukon, and Mariner,
RadPower Rad Rover and Rad mini,
Pedego trail tracker
Luna cycles homebrewed stuff
iZip E3 Sumo
Emotion Big Bud
Bulls Monster

Cristina
4 months ago

Thanks for the replies. I did look at the Radmini and Mariner but they're not quite what I was looking for, though it did offer some advantages with a lower stand over height. Also great to see that the RadRover works for someone who is 4'11". I am 5'4" so hopefully it won't be too much of a struggle. I am guessing that the RadRover and Yukon are pretty similar in size, but the RadRover seems to have a more upright position for riding.

Pedego Trail Tracker looks very nice, but it is out of my budget at the moment, especially for a first e-bike. It is too bad because they are local for me.

I saw that M2S Bikes (https://m2sbikes.com/) offer different frame sizes which is nice, but it seems they are already out of pre-orders next month, and I haven't really seen a lot of reviews online about their bikes.

The touring saddle is a good idea. I have read some people trim the post of their bike, but I would rather not do that right away since I'm sure it would void the warranty. I am thinking maybe wearing boots with a heel might help out a little bit too. Really leaning towards the Voltbike Yukon at the moment, for all of the features for the price.

Ravi Kempaiah
5 months ago

Everyone tells me the $2,900 Pedego 24" Trail Tacker is too expensive for what it is but they can't tell me an alternative to compete with this bike.

24" Fat Bike.
Throttle Override at any level
Integrated battery.
https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/24-trail-tracker/

What other bike in this size with wider tires can do throttle override and especially the integrated battery? Such a clean look.

https://electricbikereview.com/magnum/ui5/

https://electricbikereview.com/eg/milan-500-ex/

Juiced HyperFat

Moonshine
5 months ago

Everyone tells me the $2,900 Pedego 24" Trail Tacker is too expensive for what it is but they can't tell me an alternative to compete with this bike.

24" Fat Bike.
Throttle Override at any level
Integrated battery.
https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/24-trail-tracker/

What other bike in this size with wider tires can do throttle override and especially the integrated battery? Such a clean look.

mrgold35
5 months ago

I'm new to ebiking and have his/her Radrovers since Sept/2016 with +2600 miles between them. I enjoyed riding so much, I parked my car and ebike work commute 3-4 times a week (switch off both bikes to keep wear/tear/mileage the same). I put around half my mileage trail riding single tracks. Things I've learned:

- factor in about 20%-40% at a minimum above the cost of the ebike for gear, maint, tools, accessories, cold/wet/warm weather clothing, bike rack, etc...
- check out the max weight and utility. The Radrover can handle 275lbs with the rider weight and gear. I also added a rear rack+bag w/ foldout panniers when needed. Some bikes may have wight restrictions or no mounting points for a full rear rack.
- bottle cage points. My Radrover has 3 pre-drilled bottle cage mounting points. Comes in handy for securing locks, extra water bottles, or I use the downtube bottle cage mounting point for my Boomerang GPS tracker.
- regular tires, plus size tires (around 2"-3"), or fat tire (+4"). I like my 4" fat tires because they smooth out the ride and I can transition between pavement, dirt trails, uneven surfaces, and sand smoothly.
- storage and charging at work and home
- public transportation friendly; fat tire bikes are too big for bus racks, some utility cargo ebikes too long, folding ebike might work better.
- Commute range, hills, wind, weight, weather, (cold) temp: Everything lessens your range except riding downhill and/or a stiff tailwind. May need a larger battery, spare battery, or bring a charger if environmental conditions take too much of a hit on your range (I have another charger I leave at work to top off).
- any local bike and/or ebike restrictions (bike paths, parks, no bike lanes on main roads, etc...)
- front suspension with either springs or hydraulic forks help smooth out the ride at +20 mph. Some folks prefer locking out the front suspension; but, all that vibration has to go somewhere? I rather have the suspension vibrate instead of my arms.
- full suspension or hard tail. Some full suspension bikes may not have points for adding a rear rack for a bag with panniers. Sucks wearing a backpack when it is hot outside.
- with or without throttle. I rather have it and not need it compared to need it and not have it. I use my throttle on every ride and I wouldn't want to ride an ebike without one because of the way I ride.
- Hub or mid-drive. Hubs can be cheaper, always tail heavy, average hill climbing depending on grade and weight, easier to fix/upgrade, can have throttle+PAS, take 10 seconds to learn how to operate, and usually less range in the 20-40 mile range. Mid-drives can be 2X-4X more expensive, a lot more range of choices, much longer range, better at inclines, less weight, more balanced, hard to find with throttle, and ebike components can be more $$ to fix.

I would plan a weekend to test ride different ebikes depending on how far you are from the closest ebike store. I would mostly compare hub-vs-mid, narrow-vs-plus-vs-fat tires, with or without suspension, and eMTB-vs-cargo-vs-city bikes.

mrgold35
5 months ago

I have a black and white (his and her) 16 Radrovers since Sept of 2016. I have about 1200-1300 miles per Rad with a good mix of work commuting (13 miles roundtrip) and fun/trail riding. I've added, replaced, and upgraded over the months and I now have the Radrover the way I like it. The next upgrade will be the convert the brakes to the TRP HY/RD hydraulic brakes.

Bike
- Luna Cycle triangle bag
- 1 Spare Radrover battery
- BC wide platform MTB pedals (black with red versions)
- Zefal lower downtube frame guard
- Arundel Looney adjustable water bottle holder
- Topeak Uni Super rear rack with Topeak MTX DTP Quicktrack rack bag
- RRP neoguard MTB mudguard
- Planet Bike Big Buck front fat tire fender
- Lizard Skin top tube protector (clear for white RR, Carbon fiber for Black RR)
- Problem solvers bottle cage height adaptor

Handlebars
- Sunlite 95mm 0-60 degree adjustable handlebar stem
- four 2.5mm spacers for Sunlite stem (two per bike)
- BM Works handlebar speed extenter
- GOTD plastic ebike thumb throttle
- Vibrelli Universal iPhone holder (work perfectly for my iPhone 6S Plus with Mophie battery case)
- Xlarge Bar Mitts (winter only)

Seat/seatpost
- Cloud9 11.5X12.5 suspension seat
- ISM Touring saddle (for wife to help with standover straddle)
- Suntour SP12 NCX 400mm seatpost
- Bodyfloat 350mm v2.0 orange spring

Wheels
- Vee8 120 tpi tires
- Mr. Tuffy 3XL liners
- Stans tire sealant
- red chrome valve stem cap

Helmets
- Fox Flux (his)
- Louis Garneau LG Roaota (her)
- AirStreamz noise reducer
- Bike Peddler helmet mount rear view mirror
- Light and Motion Vis 180
- Niterider 2200 and 1800 lights

Lights
- Niterider Pro 3600 lights
- Brightz LED 5 color lights (side illumination)
- Light and Motion Vis 180 on Topeak rack

Security
- Boomerang GPS tracker and alarm
- Xena XC-14 5 foot 14mm chain
- Xena XSU-310 18mm U-bolt
- Xena XUL-210 18mm alarmed U-bolt
- 15 foot security cable with lock

Misc Accessories
- Osprey Radial 34 Commuter Backpack (his)
- Osprey Comet Daypack (hers)
- Saris SuperClamp Freedom 4 bike rack
- Bike Hand Pro bike stand
- Extra RR battery charger to leave at work

1/11
PedegoElectricBikes
5 months ago

Longtime pedal bike shop owners choose Number 1 electric bike brand for new store

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., July 6, 2017 — The world’s 100th Pedego® Electric Bikes store is now open in Simsbury, Conn. Owned by Mike and Rachel Wolf, Pedego Simsbury is the fifth Pedego store in New England. Pedego also has stores in Boston, Rhode Island, Cape Cod and South Norwalk. Pedego Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. There will be ribbon cutting ceremony by the Main Street Partnership on July 6th to celebrate the opening.

“We're pleased to announce that Pedego Simsbury is our 100th Pedego electric bike store in the world,” said Pedego Electric Bikes CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. “Opening the 100th Pedego store is a testament to the growing popularity of electric bikes, and we’re delighted to be leading the revolution.”

THE PUBLIC IS INVITED TO JOIN THE RIBBON CUTTING CELEBRATION

WHAT: Ribbon Cutting Ceremony by the Main Street Partnership including refreshments and free test rides

WHERE: Pedego Simsbury store, 528 Hopmeadow Street, Simsbury, Conn.

WHEN: Thursday, July 6 at 4:30 p.m.

WHO: Store co-owners Mike and Rachel Wolf, plus representatives from the Main Street Partnership, Simsbury Chamber of Commerce, and City of Simsbury as well as Pedego representative Cassidy Castleman

Store owners Mike and Rachel Wolf, 77 and 71 years old respectively, are well-known in the area for their two long-established cycling shops. Nearly 67 years ago, Mike’s father established Connecticut's oldest bike shop, Bloomfield Bicycle & Repair Shop. Mike has worked there for 64 years, since he was 13 years old, and today, it is the oldest bike store in the region. It also carries the largest inventory of electric bikes in the area, with 150 electric bikes in stock. Of the nine electric bicycle brands Wolf carries at his Bloomfield bike shop, Pedego is the leading brand, which led him to open the Pedego Simsbury store. The Wolfs also own the Bike Cellar in Simsbury, which specializes in pedal bikes.

“Electric bikes are a game changer, enabling people of all ages to ride bikes,” Mike said. “We firmly believe that 60 percent of all bike sales in the future will be electric bikes, and we’ve decided to go with Pedego, the Number 1 electric bike brand, as Pedego is devoted to delighting its customers and empowering its dealers.”

The Wolfs are not only Pedego electric bikes salespeople, they are big fans themselves. An avid Pedego rider, Mike lost 54 pounds and lowered his cholesterol and blood pressure over the past 18 months with his Pedego electric bike. Weather permitting, the septuagenarian rides more than 20 miles every morning. He said, “Not only have I gained back my health, I’ve also gotten better looking, thanks to my electric bike.”

Pedego Simsbury’s opening is the culmination of Mike’s decade-long friendship with Pedego CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. They met when DiCostanzo owned an electric bike shop in Newport Beach, Calif., long before he co-founded Pedego. DiCostanzo said, “We are thrilled to welcome Mike and Rachel to the Pedego family. They share a passion for bringing electric bikes to the region and getting Baby Boomers back on bikes.”

Pedego Simsbury offers sales of all 12 Pedego Electric Bikes models that empower riders to zoom up hills and through headwinds. All Pedego bikes have a 500-watt hub motor that helps riders cruise distances of 30 to 60 miles without getting tired and sweaty. Now available at the new Simsbury store are California-styled cruisers, including the Pedego Platinum Interceptor, a fully loaded cruiser bike; the Pedego Interceptor, which boasts a 48-volt battery that propels riders with extra power; and Pedego’s Comfort Cruiser, which is powered by a 36-volt battery for gentle help with hills. Also available are the Trail Tracker fat-tire bike for riding on gravel and snow; the Ridge Rider electric mountain bike; the sleek City Commuter; the sturdy Stretch cargo bike and the Latch, an ingenious folding bike, designed for portability and convenience. Pedego also recently introduced the Airstream model for camping devotees.

Rentals and sales of Pedego bikes are available. Located near the Pedego Simsbury store are the Farmington Canal Heritage Trail and Farmington River Trail, two scenic trails that meet in the town. The Farmington River Trail is part of the rail-to-trail bike path network that takes riders up into Massachusetts or down into New Haven, Conn. The store provides maps so renters can enjoy riding through the beautiful countryside. Simsbury was recently voted the most bike-friendly community in Connecticut.

Pedego Simsbury also offers top-notch service for Pedego electric bikes. Everything from maintenance to customizations can be handled by the team.

About Pedego Simsbury

Pedego Simsbury has the distinction of being the 100th Pedego Electric Bikes store in the world and is the region’s premier dealer in Pedego Electric Bikes. Pedego Simsbury offers a large selection of Pedego electric bikes sales, rentals, accessories and service. Free test rides are available. Located at 528 Hopmeadow Street in Simsbury, Conn., Pedego Simsbury is close to the Farmington Canal Heritage Trail and Farmington River Trail, two trails that combine for a scenic ride through a forest. The store is open seven days per week: Monday through Friday, 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Saturdays 9:00 am. to 5:00 p.m., and Sundays 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. To learn more and reserve a test ride, call 860-413-2543 or email info@pedegosimsbury.com. Follow us on Facebook and visit our website at http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/dealers/simsbury/

About Pedego

Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 12 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at 100 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

1/1
PedegoElectricBikes
5 months ago

Electric Bikes energize the town with fun and fanfare

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., July 5, 2017— A Pedego® Electric Bikes store is now open in Petoskey, Mich., bringing an exhilarating new activity to town. Pedego Petoskey co-owners Bryan Newman and husband-wife team Bill and Pat Anton are excited to introduce the nation’s Number 1 electric bike brand with a party that includes free test rides on the elegant electric bikes. It is the 99th Pedego store worldwide. Pedego’s enormous popularity grew from the brand’s stylish designs and quality components. Every Pedego bike features a 500-watt motor that empowers riders to conquer hills, headwinds and long distances with ease.

THE PUBLIC IS INVITED TO JOIN THE GRAND OPENING & RIBBON-CUTTING CELEBRATION

What: Grand Opening and Ribbon-cutting Ceremony will include free test rides and snacks

Where: Pedego Petoskey, 438 East Mitchell Street, Petoskey, MI, 49770

When: Thursday, July 13 from 4:00 to 8:00 p.m. Ribbon-cutting Ceremony at 4:45 p.m.

Who: Store co-owners Bryan Newman and Bill & Pat Anton, store manager Dawn Marie Hansen, Friends & Family, Petoskey Chamber and various City Ambassadors will be present as well as Pedego California representatives Tom Bock and Cassidy Castleman.

Newman is an experienced Pedego dealer as he also owns Pedego La Quinta and Pedego Palm Springs, both in Southern California. Every winter since opening his other stores, Newman has had visitors from Michigan rave about the electric bikes as the best part of their California vacation, so he decided to bring the fun of Pedego electric bikes to Petoskey, an established vacation destination. “I chose to become a Pedego dealer because it’s all about fun, and now I'm thrilled to bring the fun to Petoskey,” he said.

Pedego riders can cruise for hours enjoying Petoskey’s miles of scenic paths without over-exerting. Located in the Northwest tip of Michigan’s Lower Peninsula, Emmet County offers a variety of paths that blend scenic splendor with rich historical sites. Long stretches of sandy beaches, quaint downtowns and year-round activities beckon outdoor enthusiasts, including families. Little Traverse Wheelway, a re-established turn-of-the-century trail that goes from Walker Road, Charlevoix, to Hoyt Street in Harbor Springs, presents more than 26 miles of pure riding enjoyment. This and several other trails await riders who want to explore the area while having fun on electric bikes.

Pedego Petoskey offers sales of all 12 Pedego Electric Bikes models that empower riders to zoom up hills and through headwinds. All Pedego bikes have a 500-watt hub motor that helps riders cruise distances of up to 60 miles without getting tired and sweaty. Now available at the new store are California-styled cruisers, including the Pedego Platinum Interceptor, a fully loaded cruiser bike; and the Pedego Interceptor, which boasts a 48-volt battery that propels riders with extra power. Also available are the sleek City Commuter; the Trail Tracker fat-tire bike for riding on gravel and snow; the Ridge Rider electric mountain bike; the sturdy Stretch cargo bike and the Latch, an ingenious folding bike, designed for portability and convenience. Pedego also recently introduced the Airstream model for camping devotees.

Available for rent are Pedego’s cruiser-style Interceptors, sporty Ridge Riders, ultra-low step-thru Boomerang Plus bikes, fat-tire Trail Trackers, Stretch cargo bikes, sleek City Commuters and a shiny red Tandem. Helmets and locks are included with rentals.

“Petoskey is such a beautiful place with miles and miles of scenic bike paths to enjoy,” said Pedego Electric Bikes CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. “We're very happy that riders will now be able to see, experience and enjoy Petoskey on Pedego electric bikes.”

About Pedego Petoskey

Pedego Petoskey is the region's premier dealer in Pedego Electric Bikes. Offering a large selection of Pedego electric bikes for sale and rental as well as accessories and service. Riders can cruise near sandy beaches, through quaint downtowns and enjoy year-round activities on Pedego electric bikes. Little Traverse is a local bike path offering more than 26 miles of scenic splendor combined with fascinating historical sites. Open Sunday through Thursday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., and Friday and Saturday, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Located at 438 E. Mitchell, Petoskey, MI 49770. To learn more and reserve a test ride, call (231) 881-9488 or email info@pedegoPetoskey.com. Follow us on Facebook and visit our website at http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/dealers/Petoskey/.

About Pedego

Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 12 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at nearly 100 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

1/1
PedegoElectricBikes
5 months ago

Pedego San Diego brings energetic vibe to Downtown’s fashionable BRIC

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., July 5, 2017 — The first Pedego® Electric Bikes store in Downtown San Diego has opened a pop-up shop in front of their soon-to-be permanent location on the ground floor of the elegant new BRIC center on San Diego Bay. Pedego San Diego offers Pedego’s 12 stylish models of powerful electric bikes that enable riders to enjoy cruising all over town with ease. Pedego Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego San Diego is Pedego’s 98th store worldwide.

The Pedego San Diego pop-up shop offers free test rides, sales and rentals of the popular electric bikes. They're located at BRIC San Diego along with the Marriott Residence Inn, Spring Hill Inn and Suites Bayfront Hotels at Lane Field, just one block from the Santa Fe Depot train station. The store is open Sunday from Noon–6 p.m.; Monday from 10 a.m.–6 p.m.; Closed on Tuesday; and Wednesday through Saturday from 10 a.m.–6 p.m.

Store co-owners husband-and-wife Sean and Chelsea Chavez, and Sean’s dad Celso Chavez, are excited to bring Pedego electric bikes to Downtown San Diego, giving visitors and locals alike an easy, fun and green alternative to cars. “With Pedego electric bikes, you can discover more of this beautiful city without the hassles of parking or worrying about hills or headwinds,” Sean said.

From the store, riders can easily cruise to the city’s great landmarks, including the Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Balboa Park and museums, Old Town and Harbor and Shelter Islands. Riders can also take their bikes on the ferry to Coronado Island or bike to the island via the full 24-mile Bayshore Bikeway, which conveniently begins across the street from the store.

Pedego San Diego offers sales of all 12 Pedego Electric Bikes models that empower riders to zoom up hills and power through headwinds. All Pedego bikes have a 500-watt hub motor that helps riders cruise distances of 20 to 60 miles without getting tired and sweaty. Now available at the new San Diego store are California-styled cruisers, including the Pedego Platinum Interceptor, a fully loaded cruiser bike; the Pedego Interceptor, which boasts a 48-volt battery that propels riders with extra power; Pedego’s Comfort Cruiser, which is powered by a 36-volt battery for gentle help with hills; and the Pedego Tandem, the most stylish and powerful electric tandem available. Also available are the Trail Tracker fat-tire bike for riding on sand and gravel; the Ridge Rider electric mountain bike; the sleek City Commuter; the sturdy Stretch cargo bike that allows for extra cargo or an extra adult or two children to ride along; and the Latch, an ingenious folding bike, designed for portability and convenience. Rentals start at $20 per hour and $75 per day, depending on the model.

“San Diego’s famous sunshine and outdoor lifestyle make it a perfect home for a top-notch Pedego store,” said Pedego Electric Bikes CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. “Pedego riders will enjoy riding longer, farther and faster, seeing more of this great city without having to deal with traffic or parking.”

About Pedego San Diego

Pedego San Diego is the region’s premier dealer in Pedego Electric Bikes, offering a large selection of Pedego electric bikes sales, rentals, accessories and service. Test rides, rentals and sales are available at a nearby pop-up site during construction of the store’s permanent location in the elegant BRIC hotel complex, an exciting lifestyle destination in the heart of Downtown San Diego. Riders can cruise to the city’s great landmarks, including the Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Balboa Park and museums, Old Town and Harbor and Shelter Islands. Open Sunday Noon–6 p.m.; Monday 10 a.m.–6 p.m.; Closed on Tuesday; and Wednesday through Saturday 10 a.m.–6 p.m. Located at 900 Bayfront Ct., Suite 100, San Diego, CA 92101. To learn more and reserve a test ride, call (800) 604-7187 or email info@pedegoSD.com. Follow us on Facebook and visit our website at www.pedegosandiego.com.

About Pedego

Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 12 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at nearly 100 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

1/1
PedegoElectricBikes
9 months ago

Pedego’s growing family of fat-tire electric bikes are brash and bold as ever — with a size for almost everyone

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., March 22, 2017 — The original Pedego® Trail Tracker fat-tire trail bikes roared into the electric bike world two years ago bringing extra excitement to electric cycling. Pedego Electric Bikes today announced two new smaller-sized models of the Pedego Trail Tracker that will make bike riding on terrain as wild as sand, gravel or snow an exciting excursion for the whole family.

Available at Pedego stores and select electric bike dealers worldwide, the smaller Trail Trackers are specially sized and designed for smaller riders. These smaller 20” and 24” bikes round out the Trail Tracker line, which includes the original 26” Trail Tracker, a powerful bike that takes riders through all kinds of terrain for extra-exciting fun.

The Trail Tracker family is now available in three sizes to fit every member of the family:

· The 20” Trail Tracker — Designed for riders who are 4’11” to 5’3”. This bantam-sized Trail Tracker empowers smaller riders to zoom up and down the trail on exciting bike trips. Yet, the smallest of the Trail Tracker family is designed with safety in mind. It boasts a 36-volt, 11.6 amp-hour battery and is governed to a top speed of 12MPH — plenty of power to add thrills and fun while gentle enough for a less-experienced cyclist to manage. The bike’s throttle-only system allows riders to maintain manual control over their speeds. Available in striking matte black with neon orange rims, this rugged bike appeals to anyone seeking adventure.

· The 24” Trail Tracker — Designed for riders who are 5’4” to 5’9”. This feisty Trail Tracker is a little larger than the 20” Trail Tracker yet is designed to be more accessible than the larger 26” model. This size boasts the same advanced features as the larger bike, including a Pedal Assist LCD featuring Pedego’s exclusive PedalSense Technology™ — six levels of power that make automatic control of the bike more responsive than ever. The bike also has a throttle for easy manual control. Governed to a top speed of 20 MPH, the 36-volt, 11.6 amp-hour battery is a great fit for teens or smaller adults, providing plenty of power to keep up with bigger bikes while zooming up and down trails. Available in superhero-style matte black with matte black or shiny blue rims, this model is eye candy to all thrill seekers.

· The Original 26” Trail Tracker IV — Designed for riders over 5’5”. This sporty fat-tire bike is designed for riders over 5’5” tall who want to glide over sand, gravel or snow. This bike boasts 500 watts of acceleration and hill-climbing strength fueled by an integrated, down-tube 48-volt, 14 amp-hour lithium ion battery. Complete with LCD display and USB charging port, the Trail Tracker includes Pedego’s exclusive PedalSense Technology with six levels that make digital control of the bike more responsive than ever. The twist-and-go throttle adds instant speed for maximum command, and top-of-the-line SRAM disc brakes provide reliable stopping power. The bike’s enhanced frame geometry offers sporty handling and a relaxed, forward-riding position while leading the pack. Available in matte black with a choice of black, blue, red or green rims for extreme path appeal.

Riders will love the power and fun of these more-accessible Trail Tracker family additions. These high-quality electric bikes allow energetic riders to hop on and pedal away for exciting exploration and exercise, enabling smaller riders to zoom along with their taller friends and family members. Now couples and families can thrill to great journeys of discovery that will bring them closer. As cycling parents say, Families that tour together, endure together.

“Pedego is one of the only companies to offer smaller bikes. We aim to delight all our customers — of every size,” said Don DiCostanzo, CEO and co-founder, Pedego Electric Bikes. “The new low-set Pedego Trail Trackers are opening up the bike trails to more riders as everyone can ride along and make it a real family adventure.”

Pedego Electric Bikes also offers 10 “pedal or not” electric bike models, including cruisers, commuters, mountain bikes and specialty bikes including the Latch folding electric bike and Stretch cargo bike.

About Pedego
Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 10 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at more than 90 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

nestogonzo1
3 months ago

Can anyone recommend an affordable kids ebike?

oz davidov
10 months ago

electricbikereview.com i have a question for you, in usa, kids under the age 16 are allowed to ride electric bikes?

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Howdy, I'm not a lawyer nor am I super familiar with the law but in most places I've lived nobody seems to care if a kid is riding a scooter, electric skateboard or ebike... land of the fast and the furious, Nascar and the right to smack yourself as long as you don't damage property, in that case parents are usually held responsible. I believe officially that kids can ride electric "toys" that go up to 12 mph?

Dat Person Doe.
10 months ago

2495 for a bike with a 1x7 shimano tourney? gross. Even a mongoose dolomite has a drivetrain comparable.

Dat Person Doe.
9 months ago

The issue is is that I expected more for the money, like a sram x7 1x10 or a shimano xt or deore 1x11 since that wouldn't add more than 10% to the cost and would be more durable, shift better, run better, and just ride trails better. I just think such a drivetrain on such a high ticket bike is inexcusable.

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Yeah, Pedego charges more for their stuff but I believe they are bonded, insured, have custom frames, a big network of dealers and a solid warranty. Their stuff is a bit more legit and reliable which costs more... even if some of the components are basic

Ajemo Haltom
10 months ago

It's going to be awesome for the generation coming up to be able to get around on ebikes. My first big empowerment trip on a bike was taking my bmx 10 miles downhill to my little league baseball game I didn't have a car ride to. It will be nice for them not to have to think of distance/elevation being a barrier.

Ajemo Haltom
9 months ago

Composer too!? A virtuoso... That's what they say about talented people, they usually have many talents.

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

I completely agree and can relate. I had a Huffy when I was a kid and rode it everywhere... real sense of freedom and adventure. I started collecting golf balls out of the ditch near my house and made a small business cleaning them and selling them used. I rode to school, made a fort with friends, eventually got a mountain bike and saw the town where I grew up from a whole new perspective. One time, I stashed a guitar up there and invited a girl on a hike so I could play her a song I wrote! All because of bicycles :)

Joe Bagatti
10 months ago

The link is BROKEN, may want to update it

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Thanks Joe, I believe the site just went down for a bit. We had some server issues during an upgrade :D

Armin von Werner
10 months ago

Personally I think putting a brand name everywhere and multiple times is annoying. Once I've decided on a product and am showing this with the large logo on the frame, I don't need it everywhere else I look. And the price tag on this specific model? The speed at which kids grow you're looking at some major losses if you are going to sell it 1-2 years later. But that of course may not be an issue for some.

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Yeah, I feel ya... but if you have a couple kids or don't mind "losing" a bit of money to get your kid some healthy outdoors exposure, or maybe not have to wait for them on longer rides :P could be worth it

Lucas M
10 months ago

Im not actually interested in this bike, but i was having trouble with the site and when i tried to send a message in the contact me section the loading wheel would just spin forever.
amusing b/c of what the site is, but annoying.

Just wanted to alert you to the below issues and ask my question so i figured the most recent review would catch your attention. here is the message i attempted to send in the contact me section:
--
Hi i'm getting an error message and also have a question.

I have been researching ebikes for the past couple weeks. I see that often you recommend using a dealer, because they can offer support, maintenance etc. unfortunately most of the local dealers in nyc don't offer a lot of the more affordable models you have reviewed. Do you think it absolutely necessary to test ride and ebike/ buy it from a dealer?

Additionally you seem to be having a database error with some of your old reviews. have you taken them down because those bikes are no longer supported by the manufacturer? see the big cat hampton for example. the video is still up on your youtube channel, but access through your site is down. same results when using search tool as well. i get a "Error establishing a database connection" message.

Thanks and just wanted to give you a heads up. I appreciate all the hard work! So psyched to get an ebike soon!

Lucas

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Hey Lucas, the site went down for a bit today... having some database issues, sorry :/ hopefully fixed soon! My list of todo's is ginormous and I'd like to get it all done ASAP but rely on help from a programmer friend and try to balance new content with fixes and new features. As for your question, I think if you try a bike or two you can approximate a good decision for one you haven't tested. There are trade-offs, that's why I go in-depth with my reviews and try to do some high end and some lower end models. Hope this helps!

Dan Salls adventurers in life
10 months ago

great to see Court, this looks like a blast!

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Yeah, would have LOVED this as a kid... I was obsessed with mopeds and gocarts. I got a broken one from a friend and fixed it up with my Grandpa :D

n8tvbrn ed a
10 months ago

that intro, you know it was going to be a fun video

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Haha, yeah... this is a neat bike ;)

Honky Tonk
10 months ago

We need a full size bike with 20" tires. 26" is too big.

bullydawg81
9 months ago

I'm 5'9 ,Don't have long legs and would feel comfortable if I slip off the pedal the first thing I won't feel is my jewels hitting The frame.

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Pedego has a 24" fat bike (reviewed it today, will post soon), I actually like how it handles and feels. Some of their bikes are very large... but that's nice for larger people too. Why do you want a full sized frame with 20" wheels? Just curious, like lower frame height?

bullydawg81
10 months ago

Honky Tonk thank you Im glad to see I am not the only one that was thinking this as well..

John Moura
10 months ago

Add a banana seat and high rise bars for a super cool retro bike.

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

My neighbor had a banana seat on her bike growing up, never got to try it :/

Honky Tonk
10 months ago

Yeah banana seats were cool back in the day. So easy to do pop wheelies.

Seb K
10 months ago

First .

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

You did it!!1 Ask a question and I shall answer... unless I get distracted with work and miss it ;)