BULLS Cross Lite E Review

Bulls Cross Lite E Electric Bike Review
Bulls Cross Lite E
Bulls Cross Lite E 350 Watt Bosch Centerdrive Motor
Bulls Cross Lite E Bosch Power Pack 400 Battery
Bulls Cross Lite E Ergon Gp2 Ergonomic Grips With Bar Ends
Bulls Cross Lite E Front View Fuxon Led Lights
Bulls Cross Lite E Rear View Sks Fenders
Bulls Cross Lite E Bolt On Rear Rack 25kg Qr Seat Tube Collar
Bulls Cross Lite E 10 Speed Shimano Deore Xt
Bulls Cross Lite E Schwalbe Marathon Racer 700x38c
Bulls Cross Lite E Wellgo Platform Pedals Kickstand
Bulls Cross Lite E Geometry Sizing Chart
Bulls Cross Lite E Electric Bike Review
Bulls Cross Lite E
Bulls Cross Lite E 350 Watt Bosch Centerdrive Motor
Bulls Cross Lite E Bosch Power Pack 400 Battery
Bulls Cross Lite E Ergon Gp2 Ergonomic Grips With Bar Ends
Bulls Cross Lite E Front View Fuxon Led Lights
Bulls Cross Lite E Rear View Sks Fenders
Bulls Cross Lite E Bolt On Rear Rack 25kg Qr Seat Tube Collar
Bulls Cross Lite E 10 Speed Shimano Deore Xt
Bulls Cross Lite E Schwalbe Marathon Racer 700x38c
Bulls Cross Lite E Wellgo Platform Pedals Kickstand
Bulls Cross Lite E Geometry Sizing Chart

Summary

  • Fully loaded urban electric bicycle with great accessories for commuting including an aluminum rear rack, full length fenders with mud flaps and integrated LED lights
  • Relatively light weight at under 50 lbs, this is due in part to the nicer air suspension fork which includes lockout, ergonomic grips with bar ends further increase comfort
  • Upgraded hydraulic brakes provide excellent stopping power and are easy to line up if you take the wheels off for transport (both offer quick release skewers)
  • Balanced frame with battery and motor weight low and center, zippy feel but the Bosch motor produces a bit more whirring noise at higher RPM's than some hubs, battery and display panel are removable for safe storage and charging

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

BULLS

Model:

Cross Lite E

Price:

$3,699

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Motor and Battery, 5 Years Frame

Availability:

Europe, Canada, United States, Australia, New Zealand

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

48 lbs (21.77 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.2 lbs (2.35 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminium

Frame Sizes:

17.7 in (44.95 cm)18.9 in (48 cm)19.7 in (50.03 cm)20.9 in (53.08 cm)22.8 in (57.91 cm)

Frame Types:

High-Step, Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Gloss White Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour NCX CR Air Suspension with 60 mm Travel and Lockout

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Skewer

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore XT, 11-36

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore SL-M78-10-I Triggers on Right

Cranks:

FSA Cranks, Chainring Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo Alloy Platform with Rubber Tread

Headset:

Tapered

Stem:

7050 Aluminum, Stem 305

Handlebar:

Low Rise Aluminum

Brake Details:

Shimano BR-M447 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front and 160 mm Rear Rotors, Shimano Levers

Grips:

Ergon GP2 Ergonomic with Bull Horn Bar Ends

Saddle:

Prologo Zero Space

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Spokes:

14G Front 13G Rear, Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Marathon Racer, 700 x 38c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Performance Line RaceGuard LiteSkin, Reflective Sidewall Stripes

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

SKS Plastic Fenders, Integrated Fuxon LED Lights, Bolt-On Carry Rack with Spring Latch, Pannier Blockers and a Mini-Pump, Rack is Rated at 25 kg Max Weight (55 lbs), Flick Bell, Slap Guard on Right Chain Stay

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line, Gen 2

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.6 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

85 miles (137 km)

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The BULLS Cross Lite E is a well equipped commuter or even trekking electric bicycle platform. It’s powered by the massively popular Bosch drive system with a large easy to use display that’s removable, battery that can be charged on or off the frame and a mid-drive motor that measures wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque up to 2,000 times per second! Riding this and other Bosch ebikes feels very responsive and zippy but the geared design produces a bit more noise – a distinct high pitch whir that becomes more pronounced as your pedal RPM increases. Honestly, there aren’t too many things to complain about on this bike… I feel that the mid-$3k price point is good considering it’s available in five frame sizes including a high-step and low-step frame, you get an upgraded air fork, full length fenders, upgraded grips with bar ends from Ergon (perfect for resting your hands on longer rides), a cargo rack with mini-pump and integrated LED lights. It’s packed with value but may be difficult to locate in person if you live in the USA. BULLS is new to the States but has been operating in Europe and parts of Asia Pacific since 1994. I enjoyed riding this and other models from them, some of which used different motor systems.

If you’re someone who wants to ride their bike to work daily in rain or shine, cold or extreme heat and not get sweaty, this would be a great platform. The range is easily 35+ miles per charge (up to 100 in lower assist levels) and since you can take the battery off for charging at your desk it’s convenient, even if you have to park outside on a public rack. For me, the Bosch Intuvia display has always been easy to understand and use and I love that it has a small button pad that’s external to the main display which sort of replicates the important buttons like up and down on pedal assist. Since the lights are wired in on this ebike you can control them with the Intuvia display and there are readouts to help you plan your trip which dynamically estimate range based on recent use and the level of assist chosen. And again, I like that the display comes off so you don’t have to leave it outside on the rack with your bike. Other highlights are the relatively low weight (considering all of the accessories you get), this is thanks in part to the upgraded air suspension fork which includes lockout for efficiency on smooth flat surfaces. I love the reflective sidewall strip on the tires and that they offer puncture protection. If you can find this bike in the correct size and are willing to spend a bit more than a hub driven ebike, you’ll get a great Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, quick release wheels and other little upgrades like the bell and bottle cage bosses which are standard on all sizes and frame types. I think BULLS did a great job here and even the color scheme is appealing in a way that’s not overly feminine or masculine. For those who want even more comfort, consider swapping out the default seat post with a suspension model like the Thudbuster ST or more expensive but incredible Body Float.

Pros:

  • Available in two frame styles (high-step diamond and step-thru) as well as five frame sizes 45cm, 48cm, 50cm, 53cm and 58 cm for improved fit and comfort
  • Excellent weight distribution with the battery and motor low and center on the frame, this improves balance, handling and makes maintenance easier and more familiar to shops
  • At 48 to 50 lbs depending on the frame style and size chosen, this is a relatively light weight electric bicycle (especially considering it has fenders, a rear rack with mini-pump, kickstand and lights), the air suspension fork helps a lot
  • Upgraded Ergon brand ergonomic grips with bar ends for changing hand positions on longer rides, this combined with the suspension fork adds a lot of comfort, consider a 30.9 mm Body Float seat post for an even nicer ride if you get a sore neck and back, Thudbuster makes a Short Travel ST version that would also work and cost less
  • Awesome Schwalbe Marathon Racer tires with RaceGuard puncture protection and LiteSkin reflective sidewall strips, this pairs with the integrated LED lights for safer night and morning commuting
  • The Bosch battery pack is removable for reduced weight when lifting the frame, this also makes charging and safe storage of the battery pack easier (store in cool dry locations vs. extreme heat and cold)
  • The Bosch motor is extremely efficient, on a commuter bike like this with smooth hybrid tires it should offer 35+ miles… up to 100 if you’re using the lower levels of assist and aren’t climbing much
  • There’s a cool range readout on the display panel that samples how you’ve been riding and dynamically estimates how far you can go in each level of assist (there are four levels), this helps you plan and conserve on longer rides
  • The Bosch drive system can sense when you shift gears and it halts power to the motor momentarily to reduce mashing (when the chain strains and slips between sprockets), it’s not perfect but better than nothing!
  • The Intuvia display panel is backlit, easy to read, removable, has a Micro USB charging port on the side to help maintain your phone or other portable electronics and works with a remote button pad that’s easy to click without taking your left hand off the grip, in this case the display also activates your bike lights!
  • The motor is extremely responsive and relies on a controller measuring wheel speed, pedal cadence and torque up to 2,000 times per second! It makes starting quick and easy, even up hills
  • I like that the fenders are really tight and narrow but still go all the way (especially up front) to reduce splashing and keep your shins and feet dry
  • All models have bottle cage bosses! This means you can add a bottle cage, mini-pump or gear box easily
  • Prologo Zero Space performance saddle for more active riding, this is a name brand nicer seat that isn’t as squishy but won’t chaff your legs or be uncomfortable to pedal with, nice upgrade for a commuter bike that’s more performance oriented

Cons:

  • Only available in one color scheme but I think it looks pretty nice and sort of unisex, matte black with gloss white and metallic blue accents
  • The motor design is geared and when you pedal at higher speeds there’s a distinct high pitch whirring sound, it’s not too bad but some gearless motors and other centerdrive systems from Brose and Impulse are quieter
  • The BULLS electric bikes aren’t available at many retail outlets in the USA yet, they have been operating in Europe and parts of Asia for many years (since 1994) but if you live in the US the Cross Lite E may be difficult to find and test ride

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More BULLS Reviews

BULLS Aminga TR 1 Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A full suspension, cross country style, electric mountain bike made just for the ladies with shorter reach, available in two smaller size options, features a turquoise fuchsia colorway. Sturdy Suntour XCR 34 air suspension fork with remote lockout for easy transitions from rough…...

BULLS TWENTY4 E Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A tough, sporty looking, high-quality, kids electric bike that can reach ~15.5 mph with four levels of pedal assist, smaller wheels keep the frame low and approachable. Premium accessories including tires from Schwalbe, a Shimano Altus 8-speed drivetrain, and Tektro hydraulic disc…...

BULLS Cross E Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Well priced considering the quality Bosch-made electric drive system, four frame size choices, and three frame styles (high, mid, and low-step). Integrated LED lights and premium Continental tires with reflective sidewall stripes help to keep you…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 2 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

One of the cleanest looking full suspension cross country electric bikes I've reviewed, the battery and motor are built into the frame and match the matte black paint perfectly. Extra large battery capacity for longer rides, EnergyBus magnetic charging standard works on or off…...

BULLS SIX50 E 1.5 Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A hardtail trail ready e-bike with comfortable plus sized tires and a spring suspension fork (with lockout), sturdy tapered head tube, rigid thru-axles, and Boost. Capable as a commuting platform if you prefer a mountain bike vs. hybrid or city…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

An active, sporty looking, commuter style electric bike with low standover height, available in three frame sizes to improve fit and comfort. High-end drivetrain and motor systems, you get eleven gears with a tough mountain bike level…...

BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

An all-mountain electric bike with plus sized tires for improved stability, traction and comfort, 150 mm air suspension with compression and rebound adjust. Battery and motor mount design are tighter than older Bosch systems, weight is kept low…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A high quality full suspension e-mountain bike that's also a speed pedelec (capable of 28 mph top speeds), solid hydraulic disc brakes, wide thru-axles with Boost Technology. Adjustable 150 mm RockShox suspension front and rear, four-bar rear swing arm to reduce brake…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 3 Carbon 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A Carbon fiber electric cross country mountain bike with premium components and ultra-integrated motor and battery system, excellent weight distribution. The Brose motor is quiet and responsive offering up to 90 Nm of torque output,…...

BULLS DAIL-E Grinder Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

One of the first Gravel Grinder style electric bikes to make it to America! Made with premium components, high performance lights and a purpose built frame in three sizes. Capable of high speed 28 mph performance, the Bosch centerdrive motor measures bike speed, pedal…...

BULLS SIX50 E2 Street Review

  • MSRP: $3,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A fully equipped speed commuter capable of 28 mph operation, running on the proven Bosch Performance mid-drive motor and updated 500 watt hour Samsung battery. Extra large 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes offer smooth solid stops without requiring exorbitant hand…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A versatile urban electric bike well suited to commuting, touring and trekking because of its efficient mid-drive motor and larger than average battery capacity, durable internal gearing and belt drive. Available in five frame sizes and three frame styles including wave, mid-step and high-step diamond…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A stealthy full suspension all-mountain electric bike with longer travel 150 mm suspension, fully adjustable air fork by RockShox, color matched to frame. Larger 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack to assist with steeper climbs and longer…...

BULLS Monster E FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Full suspension fat bike with a high quality mid-drive motor from Bosch and their updated 500 watt hour battery pack for extended range. Cool fluorescent paint job that extends all the way through the fork, rear shock housing,…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

Available in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step and mid-step) with an adjustable stem, active-comfort saddle and ergonomic grips, this bike can fit well and feel good at speed and over long distances. Capable of 28 mph top speeds, this is a Class 3 electric bike with an…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all-mountain electric bike with beautifully integrated battery, motor and display... it blends in more than most other e-mountain bikes I've tested and runs quiet. Sturdy 15 mm thru axle in the front and 12 mm axle in the rear…...

BULLS SIX50 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A loaded full suspension mountain bike with premium electric drivetrain from Bosch offering 75 Nm of climbing torque with the CX motor and a 400 watt hour Samsung battery. RockShox air suspension with 120 mm travel front and rear for solid trail or all…...

BULLS Monster E S Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

Premium hardtail electric fat bike with all the fixins, highlights include rear rack bosses, tubeless-ready tires and punched out rims, RockShox air fork with remote lockout and high torque Bosch CX motor. Quality 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano for excellent stopping power and modulation, impressive…...

BULLS Outlaw E45 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty looking, fairly comfortable speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speeds, it's running on an optimized geared hub motor design with heat pipe technology for maximum performance. Unique mid-mount battery box fills the main frame triangle keeping weight low and centered while…...

BULLS Sturmvogel E EVO Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautifully designed urban electric bike painted white for visibility and modern appeal, white walled tires, reflective sidewall stripes, LED lights. Extra sturdy and durable thanks to a 15 mm thru-axle on the front wheel (with…...

BULLS TWENTY9 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension, Bosch powered, cross country style electric bike with efficient 29" wheels, it's available in three sizes for good fit and would feel taller and larger for riders with long legs but still fits some shorter riders given the angled top tube. Quick release for both wheels ads convenience for fixes and transporting the bike, I love…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS Enduro 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An enduro style full suspension electric mountain bike with longer 160 mm suspension travel, seat post dropper, 27.5" wheelset and premium hydraulic brakes. Downtube-integrated battery pack is out of sight and keeps weight low and centered across the…...


Rachel
1 year ago

Where can I buy a BULLS Cross Lite E in the United States?

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Rachel! There are a few shops scattered about (and I’m sure more on the way). BULLS has a dealer map tool on their website that should let you find the closest one and I believe one or two of the shops will sell online and ship to you. Feel free to contact me for more help if you can’t find one and I’ll reach out to BULLS directly to see what the deal is.

Reply
Len
1 year ago

This is a great bike and we sold quite a few of them. Would like to mention few things that was missed in the written content. This particular model has Bosch CX drive which is a superior drive compared to the older performance line. It’s one of the lightest, fully featured commuter ebike in our store. Felt Sport-E is lighter but it doesn’t have the suspension fork or the stury rack.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Great feedback, thanks!

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

e-boy
1 day ago

Bulls Cross Lite E Wave

Over50
3 months ago

Hi Over50, I've really enjoyed reading this thread and it has helped me to make the decision to buy a Trekking 4.0 - will hopefully be ordering one once Hurricane Irma blows through. I will be using the bike much like you do, I have a 10 mile one-way commute to work, mostly flat, only climb is to cross a causeway. I was originally thinking I HAD TO have a 28mph bike until I saw your commuting video, and your figures on commute times between your two bikes.

The 4.0 really hits all my wants except for the CX motor, but now I think I can live with that.

I'm 5'10", 165lbs with a 31" inseam so am thinking I'm going to get the small size (52cm).

Just wondering if you had any advice for me, or if you wanted to add anything else about this bike and your experiences with it so far?

Thanks again for the info you've already provided.

Yikes. Hurricane Irma. That's a scary storm. I hope you get through that in good form. Do you have any dealers locally? I think the 52 might be a good choice but obviously its best to try before you buy (wasn't really possible for me). The 48 is working out for me but I think it might be a tad small and I am a bit shorter than you. I'd hate to hear you decided based on my experience but then find the bike doesn't fit after you've already ordered and taken delivery. I wish I had a chance to try the 52 just to know for sure that 48 is small (or not).

I think with the CX motor it is a matter of trade-offs. I like that it is smaller than the 28 mph motor and most manufacturers have blended it really well by tilting it upwards. And then of course the semi-integrated battery is more appealing vs one that is not integrated. Many of the bikes with the CX motor are aesthetically more appealing to me vs the speed motor. The more appealing design coupled with my theory that a slower bike wouldn't affect my average commute times led me to look at bikes with the CX motor. At the top of that list was the 4.0 Trekking and the Bulls Cross Lite E. I had no dealer for the Bulls locally.

If you don't need the higher speeds and like me you have a lot of start/stop riding then I think it is a really good compromise (lower price, a bit lighter, better looks, higher torque, longer range due to lower speed but sacrifice top end speed). The 4.0 Trekking will be more than enough for your commute but if your riding outside of your commute is going to allow more open road and faster cruising I'd suggest you try out some of the speed pedelecs before you pull the trigger on the purchase. I'm very satisfied with the bike overall but I am really only using it for two purposes: my city commute and weekend neighborhood "zipping around". Neither of those uses has much open road cruising. I take full advantage of the high torque with fast acceleration but sacrifice the top end speed. And if you have to haul stuff: I haven't really found a good pannier option. My trunk bags are working well but they are small and I still have to carry some sort of backpack.

Ravi Kempaiah
3 months ago

I'm 5"4" and I travel alone in my truck camper with my two dogs. I am looking for an ebike that I can travel to town and the store here at home but when I'm traveling or going to the forest here I can do some gravel roads and maybe some easy trails. I've looked at the Bulls Cross Lite and also the Haibike Xduro 3.0 and I can't make up my mind on which would be better. I camp on a lot of BLM land and forest service roads that do not have pavement. Help!

Any TREK dealer can order this for you.

https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/mountain-bikes/electric-mountain-bikes/powerfly/powerfly-5-womens/p/2924630-2018/?colorCode=grey_white

It is specifically designed for women and the store can fit it with rear rack. The reach, standover height, etc are deigned for women.
The knobby tires can handle light off road and still perform well on road.
TREK literally has 1000's of dealers across the nation.

Debbie W
3 months ago

I'm 5"4" and I travel alone in my truck camper with my two dogs. I am looking for an ebike that I can travel to town and the store here at home but when I'm traveling or going to the forest here I can do some gravel roads and maybe some easy trails. I've looked at the Bulls Cross Lite and also the Haibike Xduro 3.0 and I can't make up my mind on which would be better. I camp on a lot of BLM land and forest service roads that do not have pavement. Help!

Over50
4 months ago

Lots of people with RV's have a ladder up the back, and some of them hoist bikes up there and chain them up..

Some of the hitch mounted platform bike carriers also have ramp attachments (like my Thule Easy Fold) where you can roll the bike up onto the rack. I wouldn't limit my choicest to the lightest bike just solely based on the thought you have to lift the bike onto a rack.

Ravi posted the Bulls Cross Lite E as an option. I would have seriously considered purchase of that bike if I had a dealer in my area. Court had a positive review of that bike.

Ravi Kempaiah
4 months ago

As I stated in my title, I'm a 5-foot 1-inch female who will be traveling alone in my RV across the country. I want to make the best bike selection that I can. Fortunately I have the funds to buy any bike that I want. What I want is a bike that I can lift onto the rack myself. I want to step through, and I want to be able to haul a few simple groceries. I want the most power I can get at the lightest-weight. I want the longest lasting battery I can get and I want to be able to trail ride as well as street ride. I don't intend to do any heavy duty mountain biking on rocky trails or anything like that, but I would like to be able to head out on relatively smooth dirt trails from time to time.

What do you think would be the best bike for me? I am brand new to ebikes and I am clueless!

Lightest bike: Easy Go Street at 42lbs. https://emotionbikesusa.com/easygo-street/
keep an extra battery and you're good for 25 miles.

Moderate performance, price, and weight but wide range of availability and service:
Trek Lift+ https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/electric-bikes/lift/lift-lowstep/p/1325601-2017/?colorCode=white

Felt Verza E: http://www.feltbicycles.com/USA/2016/Bikes/electric/road/verzae-30-s.aspx

High-performance, top-notch components, sub 50lbs bikes:

http://www.feltbicycles.com/USA/2016/Bikes/electric/road/Verza-e-10.aspx and http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/cross-lite-e-wave-new-my17/

In all cases, if you remove the battery, the weight will reduce by 5-7lbs.

All of them (BH, Felt, Trek and BULLS) have dealers all over the country. Try it out. Make sure you are comfortable lifting it up and loading all by yourself.
I am pretty sure you can find Trek and Felt dealers who can get you those bikes.

Craig Crowder
4 months ago

Affected models:

-2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 2 27.5 PLUS
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 2 FS 27.5 PLUS
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 3 27.5 PLUS
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 3 29
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 45 FS 27.5
- 2017 BULLS CROSS LITE E
- 2017 BULLS DAIL E GRINDER 45
- 2017 BULLS SIX50 E 1.5
- 2017 BULLS SIX50 E 2 STREET
- 2017 BULLS SIX50+ E FS 2 27.5
- 2017 BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 27.5

Craig Crowder
4 months ago

I've had my Bulls SIX50+ E FS 3 about 3 weeks now and I've ridden it about 16 times for a total of 170 miles. I've been very happy with the ride and performance. Luckily for me the LBS notified me that the manufacturer notified him of the crank arm bolts coming loose. I checked them and they were very loose and I tightened them. About 4 rides later the left crank arm came off while I was riding and I was lucky to be sitting on the saddle when it came off. I was able to find the bolt and put back together. The LBS had said that he was waiting for a "Bulls" fix but I guess they haven't got back to him yet. I'm thinking of using blue loctite after I clean the threads, what do you think?

****UPDATE 8/4/17****

SR Suntour has a "corrective action" on the cranks depending on the Bulls bike model number and the model number of the crank arm. From Suntour:

"SR SUNTOUR has found that the cranks supplied on some BULLS E-Bike Models(See attachment for complete list) tend to loosen over time.
Re-tightening the crank only works for a short time then becomes loose again. SR SUNTOUR has therefore decided to have all crank arms and bolts
replaced."

Affected models:

-2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 2 27.5 PLUS
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 2 FS 27.5 PLUS
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 3 27.5 PLUS
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 3 29
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 45 FS 27.5
- 2017 BULLS CROSS LITE E
- 2017 BULLS DAIL E GRINDER 45
- 2017 BULLS SIX50 E 1.5
- 2017 BULLS SIX50 E 2 STREET
- 2017 BULLS SIX50+ E FS 2 27.5
- 2017 BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 27.5

1/1
Linda Baer
5 months ago

We've been loving the Wave frame models from Bulls. Check out the Bulls Cross Lite E and the Bulls Lacuba Evo E8. Super easy to mount and dismount and very much in the upright position. Go for the Lacuba if you're looking for the longest battery life. Brose batteries go forever.
I did super like the lacuba, but it's a bit pricey. I'm planning to get the Kalkhoff Agutta B7 in a couple weeks. I think I have done my research and decided it has all the bells and whistles at an affordable price...and it fits me. Thanks so much everyone for your feedback!

San Diego Fly Rides
6 months ago

We've been loving the Wave frame models from Bulls. Check out the Bulls Cross Lite E and the Bulls Lacuba Evo E8. Super easy to mount and dismount and very much in the upright position. Go for the Lacuba if you're looking for the longest battery life. Brose batteries go forever.

Ravi Kempaiah
6 months ago

Just came back from the Ebike expo. I had a blast! I was surprised at the number of bikes that fit me. Though the following bikes fit me, I eliminated them for various reasons one izip, two Raleigh bikes, gazelle, trek Neko, bulls cross lite, and the Electra townie (so comfortable!). I did like the trek lift+, smart motion Ecity, and the bulls lacuna evo E8. They did not have a Kalkhoff Agutta B7 but I did discover that the Bosch high performance motor that comes with it is amazing! Comments on my final four are welcome. You guys have been a big help in my search for a bike. Your time and expertise is much appreciated. Thank you!

Townie Go
Lacuba EVO E8
Crosslite-E with the new Bosch CX motor.

All great bikes. Glad the bike expo was useful.

Since kozy's carry a lot of the bikes you mentioned, you should visit them.

Linda Baer
6 months ago

Just came back from the Ebike expo. I had a blast! I was surprised at the number of bikes that fit me. Though the following bikes fit me, I eliminated them for various reasons one izip, two Raleigh bikes, gazelle, trek Neko, bulls cross lite, and the Electra townie (so comfortable!). I did like the trek lift+, smart motion Ecity, and the bulls lacuna evo E8. They did not have a Kalkhoff Agutta B7 but I did discover that the Bosch high performance motor that comes with it is amazing! Comments on my final four are welcome. You guys have been a big help in my search for a bike. Your time and expertise is much appreciated. Thank you!

JayVee
6 months ago

I know there was another thread about adding wider tires and what the bike could accommodate w/out changing fenders and/or rims. Did you stick with the 38C? Do you know how wide you can go on your bike w/out modifying fenders etc? Its odd that (at least in the US), Haibike put the Super Moto X tires on their 20mph bike but 38C on the speed pedelec. Seems like it should be the other way around. If I end up buying the 5.0, I'd definitely want to add a wider tire if possible.

Currently I like the Bulls Cross Lite E as my 2nd (backup) e-bike which also has 38C but is a class 1. Court's reviews of the bike have been pretty favorable (he indicates that it wasn't too hard to sustain 23mph on the bike). Unfortunately I have no local Bulls dealers and I wanted to buy my 2nd bike from a local dealer this time.

Thus I'd default to my 2nd choice which is the Haibike XDuro Trekking 5.0 (my local Trek shop is also a Haibike dealer) but I'd want to add a wider tire even if I can only go to 40C. Distant 3rd and 4th choices are the Specialized Vado 6.0 (local dealer) and the R&M Roadster (no local dealer).

There's not really a lot of clearance with the fenders. I suspect you could put on 42Cs or maybe even 45Cs. I suggest you get a Thubuster. If you want to keep the same panniers, and be able to swap between bikes, you can use the XLC Carrymore adaptor plate & surrounding O ring. Look up Piper109's posts for the adaptor. He found it on eBay, I think. But he had to search a while for a supplier willing to ship to the US. The O ring is even more difficult to find. If you use the adaptor plate for a trunk bag, you can no longer use the panniers with the original rack (even if you have the right size hooks). I tried in the store: doesn't work. With the external O ring it might work, but needs to be tested.

But first check that you'll get the same rack as us (strongly suspect you will). In the EU there are very little differences between the 5.0 and 6.0, except for the drive. You should be aware that Haibike's S-Pedelec models have the lights on constantly and they can't be turned off. It's a nice safety feature, but uses up about 1.5 to 2% battery per hour. That's according to tests performed in my Kitchen, but it's probably fairly realistic.

Edit: Check this thread for the adaptor plate:

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/two-new-trekkings-need-advice-on-a-few-things.13372/

Over50
6 months ago

...The 700C x 38C tires on the Trekking don't absorb much, and the Suntour fork only helps with the really big bumps. There are a lot of small country roads here which are poorly paved, and the bike rattles a lot....

I know there was another thread about adding wider tires and what the bike could accommodate w/out changing fenders and/or rims. Did you stick with the 38C? Do you know how wide you can go on your bike w/out modifying fenders etc? Its odd that (at least in the US), Haibike put the Super Moto X tires on their 20mph bike but 38C on the speed pedelec. Seems like it should be the other way around. If I end up buying the 5.0, I'd definitely want to add a wider tire if possible.

Currently I like the Bulls Cross Lite E as my 2nd (backup) e-bike which also has 38C but is a class 1. Court's reviews of the bike have been pretty favorable (he indicates that it wasn't too hard to sustain 23mph on the bike). Unfortunately I have no local Bulls dealers and I wanted to buy my 2nd bike from a local dealer this time.

Thus I'd default to my 2nd choice which is the Haibike XDuro Trekking 5.0 (my local Trek shop is also a Haibike dealer) but I'd want to add a wider tire even if I can only go to 40C. Distant 3rd and 4th choices are the Specialized Vado 6.0 (local dealer) and the R&M Roadster (no local dealer).

Over50
6 months ago

...Tubeless also plays a big part in the equation also...I think that tubeless technology has gotten to the point where there is no reason that e bikes should not benefit from it and I hope that soon the manufacturers will spec it on their bikes. Unfortunately it is kind of expensive to switch over as you need new rims and tires but if they came at the OEM level the cost would not be much if at all more. And you can still run tubes if you want and carry one in case of flats.

I've been wondering what it takes to go tubeless. I noticed some recent bikes like the Bulls Cross Lite E and perhaps the R&M Roadster (if I recall correctly) say they are tubeless ready. So I'll show my ignorance here quoting Court's recent review of the Cross Lite E and asking a followup question:

https://electricbikereview.com/bulls/cross-lite-e-step-thru/
"and the tubeless ready wheelset could help you shave off even more weight if you decide to convert from stock inner tubes."

So what exactly does that mean? What does one have to change on the bike, if spec'd for tubeless by the OEM, and what are the benefits/pitfalls of making the change?

Over50
6 months ago

It doesn't quite meet your criteria of not looking like an ebike but the battery does blend pretty well: I've got my eyes and am considering (as a 2nd commuter) the Bulls Cross Lite E. Bosch system, class 1 and carries some pretty nice specs according to Court's recent review. My preference is the high step although there is a low step (Court's review) and the wave:

Evan Profit
5 months ago

Why do you have to still pedal? I have an electric long board, I rarely ever have to kick. Are there Ebikes you don't have to pedal?! Lame...

joes joey
1 year ago

nice!! seems like a good bike!

melonbarmonster
1 year ago

$3,650

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

I was told $3,699 but maybe that's slightly off?

DrZarkloff
1 year ago

I'd like to know how well it would pedal if you had to rely on human power. The gear ratio doesn't look like it would work well. It looks more like a moped gear ratio. They work good as long as it runs but you can rely on the human pedalling.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Surprisingly, even without power many of the higher end electric bikes are fun to ride. Right now I've been riding a Stromer ST1 Limited around town (many times unpowered so my friend can keep up) and also a Specialized Turbo Levo Expert (which I took up a mountain trail unpowered and did fine with). I'm in pretty good shape and I know how to shift well but the extra ~20 lbs isn't a deal killer for me. The gear range on the Bulls Cross Lite seemed pretty standard, didn't have me concerned during the demo ride

Jone Gomez
1 year ago

The only problem that I see with E-bikes nowadays, is that it doesn't matter what you get, you'll sure find another model/brand that has something more, regardless the price tag, which is good because that only means we are experiencing the boom of E-bikes and that's a good thing for future improvements. Good times 👍

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Not yet, I haven't seen many in shops but am in touch with Cannondale to check it out hopefully soon

Jone Gomez
1 year ago

Wow that looks neat, have you reviewed that one already? Although not cheap the price point is not that crazy, which only makes more attractive.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Yeah, there are lots of sizes, colors, levels of components and design approaches. I like the Cannondale Centro-E with the Lefty shock for example, neat alternative that would probably offer a good city experience: http://goo.gl/7qCi5z

ilikewasabe
1 year ago

basically with that additional usb port, its the perfect vehicle to hunt some pokemons!!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Haha! Yeah... this exactly XD

name surname
1 year ago

Really nice review and filming dude! Underrated channel for sure..

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Thanks, doing my best and always experimenting with new ways to shoot and really show what's going on with the systems. More reviews to come! I'm actually behind on posting due to some website updates and maintenance :O

LiveCheapAndProsper
1 year ago

You might have added that a step through also offers the advantage of steeping through the frame when luggage or a child on the back, makes swinging your leg over, a near impossibility. Sadly, I don't see any value for money in the Bulls Cross Lite, think something like a Raleigh Motus Cross Bar (albeit 250 Watt Bosch) at half its price, will get a commuter from A to B just as quickly, and perhaps more comfortable, judging by the look of the bulls seat. I realize if you start critiquing the value of bikes, you won't get to review so many ebikes, but the outlandish costs of some ebikes, seem detrimental to the movement into greener transportation. Apart from that, your reviews as always are excellent. Thank you.

LiveCheapAndProsper
1 year ago

Having owned 6 ebikes, tells me that you have made poor choices, not that your experienced. My last ebike (under $1500) lasted me 10 years before I decided I needed an upgrade. My current steed is used to travel to work so I need dependability. Its an old steel frame bike (I detest aluminium bikes) with Mac 500/1000w and 20AH LifePO4 that has done its job admirably without a single hiccup for over a year (4000+ km). Given my $1000 conversion meets 100% of my needs, the Bulls offers me no advantages for the extra $2-3K. Perhaps it does for you, but it doesn't for me, period.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Yeah, this was an interesting bike to cover because it uses the Bosch drive system with 350 watts for the US which has historically been priced at or above $4k and not necessarily available with so many extras. The Haibike Trekking models from 2015 were both $4k+ for example and very similar: https://electricbikereview.com/brand/haibike/page/2/ but now many bikes are getting cheaper. I agree that if there was a smaller and lighter 250 watt Bosch motor it could be a great choice for an efficient bike like this

LivingLifeElectric
1 year ago

Looks like they really paid attention to the details...

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Yeah, I think they dialed this one in. Love that it's available in five sizes (three high-step and three step-thru)

Simon Colby
1 year ago

20 tooth front sprocket! Nice!!