Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Review

Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Electric Bike Review
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Brose Trail Tune Ebike Motor
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat 36 Volt Ebike Battery Control Pad
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Sip Grip Locking Grips Handlebar
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Rockshox Bluto Rl Solo Air Suspension Fork
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Zee Cage Ii With Swat Tool
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Sram Guide R Hydraulic Disc 200 Mm
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Command Post Dropper Seat Post
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Ground Control 4 6 Tires
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat 10 Speed Sram Dx
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat 12 Mm Rear Thru Axle 180 Mm Rotor
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat 4 Amp Ebike Charger Magnetic
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Electric Bike Review
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Brose Trail Tune Ebike Motor
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat 36 Volt Ebike Battery Control Pad
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Sip Grip Locking Grips Handlebar
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Rockshox Bluto Rl Solo Air Suspension Fork
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Zee Cage Ii With Swat Tool
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Sram Guide R Hydraulic Disc 200 Mm
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Command Post Dropper Seat Post
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat Ground Control 4 6 Tires
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat 10 Speed Sram Dx
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat 12 Mm Rear Thru Axle 180 Mm Rotor
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp Fat 4 Amp Ebike Charger Magnetic

Summary

  • A hardtail, fat tire electric bike with high-volume 4.6" tires, four frame size choices, and an extensive network of dealers in the United States
  • Sturdy thru-axles provide stiffness and strength, the RockShox Bluto air fork provides comfort with lots of adjustability, dropper seat post offers 12 positions
  • One of the leading designs for motor, battery, and wire integration... the bike is stealthy looking and rides quiet thanks to the Brose motor with belt system
  • Minimalist control panel, you have to reach down to the left side of the frame to change assist levels, the LED battery readout cannot be turned off and is distracting

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Specialized

Model:

Turbo Levo Comp Fat

Price:

$5,000

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Sand and Snow, Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Battery and Motor, Lifetime Frame and Fork

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

52.3 lbs (23.72 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.5 lbs (2.94 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.61 lbs (2.99 kg)

Frame Material:

Specialized A1 Aluminum Alloy, Forged and Braced Motor Mount

Frame Sizes:

15.5 in (39.37 cm)17.5 in (44.45 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)21.5 in (54.61 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Medium 17.5 Measurements: 17.5" Seat Tube, 22" Reach, 29.25" Stand Over Height, 30" Width, 75" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Satin/Gloss Charcoal with Rocket Red Accents

Frame Fork Details:

RockShox Bluto RL Solo Air Suspension, 100 mm Travel, Compression Adjust with Lockout, Rebound Adjust, 150 mm Hub Length, 15 mm Thru-Axle Stealth Maxle

Frame Rear Details:

Stout XC, SRAM XD Driver Body, Sealed Cartridge Bearings, 148 mm Hub Length, 12 mm Thru-Axle

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 SRAM GX Derailleur with Locking Clutch, Sunrace 11-40 Tooth Cassette

Shifter Details:

SRAM GX Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Custom Alloy Arms, 32 Tooth Chainring

Pedals:

Alloy Platform

Headset:

Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2" Threadless, Campy Style Upper, Sealed Cartridge Bearings

Stem:

Specialized 3D Forged Alloy, 60 mm Length, 4-Bolt, 6-Degree Rise, 31.8 mm Clamp, Two 10 mm Spacers, Two 5 mm Spacers

Handlebar:

Specialized, 6061 Alloy, 6-Degree Upsweep, 8-Degree Backsweep, 27 mm Rise, 750 mm Width

Brake Details:

SRAM Guide R Hydraulic Disc with 200 mm Front Rotor and 180 mm Rear Rotor, 4 Piston Calipers with Metallic Pads, SRAM Guide R Two-Finger Levers with Finger Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Specialized Sip Grip, Light Lock-On, Half-Waffle, S/M: Regular Thickness, L/XL: XL Thickness

Saddle:

Body Geometry Henge Sport, Steel Rails, 143 mm

Seat Post:

Command Post IRcc Dropper with 125 mm Travel, Micro-Height Adjustable, Alien Head Design, Bottom Mount Cable Routing, Remote SRL Lever on Left

Seat Post Length:

100 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Stout XC, Hookless Alloy, Punched Out, Single Wall, 90 mm Inner Width, Sleeve Joint, 32 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, Butted, 2.0/1.8/2.0 mm, Black

Tire Brand:

Specialized Ground Control, 26" x 4.6"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

5 to 20 PSI, 04. to 1.4 BAR

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Plastic Chain Guide, Zee Cage II Right Bottle Holder with SWAT Tool, Integrated Rubberized Slap Guard, Rubber Fork Crown Bumpers on Downtube, Plastic Skid Plate on Bottom Bracket, Optional Replacement Battery Pack $800, Optional 1.3 lb Portable 1.6 Amp Charger

Other:

Removable Downtube Mounted Battery Pack (15 mm Diameter Bolt with 6 mm Hex), Battery Stops with 4% at Top and Bottom to Avoid Straining Cells, 2 lb 4 Amp Charger with Rosenberger Plug (Magnetic EnergyBus Standard), IP67 Water and Dust Protection Rating on Battery Pack, Fully Sealed Cartridge Bearings

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Brose, Trail Tune

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

530 watts

Motor Torque:

90 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

12.7 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

460 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours (7 Hours with Optional Travel Charger)

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Display Type:

Integrated 10 LED Console on Downtube

Readouts:

Battery Level, Assist Level (1-3)

Display Accessories:

Integrated Button Pad on Downtube, Mission Control App (Bluetooth, iOS and Android), ANT+ Wireless

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Rear Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence, Pedal Torque)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Specialized introduced their first electric bike internationally back in 2012, it was a road-only model that turned heads because it was beautiful looking and super quiet. In 2016 they wowed ebike enthusiasts again with their first mountain models in the US including a hardtail called the Turbo Levo, and this review is for the fat tire version of that bike called the Turbo Levo Comp, I got to test ride and review the 2017 model. Priced at $5,000 it isn’t the most affordable electric mountain bike on the block but it was designed from the ground up to be a respectable mountain bike first and then thoughtfully-electric. The wires are internally routed, the mid-drive motor completely replaces the bottom bracket and merges with the frame to raise clearance and lower suspensions, and the battery pack slides up into the downtube from below. The entire geometry of the bike was built around the added weight of these e-systems, the thicker tubing, and extra large 4.6″ wide fat tires. It’s more relaxed and upright, offering cross country performance, and is being produced in four frame sizes so you don’t have to compromise body position and comfort if you’re a relatively tall or short rider. However, there’s only one high-step frame style vs. mid-step or step-thru and the top tube isn’t angled very much. So thankfully, the bike comes with a seat post dropper stock. Admittedly, I’m a bit of a fanboy for Specialized and actually purchased one of the more expensive FSR full suspension models myself in early 2016 because it was one of the first Brose motorized bikes to hit the US and I wanted to see how the motor performed. So far, I’m loving it!

In my opinion, Class 1 pedal assist performance is perfect for fat bikes because it offsets their weight and slower high-friction tires. Even though it’s very trail capable, this can be an all-purpose electric bike capable on paved roads, soft loamy Earth, sand, and even snow if you take the tire pressure all the way down to 5 PSI. Specialized chose a 250 watt nominal motor and kept the 20 mph top speed limit to say within the realm of human performance (albeit, a super-athlete). Whether you’re using an ebike to recover between hard rides, more of a weekend warrior or someone dealing with an injury, managing seasonal snowfall, or building trails, this thing is a blast to ride… but it does sacrifice on utility. There are no rear rack bosses or fender mounts. The rear seat stays are so wide that even aftermarket racks could be difficult to mount and the tire is so tall that a beam rack probably wouldn’t work unless you swap out the seat post dropper. Perhaps a trailer or backpack is the best solution, and there’s also no pedals or a kickstand (or provisions for adding a kickstand). The bike is relatively lightweight in part because it is so focused on being a sport platform, but I miss some of the little extras, especially because it’s a hardtail. While conducting this review, I spoke with a marketing rep named Sean Estes who explained that ebikes can distribute people across trails because they allow you to focus more on the parts of riding that you enjoy and can overcome steep ascents and boring terrain, even get you to local trails vs. driving to something more interesting or enjoyable on a traditional bike. I like to think that more people riding any kind of bikes means more trails being built. There’s a lot of torque in this motor, up to 90 Newton meters, and the brakes are very capable with 200 mm up front and 180 mm in the rear. I like that the levers offer tool-free adjustable reach and can be used with just two or one finger. It runs a 1×10 drivetrain with the heavier, less expensive, SRAM GX which performed great and is fairly comparable to the SRAM XX1 (lighter) and still has the clutch to reduce chain bounce and slap. I love the long rubberized slap guard on the right chainstay and appreciate the stainless steel chainring with narrow wide tooth pattern and plastic top guide to prevent drops. Steel is heavier than Aluminum but less porous which means that mud won’t stick to it as easily. It’s just a tougher drivetrain, capable of handling the added forces of a mid-motor. And that’s great, because the Brose system doesn’t offer shift detection and you can mash the gears hard if you shift without care. Note the punched out rims for added flex and reduced weight, the way they customized the seat post dropper with a trigger that matches the size and visual design of the right gear shifters, the short chainstays and straight downtube for snappier handling (and the rubber bumpers to protect from over-steer). Generally speaking, the motor is very quiet and smooth, it starts and stops quickly by measuring rear wheel speed, pedal cadence, and pedal torque, but you won’t know exactly how fast you’re going because there’s no integrated display panel.

So, the motor is rated at 250 watts nominal, which is efficient, but it actually peaks out closer to 530. It climbs very well, even on steep terrain with the larger tires and heavier build of the bike, it hasn’t failed me or my friends when riding on actual mountain terrain in Colorado, California and elsewhere as long as we shifted thoughtfully (sorry I didn’t get some true off-road shots for the video here). It isn’t as easy to bunny hop or lift this bike when navigating technical terrain (compared to a non-ebike) but it’s something you get used to and is applicable to almost all ebikes today which weigh 45 to 60+ pounds. I realize this video review was a bit underwhelming since I was just in the Specialized backlot and pump track but hopefully it illustrates an interesting point. The bike blends in, and being a hardtail, would work well for commuting and neighborhood use. It does’t have a big fancy display that could get scratched at a rack, it has 10 gears with a wide 11-40 tooth spread, so even pedaling unpowered feels comfortable, and the stylish but dark frame doesn’t attract unwanted attention from fellow commuters or trail riders… I think the internally routed cables also look great. I personally feel that people respect specialized so even if they do notice it’s an electric model, you might get more interest vs. seeming like some sort of motorcycler. Specialized makes bicycles, and they’re a longtime leader. The quick release skewer and bolt-in battery aren’t great for urban parking (there’s no traditional keyed locking core for the battery mount) but the battery can be removed easily enough, if you take the time to unscrew it every time. It’s a nice option for charging in-office and the EnergyBus charger uses a magnetic connector that eliminates bent pins and snag drops or trips. I was a bit bummed that the seat stays didn’t have bosses for adding a rear rack as mentioned earlier, but it’s a purist bike… what you do get are bottle cage bosses which work perfectly for the Specialized Zee-Cage and SWAT EMT tool. There’s plenty of room in the center triangle of this bike for mounting a frame bag or hanging on car and bus racks without snagging cables or bumping sensitive bits.

Powering the bike up is incredibly fast and simple. Once the battery is charged (on or off the frame) you press the center rubberized button on the left side of the downtube to power on. With a sort of dance, it shows 10 LEDs (all green when full and changing to red as 10% increments are expended). Above and below the power button are rubberized up and down buttons that change assist level. You’ve got three choices for power and they can be modified using the app. These rubber buttons seem well protected against water and are inset to reduce snags or crushing if the bike tips… but they aren’t as easy to reach as handlebar mounted buttons. It’s a simple, rugged, and non-distracting design for the rider, but ironically I feel that it can actually generate more interest and attention from other cyclists because of the lights. It’s one of the areas I’d like to see addressed with the Mission Control smartphone app someday. I’d like to be able to turn off the side LED lights! The fact that this electric bike (and all newer Turbo models) are compatible with a “Mission Control” app, and that it works on select Garmin devices, is a huge win which offers some unique abilities that very few other ebikes have. And ultimately, even if LED light control isn’t one of them, it’s an issue that black electrical tape can fix. While the app sort of makes up for the lack of a more traditional bar-mounted ebike LCD display, it doesn’t completely address the need to bend over in order to change assist levels. The idea seems to be that you choose an assist level once and then focus on riding. And because the motor controller measures torque, the range of power output is actually very satisfying and I didn’t find myself needing to switch power levels frequently. The app lets you tune acceleration, torque and power for the second level of assist as well as record rides in an e-bike specific area of Strava. You can search and plot courses with GPS and even tell the bike to “get me there and back without draining the battery” to help reduce range anxiety, but it will reduce the power and speed you’re given along the way. In my own experience, the app is cool but not something I use regularly. One of the biggest reasons for this choice is that it requires Bluetooth and uses GPS while also illuminating my screen and there is no USB charging port built into this ebike to offset that drainage. A couple of other reasons I haven’t frequently used the app are that my phone is huge and I don’t want to mount it to my bars and sometimes when I’m trail riding I don’t get good reception so the GPS feature seems limited. One approach to use the app but reserve your phone battery life would be to set the custom performance level with the phone and then just toss it in a bag or your pocket with the screen turned off. I guess what I’m saying is that it’s nice to have an app and I LOVE that my Garmin can control it vs. my phone but I don’t use it for much beyond tuning. More of a set it and forget it ;)

At the end of the day, the Turbo Levo Comp Fat is what I would consider a premium cross country and trail-ready fat tire electric mountain bike, even at the Comp level (which is Specialized’s entry point). You can definitely spend more and get higher capacity batteries, more aggressive geometries, and reduced weight, or even some full suspension fat ebikes from other companies if fat tires are your thing, but the Turbo Levo Comp is still very lightweight, well designed, and well supported. It’s the kind of technology that is fun, can help overcome injuries, is a capable commuting platform because of it’s excellent range and app route planning performance, and it doesn’t stand out. It’s not as comfortable as the FSR full suspension models which is what I chose because of my knee and back injuries, but with high-volume 4.6″ wide tires, this is still way more comfortable than average and the air fork is great. As an owner of a Levo, I still have an unpowered mountain bike, it’s a Specialized Stumpjumper, that thing is much lighter and great fun in its own ways… but I cannot go as far or climb as easily with it (which can add a lot of time). The Turbo Levo ebikes have been designed as a bicycle first with all of the same hardware and accessories as similar unpowered models from Specialized but they simply take you further. It’s as easy to tune and upgrade, and shops don’t seem to be as put off or intimidated by it as some other electric bicycles in my experience, but it still has cutting edge technology there. It’s meant to “just work” without a whole lot of thought and to fit right and ride well. Someday you might need to replace the battery pack, or even want to upgrade the battery to a larger capacity, but the motor is very durable and should just work. You can maximize the lifespan of most Lithium-ion batteries by storing them in a cool dry location and leaving around 50% if you won’t be riding for months. Inside the Brose motor is a belt system (Gates Carbon belt) that produces a smoother more natural feel but is very durable, and the manufacturer, Brose, is a German automotive company with years of experience in the Ebike space. I would consider them a leader. It’s exciting to see more companies stepping into the space, really investing themselves and showing what’s possible now. On the one hand I missed some of the little extras found on electric-first ebikes like a USB charger, LCD display, kickstand, rack and fender options etc. but these are not items you’d find on many normal mountain bikes and I respect that Specialized set them aside and made something more pure here with the Levo Fat, even if they did put ten bright LED lights on the side.

Pros:

  • The bike frame is beautiful, I love that it hides cables in addition to the motor and battery pack, there isn’t even a display panel here… it’s meant to blend in
  • This is one of the few electric mountain bikes I’ve tested that has bumpers to prevent oversteer and frame contact of the fork (since the downtube is a bit longer), nice little touch and another “purpose built” feature
  • It’s becoming more common with ebikes but this is one of the few fat tire mountain models I have seen with bottle cage bosses, you could carry a folding lock, mini-pump, or use the Specialized Z-Cage and SWAT tool as shown in the review
  • Most of the additional weight from the motor and battery are positioned low and center on the frame for improved balance and handling, it’s always nice to be able to remove the battery too for easier lifting and transport
  • This is a relatively quiet and stealthy electric bike, great for riding on trails where some riders might not be as receptive to e-bikes, it’s a Class 1 so allowed in more spaces than any other type of electric bike (pedal assist only, 20 mph max speed)
  • Priced at ~$5k this isn’t exactly a cheap electric fat bike but it’s the entry price point for the Turbo Levo fat tire series and it comes with a great warranty, dealer support (from a wide network of dealers) and is made in four sizes so the overall experience should be great
  • The extra fat 4.6″ tires improve comfort by adding cushion and in my experience they grip well and handle soft surfaces excellently (such as snow or sand, just lower the air pressure), they do increase drag a bit and create some buzzing noise on concrete
  • Sturdy thru-axle design for both wheels increases stiffness and manages trail and mountain terrain properly, the bike is purpose-built and not just an existing frame with battery and motor attached, the frame geometry is specific
  • I’m a big fan of the seat post dropper (which uses internally routed cabling), it allows you to mount the bike easily and handle transitions from efficient pedaling to shock-absorbing squats with the press of a lever, the bike only comes in diamond high-step so the dropper just makes it more approachable in general
  • I wouldn’t call this bike super light weight at ~52.3 lbs but it uses high quality Specialized M1 Aluminum and the RockShox Bluto air fork is lighter and more adjustable than a lot of competing fat ebikes
  • Extra large 200 mm hydraulic disc brake rotor up front front (the rear is 180 mm) offering improved stopping power and smoother more controlled stops for the added weight and forces of big tires
  • In addition to the mobile phone app (iOS and Android), you can actually download a special app to some Garmin devices and use them to adjust bike performance and battery use so you arrive without fully expending the charge, it connects with a special ebike area of Strava as well

Cons:

  • The battery integration looks great and the pack doesn’t rattle but it really isn’t “locked” into the frame, a standard 6 mm hex wrench bolt holds it in place… at least you don’t have to worry about losing the key but a thief could get at it easier and they cost a lot so be careful, the battery also doesn’t have a handle or easy grip area so maybe use two hands when carrying it to be safe
  • The simple LED side display concept makes good sense for mountain biking because it keeps the handle bar clear and there’s less to break if you crash but the lights can attract unwanted attention, this is something I’d like to have an option to disable in the app, some people use electrical tape to cover the lights
  • Without a standard LCD computer screen or clicker buttons at the bar you don’t get the same feedback about speed, range or battery and aren’t able to adjust on the fly without taking a hand off the bar (or stopping completely to reach down to the buttons on the downtube), you can use your phone for more feedback but then you’ll drain its power as there is no USB charging port on the bike within reach
  • No rack bosses on the seat stays and a wider opening mean that hardly any racks will work with this ebike, you might have to resort to wearing a backpack, a beam rack option might work but would raise the seat post dropper (do not mount it to the sliding part of the seat post)… I bring this up because hardtail fat bikes are often sought out for hunting and other expedition type rides where you need to carry gear, perhaps a trailer could be used
  • The Brose motor system is compact, quiet and responsive (with cadence and assist sensors) but doesn’t offer shift sensing so you can mash gears and wear the chain faster if you don’t pedal and shift carefully (just let off a bit and ease the motor out when shifting), Brose also has a new high-torque motor for 2018 but this review is for the 2017 model
  • Specialized opted for a more compact, smooth look at the bottom bracket so you’ve just got a thin plastic shield around the motor vs. a tougher, possibly easy to replace metal skid plate seen on some of the other bikes… just a different approach and probably fine for cross country riding, I believe there is a sticker protector for the downtube to keep little rocks and things from chipping the paint
  • Considering the large capacity of the battery pack and the ability to sync the bike with apps and select Garmin devices it would be nice if there was a USB charging port somewhere so you don’t drain your portable device using wireless and GPS featuers
  • The magnetic plug on the charger and at the bottom bracket can pick up junk from your floor (like staples, nails, iron filings etc.) so just try to keep it clean, another minor consideration is that the bike doesn’t come with a kickstand or provisions for adding one yourself
  • I don’t think this electric bike comes with pedals, it’s a minor gripe but you’re paying a lot already, at least the Specialized dealer will have some great options to choose from

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Specialized Reviews

Specialized Turbo Como 2.0 Low-Entry 650b Review

  • MSRP: $2,600
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A comfortable, stable, quiet, and efficient electric bike made in two frame sizes and colors, well-suited to neighborhood riding and cruising. Relatively lightweight at ~48 lbs, in part because it comes without lights or fenders, you…...

Specialized Turbo Vado 6.0 Review

  • MSRP: $4,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high-speed, feature-complete, urban electric bike with unique tubular fenders that have flexible extensions and water routing system to keep your legs, back and face dry, integrated lights and a tight modern rack. Available in four sizes including high-step and mid-step frame styles with gender-specific saddle and grips,…...

Specialized Turbo Vado 5.0 Review

  • MSRP: $4,600
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high-speed urban electric bike with premium tubular fenders, minimalist rack with integrated light, 600 Lumen headlight, reflective stickers on fenders and rims. Available in four frame sizes but only one style (high-step), rigid alloy fork and thru-axles…...

Specialized Turbo Vado 3.0 Review

  • MSRP: $3,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A feature-complete urban electric bike with premium tubular-alloy fenders, integrated rack and lights, rims and tires as well as a suspension fork with 50 mm travel. Available in four frame sizes and two styles (high-step or mid-step), rigid thru-axles improve handling,…...

Specialized Turbo Levo FSR Expert 6Fattie Review

  • MSRP: $7,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

One of the stealthiest electric mountain bikes around with integrated battery and motor technology from Brose, available to demo and buy from a wide network of shops. Responsive and zippy without producing a lot of noise, you don't get shift detection here…...

Specialized Turbo Levo Hardtail Comp 6Fattie Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

The lowest priced Turbo Levo eMountain bike model from Specialized, it's a hardtail with 10 gears, an air fork and the Brose drive system. You get a slightly smaller battery capacity here but the same beautiful integration into the…...

Specialized Turbo Levo FSR Comp 6Fattie Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension electric mountain bike with 650b plus "six fatty" tires for improved traction, handling and comfort. Seamlessly integrated Brose motor and downtube battery pack, completely purpose built frame available in two…...

Specialized Turbo S Review

  • MSRP: $7,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An extremely fast, quiet and stiff electric bike with premium drivetrain and brake components and sleek integrated lights, available in four frame sizes for improved fit. Beautifully integrated battery pack, it matches the frame perfectly and even features a bottle cage…...

Specialized S-Works Turbo Levo FSR 6Fattie Review

  • MSRP: $9,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The highest level full suspension e-mountain bike from Specialized, purpose built frame incorporates battery and motor seamlessly. Premium suspension from RockShox Pike RCT3 and Fox Float with Autosag, 11 speed SRAM XX1…...

Specialized Turbo Review

  • MSRP: $3,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Completely purpose built with integrated lights, in-frame cabling and downtube mounted battery pack that blends in. Available in four frame sizes for improved fit, optional city kit with fenders and rear…...

Specialized Turbo X Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Stealth appearance with integrated battery pack and near-silent motor helps it blend in like a "normal bike". Excellent weight distribution, responsive hydraulic disc brakes, integrated LED lights, rack and fender mounts, nice…...

2014 Specialized Turbo S Review

  • MSRP: $6,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

One of the fastest, quietest and sturdiest road-style electric bikes around, extremely refined. Solid 15mm thru-axles, tapered head tube and alloy frame for efficient power transfer and high…...

2013 Specialized Turbo Review

  • MSRP: $5,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

One of the fastest and priciest electric bikes around, Top speed 45kph (27.96mph) at $5,900 USD. Clean aesthetic with internally routed cables, integrated lithium ion battery pack and built in LED…...


Flavia
2 weeks ago

I test rode the Specialized Turbo FSR Comp 6Fattie – Women’s version – at Wheels World in Culver City. It is a fantastic e-bike with the quality one would expect from Specialized. I also loved the store that is run by true to the heart bicycle riders. Brad took me out on a brief test ride to check how the Specialized with Brose compares to the Bosch on a hill. The bike passed the test with excellent marks! BTW they are having some specials on these bikes right now. I wish I could add some pics from my test ride to the. This is the bike I rode.

Reply
Court Rye
2 weeks ago

Cool! Thanks for the update Flavia! You should be able to upload photos to the EBR forums and could do so, along with your thoughts bout the bike and Brose vs. Bosch, in the Specialized section here. Here’s a quick guide on how to upload and attach photos or you can call me using the contact page here and I’ll try to help :D

Reply
Flavia
2 weeks ago

Alas no button to upload picts in the comments. I wanted to post a pict of the bike I test rode.

Reply
Court Rye
2 weeks ago

Hi Flavia! You can upload pictures in the forum and those comments are syndicated here, onto the main post. I use different software for that platform which allows for tighter security and better load times and here’s a little guide on how it works. I hope this helps! I’d love to see your pictures :)

Reply
Luca Viviani
1 week ago

Buon giorno!La ht levo turbo fat specialized perché non viene distribuita in Italia?Europa?Solo Stati Uniti?Grazie a presto!

Reply
Court Rye
1 week ago

Sono d’accordo! La bici è eccitante e ben progettata. Sfortunatamente, non so a quali mercati stiano vendendo o perché potrebbero non offrirlo a livello globale. Forse in futuro lo venderanno in più posti o potresti lavorare con un negozio negli Stati Uniti per averne uno esportato. Prova a contattare Motostrano a Redwood City, in California. Credo che abbiano fatto ordini internazionali prima.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Hobby
2 weeks ago

Having a hard time deciding. No one around me has either bike. They can order either one though. It’s hard spending $5,000 on something you never rode. Any info would help.

smitty
2 weeks ago

I was not fan of where the assist levels are located the turbo levo (along the side of the down tube),so I invested in a garmin remote so that I could change the assist level from the handle bars. It worked fine except there was no visual of the assist level to be observed. I solve that problem by downloading a piece of Garmin software (for my Garmin 1000 Edge cycle computer) that picked up the visual of eco, trail, etc. as well as providing whatever else I chose to display on that screen (speed, distance, etc). The remaining button on the remote allowed me to move forwards and backwards thru different screens. I also found a beam rack that fit my seat tube while still allowing me to control the dropper and clearing the rear tire. Here are some links for same:

https://wheelworld.com/product/garmin-ebike-remote-12616.htm?gclid=CjwKCAiAj53SBRBcEiwAT-3A2BiM1godIRqHass6Ou37D0JBTjFfwa-FszK5IYt0mmJ8_rbVOP4NBhoC7pMQAvD_BwE

Amazon: Topeak Mtx Beamrack Ex Fit Mtx And Klickfix/Racktime Snap-It System Trunk Bags

PaulGee
1 month ago

[QUOTE="trebor, post: 122537, Then I tried the Turbo Levo Comp. It was a size large, and I normally take a medium. It seemed surprisingly small. I measured the reach compared to my 18" medium Giant, and it was only about an inch more. The size didn't bother me when riding it. Just lifting the Levo seemed a lot heavier than the Lynx. I weighed it with SPD pedals at 52 lbs. I did not have a chance to weigh the Lynx, but the specs say it is also 52 lbs - felt lighter though. I also like how it has no display, and you can use an app to set the three default power levels.]

Trebor - Excellent feedback on these two eMTBs. I test rode the 2017s brose-powered Emotions Lynx (model?) and Levo Comp at a recent Expo event and came back with very similar impressions as you. However, I only rode them on a flat concrete track. Both were medium frames which is my normal MTB size but I also found the Levo to be somewhat small for my 5'10", 32 inseam (without shoes) body proportions. I am curious what your body proportions are and whether or not you thought the Levo large fit you well? Also, I was able to test the Bulls 2017 eduro Shimano 8000 (w/ Di2) and really enjoyed the ride and motor performance. Only downside I noticed was that the motor was noisy, especially at the higher RPMs.

trebor
1 month ago

I just did two range tests.... I sent battery power levels to the cadence channel, so I could see the graph in Garmin Connect. Love this feature. Also love how the bike comes with free power meter! Wow. I can see how many watts I averaged and how many calories I burned.

I am 145 lbs. 2017 Turbo Levo Comp. I think that means 460 wh battery. 10 psi front, 12 rear. Trails with 377 feet elevation gain over 9.5 miles. 50% power. 3.6 firmware. Race accel. 35F temp.
Worked out to 21.1 miles max range.

At 20% power and 745 foot elevation in 12 miles, and accel on normal, worked out to 40.4 mile range.

My impression of 20% power is that it is almost like riding a normal MTB except significant help on hills. I could imagine riding as low as 15% power. I also rode at 0% power for 1.5 miles, and it felt like riding a fat bike - which is to say, I don't understand having range anxiety on this bike. If you do run out of power, it just becomes a not unreasonable bike. Motor has no drag.

trebor
1 month ago

I normally ride a Giant Trance 29er, and I am 5'8, 145 lbs. My past e-bike experience was a demo on a Stromer ST2, and I built a hub-motor MTB. I sold off the hub motor system as it was not trail capable - too much weight and the battery was 1000 ah and too heavy and high center of mass. It was a good electric moped in the end, but not what I have come to want.

First I rode the Easy Motion Lynx 4.8 Pro. The Brose motor was very quiet, and it had what I would consider enough power. At around 20 mph when it cuts out, it did so in a fairly soft way. Still, 20 is too slow for road use. I think 28 mph/45 kph is needed for street use. This is especially true because when the motor cuts out, it leaves you in too tall a gear to crank - so in that way, it is actually harder to ride an e-bike over 20 mph than if the motor were just totally shut off as then you would be in the correct gear at 20.

The forks and suspension seemed ok. The wheels and tires were crap - 2.35" $14 tires on a $4000 bike. It even had Schrader valves as if it were a Walmart bike. Maybe they figure everyone will throw the factory tires away anyway so they just use cheap ones? Personally I would not want to take this on any kind of technical trail. I left the demo knowing that I would never buy this bike, for what I want. But, it was a nice bike for riding around a city or any other non-technical use. They make a Lynx 6 27.5+ Pro with 160mm suspension travel and plus tires, so that one may be good.

Then I tried the Turbo Levo Comp. It was a size large, and I normally take a medium. It seemed surprisingly small. I measured the reach compared to my 18" medium Giant, and it was only about an inch more. The size didn't bother me when riding it. Just lifting the Levo seemed a lot heavier than the Lynx. I weighed it with SPD pedals at 52 lbs. I did not have a chance to weigh the Lynx, but the specs say it is also 52 lbs - felt lighter though. I also like how it has no display, and you can use an app to set the three default power levels.

But seeing the Levo got me excited, as it looked much better and more serious to me in person. The wheels/tires were appropriate to what I was expecting. On the street, it was not as good as the Lynx though - the 650B+ tires were loud. The Levo did seem good on a trail though, but not used to the weight yet as for lifting front over obstacles.

The Brose motors on each felt about the same. They sensed torque to some degree - but not sure it was proportional. I got the feeling they just sensed the presence of torque and then went by RPM. Some more work needs to be done to make the feel more natural.

So... Lynx 4.8 good for street use/city/commuting, and would need to try an AtomX 6 27.5+ if used for trails. The Levo seemed good for trails, and it was an interesting product, but I would want to try a BULLS E-CORE AM with E8000 STEPS before making a purchase decision.

trebor
1 month ago

I didn't buy one yet. Now I am thinking that I want dual suspension, 650B+ tires, 140mm tor more of suspension travel, and Brose-S or STEPS. Turbo Levo battery is getting to be small - 504 at most and 460 for models below Comp. The 2018 Bulls E-Cores are 750 with STEPS motors. The model AM or TR2 looks like what I want. Or if I like the Brose feel more, then the E-STREAM EVO AM4 or AM3. Or Maybe AtomX Lynx 6.

Ravi Kempaiah
1 month ago

I am down to choosing between 2 e-bikes (both 2018 models):

1. Easy Motion ATOM LYNX 6 27.5 PRO (price: $5799.00 US)
https://emotionbikesusa.com/atomx-lynx-6-pro/

2, Specialized Turbo Levo FSR Comp 6Fattie (price: $5500.00 US)
https://www.specialized.com/us/en/mens-turbo-levo-fsr-comp-6fattie-29/p/129008?color=240244-129008

Both have as I understand the same motor: the new Brose Drive S.
But the battery on the Easy Motion is 720 Watts, while the battery on the Specialized is only
504 Watts.

Larger battery size - more range.

So does everyone agree the Easy Motion bike is the no-brainer choice over the Turbo Levo?

Thanks!

You could also look into Focus Jam2 Ltd. One of the lightest full suspension bikes at 44lbs.

bob armani
2 months ago

I am down to choosing between 2 e-bikes (both 2018 models):

1. Easy Motion ATOM LYNX 6 27.5 PRO (price: $5799.00 US)
https://emotionbikesusa.com/atomx-lynx-6-pro/

2, Specialized Turbo Levo FSR Comp 6Fattie (price: $5500.00 US)
https://www.specialized.com/us/en/mens-turbo-levo-fsr-comp-6fattie-29/p/129008?color=240244-129008

Both have as I understand the same motor: the new Brose Drive S.
But the battery on the Easy Motion is 720 Watts, while the battery on the Specialized is only
504 Watts.

Larger battery size - more range.

So does everyone agree the Easy Motion bike is the no-brainer choice over the Turbo Levo?

Thanks!

Hi Kenny-It really depends on your riding style -plus if you like all of the extra bells and whistles on the new Atom. The Levo looks like a raw version of any eMTB where as the Atom looks to be so much more advanced with the heads up display with many added features. I personally would go for the Atom!!
I test rode the Expert ($7500) at the Expo and the FSR 6 Fattie ($4000) model and was not impressed at all IMHO. I also have Easy Motion and I find them to be reliable with pretty good C/S. Good Luck and please keep us all posted with your decision.

kenny77
2 months ago

I am down to choosing between 2 e-bikes (both 2018 models):

1. Easy Motion ATOM LYNX 6 27.5 PRO (price: $5799.00 US)
https://emotionbikesusa.com/atomx-lynx-6-pro/

2, Specialized Turbo Levo FSR Comp 6Fattie (price: $5500.00 US)
https://www.specialized.com/us/en/mens-turbo-levo-fsr-comp-6fattie-29/p/129008?color=240244-129008

Both have as I understand the same motor: the new Brose Drive S.
But the battery on the Easy Motion is 720 Watts, while the battery on the Specialized is only
504 Watts.

Larger battery size - more range.

So does everyone agree the Easy Motion bike is the no-brainer choice over the Turbo Levo?

Thanks!

Giant Dave
3 months ago

Unfortunately this hack does not work with the 2007 levo turbo comp, you can input the new number but the mission control app ignores it, but you can set it manually to 2000 to give you an extra couple of mph.

Actually it does work, it took about 5 goes before it worked, now it really flies, great hack thanks

Giant Dave
3 months ago

Unfortunately this hack does not work with the 2007 levo turbo comp, you can input the new number but the mission control app ignores it, but you can set it manually to 2000 to give you an extra couple of mph.

auron
3 months ago

Hi guys

Basically, I have just one question:

Is everything the same with new bikes and that tuning app or that doesnt work anymore!?

I have already 2017 version of comp fatty, but I want that new carbon version with better motor.

So, if its still hackable, thats no brainer for me, but if its not possible, thats complete deal breaker. Without that s*it, bike is simply to slow, especially here in Europe where restriction is set at lame 15 mph.

smitty
4 months ago

I have a Cirrus BodyFloat on my ST-2 and it definitely helps as far as suspension is concerned. After a bit of trial and error experimenting with tire pressure and taking Ravi's advice, I am finding that running both tires at 30 psi or 32-28, bag/front gives a much less harsh ride than inflating the tires up into the 40psi range. I chose to stay with the carbon fork for both the looks and the weight, but front suspension may be the way to go...I wish that I could ride the Vado 6 to compare. But I am really happy with the Stromer. I recently purchased a Specialized Turbo-Levo HT Comp Fattie to ride in inclement weather and possibly in the snow. I haven't ridden it enough to really compare the mid-drive motor with the direct drive rear wheel motor. My sense of it at this point in that the Stromer motor is much stronger with excellent torque, but again the Fattie is built for off road riding and tops out at 18mph vs the 28 mph on the Stromer...

PaulGee
4 months ago

I was able to ride a Turbo S with the DD motor. I liked the power of the bike but did not like the ride on rough surfaces. I can agree with you on the Hard ride. I also heard of people having a problem with the joystick control failing, which I would not like at all. But regardless of that I actually went to the dealer to order a Turbo S or X and that is when I saw the Turbo Levo FSR Comp 6Fattie. I think it was love at first sight. I took it out for a test ride on the streets, up hills and off road. When I went back to the dealer we made a sweet deal and I am so glad that I have not had a problem to date. I use a Garmin ST64 at the moment, I may upgrade to a Garmin Edge next year but for now I am just going to keep on riding.
Ragtop - sounds like you really are enjoying your Levo. May I ask where did you purchase the bike? I want to take one for a test drive but the dealers close to me do not stock them.

ragtopjoek
4 months ago

I was able to ride a Turbo S with the DD motor. I liked the power of the bike but did not like the ride on rough surfaces. I can agree with you on the Hard ride. I also heard of people having a problem with the joystick control failing, which I would not like at all. But regardless of that I actually went to the dealer to order a Turbo S or X and that is when I saw the Turbo Levo FSR Comp 6Fattie. I think it was love at first sight. I took it out for a test ride on the streets, up hills and off road. When I went back to the dealer we made a sweet deal and I am so glad that I have not had a problem to date. I use a Garmin ST64 at the moment, I may upgrade to a Garmin Edge next year but for now I am just going to keep on riding.

ragtopjoek
4 months ago

Today I have ridden my Levo 6Fattie for exactly one year. I rode almost every week thru the summer, fall, winter and spring. Here are some of my likes and dislikes of the bike. On the first day I had a riser installed for the handlebars and replaced the seat with a very comfortable seat. My city has specific laws regarding bicycles and I do not feeling like arguing with the local police, so I installed a bell, reflectors on the wheels and also on the front and rear of the bike. I would have done it anyway, law or no law. I bought a new helmet and installed a mirror on it so I can see what is happening behind me. Since I ride at night too, I installed a bicycle light and a backup light. I use a Garmin to give me all the information that I want. I have an action cam mounted too. OK, after grabbing my water bottle and backpack I am ready to ride. This is where the Fun begins. The Levo full suspension with the fat tires is so comfy that I could not ask any more of it. Whether I am riding on the road, dirt and rocky road or down right nasty terrain, the bike is comfortable. As I am shifting down the road, the ride just gets better. 99% of the time, the up and down shifting works smooth. The 1% of the time it doesn't is most likely my fault. I could not ask any more of the shifters either and I like how I can downshift 3 gears real easily . I have no problem downshifting going uphill, it just takes being more careful on how you do it. The bike will climb hills like a mule, no problem there. The brakes are absolutely amazing. After going up steep hills, I never have to worry about not having enough braking power to slow me down. Here is what may amaze me the most, the brakes do not squeak ever, I don't get it, as I have never ridden a bicycle that had quite brakes. When I bought the bike, but had yet to ride it, I did not think I would like the tires and their low pressure. I anticipated a rough ride and did not think the bike would coast downhill very well. I was wrong on both thoughts. The tires perform very well and I will replace them with the same when the time comes. So what don't I like, OK you can laugh now, there are no optional fenders. I hate mud and water being throw into my face and it's hard to see thru the mud on my glasses. I'm not crazy about mud all over my backpack either. I would like to see 25% or more battery capacity. When I drive in the winter and it is 20 degrees out I cannot ride as far. I don't care if it is cold, I want to ride and keep on riding. In the summer I have been able to ride 25 miles with 2 bars left and if you are wondering I always have turbo on at 100%. So after one year I have ridden 761 miles and the battery health is 97%, tires are probably 1/3 worn out. The bike has had only mild cleaning and I oiled the chain once. So that is what it was like to own the Levo for the first year.

1/1
James Kohls
5 months ago

I own the fatbike and love it, too. I also got to try a 6Fattie for 3 days while I was waiting for mine to be ordered.

Talking to the Specialized rep a the EBike Expo in my area, the Comp Fat HT is going to be ending its product life. They just don't sell enough of them to justify continuing to carry the line. This may mean some deep discounts coming up before next season (depending on when it's discontinued).

As far as being usable on the road, I just took my longest road ride with it last Saturday (https://www.strava.com/activities/1141900229) 21.9 Miles. The tires are loud, as to be expected, but they don't really hamper forward momentum. It rides just as well as its 6Fattie 3"-tire HT counterpart.

The tires do produce some vibration. Not really noticeable on short road rides, but I think it becomes a factor on longer rides. I definitely felt more fatigued going 22 miles on the Levo than I do taking a 22 mile ride on my 2015 Turbo X. It may be the ride position (pretty forward aggressive), but I think the added vibration does take its toll. You could certainly put less-knobby tires on it. Something like the Vee Rubber Speedster would be much quieter and smoother. I'd love to get a 2nd pair of wheels, but that will set you back $600 for just the wheel set.

You can hear the tire noise in this video:

On the trail, it is super sticky and instills a lot of confidence. A friend of mine is a MTB professional racer and the Levo lets me "keep up" with him on the trails. Here is a video from one of our rides. He was at the end of his training day when we met up, so takin' it easy, but after we part ways (about 7:00), I do a few full-tilt speed runs.

smitty
5 months ago

Hey everyone,

Trying to find some information on the Turbo Levo Comp Fat with HT. Not a lot on this and all the reviews are on the Comp and Expert FSR. I rode the Expert and really liked it, but can't afford it. There seems to be a window about to open up on all of the 2017 stock that I want to take advantage of and am really interested in the big fat tire bikes. I am a big dude and will be doing a lot of short rides and some trail runs. I have another bike to do the longer rides on and just looking for something to do a 10-mile ride with some trail stops at most.

Looking to see if anyone has owned the 4.6 inch wide tire fat levo. If you did, what did you think of it. Is it fairly usable on the road?

Thanks
I just bought that very bike last weekend. I also own a Stromer ST-2. I have only ridden it 10-12 miles or so at this point, but pretty impressed with the bike. I like the fat tires and front shock and my thinking is that when the weather is a bit messy, I can jump on the Turbo Levo and not have to worry about the weather as they are built to take mud, water, and the like. It does not have the finesse of the Stromer, nor does it have the price. Clearly it is meant for off road riding, but I am riding it in the city and I am told that it will ride very well in snow and sand. My LBS was very accommodating in terms of the purchase at a fairly decent price reduction which they extended to accessories. I plan to use it for short trips on the road in inclement weather; probably will not see a lot of off road use, but then again, I now have the option to do so which was not a good one for my Stromer. A huge plus for around own riding is the dropper post. When stopping at a light, one can simply hit the switch and the seat will drop to a point where it is far easier to reach the ground (or somewhere in between). Hit the switch again when moving and you are back to "regular" seat height...vey cool...Garmin has an ANT compatible handlebar mount and switch for controlling changes in the power levels of assist. Gotta have that one...at some near point.

James Alderson
5 months ago

Hey everyone,

Trying to find some information on the Turbo Levo Comp Fat with HT. Not a lot on this and all the reviews are on the Comp and Expert FSR. I rode the Expert and really liked it, but can't afford it. There seems to be a window about to open up on all of the 2017 stock that I want to take advantage of and am really interested in the big fat tire bikes. I am a big dude and will be doing a lot of short rides and some trail runs. I have another bike to do the longer rides on and just looking for something to do a 10-mile ride with some trail stops at most.

Looking to see if anyone has owned the 4.6 inch wide tire fat levo. If you did, what did you think of it. Is it fairly usable on the road?

Thanks

Ike582
5 months ago

Thanks for the prompt reply, Ike!

What LBS did you purchase from? I'm also in the Chicagoland area (Oswego/Naperville) and would like to get my hands on one to try out. I'm also considering the Trek Super Commuter+ 8s and the Stromer ST2. Village Cycle Center has the Trek Super Commuter+ 8s listed $1000 under MSRP but by the time you factor in Chicago taxes its closer to $4500.

What other brands were on your radar before choosing the Vado 6.0?

Thanks again!
Paul

Paul,
I test rode both at Cozy's on Milwaukee in Chicago, but ordered the Vado from Erick's in Deerfield. Both were offering the same price and delivery times but Erick's is closer to my house.

I rode the Specialized Turbo Levo FSR Comp 6Fattie for three days this Summer on serious mountain bike trails in Telluride, Colorado. I was blown away by the design, ride and quality of that bike. The guys in Colorado at the rental shop confirmed the quality and reliability of the bike, and they tend to be a tough crowd to please. When I came back to Chicago, I was determined to get an e-bike for home. Given the flat terrain of the Chicago area trails, I decided not to go with the 6Fattie and instead focus on a bike more suited for the local bike trails. The 6Fattie made me really want to stick with Specialized, so while I rode the Stromer, I was already heavily leaning towards the Vado 6.0.

Ike

Riogrand
5 months ago

I had a problem with my Turbo Levo HT Comp Fat with power shutting down or reseting after hitting hard bumps. They replaced the the Wiring Harness. That took care of the problem for me. The dealer said the had one other case of a bad harness since they took care of mine.

Blade Runner
7 months ago

They just lowered the price of the Expert and the S Works by 1000 each. Makes the gap between the COMP and the Expert much less appealing...

Who lowered the price? Your LBS?

Specialized US site still has the same pricing listed on their site as of today:
https://www.specialized.com/us/en/men/bikes/mountain/turbo-levo/turbo-levo-fsr

Thanks

Mountie111
8 months ago

Hello, I had the entry level Turbo Levo FSR but it had a small issue with a clunk noise after a couple of days use. Specialized warranty was second to none and they fixed the issue. I upgraded to a new Expert Levo and have had it for a couple of weeks now. I love the bike and can't wait to get back out on it asap. The one thing I'd say the Expert has over the base model is the extra battery capacity and the dropper post. I did not realize how much I'd use the dropper post but it makes steep descents a breeze. As the comp comes with the dropper I'd say it offers excellent value for money. I'm not a good enough rider as of yet to tell the difference in suspension so I can't comment on that yet.
Anyway you go you will love the Levo....

ronin2000
8 months ago

Looking forward to picking up one of these bikes, can’t decide on my own so asking for some feedback.

John Lambert
1 week ago

I've owned a 2017 Specialized Turbo Levo (Expert) now for 9 months and I do love it, however I've had these issues: 1) Bottom bracket is too low, hitting too many logs/rocks. 2) Plastic motor casings tend to break when you hit a log/rock. 3) So far I've broken 4 rear wheel spokes from sticks (yes bad luck there) as well as destroyed a derailleur. 4) Motor has started playing up, possibly due to overheating from riding above 25km/hr with the wheel hack. Specialized has voided warranty due to this hack, so need to purchase a new motor for $1400AUD. I have increased the front forks (Pike) to 160mm travel which has helped a lot, especially with the bottom bracket height issue. Otherwise it's a fantastic bike!! Coming from a 2014 Carbon Stumpjumper it feels very much the same bike geometry wise.

Soleil Rouge 69
1 week ago

Quand est ce que tu parles Français ????

Erik Witkowski
2 weeks ago

I own this bike. I love it in snow. Can buy a remote to change assist level without bending over.

sbcfilm
2 weeks ago

$5000 says it all...byeeee..

Tamas Varga
2 weeks ago

$5K is very steep price for this bike with these specs... But the review was great regardless.

Vaidotas Ratkus
2 weeks ago

5k for ALIUMINIUM hardtail? Hows the sales mate?

Larry Conger
2 weeks ago

Go with Haibike plus very highly upgradable components can be upgraded if you want to change up your ride!

Ted Kidd
2 weeks ago

2018???

Dennis Gilmore
2 weeks ago

Cort, one of your best reviews! The last two weeks I have had the pleasure to have a fat tire E-MTB, at my disposal. The Cannondale Moterra has the full suspension and fat tires. I am really curious to sample the brosa power vs Bosch. I'm still undecided on the fat tires on the road. Ok the other hand you are getting superior grip on the trail. The fat tire MTB setup has commuter potential.

LivingLifeElectric
2 weeks ago

Nice review of a serious off-road machine in a parking lot...

ForbinColossus
2 weeks ago

Specialized can do better! And I so looked forward to Specialized advancing e-bike design- but they FAIL
*$900. batt pack deserves a LOCK
*Seat stays need braze-ons; it's a hardtail - why not? Reference the Felt Outfitter of 2015: https://electricbikereview.com/felt/outfitter/
*No display means they save money but don't pass on the savings. Felt and Haibike offer Bosch and a display for the same coin.

James Selene
2 weeks ago

These bikes (fat tire Levo) have been discontinued by Specialized. They won't be making any more. Keep eyes out for discounts next season.

J. C.
2 weeks ago

Nice looking bike 👍

Javier Peletier Maura
2 weeks ago

Magnificent technical presentation as always you do, and I especially like the interview with the lady (minute 31:10...), and see the positive aspects of the bike and particularly, the ebikes, for young people in schools and the good values ​​it brings. The ebikes allow people with less physical qualities to share moments with others.

Larry Conger
2 weeks ago

ElectricBikeReview.com you do a great Job Court, keep it up, the most truthful reviews out on the internet by far!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Thanks for the positive feedback Javier! I'm glad you enjoyed the little extra footage here, it's fun to share and see what's going on with different companies and schools, young people etc. :D

Cliff Louie
2 weeks ago

Specialized is a premium brand priced accordingly. There are other fat tire ebikes on the market with more utility such as having rear rack bosses for half the price.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Yeah, you get it :D

Doenjang Stew
2 weeks ago

Anyway, It has surprisingly evolved. but It has not arrived yet.

Doenjang Stew
2 weeks ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Thank you for your reply. I mean I think we are living in the begining of ebike era. and I am sorry I am not a bike expert. but I think all road small transport vehicles like car, motorcycle, bicycle etc... all will be changed by electric power source soon. I dare think we are just "leaving" and maybe 20 or 30 year later, we will be "arrived" that electric era.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

I'm excited to see what they offer for 2018 and how prices might change, what is your definition of "arrived" like what would make ebikes fully complete to you?

Robert Pirlot
2 weeks ago

I'm calling this bike overpriced. Go find a different e-bike.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Hey Robert, most of the Specialized products (electric or not) are priced higher because of their dealer network, refined frame designs, and branding. For some people, it's worth it... they have the custom battery design and app here, that costs money to make

Tommi Honkonen
2 weeks ago

i have fatbike for year now. comes in handy in finnish winter when 1 meter snow and -30c. i use all year around.

Larry Conger
2 weeks ago

Tommi Honkonen Bulls Monster E FS is the best

Tommi Honkonen
2 weeks ago

Mars Jmc bulls monster

Mars Jmc
2 weeks ago

what bike do you have?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Awesome! I have been visiting Colorado and there is snow on the ground, wish I had a fat bike to ride with :D

MTB Dream'in
2 weeks ago

Great review as usual Court! I have been following your ebike reviews since summer after getting into mountain biking a year ago. Because of your reviews in November I ordered a 2018 Turbo Levo Carbon Comp. I live in Florida so it is harder to find a dealer, and if you do it is lucky if there is one model to test drive. I tried Trek and Specialized, but then fell in love with Specialized. Thank you for all the work you put into making quality reviews.

Larry Conger
2 weeks ago

MTB Dream'in Haibikes all the way

MTB Dream'in
2 weeks ago

ElectricBikeReview.com I will follow up once it is delivered. ETA was suppose to be Dec, but now they say Jan 2018. :(. I am anxious. :-)

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Sweet! I'm glad you were able to try a couple of different products. Specialized has always made beautiful stuff and I'm a fan. I'd love to hear how the Carbon is holding up for you? Thanks for chiming in

Gary Bryan
2 weeks ago

Love the bike, but why do so many like the $5000 mark?

Gary Bryan
2 weeks ago

Larry Conger will do, thanks.

Larry Conger
2 weeks ago

Learn to do some wheeling and dealing, Specialized is very expensive but look at the Haibikes or Bulls line up here in the states you can get full suspension bikes at great values since they make way for newer models, I’m telling you cause I bought 4 eMTBs with great components

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Hey Gary, I think it has to do with volume (selling less bikes for higher prices), and supporting their vast dealer network, the better warranty, and just the investment in design here. This thing is completely custom vs. just bolted together from standard frames and aftermarket parts, even the motor is custom tuned

Brian Maplin
2 weeks ago

Bicycles use to be "wonderfully simple, simply wonderful" but this is totally overcomplicated and totally pointless.
I've been considering an e assist bike because I'm not well and was looking for some assistance. I've spent most of my life riding and, if you are fit and well you don't need any of this nonsense - buy a normal lightweight mountain bike and just ride it lots. I did Lands End to John O'Groats (1050 miles) on my rigid Cannondale M600 when I was well - it worked perfectly and it worked great for trail riding all over the uk. How many extra hours at work would you have to do to buy this instead of a lightweight super MTB? Just get out and ride and forget this overcomplicated stuff. Apart from anything else; the tech is moving so fast that the elec spares will be impossible inside 10 years and then your one off e specific frame is junk.
Remember in the UK our stupid far right crap govt only let us have up to 15.5mph of assistance which is hardly breaking a sweat on a normal bike...

Brian Maplin
2 weeks ago

Larry Conger hi. I don't understand why Bosch, Yamaha etc haven't standardised a frame design for the bottom bracket area. One of the great joys of bikes is the comparability across manufacturers for parts - buying any of the current e systems on a bike leaves me stranded when the motor etc fails in a few years time. Bosch guarantee parts for 7 years but that's noway good enough.
I'm probably (after my knee replacement) going to stick a basic hub motor in my lovely old Stumpy frame. All the best.

Larry Conger
2 weeks ago

Brian Maplin Bosch keeps it very simple, I love the intuvia system, Bosch powered baby, I’m a big fan, Yamaha is doing some things though too, so don’t count them out, Specialized is just too damn expensive, for what Haibike will do for you at half the cost!

Brian Maplin
2 weeks ago

ElectricBikeReview.com My current (no pun intended) has a Specialized Stumpjumper frame from 1991 and I can still find components for it in the local bike shop. These elec bikes will be trash within years as the elec bits fail and no compatible parts are available.

Brian Maplin
2 weeks ago

Stayshtum68 I'm looking as I'm not well enough to ride very far if at all now. I think there's still mileage (hehe) in the hub motor into my current bike for loads less than this type and nowhere near as nickable.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Hey Brian! I agree that the Mission Control app brings some complexity here, but the basic three-button control and concept for the Turbo Levo models is much simpler than most other electric mountain bikes I review. My own personal daily rider is a Specialized Stumpjumper (not powered) and I do ride it lots and LOVE it, but there are times when the e-assist makes the day better for my knee. The pricing point is another interesting consideration, bike prices are all over the map and you can easily spend $5k+ on a non-electric bike, I personally think Specialized makes some of the nicest ebikes out there because they put the bike first and have Body Geometry studies and lots of research to draw from, as one of the biggest and earliest US companies. I agree that the tech is moving fast and there's some concern about obsolescence, sorry about your limited speeds in the UK, that's a bummer :/