Téo S Limited Review

Teo S Limited Electric Bike Review
Teo S Limited
Teo S Limited Fat Bike Specific Hub Motor 500 Watts Derailleur Guard
Teo S Limited 48 Volt 17 Ah Downtube Battery Pack
Teo S Limited Intelligent Lcd Displayp Panel And Twist Throttle
Teo S Limited Mozo Spring Suspension Fork With Lockout
Teo S Limited Stitched Ergonomic Grips Compass Bell
Teo S Limited 9 Speed Shimano Alivio Drivetrain
Teo S Limited Alloy Fat Bike Rack With Independent Led Light
Teo S Limited Rear Mounted Kickstand Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brake Rotor
Teo S Limited Standard 2 Amp Ebike Battery Charger And Multi Tool
Teo S Limited Electric Bike Review
Teo S Limited
Teo S Limited Fat Bike Specific Hub Motor 500 Watts Derailleur Guard
Teo S Limited 48 Volt 17 Ah Downtube Battery Pack
Teo S Limited Intelligent Lcd Displayp Panel And Twist Throttle
Teo S Limited Mozo Spring Suspension Fork With Lockout
Teo S Limited Stitched Ergonomic Grips Compass Bell
Teo S Limited 9 Speed Shimano Alivio Drivetrain
Teo S Limited Alloy Fat Bike Rack With Independent Led Light
Teo S Limited Rear Mounted Kickstand Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brake Rotor
Teo S Limited Standard 2 Amp Ebike Battery Charger And Multi Tool

Summary

  • A powerful, feature-rich fat electric bike available in two frame sizes and three colors, suspension fork and seat post really smooth out the ride
  • Extra-large 48 volt, 17 amp hour battery provides the energy necessary to use throttle mode or the highest level of assist without as much range anxiety
  • Lots of attention to detail, the derailleur guard, rear-mounted kickstand, adjustable angle stem, and hydraulic disc brakes really set it apart
  • Good value but all of those accessories add weight, only sold online so you can't test the sizes easily and have to assemble it yourself, limited stock, cannot throttle from zero or without pedaling first

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Téo

Model:

S Limited

Price:

$1,749 ($199 Shipping)

Body Position:

Forward, Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Sand and Snow

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive (Original Owner)

Availability:

Canada, United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

72.5 lbs (32.88 kg)

Battery Weight:

9.2 lbs (4.17 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)18 in (45.72 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Large 18” Measurements: 18” Seat Tube, 23.75” Reach, 29.5” Stand Over Height, 27” Width, 79.5” Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Gloss Red, Gloss White, Black

Frame Fork Details:

MoZo Spring Suspension, 120 mm Travel, Preload Adjust, Compression Clicker with Lockout, 135 mm Hub, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

170 mm Hub, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

9 Speed 1x9 Shimano Alivio Derailleur, Shimano HG 11-34T Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano Alivio Mega Lite Two-Way Trigger Shifters on Right

Cranks:

Prowheel Solid, Forged Alloy, 175 mm Length, 46T Chainring with Alloy Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Neco, Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2", Threadless, Internal Cups

Stem:

Zoom, Adjustable Angle 0° to 60°, 60 mm Length, 31.8 mm Clamp Diameter

Handlebar:

Zoom, Low-Rise, 680 mm Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Auriga E-Comp Hydraulic Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Tektro Auriga E-Comp Levers with Motor Inhibitors and Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Padded, Stitched, Faux Leather, Black

Saddle:

Velo Plush with Integrated Handle

Seat Post:

Promax, Alloy, Basic Suspension with 40 mm Travel

Seat Post Length:

340 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Samson Champion, 6061 T6 Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, Punched Out, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 12G Rear, 13G Front, Black with Adjustable Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda Juggernaut, 26" x 4" (98 x 559)

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

5 to 30 PSI, Wire Bead, 30 TPI Casing

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Steel Fenders (100 mm Width), Aluminum Alloy Rack with Spring Latch and Pannier Clip, Integrated Spanninga Kendo Headlight, Independent Spanninga Lineo Backlight (2 AA Batteries) and Independent Blaze-Lite RL1800, Floating Ball Compass and Bell Combo Accessory, Multi-Tool For Assembly

Other:

Locking Removable Downtube Mounted Battery Pack, 1.6 lb 2 Amp Charger, Steel Derailleur Guard, 275 lb Max Load, Full Sized USB Charging Port on Top Right Side of Battery Pack, KMC X9 EPT Rust Resistant Chain

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang G06 Series

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

17.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

835.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

6.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

Intelligent Branded, Fixed, Backlight, Greyscale, LCD Console (Hold Up for Lights, Hold Down for Walk Mode, Tap Power Twice for Settings)

Readouts:

Speed, Avg Speed, Max Speed, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Level (0-9), Trip, Odometer, Timer

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Left (Up, Down, Power)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (12 Magnet Cadence Disc, Throttle Activates When Pedaling)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The electric fat bike space has really blossomed since 2015 when they seemed like a novelty to me. Products like the RadRover, Voltbike Yukon, and ultra-affordable Sondors Fat Bike have transformed a niche product, meant to address soft terrain like sand and snow, into an everyday experience. And they make a lot of sense, fat tires comfortable and capable for use on varied terrain but they aren’t as efficient or lightweight as traditional or even plus-sized tires. They require more effort to move… and that’s where electric assist and throttle power come in. The Téo S and more expensive S Limited shown here offer both drive modes. It’s a product that seeks to address comfort, strength, style, utility, and range in a way that the other value products do not. And in my opinion, it’s still a good value. The original owner gets a one year comprehensive warranty but will have to unbox and assemble the bike. It’s the same situation for the competing products mentioned above. However, not all of those products offer a 9-speed drivetrain with upgraded Shimano groupset, hydraulic disc brakes, integrated lights, or custom fenders and rack. And it goes beyond the obvious, you get a tapered head tube for improved strength, an adjustable angle stem and ergonomic grips for improved comfort, and a derailleur guard and alloy chain guide to protect the drivetrain and keep the chain on track. And this is a niche electric bike that manages to come in two frame sizes and three colorways. It’s doing a lot right in my opinion, but of course it’s not perfect. Weighing it at over 70 lbs (with the rack and steel fenders) it’s one of the heaviest e-bikes I have tested in recent years, and those steel fenders can rust if scratched and rattle a bit on rough terrain. The display panel is pretty standard, easy to use and read on the go, but it offers nine levels of assist which can become tedious. And the twist throttle, while able to override pedal assist at full power, requires a moment of cadence activation before it goes live… that means you have to pedal for a half-a-turn before you can use it! To me, that’s a bummer because I’d like to rely on the throttle to start the bike and save my knees, or in a pinch while riding off-road. The founder of the company is enthusiastic and responsive, their website is great, and the customers seem to be delighted. There’s a lot to celebrate with this one but we’re talking about a smaller company with seemingly limited inventory. You may face shipping delays, as Patrick did, because smaller companies usually don’t order as much inventory from manufacturers in Asia and thus, are de-prioritized. What I see here is a lot of creativity, attention to detail, and initiative that has produced an attractive and enjoyable end product.

Driving the Teo S and Teo S Limited is a 500 watt internally geared hub motor that peaks out around 750 watts and is said to produce up to 80 Newton meters of torque. In practice, it is very zippy and satisfying, but does produce some whirring noise. The hub motor casing is extra wide to accommodate the wide rims and heavy tires found on fat bikes. It’s painted black in this case and blends in perfectly with the extra-thick black spokes and punched out, double-wall, black rims. I love that Téo went the extra mile to match their tire liners to the frame color (red in this case). Internally geared hub motors balance increased torque and power against smaller form factor and this one nearly hides between the nine-speed cassette and 160 mm disc brake rotor… nearly. The disc brakes are a point of celebration and question for me because they have motor inhibitors built in to give you maximum control over the drive system, and are hydraulic vs. mechanical which tends to be easier to operate and more adjustable, but the rotors seem a bit small considering how large and heavy the bikes are. I’m used to seeing 180 mm or even 200 mm rotors on a lot of electric mountain bikes that weigh 46 or 50 lbs and this thing is 72 lbs. With a top assisted speed of 20 mph and the hardtail layout, perhaps you don’t have to worry about overheating or limited mechanical advantage here, the setup is more geared towards neighborhood rides and a bit of trails than true cross country or all mountain. Riding through the snow to town or across a forest path should be no problem. Patrick told me that he weighs ~320 lbs and the brakes have been fine, he had not owned it long enough to ride in the snow (I visited Vancouver Island to review this bike with him in the summer months). His tires were inflated at a higher PSI to be efficient and I found that the bike felt a little stiff and had more banging during my forest ride… but I only weigh 135 lbs so that’s part of it.

The powerful motor is a big focal point and needs to be capable for such a large off-road type of electric bicycle but the battery is just as important. The Téo S Limited is packing an impressive pack here with 48 volts and 17.4 amp hours for nearly a kilowatt hour capacity. This 9.2 lb pack is part of the reason the bike itself weighs so much, but I appreciate where and how it is mounted to the frame. The weight is kept low and center to improve handling and balance, it’s even sunk into the downtube vs. bolted on top. It feels secure, blends in (especially on the black frame), and can be charged on or off the frame for convenience. I would definitely remove the battery when transporting the bike or doing maintenance on the wheels, tires, or drivetrain… I might even remove the fenders and rear rack depending on the situation. The battery has a sleek latch built into the top left side that doubles a handle when carrying it around. The charging port is located near the lower left, which is a bit vulnerable if the left crank arm passes by or you trip on the power cord. And there’s a 5 Volt full-sized USB port near the top right edge of the pack so you can tap into all of that juice to use your smartphone for GPS or power additional lights. I love how the Téo bikes come with an integrated headlight but wish the rear light was also integrated vs. running off of two AA batteries. That said, both lights are pretty nice in terms of quality and the rear light should remain visible even if you load up the rack. I noticed that Patrick’s bike had an additional Blaze-Lite rear light on the seat post that you could clip onto a backpack or helmet if it got blocked by a trunk bag. They probably carried this light over from the standard Téo S model. And while we’re on the topic of accessories, I like that they threw in a floating compass bell and upgraded Wellgo platform pedals! These things work great for people with larger feet or if the soles of your shoes are wet. They are stiff, the look great, and they tend to hold up better against rocks and tips than cage style pedals.

Operating the Téo S Limited is fairly similar to other mid-level ebikes. It has a good sized LCD display that’s controlled by an independent button pad mounted near the left grip. You hold the rubberized center button to turn it on and then tap that button several times to cycle through menus. Above and below the rubber power/select button are up and down arrow keys covered with plastic. These keys are satisfying to click but can get pulled up and broken more easily than rubber buttons in my experience. I have only seen this once in person, and it resulted from fabric getting snagged at the base of the button and then pulling up. I love that you can hold up to turn on backlighting for the display (and activate the headlight) and that you can hold down to activate a slow “walk mode” because that’s handy for pushing up ramps, difficult technical sections of trail, and even stairs. It surprised me that there were nine levels of assist pre-programmed into the display, and you might be able to change this by exploring the settings menu (quickly tap the power key twice to enter this menu). With nine gears and nine levels of assist, there are many ways to enjoy this bike… but to me it’s almost like too many. I’d rather have an always-active throttle and just five levels of assist to really feel in control, in the way that’s important to me on trails and at stops. As it stands, you’ll probably want to shift down to lower gears when slowing down or stopping because it can be slow and difficult to start up again in a high gear. If the throttle was live, this would be less of an issue. At least the cadence sensor used here is a higher resolution 12 magnet design vs. the cheaper 6 magnet products I’ve seen from some other companies. And back to those brake levers, they allow you to tell the motor to stop almost instantly at any time. I can see how an off-road bike with a twist throttle might want to err on the safe side. If you accidentally grab too hard onto the handlebar in a tense moment, it could result in accidental throttle activation. And I think this is why some other fat bikes use a trigger throttle instead. I actually like twist throttles, and there are still other products that leave them “hot” at all times despite the twist risk described here.

The Teo S Limited is an electric bike that swings for the bleachers in terms of accessories, design, and fit. You can really see how the founder of the company, who lives in Montreal Canada, has studied the landscape and created something more refined. When you have to balance cost though, there are some trade-offs to be made. Perhaps future iterations will address some of the minor questions I have about operation, or maybe that’s a benefit to some riders who care more about a safer-feeling more predictable experience than a super responsive one. I noticed that the frame wheelbase is a bit longer with a double-tube yolk vs. custom design that would bring it closer in towards the bottom bracket. When you take a 26″ wheel diameter and add a 4″ tire to it, you end up with a 29er feel. The wheels have a low attack angle that allows them to smooth out bumps and cracks by simply rolling over them vs. going around. But with a longer wheelbase the bike doesn’t turn as quickly or feel as nimble. Larger diameter tires create this feel and the longer frame exacerbates it. Again, I tested the Large frame so perhaps the smaller option would feel tighter, but I doubt it. That frame probably has a shorter seat tube and shorter reach by an inch or inch and a half. This is not a deal killer by any means, the bike feels very stable and steady, but it’s not the most technically capable fat e-bike out there. If you care to double or triple the price, you can get a much lighter, better balanced, but less utilitarian experience from bikes like the Bulls Monster E S or Haibike XDURO Fatsix. For those who enjoy the aesthetic of fat bikes, appreciate the support of electric assist, want some good range and power, and might want to stay dry or haul their groceries or work supplies around… the Téo S Limited is a great choice. I might consider the white frame to increase my visual footprint when riding at night but love how the motor, battery and cables blend in on the black one. This is definitely a purpose-built ebike with internally routed cables that stay mostly hidden regardless of color choice. I’d like to send a big thanks to Benoit, the founder of Téo for partnering with me on this review, providing some additional specs and insights about the company, and of course Patrick for inviting me to his home on Vancouver Island, Canada to test ride his bike. I had a great time and came away very impressed and just feeling good about a motivated focused company and positive fanbase.

Pros:

  • Good weight distribution, the semi-integrated downtube battery pack improves balance and lowers the center of gravity for improved handling and parking
  • The Téo S Limited offers fenders and a rear rack for just $200 more than the Téo S which seems like a great deal to me, I love that all of their models appear to come with lights and they provide two rear lights with the Limited model (one that’s built into the rack so it won’t get blocked by trunk bags)
  • I really like how the rear rack is positioned further out towards the back so that the saddle can come down low and accommodate shorter riders, it’s great that the frame also comes in two sizes to suite medium and taller people
  • I think the frame just looks really cool, the top tube is angled down to reduce stand-over height and most of the cables are internally routed through the frame to reduce snags and improve aesthetic
  • Comfort is a big deal to me, but so is performance, I love that the suspension fork on this bike has preload adjust to reduce bobbing and compression adjust for stiffness along with full lockout (great for heavier riders)
  • The adjustable-angle stem allows you to easily transform this e-bike into a comfortable upright neighborhood bike or get forward, low, and stretched out for trail riding… but to keep an eye on it and tighten if you feel it coming loose at all because it can get stripped, you might even want to bring the included multi-tool along on big rides or replace the stem at some point down the line when you know what body position you really like
  • The Shimano Alivio derailleur is three steps up from the base Tourney model, positioned just above Acera, and offers reliable crisp shifting with two-way action, the nine-speed cassette is perfect for trail riding and provides a nice low range for starting and climbing
  • I love the large, sturdy platform pedals and appreciate the alloy chainring guard and guide to keep your pants clean and the chain from dropping!
  • Probably for shipping purposes as well as trail toughness, the derailleur has a steel guard surrounding it, this will keep the sensitive shifting mechanisms and motor power cable safe, especially if the bike accidentally tips onto its right side
  • Minor plus here, the hydraulic disc brakes are easy to pull, have adjustable-reach levers if you have smaller hands or are wearing gloves and need to bring them in a bit, and they even have motor inhibitors to put you in full control of the drive system but the disc size is a bit small for such a large and heavy bike, Teo has 160 mm rotors vs. 180 mm or even 200/203 which would cool faster and provide greater mechanical advantage
  • The Kenda Juggernaut tires are an upgrade over Chao Yang that I see on some other fat e-bikes, they offer a great PSI range so you can increase traction and ride on snow or sand (lower to the ~5 PSI mark for this sort of terrain)
  • Rather than go cheap with a five or ten magnet cadence sensor, Téo upgraded all the way to twelve and this makes it respond faster so you don’t have to pedal as long to get assist… and of course, you can always just use the twist throttle to help get going from zero
  • The geared hub motor is fat bike specific, this improves spoke bracing angle and the rear spokes are actually thicker for added strength and there are more of them (36 vs. 32 on some other models)
  • The display panel is large but narrow, leaving room for other accessories like the compass bell or maybe a drink holder or phone mount, it’s backlit and easy to see and use but it is not removable and therefor could take more damage if left outside in the elements (some riders put a helmet or garment over their displays to protect them)
  • In addition to the integrated headlight and backlit display panel, you could power some of your own electronic devices by tapping into the USB port on the right side of the battery pack, consider using a right angle USB adapter like this to keep the plug out of the way when you pedal
  • If you hold the down button for a few seconds, it activates walk mode which could be very handy if you need to walk a section of rough trail, navigate through a crowd, or push the bike up stairs considering how heavy it is

Cons:

  • Weighing in at a whopping 72.5 lbs (32.9 kg), this is one of the heaviest electric bikes I have ever tested, fat bikes tend to weigh more but the fenders and larger battery pack really put it over the top, at least the rims are punched out to reduce material and allow for a bit more cushion
  • As much as I appreciate fenders for staying dry and clean, I wonder if Steel fenders add more weight than Aluminum and could start to rust over time, especially if scratched
  • The Teo electric fat bike models seems upgraded from a lot of other value products like the RadRover and VoltBike Yukon (tapered head tube, hydraulic disc brakes, and a suspension seat post) but the wheels still just use a 9 mm skewer and 10 mm axle vs. thicker thru-axles, this is probably good enough for street and light trail riding but the weight of the bike and motor forces being exerted could benefit from upgrades here in the future
  • Minor complaint, there are no bottle cage bosses on this bike frame, consider adding a trunk bag with bottle holster like this
  • The bike I tested did not have a slap guard on the right chainstay which could result in scratches and nicks, at least the frame is Aluminum so it won’t rust there, I was told that the 2018 models will have a Neoprene slap guard
  • The charger is compact and relatively lightweight but it’s not super fast, at 2 Amps, I’d call it average and expect to wait 6.5+ hours for a full charge considering how large the battery is
  • In some ways I appreciate the comfort and utility of the saddle and seat post suspension but do be careful using the integrated saddle handle because if you lift the bike here, it could start to loosen or damage the seat post suspension, maybe lift with the rack or from the frame of the bike vs. the saddle despite this convenient handle
  • As much as I like the design and positioning of the rear light, it is independent, meaning that you have to remember to get off and turn it on and then turn it off after a ride to conserve battery vs. tapping directly into that main rechargeable ebike battery which the headlight is connected to
  • I can’t speak for all sizes, just the Large that I tested, but the wheelbase is longer and the yolk (the part of the frame that connects the bottom bracket to the chainstays that hold the rear wheel) is longer and just less custom, this might impact how snappy the bike feels, how quickly it turns and how maneuverable it is
  • Minor gripe here but I feel that the seat post (and seat tube) could have been thicker to improve strength and allow for heavier riders or a more robust suspension component, the 27.2 mm post works fine and I haven’t heard of issues but there is probably a reason that some off-road ebikes come with 30.9 or 31.6 mm posts
  • On the one hand, I love that the throttle overrides pedal assist at full power, but I wish that you didn’t have to pedal for a moment in order to sort of unlock it, some other designs give you throttle power instantly and this is useful for starting off from zero or getting a quick burst of power while balancing the bike on rough terrain and not pedaling (or if you raise the pedals while going through water or deep snow… you have to pedal on this bike for a moment to get that throttle to switch on)
  • Be mindful of the charger cord if you decide to charge the battery pack while mounted to the bike, notice how the left crank arm passes right by the charging port and could snag or bend the plug accidentally if bumped

Resources:

Denis Shelston
6 months ago

Thank you Court for another great review. I have purchased a Téo, exactly as Patrick did, from positive comments and a review from a hard core fan and participant on EBR’s own forum , Stéphane, aka America94.

I’ve been riding it for over month now, and am truly impressed. I am 65 and a former very well travelled motorcycle enthusiast who thought his days on 2 wheels were over.

My Téo has empowered me, I simply enjoy quiet rides in my neighbourhood. I have pimped it a bit with phone holder, tail bag, flashing light, etc. Love it

The e-bike, pedal assist, is a fantastic concept and am wishing for more people to understand it, and not raise their nose at the idea… I found that the spandex crowd looks at us funny. My 6-pack may be hiding, but I’m outside, breathing fresh air and having the time of my life.

Thanks for confirming I made a wise purchase.

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Awesome, what a great comment Denis! Thanks for mentioning the Téo forums and Stéphane. I’m glad he was able to help people get interested in this bike and ultimately, to help me review it! That’s what I was hoping for when I launched them a couple of years back. Your comment is very appreciated and I hope you continue enjoying the Téo e-bike and enjoying that fresh air ;)

Reply
Denis Shelston
6 months ago

A quick note… your review shows the price as $2.2K. That is the correct price is Canadian dollars. At today’s rate this is $1725 USD. I am just afraid some readers in the US may be find it overpriced at $2200. It is a great bang for the buck, either in CAD$ or US$.

Patrick Simpson
6 months ago

Hi Court, It was great meeting you and having you do the review on my Teo S Fat Bike. I enjoyed our conversations and wish we had just a little more time to check out that great Chinese buffet I was telling you about, but BC Ferries wait for no one. Next time you are over on the island, the Chinese Buffet is on me!

You got the review out quicker than I expected and it’s a really good review. My bike is now a famous movie star! (blush) :)

Here is my link for anyone who wishes to order a Teo Fat Bike. Kind regards, Patrick, Coombs, BC, Canada

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Thank you so much for the hospitality Patrick! I enjoyed living a day in your shoes and having some great conversations during the car ride. I too, wish that we had been able to get some Chinese food together… but I am sure to return! You’ve got a friend in me, thanks again for making this possible, it was a blast and totally happened because you put yourself out there and reached out. Thanks :)

Reply
Patrick Simpson
6 months ago

I am honored to be your friend, Court!

I’m re-reading the review and I have one small correction to ask. The steel fenders are actually really quite light. Though I never weighed them, steel is often lighter than aluminum for certain tasks. Because it doesn’t need much thickness to be strong, it can be quite thin and light. A couple examples I’m aware of, though not strictly about steel vs aluminum is how incredibly light steel studs for construction are compared to wooden studs, and yet they are stronger structurally. My neighbor Bob, who built many race cars used steel hoods on his cars rather than the supposedly lighter fiberglass because the steel was thinner. Surprisingly, the steel hood weighed a quarter of what the fiberglass one did because the fiberglass had to be thicker to prevent flex.

Anyway, the point is that, though I never weighed the steel fenders, they were extremely light, probably ounces. I think the weight in the Teo is in a strong frame, heavy duty battery, and powerful motor.

I get happier every time I ride my Teo. It just gets better and better and exceeds my expectations every time I rider her to town and back home. :) I compare it to a Harley Davidson vs a sportbike. The Harley is more solid and can carry more stuff on a trip. Just my humble opinion. Still, a great review you did, my friend!

Well Done and Thank You! Patrick, Coombs, BC

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Great point Patrick, your story about Bob using Steel hoods vs. Fiberglass is intriguing. I wonder how Carbon fiber hoods compare?! In any case, I appreciate the time you spent to think this out and share an alternative perspective. I do agree that the sturdy frame build and larger frame size play a role here. It would be neat to weigh Steel vs. Aluminum fenders but there are other factors to consider, like durability, thickness to achieve said durability. I guess I shouldn’t make assumptions that Steel is heavier, I may amend that in the review ;)

Reply
James
6 months ago

Damn Dude, you really seem to love to dear yourself talk, most of your reviews could be accomplished in a third or a quarter of the time you take if you learn to be succient, i almost hung myself listening and watching your long ass reviews

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Well, since you survived the extra long review is there anything I can help you answer about the bike? I do these longer reviews for fun sometimes and tend to go extra deep because new smaller brands don’t always get as much coverage. I believe YouTube does have a fast-play option as well, if you get bored in the future.

Reply
Matt
6 months ago

Court, Love the reviews, I have learned a lot from them. I am currently looking at fat bikes like this for my initial dive into ebiking. I wish the Rad Rover had extended life battery and some of the other options on ones like this and the M2S R750. I also love how you stay classy no matter what the feedback. Again, I appreciate all the info and the passion you bring.

FRANK S BAILEY
2 months ago

No need to be rude. Court’s are about the best reviews you will find about any type of product in terms of deatail, neurtality, and fun.

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Thanks Frank! I’m doing my best, but always open to ideas for improving or just encouragement. Trying to balance the three things you listed and enjoying the ride :D

Benoit Dumont
6 months ago

Hello everybody,

I appreciated very much the evaluation of our TEO S limited. Thank you Court and Peter for your time. I noticed that the rear fender was loose and creates noise. This can be done by tightening the screws. For the trottle it is possible to use it without pedaling. You only need to disconnect a wire from the controller. I also want to say that teo s limited is available in two versions of 500W or 750W motor.

If you have any questions about our bikes, you can contact me at: benoit@teofatbike.com

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Thanks for this help Benoit! I thought your bike performed well and enjoyed testing it in the forest. I hope to check out your other models someday and wish you luck with your new company :)

Reply
Gabriel Chirita
5 months ago

Extremelly bad experience with Theo fatbike. The bike was improperly mounted by them. Cables were either loose or too tight. I had to readjust the cables for the brakes. Two weeks after the purchase, the plug of the cable connecting the motor to the throttle broke. They refused to replace it on the pretext that we “ripped it off” so we had to go to another bike shop where they also discovered that the caliper is defective. We needed to have replaced the caliper and the pad that it was tainted by oil because of faulty caliper. Theo fatbike agreed to replace the caliper but not the pad, even if it was unusable. My opinion is that they don’t know anything at all about repairing bikes and that they just assemble them. Customer service is very bad! We had to call them several times and go several times to their shop. This new start-up has no idea how to do business.

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Ouch, that’s such a bummer Gabriel! I am sorry to hear that your purchase has been difficult and frustrating. I always feel conflicted, and do my best reviewing, but this sort of feedback may reach the company or help others to set expectations. Whatever the issues has been, I hope that Téo is able to overcome it and improve their product in the future and that you are able to find a product that works better, or get your own Téo Fatbike working properly :(

Reply
Dan
3 months ago

Nice review Court, Like Dennis mentioned above, I started learning about e Bikes on this forum. And made my buying choice from here. So we all know the positives of the Teo’ its when their are problems! My case and several other US based owners all received 500 watt Canadian models despite assurances from Bennoit that US shipped models would be rated 750 watt models (Radrover climbs hills without major effort also has a watts output on the display). So Bennoit has offered to do a parts exchange to bring these bikes up too 750 watts. At the owners cost of disassembly and shipping.! I enjoy riding with my wife (she has the RadRover) We are limited by her battery range. I wish Bennoit would have addressed this issue different. I have many people asking were and how much are the bikes.

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Hmm, that’s frustrating Dan. Thanks for sharing your experience vs. your wife’s, it’s cool that you both have ebikes to ride and I wish you were enjoying them both vs. having some issues. I’m sure Bennoit is trying his best, but it’s probably a smaller company, it looks like he is also newer to the space. All I can say is thanks for sharing and I welcome further feedback as this gets resolved.

Reply
Dan
2 months ago

Just wanted to say I appreciate your thorough reviews! Very helpful for those of us that live thousands of miles from manufacturers and are new to the whole ebike universe. Sure wish I could try them out but your reviews are the next best thing. I’ve been waiting to pull the trigger on a 2018 RadRover and liking everything about the Rad specs, company culture, purchaser reviews, etc. but now I am wondering since seeing your review of the Teo. Seems as though this rig might have some better components like hydraulic brakes, punchout rims, and a beefier battery? Price seems to be about the same as the Rover w/ fenders and rear rack is about $1700 U.S, and where I live I don’t get the free Rad shipping so they are pretty much the same price delivered. Assuming the Teo really does ship with the 750 watt motor to the American market which one would you buy? Is there a preference to your way of thinking? Thanks again for the great reviews!

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Thanks Dan! I try my best to be thorough and provide some perspective and insights along the way, it’s especially fun when an owner or shop manager is there to comment on performance and value. Téo definitely offers a unique high-value product and I agree with your assessment on the upgraded brakes, rims etc. but they are a smaller company and earlier this year I heard someone talking about wait times. I don’t think the RadRover 2018 is shipping immediately but Rad has a much bigger staff and professional support while Téo seems like a smaller startup. At the end of the day, the hardware may be very similar but service will probably be a step down with Téo. If you like their designs and offering, I think it would be good to call and ask about wait times and figure out which model and fits your needs best. You’re not obligated to buy but sending an email or trying to reach out could help you choose and note that the founder is French so there might be a language barrier or perhaps he has grown the team a bit and is getting help responding now because it was a little confusing when I reached out. I hope this helps, I think both products are pretty cool :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Calgarymao
37 mins ago

Can any kindly add some comments on this one? I am about to pull trigger on this one after doing my research on Yukon, Teo, and Radrover. Thanks.

Bruce Arnold
1 day ago

Thanks, Reid.

I might start doing that reset thing too. Maybe not every ride, maybe with every recharge. I'm gonna mull it over.

Reid
2 days ago

Hello, John Peck. And to Bruce, I see your point about the odometer. It can be reset. So I use it that way so I can see how much juice I've used per ride and my trip milage. I would like to see Juiced make it both a trip and a non-resettable total milage recorder.

We all seem to suffer chain drops. I shortened my chain some hundreds of miles ago. And since then, only one drop: the other night. I cannot figure out the cause of that drop, but drop it did,while I was shifting to a lower gear. Truly, a chain guide will be the righteous cure. I'm just not ready to spring for that quite yet.

Very much enjoying your reports, John and Bruce!

Arnel Philippines
6 days ago

Timberland san mateo rizal. Phillippines bike trail

Alphbetadog
2 weeks ago

Good for you! As long as your being courteous to other user and are not hurting anybody or anything, what's the problem? Young fit guys ride the trails much faster than I can on my peddle assist bikes. Ironically the only time I have been confronted by anyone about my assist bike on the trails was by a couple who had their big dogs off-leash which was also a violation of the rules...

JayVee
4 weeks ago

Welcome to the forums.

If you're looking for a Fat e-bike in Canada, I suggest you check out the TEO sub-forum. There are a few Canadians there who might be able to help based on their experience.

Amish David
1 month ago

It will be a few months I did get a small battery that I run rear break light/parking light and blinkers off of there LED and take little volts to run, I will be putting the (4) 35Ah batteries on the rear bracket, and make a bracket that will hold the single battery I have on the back now, with will relocate in the mane frame, I am also working on a self charging system, if it works out I will enplane how I got it to work. For longer commutes. Thanks again for all the input! Some people say it's cheesy however I would rather look silly and be safe and get run over most of the roads around here are only 12 foot wide no emergency lane

AguassissiM
1 month ago

@Amish David
You're welcome, always glad to share my experience.
Let us know how you made out with the project and do not forget to post some pictures of your new ride.
You can read about my Teo bike https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/my-teo-out-and-about-in-mississauga.13915/ if you have time.

AguassissiM
1 month ago

Good day @Amish David and welcome to the forum.
I have an electric scooter that uses led acid 4 x 12 volt 20 amh batteries, 48volt with a 1000watt rear hub motor, it weighs about 250lbs plus my 220lslbs.
The first year I was able to get about 35 miles per charge without pedals.
Second year things went well south and as time went by so did the battery life down to 5 miles per charge.
You will get better proformance than I did since you have 35 amh that gives you more distance and your bike is a lot lighter.
Personally I would save few more pennies and get a lithium ion pack.
Last year I got a Teo fat bike with a 48 bolt 17 amh lithium ion battery and my rides are usually up to 55 miles round trip with one bar of charge to spare.
Hope this gives you an idea of what you can expect.
Ps. My scooter is Motorino xpr.

mid drive merv
2 months ago
Ann M.
2 months ago

Hats off to you both @ver50 &@rich c; those are some righteous miles for 2017. Congrats and keep it going for 2018 :)

Over50
2 months ago

We have a week to go but given SE Michigan is about to hit the deep freeze, I figure my 2017 riding days came to an end today. I put in 20 miles today just running errands on a gorgeous sunny 35F day.

I'll finish 2017 with just under 3,300 miles. 800+ on the Haibike, 1,900+ on the R&M and 550+ on my human powered bikes. I commuted 61 days in my first year commuting (initial goal was 50 days). I had two significant road rage events but glad I didn't let them discourage me. Both seemed to be triggered by me sitting in a left hand turn lane in order to make a left at a red light. Way more people were courteous and even out-of-their-way nice than were mean or aggressive. I recall passing through a tough neighborhood and a woman waved me through the intersection and yelled "you stay safe baby". It made my day. I also had some great conversations with other folks along the commute route. E-bikes tend to be conversation starters.

I probably lost about 10 pounds and dropped an inch off the waistline. I've had some knee pain that I hope doesn't derail things for next year as I hope to surpass 2017's accomplishments.

61 days commuting is probably pretty weak for you full time commuters but I discovered with a 35 mile commute it takes some time, planning and discipline to pull off on a regular basis. I found it challenging to commute on back to back days. On commute days I had to get up an hour earlier and I'd get home an hour later. It isn't that the commute took me that much longer (just a bit longer than commuting by car) but rather that I had to alter my hours to avoid traffic. I'd generally leave the house at 5:30 a.m. and leave the office at 6:30 pm (getting home before 8 pm). Those are some long days.

I consider 2017 a big e-bike success (for me personally). I hope it was for everyone else and hope to hear your year end recaps in this thread. I think 2018 will be a good year. I'll be buying the Tern GSD for sure (deposit already paid) and with it I hope to get the wife riding e-bikes. Later in the year I'll be looking at a dual battery and/or maybe full suspension bike to replace one of my commuters. Leading candidates are the R&M New Charger, the R&M Delite GT with Rohloff, the Bulls Six50 TR Street and the Haibike SDuro Trekking 9.0. Best of luck in 2018 everyone.

Falken
5 months ago

I agree 100% Glad you brought it up. Great bike! Love it! But Teo is really falling short on the website and with communication, at least with me. I know some of you have had positive communications, and that's great!:) Sadly, mine have not. Most of my correspondence with them have been questions, and they really aren't the quickest at responding. I usually have to ask again after a few days and then they respond. The answer is short and not much detail. Maybe if something went wrong with the bike, they would be quicker? Hopefully that's the case if anything does go wrong.
Why on earth they don't get some help with the website I can't figure out.....I was telling my chiropractor all about the bike, and he is quite interested in it. I actually felt bad giving him the website and apologized for the mess and inconsistencies I knew he would find on it! I just told him to call me if he had any questions. Hopefully he picks one up. The more the merrier!

Denis Shelston
5 months ago

Was just visiting the Téo Fat Bike web site, I wanted to know a little bit more about the updates to my beloved Téo.

Téo essentially has 3 models: Téo S, Téo S Limited and the Téo SE. In different colours and sizes.

Yet, there are 14 images, with a mix of French and English, features are different on same bikes in different colours. Not one word on the new features. What a mess... Sad really.

Would be nice to get details on this 500/750W difference. Many are asking.. Not a peep.

This site is an ideal selling tool, why not maintain it? I don't get it...

Denis Shelston
7 months ago

My Téo S Limited.

Typical e-bike with fat tires, built with good components. Love it.

K.C.
8 months ago

Hey everyone. I don't have many posts here and have not been able to contribute much but I have been reading all the posts and wanted to thank those that have replied and those who have shared all their valuable info. You're the reason I ordered the Teo. Funny enough it was a Kijiji add that put me on to Teo and then this Forum.

There has been a lot of talk about different tires, tubes, rack bags, phone holders, water bottles, bike racks, etc, spread through many different threads and I (selfishly) thought it would be a good Idea to have one place for just accessories and where to get them at decent pricing.

As mentioned in my other posts I'm waiting on a Teo S Limited medium Black. Mostly pavement and packed trails. I'm pretty sure I'll get the Hookworms but there was another tire mentioned earlier (cant remember) that was the best of both worlds in terms of rolling resistance and traction. Anyways I want to "Bling" my bike up a bit and I'm looking for links and info to make my purchases without blowing the bank. I also thought it might help some others save some money if good deals come up that are found by members here.

Tires and the appropriate Tubes to go with them:
Hookworms and any other recommended alternatives?
This topic confuses me as a newbie especially all the tubes or tubeless talk and what is better and what works on the Teo rims that come with the bike.

Travel/Storage bags for the rear rack?
I definitely want to get one of these

Phone holders? - Cant go anywhere without my phone

Water bottle holders and possible mounting positions? - I know the battery limits options here

Bike locks and Bike lock holders/ mounting gear - This one I think is very important

Tire pumps?

Any other good idea accessories?

Thank you.

Denis Shelston
8 months ago

Oh @Stoker283..... you have made my day, thanks for sharing those pictures.

Im happy to read your comments, I also feel it's one of the better deals out there for an ebike, in Canada at least. My minister of finance, wife, bought that too :rolleyes:

And it could not look any better. It's a head turner. I'm sure you're all the talk when you ride in and around our Nation's capital and Gatineau. It's an area with extraordinary bike paths and trails.

I'm also anxious to ride my RED Téo S Limited to confirm that it's the fastest colour. ;)

Jealous, seriously.

america94
9 months ago

Congratulations Mr Denis!!!! I guess the old saying applies to you: "Just when I thought I was out...they pull me back in!"

I am actually jealous now; that red one keeps haunting my dreams :-) In Limited trim with the free upgrades over mine to boot!!

I just came back from a ride during my lunch break and actually thought (again) that the mirror is one of the best things I bought for the bike. That specific model you purchased (I have the same) is simply awesome and extremely solid, while looking great (no velcro straps or plastic over the handle. Once adjusted, I won't budge or vibrate.

Please keep us posted good sir. And thanks for using the affiliate link, much appreciated :-)

Denis Shelston
9 months ago

For a new Téo S Limited Large in RED.

Got 2 mirrors and some spare brake pads too.

Can't wait to get it... yoo hoo.

Thank you to Stéphane for his help, much appreciated.

:):):)

america94
9 months ago

Hey @MysticalFists. I just got off a video chat with Benoit where we discussed the new models. Please contact him directly to talk about the motors :-)

america94
9 months ago

Hi @K.C. First of all, congrats on your purchase, you'll be a happy camper I am sure :-)

If you https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/teo-fat-bike.12326/ and scroll down, you'll see some measurements I took of my model (same as your black). I am 6' tall with a 33" inseam and there is plenty of room for the boys when I straddle the bike (about 4"). I just measured this with the fat tires on, which I installed back this week. Even more room with the Maxxis tires if you ever consider those. So it looks to me like you should be all good. @uperGoop seems pretty good with frame sizing and all, he might chime in as well.

Please keep us posted on the bike, I am quite eager to hear back from other owners!

K.C.
9 months ago

Hi everyone I've been following this thread and decided to sign up. Seems like there are some good people here with great advise and suggestions
I'm a 47 year old complete newbie to ebikes.
I just placed an order with Teo and I'm second guessing myself so I'm hoping I can get some advise here. Bike will not arrive until mid-june so I should have time to make a change if necessary.
I ordered the TEO S Limited in black with the medium frame, I believe 18" based on what I read earlier from Benoit the owner.
I'm 5'9" tall with roughly a 30" inseam, 200lbs. I'll primarily be using the bike initially on hard surfaces and light trail use. It will be mostly a commuter. I went for the medium for some crotch clearance when straddling the bike at traffic lights etc. I also want my daughter to use it from time to time and she is 5' 6" however she will mostly be using her Trek bike 17.5" frame with 29" tires and she has no problem riding it.
I currently have an older Diamondback mountain bike with a 18" frame however the wheels are 26" but the top of the frame is straight across and my boys just clear it.
The Teo 18" seems like it slopes down quite a bit as does the Large (20") however for some reason I like the look of the large frame for some reason better that the medium frame. It seams that the top frame slope on the large frame sits roughly 2" higher than the medium frame (if that makes any sense). I guess I'm wondering if I made the right choice for a frame size and if all the other dimensions on the frame are the same. Below are pictures of the large and medium top frame slope positions.
Thanks in advance for any replies.

LARGE SIZE FRAME MEDIUM SIZE FRAME

dapope_22
9 months ago

Yep. That just took out the Teo for me. Definitely need the 750 Watt motor. Maybe it's not completely updated???

MysticalFists
9 months ago

Well fuck me and call me Shirley, sure enough, site's updated while I was at work. The Teo S and Teo S Limited are no more. Now you get:

Teo S Medium / Large (both with 500W Bafang Rear Hub)
Teo S Limited Medium / Large (both with 500W Bafang Rear Hub)
Teo SE Suspension 350W

And the only one available before June 10th is the SE. Guess I snooze, I lose :/

rudy ha
1 month ago

nice video

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 month ago

Thank you so much Rudy!

Gary Bryan
2 months ago

The owner appeared very nice & maybe somewhat shy. Beautiful area and great review.

Meno Passini
4 months ago

If only it was Mid drive, how about an E Rad Bafang option? Bafang HD w/ bigger brakes.

Gabriel Chirita
5 months ago

Extremelly bad experience with Theo fatbike. The bike was improperly mounted by them. Cables were either loose or too tight. I had to readjust the cables for the brakes. Two weeks after the purchase, the plug of the cable connecting the motor to the throttle broke. They refused to replace it on the pretext that we “ripped it off”. so we had to go to another bike shop where they also discovered that the caliper is defective. We needed to have replaced the caliper and the pad that it was tainted by oil because of faulty caliper. Theo fatbike agreed to replace the caliper but not the pad, even if it was unusable.
My opinion is that they don't know anything at all about repairing bikes and that they just assemble them.
Customer service is very bad! We had to call them several times and go several times to their shop. This new start-up has no idea how to do business.

daMacroGuy
5 months ago

I personally never cared much for the look of fat bikes, but I could definitely see myself using this as a daily commuter. Sweet looking bike and the price is right too.

IAMSatisfied
6 months ago

It looks like the rear rack slopes back, as if it was designed for a standard, unsprung fork... It'd be really nice if they'd make an equally sturdy rear rack for use with a suspension fork.

David Smrž
6 months ago

Fantastic video!

payasofeo69
6 months ago

Ok I've watch probably too many of your videos ;-)
I'm really close to purchasing a Teo S because they are in my hometown.
Here's my concerns... They are not a bike shop, it's a side business for fun.
Since I have zero knowledge about what's quality and not on a bike AND I'm no good at maintaining it I'm a bit scared to put 2k in this.
Would love your feedback please.

Miata Red
6 months ago

payasofeo69 Read the comments on the forum, watch this video review again. They are all positive. I'm in Toronto and drove to Montreal to pick it up, also to get a sense of the business. I'm sure they will take care of you during warranty, and you're IN Montréal. After that we'll... who knows, but since it's built from typical bike components, any local bike shop can maintain it.

Or, pay a whole lot of money right away and buy a similar E-bike from a local bike shop, expect to pay at least $1000 more for anything similar.

Chet Kuhn
6 months ago

Apparently I'm in the minority here, but I felt compelled to chime in. Let me preface this by saying that I LOVE your reviews. Absolutely love the time and attention you put into this. So thank you for that.

But 41 minutes??? Are you trying to win a bet or something?

Sketti Boi
6 months ago

Hi, That's the second time i remember you saying the usb port is "probably 5 volts".
I just wanted to offer my broad (but not all knowing) experience and say as far as i know all usb ports in any application are 5 volts.
its the available current (amps) per port that can vary depending on the electronics driving it. I have seen ports listed in various devices technical specs as 5.0, 5.1, or 5.2 volts. these are all still 5 volts rating and every usb device i know of will be fine with even 5.2 volts but I'm sure the manufacturer will list these true ratings to cover themselves in case a device ever has issues say because of a 5.2 volt rating.

Sketti Boi
6 months ago

p.s. liking the reviews. the Felt Bruhaul is my new favorite and i would seriously like to test one with a big load up a decent hill but it looks like Queensland and Australia in Particular are way behind with range and availability compared to the U.S. and europe.
I'm pretty much resolved to not re-register my car next year and a big cargo capable ebike would be just the ticket looking into the future. ☺

actnowone
6 months ago

Another great review, like the fact you also have people like Patrick and Mike giving their input into the reviews and some of the people you meet on your travels.

Man you put some work into you're channel and on the website, its all very impressive I just don't know how you do it, is there just you or do you have some freelancers helping you?

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Glad you're enjoying it, I put myself out there making new friends and trying to get an honest perspective while also digging into the details and providing my own insights and such. I do the traveling, filming, photos, writing, comments, and am a big part of the design of EBR but a few years ago I brought on a part time developer friend to help handle the traffic and security issues. I also hired a part time moderator friend to keep the forums a safe and friendly place. And... just the other day, got Mikey's help on the Felt Tote'm review, and I think he might do more in the future :)

Jared Oelderink-Wale
6 months ago

you know you want to come to new zealand

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Oh yeah, I'd love to visit, looks like an amazing part of the world :D

Shoe Salesman Of The Year 1992
6 months ago

I thought they were talking about the Pro Wrestler Chris Benoit at first. Ha

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Ha! Yeah, I haven't met this Benoit but we have spoken via email recently, he's going to confirm the US price because I may have quoted Canadian dollars vs. USD and I don't know shipping

Steve Donovan
6 months ago

Very good review Court. I thought I'd suggest a point to consider if you haven't already. You've referenced pedal assist delay emphasizing the number of magnetic sensors. I have a Bafang BBS02 middrive and the manufacturer has released the software to change the parameters of the controller, at least for the enthusiast community in the US.

Keeping in mind this motor has 12 sensors... One setting in the software is for Pedal Sensor Type and most people set this for DoubleSignal-24. Another setting is for StartDegree(Signal No.) and this is where it gets interesting. I first experimented with setting no.1 and it was ridiculous because all I would do is barely move the pedals and the assist would kick in. It was too immediate as to be practical and possibly even a danger. I now have it at 6 and that's pretty much perfect for me, I move the pedal about a quarter rotation and the assist starts.

There are numerous other settings in this software way beyond the LCD display options but my point is to emphasize that it appears the amount of magnets isn't the primary factor having the greatest influence when the motor will initiate, or for that matter given the software, when it stops.

Steve Donovan
6 months ago

I suppose it would be great to have the software for all motor brands but only Bafang has released it and only because some here finally convinced them, which was not easy from what I've read. I think we also void the warranty ;) So Bosch, Yamaha, Shimano etc. don't do it. For Bafang middrive users they can easily Google it, it's easy to find.

I actually wonder if it makes that much of a difference whether 6 magnets or 12 because if software can require just one signal, then it appears a mere 30-degree turn of the sprocket will initiate the motor. With the software Bafang uses it's possible it may even double-space the magnetic signals in which a 15-degree turn is all that's necessary. Anyway it's probably reasonable to assume the software from the other manufacturers plays a HUGE role manipulating the mechanical input.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Hmm, this is very interesting! Great to receive this advanced feedback about the software control. How do you get that app and use it on your bike? I may continue to describe my qualitative experience with different torque sensors but having a resource to point people towards would be nice, so they can dig in and find their own sweet-spot as you have :)

Arnold Winters
6 months ago

Patrick is very nice.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Yeah, he's a warm fellow, very generous and friendly, wish we'd had more time but I was late tot he ferry :/

cresshead
6 months ago

really enjoyed this video...great work...nice people and landscape...well done....more please!

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Awesome! Thanks, it takes a whole day to do an adventure+review like this but I try to mix them in when it makes sense. Lots of times I am just meeting with a rep or a shop, and even then, I like to bring them in to provide insights or just go somewhere different together. Got a fun one coming up with the OHM Mountain model like this :D

James Mason
6 months ago

72 lbs I never get that up my stairs

Miata Red
6 months ago

Patrick Simpson. Make sure you wipe those big tires clean first or you'll have a very muddy stairwell 😄

Patrick Simpson
6 months ago

I use the walk mode to get it up my stairs. It really isn't a problem. Walk mode provides the power and I just guide it up the stairs.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Yeah... the large size with the fenders and rack is quite heavy ;)

Gene Coppola
6 months ago

Been watching you for awhile now, you do a very nice job...The EB market has gotten so big and you help simplify the research for us..Thanks.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Awesome, thanks Gene! I do my best to provide consistency and some powerful filtering tools back at the site. I'm always open to feedback and suggestions though ;)

D Danilo
6 months ago

For anyone who has had doubts, just watch this video again. Court really DOES go the extra mile for us! Excellent review...great onboard experience both on and off road. Who could ask for more?

Miata Red
6 months ago

I suspect Court has more than 2 arms 😊 how does he ride, talk and record all at the same time. He is talented.

Patrick Simpson
6 months ago

Court does a great job. Watching him in action, I see how much depth of information and detail he puts into his reviews. Court is a first class journalist and reviewer, extremely dedicated, and NOT afraid of hard work. I'm not surprised that his reviews are first rate.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Thanks so much, days like this can be long and a bit stressful because I don't want to get kidnapped, have my camera break, miss the ferry (oops!) or get hurt far, far, far away from my family and friends... but I'm healthy and have a positive attitude, I appreciate that Patrick opened his home up to me :)

Joseph Smith
6 months ago

A ferry boat ride, cool little town, happy ebike owner and great review. The reviews just keep getting better. This ebike hits a nice sweet spot for features and price. Will it be available in the USA and is there an English version of the web site?

Joseph Smith
6 months ago

Yes the link worked, thank you.

Patrick Simpson
6 months ago

or just click on the little flag thingy at the top left of the page. Converts to English. :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Hi Joseph, I believe it is available in the USA and the Téo website does have a language converter. Try this link: https://teofatbike.com/boutique/en/teo-s-c83/