VoltBike Interceptor Review

Voltbike Interceptor Electric Bike Review 1
Voltbike Interceptor
Voltbike Interceptor 800 Watt Direct Drive Motor
Voltbike Interceptor Integrated Downtube Battery Pack
Voltbike Interceptor Lcd Display Panel Shifter Throttle
Voltbike Interceptor Adjustable Stem Ergonomic Grips Throttle
Voltbike Interceptor Cadence Sensing Pedelec System
Voltbike Interceptor Cst Tires 26 X 2 1
Voltbike Interceptor Rigid Fork Fender Integrated Headlight
Voltbike Interceptor Shimano Tourney Tx Drivetrain
Voltbike Interceptor Electric Bike Review 1
Voltbike Interceptor
Voltbike Interceptor 800 Watt Direct Drive Motor
Voltbike Interceptor Integrated Downtube Battery Pack
Voltbike Interceptor Lcd Display Panel Shifter Throttle
Voltbike Interceptor Adjustable Stem Ergonomic Grips Throttle
Voltbike Interceptor Cadence Sensing Pedelec System
Voltbike Interceptor Cst Tires 26 X 2 1
Voltbike Interceptor Rigid Fork Fender Integrated Headlight
Voltbike Interceptor Shimano Tourney Tx Drivetrain

Summary

  • A value oriented electric bike available in one size (19"), one frame style (step-thru) and one color (black)
  • Comes standard with lots of useful accessories including full length plastic fenders, a rear carry rack, integrated LED lights, a compass, bell and ergonomic grips
  • Entry level 7 speed drivetrain, basic mechanical disc brakes, heavier build ~62 lbs, only sold online but offers a solid year long comprehensive warranty

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Voltbike

Model:

Interceptor

Price:

$1,599 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

20152016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62 lbs (28.12 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.8 lbs (3.53 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Seat Tube Length: 19", Head Tube to Seat Tube Reach: 24"

Frame Types:

Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Flat Black with White and Red Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Fixed Aluminum Alloy

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney TX

Shifter Details:

SIS Index Thumb Shifter

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform

Stem:

Adjustable Angle

Handlebar:

No-Rise, Aluminum Alloy

Brake Details:

Mechanical Disc, 180 mm Front Rotor, 160 mm Rear Rotor, Artek Levers with Motor Inhibitor

Grips:

Velo, Rubber with Lockers, Ergonomic

Saddle:

Velo Comfort

Seat Post:

Promax

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Samson Champion, Aluminum Alloy 6061 T6

Tire Brand:

CST, 26

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Front and Rear Plastic Fenders with Mud Flaps, Integrated LED Lights, Compass Bell, Aluminum Bash Guard, Sturdy Single-Side Kickstand, Derailleur Guard, Free DOT Approved Helmet

Other:

Shipping to US ~$70, Locking Removable Battery Pack, Quick Release Front Wheel, 2 Amp Charger Weighs ~1.5 lbs

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Mxus

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

800 watts

Motor Peak Output:

1000 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Intelligent, Fixed Monochrome Backlit LCD, Swivels to Reduce Glare

Readouts:

Speed, Battery Level, Assist Level (1-9), Average Speed, Max Speed, Odometer, Trip Time, Lights (Hold Up Arrow), Walk Mode (Hold Down Arrow)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Sensor Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Voltbike Interceptor is a feature rich online-only electric bike that would be be useful for urban riding or commuting. It comes standard with full length plastic fenders, a matching carry rack (with standard gauge tubing so it works with most clip-on panniers) and integrated LED lights. While there’s only one frame style and size to choose from (step-thru at 19″) the stem is adjustable so you can extend the handlebar or bring it up and back and the seat post is also adjustable and actually goes fairly low. Overall I really enjoyed the bike but did notice the heavy weight ~62 lbs vs. similar bikes in the mid 50’s. I think the frame and gearless motor are the big contributors here, they reinforced the downtube to add strength (notice that it’s gusseted where it meets the seat tube). There wasn’t as much frame flex as I expected which is a good thing but there also isn’t much give when riding over bumps and cracks because the bike lacks suspension. I think if I bought this bike I’d probably add a more swept-back handlebar and possibly a seat post suspension. Thankfully, at ~$1,600 + $70 shipping to the US there’s money left over to do this sort of customization compared with other similarly specced bikes in the $2k+ price range.

Driving the Interceptor ebike is a powerful and smooth 800 watt gearless hub motor by Mxus. I’ve never heard of this company before but the motor performed as expected. Being gearless, it’s very quiet but does suffer from some drag due to cogging (the magnets inside repel the stater and cause it to slow when coasting). This type of motor could be setup to regenerate electricity when cogging (and even when braking) but it didn’t seem like Voltbike went this route as it often costs more and requires fancier controller systems. All direct drive motors I’ve tested suffer from increased weight and lower torque at slow speeds but they tend to be very durable. Once I was cruising above ~5 mph the motor began to operate more efficiently and really zipped along. One area that could be improved here is in how the motor is mounted… it would be nice to have quick release but more importantly it would be super useful to have a disconnect point in the power cable leading up to the motor. As it stands, if you have to do wheel or tire maintenance the motor will remain connected to the frame and this can become unwieldily.

Powering the Voltbike Interceptor is a fairly powerful 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery pack. This is definitely above average compared to most other value priced ebikes I’ve tried and it enables the 1,000 watt peak output of the motor. At ~8 pounds the battery is heavier than average (most packs I weigh are ~6 lbs) but it is locking, removable and can be charged on or off the bike. I like that it has an integrated LED readout (so you know how full it is when stored separately from the bike) and that it includes a plastic handle for easy/safe transport. I also really like how the battery connects to the frame, it seats into the top of the downtube and blends in nicely with matching colors (black and white). This low, centered mounting point improves balance and handling while also “blending in” so people might not immediately recognize the bike as being electric (especially because the motor is so quiet). The only real complaint I have about the battery is the independent on/off toggle switch which has to be switched on before pressing “on” again at the control pad. This adds time and makes it easier to accidentally leave the battery pack on when parked which could slowly drain the cells. Also, this on/off switch is positioned at the left side of the pack and could be bumped more easily when pedaling than if it were at the top. To maintain this battery store it at ~50% charged and avoid extreme heat and cold, check in on it every few months if you haven’t gone for a ride and bring it back up to 50%.

Operating the Interceptor is fairly intuitive, aside from the two-step power on mentioned earlier. Once the battery and LCD display are activated you’ll see readouts for Speed, Battery Level and Assist Level. The button pad allows you to arrow up or down between nine levels of assist which is more than average (many ebikes I test have just 5 levels) and these finer increments allow you to dial in assist. Lower levels offer less power but will conserve your battery and allow you to reach greater distances. At the highest levels the bike will hit ~20 mph and given the seven speed cassette pedaling is comfortable. I appreciated the 12 magnet pedelec sensor and the brake lever motor cutoff switches (when you pull the brakes the motor will instantly cut out). one drawback to the control system is the lack of throttle-only mode. Basically, whenever the bike is on you’re in some level of assist and can override it by using the trigger throttle near the right grip. The throttle is fun to use but will drain the battery more quickly if you’re not pedaling along and I feel like the bike could benefit from a more standard sized grip on the right vs. the half-grip they went with. Overall, the display panel and inputs are easy to read and use while riding, even without taking your hands off the grips. It would be nice if the display panel could be removed easily when parking but at least it swivels to avoid glare. The cockpit is a little crowded and I’m not sure the compass+bell thing is the best use of space… maybe they could swap that out for a smaller bell and go back to full sized grip on the right.

In conclusion, the Voltbike Interceptor is an electric bike that offers a lot of value and versatility to a wide range of users. It’s easy to mount, fairly adjustable and very powerful but the limited frame size, heavier build, extra on/off step, lack of motor cable disconnect and lack of suspension make it a bit rough around the edges in my mind. There’s room for improvement but for the price it’s still a solid offering. Again, I’m 5’9″ and the bike felt good… since it’s only available online you might be taking a risk in terms of fit if you ordered it but the support seems solid. Voltbike offers several models and this is one of the most complete. It would make an excellent commuter platform or “around town” electric bike for getting groceries and running errands.

Pros:

  • Clean look, the matte black frame is professional and hides cables and wires nicely (many of which are integrated through the frame)
  • Battery weight is kept low and center, the pack locks to the frame and can be charged on or off the bike, it includes a plastic handle for easier transport
  • The motor is smooth and quiet (being gearless) and offers great power with 800 nominal 1,000 peak watts
  • Integrated LED lights both run off the main battery pack so you don’t have to worry about turning them off after each ride or replacing individual cells
  • Step-thru frame is very approachable, easier to mount vs. swinging your leg over the back wheel (which could accidentally kick the rack)
  • Extremely affordable considering you get fenders, lights, a rack and a powerful motor and name brand battery with a one year warranty
  • Voltbike has been in business since 2012 and has a decent reputation for replacing parts and offering good customer service, they are expanding the number of models and types of ebikes being carried
  • It’s neat that they offer a free helmet with the purchase of any ebike and that the helmets are Department of Transportation (DOT) approved, for me the helmet was a bit heavy but the straps were easy to adjust and felt secure

Cons:

  • The right grip has been shortened a bit to make room for the trigger throttle, brake lever and bell+compass, for me there is just barely enough room and I feel like the length was designed to work with a half-twist throttle vs. a trigger, maybe they could use a longer grip since they are using a slim trigger here
  • The adjustable angle stem can get loose over time if you ride off-road or go off curbs, check in on it and tighten to avoid loosening
  • No suspension here, the front fork is rigid and the seat post is fixed, consider adding a Thudbuster or cheaper suspension post to add comfort
  • Only available online, you’ll have to do some assembly and adjustments yourself and you cannot try it before purchase, keep in mind it only comes in one size ~19″
  • Limited color and size selection (black and medium step-thru), it felt good to me (I’m 5’9″) and the adjustable stem and seat hight help
  • There doesn’t appear to be disconnect point in the power cable running from the controller to the rear hub motor, this could make wheel maintenance more difficult
  • The on/off toggle switch on the battery protrudes from the left side and may be easier to bump or kick while pedaling, it may be easier to accidentally leave this on after a ride vs. the main display on/off
  • No bottle cage mounts on the downtube or seat tube, you might want to add a saddle rail adapter or seat tube cage
  • The motor does not freewheel as efficiently as a geared design (due to cogging, the magnets inside repel) and they did not take advantage of regeneration here
  • Heavier build at ~62 lbs due to the large battery, gearless motor and overbuilt frame (reinforced for strength due to step-thru design)
  • No throttle-only mode, you’ve got 1-9 assist and you can override the throttle but there isn’t a “zero” assist level so anytime you pedal when the bike is active the motor will be activated

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More VoltBike Reviews

VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An exceptionally affordable, feature rich electric bike, built around an approachable frame that's easier to mount and stand over, offers pedal assist and throttle override operation. The battery pack is protected by the top tube, positioned low and center along the…...

VoltBike Enduro Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable full suspension trail bike with quiet, but powerful, mid-drive motor and integrated downtube battery pack, full-sized USB charging port on battery, adjustable top speed. Integrated LED headlight, backlit LCD display panel, and standard reflectors for urban riding, high-pressure tires…...

VoltBike Mariner Review

  • MSRP: $1,249
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A miniaturized fat tire electric bike that's sand and snow capable, you get fenders, a rack and integrated lights for utility and safety no matter the terrain. Mid-mount battery design keeps weight low and centered, it's removable for reduced weight (when folding…...

VoltBike Yukon 750 Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable but surprisingly powerful and quiet electric fat bike, sells online only and ships from Canada with a flat rate $70 fee, comes with a comprehensive 1 year warranty. Upgraded Kenda Juggernaut tires that feel good on pavement, dirt, sand and snow, removable battery…...

VoltBike Urban Review

  • MSRP: $1,049
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An ultra-affordable folding electric bike sold online from Canada, offers a full range of accessories including lights, fenders and a rear carry rack. Available in black or white but only one size, you get six gears with a…...

VoltBike Yukon Review

  • MSRP: $1,159
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value priced electric fat bike with a six speed drivetrain, integrated headlight and optional fender + rack kit. Available in two flavors (350 watt motor or more powerful 500 watt motor), sold online…...

2015 VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A very affordable city style electric bike with lots of useful accessories including integrated lights, fenders and rack. Only available in one frame size ~19" but the adjustable stem and seat hight help…...


R Urschel
1 year ago

The Interceptor is sold out and Voltbike can not say when they will have any more. June 23, 2016 voltbike.ca

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Thanks for the update! Sorry to hear it’s sold out if you were looking for one.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Paul Cavasino
2 weeks ago

Today I went to the local Pedego shop and rode the City Commuter and the Interceptor. I wanted to ride the Platinum Interceptor as well, but they said that they didn't carry that, though they could order it for me. That was kinda disappointing because I wanted to try an ebike with hydraulic brakes and compare them to the normal disc ones.

Maybe because it was my first time on an ebike but I was rather nervous at first due to the speed but also neither bike felt like it had stopping power. I was struggling to stay still on a hill and wound up falling by accident (at walking speeds). At the end of the hour period I did feel alot better but just disappointed about the brakes. Or maybe it was totally normal.

This could be due to a few reasons:

Haven't ridden a bike in a while (though this was on the second bike at around 40 minutes into riding)
I test rode the bikes that they use for rental so they were a little beat up.

TL;DR

I couldn't try a bike with hydraulic breaks and i wanted to see if anyone felt that it was worth it. If it is then I will probably wind up buying the Juiced CrossCurrent S since that has the hydraulic breaks and it has a torque sensor (which i couldn't test out) although i'm taking a risk since the forums seem to have mixed feelings about the quality and service of the CCS. If normal brakes are fine then I will just by the Pedego City Commuter since I can take it to the local shop for maintenance and issues.

Thanks!
Yes,...We own 2 Pedegos, his & hers,...( City Commuter & Step thru-Interceptor),...& Have Immensely Enjoyed Our Biking Adventures for 2 Years Now !! GO PEDEGO,...they're rated one of the most reliable EBIKES out there !!

Disaresta
2 months ago

After getting my ebike with hydraulics, I'll never go back. Very low maintenance requirements, they're highly responsive, and they stop on a dime in any weather. Invest in them; you won't regret it.

Good to know! I'll keep that in mind. If I go that route I don't have the budget for the Pedego Platinum Interceptor so I would take my chances with the Juiced CrossCurrent S.

Disaresta
3 months ago

Today I went to the local Pedego shop and rode the City Commuter and the Interceptor. I wanted to ride the Platinum Interceptor as well, but they said that they didn't carry that, though they could order it for me. That was kinda disappointing because I wanted to try an ebike with hydraulic brakes and compare them to the normal disc ones.

Maybe because it was my first time on an ebike but I was rather nervous at first due to the speed but also neither bike felt like it had stopping power. I was struggling to stay still on a hill and wound up falling by accident (at walking speeds). At the end of the hour period I did feel alot better but just disappointed about the brakes. Or maybe it was totally normal.

This could be due to a few reasons:

Haven't ridden a bike in a while (though this was on the second bike at around 40 minutes into riding)
I test rode the bikes that they use for rental so they were a little beat up.

TL;DR

I couldn't try a bike with hydraulic breaks and i wanted to see if anyone felt that it was worth it. If it is then I will probably wind up buying the Juiced CrossCurrent S since that has the hydraulic breaks and it has a torque sensor (which i couldn't test out) although i'm taking a risk since the forums seem to have mixed feelings about the quality and service of the CCS. If normal brakes are fine then I will just by the Pedego City Commuter since I can take it to the local shop for maintenance and issues.

Thanks!

Mr. Coffee
4 months ago

Disclainer: I own a Pedego (Interceptor).

The premium you pay on a Pedego bike is paying for the large dealer network and the fairly generous warranty. If you plan on riding the bike hard and depending on it those things are valuable to you. If you aren't doing those things the value of said premium is more questionable.

In general all Pedego bikes I've tried have an "overbuilt" feel to them compared to other ebikes I have tried. The downside of "overbuilt" is that it makes the bikes heavy monsters to haul around and the upside is they can take quite a bit of abuse (and use).

One question: you are focused on the 24" trail tracker here. Is that because that bike is more likely to fit you? I agree that there are very few options for a fat-tire ebike in that particular wheel size.

Katman4532
4 months ago

@Over50, the TownieGo does come in a low step version, still 26" wheels. If you think that's still a little large for her take a look at the Pedego Step-Thru Interceptor with 24" wheels; the overall sizing is scaled down but the same size motor & power.

Court has a Guide with suggestions for bikes for smaller people; it's a good starting point. There are also newer reviews, too.

@Katman4532, glad to hear that you're out & about in our Texas summers; happy trails!
I think you're right about the low step version being great for shorter people. I would love to get my wife on an Ebike.
I have to keep turning off the assist to let her catch up!

PedegoElectricBikes
5 months ago

Longtime pedal bike shop owners choose Number 1 electric bike brand for new store

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., July 6, 2017 — The world’s 100th Pedego® Electric Bikes store is now open in Simsbury, Conn. Owned by Mike and Rachel Wolf, Pedego Simsbury is the fifth Pedego store in New England. Pedego also has stores in Boston, Rhode Island, Cape Cod and South Norwalk. Pedego Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. There will be ribbon cutting ceremony by the Main Street Partnership on July 6th to celebrate the opening.

“We're pleased to announce that Pedego Simsbury is our 100th Pedego electric bike store in the world,” said Pedego Electric Bikes CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. “Opening the 100th Pedego store is a testament to the growing popularity of electric bikes, and we’re delighted to be leading the revolution.”

THE PUBLIC IS INVITED TO JOIN THE RIBBON CUTTING CELEBRATION

WHAT: Ribbon Cutting Ceremony by the Main Street Partnership including refreshments and free test rides

WHERE: Pedego Simsbury store, 528 Hopmeadow Street, Simsbury, Conn.

WHEN: Thursday, July 6 at 4:30 p.m.

WHO: Store co-owners Mike and Rachel Wolf, plus representatives from the Main Street Partnership, Simsbury Chamber of Commerce, and City of Simsbury as well as Pedego representative Cassidy Castleman

Store owners Mike and Rachel Wolf, 77 and 71 years old respectively, are well-known in the area for their two long-established cycling shops. Nearly 67 years ago, Mike’s father established Connecticut's oldest bike shop, Bloomfield Bicycle & Repair Shop. Mike has worked there for 64 years, since he was 13 years old, and today, it is the oldest bike store in the region. It also carries the largest inventory of electric bikes in the area, with 150 electric bikes in stock. Of the nine electric bicycle brands Wolf carries at his Bloomfield bike shop, Pedego is the leading brand, which led him to open the Pedego Simsbury store. The Wolfs also own the Bike Cellar in Simsbury, which specializes in pedal bikes.

“Electric bikes are a game changer, enabling people of all ages to ride bikes,” Mike said. “We firmly believe that 60 percent of all bike sales in the future will be electric bikes, and we’ve decided to go with Pedego, the Number 1 electric bike brand, as Pedego is devoted to delighting its customers and empowering its dealers.”

The Wolfs are not only Pedego electric bikes salespeople, they are big fans themselves. An avid Pedego rider, Mike lost 54 pounds and lowered his cholesterol and blood pressure over the past 18 months with his Pedego electric bike. Weather permitting, the septuagenarian rides more than 20 miles every morning. He said, “Not only have I gained back my health, I’ve also gotten better looking, thanks to my electric bike.”

Pedego Simsbury’s opening is the culmination of Mike’s decade-long friendship with Pedego CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. They met when DiCostanzo owned an electric bike shop in Newport Beach, Calif., long before he co-founded Pedego. DiCostanzo said, “We are thrilled to welcome Mike and Rachel to the Pedego family. They share a passion for bringing electric bikes to the region and getting Baby Boomers back on bikes.”

Pedego Simsbury offers sales of all 12 Pedego Electric Bikes models that empower riders to zoom up hills and through headwinds. All Pedego bikes have a 500-watt hub motor that helps riders cruise distances of 30 to 60 miles without getting tired and sweaty. Now available at the new Simsbury store are California-styled cruisers, including the Pedego Platinum Interceptor, a fully loaded cruiser bike; the Pedego Interceptor, which boasts a 48-volt battery that propels riders with extra power; and Pedego’s Comfort Cruiser, which is powered by a 36-volt battery for gentle help with hills. Also available are the Trail Tracker fat-tire bike for riding on gravel and snow; the Ridge Rider electric mountain bike; the sleek City Commuter; the sturdy Stretch cargo bike and the Latch, an ingenious folding bike, designed for portability and convenience. Pedego also recently introduced the Airstream model for camping devotees.

Rentals and sales of Pedego bikes are available. Located near the Pedego Simsbury store are the Farmington Canal Heritage Trail and Farmington River Trail, two scenic trails that meet in the town. The Farmington River Trail is part of the rail-to-trail bike path network that takes riders up into Massachusetts or down into New Haven, Conn. The store provides maps so renters can enjoy riding through the beautiful countryside. Simsbury was recently voted the most bike-friendly community in Connecticut.

Pedego Simsbury also offers top-notch service for Pedego electric bikes. Everything from maintenance to customizations can be handled by the team.

About Pedego Simsbury

Pedego Simsbury has the distinction of being the 100th Pedego Electric Bikes store in the world and is the region’s premier dealer in Pedego Electric Bikes. Pedego Simsbury offers a large selection of Pedego electric bikes sales, rentals, accessories and service. Free test rides are available. Located at 528 Hopmeadow Street in Simsbury, Conn., Pedego Simsbury is close to the Farmington Canal Heritage Trail and Farmington River Trail, two trails that combine for a scenic ride through a forest. The store is open seven days per week: Monday through Friday, 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Saturdays 9:00 am. to 5:00 p.m., and Sundays 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. To learn more and reserve a test ride, call 860-413-2543 or email info@pedegosimsbury.com. Follow us on Facebook and visit our website at http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/dealers/simsbury/

About Pedego

Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 12 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at 100 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

1/1
PedegoElectricBikes
5 months ago

Electric Bikes energize the town with fun and fanfare

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., July 5, 2017— A Pedego® Electric Bikes store is now open in Petoskey, Mich., bringing an exhilarating new activity to town. Pedego Petoskey co-owners Bryan Newman and husband-wife team Bill and Pat Anton are excited to introduce the nation’s Number 1 electric bike brand with a party that includes free test rides on the elegant electric bikes. It is the 99th Pedego store worldwide. Pedego’s enormous popularity grew from the brand’s stylish designs and quality components. Every Pedego bike features a 500-watt motor that empowers riders to conquer hills, headwinds and long distances with ease.

THE PUBLIC IS INVITED TO JOIN THE GRAND OPENING & RIBBON-CUTTING CELEBRATION

What: Grand Opening and Ribbon-cutting Ceremony will include free test rides and snacks

Where: Pedego Petoskey, 438 East Mitchell Street, Petoskey, MI, 49770

When: Thursday, July 13 from 4:00 to 8:00 p.m. Ribbon-cutting Ceremony at 4:45 p.m.

Who: Store co-owners Bryan Newman and Bill & Pat Anton, store manager Dawn Marie Hansen, Friends & Family, Petoskey Chamber and various City Ambassadors will be present as well as Pedego California representatives Tom Bock and Cassidy Castleman.

Newman is an experienced Pedego dealer as he also owns Pedego La Quinta and Pedego Palm Springs, both in Southern California. Every winter since opening his other stores, Newman has had visitors from Michigan rave about the electric bikes as the best part of their California vacation, so he decided to bring the fun of Pedego electric bikes to Petoskey, an established vacation destination. “I chose to become a Pedego dealer because it’s all about fun, and now I'm thrilled to bring the fun to Petoskey,” he said.

Pedego riders can cruise for hours enjoying Petoskey’s miles of scenic paths without over-exerting. Located in the Northwest tip of Michigan’s Lower Peninsula, Emmet County offers a variety of paths that blend scenic splendor with rich historical sites. Long stretches of sandy beaches, quaint downtowns and year-round activities beckon outdoor enthusiasts, including families. Little Traverse Wheelway, a re-established turn-of-the-century trail that goes from Walker Road, Charlevoix, to Hoyt Street in Harbor Springs, presents more than 26 miles of pure riding enjoyment. This and several other trails await riders who want to explore the area while having fun on electric bikes.

Pedego Petoskey offers sales of all 12 Pedego Electric Bikes models that empower riders to zoom up hills and through headwinds. All Pedego bikes have a 500-watt hub motor that helps riders cruise distances of up to 60 miles without getting tired and sweaty. Now available at the new store are California-styled cruisers, including the Pedego Platinum Interceptor, a fully loaded cruiser bike; and the Pedego Interceptor, which boasts a 48-volt battery that propels riders with extra power. Also available are the sleek City Commuter; the Trail Tracker fat-tire bike for riding on gravel and snow; the Ridge Rider electric mountain bike; the sturdy Stretch cargo bike and the Latch, an ingenious folding bike, designed for portability and convenience. Pedego also recently introduced the Airstream model for camping devotees.

Available for rent are Pedego’s cruiser-style Interceptors, sporty Ridge Riders, ultra-low step-thru Boomerang Plus bikes, fat-tire Trail Trackers, Stretch cargo bikes, sleek City Commuters and a shiny red Tandem. Helmets and locks are included with rentals.

“Petoskey is such a beautiful place with miles and miles of scenic bike paths to enjoy,” said Pedego Electric Bikes CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. “We're very happy that riders will now be able to see, experience and enjoy Petoskey on Pedego electric bikes.”

About Pedego Petoskey

Pedego Petoskey is the region's premier dealer in Pedego Electric Bikes. Offering a large selection of Pedego electric bikes for sale and rental as well as accessories and service. Riders can cruise near sandy beaches, through quaint downtowns and enjoy year-round activities on Pedego electric bikes. Little Traverse is a local bike path offering more than 26 miles of scenic splendor combined with fascinating historical sites. Open Sunday through Thursday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., and Friday and Saturday, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Located at 438 E. Mitchell, Petoskey, MI 49770. To learn more and reserve a test ride, call (231) 881-9488 or email info@pedegoPetoskey.com. Follow us on Facebook and visit our website at http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/dealers/Petoskey/.

About Pedego

Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 12 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at nearly 100 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

1/1
PedegoElectricBikes
5 months ago

Pedego San Diego brings energetic vibe to Downtown’s fashionable BRIC

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., July 5, 2017 — The first Pedego® Electric Bikes store in Downtown San Diego has opened a pop-up shop in front of their soon-to-be permanent location on the ground floor of the elegant new BRIC center on San Diego Bay. Pedego San Diego offers Pedego’s 12 stylish models of powerful electric bikes that enable riders to enjoy cruising all over town with ease. Pedego Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego San Diego is Pedego’s 98th store worldwide.

The Pedego San Diego pop-up shop offers free test rides, sales and rentals of the popular electric bikes. They're located at BRIC San Diego along with the Marriott Residence Inn, Spring Hill Inn and Suites Bayfront Hotels at Lane Field, just one block from the Santa Fe Depot train station. The store is open Sunday from Noon–6 p.m.; Monday from 10 a.m.–6 p.m.; Closed on Tuesday; and Wednesday through Saturday from 10 a.m.–6 p.m.

Store co-owners husband-and-wife Sean and Chelsea Chavez, and Sean’s dad Celso Chavez, are excited to bring Pedego electric bikes to Downtown San Diego, giving visitors and locals alike an easy, fun and green alternative to cars. “With Pedego electric bikes, you can discover more of this beautiful city without the hassles of parking or worrying about hills or headwinds,” Sean said.

From the store, riders can easily cruise to the city’s great landmarks, including the Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Balboa Park and museums, Old Town and Harbor and Shelter Islands. Riders can also take their bikes on the ferry to Coronado Island or bike to the island via the full 24-mile Bayshore Bikeway, which conveniently begins across the street from the store.

Pedego San Diego offers sales of all 12 Pedego Electric Bikes models that empower riders to zoom up hills and power through headwinds. All Pedego bikes have a 500-watt hub motor that helps riders cruise distances of 20 to 60 miles without getting tired and sweaty. Now available at the new San Diego store are California-styled cruisers, including the Pedego Platinum Interceptor, a fully loaded cruiser bike; the Pedego Interceptor, which boasts a 48-volt battery that propels riders with extra power; Pedego’s Comfort Cruiser, which is powered by a 36-volt battery for gentle help with hills; and the Pedego Tandem, the most stylish and powerful electric tandem available. Also available are the Trail Tracker fat-tire bike for riding on sand and gravel; the Ridge Rider electric mountain bike; the sleek City Commuter; the sturdy Stretch cargo bike that allows for extra cargo or an extra adult or two children to ride along; and the Latch, an ingenious folding bike, designed for portability and convenience. Rentals start at $20 per hour and $75 per day, depending on the model.

“San Diego’s famous sunshine and outdoor lifestyle make it a perfect home for a top-notch Pedego store,” said Pedego Electric Bikes CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. “Pedego riders will enjoy riding longer, farther and faster, seeing more of this great city without having to deal with traffic or parking.”

About Pedego San Diego

Pedego San Diego is the region’s premier dealer in Pedego Electric Bikes, offering a large selection of Pedego electric bikes sales, rentals, accessories and service. Test rides, rentals and sales are available at a nearby pop-up site during construction of the store’s permanent location in the elegant BRIC hotel complex, an exciting lifestyle destination in the heart of Downtown San Diego. Riders can cruise to the city’s great landmarks, including the Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Balboa Park and museums, Old Town and Harbor and Shelter Islands. Open Sunday Noon–6 p.m.; Monday 10 a.m.–6 p.m.; Closed on Tuesday; and Wednesday through Saturday 10 a.m.–6 p.m. Located at 900 Bayfront Ct., Suite 100, San Diego, CA 92101. To learn more and reserve a test ride, call (800) 604-7187 or email info@pedegoSD.com. Follow us on Facebook and visit our website at www.pedegosandiego.com.

About Pedego

Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 12 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at nearly 100 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

1/1
Court
6 months ago

Hi Marleen, thanks for sharing your enthusiasm for cycling and complimenting our work here. I’d love to share a few thoughts and try to help :)

My own Mother has had a couple of bicycle tips over the past few years and I’ve seen her become sensitive to riding, especially in crowded environments and around faster cyclists. You mentioned stability and I feel that the Electra models (or any cruiser style ebike) could be a great fit because they tend to have wider tires and a more relaxed geometry. Sometimes, they even have smaller 26” wheels vs. the standard city/road 28” 700c. You touched on this in your post with the Fat Frank tires ;)

You really explained the Flat Foot technology from Electra well, it allows the saddle height to be lower so that riders can put their feet down while seated, but still get reasonable leg extension forward to pedal. They have a patent on this but you can see some competitors trying to imitate it by using back-angled seat tubes. Moustache does this with their Lundi 26 https://electricbikereview.com/moustache/lundi-26/ and Pedego does it with their 24” Cruiser which is unique because of the even smaller 24” wheels which bring the entire frame down closer to the ground https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/24-step-thru-interceptor/ The downside of both examples here is that they use rear-rack mounted batteries vs. the downtube design on Electra’s Townie model. This increases frame flex and makes the back rear heavy which can lead to crack-the-whip handling and easier frame tips. Pedego in particular, tends to be very rear heavy because they use a rack battery and hub motor system vs. the mid-motor on the Moustache and Townie. One upside is that the Pedego has a throttle while no Bosch systems offer that.

Bosch makes one of my favorite drive systems and it’s cool that you’re already familiar with it from the Urban Arrow. The reliability, responsiveness, and balance make it desirable but of course, it’s also a bit pricier.

So I have not seen the Commute Go! or Loft Go! in person but I have studied the official website and you did a great job narrowing down. I view these as more efficient “commute” type of bikes with lager 700c 28” tires that raise the bike slightly, hydraulic disc brakes that are going to be easier to pull and smoother to brake with, and swept-back handlebar designed to be comfortable (positioning you upright) but still narrow to fit through doors and between cars. Frankly, I’m suprised that the Townie Go! doesn’t have larger beach bars… but maybe the reach distance is already short enough? It’s an interesting design choice there compared to Pedego and others… perhaps they wanted to really raise the bar vs. raise and sweep back? I’m not sure. Anyway, my guess is that the Loft Go! will be the lightest model because it uses narrower tubing than the Commute Go! The look on the Loft Go! is more classy vs. beach cruiser but it shares a lot of similarities with the Commute Go! models and they all appear to use the Bosch Active Line motor which is slower to start and weaker overall (so it will extend battery range but also feel safer and more predictable to riders perhaps).

Based on what I have heard from Trek recently, none of the Trek or Electra models will have walk mode enabled and I’m not clear on why. In the past, some other large companies have been shy about any kind of throttle application because it changes the bike from Class 1 to Class 2. Now, a two-mph walk mode that requires two button presses to activate (and ongoing holding of the plus button) doesn’t seem like a big issue to me, and I love the idea that you could get help moving a 50 lb bike, that might have cargo loaded, up a hill or steep driveway. One concern however, is that the cranks turn when this mode is active and that can put your legs in the path of sharp pedals which could cause a scrape or surprise you enough that you actually drop the bike or something. I’m not really sure what drives the policy for them. Maybe someone will chime in with more info or perhaps this policy will change one day?

I’m sorry to hear that so far it has been difficult to locate a Trek dealer with ebikes to demo. Hopefully that will also change soon… or you can become one of the first to own the new models, it sounds like you are already a great ambassador for their brand of bikes :)

I’ll do my best to review the new models soon and appreciate your enthusiastic and well-researched comments Marleen. You seem very cool and your Mom must be very proud and happy to have you in her life riding bikes.

Steve Prehoda
6 months ago

I would like to use a humongous 28Ah triangle battery on a new Pedego Interceptor to be purchased in November. The discharge lead from the EM3ev battery is a XT90-S and the Pedego controller connector is a two pin male connector made by DAPU as shown. So, I need the female DAPU two pin connector on a tail piece to make the connection.

The Definitive Guide to Ebike Connectors at https://www.electricbike.com/ebike-connectors/ does not show what I need. Does anyone know where I can find these connectors?

Finally, if these cannot be found then I am thinking that connectors are connectors and any connector will do the job as long as it is waterproof and rated for the maximum voltage and amperes. So I could just swap out the DAPU connector for a XT90-S.

Please tell me if I am not correct.

1/2
Dewey
6 months ago

Tried the Pedego 24" interceptor yesterday. I'm used to torque sensing so the cadence sensing freaked me out! Looking forward to the Ebike expo next week! Thanks for all your input everyone!

Great! I see M&M Cyclery will be there so maybe you'll get a chance to ride an Electra Townie Go!

Linda Baer
6 months ago

Tried the Pedego 24" interceptor yesterday. I'm used to torque sensing so the cadence sensing freaked me out! Looking forward to the Ebike expo next week! Thanks for all your input everyone!

JohnT
6 months ago

Hello Steve. I'm a Pedego dealer, so I'm biased, but here are my thoughts.

First, one of the main reasons people choose Pedego is our reliability. Since the battery is arguably the most important part of an ebike, I highly recommend sticking with our batteries for the best experience. It's possible to custom wire a non-Pedego battery to a Pedego bike, but it likely won't fit in the stock location, and you really need to know about battery specs and BMS to select a pack that will work reliably and safely.

Regarding Alibaba, I understand it's primarily a wholesale site, so to get those prices, you need to buy in volume. Aliexpress is for retail.

I hear you can get great deals on Aliexpress, but you need to be careful that you buy from a reputable vendor. Some vendors will sell counterfeit or substandard cells. If you have a problem, a quality vendor should take care of you, but if you need to return something, shipping to China can be expensive. Again, if you have no experience at this, I don't recommend it.

The Platinum Interceptor is a great bike! If you have any questions about it, feel free to ask me here or in the Pedego subforum.

Linda Baer
7 months ago

If you are still interested in shopping around I noticed a Chicago ebike dealer Kozy's carries several brands and given a week's notice they can bring in the Pedego "miniceptor" with 24" wheels, here's Court's review, it looks like it was designed for people up to 5'2". Also the Trek Lift+ low-step weighs only 45lb including battery and has a small size frame option for riders over 5', here's Court's review.
I just sent them a message to see if they can help. Thanks!

Dewey
7 months ago

I am very hopeful that the 2017 Kalkhoff Agutta b7 with XS frame is my answer.

If you are still interested in shopping around I noticed a Chicago ebike dealer Kozy's carries several brands and given a week's notice they can bring in the Pedego "miniceptor" with 24" wheels, here's Court's review, it looks like it was designed for people up to 5'2". Also the Trek Lift+ low-step weighs only 45lb including battery and has a small size frame option for riders over 5', here's Court's review.

Dewey
8 months ago

Hi Edie!

The Trek Lift+ for $2,800 has a light 45lb step-through small size frame suitable for riders over 5', and uses the Shimano STePs pedal-assist only mid-drive motor. The 6lb battery can be removed making it even lighter to lift onto a car bike rack, and the low speed walk mode will push the bike at walking pace. The location of the motor and battery keep the weight low and center for better balance. Revolution Cycles is a great DC area Trek dealer that can supply and service it. Here is Court's review.

The Pedego Interceptor 24" frame is designed for riders under 5' 2", has 5 levels of pedal assist plus twist throttle, front and rear lights powered off the battery, and is $3,000. The wide swept back cruiser handlebars may take some getting used to, it is heavier at 59lb. Although the 8lb battery can be removed, the location of the battery high up in the rear rack and the rear wheel hub motor means the bike is rear heavy which might affect handling and braking. Hybrid Pedals is a Pedego dealer with a shop in Arlington, VA and a warehouse in Baltimore, which means you will be able to get the bike serviced locally. Here is Court's review.

The Electra Townie Go! Step-thru is another low cruiser bike similar in size and weight to the Pedego, costs less at $2,600, uses the reliable Bosch mid-drive motor, and Shimano roller brakes that require a bit more pulling effort to slow down. Like the Trek the location of the motor and battery keep the weight low and center for better balance. A Trek dealer such as Revolution Cycles or an independent bike dealer like Conte's in Arlington, VA can supply it, and any Bosch certified ebike dealer can service the motor. Here is Court's review.

Barbara
8 months ago

Well I decided I really didn't want 20" wheels because I mostly plan to cruise for distances, so I broke down and got the Pedego 24" Step-Through Interceptor after a test ride today. I say I "broke down" because I don't like that the battery and motor are on the back, which makes it back-heavy and unwieldy to wrangle around if I have to wrestle it through a small space. (I'm very out of shape and equally out of practice, so had to get off and walk it through a couple sharp turns on our short route.) The throttle also seemed to go too fast too soon but I'm hoping I'll get better at twisting it "just so". I should have it by this time next week. It is a beautiful lilac color, so that's a nice touch.

My true love was the Blix Komfort+ which cost about $1000 less but which was too big, so I guess I'm paying the short tax, as almost no decent, more affordable bikes fit me. Or I don't fit them. I would probably never have spent this much ($3300 including upgraded battery), but I recently came into a small stock options windfall from a former company of mine that just got bought out, which I decided was going to be the funding source for an ebike purchase.

Interestingly enough, the beautiful multi-page "Pedego Magazine," which has all kinds of graphics showing when throttle is available and when it isn't, is totally wrong. Throttle is always available, even though the book indicated it was not at level 0. (But there was another level that turned off PAS so you could use throttle only.) I guess by the time they printed it they realized that was a dopey design.

Anyway, thanks to you all for your suggestions and recommendations.

David Macdonald
11 months ago

it seems to be a really nice bike good powerful motor and perfectly good components that you could change bits of if you wanted to .

Wolf Heart
1 year ago

Lol so if you were going down hill and throttling you could reach some pretty good speeds.

mobgma
2 years ago

Where is link to website on the review?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+mobgma Just finished the full review and added the link to the video description and in a card, within the review (towards the bottom) I also deep link to the official site. Here's the review: http://electricbikereview.com/voltbike/interceptor-ebike/

seadk
2 years ago

+mobgma www.voltbike.ca

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+mobgma I haven't had time to do the writeups, currently traveling and headed to Burning Man (hoping to do some reviews there!) and then Interbike... I figured I'd just publish the videos rather than wait and let the content get old. It may take a while to catch up with the articles and stuff ;)