VoltBike Yukon Review

Voltbike Yukon Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Yukon
Voltbike Yukon 500 Watt Internally Geared Motor
Voltbike Yukon Lithium Ion 48 Volt Battery
Voltbike Yukon Display Lcd Throttle Shifter
Voltbike Yukon 26 By 2 Inch Fat Tires
Voltbike Yukon Chainring Bash Guard
Voltbike Yukon Double Walled Rims Disc Brakes
Voltbike Yukon Shimano Tourney Tx Derailleur
Voltbike Yukon Velo Plush Saddle
Voltbike Yukon Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Yukon
Voltbike Yukon 500 Watt Internally Geared Motor
Voltbike Yukon Lithium Ion 48 Volt Battery
Voltbike Yukon Display Lcd Throttle Shifter
Voltbike Yukon 26 By 2 Inch Fat Tires
Voltbike Yukon Chainring Bash Guard
Voltbike Yukon Double Walled Rims Disc Brakes
Voltbike Yukon Shimano Tourney Tx Derailleur
Voltbike Yukon Velo Plush Saddle

Summary

  • A value priced electric fat bike with a six speed drivetrain, integrated headlight and optional fender + rack kit
  • Available in two flavors (350 watt motor or more powerful 500 watt motor), sold online only so there is some assembly required but Voltbike offers a one year warranty
  • Quality Samsung Lithium-ion battery pack, sturdy mechanical disc brakes with motor inhibitor, responsive 12 magnet cadence sensor (offers five levels of assist and throttle-only operation)

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Voltbike

Model:

Yukon

Price:

$1,159 ($1,369 for the 500 Watt Model)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Sand and Snow

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

20152016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

56 lbs (25.4 kg) (~58 lbs for the 500 Watt Version)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

20 in (50.8 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Seat Tube Length: 20", Head Tube to Seat Tube Reach: 24"

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Red and White Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid, Aluminum Alloy

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

6 Speed 1x6 Shimano Tourney TX

Shifter Details:

SIS Index Shifter on Right Bar

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform

Handlebar:

Low-Rise, Aluminum Alloy

Brake Details:

Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Artek Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Rubber, Flat

Saddle:

Velo Plush

Rims:

Double Wall, Punched Out, Aluminum Alloy

Tire Brand:

Chaoyang, 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Red Tire Liner

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Optional Aluminum Alloy Fenders and Rack Kit (With Integrated Tail Light) for $150, Aluminum Alloy Bash Guard, Derailleur Guard, Integrated LED Headlight, Compass Bell, Single-Side Adjustable Length Kickstand, Free DOT Approved Helmet

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Shipping to US ~$70, Rugged 2 Amp Charger with Metal End Weighs ~1.5 lbs

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

499.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

6 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

Fixed Monochrome Backlit LCD, Integrated Button Pad

Readouts:

Speed, Battery Level, Assist Level (0-5), Power Use, Odometer, Lights (Press the Current Button)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Sensor Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

[UPDATE for 2016] Several improvements have been made to the VoltBike Yukon for 2016 and the price has remained. Those include: battery cells are now by Panasonic vs. Samsung, they were chosen due to the better discharge rate (c-level) which is important for zippy throttle performance. The tires have been upgraded to Kenda Juggernaut Sport 26″ x 4″ with wire bead for better seating. The disc brakes have been upgraded to Tektro Novella ebike specific for reduced squeal and smoother operation.

The Voltbike Yukon is a value priced electric fat bike that comes in two flavors, a modest 350 watt or powerful 500 watt capable of ascending moderate hills, slogging through snow or dealing with sand and other soft terrain. Fat tire designs have become popular in recent years because they tend to be very stable and capable off-road. You can inflate the tires to ~30 PSI for efficient use on road (or at least semi-efficient… the knobs definite produce some sound and drag) or you can drop them down to ~5 PSI for some cushion and improved traction. The tires on the Yukon are standard 26″ x 4″ but end up closer to 29″ in diameter when inflated, which is the size of many mountain bike tires. Voltbike is a Canadian company that sells several electric bike models direct online and they ship to America for ~$70 and offer an impressive one year comprehensive warranty. Given their more northern, coastal location (near Vancouver), Voltbike has designed each of their models to work in snow or rain. For an additional $150 they will toss in some matching extra-wide aluminum fenders and a rear carry rack with an integrated LED light for the Yukon! In my opinion that a pretty good deal. I could see myself commuting with one of these during the week and then taking it out on trails for some weekend fun. The biggest complaint I have with this bike is the lack of a suspension fork… but for the price I completely understand. You could always add a Thudbuster and comfort gel saddle to smooth out the ride and I’d probably also explore cruiser handlebars just to bring the seating position up and back a bit. As it ships, the bar is fairly far forward and only offers low-rise which is fine for off-road trail type of riding but can create some back and neck discomfort on longer rides.

Driving the bike is an internally geared 8Fun hub motor spoked into the rear wheel. It’s black, which matches the frame, battery and other accessories, and there’s a disconnect point in the power line which makes maintenance easier. 8Fun (manufactured by Bafang) is a higher quality part and one that I’ve seen on many ebikes over the years. It would have been nice to have matching black spokes and quick release on the wheels could be useful (the tires are so big, sometimes you have to take the wheels off to transport this thing unless you have a truck). As mentioned earlier, there are two motor choices. The standard version comes with a 350 watt motor which is enough for flat paved surfaces and a bit of gentle climbing (especially if you pedal along). For an additional ~$210 you can upgrade to a 500 watt motor and in my opinion it’s definitely worth doing. This isn’t the lightest ebike at ~56 lbs and with the knobby tread, fenders, rack and potentially some gear added on the larger motor will come in handy… but it will also drain the battery more quickly. To get the best range out of this thing I recommend riding in level 1, 2 or 3 pedal assist then occasionally boosting power using the trigger throttle. Pedaling along is fun and comfortable here because the Yukon has a six speed drivetrain. The components are definitely entry level (Shimano Tourney TX) but they’ll hold up if you keep them clean and occasionally lube the chain. I like that the bike ships with a metal derailleur guard, this part will help to protect the shifting mechanisms as you assemble the bike and also if it tips or comes into contact with terrain later on.

Powering the bike is Lithium-ion battery pack that uses higher quality Samsung cells. It offers 48 volts of power and 10.4 amp hours of capacity which is above average for normal sized e-bikes but probably just ride for the 500 watt version of this fatbike. The battery mounts to the downtube and includes a locking core for security but you don’t have to leave the key in when riding which is nice (some cheaper bikes don’t have this option). The pack can be charged while seated on the frame or separately if you want to store the big (potentially dirty) parts in your garage. I love that the pack has a built in strap for carrying and that it has an LED power level readout… this can come in handy if you haven’t ridden for a while, have the pack in your closet and want to know whether it’s full. If you do plan on storing the pack (maybe for the off-season?) I suggest filling it to 50% then leaving it in a cool, dry location. Just behind the pack (on the bike frame) is another black box and this thing is the controller. It receives, interprets and sends signals to the battery and motor. Often times controllers are integrated into battery mounts or sometimes even built right into motors but that’s not the case here. It definitely adds some clutter to the frame but it probably helps to keep that price low and at least it’s black. The battery, controller and wires all blend in with the frame and look pretty good in my opinion. I believe Voltbike does sell additional battery packs (to extend your range or as a replacement) and those go for ~$500.

Operating the Yukon electric bike is a cinch. Once the battery is charged and mounted to the frame you simply press the power button on the display pad. From here, you can see your battery level (with six bars for more precise interpretation), your speed and your assist level. The bike offers five levels of pedal assist along with a zero level for throttle-only operation. This is awesome! Basically you can operate the bike however you want without compromising… some of Voltbike’s other models do not have this zero level and that means you have to think about how your pedaling might impact the motor vs. just using the throttle. If you are in pedal assist mode here the control system responds very quickly (both to starting and stopping) because it uses a 12 magnet sensor disc. When it’s time to stop and you pull the brake levers another signal is sent to the system to cut motor power. I feel like they did everything correctly with this design and used good parts. in addition to the derailleur guard mentioned earlier, there is also a nice aluminum bash guard mounted to the front chainring and the pedals are decent Wellgo aluminum platform designs… maybe not quite as wide as I’d like. Consider these extra-wide grippy magnesium pedals with adjustable spikes also from Wellgo. I’ve purchased several of these for my bikes over the years and they come in a bunch of colors so you could get white or red to match the highlights on this frame as well.

They Yukon is Voltbike’s most popular model and I can totally see why. It looks good, delivers a lot of value and uses some high quality parts where it counts. You don’t compromise with a single speed drivetrain like the Sondors and you can easily upgrade the motor for more power without spend a lot of money or screwing around trying to do it yourself after purchase. You get a nice display system with lots of drive options. Safety is taken care of with the included LED headlight and really emphasized if you get the rack and have that second light. The optional fenders fit the frame (fat-bike fenders can be difficult to find and fit after-market) and you’ve got the necessary stopping power of disc brakes. I can’t really think of anything else you’d need to get here besides those ergonomic adjustments (seat post shock, saddle, bars etc.) and that’s just based on my own ride preference. I could see this bike being an awesome addition to a cabin or maybe as a Burning Man bike. I attended the festival for the first time this year and saw an amazing selection of bikes… with fat bikes being some of the most popular and comfortable for the sandy desert terrain. Keep in mind the Yukon frame is a bit large at ~20″ and you’ll have to swing your leg over (especially high if you get the rack, don’t hit your knee…) maybe in the future we’ll see more colors or a second size in this thing… or maybe a quick release on the front wheel ;)

Pros:

  • The matte black paint looks good, matches the large black tires, rims, hub motor, battery and controller box… it also helps to hide the wires and make the bike more stealth
  • One of the most affordable fat electric bikes I’ve seen, you can get the super-cheap 350 watt version or upgrade to a 500 watt motor for ~$210 more
  • Awesome extra-wide full length fenders and carry rack sold as a $150 option, they look great and add a lot of utility if you live somewhere that it rains or you plan on commuting with the bike, I like that the rack has an integrated tail light!
  • I really appreciate the six speed cassette, even though the component line is more entry level (Shimano Tourney) these gears will help you start, climb or keep up at higher speeds (especially with the larger front chainring, it’s nice to have some low gears), the large thumb shifter (SIS Index) is a bit easier to use if you’re wearing gloves… riding in the snow perhaps
  • The battery can be charged on or off the frame (and has an integrated LED charge level indicator!), if you’re transporting the bike it’s best to take the pack off to reduce weight by ~7 lbs, the pack includes a keyed lock for security (the key is not required to be in while riding)
  • The high-step frame offers a lot of strength and stiffness, this is good considering the larger, heavier tires and it also makes hanging it on some car racks easier
  • Voltbike has been in business since 2012 and has a decent reputation for replacing parts and offering good customer service, they are expanding the number of models and types of ebikes being carried
  • It’s neat that they offer a free helmet with the purchase of any ebike and that the helmets are Department of Transportation (DOT) approved, for me the helmet was a bit heavy but the straps were easy to adjust and felt secure
  • The disc brakes do a good job of stopping this bike and staying clear of mud and rocks vs. rim brakes, I like that the levers have motor cutoff switches built in

Cons:

  • The controller unit is not integrated into the battery mount and takes up some extra space on the downtube, adds a bit of clutter to the frame but blends in alright since it’s black (like the frame)
  • No bottle cage mounting points, pretty much all of the space on the downtube and seat tube are taken by the battery and controller, you can always upgrade with the fenders or rack and use a trunk bag for your water bottle or get a saddle adapter
  • Fairly aggressive stem, low-rise handlebars and saddle create a more active-forward ride that can be less comfortable going over bumps… there’s no suspension fork, seat post or springs but you can deflate the tires a bit (which will also decrease range) or add a basic seat post suspension of your own or a really fancy long-travel one
  • Only available in one color and one standard size at ~20″, you can’t adjust the stem or bar angle much… just the seat post height, I’d consider swapping out the handlebars for something with a little more rise and sweep back, this bike might not fit shorter riders (it felt alright for me and I’m 5’9″ tall)
  • There’s not quick release for either wheel (which would be handy for transport given how large the tires are) but there is a quick-disconnect point in the power cable for the hub motor making rear wheel maintenance easier
  • Only available online, you’ll have to do some assembly and adjustments yourself and you cannot try it before purchase, keep in mind it only comes in one size
  • The display panel doesn’t swivel very easily (to reduce glare) and isn’t removable (to deter theft or wear from weather) but it’s fairly easy to reach and is backlit

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More VoltBike Reviews

VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An exceptionally affordable, feature rich electric bike, built around an approachable frame that's easier to mount and stand over, offers pedal assist and throttle override operation. The battery pack is protected by the top tube, positioned low and center along the…...

VoltBike Enduro Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable full suspension trail bike with quiet, but powerful, mid-drive motor and integrated downtube battery pack, full-sized USB charging port on battery, adjustable top speed. Integrated LED headlight, backlit LCD display panel, and standard reflectors for urban riding, high-pressure tires…...

VoltBike Mariner Review

  • MSRP: $1,249
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A miniaturized fat tire electric bike that's sand and snow capable, you get fenders, a rack and integrated lights for utility and safety no matter the terrain. Mid-mount battery design keeps weight low and centered, it's removable for reduced weight (when folding…...

VoltBike Yukon 750 Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable but surprisingly powerful and quiet electric fat bike, sells online only and ships from Canada with a flat rate $70 fee, comes with a comprehensive 1 year warranty. Upgraded Kenda Juggernaut tires that feel good on pavement, dirt, sand and snow, removable battery…...

VoltBike Urban Review

  • MSRP: $1,049
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An ultra-affordable folding electric bike sold online from Canada, offers a full range of accessories including lights, fenders and a rear carry rack. Available in black or white but only one size, you get six gears with a…...

2015 VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A very affordable city style electric bike with lots of useful accessories including integrated lights, fenders and rack. Only available in one frame size ~19" but the adjustable stem and seat hight help…...

VoltBike Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value oriented electric bike available in one size (19"), one frame style (step-thru) and one color (black). Comes standard with lots of useful accessories including full length plastic fenders, a rear carry…...


Bike_On
2 years ago

I bought one of these for my son in college. I’ll let you know how it holds up. My decision was purely based on cost/ruggedness/and some cool factor. The upright, swept bars, step thru nanny euro style is comfy and very adequate, but uncool for a 18 year old male. BTW, he currently has a DIY cruiser, Wilderness Energy bike, which is getting some attention. I plan to sell that one to pay for this one.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Cool! I’d love to hear what he thinks about the Yukon vs. the Wilderness Energy bike. Thanks for chiming in. I agree that the fat bike style and this design in particular is pretty cool :)

Reply
todd
2 years ago

Hi Court, How would you compare this bike to the Rad Rover you reviewed a couple of weeks back? they both rated 9.5 although this is slightly cheaper? thanks

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Todd! Great question… they are similar for sure but I think the RadRover is more powerful, I also like the suspension fork quite a bit, that’s a feature I’m willing to pay more for with my ebikes because I value the comfort. The extra power, larger battery and suspension all add to the cost (and I’m not sure about Hangtai vs. 8Fun on the Yukon here) they both rode well and had the lights and fender option which was cool. I think it comes down to personal preference at that point… Neither of these are like Haibike quality, they are more average in terms of weight and components (lower end Shimano Tourney TX for example) but they do a good job and are really accessible in terms of overall cost. So to clarify… they are both solid bikes with good warranties for cheap and I rated them as such, at this point it comes down to personal preference (if you want white, you can only get that on the RadRover, if you want more power… RadRover, if you want the suspension, RadRover… but if you don’t care about any of that then save the cash and get the Yukon because it’s solid too).

Reply
Bike_On
2 years ago

I received the bike yesterday and assembled the handlebars. Everything was in working order and no shipping damage!

I agree that the controller clutters the battery access. I took the battery off to charge because it was difficult to see underneath and connect the charge port.

The battery is quirky. My other bike has the standard dolphin-slide-in mount, with a blindmate, round, two pin connection, which is elevated.

The Yukon is blind mate into 4 blades, and they sit in a well. I am concerned that water may accumulate in the well and possibly short out the battery. I will address this with VB. I just question if it will shed the water like the other design does.

The bike is a BEAST. The geared 500W hub takes off strong in level 1, let alone level 5. I let my wife take the first test ride! I noticed the motor turn off delay is noticeable and those big wheel keep rolling. My son will have to be super careful on campus to not run over students! It has a throttle only mode, which may be the ticket when in congested areas.

The front light is great for being seen and has some low speed value. The rear tail light is only (1) LED and a reflector. Kind of disappointing. Ok for on campus, but not great for road riding. With all that battery integration, I was hoping for a bright functional taillight. It will do for the price and I can always wire in a different light.

I need to read the manual to change to mph. The display is small and to the left. You can toggle through volts/current/ and a couple other items.

I will do a good test ride tomorrow.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Great feedback, well written! I agree with your concerns about how water is shed or held by the battery mounting bracket. The delay in cutoff is also an issue given the weight of the bike (as you mentioned) but it’s tough to beat the price of this thing… What kind of rear light do you plan to wire in if you go that route?

Reply
Voltbike
2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. We carefully listen to all comments and make improvements over time. The main buying factor of this bike is power. All comments after first test ride is how powerful this bike is. It does use 500w rated 8Fun motor, with peak power over 750w. Regarding front suspension I don’t think of adding any one soon to our Yukon line, since the big oversized 4″ tires give enough suspension already. Also suspension add extra weight to move. As you commented this bike is Beast. I still remember when I first test rode it after our Yukon 350w. Also I want to mention that for shipping in USA we use YRC Freight which is custom LTL carrier with exceptional attention to packages. We tried Fedex and similar before which are cheaper, however the experience was awful. Almost 90% of the bikes got delivered with damage with Fedex.

Reply
bwitte
2 years ago

I chose the 500w Yukon for several reasons. Shipping to Fairbanks, AK was reasonable via YRC and George had a better bead on that than lower 48 suppliers. Suspension forks on FB’s regularly fail in Fairbanks temps so I appreciate saving on a straight fork. For similar reasons, mechanical brakes are a plus in the cold. I’ll be switching out the tires for 45nrth studded tires as wide as the frame will allow — so the economical chaoyangs that came included are just fine. I worry about power not because I’ll be riding aggressively in steep terrain but because the drive train and battery will be less efficient in the cold. Probably build an insulated frame bag and bring the batt in at home and work. Looking forward to using the bike on a 15 mile commute, primarily in the dark — I’ve got some ideas on front/rear lighting from conventional biking/skiing, but need to work out how to tap the bike electrical system. LCD displays run slow or not at all in the cold – need to work that out as well. There’ll be experimenting/tweaking along the way — Finalists were RadRover, Yukon, and a conversion kit; Court’s reviews and comments were useful and enjoyable, as well as the many well-thought out posts in the EBR community forums. Thanks.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Wow, it sounds like you’ve really done your homework! I hadn’t seen the 45NRTH tires before but they look solid. Definitely good ideas regarding storing the battery inside when not in use. I just met someone who lives in Alaska near a national park and the talked about how it gets dark so early and for much of the year. I hope the bike works out great for you and I’d love to hear updates when it arrives and you can actually get out for some deep rides :)

Reply
Vespo111
2 years ago

In the review video here it looks like the bike has some pretty good power up hill. Is he riding the 500 Watt or 350 Watt variant in the review?

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Vespo111, I believe the model I was testing had the 48 volt battery and 500 watt motor. I mentioned the motor spec around 13:15 in the video. Hope this helps! I was very impressed with how peppy it felt and also how well it climbed given the weight and larger tires :)

Reply
Chris
2 years ago

Will it pedal like a standard bike if the battery dies?

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Absolutely, in my experience any electric bicycle that has pedals can still be used if the battery is drained (or even removed). There ere a few very heavy scooters (almost like vespas) that only have one gear which could be very difficult to pedal but that’s a rare exception. The Yukon would work fine if the battery ran out.

Reply
Frank
2 years ago

Hi. I’m really considering getting this bike, but I have two questions:

  1. I’m 5’6. Will the bike feel too big for me?
  2. Also, can we add a suspension fork?

Thanks you very much for your review!

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Frank! I think you could manage on the VoltBike Yukon but the top tube isn’t quite as slanted as some of the others I’ve seen like the Biktrix Juggernaut but otherwise geometry looks similar. You could swap out the handlebars for something that sweeps back more so you don’t have to lean so far forward. Both bikes seem to have standard head tubes and I’m not aware of fat-bike specific forks with suspension that will work for this. RockShox has the Bluto fork for fat bikes but it only works with tapered head tubes. I think opting for a suspension seat post would be the way to go here… and maybe swept back or cruiser bars :)

Reply
Frank
2 years ago

Hey thank you so much for you quick answer!

Yes indeed, the fact that the top bar is so straigth makes me wonder if i’d be comfortable standing over the bike with both feet on the ground. That’s really too bad as this bike has everything I’m looking for at a very good price. I really wish they’d offer a smaller model as the surface604 boar does.

If I may ask you another question, how complicated is it to build a custom fat e-bike? And is it much more expensive (say, for about the same spec)? I’m starting to think it might be a better route to take as I could get the exact frame that I want and motor/battery. It seems every model so far has a drawback.

I’m from canada so we are more limited in what’s available. The surface604 has no throttle mode and is too expensive, and i’m a little nervous spending close to 2k on a bike (the volt) that I can’t even see or try before buying and that might turn out to be uncomfortable for me.

Thanks again!

Voltbike
2 years ago

Hi Frank, Our folding electric fat bike Voltbike Mariner would be great choice for your size. I am planning to send it to Court for review when it becomes available in July. You can reach me at my email at sales at voltbike dot ca.

Reply
JordAn
1 year ago

How well does the 350 climb hills?

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi jordAn, the 500 is going to work better but with pedal assist, a medium/light rider and a bit of speed going in the 350 should do fine. I usually opt for the cheaper more efficient motors and feel that it works fine but I’m 135 lbs and pretty active :)

Reply
Craig
1 year ago

How long does it take get the Yukon bike I been waiting since August 8 and keep hearing that they will ship it out very soon. Also they say there backup with a lot of orders.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hmm… I’m not sure Craig? Sorry to hear you’ve had to wait a week, hope it arrives soon! I haven’t heard many complaints about VoltBike shipping, they tend to be very fast and have good communication :) would love to hear how you like it once it arrives!

Reply
Carlos Lomba
1 year ago

Should I charge my Yukon 500 after every ride ,also love watching your reviews .thanks

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hey Carlos! Glad you’re enjoying the reviews, thanks for the positive feedback. I’d recommend charging if you’ve used more than half the battery (or if you know you’ll need the entire capacity for the next ride). I tend to charge every other time I ride, with the newer Lithium-ion cells there isn’t an issue with developing memory or slow discharge and damage like there was with some older chemistries :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

NOBLNG
5 days ago

I received my Yukon 750 Limited last week. It has all of the upgrades that owners have been asking for. First impressions are WOW this thing is great!
Well I got a chance to ride along with my buddy this weekend. We went twice around a 7km long twisty single track trail through the bush at a local provincial park. I've got to say this bike is NOT designed for this type of riding! There is a bit of lag to get going and a LOT of lag before the motor cuts out after I stop pedaling. I needed to keep cutting the power constantly via the brakes to avoid hitting the trees or careening off the path. The motor is not geared low enough to maintain a slow-controllable pace on a super tight trail. My buddy is a more experienced rider and has a mid-drive and seemed to make out better. That said, I love the bike on the street and it will be just fine on more open trails. I did not buy it with the intention of doing tight trails or winter riding so I am looking forward to better weather so I can really get some use out of it.
Greg.

NOBLNG
1 week ago

I just purchased a Volt Yukon (geared hub drive) and it has a twist throttle and pedal assist. It also has a defeat button which will lock out the throttle so it can't be accidentally actuated.

Dwight Anderson
2 weeks ago

Two observations:

1) The power of the Yukon 750 is not restricted. You can set the current from 1A to 30A. The label on the controller shows max 20A. I believe the default setting is U.S. 15A (x 48V ~ 750W motor) and Canada 10A (x 48V ~ 500W motor). It is not locked, so the user can change it. I tried setting it to 20A, and my display shows 1,000W on full throttle. I set it back to 15A, because 1,000W is beyond the operating Wattage of the motor, and I don't need that much power.

2) The 32 km/h max speed is based on an average rider weight (say 180 lbs) on flat ground. If you are lighter or going downhill, the throttle alone can go faster than 32 km/hr. Conversely, if you are heavier, then the throttle alone may not reach 32 km/h on flat.

As an experiment, I lifted the rear wheel off the ground (ie. weightless rider), and the throttle alone can reach max 40 km/h. This makes sense, because with a 180 lbs rider, the speed will drop back down to the legal 32 km/h .
Glad to hear you all love your bikes! I ordered mine on Thursday and received it on Monday. It was too good of a deal to pass up, $200 off regular price plus free shipping. I have very little experience with e-bikes. My Buddy has a Bionix and also added a BBSHD to his KHS500. I rode them each briefly one day and was hooked. My new Yukon 750 Limited has the chain stay protector, derailleur protector and an adjustable handlebar stem. It also has an 11.6Ah battery and a twist throttle instead of a thumb style. I have not ridden it yet except once around the yard at work. It's -14C right now but is supposed to get up to -2 on the weekend. I hope it does so I can try it out a bit. Thanks to all, I enjoyed reading this thread greatly. It is good to know that the bike is so user-friendly and that all sorts of upgrades are possible.
Greg.

Welcome Nobling. You are going to love your bike. I have the Yukon 750 limited and it is everything I hoped for in an electric bike.

NOBLNG
2 weeks ago

I too got timely responses through the submission form. I ordered a Yukon on Thursday and received it on Monday.

NOBLNG
2 weeks ago

Glad to hear you all love your bikes! I ordered mine on Thursday and received it on Monday. It was too good of a deal to pass up, $200 off regular price plus free shipping. I have very little experience with e-bikes. My Buddy has a Bionix and also added a BBSHD to his KHS500. I rode them each briefly one day and was hooked. My new Yukon 750 Limited has the chain stay protector, derailleur protector and an adjustable handlebar stem. It also has an 11.6Ah battery and a twist throttle instead of a thumb style. I have not ridden it yet except once around the yard at work. It's -14C right now but is supposed to get up to -2 on the weekend. I hope it does so I can try it out a bit. Thanks to all, I enjoyed reading this thread greatly. It is good to know that the bike is so user-friendly and that all sorts of upgrades are possible.
Greg.

Deafcat
2 weeks ago

If you're considering the Volt Yukon I'd also recommend looking at Biktrix, I think you will get more power and battery options for comparable cost. Biktrix also wins in communications and service.

Lou B.
2 weeks ago

Hello everyone. I am new to this forum and new to Ebikes as well. I am trying to evaluating the voltbike yukon 750 vs Teo bike, from an esthetic point of view, why is the rear rack that comes from the factory slanted vs being level or as level as could be? I could see why, but one would think if a after market rack could mounted level/adjustable the OEM rack should be as well? thxs. LB

Kristopher Holmes
2 weeks ago

Hello.. Been scouring every ounce of info I can find on a fat tire ebike. Almost addicted to researching them. Looking for a reliable bike that can carry me and at times a cart with camping gear down some logging rds. I live in western Washington so hills and rain are pretty common.

Im leaning towards the M2s r750 all terrain at this point, but before I order I was hoping to get some info from those in the know. My 2 biggest wants are quality brakes and distance. Im not concerned about speed, but realize I'll need some oomph to get up some of the hills. Hoping to stay under $2k.

Right now the M2s r750, Yukon 750, and Rad are on my short list. Any others I should be looking at in that price range?

Thank you

PCDoctorUSA
2 weeks ago

I've looked at both for my first ebike (waiting on Santa now), and if I had to pull the trigger on one today it would be the Yukon 750 Limited (includes rack and fenders). For one, I prefer the Yukon's aesthetics over the Rad Rover when it comes to the controller and battery setup. A fat tire bike commands enough attention with its tires alone, and the Rad Rover's battery back just screams, "I'm electric!" Not a bad thing if trail riding, but not something you necessarily want when commuting in a community with restrictive ebike laws.

As I've been following one of the Yukon 750 threads, I've seen Voltbike respond to riders' input by making improvements to the bike. I haven't read any of the Rad forums so I would recommend checking to see if they are as responsive. Price-wise, both bikes are comparable, but when I posed the question about shipping to Honolulu (both companies ship from the West Coast) Rad Bikes wanted $400 while Voltbike only charged $120. My shipping question and any others I had were responded to within one business day by both companies.

DIY-ing an electric bike is definitely out of my comfort zone, but there are quite a few riders here that could speak to that option. I think the best perk with doing a DIY bike is you get to choose which components to use instead of settling for a vendor's package. Best of luck on your endeavor!

Dewey
2 weeks ago

folding fat tire bikes?

Court had a blast testing the VoltBike Mariner on a beach in Mexico, it is very close to the similar RadMini and both companies have been making upgrades since Court's reviews. Both bikes now use the same motor, same size 11.6ah battery, 180mm brake rotors, 20x4 fat tires, metal folding pedals, twist throttle, and metal cages to protect the derailleur/motor wires, and front chain ring when folded. The differences are the Mariner has a lower 24" stand over height vs 26.5" (Yukon has a 29.5" stand over height), it's slightly cheaper even with the $70 shipping charge to the US, and comes with some accessories you don't get on the RadMini like seatpost suspension, fenders, and a free DoT polo style helmet.

daniel58
2 weeks ago

I found another E-bike manufacturer Volt Bike, that uses the same battery case as ours in their Yukon 750 series. 48V 11.6Ah. On sale right now for $499.00. http://www.voltbike.ca/replacement-parts/electric-bike-parts/li-ion-battery-48v-10-4ah-68.html
So there are a number of ways to go when it's time to replace the battery. If you charge your battery 200 times a year, it might be 4 or 5 years until you will have to replace the battery. And also there seems to be a number of companies now that can rebuild the battery which I suppose is replacing the individual Panasonic cells inside the housing.

Luna Cycles and EM3EV both carry 48V as well as 52V lithium ion batteries at much more competitive compatible prices; EM3EV also has a massive very large 52V at 27.9Ah triangular lithium ion battery pack that lowers the cost further to only to 42.9 cents per watt hour also as well which can easily be put in one of their EM3EV battery bags over the top tube also as well and also be connected via the XT-60 power connector via making a simple XT-60 power connector; very easy to do got instructions on how to do it on youtube;

EM3EV(https://em3ev.com/shop/preditor-l-47v-8-4ah-11-8ah-frame-battery/)

47V at 12.4Ah for $319;
which means its cost is only $319 divided by 12.4Ah equals $25.73 per amp hour;
and it produces 47V times 12.4Ah equals 583 watt hours;
$319 divided by 583 watt hours equals 55 cents per watt hour

as compared to the 48V at 17ah for $1,000;
which means its cost is a whooping $1,000 divided by 17Ah equals $58.82 per amp hour;
and it produces 48V times 17Ah equals 816 watt hours;
$1,000 divided by 816 watt hours equals $1.22 per watt hour

with the above comparison cost analysis one can buy basically three EM3EV
47V at 12.4Ah for $319 times 3 for still only $957;
and it will have a whopping 37.2Ah of total amp hour capacity
and it will produce 47 times 12.4Ah times 3 equals 1748 watt hours;
$957 divided by 1748 watt hours equals 54.7 cents per watt hour;

yes one can in fact get an additional;
37.2Ah minus 17Ah equals 20.2Ah of additional total amp hour capacity for absolutely free;
with 1748watt hours minus 816 watt hours equals an added 932 watt hours for absolutely free;
this will enable at least an additional;
932 watt hours divided by 15 watt hours per mile equals at least an additonal 62 miles for free;

all one has to do is simply note the actual polarity and rig up a XT-60 universal power connector;
very easy to do; just look it up on youtube on how to make an XT-60 universal pigtail power connector; one just needs male and female ends for XT-60 universal power connector; once again very easy to do;

since one can easily get an additional 20.2Ah for free and/or 932 watt hours for free; that is worth according to Juiced Bikes 17Ah battery $1000 divided 17Ah equals $58.82;
$58.82 times 20.2Ah equals a whopping $1,188 for absolutely free;
sign me up for that pronto like yesterday I am getting some massive free battery driving power for free; sorry Juiced Bikes I am not feeling the love and I for one refuse to be fleeced into buying one of your massively overpriced and marked up lithium ion battery packs; perhaps that is truly why they refuse to sell the 8.8ah battery with their Juiced Bikes(massive greedy avarice profit incentive motivation by "Tora Harris" to literally "rip off" Juiced Bikes customers); oh well the game may have been rigged but the "rigged Juiced Bike hyper marketing infomercial youtube styled gig is up" and we are not going to take any prisoners when it comes to getting free battery power or at least I am not for the free taking; my koala bear mascot in particular also likes the idea of getting additional lithium ion battery power to get oneself home for absolutely free by the way with no lithium ion battery range anxiety worries whatsoever anymore; its really simple one can easily get over 20.2Ah and/or 932 watt hours of energy for absolutely free; that is over twice the difference and more than enough free power to bring oneself home for absolutely free of charge; thereby simply and effectively doubling ones effective lithium ion battery range to include a free return round trip powered up by the effective doubling of one lithium ion battery range away from ones power outlet.

Cole
3 weeks ago

My friend got a Dayak and is very unhappy. He calls is a Chinese peice of crap. I am personally going to wasn’t until January, and get the new 2018 Radrover with their new battery design and color scheme. It will be sick. I trust radar over the most out of all the other companies. I just wish that Radrover would integrate the battery into the frame like the Volt Yukon 750.

Cole
3 weeks ago

I have been researching affordable e-bikes (specifically mountain bikes) lately and have a very low budget of under $1600. I have narrowed down my search to the Radrover and the Volt Yukon 750. I’ve heard that Radrovers have more upgrade options and come with some better components stock. But I just love the look of the Volt Yukon 750 and it’s intergrated battery. I would I have also considered building my own but would like to spare the hassle (I’m not good with electronics) and just buy a budget company made bike. I plan to commute on my future ebike and do some cross country mtb trails. Any help is greatly appreciated :) ! I am open to Suggestions for other bikes I just want quality and mtb capability.

WaiLingLo
3 weeks ago

Hi all! Newbie here! I've been doing my research on ebikes for a while and believe a fat tire bike would make the most sense to me because of the versatility of the bike. I'm 5'6" with an inseam of 29.5". While I like the specs of the RadRover and Voltbike Yukon 750, but I'm not sure if the bikes would be too big for me. There's also the M2S All Terrain R750. It comes in a low step thru frame (which I like the most), but they're out of stock until Feb/Mar and I don't want to wait that long. Are there other options? Or should I focus on getting a folding fat tire bikes?

Mike Nemeth
3 weeks ago

I found another E-bike manufacturer Volt Bike, that uses the same battery case as ours in their Yukon 750 series. 48V 11.6Ah. On sale right now for $499.00. http://www.voltbike.ca/replacement-parts/electric-bike-parts/li-ion-battery-48v-10-4ah-68.html
So there are a number of ways to go when it's time to replace the battery. If you charge your battery 200 times a year, it might be 4 or 5 years until you will have to replace the battery. And also there seems to be a number of companies now that can rebuild the battery which I suppose is replacing the individual Panasonic cells inside the housing.

PCDoctorUSA
1 month ago

You might be able to glean some info from the forum thread New Voltbike Yukon 750 Spotted. Would like to hear your feedback on the bike. It's my pick for a fat tire bike, but I'm also looking at the E-Glide ST now for something more stealthy on my daily commutes.

Aaron94
1 month ago

Yes the Yukon 750 limited, ill fix it in my title

PCDoctorUSA
1 month ago

Did you mean to say "Voltbike Yukon 750?"

Aaron94
1 month ago

I just recently purchased the colt 750 limited w/2017 upgrades and was wondering anyone has experience with this bikes and their thoughts. I haven't found much only concerning it. I know it closely relates to the original 750.

Anything helps :)

http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-yukon/voltbike-yukon-750-limited.html

PCDoctorUSA
2 months ago

Hi, I just wanted to write a little non professional review of the E-Glide ST. This is my first E-bike and my decision was based on price, components compared to comparable priced E-bikes, and the two reviews done by EBR. One on the ST and also one on Dave and the E-Glide outfit in Santa Monica.

I received the bike overnight Fedex and it was pretty simple putting it together as long as you have some allen wrenches and a crescent wrench. I paid an additional 75.00 for the Schwable Marathon Mondial tires and I also received the Maxi Ardent off road tires that where originally on the bike. I wanted a more street orientated tire and I love the highly reflective sidewalls on the Mondials.

Since I received the ST on May 9th I've gone on 4 rides, all of them rides I could not have done on my Giant 15 speed bike due to distance, elevation, and today, heat. I'm 57 years old and I just don't have the endurance I once had. The bike is 52 lbs which is not that heavy for an E-bike and with the electric pedaling assist the additional weight just disappears. I also have a bag I hang on the rack that I keep a igloo cooler full of ice and drinks and don't even think of having to carry the extra weight.

The bike is a joy to ride. I can drive farther now then I could if I was 15 years younger on a standard bike. The cadence assisted power is great but since I never drove a torque assist bike or a mid-drive motor I don't have anything to compare it to. The rear hub drive with the cadence sensor works very well.

Now my three little nitpicks.

(1) The controller speedometer is exaggerated and so then is the odometer. I added my Garmin E-Trex to determine the actual speed. This is something I have run across on both my Suzuki motorcycle and Honda scooter. I don’t know why manufacturers of vehicles do that accept maybe due to liability issues. Today I changed the wheel size on the controller to 26 inch and that brought it closer to the actual speed. Next time I ride I’ll try to reset it to 24 inches and see what happens.

(2) The steering stem is not adjustable. The bike is comfortable right out of the box but being a little older I would like a little more relax position with the handlebars. The ST is designed to handle dirt roads so the riding position is a little more aggressive then a comfort bike. I would like the ability to move the bars a little up and back for my taste. The problem with the control cables are you do not have a lot of extra length to work with. Same as regular bicycles and motorcycles. I think if I could move the bars and inch up and inch back it would work for me. Something you might want to consider on your purchase is what type of riding you will be doing. I also want to point out I purchased the 21 inch frame since I’m 6’ 1” and have a 32 inch inseam.

(3) The gear ratio seems like it should be higher to me. The power assist has 5 levels and I have kept it in normal which there are also eco and power modes. Most of my riding I seem to be in 9th and 10th gear. With the power assist even set on level 1 I don’t seem to use the lower gears. I have to say in level 3 in 10th gear I’m pedaling at 18 mph. Sometime I get to the point where I’m cruising and I wish I had another gear or an overdrive. I have to pedal very fast when I’m going like 24 mph. Yes, depending on the road elevation decline you can go a good clip! Once again it may be a safety thing so you are limited on how fast you can get the bike up to. The lower gears would come in handy if you all of a sudden did not have the electric assist to get you home. I seem to feel I would like to pedal a little more leisurely at 18-20 mph.

So my early impression is I got a great bike for the price and it has opened up a whole new world of riding abilities. I'm just starting out on E-bikes but now I got my foot in the door and can start my learning curve. I was also looking at the Rad City by Rad Power as my 2nd choice and if you check out this EBR site there are a lot of great bikes out there to fit your budget. I did not have to pay any sales tax on the bike being out of state so the bike was 1700.00, tire upgrade 75.00 and overnight shipping 175.00 for a total purchase of 1950.00. I have two E-bike stores in my city and a comparable bike out the door would have been 3000.00.
Thanks for the great review. I'm looking for my first ebike, but am limited with my budget ceiling of $2k and a delivery disadvantage of being in Honolulu. Had planned on going with Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S, but the local ebike shop that was carrying Juiced Bikes has since stopped due to issues with getting replacement parts and poor communication with JB. I've also been following the JB forums, and JB seems to be experiencing some quality control issues that can accompany popular products in high demand. I figured it may be best to look elsewhere while they work out their issues. I also looked at Biktrix and Rad Bikes, but they want $400 to ship their bikes. That left 2 models from Voltbike on my list: Elegant and Yukon 750.

Both models fit comfortably within my budget, but I'm not a fan of Elegant's step-thru design. The Yukon 750 looks awesome, but some have commented it's not the best option for a commuter while others love it. If I go with the Yukon, I know that the first thing I need to change are those aggressive tires. Definitely not a good choice for 100% asphalt riding. I've also had my share of flats along my route, and changing out the tube on a fat tire bike sounds like a bear. Still, I've had good communication with Voltbike, they're a well-respected outfit, and they'll only charge me $120 to ship either bike to Honolulu.

The E-Glide ST definitely meets all my requirements and with only $175 for shipping I'm just under $2k. I just sent an email to E-Glide to confirm the shipping charge along with a couple of other questions. For 100% asphalt travels, I'm thinking of going with the Schwalbe Big Ben Plus tire upgrade. Your thoughts?

PCDoctorUSA
2 months ago

Biktrix might have a better shipping cost (typically free), their bikes are nicer than Voltbike too!

Juggernaut vs Yukon: bigger motor options on Juggernaut, bigger battery options (the short Dorado on Yukon is 14Ah max, Juggernaut can take a 20Ah pack).

Biktrix bikes typically come with both pedal assist, and a throttle as well. Torque sense is an option on the MX/Ultra versions.
I hadn't checked them out. Unfortunately, Biktrix is charging $400 shipping to Hawaii just like Rad Bikes. This puts the Juggernaut at $2399 for me ($1999 sale price for 750w model + shipping). My budget is $2k with wiggle room already included. @HunterNott , definitely worth looking at if you're in the contiguous 48 or Canada.

Deafcat
2 months ago

Biktrix might have a better shipping cost (typically free), their bikes are nicer than Voltbike too!

Juggernaut vs Yukon: bigger motor options on Juggernaut, bigger battery options (the short Dorado on Yukon is 14Ah max, Juggernaut can take a 20Ah pack).

Biktrix bikes typically come with both pedal assist, and a throttle as well. Torque sense is an option on the MX/Ultra versions.

PCDoctorUSA
2 months ago

When shopping, the bike's specs or description should mention the levels of assist and whether or not there is a throttle. On a pedal assist bike, the throttle overrides the pedal assist, which is useful when you need a quick boost of power like when pulling away after a stop or encountering an incline. I know for sure that both the Yukon and Rad Rover have pedal assist + throttle. Without looking at their product page, I feel confident that the Teo and Surface 604 are also configured the same.

PCDoctorUSA
2 months ago

Voltbike is the least expensive and I like the integrated battery. They've also responded to my email questions within 1 business day, which impresses me.

There are a lot of Rad Rover users on YT, so plenty of feedback to read through and their components were a notch up from the Yukon.

The Teo is probably the best looking bike IMO, but the price is at the top of my budget. They're also a new company, so not much history on after sale service.

We all have our personal preferences, riding style, budget limits, etc. Start shopping and have fun.

Clark Kormier
11 months ago

I just got my new Yukon 750. I love it, this thing is a beast. It is a large bike but fits my 5'11" frame great. Comes completely assembled except for mounting the handlebars and the pedals, quick and easy. The battery housing is solid on mine and doesn't rattle at all. The mechanical disc brakes work well for basic rides and moderate trails, but for a lot of downhill riding an upgrade is in order. Right out of the box it was tuned and ready to go. For an extra $100 I opted for the upgraded version, and I really like the aluminum flat black fenders, rear rack, and integrated tail light. For the coin this is an amazing, eye-catching package. Peddle assist on the lowest setting had me flying around the local park.

Owen Morrrison
1 year ago

does anyone has this experience , buy a bike in Canada and the seller requesting my social security number , can anyone say if this is legal or is it something I don't know will someone gives an explanation thank you

VoltBike
10 months ago

Thanks for the update Owen. I am glad you are enjoying your bike.

Owen Morrrison
10 months ago

this post was made about when I was purchasing my volt bike from Yukon limited, I must say there was no social security number involve. I want to state for the record that this purchase went extremely well volt people email me and explain everything about my purchase , they also spoke to me by phone the transaction was extremely swift even though there was snow storm in several states I got my bike in less than two weeks and it arrive in that big box in perfect condition , I must also state that I am up onto this time I have no regret making that purchase and the bike is so nice everywhere I stop people asking me question kids women men the bike is just nice and so fun to ride I around I do supermarket I go laundry i do everything with that bike I would definitely buy another one I love my bike .

VoltBike
10 months ago

Hi Owen, we used to request social security number last year in 2016, because it was requirement for us when we export commodity for over $800. However in December 2016, we did finally setup our warehouse in Blaine, WA from where we ship all US orders. At present we dont need anymore customers social security number as we ship directly from US to US. Hope this helps for others reading this post.

Darryl BEAN
1 year ago

Thanks for the review. My wife and I are thinking of e bikes for our RV outings rather than a car. We are narrowing down the search to Rad Rover to Volt bikes. I am 6'2" and weigh about 225 lbs and was also wondering if the 750 w option might be better for me?? Does the HangTime motor with metal parts really make the difference between the two? Thanks again. Darryl (Victoria BC)

Burk Efe
1 year ago

nice bike but living in seattle, i think i will opt for radpower. they are home made and can take it to them if it brakes..

Pepon Peponazo
1 year ago

Thanks for the review. If I am to take a trip to South America would you take extra tires and extra battery? Do they have a TOP TOP quality? I donlt want to be riding a Volcano in Costa Rica and have a problem. How about crossing a river?

SpiderDice
2 years ago

It really seems like the front headlight beam is completely being blocked by the wiring @10:19.

Anthony William Rich Jr
2 years ago

Where do you buy it ?

Mark Mollat
2 years ago

How does this compare with the RadRover? Do you prefer one over the other? I've been up and down watching your reviews on e-bikes. I thought I had made a decision with the RadRover, then I stubbled on this review. Are they similar? Is it just a matter of preference? Then, again, I stumble on another review, the RadMini. Same great performance as the RadRover +/- but in a smaller package. Perfect for me since I really have no room in my condo. And the Mini being able to fold, is a big plus for storage. I'm torn! My plan for use is occasional commuting to and from work and the occasional paved trail riding with friends. Thanks

SpiderDice
2 years ago

I'm in the same boat as you. I thought the Rad Rover was the bike for me, but then I found the Voltbike Yukon. And now have you seen the Lectro? https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/lectro/lectro-the-worlds-best-priced-ebike

mtlnascarfan
2 years ago

Giving serious thought to buying this model.
This would be great for my riding habits here in Montreal
and PERFECT for all the crappy roads that we have to deal with!

mtlnascarfan
1 year ago

+Guillaume Béliveau
I'll most likely be buying it in the spring

Guillaume
1 year ago

Dude did you buy it? I'm from Montreal too, was looking for that bike. I might pull the trigger during winter or early spring 2017.

gepinniw204
2 years ago

I just got the Yukon. Just a few notes --
The box didn't seem heavy to me. I was able to load it into my Toyota Rav 4 (it barely fit - the box is very large) by myself without difficulty. I was expecting it to be heavier.
The fenders don't rattle or rub at all on mine. I'm glad I ordered them. Finding after market fenders would've been a pain. The standard tires have been upgraded to Kenda Juggernauts since this video was made. They look pretty great.
Everything else was exactly as this video shows.
I've gotten the bike up to 40 km/h on a flat road on throttle only and 45 km/h on the flats with pedal assist. The bike has lots of power and is a lot of fun to ride. The additional drag and friction of the fatbike tires is made irrelevant by the abundant power of the 500w motor and 48v battery.
The battery charger is nice and light and compact, too. I was worried it would be big and heavy and a pain to bring along, but it isn't.

VoltBike
9 months ago

Hi Derrick Lee, we don't have any customer in our database with your name. I searched both my email list and our order system. I even searched with only your first or last name if so I don't miss anything. I don't see any enquiry regarding any of our bikes. We always reply to customer requests either before or after the sale.

Derrick Lee
9 months ago

Get a Rad Power bike. Voltbike won't respond to you inquiries after the sale, my personal experience.

gepinniw204
1 year ago

Yes, it a solid bike for sure. The Rad Rover company is coming out with a new bike today with suspension, and I'm sure there will be a couple of new options by next summer from other companies. There is another Voltbike with suspension as well, I think. Suspension is the one weakness of the old Yukon.

Guillaume
1 year ago

Hey man! Are you still satisfied with your purchase? I'm planning on getting one next summer. Thanks!

Supergrover
2 years ago

+gepinniw204 thanks!

Kai Wong -Discontinued-
2 years ago

What is the range of this bike?

Gibsons Recycling Depot
2 years ago

Very cool. Tell the interviewer that Burnaby is in British Columbia Canada, not Burnaby Canada. Other than that, pretty neet.

Mahan Mahan
2 years ago

I got mine today WOW it is great rode it home from work tomorrow riding it to work

lovedwarrior
2 years ago

+Austin tx east can you tell me more? I am thinking of buying this. I live in PEI and my only transportation is a normal mountain bike. I need one to help me climb up the hills in winter snow. Do you think the price is worth it? Thanks for any info.

Christopher Moltisanti
2 years ago

Super exited going for a test ride , but you already sold it. A shame how bad the fender model looks. No trouble setting up a test ride, a facebook pm and done.

Edit.._March 10.._Unreal bike , rips up the road and trails. Been kicking the hell out of it,up and down steps,jumping it,poweful enough to catwalk as long as you want. Only bad thing it attracts attention if you park it. Nicest most comfortable ebike I've tried,and I've test rode ebikes over twice the price Iwasn't nearly as happy with. Can't wait to see the next model.

Mike Friend
2 years ago

Yukon or Interceptor ??? need help making a purchase today or tomorrow

tcox100
2 years ago

How would you compare vs. the Rad Power (rad rover) you recently reviewed?

Meno Passini
4 months ago

VoltBike You seem honest and proud of your bikes, what is the top 3 complains with your bikes? Do you weld your own frames in Canada or are they Chinese made? Will you do more mid drive models? I think your co. and Rad offer bikes that the avg. rider can afford and use daily. Please make it easy to see all the specs on each model easier on web site. I'm impressed you are offering better quility components and the same price. Do you offer hydraulic disc brakes? Thanks for your time.

VoltBike
2 years ago

I can try to compare both bikes for you since I got asked few times. Both bikes Voltbike Yukon and RadRover are using the same Bafang (8Fun) motor. However our motor is stamped as 500w, where RadRover decided to stamp theirs as 750w. For our Yukon series we decided to change our Li-ion battery from Samsung to Sanyo (by Panasonic). The reason for that is because Panasonic is having better discharge level and this allow for great power when going uphill using throttle alone. Voltbike Yukon does not have front suspension as RadRover because we believe the fat balloon tires give more than enough suspension. Why add extra weight and resistance? Hope this helps.

Mark Mollat
2 years ago

I'm looking for this same comparison myself. :)

Erik Black
2 years ago

What do you think about the Yukon compared to RadRover. They are both similarly priced, look similar and have similar features?

jakob perkin
2 years ago

I need this for all our crap Vancouver weather!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+jakob perkin Could be fun to ride around in the snow and rain if you get the fenders :)

Darren Lowe
2 years ago

how many bike companies are in the pacific northwest?

so far i know these guys, and ohm, are there any others ? Is Bionx Canadian as well?
I could get a really good deal, I'm in Burnaby too .....