Gazelle CityZen C8 HM Review

Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Electric Bike Review
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Bosch Performance Mid Drive 350
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Bars Brakes Locking Grips
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Bosch Intuvia Display And Button Pad
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Axa Blueline 30 Led Headlight
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Spanninga Solo Rear Led Light On Rack
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Adjustable Kickstand
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Shimano Nexus Inter 8
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Electric Bike Review
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Bosch Performance Mid Drive 350
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Bars Brakes Locking Grips
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Bosch Intuvia Display And Button Pad
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Axa Blueline 30 Led Headlight
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Spanninga Solo Rear Led Light On Rack
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Adjustable Kickstand
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Shimano Nexus Inter 8

Summary

  • An efficient urban style electric bike with tight fenders, integrated LED lights, a cargo rack with bungee cords and a cafe lock for quick stops
  • Available in four frame sizes (three trapez mid-step and two diamond high-step), the battery pack mount is slightly sunk into the downtube for improved aesthetics and balance
  • Excellent motor and display systems from Bosch, the bike is efficient and responsive with great range potential, internally geared eight speed hub is durable
  • Gazelle is a 100+ year old Dutch company that rigorously tests their frames and offers an excellent warranty, the bike is priced a bit higher and doesn't offer suspension

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Gazelle

Model:

CityZen C8 HM

Price:

$2,999 USD

Body Position:

Forward, Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

20162017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

51 lbs (23.13 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.3 lbs (2.4 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

19.3 in (49.02 cm)20.9 in (53.08 cm)22.4 in (56.89 cm)24 in (60.96 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

28" Standover Height

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Silver and Red Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Herrmans DD28, Rigid Aluminum Alloy with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Skewer with Bolts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1×8 Shimano Nexus Inter 8 Internally Geared Hub, 22T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Alfine Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Miranda, Alloy

Pedals:

Plastic Platform with Rubber Tread

Stem:

Smica 3D Forged, Alloy Adjustable Angle

Handlebar:

V-Drive Alloy Flat, 23"

Brake Details:

Shimano BL-M315 Hydraulic Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Shimano Levers

Grips:

H Brand, Locking Flat Rubber

Saddle:

Selle Royal Justek, Black

Seat Post:

GAZ, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Ryde Dutch19, Alloy Mid-Dish, Black

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 15G Front 14G Rear, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Spicer, 700 x 35c (28" x 1.35")

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Tape, Active Line K-Guard, 65-95 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta

Accessories:

Plastic Fenders, Alloy Rear Rack with Bungee Cords (25 kg Max Load), AXA Defender Cafe Lock, Cortez Plastic Chain Guard, Integrated Spanninga Solo Rear LED Light, Integrated AXA Blueline 30 LED Headlight, Side Mounted Adjustable Length Kickstand

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack with LED Charge Level Indicator, Motor Starts at 20 RPM, 2.2 Amp Charger 1.7 lbs

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

63 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

22 miles (35 km)

Estimated Max Range:

59 miles (95 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Intuvia, Removable Backlit Grayscale LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Button Feedback, Micro USB Charging Port

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Combined Torque, Cadence and Speed Measured 1,000 Times Per Second), (Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

My understanding is that the Cityzen C8 is a carryover from 2016 that has been popular enough to extend into 2017. In the United States, many people would have missed or not even know about this model because Gazelle is just starting to enter the market and pick up dealers (aside from a select few early adopters like the New Wheel in San Francisco). This electric bike builds on the strong reputation and heritage of the Royal Dutch Gazelle brand, which has become a household name in the Netherlands after 100+ years of bicycle building. I came into the review not knowing a lot about the company but was impressed by stories of UV and salt water exposure stress tests. In many parts of Europe, people use their bicycles more like Americans use automobiles… they need to be reliable and are held to higher warranty standards. Apparently there’s a factory in Holland with big windows where you can actually walk by and see people assembling the bikes in real time, that’s the kind of transparency and and engagement I love and hope to visit one day! All that stuff aside, what’s the deal with the bike? What if there wasn’t a badge on it at all and I was just looking at the hardware? In that case, I’d call a lot of it average but highly capable. This isn’t the fanciest e-bike but it is professional and very capable.

The motor driving the C8 is a Bosch Performance Line Centerdrive offering either 250 watts or 350 watts power output… and I’m sorry but I just don’t know which? I was told by Gazelle reps that it’s the 250 watt variant which is set to European standards whereas most US versions are upped to 350. Regardless, it’s all the same physical hardware and even if the nominal wattage output is slightly lower the peak is still capable and you’ll end up extending range. For an efficient rigid frame with larger 700c wheels and higher PSI ratings, you don’t need as much power to get going. The Bosch motor has evolved over the past couple of years with new CX variants putting out higher torque for mountain biking and some tighter integration (tilted and built up into the frame more). What I see on the Gazelle CityZen C8 is the older horizontal mount with large plastic shell. It’s well protected but not as aesthetically pleasing… and this is where I felt surprised by price. If this is indeed a carryover and is using a lower watt motor operation parameter and the smaller 400 watt hour battery pack then I’m surprised the price is still set near $3.8k? And in fact, I have seen the bike priced lower in person at some shops.

So the motor is very capable, super responsive and smart even if it’s not rated to be as powerful as some others. The battery is similar in that it’s sleek, relative light weight and can be charged on or off the frame. Gazelle has designed the C8 with a custom downtube mount that’s indented to blend the battery with the frame and perhaps make it easier to click on and off. Bosch batteries click down vs. sliding in from the side and having more clearance above to pull up or press down on the pack is important. Unfortunately, there wasn’t enough clearance to put bottle cage bosses, at least on the Trapez mid-step frame. I can’t say for sure whether the high-step has them but the images on the official Gazelle website does not show them… which is disappointing. You do still get a very capable rear rack with included bungee straps so consider a trunk bag with a bottle holster like these. A trunk bag could also be used to stash a second battery pack or the charger to extend your rides. Bosch is now putting out 500 watt hour batteries and the C8 seems to use their older 400 watt hour design. Thankfully they are interchangeable and forward and backward compatible.

Operating the City Zen C8 is a breeze thanks Bosch. Charge that battery on or off the bike then click it on… Press the power button on the removable Intuvia display and get your battery, speed and power level readout in seconds. Now you can click up or down on the remote button pad (mounted near the left grip) to increase or decrease assistance. You can even arrow all the way down to no assistance and ride this thing like a regular bicycle. Having eight gears to work with is fantastic for urban environments and I love the little chain cover that protects the sprocket and your pant leg or dress from grease and snags. One thing about internally geared hubs is that they tend to be more durable than traditional cassettes and derailleurs. And, you can shift at standstill. This sounds better than it actually is with the Shimano Inter 8 hub because it lets you shift but won’t engage immediately if lots of force is being applied. It’s a system that takes a little getting used to but works very well overall. Now, you might notice the derailleur looking hanger thing at the back and that is actually a chain tensioner. I believe they need it because the dropouts are vertical not horizontal (which would allow you to manually tighten the chain). This makes it a bit more durable than some internal hub systems but worked well enough during my test ride. with just one sprocket at the front and one at the back, the chain shouldn’t wear down the teeth from shifting or slip as easily. Coming back to the motor for a second, it has shift sensing which is meant to ease off as you change gears and reduce mashing and wear. I’m guessing it helps a little bit on this drivetrain but can’t say for sure. A few things I know I do appreciate are the dynamic range approximation on the display, the integrated Micro USB port for charging your phone or other portable electronic device and the integrated LED Lights. These features combine with the fenders, reflective tires and multiple frame sizes to put the C8 into the more premium category of electric bikes. It’s safer and just more practical for heavy use in busy, possibly wet, commuting environments.

Perhaps the biggest question mark for me with this electric bicycle is comfort. You get an adjustable angle stem, allowing for a more upright body position (especially useful for riders with shorter arms). But you don’t get any kind of suspension fork or seat post. The tires are rated at 65 to 95 PSI which is way higher than most cruisers or larger-tire ebikes and this results in an efficient but sometimes uncomfortable ride. The frame is all Aluminum, even the rigid fork, and this material doesn’t dampen vibration as well as Carbon fiber or Steel. It’s less expensive and fairly light weight but I’d probably grab a 27.2 mm seatpost suspension like the Thudbuster ST for the bike if I lived anywhere with cracks and bumps and intended to ride frequently. Overall, I’d be more excited about this bike if it was priced lower (and perhaps the reality is that it does sell for less than the stated MSRP). I like the accessories, the frame color scheme and integrated wires, the quick release front wheel for easier maintenance and the narrow bars for lane splitting or easier passage through doorways. This is an e-bike that will surely hold up, offers a bit of character and unique heritage but is still backed by a powerhouse multi-national company. I’d probably customize mine a bit but the foundation is very strong and you can get a frame size that is perfect (which is impossible to customize after-market). If you want an ebike that can blend in, that has a reliable drive system and even more reliable electronics then this is a good choice. Hope on and commute to the office then take the battery and display off for charging and safe keeping. Expect great range even with the older battery pack size, the weight is low, centered and the more active frame and tires transfer energy very well. Big thanks to Gazelle for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • Available in four mid-step frame sizes and three high-step (three overlap so you really end up with four distinct frame sizes), this is excellent for a his/her setup or those who prefer one frame type over another (rigid strength of high-step or easier mounting of step-thru)
  • Premium LED Lights wired right into the electrical system so you don’t have to worry about changing batteries or taking lights off when you park, they are always there for you, the headlight has windows on the side to help you be seen from different angles
  • In addition to lights, I love that they went with higher end Schwalbe Spicer tires that have reflective tape, this increases your visual footprint from the side and is great for a darker colored bike that’s setup for urban riding and commuting
  • The bike comes with a cafe lock that secures the rear wheel, this is popular in Europe for “dropping in to the cafe” briefly and is a light weight way to always have a bit of security… it uses the same key as the battery pack which is convenient
  • Internally routed shifter, brake and electronic cables stay out of the way and improve the look, since the frame is dark grey and the accents are black the wires really blend in when they are exposed
  • Thin light weight fenders hug both tires and are reinforced for durability, the plastic chain guard is also minimal in appearance but works very well to reduce greasy pant legs and snags
  • You get eight gears which is enough for city riding in my experience and the drivetrain uses a Shimano Inter 8 internally geared hub which tends to be durable and maintenance free compared with traditional derailleurs… though a bit heavier
  • Nice cargo rack here, it supports the rear fender, has tighter side bars to block panniers from rubbing on the rear wheel and comes with a bungee cord for quick use
  • The saddle and bar style are both fairly active but the stem is adjustable angle so you can relax the fit a little… I tend to enjoy a more upright body position so this is a big plus for me
  • Solid 160 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano offer smooth powerful stops and have adjustable reach levers, disc brakes tend to stay cleaner in wet riding conditions
  • Nice kickstand, it stays out of the way compared to mid-mounted options and offers adjustable length settings
  • I’m a huge fan of the Bosch electric bike system because it blends in, keeps weight low and center, is easy to work with (removable battery and display) and offers fast response time and lots of power but is still very efficient… the Bosch Centerdrive also has shift sensing but that’s less of a benefit here since the hub is internally geared vs. using sprockets
  • Very good two year warranty with the backing of a major global brand (Gazelle is owned by the Pon Group), they are about a year and a half into the US market at the time of this review and are growing dealers where you can test ride the bike and get is serviced

Cons:

  • I was a little surprised that the bike I tested weighed ~51 lbs because the fenders were so thin, the fork was rigid vs. suspension and the rack wasn’t welded on… I expected it to be a little lighter but internally geared hubs tend to add a bit of weight and perhaps the mid-step frame is heavier since it’s not quite as strong as a diamond frame and has to be reinforced?
  • Internally geared hubs can take some getting used to, they shift a bit differently and can be adjusted at standstill but might not engage until your pedal torque eases off
  • This ebike is very efficient due to the smooth 28″ tires and rigid fork but you don’t get a suspension fork or suspension seat post so it’s not as comfortable at high speed over bumpy terrain
  • You get a lot of high quality equipment and a great warranty but the price felt a little high given there’s no suspension fork or head shock… I feel like $3,500 would be more on target with competing bikes but Gazelle is more of a premium brand and they do UV testing on their paint and a salt bath to select better hardware that won’t corrode as readily
  • The downtube is custom with a cutaway so the battery pack doesn’t stick up as high but I guess there still wasn’t enough room for bottle cage bosses (at least on the Trapez mid-step version)

Resources:

More Gazelle Reviews

Gazelle Avenue C8 Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A durable, streamlined, wave style step-thru electric bicycle from an established European brand with an excellent track record of quality and service, available in three frame sizes for improved fit. Uses one of the lightest, quietest, and most efficient mid-drive motors from Shimano with an…...

Gazelle CityZen T10 Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A feature-complete city style electric bike that's lighter than competing models and more sporty, the narrow handlebars let you squeeze through traffic and doorways easily. Premium alloy coated fenders are tough and quiet, plastic chain guard keeps your pants clean,…...

Gazelle Arroyo C8 HMB Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A highly adjustable, feature-complete, city style electric bike with long fenders that have an integrated headlight and enclosed chain cover keep you clean and dry, integrated keyed-alike cafe lock adds convenience. Available in three frame sizes with the small and medium being wave and the large…...

Gazelle NL C7 HMB Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable, stable and capable cargo bike... that's almost like a cruiser with large sweeping bars, an adjustable stem, oversized comfort saddle and puncture-resistant balloon tires. Impressive two-year comprehensive warranty, thoroughly tested against UV and salt water exposure, unique styling and…...

Gazelle Arroyo C8 HM Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A wonderful commuting platform with full-coverage fenders, premium integrated lights, suspension fork and suspension seat post, adjustable stem and more. Clean single-sprocket drivetrain with fully enclosed chain guard cover, eight speed internally geared hub that…...


Chris @ Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

Great review Court! This bike is actually on sale now for $2999 while supplies last. The 2017 model with the 500Wh battery will be $3499. This bike is the sporty counterpart to their comfort offerings like the Arroyo. Due to some injuries I definitely lean towards more comfort bikes, but we still see some demand for these types of setups. Since you don’t need to be as worried about efficiency on an electric bike, I generally recommend suspension forks and seatposts like you.

I think more companies are coming around though. It’s really the product managers, most of them come from the sport/racing side of the industry and I don’t know if they all fully understand the customers for these bikes. I think we’re going to see more bikes with these creature comforts standard and I definitely think that’s a good thing.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Great feedback Chris! Appreciate your clarification around the 2017 with a 500 watt hour battery pack for more vs. the 2016. You’re full of insights and it’s neat to get the pricing angle from a shop… like if I was on a budget I think the lower watt hour option could be just fine. I remember thinking the range for the Bosch Powerpack 400 was really good and on an efficient ebike like this it would make for an excellent commuter. I love the rack and lights too :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Court
2 months ago

Update! I just completed a full review for this electric bicycle, complete with a video and some photos. Check it out at https://electricbikereview.com/gazelle/avenue-c8/

Dewey
2 months ago

Or indeed a test ride, I really liked the Gazelle Arroyo I test-rode at a 2016 ebike expo event, I tried the diamond frame of that model again 6 months later on a proper hill climb and was pleased by the pedelec performance of the Bosch active line motor.

I noticed @e-boy has threads for other types of ebikes you would have to ask him but I supposed his intent was not so much to provide a buyers guide for customers but a pin board for fans of particular frame styles/types of ebikes.

Dewey
2 months ago

Corratec Lifebike

Blix Komfort Prima

Evelo Galaxy ST

Gazelle Arroyo C8 (personal favorite)

Kalkhoff Agattu

EasyMotion Evo City Wave Pro

Riese & Muller Homage Nuvinci HS (the only full suspension step through ebike)

Dewey
2 months ago

Gazelle Avenue

Raleigh Electric Sprite iE

bob armani
3 months ago

How about the Rubbee compact portable electric drive system reviewed on this forum: https://electricbikereview.com/rubbee/drive-2-0/

There is also a newer version coming soon also on this forum https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/rubbee-x-introduction.15247/#post-121643

Gaby
3 months ago

I was accepted to go Study Abroad for Spring 2018 in South Korea. I travel by car to my home university and either walk or use a golf-cart service to my classes. The golf-cart service is provided for those with different disabilities. I have a very mild form of muscular deficiency. I am perfectly capable of walking and performing normal physical activities, but compared to an average human being, I perform these activities at a slower rate. I am perfectly capable of riding a bike as well :).

While abroad, I will not have a car with me and even though South Korea has a good transportation system, I would like to invest in an e-bike. The university I will be attending is known to be in a 'hilly' location. The e-bike will give me a little boost for those hills and at the same time, I will have a way of transportation. I plan to use the e-bike as a normal bike and use assistance for hills or longer travels.

I am looking for an e-bike that is not too heavy, but my main goal is to find an e-bike that can get me up those steep hills. I have been looking at models such as:

- Populo Sport Electric Bicycle V3
- Faraday Cortland
- Gazelle NL C7 HMB

I understand that all of these models are quite different, but I am new at this and not sure where to start. Please keep in mind that I am a university student and these e-bikes are not cheap. However, I am open to any suggestions! I am open to ALL recommendations :)

Sonoboy
3 months ago

ADMIN: What the hell is this doing hers? Yes,@Ann i'm Talking to you. Gazelle? WTF?

Matthew X Curry
3 months ago

Dutch made marvel of design, my new Gazelle Arroyo seen here at Seattle's Shilshole Park/Golden Gardens Park yesterday. Thank you Court as I didn't know this spot existed until I started watching EBR reviews and you shot a Rad Bike review from here a few months back. I am hooked! It took a while but this bike is my new best friend.

Court
5 months ago

I've been doing some more https://electricbikereview.com/brand/gazelle/ and they recently sent me this press release about a new model called the Avenue so I wanted to share it:

INTRODUCING THE GAZELLE AVENUE
The Perfect Bike For An Urban Lifestyle

Monday, October 2, 2017 — SANTA CRUZ, CA - Gazelle - https://www.gazellebikes.com/usa/ - Introduces the Gazelle Avenue, a secure and stable eBike equipped with Shimano STEPS intelligent drivetrain that is perfect for the urban commuter. The Avenue is ideal for everyday activities whether picking up dinner or commuting to work, the capable Avenue is the best choice for a reliable, safe and swift ride.

The Avenue features a lightweight aluminum frame that is balanced to perfection with a low-step design, single tube, and integrated cables. The geometry is based around 26” wheels and optimized for comfort with a 68-degree headtube angle and 70-degree seat tube angle that creates a relaxed and stable ride. The 250 watt Shimano STEPS has an average range of 50 miles and a max distance that can approach almost 80 miles. Magura brakes provide dependable, controlled safety with swift and smooth braking. Combining design and performance, the Avenue never disappoints. Enjoy the ride!

Features:

[*]Shimano STEPS
[*]36V / 504 watt battery
[*]8-speed Shimano internal hub
[*]Magura HS22 hydraulic brakes
[*]Frame: Low-Step
[*]Suspension Seatpost
[*]Suspension Front Fork
[*]Unisex
[*]Available colors: Saturn Blue Mat (with more colors to follow)
[*]MSRP: $2,899 (limited edition price)

ABOUT GAZELLE BIKES
Gazelle’s history is very much the history of the bicycle as a popular means of urban transportation. Their original Dutch style comfort bike won over the hearts of the Netherlands 125 years ago and their continued design and technology have people all over the world falling in love today. Today, Gazelle remains at the forefront of invention to make cycling more enjoyable and accessible. Gazelle is an integral part of Dutch cycling heritage and have kept in cadence with today’s global innovation with their new line of e-bikes. Gazelle has positioned themselves as the benchmark for urban mobility - traditionally and contemporarily. Learn more at http://www.gazellebikes.com/usa/

JonathanNL-US
5 months ago

Hello! I'm wondering if anyone can provide guidance on how to use the micro USB port on my Gazelle Arroyo to charge an iPhone (lightning connection), and especially what kind of cord/adapter I'd need to buy in order to do it. Thanks!

Nicknick
6 months ago

Received mine (standard battery, Schwalbe tire upgrade). These are my first impressions.

Building the bike

[*]Putting it together was relatively easy using the videos on the juiced site. It's a heavy bike so having someone help while you put on the front tire is nice. Anyone who is comfortable with some basic tools can do this. Don’t forget to tighten the steering.
[*]The front fender and headlight will be added later when Juiced ships the missing parts (in a few days). UPDATE: I put these on, was doable. Headlight is super bright, but does not have any "to the side" visibility like some other headlights do.
[*]I expected this to have a battery operated rear light, but it seems to be a reflector. UPDATE: It has a tiny light in the box. I ordered thehttps://www.amazon.com/dp/B013FIWBCS/ which is about 500x more bright.

The good

[*]First of all: this bike looks AWESOME. It is sooo cool. And it looks like a cool bike, not an eBike. The battery design and not having a mid-drive motor helps with that.
[*]All parts you touch feel like high quality. Saddle, shifter, handles, rear rack, bike standard, it's super solid.
[*]Size is perfect for me, so the Juiced size guide seems spot on.
[*]Tires are super wide compared to my regular hybrid bike. They are comfortable, but not as "precise". Great for dealing with potholes, but it'd make me hesitant to get something like the Hyperfat which must have zero “cornering feel".
[*]The brakes are INSANE. So powerful. I've never had disc brakes before, so maybe that's why, but it's easy to skid the tire even though the combined weight of me+bike is like 250lbs.
[*]There is a lot of power. On a straight road I really doubt I’d go above level 2 (levels are ECO,1,2,3,sport). In sport mode I’m flying by everyone at 28mph before I know it. However, I went to find a super steep San Francisco hill (like 25%+) and even in sport mode I’m pedaling hard to help it get up to 10mph, and the throttle does nothing. These are kind of rare hills and on my regular bike I’d have to get off and walk, so I sort of doubt any eBike could do much there. Even electric scooters seem powerless against these hills. UPDATE: I took it up to Twin Peaks (SF tallest point), was doable, though I was still pretty sweaty when I got up there.
[*]The throttle+pedal combo to get a boost when leaving a stoplight is nice. But generally I end up not using the throttle on its own, it just doesn’t give you enough to get that “wheeeeeeee!” feeling, its more fun to pedal and get the boost from that.
[*]No regen, which is awesome. Regenerative braking ruins easy coasting, which the most fun part of biking. :)
[*]You can easily ride this bike with a dead battery. I rode it for a bit while it was turned off, and even though its heavy it would be fine to ride this home for a few miles.

Things Juiced could do in future CrossCurrent S models to make it even better

[*]Putting the battery in is kind of hard. You really need to push it hard while holding the key in "open" position and it feels like more of a hassle than it should be, especially since I’ll be having to do this multiple times a week to charge it. I might try to find a way to make this easier (maybe WD40?).

[*]UPDATE: I think I was doing this wrong. I checked out the EBR review video which has come out since I wrote this review and it actually clicks in without using the key. It needs a bit of muscle but it's no longer a hassle.

[*]I used “walk mode” to get my bike up the stairs. You have to hold the minus button for a while to enable it, which means you just have to stand there for a few seconds with the brakes on so it doesn’t roll back. You also have to hold that button to keep it active, which means that if you let it go, you need to wait a few seconds again to get going. It would have been better if walk mode just put a 5pmh limit on the throttle (which gives you direct power).
[*]AFAIK there is no way to have the light (screen backlight+headlight) on by default. I wish it was “always on” when the bike is on, because there is only upside to more visibility, even during the day. Most new cars are this way too.
[*]There is a short jerky feel in the pedals when you go from peddling to coasting and you move the pedals a bit backwards. It’s like the motor isn’t sure whether to help you or not. Not super bothersome though.
[*]Bell, chain guard, integrated rear light would be nice.

Nice-to-have’s I’d pay extra for:

[*]Frame lock (euro style) for quick stops at the store.
[*]Rear rack strong enough to carry a person.
[*]An anti-theft security code to turn on the bike (maybe have the motor lock the rear wheel without it).
[*]For juiced to put on the Schwalbe tires for me (they did for me as I ordered early, but no longer do this, so you'll have to take it to a LBS to get them put on).

Summary

I'm no expert, so I don’t have a ton to compare this to, but I’ve tried a bunch of other eBikes. Short rides on a Haibike, Gazelle, Stromer ST1 and a longer ride on a Bulls Lacuba Evo 8. The Bulls is the only bike I would consider a similarly great commuting alternative (though its not a speed pedelec), which feels a bit more smooth and has some higher quality parts, but it is $4000, which makes this Juiced CCS a fantastic deal at well under 2k. It would still be a great deal at $2500+ actually.

This bike is great and I'd for Juiced to do well. Looking at the forum comments here they could probably do a bit more “underpromise and overdeliver”, i.e., tell your customers to expect the bike in October, so September comes as a nice surprise. But even then, some people will never be pleased. :)

I’ll update this review in a month or so when I get some more miles on it. But in the meanwhile I’ve ordered one for my wife as well.

UPDATE after 100+ miles: definitely love this bike. I'm excited to ride it every day on my commute. I'm surprised how often I go over 20mph. I didn't expect to care this much, but at this point I'd definitely not buy anything that is not a 28mph speed pedelec. I'm also totally happy with the amount of power. It's rare (few super steep hills) that I wish it had more.
The only thing that is bothersome to me at this point is the weight. With the added u-lock I mounted on, I'm guessing we're at 60lbs+. It's no problem at all when biking, but using any ceiling hook style bike racks, or hauling it up stairs, is a hassle. That said, I'm not sure how much less of a hassle it would be at 50lbs or even 40lbs. And with bikes below that weight you're getting into the Faraday style, which is super entry-level on power and battery. So maybe this is just part of eBike life. :)

TLDR: I love this thing. Would buy again in a heartbeat.

Dewey
6 months ago

110 miles is a long distance for an ebike, if you were to attempt to ride that distance in one go you would need to either carry a spare battery, or a battery with a very large capacity which take a long time to charge. Consider any 2017 or 2018 model year Bosch motor powered ebike with the new 500wh battery and buy a spare 500wh battery to keep in a pannier bag to swap out when you run out, examples might include the 2017 https://www.gazellebikes.com/usa/bikes/arroyo-c8-hmb/ or http://propelbikes.com/product/kalkhoff-agattu-b8-2017/ with the large or XL diamond frames.

Griego
11 months ago

Great site! Thanks to all of those involved.
I have some mid drive bikes in my compare bucket. It's rarely possible to test ride everything I'm interested in even tough I live in a major city (Chicago). That's the toughest part about having the desire to buy an electric bike. I couldn't possibly buy a bike I've never been on but with a little extra help I can certainly narrow it down. I would really appreciate some input from anyone that actually rides any of the following bikes:
Trek XM700+
Gazelle CityZen C8 HM
Walleräng M.01
Raleigh Misceo Sport IE
BULLS SIX50 E2 Street
Thank you in advance!

Cookie master
9 hours ago

I live near the factory of gazelle😆

Noirnova
1 month ago

1899 euro in europa.

Nouchka de Vries
2 months ago

Awesome review btw

Nouchka de Vries
2 months ago

Right now it costs 1800 euro in Holland and I'm about to buy one but I'll wait some more before the price comes down even more. 3000 to 1800 is a big difference. I hope I can get one for 1500 one day.

Nouchka de Vries
2 months ago

Holland♡

polle3600
5 months ago

If people are looking at you funny, it's because you're riding a ladies bike...

Nouchka de Vries
2 months ago

Ano Niem true story

Ano Niem
3 months ago

polle3600 Yeah, but nowadays many men prefer the lady frames. It’s said to be much safer in case of an accident as well.

Farbror Joakim
11 months ago

This frame style is a girl's bike, at least in Europe :)
What's the chain tensioner useful for? Other than attracting dirt and clogging up the chain?

Graydon Buchleiter
11 months ago

They're not electric, but do you know anything about workcycles, or anyone who has put up reviews on youtube of a workcycle?

Gaj B
12 months ago

So hard to find a good electric bicycle for a reasonable price

Erik Vermeeren
1 year ago

nice review! thx.

Grace Dawson
1 year ago

Very disappointing that ebikes are limited to 25km/h in Australia :(

Michael De Lazzer
1 year ago

It's a play on "citizen". Get it? And when you look at what you get in this bike, at $3800, it's not nearly enough power for the money, and there's no throttle mode. It's a pretty sloppy build (wires hanging out), everything feels tacked on. At that price point the battery should be integrated. When you look at what Vintage Electric and Luna Cycle are doing, this is a poor value.

Ano Niem
3 months ago

You are comparing a Ferrari to a Skoda. Gazelle is the best in its class. It’s luxury.

Inc Gohd
7 months ago

What i've been told by some at different bike stores that it's nothing more than an urban model with a motor on it, literally. And it shows there's nothing specifically adjusted for ebike purposes. And it felt really, really hard not in a good way. No i'll take a Kalkhoff over this any day.

Wim Ahlers
11 months ago

For Ebikes the power is limited to 250 Watts maximum by law in The Netherlands.
You can buy bicycles with more power in The Netherlands but than they are in a different category called a pedelec (500 to 1000 watts, though anything over 250 watts is already considered to be a pedelec). For a pedelec you need a license plate and you must wear a helmet. That being said, you can easily average 40 to 50 kilometres per hour with a pedelec. If you want to cycle faster in The Netherlands you can buy a velomobile. They can achieve speeds of 60 up to about 80 kilometres per hour (occasionally faster, given the right circumstances). But a velomobile is heavy, big, more cumbersome in city traffic, and cost over $6000 to $12000.

The 250 watts engine powered Ebike is the most popular and most sold Ebike in The Netherlands because it is more flexible in, and for, the Dutch infrastructure. The top speed is limited to 25 kilometres per hour by law. For export to countries with no speed limit rules the top speed is usually set to about 32 kilometres per hour for these types of electric engines.

There are lousy internal hub systems but this (most likely) is the Shimano 8-speed. Strong enough and reliable enough.
If you want a top internal hub system you can go for a Rohloff hub. They never break! But they cost over $1000, and as such are used for the higher end market.

About the wires hanging out ... Dutch bikes give enough space to the cables so that they do not snap or get damaged when your front steering wheel makes a 360 degree turn (for instance, when you fall). However, it usually is no problem to shorten the cables.

As to the throttle modes, there usually are several power modes (usually 4 or 5) to choose from. From economic to full power.

The disadvantage of an integrated battery is two folded:
a) You need to take your bike to a loading point. It is easier to take the battery to a power socket. Plus easier to have a backup battery. Easier to replace too.
b) An electric bike without the battery makes it less likely to get stolen.

Overall, the Dutch prefer detachable batteries. However, if you wish, you can buy a Vanmoof bicycle. Another Dutch quality bike in which everything(!) is integrated. See:
https://www.vanmoof.com/en_nl/bikes/electrified-s-straight
However, with a Vanmoof you are highly dependent on your dealer when something brakes down.

garygareth
1 year ago

Michael De Lazzer agree the prices are a total rip off for these bikes you'd be better off buying an e kit off eBay and much more powerful for under a grand.

Martian Megafauna
1 year ago

I don't think that you can make a broad statement that the internal hubs will give better reliability than a derailleur system.
It is true that the internal hubs will require less maintenance, and be less subject to weather/dirt etc. but the internal hubs are typically somewhat fragile, and don't hold up well to riders who go hard. I suspect the additional forces of an electric drivetrain will make that even more interesting.

mtlnascarfan
1 year ago

$3,799 for an electric bike?
You CAN'T be serious?!?

Ano Niem
3 months ago

mtlnascarfan No. It’s not a niche market. Maybe in the states it is, but in countries like Netherlands and Denmark, there are more bikes than there are people. People in cities use their bike, as you use your car. Thus, there are higher standards for bicycles.

Afdhal Atiff Tan Amin Husaini Tan
1 year ago

I build one myself out of £150 ebay kit (£100 for battery and charger). ;)

garygareth
1 year ago

yeah absolutely it kind of reminds me of when flat screen tvs came out first most of the 42inch screens were around 6000 euro. now you could pick up a 52 inch smart tv for around 499 euros. I reckon in around 5 years time you'll see most people using ebikes as the price falls and more company's get involved.

mtlnascarfan
1 year ago

Apparently it's a "niche" market. Soon they'll sell so few bikes that they'll be forced to lower their prices in order to sell any bikes. Either that or they go out of business. At $3800 each, I imagine they'll sell maybe 6 or 7 bikes a year Eventually people will wake up and realize that companies like this are actually ripping them off.

garygareth
1 year ago

mtlnascarfan some are charging even up to 10 grand for their premium models. Its fucking crazy.

E°Bike Company Mainz
1 year ago

With the german Bosch system- a very Niveau combination !

E°Bike Company Mainz
1 year ago

NovaColonel Autocorrection! :) I mean a very nice combination.

NovaColonel
1 year ago

A very level combination? What do you mean?

Nisco Racing
1 year ago

Are there any eBikes that are below $1000 ?

Winvsking
1 year ago

Try Sondors Thin, its not of the greatest quality though

Bruce G
1 year ago

I bought this bike in Brisbane Australia about 4 weeks ago. Its really hot right now in summer & this thing is great. It is super quiet & the assistance from the Bosch motor just powers it up even steep hills or into strong headwinds. It cost nearly $4000 but build quality & finish is excellent, as is the way it rides. Im planning on commuting on it rather than being lazy & driving or riding a motorcycle. Even a trip to the shops for groceries makes you laugh as its just so quick & easy to ride. You can tell Gazelle know how to build a quality product. Top stuff.

Ano Niem
3 months ago

Bruce G How long you think it will last?

oz davidov
1 year ago

Why you dont ride regular bikes? And what do you prefer A Regular Bike Or an electric bike

oz davidov
1 year ago

injured riders should use an ebike, im not saying this is a bad thing, im just saying that a normal bike is good as an ebike

oz davidov
1 year ago

normal bikes can go faster then an ebike, This reduces weight, you do exercise, and you have more control on the bike

Mr Babushka
1 year ago

What do you think of Bosch?

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

I really like Bosch systems. The battery could be more integrated but the way it is makes it fast to take off and easy to replace. Pedal assist is super responsive and now they even offer a speed drive. I also like the displays, very complete and easy to see/readh but still removable

PonderDuke
1 year ago

It's about 2100 euro in Europe. Depending on which max speed option and which battery pack you choose.

Sjaak De Winter
12 months ago

2100 euro?
Yep, but only with the smallest battery.

PonderDuke
1 year ago

Also there are tuning boxes for example the "Bad Ass Tuning Box" which will make the motor run faster because there is a limiter on it. But of course that voids your warranty and might be illegal.

PonderDuke
1 year ago

Gazelle Cityzen C8 HMB 25km = 15 mph you can recognize this by the black letters "Bosch" on the motor. This motor is called Active Line by Bosch
Starting price 2019 euros

Men's version has a diamond frame. Women's version has the trapez frame.
Is has 3 battery options called:
Silver battery (standard) 300Wh 8,3 ah range upto 80 km / 50 miles
Gold battery 400Wh 11,1 Ah range up to 107 km = 93 miles + 150 euros
Platinum battery 500 Wh 13,8Ah range up to 134 km = 83 miles + 250 euros

Women's frame sizes
49cm
53cm
57cm
61cm

Men's frame sizes
53cm
57cm
61cm

Frame Colors:
- dim grey matt
- black matt (as shown in de video)

Then there's the Gazelle Cityzen Speed 45km = 28 mph you can recognize this by the red letters "Bosch" on the motor. (performence line) Starting price 2399 euros, but this doesn't have the internal nexus gear hub. It has a Shimano Deore 10 speed derailleur.

They might have different models for North America and Europe. The models I mentioned are sold in Europe.

Claudio Lavacca
1 year ago

Wow, that's actually quite a good price. I might give it a shot.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Interesting, does that mean this is offered as a speed pedelec in Europe? I'd love to hear more about the different speeds being offered :)