Gazelle CityZen C8 HM Review

Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Electric Bike Review
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Bosch Performance Mid Drive 350
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Bars Brakes Locking Grips
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Bosch Intuvia Display And Button Pad
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Axa Blueline 30 Led Headlight
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Spanninga Solo Rear Led Light On Rack
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Adjustable Kickstand
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Shimano Nexus Inter 8
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Electric Bike Review
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Bosch Performance Mid Drive 350
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Bars Brakes Locking Grips
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Bosch Intuvia Display And Button Pad
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Axa Blueline 30 Led Headlight
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Spanninga Solo Rear Led Light On Rack
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Adjustable Kickstand
Gazelle Cityzen C8 Hm Shimano Nexus Inter 8

Summary

  • An efficient urban style electric bike with tight fenders, integrated LED lights, a cargo rack with bungee cords and a cafe lock for quick stops
  • Available in four frame sizes (three trapez mid-step and two diamond high-step), the battery pack mount is slightly sunk into the downtube for improved aesthetics and balance
  • Excellent motor and display systems from Bosch, the bike is efficient and responsive with great range potential, internally geared eight speed hub is durable
  • Gazelle is a 100+ year old Dutch company that rigorously tests their frames and offers an excellent warranty, the bike is priced a bit higher and doesn't offer suspension

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Gazelle

Model:

CityZen C8 HM

Price:

$2,999 USD

Body Position:

Forward, Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

20162017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

51 lbs (23.13 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.3 lbs (2.4 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

19.3 in (49.02 cm)20.9 in (53.08 cm)22.4 in (56.89 cm)24 in (60.96 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

28" Standover Height

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Silver and Red Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Herrmans DD28, Rigid Aluminum Alloy with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Skewer with Bolts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1×8 Shimano Nexus Inter 8 Internally Geared Hub, 22T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Alfine Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Miranda, Alloy

Pedals:

Plastic Platform with Rubber Tread

Stem:

Smica 3D Forged, Alloy Adjustable Angle

Handlebar:

V-Drive Alloy Flat, 23"

Brake Details:

Shimano BL-M315 Hydraulic Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Shimano Levers

Grips:

H Brand, Locking Flat Rubber

Saddle:

Selle Royal Justek, Black

Seat Post:

GAZ, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Ryde Dutch19, Alloy Mid-Dish, Black

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 15G Front 14G Rear, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Spicer, 700 x 35c (28" x 1.35")

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Tape, Active Line K-Guard, 65-95 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta

Accessories:

Plastic Fenders, Alloy Rear Rack with Bungee Cords (25 kg Max Load), AXA Defender Cafe Lock, Cortez Plastic Chain Guard, Integrated Spanninga Solo Rear LED Light, Integrated AXA Blueline 30 LED Headlight, Side Mounted Adjustable Length Kickstand

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack with LED Charge Level Indicator, Motor Starts at 20 RPM, 2.2 Amp Charger 1.7 lbs

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

63 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

22 miles (35 km)

Estimated Max Range:

59 miles (95 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Intuvia, Removable Backlit Grayscale LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Button Feedback, Micro USB Charging Port

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Combined Torque, Cadence and Speed Measured 1,000 Times Per Second), (Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

My understanding is that the Cityzen C8 is a carryover from 2016 that has been popular enough to extend into 2017. In the United States, many people would have missed or not even know about this model because Gazelle is just starting to enter the market and pick up dealers (aside from a select few early adopters like the New Wheel in San Francisco). This electric bike builds on the strong reputation and heritage of the Royal Dutch Gazelle brand, which has become a household name in the Netherlands after 100+ years of bicycle building. I came into the review not knowing a lot about the company but was impressed by stories of UV and salt water exposure stress tests. In many parts of Europe, people use their bicycles more like Americans use automobiles… they need to be reliable and are held to higher warranty standards. Apparently there’s a factory in Holland with big windows where you can actually walk by and see people assembling the bikes in real time, that’s the kind of transparency and and engagement I love and hope to visit one day! All that stuff aside, what’s the deal with the bike? What if there wasn’t a badge on it at all and I was just looking at the hardware? In that case, I’d call a lot of it average but highly capable. This isn’t the fanciest e-bike but it is professional and very capable.

The motor driving the C8 is a Bosch Performance Line Centerdrive offering either 250 watts or 350 watts power output… and I’m sorry but I just don’t know which? I was told by Gazelle reps that it’s the 250 watt variant which is set to European standards whereas most US versions are upped to 350. Regardless, it’s all the same physical hardware and even if the nominal wattage output is slightly lower the peak is still capable and you’ll end up extending range. For an efficient rigid frame with larger 700c wheels and higher PSI ratings, you don’t need as much power to get going. The Bosch motor has evolved over the past couple of years with new CX variants putting out higher torque for mountain biking and some tighter integration (tilted and built up into the frame more). What I see on the Gazelle CityZen C8 is the older horizontal mount with large plastic shell. It’s well protected but not as aesthetically pleasing… and this is where I felt surprised by price. If this is indeed a carryover and is using a lower watt motor operation parameter and the smaller 400 watt hour battery pack then I’m surprised the price is still set near $3.8k? And in fact, I have seen the bike priced lower in person at some shops.

So the motor is very capable, super responsive and smart even if it’s not rated to be as powerful as some others. The battery is similar in that it’s sleek, relative light weight and can be charged on or off the frame. Gazelle has designed the C8 with a custom downtube mount that’s indented to blend the battery with the frame and perhaps make it easier to click on and off. Bosch batteries click down vs. sliding in from the side and having more clearance above to pull up or press down on the pack is important. Unfortunately, there wasn’t enough clearance to put bottle cage bosses, at least on the Trapez mid-step frame. I can’t say for sure whether the high-step has them but the images on the official Gazelle website does not show them… which is disappointing. You do still get a very capable rear rack with included bungee straps so consider a trunk bag with a bottle holster like these. A trunk bag could also be used to stash a second battery pack or the charger to extend your rides. Bosch is now putting out 500 watt hour batteries and the C8 seems to use their older 400 watt hour design. Thankfully they are interchangeable and forward and backward compatible.

Operating the City Zen C8 is a breeze thanks Bosch. Charge that battery on or off the bike then click it on… Press the power button on the removable Intuvia display and get your battery, speed and power level readout in seconds. Now you can click up or down on the remote button pad (mounted near the left grip) to increase or decrease assistance. You can even arrow all the way down to no assistance and ride this thing like a regular bicycle. Having eight gears to work with is fantastic for urban environments and I love the little chain cover that protects the sprocket and your pant leg or dress from grease and snags. One thing about internally geared hubs is that they tend to be more durable than traditional cassettes and derailleurs. And, you can shift at standstill. This sounds better than it actually is with the Shimano Inter 8 hub because it lets you shift but won’t engage immediately if lots of force is being applied. It’s a system that takes a little getting used to but works very well overall. Now, you might notice the derailleur looking hanger thing at the back and that is actually a chain tensioner. I believe they need it because the dropouts are vertical not horizontal (which would allow you to manually tighten the chain). This makes it a bit more durable than some internal hub systems but worked well enough during my test ride. with just one sprocket at the front and one at the back, the chain shouldn’t wear down the teeth from shifting or slip as easily. Coming back to the motor for a second, it has shift sensing which is meant to ease off as you change gears and reduce mashing and wear. I’m guessing it helps a little bit on this drivetrain but can’t say for sure. A few things I know I do appreciate are the dynamic range approximation on the display, the integrated Micro USB port for charging your phone or other portable electronic device and the integrated LED Lights. These features combine with the fenders, reflective tires and multiple frame sizes to put the C8 into the more premium category of electric bikes. It’s safer and just more practical for heavy use in busy, possibly wet, commuting environments.

Perhaps the biggest question mark for me with this electric bicycle is comfort. You get an adjustable angle stem, allowing for a more upright body position (especially useful for riders with shorter arms). But you don’t get any kind of suspension fork or seat post. The tires are rated at 65 to 95 PSI which is way higher than most cruisers or larger-tire ebikes and this results in an efficient but sometimes uncomfortable ride. The frame is all Aluminum, even the rigid fork, and this material doesn’t dampen vibration as well as Carbon fiber or Steel. It’s less expensive and fairly light weight but I’d probably grab a 27.2 mm seatpost suspension like the Thudbuster ST for the bike if I lived anywhere with cracks and bumps and intended to ride frequently. Overall, I’d be more excited about this bike if it was priced lower (and perhaps the reality is that it does sell for less than the stated MSRP). I like the accessories, the frame color scheme and integrated wires, the quick release front wheel for easier maintenance and the narrow bars for lane splitting or easier passage through doorways. This is an e-bike that will surely hold up, offers a bit of character and unique heritage but is still backed by a powerhouse multi-national company. I’d probably customize mine a bit but the foundation is very strong and you can get a frame size that is perfect (which is impossible to customize after-market). If you want an ebike that can blend in, that has a reliable drive system and even more reliable electronics then this is a good choice. Hope on and commute to the office then take the battery and display off for charging and safe keeping. Expect great range even with the older battery pack size, the weight is low, centered and the more active frame and tires transfer energy very well. Big thanks to Gazelle for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • Available in four mid-step frame sizes and three high-step (three overlap so you really end up with four distinct frame sizes), this is excellent for a his/her setup or those who prefer one frame type over another (rigid strength of high-step or easier mounting of step-thru)
  • Premium LED Lights wired right into the electrical system so you don’t have to worry about changing batteries or taking lights off when you park, they are always there for you, the headlight has windows on the side to help you be seen from different angles
  • In addition to lights, I love that they went with higher end Schwalbe Spicer tires that have reflective tape, this increases your visual footprint from the side and is great for a darker colored bike that’s setup for urban riding and commuting
  • The bike comes with a cafe lock that secures the rear wheel, this is popular in Europe for “dropping in to the cafe” briefly and is a light weight way to always have a bit of security… it uses the same key as the battery pack which is convenient
  • Internally routed shifter, brake and electronic cables stay out of the way and improve the look, since the frame is dark grey and the accents are black the wires really blend in when they are exposed
  • Thin light weight fenders hug both tires and are reinforced for durability, the plastic chain guard is also minimal in appearance but works very well to reduce greasy pant legs and snags
  • You get eight gears which is enough for city riding in my experience and the drivetrain uses a Shimano Inter 8 internally geared hub which tends to be durable and maintenance free compared with traditional derailleurs… though a bit heavier
  • Nice cargo rack here, it supports the rear fender, has tighter side bars to block panniers from rubbing on the rear wheel and comes with a bungee cord for quick use
  • The saddle and bar style are both fairly active but the stem is adjustable angle so you can relax the fit a little… I tend to enjoy a more upright body position so this is a big plus for me
  • Solid 160 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano offer smooth powerful stops and have adjustable reach levers, disc brakes tend to stay cleaner in wet riding conditions
  • Nice kickstand, it stays out of the way compared to mid-mounted options and offers adjustable length settings
  • I’m a huge fan of the Bosch electric bike system because it blends in, keeps weight low and center, is easy to work with (removable battery and display) and offers fast response time and lots of power but is still very efficient… the Bosch Centerdrive also has shift sensing but that’s less of a benefit here since the hub is internally geared vs. using sprockets
  • Very good two year warranty with the backing of a major global brand (Gazelle is owned by the Pon Group), they are about a year and a half into the US market at the time of this review and are growing dealers where you can test ride the bike and get is serviced

Cons:

  • I was a little surprised that the bike I tested weighed ~51 lbs because the fenders were so thin, the fork was rigid vs. suspension and the rack wasn’t welded on… I expected it to be a little lighter but internally geared hubs tend to add a bit of weight and perhaps the mid-step frame is heavier since it’s not quite as strong as a diamond frame and has to be reinforced?
  • Internally geared hubs can take some getting used to, they shift a bit differently and can be adjusted at standstill but might not engage until your pedal torque eases off
  • This ebike is very efficient due to the smooth 28″ tires and rigid fork but you don’t get a suspension fork or suspension seat post so it’s not as comfortable at high speed over bumpy terrain
  • You get a lot of high quality equipment and a great warranty but the price felt a little high given there’s no suspension fork or head shock… I feel like $3,500 would be more on target with competing bikes but Gazelle is more of a premium brand and they do UV testing on their paint and a salt bath to select better hardware that won’t corrode as readily
  • The downtube is custom with a cutaway so the battery pack doesn’t stick up as high but I guess there still wasn’t enough room for bottle cage bosses (at least on the Trapez mid-step version)

Resources:

More Gazelle Reviews

Gazelle Arroyo C8 HMB Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A highly adjustable, feature-complete, city style electric bike with long fenders and enclosed chain cover to keep you clean and integrated lights to keep you safe, keyed-alike frame lock adds convenience. Available in four frame sizes and three colorways, premium paint and marine-grade hardware were chosen…...

Gazelle Avenue C8 Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A durable, streamlined, wave style step-thru electric bicycle from an established European brand with an excellent track record of quality and service, available in three frame sizes for improved fit. Uses one of the lightest, quietest, and most efficient mid-drive motors from Shimano with an…...

Gazelle CityZen T10 Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A feature-complete city style electric bike that's lighter than competing models and more sporty, the narrow handlebars let you squeeze through traffic and doorways easily. Premium alloy coated fenders are tough and quiet, plastic chain guard keeps your pants clean,…...

2017 Gazelle Arroyo C8 HMB Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A highly adjustable, feature-complete, city style electric bike with long fenders that have an integrated headlight and enclosed chain cover keep you clean and dry, integrated keyed-alike cafe lock adds convenience. Available in three frame sizes with the small and medium being wave and the large…...

Gazelle NL C7 HMB Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable, stable and capable cargo bike... that's almost like a cruiser with large sweeping bars, an adjustable stem, oversized comfort saddle and puncture-resistant balloon tires. Impressive two-year comprehensive warranty, thoroughly tested against UV and salt water exposure, unique styling and…...

Gazelle Arroyo C8 HM Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A wonderful commuting platform with full-coverage fenders, premium integrated lights, suspension fork and suspension seat post, adjustable stem and more. Clean single-sprocket drivetrain with fully enclosed chain guard cover, eight speed internally geared hub that…...


Chris @ Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

Great review Court! This bike is actually on sale now for $2999 while supplies last. The 2017 model with the 500Wh battery will be $3499. This bike is the sporty counterpart to their comfort offerings like the Arroyo. Due to some injuries I definitely lean towards more comfort bikes, but we still see some demand for these types of setups. Since you don’t need to be as worried about efficiency on an electric bike, I generally recommend suspension forks and seatposts like you.

I think more companies are coming around though. It’s really the product managers, most of them come from the sport/racing side of the industry and I don’t know if they all fully understand the customers for these bikes. I think we’re going to see more bikes with these creature comforts standard and I definitely think that’s a good thing.

Reply
court
1 year ago

Great feedback Chris! Appreciate your clarification around the 2017 with a 500 watt hour battery pack for more vs. the 2016. You’re full of insights and it’s neat to get the pricing angle from a shop… like if I was on a budget I think the lower watt hour option could be just fine. I remember thinking the range for the Bosch Powerpack 400 was really good and on an efficient ebike like this it would make for an excellent commuter. I love the rack and lights too :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

John from Connecticut
3 days ago

Ditto on the welcome ! and what a really cool looking bike. Love the color.

David Berry
4 days ago

AM -

Welcome. Can you let us know a bit about your Gazelle which looks like the perfect bike for a European cyclist-friendly environment. It has several intriguing features that are not familiar to most of us: some obvious like the chainguard and others almost hidden like the brakes’ discs that look like they are there for cooling purposes only (drum brakes rather than disc brakes?).

David

altitudeman
4 days ago

My running name is Altitudeman that comes from working in the aerospace industrie.Now retierd and into allsorts but ebike particulary hello to everyone and its nice to be here.I am riding a Gazelle chamonix innergy and love it .Good rides were i live so allways on the go.

JoePah
6 days ago

That is some commute dude!

I would make sure that your bike route would be legal for an Ebike, and specifically what class eBike

You can average 19-20 mph if there isn't any traffic and don't have stop lights.

And I don't know if you want a new bike or not, but have you considered an ebike kit? You could get away with a very light rear geared hub motor, and put a large battery on it... All for less than $1500 + your bike

If you do want a off the shelf electric bike, the STromer is a perfect commuter bike... Comfortable, Reliable fast and overall excellent quality. It is heavy and rear hub motor. You can buy leftover models cheap.

ebubar
7 days ago

Have only seen shades of what I'm wondering covered in here. I currently commute 30-36 miles roundtrip on my adventure bike (Jamis Renegade). I have been doing this 5 days a week for the past 3 years. With starts and stops and a couple decent hills it takes me between an hour 15 and an hour 45 minutes each way. Thus i'm used to 3+ hours in the saddle every day and haven't tired of it for many years. According to Strava, I don't kill myself on my rides and put out around an average of 120 - 130 watts on most rides. Due to her job and the expenses of housing in the area (DC Metro area) I may end up with a 54 mile roundtrip commute. This is a bit far to do daily on my adventure bike. I'm considering the plausibility of getting an ebike to ride the full distance at least a few days a week. I can park the bike in my office and charge in the mornings. I'd hope to average around 20 mph over the 26-27 miles each way so that I'm spending roughly the same time on the bike as I currently am. Rough back of the envelope calculations make me think I can get it done with a Class 3 bike to use a low pedal assist setting to give me some increased acceleration from stops and maintain higher speed on flats and a higher setting to get me up hills faster. I'd endeavor to not run the battery to empty each way, and instead charge at work and in the evenings. Figuring roughly 2 years of good battery performance from daily-ish commuting during the academic year (physics prof so not a strict schedule in the summers).

Looking at 250 Watt, middrive and 500-ish Wh.

1) Am I crazy? Most topics like this that I've seen have assumed the time in the saddle would be impossible. I'm already putting in that time so I know its not too much saddle time, though i'm not used to that time at such speeds.

2) I've got my eye on the Raleigh Redux iE Step Over (from a local shop that specializes in ebikes). Tried that one, a Specialized Vado (nice, but the cruiser-ish positioning doesn't seem good for the distance i'm planning) and another that I don't recall (it was a weaker midrive model with a lower torque motor). Those were the only models in my $3k-ish price range that the shop recommended. They have some that were $5k+ (nope) and some Gazelle bikes (which were limited to Class 2 - so they didn't recommend those).

3) I haven't cared for suspension forks, but are they really nice to have at sustained higher ebike speeds?

Just seeking thoughts from the wider ebike community to confirm my research thus far is sound.

FYI - 5'8", 160 lbs. Thanks in advance for any tips!

AlanDB
1 week ago

I posted this in another thread, but will repeat the story here as it is more relevant in this thread.

I have a new Gazelle Arroyo that has the Bosch/Intuvia Performance motor and 500 Powerpack battery. I recently made a 21 mile ride on a paved rail trail that is fairly flat. The day started quite windy with sustained winds of about 15 mph and higher gusts, mostly from the side, but slightly head on. As you might know, the wind subsided for the return part of the ride where it may have been a slight advantage. I am fairly heavy ... total weight of me, bike and gear would be close to 300#. I rode the entire 21 miles with the eco assist mode. It was a casual ride with just a few stops. My average moving speed was about 12 mph, based on the Garmin Oregon GPS I had with me.

This range analysis is based solely on the Intuvia range estimate in Eco mode. I started the ride with the battery fully topped off. The Intuvia calculated my range in Eco mode at 62 miles as I started the ride. As I continued on the first part of the ride, the range calculation continued to increase. About 8 miles in, it topped out with an estimated range of 84 miles, and then started to gradually go down. At the end of my 21 mile ride, the Intuvia showed that I still had a range of 72 miles. The battery meter still had all 5 bars.

So ... 72 miles plus the 21 I rode gives 93 miles. I realize that this is not a very scientific test for range, and I wouldn't really expect to be able to go 93 miles under assist. But all-in-all I was quite impressed and it gives me some confidence that I could take a much longer ride without worrying about losing assist.

drmorison
2 weeks ago

Thank you everyone for you excellent advice. I went ahead and purchased a new Gazelle Arroyo HMB.

Dewey
3 weeks ago

Court listed a few ebikes that might better fit the shorter person: https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/the-best-electric-bikes-for-small-people.22762/ The list is a few years old and there are others, I'm currently test riding a https://www.gazellebikes.com/en-us/gazelle-easyflow-v2 with 26" wheels and a low step over height, it comes in three sizes and the small 45 frame would fit you, Gazelle fit shorter crank arms that are a better length for shorter riders, and the handlebar adjusts easily by lifting a lever to change the position to suit you. But it is almost twice the price of the Blix Aveny, on that ebike you only need the bigger battery if you want to ride further or want to recharge the battery less often, the standard 400wh battery will go at least 20 miles on one full charge, probably further depending on how much you pedal vs use the throttle, the larger 630wh battery would go at least 30 miles and again probably further, calculate the total distance you need to go there and back again. ebike batteries are usually rated for a certain number of recharging cycles before they need to be replaced, my county accepts them for recycling, you can then buy a replacement battery no need to throw the whole ebike away.

Other ebikes that are similar to the Blix include the small frame size Raleigh Electric https://www.raleighusa.com/superbe-ie-step-thru ie step through, here is Court's https://electricbikereview.com/raleigh/superbe-ie/ but Raleigh suggest it fits riders from 5'3" because it uses larger 28" wheels. The https://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radcity-step-thru-electric-commuter-bike Step-Thru uses 26" wheels and claims it can fit riders from 4'10", here is Court'shttps://electricbikereview.com/rad-power-bikes/radcity-step-thru/.

AlanDB
3 weeks ago

I think on cruiser or traditional shaped handlebars that bend toward the rider it can be a little tricky to get an arm angle and position that allows good visibility without being in the way. My LBS had a little difficulty installing the Mirrycle on my Gazelle Arroyo because the plastic endcap on the grip was oval shaped instead of round, making it difficult to know where exactly to drill in the oval to match up with the handlebar opening. They removed the grip and took great care in measuring ... got a perfect fit and I really like the Mirrycle mirror.

AlanDB
3 weeks ago

Definitely not a good weather day for riding in Iowa Susan! If you have trouble shifting with the Deraileur, you might want to look at a bike that has internal hub gears, although that will probably add some cost. My Gazelle Arroyo has a 8 speed internal geared hub and so far I really like it. It seems like with the Deraileur I was always forgetting to down shift before stopping. Then I had a heck of a time starting up in a high gear. That will not be quite as much of a problem with the hub drive/throttle system on the Blix Aveny though. With the internal geared hub pn my Gazelle, I can shift to whatever gear I want when the bike is stopped.

AlanDB
3 weeks ago

Hello SusanaSchmitzana from a fellow Iowan! I am just a few miles north of you in the Cedar Rapids area. My wife and I are in our 70's and recent e-bike owners. My wife has had the Blix Aveny for a year and loves it. She has multiple health issues, and has said getting her Blix is one of the best decisions she has ever made. I just recently traded my Giant bicycle for a Gazelle Arroyo step thru e-bike but haven't used it much yet. We like to ride on the paved trails in east central IA, especially the Cedar Valley Nature Trail. I know they are working on connecting the corridor trails between Ia. City and CR, so maybe we will meet on the trail some day.

Not sure if you have visited the local bike shop in north CR, but they have a nice selection of e-Bikes and were very helpful and knowledgeable in helping my wife and I select our bikes. I am not sure I am allowed to mention the name of the shop in the forum, but would be happy to share more information if you want to PM me.

In the meantime, welcome to the forum and to the world of e-biking.

Dewey
4 weeks ago

I picked up the Gazelle Ami today but Metro delays made me late for work so I was unable to ask about Bosch walk assist. My first impressions of the Ami are that it is much lighter than my steel bike and the torque + cadence pedal assist does start the motor quickly once I began pedalling, the Nexus 8 IGH is very well set up, much tighter and more precise shifting than my bike's Nexus 8, I attribute this to the Ami's frame being designed for this type of drivetrain and the well engineered axle torque arm bolt tensioners on either side of the rear drop outs vs my bike's lash up using a derailleur style Alfine chain tensioner to compensate.

AlanDB
2 months ago

Thanks ... figured it was something like that, I kind of guessed the 8 and 10 were speeds, but the C, T and S prefix made no sense to me. And I ran across this ad for a Gazelle CityZen C8 HMB S8 (propelbikes.com/product/gazelle-cityzen-c8-hmb-s8/). So it still seems confusing. Maybe the abbreviations make sense in the Dutch language.

Griego
1 year ago

Great site! Thanks to all of those involved.
I have some mid drive bikes in my compare bucket. It's rarely possible to test ride everything I'm interested in even tough I live in a major city (Chicago). That's the toughest part about having the desire to buy an electric bike. I couldn't possibly buy a bike I've never been on but with a little extra help I can certainly narrow it down. I would really appreciate some input from anyone that actually rides any of the following bikes:
Trek XM700+
Gazelle CityZen C8 HM
Walleräng M.01
Raleigh Misceo Sport IE
BULLS SIX50 E2 Street
Thank you in advance!

Jason Agre
2 weeks ago

Gazelle is a great company!

Cookie master
4 months ago

I live near the factory of gazelle😆

Noirnova
5 months ago

1899 euro in europa.

deluxembourg
1 week ago

Where?

Nouchka de Vries
6 months ago

Awesome review btw

Nouchka de Vries
6 months ago

Right now it costs 1800 euro in Holland and I'm about to buy one but I'll wait some more before the price comes down even more. 3000 to 1800 is a big difference. I hope I can get one for 1500 one day.

Nouchka de Vries
6 months ago

Holland♡

polle3600
9 months ago

If people are looking at you funny, it's because you're riding a ladies bike...

Nouchka de Vries
6 months ago

Ano Niem true story

Ano Niem
7 months ago

polle3600 Yeah, but nowadays many men prefer the lady frames. It’s said to be much safer in case of an accident as well.

Farbror Joakim
1 year ago

This frame style is a girl's bike, at least in Europe :)
What's the chain tensioner useful for? Other than attracting dirt and clogging up the chain?

Graydon Buchleiter
1 year ago

They're not electric, but do you know anything about workcycles, or anyone who has put up reviews on youtube of a workcycle?

Gaj
1 year ago

So hard to find a good electric bicycle for a reasonable price

Erik Vermeeren
1 year ago

nice review! thx.

Grace Dawson
1 year ago

Very disappointing that ebikes are limited to 25km/h in Australia :(

Michael De Lazzer
1 year ago

It's a play on "citizen". Get it? And when you look at what you get in this bike, at $3800, it's not nearly enough power for the money, and there's no throttle mode. It's a pretty sloppy build (wires hanging out), everything feels tacked on. At that price point the battery should be integrated. When you look at what Vintage Electric and Luna Cycle are doing, this is a poor value.

Ano Niem
7 months ago

You are comparing a Ferrari to a Skoda. Gazelle is the best in its class. It’s luxury.

Inc Gohd
11 months ago

What i've been told by some at different bike stores that it's nothing more than an urban model with a motor on it, literally. And it shows there's nothing specifically adjusted for ebike purposes. And it felt really, really hard not in a good way. No i'll take a Kalkhoff over this any day.

Wim Ahlers
1 year ago

For Ebikes the power is limited to 250 Watts maximum by law in The Netherlands.
You can buy bicycles with more power in The Netherlands but than they are in a different category called a pedelec (500 to 1000 watts, though anything over 250 watts is already considered to be a pedelec). For a pedelec you need a license plate and you must wear a helmet. That being said, you can easily average 40 to 50 kilometres per hour with a pedelec. If you want to cycle faster in The Netherlands you can buy a velomobile. They can achieve speeds of 60 up to about 80 kilometres per hour (occasionally faster, given the right circumstances). But a velomobile is heavy, big, more cumbersome in city traffic, and cost over $6000 to $12000.

The 250 watts engine powered Ebike is the most popular and most sold Ebike in The Netherlands because it is more flexible in, and for, the Dutch infrastructure. The top speed is limited to 25 kilometres per hour by law. For export to countries with no speed limit rules the top speed is usually set to about 32 kilometres per hour for these types of electric engines.

There are lousy internal hub systems but this (most likely) is the Shimano 8-speed. Strong enough and reliable enough.
If you want a top internal hub system you can go for a Rohloff hub. They never break! But they cost over $1000, and as such are used for the higher end market.

About the wires hanging out ... Dutch bikes give enough space to the cables so that they do not snap or get damaged when your front steering wheel makes a 360 degree turn (for instance, when you fall). However, it usually is no problem to shorten the cables.

As to the throttle modes, there usually are several power modes (usually 4 or 5) to choose from. From economic to full power.

The disadvantage of an integrated battery is two folded:
a) You need to take your bike to a loading point. It is easier to take the battery to a power socket. Plus easier to have a backup battery. Easier to replace too.
b) An electric bike without the battery makes it less likely to get stolen.

Overall, the Dutch prefer detachable batteries. However, if you wish, you can buy a Vanmoof bicycle. Another Dutch quality bike in which everything(!) is integrated. See:
https://www.vanmoof.com/en_nl/bikes/electrified-s-straight
However, with a Vanmoof you are highly dependent on your dealer when something brakes down.

garygareth
1 year ago

Michael De Lazzer agree the prices are a total rip off for these bikes you'd be better off buying an e kit off eBay and much more powerful for under a grand.

Martian Megafauna
1 year ago

I don't think that you can make a broad statement that the internal hubs will give better reliability than a derailleur system.
It is true that the internal hubs will require less maintenance, and be less subject to weather/dirt etc. but the internal hubs are typically somewhat fragile, and don't hold up well to riders who go hard. I suspect the additional forces of an electric drivetrain will make that even more interesting.

VelociPat
1 year ago

$3,799 for an electric bike?
You CAN'T be serious?!?

Ano Niem
7 months ago

mtlnascarfan No. It’s not a niche market. Maybe in the states it is, but in countries like Netherlands and Denmark, there are more bikes than there are people. People in cities use their bike, as you use your car. Thus, there are higher standards for bicycles.

Afdhal Atiff Tan Amin Husaini Tan
1 year ago

I build one myself out of £150 ebay kit (£100 for battery and charger). ;)

garygareth
1 year ago

yeah absolutely it kind of reminds me of when flat screen tvs came out first most of the 42inch screens were around 6000 euro. now you could pick up a 52 inch smart tv for around 499 euros. I reckon in around 5 years time you'll see most people using ebikes as the price falls and more company's get involved.

VelociPat
1 year ago

Apparently it's a "niche" market. Soon they'll sell so few bikes that they'll be forced to lower their prices in order to sell any bikes. Either that or they go out of business. At $3800 each, I imagine they'll sell maybe 6 or 7 bikes a year Eventually people will wake up and realize that companies like this are actually ripping them off.

garygareth
1 year ago

mtlnascarfan some are charging even up to 10 grand for their premium models. Its fucking crazy.

E°Bike Company Mainz
1 year ago

With the german Bosch system- a very Niveau combination !

E°Bike Company Mainz
1 year ago

NovaColonel Autocorrection! :) I mean a very nice combination.

NovaColonel
1 year ago

A very level combination? What do you mean?

Nisco Racing
1 year ago

Are there any eBikes that are below $1000 ?

Winvsking
1 year ago

Try Sondors Thin, its not of the greatest quality though

Bruce G
1 year ago

I bought this bike in Brisbane Australia about 4 weeks ago. Its really hot right now in summer & this thing is great. It is super quiet & the assistance from the Bosch motor just powers it up even steep hills or into strong headwinds. It cost nearly $4000 but build quality & finish is excellent, as is the way it rides. Im planning on commuting on it rather than being lazy & driving or riding a motorcycle. Even a trip to the shops for groceries makes you laugh as its just so quick & easy to ride. You can tell Gazelle know how to build a quality product. Top stuff.

Ano Niem
7 months ago

Bruce G How long you think it will last?

oz davidov
1 year ago

Why you dont ride regular bikes? And what do you prefer A Regular Bike Or an electric bike

oz davidov
1 year ago

injured riders should use an ebike, im not saying this is a bad thing, im just saying that a normal bike is good as an ebike

oz davidov
1 year ago

normal bikes can go faster then an ebike, This reduces weight, you do exercise, and you have more control on the bike

PonderDuke
1 year ago

It's about 2100 euro in Europe. Depending on which max speed option and which battery pack you choose.

Sjaak De Winter
1 year ago

2100 euro?
Yep, but only with the smallest battery.

PonderDuke
1 year ago

Also there are tuning boxes for example the "Bad Ass Tuning Box" which will make the motor run faster because there is a limiter on it. But of course that voids your warranty and might be illegal.

PonderDuke
1 year ago

Gazelle Cityzen C8 HMB 25km = 15 mph you can recognize this by the black letters "Bosch" on the motor. This motor is called Active Line by Bosch
Starting price 2019 euros

Men's version has a diamond frame. Women's version has the trapez frame.
Is has 3 battery options called:
Silver battery (standard) 300Wh 8,3 ah range upto 80 km / 50 miles
Gold battery 400Wh 11,1 Ah range up to 107 km = 93 miles + 150 euros
Platinum battery 500 Wh 13,8Ah range up to 134 km = 83 miles + 250 euros

Women's frame sizes
49cm
53cm
57cm
61cm

Men's frame sizes
53cm
57cm
61cm

Frame Colors:
- dim grey matt
- black matt (as shown in de video)

Then there's the Gazelle Cityzen Speed 45km = 28 mph you can recognize this by the red letters "Bosch" on the motor. (performence line) Starting price 2399 euros, but this doesn't have the internal nexus gear hub. It has a Shimano Deore 10 speed derailleur.

They might have different models for North America and Europe. The models I mentioned are sold in Europe.

Claudio Lavacca
1 year ago

Wow, that's actually quite a good price. I might give it a shot.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Interesting, does that mean this is offered as a speed pedelec in Europe? I'd love to hear more about the different speeds being offered :)