Gazelle NL C7 HMB Review

Gazelle Nl Electric Bike Review
Gazelle Nl
Gazelle Nl Enclosed Plastic Chain Cover
Gazelle Nl Bosch Powerpack 400 Rack Battery
Gazelle Nl Rubberized Ergonomic Grips Swept Bars Bosch Intuvia Display Panel
Gazelle Nl Magura Hydraulic Rim Brakes
Gazelle Nl Custom Selle Royale Comfort Saddle
Gazelle Nl Alloy Front Rack 10 Kg Max Load
Gazelle Nl Shimano Nexus Inter 7 Hub
Gazelle Nl Electric Bike Review
Gazelle Nl
Gazelle Nl Enclosed Plastic Chain Cover
Gazelle Nl Bosch Powerpack 400 Rack Battery
Gazelle Nl Rubberized Ergonomic Grips Swept Bars Bosch Intuvia Display Panel
Gazelle Nl Magura Hydraulic Rim Brakes
Gazelle Nl Custom Selle Royale Comfort Saddle
Gazelle Nl Alloy Front Rack 10 Kg Max Load
Gazelle Nl Shimano Nexus Inter 7 Hub

Summary

  • A comfortable, stable and capable cargo bike... that's almost like a cruiser with large sweeping bars, an adjustable stem, oversized comfort saddle and puncture-resistant balloon tires
  • Impressive two-year comprehensive warranty, thoroughly tested against UV and salt water exposure, unique styling and accents, two color options and three frame sizes to choose from
  • Tough Aluminum fenders, fully enclosed chain cover, 7-speed internally geared hub that can be shifted at standstill (requires less maintenance), sturdy front and rear rack with bungee cords
  • Heavier and more expensive, oversized double-leg kickstand, unique locking headset (to keep the front rack stable for loading), integrated LED lights, reflective tires and powerful hydraulic rim brakes

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Gazelle

Model:

NL C7 HMB

Price:

$2,999

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62.5 lbs (28.34 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.4 lbs (2.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

18.1 in (45.97 cm)19.2 in (48.76 cm)20.9 in (53.08 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

20.5" Standover Height

Frame Types:

Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Satin Sky Blue, Matte Black

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Steel

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Front and Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1×7 Shimano Nexus Inter 7

Shifter Details:

Shimano Nexus Grip Shift on Right

Cranks:

Miranda, Alloy

Pedals:

Wellgo Plastic Platform with Rubber Tread

Headset:

Adjustable Locking, 1-1/8"

Stem:

Alloy Adjustable Angle

Handlebar:

Cruiser Aluminum, 26" Length

Brake Details:

Magura HS 11 Hydraulic Linear Pull

Grips:

Rubberized Ergonomic, Brown

Saddle:

Selle Royal Comfort

Seat Post:

GAZ, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

200 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Gazelle RODi Alloy, Stainless Eyelettes

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 15G Front 14G Rear, Silver

Tire Brand:

CST Metropolitan Palmbay, 700 x 48c (28" x 2")

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Protection Level 1, Reflective Sidewall Tape, 30-65 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta

Accessories:

Wide Alloy Fenders, Oversized Alloy Rear Rack with Bungee Cords, Oversized Front Rack (10 kg Max Load), AXA Defender Cafe Lock, Enclosed Plastic Chain Cover, Integrated Trelock Rear LED Light, Integrated Spanninga LED Headlight, Center Kickstand, Twist Bell on Left

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack with LED Charge Level Indicator, Motor Starts at 20 RPM, 2.2 Amp Charger 1.7 lbs

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Active Line

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Torque:

48 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

90 miles (145 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Intuvia, Removable Backlit Grayscale LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Button Feedback, Micro USB Charging Port

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Combined Torque, Cadence and Speed Measured 1,000 Times Per Second), (Eco 40%, Tour 100%, Sport 150%, Turbo 25%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Royal Dutch Gazelle is a practically legendary, highly trusted, bicycle company from the Netherlands dating back to 1892. They design, test and build their bikes with passion and attention to detail. There’s a lot of fun history that I’m learning about the company with each of these visits to shops and their US headquarters in Sourthern California including a children’s cartoon, hand-painted emblems and other artistic accents on some of their bikes. One such accent can be seen on the NL C7 HMB electric bicycle here, note the little writing on the saddle that says “Miss. Grace, this is not a bike, be happy, Miss. Grace lifestyle. Make today ridiculously amazing” with little butterflies and a heart stamped emblem. As a gentleman rider… the matte black frame would probably fit my style more than the pretty baby blue seen in the video and photos here, but I can still appreciate the artistic quality of this product, the quote and the overall experience of the bike. And I can only dream of the day when I meet this mysterious “Miss. Grace” out on a bike ride! Perhaps someone can chime in with a comment about this quote as I’d love to learn about its origin and inspiration :)

What you’re getting here is a comfortable but heavy, easy to mount and adjust but expensive, feature-complete electric bicycle powered by top-level drive systems from Bosch. Whether you’re tall or short, the bike can be adjusted for good fit and there are multiple frame sizes to start from. I love the Dutch style of cycling, it’s much more relaxed and enjoyable than the sporty American styles I mostly see here. This is definitely a cruiser style electric bike with the larger bars but it also fits into the small-cargo category with front and rear racks. You could ride it as a commuter, put a child seat on the back or level the playing field with more active friends zipping around town. The top speed is 20 mph and you can easily hit and maintain this in the highest level of assist. The motor is decidedly gentler than the Bosch Performance or Performance CX variants but that soft quality contributes to better range and a more stable predictable feel. There are some compromises with the design however, mounting the battery up high in the rear rack increases frame flex, degrades handling and makes for a more dangerous tipping hazard… Thankfully, this last point is fully addressed by a large double-legged kickstand. And you can take the battery off if you want, it can be charged on or off the frame. The kickstand is useful for parking the bike but also critical for loading up the racks. And the front rack is interesting to me because it turns as you steer the bike. This can be intuitive and natural but because it’s not frame-mounted there is a change in how steering works, it’s slower and heavier and there is the chance of dumping your load if the weight overwhelms you… But wait, there’s actually a headset lock that keeps this from happening if you’re parked. This is something I’ve never seen before and a very clever solution for loading. One final note, you get bungee straps in the back but nothing up front, I guess you’d use velcro or other tie downs? Honestly, I’m not sure I’d ever use the front rack myself because I don’t have a basket full of cute kittens to put there… but oh, I wish I did! And I am excitedly searching Pinterest for pictures of others who are already doing it.

Powering the drive system and a set of integrated LED lights is a 400 watt-hour Lithium-ion battery pack that I’d call average in capacity. Expect great range however because of the mid-drive motor, smooth tires and lack of suspension. Again, the bike is heavier than most (about 10 lbs more) but for that weight you get reliable hub shifting, sturdy but quiet Aluminum fenders, the two racks, the lights, the larger handlebar, the oversized saddle and a sturdier frame. It’s a trade off that seems worth it for many situations. The battery doesn’t take a huge hit from the extra weight and as long as you shift properly the bike will do fine. Expect to reach upwards of 30 miles per charge on even the highest level of assist if conditions are good to moderate. You can even hit 60 miles if you help out and lower the assist setting down somewhat. One neat feature on the most recent Bosch display panel is a shift recommendation arrow indicator. this tells you when the motor would like you to shift up or down to optimize efficiency. When I ride, I rarely pay attention to this arrow because I like to shift late to reduce knee-strain (this is how I got into ebikes to begin with, needing extra support). If you’re someone who hasn’t been cycling a lot and are unsure of when to shift, or even intimidated by shifting, this is going to be an enjoyable ebike to start with. Shifting can be done at standstill and you don’t have to worry about mashing and grinding as much because of the internally geared hub AND a shift sensor built into the motor controller that tells it to ease off as it detects your actions. The system isn’t perfect and I may be overselling it but truly, this is a great and reliable combination of technologies.

Operating the bike is quick and intuitive. Once the battery is charged and mounted into the rack (it slides in from the back), just press the power button at the lower left corner of the Bosch Intuvia display panel up front. This display is large, has an automatic backlight for use in dark conditions and can be swiveled to reduce glare AND removed for safe keeping. Just like the battery, taking the display off when parked outside will reduce wear and prevent tampering. At ~5.5 lbs, the battery is easy to carry along (it has an integrated handle at the rear) and there’s an LED indicator that tells you how full it is without having to mount and power up the bike. I use this feature when I haven’t gone riding for a time to make sure I don’t have to do a quick fill-up. The charger is light and portable, weighing in at about 1.5 lbs and putting out 4 Amps (that’s twice as fast as the average charger). To maximize battery life I suggest charging every month if you haven’t used the bike and storing in a cool dry location. Okay, so back to the display! Once it’s on, you can press the light bulb button at the lower right corner to activate the front and rear LED lights. You can hold the reset button to clear your trip stats or you can press the i button at the top right to cycle through odometer, max speed, average speed, clock range and other sections. Range is very cool because it gives you much more feedback than the four-bar battery info-graphic. I do wish the battery indicator had more bars or a percentage vs. the simple 20% bars. While in the Range menu, just arrow up or down on the button pad mounted near the left grip to see how far the bike thinks it can take you before running out of juice. As a fit person, I am capable of riding a 60 lb electric bicycle unpowered but I’d much rather pay attention to the range stats and battery indicator to reduce my chances of being stranded… much better to lower the assist level and make it home with help. It’s a cool feature and that i button I mentioned before is replicated on the left button pad so you can click it and the up/down keys without taking your hands off while riding. It becomes intuitive and there’s a satisfying click with each press, letting you know that the bike will be responding.

As a higher-end, more expensive and more polished e-bike product, there’s a lot to say about this thing. The grips match the saddle and offer a large ergonomic touch point. I love the twist-bell near the base of the left grip that stays out of the way but is still easy to use and kind of matches the grip shifting piece on the right. The stem can be adjusted to angle up and swivel the bars. The chain cover so completely surrounds the chain that it probably won’t need cleaning or lubrication unless you really get wet and dirty… and even then, this electric bicycle only has one cog up front and one in the rear. There is practically zero chance of the chain bouncing off or getting broken. You do pay a lot for this bicycle but it’s sold through quality dealers that will help you get setup correctly from the start and continue to service your ride for years. Bosch motors are known for being trouble-free and if by chance it does get messed up… they simply slap a new one on. Same deal for the battery pack, because it’s made by a major international company, you can get replacements more easily. You get a two-year comprehensive warranty with this bike and a sense that you’re supporting a company with employees who are cared for… creative designers that are permitted to express themselves. The seat quote on this bike is unique, something I have not see on any other electric bicycle product to date (and I’ve reviewed over 500 models). None of them have anything like it… and that’s really neat :)

Pros:

  • Despite being built around a completely rigid frame (no suspension fork or suspension seat post) the Gazelle NL feels good thanks to its larger tires, comfort sprung saddle and swept back bars with rubberized ergonomic grips
  • As someone who has had to ride in traffic and commute in the dark on occasion, I love the integrated lights, white accents and reflective tires on this bike, it shows up and also helps you see where you’re going without needing to buy and fiddle with accessories
  • Not only are the tires reflective and larger (for better stability and comfort) but they also have a protective lining to reduce punctures… changing flats on an ebike is less fun given the weight, it’s easier on a mid-drive like this because there are fewer wires going to the wheels
  • The rear rack comes with an integrated bungee strap for securing loose items quickly, has a nice large platform on top and smaller gauge bars on the sides for clip-on panniers (though the tubing was a little fatter than I’m used to seeing and might not fit all pannier clips)
  • You get lots of stopping power with the hydraulic rim brakes on this bike, they produce more leverage than hydraulic disc brakes because they grab further out on the wheels and have adjustable reach levers so people with smaller hands can reach easily (or if you’ve got gloves on), one reason they might have chosen these vs. disc brakes is because of the internally geared hub at the rear which takes up more space at the dropout
  • In addition to full-length fenders, there’s a fully-enclosed chain cover that will keep your pants or dress clean and help the drivetrain to run longer and quieter
  • This step-thru frame comes in several sizes for the correct fit and is reinforced with double-tubing so it’s less flexy feeling than some others, this is important with the racks in front and rear
  • I must have some Dutch in me because the swept back bars, adjustable stem and upright body position this bike delivers feels great… my back and neck weren’t stressed and I could comfortably look around while riding
  • Whether you’re loading the front or rear rack, the large double-leg kickstand offers a stable platform for the bike, this is considered a mini-cargo bike and is truly capable, could also work well with a child seat
  • The motor is efficient and responsive, it measures three signals (wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque) 1,000 times per second so you feel in control, it’s also centered on the frame which keeps the weight balanced
  • Bosch makes three mid-drive motors (at the time of this review) and the Active Line is their most efficient, smoothest functioning version, it’s perfect for neighborhood cruising but still very capable for climbing and hauling as you pedal along, especially with 7 gears
  • Being able to switch gears at standstill is pretty neat, it comes in handy when you have to stop at a signal or start on an incline, you get that from the internally geared hub on this ebike and it’s also going to stay cleaner and get bumped out of tune less easily than a traditional cassette and derailleur
  • The Gazelle NL C7 HMB comes with a cafe lock designed to secure the rear wheel for short in/out visits to the “cafe”
  • I was AMAZED by the locking headset that keeps the front rack from tipping as you load and unload the bike, be careful transitioning from loading to riding and vice-versa however… rememeber to lock and unlock this accordingly while also keeping the bike stable
  • Apparently Gazelle puts their bikes through a gauntlet of tests including UV fade and salt water exposure to make sure they hold up to a myriad of real-life conditions… I wonder if they ever toss their bikes into the Amsterdam canals? I hear that’s popular with locals :P
  • All of the cables for shifting, braking and powering the bike are internally routed through the frame to reduce snags and make it look nice
  • The headlight is mounted below the front rack so it shouldn’t get blocked by cargo, it also aims wherever you steer and can be tilted up or down manually
  • Clever bell built right into the left grip interface, just twist and it rings! No bulky tacky thing mounted to the bars like on other bikes
  • The display has a littel Micr-USB port ont he right edge so you could maintain your phone for GPS or a music player or other lights (like holiday lights on the bike for fun!), the bar is pretty big so this is a good place to mount your stuff or maybe a cup holder since there are no bottle cage bosses

Cons:

  • This is a heavier electric bike weighing in at around 62 lbs, I weighed it with the the front and rear racks attached to the bike… the lights, fenders and internally geared hub all add to the weight
  • The front rack is connected to the fork and turns when you steer the bike, this isn’t as sturdy or stable feeling as a headtube mounted rack but their design doesn’t seem to dump side to side as easily as some I’ve seen and it can be more intuitive to see the rack turn vs. not
  • Rear-rack batteries take up weight that might otherwise be used for cargo and tend to increase frame flex and a sort of “crack the whip” feeling vs. being low and centered, it’s an understandable trade-off to keep the downtube open and make mounting and standing with the bike easier
  • I didn’t see bottle cage bosses on the top tube or seat tube, you could always get a trunk bag with a bottle holster like this but I feel like they could add these in the future and it would be nice to use with a folding lock, mini pump or other accessory

Resources:

More Gazelle Reviews

Gazelle Arroyo C8 HMB Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A highly adjustable, feature-complete, city style electric bike with long fenders and enclosed chain cover to keep you clean and integrated lights to keep you safe, keyed-alike frame lock adds convenience. Available in four frame sizes and three colorways, premium paint and marine-grade hardware were chosen…...

Gazelle Avenue C8 Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A durable, streamlined, wave style step-thru electric bicycle from an established European brand with an excellent track record of quality and service, available in three frame sizes for improved fit. Uses one of the lightest, quietest, and most efficient mid-drive motors from Shimano with an…...

Gazelle CityZen T10 Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A feature-complete city style electric bike that's lighter than competing models and more sporty, the narrow handlebars let you squeeze through traffic and doorways easily. Premium alloy coated fenders are tough and quiet, plastic chain guard keeps your pants clean,…...

2017 Gazelle Arroyo C8 HMB Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A highly adjustable, feature-complete, city style electric bike with long fenders that have an integrated headlight and enclosed chain cover keep you clean and dry, integrated keyed-alike cafe lock adds convenience. Available in three frame sizes with the small and medium being wave and the large…...

Gazelle CityZen C8 HM Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

An efficient urban style electric bike with tight fenders, integrated LED lights, a cargo rack with bungee cords and a cafe lock for quick stops. Available in four frame sizes (three trapez mid-step and two diamond high-step), the battery pack…...

Gazelle Arroyo C8 HM Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A wonderful commuting platform with full-coverage fenders, premium integrated lights, suspension fork and suspension seat post, adjustable stem and more. Clean single-sprocket drivetrain with fully enclosed chain guard cover, eight speed internally geared hub that…...


Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

John from Connecticut
3 days ago

Ditto on the welcome ! and what a really cool looking bike. Love the color.

David Berry
3 days ago

AM -

Welcome. Can you let us know a bit about your Gazelle which looks like the perfect bike for a European cyclist-friendly environment. It has several intriguing features that are not familiar to most of us: some obvious like the chainguard and others almost hidden like the brakes’ discs that look like they are there for cooling purposes only (drum brakes rather than disc brakes?).

David

altitudeman
4 days ago

My running name is Altitudeman that comes from working in the aerospace industrie.Now retierd and into allsorts but ebike particulary hello to everyone and its nice to be here.I am riding a Gazelle chamonix innergy and love it .Good rides were i live so allways on the go.

JoePah
6 days ago

That is some commute dude!

I would make sure that your bike route would be legal for an Ebike, and specifically what class eBike

You can average 19-20 mph if there isn't any traffic and don't have stop lights.

And I don't know if you want a new bike or not, but have you considered an ebike kit? You could get away with a very light rear geared hub motor, and put a large battery on it... All for less than $1500 + your bike

If you do want a off the shelf electric bike, the STromer is a perfect commuter bike... Comfortable, Reliable fast and overall excellent quality. It is heavy and rear hub motor. You can buy leftover models cheap.

ebubar
6 days ago

Have only seen shades of what I'm wondering covered in here. I currently commute 30-36 miles roundtrip on my adventure bike (Jamis Renegade). I have been doing this 5 days a week for the past 3 years. With starts and stops and a couple decent hills it takes me between an hour 15 and an hour 45 minutes each way. Thus i'm used to 3+ hours in the saddle every day and haven't tired of it for many years. According to Strava, I don't kill myself on my rides and put out around an average of 120 - 130 watts on most rides. Due to her job and the expenses of housing in the area (DC Metro area) I may end up with a 54 mile roundtrip commute. This is a bit far to do daily on my adventure bike. I'm considering the plausibility of getting an ebike to ride the full distance at least a few days a week. I can park the bike in my office and charge in the mornings. I'd hope to average around 20 mph over the 26-27 miles each way so that I'm spending roughly the same time on the bike as I currently am. Rough back of the envelope calculations make me think I can get it done with a Class 3 bike to use a low pedal assist setting to give me some increased acceleration from stops and maintain higher speed on flats and a higher setting to get me up hills faster. I'd endeavor to not run the battery to empty each way, and instead charge at work and in the evenings. Figuring roughly 2 years of good battery performance from daily-ish commuting during the academic year (physics prof so not a strict schedule in the summers).

Looking at 250 Watt, middrive and 500-ish Wh.

1) Am I crazy? Most topics like this that I've seen have assumed the time in the saddle would be impossible. I'm already putting in that time so I know its not too much saddle time, though i'm not used to that time at such speeds.

2) I've got my eye on the Raleigh Redux iE Step Over (from a local shop that specializes in ebikes). Tried that one, a Specialized Vado (nice, but the cruiser-ish positioning doesn't seem good for the distance i'm planning) and another that I don't recall (it was a weaker midrive model with a lower torque motor). Those were the only models in my $3k-ish price range that the shop recommended. They have some that were $5k+ (nope) and some Gazelle bikes (which were limited to Class 2 - so they didn't recommend those).

3) I haven't cared for suspension forks, but are they really nice to have at sustained higher ebike speeds?

Just seeking thoughts from the wider ebike community to confirm my research thus far is sound.

FYI - 5'8", 160 lbs. Thanks in advance for any tips!

AlanDB
1 week ago

I posted this in another thread, but will repeat the story here as it is more relevant in this thread.

I have a new Gazelle Arroyo that has the Bosch/Intuvia Performance motor and 500 Powerpack battery. I recently made a 21 mile ride on a paved rail trail that is fairly flat. The day started quite windy with sustained winds of about 15 mph and higher gusts, mostly from the side, but slightly head on. As you might know, the wind subsided for the return part of the ride where it may have been a slight advantage. I am fairly heavy ... total weight of me, bike and gear would be close to 300#. I rode the entire 21 miles with the eco assist mode. It was a casual ride with just a few stops. My average moving speed was about 12 mph, based on the Garmin Oregon GPS I had with me.

This range analysis is based solely on the Intuvia range estimate in Eco mode. I started the ride with the battery fully topped off. The Intuvia calculated my range in Eco mode at 62 miles as I started the ride. As I continued on the first part of the ride, the range calculation continued to increase. About 8 miles in, it topped out with an estimated range of 84 miles, and then started to gradually go down. At the end of my 21 mile ride, the Intuvia showed that I still had a range of 72 miles. The battery meter still had all 5 bars.

So ... 72 miles plus the 21 I rode gives 93 miles. I realize that this is not a very scientific test for range, and I wouldn't really expect to be able to go 93 miles under assist. But all-in-all I was quite impressed and it gives me some confidence that I could take a much longer ride without worrying about losing assist.

drmorison
2 weeks ago

Thank you everyone for you excellent advice. I went ahead and purchased a new Gazelle Arroyo HMB.

Dewey
3 weeks ago

Court listed a few ebikes that might better fit the shorter person: https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/the-best-electric-bikes-for-small-people.22762/ The list is a few years old and there are others, I'm currently test riding a https://www.gazellebikes.com/en-us/gazelle-easyflow-v2 with 26" wheels and a low step over height, it comes in three sizes and the small 45 frame would fit you, Gazelle fit shorter crank arms that are a better length for shorter riders, and the handlebar adjusts easily by lifting a lever to change the position to suit you. But it is almost twice the price of the Blix Aveny, on that ebike you only need the bigger battery if you want to ride further or want to recharge the battery less often, the standard 400wh battery will go at least 20 miles on one full charge, probably further depending on how much you pedal vs use the throttle, the larger 630wh battery would go at least 30 miles and again probably further, calculate the total distance you need to go there and back again. ebike batteries are usually rated for a certain number of recharging cycles before they need to be replaced, my county accepts them for recycling, you can then buy a replacement battery no need to throw the whole ebike away.

Other ebikes that are similar to the Blix include the small frame size Raleigh Electric https://www.raleighusa.com/superbe-ie-step-thru ie step through, here is Court's https://electricbikereview.com/raleigh/superbe-ie/ but Raleigh suggest it fits riders from 5'3" because it uses larger 28" wheels. The https://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radcity-step-thru-electric-commuter-bike Step-Thru uses 26" wheels and claims it can fit riders from 4'10", here is Court'shttps://electricbikereview.com/rad-power-bikes/radcity-step-thru/.

AlanDB
3 weeks ago

I think on cruiser or traditional shaped handlebars that bend toward the rider it can be a little tricky to get an arm angle and position that allows good visibility without being in the way. My LBS had a little difficulty installing the Mirrycle on my Gazelle Arroyo because the plastic endcap on the grip was oval shaped instead of round, making it difficult to know where exactly to drill in the oval to match up with the handlebar opening. They removed the grip and took great care in measuring ... got a perfect fit and I really like the Mirrycle mirror.

AlanDB
3 weeks ago

Definitely not a good weather day for riding in Iowa Susan! If you have trouble shifting with the Deraileur, you might want to look at a bike that has internal hub gears, although that will probably add some cost. My Gazelle Arroyo has a 8 speed internal geared hub and so far I really like it. It seems like with the Deraileur I was always forgetting to down shift before stopping. Then I had a heck of a time starting up in a high gear. That will not be quite as much of a problem with the hub drive/throttle system on the Blix Aveny though. With the internal geared hub pn my Gazelle, I can shift to whatever gear I want when the bike is stopped.

AlanDB
3 weeks ago

Hello SusanaSchmitzana from a fellow Iowan! I am just a few miles north of you in the Cedar Rapids area. My wife and I are in our 70's and recent e-bike owners. My wife has had the Blix Aveny for a year and loves it. She has multiple health issues, and has said getting her Blix is one of the best decisions she has ever made. I just recently traded my Giant bicycle for a Gazelle Arroyo step thru e-bike but haven't used it much yet. We like to ride on the paved trails in east central IA, especially the Cedar Valley Nature Trail. I know they are working on connecting the corridor trails between Ia. City and CR, so maybe we will meet on the trail some day.

Not sure if you have visited the local bike shop in north CR, but they have a nice selection of e-Bikes and were very helpful and knowledgeable in helping my wife and I select our bikes. I am not sure I am allowed to mention the name of the shop in the forum, but would be happy to share more information if you want to PM me.

In the meantime, welcome to the forum and to the world of e-biking.

Dewey
4 weeks ago

I picked up the Gazelle Ami today but Metro delays made me late for work so I was unable to ask about Bosch walk assist. My first impressions of the Ami are that it is much lighter than my steel bike and the torque + cadence pedal assist does start the motor quickly once I began pedalling, the Nexus 8 IGH is very well set up, much tighter and more precise shifting than my bike's Nexus 8, I attribute this to the Ami's frame being designed for this type of drivetrain and the well engineered axle torque arm bolt tensioners on either side of the rear drop outs vs my bike's lash up using a derailleur style Alfine chain tensioner to compensate.

bob armani
7 months ago

How about the Rubbee compact portable electric drive system reviewed on this forum: https://electricbikereview.com/rubbee/drive-2-0/

There is also a newer version coming soon also on this forum https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/rubbee-x-introduction.15247/#post-121643

Gaby
7 months ago

I was accepted to go Study Abroad for Spring 2018 in South Korea. I travel by car to my home university and either walk or use a golf-cart service to my classes. The golf-cart service is provided for those with different disabilities. I have a very mild form of muscular deficiency. I am perfectly capable of walking and performing normal physical activities, but compared to an average human being, I perform these activities at a slower rate. I am perfectly capable of riding a bike as well :).

While abroad, I will not have a car with me and even though South Korea has a good transportation system, I would like to invest in an e-bike. The university I will be attending is known to be in a 'hilly' location. The e-bike will give me a little boost for those hills and at the same time, I will have a way of transportation. I plan to use the e-bike as a normal bike and use assistance for hills or longer travels.

I am looking for an e-bike that is not too heavy, but my main goal is to find an e-bike that can get me up those steep hills. I have been looking at models such as:

- Populo Sport Electric Bicycle V3
- Faraday Cortland
- Gazelle NL C7 HMB

I understand that all of these models are quite different, but I am new at this and not sure where to start. Please keep in mind that I am a university student and these e-bikes are not cheap. However, I am open to any suggestions! I am open to ALL recommendations :)

E-Wheels
1 year ago

The quietest mid drive on the market at the moment is the Brose motor. If you combine the Brose system that with a Gates carbon belt and an IGH (Nuvinci, Shimano Alfine, Rohloff......) then you will probably have the quietest mid drive ebike you can get at the moment. If you want to research some Brose mid drive ebikes I suggest you check out the Scott E-Silence, Specialized Vado and Bulls Lacuba range. What is your budget.

Zoumios
1 year ago

Absolutely new to Ebikes, and this website, and with that comes outstanding ignorance.

I'm looking for an Ebike that can make it up hills with a bit of ease (so mid-drive?), that doesn't have too many wires and cables, uses a hydraulic brake system, has a rear and/or front racks, doesn't make much or any noise when using the motor, and looks "professional" or "polished."

This would be a commuter/urban/cargo bike. I am in the USA, male, 5' 11,'' 160 lbs.

I've looked at how some of the specs for an Ebike effect performance (motor output in watts, battery voltage in amp/watt hours, motor torque in newton meters), yet I don't know to what degree all of these matter. I've also seen some bikes were the variables are almost identical yet the mile range difference is drastic.

I also don't know what brands are quality and which aren't. I also don't know how much I should be paying for anything.

I've looked at these bikes so far:

Faraday Cortland: (https://electricbikereview.com/faraday/cortland/)
Gazelle NL C7 HMB (https://electricbikereview.com/gazelle/nl-c7-hmb/)
Walleräng M.01 (https://electricbikereview.com/wallerang/m-01/)

The Faraday is what I first started looking at, but I have no clue if it has enough power or not/if it's worth the price. It is, however, quiet and looks amazing.

The Gazelle has great colors, but some of the main parts of the bike look non-durable or ready to break, there are many wires hanging about, and front basket is too clunky.

The Walleräng looks fantastic, has mid-drive, 500w motor output at max, and has (what I think to be) high quality parts and pieces, but it's seems a bit loud. Is that standard? This is the best ebike out of the 3 I have really examined.

For anyone willing to help me out, this is a sizable post, I am open to all knowledge of Ebikes, opinions on brands, opinions on bikes I've listed, and any suggestions you have of Ebikes that would be best fit for me.

Thank you in advance.

Dooneegomaface Ifinnaspring
2 months ago

"Beautiful"...that thing is an abomination.

Sybren Vellinga
3 months ago

Ah. Helmet + ladies bike. Xdd

ArthurDentZaphodBeeb
4 months ago

Gawd-awful design with rear battery and two downtubes. Why not integrate the battery in the downtube? Would improve handling, improve looks and decrease need for stiffer bike to handle that rear battery. Like the fully enclosed chain cover. Why is it so hard for other commuter bikes to do that?

frank doster
11 months ago

Looking for a gift for my wife, I think this might be the one.

Joan M
10 months ago

I LOVE my Gazelle Arroyo. So comfortable, solid build. Have many, many maintenance free miles on her!

Rideoak
1 year ago

The Front- Carriers weight is 3,5 kg!!!... if it`s made of Steel.
Somer Versions are made of Aluminum.
But you "feel" it every Time...

brighton dude
1 year ago

Gazelle is a very well established make in the Netherlands. I live in Brighton in England which is not far from the Netherlands and we have quite a lot of the Gazelle bicycles here.

These bikes are all about practicality. They are purchased by all kinds of people who don't have any particular interest in bicycles or ebikes, they just want cheap transport.

NovaColonel
1 year ago

Those comments are among the most unqualified I've read in a while. Thanks for another great review, Court!
Love the ergonomics of it, but the rest left me rather unimpressed. The HS-11 Maguras are their entry-level line and at that price point you'd expect the HS-22 at least. Also: no suspension = no deal.
I'd love to see a bike with a slightly elevated step-through frame, 27.5+ mountain bike tires and front fork, the CX engine, hub dynamo, integrated fenders and lighting and the perfectly upright granny-sissy seating position. Much akin to a SUV but in form of an e-bike. Maybe one day....

NovaColonel
1 year ago

Thanks a lot for this very qualified reply, ignoring the R&M lineup is hard if one is looking for something as versatile as I had in mind.
Unfortunately, my modest means prohibit me from acquring something that's worth twice the mortgage on the house I don't have. If that's how a mortgage works. Hell, I'm european, how would I know.
Then there's the Conway EMC 427 with a way more reasonable pricetag. It checks all the boxes, but does so somewhat loveless.
https://www.zweiradnetz.de/raeder/elektroraeder/conway-emc-427-elektrorad-52-kaufen?gclid=CPrTxLe_kNMCFYgW0wodwEsKDw
Also there's the Moustache Samedi which I'd totally go for if it hadn't a SRAM derailleur set.
https://www.e-bikeshop.co.uk/Moustache-Electric-Bikes/Moustache-Samedi-X-Road-3-2017

Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

I think we'll be seeing something like you described soon. There are some similar bikes, but none that have all of those spec's at the moment. Maybe you should take a look at the Riese & Müller Charger Mixtie GT. You could easily swap those tires for more mountain bike style if you'd like. The fenders have the clearance for them and the rims are 40mm wide. I hope that helps.

Pablo Ramirez
1 year ago

i need one those because i disabled and is there anyone out there who have a kind heart to give me one of those?

Pablo Ramirez
1 year ago

ElectricBikeReview.com My problem is i don't have money to buy one that is why i am asking for charity.I am from the Philippines.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Hi Pablo, what part of the world do you live in? Do you have any money that could be saved or dedicated towards an electric bike? Maybe I could help you find one that fits your budget. For example, Juiced Bikes just launched the CrossCurrent Air which comes in a mid-step frame and is in the $1k price range: https://electricbikereview.com/juiced-bikes/crosscurrent-air/

George Herman
1 year ago

It looks kind of nerdy. I just could not make myself spend over 3 grand for something like that. No way.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Thanks Georoge, I try to review a mix of ebikes... some affordable and some exotic :)

George Herman
1 year ago

Court's reviews are always excellent. Not his fault these companies charge so much. But there needs to be an awareness of how overly inflated the cost of these E bikes are. But as the old saying goes "A Fool and his money will soon part ways". " There's a sucker born every minute."

Stephan Cook
1 year ago

George Herman yeah. the price does sting a bit. can't fault that assessment.

George Herman
1 year ago

Your most welcome.

Bad Santa
1 year ago

Thanks for your shit opinion.

Nolife2692
1 year ago

awesome review of the e bike bro for me right now as a full time student getting that is not worth my money I rather used a traditional bicycle at this time what do you think about those 500 dollar e bike on amazon is that good to buy in future usage?

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

I hear you Nguyen, my preference is for non-electric bicycles when money is tight. Cheap ebikes can be more trouble than they are worth and have a low resale value (and can cost a lot to fix). Here's a slight upgrade from Amazon but it's folding: https://electricbikereview.com/magnum/classic/ and here's another from Juiced Ebikes (though I have heard about some issues shops are having recently) https://electricbikereview.com/juiced-bikes/crosscurrent-air/ and here are a couple of the better Amazon models I've bought to review... they may not be for sale anymore though: https://electricbikereview.com/brand/vilano/

Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

Court might have reviewed one of those less expensive bikes. I would be really wary of the Amazon bikes unless you see some indication that they can support you well. You're almost guaranteed to have issues and many resellers don't support their remote customers very well.

Glenn Watson
1 year ago

Slight engine noise only at turbo mode otherwise, quiet. It's sort of utilitarian and practical-ish in design but the price-point...

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Good point about the quieter motor operation... that seems a little rare

Tahir Rana
1 year ago

Will fit very well in Oxford, but any where else 😞

Jason Hacker
1 year ago

If you've been to the Netherlands you'll know those racks are meant for carrying people!

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

...drunk people?!

Glenn Watson
1 year ago

hmmm...really?

Chris Bates
1 year ago

Close to legoland :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

I love Legoland XD

Lysle Basinger
1 year ago

Looks very well made. At first I thought it unattractive but its growing on me.
I like viewing you tube videos of the Dutch cargo bike parades. So many kinds of bikes. I would like to see you review the Ancheer 20" folding ebike which doesn't cost more than a kit, (590.00) delivered. Easy way to get in on electric biking for a limited budget. I ride mine on the sidewalks and bike paths and no one realizes I have a motor.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Yeah, I've seen some of those cargo bike parades, lots of DIY bikes... cool. I'll keep an eye out for Ancher (I think I'm in touch with them actually), just a very packed travel schedule and some family reunion/funeral stuff going on

Joe Blogs
1 year ago

that front carrier should be attached to the frame that design will reduce handling when loaded

David Cann
1 year ago

Joe Blogs Couldn't agree more! My Walleräng has a frame mounted front carrier and it's the way to go.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
1 year ago

THAT'S A HIDEOUS BIKE. VERY UGLY AESTHETIC, EWWWW. 😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😲😲😲😲😲😲😲😲😲😨😨😨😨😨😨😨😨😨😨😨

Hey Courtney. How do these ebike companies handle shipping issues ? . Do most ebike companies ship internationally ? .

If I wanted to buy an ebike from a U.S. company while I'm in the states, then move to another country, how would I
get my bike serviced if it needs it ?.

Or can I buy an ebike from a U.S. company from another country ? .

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
1 year ago

+Propel Electric Bikes Thanks propel, I really appreciate the feedback.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Thanks for the comment Chris... yeah, there are shops that can handle shipping of batteries. I have met a couple people who bought new bikes from Europe that weren't available in the US yet and others who had higher power stuff shipped abroad :)

Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

Some companies have shipping restrictions, but we are able to ship internationally. It's a little pricey, but it's possible. For support I would recommend you purchasing a bike that is as reliable as possible. Starting with a Bosch motor is a good step in the right direction.