Gazelle NL C7 HMB Review

Gazelle Nl Electric Bike Review
Gazelle Nl
Gazelle Nl Enclosed Plastic Chain Cover
Gazelle Nl Bosch Powerpack 400 Rack Battery
Gazelle Nl Rubberized Ergonomic Grips Swept Bars Bosch Intuvia Display Panel
Gazelle Nl Magura Hydraulic Rim Brakes
Gazelle Nl Custom Selle Royale Comfort Saddle
Gazelle Nl Alloy Front Rack 10 Kg Max Load
Gazelle Nl Shimano Nexus Inter 7 Hub
Gazelle Nl Electric Bike Review
Gazelle Nl
Gazelle Nl Enclosed Plastic Chain Cover
Gazelle Nl Bosch Powerpack 400 Rack Battery
Gazelle Nl Rubberized Ergonomic Grips Swept Bars Bosch Intuvia Display Panel
Gazelle Nl Magura Hydraulic Rim Brakes
Gazelle Nl Custom Selle Royale Comfort Saddle
Gazelle Nl Alloy Front Rack 10 Kg Max Load
Gazelle Nl Shimano Nexus Inter 7 Hub

Summary

  • A comfortable, stable and capable cargo bike... that's almost like a cruiser with large sweeping bars, an adjustable stem, oversized comfort saddle and puncture-resistant balloon tires
  • Impressive two-year comprehensive warranty, thoroughly tested against UV and salt water exposure, unique styling and accents, two color options and three frame sizes to choose from
  • Tough Aluminum fenders, fully enclosed chain cover, 7-speed internally geared hub that can be shifted at standstill (requires less maintenance), sturdy front and rear rack with bungee cords
  • Heavier and more expensive, oversized double-leg kickstand, unique locking headset (to keep the front rack stable for loading), integrated LED lights, reflective tires and powerful hydraulic rim brakes

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Gazelle

Model:

NL C7 HMB

Price:

$2,999

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62.5 lbs (28.34 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.4 lbs (2.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

18.1 in (45.97 cm)19.2 in (48.76 cm)20.9 in (53.08 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

20.5" Standover Height

Frame Types:

Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Satin Sky Blue, Matte Black

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Steel

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Front and Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1×7 Shimano Nexus Inter 7

Shifter Details:

Shimano Nexus Grip Shift on Right

Cranks:

Miranda, Alloy

Pedals:

Wellgo Plastic Platform with Rubber Tread

Headset:

Adjustable Locking, 1-1/8"

Stem:

Alloy Adjustable Angle

Handlebar:

Cruiser Aluminum, 26" Length

Brake Details:

Magura HS 11 Hydraulic Linear Pull

Grips:

Rubberized Ergonomic, Brown

Saddle:

Selle Royal Comfort

Seat Post:

GAZ, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

200 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Gazelle RODi Alloy, Stainless Eyelettes

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 15G Front 14G Rear, Silver

Tire Brand:

CST Metropolitan Palmbay, 700 x 48c (28" x 2")

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Protection Level 1, Reflective Sidewall Tape, 30-65 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta

Accessories:

Wide Alloy Fenders, Oversized Alloy Rear Rack with Bungee Cords, Oversized Front Rack (10 kg Max Load), AXA Defender Cafe Lock, Enclosed Plastic Chain Cover, Integrated Trelock Rear LED Light, Integrated Spanninga LED Headlight, Center Kickstand, Twist Bell on Left

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack with LED Charge Level Indicator, Motor Starts at 20 RPM, 2.2 Amp Charger 1.7 lbs

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Active Line

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Torque:

48 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

90 miles (145 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Intuvia, Removable Backlit Grayscale LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Button Feedback, Micro USB Charging Port

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Combined Torque, Cadence and Speed Measured 1,000 Times Per Second), (Eco 40%, Tour 100%, Sport 150%, Turbo 25%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Royal Dutch Gazelle is a practically legendary, highly trusted, bicycle company from the Netherlands dating back to 1892. They design, test and build their bikes with passion and attention to detail. There’s a lot of fun history that I’m learning about the company with each of these visits to shops and their US headquarters in Sourthern California including a children’s cartoon, hand-painted emblems and other artistic accents on some of their bikes. One such accent can be seen on the NL C7 HMB electric bicycle here, note the little writing on the saddle that says “Miss. Grace, this is not a bike, be happy, Miss. Grace lifestyle. Make today ridiculously amazing” with little butterflies and a heart stamped emblem. As a gentleman rider… the matte black frame would probably fit my style more than the pretty baby blue seen in the video and photos here, but I can still appreciate the artistic quality of this product, the quote and the overall experience of the bike. And I can only dream of the day when I meet this mysterious “Miss. Grace” out on a bike ride! Perhaps someone can chime in with a comment about this quote as I’d love to learn about its origin and inspiration :)

What you’re getting here is a comfortable but heavy, easy to mount and adjust but expensive, feature-complete electric bicycle powered by top-level drive systems from Bosch. Whether you’re tall or short, the bike can be adjusted for good fit and there are multiple frame sizes to start from. I love the Dutch style of cycling, it’s much more relaxed and enjoyable than the sporty American styles I mostly see here. This is definitely a cruiser style electric bike with the larger bars but it also fits into the small-cargo category with front and rear racks. You could ride it as a commuter, put a child seat on the back or level the playing field with more active friends zipping around town. The top speed is 20 mph and you can easily hit and maintain this in the highest level of assist. The motor is decidedly gentler than the Bosch Performance or Performance CX variants but that soft quality contributes to better range and a more stable predictable feel. There are some compromises with the design however, mounting the battery up high in the rear rack increases frame flex, degrades handling and makes for a more dangerous tipping hazard… Thankfully, this last point is fully addressed by a large double-legged kickstand. And you can take the battery off if you want, it can be charged on or off the frame. The kickstand is useful for parking the bike but also critical for loading up the racks. And the front rack is interesting to me because it turns as you steer the bike. This can be intuitive and natural but because it’s not frame-mounted there is a change in how steering works, it’s slower and heavier and there is the chance of dumping your load if the weight overwhelms you… But wait, there’s actually a headset lock that keeps this from happening if you’re parked. This is something I’ve never seen before and a very clever solution for loading. One final note, you get bungee straps in the back but nothing up front, I guess you’d use velcro or other tie downs? Honestly, I’m not sure I’d ever use the front rack myself because I don’t have a basket full of cute kittens to put there… but oh, I wish I did! And I am excitedly searching Pinterest for pictures of others who are already doing it.

Powering the drive system and a set of integrated LED lights is a 400 watt-hour Lithium-ion battery pack that I’d call average in capacity. Expect great range however because of the mid-drive motor, smooth tires and lack of suspension. Again, the bike is heavier than most (about 10 lbs more) but for that weight you get reliable hub shifting, sturdy but quiet Aluminum fenders, the two racks, the lights, the larger handlebar, the oversized saddle and a sturdier frame. It’s a trade off that seems worth it for many situations. The battery doesn’t take a huge hit from the extra weight and as long as you shift properly the bike will do fine. Expect to reach upwards of 30 miles per charge on even the highest level of assist if conditions are good to moderate. You can even hit 60 miles if you help out and lower the assist setting down somewhat. One neat feature on the most recent Bosch display panel is a shift recommendation arrow indicator. this tells you when the motor would like you to shift up or down to optimize efficiency. When I ride, I rarely pay attention to this arrow because I like to shift late to reduce knee-strain (this is how I got into ebikes to begin with, needing extra support). If you’re someone who hasn’t been cycling a lot and are unsure of when to shift, or even intimidated by shifting, this is going to be an enjoyable ebike to start with. Shifting can be done at standstill and you don’t have to worry about mashing and grinding as much because of the internally geared hub AND a shift sensor built into the motor controller that tells it to ease off as it detects your actions. The system isn’t perfect and I may be overselling it but truly, this is a great and reliable combination of technologies.

Operating the bike is quick and intuitive. Once the battery is charged and mounted into the rack (it slides in from the back), just press the power button at the lower left corner of the Bosch Intuvia display panel up front. This display is large, has an automatic backlight for use in dark conditions and can be swiveled to reduce glare AND removed for safe keeping. Just like the battery, taking the display off when parked outside will reduce wear and prevent tampering. At ~5.5 lbs, the battery is easy to carry along (it has an integrated handle at the rear) and there’s an LED indicator that tells you how full it is without having to mount and power up the bike. I use this feature when I haven’t gone riding for a time to make sure I don’t have to do a quick fill-up. The charger is light and portable, weighing in at about 1.5 lbs and putting out 4 Amps (that’s twice as fast as the average charger). To maximize battery life I suggest charging every month if you haven’t used the bike and storing in a cool dry location. Okay, so back to the display! Once it’s on, you can press the light bulb button at the lower right corner to activate the front and rear LED lights. You can hold the reset button to clear your trip stats or you can press the i button at the top right to cycle through odometer, max speed, average speed, clock range and other sections. Range is very cool because it gives you much more feedback than the four-bar battery info-graphic. I do wish the battery indicator had more bars or a percentage vs. the simple 20% bars. While in the Range menu, just arrow up or down on the button pad mounted near the left grip to see how far the bike thinks it can take you before running out of juice. As a fit person, I am capable of riding a 60 lb electric bicycle unpowered but I’d much rather pay attention to the range stats and battery indicator to reduce my chances of being stranded… much better to lower the assist level and make it home with help. It’s a cool feature and that i button I mentioned before is replicated on the left button pad so you can click it and the up/down keys without taking your hands off while riding. It becomes intuitive and there’s a satisfying click with each press, letting you know that the bike will be responding.

As a higher-end, more expensive and more polished e-bike product, there’s a lot to say about this thing. The grips match the saddle and offer a large ergonomic touch point. I love the twist-bell near the base of the left grip that stays out of the way but is still easy to use and kind of matches the grip shifting piece on the right. The stem can be adjusted to angle up and swivel the bars. The chain cover so completely surrounds the chain that it probably won’t need cleaning or lubrication unless you really get wet and dirty… and even then, this electric bicycle only has one cog up front and one in the rear. There is practically zero chance of the chain bouncing off or getting broken. You do pay a lot for this bicycle but it’s sold through quality dealers that will help you get setup correctly from the start and continue to service your ride for years. Bosch motors are known for being trouble-free and if by chance it does get messed up… they simply slap a new one on. Same deal for the battery pack, because it’s made by a major international company, you can get replacements more easily. You get a two-year comprehensive warranty with this bike and a sense that you’re supporting a company with employees who are cared for… creative designers that are permitted to express themselves. The seat quote on this bike is unique, something I have not see on any other electric bicycle product to date (and I’ve reviewed over 500 models). None of them have anything like it… and that’s really neat :)

Pros:

  • Despite being built around a completely rigid frame (no suspension fork or suspension seat post) the Gazelle NL feels good thanks to its larger tires, comfort sprung saddle and swept back bars with rubberized ergonomic grips
  • As someone who has had to ride in traffic and commute in the dark on occasion, I love the integrated lights, white accents and reflective tires on this bike, it shows up and also helps you see where you’re going without needing to buy and fiddle with accessories
  • Not only are the tires reflective and larger (for better stability and comfort) but they also have a protective lining to reduce punctures… changing flats on an ebike is less fun given the weight, it’s easier on a mid-drive like this because there are fewer wires going to the wheels
  • The rear rack comes with an integrated bungee strap for securing loose items quickly, has a nice large platform on top and smaller gauge bars on the sides for clip-on panniers (though the tubing was a little fatter than I’m used to seeing and might not fit all pannier clips)
  • You get lots of stopping power with the hydraulic rim brakes on this bike, they produce more leverage than hydraulic disc brakes because they grab further out on the wheels and have adjustable reach levers so people with smaller hands can reach easily (or if you’ve got gloves on), one reason they might have chosen these vs. disc brakes is because of the internally geared hub at the rear which takes up more space at the dropout
  • In addition to full-length fenders, there’s a fully-enclosed chain cover that will keep your pants or dress clean and help the drivetrain to run longer and quieter
  • This step-thru frame comes in several sizes for the correct fit and is reinforced with double-tubing so it’s less flexy feeling than some others, this is important with the racks in front and rear
  • I must have some Dutch in me because the swept back bars, adjustable stem and upright body position this bike delivers feels great… my back and neck weren’t stressed and I could comfortably look around while riding
  • Whether you’re loading the front or rear rack, the large double-leg kickstand offers a stable platform for the bike, this is considered a mini-cargo bike and is truly capable, could also work well with a child seat
  • The motor is efficient and responsive, it measures three signals (wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque) 1,000 times per second so you feel in control, it’s also centered on the frame which keeps the weight balanced
  • Bosch makes three mid-drive motors (at the time of this review) and the Active Line is their most efficient, smoothest functioning version, it’s perfect for neighborhood cruising but still very capable for climbing and hauling as you pedal along, especially with 7 gears
  • Being able to switch gears at standstill is pretty neat, it comes in handy when you have to stop at a signal or start on an incline, you get that from the internally geared hub on this ebike and it’s also going to stay cleaner and get bumped out of tune less easily than a traditional cassette and derailleur
  • The Gazelle NL C7 HMB comes with a cafe lock designed to secure the rear wheel for short in/out visits to the “cafe”
  • I was AMAZED by the locking headset that keeps the front rack from tipping as you load and unload the bike, be careful transitioning from loading to riding and vice-versa however… rememeber to lock and unlock this accordingly while also keeping the bike stable
  • Apparently Gazelle puts their bikes through a gauntlet of tests including UV fade and salt water exposure to make sure they hold up to a myriad of real-life conditions… I wonder if they ever toss their bikes into the Amsterdam canals? I hear that’s popular with locals :P
  • All of the cables for shifting, braking and powering the bike are internally routed through the frame to reduce snags and make it look nice
  • The headlight is mounted below the front rack so it shouldn’t get blocked by cargo, it also aims wherever you steer and can be tilted up or down manually
  • Clever bell built right into the left grip interface, just twist and it rings! No bulky tacky thing mounted to the bars like on other bikes
  • The display has a littel Micr-USB port ont he right edge so you could maintain your phone for GPS or a music player or other lights (like holiday lights on the bike for fun!), the bar is pretty big so this is a good place to mount your stuff or maybe a cup holder since there are no bottle cage bosses

Cons:

  • This is a heavier electric bike weighing in at around 62 lbs, I weighed it with the the front and rear racks attached to the bike… the lights, fenders and internally geared hub all add to the weight
  • The front rack is connected to the fork and turns when you steer the bike, this isn’t as sturdy or stable feeling as a headtube mounted rack but their design doesn’t seem to dump side to side as easily as some I’ve seen and it can be more intuitive to see the rack turn vs. not
  • Rear-rack batteries take up weight that might otherwise be used for cargo and tend to increase frame flex and a sort of “crack the whip” feeling vs. being low and centered, it’s an understandable trade-off to keep the downtube open and make mounting and standing with the bike easier
  • I didn’t see bottle cage bosses on the top tube or seat tube, you could always get a trunk bag with a bottle holster like this but I feel like they could add these in the future and it would be nice to use with a folding lock, mini pump or other accessory

Resources:

More Gazelle Reviews

Gazelle Avenue C8 Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A durable, streamlined, wave style step-thru electric bicycle from an established European brand with an excellent track record of quality and service, available in three frame sizes for improved fit. Uses one of the lightest, quietest, and most efficient mid-drive motors from Shimano with an…...

Gazelle CityZen T10 Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A feature-complete city style electric bike that's lighter than competing models and more sporty, the narrow handlebars let you squeeze through traffic and doorways easily. Premium alloy coated fenders are tough and quiet, plastic chain guard keeps your pants clean,…...

Gazelle Arroyo C8 HMB Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A highly adjustable, feature-complete, city style electric bike with long fenders that have an integrated headlight and enclosed chain cover keep you clean and dry, integrated keyed-alike cafe lock adds convenience. Available in three frame sizes with the small and medium being wave and the large…...

Gazelle CityZen C8 HM Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

An efficient urban style electric bike with tight fenders, integrated LED lights, a cargo rack with bungee cords and a cafe lock for quick stops. Available in four frame sizes (three trapez mid-step and two diamond high-step), the battery pack…...

Gazelle Arroyo C8 HM Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A wonderful commuting platform with full-coverage fenders, premium integrated lights, suspension fork and suspension seat post, adjustable stem and more. Clean single-sprocket drivetrain with fully enclosed chain guard cover, eight speed internally geared hub that…...


Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Court
2 months ago

Update! I just completed a full review for this electric bicycle, complete with a video and some photos. Check it out at https://electricbikereview.com/gazelle/avenue-c8/

Dewey
2 months ago

Or indeed a test ride, I really liked the Gazelle Arroyo I test-rode at a 2016 ebike expo event, I tried the diamond frame of that model again 6 months later on a proper hill climb and was pleased by the pedelec performance of the Bosch active line motor.

I noticed @e-boy has threads for other types of ebikes you would have to ask him but I supposed his intent was not so much to provide a buyers guide for customers but a pin board for fans of particular frame styles/types of ebikes.

Dewey
2 months ago

Corratec Lifebike

Blix Komfort Prima

Evelo Galaxy ST

Gazelle Arroyo C8 (personal favorite)

Kalkhoff Agattu

EasyMotion Evo City Wave Pro

Riese & Muller Homage Nuvinci HS (the only full suspension step through ebike)

Dewey
2 months ago

Gazelle Avenue

Raleigh Electric Sprite iE

bob armani
3 months ago

How about the Rubbee compact portable electric drive system reviewed on this forum: https://electricbikereview.com/rubbee/drive-2-0/

There is also a newer version coming soon also on this forum https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/rubbee-x-introduction.15247/#post-121643

Gaby
3 months ago

I was accepted to go Study Abroad for Spring 2018 in South Korea. I travel by car to my home university and either walk or use a golf-cart service to my classes. The golf-cart service is provided for those with different disabilities. I have a very mild form of muscular deficiency. I am perfectly capable of walking and performing normal physical activities, but compared to an average human being, I perform these activities at a slower rate. I am perfectly capable of riding a bike as well :).

While abroad, I will not have a car with me and even though South Korea has a good transportation system, I would like to invest in an e-bike. The university I will be attending is known to be in a 'hilly' location. The e-bike will give me a little boost for those hills and at the same time, I will have a way of transportation. I plan to use the e-bike as a normal bike and use assistance for hills or longer travels.

I am looking for an e-bike that is not too heavy, but my main goal is to find an e-bike that can get me up those steep hills. I have been looking at models such as:

- Populo Sport Electric Bicycle V3
- Faraday Cortland
- Gazelle NL C7 HMB

I understand that all of these models are quite different, but I am new at this and not sure where to start. Please keep in mind that I am a university student and these e-bikes are not cheap. However, I am open to any suggestions! I am open to ALL recommendations :)

Sonoboy
3 months ago

ADMIN: What the hell is this doing hers? Yes,@Ann i'm Talking to you. Gazelle? WTF?

Matthew X Curry
3 months ago

Dutch made marvel of design, my new Gazelle Arroyo seen here at Seattle's Shilshole Park/Golden Gardens Park yesterday. Thank you Court as I didn't know this spot existed until I started watching EBR reviews and you shot a Rad Bike review from here a few months back. I am hooked! It took a while but this bike is my new best friend.

Court
5 months ago

I've been doing some more https://electricbikereview.com/brand/gazelle/ and they recently sent me this press release about a new model called the Avenue so I wanted to share it:

INTRODUCING THE GAZELLE AVENUE
The Perfect Bike For An Urban Lifestyle

Monday, October 2, 2017 — SANTA CRUZ, CA - Gazelle - https://www.gazellebikes.com/usa/ - Introduces the Gazelle Avenue, a secure and stable eBike equipped with Shimano STEPS intelligent drivetrain that is perfect for the urban commuter. The Avenue is ideal for everyday activities whether picking up dinner or commuting to work, the capable Avenue is the best choice for a reliable, safe and swift ride.

The Avenue features a lightweight aluminum frame that is balanced to perfection with a low-step design, single tube, and integrated cables. The geometry is based around 26” wheels and optimized for comfort with a 68-degree headtube angle and 70-degree seat tube angle that creates a relaxed and stable ride. The 250 watt Shimano STEPS has an average range of 50 miles and a max distance that can approach almost 80 miles. Magura brakes provide dependable, controlled safety with swift and smooth braking. Combining design and performance, the Avenue never disappoints. Enjoy the ride!

Features:

[*]Shimano STEPS
[*]36V / 504 watt battery
[*]8-speed Shimano internal hub
[*]Magura HS22 hydraulic brakes
[*]Frame: Low-Step
[*]Suspension Seatpost
[*]Suspension Front Fork
[*]Unisex
[*]Available colors: Saturn Blue Mat (with more colors to follow)
[*]MSRP: $2,899 (limited edition price)

ABOUT GAZELLE BIKES
Gazelle’s history is very much the history of the bicycle as a popular means of urban transportation. Their original Dutch style comfort bike won over the hearts of the Netherlands 125 years ago and their continued design and technology have people all over the world falling in love today. Today, Gazelle remains at the forefront of invention to make cycling more enjoyable and accessible. Gazelle is an integral part of Dutch cycling heritage and have kept in cadence with today’s global innovation with their new line of e-bikes. Gazelle has positioned themselves as the benchmark for urban mobility - traditionally and contemporarily. Learn more at http://www.gazellebikes.com/usa/

JonathanNL-US
5 months ago

Hello! I'm wondering if anyone can provide guidance on how to use the micro USB port on my Gazelle Arroyo to charge an iPhone (lightning connection), and especially what kind of cord/adapter I'd need to buy in order to do it. Thanks!

Nicknick
6 months ago

Received mine (standard battery, Schwalbe tire upgrade). These are my first impressions.

Building the bike

[*]Putting it together was relatively easy using the videos on the juiced site. It's a heavy bike so having someone help while you put on the front tire is nice. Anyone who is comfortable with some basic tools can do this. Don’t forget to tighten the steering.
[*]The front fender and headlight will be added later when Juiced ships the missing parts (in a few days). UPDATE: I put these on, was doable. Headlight is super bright, but does not have any "to the side" visibility like some other headlights do.
[*]I expected this to have a battery operated rear light, but it seems to be a reflector. UPDATE: It has a tiny light in the box. I ordered thehttps://www.amazon.com/dp/B013FIWBCS/ which is about 500x more bright.

The good

[*]First of all: this bike looks AWESOME. It is sooo cool. And it looks like a cool bike, not an eBike. The battery design and not having a mid-drive motor helps with that.
[*]All parts you touch feel like high quality. Saddle, shifter, handles, rear rack, bike standard, it's super solid.
[*]Size is perfect for me, so the Juiced size guide seems spot on.
[*]Tires are super wide compared to my regular hybrid bike. They are comfortable, but not as "precise". Great for dealing with potholes, but it'd make me hesitant to get something like the Hyperfat which must have zero “cornering feel".
[*]The brakes are INSANE. So powerful. I've never had disc brakes before, so maybe that's why, but it's easy to skid the tire even though the combined weight of me+bike is like 250lbs.
[*]There is a lot of power. On a straight road I really doubt I’d go above level 2 (levels are ECO,1,2,3,sport). In sport mode I’m flying by everyone at 28mph before I know it. However, I went to find a super steep San Francisco hill (like 25%+) and even in sport mode I’m pedaling hard to help it get up to 10mph, and the throttle does nothing. These are kind of rare hills and on my regular bike I’d have to get off and walk, so I sort of doubt any eBike could do much there. Even electric scooters seem powerless against these hills. UPDATE: I took it up to Twin Peaks (SF tallest point), was doable, though I was still pretty sweaty when I got up there.
[*]The throttle+pedal combo to get a boost when leaving a stoplight is nice. But generally I end up not using the throttle on its own, it just doesn’t give you enough to get that “wheeeeeeee!” feeling, its more fun to pedal and get the boost from that.
[*]No regen, which is awesome. Regenerative braking ruins easy coasting, which the most fun part of biking. :)
[*]You can easily ride this bike with a dead battery. I rode it for a bit while it was turned off, and even though its heavy it would be fine to ride this home for a few miles.

Things Juiced could do in future CrossCurrent S models to make it even better

[*]Putting the battery in is kind of hard. You really need to push it hard while holding the key in "open" position and it feels like more of a hassle than it should be, especially since I’ll be having to do this multiple times a week to charge it. I might try to find a way to make this easier (maybe WD40?).

[*]UPDATE: I think I was doing this wrong. I checked out the EBR review video which has come out since I wrote this review and it actually clicks in without using the key. It needs a bit of muscle but it's no longer a hassle.

[*]I used “walk mode” to get my bike up the stairs. You have to hold the minus button for a while to enable it, which means you just have to stand there for a few seconds with the brakes on so it doesn’t roll back. You also have to hold that button to keep it active, which means that if you let it go, you need to wait a few seconds again to get going. It would have been better if walk mode just put a 5pmh limit on the throttle (which gives you direct power).
[*]AFAIK there is no way to have the light (screen backlight+headlight) on by default. I wish it was “always on” when the bike is on, because there is only upside to more visibility, even during the day. Most new cars are this way too.
[*]There is a short jerky feel in the pedals when you go from peddling to coasting and you move the pedals a bit backwards. It’s like the motor isn’t sure whether to help you or not. Not super bothersome though.
[*]Bell, chain guard, integrated rear light would be nice.

Nice-to-have’s I’d pay extra for:

[*]Frame lock (euro style) for quick stops at the store.
[*]Rear rack strong enough to carry a person.
[*]An anti-theft security code to turn on the bike (maybe have the motor lock the rear wheel without it).
[*]For juiced to put on the Schwalbe tires for me (they did for me as I ordered early, but no longer do this, so you'll have to take it to a LBS to get them put on).

Summary

I'm no expert, so I don’t have a ton to compare this to, but I’ve tried a bunch of other eBikes. Short rides on a Haibike, Gazelle, Stromer ST1 and a longer ride on a Bulls Lacuba Evo 8. The Bulls is the only bike I would consider a similarly great commuting alternative (though its not a speed pedelec), which feels a bit more smooth and has some higher quality parts, but it is $4000, which makes this Juiced CCS a fantastic deal at well under 2k. It would still be a great deal at $2500+ actually.

This bike is great and I'd for Juiced to do well. Looking at the forum comments here they could probably do a bit more “underpromise and overdeliver”, i.e., tell your customers to expect the bike in October, so September comes as a nice surprise. But even then, some people will never be pleased. :)

I’ll update this review in a month or so when I get some more miles on it. But in the meanwhile I’ve ordered one for my wife as well.

UPDATE after 100+ miles: definitely love this bike. I'm excited to ride it every day on my commute. I'm surprised how often I go over 20mph. I didn't expect to care this much, but at this point I'd definitely not buy anything that is not a 28mph speed pedelec. I'm also totally happy with the amount of power. It's rare (few super steep hills) that I wish it had more.
The only thing that is bothersome to me at this point is the weight. With the added u-lock I mounted on, I'm guessing we're at 60lbs+. It's no problem at all when biking, but using any ceiling hook style bike racks, or hauling it up stairs, is a hassle. That said, I'm not sure how much less of a hassle it would be at 50lbs or even 40lbs. And with bikes below that weight you're getting into the Faraday style, which is super entry-level on power and battery. So maybe this is just part of eBike life. :)

TLDR: I love this thing. Would buy again in a heartbeat.

Dewey
6 months ago

110 miles is a long distance for an ebike, if you were to attempt to ride that distance in one go you would need to either carry a spare battery, or a battery with a very large capacity which take a long time to charge. Consider any 2017 or 2018 model year Bosch motor powered ebike with the new 500wh battery and buy a spare 500wh battery to keep in a pannier bag to swap out when you run out, examples might include the 2017 https://www.gazellebikes.com/usa/bikes/arroyo-c8-hmb/ or http://propelbikes.com/product/kalkhoff-agattu-b8-2017/ with the large or XL diamond frames.

E-Wheels
10 months ago

The quietest mid drive on the market at the moment is the Brose motor. If you combine the Brose system that with a Gates carbon belt and an IGH (Nuvinci, Shimano Alfine, Rohloff......) then you will probably have the quietest mid drive ebike you can get at the moment. If you want to research some Brose mid drive ebikes I suggest you check out the Scott E-Silence, Specialized Vado and Bulls Lacuba range. What is your budget.

Zoumios
10 months ago

Absolutely new to Ebikes, and this website, and with that comes outstanding ignorance.

I'm looking for an Ebike that can make it up hills with a bit of ease (so mid-drive?), that doesn't have too many wires and cables, uses a hydraulic brake system, has a rear and/or front racks, doesn't make much or any noise when using the motor, and looks "professional" or "polished."

This would be a commuter/urban/cargo bike. I am in the USA, male, 5' 11,'' 160 lbs.

I've looked at how some of the specs for an Ebike effect performance (motor output in watts, battery voltage in amp/watt hours, motor torque in newton meters), yet I don't know to what degree all of these matter. I've also seen some bikes were the variables are almost identical yet the mile range difference is drastic.

I also don't know what brands are quality and which aren't. I also don't know how much I should be paying for anything.

I've looked at these bikes so far:

Faraday Cortland: (https://electricbikereview.com/faraday/cortland/)
Gazelle NL C7 HMB (https://electricbikereview.com/gazelle/nl-c7-hmb/)
Walleräng M.01 (https://electricbikereview.com/wallerang/m-01/)

The Faraday is what I first started looking at, but I have no clue if it has enough power or not/if it's worth the price. It is, however, quiet and looks amazing.

The Gazelle has great colors, but some of the main parts of the bike look non-durable or ready to break, there are many wires hanging about, and front basket is too clunky.

The Walleräng looks fantastic, has mid-drive, 500w motor output at max, and has (what I think to be) high quality parts and pieces, but it's seems a bit loud. Is that standard? This is the best ebike out of the 3 I have really examined.

For anyone willing to help me out, this is a sizable post, I am open to all knowledge of Ebikes, opinions on brands, opinions on bikes I've listed, and any suggestions you have of Ebikes that would be best fit for me.

Thank you in advance.

ArthurDentZaphodBeeb
3 days ago

Gawd-awful design with rear battery and two downtubes. Why not integrate the battery in the downtube? Would improve handling, improve looks and decrease need for stiffer bike to handle that rear battery. Like the fully enclosed chain cover. Why is it so hard for other commuter bikes to do that?

frank doster
7 months ago

Looking for a gift for my wife, I think this might be the one.

Joan M
6 months ago

I LOVE my Gazelle Arroyo. So comfortable, solid build. Have many, many maintenance free miles on her!

Rideoak
9 months ago

The Front- Carriers weight is 3,5 kg!!!... if it`s made of Steel.
Somer Versions are made of Aluminum.
But you "feel" it every Time...

brighton dude
11 months ago

Gazelle is a very well established make in the Netherlands. I live in Brighton in England which is not far from the Netherlands and we have quite a lot of the Gazelle bicycles here.

These bikes are all about practicality. They are purchased by all kinds of people who don't have any particular interest in bicycles or ebikes, they just want cheap transport.

NovaColonel
11 months ago

Those comments are among the most unqualified I've read in a while. Thanks for another great review, Court!
Love the ergonomics of it, but the rest left me rather unimpressed. The HS-11 Maguras are their entry-level line and at that price point you'd expect the HS-22 at least. Also: no suspension = no deal.
I'd love to see a bike with a slightly elevated step-through frame, 27.5+ mountain bike tires and front fork, the CX engine, hub dynamo, integrated fenders and lighting and the perfectly upright granny-sissy seating position. Much akin to a SUV but in form of an e-bike. Maybe one day....

NovaColonel
11 months ago

Thanks a lot for this very qualified reply, ignoring the R&M lineup is hard if one is looking for something as versatile as I had in mind.
Unfortunately, my modest means prohibit me from acquring something that's worth twice the mortgage on the house I don't have. If that's how a mortgage works. Hell, I'm european, how would I know.
Then there's the Conway EMC 427 with a way more reasonable pricetag. It checks all the boxes, but does so somewhat loveless.
https://www.zweiradnetz.de/raeder/elektroraeder/conway-emc-427-elektrorad-52-kaufen?gclid=CPrTxLe_kNMCFYgW0wodwEsKDw
Also there's the Moustache Samedi which I'd totally go for if it hadn't a SRAM derailleur set.
https://www.e-bikeshop.co.uk/Moustache-Electric-Bikes/Moustache-Samedi-X-Road-3-2017

Propel Electric Bikes
11 months ago

I think we'll be seeing something like you described soon. There are some similar bikes, but none that have all of those spec's at the moment. Maybe you should take a look at the Riese & Müller Charger Mixtie GT. You could easily swap those tires for more mountain bike style if you'd like. The fenders have the clearance for them and the rims are 40mm wide. I hope that helps.

Pablo Ramirez
11 months ago

i need one those because i disabled and is there anyone out there who have a kind heart to give me one of those?

Pablo Ramirez
11 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com My problem is i don't have money to buy one that is why i am asking for charity.I am from the Philippines.

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Hi Pablo, what part of the world do you live in? Do you have any money that could be saved or dedicated towards an electric bike? Maybe I could help you find one that fits your budget. For example, Juiced Bikes just launched the CrossCurrent Air which comes in a mid-step frame and is in the $1k price range: https://electricbikereview.com/juiced-bikes/crosscurrent-air/

George Herman
11 months ago

It looks kind of nerdy. I just could not make myself spend over 3 grand for something like that. No way.

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Thanks Georoge, I try to review a mix of ebikes... some affordable and some exotic :)

George Herman
11 months ago

Court's reviews are always excellent. Not his fault these companies charge so much. But there needs to be an awareness of how overly inflated the cost of these E bikes are. But as the old saying goes "A Fool and his money will soon part ways". " There's a sucker born every minute."

Stephan Cook
11 months ago

George Herman yeah. the price does sting a bit. can't fault that assessment.

George Herman
11 months ago

Your most welcome.

Bad Santa
11 months ago

Thanks for your shit opinion.

Nolife2692
11 months ago

awesome review of the e bike bro for me right now as a full time student getting that is not worth my money I rather used a traditional bicycle at this time what do you think about those 500 dollar e bike on amazon is that good to buy in future usage?

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

I hear you Nguyen, my preference is for non-electric bicycles when money is tight. Cheap ebikes can be more trouble than they are worth and have a low resale value (and can cost a lot to fix). Here's a slight upgrade from Amazon but it's folding: https://electricbikereview.com/magnum/classic/ and here's another from Juiced Ebikes (though I have heard about some issues shops are having recently) https://electricbikereview.com/juiced-bikes/crosscurrent-air/ and here are a couple of the better Amazon models I've bought to review... they may not be for sale anymore though: https://electricbikereview.com/brand/vilano/

Propel Electric Bikes
11 months ago

Court might have reviewed one of those less expensive bikes. I would be really wary of the Amazon bikes unless you see some indication that they can support you well. You're almost guaranteed to have issues and many resellers don't support their remote customers very well.

Glenn Watson
11 months ago

Slight engine noise only at turbo mode otherwise, quiet. It's sort of utilitarian and practical-ish in design but the price-point...

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Good point about the quieter motor operation... that seems a little rare

Tahir Rana
11 months ago

Will fit very well in Oxford, but any where else 😞

Jason Hacker
11 months ago

If you've been to the Netherlands you'll know those racks are meant for carrying people!

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

...drunk people?!

Glenn Watson
11 months ago

hmmm...really?

Chris Bates
11 months ago

Close to legoland :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

I love Legoland XD

Lysle Basinger
11 months ago

Looks very well made. At first I thought it unattractive but its growing on me.
I like viewing you tube videos of the Dutch cargo bike parades. So many kinds of bikes. I would like to see you review the Ancheer 20" folding ebike which doesn't cost more than a kit, (590.00) delivered. Easy way to get in on electric biking for a limited budget. I ride mine on the sidewalks and bike paths and no one realizes I have a motor.

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Yeah, I've seen some of those cargo bike parades, lots of DIY bikes... cool. I'll keep an eye out for Ancher (I think I'm in touch with them actually), just a very packed travel schedule and some family reunion/funeral stuff going on

Joe Blogs
11 months ago

that front carrier should be attached to the frame that design will reduce handling when loaded

David Cann
11 months ago

Joe Blogs Couldn't agree more! My Walleräng has a frame mounted front carrier and it's the way to go.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
11 months ago

THAT'S A HIDEOUS BIKE. VERY UGLY AESTHETIC, EWWWW. 😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😲😲😲😲😲😲😲😲😲😨😨😨😨😨😨😨😨😨😨😨

Hey Courtney. How do these ebike companies handle shipping issues ? . Do most ebike companies ship internationally ? .

If I wanted to buy an ebike from a U.S. company while I'm in the states, then move to another country, how would I
get my bike serviced if it needs it ?.

Or can I buy an ebike from a U.S. company from another country ? .

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
10 months ago

+Propel Electric Bikes Thanks propel, I really appreciate the feedback.

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Thanks for the comment Chris... yeah, there are shops that can handle shipping of batteries. I have met a couple people who bought new bikes from Europe that weren't available in the US yet and others who had higher power stuff shipped abroad :)

Propel Electric Bikes
11 months ago

Some companies have shipping restrictions, but we are able to ship internationally. It's a little pricey, but it's possible. For support I would recommend you purchasing a bike that is as reliable as possible. Starting with a Bosch motor is a good step in the right direction.