Magnum Peak 29 Review

Magnum Peak 29 Electric Bike Review
Magnum Peak 29
Magnum Peak 29 Altus Acera 24 Speed Drivetrain High Amp Controller
Magnum Peak 29 Shimano Acera 8 Speed Cassette
Magnum Peak 29 Das Kit C7 Lcd Ergonomic Grips
Magnum Peak 29 Sr Suntour Xcm 30 Suspension Fork
Magnum Peak 29 Tektro Auriga 180 Mm Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Magnum Peak 29 Rear Derailleur Guard
Magnum Peak 29 Schwalbe Smart Sam 29 2 25 Off Road Tires
Magnum Peak 29 Regular 2 Amp Ebike Battery Charger
Magnum Peak 29 Electric Bike Review
Magnum Peak 29
Magnum Peak 29 Altus Acera 24 Speed Drivetrain High Amp Controller
Magnum Peak 29 Shimano Acera 8 Speed Cassette
Magnum Peak 29 Das Kit C7 Lcd Ergonomic Grips
Magnum Peak 29 Sr Suntour Xcm 30 Suspension Fork
Magnum Peak 29 Tektro Auriga 180 Mm Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Magnum Peak 29 Rear Derailleur Guard
Magnum Peak 29 Schwalbe Smart Sam 29 2 25 Off Road Tires
Magnum Peak 29 Regular 2 Amp Ebike Battery Charger

Summary

  • A powerful, relatively affordable, hardtail cross country style electric bike that's capable of 28 mph pedal assist and 20 mph trigger throttle operation, offers 24 gears vs. 10 or 11 on most competing products
  • This particular model (with 29" wheels) is available in one large frame size and color, but Magnum also sells a 27.5" wheel version Peak which has a slightly smaller frame... so, two sizes?!
  • High-capacity 48 volt battery helps to extend range or simply match the range of other bikes while allowing you to ride faster, the battery has a USB port for charging accessories
  • Kickstand placement puts it in the way of the left crank arm, display is not removable, the spring suspension fork adds a bit of weight but the head tube is tapered for easy upgrades, solid hydraulic disc brakes with cutoff switches

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Magnum

Model:

Peak

Price:

$1,999

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

57.5 lbs (26.08 kg)

Battery Weight:

9.1 lbs (4.12 kg)

Motor Weight:

10.1 lbs (4.58 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

20.75 in (52.7 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

20.75" Seat Tube, 22.5" Reach, 30" Stand Over Height, 27.5" Width, 73.75" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Satin Black with Blue Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCM 30 Spring Suspension, 100 mm Travel, Hydraulic Compression Adjust with Lockout, Preload Adjust, 100 mm Hub Width, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

142 mm Hub Length, 11 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

24 Speed 3x8 Shimano Altus Front Deraulleur, Shimano Acera Rear Derailleur, 11-32 Tooth Cassetee

Shifter Details:

Shimano Triggers on Left and Right Bar

Cranks:

Shimano 170 mm Length Crank Arms, 28-33-42 Tooth Chainrings, Square Tapered Bottom Bracket

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform, Black

Headset:

Neco, Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2", Sealed Cartridge

Stem:

Promax, 110 mm Length, Aluminum Alloy, Two 10 mm Spacers, One 5 mm Spacer, 31.8 mm Clamp Diameter

Handlebar:

Promax Flat, Aluminum Alloy, 690 mm Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Auriga Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors and Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Velo Ergonomic Rubber with Lockers

Saddle:

Magnum Branded Velo, Black

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Double Walled, Aluminum Alloy, 25 mm Width, 36 Hole, Black

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge, Adjustable Nipples, Silver

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Smart Sam, 29" x 2.25" (57-622)

Wheel Sizes:

29 in (73.66cm)

Tire Details:

26-54 PSI, 1.8 to 3.7 BAR, Performance, Reflective Labels

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Single Side Adjustable Length Kickstand, Integrated 5 Volt USB Charging Port, Steel Derailleur Guard, Optional Metal Carry Rack ($49)

Other:

Locking Removable Downtube Mounted Battery Pack, 1.5 lb 2 Amp Battery Charger, 9 Mosfet 18 Amp Current Controller

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Das-Kit

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

700 watts

Motor Torque:

90 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung, DLG, Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

624 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Manganese (Li-NCM)

Charge Time:

6.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

Das-Kit C7, Fixed, Backlit, Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Power Output Indicator (6 Ticks), Assist Level (0-6), Speed, Odometer, Timer, Trip 1, Trip 2, BMS Voltage, Battery Level (6 Bars)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (Power, Set, +, -), (Press Power Button for Display Backligt, Hold Minus Button for Walk Mode)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph) (20 MPH Throttle, Adjustable)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Magnum has built a reputation around affordability and power. Their ebikes tend to offer both pedal assist and throttle operation, which can be handy if you need help getting started or simply don’t want to pedal at all times. With the Peak and Peak 29, you get a cross country style hardtail mountain bike with a large but well-placed battery pack, a 24 speed drivetrain, and a zippy rear-mounted geared hub motor that won’t interfere with shifting. The 29er model focused on in this specific review provides larger wheels that elevate the frame, improve comfort with increased air volume, and provide more rolling momentum. The frame itself is slightly larger than the original Peak I reviewed a while back, so I almost think of this as the “Large Peak” for taller riders, but it’s more nuanced than that. This model will be slightly less nimble but provides a lower attack angle and can cruise more efficiently at high speed. One of the things I really appreciate about this bike is that it could serve as both a trail bike or urban platform, you can even purchase a rear rack from Magnum for use with a trunk bag or pannier bags. Recent versions of this bike have been upgraded to 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes on both the front and rear wheels (whereas older versions had 160 mm in the rear) and the top tube now has bottle cage bosses! Which, might not be that useful. You see, as much as I complain about how electric bikes sometimes skip bottle cage mounting points, I can see why they would do so on a bike like this, because any accessory you mount to the top of the top tube is going to raise the stand over height and possibly hit your crotch. A water bottle would be near horizontal and might drip out as you ride, a folding lock might get kicked or brush against your inner thighs when pedaling… I would probably just remove the included bolts and keep the top tube smooth and low because I just barely fit on this bike with my ~30″ inseam and stand over height is about 30″ as measured during the review.

Driving the bike in assist and throttle mode is a torquey planetary geared hub motor that weighs about 10 lbs. It’s rated from 500 to 700 watts and can produce 90 Newton meters of torque, but that doesn’t mean it can climb from standstill. I tested this on an inclined section of dirt trail in the video review above and could hear the motor struggling to start. Once you have a bit of speed, the motor works fine, so consider pedaling a bit to help out at first. As mentioned earlier, this hub motor does not interfere with shifting or chain action on the 24-speed drivetrain. That’s great because it will allow you to shift more smoothly than a mid-drive motor and keep the two derailleurs in better shape long term. I’m a bit mixed on having two derailleurs because it increases weight and complexity, shifter cables stretch over time and that means visits to the shop or more hands-on work for you. The three chainrings up front are completely exposed and could get grease on pants so I suggest riding with shorts… but what about that urban use case? The front derailleur acts as a guide and provides a bit of protection, but I sometimes roll up my pant leg or use reflective velcro pant keepers when riding to avoid snags etc. Having two derailleurs also means having to use two shifter mechanisms up front and the cockpit is already pretty cluttered due to the addition of a display, trigger throttle, button control pad, and brakes with motor inhibitors. I love that the motor inhibitors are in place, in addition to the larger 180 mm rotors, because the cadence sensors are good here, but not quite as fast or fluid as advanced multi-sensors on the more expensive mid-drive systems now being produced. Again, I actually felt that the new sealed cadence sensor was very responsive and you can see that in the video as well.

powering the bike, beautiful backlit display panel, and integrated USB Type A port is a 48 volt 13 Amp hour battery pack. You can charge this thing on or off the bike and the included charger is very standard, offering 2 Amp output. This is a bit of a gripe for me because with such a large battery, and the potential for draining it faster by riding quick or relying purely on the throttle, it would be nice to have a 4 Amp charger. I could see myself buying this bike to ride to work during the week and then taking it on light trails when the weekend rolls around… and the removability of the battery pack means that I could charge the pack from my desk at work, make the bike lighter when loading it onto my car rack, and also reduce chemistry fatigue by storing it in a cool dry place vs. out in freezing temperatures or extreme heat. It’s a battery design that works well because the pack sits low and center on the frame, improving balance, and it blends in beautifully with the satin black frame. The pack clicks in from a 45-degree angle from the left side vs. going straight down, and this makes it easier to mount without scratching the frame. One thing that was missing however, was a slap guard on the right chain stay, but you can use clear masking tape or get a cheap slap guard online or from your local shop if you want. At the top left side of the battery is a standard female USB A port for charging portable electronics, such as your phone, which could be handy for GPS directions. I believe the port is active whether you have the battery mounted to the bike or not, so it could be like a backup power source. When mounted to the frame, this battery pack felt solid, but did rattle just a bit and I have heard some owners talk about using a bit of electrical tape to tighten the fit, just don’t overdo it because you wouldn’t want to see it fall off when riding! The locking core felt solid and there’s a little handle on the left side to grasp when removing.

And so, I mentioned that the cockpit on this bike can be a little crowded and messy because of the second set of shifters, brake lever motor inhibitors, and throttle… but it works well enough. The button pad (which allows you to arrow up through 0 to 6 levels of assist) is easy to reach and allows you to go “around” from six to zero vs. clicking down six times. One complaint, that may not be relevant to all customers, is that the trigger throttle on the right side can be difficult to reach depending on where you mount it. I had to reach across the shifter housing and brake attachment to press the throttle paddle and it compromised my grip a bit which is not idea when riding off-road. Considering that this is either a Class 3 speed pedelec or Class 2 throttle activated ebike by default, it’s probably not going to be allowed on many mountain bike trails in some states. You can probably use it on off-highway vehicle (OHV) trails and private property, and you might also be able to turn down the top assisted speed to 20 mph and remove the throttle to use it as a Class 1 electric bicycle, but by default it’s a bit unconventional. Many people love the power and freedom of this setup, but if you had a crash that damaged property or hurt someone and the bike was seen as more of an unregistered vehicle in court, that could be a bummer. The display panel on this bike is large and easy to read, it can be swiveled a bit to reduce glare (which is nice because it’s very shiny all the way across) but it cannot be removed. This could lead to more damage from weather exposure or other bikes at a public rack, but the display does feel sturdy. It shows your battery level, assist level, and trip stats like trip distance, odometer, and even a timer.

There’s a lot to say about this bike and a few additional points worth sharing here are that the spokes are thicker at 13 gauge vs. 14 gauge on most other products I test and review (lower gauge numbers mean it is thicker). Magnum has upgraded the headset with a sealed cartridge design that won’t squeak or rust as easily and I want to reiterate that the tapered head tube can accommodate more advanced suspension models, such as air forks that will weigh less and provide more adjustability. The stock fork provides lockout and rebound adjust but uses springs and a narrow 9 mm skewer like you’d find on a city bike. Most of the higher end true off-road e-bikes now come with 15 mm thru-axles on their forks to provide more stiffness and strength… and I think that would be nice to have on this bike because it weighs more and can go faster. The ergonomic grips are more of an urban choice because lots of mountain bikers wear gloves and don’t want an overly thick grip… but at least these grips are locking and won’t spin under pressure. The cables on the bike aren’t as hidden or internally routed as some other products I have been reviewing and even the motor controller stands out visually, but Magnum reps told me that the choice had to do with providing more Amps and keeping the system cool. The bike does have walk mode, simply hold the minus key, and that’s handy for climbing hills by foot or walking the bike in a crowded environment or if you get a flat. At ~57.5 lbs, it’s on the heavier side for an ebike without fenders, lights, or a rear rack stock and this is due to the larger battery and wheels. You can tap the power button to turn on display backlighting when riding in dark or dim conditions. I have heard that Magnum may have a narrower “slim” throttle design that could bring it closer to the right grip (maybe mounting between the grip and the brake and shifter clamps) but I cannot say for sure… and it’s worth paying special attention when mounting or dismounting the bike because if it is turned on, the throttle will be hot and could send the bike forward unexpectedly. The throttle will override all levels of assist and zero, which give you great control, but also requires great responsibility right ;) Big thanks to the Magnum team for inviting me to their headquarters in Utah and partnering with me on this post. Magnum has been expanding their network of dealers in the USA and that makes this and other models easier to test ride and get serviced.

Pros:

  • The Peak offers throttle-only mode, allows you to override assist with the throttle up to 20 mph and can hit 28 mph in pedal assist… it’s one of the most open control systems I have reviewed, giving you full control over how to ride
  • Higher volume tires improve comfort and increase the contact patch for better handling off-road, ergonomic grips feel nice and reduce wrist fatigue regardless of terrain
  • You get 24 gear combinations here which is unique in the world of value priced electric mountain bikes, this also means more potential maintenance and weight, but when you need to climb or hit and comfortably maintain the 28 mph top assisted speed I feel that it can be worth it
  • Name brand Schwalbe tires and mid-level SR Suntour suspension fork with lockout and preload adjustment improve ride quality and won’t take damage as easily as super cheap options
  • I like that they ship the bike with a derailleur guard to protect the main derailleur and that they used Acera here vs. Altus (which is used for the front derailleur and is lower specced), this guard also protects the power cable that connects into the hub motor on the right side of the rear dropout
  • While the Peak only comes in one frame size and color, I feel that the design is great because the top tube angles for lowered standover height, the head tube is tapered for improved strength (and optional fork upgrades) and the black color helps wires and the battery blend in, for those who want a slightly lower and smaller frame, consider the original Magnum Peak which uses 27.5″ wheel size vs. 29″ here
  • The battery has a charging port on the lower left side vs. on top which is much easier to get to (of course it can also be charged off the bike if you want) and I like that there is a female USB port near the top (on the left side of the pack) so you could power your phone or lights, consider a right angle adapter for charging while riding to keep the wire out of the way when you pedal, I believe the USB port can also be used to charge stuff when the battery is not mounted to the bike
  • Magnum sells a rear rack if you want to carry a trunk bag or panniers but this new Peak frame also has bottle cage bosses added to the top tube, they do increase the stand over height and might position your bottle near horizontal, but could also be used for a folding lock or mini-pump accessory
  • Hydraulic disc brakes with motor inhibitors in both levers keep you in control of the bike and are especially important for high-speed operation, you get a larger 180 mm rotor up front for improved braking power and the brake levers offer adjustable reach for people with different hand sizes
  • Even though it’s not removable, I like how compact the display is and appreciate that you can swivel it to reduce glare, there are lots of options built in, the button pad used to operate it is mounted close to the left grip where it’s very easy to reach and use on the fly, overall the cockpit didn’t feel super crowded even with the extra wires and two trigger shifter units vs. just one on most other electric bikes that have 10 or 11 speeds vs. 24 here
  • Minor pluses: I love that the saddle and pedals are upgraded, less reason to have to replace them for improved comfort and traction respectively, they worked great for me even in the snow when my feet were wet and the trail was bumpy
  • Quick release front wheel and removable battery reduces weight significantly (by over 10 pounds) making the bike easier to toss into the trunk of a car or lift onto a storage hook in a garage
  • Magnum has a specially designed trigger throttle that is super slim so it doesn’t crowd the brake or shifter mounts and can be easier to reach, the cadence sensor is also slimmer, smaller and better protected by a plastic shell
  • The battery capacity is quite impressive, you get 48 volts and 13 amp hours which I would call way above average and the cells are premium brands (LG, Samsung or Panasonic) with a one-year warranty
  • In my opinion, the price point of this bike is amazing, it really feels like a good value at $2k given all of the options and dealer network they’ve built (over 75 shops in the US carrying it at the time of this post)
  • The bike ships with a rigid 30.9 mm seat post which works fine and is a little thicker for added strength… this is one are you could potentially upgrade with a seat post suspension like Thudbuster or Body Float, you might just need a shim in some cases for the perfect fit

Cons:

  • Surprisingly, I didn’t see a slap guard on the right chain stay, this means you’ll get chips in the paint over time and possibly some wear on the chain itself, consider adding one yourself aftermarket like these
  • I’m accustomed to seeing internally routed cables, integrated batteries and compact motors as with the Peak here but the controller box stood out as being large and potentially vulnerable… I asked about it (positioned in front of the bottom bracket) and was told it had to be overbuilt to dissipate heat due to the higher amp output and it’s made from Aluminum alloy to be sturdy
  • Due to the hub motor design, there isn’t a quick release at the rear which means you’ll need extra tools for flat-fixing on the go, the power cable also protrudes a bit and could get snagged or bent easier than if it was fully tucked in
  • Because the throttle is always active, I suggest being extra careful when mounting and dismounting the bike… or even loading it onto a car rack, I would turn it off to be safe, perhaps future versions of the Magnum Peak can power up to assist level zero and make that a non-throttle mode for safety
  • The kickstand is large, adjustable and sturdy but I wish it was mounted slightly back so the left crank arm wouldn’t collide, the demo bike had some nicks already, this is also a concern with the charging port as the pedal could snag it or bend the plug
  • The cockpit handlebar area of this e-bike is kind of cluttered because of the two shifters, brake lines, and motor inhibitors as well as the display, control pad, and trigger throttle
  • While I think they did a good job keeping the weight of the bike reasonable considering the larger battery pack and motor, this is about four pounds heavier than most other hardtail electric mountain bikes I have been testing
  • One area for possible improvement would be a thru-axle on the fork for added stiffness and sturdiness given the off-road nature and higher speed capability of the bike, as it stands you get a regular 9 mm quick release skewer and a spring shock vs. air which would be more adjustable and reduce weight
  • Many of the wires are run along the base of the top tube verses being internally routed, this combined with the angled nature of the top tube could make hanging style racks difficult to work with (snagging cables or just not fitting without first removing the battery pack)
  • If you’re commuting, especially at high speed, add some reflective stickers or lights because the matte black frame and lack of integrated lights combined with higher speed riding could make you vulnerable and I can imagine a lot of people will use this in urban environments even though it’s trail capable
  • The charger is compact and light weight at ~1.5 lbs but it’s not super fast with just 2 Amps output and that could mean longer waits given the larger capacity of the battery on the Magnum Peak

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Magnum Reviews

Magnum Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A handsome, cruiser style electric bike with neatly integrated cables, strong alloy fenders, a clean plastic chain cover, and uniquely designed rear cargo rack, everything matches. Emphasis on comfort for the rider with soft Big Ben balloon tires, an extra-wide saddle…...

Magnum Metro Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An approachable, mid-step, high-speed, urban electric bike with six levels of pedal assist plus throttle mode that can override with full power. Fairly comfortable with larger tires, a basic suspension fork, and cheap seat post shock... the…...

Magnum Classic Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A feature-packed folding electric bike with lots of accessories and multiple color options, great price point and warranty, available through dealers or the Magnum online store. Sturdy folding mechanisms with security locks emphasize safety, reflective tires and LED lights keep you…...

Magnum Peak Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high speed electric hardtail with with throttle on demand, hydraulic disc brakes and an extra large battery for $2k, all around good value with a 24 speed drivetrain. Optional rear rack for $50 transform the Peak into a sporty commuter, only one frame…...

Magnum Premium Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A folding speed pedelec (capable of ~25 mph) that also offers throttle on demand, you get plenty of power from a 500 Watt hub motor and 48 Volt 13 amp hour battery pack. Two frame styles and four color choices let you personalize the product a bit, folding…...

Magnum Ui5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A beautifully designed, purpose built, affordable electric bike well suited to urban riding or commuting. Step-thru frame is easy to mount but relatively stiff thanks to a double tube mid-section,…...

Magnum Mi5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A value priced hardtail electric bike that's trail ready with a basic suspension fork, knobby tires and 21 speeds. Average sized 350 watt motor paired with slightly larger 36 volt 13 amp hour battery…...


Jay Ford
3 weeks ago

The review for this eBike is very detailed and accurate; however, the Magnum pedal assist controller goes from level 6 down to level 0 and then rolls back around to level 6. It is very easy to accidentally click one time too many and when you thought your assist is off, you get thrown forward with full assist.

Reply
Court Rye
3 weeks ago

Thanks for the feedback Jay, it may be a preference thing… clicking buttons while riding can also be a distraction and cause instability, just like going from zero to six accidentally can be startling. Thanks for highlighting this point, ride safe :)

Reply
Tim
2 weeks ago

Great review Court. One question about specs. It says 90 Nm torque. But I’ve checked Das-kit website and their motors provide only 38 Nm, how can it be that much different?

Reply
Court Rye
2 weeks ago

Hi Tim, thanks for sharing that detail. I wrote what the folks at Magnum told me… and perhaps they were wrong or just adding some marketing spin on it. My gut tells me that 38 Newton meters is more accurate based on what other companies report and what mid-drives are rated (in the 70 Nm range).

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

harryS
3 days ago

Sorry, I am very new to this ebike thing. Is it possible to run an ebike (say a bbso2 mid drive) off a 36v battery with only 2.6ah? We are moving to europe but I would like to build the bike before we go since it needs to be adapted to carry a dog too..

FYI. While cleaning out my garage and swapping the lawnmower for the snowblower, I decided to do some science. No, a 750W BBS02 kit from Lunacycle will not run on 36V. Even fully charged at 42 volts. the Ryobi isn't enough, It might be possible to use the progamming cable and a PC to set the motor up for 36V, but I don't have the cable, electing not to mess with that stuff.

However, I do have a 12volt, 9 cell lithium battery that I added in series to the Ryobi. I took it around for a half mile. The combo was able to push out 20A peak current. I didn't think the Ryobi could do that. With the regular battery, the motor will draw 25A, SInce the Ryobi was never intended to push those current levels, you'll have a short range ride and eventually ruin the battery.

1/3
Dunbar
4 days ago

Class III as described by the CA. law and being adopted in other states does allow for 28mph but doesn't address the wattage it takes to get there, but 750w, né 960w even, is not going to maintain that speed unless you are on flat ground with no wind for very long.

750w of motor assist on a speed pedelec will allow you to maintain 28mph on flat ground if there isn’t a strong headwind. What more power allows you to do is hold that speed across a wider range of conditions (headwind and\or incline.) Also, as the battery depletes you lose peak power. So with that 20A \ 48v controller you would be down 200w of peak power once the battery voltage drops 10v.

Ken M
5 days ago

-Ohm
-Bulls Outlaw
-Smartmotion
-The new generation Easy Motion hub drives
-Juicebikes CCS - Torah names his power assist as "dynamic assist", no jerky on-off propulsion.
-Radcity
-Magnum- some riders report jerky on-off feel at low speeds.

I tend to think of geared hub motors as unique from gear-less hub motors. While the gear reduction in a geared hub motors certainly provides more torque it does so at the expense of reduced reliability (the internal gears are almost always plastic and they will wear out of time ... I've read that many tend to need replacement every 5,000 - 10,000km while a gear-less hub drive has literally no wear-out expect for the axle bearings which can last up to 100,000km).

The sad result of the motor regulations in Europe usually pushes the technology towards mid-drives because the internal gear reductions multiple the torque of low wattage motors. In the US the 750W regulation provides a unique opportunity for a gear-less hub motor to provide a better solution overall.

Note: In reality the 750W rating is dubious because peak ratings tend to ignore the specification. In reality any motor could be rated at 750W based on a test protocol. Unless both the controller and motor are considered in the drive specification the regulations are of no real legal merit (which is a good thing for anyone really wanting a good performance eBike and not some slow European eBike limited to 20mph max assist speed.

I know now I'll get a bunch of haters telling me that 20mph is fast enough and anything faster is not safe because they are scared to ride faster. Serious get a life and let those that feel comfortable riding at 20-40mph enjoy some assist at those speeds.

Ken M
5 days ago

I think the industry over-prioritizes the European granny-power limit of 25oW. This essentially drives a significant % of the bike designs towards mid drives (not that they are not the best configuration for mtn bikes). The US power limit of 750W is still a bit lower than is really needed to enable an eBike to become a truly viable transportation product but it's much better. I have no clue why the big OEM don't have all motors produced to allow 750W nominal minimum (higher peak levels for a duration of a few minutes to complete an occasional hill) and just program the power level down in those EU countries that are scared of anyone going faster than 28kpm (may as well be walking).

Mark Peralta
2 weeks ago

Technology Bern University of Applied Sciences have conducted an efficiency test and concluded that geared hub drive (Maxxon for example) are most efficient compared to several Bosch and other mid-drive motors.

This should give a solid evidence to prove that mid-drives are not the most ideal in all cases. All this talk of efficiency is just pure talk. I also know from experience that my geared hubs gave me more range than mid-drives. Again, there are + and - to both but simply saying mid-drives are efficient is just BS. Please look at the detailed reports below. I still think a good geared hub motor coupled to a torque sensor gives the best power and range combo. [MAC, Easy motion 2018 geared hubs]

Here is a video:
https://www.srf.ch/play/tv/redirect/detail/bcb452ec-d249-4760-aabf-21a6d3cd5d9a

Summary of the test:
https://www.ti.bfh.ch/service/news/news_details/article/e-mountainbikes-im-test.html

Reports for each candidate bikes:

Specialzied levo: https://www.ti.bfh.ch/fileadmin/data/aktuell/forschung/ebike/Messbericht_Specialized_Levo.pdf

Cube Reaction pro: https://www.ti.bfh.ch/fileadmin/data/aktuell/forschung/ebike/Messbericht_Cube_Reaction_Pro.pdf

Bergamont E-roxter: https://www.ti.bfh.ch/fileadmin/data/aktuell/forschung/ebike/Messbericht_Bergamont_E-Roxter50plus.pdf

Haibike hardnine: https://www.ti.bfh.ch/fileadmin/data/aktuell/forschung/ebike/Messbericht_Haibike_HardNine_5.0_2run.pdf

Scott E-aspect: https://www.ti.bfh.ch/fileadmin/data/aktuell/forschung/ebike/Messbericht_Scott_E-aspect.pdf

Diavelo e650i: https://www.ti.bfh.ch/fileadmin/data/aktuell/forschung/ebike/Messbericht_Diavelo_e650i.pdf

Giant Dirt- E: https://www.ti.bfh.ch/fileadmin/data/aktuell/forschung/ebike/Messbericht_Giant_Dirt-E.pdf

Flyer uproc 2: https://www.ti.bfh.ch/fileadmin/data/aktuell/forschung/ebike/Messbericht_Flyer_uproc_2.pdf

Wheeler I-reader HD: https://www.ti.bfh.ch/fileadmin/data/aktuell/forschung/ebike/Messbericht_Wheeler_I-Reader_HD.pdf

Whistler Bware: https://www.ti.bfh.ch/fileadmin/data/aktuell/forschung/ebike/Messbericht_Whistle_Bware_2run.pdf

Ghost Kato: https://www.ti.bfh.ch/fileadmin/data/aktuell/forschung/ebike/Messbericht_Ghost.pdf

Hi Ravi, that's a very interesting post since I am excited to see a very efficient hub drive. I don't see the Maxon hub drive as one of the ebikes tested in the article.
https://www.ti.bfh.ch/fileadmin/data/aktuell/forschung/ebike/Elektro_Mountainbike_Spezial_BFH_Kassensturz.pdf
They were all mid drives and one hub drive which was the Diavelo. Extract of the article were the following:

Wheeler rider HD, yamaha PWX, 500wh battery = 45 km or 11.0 wh/km
Cube reaction pro500, Bosch CX, 500 wh battery = 46 km or 10.8 wh/km
Bergamont Roxster, Bosch perf cruise, 500 wh battery = 49 km or 10.3 wh/km
Haibike Xduro hardnine, Bosch CX, 500 wh battery = 44 km or 11.3 wh/km
Flyer UPROC, Panasonic motor, 500 wh battery = 38 km or 11.3 wh/km
Specialized Levo, Brose, 460 wh battery = 37 km or 12.6 wh/km
Giant Dirct E, Yamaha sync dr, 409 wh battery = 41 km or 10.1 wh/km
Scott Aspect, Bosch motor, 506 wh battery = 41 km or 12.3 wh/km
Stoke E-blade, Bosch perf CX, 400 wh battery = 38 km or 10.6 wh/km
Whistle B ware, Bosch perf CX, 510 wh battery = 40 km or 10.1 wh/km
Ghost Kato2, Shimano E6000, 418 wh battery = 44 km or 9.5 wh/km
Diavelo E9501, Diavelo hub drive, 420 wh battery = 28 km or 17.6 wh/km

On that comparison the mid drives consumption ranges from 9.5 wh/km to 12.6 wh/km. There was only one hub drive and it comsumed more energy at 17.6 wh/km.

The Maxon drive provides promise for high efficiency from it's claimed 10.0 wh/km.
However, I want to see the source if it was from in-house information or from an independent test. If you can send me the link, I would greatly appreciate it.

Where was the image above taken?
I don't see it from Maxon website.
https://www.maxonbikedrive.com/en/home.html
The hub drive can have a higher peak efficiency considering less energy is wasted from the mechanical transmission. But That's all theory, a third party side by side comparison would be very interesting and very exciting since Maxon claims it can attain 10.0 wh/km consumption.

Regardless, the difference in efficiency is minimal but a hub drive is much easier to ride than a mid drive and preserves the life of the drive train (more durable).

1/2
fast
2 weeks ago

I have a 2014 izip e3 peak it uses the same batts how much do u want for the batts?

JRA
3 weeks ago

There are a few states that have 1000w limits in the law books. Oregon where I live is one of them.

It is kind of a game at this point. Some EU spec 250w bikes can peak at over 600w depending on how they are programmed and a US 750w bike with a 48v battery and a 20amp controller that is a popular option will peak @ 960w. The big thing to me is the speed restriction which is 15.5mph EU and 20mph US and bikes programmed to those restrictions will be only that fast under power, and hard to pedal above that unless on a downhill grade or with a tailwind.

Class III as described by the CA. law and being adopted in other states does allow for 28mph but doesn't address the wattage it takes to get there, but 750w, né 960w even, is not going to maintain that speed unless you are on flat ground with no wind for very long.

Manu
2 days ago

The 9 only you get performance downhill because to really take advantage of light pedelec with 4 kilos less,you need to maintain a higher peak speed with any rise or low gradient.. 3º to 5º and the 9 teehts dont help.

If you exceed 25km / h the effort is multiplied, to pedal without counting the wind against and also of assistance, added to the position of 90º human and the wheels less rolling and a greater weight does not compensate to put the 9 teeth.

you remove 1 kilo weight to your pedelec and gain 6 seconds for 1 km of ascent with human effort.10km =60 seconds.

Easier for the human and easier for the engine.

The easy way is to remove weight on the wheels and have more torque to distribute at top speed, if you are going to make the pedelec more road and less of MTB is easy ..... tire changes or full solution, change wheel to 28 inches and a very light tire that supports the weight pedelec and user.

The cheapest solution that I forget is to take off one's body weight, lose weight by getting fit if this is possible.

Greetings

Mark Stonich
1 month ago

Thanks for your answer. She had a motorcycle accident when younger. Things were actually fine until last year when she slipped on an ice patch and broke her knee cap. That's when the knee problems started to come back. There's a loss of strength accompanied by pain when putting too much pressure on the knee. Walking is not a problem, but carrying heavy loads is no longer possible. Not sure of all the details, as it's a friend's wife. I offered to help put the bike/kit together as they're both over 75.

In a lot of cases the apparent lack of strength isn't that the muscle isn't strong, but pain prevents you from applying full tension with it. Reducing the bend in the knee with short cranks and spinning freely (easier with shorties) often helps. That she has no trouble walking, where the knee isn't loaded while bent, suggests that reducing the bend MAY help. She should run this past her Ortho and PT to get their opinion.

If she's a candidate for knee replacement, everyone I know who's had one, including my wife, says they should have done it sooner. 7 weeks after Jane's TKR she was climbing much better than before. And she rode 9 miles the day before her surgery. But after replacement, a lot of people lose range of motion and still need shorties. I've sold at least 100 sets 100mm or shorter to adults. Many to people with knee replacements whose PT wasn't aggressive enough.

If you want to have them contact me I can help them determine if short cranks are likely to help. I have all the work I want/need and would have retired years ago if there was someone else, anywhere on the planet, doing the work. So if her situation doesn't warrant shorties, I won't try to talk them into anything to try to make a sale. If nothing else, I can offer her some strategies for biking with bad knees. And Jane can share her experience with the Copenhagen Wheel.

Mark Stonich; BikeSmith Design & Fabrication
5349 Elliot Ave S. Minneapolis, MN 55417 USA
Ph. (612) 710-9593 http://bikesmithdesign.com
https://www.flickr.com/photos/bikesmith/ (Mostly Wildlife)

Recommended reading;
Crank Length, Leg Length and Power
Short Women / Short Crank Feedback
Range of Motion Limitations & Crank Length

In case they worry that short cranks will cost her power;

I recently got a phone call from an average sized adult mountain biker who says he's climbing familiar hills 1 or 2 gears higher on 135s than he'd used with 175s before he messed his knee up. He was just hoping shorties would let him ride again. Now he wants to get back into racing. He’s in Big Bear Lake California where the “Hills” are mountains.

A local Gravel Road racer is 6'-2” (188cm) and after much trial and error finds he is fastest on 135s despite having no RoM or other issues.

Another 6’2” gent in Texas competes in long distance Brevets on 95mm cranks due to severe range of motion limits. Another man with range of motion limits is climbing the hills of San Francisco with a single 38t chainring and a 12-25 cassette, also on 95s. The fellow in San Francisco bends pedal spindles. I just heard from another gent who does the grueling 200 mile Seattle to Portland on 95s.

One of my customers, 5'-7" (170cm) tall professional triathlete Courtney Ogden, won the big money 2011 Western Australia Ironman on 145s. He's done extensive work with the people at PowerCranks where they are becoming big advocates of shorter cranks.

A few years ago a team of 4 Australian MTB racers, ranging in height from 5'10 to 6"1 won a 24 hour MTB race on 125s. With the shorter cranks they rarely had to stand. conserving energy. And they were able to get by with a single chainring, before today’s monster cassettes, because the useful RPM range is so wide with shorties. Many customers have reported that they notice themselves needing to shift much less often.

This from a serious roadie with severe range of motion limitations;
"I’m 5’8” 168lbs – regarding strength, I’m not the strongest. However, I’m not the last up the hills and can do more than my fair share on the front of the group. The 115mm Andels you made for me still have no issues what so ever, I’m on my second set of rings! Please send me another set of 115s for my new bike.”
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Knee Friendly Pedaling

Riders usually push down on the pedals by using their quads to straighten the knee joint. First pushing the pedal forward, then down. There is always going to be a bit of this going on but you can do a lot to reduce the loads on your knees.

Try concentrating on using your glutes and hip flexors to swing your knees up and down. Relax your quads and just let everything below the knee act as a connecting rod between the knees and pedals. At the bottom of the pedal stroke use your hamstrings just a little bit to pull your foot back as though you were scraping mud off your shoe. Don't consciously push forward at the top of the circle. That's when knees are most bent and the tissues around them are most vulnerable.

If you aren't clipped into the pedals, and most of the time even if you are, you don't pull up on the pedal. But the idea of using the hip flexors to lift the knee is to reduce the amount of work done by the front foot that is wasted by raising the weight of the other leg and foot. If you aren't clipped into your pedals you don't want to completely unweight the upward foot. Some contact is needed to keep it located on the pedal. A grippy pedal like a spiky MTB platform or the MKS Grip King (AKA Lambda) makes this easier.

Pedalling on the mid-foot instead of the ball of the foot reduces stress on the knee. And testing has shown that it increases endurance, at a slight cost in peak power. However, be careful to avoid toe/tire interference.

If you do this while spinning freely, in low gears, you won't have to apply much force with any single muscle group. If you aren't comfortable spinning, your cranks are probably too long. 21-21.6% of inseam is best for healthy, non-triathlets, without joint issues. When a person is uncomfortable at higher RPM it isn't due to the muscles switching from extension to contraction more often. It is because their muscles are extending and contracting at a speed that is too fast for them. This recruits more fast twitch muscles, which produce more heat and lactic acid. Shortcranks reduce this speed by moving the muscles a shorter distance per revolution. Allowing more use of slow twitch fibers for a higher comfortable cadence.

Your quads will still end up doing much of the work. But easing some of the tension pulling your patella down onto the joint can make a big difference. When I get a twinge in my knee, it reminds me to concentrate on my pedaling and I actually accelerate.

BTW I read about this type of pedaling years ago, as a way to help you spin better. So it has a double benefit.

For eBike types, think of more efficient pedaling as a way to lessen drain on your batteries. ;)

Va. Bch. Electric Bike Center
1 month ago

Hi all,

I have narrowed my choices down to 3 very different ebikes. I have found these three for almost exactly the same price. They are all around $2200 or 2300 including shipping and all brand new.

I have looked at lots of reviews on all 3. I am looking for opinions on which one would be the best as far as long lasting and quality of components. Anyone have any thoughts and opinions?

The three bikes are as follows:

Izip Electric bike Peak+
Tern Vektron
Riese and Muller Roadster Touring

Thank you!
Test ride, test ride and test ride! It's the only way.

Cates
1 month ago

Hi all,

I have narrowed my choices down to 3 very different ebikes. I have found these three for almost exactly the same price. They are all around $2200 or 2300 including shipping and all brand new.

I have looked at lots of reviews on all 3. I am looking for opinions on which one would be the best as far as long lasting and quality of components. Anyone have any thoughts and opinions?

The three bikes are as follows:

Izip Electric bike Peak+
Tern Vektron
Riese and Muller Roadster Touring

Thank you!

GuruUno
2 months ago

I too have the Trek Super Commuter since June this year and am breaking the 1700 mile barrier as of today. Many different conditions on roads and trails and I am considering a suspension fork. Coming from an Izip E3 Peak I can say it’s a totally different ride but I do miss the RockShox. If I do spring for the fork I want to get the right one the first time so any advice is welcomed. Going to the Expo in Philadelphia on Nov 4th. Hopefully some manufacturers reps will be there to pick their brains.

e-boy
2 months ago

https://emotionbikesusa.com/evo/

Patented BH frame with integrated battery creates clean frame lines.
Now 20% higher torque, reaching a peak power of 860W.
AWD model with a 350W rear and 250W front geared hub motors.
PAS (pedal assist) up to 20MPH, 28MPH on the NITRO model, w/POD (power on demand) offered on URBAN models.
Pedal Assist and Throttle (except EVO AWD BIG BUD).

Bosch eBike Systems
2 months ago

BOOGALOO eMTB Race heading to Southern California

Join the fun at the SoCal Endurance Race at the Vail Lake Resort in Temecula, CA Nov 4th

Oct 18th, 2017 Temecula, CA – THE BOOGALOO, a Class 1 pedal-assist mountain bikes (eMTB) race and demo event presented by Troy Lee Designs & Bosch eBike Systems, is heading to Southern California after a sold-out & stoked-up race at the Kamikaze Bike Games in Mammoth. Check out this video from Troy Lee Designs recapping the race, as well as the video produced by Transworld Motocross.

The race will be held Saturday November 4th on a course specifically designed for eMTB racers and built by legends like Brian Lopes, David Cullinan, Ryan Hughes and both previous champions of the Pro Class Victor Sheldon and Evander Hughes. Expect near-vertical ascents, killer drops, obstacles, berms, and more that will take you and your eMTB to the limits of what you thought possible on two wheels.

Limited registration is filling up fast for 32 Amateur “Race of Champions” slots. The early-bird entry fee of $60 is available until Oct 31st and will have you treated like a pro for the day with a Class 1 eMTB provided by Bulls, Haibike, Raleigh Electric, and Specialized set up to your specifications. Riders will also get a custom Troy Lee Designs A1 helmet, number plate, fender and commemorative t-shirt to take home along with some great stories from the event. The fastest five will win a premium Bosch Power Drill. REGISTER NOW before all entries are sold out. Also take advantage of the early-bird pre registration price as on site entries will increase to $75 per rider.

The Pro Class eMTB race will take place immediately following the Amateur race, where pros will compete for a $2,000 purse and Power Tools.

“These events are just full of stoke. I am pumped that we are able to get the Vail Lake eMTB race together so quickly following the success of the recent Boogaloo race at the Mammoth Kamikaze Games. We have already been cutting the coarse and it’s shaping up great, this is going to be one exciting day of racing!” -Troy Lee

If racing isn’t your blood, FREE demos will be also be available before and after the race on a custom built course suited for beginner riders near the registration area of the So Cal Endurance / So Cal Enduro at Vail Lake. Bikes from Raleigh Electric, Haibike, Bulls Bikes and Specialized, will be on hand with representatives from each brand to set up and educate riders on Class 1 eMTB riding.

Demo Schedule:

Friday 11/3/17 – 1pm – 5pm

Saturday 11/4/17 – 9am – 12pm

Sunday 11/5/17 – 9am – 12pm

“I want to give a big congrats and thanks to all the our Mammoth Boogaloo racers who poured their hearts out there on the track. We had teens racing against men and women three times their age, and many legends from the extreme sports world.” said Claudia Wasko, General Manager of Bosch eBike Systems Americas. “We look forward to seeing who returns to Vail Lake to challenge our reigning Pro-Class champ Evander Hughes.”

Race Director of So Cal Endurance and So Cal Enduro, Jason Ranoa said. “ I am looking forward to hosting my first Class 1 eMTB event. We will be racing and doing demo’s on a closed course in hopes to educate MTB riders about what Class 1 eMTB is all about. You can’t help but smile after taking a lap on our course!”

Class 1 is a specific classification for sustainable use on any trail, path or riding area. Class 1 eMTB models are defined as “a human powered bicycle with fully operable pedals, and an electric motor under 750 Watts peak power that must be pedaled to activate the motor and that ceases to provide power above 20 mph”. (See Photo 4 for Class 1 visual)

Once again please visit the pre registration page for early-bird pricing by clicking here - http://www.socalendurance.net/boogaloo.html

###

Contacts for press inquiries:

Aaron Cooke, Proper Management

Phone: 714-720-5872

BoogalooeMTB@gmail.com

Andy Ambrosius, Tech Image

phone: +1-312-888-1628

andy.ambrosius@techimage.com

jazz
2 months ago

The video is good, however, it is not a fair comparison nor an accurate one.

The Rad actually is putting out over 1000w peak (22a x 48v = 1056), which is 2x more than the Sondors at just over 500w peak (15a x 36v = 540). So showing the Rad zooming past the Sondors while putting out double the watts doesn't tell the whole story.

The Rad Rover costs $500 more which allows for better components. To do this comparison right, you should have compared a Sondors X 48v 500w (20a x 48v = 960) which would have been a much closer in performance and still $250 cheaper than the Rover even with the 7 speed, front suspension upgrade and shipping. Add a 25a aftermarket controller for $65 and the X puts out 1200w vs the Rads 1056w peak for still $200 less than the Rad. The Rad does have 750w motor but as you can see the wattage difference is not that much with both stock bikes at peak power. Another huge difference is that X comes with a much larger battery than the Rover 17.5aH vs 11.6aH.

Overall the Rad is probably a better eBike if you compare it from top to bottom. But for little over $1000, the Sondors X is a better overall value.

Geoffrey Bloom
2 months ago

Has anyone confirmed that the Magnum Peak has 90nm of torque? It really does appear to be a value priced, good quality speed pedelec. I could not find a DAS-KIT motor on their website that produced 90nm (most of their geared hub motors we in the neighbor hood of 40nm which will still perform pretty well but not achieve 28mph with some reasonable rider effort.
Yes, I have a Magnum Peak and it is definitely at least 90nm. It takes off the line quickly. My friend with his Specialized Turbo Levo (also 90nm but only 36v) can not even come close to keeping up with me. And I have achieved and sustained speeds of 28mph.

Ken M
2 months ago

All electric motors has a bell curve of the efficiency range (albeit skewed) when plotted against RPM. That is the efficiency of converting electrical energy from the battery to mechanical energy in the motor. The peak is usually in the low to mid 80's %. A 500 watt hub drive's peak efficiency will depend on how it is wound and geared. In the US there are the 20 mph and the 28 mph hubs. The peak efficiency will be somewhere below 20 mph (15-18 mph) or for the speed pedelec it will be proportionally at higher speed, maybe from 19-26 mph.

http://www.ebikes.ca/tools/simulator.html
When it comes to the load. The new controllers now use MOSFETS that feed optimum load all the time for maximum efficiency (gone are the inefficient variable resistors of the past), but the optimum current is produced in pulses and the pulses are controlled or modulated by there width, pulse width modulation or PWM. So the load is always near optimum with the new controllers.

Small mid drives has the potential to have the highest overall efficiency by taking advantage of the gear ratios and keeping the RPM within the optimum range.

Ken M
2 months ago

Has anyone confirmed that the Magnum Peak has 90nm of torque? It really does appear to be a value priced, good quality speed pedelec. I could not find a DAS-KIT motor on their website that produced 90nm (most of their geared hub motors we in the neighbor hood of 40nm which will still perform pretty well but not achieve 28mph with some reasonable rider effort.

Mark Peralta
2 months ago

For riding on hilly paved roads .
Any real world difference in acceleration and climbing ?
There is another thread here at ebr forum where a Brose owner complains about how slow it is compared to the Bosch CX.
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/my-2017-brose-motor-slow-as-molasses-sad-such-a-good-looking-bike.13381/
However, I don't think that the Brose is inferior to the Bosch. Both are reputable giants. I think it is just tuned differently and dialed more for maximum range over high peak power.

Geoffrey Bloom
2 months ago

Could be, depending on model and how you spec it out (Sterzing starts at about $7500). It is state-of-the-art Carbon frame, dual piston, brakes, etc etc.

http://www.motostrano.com/M1-Sterzing-GT-E-Bike-S-Pedalec-p/sterz.htm

But if you are looking for the best value / performance ratio out there, it is the Magnum peak for sure. It has the basic essentials like 48v battery / power and 90nm of torque, hydraulic brakes, 24 gears, 29" wheels - all for about $2000.

https://www.magnumbikes.com/product/magnum-peak/

John from Connecticut
2 months ago

Hello all - I need some help. I am getting the below 4x4 Sprinter Van that has a bed that raises. I want to put two bikes under the bed that fit when it is lowered - which will require taking the front wheel off.

What my requirements are:

A fun - want to ride every day - ride.
Suspension (through forks / tires) that will allow us to ride on easy to medium trails. I assume the full suspension bikes can't take a bike rack.....
Must have a bike rack as we will be taking camping stuff at least 10 miles down the trail... or getting groceries.
Long lasting battery.
Tough as we will be banging this thing around.
Unique - I love having cool things that spark conversations. Not to show off - but to start a conversation... I like to talk....
Weight - In my experience the lighter the bike the better the carve. But... I understand the electric bike is a lot heavier which is fine - expected - but 70+ pounds I wonder if that is too heavy for some of these??

We will be peddling a lot - I have a Carbon Fiber DaVinci (which is over my head in capabilities) so I want a bike that I can peddle a lot of the time.... maybe 50% on assist 1 or 2.. At least that is my vision - might change as I've never had an electric bike! I'm 48 and still want to go to places that others people aren't.

The bikes (I need two - one for me / one for my girl -- 5' 10" / 5' 6") that I'm kind of excited about are:

Haibike SDURO Trekking 9.5 - a little expensive and unsure about the off road capability. Looks like it is well put together - well thought out bike. Looks mad cool. A take down from this bike might be the M2S XC Sport?? Half the price.

M2S R750 Looks like a nice bike for the price. Looks like it is mad fun and has decent options. Unsure if that is an actual 750 Watt motor or the peak? Wish the battery was 52v. 62 pounds.

RadRover Man I love this company - flew from Key Largo up to Seattle to tested the bike. My only problem with the RadRover is that it seems that it hasn't been updated that much. I wish it had an option for a better battery and forks.

Volt Yukon Limited Looks like a real nice bike - possibly a step above the Rad but that is more like a Ford / Chevy argument.... they are too close to call so go with the one that looks the best. And the Volt guy is a little aggressive replying to comments anywhere the Volt is talked about. If I had to pick between the two - I think I would go Volt but would choose the R750 over both.

Teo S Another well priced bike and it seems to be a pretty nice one with a 750W motor . I am unsure how it compares the other Rad / Volt. Looks like the people who bought this bike really like it. But that is all relative -

Bulls / Specialized / Trek / and many other high end brands that make amazing bikes... but they seem to be a lot more expensive. I'm sure super nice rides - but is the price justified?

HaiBike
https://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/672/2018-sduro-trekking-9-5?variant=3840272848
M2S XC Sport
https://shop.m2sbikes.com/collections/frontpage/products/xc-mid-drive-electric-commuter?variant=38435959432
M2S R750
https://shop.m2sbikes.com/collections/frontpage/products/all-terrain-electric-fat-bike
RadRover
https://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radrover-electric-fat-bike?variant=1121017965
Volt Yukon Limited
http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-yukon/voltbike-yukon-750-limited.html
Teo S
https://teofatbike.com/boutique/en/teo-s/teo-s-medium-noir-750w-p111c83/

Hello SV Moving On,
Looking for opinions on e-Bikes. I purchased a Trek XM700+ this past July and I absolutely love it ! My average daily ride is 20-ish miles and I hate to stop.

The Bosch Performance Motor is silky smooth, but very powerful, the Intuvia Controller is simple to use. My XM700+ glides along bringing me great joy....Hills, 'there are none' : ) I never thought cycling could be so much fun !... I made one change and added the Cirrus Bodyfloat seat post which I consider and absolute must. For me the frame stiffness was more then my back would tolerate, but the Bodyfloat is a marvelous piece of engineering, now my Trek is so comfortable...

The disk brakes are strong, extremely smooth and boy do they work. The swept back handlebars and the ergonomic grips make for a very comfortable ride.... The bike feels rock solid and is very well built. I've put on a little over 1000 miles in 3 months.

I'm sure there are many fine e-bikes out there, and I'm sure a few that are 'not so fine', but to me the Trek XM700+ plus is worth every penny and I'd do it all over again...

In fact I'm sort of doing that. I just ordered a Trek Powerfly 7 Mountain Bike based on my 700+ experience. I want to ride gravel/stone dust trails and I don't feel stable enough on the 7oo. The bike is fine, the issue is me, my 71 year old agility isn't what it used to be.

One last thing...A bike rack. I bought a Sirrus Freedom SuperClamp 2. It is great, once the hitch is installed, the rack is simple to install and remove from your vehicle. The rack is well built. Sirrus is a US company ( Madison Wisconsin ) . They've been in Wisconsin for 40 years, long before the catch phrase "Make America great again" . : ) I hope this was helpful.
All the best, John

Mark Peralta
2 months ago

Does anyone know what percentage of electrical energy input actually gets converted into forward motion?

At, say, 500W power consumption, how much energy remains to turn the wheel as opposed to heating the motor?

I presume the conversion efficiency varies a great deal with speed and load?
All electric motors has a bell curve of the efficiency range (albeit skewed) when plotted against RPM. That is the efficiency of converting electrical energy from the battery to mechanical energy in the motor. The peak is usually in the low to mid 80's %. A 500 watt hub drive's peak efficiency will depend on how it is wound and geared. In the US there are the 20 mph and the 28 mph hubs. The peak efficiency will be somewhere below 20 mph (15-18 mph) or for the speed pedelec it will be proportionally at higher speed, maybe from 19-26 mph.

http://www.ebikes.ca/tools/simulator.html
When it comes to the load. The new controllers now use MOSFETS that feed optimum load all the time for maximum efficiency (gone are the inefficient variable resistors of the past), but the optimum current is produced in pulses and the pulses are controlled or modulated by there width, pulse width modulation or PWM. So the load is always near optimum with the new controllers.

Small mid drives has the potential to have the highest overall efficiency by taking advantage of the gear ratios and keeping the RPM within the optimum range.

TForan
2 months ago

Just got the new pack yesterday, will share some initial impressions:

This pack is awesome! barely larger than the stock sized packs, 100% compatible on any of their bikes with the inframe style battery (in 48V). No problem fitting it on my Stunner LT, weight difference is very minor and the pack is not particularly any taller, just a bit wider out the left side (about 7/8"). Cell gain would be about 50% more (78 cells versus 52, rough guess)

Peak voltage off the charger seems to be the same as my smaller pack, 55.0V (equating to 13S), so there's no cheating for amp-hour gains with voltage sacrifice. This pack will all around perform better, and based on that voltage it should have around 1,100 Watt-hour peak!!!

Will provide some further dimensional/weight/range test details next week (and snap a pic), for now I'm extremely glad Roshan got these produced... Great upgrade for anybody looking to get a big range boost!

I really like those Stunner LTs. I almost bought one but decided on the Juggernaut Ultra.

Deafcat
2 months ago

Just got the new pack yesterday, will share some initial impressions:

This pack is awesome! barely larger than the stock sized packs, 100% compatible on any of their bikes with the inframe style battery (in 48V). No problem fitting it on my Stunner LT, weight difference is very minor and the pack is not particularly any taller, just a bit wider out the left side (about 7/8").

Peak voltage off the charger seems to be the same as my smaller pack, 55.0V (equating to 13S), so there's no cheating for amp-hour gains with voltage sacrifice. This pack will all around perform better, and based on that voltage it should have around 1,100 Watt-hour peak!!!

Will provide some further dimensional/weight/range test details next week (and snap a pic), for now I'm extremely glad Roshan got these produced... Great upgrade for anybody looking to get a big range boost!

edit, pics as promised:

https://i.imgur.com/zfCEEHr.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/lMXGjHf.jpg

weight is 10.27lbs (4.66 Kilos)

Still working on range figures from experience, but wow... looks like I can definitely do several days commute without a charge :eek:

b b
3 weeks ago

Hey court, didn't you review this bike already at the beginning of the year?

mobgma
3 weeks ago

Wheres the link to the website?

Armando Aleman
4 weeks ago

Ey buddy, ARE you NORWEGIAN NORWEGIAN NORWEGIAN AMERICAN?

Left Foot Brake
4 weeks ago

I was with you 'till you said you had a Prius...

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

Check this out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kWqS8ltL8NA

Mike B
4 weeks ago

Double front rings are only excessive if you Never ride the bike unpowered. If you do, you will quickly find that MOST mtb's would be better with 20g than 10. I think the trend will go the other way as end users realize they don't have enough gearing to get home comfortably if the battery is dead or other problem.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

That's a good point Mike, I see how the extra gears can be relevant

Scott TheOzoneGuy
4 weeks ago

Where is this trail head?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

Somewhere very near Salt Lake City? I'm not sure, they took me to a random spot

Eddie Espinal
4 weeks ago

Thanks a bunch court I'm in the Brooklyn area I'm going to look at your locator available on the website

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

Cool, I hope that helps, it should let you search by brand now but let me know if it has issues :)

Eddie Espinal
4 weeks ago

Court can I get this bike at propel Brooklyn ?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

Hi Eddie! No, Propel seems to only carry Bosch powered electric bikes these days. Magnum has a pretty widespread network of dealers however, so you might be able to find someone else nearby or buy directly from the company and have it shipped. I suggest contacting them and asking, they will refer you to the closest dealer and really seem to support their dealers well: https://www.magnumbikes.com/contact/

Juan Bruna
4 weeks ago

Is it available in the uk

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

Hi Juan, I'm not sure? might be something worth asking https://www.magnumbikes.com/contact/ I do believe they sell in Israel and similar designs may be available in parts of Europe under different names.

Edgar Cuevas
4 weeks ago

good review. feel like upgrading ebikes with all the new ones coming out.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

Thanks Edgar! Yeah, there are some very cool electric bikes on the horizon. I have over 40 new videos to process and post in the coming month or so, keep an eye out :)

Joey Love
4 weeks ago

I could watch this all night. Oh wait I do! This is a great bike for the price.

Smurdle450
3 weeks ago

Comparing motors? Im watching for it now! Cant wait.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

Ha! I've got a bunch of fun guide type videos in the works soon, like comparing motors and stuff, should be fun ;)

HighsNBurgers
4 weeks ago

Nice to have all those gears to pedal a hub motor bike if the battery goes dead.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

Now that's a great point... especially since the Magnum Peak 29 weighs about 57.5 lbs ;)

Mr Jhonny
4 weeks ago

15th like

Mr Jhonny
3 weeks ago

ye

Smurdle450
3 weeks ago

Aim for first next time...

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

Not bad :P

J Flores
4 weeks ago

Great review, thank you!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

Happy to help, glad you enjoyed it :D