Pedego Trike Review

2017 Pedego Electric Trike Review
2017 Pedego Trike
2017 Pedego Trike Integrated Spanninga Trendo LED Headlight
2017 Pedego Trike Removable 36 Volt 11 Amp Hour Battery Pack
2017 Pedego Trike Lcd Control Panel Twist Throttle
2017 Pedego Trike Grip Twist Shifter Parking Brake Levers
2017 Pedego Trike 250 Watt Dapu Geared Hub Motor
2017 Pedego Trike Rear Disc Brake Finger Adjustable Avid Bb7
2017 Pedego Trike Mechanical Avid Bb7 Disc Brakes 160 Mm Rotors
2017 Pedego Trike Velo Oversized Comfort Seat With Back Rest
2017 Pedego Trike Plastic Storage Bin Bucket With Drain Holes
2017 Pedego Trike 30 Inch Width Fits Through Doors
2017 Pedego Trike 3 Speed Shimano Nexus Drivetrain Right Wheel Drive
2017 Pedego Trike Manual Charger Pedals Touch Up Paint
2017 Pedego Electric Trike Review
2017 Pedego Trike
2017 Pedego Trike Integrated Spanninga Trendo LED Headlight
2017 Pedego Trike Removable 36 Volt 11 Amp Hour Battery Pack
2017 Pedego Trike Lcd Control Panel Twist Throttle
2017 Pedego Trike Grip Twist Shifter Parking Brake Levers
2017 Pedego Trike 250 Watt Dapu Geared Hub Motor
2017 Pedego Trike Rear Disc Brake Finger Adjustable Avid Bb7
2017 Pedego Trike Mechanical Avid Bb7 Disc Brakes 160 Mm Rotors
2017 Pedego Trike Velo Oversized Comfort Seat With Back Rest
2017 Pedego Trike Plastic Storage Bin Bucket With Drain Holes
2017 Pedego Trike 30 Inch Width Fits Through Doors
2017 Pedego Trike 3 Speed Shimano Nexus Drivetrain Right Wheel Drive
2017 Pedego Trike Manual Charger Pedals Touch Up Paint

Summary

  • A custom designed electric trike with large plastic cargo bin at the back, three-speed internally geared hub can be shifted at standstill and is more durable than a traditional derailleur
  • Two mechanical disc brakes provide good stopping power, max speed limited to 7 mph in throttle mode, up to 11 mph in pedal assist with three power levels to choose from
  • Large LCD display panel is easy to read and navigate, there's a USB charging port at the base of the display and the trike comes with an integrated LED headlight and back light as well as reflective tires for safety
  • Heavier and more difficult to move than a traditional two-wheel ebike but much more stable, I hit my heels on the tub when pedaling at times, no reverse drive mode

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Pedego

Model:

Trike

Price:

$2,995

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, Europe

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

73.6 lbs (33.38 kg) (61.6 lbs for High-Step)

Battery Weight:

5.8 lbs (2.63 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.17 lbs (2.79 kg)

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Trike (Cantilever Style)

Frame Sizes:

13 in (33.02 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

13" Seat Tube Length, 29.5" Reach, 13" Stand Over Height, 73" Length, 30" Width

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

Metallic Blue

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Steel, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Frame Rear Details:

10 mm Independent Axles with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses, Welded Rear Rack with Spring Latch

Gearing Details:

3 Speed 1x3 Shimano Nexus Internally Geared Hub, Chain Tensioner

Shifter Details:

microSHIFT inter Grip Twist on Left

Cranks:

Alloy 165 mm Crank Arms, 39 Tooth Chainring with Integrated Torque Sensor

Pedals:

Pedego Branded Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Threadless External Cup Sealed Bearing, 1-1/8"

Stem:

Tool-Free Adjustable Angle, 0° to 80°

Handlebar:

High-Rise, 28" Width

Brake Details:

Avid BB7 Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Tool-Free Adjustable Calipers, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors and Parking Brakes

Grips:

Padded Stitched, Black

Saddle:

Velo Oversized Comfort with Back Rest and Rubber Bumpers

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

28.6 mm

Rims:

Double Wall Aluminum Alloy, Paint Matched, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge with Brass Nipple, Silver

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Ben, 20" x 2.15"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

30 to 55 PSI, Performance Line RaceGuard Puncture Protection, LiteSkin Reflective Sidewall Stripe

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve, Pre-Slimed

Accessories:

Paint Matched Steel Chain Guard, Paint Alloy Matched Front Fender, Integrated Plastic Rear Fenders, Plastic Bucket with Drain Holes, Parking Brake Pins on Both Brake Levers, Integrated Spanninga Trendo or Luxo LED Headlight (15 Lux and 40 Lux), Integrated Spanninga Rear LED Light, (Press the Power Button Once When On to Activate Lights), Flick Bell on Right, Optional Rain Fly to Cover Bucket

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Quick-Connect Modular Throttle and Motor Cables for Easy Repair or Replacement, 1.8 lb 2.5 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Dapu

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

650 watts

Motor Torque:

30 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic, 18650

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (1-3), Battery Level (5 Bars), Time, Odometer, Trip Meter

Display Accessories:

5 Volt Standard Sized USB Port (Hold Set and + to Activate)

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle, Torque Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

11 mph (18 kph) (7 mph Throttle Only)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Pedego introduced their first electric trike in late 2013 and I got to test and review it at a shop called Rocket Electrics in Austin Texas. This was one of the first ebike tricycles I had ever seen and the custom design was inspiring and exciting. Rather than use a sharp rattly steel basket, Pedego had developed a paint-matched plastic bucket of sorts and its polished curved lines looked radically different. More like a side-car on a motorcycle or the rumble seat of an old fashioned car… Three-wheeled bicycles tend to easier to mount and more stable to ride than those with just two wheels. They are well suited to cargo hauling, like groceries or books, but without electric assist their heavier weight and comfort-oriented geometry can make them difficult to pedal. Notice how the cranks on Pedego’s trike are positioned forward and the saddle has a back rest built in. The handle bars are raised up and swept back and there’s a tool-free adjustable stem. It’s a “one size fits all” platform that’s sold exclusively through dealers where you can get fitted and go for a test ride. Of course, the price is a bit higher at nearly $3k but you get a solid warranty and end up with some upgraded components and accessories. For me, the internally geared three-speed hub (that can be shifted at standstill), reflective tires, integrated batteries and disc brakes are stand outs. This is a trike with pedal assist and throttle mode but no reverse (likely to keep the control interface simpler and more intuitive).

Driving the trike is a modest 250 watt internally geared hub motor spoked into the front wheel. The peak output is around 650 watts and it’s made by Dapu which is a higher-end brand with zippier performance. One thing I noticed with their new hub design is that the motor power cable comes down through the axle vs. out the end. This keeps it tucked away, reducing snags and bends that can eventually ruin the motor. Rather than 20 mph or even 15 mph the Pedego Trike is speed limited to 11 mph in pedal assist and 7 mph in throttle mode. Trikes are more stable when mounting and loading but they can get up onto two wheels at higher speed when taking sharp turns. The lower top speed here might be a nod to safety and it probably also improves range. You can hear it operating at full power but overall, I’d say the motor is quiet… complimenting the now quieter plastic tub, front fender and chain cover. For a trike with all of these extras added on, I was also impressed with the 73.6 lb curb weight.

Powering the motor, backlit display and LED lights is a very average sized battery. But again, the lower top speed helps to extend range and LED lights don’t take much juice… The pack offers 396 watt hours (36 volts, 11 amp hours) of capacity and uses high quality Panasonic cells that should last. Unlike the older trike, this battery is easy to reach and remove if you’d like. It’s right there in the frame tubing which helps to bring weight forward on the trike (improving front wheel traction) and locks on securely with a key. Some electric trikes make you leave the key in while riding, like the ignition on a car, but not this one. It would be in the way and vulnerable to being kicked if so. Basically, they did the battery right. You can charge it on-frame using a port on the left side of the frame or take it off and charge it inside. The pack has a folding handle to give you a solid grip (dropping batteries is not good) and there’s even a little LED charge level indicator built in so you know how full it is even if it’s not mounted to the bike.

Operating the new Pedego Trike is very easy… Once the battery is charged and locked in place, just press and hold the power button on the brilliant LCD display for a few seconds. It flickers to life showing battery capacity, speed, assist level and trip stats and it starts in zero. This is a good thing because the twist throttle could get bumped if the trike started in level 1-3 and take off on you. I recommend sitting down on the trike before powering it on, then arrow up one, two or three clicks and begin pedaling. Note that this electric trike uses a fancy torque sensor vs. a cadence sensor. I’m not sure I love the choice because it required more leg power than expected during my test rides. I was consistently in the highest level of assist but still opted to use the twist throttle most of the time to get going. The combination of a “shift anytime” internally geared hub, three levels of assist and the throttle option make the experience great and I suppose that cadence sensors (which tend to have an on/off jerky feeling) wouldn’t be as smooth. And so, maybe down the line the controller will be adjusted so you don’t have to pedal as hard to get the motor to respond and note, this was a pre-production build of the trike which had been used for demos. I recommend visiting a dealer to try for yourself :)

There’s a lot to love about the new Pedego Trike. Part of me misses the glossy red of the original but I appreciate the thought that went into their new black cargo bin which won’t smudge or scratch as easily. The metallic blue would look good with a male or female rider and all of the comfortable, adjustable touch points are there to make it enjoyable to ride. I especially like the large metal pedals which grip your foot but do not have sharp pins on them! They are partially rounded so as not to scrape legs and shins if you lose traction. Paul Auclair, an engineer product manager at Pedego, even mentioned the possibility of a rain fly cover for the cargo bin at some point in the future. There’s a lot of thought that went into the cables, frame design and gearing of this trike. Very few options even exist in this space and many upright neighborhood designs like this do not have disc brakes for example. Overall, I was very impressed and had a great time. I didn’t feel like the limited top speed was a deal killer and I loved how maneuverable the trike was. This would be an excellent platform for someone with limited balance who still enjoys cycling and might also want some utility for shopping. My Grandfather, for example, has a limited license which does not allow for driving after dark but with the Pedego Trike he could visit friends or dash to the store easily and stretch his legs in the process.

Pros:

  • A purpose built (from the ground up) electric trike with color matched wheels, chain guard and front fender
  • Comfortable and stable yet narrow enough to fit through most doors (it measures 30″ wide), the oversized seat with back rest and high-rise swept back bars offer an upright body position
  • Feet-forward design allows for lower seating position and easier mounting, the deep step-thru frame is very easy to step onto and sit down on
  • Both brake levers have locking pins so you can steady the bike when loading/unloading and have it stay put when not in use (trikes don’t usually have kickstands so this feature is important)
  • Unique plastic cargo bin in the rear looks sleek, is textured with “orange peel” tread to hide blemishes and has drains in the bottom for easy cleaning, I like that it doubles as a fender for both rear wheels
  • The battery pack on this e-trike is relatively easy to access and doesn’t require that your keys be left in to operate, you don’t have to bend way down or reach under the cargo bin to get at it… if you do take it off, there’s a plastic handle on top making it easier to move around
  • Top speed is limited to ~7 mph in throttle mode and ~11 mph in pedal assist for safety, these speeds are more stable on a trike and should extend your range as well
  • I like the adjustable stem, it doesn’t require tools and is designed to bring the handle bar up or down to provide a more comfortable fit for riders of different sizes (the trike only comes in one size)
  • This electric tricycle has disc brakes! I was really impressed to see two discs and found that they stopped fairly well and were easier to use than some band brakes and linear pull brakes
  • Integrated LED lights (that run off the main battery) keep you safe, aren’t going to get lost and aren’t as easy to leave on accidentally as after-market lights, I like the positioning of them and appreciate that the headlight is aimable… note the reflective sidewall tape on the tires for an even larger visual footprint for cars to see
  • In addition to the LED lights, there’s a standard sized USB port at the base of the display so you can run an extra light, charge your phone or bring some speakers or string lights for fun :P
  • I absolutely love that you can shift gears at standstill thanks to the internally geared three-speed hub, this makes starting from rest easier (especially on an incline) if you forgot to shift down earlier when moving
  • Dapu hub motors are well designed and tend to be zippier than the competition in my experience, the power cable does not come out the end of the axle (where it could get snagged or bent if the trike tipped), it comes down and tucks near the fork arm
  • The original Pedego Trike had a rear-mounted battery which added to the weight of the two wheels and bucket… for the new one, having the battery up front makes the frame more balanced and allows for more space in the bucket

Cons:

  • As with many front-wheel-drive trikes, the hub motor is zippy and powerful enough to spin out a little if you blast the power on, I usually ease in using the twist throttle gently so as not to wear the tires or damage some types of terrain
  • There’s no reverse mode on the trike, some competing products let you go backward which can be useful for parking and moving (especially when the cargo bin is fully loaded)
  • To me, the torque sensor felt weak and required more leg effort than expected. Considering there are three levels of pedal assist, I would have expected the highest level to be more powerful… I ended up using the throttle most of the time as a result
  • Several times when trying to pedal, I snagged my heels on the plastic bucket shell, I wear 9.5 shoes (so my feet aren’t especially large) and feel that the shell of the bin should not protrude so far… it’s just the plastic cover, not the inner box that snagged me so I feel like they made it long for style vs. function and maybe you could cut adjust it yourself if you snag your feet too
  • Pedego products are sold through dealers and come with a great warranty but that makes them a bit more expensive, for $2,995 you get a pretty custom setup here so it’s not too bad
  • The trike is much heavier than a two-wheel electric bike and could be difficult to transport after purchase, consider a small trailer for your car from Harbor Freight and remove the battery and seat to reduce weight
  • Pedego introduced another trike several years ago that used more wires, had a louder cargo bin at the rear and just wasn’t polished… this oone still has some noise from the plastic bin but is much quieter, I prefer plastic to metal which can cut and sometimes get rusty if it’s a steel basket
  • All of your pedal power and rear braking goes to one wheel, not both, so the right tire might wear out faster and if you slam on the brakes the stop might pull you to the right a little
  • This is more of a warning than a con, be careful with the chain cover because it’s easy to kick and bend when mounting and riding the trike

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Pedego Reviews

Pedego 20″ Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sturdily built, lower speed electric bike with seven gears and throttle-only operation designed primarily for kids and youth but also a good fit for short riders. Max weight of 350 lbs, bosses in the rear for adding a rack and hauling…...

Pedego Latch Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sturdy folding electric bike with a full-sized feel, the extra long seat post and telescoping stem fit a wider range of body types than most folders I've tested. Premium drivetrain features and accessories including a Gates belt drive, Shimano Nexus internally geared hub,…...

Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $3,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fined fat tire electricbike with balanced down tube battery and purpose-built "extrawide" hub motor for improved drive train operation and torque. Nice LCD display panel with integrated buttons and swivel, includes a USB port for charging…...

Pedego Ridge Rider Review

  • MSRP: $3,395
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A delightfully capable and refined 27.5" hardtail electric mountain bike with powerful 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery pack. Nice upgrades on the adjustable air fork with lockout, 15 mm thru-axle, locking grips, hydraulic…...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A smaller version of the Interceptor that's easier to mount, it offers great power thanks to its smaller wheels paired with a 500 watt geared hub motor and 48 volt battery. Offers twist throttle and five levels of assist for increased range, throttle override puts you…...

Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stripped down comfort cruiser with easy-mount step-thru frame, throttle on demand only, optional fenders, multiple color choices and multiple battery size options from 36v 10ah up to 48v 15ah. Locking removable battery pack is protected in the color-matched rear rack, mechanical disc brakes are…...

Pedego Classic Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy, powerful cruiser style electric bike with large 500 watt geared motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery. Balloon tires, comfort saddle, suspension seat post and oversized handlebars create a relaxed upright ride...

2015 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A fat style ebike with zippy 500 watt geared motor and powerful 48 battery (available in 10ah or 15ah for extended range). Four fun color options, integrated headlight, pedal assist and throttle mode, quality mechanical disc brakes...

Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy and powerful electric bike that's a bit more active than the cruisers (more forward body position, narrower handlebars) and is available in several frame sizes for improved fit. Lots of great extras including full length aluminum fenders, chain guard, puncture resistant tires with…...

Pedego Stretch Review

  • MSRP: $3,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stylish and comfortable cruiser style electric cargo bike with removable tubing supports that extend the carrying platform or double as a back rest and running boards to accommodate a second rider. Offers two battery options for extended range and two drive modes including pedal assist (1-5)…...

Pedego Boomerang Review

  • MSRP: $2,495.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the easiest electric bikes to mount with extra low step-thru design, frame stiffness reduced as a result. Powerful 500 watt geared motor is quiet to operate and blends in well with cassette…...

Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Iconic cruiser style frame is sturdy, provides a relaxed seating position and comes in multiple colors. Powerful 500 watt direct drive (gearless) rear hub motor is durable, fast and relatively quiet...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A smaller step-through electric bike with 24" wheels for riders who are petite. Very powerful for its size, uses a 500 watt direct drive hub motor with three…...

Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the only purpose-built electric bikes that is setup to be a tandem for two adult riders. Sturdy frame, fun classic design, reliable drive system with six speeds, great support and warranty...

2014 Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy cruiser style electric bike with simple twist throttle operation and upgradable battery pack. Large tires, swept back handlebars, plush seat and padded grips dampen vibration to smooth out…...

Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Great power for acceleration, climbing or moving heavier riders with a 500 watt geared rear hub motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery combination. Offers twist throttle and five levels of pedal assist for increased range, removable battery for…...

2013 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,975
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Off-road design with 4" wide tires, increased contact patch enables the bike to ride on sand, snow and other rugged terrain, larger tires also provide cushion for improved riding comfort. Ultra powerful 600 watt geared motor and 48 volt battery pack for improved torque and…...

2014 Pedego Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Stable three wheel design with battery, motor and controller mounted low under the cargo bin. No pedal assist option with this bike but the twist throttle is intuitive to use…...

2013 Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Powerful combination of 500w motor and 48v Lithium battery. Durable and proven frame is borrowed from the Pedego Comfort Cruiser...

2013 Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,675
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

One of the only tandem style electric bikes available anywhere, large 500 watt motor offers good power. Built on the time tested, super simple, Pedego Cruiser cantilever style aluminum alloy frame...

2013 Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Classic upright commuter frame is quiet, sturdy and functional with welded rear rack. Integrated seat post shock, lights, bell, and computer with clean wire management...

2013 Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Solid, durable and extremely quiet to ride due to gearless rear hub motor. Casual design looks like a laid back cruiser and comes in many fun color choices...


Shaggy
2 weeks ago

This would be perfect for my senior citizen mom who one day will stop driving. Senior citizens who are not driving can have a way to get around, not be shut-in, and be happily independent - this is very important to self-esteem. Groceries could fit in the back. Interestingly, I believe trikes are more stable and steer better if the two wheels are in the front. In that arrangement, the rear single wheel could use a large hub motor to drive several hundred pounds or so. At my work, I could see these used by Facilities workers which would avoid gasoline and require less parking space. I really think 3-wheeled designs offer a lot of promise in multiple contexts. More power seems needed, especially to push a rider with cargo, add copious throttle because it could be too much weight to pedal for most except the physically most fit. Something trike-like between this Pedego design and the recumbent-style SunSeeker would be exciting evolution.

Court Rye
2 weeks ago

Good thoughts Shaggy, thanks for sharing! I agree that it's nice to have a few choices emerging and that electric trikes can bring back independence and fun for people who might be stepping away from more conventional options. My Grandfather lives in a retirement community and many of his friends drive golf carts around :)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

MLB
1 week ago

in countries where liability is a real thing throttles are another layer of dangerous. Fact that you can be OFF the bike, hit the throttle and the bike takes off makes it less than ideal in walker/bike situations.
Also mid drives leverage the gears so you have to know how to use the gears somewhat. Once you know how to use the gearing properly theres very little reason to need a throttle.
I have a throttle on my trike and seldom use it.
Have never ever missed one on my Haibike.

Matt A
2 weeks ago

Yeah Matt, I certainly would have preferred the belt. The only experience I've had with a Gates belt drive was on a Harley I once owned. Apples and oranges, I know (motorcycle vs. bicycle), but it was a great improvement over chain lines. That said, I don't have an issue with a chain with the Rohloff. I've been using White Lightning chain lube for 20 + yrs on all my bikes. It is a wax based lube. It will still tattoo you if you haven't cleaned the chain in awhile, but generally it is still much cleaner than petroleum based lubes. Only problem is that it does tend to cake up on components such as derailleurs and tensioners, so you occasionally need to take care of that + I tend to use a lot of it since it is designed to flake off with the contaminants as you ride. The thing with the Rohloff is that you are not continually bashing the chain against the cogs every time you shift. It simply runs from front to rear sprocket, no side to side movement jumping up and down on a rear cassette + front chainrings. Chain life, with a little attention, is probably triple that of a derailleur. The sprockets will eventually need replacement, but not for a long time. Also, the Roloff has a reversible sprocket. You simply spin it off and turn it around, so you get twice the life. Just did that on my trike Rohloff after getting maybe 10K miles on the one side. Only the second sprocket I've had on the trike in over 20K miles.

Oh man, that's an age-old problem with no good answer. My thoughts on that: the bicycle, by design, is a bit of a torture device. You are forced to bend over like a pretzel while getting a seemingly postage stamp size saddle ("so called support") up your butt. I don't know if anyone totally beats that issue. I think we just minimize the problem. When purchasing a new bike, my LBS has allowed me to take a saddle and try it out for a few rides, then return it an try another if that isn't working out. I've heard of shops that will accept a deposit, then do the same thing. The thing is, everyone is built differently and each bike has different geometry. Getting the right saddle for yourself is a black art - and certainly there are no pat answers. You will find that very slight tweaks in handlebar and seat height, or the forward/backward pitch of the saddle, can make a huge difference. Everyone is different. I find the Terry Men's Liberator:

http://www.terrybicycles.com/Saddles/Mens-Saddles/Liberator-Y-Elite

works great for me - all day riding with no pain - but I have friend who thinks it sucks. He is a Brooks guy. Retro-grouch. I did buy a Brooks about 15 years ago and lived with if for maybe 2000 miles. Beautiful workmanship, but it never broke in to my satisfaction. To each their own. I have never tried the Ergon saddle (same as yours) that comes with the GX, but I'll certainly give it a shot before switching it out. The Bisaddle looks very interesting. I'm guessing that you'll end up with one, so please let us know your impressions. The immediate - though not elegant - solution for you may be to get a gel cover for the Ergon, at least until you figure out the best solution. My wife has a saddle that the guys at my LBS call "the sofa". Super wide, looks like it is made for a stationary trainer (probably is). She has a gel cover on it and it got her through thousands of touring miles. Like I said, all of us are different and the combinations/solutions are endless . . . One reason I bought a trike was that those issues totally go away: you are pedaling in a relaxed, laid back recumbent position while sitting on what almost amounts to a lawn chair.

Matt: it is great to hear that you are so enjoying your bike. Makes me super eager to get a hold of my Delite and start riding. Kind of glad I have been forced to wait a few weeks for delivery though - at the moment in NY it is windy and cold for the foreseeable future. Snow today, super cold over the weekend, and more snow predicted for next week. If I had the bike now, like you, I'd be out there courting frostbite, for sure.
I braved the storm today and rode about 20 miles throughout the afternoon/evening in Philadelphia today. I put up a picture of the bike tonight while waiting for the subway home.

The GT tires did alright. I was riding on a bunch of different snow situations; soft thick snow, slushy roads, hard packed snow, ice. The bike just goes right through the majority of it. You cant really go through 6 inches of soft snow without slipping unless its only a few feet. When I had to go through that I would ride until the bike would slip to one side and just catch it and walk the rest. After a while I started getting some courage and riding right through it, usually had to put my foot down to stop from falling over every few feet though.

Over hard packed snow and really thick slush, you can move quickly but you have to keep perfect balance and go straight, if you turn the handlebars at all you start to slide and have to hope you catch yourself. When I was riding on a thin layer of slush up to an inch or so it was fine, you will only slip if you turn try to turn fast. When it was later in the evening and all that soft snow turned to that crunchy ice snow, the bike went over and through that perfectly fine almost as if it was asphalt, you could turn and go fast. Most of the main roads were just wet with patches of snow/slush so it wasn't too bad. The back roads were tough though, sometimes I would use the sidewalk since that was the only thing plowed. I enjoyed riding the bike in the snow even tough I had to put my foot down to stop from sliding at least a hundred times lol. Just thought I would share that experience!

P.S. When I am not logged into the site and try to read the forums, it tells me my IP address is banned. It allows me on the site but if I click forum it would say I am banned unless I login. Weird....

1/1
Oilseed
2 weeks ago

Hi JR.

Thank you very much for the reply and links to other solutions.
I checked them both.
The liberty looks good and has the twist grip, but the wheel are too small. if we could ge the larger diameter wheels, then it could be an option.
the Pedego (the model that was reviewed) is no longer being offered. They are revamping their trike solution. The rep at Pedego said 1t batch will ship end of March.
All presold to dealers.
the next production run will be end of July.
No specs or pics on their website, so I don't have the details on this yet. if anyone 'does' have the new info, please post.

just to note (to others reading this thread) the 'intent' was to 'inform' other elderly buyers of Electric TRIKEs that IZIP does NOT offer a proper throttle for this bike.
so before you put down your hard earned cash, be sure to ask the dealer (and tell them clearly, what you want.)

cheers

J.R.
2 weeks ago

Checkout these two trikes with throttle on demand as standard equipment. They might be better suited to your needs, especially the Liberty.

https://electricbikereview.com/liberty-trike/electric-tricycle/

https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/trike/

Alex M
2 weeks ago

I'm 'sure' they could offer a twist grip throttle for an electric bike/trike. yes?)

Bummer. Poor dealer/salesperson quality.

Why, of course twist throttles exist - at least as numerous as push-button, if not more. If you already got rid of your Izip, you can buy Sun Trike for much less: https://electricbikereview.com/sun-bicycles/24-traditional-electric-tricycle/. The red button is - I believe - reverse speed for throttle. Though I don't like the mere presence of the reverse - can be confusing for some people. Your dad wants it to be something like a scooter or Tesla car for a fraction of the cost, but ebike throttle is not designed to be used at all times. Wrist can get tired of twisting. Or a thumb, if this is a trigger/button. And, most of them are "zippy", with boost increasing from zero to full with a slight twist, like half-inch movement of the wrist.

Most shops would be able to replace the push-button with a twist-grip and move it from left to right handlebar for a modest fee.

Oilseed
2 weeks ago

My father, (who's 87 years young) ordered and received a IZIP E3Go recently. This is a TRIKE, and due to his age, his kids felt it would be 'safer' for him to ride (more stable than a 2 wheeler). He's had an electric 2 wheel bike for 8 years now. rides it everywhere. However, his current 2 wheel bike came with (and has) a 'twist grip throttle'. Not being electric bike owners ourselves (his children) but have owned and ridden motorcycles and scooters, we made the 'assumption' that 'ALL" electric bikes/trikes or power vehicles come equipped (standard) with 'twist grip throttles'. we discovered, too late, that this is not the case.
Al that is offered is a 'push button' 'boost' control. which does not perform as a throttle (similar to a motorcycles. scooter or like a foot control on a car.)
Not having this feature is a deal breaker, for my Dad (and I suspect it would be for many elderly people who just need a form of powered transportation, not a tool for exercise).

So, for those out there looking for a TRIKE with twist grip Throttle control, this is NOT your solution.
( I'm sure IZIP could offer this, why they do not.... Is a mystery. maybe they can reply?)

Rick Speicher
2 weeks ago

If your close to Canyon Lake,Tx. I will be glad to put a throttle on your dad's trike for less than the restocking fee.

Oilseed
2 weeks ago

I'm new to the forum, so please forgive my ignorance.
I'm writing this reply for my Father (who's 87 years young). He's had 2 wheel electric bike for 8 years now.
it was built in Taiwan (Sorry, I don't know the model or Manufacturer). he rides it frequently to the store and to Church. Because of his age, we (his kids) were concerned that riding a
2 wheel bike (at his age) was a bit too risky and wanted him to get an ELECTRIC TRIKE. After scouring the internet for solutions, we found a local dealer who offered the IZIP E3GO.
Looking at the specification, it seems to be a great fit. My Dad placed the order (with the dealer saying "if you don't want the Trike, when delivered, it's a 25% restocking fee.)
the Trike cost $2500.
When the trike was delivered to the dealer and setup, my Dad went there to pick it up. After adding some options (basket etc) he gave them a Check (yes, he still does business with Checks)
He noticed that the Trike did not come equipped with a throttle (Twist Grip, like his current 2 wheel electric bike). so he asked for this to be added.
the Dealer said "we'll have to order that it will take another 4 weeks. So we waited.... The "throttle" arrived, and was installed. then they delivered the Trike to my Dad's home.
He looked at the trike and said "where's the twist grip throttle?" they showed him the PUSH BUTTONS you use for boost (on the left side of the handle bar, no less).
He tried to use those, but it was like riding a roller coaster, speed up.... then coast down... then speed up... Not acceptable.
I contacted IZIP directly to see if they could provide a Twist grip throttle. their reply. "Sorry, no bueno"! What???
not having a twist grip throttle on an electric bike is like ordering a hot dog (from a cart vendor) and getting no Bun. :-(

Not making (or providing) a twist grip throttle control for electric bikes makes NO sense. especially for 'anyone' who is in need of a 'TRIKE".
think about it for a second. Elderly people just want to 'go'. they don't want to pedal. if they wanted to do that. they would get a regular bike, yes?
again, my Dad is 87. so before you begin flying is with rebuttals. please keep this in mind.
Suffice it to say, the IZIP E3GO is headed back to the dealer (and my dad is out $650). and we're Not happy customers, with the dealer OR IZIP.
(note: if they can put a foot throttle on an electric car (i.e. Tesla), I'm 'sure' they could offer a twist grip throttle for an electric bike/trike. yes?)
or maybe the Tesla owners, 'peddle' their cars (like the Flintstones) to get it moving?? I'm just saying....

Matt A
2 weeks ago

Yeah Matt, I certainly would have preferred the belt. The only experience I've had with a Gates belt drive was on a Harley I once owned. Apples and oranges, I know (motorcycle vs. bicycle), but it was a great improvement over chain lines. That said, I don't have an issue with a chain with the Rohloff. I've been using White Lightning chain lube for 20 + yrs on all my bikes. It is a wax based lube. It will still tattoo you if you haven't cleaned the chain in awhile, but generally it is still much cleaner than petroleum based lubes. Only problem is that it does tend to cake up on components such as derailleurs and tensioners, so you occasionally need to take care of that + I tend to use a lot of it since it is designed to flake off with the contaminants as you ride. The thing with the Rohloff is that you are not continually bashing the chain against the cogs every time you shift. It simply runs from front to rear sprocket, no side to side movement jumping up and down on a rear cassette + front chainrings. Chain life, with a little attention, is probably triple that of a derailleur. The sprockets will eventually need replacement, but not for a long time. Also, the Roloff has a reversible sprocket. You simply spin it off and turn it around, so you get twice the life. Just did that on my trike Rohloff after getting maybe 10K miles on the one side. Only the second sprocket I've had on the trike in over 20K miles.

Oh man, that's an age-old problem with no good answer. My thoughts on that: the bicycle, by design, is a bit of a torture device. You are forced to bend over like a pretzel while getting a seemingly postage stamp size saddle ("so called support") up your butt. I don't know if anyone totally beats that issue. I think we just minimize the problem. When purchasing a new bike, my LBS has allowed me to take a saddle and try it out for a few rides, then return it an try another if that isn't working out. I've heard of shops that will accept a deposit, then do the same thing. The thing is, everyone is built differently and each bike has different geometry. Getting the right saddle for yourself is a black art - and certainly there are no pat answers. You will find that very slight tweaks in handlebar and seat height, or the forward/backward pitch of the saddle, can make a huge difference. Everyone is different. I find the Terry Men's Liberator:

http://www.terrybicycles.com/Saddles/Mens-Saddles/Liberator-Y-Elite

works great for me - all day riding with no pain - but I have friend who thinks it sucks. He is a Brooks guy. Retro-grouch. I did buy a Brooks about 15 years ago and lived with if for maybe 2000 miles. Beautiful workmanship, but it never broke in to my satisfaction. To each their own. I have never tried the Ergon saddle (same as yours) that comes with the GX, but I'll certainly give it a shot before switching it out. The Bisaddle looks very interesting. I'm guessing that you'll end up with one, so please let us know your impressions. The immediate - though not elegant - solution for you may be to get a gel cover for the Ergon, at least until you figure out the best solution. My wife has a saddle that the guys at my LBS call "the sofa". Super wide, looks like it is made for a stationary trainer (probably is). She has a gel cover on it and it got her through thousands of touring miles. Like I said, all of us are different and the combinations/solutions are endless . . . One reason I bought a trike was that those issues totally go away: you are pedaling in a relaxed, laid back recumbent position while sitting on what almost amounts to a lawn chair.

Matt: it is great to hear that you are so enjoying your bike. Makes me super eager to get a hold of my Delite and start riding. Kind of glad I have been forced to wait a few weeks for delivery though - at the moment in NY it is windy and cold for the foreseeable future. Snow today, super cold over the weekend, and more snow predicted for next week. If I had the bike now, like you, I'd be out there courting frostbite, for sure.
It sounds like you've got a great setup for yourself there with the Rohloff and chain, it would be nice to ride the Rohloff again and compare it since now I know how the NuVinci feels. The Rohloff sounds really cool now that you are explaining it to me. I am not really sure how the internals work so I am having a hard time picturing your explanation of it, so I will take the time to research it a bit. I researched the NuVinci a lot before getting it so I fully understand the planetary gear system now. That's great that you've gotten so many miles out of your Rohloff, thats really a lot. I have had my bike 2 weeks now and have about 300 miles on it. It has been cold though so that will likely increase. I will probably put 7500-10,000 miles on the bike per year, so I really want durable materials that last a long time. It's nice to have more commercial quality components than consumer quality when they are really going to see some use.

Thank you for your insight into the saddle issue. Your experience with it has helped me understand more about the products I have looked at. I like how you refer to the bicycle as a torture device haha. Bisaddle is apparently about to come out with a new version, which is really the same thing, they are just making it so that they have even more interchangeability between parts so that you can replace every piece as they wear, instead of getting an entire new saddle. I have actually grown to like the Ergon saddle now, it is only slightly uncomfortable at times, but we are talking about a bike saddle here so you will always feel it. I will eventually end up with a Bisaddle I am sure, it seems like the least risky purchase since it can be so customized to you, even if it is $300.........

You will not be disappointed when you get your bike, and I was very eager about getting mine as well. When I first test rode the bike I was a little nervous about it and only went a couple blocks, but later on I regretted it because I almost forgot what it all felt like since it was such a short ride. I really only paid attention to the amount of power the bike had to offer. Not being knowledgeable in bicycle components at all at that point, I just figured with that brand and the advice at Propel that I could trust the components.

We got some crazy snow to endure tomorrow! You definitely won't be missing your bike this week. I may go out on it tomorrow a little bit, we'll see how it looks in Philadelphia haha. Stay safe during the storm!

Mr Phil
2 weeks ago

Hi

My name is phil and i am glad to be here. I am a disabled man who is seeking an about town trike. I need to mention I am pretty obese and weigh about 450, I have lymphdima in both my legs, and some minor heart issues. I like the idea of a greener option to get around. I live in a medium town so bike would be better than a car. I spent some time looking and researching and found the worksman PAV3. it seems up to the task. any other trikes i should consider?

thanks

phil

Fdiblasi
2 weeks ago

Hi Ann,

Here you can find the details of the tricycle:
https://jorviktricycles.com/product/jorvik-20-aluminium-electric-trike-adults-childs-tricycle-250w-36v-e-trike/

And this is an image of the piece that is currently broken. It has the info on voltage.

I cannot get a picture of the cables but if you don't manage to find the model I will upload it asap to this post.

Thank you very much!

1/1
Drumulac
2 weeks ago

I just have remember as a kid I had chain grease permanently tattooed in black on my legs, and in general wanted something that lasts the longest between replacements. I am not well informed about bicycle chains, but I think a belt stands up better to the use of a motor. From videos I have seen from Court, the shift sensing with Bosch works, but you still can mash the chain and wear that and your cassette down. This really is negligible to someone that is an experienced cyclist and used to maintaining a chain.

Yeah Matt, I certainly would have preferred the belt. The only experience I've had with a Gates belt drive was on a Harley I once owned. Apples and oranges, I know (motorcycle vs. bicycle), but it was a great improvement over chain lines. That said, I don't have an issue with a chain with the Rohloff. I've been using White Lightning chain lube for 20 + yrs on all my bikes. It is a wax based lube. It will still tattoo you if you haven't cleaned the chain in awhile, but generally it is still much cleaner than petroleum based lubes. Only problem is that it does tend to cake up on components such as derailleurs and tensioners, so you occasionally need to take care of that + I tend to use a lot of it since it is designed to flake off with the contaminants as you ride. The thing with the Rohloff is that you are not continually bashing the chain against the cogs every time you shift. It simply runs from front to rear sprocket, no side to side movement jumping up and down on a rear cassette + front chainrings. Chain life, with a little attention, is probably triple that of a derailleur. The sprockets will eventually need replacement, but not for a long time. Also, the Roloff has a reversible sprocket. You simply spin it off and turn it around, so you get twice the life. Just did that on my trike Rohloff after getting maybe 10K miles on the one side. Only the second sprocket I've had on the trike in over 20K miles.

I wanted to ask you something as an experienced cyclist. This is diverging from this thread's purpose, but I need some advice. I want a saddle that is comfortable, and that can be ridden on for a very long time. The one the Delite came with was killing me at first, but I got used to it I guess because it is not so bad now, however there is still some soreness.

Oh man, that's an age-old problem with no good answer. My thoughts on that: the bicycle, by design, is a bit of a torture device. You are forced to bend over like a pretzel while getting a seemingly postage stamp size saddle ("so called support") up your butt. I don't know if anyone totally beats that issue. I think we just minimize the problem. When purchasing a new bike, my LBS has allowed me to take a saddle and try it out for a few rides, then return it an try another if that isn't working out. I've heard of shops that will accept a deposit, then do the same thing. The thing is, everyone is built differently and each bike has different geometry. Getting the right saddle for yourself is a black art - and certainly there are no pat answers. You will find that very slight tweaks in handlebar and seat height, or the forward/backward pitch of the saddle, can make a huge difference. Everyone is different. I find the Terry Men's Liberator:

http://www.terrybicycles.com/Saddles/Mens-Saddles/Liberator-Y-Elite

works great for me - all day riding with no pain - but I have friend who thinks it sucks. He is a Brooks guy. Retro-grouch. I did buy a Brooks about 15 years ago and lived with if for maybe 2000 miles. Beautiful workmanship, but it never broke in to my satisfaction. To each their own. I have never tried the Ergon saddle (same as yours) that comes with the GX, but I'll certainly give it a shot before switching it out. The Bisaddle looks very interesting. I'm guessing that you'll end up with one, so please let us know your impressions. The immediate - though not elegant - solution for you may be to get a gel cover for the Ergon, at least until you figure out the best solution. My wife has a saddle that the guys at my LBS call "the sofa". Super wide, looks like it is made for a stationary trainer (probably is). She has a gel cover on it and it got her through thousands of touring miles. Like I said, all of us are different and the combinations/solutions are endless . . . One reason I bought a trike was that those issues totally go away: you are pedaling in a relaxed, laid back recumbent position while sitting on what almost amounts to a lawn chair.

Matt: it is great to hear that you are so enjoying your bike. Makes me super eager to get a hold of my Delite and start riding. Kind of glad I have been forced to wait a few weeks for delivery though - at the moment in NY it is windy and cold for the foreseeable future. Snow today, super cold over the weekend, and more snow predicted for next week. If I had the bike now, like you, I'd be out there courting frostbite, for sure.

Alex M
3 weeks ago

I'd like to see a car alternative / replacement category on the EBR website .
Are you writing an article on the subject, by any chance ? :)
You are using term "replacement" again. There is no such thing. Don't know why Court called that Lacuba " car replacement", - probably he didn't mean it literally. And there is no "one for all" alternative solution. It's about compromising and sacrificing. What people are willing to sacrifice, depends on the person's particular situation. Other members have defined what makes an ebike a viable car alternative, this should serve as a guideline. Creating "car alternative" category on EBR - I think this would be too much responsibility and likely it would be biased (inevitably so, due to everybody's different criteria).

Ex, velomobile https://electricbikereview.com/virtue-cycles/pedalist/ comes the closest to car in "looks", - could be important to some people. Better protection from weather, too - again, important to some and not to others.

IMO, any TRIke is closer to a car than a BIke. Those with big cargo basket will be closer yet. Somebody else wouldn't want to sacrifice comfort, stability and cargo-carrying for speed and ability to pedal it. It depends on how close to a car you want it to be - and again, what you need it for and where you'll be using it.

Fred in Seattle
3 weeks ago

I was looking at Brooks seats for the Rad Mini which I don't have yet. (debating between between the Mini or Mariner but leaning toward the Mini).
I'm 65 years old and usually ride an ICE electric trike. I want the Mini for it's folding capability.
Seat and back comfort is important. I'm thinking of a BodyFloat seat post and Brooks Saddle. Brooks makes many models and recommends a C19 Cambium for more upright position.
So, my question is, would the Mini be considered upright riding position? And, anyone using a BodyFloat and or Brooks saddles on their Mini?
Thanks,
Tom
I am using the body float. I'm on the short side 5'8" and get back aches when hunched over. I moved my stock seat forward and raised the hade bars . I now sit mostly upright and am comfortable after 30th + mile rides.

Matt A
3 weeks ago

O.K. Matt, Good idea - I'll post to this thread.

Here's the funny thing: You've ridden my new bike, I have not! Just bought it this week (as a demo) totally on faith without a test ride. As you mentioned, there isn't much out there yet re: reviews. I've been looking for an ebike with the right combination of components that would come from a manufacturer with a sterling reputation, purchased from an reputable/knowledgeable dealer. After spending this winter researching, I decided that I'd finally hit on it - contacted Propel and we made the deal. Probably the easiest sale of a high end bike that Chris has made in a while! Actually, I'm in the northern ex-burbs of NYC, so Propel is only a 1 hour drive away, so it is stranger still that I haven't been to the shop (but that's a different story). Yes, a leap of faith - or a very expensive disappointment - but I don't see how you can go wrong with an R&M. Sometimes you just have to roll the dice. Life is too short, etc.

Main motivation for getting this - daily commute and possible long distance touring. My office moved to a "commutable" location a while back. I was doing the commute on my human powered Cannondale, but eventually found it was just a bit too hilly to arrive at work without being too sweaty, etc. Plus, I'm now aged 63 (and counting!), so the body does tend to revolt. Last year, I thought I'd solve that issue by electrifying my Greenspeed trike. I purchased an EcoSpeed boom mount kit for the trike and installed it last spring. Figured that the boost would allow me to neutralize any visibility issues that the low seating position creates by being able to keep up with traffic and accelerating faster. Well, the conversion went well and riding the "enhanced" trike is a total kick (it flies!), but . . . after a few trips to work on it, I realized that I was arriving sweat free but entirely too tense - still not a real street friendly vehicle, at least with the drivers in my area (where Redneck meets the Bronx). So I'm back to using the trike for bike paths and country roads. It did sell me on the ebike concept though.

Having used a Rohloff for over 8 years, forking over the extra bucks for this option on the Delite was a no-brainer. The Rohloff on my trike has 20,000 + rough miles on it and has proven to be bulletproof, even with the addition of the powerful EcoSpeed mid-drive motor. Won't take delivery for another few weeks - Chris needs it on the floor to sell from while waiting for a new one to arrive - not a problem considering that it is 22 degrees outside at the moment (!).

And yes, I hope to eventually do some extended touring on it once I've set up the bike and gotten any kinks ironed out. Having been cross country and through Alaska on two wheels "self contained" without electric assist, this should prove to be an interesting alternative. Yeah, a few extra battery packs in the panniers might be helpful. I may just get spoiled.
I think you made a good purchase, the bike is great, and I like the orange color too. Don't worry you'll love it. I would have went with a Rohloff if I had the experience with it that you do. I just wanted the belt drive though:)

That sounds cool about the trike, I would probably be scared to ride that! I was actually riding yesterday for a few hours and it was absolutely freezing lol. It sounds like you have been on some really cool rides and I hope to take some similar ones on this bike one day. You should post pictures on here of any ebike travels you do once you get your new bike!

GX vs. GT: So Matt, I'm going to be interested in comparing your on-road experience with your GT vs. my GX. As a long time member and advocate for the Rails to Trails Conservancy, I love to get on these paths, which more often than not are ballast. Also, when touring in the West or Alaska, the more interesting roads are gravel/graded dirt. So, in addition to a comfortable commuter, I wanted a touring capable sprung bike with beefier tires. The GX fits the bill w/27.5 x 2.35 Rock Razors standard. I do expect to be swapping them out for a more street friendly tire for the daily commute - most likely Schwalbe Marathon Supreme 27.5 x 2.00 tires. The expectation is that the e-assist will even out the disadvantage of the extra rolling resistance on the road. Will see.

I have enjoyed the GT tires on there, the Super Moto-x, this edition of them has the reflective sidewalls which is great. I did like the GX tires, and with the assist you will have no problem with any tire, it just may affect the range. I did feel I could turn faster and maybe even stop faster with the GX tires, they felt more in control. The GT tires though are great for me in the city and I would take them on light trails no problem. I have ridden on some dirt/muddy trails a little bit, and the tires do fine. I definitely enjoy the GT.

Drumulac
3 weeks ago

... Thanks! Congrats on your purchase as well! I did try that bike out, it was great. It would be cool if you could share your experience on this thread about the bike. I think anything Delite is free game in here. I think it would be helpful to everyone here if we continue this thread with new experiences and stories, I don't think mine alone could keep this thread going :) But it's up to you, I don't want to stop you from doing your own thread either!

O.K. Matt, Good idea - I'll post to this thread.

Here's the funny thing: You've ridden my new bike, I have not! Just bought it this week (as a demo) totally on faith without a test ride. As you mentioned, there isn't much out there yet re: reviews. I've been looking for an ebike with the right combination of components that would come from a manufacturer with a sterling reputation, purchased from an reputable/knowledgeable dealer. After spending this winter researching, I decided that I'd finally hit on it - contacted Propel and we made the deal. Probably the easiest sale of a high end bike that Chris has made in a while! Actually, I'm in the northern ex-burbs of NYC, so Propel is only a 1 hour drive away, so it is stranger still that I haven't been to the shop (but that's a different story). Yes, a leap of faith - or a very expensive disappointment - but I don't see how you can go wrong with an R&M. Sometimes you just have to roll the dice. Life is too short, etc.

Main motivation for getting this - daily commute and possible long distance touring. My office moved to a "commutable" location a while back. I was doing the commute on my human powered Cannondale, but eventually found it was just a bit too hilly to arrive at work without being too sweaty, etc. Plus, I'm now aged 63 (and counting!), so the body does tend to revolt. Last year, I thought I'd solve that issue by electrifying my Greenspeed trike. I purchased an EcoSpeed boom mount kit for the trike and installed it last spring. Figured that the boost would allow me to neutralize any visibility issues that the low seating position creates by being able to keep up with traffic and accelerating faster. Well, the conversion went well and riding the "enhanced" trike is a total kick (it flies!), but . . . after a few trips to work on it, I realized that I was arriving sweat free but entirely too tense - still not a real street friendly vehicle, at least with the drivers in my area (where Redneck meets the Bronx). So I'm back to using the trike for bike paths and country roads. It did sell me on the ebike concept though.

Having used a Rohloff for over 8 years, forking over the extra bucks for this option on the Delite was a no-brainer. The Rohloff on my trike has 20,000 + rough miles on it and has proven to be bulletproof, even with the addition of the powerful EcoSpeed mid-drive motor. Won't take delivery for another few weeks - Chris needs it on the floor to sell from while waiting for a new one to arrive - not a problem considering that it is 22 degrees outside at the moment (!).

And yes, I hope to eventually do some extended touring on it once I've set up the bike and gotten any kinks ironed out. Having been cross country and through Alaska on two wheels "self contained" without electric assist, this should prove to be an interesting alternative. Yeah, a few extra battery packs in the panniers might be helpful. I may just get spoiled.

Drumulac
3 weeks ago

Regarding the Rohloff: I have been living with one on my Greenspeed trike for 8 years - in combination with a Schumph HS it gives me a full internally geared setup and has proven to be bulletproof over 20,000+ miles of hard touring and daily abuse.

As Chris mentions, it does take a few hundred miles to break in and lose the noise, but after that, it doesn't really seem to be less efficient than a derailleur setup . . . though I did not have a derailleur on the trike previously to compare it with. I installed an EcoSpeed mid drive on the trike last year. This is a 1000 watt unit and with two 48V/20ah batteries, it cranks out a lot of torque. Absolutely no problem with the Rohloff handling it.

So, when it came time for getting a two wheel ebike, there was no question about laying out the extra bucks for a Rohloff. Just purchased a Delite GX Rohloff HS from Propel. I fully expect to be happy with the Rohloff on this setup, but will keep all posted.

Sorry, I don't have experience with the Nuvinci - heard mixed reviews over the years, but I'm sure it is a fine alternative, particularly with the belt drive setup.

And, getting back on topic . . . thanks Chris for the explanation of the Riese & Muller Model Trim Level Nomenclature!

Chris Gunn
5 days ago

I'd like to see a review on one of these. This trike has a 900 watt front hub motor and has a top speed of 25 mph. Also has 3 gears for the back wheels, mainly to use to help out in rough terrain as they are low gears. Pretty sweet though, check out the link. They also have a main website as well.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/hunting-ice-fishing-camping-bicycle-mountain-trike-electric-fat-tire-USA-archery-/112337122931?hash=item1a27d07673:g:~fQAAOSwSlBYytLj

xbluebells
1 week ago

I love this but would want my trike to go at least 19 miles per hour. My husband and I race our electric trikes on the bike trail and while 11 miles an hour is OK I think that is too sleepy of a speed. I would love if you could govern the max speed up and down. We have been riding trikes for years now and if it wasn't for the slowness this would be a contender for our next trike!!! Nice job. Very nice looking!

Gavin Keaty
1 week ago

Would it be possible to upgrade the motor and software oneself to make it a bit faster? Thanks.

xbluebells
1 week ago

Yes! Let's add a speed option on this and I will be a buyer!

saness
2 weeks ago

Hey man could you do a review on electric ride review?

Bob A
2 weeks ago

That is an awesome trike. Very utilitarian vehicle for groceries!

ShiSha
2 weeks ago

Could you do a review of the momo design 20 inch folding ebike?

Seb K
2 weeks ago

Riding down the street the wrong way and into the building . Court you savage :) !!!

Carl McDonald
2 weeks ago

Nice tric

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

I agree :D

Peter Kenyon
2 weeks ago

This is a very well thought out trike. It places you at the height of traffic and upright riding position for good visibility. Designed for shopping and doing away with the car in city living and suburban living. As to a comment about it being too slow. That is not it's purpose. As to being geriatric, it's a bike designed for picking up your shopping not for riding with your mates in lycra. Too nerdy? I think car owners are nerdy with their attitude, but each to their own. Great video, great trike.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Hey Peter! I agree, the trike performed well and serves a set purpose very well. It looks cool, has a unique basket, I love the lights and appreciate that Pedego listened to their customers and tried to deliver a product that's more about an experience than a list of numbers and specs (regarding the lower speed)

Peter Piper
2 weeks ago

I can just see me making one of those out of a Rubbermaid tub. LOL!!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

That's awesome... yeah, kind of looks like that right :P

Peter Piper
2 weeks ago

So it's going 11 miles per hour but when you get the back filled with groceries, will it even move? And if the battery dies, you can't pedal it all the way home with that load. Roadside assist?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

The motor is pretty powerful, some extra weight in the back (or on the rider) won't stop it, I think you'd easily hit the same "top speed" because they actually lowered it with software, not the physical characteristics of the motor or battery :)

Peter Piper
2 weeks ago

There is some technology on trikes that cambers the back wheels so that they are further apart on the ground than they are up top. That would keep the trike from tipping at all.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

True, I've seen some other faster trikes with angled wheels. I think they were trying to make this one fit through doors and didn't need camber since the speed is lower. Perhaps it rolls more efficiently this way?

Alan metclaff
2 weeks ago

No Chem Trails!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

You just couldn't see them because I was really careful not to film the back end of the trike :P

ilikewasabe
2 weeks ago

pretty much geared for the geriatric e-bike market

ilikewasabe
2 weeks ago

sorry i made an error in writing my reply.. i meant to say "im not saying that its a bad thing"

Seb K
2 weeks ago

Why is it a bad thing ?!!! It can be used both for convenience and for the elderly .

ilikewasabe
2 weeks ago

im not saying that its a bad thing though, its a purpose built trike with safety in mind

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

I'm cool with that :D

George Herman
2 weeks ago

Pretty little Trike but for me too Nerdy and Granny looking. Also too slow.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

My Grandma was a very frail woman, afraid to fly and rarely traveled or went out for anything beyond gardening... I feel like this trike might actually overwhelm her! May seem slow to us but I appreciate that there are people who want slow and steady, stable etc. :)