Pedego Trike Review

2017 Pedego Electric Trike Review
2017 Pedego Trike
2017 Pedego Trike Integrated Spanninga Trendo LED Headlight
2017 Pedego Trike Removable 36 Volt 11 Amp Hour Battery Pack
2017 Pedego Trike Lcd Control Panel Twist Throttle
2017 Pedego Trike Grip Twist Shifter Parking Brake Levers
2017 Pedego Trike 250 Watt Dapu Geared Hub Motor
2017 Pedego Trike Rear Disc Brake Finger Adjustable Avid Bb7
2017 Pedego Trike Mechanical Avid Bb7 Disc Brakes 160 Mm Rotors
2017 Pedego Trike Velo Oversized Comfort Seat With Back Rest
2017 Pedego Trike Plastic Storage Bin Bucket With Drain Holes
2017 Pedego Trike 30 Inch Width Fits Through Doors
2017 Pedego Trike 3 Speed Shimano Nexus Drivetrain Right Wheel Drive
2017 Pedego Trike Manual Charger Pedals Touch Up Paint
2017 Pedego Electric Trike Review
2017 Pedego Trike
2017 Pedego Trike Integrated Spanninga Trendo LED Headlight
2017 Pedego Trike Removable 36 Volt 11 Amp Hour Battery Pack
2017 Pedego Trike Lcd Control Panel Twist Throttle
2017 Pedego Trike Grip Twist Shifter Parking Brake Levers
2017 Pedego Trike 250 Watt Dapu Geared Hub Motor
2017 Pedego Trike Rear Disc Brake Finger Adjustable Avid Bb7
2017 Pedego Trike Mechanical Avid Bb7 Disc Brakes 160 Mm Rotors
2017 Pedego Trike Velo Oversized Comfort Seat With Back Rest
2017 Pedego Trike Plastic Storage Bin Bucket With Drain Holes
2017 Pedego Trike 30 Inch Width Fits Through Doors
2017 Pedego Trike 3 Speed Shimano Nexus Drivetrain Right Wheel Drive
2017 Pedego Trike Manual Charger Pedals Touch Up Paint

Summary

  • A custom designed electric trike with large plastic cargo bin at the back, three-speed internally geared hub can be shifted at standstill and is more durable than a traditional derailleur
  • Two mechanical disc brakes provide good stopping power, max speed limited to 7 mph in throttle mode, up to 11 mph in pedal assist with three power levels to choose from
  • Large LCD display panel is easy to read and navigate, there's a USB charging port at the base of the display and the trike comes with an integrated LED headlight and back light as well as reflective tires for safety
  • Heavier and more difficult to move than a traditional two-wheel ebike but much more stable, I hit my heels on the tub when pedaling at times, no reverse drive mode

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Pedego

Model:

Trike

Price:

$2,995

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, Europe

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

73.6 lbs (33.38 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.8 lbs (2.63 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.17 lbs (2.79 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

13 in (33.02 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

13" Seat Tube Length, 29.5" Reach, 13" Stand Over Height, 73" Length, 30" Width

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Trike (Cantilever Style)

Frame Colors:

Metallic Blue

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Steel, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Frame Rear Details:

10 mm Independent Axles with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses, Welded Rear Rack with Spring Latch

Gearing Details:

3 Speed 1x3 Shimano Nexus Internally Geared Hub, Chain Tensioner

Shifter Details:

microSHIFT inter Grip Twist on Left

Cranks:

Alloy 165 mm Crank Arms, 39 Tooth Chainring with Integrated Torque Sensor

Pedals:

Pedego Branded Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Threadless External Cup Sealed Bearing, 1-1/8"

Stem:

Tool-Free Adjustable Angle, 0° to 80°

Handlebar:

High-Rise, 28" Width

Brake Details:

Avid BB7 Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Tool-Free Adjustable Calipers, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors and Parking Brakes

Grips:

Padded Stitched, Black

Saddle:

Velo Oversized Comfort with Back Rest and Rubber Bumpers

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

28.6 mm

Rims:

Double Wall Aluminum Alloy, Paint Matched, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge with Brass Nipple, Silver

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Ben, 20" x 2.15"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

30 to 55 PSI, Performance Line RaceGuard Puncture Protection, LiteSkin Reflective Sidewall Stripe

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve, Pre-Slimed

Accessories:

Paint Matched Steel Chain Guard, Paint Alloy Matched Front Fender, Integrated Plastic Rear Fenders, Plastic Bucket with Drain Holes, Parking Brake Pins on Both Brake Levers, Integrated Spanninga Trendo or Luxo LED Headlight (15 Lux and 40 Lux), Integrated Spanninga Rear LED Light, (Press the Power Button Once When On to Activate Lights), Flick Bell on Right, Optional Rain Fly to Cover Bucket

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Quick-Connect Modular Throttle and Motor Cables for Easy Repair or Replacement, 1.8 lb 2.5 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Dapu

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

650 watts

Motor Torque:

30 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic, 18650

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (1-3), Battery Level (5 Bars), Time, Odometer, Trip Meter

Display Accessories:

5 Volt Standard Sized USB Port (Hold Set and + to Activate)

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle, Torque Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

11 mph (18 kph) (7 mph Throttle Only)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Pedego introduced their first electric trike in late 2013 and I got to test and review it at a shop called Rocket Electrics in Austin Texas. This was one of the first ebike tricycles I had ever seen and the custom design was inspiring and exciting. Rather than use a sharp rattly steel basket, Pedego had developed a paint-matched plastic bucket of sorts and its polished curved lines looked radically different. More like a side-car on a motorcycle or the rumble seat of an old fashioned car… Three-wheeled bicycles tend to easier to mount and more stable to ride than those with just two wheels. They are well suited to cargo hauling, like groceries or books, but without electric assist their heavier weight and comfort-oriented geometry can make them difficult to pedal. Notice how the cranks on Pedego’s trike are positioned forward and the saddle has a back rest built in. The handle bars are raised up and swept back and there’s a tool-free adjustable stem. It’s a “one size fits all” platform that’s sold exclusively through dealers where you can get fitted and go for a test ride. Of course, the price is a bit higher at nearly $3k but you get a solid warranty and end up with some upgraded components and accessories. For me, the internally geared three-speed hub (that can be shifted at standstill), reflective tires, integrated batteries and disc brakes are stand outs. This is a trike with pedal assist and throttle mode but no reverse (likely to keep the control interface simpler and more intuitive).

Driving the trike is a modest 250 watt internally geared hub motor spoked into the front wheel. The peak output is around 650 watts and it’s made by Dapu which is a higher-end brand with zippier performance. One thing I noticed with their new hub design is that the motor power cable comes down through the axle vs. out the end. This keeps it tucked away, reducing snags and bends that can eventually ruin the motor. Rather than 20 mph or even 15 mph the Pedego Trike is speed limited to 11 mph in pedal assist and 7 mph in throttle mode. Trikes are more stable when mounting and loading but they can get up onto two wheels at higher speed when taking sharp turns. The lower top speed here might be a nod to safety and it probably also improves range. You can hear it operating at full power but overall, I’d say the motor is quiet… complimenting the now quieter plastic tub, front fender and chain cover. For a trike with all of these extras added on, I was also impressed with the 73.6 lb curb weight.

Powering the motor, backlit display and LED lights is a very average sized battery. But again, the lower top speed helps to extend range and LED lights don’t take much juice… The pack offers 396 watt hours (36 volts, 11 amp hours) of capacity and uses high quality Panasonic cells that should last. Unlike the older trike, this battery is easy to reach and remove if you’d like. It’s right there in the frame tubing which helps to bring weight forward on the trike (improving front wheel traction) and locks on securely with a key. Some electric trikes make you leave the key in while riding, like the ignition on a car, but not this one. It would be in the way and vulnerable to being kicked if so. Basically, they did the battery right. You can charge it on-frame using a port on the left side of the frame or take it off and charge it inside. The pack has a folding handle to give you a solid grip (dropping batteries is not good) and there’s even a little LED charge level indicator built in so you know how full it is even if it’s not mounted to the bike.

Operating the new Pedego Trike is very easy… Once the battery is charged and locked in place, just press and hold the power button on the brilliant LCD display for a few seconds. It flickers to life showing battery capacity, speed, assist level and trip stats and it starts in zero. This is a good thing because the twist throttle could get bumped if the trike started in level 1-3 and take off on you. I recommend sitting down on the trike before powering it on, then arrow up one, two or three clicks and begin pedaling. Note that this electric trike uses a fancy torque sensor vs. a cadence sensor. I’m not sure I love the choice because it required more leg power than expected during my test rides. I was consistently in the highest level of assist but still opted to use the twist throttle most of the time to get going. The combination of a “shift anytime” internally geared hub, three levels of assist and the throttle option make the experience great and I suppose that cadence sensors (which tend to have an on/off jerky feeling) wouldn’t be as smooth. And so, maybe down the line the controller will be adjusted so you don’t have to pedal as hard to get the motor to respond and note, this was a pre-production build of the trike which had been used for demos. I recommend visiting a dealer to try for yourself :)

There’s a lot to love about the new Pedego Trike. Part of me misses the glossy red of the original but I appreciate the thought that went into their new black cargo bin which won’t smudge or scratch as easily. The metallic blue would look good with a male or female rider and all of the comfortable, adjustable touch points are there to make it enjoyable to ride. I especially like the large metal pedals which grip your foot but do not have sharp pins on them! They are partially rounded so as not to scrape legs and shins if you lose traction. Paul Auclair, an engineer product manager at Pedego, even mentioned the possibility of a rain fly cover for the cargo bin at some point in the future. There’s a lot of thought that went into the cables, frame design and gearing of this trike. Very few options even exist in this space and many upright neighborhood designs like this do not have disc brakes for example. Overall, I was very impressed and had a great time. I didn’t feel like the limited top speed was a deal killer and I loved how maneuverable the trike was. This would be an excellent platform for someone with limited balance who still enjoys cycling and might also want some utility for shopping. My Grandfather, for example, has a limited license which does not allow for driving after dark but with the Pedego Trike he could visit friends or dash to the store easily and stretch his legs in the process.

Pros:

  • A purpose built (from the ground up) electric trike with color matched wheels, chain guard and front fender
  • Comfortable and stable yet narrow enough to fit through most doors (it measures 30″ wide), the oversized seat with back rest and high-rise swept back bars offer an upright body position
  • Feet-forward design allows for lower seating position and easier mounting, the deep step-thru frame is very easy to step onto and sit down on
  • Both brake levers have locking pins so you can steady the bike when loading/unloading and have it stay put when not in use (trikes don’t usually have kickstands so this feature is important)
  • Unique plastic cargo bin in the rear looks sleek, is textured with “orange peel” tread to hide blemishes and has drains in the bottom for easy cleaning, I like that it doubles as a fender for both rear wheels
  • The battery pack on this e-trike is relatively easy to access and doesn’t require that your keys be left in to operate, you don’t have to bend way down or reach under the cargo bin to get at it… if you do take it off, there’s a plastic handle on top making it easier to move around
  • Top speed is limited to ~7 mph in throttle mode and ~11 mph in pedal assist for safety, these speeds are more stable on a trike and should extend your range as well
  • I like the adjustable stem, it doesn’t require tools and is designed to bring the handle bar up or down to provide a more comfortable fit for riders of different sizes (the trike only comes in one size)
  • This electric tricycle has disc brakes! I was really impressed to see two discs and found that they stopped fairly well and were easier to use than some band brakes and linear pull brakes
  • Integrated LED lights (that run off the main battery) keep you safe, aren’t going to get lost and aren’t as easy to leave on accidentally as after-market lights, I like the positioning of them and appreciate that the headlight is aimable… note the reflective sidewall tape on the tires for an even larger visual footprint for cars to see
  • In addition to the LED lights, there’s a standard sized USB port at the base of the display so you can run an extra light, charge your phone or bring some speakers or string lights for fun :P
  • I absolutely love that you can shift gears at standstill thanks to the internally geared three-speed hub, this makes starting from rest easier (especially on an incline) if you forgot to shift down earlier when moving
  • Dapu hub motors are well designed and tend to be zippier than the competition in my experience, the power cable does not come out the end of the axle (where it could get snagged or bent if the trike tipped), it comes down and tucks near the fork arm
  • The original Pedego Trike had a rear-mounted battery which added to the weight of the two wheels and bucket… for the new one, having the battery up front makes the frame more balanced and allows for more space in the bucket

Cons:

  • As with many front-wheel-drive trikes, the hub motor is zippy and powerful enough to spin out a little if you blast the power on, I usually ease in using the twist throttle gently so as not to wear the tires or damage some types of terrain
  • There’s no reverse mode on the trike, some competing products let you go backward which can be useful for parking and moving (especially when the cargo bin is fully loaded)
  • To me, the torque sensor felt weak and required more leg effort than expected. Considering there are three levels of pedal assist, I would have expected the highest level to be more powerful… I ended up using the throttle most of the time as a result
  • Several times when trying to pedal, I snagged my heels on the plastic bucket shell, I wear 9.5 shoes (so my feet aren’t especially large) and feel that the shell of the bin should not protrude so far… it’s just the plastic cover, not the inner box that snagged me so I feel like they made it long for style vs. function and maybe you could cut adjust it yourself if you snag your feet too
  • Pedego products are sold through dealers and come with a great warranty but that makes them a bit more expensive, for $2,995 you get a pretty custom setup here so it’s not too bad
  • The trike is much heavier than a two-wheel electric bike and could be difficult to transport after purchase, consider a small trailer for your car from Harbor Freight and remove the battery and seat to reduce weight
  • Pedego introduced another trike several years ago that used more wires, had a louder cargo bin at the rear and just wasn’t polished… this oone still has some noise from the plastic bin but is much quieter, I prefer plastic to metal which can cut and sometimes get rusty if it’s a steel basket
  • All of your pedal power and rear braking goes to one wheel, not both, so the right tire might wear out faster and if you slam on the brakes the stop might pull you to the right a little
  • This is more of a warning than a con, be careful with the chain cover because it’s easy to kick and bend when mounting and riding the trike

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Pedego Reviews

Pedego 24″ Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the only 24" sized fat e-bikes I have ever seen, it's easier to approach, stand over, and handle for short to mid-sized riders, Pedego also offers a 20" fat model for kids. Large comfortable tires that work well on sand or snow when deflated to 5-8 PSI,…...

Pedego Platinum Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $3,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A premium cruiser style electric bike with upgraded suspension fork, suspension seat post, integrated LED lights, a sturdy rack and hydraulic disc brakes. Powerful 500 to 1,000+ watt hub motor from Dapu with high-torque rating and durable protected…...

Pedego 20″ Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sturdily built, lower speed electric bike with seven gears and throttle-only operation designed primarily for kids and youth but also a good fit for short riders. Max weight of 350 lbs, bosses in the rear for adding a rack and hauling…...

Pedego Latch Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sturdy folding electric bike with a full-sized feel, the extra long seat post and telescoping stem fit a wider range of body types than most folders I've tested. Premium drivetrain features and accessories including a Gates belt drive, Shimano Nexus internally geared hub,…...

Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $3,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fined fat tire electricbike with balanced down tube battery and purpose-built "extrawide" hub motor for improved drive train operation and torque. Nice LCD display panel with integrated buttons and swivel, includes a USB port for charging…...

Pedego Ridge Rider Review

  • MSRP: $3,395
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A delightfully capable and refined 27.5" hardtail electric mountain bike with powerful 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery pack. Nice upgrades on the adjustable air fork with lockout, 15 mm thru-axle, locking grips, hydraulic…...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A smaller version of the Interceptor that's easier to mount, it offers great power thanks to its smaller wheels paired with a 500 watt geared hub motor and 48 volt battery. Offers twist throttle and five levels of assist for increased range, throttle override puts you…...

Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stripped down comfort cruiser with easy-mount step-thru frame, throttle on demand only, optional fenders, multiple color choices and multiple battery size options from 36v 10ah up to 48v 15ah. Locking removable battery pack is protected in the color-matched rear rack, mechanical disc brakes are…...

Pedego Classic Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy, powerful cruiser style electric bike with large 500 watt geared motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery. Balloon tires, comfort saddle, suspension seat post and oversized handlebars create a relaxed upright ride...

2015 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A fat style ebike with zippy 500 watt geared motor and powerful 48 battery (available in 10ah or 15ah for extended range). Four fun color options, integrated headlight, pedal assist and throttle mode, quality mechanical disc brakes...

Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy and powerful electric bike that's a bit more active than the cruisers (more forward body position, narrower handlebars) and is available in several frame sizes for improved fit. Lots of great extras including full length aluminum fenders, chain guard, puncture resistant tires with…...

Pedego Stretch Review

  • MSRP: $3,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stylish and comfortable cruiser style electric cargo bike with removable tubing supports that extend the carrying platform or double as a back rest and running boards to accommodate a second rider. Offers two battery options for extended range and two drive modes including pedal assist (1-5)…...

Pedego Boomerang Review

  • MSRP: $2,495.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the easiest electric bikes to mount with extra low step-thru design, frame stiffness reduced as a result. Powerful 500 watt geared motor is quiet to operate and blends in well with cassette…...

Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Iconic cruiser style frame is sturdy, provides a relaxed seating position and comes in multiple colors. Powerful 500 watt direct drive (gearless) rear hub motor is durable, fast and relatively quiet...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A smaller step-through electric bike with 24" wheels for riders who are petite. Very powerful for its size, uses a 500 watt direct drive hub motor with three…...

Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the only purpose-built electric bikes that is setup to be a tandem for two adult riders. Sturdy frame, fun classic design, reliable drive system with six speeds, great support and warranty...

2014 Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy cruiser style electric bike with simple twist throttle operation and upgradable battery pack. Large tires, swept back handlebars, plush seat and padded grips dampen vibration to smooth out…...

Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Great power for acceleration, climbing or moving heavier riders with a 500 watt geared rear hub motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery combination. Offers twist throttle and five levels of pedal assist for increased range, removable battery for…...

2013 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,975
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Off-road design with 4" wide tires, increased contact patch enables the bike to ride on sand, snow and other rugged terrain, larger tires also provide cushion for improved riding comfort. Ultra powerful 600 watt geared motor and 48 volt battery pack for improved torque and…...

2014 Pedego Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Stable three wheel design with battery, motor and controller mounted low under the cargo bin. No pedal assist option with this bike but the twist throttle is intuitive to use…...

2013 Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Powerful combination of 500w motor and 48v Lithium battery. Durable and proven frame is borrowed from the Pedego Comfort Cruiser...

2013 Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,675
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

One of the only tandem style electric bikes available anywhere, large 500 watt motor offers good power. Built on the time tested, super simple, Pedego Cruiser cantilever style aluminum alloy frame...

2013 Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Classic upright commuter frame is quiet, sturdy and functional with welded rear rack. Integrated seat post shock, lights, bell, and computer with clean wire management...

2013 Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Solid, durable and extremely quiet to ride due to gearless rear hub motor. Casual design looks like a laid back cruiser and comes in many fun color choices...


Shaggy
9 months ago

This would be perfect for my senior citizen mom who one day will stop driving. Senior citizens who are not driving can have a way to get around, not be shut-in, and be happily independent – this is very important to self-esteem. Groceries could fit in the back. Interestingly, I believe trikes are more stable and steer better if the two wheels are in the front. In that arrangement, the rear single wheel could use a large hub motor to drive several hundred pounds or so. At my work, I could see these used by Facilities workers which would avoid gasoline and require less parking space. I really think 3-wheeled designs offer a lot of promise in multiple contexts. More power seems needed, especially to push a rider with cargo, add copious throttle because it could be too much weight to pedal for most except the physically most fit. Something trike-like between this Pedego design and the recumbent-style SunSeeker would be exciting evolution.

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Good thoughts Shaggy, thanks for sharing! I agree that it’s nice to have a few choices emerging and that electric trikes can bring back independence and fun for people who might be stepping away from more conventional options. My Grandfather lives in a retirement community and many of his friends drive golf carts around :)

Reply
Lee
4 months ago

Shaggy,,,Your review is good. I am living in a cottage behind my kids house. I do have a car, but rarely use it. My kids bike or ELECTRIC skateboard daily. I want to go with them on their rides. The only thing that bothered me was the limit on speed. I am seriously looking to buy this trycycle in next week or so. MUST give some thought to the speed. Thanks for your review. Any Seniors on here to put in their two cents. Would love to hear from you.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

heystine
47 mins ago

An electric tricycle is perfect for the person who would love to ride but is not quite up to a conventional bike, or trike. You can sit back and let the trike do the work or pedal when you want some exercise.It's sort of the best of both worlds.

Skyhawk4754
3 hours ago

What's your age? How far do you want to ride? How fast? Is it mostly flat? Are you riding by your self or with someone? On a bike path or on the road? How big are you? All of these come in to play on what you end up with.
I have a trike and wouldn't give it up.

MLB
7 hours ago

99% of the people that spend a lot of extra money to buy the biggest (or an extra) battery they can get so they can ride 100+ miles quickly find out that it is not the battery that limits, it's your ASS. ;)
Trikes make an enormous amount of sense in that you can ride all day and be comfortable when you ride and when you are done.
I've had a trike in my stable for almost 20 years now (many of them) and I'll never be without.
Motor or not, there's just something about the ride that satisfies like no other way.

Roland Leisenring
12 hours ago

A 250 watt hub is minimal assistance for a lightweight two wheeler. That trike is heavy. Slight boost would be noticed on level ground but there wouldn't be much energy on inclines and zip on hills, especially with a load of stuff in the basket.

If you need a trike, get one and put a stronger mid-drive kit on it. https://tinyurl.com/yd2bjn9q

The forum host has info on the drives https://electricbikereview.com/?s=8fun+mid+drive

emco5
5 days ago

The Electric Shopping Cruiser Any opinions?

A 250 watt hub is minimal assistance for a lightweight two wheeler. That trike is heavy. Slight boost would be noticed on level ground but there wouldn't be much energy on inclines and zip on hills, especially with a load of stuff in the basket.

If you need a trike, get one and put a stronger mid-drive kit on it. https://tinyurl.com/yd2bjn9q

The forum host has info on the drives https://electricbikereview.com/?s=8fun+mid+drive

Skyhawk4754
1 week ago

Here's my trike. Does anyone have a BionX service number?

1/3
MLB
1 week ago

Hi Ski,
Combination of problems: Most trikes come severely overgeared. not geared low enough to climb steep hills.
AND a direct drive hub motor is the less ideal choice for long or many hills as they draw a lot of amps under load and will overheat and shut down the controller (typically) with a thermal cutoff that shuts down the motor in turn when it gets too hot. My Falco (on a Catrike) won't go 10 miles on even the lowest level of assist (eco) without shutting down completely for spurts after that while it cools down.
There's not much you can do to help the motor I'm afraid, a geared hub motor would likely be a better choice for that hill. But you can change the gearing on the trike so that you can offer more help and reduce the load and thus the shut down of the motor.
How strong are you? Have you ridden a recumbent before? If you haven't, it takes months of riding to develop the "bent muscles" that get used with the different pedal position. Until then, most are REALLY weak. It comes with time and miles.
Keep riding, you will get stronger with each month of riding that goes by. No shame in getting off and walking it up when its just too steep.

Skyhawk4754
1 week ago

Hi
New to the forum.
Introduction: 64 years young, male, 6'2" 280 lbs live in the Texas Hill Country.
I bought a Terratrike Allroad Rambler with BionX P350 DX20 electric assist , 24" tires about 90 days ago.
I really like the trike. However we have about 1/2 mile of a 12% increase in elevation and the electric assist just doesn't have it. What can I do to improve my situation?
Thanks

Chapooski
2 weeks ago

I have been dreaming about, designing and re-designing what I hope may become something new in the very niche world of all weather, recumbent, cargo E-trikes.
This category is currently inhabited by such vehicles as the Organic Transit ELF and Better Bikes PEBL, both of which I personally find a bit too large and heavy to be of practical use for many would-be cargo-trike users.
So I have been designing something a little smaller and lighter:
100 pounds maximum curb weight
34" maximum width
55" maximum height (30" folded height)
80" - 100" overall length dependent on final design
24" and 26" wheels with 2-2.5" wide tires
18" seat height
Passenger seating for 2 small children or 1 youth/small adult.
Very easy ingress and egress.
All-weather protection in a convertible format.

*My design has little in common with the ELF or PEBL other than similar functionality.*
(So please don't go making assumptions about what I may have in mind.)

Any thoughts or suggestions on this subject would be much appreciated.
Thank you.

Chapooski
2 weeks ago

I have been dreaming about, designing and re-designing what I hope may become something new in the very niche world of all weather, recumbent, cargo E-trikes.
This category is currently inhabited by such vehicles as the Organic Transit ELF and Better Bikes PEBL, both of which I personally find a bit too large and heavy to be of practical use for many would-be cargo-trike users.
So I have been designing something a little smaller and lighter:
100 pounds maximum curb weight
34" maximum width
55" maximum height (30" folded height)
80" - 100" overall length dependent on final design
24" and 26" wheels with 2-2.5" wide tires
18" seat height
Passenger seating for 2 small children or 1 youth/small adult.
Very easy ingress and egress.
All-weather protection in a convertible format.

*My design has little in common with the ELF or PEBL other than similar functionality.*
(So please don't go making assumptions about what I may have in mind.)

Any thoughts or suggestions on this subject would be much appreciated.
Thank you.

Chapooski
2 weeks ago

I have been dreaming about, designing and re-designing what I hope may become something new in the very niche world of all weather, recumbent, cargo E-trikes.
This category is currently inhabited by such vehicles as the Organic Transit ELF and Better Bikes PEBL, both of which I personally find a bit too large and heavy to be of practical use for many would-be cargo-trike users.
So I have been designing something a little smaller and lighter:
100 pounds maximum curb weight
34" maximum width
55" maximum height (30" folded height)
80" - 100" overall length dependent on final design
24" and 26" wheels with 2-2.5" wide tires
18" seat height
Passenger seating for 2 small children or 1 youth/small adult.
Very easy ingress and egress.
All-weather protection in a convertible format.

*My design has little in common with the ELF or PEBL other than similar functionality.*
(So please don't go making assumptions about what I may have in mind.)

Any thoughts or suggestions on this subject would be much appreciated.
Thank you.

Chapooski
2 weeks ago

I have been dreaming about, designing and re-designing what I hope may become something new in the very niche world of all weather, recumbent, cargo E-trikes.
This category is currently inhabited by such vehicles as the Organic Transit ELF and Better Bikes PEBL, both of which I personally find a bit too large and heavy to be of practical use for many would-be cargo-trike users.
So I have been designing something a little smaller and lighter:
100 pounds maximum curb weight
34" maximum width
55" maximum height (30" folded height)
80" - 100" overall length dependent on final design
24" and 26" wheels with 2-2.5" wide tires
18" seat height
Passenger seating for 2 small children or 1 youth/small adult.
Very easy ingress and egress.
All-weather protection in a convertible format.

*My design has little in common with the ELF or PEBL other than similar functionality.*
(So please don't go making assumptions about what I may have in mind.)

Any thoughts or suggestions on this subject would be much appreciated.
Thank you.

Popeye Gordon
2 weeks ago

Thanks again Popeye for another thoughtful reply.
My favorite thing about Organic Transit is that they have proven that a market exists for vehicles such as the ELF and PEBL and I sincerely thank them for it.
I currently produce in very limited numbers a sport/touring velomobile the Marvelo SKR:
http://marvelomobile.blogspot.ca/p/specifications.html
,but have had aspirations for several years in wanting to produce a much more practical velomobile, a recumbent cargo E-trike of sorts with decent weather protection, easy ingress/egress for all and with a curb weight significantly less than the ELF or PEBL.
I am thinking that a 100 pound curb weight is possible without the cost going through the roof.
So with this in mind I have been following many of the comments and discussions online about such vehicles and am reaching out to those with relative experience to discuss the good and bad about these vehicles.
Not sure how you could reduce weight that much and still have similar cargo and passenger capability with full DOT lighting and horn. Your design is a streamliner with the typical difficult ingress/egress that old or disabled people can't handle. I'm not that excited about high speed velos that break trail speed limits. The market for heavier velos is as a car substitute. If I can't haul 20 bags of groceries or a case of beer and a frozen turkey it won't fit my needs. Safety is important, consider this - As a member of the ELF owner's group on Facebook with over 500 members, this private group sees photos of the aftermath of serious car/ELF collisions. With 4 million road miles we have logged 15 collisions with NO serious driver injuries. Just yesterday a poor guy in Seattle was commuting to work when he was rear ended at 35 mph, his ELF was a total loss but as it disintegrated it saved his life. He did go to a hospital for a checkup but has no broken bones, just bruises. It was a hit and run and his ELF was very brightly lit up with extra reflectors and LED rope trim lights. The ELF and the PEBL are the two safest bikes ever made, the crumple zones save lives. Let that be one of the top attributes to focus on!

Chapooski
2 weeks ago

Thanks again Popeye for another thoughtful reply.
My favorite thing about Organic Transit is that they have proven that a market exists for vehicles such as the ELF and PEBL and I sincerely thank them for it.
I currently produce in very limited numbers a sport/touring velomobile the Marvelo SKR:
http://marvelomobile.blogspot.ca/p/specifications.html
,but have had aspirations for several years in wanting to produce a much more practical velomobile, a recumbent cargo E-trike of sorts with decent weather protection, easy ingress/egress for all and with a curb weight significantly less than the ELF or PEBL.
I am thinking that a 100 pound curb weight is possible without the cost going through the roof.
So with this in mind I have been following many of the comments and discussions online about such vehicles and am reaching out to those with relative experience to discuss the good and bad about these vehicles.

rich c
2 weeks ago

Thanks John. I have to decide in a few hours so I get the free shipping. It won't be my main bike by any stretch. I'm looking for some variety to my riding days on my Haibikes. I do a lot of short rides, many times about 5-6 days a week, having about 2700 miles in this year. There is a closed public golf course locally, that has been converted to a park. Lots of varied terrain there and just 1.5 miles away. Then the gravel rail trails that start 7 miles from home, and the canal-way trail is right at a 1 hour drive. So planning to ramp it into my Ford Transit Connect, throw a nice lunch into some panniers, and taking a relaxing ride there a few times a month. I wondered about the wobble, but with the pedal assist I don't plan on really putting the heavy load to the pedals. Thinking some days when my knees are acting up, the assist button will get bumped up higher too! Going to get the 20 amp/hour battery upgrade. I have a walk-out basement, with an oversized door. I'm planning on a storage dolly that will have ramps and a pivot. I back the trike up the ramps, then pull a pin and angle it up. Somewhat like one of those anti gravity rigs for stretching out the spine. Then with casters on it, move it to a storage spot and use up less floor space. Can you tell I'm a retired model maker/engineer?

JohnT
2 weeks ago

I own a Fat Tad. I bought it a couple years ago, planning to convert it to electric, but haven’t gotten around to it. I’ve only put on a few miles but would be happy to answer any questions you might have.

It’s a big heavy trike, but the suspension and fat tires make for a nice, comfortable ride. Ride height isn’t very low, so ground clearance is good and getting in and out of the seat is relatively easy. I wobble when I pedal, but I assume that’ll go away with practice. I haven’t gone very fast on it yet.

It doesn’t roll though standard doorways and is heavy and awkward to carry. Im hoping it’s not too much worse when converted with the battery removed. I wouldn’t want to have to carry it twice every time I rode. I have it I my garage.

Most of the components are acceptable quality. I don’t think I’ll be swapping them out for better ones. I’m not that picky.

Overall, I’d recommend it, but it’s obviously not the right ride for everyone.

rich c
2 weeks ago

This summer I started riding my full suspension mtb along the Hennepin Canal. It's like 75 miles of basically a straight line and little elevation change. We also have a crushed rock rail trail that goes about 30 miles in a similar fashion. I'm thinking a Fat-Tad from Electric Trikes on slicks would be the perfect nature cruiser for those rides. Heads up and a relaxed position for the miles. The canal ride is so enjoyable with birds and water views the entire distance, I think the heads-up ride would let me enjoy the view better. Any opinions about the recumbent trike?

MLB
3 weeks ago

I get the itch and drool over some of the new E bikes but the FS RX is such a good bike it does't make any sense to swap it for the riding I do. Mine has Super MotoX tires and spends most of it's time on paved bike path in our city. The suspension has me able to ride an upright bike for the first time in almost 20 years. Rode recumbents and still have a tadpole trike with hub motor. People complain about the high prices all the time but I've never been anything but happy about the money I spent on my haibike.

Philly5834
4 weeks ago

Would that I was in Pennsylvania, am in upstate New York and contemplating purchase of a recumbent trike which has a Class II motor. Seems that even if NY legalizes e-assist next year, it will only be for Class I equipped bikes--thus my question. Was born and raised in Philly, thus the moniker.

ScorpionKing
4 weeks ago

I have successfully modified a tool to pop pins out of white connectors so I can do unplanned things behind the axle nut. I put fork stiffener struts on made of aluminum angle. So I took a pick from big lots store ($2.89), and ground the tip down almost needle fine, using a bench grinder. use Safety glasses. Don't overheat. Then I could push on the tabs of the pins to flatten them, and let the pins back out of the block. When putting the pins back you have to rebend the tabs out to pop out a bit again and hook the connector body.
The reason you can't use an actual needle, they are not long enough and you need a handle to hold the needle with and apply force.Sears also used to sell a .050" thick pick in a handle. Also General Tool. The big lots one was so fat it was almost scrap to start with.
Good luck on the uncooperative vendor.

You really should not need a tool or at least we shouldn’t have to pop any pins out or remove any plug. Prior to the sale I was told specially we needed to use two torque arm kits by this company. The reason given was the cassette version of the axle was 12mm vs the freewheel version which is 14mm.

That should have been reason enough to ship the Motor without the small wires in the contacts mounted in the White Plastic Plug causing a problem for the buyer.

In addition, instructions were never sent with shipment. We were finally send an email after being told their “One Drive was down” (maybe this is there file sever), from there own company in emai, that clear states in writing on page paragraph 6, that until the motor is fitted to the Bike the White Plastic Plug should not be fitted on the contacts on the end of the electric wire, because it will prevent the Nuts and Washers from sliding off and on.

Those are not the exact words as written but I have printed the email and can scan and upload it if necessary. I am past this point unless PayPal or American Express wants it for evidence.

Point being, Motor should have been shipped end user ready from this vendor. There are a lot of first time builders out there like us. It does not mean we are stupid just because we might be inexperienced at building or converting to an E-bike/Trike at this time. This is only our first attempt. Many of us own multiple bikes s/Trikes. I personally own 5. What that means to this vendor is that by treating me poorly as he did he at least lost 4 potential future sales. Also I am not likely to say good things about this vendor to others on the forums I regularly participate in, or when I am out riding events like Ragbrai.

Lastly it should not have been assumed I was going to purchase a controller or other parts from this vendor. Motors have the capability of using various controllers. This company was told up front I was not using their controller. I will have to check my email but I believe I told them I was using a Phase Runner.

Seems there were and are enough reasons to have left that White Plastic Plug off instead of shipping the way they did.

Jason

ScorpionKing
1 month ago

As I stated in another post, I certainly have a lot to learn as this is my first build or conversion of a Recumbent Trike to an Ebike. While I am inexperienced in this area, I have a very diversified background. I repaired aircraft in the military and have been working on automobiles and other mechanical things since I was very young.

Shelly even though I am older I admit I still make mistakes. I have nothing against Mac Motors. However, I did make a mistake on the dealer and/or company I purchased the Mac Motor I ordered from. Honestly it is my fault for ordering from them in the first place. I should have asked if they had a Phone Number and Verified it was working phone number to start with. I should have made sure they had some sort of instant chat window.

To deal with a company that only has email communication is almost impossible. This is especially true when two different languages are spoken because there is mis-communication that create issues. It makes it difficult to discuss small support problems or get directions. This becomes an even bigger problem that company has an employee on the other side who chooses to Argue with the customer because the employee wants to interfere with an item the customer wants to order because he does not think it will work right. I had this happen to me. It actually delayed my order and I had to send this employee a picture before he understood because he was not familar with a recumbent trike's handle bar setup. As a customer I should not have to be treated this way.

This employee delayed my order even though I paid for DHL 3 day international shipping and all the parts in question were stock parts that did not have to be built or assembled. It was 19 days from the time I placed my order until the time I received it.

Then I was taken to task about why my order for the Mac Motor did not include a Controller, Torque Arms, and Battery. I politely explained I had already purchased those items from other vendors. It seemed to upset this employee that I had purchased parts elsewhere and then he told me they made special modifications to their CA3 Cycle Analyst V3 just for the mac motor and if I wanted mine to work with the Mac I could modify it. Although I was emailed a picture with instructions on how to do this, it included taking the back off the CA3 and making changes to the circuit board and since I didn't want to void my warranty I was able the vender I bought the other CAS from to allow me to return it to him and purchased one from the company I was buying the Mac Motor from that was already modified.

Honestly this company should mention on their website that they used a modified CAS Cycle Analyst Display to work with their motors so any prospective customer is aware of that fact prior to them planning their builds.

Since I order a Cassette Hub type version of the Mac Motor I was both told and read that I should use two Grin Torque Arms on the Axle. This was very clear prior to placing my order. Instead of just crimping the flat metal connectors on the 6 different color hall sensor wires and labeling them and numbering them and putting them between two flat pieces of cardboard taped together for protection during shipping. They put the brass flat connectors on the plugs and stuck them in the 6 pin flat molex plug and Heat Shrink Wrap it over the end of the plug. Someone then must of pulled down on the wires then to set them in the plug and not come out. So I had three different colored Phase wires sticking out of the end of the cord just below the White 6 pin connector. All the Nuts and Washers were already slid over the wire before the White plug was put on the end of the wire.

Now I have to ask, If they new a Grin Torque arm had to be added on both side why in the world they put the hall sensor ends in a White Molex Plug and make it impossile to slide the Torque Arm on the wire? Second, Why would they double Heat Shrink that wire all the way up to the White Molex Plug if they meant for you to put a Torque Arm on?

Third! Why weren't there any written directions, instructions, or a manual included?

When I emailed for help, I was provided with directions to use a flat screw driver, tweezer, or a pair of scissors, to remove the flat pins from this plug. So I got those things together. Prior to giving it a shot I forced back the Heat Shrink Material from the White Molex Plug the best I could. Trying a strong Jewelers Screwdriver, a set of good Tweezers, and Scissors I was unsuccessful. So I thought maybe it could be me so I had my wife try. She could not get it done either. So we emailed back and told them it was not working. So we were told they finally got their One Drive working so they would send us a Video.

We watched the video several times. I noticed that the woman in the video was using Extremely Pointy Scissors which are not typically found in a home or shop. The only set of scissors we had which were remotely close were our expensive Barber Shears. So we found those and then using a lot of pressure we were able to move the locking tabs and get the pins slid back out the White Molex Plug. Even so we still could not get the Nuts and Washers off because of the Two Extra Heat Shrink on the wires. Then it hit me. The woman in the Video doing the demonstration did not have any Heat Shrink on her wires.

I wrote back and told them this and asked if it was ok for us to cut off the Heat Shrink so we could get the parts off and on we needed to. We told them we were getting very frustrated with everything that has gone on and now this. On top of that I mentioned that from the video I noticed we were missing the other side of the White Molex Plug, and that the heavy side of the disassembled motor arrived with a hole in the bottom of the box. Also where were the directions, written instructions, or manuals for putting everything together? At that point we expressed a desire to communicate with the owner of the company.

The employee returned our email by harassing us again about buying parts from other vendors and wanting a plug and play system.

So I finally asked him who he thought he was that he could decide for us where we could spend our money. We also told him that this order should have gone smoothly and we should not have had to put up with the delay or the arguing or rudeness he has treated us with. That he needed to get the Owner to communicate with us at this point.

After that our emails were not responded to.

I sent picture of the wires, plugs, and tools used to that company the next morning. I waited the whole day for a response back from them. When we did not receive a response back from this company, My wife and I finally filed a complaint with Pay Pal.

When we went to the Pay Pal website and clicked on file a dispute, all of a sudden a messages pops up from the owner with his name that asks us to please contact them first instead of filing a dispute with PayPal. As hard as it is to believe there is also a Phone Number Listed. Well it is a requirement that if you have a PayPal account you have a phone number. So my wife and I attempted to call that number which is out of the country from the USA. It was a Fraudulent Phone Number of course. The people that answered never heard of this person or his company name. So we called PayPal to see if they had another number listed and to ask them about another payment we had made to them that did not seem to show up on our account because we paid it with our american express through them. PayPal said it was there and would be included in the dispute and put the money for both payments on hold and said they would email the vendor and let them know all communication needed to go through the dispute and resolution center.

All of a sudden, Our Email gets responded to by that company and they are offering to refund our money along with the 3 day international shipping fees.

Then they want us to ship to a Third party within the USA but we are instructed not to call that person or contact them.

We respond by telling them all communication had to go through the PayPal Dispute Resolution Center.

When they make this offer over there, we tell them we are still willing to work to resolve the issue. Look at the last picture we sent you. I think I almost have it figured out I just need to OK from you to proceed and I need you to ship me the missing part along with the written directions, instructions or manuals.

I also state that my wife and I are willing to accept their Refund if they are willing to act in Good Faith as we have and Refund our Money Including the International Shipping costs In Advance as we did before they Shipped. We feel its only fair.

Then after the Refund clears and posts to our account, we will be happy to box up what ever they shipped us and they can take Responsibility, Prepay, and Arrange their own Insurance and Shipping to whatever party they want.

My wife and I are not comfortable shipping to a Third Party Unknown address and losing our Paypal protection because of it.

Thats where things stand now.

Sorry about the long post but I hope this helps someone in the future.

I am sure is not the only place I will post this experience. I have nothing against Mac Motor, but if I were you I would step up and talk to this dealer and make sure they do not treat any other customers this way.

Hugh
1 month ago

this picture shows the start of the frame for the trike body. The wood across the wheels is just to give the proper spacing till a bit more fram has been constructed and it becomes mor rigid The coroplast in the background will be zip tied to the frame and then I will stretch some light weight canvas across it and paint that. That will be tested first on a small piece to see if it is feasible.

JohnT
1 month ago

In my opinion, solar panels are too big and heavy to be worth it for most applications. I know of a guy who put one on his tadpole trike and is happy with it, and I’ve seen a system designed for the Pedego Stretch that seems cool. It’s just not for me.

Hugh
1 month ago

Winter is now fast approaching here in Winnipeg and the green trike is now sitting in my heated garage on a work table awaiting it's next stage. I had a great summer and got lot's of riding in. Even managed to convert a long time friend - we have known each other for 60 years now - he has a few health issues so I put him on the Bafang equipped fat bike for quite a few of those rides. I have his 29er schwinn mountain bike in my garage and we are awaiting a 500 watt Tongshen mid drive for installation. Back to the green trike, I took it for a few cold weather rides in the last couple weeks, temps around and slightly below freezing and it reinforced the fact that my hands don't take to the cold very well. So the green trike is getting a body. The framework will be thin metal rods, around 1/8 to 3/16ths" that will be covered in lite weight painter dropcloth canvas. The front wheels will be enclosed and the body from the riders seat forward will tilt up and forward for access. The portion behind the rider will also be enclosed, as in a tailbox. I expect some streamlining from this but more importantly, protection from rain and light snow. It will be removeable for the 2 months of hot weather we get here in Manitoba. It has been started and when the frame is more advanced I will put up a couple pictures.

wingplum
3 days ago

INo rear differential, I think the German made is better.

brian mci
3 weeks ago

I like...

NWforager
4 weeks ago

my Dad Needs something just like this bad

Sohail Mohmed
1 month ago

Very very nice

Eye on art
1 month ago

They have three wheeled motorcycles that do not tip!

Eye on art
1 month ago

11 miles per hour. lets see I live 11 miles to store 11 miles back 30 minute shopping so that means two and a half hours! no wayl not worth $3.000 dollars.

Eye on art
1 month ago

Oh yea $2995 for this for that price it should have wings!

Eye on art
1 month ago

Price to high it is not a car. not affordable for everyone. greed pricing! waiting for Sondors to make one that will be affordable for everyone!

Dennis Gaffney
1 month ago

Capitalism is a predatory system

Eye on art
1 month ago

$3,000 this is not a car, that price is price gouging. lower price sells more high price sells less I hope Sondors comes out with an affordable one for everyone

David trueslayor
2 months ago

1 more thing about the speed of these is the battery size what depicts the speed or is the battery strictly for run time ? What does affect speed ? And since you do reviews what if someone who didn't feel he could balance a 2 wheeler but wanted some balls with His bike where would he look ? Thanks again David

David trueslayor
2 months ago

My question was about its power, then I saw a discussion below but didn't answer my question, Do you give up power/mph with the Trike compared to the 2 wheeler version ?
I am 6"4' 250 but have lupus & severe neuropathy so I am looking for a why to get out , anyways can this be outfitted with a sun shade/roof etc. ? Thanks David

Daniel Lucena
2 months ago

Yes sir!!!That's what I call EVOLUTION!!!By the way how much for one of these?Really great Trike!!!!!

Jessica P
3 months ago

proper step through helps women in pencil skirts! you should cover different attire with your bike reviews. flowing skirts, pencil skirts, flare wide leg trousers, long coats...

Hardy Stuttgart
3 months ago

Very interresting introduction video. I`d like to buy the trike in Germany!
Conzept is great, coz trikes r always to high in seat, so there is a danger in driving bend. A deeper u seat, as more sure u r on the street!
Thatswhy i think the conzept "longer & deeper" ist great.
My opinian is: 22" fat tires front, 2x 20" fat tires in back. The Standard-Trike-Design means to be powerfull in sitting position. When there`s electric power, the design should be comfortable, like this pedego trike.
Regards from Stuttgart/Germany

christothegreat1
4 months ago

Pedego make the hub motor do Regenerative braking

Don Mega
4 months ago

if it was atleast 500w. how do you expect to pull any cargo up a hill with a 250w i wonder.

Tom Purcell
5 months ago

Cool trike!  I'd like one.  I want so many E-bikes and E-trikes now!  I mentioned the Lithium Super 73, and I'd also like your analysis of the Phantom Vision and/or Phantom Shadow.

frederic lassemblee
5 months ago

le prix  merci

Thomas Dukes
5 months ago

Can kids go in the back?

Rachel
3 months ago

no, it's not safe. It holds up to 50 lbs on the back.