Pedego Trike Review

2017 Pedego Electric Trike Review
2017 Pedego Trike
2017 Pedego Trike Integrated Spanninga Trendo LED Headlight
2017 Pedego Trike Removable 36 Volt 11 Amp Hour Battery Pack
2017 Pedego Trike Lcd Control Panel Twist Throttle
2017 Pedego Trike Grip Twist Shifter Parking Brake Levers
2017 Pedego Trike 250 Watt Dapu Geared Hub Motor
2017 Pedego Trike Rear Disc Brake Finger Adjustable Avid Bb7
2017 Pedego Trike Mechanical Avid Bb7 Disc Brakes 160 Mm Rotors
2017 Pedego Trike Velo Oversized Comfort Seat With Back Rest
2017 Pedego Trike Plastic Storage Bin Bucket With Drain Holes
2017 Pedego Trike 30 Inch Width Fits Through Doors
2017 Pedego Trike 3 Speed Shimano Nexus Drivetrain Right Wheel Drive
2017 Pedego Trike Manual Charger Pedals Touch Up Paint
2017 Pedego Electric Trike Review
2017 Pedego Trike
2017 Pedego Trike Integrated Spanninga Trendo LED Headlight
2017 Pedego Trike Removable 36 Volt 11 Amp Hour Battery Pack
2017 Pedego Trike Lcd Control Panel Twist Throttle
2017 Pedego Trike Grip Twist Shifter Parking Brake Levers
2017 Pedego Trike 250 Watt Dapu Geared Hub Motor
2017 Pedego Trike Rear Disc Brake Finger Adjustable Avid Bb7
2017 Pedego Trike Mechanical Avid Bb7 Disc Brakes 160 Mm Rotors
2017 Pedego Trike Velo Oversized Comfort Seat With Back Rest
2017 Pedego Trike Plastic Storage Bin Bucket With Drain Holes
2017 Pedego Trike 30 Inch Width Fits Through Doors
2017 Pedego Trike 3 Speed Shimano Nexus Drivetrain Right Wheel Drive
2017 Pedego Trike Manual Charger Pedals Touch Up Paint

Summary

  • A custom designed electric trike with large plastic cargo bin at the back, three-speed internally geared hub can be shifted at standstill and is more durable than a traditional derailleur
  • Two mechanical disc brakes provide good stopping power, max speed limited to 7 mph in throttle mode, up to 11 mph in pedal assist with three power levels to choose from
  • Large LCD display panel is easy to read and navigate, there's a USB charging port at the base of the display and the trike comes with an integrated LED headlight and back light as well as reflective tires for safety
  • Heavier and more difficult to move than a traditional two-wheel ebike but much more stable, I hit my heels on the tub when pedaling at times, no reverse drive mode

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Pedego

Model:

Trike

Price:

$2,995

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, Europe

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

73.6 lbs (33.38 kg) (61.6 lbs for High-Step)

Battery Weight:

5.8 lbs (2.63 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.17 lbs (2.79 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

13 in (33.02 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

13" Seat Tube Length, 29.5" Reach, 13" Stand Over Height, 73" Length, 30" Width

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Trike (Cantilever Style)

Frame Colors:

Metallic Blue

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Steel, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Frame Rear Details:

10 mm Independent Axles with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses, Welded Rear Rack with Spring Latch

Gearing Details:

3 Speed 1x3 Shimano Nexus Internally Geared Hub, Chain Tensioner

Shifter Details:

microSHIFT inter Grip Twist on Left

Cranks:

Alloy 165 mm Crank Arms, 39 Tooth Chainring with Integrated Torque Sensor

Pedals:

Pedego Branded Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Threadless External Cup Sealed Bearing, 1-1/8"

Stem:

Tool-Free Adjustable Angle, 0° to 80°

Handlebar:

High-Rise, 28" Width

Brake Details:

Avid BB7 Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Tool-Free Adjustable Calipers, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors and Parking Brakes

Grips:

Padded Stitched, Black

Saddle:

Velo Oversized Comfort with Back Rest and Rubber Bumpers

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

28.6 mm

Rims:

Double Wall Aluminum Alloy, Paint Matched, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge with Brass Nipple, Silver

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Ben, 20" x 2.15"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

30 to 55 PSI, Performance Line RaceGuard Puncture Protection, LiteSkin Reflective Sidewall Stripe

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve, Pre-Slimed

Accessories:

Paint Matched Steel Chain Guard, Paint Alloy Matched Front Fender, Integrated Plastic Rear Fenders, Plastic Bucket with Drain Holes, Parking Brake Pins on Both Brake Levers, Integrated Spanninga Trendo or Luxo LED Headlight (15 Lux and 40 Lux), Integrated Spanninga Rear LED Light, (Press the Power Button Once When On to Activate Lights), Flick Bell on Right, Optional Rain Fly to Cover Bucket

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Quick-Connect Modular Throttle and Motor Cables for Easy Repair or Replacement, 1.8 lb 2.5 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Dapu

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

650 watts

Motor Torque:

30 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic, 18650

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (1-3), Battery Level (5 Bars), Time, Odometer, Trip Meter

Display Accessories:

5 Volt Standard Sized USB Port (Hold Set and + to Activate)

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle, Torque Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

11 mph (18 kph) (7 mph Throttle Only)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Pedego introduced their first electric trike in late 2013 and I got to test and review it at a shop called Rocket Electrics in Austin Texas. This was one of the first ebike tricycles I had ever seen and the custom design was inspiring and exciting. Rather than use a sharp rattly steel basket, Pedego had developed a paint-matched plastic bucket of sorts and its polished curved lines looked radically different. More like a side-car on a motorcycle or the rumble seat of an old fashioned car… Three-wheeled bicycles tend to easier to mount and more stable to ride than those with just two wheels. They are well suited to cargo hauling, like groceries or books, but without electric assist their heavier weight and comfort-oriented geometry can make them difficult to pedal. Notice how the cranks on Pedego’s trike are positioned forward and the saddle has a back rest built in. The handle bars are raised up and swept back and there’s a tool-free adjustable stem. It’s a “one size fits all” platform that’s sold exclusively through dealers where you can get fitted and go for a test ride. Of course, the price is a bit higher at nearly $3k but you get a solid warranty and end up with some upgraded components and accessories. For me, the internally geared three-speed hub (that can be shifted at standstill), reflective tires, integrated batteries and disc brakes are stand outs. This is a trike with pedal assist and throttle mode but no reverse (likely to keep the control interface simpler and more intuitive).

Driving the trike is a modest 250 watt internally geared hub motor spoked into the front wheel. The peak output is around 650 watts and it’s made by Dapu which is a higher-end brand with zippier performance. One thing I noticed with their new hub design is that the motor power cable comes down through the axle vs. out the end. This keeps it tucked away, reducing snags and bends that can eventually ruin the motor. Rather than 20 mph or even 15 mph the Pedego Trike is speed limited to 11 mph in pedal assist and 7 mph in throttle mode. Trikes are more stable when mounting and loading but they can get up onto two wheels at higher speed when taking sharp turns. The lower top speed here might be a nod to safety and it probably also improves range. You can hear it operating at full power but overall, I’d say the motor is quiet… complimenting the now quieter plastic tub, front fender and chain cover. For a trike with all of these extras added on, I was also impressed with the 73.6 lb curb weight.

Powering the motor, backlit display and LED lights is a very average sized battery. But again, the lower top speed helps to extend range and LED lights don’t take much juice… The pack offers 396 watt hours (36 volts, 11 amp hours) of capacity and uses high quality Panasonic cells that should last. Unlike the older trike, this battery is easy to reach and remove if you’d like. It’s right there in the frame tubing which helps to bring weight forward on the trike (improving front wheel traction) and locks on securely with a key. Some electric trikes make you leave the key in while riding, like the ignition on a car, but not this one. It would be in the way and vulnerable to being kicked if so. Basically, they did the battery right. You can charge it on-frame using a port on the left side of the frame or take it off and charge it inside. The pack has a folding handle to give you a solid grip (dropping batteries is not good) and there’s even a little LED charge level indicator built in so you know how full it is even if it’s not mounted to the bike.

Operating the new Pedego Trike is very easy… Once the battery is charged and locked in place, just press and hold the power button on the brilliant LCD display for a few seconds. It flickers to life showing battery capacity, speed, assist level and trip stats and it starts in zero. This is a good thing because the twist throttle could get bumped if the trike started in level 1-3 and take off on you. I recommend sitting down on the trike before powering it on, then arrow up one, two or three clicks and begin pedaling. Note that this electric trike uses a fancy torque sensor vs. a cadence sensor. I’m not sure I love the choice because it required more leg power than expected during my test rides. I was consistently in the highest level of assist but still opted to use the twist throttle most of the time to get going. The combination of a “shift anytime” internally geared hub, three levels of assist and the throttle option make the experience great and I suppose that cadence sensors (which tend to have an on/off jerky feeling) wouldn’t be as smooth. And so, maybe down the line the controller will be adjusted so you don’t have to pedal as hard to get the motor to respond and note, this was a pre-production build of the trike which had been used for demos. I recommend visiting a dealer to try for yourself :)

There’s a lot to love about the new Pedego Trike. Part of me misses the glossy red of the original but I appreciate the thought that went into their new black cargo bin which won’t smudge or scratch as easily. The metallic blue would look good with a male or female rider and all of the comfortable, adjustable touch points are there to make it enjoyable to ride. I especially like the large metal pedals which grip your foot but do not have sharp pins on them! They are partially rounded so as not to scrape legs and shins if you lose traction. Paul Auclair, an engineer product manager at Pedego, even mentioned the possibility of a rain fly cover for the cargo bin at some point in the future. There’s a lot of thought that went into the cables, frame design and gearing of this trike. Very few options even exist in this space and many upright neighborhood designs like this do not have disc brakes for example. Overall, I was very impressed and had a great time. I didn’t feel like the limited top speed was a deal killer and I loved how maneuverable the trike was. This would be an excellent platform for someone with limited balance who still enjoys cycling and might also want some utility for shopping. My Grandfather, for example, has a limited license which does not allow for driving after dark but with the Pedego Trike he could visit friends or dash to the store easily and stretch his legs in the process.

Pros:

  • A purpose built (from the ground up) electric trike with color matched wheels, chain guard and front fender
  • Comfortable and stable yet narrow enough to fit through most doors (it measures 30″ wide), the oversized seat with back rest and high-rise swept back bars offer an upright body position
  • Feet-forward design allows for lower seating position and easier mounting, the deep step-thru frame is very easy to step onto and sit down on
  • Both brake levers have locking pins so you can steady the bike when loading/unloading and have it stay put when not in use (trikes don’t usually have kickstands so this feature is important)
  • Unique plastic cargo bin in the rear looks sleek, is textured with “orange peel” tread to hide blemishes and has drains in the bottom for easy cleaning, I like that it doubles as a fender for both rear wheels
  • The battery pack on this e-trike is relatively easy to access and doesn’t require that your keys be left in to operate, you don’t have to bend way down or reach under the cargo bin to get at it… if you do take it off, there’s a plastic handle on top making it easier to move around
  • Top speed is limited to ~7 mph in throttle mode and ~11 mph in pedal assist for safety, these speeds are more stable on a trike and should extend your range as well
  • I like the adjustable stem, it doesn’t require tools and is designed to bring the handle bar up or down to provide a more comfortable fit for riders of different sizes (the trike only comes in one size)
  • This electric tricycle has disc brakes! I was really impressed to see two discs and found that they stopped fairly well and were easier to use than some band brakes and linear pull brakes
  • Integrated LED lights (that run off the main battery) keep you safe, aren’t going to get lost and aren’t as easy to leave on accidentally as after-market lights, I like the positioning of them and appreciate that the headlight is aimable… note the reflective sidewall tape on the tires for an even larger visual footprint for cars to see
  • In addition to the LED lights, there’s a standard sized USB port at the base of the display so you can run an extra light, charge your phone or bring some speakers or string lights for fun :P
  • I absolutely love that you can shift gears at standstill thanks to the internally geared three-speed hub, this makes starting from rest easier (especially on an incline) if you forgot to shift down earlier when moving
  • Dapu hub motors are well designed and tend to be zippier than the competition in my experience, the power cable does not come out the end of the axle (where it could get snagged or bent if the trike tipped), it comes down and tucks near the fork arm
  • The original Pedego Trike had a rear-mounted battery which added to the weight of the two wheels and bucket… for the new one, having the battery up front makes the frame more balanced and allows for more space in the bucket

Cons:

  • As with many front-wheel-drive trikes, the hub motor is zippy and powerful enough to spin out a little if you blast the power on, I usually ease in using the twist throttle gently so as not to wear the tires or damage some types of terrain
  • There’s no reverse mode on the trike, some competing products let you go backward which can be useful for parking and moving (especially when the cargo bin is fully loaded)
  • To me, the torque sensor felt weak and required more leg effort than expected. Considering there are three levels of pedal assist, I would have expected the highest level to be more powerful… I ended up using the throttle most of the time as a result
  • Several times when trying to pedal, I snagged my heels on the plastic bucket shell, I wear 9.5 shoes (so my feet aren’t especially large) and feel that the shell of the bin should not protrude so far… it’s just the plastic cover, not the inner box that snagged me so I feel like they made it long for style vs. function and maybe you could cut adjust it yourself if you snag your feet too
  • Pedego products are sold through dealers and come with a great warranty but that makes them a bit more expensive, for $2,995 you get a pretty custom setup here so it’s not too bad
  • The trike is much heavier than a two-wheel electric bike and could be difficult to transport after purchase, consider a small trailer for your car from Harbor Freight and remove the battery and seat to reduce weight
  • Pedego introduced another trike several years ago that used more wires, had a louder cargo bin at the rear and just wasn’t polished… this oone still has some noise from the plastic bin but is much quieter, I prefer plastic to metal which can cut and sometimes get rusty if it’s a steel basket
  • All of your pedal power and rear braking goes to one wheel, not both, so the right tire might wear out faster and if you slam on the brakes the stop might pull you to the right a little
  • This is more of a warning than a con, be careful with the chain cover because it’s easy to kick and bend when mounting and riding the trike

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Pedego Reviews

Pedego Platinum Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $3,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A premium cruiser style electric bike with upgraded suspension fork, suspension seat post, integrated LED lights, a sturdy rack and hydraulic disc brakes. Powerful 500 to 1,000+ watt hub motor from Dapu with high-torque rating and durable protected…...

Pedego 20″ Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sturdily built, lower speed electric bike with seven gears and throttle-only operation designed primarily for kids and youth but also a good fit for short riders. Max weight of 350 lbs, bosses in the rear for adding a rack and hauling…...

Pedego Latch Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sturdy folding electric bike with a full-sized feel, the extra long seat post and telescoping stem fit a wider range of body types than most folders I've tested. Premium drivetrain features and accessories including a Gates belt drive, Shimano Nexus internally geared hub,…...

Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $3,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fined fat tire electricbike with balanced down tube battery and purpose-built "extrawide" hub motor for improved drive train operation and torque. Nice LCD display panel with integrated buttons and swivel, includes a USB port for charging…...

Pedego Ridge Rider Review

  • MSRP: $3,395
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A delightfully capable and refined 27.5" hardtail electric mountain bike with powerful 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery pack. Nice upgrades on the adjustable air fork with lockout, 15 mm thru-axle, locking grips, hydraulic…...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A smaller version of the Interceptor that's easier to mount, it offers great power thanks to its smaller wheels paired with a 500 watt geared hub motor and 48 volt battery. Offers twist throttle and five levels of assist for increased range, throttle override puts you…...

Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stripped down comfort cruiser with easy-mount step-thru frame, throttle on demand only, optional fenders, multiple color choices and multiple battery size options from 36v 10ah up to 48v 15ah. Locking removable battery pack is protected in the color-matched rear rack, mechanical disc brakes are…...

Pedego Classic Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy, powerful cruiser style electric bike with large 500 watt geared motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery. Balloon tires, comfort saddle, suspension seat post and oversized handlebars create a relaxed upright ride...

2015 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A fat style ebike with zippy 500 watt geared motor and powerful 48 battery (available in 10ah or 15ah for extended range). Four fun color options, integrated headlight, pedal assist and throttle mode, quality mechanical disc brakes...

Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy and powerful electric bike that's a bit more active than the cruisers (more forward body position, narrower handlebars) and is available in several frame sizes for improved fit. Lots of great extras including full length aluminum fenders, chain guard, puncture resistant tires with…...

Pedego Stretch Review

  • MSRP: $3,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stylish and comfortable cruiser style electric cargo bike with removable tubing supports that extend the carrying platform or double as a back rest and running boards to accommodate a second rider. Offers two battery options for extended range and two drive modes including pedal assist (1-5)…...

Pedego Boomerang Review

  • MSRP: $2,495.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the easiest electric bikes to mount with extra low step-thru design, frame stiffness reduced as a result. Powerful 500 watt geared motor is quiet to operate and blends in well with cassette…...

Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Iconic cruiser style frame is sturdy, provides a relaxed seating position and comes in multiple colors. Powerful 500 watt direct drive (gearless) rear hub motor is durable, fast and relatively quiet...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A smaller step-through electric bike with 24" wheels for riders who are petite. Very powerful for its size, uses a 500 watt direct drive hub motor with three…...

Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the only purpose-built electric bikes that is setup to be a tandem for two adult riders. Sturdy frame, fun classic design, reliable drive system with six speeds, great support and warranty...

2014 Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy cruiser style electric bike with simple twist throttle operation and upgradable battery pack. Large tires, swept back handlebars, plush seat and padded grips dampen vibration to smooth out…...

Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Great power for acceleration, climbing or moving heavier riders with a 500 watt geared rear hub motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery combination. Offers twist throttle and five levels of pedal assist for increased range, removable battery for…...

2013 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,975
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Off-road design with 4" wide tires, increased contact patch enables the bike to ride on sand, snow and other rugged terrain, larger tires also provide cushion for improved riding comfort. Ultra powerful 600 watt geared motor and 48 volt battery pack for improved torque and…...

2014 Pedego Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Stable three wheel design with battery, motor and controller mounted low under the cargo bin. No pedal assist option with this bike but the twist throttle is intuitive to use…...

2013 Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Powerful combination of 500w motor and 48v Lithium battery. Durable and proven frame is borrowed from the Pedego Comfort Cruiser...

2013 Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,675
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

One of the only tandem style electric bikes available anywhere, large 500 watt motor offers good power. Built on the time tested, super simple, Pedego Cruiser cantilever style aluminum alloy frame...

2013 Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Classic upright commuter frame is quiet, sturdy and functional with welded rear rack. Integrated seat post shock, lights, bell, and computer with clean wire management...

2013 Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Solid, durable and extremely quiet to ride due to gearless rear hub motor. Casual design looks like a laid back cruiser and comes in many fun color choices...


Shaggy
2 months ago

This would be perfect for my senior citizen mom who one day will stop driving. Senior citizens who are not driving can have a way to get around, not be shut-in, and be happily independent – this is very important to self-esteem. Groceries could fit in the back. Interestingly, I believe trikes are more stable and steer better if the two wheels are in the front. In that arrangement, the rear single wheel could use a large hub motor to drive several hundred pounds or so. At my work, I could see these used by Facilities workers which would avoid gasoline and require less parking space. I really think 3-wheeled designs offer a lot of promise in multiple contexts. More power seems needed, especially to push a rider with cargo, add copious throttle because it could be too much weight to pedal for most except the physically most fit. Something trike-like between this Pedego design and the recumbent-style SunSeeker would be exciting evolution.

Court Rye
2 months ago

Good thoughts Shaggy, thanks for sharing! I agree that it’s nice to have a few choices emerging and that electric trikes can bring back independence and fun for people who might be stepping away from more conventional options. My Grandfather lives in a retirement community and many of his friends drive golf carts around :)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Lysle
9 hours ago

I am pleased with my Ancheer 20" whitebfolding 7 speed bike which I bought on Ebay for 590.00. I liked it so well I bought 3 more when the price dropped to 499. Counting 2 that I made myself, I have owned 9 ebikes and a 1000 watt Trike.

My most recent purchase is a Goplus 22" Red single speed from Walmart thru Costway at 459.00. I will probably buy more of these too.

I would like to see Court test these two as they are ideal for budget minded students and both perform well.

Matt A
1 day ago

So, Rohloff Delite GX HS it was. I reached out to Chris Nolte of Propel and (at my prodding) he was kind enough to offer a modest discount on his floor model, but with the proviso that I had to wait for him to take delivery of another one before he sent the demo to me. Fair enough. Chris was good to his word re: estimated delivery time. Three weeks passed and sure enough, he got the new demo in and made arrangements to have the bike brought to my office on a Sunday afternoon (I live in a small city an hour or so north of NYC). Nice of him to go out of the way and offer to deliver as I had some personal things going on that would have kept me from picking it up within the next week or so.

First impressions: Sweet! Only 22 demo miles on the odometer. I already had a few alterations and additions in mind (guess that is the male version of "accessorizing") , but the essential core was all there - substantial frame, nice components, obviously well thought out, maybe a bit over-engineered - if that is even possible. Being purpose built exclusively as an e-bike, nothing about it has that "aftermarket-afterthought" feel. Solid as can be. No pretensions of being anything but a steady road warrior, capable of taking hard knocks and shrugging off the usual daily insults from the two ton motorized behemoths one encounters on the daily commute. Yeah, kind of a motorcycle feel, but still very much a vehicle that requires human input to motivate. Pretty heavy, but I had spent a lot of time in another life piloting touring bikes loaded down with four panniers and 50-69 additional lbs of gear, so I knew I wouldn't be phased by the weight that the two batteries and Bosch motor entailed. This thing knows it's purpose: built to bull through most stuff, on or off road, without the rider wondering if something is going to crack, snap off, or otherwise make things unpleasant.

As things go, the first week that I had it turned out to be nasty weather-wise. Record low temps, mixed precipitation. I think I clicked maybe 15 miles total over the over the first few days. On the first nice day, the following Sunday, I put 30 + miles on it. Super happy with it. Went on road and on trail. The brakes, suspension, beefy 27.5" tires, and power package all work well together. It's not a "pocket rocket", as we used to refer to certain motorcycles way back when, but the whole package works as advertised. I am liking it a lot. The Rohloff gives it an awesome low range, though I would like to get a bit more headroom at high speed ie. have pedal input over 30 mph. I did get the bike over 40 mph, but that was going down a big hill with inertia being the only motivator. In day to day riding, that really isn't a factor and I guess I could always put a smaller cog on the Rohloff at some point (but probably won't). At high speed, I had total confidence and the suspension ably handled a surprise pothole around 35 mph. Why potholes in NY in the spring should be a surprise, I don't know, but it was a substantial one nonetheless and the bike pretty much took it in stride. Power assist is just about right. At first you find yourself obsessing over the (4) available ranges, but I find myself pretty much either running it on tour or turbo mode. You definitely know that all those micro adjustments for shifting and human pedal effort are going on in the Bosch brain, but for the most part it just does that job well and it works rather seamlessly. After the first 100 or so miles, I was over any second thoughts about not having gotten a "throttle" type e-assist or opting for more power. Despite the added weight of the electric assist components, the pedal effort vs. a non-electric bike is reduced by maybe 50%, Works for me. The Intuvia controller is pretty straight forward. Almost like a typical bike computer but with power functions added. It took some getting used to not having the wealth of detailed data that the Cycle Analyst produces on my EcoSpeed trike setup, but simplicity is a good thing too. I am curious, Matt, how your Nyon is working out for you.

Time to start using the bike on a daily commuting basis. And then a few hiccups occur . . .
I enjoyed reading everything you wrote. I am glad I got the NuVinci, but only because of my riding stlye. The Rohloff is definitely better. I use the bike for going to a number of destinations around the city and I like to get done quickly, so I am constantly shifting as I ride around very quickly. If I owned a Rohloff, I'd likely get used to it but when I tried a demo I just hated it. I have been testing the limits of the bike a lot, and have crashed a number of times. The bike never gets hurt really, and the Nyon back is scuffed up from a couple spills but still works great. It is very detailed and I like looking at my rides afterwards. I ride almost always in Turbo, I only ride in Tour if I will be running out of battery. Hard to believe I know, but I frequently do over 60 miles on the bike at once. I am really looking forward to upgrading the suspension on the bike and having a set of MTB tires for off-roading. I have been testing the limits of the bike and have fallen off a number of times, so once I upgrade the rear shock and fork, I want to avoid scratching them lol.

There are a lot of paved trails near me and also some dirt and gravel trails too. I went up a steep climb on a 6 inch wide dirt path covered in roots and boulders like it was nothing. Coming back down was a bit scary with the Super Moto X tires that have 1500 miles of wear on them, I am sure I will feel much more confident with some nobby nics on like the GX has I believe. I never did any trail riding before, but I really had a blast trying it out and will be doing a lot of it in the future.

More on the Nyon, I really am glad I upgrades. It just looks so much cooler and gives you a ton of information. I know the exact battery percentage as well which is a plus since steep sections of a ride can really distort the range for the overall ride. You can see a map of your path and can see your altitude, cadence, speed, and power output and any point along the ride. I like the navigation, but it is not as good as Google Maps. It is just like using a tomtom or garmin sat nav. The directions are fine but the city has a lot of close streets, it would be nice to see the street names on the map but it just shows the roads with no names. Sometimes of course navigation lags a little, so it would be nice to see the name of the roads on screen. It does not show the names of random streets around you on the map, nor the name of the street you are supposed to turn onto next, and also not the street you are currently on. No street names, just an animation to follow. I really just like the Nyon for how it looks, the Intuvia works fine but it is such a simple display on a bike that has so much more to offer (not to mention it looks high tech).

The Nyon display does take a few extra seconds to load up, and sometimes restarts during a ride (not often). The good thing though is that the power assist works from the second you hit the power button, even though the display is loading. And when the Nyon restarts mid-ride for no reason, the assist never stops, so really doesn't bother me. One other thing is that the Nyon does not allow me to turn on the High Beam of my Supernova M99 Pro. The Intuvia light button worked for the high beam and also for turning it on during the day, but with the Nyon connected, the headlight is completely independent. It won't turn on when the sun is out, and won't turn off at night nor turn the high beam on, the light button is useless even though the light icon appears when I click it. Perhaps I need it to be changed to switchable from a shop, I have not checked yet. Worst case scenario I will have to attach the high beam button that came with the light, but it will not reach my handlebars since the light is mounted on the fork crown. I like it better there, the lighting is perfect and cars can see my lights better in their mirrors because it is at the same level as car headlights. I will have to epoxy the button onto the actualy light or something lol.

Hugh
2 days ago

I have decided to use the brakes and electrics on my Bionx 500 equipped EVO road bike and build a 3 wheeled electric recumbent trike. I bought the plans, got the steel tube and have started the project. The style is called a tadploe trike which means the 2 wheels are in front and 1 wheel in back It is called the Warrior and i got the plans from a site called Atomic Zombie. The frame is made from 1/16" or 16 gauge 1 1/2" square tubing. You need a few parts from discarded bikes. The headsets from 3 old bikes are cut down and used in the steering assembly. A bottom bracket from one bike is also used. After i bought the plans there was the annual police bicycle auction where stolen and not claimed bikes are auctioned off. It just happens to be less than a block from my home. So i picked up 3 old bikes for $20 apiece. A grinder with cut wheels and a flap disc was used to cut them up and polish the pieces i needed. I also have a small 110 volt welder which is more the sufficient for the job. The BionX wheel is 28" in diameter and will be used as the rear drive unit. The EVO has 2 180 mm Tektro disc rotors which fit the front wheels. The front wheels were the most expensive components so far. You need 20" rims BMX style rims so I used my LBS and ordered 2 20mm disc ready hubs, 2 double wall 36 spoke 20" rims and had them lace the wheels up. Two 6" long 5/8th" fine thread bolts will be the front axles, those needed some 5/8ths" bronze bushings and one wrap of .010 shim to make them fit the 20mm hubs nice and snug. So far I have the main part of the frame built, the wheels all ready and will be making the front arms that hold the wheels and steering. It is a step by step process. The reason for this build is one - comfort and two- i like building things and 3 - bikes, in particular electric bikes are great.

1/3
Drumulac
3 days ago

So, Rohloff Delite GX HS it was. I reached out to Chris Nolte of Propel and (at my prodding) he was kind enough to offer a modest discount on his floor model, but with the proviso that I had to wait for him to take delivery of another one before he sent the demo to me. Fair enough. Chris was good to his word re: estimated delivery time. Three weeks passed and sure enough, he got the new demo in and made arrangements to have the bike brought to my office on a Sunday afternoon (I live in a small city an hour or so north of NYC). Nice of him to go out of the way and offer to deliver as I had some personal things going on that would have kept me from picking it up within the next week or so.

First impressions: Sweet! Only 22 demo miles on the odometer. I already had a few alterations and additions in mind (guess that is the male version of "accessorizing") , but the essential core was all there - substantial frame, nice components, obviously well thought out, maybe a bit over-engineered - if that is even possible. Being purpose built exclusively as an e-bike, nothing about it has that "aftermarket-afterthought" feel. Solid as can be. No pretensions of being anything but a steady road warrior, capable of taking hard knocks and shrugging off the usual daily insults from the two ton motorized behemoths one encounters on the daily commute. Yeah, kind of a motorcycle feel, but still very much a vehicle that requires human input to motivate. Pretty heavy, but I had spent a lot of time in another life piloting touring bikes loaded down with four panniers and 50-69 additional lbs of gear, so I knew I wouldn't be phased by the weight that the two batteries and Bosch motor entailed. This thing knows it's purpose: built to bull through most stuff, on or off road, without the rider wondering if something is going to crack, snap off, or otherwise make things unpleasant.

As things go, the first week that I had it turned out to be nasty weather-wise. Record low temps, mixed precipitation. I think I clicked maybe 15 miles total over the over the first few days. On the first nice day, the following Sunday, I put 30 + miles on it. Super happy with it. Went on road and on trail. The brakes, suspension, beefy 27.5" tires, and power package all work well together. It's not a "pocket rocket", as we used to refer to certain motorcycles way back when, but the whole package works as advertised. I am liking it a lot. The Rohloff gives it an awesome low range, though I would like to get a bit more headroom at high speed ie. have pedal input over 30 mph. I did get the bike over 40 mph, but that was going down a big hill with inertia being the only motivator. In day to day riding, that really isn't a factor and I guess I could always put a smaller cog on the Rohloff at some point (but probably won't). At high speed, I had total confidence and the suspension ably handled a surprise pothole around 35 mph. Why potholes in NY in the spring should be a surprise, I don't know, but it was a substantial one nonetheless and the bike pretty much took it in stride. Power assist is just about right. At first you find yourself obsessing over the (4) available ranges, but I find myself pretty much either running it on tour or turbo mode. You definitely know that all those micro adjustments for shifting and human pedal effort are going on in the Bosch brain, but for the most part it just does that job well and it works rather seamlessly. After the first 100 or so miles, I was over any second thoughts about not having gotten a "throttle" type e-assist or opting for more power. Despite the added weight of the electric assist components, the pedal effort vs. a non-electric bike is reduced by maybe 50%, Works for me. The Intuvia controller is pretty straight forward. Almost like a typical bike computer but with power functions added. It took some getting used to not having the wealth of detailed data that the Cycle Analyst produces on my EcoSpeed trike setup, but simplicity is a good thing too. I am curious, Matt, how your Nyon is working out for you.

Time to start using the bike on a daily commuting basis. And then a few hiccups occur . . .

Drumulac
4 days ago

How's it going with everything?

Wow, how time flies! I've been looking for a chunk of time to do a comprehensive review of my GX Rohloff and it is just not happening. So, I'll just do it piecemeal as time permits.

I've had the bike for maybe 5-6 weeks. Obviously, a quality piece of machinery, which it should be considering the "investment"! This is my second juiced pedal machine - as mentioned in previous posts, I have owned a Greenspeed GTO trike for 8 yrs now and installed an EcoSpeed boom mount kit on it last year. Comparison to the Delite is kind of an apples and oranges thing - the EcoSpeed motor is 1000 + watts vs. 350 watts for the Bosch, EcoSpeed is a throttle type vs. the Bosch pedelec system, I'm using (2) 48V 20 ah batteries for the EcoSpeed vs. (2) 36V 11 ah batteries for the Bosch, and of course, I'm comparing a three wheel vs. two wheel machine. The trike weighs a bit more with both batteries but has a much smaller wind resistance footprint. No suspension on the trike (could use it!) & the Delite is fully sprung. Similarities in that both machines are fully internally geared and both have a Rohloff as the final rear gearbox. Two different animals, for sure, utilizing different approaches to electric assist. I'll try to minimize my comparisons between the two (this is an R&M forum after all), but forgive me if I do so occasionally.

Reason for buying the Delite: I've been riding bicycles for umm . . . many years now, both recreation and commuting, and self-contained long distance touring. Owned/have owned way too may bikes (just ask my wife). Recently I came to the realization that my old body just ain't what it used to be and since electric assist technology is finally getting ironed out/practical, maybe it was time to give it a shot. Besides, it looked like it would add another fun dimension to the mix. I also had stopped commuting to work due to some knee issues. Pretty good hills along the route + you have to go up 15%-20% grades for a few blocks to get back to my house. Commuting on the newly juiced trike was not an option - not a great choice for in-town travel due to visibility issues. So, I thought I'd maybe mount an EcoSpeed on one of my road bikes. The more I considered it, the better the purpose built e-assist bikes looked; and besides, it is always more fun to get a new ride (wife does not agree). All the armchair online research inevitably led to the R&M bikes and from there it wasn't too much of a jump to the Delite Rohloff. I won't repeat my previous posts re: the Rohloff choice. I simply went with the known quantity (and quality) there, based on 8 yrs. experience with one. The proverbial "no-brainer" in gearing choice for me. I did go through some changes regarding pedelec vs. throttle type. The EcoSpeed on the trike has quite a bit of torque and can jump you off the line quickly with no pedal input at all, a consideration in sketchy traffic stop light situations, etc., but . . . I had demoed a few pedelec bikes and liked that they feel more like a bicycle than a moped.

To be continued - lunch break over!

Ann M.
1 week ago

With a 48 volt battery pack you would have over 20mph, @Mike B, even with a heavy trike. We've done the trick with the transistor before for a customer with a younger child riding a trike; however, climbing ability was lost along with the speed. Many controllers are programmable using a Cycle Analyst wired inline with the controller, etc. That way you can alter the settings as your daughter is comfortable with the trike handling.

This way you don't lose power, rather adjust how quickly or strongly the throttle engages and manage top speed. You might need to purchase another controller, too but a small investment for better mobility for your daughter.

RoadWrinkle
1 week ago

Most likely your 1000w/48v system came with a 25 amp controller, so your peak output would not exceed 1200w. Could be that you find after converting that heavy trike that it cannot go much faster than 20 mph to begin with. Also, this may sound counter intuitive, but a handicapped person would benefit from more, not less, available power at whatever speeds the rider is comfortable with.

MikeDD
1 week ago

My wife has a Liberty Trike with front wheel drive. It does spin out on gravel slopes when starting out. The smaller wheel size and type of tire may have something to do with this.
I have a Rad Mini. For rough gravel roads a some sort of suspension would be nice. I run 18 psi in the tires. I may try a suspension seat post.

My opinion, with less weight on the front wheel it will spin out.

mams99
2 weeks ago

That Tandem trike is gone... (being picked up tomorrow)... Really, we could do a regular tandem, probably with electric assistance, but even the ones I see, tall riders are usually in the front? Women in back? (though it would/could be my husband and I switching back and forth). Egad... stuff is so expensive and it's a double whammy because of special needs.

MikeDD
2 weeks ago

My wife has had her trike for a 3 months. because of bad weather it has not been ridden too much.

This trike is perfect for her since because of her MS she cannot lift her right leg without assistance from her arm. The low seat and low stepover height are perfect for someone with this disability.

I have been amazed at the power the trike has to conquer very steep hills, 8% grade.

We will update this thread as the trike gets more miles.

Ann M.
2 weeks ago

I like the trike idea; we do a lot of custom conversions on standard trikes as well as tadpole types which allow someone with iffy balance to have their own wheels. With some brands of kits, like Golden Motor, or Bafang mid drives, the motor is programmable so you can set the acceleration, top speed and other features to make it appropriate for a 12 year old.

Other idea, check out the Pedego Tandem Ebike; it's been around for a few years; Court first reviewed it in 2014 which will give you some perspective on the bike.

mams99
2 weeks ago

Just curious if you have considered a trike for him? Easy to adapt an e system to via a front hub motor and takes care of the balance/pedal/steering problem. It would however be independent of you and I don't know enough about your sons condition to know if he would be able?

They do make tandems that are recumbent in the front and like a regular bike in the rear that would perhaps work better than the one in the link which seems rather ungainly to me.
It is rather ungainly. Turning corners and getting started is like a nightmare.

JRA
2 weeks ago

Just curious if you have considered a trike for him? Easy to adapt an e system to via a front hub motor and takes care of the balance/pedal/steering problem. It would however be independent of you and I don't know enough about your sons condition to know if he would be able?

They do make tandems that are recumbent in the front and like a regular bike in the rear that would perhaps work better than the one in the link which seems rather ungainly to me.

Hugh
2 weeks ago

I took the fat bike for a quick 30 plus km ride the other night. Pumped the tires to the max pressure of 20psi and headed off to the local bike shop. I had ordered a couple 20" wheels and some 20mm 36 spoke hubs for the trike project and got a call some of the parts had arrived. It was such a nice evening i decided to extend the ride using several river bank trails. Unfortunately there is one part of the return trip to my neighborhood where you are forced to either ride on the sidewalk in a mall area with lots of exits/entrances or mix it up with 3 lanes of impatient car drivers. So, I live in Winnipeg, by law E bikes are capped at 20 mph or 32 kph. I installed a Bafang mid drive on my Fat bike and it came governed to the 32 kph which is fine. The thing is, it is programmable to set up by tire size and I have not even looked at that yet. When using the pedal assist it is very close to being right, mostly I think influenced by my pedaling input. Now the other day I decided to stay on the road. First an idiot in a pickup truck almost squeezed me into the curb so I thought, try the throttle. Next thing the display shows my speed is 48 kph. The display reads under the actual speed and I was almost hitting 55 kph which is just a touch over 30 mph and pretty much keeping up with the cars. There was a van driver beside me keeping pace and he was staring in amazement. I,m ghost pedaling as fast as I can so my legs are pedaling faster than ever before. He's looking at a white haired older man- wearing a helmet of course- pretty much flying down the road on a fat bike. As soon as the next turn approached and a smaller saner feeder road was available I turned off and quit using the throttle. It was exhilarating to say the least but won,t be repeated. And it really sucked up the battery power. It did make me laugh to myself for the rest of the ride home though.

Alan Kearney
3 weeks ago

I'm new to the trike world, having bought the Dumont last November. My shop in Tucson AZ recommends I install an eRad 500w motor w/big battery.

A new friend rides with a Bionx rear wheel motor on his 20" trike, loves it. My shop doesn't recommend it.

Doing some research I find a 3rd company - Bafang (sp??) - at Utah Bikes.

Fair to say I'd dazed and confused by options/choice. Anyone care to offer advice?

I'm 69 yrs old, 200 lbs, Catrike Dumont is full suspension, 26" rear tire, 20" front tires @ almost 45 pounds.

Thanks in advance ;`)

Hugh
3 weeks ago

I own 2 e bikes, one is an EVO road bike equipped with a Bion X HD500 hub motor running 700c tires and no suspension other than a Cane Creek short travel Thudbuster. The 2nd is a KHS 500 fat tire bike equipped with a Bafang 1000 watt mid drive motor running 26 by 4" tires and no suspension other than a Crane Creek long travel Thudbuster. Yesterday I asked a friend to join me for a ride through our city where we swapped bikes halfway through the ride for a comparison between the 2. Not too long of a ride, about 35 km,s and a mix of paved and unpaved. First the road bike. The Bion X system is very well integrated, other than providing a boost you hardly notice it, you step on the pedals, you go. Want to go faster, just bump up the power level. The short travel Thudbuster works, it takes the sharp jolts out but with the skinny tires running 90 psi you do feel every bit of the riding surface. It is quite silent you don't hear the tires or the motor. Now the fat bike. Running the max tire pressure of 20 psi it provided a much smoother ride. Between the tires and the long travel Thudbuster you barely notice the road surface. Road noise from the tires was very noticeable, especially on pavement, you don't need a bell to alert walkers of your approach. Power delivery is much cruder than the BionX system. I have equipped it with brake sensors and a gear sensor which generally give nice smooth shifts. But between level one and two power there is a noticeable power increase and it's not as smooth as the Bion X but it feels and is more powerful. As for comfort factor the fat bike wins hands down, seat of the pants impression was well almost no impression on the fat bike where the road bike not so much. And the end of the half where I was on the road bike I was glad to step off. Power level is where the BionX does better, giving longer range but that's to be expected with the 700C tires. But the fat bike did well, it started at 52 volts and was down to about 47 at the end after 35 km,s. I honestly have no idea of it's real range although somewhere between 50 to 80 km's is expected depending as always on the level of assist and terrain. My conclusion is I like the fat bike more. Aside from all the other factors mentioned above, it males me smile when i get on it. Finally in this somewhat longwinded tale I have decided to take the motor and controls and the disc brakes off the EVO road bike and use them on a tadpole trike recumbent that I am in the process of building. More on that later.

Ann M.
4 weeks ago

No ebike is perfect, this is a thread dedicated to sharing known issues or problems with electric trikes from Liberty Trikes as well as any help and solutions you know of. Sometimes that means a DIY fix and other times it can mean a recall, software update or part replacement by a dealer.

Please be respectful and constructive with feedback, this is not a space for hate speech. In many cases, representatives from the company will see feedback and use it to improve their product. In the end, the goal is to enjoy riding and help each other go further and be safer.

Thomas Jaszewski
1 month ago

Tom is good by me! Thanks for asking!
Sorry to rend about tumbles. I'm loosing me balance at a younger age, and have been looking for solutions. One cargo bike had an outrigger, but I've not found any solutions other than trikes. A delta, upright trike, would work ok, bust just OK. The damn things are big and heavy. A Brompton stlye with an outrigger seems to be the best idea I can sort. One more fall and its a delta.

Some of the younger builder crowd are grandparebt friendly. Ive had a few who've been very helpful.

Good luck! Anything i can do from across the pond...just poke me....

All the best,

Tom

Alphbetadog
1 month ago

That's cool, then I'll just stick with the fact that it's illegal (US) and dangerous (too fast) on the bike paths I ride.
Just because you can doens't mean you should.
I ride motorcycles much much faster than my ebikes and feel safe doing it.
I had a 28mph Stromer and still have a 28 mph Falco trike. Great fun but very very fast for a bicycle with bicycle tires and potholes and such.
28mph is too fast for shared use trails and not fast enough (nor is a bikes brakes/tires safe enough) to run with cars. (I hate riding roads now after years of trail access)
I totally agree with this. Also, regarding emtbing, if you can go over 20mph on the trails then the trails your riding are not tight, twisty, technical and challenging enough. Find better trails.

MLB
1 month ago

That's cool, then I'll just stick with the fact that it's illegal (US) and dangerous (too fast) on the bike paths I ride.
Just because you can doens't mean you should.
I ride motorcycles much much faster than my ebikes and feel safe doing it.
I had a 28mph Stromer and still have a 28 mph Falco trike. Great fun but very very fast for a bicycle with bicycle tires and potholes and such.
28mph is too fast for shared use trails and not fast enough (nor is a bikes brakes/tires safe enough) to run with cars. (I hate riding roads now after years of trail access)

Yes no speedometer read, but your wrong about motor parameters being exceeded as explained in my post.

Sally
1 month ago

Hi all. :)

I'm addicted.

I got into having an electric assist bike last fall when I purchased a pedicab just for my own personal enjoyment.

I want to share what led up to me buying the Latch:

We had a disaster last month: The battery (Rechargeable Power Energy aka: RPE) ignited and caused a serious garage fire. The contents of my garage and the bike were a total loss. It could have been worse - the garage is detached from the house (so no significant fumes got in the house) and there was no loss of life, etc. Had the fire started at a different time, it could have easily taken down the neighbor's house if the garage had blown, etc.

In the end, there is probably about $40,000-$50,000 worth of loss that happened - but think of how it could have been a million dollar house and loss of life, etc. This was *petty* in perspective to a company that supposedly does big business. But RPE could *not* be worse to deal with. Just horrible beyond belief.

This made me soooo sad!!! I truly enjoyed having the "trike"...

RPE wouldn't even discuss the situation and they avoid this issue (just rude and they hang up the phone!) by saying I was not their customer! Horrible. (and I have a packing slip from them showing they sent the battery to me!) Anyway... just had to share that.

Here was happier times...

I'm still getting another cab like this - we're picking it up next week. But to satiate my need for a little sunshine and outdoors time, I got the Latch.

Gotta say that coming off of my trike on on to a 2-wheeler was a bit of a transition!

I do not commute anywhere (I work from home) .. but I like having a bike to do little runs to the grocery store or to go to the coffee shop, etc. I try to take the bike whenever the weather is decent (dry and above 30 degrees.)

I decked out my Latch with the pannier bags. I also have a set of bungees that hold that market basket on the back. My computer bag can fit inside that basket. I also have a speaker bungee'd under the seat (pedicabber trait - tunes go hand in hand with biking) :)

I'll say that I'm spoiled by having the assist for being able to scoot across intersections, etc. The cab (it had a mid drive motor) was fun because when you pull up to somewhere and have to stop, you just *stop*, *sit*, and hang out. When it's time to get movin', you can just throw some weight into the crank and get the bike moving easier than starting on a 2 wheeler. I do love that... so going to a 2 wheeler is .. .well... getting back into having a bike instead of the trike. :) I am thinking that when the new pedicab gets here, this Latch might not get used as much. The cabs are just so fun.

But.. I bought the Latch to have some versatility. I can't easily take my cab anywhere I go without dealing with a trailer, etc... but the Latch can come with me on any trips by just putting it in the back of the SUV or my RV.

The power of the assist on the Latch really did surprise me. I am not out for speed... I'm out to enjoy the ride and get some exercise. I leave the bike on "3" (highest gear) and I usually leave the assist on 1 or 2 (it goes to 5).

So far, the longest ride/day I've had it out was about 15 miles. The display said I still had well over 50% of juice left. Not bad.

I do like the display. It indicates how much power you are pulling from the assist. So, I try to keep that down to one bar while cruisin'. :)

I've read some reviews about the Latch being heavy, etc. I personally think that's a good thing. I appreciate the way this is built.

I do like having the doggie basket on the front of my bike.. but dealing with that weight just isn't suitable for this little bike - at least for me. I don't think I'd feel safe with any weight moving around up there.

One "con"... I'm not impressed with the headlight. I feel I have avoided using the Latch at night because it doesn't feel as safe as my well-lit pedicab. I truly enjoy riding at night.. so I might try to see what other options I could use to get a better headlight on this thing.

Overall, I'm loving this bike. I know I have a weird situation... I just wanted something that would be versatile to own alongside having the pedicab around for most uses. I'm pleased with my decision. This is a great little thing to own. :)

I also want to give a plug to Blue Monkey Bikes in Salt Lake City. They were exceptionally wonderful to deal with! Being 59, a woman, and overweight... it's easy to get snubbed when you go into a bike shop. ( I went into one bike shop last year - they didn't have the bike I was thinking of - and when I said I was interested in something "priced under about 4", the dude thought I meant $400 - omg - even though the other bike I came in to see was in the $3k range. Just sayin'... :) )

The guys at Blue Monkey were awesome and didn't throw any stupid attitude. It was a great transaction.

goldendorp
2 months ago

I am considering buying a five person (inline) custom made trike with the hopes that my family will actually ride it during parades. The bike unloaded will weigh 250 pounds. It has five cranks on it, but I have to be honest with myself that I will probably be the only one putting in enough effort to get it moving. We will be putting 400 pounds of people on it, and the kids will only get heavier.

Can I use a front wheel hub motor kit in order to get this thing to a whopping 3 miles an hour?

Thoughts?

Tom899
2 months ago

Hi Court, I enjoy all your reviews, you do a great job and service to the ebike community. My wife and I each have e-assisted recumbent trikes. I have an ICE Sprint F-SX tadpole trike with a Falco hub and my wife has a Sun EZ-3AX Delta trike with a Bafang BBS02 mid drive. We enjoy them immensely.
I started watching your reviews and reading this forum and purchased a Rad Mini. Because of rainy weather I only have about 10 miles on it but it's a blast!
Thanks again,
Tom

Ognyan Bozhilov
2 months ago

Hi, AI

The trike never goes more than 25-26 km/h. This is true also in the video - if it seems faster, it might be due to the Field of View of the camera. The idea is to be able to ride it on exactly the same infrastructure as bicycles and pedelecs.

Lydia Marie Spicer
3 weeks ago

I really like this bike ,been searching for the perfect i many speed does it go how many gears ,plus what the price where i can find one to buy

Laura Powers
4 weeks ago

Great replacement for golf carts in retirement home areas.

Laura Powers
4 weeks ago

Is there a lid lock for the bucket?

Laura Powers
4 weeks ago

Great city substitute for scooters. Great for inner city commuting.

boop lover
1 month ago

Speaker seems gay.

Chris Gunn
2 months ago

I'd like to see a review on one of these. This trike has a 900 watt front hub motor and has a top speed of 25 mph. Also has 3 gears for the back wheels, mainly to use to help out in rough terrain as they are low gears. Pretty sweet though, check out the link. They also have a main website as well.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/hunting-ice-fishing-camping-bicycle-mountain-trike-electric-fat-tire-USA-archery-/112337122931?hash=item1a27d07673:g:~fQAAOSwSlBYytLj

xbluebells
2 months ago

I love this but would want my trike to go at least 19 miles per hour. My husband and I race our electric trikes on the bike trail and while 11 miles an hour is OK I think that is too sleepy of a speed. I would love if you could govern the max speed up and down. We have been riding trikes for years now and if it wasn't for the slowness this would be a contender for our next trike!!! Nice job. Very nice looking!

Gavin Keaty
2 months ago

Would it be possible to upgrade the motor and software oneself to make it a bit faster? Thanks.

xbluebells
2 months ago

Yes! Let's add a speed option on this and I will be a buyer!

saness
2 months ago

Hey man could you do a review on electric ride review?

Bob A
2 months ago

That is an awesome trike. Very utilitarian vehicle for groceries!

ShiSha
2 months ago

Could you do a review of the momo design 20 inch folding ebike?

Seb K
2 months ago

Riding down the street the wrong way and into the building . Court you savage :) !!!

Carl McDonald
2 months ago

Nice tric

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

I agree :D

Peter Kenyon
2 months ago

This is a very well thought out trike. It places you at the height of traffic and upright riding position for good visibility. Designed for shopping and doing away with the car in city living and suburban living. As to a comment about it being too slow. That is not it's purpose. As to being geriatric, it's a bike designed for picking up your shopping not for riding with your mates in lycra. Too nerdy? I think car owners are nerdy with their attitude, but each to their own. Great video, great trike.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Hey Peter! I agree, the trike performed well and serves a set purpose very well. It looks cool, has a unique basket, I love the lights and appreciate that Pedego listened to their customers and tried to deliver a product that's more about an experience than a list of numbers and specs (regarding the lower speed)

Alan metclaff
2 months ago

No Chem Trails!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

You just couldn't see them because I was really careful not to film the back end of the trike :P

ilikewasabe
2 months ago

pretty much geared for the geriatric e-bike market

ilikewasabe
2 months ago

sorry i made an error in writing my reply.. i meant to say "im not saying that its a bad thing"

Seb K
2 months ago

Why is it a bad thing ?!!! It can be used both for convenience and for the elderly .

ilikewasabe
2 months ago

im not saying that its a bad thing though, its a purpose built trike with safety in mind

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

I'm cool with that :D

George Herman
2 months ago

Pretty little Trike but for me too Nerdy and Granny looking. Also too slow.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

My Grandma was a very frail woman, afraid to fly and rarely traveled or went out for anything beyond gardening... I feel like this trike might actually overwhelm her! May seem slow to us but I appreciate that there are people who want slow and steady, stable etc. :)