Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

Rad Power Bikes Radcity Electric Bike Review
Rad Power Bikes Radcity
Rad Power Bikes Radcity 750 Watt Gearless Hub Shengyi
Rad Power Bikes Radcity 48 Volt 11 6 Amp Hour Battery
Rad Power Bikes Radcity Backlit Lcd Display Low Rise Bars
Rad Power Bikes Radcity Tektro Levers With Inhibitors Bell Ergonomic Grips
Rad Power Bikes Radcity 7 Speed Shimano Acera
Rad Power Bikes Radcity 180 Mm Tektro Mechanical Disc Brakes
Rad Power Bikes Radcity Adjustable Kickstand
Rad Power Bikes Radcity Integrated Alloy Rack 60 Lb Max
Rad Power Bikes Radcity Independent Controller Box 22 Amps
Rad Power Bikes Radcity Sr Suntour Suspension Fork Lockout Rebound Led Light
Rad Power Bikes Radcity Electric Bike Review
Rad Power Bikes Radcity
Rad Power Bikes Radcity 750 Watt Gearless Hub Shengyi
Rad Power Bikes Radcity 48 Volt 11 6 Amp Hour Battery
Rad Power Bikes Radcity Backlit Lcd Display Low Rise Bars
Rad Power Bikes Radcity Tektro Levers With Inhibitors Bell Ergonomic Grips
Rad Power Bikes Radcity 7 Speed Shimano Acera
Rad Power Bikes Radcity 180 Mm Tektro Mechanical Disc Brakes
Rad Power Bikes Radcity Adjustable Kickstand
Rad Power Bikes Radcity Integrated Alloy Rack 60 Lb Max
Rad Power Bikes Radcity Independent Controller Box 22 Amps
Rad Power Bikes Radcity Sr Suntour Suspension Fork Lockout Rebound Led Light

Summary

  • A value priced but featured packed urban commuter style electric bike with everything from fenders, to LED lights, rear carry rack and regenerative braking
  • Solid driving and braking performance with a 750 watt gearless hub motor and 180 mm mechanical disc brakes... you get five levels of assist plus twist throttle that overrides with full power
  • Comfortable 2.3" all-terrain tires, basic suspension fork with lockout, ergonomic grips and an adjustable angle stem, the bike comes in two frame sizes for improved fit!
  • Gearless motors are durable and quiet but less zippy (especially from start) and tend to weigh more, the RadCity weighs ~60 lbs which is on the heavier side, rear light is not wired in

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Rad Power Bikes

Model:

RadCity

Price:

$1,499 ($175 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Upright, Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive (Original Owner)

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

20162017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

60.5 lbs (27.44 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

9 lbs (4.08 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)20 in (50.8 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

16" Frame: 16" Seat Tube, 30" Reach, 31.5" Stand Over Height, 70" Length, 20" Frame: 20" Seat Tube, 33.25" Reach, 32.5" Stand Over Height, 70" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step, Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Gun Metal Gray

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCT Suspension with 100 mm Travel, Lockout, Rebound Adjust, 11 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

10 mm Axle with Bolts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Acera, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shiman SIS Index Shifter on Right

Cranks:

48T Chainring with Aluminum Bash Guard, Prowheel Crankset

Pedals:

Wellgo M111 Forged Aluminum Platform

Headset:

VP

Stem:

Zoom Adjustable Angle

Handlebar:

Zoom Low-Rise

Brake Details:

Tektro Aries Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors, Rubberized Edge and Integrated Bell

Grips:

Velo Comfort, Ergonomic

Saddle:

Velo Comfort with Integrated Handle

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

330 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled Alloy, 30 Hole

Spokes:

12 Gauge, Stainless Steel with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda K-Rad, 26" x 2.3"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Folding, Wire Bead, 60 TPI, 50 to 60 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Plastic Fenders with Mud Flaps, 200 Lumen Integrated LED Headlight (Micro by Spanninga), Stand Alone LED Tail Light, Integrated Rack with Pannier Supports (60 lb Capacity), Side Mounted Adjustable Kickstand Spanninga Micro Integrated LED Headlight, Blaze-Lite RL1800 Independent LED Back Light, Neoprene Slap Guard, Side Mounted Adjustable Kickstand, Two USB Charging Ports for Portable Electronics (On Battery and Display)

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, KMC Z7 Rustbuster Chain, 275 lb Max Capacity, Hold Up and Down on Button Pad for Settings

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Shengyi

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Aluminum

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

King Meter SW-LCD, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Assist Level (0-5) Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer, Watts, Lights Indicator

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (6 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Rad Power Bikes has become well known and appreciated over the past couple of years (since early 2015) when they first launched a fat tire bike followed by a cargo bike and then a miniature folding fat ebike. Having tested each of them, even in remote inhospitable environments, I’ve gotten to know the technology, the team and better understand the company as a whole. I’ve seen the bikes undergo incremental improvements, tested second generation models, and I’ve seen a bunch of testimonial videos online from actual customers who have ridden hundreds of miles. Recently I got to see and test out their latest model, the RadCity!

This bike is designed for comfort, utility and durability. Like the RadWagon, it uses a gearless direct drive motor that isn’t as immediately zippy or torquey feeling as the geared hub motors used on the fat tire bikes but runs smoother, quieter and offers regenerative braking. Now, regen braking is a mixed bag… it reduces wear on brake pads and helps to generate a touch of energy, perhaps offsetting the added weight of the motor design, but it’s not the sort of technology that you can use to charge the bike just by pedaling. At least, without exhausting yourself and spending significantly more energy pedaling than is recaptured by the system (it’s only about 10% efficient at recapture). Still, this motor performed well and was smoother than the original Shengyi hub I saw on the original RadWagon. There is some cogging drag as you coast because the motor does not freewheel and it plus the larger battery, integrated rear rack and basic suspension fork bump the weight of the bike up to ~60 lbs.

Rad Power Bikes is based in Seattle where it rains a lot and I asked the team how their RadCity has held up in the wet environment. I was told that they often leave the bikes outside, ride frequently in the rain and have experienced very few issues. Of course, if you can store your ebike out of the rain (especially heavy rain) that’s probably ideal. The RadCity comes with full length fenders that have mud flaps at the end and I did test them through a couple of puddles. The only downside of these and most fenders is that if you make a very sharp turn and continue pedaling the toe of your shoe may collide with the fender. The display panel, battery pack and controller box are sealed, like the hub motor, and were familiar to me. The display itself is backlit and when activated, switches on the headlight (I believe you hold the up arrow for a few seconds on the control pad). There’s a rear light as well but this one is independent, requiring separate batteries and separate activation. Turning the bike on is actually a two step process where you press a silver button on the battery and then hold the mode button on the independent button pad near the left grip. The battery is removable and can be charged on or off the frame but the display panel is not, you can however swivel it forward and back.

One thing I really love about Rad Power Bikes is that their frames are custom and they go the extra mile or two adding features and accessories. The RadCity has two USB charging ports with one at the base of the display panel where it’s easy to access when riding and another on the right side of the battery pack so you can use it like a portable energy bank. The other delighter for me was the bottle cage bosses added to the base of the downtube. Sure, it’s a bit of a reach to get a bottle or lock way down there but at least it’s an option! There are two sets of bosses near the head tube as well and those are meant for an add-on rack that Rad Power Bikes is still working on. In the mean time, I suppose you could adapt them to be used with bottle cages or use a cup holder clamp on the handlebars. The cockpit of the bike is a bit crowded because they went with a more basic SIS thumb shifter design vs. triggers but they keep the price down and actually work well with gloved hands. The brake levers are a big upgrade with rubberized edges and an integrated bell as well as the motor inhibitors that activate regen and kill the motor for safety. Rounding things out are a pair of ergonomic rubber grips that don’t lock but work fine for city riding. The whole handle bar is setup as a low-rise for improved comfort in terms of body position and is supported by an adjustable stem that can make the difference between a taller or shorter rider enjoying the fit. And also! This is the first Rad Power Bikes model to come in two frame styles and sizes. You’ve got the standard high-step diamond frame measuring ~20″ and the slightly lower step diamond measuring 16″ that my girlfriend was able to comfortably stand over (she’s ~5’2″). Both cost ~$1,500 and offer all of the same accessories, motor, battery etc.

So what about the ride itself? Well, I found it to be smooth, quiet and powerful enough to ascend moderate hills (though I only weigh ~135 lbs). You can pedal along with one of seven gears and five levels of assist and override full-power twist throttle! Not only that, you can activate or de-activate the throttle independently so you don’t accidentally bump it when loading or unloading. It’s the best combination of drive modes I can think of and the way I would design a bike of my own to be honest. So many times, assist limits the throttle power or the throttle is always active or you don’t get throttle-only mode… the RadCity offers all of this. Note that the six magnet assist sensor isn’t the worlds fastest but surprised and impressed me with its performance because the software is dialed in. Back to some of the details, I love the derailleur guard and upgraded Wellgo pedals, the standard-gauge rack rails for adding panniers and Yepp! child seat compatibility. It’s a well thought-out design that reflects all of the learning Rad Power Bikes has experienced over the past two years (and all of their custom work since 2007). I love that the rear axle is upgraded in terms of thickness, has a torque arm and has a new tucked-cable design to reduce bends and snagging. I love that they still ship nationally but also have a storefront in Seattle where you can go and see the bikes or take a test ride. This bike is exactly what I’d expect from the company plus a couple of nice surprises and I feel that it would be a great choice for individuals planning to ride around urban environments. Yes, it’s a little heavy and has a less refined look than some of the more expensive models but the price is right and the quality is there where it counts most… specifically with the Panasonic battery cells and that one year comprehensive warranty. Big thanks to Rad Power Bikes for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • They managed to include a pair of bottle cage bosses! albeit along the bottom of the downtube which can be a bit tricky to reach… could work well for a folding lock or mini-pump if you aren’t using a trunk bag, the other bosses near the head tube are meant for an add-on rack but could still be adapted for a bottle cage or other accessories with some creative tinkering and a metal strip
  • Because Rad Power Bikes opted to use a gearless direct drive motor hear you get the benefit of regenerative braking, there is a bit of cogging drag and the motor weighs slightly more but these tend to be very durable and quiet compared to geared designs
  • The rear axle is thicker than normal for improved strength and handling (nice given the heavier motor design), there’s also a torque arm to distribute force and I love how the power cable is tucked down and kept out of the way vs. protruding directly from the end of the axle
  • Full length plastic fenders with mud flaps keep you dry and clean, I tested them through puddles in Seattle and was impressed, I also like that they blend in with the frame color (but be careful when turning or you can clip your toes on the fender since it sticks out a bit from the tire)
  • Good color choice, the dark grey is professional, hides dirt, blends in well with the black accessories, battery, motor and cables and works for guys or girls… I also like that they integrated most of the cables through the downtube to reduce snags
  • The battery capacity is quite large and they’ve used high quality Panasonic cells which are known to be reliable, safe and long lasting
  • Comfortable ride quality thanks to the larger tires, suspension fork, adjustable angle stem and ergonomic grips, they also used a low-rise bar to further dial in fit and comfort (forward for taller riders or up and back for shorter riders)
  • Two USB ports let you charge portable electronics while riding or at home using the battery pack as a power bank, I like that the first port (on the base of the display) stays out of the way when pedaling
  • Sturdy kickstand that’s mounted far back so it stays out of the way, I believe it also offers adjustable length so you can dial it in
  • The saddle felt a little firm to me but I like the integrated handle at the rear (for lifting and maneuvering the bike), the seat post is a standard sized 27.2 mm and could be swapped for a suspension post to improve comfort but usually ads at least a few inches of vertical height so keep that in mind depending on how tall you are
  • Seven speeds is enough for getting around town, I like that they went with a higher grade derailleur here (Acera vs. Altus or Tourney) that should last longer and keep the chain tighter, there’s also an extra-large first gear for climbing and starting
  • The parts are fairly modular meaning that replacing the battery pack, display or controller isn’t as expensive or difficult as on the super fancy ebikes and Rad Power Bikes has been around since ~2007 (re-branding in 2015), they offer a one year comprehensive warranty and seem to have an active support team

Cons:

  • The RadCity is heavier than some competing models because it has an oversized built-on rack, a spring and oil based suspension vs. air and the motor is gearless vs. geared, if you remove the battery pack (which weighs ~7 lbs) it’s easier to lift but the bike is still on the heavier side
  • I like that the front wheel offers quick release but the rear does not… that means changing flats and doing maintenance requires more time and tools
  • The controller box is not integrated with the battery pack or motor as with some other models and the battery is bolted onto the frame vs. being semi or fully inset so the aesthetic is a bit less polished but that’s part of what keeps the price down I suppose, may also improve maintenance ease
  • This isn’t a huge con but just be careful with the adjustable angle stem, make sure it’s tight and don’t go off large curbs without checking it occasionally or it could get loose
  • I love that the bike has LED lights for safety and appreciate that the front one is integrated (running off the main battery pack) but wish the rear was too, instead you have to open it occasionally to swap out the AA batteries and it may be easier to forget and leave on vs. the front one that shuts off when the bike is powered down
  • There’s a large Aluminum alloy bash guard on the chainring providing some protection and stability but it might be worth adding a second guard on the inside to create a proper guide given that this bike can be ridden with throttle only and the chain can bounce off a bit more easily at high speed with this sort of setup (at least in my experience, I did not lose the chain while testing the RadCity)
  • I want to complain that the cadence sensor only uses six magnets vs. 12 and that it’s not as responsive as it could be but my actual ride experience was good, I feel like they have optimized the response well enough and in the lower gears especially it works fine

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Rad Power Bikes Reviews

Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A funky miniaturized folding fat tire bike with two cargo racks! Truly capable of sand and snow riding, LED lights guide and keep you safe, the bike offers assist and throttle drive modes. Basic seven speed drivetrain from Shimano, plastic chain guide keeps things on track, metal derailleur…...

Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Strikes an excellent balance delivering high power with mid-level components for a reasonable price, you get throttle and pedal assist with an on/off on the throttle! solid one year warranty for the original owner, flat rate $175 shipping in the US. Even though the battery and controller box are bolted on vs. integrated into the frame,…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A folding fat tire electric bike with front and rear cargo racks and double-tube frame for improved strength (good option for larger riders). Powerful 750 watt internally geared fat-bike specific motor paired with a large 48 volt 11.6…...

Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Affordable, feature rich cargo style electric bike with a stiffer and lighter frame because it's not quite as long as some others. Offers five levels of pedal assist, throttle mode and throttle override as well as regenerative…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An Indiegogo funded electric fatbike with a powerful 500 watt motor, ample 48 volt battery and seven speed drivetrain. Comfortable saddle, ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout, two color choices but only one…...


Jordan Chandler
8 months ago

I find my chain comes off a lot on the Rad Rover…I’m not sure why their final production version went with no inner chair guard. I’ve also upgraded the front sprocket to a larger one so the existing guard doesn’t help.I’m going to sandwich the sprocket between two guards.

Otherwise I love the Rover and would love to ride this one.

Court Rye
8 months ago

Hey Jordan! Sounds like a good solution, I’ve dropped the chain on ebikes much more frequently than on traditional pedal powered bikes because I’ll be using the throttle and possibly in a high rear gear and that leaves the chain really slack and liable to bounce around (and off) more. Maybe with the RadCity mostly be used on roads that won’t happen as much? Hope you get the chance to try it someday, the bike is great, especially for the price :)

JP
8 months ago

Nice review of an exciting product. Which frame size did you ride? I’m 5′-9.5″ and their website recommends the 16″ frame for 5′-10″ and shorter. Did that match your experience?

Court Rye
8 months ago

Hey JP, I actually rode the 20″ large model and had a great time. The stand-over heights are very similar, just like ~1″ difference, and the weight is similar so the biggest thing seems to be reach. If you get the smaller frame it might position you upright vs. a bit forward… but if you want that aerodynamic aggressive ride position then the 20″ should work :D

George J
8 months ago

Great bike. I’ll definitely purchase one when you come out with the step thru version.

Court Rye
8 months ago

Good thoughts George… The stand over heights aren’t that much different on the two models they launched and I think it’s just part of their formula, using the same battery pack that attaches to the downtube vs. going with an integrated design, it keeps their products affordable and works well enough BUT yeah, a true step-thru would be nice, especially given the permanent rack :/

Ken Cooper
4 months ago

Caution re. stand-over height: It’s not about how tall you are, it’s about leg length (inseam). I’m over 6’2″ but the RadCity I bought is too tall (ouch). The pants I buy have an inseam length of 31″. I’d say if your inseam is less than 33″ you ought to opt for a shorter bike than the 20″ RadCity.

John Goodman
8 months ago

I have the power wagon for me and my little daughter and the EM 29er snow pro for myself. The wife and big daughter like to drive the power wagon around more than the 29er. I could buy two radcity bikes and they like how the rad bikes function more than the more expensive bike! Christmass will be a slam dunk this year!!

Court Rye
8 months ago

Ha! That’s wonderful, I have to admit… using the throttle, having assist, being able to choose from a few different styles of bikes but deal with one company and get the support at the prices they set is pretty great. I’m glad you’re all having a great time with ebikes and wish you a Merry Christmas John :D

Juan A Noval
8 months ago

Hello Court, I have a few quick question when comparing the RadCity vs. the Surface 604 Colt. The Colt is priced at $400 more than the RadCity but I wonder if the Colt, in your opinion is worth the extra money? When you look at both bikes, aesthetics and my personal views on design aside i.e. better integration of battery on Colt, more of a higher end look, etc. they seem to be pretty close. Does the Colt have better components to help justify the higher price? The RadCity comes very well equipped and as you state in your video review, the attention to detail is very good. I guess I’m trying to justify the extra cost of the Colt in my mind. I’d like to say that I like both bikes a lot, and would have no problem purchasing either one as they both fit the type of riding that I do. Thx again for the great videos. JN

Court Rye
8 months ago

Hey Juan! Great question here… yeah both bikes are well done. Surface 604 has two models, the Colt being their mid-step which definitely has a lower stand-over height than the RadCity (by about four inches according to my measurements). It’s also three pounds lighter because it uses a more compact geared hub motor vs. gearless and has a slightly smaller battery pack by about 60 watt hours. I was impressed with both bikes and remember the RadCity being super quiet. The regeneration capability of the RadCity is also cool but in my opinion only sort of balances out the power lost through cogging and added weight (while slowing break wear). Maybe it comes down to style or the price difference but I think both are solid options. I must say, the reflective chain guard, fully integrated light set and hydraulic disc brakes on the Colt are features that I value.

George J
3 months ago

I checked out the surface 604, great looking bikes and decent specs. But, I emailed the company three times to inquire about the motor–DD or geared? They never replied. Poor customer service in my eyes.

John Williams
2 months ago

I emailed them with some questions today and got a reply back in a couple of hours.

Michael Solana
6 months ago

Thanks Court! Once again, your review has informed me on a purchase. Seems like there is limited bloggining/vlogging on ebikes. Awesome job on covering all the specs and pros/cons. Best!

Court Rye
6 months ago

Happy to help Michael, it’s nice to know that my work makes a difference and I always get excited to hear when people decide on one bike vs. another, there are so many cool types available now and the RadCity is definitely a leader. Have fun out there!

Chuck Avery
4 months ago

Looks like a great bike, but for me, one change would seal the deal. I would love to see a 8-speed IGH instead of the derailleur. Any chance of that being a option in the future?

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Chuck! Maybe someone from the Rad Power Bikes team will chime in. I’m not sure if we’ll see internally geared hubs for a while given the extra weight and price increase. It seems like they are striving for that $1,500 mark… but maybe this is something you or a local shop could try to install yourself :)

Ken Cooper
4 months ago

I finally received my Radcity ebike. It’s beautiful .. but .. It’s too tall for me. I’m over 6’2″ and never imagined I’d run into a bike that’s too tall for me. But when I straddle the bar, I have to stand on my tippy toes in order to keep from damaging myself (I have a 31″ inseam). As long as I’m riding the bike it’s great, but whenever I have to stop I have to come down on my tiptoes. For me, it’s dangerous. Now I have no idea what the heck to do. I’ve had it for about 20 days and have ridden it .. not much .. but I’ve ridden it. Thus It appears I don’t qualify for a return. I live in an area where ebikes are a rarity so selling it would, at best, be difficult. I suppose I could find a welder who could maybe move that bar down for me – or maybe some low profile tires is the answer. Suggestions anyone?

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hey Ken THANK YOU so much for sharing your height, inseam and the situation with your RadCity. Did you get the 16″ or 20″ frame size? I do my best to share specs like standover height and yeah… it’s right at 31.5″ for the smaller of the two models. Bummer man, you can post it as a used bike on the forums here in the Rad Power Bikes section or reach out to the company for a possible exchange. I would not recommend welding it or doing anything that could impact the structural integrity. Best to sell at a deeper loss locally and maybe buy a different model with a discount from Rad? I hope these ideas help…

George J
4 months ago

I’m seriously thinking of purchasing the Radcity but not sure which size. I’m 5’10”. 16 inch or 20 inch? Any suggestions? Thanks.

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi George! I’d probably go with the smaller frame size if you’re considering the stand over height. This other person, Ken Cooper, has been talking about how his inseam is ~31″ and he’s a bit nervous riding the bike due to how high the top tube is. I hope this helps you… There are lots of other great ebikes out there now at a good price, explore your options and visit a shop for test rides too if you can!

Ken Cooper
4 months ago

Here’s what I wish I had seen posted before I bought my 20″ RadCity .. This bike is for people who have long legs (at least a 32 1/2 inch inseam).

Court Rye
4 months ago

Thanks for the feedback Ken, sorry the frame is a little large for you. I did post the stand over height in the specs section of this review (something I try to measure manually for every ebike I review). I realize it’s easy to miss and maybe a term that not all people are familiar with. Appreciate your update here and hope you find a solution :/

George J
3 months ago

Ken. Radcity bikes are built for easy repair, ie electrical system can easily be removed and adapted to a non electric bike. Might make sense to find a frame that fits and move the motor, battery, controller etc to a frame that fits your build.

Andrew Mullen
2 months ago

Where are you located and how much do you want for it?

MarkP
3 months ago

Court, In talking with the Rad Power Bikes owners during the RADCIty review. Was there any discussion on he problem with bikes be damaged in shipment? Has RPB upgraded the container the RADCity is shipped in? Last summer I received two RadRovers and both were damaged. It seems like this would be a simple fix, just change the quality of the box and pack the bikes better. Something like the Sondors bikes are shipped in. I received two Sondors and neither had any damage at all. There is no comparison between RPB and Sondors shipping boxes. The RPB and Sondors shipments were both cross country to me.

I am considering on purchasing a RADCity, but do not want e hassle of having to repair a new bike due to shipment damage. Last summer when I was dealing with returning the first Rover (at my expense) and repairing the second replacement Rover with incorrect parts from RPB (a part from the 2015 Rover not the 2016 Rover which I had ordered) I am concerned I will go through the same hassle again with a RADCity.

When I questioned RPB on the quality of the shipping container they told me “we were working on it”. That was a year ago. Has the shipping damage problem been addressed? Has the quality of the shipping container improved?

Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Mark! This isn’t an issue I have heard much about but I appreciate you bringing it to the forefront here. Sorry to hear about the money and time involved with damaged ebikes from Rad Power Bikes in the past… that’s no fun. What I can say is that the team at RPB seem to be stepping up their game in terms of products, opening an in-person shop and providing quick communication with customers. If you go for the RadCity and have a good or bad experience I welcome you to post about it here and in the forums. I HOPE they have improved things but I can’t do much beyond offer my own sympathy for the issues you’ve had :/

Anonymous
3 months ago

I am considering a Radcity v Addmotor Hithot H2. Almost identical price so which do you recommend? Michael

Court Rye
3 months ago

Howdy Michael, I haven’t tried the latest Addmotor Hithot H2 so it’s difficult to say. I feel that Rad Power Bikes does a good job with their support, they even have a shop now in Seattle. If I had to choose one I’d probably get the RadCity as long as the frame fits you. It’s a little taller and a couple of people recently commented that they didn’t feel super comfortable standing over it. Hope this helps! I put measurements in the stats above ;)

Rotom
3 months ago

The radcity (or possibly the wagon, but most likely the city) is highest on my list of potential bikes right now. I’m a bigger guy (250lbs) so I don’t want to go too low in price and have an underpowered bike, but I am also very limited in my budget. What other bikes would you recommend that I should look into? 1500-1600 is about as high as I’m willing to go, and would like to go less if I find something that fits my needs. Around 6 mile trips on flat land each way (12mi total). I want both throttle and pedal assist. The big negative for the radpower bikes for me is the twist throttle instead of a trigger, but this is by no means a deal breaker. Fenders are required so I dont get wet driving after it rains, but I don’t mind aftermarket ones if available.

Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Rotom, how tall are you? I’ve read a few comments complaining that the RadCity is too high to stand over comfortably. It does come in multiple frame sizes which could help but this is worth considering in my opinion. I enjoy step-thru models more and more as I add racks and bags at the back and sometimes have to hop off suddenly. As a taller guy (or at least someone with longer legs) I didn’t have a problem here but I’m also nimble and lightweight at ~135 lbs. Check the Corratec LIFEBIKE out for an example of easier stand-over while still being sturdy for larger riders.

Rotom
2 months ago

Oh I can’t believe i forgot to put my height. I’m somewhere between 5’10 and 5’11 with an inseam of about 32. So unfortunately it looks like I’m right in between the sizes of the two, but this is something I already took into consideration. If I finalize my choice on the radcity i would be sure to confirm all of my measurements before picking a size. I’m young (22) so I dont have a problem with issues getting on/off a high step despite my weight, and I usually prefer high/mid steps. $1650 is a pretty hard budget cap as I am a student and only working part time. So, while I appreciate it, the bike you linked is definitely too far out for me at this stage of my life.

I’m also looking to keep it around 750w (probably 500w min) due to my current weight.

Court Rye
2 months ago

Cool, sounds like the RadCity will be a great fit! Keep in mind that even though these other mid-drive bikes are rated at 250 watts nominal, they peak above 500 and offer much more torque than hub motors. They are actually more powerful than a big heavy hub motor in practice even though they might not appear that way on paper. The downside for some people is that they don’t usually offer throttle mode. With your budget, I think the RadCity will be an excellent choice, glad you’re thinking about the stand over height and I’m excited for you. Hope it works out great and I welcome your feedback here or in the forums once you get it :D

Chris
2 months ago

Hi, First thanks for all the amazing reviews! I’m torn between the RadCity and E-Glide ST. I’m looking for a good value city commuter bike (18 miles round trip). I’m 5’10 and 220lbs. Which bike would you recommend? Is the E-glide worth the extra cash?

Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi Chris, the only complaint I’ve heard about the RadCity is that the standover height is high (even on the smaller frames). If you like the style and lighter weight of the E-Glide ST then go for it. I believe that Rad Power Bikes is larger than E-Glide but both companies seem to offer good customer service :)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

shawn wolowicz
2 days ago

Hi folks, newb to the forum. I'm not a mechanic of any kind and I haven't worked on a bike in years, but I think my new RadCity may have come wither the wrong fork attached. The fork appears to be way to wide for the wheel provided. The very outside edges of the threaded part of the axle BARELY touches the dropouts. Barely. I'm guessing maybe fat tire fork is on the bike. Images attached.

I'd appreciate any thoughts on this. I've already emailed Rad Power, but imagine I won't hear anything before next week.

Thanks,
Shawn

1/2
mrgold35
3 days ago

Once you add up two Radrover ebikes, shipping, and any extra accessories, you will be under the $2000 per if you picked the Radrover. Rad Power Bikes also makes a folding Radmini with 4" fat tires if you need a smaller storage footprint or you need something with a lower stand over height. The Radcity has pretty much the same specs as the Rover; but, has 2.3" tires, fenders, two different frame sizes, rear rack along with front suspension. I like the 4" fat tires because they can travel between paved roads, sandy beaches, and every where else in-between very smoothly. I work commute at 20-23 mph for 13 miles roundtrip on paved roads and sometimes take a detour to ride the hard packed to sandy single track trails before or after work without missing a beat.

You can find the same mix of bikes with Volt, Teo, and some others around the same price range. I would get something within the 2"-4" tire range, 48v, 11 to 17 A/h battery, twist or hand throttle with Pedal assist, front suspension forks, cargo capacity (or mounts for racks/baskets), 500-750 watts, and 180mm brakes.

Pretty much all ebikes in this range are around +60 lbs if that is a consideration. That weight is too heavy for my wife to lift on our platform bike rack even with the 7 lbs battery removed.

I don't have a RV; but, I do travel with my Radrovers on my SUV (Grand Canyon, Sedona, eastern NM). I had no problems travelling with the Radrover once I prepped for the road (removed battery, seat post with seat, rack bag, wrapped LCD in saran wrap, etc...). I even have a weather proof travel cover that encases both bikes and the rack if we run into really bad weather or if I want to cover the bikes overnight on the back of the SUV.

Robert L. Murphy
6 days ago

I have a RadCity that as far as I can tell, has regenerative braking, charges the battery while costing and going down hills without pedaling. The problem is that there is no way to charge the battery while pedaling. I think that all I need to do is add a switch to the cadence sensor. With cadence sensor off, I could pedal on level ground (more exercise) and pedal down hills, charging the battery while doing so. The problem I have now is that on long trips, without a lot of down hill, the battery dies after 20 to 30 miles of pedaling and then as long as I keep pedaling, the battery never charges. On long trips, I'd love to keep the cadence sensor on anytime the battery is full and off the rest of the time except when climbing hills (even with gradual slops) or accelerating after a stop light (for example). Has anyone done this? I was thinking about using a really nice head light switch but would that have too much resistance for the weak signal generated by the magnets passing the sensor? Before I strip the sensor cable, are there just two wires in there? Is it a passive sensor? Or does power go to the sensor?
Never mind, boots up at level 1, just noticed can down arrow to level 0, which effectively accomplishes what I was attempting to accomplish.

Grant Brugger
1 week ago

I ordered my rear light from RAD Power Bikes. The same light as used on the RADCity will fit the RPB RAD Rover rack. Fits perfect. Uses regular double A batteries but that is OK with me. I called/emailed RAD Power Bikes to place the order.
How much was it?

MarkP
1 week ago

I ordered my rear light from RAD Power Bikes. The same light as used on the RADCity will fit the RPB RAD Rover rack. Fits perfect. Uses regular double A batteries but that is OK with me. I called/emailed RAD Power Bikes to place the order.

mrgold35
1 week ago

I have a Radrover hub drive bike at around 70 lbs fully loaded (accessories, rack, rack bag). It does have 2 mph walk feature; but, I've never tried to use it up inclines or stairs. I just use the throttle (converted from a twist to thumb throttle). I have tried the throttle up 2 flights of stairs and it work great because it only turns the rear wheel and you can modulate or hold between zero and full 750w of power with the thumb throttle I added.

Even at +70 lbs, the Radrover is very easy to walk down stair just by using both hand brakes (not ride down; but, walk beside it). When I work commute, I store my Radrover in my server room next to my office on the 2nd floor. Elevator up in the morning at 6am and down the fire escape stairs well out the back door at 3pm.

Rad Power Bikes does make the Radcity with the same programming and 750w rear hub motor (2 sizes, headlight, throttle and PAS levels 0-5, rear rack, front/rear fenders, front suspension forks included). The only difference is it has smaller 2.3" tires for city riding; but, it still comes in at +60 lbs like the larger Radrover (minus 7 lbs without battery). Even the small Radmini folding bike still comes in at +60 lbs.

JeffDG
2 weeks ago

Thanks everyone for your responses!!
Too bad that most of the Haibikes are limited at 20mph.
I do like the design of the RadCity, though I don't think I'd take that off road (edit: single track). The other day we went to Columbus OH and road some e-bikes...Haibike, Juiced, Raleigh... and fell in love with the center Drive system...and I only rode the Yamaha, which was fantastic. The Juiced CrossCurrent was nice enough, but just didn't feel very natural, rather dead on start; but did better at higher (~15mph) speeds. The mid-drive worked marvelous throughout the entire speed range. It's true...it really felt like it was "more me" riding.

Two I did fine that meet almost all my criteria, but are budget busters are the Bulls six50 E Street ---28mph, center Drive, 100mm shock...but $3800... yikes. The other is the Haibike Hardnine Street 4.5 which loses out because it's only a 20mph, 29er, and almost $4k. Hmm...if I'm stuck in this price range, I feel like I could get a center-drive commute and convert my Trek Marlin.

Robert L. Murphy
4 weeks ago

I have a RadCity that as far as I can tell, has regenerative braking, charges the battery while costing and going down hills without pedaling. The problem is that there is no way to charge the battery while pedaling. I think that all I need to do is add a switch to the cadence sensor. With cadence sensor off, I could pedal on level ground (more exercise) and pedal down hills, charging the battery while doing so. The problem I have now is that on long trips, without a lot of down hill, the battery dies after 20 to 30 miles of pedaling and then as long as I keep pedaling, the battery never charges. On long trips, I'd love to keep the cadence sensor on anytime the battery is full and off the rest of the time except when climbing hills (even with gradual slops) or accelerating after a stop light (for example). Has anyone done this? I was thinking about using a really nice head light switch but would that have too much resistance for the weak signal generated by the magnets passing the sensor? Before I strip the sensor cable, are there just two wires in there? Is it a passive sensor? Or does power go to the sensor?

Antia
1 month ago

Some of the bikes from radpowerbikes could be good fits, depending on your preferences. The radcity has very traditional bike "looks" but is sturdy and well set up as a commuter.

diomark
1 month ago

In the end, the main thing that helped me make the decision was the fact that the radrover's are out of stock right now ;)

yes, the exchangable batteries (between my wife's radwagon + the radcity I just purchased) was a big factor in staying with the same brand..

While I love the idea of riding on MTB tracks, I never did on my hybrid.. so not that big an issue.. My only real concern is the gearing though; coming from a nicer ~24-geared hybrid bike to this will be an adjustment..

(ps - already found the lcd screen and unlocked to 40km/h on my wife's radwagon.. atlhoguh to be honest, dragging two kids, didn't see any improvements.. still felt like I was peddling like mad just to get it to stay around 20mph.) - BUT - looking forward to the radcity w/o kids:)

mrgold35
1 month ago

You get a few more upgrades with the Radcity over the Radrover like:
- choice of frame sizes
- standard rear rack that can support panniers
- front and rear fenders
- urban tires (less noise+longer treadlife). The tires can do some trail riding (on improved and maintained dirt trails you might find a large tire stroller, wheelchair, comfort/cruiser bikes would go)
- public transportation friendly with the thinner tires
- smaller footprint for storage or with bike rack
- will fit 99% of bike racks as-is that can support ebikes extra weight (I had to purchase 4 fat tire trays for $80 on top of my +$550 Saris platform rack)

The Radrover has the added capability ride where you mostly see MTB, hikers, or horses on single track (or make your own) trails, sandy, rocky, or uneven terrain. The Radrover and Radcity weight about the same. Because the Radrover is so (tail) heavy, it can't climb/hop over obstacles like a balanced and lighter MTB. I end up stopping and lifting/pushing my Radrover over fallen tree trunks on the trails or making my own trail and going around.

I would only go for the Radrover if you plan to do trail riding and you have the means to transport with personal vehicle. I have two (his/her) Radrovers and I mostly use them for Work Commuting around 13 miles roundtrip. The fat tires are very comfortable at +20 mph on the main roads and they transition smoothly from concrete, on/off curbs, dirt lots, uneven dirt paths, and sandy trails. I sometimes take detours before or after work to ride the +30 miles of paved and single track dirt trials available near the Rio Grande river halfway into my commute without missing a beat. The 4" fat tires really come in handy with the wet, muddy, rocky, and deep sand in some of the trail spots. I think the Radrover would be overkill if you ride in a 85%-100% urban environment. Most folks change out the tires to something like Hookworms to lower tire noise and increase the treadlife on paved roads (I only got 800-900 miles from the rear knobby tires with 65-75% paved road riding).

A plus with having two Rad products are the batteries are interchangeable. You can double your range if riding alone with the extra battery handy. Hard to do with a different brand of ebike. Another advantage with Rover or City is they are Class II ebikes limited to 20 mph, 750w of power, and have PAS+throttle. "Most" state allow Class I & II ebikes everywhere regular bikes are allowed (parks, bike paths, sidewalks, wrong way down a one way street, etc...) unless posted to exclude ebikes. The 28 mph Class III ebikes (mostly PAS only with this class) are very close to motorized vehicle territory for some local and state governments because of their top speeds. They sometimes have more restrictions with requiring helmets, minimal age restrictions, must stay on roadways (no sidewalks), and sometimes 100% no-go on bike paths depending on local/state laws.

Another little secret with either bike is you can adjust the motor cutoff speed from 20 mph to a little under 25 mph in the LCD set-up screen in about 15-20 seconds. Both bikes don't really have the gearing for 25 mph (might have to use PAS 5 and fake pedal or 100% throttle to maintain that speed). The downside is your battery range will most likely be in the low double-digits.

Dewey
1 month ago

Go to Ballard and check out a RadCity, it may be all you need.
Rad does have a hub motor but it's a 7 speed and a replacement battery is $500. Could replace with a 52v Luna mighty Mini for $300 but that would only offer half the range/amp hrs (6 v 12) so would depend on how far he needs to travel. Luna Alite has 8 speeds, a 750w bbs02 Mid drive motor that will get you up any hill, and a 13.5 ah replacement battery is $400.

JRA
1 month ago

Go to Ballard and check out a RadCity, it may be all you need.

windmill
2 months ago

Those are great links @J.R. thanks for sharing!
Just spoke with our technical support and service managers, and the only common questions they receive regarding the rear axle hardware on the RadWagon is how to re-install/arrange/what order the washers go on after being removed to change flats. I believe the round axle, versus double D shaped axles (two flats) results in more friction grip because of more thread engagement and the thick steel frame + locking washers prevent self-loosening normally caused by side sliding or rocking of the hub motor axle under accel and decel. Vibrations and twisting torque also contribute to loosening, and I would suspect sin wave controllers paired with direct drive hub motors smooth these factors out.

My guess is the bike which Ann M.’s shop had in for service either 1) Had improperly torqued axle nuts or 2) Had the washers in an incorrect orientation which resulted in poor clamp force, then self-loosening. This is a good tip for owners and service providers for our bikes: Check with us (support@radpowerbikes.com) whenever performing service if there are questions on the correct orientation of hardware, getting replacement hardware or torque specifications. Properly setup and checked as part of normal service intervals and folks won’t have any trouble.

The RadRover, RadMini and RadCity all have a different style of axle, by design, compared to the RadWagon since they are outfitted with an aluminum frame. These models use a combination of Nyloc and serrated flange lock nuts, torque washers, flat washers (to keep the nut from scraping the aluminum frame) and torque arms for additional security in light of these being aluminum.

The feedback is definitely appreciated, and thanks again for sharing those links, your posts are some of the most value loaded on this forum.

My daily 16 mile RT commute includes a mile long 15% to 18% hill (James st in Kent) and a couple of short hills close to 20% , I was having trouble keeping the OE axle nuts tight with those climbs and descents, and the nut threads were degrading. I've had the same issue on other bikes with IGH hubs, and my go to solution has been axle nuts with captive serrated washers from Problem Solvers http://problemsolversbike.com/products/hubs/axle_nuts_-_25017. They do not loosen from the torque reaction of climbing and braking.

I didn't see any torque specifications in the manual so I defaulted to the standard torque specification for grade 2, 3/8 X 24 tpi @ 26 ft-lb. This also falls withing the torque range recommended by Shimano and Park tool.

1/1
Mike Radenbaugh
2 months ago

@BVC Great question! We were able to go without the little "mud flap" that is on the RadWagon and RadCity fenders since the RadRover full fenders main body are made of TPO, and can go lower to the ground without worrying as much about them being cracked by scraping up against stuff. The TPO plastic used on the rover fenders is TOUGH, so it can handle some flexing and scraping up on stuff, unlike the rover and city fenders which are made of a more standard poly-carbonate material with the rubberized mudflaps to accomplish the full coverage in the abuse zone near the ground (disclaimer that is a made up term haha).

I agree the bud flap does add some styling however.

Mike Radenbaugh
2 months ago

Those are great links @J.R. thanks for sharing!
Just spoke with our technical support and service managers, and the only common questions they receive regarding the rear axle hardware on the RadWagon is how to re-install/arrange/what order the washers go on after being removed to change flats. I believe the round axle, versus double D shaped axles (two flats) results in more friction grip because of more thread engagement and the thick steel frame + locking washers prevent self-loosening normally caused by side sliding or rocking of the hub motor axle under accel and decel. Vibrations and twisting torque also contribute to loosening, and I would suspect sin wave controllers paired with direct drive hub motors smooth these factors out.

My guess is the bike which Ann M.’s shop had in for service either 1) Had improperly torqued axle nuts or 2) Had the washers in an incorrect orientation which resulted in poor clamp force, then self-loosening. This is a good tip for owners and service providers for our bikes: Check with us (support@radpowerbikes.com) whenever performing service if there are questions on the correct orientation of hardware, getting replacement hardware or torque specifications. Properly setup and checked as part of normal service intervals and folks won’t have any trouble.

The RadRover, RadMini and RadCity all have a different style of axle, by design, compared to the RadWagon since they are outfitted with an aluminum frame. These models use a combination of Nyloc and serrated flange lock nuts, torque washers, flat washers (to keep the nut from scraping the aluminum frame) and torque arms for additional security in light of these being aluminum.

The feedback is definitely appreciated, and thanks again for sharing those links, your posts are some of the most value loaded on this forum.

dmahalek
2 months ago

1 lost screw and one loose screw. Today while riding my Radcity, one of the screws holding the rear fender to the frame loosened and fell out. The fender brace then hit the spokes......one hell of an alarming sound.

I went to the hardware store but couldn't find the proper screw. RAD tech support couldn't help as the "screw tech" was out for the day. He said that they didn't have a parts list showing screw sizes.

Can anyone help me with the screw size? Otherwise,I will have to wait until next wk arrives, with the return of the RAD SCREW TECH.

1/1
George Krompacky
2 months ago

I am currently a motorcycle commuter. It's around time to upgrade my moto--the old one is too small and getting old. A fellow motorcyclist at work just changed gears and got a RadRover for his commute and inspired me.

I used to commute by bicycle here in NorCal but my commute is such that going to work is downhill and takes around 25 minutes, but going home takes around 45 minutes because it is uphill the whole way. In summer, expending that much effort with bags on the bike at the end of the day was too much.

I'm thinking that an electric bike would really hit the sweet spot--allowing me to get to work and home in a reasonable time, avoiding traffic, and the assist would make my ride home a lot more pleasant.

Right now I'm looking at the RadCity, which is currently out of stock, but I'm not in a rush. My budget is $2,000 or less. It is likely that I would have to lock it outside while at work. Any other (or better) suggestions?

Barkme Wolf
3 months ago

Thanks everyone for the replies. So Far none are working. That Radlifeasus16 expired I guess . I even tried RADLIFEASUS17 Just to see if it was "year" specific.
The only code I have found that is currently working was "Jerryrigeverything " which is good for a $50 discount . Oh well ...Beats full price I guess.
I just KNOW 5 minutes after I place my order, someone will send me a valid $100 coupon.
I may even buy my wife the RADCITY bike . So maybe I'll just wait a few days to see if anyone on this forum knows of any more to try.
I also just saw a bike that looks to be a direct competitor In every way to the ROVER. That's the
"VOLTBIKE YUKON 750" I actually like their Battery arrangement . But it's made in Canada. And ultimately I think Rad Rover still has it beat.
Rad Power Bikes are made in China.

FoxtrotAviator
3 months ago

Thanks everyone for the replies. So Far none are working. That Radlifeasus16 expired I guess . I even tried RADLIFEASUS17 Just to see if it was "year" specific.
The only code I have found that is currently working was "Jerryrigeverything " which is good for a $50 discount . Oh well ...Beats full price I guess.
I just KNOW 5 minutes after I place my order, someone will send me a valid $100 coupon.
I may even buy my wife the RADCITY bike . So maybe I'll just wait a few days to see if anyone on this forum knows of any more to try.
I also just saw a bike that looks to be a direct competitor In every way to the ROVER. That's the
"VOLTBIKE YUKON 750" I actually like their Battery arrangement . But it's made in Canada. And ultimately I think Rad Rover still has it beat.

Arun
3 months ago

@Ann, thanks, at the moment I am inclined towards the Air only because it has a lower stand over height than the Radcity. But I dont know exactly how small the standover height is on the step thru of Air. I know it is about 31 inches on the 16" Radcity.

Arun
3 months ago

Actually, I might order the crosscurrent Air specifically because of the step-thru compared to the mid step with Radcity, and for the lighter weight. I can let you know in a couple of weeks when I will have the bike (Air). I have no idea about the E-glide.

Miguel
3 months ago

Hi! Boghey´s is also my dilemma.
Why do you guys think the CrossCurrent Air is better than the E-glide SS Plus for a city commute? Besides, isn´t the RadCity much heavier?

In any case, I would like to know your opinions on the following question: which one of these bikes would be best to be shared by a 5'11"/176 guy and a 5'7"/135 woman? What size/type frame should we choose?

Thank you very much!

Arun
3 months ago

@Boghev I had the exact dilemma and to me it all boiled down to just one thing - I want to bike to work no matter what, rain or shine. There are days when i dont feel my best but still want to commute to work. The torque sensor on cross current could actually be an impediment in such cases. Assuming that the reliability is equal, and that hydraulic on the cross current are only marginally better than mechanical + regen, then I would go with Radcity. Of course you might get a better range with Juiced but I can easily toss in another battery or two into my radcity panniers..

Mike Malloy
1 week ago

Looks like a nice bike that covers much of what I'm looking for. The one thing that concerns me is that the display is not removable. This concerns me when leaving the bike locked in a bike rack unattended. WIthout the display, the bike would be less a target and useless for potential thieves.

Andrew Mullen
2 weeks ago

I love it but find myself wanting to go faster than the 20mph limit. Is there any way to bypass this limit?

pie189
2 weeks ago

think that bike would work well in the snow?

VideoNOLA
1 month ago

For the entire minute from 24:00 and on, my ears tell me the motor never cut out, even when you stopped pedaling. Seems to contradict your assertion that they've "dialed in" the 6-magnet cadence design... or does it?

Zhang Qi Xiang Eddie
1 month ago

how I wish is ebikes can be use in Singapore 😢😢😢😢

liberalicious65
2 months ago

Sexy! I want one! For longer rides, how much are extra batteries? Thanks!

Wayne Peterson
2 months ago

liberalicious65 $500

Bruce Perry
3 months ago

It could be fun to have a solar charger for my Rad city Anyone giving good advice on how to do that?

metamorphicorder
3 months ago

the length of the hill makes a difference. it takes the controller or the battery just a moment to increase the output, but it really does kick it up significantly as you climb. im a heavy rider and the wagon makes it up hills no problem at all. it even accelerates after the intial decel. thats without pedaling. they are great bikes.

metamorphicorder
3 months ago

i have a friend who was looking for personal transportation. a car is a bit of a wrestle for him, so he asked me about a motorized bike and i suggested electric. well i had some experience with electrics and started researching something good for him, both price and quality. i discovered RPB and knew it was right. great specs and price. so he bought a rad wagon. he loved it, but then he moved. upstairs. and the wagon is a little heavy and its too long for a standard car or bus mounted rack, so when the rad city came out, he bought one of those. so, he had an extra bike and a small apartment. so im buying the wagon from him. he loves the new city, much easier to take up stairs and fits a standard rack on a bus. these are very nice ebikes. theres 1600 plus miles on the wagon and hes already but several hundred on the city. super quiet, decent components, strong frame and wheels. its actuakky much quieter than this video, the mic on the camera is pretty high gain and picks up frame vibration and frequency you cant really hear while riding and 10 feet away. great bikes. best for the price for sure.

metamorphicorder
3 months ago

i have a friend who was looking for personal transportation. a car is a bit of a wrestle for him, so he asked me about a motorized bike and i suggested electric. well i had some experience with electrics and started researching something good for him, both price and quality. i discovered RPB and knew it was right. great specs and price. so he bought a rad wagon. he loved it, but then he moved. upstairs. and the wagon is a little heavy and its too long for a standard car or bus mounted rack, so when the rad city came out, he bought one of those. so, he had an extra bike and a small apartment. so im buying the wagon from him. he loves the new city, much easier to take up stairs and fits a standard rack on a bus. these are very nice ebikes. theres 1600 plus miles on the wagon and hes already but several hundred on the city. super quiet, decent components, strong frame and wheels. its actuakky much quieter than this video, the mic on the camera is pretty high gain and picks up frame vibration and frequency you cant really hear while riding and 10 feet away. great bikes. best for the price for sure.

tybeejeffro
3 months ago

Just curious, does the Yuba Bread Basket fit on the RadCity's forward frame mounting points?

Bobby Shah
3 months ago

Cort, Every e-bike reviewer and vlogger (including you) never seems to change or even us the gear cassette to change gears based on terrain. Is there really a need for "10 speeds" when so few change gears? Your thoughts?

Ken Cooper
3 months ago

I bought the 20" Radecity. I'm 6'2" but have a 31" inseam. The bike is too tall for me (hard to imagine - nothing in my history has ever been too tall for me). To straddle it I have to stand on my tippytoes. To me, an old guy, it's not safe to ride. Now I don't know what to do. I've put less than 5 miles on it and have owned it 20 days. But since I've ridden it it appears it doesn't qualify for return or exchange. Now I don't know what to do. Any suggestions?

Jmex25
2 months ago

Ken Cooper Hey Ken. How did this bike end up working for you? I have a similar inseam and was interested in the bike.

Richard Jones
3 months ago

Ken, I am also 6'2", but with longer legs I assume with 34" inseam, sometimes 35"... Perhaps the 20in RCity will fit me better. Pmaybe you will be able to sell it on the used market? I'm going for a test ride tomorrow, I live just about 15 miles from Radpower HQ

Carl Gannon
4 months ago

"relatively steep hill", dude give that hill some credit that hill is one of the longest and biggest in Seattle.

pacificdragon1
4 months ago

Please tell me which power system is better in your opinion Direct Drive Hub motor or a Bosch Crank Power system and let me know why? Thanks

Baron Of Hell
4 months ago

Can these bikes fit on a bus bike rack? I'm thinking the tires might be to big.

Mark Steffen
4 months ago

Excellent presentation. Thanks!

TyzGamin
4 months ago

Should I buy this?

s trav
5 months ago

Hey dude. Great videos.

musicalhelp
5 months ago

this is probably the most nerdish nasalist voice I have ever heard :D