Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity Electric Bike Review
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity Shengyi Gearless Hub Motor With Regen
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity 48 Volt 14 Amp Hour Samsung Ebike Battery
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity Adjustable Handlebar Lcd Display Console
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity Basic Ergonomic Rubber Grips Button Pad
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity Integrated 2 Led Spanninga Axendo 60 Ebike Headlight
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity Wellgo Alloy Pedals 12 Magnet Pedelec Sensor
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity 7 Speed Shimano Acera Drievetrain With Derailleur Guard
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity Aaa Powered Spanninga Solo Rear Light
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity Velo Plush Saddle With Handle Adjustable Kickstand
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity 2 Amp Electric Bicycle Charger
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity Electric Bike Review
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity Shengyi Gearless Hub Motor With Regen
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity 48 Volt 14 Amp Hour Samsung Ebike Battery
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity Adjustable Handlebar Lcd Display Console
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity Basic Ergonomic Rubber Grips Button Pad
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity Integrated 2 Led Spanninga Axendo 60 Ebike Headlight
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity Wellgo Alloy Pedals 12 Magnet Pedelec Sensor
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity 7 Speed Shimano Acera Drievetrain With Derailleur Guard
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity Aaa Powered Spanninga Solo Rear Light
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity Velo Plush Saddle With Handle Adjustable Kickstand
2018 Rad Power Bikes Radcity 2 Amp Electric Bicycle Charger


  • An affordable, feature-rich, city style electric bike that comes in two sizes, two colors, and offers great adjustment in the stem and handlebar position for comfortable upright body position
  • Responsive 12-magnet cadence sensor provides faster starts and stops, both brake levers have motor inhibitors, there's also a twist throttle for instant power and you can turn it off if you want to
  • Fatter hybrid tires compliment the spring suspension fork to reduce vibration and discomfort on varied terrain, the fork has lockout adjust as well as preload, large mechanical disc brakes stop well
  • Gearless hub motors are durable but also weigh more, produce some magnetic drag, and aren't as zippy or powerful at low speeds, great attention to detail with a derailleur guard and torque arm at the rear dropout

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers



Rad Power Bikes




$1,499 (Optional $100 Upcharge for Velofix Assembly and Delivery)

Body Position:

Forward, Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Year Comprehensive


United States, Europe, Canada

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

61 lbs (27.66 kg) (275 lbs With Flat Bed)

Battery Weight:

7.7 lbs (3.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

15 lbs (6.8 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Small Measurements: 16" Seat Tube, 29" Stand Over Height, 22" Reach, 28" Width, 72" Length, Large Measurements: 19" Seat Tube, 31" Stand Over Height, 22" Reach, 28" Width, 72"

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Gray, Pearl White

Frame Fork Details:

RST Spring Suspension, 100 mm Travel, Compression Adjust with Lockout, Preload Adjust, 100 mm Hub Spacing, 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

135 mm Hub Spacing, 12 mm Threaded Axle with 10 mm Flats, Nuts

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Front Rack Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses, Yepp! Mounting Window

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Acera Derailleur, MF-TZ31 MegaRange Freewheel 14-34T Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano SIS Index Thumb Shifter on Right


Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 46T Chainring, Alloy Chain Guide


Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform with Reflectors, CrMo Axle, Black


VP, Semi-Integrated, Sealed Cartridge, 1-1/8" Straight


Zoom, Adjustable Angle 0º to 60º, 100 mm Length, One 10 mm Spacers, One 20 mm Spacer, 31.8 mm Clamp Diameter


Mid-Rise, Aluminum Alloy, 700 mm Width

Brake Details:

Tektro Aries Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Four-Finger Tektro Levers with Rubberized Edges and Bell on Left and Motor Inhibitors


Velo Comfort, Ergonomic, Rubber, Black and Grey


Velo Plush with Lifting Handle, Black

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm


Weinmann, Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 30 mm Width, 36 Hole


Stainless Steel, 12 Gauge, Silver with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda K-Rad, 26" x 2.3" (58-559)

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

30 to 80 PSI, 2.1 to 5.6 BAR, 210 to 560 Kpa

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Rear-Mount Adjustable Kickstand, Plastic Fenders with Mud Flaps (67 mm Width), Steel Derailleur Guard, Integrated Spanninga Axendo 60 LED Headlight, Independent Spanninga Solo LED Backlight (Two AAA Batteries), Neoprene Slap Guard, Optional Front Rack, Optional Small Basket, Optional Large Basket, Optional Platform, Optional Small Pannier (Fremont Bag), Optional RAD Backlight, Optional SR Suntour NCX Seat Post Suspension, Optional RAM Torque Handlebar Phone Mount X


Locking Removable Downtube-Mounted Battery Pack, 1.1 lb 2 Amp Charger, Fully Potted Motor Controller, Stainless Steel Torque Arm, 275 lb Maximum Weight Rating

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:


Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts (500 Watts in Canada)

Motor Torque:

40 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung 18650 35E

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

14 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

672 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium NCA (LiNiCoAlO2)

Charge Time:

6 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Display Type:

Rad Power Bikes Branded King Meter SWLCD, Fixed, Adjustable-Angle, Backlit, Color LCD


Battery Indicator (5 Bars), Trip Meter, Odometer, Current Speed, Average Speed, Max Speed, Pedal Assist Level (0-5 as Eco, Std, Power, Speed), Light Icon, Motor Power Watts

Display Accessories:

Independent Control Pad and Throttle On/Off Button on Right (Buttons: Up, Mode, Down), Hold Up for Speed Display Mode, Hold Down for Walk Mode, Hold Mode and Up for Lights, Hold Up and Down for Settings Menu, 5-Volt 1 Amp USB Type A Port at Base of Display

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (12-Magnet Cadence Sensor)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

Rad Power Bikes has updated all of their electric bike models for 2018 which kicks off the second generation of hardware. In many ways, the RadCity has changed the least because it was one of the later bikes to be created and launched. The major differences that I noticed were a taller handlebar, more sensitive 12-magnet cadence sensor to activate pedal assist, a brighter upgraded headlight, the addition of sturdy mounting points for a front tray and racks, a refined hydroformed frame with step-in battery area, and of course, the battery pack itself. For the same great $1,499 price point, you get a 20% higher capacity, the ability to keep the pack locked to the frame but in an off position that cannot be tampered with, and the overall weight of the bike is just 0.5 to 1 lb heavier. It’s a feature-complete electric bike with a Yepp! compatible rear rack that has pannier hangers and bungee loops, wide plastic fenders, and lights to keep you safe. I love the chainring guide which doubles as a pant protector, and the display has a USB port that allows you to tap into the battery pack to charge your phone or other portable electronic device. This is a near-silent electric bike because it uses a gearless hub motor. Know for being heavier, more durable, but less zippy and powerful than geared hub motors, this one is setup with regenerative braking action. Both brake levers immediately cut power and tell the motor to recoup what it can, and this reduces wear on the brake pads while helping to offset the added weight and magnetic drag of the motor. Two size options mean that this e-bike will fit both medium and tall sized riders, and the diamond high-step frame will be stiff and easy to hang on most car and bus racks. For those with knee and hip sensitivity, Rad Power Bikes has introduced a step-thru frame that’s only available in white, but is much easier to mount and stand over. All things considered, I think it’s a great ebike for urban riding, and if you don’t mind pedaling along to help start with heavier loads and steep hills, it can be very capable. RPB is a direct to consumer company and I believe their products are manufactured in China, but now sold in Europe and Canada as well as the USA. Shipping is free, or you can pay $100 for a company called Velofix to assemble and deliver the product… then return in a month for a tune-up. That’s pretty awesome, especially since the mechanical disc brake wires and shifter cables will start to stretch and need adjustment with riding.

Driving this ebike is a a Shengyi gearless hub motor that weighs ~15 lbs and is spoked into a sturdy double-wall Weinmann rim with extra-thick 12 gauge spokes. I hadn’t heard of this brand before reviewing some of the earlier first-generation Rad Power Bikes but it seems to be working well in the field. Gearless motors need to be larger, and are usually heavier, because they produce power through electromagnetic staters and rare earth magnets pushing against each other. The further out those magnets are, the more leverage the staters can get when pushing them. The advantages are that you don’t have plastic gears rubbing against each other to produce power through reduction gearing and this keeps it quiet and more durable over the long run. When the motor pushes, it propels the bike forward through the axle mounted to the rear dropouts, and in this case it’s a thicker 12 mm axle with 10 mm flat spacing. Rad Power Bikes has reinforced the rear dropouts by adding a stainless steel torque arm on the left droput so that the Aluminum alloy frame won’t get bent and widen as the motor pushes against it. The motor pushes one way when you apply power and then the other way when you activate regenerative braking. One drawback to this type of motor is a bit of magnetic drag that is produced because there is no freewheel, a feature that geared motors offer (but they don’t have regen). In short, this motor is quiet, tough, and very capable as long as you have some speed going. It can take a moment to get up to speed, but it feels smooth and is fairly responsive thanks to the upgraded 12-magnet cadence sensor.

Powering the RadCity is the same 48 volt 14 amp hour Lithium-ion battery pack used on all of the consumer level Gen 2 bikes from Rad. This new pack is shorter, sleeker, and more powerful than Gen 1, and it uses Samsung 35E cells which are more energy dense (and thus space saving) than more generic or cheaper cells. The pack mounts onto the downtube in a sturdy plastic slide with three bolts that really keep it secure. I like that the downtube has been flattened out where the battery mount is positioned because this probably offers a larger contact point and will reduce rattling over time. You can charge the battery when it’s mounted or take it off, which is handy for commuting, but the charger is pretty basic. It’s lightweight at ~1.1 lbs, and very compact, but only delivers 2 Amps which makes for a ~6 hour charge time if the battery is completely emptied. The charging port for this pack is up high, out of the way of the right crank arm, and has an easy-to-use rubber cap to protect it. The underside of the battery has two fuses which are designed to prevent damage and fires, and they are replaceable so you can try to diagnose and maintain the battery for years to come. Since most of the new models all use this custom battery pack, it should be very easy to get replacement or additional packs and I believe the price is just $499 (which is great compared to many other mainstream ebike batteries I see for $800 to $900). On the left side of the battery, there’s a metal key slot that allows you to lock it to the frame in an off or on position. It’s great that you cannot ride the bike until the battery is fully secured and locked! I have heard of people riding off without locking their packs and having a very sad, expensive day when it falls off and breaks. So, locking it in the off position is great because nobody can tamper with your display and throttle fi you are parked outside at a public rack.

The display panel is largely unchanged from Gen 1 and that’s a good thing. The major drawback for me has always been that it is not removable and will thus be exposed to more weather and scratches over time, but that’s not at all uncommon. I love how large and easy to read it is. The LCD panel is greyscale with good contrast and has a backlighting feature that comes on when you activate the headlight (by holding up and Mode together for a moment). The display tips forward and back to reduce glare, and is well sealed against water along with all of the accessories and external controller box. I asked about this box, why they didn’t integrated it with the battery pack, and was told that this allows batteries to be less expensive to replace and that the controller can be more powerful and less prone to heat issues when packed within the battery or mount. That makes a lot of sense to me and I think they positioned the controller well, just behind the seat tube and protected by the back fender. Eventually, when you need to clean the bike off or if it gets salty or is muddy, you should be able to hose it down lightly and use a rag. Rain, shallow puddles, and light rinsing is all okay according to RPB but you don’t want to spray it hard or submerge anything but the tires and lower portion of the rims. So anyway, once the battery pack has been charged, mounted, and the ignition has been turned to on, you just hold the Mode button and the display activates. At this time, you’ll be in assist level 1 and can start pedaling for a small amount of assist or use the throttle for up to full assist if you twist all the way. I love that the throttle is completely open, because some ebikes limit throttle output based on the chosen level of assist, and for me this sort of defeats the purpose. The throttle even works in level zero, if you arrow down to it, and that turns this into more of a scooter where pedaling won’t accidentally switch the motor on. You can also completely de-activate the throttle and use this for pedal assist only. I should say that Rad Power Bikes is obeying European and Canadian laws, offering different motor powers (500 watt in Canada specifically) and has a licensing class in the UK for legal use.

At the end of the day, this is still one of the more affordable electric bike options to consider out there and I feel that Rad Power Bikes has grown responsibly and really cares about their customers. They have a full phone support team, are a Velofix premiere partner, provide a comprehensive one year warranty, and now have a shop in Seattle Washington (the Ballard neighborhood) where you can go and take a test ride. I have seen many RadRovers and other models out in the wild, and owners seem to be happy. It’s nice that they have expanded the frame offering to include a step-thru for 2018 and I feel that even with the mostly-unchanged high-step models, the sturdier adjustable angle stem and mid-rise bars can make this a very comfortable ride, especially if you opt for the suspension seat post upgrade! Yes, this ebike only has seven gears, the mechanical disc brakes are going to require more hand strength to pull and don’t have adjustable-reach levers, the non-locking rubber grips are cheaper and might spin over time if you really pull on them, and the rear LED light runs on disposable AAA batteries vs. being wired-in to the main pack like the headlight (which makes it easy to forget and leave on). However, I like that the back light has a blink mode and I love the larger Wellgo platform pedals that they chose. Note that the stand over height between the medium and large frames is about two inches. I think it would be cool if they angled the top tube even more to get the medium towards a mid-step vs. still being relatively high. Big thanks to Rad Power Bikes for partnering with me on this post and providing all of their models and accessories back to back. We had a blast riding around the city and I enjoyed seeing and riding with the big rack options and their panniers (which look great and are water resistant). I welcome feedback from people who have owned first generation RPB products and will do my best to answer questions etc. but you can also check out the EBR Rad Power Bikes forums.


  • For the second generation of Rad Power Bikes, the cadence sensor has been upgraded from 6 magnets to 12 which improves response time and makes starting easier, they still offer brake lever motor inhibitors to cut power instantly when you want to stop
  • All of the new Rad Power Bikes share a mounting interface on the head tube for adding a rack, it’s sturdy and won’t tip when you steer or park the bike, note that the optional rack accessory comes with a cable extension for the headlight so it can be positioned optimally
  • Low price is one of the biggest differentiating features of the RadCity and I love that it comes standard with wide fenders, an integrated rack with pannier hangers, and lights
  • You shouldn’t have any issues with the chain falling off thanks to the durable Aluminum alloy chain guide, it doubles as a bash guard and pant/dress protector as you pedal, I also like the large grippy pedals that they chose vs. flexy plastic or narrow cage style
  • The high-step frame comes in two sizes and features an adjustable-angle stem to bring the handlebar up and back, note that the bar is also cured (what I consider a mid-rise) so there’s better comfort and more versatility here than a lot of bikes, RPB also makes a step-thru RadCity model which is smaller and even easier to mount and stand over but less stiff and only available in white at the time of this review
  • I was told that the adjustable angle stem has been custom made to stay tight and uses hardened materials that won’t dull as easily as some competing parts, for those with back and neck sensitivity RPB sells an optional suspension seat post
  • I love that Rad Power Bikes managed to squeeze in some bottle cage bosses, even though they are mounted below the downtube… this attachment point could also work for folding locks, mini pumps, or other accessories
  • The RadCity comes with 26″ x 2.3″ tires that feel comfortable and offer all-terrain traction with a checkerboard pattern, the suspension fork up front further improves comfort and stability on bumpy terrain but can be locked out for pure efficiency
  • Available in two color schemes, dark grey or pearl white, the quality of paint and overall design looks much nicer than the first generation of Rad Power Bikes in my opinion, I especially like the semi-metallic white because it would be more visible from the side at night
  • It’s a little thing, but the kickstand is positioned well and has a wider foot so it won’t get in the way and won’t sink into soft ground, I also like the little handle that is built into the saddle which makes lifting and maneuvering the bike easy
  • Rad Power Bikes sells a great range of optional accessories that are guaranteed to fit their bikes and look great, for the RadCity you can get a small or large basket (which can be mounted to the front of the bike with a platform bracket or on the rear rack), small panniers, an extra-bright RAD rear light that attaches to the seat post, the SR Suntour NCX suspension seat post, and a handlebar phone mount
  • If you do get that phone mount, or use one of your own, you can charge all sorts of portable electronics directly from the display panel thanks to a USB Type A port integrated near the bottom which puts out 5 Volts at 1 Amp directly from the battery pack
  • I love that the battery pack is mounted to the frame with three bolts vs. just two and that the power cable running to the hub motor is really tucked in and well protected at the back
  • The new battery design is sleek, offers 20% higher capacity than the first generation while only weighing 0.7 pounds more, and does not have an integrated on/off button that you have to press before each ride, it can still be set to off and is more tamper-resistant
  • Rad Power Bikes offers free shipping if you want to build yourself and has also partnered with Velofix which offers assembly, delivery, and a post-purchase tuneups for just $100 extra, it’s a neat service for those who don’t want to deal with a big box or the weight and complexity of setting up an e-bike
  • Gearless hub motors tend to be very durable and quiet, you don’t get as much torque and raw power at low speeds and there is some magnetic drag when coasting, but the RadCity recaptures a bit of energy when braking which reduces wear on the brake pads and might extend your range just a bit, I like that they mounted the motor with a stainless steel torque arm to keep the dropouts from getting bent over time given the weight and power in use here
  • Both wheels are built with thicker 12 gauge spokes and sturdy Weinmann rims to handle the additional weight of cargo or heavy riders, it’s rated to carry up to 275 lbs by the company


  • The drivetrain on this electric bike offers seven gears, which is on the lower side, but the Shimano Acera derailleur is two steps up from base level and should perform well, I feel that the addition of throttle mode kind of makes up for the seven gears whereas most other city bikes offer nine or ten gears but only pedal assist
  • If you decide to add the front rack, it’s great that the headlight can be repositioned on the bottom (for maximum exposure) but it will no longer point where you steer because the rack is frame mounted
  • The RadWagon and RadCity models aren’t as capable at climbing steep hills as some of the new mid-drive ebikes and the motor doesn’t operate as efficiently and provide the same range potential because it’s not being run through your gears… but very few mid-drives offer throttle operation, just know that the gearless motor on the RadCity is more smooth and quiet but offers a lot less torque from standstill and for climbing
  • I’m mixed on the brakes for this bike, the 180 mm rotors provide good leverage but you cannot adjust the brake lever reach and have to use more effort pulling them than with hydraulic disc brakes, for smaller riders and those without as much hand strength, that could be a point of fatigue or difficulty, but at least they have motor inhibitors built in for safety and the rubber edges and integrated bell on the left lever are nice, this part is one of the cost savings measures but might be easier to adjust by hand by the owner vs. needing a shop
  • The display panel is not removable and could take some weather-wear or get scratched at bike racks… but now it can be locked (by turning the key to off on the battery pack) and it has a USB type A port for charging your phone or other portable electronics on the go
  • I’m not sure if this bike comes with a slap guard? I didn’t see it in the stock photos or on the sample bike that I filmed for the review… for the grey frame especially, this could reduce chips and keep it quieter when riding over bumpy terrain, you can get a cheap one like these on Amazon and add it yourself or use a strip of clear masking tap
  • I prefer little trigger shifters vs. the large SIS Index thumb shifters used here because they don’t take up as much space and are easier to reach when holding the grip… but an engineer from Rad Power Bikes told me that they chose these larger shifters to make room for the throttle cutoff switch on the right side, also, the big shifters can be easier to use with gloves
  • I was disappointed to discover that the rear light isn’t powered by the main battery pack, it runs on two disposable AAA batteries and must be turned on and off each time you go to use the bike… this makes it easier to forget and leave on, but at least it provides two modes of operation (solid and blinking) whereas most integrated lights only go solid
  • I like the tire dimensions but they don’t have reflective sidewalls or puncture protection lining like some of the fancier products out there, Schwalbe offers the Marathon Plus model that would probably fit the RadCity rims, changing a flat isn’t fun but perhaps Velofix could help with this or a local bike shop
  • Minor gripe here, the headlight is mounted to the suspension arch vs. the head tube or stem and that means it could bounce around on rough terrain vs. being suspended and smoother, if you get the optional front rack, it can be relocated to the bottom and then it becomes “sprung”


More Rad Power Bikes Reviews

Rad Power Bikes RadBurro Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordably priced, heavy-duty, utility style electric bike with four bed options including flat, truck bed with sides, hot/cold insulated box, and covered pedicab passenger seat. Borrows components and hardware from mopeds and motorcycles for added strength and durability, tough 17”…...

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An approachable, comfortable, and relatively affordable, city style electric bicycle that comes in one color and one frame size, swept-back handlebars and adjustable stem improve fit range. Ready for all sorts of ride conditions and applications with full-coverage plastic fenders, LED lights,…...

Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A compact, fat tire electric bike that folds to save space, the suspension fork and larger 4-inch wide tires add comfort and allow it to ride on soft sand and snow if you lower the tire pressure, or you can lockout the fork and raise pressure for efficiency on pavement. Only available in one frame size for now, but the handlebar height is adjustable along…...

Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordable, powerful, electric fat bike with responsive 12-magnet pedal assist and twist-throttle on demand, available in two colors with lots of accessory options including fenders and racks. Only one frame size but the top tube is sloped and the shorter stem pairs…...

Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordable, feature-rich, electric cargo bike with cadence sensing pedal assist and throttle on demand operation, available in one frame size with adjustable bars and two color options. Gearless direct-drive hub motor is heavier but super quiet, durable, and capable of regenerative braking…...

2017 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A funky miniaturized folding fat tire bike with two cargo racks! Truly capable of sand and snow riding, LED lights guide and keep you safe, the bike offers assist and throttle drive modes. Basic seven speed drivetrain from Shimano, plastic chain guide keeps things on track, metal derailleur…...

2017 Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A value priced but featured packed urban commuter style electric bike with everything from fenders, to LED lights, rear carry rack and regenerative braking. Solid driving and braking performance with a 750 watt gearless hub motor and 180 mm…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Strikes an excellent balance delivering high power with mid-level components for a reasonable price, you get throttle and pedal assist with an on/off on the throttle! solid one year warranty for the original owner, flat rate $175 shipping in the US. Even though the battery and controller box are bolted on vs. integrated into the frame,…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A folding fat tire electric bike with front and rear cargo racks and double-tube frame for improved strength (good option for larger riders). Powerful 750 watt internally geared fat-bike specific motor paired with a large 48 volt 11.6…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Affordable, feature rich cargo style electric bike with a stiffer and lighter frame because it's not quite as long as some others. Offers five levels of pedal assist, throttle mode and throttle override as well as regenerative…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An Indiegogo funded electric fatbike with a powerful 500 watt motor, ample 48 volt battery and seven speed drivetrain. Comfortable saddle, ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout, two color choices but only one…...

3 months ago

As for the Cons Concerning the RadCity; I like that this bike only has seven gears. As far as I’m concerned the less complicated the better. I once owned a twenty-one speed Peugeot fatter tire city bike back in the Eighties when I lived in Anchorage. Too many gears drove me crazy with all the chain maintenance needed. When I was in Junior High in the early Sixties [Class of ’70] my parents got me a “Hercules” three-speed for Christmas. I loved that bike. One day when parked and locked outside the school someone stole the small chain coming out of the rear hub that controlled the gears. That was it for that bike… broken heart:(

It should be simple to add a short extension bar to the front of the handlebar to relocate the head light…and maybe even provide a space or two for a phone or GPS. Smooth and quiet is what I want. If it comes down to needing torque, getting “some” exercise is one of the reasons I’m looking to buy an Ebike. Being a large man of strong stature and holding the easy end of a hammer for most of my working adult life, I’m very pleased this bike has mechanical brakes. Learning how to bleed hydraulic systems can be tricky and I want a bike that I can work on.

In some ways the display panel is like your dashboard. I like the idea of it being integrated… connections can be a weak point. If the display is using the latest version of Corning’s Gorilla Glass it should hold up for a long time… unless some idiot comes along with a hammer. If I see a need for a slap guard in the future I’ll pick one up. I do have large hands so I suspect the thumb shifter will work well for me. I always carry spare batteries as I can be forgetful. Tires are meant to be eventually upgraded. This bike is built for long term durable use. The upgrade options are unlimited and one only needs imagination. Happy Holidays, from The Land of 10,000 Lakes

3 months ago

Great feedback! It sounds like the RadCity would be a great fit for you… I realize that many times my “cons” aren’t applicable, I try to record them as “considerations” that might apply to some riders and might be irrelevant to others. I do like the simplicity of this bike and agree that having a lower price to begin means you can afford more fixes or upgrades ongoing! I like ebikes with a single chainring for simplicity and weight savings but many are now offering a 9-speed cassette vs. 7, it’s a minor difference that doesn’t come into play much with the zero to 20 mph assisted speed here. The display is pretty great, but the clear cover is plastic, not gorilla glass, so it could get scratched up pretty easily. Maybe using a cell phone cover on top of the display could be a way to protect it?

3 months ago

Thanks Court for the tip on display covers…kind of like NASCAR’s rip-off windshield covers. When I watch your reviews I always take it into consideration that you almost weigh a hundred pounds less than me. You remind me of one of Santa’s elves.

3 months ago

Thanks Court for your always informative reviews. They have to help so many of us in making an educated decision on what electric bike to purchase. Just wondering if you’re still as big a fan of gearless hub motors after reading this Rad City review. Curious if you still think they provide enough throttle only power for most flatland standing starts? Looked capable in last years video. Same torque this year? This seems like a great bike at a great price point, but I have a bad hip and wondering if the Rad City still has acceptable throttle only torque, if needed. I’m 170 lbs. Just don’t want to be doing the dancing bike routine off the line. Thanks!

3 months ago

Hi Greg! I am a fan of gearless motors for specific applications and the RadCity is a great example of when it makes sense. I was mixed on the RadWagon because that bike is heavier and made to haul a big load. If it’s just one person riding, even with a bit of gear, the gearless motors should perform well enough. It’s not as zippy but I like how durable and quiet they are. You get a bit of regen braking but to me that’s a wash given the added weight and potential for cogging. There may be some steep starts where a bit of pedaling is required or ideal but this motor is definitely good enough for mostly flats and moderate climbs in my experience :)

Sanford Shultz
3 months ago

Hi Court,

Love the in depth reviews, even though the site has changed somewhat from the beginning. Im trying to decide between the Cross Current S and the new Rad City. My take is that the CCS is more of a performance, aggressive posture, speed oriented machine, whereas the Rad City is like a city cruiser. Ive never owed an E-Bike but am a 15 mile a day 64 y/o guy, riding a flat bar road bike. For my first venture into this space Id like to be at the mid teens price point, and I think that these two companies are offering lots of value and thoughtful engineering. I view Juiced as an athletic approach to E-biking and Rad as a very savy, calculating organization, who in my opinion has their finger on the pulse of the industry. I wish the Rad City had a higher max speed and hydraulics. Im aware of some of the issues Juiced has faced, and am not sure if they will address the dysfunctional USB port on their Feb 2018 delivery. Additionally RAD is using the 35E Samsungs, and Juiced seems to be committed to LG. Would you consider the Juiced battery old technology? Any insight and feedback would be greatly apppreciated.

Sanford Shultz

3 months ago

Hi Sanford! I think you got it right, the Crosscurrent S is more speedy and aggressive compared to the RadCity. It’s an awesome bike with those hydraulic brakes and the dual bottle cages etc. but I’m 34 years old and have a sensitive back and neck so the higher speed isn’t necessarily good for me that way and I love the new mid-rise bar and suspension fork on the Rad Power Bikes models. I wish that both bikes had an integrated rear light, but Juiced probably wins on their headlight being brighter (though a bit funky looking), I think the Rad 48 volt 14 amp hour battery is GREAT and beats Juiced on capacity… same with their functional USB port, and I expect their shipping times and support to be better overall than Juiced because their team is bigger and they have the Velofix thing. I like both companies and am trying to be objective here, I would be awfully tempted by the Juiced, it’s great that they offer many frame sizes, but might end up with Rad simply because of comfort and price, I like that they also have a step-thru RadCity because my knee and hip are sensitive (that one also has more swept-back handlebars). It’s a really close call, I wish you luck and hope these thoughts help :)

2 months ago

Hi Court, Would you recommend the 2018 version of the Rad Power, 2017 version or the Voltbike Elegant?

2 months ago

Hi Matthew! I’d probably go with the RadCity because it offers high-step and step-thru frame styles, has a nicer drivetrain, and a higher capacity battery pack. Yes, it also weighs about 5 lbs more and costs a couple hundred dollars more. Both of these ebikes offer incredible value. Part of the reason the RadCity weighs more is that it uses a gearless hub motor which isn’t as zippy but also runs quieter. This is a mixed point for me, the VoltBike Elegant is certainly very good and I do often prefer lighter bikes that won’t have cogging drag. It’s a toss up, I hope this helps you consider the two and make the best decision for your lifestyle and budget :)

2 months ago

Hey there Court, Looking at getting the ’18 RadCity, my locality allows ebikes up to 1kw, but does not designate a top speed. I was wondering if you knew if I could increase the speed to closer to 30 mph? I know Rad Power limits them to 20 mph from the factory.

Thanks for the great information!

1 month ago

Hi Kevin! I have heard that some users were able to adjust their max speed to somewhere around 24 mph by going into the display settings, but this is not something I have experimented with. Perhaps you can find some examples or ask for feedback in the Rad Power Bikes Forums. Feel free to share your own experiences if you test it out or figure out something on your own.

4 weeks ago

Hi Court, Great reviews. I really like the RadCity but not sure which size would be best for me. I’m 5’10” and prefer something with a lower standover height so I don’t have to swing my leg over the seat or if I have some cargo strapped on the rack. Do you think the 16″ is too small for someone 5’10”? So I can get a sense of size from the videos, can you tell me how tall are you and how tall are they guys from Rad Bicycles? Thanks

3 weeks ago

Hi Tom! I’m about your size, 5’9″ tall, and I believe they provided the medium sized frame. It felt good to me, but they also sell a step-thru if you really want to make it easier to approach. Smaller frames aren’t usually an issue in terms of leg extension (just raise the saddle) but you might have a shorter reach and more upright body position. Depending on how you approach the bike (like if you swing your leg over the rack and saddle) a lower frame might not matter if the seat is way up high. It becomes more important when hopping off and straddling the top tube in urgent moments.


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

2 days ago

Hello Banzai,

Thanks for the helpful review of the RPB Stepthru. I also come from a motorcycling background, but haven't ridden for several years. I'm 68 years old, over weight and out of shape at 265 pounds. I have a Voltbike Yukon 750 Limited with a 500 watt geared hub motor and it is great at hill climbing, but I need a bike that I can fit into my 2016 Hyundai Tucson. I think that Radcity or a Radcity Stepthru with the front wheel removed should fit. Now, I like the looks of both bikes, but I would prefer to get the high step, because I think that there would be less frame flexing; however, I just wonder how accurate the stand over height of the high step frame is on the Radcity website. My inseam is 29 inches and I wonder if I would be able to stand over the frame without touching it. With my Yukon, the top tube is right in my crotch and I shudder to think what would happen if I had to stop hard and come off the seat onto the top tube (OUCH!!!) I like the idea of a stepthru because of what I just mentioned, but worry about it flexing under hard pedaling because of my weight. Also, I wonder if the motor on either version of the bike with the gearless direct drive motor would have enough power to carry me (while pedaling) up hills (on road).

The temperature up here in Port Perry, Ontario (NE of Toronto) is still a bit too cold for riding, but hopefully, I will be able to get out on the Yukon in another week or so.

So, if anyone who has the direct drive motor on their bike could comment, I would appreciate it.


2 days ago

SoCal has some excellent trails to ride on the sands of the Mojave Desert. Fortunately a lot of it is hard packed but there are soft spots the equivalent of soft beach sand. The typical trail ride here will have you running thru portions of each, but it is not impossible for any bike to traverse as shown by the road bikes and their narrow tires that travel on some of them. The two RAD Power Bikes I have do exceptionally well, each performing a little differently, but certainly able to tackle any terrain the desert has to offer. I rode thru the desert for years on motorcycles tricked out for desert racing. Can't do that anymore because the desert has been closed off to offroading except for designated areas and occasional sanctioned events. But I can still have fun riding on secluded back roads and trails on a 2017 RAD Rover and my new 2018 Rad City Step Thru. That's fine because the potential to bonzai down these trails needs to be reined in somewhat because afterall, they are not mountain bikes and won't hold up to the harsh treatment those bikes normally get. The two bikes that are quite different structurally, but since the Step Thru is new I'll be talking about it most and will mention first that there is no need to be timid about riding trails just because your new Step Thru is a city commuter bike, it is also equipped for trail rides and holds its own with its power and its 26'x2.3" dual purpose tires.

The RAD City Step Thru is powered by a Shengyi rear hub motor and although not having the low end thrust of the Rover, when in throttle mode it gradually gains power as speed increases, but gains full power quickly when pedaling in power assist mode. The rider never has to be concerned about a sudden thrust forward on the Step Thru. It behaves very well and can still be ridden everywhere the Rover can travel, and while getting accustomed to riding it, ran it thru different areas of difficulty just to see how well it performs. It blasts thru patches of soft sand that would stop a road bike in it's tracks. This is because the tires are the same tread and width found on many mountain bikes, and they are built for traction on all sorts of surfaces. They are not intended for all-day riding in soft sand, but regardless the Step Thru will still develop power quickly from a dead stop in first gear in power assist mode. Getting started in soft sand just using the throttle takes a little coaxing for it to finally develop sufficient power. This is when shifting down before needing the low end boost helps to keep from getting bogged down unnecessarily in a difficult situation. Each push of the gear shift button raises the gear to the next higher gear, and pushing the lever switches gears down to the next lower gear. Button Up, Lever Down.

Riding offroad in pedal only mode with no help from the motor entirely blew away my original thinking. It is quite easy, and it's nice knowing that if somehow all the power gets used up, the bike can still be pedaled just like a real bicycle. 90% of the trails I ride can be ridden easily and without any real effort using pedal power only. That is unless it is pushing against the wind, in which case when climbing steep sandy hills its best to be in at least step 3 of power assisted mode or risk stalling out halfway up the hill. Afterall, that is why we buy e-bikes - for the POWER! Otherwise on an excellent day for riding with no wind, I can take either bike and never use any power at all to ride the 15 miles into town on a trail that runs up and down hills and through washouts. The ride back is even easier with some fast downhills.

In addition to the introduction of a new style of city bike, 2018 at RPB also saw some changes in bike design and new power components. The 5 power assist modes on the new City limit the bike's speed while pedaling so I always put it on step 5 as I start up the hill to my residence. I would guess the mile long hill to be about a 10% grade, and I have no problem topping it in 7th gear and PAS 5 at 20 MPH. Topping the hill just using the throttle is slower, but the bike wants to FLY UP THAT HILL when pedaling using power assist! The watts indicator shows about 550 watts whereas powering the bike without pedaling jumps immediately up to 750 watts while sadly bogged down at around 15 MPH.

The new City bike requires keeping the key close by and must be used to allow it to power up. To turn the battery power off now also requires using the key. That's probably a new safety feature that works for many riders, but I prefer the older push button on/off instead. Ah well, such is progress.

Overall I am really impressed with the design and performance of the new RAD City Step Thru and that it is even suitable for some youngsters to ride. It's an excellent bike for running errands, and for even taking a trip out on a secluded trail to get away from the noisy city and its traffic.

4 days ago


4 days ago

Some nice cargo ebikes there, a friend just ordered a Riese & Muller Packster 60 and from what I've read it can be a true car replacement. I'd be wary of getting a Bionx converted cargo bike because they have gone into receivership and used a proprietary system so batteries and parts may be hard to get in future. To be fair the 2018 Rad Power bikes use a custom battery case which can't be swapped out for a generic replacement but at least those can be https://ebikemarketplace.com/collections/rebuilt-batteries with new cells unlike a Bionx battery.

4 days ago

Yes, I love the way they structure that. I really don't know what a normal delivery day will be like for Caviar, but if i go with a Rad i will most def gets the rack.

4 days ago

Also worth noting the 2018 Rad Power bikes have a cargo tray that fits onto the rear or front racks.

7 days ago

The reason I picked Rad Power Bikes was because they were regular standard bikes with ebike components added. Almost any part that fits a regular bike will fit on a Rad Power Bike (makes upgrades/mods easy). I took my Radrover to a regular bike shop to put the ebike together and tune bike stuff up (adj. brakes, TQ spokes, adj. derailleur, pedal cranks, etc...) . I just needed to charge the battery to balance out the cells before the first ride was the only thing I had to do to the ebike component. The Rad ebike components require zero maintenance or software/firmware upgrades. Any issues with the hub motor, wiring harness, battery, controller, or LCD can just be replaced and new parts are plug-n-play.

Angela M
2 weeks ago

I'm really liking my 2018 RadRover after making a few modification for a more forward, less upright ride. Using it for a work out on road, trail & mountain-ish rides -- it's pretty heavy for full-on mountain biking, in my opinion, but you can definitely use it for trail & pavement. Changed out the stock tires due the the pesky thorns in my area, which really helped. Overall, the bike seems like a very well made machine and Rad Power Bikes offers excellent customer service & support, which is a big deal to me. I'm getting great distance with the battery, and it's faasssst when you crank it up! Went for a 30 mile ride the other day and used up only 2 of 5 bars on the battery, but I do like to peddle a lot. If you like a more upright, plush ride then you probably won't feel the need to make any modifications. I'm just used to riding road & mountain bikes so I wanted a more aggressive feel. Happy shopping!

2 weeks ago

I'm not an expert on this stuff, but I have noticed a few things about our RadMini that seem a little different than most bikes I have ridden.

First, the bottom bracket seems to be higher off the ground than "normal". Because of this, I had to raise the seat up higher to keep the distance between the seat and the pedals right. This higher seat position has me sitting where I can just barely touch the ground with my toes when I am stopped. I am 5'8" tall, with a 29" inseam, so I don't consider myself abnormally short. But if I was any shorter, I don't think I could ride the RadMini comfortably. The Rad Power Bikes page says this bike fits riders from 5'2" to 6'2". I would really like to see a 5'2" person ride it - I think that would be very entertaining!

The second thing is, you sit pretty far back on the bike. Plus, most of the bike's weight is centered toward the rear. This makes the bike feel kinda "wheelie prone" to me. Since the motor makes so much torque, I have to be careful not to apply too much throttle when first starting out. Same with the PAS - if it is set too high (above step 1 or 2), then when you start pedaling it really wants to take off. If you aren't accustomed to this motor torque and performance and it catches you off guard, it could easily dump you on your rear end.

I don't know if either of these things had anything to do with your problems. I have found that once I adjusted to the higher seating position and instant motor response, I have really enjoyed riding the bike. It is very zippy feeling, and steers very lightly considering its weight and the big fat tires. I hope you are soon able to get back on your bike and finally have some fun with it.

Good Luck!

2 weeks ago

I think you should get the features that support your riding style and environment. I really like having a throttle because it does support the way I like to ride:
- getting across intersections in a hurry,
- short boost up short inclines to maintain my speed,
- helps me get going if I need to start riding on an incline
- use the throttle for max speed if I need to make a green light
- use throttle for turns or over/between obstacles where my pedals might hit
- assist in getting up to cruising speed a lot faster when work commuting
- really use the throttle for less shifting during winter because I have heavy gloves and Bar Mitts on. Pretty much can stay in top gear my entire work commute with minimal drop in travel time

I also had a few emergency situations where the throttle came in handy:
- left pedal crank fell off the first week I purchased my Radrover (recovered the crank; but, lost the crank bolt). Use the throttle to ride the 3 miles back home
- wrecked on my bike trail riding and broke 3 bolts in half on my handlebar stem and banged by body up pretty good. Able to get back on the road just using the throttle to ride the 4 miles back home. Would have been too painful to PAS pedal and awkward with the floppy handlebar.
- store/charge my ebike in the unused office space next to my office on the 2nd floor. Elevator was out; but, I used my throttle to walk my 70lbs ebike up the stairs with ease
- used the throttle when I had to walk my bike up steep inclines or over obstacles I couldn't ride over
- use the throttle when trail riding when I hit really deep sandy areas. Pretty much need full power when the sand starts to get +2" deep
- several times during single track trail riding in the summer I had to sit on the downtube and duck my head down to the handlebar level to make through the trail because of so many low branches and overgrowth. Bumping the throttle came in handy instead of having to walk the bike (6'3" and I sit a little under 7" on Radrover with helmet with Niterider Pro 2200 light on).

I think you see so many different answers to the the questions is because of several things based on the individual ebiker's riding style, ebike type, and environment. Not all throttles are created the same:

- My Radrover has an on/off throttle button and provides up to full 750w/80 Nm tq power at any PAS level (even PAS 0). I can get to my cruising speed of 17-20 mph pretty quick with that much tq while keeping my Radrover in PAS 3 (375 max watts @ PAS 3). I can keep my eyes on the road at all times bumping the throttle since I don't have to glance down to double-check the gears or PAS levels.

- Other ebikes sometimes reduce the throttle power levels in relationship to the current PAS levels. It would way too hard to use my throttle if power was limited to current PAS power levels. Too much button pushing if I had to adjust the PAS level, change gears, and reset PAS level after the intersections/hazards compared to just bumping the full power throttle only.

I would add to the '"throttle -vs- no throttle" debate is how the throttle works with the different ebikes. I wouldn't have much of a need for a throttle if the operation was more complicated or had restricted power levels per PAS compared to the Rad Power Bikes set-up.

Mr. Coffee
3 weeks ago

Rad Power bikes is in Seattle and has a store/showroom in Ballard. They don't sell kits but their bikes retail from $1500-$1600.

I'd suggest paying them a visit, talking to them about what your needs are, and perhaps try out their bikes.

4 weeks ago

I had a similar issue when I ordered my his/her Radrovers back in Sept/2016. Both Rads were delivered the same day; but, one box looked like it took a detour in a war zone. That same bike had issues with:
- replaced pedal crank bolt, couldn't get the bolt tight even with loctite and pedal crank would become loose after 5 miles
- had to bend the front disk brakes true. Helped to tighten the spokes to help true the rim also.
- replaced the controller because of 30 maintain error
- replaced the battery that wouldn't charge (turned out to be just a bad internal .50 cent fuse)
- bent the rear derailleur back into place to keep the chain from rubbing the rear tire in lower gears

Rad Power Bikes was very helpful and extremely responsive in resolving all the issues I've had. It was nice I had a second Radrover as a back-up and to double-check "normal" operation of both bikes.

I figured Rad Power Bikes would improve its shipping boxes by now? I guess it is cheaper to fix the damaged ebikes compared to improving all the shipping boxes for every bike.:(

17 hours ago

Thanks for the feedback on the Rad Step-thru. I have two his/her Radrovers since 2016 before the Radcity or Rad Step-thru were available. The wife's Radrover is just a touch too large for her and she wanted something with a lower seat, step-thru design, and lower stand-over height. Even the smaller RadCity seems to be a touch too tall for her on paper and she didn't like the looks of the Radmini, no suspension on the mini, and loud tire noise with the Kenda. She is only a moderate pace paved road rider and the Rad Step-thur seems to fit her riding style. It really sounds like the Rad Step-thru will get her back on the ebike again.

20 hours ago

Hello wakjagner and Banzai,
Thank you both for your input, it is much appreciated. I have in fact looked at the possibility of getting a Radmini, since it would easily fit into the back of my Tucson. However, since I already have a fat tire bike which I like for the situations that I use it in, which are riding on the gravel shoulders of the highways in my area and on gravel trails; I much prefer the ride (and lack of noise ) that a bike with skinnier, road type tires provides. So, that has left me with what I see as two possible choices: a folding bike with 20 inch wheels like the Voltbike Urban or a bike like the Radcity. I am thinking that with the front wheel removed and the seat removed as well, the Radcity or the Radcity stepthru might fit into the Tucson. The reason I say that is because I am able to get my Yukon into the back of the Tucson with the front wheel removed, but in truth, it is a heavy beast and it was a struggle, almost a two person job. I would think that my best option would be to spring for a 20 inch folder, but I have never ridden one and am uncertain about how well suited it would be for longer rides in terms of comfort and handling (twitchy?).

Again, thanks to you both for your very helpful input. I will continue to gather information and ideas from people to aid me in my (seemingly never-ending) search.

Best regards.

23 hours ago

I'm at around 270 and have experienced zero concern with flexion in the Rad City Stepthru. I haven't done any real offroading with it, just street and a few trails, but it's overbuilt quit extensively in that regard.
I'd be cautious regarding the take down- this bike is surprisingly large. If you could fit your Yukon in your Tucson by taking off the front wheel, you'd probably be able to fit the Step Thru by doing so, but I was a bit surprised by the overall height and girth of the bike- perhaps I was too used to my touring bike but the Step Thru seems much taller at the handlebars and seat.

Banzai- Glad to hear regarding the sand and the trails, I haven't gotten very adventurous with mine yet and that's good to know.
You must be in significantly better shape than me, as pushing this lumbering bike around with out PAS was unappealing to me :D

4 days ago

Either of those would be a good choice though both have a 20mph speed limit. The Juiced Cross Current S is certainly quick, also https://crazylennysebikes.com/collections/demo/products/eg-milan-500-ex-demo-madison are selling an https://electricbikereview.com/eg/milan-500-ex/ for a grand and a http://www.bagibike.com/electric-bicycles/bagibike-b29-white for https://crazylennysebikes.com/collections/demo/products/bagi-bike-b29-demo-winter-garden-florida plus maybe $300 shipping and either will get up to 28mph pedalling.

4 days ago

Reading this thread with a lot of interest - thanks to all the contributors so far. I was thinking about a RadCity but I'm worried that the mid-mount will be better suited to handle the two hills I'll have to travel when commuting, both short but >9%. Plus, the price on the Urban Plus is eye-catching, and it's a great looking bike in either color option.

bob armani
4 days ago

Xeon- I agree with Chris regarding the Juiced bikes in either a step thru or a size small frame. The Voltbike looks like it fits also. Not sure where you are located, but there are some shops that stock Juiced for a test ride to see how the geometry on the bike fits your stand over and reach to the handlebars.

I also recommend Easy Motion -The Easy Go bikes listed on their website in the Prior Models category. I particularly like the 'Easy Go Street' which would be a candidate in your price range. We own one and is a great bike for the $$ and carries a great warranty if needed. https://emotionbikesusa.com/easygo-street/

bob armani
4 days ago

Xeon- I agree with Chris regarding the Juiced bikes in either a step thru or a size small frame. Not sure where you are located, but there are some shops that stock them for a test ride to see how the geometry on the bike fits your stand over and reach to the handlebars.

I also recommend Easy Motion -The Easy Go bikes listed on their website in the Prior Models category. I particularly think the Easy Go Street would be a candidate in your price range being we own one and it is a great bike for the $$


4 days ago

I looked at both when upgrading from my RadCity this spring. To my mind the main differences are the weight and range. The Sprite is considerably heavier, and with the less efficient Currie mid-drive, has way less range than the Detour with the Shimano STePs. The Currie does have a throttle (or emergency motor assist button more like) option. Option being the word. It has to be added. I am not certain what kind of sensor system the Currie motor uses...I have read that it is more like a cadence sensor...but I know that the STePs system uses cadence, torque, and speed sensors to aid in smooth power transmission. I went for the Detour, even though there were amazing deals on the 2017 Sprites. For me the lighter weight and greater range trump the lack of throttle (option). Now, having the bike for a few weeks, I am totally happy with my choice. I don’t miss the throttle on the RadCity at all.

Nova Haibike
4 days ago

Of the bikes on your list, I think the Volt is the best choice. The Radcity is slightly better bike, but the size might be an issue (and they are out of stock of the step-thru). I would stay away from the Addmotor, and in my experience, the folding mechanisms on a lot of folding bikes is sketchy, so I would rule out the Ness as well.

If you could stretch the budget to $2K, the Prodecotech Genesis step-thru is spec'd incredibly well for its price.

5 days ago

yes: what kind of a rider will i be. SEDATE is a great word, it may be an option with my new 52 year old body. thank you for this invite. i would love that TERN, ugh, the price...

5 days ago

Looking to purchase an ebike as a car alternative- I live only 3.5 miles from work, and rarely go anywhere else farther than that, so buying a ebike makes more sense to me than a car. I also work extremely early in the morning, so riding the bus isn't an option.

My budget is 1000-1500 MAX$ [monthly financing is a plus!]

I'm not very mechanically inclined, and while enjoy bike riding haven't owned one since I was in middle school, so understanding the various components has me at a loss, but here's some of the things I'd like:

-Throttle!! [my 3 mile ride to work is essentially a giant hill, would take mostly bike path/side walk, also would be good if I get ambushed in the dark, sounds paranoid but seriously you never know]
-Weather [my city is notorious for drastic weather changes, so being waterproof is necessary, be cool if it was good for snow]
-I'm 5'4" and about a 105lb so not something that's massive and ultra heavy
-Fenders and chain guards
-I think 2" tires would be good. The sidewalks are in somewhat disrepair. Should I go for fat tires?
-Reliability! I don't wants chains coming off and whatnot as I probably don't know how to put them back on without youtube assistance, so a brand with great customer service a plus!!!
-Bonus points for something vaguely stylish
- Front light!!!! I will be night riding and absolutely need light, and something powered by the main battery would be awesome!
-bonus points for a small rack to stash my work uniform or something
- I mean, folding would be useful but I'd prefer reliability over that.
-Bonus points for pre-assembled, but I do have a handyman who has built bikes before as backup

Things I don't care about:
-fancy gizmos like usb ports
-cargo [no kids, no heavy grocery shopping, I only buy what i can walk with]
-super fast speeds [I'm a small girl I just want to get to work without dying]

I was looking at the Ness Icon, Radcity/Rover, and the Addmotor Motan bikes a bit.

I thought about springing for the Motan but hardly see any reviews outside of Amazon, and honestly would prefer not to buy from Amazon. Thought about Radcity but is it just hype?
What about this one" http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-elegant-46.html

Really could use some help as I am out of my depth. It's something I've been considering for a very long time and I think I have read enough reviews to be ready to commit to a bike. Any suggestions or recommendations would be wonderful.

john ahern
4 days ago

Would the RadCity be OK for some light off road rides?

mitchell megaw
1 week ago

I'm 5 11 and I don't know if I should get the large or the medium because my height is kind of in between the recommended frames.

Cody Walters
2 weeks ago

How well does this bike do on a actually mtb bike trail?Not some easy dirt trail. I'm talking a moderate to intermediate trail with berms and drops. Will it hold up?

Time Travelling Video Guru
2 weeks ago

乇乂ㄒ尺卂 ㄒ卄丨匚匚

John Hufnagel
3 weeks ago

Well made, quality and durability. Definitely would be on my "buy it" list without the decals.

Armando Aleman
3 weeks ago


Armando Aleman
3 weeks ago


Armando Aleman
3 weeks ago

making banknotes from Chinese slavery MF

3 weeks ago

what kinda helmet is that

Ron J
4 weeks ago

No flats

Ron J
4 weeks ago

I'm in Saskatchewan... full 80 psi tires... year round..

4 weeks ago

Can you please do a comparison between the 16" & the 19"?

4 weeks ago

Size comparison...

first name
1 month ago

I hope they can sell Rad city here in Europe.

Wayne Carter
2 months ago

any kind of warranty on these bikes ?

simon chapman
2 months ago

1 year

2 months ago

Does the motor feel like it surges on and off once you hit the rated (governed) max speed?
My only experience was with a mid drive unit and didn't like the feel.
Just curious if the hub drives felt the same way in that regard.

Thank you

Otis Page
2 months ago

Got the 2017 version. I’m 62 and 270 6-5. Crazy fun. I take 2 batteries and end up going 30 miles.

CRUSTY and DUSTY game reviews
1 week ago

Is that with using throttle only?

icloud chris
2 months ago

Is it possible to put on a Yepp seat with the panniers on the sides?

Kameron T Devin
2 months ago

You get so much for your money, and it's just from such a great group of people that care about your safety as well. Thx Cort...

2 months ago

I agree, glad you enjoyed the video Kameron!

2 months ago

I’m disappointed with Rad Power Bikes. Rad shipped the 2018 RadRover’s out to their customers that bought them but NO other bikes are available yet. Rad took full payment for the pre orders but still no bike other than the RadRover is available. Other big Big companies only take a deposit and the rest of the payment when the Bikes ship. I pre ordered and paid in full for a 19” RadCity. I GUESS RAD POWER BIKES IS WAITING FOR THE SLOW BOAT FROM CHINA TO ARRIVE!!!

2 months ago

Really nice ebike for the price. Doesn't look cheap. Lots of thought put into those bikes. Puts a lot of the competition to shame.