Evelo Delta Review

Evelo Delta Electric Bike Review
Evelo Delta
Evelo Delta 750 Watt Bafang Bbs02 Mid Motor Mid Kickstand
Evelo Delta 48 Volt 11 6 Amp Hour Mid Frame Battery Pack
Evelo Delta Large Center Mount Display Panel Trigger Throttle
Evelo Delta Sr Suntour Xcr Air Suspension 120 Mm Travel
Evelo Delta Plastic Chain Guide Large Alloy Pedals Plus Sized Nobby Nic Tires
Evelo Delta Nuvinci N380 Continuously Variable Transmission Hub
Evelo Delta Semi Integrated Wiring Mid Motor
Evelo Delta 2 Amp Electric Mountain Bike Charger
Evelo Delta Electric Bike Review
Evelo Delta
Evelo Delta 750 Watt Bafang Bbs02 Mid Motor Mid Kickstand
Evelo Delta 48 Volt 11 6 Amp Hour Mid Frame Battery Pack
Evelo Delta Large Center Mount Display Panel Trigger Throttle
Evelo Delta Sr Suntour Xcr Air Suspension 120 Mm Travel
Evelo Delta Plastic Chain Guide Large Alloy Pedals Plus Sized Nobby Nic Tires
Evelo Delta Nuvinci N380 Continuously Variable Transmission Hub
Evelo Delta Semi Integrated Wiring Mid Motor
Evelo Delta 2 Amp Electric Mountain Bike Charger

Summary

  • One of the more powerful purpose-built electric mountain bikes I have tested to date, possibly the only setup like this with a trigger throttle that overrides assist 1-5, unlockable higher speeds
  • Unique combination of trail capable and urban oriented features such as rear rack bosses and kickstand mounts alongside premium knobby tires and 120 mm air suspension with boost hub
  • Continuously variable transmission from NuVinci allows for shifting at standstill, reduced chain and sprocket wear (given the mid-motor drivetrain) and an overall clean, durable build
  • The motor produces a distinct whining noise at full power, you have to pay extra for the nicer fork and hydraulic disc brakes, cadence sensing assist isn't as fluid as torque or multi-sensor

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Evelo

Model:

Delta

Price:

$3,499 ($3,899 Fully Loaded)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Moped or Motorcycle (Class 4)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 4 Year (20,000 mile) Frame, Battery, Motor, Controller

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

57.4 lbs (26.03 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.4 lbs (2.9 kg) (Larger Pack 9 lbs)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Small 15" Specs: 15.5" Seat Tube, 22.5" Reach, 29" Stand Over Height, 29.5" Width, 73.5" Length, Large 19" Specs: 19.3" Seat Tube, 22.75" Reach, 29" Stand Over Height, 29.5" Width, 74.25" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Gloss Space Gray (Gloss Black with Blue Accents), Matte Asphault

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCR Air Suspension, 120 mm Travel, Boost 110 mm Hub, 15 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release, Optional RockShox Reba Air Suspension, 120 mm Travel, Compression Clicker with Lockout, Rebound Adjust, Rigid Aluminum Alloy, Boost 110 mm Hub, 15 mm Maxle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

142 mm Hub, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 Speed 1x∞ NuVinci N380 Mechanical Continuously Variable Transmission, 22 Tooth Sprocket

Shifter Details:

Nfinity C8 Grip Twist on Right Bar (Optional NuVinci Grip Twist on Right Bar)

Cranks:

8Fun AC08-2 Alloy Crank Arms, 170 mm Length, 48T Chainring

Pedals:

VP-565 Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2", Threadless Internal Cups, Two 10 mm Headset Spacers, Two 5 mm Headset Spacers

Stem:

FSA V-Drive, 90 mm Length, 6° Angle

Handlebar:

FSA Comet, Low-Rise, Aluminum Alloy, 9° Back Sweep, 4° Up Sweep, 740 mm Length

Brake Details:

Shimano BR-M375 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitor, Optional Tektro Auriga E-Comp Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro 3-Finger Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Velo, Flat, Texturized Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Selle Royale, Black (Optional Upgrade Program)

Seat Post:

FSA Gossamer, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

340 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 32 Hole Front, 36 Hole Rear

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge, Silver with Adjustable Brass Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Nobby Nic, 27.5" x 3.0"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

15 to 35 PSI, TLE Tubeless Easy Snakeskin, EVO Evolution, Trail Star 3, Reflective Logos

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Optional Comfort Package (Ergon GP2-L Ergonomic Locking Grips, Suspension Seat Post, Extra Large Saddle for $200), Optional Safety Package (High Powered Lights, Bar-End Mirror, Bell, Reflective Light Band for Pants $99), Optional Commuter Package (Teflon Lubricant, Tire Levers, Patch Kit, Mini-Pump, Hex Key Wrench Set $99)

Other:

Locking Removable Downtube Mounted Battery, 1.6 lb 2 Amp Battery Charger, 300 lb Max Weight Rating, KMC Z-Chain, Dropout Mount Rear Kickstand Provisions, Bottom Bracket Mount Center Kickstand Provisions

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang BBS02

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Peak Output:

960 watts

Motor Torque:

120 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung (A, B Rated Cells) (Optional Panasonic)

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

6 hours (Up to 6 With Larger Pack)

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Evelo Branded King Meter, Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Bars), Odometer, Trip Meter, Speed, Average Speed, Max Speed, Mode (None, Eco, Standard, Power, Speed), Watt Output

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Left, Backlight (Hold Up Arrow), Walk Mode (Hold Down Arrow), Trip to Odometer (Press M Button), Speed to Avg Speed to Max Speed (Hold Up and M Button), Settings Menu (Hold Up and Down)

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (8 Pole Cadence Sensor, Torque Sensor)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (Unlock Off-Road Mode to 30 MPH)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

EVELO created something truly unique, capable, and exciting with the Delta. I don’t usually gush like this, but it’s true! This is the first purpose built mid-drive powered electric trail bike that I have ever seen with a NuVinci continuously variable transmission, trigger throttle override offering full power, premium plus sized tires, an unlockable higher speed for off-road use, and multiple frame size and color options. The motor power and battery capacity are no joke, this thing basically maxes out the legal stats with a custom integrated BBS02 centerdrive rated nominally at 750 watts and a 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery. Both components are positioned low and center for optimized balance and handling, and because of the semi-integrated battery concept, there’s even room for bottle cage bosses on the seat tube. Now, it’s not all sunshine and rainbows here… the trade-offs are a “unique” looking battery slot which was chosen to avoid a design patent on downward-interfacing batteries, and louder less-smooth cadence activated pedal assist. I guess the higher price tag is also a consideration, it depends on the e-bikes you’ve been considering. With a base price of $3.5k and an optional fork + hydraulic disc brake upgrade raising it to $3.9, it’s definitely not what I would call affordable. For those dollars however, you get some of the best customer service I have seen. Evelo offers a unique four-year 20k mile warranty with a sliding-price battery replacement option depending on how much use the bike has had when it comes time for replacement. This is a company that has been selling electric bikes since before I started EBR in 2012. You can call them and talk to a real person, visit the flagship factory store in Seattle Washington as I did, or connect with one of their local dealers! There are some impressive hills to test the bikes on and I was blown away by the performance. Yes, I only weigh ~135 lbs, but I have not experienced this level of power on any other Class 2 electric bike to date. Alex, a representative from Evelo, went on the test ride with me and demonstrated that a 240 lb rider can also climb effectively, though he did pedal along a bit while I was able to go throttle only. To me, throttle activation is one of the most exciting and useful aspects of the bike. Being able to zip off the line from a stop sign or traffic signal… being able to rest your legs on a long steady climb… or being able to catch up with a friend without having to look down and click up or down to increase assist (or even shift gears) is awesome. That said, Class 2 e-bikes are not allowed on quite as many mountain bike trails as Class 1 at this time because of concern for possible trail damage and adverse rider behavior. For those who own some private land, work on a farm, need an electric bike as a pit bike at a racetrack, or enjoy riding off-road on OHV trails, EVELO can actually unlock the display to allow for ~30 mph riding (depending on terrain, rider weight, etc.)

Driving the Evelo Delta is a Bafang/8Fun BBS02 motor system that has been custom-integrated into a metal bottom bracket casing. I have reviewed the stock BBS02, which is designed to bolt onto the spindle tube of a non-ebike, and it hangs forward in such a way ground clearance is reduced and aesthetics are compromised. It is still one of the most popular aftermarket kits available, but it isn’t winning any beauty contests. Messy cables and bolt-on battery packs are another byproduct of the stock BBS02, but all of that is overcome through EVELO’s custom solution here. Some cables to protrude at the bottom bracket but they are mostly hidden and the battery pack is not nearly as vulnerable… nor does it get in the way of that bottle cage or a triangular frame bag like this. This is part of what you’re paying for, a nicer look with less vulnerable cables and parts. The motor itself seemed to perform as I had remembered from my stand-alone BBS02 review in 2014. It relies on an on/off cadence sensor that isn’t especially fluid but does start and stop quickly. This could be a good or bad thing depending on your needs; you don’t have to push hard to make it start, but it could feel abrupt if the power is set to high and you’re going from zero. The motor can also be loud when riding in the highest levels of assist, especially in a lower gear. But one of the neat things about the NuVinci continuously variable transmission hub is that you don’t really have gears. Instead, there’s a smooth transition from faster cadence (meant for climbing) or slower cadence (meant for attaining higher speeds). You can shift at standstill and there are no clicks or bangs as you might experience with a traditional derailleur. This is an important point because the Bafang BBS02 motor does not offer shift sensing or torque sensing… easing off of the pedals a bit is not going to slow the motor down and if you were to shift gears this way, the chain, sprockets, and derailleur would all take a beating. In this configuration, EVELO is minimizing drivetrain wear, reducing the potential for chain drops, reducing chain bounce and nicks on the right chain stay, and allowing you to shift at standstill. The NuVinci N380 is not a trivial or inexpensive component, and it’s not lightweight. Note the higher price and slightly higher weight of the frame at ~56.4 lbs (for the small frame I reviewed). I believe the downtube of the frame is also heavier because of the unique battery interface.

The battery pack on this bike is above average in terms of size and below average in terms of weight, exactly what you want. It offers a more efficient 48 volt power flow vs. 36 volts and has an 11.6 amp hour capacity for over 550 total watt hours of energy. Inside, there are Lithium-ion cells which I assume are higher quality because of the raised energy density and outstanding warranty on offer. This type of cell is known for being durable but you can maximize the lifetime of the pack by storing it in cool, dry locations and making sure it is 50% full for long term non-use. The battery clicks in from the right side of the bike and has a single charging port also on the right side that is high enough to clear the crank arm and pedal! This is a big deal, if you forget that the bike is charing and bump the cranks, it won’t present the same opportunity for snagging and damage that so many other batteries suffer from. The charging port and charging plug are the exact same whether you’re filling the pack on or off the bike, and the battery design has a little indented handle at the top for safe transport. There are so many other battery packs that forego this type of design care, Yamaha and Bosch come to mind but their packs have been smaller in capacity and they aren’t offered on bikes with throttles. Honestly, in some ways, I find the Evelo battery slot to be ugly, but I have to admit that it looks well protected and offers all the utility I could ask for. It also slid in smoothly and produced an audible click so I knew it was secure, it didn’t rattle during my test rides either… but the bike was brand new so I welcome your feedback.

Operating the bike was familiar because of the commonly used King Meter display panel. EVELO has their branding painted on the display, but the LCD and button pad are industry-standards. I appreciate the size of the readouts and bright backlighting (that you activate by holding the up arrow for a few seconds). You get extra readouts with this display and can reach them by pressing the center Mode button once it is turned on… You hold Mode to turn the bike on and off once the battery has been charged and mated to the frame. Arrowing up or down, you can explore 0, and 1-5 levels of assist. With 0, nothing really happens and the throttle is not hot. This mode would be good for using the display as a trip meter and preserving battery on flats when you don’t mind pedaling. As soon as you click up into level 1, the throttle becomes active with FULL POWER, which is exactly how I like it, but possibly a bit advanced for people who are not used to throttles. For example, if you coast to a stop and decide to get off of the bike without either arrowing back down to zero or turning it off and then you bump that paddle trigger near the left grip, the bike will lurch forward. Keep this in mind when showing the bike to friends, loading it onto public transportation, walking it into your garage or shed etc. just be thoughtful. For someone with a knee injury like myself, or a person with MS, or simply a desire for a moped feel, the throttle is a highlight and is easy to reach and use while still grasping the grips. The button pad is simple enough, and also easy enough to reach, that I did not have an issue interacting with it. On the right grip, you’ve got a half-grip twist for raising or lowering pedal cadence as discussed earlier. Instead of numbers, there’s an infographic with a little stick figure person riding a bike and as you twist the shifter, the ground beneath him becomes flat or turns into a steep hill. The idea is that you match your terrain to the graphic, turn it to look like a hill if you’re about to climb!

I’ve done a lot of features explaining up until this point, but now I want to talk about ride quality. The Delta feels balanced and solid. I have become a fan of the Plus Sized tires that in this case, are 27.5″ x 3″ which is much fatter than the common 27.5″ x 2.125″ or 2.25″. The increased air volume acts as a sort of suspension and dampens vibrations. The wider contact patch provides traction and float over bumpy terrain. These tires decrease deflection on angular surfaces (gripping and riding straight over), and they require a custom fork and frame to work right. The fork here is either a SR Suntour XCR Air Suspension with 120 mm Travel or RockShox Reba Air Suspension with 120 mm Travel and Compression Clicker with Lockout and Rebound Adjust. Both of them have longer hubs which increase spoke bracing angle creating a stronger wheel. The spokes are thicker 13 gauge so even though the bike is rated at 350 lb max weight, I’m guessing it could handle a bit more. I want to compliment the choice of Schwalbe Nobby Nic tires which have reflective graphics on the side and come tubeless ready (to be converted if you like). These are going to last longer than other generic tires might. And, getting back to how this electric trail bike could be used, the rear rack bosses and fender mounts mean that you could ride this into work without having to wear a backpack or deal with the mess of wet streets. It’s an incredibly versatile platform that I thoroughly enjoyed testing. Again, it’s not perfect, but it is fun and capable. Big thanks to Evelo for partnering with me on this review, and their employee Alex who met me in Seattle and rode up a super steep hill while I filmed. This company has always been a leader in terms of support, but their latest generation of products have raised the bar and truly impressed me. If you like how it looks, appreciate power and a throttle mode, and can justify the slightly higher price… which is very reasonable given the drivetrain and custom frame, it could be a great choice. As always, I welcome your feedback and experiences with the product and company in the comments below or the forums here.

Pros:

  • The Delta offers a very unique and exciting combination of off-road capability with the larger tires and suspension, urban utility with the rear rack and fender bosses, and efficiency with the mid-drive motor and NuVinci continuously variable transmission
  • The Bafang BBS02 motor is powerful but relies more on cadence signals than torque and can be harder on the chain and sprockets when using a derailleur… but that is completely alleviated with the NuVinci CVT hub, you can even shift at standstill
  • Available in two frame sizes so you can optimize body position and fit beyond seat height and stem position, note the additional riser stacks and angled stem which can be flipped if you want to get super aggressive and forward
  • Most of the Bafang BBS02 mid-motors I see are bolted to the bottom bracket of traditional bikes but this one is integrated into the bottom bracket, as a result, it has a much higher ground clearance and looks nicer
  • Interesting upgrade path, you can improve the suspension fork quality and move to hydraulic disc brakes for $400 more, but in all cases, the fork has a sturdy 15 mm thru-axle with Boost (wider hub for improved spoke bracing angle) and the head tube is tapered for strength
  • I love that even on the smaller frame size, Evelo was able to squeeze in bottle cage bosses so you can mount a holder, folding lock, mini pump or other accessory along the seat tube
  • Very few mid-drive electric bikes offer throttle on demand, this is a useful feature for those rides when you have to start and stop a lot or maybe you need extra power briefly but don’t want to fidget with the up/down assist buttons
  • Both brake options come with motor inhibiting levers, anytime you pull the brakes, the drive system will shut down immediately for safety
  • One of the benefits to using an internally geared or CVT hub is that there is only one chainring and one sprocket, the chain stays tight and probably won’t drop or bounce down and nick the right chainstay, the shifting mechanism is also smaller and better protected than a traditional derailleur that would hang down on the right and possibly get bent if the bike tipped
  • The plus sized Schwalbe Nobby Nic tires provide excellent traction with reduced deflection, you can ride across grass, over small rocks, and through soft forest type terrain more easily, the low pressure range lets you optimize squishy comfort and float without as much risk of pinch flats because of the large diameter of the tire (consider converting to tubeless for reduced weight and lower PSI, I believe that the tires are setup to allow for that)
  • 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery is much higher capacity than what I would consider average but it doesn’t weigh a lot, at ~6.4 lbs this thing is using nicer energy dense cells, you can remove it to reduce bike weight for transport or charging off the bike and the battery casing has a nice integrated handle to make it easier to carry
  • The thick 31.6 mm seat post is stronger and sturdier, a more trail-capable hardware part than the 27.2 mm and 30.9 mm I usually see, you could swap this with a suspension post for improved comfort but might need a shim adapter for thinner suspension posts, here’s a perfect fit and relatively affordable one from SR Suntour
  • Nice touch points, the Selle Royal saddle is active but more comfortable than a no-name cheap seat, the VP pedals are large and grippy, they feel solid and won’t bend the way cheaper cage style pedals might
  • I was told that this bike is rated up to 350 lbs, and I believe it! The frame felt very sturdy and the spokes are thicker 13 gauge vs. the stock 14g or 15g on a lot of other e-bikes
  • The frame and systems are purpose built, this means that cables are internally routed, vulnerable parts are reinforced, and the weight of the motor and battery are kept as low and centered on the frame as possible for stability
  • Interesting point with the Evelo Delta, I was told that there is a way to increase the top speed of the bike and make it more of an “off road” product if you live on a farm or private property and want to use it more like a moped, it would not be street legal in this configuration
  • EVELO offers three accessory packages to help you optimize the bike for comfort, safety, or commuting and in my experience with this sort of thing, the parts tend to look nicer and work better than if you try to guess on your own (and it costs a lot less this way)
  • Minor mention here but I think the Schwalbe Nobby Nic logo on the tires is reflective so you can be seen a bit easier from the sides if you ride in low light around cars

Cons:

  • Weighing in at ~57.4 lbs, this is not an especially lightweight electric mountain bike, the NuVinci CVT hub adds weight and I am guessing that the unique mid-mount battery punchout had to be reinforced for strength and also adds some weight… but it’s actually not as heavy as I was expecting
  • The cadence sensing pedal assist can feel a bit abrupt, it doesn’t matter whether you’re pushing hard or not, if you move the cranks the bike will take off… and it could take off hard if you’re in a higher assist level
  • Minor consideration here, the bike doesn’t come with a kickstand, but there is a standard mounting plate behind the motor or you could get a rear-mount kickstand that would stay out of the way, something like this might work or maybe this kickstand
  • The display panel looks beautiful, I love how large it is and appreciate that it can be swiveled forward and back to reduce glare… but it is not removable and could take more weather damage or scratches at bike racks, some people put their helmets over the display to help protect them when parking outside
  • The BBS02 is not as quiet as some of the other mid-drive geared motors I have tested like Brose or Shimano, it does seem to offer more power (and is rated higher) but you may notice the whirring sound in the video, especially when I was in a higher gear and the highest leve-5 assist setting

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More EVELO Reviews

Evelo Quest One Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A folding electric bike that's fairly lightweight at ~41 lbs, clean and simple thanks to a Gates Carbon belt drive, and still feature rich with fenders and integrated lights. Available in two color choices, offers pedal assist and throttle on demand, highly adjustable extra-long…...

Evelo Galaxy TT Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable but sturdy cruiser style electric bike with premium aesthetic, the mid-drive motor is powerful but quiet and offers responsive pedal assist plus throttle. EVELO has always offered great customer service and even has a trade-in program, the Galaxy…...

Evelo Aries Review

  • MSRP: $2,079
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full suspension city bike with basic mid-drive system (upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options). Nice accessories including USB charger, front and rear LED lights, mechanical disc brakes and a…...

Evelo Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $2,079
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Value driven but well rounded mid-drive ebike with upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options. Great features include backlit LCD display with built in USB charger, front and rear LED…...

2013 Evelo Aries Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable full suspension electric bike with mid-grade Lithium polymer battery. Decent strength (36 Volts of power) and range (10 amp hour capacity)...

2013 Evelo Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Offers lots of features but isn't particularly strong or fast as an electric bike. Entry level components get the job done and keep the price lower, unique frame flexes...


Boris Mordkovich
2 weeks ago

Hi everyone!

My name is Boris Mordkovich and I’m the CEO and co-founder here at EVELO!

Just wanted to let you know what we are available 7 days a week to answer any questions you may have about the Delta, our other models, or electric bicycles in general. If there’s anything we can do to help, you can reach us at 877-991-7272 or via email at contact@evelo.com.

If you’d like to reach me directly for any reason, you can do so at boris@evelo.com.

Thank you again,
Boris Mordkovich

Reply
Court Rye
2 weeks ago

Thanks Boris! I had a great time visiting your new factory store in Seattle and Alex was very helpful for this review. As always, I respect your high level of support and communication. With optimism ;)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Dwight
12 hours ago

I went with the fully loaded Evelo Delta, came with a 4 year, 20,000 mile warranty. My top speed so far is 33mph, torque rating at 120nm, this ebike is fast and powerful and so much fun to ride!!! The Delta has a throttle and a nuvinchi cvt with a 750 watt mid drive. Excellent customer service and fast shipping!

1/1
Dwight
1 day ago

My new Evelo Delta arrived Friday, I assembled it and charged the battery for 15 hours, took it for a short ride on Saturday and decided to change out the handlebars for a more relaxed ride, added a suspension seatpost, a rear rack and a couple of mirrors.

So far my top speed on a private road is 33 mph, this bike flies and is powerful, zips up hills like they were flat!

Decided to swap out suspension seat post and installed a dropper, so far absolutely love it, will most likely miss the suspension on a longer ride....

1/1
Dwight
2 days ago

This is what I bought....the Evelo Delta!

1/1
Clay
6 days ago

Take a look at the Evelo Delta, a little above your budget but you get a lot for your money. My Delta is being delivered this afternoon!

Go to evelo.com

Good luck and have fun!!!

I will do that Dwight. Thanks for the advice. Let us know how you like the Evelo. Enjoy!

Dwight
6 days ago

Take a look at the Evelo Delta, a little above your budget but you get a lot for your money. My Delta is being delivered this afternoon!

Go to evelo.com

Good luck and have fun!!!

Dwight
1 week ago

I ordered the Evelo Delta and it is due to arrive tomorrow afternoon, I will report back next week how well the throttle works with a mid drive and a CVT. The torque rating is 120 nm, a push of the throttle should get me through the intersection quickly....

John from Connecticut
2 weeks ago

I decided to upgrade the Deore components to XT. I think the only additional change will be to add a 40 or 42 Sprocket in the rear.

Here is the list of my current upgrades.

FRAME SET

Front suspension Rock Shox - Paragon Gold

WHEELS

Skewers Delta Cycle KnoxNut Skewer Set

DRIVETRAIN

Shimano XT 10-Speed SL-M780 Shift Levers
Shimano XT Shifter Mount SL78 I-Spec Integration Unit
Shimano XTR CS-M980 10-Speed Dyna-Sys Cassette 11-36
Shimano XT 10-Speed RD-M786 GS Shadow Plus Rear Derailleur

COMPONENTS

Shimano XT BR-M785 Disc Brakes Front
Shimano XT BR-M785 Disc Brakes Rear
Shimano XT RT81 160mm Ice-Tech Disc Brake Rotor
Shimano XT RT81 180mm Ice-Tech Disc Brake Rotor
Bontrager Commuter Gel Saddle
Bontrager backrack delux Large
Body Float 2.0 seatpost with 2-bolt head
Answer Products, The ProTAPER® 720 AM handlebar
Ergon GP1 Handlebar Grips
Novara Toe Clips with Straps

ACCESSORIES

Bosch Nyon 8Gig Controller
Planet Bike Blinky Super Flash 1/2-Watt Blaze LED Plus 2 eXtreme LED Rear
Planet Bike Tail Light Rack Bracket
Kryptonite New York Standard U-Lock
Jandd Mini Mountain Pannier, Black
CycleAware Reflex Mirror Safety

I just love upgrading! What have you upgraded on your bike?

Hi Jeff,
This is a bit old. I noticed on your Trek XM700+ you installed a Rock Shok Paragon Gold . I'm very interested in your thoughts
and opinion about the change from the Trek factory 'front suspension' . I have a an XM700+ that I ride on paved trails exclusively and would seriously
consider Paragon Gold if it will help with typical paved trail joint bumps and ripples from poor paving done years ago. Some of the 'joint bumps' are brutal.
By the way, like you I have a Body Float seat post...Wow, is it great. the best.

Thanks,
John

Rooster
2 weeks ago

How about this bike now and maybe the Hyper Fat in a couple years when it's finally ready:

https://electricbikereview.com/evelo/delta/
Biktrix, m2s, both make bike in this price range with more power and no wait and they are all nice bikes. Juiced is concentrating to much on this bike and not on existing problems with others that have already been shipped j.s. they need to step back and regroup. I'm sure the hyper fat will be bad ass but their trying to do to much at once.

CoachDennisGreen
2 weeks ago

How about this bike now and maybe the Hyper Fat in a couple years when it's finally ready:

https://electricbikereview.com/evelo/delta/

scrambler
1 month ago

So to the sarcastic anti throttle people about it being in some way cheating, I say watch out you never know what's coming down the road
This is a trend these days with the internet, people become narrow minded (at least in their words). If it does not suit them they feel compelled to shoot it down.
It is a sad trend of our century.

Btw I am thinking of upgrading to an Evelo delta ..more powerful mid drive bike with a throttle and some kind of new gear system .
The only thing I regret about the Evelo Delta, is that they used the BBS02 instead of the new Bafang Max Ultra. As a result, you only have a basic cadence sensor, instead of the Fully integrated Torque / cadence and speed sensor on the Ultra.
If the Delta had the Bafang Max Ultra and the new NuVinci N380x, I would probably be getting one :)

Drahuber
1 month ago

One area not discussed in support of throttles is for disabled people like me . I was a very keen cyclist before I got injured . Now I have a permanent disability and still want to cycle .
I have a very weak leg and despite using the pedal assist , there are times when I have to use the throttle. I am currently using a emotion neo 29er with a 250 w motor but is doesn't get me up steep bumps and hills when using my leg hard to trigger the torque assist ..because I just don't have the strength. So to the sarcastic anti throttle people about it being in some way cheating, I say watch out you never know what's coming down the road ..I didn't see my injury coming and now revel in my ability to still get out and ride . Btw I am thinking of upgrading to an Evelo delta ..more powerful mid drive bike with a throttle and some kind of new gear system .

fredi
1 month ago

This is my first ebike and my decision to buy her was based on getting the best ebike for me at the best price. First a little about me, I’m 60 years old, 6’1” and 230 lbs. A have a 34” Class-A RV and travel the east coast. On long trips I normally tow a Jeep Wrangler with a tray-style bike rack loaded with two or three mountain bike from a big box store. On short trips I leave the Jeep at home and mount the bike rack to the RV. Typical use of the bikes is for recreational riding in National and State parks. I thought it was time for a better bike and was intrigued with the idea of using ebikes and leaving the Jeep at home more.

I originally looked at Evelo because of their mid-drive with the NuVinci hub. They didn’t offer any local sales but work with local bike shops to provide service in conjunction with their 4-year/20,000-mile warranty. I was drawn to the Delta with the 750 watt mid-drive since all I’ve ever owned was mountain bikes and I wanted to make sure that it would get me up the hills. I soon discovered that where I live they only allow 500 watts and mid-drives are more efficient using the power, so while a 750 watt hub drive may struggle to get me up the hill, a 350 watt mid-drive should have less problems because they have higher performance, more torque and use less battery power. I also have always hated not being in the right gear at the right time and gnashing the gears and an Internally Geared Hub (IGH) like the NuVinci would solve those problems. Since I was planning on adding lots of comfort accessories like a plush seat, road tires, rear rack, fenders, lights, etc. and the Galaxy comes with all of those so I felt it was a better fit for me.

The Galaxy is billed as a comfort cruiser with an upright riding position, 27.5″ wheels and 2” tires on a ridge frame. Evelo makes two models the Galaxy, the GT with a step-through frame and the TT a traditional top tube frame. Each model comes in two versions, Premium or Fully Loaded. The Fully Loaded version upgrades the NuVinci N380 transmission to the Harmony fully automatic transmission and adds hydraulic brakes. So I ordered the Fully Loaded Galaxy TT version with a list price of $3899.

The bike came in about a week. She was double boxed and very well packed. The hardest part was getting the bike out of the box. I recommend having a little help here. Evelo isn’t kidding when they say the bike come almost fully assembled. Install the brake caliper, front wheel and fender, handlebars, headlight, and you’re done. They recommend charging the battery for 12 hours before the first use, so I plugged it in to charge overnight and then set about the process of assembling the bike which took about 30 minutes. They provided several allen wrenches, a couple of “real” boxed end wrenches and armed with the step by step instructions it was much easier to assemble than any bike I’ve ever bought from a big box store. My recommendation is that you put the fender on before you install the front wheel and then attach the brake caliper. The front wheel comes with a “Quick Release” so it’s really not a big deal.

The Galaxy is one of a small number of electric bikes that offer the NuVinci Harmony Automatic Transmission which allows me to enjoy the ride while it takes care of the shifting. In automatic it finds the proper gear while I dial in a comfortable cadence and set the assist level for my perfect ride. No more gnashing the gears and getting stuck on a hill because I was in the wrong gear. A simple button press changes the hub to manual mode, but I mostly I keep it in automatic on the lowest setting. The brushless motor combined with the Gates belt drive and the Harmony makes the ride smooth and virtually silent. I set the tire pressure to 50 lbs for a softer ride.

She comes with a 350 watt Bafang Max mid-drive motor (peak 600 watts) and uses a torque sensor (internal to the motor) and speed to determine how much power is drawn from the battery. The torque sensor uses a strain gauge inside the motor to measure pressure on the pedals. This allows for quick engagement and better sensitivity. I was concerned about the Galaxy’s uphill performance but found that she can easily climb hills at 8-12 mph that would normally bring me to a crawl. On level roads I can quickly reach the 20+ mph limit. At those speeds it’s nice to have the Tektro 180mm hydraulic disc brakes that provide great stopping power and simultaneously cut power to the motor. Once you stop there is a double fork kickstand to keep her upright.

The large backlit LCD display panel (made by King) is mounted center of the handlebars and can swivel forward or back to reduce glare. It’s easy to read and offers information about speed, distance, pedal assist, watts and a five segment battery charge level indicator. The control pad is located near the left grip, from there you can turn the bike on/off and select the level of assist. I really liked that holding the UP button turns on/off the backlight and holding the DOWN button activates “Walk” mode which moves the bike forward at about two mph. Pressing both the UP and DOWN buttons for 3 seconds puts you in the settings menu where you can increase the maximum speed to 25 mph, set the backlight level, and miles or kilometers. I set the wheel diameter to 27.5 inches since it defaulted to 26.

The bike has a thumb throttle but as a safety feature it doesn't engage unless the bike is moving. I originally thought I would need the throttle to get across an intersection or when starting up a hill, but the bike's torque sensor measures pressure on the pedals, so it quickly engages. It is so responsive and natural feeling that I haven't used the throttle much but I certainly have used “walk” mode several times.

The rear tail light is mounted directly beneath the battery rack so it isn’t blocked by my pannier and is powered by a couple of AA batteries. The LED Head Light has five modes and is USB rechargeable. It quickly installs on the handlebars with a rubber strap and the single large button on top makes it easy to turn on and change modes while riding.

Powering the bike is a 36 volt, 13 amp (468 wh) battery pack with an advertised 50 miles of range. I rode for over twenty miles before the charge indicator dropped from five to four bars. The battery weighs 8 lbs, can be charged on or off the bike and has its own level indicator. The small rubber cap protecting the charge terminal opens easily and stays closed. The battery is nicely protected in the full-size cargo rack and has a key lock which keeps it there and provides anti-theft security. You don’t need to leave the key in while riding and there’s a built-in handle to help remove the battery and carry it. Removing the battery makes it easier to lift the 46 lb bike onto my tray style carrier. The battery placement in the rack makes the bike a little heavy in the back, but frees up space for bottle cage bosses on the seat tube and allowed me to mount my folding lock on the down tube. All I did was add my Cloud-9 seat, bottle cage, pannier and a suspension seat post and I was ready to go.

After about a week of riding I took her to a local dealer for a full checkup. They did a minor adjustment to the brakes and gave her a clean bill of health, no charge. They were impressed at how well “I” put the bike together (LOL) and they loved the belt and throttle. I’ll be sure to make the checkup an annual event and return to that dealer.

Let me know if you have any questions

1/1
fredi
3 months ago

Looks like there is a delay with Evelo shipping the Delta, they had a problem with the batteries not being up to their standards so they won't ship till mid July. Evelo offered to let me cancel or add a free accessory pack to my order. I chose the comfort package.

Thomas Jaszewski
3 months ago

http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/12/pedego-platinum-interceptor-11.jpg
Thanks! I see your point. I'd offer a simple solution and get some good quality nylon straps to support the battery AND bag. Amazon has all sorts of "black lashing straps". I use NRS lashing straps left over from my rafting days but they're blue. There are all sorts of 1" black straps available. I have seen ebikers fashion a bar as a support for a pack. There are also cross bar adapters, that can provide under pack support, from many online bike suppliers. Niagara has three, like this one...
https://www.niagaracycle.com/categories/delta-crossbar-adapter

AR8007__90591.1403959168.1280.1280.jpg

Lashing straps provide good support as well.
https://www.amazon.com/SGT-Lashing-Straps-Plastic-Ladder/dp/B00WRJ3O3C/ref=sr_1_11?ie=UTF8&qid=1497802093&sr=8-11&keywords=black%2Blashing%2Bstraps&th=1&psc=1

fredi
3 months ago

I wonder if this is the motor in the new Evelo Delta, "750W Bafang Custom Mid-drive Brushless Motor, 48V." The motor certainly doesn't look like the MM G320.750.

fredi
3 months ago

I looked at a Sondors Fat Bike and knew I would not be happy with the Galaxy ST so I emailed Evelo and they switched my order back to the fully loaded Delta, no problem. These people continue to amaze me with their customer service. I can't wait to load the Delta onto the back of the RV and take her deep into the woods for some fun.

fredi
4 months ago

So I thought I should get a helmet for my new bike and googled “maryland electric bicycle helmet law” to see if there were any special requirements. Surprise, the top link was on Evelo’s web site /maryland-state-electric-bike-helmet-laws-definition/ no special requirements for helmets but it appears the Delta at 750 watts is illegal in Maryland and has to be insured and registered as a Moped, well that ain’t gonna happen.

Originally when I ran the Evelo “Fit Consultation” it recommended the Luna, but now that the new bikes are out, it suggests the Galaxy ST. I must admit that it is a good match for me, as I consider a dirt road “off-road” but I was blinded by the power. I just hope the 350 watts will get me up those hills.

fredi
4 months ago

I got a fully loaded Evelo Delta with the 20% off intro price. The NuVinci N380 Transmission and their attentiveness to all my questions is what sold me. Now have to just wait till the end of June for delivery.

fredi
4 months ago

After a lot of research I pulled the trigger on a fully loaded Evelo Delta. With the intro 20% off, 750-watt mid-drive motor and NuVinci N380 Transmission, I couldn’t resist. I’m an RVer and will be using her for street and trail with occasional off-road use, although I can see my off-road use increasing dramatically with her.

pmmckillop
4 months ago

The Evelo Delta is a hardtail with front suspension and a large 3" front tire. Evelo is switching to BuFang drives, and this one has a 750W motor. I am thinking of buying one before May 30th when the price goes up. I also like the NuVince Continuously Variable Transmission. I rode an Aurora and Aries last Monday and loved the transmission.

Aurora Maven
4 months ago

Hi Friends,

I joined to ask your expert opinion. I am new to eBikes, and wanted to get one to commute to work (about 2 miles downhill / 2 uphill. On the weekends I would like to ride trails and think front suspension might be a good idea? I also like the "sporty" look.

I saw that Evelo is releasing the "delta" model soon that looks interesting but is over 2k and I can preorder, whereas some of the reviews on this site, show models that are far less and look nice but I am not sure what I need!

Any tips?
I'm not familiar with the delta model but I do own the Evelo Aurora, which comes with mountain tires and front suspension. I don't use it for commuting but I do use it primarily on paved city park trails and the occasional hard-pack dirt and pebble trails. Almost any ebike will satisfy your particular commuting requirements though a mid-drive will probably do better on the uphills. My suggestion is to visit a local ebike store, if one is available near you, and give a few bikes a test ride. The staff at these types of stores are usually bike enthusiasts and will really try to recommend the best bike to meet your needs and price point. That is what I did and it helped my decision-making.

Jared Schwartz
4 months ago

Hi Friends,

I joined to ask your expert opinion. I am new to eBikes, and wanted to get one to commute to work (about 2 miles downhill / 2 uphill. On the weekends I would like to ride trails and think front suspension might be a good idea? I also like the "sporty" look.

I saw that Evelo is releasing the "delta" model soon that looks interesting but is over 2k and I can preorder, whereas some of the reviews on this site, show models that are far less and look nice but I am not sure what I need!

Any tips?

JayVee
4 months ago

I've been considering the purchase of a 2nd commuter bike with a 20mph limit. I've been on the fence about 20 vs 28mph for a 2nd bike. I usually average about 16mph for my commute and my top cruising speeds are in the low 20s. Moreso, my commute is start and stop with not very much open road so hitting a long stretch where I can sustain 25 is rare. I wonder if there is a commuter bike/motor that allows the rider to easily maintain speed after the motor cuts off? Anyway, still in consideration mode on the 2nd bike so observations like yours are pretty valuable to me. And in my commute into Detroit, I've encountered the same two guys commuting on road bikes on multiple occasions. They both pass me at a good clip in a stretch where I'm doing about 20 mph. I like to sit behind them and observe at least until they leave me in the dust: 1). really skinny tires on our bad roads does not look like fun and does not look safe and 2). I seem to be the only guy almost stopping for every stop sign and traffic signal.

Keep in mind that I live in Switzerland. It's not flat. Hills slow me down considerably and I often 'mope around' by stopping to talk to people, petting their dogs, etc. As soon as the terrain levels out, my cruising speed tends to be between 33 and 38km/h. If I want to maintain my speed at 44.5 km/h without having the drive cut off, I just drop a gear or two. I usually ride slower than that though because range is always a factor for me. I typically get between 45 and 55 kilometers on a single charge (500Wh battery), but with a vertical delta of about 400 to 500 meters. So I'm constantly thinking about how far I can go, which is why the dual battery R&M bikes are so attractive to me. I would like to have enough battery capacity to account for unforeseen events. In the morning I sometimes really have no idea how far I'll need to travel during the day...

Over here the law is fairly tolerant towards 45km/h e-bikes compared to the EU, but you need a licence plate. So I don't have the option of running red lights. But I'm always amazed at how much stuff the lycra guys get away with... Mopeds are not that much better. A throttled moped is limited to 30km/h over here, but they overtake me when I'm doing 45km/h as well. So I guess they've doubled the fuel lines, played with the carburator, or done some other stealthy mod... We used to do the same thing as kids, but they're visibly much better at it than we were. It's not the speed of the vehicle that impresses me, but the relative absence of noise. I guess Internet forums help :D

JayVee
5 months ago

I assume you mean 25 miles "in total" by 25 RT (12.5 going, 12.5 return). That should work no matter which bike you get and what your speed is. You might have to lift off a tad with the 3.0, but not much. 50 miles will be more difficult to achieve on a single charge, even with the Vado 5.0's bigger battery. It's by no means impossible, but it comes with some constraints. You might need to ride certain sections at a slower pace or use less assistance. For touring around that's really not a problem, but for commuting you might want to use a higher level assistance so you can get to work faster or sweat less.

The typical range I get from my 45km/h Yamaha mid-drive generally varies between 40 and 50 kilometers, with a vertical delta of 400 to 500 meters. Hills and headwinds really kill the battery. On flat terrain my range tends to extend by about 10-15 kilometers. I weight about 220 pounds with all the 'stuff' I carry around in my panniers and I have a 500Wh battery.

If I were you, I would get the higher spec Vado 5.0. A 28mph bike is going to be safer than a 20mph one in traffic providing that you use the extra speed responsibly. You'll learn this when you're crossing a big intersection and suddenly see an 18 wheeler bearing down on you in your rear view mirrors. The first thought that will cross your mind is to get out of that truck's path as fast as you can. And so you'll accelerate as fast as you can, only to have your drive's assistance cut off at 20mph... just when you needed it the most. You'll feel like a defenceless little snail in the middle of that huge intersection and you'll suddenly realize a couple of facts that most e-bikers instinctively know:

a. Speed is only dangerous if you use it dangerously.
b. None of the people who wrote e-bike laws have actually ridden an e-bike.
c. If you could accelerate to 40mph to get out of that truck's path, you would.

As mentioned above by Doug and a couple of others, the faster spec Vado 5.0 is also more versatile. You could do longer tours with a 600Wh battery, and you'll get places faster too. And if you don't want to go fast, the bigger battery offers the possibility of using a higher level of assistance for longer periods of time, meaning less sweat.

Ducati Monster
1 day ago

Really like this bikes setup. The transmission, suspension, and the throttle will smooth out any cadence issue's.

small footprint
2 weeks ago

I think the bikes are really cool but, I got interested in your site because of your camping in your Prius. Do you have another channel where you focus on that aspect of your adventure or was that video a one time thing? Thanks in advance for responding. Lynn

Seb K
2 weeks ago

About a month in from when I first got my commuter I was pushing the bike out the garage and I forgot the bike was on . I hit the throttle and shot off . I have a small front shed that i slammed into . Took out the wall and destroyed my forks .

Seb K
2 weeks ago

No laughing :) !!!

Haroldo Menezes
2 weeks ago

rapaz fala para mim como é que eu faço para importar uma bike dessa dormir uma dica

daMacroGuy
2 weeks ago

Thanks for including the bike's price in the title. I enjoy all your videos, but knowing the price up front helps me to filter my viewing to my price range.

Bruce Ballad
2 weeks ago

I was so waiting for this review, I am writing this while watching the first minutes.
Edit: It looks sound awesome. I am kind of a bafang fan. I wonder are they selling in or shipping to Australia.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Sweet! Glad you're enjoying it Bruce, I wonder that as well? They folks at EVELO are super helpful and supportive, reach out and let us know what the options are for the folks in the land down under :D

Jack Odell
2 weeks ago

Nuvinci, zero speed throttle, lots of power. Give it a gates belt and torque sensor and I'll buy it.

Jack Nizer
2 weeks ago

Then keep an eye on this upcoming jewel from Luna Cycle: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvMCA3ZyyfI :)

Jack Odell
2 weeks ago

Let's throw in a dual suspension for good measure!

Jack Nizer
2 weeks ago

I totally agree with you. I hope they will consider the Delta X, using the Bafang Max Ultra, and the new NuVinci N380x (high torque new version), and a gates Carbon belt. I don't think the extra dollars would be as high as $1500, but it would make the absolutely perfect bike. 1000W and Torque/cadence/speed sensor. I would definitely buy that! (and probably two of them so my wife can enjoy it too :) )

Jack Odell
2 weeks ago

You only live once! It's only money, ha. I still think there is a big market for a powerful mid drive, zero speed throttle, gates-Nuvinci, dual suspension bike with all purpose tires, fenders, lights and rack. Your review of this bike and the R&M Delite are coming pretty close. Keep up the great work!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Would you still want it if those options added $1,500 to the price tag? I'm guessing it would cost at least that much given the custom frame cutaway for belt drives and a Bafang Max drive with updated programming

Daniel S.
2 weeks ago

doesn't it seem unproportional? in a side view? this month I will probably get the bike you suggested me. Than I post a video on my channel as well. XD

Daniel S.
2 weeks ago

I mean that in the mix between electric drive engine with bicycle, that bike has a lot more electric than bicycle. The motor and battery pack have a large volume in the totality of the bike. Much more than in other bikes. At least visually it seems

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

I'm a bit confused by your comment, could you explain the unproportional and side view thing?

Mr Jhonny
2 weeks ago

I love this bike!The style,mid drive,thick tyres and the big batery make this bike a beast!!!!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Yeah, this thing looks awesome, rides well, and provides great pedal and throttle options... this with a customized Bafang Max drive wold be perfect, but the BBS02 is still great

Meno Passini
2 weeks ago

Thanks for the honest review. I was half way sold until you mentioned the cadace problem. Also looks like a kids bike, to small. Love the brakes, rims, fork, battery and trans. Great warranty. Who makes the mid-drive? Bafang? Is there a multi sensor Bafang mid drive w/ higher wattage?

Meno Passini
2 weeks ago

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA. Yes I found a Trek dealer with nice discounts on 2017 models. The one I like is the Trek Super Commuter + 85. Nice wide tires but not Fat Bike size. I rode a Fat bike, it was hard to steer and the tires became caked w/ snow. The big Bafang is really the way to GO, but at 57 I just want to cummute. The dealer is in a college town. Lotz of old Hippies going through their E Bike thing. Saw a good number of posts for used ones "Like New". My neighbor bought the big ELk electric trike/car. It sits in the garage.

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA
2 weeks ago

Correct when technology is initially deployed it is very expensive due to lack of optimization and demand not being high by 2020 e bikes will be very popular and the average cost will range from 1000-3000, so if your patient you can score a good deal on an e bike, currently the most cost effective way of getting an e bike is doing a DIY kit, I will probably due a DIY kit during Christmas time only if I can get a DIY kit for about 500 bucks mid drive motor kit + battery... You can also buy last years model for about 50% off random bicycles has good deals!!!

Meno Passini
2 weeks ago

I think 2018 will be a model year of change. Less hub drives, more mid drives and better pricing. I saw some New 2017 Treks mid drives at a big discount. $800.00 off VM700+

Jack Nizer
2 weeks ago

" Is there a multi sensor Bafang mid drive w/ higher wattage?". Yes there is, it is the Bafang Max Ultra Drive. It has Integrated Torque / cadence / speed sensor like the Bosch, and it has 1000W nominal power, 1600W peak ! This is the motor I would love to see on that bike :)

Meno Passini
2 weeks ago

ElectricBikeReview.com. There is so much to learn. Iam glad you are informed and honest. Iam going through your list of mid drives, there are too many choices.. Now I like the Cube.

Rick Etter
2 weeks ago

Great review! One of your best ever. As an owner of an original FLX mid drive Bofeili Roadster which I purchased primarily because of your reviews when they first came out, I appreciate the value of throttle power for climbing and control. I believe my Roadster is very similar to this model which is why I appreciate your accuracy in reporting the responsiveness of cadence control, throttle activated, ebikes. Keep up the great work. You are the reason I purchased what I did after months of listening to your reviews a year ago this month. Thank you for assisting me in becoming an avid bicyclist again and an Ebiker advocate. Two new hips, four heart attacks, and two back surgeries later I'm still riding the dream and I owe much to you. I continue to follow your reviews and continue to learn so very much about the ebiking/bicycling world.

juv mol
2 weeks ago

WildDwightman hey it happen same.to me after watching his reviews i bouth my first ebike ....a specialized turbo ,and also after cancelling order whit another brand who also was keeping delaying release date due to twcnical problwms i went on an pull the triger on my turbo,yet now i want a more like a mountain bike than a flat surface road and ben loling on wich brand and bike go .thanks very much for your reply .

WildDwightman
2 weeks ago

I ordered the FLX Blade on June 9th, was told a couple of days ago it will be another six to eight weeks. I cancelled my order this morning and plan on pulling the trigger on this baby soon!

Court excellent review, I bought my first ebike after watching your review of the Surface604 Element.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Thanks Rick, your comment definitely made my day... I'm so glad to hear that your FLX is working well and that your lifestyle is enjoyable and active because of ebikes, that's awesome! Your reply to juv was also very thoughtful and constructive. You seem like a good person :)

Rick Etter
2 weeks ago

juv mol my bike in its gen 2 version sells for about$2,100. Not quite apples for Apple's. Look at the current FLX Tract and see what you think. The FLX is about a3 month wait where this appears to be available immediately. There's a lot to like about this bike given the money difference that I do believe is worth it based on Cort's review only.

juv mol
2 weeks ago

Rick Etter quick question,wich one its better ,yoir bike or this one?

Joey-eLL
2 weeks ago

Can you do the quest from evelo

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Indeed I will, thanks for the request! Expect it in a week or so

Pure Water Window Cleaning
2 weeks ago

Sweet bike! Thanks for the great review... As always!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Sure thing, thanks for your support :D

luis fernando
2 weeks ago

Whats the range?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Yeah, All4Grogg is providing some great answers here. The reason my estimates are usually like 20 to 40 miles (which is a huge gap) is because of the five levels of assist and throttle option. Range is heavily dependent on how hard the motor is working as well as rider weight and terrain... so many factors XD

All4Grogg
2 weeks ago

Yeah....that did strike me as a very fair estimate, but if you notice one number is twice the size of the other. If i were to tell you that we were going for a walk and you asked how far, i don't think you would be satisfied if i told you... oh 20 or 40 miles...
An accurate estimate requires a whole bunch of things accounted for into defined scenarios. As much as sellers/reviewers would love to have a good solid answer, it varies.

Mr Jhonny
2 weeks ago

At this time he sayes 20-40 miles 4:56

All4Grogg
2 weeks ago

http://www.electricbikerange.info/Electric_bike_range.html here is a better link

All4Grogg
2 weeks ago

That is an impossible question for any system, the battery offers 556 watt hours from that subtract how much you anticipate to draw from the battery per mile, add in how much wattage you apply with your legs, adjust for rolling resistance, aerodynamic drag, rider weight then use some calculus to account for slopes encountered on your planned route and you'll have an estimate. The best calculator i've found is at www electricbikerange.info play around with some of the variables there and it'll show you how massive a difference things like having a headwind/rider position/rider input can have on range, basically why range estimates from manufacturers are little more than wild guesses.

John Moura
2 weeks ago

Great bike - - Amazing climb! I don't think my Honda Element could make it up that hill.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Thanks for all of the detailed measurements and conversions here All4Grogg, you get it ;)

All4Grogg
2 weeks ago

That hub has an under drive of .5. So with a 48 front chainring and a 22 tooth rear The lowest gear would be equivalent to a 24x22 combination! The traction is going to run out before the gearing on a climb (which is awesome imo) The top gear on this system would be the equivalent of ~46X11, which is a pretty fantastic range considering the max cadence of the bbso2 is 120 rpm so if you can push it hard enough against the wind an unrestricted motor could theoretically help all the way to 40mph. Unless you are a pro, 30 seems more likely.

Steve Donovan
2 weeks ago

All one need's is a programming cable and bump the peak wattage to over 1200. Just saying...

Steve Donovan
2 weeks ago

Your caution for the motor is valid and actually may be why the bike manufacturer limits it under 1000 watts, which is a limitation of its amperage to 20. The current BBS02 will use a full 25 amps but you have to be prudent with that to short periods or it will get hot.
Btw, Bafang has done a lousy job programming those motors, it's why you feel it easily surge or kick in. I'm like many who purchased one soon after to reprogram the power curve and it is a wonderful difference even though I barely use pedal assist. I don't know why Bafang doesn't change it?
Enjoyed your review!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Maybe that's what they do with the off-road update? In any case, be careful not to ruin the battery or burn out the motor by overclocking it, I realize the world of BBS02 motors is full of different options :)