Evelo Delta Review

Evelo Delta Electric Bike Review
Evelo Delta
Evelo Delta 750 Watt Bafang Bbs02 Mid Motor Mid Kickstand
Evelo Delta 48 Volt 11 6 Amp Hour Mid Frame Battery Pack
Evelo Delta Large Center Mount Display Panel Trigger Throttle
Evelo Delta Sr Suntour Xcr Air Suspension 120 Mm Travel
Evelo Delta Plastic Chain Guide Large Alloy Pedals Plus Sized Nobby Nic Tires
Evelo Delta Nuvinci N380 Continuously Variable Transmission Hub
Evelo Delta Semi Integrated Wiring Mid Motor
Evelo Delta 2 Amp Electric Mountain Bike Charger
Evelo Delta Electric Bike Review
Evelo Delta
Evelo Delta 750 Watt Bafang Bbs02 Mid Motor Mid Kickstand
Evelo Delta 48 Volt 11 6 Amp Hour Mid Frame Battery Pack
Evelo Delta Large Center Mount Display Panel Trigger Throttle
Evelo Delta Sr Suntour Xcr Air Suspension 120 Mm Travel
Evelo Delta Plastic Chain Guide Large Alloy Pedals Plus Sized Nobby Nic Tires
Evelo Delta Nuvinci N380 Continuously Variable Transmission Hub
Evelo Delta Semi Integrated Wiring Mid Motor
Evelo Delta 2 Amp Electric Mountain Bike Charger

Summary

  • One of the more powerful purpose-built electric mountain bikes I have tested to date, possibly the only setup like this with a trigger throttle that overrides assist 1-5, unlockable higher speeds
  • Unique combination of trail capable and urban oriented features such as rear rack bosses and kickstand mounts alongside premium knobby tires and 120 mm air suspension with boost hub
  • Continuously variable transmission from NuVinci allows for shifting at standstill, reduced chain and sprocket wear (given the mid-motor drivetrain) and an overall clean, durable build
  • The motor produces a distinct whining noise at full power, you have to pay extra for the nicer fork and hydraulic disc brakes, cadence sensing assist isn't as fluid as torque or multi-sensor

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Evelo

Model:

Delta

Price:

$3,499 ($3,899 Fully Loaded)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Moped or Motorcycle (Class 4)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 4 Year (20,000 mile) Frame, Battery, Motor, Controller

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

57.4 lbs (26.03 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.4 lbs (2.9 kg) (Larger Pack 9 lbs)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Small 15" Specs: 15.5" Seat Tube, 22.5" Reach, 29" Stand Over Height, 29.5" Width, 73.5" Length, Large 19" Specs: 19.3" Seat Tube, 22.75" Reach, 29" Stand Over Height, 29.5" Width, 74.25" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Gloss Space Gray (Gloss Black with Blue Accents), Matte Asphault

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCR Air Suspension, 120 mm Travel, Boost 110 mm Hub, 15 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release, Optional RockShox Reba Air Suspension, 120 mm Travel, Compression Clicker with Lockout, Rebound Adjust, Rigid Aluminum Alloy, Boost 110 mm Hub, 15 mm Maxle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

142 mm Hub, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 Speed 1x∞ NuVinci N380 Mechanical Continuously Variable Transmission, 22 Tooth Sprocket

Shifter Details:

Nfinity C8 Grip Twist on Right Bar (Optional NuVinci Grip Twist on Right Bar)

Cranks:

8Fun AC08-2 Alloy Crank Arms, 170 mm Length, 48T Chainring

Pedals:

VP-565 Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2", Threadless Internal Cups, Two 10 mm Headset Spacers, Two 5 mm Headset Spacers

Stem:

FSA V-Drive, 90 mm Length, 6° Angle

Handlebar:

FSA Comet, Low-Rise, Aluminum Alloy, 9° Back Sweep, 4° Up Sweep, 740 mm Length

Brake Details:

Shimano BR-M375 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitor, Optional Tektro Auriga E-Comp Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro 3-Finger Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Velo, Flat, Texturized Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Selle Royale, Black (Optional Upgrade Program)

Seat Post:

FSA Gossamer, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

340 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 32 Hole Front, 36 Hole Rear

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge, Silver with Adjustable Brass Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Nobby Nic, 27.5" x 3.0"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

15 to 35 PSI, TLE Tubeless Easy Snakeskin, EVO Evolution, Trail Star 3, Reflective Logos

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Optional Comfort Package (Ergon GP2-L Ergonomic Locking Grips, Suspension Seat Post, Extra Large Saddle for $200), Optional Safety Package (High Powered Lights, Bar-End Mirror, Bell, Reflective Light Band for Pants $99), Optional Commuter Package (Teflon Lubricant, Tire Levers, Patch Kit, Mini-Pump, Hex Key Wrench Set $99)

Other:

Locking Removable Downtube Mounted Battery, 1.6 lb 2 Amp Battery Charger, 300 lb Max Weight Rating, KMC Z-Chain, Dropout Mount Rear Kickstand Provisions, Bottom Bracket Mount Center Kickstand Provisions

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang BBS02

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Peak Output:

960 watts

Motor Torque:

120 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung (A, B Rated Cells) (Optional Panasonic)

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

6 hours (Up to 6 With Larger Pack)

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Evelo Branded King Meter, Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Bars), Odometer, Trip Meter, Speed, Average Speed, Max Speed, Mode (None, Eco, Standard, Power, Speed), Watt Output

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Left, Backlight (Hold Up Arrow), Walk Mode (Hold Down Arrow), Trip to Odometer (Press M Button), Speed to Avg Speed to Max Speed (Hold Up and M Button), Settings Menu (Hold Up and Down)

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (8 Pole Cadence Sensor, Torque Sensor)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (Unlock Off-Road Mode to 30 MPH)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

EVELO created something truly unique, capable, and exciting with the Delta. I don’t usually gush like this, but it’s true! This is the first purpose built mid-drive powered electric trail bike that I have ever seen with a NuVinci continuously variable transmission, trigger throttle override offering full power, premium plus sized tires, an unlockable higher speed for off-road use, and multiple frame size and color options. The motor power and battery capacity are no joke, this thing basically maxes out the legal stats with a custom integrated BBS02 centerdrive rated nominally at 750 watts and a 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery. Both components are positioned low and center for optimized balance and handling, and because of the semi-integrated battery concept, there’s even room for bottle cage bosses on the seat tube. Now, it’s not all sunshine and rainbows here… the trade-offs are a “unique” looking battery slot which was chosen to avoid a design patent on downward-interfacing batteries, and louder less-smooth cadence activated pedal assist. I guess the higher price tag is also a consideration, it depends on the e-bikes you’ve been considering. With a base price of $3.5k and an optional fork + hydraulic disc brake upgrade raising it to $3.9, it’s definitely not what I would call affordable. For those dollars however, you get some of the best customer service I have seen. Evelo offers a unique four-year 20k mile warranty with a sliding-price battery replacement option depending on how much use the bike has had when it comes time for replacement. This is a company that has been selling electric bikes since before I started EBR in 2012. You can call them and talk to a real person, visit the flagship factory store in Seattle Washington as I did, or connect with one of their local dealers! There are some impressive hills to test the bikes on and I was blown away by the performance. Yes, I only weigh ~135 lbs, but I have not experienced this level of power on any other Class 2 electric bike to date. Alex, a representative from Evelo, went on the test ride with me and demonstrated that a 240 lb rider can also climb effectively, though he did pedal along a bit while I was able to go throttle only. To me, throttle activation is one of the most exciting and useful aspects of the bike. Being able to zip off the line from a stop sign or traffic signal… being able to rest your legs on a long steady climb… or being able to catch up with a friend without having to look down and click up or down to increase assist (or even shift gears) is awesome. That said, Class 2 e-bikes are not allowed on quite as many mountain bike trails as Class 1 at this time because of concern for possible trail damage and adverse rider behavior. For those who own some private land, work on a farm, need an electric bike as a pit bike at a racetrack, or enjoy riding off-road on OHV trails, EVELO can actually unlock the display to allow for ~30 mph riding (depending on terrain, rider weight, etc.)

Driving the Evelo Delta is a Bafang/8Fun BBS02 motor system that has been custom-integrated into a metal bottom bracket casing. I have reviewed the stock BBS02, which is designed to bolt onto the spindle tube of a non-ebike, and it hangs forward in such a way ground clearance is reduced and aesthetics are compromised. It is still one of the most popular aftermarket kits available, but it isn’t winning any beauty contests. Messy cables and bolt-on battery packs are another byproduct of the stock BBS02, but all of that is overcome through EVELO’s custom solution here. Some cables to protrude at the bottom bracket but they are mostly hidden and the battery pack is not nearly as vulnerable… nor does it get in the way of that bottle cage or a triangular frame bag like this. This is part of what you’re paying for, a nicer look with less vulnerable cables and parts. The motor itself seemed to perform as I had remembered from my stand-alone BBS02 review in 2014. It relies on an on/off cadence sensor that isn’t especially fluid but does start and stop quickly. This could be a good or bad thing depending on your needs; you don’t have to push hard to make it start, but it could feel abrupt if the power is set to high and you’re going from zero. The motor can also be loud when riding in the highest levels of assist, especially in a lower gear. But one of the neat things about the NuVinci continuously variable transmission hub is that you don’t really have gears. Instead, there’s a smooth transition from faster cadence (meant for climbing) or slower cadence (meant for attaining higher speeds). You can shift at standstill and there are no clicks or bangs as you might experience with a traditional derailleur. This is an important point because the Bafang BBS02 motor does not offer shift sensing or torque sensing… easing off of the pedals a bit is not going to slow the motor down and if you were to shift gears this way, the chain, sprockets, and derailleur would all take a beating. In this configuration, EVELO is minimizing drivetrain wear, reducing the potential for chain drops, reducing chain bounce and nicks on the right chain stay, and allowing you to shift at standstill. The NuVinci N380 is not a trivial or inexpensive component, and it’s not lightweight. Note the higher price and slightly higher weight of the frame at ~56.4 lbs (for the small frame I reviewed). I believe the downtube of the frame is also heavier because of the unique battery interface.

The battery pack on this bike is above average in terms of size and below average in terms of weight, exactly what you want. It offers a more efficient 48 volt power flow vs. 36 volts and has an 11.6 amp hour capacity for over 550 total watt hours of energy. Inside, there are Lithium-ion cells which I assume are higher quality because of the raised energy density and outstanding warranty on offer. This type of cell is known for being durable but you can maximize the lifetime of the pack by storing it in cool, dry locations and making sure it is 50% full for long term non-use. The battery clicks in from the right side of the bike and has a single charging port also on the right side that is high enough to clear the crank arm and pedal! This is a big deal, if you forget that the bike is charing and bump the cranks, it won’t present the same opportunity for snagging and damage that so many other batteries suffer from. The charging port and charging plug are the exact same whether you’re filling the pack on or off the bike, and the battery design has a little indented handle at the top for safe transport. There are so many other battery packs that forego this type of design care, Yamaha and Bosch come to mind but their packs have been smaller in capacity and they aren’t offered on bikes with throttles. Honestly, in some ways, I find the Evelo battery slot to be ugly, but I have to admit that it looks well protected and offers all the utility I could ask for. It also slid in smoothly and produced an audible click so I knew it was secure, it didn’t rattle during my test rides either… but the bike was brand new so I welcome your feedback.

Operating the bike was familiar because of the commonly used King Meter display panel. EVELO has their branding painted on the display, but the LCD and button pad are industry-standards. I appreciate the size of the readouts and bright backlighting (that you activate by holding the up arrow for a few seconds). You get extra readouts with this display and can reach them by pressing the center Mode button once it is turned on… You hold Mode to turn the bike on and off once the battery has been charged and mated to the frame. Arrowing up or down, you can explore 0, and 1-5 levels of assist. With 0, nothing really happens and the throttle is not hot. This mode would be good for using the display as a trip meter and preserving battery on flats when you don’t mind pedaling. As soon as you click up into level 1, the throttle becomes active with FULL POWER, which is exactly how I like it, but possibly a bit advanced for people who are not used to throttles. For example, if you coast to a stop and decide to get off of the bike without either arrowing back down to zero or turning it off and then you bump that paddle trigger near the left grip, the bike will lurch forward. Keep this in mind when showing the bike to friends, loading it onto public transportation, walking it into your garage or shed etc. just be thoughtful. For someone with a knee injury like myself, or a person with MS, or simply a desire for a moped feel, the throttle is a highlight and is easy to reach and use while still grasping the grips. The button pad is simple enough, and also easy enough to reach, that I did not have an issue interacting with it. On the right grip, you’ve got a half-grip twist for raising or lowering pedal cadence as discussed earlier. Instead of numbers, there’s an infographic with a little stick figure person riding a bike and as you twist the shifter, the ground beneath him becomes flat or turns into a steep hill. The idea is that you match your terrain to the graphic, turn it to look like a hill if you’re about to climb!

I’ve done a lot of features explaining up until this point, but now I want to talk about ride quality. The Delta feels balanced and solid. I have become a fan of the Plus Sized tires that in this case, are 27.5″ x 3″ which is much fatter than the common 27.5″ x 2.125″ or 2.25″. The increased air volume acts as a sort of suspension and dampens vibrations. The wider contact patch provides traction and float over bumpy terrain. These tires decrease deflection on angular surfaces (gripping and riding straight over), and they require a custom fork and frame to work right. The fork here is either a SR Suntour XCR Air Suspension with 120 mm Travel or RockShox Reba Air Suspension with 120 mm Travel and Compression Clicker with Lockout and Rebound Adjust. Both of them have longer hubs which increase spoke bracing angle creating a stronger wheel. The spokes are thicker 13 gauge so even though the bike is rated at 350 lb max weight, I’m guessing it could handle a bit more. I want to compliment the choice of Schwalbe Nobby Nic tires which have reflective graphics on the side and come tubeless ready (to be converted if you like). These are going to last longer than other generic tires might. And, getting back to how this electric trail bike could be used, the rear rack bosses and fender mounts mean that you could ride this into work without having to wear a backpack or deal with the mess of wet streets. It’s an incredibly versatile platform that I thoroughly enjoyed testing. Again, it’s not perfect, but it is fun and capable. Big thanks to Evelo for partnering with me on this review, and their employee Alex who met me in Seattle and rode up a super steep hill while I filmed. This company has always been a leader in terms of support, but their latest generation of products have raised the bar and truly impressed me. If you like how it looks, appreciate power and a throttle mode, and can justify the slightly higher price… which is very reasonable given the drivetrain and custom frame, it could be a great choice. As always, I welcome your feedback and experiences with the product and company in the comments below or the forums here.

Pros:

  • The Delta offers a very unique and exciting combination of off-road capability with the larger tires and suspension, urban utility with the rear rack and fender bosses, and efficiency with the mid-drive motor and NuVinci continuously variable transmission
  • The Bafang BBS02 motor is powerful but relies more on cadence signals than torque and can be harder on the chain and sprockets when using a derailleur… but that is completely alleviated with the NuVinci CVT hub, you can even shift at standstill
  • Available in two frame sizes so you can optimize body position and fit beyond seat height and stem position, note the additional riser stacks and angled stem which can be flipped if you want to get super aggressive and forward
  • Most of the Bafang BBS02 mid-motors I see are bolted to the bottom bracket of traditional bikes but this one is integrated into the bottom bracket, as a result, it has a much higher ground clearance and looks nicer
  • Interesting upgrade path, you can improve the suspension fork quality and move to hydraulic disc brakes for $400 more, but in all cases, the fork has a sturdy 15 mm thru-axle with Boost (wider hub for improved spoke bracing angle) and the head tube is tapered for strength
  • I love that even on the smaller frame size, Evelo was able to squeeze in bottle cage bosses so you can mount a holder, folding lock, mini pump or other accessory along the seat tube
  • Very few mid-drive electric bikes offer throttle on demand, this is a useful feature for those rides when you have to start and stop a lot or maybe you need extra power briefly but don’t want to fidget with the up/down assist buttons
  • Both brake options come with motor inhibiting levers, anytime you pull the brakes, the drive system will shut down immediately for safety
  • One of the benefits to using an internally geared or CVT hub is that there is only one chainring and one sprocket, the chain stays tight and probably won’t drop or bounce down and nick the right chainstay, the shifting mechanism is also smaller and better protected than a traditional derailleur that would hang down on the right and possibly get bent if the bike tipped
  • The plus sized Schwalbe Nobby Nic tires provide excellent traction with reduced deflection, you can ride across grass, over small rocks, and through soft forest type terrain more easily, the low pressure range lets you optimize squishy comfort and float without as much risk of pinch flats because of the large diameter of the tire (consider converting to tubeless for reduced weight and lower PSI, I believe that the tires are setup to allow for that)
  • 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery is much higher capacity than what I would consider average but it doesn’t weigh a lot, at ~6.4 lbs this thing is using nicer energy dense cells, you can remove it to reduce bike weight for transport or charging off the bike and the battery casing has a nice integrated handle to make it easier to carry
  • The thick 31.6 mm seat post is stronger and sturdier, a more trail-capable hardware part than the 27.2 mm and 30.9 mm I usually see, you could swap this with a suspension post for improved comfort but might need a shim adapter for thinner suspension posts, here’s a perfect fit and relatively affordable one from SR Suntour
  • Nice touch points, the Selle Royal saddle is active but more comfortable than a no-name cheap seat, the VP pedals are large and grippy, they feel solid and won’t bend the way cheaper cage style pedals might
  • I was told that this bike is rated up to 350 lbs, and I believe it! The frame felt very sturdy and the spokes are thicker 13 gauge vs. the stock 14g or 15g on a lot of other e-bikes
  • The frame and systems are purpose built, this means that cables are internally routed, vulnerable parts are reinforced, and the weight of the motor and battery are kept as low and centered on the frame as possible for stability
  • Interesting point with the Evelo Delta, I was told that there is a way to increase the top speed of the bike and make it more of an “off road” product if you live on a farm or private property and want to use it more like a moped, it would not be street legal in this configuration
  • EVELO offers three accessory packages to help you optimize the bike for comfort, safety, or commuting and in my experience with this sort of thing, the parts tend to look nicer and work better than if you try to guess on your own (and it costs a lot less this way)
  • Minor mention here but I think the Schwalbe Nobby Nic logo on the tires is reflective so you can be seen a bit easier from the sides if you ride in low light around cars

Cons:

  • Weighing in at ~57.4 lbs, this is not an especially lightweight electric mountain bike, the NuVinci CVT hub adds weight and I am guessing that the unique mid-mount battery punchout had to be reinforced for strength and also adds some weight… but it’s actually not as heavy as I was expecting
  • The cadence sensing pedal assist can feel a bit abrupt, it doesn’t matter whether you’re pushing hard or not, if you move the cranks the bike will take off… and it could take off hard if you’re in a higher assist level
  • Minor consideration here, the bike doesn’t come with a kickstand, but there is a standard mounting plate behind the motor or you could get a rear-mount kickstand that would stay out of the way, something like this might work or maybe this kickstand
  • The display panel looks beautiful, I love how large it is and appreciate that it can be swiveled forward and back to reduce glare… but it is not removable and could take more weather damage or scratches at bike racks, some people put their helmets over the display to help protect them when parking outside
  • The BBS02 is not as quiet as some of the other mid-drive geared motors I have tested like Brose or Shimano, it does seem to offer more power (and is rated higher) but you may notice the whirring sound in the video, especially when I was in a higher gear and the highest leve-5 assist setting

Resources:

More EVELO Reviews

Evelo Quest Max Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A feature rich, powerful, folding electric bike with extendable stem and long seat post option for taller riders, it's easy to mount and handle, weight is positioned low and center. The Bafang Max mid-motor is powerful but efficient, you can adjust pedal speed gearing at…...

Evelo Galaxy ST Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A powerful cruiser style electric bike with smooth, responsive, multi-sensing pedal assist and trigger throttle operation, throttle only works above 6 mph and is limited by assist level. Optional hydraulic disc brakes and automatic electric shifting would be great for riders with limited…...

Evelo Quest One Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A folding electric bike that's fairly lightweight at ~41 lbs, clean and simple thanks to a Gates Carbon belt drive, and still feature rich with fenders and integrated lights. Available in two color choices, offers pedal assist and throttle on demand, highly adjustable extra-long…...

Evelo Galaxy TT Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable but sturdy cruiser style electric bike with premium aesthetic, the mid-drive motor is powerful but quiet and offers responsive pedal assist plus throttle. EVELO has always offered great customer service and even has a trade-in program, the Galaxy…...

Evelo Aries Review

  • MSRP: $2,079
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full suspension city bike with basic mid-drive system (upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options). Nice accessories including USB charger, front and rear LED lights, mechanical disc brakes and a…...

Evelo Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $2,079
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Value driven but well rounded mid-drive ebike with upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options. Great features include backlit LCD display with built in USB charger, front and rear LED…...

2013 Evelo Aries Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable full suspension electric bike with mid-grade Lithium polymer battery. Decent strength (36 Volts of power) and range (10 amp hour capacity)...

2013 Evelo Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Offers lots of features but isn't particularly strong or fast as an electric bike. Entry level components get the job done and keep the price lower, unique frame flexes...


Boris Mordkovich
9 months ago

Hi everyone!

My name is Boris Mordkovich and I’m the CEO and co-founder here at EVELO!

Just wanted to let you know what we are available 7 days a week to answer any questions you may have about the Delta, our other models, or electric bicycles in general. If there’s anything we can do to help, you can reach us at 877-991-7272 or via email at contact@evelo.com.

If you’d like to reach me directly for any reason, you can do so at boris@evelo.com.

Thank you again,
Boris Mordkovich

Reply
court
9 months ago

Thanks Boris! I had a great time visiting your new factory store in Seattle and Alex was very helpful for this review. As always, I respect your high level of support and communication. With optimism ;)

Reply
Bryan Barnard
9 months ago

Hi Court & Boris, maybe one of you can answer a question I sent to Evelo through their web contact form several weeks ago, but I received no reply.

On the Evelo web page describing the terms of the 4 year/20,000 mile warranty, they say that the Nuvinci drivetrain is warrantied through their manufacturer. However, as I understand it (please correct me if I’m in error), the Nuvinci 380 is warrantied by Nuvinci for ebike motors of **350 watts or less**. In this case where the 380 is paired with the 750 watt BBS02, it’s not clear if the 380 is even warrantied. I’m requesting clarity on this point.

Thanks in advance,
Bryan Barnard

Reply
court
8 months ago

Hi Bryan, I’ll defer to Boris on this question, I have reached out to him to help get a response :)

Reply
Bryan Barnard
8 months ago

Thank you, Court!

Bill
8 months ago

Hi Bryan,

This is Bill here at EVELO and I’m our Director of Customer Service. While true that Fallbrook Technologies (the manufacturer of NuVinci components) limits their warranty to bikes equipped with 350w motors, EVELO is absorbing the warranty in the event of failure outside of their terms. With over 6 years of experience using their hubs (first the N360 and now the N380) we are confidant with the capabilites and durablity of their hubs. (To be frank, if we were not confidant, we would not cover the hub for 4 yrs/20,000 miles). In fact, if you poke around on the internet, you will find DIY folks that are putting over 1000w through NuVinci hubs with out issue– they do great, and Fallbrook’s policy is quite conservative.

I hope this helps!
-Bill

Reply
Casey
8 months ago

I just picked mine up from your guys’ shop up in Seattle. I love it. Put 10 miles of trail riding on it after getting back down to Portland. Thank you guys at Evelo and Court as well for the awesome review!

Reply
court
8 months ago

Awesome! Thanks for the real-life feedback Casey, glad to hear it’s working out well for you. It’s neat when you live close by and can visit the shop like that. I hope it continues to work out and invite you to comment anytime with follow-up insights :)

Reply
Steve
2 months ago

Hi Court, thank you for the great review of the Delta on the hills of Seattle. Impressive performance. I just ordered a Delta X from Evelo’s website. Due out the end of May. We also ordered a new Aurora due out the end of June. Both models have the 750W Bafang motor with a chain drive.

I would like to see the Gates carbon belt drive but was told that it was not an option with this motor. I’m curious why? Also, are there any drawbacks other than cost to the belt drive? or any advantages that with the chain? We are looking forward to testing out both models soon. I was hoping that they would put the Harmony on the Delta X and a throttle sensor. No luck! Do you have any plans for an upcoming review on either bike? Thanks again for your good work. Steve

Reply
court
2 months ago

Hi Steve! Yeah, I’m in touch with EVELO to review some of their newer models, but it might take some time. Belts are quiet in clean, but only work with internally geared hubs. They also require a cut in the frame (to get the belt on) or a chainring that is above the chain line, which you can see with Riese & Muller models like the Nevo GH NuVinci. Geared hubs and CVT hubs tend to cost more and weigh more, so that’s where a chain wins. They are easier to service and repair, can work with a traditional cassette, and don’t require a custom frame. But they make more noise, require more maintenance, tend to be messier, and don’t last as long as belts ;)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Falco Support
12 hours ago

Dear Mr. Nelson,

I wish to thank you for your continued interest in our company and products. Please see answers below:

1. Are you still pushing the six-phase motor?
Our motor technology is based on 5-phase motor architecture and is now patented. You may read about it here: http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/blog/review-of-ebike-motor-technologies/. We have two patents granted and several pending. Our latest evolution called eDrive is the integration with virtual reality training program such as Zwift. Here is the link to that: http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/Falco-edrive/.
Here are some comparisons for you to review:
http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/blog/falco-vs-bionx-dseries-comparison-with-falco-f7-series/
http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/blog/falco-vs-bionx-pseries-comparison-with-falco-e5-series/
http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/blog/falco-comparison-with-the-copenhagen-wheel-superpedestrian/

2. How many US dealers sold more than 3 last year?
In order to stay a dealer, they have to sell a minimum of six systems a year. I am happy to send a dealer application and agreement if you like.

3. Why Trikes, recumbents, tandems, and cargo bikes? What's up with regular bicycles?
Our product is quite premium. Regular bicycle market has gone to very low price points and bicycle owners do not have the budget to afford our system.

4. Why were you selling the product when it apparently did not work reliably?
We offer 5-year warranty in the market. Why do we offer that warranty if there were reliability concerns? Even Bosch does not offer more than 2 years. Why are they selling their product even after having recalled twice? Why does Toyota continue to sell its cars after having recalled so many times? Why does Pedego continue to sell their bikes after having recalled 5000 Lithium batteries not so long ago?

5. What is your lowest price functional motor kit?
Kit is a derogatory word to describe our product. I request you not to use it. Here is the http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/ebike-systems/?setCurrencyId=1 of our systems. Lowest is $1895.

6. If the UK dealer was so poorly equipped to handle your product, why did you allow him to become a dealer?
In business, it is called the learning curve. Business is a great teacher. You learn from your mistakes.

7. Referencing #6, why did you sell him so much product?
We did not sell him a lot. He had a number of prototypes and sales samples which were developed during the development stage and used during Eurobike.

8. Does Harry receive a salary, or straight commission?
Mr. Harry does not receive a salary or commission. He has placed his order recently and is very excited about it. He shared his excitement with this forum.

9. What turn-key ebikes are manufactured using your motor kit?
Our product is expensive for OEM applications. OEMs are normally looking for extremely low price points. Nevertheless, here are some who use Falco Systems.
Terra Trike EVO
Utah Trikes
WeWatt
Santana Tandem
Cobrane
etc.

10. Does anyone else on the planet make a controller compatible with your motor?
No. Our controller is embedded inside the motor.

11. Do you know who Eric Hicks is, and why he is not pushing his "double-speed, double-torque" motor anymore?
I know Mr. Hicks very well. I do not know about his products or his business model in great detail. I am Sorry.

Please do let us know additional questions or comments.

Sincerely,
Rakesh Dhawan

pkhutch
1 day ago

Hello All, I am new to this forum, but anxious to get some advice and feedback. I've had a BH E-Motion 2 wheeler for 5 years, and have *loved* it. But--it got stolen, AND I've developed some serious back problems that will soon severely limit my ability to ride an upright bike. So I'm researching recumbent tadpole trikes, and so far I'm really intrigued. The Catrike Dumont is by far the most comfortable. All the Catrikes have to be refitted for electric assist (and those that come already configured for e-assist are too expensive!). I've done a decent amount of research on the Copenhagen Wheel and it looks like a very promising alternative to the usual wiring and re-configuration. Does anyone have any experience with this? Pros/Cons about the wheel? I'm very appreciative of any advice you can give. Paula

drewberz
5 days ago

battery technology is the limiting factor. they can't build such a bike...yet. you could also get that by making it a class 1 (ie 20mph) bike. at those speeds, there's less drag. but you get great mileage! i haven't seen anything close to that. although i don't ride the way you do. your setting 1 seems mostly pointless tbh. why not just ride a normal bike in that case? those mode settings do exist too in the '2018' version. as for your other recs, i think:

the hub is too costly so it wouldn't make sense for their price point. the giant isn't a super high-end electric.
the lights are good. i added some to mine but integrated is even better/cleaner/theft-resistant.
mine has eyelets for fenders and panniers. i like the idea of some sort of 'All-Adventure' e-bike. kind of like the Tamland.
mine also has a USB port on the display. it's 5W. i forget the voltage but it's standard USB.
i think displays will become more and more developed/integrated so i expect some partnering in the next revisions.

seems you are talking high-end niche (e-bikes) within a niche (power meters), not sure if that's where the market is headed, but i expect more aftermarket support in the future.

christob
5 days ago

At this point, taking them at their word (ie, I have no reason to do otherwise) -- they indicated they've never had a customer present this problem on this model.

Now, I wonder if I was perhaps their heaviest-starting rider to date; we'll probably never know -- ie, if that could have contributed say, to the development of the persistent wheel squeak -- I'd think a very plausible explanation for that sound developing... Even though I specifically raised my starting weight as a concern in the early rounds of emails before purchase, and was given an all-clear by them.

I can't help but think the "electrical short event" (my hunch, not yet confirmed) was somehow connected with the installation of the new hub wheel, since I'd had 815 problem-free miles other than the squeak, until that wheel-change -- then the assist died (on the new wheel) on the first day riding the new wheel... The old wheel never lost assist; that replacement only meant to address squeak. So -- hopefully their crew will be able to examine all the components & sensors, old wheel and new wheel, and diagnose what may have happened.

Anyway -- I will be continuing my monitoring; tracking my rides and notes on each ride as I did for the first bike, and will be watching for any signs of a pattern...

Over50
6 days ago

On my Haibike with the CX I'll turn it up to Sport when I'm at a light with traffic. I usually beat the first cars off the line and it gets me through the intersection ahead of most of the traffic. I've never had the opportunity to compare to a bike with a throttle but for quick starts, the CX motor is spectacular (at least on my bike the Trekking 4.0).

christob
6 days ago

Following other forum members, I wanted to share my observations now that I’ve accumulated 1,000 miles on the Café ebike from https://www.vintageelectricbikes.com/ Vintage Electric Bikes (“VEB”) of California.

Background: In January with my 50th birthday looming in August, being out of shape and at least 75 pounds overweight, I suddenly decided I would pursue an ebike. I hoped it would introduce enjoyable (and sustainable) exercise into my too sedentary lifestyle. I tipped the scales at 303 pounds (6 feet 2 inches tall) when I received the ebike on March 2. I figured the ebike would comfortably get me back into biking (with Assist eliminating the pedal-bike “miseries” such as hills I couldn’t tackle, range/fatigue limitations, etc.) And with a 6.7-mile one-way office commute on paved trails, I had no excuse not to attempt biking to work – which would then introduce at least 50 ‘unavoidable minutes’ of some level of exercise into those days.

I assumed the riding experience would eventually be fun – based on a throttle ebike rental years ago for a Golden Gate Bridge ride. But it has exceeded all my hopes & I’ve ridden nearly every day the weather permitted since early March 2nd (including some commutes on mornings in the low 30’s.) I now take a long detour after work to triple the ride home. With 1,000 miles and 22 office commuting days so far, I’m optimistic this has gelled into a new, enjoyable habit -- exactly what I wanted an ebike to do. I love that I can’t wait to get back on the bike – I’ve *never* looked forward to exercise, ever…! Even when I actively lost weight in the past... Now, it feels good getting home dripping sweat, as I see the pounds melting away…!

This is my first ebike, and my first sustained bike riding in at least 20 years. I took advantage of a deal on a demo bike VEB had – 74 miles clocked on the master odo plus a very minor scuff and a tiny dent on the rear fender – was enough for them to offer an attractive discount. (This was after a lengthy round of emails to answer my many newbie questions about ebikes. Eddie in Sales was very helpful and responsive.) The bike was shipped to Velofix, a mobile outfit, to do final assembly and deliver to me.

Key bike specs; 750w rear hub motor, 5 pedal-assist levels (no throttle mode), Class 3 / assist to 28mph, 48v 10.4Ah battery, chromoly steel frame, stocked tires 29x2 Schwalbe Fat Frank w/ Kevlar Guard, Shimano M365 hydraulic disc brakes, metal fenders in matching paint, Supernova 6v headlight and saddle-integrated red LED lights.

Likes / Positives (in no particular order):

[*]Looks, style and finish! I was immediately drawn to the style of this bike when searching. Test rode 3 other brands, but this kept calling me back. I find it a very handsome bike with a nostalgic character that reminded me of bikes from childhood memories. I really like the “Skyline Bronze” paint color vs. the ubiquitous black. The bike draws positive comments from folks on the trail, at the local bike shop and the office.
[*]VEB’s “small shop” outfit; I liked that the VEB team is a small, bike-enthusiasts-turned-makers outfit in the USA. I realize there can be pros & cons to a smaller size (vs. a huge player like Trek) but it held an appeal for me and hasn’t posed any problems (see Issue, later on.)
[*]2 - 3 hours full recharge. The charger (now) is 5 amps.
[*]Power. Level 4 and 5 are impressive and a lot of fun on an empty stretch of road. I’m not a speed junkie on the bike; I tend to hit max trip speeds for brief intervals, somewhere around 22-26mph on commutes or leisure rides (usually a downhill run.) Since I want exercise from most rides, I tend to stay in Level 1 whenever possible (gear-shifting regularly) while reserving Level 2 or 3 for when losing steam or on more serious / extended grades. In hindsight, I probably would have been fine with a 20mph ebike (VEB doesn’t have one in their lineup) – but I do like having that punch of power when I need it, and when I want the rush of that smooth speed!
[*]Leather-wrapped Velo saddle had integrated LED tail light. (Though I lost that in a saddle-change.)

Dislikes / Negatives (in no order):

[*]No suspension elements available; makes for a stiff ride over pavement cracks, tree-root buckled asphalt, etc. I sort of wish I had focused on this more, during my research & trial rides.
[*]Certainly not a lightweight ebike at 56lbs w/ battery. (But feels solid as a tank.)
[*]No mounting lugs anywhere on the frame for a water bottle cage!
[*]The included Supernova headlight only has steady-on; would like a daytime flash/pulse mode.
[*]I sort of wish the display panel offered more detailed battery / energy data (as EBR Forum posts have made me more curious about all that. Although I’m honestly not sure how long I’d sustain interest in those detailed figures, realistically!) The display panel does provide: Current Speed, Avg Trip Speed, Max Trip Speed, Master Odometer, Trip Odometer, Trip Time Duration, a 5-bar battery gauge, plus an active ‘graphical, segmented arc’ bar-meter as a visual depiction of motor input in real time.

Gear Updates:

[*]My initial purchase added a rear VO Campeur rack, Abus Bordo Centium lock & Spurcycle bell.
[*]Replaced the stock, leather-wrapped cylindrical style grips with Ergon GP1 leather.
[*]Added Mirrycle mirror and Topeak cage-mount accessory onto handlebar.
[*]Banjo Brothers canvas pannier bag; not weatherproof, but I’m not riding in rain (at least, not deliberately, yet!)
[*]Replaced stock perforated Brooks-leather-clad Velo saddle with a Brooks B67 spring saddle, which meant losing the integrated LED rear light of the stock saddle; so…
[*]Added strap-on rechargeable LED’s – seatpost-mounted rear red flasher, and handlebar mounted white flasher for daytime.

Issues and Outcomes:

[*]A chirping rear-wheel squeak developed in the first couple weeks of riding. Between calls to VEB and investigations at my local shop, they couldn’t eliminate the sound (regardless of Assist level, pedaling or coasting.) VEB eventually sent me a whole new rear wheel / hub motor assembly, assuming it might be something faulty with the motor itself, after exhausting everything else.
[*]Curiously, the first full day of riding after the new wheel was installed (which by the way, did eliminate the chirp!) the Assist died completely, perhaps after 15 miles tallied that day on the new wheel. (This was at about 815 total miles on the bike.) It stopped assisting in any Level, on any terrain. (Although Walk Mode still worked to spin the rear wheel.) Later that same evening, the display panel would no longer power on.
Speculation was that the new wheel’s install could have inadvertently loosened or damaged wiring inside the controller (all within the metal battery-mount-bracket on the downtube.) So VEB sent a new controller / battery-mount, installed by my local shop. That restored the power-on capability and Walk Mode but did not resolve the Assist issue. At that point, VEB decided it was time to send a brand new replacement Café bike.
I found this outcome especially impressive since I’d purchased the first bike at a nice discount for being slightly used.

I personally suspect an electrical short occurred while riding after the new wheel went on; a short that fried the pedal-assist sensor at the bottom bracket. (I’m not a mechanic by any means!) That would seem to explain why Walk Mode worked (hub got juice from battery) yet Assist did not, with both the old and new controller. The pedal-assist sensor was the only thing that was NOT replaced during VEB’s troubleshooting… And during this failure period, the bike was behaving exactly as if it didn’t know I was actively pedaling. (I.e., it is a pedal-assist only, no throttle.)

I’m waiting on VEB’s autopsy of the first bike. But the “something shorted” idea may also be supported by what appeared to be slightly-melted plastic surrounding 2 of the female sockets on the battery mount receiving socket of the old controller. I only discovered the melted-looking bits the night Assist died, when I did an inspection of the bike at home to check all wiring connections while VEB prepared their trouble-shooting plan. I’m 99.9% sure that same plastic area was pristine when I got the bike; though it wasn’t an area I regularly examined since it was frequently covered by the installed battery.

Summary: So – now 1,000 miles in (all miles from both Café bikes) 14 weeks after delivery. (Winter weather, some travel, and finally the Assist failure left about 53 bike-able days in that 14 week span; though I managed about 25 pedal-only miles during the “no Assist” time; quite a different workout experience! ;) ) At this point, I’d say the lack of suspension is the only serious shortcoming I’ve got with the bike. Although I do plan to try out a suspension seat post (and maybe even the Redshift Shock Stop stem?) after I drop 25 more pounds… I’m thrilled to share I’ve already lost 26lbs in those 14 weeks – yay, ebikes!

VEB support and service has been exemplary during the troubleshooting and ultimate replacement; I’m happy to say their “small outfit” presented no challenges! (At one point I called their HQ to check on the latest action plan – a new guy I’d not spoken to before answered. As I said my name, he knew instantly who I was – turns out it was the owner of the company who’d answered; while I was appreciative of his apology about the situation, I was even more relieved that he was completely in the loop on my case. I’ll never know whether I would have received this level of resolution and smooth handling from one of the larger manufactures, but I’m glad I don’t have to find out, either!

Citycrosser
6 days ago

YES! As an emissions and fuel economy testing expert, I can't agree more. The industry desperately needs some sort of standard like the EPA drive cycle tests or the World Harmonized Test Procedure (now in use in Europe and elsewhere).

What we need is a simple dyno that can simulate road load along with a drive motor connected to the pedals to simulate a person. One of the difficulties lies in determining the road load coefficients, which, for cars, used to be done based on weight of the vehicle, but is now done with a road load coast down. The road load coastdown can be costly but necessary as we all know the difference the tires can make in drag (think wide vs. skinny tires), so using a simple weight table won't work. If the e-bike has any cogging, or resistance while coasting, the coast down method gets even more complicated.

Other issues to sort out are how much the "person" motor contributes and what cadence they pedal at, what gear(s) to use, what the drive cycle should be, etc. There are also some issues that come about when the the motor is in the front wheel as one now needs a more complicated dyno. Assumptions could be made and these issues standardized so that all e-bikes are tested the same way in a temperature controlled environment.

I've spoken to a few independent test labs in the U.S. but no one is interested in developing this test method without some sort of industry backing. Since there is no overall regulating body, no one is setting the test method, so no one wants to stick their neck out to be the first. I do feel like if somebody were to develop a reputable test and get it off the ground, the industry would be interested in using it. I just need $50k or so to make it happen!

Mark Peralta
1 week ago

How much watt-hr is your battery?

Bruce Arnold
1 week ago

Good points, Mark. I use 20 Wh per mile as a rough rule-of-thumb, too.

Another, based on some data I recorded in April and May, is that watt-hours per mile is roughly equal to miles per hour. This seems a little counter-intuitive; wouldn't it go up when using a higher level of assist? But what actually happens is that to go, say, 15 mph in Eco, I pedal a lot, but in level 2 I pedal one or two turns, get a burst of speed, coast until it gets a little below 15, pedal one or two turns, etc. So I'm pedaling one-half the time that I would be in Eco, thus using more watts per stroke but fewer strokes per mile.

I wouldn't stake my life on this; I've developed a good feel for how many miles I've got in the tank based on the voltage level, and that's what I go by.

Reid
1 week ago

My overall ebike experience is life-changing in an extraordinarily good way.

I first had an ebike a little over ten years ago. It was not very good, a cheap commercially produced bike with lead acid battery. It was not very satisfactory. A year later I got a front wheel geared hub motor kit from Canada, bought locally a basic cruiser bike, and ordered direct from China, a Ping brand battery.

I soon crashed the bike! I did not know how to ride a cruiser bike! Went head over the bars when I foolishing pedaled while going through a roundabout, and the low-hung cruiser bike pedal hit the pavement and pogo'd me a number of feet though the air, landing me on grass and then the bike went just over me and landed on the grass too. Well! That caused me to lose interest in ebiking.

But I watched and waited many years. I knew what I wanted to wait for: A lithium battery bike with pedals that will never accidentally touch the pavement. I recognized the value and performance of the Juiced Bikes https://www.juicedbikes.com/products/crosscurrent-s.

My CCS arrived late last December. I have ridden it every day since. I gave up driving the car and use the bike for most all my needs. For the occasions when I cannot ride I will very reluctantly use our family car. When I go and tune and repair pianos I may summon a rideshare.

But, daily I ride my ebike manually for exercise. And when I want to go fast or far and not break a sweat, electric assist is there.

I have ridden manual bicycles casually since 1960 when I was six.

With an ebike I can confidenly state I will ride a bike productively and for my health, for my remaining life.

We all just want to get by. An ebike and some fortitude, enjoying that car traffic can be ridden around, and yes, recognizing that car drivers today are particularly dangerous because they are less attentive to their death dealing vehicles than ever before, I will still ride my ebike for health and for practicality, and extoll its virtues to every person I meet while rolling the bike.

"What a beautiful bike," is the universal compliment I get from every person who sees the bike, whether I am cresting a bridge and they are on foot looking at the bridge view, or in the store like our local Home Depot, where the bike and its fold-out basket in the rear serves as a shopping cart, "What a beautiful bike. Is it an ebike? I am afraid to ride a bike because of the traffic, it's crazy."

The more of us who exemplify the the lifestyle of the Dutch and just ride a bike, manual or electric assist, the more we help those poor drivers understand that yes, they can do it too.

I am trying to encourage other riders. Do you agree with my posting of this video?

The more people will ride a bike, the healthier we all will become emotionally and otherwise. There is safety in numbers of more people riding bikes.

Gator
1 week ago

My experience is very limited, but I hope to increase my experience when I get my first Ebike this coming weekend.

From all of the research I have done finding a bike to purchase, one area of research or development I would like to suggest: Battery Technology.

From my reading and research, batteries only give back about 70% of the energy used to charge them due to heat and other factors.

This backup battery used for phones, tablets, and laptops gives back 80%. That is what they claim anyway. What is their secret?
https://zendure.com/products/a5-black I own two of these and I have no reason to doubt their claim.

They use a computer chip to make sure the battery does not overcharge other devices. This technology might be able to be reversed and a chip employed on Bike batteries to ensure they are not overcharged. Maybe a chip or processor could be employed to ensure the most output, ideal charge time, and the longest life for the battery. Maybe the chip or processor would be better used in the charger. I am not sure what the best route would be, but I think this is a viable research path if you are really looking for a way to make ebikes more mainstream. It might even be a way to use some sort of AI.

Good Luck and Welcome

dugg914
1 week ago

Yes, the tires were an option. Great ride yesterday, the full suspension a tremendous difference over the Evelo hardtail I had. I'll be back out again this morning.

DerekH
3 weeks ago

I recently moved about 25 miles from work, so I’m looking for a dependable commuter e-bike. So far I have the Smartmotion Pacer, EVELO Delta X, Juiced Crosscurrent S, and the Ohm Urban at the top of my list. I’m used to commuting to work on my bike, but it was only 5 miles before I moved. I would like a speed pedelec just because I want my commute to be closer to one hour. I live in Wisconsin so hills aren’t an issue. I’ll mostly be riding on the side of county roads and some paved and gravel trails. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

MisterM
4 weeks ago

Don't know anything that meets your chain-less requirement.

Maybe an Evelo Delta X with NuVinci IGH? Has 750w motor.

Larger guys like us really benefit from larger motors climbing hills Have you looked at Bafang Ultra mid drives? Have rare combo of mid drive power, torque sensor, throttle and speed/power can be user-adjusted. Biktrix Ultra, M2S Dual Trail, Volton A-Trail etc sell them (some market the Ultra as 1000w and others 750w - but it's the same motor with 1500+w peak and huge 160nm torque)

MisterM
2 months ago

I don't know if they are easy to swap, but it will be an expensive upgrade. Why not look for something with 750w motor 48v already?

Evelo Delta and Aurora have 750w mid motors. Could put road tires on the Delta if you wanted more of a commuter.

keithd
2 months ago

The Aurora uses a chain so the gear ratio could be changed for better hill climbing.

MisterM
2 months ago

I'm with you on the questionable climbing power with the NuVinci and smaller motors. Court did a review of the Evelo Delta last year with a 500w motor - he took it on several hills and seemed to be pleasantly surprised. However, I wasn't terribly impressed considering he's only 135 lbs. Not surprised to hear a 250w Bosch would have trouble up steeper hills.

This new 750w/1000w peak Bafang upgrade is what caught our attention (as well as the larger semi-integrated battery rather than rack mounted) - finally seemed powerful enough to go up steeper hills (or at least that's our hope - we'll know in the first 5 mins). The setup is exactly what my wife wants - she's not interested in shifting and wants a simple cockpit.

I started this thread specifically because of the larger motor option - don't know of any other bike using a 750w mid drive with a NuVinci.

Will give an update when the bike arrives in a few months.

JoeLong
5 months ago

I own a Honda NM4 it has a dual clutch 6-speed automatic transmission so I'm looking for my 1st ebike and can't imagine having to shift through through 10 speeds manually. The Evelo Delta appears to have it all, is the controller programmable, and how well does the transmission operate at speeds above 20/mph? I need speed.

Thanks
JoeLong

comradecasey
6 months ago

Awesome! This may or may not be my third e bike. I love my Evelo Delta with 27.5 3" plus size tires for mtb and this looks like a fantastic competitor!

comradecasey
6 months ago

Get a mid drive bike. I picked up an open box Evelo Delta for ~$3k that is fantastic. I can't 100% recommend a Juiced bike as I have their Hyper Fat bike and while it has plenty of torque, a mid drive will still have more and there are lots of other issues with Juiced as well (support being the main one).

comradecasey
6 months ago

52T is gigantic. I'm running a 42T Lekkie on my Evelo Delta with a NuVinci N380 in the rear and it will climb 45 degree inclines no problem. I'd definitely run a smaller front chainring if you're wanting to do real mtb stuff, just know that you'll likely spin out at higher speeds. Not sure if there's really any room for a front derailleur on the left handlebar tbh, but it's a good idea if you can find room!

comradecasey
6 months ago

I’ll take photos in a bit, but it definitely isn’t 1/16”. Wish it was though!

Yeah it seems just plain idiotic to not have one being as every other bike out there has one. My Evelo Delta has a more complicated process for the rear wheel compared to other bikes like my old Sondors as the Evelo has a NuVinci CVT hub, but it’s 100% able to be removed from the bike (I got a flat my second week on some crap tubes from my LBS so that was fun)

But yeah I plan on doing the same thing as you for the rear as that’ll be a PITA when a flat finally happens.

hurricane56
6 months ago

The lack of a service disconnect is a total bummer. Almost every bike I’ve seen with a rear hub has one.

I’ve gone to great lengths to not get flats on the rear tire. Tire liner combined with thick inner tube filled with sealant should take care of most scenarios, but I do dread a field tube replacement if I’m on a commute leg by myself.

Dwight
6 months ago

I just bought an Evelo Delta, I did keep my Surface604 Element but don’t ride it very often.....would still like to have an extra battery but can’t afford to spend a lot on it.

How about $200 + shipping?

Meno Passini
8 months ago

Evelo needs to offer a Cruiser and a Commuter version of the Delta. It needs fenders and integrated lights. Evelo offers thudbuster seats and Cruiser style handlebars so you can ride upright and comfortable. There needs to be different tires too. The Delta's purposed built frame, brakes, mid drive, rear hub transmission, mid mount battery are the prefect template. I have ridden Trek's Super Commuter it is a Great bike, but the Delta has more features for $600.00 less. Also Evelo offers a better warranty.

EVELO Electric Bicycles
7 months ago

Hi Meno, we have some great news for you. We will be introducing the Delta CX in the spring of 2018, which will include a rear rack, fenders, lights, and Schwalbe's Moto-X 2.8 tires. This will be a great bike for commuting, bikepacking or any adventure which requires hauling gear. We have helped a number of customers set up their current Delta in a similar fashion, so if you don't want to wait that long we can certainly help you out with modifying the current Delta.

Rob K
9 months ago

Hi Court. Can you give your opinion on the NuVinci N380 vs the Shimono 11 with Di2 vs the Rohloff 14 internal hubs. What have you experienced with these on mid-drive systems. And do you prefer one over the other and Why..? Thanks Court..Great Review..!

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Hi Rob, I like the NuVinci N360 and N380 because they shift smoothly and instantly vs. the Shimano internally geared hubs that sort of click into set gears. The Rohloff hubs are tough but seem louder and less smooth than the Shimano... Does the Shimano 11 with Di2 come with a derailleur or is that an internally geared hub? If it's the derailleur, I like how quick it shifts, how accurate it is, and how light it is but the design is more vulnerable and cannot be shifted at standstill. I hope this helps :)

Ducati Monster
9 months ago

Really like this bikes setup. The transmission, suspension, and the throttle will smooth out any cadence issue's.

small footprint
9 months ago

I think the bikes are really cool but, I got interested in your site because of your camping in your Prius. Do you have another channel where you focus on that aspect of your adventure or was that video a one time thing? Thanks in advance for responding. Lynn

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Hi Lynn! I might do more videos like that but it was more of a one-off thing. What would you like to see? Perhaps with your feedback I can mix more of that stuff in :)

Seb K
9 months ago

About a month in from when I first got my commuter I was pushing the bike out the garage and I forgot the bike was on . I hit the throttle and shot off . I have a small front shed that i slammed into . Took out the wall and destroyed my forks .

Seb K
9 months ago

No laughing :) !!!

Haroldo Menezes
9 months ago

rapaz fala para mim como é que eu faço para importar uma bike dessa dormir uma dica

daMacroGuy
9 months ago

Thanks for including the bike's price in the title. I enjoy all your videos, but knowing the price up front helps me to filter my viewing to my price range.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Sure thing, glad it helps you out ;)

Bruce Ballad
9 months ago

I was so waiting for this review, I am writing this while watching the first minutes.
Edit: It looks sound awesome. I am kind of a bafang fan. I wonder are they selling in or shipping to Australia.

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Sweet! Glad you're enjoying it Bruce, I wonder that as well? They folks at EVELO are super helpful and supportive, reach out and let us know what the options are for the folks in the land down under :D

Connie Odell
9 months ago

Nuvinci, zero speed throttle, lots of power. Give it a gates belt and torque sensor and I'll buy it.

Jack Nizer
9 months ago

Then keep an eye on this upcoming jewel from Luna Cycle: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvMCA3ZyyfI :)

Connie Odell
9 months ago

Let's throw in a dual suspension for good measure!

Jack Nizer
9 months ago

I totally agree with you. I hope they will consider the Delta X, using the Bafang Max Ultra, and the new NuVinci N380x (high torque new version), and a gates Carbon belt. I don't think the extra dollars would be as high as $1500, but it would make the absolutely perfect bike. 1000W and Torque/cadence/speed sensor. I would definitely buy that! (and probably two of them so my wife can enjoy it too :) )

Connie Odell
9 months ago

You only live once! It's only money, ha. I still think there is a big market for a powerful mid drive, zero speed throttle, gates-Nuvinci, dual suspension bike with all purpose tires, fenders, lights and rack. Your review of this bike and the R&M Delite are coming pretty close. Keep up the great work!

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Would you still want it if those options added $1,500 to the price tag? I'm guessing it would cost at least that much given the custom frame cutaway for belt drives and a Bafang Max drive with updated programming

Daniel S.
9 months ago

doesn't it seem unproportional? in a side view? this month I will probably get the bike you suggested me. Than I post a video on my channel as well. XD

Daniel S.
9 months ago

I mean that in the mix between electric drive engine with bicycle, that bike has a lot more electric than bicycle. The motor and battery pack have a large volume in the totality of the bike. Much more than in other bikes. At least visually it seems

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

I'm a bit confused by your comment, could you explain the unproportional and side view thing?

Mr Jhonny
9 months ago

I love this bike!The style,mid drive,thick tyres and the big batery make this bike a beast!!!!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Yeah, this thing looks awesome, rides well, and provides great pedal and throttle options... this with a customized Bafang Max drive wold be perfect, but the BBS02 is still great

Meno Passini
9 months ago

Thanks for the honest review. I was half way sold until you mentioned the cadace problem. Also looks like a kids bike, to small. Love the brakes, rims, fork, battery and trans. Great warranty. Who makes the mid-drive? Bafang? Is there a multi sensor Bafang mid drive w/ higher wattage?

Meno Passini
9 months ago

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA. Yes I found a Trek dealer with nice discounts on 2017 models. The one I like is the Trek Super Commuter + 85. Nice wide tires but not Fat Bike size. I rode a Fat bike, it was hard to steer and the tires became caked w/ snow. The big Bafang is really the way to GO, but at 57 I just want to cummute. The dealer is in a college town. Lotz of old Hippies going through their E Bike thing. Saw a good number of posts for used ones "Like New". My neighbor bought the big ELk electric trike/car. It sits in the garage.

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA
9 months ago

Correct when technology is initially deployed it is very expensive due to lack of optimization and demand not being high by 2020 e bikes will be very popular and the average cost will range from 1000-3000, so if your patient you can score a good deal on an e bike, currently the most cost effective way of getting an e bike is doing a DIY kit, I will probably due a DIY kit during Christmas time only if I can get a DIY kit for about 500 bucks mid drive motor kit + battery... You can also buy last years model for about 50% off random bicycles has good deals!!!

Meno Passini
9 months ago

I think 2018 will be a model year of change. Less hub drives, more mid drives and better pricing. I saw some New 2017 Treks mid drives at a big discount. $800.00 off VM700+

Jack Nizer
9 months ago

" Is there a multi sensor Bafang mid drive w/ higher wattage?". Yes there is, it is the Bafang Max Ultra Drive. It has Integrated Torque / cadence / speed sensor like the Bosch, and it has 1000W nominal power, 1600W peak ! This is the motor I would love to see on that bike :)

Meno Passini
9 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com. There is so much to learn. Iam glad you are informed and honest. Iam going through your list of mid drives, there are too many choices.. Now I like the Cube.

Rick Etter
9 months ago

Great review! One of your best ever. As an owner of an original FLX mid drive Bofeili Roadster which I purchased primarily because of your reviews when they first came out, I appreciate the value of throttle power for climbing and control. I believe my Roadster is very similar to this model which is why I appreciate your accuracy in reporting the responsiveness of cadence control, throttle activated, ebikes. Keep up the great work. You are the reason I purchased what I did after months of listening to your reviews a year ago this month. Thank you for assisting me in becoming an avid bicyclist again and an Ebiker advocate. Two new hips, four heart attacks, and two back surgeries later I'm still riding the dream and I owe much to you. I continue to follow your reviews and continue to learn so very much about the ebiking/bicycling world.

juv mol
9 months ago

WildDwightman hey it happen same.to me after watching his reviews i bouth my first ebike ....a specialized turbo ,and also after cancelling order whit another brand who also was keeping delaying release date due to twcnical problwms i went on an pull the triger on my turbo,yet now i want a more like a mountain bike than a flat surface road and ben loling on wich brand and bike go .thanks very much for your reply .

WildDwightman
9 months ago

I ordered the FLX Blade on June 9th, was told a couple of days ago it will be another six to eight weeks. I cancelled my order this morning and plan on pulling the trigger on this baby soon!

Court excellent review, I bought my first ebike after watching your review of the Surface604 Element.

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Thanks Rick, your comment definitely made my day... I'm so glad to hear that your FLX is working well and that your lifestyle is enjoyable and active because of ebikes, that's awesome! Your reply to juv was also very thoughtful and constructive. You seem like a good person :)

Rick Etter
9 months ago

juv mol my bike in its gen 2 version sells for about$2,100. Not quite apples for Apple's. Look at the current FLX Tract and see what you think. The FLX is about a3 month wait where this appears to be available immediately. There's a lot to like about this bike given the money difference that I do believe is worth it based on Cort's review only.

juv mol
9 months ago

Rick Etter quick question,wich one its better ,yoir bike or this one?

Joey-eLL
9 months ago

Can you do the quest from evelo

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Indeed I will, thanks for the request! Expect it in a week or so

Pure Water Window Cleaning
9 months ago

Sweet bike! Thanks for the great review... As always!

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Sure thing, thanks for your support :D

luis fernando
9 months ago

Whats the range?

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Yeah, All4Grogg is providing some great answers here. The reason my estimates are usually like 20 to 40 miles (which is a huge gap) is because of the five levels of assist and throttle option. Range is heavily dependent on how hard the motor is working as well as rider weight and terrain... so many factors XD

All4Grogg
9 months ago

Yeah....that did strike me as a very fair estimate, but if you notice one number is twice the size of the other. If i were to tell you that we were going for a walk and you asked how far, i don't think you would be satisfied if i told you... oh 20 or 40 miles...
An accurate estimate requires a whole bunch of things accounted for into defined scenarios. As much as sellers/reviewers would love to have a good solid answer, it varies.

Mr Jhonny
9 months ago

At this time he sayes 20-40 miles 4:56

All4Grogg
9 months ago

http://www.electricbikerange.info/Electric_bike_range.html here is a better link

All4Grogg
9 months ago

That is an impossible question for any system, the battery offers 556 watt hours from that subtract how much you anticipate to draw from the battery per mile, add in how much wattage you apply with your legs, adjust for rolling resistance, aerodynamic drag, rider weight then use some calculus to account for slopes encountered on your planned route and you'll have an estimate. The best calculator i've found is at www electricbikerange.info play around with some of the variables there and it'll show you how massive a difference things like having a headwind/rider position/rider input can have on range, basically why range estimates from manufacturers are little more than wild guesses.

Steve Donovan
9 months ago

All one need's is a programming cable and bump the peak wattage to over 1200. Just saying...

Steve Donovan
9 months ago

Your caution for the motor is valid and actually may be why the bike manufacturer limits it under 1000 watts, which is a limitation of its amperage to 20. The current BBS02 will use a full 25 amps but you have to be prudent with that to short periods or it will get hot.
Btw, Bafang has done a lousy job programming those motors, it's why you feel it easily surge or kick in. I'm like many who purchased one soon after to reprogram the power curve and it is a wonderful difference even though I barely use pedal assist. I don't know why Bafang doesn't change it?
Enjoyed your review!

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Maybe that's what they do with the off-road update? In any case, be careful not to ruin the battery or burn out the motor by overclocking it, I realize the world of BBS02 motors is full of different options :)