Evelo Delta Review

Evelo Delta Electric Bike Review
Evelo Delta
Evelo Delta 750 Watt Bafang Bbs02 Mid Motor Mid Kickstand
Evelo Delta 48 Volt 11 6 Amp Hour Mid Frame Battery Pack
Evelo Delta Large Center Mount Display Panel Trigger Throttle
Evelo Delta Sr Suntour Xcr Air Suspension 120 Mm Travel
Evelo Delta Plastic Chain Guide Large Alloy Pedals Plus Sized Nobby Nic Tires
Evelo Delta Nuvinci N380 Continuously Variable Transmission Hub
Evelo Delta Semi Integrated Wiring Mid Motor
Evelo Delta 2 Amp Electric Mountain Bike Charger
Evelo Delta Electric Bike Review
Evelo Delta
Evelo Delta 750 Watt Bafang Bbs02 Mid Motor Mid Kickstand
Evelo Delta 48 Volt 11 6 Amp Hour Mid Frame Battery Pack
Evelo Delta Large Center Mount Display Panel Trigger Throttle
Evelo Delta Sr Suntour Xcr Air Suspension 120 Mm Travel
Evelo Delta Plastic Chain Guide Large Alloy Pedals Plus Sized Nobby Nic Tires
Evelo Delta Nuvinci N380 Continuously Variable Transmission Hub
Evelo Delta Semi Integrated Wiring Mid Motor
Evelo Delta 2 Amp Electric Mountain Bike Charger

Summary

  • One of the more powerful purpose-built electric mountain bikes I have tested to date, possibly the only setup like this with a trigger throttle that overrides assist 1-5, unlockable higher speeds
  • Unique combination of trail capable and urban oriented features such as rear rack bosses and kickstand mounts alongside premium knobby tires and 120 mm air suspension with boost hub
  • Continuously variable transmission from NuVinci allows for shifting at standstill, reduced chain and sprocket wear (given the mid-motor drivetrain) and an overall clean, durable build
  • The motor produces a distinct whining noise at full power, you have to pay extra for the nicer fork and hydraulic disc brakes, cadence sensing assist isn't as fluid as torque or multi-sensor

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Evelo

Model:

Delta

Price:

$3,499 ($3,899 Fully Loaded)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Moped or Motorcycle (Class 4)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 4 Year (20,000 mile) Frame, Battery, Motor, Controller

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

57.4 lbs (26.03 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.4 lbs (2.9 kg) (Larger Pack 9 lbs)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Small 15" Specs: 15.5" Seat Tube, 22.5" Reach, 29" Stand Over Height, 29.5" Width, 73.5" Length, Large 19" Specs: 19.3" Seat Tube, 22.75" Reach, 29" Stand Over Height, 29.5" Width, 74.25" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Gloss Space Gray (Gloss Black with Blue Accents), Matte Asphault

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCR Air Suspension, 120 mm Travel, Boost 110 mm Hub, 15 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release, Optional RockShox Reba Air Suspension, 120 mm Travel, Compression Clicker with Lockout, Rebound Adjust, Rigid Aluminum Alloy, Boost 110 mm Hub, 15 mm Maxle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

142 mm Hub, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 Speed 1x∞ NuVinci N380 Mechanical Continuously Variable Transmission, 22 Tooth Sprocket

Shifter Details:

Nfinity C8 Grip Twist on Right Bar (Optional NuVinci Grip Twist on Right Bar)

Cranks:

8Fun AC08-2 Alloy Crank Arms, 170 mm Length, 48T Chainring

Pedals:

VP-565 Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2", Threadless Internal Cups, Two 10 mm Headset Spacers, Two 5 mm Headset Spacers

Stem:

FSA V-Drive, 90 mm Length, 6° Angle

Handlebar:

FSA Comet, Low-Rise, Aluminum Alloy, 9° Back Sweep, 4° Up Sweep, 740 mm Length

Brake Details:

Shimano BR-M375 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitor, Optional Tektro Auriga E-Comp Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro 3-Finger Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Velo, Flat, Texturized Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Selle Royale, Black (Optional Upgrade Program)

Seat Post:

FSA Gossamer, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

340 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 32 Hole Front, 36 Hole Rear

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge, Silver with Adjustable Brass Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Nobby Nic, 27.5" x 3.0"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

15 to 35 PSI, TLE Tubeless Easy Snakeskin, EVO Evolution, Trail Star 3, Reflective Logos

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Optional Comfort Package (Ergon GP2-L Ergonomic Locking Grips, Suspension Seat Post, Extra Large Saddle for $200), Optional Safety Package (High Powered Lights, Bar-End Mirror, Bell, Reflective Light Band for Pants $99), Optional Commuter Package (Teflon Lubricant, Tire Levers, Patch Kit, Mini-Pump, Hex Key Wrench Set $99)

Other:

Locking Removable Downtube Mounted Battery, 1.6 lb 2 Amp Battery Charger, 300 lb Max Weight Rating, KMC Z-Chain, Dropout Mount Rear Kickstand Provisions, Bottom Bracket Mount Center Kickstand Provisions

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang BBS02

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Peak Output:

960 watts

Motor Torque:

120 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung (A, B Rated Cells) (Optional Panasonic)

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

6 hours (Up to 6 With Larger Pack)

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Evelo Branded King Meter, Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Bars), Odometer, Trip Meter, Speed, Average Speed, Max Speed, Mode (None, Eco, Standard, Power, Speed), Watt Output

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Left, Backlight (Hold Up Arrow), Walk Mode (Hold Down Arrow), Trip to Odometer (Press M Button), Speed to Avg Speed to Max Speed (Hold Up and M Button), Settings Menu (Hold Up and Down)

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (8 Pole Cadence Sensor, Torque Sensor)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (Unlock Off-Road Mode to 30 MPH)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

EVELO created something truly unique, capable, and exciting with the Delta. I don’t usually gush like this, but it’s true! This is the first purpose built mid-drive powered electric trail bike that I have ever seen with a NuVinci continuously variable transmission, trigger throttle override offering full power, premium plus sized tires, an unlockable higher speed for off-road use, and multiple frame size and color options. The motor power and battery capacity are no joke, this thing basically maxes out the legal stats with a custom integrated BBS02 centerdrive rated nominally at 750 watts and a 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery. Both components are positioned low and center for optimized balance and handling, and because of the semi-integrated battery concept, there’s even room for bottle cage bosses on the seat tube. Now, it’s not all sunshine and rainbows here… the trade-offs are a “unique” looking battery slot which was chosen to avoid a design patent on downward-interfacing batteries, and louder less-smooth cadence activated pedal assist. I guess the higher price tag is also a consideration, it depends on the e-bikes you’ve been considering. With a base price of $3.5k and an optional fork + hydraulic disc brake upgrade raising it to $3.9, it’s definitely not what I would call affordable. For those dollars however, you get some of the best customer service I have seen. Evelo offers a unique four-year 20k mile warranty with a sliding-price battery replacement option depending on how much use the bike has had when it comes time for replacement. This is a company that has been selling electric bikes since before I started EBR in 2012. You can call them and talk to a real person, visit the flagship factory store in Seattle Washington as I did, or connect with one of their local dealers! There are some impressive hills to test the bikes on and I was blown away by the performance. Yes, I only weigh ~135 lbs, but I have not experienced this level of power on any other Class 2 electric bike to date. Alex, a representative from Evelo, went on the test ride with me and demonstrated that a 240 lb rider can also climb effectively, though he did pedal along a bit while I was able to go throttle only. To me, throttle activation is one of the most exciting and useful aspects of the bike. Being able to zip off the line from a stop sign or traffic signal… being able to rest your legs on a long steady climb… or being able to catch up with a friend without having to look down and click up or down to increase assist (or even shift gears) is awesome. That said, Class 2 e-bikes are not allowed on quite as many mountain bike trails as Class 1 at this time because of concern for possible trail damage and adverse rider behavior. For those who own some private land, work on a farm, need an electric bike as a pit bike at a racetrack, or enjoy riding off-road on OHV trails, EVELO can actually unlock the display to allow for ~30 mph riding (depending on terrain, rider weight, etc.)

Driving the Evelo Delta is a Bafang/8Fun BBS02 motor system that has been custom-integrated into a metal bottom bracket casing. I have reviewed the stock BBS02, which is designed to bolt onto the spindle tube of a non-ebike, and it hangs forward in such a way ground clearance is reduced and aesthetics are compromised. It is still one of the most popular aftermarket kits available, but it isn’t winning any beauty contests. Messy cables and bolt-on battery packs are another byproduct of the stock BBS02, but all of that is overcome through EVELO’s custom solution here. Some cables to protrude at the bottom bracket but they are mostly hidden and the battery pack is not nearly as vulnerable… nor does it get in the way of that bottle cage or a triangular frame bag like this. This is part of what you’re paying for, a nicer look with less vulnerable cables and parts. The motor itself seemed to perform as I had remembered from my stand-alone BBS02 review in 2014. It relies on an on/off cadence sensor that isn’t especially fluid but does start and stop quickly. This could be a good or bad thing depending on your needs; you don’t have to push hard to make it start, but it could feel abrupt if the power is set to high and you’re going from zero. The motor can also be loud when riding in the highest levels of assist, especially in a lower gear. But one of the neat things about the NuVinci continuously variable transmission hub is that you don’t really have gears. Instead, there’s a smooth transition from faster cadence (meant for climbing) or slower cadence (meant for attaining higher speeds). You can shift at standstill and there are no clicks or bangs as you might experience with a traditional derailleur. This is an important point because the Bafang BBS02 motor does not offer shift sensing or torque sensing… easing off of the pedals a bit is not going to slow the motor down and if you were to shift gears this way, the chain, sprockets, and derailleur would all take a beating. In this configuration, EVELO is minimizing drivetrain wear, reducing the potential for chain drops, reducing chain bounce and nicks on the right chain stay, and allowing you to shift at standstill. The NuVinci N380 is not a trivial or inexpensive component, and it’s not lightweight. Note the higher price and slightly higher weight of the frame at ~56.4 lbs (for the small frame I reviewed). I believe the downtube of the frame is also heavier because of the unique battery interface.

The battery pack on this bike is above average in terms of size and below average in terms of weight, exactly what you want. It offers a more efficient 48 volt power flow vs. 36 volts and has an 11.6 amp hour capacity for over 550 total watt hours of energy. Inside, there are Lithium-ion cells which I assume are higher quality because of the raised energy density and outstanding warranty on offer. This type of cell is known for being durable but you can maximize the lifetime of the pack by storing it in cool, dry locations and making sure it is 50% full for long term non-use. The battery clicks in from the right side of the bike and has a single charging port also on the right side that is high enough to clear the crank arm and pedal! This is a big deal, if you forget that the bike is charing and bump the cranks, it won’t present the same opportunity for snagging and damage that so many other batteries suffer from. The charging port and charging plug are the exact same whether you’re filling the pack on or off the bike, and the battery design has a little indented handle at the top for safe transport. There are so many other battery packs that forego this type of design care, Yamaha and Bosch come to mind but their packs have been smaller in capacity and they aren’t offered on bikes with throttles. Honestly, in some ways, I find the Evelo battery slot to be ugly, but I have to admit that it looks well protected and offers all the utility I could ask for. It also slid in smoothly and produced an audible click so I knew it was secure, it didn’t rattle during my test rides either… but the bike was brand new so I welcome your feedback.

Operating the bike was familiar because of the commonly used King Meter display panel. EVELO has their branding painted on the display, but the LCD and button pad are industry-standards. I appreciate the size of the readouts and bright backlighting (that you activate by holding the up arrow for a few seconds). You get extra readouts with this display and can reach them by pressing the center Mode button once it is turned on… You hold Mode to turn the bike on and off once the battery has been charged and mated to the frame. Arrowing up or down, you can explore 0, and 1-5 levels of assist. With 0, nothing really happens and the throttle is not hot. This mode would be good for using the display as a trip meter and preserving battery on flats when you don’t mind pedaling. As soon as you click up into level 1, the throttle becomes active with FULL POWER, which is exactly how I like it, but possibly a bit advanced for people who are not used to throttles. For example, if you coast to a stop and decide to get off of the bike without either arrowing back down to zero or turning it off and then you bump that paddle trigger near the left grip, the bike will lurch forward. Keep this in mind when showing the bike to friends, loading it onto public transportation, walking it into your garage or shed etc. just be thoughtful. For someone with a knee injury like myself, or a person with MS, or simply a desire for a moped feel, the throttle is a highlight and is easy to reach and use while still grasping the grips. The button pad is simple enough, and also easy enough to reach, that I did not have an issue interacting with it. On the right grip, you’ve got a half-grip twist for raising or lowering pedal cadence as discussed earlier. Instead of numbers, there’s an infographic with a little stick figure person riding a bike and as you twist the shifter, the ground beneath him becomes flat or turns into a steep hill. The idea is that you match your terrain to the graphic, turn it to look like a hill if you’re about to climb!

I’ve done a lot of features explaining up until this point, but now I want to talk about ride quality. The Delta feels balanced and solid. I have become a fan of the Plus Sized tires that in this case, are 27.5″ x 3″ which is much fatter than the common 27.5″ x 2.125″ or 2.25″. The increased air volume acts as a sort of suspension and dampens vibrations. The wider contact patch provides traction and float over bumpy terrain. These tires decrease deflection on angular surfaces (gripping and riding straight over), and they require a custom fork and frame to work right. The fork here is either a SR Suntour XCR Air Suspension with 120 mm Travel or RockShox Reba Air Suspension with 120 mm Travel and Compression Clicker with Lockout and Rebound Adjust. Both of them have longer hubs which increase spoke bracing angle creating a stronger wheel. The spokes are thicker 13 gauge so even though the bike is rated at 350 lb max weight, I’m guessing it could handle a bit more. I want to compliment the choice of Schwalbe Nobby Nic tires which have reflective graphics on the side and come tubeless ready (to be converted if you like). These are going to last longer than other generic tires might. And, getting back to how this electric trail bike could be used, the rear rack bosses and fender mounts mean that you could ride this into work without having to wear a backpack or deal with the mess of wet streets. It’s an incredibly versatile platform that I thoroughly enjoyed testing. Again, it’s not perfect, but it is fun and capable. Big thanks to Evelo for partnering with me on this review, and their employee Alex who met me in Seattle and rode up a super steep hill while I filmed. This company has always been a leader in terms of support, but their latest generation of products have raised the bar and truly impressed me. If you like how it looks, appreciate power and a throttle mode, and can justify the slightly higher price… which is very reasonable given the drivetrain and custom frame, it could be a great choice. As always, I welcome your feedback and experiences with the product and company in the comments below or the forums here.

Pros:

  • The Delta offers a very unique and exciting combination of off-road capability with the larger tires and suspension, urban utility with the rear rack and fender bosses, and efficiency with the mid-drive motor and NuVinci continuously variable transmission
  • The Bafang BBS02 motor is powerful but relies more on cadence signals than torque and can be harder on the chain and sprockets when using a derailleur… but that is completely alleviated with the NuVinci CVT hub, you can even shift at standstill
  • Available in two frame sizes so you can optimize body position and fit beyond seat height and stem position, note the additional riser stacks and angled stem which can be flipped if you want to get super aggressive and forward
  • Most of the Bafang BBS02 mid-motors I see are bolted to the bottom bracket of traditional bikes but this one is integrated into the bottom bracket, as a result, it has a much higher ground clearance and looks nicer
  • Interesting upgrade path, you can improve the suspension fork quality and move to hydraulic disc brakes for $400 more, but in all cases, the fork has a sturdy 15 mm thru-axle with Boost (wider hub for improved spoke bracing angle) and the head tube is tapered for strength
  • I love that even on the smaller frame size, Evelo was able to squeeze in bottle cage bosses so you can mount a holder, folding lock, mini pump or other accessory along the seat tube
  • Very few mid-drive electric bikes offer throttle on demand, this is a useful feature for those rides when you have to start and stop a lot or maybe you need extra power briefly but don’t want to fidget with the up/down assist buttons
  • Both brake options come with motor inhibiting levers, anytime you pull the brakes, the drive system will shut down immediately for safety
  • One of the benefits to using an internally geared or CVT hub is that there is only one chainring and one sprocket, the chain stays tight and probably won’t drop or bounce down and nick the right chainstay, the shifting mechanism is also smaller and better protected than a traditional derailleur that would hang down on the right and possibly get bent if the bike tipped
  • The plus sized Schwalbe Nobby Nic tires provide excellent traction with reduced deflection, you can ride across grass, over small rocks, and through soft forest type terrain more easily, the low pressure range lets you optimize squishy comfort and float without as much risk of pinch flats because of the large diameter of the tire (consider converting to tubeless for reduced weight and lower PSI, I believe that the tires are setup to allow for that)
  • 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery is much higher capacity than what I would consider average but it doesn’t weigh a lot, at ~6.4 lbs this thing is using nicer energy dense cells, you can remove it to reduce bike weight for transport or charging off the bike and the battery casing has a nice integrated handle to make it easier to carry
  • The thick 31.6 mm seat post is stronger and sturdier, a more trail-capable hardware part than the 27.2 mm and 30.9 mm I usually see, you could swap this with a suspension post for improved comfort but might need a shim adapter for thinner suspension posts, here’s a perfect fit and relatively affordable one from SR Suntour
  • Nice touch points, the Selle Royal saddle is active but more comfortable than a no-name cheap seat, the VP pedals are large and grippy, they feel solid and won’t bend the way cheaper cage style pedals might
  • I was told that this bike is rated up to 350 lbs, and I believe it! The frame felt very sturdy and the spokes are thicker 13 gauge vs. the stock 14g or 15g on a lot of other e-bikes
  • The frame and systems are purpose built, this means that cables are internally routed, vulnerable parts are reinforced, and the weight of the motor and battery are kept as low and centered on the frame as possible for stability
  • Interesting point with the Evelo Delta, I was told that there is a way to increase the top speed of the bike and make it more of an “off road” product if you live on a farm or private property and want to use it more like a moped, it would not be street legal in this configuration
  • EVELO offers three accessory packages to help you optimize the bike for comfort, safety, or commuting and in my experience with this sort of thing, the parts tend to look nicer and work better than if you try to guess on your own (and it costs a lot less this way)
  • Minor mention here but I think the Schwalbe Nobby Nic logo on the tires is reflective so you can be seen a bit easier from the sides if you ride in low light around cars

Cons:

  • Weighing in at ~57.4 lbs, this is not an especially lightweight electric mountain bike, the NuVinci CVT hub adds weight and I am guessing that the unique mid-mount battery punchout had to be reinforced for strength and also adds some weight… but it’s actually not as heavy as I was expecting
  • The cadence sensing pedal assist can feel a bit abrupt, it doesn’t matter whether you’re pushing hard or not, if you move the cranks the bike will take off… and it could take off hard if you’re in a higher assist level
  • Minor consideration here, the bike doesn’t come with a kickstand, but there is a standard mounting plate behind the motor or you could get a rear-mount kickstand that would stay out of the way, something like this might work or maybe this kickstand
  • The display panel looks beautiful, I love how large it is and appreciate that it can be swiveled forward and back to reduce glare… but it is not removable and could take more weather damage or scratches at bike racks, some people put their helmets over the display to help protect them when parking outside
  • The BBS02 is not as quiet as some of the other mid-drive geared motors I have tested like Brose or Shimano, it does seem to offer more power (and is rated higher) but you may notice the whirring sound in the video, especially when I was in a higher gear and the highest leve-5 assist setting

Resources:

More EVELO Reviews

Evelo Quest Max Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A feature rich, powerful, folding electric bike with extendable stem and long seat post option for taller riders, it's easy to mount and handle, weight is positioned low and center. The Bafang Max mid-motor is powerful but efficient, you can adjust pedal speed gearing at…...

Evelo Galaxy ST Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A powerful cruiser style electric bike with smooth, responsive, multi-sensing pedal assist and trigger throttle operation, throttle only works above 6 mph and is limited by assist level. Optional hydraulic disc brakes and automatic electric shifting would be great for riders with limited…...

Evelo Quest One Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A folding electric bike that's fairly lightweight at ~41 lbs, clean and simple thanks to a Gates Carbon belt drive, and still feature rich with fenders and integrated lights. Available in two color choices, offers pedal assist and throttle on demand, highly adjustable extra-long…...

Evelo Galaxy TT Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable but sturdy cruiser style electric bike with premium aesthetic, the mid-drive motor is powerful but quiet and offers responsive pedal assist plus throttle. EVELO has always offered great customer service and even has a trade-in program, the Galaxy…...

Evelo Aries Review

  • MSRP: $2,079
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full suspension city bike with basic mid-drive system (upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options). Nice accessories including USB charger, front and rear LED lights, mechanical disc brakes and a…...

Evelo Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $2,079
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Value driven but well rounded mid-drive ebike with upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options. Great features include backlit LCD display with built in USB charger, front and rear LED…...

2013 Evelo Aries Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable full suspension electric bike with mid-grade Lithium polymer battery. Decent strength (36 Volts of power) and range (10 amp hour capacity)...

2013 Evelo Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Offers lots of features but isn't particularly strong or fast as an electric bike. Entry level components get the job done and keep the price lower, unique frame flexes...


Boris Mordkovich
5 months ago

Hi everyone!

My name is Boris Mordkovich and I’m the CEO and co-founder here at EVELO!

Just wanted to let you know what we are available 7 days a week to answer any questions you may have about the Delta, our other models, or electric bicycles in general. If there’s anything we can do to help, you can reach us at 877-991-7272 or via email at contact@evelo.com.

If you’d like to reach me directly for any reason, you can do so at boris@evelo.com.

Thank you again,
Boris Mordkovich

Reply
Court Rye
5 months ago

Thanks Boris! I had a great time visiting your new factory store in Seattle and Alex was very helpful for this review. As always, I respect your high level of support and communication. With optimism ;)

Reply
Bryan Barnard
5 months ago

Hi Court & Boris, maybe one of you can answer a question I sent to Evelo through their web contact form several weeks ago, but I received no reply.

On the Evelo web page describing the terms of the 4 year/20,000 mile warranty, they say that the Nuvinci drivetrain is warrantied through their manufacturer. However, as I understand it (please correct me if I’m in error), the Nuvinci 380 is warrantied by Nuvinci for ebike motors of **350 watts or less**. In this case where the 380 is paired with the 750 watt BBS02, it’s not clear if the 380 is even warrantied. I’m requesting clarity on this point.

Thanks in advance,
Bryan Barnard

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Bryan, I’ll defer to Boris on this question, I have reached out to him to help get a response :)

Reply
Bryan Barnard
4 months ago

Thank you, Court!

Bill
4 months ago

Hi Bryan,

This is Bill here at EVELO and I’m our Director of Customer Service. While true that Fallbrook Technologies (the manufacturer of NuVinci components) limits their warranty to bikes equipped with 350w motors, EVELO is absorbing the warranty in the event of failure outside of their terms. With over 6 years of experience using their hubs (first the N360 and now the N380) we are confidant with the capabilites and durablity of their hubs. (To be frank, if we were not confidant, we would not cover the hub for 4 yrs/20,000 miles). In fact, if you poke around on the internet, you will find DIY folks that are putting over 1000w through NuVinci hubs with out issue– they do great, and Fallbrook’s policy is quite conservative.

I hope this helps!
-Bill

Reply
Casey
4 months ago

I just picked mine up from your guys’ shop up in Seattle. I love it. Put 10 miles of trail riding on it after getting back down to Portland. Thank you guys at Evelo and Court as well for the awesome review!

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Awesome! Thanks for the real-life feedback Casey, glad to hear it’s working out well for you. It’s neat when you live close by and can visit the shop like that. I hope it continues to work out and invite you to comment anytime with follow-up insights :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

BVC
2 days ago

Selling my low mileage/usage Sondors 7 speed with upgraded battery, suspension forks & LCD display.

Local sale only. Portland, OR area. Willing to travel within reason.

Paid $1,152 shipped to my door. Make an offer. I'm around $900 price range so don't try to low ball me with your sob story. Either you can afford it or you can't. Fair deals. No charity here.

Silver in color.

Bought to develop our product offerings to be compatible with sondors folks. However the admin of the facebook sondors group is a jerk and banned me for owning another brand e-bike so... unable to market our products to Sondors owners - I have no need to own this bike for research/development reasons - which is what it was purchased for. ...you can thank the admins of the Sondors group for the lack of GREAT low priced, hand made in USA, Sondors specific accessories. Hence the reason for the sale of this bike. Useless to me :)

Thanks

Chris Hammond
4 days ago

I think this discussion just shows what Tora has instillied as a company philosophy at Juiced. He has clearly been very forward thinking, and it seems, doing an excellent job in developing and building bikes that are not going to be obsolete in a few years, and making higher performance attainable at reasonable prices. Keep up the great work. I will be ordering my CCS with the big battery as soon as I get my tax refund.

miro
5 days ago

Anxiously waiting for the release of the Pre-order. Thanks

DaveinMtAiry
5 days ago

In case anyone is interested I have an update. Fortunately for me a Haibike dealer opened up in the next town over. I test rode a SDURO Cross 4.0 as well as the Hard Nine which was $500 more. I loved them both but the Hard Nine just felt better. The only problem is the area did not have the massive hills we have on our road and what I anticipate when we move to Tennessee. So I was not convinced it will be able to handle those as I weigh 240 pounds.

It says it has a 500W motor but the spec sheet says 250W with a max of 500W. Does that match what we have been referring to as a 500W motor, where that's really the max output?

My concern about longevity was confirmed when the shop said the battery may last 5 years with a replacement costing $500. This has caused me to wait, hopefully the battery development will continue to improve. Besides I need this at retirement in 6 years and I don't want to have to buy multiple batteries.

youth
7 days ago

This is my 2nd wheel after the original developed motor issues. Noticed this after cleaning dried salt/dirt off from winter commuting. Of the 5-6 other cracks I've seen this it the worse of it. I wonder if it'll be cheaper to buy a new wheel or get this re-laced with a new rim/spokes. If I can find a good matching rim I would definitely go with higher gauge spokes then the 12's used on these which take too much tension.

John from Connecticut
7 days ago

Will, Again in my opinion you're spot on....I've been there, done that as they say ( paid for a professional fit ) and it has made all the difference
in the world for riding comfort. You wrote.....

"If a rider selects the proper saddle for their position on the bike and has a saddle that supports the sit bones correctly that is more important than pretty much anything. Never buy a saddle because everyone has it or that it looks cool. There's more important considerations here. "

Thanks to my LBS Mgr / Pro Fitter he did just as you stated, selected the proper saddle and I can ride 'forever', well 2-3 hours until my battery is done. When I bought my bike, my LBS did a basic fit, I rode for a week -ish- just to get the feel of the bike, returned and we did the real fit.

I'll never forget the feeling of the initial post fit ride and how the correct leg extension felt. I thought I was on a different bike it was so great. As for a Brooks saddle for me, what I have works and works very well. I think I stick with it.

I hope this forum was helpful to others, I know it was very helpful for me. Thank you Will for your input, much appreciated.

John from CT

Arnel Philippines
1 week ago
Scooteretti
1 week ago

@Arnel Philippines this would have been useful information in your earlier posts about having error codes developing on your bike. I have never had to open a Bosch drive unit on any of our trail bikes. This is the most likely reason why you are having error codes etc. on your bike. If you crack open the drive unit you are breaking the factory seal and hence why your dive unit is full of corrosion.

Scooteretti
1 week ago

The vast majority of cyclist's don't need a high end saddle they need a properly designed and fitted saddle for their body type and riding position.

If a rider selects the proper saddle for their position on the bike and has a saddle that supports the sit bones correctly that is more important than pretty much anything. Never buy a saddle because everyone has it or that it looks cool. There's more important considerations here.

While Brooks and similar companies have been around for ages it's not for everyone. There is a huge following of Brooks saddle lovers and that's awesome, and if you are dedicated and willing to spend the time to set it up, ride in saddle to break it in, you will love it. Remember those leather shoes we use to get from Mom and Dad. Ouch they hurt when new, but eventually they fit us perfectly. I know for myself I remember those blisters at the begining of each new school year and am probably still traumatized by them, anyhow that's another post.... (wow that kinda makes me feel old remembering those days) :)

However, there is also a huge number of people who prefer something that will give them great comfort straight out of the package. How many of us still buy full leather shoes? Just a few I presume from looking into any show store or sporting goods shops.

I hear this on forums and in store all the time where people go out a spend big $$ on leather ones and ergo gel one's in the search for the ultimate saddle. They buy brand "X" because , well it looks cool, online reviews claim it's the best, and riders swear by them which is great. But most people expect fast results and want to be comfortable now and not in 300 miles. We see them come into the shop asking for help as the $$$ saddle they purchased is not ideal and hurts.

The posts above talked about "fit". This is HUGE, as it's super important to properly position your saddle on your bike. It's amazing how we see saddle angles and saddle positions incorrectly installed on a bike. Most people have no idea that a saddle is actually adjustable and should be adjusted for each rider.

There will always be the enthusiasts who are dedicated to their hobby sport, but realistically I have yet to see any significant % of cyclists willing to spend time oiling a leather saddle, tension it, protect it from the elements etc...(think polishing your shoes regualarily like Grandpa use to). For those who want to and are willing to dedicate the time that's awesome you will have a rewarding saddle that fits you like a glove or like a fine pair of italian shoes. The average consumer wants and needs a pair of "Hush Puppies" (not sure that's the best looking brand, but you get the idea).

As mentioned properly fitting / adjsuting the saddle on your bike is super important. The most common issues we see with saddles are:

1 - Saddle / seatpost not set to the correct height. There is a little science involved here and this is typically a 2 person job to get this right. Proper leg extension is key. This is another topic completely and there is lots of content out there that shows how to measure this correctly. If you need a hand, a good shop will have at the very least some tools to measure this. If they don't that's scary.

2- Angle of the saddle is too far down (nose pointing downwards) which typically causes riders to develop pain / fatigue / numbness in the wrists, hand area etc....

3- Angle of the saddle pointing upwards (nose pointing upwards) which we normally see associated with neck, lower back and shoulder pain

4- Improper saddle set back. Set what you say? Yeap, those 2 metal rails under the saddle not only look good they allow for the saddle to be moved both forward and backwards. A good atarting point is to start somewhere near the middle.

There are several theories for how to set this up correctly. For most non competitive riders either one of the methods works just fine. At the shop for a basic fit, we use a plumb bob and place it at the forward part of the clients kneecap and see where it lines up in relation to the pedal spindle. What we are looking for here is to see where this lines up. If the line is in front of the spindle of then the saddle needs to be slid towards the rear. If the line if drops behind the spindle then the saddle needs to be moved forward.

5- Riders installing a suspension seatpost and don't take into account the that the position of the saddle changes when a load is applied to it. Depending on the type of suspension seatpost this can be minor to extreme. So you want to check this out in your owners manual for any recommendations that may have come with your seat post.

With all this being said, don't just go out and start moving everything around on your bike. Start from the basics and learn more about how to adjust these items before doing so. I highly recommend chatting with an expert (online or in store), getting a fit done in store or watching some great videos on Youtube (from a shop that knows how to fit, not some dude in his garage).

There is a lot that a rider can do to improve their level of comfort. Don't just go out an buy a saddle because everyone else has "X" brand or that it looks cool. It's all about fitment to your body type, gender and riding position.

This is why I am such a big fan of saddles that make selecting a saddle easy for consumers. While a high tech saddle and a fitment is the best, very few people will spend $200 - $400 on a saddle and another $150 on a fit. There are quite a few options out here, so just be honest with your ability and the time you want to invest.

If you have the interest and the time to spend adjusting, rubbing oils, tensioning etc.... of a leather saddle then go for it. To prep a leather saddle in 3-4 days takes work and patience, it doesn't just get set up without applying oils, baking it, soaking it etc..... Normally you need anywhere between 300 - 600 miles on it for it to fit you (waiting for a list of messages saying not true but it is) . If done right, you will be rewarded and you will love your leather saddle and probably will never want to part with it.

If you are like the vast majority of people (including myself), you wont spend the time doing it. In my opinion you are better off taking the time to select a saddle that matches your riding position, gender and adjust it properly on the bike. You will be so happy you did.

hope this helps and ride safe everyone,

Will
shop.scooteretti.com

osman1
1 week ago

Would massively appreciate some advice as I just can't choose a bike.

I'm trying to find a new commuter bike. Roughly 4 miles each way. No need for long distances. Had an EJoe 2015 epik SE which I hated. It fell apart and stopped working pretty early on and customer support sucked. It also wasn't very sturdy. It's just sitting dead in my garage now so I'm pretty burned by that experience.

Looking for something sturdy, fairly fast and with good support. I was looking at the Evelo Aurora which I can get for 3k with the 500w motor or the Stromer ST 1 platinum which I can get for 2.8k. Anyone got experience with these or have other suggestions?

Echos
2 weeks ago

Thousand Helmets (http://www.explorethousand.com), creators of classically-designed and innovative bicycle helmets, are proud to introduce their Epoch helmet line.

Embodying the spirit of heritage design, the Epoch product line is elevating the brand’s current offerings with advanced colors, materials and finishes. The Epoch line tells a story in design as well as a story in Thousand’s evolution as a brand.

From what started as a mission to simply get more people wearing helmets and a fascination with heritage design and iconic stories from our past, Thousand quickly positioned itself as the brand for modern urban cyclists. Thousand continues to pay homage to their signature Heritage Collection of helmets that are the crossroads of vintage moto and modern minimal.

“We wanted to tell our story authentically and felt that our second anniversary was an opportunity to progress our brand,” notes Gloria Hwang, co-founder of Thousand. “We believe that the story behind the product is as important as the product.”

The Epoch line embodies an expression of a time in history or a person’s life, with the new collection inspired by the past tales of Steve McQueen and the iconic Bel Air Cadillac as well as the Nordic Modernism. These stories are a nod to the past and were influential and aspirational to the product development team.

The new Epoch colors are Speedway Creme, Willowbrook Mint, and Nordic Wood, which is created by a color water dipped technology. Advanced features include vegan leather straps, copper hardware and the signature PopLock system that allows the cyclists to easily lock the helmet to the bike as well as a magnetic buckle for a one-hand fastener that’s pinch-free.

Thousand is committed to helping curb the impact of bike accidents, promote active and community living, and make a quality product without causing unnecessary harm to the planet. Thousand is proud to be a member and is committed to the “1% for the Planet” organization(http://www.onepercentfortheplanet.org), where the proceeds go towards environmental causes that help create a healthy planet.

Reid
2 weeks ago

Up the Creak and I don't mean to paddle.

Our Juiced bikes use the ubiquitous Shimano-type square-shoulder spindle, 3-piece bottom brackets good enough for almost every user here.

But mine has developed a creak and a click that comes and goes, just in these past few days.

Checking the bearing by hand, the crank has play; there is a shake in it that proves the cartridge bearing is in failure mode.

I really like to stand on the pedals and crank standing up for stretches at a time. Too bad, that is just the sort of strain that can kill this type of bottom bracket bearing before long. Time to replace it soon.

I don't know if I will replace it with like kind and hope for better luck, or bite hard on a bullet of monetary pain to upgrade to more robust crankset and bearing system. Bearings of the kind we have are very far inboard from the crank arms. The modern systems of outboard or nearly outboard bearing support are actually as old in concept as before 1900! You'd think the outboard bearing concept would have taken good root a hundred years ago, but it didn't.

Should I save for a bottom bracket upgrade? What to get then? Would such a fancy thing be available with a 52T chainring?

(Am out of budget at this time and so if I have to replace soon, I will just go for the same bottom bracket.)

JoeLong
4 weeks ago

I own a Honda NM4 it has a dual clutch 6-speed automatic transmission so I'm looking for my 1st ebike and can't imagine having to shift through through 10 speeds manually. The Evelo Delta appears to have it all, is the controller programmable, and how well does the transmission operate at speeds above 20/mph? I need speed.

Thanks
JoeLong

comradecasey
2 months ago

Awesome! This may or may not be my third e bike. I love my Evelo Delta with 27.5 3" plus size tires for mtb and this looks like a fantastic competitor!

comradecasey
2 months ago

Get a mid drive bike. I picked up an open box Evelo Delta for ~$3k that is fantastic. I can't 100% recommend a Juiced bike as I have their Hyper Fat bike and while it has plenty of torque, a mid drive will still have more and there are lots of other issues with Juiced as well (support being the main one).

comradecasey
2 months ago

52T is gigantic. I'm running a 42T Lekkie on my Evelo Delta with a NuVinci N380 in the rear and it will climb 45 degree inclines no problem. I'd definitely run a smaller front chainring if you're wanting to do real mtb stuff, just know that you'll likely spin out at higher speeds. Not sure if there's really any room for a front derailleur on the left handlebar tbh, but it's a good idea if you can find room!

comradecasey
2 months ago

I’ll take photos in a bit, but it definitely isn’t 1/16”. Wish it was though!

Yeah it seems just plain idiotic to not have one being as every other bike out there has one. My Evelo Delta has a more complicated process for the rear wheel compared to other bikes like my old Sondors as the Evelo has a NuVinci CVT hub, but it’s 100% able to be removed from the bike (I got a flat my second week on some crap tubes from my LBS so that was fun)

But yeah I plan on doing the same thing as you for the rear as that’ll be a PITA when a flat finally happens.

hurricane56
2 months ago

The lack of a service disconnect is a total bummer. Almost every bike I’ve seen with a rear hub has one.

I’ve gone to great lengths to not get flats on the rear tire. Tire liner combined with thick inner tube filled with sealant should take care of most scenarios, but I do dread a field tube replacement if I’m on a commute leg by myself.

Dwight
2 months ago

I just bought an Evelo Delta, I did keep my Surface604 Element but don’t ride it very often.....would still like to have an extra battery but can’t afford to spend a lot on it.

How about $200 + shipping?

Macc
2 months ago

1/2" of play seems a bit hard to believe. I wasn't particularly happy that I had 1/16" of play. I'll probably just put a strip of inner tubing in the compartment to tighten it up, unless there is some other way to adjust it?

BikeMike045
2 months ago

Also noticed the headlight flicker.

comradecasey
2 months ago

Finally got my bike earlier this afternoon. Happy to say the important things work! Only issues so far is that there is a little bit of play (1/2" of movement) in the battery lockup (not sure if this is intentional or not, doesn't seem to effect the bike working). Also, the front light will occasionally flicker. Only when using the throttle though. Other minor complaints: externally routed rats nest of cables and wires isn't the best looking and not having a quick disconnect on the cable to the rear wheel seems just plain stupid. Even my Sondors Thin had one and that bike cost $600

Not concerned enough to start a support ticket re: headlight flicker since I just got the damn thing, but it isn't confidence inspiring in a thing that has taken this long to get to market. It's a shame too because it seems to be a very good bike from what I can tell from the ride on it this evening, but a competitor to my Evelo Delta it is not.

comradecasey
3 months ago

Just chiming in with an update on the Evelo Delta. It has surpassed my expectations in this crappy, typical Portland fall weather! Zero electrical issues (I did have a few in the rain with my Sondors) throughout the few hundred miles I've put on it commuting here. This is an amazing bike and I'll be taking it out to do some actual mountain biking in the Forest Park area this weekend. Very excited!

comradecasey
4 months ago

After riding on plus sized MTB tires (3.0" Schwalbe Nobby Nics) I just can't say I feel the need for 4" tires. Maybe wider for sand, but you can run the Evelo Delta tubeless (and I plan to at <10psi) for riding on the beach. The rims also allow you to run normal sized commuter tires, which I love for use in Portland. Keeps the weight down compared to the fat tire slicks too. The Evelo Delta has a CVT in the rear hub that doesn't mangle the chain like non shift sensing bikes can if you don't cut power with your brakes or back pedal during shifting. The Nuvinci CVT is amazing. If you have the option I really recommend trying one because it definitely changed my mind on my price range! Agreed on the price, but who knows if we'll ever get the damn bike, I mean its been months and months past their promised deliveries. My guess is we get them next March at the earliest. That frustrates me way more than the $1000 or so difference I spent on the Evelo Delta (I bought mine open box) over the Hyper Fat. Don't get me wrong, still excited, but that excitement has definitely gone down after buying a bike that is likely a better bike and actually having it vs. waiting several more months.

Meno Passini
4 months ago

Evelo needs to offer a Cruiser and a Commuter version of the Delta. It needs fenders and integrated lights. Evelo offers thudbuster seats and Cruiser style handlebars so you can ride upright and comfortable. There needs to be different tires too. The Delta's purposed built frame, brakes, mid drive, rear hub transmission, mid mount battery are the prefect template. I have ridden Trek's Super Commuter it is a Great bike, but the Delta has more features for $600.00 less. Also Evelo offers a better warranty.

EVELO Electric Bicycles
3 months ago

Hi Meno, we have some great news for you. We will be introducing the Delta CX in the spring of 2018, which will include a rear rack, fenders, lights, and Schwalbe's Moto-X 2.8 tires. This will be a great bike for commuting, bikepacking or any adventure which requires hauling gear. We have helped a number of customers set up their current Delta in a similar fashion, so if you don't want to wait that long we can certainly help you out with modifying the current Delta.

Rob K
5 months ago

Hi Court. Can you give your opinion on the NuVinci N380 vs the Shimono 11 with Di2 vs the Rohloff 14 internal hubs. What have you experienced with these on mid-drive systems. And do you prefer one over the other and Why..? Thanks Court..Great Review..!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Hi Rob, I like the NuVinci N360 and N380 because they shift smoothly and instantly vs. the Shimano internally geared hubs that sort of click into set gears. The Rohloff hubs are tough but seem louder and less smooth than the Shimano... Does the Shimano 11 with Di2 come with a derailleur or is that an internally geared hub? If it's the derailleur, I like how quick it shifts, how accurate it is, and how light it is but the design is more vulnerable and cannot be shifted at standstill. I hope this helps :)

Ducati Monster
5 months ago

Really like this bikes setup. The transmission, suspension, and the throttle will smooth out any cadence issue's.

small footprint
5 months ago

I think the bikes are really cool but, I got interested in your site because of your camping in your Prius. Do you have another channel where you focus on that aspect of your adventure or was that video a one time thing? Thanks in advance for responding. Lynn

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Hi Lynn! I might do more videos like that but it was more of a one-off thing. What would you like to see? Perhaps with your feedback I can mix more of that stuff in :)

Seb K
5 months ago

About a month in from when I first got my commuter I was pushing the bike out the garage and I forgot the bike was on . I hit the throttle and shot off . I have a small front shed that i slammed into . Took out the wall and destroyed my forks .

Seb K
5 months ago

No laughing :) !!!

Haroldo Menezes
5 months ago

rapaz fala para mim como é que eu faço para importar uma bike dessa dormir uma dica

daMacroGuy
5 months ago

Thanks for including the bike's price in the title. I enjoy all your videos, but knowing the price up front helps me to filter my viewing to my price range.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Sure thing, glad it helps you out ;)

Bruce Ballad
5 months ago

I was so waiting for this review, I am writing this while watching the first minutes.
Edit: It looks sound awesome. I am kind of a bafang fan. I wonder are they selling in or shipping to Australia.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Sweet! Glad you're enjoying it Bruce, I wonder that as well? They folks at EVELO are super helpful and supportive, reach out and let us know what the options are for the folks in the land down under :D

Connie Odell
5 months ago

Nuvinci, zero speed throttle, lots of power. Give it a gates belt and torque sensor and I'll buy it.

Jack Nizer
5 months ago

Then keep an eye on this upcoming jewel from Luna Cycle: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvMCA3ZyyfI :)

Connie Odell
5 months ago

Let's throw in a dual suspension for good measure!

Jack Nizer
5 months ago

I totally agree with you. I hope they will consider the Delta X, using the Bafang Max Ultra, and the new NuVinci N380x (high torque new version), and a gates Carbon belt. I don't think the extra dollars would be as high as $1500, but it would make the absolutely perfect bike. 1000W and Torque/cadence/speed sensor. I would definitely buy that! (and probably two of them so my wife can enjoy it too :) )

Connie Odell
5 months ago

You only live once! It's only money, ha. I still think there is a big market for a powerful mid drive, zero speed throttle, gates-Nuvinci, dual suspension bike with all purpose tires, fenders, lights and rack. Your review of this bike and the R&M Delite are coming pretty close. Keep up the great work!

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Would you still want it if those options added $1,500 to the price tag? I'm guessing it would cost at least that much given the custom frame cutaway for belt drives and a Bafang Max drive with updated programming

Daniel S.
5 months ago

doesn't it seem unproportional? in a side view? this month I will probably get the bike you suggested me. Than I post a video on my channel as well. XD

Daniel S.
5 months ago

I mean that in the mix between electric drive engine with bicycle, that bike has a lot more electric than bicycle. The motor and battery pack have a large volume in the totality of the bike. Much more than in other bikes. At least visually it seems

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

I'm a bit confused by your comment, could you explain the unproportional and side view thing?

Mr Jhonny
5 months ago

I love this bike!The style,mid drive,thick tyres and the big batery make this bike a beast!!!!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Yeah, this thing looks awesome, rides well, and provides great pedal and throttle options... this with a customized Bafang Max drive wold be perfect, but the BBS02 is still great

Meno Passini
5 months ago

Thanks for the honest review. I was half way sold until you mentioned the cadace problem. Also looks like a kids bike, to small. Love the brakes, rims, fork, battery and trans. Great warranty. Who makes the mid-drive? Bafang? Is there a multi sensor Bafang mid drive w/ higher wattage?

Meno Passini
5 months ago

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA. Yes I found a Trek dealer with nice discounts on 2017 models. The one I like is the Trek Super Commuter + 85. Nice wide tires but not Fat Bike size. I rode a Fat bike, it was hard to steer and the tires became caked w/ snow. The big Bafang is really the way to GO, but at 57 I just want to cummute. The dealer is in a college town. Lotz of old Hippies going through their E Bike thing. Saw a good number of posts for used ones "Like New". My neighbor bought the big ELk electric trike/car. It sits in the garage.

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA
5 months ago

Correct when technology is initially deployed it is very expensive due to lack of optimization and demand not being high by 2020 e bikes will be very popular and the average cost will range from 1000-3000, so if your patient you can score a good deal on an e bike, currently the most cost effective way of getting an e bike is doing a DIY kit, I will probably due a DIY kit during Christmas time only if I can get a DIY kit for about 500 bucks mid drive motor kit + battery... You can also buy last years model for about 50% off random bicycles has good deals!!!

Meno Passini
5 months ago

I think 2018 will be a model year of change. Less hub drives, more mid drives and better pricing. I saw some New 2017 Treks mid drives at a big discount. $800.00 off VM700+

Jack Nizer
5 months ago

" Is there a multi sensor Bafang mid drive w/ higher wattage?". Yes there is, it is the Bafang Max Ultra Drive. It has Integrated Torque / cadence / speed sensor like the Bosch, and it has 1000W nominal power, 1600W peak ! This is the motor I would love to see on that bike :)

Meno Passini
5 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com. There is so much to learn. Iam glad you are informed and honest. Iam going through your list of mid drives, there are too many choices.. Now I like the Cube.

Rick Etter
5 months ago

Great review! One of your best ever. As an owner of an original FLX mid drive Bofeili Roadster which I purchased primarily because of your reviews when they first came out, I appreciate the value of throttle power for climbing and control. I believe my Roadster is very similar to this model which is why I appreciate your accuracy in reporting the responsiveness of cadence control, throttle activated, ebikes. Keep up the great work. You are the reason I purchased what I did after months of listening to your reviews a year ago this month. Thank you for assisting me in becoming an avid bicyclist again and an Ebiker advocate. Two new hips, four heart attacks, and two back surgeries later I'm still riding the dream and I owe much to you. I continue to follow your reviews and continue to learn so very much about the ebiking/bicycling world.

juv mol
5 months ago

WildDwightman hey it happen same.to me after watching his reviews i bouth my first ebike ....a specialized turbo ,and also after cancelling order whit another brand who also was keeping delaying release date due to twcnical problwms i went on an pull the triger on my turbo,yet now i want a more like a mountain bike than a flat surface road and ben loling on wich brand and bike go .thanks very much for your reply .

WildDwightman
5 months ago

I ordered the FLX Blade on June 9th, was told a couple of days ago it will be another six to eight weeks. I cancelled my order this morning and plan on pulling the trigger on this baby soon!

Court excellent review, I bought my first ebike after watching your review of the Surface604 Element.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Thanks Rick, your comment definitely made my day... I'm so glad to hear that your FLX is working well and that your lifestyle is enjoyable and active because of ebikes, that's awesome! Your reply to juv was also very thoughtful and constructive. You seem like a good person :)

Rick Etter
5 months ago

juv mol my bike in its gen 2 version sells for about$2,100. Not quite apples for Apple's. Look at the current FLX Tract and see what you think. The FLX is about a3 month wait where this appears to be available immediately. There's a lot to like about this bike given the money difference that I do believe is worth it based on Cort's review only.

juv mol
5 months ago

Rick Etter quick question,wich one its better ,yoir bike or this one?

Joey-eLL
5 months ago

Can you do the quest from evelo

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Indeed I will, thanks for the request! Expect it in a week or so

Pure Water Window Cleaning
5 months ago

Sweet bike! Thanks for the great review... As always!

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Sure thing, thanks for your support :D

luis fernando
5 months ago

Whats the range?

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Yeah, All4Grogg is providing some great answers here. The reason my estimates are usually like 20 to 40 miles (which is a huge gap) is because of the five levels of assist and throttle option. Range is heavily dependent on how hard the motor is working as well as rider weight and terrain... so many factors XD

All4Grogg
5 months ago

Yeah....that did strike me as a very fair estimate, but if you notice one number is twice the size of the other. If i were to tell you that we were going for a walk and you asked how far, i don't think you would be satisfied if i told you... oh 20 or 40 miles...
An accurate estimate requires a whole bunch of things accounted for into defined scenarios. As much as sellers/reviewers would love to have a good solid answer, it varies.

Mr Jhonny
5 months ago

At this time he sayes 20-40 miles 4:56

All4Grogg
5 months ago

http://www.electricbikerange.info/Electric_bike_range.html here is a better link

All4Grogg
5 months ago

That is an impossible question for any system, the battery offers 556 watt hours from that subtract how much you anticipate to draw from the battery per mile, add in how much wattage you apply with your legs, adjust for rolling resistance, aerodynamic drag, rider weight then use some calculus to account for slopes encountered on your planned route and you'll have an estimate. The best calculator i've found is at www electricbikerange.info play around with some of the variables there and it'll show you how massive a difference things like having a headwind/rider position/rider input can have on range, basically why range estimates from manufacturers are little more than wild guesses.

Steve Donovan
5 months ago

All one need's is a programming cable and bump the peak wattage to over 1200. Just saying...

Steve Donovan
5 months ago

Your caution for the motor is valid and actually may be why the bike manufacturer limits it under 1000 watts, which is a limitation of its amperage to 20. The current BBS02 will use a full 25 amps but you have to be prudent with that to short periods or it will get hot.
Btw, Bafang has done a lousy job programming those motors, it's why you feel it easily surge or kick in. I'm like many who purchased one soon after to reprogram the power curve and it is a wonderful difference even though I barely use pedal assist. I don't know why Bafang doesn't change it?
Enjoyed your review!

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Maybe that's what they do with the off-road update? In any case, be careful not to ruin the battery or burn out the motor by overclocking it, I realize the world of BBS02 motors is full of different options :)