Evelo Delta Review

Evelo Delta Electric Bike Review
Evelo Delta
Evelo Delta 750 Watt Bafang Bbs02 Mid Motor Mid Kickstand
Evelo Delta 48 Volt 11 6 Amp Hour Mid Frame Battery Pack
Evelo Delta Large Center Mount Display Panel Trigger Throttle
Evelo Delta Sr Suntour Xcr Air Suspension 120 Mm Travel
Evelo Delta Plastic Chain Guide Large Alloy Pedals Plus Sized Nobby Nic Tires
Evelo Delta Nuvinci N380 Continuously Variable Transmission Hub
Evelo Delta Semi Integrated Wiring Mid Motor
Evelo Delta 2 Amp Electric Mountain Bike Charger
Evelo Delta Electric Bike Review
Evelo Delta
Evelo Delta 750 Watt Bafang Bbs02 Mid Motor Mid Kickstand
Evelo Delta 48 Volt 11 6 Amp Hour Mid Frame Battery Pack
Evelo Delta Large Center Mount Display Panel Trigger Throttle
Evelo Delta Sr Suntour Xcr Air Suspension 120 Mm Travel
Evelo Delta Plastic Chain Guide Large Alloy Pedals Plus Sized Nobby Nic Tires
Evelo Delta Nuvinci N380 Continuously Variable Transmission Hub
Evelo Delta Semi Integrated Wiring Mid Motor
Evelo Delta 2 Amp Electric Mountain Bike Charger

Summary

  • One of the more powerful purpose-built electric mountain bikes I have tested to date, possibly the only setup like this with a trigger throttle that overrides assist 1-5, unlockable higher speeds
  • Unique combination of trail capable and urban oriented features such as rear rack bosses and kickstand mounts alongside premium knobby tires and 120 mm air suspension with boost hub
  • Continuously variable transmission from NuVinci allows for shifting at standstill, reduced chain and sprocket wear (given the mid-motor drivetrain) and an overall clean, durable build
  • The motor produces a distinct whining noise at full power, you have to pay extra for the nicer fork and hydraulic disc brakes, cadence sensing assist isn't as fluid as torque or multi-sensor

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Evelo

Model:

Delta

Price:

$3,499 ($3,899 Fully Loaded)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Moped or Motorcycle (Class 4)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 4 Year (20,000 mile) Frame, Battery, Motor, Controller

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

57.4 lbs (26.03 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.4 lbs (2.9 kg) (Larger Pack 9 lbs)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Small 15" Specs: 15.5" Seat Tube, 22.5" Reach, 29" Stand Over Height, 29.5" Width, 73.5" Length, Large 19" Specs: 19.3" Seat Tube, 22.75" Reach, 29" Stand Over Height, 29.5" Width, 74.25" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Gloss Space Gray (Gloss Black with Blue Accents), Matte Asphault

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCR Air Suspension, 120 mm Travel, Boost 110 mm Hub, 15 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release, Optional RockShox Reba Air Suspension, 120 mm Travel, Compression Clicker with Lockout, Rebound Adjust, Rigid Aluminum Alloy, Boost 110 mm Hub, 15 mm Maxle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

142 mm Hub, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 Speed 1x∞ NuVinci N380 Mechanical Continuously Variable Transmission, 22 Tooth Sprocket

Shifter Details:

Nfinity C8 Grip Twist on Right Bar (Optional NuVinci Grip Twist on Right Bar)

Cranks:

8Fun AC08-2 Alloy Crank Arms, 170 mm Length, 48T Chainring

Pedals:

VP-565 Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2", Threadless Internal Cups, Two 10 mm Headset Spacers, Two 5 mm Headset Spacers

Stem:

FSA V-Drive, 90 mm Length, 6° Angle

Handlebar:

FSA Comet, Low-Rise, Aluminum Alloy, 9° Back Sweep, 4° Up Sweep, 740 mm Length

Brake Details:

Shimano BR-M375 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitor, Optional Tektro Auriga E-Comp Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro 3-Finger Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Velo, Flat, Texturized Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Selle Royale, Black (Optional Upgrade Program)

Seat Post:

FSA Gossamer, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

340 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 32 Hole Front, 36 Hole Rear

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge, Silver with Adjustable Brass Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Nobby Nic, 27.5" x 3.0"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

15 to 35 PSI, TLE Tubeless Easy Snakeskin, EVO Evolution, Trail Star 3, Reflective Logos

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Optional Comfort Package (Ergon GP2-L Ergonomic Locking Grips, Suspension Seat Post, Extra Large Saddle for $200), Optional Safety Package (High Powered Lights, Bar-End Mirror, Bell, Reflective Light Band for Pants $99), Optional Commuter Package (Teflon Lubricant, Tire Levers, Patch Kit, Mini-Pump, Hex Key Wrench Set $99)

Other:

Locking Removable Downtube Mounted Battery, 1.6 lb 2 Amp Battery Charger, 300 lb Max Weight Rating, KMC Z-Chain, Dropout Mount Rear Kickstand Provisions, Bottom Bracket Mount Center Kickstand Provisions

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang BBS02

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Peak Output:

960 watts

Motor Torque:

120 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung (A, B Rated Cells) (Optional Panasonic)

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

6 hours (Up to 6 With Larger Pack)

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Evelo Branded King Meter, Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Bars), Odometer, Trip Meter, Speed, Average Speed, Max Speed, Mode (None, Eco, Standard, Power, Speed), Watt Output

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Left, Backlight (Hold Up Arrow), Walk Mode (Hold Down Arrow), Trip to Odometer (Press M Button), Speed to Avg Speed to Max Speed (Hold Up and M Button), Settings Menu (Hold Up and Down)

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (8 Pole Cadence Sensor, Torque Sensor)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (Unlock Off-Road Mode to 30 MPH)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

EVELO created something truly unique, capable, and exciting with the Delta. I don’t usually gush like this, but it’s true! This is the first purpose built mid-drive powered electric trail bike that I have ever seen with a NuVinci continuously variable transmission, trigger throttle override offering full power, premium plus sized tires, an unlockable higher speed for off-road use, and multiple frame size and color options. The motor power and battery capacity are no joke, this thing basically maxes out the legal stats with a custom integrated BBS02 centerdrive rated nominally at 750 watts and a 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery. Both components are positioned low and center for optimized balance and handling, and because of the semi-integrated battery concept, there’s even room for bottle cage bosses on the seat tube. Now, it’s not all sunshine and rainbows here… the trade-offs are a “unique” looking battery slot which was chosen to avoid a design patent on downward-interfacing batteries, and louder less-smooth cadence activated pedal assist. I guess the higher price tag is also a consideration, it depends on the e-bikes you’ve been considering. With a base price of $3.5k and an optional fork + hydraulic disc brake upgrade raising it to $3.9, it’s definitely not what I would call affordable. For those dollars however, you get some of the best customer service I have seen. Evelo offers a unique four-year 20k mile warranty with a sliding-price battery replacement option depending on how much use the bike has had when it comes time for replacement. This is a company that has been selling electric bikes since before I started EBR in 2012. You can call them and talk to a real person, visit the flagship factory store in Seattle Washington as I did, or connect with one of their local dealers! There are some impressive hills to test the bikes on and I was blown away by the performance. Yes, I only weigh ~135 lbs, but I have not experienced this level of power on any other Class 2 electric bike to date. Alex, a representative from Evelo, went on the test ride with me and demonstrated that a 240 lb rider can also climb effectively, though he did pedal along a bit while I was able to go throttle only. To me, throttle activation is one of the most exciting and useful aspects of the bike. Being able to zip off the line from a stop sign or traffic signal… being able to rest your legs on a long steady climb… or being able to catch up with a friend without having to look down and click up or down to increase assist (or even shift gears) is awesome. That said, Class 2 e-bikes are not allowed on quite as many mountain bike trails as Class 1 at this time because of concern for possible trail damage and adverse rider behavior. For those who own some private land, work on a farm, need an electric bike as a pit bike at a racetrack, or enjoy riding off-road on OHV trails, EVELO can actually unlock the display to allow for ~30 mph riding (depending on terrain, rider weight, etc.)

Driving the Evelo Delta is a Bafang/8Fun BBS02 motor system that has been custom-integrated into a metal bottom bracket casing. I have reviewed the stock BBS02, which is designed to bolt onto the spindle tube of a non-ebike, and it hangs forward in such a way ground clearance is reduced and aesthetics are compromised. It is still one of the most popular aftermarket kits available, but it isn’t winning any beauty contests. Messy cables and bolt-on battery packs are another byproduct of the stock BBS02, but all of that is overcome through EVELO’s custom solution here. Some cables to protrude at the bottom bracket but they are mostly hidden and the battery pack is not nearly as vulnerable… nor does it get in the way of that bottle cage or a triangular frame bag like this. This is part of what you’re paying for, a nicer look with less vulnerable cables and parts. The motor itself seemed to perform as I had remembered from my stand-alone BBS02 review in 2014. It relies on an on/off cadence sensor that isn’t especially fluid but does start and stop quickly. This could be a good or bad thing depending on your needs; you don’t have to push hard to make it start, but it could feel abrupt if the power is set to high and you’re going from zero. The motor can also be loud when riding in the highest levels of assist, especially in a lower gear. But one of the neat things about the NuVinci continuously variable transmission hub is that you don’t really have gears. Instead, there’s a smooth transition from faster cadence (meant for climbing) or slower cadence (meant for attaining higher speeds). You can shift at standstill and there are no clicks or bangs as you might experience with a traditional derailleur. This is an important point because the Bafang BBS02 motor does not offer shift sensing or torque sensing… easing off of the pedals a bit is not going to slow the motor down and if you were to shift gears this way, the chain, sprockets, and derailleur would all take a beating. In this configuration, EVELO is minimizing drivetrain wear, reducing the potential for chain drops, reducing chain bounce and nicks on the right chain stay, and allowing you to shift at standstill. The NuVinci N380 is not a trivial or inexpensive component, and it’s not lightweight. Note the higher price and slightly higher weight of the frame at ~56.4 lbs (for the small frame I reviewed). I believe the downtube of the frame is also heavier because of the unique battery interface.

The battery pack on this bike is above average in terms of size and below average in terms of weight, exactly what you want. It offers a more efficient 48 volt power flow vs. 36 volts and has an 11.6 amp hour capacity for over 550 total watt hours of energy. Inside, there are Lithium-ion cells which I assume are higher quality because of the raised energy density and outstanding warranty on offer. This type of cell is known for being durable but you can maximize the lifetime of the pack by storing it in cool, dry locations and making sure it is 50% full for long term non-use. The battery clicks in from the right side of the bike and has a single charging port also on the right side that is high enough to clear the crank arm and pedal! This is a big deal, if you forget that the bike is charing and bump the cranks, it won’t present the same opportunity for snagging and damage that so many other batteries suffer from. The charging port and charging plug are the exact same whether you’re filling the pack on or off the bike, and the battery design has a little indented handle at the top for safe transport. There are so many other battery packs that forego this type of design care, Yamaha and Bosch come to mind but their packs have been smaller in capacity and they aren’t offered on bikes with throttles. Honestly, in some ways, I find the Evelo battery slot to be ugly, but I have to admit that it looks well protected and offers all the utility I could ask for. It also slid in smoothly and produced an audible click so I knew it was secure, it didn’t rattle during my test rides either… but the bike was brand new so I welcome your feedback.

Operating the bike was familiar because of the commonly used King Meter display panel. EVELO has their branding painted on the display, but the LCD and button pad are industry-standards. I appreciate the size of the readouts and bright backlighting (that you activate by holding the up arrow for a few seconds). You get extra readouts with this display and can reach them by pressing the center Mode button once it is turned on… You hold Mode to turn the bike on and off once the battery has been charged and mated to the frame. Arrowing up or down, you can explore 0, and 1-5 levels of assist. With 0, nothing really happens and the throttle is not hot. This mode would be good for using the display as a trip meter and preserving battery on flats when you don’t mind pedaling. As soon as you click up into level 1, the throttle becomes active with FULL POWER, which is exactly how I like it, but possibly a bit advanced for people who are not used to throttles. For example, if you coast to a stop and decide to get off of the bike without either arrowing back down to zero or turning it off and then you bump that paddle trigger near the left grip, the bike will lurch forward. Keep this in mind when showing the bike to friends, loading it onto public transportation, walking it into your garage or shed etc. just be thoughtful. For someone with a knee injury like myself, or a person with MS, or simply a desire for a moped feel, the throttle is a highlight and is easy to reach and use while still grasping the grips. The button pad is simple enough, and also easy enough to reach, that I did not have an issue interacting with it. On the right grip, you’ve got a half-grip twist for raising or lowering pedal cadence as discussed earlier. Instead of numbers, there’s an infographic with a little stick figure person riding a bike and as you twist the shifter, the ground beneath him becomes flat or turns into a steep hill. The idea is that you match your terrain to the graphic, turn it to look like a hill if you’re about to climb!

I’ve done a lot of features explaining up until this point, but now I want to talk about ride quality. The Delta feels balanced and solid. I have become a fan of the Plus Sized tires that in this case, are 27.5″ x 3″ which is much fatter than the common 27.5″ x 2.125″ or 2.25″. The increased air volume acts as a sort of suspension and dampens vibrations. The wider contact patch provides traction and float over bumpy terrain. These tires decrease deflection on angular surfaces (gripping and riding straight over), and they require a custom fork and frame to work right. The fork here is either a SR Suntour XCR Air Suspension with 120 mm Travel or RockShox Reba Air Suspension with 120 mm Travel and Compression Clicker with Lockout and Rebound Adjust. Both of them have longer hubs which increase spoke bracing angle creating a stronger wheel. The spokes are thicker 13 gauge so even though the bike is rated at 350 lb max weight, I’m guessing it could handle a bit more. I want to compliment the choice of Schwalbe Nobby Nic tires which have reflective graphics on the side and come tubeless ready (to be converted if you like). These are going to last longer than other generic tires might. And, getting back to how this electric trail bike could be used, the rear rack bosses and fender mounts mean that you could ride this into work without having to wear a backpack or deal with the mess of wet streets. It’s an incredibly versatile platform that I thoroughly enjoyed testing. Again, it’s not perfect, but it is fun and capable. Big thanks to Evelo for partnering with me on this review, and their employee Alex who met me in Seattle and rode up a super steep hill while I filmed. This company has always been a leader in terms of support, but their latest generation of products have raised the bar and truly impressed me. If you like how it looks, appreciate power and a throttle mode, and can justify the slightly higher price… which is very reasonable given the drivetrain and custom frame, it could be a great choice. As always, I welcome your feedback and experiences with the product and company in the comments below or the forums here.

Pros:

  • The Delta offers a very unique and exciting combination of off-road capability with the larger tires and suspension, urban utility with the rear rack and fender bosses, and efficiency with the mid-drive motor and NuVinci continuously variable transmission
  • The Bafang BBS02 motor is powerful but relies more on cadence signals than torque and can be harder on the chain and sprockets when using a derailleur… but that is completely alleviated with the NuVinci CVT hub, you can even shift at standstill
  • Available in two frame sizes so you can optimize body position and fit beyond seat height and stem position, note the additional riser stacks and angled stem which can be flipped if you want to get super aggressive and forward
  • Most of the Bafang BBS02 mid-motors I see are bolted to the bottom bracket of traditional bikes but this one is integrated into the bottom bracket, as a result, it has a much higher ground clearance and looks nicer
  • Interesting upgrade path, you can improve the suspension fork quality and move to hydraulic disc brakes for $400 more, but in all cases, the fork has a sturdy 15 mm thru-axle with Boost (wider hub for improved spoke bracing angle) and the head tube is tapered for strength
  • I love that even on the smaller frame size, Evelo was able to squeeze in bottle cage bosses so you can mount a holder, folding lock, mini pump or other accessory along the seat tube
  • Very few mid-drive electric bikes offer throttle on demand, this is a useful feature for those rides when you have to start and stop a lot or maybe you need extra power briefly but don’t want to fidget with the up/down assist buttons
  • Both brake options come with motor inhibiting levers, anytime you pull the brakes, the drive system will shut down immediately for safety
  • One of the benefits to using an internally geared or CVT hub is that there is only one chainring and one sprocket, the chain stays tight and probably won’t drop or bounce down and nick the right chainstay, the shifting mechanism is also smaller and better protected than a traditional derailleur that would hang down on the right and possibly get bent if the bike tipped
  • The plus sized Schwalbe Nobby Nic tires provide excellent traction with reduced deflection, you can ride across grass, over small rocks, and through soft forest type terrain more easily, the low pressure range lets you optimize squishy comfort and float without as much risk of pinch flats because of the large diameter of the tire (consider converting to tubeless for reduced weight and lower PSI, I believe that the tires are setup to allow for that)
  • 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery is much higher capacity than what I would consider average but it doesn’t weigh a lot, at ~6.4 lbs this thing is using nicer energy dense cells, you can remove it to reduce bike weight for transport or charging off the bike and the battery casing has a nice integrated handle to make it easier to carry
  • The thick 31.6 mm seat post is stronger and sturdier, a more trail-capable hardware part than the 27.2 mm and 30.9 mm I usually see, you could swap this with a suspension post for improved comfort but might need a shim adapter for thinner suspension posts, here’s a perfect fit and relatively affordable one from SR Suntour
  • Nice touch points, the Selle Royal saddle is active but more comfortable than a no-name cheap seat, the VP pedals are large and grippy, they feel solid and won’t bend the way cheaper cage style pedals might
  • I was told that this bike is rated up to 350 lbs, and I believe it! The frame felt very sturdy and the spokes are thicker 13 gauge vs. the stock 14g or 15g on a lot of other e-bikes
  • The frame and systems are purpose built, this means that cables are internally routed, vulnerable parts are reinforced, and the weight of the motor and battery are kept as low and centered on the frame as possible for stability
  • Interesting point with the Evelo Delta, I was told that there is a way to increase the top speed of the bike and make it more of an “off road” product if you live on a farm or private property and want to use it more like a moped, it would not be street legal in this configuration
  • EVELO offers three accessory packages to help you optimize the bike for comfort, safety, or commuting and in my experience with this sort of thing, the parts tend to look nicer and work better than if you try to guess on your own (and it costs a lot less this way)
  • Minor mention here but I think the Schwalbe Nobby Nic logo on the tires is reflective so you can be seen a bit easier from the sides if you ride in low light around cars

Cons:

  • Weighing in at ~57.4 lbs, this is not an especially lightweight electric mountain bike, the NuVinci CVT hub adds weight and I am guessing that the unique mid-mount battery punchout had to be reinforced for strength and also adds some weight… but it’s actually not as heavy as I was expecting
  • The cadence sensing pedal assist can feel a bit abrupt, it doesn’t matter whether you’re pushing hard or not, if you move the cranks the bike will take off… and it could take off hard if you’re in a higher assist level
  • Minor consideration here, the bike doesn’t come with a kickstand, but there is a standard mounting plate behind the motor or you could get a rear-mount kickstand that would stay out of the way, something like this might work or maybe this kickstand
  • The display panel looks beautiful, I love how large it is and appreciate that it can be swiveled forward and back to reduce glare… but it is not removable and could take more weather damage or scratches at bike racks, some people put their helmets over the display to help protect them when parking outside
  • The BBS02 is not as quiet as some of the other mid-drive geared motors I have tested like Brose or Shimano, it does seem to offer more power (and is rated higher) but you may notice the whirring sound in the video, especially when I was in a higher gear and the highest leve-5 assist setting

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More EVELO Reviews

Evelo Galaxy ST Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A powerful cruiser style electric bike with smooth, responsive, multi-sensing pedal assist and trigger throttle operation, throttle only works above 6 mph and is limited by assist level. Optional hydraulic disc brakes and automatic electric shifting would be great for riders with limited…...

Evelo Quest One Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A folding electric bike that's fairly lightweight at ~41 lbs, clean and simple thanks to a Gates Carbon belt drive, and still feature rich with fenders and integrated lights. Available in two color choices, offers pedal assist and throttle on demand, highly adjustable extra-long…...

Evelo Galaxy TT Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable but sturdy cruiser style electric bike with premium aesthetic, the mid-drive motor is powerful but quiet and offers responsive pedal assist plus throttle. EVELO has always offered great customer service and even has a trade-in program, the Galaxy…...

Evelo Aries Review

  • MSRP: $2,079
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full suspension city bike with basic mid-drive system (upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options). Nice accessories including USB charger, front and rear LED lights, mechanical disc brakes and a…...

Evelo Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $2,079
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Value driven but well rounded mid-drive ebike with upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options. Great features include backlit LCD display with built in USB charger, front and rear LED…...

2013 Evelo Aries Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable full suspension electric bike with mid-grade Lithium polymer battery. Decent strength (36 Volts of power) and range (10 amp hour capacity)...

2013 Evelo Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Offers lots of features but isn't particularly strong or fast as an electric bike. Entry level components get the job done and keep the price lower, unique frame flexes...


Boris Mordkovich
3 months ago

Hi everyone!

My name is Boris Mordkovich and I’m the CEO and co-founder here at EVELO!

Just wanted to let you know what we are available 7 days a week to answer any questions you may have about the Delta, our other models, or electric bicycles in general. If there’s anything we can do to help, you can reach us at 877-991-7272 or via email at contact@evelo.com.

If you’d like to reach me directly for any reason, you can do so at boris@evelo.com.

Thank you again,
Boris Mordkovich

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Thanks Boris! I had a great time visiting your new factory store in Seattle and Alex was very helpful for this review. As always, I respect your high level of support and communication. With optimism ;)

Reply
Bryan Barnard
2 months ago

Hi Court & Boris, maybe one of you can answer a question I sent to Evelo through their web contact form several weeks ago, but I received no reply.

On the Evelo web page describing the terms of the 4 year/20,000 mile warranty, they say that the Nuvinci drivetrain is warrantied through their manufacturer. However, as I understand it (please correct me if I’m in error), the Nuvinci 380 is warrantied by Nuvinci for ebike motors of **350 watts or less**. In this case where the 380 is paired with the 750 watt BBS02, it’s not clear if the 380 is even warrantied. I’m requesting clarity on this point.

Thanks in advance,
Bryan Barnard

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Bryan, I’ll defer to Boris on this question, I have reached out to him to help get a response :)

Reply
Bryan Barnard
1 month ago

Thank you, Court!

Bill
1 month ago

Hi Bryan,

This is Bill here at EVELO and I’m our Director of Customer Service. While true that Fallbrook Technologies (the manufacturer of NuVinci components) limits their warranty to bikes equipped with 350w motors, EVELO is absorbing the warranty in the event of failure outside of their terms. With over 6 years of experience using their hubs (first the N360 and now the N380) we are confidant with the capabilites and durablity of their hubs. (To be frank, if we were not confidant, we would not cover the hub for 4 yrs/20,000 miles). In fact, if you poke around on the internet, you will find DIY folks that are putting over 1000w through NuVinci hubs with out issue– they do great, and Fallbrook’s policy is quite conservative.

I hope this helps!
-Bill

Reply
Casey
1 month ago

I just picked mine up from your guys’ shop up in Seattle. I love it. Put 10 miles of trail riding on it after getting back down to Portland. Thank you guys at Evelo and Court as well for the awesome review!

Reply
Court Rye
1 month ago

Awesome! Thanks for the real-life feedback Casey, glad to hear it’s working out well for you. It’s neat when you live close by and can visit the shop like that. I hope it continues to work out and invite you to comment anytime with follow-up insights :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

fourday
1 week ago

Hello I have been lurking, researching E bikes for the last 6 months or so, since I realized I will not be able to ride as I used to, due to a recent medical issue. I have been riding bikes all my life, since retiring, wife and I would load bikes on motor home and go. I am 68 years old, and my wife is 69. Retired from the fire service after 35 years, and was recently diagnosed with cancer, which has affected my endurance but not my will to get out and ride. wife was a nurse for 40 years, and knees are not as strong. E bikes seem to be the answer for us. some must have's include throttle and assist . looking at the 3 to 4 k range, but must admit i rode a classic ebike scrambler and loved it, but 7 k is too much especially when i am looking for 2 bikes. I have been looking specifically at the Evelo galaxy, for my wife and the delta for myself. We have also been looking at the Luna brand. my wife likes the Evelo due to the ease of mounting,and the Nuvinci N380 transmission. some riding includes dirt roads bike trails, no extreme mountain biking any more. especially looking for quality and good service. thanks Bob

Dwight
1 week ago

My Delta today, along with my faithful companion taking a break from guard duty...

1/1
comradecasey
4 weeks ago

That looks like a nice bike. I'm very excited about the HyperFat. I really like the 4" tires (wouldn't mind even bigger) and the 1000W motor. I also really like the fact that the motor doesn't have a limit when I'm off-road. I also like the the HF looks very easy to service and maintain. I've heard that mid-drives can be hard on a chain and can break them occasionally. I don't know how true that is but that would worry me. I also loved the price that I got the HF for. I have a hard time justifying spending over $3,000.

After riding on plus sized MTB tires (3.0" Schwalbe Nobby Nics) I just can't say I feel the need for 4" tires. Maybe wider for sand, but you can run the Evelo Delta tubeless (and I plan to at <10psi) for riding on the beach. The rims also allow you to run normal sized commuter tires, which I love for use in Portland. Keeps the weight down compared to the fat tire slicks too.

The Evelo Delta has a CVT in the rear hub that doesn't mangle the chain like non shift sensing bikes can if you don't cut power with your brakes or back pedal during shifting. The Nuvinci CVT is amazing. If you have the option I really recommend trying one because it definitely changed my mind on my price range!

Agreed on the price, but who knows if we'll ever get the damn bike, I mean its been months and months past their promised deliveries. My guess is we get them next March at the earliest. That frustrates me way more than the $1000 or so difference I spent on the Evelo Delta (I bought mine open box) over the Hyper Fat.

Don't get me wrong, still excited, but that excitement has definitely gone down after buying a bike that is likely a better bike and actually having it vs. waiting several more months.

Eglon
4 weeks ago

I've had one on order forever and just ended up getting an Evelo Delta instead. I seriously doubt the Hyper Fat is going to be anywhere near as good, but fingers crossed I even get my damn bike this year :rolleyes:
That looks like a nice bike. I'm very excited about the HyperFat. I really like the 4" tires (wouldn't mind even bigger) and the 1000W motor. I also really like the fact that the motor doesn't have a limit when I'm off-road. I also like the the HF looks very easy to service and maintain. I've heard that mid-drives can be hard on a chain and can break them occasionally. I don't know how true that is but that would worry me. I also loved the price that I got the HF for. I have a hard time justifying spending over $3,000.

comradecasey
4 weeks ago

I've had one on order forever and just ended up getting an Evelo Delta instead. I seriously doubt the Hyper Fat is going to be anywhere near as good, but fingers crossed I even get my damn bike this year :rolleyes:

comradecasey
4 weeks ago

I just picked mine up locally from Evelo's shop in Seattle (I live in Portland). I've got to say, coming from a weak 250watt Sondors Thin has made switching to this bike a dream. The BBS02 is a fantastic motor and pulled my slightly overweight ass up every Seattle and Portland hill I've been able to track down. The NuVinci CVT is amazing as well.

Made a few changes for commuting though:

Replaced the Nobby Nics with Schwalbe 2" Marathons (at least for now while I wait on the weather for camping again). Also swapped the saddle and grips to an Ergon SCM4 and Ergon GS1s respectively. Fenders and racks were installed right as the rain stopped in Portland of course, and I just put the 203mm and 180mm Shimano rotors on today.

Lovely bike though, commuting is way more fun than it was with the Sondors and I've already got 100+ miles and counting!

1/1
Keith Bierman
1 month ago

I've got a bit over 2.5 years and 6K miles on a Stromer ST-1. Other than a few flats, and chain lubing, my only repairs have been:

1) Multiple brake bleeding (there was one incident where a mobile bike shop trashed one brake, my LBS put it right on THEIR dime).
2) A major servicing at about 5K miles. I upgraded the battery pack at that time (just before the 2 year mark; my LBS determined that the battery should be replaced due to a defect, and covered the cost of the original battery; charging me only the delta to the larger capacity).

Excellent bike. I'm getting a brake bleed kit, as that seems to be something I need done (perhaps something odd about my riding style?) every thousand miles or so.

Ks Kev
1 month ago

Hello all, thought I would post a quick introduction......
I have got into the interest of e-bikes and found this forum.
Recently retired and didn't want to be a bump on the couch and thought that biking would be good for exercise.
I have ankolosing spondylosis (neck and spine fused) so looking into a Delta style e-bike for ease of getting on and off.
So, as I read the post here it helps me on getting info and what direction to go!
Enjoy reading everyone's posts and look forward into participating!

roshan
1 month ago

I wonder if this is the motor in the new Evelo Delta, "750W Bafang Custom Mid-drive Brushless Motor, 48V." The motor certainly doesn't look like the MM G320.750.
Nope. They are just using BBS02

Dwight
1 month ago

Stunningly good looking bike. If I was shopping for a new ebike, without a doubt the Delta would be one of the top candidates I would consider. When Court reviewed this bike a few months back, one of the few potential 'cons' he brought up was that the cadence sensing can feel quite abrupt. Is this something one gets accustomed to and kind of deals with easily and naturally once one lives with the bike for a few weeks? Or can it still catch you a bit off guard in certain situations, perhaps especially when in one of the higher levels of assist?
The cadence sensing is abrupt but easy for me to get used to seeing this is my second ebike, my first was a fat bike with a hub motor and cadence sensor so I am used to the lunge.....I find the throttle on the Delta is very smooth and can be used in tight situations with confidence plus the hydraulic brakes have motor inhibitors that can help.

comradecasey
1 month ago

I upgraded from a 2014 hub drive, a Surface 604 Element, fat bike.

I hope you like your Delta as much as I do, it may take a little getting used to given the increased speed and torque and the nuvinchi cvt.

Yeah I'm quite excited about the CVT, should be quite fun. I'm actually picking it up locally at their shop in Seattle this Friday :)

mid drive merv
1 month ago

Evelo does not offer the nuvinchi harmony (automatic shifting), on the Delta.
The Delta comes with the nuvinchi 380 cvt, manual vs auto....

Stunningly good looking bike. If I was shopping for a new ebike, without a doubt the Delta would be one of the top candidates I would consider. When Court reviewed this bike a few months back, one of the few potential 'cons' he brought up was that the cadence sensing can feel quite abrupt. Is this something one gets accustomed to and kind of deals with easily and naturally once one lives with the bike for a few weeks? Or can it still catch you a bit off guard in certain situations, perhaps especially when in one of the higher levels of assist?

Dwight
1 month ago

Cool! Did you get the Nuvinci harmony (automatic shifting)?
Evelo does not offer the nuvinchi harmony (automatic shifting), on the Delta.
The Delta comes with the nuvinchi 380 cvt, manual vs auto....

Dwight
1 month ago

Thanks! I'll be buying that shortly. Very excited to get the bike as I'm coming from a hub drive Sondors :)
I upgraded from a 2014 hub drive, a Surface 604 Element, fat bike.

I hope you like your Delta as much as I do, it may take a little getting used to given the increased speed and torque and the nuvinchi cvt.

comradecasey
1 month ago

My new Evelo Delta arrived Friday, I assembled it and charged the battery for 15 hours, took it for a short ride on Saturday and decided to change out the handlebars for a more relaxed ride, added a suspension seatpost, a rear rack and a couple of mirrors.

So far my top speed on a private road is 33 mph, this bike flies and is powerful, zips up hills like they were flat!

Decided to swap out suspension seat post and installed a dropper, so far absolutely love it, will most likely miss the suspension on a longer ride....

Just bought mine on Thursday! Have you found a kick stand that fits this bike? Looking to purchase all my accessories before the bike arrives :)

Ken M
2 months ago

The price delta of carbon vs aluminum seat posts, stems and bars has come down dramatically in recent years but I believe the perceived value of carbon is still significant. I simply want to know if most riders would be willing to pay an additional $50 on a new bike to get those 3 components made of full carbon vs aluminum?

Carbon does provide some weight savings vs aluminum but not a big factor for eBikes, but it also improves the ride quality somewhat and some may consider the cosmetic quality carbon of value.

If not worth an additional $50, how much would you subjectively be willing to pay for those 3 components to be made of carbon vs aluminum.

I'm also wanting to compare carbon forks vs. active suspension forks on urban / road bikes but that's a harder question to frame as some people perceive an active front suspension as essential for ride quality. Any ideas on this would add some merit to this thread.

Background: I just bought my 2nd eBike and ended up immediately replacing the OEM aluminum components with carbon components I ordered online but was wondering if my perception of the value of carbon was common with other riders.

Dwight
2 months ago

I have had my Evelo Delta almost two weeks, the quality and the workmanship is excellent, my top speed so far is 33mph, I love the nuvinchi cvt.

I did customize by adding a dropper seatpost, swept back handlebars and a rear rack.

I am happy to answer any questions, I highly recommend!

1/1
comradecasey
2 months ago

Hello!

I'm looking to get a Bafang mid drive mountain bike. Don't really care all that much about rear suspension as I'll likely just be cruising around on trails, but I do have more money than sense :) Budget if you really need one is around 6k.

I'm wondering if you folks have any other recommendations or preferences? I'm specifically looking for a BBS02, BBSHD, or Bafang Ultra Max powered bike. No fat tires (plus are fine) and I'd prefer an internally geared hub, but that isn't a necessity.

Thanks!

john peck
2 months ago

I really like the Crosscurrent S and I'm not familiar with the Magnum. So I'll just offer my 2 cents about pros and cons. I actually think an 8 speed cassette might be a pro over 9 speed cassette. If you're using the motor, you don't need nearly as many gears and as the industry has added gears to the rear cassette they have not made the spacing at the rear wheel wider, so the gears get narrower. That means a 9 speed will wear out faster than an 8 speed. Way back in the day 5 speed cassettes lasted a really long time. Today with 10 speed cassettes they need to be replaced relatively frequently.

I'm not sure I'd agree a suspension seat post is better.

Of course everyone has their own personal preferences. For me, on an electric bike I think a 5 or 6 speed cassette is preferable as it will last a lot longer and with the motor it's a lot easier to find a gear that will allow you to pedal at the cadence you want.
Actually the CCS rack is very sturdy, but had no attachment point for my hook type panniers. I solved this with a couple of those delta shaped
brake claspers found on older road bikes. They fit the base of the rack perfectly as if made to the purpose. As to the 9 spd, on one of my pedal bikes I have a
50 year old 5 spd Suntour Perfect freewheel that still works fine. However, I was very impressed with how smoothly the CCS 9 spd shifts. After riding bikes for more the 60 years, I opted for a cushy foam, spring saddle

Dwight
2 months ago

I went with the fully loaded Evelo Delta, came with a 4 year, 20,000 mile warranty. My top speed so far is 33mph, torque rating at 120nm, this ebike is fast and powerful and so much fun to ride!!! The Delta has a throttle and a nuvinchi cvt with a 750 watt mid drive. Excellent customer service and fast shipping!

1/1
Dwight
2 months ago

My new Evelo Delta arrived Friday, I assembled it and charged the battery for 15 hours, took it for a short ride on Saturday and decided to change out the handlebars for a more relaxed ride, added a suspension seatpost, a rear rack and a couple of mirrors.

So far my top speed on a private road is 33 mph, this bike flies and is powerful, zips up hills like they were flat!

Decided to swap out suspension seat post and installed a dropper, so far absolutely love it, will most likely miss the suspension on a longer ride....

1/1
Dwight
2 months ago

This is what I bought....the Evelo Delta!

1/1
Clay
2 months ago

Take a look at the Evelo Delta, a little above your budget but you get a lot for your money. My Delta is being delivered this afternoon!

Go to evelo.com

Good luck and have fun!!!

I will do that Dwight. Thanks for the advice. Let us know how you like the Evelo. Enjoy!

Dwight
2 months ago

Take a look at the Evelo Delta, a little above your budget but you get a lot for your money. My Delta is being delivered this afternoon!

Go to evelo.com

Good luck and have fun!!!

Meno Passini
4 weeks ago

Evelo needs to offer a Cruiser and a Commuter version of the Delta. It needs fenders and integrated lights. Evelo offers thudbuster seats and Cruiser style handlebars so you can ride upright and comfortable. There needs to be different tires too. The Delta's purposed built frame, brakes, mid drive, rear hub transmission, mid mount battery are the prefect template. I have ridden Trek's Super Commuter it is a Great bike, but the Delta has more features for $600.00 less. Also Evelo offers a better warranty.

EVELO Electric Bicycles
2 weeks ago

Hi Meno, we have some great news for you. We will be introducing the Delta CX in the spring of 2018, which will include a rear rack, fenders, lights, and Schwalbe's Moto-X 2.8 tires. This will be a great bike for commuting, bikepacking or any adventure which requires hauling gear. We have helped a number of customers set up their current Delta in a similar fashion, so if you don't want to wait that long we can certainly help you out with modifying the current Delta.

Rob K
2 months ago

Hi Court. Can you give your opinion on the NuVinci N380 vs the Shimono 11 with Di2 vs the Rohloff 14 internal hubs. What have you experienced with these on mid-drive systems. And do you prefer one over the other and Why..? Thanks Court..Great Review..!

Ducati Monster
2 months ago

Really like this bikes setup. The transmission, suspension, and the throttle will smooth out any cadence issue's.

small footprint
3 months ago

I think the bikes are really cool but, I got interested in your site because of your camping in your Prius. Do you have another channel where you focus on that aspect of your adventure or was that video a one time thing? Thanks in advance for responding. Lynn

Seb K
3 months ago

About a month in from when I first got my commuter I was pushing the bike out the garage and I forgot the bike was on . I hit the throttle and shot off . I have a small front shed that i slammed into . Took out the wall and destroyed my forks .

Seb K
3 months ago

No laughing :) !!!

Haroldo Menezes
3 months ago

rapaz fala para mim como é que eu faço para importar uma bike dessa dormir uma dica

daMacroGuy
3 months ago

Thanks for including the bike's price in the title. I enjoy all your videos, but knowing the price up front helps me to filter my viewing to my price range.

Bruce Ballad
3 months ago

I was so waiting for this review, I am writing this while watching the first minutes.
Edit: It looks sound awesome. I am kind of a bafang fan. I wonder are they selling in or shipping to Australia.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Sweet! Glad you're enjoying it Bruce, I wonder that as well? They folks at EVELO are super helpful and supportive, reach out and let us know what the options are for the folks in the land down under :D

Jack Odell
3 months ago

Nuvinci, zero speed throttle, lots of power. Give it a gates belt and torque sensor and I'll buy it.

Jack Nizer
2 months ago

Then keep an eye on this upcoming jewel from Luna Cycle: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvMCA3ZyyfI :)

Jack Odell
2 months ago

Let's throw in a dual suspension for good measure!

Jack Nizer
2 months ago

I totally agree with you. I hope they will consider the Delta X, using the Bafang Max Ultra, and the new NuVinci N380x (high torque new version), and a gates Carbon belt. I don't think the extra dollars would be as high as $1500, but it would make the absolutely perfect bike. 1000W and Torque/cadence/speed sensor. I would definitely buy that! (and probably two of them so my wife can enjoy it too :) )

Jack Odell
3 months ago

You only live once! It's only money, ha. I still think there is a big market for a powerful mid drive, zero speed throttle, gates-Nuvinci, dual suspension bike with all purpose tires, fenders, lights and rack. Your review of this bike and the R&M Delite are coming pretty close. Keep up the great work!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Would you still want it if those options added $1,500 to the price tag? I'm guessing it would cost at least that much given the custom frame cutaway for belt drives and a Bafang Max drive with updated programming

Daniel S.
3 months ago

doesn't it seem unproportional? in a side view? this month I will probably get the bike you suggested me. Than I post a video on my channel as well. XD

Daniel S.
3 months ago

I mean that in the mix between electric drive engine with bicycle, that bike has a lot more electric than bicycle. The motor and battery pack have a large volume in the totality of the bike. Much more than in other bikes. At least visually it seems

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

I'm a bit confused by your comment, could you explain the unproportional and side view thing?

Mr Jhonny
3 months ago

I love this bike!The style,mid drive,thick tyres and the big batery make this bike a beast!!!!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Yeah, this thing looks awesome, rides well, and provides great pedal and throttle options... this with a customized Bafang Max drive wold be perfect, but the BBS02 is still great

Meno Passini
3 months ago

Thanks for the honest review. I was half way sold until you mentioned the cadace problem. Also looks like a kids bike, to small. Love the brakes, rims, fork, battery and trans. Great warranty. Who makes the mid-drive? Bafang? Is there a multi sensor Bafang mid drive w/ higher wattage?

Meno Passini
2 months ago

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA. Yes I found a Trek dealer with nice discounts on 2017 models. The one I like is the Trek Super Commuter + 85. Nice wide tires but not Fat Bike size. I rode a Fat bike, it was hard to steer and the tires became caked w/ snow. The big Bafang is really the way to GO, but at 57 I just want to cummute. The dealer is in a college town. Lotz of old Hippies going through their E Bike thing. Saw a good number of posts for used ones "Like New". My neighbor bought the big ELk electric trike/car. It sits in the garage.

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA
2 months ago

Correct when technology is initially deployed it is very expensive due to lack of optimization and demand not being high by 2020 e bikes will be very popular and the average cost will range from 1000-3000, so if your patient you can score a good deal on an e bike, currently the most cost effective way of getting an e bike is doing a DIY kit, I will probably due a DIY kit during Christmas time only if I can get a DIY kit for about 500 bucks mid drive motor kit + battery... You can also buy last years model for about 50% off random bicycles has good deals!!!

Meno Passini
2 months ago

I think 2018 will be a model year of change. Less hub drives, more mid drives and better pricing. I saw some New 2017 Treks mid drives at a big discount. $800.00 off VM700+

Jack Nizer
2 months ago

" Is there a multi sensor Bafang mid drive w/ higher wattage?". Yes there is, it is the Bafang Max Ultra Drive. It has Integrated Torque / cadence / speed sensor like the Bosch, and it has 1000W nominal power, 1600W peak ! This is the motor I would love to see on that bike :)

Meno Passini
3 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com. There is so much to learn. Iam glad you are informed and honest. Iam going through your list of mid drives, there are too many choices.. Now I like the Cube.

Rick Etter
3 months ago

Great review! One of your best ever. As an owner of an original FLX mid drive Bofeili Roadster which I purchased primarily because of your reviews when they first came out, I appreciate the value of throttle power for climbing and control. I believe my Roadster is very similar to this model which is why I appreciate your accuracy in reporting the responsiveness of cadence control, throttle activated, ebikes. Keep up the great work. You are the reason I purchased what I did after months of listening to your reviews a year ago this month. Thank you for assisting me in becoming an avid bicyclist again and an Ebiker advocate. Two new hips, four heart attacks, and two back surgeries later I'm still riding the dream and I owe much to you. I continue to follow your reviews and continue to learn so very much about the ebiking/bicycling world.

juv mol
3 months ago

WildDwightman hey it happen same.to me after watching his reviews i bouth my first ebike ....a specialized turbo ,and also after cancelling order whit another brand who also was keeping delaying release date due to twcnical problwms i went on an pull the triger on my turbo,yet now i want a more like a mountain bike than a flat surface road and ben loling on wich brand and bike go .thanks very much for your reply .

WildDwightman
3 months ago

I ordered the FLX Blade on June 9th, was told a couple of days ago it will be another six to eight weeks. I cancelled my order this morning and plan on pulling the trigger on this baby soon!

Court excellent review, I bought my first ebike after watching your review of the Surface604 Element.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Thanks Rick, your comment definitely made my day... I'm so glad to hear that your FLX is working well and that your lifestyle is enjoyable and active because of ebikes, that's awesome! Your reply to juv was also very thoughtful and constructive. You seem like a good person :)

Rick Etter
3 months ago

juv mol my bike in its gen 2 version sells for about$2,100. Not quite apples for Apple's. Look at the current FLX Tract and see what you think. The FLX is about a3 month wait where this appears to be available immediately. There's a lot to like about this bike given the money difference that I do believe is worth it based on Cort's review only.

juv mol
3 months ago

Rick Etter quick question,wich one its better ,yoir bike or this one?

Joey-eLL
3 months ago

Can you do the quest from evelo

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Indeed I will, thanks for the request! Expect it in a week or so

Pure Water Window Cleaning
3 months ago

Sweet bike! Thanks for the great review... As always!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Sure thing, thanks for your support :D

luis fernando
3 months ago

Whats the range?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Yeah, All4Grogg is providing some great answers here. The reason my estimates are usually like 20 to 40 miles (which is a huge gap) is because of the five levels of assist and throttle option. Range is heavily dependent on how hard the motor is working as well as rider weight and terrain... so many factors XD

All4Grogg
3 months ago

Yeah....that did strike me as a very fair estimate, but if you notice one number is twice the size of the other. If i were to tell you that we were going for a walk and you asked how far, i don't think you would be satisfied if i told you... oh 20 or 40 miles...
An accurate estimate requires a whole bunch of things accounted for into defined scenarios. As much as sellers/reviewers would love to have a good solid answer, it varies.

Mr Jhonny
3 months ago

At this time he sayes 20-40 miles 4:56

All4Grogg
3 months ago

http://www.electricbikerange.info/Electric_bike_range.html here is a better link

All4Grogg
3 months ago

That is an impossible question for any system, the battery offers 556 watt hours from that subtract how much you anticipate to draw from the battery per mile, add in how much wattage you apply with your legs, adjust for rolling resistance, aerodynamic drag, rider weight then use some calculus to account for slopes encountered on your planned route and you'll have an estimate. The best calculator i've found is at www electricbikerange.info play around with some of the variables there and it'll show you how massive a difference things like having a headwind/rider position/rider input can have on range, basically why range estimates from manufacturers are little more than wild guesses.

John Moura
3 months ago

Great bike - - Amazing climb! I don't think my Honda Element could make it up that hill.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Thanks for all of the detailed measurements and conversions here All4Grogg, you get it ;)

All4Grogg
3 months ago

That hub has an under drive of .5. So with a 48 front chainring and a 22 tooth rear The lowest gear would be equivalent to a 24x22 combination! The traction is going to run out before the gearing on a climb (which is awesome imo) The top gear on this system would be the equivalent of ~46X11, which is a pretty fantastic range considering the max cadence of the bbso2 is 120 rpm so if you can push it hard enough against the wind an unrestricted motor could theoretically help all the way to 40mph. Unless you are a pro, 30 seems more likely.

Steve Donovan
3 months ago

All one need's is a programming cable and bump the peak wattage to over 1200. Just saying...

Steve Donovan
3 months ago

Your caution for the motor is valid and actually may be why the bike manufacturer limits it under 1000 watts, which is a limitation of its amperage to 20. The current BBS02 will use a full 25 amps but you have to be prudent with that to short periods or it will get hot.
Btw, Bafang has done a lousy job programming those motors, it's why you feel it easily surge or kick in. I'm like many who purchased one soon after to reprogram the power curve and it is a wonderful difference even though I barely use pedal assist. I don't know why Bafang doesn't change it?
Enjoyed your review!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Maybe that's what they do with the off-road update? In any case, be careful not to ruin the battery or burn out the motor by overclocking it, I realize the world of BBS02 motors is full of different options :)