Haibike SDURO FullNine RX Review

Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx Electric Bike Review
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx Electric Bike Motor By Yamaha
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx Removable Ebike Battery 396 Watt Hours
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx Removable Ebike Display Panel
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx Yamaha Backlit Lcd Display
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx Xlc Locking Grips Ebike Button Pad Micro Usb
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx 29 Inch Wheelset With Qr
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx 20 Speed Deore Xt M768 Shadow Plus Drivetrain
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx Fizik Saddle Manganese Rails
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx Shimano Slx M675 Ice Tech Hydraulic Brakes
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx Electric Bike Review
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx Electric Bike Motor By Yamaha
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx Removable Ebike Battery 396 Watt Hours
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx Removable Ebike Display Panel
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx Yamaha Backlit Lcd Display
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx Xlc Locking Grips Ebike Button Pad Micro Usb
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx 29 Inch Wheelset With Qr
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx 20 Speed Deore Xt M768 Shadow Plus Drivetrain
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx Fizik Saddle Manganese Rails
Haibike Sduro Fullnine Rx Shimano Slx M675 Ice Tech Hydraulic Brakes

Summary

  • A full suspension 29er with mid-drive motor, slim battery and removable display by Yamaha, offers 80 Nm of torque and zero-cadence pedal assist response
  • The RX trim level is top of the line with light weight hardware from Shimano, Fox and RockShox, it offers a 20 speed drivetrain for comfortable cadence at a higher range of speeds
  • The larger wheels carry momentum, span cracks and elevate the frame for excellent cross country riding but suspension travel is limited to 100 mm, the angled top tube lowers stand-over height
  • The motor is smooth and quiet but slower to cut out, the RPM output is a bit limited with becomes noticeable at lower speeds, no shift sensing but torque is measured so ease off to shift

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Haibike

Model:

SDURO FullNine RX

Price:

$4,499

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Motor and Battery, 5 Year Frame

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

49.5 lbs (22.45 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.5 lbs (2.94 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.6 lbs (3.44 kg)

Frame Material:

Hydroformed Aluminum Alloy 6061

Frame Sizes:

15.75 in (40 cm)17.72 in (45 cm)19.69 in (50.01 cm)21.65 in (54.99 cm)

Frame Types:

Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Blue and Orange Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Fox 32 Float Performance Air Suspension with Rebound Adjust, Remote Lockout and 100 mm Travel, 15 mm Thru Axle

Frame Rear Details:

RockShox Monarch RT Air Shock with Rebound Clicker and 100 mm Travel, 142 / 12 mm Thru Axle

Gearing Details:

20 Speed 2x10 Deore XT M768 Shadow Plus , 11-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore triggers on Left and Right

Cranks:

FSA CK-745 Cranks, FSA X-10 Chainring, 44T

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform, Cage Style

Headset:

FSA No. 57, A-Head, Semi-Integrated, Tapered

Stem:

Xduro Aluminium, A-Head

Handlebar:

Sduro Lowriser Aluminium

Brake Details:

Shimano SLX M675, Ice-Tech, Hydraulic Disc with 203 mm Front and 180 mm Rear Rotors, Shimano SLX M675 Levers

Grips:

XLC Ergo Sport, Rubber, Lock On

Saddle:

Fizik, Manganese Rails

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

370 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Taurus, 622 x 21c, Alloy-Double Wall

Spokes:

Stainless Steel 14G, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Nobby Nic Performance, 29" x 2.25"

Wheel Sizes:

29 in (73.66cm)

Tire Details:

Tubeless Easy Snakeskin, Pace Star 3

Tube Details:

Presta

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Quick Release Wheels and Seat Tube, Cable Inlets, Replaceable Plastic Skid Plate, Gravity Casting Motor Mount Interface with CNC Milled Connection and Bearing Seat Points, Zero Cadence Assist

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Yamaha

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

Removable, Backlit LCD Console

Readouts:

Trip Distance, Total Distance, Current Time, Trip Time, Maximum Speed, Average Speed, Current Speed, Charge Level (10 Bars), Range, Cadence, Assist Level (Off, Eco+, Eco, Std, High)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Cadence and Torque, Eco+: 50%, Eco: 100%, Std: 180%, High: 280%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Despite the many, many models and trim levels that Haibike is producing for model year 2016 they are only offering the FullNine (full suspension 29er) models with the SDURO Yamaha drive system. I got to check out the RX version with a taller friend who was able to appreciate the larger wheelset and frame size… This model balances performance with value and toutes zero cadence motor operation, impressive 80 Nm torque output and a large removable LCD display with remote button pad and Micro USB charging. There’s no shift sensing built in to the system but it relies on a combination of torque and cadence to activate so my experience has been that easing off the pedals a bit while shifting reduces mashing and will prolong your chain, sprockets and derailleur life.

Aside from the higher torque output, Yamaha has differentiated its drive system by offering a longer, slimmer battery pack design that slides in from the side. The result is tighter frame designs with lower top tubes that are easier to mount and stand over. If you’re someone who appreciates the 29 inch wheel size but but you don’t have long legs, this is a win and perhaps one of the reasons that Haibike isn’t offering an XDURO Bosch powered full suspension 29er this year. Whatever the case, this system performs and depending on the trim level you choose you’ll get 10 or 20 gears. The SL is less expensive ($3,499) but without those extra gear options your climbing ability may be somewhat impacted. For $400 more you can get the RC ($3,899) which has the extra gears and a couple of component upgrades). All models peak out around 20 mph and only offer pedal assist as this is a Class 1 ebike, permissible on the highest number of trails in California and elsewhere.

I love the quick release wheelset, the Micro USB charging port on the remote button pad (located near the left grip), the locking grips, the light weight fork and the fact that there are so many sizes to choose from to get the perfect fit. You really get 12 bikes to choose from with the FullNine model because there are three trim levels in four sizes each… that’s amazing for such a refined product, though they only offer each trim level in one unique color scheme. While I was reviewing this bike at the Electric Bicycle Center in Fullerton, CA a gentleman came in and fell in love with the paint scheme of the highest trim (the RX) and was basing his purchase decision purely on this. Beauty and style aside, the Haibike models have been late to arrive this year and seem to be coming in limited quantities. The most popular sizes include 45 cm and 50 cm and some are already completely sold out, even as they arrive to stores.

My experience with the SDURO Yamaha system has been mixed. On the one hand you have the potential for more gears because the system uses a more standard set of chainrings (compared to Bosch) but then you don’t have shift sensing to help reduce wear so now two derailleurs are taking a hit if you aren’t thoughtful or find yourself in a precarious hard-shift situation. You get more torque and the zero-cadence response but this hasn’t been an obvious huge advantage over Bosch and of course the price is lower for most models in the SDURO line but the range of speed output seems more limited to me. That is, I have to shift up gears to hit higher speeds… I find myself maxing out with my own pedaling well before I’d prefer to shift up in some of the lower gears. I wish they would just extend the RPM range a little bit so I could shift down in preparation for climbs without taking a massive speed hit as the motor drops out. It’s difficult to explain but trying Yamaha and Bosch back to back causes many people to find preference for one vs. the other but it’s hard to dispute the beauty and unique offerings from Haibike as a company and I appreciate their great warranty and network of dealers. This was a fun one to test and it was great to have input from a shop owner and someone larger in terms of height and weight for the video review.

Pros:

  • This is a great model for taller riders like Sam (who is 6’4″) because the wheel diameter is larger and that raises the frame, since you can get it in four frame sizes from 40 cm to 55 cm it should work well for a range of body types
  • The SLX brake levers have adjustable reach (tool free adjustable) so you can tune them as you ride or set them up for longer or shorter fingers… this is nice again for taller riders with potentially longer fingers
  • With Ice-Tech calipers and rotors (Aluminum sandwiched between Steel plates and heat sinks on the rotors) heat is dissipated more quickly to reduce fade during long ascents and for heavier loads (again, larger heavier riders potentially)
  • You get thru-axles front and rear which provide stiffness and strength, I find that they also make it easier to take the wheels off and line them back up when doing maintenance
  • with quick release wheels, seat tube, a removable battery and removable display panel you can significantly reduce weight and size for transporting this ebike
  • I like that the display is removable for moments when you’re riding downhill at higher speeds and might want to protect it in case of a fall, Haibike uses a negative angle stem and low-rise bars to create a space for the display mount and sort of protect it even if you leave it on
  • The Fizik saddle is a nice upgrade for performance but I discovered a little clip-in area beneath where you can mount a light. This could free up your seat tube and saddle rails for an accessory pouch or bottle cage and it would probably stay straighter as well
  • Despite being a full suspension ebike with an angled top tube there appeared to be enough space to mount the frame on a hang style rack which tend to be more common and affordable
  • The display panel is large, easy to read, backlit and removable! I’d probably take it off when doing tricky downhill stuff in case of a crash), I like that the button pad is easy to reach, well sealed and has an integrated Micro USB port for charging accessories
  • The Yamaha mid-drive motor operates fairly quietly in high and mid level gears (when it’s not spinning super fast)
  • Excellent weight distribution, the motor and battery are positioned low and center improving handling, both wheels have quick release for easier transport or trail maintenance and the motor is well protected with a replaceable plastic skidplate (also color matched!)

Cons:

  • The larger 29″ wheels offer good momentum and terrain span but also require more power to get started and produce more drag with a larger contact patch, the suspension offered here is 100 mm vs. some of the 26″ and 27.5″ that go further because the wheels are so large but it’s well suited to cross country riding
  • Limited motor speed range, I found that when switching down to lower gears the motor support dropped out significantly (even in the highest pedal assist mode) because it relies so heavily on torque as an input, this was a bummer when approaching hills at high speed riding off-road
  • No shift sensing or shift detection built into the drive system, this could lead to more mashing, banging and premature wear on the chain, cassette and derailleur
  • Large battery charger with cables that don’t come unplugged so it’s extra long even when the cables are tied up, it also weighs more than some other chargers I’ve seen
  • I found that the battery pack can rattle a bit at times and that you really need to make sure it’s clicked in before riding off, you could turn and remove the key but then push to hear the click of the battery

Resources:

More Haibike Reviews

Haibike XDURO AllMtn 8.0 Review

  • MSRP: $6,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

The highest specced all mountain electric model from Haibike, longer 150 mm travel on front and rear air suspension by Magura and Fox paired with a steeper fork angle and plus sized tires let you handle most terrain. Premium Magura hydraulic disc brakes 203/180 size with adjustable lightweight carbon levers and quad piston…...

Haibike SDURO HardFour 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high performance, purpose built electric mountain bike for kids or petite adults... but mostly kids! Limited top speed of 15 mph for safety, full 9-speed Shimano drivetrain. Capable 160 mm hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable-reach levers for smaller hands, only available in…...

Haibike SDURO HardNine 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the most affordable Haibikes in the line, available in four frame sizes, relatively lightweight, large 29er tires provide float and momentum at speed for cross country riding. Very capable mid-drive system (the same motor and battery as some higher-priced Haibike models), zero…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty, 28 mph, commuter-ready, electric bicycle made in six frame sizes across two styles, a stiffer high-step and easy approach step-thru. Reinforced fenders stay quiet, oversized rack with spring latch and Racktime connector, integrated LED lights…...

Haibike XDURO FullSeven Carbon Ultimate Review

  • MSRP: $16,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high-performance electric mountain bike available in four frame sizes, stiff carbon frame for improved power transfer and handling, carbon accents include seat post, saddle, handlebar, wheelset and more. Eleven speed Shimano Deore XTR drivetrain with Di2 electronic shifting for faster, more precise gear…...

Haibike SDURO AllMtn 6.0 Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A trail worthy, full suspension electric mountain bike with stiff lightweight frame construction, optimized suspension and a tightly integrated mid-drive motor from Yamaha. Upgraded 500 watt hour battery pack delivers 60+ miles on medium assist, powerful hydraulic disc…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautiful and capable all mountain style ebike with premium components from Schwalbe, Shimano, Magura and RockShox, the frame, fork and saddle are paint matched. The drive system is surprisingly powerful, delivering 80 Newton meters of peak torque output, it…...

Haibike XDURO Urban S RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed road bike with electric assist up to 28 mph (45 km/h), available in five frame sizes for improved fit and a vibration dampening seat post and shock stem for improved comfort. Efficient low-resistance tires with deep-dish aero rims and bladed spokes, keep the tire pressure up…...

Haibike SDURO Full FatSix Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only full suspension fat electric bikes I've seen, quality hardware including 20 speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, solid 2 year motor and battery warranty with 5 years on the frame. Powered by the Yamaha mid-drive ebike system with 500 watt motor, Zero Cadence pedal assist,…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN RC Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all mountain trail + downhill mid drive powered electric bike with 150 mm air suspension, rigid thru axles (15 mm front 142 x 12 mm rear). Impressive 20 speed drivetrain with quality Shimano Deore XT groupset, capable Shimano M615 hydraulic disc…...

Haibike XDURO DWNHLL Pro Review

  • MSRP: $8,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only true downhill ready electric bikes being made in series production, delivers a worldcup ready chassis and pro level components. Shimano Saint drivetrain and brakes (top of the line downhill groupset), with two piece Ice-Tech…...

Haibike XDURO FullLife RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Custom geometry with shorter reach to accommodate women (who tend to have shorter arms and torso but longer legs), shorter saddle with wider back, adjustable position brake levers for smaller hands. plush 120 mm front and rear Fox air suspension with 15 mm thru-axle front and…...

Haibike SDURO HardSeven SM Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable Haibike in the 2016 line, features the Yamaha drive system with a basic fixed LED display console, basic saddle, heavier oil suspension fork and cheaper Kenda tires without liners. Solid nine-speed SRAM X-4 drivetrain, no shift sensing or motor inhibitors, large 180 mm hydraulic…...

Haibike SDURO HardLife SL Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable women's specific electric bike from Haibike, leverages the Yamaha mid-drive, features an upgraded LCD screen with USB charging port. Excellent weight distribution, battery and motor are mounted low and center, the top tube is…...

Haibike XDURO Fullseven RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high performance full suspension electric mountain bike with quality components from Shimano, RockShox, and Fox. Responsive, durable and intuitive drive systems powered by Bosch, solid two year comprehensive warranty, five…...

Haibike XDURO AMT RX Review

  • MSRP: $6,350
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A high performance all-mountain electric bike with premium suspension from Fox and hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano. Thru axles on front and rear wheel for improved stiffness and durability, seat post dropper…...

Haibike XDURO Nduro Pro Review

  • MSRP: $9,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Premium downhill capable electric bike with 180 mm travel on front and rear Fox air suspension, available in four frame sizes for improved fit. Excellent weight distribution, Bosch-made Centerdrive motor and battery kept low and center on the frame,…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking Pro Review

  • MSRP: $4,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A long-range capable touring our commuting style electric bike that climbs well, has a balanced weight distribution and offers 27 speeds for a steady cadence at most speeds. Excellent accessories including LED lights, full-length fenders and sturdy rear-rack with spring latch...

Haibike XDURO Nduro RX

  • MSRP: $7,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The entry-level performance downhill electric bike from Haibike with 26" wheels , long travel 180 mm air suspension by Fox with CTD adjust and hydraulic Shimano SLX disc brakes. Excellent frame balance with motor and battery mounted low and center, quick release wheels with…...

Haibike XDURO Urban Review

  • MSRP: $4,450
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An efficient, light weight road style electric bike with a perfectly balanced all-aluminum frame and electric drive system. Convenient quick release wheels, integrated LED lights, quality hydraulic disc brakes and a removable battery…...

Haibike XDURO Fatsix Review

  • MSRP: $5,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The only Bosch powered electric fat bike I've seen with a suspension fork, RockShox air with remote lockout. Burly 15 mm front and 12 mm rear thru axles, extended bottom bracket and spindle…...

Haibike XDURO Race Review

  • MSRP: $6,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An extremely well balanced, light weight, high speed electric road bike - one of the only ebikes with drop bars that I've seen. Efficient centerdrive from Bosch can reach speeds of 28 mph and distance in excess of…...

Haibike XDURO FS RX 27.5″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance, well balanced, full suspension electric mountain bike with motor and battery kept low and center. Available in four frame sizes for good fit, larger 27.5" wheels improve traction, momentum and…...

Haibike XDURO RX 29″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Capable and sturdy eMountain bike with great frame balance, motor and battery (mounted low and center). Available in four frame sizes for good fit, large 29" wheels provide improved traction, momentum…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Ultra efficient centerdrive motor leverages nine speed cassette and three speed SRAM hub for climbing and distance. Top of the line commuting accessories including dynamo powered LED lights, rear rack with pump,…...

Haibike XDURO Superrace Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the lightest weight, most efficient and fastest riding electric road bikes available. Premium components including Magura MT4 hydraulic disc brakes, Integrated LED lights and SRAM X0 drivetrain...

Haibike XDURO AMT Pro Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Top of the line all mountain style electric bike with full suspension and middrive motor. Light weight, high end frame and components keep bike under 50 pounds...


DestructiveTestBiker
2 years ago

Extremely sharp looking bike, but at 250W nominal and 20mph speed limited seems kind of wimpy in performance.

I would love to find a more reliable motor/drive than the BBS02. My first BBS02 burned up, but Matt at Empowered was totally awesome about getting me the warranty replacement. Catch, it came detuned to only 18A, so after I added some cooling features I put it back up to 25A. Problem is after a few more months also it made a weird sound so I took it apart and found a trashed o-ring in a very bizarre design that I replaced with blue locker (Matt told me to use red but I didn’t want to make it permanent, shoulda listened), but now it is noisy again, so I have to take it apart again. In short, Bafang is typical Chinese equipment, powerful but cheaply built, low grade materials, badly designed, with a short life and terrible heat problems.

So, I really like the look of this bike and would be interested in a German or Japanese or American mid drive but they are all so wimpy and speed limited I guess I will just keep rebuilding my cheap Chinese BBS02 instead of buying a great looking bike with great suspension and brakes like the FullNine RX.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

It sounds like you’ve built some interesting (and powerful) ebikes. I agree that 250 sounds wimpy but the peak is 500 and you get 80 Nm of torque which is quite a lot. The top speed however, is a limiter and that’s meant to keep this as a Class 1 to be allowed on more trails. I can’t think of many big companies selling high-speed ebikes because there’s a liability aspect. Kits are a great way to approach the space and I also like the custom built models from companies like Hi-Power Cycles or Stealth.

Reply
MRBARBARYCOAST
7 months ago

I too burned out my BBS02 after only 200 miles. I have since upgraded all of my DIY builds to the BBSHD system with 52 volt batteries and have never had a problem with them. They are worth the extra money compared to the faulty BBSO2 SYSTEMS. You can also hot rod the BBSHD systems safely to 3000watts 72v 20ah with after market kits.

Reply
DestructiveTestBiker
2 years ago

Court, thanks for the comments! I looked at the Hi-Power Cycles and Stealth sites. They definitely have some awesome bikes.

It looks like the mid-drive models at Hi-Power Cycles use the BBS02, which they rate at 750W, 1200W, or 1500W, with increasing speed, range, and watt/hour specs with increasing wattage specs. So I am pretty sure they use battery packs with increasing series cells to get higher voltage on the higher wattage rated bikes. This is all totally legit engineering but that BBS02 is going to get hotter than a pistol if you try to run it flat out continuously at 1500W! But then, who is crazy enough to drive a hotrod floored all the time? :-)

I think you are right about the power being enough on the Haibike for trail riding because it’s surprising how much climbing you can do in low gear on a mid-drive bike. I have to dial my pedal assist down to keep from power flipping off the trail on tight turns and those bikes look pretty much unstoppable on just about any climbout.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

You’re a reasonable person and the points about increasing wattage on the BBS02 systems (with increasingly large and powerful batteries) is right on. I believe some systems, possibly the E-RAD ones, do incorporate heat sensors and have some auto shutoff mechanisms but using common sense is always recommended ;)

I guess I like to rationalize the Bosch, Yamaha and other ebike systems because they are legal but yes… they aren’t as powerful or fast as some DIY systems or the BBS02. My dream electric bike is one that’s just 30 lbs but also has the torque of a Bosch mid-drive with shift sensing and a throttle… The lowered weight is my highest interest because I’m a light weight guy and enjoy the feelign of hopping the bike and keeping it with me vs. riding on it.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

MLB
9 hours ago

It's all about gearing. If a hill is hard to walk up, a bike isn't going up it, at least with stock gearing.
I've ridden in MI with some severely steep hills that neither my Haibike mid drive with very low gearing (hard to pedal over 20 mph) NOR Easy Motion Big Bud Pro fatbike with TWO hub motors, 2WD!!, 1 in each wheel can climb with me peddling as hard as I can. And I am abnormally strong in the legs.
No Ebike is strong enough to get you up ANY hill. That's a motorcycle.
That said, the hills is question were steep enough that you felt nervous coming to a stop when you couldn't peddle any more, that you might fall over getting off the bike. Very steep. And both bikes climbed part of the way before I couldn't render any further assistance. The Easy Motion had (since sold) a 350w in back and a 250w in front, probably nominal so I was probably pushing 700-800w at max. 48V
The mid drive Haibike that climbed every bit as well is 350w, 36v. (geared hubs stronger, lol)
IF you geared a bike to climb such a hill (with a single front ring) you probably couldn't go 15mph on the flats.
ONLY reason SOME geared hubs are stronger is because they are drawing much higher voltage (using a lot more power) as all the non-Bafang mid drives are 250-350w. (or was recently, maybe some are bigger now)
THere are hub motors of 1,000-3,000 watts and more. Once you match the 1,000watts motor size with the Bafang mid drive, it BLOWS AWAY any other drive of the SAME 1,000 (or 750) watt hub motor. You can't match leveraging GEARS.....................

Now for Speed, on the street, hub motors are fabulous. But for climbing? ;)

rich c
20 hours ago

I'm a huge Haibike fan. I own two 2016s, both powered by Bosch. Bought the XDURO Full Seven S RX as a demo with 150 miles on it for $2800, and the XDURO Trekking S RX as an old model year for $2600. Almost 1,600 miles on the Trekking, 1,400+ miles on the Full Seven mountain bike. Bought the mountain bike in Nov 2016, Trekking in Mar 2017.

motostrano
1 day ago

EBIKE DEMO WEEKEND

Feb 24, 25

This Saturday & Sunday, http://www.motostrano.com is hosting two great ebike events, starting with an all day store demo event at our Redwood City location Saturday, followed by a 4 hour ebike demo ride Sunday in Pacifica.

These two back-to-back events are designed to give anyone interested in taking the plunge on an ebike a real-world experience to test, compare and experience a wide variety of ebikes in real-world riding environments, with the guidance and learning offered by factory reps, as well as other riders just like yourself. You are invited!
[LIST=1]
[*]Demo Saturday. The first event is this Saturday the 24th at our Redwood City store. We'll have a demo fleet of Haibike, Raleigh, iZIP, Cube and Moustache ebikes ready to test. The event is sponsored by Haibike, who will be on hand showing the latest models from their 2018 line-up. We'll have 10 to 20 models available including off-road and on-road models. INFO: https://www.facebook.com/events/188799298556548/
[*]Pacifica Ride To The Sky Sunday. Then Sunday, the 25th, meet us in front of Devil's Slide Taproom from 9AM to 2PM to test ride Haibike, iZIP and Raleigh models on the trails of Montara Mountain and the bike paths surrounding Pacifica. Enjoy the area's wonderful riding trails and fantastic views of the Ocean. See how an ebike lets you climb up 2400 feet above sea level! After we're done we will meet for lunch and beer at the Devil's Slide Taproom. This event is sponsored by the Pacifica Chamber of Commerce and Visitor's Center. Event INFO: https://www.facebook.com/events/1979133315659710/

Plus, this weekend series of events is happening while we still have the big 2017 model year clearance going on! Get great deals on 2017 Haibike, iZIP and Raleigh models while supplies last.

http://www.motostrano.com/Haibike-2017-Ebikes-s/8303.htm

Call 650-918-6259

Motostrano
926 Broadway
Redwood City CA 94063

Ravi Kempaiah
1 day ago

From the comments section in that article;

http://ebikeadventure.com%20or%20facebook.com/ebikeadventurehttps://www.ebikingnow.com/blog/mid-drive-vs-hub-drive#comment-431
I build and service all makes of ebikes.
Simply put, you are wrong.

Hub motors are far more reliable, less complex, and can put far more power to the ground than any mid drive. The mid drive total power is limited by the chain and freewheel. These are drive train parts which were never designed to handle the torque of any motor, they were designed for human power (which is about 250 watts if you want to translate that to electric force). You are stressing these components far beyond their design parameters with a mid drive.

There is more room for a larger and more powerful motor within the wheel than there is between the cranks. I don’t know where you are getting your information about lack of power from hub motors, but I can easily build a 60+ MPH bike if anybody is foolhardy enough to ride one. Climbing hills is not a problem. You speak of uneven weight distribution. Most of my customers prefer a very erect riding position to the more aggressive racing or mountain bike stance. When sitting erect the balance is pretty uneven (biased to the rear) on most any frame I know of. If the rider is very concerned with weight distribution there are very reliable, quite powerful geared hub motors available.

On average they weigh about 6 Lbs. the standard bike hub (about 1 Lb.) is replaced by these, so effectively about 5Lbs is added to the front or rear wheel. If you carry your lunch in a front or rear basket you are already altering the weight bias by the same amount.
Hub motors have far fewer moving parts, if fact a direct drive hub motor only has the stator rotating within it, and no other gears, clutches, freewheels, Etc. These motors will go thousands upon thousands of miles trouble free.

Electric motors have full torque at zero rpm, so I don’t understand your claim of more power obtained by a gear reduction. If the motor is of appropriate size, there is no hill or terrain which will challenge the motor.

Another thing to note is that the Bosch mid drive is not serviceable in the USA. All units are required to be returned to the factory in Germany for service. That should run up a pretty hefty shipping bill (more than the cost of a hub motor) and require a pretty fair amount of time when the unit needs to be repaired. I’m not aware of other manufacturers repair or parts policies.
I believe it’s a no brainer, the hub motor makes far more sense.
You write this article as an expert, but clearly you do not have the experience and information to write an in depth article about this subject.

https://www.ebikingnow.com/blog/mid-drive-vs-hub-drive?replytocom=431#respond

[*]

Erichttps://www.ebikingnow.com/blog/mid-drive-vs-hub-drive#comment-436
Heya Shepherd,
Welcome to the site and thanks for your input. It’s great to see that I’ve created a discussion which allows us to clear things up with experiences that different people have had.
Firstly, with your point that hub drives are more reliable and less complex, I completely agree. I did state that in the article, not sure if I was clear on that or not (my apologies).
I can see where you’re coming from with the rest of your points such more power to get up a hill and the added drivetrain stress. This article was written as a general comparison between the two types of motors, towards the more general consumers interested in eBikes, and whom would most likely want something not so ludicrous.
So when comparing a general hub motor and a general mid drive motor, a mid drive motor would outperform a hub drive on hill climbs without a doubt. Do you agree with me there?
[*]
I won’t deny the fact you can get a hub drive motor that can get you up a hill, but to match the hill climbing performance of a mid drive, you’d need a higher output motor yes? It makes sense, otherwise high end electric bike companies (no matter if it’s commuter or eMTB) wouldn’t use a mid drive system. If you look at Haibike, Kalkhoff, Riese and Muller etc., they all use mid drive motors.
Like you said, there is added stresses to the drivetrain which I also mentioned in the article. However typically speaking when a cassette, crankset etc., are designed, they are designed with engineering safety factors such that they can withstand forces greater than typical usage. But even with that, I agree there still is a lot of stress on the gears and I have seen quicker damage to it. To combat this, bike manufacturers and riders could use the SRAM EX1 drivetrain. These are designed for eBikes and are more robust.
Your point on the weight distribution is fair for rear hub drives that are compact. Anything large or if equipped on the front hub, the balance of the bike would change significantly.
Yes electric motors exhibit maximum torque at stall RPM like I mentioned in the article, however I wasn’t clear with the power statement. With mid drives, you can actually change your torque value. With hub drives the maximum torque you’re receiving and going to output to the ground is fixed to whatever the motor is capable of. Since a mid drive uses the gears on the cassette, a change in the ratio of the cassette or chainring can increase torque and power. Using a 11-42t cassette will obviously output more torque to the ground than a 11-36t cassette. Same deal with the chainrings. As for power to the ground, if you get a 250W hub motor and a 250W mid drive motor on the exact same bike and ran a dyno test, the 250W mid drive motor will have a greater power band.
As for servicing Bosch motors in Australia (we’re Australian based), I think we have a service centre locally. Regardless there is still shipping and more costs, which I also did mention in the article.
Simply put, the mid motors are generally a better performer, whereas hub drives are more reliable and cheaper. It depends on what the rider is looking for, and I was going to answer this article with that answer, but like I said it was a little too cliché.
I never mentioned I was an expert, however with an engineering background, it does help me understand the mechanics better which I attempt to explain to the general audience.
Cheers,
– Eric

J.R.
2 days ago

Just wanting to own stuff is changing with the younger generation. Many that don't need a car, don't want a car and therefore won't buy a car. That's probably smart! I know I wanted a car long before I needed a car.

As for ebikes, you're leaving a few segments of buyers out of the equation. The wannabe rider that wants an ebike for more than just transportation. The buyer that will use the bike for transportation, but also wants to stay or get in shape. That's more difficult when you get a different bike everytime out. And the recrational rider that wants to throw the bike on/in the car, get out of the city for the weekend and ride 'the famous rail trail' everyone's talking about. Then there's the city dweller that wants to get out and mountain bike. That can include the growing number of ebike competition mtb events.

I don't live in a city, so I'm not in their target market, but I've used my ebikes for 3-1/2 years for transport, recreation and fitness. They are just so much fun and useful.

I hope ebikeshares will become commonplace in most cities, I'd likely visit for pleasure more often. I think it will be awhile before they're commonplace though. For the 4 years this forum has existed, many of us thought ebikes were ready to really take off in North America. They are, sort of. It's a slow growth though and the market here is tiny. It's going to take investment by the brands for mainstream advertising and education. Local and state governments will need to get on board with public information campaigns. European style schemes to promote ebikes and possibly offer tax credits for using ebikes, instead of a car. If one buys an electric car, they get a huge tax write-off and they never pay highway gasoline tax, the money that pays for our roadway infrastructure.

I fear a lot will have to change before ebikes take off like they have in Europe. Europe developed a bicycle culture, seriously since WWII. A lot due to necessity, a great deal of Europe was destroyed and few had money for cars, that's if you could get one. If you needed to get from A to B, you rode a bike. North America, and in particular the US, there was plenty of money and plenty of jobs to go around. Riding a bike was what poor people and children did. At best it was a toy! We didn't build any cycling infrastructure. Most people still don't consider a bicycle a serious transportation alternative. And far fewer children dream of a bike under the Christmas Tree. They want an iPhone, iPad or PlayStation. The market to sell any bike is small in N.A., smaller for ebikes, smaller for ebikeshares.

I'm hopeful, but pragmatic at this point. The nearest "city" to me, a city of 65,000 residents installed a regular bikeshare last summer, but they only have it available during warmer months. Even the bikeshare company is treating it as a novelty for tourists.

:confused:

In the meantime I'm all in! The more the merrier, the more the cheaper! I do my best to inform anyone that'll listen. Last fall I was riding with a buddy and his Haibike, I on my BH and there was a guy in town that was very interested in our bikes. After giving him the full tour, he left us saying: "so it's a fancy moped?". Oh well.

JayVee
2 days ago

The Haibike chains are very well designed on the Trekking Sduro series. I have 8000 kilometers on mine and expect it to last 20,000 or more. It was slightly overtensioned at the beginning, and settled in after 1000 kilometers. The trick is to clean it regularly so dirt and grime don’t stretch the chain. I’m pretty sure the whole drivechain will be good up to 20,000 as well.

Ravi Kempaiah
3 days ago

Certain chemistries are more prone to temperature than others. For example, NMC is different from NCA, and both are very different from LiFePO4.

For some reason, the sleeves on my Haibike (Bosch) does help quite a bit!

JayVee
4 days ago

I almost bought the Allegro Speedbike 2016 model in Switzerland when it was discounted 50% a year ago. But there was also a good deal on the Haibike Sduro S 6.0 Speed Pedelec, so I bought that bike instead. I'm very happy with its hill climbing ability.

That Allegro Speedbike has a 500W planetary geared Bafang drive (if my memory serves me), meaning that it should climb hills fairly well. If you don't mind my asking, how steep is the hill? Are we talking 10%, 15% or 20% grade?

I'll repost one of my video climbs in Switzerland below with the Yamaha drive. It will give you an idea of how steep a hill you might be able to climb. The video shows the grade of the hill. Keep in mind that I'm over 50 and not particularly fit. Also to be noted: it's a mid-drive. The climb is in Lutry/Lavaux.

P.S. Since you're in Switzerland and bought an e-bike, check if you can apply for an eco-subsidy. Many Swiss towns will subsidise you 300 francs for the purchase of an e-bike. You can sometimes get the subsidy retroactively if the purchase is still fairly recent.

tallpaul
4 days ago

So I've had my 2016 Full7 Bosch powered Haibike for about a year and 1400 miles of total enjoyment!
Only issue is what seems like chain noise. It used to be so quiet, the only noise being the rubber hitting the road. But over the last several hundred miles it has developed a noise that only occurs while I am pedaling. Brought it over to my Haibike dealer (around the corner from where I live!) and they changed out the chain and put a new bearing in the small sprocket equalizing system which helped but not entirely, and now, a hundred miles or so later the noise is back. A friend mentioned that she has the same noise from her Full7.
I keep the chain and sprockets clean and well lubricated. I ride 99% of the time on bike paths but very little off road.
Any ideas? Could my cluster need replacing? Could it be coming from the motor? Any help very welcomed!

Erinreid
4 days ago

Wattage is showing the most efficient point of a motor. So if two motors are identical in terms of gearing and structure then a higher wattage motor will create higher torque. So there is correlation but correlation factor isn't 1. For two different motors it is not possible to compare power just based on wattage .

Alphbetadog
5 days ago

I have a Bulls FS Enduro with the Brose motor for a little over a year and have never broke the chain and am just about to replace it as it is just out of spec. I ride this bike A LOT on rugged mountainous trails. Also have a Haibike for over 2 years and have only broke a non-ebike chain.

I always carry pins & a link, along with patches, replacement tube, inflator, etc, and have never had to use them for myself but have bailed out many others on the trail that where unprepared. It's been sort of like a reverse "Murphy's Law".

Alphbetadog
5 days ago

I have a Bulls FS Enduro with the Brose motor for a little over a year and have never broke the chain and am just about to replace it as it is just out of spec. I ride this bike A LOT on rugged mountainous trails. Also have a Haibike for over 2 years and have only broke a non-ebike chain.

I always carry pins & a link, along with patches, replacement tube, inflator, etc, and have never had to use them for myself but have bailed out many others on the trail that where unprepared. It's been sort of like a reverse "Murphy's Law".

Ann M.
2 years ago

80Nm power from the Yamaha mid drive motor is phenomenal with super quick engagement the moment you turn the cranks. The RX package has very high quality components, so this eMTB would be a great bike anyway, just comes with the plus of the electric drive system. I like the balance of the weight of the motor and battery in the middle and low for a more natural feel riding.

https://electricbikereview.com/haibike/sduro-fullnine-rx/ The Haibike SDURO FullNine RX is a full suspension 29er with mid-drive motor, slim battery and removable display by Yamaha, offers 80 Nm of torque and zero-cadence pedal assist response. The RX trim level is top of the line with light weight hardware from Shimano, Fox and RockShox, it offers a 20 speed drivetrain for comfortable cadence at a higher range of speeds. The larger wheels carry momentum, span cracks and elevate the frame for excellent cross country riding but suspension travel is limited to 100 mm, the angled top tube lowers stand-over height. The motor is smooth and quiet but slower to cut out, the RPM output is a bit limited with becomes noticeable at lower speeds, no shift sensing but torque is measured so ease off to shift.

LuisManuelHdez
5 months ago

Like it but being an avid mtb'er .. 50 lbs is way to heavy! Throwing this tank around might be hard😁 U gain that momentum uphill but coming down.. no fun.

MTB Dream'in
7 months ago

Awesome bike!

Eddie
8 months ago

great video and great to get the owners perspective.

xyz
11 months ago

is the Yamaha quieter in comparison to Bosch CX?

ufhero
9 months ago

xyz the Yamaha is Said to be more quiet, yes. I got the Bosch cx and for me, it's not too loud. But the Yamaha should be more quiet.

Mike Malloy
11 months ago

Thanks so much for the review. It helps a lot as I shop for the right bike for me. BTW, your shoes match the bike exactly. ;)

Stefan Balint
2 years ago

let's wait and see how far our bicycles can go, most good very good parks got own trasport to top and this is only issue I can see with MTB, anyway so far and and still far from pro bicycles to downhill it em, will we ever get there to be real instead of getting stuck with cheap and new one and of course electric, like it was not enough hm! I see big things come in small packages and cheap...well done lets keep it one peace!!!

Carlover
2 years ago

that's a nice bike

R H K
2 years ago

How much do these bikes cost?

G Henrickson
6 months ago

google

racer98
2 years ago

Price................i'm scared to ask.

G Henrickson
6 months ago

google

chicovonchico
2 years ago

Great review

Robert Christie
2 years ago

HI, can you mention the shop? Location? and Salesmen?

Santeri Miettinen
2 years ago

Got my sduro last summer rode it for a week and had a crash in which the rear rim bent :( waited for 9 months to get a new rim 😡

G Henrickson
6 months ago

Well shucks...you were your own worst enemy on this repair...

Santeri Miettinen
2 years ago

+Speed Play I wanted one with the original stickers/labels on the rims. Also waited for og seat and grips which also got damaged in the crash.

chicovonchico
2 years ago

Why?Can’t just get one from the LBS?

Hieu Nguyen
2 years ago

I enjoy your review videos and find them to be extremely informative. However,20-30min long may be a reason why some of your videos do not receive as many views. If there is a way to standardize your reviews without making it monotonous while achieving precision, inclusiveness of vital information, and conciseness, I believe you can shorten the length of your videos. This might be something you want to explore. You aslo speak quite fast and putting out a lot of information while doing so. Although I have been interested in ebikes for many years now, there is still much for me to learn. I do feel information overload when watching your full review videos and it leaves me with a headache and tiredness. This seems to a reoccurring experience. I don't know, maybe it's just me but I hope my perspective gives you some insight into mastering your craft and keep you motivated in doing these reviews. Thank you and keep up the good work! :-)

MotorheadRedo
2 years ago

This bike is nice! Full suspension, 20 gears, removable display, large frame.....I would like to have this for commuting.

joes joey
2 years ago

hey electricbikereview!! love your videos! any idea where to get some air chamber for wheel for ohm 750 plus 15?my friends cant seem to find any no where not even the ohm headquarters no one answers !! help please!!

joes joey
2 years ago

really nice bike!

shrimpster97
2 years ago

Looks great

Casey Neistat
2 years ago

The GeoOrbital wheel fitted to any bike in minutes with a long range sounds interesting.

Bill Sprague
2 years ago

Your video quality is great. What camera and stabilizer are you using? Thanks.

Bill Sprague
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com

Thank you for the reply. In one of your videos I saw a shadow allowing me to guess it was a small camera on something like a Beholder gimbal. I should have guesses it was a GoPro. You results are very good.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Bill Sprague Hi Bill, I'm using a GoPro Silver with a motorized gimbal, I also use some frame mounted GoPro cameras to get up close shots :D

Casey Neistat
2 years ago

We need more reviews please.

Casey Neistat
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com
Great work.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Go Vegan More on the way, just drove two days nonstop to another destination. Have ~16 videos to post in the coming weeks :)