Haibike XDURO Trekking Pro Review

Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Electric Bike Review 1
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro 2 To 2 Bosch Sprocket
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Powerpack 400 Battery Abus Core
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Bosch Intuvia Lcd Display
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Bosch Gen 2 Motor
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Front Fender Quick Release Wheel
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Lithium Ion Battery Pack
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Rear Rack Spring Latch
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Remote Suspension Lockout
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Saddle Rear Rack
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Sram Dual Drive Cassette Derailleur
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Sram Shifters Bell
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro High Step
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Step Thru
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Electric Bike Review 1
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro 2 To 2 Bosch Sprocket
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Powerpack 400 Battery Abus Core
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Bosch Intuvia Lcd Display
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Bosch Gen 2 Motor
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Front Fender Quick Release Wheel
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Lithium Ion Battery Pack
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Rear Rack Spring Latch
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Remote Suspension Lockout
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Saddle Rear Rack
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Sram Dual Drive Cassette Derailleur
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Sram Shifters Bell
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro High Step
Haibike Xduro Trekking Pro Step Thru

Summary

  • A long-range capable touring our commuting style electric bike that climbs well, has a balanced weight distribution and offers 27 speeds for a steady cadence at most speeds
  • Excellent accessories including LED lights, full-length fenders and sturdy rear-rack with spring latch
  • Available in two frame styles and seven sizes, great 2 year warranty, only the front wheel offers quick release

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Haibike

Model:

XDURO Trekking Pro

Price:

$4,650 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Touring, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

5 Year Frame, 2 Year Motor and Battery

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2015

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53 lbs (24.04 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.5 lbs (2.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy, Hydroformed Tubes, Gravity Casting Interface

Frame Sizes:

17.3 in (43.94 cm)18.9 in (48 cm)20.5 in (52.07 cm)22 in (55.88 cm)23.6 in (59.94 cm)Diamond (48cm, 52cm, 56cm, 60cm) Step-Thru (44cm, 48cm, 52cm)

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Dark Gray with Lime Accents

Frame Fork Details:

RockShox Paragon TK Suspension with 65 mm Travel, Poploc, Solo Air

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

27 Speed 1x27 SRAM PG 950, 9 Speed Cassette and SRAM Dual Drive 3 Speed Internally Geared Hub, 11-34T

Shifter Details:

SRAM Triggers on Left and Right Bars

Cranks:

XDURO Aluminum Alloy

Pedals:

XLC CNC Platform

Headset:

FSA No. 57, Semi-Integrated, Tapered

Stem:

XDURO Aluminum Alloy, A-Head

Handlebar:

XDURO Lowriser Aluminum Alloy

Brake Details:

Shimano M615 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Shimano M615 Hydraulic Levers

Grips:

XLC Sport with Locking Rings

Saddle:

Selle San Marco Milano

Seat Post:

XDURO Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Rodi T 622 Rims, XLC EVO Disc Front Hub

Spokes:

Sapim Leader

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Energizer Tour, 700 x 40c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Haibike Headlight LED 60 LUX, Trelock LED Taillight, Rear Carry Rack with Standard Sized Tubing, SKS Fenders with Rear Mud Flap, Single Side Pletscher Comp Kickstand, Aluminum Alloy Chain Guide, Bell on Right Bar, Neoprene Slap Guard

Other:

Quick Release Wheels (Front and Rear), Locking Removable Battery Pack with LED Charge Level Indicator, KMC X9 Chain

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Gen2 with Shift Detection

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Estimated Max Range:

65 miles (105 km)

Display Type:

Removable Backlit Grayscale LCD

Readouts:

Speed, 4 Assist Levels, Battery Voltage, Odometer, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback, Stem Mounted

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Combined Torque, Cadence and Speed), (Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The XDURO Trekking line from Haibike offers a sporty but comfortable platform to commute or tour with. Both the Pro and RX models for 2015 come stock with full length fenders, a solid rear rack and integrated LED lights but the Pro offers nicer suspension, an upgraded chain, pedals and brakes. It also foregoes the dynamo hub in favor of powering lights directly off the main battery. With seven frame sizes to choose from (four mid-step “diamond” and three low-step) most people will be able to dial in their fit and that’s a big deal for a bike that might be traveling 50+ miles per ride. These are some of my favorite “all purpose” electric bikes at the higher end of the market and I’ve become a fan of the very responsive drive system and balanced weight distribution offered by the Bosch Gen 2 motor and Powerpack 400. My only real complaints here are the lack of quick release for the rear wheel (seems handy for those road-side flats), lack of bottle cage mounting points (seems like there could have been room on the diamond frame) and the decision to drop the dynamo hub on the Pro model (possibly for weight savings?). I love the idea of having lights no matter the charge state of your battery. If I could change anything about this electric bike I think I’d consider making it a speed pedelec, capable of higher ~28 mph top speeds to reduce travel time for those who truly go the distance.

The centerdrive system on the Haibike XDURO Trekking Pro consists of a 350 watt geared centerdrive motor developed by Bosch. This is one of the best motors around in my opinion and is quite capable of climbing even the steepest terrain while still achieving impressive range. It can only be activated through pedaling but is super smart, measuring your rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque at ~1,000 times per second! Instead of turning one of the bicycle wheels directly, as a hub motor would, the Bosch Centerdrive spins a small sprocket that pulls the chain and leverages gears in the rear cassette for improved climbing ability or top speed. This system works especially well for ebikes with a large number of gears which is the case here. The Trekking Pro offers 27 speeds total with nine external cogs using a derailleur and three internal gears using the SRAM Dual Drive system. Most of the Bosch powered electric bikes I’ve tried only offer 9 to 11 speeds but with more increments to choose from here, rider pedal cadence can fit the terrain more comfortably.

Note that the smaller front sprocket on the Bosch system does not require the rider to pedal faster, it’s actually geared to rotate ~2 times for every pedal stroke. It doesn’t introduce significant drag to the system and can be used even in non electric mode, pedaling as you would with a traditional unpowered bicycle. The only drawback to this system (and most electric bikes) is increased frame weight, comprised mostly of the motor and battery but also reinforced frame elements to deal with higher speeds and power output. One possible downside to mid-drive motors like this is that they can increase the strain and wear on your chain and cassette but the Bosch system minimizes this because it has shift detection built in. It automatically lets up when it senses that you’re shifting gears (as shown in the video) and this reduces mashing. I’ve tested other Haibikes more thoroughly than the Trekking Pro and even had the chance to take them on trails in Colorado. What I found was that I used the motor to climb but shut it off on the way down and even on some flat sections. For some trips, I left the motor on constantly but rode in the lowest “Eco” mode and the range and performance was very impressive with 60+ miles per charge. Given the low rolling resistance of the hybrid tires on the Trekking, you should expect this kind of range or higher if you’re at or below 170 pounds and are riding on smooth hard terrain without many hills.

Powering the motor and headlights here is a Bosch Powerpack 400 battery (that actually delivers 396 watt hours of juice). It’s a beautiful looking pack that’s easy to charge on or off the bike and the locking core (made by ABUS) is sturdy with each key being securely unique (it’s a routed in-cut key like many cars now use). The battery pack itself has a set of five LEDs built in so you can quickly determine the charge level, whether it’s on or off the ebike. I recommend charging the pack after at least one bar has been used or before storing for long periods of time. It’s wise to top it off ever three months if you haven’t used it and the best way to store is in a cool dry place (avoid extreme heat and cold). The batteries inside the Powerpack are 18650 size and contain a Lithium Manganese chemistry that’s valued for being light weight and durable. These are the same cells used in electric cars like the Tesla Roadster or Model S and of similar high quality. The one complaint I do have with regard to the battery is that it’s not completely integrated into the downtube like the Specialized Turbo or Stromer ST2… This puts weight higher up, doesn’t look as clean and takes up valuable space on the downtube that might otherwise be used for a bottle cage mounting point. With the XDURO Trekking Pro there are no bosses for mounting a water bottle cage and that means you’ll probably want a CamelBak or similar hydration system. One upside here however is that the battery pack is less expensive to replace, being interchangeable with any other Bosch Gen 2 powered ebike. It should last for 1,000+ charge cycles if cared for and even comes with a two year warranty which is one of the longest I’m aware of in the ebike space. If you do need a replacement (or decide to get a second pack) Currie Technologies offers them for ~$600. In the US, Haibike is supported through Currie and Bosch is supported through Magura.

The Intuvia control interface on the Haibike XDURO Trekking Pro electric bike is the same as all other Bosch systems for this generation. It shows speed, distance traveled, battery capacity remaining, timer and range estimation for each of four assist levels. It’s really neat to see (on the fly) just how far the range estimator thinks you can go because it empowers you to plan accordingly and pop the battery off for a quick charge if needed. You can usually get the pack to ~80% capacity in just an hour and a half. In addition to the removable backlit LCD screen (which has four buttons surrounding it including power, reset, information and lights) there is also an independent button pad that lets you go up or down in assist modes. I like the tactile clicking feedback it produces as you navigate because once you get used to it, you really don’t have to take your eyes off the road to navigate and control the bike. The display can be swiveled forward and back to reduce glare and is completely removable for parking in public spaces or simply reducing wear and weight. It even has a micro USB port on the right side which could be useful for powering some small portable electronic devices. If you’re someone who does a lot of night riding, this display offers back lighting and the on/off switch for this also activates the integrated LED lights. I especially like the headlight because it turns with the handle bars as you steer.

While the remote air fork lockout is neat and I can appreciate the upgraded components on the Pro, the drivetrain is basically the same (motor, battery and even gears) as the RX version which is $200 less. I noticed that the RX also comes with a cafe lock to immobilize the rear wheel during quick stops and errands which the Pro does not (the demo model had it but it does not appear in stock imagery of the Pro). Both models lack the rear quick release and this may be due to the SRAM Dual Drive but frankly, I wish they had it because ebikes tend to get more flats if they are used over long distances and carrying wrenches adds weight and hassle. This is a beautiful, unique electric bike that really excels in performance and I’m digging deep to identify ways that it could be further improved. Compared to some other electric bikes that were built for commuting or touring it feels comfortable and balanced but you could further smooth out the ride with a Thudbuster or Suntour NXC suspension seat post. I like the bell they added, the cockpit is clean and the kickstand is very stable. I feel like they could have gone with just one frame style here because there isn’t much difference between the high and low step (why not just go with low step and reduce unit costs, perhaps it is less rigid?) but I love that they offer choice and wide range of frame sizes is excellent. This is a solid ebike from a reputable German company with premium parts and it really shows when you dig into the details and take it for a test ride.

Pros:

  • Available in two frame styles (mid-step and low-step) and seven frame sizes Diamond (48cm, 52cm, 56cm, 60cm) Step-Thru (44cm, 48cm, 52cm) for a comfortable fit and easy mounting/standover
  • Efficient operation given the 700c wheel diameter and hybrid/slick tires while maintaining a comfortable ride with the RockShox Paragon suspension fork
  • Many high-quality accessories that are very handy for commuting or trekking/touring regardless of terrain or weather (fenders, rack, lights, kickstand)
  • Excellent gear range (27 speeds) even though there is only one sprocket at the bottom bracket, the SRAM Dual Drive is a unique solution for providing a wide range of pedaling speeds
  • Excellent range thanks to the efficient centerdrive motor that leverages the rear cassette and high performance Lithium-ion 396 watt hour battery
  • Great torque output, this bike can climb very well in Turbo mode when you’re pedaling with a lower gear
  • Battery pack locks to frame for security using a quality ABUS core, it can be charged on or off the frame for convenience or to reduce weight if you’d like to ride this as a normal bicycle
  • Stiff cranks, peformance wheelset, decent aluminum alloy platform pedals, rigid frame for good power transfer when riding, tapered head tube for strength
  • Great customer support and warranty from Currie Technologies in the US (part of Accell Group which owns Haibike)
  • Shift detection helps reduce wear on the chain and sprockets, the bike experiences less mashing and is more intuitive to ride as a result
  • Sturdy rear rack that mounts at two places near the rear dropouts and at two points on the seat stays, it uses standard gauge tubing for maximum compatibility with quick-release panniers and includes a spring latch for securing minor items
  • Smooth, powerful braking with hydraulic levers and 180/160 mm rotors, they are easy to actuate with just a finger or two which can reduce strain when riding over long distances and they are powerful enough to stop a heavier load if you’re hauling gear

Cons:

  • Only offers quick release for the front wheel, considering this is a mid-drive ebike it seems like the rear wheel should also have it (you could replace this after-market with a quick release skewer)
  • It would be great to see a dynamo hub on the front wheel to power the lights in the event that the battery has been completely drained
  • For the high-step “diamond” frame it seems like there’s room to add a bottle cage and I’d love to have this option for commuting and touring when water storage and access is important, consider after market accessories like saddle rail bottle mounts, grab a CamelBak or add panniers and a bag that can hold bottles
  • No throttle mode, this bike only offers pedal assist (like all Bosch powered systems) but will get a better range than if it did, top speed is limited to 20 mph and it would be neat to see a speed-pedelec version of this bike offered with up to 28 mph top speeds for covering long distances (especially given that this is the Pro version of the Trekking model)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Haibike Reviews

Haibike XDURO AllMtn 8.0 Review

  • MSRP: $6,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

The highest specced all mountain electric model from Haibike, longer 150 mm travel on front and rear air suspension by Magura and Fox paired with a steeper fork angle and plus sized tires let you handle most terrain. Premium Magura hydraulic disc brakes 203/180 size with adjustable lightweight carbon levers and quad piston…...

Haibike SDURO HardFour 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high performance, purpose built electric mountain bike for kids or petite adults... but mostly kids! Limited top speed of 15 mph for safety, full 9-speed Shimano drivetrain. Capable 160 mm hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable-reach levers for smaller hands, only available in…...

Haibike SDURO HardNine 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the most affordable Haibikes in the line, available in four frame sizes, relatively lightweight, large 29er tires provide float and momentum at speed for cross country riding. Very capable mid-drive system (the same motor and battery as some higher-priced Haibike models), zero…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty, 28 mph, commuter-ready, electric bicycle made in six frame sizes across two styles, a stiffer high-step and easy approach step-thru. Reinforced fenders stay quiet, oversized rack with spring latch and Racktime connector, integrated LED lights…...

Haibike XDURO FullSeven Carbon Ultimate Review

  • MSRP: $16,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high-performance electric mountain bike available in four frame sizes, stiff carbon frame for improved power transfer and handling, carbon accents include seat post, saddle, handlebar, wheelset and more. Eleven speed Shimano Deore XTR drivetrain with Di2 electronic shifting for faster, more precise gear…...

Haibike SDURO AllMtn 6.0 Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A trail worthy, full suspension electric mountain bike with stiff lightweight frame construction, optimized suspension and a tightly integrated mid-drive motor from Yamaha. Upgraded 500 watt hour battery pack delivers 60+ miles on medium assist, powerful hydraulic disc…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautiful and capable all mountain style ebike with premium components from Schwalbe, Shimano, Magura and RockShox, the frame, fork and saddle are paint matched. The drive system is surprisingly powerful, delivering 80 Newton meters of peak torque output, it…...

Haibike XDURO Urban S RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed road bike with electric assist up to 28 mph (45 km/h), available in five frame sizes for improved fit and a vibration dampening seat post and shock stem for improved comfort. Efficient low-resistance tires with deep-dish aero rims and bladed spokes, keep the tire pressure up…...

Haibike SDURO Full FatSix Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only full suspension fat electric bikes I've seen, quality hardware including 20 speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, solid 2 year motor and battery warranty with 5 years on the frame. Powered by the Yamaha mid-drive ebike system with 500 watt motor, Zero Cadence pedal assist,…...

Haibike SDURO FullNine RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension 29er with mid-drive motor, slim battery and removable display by Yamaha, offers 80 Nm of torque and zero-cadence pedal assist response. The RX trim level is top of the line with light weight hardware from Shimano,…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN RC Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all mountain trail + downhill mid drive powered electric bike with 150 mm air suspension, rigid thru axles (15 mm front 142 x 12 mm rear). Impressive 20 speed drivetrain with quality Shimano Deore XT groupset, capable Shimano M615 hydraulic disc…...

Haibike XDURO DWNHLL Pro Review

  • MSRP: $8,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only true downhill ready electric bikes being made in series production, delivers a worldcup ready chassis and pro level components. Shimano Saint drivetrain and brakes (top of the line downhill groupset), with two piece Ice-Tech…...

Haibike XDURO FullLife RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Custom geometry with shorter reach to accommodate women (who tend to have shorter arms and torso but longer legs), shorter saddle with wider back, adjustable position brake levers for smaller hands. plush 120 mm front and rear Fox air suspension with 15 mm thru-axle front and…...

Haibike SDURO HardSeven SM Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable Haibike in the 2016 line, features the Yamaha drive system with a basic fixed LED display console, basic saddle, heavier oil suspension fork and cheaper Kenda tires without liners. Solid nine-speed SRAM X-4 drivetrain, no shift sensing or motor inhibitors, large 180 mm hydraulic…...

Haibike SDURO HardLife SL Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable women's specific electric bike from Haibike, leverages the Yamaha mid-drive, features an upgraded LCD screen with USB charging port. Excellent weight distribution, battery and motor are mounted low and center, the top tube is…...

Haibike XDURO Fullseven RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high performance full suspension electric mountain bike with quality components from Shimano, RockShox, and Fox. Responsive, durable and intuitive drive systems powered by Bosch, solid two year comprehensive warranty, five…...

Haibike XDURO AMT RX Review

  • MSRP: $6,350
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A high performance all-mountain electric bike with premium suspension from Fox and hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano. Thru axles on front and rear wheel for improved stiffness and durability, seat post dropper…...

Haibike XDURO Nduro Pro Review

  • MSRP: $9,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Premium downhill capable electric bike with 180 mm travel on front and rear Fox air suspension, available in four frame sizes for improved fit. Excellent weight distribution, Bosch-made Centerdrive motor and battery kept low and center on the frame,…...

Haibike XDURO Nduro RX

  • MSRP: $7,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The entry-level performance downhill electric bike from Haibike with 26" wheels , long travel 180 mm air suspension by Fox with CTD adjust and hydraulic Shimano SLX disc brakes. Excellent frame balance with motor and battery mounted low and center, quick release wheels with…...

Haibike XDURO Urban Review

  • MSRP: $4,450
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An efficient, light weight road style electric bike with a perfectly balanced all-aluminum frame and electric drive system. Convenient quick release wheels, integrated LED lights, quality hydraulic disc brakes and a removable battery…...

Haibike XDURO Fatsix Review

  • MSRP: $5,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The only Bosch powered electric fat bike I've seen with a suspension fork, RockShox air with remote lockout. Burly 15 mm front and 12 mm rear thru axles, extended bottom bracket and spindle…...

Haibike XDURO Race Review

  • MSRP: $6,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An extremely well balanced, light weight, high speed electric road bike - one of the only ebikes with drop bars that I've seen. Efficient centerdrive from Bosch can reach speeds of 28 mph and distance in excess of…...

Haibike XDURO FS RX 27.5″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance, well balanced, full suspension electric mountain bike with motor and battery kept low and center. Available in four frame sizes for good fit, larger 27.5" wheels improve traction, momentum and…...

Haibike XDURO RX 29″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Capable and sturdy eMountain bike with great frame balance, motor and battery (mounted low and center). Available in four frame sizes for good fit, large 29" wheels provide improved traction, momentum…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Ultra efficient centerdrive motor leverages nine speed cassette and three speed SRAM hub for climbing and distance. Top of the line commuting accessories including dynamo powered LED lights, rear rack with pump,…...

Haibike XDURO Superrace Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the lightest weight, most efficient and fastest riding electric road bikes available. Premium components including Magura MT4 hydraulic disc brakes, Integrated LED lights and SRAM X0 drivetrain...

Haibike XDURO AMT Pro Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Top of the line all mountain style electric bike with full suspension and middrive motor. Light weight, high end frame and components keep bike under 50 pounds...


Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Johnny
3 days ago

Awesome - thanks for the incredible write up. You've convinced me to steer clear of the yamaha drives for the time being. Which of course means that I would need to step up to a Xduro treekking for significant more money.

Local dealer just called and offered a 2017 Haibiki Xduro Trekking S (bosch speed powered) for $3200. Hmm ... I think I might be able to do a tad better if I wait a bit longer ..

Still very much worried about buying the IZIP via remote dealer, having an issue and then being stranded without local dealer support. Even though the price is very attractive. It seems like even if I don't buy the IZIP from the local dealer, they may still be able to / obligated to help with IZIP warranty work? The Xduro 5.0 sure is tempting, but it a bit overkill for my current needs.

Anybody knows where the op got this deal ? I think $3200 is a good deal for 2017 Xduro Trekking S (especially if it is otd).

I am leaning towards 2017 Xduro fullseven though and if there is a similar offer I really would love to get one(I actually would get trekking S if it is possible to take it to the trails too).

Mark Peralta
4 days ago

I used the Nuvinci + Bosch Performance combo for a month (replacement bike) and have also used the Bosch Performance drive with a cassette when I swapped e-bikes for a weekend with a colleague. Both e-bikes were 28mph iterations. The N380 bike was a Swiss made Flyer, whereas the 'cassette bike' was a Haibike Trekking Xduro S 5.0.

To answer your question, the cassette has a wider range of gears. I'll spare you the ratio math and simply narrate my experience. With the Nuvinci N380 I had trouble climbing hills above 12% grade and I even managed to stall a couple of times around 15% grade. With the cassette driven Haibike, I climbed an average 18% grade hill containing a short but steeper 22% grade section. It was tough but still doable. I weigh 220 pounds and am moderately fit.

I could not tell you exactly at what percentage grade you will start having trouble with the N380 because that depends on your fitness level and weight. But if you frequently need to climb hills above 12%, I would recommend staying with the cassette. Otherwise the N380 iteration will be more a lot more fun to ride.

A tip if you get the N380: you can easily shift to a lower gear ratio under load going uphill. But it's sometimes more difficult to twist 'to a higher gear' when gaining speed. The trick is to back off pedalling for a second whilst you shift. It makes the experience a lot easier on the hands if you tend to get blisters. This was the main issue I encountered.
If the chain ring is 3 speed just like what Yamaha uses on their ebikes, then using a nuvinci would be adequate even on steeper hills. Unfortunately, Bosch only uses single chain ring and the trend for nuvinci is to use belt drive, eliminating the feasibility of multiple speed chain ring.

JayVee
4 days ago

All other things being equal, which would be the better hill climber and to what degree is the difference? I'm referring to the Super Commuter 8 which has a rear cassette assembly, vs the Super Commuter 9 which has the Nuvinci internal gears. I guess I'm asking which has the lowest gear, or are they equal?
Thanks,
Rich

I used the Nuvinci + Bosch Performance combo for a month (replacement bike) and have also used the Bosch Performance drive with a cassette when I swapped e-bikes for a weekend with a colleague. Both e-bikes were 28mph iterations. The N380 bike was a Swiss made Flyer, whereas the 'cassette bike' was a Haibike Trekking Xduro S 5.0.

To answer your question, the cassette has a wider range of gears. I'll spare you the ratio math and simply narrate my experience. With the Nuvinci N380 I had trouble climbing hills above 12% grade and I even managed to stall a couple of times around 15% grade. With the cassette driven Haibike, I climbed an average 18% grade hill containing a short but steeper 22% grade section. It was tough but still doable. I weigh 220 pounds and am moderately fit.

I could not tell you exactly at what percentage grade you will start having trouble with the N380 because that depends on your fitness level and weight. But if you frequently need to climb hills above 12%, I would recommend staying with the cassette. Otherwise the N380 iteration will be more a lot more fun to ride.

A tip if you get the N380: you can easily shift to a lower gear ratio under load going uphill. But it's sometimes more difficult to twist 'to a higher gear' when gaining speed. The trick is to back off pedalling for a second whilst you shift. It makes the experience a lot easier on the hands if you tend to get blisters. This was the main issue I encountered.

JayVee
4 days ago

Just a comment for those looking to understand Haibike Trekking frame sizes. I have the Trekking Sduro S 6.0 which has the same frame as the Bosch powered Trekking Xduro 5.0 from what I can see. It is however different to the 4.0 as explained by Ravi above.

An addition to what I said earlier in this thread. I have size S (52) but there are 2 additional spacers above the stem. I'm pretty sure that they were added by the shop where I bought the bike. This raises the handlebar height by about 3 cms. I measure 1m82-83.

Johnny
5 days ago

@Dewey: Again thanks for the info, I didn't know that Giant customized their motors. Again when I was looking into the specifications I did not see much information about the motor. It seems Explore uses a version that is speed limited to 20, yet I see 28 mph version of the same "sport " model.

I'm a huge Haibike fan, I own two 2016 bikes. A Full Seven XDURO S RX mtb, and a Trekking XDURO S RX. Both are speed versions, 28mph, both are Bosch. You get a little noise from the Bosch mid drive (as compared to the Brose for example), but it's so smooth in handling power and torque. Personally, I feel the Bosch is worth every penny. If you ride many hills, you'll appreciate the 28mph bikes. When riding a 20mph bike, you go over that coming down the grade. But when you get to that 20mph setting as you level out, you can feel it hunt between assist and no assist. With the 28mph, you just don't hit that annoyance. Right now is the perfect time to buy a Haibike. I bought one in November 2016 and the other in March 2017. Both highly discounted from MSRP.

Thanks for the response, so you advise going for a 2017 x duro instead of an sduro ? I realize that for some models they did not state the maxspeed but should I assume that it is 28mph if the system is 350w Bosch CX ?
I think at some place that Bosch system will not accept other battery packs (and I see that Bosch insanely overprices their packs ) is it still the case?

I should find a shop and test these models.

rich c
5 days ago

I'm a huge Haibike fan, I own two 2016 bikes. A Full Seven XDURO S RX mtb, and a Trekking XDURO S RX. Both are speed versions, 28mph, both are Bosch. You get a little noise from the Bosch mid drive (as compared to the Brose for example), but it's so smooth in handling power and torque. Personally, I feel the Bosch is worth every penny. If you ride many hills, you'll appreciate the 28mph bikes. When riding a 20mph bike, you go over that coming down the grade. But when you get to that 20mph setting as you level out, you can feel it hunt between assist and no assist. With the 28mph, you just don't hit that annoyance. Right now is the perfect time to buy a Haibike. I bought one in November 2016 and the other in March 2017. Both highly discounted from MSRP.

hurricane56
1 week ago

Awesome - thanks for the incredible write up. You've convinced me to steer clear of the yamaha drives for the time being. Which of course means that I would need to step up to a Xduro treekking for significant more money.

Local dealer just called and offered a 2017 Haibiki Xduro Trekking S (bosch speed powered) for $3200. Hmm ... I think I might be able to do a tad better if I wait a bit longer ..

Still very much worried about buying the IZIP via remote dealer, having an issue and then being stranded without local dealer support. Even though the price is very attractive. It seems like even if I don't buy the IZIP from the local dealer, they may still be able to / obligated to help with IZIP warranty work? The Xduro 5.0 sure is tempting, but it a bit overkill for my current needs.

The service portion is something you'll need to check with the iZip. Just as an example, my friend with a Bulls bike had to pay the LBS a diagnostic fee to initiate a warranty claim on his Bosch powerpack 400. He did not buy the bike at the LBS. This is the one grey zone with many ebike service experiences, it probably varies widely amongst manufacturer and LBS. Even my local dealer where I purchased the bike from has to charge for labor on a warranty parts replacement. The last time I had a repair done they were kind enough to waive the fee, but were upfront about disclosing that before work commenced. I'm guessing Haibike does not compensate the LBS for their time. If you do inquire with the iZip people, you'll also want to ask if the TransX takes software updates and if that would result in a dealer service fee as well.

Ravi Kempaiah
1 week ago

My bike is powered by Bosch Performance Line. Seems you all have gotten many more miles on your chain.
I didn't have any issues with the chain and derailleur but constant noise from the chain when pedaling. At first I would clean and lube the chain and it would quiet down but after maybe 50 miles or so it would be noisy again. Switched from dry lube to ChainL with the same results. And the last attempt or so to lube and quiet the chain was unsuccessful, still noisy after the lube.
While in the shop for the new chain the Sprocket Equalizing System (S.E.S) bearing was replaced as it exhibited some binding as it rotated. It was replaced with an upgraded ceramic bearing.
I would say my riding is not severe at all, mostly smooth paved bike paths and an occasional stretch of dirt path.
I do try to keep the bike and all its running gear clean and well lubed. I hope this eBike specific chain will outlast the original Shimano.

Have you cleaned the complete drive train?
Like the chaining, cassette, derailleur etc.

I am amazed that people get less than 1000 miles on their chain. I don't do off-road stuff but mostly on-road. Chicago winters are harsh and in the last 14 months, I put ~5000 miles on my Xduro Trekking Speed bike and had to replace the chain only around 4000 miles. Granted, I never the use Turbo, 99% Tour mode and I clean and lube the drive train every 250 miles.

Bryan995
1 week ago

1. The drive has a tendency to resist your efforts above a certain RPM level, and the cadence window in which it provides power is pretty limited. This is perceptible in Standard mode, and painfully perceptible in ECO and ECO+ modes.

This has several consequences:

- If you want to tour around in a hilly area, you need to be really fit with the Yamaha. I use ECO mode only when absolutely needed. The Bosch and Shimano ECO modes are infinitely easier on the knees.

- If you want to climb a hill, the lowest gears might not necessarily be the best gears. If you're spinning away in 1st gear you will quickly hit a cadence where power drops off. This means you'll need to shift up a gear or two to get power. But it also means that climbing will be more difficult on the knees (once again). I climb a 7% grade incline every day and the bike is in 8th or 9th gear (meaning, 2-3 gears away from 11 teeth). I hand't noticed this until someone remarked that I was climbing in a really high gear. Might explain why my knees ache sometimes...

- Because the cadence is limited, the bike requires an inordinate number of gear shifts in traffic. Think of a scenario where you have several consecutive red lights. After the first red light goes green, I need to shift up 6 times to reach cruising speed. But as soon as I reach cruising speed, I have to shift down several times as well. And start over at each red light. Other drives, like the Bosch or the Shimano have a more intelligent way of dealing with this. Start in 1st gear and shift into second or third gear, then increase the number of RPMs instead of shifting through all the gears. You'll get just as much power and won't constantly be changing gears.

2. The engineering on some of the parts isn't up to Yamaha standards.

- The remote is fastened by screws which “bite” into the plastic casing. The result is that it’s impossible to tighten them so that the remote doesn’t swivel around the handlebars. This means that it’s nearly impossible to walk the bike up a hill using RUN mode. Press on the RUN button and the remote simply swivels out of your hand.

-The bike’s remote is designed in such a manner that you have to take your right hand off the handlebars in order to switch to another level of assist. But the remote often slips away...

- The button to power on the bike is starting to fail. Sometimes it works, sometimes not.

- The diagnostic button on the battery sometimes doesn't work.

3. Although not directly Yamaha's fault, the lighting on many Trekking Sduros is not sufficient for riding in the countryside at night. I have a Trekking Sduro S 6.0 which has a 60 lux light. When riding in the forest at night I can't see the contours of the road ahead. This is because the projected beam is too narrow and the lights not powerful enough.

So, if I had to do it again, I wouldn't buy a Yamaha powered bike. This is particularly true of the older PW drive system, which still equips most SDUROs.

Awesome - thanks for the incredible write up. You've convinced me to steer clear of the yamaha drives for the time being. Which of course means that I would need to step up to a Xduro treekking for significant more money.

Local dealer just called and offered a 2017 Haibiki Xduro Trekking S (bosch speed powered) for $3200. Hmm ... I think I might be able to do a tad better if I wait a bit longer ..

Still very much worried about buying the IZIP via remote dealer, having an issue and then being stranded without local dealer support. Even though the price is very attractive. It seems like even if I don't buy the IZIP from the local dealer, they may still be able to / obligated to help with IZIP warranty work? The Xduro 5.0 sure is tempting, but it a bit overkill for my current needs.

Over50
1 week ago

... Will have to call for pricing but I have a feeling the Xduro trekking may be closer to 3k?...
In that case is it worth the 2x price increase over the IZIP? If the haibike will hold its value more so than the IZIP then I have no issue paying a bit more now. But if in 4 years both are down to $500 resale then the IZIP seems like the way to go. Thanks for the help!

I was seeing the Xduro prices yesterday of about $3500. Maybe they will come down more. But I like your thinking. If you're testing the waters and think you might upgrade in a few years - and particularly because your commute is shorter - then the IZIP sounds like a great way to go (although I don't have experience with IZIP). It would be nice if you could find a local dealer for that IZIP however. You'd definitely want to test it out.

Bryan995
1 week ago

Just for reference my Trekking S Xduro was $2699 during last years clearance.

As for resale the Haibike might have an edge but seeing resale ads for ebikes here in the SF Bay Area, many bikes are posted for sale at 40-50% off the original sale price after less than a year. I’d recommend buying the bike that fits your needs now and not factor in resale.

Perfect - appreciate that data point. Best I can find for the Sduro trekking 4.0 is $1999, so $700 more for the Xduro seems reasonable. Still need to do a bit more searching around re. best pricing. I am down in SD.

hurricane56
1 week ago

Just for reference my Trekking S Xduro was $2699 during last years clearance.

As for resale the Haibike might have an edge but seeing resale ads for ebikes here in the SF Bay Area, many bikes are posted for sale at 40-50% off the original sale price after less than a year. I’d recommend buying the bike that fits your needs now and not factor in resale.

Bryan995
1 week ago

Actually the poster didn't specify Xduro or Sduro (unless I missed it) but I guess based on the price quoted it has to be Sduro. But both are discounted pretty heavily right now so Xduro would be a good suggestion. Perhaps the prices will come down even more as we get to year end. So the commute sounds very short but with a large hill. The Bosch CX will power up that hill and since the distance is short range will not be an issue.

Yes sorry all. I was refering to the Sduro Trekking 4.0 with Yamaha PW not the Bosch powered Xduro. Everything I read says to go Bosch and it seems like you all echo that :).

Will have to call for pricing but I have a feeling the Xduro trekking may be closer to 3k?

In that case is it worth the 2x price increase over the IZIP? If the haibike will hold its value more so than the IZIP then I have no issue paying a bit more now. But if in 4 years both are down to $500 resale then the IZIP seems like the way to go. Thanks for the help!

Over50
1 week ago

@Over50 owns a Trekking 4.0.

His experiences are described in the thread below:

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/over-50s-2017-xduro-trekking-4-0-chronicles.13845/

Actually the poster didn't specify Xduro or Sduro (unless I missed it) but I guess based on the price quoted it has to be Sduro. But both are discounted pretty heavily right now so Xduro would be a good suggestion. Perhaps the prices will come down even more as we get to year end. So the commute sounds very short but with a large hill. The Bosch CX will power up that hill and since the distance is short range will not be an issue.

JayVee
1 week ago

@Over50 owns a Trekking 4.0.

His experiences are described in the thread below:

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/over-50s-2017-xduro-trekking-4-0-chronicles.13845/

rich c
3 weeks ago

I upgraded to the 500whr on the 2016 XDURO S RX Trekking I bought this spring. $300 swap out when everything was brand new. So I swap the 400 and 500 back and forth between the XDURO Full Seven S RX and the Trekking S RX. I've gone 55 miles on the 500 pack with 2 bars showing on the Trekking. Heck of a way to get a second pack, but buying a 2016 in March 2017 was a real bargain!

Over50
4 weeks ago

...I did find that both bikes seemed more difficult to pedal above the 2O mph limit compared to the Brose, Yamaha and Shimano bikes which I also have limited experience test riding ... The bikes I rode it seemed like the motor cut off in the 18 mph range ...

My experience with my Haibike XDuro Trekking 4.0 with the CX motor: it cuts off somewhere between 19.5 and 19.8 MPH consistently and it is so smooth I can't even really detect it except for the fact that I feel some increased resistance. There is no noise or jerking of the motor to indicate shutoff or restart. But if I want to increase my speed past 20 mph - it is really difficult. On flat ground, I can actually obtain higher speeds (with less effort after 20 mph) on my human powered Spot Champa (Alfine 8 speed). I can consistently max out around 23 mph on my human powered bike (without killing myself) whereas it takes a lot more effort to hit that on my Haibike. Of course the Spot is a lot lighter. In my commuting on the Haibike, I've concluded it is counter-productive to let the motor cutout with the intent to increase my speed - say to catch a green light. Counter-productive because the amount of energy I have to expend for that extra 1 or 2 mph really isn't worth it. I've really stopped trying to push the bike past 20 and have become accustomed to cruising around 18-19 and making my time with the jack-rabbit acceleration of the CX motor from the stops. Ultimately I'd level high praise at the CX motor for two things: 1). the smooth and powerful acceleration up to the cutoff and 2). the smooth, almost undetectable cutoff of the motor approaching 20 mph. The negative is pedaling the bike over 20 mph - really difficult to do on a flat.

bob armani
4 weeks ago

There seems to be an error on Haibike's website. The new Trekking Xduro S 9.0 is depicted with the same frame as for 2017 (shown in the picture below). But the spec sheet mentions an IBC (Intube Battery Concept) frame coupled with a traditional Power Pack. So something doesn't quite add up. If you have an intube frame, it would make sense to ship with an intube battery. Either the image is wrong or the spec sheet is wrong. Unfortunately, I suspect the image is correct and the stated specs are wrong.

Link: https://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/695/2018-xduro-trekking-s-9-0?variant=3840424848

The picture on the website:

The accompanying description:

However, an Intube frame should look like this:

Edit: Checked it. The spec sheet is wrong on Haibike's website. The 2018 Trekking S-Pedelec model is basically the same as the 2017 model (meaning no Intube battery). The 2018 model is shown at 2:37 in this video:

Yeah, I see what you are referring to in 2.37. No IBC on the frame. So many models to choose from; just another way to confuse the consumer with almost too many models. I personally like the IBC on any model of an ebike to stay with the stealthy looks. Great move for Haibike, but long overdue IMHO! I assume most/all of the Yamaha models in the video have the new PBX motor?? Great video though for many new models to look forward to giving test rides and possible purchase! FUN!

rich c
1 month ago

Fall colors finally showing in the Illinois River Valley, in Peoria Heights, IL. Haibike 2016 XDURO Trekking S RX.

1/1
Over50
1 month ago

@Over50, Haibike was the first who put the Bosch first generation drive unit into the mountain bikes in 2011...

Thanks Wildtrak. I don't currently do any off-road riding but I'm city commuting on a Haibike XDuro 4.0 Trekking and a R&M Charger (Nuvinci speed pedelec). I'm thinking that if all goes well mid-2018 I'd like to upgrade one of those bikes for a dual-battery capacity commuter. It appears the Haibike Sduro Trekking 9.0 for 2018 is basically the same bike as the XDuro 4.0 (frame and components) but allows for dual-battery with their new rail system and in-tube design. I definitely have my eye on the Trekking 9.0 but I'm also attracted to the Moustache Samedi and XRoads models (hidden battery but not dual-battery). As for a speed pedelec choice I have my eyes on the New Charger by R&M and the Bulls full suspension commuter the Six50 TR Street. Also, I'm pretty certain I'm also going to buy the Tern GSD as a grocery hauler/wife's bike/day tripper. So 2 new bikes for 2018 is the plan: the Tern GSD and a commuter replacement bike (Haibike, R&M or Bulls most likely). For the German brands that sell Bosch powered commuter bikes in the USA, it looks like they use similar specs/components but do you have an opinion coming from Germany, about which brand is better in terms of overall quality, customer service/support and innovation?

rich c
2 months ago

Posting your inquiry in the Forum Rules and Etiquette is going to limit responses, so maybe ask the admin to move it. I ride 3 different ebikes. I've ridden 1700 miles on a cheap Sondors fat bike, owned it for 19 months. The motor is getting a rattle in it. It's a known issue with that motor that the glue fails on the magnets, so will be opening it up to epoxy them back in soon. Also getting close to needing brake pads. I'm coming up on one year on a Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX mountain bike. 1600+ miles on it since last November, no issues. Almost 1,200 miles on a Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX, no issues. I highly recommend Haibikes, but you would have to add all the mileage on 3 bikes to come close to the mileage you may be talking about.

rich c
2 months ago

For a commuter, I would prefer a class III bike, capable of 28mph. I hardly ever ride that fast, but really often hit 22-23mph. Also much prefer hydraulic brakes, not familiar with the brakes spec'd on the Voltbike. I'd consider that Voltbike a little short on gears, but since it has a throttle, you may be okay. Don't know the size of your children, but loaded down you may like a lower gear that you get with the 7. My Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX has 10. The price is very attractive on that Voltbike, but if I depended on my bike to get to work, I'd want a better class of components. Just a lot of my preferences here, but I started on a cheap Chinese eBike, but really only ride Haibike XDURO (Bosch mid drive) bikes now. Two of my eBikes are over 1600 miles, the Trekking is over 1100 miles. Just a bit of reference for my riding experience. Edit; If you want both kids to ride, look at a GSD cargo bike. You should also look at Thudbuster or Bodyfloat suspension seat posts with the style bike you are looking at.

rich c
2 months ago

This time of year you can almost get a Haibike XDURO Trekking for $3000. 50 miles a day is achievable with the 400whr Bosch. Get one with a 500whr and you get 75+ miles.

Mark Adams
2 months ago

I ride three different kinds of eBikes, Sondors Fat bike, Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX, and a Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX. I have over 1000 miles on the Trekking, over 1500 miles on the Sondors and Full Seven. The fat bike was my first ebike, found it on Craigslist. It has been relegated to snow and an occasional ride on a crushed rock rail trail. It rides like an old Jeep. Heavy physical weight and heavy response. You have to actually put effort into the handlebars to turn the bike. Those wide tires do not make for a nimble bike. Huge rolling resistance in the tires. The Trekking bike can be ridden on a gravel road, but much better suited for touring on pavement. The small tires do not make for a fun ride on the gravel. I would not take it into rock and tree roots. The full suspension mountain bike will go anywhere. It was a demo model, and came with Schwalbe Super Moto-X 27.5 x 2.4 tires. For me, this is the ideal go anywhere bike. The smoother tread pattern on the Super Moto-X is great on pavement, and by letting out a few psi they really grip on dry single trails. It will climb a really steep incline with the 11 gear cassette. The full suspension makes riding great for my 65 year old body, on any conditions. Rough city streets, gravel, or trails with rocks and roots, are all smoothed out in the ride. I now see no need for any bike with tires over the 2.4".
I don’t feel the fat tire is that cumbersome. But have not ridden a Sondors also have a Surly pugsly fat and my regular Mt bike sits most of the time . But everything is a trade off so best answer is a nice quiver of rides to choose from.

Mike Malloy
8 months ago

As always, ElectricBikeReview.com, thanks for the great review.

Ioan Charger
1 year ago

Try CUBE e-models , will be interesting to watch u test riding

Morrisonlife.com
2 years ago

Having time off here in Mexico so thought I would investigate Ebikes and my goodness, not one is a true touring bike. They say they are but none have front rack mounts nor bottle cages nor dual stands nor drop bars (for many more hand positions) and no figure eight handlebars, nor solar panels built in for recharging, nor proper wheels with decent tyres. What a sad state the Ebike market is in for tourers. I guess we will just have to keep peddling into our mid sixties without assistance. Maybe in a few years there will be something serious and economical on the market but for now I find the whole thing a big joke. Oh yes, the biggest joke is the EU who restrict power as does California so that is also pathetic.

Santeri Miettinen
3 years ago

Have the sduros arrived to us yet? I drove one, cross if i'm right. Didn't expect bosch like accuracy and smoothness of the yamaha system. I believe yamaha actually offers 10 nm more torque than bosch. I only weigth ~65 kilos~ so the bike felt like it was going to take off :D bosch powered xduros also cost at least 1000€ more.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+santeri Miettinen Interesting, thanks for the feedback :)

Santeri Miettinen
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com yes i did chance it few times, you can feel it kicking in more smoothly on larger gear but it's hard to tell the difference because the track i drove on was flat and not that long (and i was so exited so i didn't focus on the gears that much)

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+santeri Miettinen Did you shift the front at all? I'm really curious to see how it does under power.

Santeri Miettinen
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com the one i tried had two, i think that some models have one

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+santeri Miettinen Interesting... did the Yamaha system offer two front chain rings or just one? I'm excited to test them out once they arrive in the US (or later this year if I visit Eurobike)

David Macdonald
3 years ago

I know a lot of the batteries cost around 300, pounds , but seem to only have a 12 mth , guarantee , my worry is how long do thay last on most E bikes , thanks .

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+David Macdonald Hi David, I've heard 1,000+ full charge cycles. It will last longer if you always keep it between 20% and 80% full and avoid storing in extreme hot or cold. The best is a cool dry spot with a monthly check to make sure it hasn't drained too much. With this kind of care, it could go for years with a range of 30+ miles thanks to the efficient drive systems at work. When it's new, and for the first year or so you should get 50+ miles :)

brighton dude
3 years ago

The SRAM Dual Drive gear system is excellent. I used it for many years on a bicycle which was eventually destroyed in a crash. I actually extracted it from the remains and still have it so I can put it into another bicycle some day.

You get a very wide range of gears with the SRAM DD. That three speed hub is far wider than most front dérailleur systems.

You can change those hub gears while stationery. It is so useful. If you are in a high gear at the traffic lights you can just change down to the bottom in the hub gears.

That internal three speed hub they use used to be made by Sachs and it is one of the most reliable hub gears ever made. It will go on for thousands upon thousands of miles.

You will see that SRAM DD in many European bicycles, it is a great system!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+brighton dude Thanks for the feedback about shifting SRAM internally geared hubs under load...

brighton dude
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com
 - I totally survived the crash but was in shock for about a week afterwards. That SRAM/Sachs internal hub allows you to change gear while stationary but in my experience not when there is pressure on the pedals.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+brighton dude Gosh, sorry to hear about your crash! Glad you're still... alive?! Pretty neat that the system itself survived and that you liked it. Always appreciate the constructive real-world feedback. Some internally geared hubs offer shifting at standstill but others won't allow it under pressure (like if you're about to climb a hill). Sounds like this SRAM/Sachs system is pretty great :)

ForbinColossus
3 years ago

Finally, fenders! For practicality, keeping rain off your back is pretty darn important. And it's nice to arrive to work w/o squishy wet shoes. I love the MTB look with knobbies, and I'm wondering if fenders can be added yet still have a tough enduro look. To be picky,  that bike would look better in all black with those black fenders. And I say that even though most of what I see daily are black bikes. Helluva commute to work bike there ---the gear setup is really something. 

Mike Malloy
8 months ago

I like the Grey/Black combination. Not sure about the neon green though. I'm done with hard tails. I wish there was a full suspension touring bike.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

I wonder how difficult it is to repaint a frame like this? I think the guys at BMEBIKES bring in standard frames that then get painted locally, maybe that could be done with this one for a couple hundred and the labor of taking it all apart? I put some fenders on a Haibike XDURO FS 27.5" but they weren't as close or secure as the ones on this bike, more just mud guards. I like this setup, especially with a thudbuster :)

Gardener Rob
3 years ago

Another amazing Bosch system, they never stop amazing me with the technology they put into there drive systems. Love the colors they chose for the bike grey black and green.

Harold Pilon
8 months ago

Gardener Rob y

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

I agree, it's neat to see how versatile and capable this motor system can be when used for downhill, cross country, road or trekking and I love the frame design and colors on most of the Haibikes this year. Cool stuff :)

bryphi77
3 years ago

This is yet again another overpriced gimmick. Anyone who is serious about touring would never want a bike like this. I swear they make this crap for stupid people who have too much money. This could never be used on a real bike tour. Too many unnecessary breakable parts, and what do you do when the battery dies 100 miles from an outlet?... peddal that thing up a hill with all your equipment on it? Yeah... right...

bao tran
9 months ago

Hi!!!i don't have tons of money but years of mtb has wreck my knees so this helps me with the hills going to work.I thought the same as u till I tried it and fell in love with ebikes.I wouldn't take this for a bike tour but for around town or short bike camping trips.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+bryphi77 I haven't done much bike touring but the 27 speeds seemed adequate for pedaling on human power only if the battery is fully discharged. An extra pack could be carried along (they weigh ~8.8 pounds) and for those with knee issues this might be a great way to join friends. It might not be the ultra light, super heavy duty touring bike that you're thinking of but the motor and battery are some of the most reliable and efficient I've seen. Compared to a non-electric bike this thing might be 20 pounds heavier but you get a lot of benefit from that added weight. I respect your opinion, maybe I'm off-base for true touring, could you comment more on what you'd change or how you'd build the ideal touring ebike?

Florida Scot
3 years ago

Man thats a lot of gears for a treking e-bike more expensive to build & complicated engineering more things to go wrong on the road why ?  
I ride over 4k miles a year have been doing so for 5 years & only use 2 gears rarely shift gears. MTB bikes, regular road bikes need many gears i get that but most e-bikes  well no, $ best spent elsewhere .. Great video, keep them coming !

THE QUIET CYCLIST
3 years ago

You are kicking the keys :O

fresky74
3 years ago

Why do you say it has 27 gears? It doesn't. It has 9 gears! You have to keep the chain straight between the rear cassette and the front chain rings or the chain will come off. Saying it has 27 gears is very unprofessional, a bike has only has the amount of gears on the rear cassette.

TheMuddatrucker
2 years ago

+fresky74 Saying it only has 9 gears! is very unprofessional

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+fresky74 No worries, happy I could help to clarify and answer your question :)

fresky74
3 years ago

Oh right I thought you was talking about the front mec, Sorry my mistake. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

This bicycle has a three speed internally geared rear hub in addition to a nine speed cassette. The combination of those two groupings offers a rider 27 pedal cadence speeds which I referred to colloquially as gears.