Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX Review

Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Electric Bike Review
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Performance Line Speed Motor
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Intuvia Bell Grips Handlebar
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx 60 Lux Headlight Suntour Suspension Fork
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bm Toplight Led Sks Fenders
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Carrymore Rear Rack Adjustable Kickstand
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Electric Bike Charger
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Electric Bike Review
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Performance Line Speed Motor
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Intuvia Bell Grips Handlebar
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx 60 Lux Headlight Suntour Suspension Fork
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bm Toplight Led Sks Fenders
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Carrymore Rear Rack Adjustable Kickstand
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Electric Bike Charger

Summary

  • A sporty, 28 mph, commuter-ready, electric bicycle made in six frame sizes across two styles, a stiffer high-step and easy approach step-thru
  • Reinforced fenders stay quiet, oversized rack with spring latch and Racktime connector, integrated LED lights with aimable 60 LUX headlight
  • Hydraulic disc brakes provide excellent stopping power, 10-speed Shimano Deore drivetrain with larger 20T chainring for high-speed cadence
  • Excellent weight distribution, removable display and battery pack with forward-compatible interface, gel saddle, and suspension fork provide comfort

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Haibike

Model:

XDURO Trekking S RX

Price:

$4,599

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Touring, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

5 Year Frame, 2 Year Motor and Battery

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53 lbs (24.04 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.4 lbs (2.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy, Hydroformed Tubes, Gravity Casting Interface

Frame Sizes:

17.32 in (43.99 cm)18.9 in (48 cm)20.47 in (51.99 cm)22.05 in (56 cm)23.62 in (59.99 cm)25.2 in (64 cm)Diamond (48cm, 52cm, 56cm, 60cm) Step-Thru (44cm, 48cm, 52cm)

Geometry Measurements:

32" Stand Over Height on High Step

Frame Types:

High-Step, Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Dark Gray with Blue Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour HESC 45-DS HLO Suspension with 65 mm Travel, Lockout, 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore, 11-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore Triggers on Right

Cranks:

XDURO Aluminum Alloy 170 mm, 20T Sprocket with Narrow Wide Teeth and Alloy Chain Guard

Pedals:

XLC Alloy Platform, Cage Style

Headset:

FSA No. 57, Semi-Integrated, Tapered, Three 10 mm Risers

Stem:

XDURO Aluminum Alloy, A-Head, 90 mm Length

Handlebar:

XDURO Lowriser Aluminum Alloy, 29.5" Length

Brake Details:

Magura MT4 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Magura MT4 Levers with Reach Adjust

Grips:

XLC Sport with Locking Rings

Saddle:

Selle Royale Freccia

Seat Post:

XDURO Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

RYDE 622x21c, Double Wall

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14G Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Energizer Pro, 700 x 38c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

50 to 85 PSI, Tubeless Ready, Reflective Sidewall, Performance Line RaceGuard

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Integrated Haibike Headlight LED 60 LUX, Integrated BM Toplight LED Taillight, Carrymore Rear Rack with Spring Latch and Pannier Blockers 25 kg (55 lb) Max Weight, SKS Fenders with Rear Mud Flap, Rear Mounted Adjustable Length Kickstand, Flick Bell on Right Bar, Neoprene Slap Guard

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack with LED Charge Level Indicator, KMC X9 Chain

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Speed

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

570 watts

Motor Torque:

63 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

70 miles (113 km)

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque - Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 40 Nm, Tour 50 Nm, Sport 55 Nm, Turbo 63 Nm)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX, now called the Haibike XDURO Trekking 4.0, is an urban speed pedelec that’s geared towards commuting with integrated LED lights, a sturdy rear rack, and full-sized plastic fenders. The custom angular frame is designed to flex a bit for comfort with lower seat stays while providing a short nimble wheelbase for quick handling. Amazingly, it’s available in six frame sizes that are spread out across two frame styles. If you want the best power transfer and stiffest feel, consider the high-step as shown in the video. The mid-step is still going to be stiffer than a lot of the low-step frames seen on hybrid bikes but will be easier to mount and stand over for people with shorter inseams. Considering the rear rack position, you might find yourself making leg contact with a trunk bag if you swing your leg up and over from the rear on either model. For commuting purposes, this is an excellent platform. Not only does it offer Class 3 high-speed operation up to 28 mph assisted, it also provides comfort. The spring suspension (changed to air for 2017) pairs nicely with the gel saddle, riser stem, and low-rise handlebar to produce an upright feel. Note however, the high-pressure 700c tires, which deliver efficiency and rolling momentum. This is definitely a more aggressive urban commuter and the tires were swapped to wider Schwalbe Supermoto X for 2017 possibly to improve comfort. Weighing in at roughly 53 lbs for the 60 cm frame tested here, the bike distributes weight well, keeping the motor and battery low and centered on the frame. I’m a fan of the removable and forward compatible Bosch battery system and you get a Powerpack 400 here. The Trekking model offers integrated lights, a sturdy kickstand (that can bounce a little at high speed), quality grips, and powerful 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Magura. The quick release wheels and seat tube make it easy to setup, maintain, and transport, and the comprehensive 2-year warranty and vast dealer network worldwide give it a high resale value if you ever decide to upgrade.

Powering the XDURO Trekking electric bike is a Bosch Performance Line Speed motor capable of producing 63 Newton meters of torque. Rather than limiting speed to 20 mph as the standard Performance Line motor does, this one can peak out around 28 mph which is convenient for urban riding amongst automobiles. You will arrive at your destination sooner when using the Sport and Turbo modes of assist but will also drain the battery quicker due to wind resistance, which increases exponentially above ~20 mph. The motor freewheels, so you can pedal this bike unpowered without any drag, and the chainring is much smaller than a traditional bicycle because it spins 2.5 times per every crank arm revolution. There certainly a small amount of drag produced in this conversion but the smaller ring provides better chain grab and narrow-wide teeth fit snugly between the chain links to reduce drops. When the motor is active, this ring can start and stop very quickly. The 20 tooth sprocket is roughly equivalent to a standard 50 tooth chainring and pairs with a mid-level 10 speed cassette and Shimano Deore derailleur. This is a good range for the speed on offer so you won’t feel outpaced by the motor. All Bosch Performance Line motors offer shift detection and receive ongoing updates that dealers can download and install for you, which results in less drivetrain wear and an ever-improving experience. The motor on the Trekking S RX shown here protrudes a bit more than the Trekking 4.0 which is angled up and built into the downtube a bit more.

Similar styling improvements have been made for the battery interface which cups and partially surrounds the 2017 model. Haibike calls this “step-in battery concept” and it does look beautiful. I wonder how much weight the additional Aluminum plating and high-volume tires add on the latest model? At roughly 53 lbs, the Trekking S RX can become lighter if you move to a tubeless tire setup. The battery pack only weighs ~5.4 lbs and the interface is forward compatible so you could get the Powerpack 500 at some point down the line and have it work just fine. That pack weighs ~5.7 lbs but offers 25% more capacity which could be useful for commuting and high-speed riding. Both packs have an LED charge level indicator built into the left side and can be charged on or off the bike. I appreciate the looped handle piece at the top of the pack and secure locking core for protecting it on your bike if left outside. The included charger, also made by Bosch, offers 4 Amp output vs. just 2 Amps on most e-bike chargers I see. It’s relatively lightweight at under 2 lbs and compact enough that it would fit into a trunk bag or panniers easily.

Operating and controlling the ebike systems is a seamless and intuitive experience, even while riding. Simply charge and mount the battery, then press the power button at the lower left corner of the display panel. This brings the screen to life showing your current speed large and center. Above this is a battery charge level infographic with five tick marks. To the right, you’ll find an assist level readout with off, Eco, Tour, Sport, and Turbo. I tend to ride in Tour most frequently because it balances efficiency and range well, the occasional jump to Sport or Turbo will feel zippy and let you dash along with traffic or race through a straight section of pathway. Simply click up or down on the plastic button pad mounted near the left grip. This pad is within reach so that you can steer and brake unimpeded and it produces a tactile click with each press so that you can sense what’s going on without looking down at the display. The Intuvia display is faintly backlit for use in early morning or evening low-lighting conditions and can be swiveled front to back in order to reduce glare. It’s one of my favorite displays because of the styling, large display, and integrated Micro-USB port for use with a smartphone, GPS device, or other portable electronics.

I apologize for the delay in this review, the 2017 Haibike XDURO Trekking 4.0 is now available and offers some nice improvements to the Trekking S RX at roughly the same pricepoint. Both models are setup for a similar sporty-commuter experience and look great… although the Trekking 4.0 has an edge with the tighter motor and battery integration. Many shops will offer a discount on last-season products and I have found that Haibike sometimes releases new models later in the year and can have inventory stalls in the US. I enjoyed seeing this model with Chris at Propel Bikes in Brooklyn and found that it peformed well, even on the rough streets. The complaints I have include a bouncy kickstand that can produce a bit of noise at speed (though I still love this stand), a bit of motor whine at higher RPM riding, and the lack of bottle cage bosses on the seat tube. This last point may have to do with frame strength or sizing issues. The larger 60 mm frame I was on seemed to have room but the smaller sizes and mid-step design might not. Given the rear rack, there’s plenty of opportunities to use a trunk bag with bottle holster like this. If you tend to ride long distance or find that the higher speed is uncomfortable, consider adding a seat post suspension like this, but note that it will raise your minimum saddle height and could make mounting / dismounting a bit more precarious.

Pros:

  • Available in six frame sizes spread between two distinct frame designs, a traditional high-step and lower step-thru model, both are fairly active and sporty but should accommodate a wide range of rider body types
  • Wide range of gears, 10-speed Shimano Deore with a 20 tooth chainring, custom tuned for high-speed riding, you should be able to pedal comfortably up to ~28 mph
  • Reflective sidewall stripes illuminate the bike from both sides and keep you visible to automobiles, the backlight is tucked beneath the rack so trunk bags and panniers won’t obstruct it, the headlight can be aimed, it points where you steer, and is color matched to the frame, both lights run off the main battery pack for convenience and theft deterrence
  • Stylized angular frame follows the Haibike look, lower seat stays and shorter wheelbase offer comfortable but nimble handling, sloped top tube lowers the stand over height for easier dismounts
  • SKS plastic fenders keep you dry and clean, the rear fender connects to the cargo rack for strength and reduced vibration / noise
  • Large adjustable kickstand keeps the bike upright, it’s rear-mounted with plenty of space for the left crank arm to turn when parked or backing up
  • Both the display panel and battery can be quickly removed for safe keeping and off-bike charging, the battery mount interface is forward compatible with the larger Bosch Powerpack 500
  • You can charge or maintain portable electronic devices while riding with the Micro-USB port on the right edge of the Bosch Intuvia display panel, it offers 5 volts at 500 milliamps
  • High-pressure Schwalbe Energizer Pro tires can be converted to tubeless to reduce weight, overall weight of ~53 lbs is good considering the fenders and sturdy rear rack, built-in puncture protection RaceGuard liner
  • Most shifter, brake, and electronic cabling is internally routed to reduce snags, improve overall aesthetic, and make rack mounting easier, note the large rectangular plastic hole covers that make maintenance easier but keep cables clean entering and exiting the frame
  • At highs speed it’s nice to have a suspension fork and this one offers 65 mm travel and lockout, the Selle Royale gel saddle feels good and you could swap in a 31.6 mm suspension seat post for enhanced back and neck support (note that it will raise the minimum saddle height ~3 inches)
  • The Bosch drive system and controller offer shift detection to reduce drivetrain wear and provide some of the fastest response time for motor activation and cutoff that I have tested, it can operate at 120 RPM for higher cadence riding whereas some other systems cut out at 100 RPM
  • Powerful hydraulic disc brakes from Magura with large 180 mm rotors for smooth stops, adjustable reach levers fit small and large hands comfortably
  • Handsome neoprene slap guard, flick bell and locking grips, quick release wheels for easy maintenance and portability, fast and compact 4 Amp charger
  • The body position on this bike isn’t as aggressive as a traditional road bike or sport commuter, Haibike includes some risers, a steeper angled stem, and riser bars to produce a more upright body position and relax your back and neck

Cons:

  • The Bosch Performance Line motors produce a bit more noise, kind of a high pitched hum, when operating at full power or high RPM, you notice it more on smooth quiet roads
  • I like the alloy chainring protector but it doesn’t offer as much protection for your pants or dress as a full chain cover would
  • Originally priced at ~$4,500 this w asone of the more expensive electric bikes, it does offer high performance and great hardware but you pay for the brand, the dealer network, and the solid warranty, the 2017 model is priced similarly and you can usually get prior year model on sale from dealers for slightly less
  • Quick release is great if you don’t have to leave your bike parked outside at a rack all day, if you plan on commuting with the Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX then consider swapping the skewers, seat tube clamp, and headset with Pinhead hardware like this or something similar
  • The model shown in the photographs and video review above is a 2016 but the 2017 is very similar and has been upgraded with a thru-axle in the front for tighter handling and strength at high-speed
  • It really seems like there was room to add a bottle cage mounting point on the seat tube with this bike… I’m not sure why the skipped it? Even if you don’t put a water bottle there, it can be useful for mini pumps and folding locks etc.
  • The newer XDURO Trekking 4.0 has a nicer motor and battery integration, notice how the motor here is a bit rounded and sort of sticks forward and the battery is just hanging on the downtube vs. being cupped or partially integrated
  • At higher speed, the kickstand bounces a bit when riding over cracks and medium-sized bumps, you can hear it knocking and jittering a bit in the video review around 20:55
  • The rear rack uses oversized tubing which means that standard clip-on panniers won’t work or will need to have the clips replaced with 20 mm hardware like this, also, in the United States it seems like there are very few accessories available for use with the CarryMore slide in system
  • Many owners have reported that the front light can fall off easily and will dangle next to the fender, it sounds like the hardware just comes loose, consider using LocTite or just keeping a close eye on this part
  • The lights are wonderful but as with many integrated rear lights, there isn’t a flash mode, some owners have opted for aftermarket lights to generate more attention with flash

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Haibike Reviews

Haibike XDURO FullSeven Carbon Ultimate Review

  • MSRP: $16,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high-performance electric mountain bike available in four frame sizes, stiff carbon frame for improved power transfer and handling, carbon accents include seat post, saddle, handlebar, wheelset and more. Eleven speed Shimano Deore XTR drivetrain with Di2 electronic shifting for faster, more precise gear…...

Haibike SDURO AllMtn 6.0 Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A trail worthy, full suspension electric mountain bike with stiff lightweight frame construction, optimized suspension and a tightly integrated mid-drive motor from Yamaha. Upgraded 500 watt hour battery pack delivers 60+ miles on medium assist, powerful hydraulic disc…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautiful and capable all mountain style ebike with premium components from Schwalbe, Shimano, Magura and RockShox, the frame, fork and saddle are paint matched. The drive system is surprisingly powerful, delivering 80 Newton meters of peak torque output, it…...

Haibike XDURO Urban S RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed road bike with electric assist up to 28 mph (45 km/h), available in five frame sizes for improved fit and a vibration dampening seat post and shock stem for improved comfort. Efficient low-resistance tires with deep-dish aero rims and bladed spokes, keep the tire pressure up…...

Haibike SDURO Full FatSix Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only full suspension fat electric bikes I've seen, quality hardware including 20 speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, solid 2 year motor and battery warranty with 5 years on the frame. Powered by the Yamaha mid-drive ebike system with 500 watt motor, Zero Cadence pedal assist,…...

Haibike SDURO FullNine RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension 29er with mid-drive motor, slim battery and removable display by Yamaha, offers 80 Nm of torque and zero-cadence pedal assist response. The RX trim level is top of the line with light weight hardware from Shimano,…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN RC Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all mountain trail + downhill mid drive powered electric bike with 150 mm air suspension, rigid thru axles (15 mm front 142 x 12 mm rear). Impressive 20 speed drivetrain with quality Shimano Deore XT groupset, capable Shimano M615 hydraulic disc…...

Haibike XDURO DWNHLL Pro Review

  • MSRP: $8,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only true downhill ready electric bikes being made in series production, delivers a worldcup ready chassis and pro level components. Shimano Saint drivetrain and brakes (top of the line downhill groupset), with two piece Ice-Tech…...

Haibike XDURO FullLife RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Custom geometry with shorter reach to accommodate women (who tend to have shorter arms and torso but longer legs), shorter saddle with wider back, adjustable position brake levers for smaller hands. plush 120 mm front and rear Fox air suspension with 15 mm thru-axle front and…...

Haibike SDURO HardSeven SM Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable Haibike in the 2016 line, features the Yamaha drive system with a basic fixed LED display console, basic saddle, heavier oil suspension fork and cheaper Kenda tires without liners. Solid nine-speed SRAM X-4 drivetrain, no shift sensing or motor inhibitors, large 180 mm hydraulic…...

Haibike SDURO HardLife SL Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable women's specific electric bike from Haibike, leverages the Yamaha mid-drive, features an upgraded LCD screen with USB charging port. Excellent weight distribution, battery and motor are mounted low and center, the top tube is…...

Haibike XDURO Fullseven RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high performance full suspension electric mountain bike with quality components from Shimano, RockShox, and Fox. Responsive, durable and intuitive drive systems powered by Bosch, solid two year comprehensive warranty, five…...

Haibike XDURO AMT RX Review

  • MSRP: $6,350
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A high performance all-mountain electric bike with premium suspension from Fox and hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano. Thru axles on front and rear wheel for improved stiffness and durability, seat post dropper…...

Haibike XDURO Nduro Pro Review

  • MSRP: $9,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Premium downhill capable electric bike with 180 mm travel on front and rear Fox air suspension, available in four frame sizes for improved fit. Excellent weight distribution, Bosch-made Centerdrive motor and battery kept low and center on the frame,…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking Pro Review

  • MSRP: $4,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A long-range capable touring our commuting style electric bike that climbs well, has a balanced weight distribution and offers 27 speeds for a steady cadence at most speeds. Excellent accessories including LED lights, full-length fenders and sturdy rear-rack with spring latch...

Haibike XDURO Nduro RX

  • MSRP: $7,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The entry-level performance downhill electric bike from Haibike with 26" wheels , long travel 180 mm air suspension by Fox with CTD adjust and hydraulic Shimano SLX disc brakes. Excellent frame balance with motor and battery mounted low and center, quick release wheels with…...

Haibike XDURO Urban Review

  • MSRP: $4,450
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An efficient, light weight road style electric bike with a perfectly balanced all-aluminum frame and electric drive system. Convenient quick release wheels, integrated LED lights, quality hydraulic disc brakes and a removable battery…...

Haibike XDURO Fatsix Review

  • MSRP: $5,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The only Bosch powered electric fat bike I've seen with a suspension fork, RockShox air with remote lockout. Burly 15 mm front and 12 mm rear thru axles, extended bottom bracket and spindle…...

Haibike XDURO Race Review

  • MSRP: $6,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An extremely well balanced, light weight, high speed electric road bike - one of the only ebikes with drop bars that I've seen. Efficient centerdrive from Bosch can reach speeds of 28 mph and distance in excess of…...

Haibike XDURO FS RX 27.5″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance, well balanced, full suspension electric mountain bike with motor and battery kept low and center. Available in four frame sizes for good fit, larger 27.5" wheels improve traction, momentum and…...

Haibike XDURO RX 29″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Capable and sturdy eMountain bike with great frame balance, motor and battery (mounted low and center). Available in four frame sizes for good fit, large 29" wheels provide improved traction, momentum…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Ultra efficient centerdrive motor leverages nine speed cassette and three speed SRAM hub for climbing and distance. Top of the line commuting accessories including dynamo powered LED lights, rear rack with pump,…...

Haibike XDURO Superrace Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the lightest weight, most efficient and fastest riding electric road bikes available. Premium components including Magura MT4 hydraulic disc brakes, Integrated LED lights and SRAM X0 drivetrain...

Haibike XDURO AMT Pro Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Top of the line all mountain style electric bike with full suspension and middrive motor. Light weight, high end frame and components keep bike under 50 pounds...


Richard Coers
2 days ago

I put a small piece of 1/8″ thick adhesive backed foam on the flat riding surface of the kick stand. No more noise! Used to bug the hell out of me. 600 miles now, no other issues.

Court Rye
2 days ago

Great tip Richard, thanks for sharing ;)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Ravi Kempaiah
24 hours ago

Thanks Ravi. Do you think standover or reach would be the biggest mismatch for me on the 52cm XDuro Trekking 4.0 2017? Does your Trekking model have a slightly longer top tube and reach vs the 2017 4.0?

Haibike sizing is very weird and off-scale. See image below.
Both the 2016 Trekking S Rx and 2017 Trekking 4.0 have very similar frames and at your height, both reach and the top tube height would be uncomfortable.
With great certainty, I can tell you that 48cm is the right size.

1/1
Over50
1 day ago

I am 6ft with 33" inseam and ride a 52cm Trekking S Rx. You should go for 48cm.
the 52cm frame will really too big for you and you would regret purchasing it.
Thanks Ravi. Do you think standover or reach would be the biggest mismatch for me on the 52cm XDuro Trekking 4.0 2017? Does your Trekking model have a slightly longer top tube and reach vs the 2017 4.0? I'm just trying to reconcile the opinions. I had a Haibike representative reach out to me and her advice was the Small 52cm. I'll loosely quote her as "I'm 5'6" with 30" inseam and I would ride the small and based on your specs would suggest the same for you". My R&M Charger lists standover at 82cm and with shoes on I can straddle that bike flat footed but I am barely touching the top tube (so zero additional clearance with that 82cm).

Ravi Kempaiah
1 day ago

Is Haibike represented? If so, did anyone have a chance to ride the Trekking Xduro 4.0? Its the class 1 2017 model. I'm thinking of purchasing one and would be really interested as to any review/feedback any riders have.

At the D.C. expo I attended in 2016, there was a BMW branded bike in the Bosch tent that I took for a spin. It was a class 1 bike but I found the geometry to be excellent. It was a nice ride for sure but it didn't look like any of the BMW bikes I saw when I just did a Google search ... maybe it was a prototype or something.

They only made limited number of them. We had a long discussion about it long time ago.
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/first-impressions-bmw-cruise-ebike-2014-compiled-april-2015.1706/

Over50
1 day ago

...And it was nice to get more of both toes on the ground. Guess my 30" inseam has shrunk a little with age. ;->
Sorry to resurrect this thread but I just wanted to get some Xduro Trekking owners' confirmation: I'm leaning towards purchasing the XDuro Trekking 4.0 2017 as my 2nd/backup commuter. Although it is a class 1, I've really fallen for the elegance of the battery and motor integration and like how that CX motor is compact and angled up. I think the class 1 won't cost me too much time off of my commute since I've got so much start/stop in the commute. And when I am cruising it is usually between 18mph to 23mph. Rarely do I ever hit 25mph.

Anyway, its again the situation as with many top brands where the Haibikes are not available locally for me to try/test and since their frames are a bit unique, I'm having to guess a bit on the correct size. I've read through all the available threads including everything above and am leaning towards a Small 52cm frame:
I'm 5'9" with about 29.5-30" inseam, 165 pounds and 9.5" shoe size (in case shoe size impacts wheelbase decisions). I have the R&M Charger in Medium (49cm) which I feel is a really good fit for both standover and reach. The Charger has a much longer wheelbase. One of my human powered bikes is a Spot Brand 52cm frame (classic diamond frame). At times I feel perhaps it is a bit small and my toes will clip the front wheel on turns if I am not careful.

So I have two very educated opinions that I would be best on the Small 52cm frame for the XDuro Trekking 4.0 (one Chris at Propel and the other a Haibike representative). I say very educated because both of these opinions are from people that have seen and ridden the bike as well as other Haibikes. Then I have opinions from my two local dealers that I should order the 56cm Medium. Neither of these dealers has ever seen the bike. My LBS took some "x/y" measurements from my Charger and said I should order the the M. The other shop said I might not be happy with the short reach on the 52cm. I guess this speaks to the wisdom of riding before you buy but that will require a lengthy trip and once again make it harder for me to buy locally. So for current Haibike Trekking owners, do you find your frame sizes are a good fit for you in terms of reach and standover? Also, it seems as if the seat tube lengths on these bikes might be a bit short. Do you know if they are long enough, particularly on the Small, to allow for a BodyFloat replacement?

Over50
1 day ago

Is Haibike represented? If so, did anyone have a chance to ride the Trekking Xduro 4.0? Its the class 1 2017 model. I'm thinking of purchasing one and would be really interested as to any review/feedback any riders have.

At the D.C. expo I attended in 2016, there was a BMW branded bike in the Bosch tent that I took for a spin. It was a class 1 bike but I found the geometry to be excellent. It was a nice ride for sure but it didn't look like any of the BMW bikes I saw when I just did a Google search ... maybe it was a prototype or something.

christoph
5 days ago

hello , help me with my choice please .
2 weeks ago , my haibike xduro trekking S PRO highspeed ( 2016) was stolen
now i can buy the same bike new for 2700 euro in Germany and the haibike xduro trekking RX (2016) for 2400 euro .
But i can also buy a used riese muller delite nuvinci (25 km speed) ,model 2016 with 1000 km for 2750 euro .
This bike looks as good as new and i can use a dongle on this bike .

thanks in advance

christoph
2 weeks ago

the xduro trekking was ( this weekend stolen) also a 45 speed . i am untrained , old and fat and it was hell for me , my friend could have done the trip under 1 hour . But i was happy that i had this bike . it took 1,5 battery to the top . Here in Belgium it is a plague for stealing bike's , mostly east european gangs . 4000 euro vanished :-(

MiamiMan007
3 weeks ago

I have a 2015 xDuro Trekking which I love. I'm 6' 2" with a 34" inseam. I have a 60cm frame. It works fine for me. I had a road bike years ago. It was a 26" or 66cm frame size. I probably am just comfortable with the larger frame. I'm sure I would be okay with a 58cm frame.

JayVee
3 weeks ago

I know there was another thread about adding wider tires and what the bike could accommodate w/out changing fenders and/or rims. Did you stick with the 38C? Do you know how wide you can go on your bike w/out modifying fenders etc? Its odd that (at least in the US), Haibike put the Super Moto X tires on their 20mph bike but 38C on the speed pedelec. Seems like it should be the other way around. If I end up buying the 5.0, I'd definitely want to add a wider tire if possible.

Currently I like the Bulls Cross Lite E as my 2nd (backup) e-bike which also has 38C but is a class 1. Court's reviews of the bike have been pretty favorable (he indicates that it wasn't too hard to sustain 23mph on the bike). Unfortunately I have no local Bulls dealers and I wanted to buy my 2nd bike from a local dealer this time.

Thus I'd default to my 2nd choice which is the Haibike XDuro Trekking 5.0 (my local Trek shop is also a Haibike dealer) but I'd want to add a wider tire even if I can only go to 40C. Distant 3rd and 4th choices are the Specialized Vado 6.0 (local dealer) and the R&M Roadster (no local dealer).

There's not really a lot of clearance with the fenders. I suspect you could put on 42Cs or maybe even 45Cs. I suggest you get a Thubuster. If you want to keep the same panniers, and be able to swap between bikes, you can use the XLC Carrymore adaptor plate & surrounding O ring. Look up Piper109's posts for the adaptor. He found it on eBay, I think. But he had to search a while for a supplier willing to ship to the US. The O ring is even more difficult to find. If you use the adaptor plate for a trunk bag, you can no longer use the panniers with the original rack (even if you have the right size hooks). I tried in the store: doesn't work. With the external O ring it might work, but needs to be tested.

But first check that you'll get the same rack as us (strongly suspect you will). In the EU there are very little differences between the 5.0 and 6.0, except for the drive. You should be aware that Haibike's S-Pedelec models have the lights on constantly and they can't be turned off. It's a nice safety feature, but uses up about 1.5 to 2% battery per hour. That's according to tests performed in my Kitchen, but it's probably fairly realistic.

Edit: Check this thread for the adaptor plate:

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/two-new-trekkings-need-advice-on-a-few-things.13372/

Over50
3 weeks ago

...The 700C x 38C tires on the Trekking don't absorb much, and the Suntour fork only helps with the really big bumps. There are a lot of small country roads here which are poorly paved, and the bike rattles a lot....

I know there was another thread about adding wider tires and what the bike could accommodate w/out changing fenders and/or rims. Did you stick with the 38C? Do you know how wide you can go on your bike w/out modifying fenders etc? Its odd that (at least in the US), Haibike put the Super Moto X tires on their 20mph bike but 38C on the speed pedelec. Seems like it should be the other way around. If I end up buying the 5.0, I'd definitely want to add a wider tire if possible.

Currently I like the Bulls Cross Lite E as my 2nd (backup) e-bike which also has 38C but is a class 1. Court's reviews of the bike have been pretty favorable (he indicates that it wasn't too hard to sustain 23mph on the bike). Unfortunately I have no local Bulls dealers and I wanted to buy my 2nd bike from a local dealer this time.

Thus I'd default to my 2nd choice which is the Haibike XDuro Trekking 5.0 (my local Trek shop is also a Haibike dealer) but I'd want to add a wider tire even if I can only go to 40C. Distant 3rd and 4th choices are the Specialized Vado 6.0 (local dealer) and the R&M Roadster (no local dealer).

Jan1of1
3 weeks ago

I just completed a six day, 350+ mile, ride of the C&O canal and GAP trail from Washington DC to Pittsburgh PA. The XDuro performed nicely except for one thing: The C&O was very muddy and the mud got kicked up from the front tires to the housing unit of the motor. From there it worked itself around to the front chain wheel and from there to the rear derailleur where it promptly deposited piles of mud which, in turn, prevented me from shifting gears until the mud was washed out. Possible fixes: 1) longer fenders for the front tires; 2) better design of the housing so the mud doesn't naturally flow onto the front chain wheel.

Sonoboy
1 month ago

Handlbar Bag. I have a Haibike XDuro Trekking bicycle and can mount rear panniers without any problem, but try finding and then mounting a handlebar bag that doesn't interfere with the bosch control unit (mounted on the center of the handlebars) or obstruct the front light. A possible solution is the Sackville Bar Tube bag from Rivendell Bicycles, but unfortunately they didn't have it in the right color with the delivery date of the desired color (Gray) unknown. The shape of the top tube makes it difficult to find a "cockpit" bag to use as a substitute for the handlebar bag. I've checked out gear from Revelate Designs (e.g., "gas tank" and "mag tank" and "jerry can") but don't think they will mount correctly given the shape of the top tube.

Lack of Water Bottle Braze-ons. To make up for the lack of bottle braze ons I purchased and mounted a Topeka Cage Mount to the handlebar and then mounted a water bottle cage to that. It isn't the best solution, but it better than lugging water on my back and sucking it through a tube.

Charging my battery. I really like my Bosch mid-drive system except for one thing - why did they design it so the PowerPack can't be charged while mounted to the bicycle? No work around for that - one has to disconnect the battery and bring it to the charger vs vice-versa.

Jan:
Ortlieb has addressed the issue of center mounted displays such as the Bosch with their E-bike mount #E 207 mount that has wider attachment legs to straddle the stem area. See the pdf that's linked below. Scroll all the way down, it's shown on the right-hand side.

https://www.ortlieb.com/wp-content/themes/ortlieb-theme/pdf/anleit/ultimate6.pdf

JayVee
1 month ago

Love the wider Alexrims MD35 rims with the Schwalbe Super Moto X, 62-584 (27.5 x 2.4") tires on the 2017 XDURO Trekking 4.0, but want the Bosch speed performance line 350w motor on the Trekking 5.0 S. The 5.0 S has the Alexrims MD21 with Schwalbe Energizer Pro (28" x 1.5") tires and was wondering if anyone knows about any clearance issues with swapping out the 28" MD21's for the 27.5" MD35's. Has anyone put a little wider rim/tire on their Haibike Trekking?

I own an Sduro Trekking 6.0 which is fairly similar to the Xduro Bosch variant posted above except for the Yamaha drive. You're spot on that these speed bikes could use wider tires. I often ride on older country roads, which are made of large concrete slab that have warped over the years, and the ride can be pretty jarring. Wider tires would certainly help with that and make dirt roads a little more accessible.

I made some measurements on my Trekking, and the fender stays are 4.8cms wide at the rear of the bike, which is roughly 1.8". You could probably bend them outwards a bit and get away with 2", so what Ravi said about the Xduro seems to apply to the Sduro as well. I think I'm going to put on 700x47Cs (28x1.75) or higher when the stock 700x38cs are used up.

I agree. Most S-pedelecs should have at least 750Whr battery.
Riese and Muller were not the first to introduce the concept of Dual battery. There were others like BH and Gepida, but they did not bring into the market for various reasons. R&M are certainly great bikes but they are heavy because of all the extra suspension and heavy frame built to accommodate the extra battery. They are clearly marketing their products well.

Gepida is an Hungarian company and most Bosch motors are produced in Hungary. They had an interesting heavy-duty cargo bike for display at the last year's Eurobike. I am not sure if it's available for sale.

Zemo had some very interesting bikes and I think you shared it first ... http://www.zemo.com/produkt/zemo-e-bike-ze-11-1000/

As you know I live in Switzerland, which possibly has some of the most 'exotic' e-bike laws ever written. Unlike many countries in the EU, it's not the COC (certificate of conformity) that makes the bike legal to register. Instead the local dealer has to certify that the bike is road-worthy and conforms to all Swiss laws (based on some additional 'certificates'). Therefore, in order to avoid a ton of administrative hassles, I'll probably be buying brands that are available locally. :)

Ravi Kempaiah
1 month ago

Love the wider Alexrims MD35 rims with the Schwalbe Super Moto X, 62-584 (27.5 x 2.4") tires on the 2017 XDURO Trekking 4.0, but want the Bosch speed performance line 350w motor on the Trekking 5.0 S. The 5.0 S has the Alexrims MD21 with Schwalbe Energizer Pro (28" x 1.5") tires and was wondering if anyone knows about any clearance issues with swapping out the 28" MD21's for the 27.5" MD35's. Has anyone put a little wider rim/tire on their Haibike Trekking?

I commute on Haibike Trekking S Rx (28mph, 2016 model).
I can take upto 2" wide tires with the same fenders but you can go upto 2.2 by changing the fenders. Uses the std 28" / 700C wheels.

The new Trekking 4.0 you linked uses the 20mph, CX motor but comes with 27.5" wheels and because they spec'd 2.4" tires, they are using MD35 rims. They are heavier and using them on a Trekking S 5.0 means that you have to use a new hub because the Speed version uses QC whereas the Trekking 4.0 Bosch CX version uses thru-axle. Also, you will have to lace the wheel with new spokes, find a new hub etc. Just too much work.
I really wish most bikes came with thru-axle systems.

You may want to wait till September because few major companies are launching S-pedelecs with dual battery options and 2.4" tires.

RoadWrinkle
1 month ago

Love the wider Alexrims MD35 rims with the Schwalbe Super Moto X, 62-584 (27.5 x 2.4") tires on the 2017 XDURO Trekking 4.0, but want the Bosch speed performance line 350w motor on the Trekking 5.0 S. The 5.0 S has the Alexrims MD21 with Schwalbe Energizer Pro (28" x 1.5") tires and was wondering if anyone knows about any clearance issues with swapping out the 28" MD21's for the 27.5" MD35's. Has anyone put a little wider rim/tire on their Haibike Trekking?

1/2
loginhater
1 month ago

Hello,
I've spent way too much time researching and not enough time on a bike. I am hoping this is the month I make a purchase.

The bike will be used to both commute and go on fun rides. My commute is about 8 miles each way with large hills. I will need a rack as I don't like riding with a backpack. I'd like to be able to go 50 miles on a fun ride. I am 6'3", 220lbs.

Features I am pretty set on having are: Hydro Disc brakes, 28MPH and a throttle in addition to the rack I mentioned above. I would like the bike to be able to climb a hill without the motor should I run out of juice, but not sure how feasible that is with the weight of these (and me). My hills are 6-10% grade for about a mile. It also must be reliable, I don't want something that will breakdown or need a new costly battery in the next 5 years.

I've been looking at the Specialized Turbo, Easy Motion NEO Nitro City, iZip E3 ProTour. 50 mile range seems to be an issue with all of them with the specialized rated as one that could possibly do it. I would consider others, I have heard Bosch mid-drives are very good but I think I want a throttle. Bikes that look more traditional are more appealing to me.

Budget is around $3k.

Thank you in advance for any feedback you have!

I'm the same size as you. HAibike also comes in larger sizes.

Can sill get a 2016 Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX for under 3K: http://www.crazylennysebikes.com/haibike-xduro-trekking-s-rx-2016

28 mph but no throttle control.

I also test drove a 28 mph Bulls that came in larger sizes. Really like that too but again no throttle control.

I ended up buying the Easy Motion Evo 29er and put a rack on it. Fits good and has throttle control, but only goes to 22 mph or so.

ath3na
2 months ago

Here's my LandShark (Hai = shark in German). So excited I couldn't even frame it properly. ;>

It's an awesome, well-built little tank. The perfect urban assault vehicle for rainy Seattle were every other block is a construction site and tearing up the roads around me seems to be a local hobby.

Anyone else have one of these puppies? I'm wondering:
1. What panniers will fix that rack?
2. What about dropper posts? Anyone know what fits?
3. Anyone cut down these wide handlebars?

I've honestly only ridden it home from the bike shop so far as I've been glued to my computers with a massive deadline crunch. I did love "turbo" mode and felt confident enough to pull out in traffic for the few blocks home - and I never ride in traffic. I have not yet tried using walk mode to get it up the half flight of stairs out of my apt basement.

I'm hoping the E-ness will help me get out and get some more exercise as various things have caused me to become weak and gain waaaaay too much weight. I haven't ridden in eons. I only purchased this because my old German Votec mountain bike was stolen a few months ago. Insurance would pay to replace it with a new one - but they won't just hand you the cash. I actually had to buy the bike and within a certain time frame.

ath3na
2 months ago

Huge? Compared to what? I'm 5' 7" with a 30in inseam. I just got a brand new 2017 Xduro Trekking 4.0. It's the high-step 48cm frame - I think they call it "XS" and I have no problem with standover height. Here's a quick pick of my "Landshark" (Hai = shark in German):
Landshark1 small[/url] by Athena Kekenes, on Flickr[/IMG]

It has 27.5" + sized tires, for reference.

vincent
2 months ago

dont know about the trekking bikes but if you look at the sduro vs xduro on the spec sheets a lot of times they are different

i have had a hard time finding a small enough yamaha or bulls with brose to fit me, wanted full suspension but am not going to be able to get one because the hard tail standover heights are shorter

Jaladhi
2 months ago

As @pxpaulx said, Haibike low step bikes are not that visually different. If it helps, I am 29" inseam as well and the low step 44cm Trekking fits me fine. It is the XDuro Trekking S RX but I'd think the frame is similar between XDuro and SDuro.

Thanks for all the replies. This is where I'm getting the dimensions for the SDuro Cross: http://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/344/2017-sduro-cross-4-0?variant=3848109740#geometry
and the Trek: https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/hybrid-bikes/electric-bikes/conduit/conduit/p/1329000-2017/

According to Haibike the XS Low step has a stand over height of 73cm, the medium is 72cm, and the XL is 71cm. Something isn't right!
http://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/344/2017-sduro-cross-4-0?variant=3848109740#geometry

I found another bike shop not too far away with an xduro trekking so I should be able to get this figured out.

Thanks again,
Hugh

Hugh Caldwell
2 months ago

Thanks for all the replies. This is where I'm getting the dimensions for the SDuro Cross: http://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/344/2017-sduro-cross-4-0?variant=3848109740#geometry
and the Trek: https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/hybrid-bikes/electric-bikes/conduit/conduit/p/1329000-2017/

According to Haibike the XS Low step has a stand over height of 73cm, the medium is 72cm, and the XL is 71cm. Something isn't right!
http://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/344/2017-sduro-cross-4-0?variant=3848109740#geometry

I found another bike shop not too far away with an xduro trekking so I should be able to get this figured out.

Thanks again,
Hugh

LimboJim
2 months ago

I have a Trekking Sduro 6.0. The PW-45 drive that equips it is identical to the PW series drive sold in the US (except for the higher 28mph cutoff speed).

There is no Tour mode provided on the PW series, but yet the difference between ECO and Standard modes is pretty sizable. This makes it difficult to get the most out of the battery since ECO is not usable in many situations (traffic, wind, moderate hills, etc.). To extend your range you have to observe the power meter very carefully and constantly switch into ECO at every opportunity. But this has an impact on rider safety. Whilst touring, I've found that my attention is often more focused on battery saving techniques than on the surrounding traffic. All that would be required to fix this is for Haibike/Yamaha to add a Tour mode that offers an intermediate level of assistance in between ECO and Standard modes.
FWIW, I have both SDURO and XDURO eMTBs, and have found the 400Wh batteries to be comparable in range using similar assist levels. Trail use, of course, is very different so I can't speak to the street experience.

That said, however, my XDUROs have a similarly significant difference to my SDURO from "Eco" to "Tour" or "Eco" to "Std," but I find that both motors' torque sensitivities allow me to manage battery drain at the higher levels without having to constantly switch back & forth. Brose motors only offer three levels, but also have tremendous torque sensing...

Jan1of1
2 months ago

Handlbar Bag. I have a Haibike XDuro Trekking bicycle and can mount rear panniers without any problem, but try finding and then mounting a handlebar bag that doesn't interfere with the bosch control unit (mounted on the center of the handlebars) or obstruct the front light. A possible solution is the Sackville Bar Tube bag from Rivendell Bicycles, but unfortunately they didn't have it in the right color with the delivery date of the desired color (Gray) unknown. The shape of the top tube makes it difficult to find a "cockpit" bag to use as a substitute for the handlebar bag. I've checked out gear from Revelate Designs (e.g., "gas tank" and "mag tank" and "jerry can") but don't think they will mount correctly given the shape of the top tube.

Lack of Water Bottle Braze-ons. To make up for the lack of bottle braze ons I purchased and mounted a Topeka Cage Mount to the handlebar and then mounted a water bottle cage to that. It isn't the best solution, but it better than lugging water on my back and sucking it through a tube.

Charging my battery. I really like my Bosch mid-drive system except for one thing - why did they design it so the PowerPack can't be charged while mounted to the bicycle? No work around for that - one has to disconnect the battery and bring it to the charger vs vice-versa.

JayVee
2 months ago

.." With any mid-drive there is a range of cadence or pedal rpm where the assist provides the best support. If you pedal too fast, you feel the assist fall off. The Yamaha assist is supposed to stop at 80 rpm, but to us, it felt happier at 65 rpm. The Bosch has a wider and less critical range of pedal rpm. "...
http://www.electricbikeaction.com/bike-comparison-haibike-sduro-trekking-rc-vs-xduro-trekking-rx/

That was an interesting read, but the conclusions are based on subjective opinions. Below you have a snapshot of my Power Meter and Cadence Meter. The Power Meter shows 5 bars meaning that the drive is providing a good level of assist, and at the bottom of the screen we can see that my cadence is 101 RPMs. It keeps on providing assistance above that cadence too. You can clearly hear the drive at higher cadences.

1/1
Howard Nelson
2 days ago

First off, great job Cort with your reviews. I found them about a year ago and watching them was instrumental in turning my curiosity into a desire which I acted on this past March. I was waiting for you to review this bike, but got anxious to pull the trigger in December. Unfortunately, the $3k closeout units were all sold out in my size but a local dealer cut me a pretty good deal on the 2017 5.0 model which has the 500 Wh battery. I had to wait until March, but I feel like it was worth it. I have about 800 miles on it now, all from commuting a few times to work here in San Diego. It's about 20 miles each way (Vista to Rancho Bernardo) and it takes me just over an hour. I average right around 20 mph +_ .5 mph. I ride mostly in Sport mode, with a little at Tour and Turbo mixed and the battery just drops to 2 bars within a mile of my destination so I figure about 32 mile range for my riding style and route (800 ft climbing). I typically cruise in the 23-26 mph range and climb in the 17-20 mph range. so far the only real complaint I have is the front fender tends to rattle a far amount and tthe rear light harness was coming loose until I tightend the connectors. I find the ride very comfortabe with no need to add a suspension seat post, but I am used to my road bike seat which I still ride 50-100 miles per week. I think my riding has gotten stronger since I got my Haibike as I still get a good workout on my ebike and i am riding more total miles per week.

I will keep you posted of any significant new insights or issues.
Todd

frank doster
3 days ago

wonderful for a guy like me, because of vision cannot drive.. I commute to work by bicycle daily. Thanks 22 miles on turbo, good range

Martian Megafauna
1 week ago

On tire width: "...for the electric bike world..." I like that this Haibike IS more of a bicycle than an e-motorcycle.
I am glad that there is a wide range of ebikes produced, from a standard bike with a hub motor all the way up to 60+ lb. battle-bikes that would be suitable for Mad Max. I get it that e-power permits you to push the extra mass and friction of huge tires and overbuilt frames, and that at higher speeds some ebike riders will be grateful for the e-moto nature of their ride.
However, regular bikes can go fast and take a beating too--think Paris-Roubaix.
We shouldn't think that because an ebike leans one way or the other that it is not up to 'standards'.

Back to the tires: those Haibike tires are wide and tough enough for all but hellish road conditions. MTB tires were of similar width not long ago, and these Schwalbe tires are more durable than they were. On the same roads that ebikers will ride these Haibikes there will be numerous old school bicycle riders on narrow 700x25 tires, and those poor folks will be doing just fine. And some will ride just as fast as the Haibikers. You don't necessarily need armored oversized tires, battle-ready frames, or full suspension on an ebike, but it is nice that there is a choice for those that want or need it.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 week ago

Well said, the space has evolved and there is a new "regular" which some people appreciate, I call it out only to explain the evolution and norm, like with the 2017 model. And, as someone with a sensitive back and neck, I prefer the larger tires for comfort. I'll try to make that my own vs. generalizing when I speak :)

Lynn Recker
1 week ago

Two things..... doesn't the 2017 model have fatter tires on 27.5 inch rims, and second, does Chris ever wear the same helmet twice in your vids?

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 week ago

Ha! Yeah, that's a great question... I think he likes experimenting with different gear when we go out. And yeah, the tires on the 2017 model are much fatter. I think you may be correct about the 27.5" rims as well but I haven't seen that model in person yet to confirm, just going off of their official specs at http://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/364/2017-xduro-trekking-4-0?variant=3857211748#specs which says 62-584 which equates to 27.5" x 2.4"

readyplayer2
1 week ago

I've had the 2016 SDURO Trekking RC for about 4 months. It uses a Yamaha motor vs. Bosch, and is Class 1 (20mph limit on motor assistance) vs Class 3 (28mph). Otherwise, the 2016 XDURO and SDURO models are near identical. I primarily use it for commuting (17-18 miles round trip with several steep and long hill climbs). I'm extremely happy with the build quality and the bike in general. I don't think you could go wrong with a Haibike.

Of course, there's always room for improvement. One minor annoyance is the rack. The oversized rack tubing, while sturdy, means those wishing to use Ortlieb panniers will need to purchase 20mm replacements for the top hooks / clips -- https://ortliebusa.com/product/ql2-1-20mm-top-hooks-e193/. And accessories for the CarryMore rack are all but unavailable in the USA, making the fancy spring loaded clip system useless.

Despite snugging the screw tightly during assembly, the front light fell off on one of the first rides and was dangling next to the fender. The EBR forums indicate this is a frequent occurrence. I'd love a setting where the lights come on automatically, and it would be great to be able to set the rear light to flash. The steady red light is not attention-getting enough for urban use on streets at dusk, so I've added a Planetbike Superflash to the seat post.

Those are literally my only complaints or suggestions for improvement. This is an awesome bike. The add-ons I've made have been the flashing rear light, Ortlieb Sport Packer Plus panniers, Ergon GP-1 ergonomic handgrips, and a BodyFloat suspension seat post.

readyplayer2
1 week ago

Of course, please feel free! I was trying to give back in some small way, I have found ElectricBikeReview.com to be absolutely invaluable both for pre-purchase research and for support with fellow owners on the forum. I honestly can't thank you enough for all the work you do.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 week ago

This is excellent feedback! I'm going to share some of it in the full review writeup I did if you don't mind. Thanks for taking the time to share so much :)

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS
1 week ago

This bike would look better with Fat tires. I also Looovvee the fact that it's offered in six frame sizes 😉. G👍👍D job Haibike .

G😛😛D job Court. We love your channel so much 👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏

✌ from "CLOTHED IN SHADOWS"👤

"CLOTHED IN SHADOWS"👤

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 week ago

It sounds like they were reading your mind with the 2017 version which uses 27.5" and 2.4" tires! http://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/364/2017-xduro-trekking-4-0?variant=3857211748#specs

Steve Donovan
1 week ago

It is a nice bike but I don't think I'd rely on its rear stays to absorb much if anything. As you point out another good candidate for a Thudbuster. I wonder about manufacturers why they don't deal with a good seat post company for wholesale pricing and include it as part of their package. It may be a hundred more for the buyer but definitely worth it.

Steve Donovan
1 week ago

Right that must be the hard-sell factor weighed against implementation. Too bad because I would think for a lot of first impressions a good functioning suspension post could make the difference. I wonder how many prospective buyers would be considering their own changes to a bike after it's purchased.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 week ago

Yeah, I'm with you Steve... perhaps they are concerned that it will raise the saddle and discourage some shorter riders who don't realize that they could swap it out for a cheaper post for under $10? Some ebikes are including seat post suspension units with their bikes now like the Motiv Spark https://electricbikereview.com/motiv/spark/ Kalkhoff Agattu B7 https://electricbikereview.com/kalkhoff/agattu-b7/ and Riese & Müller Charger https://electricbikereview.com/riese-muller/charger-gx-rohloff-hs/

Bruce Ballad
1 week ago

the frame looks so nice that the motor is looking kind of ugly and fat on it. other than this I like the bike.

Bruce Ballad
6 days ago

Ohh yes, that angled motor looks better.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 week ago

Yeah, they really improved the look for 2017 http://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/364/2017-xduro-trekking-4-0?variant=3857211748#specs

Chauncey Smith
1 week ago

Take my money this bike is my love.it looks so cool even in black .

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 week ago

I like it as well, Haibike always has beautiful designs and paint :)

James Mason
1 week ago

Bosch is taking over the world seems like every bike has a Bosch motor

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 week ago

Yeah, I feel like Yamaha is finally going to get competitive with their new system that offers high RPM and Shimano finally added a charging port on their downtube battery interface so you don't have to take the pack off every time. This is stuff that Bosch figured out over five years ago and they could have just copied... but didn't ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

James Mason
1 week ago

I have a bionx

Andrew
1 week ago

definitely for European mid drive ebikes, shimano seems popular with with US bikes. Also the budget bikes and kits are still very much into bafang.

Tonys6550
1 week ago

I love the squirrel making a run for it in the background @9:04
Then making another appearance in the tree @18:14 haha
🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿