Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX Review

Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Electric Bike Review
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Performance Line Speed Motor
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Intuvia Bell Grips Handlebar
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx 60 Lux Headlight Suntour Suspension Fork
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bm Toplight Led Sks Fenders
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Carrymore Rear Rack Adjustable Kickstand
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Electric Bike Charger
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Electric Bike Review
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Performance Line Speed Motor
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Intuvia Bell Grips Handlebar
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx 60 Lux Headlight Suntour Suspension Fork
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bm Toplight Led Sks Fenders
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Carrymore Rear Rack Adjustable Kickstand
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Electric Bike Charger

Summary

  • A sporty, 28 mph, commuter-ready, electric bicycle made in six frame sizes across two styles, a stiffer high-step and easy approach step-thru
  • Reinforced fenders stay quiet, oversized rack with spring latch and Racktime connector, integrated LED lights with aimable 60 LUX headlight
  • Hydraulic disc brakes provide excellent stopping power, 10-speed Shimano Deore drivetrain with larger 20T chainring for high-speed cadence
  • Excellent weight distribution, removable display and battery pack with forward-compatible interface, gel saddle, and suspension fork provide comfort

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Haibike

Model:

XDURO Trekking S RX

Price:

$4,599

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Touring, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

5 Year Frame, 2 Year Motor and Battery

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53 lbs (24.04 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.4 lbs (2.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy, Hydroformed Tubes, Gravity Casting Interface

Frame Sizes:

17.32 in (43.99 cm)18.9 in (48 cm)20.47 in (51.99 cm)22.05 in (56 cm)23.62 in (59.99 cm)25.2 in (64 cm)Diamond (48cm, 52cm, 56cm, 60cm) Step-Thru (44cm, 48cm, 52cm)

Geometry Measurements:

32" Stand Over Height on High Step

Frame Types:

High-Step, Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Dark Gray with Blue Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour HESC 45-DS HLO Suspension with 65 mm Travel, Lockout, 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore, 11-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore Triggers on Right

Cranks:

XDURO Aluminum Alloy 170 mm, 20T Sprocket with Narrow Wide Teeth and Alloy Chain Guard

Pedals:

XLC Alloy Platform, Cage Style

Headset:

FSA No. 57, Semi-Integrated, Tapered, Three 10 mm Risers

Stem:

XDURO Aluminum Alloy, A-Head, 90 mm Length

Handlebar:

XDURO Lowriser Aluminum Alloy, 29.5" Length

Brake Details:

Magura MT4 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Magura MT4 Levers with Reach Adjust

Grips:

XLC Sport with Locking Rings

Saddle:

Selle Royale Freccia

Seat Post:

XDURO Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

RYDE 622x21c, Double Wall

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14G Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Energizer Pro, 700 x 38c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

50 to 85 PSI, Tubeless Ready, Reflective Sidewall, Performance Line RaceGuard

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Integrated Haibike Headlight LED 60 LUX, Integrated BM Toplight LED Taillight, Carrymore Rear Rack with Spring Latch and Pannier Blockers 25 kg (55 lb) Max Weight, SKS Fenders with Rear Mud Flap, Rear Mounted Adjustable Length Kickstand, Flick Bell on Right Bar, Neoprene Slap Guard

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack with LED Charge Level Indicator, KMC X9 Chain

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Speed

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

570 watts

Motor Torque:

63 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

70 miles (113 km)

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque - Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 40 Nm, Tour 50 Nm, Sport 55 Nm, Turbo 63 Nm)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX, now called the Haibike XDURO Trekking 4.0, is an urban speed pedelec that’s geared towards commuting with integrated LED lights, a sturdy rear rack, and full-sized plastic fenders. The custom angular frame is designed to flex a bit for comfort with lower seat stays while providing a short nimble wheelbase for quick handling. Amazingly, it’s available in six frame sizes that are spread out across two frame styles. If you want the best power transfer and stiffest feel, consider the high-step as shown in the video. The mid-step is still going to be stiffer than a lot of the low-step frames seen on hybrid bikes but will be easier to mount and stand over for people with shorter inseams. Considering the rear rack position, you might find yourself making leg contact with a trunk bag if you swing your leg up and over from the rear on either model. For commuting purposes, this is an excellent platform. Not only does it offer Class 3 high-speed operation up to 28 mph assisted, it also provides comfort. The spring suspension (changed to air for 2017) pairs nicely with the gel saddle, riser stem, and low-rise handlebar to produce an upright feel. Note however, the high-pressure 700c tires, which deliver efficiency and rolling momentum. This is definitely a more aggressive urban commuter and the tires were swapped to wider Schwalbe Supermoto X for 2017 possibly to improve comfort. Weighing in at roughly 53 lbs for the 60 cm frame tested here, the bike distributes weight well, keeping the motor and battery low and centered on the frame. I’m a fan of the removable and forward compatible Bosch battery system and you get a Powerpack 400 here. The Trekking model offers integrated lights, a sturdy kickstand (that can bounce a little at high speed), quality grips, and powerful 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Magura. The quick release wheels and seat tube make it easy to setup, maintain, and transport, and the comprehensive 2-year warranty and vast dealer network worldwide give it a high resale value if you ever decide to upgrade.

Powering the XDURO Trekking electric bike is a Bosch Performance Line Speed motor capable of producing 63 Newton meters of torque. Rather than limiting speed to 20 mph as the standard Performance Line motor does, this one can peak out around 28 mph which is convenient for urban riding amongst automobiles. You will arrive at your destination sooner when using the Sport and Turbo modes of assist but will also drain the battery quicker due to wind resistance, which increases exponentially above ~20 mph. The motor freewheels, so you can pedal this bike unpowered without any drag, and the chainring is much smaller than a traditional bicycle because it spins 2.5 times per every crank arm revolution. There certainly a small amount of drag produced in this conversion but the smaller ring provides better chain grab and narrow-wide teeth fit snugly between the chain links to reduce drops. When the motor is active, this ring can start and stop very quickly. The 20 tooth sprocket is roughly equivalent to a standard 50 tooth chainring and pairs with a mid-level 10 speed cassette and Shimano Deore derailleur. This is a good range for the speed on offer so you won’t feel outpaced by the motor. All Bosch Performance Line motors offer shift detection and receive ongoing updates that dealers can download and install for you, which results in less drivetrain wear and an ever-improving experience. The motor on the Trekking S RX shown here protrudes a bit more than the Trekking 4.0 which is angled up and built into the downtube a bit more.

Similar styling improvements have been made for the battery interface which cups and partially surrounds the 2017 model. Haibike calls this “step-in battery concept” and it does look beautiful. I wonder how much weight the additional Aluminum plating and high-volume tires add on the latest model? At roughly 53 lbs, the Trekking S RX can become lighter if you move to a tubeless tire setup. The battery pack only weighs ~5.4 lbs and the interface is forward compatible so you could get the Powerpack 500 at some point down the line and have it work just fine. That pack weighs ~5.7 lbs but offers 25% more capacity which could be useful for commuting and high-speed riding. Both packs have an LED charge level indicator built into the left side and can be charged on or off the bike. I appreciate the looped handle piece at the top of the pack and secure locking core for protecting it on your bike if left outside. The included charger, also made by Bosch, offers 4 Amp output vs. just 2 Amps on most e-bike chargers I see. It’s relatively lightweight at under 2 lbs and compact enough that it would fit into a trunk bag or panniers easily.

Operating and controlling the ebike systems is a seamless and intuitive experience, even while riding. Simply charge and mount the battery, then press the power button at the lower left corner of the display panel. This brings the screen to life showing your current speed large and center. Above this is a battery charge level infographic with five tick marks. To the right, you’ll find an assist level readout with off, Eco, Tour, Sport, and Turbo. I tend to ride in Tour most frequently because it balances efficiency and range well, the occasional jump to Sport or Turbo will feel zippy and let you dash along with traffic or race through a straight section of pathway. Simply click up or down on the plastic button pad mounted near the left grip. This pad is within reach so that you can steer and brake unimpeded and it produces a tactile click with each press so that you can sense what’s going on without looking down at the display. The Intuvia display is faintly backlit for use in early morning or evening low-lighting conditions and can be swiveled front to back in order to reduce glare. It’s one of my favorite displays because of the styling, large display, and integrated Micro-USB port for use with a smartphone, GPS device, or other portable electronics.

I apologize for the delay in this review, the 2017 Haibike XDURO Trekking 4.0 is now available and offers some nice improvements to the Trekking S RX at roughly the same pricepoint. Both models are setup for a similar sporty-commuter experience and look great… although the Trekking 4.0 has an edge with the tighter motor and battery integration. Many shops will offer a discount on last-season products and I have found that Haibike sometimes releases new models later in the year and can have inventory stalls in the US. I enjoyed seeing this model with Chris at Propel Bikes in Brooklyn and found that it peformed well, even on the rough streets. The complaints I have include a bouncy kickstand that can produce a bit of noise at speed (though I still love this stand), a bit of motor whine at higher RPM riding, and the lack of bottle cage bosses on the seat tube. This last point may have to do with frame strength or sizing issues. The larger 60 mm frame I was on seemed to have room but the smaller sizes and mid-step design might not. Given the rear rack, there’s plenty of opportunities to use a trunk bag with bottle holster like this. If you tend to ride long distance or find that the higher speed is uncomfortable, consider adding a seat post suspension like this, but note that it will raise your minimum saddle height and could make mounting / dismounting a bit more precarious.

Pros:

  • Available in six frame sizes spread between two distinct frame designs, a traditional high-step and lower step-thru model, both are fairly active and sporty but should accommodate a wide range of rider body types
  • Wide range of gears, 10-speed Shimano Deore with a 20 tooth chainring, custom tuned for high-speed riding, you should be able to pedal comfortably up to ~28 mph
  • Reflective sidewall stripes illuminate the bike from both sides and keep you visible to automobiles, the backlight is tucked beneath the rack so trunk bags and panniers won’t obstruct it, the headlight can be aimed, it points where you steer, and is color matched to the frame, both lights run off the main battery pack for convenience and theft deterrence
  • Stylized angular frame follows the Haibike look, lower seat stays and shorter wheelbase offer comfortable but nimble handling, sloped top tube lowers the stand over height for easier dismounts
  • SKS plastic fenders keep you dry and clean, the rear fender connects to the cargo rack for strength and reduced vibration / noise
  • Large adjustable kickstand keeps the bike upright, it’s rear-mounted with plenty of space for the left crank arm to turn when parked or backing up
  • Both the display panel and battery can be quickly removed for safe keeping and off-bike charging, the battery mount interface is forward compatible with the larger Bosch Powerpack 500
  • You can charge or maintain portable electronic devices while riding with the Micro-USB port on the right edge of the Bosch Intuvia display panel, it offers 5 volts at 500 milliamps
  • High-pressure Schwalbe Energizer Pro tires can be converted to tubeless to reduce weight, overall weight of ~53 lbs is good considering the fenders and sturdy rear rack, built-in puncture protection RaceGuard liner
  • Most shifter, brake, and electronic cabling is internally routed to reduce snags, improve overall aesthetic, and make rack mounting easier, note the large rectangular plastic hole covers that make maintenance easier but keep cables clean entering and exiting the frame
  • At highs speed it’s nice to have a suspension fork and this one offers 65 mm travel and lockout, the Selle Royale gel saddle feels good and you could swap in a 31.6 mm suspension seat post for enhanced back and neck support (note that it will raise the minimum saddle height ~3 inches)
  • The Bosch drive system and controller offer shift detection to reduce drivetrain wear and provide some of the fastest response time for motor activation and cutoff that I have tested, it can operate at 120 RPM for higher cadence riding whereas some other systems cut out at 100 RPM
  • Powerful hydraulic disc brakes from Magura with large 180 mm rotors for smooth stops, adjustable reach levers fit small and large hands comfortably
  • Handsome neoprene slap guard, flick bell and locking grips, quick release wheels for easy maintenance and portability, fast and compact 4 Amp charger
  • The body position on this bike isn’t as aggressive as a traditional road bike or sport commuter, Haibike includes some risers, a steeper angled stem, and riser bars to produce a more upright body position and relax your back and neck

Cons:

  • The Bosch Performance Line motors produce a bit more noise, kind of a high pitched hum, when operating at full power or high RPM, you notice it more on smooth quiet roads
  • I like the alloy chainring protector but it doesn’t offer as much protection for your pants or dress as a full chain cover would
  • Originally priced at ~$4,500 this w asone of the more expensive electric bikes, it does offer high performance and great hardware but you pay for the brand, the dealer network, and the solid warranty, the 2017 model is priced similarly and you can usually get prior year model on sale from dealers for slightly less
  • Quick release is great if you don’t have to leave your bike parked outside at a rack all day, if you plan on commuting with the Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX then consider swapping the skewers, seat tube clamp, and headset with Pinhead hardware like this or something similar
  • The model shown in the photographs and video review above is a 2016 but the 2017 is very similar and has been upgraded with a thru-axle in the front for tighter handling and strength at high-speed
  • It really seems like there was room to add a bottle cage mounting point on the seat tube with this bike… I’m not sure why the skipped it? Even if you don’t put a water bottle there, it can be useful for mini pumps and folding locks etc.
  • The newer XDURO Trekking 4.0 has a nicer motor and battery integration, notice how the motor here is a bit rounded and sort of sticks forward and the battery is just hanging on the downtube vs. being cupped or partially integrated
  • At higher speed, the kickstand bounces a bit when riding over cracks and medium-sized bumps, you can hear it knocking and jittering a bit in the video review around 20:55
  • The rear rack uses oversized tubing which means that standard clip-on panniers won’t work or will need to have the clips replaced with 20 mm hardware like this, also, in the United States it seems like there are very few accessories available for use with the CarryMore slide in system
  • Many owners have reported that the front light can fall off easily and will dangle next to the fender, it sounds like the hardware just comes loose, consider using LocTite or just keeping a close eye on this part
  • The lights are wonderful but as with many integrated rear lights, there isn’t a flash mode, some owners have opted for aftermarket lights to generate more attention with flash

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Haibike Reviews

Haibike XDURO FullSeven Carbon Ultimate Review

  • MSRP: $16,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high-performance electric mountain bike available in four frame sizes, stiff carbon frame for improved power transfer and handling, carbon accents include seat post, saddle, handlebar, wheelset and more. Eleven speed Shimano Deore XTR drivetrain with Di2 electronic shifting for faster, more precise gear…...

Haibike SDURO AllMtn 6.0 Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A trail worthy, full suspension electric mountain bike with stiff lightweight frame construction, optimized suspension and a tightly integrated mid-drive motor from Yamaha. Upgraded 500 watt hour battery pack delivers 60+ miles on medium assist, powerful hydraulic disc…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautiful and capable all mountain style ebike with premium components from Schwalbe, Shimano, Magura and RockShox, the frame, fork and saddle are paint matched. The drive system is surprisingly powerful, delivering 80 Newton meters of peak torque output, it…...

Haibike XDURO Urban S RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed road bike with electric assist up to 28 mph (45 km/h), available in five frame sizes for improved fit and a vibration dampening seat post and shock stem for improved comfort. Efficient low-resistance tires with deep-dish aero rims and bladed spokes, keep the tire pressure up…...

Haibike SDURO Full FatSix Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only full suspension fat electric bikes I've seen, quality hardware including 20 speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, solid 2 year motor and battery warranty with 5 years on the frame. Powered by the Yamaha mid-drive ebike system with 500 watt motor, Zero Cadence pedal assist,…...

Haibike SDURO FullNine RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension 29er with mid-drive motor, slim battery and removable display by Yamaha, offers 80 Nm of torque and zero-cadence pedal assist response. The RX trim level is top of the line with light weight hardware from Shimano,…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN RC Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all mountain trail + downhill mid drive powered electric bike with 150 mm air suspension, rigid thru axles (15 mm front 142 x 12 mm rear). Impressive 20 speed drivetrain with quality Shimano Deore XT groupset, capable Shimano M615 hydraulic disc…...

Haibike XDURO DWNHLL Pro Review

  • MSRP: $8,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only true downhill ready electric bikes being made in series production, delivers a worldcup ready chassis and pro level components. Shimano Saint drivetrain and brakes (top of the line downhill groupset), with two piece Ice-Tech…...

Haibike XDURO FullLife RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Custom geometry with shorter reach to accommodate women (who tend to have shorter arms and torso but longer legs), shorter saddle with wider back, adjustable position brake levers for smaller hands. plush 120 mm front and rear Fox air suspension with 15 mm thru-axle front and…...

Haibike SDURO HardSeven SM Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable Haibike in the 2016 line, features the Yamaha drive system with a basic fixed LED display console, basic saddle, heavier oil suspension fork and cheaper Kenda tires without liners. Solid nine-speed SRAM X-4 drivetrain, no shift sensing or motor inhibitors, large 180 mm hydraulic…...

Haibike SDURO HardLife SL Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable women's specific electric bike from Haibike, leverages the Yamaha mid-drive, features an upgraded LCD screen with USB charging port. Excellent weight distribution, battery and motor are mounted low and center, the top tube is…...

Haibike XDURO Fullseven RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high performance full suspension electric mountain bike with quality components from Shimano, RockShox, and Fox. Responsive, durable and intuitive drive systems powered by Bosch, solid two year comprehensive warranty, five…...

Haibike XDURO AMT RX Review

  • MSRP: $6,350
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A high performance all-mountain electric bike with premium suspension from Fox and hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano. Thru axles on front and rear wheel for improved stiffness and durability, seat post dropper…...

Haibike XDURO Nduro Pro Review

  • MSRP: $9,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Premium downhill capable electric bike with 180 mm travel on front and rear Fox air suspension, available in four frame sizes for improved fit. Excellent weight distribution, Bosch-made Centerdrive motor and battery kept low and center on the frame,…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking Pro Review

  • MSRP: $4,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A long-range capable touring our commuting style electric bike that climbs well, has a balanced weight distribution and offers 27 speeds for a steady cadence at most speeds. Excellent accessories including LED lights, full-length fenders and sturdy rear-rack with spring latch...

Haibike XDURO Nduro RX

  • MSRP: $7,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The entry-level performance downhill electric bike from Haibike with 26" wheels , long travel 180 mm air suspension by Fox with CTD adjust and hydraulic Shimano SLX disc brakes. Excellent frame balance with motor and battery mounted low and center, quick release wheels with…...

Haibike XDURO Urban Review

  • MSRP: $4,450
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An efficient, light weight road style electric bike with a perfectly balanced all-aluminum frame and electric drive system. Convenient quick release wheels, integrated LED lights, quality hydraulic disc brakes and a removable battery…...

Haibike XDURO Fatsix Review

  • MSRP: $5,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The only Bosch powered electric fat bike I've seen with a suspension fork, RockShox air with remote lockout. Burly 15 mm front and 12 mm rear thru axles, extended bottom bracket and spindle…...

Haibike XDURO Race Review

  • MSRP: $6,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An extremely well balanced, light weight, high speed electric road bike - one of the only ebikes with drop bars that I've seen. Efficient centerdrive from Bosch can reach speeds of 28 mph and distance in excess of…...

Haibike XDURO FS RX 27.5″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance, well balanced, full suspension electric mountain bike with motor and battery kept low and center. Available in four frame sizes for good fit, larger 27.5" wheels improve traction, momentum and…...

Haibike XDURO RX 29″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Capable and sturdy eMountain bike with great frame balance, motor and battery (mounted low and center). Available in four frame sizes for good fit, large 29" wheels provide improved traction, momentum…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Ultra efficient centerdrive motor leverages nine speed cassette and three speed SRAM hub for climbing and distance. Top of the line commuting accessories including dynamo powered LED lights, rear rack with pump,…...

Haibike XDURO Superrace Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the lightest weight, most efficient and fastest riding electric road bikes available. Premium components including Magura MT4 hydraulic disc brakes, Integrated LED lights and SRAM X0 drivetrain...

Haibike XDURO AMT Pro Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Top of the line all mountain style electric bike with full suspension and middrive motor. Light weight, high end frame and components keep bike under 50 pounds...


Richard Coers
2 months ago

I put a small piece of 1/8″ thick adhesive backed foam on the flat riding surface of the kick stand. No more noise! Used to bug the hell out of me. 600 miles now, no other issues.

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Great tip Richard, thanks for sharing ;)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Ravi Kempaiah
3 days ago

Hi Ravi!

I hope you don't mind if I interject into this post but I've been following most of your posts, hoping to glean some information to make an informed decision on which bike to purchase. Have you separated yourself from Stromer? I originally narrowed my options to the yet available Specialized Turbo Vado 6, Trek Super Commuter+ 8s, Stromer ST2 and the Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX. I'm looking for a commuter bike that I can also use for carrying misc. gear (~30 lbs). I originally had a Trek FX+ but it was plagued with issues and I traded it in towards a Trek Domane 5.9 Di2. I was riding the Domane into December in the western suburbs (Naperville) but the narrow tires doesn't bode well for Chicagoland weather. I'd appreciate your feedback and also where you purchased your Haibike from. Is it worth jumping to the new Haibike SDURO Trekking 5?

Funny you ask that.
I live in Chicago myself and given the terrible road conditions here, I switched from Stromer ST2 to Haibike Trekking S Rx. While I absolutely enjoy the smoothness and quiet power delivery of ST2, hitting bumps and pot holes every 10m was not a nice feeling. I still use that for long distance travel.
I got my Trekking from Lenny's in Madison. Lenny has been like a father figure in my life and he even sponsored by Guinness Record ride last summer. So, mentioning him might be a conflict of interest here. But, I am happy to give you my honest answer.

Among your list, Trek Super Commuter 8+ would be a great choice. You could run those Super Moto X at low PSI and with the Body Float, you would have no problem on the Chicago roads.
Looks like you are a pretty seasoned cyclist (not everyone rides a Trek Domane 5.9 wth Di2). You should also consider the BULLS Dail-E Grinder. It does come with Di2, Bosch speed motor and the Supernova M99 lighting that you see on the Trek Super commuter. The geometry is more relaxed compared to the Trek but it's so much lighter than the ST2 and the trekking S Rx. At 48lbs, it really handles very well. 2" Marathon Supereme + RockShox paragon does a great job of mitigating bumps.
http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/dail-e-grinder/

The rack on the Dail-E grinder is rated for 60lbs. So, I don't see any problem carrying stuff like groceries or laptop/lunch.

I recently did a weekend ride to Milwaukee and back on my Haibike Trekking S Rx: https://www.strava.com/activities/1118854733. While I was able to do the trip on 2 batteries, I also came to realize that upright riding positions just doesn't cut it for long rides like that. I am looking to switch back to the Dail-E grinder myself and retire the Trekking S Rx. It has been a great bike. I rode it throughout the winter and it has performed flawlessly. If you have the opportunity to pick up a Trekking S Rx, I would recommend it because it's an older year model and most shops offer some sale on those. You could also switch out the batteries to the newer 500Whr ones.

I am hesitant to recommend the Vado 6.0. I rode that bike at the Chicago Bike Expo and it rode great. In theory, that would be a terrific bike for the Chicago roads but there are some glitches with the Specialized firmware, their mission control app but if you have a dealer near you who is willing to back you up, it is worth a shot.
If you already have a pretty good relationship with your Trek dealer, then Super Commuter 8+ would be a great choice as well. My thinking may be different from yours. I am not going to own any system that has super proprietary battery geometry and related hardware. If I get another Bosch powered bike (whether it is Tern GSD or Yuba Spicy cargo bike or even Mountain bike), I could switch out batteries and chargers. Also, if two or more family members have similar kind of bikes, then you gain additional battery for occasional rides and stuff like that. With Bosch, you have more flexibility. There are more spares and accessories available for Bosch than the Specialized. I am not trying to downplay specialized here but their mountain bike battery is different from road bike and both of these are very different from their Turbo bikes. Now, I could use Trekking S Rx batteries on Yuba Cargo or any eMTB and eliminate redundancy.

1/2
McSpiffy
4 days ago

I rode the Super Race for over 500 miles and just switched Trekking S Rx (heavier but has rack, fenders, wider tires, riser handlebar etc). Our store tech uses the SuperRace tight now.
I really enjoyed the Super Race and for summer time, it's a great bike to have. 28c skinny tires on icy roads can be troublesome, for now I am using the Trekking S Rx.

Race is not very different from the SuperRace in terms of performance. Both weigh around 40lbs and have great agility. TRP Zurich cable actuated hydraulic ones on the Race are quite good but I felt the Magura MT4's on the SuperRace to be tiny bit better.

There are mounting points for rack and fenders. 37 miles each way is going to be a lot of saddle time. Feel free to ask me any questions.

Hi Ravi!

I hope you don't mind if I interject into this post but I've been following most of your posts, hoping to glean some information to make an informed decision on which bike to purchase. Have you separated yourself from Stromer? I originally narrowed my options to the yet available Specialized Turbo Vado 6, Trek Super Commuter+ 8s, Stromer ST2 and the Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX. I'm looking for a commuter bike that I can also use for carrying misc. gear (~30 lbs). I originally had a Trek FX+ but it was plagued with issues and I traded it in towards a Trek Domane 5.9 Di2. I was riding the Domane into December in the western suburbs (Naperville) but the narrow tires doesn't bode well for Chicagoland weather. I'd appreciate your feedback and also where you purchased your Haibike from. Is it worth jumping to the new Haibike SDURO Trekking 5?

Over50
5 days ago

The 2018 Powerfly 5 hardtail looks like it could be set up as a pretty sweet commuter. Nice battery integration and they've tilted that CX motor up similar to the Haibike design. The description says the PF 5 comes ready for lights, fenders, rack. Certainly for fenders and the rack you'll have some nice Bontrager options that will be compatible which really helps with finding bags/panniers. As for lights, I would bet they thought through this and would have options that can run off the electrical system w/out too much headache of rework. I'd suggest checking with a Trek dealer. My local Trek shop has sent a bunch of employees to Bosch school and last I heard they were working on their certification. So I'd ask about their Bosch certification when you talk to the Trek shops. As for taking the racks/fenders on and off - yeah, I would think that would be a major pain. For light trail riding I would think you should just leave them on. If you get good quality stuff and it is installed correctly I wouldn't think it would rattle much. All my rack and fender bikes do not rattle much and although I am not trail riding I am riding on some really crappy paved roads. I check periodically to make sure nothing is coming loose. Usually when I get noise it is from something I have attached (my lock, keys in a bag etc).

I recently purchased the Haibike XDuro 4.0 Trekking as a second commuter bike. I like it but if I had seen the 2018 PF 5 prior to ordering the Haibike I might have given the 2018 PF 5 some serious consideration dependent on my Trek shop's ability to install lights. For my purposes as almost solely a street commuter, I'd have changed the tires too.

hurricane56
2 weeks ago

You "could" use the bike without the battery, but don't expect much over 10-12mph. These bikes are heavy, even without the battery. Some people like higher speed touring, the drop bars reduce wind drag. My Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX has a single front, 10 rear. I bought it at a year end close-out for $2700. With the 500w/hr battery, the 40-60 mile range is fairly easy to hit. I like the idea of a short travel suspension fork, but not crazy about the spring unit on the Haibike. I'll likely upgrade that next year.

When did you buy your bike? I got the exact same bike on clearance and only got the 400wh battery. As for the suspension fork, I just ditched the stock Suntour fork for a RockShox Paragon. It makes a huge difference to have a real air suspension and that is the main disappointment with Haibike as they use the lower end Suntour spring fork on many of their models.

rich c
2 weeks ago

You "could" use the bike without the battery, but don't expect much over 10-12mph. These bikes are heavy, even without the battery. Some people like higher speed touring, the drop bars reduce wind drag. My Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX has a single front, 10 rear. I bought it at a year end close-out for $2700. With the 500w/hr battery, the 40-60 mile range is fairly easy to hit. I like the idea of a short travel suspension fork, but not crazy about the spring unit on the Haibike. I'll likely upgrade that next year.

bob armani
3 weeks ago

Some exciting designs and Dual battery options for hardtails and trekking models.

What do you think?

Wow those are beautiful looking ebikes. I was just getting use to associating Yamaha with the Sduro line, and Bosch with Xduro, now they are changing it. It seems Haibike can really confuse the consumer with over 70 models to choose from and now another change (which is good) however, seems you have to keep yourself sharp on their design changes within one brand! I always felt it was just a matter of time before Haibike would start to make a more integrated design in the battery placement. The Powertube design and shape looks a lot like Giant Ebike Dirt- E+ IMHO. A long wait till these are available for all of us overzealous riders!:D

Chris Nolte
3 weeks ago

The naming conventions are a bit strange. We now have Bosch drives in the Sduro line.
It is a little strange. They made Sduro and Xduro independent of the drive system. Sduro is sporty and Xduro is extreme. So Trekking, Cross and short travel bikes will be Sduro and everything else will be Xduro regardless of motor. I think it's going to cause a lot of cofusion, but long term it could make sense. But idk

Over50
3 weeks ago

The LBS replaced the thru axle and I took delivery of the XDuro Trekking today but was only able to ride about 5 miles. I'm going to put some miles on it and maybe a few commutes and then make a decision about adding a longer stem to increase reach and perhaps coupling a longer stem with shorter handle bars. The 720mm bars seem to go well with a short stem but it will take some getting used. I've added the BodyFloat, the Origen8 Slimline 9 pedals and a B&M mirror. Modifications to come: switching out the bell tomorrow for a Spurcycle and I need to find a seat clamp (don't want to lock the bike up downtown with a quick release clamp). I'll also be looking for an Abus mount for my folding lock, a velcro or similar water bottle mount and a pannier (I've ordered an Arkel GT-18 but will post that in another thread). The CX motor is super responsive but the 20mph cutoff puts a real damper on the thrill of that acceleration. The bike gets up to 19mph instantly so when you top out at 19.5, it really leaves you wanting more. Attached are some pictures of the bike next to the R&M Charger as well as some of the components such as the pedals I added:

1/5
Sonoboy
4 weeks ago

I'm about to take delivery of the XDuro Trekking 4.0 for on-road commuting use. I had planned to ride a lot in Sport mode to take advantage of the higher torque of the CX motor and my commute has a lot of start/stop with a few busy intersections. Would I benefit from the eMTB mode for a commuting application? When I mentioned the software update to the LBS the other day they were aware of it but felt it wouldn't be of any benefit for my application and they told me that it really more benefits mountain bikers who need to have their hands off the controls over technical terrain.
In a drag race, it's torque that gets you off the line and up to speed. So I would say the start/stop nature of your commute would be helped by the CX motor.

Over50
4 weeks ago

I'm about to take delivery of the XDuro Trekking 4.0 for on-road commuting use. I had planned to ride a lot in Sport mode to take advantage of the higher torque of the CX motor and my commute has a lot of start/stop with a few busy intersections. Would I benefit from the eMTB mode for a commuting application? When I mentioned the software update to the LBS the other day they were aware of it but felt it wouldn't be of any benefit for my application and they told me that it really more benefits mountain bikers who need to have their hands off the controls over technical terrain.

Over50
4 weeks ago

My XDuro Trekking 4.0 arrived and I test rode it today - XS 48 cm.

To recap: the LBS agreed to put the bike back in stock if it didn't fit and order a different size. I've already paid full purchase price. I had some very knowledgeable folks advise me to order the S (52 cm) and some equally knowledgeable folks advise me to order the XS. For example, a Haibike Marketing Manager was in the small camp and Ravi and the shop advertising to be the biggest Haibike seller (California) was in the XS camp. I set the bike side by side with my Riese and Muller Charger (M - 49 cm) and it does seem a bit smaller front to back but not noticeably so. The height seemed the same. I straddled the XS Haibike with shoes on and I touch the top tube. This is almost identical Stand-Over to the Charger although their specs say they are different by a cm or two. Judging solely on Stand-Over, I think the XS must be the right bike as I would have zero clearance on the next larger size.

Now considering reach: the bike felt good when I started riding. It is actually more upright vs the Charger and my arms were extended without being locked. It seemed fine but after about 30 minutes of riding I felt some pressure on my hands that I don't feel on the Charger. This seemed odd to be with a more upright position. I think the seat could be pushed back about 1/2 inch and the grips could be rotated. An LBS employee commented that the bike looked a bit short in terms of reach. So this is the odd thing about the Haibike vs the R&M. It has the scrunched up Top Tube and shorter wheelbase and everything seems closer together. I like the sporty feel of the bike and I even like the wider handle bars. They do help me starting from a stop because I have more leverage. I feel like the bike will be easier to take over curbs and sidewalks when necessary whereas the R&M is a better cruiser over long distance. I definitely wouldn't say I like it better than the R&M it is just different in ride and handling. The Haibike is sportier, perhaps lighter, and feels more agile. The R&M feels like it is more comfortable and would be particularly more comfortable over longer distance of on-road riding (it is worth mentioning that they have the same tires).

As for the 20mph CX motor: I definitely can't get the top speeds I get with the R&M but we're talking 19-20 mph vs 22-25 mph. I don't know though if it will really slow my commute. I did the test ride a lot in Sport mode and the torque is impressive. I feel like I just jump right up to 19 mph effortlessly. I'm sure it will cost me a bit of time on my commute but I don't think it will be much. It might save me some effort given the amount of start/stop on my commute and also have and advantage at those downtown intersections. I usually ride the R&M in Tour and Eco and focus more on range vs fast starting and top speed. The Haibike in Sport mode just jumps into action and then levels off between 19 and 20 mph. I didn't have much success maintaining a speed over 21 although I did top out at 21 on my test ride. The motor cutoff is extremely smooth and I don't necessarily feel it cutting out. I moreso just notice that I can't keep accelerating.

I think it is going to be a good 2nd commuter offering very different ride characteristics. My LBS guy left on vacation today so I didn't take delivery of the bike. Next steps are to order a BodyFloat and some pedals (opting for the same Origin8 Slimline 9s currently in use on my R&M). When my LBS guy is back I'll go back in for some additional fit confirmation before I agree to take this bike.

Just a note on the rear carrier: there was a thread here about panniers/bags for the rack. I ordered the 20 mm Ortleib hooks and took them to the LbS to check the size. They seemed way too large. Odd because folks seemed pretty certain the Standwell rack requires the 20 mm hooks. The rack is a bit wider vs the Racktime on the R&M thus the Vaude bag with the Racktime adaptor will not fit. Also, the lights are not daytime running and can be turned on/off. I thought they would be like the euro-lights on the R&M and 'always on'. But I'm glad for the potential daylight battery savings when I can use my USB rechargeable flashers. When/if I take delivery of this bike next week I will post some side by side comparison pictures to the R&M.

rich c
1 month ago

I don't know what the full discharge time is on the display. But I have read that is a way to reboot the control, by letting the display fully discharge. I have a 2016 Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX. I upgraded to the 500whr when I bought the bike new. $300 extra for that deal, for 25% more range and very little weight increase. I ride a lot of paved rail trails in my area. One direction is slight descending grade change for 14 miles. It will tell me I have 79 miles left on the range when I get downtown. Of course climbing back home changes that, but have gotten pretty close to 60 miles on a couple days of pleasure riding with a full bar left on it and 2 miles range indicated. I'd spend the extra $200 bucks for the upgrade if I were you. By the way, I have a 2016 Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX as well. It had the 400whr battery on it. So I never want for a battery with a good charge in it. LOL I'm a sucker for a good sale. I bought the Full Seven as a demo with 150 miles on it, and the Trekking was a model year end clearance. Less than $6,000 in both of them.

rich c
1 month ago

Do they have the fork recall issue taken care of? I bought a 2016 model, then found it had a safety recall on it. I took it back and bought an XDURO Trekking S RX.

rich c
1 month ago

Never heard of one exploding, and this is the first time I've even read about it. I put 1500 miles on a Sondors fat bike, original tires, 1200 miles on a Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX original tires, and 740 miles on a Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX original tires. No problems for me.

Chris Martone
1 month ago

Hello,
I just joined group, My name is Chris and I have a 2015 Haibike Xduro Trekking commuter bike that I use to get to and from work. Two days ago i tried to ride to work but the left hand power switch would not do anything. I also noticed that it did not go through the normal start up thing where it cycles through the version and stuff when you first turn it on. The buttons on the display unit worked worked but not the operating unit switch. At that time even the headlight still worked. I took battery off and then put it back on and then the display would come back on and then turn itself off in 5-10 seconds.
Is it normal that with the battery not installed the speedometer dont work? Also is in normal that with battery not installed the left hand operating unit switch does not work?. Unfortunately I brought the bike new from a ebay seller witch I think is not a bike dealer. I am having problems trying to get a copy of a invoice that would have a vin number on it for warranty as I just brought the bike in febuary of this year.
Also the display unit is not showing any error codes which is making it hard to figure out what the problem is. Does anyone know if I just get a new battery will the bike start working again?

Over50
1 month ago

I have a 2016 XDuro Trekking bike... I'm 5'8 with a 30" inseam. I went with - and it fits perfectly - a medium frame which you don't even mention.

Yes, I eliminated from my decision making since most of the opinions I received (and examples I found in the forums) were between the 48 XS and the 52 S. I think I found an example or two of riders on the M 56 but they were folks all at 6 feet or over. One seller of the 2017 4.0 refers to its "redesigned geometry" so I hope it isn't so much so that it is invalidating the opinions I received which might be based on other and earlier Trekking models.

Jan1of1
1 month ago

I'm in the Haibike forum and not the Riese and Muller forum? Yes, I ordered a Haibike as my backup commuter and alternative ride. I wanted to switch things up from time to time and have a backup bike for when the R&M needs work.

Several factors influenced my purchase decision in no particular order:

felt like a class 1 wouldn't slow my commute too much due to all the start/stop I have
wanted to stick with Bosch for availability of service and battery sharing
wanted a lower tech bike as the backup (no IGH and not a belt drive) for better availability of mechanics that can fix things
most important: wanted to buy locally this time since I am not a good mechanic and am dependent on local shops for service - for mid-tier to upper-tier Bosch bikes this means I only had access to Trek and Haibike (could buy Specialized Vado if I wanted a Brose bike)
Rode the Trek Super Commuter but don't like the red color and lack of suspension
Really like the motor and battery integration on the Trekking 4.0; how the CX motor is tilted up, also like the lighting on the 4.0
Pleased with the Super Moto-X tires on the R&M and same come on the Trekking 4.0; originally thought to go to a narrower tire but my roads really suck; and I've run over a lot of glass with my Moto-X tires and so far no flats

The biggest concern was sizing and there are some posts in this thread about that:
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/are-haibikes-huge.13377/page-2
Trying the bike for sizing wasn't going to be an option unless I was willing to travel. I spent quite a bit of money doing this when I purchased the R&M and didn't really want to repeat with this purchase. So sizing was the biggest concern/risk with this purchase. I had several knowledgeable opinions steering me to the S 52cm and several to the XS 48cm frame (I'm 5'8" to 5'9" and 29.5" inseam - buy 30" inseam jeans). I ordered the XS as the opinions and feedback on this forum seemed to tick slightly in the favor of the XS. But the real clincher was the shop telling me they would put the bike into inventory if it wasn't the right size and order another for me. Great service from the shop which is primarily a Trek dealer but also sells IZip. They are a local outfit with a few locations and one of their locations has sold some Haibikes. My location has never stocked one so they had to do some research on order process etc. But they seem to think the bike will be one they can sell to another customer if it doesn't fit me. That really reduced my risk of purchase. I even offered to pay a restocking fee if necessary but they cited me being a good customer etc and said that wouldn't be necessary.

We also compared the Trekking 4.0 specs to some Treks and it seemed to fit more closely to the Powerfly 5 which they had in the shop. I took out a 17.5" Powerfly 5 (really fun bike by the way) and it seemed a good fit. Standover height on the Powerfly was listed the same as the Trekking 4.0 for instance. Geometries after that varied somewhat but fingers crossed that the 17.5" Powerfly was close enough of a proxy to the XS Trekking 4.0.

So when the bike comes in and if it fits I plan to make some mods (BodyFloat, maybe pedals, maybe handlebars, locking seat clamp maybe some security skewers), find some fitting panniers and/or trunk bag, and then break the bike in for some later summer commuting. I hope to have some feedback and comparisons to the R&M Charger to post here in the near future.

I have a 2016 XDuro Trekking bike... I'm 5'8 with a 30" inseam. I went with - and it fits perfectly - a medium frame which you don't even mention.

christoph
2 months ago

2 weeks ago my Haibike trekking xduro pro was stolen in Belgium and i found this bike (on the internet )in Amsterdam.
Btw ,Amsterdamned is great , don't ask me how i managed to get home :)
, i bought this bike second hand for 2750 euro, it had 1035 km ,was 1 year old and in perfect condition .
the only thing i needed was new brakepads. I also bought a bikespeed rs dongle but i need at least a 2o sprocket to get 45 km and don't look like a hamster
this bike feels like a Landrover discovery vs the haibike lada .
I never thought there was so a different in drive feeling , the only problem is the saddle , not good
help me please with a new saddle
sorry for my English writing

Over50
2 months ago

I'm in the Haibike forum and not the Riese and Muller forum? Yes, I ordered a Haibike as my backup commuter and alternative ride. I wanted to switch things up from time to time and have a backup bike for when the R&M needs work.

Several factors influenced my purchase decision in no particular order:

felt like a class 1 wouldn't slow my commute too much due to all the start/stop I have
wanted to stick with Bosch for availability of service and battery sharing
wanted a lower tech bike as the backup (no IGH and not a belt drive) for better availability of mechanics that can fix things
most important: wanted to buy locally this time since I am not a good mechanic and am dependent on local shops for service - for mid-tier to upper-tier Bosch bikes this means I only had access to Trek and Haibike (could buy Specialized Vado if I wanted a Brose bike)
Rode the Trek Super Commuter but don't like the red color and lack of suspension
Really like the motor and battery integration on the Trekking 4.0; how the CX motor is tilted up, also like the lighting on the 4.0
Pleased with the Super Moto-X tires on the R&M and same come on the Trekking 4.0; originally thought to go to a narrower tire but my roads really suck; and I've run over a lot of glass with my Moto-X tires and so far no flats

The biggest concern was sizing and there are some posts in this thread about that:
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/are-haibikes-huge.13377/page-2
Trying the bike for sizing wasn't going to be an option unless I was willing to travel. I spent quite a bit of money doing this when I purchased the R&M and didn't really want to repeat with this purchase. So sizing was the biggest concern/risk with this purchase. I had several knowledgeable opinions steering me to the S 52cm and several to the XS 48cm frame (I'm 5'8" to 5'9" and 29.5" inseam - buy 30" inseam jeans). I ordered the XS as the opinions and feedback on this forum seemed to tick slightly in the favor of the XS. But the real clincher was the shop telling me they would put the bike into inventory if it wasn't the right size and order another for me. Great service from the shop which is primarily a Trek dealer but also sells IZip. They are a local outfit with a few locations and one of their locations has sold some Haibikes. My location has never stocked one so they had to do some research on order process etc. But they seem to think the bike will be one they can sell to another customer if it doesn't fit me. That really reduced my risk of purchase. I even offered to pay a restocking fee if necessary but they cited me being a good customer etc and said that wouldn't be necessary.

We also compared the Trekking 4.0 specs to some Treks and it seemed to fit more closely to the Powerfly 5 which they had in the shop. I took out a 17.5" Powerfly 5 (really fun bike by the way) and it seemed a good fit. Standover height on the Powerfly was listed the same as the Trekking 4.0 for instance. Geometries after that varied somewhat but fingers crossed that the 17.5" Powerfly was close enough of a proxy to the XS Trekking 4.0.

So when the bike comes in and if it fits I plan to make some mods (BodyFloat, maybe pedals, maybe handlebars, locking seat clamp maybe some security skewers), find some fitting panniers and/or trunk bag, and then break the bike in for some later summer commuting. I hope to have some feedback and comparisons to the R&M Charger to post here in the near future.

Ravi Kempaiah
2 months ago

Thanks Ravi. Do you think standover or reach would be the biggest mismatch for me on the 52cm XDuro Trekking 4.0 2017? Does your Trekking model have a slightly longer top tube and reach vs the 2017 4.0?

Haibike sizing is very weird and off-scale. See image below.
Both the 2016 Trekking S Rx and 2017 Trekking 4.0 have very similar frames and at your height, both reach and the top tube height would be uncomfortable.
With great certainty, I can tell you that 48cm is the right size.

1/1
Over50
2 months ago

I am 6ft with 33" inseam and ride a 52cm Trekking S Rx. You should go for 48cm.
the 52cm frame will really too big for you and you would regret purchasing it.
Thanks Ravi. Do you think standover or reach would be the biggest mismatch for me on the 52cm XDuro Trekking 4.0 2017? Does your Trekking model have a slightly longer top tube and reach vs the 2017 4.0? I'm just trying to reconcile the opinions. I had a Haibike representative reach out to me and her advice was the Small 52cm. I'll loosely quote her as "I'm 5'6" with 30" inseam and I would ride the small and based on your specs would suggest the same for you". My R&M Charger lists standover at 82cm and with shoes on I can straddle that bike flat footed but I am barely touching the top tube (so zero additional clearance with that 82cm).

Ravi Kempaiah
2 months ago

Is Haibike represented? If so, did anyone have a chance to ride the Trekking Xduro 4.0? Its the class 1 2017 model. I'm thinking of purchasing one and would be really interested as to any review/feedback any riders have.

At the D.C. expo I attended in 2016, there was a BMW branded bike in the Bosch tent that I took for a spin. It was a class 1 bike but I found the geometry to be excellent. It was a nice ride for sure but it didn't look like any of the BMW bikes I saw when I just did a Google search ... maybe it was a prototype or something.

They only made limited number of them. We had a long discussion about it long time ago.
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/first-impressions-bmw-cruise-ebike-2014-compiled-april-2015.1706/

Over50
2 months ago

...And it was nice to get more of both toes on the ground. Guess my 30" inseam has shrunk a little with age. ;->
Sorry to resurrect this thread but I just wanted to get some Xduro Trekking owners' confirmation: I'm leaning towards purchasing the XDuro Trekking 4.0 2017 as my 2nd/backup commuter. Although it is a class 1, I've really fallen for the elegance of the battery and motor integration and like how that CX motor is compact and angled up. I think the class 1 won't cost me too much time off of my commute since I've got so much start/stop in the commute. And when I am cruising it is usually between 18mph to 23mph. Rarely do I ever hit 25mph.

Anyway, its again the situation as with many top brands where the Haibikes are not available locally for me to try/test and since their frames are a bit unique, I'm having to guess a bit on the correct size. I've read through all the available threads including everything above and am leaning towards a Small 52cm frame:
I'm 5'9" with about 29.5-30" inseam, 165 pounds and 9.5" shoe size (in case shoe size impacts wheelbase decisions). I have the R&M Charger in Medium (49cm) which I feel is a really good fit for both standover and reach. The Charger has a much longer wheelbase. One of my human powered bikes is a Spot Brand 52cm frame (classic diamond frame). At times I feel perhaps it is a bit small and my toes will clip the front wheel on turns if I am not careful.

So I have two very educated opinions that I would be best on the Small 52cm frame for the XDuro Trekking 4.0 (one Chris at Propel and the other a Haibike representative). I say very educated because both of these opinions are from people that have seen and ridden the bike as well as other Haibikes. Then I have opinions from my two local dealers that I should order the 56cm Medium. Neither of these dealers has ever seen the bike. My LBS took some "x/y" measurements from my Charger and said I should order the the M. The other shop said I might not be happy with the short reach on the 52cm. I guess this speaks to the wisdom of riding before you buy but that will require a lengthy trip and once again make it harder for me to buy locally. So for current Haibike Trekking owners, do you find your frame sizes are a good fit for you in terms of reach and standover? Also, it seems as if the seat tube lengths on these bikes might be a bit short. Do you know if they are long enough, particularly on the Small, to allow for a BodyFloat replacement?

Over50
2 months ago

Is Haibike represented? If so, did anyone have a chance to ride the Trekking Xduro 4.0? Its the class 1 2017 model. I'm thinking of purchasing one and would be really interested as to any review/feedback any riders have.

At the D.C. expo I attended in 2016, there was a BMW branded bike in the Bosch tent that I took for a spin. It was a class 1 bike but I found the geometry to be excellent. It was a nice ride for sure but it didn't look like any of the BMW bikes I saw when I just did a Google search ... maybe it was a prototype or something.

You Toober
5 days ago

@ 3:29 - You would be a FOOL to park a bike like that at a public bike rack.

chrispark11
2 months ago

Cool bike, but $4,600!!! These bikes will remain totally niche until these prices get real. I hope they sell NONE of them and they learn their lesson about being greedy and overpriced. Sheesh!

Howard Nelson
2 months ago

First off, great job Cort with your reviews. I found them about a year ago and watching them was instrumental in turning my curiosity into a desire which I acted on this past March. I was waiting for you to review this bike, but got anxious to pull the trigger in December. Unfortunately, the $3k closeout units were all sold out in my size but a local dealer cut me a pretty good deal on the 2017 5.0 model which has the 500 Wh battery. I had to wait until March, but I feel like it was worth it. I have about 800 miles on it now, all from commuting a few times to work here in San Diego. It's about 20 miles each way (Vista to Rancho Bernardo) and it takes me just over an hour. I average right around 20 mph +_ .5 mph. I ride mostly in Sport mode, with a little at Tour and Turbo mixed and the battery just drops to 2 bars within a mile of my destination so I figure about 32 mile range for my riding style and route (800 ft climbing). I typically cruise in the 23-26 mph range and climb in the 17-20 mph range. so far the only real complaint I have is the front fender tends to rattle a far amount and tthe rear light harness was coming loose until I tightend the connectors. I find the ride very comfortabe with no need to add a suspension seat post, but I am used to my road bike seat which I still ride 50-100 miles per week. I think my riding has gotten stronger since I got my Haibike as I still get a good workout on my ebike and i am riding more total miles per week.

I will keep you posted of any significant new insights or issues.
Todd

frank doster
2 months ago

wonderful for a guy like me, because of vision cannot drive.. I commute to work by bicycle daily. Thanks 22 miles on turbo, good range

Martian Megafauna
2 months ago

On tire width: "...for the electric bike world..." I like that this Haibike IS more of a bicycle than an e-motorcycle.
I am glad that there is a wide range of ebikes produced, from a standard bike with a hub motor all the way up to 60+ lb. battle-bikes that would be suitable for Mad Max. I get it that e-power permits you to push the extra mass and friction of huge tires and overbuilt frames, and that at higher speeds some ebike riders will be grateful for the e-moto nature of their ride.
However, regular bikes can go fast and take a beating too--think Paris-Roubaix.
We shouldn't think that because an ebike leans one way or the other that it is not up to 'standards'.

Back to the tires: those Haibike tires are wide and tough enough for all but hellish road conditions. MTB tires were of similar width not long ago, and these Schwalbe tires are more durable than they were. On the same roads that ebikers will ride these Haibikes there will be numerous old school bicycle riders on narrow 700x25 tires, and those poor folks will be doing just fine. And some will ride just as fast as the Haibikers. You don't necessarily need armored oversized tires, battle-ready frames, or full suspension on an ebike, but it is nice that there is a choice for those that want or need it.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Well said, the space has evolved and there is a new "regular" which some people appreciate, I call it out only to explain the evolution and norm, like with the 2017 model. And, as someone with a sensitive back and neck, I prefer the larger tires for comfort. I'll try to make that my own vs. generalizing when I speak :)

Lynn Recker
2 months ago

Two things..... doesn't the 2017 model have fatter tires on 27.5 inch rims, and second, does Chris ever wear the same helmet twice in your vids?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Ha! Yeah, that's a great question... I think he likes experimenting with different gear when we go out. And yeah, the tires on the 2017 model are much fatter. I think you may be correct about the 27.5" rims as well but I haven't seen that model in person yet to confirm, just going off of their official specs at http://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/364/2017-xduro-trekking-4-0?variant=3857211748#specs which says 62-584 which equates to 27.5" x 2.4"

readyplayer2
2 months ago

I've had the 2016 SDURO Trekking RC for about 4 months. It uses a Yamaha motor vs. Bosch, and is Class 1 (20mph limit on motor assistance) vs Class 3 (28mph). Otherwise, the 2016 XDURO and SDURO models are near identical. I primarily use it for commuting (17-18 miles round trip with several steep and long hill climbs). I'm extremely happy with the build quality and the bike in general. I don't think you could go wrong with a Haibike.

Of course, there's always room for improvement. One minor annoyance is the rack. The oversized rack tubing, while sturdy, means those wishing to use Ortlieb panniers will need to purchase 20mm replacements for the top hooks / clips -- https://ortliebusa.com/product/ql2-1-20mm-top-hooks-e193/. And accessories for the CarryMore rack are all but unavailable in the USA, making the fancy spring loaded clip system useless.

Despite snugging the screw tightly during assembly, the front light fell off on one of the first rides and was dangling next to the fender. The EBR forums indicate this is a frequent occurrence. I'd love a setting where the lights come on automatically, and it would be great to be able to set the rear light to flash. The steady red light is not attention-getting enough for urban use on streets at dusk, so I've added a Planetbike Superflash to the seat post.

Those are literally my only complaints or suggestions for improvement. This is an awesome bike. The add-ons I've made have been the flashing rear light, Ortlieb Sport Packer Plus panniers, Ergon GP-1 ergonomic handgrips, and a BodyFloat suspension seat post.

readyplayer2
2 months ago

Of course, please feel free! I was trying to give back in some small way, I have found ElectricBikeReview.com to be absolutely invaluable both for pre-purchase research and for support with fellow owners on the forum. I honestly can't thank you enough for all the work you do.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

This is excellent feedback! I'm going to share some of it in the full review writeup I did if you don't mind. Thanks for taking the time to share so much :)

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
2 months ago

This bike would look better with Fat tires. I also Looovvee the fact that it's offered in six frame sizes 😉. G👍👍D job Haibike .

G😛😛D job Court. We love your channel so much 👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏

✌ from "CLOTHED IN SHADOWS"👤

"CLOTHED IN SHADOWS"👤

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

It sounds like they were reading your mind with the 2017 version which uses 27.5" and 2.4" tires! http://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/364/2017-xduro-trekking-4-0?variant=3857211748#specs

Steve Donovan
2 months ago

It is a nice bike but I don't think I'd rely on its rear stays to absorb much if anything. As you point out another good candidate for a Thudbuster. I wonder about manufacturers why they don't deal with a good seat post company for wholesale pricing and include it as part of their package. It may be a hundred more for the buyer but definitely worth it.

Steve Donovan
2 months ago

Right that must be the hard-sell factor weighed against implementation. Too bad because I would think for a lot of first impressions a good functioning suspension post could make the difference. I wonder how many prospective buyers would be considering their own changes to a bike after it's purchased.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Yeah, I'm with you Steve... perhaps they are concerned that it will raise the saddle and discourage some shorter riders who don't realize that they could swap it out for a cheaper post for under $10? Some ebikes are including seat post suspension units with their bikes now like the Motiv Spark https://electricbikereview.com/motiv/spark/ Kalkhoff Agattu B7 https://electricbikereview.com/kalkhoff/agattu-b7/ and Riese & Müller Charger https://electricbikereview.com/riese-muller/charger-gx-rohloff-hs/

Bruce Ballad
2 months ago

the frame looks so nice that the motor is looking kind of ugly and fat on it. other than this I like the bike.

Bruce Ballad
2 months ago

Ohh yes, that angled motor looks better.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Yeah, they really improved the look for 2017 http://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/364/2017-xduro-trekking-4-0?variant=3857211748#specs

Chauncey Smith
2 months ago

Take my money this bike is my love.it looks so cool even in black .

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

I like it as well, Haibike always has beautiful designs and paint :)

James Mason
2 months ago

Bosch is taking over the world seems like every bike has a Bosch motor

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Yeah, I feel like Yamaha is finally going to get competitive with their new system that offers high RPM and Shimano finally added a charging port on their downtube battery interface so you don't have to take the pack off every time. This is stuff that Bosch figured out over five years ago and they could have just copied... but didn't ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

James Mason
2 months ago

I have a bionx

Andrew
2 months ago

definitely for European mid drive ebikes, shimano seems popular with with US bikes. Also the budget bikes and kits are still very much into bafang.

Tonys6550
2 months ago

I love the squirrel making a run for it in the background @9:04
Then making another appearance in the tree @18:14 haha
🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿