Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX Review

Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Electric Bike Review
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Performance Line Speed Motor
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Intuvia Bell Grips Handlebar
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx 60 Lux Headlight Suntour Suspension Fork
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bm Toplight Led Sks Fenders
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Carrymore Rear Rack Adjustable Kickstand
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Electric Bike Charger
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Electric Bike Review
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Performance Line Speed Motor
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Intuvia Bell Grips Handlebar
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx 60 Lux Headlight Suntour Suspension Fork
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bm Toplight Led Sks Fenders
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Carrymore Rear Rack Adjustable Kickstand
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Haibike Xduro Trekking S Rx Bosch Electric Bike Charger

Summary

  • A sporty, 28 mph, commuter-ready, electric bicycle made in six frame sizes across two styles, a stiffer high-step and easy approach step-thru
  • Reinforced fenders stay quiet, oversized rack with spring latch and Racktime connector, integrated LED lights with aimable 60 LUX headlight
  • Hydraulic disc brakes provide excellent stopping power, 10-speed Shimano Deore drivetrain with larger 20T chainring for high-speed cadence
  • Excellent weight distribution, removable display and battery pack with forward-compatible interface, gel saddle, and suspension fork provide comfort

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Haibike

Model:

XDURO Trekking S RX

Price:

$4,599

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Touring, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

5 Year Frame, 2 Year Motor and Battery

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53 lbs (24.04 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.4 lbs (2.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy, Hydroformed Tubes, Gravity Casting Interface

Frame Sizes:

17.32 in (43.99 cm)18.9 in (48 cm)20.47 in (51.99 cm)22.05 in (56 cm)23.62 in (59.99 cm)25.2 in (64 cm)Diamond (48cm, 52cm, 56cm, 60cm) Step-Thru (44cm, 48cm, 52cm)

Geometry Measurements:

32" Stand Over Height on High Step

Frame Types:

High-Step, Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Dark Gray with Blue Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour HESC 45-DS HLO Suspension with 65 mm Travel, Lockout, 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore, 11-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore Triggers on Right

Cranks:

XDURO Aluminum Alloy 170 mm, 20T Sprocket with Narrow Wide Teeth and Alloy Chain Guard

Pedals:

XLC Alloy Platform, Cage Style

Headset:

FSA No. 57, Semi-Integrated, Tapered, Three 10 mm Risers

Stem:

XDURO Aluminum Alloy, A-Head, 90 mm Length

Handlebar:

XDURO Lowriser Aluminum Alloy, 29.5" Length

Brake Details:

Magura MT4 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Magura MT4 Levers with Reach Adjust

Grips:

XLC Sport with Locking Rings

Saddle:

Selle Royale Freccia

Seat Post:

XDURO Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

RYDE 622x21c, Double Wall

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14G Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Energizer Pro, 700 x 38c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

50 to 85 PSI, Tubeless Ready, Reflective Sidewall, Performance Line RaceGuard

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Integrated Haibike Headlight LED 60 LUX, Integrated BM Toplight LED Taillight, Carrymore Rear Rack with Spring Latch and Pannier Blockers 25 kg (55 lb) Max Weight, SKS Fenders with Rear Mud Flap, Rear Mounted Adjustable Length Kickstand, Flick Bell on Right Bar, Neoprene Slap Guard

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack with LED Charge Level Indicator, KMC X9 Chain

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Speed

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

570 watts

Motor Torque:

63 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

70 miles (113 km)

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque - Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 40 Nm, Tour 50 Nm, Sport 55 Nm, Turbo 63 Nm)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX, now called the Haibike XDURO Trekking 4.0, is an urban speed pedelec that’s geared towards commuting with integrated LED lights, a sturdy rear rack, and full-sized plastic fenders. The custom angular frame is designed to flex a bit for comfort with lower seat stays while providing a short nimble wheelbase for quick handling. Amazingly, it’s available in six frame sizes that are spread out across two frame styles. If you want the best power transfer and stiffest feel, consider the high-step as shown in the video. The mid-step is still going to be stiffer than a lot of the low-step frames seen on hybrid bikes but will be easier to mount and stand over for people with shorter inseams. Considering the rear rack position, you might find yourself making leg contact with a trunk bag if you swing your leg up and over from the rear on either model. For commuting purposes, this is an excellent platform. Not only does it offer Class 3 high-speed operation up to 28 mph assisted, it also provides comfort. The spring suspension (changed to air for 2017) pairs nicely with the gel saddle, riser stem, and low-rise handlebar to produce an upright feel. Note however, the high-pressure 700c tires, which deliver efficiency and rolling momentum. This is definitely a more aggressive urban commuter and the tires were swapped to wider Schwalbe Supermoto X for 2017 possibly to improve comfort. Weighing in at roughly 53 lbs for the 60 cm frame tested here, the bike distributes weight well, keeping the motor and battery low and centered on the frame. I’m a fan of the removable and forward compatible Bosch battery system and you get a Powerpack 400 here. The Trekking model offers integrated lights, a sturdy kickstand (that can bounce a little at high speed), quality grips, and powerful 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Magura. The quick release wheels and seat tube make it easy to setup, maintain, and transport, and the comprehensive 2-year warranty and vast dealer network worldwide give it a high resale value if you ever decide to upgrade.

Powering the XDURO Trekking electric bike is a Bosch Performance Line Speed motor capable of producing 63 Newton meters of torque. Rather than limiting speed to 20 mph as the standard Performance Line motor does, this one can peak out around 28 mph which is convenient for urban riding amongst automobiles. You will arrive at your destination sooner when using the Sport and Turbo modes of assist but will also drain the battery quicker due to wind resistance, which increases exponentially above ~20 mph. The motor freewheels, so you can pedal this bike unpowered without any drag, and the chainring is much smaller than a traditional bicycle because it spins 2.5 times per every crank arm revolution. There certainly a small amount of drag produced in this conversion but the smaller ring provides better chain grab and narrow-wide teeth fit snugly between the chain links to reduce drops. When the motor is active, this ring can start and stop very quickly. The 20 tooth sprocket is roughly equivalent to a standard 50 tooth chainring and pairs with a mid-level 10 speed cassette and Shimano Deore derailleur. This is a good range for the speed on offer so you won’t feel outpaced by the motor. All Bosch Performance Line motors offer shift detection and receive ongoing updates that dealers can download and install for you, which results in less drivetrain wear and an ever-improving experience. The motor on the Trekking S RX shown here protrudes a bit more than the Trekking 4.0 which is angled up and built into the downtube a bit more.

Similar styling improvements have been made for the battery interface which cups and partially surrounds the 2017 model. Haibike calls this “step-in battery concept” and it does look beautiful. I wonder how much weight the additional Aluminum plating and high-volume tires add on the latest model? At roughly 53 lbs, the Trekking S RX can become lighter if you move to a tubeless tire setup. The battery pack only weighs ~5.4 lbs and the interface is forward compatible so you could get the Powerpack 500 at some point down the line and have it work just fine. That pack weighs ~5.7 lbs but offers 25% more capacity which could be useful for commuting and high-speed riding. Both packs have an LED charge level indicator built into the left side and can be charged on or off the bike. I appreciate the looped handle piece at the top of the pack and secure locking core for protecting it on your bike if left outside. The included charger, also made by Bosch, offers 4 Amp output vs. just 2 Amps on most e-bike chargers I see. It’s relatively lightweight at under 2 lbs and compact enough that it would fit into a trunk bag or panniers easily.

Operating and controlling the ebike systems is a seamless and intuitive experience, even while riding. Simply charge and mount the battery, then press the power button at the lower left corner of the display panel. This brings the screen to life showing your current speed large and center. Above this is a battery charge level infographic with five tick marks. To the right, you’ll find an assist level readout with off, Eco, Tour, Sport, and Turbo. I tend to ride in Tour most frequently because it balances efficiency and range well, the occasional jump to Sport or Turbo will feel zippy and let you dash along with traffic or race through a straight section of pathway. Simply click up or down on the plastic button pad mounted near the left grip. This pad is within reach so that you can steer and brake unimpeded and it produces a tactile click with each press so that you can sense what’s going on without looking down at the display. The Intuvia display is faintly backlit for use in early morning or evening low-lighting conditions and can be swiveled front to back in order to reduce glare. It’s one of my favorite displays because of the styling, large display, and integrated Micro-USB port for use with a smartphone, GPS device, or other portable electronics.

I apologize for the delay in this review, the 2017 Haibike XDURO Trekking 4.0 is now available and offers some nice improvements to the Trekking S RX at roughly the same pricepoint. Both models are setup for a similar sporty-commuter experience and look great… although the Trekking 4.0 has an edge with the tighter motor and battery integration. Many shops will offer a discount on last-season products and I have found that Haibike sometimes releases new models later in the year and can have inventory stalls in the US. I enjoyed seeing this model with Chris at Propel Bikes in Brooklyn and found that it peformed well, even on the rough streets. The complaints I have include a bouncy kickstand that can produce a bit of noise at speed (though I still love this stand), a bit of motor whine at higher RPM riding, and the lack of bottle cage bosses on the seat tube. This last point may have to do with frame strength or sizing issues. The larger 60 mm frame I was on seemed to have room but the smaller sizes and mid-step design might not. Given the rear rack, there’s plenty of opportunities to use a trunk bag with bottle holster like this. If you tend to ride long distance or find that the higher speed is uncomfortable, consider adding a seat post suspension like this, but note that it will raise your minimum saddle height and could make mounting / dismounting a bit more precarious.

Pros:

  • Available in six frame sizes spread between two distinct frame designs, a traditional high-step and lower step-thru model, both are fairly active and sporty but should accommodate a wide range of rider body types
  • Wide range of gears, 10-speed Shimano Deore with a 20 tooth chainring, custom tuned for high-speed riding, you should be able to pedal comfortably up to ~28 mph
  • Reflective sidewall stripes illuminate the bike from both sides and keep you visible to automobiles, the backlight is tucked beneath the rack so trunk bags and panniers won’t obstruct it, the headlight can be aimed, it points where you steer, and is color matched to the frame, both lights run off the main battery pack for convenience and theft deterrence
  • Stylized angular frame follows the Haibike look, lower seat stays and shorter wheelbase offer comfortable but nimble handling, sloped top tube lowers the stand over height for easier dismounts
  • SKS plastic fenders keep you dry and clean, the rear fender connects to the cargo rack for strength and reduced vibration / noise
  • Large adjustable kickstand keeps the bike upright, it’s rear-mounted with plenty of space for the left crank arm to turn when parked or backing up
  • Both the display panel and battery can be quickly removed for safe keeping and off-bike charging, the battery mount interface is forward compatible with the larger Bosch Powerpack 500
  • You can charge or maintain portable electronic devices while riding with the Micro-USB port on the right edge of the Bosch Intuvia display panel, it offers 5 volts at 500 milliamps
  • High-pressure Schwalbe Energizer Pro tires can be converted to tubeless to reduce weight, overall weight of ~53 lbs is good considering the fenders and sturdy rear rack, built-in puncture protection RaceGuard liner
  • Most shifter, brake, and electronic cabling is internally routed to reduce snags, improve overall aesthetic, and make rack mounting easier, note the large rectangular plastic hole covers that make maintenance easier but keep cables clean entering and exiting the frame
  • At highs speed it’s nice to have a suspension fork and this one offers 65 mm travel and lockout, the Selle Royale gel saddle feels good and you could swap in a 31.6 mm suspension seat post for enhanced back and neck support (note that it will raise the minimum saddle height ~3 inches)
  • The Bosch drive system and controller offer shift detection to reduce drivetrain wear and provide some of the fastest response time for motor activation and cutoff that I have tested, it can operate at 120 RPM for higher cadence riding whereas some other systems cut out at 100 RPM
  • Powerful hydraulic disc brakes from Magura with large 180 mm rotors for smooth stops, adjustable reach levers fit small and large hands comfortably
  • Handsome neoprene slap guard, flick bell and locking grips, quick release wheels for easy maintenance and portability, fast and compact 4 Amp charger
  • The body position on this bike isn’t as aggressive as a traditional road bike or sport commuter, Haibike includes some risers, a steeper angled stem, and riser bars to produce a more upright body position and relax your back and neck

Cons:

  • The Bosch Performance Line motors produce a bit more noise, kind of a high pitched hum, when operating at full power or high RPM, you notice it more on smooth quiet roads
  • I like the alloy chainring protector but it doesn’t offer as much protection for your pants or dress as a full chain cover would
  • Originally priced at ~$4,500 this w asone of the more expensive electric bikes, it does offer high performance and great hardware but you pay for the brand, the dealer network, and the solid warranty, the 2017 model is priced similarly and you can usually get prior year model on sale from dealers for slightly less
  • Quick release is great if you don’t have to leave your bike parked outside at a rack all day, if you plan on commuting with the Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX then consider swapping the skewers, seat tube clamp, and headset with Pinhead hardware like this or something similar
  • The model shown in the photographs and video review above is a 2016 but the 2017 is very similar and has been upgraded with a thru-axle in the front for tighter handling and strength at high-speed
  • It really seems like there was room to add a bottle cage mounting point on the seat tube with this bike… I’m not sure why the skipped it? Even if you don’t put a water bottle there, it can be useful for mini pumps and folding locks etc.
  • The newer XDURO Trekking 4.0 has a nicer motor and battery integration, notice how the motor here is a bit rounded and sort of sticks forward and the battery is just hanging on the downtube vs. being cupped or partially integrated
  • At higher speed, the kickstand bounces a bit when riding over cracks and medium-sized bumps, you can hear it knocking and jittering a bit in the video review around 20:55
  • The rear rack uses oversized tubing which means that standard clip-on panniers won’t work or will need to have the clips replaced with 20 mm hardware like this, also, in the United States it seems like there are very few accessories available for use with the CarryMore slide in system
  • Many owners have reported that the front light can fall off easily and will dangle next to the fender, it sounds like the hardware just comes loose, consider using LocTite or just keeping a close eye on this part
  • The lights are wonderful but as with many integrated rear lights, there isn’t a flash mode, some owners have opted for aftermarket lights to generate more attention with flash

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Haibike Reviews

Haibike SDURO HardFour 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high performance, purpose built electric mountain bike for kids or petite adults... but mostly kids! Limited top speed of 15 mph for safety, full 9-speed Shimano drivetrain. Capable 160 mm hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable-reach levers for smaller hands, only available in…...

Haibike SDURO HardNine 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the most affordable Haibikes in the line, available in four frame sizes, relatively lightweight, large 29er tires provide float and momentum at speed for cross country riding. Very capable mid-drive system (the same motor and battery as some higher-priced Haibike models), zero…...

Haibike XDURO FullSeven Carbon Ultimate Review

  • MSRP: $16,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high-performance electric mountain bike available in four frame sizes, stiff carbon frame for improved power transfer and handling, carbon accents include seat post, saddle, handlebar, wheelset and more. Eleven speed Shimano Deore XTR drivetrain with Di2 electronic shifting for faster, more precise gear…...

Haibike SDURO AllMtn 6.0 Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A trail worthy, full suspension electric mountain bike with stiff lightweight frame construction, optimized suspension and a tightly integrated mid-drive motor from Yamaha. Upgraded 500 watt hour battery pack delivers 60+ miles on medium assist, powerful hydraulic disc…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautiful and capable all mountain style ebike with premium components from Schwalbe, Shimano, Magura and RockShox, the frame, fork and saddle are paint matched. The drive system is surprisingly powerful, delivering 80 Newton meters of peak torque output, it…...

Haibike XDURO Urban S RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed road bike with electric assist up to 28 mph (45 km/h), available in five frame sizes for improved fit and a vibration dampening seat post and shock stem for improved comfort. Efficient low-resistance tires with deep-dish aero rims and bladed spokes, keep the tire pressure up…...

Haibike SDURO Full FatSix Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only full suspension fat electric bikes I've seen, quality hardware including 20 speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, solid 2 year motor and battery warranty with 5 years on the frame. Powered by the Yamaha mid-drive ebike system with 500 watt motor, Zero Cadence pedal assist,…...

Haibike SDURO FullNine RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension 29er with mid-drive motor, slim battery and removable display by Yamaha, offers 80 Nm of torque and zero-cadence pedal assist response. The RX trim level is top of the line with light weight hardware from Shimano,…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN RC Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all mountain trail + downhill mid drive powered electric bike with 150 mm air suspension, rigid thru axles (15 mm front 142 x 12 mm rear). Impressive 20 speed drivetrain with quality Shimano Deore XT groupset, capable Shimano M615 hydraulic disc…...

Haibike XDURO DWNHLL Pro Review

  • MSRP: $8,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only true downhill ready electric bikes being made in series production, delivers a worldcup ready chassis and pro level components. Shimano Saint drivetrain and brakes (top of the line downhill groupset), with two piece Ice-Tech…...

Haibike XDURO FullLife RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Custom geometry with shorter reach to accommodate women (who tend to have shorter arms and torso but longer legs), shorter saddle with wider back, adjustable position brake levers for smaller hands. plush 120 mm front and rear Fox air suspension with 15 mm thru-axle front and…...

Haibike SDURO HardSeven SM Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable Haibike in the 2016 line, features the Yamaha drive system with a basic fixed LED display console, basic saddle, heavier oil suspension fork and cheaper Kenda tires without liners. Solid nine-speed SRAM X-4 drivetrain, no shift sensing or motor inhibitors, large 180 mm hydraulic…...

Haibike SDURO HardLife SL Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable women's specific electric bike from Haibike, leverages the Yamaha mid-drive, features an upgraded LCD screen with USB charging port. Excellent weight distribution, battery and motor are mounted low and center, the top tube is…...

Haibike XDURO Fullseven RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high performance full suspension electric mountain bike with quality components from Shimano, RockShox, and Fox. Responsive, durable and intuitive drive systems powered by Bosch, solid two year comprehensive warranty, five…...

Haibike XDURO AMT RX Review

  • MSRP: $6,350
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A high performance all-mountain electric bike with premium suspension from Fox and hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano. Thru axles on front and rear wheel for improved stiffness and durability, seat post dropper…...

Haibike XDURO Nduro Pro Review

  • MSRP: $9,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Premium downhill capable electric bike with 180 mm travel on front and rear Fox air suspension, available in four frame sizes for improved fit. Excellent weight distribution, Bosch-made Centerdrive motor and battery kept low and center on the frame,…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking Pro Review

  • MSRP: $4,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A long-range capable touring our commuting style electric bike that climbs well, has a balanced weight distribution and offers 27 speeds for a steady cadence at most speeds. Excellent accessories including LED lights, full-length fenders and sturdy rear-rack with spring latch...

Haibike XDURO Nduro RX

  • MSRP: $7,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The entry-level performance downhill electric bike from Haibike with 26" wheels , long travel 180 mm air suspension by Fox with CTD adjust and hydraulic Shimano SLX disc brakes. Excellent frame balance with motor and battery mounted low and center, quick release wheels with…...

Haibike XDURO Urban Review

  • MSRP: $4,450
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An efficient, light weight road style electric bike with a perfectly balanced all-aluminum frame and electric drive system. Convenient quick release wheels, integrated LED lights, quality hydraulic disc brakes and a removable battery…...

Haibike XDURO Fatsix Review

  • MSRP: $5,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The only Bosch powered electric fat bike I've seen with a suspension fork, RockShox air with remote lockout. Burly 15 mm front and 12 mm rear thru axles, extended bottom bracket and spindle…...

Haibike XDURO Race Review

  • MSRP: $6,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An extremely well balanced, light weight, high speed electric road bike - one of the only ebikes with drop bars that I've seen. Efficient centerdrive from Bosch can reach speeds of 28 mph and distance in excess of…...

Haibike XDURO FS RX 27.5″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance, well balanced, full suspension electric mountain bike with motor and battery kept low and center. Available in four frame sizes for good fit, larger 27.5" wheels improve traction, momentum and…...

Haibike XDURO RX 29″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Capable and sturdy eMountain bike with great frame balance, motor and battery (mounted low and center). Available in four frame sizes for good fit, large 29" wheels provide improved traction, momentum…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Ultra efficient centerdrive motor leverages nine speed cassette and three speed SRAM hub for climbing and distance. Top of the line commuting accessories including dynamo powered LED lights, rear rack with pump,…...

Haibike XDURO Superrace Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the lightest weight, most efficient and fastest riding electric road bikes available. Premium components including Magura MT4 hydraulic disc brakes, Integrated LED lights and SRAM X0 drivetrain...

Haibike XDURO AMT Pro Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Top of the line all mountain style electric bike with full suspension and middrive motor. Light weight, high end frame and components keep bike under 50 pounds...


Richard Coers
4 months ago

I put a small piece of 1/8″ thick adhesive backed foam on the flat riding surface of the kick stand. No more noise! Used to bug the hell out of me. 600 miles now, no other issues.

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Great tip Richard, thanks for sharing ;)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

rich c
2 days ago

For a commuter, I would prefer a class III bike, capable of 28mph. I hardly ever ride that fast, but really often hit 22-23mph. Also much prefer hydraulic brakes, not familiar with the brakes spec'd on the Voltbike. I'd consider that Voltbike a little short on gears, but since it has a throttle, you may be okay. Don't know the size of your children, but loaded down you may like a lower gear that you get with the 7. My Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX has 10. The price is very attractive on that Voltbike, but if I depended on my bike to get to work, I'd want a better class of components. Just a lot of my preferences here, but I started on a cheap Chinese eBike, but really only ride Haibike XDURO (Bosch mid drive) bikes now. Two of my eBikes are over 1600 miles, the Trekking is over 1100 miles. Just a bit of reference for my riding experience. Edit; If you want both kids to ride, look at a GSD cargo bike. You should also look at Thudbuster or Bodyfloat suspension seat posts with the style bike you are looking at.

rich c
1 week ago

This time of year you can almost get a Haibike XDURO Trekking for $3000. 50 miles a day is achievable with the 400whr Bosch. Get one with a 500whr and you get 75+ miles.

Mark Adams
2 weeks ago

I ride three different kinds of eBikes, Sondors Fat bike, Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX, and a Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX. I have over 1000 miles on the Trekking, over 1500 miles on the Sondors and Full Seven. The fat bike was my first ebike, found it on Craigslist. It has been relegated to snow and an occasional ride on a crushed rock rail trail. It rides like an old Jeep. Heavy physical weight and heavy response. You have to actually put effort into the handlebars to turn the bike. Those wide tires do not make for a nimble bike. Huge rolling resistance in the tires. The Trekking bike can be ridden on a gravel road, but much better suited for touring on pavement. The small tires do not make for a fun ride on the gravel. I would not take it into rock and tree roots. The full suspension mountain bike will go anywhere. It was a demo model, and came with Schwalbe Super Moto-X 27.5 x 2.4 tires. For me, this is the ideal go anywhere bike. The smoother tread pattern on the Super Moto-X is great on pavement, and by letting out a few psi they really grip on dry single trails. It will climb a really steep incline with the 11 gear cassette. The full suspension makes riding great for my 65 year old body, on any conditions. Rough city streets, gravel, or trails with rocks and roots, are all smoothed out in the ride. I now see no need for any bike with tires over the 2.4".
I don’t feel the fat tire is that cumbersome. But have not ridden a Sondors also have a Surly pugsly fat and my regular Mt bike sits most of the time . But everything is a trade off so best answer is a nice quiver of rides to choose from.

rich c
2 weeks ago

I ride three different kinds of eBikes, Sondors Fat bike, Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX, and a Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX. I have over 1000 miles on the Trekking, over 1500 miles on the Sondors and Full Seven. The fat bike was my first ebike, found it on Craigslist. It has been relegated to snow and an occasional ride on a crushed rock rail trail. It rides like an old Jeep. Heavy physical weight and heavy response. You have to actually put effort into the handlebars to turn the bike. Those wide tires do not make for a nimble bike. Huge rolling resistance in the tires. The Trekking bike can be ridden on a gravel road, but much better suited for touring on pavement. The small tires do not make for a fun ride on the gravel. I would not take it into rock and tree roots. The full suspension mountain bike will go anywhere. It was a demo model, and came with Schwalbe Super Moto-X 27.5 x 2.4 tires. For me, this is the ideal go anywhere bike. The smoother tread pattern on the Super Moto-X is great on pavement, and by letting out a few psi they really grip on dry single trails. It will climb a really steep incline with the 11 gear cassette. The full suspension makes riding great for my 65 year old body, on any conditions. Rough city streets, gravel, or trails with rocks and roots, are all smoothed out in the ride. I now see no need for any bike with tires over the 2.4".

JayVee
3 weeks ago

There seems to be an error on Haibike's website. The new Trekking Xduro S 9.0 is depicted with the same frame as for 2017 (shown in the picture below). But the spec sheet mentions an IBC (Intube Battery Concept) frame coupled with a traditional Power Pack. So something doesn't quite add up. If you have an intube frame, it would make sense to ship with an intube battery. Either the image is wrong or the spec sheet is wrong. Unfortunately, I suspect the image is correct and the stated specs are wrong.

Link: https://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/695/2018-xduro-trekking-s-9-0?variant=3840424848

The picture on the website:

The accompanying description:

However, an Intube frame should look like this:

Edit: Checked it. The spec sheet is wrong on Haibike's website. The 2018 Trekking S-Pedelec model is basically the same as the 2017 model (meaning no Intube battery). The 2018 model is shown at 2:37 in this video:

1/3
rich c
3 weeks ago

Bosch sells 400wh and a 500wh battery packs. I have one of both on two different bikes, and never have taken them below 30%. Pretty flat riding, I weigh 250 pounds, average around 15 mph on rail trails and streets. I'd say realistically, at least 45 to 60 miles on the packs respectively. I bought one bike as a demo with 150 miles on it, the other off season. Paid $2800 for one, $2600 for the other. Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX, and XDURO Trekking S RX. Both are class III, 28mph bikes. I ran a sole proprietor small business. With good equipment, you make money. It should cost you nothing if you correctly calculate your overhead and have a good accountant at tax time. A single year depreciation write off if used solely for a business.

Mark Peralta
4 weeks ago

I put 1500 miles on a Sondors Fat, then wanted a different kind of ride. I bought a Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX. It is a class 3 bike, 28mph, but no throttle. The Bosch mid drive will actually pull the suspension forks up in Turbo mode, so don't need a throttle as long as you can just move your legs. Large dia. rotors and hydraulic brakes to haul you quickly to a stop from 28mph. Then I bought a second bike, a Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX. Same Bosch mid drive, 28mph. But it has a 500whr battery instead of the 400 on the mtb. It also has smaller gravel type tires, full fenders, a rear rack, and 10 speeds vs 11. I've now put on 2500 miles on the two Haibikes, the Sondors collects dust in the corner until snow flies in the winter. I'm crazy about the quality and precision of Haibike and Bosch.
I'm a little similar to your situation but different brands and different combinations. I have 2 ebikes sharing the same battery, one mid drive and the other hub drive (Raleigh Tekoa and Izip Dash). And a third one with mid drive that does not share battery with the rest (Luna BBSHD) .

rich c
4 weeks ago

I put 1500 miles on a Sondors Fat, then wanted a different kind of ride. I bought a Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX. It is a class 3 bike, 28mph, but no throttle. The Bosch mid drive will actually pull the suspension forks up in Turbo mode, so don't need a throttle as long as you can just move your legs. Large dia. rotors and hydraulic brakes to haul you quickly to a stop from 28mph. Then I bought a second bike, a Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX. Same Bosch mid drive, 28mph. But it has a 500whr battery instead of the 400 on the mtb. It also has smaller gravel type tires, full fenders, a rear rack, and 10 speeds vs 11. I've now put on 2500 miles on the two Haibikes, the Sondors collects dust in the corner until snow flies in the winter. I'm crazy about the quality and precision of Haibike and Bosch.

JayVee
1 month ago

I also like the specs on the haibike sduro trekking 6.0 but I can't find many reviews out there. It's at $3k and seems like an excellent buy.

I have the Trekking Sduro S 6.0, which is basically the equivalent EU model but in a 28mph configuration. I'll give you what I see as the weak points of the system, comparing it to the 45Km/h Bosch Performance with which I also have a significant amount of mileage.

The Trekking Sduro S 6.0 is a jarring ride because the chassis is extremely stiff, which is particularly noticeable at the rear end of the bike. And the 38C tires don't absorb much energy. So you might need a suspension seatpost. The Yamaha drive is not very homogenous and you will need to be physically fit to ride any significant distance in ECO mode. The Bosch drive takes much less effort in ECO and Tour modes because it accommodates a wider range of pedalling cadences and strategies. The Yamaha has ECO and Standard modes, but the gap between those 2 level of assist is pretty sizeable which is a frequent complaint from customers according to a local dealer. The Yamaha drive requires more rider anticipation than the Bosch Performance because you always need to be in the right gear (meaning more gear changes). The Bosch Performance is a weaker drive in absolute terms but provides more usable power than the Yamaha in the lower levels of assist. If you intend to use the bike for touring and want to extend your range, go for the Bosch powered bike. I went for the cheaper Yamaha powered drive, but I do a lot of longer trips on weekends and the PW series drive can be really physically demanding. I swapped bikes for a weekend with a buddy who has the Bosch powered Trekking Xduro, and overall I preferred the characteristics of the Bosch Performance drive. On longer rides, when using ECO and Tour modes, I was much less tired than when riding around on the Yamaha in the lower levels of assist. The only critique I could level at the Bosch Performance drive is that it lacks a little bit of muscle when you really push it. The Yamaha isn't very homogenous, and takes some getting used to, but it clearly has a lot of punch in Standard mode. When climbing steep hills the Bosch Performance came off as a little weak compared to the Yamaha PW or to the Bosch CX. It's clearly optimised for speed on terrain that's moderate. So there's a bit of a trade-off, but that wouldn't stop me from buying it.

Regarding the Trekking 6.0 as advertised on Haibike's US website, two things caught my attention:

- The front light is rated as 30 lux. That might not be sufficient if you ride in the forest or on unlit paths at night. I have a 60 lux front light and it's sometimes a little bit limit when riding in the forest.

- The front rotor is 180mm whereas the rear rotor is 160mm. A tradeoff has clearly been made here to keep the price down.

Over50
1 month ago

I'm kind of wondering if I need to give up the thought that I should get a bike that will go 28 mph?...
You might check out my thread on the Haibike XDuro 4.0 Trekking. I've been commuting on both a 28 mph bike and a 20 mph bike. Both Bosch. Not that I'm recommending that particular bike but I just wanted to provide some user experience on the 20 mph vs 28 mph dilemma. In the case of Bosch I would say you have trade-offs to consider. The 20 mph CX motor is a bit smaller vs the Speed motor and some of the 20 mph models have done a better job of blending that motor into the frame (Trek 2018s, Haibike, Bulls...). To me it is aesthetically more appealing to have the motor smaller and blended with the frame. The CX motor offers higher torque and I've found that makes a positive difference for me as I have a lot of start/stop in my commute of approximately 35 miles. If you are cruising below 20 mph then that will also help your battery range. But yes, as I've posted, not having the higher speed does kinda stink if your riding does allow for longer distances where you aren't stopping all the time. Also, it kind of stinks not having that higher speed when you need some extra juice like making a green light. So the Bosch CX 20 mph motor gets me going from a standstill faster but it doesn't give me the extra push over 20 mph I need when I want to make the green light. I tend to ride the 20 mph bike in a higher assist level vs the 28 mph bike given that the lower top speed helps my range. Sport mode for example on the CX motor is really lively. I've posted my commute times in the thread and I'm getting almost identical times with the two bikes. My commute is 2/3rds start/stop. I bet if that ratio was reversed and I had more open road then the 28 mph bike would give me better times and I would definitely prefer the speed motor. I personally really like the way the CX motor is blended on many of the bikes and if your riding is mixed trail/street and the street is start/stop or hilly then the lower speed but higher torque route might be a good option. If you have open road without a lot of stopping then the speedier option might be better. Hopefully you live in an area where you can find bikes to test out.

rich c
1 month ago

Haibike XDURO Trekking S rx is the model I ride, but pretty sure new designation for 2018. I'm a real fan of the Bosch mid drive.

rich c
1 month ago

Out of shape, and commuting in Atlanta? You'll need something more like a scooter if you can't freshen up at work. I've been to Atlanta in early August. You work up a sweat just standing outside! Riding rail to trails here in Peoria is a fairly easy ride on any bike, but I love my full suspension bike when riding streets in Chicago. I'm 65 years old though. I'm also a hard core Haibike fan! Their Xduro Trekking bikes are really nice with an aftermarket suspension seat post. Really nice lights and rack are standard.

rich c
1 month ago

1500 on a Sondors Fat, 1100 on a Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX, and 1000 on a Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX, so 3600 since May 2016. Huh, I don't know if I like riding or buying more, based on the buying frequency vs riding curves!

Over50
1 month ago

Almost up to 1600 on the Riese and Muller Charger purchased at the end of 2016. Almost at 500 miles on the Haibike XDuro Trekking 4.0 purchased recently. About 400 miles logged on my human powered bikes in 2017 (Tern and Spot).

rich c
1 month ago

In your face electric bike presence, no stealth pretense, but at 39 pounds it is light for an electric bike.
XDURO Urban S 5.0 ($ 4,699)
https://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/713/2018-xduro-urban-s-5-0#specs

These are fast bikes! Lighter than the usual ebike, and incredibly nimble. I had one for just a short time, but returned it when I found out I had purchased a bike that was on a safety recall. I related it to a Formula 1 machine, but it felt like a harsh ride to this aging body. Swapped for an XDURO Trekking S RX with a suspension seat post.

rich c
1 month ago

I own two Haibike XDURO 28mph bikes. A Full Seven and a Trekking. Both 2016 models. If that Suntour fork is the same as my 2016, plan on replacing some time. I have 1000 miles on mine, and I still don't like the spring suspension fork. Light years behind the air suspension fork on the Full Seven for ride comfort. I really enjoy the 28mph option. I seldom hit it, but often hit 24mph. I'd even spend the $1000 extra to get it. I rode 2000 miles last year, shooting for 3000 miles this year. $1000 over 5,000 miles doesn't account for much each mile! With my engineering background, I can dollar justify about anything to make myself feel better about spending. Another thing about the Haibike racks, you need to have panniers with oversized hooks. Someone mentioned the Eco mode as very weak. Depends on your legs and terrain. I spend about 60% of my riding in Eco.

Mark Peralta
1 month ago

The Bosch is a 500 dollar upgrade. The 28 mph version costs another 1,000 dolars (XDURO TREKKING S 9.0)

1/1
Sweetwater
1 month ago

I was moreso referring to the number system rather than the X/S Duro nomenclature. I understood the number system to refer to the quality of the components (similar to Trek's system). So to go from the 4.0 Trekking to the 9.5 or 9.0 I expected a big jump in components. But they look largely the same which leads me to believe they have reset the number system in addition to changing the XDuro, SDuro nomenclature. I must say that on my 4.0 Trekking, the gear shifting is really smooth and the brakes are phenomenal. For what that bike is designed to be, it seems to be spec'd rather well as-is.

I agree with your observations. I spec bikes with the same frame but different components all the time. Nomenclature should reflect this as a package and no more. If there are upgrades or downgrades to a drive train or components, that's what matters to me, not what you name the bike. By making their nomenclature confusing, Haibike is attempting to capitalize on those who don't know or follow component lines and that is not a marketing approach I support. But I will look closely at end of the year discounts because the 2017 lineup is a good one, just over priced.

Over50
1 month ago

Yes I know they dropped the xduro and sduro names relating to the motor type. Haibike has some of the worst model nomenclature out there if you ask me! None of the companies do a particularly good job of it though.
I was moreso referring to the number system rather than the X/S Duro nomenclature. I understood the number system to refer to the quality of the components (similar to Trek's system). So to go from the 4.0 Trekking to the 9.5 or 9.0 I expected a big jump in components. But they look largely the same which leads me to believe they have reset the number system in addition to changing the XDuro, SDuro nomenclature. I must say that on my 4.0 Trekking, the gear shifting is really smooth and the brakes are phenomenal. For what that bike is designed to be, it seems to be spec'd rather well as-is.

Mark Peralta
1 month ago

Thanks .
Haibike XDURO Trekking 9.0 vs Trek XM700+ ?
Does it just come down to which is the better fitting bike ?
Haibike is $500 more .
For 500 dollars more, the Haibike has real front suspension (instead of minimalistic elastomer), heavy duty rear rack, tail light, 11 speed (instead of 10 speed) with better climbing ratio, 25% more battery capacity, orange side reflectors. The Haibike is more expensive but you get your money's worth. Either way, both are reputable brands.

e-boy
2 months ago

Thanks .
Haibike XDURO Trekking 9.0 vs Trek XM700+ ?
Does it just come down to which is the better fitting bike ?
Haibike is $500 more .

Mark Peralta
2 months ago

Thanks .
I intended to use as transportation , commuter .
What would be a competitor to the Haibike , with a Bosch mid-drive ?
As a commuter, it makes more sense to get a 28 mph bike.
https://electricbikereview.com/trek/xm700-plus/
https://electricbikereview.com/bulls/six50-e2-street/
https://www.haibike.com/en/US/bikes/695/2018-xduro-trekking-s-9-0?variant=3840424848

JayVee
2 months ago

Thanks.
What bike with Bosch Performance mid-drive would be the alternative to the SDURO 6.0 ?

Haibike has the same bike with a Bosch drive (28 mph though).

https://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/695/2018-xduro-trekking-s-9-0?variant=3840424848

Otherwise R&M has the Roadster which comes in several variants.

DOM1NO
2 months ago

As an owner of the 2017 4.0 Trekking I too really like that 9.5. But since I don't know components I have to ask: what makes it a 9.5 or what makes it more than 2x the specs of the 4.0? Both have Bosch CX motor. Both have Suntour suspension. Both have Super Moto X tires. Could it be that what they would sell in Europe as a 9.5 they would sell in the US as a 4.0?

Well they seem to have changed the distinguishment between XDuro and SDuro, so there is no longer an XDuro 4.0, only the SDuro 9.5 and 9.0 on the US Website. The 9.0 has the newer integrated Bosch battery it seems.

I'm also having a hard time seeing many differences between the 9.5 and 4.0. At first I thought for sure the 9.5 was going to be a 28mph bike but now it doesn't seem as that's the case?

Joseph Gizzi Jr
2 days ago

Court how tall re you? I am considering the ‘18 model, the Trekking 9.5. I am 6ft 2in and noticed you were riding a large. Beyond that might be too big. Nice review as always.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 day ago

Thanks Joseph! I am 5'9" and weigh 135 lbs with a ~30" inseam

calvin cooke
3 weeks ago

Top speed on this model....It's either one of these or the giant e bike that does 28mph

You Toober
2 months ago

@ 3:29 - You would be a FOOL to park a bike like that at a public bike rack.

chrispark11
4 months ago

Cool bike, but $4,600!!! These bikes will remain totally niche until these prices get real. I hope they sell NONE of them and they learn their lesson about being greedy and overpriced. Sheesh!

Howard Nelson
4 months ago

First off, great job Cort with your reviews. I found them about a year ago and watching them was instrumental in turning my curiosity into a desire which I acted on this past March. I was waiting for you to review this bike, but got anxious to pull the trigger in December. Unfortunately, the $3k closeout units were all sold out in my size but a local dealer cut me a pretty good deal on the 2017 5.0 model which has the 500 Wh battery. I had to wait until March, but I feel like it was worth it. I have about 800 miles on it now, all from commuting a few times to work here in San Diego. It's about 20 miles each way (Vista to Rancho Bernardo) and it takes me just over an hour. I average right around 20 mph +_ .5 mph. I ride mostly in Sport mode, with a little at Tour and Turbo mixed and the battery just drops to 2 bars within a mile of my destination so I figure about 32 mile range for my riding style and route (800 ft climbing). I typically cruise in the 23-26 mph range and climb in the 17-20 mph range. so far the only real complaint I have is the front fender tends to rattle a far amount and tthe rear light harness was coming loose until I tightend the connectors. I find the ride very comfortabe with no need to add a suspension seat post, but I am used to my road bike seat which I still ride 50-100 miles per week. I think my riding has gotten stronger since I got my Haibike as I still get a good workout on my ebike and i am riding more total miles per week.

I will keep you posted of any significant new insights or issues.
Todd

frank doster
4 months ago

wonderful for a guy like me, because of vision cannot drive.. I commute to work by bicycle daily. Thanks 22 miles on turbo, good range

Martian Megafauna
4 months ago

On tire width: "...for the electric bike world..." I like that this Haibike IS more of a bicycle than an e-motorcycle.
I am glad that there is a wide range of ebikes produced, from a standard bike with a hub motor all the way up to 60+ lb. battle-bikes that would be suitable for Mad Max. I get it that e-power permits you to push the extra mass and friction of huge tires and overbuilt frames, and that at higher speeds some ebike riders will be grateful for the e-moto nature of their ride.
However, regular bikes can go fast and take a beating too--think Paris-Roubaix.
We shouldn't think that because an ebike leans one way or the other that it is not up to 'standards'.

Back to the tires: those Haibike tires are wide and tough enough for all but hellish road conditions. MTB tires were of similar width not long ago, and these Schwalbe tires are more durable than they were. On the same roads that ebikers will ride these Haibikes there will be numerous old school bicycle riders on narrow 700x25 tires, and those poor folks will be doing just fine. And some will ride just as fast as the Haibikers. You don't necessarily need armored oversized tires, battle-ready frames, or full suspension on an ebike, but it is nice that there is a choice for those that want or need it.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Well said, the space has evolved and there is a new "regular" which some people appreciate, I call it out only to explain the evolution and norm, like with the 2017 model. And, as someone with a sensitive back and neck, I prefer the larger tires for comfort. I'll try to make that my own vs. generalizing when I speak :)

Lynn Recker
4 months ago

Two things..... doesn't the 2017 model have fatter tires on 27.5 inch rims, and second, does Chris ever wear the same helmet twice in your vids?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Ha! Yeah, that's a great question... I think he likes experimenting with different gear when we go out. And yeah, the tires on the 2017 model are much fatter. I think you may be correct about the 27.5" rims as well but I haven't seen that model in person yet to confirm, just going off of their official specs at http://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/364/2017-xduro-trekking-4-0?variant=3857211748#specs which says 62-584 which equates to 27.5" x 2.4"

readyplayer2
4 months ago

I've had the 2016 SDURO Trekking RC for about 4 months. It uses a Yamaha motor vs. Bosch, and is Class 1 (20mph limit on motor assistance) vs Class 3 (28mph). Otherwise, the 2016 XDURO and SDURO models are near identical. I primarily use it for commuting (17-18 miles round trip with several steep and long hill climbs). I'm extremely happy with the build quality and the bike in general. I don't think you could go wrong with a Haibike.

Of course, there's always room for improvement. One minor annoyance is the rack. The oversized rack tubing, while sturdy, means those wishing to use Ortlieb panniers will need to purchase 20mm replacements for the top hooks / clips -- https://ortliebusa.com/product/ql2-1-20mm-top-hooks-e193/. And accessories for the CarryMore rack are all but unavailable in the USA, making the fancy spring loaded clip system useless.

Despite snugging the screw tightly during assembly, the front light fell off on one of the first rides and was dangling next to the fender. The EBR forums indicate this is a frequent occurrence. I'd love a setting where the lights come on automatically, and it would be great to be able to set the rear light to flash. The steady red light is not attention-getting enough for urban use on streets at dusk, so I've added a Planetbike Superflash to the seat post.

Those are literally my only complaints or suggestions for improvement. This is an awesome bike. The add-ons I've made have been the flashing rear light, Ortlieb Sport Packer Plus panniers, Ergon GP-1 ergonomic handgrips, and a BodyFloat suspension seat post.

readyplayer2
4 months ago

Of course, please feel free! I was trying to give back in some small way, I have found ElectricBikeReview.com to be absolutely invaluable both for pre-purchase research and for support with fellow owners on the forum. I honestly can't thank you enough for all the work you do.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

This is excellent feedback! I'm going to share some of it in the full review writeup I did if you don't mind. Thanks for taking the time to share so much :)

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
4 months ago

This bike would look better with Fat tires. I also Looovvee the fact that it's offered in six frame sizes 😉. G👍👍D job Haibike .

G😛😛D job Court. We love your channel so much 👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏

✌ from "CLOTHED IN SHADOWS"👤

"CLOTHED IN SHADOWS"👤

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

It sounds like they were reading your mind with the 2017 version which uses 27.5" and 2.4" tires! http://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/364/2017-xduro-trekking-4-0?variant=3857211748#specs

Steve Donovan
4 months ago

It is a nice bike but I don't think I'd rely on its rear stays to absorb much if anything. As you point out another good candidate for a Thudbuster. I wonder about manufacturers why they don't deal with a good seat post company for wholesale pricing and include it as part of their package. It may be a hundred more for the buyer but definitely worth it.

Steve Donovan
4 months ago

Right that must be the hard-sell factor weighed against implementation. Too bad because I would think for a lot of first impressions a good functioning suspension post could make the difference. I wonder how many prospective buyers would be considering their own changes to a bike after it's purchased.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Yeah, I'm with you Steve... perhaps they are concerned that it will raise the saddle and discourage some shorter riders who don't realize that they could swap it out for a cheaper post for under $10? Some ebikes are including seat post suspension units with their bikes now like the Motiv Spark https://electricbikereview.com/motiv/spark/ Kalkhoff Agattu B7 https://electricbikereview.com/kalkhoff/agattu-b7/ and Riese & Müller Charger https://electricbikereview.com/riese-muller/charger-gx-rohloff-hs/

Bruce Ballad
4 months ago

the frame looks so nice that the motor is looking kind of ugly and fat on it. other than this I like the bike.

Bruce Ballad
4 months ago

Ohh yes, that angled motor looks better.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Yeah, they really improved the look for 2017 http://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/364/2017-xduro-trekking-4-0?variant=3857211748#specs

Chauncey Smith
4 months ago

Take my money this bike is my love.it looks so cool even in black .

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

I like it as well, Haibike always has beautiful designs and paint :)

James Mason
4 months ago

Bosch is taking over the world seems like every bike has a Bosch motor

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Yeah, I feel like Yamaha is finally going to get competitive with their new system that offers high RPM and Shimano finally added a charging port on their downtube battery interface so you don't have to take the pack off every time. This is stuff that Bosch figured out over five years ago and they could have just copied... but didn't ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

James Mason
4 months ago

I have a bionx

Andrew
4 months ago

definitely for European mid drive ebikes, shimano seems popular with with US bikes. Also the budget bikes and kits are still very much into bafang.

Tonys6550
4 months ago

I love the squirrel making a run for it in the background @9:04
Then making another appearance in the tree @18:14 haha
🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿🐿