Haibike XDURO FS RX 27.5″ Review

Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 Electric Bike Review
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 Chain Guide
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 Lithium Battery
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 Handle Bars
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 Bosch Centerdrive
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 Hydraulic Disc Rotor
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 Rockshox Fork
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 Shimano Slx
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 650b
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 Electric Bike Review
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 Chain Guide
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 Lithium Battery
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 Handle Bars
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 Bosch Centerdrive
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 Hydraulic Disc Rotor
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 Rockshox Fork
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 Shimano Slx
Haibike Xduro Fs Rx 27 5 650b

Summary

  • High performance, well balanced, full suspension electric mountain bike with motor and battery kept low and center
  • Available in four frame sizes for good fit, larger 27.5" wheels improve traction, momentum and angle of attack but also allow for longer travel on front and rear suspension
  • Beautiful frame design with integrated wires and cables but no bottle cage braze ons, motor produces some noise and is less stealth than some geared hubs
  • Center motor reduces unsprung weight (ideal for full suspension) and makes servicing wheels and tires easier

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Haibike

Model:

Xduro FSRX 27.5"

Price:

$4,900 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

5 Year Frame, 2 Year Motor and Battery

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2015

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

48 lbs (21.77 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.5 lbs (2.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum 6061, Tour, 4-Bar Linkage System, Gravity Casting Interface, Hydroformed Tubes

Frame Sizes:

15.74 in (39.97 cm)17.71 in (44.98 cm)19.68 in (49.98 cm)21.65 in (54.99 cm)

Frame Types:

Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Black with White and Neon Blue Accents, Black with Neon Yellow and White Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rock Shox Reba SL Tapered, Poploc, Air Suspension with Damping, 120 mm Travel, 15 mm Thru Axle

Frame Rear Details:

Fox CTD LV, 120 mm Frame Travel, 142/12 mm Axle

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1×10 SRAM Shadow Plus, 11-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano SLX M 670, Rapidfire, I-Spec on Right Bar

Cranks:

Xduro Aluminum

Pedals:

XLC MTB Platform

Headset:

FSA No. 57, Semi-Integrated, Tapered

Stem:

Xduro Aluminum, A-Head

Handlebar:

Xduro Lowriser Aluminum

Brake Details:

Shimano M615 Hydraulic Disc, 203 mm Front Rotor and 180 mm Rear Rotor

Grips:

XLC Sport with Locking Rings

Saddle:

Xduro Light MTB

Seat Post:

Xduro Aluminum

Rims:

XLC EVO Disc

Spokes:

DT Swiss Industry 2.0 mm

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Nobby Nic Performance, 27.5" x 2.25"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

Foldable

Other:

Winner of the 2014 Interbike E-Bike of the Year Award

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Gen 2 with Shift Detection

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

550 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

65 miles (105 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Intuvia, Removable Backlit Grayscale LCD

Readouts:

Speed, 4 Assist Levels, Battery Voltage, Odometer, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Button Feedback

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Combined Torque, Cadence and Speed Measured 1,000 Times Per Second), (Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The XDURO FSRX is a full suspension “cross country” electric mountain bike that’s comfortable and stable on serious terrain. With 120 millimeters of travel on the front and rear suspension elements (RockShox and Fox respectively), a remote lockout feature, 15mm thru axles and massive 203mm x 180mm M615 hydraulic disc brakes by Shimano you don’t have to hold back. I’ve ridden other light-weight eMountain bikes and had the suspension fail which surprised me. Those bikes used SR Suntour and were really meant for very light trail riding. The FS RX 27.5 by comparison isn’t as cheap but the components hold up and support is good (going through Currie Technologies in the US). With 27.5″ 650b wheels you get improved traction, momentum and attack angle but still have enough room for the long travel shocks (and avoid clipping your toes during tight turns). The centerdrive system is ideal for full suspension because it reduces unsprung weight on the rear arm and a unique chain tensioner keeps things on track when the going gets rough.

On flat terrain this bike easily reaches its 20 miles per hour top speed and freewheels efficiently after that. The 350 watt motor sits at the intersection of the downtube and seat tube doubling as the bottom bracket. It’s got a protective plastic shield along its base (to defer any damage from any rocks or stumps you encounter). It keeps motor weight low and center on the bike frame (right where you want it for balance) and leverages a 10 speed SRAM cassette in the rear. This means you can climb easily without draining the battery as long as you shift into a lower gear. Another neat thing about this and other mid-drive ebikes is that maintenance and service on the wheels is handle just like a regular bike. More force is put onto the chain and cassette with mid-drive motors but this one is smart enough to sense when you’re switching gears and will automatically cut out to avoid mashing. The motor produces a soft whining sound (shown in the video) but is mostly covered by tread and trail noise when riding.

The battery pack used with this system is a 36 volt 11 amp hour Lithium-ion configuration that’s light weight and durable (expect 1,000+ charge cycles if you take care of it). It’s removable for easy charging or multi-pack use on longer distance rides. Even though the official specs say 25 to 35 miles my experience is that it’s capable of going much further (depending on the terrain and level of assist). The battery has a nice LED indicator on the side that displays its charge even without turning the bike on (or even having it on the bike). The pack mounts low and center, just like the motor, but does take up the space where a bottle cage might have otherwise been mounted. Given the full suspension design of this bike there’s really nowhere else to add a cage so consider getting a CamelBak or other hydropack.

The display unit on the XDURO FS RX 27.5″ is large and easy to use. The screen is backlit and shows speed, distance and assist and you can interact with it using a break-out console. This means you can keep your hands on the grips at all times (critical for trail riding on bumpy or dangerous terrain). While some electric mountain bikes rely on throttle only operation, if I had to choose one I’d go with pedal assist. This drive system eliminates the chance of accidental acceleration based on squeezing the grips harder (for stability or in a tense moment) and the centerdrive is so responsive (using torque, cadence and wheel speed combined) that it cuts out as soon as you stop pedaling. One of the neat things about the Bosch display panel is that you can either lock it to the handlebars with a set screw or remove the screw and take the panel with you (to prevent tampering or vandalism). It’s nice that they give you the choice here though I’ve heard that removing screens too often can allow the contacts to get dirty and weaken if not cleaned. The screen and accompanying system are water resistant and modular so if something does break you can get replacement support and keep on riding.

For an extra $900 the FS RX 27.5″ offers full suspension over the XDURO RX 29er and only adds three pounds of weight. I’m a big fan of the drive system, frame style (which comes in two colors and four frame sizes for the perfect fit) and reputation of Haibike. These guys were leaders in Europe and one of the first companies to put a mid-drive system onto a mountain bike. I’ve only had limited time riding this particular model but had the chance to jump it, do stoppies (thanks to the hydraulic disc brakes) and power up large hills which are shown in the video review. This thing actually feels like a bike but takes the edge off my knees, neck and back. The cables and wires are all run through the frame and the unique curved top tube makes standing over the bike easier (and racking yourself on a quick bail less likely).

Pros:

  • Super light weight frame and components (at just 48lbs), well balanced drive system with motor and battery low and center
  • Centerdrive system is perfect for full suspension, reduces unsprung weight in the rear, tensioner / guide keeps chain on track with rear frame travel
  • Bosch drive system is efficient, smooth and powerful with removable battery for convenient charging
  • Stiff cranks, decent pedals, rigid frame for good power transfer when riding with remote lockout for reduced bobbing
  • Solid 10 speed cassette for climbing and bombing applications, good pedaling range
  • Great customer support and warranty from Currie Technologies in the US (part of Accell Group which owns Haibike)
  • Four frame sizes so the bike will fit and feel great over long distances (40cm, 45cm, 50cm, 55cm), two color options is kind of nice
  • Centerdrive design makes wheel repairs on the trail much easier than hub motors which have extra cables and add weight to the wheel
  • Extra large hydraulic disc brakes with 203mm in the front and 180mm in the rear for stopping power
  • 650b wheel size provides momentum, improved attack angle and traction but still allows for long-travel suspension with 120mm in front and rear

Cons:

  • The battery pack takes up the space where a water bottle cage might otherwise mount
  • Externalized battery and larger bottom bracket make it obvious that this is an electric bike “less stealth”
  • No throttle mode, this bike only uses pedal assist (like all Bosch powered systems)
  • Only available in a high-step configuration but the top tube does curve down a bit for easier standing or bails (avoid racking yourself)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Haibike Reviews

Haibike XDURO AllMtn 8.0 Review

  • MSRP: $6,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

The highest specced all mountain electric model from Haibike, longer 150 mm travel on front and rear air suspension by Magura and Fox paired with a steeper fork angle and plus sized tires let you handle most terrain. Premium Magura hydraulic disc brakes 203/180 size with adjustable lightweight carbon levers and quad piston…...

Haibike SDURO HardFour 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high performance, purpose built electric mountain bike for kids or petite adults... but mostly kids! Limited top speed of 15 mph for safety, full 9-speed Shimano drivetrain. Capable 160 mm hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable-reach levers for smaller hands, only available in…...

Haibike SDURO HardNine 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the most affordable Haibikes in the line, available in four frame sizes, relatively lightweight, large 29er tires provide float and momentum at speed for cross country riding. Very capable mid-drive system (the same motor and battery as some higher-priced Haibike models), zero…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty, 28 mph, commuter-ready, electric bicycle made in six frame sizes across two styles, a stiffer high-step and easy approach step-thru. Reinforced fenders stay quiet, oversized rack with spring latch and Racktime connector, integrated LED lights…...

Haibike XDURO FullSeven Carbon Ultimate Review

  • MSRP: $16,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high-performance electric mountain bike available in four frame sizes, stiff carbon frame for improved power transfer and handling, carbon accents include seat post, saddle, handlebar, wheelset and more. Eleven speed Shimano Deore XTR drivetrain with Di2 electronic shifting for faster, more precise gear…...

Haibike SDURO AllMtn 6.0 Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A trail worthy, full suspension electric mountain bike with stiff lightweight frame construction, optimized suspension and a tightly integrated mid-drive motor from Yamaha. Upgraded 500 watt hour battery pack delivers 60+ miles on medium assist, powerful hydraulic disc…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautiful and capable all mountain style ebike with premium components from Schwalbe, Shimano, Magura and RockShox, the frame, fork and saddle are paint matched. The drive system is surprisingly powerful, delivering 80 Newton meters of peak torque output, it…...

Haibike XDURO Urban S RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed road bike with electric assist up to 28 mph (45 km/h), available in five frame sizes for improved fit and a vibration dampening seat post and shock stem for improved comfort. Efficient low-resistance tires with deep-dish aero rims and bladed spokes, keep the tire pressure up…...

Haibike SDURO Full FatSix Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only full suspension fat electric bikes I've seen, quality hardware including 20 speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, solid 2 year motor and battery warranty with 5 years on the frame. Powered by the Yamaha mid-drive ebike system with 500 watt motor, Zero Cadence pedal assist,…...

Haibike SDURO FullNine RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension 29er with mid-drive motor, slim battery and removable display by Yamaha, offers 80 Nm of torque and zero-cadence pedal assist response. The RX trim level is top of the line with light weight hardware from Shimano,…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN RC Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all mountain trail + downhill mid drive powered electric bike with 150 mm air suspension, rigid thru axles (15 mm front 142 x 12 mm rear). Impressive 20 speed drivetrain with quality Shimano Deore XT groupset, capable Shimano M615 hydraulic disc…...

Haibike XDURO DWNHLL Pro Review

  • MSRP: $8,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only true downhill ready electric bikes being made in series production, delivers a worldcup ready chassis and pro level components. Shimano Saint drivetrain and brakes (top of the line downhill groupset), with two piece Ice-Tech…...

Haibike XDURO FullLife RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Custom geometry with shorter reach to accommodate women (who tend to have shorter arms and torso but longer legs), shorter saddle with wider back, adjustable position brake levers for smaller hands. plush 120 mm front and rear Fox air suspension with 15 mm thru-axle front and…...

Haibike SDURO HardSeven SM Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable Haibike in the 2016 line, features the Yamaha drive system with a basic fixed LED display console, basic saddle, heavier oil suspension fork and cheaper Kenda tires without liners. Solid nine-speed SRAM X-4 drivetrain, no shift sensing or motor inhibitors, large 180 mm hydraulic…...

Haibike SDURO HardLife SL Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable women's specific electric bike from Haibike, leverages the Yamaha mid-drive, features an upgraded LCD screen with USB charging port. Excellent weight distribution, battery and motor are mounted low and center, the top tube is…...

Haibike XDURO Fullseven RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high performance full suspension electric mountain bike with quality components from Shimano, RockShox, and Fox. Responsive, durable and intuitive drive systems powered by Bosch, solid two year comprehensive warranty, five…...

Haibike XDURO AMT RX Review

  • MSRP: $6,350
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A high performance all-mountain electric bike with premium suspension from Fox and hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano. Thru axles on front and rear wheel for improved stiffness and durability, seat post dropper…...

Haibike XDURO Nduro Pro Review

  • MSRP: $9,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Premium downhill capable electric bike with 180 mm travel on front and rear Fox air suspension, available in four frame sizes for improved fit. Excellent weight distribution, Bosch-made Centerdrive motor and battery kept low and center on the frame,…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking Pro Review

  • MSRP: $4,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A long-range capable touring our commuting style electric bike that climbs well, has a balanced weight distribution and offers 27 speeds for a steady cadence at most speeds. Excellent accessories including LED lights, full-length fenders and sturdy rear-rack with spring latch...

Haibike XDURO Nduro RX

  • MSRP: $7,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The entry-level performance downhill electric bike from Haibike with 26" wheels , long travel 180 mm air suspension by Fox with CTD adjust and hydraulic Shimano SLX disc brakes. Excellent frame balance with motor and battery mounted low and center, quick release wheels with…...

Haibike XDURO Urban Review

  • MSRP: $4,450
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An efficient, light weight road style electric bike with a perfectly balanced all-aluminum frame and electric drive system. Convenient quick release wheels, integrated LED lights, quality hydraulic disc brakes and a removable battery…...

Haibike XDURO Fatsix Review

  • MSRP: $5,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The only Bosch powered electric fat bike I've seen with a suspension fork, RockShox air with remote lockout. Burly 15 mm front and 12 mm rear thru axles, extended bottom bracket and spindle…...

Haibike XDURO Race Review

  • MSRP: $6,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An extremely well balanced, light weight, high speed electric road bike - one of the only ebikes with drop bars that I've seen. Efficient centerdrive from Bosch can reach speeds of 28 mph and distance in excess of…...

Haibike XDURO RX 29″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Capable and sturdy eMountain bike with great frame balance, motor and battery (mounted low and center). Available in four frame sizes for good fit, large 29" wheels provide improved traction, momentum…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Ultra efficient centerdrive motor leverages nine speed cassette and three speed SRAM hub for climbing and distance. Top of the line commuting accessories including dynamo powered LED lights, rear rack with pump,…...

Haibike XDURO Superrace Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the lightest weight, most efficient and fastest riding electric road bikes available. Premium components including Magura MT4 hydraulic disc brakes, Integrated LED lights and SRAM X0 drivetrain...

Haibike XDURO AMT Pro Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Top of the line all mountain style electric bike with full suspension and middrive motor. Light weight, high end frame and components keep bike under 50 pounds...


Mike leroy
3 years ago

1. How interchangeable are the components used in the Haibike XDURO FS RX and Trekking RX ?
In other words, can I replace the different parts in the two bikes to have the same bike, in effect?

I live in Woodside, CA. Kings Mountain Road is my primary road. I can make equally strong arguments for either bike. I simply want to buy two pairs tires to make the Trekking RX more FS RX-like, or vice-versa.

2. I look at eBikes from a motorcycle viewpoint. I truly appreciated it when you mentioned unsprung weight. Traction is the most important aspect of a motorcycle regarding accidents. Tires, brakes and suspension influence motorcycle traction. Is this a relevant consideration when buying an eBike? If so, what do I look for, tire specifications?

2a. Do motorcycle “lowsiders” and “highsiders” (i.e., endos) crashes occur on centerdrive eBikes, e.g., or is the torque too low?

2b. Bosch 9ME ABS motorcycle brake controllers are “anti-lowside” technology. Does the equivalent exist in the eBike world from any manufacturer ?

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Interesting questions Mike… I’ll do my best here. 1.) I think many of the parts would be interchangeable but am not sure about the wheels given the 650b on the FS vs. 700c on the Trekking. Also, I believe the front wheel uses a thru-axle on the FS. The batteries, display unit and seats are probably swappable? Not sure exactly what you had in mind, hope this helps. 2.) I think unsprung weight is most relevant on ebikes that have suspension like the FS here. It doesn’t matter too much if you’ve got a hub motor in the rear wheel of a hardtail bike. Having owned an Easy Motion Neo Jumper with full suspension and a hub motor design as well as a Haibike FS 27.5″ I can say that the suspension feels better on the Haibike and it’s more balanced overall which helps when braking, turning and taking jumps. The tires on both bikes were decent, I prefer the Schwalbe Nobby Nic however as it seems thicker and larger overall (though my Neo Jumper was a 26″ vs. their new 650b). 2a.) With hydraulic disc brakes and the 203mm front rotor on the Haibike you can definitely flip forward over the handlebars (I think this is true of most bicycles). As far as doing a wheelie and falling off backwards, I haven’t experienced this and it’s a lot harder with pedal assist because the bike only goes when you pedal forward. If we look at the Optibikes however, they are definitely powerful enough to buck backwards and I’ve heard this happens on the R11 to people when they first try it. 2b.) The Bosch anti-lowside technology is pretty cool! Looks like it prevents the wheels from sliding as you turn and brake simultaneously, something like anti-lock brakes? I have never heard of this for ebikes but it may come in the future as new technology is rolled out… especially with the speed-pedelec full suspension Haibike that I hear is coming in 2015.

Reply
muki
3 years ago

Do you have representative distributor in Israel?

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi muki! I’m not sure… I’ll ask around for you, are you trying to buy this bike for yourself?

Reply
jim
3 years ago

I really enjoy your reviews ….. I am definitely getting a Haibike this year but not sure which one … my main use will be urban commuting in Miami which is all flat with somewhat OK but rough section where I live due to tree roots lifting the asphalt. The Xduro Trekking seems like a comfortable bike but I like the looks of the Xduro Urban and its lightness. Is the Urban a harsh ride?. How about the mountain bikes (like FS RX or RX 29) as commuters? I’d appreciate any suggestions. Thanks, Jim

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Jim! Great question… there are so many awesome looking Haibikes to choose from and the Trekking is obviously suited to utilitarian rides (fenders, lights, efficient tires) but yeah, maybe not as comfortable as a mountain bike. I actually purchased the FS 27.5″ for myself because it was one of the first Bosch powered ebikes in the US for 2014 and I wanted to experience it on longer rides, commuting etc. I specifically chose the full suspension model because over long distances and higher average speeds my back and neck get sore. The suspension really helps in my opinion and even though the off-road Haibikes aren’t as efficient as the city oriented ones (knobby tires vs. hybrid or street) that doesn’t matter to me because the range is incredible, I’m willing to sacrifice some efficiency for comfort. The other big tradeoff is that the FS doesn’t have bosses for adding a rear rack (actually, none of the off-road versions do) so I had to get a beam rack from Topeak. I did a video with it here which might get you thinking and another video here with the DeFender fenders to keep the bike (and me) clean. Whatever you end up with, feel free to share pics and feedback in the Haibike forums so others can share thoughts or learn :)

Reply
Anonymous
3 years ago

Thanks for all the info …. definitely helpful …. I’m also considering getting one of those dongles to increase the speed a bit …. any thoughts on those? Thanks, Jim

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

I’ve seen these in use on some of the older 250 watt Bosch systems and the speed did increase however it seemed like the motor was struggling or overheating because it began cutting out after several miles of high speed. I’ve been told that it definitely violates the warranty but the interesting thing is that you can buy high speed Bosch systems that are designed to go up to 28 mph. I’d recommend getting one of those but so far there aren’t may that come in off-road formats… just the Haibike Race and Superrace which are road bikes.

Reply
Christian
3 years ago

Just bought the Haibike XDURO FS, primarily from the reviews and test riding. I love this bike. I commute with it and stick a slick on the front tire. I can go over anything yet get good power consumption with the slick. The only problem is in mud, the slick slips a little. I just have to watch my line. On rock, the slick is fine. I ride about 4 days a week now rather than 3 (on my cx bike) but leave work every lunch to head down to the beach or mountains to have lunch and/or workout. So I put about 38 miles a day on the bike and just love my commute. Thanks Court for the information.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Awesome, sounds like it’s working well for you Christian! Thanks for the props and sharing your experience with front tire replacement. Hope the bike continues to work well for you, I loaned mine to a friend and he ended up with several flats, eventually got thicker tubes and some tire liners. Seems like the stock Schwalbe Nobby Nic might be focused on light weight performance vs. thorn protection. Would love to hear your thoughts if you encounter flats down the line.

Reply
Christian
3 years ago

Hey Court, Right now I’m using a 1.5″,650b, 300g Panaracer tire and a 1.75″-2.12″, 26″ slime tube. It’s not thorn season but when that time comes I’ll get a better idea on how prone to punctures the system is, right now no problem. However, I gained speed (top speed on one particular hill with knobs was always around 31.5 with a top of 32 mph, with the slick the speed is around 34.5 mph with a top speed of 35.9 mph) and distance using the slick on the front has improved (at the end of the day I would have 2 bars and sometimes 1, now I have 2 bars and sometimes 3). I obviously need more data to confirm but I’m a pretty consistent rider so the numbers feel right. Anyway, that’s my update.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Great update Christian! Thanks for your data, it’s neat to see just how much of a difference tires can have… Ride safe at those higher speeds! Sounds like you’re having a great time out there :D

Reply
Charles Revis
3 years ago

Where does one purchase a Haibike in the U.S.A.? I’m having difficulty finding a dealer. I live in the Northwest. Most of the electric bike shops are in Seattle, which is a 5 hour drive for me. Any help in finding a good dealer would be appreciated.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Charles, the only tool I can recommend for you is the dealer map search run by Currie Technologies which is the company that distributes Haibike in the USA. Any of the dealers that carry other Currie models should be able to get a Haibike for you. Some dealers will ship direct and these bikes can come pre-assembled (that’s how I got mine) but it’s always nice to get fitted at a dealer and have that ongoing support. Might be worth the long drive if you’re spending $4k+ but it’s not the best use of time or gas I admit :

Reply
Christian
3 years ago

Hey Court, It was a slime-bath out there yesterday with my 1.5″ slick. I ran over a thorn or something and it just sprayed slime all over me and the bike (thought I was watching an episode of Dexter). Me and my stubbornness, I kept riding to see if it would clog. After getting sticky from head to toe I decided to stop. I patched the slime tube (which I never did before) and it worked great. I’ll let you know when there is another bloodbath. Take care and hope all is well.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Wow, sounds like you really had a mess on your hands out there! Did you add the Slime tubes on this bike or did it come with them?

Reply
Christian
3 years ago

I added them. Thought it would help with the slick to limit the number of flats. Of which I’m sure it has but when that hole was made, it was over!

Reply
5pnt
3 years ago

Court, How does the Haibike fs rx suspension compare to something like the Giant Maestro suspension? Is it fully active in all conditions? Is it efficient in transferring all rider energy to the rear wheel in all conditions? Does it have breaking independence so you have suspension while breaking? Thanks

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Great question 5pnt, I haven’t tested the Giant Maestro and am not a suspension expert but I believe that Haibike has carefully thought through performance and may even use designs that were developed originally by Specialized for the FSR suspension (I believe that some of their patents expired recently). This is from the link: “The FSR (Horst Link) suspension has the rear pivot on the chain stay, in front of the rear axle. Other brands will try to get around this by having the pivot above the rear axle on the seat stay but it doesn’t work as well. Trek’s current suspension (ABP) has the pivot concentric with the axle. Then there are other designs such as Giant’s Maestro which is VPP. It has the entire rear triangle rotating around a vitual pivot point, hence the name.”

Reply
5pnt
3 years ago

Thanks Court,

I am checking out e-bikes for the future I am 66 years old. Currently I have an older Specialized Stumpjumper and a Specialized Sirrus road bike. I am running up to 40 miles on road and 20-30 miles off road. When I get old enough and start slowing down I want to get an off road possibly a Hiabike and possibly an Optibike city for myself and my wife, so she can keep up. Thanks again Court

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Sounds like a great plan! You must have a big garage for all of those bicycles ;) I love the Haibike FSRX (mine is still going strong) and Optibike also makes some solid stuff, I hope your wife enjoys it if you go that route. Specialized recently launched a few ebike models of their own! Have you seen them?

Reply
Catherine
3 years ago

Hi, I’m a year 12 student and I’m designing a mobile food trailer for my final VCD project for school. I’m wanting to know how much this bike can pull in terms of weight? Or which is the best electric bike model that can pull the most weight? Such a great website heaps of information Thanks!

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Catherine, that sounds like a neat project! I’m not sure how much the Bosch system is rated to pull but it definitely offers great power and efficiency. It seems like most ebikes can accommodate riders up to 300 lbs so if you subtract your own weight and consider how much the trailer is (along with added friction from a second set of wheels) that might give you some idea. Another stable, powerful electric bike you might check out is the Juiced Riders ODK V3. That bike has a huge battery and a powerful motor but unfortunately the motor is in the front wheel which might lose traction for hauling a big trailer. How much does your trailer weigh? Got any pictures? Feel free to ask for feedback in the General section of the forums as well :)

Reply
Erik
2 years ago

Hi Court, Thanks for the great info and review. I found this bike that I’m interested in. http://www.fahrrad-xxl.de/haibike-xduro-fullseven-rc-x0018156 Could you perhaps tell me what the difference is between a RC model and a RX model? Cheers, Erik

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Erik! Graet question… I plan on reviewing 2016 Haibikes soon and hopefully clarifying some of this stuff but in the mean time, the RX model is a more expensive, higher end version of the XDURO Fullseven than the RC. The RC is slightly more affordable primarily because of the drivetrain being a 10 speed Shimano XLS vs. 11 speed Shimano Deore XT. The brakes are also slightly different (though the rotors are the same size), the RC uses Shimano M 615 while the RX uses Shimano SLX. The frames also come in different colors with rX being a brushed aluminum vs. black paint with some blue and orange accents. The price differences between the two are MSRP $4,599 and $5,199 respectively.

Reply
Howard
2 years ago

Hi, I’m Howard from New York. One of my Indian friends asked me to know about the availability of Haibike in Kashmir, India. He said that before asking me he contacted some other sites about Haibike. I don’t know what did they say. Can you please help me in this regard?

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Howard, I’m not really sure to be honest but there is one shop in the US that does occasionally ship overseas and they are Motostrano in the Bay Area of California. Give them a try and good luck :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Johnny
3 days ago

Awesome - thanks for the incredible write up. You've convinced me to steer clear of the yamaha drives for the time being. Which of course means that I would need to step up to a Xduro treekking for significant more money.

Local dealer just called and offered a 2017 Haibiki Xduro Trekking S (bosch speed powered) for $3200. Hmm ... I think I might be able to do a tad better if I wait a bit longer ..

Still very much worried about buying the IZIP via remote dealer, having an issue and then being stranded without local dealer support. Even though the price is very attractive. It seems like even if I don't buy the IZIP from the local dealer, they may still be able to / obligated to help with IZIP warranty work? The Xduro 5.0 sure is tempting, but it a bit overkill for my current needs.

Anybody knows where the op got this deal ? I think $3200 is a good deal for 2017 Xduro Trekking S (especially if it is otd).

I am leaning towards 2017 Xduro fullseven though and if there is a similar offer I really would love to get one(I actually would get trekking S if it is possible to take it to the trails too).

Mark Peralta
4 days ago

I used the Nuvinci + Bosch Performance combo for a month (replacement bike) and have also used the Bosch Performance drive with a cassette when I swapped e-bikes for a weekend with a colleague. Both e-bikes were 28mph iterations. The N380 bike was a Swiss made Flyer, whereas the 'cassette bike' was a Haibike Trekking Xduro S 5.0.

To answer your question, the cassette has a wider range of gears. I'll spare you the ratio math and simply narrate my experience. With the Nuvinci N380 I had trouble climbing hills above 12% grade and I even managed to stall a couple of times around 15% grade. With the cassette driven Haibike, I climbed an average 18% grade hill containing a short but steeper 22% grade section. It was tough but still doable. I weigh 220 pounds and am moderately fit.

I could not tell you exactly at what percentage grade you will start having trouble with the N380 because that depends on your fitness level and weight. But if you frequently need to climb hills above 12%, I would recommend staying with the cassette. Otherwise the N380 iteration will be more a lot more fun to ride.

A tip if you get the N380: you can easily shift to a lower gear ratio under load going uphill. But it's sometimes more difficult to twist 'to a higher gear' when gaining speed. The trick is to back off pedalling for a second whilst you shift. It makes the experience a lot easier on the hands if you tend to get blisters. This was the main issue I encountered.
If the chain ring is 3 speed just like what Yamaha uses on their ebikes, then using a nuvinci would be adequate even on steeper hills. Unfortunately, Bosch only uses single chain ring and the trend for nuvinci is to use belt drive, eliminating the feasibility of multiple speed chain ring.

JayVee
4 days ago

All other things being equal, which would be the better hill climber and to what degree is the difference? I'm referring to the Super Commuter 8 which has a rear cassette assembly, vs the Super Commuter 9 which has the Nuvinci internal gears. I guess I'm asking which has the lowest gear, or are they equal?
Thanks,
Rich

I used the Nuvinci + Bosch Performance combo for a month (replacement bike) and have also used the Bosch Performance drive with a cassette when I swapped e-bikes for a weekend with a colleague. Both e-bikes were 28mph iterations. The N380 bike was a Swiss made Flyer, whereas the 'cassette bike' was a Haibike Trekking Xduro S 5.0.

To answer your question, the cassette has a wider range of gears. I'll spare you the ratio math and simply narrate my experience. With the Nuvinci N380 I had trouble climbing hills above 12% grade and I even managed to stall a couple of times around 15% grade. With the cassette driven Haibike, I climbed an average 18% grade hill containing a short but steeper 22% grade section. It was tough but still doable. I weigh 220 pounds and am moderately fit.

I could not tell you exactly at what percentage grade you will start having trouble with the N380 because that depends on your fitness level and weight. But if you frequently need to climb hills above 12%, I would recommend staying with the cassette. Otherwise the N380 iteration will be more a lot more fun to ride.

A tip if you get the N380: you can easily shift to a lower gear ratio under load going uphill. But it's sometimes more difficult to twist 'to a higher gear' when gaining speed. The trick is to back off pedalling for a second whilst you shift. It makes the experience a lot easier on the hands if you tend to get blisters. This was the main issue I encountered.

JayVee
4 days ago

Just a comment for those looking to understand Haibike Trekking frame sizes. I have the Trekking Sduro S 6.0 which has the same frame as the Bosch powered Trekking Xduro 5.0 from what I can see. It is however different to the 4.0 as explained by Ravi above.

An addition to what I said earlier in this thread. I have size S (52) but there are 2 additional spacers above the stem. I'm pretty sure that they were added by the shop where I bought the bike. This raises the handlebar height by about 3 cms. I measure 1m82-83.

tallpaul
4 days ago

Appreciate the FS as our streets can be as harsh as the trails!
With Haibikes it used to be XDuro meant Bosch and Sduro meant Yamaha, but this year that is not the case. Not sure how bikes are fitted with levels of components, you gotta do your homework with research and test drives.

Johnny
4 days ago

The Bosch Performance Line models will give max speed of 28mph assist, the CX models are limited to 20mph.
Haibikes choice of names and model numbers for their bikes is confusing, and seems to have changed this year to add to the confusion.
But that are beautifully made machines. The welds, fittings, and overall design are top notch.
And I have to agree with you about the cost of the batteries! but then again I don't know what goes into the making of the batteries, but still, almost $1000 for a 500w is a lot of $$$$.

Is there a difference other than Bosch motor instead of Yamaha between Xduro and Sduro lines(like better frame , components etc?).

Should I go for hard tail or Full suspension ? I am also thinking of riding the bike on trails but then how will the commute be with FS ?

bob armani
4 days ago

......last years models....

I'm with Rich c above, Haibikes are very well sorted out. I have the Bosch but I think the Yamaha is pretty similar, maybe a bit more punch but not as smooth response.... again, I have the Bosch and only know about the Yamaha from what I have read.
The "symbiotic" relationship you develop between the motor and its sensors (torque, speed and cadence read about 1000 times a second, and your selection of gears, and your pedal power, make for a truly well balanced experience.You get as much exercise as you want plus help up those long hills. 30 mile commutes are well within the range of the Bosch with the 500 watt battery. I have the 400 watt battery and can easily do 30 miles on it, including some good sized hills, and usually headwinds.
Depending on what shape you are in you will more then likely find that turning the motor off will take a lot of pedal power seeing as the bikes usually weigh in at around 50+ lbs. I usually keep it in ECO mode for flat and mild terrain. In ECO I could probably get 75 miles if there was no wind and little if no hills!
Haibike mtb's are fine for the street. I have the Full Seven with the 28 mph Bosch. It eats up the bumps, which I appreciate as I am an older guy and don't care for jarring rides.
Suggest you find a dealer and take a few out for a test ride.

Hey Tallpaul- Just curious, if you were referring to the '2018 Haibike XDURO XTREME 28MPH Full Seven S 9.0 Electric Bike eMTB Full Suspension Soft Tail' ? I would have liked to see a smaller more integrated motor on that model IMHO. I did not know Bosch made a 350 watt 28mph. Is that new for this year? Ride safe!

Johnny
5 days ago

@Dewey: Again thanks for the info, I didn't know that Giant customized their motors. Again when I was looking into the specifications I did not see much information about the motor. It seems Explore uses a version that is speed limited to 20, yet I see 28 mph version of the same "sport " model.

I'm a huge Haibike fan, I own two 2016 bikes. A Full Seven XDURO S RX mtb, and a Trekking XDURO S RX. Both are speed versions, 28mph, both are Bosch. You get a little noise from the Bosch mid drive (as compared to the Brose for example), but it's so smooth in handling power and torque. Personally, I feel the Bosch is worth every penny. If you ride many hills, you'll appreciate the 28mph bikes. When riding a 20mph bike, you go over that coming down the grade. But when you get to that 20mph setting as you level out, you can feel it hunt between assist and no assist. With the 28mph, you just don't hit that annoyance. Right now is the perfect time to buy a Haibike. I bought one in November 2016 and the other in March 2017. Both highly discounted from MSRP.

Thanks for the response, so you advise going for a 2017 x duro instead of an sduro ? I realize that for some models they did not state the maxspeed but should I assume that it is 28mph if the system is 350w Bosch CX ?
I think at some place that Bosch system will not accept other battery packs (and I see that Bosch insanely overprices their packs ) is it still the case?

I should find a shop and test these models.

rich c
5 days ago

I'm a huge Haibike fan, I own two 2016 bikes. A Full Seven XDURO S RX mtb, and a Trekking XDURO S RX. Both are speed versions, 28mph, both are Bosch. You get a little noise from the Bosch mid drive (as compared to the Brose for example), but it's so smooth in handling power and torque. Personally, I feel the Bosch is worth every penny. If you ride many hills, you'll appreciate the 28mph bikes. When riding a 20mph bike, you go over that coming down the grade. But when you get to that 20mph setting as you level out, you can feel it hunt between assist and no assist. With the 28mph, you just don't hit that annoyance. Right now is the perfect time to buy a Haibike. I bought one in November 2016 and the other in March 2017. Both highly discounted from MSRP.

hurricane56
1 week ago

Awesome - thanks for the incredible write up. You've convinced me to steer clear of the yamaha drives for the time being. Which of course means that I would need to step up to a Xduro treekking for significant more money.

Local dealer just called and offered a 2017 Haibiki Xduro Trekking S (bosch speed powered) for $3200. Hmm ... I think I might be able to do a tad better if I wait a bit longer ..

Still very much worried about buying the IZIP via remote dealer, having an issue and then being stranded without local dealer support. Even though the price is very attractive. It seems like even if I don't buy the IZIP from the local dealer, they may still be able to / obligated to help with IZIP warranty work? The Xduro 5.0 sure is tempting, but it a bit overkill for my current needs.

The service portion is something you'll need to check with the iZip. Just as an example, my friend with a Bulls bike had to pay the LBS a diagnostic fee to initiate a warranty claim on his Bosch powerpack 400. He did not buy the bike at the LBS. This is the one grey zone with many ebike service experiences, it probably varies widely amongst manufacturer and LBS. Even my local dealer where I purchased the bike from has to charge for labor on a warranty parts replacement. The last time I had a repair done they were kind enough to waive the fee, but were upfront about disclosing that before work commenced. I'm guessing Haibike does not compensate the LBS for their time. If you do inquire with the iZip people, you'll also want to ask if the TransX takes software updates and if that would result in a dealer service fee as well.

Ravi Kempaiah
1 week ago

My bike is powered by Bosch Performance Line. Seems you all have gotten many more miles on your chain.
I didn't have any issues with the chain and derailleur but constant noise from the chain when pedaling. At first I would clean and lube the chain and it would quiet down but after maybe 50 miles or so it would be noisy again. Switched from dry lube to ChainL with the same results. And the last attempt or so to lube and quiet the chain was unsuccessful, still noisy after the lube.
While in the shop for the new chain the Sprocket Equalizing System (S.E.S) bearing was replaced as it exhibited some binding as it rotated. It was replaced with an upgraded ceramic bearing.
I would say my riding is not severe at all, mostly smooth paved bike paths and an occasional stretch of dirt path.
I do try to keep the bike and all its running gear clean and well lubed. I hope this eBike specific chain will outlast the original Shimano.

Have you cleaned the complete drive train?
Like the chaining, cassette, derailleur etc.

I am amazed that people get less than 1000 miles on their chain. I don't do off-road stuff but mostly on-road. Chicago winters are harsh and in the last 14 months, I put ~5000 miles on my Xduro Trekking Speed bike and had to replace the chain only around 4000 miles. Granted, I never the use Turbo, 99% Tour mode and I clean and lube the drive train every 250 miles.

Bryan995
1 week ago

1. The drive has a tendency to resist your efforts above a certain RPM level, and the cadence window in which it provides power is pretty limited. This is perceptible in Standard mode, and painfully perceptible in ECO and ECO+ modes.

This has several consequences:

- If you want to tour around in a hilly area, you need to be really fit with the Yamaha. I use ECO mode only when absolutely needed. The Bosch and Shimano ECO modes are infinitely easier on the knees.

- If you want to climb a hill, the lowest gears might not necessarily be the best gears. If you're spinning away in 1st gear you will quickly hit a cadence where power drops off. This means you'll need to shift up a gear or two to get power. But it also means that climbing will be more difficult on the knees (once again). I climb a 7% grade incline every day and the bike is in 8th or 9th gear (meaning, 2-3 gears away from 11 teeth). I hand't noticed this until someone remarked that I was climbing in a really high gear. Might explain why my knees ache sometimes...

- Because the cadence is limited, the bike requires an inordinate number of gear shifts in traffic. Think of a scenario where you have several consecutive red lights. After the first red light goes green, I need to shift up 6 times to reach cruising speed. But as soon as I reach cruising speed, I have to shift down several times as well. And start over at each red light. Other drives, like the Bosch or the Shimano have a more intelligent way of dealing with this. Start in 1st gear and shift into second or third gear, then increase the number of RPMs instead of shifting through all the gears. You'll get just as much power and won't constantly be changing gears.

2. The engineering on some of the parts isn't up to Yamaha standards.

- The remote is fastened by screws which “bite” into the plastic casing. The result is that it’s impossible to tighten them so that the remote doesn’t swivel around the handlebars. This means that it’s nearly impossible to walk the bike up a hill using RUN mode. Press on the RUN button and the remote simply swivels out of your hand.

-The bike’s remote is designed in such a manner that you have to take your right hand off the handlebars in order to switch to another level of assist. But the remote often slips away...

- The button to power on the bike is starting to fail. Sometimes it works, sometimes not.

- The diagnostic button on the battery sometimes doesn't work.

3. Although not directly Yamaha's fault, the lighting on many Trekking Sduros is not sufficient for riding in the countryside at night. I have a Trekking Sduro S 6.0 which has a 60 lux light. When riding in the forest at night I can't see the contours of the road ahead. This is because the projected beam is too narrow and the lights not powerful enough.

So, if I had to do it again, I wouldn't buy a Yamaha powered bike. This is particularly true of the older PW drive system, which still equips most SDUROs.

Awesome - thanks for the incredible write up. You've convinced me to steer clear of the yamaha drives for the time being. Which of course means that I would need to step up to a Xduro treekking for significant more money.

Local dealer just called and offered a 2017 Haibiki Xduro Trekking S (bosch speed powered) for $3200. Hmm ... I think I might be able to do a tad better if I wait a bit longer ..

Still very much worried about buying the IZIP via remote dealer, having an issue and then being stranded without local dealer support. Even though the price is very attractive. It seems like even if I don't buy the IZIP from the local dealer, they may still be able to / obligated to help with IZIP warranty work? The Xduro 5.0 sure is tempting, but it a bit overkill for my current needs.

hurricane56
1 week ago

I was seeing the Xduro prices yesterday of about $3500. Maybe they will come down more. But I like your thinking. If you're testing the waters and think you might upgrade in a few years - and particularly because your commute is shorter - then the IZIP sounds like a great way to go (although I don't have experience with IZIP). It would be nice if you could find a local dealer for that IZIP however. You'd definitely want to test it out.

It’s always a balancing act between waiting for more of a discount and having it now with your preferred frame size. last year the commuter oriented bikes were in stock well past the new year.

Over50
1 week ago

... Will have to call for pricing but I have a feeling the Xduro trekking may be closer to 3k?...
In that case is it worth the 2x price increase over the IZIP? If the haibike will hold its value more so than the IZIP then I have no issue paying a bit more now. But if in 4 years both are down to $500 resale then the IZIP seems like the way to go. Thanks for the help!

I was seeing the Xduro prices yesterday of about $3500. Maybe they will come down more. But I like your thinking. If you're testing the waters and think you might upgrade in a few years - and particularly because your commute is shorter - then the IZIP sounds like a great way to go (although I don't have experience with IZIP). It would be nice if you could find a local dealer for that IZIP however. You'd definitely want to test it out.

rich c
1 week ago

Does your Haibike have a Bosch or Yamaha? 1700 miles on my 2016 Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX, no chain issues yet.

Bryan995
1 week ago

Just for reference my Trekking S Xduro was $2699 during last years clearance.

As for resale the Haibike might have an edge but seeing resale ads for ebikes here in the SF Bay Area, many bikes are posted for sale at 40-50% off the original sale price after less than a year. I’d recommend buying the bike that fits your needs now and not factor in resale.

Perfect - appreciate that data point. Best I can find for the Sduro trekking 4.0 is $1999, so $700 more for the Xduro seems reasonable. Still need to do a bit more searching around re. best pricing. I am down in SD.

hurricane56
1 week ago

Just for reference my Trekking S Xduro was $2699 during last years clearance.

As for resale the Haibike might have an edge but seeing resale ads for ebikes here in the SF Bay Area, many bikes are posted for sale at 40-50% off the original sale price after less than a year. I’d recommend buying the bike that fits your needs now and not factor in resale.

Bryan995
1 week ago

He asked for other suggestions. I really wouldn't get an Sduro. And I own one... :)

Hmm ... Sounds like the Yamaha Sduro is out then!? IZIP vs Xduro? :)

Bryan995
1 week ago

Actually the poster didn't specify Xduro or Sduro (unless I missed it) but I guess based on the price quoted it has to be Sduro. But both are discounted pretty heavily right now so Xduro would be a good suggestion. Perhaps the prices will come down even more as we get to year end. So the commute sounds very short but with a large hill. The Bosch CX will power up that hill and since the distance is short range will not be an issue.

Yes sorry all. I was refering to the Sduro Trekking 4.0 with Yamaha PW not the Bosch powered Xduro. Everything I read says to go Bosch and it seems like you all echo that :).

Will have to call for pricing but I have a feeling the Xduro trekking may be closer to 3k?

In that case is it worth the 2x price increase over the IZIP? If the haibike will hold its value more so than the IZIP then I have no issue paying a bit more now. But if in 4 years both are down to $500 resale then the IZIP seems like the way to go. Thanks for the help!

Over50
1 week ago

@Over50 owns a Trekking 4.0.

His experiences are described in the thread below:

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/over-50s-2017-xduro-trekking-4-0-chronicles.13845/

Actually the poster didn't specify Xduro or Sduro (unless I missed it) but I guess based on the price quoted it has to be Sduro. But both are discounted pretty heavily right now so Xduro would be a good suggestion. Perhaps the prices will come down even more as we get to year end. So the commute sounds very short but with a large hill. The Bosch CX will power up that hill and since the distance is short range will not be an issue.

JayVee
1 week ago

Poster is asking about SDuro not XDuro .

He asked for other suggestions. I really wouldn't get an Sduro. And I own one... :)

e-boy
1 week ago

Poster is asking about SDuro not XDuro .

e-boy
1 week ago

Poster is asking about SDuro not XDuro .

Roddi Xayachack
1 year ago

review the virtue pedelist

alencore
2 years ago

how long its fully charged battery last at cruising speed on a flat road?

Joe Foelker
2 years ago

some rich kid!!! I'll show ya how to ride a real mountain bike on a real trail lmao!

MATTHEW davies
2 years ago

hi i would like to see some sduro review i have just got the 2016 sduro allmtn rc and love the Yamaha system love your channel

All No
2 years ago

if i ever see someone on a bike like this i will kick them over.

G Henrickson
5 months ago

Umm...say again? Seriously? Not funny...in any case.

Joe Foelker
2 years ago

I'll help ya!

vlad the lad
2 years ago

Don't get why any one would want an electric bike over a normal bike and by the what do you fucking look like hahaha

lee young
2 years ago

I know defeats the object of biking a certain kind of person rides e bikes like this guy round the golf course lol,each to there own though

All No
2 years ago

+Nick Mcguire this dude wants to ride mtbs but his fatass needs the power! wannabe DH rider hahaha, whata joke. get a scooter stop being an mtb poser.

vlad the lad
2 years ago

Eat some food and stop fucking moaning all that fucking gear you been sniffing....

I don't give a fuck how shit and sad your life is ooooh I have been partying for the last 30 years to me that is sad as fuck a wasted life! Your only young once and you son have been and gone fucking drug addicted cunt now peace the fuck out.

vlad the lad
2 years ago

I ride on average 150 mile's a week and my commute to work everyday is 15 mile's so yea I'm fit, people like you piss me off fucking lazy motherfucker sat on your fucking electric bike, mate you will never be like me so don't pretend to on your fake bike.

Go do some real exercise fat lazy cunt!

Frank Mair
2 years ago

All right ! Ride the bloody thing .

takeaway guru
3 years ago

I need Hawthorn resistant tyres, do such things exist? Great bike!

Nick Baldeagle
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com If it's puncture proof tyres you want, check out Tannus Tyres.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+takeaway guru Ha! Yeah... that's something I wish for as well. Flat tires have long been a killer for bikes and since ebikes are heavier and tend to be ridden more frequently it can be a big problem (changing flats is also more difficult with the extra wires on some bikes). You could try Slime, tire lines or get thicker tubes (some are kevlar lined) or you could spend a lot and get something like the Energy Return Wheel which is tubeless. Here's some more info on these: http://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/slime-thorn-resistant-tires-and-airless-bicycle-tubes.49/#post-230

nick nam
3 years ago

I remember having give a not so cute comment years ago regarding the use of your camera (without cameraman) but you know what? After buckled up the loop on Ebike adventure, at the end of the day, you did a good job and your review always been easy to follow and comfortable to watch. Actually i like very much your concept. Long road to you Mister!

Will Kilburn
3 years ago

What are you wearing

Tee Sandbergen
3 years ago

I am planning to purchase one of the exact same color and spec for my husband. Now the only thing that concerns me is when the battery runs low or dies out. Will it still have the full function of a normal bike to be able to pedal it home after such an occasion arises as I sure it may?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Hi Tee! Yes, this bike definitely still works well under human-only power if the battery runs out. I would recommend avoiding a complete discharge however because that can damage the chemistry of the cells. The Bosch centerdrive is very efficient and should easily get 45+ miles per charge if it is ridden in one of the two lower settings. He could start his ride in the higher levels and if he sees the battery getting low, just switch to less power. If however, the battery does completely drain, there are still nine speeds to pedal with and the bike handles very well when pedaling because the motor and battery weight are all low and center :)

Joachim Schöne
3 years ago

I like it, Kultur Rad Touren.
Joachim Schöne.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Me too, this is actually one of my favorite ebikes from 2014 and it won the Interbike Electric Bike of the Year award as well :D

Bruce Wayne Trades
3 years ago

Hey Court, I'm thinking about getting this bike to compliment my Stealth Bomber. I'm 5'9.5 with a long torso but shorter legs in proportion (I ride my stealth with the seat as far back as possible. What size bike are you riding in the video? I'm thinking about the 45cm or the 50cm. Thx

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Hi Bruce! Sorry for the delayed response here, the frame I chose was 45 cm and works great. I think you'd be fine with the 50 cm if you lowered the seat and might get that extra reach (if you prefer a forward leaning position vs. a little more upright). I tend to run my bikes at or slightly below the perfect size (especially road bikes) to reduce weight and create a feeling of control and maneuverability. Based on my height of ~5'9" this was the size recommended by Larry Pizzi who leads Accell Group North America and I've been very happy with it :)

blackmeinu
3 years ago

Which is better, This one or the Felt dual-e? And do you know if they sell Haibikes in Canada, more specific, Edmonton? I know felt is sold here. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+blackmeinu I might know a couple of dealers willing to ship to Canada and provide ongoing support for you. If you need help finding one feel free to complete this help form: http://electricbikereview.com/help-buying/ and I'll connect you.

blackmeinu
3 years ago

I just found out that any e bikes with a bosch motor, is not sold in Canada wet. Apparently Bosch doesn't have their services running here. Thought Vancouver has them for some reason. I'm sure they'll be sold in the rest of Canada soon enough, I hope.  

blackmeinu
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Thax :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Technically, the Felt Dual-e is better (it's lighter by ~4 lbs and has a slightly stiffer geometry with a better rear suspension design) but for that improvement you pay an additional $900. You can actually compare the two bikes back on the website using this new tool: http://electricbikereview.com/compare/ just search for duale and then 27.5 and add them both.

djMegalomaniac
3 years ago

do you know of any dealers in Dallas, Texas that has this model or other similar ones? 

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+djMegalomaniac That's a great question, it does look similar. I haven't seen or tried this ebike but it might come down to the price or local availability if you were comparing with the Haibike FS 27.5"

djMegalomaniac
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com  thanks and sorry to be a pain with all the questions, how do you feel about the  Giant Full-E+ 1? it looks similar to the haibike. do you know which is better? thanks again. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+djMegalomaniac Great question, I have not yet seen or tested a Yamaha mid-drive but I'm aware that some have two front chain rings. I've also heard that Shimano is working on a mid-drive. You actually can get a couple of 28mph haibikes with the Bosch system (the Race and Superrace). If you do try one out, I'd love to hear your thoughts on it!

djMegalomaniac
3 years ago

+djMegalomaniac hey i'm going to visit your friends on Thursday, i noticed that on the Haibike  website they show the  new 2015 models that now use a Yamaha engine, do you have any info on this? do these go faster? will they be like the specialized turbo that can reach 28mph? any additional info would be helpful. also is the Yamaha engine a better choice or would you recommend staying with the 2014 models? thanks again for your help.

djMegalomaniac
3 years ago

thanks i'll check it out.

Nichen
3 years ago

Court have you been offered any jobs lately in the E-bike industry? I bet you are one of the top experts today :)

Nichen
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com sounds great!! Keep it up! :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

As a matter of fact, I have been offered jobs in the space but tend to approach carefully. I like what I'm doing here and want to remain independent in how I deliver information. Slowly, through ads on the site, I'm making a bit more money which helps to keep it going :)

nebula722
3 years ago

If I were a young man I would be all over this bike.  It should have the 750 motor for this kind of money.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+nebula722 Definitely, I love this ebike... looks and rides great and has excellent value compared with other full suspension Bosch powered bikes :)

nebula722
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Bosch is a pretty "inviting" product.  I will take one of each please. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+nebula722 You're right that higher wattage is generally more powerful. For me the weight, response time and durability are also important factors and I'm pretty light at ~135 so I don't need 750 or 1,000. Note that 350 is also jus the nominal output on the Bosch system (I don't know the peak) so it could be reaching 750 at critical moments. I've never felt like it was under powered and you can increase the speed with special dongles but it will void the warranty. I'm pretty happy with the stock setup and prefer their design to other mid-drives... though the BBS02 from 8Fun is a great product :)

nebula722
3 years ago

+Court Rye I do like this bike and the bike in the link you provided.  I am being drawn to mid drives as it takes advantage of the gears. 

nebula722
3 years ago

+Court Rye I am curious why the 8fun is a 750 and this is smaller.  Isn't 300hp the same no matter if it is a Chev or a Ford.  I owned a good brand factory built bike and was told by two different people that this 500 was like a 750 as it was just more powerful than other brands.  I rode a different brand 750 and it was way faster...so I bought the 1000 watt.

Mars Sheep
3 years ago

 5 grand! you are joking right, man I am never going to get electric bike ;-(

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Mars Sheep I agree that prices will come down. I'm only aware of one Bosch powered ebike right now that costs under $4,000 and it's the Grace MX II Trail. The neat thing about the Gen2 Centerdrive from Bosch is that it has zero maintenance schedule, designed to just go forever. As for a powerful but still more affordable model I like the Volton Alation 500 http://electricbikereview.com/volton/alation-500/

Mars Sheep
3 years ago

+Electric Bike Review thanks for the list, but, most of the "cheap" ones look like they are made for pensioners :( and I want to ride "space shuttle" :D.
I noticed that several major names like CUBE, Ghost, KTM, Focus... offer a very wide range of E-bikes for this (2014/15) year and I guess that others will follow. I presume that prices will drop because 1) offer is becoming huge, 2) they are very expensive, most of them costs more than a decent used car so I expect that the sale will not go smooth.
Anyway, those prices are unrealistically high, if they want to sale more e-bikes prices will have to drop significantly. Bosch will also have to work on their price policy, they are using their domination on the market and overcharging those motors...
I better start saving for my 2020/21 CUBE/Haibike 950W bike :D

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

It's a lot of money right? These Haibikes are top of the line and use Bosch drive systems that cost several thousand dollars on their own. No Bosch powered ebike retails for under $4K at this time but in the future that may change. I've made a list of more "affordable" electric bikes here to help people who might not want to spend so much. Most are ~$1,500 but you can get some for as low as ~$700 including the eZip Trailz http://electricbikereview.com/tag/affordable/

viper2788
3 years ago

does it charge itself on the decel or during braking?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Great question, this Haibike has a freewheel on the mid-drive motor (and most geared hub motors do as well) so they aren't able to capture energy when coasting or braking. The best setup for this is a gearless direct drive motor. Ebikes that have this include the Specialized Turbo, Stromer ST1 and ST2 and Stealth electric bikes. It's a neat feature that saves your brake pads but doesn't actually generate that much power. For this reason many companies don't include it as it definitely adds to the cost and makes the system more complex. Hope this helps! You can read about these other bikes by searching for them back at the site: http://electricbikereview.com

pimptasticone
3 years ago

Any feedback on sizing on these bikes?  I'm close to buying this model but Haibike publishes only frame sizes, not bike sizes.  Their specs are for seatube length.  The 50mm is a 19.5" seat tube - around a Large Cannondale.  My dealer is telling me I need a 55cm at 6'1" tall (22" frame).  

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

I was fitted for the 45cm frame and it feels good (I'm 5'9" at ~135lbs). Given your height it sounds like the 50 or 55 could work but I'm not an expert at fitting people. All of the sizes and other specs are listed back in the full review http://electricbikereview.com/haibike/xduro-fs-rx-27-5/ hope this helps :/