Haibike SDURO HardSeven SM Review

Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm Electric Bike Review
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm 38 Tooth Chainring Fsa Alloy Cranks
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm Lithium Ion Battery By Yamaha
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm Basic Led Console By Yamaha
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm 9 Speed Sram X4
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm Haibike Active Saddle 31 6 Seat Post
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm Sr Suntour Xcr With Lockout
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm Tektro Auriga Hydraulic 180 Disc Brakes
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm Yamaha Electric Bike Motor
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm Yamaha Ebike Battery Charger
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm Electric Bike Review
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm 38 Tooth Chainring Fsa Alloy Cranks
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm Lithium Ion Battery By Yamaha
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm Basic Led Console By Yamaha
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm 9 Speed Sram X4
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm Haibike Active Saddle 31 6 Seat Post
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm Sr Suntour Xcr With Lockout
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm Tektro Auriga Hydraulic 180 Disc Brakes
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm Yamaha Electric Bike Motor
Haibike Sduro Hardseven Sm Yamaha Ebike Battery Charger

Summary

  • The most affordable Haibike in the 2016 line, features the Yamaha drive system with a basic fixed LED display console, basic saddle, heavier oil suspension fork and cheaper Kenda tires without liners
  • Solid nine-speed SRAM X-4 drivetrain, no shift sensing or motor inhibitors, large 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes, quick release wheels and seat
  • Removable battery pack, larger and slightly heavier four Amp charger, available in four frame sizes and one color scheme: satin gray with white accents
  • Only offers three levels of pedal assist vs. the LCD Yamaha display that offers four and has a Micro USB charger, no bottle cage mounts and limited rack and fender bosses, a bit heavier at ~49 lbs

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Haibike

Model:

SDURO HardSeven SM

Price:

$2,499

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Motor and Battery, 5 Year Frame

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

49.3 lbs (22.36 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.5 lbs (2.94 kg)

Frame Material:

Hydroformed Aluminum Alloy 6061

Frame Sizes:

13.5 in (34.29 cm)15.5 in (39.37 cm)17.5 in (44.45 cm)19.5 in (49.53 cm)21.5 in (54.61 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Extra Small 35 cm (350 mm Seattube Length, 1075 mm Wheelbase, 365 mm Reach), Small 40 cm (400 mm Seattube Length, 1090 mm Wheelbase, 380 mm Reach), Medium 45 cm (450 mm Seattube Length, 1105 mm Wheelbase, 395 mm Reach, 735 mm Standover Height), Large 50 cm (500 mm Seattube Length, 1120 mm Wheelbase, 410 mm Reach), Extra Large 55 cm (550 mm Seattube Length, 1135 mm Wheelbase, 425 mm Reach)

Frame Types:

Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Gray with White Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCR with Preload Adjust, Lockout and 100 mm Travel

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

9 Speed 1x9 SRAM X-4, Direct Mount , 11-34T

Shifter Details:

SRAM Impulse Triggers on Right

Cranks:

FSA CK-745 Aluminum, 38T

Pedals:

Plastic and Aluminum Platform, Track Style

Headset:

620 mm Stack, 140 mm Headtube Length, 70º Headtube Angle

Stem:

XLC Aluminum, 45 mm Length

Handlebar:

Flat Aluminum 28.5" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Auriga Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors

Grips:

XLC Body Optimized, Flat Rubber with Lockers

Saddle:

Haibike, Active

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Alloy 5061, 584 x 19c

Spokes:

Stainless Steel 14G, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda, 27.5" x 2.1"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tube Details:

Schrader

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Quick Release Wheels and Seat Tube, Cable Inlets, Replaceable Plastic Skid Plate, Gravity Casting Motor Mount Interface with CNC Milled Connection and Bearing Seat Points, Zero Cadence Assist

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Yamaha

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Backlit LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level, Range Estimate, Assist Level (Low, Standard, High), Speed

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Cadence and Torque, Eco: 50%, Normal: 100%, Power: 200%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Haibike SDURO HardSeven SM is the most affordable model in the extensive Haibike lineup… and I’m going to help you understand why. While it still looks awesome thanks to an exciting paint scheme with matching fork, grips and saddle and the frame itself – still hydroformed with gravity cast mounting interface – is great, the components have been downgraded… pretty much across the board. The one exception might be the hydraulic disc brakes with 180 mm rotors, I’m glad they kept these vs. going mechanical because they perform much better on trail or mountain terrain and given the 30 to 60 mile range of this thing, you don’t want your hands to get tired.

Okay, so let’s list off the differences between this model and the more expensive SL and RC which are $300 and $700 more than the SM (which costs $2,499). Both of these models deliver a removable, backlit LCD display panel with tons of extra readouts (odometer, max speed, time, clock etc.) and an extra drive mode called Eco+. Additionally, you get a Micro USB port for charging lights and other portable electronics that’s located on the remote button pad. Moving on to comfort and portability… instead of a heavy oil-filled suspension fork on the SM you get an air fork with remote lockout and rebound adjust. The SM does have preload adjustment but it’s pretty basic and the lockout uses a crown-mounted plastic swivel (all forks offer 100 mm travel). While the SL and RC offer Schwalbe tires with puncture protection and precision mount Presta valves the SM has generic Kendas with old-fashioned Schrader stems. The saddle is more basic and doesn’t include a clip at the rear for adding a bag or lights and you only get nine speeds and a cheap SRAM X-4 derailleur (one step up from their lowest level offering) vs. 10 Shimano Deore or 20 Shimano SLX respectively (both solid mid-range components). The color scheme is also toned down with white accents on a flat gray background vs. blue and yellow accents on gray and white for the higher two models.

So are all of these trade-offs worth it?! Yes, definitely if you’re already stretching your budget from $2k just to get into a Haibike. I really enjoyed the simplicity of the LED console and didn’t mind the extra few pound on the suspension fork. The motor and battery used here are exactly the same as what you’d get on the SL and RC… and the missing “Eco+” drive mode isn’t something I used much while testing. If you can afford the $300 upgrade to SL I think that’s the best value because the nicer tires won’t get punctures as frequently and the air fork rides better. But hey, you can always swap forks out later (they might not match perfectly) and the tires are going to get replaced eventually anyway. I love that all of these models offer quick release wheelsets and am in love with the purpose-built frames, internal wire routing and tuff plastic skid plate protecting the motor. For riding to work or around the college campus the HardSeven is a real winner!

I touched on this a bit in the review but let’s dig into the motor a bit here. It’s mounted low and center, well protected and uses speed, cadence and torque to operate quickly and efficiently but the motor speed itself seems more limited than the Bosch systems. I simply prefer their technology over Yamaha at this stage. Bosch offers shift sensing which will reduce wear on your chain, sprockets and derailleur but for an urban rider that’s not a huge deal, just don’t mash the gears… ease off when shifting. I found myself pushing harder to maintain a 20 mph average speed and was almost always pedaling in the highest two gears because torque is the key ingredient in activating pedal assist with this ebike. My one ask to Yamaha would be to make their motor spin faster at times so I could shift down to lower gears and still hit 20 mph. All things considered, this is a winning electric bike and one that I’d feel comfortable locking up outside and seeing get banged up and worn out because it’s just more plain and less expensive. The first thing I’d add would be a beam rack and pannier blockers for use with bags so I wouldn’t have to constantly wear my backpack and yes… a bottle cage mounting point somewhere on the frame would be nice but I see that most of the downtube is taken up by the battery pack. It’s all about trade offs but I can appreciate the ones made to hit this lower price point and aside from some clicking heard in the review (from the chain guide) it operated quietly and eased my concerns about longevity given the two year comprehensive warranty and excellent dealer support.

Pros:

  • Haibike is touting their Yamaha powered electric bikes as offering “uncompromising performance” geared for a younger demographic, zero cadence assist is meant to be more immediate (verses the Bosch Centerdrive which requires 20 rpm for the motor to kick in), in my experience both systems start extremely quickly and Yamaha’s primary advantage is that it costs less and is compatible with two chainrings vs. just one for a wider gear range 455% vs. 420%
  • Even though this model uses the more basic LED console from Yamah, I like how it performed… the readout was visible and all of the most important menus were there (assist level, battery percentage, speed, range estimate)
  • The Yamaha motor operates without producing much noise when pedaling at slow and medium cadence speeds (especially in Low and Normal mode), you hear it more when pedaling in lower gears in High mode
  • You can charge the battery pack on or off the frame and since it slides on from the side vs. straight down like Bosch and other brands, it allows the top tube of the frame to drop lower for a decreased stand over height
  • I like how easy it was to open and close the rubber cover that protects the charging port on the left side of the battery, on some ebikes this type of cover is difficult to seat and comes undone easily which could allow water/debris in
  • Professional color scheme, the matte gray with white accents looks cool and even the saddle, grips and fork are color matched
  • Decent suspension fork upgrades, you get preload adjust and a slider lockout… because this is an oil-based shock vs. air it weighs more and rattled a bit when riding during my tests
  • Excellent weight distribution, the motor and battery are positioned low and center improving handling, both wheels have quick release for easier transport or trail maintenance and the motor is well protected with a replaceable plastic skid plate
  • Available in five distinct frame sizes! This makes it much more accessible to short and tall bodied riders, improving comfort and making it easier to ride for long periods of time

Cons:

  • The Yamaha motor seems to have a limited range of speeds compared to Bosch, in practice this meant that as I shifted down going into climbs my assisted-speed would drop, only the highest two gears would reach ~20 mph assisted and I had to strain my legs and knees more when climbing with mid-level gears or relent and drop all the way down to the lowest gears which reduces speed
  • No shift sensing or shift detection built into the drive system, this could lead to more mashing, banging and premature wear on the chain, cassette and derailleur
  • No bottle cage bosses on the frame though it appears that you could add fenders or at least mud guards and possibly a rear carry rack… definitely a rear beam rack like this and consider pannier blockers
  • More generic parts here including Kenda tires with Schrader Valves vs. Schwalbe with puncture protection and Presta Valves on the higher level models, the saddle is no-name and the derailleur is lower level SRAM X-4, you also get one fewer levels of assist (just Eco, Standard and Power vs. Eco+ with the LCD display unit), the display panel is not removable and there’s no USB charging port

Resources:

More Haibike Reviews

Haibike SDURO Trekking 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

One of the most affordable Haibike models... but it offers quality fenders, rear rack, integrated LED lights, hydraulic disc brakes, and a 10-speed Shimano drivetrain with one-way clutch. The headlight has side windows to improve your visibility and I love the reflective stripes…...

Haibike Urban Plus Review

  • MSRP: $3,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A sporty, sturdily built, urban electric bike that's capable of 28 mph top speeds (Class 3) to cut down on commute times, thru-axles, large hydraulic disc brakes, stiff frame. Available in three sizes to improve fit and comfort as well as two color schemes,…...

Haibike Radius Tour Review

  • MSRP: $3,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A compact semi-portable electric bike with unique folding options on the stem and pedals, the frame itself stays rigid and provides a sturdier ride as a result, reinforced rims also provide strength. The Yamaha PWseries mid-motor provides excellent torque for starting and climbing, up to 70 Nm,…...

Haibike XDURO AllMtn 8.0 Review

  • MSRP: $6,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

The highest specced all mountain electric model from Haibike, longer 150 mm travel on front and rear air suspension by Magura and Fox paired with a steeper fork angle and plus sized tires let you handle most terrain. Premium Magura hydraulic disc brakes 203/180 size with adjustable lightweight carbon levers and quad piston…...

Haibike SDURO HardFour 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high performance, purpose built electric mountain bike for kids or petite adults... but mostly kids! Limited top speed of 15 mph for safety, full 9-speed Shimano drivetrain. Capable 160 mm hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable-reach levers for smaller hands, only available in…...

Haibike SDURO HardNine 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the most affordable Haibikes in the line, available in four frame sizes, relatively lightweight, large 29er tires provide float and momentum at speed for cross country riding. Very capable mid-drive system (the same motor and battery as some higher-priced Haibike models), zero…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty, 28 mph, commuter-ready, electric bicycle made in six frame sizes across two styles, a stiffer high-step and easy approach step-thru. Reinforced fenders stay quiet, oversized rack with spring latch and Racktime connector, integrated LED lights…...

Haibike XDURO FullSeven Carbon Ultimate Review

  • MSRP: $16,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high-performance electric mountain bike available in four frame sizes, stiff carbon frame for improved power transfer and handling, carbon accents include seat post, saddle, handlebar, wheelset and more. Eleven speed Shimano Deore XTR drivetrain with Di2 electronic shifting for faster, more precise gear…...

Haibike SDURO AllMtn 6.0 Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A trail worthy, full suspension electric mountain bike with stiff lightweight frame construction, optimized suspension and a tightly integrated mid-drive motor from Yamaha. Upgraded 500 watt hour battery pack delivers 60+ miles on medium assist, powerful hydraulic disc…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautiful and capable all mountain style ebike with premium components from Schwalbe, Shimano, Magura and RockShox, the frame, fork and saddle are paint matched. The drive system is surprisingly powerful, delivering 80 Newton meters of peak torque output, it…...

Haibike XDURO Urban S RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed road bike with electric assist up to 28 mph (45 km/h), available in five frame sizes for improved fit and a vibration dampening seat post and shock stem for improved comfort. Efficient low-resistance tires with deep-dish aero rims and bladed spokes, keep the tire pressure up…...

Haibike SDURO Full FatSix Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only full suspension fat electric bikes I've seen, quality hardware including 20 speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, solid 2 year motor and battery warranty with 5 years on the frame. Powered by the Yamaha mid-drive ebike system with 500 watt motor, Zero Cadence pedal assist,…...

Haibike SDURO FullNine RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension 29er with mid-drive motor, slim battery and removable display by Yamaha, offers 80 Nm of torque and zero-cadence pedal assist response. The RX trim level is top of the line with light weight hardware from Shimano,…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN RC Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all mountain trail + downhill mid drive powered electric bike with 150 mm air suspension, rigid thru axles (15 mm front 142 x 12 mm rear). Impressive 20 speed drivetrain with quality Shimano Deore XT groupset, capable Shimano M615 hydraulic disc…...

Haibike XDURO DWNHLL Pro Review

  • MSRP: $8,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only true downhill ready electric bikes being made in series production, delivers a worldcup ready chassis and pro level components. Shimano Saint drivetrain and brakes (top of the line downhill groupset), with two piece Ice-Tech…...

Haibike XDURO FullLife RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Custom geometry with shorter reach to accommodate women (who tend to have shorter arms and torso but longer legs), shorter saddle with wider back, adjustable position brake levers for smaller hands. plush 120 mm front and rear Fox air suspension with 15 mm thru-axle front and…...

Haibike SDURO HardLife SL Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable women's specific electric bike from Haibike, leverages the Yamaha mid-drive, features an upgraded LCD screen with USB charging port. Excellent weight distribution, battery and motor are mounted low and center, the top tube is…...

Haibike XDURO Fullseven RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high performance full suspension electric mountain bike with quality components from Shimano, RockShox, and Fox. Responsive, durable and intuitive drive systems powered by Bosch, solid two year comprehensive warranty, five…...

Haibike XDURO AMT RX Review

  • MSRP: $6,350
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A high performance all-mountain electric bike with premium suspension from Fox and hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano. Thru axles on front and rear wheel for improved stiffness and durability, seat post dropper…...

Haibike XDURO Nduro Pro Review

  • MSRP: $9,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Premium downhill capable electric bike with 180 mm travel on front and rear Fox air suspension, available in four frame sizes for improved fit. Excellent weight distribution, Bosch-made Centerdrive motor and battery kept low and center on the frame,…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking Pro Review

  • MSRP: $4,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A long-range capable touring our commuting style electric bike that climbs well, has a balanced weight distribution and offers 27 speeds for a steady cadence at most speeds. Excellent accessories including LED lights, full-length fenders and sturdy rear-rack with spring latch...

Haibike XDURO Nduro RX

  • MSRP: $7,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The entry-level performance downhill electric bike from Haibike with 26" wheels , long travel 180 mm air suspension by Fox with CTD adjust and hydraulic Shimano SLX disc brakes. Excellent frame balance with motor and battery mounted low and center, quick release wheels with…...

Haibike XDURO Urban Review

  • MSRP: $4,450
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An efficient, light weight road style electric bike with a perfectly balanced all-aluminum frame and electric drive system. Convenient quick release wheels, integrated LED lights, quality hydraulic disc brakes and a removable battery…...

Haibike XDURO Fatsix Review

  • MSRP: $5,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The only Bosch powered electric fat bike I've seen with a suspension fork, RockShox air with remote lockout. Burly 15 mm front and 12 mm rear thru axles, extended bottom bracket and spindle…...

Haibike XDURO Race Review

  • MSRP: $6,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An extremely well balanced, light weight, high speed electric road bike - one of the only ebikes with drop bars that I've seen. Efficient centerdrive from Bosch can reach speeds of 28 mph and distance in excess of…...

Haibike XDURO FS RX 27.5″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance, well balanced, full suspension electric mountain bike with motor and battery kept low and center. Available in four frame sizes for good fit, larger 27.5" wheels improve traction, momentum and…...

Haibike XDURO RX 29″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Capable and sturdy eMountain bike with great frame balance, motor and battery (mounted low and center). Available in four frame sizes for good fit, large 29" wheels provide improved traction, momentum…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Ultra efficient centerdrive motor leverages nine speed cassette and three speed SRAM hub for climbing and distance. Top of the line commuting accessories including dynamo powered LED lights, rear rack with pump,…...

Haibike XDURO Superrace Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the lightest weight, most efficient and fastest riding electric road bikes available. Premium components including Magura MT4 hydraulic disc brakes, Integrated LED lights and SRAM X0 drivetrain...

Haibike XDURO AMT Pro Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Top of the line all mountain style electric bike with full suspension and middrive motor. Light weight, high end frame and components keep bike under 50 pounds...


steve pettyjohn
2 years ago

Hey Court, Great review – as usual! Looking forward to your review of the new Haibikes with the new Bosch CX motor. I ordered one 5 weeks ago and no word yet if it has even left Germany. Can’t wait.

Reply
Thao
2 years ago

Hey I love your reviews. But I am a little confused on your comments about the power range of the Yamaha system. If you are in the lowest gears for going up hill, i’m assuming the motor will only assist you as fast as you can pedal, which the mph shouldn’t be very fast considering you are in climbing gears. So my questions is how are the Bosch motors able to assist beyond the pedaling speed at low gears. That would almost make it like a full throttle since your pedaling at low gears isn’t fast enough to keep up with the speed. So even though you are pedaling but not putting any power into it because it’s beyond the speed of pedaling power, how would the Bosch motor propel you to above the pedaling speed. To me that would seem like a full throttle bike. Without the throttle of course. Or am I misunderstanding your comment? Because if I’m pedaling at the lowest gears, let say I can only reach 5-6 mph, and that’s the fastest I can pedal cause of the gearing. Now on the bosche motor, would it propel me above that, like a full throttle? If so, that would mean it’s all motor that pushing me since the gears wouldn’t allow me to pedal that fast. Is that what you mean by the power range? Thanks

Reply
court
2 years ago

Hi Thao! I’m sorry I wasn’t more clear… I felt frustrated with my dialog when editing because I feared the comment would come off just like you described, that cadence is the limiter and not the motor. I’ll try to distill the feeling: as pedal RPM goes up the motor power drops significantly compared to Bosch so even though both systems might have a limited top RPM, I feel that Bosch is higher and that the power you get is more consistent across that range. For Yamaha it feels as though the best power is only at lower cadence and relies more on torque input so I end up pedaling slower and pushing harder than I’d like. This comes into play when climbing especially because as I shift down to spin and generate more power the motor RPM kicks up and its power drops out so in turn my cadence slows… and again I shift down… eventually I’m just going way slower than I’d like in order to get the motor support I need to get myself and the 50 lb bike up a trail :/

Reply
Pierre M Tremblay
1 year ago

Court EBR Hi, Being retired, I always enjoyed riding bikes. However, things like WIND and HILLS were becoming more and more a good excuse for NOT GO Biking… Being completely “unfamiliar” with electric bikes, I went to a bike shop and started to watch your very informative reviews. I now have a Haibike SDuro Cross SL customized with rack, etc. and must say that it gave me back the pleasure of bike riding. I want to express my appreciation for all the very pertinent information which you provide.

Pierre M

Reply
court
1 year ago

That’s awesome! Thank you so much for taking the time to share a compliment Pierre, and good for you getting out there and enjoying cycling again! Have a blast and ride safe :D

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

trex
2 hours ago

Rich: Good information about the robustness of the lock and Bafang. Thanks, Rex

Ravi Kempaiah
3 hours ago

@imboJim , @.R.

A lot has happened with Haibike in 2017. Their parent company is Accell but Haibike itself was started as a standalone German company by Susanne Puello's father several decades ago.

She (Puello) went on to head the Accell's Winora and Haibike brand. In early 2017, because of differences between them and the Accell's team, they left company they had started and built.

https://www.bicycleretailer.com/international/2017/03/27/susanne-puello-leaves-accells-winora-group-citing-irreconcilable

http://www.bike-eu.com/home/nieuws/2017/03/accell-group-comments-on-susanne-puello-leaving-winora-group-10129443

While Haibike was bringing in lots of revenuw, other brands under the Accell were going bankrupt.
On top of that, Dick's sporting good's contract fell through and this made things worse for Accell.

https://www.bicycleretailer.com/north-america/2017/11/16/accell-adapts-north-american-operations-due-lower-sales-through-traditional

Then she joined hands with KTM and launched PEXCO E-bike brand and will be rolling out the famed Husqvarna brand E-bike.
http://www.husqvarnagroup.com/en/node/4077

This had ripple effects in the North American quarters. They had let go of all the Haibike employees early 2018 and amalgamate the brand with Raleigh, Lapierre, Izip etc.

The excess inventory that was left in 2017 had to be liquidated at astonishingly low prices. Every company wants to grow, Kalkhoff wants to grow, BULLS wants to grow, Trek wants to grow, (Juiced, M2S, Rad, FLX) wants to grow, every other manufacturer is going full force ahead. They have to compete with direct to consumer companies, Lunacycles, tons of Chinese import bikes. So, there is a lot of reorganizing thing going on both within the dealer network, and in sales channel etc.

Dealers were not happy with the liquidation process and prices. They were used to good margins and suddenly, they don't want to deal with extra work for less money. It's like parents got their kids hooked on cookies and chocolates and suddenly they are switching to veggies. So, some dealers dropped off and started focusing on different brands.

Anyway, Trek or Specialized has not changed. @imboJim , you could always get a Trek bike and they will reply back to your messages. It's very rare that you can drive 50 miles without finding a Trek dealer. Haibike may not because the personnel were let go and it's under transition. They do make awesome bikes and they are spearheaded by a team which has very experienced folks like Larry pizzi etc. I think they are in it for the long haul.

Overall, business is bound to change as the market evolves.

J.R.
4 hours ago

You can also use your Amazon account to pay at checkout. Very odd. I thought Haibike was strict with their warranty when buying direct online? Something about not covering labor or shipping replacement parts directly to the consumer? I don't own a Haibike, but 3 friends do and they are a consideration for my next bike.

LimboJim
5 hours ago

I'm curious as to your results in reaching out to HaibikeUSA. I own a couple models and have written to them a few times (via site form and email) with questions about specs, service and maintenance, but never once got a reply of any kind.

When I wrote them this past Winter to tell them that a bike shop near me listed Haibikes for sale on their website but weren't on the very hard-to-find https://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/dealer, however, they got right back to me seeking more info!

I just now also noticed that you can buy directly from HaibikeUSA on their https://www.haibikeusa.com/home, and that the legit dealer nearest me (45 mins) is no longer a dealer (I know he was last year because he had a couple models on his floor). Many other manufacturers have begun selling direct-to-consumer recently, as well, but I always assumed that Haibike wouldn't go that route.

To me, this all adds up to HaibikeUSA keeping their focus sharp on sales, but being neglectful if not derelict about supporting their resellers and customers. Just my opinion...

christob
5 hours ago

I was excited to look into this... but they (Hollywood Racks) confirmed I must use a Class 2 hitch -- the Prius I have (if I pay to add a hitch, since one was not standard) will be a Class 1 hitch :(

kiltym
9 hours ago

We use this. Works great so far. We have fenders on our Haibike trekking bikes.

https://hollywoodracks.com/products/sport-rider-electric-bike-hitch-rack?variant=15862468102

We actually use the non ebike version since our ebikes are <50 lbs with battery removed. Was by far the most economical when I was looking for a rack.

John from Connecticut
17 hours ago

Bosch Power Systems is my personal choice well...very smooth, powerful, quality. I have two Treks bikes with 2700 combined miles and zero
problems. I remove my batteries as well to charge, with apparent wear.

rich c
17 hours ago

Bicycle curls, twice a day, is going to build some muscle, LOL. I have two Haibikes with the Bosch system. I take the battery off to charge it. Just my personal preference, but I sure don't see any wear. Over 2,000 miles of each bike. I don't snap the battery in, I keep the strike open with the key, slide on the battery, then lock with the twist of the key. I have a strong preference for the Bosch system. The only Bafang experience I have is with a geared hub motor. It's out of commission with 1,700 miles on it. Sent it to a repair guy for Sondors, he resoldered some cold joints, and it failed again after 10 miles.

Amy
18 hours ago

That's funny! Well, here're couple of photos! Today, our longest ride ever (by over double), we went to the Pedego Store because my son is concerned about his noisy breaks. The first photo is inside the city public library, about 6 miles from home. We rolled our bikes into the library hallway for a brief break. The second photo is of the closed Pedego store, another six miles later--closed for Fathers day. This was one more great part of today's outing--it did not go as expected, but my son took that in stride--instead of talking to the Pedego store folks about noisy brakes, we played Pokemon Go and went out for sushi. :)

Mark Peralta
18 hours ago

Both are equally efficient, so it is more of a rider's preference on how the motors provide power assist. The Bosch has a wider RPM range and needs less gears (only one chain ring).

Here is another another back to back comparison of 2 equally equipped trekking bikes, except for the motor.

https://electricbikeaction.com/bike-comparison-haibike-sduro-trekking-rc-vs-xduro-trekking-rx/

Ravi Kempaiah
24 hours ago

Range - weight - price are all interconnected.

For longer range (50 miles), ideally, you would want 750+Whr battery, but then it creases the weight substantially.
If you could get a ~40lbs E-bike, then with 500whr battery + fair bit if your own power, you could get 50 miles.

If you are 6ft+ in height, I would strongly recommend you to get this one. They will ship the bike to your nearest dealer and for the money, it's a absolutely great value. it has top of the line DT Swiss wheels, just a great bike overall.

https://www.haibikeusa.com/sale/2016-xudro-race-s-rx.html

Most importantly, it tips the scale at 42lbs and with the aero riding position, you should get 40+ miles using a 500Whr pack.

You could get a 2017 Giant Road E for $3500 at most dealers across the nation. Here is a fun video featuring that bike.
This is also a fairly light weight bike.

Now, if you get something with 750+Whr, then you're looking at 53+ lbs of weight.

Any Trek bike shop would be able to get you a police E-Bike. For the money, it's top class. Swap the fork for a lighter carbon one and you're again in the sub 44 lbs zone.

https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/mountain-bikes/cross-country-mountain-bikes/police/police-electric/p/22241/

There are other bikes with bigger batteries and weight, Stromer, Riese & Muller, but they are often poor value compared to some of the bikes mentioned above.

Ravi Kempaiah
1 day ago

You're right. The numbering system for Haibike can be bit confusing with all the new and older year models. 6.0 is a really nice bike.
If I may suggest.
http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/us/en/schwalbe-big-ben-plus-mtb-tyre-greenguard/rp-prod154936. Running them at 30psi would make gravel riding much more comfortable.
Body float seatpost would be another good upgrade to think about.

pxpaulx
2 years ago

I'm competent with my gearing, but I do think with the sduro even (where the motor doesn't have a cutout like the bosch does), that the torque sensing is so instantaneous, I can literally lift my exertion, change gear and be back on the pedal in less than a pedal revolution. I'm at about 40 miles on the bike and I haven't ground a gear in some time already with it.

harryS
2 years ago

I like that Haibike Sduro Hardseven SM too. For a commuter, you need something that's reliable and that you can still pedal 5 miles if you forget to charge the battery the evening prior. I think a mid drive fits the latter need as far as ease of pedalling. In the home built side of things, mid drives are said to wear out parts faster, but I would think Haibike has mated the Bosch motor and components carefully for robustness. If it fits your budget, try a test ride.

You do have to learn how to ride a bike and use its gears for a mid drive to be effective. I continue to be surprised by the desire in America to pedal bikes with no shifting of gears and under throttle only.

Jmfrank79
2 years ago

Hello, my name is Jeff and I looking for my first Ebike.
I have been trying to research them as much as possible in the past 6 months or so using this website. I have to say that all of Courts reviews have been awesome!
After all my research, I think I am ready to buy one in the next couple of weeks.
Unfortunately, research will only take me so far, now I need to physically try them out.
There are several makes/models that I am interested in, but it is hard to find shops that specialize in these bikes and are local to the South Jersey/Philadelphia area.
So far, I have only found 2 shops within an hours drive, PHEW (Philadelphia Electric Wheel Co) in Philly, and Hybrid Cycles in West Chester. I have spoke to both, and I am going to try and get out to Hybrid Cycles this weekend.
Here is a little background on me:
I am 36, 6ft, weigh 200lb and live in Cherry Hill, NJ.
I have lost my licence for an extended period of time and am looking to use the ebike as my primary mode of transportation.
My commute to work is about 5 miles each way with some inclines and declines each way.
Aside from my commute to and from work, I will be using the bike to get around town to friends houses, run errands to the store (Ex. go to Wawa and grab some milk), and would also like to have some fun and take it off road a little bit on light trails on the weekend. It would be cool to ride it down some trails to get to some prime fishing spots and I would like to get into just riding on some wooded trails in the area and take on vacations to the campground, beach and mountains.
With that in mind, I am kind of torn on a commuter style bike vs a mountain bike.
Is there a certain bike that you would recommend for my situation?
For example, I keep going back and forth in my head between the Izip Protour, Dash and Peak, maybe even the Peak DS (even though that is probably overkill for my needs).
Do you have an opinion about these bikes? Also, I saw that the 2016 models have switched from hub motors to mid-drive motors. Do you think the new drive system is an advantage, or should I be considering the 2015 models for their hub systems?
Some of the other bikes that I am interested in are below:
Haibike Sduro Hardseven SM
Freway VR-01
Magnum Mi5
BMEBikes BM Shadow
Flux Trail
Juiced Bikes Cross-Current
Some of the options I am interested in are bosses for a rear rack and possibly fenders, bosses for a water bottle would be nice (but definitely not a deal breaker!), needs to have lights wired into the battery pack for riding home from work at night, I would prefer a 10+ amp hour battery to increase the distance that I can travel, and I think I would want some kind of throttle (twist, squeeze or button) to completely rely on the motor at times to maintain speed.
Does anyone have an opinion on any of the bikes that I listed above, or other bikes you think would fit my needs.
Since these bikes are kind of expensive, I just want to make sure that I am getting the right one for my first one!
If this goes as well as I have pictured in my head, I could see myself collecting a few ebikes each for more specific purposes.
However this first one needs to be the jack of all trades that although I do not have a car and live/work in the suburbs, I am not completely dependent on others!
So I would love to hear any thoughts that you have. Thank you for your time and any help that you could provide.
Thanks,
Jeff

eoghan
2 years ago

From what I hear, the only 2016 Haibikes that you can purchase right now is the Sduro Cross SM and the Sduro Hardseven SM. There will be more Sduro models available in a few weeks, maybe next month. The Xduro 2016 models won't be available for a few months and I guess they will roll them out like the Sduros, starting with the lower end - more popular models.

S S S
3 weeks ago

How does it perform in rainy or wet conditions.

Ian Mangham
6 months ago

She's a beauty

james eagle
8 months ago

Is this the same bike as the sduro Cross sm?

daMacroGuy
5 months ago

I have the same question. Looks the same.

John Glaister
8 months ago

Great and honest review. I bought this bike about 4 months ago and have done over 1000 miles on roads and some mountain trails. I'm 63 years old and was after a bike to help with fitness and to have some fun with. I'd score the bike 10/10 for helping me achieve both objectives.

The bike is great fun to ride and the motor helps massively going up hills. I've done 1500 ft climbs into local hills which I wouldn't have considered doing without this bike.

Great bike for the money. The Contour forks are probably ok for riding on streets, but I replaced them with some Manitou Marvel air forks for about £200. Doing this improved the bike massively.

I wore out the chain and 9 speed cassette after 600 miles. I think changing gears on steep climbs under load wears them out quickly. I replaced the chain with a stronger KMC 9e chain which is made for e bikes, and put a better Shimano XT cassette on as well. I'd hope these will last longer.

james eagle
8 months ago

John Glaister ok thanks.

John Glaister
8 months ago

b b In the UK we would class the Sduro Cross sl as a hybrid bike. It has 29" wheels instead of 27.5" wheels. Otherwise the spec is the same, I believe. A great bike for roads and light trail work.

james eagle
8 months ago

John Glaister is this bike the same as the haibike sduro Cross sl currently being sold on Amazon for $1600?

ElectricBikeReview.com
8 months ago

Nice! I'm glad you enjoyed my review and appreciate your additional feedback about fork upgrades and shifting carefully. I agree that climbing and shifting can be sensitive and produce some extra strain and wear. Hope your new hardware holds up for you :)

JohnnyG
1 year ago

Sounds like a rattling garbage can when moving.

Ryan Thomas
1 year ago

do you only review 500watt insanely overpriced wastes of money? seriously?? what hipster dbag drops this kind of money on this pos?? I'm not even going to begin to explain the insane waste of money that is this piece of garbage! anybody reading my comment here should just look up Ebikes, see for yourself what you can get for your money don't buy this douchebags advice. for less than a quarter this things cost you can get something over 7000 Watts! let that sink in..

james eagle
8 months ago

I won't leave yep it's very cheap right now on Amazon $1500. It's a good bike for what you're getting in terms of price and quality.

J F
8 months ago

This is about as fucking cheap as a good electric bike gets. You are some ind of massively stupid lol. Or just a shit troll

J F
8 months ago

Wow lmao. You are a fucking idiot.

james eagle
8 months ago

TheAegisClaw I guess he wants cheap Chinese Walmart bikes instead of a German quality bike lol.

TheAegisClaw
10 months ago

This is an electric bicycle. What you seem to want is an electric motorcycle powered by cheap Chinese hub motors and a DIY battery hooked up to a Walmart bicycle shaped object. Enjoy yours, we'll enjoy ours.

Josh Amidon
2 years ago

hmmm this or the juiced cross current?

james eagle
8 months ago

Josh Amidon which bike did you get?

audunp95
2 years ago

What size is the bike you tested? I am 6 ft 1 5/8 inch and trying to decide between the 50cm and 55cm frame.

Ian Mangham
2 years ago

audunp95 I'd go with the 50, I'm 6'2 and ride a 53cm frame ,you can easily adjust the bars and seat post for height and reach,you'll save weight getting the smaller frame and will have greater control 👍🏻

myrainbow
2 years ago

Is it possible to just get just the frame with motor and battery with this or any of the ebikes that u have reviewed!!

cbr9927
2 years ago

Its pretty good but on modest hills the legs will get a workout even on highest power output.

E-MountainBiker
2 years ago

Nice review

sputnic
2 years ago

Great reviewsBut you don´t seem to have any bikes under $1000 except the yellow one , unless I missed themIve seen some like X-trail , is that somehing not worth buyin ?

SchrodingersQuark
2 years ago

No air fork is a real shame.

Ian Mangham
6 months ago

SchrodingersQuark Expensive

Clinton Baltazor
2 years ago

Ebike down, expensive and loud. Its does look cool, but looks aren't everything! Another spot on review.

mobgma
2 years ago

No throttle mode killed what would have been a perfect bike at the price.

TheAegisClaw
10 months ago

mobgma there are no throttles allowed on European eBikes. It's the law here.

cbr9927
2 years ago

+mobgma
Throttles are fun, I have a 15 IZIP Dash with the throttle. I tried this bike out yesterday. Its slower for sure than the IZIP but at the price of 2499 its still a great bike, I myself would not pay more than 2k for it. Maybe winter sale later?

MotorheadRedo
2 years ago

I wonder if the Yamaha system is easier on the drive train since the larger front sprocket reduces torque? How does the Yamaha system compare to the 8fun? If the Yamaha motor is anything like their motorcycles, than this is a good motor.

Vorname Nachname
2 years ago

hey electric bike review first I want to say that I really enjoy your nicely made reviews and just want to ask sth.
I want to buy myself a new bike but the only suitable bike for me is the "Leisger MD5" but it got quite expensive... Could u recommend me a nice mountain bike let's say between 500 and 1000 $ ?

Artur Ragulskyi
2 years ago

this shifting sound... its killing chain and gears..

Spencer Han
2 years ago

Sounds like a porn name. Lol but realy...tell the company to make their enduro and downhill models with 750 watt motors at least. It'll still be road legal. Tell them they lost alot of potential customers including me, because they only offer these anemic euro models. I got the bafang bbshd and slapped it on a blue SantaCruz V10 cc and backpack battery that weighs 10 lbs,24 amp hours. 60 plus mile range with moderate pedaling.

TheAegisClaw
10 months ago

They're a European company and here you cannot have more than 250w unless you have a licence, insurance etc. Even then you only get 350w and 28mph

Flo Mo
2 years ago

2499,- A high price, but a perfect electric bike. It is very edgy. Something too edgy? Thank you for this video. :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Elya Cornovier Glad you enjoyed it Elya, yeah it's still a lot of money but for the quality and awesome design it got me excited :D