BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS Review

Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Electric Bike Review
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Brose High Speed Motor Trail Tune
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Bmz Downtube Battery 37 Volt
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Ergon Ga30 Locking Grips Transflective Display
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Rockshox Pike 150 Mm Suspension Fork
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Shimano Deore Xt Shadow Plus 22 Speed
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Schwalbe Rocket Ron 650b Tires
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Motor Protector Double Chain Ring
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Battery Pack
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Electric Bike Review
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Brose High Speed Motor Trail Tune
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Bmz Downtube Battery 37 Volt
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Ergon Ga30 Locking Grips Transflective Display
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Rockshox Pike 150 Mm Suspension Fork
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Shimano Deore Xt Shadow Plus 22 Speed
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Schwalbe Rocket Ron 650b Tires
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Motor Protector Double Chain Ring
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Battery Pack

Summary

  • A high quality full suspension e-mountain bike that's also a speed pedelec (capable of 28 mph top speeds), solid hydraulic disc brakes, wide thru-axles with Boost Technology
  • Adjustable 150 mm RockShox suspension front and rear, four-bar rear swing arm to reduce brake jack, 22 speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore XT Shadow Plus clutch on rear derailleur to reduce bounce and slap
  • Integrated LED lights with a bright mode at the rear when brake levers are pulled, room for a bottle cage or other accessory on the downtube, beautifully integrated battery and motor
  • A bit heavier than competing FS models due to battery size (37v 17.5ah), not a fan of the spring loaded kickstand, battery port cover doesn't always stay down, battery lock can be wonky and is placed in the path of the left crank arm

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

BULLS

Model:

E-Stream EVO 45 FS

Price:

$5,199

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Motor and Battery, 5 Years Frame

Availability:

Europe, Canada, United States, Australia, New Zealand

Model Year:

20172018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

56 lbs (25.4 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.61 lbs (2.99 kg)

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminium

Frame Sizes:

16.14 in (40.99 cm)17.32 in (43.99 cm)19.29 in (48.99 cm)21.26 in (54 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

33" Stand Over Height

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with White and Neon Green Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rock Shox Pike RC 27.5 Solo Air, 150 mm Travel, Rebound and Compression Adjust, 15 mm Maxle with Quick Release and Boost

Frame Rear Details:

Rock Shox Monarch Plus RT, 150 mm Travel, Rebound Adjust, 12 mm Thru Axle with QR

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

22 Speed 2x11 Shimano Deore XT Shadow Plus, 11-40T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore XT Triggers on Right and Left

Cranks:

FSA Cranks, 44T / 30T

Pedals:

Wellgo Alloy Platform, Cage Style

Headset:

FSA Tapered 1 1/8"

Stem:

Bulls Alloy, 7° Angle, (70 mm, 80 mm)

Handlebar:

Bulls Alloy, Low Rise, 740 mm Length, 25 mm Rise, 9° Bend

Brake Details:

Tektro Dorado HD-E715 Hydraulic Disc with 203 mm Rotors, Tektro Dorado Levers with Brake Light Switch

Grips:

Ergon GA30 Locking, Flat

Saddle:

Fizik Nisene MG

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

WTB ASYM i35, 32 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge Front 13 Gauge Rear, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Rocket Ron, 27.5" x 2.25"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

Tubeless Ready, Folding, EVO Liteskin, Trail Star 3

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Velo Battery Protector Pad, Hebie Spring Kickstand, Integrated Fuxon LED Headlight, Integrated Toplight Line E LED Back Light (Bright with Braking), Flick Bell on Right

Other:

IP56 Ingress Rating, Boost Adds 10 mm to Hub Length in Font and 6 mm in the Rear, KMC X11E Chain, Formula Hubs

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Brose Drive TF (Trekking Fast)

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

530 watts

Motor Torque:

90 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

BMZ

Battery Voltage:

37 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

17.5 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

647.5 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Estimated Max Range:

130 miles (209 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Backlit Transflective LCD, BULLS CSI

Readouts:

Speed, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Level (None, Eco, Tour, Sport)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Cadence and Torque Sensing)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS combines some of my favorite features of electric bikes. It allows you to travel in full suspension comfort without concern for lost efficiency because it’s electric… and has an extra-large battery pack. It allows you to travel faster, in this case much faster, with advanced pedal assist up to 28 mph in a way that feels natural and blends in. And, it keeps you safe and visible with smart integrated lighting systems. Not only are they sleek and light weight, the rear light has a large reflective surface and gets extra bright when the brakes are activated (as with an automobile). This is one of the most purpose built and stealthy electric mountain bikes I’ve tested in recent years and while the price tag isn’t low, I think it’s reasonable given the limited options in this niche. If you’re someone who commutes by week and could appreciate the speed and lighting features but loves to hit the trails on the weekend and doesn’t want a flexy frame with cheaper suspension and touch points then this is one of your only options. You get an upgraded saddle, grips and capable hydraulic disc brakes (208 mm front rotor and 180 mm rear). The only accessory I felt was missing is a dropper seat post. I love the traditional diamond frame and appreciate how the battery interfaces with the downtube (from the bottom up), keeping it open for hanging on car or bus racks. With the exception of a few European mandated quirks like a spring loaded kickstand and oversized brake levers, this thing is exactly what it should be… and it even has bottle cage bosses. You won’t be distracted by a large display or overly noisy motor and with five frame sizes to choose from, it’s more likely to fit the tall and short riders alike. I had a blast testing this ebike and found myself subconsciously comparing it with the other leaders in the space, it left me a little envious.

Interfacing directly with the core of the frame, completely replacing the bottom bracket, is a 350 watt mid-drive motor from Brose. This thing peaks with 90 Newton meters of torque and can reach 530 watts when climbing in the highest level of assist. The compact black casing hides behind two chainrings and has a nice neoprene pad stuck to the bottom to reduce nicks and scrapes picked up on the trail. While you can definitely hear it operating at the highest levels, especially when pedaling with a higher RPM, it’s one of the quieter geared mid-drive motors I’ve tested. Inside, there’s a collection of gears and a belt transition that takes the edge off and reduces some of the mechanical vibration and sound. When riding on a dirt trail, especially with larger knobby tires, it almost disappears completely. One thing you won’t find here is a shift sensing controller. It measures rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and torque but relies on you to shift consciously while backing off on pedal pressure (I usually ramp up my speed then ease off pedaling to switch smoothly). All in all, this motor is very capable and a lot of fun in the higher levels when paired with the wide range of gears. Brose and Yamaha are two of the only mainstream mid-drive systems offering this right now and while they aren’t quite as responsive as Bosch (winding down more slowly) they work quite well and tend to produce less noise. In short, the motor is great but it’s up to you to operate properly and empower it while avoiding damage to two derailleurs, the chain and sprockets. I believe in you…

Powering the motor and both integrated LED lights is a high capacity Lithium-ion battery pack. Inside are BMZ cells offering 37 volts and 11.5 amp hours of energy… enough to top 100 miles per charge if you’re willing to slow down a bit and use lower assist levels. Note that anytime you’re riding above 20mph, air resistance produces drag exponentially. People aren’t super aerodynamic when sitting up straight riding on a bulky mountain bike frame with wide knobby tires. And on those occasions where you throw efficiency to the wind and max out to 28 mph I’d suggest taking those turns very carefully lest you slide out and whack your chin as I have done on occasion. Wet grass is a big danger… but you may find yourself going from sidewalk to grassy hill to catch air. This bike feels a lot like flying because it can handle almost any terrain comfortably and won’t leave you breathless to maintain higher speeds. Back to the battery itself, the mounting interface is solid but a little tricky to work with. You have to push the pack up from beneath the downtube (latching the bottom and snapping the top). There’s a key and sliding lever thing which lets you unlock the pack. I do wish the keyed locking core was spring loaded and defaulted to locked vs. making you twist the key each time and I was being extra careful not to drop the battery when using the slider lever thing. The pack weighs about seven pounds which isn’t bad, but you’re actively pulling it down out of the downtube and the weight plus gravity plus trying to keep the bike from tipping can make it awkward at times. Thankfully, there’s a kickstand included with this bike (most e-mountain bikes don’t have them) but it’s spring loaded and constantly wants to slap back up. This is due to some European regulations… which also mandate large knob-ended brake levers, reflectors on the suspension fork and a license plate mount. Stepping back from the bike, once the battery is mounted properly, it looks just beautiful. And underneath the battery you’ve got another strip of foam padding to keep it protected. In short, the battery weight is positioned well and the quiet motor plus near-invisible battery result in a more normal looking electric mountain bike, one that won’t turn heads or ruffle feathers.

Operating the EVO 45 FS feels simple because the display panel is very basic and limited. Once the battery is charged and mounted (either charged on or off the bike) you sometimes have to press a power button on top of the downtube to get it to wake up. Next, you press the top edge of the button pad which is mounted within reach distance of the left grip. This brings up a nice display with speed, assist level and battery level readouts. It’s a transflective display, designed for easy reading in light or dark scenarios and it’s unique to Bulls from what I can tell. You click up or down to change power level (filling three boxes for full power) and pedal along, the drive systems kick in automatically from there. It’s very simple and easy to adjust without taking your eyes off the trail and there’s less to get scratched, broken (if you fall) or noticed as being “electric” by fellow riders. On the left side of this display button pad thing is another switch to activate the LED lights and as mentioned earlier, the rear light goes extra bright when braking. I love that they managed to squeeze in a Micro USB port on the display pad (near the base) for those who like to mount portable electronics to their handle bar cockpit area. Back to the go-anwhere speed commuting scenario, you could mount your phone and use GPS for longer rides without completely draining it. Just get the correct adapter off Amazon.

Not everyone cares about speed, full suspension or comfort the way I do. I’m not looking for a motorcycle here but I do enjoy the extra boost when riding in traffic and I only have the space and budget for one ebike. In so many ways, the BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS satisfies that vision. An ebike that blends in, is fun to ride and useful in a range of scenarios without being ridiculously expensive. Yes, $5,500 is far from cheap but it’s way less than some of the competing electric bicycles out there with similar designs like the Specialized Turbo. I like that Bulls went with Boost Technology (wider axles) and the sturdy thru-axle design front and rear. That’s a big deal when you’ve got large knobby tires, off-road and high speed. A dropper seat post would be easy to add yourself aftermarket and while I’m not sure where the cable would end up, the original brakes, shifter wires and electronics are all internally routed reducing snags and keeping the bike clean. Depending on how and where you’re riding, note the throttle lever on the rear derailleur which tightens the springs and reduces chain bounce and slap. It also makes shifting harder but is worth experimenting with as you go from streets and trails to bouncy rocks and mountains. The tires are tubeless ready and that’s one way to cut down on the heavier build (this is a 56 lb ebike) and that makes riding with lower PSI possible too… but do check on the pressure regularly given the weight of the bike slowly squeezing air out. Some people might want to explore a single sprocket up front given the 11 speed cluster in the rear (for even more weight savings and simplicity), Bulls is sold at a growing number of US dealers that could help you set it up and the two-year warranty is solid. This is a larger company with International distribution and a good reputation, I’d like to thank Bulls for partnering with me to make this review possible. We filmed on an access road in Southern California with some great views and had a blast.

Pros:

  • One of the very few full suspension, higher-end, electric mountain bikes that is also a speed pedelec capable of 28 mph top speed!
  • Integrated LED lights front and rear including a bright mode for the rear when you pull the brake levers… this increases safety if you’re using the bike to commute or jog around town during the week
  • You get a few little extras from European standardization including a license plat mount at the back, larger brake levers with ball ends and a flick bell
  • The battery blends in perfectly with the frame, it’s mounted up into the downtube and has a nice rock guard on the bottom (along with the motor) for protection off-road
  • I love that the screws used to attach some plastic housing on top of the downtube (for the battery, charge port and controller) can be used to mount a bottle cage
  • While you don’t get as many readouts with the Bulls display panel, I love how compact and easy to use it is, I also like the transflective readout technology which is easy to read in dark or super bright situations
  • Built into the display ring is a Micro USB port that could maintain your phone, Garmin or other portable electronic device… it’s conveniently located and blends in
  • 22 speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore XT Shadow Plus (has a tightening lever to reduce chain slap), offers plenty of range for climbing or reaching and maintaining higher top speeds… just awesome and perfect for a speed pedelec, I also like the chainring bash guard on it
  • I love the adjustable air suspension components here, both from RockShox with 150 mm travel, but would consider adding a dropper seat post for added versatility transitioning from climbing to descending
  • You can get the E-Stream EVO 45FS in five frame sizes which is really impressive to me, I’d consider four to be a lot but that makes this bike even more accessible to a range of body types
  • Both wheels offer quick release and use thicker longer axles (with Boost technology) for strength and stiffness with the larger tires
  • I like that the battery us removable to reduce weight and that the top triangle on the bike is more traditional because it’s much easier to hang from some racks
  • Very nice hydraulic disc brakes from Tektro, these are ebike specific (with the light integration) and offer great stopping power with a 203/180 setup vs. just 180 mm rotors on both
  • Super-fast 5 Amp charger compared with more standard 2 Amp or 4 Amp, nice to have given the larger capacity… I also like the magnetic EnergyBus plug style that will pop off vs. bending or tipping the bike
  • The motor is smooth and quiet, apparently there’s a rubber belt inside transferring power between standard gears and this reduces vibration and abrasion

Cons:

  • The little rubber cover flap meant to protect the charge port from dust and water doesn’t stay put very well, I had to work with it a bit each time which was frustrating
  • The locking core on the left side of the downtube is directly in the path of the left crank arm which means it could get snagged or bent easily… be careful not to leave the key in and make sure the battery is fully secure, I believe you have to manually turn again to lock the battery vs. just having it always locked when clicked in
  • Unlike Bosch and some of the nicer Yamaha display panels, this setup lacks a range estimator and battery percentage readout which makes it difficult to gauge distance at times, you just have a five bar battery info-graphic
  • No shift sensing technology with the Brose motor controller but the advanced assist makes shifting crunch-free if you just ease off a little and practice
  • I was surprised to find out that the bike weighs 56 lbs because many other premium FS ebikes are in the 52 lb range but this one has a larger capacity battery and reinforced top tube so that’s probably what does it
  • The kickstand has this automatic spring action that I really dislike… easy enough to remove the stand if you want (I believe this is a requirement for European speed pedelecs but I feel that it’s unstable and bikes tend to tip more with it)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More BULLS Reviews

BULLS Cruiser E Review

  • MSRP: $3,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A feature-complete cruiser style electric bicycle with paint-matched fork, fenders, rear rack, chain cover, and motor casing, available in three frame sizes with adjustable stem for good fit. Large sprung saddle, puffy stitched grips, swept back handlebars, and the deep step-thru frame make…...

BULLS Aminga TR 1 Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A full suspension, cross country style, electric mountain bike made just for the ladies with shorter reach, available in two smaller size options, features a turquoise fuchsia colorway. Sturdy Suntour XCR 34 air suspension fork with remote lockout for easy transitions from rough…...

BULLS TWENTY4 E Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A tough, sporty looking, high-quality, kids electric bike that can reach ~15.5 mph with four levels of pedal assist, smaller wheels keep the frame low and approachable. Premium accessories including tires from Schwalbe, a Shimano Altus 8-speed drivetrain, and Tektro hydraulic disc…...

BULLS Cross E Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Well priced considering the quality Bosch-made electric drive system, four frame size choices, and three frame styles (high, mid, and low-step). Integrated LED lights and premium Continental tires with reflective sidewall stripes help to keep you…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 2 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

One of the cleanest looking full suspension cross country electric bikes I've reviewed, the battery and motor are built into the frame and match the matte black paint perfectly. Extra large battery capacity for longer rides, EnergyBus magnetic charging standard works on or off…...

BULLS SIX50 E 1.5 Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A hardtail trail ready e-bike with comfortable plus sized tires and a spring suspension fork (with lockout), sturdy tapered head tube, rigid thru-axles, and Boost. Capable as a commuting platform if you prefer a mountain bike vs. hybrid or city…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

An active, sporty looking, commuter style electric bike with low standover height, available in three frame sizes to improve fit and comfort. High-end drivetrain and motor systems, you get eleven gears with a tough mountain bike level…...

BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

An all-mountain electric bike with plus sized tires for improved stability, traction and comfort, 150 mm air suspension with compression and rebound adjust. Battery and motor mount design are tighter than older Bosch systems, weight is kept low…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 3 Carbon 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A Carbon fiber electric cross country mountain bike with premium components and ultra-integrated motor and battery system, excellent weight distribution. The Brose motor is quiet and responsive offering up to 90 Nm of torque output,…...

BULLS DAIL-E Grinder Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

One of the first Gravel Grinder style electric bikes to make it to America! Made with premium components, high performance lights and a purpose built frame in three sizes. Capable of high speed 28 mph performance, the Bosch centerdrive motor measures bike speed, pedal…...

BULLS SIX50 E2 Street Review

  • MSRP: $3,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A fully equipped speed commuter capable of 28 mph operation, running on the proven Bosch Performance mid-drive motor and updated 500 watt hour Samsung battery. Extra large 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes offer smooth solid stops without requiring exorbitant hand…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A versatile urban electric bike well suited to commuting, touring and trekking because of its efficient mid-drive motor and larger than average battery capacity, durable internal gearing and belt drive. Available in five frame sizes and three frame styles including wave, mid-step and high-step diamond…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A stealthy full suspension all-mountain electric bike with longer travel 150 mm suspension, fully adjustable air fork by RockShox, color matched to frame. Larger 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack to assist with steeper climbs and longer…...

BULLS Monster E FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Full suspension fat bike with a high quality mid-drive motor from Bosch and their updated 500 watt hour battery pack for extended range. Cool fluorescent paint job that extends all the way through the fork, rear shock housing,…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

Available in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step and mid-step) with an adjustable stem, active-comfort saddle and ergonomic grips, this bike can fit well and feel good at speed and over long distances. Capable of 28 mph top speeds, this is a Class 3 electric bike with an…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all-mountain electric bike with beautifully integrated battery, motor and display... it blends in more than most other e-mountain bikes I've tested and runs quiet. Sturdy 15 mm thru axle in the front and 12 mm axle in the rear…...

BULLS SIX50 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A loaded full suspension mountain bike with premium electric drivetrain from Bosch offering 75 Nm of climbing torque with the CX motor and a 400 watt hour Samsung battery. RockShox air suspension with 120 mm travel front and rear for solid trail or all…...

BULLS Monster E S Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

Premium hardtail electric fat bike with all the fixins, highlights include rear rack bosses, tubeless-ready tires and punched out rims, RockShox air fork with remote lockout and high torque Bosch CX motor. Quality 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano for excellent stopping power and modulation, impressive…...

BULLS Outlaw E45 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty looking, fairly comfortable speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speeds, it's running on an optimized geared hub motor design with heat pipe technology for maximum performance. Unique mid-mount battery box fills the main frame triangle keeping weight low and centered while…...

BULLS Sturmvogel E EVO Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautifully designed urban electric bike painted white for visibility and modern appeal, white walled tires, reflective sidewall stripes, LED lights. Extra sturdy and durable thanks to a 15 mm thru-axle on the front wheel (with…...

BULLS TWENTY9 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension, Bosch powered, cross country style electric bike with efficient 29" wheels, it's available in three sizes for good fit and would feel taller and larger for riders with long legs but still fits some shorter riders given the angled top tube. Quick release for both wheels ads convenience for fixes and transporting the bike, I love…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fully loaded urban electric bicycle with great accessories for commuting including an aluminum rear rack, full length fenders with mud flaps and integrated LED lights. Relatively light weight at under 50 lbs, this is due in part to the nicer…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS Enduro 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An enduro style full suspension electric mountain bike with longer 160 mm suspension travel, seat post dropper, 27.5" wheelset and premium hydraulic brakes. Downtube-integrated battery pack is out of sight and keeps weight low and centered across the…...


Jay
10 months ago

Nice video overview it’s a good looker I really wanted to like it a lot more but the lack of shift sensing would stop me from considering this as a 2nd ebike. Its been around now for a while so I don’t see why Brose, having achieved pretty much a premium product positioning aren’t inclined to incorporate it. If you appreciate shift sensing as I feel most people who have experienced it do then it’s not something you want to downgrade from. A bit like going back to dial up. Ok maybe a little harsh but you’ll know what I mean. Stopped me from moving to the Specialized Turbo Levo. Of course this isn’t Bulls fault so maybe manufacturers are a better voice to apply some pressure on what is otherwise a best in class motor option.

Any idea if the shift sensing ‘tech’ is patented or limited in some way? It can’t be that tricky to incorporate.

Reply
Court Rye
10 months ago

Hi Jay! I feel you… it’s interesting that Bosch and Impulse can do shift sensing, even some more generic Bafang mid-drive systems can add a bit of hardware to make it possible like e-RAD does, but I haven’t heard anything from Brose or Yamaha. My Turbo Levo is still working great but I never ever mash the gears. Admittedly, I don’t get to ride as much as I’d like to but I always shift carefully and it hasn’t posed a real issue. On the flip side, my Uncle owns a Haibike with Bosch and has gone through five chains and two derailleurs over a two year daily ride period. I am not sure if he shifts differently than me or it’s just the added forces of electric. You CAN mash on Bosch, their shift sensing is software driven but to me, it’s better than nothing. I am careful regardless of the platform. If you’ve got a mid-drive, you will be putting more pressure on some components it so it’s important to take that into consideration ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Reply
Nicolas
9 months ago

Great in-depth article! I test rode this bike at the last Long Beach Expo and was really impressed with it. It handled the obstacle course with such brio and aplomb that I’m smitten with it :) You can sense how well put together it is and oozes quality built. I’m looking forward to a more in-depth test ride and finding out more.

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Hey Nicolas! I’m looking forward to more comments from you because your vocabulary rocks… Perhaps an update on this bike if you decide to buy one?!

Reply
Nicolas Zart
9 months ago

Thanks Court, looking forward to this amazing community. Decide to buy one? Hum, that’s a tough one. More like, two, three, four… I wish, and I’m working on it.

The good problem with modern e-bikes is that they are so good. I’m not sure if most people remember what was available 10 years ago? Crickets… OK, one or two brands and a lot of DIY conversions and modifications. It was slim picking. Today, you have such a wide choice of availability. It’s truly impressive!

Reply
Ken
9 months ago

Thank you for the great review on this as well as so many other bikes Court! I must admit that I have been binge watching your reviews and they have literally been keeping me up at night and I am so sleep deprived right now… I am so excited to get an e-bike and want to pull the trigger and get one ASAP, but am doing my best to take a step back and make sure I make a good choice and wise investment. I’m basically considering two completely different categories and price points. I’m considering a couple of significantly less expensive options (E-Glide ST and Magnum Peak), but I’ll comment on those separately as I’m guessing that would be more appropriate and useful for others.

The Bulls EVO 45 is clearly at the upper price point and I am very intrigued by it. I know you ended up getting a Specialized Turbo Levo FSR Expert and I know it was important for you to have a class one bike to open up as many riding options as possible, but I’m curious if you can share any other thoughts between these Bulls and the Specialized that led you to go Specialized as I know they have class one Bulls versions as well. I’m personally leaning towards this Bulls EVO 45 because I want to use this as a commuting bike as well as a multipurpose bike as well as an off-road mountain bike. I like the idea of the 28 mph from the perspective of getting to work quicker and staying with traffic better, but I’m also a bit concerned that the state of Oregon may decide that this is not legally considered a bicycle… I also like the integrated lights, bigger battery = longer range, and lower price point. With all that said, I like the idea of the Specialized (I would likely be considering the Comp instead of the Expert) better because I’m familiar with the brand and dealer network (but have never heard of Bulls before), I like the idea of a bit wider tires, and I really like the look! The only thing I wish these bikes had was a throttle as that would be even more ideal from my perspective… Any thoughts would be appreciated!

Also some more specific questions with respect to the Bulls EVO 45 – Is the motor really a 350 watt or was this a typo and should it be a 250 watt? How wide are the tires on this bike? I’m sorry for the long comment, but thank you again for all of your work and any thoughts you may have! Ken

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Hi Ken! Great questions… I chose the Turbo Levo Comp but it was sold out so I ended up with an Expert. I paid over $6,500 with it after a discount from Specialized (since I was going to review it, they’re an advertiser and they didn’t have the cheaper Comp model). The reason I chose Specialized and paid a premium was because this was one of the first ebikes in the USA to offer the Brose motor. I wanted to get one, test it out and do some long term review/feedback videos. ALSO! I wanted to learn from the experts at Peloton Cycles in Fort Collins. They let me film and everything so I got like three videos out of the experience along with a great bike. So I guess the short feedback would be that Bulls is a solid brand, I didn’t avoid them but just didn’t have the option AND wanted to get some great support and learning. I hope this helps you with the decision and sorry I’m a bit short of time or would elaborate further… feel free to connect in the forums or ping me with other comments. I’ll do my best to help ;)

Reply
Ken
8 months ago

Thank you for the initial response Court; I appreciate it. As much as I’d like to try one of the Haibikes with the new Yamaha pw-x motor, which really sounds interesting to me, it doesn’t sound like that will happen for another year at this point according to my local dealer… Have you been able to ride anything with this motor yet? If not and assuming it would be another year wait, that brings me back to Bulls and Brose for now I think. I’m now down to 2 bikes, the Bulls EVO 45 and the Bulls EVO FS3 Plus… I’m really (I mean REALLY and SERIOUSLY!) having a hard time making up my mind between these two bikes. Unfortunately, I don’t have the ability to ride both of them, so I’m hoping maybe you could share some thoughts given you reviewed both and appeared to have ridden both back to back on the same day on the same terrain. What I’m really really curious about is aside from the obvious differences in top speed, tire width, lights, bell, kick stand, seat, brakes, etc., is there any noticeable difference in power between the two under 20mph based on the 350 watt rating vs. the 250 watt rating? Any other differences or thoughts would be most welcome! Thank you again for all the great work and help!!! Ken

Reply
Court Rye
8 months ago

Hi Ken! I can tell you’ve been digging deep on these two. Sounds like you’ve identified the main differences and indeed, the bikes are very similar. For many people, the high speed option is a big deal and it’s something you cannot add once the bike has been purchased. The feeling of both motors is similar… but you end up going faster and perhaps accelerating faster on the 45. I like how that bike looks, appreciate the kickstand and larger brake rotor at the front. I’d probably pay more for that one because I ride in and around town frequently and it’s very easy to hit 20 mph with either bike but then you’re basically stuck at 20-23 mph with the slower motor because of air resistance and bike weight. Note that you will drain the 45 battery faster due to the higher speed but these packs are big. Most of my riding is on streets but I love dirt paths and jumps… where speed helps again :P

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

KidWok
7 days ago

Got my ST1 LE 19 months ago and have put on 6k miles so far. Last year was the wettest year on record in Seattle for quite some time. It was pretty obvious that the fenders wouldn't be long enough so I added mud flaps, as I have many times before on road and commuter bikes. I quickly discovered that speed pedelacs kicked up the water fast enough that the water stream atomized on contact with the mud flap. Over the last year, I've revised my mud flap design multiple times and now have one I'm really happy with. Here's how they evolved:

Version 1: Used the long side of an orange Tide laundry bottle and attached it to black plastic fender plug with two M4 bolts and lock nuts. As noted, high speed water spray atomized on contact, enveloping feet and drive train in a fine mist that flushed the lube out of the chain after any short amount of time on wet pavement.

Version 2: First tried folding the flap so that water impacted at an angle, which didn't noticeably help. Then drilled some holes to add a series of vertical strings (chalk line) along the inside of the flap. The idea was for the strings to wick the water down, which helped a little. This assembly started getting heavy and version two ultimately disappeared when the black plastic fender plug fell off mid-ride.

Version 3: Stromer sent me another plug. The plug has a small hole in it, presumably for water to not collect in the fender cavity. I drilled a 1/8th inch hole just above that on the inside of the aluminum fender so that I can run a small zip tie to make sure the plug is firmly attached (picture attached...you can barely see the pink zip tie covered in road crud). This time I also wanted to lengthen the flap so I used an old water bottle (LDPE) and the long section of another detergent bottle zip tied together, mostly because the orange looks good with the blue on the LE. This worked fairly successfully for some time, but the wind eventually blew back the flap so that it was flying almost horizontally. That actually was fine because it was enough to protect the drive train and I had started commuting in Hunter Chelsea rain boots. However, the LDPE bottle was repeatedly creased where it attached to the plug and eventually broke off mid-ride. The plug stayed put thanks to the zip tie.

Version 4: Now I'm using two halves of the water bottle (LDPE) for the top, connected to both inside and outside of fender plug. This creates a very rigid top half that keeps the lower flap in line with the fender. Played with various materials and have found that HDPE from a gallon vinegar bottle is light, durable, and flexible enough to be scraped and knocked around. Middle section of vinegar bottle where label is attached yields two flaps, but at this time I'm still only running a front flap because I don't care about spraying behind on my commute. In addition to vertical lines, I've now added a pair of zip ties horizontally in the middle of the lower HDPE section, which holds the curvature of the flap and elevates the lines off the plastic. This dramatically reduces the amount of mist at high speed as it seems the gap between the lines and the plastic create a pocket for the disrupted/decelerated spray to mix with any remaining mist and exit downward. Version 4 pic attached.

Version 5: Needed a flap for the rear due to towing my son around on a trail-a-bike, so I took another LDPE bottle and the other half of the HDPE to make another flap. Once more, the flap is attached to the fender plug with two M4 bolts and the plug is zip tied on to the fender body. Having realized that a large gap between the strings and the plastic lower flap greatly reduces mist, I decided to run the strings horizontally with holes drilled along the side edges, instead of vertically as before. This serves to both hold the flap in a eye pleasing parabolic curve and maximized the de-misting pocket. Am now running version 4 on front and version 5 on rear. Version 4, with its vertical endpoints at the bottom of the flap has always collected a bunch of leaves, dead worms, etc. Version 5 clearly stays cleaner and does a better job eliminating mist. I ran out of vinegar again today, so the front flap has now been updated as well (pictures attached).

This has been a fun design challenge and I hope it helps other speed pedelac owners get the most out of their bikes year-round.

Tai

1/4
trebor
2 weeks ago

The Atom seems more advanced, but it would come down to the handling and how the geometry felt.

Some others to look at:

BULLS E-CORE EVO AM (same E8000 motor as Focus Jam2, but twice the battery capacity).

BULLS E-STREAM EVO AM4 (in case Brose-S motor is preferred).

trebor
2 weeks ago

I didn't buy one yet. Now I am thinking that I want dual suspension, 650B+ tires, 140mm tor more of suspension travel, and Brose-S or STEPS. Turbo Levo battery is getting to be small - 504 at most and 460 for models below Comp. The 2018 Bulls E-Cores are 750 with STEPS motors. The model AM or TR2 looks like what I want. Or if I like the Brose feel more, then the E-STREAM EVO AM4 or AM3. Or Maybe AtomX Lynx 6.

DaveF
2 weeks ago

I'm new to e-bikes this summer with the purchase of a Bulls E-stream EVO FS 3 29. I spend 90% of my riding time in the Post Canyon area enjoying the amazing trail networks. The principle motivation for this purchase was to use an e-MTB for knee replacement rehab, AKA e-hab. I get a workout that definitely helps with range of motion, building leg strength, and cardio at a level I can dial in. The trails are now accessible , even the steepest long grinds with my friends and family.

I joined this forum to learn as much as possible about the maintenance and use of my e-bike. I wish there was more online support for my bike. Also, would like to see apps that perform debug and operational mods for the drive system.

Updates for my bike include: a dropper seat post, updated flat peddles, tubeless tires, and grips.

bob armani
3 weeks ago

My new 2017 E-Stream Evo 45 FS.

Hello Mark-Love the BULLS! Is it easy to hit the top speed of 28mph while riding with your speed pedelec? I wanted to test ride this year at the Expo, however, I was told the bike was in for repairs at that time. Does it perform well at those speeds? Enjoy!

Rudder
3 weeks ago

Siganberg, I've been looking at lots of photos of the E-Stream Evo FS3 27.5 Plus, trying to see if others have the kickstand mounting point built in to the chainstay just forward of the rear axle on the left side. Most I've seen online do not have it. My bike is a 2017 (black/red color) and came new with the small rectangle block and two threaded holes built into the chainstay there. It's welded (heli-arced into it ). It fits the Felt Massload CL-KA89 kickstand. If you don't have it on yours there's probably a kickstand that can be fitted, but I don't know which one.

Siganberg
4 weeks ago

Just got my FS 3 and wanted to add kickstand too. Do you have some pics how did you installed that stand. Did you add some clamp?

Love the bike though. It's my 2nd ebike. My other is juiced bike I used as commuter.

I'm using a Felt Massload CL-KA89 kickstand on my Bulls E-Stream Evo FS 3 27.5 Plus.
I think it's made to fit on Felt Lebowske or Outfitter bikes. ($24)
It requires the 2 threaded mounting points built into the frame just forward of rear axle.
http://www.feltb2b.com/kickstand-massload-lebowske-cl-ka89-outfitter-9000265

Mark Wyvratt
4 weeks ago

My new 2017 E-Stream Evo 45 FS.

1/3
Hanz
1 month ago

Just ordered my new Bulls E-stream Evo 45 fs. Should be in by next week. Winter is coming but I just cannot wait

1/1
Ken M
2 months ago

My wife and I were riding our ebikes around Venice, FL this weekend and ran into another couple riding regular beach cruiser type bikes. They were pretty much tired out from riding their bikes in the heat and humidity and were really interested in our ebikes until they asked the price. We have inexpensive bikes, but when I told them that one cost about $1,200 and the other was about $2,800 they lost all interest, and were pointing out that they purchased theirs at a local bike shop for about $300 each. This is a pretty wealthy little town and the couple we were talking to live up North and have a vacation home on the beach here, so we're not talking about people who don't have money to buy an ebike- but from what I can tell as long as people in the US regard bikes as toys and not real transportation there is going to be a very limited number of buyers of ebikes that cost in the thousands, just as there are very few buyers of multi-thousand dollar non-powered bikes. Obviously many people in a specialized forum such as this may feel differently, but there is a reason why almost all bikes being sold are in the lower price ranges.
I think you have a good point on how an eBike is perceived - just a fun toy or a serious form of transportation. This summer I started riding to work as much as possible which is about a 25 mile round trip. I actually bought a $500 eBike originally and learned very quickly it was not up to the task of being a serious urban commute bike (it was great for riding around the neighborhood but not much else). Personally I think the trend towards Class 1-3 eBikes (ie basically legislation to allow DMV and insurance companies to ruin the industry because they will not establish long term reasonable rates) will hurt the adoption of eBikes as a serious form of transportation. It makes sense to have speed limits on paths where differentials of bike speeds may increase risks, but when someone is on a 60lb eBike on the street they are far less safe if they are limited to assist speeds of 20 or 28mph. It's no wonder that most serious commuters are finding way to de-restrict the speed controls on their eBikes. Anyone that thinks the police have the time or the equipment to check the power of every eBike motor or it's speed capability is probably someone working at DMV or an insurance company wanting some revenue stream from eBikes and will never ride one.

Hanz
2 months ago

I currently have a radrover fatbike I love. Also thinking about getting a Bulls E-Stream Evo 45 FS. A LBS near Pittsburgh will have a demo next week. Looking for real world pros and cons. I read all the reviews I could find. Any opinions greatly appreciated.

1/1
schole
2 months ago

Looking for a full-suspension mtb that is a speed pedelec (class 3). For example, Bulls E-Stream Evo 45 FS. Are there others?

Thanks in advance

MLB
2 months ago

You don't like working harder, but you're doing it. As YOU get stronger, the bike will too. At least in terms of giving you more boost. What you are experiencing is what I like about mid drives with good torque sensors, you have to work for the boost. Mid drives are the smallest motors used for ebikes. Good torque but the smallest hp (hp is speed, torque is climbing ability)
Yes my hub motored bikes are faster and give more boost easier. (all brands)
But I spend 90% of my rides on the mid drive because it's much more like riding a bike. ;)
My Haibike (and all others I've heard discussed that aren't speed pedalec) cuts out at 19mph and that's annoying, so I feel you on the 18mph and I don't know WHY that is when it's all digital....

To add to this, I have had an e-motion 650b for 2 years (30 speed), and love it, but off road the rear hub motor just can't cut it. So I just bought a 2016 Bulls E-Stream EVO FS 3 29er (22 speed) with Brose for $3,099 (big sale!). I've seen tons of reviews about how good the Brose motor is. I road it on a 20 mile bike ride with some hills and was not impressed. A little background, I have an ICD, and heart disease (from a virus), but I'm not too much of a slouch for a 52 year old. Anyway, on the 650B I cruise around usually on eco mode with my son at 12-15, or solo on boost and cruse at 20-23. I get a good workout, but it doesn't kill me.

With the Brose (updated) 4 power levels, on high, or any level, the basic work I have to put in to just trigger any assistance is very high for me, on top of that power cuts out at 18 MPH, that is a big difference compared with 21 MPH. So I go slower and work harder, alot harder. My average BPM was about 130 on the 650B at 20 MPH, where the Brose is more like 140-150 at 18 MPH. Be aware it didn't matter if I was going 18, or 14, the effort appeared the same. It's not all is bad with the Brose, I peddled up a very steep canal embankment in the lowest gear that I would never make with the 650B.

I thought I would sell the 650B, but I guess not. The Brose seem good for only tight off road in low gears. So I can re-live my youth on trails I use to do with my 1995 IBOC (no shocks at all). I plan on doing everything I can to modify the Brose top speed, not happy it's cutting out 2 MPH before 20.

Larry Ganz
2 months ago

To add to this, I have had an e-motion 650b for 2 years (30 speed), and love it, but off road the rear hub motor just can't cut it. So I just bought a 2016 Bulls E-Stream EVO FS 3 29er (22 speed) with Brose for $3,099 (big sale!). I've seen tons of reviews about how good the Brose motor is. I road it on a 20 mile bike ride with some hills and was not impressed. A little background, I have an ICD, and heart disease (from a virus), but I'm not too much of a slouch for a 52 year old. Anyway, on the 650B I cruise around usually on eco mode with my son at 12-15, or solo on boost and cruse at 20-23. I get a good workout, but it doesn't kill me.

With the Brose (updated) 4 power levels, on high, or any level, the basic work I have to put in to just trigger any assistance is very high for me, on top of that power cuts out at 18 MPH, that is a big difference compared with 21 MPH. So I go slower and work harder, alot harder. My average BPM was about 130 on the 650B at 20 MPH, where the Brose is more like 140-150 at 18 MPH. Be aware it didn't matter if I was going 18, or 14, the effort appeared the same. It's not all is bad with the Brose, I peddled up a very steep canal embankment in the lowest gear that I would never make with the 650B.

I thought I would sell the 650B, but I guess not. The Brose seem good for only tight off road in low gears. So I can re-live my youth on trails I use to do with my 1995 IBOC (no shocks at all). I plan on doing everything I can to modify the Brose top speed, not happy it's cutting out 2 MPH before 20.

Check and see if you can have the bike shop reprogram the computer? Also, check if there is a setting for changing the wheel diameter or the tire circumference, and if it has that then changing it could let you travel a little faster, even if the programming thinks it's cutting out at 18mph you'd really be doing 20.

FooDoDaddy
2 months ago

To add to this, I have had an e-motion 650b for 2 years (30 speed), and love it, but off road the rear hub motor just can't cut it. So I just bought a 2016 Bulls E-Stream EVO FS 3 29er (22 speed) with Brose for $3,099 (big sale!). I've seen tons of reviews about how good the Brose motor is. I road it on a 20 mile bike ride with some hills and was not impressed. A little background, I have an ICD, and heart disease (from a virus), but I'm not too much of a slouch for a 52 year old. Anyway, on the 650B I cruise around usually on eco mode with my son at 12-15, or solo on boost and cruse at 20-23. I get a good workout, but it doesn't kill me.

With the Brose (updated) 4 power levels, on high, or any level, the basic work I have to put in to just trigger any assistance is very high for me, on top of that power cuts out at 18 MPH, that is a big difference compared with 21 MPH. So I go slower and work harder, alot harder. My average BPM was about 130 on the 650B at 20 MPH, where the Brose is more like 140-150 at 18 MPH. Be aware it didn't matter if I was going 18, or 14, the effort appeared the same. It's not all is bad with the Brose, I peddled up a very steep canal embankment in the lowest gear that I would never make with the 650B.

I thought I would sell the 650B, but I guess not. The Brose seem good for only tight off road in low gears. So I can re-live my youth on trails I use to do with my 1995 IBOC (no shocks at all). I plan on doing everything I can to modify the Brose top speed, not happy it's cutting out 2 MPH before 20.

Rudder
3 months ago

I'm using a Felt Massload CL-KA89 kickstand on my Bulls E-Stream Evo FS 3 27.5 Plus.
I think it's made to fit on Felt Lebowske or Outfitter bikes. ($24)
It requires the 2 threaded mounting points built into the frame just forward of rear axle.
http://www.feltb2b.com/kickstand-massload-lebowske-cl-ka89-outfitter-9000265

Rudder
3 months ago

I have a 49 cm frame and want to add a Dropper Seat Post Which ones fit easily, works well, and lasts a long time? My comfortable seat rail height is 195 mm above the bottom of the seat post clamp. I pushed the seat post down the seat tube and it bottoms out after accepting 238mm of it.
Has anyone installed one?

Steve Pierce
3 months ago

Just received a new 2016 Bulls 27.5 ebike from SanDiegoFlyRides last Friday. Shipping only took a week and the bike arrived with just very minor damage. Front disk rotor was slightly bent and a couple of small dings to the paint job but overall in good shape. Thanks for the fast delivery.
The bike looks to be of very high quality. I weigh about 265 and was concerned with the suspension holding enough air pressure. Had to pump up the rear RockShox to 300 psi to get the right amount of sag. Seems to be holding the pressure. The ride is very plush. The drive system will get you to 20mph in a hurry. I have to get used to that because I ended up flying down a tight trail way too fast. 20mph through trees and winding trails is pretty intimidating. The battery is huge and well hidden in the frame. After riding for 2 hours, the battery indicator had only dropped one bar.
I am very please with this bike overall. It feels and looks like a serious mountain bike.
Very good price drop on the 2016 models also.

Steve

Over50
3 months ago

I just stumbled upon the new reise and muller supercharger. It seem to have the distance I am looking for with the new dual battery setup built into the frame for the main stream look. Just wandering about the Gates belt drive setup and its reliability...Anyone list some pros and cons on any of these setups. Also the supercharger already comes with fox front suspension forks.
I'm a big fan of the belt drive. I have it on the Charger and on my human powered bike (Spot bike with Shimano Alfine hub). So far they have been very reliable and it eliminates a lot of maintenance. What I'm becoming less of a fan of is the Nuvinci hub that comes with the belt drive bikes for R&M. At least in my case, the Nuvinci leaves me wanting a bit more gear range. While it is simple to use and so far reliable, if I were making my purchase decision again I might reconsider the Nuvinci version and select the chain driven Shimano 11 speed (Rohloff would be overkill for my flat terrain use). I kinda wish R&M would offer a belt drive version with the Shimano Alfine 11 speed IGH. Seems like that would be a good option for someone like me who prefers an IGH paired with a carbon belt but who really doesn't care for the Nuvinci.

RookieCommuter
3 months ago

I just stumbled upon the new reise and muller supercharger. It seem to have the distance I am looking for with the new dual battery setup built into the frame for the main stream look. Just wandering about the Gates belt drive setup and its reliability. The down side is it doesn't come out till December. The plus side is the price compared to the st2. Also with the St5 coming out theres a lot to think over. Anyone list some pros and cons on any of these setups. Also the supercharger already comes with fox front suspension forks.

Fran Fabrizio
3 months ago

I think it's pretty apparent at this point that they did not expect to sell out the entire first container as pre-orders. All the language they had on their site during the pre-order period and all that has happened since points to this. They said that all pre-orders would arrive late August and ship soon thereafter, and that all pre-orders would have the upgraded brakes. Clearly they were expecting that pre-orders would only be a fraction of that first shipment. Oops. Growing pains. Will be interesting to see if the company learns from this, which will be shown both in how they handle rollouts of future generations of bikes but also in how they treat those of us who do not have our bikes yet and feel excluded from the brake upgrade that was described.

There's some business 101 going on here. They have a product and price point that has generated high demand and currently has little competition in the market. This is why we're all willing to put up with the headaches - because we want the bike we've decided is the right bike for us and there's nowhere else to go get it at this price. So that's opened an opportunity where a company can currently do things like work connections in China and do some thoughtful design and sourcing of parts and put together a compelling bike package that seriously undercuts the competitor's pricing and entices people to pre-order and be early adopters. That gap will close, it always does - e-bikes will continue to get more popular, tech will get better, part prices will come down as manufacturing increases, and that market opportunity will be harder and harder to exploit. Of course there are companies right now looking at the CrossCurrent S and figuring out how can I assemble that cheaper or build a better bike for the same price? They'll eventually figure it out, then Juiced will need to either have to find a different, less mature segment of the market to attack, or find other ways to differentiate themselves.

This is where good customer service now could pay dividends later. As consumers that's what would make us loyal repeat buyers. On the other hand, it could be a perfectly valid business plan to decide that generating repeat buyers is not a priority and that they're always going to look to ride that wave of bringing the first truly affordable well-spec'ed bikes to different segments of the e-bike market, or some other market altogether, such that they aren't competing with many other products in the marketplace and therefore they will continue to have a customer stream. As a company, they have limited resources and although of course most companies want to do well in all aspects of their business, these niche companies in immature markets rarely have the resources and experience to pull it all off, so they play to their strengths (which in Juiced's case is clearly on the design side). As consumers, we of course want it all - great designs at a great price with great customer service sooner than everyone else. There are very few companies who figure out how to do that well consistently while in immature markets. Once things become more commodity it's relatively easier to do that, and you see lots of market consolidation at that point. There are way too many small e-bike companies right now - the marketplace will work itself out and it will be interesting to observe how that plays out over the next several years.

RookieCommuter
3 months ago

Hello everyone. New to ebikes/bikes in general other then having them as a kid. I have done a lot of research and looking at several different brands. The two in particular is the optibike pioneer carbon and stromer st2. So lets start by my specs and purpose for the bike. I am a 5'5 male 160 lbs. Not very active due to the busyness of life. I live in Atlanta and due to the new beltline being built and traffic in the city I really want to "ditch" the car as much as possible and commute by bike. Using the bike as my main transportation.

With that being said most of my biking will be within 24-30 miles max round trip of my house. With that being said I don't want to be limited as I get in better shape with going further. Also we have hot summers and not looking to be soaked in sweat when I get where I am going (work, grocery store, out on town, etc).

I want maximum range, comfort, handling, exceptional quality built. So I have come down the stromer st2 and optibike. Heres the aftermarket parts I am looking to pair with the bike to achieve desired outcome. The Kinekt seat posts and fox suspensions forks. From what I have read these upgrades will make a world of difference. What I like most about the pioneer carbon is the weight, thumb throttle, and I can buy a extra battery to achieve the same max distance as the st2. The biggest pro about the stromer is the reputation they seem to have as being the best built bike on the market.

Open to other brands also but really like that both of these have a appearance of just a beefier main stream bike. Lets hear some opinions. I am here to learn.

Kathy Smith
3 months ago

OK. We all have our riding styles. My wife never shifts hears either althoughshe learned to drive on a 4 speed Ford. A hub motor may fit you better, and my thinking is a geared unit is good for non-shifting. However, the small wheel on a 20" is like a lower gear too. Limits top speed, but easier for starts and hills.

The US laws, such as they are, and restrictive Euro policy on throttles have made it difficult for main stream bike makers to build models that can be sold in either market, so we do see more throttle-less ebikes here.

If you remove the battery on some of the heavier bikes, they might meet your weight limits for carrying upstairs. Keep looking.
Yes, I'll keep looking...

harryS
3 months ago

OK. We all have our riding styles. My wife never shifts hears either althoughshe learned to drive on a 4 speed Ford. A hub motor may fit you better, and my thinking is a geared unit is good for non-shifting. However, the small wheel on a 20" is like a lower gear too. Limits top speed, but easier for starts and hills.

The US laws, such as they are, and restrictive Euro policy on throttles have made it difficult for main stream bike makers to build models that can be sold in either market, so we do see more throttle-less ebikes here.

If you remove the battery on some of the heavier bikes, they might meet your weight limits for carrying upstairs. Keep looking.

Flavia Sparacino
3 months ago

beautiful trail. Where is it?

double penn
4 months ago

I had mine for 4 days now, first day i did 16 miles of all mountain work ( going hard) , ended with 2 bars. The downhill performance was lacking ( compared to my unassisted downhill rig). Blazing the open trails was a all out blast. Day two I toted my kid around in a cart. We did 44.5 miles. The battery went flat on the last climb. I recon if I put the assist in the lower setting i would of made it . Today I ripped to work , 13 miles in 32 minutes, full assist. After the 13 back I had 2 bars left. I upgraded the peddles ( mine came with plastic ones ). I also removed the kickstand and painted the green accents black ( looks way cleaner ). I tried swapping the saddle but the wires run through it, Ill rip it apart when i get my dropper. I had to adjust my front and real derailleur , both brakes and add air to the shocks before I even took it for a spin. I weigh 210lbs and carry a 20lb bag during my commute , if you and your gear weigh less I'd expect better battery performance. Next year there will be a speed Lacuba full suspension ( so I hear ) I'm going to swap for that for my commute. Ill keep the 45fs strictly for med/light trail ripping. Hope this helped someone. Thanks EBR for all your great work.

You Toober
4 months ago

@ 13:04 - MOVE!! One side!!

>:0

Zach Stenger
5 months ago

Are there any other 28 mph full electric mountain bikes? Great review btw!

Mr Ohbie
5 months ago

This bike is everything that I want just hate the color combo haha but seems like its a great commuter/trail bike wish I could test it out before I buy >.<

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Bulls seems to have a growing network of dealers which is great, but I know it can be difficult to find and test the right bike sometimes... It would be cool if they had more color choices too but at least it's fairly neutral. Spray paint maybe :P

RoboticusMusic
5 months ago

Where is this location?

Larry Conger
6 months ago

Hey, Court I wanna see what the Shimano steps is all about so can u pls do a video comparison maybe look at the BULLS E-CORE FS Di2 27.5 Plus as the best example?

Alex NC
6 months ago

What's the best way to add a rack for hanging bike panniers to this bike?

And... dude! get away from that edge! You were freaking me out. You were one bad rock away from a major life adjustment

koolstup
8 months ago

I weight 147lbs, so this bike would be ideal for me. Sadly, it's not available/legal in the UK :-(

Mike Malloy
8 months ago

Thanks for all your unbiased reviews. I trust them more than watching promotional reviews. As I shop for ebikes the one thing that gets me is... I find a ebike close to the specs I'm looking for but the paint color is not as exciting as other ebikes I've seen. The color on this bike is 'okay', basic black/white but doesn't pop. I wish that besides bike size options, you could have paint color options. I suppose this would be special order but that's fine too. When you spend $$$$ for a ebike you want it to be perfect.

Alex Jett
8 months ago

Where can this bike be purchased

You Toober
4 months ago

*http://www.bullsebikes.com/edealers/*

benzoesan sodu
9 months ago

What is in your opinion best ebike on full suspension have you ever ride? On Bosch, Brose or on Brose? Which models? Maybe Haibike Dwnhill Pro? Bulls E stream Evo FS? Thank you :)

ol1bit
9 months ago

Awesome...my 3 year old Emotion 650B is feeling old, still goes awesome, but always though on trails. Power is lacking tad. Someday...

Duane Jahn
10 months ago

fifty-five hundred dollars for a bicycle? That is crazy, IMHO.

You Toober
4 months ago

You have people out there that pay hundreds of dollars for jeans/clothing, hundreds of thousands for a car, tens of millions for an apartment, paintings.....

Jason Hacker
10 months ago

I notice you're wearing a lid when you ride off. The image stabilisation is impressive - have you attached your normal handheld gimbal set up to it or is that all digital stabilisation? Judging by the way you are looking down at the frame I suspect there's no gimbal but.....

Maurice Imhof
10 months ago

I really like this bike since it is a proper enduro trailbike but also an s-pedelec, therefore suitable for commuting... Is the saddle on the bulls really fix (not a dropper)?

Propel Electric Bikes
9 months ago

I think this bike is going to be quite popular. Many people are looking for a bike with these sorts of capabilities. It's pretty awesome!

Bike Style 4.0
10 months ago

look at my Channel for More Bulls 2017 Electric Bikes :-)

SOTA Biker
10 months ago

I have enjoyed your Electric Bike Review, since the first Specialized Turbo Levo you reviewed. I am an intermediate level mountain biker that rides a FS 27.5+ mtn. bike. The Turbo Levo presently does not have enough amp hours I needed for my planned e-mountain bikepacking rides. After your video mentioned the Bulls E-stream Evo FS 3 Plus had 17.5 ah, I knew there was an e-mountain bike with my requirements. I liked Bulls E-stream 45 FS for better front suspension, better seat, stronger brakes for steep downhills, and preprogrammed to run up to 28 mph on flat terrain. After a lengthy consideration and further research, I chose the Bulls E-stream Evo FS 3 Plus, because it was a Class 1 rated in some states and better traction with 27.5+ tires on loose soil in steep grades. Your videos helped me to decide!
Question: During this video you mentioned the 45 FS was going 12 - 13 mph up the steep grade. Based on same conditions on steep grade would the FS 3 Plus have same maximum speed of the 45 FS, because both bikes have the same Brose motor with same torque output of 90 newton meters on the same grade?

SOTA Biker
8 months ago

PandaOn2Wheels Hello PandaOn2Wheels,
I purchased my Bulls E-stream EVO 3 FS 27.5 Plus from Boise Electric Bikes. Boise Electric Bikes is owned by Michael and Heidi a family business (http://www.boiseelectricbikes.com). In January, Boise had snow in town and bicycle market was slow and I felt I could get my best deal. I wanted to work with my local bike shop for support and service. I did my homework of current winter deals for my Bulls e-mountain bike online. I asked for Michael if he could offer me similar deal. Michael agreed to work with me.
Lee

PandaOn2Wheels
8 months ago

Lee Kliman Whoch dealer did you deal with? I'm planning on purchasing one within next few months and would love to get that kind of deal. Thanks.

SOTA Biker
9 months ago

Thank you for replying to my comment. You are correct, I am enjoying my 2017 Bulls E-stream EVO 3 FS Plus. The ebike climbs excellently up steep grades. Plus tires on dirt climbs are more important to me over 28 mph on flat roads.
My electric bike dealership included Magura Vyron Wireless Dropper Post, Orange tubeless sealant conversion, Mirrycle Bar End MTB Mirror, and discounted price. I use this Bulls ebike for bikepacking on dirt roads and trails. I also have DMR Vault pedals, Arkel 15 seatpacker, Salsa EXP Anything handlebar cradle/bag, front & rear lights, and GPS with Ram mount. All in all seems to work seamlessly together for bikepacking.

Propel Electric Bikes
9 months ago

Great bike! Sounds like you're going to have a lot of fun with it! You should have no issue maintain similar speeds up grades since the torque is effectively the same. It will just cut out at 20 mph instead of 28. Hope you enjoy your new bike!

Seb K
10 months ago

In every video - "I'm going to set it to the maximum level" . Just something I noticed .

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Yeah, I want people to know what I'm doing in case they are new... Sometimes I go with lower levels to test speed and response. I like to pump it all the way up so you can hear the motor and see how powerful it can be if desired :)

Bob A
10 months ago

Awesome bike and components! Did not realize that the fork is almost $1000 dollars US. Once again, Bulls comes out with another awesome ebike. Making me a little quizie on those trail inclines LOL

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Ha! Yeah, the face camera offers mixed results... and the cliffs were a bit large (perhaps even larger in appearance with a wide screen lens). Indeed, Bulls offers good value in the higher-end market in my opinion. The price tag of this bike is high but not ridiculous given the components and drive system in place.