BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS Review

Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Electric Bike Review
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Brose High Speed Motor Trail Tune
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Bmz Downtube Battery 37 Volt
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Ergon Ga30 Locking Grips Transflective Display
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Rockshox Pike 150 Mm Suspension Fork
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Shimano Deore Xt Shadow Plus 22 Speed
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Schwalbe Rocket Ron 650b Tires
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Motor Protector Double Chain Ring
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Battery Pack
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Electric Bike Review
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Brose High Speed Motor Trail Tune
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Bmz Downtube Battery 37 Volt
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Ergon Ga30 Locking Grips Transflective Display
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Rockshox Pike 150 Mm Suspension Fork
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Shimano Deore Xt Shadow Plus 22 Speed
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Schwalbe Rocket Ron 650b Tires
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Motor Protector Double Chain Ring
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Battery Pack

Summary

  • A high quality full suspension e-mountain bike that's also a speed pedelec (capable of 28 mph top speeds), solid hydraulic disc brakes, wide thru-axles with Boost Technology
  • Adjustable 150 mm RockShox suspension front and rear, four-bar rear swing arm to reduce brake jack, 22 speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore XT Shadow Plus clutch on rear derailleur to reduce bounce and slap
  • Integrated LED lights with a bright mode at the rear when brake levers are pulled, room for a bottle cage or other accessory on the downtube, beautifully integrated battery and motor
  • A bit heavier than competing FS models due to battery size (37v 17.5ah), not a fan of the spring loaded kickstand, battery port cover doesn't always stay down, battery lock can be wonky and is placed in the path of the left crank arm

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

BULLS

Model:

E-Stream EVO 45 FS

Price:

$5,199

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Motor and Battery, 5 Years Frame

Availability:

Europe, Canada, United States, Australia, New Zealand

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

56 lbs (25.4 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.61 lbs (2.99 kg)

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminium

Frame Sizes:

16.14 in (40.99 cm)17.32 in (43.99 cm)19.29 in (48.99 cm)21.26 in (54 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

33" Stand Over Height

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with White and Neon Green Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rock Shox Pike RC 27.5 Solo Air, 150 mm Travel, Rebound and Compression Adjust, 15 mm Maxle with Quick Release and Boost

Frame Rear Details:

Rock Shox Monarch Plus RT, 150 mm Travel, Rebound Adjust, 12 mm Thru Axle with QR

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

22 Speed 2x11 Shimano Deore XT Shadow Plus, 11-40T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore XT Triggers on Right and Left

Cranks:

FSA Cranks, 44T / 30T

Pedals:

Wellgo Alloy Platform, Cage Style

Headset:

FSA Tapered 1 1/8"

Stem:

Bulls Alloy, 7° Angle, (70 mm, 80 mm)

Handlebar:

Bulls Alloy, Low Rise, 740 mm Length, 25 mm Rise, 9° Bend

Brake Details:

Tektro Dorado HD-E715 Hydraulic Disc with 203 mm Rotors, Tektro Dorado Levers with Brake Light Switch

Grips:

Ergon GA30 Locking, Flat

Saddle:

Fizik Nisene MG

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

WTB ASYM i35, 32 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge Front 13 Gauge Rear, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Rocket Ron, 27.5" x 2.25"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

Tubeless Ready, Folding, EVO Liteskin, Trail Star 3

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Velo Battery Protector Pad, Hebie Spring Kickstand, Integrated Fuxon LED Headlight, Integrated Toplight Line E LED Back Light (Bright with Braking), Flick Bell on Right

Other:

IP56 Ingress Rating, Boost Adds 10 mm to Hub Length in Font and 6 mm in the Rear, KMC X11E Chain, Formula Hubs

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Brose, Trail Tune, E45

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

530 watts

Motor Torque:

90 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

BMZ

Battery Voltage:

37 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

17.5 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

647.5 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Estimated Max Range:

130 miles (209 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Backlit Transflective LCD, BULLS CSI

Readouts:

Speed, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Level (None, Eco, Tour, Sport)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Cadence and Torque Sensing)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS combines some of my favorite features of electric bikes. It allows you to travel in full suspension comfort without concern for lost efficiency because it’s electric… and has an extra-large battery pack. It allows you to travel faster, in this case much faster, with advanced pedal assist up to 28 mph in a way that feels natural and blends in. And, it keeps you safe and visible with smart integrated lighting systems. Not only are they sleek and light weight, the rear light has a large reflective surface and gets extra bright when the brakes are activated (as with an automobile). This is one of the most purpose built and stealthy electric mountain bikes I’ve tested in recent years and while the price tag isn’t low, I think it’s reasonable given the limited options in this niche. If you’re someone who commutes by week and could appreciate the speed and lighting features but loves to hit the trails on the weekend and doesn’t want a flexy frame with cheaper suspension and touch points then this is one of your only options. You get an upgraded saddle, grips and capable hydraulic disc brakes (208 mm front rotor and 180 mm rear). The only accessory I felt was missing is a dropper seat post. I love the traditional diamond frame and appreciate how the battery interfaces with the downtube (from the bottom up), keeping it open for hanging on car or bus racks. With the exception of a few European mandated quirks like a spring loaded kickstand and oversized brake levers, this thing is exactly what it should be… and it even has bottle cage bosses. You won’t be distracted by a large display or overly noisy motor and with five frame sizes to choose from, it’s more likely to fit the tall and short riders alike. I had a blast testing this ebike and found myself subconsciously comparing it with the other leaders in the space, it left me a little envious.

Interfacing directly with the core of the frame, completely replacing the bottom bracket, is a 350 watt mid-drive motor from Brose. This thing peaks with 90 Newton meters of torque and can reach 530 watts when climbing in the highest level of assist. The compact black casing hides behind two chainrings and has a nice neoprene pad stuck to the bottom to reduce nicks and scrapes picked up on the trail. While you can definitely hear it operating at the highest levels, especially when pedaling with a higher RPM, it’s one of the quieter geared mid-drive motors I’ve tested. Inside, there’s a collection of gears and a belt transition that takes the edge off and reduces some of the mechanical vibration and sound. When riding on a dirt trail, especially with larger knobby tires, it almost disappears completely. One thing you won’t find here is a shift sensing controller. It measures rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and torque but relies on you to shift consciously while backing off on pedal pressure (I usually ramp up my speed then ease off pedaling to switch smoothly). All in all, this motor is very capable and a lot of fun in the higher levels when paired with the wide range of gears. Brose and Yamaha are two of the only mainstream mid-drive systems offering this right now and while they aren’t quite as responsive as Bosch (winding down more slowly) they work quite well and tend to produce less noise. In short, the motor is great but it’s up to you to operate properly and empower it while avoiding damage to two derailleurs, the chain and sprockets. I believe in you…

Powering the motor and both integrated LED lights is a high capacity Lithium-ion battery pack. Inside are BMZ cells offering 37 volts and 11.5 amp hours of energy… enough to top 100 miles per charge if you’re willing to slow down a bit and use lower assist levels. Note that anytime you’re riding above 20mph, air resistance produces drag exponentially. People aren’t super aerodynamic when sitting up straight riding on a bulky mountain bike frame with wide knobby tires. And on those occasions where you throw efficiency to the wind and max out to 28 mph I’d suggest taking those turns very carefully lest you slide out and whack your chin as I have done on occasion. Wet grass is a big danger… but you may find yourself going from sidewalk to grassy hill to catch air. This bike feels a lot like flying because it can handle almost any terrain comfortably and won’t leave you breathless to maintain higher speeds. Back to the battery itself, the mounting interface is solid but a little tricky to work with. You have to push the pack up from beneath the downtube (latching the bottom and snapping the top). There’s a key and sliding lever thing which lets you unlock the pack. I do wish the keyed locking core was spring loaded and defaulted to locked vs. making you twist the key each time and I was being extra careful not to drop the battery when using the slider lever thing. The pack weighs about seven pounds which isn’t bad, but you’re actively pulling it down out of the downtube and the weight plus gravity plus trying to keep the bike from tipping can make it awkward at times. Thankfully, there’s a kickstand included with this bike (most e-mountain bikes don’t have them) but it’s spring loaded and constantly wants to slap back up. This is due to some European regulations… which also mandate large knob-ended brake levers, reflectors on the suspension fork and a license plate mount. Stepping back from the bike, once the battery is mounted properly, it looks just beautiful. And underneath the battery you’ve got another strip of foam padding to keep it protected. In short, the battery weight is positioned well and the quiet motor plus near-invisible battery result in a more normal looking electric mountain bike, one that won’t turn heads or ruffle feathers.

Operating the EVO 45 FS feels simple because the display panel is very basic and limited. Once the battery is charged and mounted (either charged on or off the bike) you sometimes have to press a power button on top of the downtube to get it to wake up. Next, you press the top edge of the button pad which is mounted within reach distance of the left grip. This brings up a nice display with speed, assist level and battery level readouts. It’s a transflective display, designed for easy reading in light or dark scenarios and it’s unique to Bulls from what I can tell. You click up or down to change power level (filling three boxes for full power) and pedal along, the drive systems kick in automatically from there. It’s very simple and easy to adjust without taking your eyes off the trail and there’s less to get scratched, broken (if you fall) or noticed as being “electric” by fellow riders. On the left side of this display button pad thing is another switch to activate the LED lights and as mentioned earlier, the rear light goes extra bright when braking. I love that they managed to squeeze in a Micro USB port on the display pad (near the base) for those who like to mount portable electronics to their handle bar cockpit area. Back to the go-anwhere speed commuting scenario, you could mount your phone and use GPS for longer rides without completely draining it. Just get the correct adapter off Amazon.

Not everyone cares about speed, full suspension or comfort the way I do. I’m not looking for a motorcycle here but I do enjoy the extra boost when riding in traffic and I only have the space and budget for one ebike. In so many ways, the BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS satisfies that vision. An ebike that blends in, is fun to ride and useful in a range of scenarios without being ridiculously expensive. Yes, $5,500 is far from cheap but it’s way less than some of the competing electric bicycles out there with similar designs like the Specialized Turbo. I like that Bulls went with Boost Technology (wider axles) and the sturdy thru-axle design front and rear. That’s a big deal when you’ve got large knobby tires, off-road and high speed. A dropper seat post would be easy to add yourself aftermarket and while I’m not sure where the cable would end up, the original brakes, shifter wires and electronics are all internally routed reducing snags and keeping the bike clean. Depending on how and where you’re riding, note the throttle lever on the rear derailleur which tightens the springs and reduces chain bounce and slap. It also makes shifting harder but is worth experimenting with as you go from streets and trails to bouncy rocks and mountains. The tires are tubeless ready and that’s one way to cut down on the heavier build (this is a 56 lb ebike) and that makes riding with lower PSI possible too… but do check on the pressure regularly given the weight of the bike slowly squeezing air out. Some people might want to explore a single sprocket up front given the 11 speed cluster in the rear (for even more weight savings and simplicity), Bulls is sold at a growing number of US dealers that could help you set it up and the two-year warranty is solid. This is a larger company with International distribution and a good reputation, I’d like to thank Bulls for partnering with me to make this review possible. We filmed on an access road in Southern California with some great views and had a blast.

Pros:

  • One of the very few full suspension, higher-end, electric mountain bikes that is also a speed pedelec capable of 28 mph top speed!
  • Integrated LED lights front and rear including a bright mode for the rear when you pull the brake levers… this increases safety if you’re using the bike to commute or jog around town during the week
  • You get a few little extras from European standardization including a license plat mount at the back, larger brake levers with ball ends and a flick bell
  • The battery blends in perfectly with the frame, it’s mounted up into the downtube and has a nice rock guard on the bottom (along with the motor) for protection off-road
  • I love that the screws used to attach some plastic housing on top of the downtube (for the battery, charge port and controller) can be used to mount a bottle cage
  • While you don’t get as many readouts with the Bulls display panel, I love how compact and easy to use it is, I also like the transflective readout technology which is easy to read in dark or super bright situations
  • Built into the display ring is a Micro USB port that could maintain your phone, Garmin or other portable electronic device… it’s conveniently located and blends in
  • 22 speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore XT Shadow Plus (has a tightening lever to reduce chain slap), offers plenty of range for climbing or reaching and maintaining higher top speeds… just awesome and perfect for a speed pedelec, I also like the chainring bash guard on it
  • I love the adjustable air suspension components here, both from RockShox with 150 mm travel, but would consider adding a dropper seat post for added versatility transitioning from climbing to descending
  • You can get the E-Stream EVO 45FS in five frame sizes which is really impressive to me, I’d consider four to be a lot but that makes this bike even more accessible to a range of body types
  • Both wheels offer quick release and use thicker longer axles (with Boost technology) for strength and stiffness with the larger tires
  • I like that the battery us removable to reduce weight and that the top triangle on the bike is more traditional because it’s much easier to hang from some racks
  • Very nice hydraulic disc brakes from Tektro, these are ebike specific (with the light integration) and offer great stopping power with a 203/180 setup vs. just 180 mm rotors on both
  • Super-fast 5 Amp charger compared with more standard 2 Amp or 4 Amp, nice to have given the larger capacity… I also like the magnetic EnergyBus plug style that will pop off vs. bending or tipping the bike
  • The motor is smooth and quiet, apparently there’s a rubber belt inside transferring power between standard gears and this reduces vibration and abrasion

Cons:

  • The little rubber cover flap meant to protect the charge port from dust and water doesn’t stay put very well, I had to work with it a bit each time which was frustrating
  • The locking core on the left side of the downtube is directly in the path of the left crank arm which means it could get snagged or bent easily… be careful not to leave the key in and make sure the battery is fully secure, I believe you have to manually turn again to lock the battery vs. just having it always locked when clicked in
  • Unlike Bosch and some of the nicer Yamaha display panels, this setup lacks a range estimator and battery percentage readout which makes it difficult to gauge distance at times, you just have a five bar battery info-graphic
  • No shift sensing technology with the Brose motor controller but the advanced assist makes shifting crunch-free if you just ease off a little and practice
  • I was surprised to find out that the bike weighs 56 lbs because many other premium FS ebikes are in the 52 lb range but this one has a larger capacity battery and reinforced top tube so that’s probably what does it
  • The kickstand has this automatic spring action that I really dislike… easy enough to remove the stand if you want (I believe this is a requirement for European speed pedelecs but I feel that it’s unstable and bikes tend to tip more with it)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More BULLS Reviews

BULLS SIX50 E 1.5 Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A hardtail trail ready e-bike with comfortable plus sized tires and a spring suspension fork (with lockout), sturdy tapered head tube, rigid thru-axles, and Boost. Capable as a commuting platform if you prefer a mountain bike vs. hybrid or city…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An active, sporty looking, commuter style electric bike with low standover height, available in three frame sizes to improve fit and comfort. High-end drivetrain and motor systems, you get eleven gears with a tough mountain bike level…...

BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An all-mountain electric bike with plus sized tires for improved stability, traction and comfort, 150 mm air suspension with compression and rebound adjust. Battery and motor mount design are tighter than older Bosch systems, weight is kept low…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 3 Carbon 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A Carbon fiber electric cross country mountain bike with premium components and ultra-integrated motor and battery system, excellent weight distribution. The Brose motor is quiet and responsive offering up to 90 Nm of torque output,…...

BULLS DAIL-E Grinder Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the first Gravel Grinder style electric bikes to make it to America! Made with premium components, high performance lights and a purpose built frame in three sizes. Capable of high speed 28 mph performance, the Bosch centerdrive motor measures bike speed, pedal…...

BULLS SIX50 E2 Street Review

  • MSRP: $3,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A fully equipped speed commuter capable of 28 mph operation, running on the proven Bosch Performance mid-drive motor and updated 500 watt hour Samsung battery. Extra large 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes offer smooth solid stops without requiring exorbitant hand…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A versatile urban electric bike well suited to commuting, touring and trekking because of its efficient mid-drive motor and larger than average battery capacity, durable internal gearing and belt drive. Available in five frame sizes and three frame styles including wave, mid-step and high-step diamond…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A stealthy full suspension all-mountain electric bike with longer travel 150 mm suspension, fully adjustable air fork by RockShox, color matched to frame. Larger 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack to assist with steeper climbs and longer…...

BULLS Monster E FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Full suspension fat bike with a high quality mid-drive motor from Bosch and their updated 500 watt hour battery pack for extended range. Cool fluorescent paint job that extends all the way through the fork, rear shock housing,…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Available in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step and mid-step) with an adjustable stem, active-comfort saddle and ergonomic grips, this bike can fit well and feel good at speed and over long distances. Capable of 28 mph top speeds, this is a Class 3 electric bike with an…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all-mountain electric bike with beautifully integrated battery, motor and display... it blends in more than most other e-mountain bikes I've tested and runs quiet. Sturdy 15 mm thru axle in the front and 12 mm axle in the rear…...

BULLS SIX50 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A loaded full suspension mountain bike with premium electric drivetrain from Bosch offering 75 Nm of climbing torque with the CX motor and a 400 watt hour Samsung battery. RockShox air suspension with 120 mm travel front and rear for solid trail or all…...

BULLS Monster E S Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Premium hardtail electric fat bike with all the fixins, highlights include rear rack bosses, tubeless-ready tires and punched out rims, RockShox air fork with remote lockout and high torque Bosch CX motor. Quality 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano for excellent stopping power and modulation, impressive…...

BULLS Outlaw E45 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty looking, fairly comfortable speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speeds, it's running on an optimized geared hub motor design with heat pipe technology for maximum performance. Unique mid-mount battery box fills the main frame triangle keeping weight low and centered while…...

BULLS Sturmvogel E EVO Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautifully designed urban electric bike painted white for visibility and modern appeal, white walled tires, reflective sidewall stripes, LED lights. Extra sturdy and durable thanks to a 15 mm thru-axle on the front wheel (with…...

BULLS TWENTY9 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension, Bosch powered, cross country style electric bike with efficient 29" wheels, it's available in three sizes for good fit and would feel taller and larger for riders with long legs but still fits some shorter riders given the angled top tube. Quick release for both wheels ads convenience for fixes and transporting the bike, I love…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fully loaded urban electric bicycle with great accessories for commuting including an aluminum rear rack, full length fenders with mud flaps and integrated LED lights. Relatively light weight at under 50 lbs, this is due in part to the nicer…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS Enduro 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An enduro style full suspension electric mountain bike with longer 160 mm suspension travel, seat post dropper, 27.5" wheelset and premium hydraulic brakes. Downtube-integrated battery pack is out of sight and keeps weight low and centered across the…...


Jay
4 months ago

Nice video overview it’s a good looker I really wanted to like it a lot more but the lack of shift sensing would stop me from considering this as a 2nd ebike. Its been around now for a while so I don’t see why Brose, having achieved pretty much a premium product positioning aren’t inclined to incorporate it. If you appreciate shift sensing as I feel most people who have experienced it do then it’s not something you want to downgrade from. A bit like going back to dial up. Ok maybe a little harsh but you’ll know what I mean. Stopped me from moving to the Specialized Turbo Levo. Of course this isn’t Bulls fault so maybe manufacturers are a better voice to apply some pressure on what is otherwise a best in class motor option.

Any idea if the shift sensing ‘tech’ is patented or limited in some way? It can’t be that tricky to incorporate.

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Jay! I feel you… it’s interesting that Bosch and Impulse can do shift sensing, even some more generic Bafang mid-drive systems can add a bit of hardware to make it possible like e-RAD does, but I haven’t heard anything from Brose or Yamaha. My Turbo Levo is still working great but I never ever mash the gears. Admittedly, I don’t get to ride as much as I’d like to but I always shift carefully and it hasn’t posed a real issue. On the flip side, my Uncle owns a Haibike with Bosch and has gone through five chains and two derailleurs over a two year daily ride period. I am not sure if he shifts differently than me or it’s just the added forces of electric. You CAN mash on Bosch, their shift sensing is software driven but to me, it’s better than nothing. I am careful regardless of the platform. If you’ve got a mid-drive, you will be putting more pressure on some components it so it’s important to take that into consideration ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Nicolas
4 months ago

Great in-depth article! I test rode this bike at the last Long Beach Expo and was really impressed with it. It handled the obstacle course with such brio and aplomb that I’m smitten with it :) You can sense how well put together it is and oozes quality built. I’m looking forward to a more in-depth test ride and finding out more.

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hey Nicolas! I’m looking forward to more comments from you because your vocabulary rocks… Perhaps an update on this bike if you decide to buy one?!

Nicolas Zart
4 months ago

Thanks Court, looking forward to this amazing community. Decide to buy one? Hum, that’s a tough one. More like, two, three, four… I wish, and I’m working on it.

The good problem with modern e-bikes is that they are so good. I’m not sure if most people remember what was available 10 years ago? Crickets… OK, one or two brands and a lot of DIY conversions and modifications. It was slim picking. Today, you have such a wide choice of availability. It’s truly impressive!

Ken
3 months ago

Thank you for the great review on this as well as so many other bikes Court! I must admit that I have been binge watching your reviews and they have literally been keeping me up at night and I am so sleep deprived right now… I am so excited to get an e-bike and want to pull the trigger and get one ASAP, but am doing my best to take a step back and make sure I make a good choice and wise investment. I’m basically considering two completely different categories and price points. I’m considering a couple of significantly less expensive options (E-Glide ST and Magnum Peak), but I’ll comment on those separately as I’m guessing that would be more appropriate and useful for others.

The Bulls EVO 45 is clearly at the upper price point and I am very intrigued by it. I know you ended up getting a Specialized Turbo Levo FSR Expert and I know it was important for you to have a class one bike to open up as many riding options as possible, but I’m curious if you can share any other thoughts between these Bulls and the Specialized that led you to go Specialized as I know they have class one Bulls versions as well. I’m personally leaning towards this Bulls EVO 45 because I want to use this as a commuting bike as well as a multipurpose bike as well as an off-road mountain bike. I like the idea of the 28 mph from the perspective of getting to work quicker and staying with traffic better, but I’m also a bit concerned that the state of Oregon may decide that this is not legally considered a bicycle… I also like the integrated lights, bigger battery = longer range, and lower price point. With all that said, I like the idea of the Specialized (I would likely be considering the Comp instead of the Expert) better because I’m familiar with the brand and dealer network (but have never heard of Bulls before), I like the idea of a bit wider tires, and I really like the look! The only thing I wish these bikes had was a throttle as that would be even more ideal from my perspective… Any thoughts would be appreciated!

Also some more specific questions with respect to the Bulls EVO 45 – Is the motor really a 350 watt or was this a typo and should it be a 250 watt? How wide are the tires on this bike? I’m sorry for the long comment, but thank you again for all of your work and any thoughts you may have! Ken

Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Ken! Great questions… I chose the Turbo Levo Comp but it was sold out so I ended up with an Expert. I paid over $6,500 with it after a discount from Specialized (since I was going to review it, they’re an advertiser and they didn’t have the cheaper Comp model). The reason I chose Specialized and paid a premium was because this was one of the first ebikes in the USA to offer the Brose motor. I wanted to get one, test it out and do some long term review/feedback videos. ALSO! I wanted to learn from the experts at Peloton Cycles in Fort Collins. They let me film and everything so I got like three videos out of the experience along with a great bike. So I guess the short feedback would be that Bulls is a solid brand, I didn’t avoid them but just didn’t have the option AND wanted to get some great support and learning. I hope this helps you with the decision and sorry I’m a bit short of time or would elaborate further… feel free to connect in the forums or ping me with other comments. I’ll do my best to help ;)

Ken
3 months ago

Thank you for the initial response Court; I appreciate it. As much as I’d like to try one of the Haibikes with the new Yamaha pw-x motor, which really sounds interesting to me, it doesn’t sound like that will happen for another year at this point according to my local dealer… Have you been able to ride anything with this motor yet? If not and assuming it would be another year wait, that brings me back to Bulls and Brose for now I think. I’m now down to 2 bikes, the Bulls EVO 45 and the Bulls EVO FS3 Plus… I’m really (I mean REALLY and SERIOUSLY!) having a hard time making up my mind between these two bikes. Unfortunately, I don’t have the ability to ride both of them, so I’m hoping maybe you could share some thoughts given you reviewed both and appeared to have ridden both back to back on the same day on the same terrain. What I’m really really curious about is aside from the obvious differences in top speed, tire width, lights, bell, kick stand, seat, brakes, etc., is there any noticeable difference in power between the two under 20mph based on the 350 watt rating vs. the 250 watt rating? Any other differences or thoughts would be most welcome! Thank you again for all the great work and help!!! Ken

Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Ken! I can tell you’ve been digging deep on these two. Sounds like you’ve identified the main differences and indeed, the bikes are very similar. For many people, the high speed option is a big deal and it’s something you cannot add once the bike has been purchased. The feeling of both motors is similar… but you end up going faster and perhaps accelerating faster on the 45. I like how that bike looks, appreciate the kickstand and larger brake rotor at the front. I’d probably pay more for that one because I ride in and around town frequently and it’s very easy to hit 20 mph with either bike but then you’re basically stuck at 20-23 mph with the slower motor because of air resistance and bike weight. Note that you will drain the 45 battery faster due to the higher speed but these packs are big. Most of my riding is on streets but I love dirt paths and jumps… where speed helps again :P

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

fxr3
2 weeks ago

Yesterday I let a friend ride my E-Stream FS3 27.5+. He'd only ridden Bosch ebikes before this, and didn't remember that I'd told him there were two front chain rings. Although he's an experienced cyclist, he ended up audibly cross-chaining, but I didn't think it necessary to check the chain for damage - OOPS!

A bit later, while climbing a steep hill, the chain broke and the motor spun to what sounded like well over 1k RPMs - it made a frighteningly loud, extremely high-pitched whine for maybe 5-10 seconds before shutting off. While it behaved/performed normally after we fixed the chain (chain tools and spare links are good to keep handy), I worry about the internal (belt/gear) wear and long-term effects this incident might've caused.

Any thoughts? Has this happened to any of you with other Brose (or any brand) equipped ebikes?
I have a thought. Stop worrying about it. You've got a lot of warranty left and the peeps at brose likely have better things to worry about than what may happen down the road because of high speed spin up. There are no rod, valves, or any timing issues like a gasser. A belt and a couple of horizontal bearings that likely could spin to 10k.

TruTru9
4 weeks ago

Where do I go to check these things?

I have noticed some comments about this bike where people were saying it's a great commuter bike. I thought you couldn't ride mountain bikes on the road? Am I misunderstanding something? I apologize. I don't know anything about MTB!

TruTru9
4 weeks ago

You sound like a very nice brother and generous.

I don't think you want to suprise your brother with this.....special needs or not.

Does he currently ride a bicycle on a regular basis? Cause if he doesn't he's going to be overwhelmed by a really fast bicycle..

I wish I could take credit for the idea. It was one of his co-worker's that had the idea to get him an ebike.

He has a single speed bike that he has been riding to work. He is starting to dislike buses. He takes back roads and neighborhoods to avoid the bike lane as much as possible. It takes him hours to get to work. One of his co-workers came up with the idea to hook him up with an electric bike so the commute doesn't have to be so 'hard' and a little bit more 'fun'

I thought I made a decision and ordered the raleigh redux small but the order ended up not going through and of course I'm having second thoughts now.

We have a few special needs customers, and they tend to be hard on their bikes and greatly benefit from having us nearby to help with any issues. If possible, I suggest buying from someone within riding distance.

This is exactly why I wanted to find something that's low maintenance as possible. So I was looking at bikes with internal hubs, nuvinci harmony, belt drives etc etc just so that everything can be as simple as possible and it's not so overwhelming but then I decided to just break the surprise. I TOLD him he is getting an ebike and I regret it so much because now he has a FAVORITE and of course it's the fastest and the super super expensive one. He doesn't understand money :) He wanted the Bulls E-stream FS 45 which doesn't even look like it's street legal. So now, no matter what else I get, it's going to be the 2nd best :(

LimboJim
1 month ago

Yesterday I let a friend ride my E-Stream FS3 27.5+. He'd only ridden Bosch ebikes before this, and didn't remember that I'd told him there were two front chain rings. Although he's an experienced cyclist, he ended up audibly cross-chaining, but I didn't think it necessary to check the chain for damage - OOPS!

A bit later, while climbing a steep hill, the chain broke and the motor spun to what sounded like well over 1k RPMs - it made a frighteningly loud, extremely high-pitched whine for maybe 5-10 seconds before shutting off. While it behaved/performed normally after we fixed the chain (chain tools and spare links are good to keep handy), I worry about the internal (belt/gear) wear and long-term effects this incident might've caused.

Any thoughts? Has this happened to any of you with other Brose (or any brand) equipped ebikes?
Disappointment in Bulls' customer service has prevailed thus far...

Correspondence has ceased from
Bulls regarding my eMTB's Brose motor winding out loudly after a chain break. While the bike continues to perform normally for now, I'm genuinely concerned about long term effects and/or this happening again.

Their last email three weeks ago said I'd have a response from their German HQ tech department two weeks ago (or maybe Brose), but I've heard nothing, nor have they replied to my weekly follow ups. Next time I post on this I really hope it's better news, like maybe a software glitch that can be updated on some such.

Lenny
1 month ago

Ken,

We don't like it when customers try to blackmail.
When your Haibike did not come on time, you were offered a floor bike. It was specifically mentioned to you that it was a floor model (3 month old) and offered a you huge discount for that.
While doing a software update on that bike, we realized that the rear shock needs to be replaced and we offered you another floor model (E-stream FS3 29er). Both of these bikes were on the floor but still new. They did not have more than 15 miles on the ODO.
Few people had test ridden on rainy days and that's why you notice some dust on the bottom bracket but everything else was in great shape.

When we heard you were not happy with the bike you received, we immediately sent you free return label and offered you few other options for a brand new bike.
What really irks me most is that when you speak on the phone, you agree to get a floor model and then you come here talking as if we duped you.

In the end, we completely refunded him ( bike, onward and return shipping ) etc and ate a $500 loss.

kennyzzz
1 month ago

This is my experience with a Wisconsin dealer I ordered from.
I ordered a new bicycle (haibike and after 10 days of no information from them , I called them and asked for a update and was told that the haibike was moving from California to Denver. they offered a better bike but at more money . I repeatably asked if it was a new bike,, I ok the extra money. 4 days later i see a tracking number, I repeatably asked if I was getting a new bike. was told yes. when my bike came i see it was a different model on the box, so before opening i called them, was told they used a different box. they sent me the the upgraded bike i pay extra for... Now remember i was told it would be a new bike.
but it was used. these were the pictures i sent them.

and they still insisted it was new.
how can you say this is a new bike. their was a bottle mounted on the down tube,( when does a new bike have stains like that a the down-tube) obvious ware marks on the chain ring, bash plate bashed and scratched .. i sent them these Pictures and they still said they said it a new bicycle, this was part owner of company that I sent pictures too and was talking too. What really upset me was that they waited two days after I sent these pictures to them too admit it while it the same time trying to up-sale a different bicycle and pay more shipping charge.
I lost all Trust in them when they insisted they sent me a new Bike when these pictures obviously are of a used machine .( they Finally admitted their mistake but after only after 2 days of me trying to get a return shipping )
Try to boil it down to bulletin points ..
1--- ordered a haibike waited 10 days for tracking # I call them to ask for update was told my salesman was off duty and was scheduled the next day.
2 -- Part owner of company calls me offers me upgraded Bike at a great price .
But then I still have to talk to my salesman the next day because for some reason the part owner can't Complete the transaction .Call and my original salesman next day and he thinks the bike I was offered by part owner might be too tall for me so he suggests same bike brand but different model which there would be a great deal .. And so after four days later I get tracking number figure four days for a bike to be shipped to them. as you see in the above pictures this was obviously a used bike, I was talking to part owner after he seen these pictures
but (part owner) was like trying to make me feel like I was being a bad guy by not accepting the used bike.

Well that's my experience with them. He kept saying he wanted me to have a good experience but when you send me a used bike and will not admit it.
they lost all trust with me... I mean, they look at the pictures and try to tell me it was a new bike .
I sent him those pictures and (part owner )was trying to tell me it was a new bike.
well that was my experience with them.
*( they Finally admitted their mistake but after only after 2 days of me trying to get a return shipping )*
I came to this site doing research on ebikes.
anyway this was my experience with them.

For those that had great luck online, I'm happy for you, I'm sharing my experience. My heart sank. I had such excitement waiting for the bicycle, and then when I start to put it together and I looked at the bottle cage, the leaver to remove the battery is rusting, then looking at the chain ring and seeing severe usage, so then I look underneath and I see mud and scratches /mud stains motor. This definitely looks way more than just a test ride in a rain. (maybe it was tested at mountain bike trail.) Nobody was more upset than myself, especially when obviously these pictures show a used machine. And then I'm been told I was sent a new bicycle, I wanted to be one of the people that had a great experience online. That was not my experience.
looks like more then 15 miles

rust

that looks like more then tested on a rain day

I have no idea how much water or mud was inside that hole on the bottom.. it is their to drain water from the engine. their was mud stain around the inside hole,

(my response to this post is in blue color )
From post # 3
We don't like it when customers try to blackmail.
I'm not trying to blackmail anyone, just sharing my experience with my buying experience with your company.

When your Haibike did not come on time, you were offered a floor bike. It was specifically mentioned to you that it was a floor model (3 month old) and offered a you huge discount for that.
I repeatedly asked if I was getting a new bike,was told it would be a new bike.

While doing a software update on that bike, we realized that the rear shock needs to be replaced and we offered you another floor model (E-stream FS3 29er). Both of these bikes were on the floor but still new. They did not have more than 15 miles on the ODO.
Few people had test ridden on rainy days and that's why you notice some dust on the bottom bracket but everything else was in great shape.
this is not dust,, these are the pictures i sent to your shop, and i was told it was a new bike,was this bike test in a mountain bike race for less than 15 miles on it. Also as the consumer, their is no odometer on this model,( bulls E-stream FS3 29er) show only miles per hour not how miles are ridden,( from reading about the bike online, it could have 400 miles , we the consumer have no way of knowing how many miles are on the bike)

When we heard you were not happy with the bike you received, we immediately sent you free return label and offered you few other options for a brand new bike.

NO i was made to feel like a fool for not accepting a used bike, it was 2 days later that i was sent a return shipping label.

What really irks me most is that when you speak on the phone, you agree to get a floor model and then you come here talking as if we duped you.
I 'm just sharing my experience i had for your store online. unfortunately my experience was not very good. I am sharing what happened to me, this was my experience. to those that Those that had a great experience,, I too wanted to be one of them,, I order a new ebike from you,I was sent a used bicycle. and then I spent a couple of sleepless nights trying to get a return shipping label while still being told (talking to a part owner of your company on the telephone that I was sent a new bicycle when obviously these pictures show a used a machine. )

In the end, we completely refunded him ( bike, onward and return shipping ) etc and ate a $500 loss.

unfortunately my experience was not very good. I am sharing what happened to me, this was my experience. to those that Those that had a great experience,, I too wanted to be one of them,, I order a new ebike from them was sent a used bicycle. and then I spent a couple of sleepless nights trying to get a return shipping label while still being told that I was sent a new bicycle when obviously these pictures show a used a machine.

PaulGee
1 month ago

RoadWrinkle - Sorry about your experience with the online dealer. You seem to have taken it much better than I would have but it is good to know you eventually were able to sort it out. I am thinking about purchasing a Bulls e-stream MTB in the future and curious what your specific problem was with the Bulls motor performance that was "100%" resloved with the manufacturer? I think I read on the forum somewhere that they recently did a software update but not sure if it improved the power delivery.

I completely agree with your statements about the Brose motor. It is really not a subjective observation since it is documented elsewhere that the motor is less powerful than all the other major mid-drive systems out there, especially compared to the Bosch system. Like you said it is probably not the ideal setup for heavier riders like yourself. Court who is a lightweight at 135 lbs mentioned he does not have any real problems climbing with any of these mid-drives. Have you (or others reading this) taken your Brose bike on any paved or off-road patths with grades in the 12-15% range? I am curious how much pedaling effort is required in the lower gears in full assist mode? Of course, at minimum one has to consider the weight load on the bike (rider and gear) to make any useful comparisons. With my aging body, I am lucky to pedal at 4 mph up such grades on a 20 lb bike ... without significant pedal assist I would never be able to make it up the hills around here with a 54 lb bike.

Peter Polling
1 month ago

Not sure we can think of torque and power as separate aspects. You can measure torque with a meter, but power is a product of torque and the motors rpm's, as with the equation for horsepower ( hp=T x rpm/ 5252). Torque at the wheels is the torque at the motor combined with the additional leverage given by the chain through gearing. With a 10-speed cassette and dual chain rings, the BULLS "transmission" definitely has the climbing torque 'potential'; but the drive train receives only the power coming from the motor and your pedaling, even though the rear wheel gets the resulting force combination. So if you lack power, you lack torque.

Bottom line, I was not getting the amount of assist I need to even get up to 15-20mph on flat ground with no headwind. However, the bike climbs well as long as you are working the pedals fairly hard. I have discussed this at length with BULLS USA and they explain the design is for "riders" who want help getting up hills, as well as the look and feel of a classic bike. Their website reads in part: "The E-STREAM EVO models are classic bikes with a little extra push, whether you’re pedaling on or off road."

My point is that I think they went a little too far with the classic bike feel to the point that the e-assist is so weak it does not justify the 52 lbs overall weight of the bike. I am a large 6-2" 250 lbs rider in fairly good shape and this bike is just more of a workout than I want on an electric bike. I have owned a 350w Bosch CX Haibike and, although it does not have the power of my older 500w/48v/20a motiv cruiser with a hub motor; I never felt like it did not have enough assist. The BULLS/Brose bike is noticeably under powered as compared to my old stuff; and this was a surprise to me. The bike performs extremely well in terms of overall design and components, my problem is with the Brose 250w/37v/20a system. So I have learned by this experience that the larger riders like me really need a minimum 500w/48v/30a configuration. Also, the manufacturers should not be advertising these 250w/36-37v systems as "powerful"...that is a misrepresentation.

I disagree. I can get to 40-42 kmph without wind when I work with the bike. My wifes Flyer works a little bit harder, so she doesnt have to work as hard, both have 250 watt motor.

RoadWrinkle
1 month ago

is it power or torque you feel is lacking
Not sure we can think of torque and power as separate aspects. You can measure torque with a meter, but power is a product of torque and crank/motor shaft RPM (hp=T x rpm/ 5252). Torque at the rear wheel is the torque at the motor combined with the additional leverage given by the chain through gearing. The BULLS 29er has a 10-speed cassette and dual chain rings, so the "transmission" definitely has the climbing torque potential; but the drive train receives only the power coming from the motor and your pedaling, even though the rear wheel gets the resulting force combination. So if you lack power, you lack torque.

Bottom line, I was not getting the amount of assist I need to even get up to 20mph on flat ground with no headwind and brisk pedaling. However, the bike climbs well as long as you are working the pedals fairly hard. I have discussed this at length with BULLS USA and they explain the design is for "riders" who want help getting up hills, as well as the look and feel of a classic bike. Their website reads in part: "The E-STREAM EVO models are classic bikes with a little extra push, whether you’re pedaling on or off road."

My point is that I think they went a little too far with the classic bike feel to the point that the e-assist is so weak it does not justify the 52 lbs overall weight of the bike. In fairness, I am a large 6-2" 250 lbs rider in fairly good shape, but this bike is more of a workout than I want on an electric bike. I have owned a 350w Bosch performance line Haibike and, although it does not have the power of my older 500w/48v/20a motiv cruiser with a hub motor; I never felt like it did not have enough assist. The BULLS/Brose bike is noticeably under powered as compared to my old stuff; and this was a surprise to me. The bike performs extremely well in terms of overall design and components, my problem is with the Brose 250w/37v/20a system. So I have learned by this experience that the larger riders like me really need a minimum 500w/48v/30a configuration. Also, the manufacturers should not be advertising these 250w/36-37v systems as "powerful"...that is a misrepresentation.

fxr3
2 months ago

I also just purchased a Bulls Evo Stream FS 2 Plus. This is my 2nd e-bike. I have to agree with John F here. For something like an expensive e-bike, it's in the customer's best interest to buy from a local dealer who can service the bike. The software update just barely came out, so I don't see how it is fair to criticize Bulls. It sounded like they were trying to make it right for the buyer. I want to see e-bikes and all the manufacturers and local dealers flourish. It's better for everyone. I bought my e-bike from Great Western E-Bikes in North Salt Lake, Utah. The customer service has been fantastic. The Bulls bike doesn't have quite the same power of my other e-bike, but I can still make it up all of the steep hills, and I get 3 times the range, which is so much better for peace of mind while riding. This is a high quality bike. So far I love it and would encourage anyone to buy from a local dealer.
Everyone would perfer to buy from local dealer. But depending on ones abilitys and past experiences- a case could be made to buy from afar. Examples: you don't like local dealer and he wasn't much support last time around. Volume dealers discounts are tempting, In Bulls case, they don't discourage it- for sure. Me- 400 miles away from Bulls dealer, I'll buy from my friend 900 miles away. And feel good about giving him the sale.

Brian Salisbury
2 months ago

Long time lurker and decided to sign-up and post to this thread. I don't have a dog in this fight. My bike is from another manufacturer and I have no relationship with Bulls but I felt compelled to post because I don't like at all what I'm reading here. Maybe there are some extenuating circumstances but based on what I've read here the buyer's conduct is similar to what buyers try to do in other situations relating to different products and needs to be challenged.

I believe the manufacturer who said all bikes have the current firmware when they are shipped from the warehouse. Buyer decided to not support local bike shops and maybe save some money buying out of the area. Not a problem - his choice. The out of area retailer is at fault for not flashing the latest firmware. Now the buyer is angry because the local shops are expected to support him for free after he chose to not support them. The manufacturer appears to have made a good faith effort to help him, but his anger is directed at the manufacturer because they would not either cover the cost of of a local shop's labor or otherwise try to coerce a local shop to perform the upgrade for free. A better recourse would have been to contact the out of area dealer and see if they would reimburse $100 of what he paid to cover the cost of the local shop's labor.

What is offensive to me is is the use of social media, this forum in particular, into trying to intimidate the manufacturer to cover for the choice the buyer made or punish the manufacturer for not complying. Would have been better and in my opinion more honorable to suck up the costs and realize the $100 offsets the probable lower price he paid to the out of area shop. The customer is not always right.

I also just purchased a Bulls Evo Stream FS 2 Plus. This is my 2nd e-bike. I have to agree with John F here. For something like an expensive e-bike, it's in the customer's best interest to buy from a local dealer who can service the bike. The software update just barely came out, so I don't see how it is fair to criticize Bulls. It sounded like they were trying to make it right for the buyer. I want to see e-bikes and all the manufacturers and local dealers flourish. It's better for everyone. I bought my e-bike from Great Western E-Bikes in North Salt Lake, Utah. The customer service has been fantastic. The Bulls bike doesn't have quite the same power of my other e-bike, but I can still make it up all of the steep hills, and I get 3 times the range, which is so much better for peace of mind while riding. This is a high quality bike. So far I love it and would encourage anyone to buy from a local dealer.

fxr3
2 months ago

From BULLS USA website: "The E-STREAM EVO models are classic bikes with a little extra push, whether you’re pedaling on or off road." Check it out for yourself http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/e-stream-evo-fs-3-29-4/.
I stand corrected! I don't think they admitted to less power to attain those results. And don't really think they have noticeably less power, imo. They are for sure silky smooth, quiet and low key and still my choice of mid-drives. Firmware hops em up a bit- aaaawwwwwwww. Sweet

RoadWrinkle
2 months ago

I never recall Brose or mfg. usng their motors suggesting they are designed for those seeking mountan bike experience with a little help up the hils(if you could tell me where to read that- i'll stand corrected).
From BULLS USA website: "The E-STREAM EVO models are classic bikes with a little extra push, whether you’re pedaling on or off road." Check it out for yourself http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/e-stream-evo-fs-3-29-4/.

Alphbetadog
2 months ago

I have a Haibike Xduro FS emtb with the Bosch CX motor, and a Bulls E-Stream Enduro FS emtb with the Brose motor. I like riding the Bulls significantly more due to the more more intuitive Brose power delivery. Sure, the Bosch has a little more of a "kick" right off the start when in the highest setting (Turbo), but I feel the Brose is more powerful and really assists when needed. The more I give it, the more it gives. I can climb the same steep rocky hills with either, but the Brose just feels more powerful. I especially like how quiet the Brose is compared to the racket the Bosch makes.
I totally agree with Ravi on the mid vs. hub drives. I also have two hub drives that I like better for riding around town.

Goodair
2 months ago

I have a BULLS 2017 E STREAM EVO 45 FS 27 28 MPH. I completely agree. Going uphills over anything 10 degrees sucks big time. There is no power. I never tested any Haibikes to see if there
was a difference. I love the stealth and everything else about the bike, but it is seriously under powered. $5100 is a lot of money for this level of performance.
$5100, thats 1/4 of Toyota Prius.... Your motor is 350watt vs my is at 250watt, you would think it can handle a little more than 10% grade. I heard the new Shimano 8000 motor is the one to buy, might sell my bike to wait for that... Its on the Focus E Jam2 in Europe, Bulls has a 2018 version with Di2 coming, can't wait to see it at Interbike...

JamesT
2 months ago

I have a BULLS 2017 E STREAM EVO 45 FS 27 28 MPH. I completely agree. Going uphills over anything 10 degrees sucks big time. There is no power. I never tested any Haibikes to see if there
was a difference. I love the stealth and everything else about the bike, but it is seriously under powered. $5100 is a lot of money for this level of performance.

ace20ri
2 months ago

Bicycles are such a niche market, ebikes specifically so I do not see a "standard" on the horizon any time soon. I see positives and negatives for it so I'm really not for or against the idea. Considering the portable electronics industry as a data point has not gone that route and probably never will. Laptops, cell phones, 2-Way radios, GPS units and video recording devices to name a few examples all have their own proprietary battery solution. The nice thing those industries have is an established market with plenty of aftermarket suppliers that provide replacement batteries. The current ebike industry (remember ebikes are not new, they've been around since the 1890's) is still in it's "infancy" stage so I expect more and more aftermarket solutions to start popping up as it grows and becomes more main stream. Until then, ebike owners have to choose wisely on the invested ECO system similar to the EV market currently (Tesla with it's supercharger network vs the rest with sporadically placed third party destination only chargers). Both ebike and EV owners will have to have patience as the industries mature similar to MTB and ICE vehicle markets.

One thing to note is as the automotive industry keeps moving towards electrification, cell cost will continue to go down and capacity will continue to increase so ebikes will naturally benefit (this will help the aftermarket industry develop/mature).

LimboJim
2 months ago

Yesterday I let a friend ride my E-Stream FS3 27.5+. He'd only ridden Bosch ebikes before this, and didn't remember that I'd told him there were two front chain rings. Although he's an experienced cyclist, he ended up audibly cross-chaining, but I didn't think it necessary to check the chain for damage - OOPS!

A bit later, while climbing a steep hill, the chain broke and the motor spun to what sounded like well over 1k RPMs - it made a frighteningly loud, extremely high-pitched whine for maybe 5-10 seconds before shutting off. While it behaved/performed normally after we fixed the chain (chain tools and spare links are good to keep handy), I worry about the internal (belt/gear) wear and long-term effects this incident might've caused.

Any thoughts? Has this happened to any of you with other Brose (or any brand) equipped ebikes?

RoadWrinkle
1 month ago

Was interested in purchasing a new BULLS e-stream fs3 29 and with no dealer in my state, I had no choice but to go online. I would prefer to buy at a LBS after a test ride and get their service, but not possible in this case.

When you send an online dealer your money, you have to trust that they will do a number of things for you including correct packing and trustworthy information. I purchased through MOTOSTRANO, in Redwood City, Ca. and dealt with "Joe". They advertise 1-3 day shipping if the bike is in stock. So called and s/w Joe who confirmed "the bike is here, we would just need a few days to get it ready for shipping". So I paid around $4200 with shipping. After two weeks go by with no word from them I contacted Joe again and he said "we just received the bike from BULLS USA and need a few days to get it ready for shipping".

When the bike finally arrived it had a damaged seat frame bent beyond use, both tubes were punctured, the brakes and derailleur were way out of adjustment, damaged box with foam padding taped to the outside of the box where part of it was missing, most of the packing material was on the bottom of the box as if it was not re-packed securely. After some over the phone arguing back and forth, Joe agreed to send me a new seat and tubes.

I also had problems with the bikes motor performance. Joe was not responsive and in the end I had to go directly to Barney at BULLS USA, who provided great customer service and a 100% remedy on their own after the dealer refused. I chose the right manufacturer but the wrong dealer, IMO. I would buy another BULLS (Bosch) bike for sure, but it felt like Motostrano was not too concerned with the problems I had.

1/4
pxpaulx
2 months ago

After getting on on the first Radrovers from Rad Power Bikes almost 2 years ago, I broke my piggy bank and just bought this :
http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/e-stream-evo-2-27-5-plus-2/

I am very excited! Does anybody have the same bike or had a chance to try it ?

You're gong to love it, truly a new more natural riding experience. My radrover is up on Craigslist, haven't rode it in a year, just maintained the battery!

Ravi Kempaiah
2 months ago

After getting on on the first Radrovers from Rad Power Bikes almost 2 years ago, I broke my piggy bank and just bought this :
http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/e-stream-evo-2-27-5-plus-2/

I am very excited! Does anybody have the same bike or had a chance to try it ?

It's a very nice bike. My main gripe with the previous year model was that it did not have rack mounting points. So, I could not convert the 29er into a commuter. But, for 2017, they have solved that problem.
The bike looks great in person.

Check out this video:

Alphbetadog
2 months ago

I've got the similar E-Stream Enduro and absolutely love it. Bought it about 6 months after getting a Haibike Xduro FS RC. The Haibike has been relegated to a "buddy bike" since getting the Brose powered Bulls...

Ericmacfan
2 months ago

After getting on on the first Radrovers from Rad Power Bikes almost 2 years ago, I broke my piggy bank and just bought this :
http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/e-stream-evo-2-27-5-plus-2/

I am very excited! Does anybody have the same bike or had a chance to try it ?

James Kohls
2 months ago

What do you mean by off-road? Hard packed dirt trails? Mud? Grass? Something you can take out on the weekends to the mountain bike trails? Pretty much any bike can "go" off-road, but tires and suspension are going to be two of the biggest factors to how enjoyable it is. For commuting, do you need fenders? A rear rack? Most full suspension bikes are not good options for racks and fenders (at least full coverage fenders).

If you want good off-road performance, getting a mid-drive mountain bike and a 2nd wheelset to swap out from knobby to road tires may be a good choice. Otherwise, if you are not going to be aggressive in your off-road riding, switching from road tires to gravel tires on a bike with a decent front fork may be sufficient—possibly add a suspension seat post into the budget as well. You'd loose some efficiency, but gain versatility.

There are certainly stealthy mountain bikes that do 28MPH, like the Bulls E-STREAM EVO 45 FS or the more road/gravel oriented Specialized Turbo X. Otherwise, just get a commuter style speed pedalec and put some more aggressive tires on it.

koolstup
2 months ago

I weight 147lbs, so this bike would be ideal for me. Sadly, it's not available/legal in the UK :-(

Mike Malloy
2 months ago

Thanks for all your unbiased reviews. I trust them more than watching promotional reviews. As I shop for ebikes the one thing that gets me is... I find a ebike close to the specs I'm looking for but the paint color is not as exciting as other ebikes I've seen. The color on this bike is 'okay', basic black/white but doesn't pop. I wish that besides bike size options, you could have paint color options. I suppose this would be special order but that's fine too. When you spend $$$$ for a ebike you want it to be perfect.

Alex Jett
3 months ago

Where can this bike be purchased

benzoesan sodu
4 months ago

What is in your opinion best ebike on full suspension have you ever ride? On Bosch, Brose or on Brose? Which models? Maybe Haibike Dwnhill Pro? Bulls E stream Evo FS? Thank you :)

ol1bit
4 months ago

Awesome...my 3 year old Emotion 650B is feeling old, still goes awesome, but always though on trails. Power is lacking tad. Someday...

Duane Jahn
4 months ago

fifty-five hundred dollars for a bicycle? That is crazy, IMHO.

Jason Hacker
4 months ago

I notice you're wearing a lid when you ride off. The image stabilisation is impressive - have you attached your normal handheld gimbal set up to it or is that all digital stabilisation? Judging by the way you are looking down at the frame I suspect there's no gimbal but.....

Maurice Imhof
4 months ago

I really like this bike since it is a proper enduro trailbike but also an s-pedelec, therefore suitable for commuting... Is the saddle on the bulls really fix (not a dropper)?

Propel Electric Bikes
4 months ago

I think this bike is going to be quite popular. Many people are looking for a bike with these sorts of capabilities. It's pretty awesome!

Bike Style 4.0
4 months ago

look at my Channel for More Bulls 2017 Electric Bikes :-)

Lee Kliman
4 months ago

I have enjoyed your Electric Bike Review, since the first Specialized Turbo Levo you reviewed. I am an intermediate level mountain biker that rides a FS 27.5+ mtn. bike. The Turbo Levo presently does not have enough amp hours I needed for my planned e-mountain bikepacking rides. After your video mentioned the Bulls E-stream Evo FS 3 Plus had 17.5 ah, I knew there was an e-mountain bike with my requirements. I liked Bulls E-stream 45 FS for better front suspension, better seat, stronger brakes for steep downhills, and preprogrammed to run up to 28 mph on flat terrain. After a lengthy consideration and further research, I chose the Bulls E-stream Evo FS 3 Plus, because it was a Class 1 rated in some states and better traction with 27.5+ tires on loose soil in steep grades. Your videos helped me to decide!
Question: During this video you mentioned the 45 FS was going 12 - 13 mph up the steep grade. Based on same conditions on steep grade would the FS 3 Plus have same maximum speed of the 45 FS, because both bikes have the same Brose motor with same torque output of 90 newton meters on the same grade?

Lee Kliman
2 months ago

PandaOn2Wheels Hello PandaOn2Wheels,
I purchased my Bulls E-stream EVO 3 FS 27.5 Plus from Boise Electric Bikes. Boise Electric Bikes is owned by Michael and Heidi a family business (http://www.boiseelectricbikes.com). In January, Boise had snow in town and bicycle market was slow and I felt I could get my best deal. I wanted to work with my local bike shop for support and service. I did my homework of current winter deals for my Bulls e-mountain bike online. I asked for Michael if he could offer me similar deal. Michael agreed to work with me.
Lee

PandaOn2Wheels
2 months ago

Lee Kliman Whoch dealer did you deal with? I'm planning on purchasing one within next few months and would love to get that kind of deal. Thanks.

Lee Kliman
4 months ago

Thank you for replying to my comment. You are correct, I am enjoying my 2017 Bulls E-stream EVO 3 FS Plus. The ebike climbs excellently up steep grades. Plus tires on dirt climbs are more important to me over 28 mph on flat roads.
My electric bike dealership included Magura Vyron Wireless Dropper Post, Orange tubeless sealant conversion, Mirrycle Bar End MTB Mirror, and discounted price. I use this Bulls ebike for bikepacking on dirt roads and trails. I also have DMR Vault pedals, Arkel 15 seatpacker, Salsa EXP Anything handlebar cradle/bag, front & rear lights, and GPS with Ram mount. All in all seems to work seamlessly together for bikepacking.

Propel Electric Bikes
4 months ago

Great bike! Sounds like you're going to have a lot of fun with it! You should have no issue maintain similar speeds up grades since the torque is effectively the same. It will just cut out at 20 mph instead of 28. Hope you enjoy your new bike!

Seb K
4 months ago

In every video - "I'm going to set it to the maximum level" . Just something I noticed .

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Yeah, I want people to know what I'm doing in case they are new... Sometimes I go with lower levels to test speed and response. I like to pump it all the way up so you can hear the motor and see how powerful it can be if desired :)

Bob A
4 months ago

Awesome bike and components! Did not realize that the fork is almost $1000 dollars US. Once again, Bulls comes out with another awesome ebike. Making me a little quizie on those trail inclines LOL

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Ha! Yeah, the face camera offers mixed results... and the cliffs were a bit large (perhaps even larger in appearance with a wide screen lens). Indeed, Bulls offers good value in the higher-end market in my opinion. The price tag of this bike is high but not ridiculous given the components and drive system in place.

andrew hunt
4 months ago

Let's make the 28mph bike more expensive than the 20mph because we can even though it's just firmware and cost us nothing we can charge more.

Stephen Cho
4 months ago

Bulls Lacuba E45

andrew hunt
4 months ago

Once specialized or bulls come out with a speed pedelec hardtail I will buy it.I will have to wait till then.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Hey, that's a great idea XD

PixelLord
4 months ago

Man what a beautiful scenery..
If not a secret, where is it?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Um... I was taken there, not exactly sure on the location to be honest. It's an access road south of Redondo Beach in the Rancho Palos Verdes area

Denis Nhine
4 months ago

beautifull landscape !

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

I completely agree... and perfect weather that day!

Bob Wardrop
4 months ago

Where was this filmed?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Um... I was taken there, not exactly sure on the location to be honest. It's an access road south of Redondo Beach in the Rancho Palos Verdes area. Near Los Angeles, CA

Martian Megafauna
4 months ago

This may be a bit bike-nerdy, but you could have done this same test on my OHM sport, covering the same specs and characteristics, but there wasn't much that would allow me to differentiate between this eMTB and another eMTB as MTBs. Perhaps as there seem to be an increasing number of eMTB out there, and you will probably be reviewing them, it would be helpful if you could get a bit more in depth into the MTB qualities. Read some MTB magazines to see what I mean. I imagine that you won't want to spend the time getting familiar with all of the forks, shocks, brakes, suspension designs, etc., but getting a sense of how an eMTB does as an MTB would be really helpful for those interested in that. People not interested can skip those parts, or learn something new. And you would get to do some gnarly drops and jumps!! Thanks.

Martian Megafauna
4 months ago

A coincidence: your review of the Haibike SDURO AllMtn 6.0 was great, and covered a lot of good stuff.. Ride a bike that has been set-up for you.
You will have to ride more challenging terrain.
It seems most MTB reviews focus mainly on: climbing, descending, and suspension performance.
Climbing: does the front end get light or wander; traction; suspension bobbing vs lockout...
Descending: stability, composure, maneuverability, absorbing big hits
Suspension: amount and quality of travel; lockout or instead of; suppleness while braking
Also, how much do you notice the weight of the eMTB...
Those are some of the things that come to mind.
I hope others chime in...
Cheers, keep up the great work.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Great thought Martian, I appreciate the request and how you made it. My challenge to date has been limited time and varied testing environments. I'm definitely not as hard core as MTB, nor as educated on the subject as their writers, but I'm learning slowly. I try to review or "overview" as many as I can and enjoy getting out on trails like this when it works. What characteristics would you like to see/hear about in particular. Could you name a few things so I can zoom in on what they are vs. randomly searching magazines?

nature albums
4 months ago

I love this pity its not road legal for the UK and price wise makes it a no for me. Nice to see though great review.

nature albums
4 months ago

True but I think the US has more realistic limits on ebikes our ebikes cut out at 15mph! and max we can go is 250w

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Thanks! Yeah, even in the US there are some limits on where and how you can ride :)

CncObsession
4 months ago

Thank You! Finally a helmet cam. It made everything about the review so much better.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Thanks! The bad news is that I lost it somehow with all the traveling I've done lately... Seriously, how does that even happen?! Hopefully I'll find it, helped a family member move recently so perhaps I left it there?

Chris Till
4 months ago

I really like the rear shock design that makes it look more like a hardtail. Looks so stylish.