BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS Review

Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Electric Bike Review
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Brose High Speed Motor Trail Tune
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Bmz Downtube Battery 37 Volt
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Ergon Ga30 Locking Grips Transflective Display
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Rockshox Pike 150 Mm Suspension Fork
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Shimano Deore Xt Shadow Plus 22 Speed
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Schwalbe Rocket Ron 650b Tires
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Motor Protector Double Chain Ring
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Battery Pack
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Electric Bike Review
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Brose High Speed Motor Trail Tune
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Bmz Downtube Battery 37 Volt
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Ergon Ga30 Locking Grips Transflective Display
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Rockshox Pike 150 Mm Suspension Fork
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Shimano Deore Xt Shadow Plus 22 Speed
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Schwalbe Rocket Ron 650b Tires
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Motor Protector Double Chain Ring
Bulls E Stream Evo 45 Fs Battery Pack

Summary

  • A high quality full suspension e-mountain bike that's also a speed pedelec (capable of 28 mph top speeds), solid hydraulic disc brakes, wide thru-axles with Boost Technology
  • Adjustable 150 mm RockShox suspension front and rear, four-bar rear swing arm to reduce brake jack, 22 speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore XT Shadow Plus clutch on rear derailleur to reduce bounce and slap
  • Integrated LED lights with a bright mode at the rear when brake levers are pulled, room for a bottle cage or other accessory on the downtube, beautifully integrated battery and motor
  • A bit heavier than competing FS models due to battery size (37v 17.5ah), not a fan of the spring loaded kickstand, battery port cover doesn't always stay down, battery lock can be wonky and is placed in the path of the left crank arm

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

BULLS

Model:

E-Stream EVO 45 FS

Price:

$5,199

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Motor and Battery, 5 Years Frame

Availability:

Europe, Canada, United States, Australia, New Zealand

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

56 lbs (25.4 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.61 lbs (2.99 kg)

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminium

Frame Sizes:

16.14 in (40.99 cm)17.32 in (43.99 cm)19.29 in (48.99 cm)21.26 in (54 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

33" Stand Over Height

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with White and Neon Green Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rock Shox Pike RC 27.5 Solo Air, 150 mm Travel, Rebound and Compression Adjust, 15 mm Maxle with Quick Release and Boost

Frame Rear Details:

Rock Shox Monarch Plus RT, 150 mm Travel, Rebound Adjust, 12 mm Thru Axle with QR

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

22 Speed 2x11 Shimano Deore XT Shadow Plus, 11-40T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore XT Triggers on Right and Left

Cranks:

FSA Cranks, 44T / 30T

Pedals:

Wellgo Alloy Platform, Cage Style

Headset:

FSA Tapered 1 1/8"

Stem:

Bulls Alloy, 7° Angle, (70 mm, 80 mm)

Handlebar:

Bulls Alloy, Low Rise, 740 mm Length, 25 mm Rise, 9° Bend

Brake Details:

Tektro Dorado HD-E715 Hydraulic Disc with 203 mm Rotors, Tektro Dorado Levers with Brake Light Switch

Grips:

Ergon GA30 Locking, Flat

Saddle:

Fizik Nisene MG

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

WTB ASYM i35, 32 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge Front 13 Gauge Rear, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Rocket Ron, 27.5" x 2.25"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

Tubeless Ready, Folding, EVO Liteskin, Trail Star 3

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Velo Battery Protector Pad, Hebie Spring Kickstand, Integrated Fuxon LED Headlight, Integrated Toplight Line E LED Back Light (Bright with Braking), Flick Bell on Right

Other:

IP56 Ingress Rating, Boost Adds 10 mm to Hub Length in Font and 6 mm in the Rear, KMC X11E Chain, Formula Hubs

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Brose, Trail Tune, E45

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

530 watts

Motor Torque:

90 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

BMZ

Battery Voltage:

37 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

17.5 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

647.5 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Estimated Max Range:

130 miles (209 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Backlit Transflective LCD, BULLS CSI

Readouts:

Speed, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Level (None, Eco, Tour, Sport)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Cadence and Torque Sensing)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS combines some of my favorite features of electric bikes. It allows you to travel in full suspension comfort without concern for lost efficiency because it’s electric… and has an extra-large battery pack. It allows you to travel faster, in this case much faster, with advanced pedal assist up to 28 mph in a way that feels natural and blends in. And, it keeps you safe and visible with smart integrated lighting systems. Not only are they sleek and light weight, the rear light has a large reflective surface and gets extra bright when the brakes are activated (as with an automobile). This is one of the most purpose built and stealthy electric mountain bikes I’ve tested in recent years and while the price tag isn’t low, I think it’s reasonable given the limited options in this niche. If you’re someone who commutes by week and could appreciate the speed and lighting features but loves to hit the trails on the weekend and doesn’t want a flexy frame with cheaper suspension and touch points then this is one of your only options. You get an upgraded saddle, grips and capable hydraulic disc brakes (208 mm front rotor and 180 mm rear). The only accessory I felt was missing is a dropper seat post. I love the traditional diamond frame and appreciate how the battery interfaces with the downtube (from the bottom up), keeping it open for hanging on car or bus racks. With the exception of a few European mandated quirks like a spring loaded kickstand and oversized brake levers, this thing is exactly what it should be… and it even has bottle cage bosses. You won’t be distracted by a large display or overly noisy motor and with five frame sizes to choose from, it’s more likely to fit the tall and short riders alike. I had a blast testing this ebike and found myself subconsciously comparing it with the other leaders in the space, it left me a little envious.

Interfacing directly with the core of the frame, completely replacing the bottom bracket, is a 350 watt mid-drive motor from Brose. This thing peaks with 90 Newton meters of torque and can reach 530 watts when climbing in the highest level of assist. The compact black casing hides behind two chainrings and has a nice neoprene pad stuck to the bottom to reduce nicks and scrapes picked up on the trail. While you can definitely hear it operating at the highest levels, especially when pedaling with a higher RPM, it’s one of the quieter geared mid-drive motors I’ve tested. Inside, there’s a collection of gears and a belt transition that takes the edge off and reduces some of the mechanical vibration and sound. When riding on a dirt trail, especially with larger knobby tires, it almost disappears completely. One thing you won’t find here is a shift sensing controller. It measures rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and torque but relies on you to shift consciously while backing off on pedal pressure (I usually ramp up my speed then ease off pedaling to switch smoothly). All in all, this motor is very capable and a lot of fun in the higher levels when paired with the wide range of gears. Brose and Yamaha are two of the only mainstream mid-drive systems offering this right now and while they aren’t quite as responsive as Bosch (winding down more slowly) they work quite well and tend to produce less noise. In short, the motor is great but it’s up to you to operate properly and empower it while avoiding damage to two derailleurs, the chain and sprockets. I believe in you…

Powering the motor and both integrated LED lights is a high capacity Lithium-ion battery pack. Inside are BMZ cells offering 37 volts and 11.5 amp hours of energy… enough to top 100 miles per charge if you’re willing to slow down a bit and use lower assist levels. Note that anytime you’re riding above 20mph, air resistance produces drag exponentially. People aren’t super aerodynamic when sitting up straight riding on a bulky mountain bike frame with wide knobby tires. And on those occasions where you throw efficiency to the wind and max out to 28 mph I’d suggest taking those turns very carefully lest you slide out and whack your chin as I have done on occasion. Wet grass is a big danger… but you may find yourself going from sidewalk to grassy hill to catch air. This bike feels a lot like flying because it can handle almost any terrain comfortably and won’t leave you breathless to maintain higher speeds. Back to the battery itself, the mounting interface is solid but a little tricky to work with. You have to push the pack up from beneath the downtube (latching the bottom and snapping the top). There’s a key and sliding lever thing which lets you unlock the pack. I do wish the keyed locking core was spring loaded and defaulted to locked vs. making you twist the key each time and I was being extra careful not to drop the battery when using the slider lever thing. The pack weighs about seven pounds which isn’t bad, but you’re actively pulling it down out of the downtube and the weight plus gravity plus trying to keep the bike from tipping can make it awkward at times. Thankfully, there’s a kickstand included with this bike (most e-mountain bikes don’t have them) but it’s spring loaded and constantly wants to slap back up. This is due to some European regulations… which also mandate large knob-ended brake levers, reflectors on the suspension fork and a license plate mount. Stepping back from the bike, once the battery is mounted properly, it looks just beautiful. And underneath the battery you’ve got another strip of foam padding to keep it protected. In short, the battery weight is positioned well and the quiet motor plus near-invisible battery result in a more normal looking electric mountain bike, one that won’t turn heads or ruffle feathers.

Operating the EVO 45 FS feels simple because the display panel is very basic and limited. Once the battery is charged and mounted (either charged on or off the bike) you sometimes have to press a power button on top of the downtube to get it to wake up. Next, you press the top edge of the button pad which is mounted within reach distance of the left grip. This brings up a nice display with speed, assist level and battery level readouts. It’s a transflective display, designed for easy reading in light or dark scenarios and it’s unique to Bulls from what I can tell. You click up or down to change power level (filling three boxes for full power) and pedal along, the drive systems kick in automatically from there. It’s very simple and easy to adjust without taking your eyes off the trail and there’s less to get scratched, broken (if you fall) or noticed as being “electric” by fellow riders. On the left side of this display button pad thing is another switch to activate the LED lights and as mentioned earlier, the rear light goes extra bright when braking. I love that they managed to squeeze in a Micro USB port on the display pad (near the base) for those who like to mount portable electronics to their handle bar cockpit area. Back to the go-anwhere speed commuting scenario, you could mount your phone and use GPS for longer rides without completely draining it. Just get the correct adapter off Amazon.

Not everyone cares about speed, full suspension or comfort the way I do. I’m not looking for a motorcycle here but I do enjoy the extra boost when riding in traffic and I only have the space and budget for one ebike. In so many ways, the BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS satisfies that vision. An ebike that blends in, is fun to ride and useful in a range of scenarios without being ridiculously expensive. Yes, $5,500 is far from cheap but it’s way less than some of the competing electric bicycles out there with similar designs like the Specialized Turbo. I like that Bulls went with Boost Technology (wider axles) and the sturdy thru-axle design front and rear. That’s a big deal when you’ve got large knobby tires, off-road and high speed. A dropper seat post would be easy to add yourself aftermarket and while I’m not sure where the cable would end up, the original brakes, shifter wires and electronics are all internally routed reducing snags and keeping the bike clean. Depending on how and where you’re riding, note the throttle lever on the rear derailleur which tightens the springs and reduces chain bounce and slap. It also makes shifting harder but is worth experimenting with as you go from streets and trails to bouncy rocks and mountains. The tires are tubeless ready and that’s one way to cut down on the heavier build (this is a 56 lb ebike) and that makes riding with lower PSI possible too… but do check on the pressure regularly given the weight of the bike slowly squeezing air out. Some people might want to explore a single sprocket up front given the 11 speed cluster in the rear (for even more weight savings and simplicity), Bulls is sold at a growing number of US dealers that could help you set it up and the two-year warranty is solid. This is a larger company with International distribution and a good reputation, I’d like to thank Bulls for partnering with me to make this review possible. We filmed on an access road in Southern California with some great views and had a blast.

Pros:

  • One of the very few full suspension, higher-end, electric mountain bikes that is also a speed pedelec capable of 28 mph top speed!
  • Integrated LED lights front and rear including a bright mode for the rear when you pull the brake levers… this increases safety if you’re using the bike to commute or jog around town during the week
  • You get a few little extras from European standardization including a license plat mount at the back, larger brake levers with ball ends and a flick bell
  • The battery blends in perfectly with the frame, it’s mounted up into the downtube and has a nice rock guard on the bottom (along with the motor) for protection off-road
  • I love that the screws used to attach some plastic housing on top of the downtube (for the battery, charge port and controller) can be used to mount a bottle cage
  • While you don’t get as many readouts with the Bulls display panel, I love how compact and easy to use it is, I also like the transflective readout technology which is easy to read in dark or super bright situations
  • Built into the display ring is a Micro USB port that could maintain your phone, Garmin or other portable electronic device… it’s conveniently located and blends in
  • 22 speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore XT Shadow Plus (has a tightening lever to reduce chain slap), offers plenty of range for climbing or reaching and maintaining higher top speeds… just awesome and perfect for a speed pedelec, I also like the chainring bash guard on it
  • I love the adjustable air suspension components here, both from RockShox with 150 mm travel, but would consider adding a dropper seat post for added versatility transitioning from climbing to descending
  • You can get the E-Stream EVO 45FS in five frame sizes which is really impressive to me, I’d consider four to be a lot but that makes this bike even more accessible to a range of body types
  • Both wheels offer quick release and use thicker longer axles (with Boost technology) for strength and stiffness with the larger tires
  • I like that the battery us removable to reduce weight and that the top triangle on the bike is more traditional because it’s much easier to hang from some racks
  • Very nice hydraulic disc brakes from Tektro, these are ebike specific (with the light integration) and offer great stopping power with a 203/180 setup vs. just 180 mm rotors on both
  • Super-fast 5 Amp charger compared with more standard 2 Amp or 4 Amp, nice to have given the larger capacity… I also like the magnetic EnergyBus plug style that will pop off vs. bending or tipping the bike
  • The motor is smooth and quiet, apparently there’s a rubber belt inside transferring power between standard gears and this reduces vibration and abrasion

Cons:

  • The little rubber cover flap meant to protect the charge port from dust and water doesn’t stay put very well, I had to work with it a bit each time which was frustrating
  • The locking core on the left side of the downtube is directly in the path of the left crank arm which means it could get snagged or bent easily… be careful not to leave the key in and make sure the battery is fully secure, I believe you have to manually turn again to lock the battery vs. just having it always locked when clicked in
  • Unlike Bosch and some of the nicer Yamaha display panels, this setup lacks a range estimator and battery percentage readout which makes it difficult to gauge distance at times, you just have a five bar battery info-graphic
  • No shift sensing technology with the Brose motor controller but the advanced assist makes shifting crunch-free if you just ease off a little and practice
  • I was surprised to find out that the bike weighs 56 lbs because many other premium FS ebikes are in the 52 lb range but this one has a larger capacity battery and reinforced top tube so that’s probably what does it
  • The kickstand has this automatic spring action that I really dislike… easy enough to remove the stand if you want (I believe this is a requirement for European speed pedelecs but I feel that it’s unstable and bikes tend to tip more with it)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More BULLS Reviews

BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An all-mountain electric bike with plus sized tires for improved stability, traction and comfort, 150 mm air suspension with compression and rebound adjust. Battery and motor mount design are tighter than older Bosch systems, weight is kept low…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 3 Carbon 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A Carbon fiber electric cross country mountain bike with premium components and ultra-integrated motor and battery system, excellent weight distribution. The Brose motor is quiet and responsive offering up to 90 Nm of torque output,…...

BULLS DAIL-E Grinder Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the first Gravel Grinder style electric bikes to make it to America! Made with premium components, high performance lights and a purpose built frame in three sizes. Capable of high speed 28 mph performance, the Bosch centerdrive motor measures bike speed, pedal…...

BULLS SIX50 E2 Street Review

  • MSRP: $3,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A fully equipped speed commuter capable of 28 mph operation, running on the proven Bosch Performance mid-drive motor and updated 500 watt hour Samsung battery. Extra large 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes offer smooth solid stops without requiring exorbitant hand…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A versatile urban electric bike well suited to commuting, touring and trekking because of its efficient mid-drive motor and larger than average battery capacity, durable internal gearing and belt drive. Available in five frame sizes and three frame styles including wave, mid-step and high-step diamond…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A stealthy full suspension all-mountain electric bike with longer travel 150 mm suspension, fully adjustable air fork by RockShox, color matched to frame. Larger 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack to assist with steeper climbs and longer…...

BULLS Monster E FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Full suspension fat bike with a high quality mid-drive motor from Bosch and their updated 500 watt hour battery pack for extended range. Cool fluorescent paint job that extends all the way through the fork, rear shock housing,…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Available in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step and mid-step) with an adjustable stem, active-comfort saddle and ergonomic grips, this bike can fit well and feel good at speed and over long distances. Capable of 28 mph top speeds, this is a Class 3 electric bike with an…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all-mountain electric bike with beautifully integrated battery, motor and display... it blends in more than most other e-mountain bikes I've tested and runs quiet. Sturdy 15 mm thru axle in the front and 12 mm axle in the rear…...

BULLS SIX50 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A loaded full suspension mountain bike with premium electric drivetrain from Bosch offering 75 Nm of climbing torque with the CX motor and a 400 watt hour Samsung battery. RockShox air suspension with 120 mm travel front and rear for solid trail or all…...

BULLS Monster E S Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Premium hardtail electric fat bike with all the fixins, highlights include rear rack bosses, tubeless-ready tires and punched out rims, RockShox air fork with remote lockout and high torque Bosch CX motor. Quality 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano for excellent stopping power and modulation, impressive…...

BULLS Outlaw E45 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty looking, fairly comfortable speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speeds, it's running on an optimized geared hub motor design with heat pipe technology for maximum performance. Unique mid-mount battery box fills the main frame triangle keeping weight low and centered while…...

BULLS Sturmvogel E EVO Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautifully designed urban electric bike painted white for visibility and modern appeal, white walled tires, reflective sidewall stripes, LED lights. Extra sturdy and durable thanks to a 15 mm thru-axle on the front wheel (with…...

BULLS TWENTY9 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension, Bosch powered, cross country style electric bike with efficient 29" wheels, it's available in three sizes for good fit and would feel taller and larger for riders with long legs but still fits some shorter riders given the angled top tube. Quick release for both wheels ads convenience for fixes and transporting the bike, I love…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fully loaded urban electric bicycle with great accessories for commuting including an aluminum rear rack, full length fenders with mud flaps and integrated LED lights. Relatively light weight at under 50 lbs, this is due in part to the nicer…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS Enduro 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An enduro style full suspension electric mountain bike with longer 160 mm suspension travel, seat post dropper, 27.5" wheelset and premium hydraulic brakes. Downtube-integrated battery pack is out of sight and keeps weight low and centered across the…...


Jay
2 months ago

Nice video overview it’s a good looker I really wanted to like it a lot more but the lack of shift sensing would stop me from considering this as a 2nd ebike. Its been around now for a while so I don’t see why Brose, having achieved pretty much a premium product positioning aren’t inclined to incorporate it. If you appreciate shift sensing as I feel most people who have experienced it do then it’s not something you want to downgrade from. A bit like going back to dial up. Ok maybe a little harsh but you’ll know what I mean. Stopped me from moving to the Specialized Turbo Levo. Of course this isn’t Bulls fault so maybe manufacturers are a better voice to apply some pressure on what is otherwise a best in class motor option.

Any idea if the shift sensing ‘tech’ is patented or limited in some way? It can’t be that tricky to incorporate.

Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Jay! I feel you… it’s interesting that Bosch and Impulse can do shift sensing, even some more generic Bafang mid-drive systems can add a bit of hardware to make it possible like e-RAD does, but I haven’t heard anything from Brose or Yamaha. My Turbo Levo is still working great but I never ever mash the gears. Admittedly, I don’t get to ride as much as I’d like to but I always shift carefully and it hasn’t posed a real issue. On the flip side, my Uncle owns a Haibike with Bosch and has gone through five chains and two derailleurs over a two year daily ride period. I am not sure if he shifts differently than me or it’s just the added forces of electric. You CAN mash on Bosch, their shift sensing is software driven but to me, it’s better than nothing. I am careful regardless of the platform. If you’ve got a mid-drive, you will be putting more pressure on some components it so it’s important to take that into consideration ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Nicolas
2 months ago

Great in-depth article! I test rode this bike at the last Long Beach Expo and was really impressed with it. It handled the obstacle course with such brio and aplomb that I’m smitten with it :) You can sense how well put together it is and oozes quality built. I’m looking forward to a more in-depth test ride and finding out more.

Court Rye
2 months ago

Hey Nicolas! I’m looking forward to more comments from you because your vocabulary rocks… Perhaps an update on this bike if you decide to buy one?!

Nicolas Zart
2 months ago

Thanks Court, looking forward to this amazing community. Decide to buy one? Hum, that’s a tough one. More like, two, three, four… I wish, and I’m working on it.

The good problem with modern e-bikes is that they are so good. I’m not sure if most people remember what was available 10 years ago? Crickets… OK, one or two brands and a lot of DIY conversions and modifications. It was slim picking. Today, you have such a wide choice of availability. It’s truly impressive!

Ken
1 month ago

Thank you for the great review on this as well as so many other bikes Court! I must admit that I have been binge watching your reviews and they have literally been keeping me up at night and I am so sleep deprived right now… I am so excited to get an e-bike and want to pull the trigger and get one ASAP, but am doing my best to take a step back and make sure I make a good choice and wise investment. I’m basically considering two completely different categories and price points. I’m considering a couple of significantly less expensive options (E-Glide ST and Magnum Peak), but I’ll comment on those separately as I’m guessing that would be more appropriate and useful for others.

The Bulls EVO 45 is clearly at the upper price point and I am very intrigued by it. I know you ended up getting a Specialized Turbo Levo FSR Expert and I know it was important for you to have a class one bike to open up as many riding options as possible, but I’m curious if you can share any other thoughts between these Bulls and the Specialized that led you to go Specialized as I know they have class one Bulls versions as well. I’m personally leaning towards this Bulls EVO 45 because I want to use this as a commuting bike as well as a multipurpose bike as well as an off-road mountain bike. I like the idea of the 28 mph from the perspective of getting to work quicker and staying with traffic better, but I’m also a bit concerned that the state of Oregon may decide that this is not legally considered a bicycle… I also like the integrated lights, bigger battery = longer range, and lower price point. With all that said, I like the idea of the Specialized (I would likely be considering the Comp instead of the Expert) better because I’m familiar with the brand and dealer network (but have never heard of Bulls before), I like the idea of a bit wider tires, and I really like the look! The only thing I wish these bikes had was a throttle as that would be even more ideal from my perspective… Any thoughts would be appreciated!

Also some more specific questions with respect to the Bulls EVO 45 – Is the motor really a 350 watt or was this a typo and should it be a 250 watt? How wide are the tires on this bike? I’m sorry for the long comment, but thank you again for all of your work and any thoughts you may have! Ken

Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi Ken! Great questions… I chose the Turbo Levo Comp but it was sold out so I ended up with an Expert. I paid over $6,500 with it after a discount from Specialized (since I was going to review it, they’re an advertiser and they didn’t have the cheaper Comp model). The reason I chose Specialized and paid a premium was because this was one of the first ebikes in the USA to offer the Brose motor. I wanted to get one, test it out and do some long term review/feedback videos. ALSO! I wanted to learn from the experts at Peloton Cycles in Fort Collins. They let me film and everything so I got like three videos out of the experience along with a great bike. So I guess the short feedback would be that Bulls is a solid brand, I didn’t avoid them but just didn’t have the option AND wanted to get some great support and learning. I hope this helps you with the decision and sorry I’m a bit short of time or would elaborate further… feel free to connect in the forums or ping me with other comments. I’ll do my best to help ;)

Ken
3 weeks ago

Thank you for the initial response Court; I appreciate it. As much as I’d like to try one of the Haibikes with the new Yamaha pw-x motor, which really sounds interesting to me, it doesn’t sound like that will happen for another year at this point according to my local dealer… Have you been able to ride anything with this motor yet? If not and assuming it would be another year wait, that brings me back to Bulls and Brose for now I think. I’m now down to 2 bikes, the Bulls EVO 45 and the Bulls EVO FS3 Plus… I’m really (I mean REALLY and SERIOUSLY!) having a hard time making up my mind between these two bikes. Unfortunately, I don’t have the ability to ride both of them, so I’m hoping maybe you could share some thoughts given you reviewed both and appeared to have ridden both back to back on the same day on the same terrain. What I’m really really curious about is aside from the obvious differences in top speed, tire width, lights, bell, kick stand, seat, brakes, etc., is there any noticeable difference in power between the two under 20mph based on the 350 watt rating vs. the 250 watt rating? Any other differences or thoughts would be most welcome! Thank you again for all the great work and help!!! Ken

Court Rye
3 weeks ago

Hi Ken! I can tell you’ve been digging deep on these two. Sounds like you’ve identified the main differences and indeed, the bikes are very similar. For many people, the high speed option is a big deal and it’s something you cannot add once the bike has been purchased. The feeling of both motors is similar… but you end up going faster and perhaps accelerating faster on the 45. I like how that bike looks, appreciate the kickstand and larger brake rotor at the front. I’d probably pay more for that one because I ride in and around town frequently and it’s very easy to hit 20 mph with either bike but then you’re basically stuck at 20-23 mph with the slower motor because of air resistance and bike weight. Note that you will drain the 45 battery faster due to the higher speed but these packs are big. Most of my riding is on streets but I love dirt paths and jumps… where speed helps again :P

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

RoadWrinkle
16 hours ago

When deciding to buy a BULLS E-stream FS 3 29er it was clear, with no BULLS dealer in my state, I was going to have to buy the bike online. Without the benefit of a test ride or inspection of the exact bike, your in a position where you need to trust the dealer to do a number of things AFTER you send them thousands.

After searching a dozen or so sources, found out most BULLS dealers do not stock most bikes on their website, but order them from the manufacturer after the consumer orders online (same with some other brands) . The dealer removes the bike from the box, does a partial assembly, inspection and tune before re-boxing for shipping to you. The whole process takes around three weeks from order to delivery if your bike is not in stock.

Motostrano in Redwood City, Ca. has a large selection of BULLS models advertised with 1-3 day shipping after your order (if it is in stock). Called them and spoke with 'Joe' to confirm they had the bike in stock and was told "it's here, but we need a few days to get it ready for shipping." My order came to $4189.00. After two weeks go by with nothing shipped contacted them again and was told "we just received the bike from BULLS and need to get it ready for shipping". I finally got the bike a few days ago. It arrived with two punctured tubes, a seat frame bent and twisted beyond use, derailleurs and brakes out of alignment, a shipping box with Styrofoam padding taped to the outside of the box where part of the box was missing, most of the manufacturers protective padding was not on the bike, but on the bottom of the box, like it was not re-boxed properly. Joe sent a pic of the bike on their stand "ready for shipping" that clearly shows a completely flat rear tire, with the shrink wrap actually folding the tire on the rim, but they shipped it like that regardless (see pic). While waiting for a new seat to arrive I had plenty of time to change out the tubes, re-tune the derailleurs and brakes on a brand new bike. Thanks Motostrano for an interesting buying experience.

1/4
pxpaulx
1 week ago

After getting on on the first Radrovers from Rad Power Bikes almost 2 years ago, I broke my piggy bank and just bought this :
http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/e-stream-evo-2-27-5-plus-2/

I am very excited! Does anybody have the same bike or had a chance to try it ?

You're gong to love it, truly a new more natural riding experience. My radrover is up on Craigslist, haven't rode it in a year, just maintained the battery!

Ravi Kempaiah
1 week ago

After getting on on the first Radrovers from Rad Power Bikes almost 2 years ago, I broke my piggy bank and just bought this :
http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/e-stream-evo-2-27-5-plus-2/

I am very excited! Does anybody have the same bike or had a chance to try it ?

It's a very nice bike. My main gripe with the previous year model was that it did not have rack mounting points. So, I could not convert the 29er into a commuter. But, for 2017, they have solved that problem.
The bike looks great in person.

Check out this video:

Alphbetadog
1 week ago

I've got the similar E-Stream Enduro and absolutely love it. Bought it about 6 months after getting a Haibike Xduro FS RC. The Haibike has been relegated to a "buddy bike" since getting the Brose powered Bulls...

Ericmacfan
1 week ago

After getting on on the first Radrovers from Rad Power Bikes almost 2 years ago, I broke my piggy bank and just bought this :
http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/e-stream-evo-2-27-5-plus-2/

I am very excited! Does anybody have the same bike or had a chance to try it ?

James Kohls
1 week ago

What do you mean by off-road? Hard packed dirt trails? Mud? Grass? Something you can take out on the weekends to the mountain bike trails? Pretty much any bike can "go" off-road, but tires and suspension are going to be two of the biggest factors to how enjoyable it is. For commuting, do you need fenders? A rear rack? Most full suspension bikes are not good options for racks and fenders (at least full coverage fenders).

If you want good off-road performance, getting a mid-drive mountain bike and a 2nd wheelset to swap out from knobby to road tires may be a good choice. Otherwise, if you are not going to be aggressive in your off-road riding, switching from road tires to gravel tires on a bike with a decent front fork may be sufficient—possibly add a suspension seat post into the budget as well. You'd loose some efficiency, but gain versatility.

There are certainly stealthy mountain bikes that do 28MPH, like the Bulls E-STREAM EVO 45 FS or the more road/gravel oriented Specialized Turbo X. Otherwise, just get a commuter style speed pedalec and put some more aggressive tires on it.

Dunbar
1 week ago

If you are not sweating, then you are not getting a good workout. It takes about 15 minutes in a meaningful workout to consume the free glucose in your blood stream. After that is gone you will sweat as calories are extracted from other stores.

You're missing the point that e-bikes are faster for the same effort so you sweat less (or not at all.)

Thomas Jaszewski
2 weeks ago

Warning. I am listed as a dealer, but no longer sell, I only support, at no cost.
I love the stuff from this company. Leaders i the indicatory for more than a decade. Some really useful tools and fabulous kits as well. All top shelf. Wortth poking around and looking at their products and online tools. I REALLY like

TRIP ANALYZER
http://www.ebikes.ca/tools/trip-analyzer.html

"This web software tool is designed for post-trip analysis of any electric vehicle journey that has been logged with a Cycle Analyst. The Cycle Analyst does not itself log your trip data, so in order to have these stats you need to capture and save the data stream to a computer using a communications cable or a hardware saving device such as the Cycle Analogger."

Rincon
2 weeks ago

If you are not sweating, then you are not getting a good workout. It takes about 15 minutes in a meaningful workout to consume the free glucose in your blood stream. After that is gone you will sweat as calories are extracted from other stores.

I certainly ride my ebike much more, much further than my regular bike. However the bike I sweat more on, burn more calories on, and get a better workout with is my stationary bike in the virtual world of Zwift. I ride almost every day and it is a blast riding through the core of an active volcano with other riders from all over the world. It keeps me in shape, builds muscle in my legs, helped me lose weight, and has improved my cardio. The ebike is certainly exercise, but really it is just for fun—and it is a lot of fun. I took a 27 mile ride today through the oak covered hills of Santa Barbara, but never broke a sweat and had a great time.

Dual Rider
2 weeks ago

I'm getting close to buying an E-Stream EVO 45 and I'm wondering if you have any feedback on what size to get or what size you have and how you like it? I'm 5'11" with a 31" inseam in pants or a 33" inseam using the book all the way up to your crotch method to measure where the seat would be with no shoes on...

Thank you!

Rincon
2 weeks ago

Bulls E-STREAM EVO 45 FS, a full suspension speed pedelec built for trails and roads. But a rack would be a problem with most rear suspension bikes. I'm not sure how a rear rack would hang on to an active rear suspension. They are sort of mutually exclusive, but undoubtedly someone has figured it out...

Dual Rider
3 weeks ago

I'm finally now down to 2 bikes, the Bulls EVO 45 and the Bulls EVO FS3 Plus... I'm really (I mean REALLY and SERIOUSLY!) having a hard time making up my mind between these two bikes. I can't tell you how many hours I've spent trying to research them and just thinking about them... Unfortunately, I don't have the ability to ride both of them, so I'm hoping maybe you could share some thoughts. What I'm really curious about is aside from the obvious differences in cost, top speed (28 vs. 20 mph), tire width, lights, bell, kick stand, seat, brakes, etc., is there any difference in power between the two under 20 mph based on the 350 watt rating vs. the 250 watt rating on the Brose motor? Are there any other handling differences? Any other differences or thoughts would be most welcome. Finally, any thoughts on tire width other than the basics of the narrower tires would be better and more efficient for the road and the wider ones would be better for loose and steep stuff...??? Thank you in advance!

Camac
3 weeks ago

Have had my E-Stream EVO/FS 3 29 for about a month now and am loving it and still learning. One thing that I'm trying to find out more about is if there is a better controller. The controller on my bike only shows the speed and the power level I am using. I would like a more information on the power that I am using and more importantly, detail of how much power I have left. (I have a ride that has a large hill at the end and I want to know whether I have enough power at the end or do I have to get of and walk) A display of average speed, distance traveled, total distance etc would help. (yes I am a bit of a control freak) There are add-ons which capture a lot of that information but none are integrated with the bikes power system.

Does Bulls have any other power displays/controllers ??

pxpaulx
4 weeks ago

If you do get to a bulls dealer, make sure to ride a brose powered model along with the six 50 you've mentioned. Either one of the e stream evo mtbs or the lacuba evo 28th. You also get the huge 650wh battery with the brose models which is really nice and extremely well integrated imho!

RoadWrinkle
4 weeks ago

Getting ready to purchase, could not find any reviews of the bike, other than the German "Zebra Project" version. Theory here is obtaining the benefits of the 29er while letting the massive battery and engine torque take care of the extra energy required for the larger wheels. I wonder if EBR will review this model?

BTW: If you go to the Bulls international site for Germany, you will notice the bikes being sold there, across all model ranges, are just BETTER than the USA versions, plus most come with the Brose full display/controller. No fun trying to import one I am guessing (?)

1/1
Traveler7477
4 weeks ago

Thank you. My daughter and my dad are both telling me to get the E-stream. After you figure out the range can you let me know? I know every situation is different. Thanks again appreciate the info.

Traveler7477
4 weeks ago

Trying to do my homework and the Bulls monster e FS and the E-stream evo looks like the best way to go. Between those two Witch would be better? Keep in mind I'll be going from beach to mountain. City to country.

bob armani
4 weeks ago

Great stuff- Contacted Bulls who directed me to Small Planet in Longmont, Colorado. Small Planet rented me a
E-STREAM EVO FS 3 27.5 PLUS. After riding a one trail ride, I sold my Spec. Turbo Levo FSR (also an awesome bike) the next day and bought the Bulls. The Bulls just feels perfect (software?) and will go all day (Spec is a half-day bike).

One of my friends said the only problem with ebikes is - "you need two". I know what he means. He meant one for you and one for someone to ride along with you.

When will Bulls offer a full suspension mtn bike for my athletic wife's 5'2" body type? She'll need an xs frame with low standover and short length frame.

Edward-
Wow, sold a Levo for a Bulls, that is incredible and something to consider when trying to choose. I wish I could find a dealer nearby that would RENT these awesome bikes before pulling the trigger on a purchase. Good for you and enjoy your new bike!o_O

LimboJim
4 weeks ago

Great stuff- Contacted Bulls who directed me to Small Planet in Longmont, Colorado. Small Planet rented me a
E-STREAM EVO FS 3 27.5 PLUS. After riding a one trail ride, I sold my Spec. Turbo Levo FSR (also an awesome bike) the next day and bought the Bulls. The Bulls just feels perfect (software?) and will go all day (Spec is a half-day bike).
One of my friends said the only problem with ebikes is - "you need two". I know what he means. He meant one for you and one for someone to ride along with you.
When will Bulls offer a full suspension mtn bike for my athletic wife's 5'2" body type? She'll need an xs frame with low standover and short length frame.
I just got an FS 3 27.5+, too - it's reaffirming to know you prefer it to the Specialized with same motor. Seems like Brose allows mfrs some leeway in customizing the motor's tuning.
I own a couple others so friends can join me - someday they'll own their own, I'm sure... Hope you find the right eMTB for the wife!

Edward Kean
4 weeks ago

Nice to hear. I'm in the process of getting an ebike and torn between the Bulls E-stream fs3 and the Specialized Turbo Levo. I did demo the Levo HT and was very pleased. Couldn't get my hands on the Bulls FS3 but any feedback on comparisons would be appreciated.
Owned Spec Turbo Levo FSR since Jan and sold it the day after I test drove a Bulls FS 3 27.5+. The Spec is a half day bike, the Bulls a full day bike. Look at the battery specs. Also prefer the Bulls in many other ways- fit, travel, drivetrain, controller, wheels, geometry, keylock, bb height. So good!

Edward Kean
4 weeks ago

Hi Everyone! I'm Adam, a member of team BULLS eBIKES. I'm loving hearing everyone's feedback, experiences and questions. Even if it's negative, it helps us improve. Feel free to tag me and hit me up for any questions about the bikes and locations. If you have requests for new locations, let me know. We're always looking for great dealers to partner with and ultimately our job is to serve you together!

Thanks @Court for putting this review site and forum together. Keep up the great work!

Adam
Great stuff- Contacted Bulls who directed me to Small Planet in Longmont, Colorado. Small Planet rented me a
E-STREAM EVO FS 3 27.5 PLUS. After riding a one trail ride, I sold my Spec. Turbo Levo FSR (also an awesome bike) the next day and bought the Bulls. The Bulls just feels perfect (software?) and will go all day (Spec is a half-day bike).

One of my friends said the only problem with ebikes is - "you need two". I know what he means. He meant one for you and one for someone to ride along with you.

When will Bulls offer a full suspension mtn bike for my athletic wife's 5'2" body type? She'll need an xs frame with low standover and short length frame.

Devon
1 month ago

I'm about 5'2" and 95lbs, skinny and in fair shape, but by no means am I athletic. Furthermore, I have about a 60 deg scoliosis in my lower back (hence the desire for a full suspension), a restricted airway that severely limits my breathing abilities, and live in a city with a lot of hills (reason for wanting an ebike).

That said, riding a normal bike around here is literally impossible as I'd be out of breath long before getting up a single hill - and without going into detail, just know that my breathing isn't something that will improve over time. So, given the option of a Specialized Turbo Levo FSR 6Fattie or BULLS E-STREAM EVO 45 FS, any suggestions as to which I should go with?

The Specialized bike has a nice mobile app and IS available locally from a bike shop, but is only 20mph top speed with a 250w custom motor.

Whereas the BULLS bike DOES NOT have a mobile app (has a small screen/controller) and IS NOT available locally (so servicing it would cost extra) but has a 350W Brose motor with 90Nm of torque and assists up to 28mph.

Which would you choose if in my position and why? Which would be better at climbing a hill (mainly concerned about paved roads, not planning to off-road)?

drumm1n
1 month ago

Has anyone tried using the mini USB charging port on the Bulls controller to connect an iPhone? What type of cable have you used? I tried an Android OTG (On The Go) cable connected to a regular lightning cable and it didn't work. I have not been able to find a mini USB to lightning cable of any length available in Canada. If anyone has a source, please provide a link!

BTW, this is for a Bulls E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus which I got a month a go. Will be providing a full review after a little more saddle time. Spoiler Alert: I haven't stopped grinning since I got it!

mrgold35
1 month ago

There are some reports of cars with bike racks being stopped and ticketed in Delaware. Most of these have been out of state vehicles passing through on the way to Ocean City , Md. Some of our bike group members have been hit. Otherwise, I have been using this style of rack for years with no interference.

Sounds like local law enforcement are taking advantage of an easy revenue stream from out state travelers.:mad:

koolstup
1 week ago

I weight 147lbs, so this bike would be ideal for me. Sadly, it's not available/legal in the UK :-(

Alex Jett
3 weeks ago

Where can this bike be purchased

benzoesan sodu
2 months ago

What is in your opinion best ebike on full suspension have you ever ride? On Bosch, Brose or on Brose? Which models? Maybe Haibike Dwnhill Pro? Bulls E stream Evo FS? Thank you :)

ol1bit
2 months ago

Awesome...my 3 year old Emotion 650B is feeling old, still goes awesome, but always though on trails. Power is lacking tad. Someday...

Duane Jahn
2 months ago

fifty-five hundred dollars for a bicycle? That is crazy, IMHO.

Jason Hacker
2 months ago

I notice you're wearing a lid when you ride off. The image stabilisation is impressive - have you attached your normal handheld gimbal set up to it or is that all digital stabilisation? Judging by the way you are looking down at the frame I suspect there's no gimbal but.....

Maurice Imhof
2 months ago

I really like this bike since it is a proper enduro trailbike but also an s-pedelec, therefore suitable for commuting... Is the saddle on the bulls really fix (not a dropper)?

Propel Electric Bikes
2 months ago

I think this bike is going to be quite popular. Many people are looking for a bike with these sorts of capabilities. It's pretty awesome!

Bike Style 4.0
2 months ago

look at my Channel for More Bulls 2017 Electric Bikes :-)

Lee Kliman
2 months ago

I have enjoyed your Electric Bike Review, since the first Specialized Turbo Levo you reviewed. I am an intermediate level mountain biker that rides a FS 27.5+ mtn. bike. The Turbo Levo presently does not have enough amp hours I needed for my planned e-mountain bikepacking rides. After your video mentioned the Bulls E-stream Evo FS 3 Plus had 17.5 ah, I knew there was an e-mountain bike with my requirements. I liked Bulls E-stream 45 FS for better front suspension, better seat, stronger brakes for steep downhills, and preprogrammed to run up to 28 mph on flat terrain. After a lengthy consideration and further research, I chose the Bulls E-stream Evo FS 3 Plus, because it was a Class 1 rated in some states and better traction with 27.5+ tires on loose soil in steep grades. Your videos helped me to decide!
Question: During this video you mentioned the 45 FS was going 12 - 13 mph up the steep grade. Based on same conditions on steep grade would the FS 3 Plus have same maximum speed of the 45 FS, because both bikes have the same Brose motor with same torque output of 90 newton meters on the same grade?

Lee Kliman
2 weeks ago

PandaOn2Wheels Hello PandaOn2Wheels,
I purchased my Bulls E-stream EVO 3 FS 27.5 Plus from Boise Electric Bikes. Boise Electric Bikes is owned by Michael and Heidi a family business (http://www.boiseelectricbikes.com). In January, Boise had snow in town and bicycle market was slow and I felt I could get my best deal. I wanted to work with my local bike shop for support and service. I did my homework of current winter deals for my Bulls e-mountain bike online. I asked for Michael if he could offer me similar deal. Michael agreed to work with me.
Lee

PandaOn2Wheels
2 weeks ago

Lee Kliman Whoch dealer did you deal with? I'm planning on purchasing one within next few months and would love to get that kind of deal. Thanks.

Lee Kliman
2 months ago

Thank you for replying to my comment. You are correct, I am enjoying my 2017 Bulls E-stream EVO 3 FS Plus. The ebike climbs excellently up steep grades. Plus tires on dirt climbs are more important to me over 28 mph on flat roads.
My electric bike dealership included Magura Vyron Wireless Dropper Post, Orange tubeless sealant conversion, Mirrycle Bar End MTB Mirror, and discounted price. I use this Bulls ebike for bikepacking on dirt roads and trails. I also have DMR Vault pedals, Arkel 15 seatpacker, Salsa EXP Anything handlebar cradle/bag, front & rear lights, and GPS with Ram mount. All in all seems to work seamlessly together for bikepacking.

Propel Electric Bikes
2 months ago

Great bike! Sounds like you're going to have a lot of fun with it! You should have no issue maintain similar speeds up grades since the torque is effectively the same. It will just cut out at 20 mph instead of 28. Hope you enjoy your new bike!

Seb K
2 months ago

In every video - "I'm going to set it to the maximum level" . Just something I noticed .

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Yeah, I want people to know what I'm doing in case they are new... Sometimes I go with lower levels to test speed and response. I like to pump it all the way up so you can hear the motor and see how powerful it can be if desired :)

Bob A
2 months ago

Awesome bike and components! Did not realize that the fork is almost $1000 dollars US. Once again, Bulls comes out with another awesome ebike. Making me a little quizie on those trail inclines LOL

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Ha! Yeah, the face camera offers mixed results... and the cliffs were a bit large (perhaps even larger in appearance with a wide screen lens). Indeed, Bulls offers good value in the higher-end market in my opinion. The price tag of this bike is high but not ridiculous given the components and drive system in place.

andrew hunt
2 months ago

Let's make the 28mph bike more expensive than the 20mph because we can even though it's just firmware and cost us nothing we can charge more.

Stephen Cho
2 months ago

Bulls Lacuba E45

andrew hunt
2 months ago

Once specialized or bulls come out with a speed pedelec hardtail I will buy it.I will have to wait till then.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Hey, that's a great idea XD

PixelLord
2 months ago

Man what a beautiful scenery..
If not a secret, where is it?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Um... I was taken there, not exactly sure on the location to be honest. It's an access road south of Redondo Beach in the Rancho Palos Verdes area

Denis Nhine
2 months ago

beautifull landscape !

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

I completely agree... and perfect weather that day!

Bob Wardrop
2 months ago

Where was this filmed?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Um... I was taken there, not exactly sure on the location to be honest. It's an access road south of Redondo Beach in the Rancho Palos Verdes area. Near Los Angeles, CA

Martian Megafauna
2 months ago

This may be a bit bike-nerdy, but you could have done this same test on my OHM sport, covering the same specs and characteristics, but there wasn't much that would allow me to differentiate between this eMTB and another eMTB as MTBs. Perhaps as there seem to be an increasing number of eMTB out there, and you will probably be reviewing them, it would be helpful if you could get a bit more in depth into the MTB qualities. Read some MTB magazines to see what I mean. I imagine that you won't want to spend the time getting familiar with all of the forks, shocks, brakes, suspension designs, etc., but getting a sense of how an eMTB does as an MTB would be really helpful for those interested in that. People not interested can skip those parts, or learn something new. And you would get to do some gnarly drops and jumps!! Thanks.

Martian Megafauna
2 months ago

A coincidence: your review of the Haibike SDURO AllMtn 6.0 was great, and covered a lot of good stuff.. Ride a bike that has been set-up for you.
You will have to ride more challenging terrain.
It seems most MTB reviews focus mainly on: climbing, descending, and suspension performance.
Climbing: does the front end get light or wander; traction; suspension bobbing vs lockout...
Descending: stability, composure, maneuverability, absorbing big hits
Suspension: amount and quality of travel; lockout or instead of; suppleness while braking
Also, how much do you notice the weight of the eMTB...
Those are some of the things that come to mind.
I hope others chime in...
Cheers, keep up the great work.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Great thought Martian, I appreciate the request and how you made it. My challenge to date has been limited time and varied testing environments. I'm definitely not as hard core as MTB, nor as educated on the subject as their writers, but I'm learning slowly. I try to review or "overview" as many as I can and enjoy getting out on trails like this when it works. What characteristics would you like to see/hear about in particular. Could you name a few things so I can zoom in on what they are vs. randomly searching magazines?

nature albums
2 months ago

I love this pity its not road legal for the UK and price wise makes it a no for me. Nice to see though great review.

nature albums
2 months ago

True but I think the US has more realistic limits on ebikes our ebikes cut out at 15mph! and max we can go is 250w

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Thanks! Yeah, even in the US there are some limits on where and how you can ride :)

CncObsession
2 months ago

Thank You! Finally a helmet cam. It made everything about the review so much better.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Thanks! The bad news is that I lost it somehow with all the traveling I've done lately... Seriously, how does that even happen?! Hopefully I'll find it, helped a family member move recently so perhaps I left it there?

Chris Till
2 months ago

I really like the rear shock design that makes it look more like a hardtail. Looks so stylish.

Ginny Newman
2 months ago

That kinda scared me watching you so close to the edge...but the bike looks great!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Thanks Ginny! I try to be safe but the helmet only goes so far right?! the cliff was steep enough to have a bad day but not so steep that you'd fall all the way down and die. I'll be more careful in the future ;)