BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Review

Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Electric Bike Review
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Brose Trail Tune Mid Drive Motor
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Integrated Removable Bmz Battery Pack
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Ergon Ga1 Locking Grips
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Rock Shox Pike Yari Rc Suspension Fork 150mm
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Rock Shox Monarch Plus Rt
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Diamond Frame Bottle Accessory Bosses
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Schwalbe Rocket Ron Tires
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Shimano M615 Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Shimano Deore Xt 22 Speed
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Electric Bike Review
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Brose Trail Tune Mid Drive Motor
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Integrated Removable Bmz Battery Pack
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Ergon Ga1 Locking Grips
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Rock Shox Pike Yari Rc Suspension Fork 150mm
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Rock Shox Monarch Plus Rt
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Diamond Frame Bottle Accessory Bosses
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Schwalbe Rocket Ron Tires
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Shimano M615 Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 3 27 5 Shimano Deore Xt 22 Speed

Summary

  • An all-mountain electric bike with beautifully integrated battery, motor and display... it blends in more than most other e-mountain bikes I've tested and runs quiet
  • Sturdy 15 mm thru axle in the front and 12 mm axle in the rear with Boost technology on the wheels (wider axles for better chain alignment and wheel strength)
  • RockShox air suspension in the front and rear with 150 mm travel Pike Yari fork, balanced 27.5" wheelset with tubeless ready Rocket Ron tires by Schwalbe
  • Smaller display shows less detail about your ride (no odometer, max speed etc.) and the motor doesn't offer shift sensing, battery port cover doesn't stick down easily and keyhole is near crank arms

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

BULLS

Model:

E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5

Price:

$4,699

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Mountain, Downhill

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Motor and Battery, 5 Years Frame

Availability:

Europe, Canada, United States, Australia, New Zealand

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

51.8 lbs (23.49 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.61 lbs (2.99 kg)

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminium

Frame Sizes:

16.14 in (40.99 cm)17.32 in (43.99 cm)19.29 in (48.99 cm)

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Gloss Grey and Neon Yellow Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rock Shox Pike Yari RC 27.5 Solo Air, 150 mm Travel, 15 mm Maxle with Quick Release and Boost

Frame Rear Details:

Rock Shox Monarch Plus RT, 120 mm Travel, Rebound Adjust, 12 mm Thru Axle with QR

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

22 Speed 2x11 Shimano Deore XT, 11-40T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore XT Triggers on Right

Cranks:

FSA Cranks, 38T / 28T

Pedals:

Wellgo Alloy Platform, Cage Style

Headset:

FSA Tapered 1 1/8"

Stem:

7° Angle, (70 mm, 80 mm)

Handlebar:

Low Rise, 720 mm, 25 mm Rise, 9° Bend

Brake Details:

Shimano M615 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Ice Tech Rotors, Shimano Levers

Grips:

Ergon GA1 EVO Locking, Flat

Saddle:

Selle Royal Seta M1

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

HC-30D 32 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge Front 13 Gauge Rear, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Rocket Ron, 27.5" x 2.25"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

Tubeless Ready, Folding, EVO Liteskin, Trail Star 3

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Velo Battery Protector Pad

Other:

IP56 Ingress Rating, Boost Adds 10 mm to Hub Length in Font and 6 mm in the Rear

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Brose, Trail Tune

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

530 watts

Motor Torque:

90 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

BMZ

Battery Voltage:

37 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

17.5 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

647.5 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Estimated Max Range:

130 miles (209 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Backlit Transflective LCD, BULLS CSI

Readouts:

Speed, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Level (None, Eco, Tour, Sport)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Cadence and Torque Sensing)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Bulls has delivered one of the most diverse electric mountain bike lineups to the US that I’ve seen to date. Their bikes come in multiple sizes, use the latest battery technology and feature premium components (in this case a Shimano Deore XT drivetrain with 22 speeds, Shimano M615 hydraulic disc brakes, Ergon locking grips and RockShox air suspension supporting burly thru-axles on both wheels, Boost technology that widens the hubs and Schwalbe tubeless ready tires). My focus as a reviewer goes from “is this bike capable” towards “how does this specific model fit in the lineup” given that they also have 29er models and speed pedelecs.

As a Class 1 ebike, you get a top speed of 20 mph and no throttle mode with the E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 but are thus allowed to use it on more trails. It’s an ebike that you have to pedal in order to activate and it relies on torque and cadence sensors to deliver smooth responsive power output. The bike doesn’t perform like some others I’ve tested where the motor is clearly on or off, this one feels more natural and is a lot quieter as shown in the video review above. With a nominal rating of 250 watts some may not be impressed at first but the peak out put of 530 delivers and I have never had an issue climbing, even the steepest trails, if I shifted down to lower climbing gears.

Powering the bike on can be a two step process if you haven’t ridden for a day, there’s a button on the top of the downtube that activates the battery and a second one on the display button pad. Once both are switched on you can choose from three power levels, offering increasing torque and speed… you can also click down to zero where the bike performs as a normal pedal-power bicycle would. At ~52 lbs this is not the worlds lightest electric bike but the battery capacity is enormous so you’re getting a lot of extra range in exchange. I found that the battery, motor and rear suspension weight was all kept as low and central as possible to maximize handling. My only grips are that the flap covering the charging port doesn’t stick down perfectly and might let some dust in over time and that the keyhole positions the key very near the left crank arm and could expose it to bending and breaking if left in.

With 27.5″ wheels and longer travel 150 mm suspension up front, I view this bike as an all-mountain model with the potential for enduro riding. Compared with the 29er models, these wheels are more agile and easier to turn. The tires are not super wide and thus, fit between ricks easier but might also sink into soft terrain and slip on angles easier. The tires are tubeless ready and feature Liteskin, meaning they have thinner sidewalls to reduce weight. One of the biggest benefits of this model compared with Bosch or Yamaha driven bikes is that the battery fits into the downtube and the motor is super quiet. This makes it much more invisible to fellow riders… and it makes hanging it on some car racks easier. If you’re looking to ride further and enjoy all types of terrain, not just flatter trails, then this would be an excellent choice. It does not have shift sensing so take care in how you ride and shift those gears, keep an eye on the key when messing with the battery (or just charge with it on the frame) and consider adding an independent cycle computer if you want more feedback. Also consider upgrading the pedals from the stock cages. Big thanks to Bulls for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • The battery and motor blend perfectly with the frame, from the side it almost doesn’t look like an electric bike at all and the motor runs very quietly so you can blend in
  • Because it uses both a torque and cadence sensor, the bike responds fluidly as you pedal, it’s a great approach for mountain bikes especially because you might be riding on unstable terrain or paths that require quick changes in power output
  • Despite having such an integrated battery design, you can still remove it easily for reduced weight, safer storage or charging separately and it just requires the key to do so… no extra tools
  • I like the minimalist display panel they chose, it’s transflective so you can see it clearly in bright sunlight and it’s super small so it stays out of the way while not taking up too much bar space or standing out
  • Bulls has chosen to use the EnergyBus charging port for the battery which uses magnets (like a MacBook) so if you trip over the cable it won’t bend the pins or tip the bike… it will just unplug
  • Many of the Bulls electric bikes come in multiple sizes and the E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 is no different, you get three frame sizes to choose from to maximize fit and performance for your body type
  • This bike would perform well on all-mountain terrain and possibly some nduro riding because it has a longer travel 150 mm suspension fork but mid-sized wheels with the popular 27.5″ diameter, it felt responsive but also forgiving to me
  • This is one of the very few electric mountain bikes I’ve seen with more than 11 speeds, the Brose drive system allows you to have two chainrings vs. one so in this case, the Shimano Deore XT drivetrain delivers 22 speeds which is more like traditional unpowered mountain bikes but also increases weight and complexity a bit
  • Solid 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano, they deliver smooth powerful stopping that’s important for actual mountain biking, this bike can handle difficult terrain
  • You get quick release on both wheels for faster, easier maintenance and convenient transport, both axles are thicker than normal with 15 mm in the front and 12 mm in the back
  • It’s an excellent climber because of the mid-drive motor design (shift to lower gears to help it climb) and you should get you 40+ miles even on difficult steep terrain because of the larger battery pack
  • Both wheels feature Boost which means the hub is wider or “longer” so the spokes don’t have to be so narrow, this improves strength and is useful for riding on bumpy terrain where big rocks or drops might come up, it also improves chain alignment
  • I love that you can mount a water bottle cage on the downtube here and that the triangle space is left wide open because it makes hanging from certain kinds of car racks possible
  • Most of the cables and wires are hidden, routed internally through the frame to reduce snags and stay out of the way while riding, this along with the nicer paint makes the bike look beautiful

Cons:

  • I feel like the battery port flap (on the downtube) doesn’t stick into the frame as well as it could, I had to mess with it to get it to stay put and if you don’t take that extra time it might be easier for dirt or mud to get in there
  • Be very careful with the keys when locking or unlocking the battery, the crank arms pass right by the keyhole and could bend the keys or get snagged if you leave them in, maybe future models will position this differently
  • I’m not a huge fan of the cage style pedals, they get bent more easily and don’t offer as much surface area as a platforms like this, you may consider clip-in pedals but given the heavier weight of ebikes I have noticed that I sometimes unclip accidentally when tossing the bike around
  • While the display is more stealth than a big screen, there aren’t as many readouts like max speed, trip distance or odometer and I don’t think Bulls has a smart phone app right now to let you dig in deeper and tune the bike, they went with simplicity here
  • All mid-drive e-bikes tend to put more stress on the chain and sprockets and this one doesn’t offer shift-sensing so it’s up to you to shift smoothly to avoid mashing
  • If you haven’t ridden the bike for a while the battery goes into sleep mode so you have to press power on the downtube and then again on the display panel, not a huge gripe but it’s an extra step and could make you wonder if the battery has gone dead or something if you forget and just go for the display
  • Considering that the bike has 22 speeds and some of the gears lay the chain very close to teh chain stay, you might want to add a neoprene slap guard because the bike just comes with a basic clear sticker which will likely get banged up over time
  • The weight of the battery, motor and even the rear suspension piston is kept as low as possible, it’s all very centered on the frame as well so you get maximum balance and handling

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More BULLS Reviews

BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An all-mountain electric bike with plus sized tires for improved stability, traction and comfort, 150 mm air suspension with compression and rebound adjust. Battery and motor mount design are tighter than older Bosch systems, weight is kept low…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high quality full suspension e-mountain bike that's also a speed pedelec (capable of 28 mph top speeds), solid hydraulic disc brakes, wide thru-axles with Boost Technology. Adjustable 150 mm RockShox suspension front and rear, four-bar rear swing arm to reduce brake…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 3 Carbon 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A Carbon fiber electric cross country mountain bike with premium components and ultra-integrated motor and battery system, excellent weight distribution. The Brose motor is quiet and responsive offering up to 90 Nm of torque output,…...

BULLS DAIL-E Grinder Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the first Gravel Grinder style electric bikes to make it to America! Made with premium components, high performance lights and a purpose built frame in three sizes. Capable of high speed 28 mph performance, the Bosch centerdrive motor measures bike speed, pedal…...

BULLS SIX50 E2 Street Review

  • MSRP: $3,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A fully equipped speed commuter capable of 28 mph operation, running on the proven Bosch Performance mid-drive motor and updated 500 watt hour Samsung battery. Extra large 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes offer smooth solid stops without requiring exorbitant hand…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A versatile urban electric bike well suited to commuting, touring and trekking because of its efficient mid-drive motor and larger than average battery capacity, durable internal gearing and belt drive. Available in five frame sizes and three frame styles including wave, mid-step and high-step diamond…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A stealthy full suspension all-mountain electric bike with longer travel 150 mm suspension, fully adjustable air fork by RockShox, color matched to frame. Larger 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack to assist with steeper climbs and longer…...

BULLS Monster E FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Full suspension fat bike with a high quality mid-drive motor from Bosch and their updated 500 watt hour battery pack for extended range. Cool fluorescent paint job that extends all the way through the fork, rear shock housing,…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Available in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step and mid-step) with an adjustable stem, active-comfort saddle and ergonomic grips, this bike can fit well and feel good at speed and over long distances. Capable of 28 mph top speeds, this is a Class 3 electric bike with an…...

BULLS SIX50 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A loaded full suspension mountain bike with premium electric drivetrain from Bosch offering 75 Nm of climbing torque with the CX motor and a 400 watt hour Samsung battery. RockShox air suspension with 120 mm travel front and rear for solid trail or all…...

BULLS Monster E S Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Premium hardtail electric fat bike with all the fixins, highlights include rear rack bosses, tubeless-ready tires and punched out rims, RockShox air fork with remote lockout and high torque Bosch CX motor. Quality 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano for excellent stopping power and modulation, impressive…...

BULLS Outlaw E45 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty looking, fairly comfortable speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speeds, it's running on an optimized geared hub motor design with heat pipe technology for maximum performance. Unique mid-mount battery box fills the main frame triangle keeping weight low and centered while…...

BULLS Sturmvogel E EVO Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautifully designed urban electric bike painted white for visibility and modern appeal, white walled tires, reflective sidewall stripes, LED lights. Extra sturdy and durable thanks to a 15 mm thru-axle on the front wheel (with…...

BULLS TWENTY9 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension, Bosch powered, cross country style electric bike with efficient 29" wheels, it's available in three sizes for good fit and would feel taller and larger for riders with long legs but still fits some shorter riders given the angled top tube. Quick release for both wheels ads convenience for fixes and transporting the bike, I love…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fully loaded urban electric bicycle with great accessories for commuting including an aluminum rear rack, full length fenders with mud flaps and integrated LED lights. Relatively light weight at under 50 lbs, this is due in part to the nicer…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS Enduro 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An enduro style full suspension electric mountain bike with longer 160 mm suspension travel, seat post dropper, 27.5" wheelset and premium hydraulic brakes. Downtube-integrated battery pack is out of sight and keeps weight low and centered across the…...


Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

RoadWrinkle
1 day ago

If your fitness level dictates a higher assist than the PAS systems offer, or if you need to have more control over how hard you peddle at any given time or condition, why take these choices away from the rider? Remember, you can't receive the benefits of any level of exercise of you don't want to get on the bike. I am a big and tall rider in fairly good shape but I weigh 280 lbs, so for me biking is only desirable with electrical assist at levels beyond what most PAS systems offer (test rode Bosch and Yamaha MTB's) Regardless, I want a good mid-drive MTB so I bought a BULLS E-stream FS 3 29 recently, the brose system is smoother but no more powerful than the others. This is a great MTB and fun, but I call it "workout bike".

RoadWrinkle
4 days ago

When deciding to buy a BULLS E-stream FS 3 29er it was clear, with no BULLS dealer in my state, I was going to have to buy the bike online. Without the benefit of a test ride or inspection of the exact bike, your in a position where you need to trust the dealer to do a number of things AFTER you send them thousands. I think I chose the right bike, but unfortunately the wrong dealer...live and learn.

After searching a dozen or so sources, found out most BULLS dealers do not stock most bikes on their website, but order them from the manufacturer after the consumer orders online (same with some other brands) . The dealer removes the bike from the box, does a partial assembly, inspection and tune before re-boxing for shipping to you. The whole process takes around three weeks from order to delivery if your bike is not in stock.

Motostrano in Redwood City, Ca. has a large selection of BULLS models advertised with 1-3 day shipping after your order (if it is in stock). Called them and spoke with 'Joe' to confirm they had the bike in stock and was told "it's here, but we need a few days to get it ready for shipping." My order came to $4189.00. After two weeks go by with nothing shipped contacted them again and was told "we just received the bike from BULLS and need to get it ready for shipping". I finally got the bike a few days ago. It arrived with two punctured tubes, a seat frame bent and twisted beyond use, derailleurs and brakes out of alignment, a shipping box with Styrofoam padding taped to the outside of the box where part of the box was missing, most of the manufacturers protective padding was not on the bike, but on the bottom of the box, like it was not re-boxed properly. Joe sent a pic of the bike on their stand "ready for shipping" that clearly shows a completely flat rear tire, with the shrink wrap actually folding the tire on the rim, but they shipped it like that regardless (see pic). While waiting for a new seat to arrive I had plenty of time to change out the tubes, re-tune the derailleurs and brakes on a brand new bike. Thanks Motostrano for an interesting buying experience.

Upside is, after swapping in an old seat, have put about 60 miles on it and can report it climbs easily and rewards peddling power with motor power very smoothly. The brose drive system feels like riding a non-electric bike with bionic legs. IOW, you know you are getting assist from the motor but it feels more like YOU are doing it as opposed to feeling propelled.

1/4
pxpaulx
6 days ago

After getting on on the first Radrovers from Rad Power Bikes almost 2 years ago, I broke my piggy bank and just bought this :
http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/e-stream-evo-2-27-5-plus-2/

I am very excited! Does anybody have the same bike or had a chance to try it ?

You're gong to love it, truly a new more natural riding experience. My radrover is up on Craigslist, haven't rode it in a year, just maintained the battery!

Ravi Kempaiah
6 days ago

After getting on on the first Radrovers from Rad Power Bikes almost 2 years ago, I broke my piggy bank and just bought this :
http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/e-stream-evo-2-27-5-plus-2/

I am very excited! Does anybody have the same bike or had a chance to try it ?

It's a very nice bike. My main gripe with the previous year model was that it did not have rack mounting points. So, I could not convert the 29er into a commuter. But, for 2017, they have solved that problem.
The bike looks great in person.

Check out this video:

Alphbetadog
6 days ago

I've got the similar E-Stream Enduro and absolutely love it. Bought it about 6 months after getting a Haibike Xduro FS RC. The Haibike has been relegated to a "buddy bike" since getting the Brose powered Bulls...

Ericmacfan
6 days ago

After getting on on the first Radrovers from Rad Power Bikes almost 2 years ago, I broke my piggy bank and just bought this :
http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/e-stream-evo-2-27-5-plus-2/

I am very excited! Does anybody have the same bike or had a chance to try it ?

James Kohls
7 days ago

What do you mean by off-road? Hard packed dirt trails? Mud? Grass? Something you can take out on the weekends to the mountain bike trails? Pretty much any bike can "go" off-road, but tires and suspension are going to be two of the biggest factors to how enjoyable it is. For commuting, do you need fenders? A rear rack? Most full suspension bikes are not good options for racks and fenders (at least full coverage fenders).

If you want good off-road performance, getting a mid-drive mountain bike and a 2nd wheelset to swap out from knobby to road tires may be a good choice. Otherwise, if you are not going to be aggressive in your off-road riding, switching from road tires to gravel tires on a bike with a decent front fork may be sufficient—possibly add a suspension seat post into the budget as well. You'd loose some efficiency, but gain versatility.

There are certainly stealthy mountain bikes that do 28MPH, like the Bulls E-STREAM EVO 45 FS or the more road/gravel oriented Specialized Turbo X. Otherwise, just get a commuter style speed pedalec and put some more aggressive tires on it.

Dunbar
1 week ago

If you are not sweating, then you are not getting a good workout. It takes about 15 minutes in a meaningful workout to consume the free glucose in your blood stream. After that is gone you will sweat as calories are extracted from other stores.

You're missing the point that e-bikes are faster for the same effort so you sweat less (or not at all.)

Thomas Jaszewski
1 week ago

Warning. I am listed as a dealer, but no longer sell, I only support, at no cost.
I love the stuff from this company. Leaders i the indicatory for more than a decade. Some really useful tools and fabulous kits as well. All top shelf. Wortth poking around and looking at their products and online tools. I REALLY like

TRIP ANALYZER
http://www.ebikes.ca/tools/trip-analyzer.html

"This web software tool is designed for post-trip analysis of any electric vehicle journey that has been logged with a Cycle Analyst. The Cycle Analyst does not itself log your trip data, so in order to have these stats you need to capture and save the data stream to a computer using a communications cable or a hardware saving device such as the Cycle Analogger."

Rincon
1 week ago

If you are not sweating, then you are not getting a good workout. It takes about 15 minutes in a meaningful workout to consume the free glucose in your blood stream. After that is gone you will sweat as calories are extracted from other stores.

I certainly ride my ebike much more, much further than my regular bike. However the bike I sweat more on, burn more calories on, and get a better workout with is my stationary bike in the virtual world of Zwift. I ride almost every day and it is a blast riding through the core of an active volcano with other riders from all over the world. It keeps me in shape, builds muscle in my legs, helped me lose weight, and has improved my cardio. The ebike is certainly exercise, but really it is just for fun—and it is a lot of fun. I took a 27 mile ride today through the oak covered hills of Santa Barbara, but never broke a sweat and had a great time.

Dual Rider
2 weeks ago

I'm getting close to buying an E-Stream EVO 45 and I'm wondering if you have any feedback on what size to get or what size you have and how you like it? I'm 5'11" with a 31" inseam in pants or a 33" inseam using the book all the way up to your crotch method to measure where the seat would be with no shoes on...

Thank you!

Rincon
2 weeks ago

Bulls E-STREAM EVO 45 FS, a full suspension speed pedelec built for trails and roads. But a rack would be a problem with most rear suspension bikes. I'm not sure how a rear rack would hang on to an active rear suspension. They are sort of mutually exclusive, but undoubtedly someone has figured it out...

Dual Rider
2 weeks ago

I'm finally now down to 2 bikes, the Bulls EVO 45 and the Bulls EVO FS3 Plus... I'm really (I mean REALLY and SERIOUSLY!) having a hard time making up my mind between these two bikes. I can't tell you how many hours I've spent trying to research them and just thinking about them... Unfortunately, I don't have the ability to ride both of them, so I'm hoping maybe you could share some thoughts. What I'm really curious about is aside from the obvious differences in cost, top speed (28 vs. 20 mph), tire width, lights, bell, kick stand, seat, brakes, etc., is there any difference in power between the two under 20 mph based on the 350 watt rating vs. the 250 watt rating on the Brose motor? Are there any other handling differences? Any other differences or thoughts would be most welcome. Finally, any thoughts on tire width other than the basics of the narrower tires would be better and more efficient for the road and the wider ones would be better for loose and steep stuff...??? Thank you in advance!

Camac
2 weeks ago

Have had my E-Stream EVO/FS 3 29 for about a month now and am loving it and still learning. One thing that I'm trying to find out more about is if there is a better controller. The controller on my bike only shows the speed and the power level I am using. I would like a more information on the power that I am using and more importantly, detail of how much power I have left. (I have a ride that has a large hill at the end and I want to know whether I have enough power at the end or do I have to get of and walk) A display of average speed, distance traveled, total distance etc would help. (yes I am a bit of a control freak) There are add-ons which capture a lot of that information but none are integrated with the bikes power system.

Does Bulls have any other power displays/controllers ??

pxpaulx
3 weeks ago

If you do get to a bulls dealer, make sure to ride a brose powered model along with the six 50 you've mentioned. Either one of the e stream evo mtbs or the lacuba evo 28th. You also get the huge 650wh battery with the brose models which is really nice and extremely well integrated imho!

RoadWrinkle
3 weeks ago

Getting ready to purchase, could not find any reviews of the bike, other than the German "Zebra Project" version. Theory here is obtaining the benefits of the 29er while letting the massive battery and engine torque take care of the extra energy required for the larger wheels. I wonder if EBR will review this model?

BTW: If you go to the Bulls international site for Germany, you will notice the bikes being sold there, across all model ranges, are just BETTER than the USA versions, plus most come with the Brose full display/controller. No fun trying to import one I am guessing (?)

1/1
Traveler7477
4 weeks ago

Thank you. My daughter and my dad are both telling me to get the E-stream. After you figure out the range can you let me know? I know every situation is different. Thanks again appreciate the info.

Traveler7477
4 weeks ago

Trying to do my homework and the Bulls monster e FS and the E-stream evo looks like the best way to go. Between those two Witch would be better? Keep in mind I'll be going from beach to mountain. City to country.

bob armani
4 weeks ago

Great stuff- Contacted Bulls who directed me to Small Planet in Longmont, Colorado. Small Planet rented me a
E-STREAM EVO FS 3 27.5 PLUS. After riding a one trail ride, I sold my Spec. Turbo Levo FSR (also an awesome bike) the next day and bought the Bulls. The Bulls just feels perfect (software?) and will go all day (Spec is a half-day bike).

One of my friends said the only problem with ebikes is - "you need two". I know what he means. He meant one for you and one for someone to ride along with you.

When will Bulls offer a full suspension mtn bike for my athletic wife's 5'2" body type? She'll need an xs frame with low standover and short length frame.

Edward-
Wow, sold a Levo for a Bulls, that is incredible and something to consider when trying to choose. I wish I could find a dealer nearby that would RENT these awesome bikes before pulling the trigger on a purchase. Good for you and enjoy your new bike!o_O

LimboJim
4 weeks ago

Great stuff- Contacted Bulls who directed me to Small Planet in Longmont, Colorado. Small Planet rented me a
E-STREAM EVO FS 3 27.5 PLUS. After riding a one trail ride, I sold my Spec. Turbo Levo FSR (also an awesome bike) the next day and bought the Bulls. The Bulls just feels perfect (software?) and will go all day (Spec is a half-day bike).
One of my friends said the only problem with ebikes is - "you need two". I know what he means. He meant one for you and one for someone to ride along with you.
When will Bulls offer a full suspension mtn bike for my athletic wife's 5'2" body type? She'll need an xs frame with low standover and short length frame.
I just got an FS 3 27.5+, too - it's reaffirming to know you prefer it to the Specialized with same motor. Seems like Brose allows mfrs some leeway in customizing the motor's tuning.
I own a couple others so friends can join me - someday they'll own their own, I'm sure... Hope you find the right eMTB for the wife!

Edward Kean
4 weeks ago

Nice to hear. I'm in the process of getting an ebike and torn between the Bulls E-stream fs3 and the Specialized Turbo Levo. I did demo the Levo HT and was very pleased. Couldn't get my hands on the Bulls FS3 but any feedback on comparisons would be appreciated.
Owned Spec Turbo Levo FSR since Jan and sold it the day after I test drove a Bulls FS 3 27.5+. The Spec is a half day bike, the Bulls a full day bike. Look at the battery specs. Also prefer the Bulls in many other ways- fit, travel, drivetrain, controller, wheels, geometry, keylock, bb height. So good!

Edward Kean
4 weeks ago

Hi Everyone! I'm Adam, a member of team BULLS eBIKES. I'm loving hearing everyone's feedback, experiences and questions. Even if it's negative, it helps us improve. Feel free to tag me and hit me up for any questions about the bikes and locations. If you have requests for new locations, let me know. We're always looking for great dealers to partner with and ultimately our job is to serve you together!

Thanks @Court for putting this review site and forum together. Keep up the great work!

Adam
Great stuff- Contacted Bulls who directed me to Small Planet in Longmont, Colorado. Small Planet rented me a
E-STREAM EVO FS 3 27.5 PLUS. After riding a one trail ride, I sold my Spec. Turbo Levo FSR (also an awesome bike) the next day and bought the Bulls. The Bulls just feels perfect (software?) and will go all day (Spec is a half-day bike).

One of my friends said the only problem with ebikes is - "you need two". I know what he means. He meant one for you and one for someone to ride along with you.

When will Bulls offer a full suspension mtn bike for my athletic wife's 5'2" body type? She'll need an xs frame with low standover and short length frame.

Devon
4 weeks ago

I'm about 5'2" and 95lbs, skinny and in fair shape, but by no means am I athletic. Furthermore, I have about a 60 deg scoliosis in my lower back (hence the desire for a full suspension), a restricted airway that severely limits my breathing abilities, and live in a city with a lot of hills (reason for wanting an ebike).

That said, riding a normal bike around here is literally impossible as I'd be out of breath long before getting up a single hill - and without going into detail, just know that my breathing isn't something that will improve over time. So, given the option of a Specialized Turbo Levo FSR 6Fattie or BULLS E-STREAM EVO 45 FS, any suggestions as to which I should go with?

The Specialized bike has a nice mobile app and IS available locally from a bike shop, but is only 20mph top speed with a 250w custom motor.

Whereas the BULLS bike DOES NOT have a mobile app (has a small screen/controller) and IS NOT available locally (so servicing it would cost extra) but has a 350W Brose motor with 90Nm of torque and assists up to 28mph.

Which would you choose if in my position and why? Which would be better at climbing a hill (mainly concerned about paved roads, not planning to off-road)?

drumm1n
1 month ago

Has anyone tried using the mini USB charging port on the Bulls controller to connect an iPhone? What type of cable have you used? I tried an Android OTG (On The Go) cable connected to a regular lightning cable and it didn't work. I have not been able to find a mini USB to lightning cable of any length available in Canada. If anyone has a source, please provide a link!

BTW, this is for a Bulls E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus which I got a month a go. Will be providing a full review after a little more saddle time. Spoiler Alert: I haven't stopped grinning since I got it!

Marc Gonsalves
5 months ago

Court I love your channel. Great review! I'm very interested in this bike, I like the simplicity of it and the fact that it doesn't scream "E-bike". I do wish it had an odometer though. Maybe I'm nitpicking but I like knowing how many miles are on the bike. Can anyone recommend a good bike computer with odometer distance?

Marc Gonsalves
5 months ago

Crazy Lenny's Ebikes I looked hard at the Garmins, specifically the edge 25 and 520, but it looks like those don't store odometer distance on the device, I guess it's on your home computer after you transfer your rides. I'm looking at the Lezyne computers now.

Crazy Lenny's Ebikes
5 months ago

Garmin makes very nice GPS systems along with cadence and speed sensors. You could also use it as an odometer.

chgofirefighter
6 months ago

Why do they make these bike with such a weak motor? 250 watts? Many Ebikes are now 500 watts some actually have more. Also, the bike is limited to only 20 mph but in terrain you wouldn't want to go any faster I suppose for safety. I love the pedalec systems myself 28 mph, good efficient motors. They should make an all purpose bike for commuting with a good motor, 500 watt, electronic display, and 28 mph now that would be a great bike

Crazy Lenny's Ebikes
5 months ago

Robert,
You would enjoy this bike. We have it at the store. Stop by and take it for a spin.

Propel Electric Bikes
6 months ago

I agree with the other posters below. It's especially important to look at torque values. Just because your burning energy (ie Watts) does not mean your producing power. Yamaha produces a motor that you're speaking of, but I prefer the Bosch system personally. - Chris

Fer Enda
6 months ago

Mid-drive systems are much more torquier than rear-hub's. Having said that, a 250W mid-drive will smoke a 500W rear-hub going uphill. Also, a 250W mid-drive is more efficient and thus will give you a much greater range compared to any 500W motor. I see your point, but I think 250W mid-drive is the sweet spot.

jc hg
6 months ago

Awsome, very nice. I've got the plus version and it is incredible. Very good review as always.

Mathieu Bouvier
6 months ago

agreed, this channel BADLY need drone footage, lets get the DJI Mavric to work

ol1bit
6 months ago

Dang, Nice review! My 2014 evo-650b is feeling old, so goes great, no issues over 1000 miles, but off road i'd like more torque.

Mark Woods
6 months ago

Another great review, thanks. I wish someonw would make a full suspension street/trail bike.

Propel Electric Bikes
5 months ago

Yeah. That Delite is the stuff dream are made of ;) I feel very fortunate I will get to enjoy our demo bike. But if I had to pick a bike to own it would be very high on my list.

Mark Woods
5 months ago

The Riese-Muller with the belt drive dual battery with full suspension is now my dream bike. A little out of my price range for now but maybe in a year....

Propel Electric Bikes
6 months ago

I think we are starting to see more and more. I listed some bikes below you should check out the below bikes:

http://propelbikes.com/product/moustache-starckbike-asphalt/
http://propelbikes.com/product/riese-muller-delite/

Adam Samadi
6 months ago

chgofirefighter I live in London and we have the worst roads to commute put holes every where and mainly all hills

chgofirefighter
6 months ago

YEAH me too! I purchased the Stromer ST2 and I have encountered nothing but issues ever since my purchase. Chicago's streets are not like the streets in Europe, better paved, etc. The Stromer brand needs to be adjusted for the American market, our major cities don't have the best communiting streets. They need to add suspension etc. But I love its 500 watt motor and performance. No other bike performs like the Stromer but things are improving w other manufacturers

FRANK ROBY
6 months ago

top Quality Bulls bike nice 150 travel comfy.

Fat Bike Freak
6 months ago

Rockshox and Sram came up with boost spacing...not Trek...

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

I've been reading more about it here, looks like Trek was one of the first companies to use it but they do mention SRAM http://enduro-mtb.com/en/tech-talk-whats-the-boost-standard-all-about/

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Really? Perhaps I got some misinformation, appreciate the tip. I was just learning about it on the Bulls bikes and filmed them all at once so you may here mea say it incorrectly a few more times

Surfdocsteve
6 months ago

Where were you riding? Is it a legal trail? How does the bike compare to the Haibike with the Yamaha motor?

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Yeah, this was a dirt road with some trails snaking around it somewhere south of LA. I went there with the team from Bulls and don't know the exact name. I prefer the Brose to the Yamaha motor.

El Cangrejo
6 months ago

No way I am taking a 50lb bike off road. E bikes belong in the city.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Well, I've taken 100+ lb dirt bikes off-road and had a blast, even jumped them :D have you seen this video with Travis Pastrana? One of my favorites: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bQa3mnXawF0 watch around 22 seconds and beyond in the fields... incredible

John Moura
6 months ago

Cool bike - - Great review and scenery!

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Thanks John! Glad you enjoyed the scenery, this was such a beautiful day... awesome spot to ride with all the views to the ocean :D

durianrider
6 months ago

Love it.

Mark Hepple
5 months ago

Start doing more ebike reviews durianrider Keen to see if bikes similar to this are available in Adelaide aus.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Me too, this is a winner for sure :D

Bart Beek
6 months ago

Buy an auto-following drone for better footage whilst cycling!

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Yeah, I'm looking at the new DJI Mavic Pro and saving up... also trying to balance describing bikes and testing with entertainment. It takes a lot longer to do drone shots and to pack and care for a drone vs. the handhelds. I appreciate the tip and actually used a drone a few days ago for an upcoming bike ;)

Fat Bike Freak
6 months ago

I don't think he wants to die through submersion in and inhalation of water.

Music Keeps Alive
6 months ago

I wish you're having a good day because I haven't

Music Keeps Alive
6 months ago

;-)

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Aww, that's a bummer... Not every day is good, sometimes I'm filming these reviews and being happy on camera but having some challenges to work through. It's okay to have tough times, in a way they balance out the good times and help guide you towards better ways to spend time and better people to surround yourself with :D

Rastafari Jah
6 months ago

Please start putting price in your Video Description . Thanks

Rastafari Jah
6 months ago

+Simon Colby Just saying I wish he would put the Price in the written description of each Video . Maybe some Specs as well .

Simon Colby
6 months ago

He did at the very end of the video.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

I hear ya, it's in the description back at the site, I like to this at the top of the description and this allows me to update the price in just one place as it changes. Also, back at the site you can use the advanced search to filter and sort by price, bike type, size, etc. :)

Steve Petttyjohn
6 months ago

Great review as usual! However, I would have liked to see how the battery is removed. Is it as easy as the Bosch or Yamaha to remove?

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Great point Steve! We got out to the trail and they hadn't brought all of the chargers or keys so I wasn't able to show it... I find that it's very easy to remove but you want to avoid accidentally dropping it as you unlock then tilt it to come out. Compared with Yamaha or Bosch I'd say it's slightly trickier but looks way better.

Carlospicywiener
6 months ago

beautiful bike but why not a 1000-1500w version (for off road only mode)surely the internal gears/driveline could handle it?

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

They limit it for legal purposes, different markets have different limits and I think this helps with liability for the bigger companies with more to lose. Some kits offer more power but you could be putting yourself on the line if an accident happens. In California this qualifies as Class 1 to be allowed on more trails and is legal in the US as it has under 750 watt motor.

Adam Samadi
6 months ago

I love ur channel bro

mathuesek
5 months ago

by any chance could you review the M2S All-Go,its also quite stealthy.

Adam Samadi
6 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com do you have one personal electric bike ? what is it?

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Thanks! I work really hard to make it good and help people discover the perfect bike for their budget and needs... and to really see it up close ;)

Benjamin Jehne
6 months ago

...This bike looks so stealthy. Very cool...

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

I completely agree... it's an awesome bike all around but the blending in is one of my favorite parts ;)