BULLS DAIL-E Grinder Review

Bulls Dail E Grinder Electric Bike Review
Bulls Dail E Grinder
Bulls Dail E Grinder Bosch Performance Line Speed Motor 22t Chainring
Bulls Dail E Grinder Bosch Powerpack 500 Battery 36 Volts
Bulls Dail E Grinder Bosch Intuvia Display Panel Drop Bars Mount
Bulls Dail E Grinder Supernova M99 Pure Headlight
Bulls Dail E Grinder Rock Shox Paragon Suspension Fork 65 Mm Travel
Bulls Dail E Grinder Standwell Sw Ca477 Pannier Rack Sks Fenders
Bulls Dail E Grinder Electronic Shimano Di2 Ultegra 11 Speed
Bulls Dail E Grinder Pletscher E5ge Kickstand
Bulls Dail E Grinder Electric Bike Review
Bulls Dail E Grinder
Bulls Dail E Grinder Bosch Performance Line Speed Motor 22t Chainring
Bulls Dail E Grinder Bosch Powerpack 500 Battery 36 Volts
Bulls Dail E Grinder Bosch Intuvia Display Panel Drop Bars Mount
Bulls Dail E Grinder Supernova M99 Pure Headlight
Bulls Dail E Grinder Rock Shox Paragon Suspension Fork 65 Mm Travel
Bulls Dail E Grinder Standwell Sw Ca477 Pannier Rack Sks Fenders
Bulls Dail E Grinder Electronic Shimano Di2 Ultegra 11 Speed
Bulls Dail E Grinder Pletscher E5ge Kickstand


  • One of the first Gravel Grinder style electric bikes to make it to America! Made with premium components, high performance lights and a purpose built frame in three sizes
  • Capable of high speed 28 mph performance, the Bosch centerdrive motor measures bike speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque 1,000 per second, super responsive for any terrain
  • Larger 500 watt battery gets you further, hydraulic disc brakes stay clean off-road and the levers trigger rear light bright-mode activation on pull, 11 speed drivetrain with electronic shifting
  • You pay more for all the goodies and this bike is not very light considering the suspension fork, fenders and minimalist pannier rack, only comes in high-step, buttons on the control pad require you to change hand position on the left away from braking access

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





DAIL-E Grinder



Body Position:

Forward Aggressive

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Years Motor and Battery, 5 Years Frame


Europe, Canada, United States, Australia, New Zealand

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

49 lbs (22.22 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.73 lbs (2.59 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminium

Frame Sizes:

19.9 in (50.54 cm)20.47 in (51.99 cm)22.05 in (56 cm)

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Gray and Blue Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rock Shox Paragon, 65 mm Travel, Lockout, 9 mm QR Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

11 Speed 1x11 Shimano Di2 Ultegra, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

Shimano XT Di2 Paddles on Right


SR Suntour Cranks, 22T Chainring


Wellgo C-128DU Alloy Platform, Cage STyle


Tapered 1 1/8" Sealed


6061 Alloy, 7° Rise (90 mm, 100 mm, 110 mm)


6066 Alloy Satori X-Race, 460 mm Length, 130 mm Drop, 86 mm Reach

Brake Details:

Shimano Deore XT Hydraulic with 160 mm Rotors, Shimano Deore Di2 Levers


Velo EVA Tape


Selle Royal 2059DRN

Seat Post:

Duroflex Carbon Fiber with Shim

Seat Post Length:

380mm mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm


RYDE HC-26S Sleeved, 32H


Sapim Delight, Stainless Steel, 14G

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Marathon Supreme HD, 28" x 2"

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall, Marathon Supreme HD Folding, 35-65 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve


SKS Plastic Fenders, Standwell SW-CA477 Pannier Rack, Pletscher E5GE Adjustable Length Kickstand, Supernova M99-E12 5 LED Tail Light (Brights with Braking), Supernova M99 Pure+ 900 Lumens (280 Meter Distance), Comus 10A Flick Bell


Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.7 lb 4 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line Speed, Gen 2

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

482.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Estimated Max Range:

130 miles (209 km)

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD


Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 210%, Turbo 300%)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

Before I begin this review I have just one question… shouldn’t this ebike really be called the “daily grinder” and why in the heck won’t it grind my coffee (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻ I need that stuff before I can even think about getting onto my ebike and riding nearly 30 miles per hour… Bulls why! Okay, admittedly, I had no idea what a Gravel Grinder bicycle was before and during this video review which is embarrassing but I’ve studied a bit since then and come away very excited and impressed. The bike looks like a road bike but can handle gravel and light trails… to keep it stable in soft terrain you’ll want to “grind” and pedal fast in a higher gear vs. dropping way down as you might otherwise. Pedal hard and keep from stopping or you’ll lose traction with the slick but wide tires. This concept speaks to my sporty road bike side but delivers the strength, traction and comfort required for some off-road conditions. Big thanks to People For Bikes and the others who have done little articles like this helping people like me get up to speed.

The rest of this review is mostly my take on the electronics and design of the bike rather than an expert gravel grinder perspective. Unfortunately, I didn’t even test in on gravelish environments, just a yuppy neighborhood in SoCal, but it did have some really steep hills. With this electric bike, we’re dealing with a veteran European brand, Bulls, and on of the leading most electric drive systems producers, Bosch. The bike performs at higher than average speeds up to 28 mph and goes further than most models thanks to a high watt-hour battery pack and a wide 11 gear range (that’s a lot for mid-drive ebikes). You get excellent frame balance because the motor and battery are mounted low, added utility with plastic fenders, a minimalist pannier rack and some amazing super bright and super tuff lights. The suspension fork and wider tires (at least by road bike standards) are what separate this from a pure road-style electric bike… But notice the drop bars which allow for multiple aggressive body positions. Then compare the frame length, height, strength and weight with bikes like the Haibike XDURO Race. The Dail-E Grinder is truly unique and awesome, at least for now! It’s the first of its kind that I have seen in the United States and it’s available in three sizes with a spectacular two year comprehensive warranty… So as long as you can stomach or justify the $5,800 price tag, you’ll be getting an awesome ride. And perhaps you can justify it, the idea being that with this bike there are not compromises, it can sort of do it all :)

Driving this bike is a 350 watt nominally rated centerdrive from Bosch. It’s mounted at an angle in order to maximize ground clearance and meld with the frame. Same thing goes for the battery pack which is partially surrounded by the downtube towards the base. Both systems are black, matching the frame and accessories, and as mentioned prior, they keep weight low and centered for optimal handling, easier mounting and extra space near the top tube for lifting and carrying the bike. Weighing in at just under 50 lbs, this is not the lightest bike I’ve reviewed, not even close, but it’s designed to be tough and the larger tires, suspension fork and all-Aluminum frame allow it to handle more rigorous terrain. For its part, the motor performs spectacularly peaking out around 60 Newton meters and detecting your gear shifting behavior to ease off and spare the chain and sprockets. It’s one of the smartest, most trusted motors around and the speed is unlocked to go a bit faster making the bike a Class 3 speed pedelec. Unlike many of the Bosch driven bikes I test, this one has a larger sprocket with 22 teeth. That’s designed for riding faster whereas most of the Bosch mountain bikes I test have something like 15 teeth. The sprocket spins about 2x your pedal cadence so keep that in mind. The Bosch motor is geared and does produce some audible whining noises when operating at high power and high RPM but it’s super responsive and extremely durable. Just what you’d want for lots of daily riding around the city and the occasional grind across trails.

Powering the Dail-E Grinder is the new 500 watt Bosch Powerpack. It’s the exact same size as the older Powerpack 400 (and even backwards compatible with it) but weighs just slightly more at ~5.73 lbs vs. ~5.5 lbs. It mounts to the frame securely with a metal locking core and metal clip hardware but is easy to remove for separate storage or charging. I tend to leave my batteries on my ebikes so I don’t accidentally drop them and that’s fine here as the pack can be charged while attached. The Charger is pretty speedy putting out 4 Amps and only weighs ~1.7 lbs so you could toss it into a pannier or backpack. I like that the battery has a little LED indicator on the side so you can always approximate how full it is. Note that it only has five dots, just like the display panel, so you’ve got 20% increments to go by. In short, the battery does everything it should but leans towards accessible and convenient verses stealthy and hidden. As you might have noticed, Bulls makes some electric bikes with the Brose motor system and those bikes have completely integrated batteries. If you’re not into the questions and attention that a “different” looking bike can provoke, this is still a decent setup but not perfect. I love that the wires are all integrated and internally routed through the frame and again, that it all matches in black but it does stand out a bit.

Operating the bike is very simple once the battery is charged and mounted properly. Just press the power button on the Bosch Intuvia display panel. In just a few seconds you’ll see the battery level, speed, level of assist and some other ride stats below. This thing is large, bright (being backlit) and easy to use. Because the bars here are drop style vs. flat the button pad is mounted a bit differently than most. It’s just to the left of the display and can only really be used when your hands are not in the hoods or drops and that means you won’t have them near the brakes. Unlike some road bikes, there are only hood brakes here so be careful when interacting. I usually select one of the lower levels of assist and leave it there, opting for a decent workout and extended range vs. power but if you’re approaching a hill or dynamic off-road conditions plan to click up into Sport or Turbo mode a bit early. Thankfully, with tactile clicking sounds and feeling along with the large display you’ll be doing it almost thoughtlessly with some practice. There’s also an “i” button that’s duplicated on the control pad and display which cycles through trip stats and range. I like range because it’s much more useful than the five bar battery info graphic. It calculates an estimate based on your last five miles, level of assist and remaining battery capacity. This could be very useful for longer rides where getting all 50 lbs of bike back home on time means pedaling and all of your friends have lighter non-electric bikes. Just one scenario but it’s something I’ve encountered on distance rides before. I almost always go electric being a weekend warrior sort and having some knee sensitivity. It’s a blast but I find that especially with the older smaller batteries I’d have to be thoughtful or pay later ;)

There’s still a lot to say about this bike… I like that they upgraded the light to an enormous, 900 Lumen Supernova M99 Pure+. This bike has been available in Europe for over a year but had the smaller circular light. Considering you could be in the city where being seen is important then jumping to trails where seeing terrain is important (especially at 28 mph!) this light makes sense. I’ve only ever seen one similar to it on the $10k Stromer ST2 S before and it’s a head turner. You also get a smaller 5 LED Supernova tail light that goes bright when the brakes are activated. The tires have reflective sidewalls for safety and the plastic fenders keep you dry and focused on what’s to come. For me, the suspension fork is a huge deal because my back and neck get stiff on longer rides when bent forward and especially at speed. For those who want to swap it out for something lighter, maybe a carbon Lauf fork? go ahead… but it does lock out and provides the kind of strength you’d want for actual off-road terrain. I like the rear mounted kickstand, it’s a Pletscher with adjustable length, and the hydraulic disc brakes are perfect. They stay much cleaner in the dirt and are easy to actuate… and powerful. The drivetrain is really state of the art with electronic shifting, you don’t have to worry about going out of tune as wires break in and it’s super fast. I think the only area I’d consider altering this bike is with the carbon fiber seat post, consider swapping for a 31.6 mm suspension post if you plan on riding off-road a lot. The carbon fiber already dampens vibration and is light but just isn’t going to save you the way that some of these other options would. A suspension seat post would pair nicely with the suspension fork and larger tires to take the edge off, especially if you lower the PSI a touch (though it will effect range). If you want to stay super light but crave comfort then check out BodyFloat which has a light weight carbon fiber model. Big thanks to Bulls for partnering with me for this review.


  • One of the only Gravel Grinder electric bikes I’ve seen in the United States, it’s a novel concept and Bulls has done a great job with the purpose built frame and top notch components and drive system from Bosch
  • Extremely well balanced with the motor and battery pack low and center to the frame, electrical and brake wires are all internally routed
  • The battery pack and display are both easy to remove for safe storage and independent charging, perfect for city riding if you use this for commuting and bring a pannier on the rack, the charger is light and compact enough to come along too
  • All black color scheme works great with the black battery pack and I love how they angled the motor and sort of blended it with the frame, this raises ground clearance and just blends in
  • Premium lights front and rear from Supernova, both are sturdy, bright and kept out of the way if you have panniers or are wearing gloves or a long jacket (they won’t be obstructed)
  • I think it’s wonderful that in addition to integrated lights, the tires have reflective sidewall stripes to increase your visual footprint, the Schwalbe Marathon Supreme model is top of the line and is capable of lower PSI for improved traction and comfort off-road
  • Ready for any conditions thanks to full length plastic fenders from SKS, I also appreciate the little chainring guard which will keep pants clean and snag-free while keeping the chain from bouncing off
  • Hydraulic disc brakes perform as expected and are a great addition to an off-road capable bike like this, they will stay cleaner than rim brakes
  • Both wheels offer quick release for fast and easy trail fixes, I also like how portable it makes the bike… if you remove them along with the battery the weight drops and could make it easier to carry with other bicycles on a car rack (where weight can sometimes be an issue)
  • Love that the display panel is removable for protection, that it can angle to reduce glare while mounted and that it offers micro USB charging on the upper right corner to keep your phone or other electronics (Garmin perhaps?) maxed out
  • Bulls managed to squeeze in bottle cage bosses on the seat tube! THANK YOU! consider a saddle rail adapter for more hydration or if you use the tube mount for a mini-pump and folding lock etc.
  • If you want a sturdier rear rack, maybe to use a trunk bag in addition to panniers, the frame has seat tube bosses so you could add one!
  • Awesome bell mount on the left side of the stem, easy to access if you’re left hand is already working with the control panel for the drive system
  • Very nice Aluminum skid plate protecting the underside of the motor from any sort of contact you might make with trail obstacles or curbs
  • During this ride test I hit 42 miles per hour (coasting down a large hill) and the bike felt stable and stopped pretty well, note most electric bikes allow riders to go beyond their maximum assisted speed, they just won’t help you do it


  • They did the best they could with the remote button pad (where you select the level of assist and interact with the display) but it’s very near the stem and means you can’t brake with the left hand while pressing
  • You pay more for the name brand components and custom build here but at least it comes in several sizes… I’m sure electronic shifting added to the price and for me I’m not sure that was necessary for the bike?
  • Being all-Aluminum and having that suspension fork and larger tires means you end up with a heavier bike, much heavier than the other road-only models I’ve tried, taking the battery off helps and the frame is wide open and balanced so it’s easy enough to lift
  • I like the quick release wheels but if you take the front off the fender will still be there so you can’t turn it sideways as much to lay flat in your trunk
  • Minor grip here but I think the name is kind of lame and confusing, it’s a play on the whole E-Bike thing and I get it but still don’t love it! How about Daily Grinder Pro or something?
  • This might be the case with all Gravel Grinder bikes but the pedals come closer to the ground (like a road bike) but you may be riding off road and have a tendency to scrape the pedals on the downstroke, the demo bike I tried had a really banged up pedal
  • I was a little surprised that the brake rotors were just 160 mm while some of the other Bulls speed pedelecs, that cost less, had up to 203 mm rotors to help dissipate heat better
  • Not really a con here but the left shifter mechanism is built in and non-functioning since this only has a rear derailleur, could be confusing to someone new with the bike or if you just forget after not riding for a while, also probably adds a bit to the cost vs. a standard brake lever
  • It seems like the battery for the electronic shifter is mounted inside the downtube so I’m not sure how that would work when swapping out the seat post and also, it would be nice if it didn’t have to use a separate battery, why not run off the main Bosch pack and keep it simple if possible


More BULLS Reviews

BULLS Cross Mover Speed Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A sporty speed pedelec with beautiful motor, battery, and able integration, the grey and black color scheme help the drive systems blend in, three frame styles to choose from (wave, step-thru, diamond). Bosch Performance Line Speed motor offers ~28 mph support, shift detection, and 120 RPM pedal…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO AM 4 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A high-end, full suspension, electric mountain bike, with the high-torque Brose S mid-motor, and a high-capacity 37 volt 17.5 amp hour Lithium-ion battery, excellent weight distribution with hidden drive systems. Rugged all-mountain performance with 150 mm RockShox air suspension front and rear, 15 mm and…...

BULLS Urban EVO Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

One of the stealthiest 28 mph urban electric bikes I have seen, the Bosch Powertube battery pack is completely hidden inside the downtube and the compact black motor casing blends perfectly with the matte black paint job. The mid-motor is angled up to blend into downtube visually, increase ground clearance, and shorten…...


  • MSRP: $7,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A top-end all mountain electric bike with 150 mm suspension from Fox, Shimano Deore XTR 11-speed drivetrain, Bosch CX high-torque motor, and Magura MT Trail hydraulic disc brakes. Wider Boost hub spacing offers a strong bracing angle for the spokes and room for…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E45S Review

  • MSRP: $3,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A high-speed 28 mph commuter style electric bike that comes in four frame sizes and three styles (high-step, mid-step, and step-thru), it offers excellent weight distribution (motor and battery are positioned low and center). Beautiful aesthetic with hidden wires, an internally mounted battery, and a smaller motor casing, the…...

BULLS E-Core Di2 FS 27.5+ Review

  • MSRP: $5,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A full suspension electric trail or enduro mountain bike with 150 mm travel, large 2.8" plus sized tires, and Boost hub spacing for strength, made in three frame sizes. All-black frame, fork, and anodized RockShox stanchions makes for a mean look, Shimano STePs E8000…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

One of the most popular models in the Bulls ebike lineup, it comes in four frame sizes and three styles (high-step diamond, mid-step, and step-thru wave), motor and battery weight are low and center. Extremely stealthy, the drive system and battery are almost completely hidden on this frame and…...

BULLS Monster E FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

Top of the line, full suspension, fat tire electric trail bike with RockShock Bluto and Monarch air, remote lockout for the fork, 11-speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain with Shadow Plus clutch, robust skid plate and alloy drivetrain guides. High-torque Bosch Performance Line CX motor with eMTB drive mode, sand and snow capable if…...


  • MSRP: $5,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An all-mountain style electric bike with longer travel 150 mm air suspension from RockShox, an internalized downtube battery from Bosch, and three frame size options. Fatter 2.8" plus sized tires provide increased traction, reduced deflection, and improved comfort while remaining…...

BULLS Cruiser E Review

  • MSRP: $3,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A feature-complete cruiser style electric bicycle with paint-matched fork, fenders, rear rack, chain cover, and motor casing, available in three frame sizes with adjustable stem for good fit. Large sprung saddle, puffy stitched grips, swept back handlebars, and the deep step-thru frame make…...

BULLS Aminga TR 1 Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A full suspension, cross country style, electric mountain bike made just for the ladies with shorter reach, available in two smaller size options, features a turquoise fuchsia colorway. Sturdy Suntour XCR 34 air suspension fork with remote lockout for easy transitions from rough…...


  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A tough, sporty looking, high-quality, kids electric bike that can reach ~15.5 mph with four levels of pedal assist, smaller wheels keep the frame low and approachable. Premium accessories including tires from Schwalbe, a Shimano Altus 8-speed drivetrain, and Tektro hydraulic disc…...

BULLS Cross E Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Well priced considering the quality Bosch-made electric drive system, four frame size choices, and three frame styles (high, mid, and low-step). Integrated LED lights and premium Continental tires with reflective sidewall stripes help to keep you…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 2 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

One of the cleanest looking full suspension cross country electric bikes I've reviewed, the battery and motor are built into the frame and match the matte black paint perfectly. Extra large battery capacity for longer rides, EnergyBus magnetic charging standard works on or off…...

BULLS SIX50 E 1.5 Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A hardtail trail ready e-bike with comfortable plus sized tires and a spring suspension fork (with lockout), sturdy tapered head tube, rigid thru-axles, and Boost. Capable as a commuting platform if you prefer a mountain bike vs. hybrid or city…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

An active, sporty looking, commuter style electric bike with low standover height, available in three frame sizes to improve fit and comfort. High-end drivetrain and motor systems, you get eleven gears with a tough mountain bike level…...

BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

An all-mountain electric bike with plus sized tires for improved stability, traction and comfort, 150 mm air suspension with compression and rebound adjust. Battery and motor mount design are tighter than older Bosch systems, weight is kept low…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A high quality full suspension e-mountain bike that's also a speed pedelec (capable of 28 mph top speeds), solid hydraulic disc brakes, wide thru-axles with Boost Technology. Adjustable 150 mm RockShox suspension front and rear, four-bar rear swing arm to reduce brake…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 3 Carbon 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A Carbon fiber electric cross country mountain bike with premium components and ultra-integrated motor and battery system, excellent weight distribution. The Brose motor is quiet and responsive offering up to 90 Nm of torque output,…...

BULLS SIX50 E2 Street Review

  • MSRP: $3,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A fully equipped speed commuter capable of 28 mph operation, running on the proven Bosch Performance mid-drive motor and updated 500 watt hour Samsung battery. Extra large 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes offer smooth solid stops without requiring exorbitant hand…...

2017 BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A versatile urban electric bike well suited to commuting, touring and trekking because of its efficient mid-drive motor and larger than average battery capacity, durable internal gearing and belt drive. Available in five frame sizes and three frame styles including wave, mid-step and high-step diamond…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A stealthy full suspension all-mountain electric bike with longer travel 150 mm suspension, fully adjustable air fork by RockShox, color matched to frame. Larger 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack to assist with steeper climbs and longer…...

2017 BULLS Monster E FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Full suspension fat bike with a high quality mid-drive motor from Bosch and their updated 500 watt hour battery pack for extended range. Cool fluorescent paint job that extends all the way through the fork, rear shock housing,…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

Available in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step and mid-step) with an adjustable stem, active-comfort saddle and ergonomic grips, this bike can fit well and feel good at speed and over long distances. Capable of 28 mph top speeds, this is a Class 3 electric bike with an…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all-mountain electric bike with beautifully integrated battery, motor and display... it blends in more than most other e-mountain bikes I've tested and runs quiet. Sturdy 15 mm thru axle in the front and 12 mm axle in the rear…...


  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A loaded full suspension mountain bike with premium electric drivetrain from Bosch offering 75 Nm of climbing torque with the CX motor and a 400 watt hour Samsung battery. RockShox air suspension with 120 mm travel front and rear for solid trail or all…...

BULLS Monster E S Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

Premium hardtail electric fat bike with all the fixins, highlights include rear rack bosses, tubeless-ready tires and punched out rims, RockShox air fork with remote lockout and high torque Bosch CX motor. Quality 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano for excellent stopping power and modulation, impressive…...

BULLS Outlaw E45 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty looking, fairly comfortable speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speeds, it's running on an optimized geared hub motor design with heat pipe technology for maximum performance. Unique mid-mount battery box fills the main frame triangle keeping weight low and centered while…...

BULLS Sturmvogel E EVO Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautifully designed urban electric bike painted white for visibility and modern appeal, white walled tires, reflective sidewall stripes, LED lights. Extra sturdy and durable thanks to a 15 mm thru-axle on the front wheel (with…...


  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension, Bosch powered, cross country style electric bike with efficient 29" wheels, it's available in three sizes for good fit and would feel taller and larger for riders with long legs but still fits some shorter riders given the angled top tube. Quick release for both wheels ads convenience for fixes and transporting the bike, I love…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fully loaded urban electric bicycle with great accessories for commuting including an aluminum rear rack, full length fenders with mud flaps and integrated LED lights. Relatively light weight at under 50 lbs, this is due in part to the nicer…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS Enduro 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An enduro style full suspension electric mountain bike with longer 160 mm suspension travel, seat post dropper, 27.5" wheelset and premium hydraulic brakes. Downtube-integrated battery pack is out of sight and keeps weight low and centered across the…...

1 year ago

Hopefully the first of many similarly styled commuter (touring) e-bikes! Props on fitting 2″ tires, and spec’ing Marathons out of the box. Nice job Bulls!

Even better would be a drive train that favors range and low maintenance. Ditch Di2 in favor of a belt and Rohloff, and offer the Bosch dual battery setup. That would make this bike an unassailable long distance commuter.

1 year ago

Great suggestions Dan, I love the Rohloff internally geared hub and even though it weighs a bit more it’s super durable. That combined with a belt here would be sweet :D

1 year ago

Nice review as usual! I am sure people at Bulls mentioned this. They sell a popular non-electric version of this bike called Daily Grinder in Europe. So the name of the electric version is a play on the original Daily Grinder. By replacing “y” with “e” in Daily, they keep the same name but can communicate that it has been electrified. I agree though that without knowing about the original (especially in the US where the non-electric version isn’t sold), that nuance gets lost and potentially creates confusion.

1 year ago

Hi Jay! No way, that’s cool… I hadn’t heard this background on the name. Many times people at the companies will hand a bike off to me then step away so I can be independent. For this particular batch of reviews my time was limited so my knowledge of Gravel Grinders and other Bulls models was lacking. It’s great to learn from comments like yours now and to reflect. I’ll know more going in next time, thank you ;)

Chris @ Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

Great review as usual Court! It’s great to see more drop bar bikes entering the space. We’re starting to see every need hit out of the box where we used to have to modify quite a bit to get bikes to meet customers needs. It’s also nice to see quality parts spec’d. Bulls is quickly becoming a serious contender in the US ebike market.

1 year ago

Hey Chris! I agree, this is a sweet ebike and it’s neat to have quality parts that match built right in vs. the hassle of trying to do it after market. You’ve always been great at retrofits (as a shop owner) however and there are still many things that can be customized so it’s a great skill and one that might bridge the gap for lower priced bikes where a customer just wants one or two changes. For me, the DAIL-E Grinder is like a dream bike :D


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

2 days ago

I have Chesters on my Bulls and Wah Wah IIs on my Haibike, and prefer the Wah Wahs on trails.

I also use crank boots, but the Wah Wah's won't work with them.

2 days ago

Nice with some fellow swedes here! The ebike sales in Sweden has really increased alot since the government subsidy was introduced.

I would check out pro-e-bike.se on the site https://www.allabolag.se/5562402015/heat-engineering-technology-europe-ab before deciding to buy from them. The economic numbers doesnt look that good.

Have you got any response from Sunstorm? I might stop by their shop (Batteridoktorn) and check it out.

Nova Haibike
2 days ago

Of the four you listed, I would not recommend the Cannondale, because of the proprietary fork. While their Headshok is pretty reliable and easy to work on, it is still proprietary. Also, it is an ugly bike. LOL. The R&M is more expensive relative to the other two. The Bulls is the best value; it is the only one with an air fork.

A couple of other bikes that look good to me are the Moustache Friday 27 Speed and the Trek Crossrip+. I like the Moustache for its bulletproof wheels. It is a rigid bike, but to me that is a plus; it is lighter and there is no suspension to service...the tires will offer plenty of cush on their own. I like the Trek because (for me) there is nothing more comfortable for longer rides than a good set of drop bars.

Ravi Kempaiah
2 days ago

2 days ago

Hi Everyone!

Thank you, in advance, for reading this through and providing any insight or advice!

About 4 years ago, frustrated with the rising cost of public transportation, I decided to eliminate my dependence on it as much as possible and purchased a bike. It's a folder; Tern P24h and I've loved it. It's a workhorse and has taken all the that abuse I, and nature, could through at it. It also manages our many hills like a champ.

My ride is about 12 miles round trip. I use one form of public trans to get me in the City. It's a regretful compromise and also the reason I have a folder.

Lately I've been thinking about getting an upgraded ride for my commute and discovered the cost of a higher-end folder is close to that of an e-bike! Why pay for folding, when I could pay for power? :)

And this brings us to one of the main reasons I'd like to go electric: to exchange my current route for a picturesque, pub-trans-free route which goes up and down the Hudson River (for those who know the area). It's a 40 mile round-trip journey. I have taken this route with my folder and found that life keeps getting in the way of being able to build the endurance needed to make this a typical weekday commute.

Other reasons include just being able to take longer trips, pick up more groceries, visit friends with ease...normal stuff that probably most of us here want to do.

My budget is about $5k.

I've tried the Bosch CX, Performance, and Active line. I like Performance the best (if that's the one that reaches 28 mph).

These are four bikes I'm considering and I'd love your opinion about them, and am open to suggestions if you have a better option:

[*]Cannondale Contro-E 2017
[*]Bulls Urban Evo 2018
[*]Kalkhoff Endeavour Advance B10 Speed
[*]Riese & Muller Roadster HS

The main issue that concerns me is durability. I could put 10,000 miles on the bike in a year, in all kinds of weather and in all temperatures. Will these engines last? Which bikes are the easiest to maintain? Which need it the least?

Thank you for reading this and for offering any experiences and/or advice you have. I really appreciate it! :)

3 days ago

"...still some models"
XM700 is listed on Trek website as 2018 ; has it been discontinued ?
I think new model line up is announced late summer ?
I'd like to see the XM700 develop into something similar to the Bulls Urban EVO ; 500 Wh battery , 700c x50 tires , Suntour fork .

4 days ago

The Swedish Bike Show in Stockholm this weekend wasnt much to write home about.

It was the big swedish retailers showing off their bikes and only some ebikes from standard brands like Scott, Merida, ecoRide, Wallerang, Crescent, Monark etc.

No smaller retailer with any for me more exciting and interesting brands where there like Bulls, R&M, Haibike, Stromer, Cube or Moustache.

I will go to Elovelo (ebike store in Stockholm) this week and test ride and compare R&M and Moustache.

The search continues!

4 days ago

Hello fellow Swedes!
So im in the same position as you are. Been researching for over a year now.
Me and my spouse have moved from the city to the more rural forests of Närke and we want to go more sustainable.
To replace the diselvan as much as possible is our goal.

I've been reading everything and watched so many reviews from different manufacturers and i can't really decide.

So this Saturday we went and bought a rawbike from "blocket" for 12k SEK. It's a class II moped, 750w, 48v 15.4 Ah. 25km/h topspeed but i unlocked it to 35km/h. It's for my spouse so she can go to the bus and home.
We have a hill that is 3.5km long and has an elevation of 150m. I have to take that one home after working 12h nightshift.

For myself i cant decide what to buy. I'd like an electric ATV but there is only kidsized ones available.

The models i have researched so far:
Haibike trekking 7.5 or 4.0 (dual battery)
R&M - all of them, but supercomuter with 2x500w is the one i think.
Bulls Evo street http://www.pro-e-bike.se/sv/elcyklar-emtb-ebike/marken/bulls-six50-evo-street.html
Scott Sub Tour 10
Butcher and bicycles cargobike

Radrhino fatbike 750w - the Eu model is not updated with the larger battery yet according to their website.

My requirements are Bosch CX and 500wh battery. I'd like a dual battery setup since i have 25km to the city and i want to make sure i can go home at max assist and speed if i need.
And yes i will buy a dongle for it if i get one.

I think there is not much that differs between these models. Motor and battery is key. The rest i "meh".

But then there is the Super soco moped with 2kw and 29Ah battery for 32k SEK with option for another battery.
With the new EU rules there is the speed bikes too. Elcykelguiden.se had an article about it and they mentioned this site:

2kw, 60v 18Ah and topspeed 60km/h for 23k and possible less if you are chosen as a testpilot. I sent an email yesterday.
I like fatbikes and have an Kona Wozo fatbike as my current MTB.

E-Bike or Moped or something in between... That is the question.

5 days ago

Have a 2016 FullSeven Xduro RC and it came with Rock Shox 120mm travel Recon solo air forks. They were OK, but nothing like the Pikes on my Bulls. Also liked the slacker 66 degree head angle on the Bulls as apposed to the 69 degrees on the RC. I found a great deal on a new 160mm travel Lyrik but wondered if installing the longer travel forks on the 120mm travel frame would mess up the geometry. Turns out it totally improved the handling far more than even hoped! Don't notice the higher BB (maybe 20mm), but it gave me about 1 degree slacker head angle and just makes the bike so much better for the rocky terrain I ride. Before the upgrade I preferred my Brose powered Bulls, but now with the new fork and the e-Mtb mode software upgrade it's a total toss up!

I'm wondering if the geometry of this series of Haibike frames are pretty much the same. A buddy has the same year Sduro AMT with 150mm front and rear suspension and it has a 68 head angle which is the same as I now have.

5 days ago

"What’s that!?!?!? It’s a mountain bike! It’s a commuter bike! It’s the Six50 E TR STREET." (From Bulls website)

Ravi Kempaiah
6 days ago


This can certainly do light off road given the 120mm travel.

1 week ago

i been looking hard at Rad products. i like the way they answer questions. I did ride an older model rad city and it was soooo nice. I also rode a BULLS EVO and that was really nice... different ride all together. I am checking used bikes now and shops that sell used. I think for noobs an accessible repair guy is key. I'm prolly going with the rad mini but its hard too make up my mind... i think carr--less folks with e-bikes are the new badass's in town

Ravi Kempaiah
2 months ago

Urban EVO is just flat bar version of the Dail-E grinder minus the Di2. Cool bike though. Very nice componentry. I wish it had the M99 pure+ lights instead of the measly E3.

2 months ago

If the criteria is drop bars then we would include the Trek Crossrip+, the Bulls Dail-E Grinder and the Haibike Urban XDuro Race? I think the Orbea Gain had a gravel version too.

Ravi Kempaiah
7 months ago

Happy to share my experience:

ST2 or ST2-S

Having put 20,000+ miles on this platform and many other bikes, I am always impressed by the quiet, solid and smooth drive feeling of the ST2.
If your commute involves long stretches of roads, ST2 will excel at it. It shines in the 23-26mph cruise zone. The range is massive and if your roads are in fairly good condition, then you will be very pleased with the whole experience.
The downside is the weight. It's like driving a Escalade SUV. It has its own inertia but once you get over it, it works fine. It's not super agile like 45lbs bike. If your commute involves a lot of stop-go traffic, you will find the lighter bikes are better.

Dail-E Grinder or Six50 E street

The Dail-E is light, fast and packs a lot of good componentry. BULLS recently reduced the price points on all their bikes, so that's a bonus. The Dail-E is light and makes it perfect for stop-go traffic and you can carry it up 10 stairs without much worry.
The Six50 E2 is a very nice commuter but any Bosch system needs more rider involvement and proper shifting technique to get the most out of it. It will also make you a better cyclist (if you not one already).
With a 500Whr battery, you can easily get 30-35 miles of range.
The componentry is decent. You may want to change the chainring from 15T to 20T (helps in maintaining higher top speed) and change the lights to Supernova M99 (makes a lot of difference). The stock front lights are inadequate. But, the brakes are excellent. The wheels are great and have never heard of people breaking spokes that you hear on some cheaper hub motor bikes.
The forks are heavy but do basic job in mitigating the effect of road imperfections. But, other than that, I can't think of any major negatives.

Overall, they are all very good quality bikes. If you have a dealer willing to back you up, you have really nothing major to worry about.

7 months ago

@i Kempaiah , I really enjoy your posts and videos. I'm looking at the Bulls Six50 e2 Street as a cheaper alternative commuter to the Dail-E Grinder. With your experience w/ the ST2 S and the Dail-e Grinder, what are your observations on the advantages and disadvantages of both?

Ravi Kempaiah
7 months ago

Pleasure is mine!
Many people have been very kind to me and have helped immensely. I am happy to help in anyway I can.
Trek FX+ is a pretty old model and the tech has moved on quite a bit. The latest bikes are in a league of its own.
I live close to the UIC campus. Let me know if you want to try out my ST2 or Trekking S Rx or both for a day or two and see if it suits your commute.
Whatever you choose, I am pretty certain that these new crop of ebikes will re-ignite your passion for biking.

7 months ago

Wow!!!! Thank you for the prompt reply and all the information! I was really impressed by Court's video of the Specialized Turbo Vado 6.0 and thought it would be the one . . . for some reason, I keep coming back to the Stromer ST2. I don't foresee myself doing century rides with it but it would be nice for commuting (@5am) as well as running errands/shopping. The Haibikes (Trekking S Rx and the SDURO Trekking 5) look like great options. The Bulls LACUBA EVO E45 intrigues me even more than the Dail-E Grinder; as for lighting, I have the DesignShine DS-500 tail light and DS-1300 headlight ( http://store.designshinelighting.com ) - phenomenal lighting!

I really appreciate your genuine passion for e-bikes and sharing your knowledge with others to be a better consumer. I'd like to bend your ear some more but I'd be happy to repay you with your favorite beverage (coffee/beer - whatever your drink of choice is!) or meal.

I'm hesitant to try another Trek e-bike since my Trek FX+ was a disappointment. It did get me back into bicycling after a +15 yr hiatus, putting in 3500mi/yr commuting and casual biking. I have lost interest the past few years and hope that this next step will re-ignite the passion. I still plan to ride my Domane 5.9 and I also have a Madone 4.7 that spends most of it's life attached to a Wahoo Kickr Snap or on my Kreitler rollers.

Thanks again for all you do! I look forward to hearing more from you . . .

Ravi Kempaiah
7 months ago

Funny you ask that.
I live in Chicago myself and given the terrible road conditions here, I switched from Stromer ST2 to Haibike Trekking S Rx. While I absolutely enjoy the smoothness and quiet power delivery of ST2, hitting bumps and pot holes every 10m was not a nice feeling. I still use that for long distance travel.
I got my Trekking from https://crazylennysebikes.com/. Lenny has been like a father figure in my life and he even sponsored by Guinness Record ride last summer. So, mentioning him might be a conflict of interest here. But, I am happy to give you my honest answer.

Among your list, Trek Super Commuter 8+ would be a great choice. You could run those Super Moto X at low PSI and with the Body Float, you would have no problem on the Chicago roads.
Looks like you are a pretty seasoned cyclist (not everyone rides a Trek Domane 5.9 wth Di2). You should also consider the BULLS Dail-E Grinder. It does come with Di2, Bosch speed motor and the Supernova M99 lighting that you see on the Trek Super commuter. The geometry is more relaxed compared to the Trek but it's so much lighter than the ST2 and the trekking S Rx. At 48lbs, it really handles very well. 2" Marathon Supereme + RockShox paragon does a great job of mitigating bumps.

The rack on the Dail-E grinder is rated for 60lbs. So, I don't see any problem carrying stuff like groceries or laptop/lunch.

I recently did a weekend ride to Milwaukee and back on my Haibike Trekking S Rx: https://www.strava.com/activities/1118854733. While I was able to do the trip on 2 batteries, I also came to realize that upright riding positions just doesn't cut it for long rides like that. I am looking to switch back to the Dail-E grinder myself and retire the Trekking S Rx. It has been a great bike. I rode it throughout the winter and it has performed flawlessly. If you have the opportunity to pick up a Trekking S Rx, I would recommend it because it's an older year model and most shops offer some sale on those. You could also switch out the batteries to the newer 500Whr ones.

I am hesitant to recommend the Vado 6.0. I rode that bike at the Chicago Bike Expo and it rode great. In theory, that would be a terrific bike for the Chicago roads but there are some glitches with the Specialized firmware, their mission control app but if you have a dealer near you who is willing to back you up, it is worth a shot.
If you already have a pretty good relationship with your Trek dealer, then Super Commuter 8+ would be a great choice as well. My thinking may be different from yours. I am not going to own any system that has super proprietary battery geometry and related hardware. If I get another Bosch powered bike (whether it is Tern GSD or Yuba Spicy cargo bike or even Mountain bike), I could switch out batteries and chargers. Also, if two or more family members have similar kind of bikes, then you gain additional battery for occasional rides and stuff like that. With Bosch, you have more flexibility. There are more spares and accessories available for Bosch than the Specialized. I am not trying to downplay specialized here but their mountain bike battery is different from road bike and both of these are very different from their Turbo bikes. Now, I could use Trekking S Rx batteries on Yuba Cargo or any eMTB and eliminate redundancy.

11 months ago

Very nice!!
Did you consider the BULLS Dail-E Grinder?

Ravi Kempaiah
11 months ago

@RA and @ayVee ,

The gearing is not just external. For example, the http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/dail-e-grinder/ has a 22T front sprocket while the flat bar http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/six50-e-2-street/ has 15T front sprocket. Initially, I was surprised by the difference. When I was updating firmware on those bikes, I noticed an option for changing the internal gearing ratio in the Bosch diagnostic software and the ratios for those 2 bikes are different. It compensates for any changes in the external physical gearing difference.
Both have the same Bosch Speed motor. It's just a tad easier to maintain 26mph on the Grinder but changing to the sprocket to a bigger one and adjusting the internal gearing is not difficult at all.

Chris Nolte
1 year ago

We commonly discuss different types of lights available to connect to your ebike battery so I figured I would make a thread to discuss some of the brands that offer ebike lights as well as the different models available.

First it's helpful to understand how they work. Most ebike lighting systems run off of 6 Volts DC power. Ebike batteries are generally 24 volts, 36 volts or 48 volts. There are some other voltages, but these are the most common. It's important to note that electric bike lights run from DC power as opposed to AC power since there are lights that only run on AC power and will not work with your ebike. Dynamo hubs generate AC power to power lights and there are many lights made to work with these systems. For now I just want to focus on ebike lights though.

At the moment in the US there are several brands that make ebike lights, but this list is in no way exhaustive. Below are some brands that we have worked with in the past, feel free to add some others.

http://en.bumm.de/products/e-bike-lights.html- Made in Germany and we have found them to be of high quality. They are trusted by many major OEM's and also available as aftermarket upgrades. The German version of their site is more up to date including the new http://www.bumm.de/de/produkte/dynamo-scheinwerfer/parent/164/produkt/164rtsndi-01-schwarz-164rtsndi-silber.htmlmodel which is quite nice.

http://www.lightandmotion.com/choose-your-light/e-bike - US based light manufacturer producing lights for many different market sectors. They are well known in the bike industry for high power mountain bike lights. They recently introduced ebike lights to their offerings with 500 lumen, 800 lumen and 1200 lumen lights.

http://www.nabendynamo.de/produkte/edelux_II_dc_en.html - Another German made light manufacturer with a focus on producing one of the best dynamos available they later introduced lights to pair with it and now have a DC version available for ebikes.

http://supernova-lights.com/en/ - Widely regarded as the gold standard in bike lighting. Manufactured in Germany of high quality materials, we have found these lights to be very reliable and they push the envelope on what's possible with bike lighting.

I want to highlight some products that are popular in our shop and on ebikes overall. Again this list is in no way exhaustive, but I figured it would be good to highlight some of the lights available from the different brands.

http://en.bumm.de/products/dynamo-headlights/lumotec-iq-x.html - A new introduction from B&M with a similar design to the classic Supernova Ebike light at a slightly lower price point. I think we're going to see this light a lot more in the near future. Currently there are a couple of Riese & Müller bikes that spec this light. (Note: their website doesn't show the ebike variety currently, but it is available)

http://en.bumm.de/produkte/e-bike-scheinwerfer/lumotec-iq2-eyc.html - Nice mid range ebike light at an affordable price.

http://www.lightandmotion.com/choose-your-light/e-bike/nip-n-tuck - Recently introduced. Comes standard with a 500 lumen headlight, but they have a 800 lumen version and a 1200 lumen headlight available.

http://supernova-lights.com/en/supernova-e3-e-bike-v6s- Available with different mounting options for handlebars and forks. Most work with 6 volts, but they have some that will work with 12-60 volts if your system doesn't have a low voltage output and you want to connect directly to your battery.

http://supernova-lights.com/en/page/m99-comparison - Available in three varieties M99 pure (6 volts 500 lumen low beam only), M99 pure+ (6 volts 1100 lumen low beam), M99 Pro (24v-60v 1100 lumen low beam, 1600 lumen high beam). This is the best ebike light on the market at the moment coming standard on many high quality bikes like the ST2S, Riese & Müller Delite GX and the Bulls Dail-E Grinder.

Tail lights are a little simplier, but there are several varieties available. We mainly work with Busch & Müller and Supernova. The most recent development here is the integration of brake lights which we're starting to see with the Stromer ST2S and the Supernova Brakelight shown below.

Some other notes about ebike lights. Most new ebike systems have the ability to connect directly into the system and turn the lights on and off from the display. This includes Bosch, Shimano, most Brose systems, etc. If your system doesn't have a switch you'll need a light with a switch. Some ebike systems like the Bosch system require a lighting wire kit in order to connect to the motor system and some will require a dealer to activate the lights.

Feel free to post questions below or any of your own experiences with electric bike lights. I hope this will be helpful for those looking to add or upgrade the lights to their ebike.

1 year ago

We are expecting the Dail-E Grinder sometime in March 2017

Ravi Kempaiah
1 year ago


72 mile round trip commute!! I'm super impressed!
Where do you commute and what bike are you using? I am very curious.

Re: the Grinder, it's a sweet bike for sure. For sure I will need extra batteries and lots of prep work for a 400 mile ride but should be doable.
I recently picked up http://www.emotionbikesusa.com/en/bicycles/road/quartz-disc-ultegra-qud-ult-us.html for my RAAM training.

As a co-owner of the E-bike store, I will be happy to setup you with a Bosch dual battery and Rohlhoff setup.

3 weeks ago

$6K? 350w?? Come on.

7 months ago

not worth 6000$ (!!!!)

Alex Weetman
9 months ago

can you do a top 3 of electric bikes, like top 3 mtb bikes and top 3 road bikes?

8 months ago

Hi Alex! The list changes over time (I have about forty ebike reviews in progress at the moment) so I try to update this list regularly vs. doing a video that wouldn't be as easy to update: https://electricbikereview.com/best-electric-bikes/

Alan Helton
11 months ago

Sweet e ride

Bulls eBIKES
1 year ago

Great Review Court. Thanks! One thing to keep in mind with the range is that the demo bike you tested and reviewed was fit with the 400Wh battery as it came to us before the 500Wh batteries arrived and before the complete Dail_E Grinder arrived. This is part of the reason for the low range estimate on the video. Thanks again!

8 months ago

Great feedback, thanks for mentioning this!

Martian Megafauna
1 year ago

If BULLS is actually marketing this as a gravel bike (for those who didn't know, "gravel bicycles" are now a thing) it would have been nice for EBR to actually go to some unimproved roads and put it to the test. Maybe in comparison with a non-electric gravel bike.

My initial response to this bike is: did they just put drop bars on one of their existing non-drop-bar models or is the geometry all-new, designed for gravel biking?

I feel that sometimes what is missing in EBR reviews is an assessment of the "bicycle-ness" of an ebike: how it handles in curves, how does it descend, how is the turn-in, stability at speed, etc.

I get that maybe a lot of ebikers are not avid cyclists, but some of us are, and all of us could benefit from some comment on those bicycle-specific characteristics, I believe.

8 months ago

That's a great point and something I'm trying to improve, my review style has been to go for quantity and offer more of an introduction and overview of each model because my time and locations tend to be limited. Some of the videos go in deeper and explore different terrain but even then, I haven't always been as focused on handling or tried to show that experience vs. how the motor and systems work and how capable it is at climbing etc. I'll keep working on it and I appreciate your feedback

Doug's Ego
1 year ago

The Bosch kit is the bee's knees.

David Frobel
1 year ago

that price you could get a motor bike,,,,lol

David Frobel
1 year ago

i got a scooter and love it

Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

We hear this argument a lot, but with an ebike you don't need insurance, registration, fuel, etc. We have many that have made this consideration and chosen to go with an ebike.

bob manfredonia
1 year ago

$6000!! who exactly is this bike marketed for. I understand high quality components, but if i can buy a year old, top of the line Vespa for the same price(for comparison sake), it does not make sense. It also happens to be ugly as the day is long... like an old, garage sale Rollfast, that has been painted flat black

8 months ago

Hey Bob, this ebike is very niche, not many offer drop bars. I think because the market is smaller and people who want drops tend to appreciate high-end components, they had to price it higher to make sense (low volume, high price) but Bulls does offer some more value priced models which probably sell more because they are mainstream in terms of look, accessories, and performance

1 year ago

$6000 for only 350 watts?

1 year ago

Dan F Lunacycle has great ebike batteries with Panasonic GA cells, they also sell the bbshd.

I'm pretty sure you have more experience with ebikes than me because, I have never even heard of any of those other mid-drives you named except for the Yamahas.

You said that you've tested quite a few bikes, do you do reviews as well?

Dan F
1 year ago

I've put a lot of miles on both drives. The Bafang is fun, but when you have problems their warranty people can be a pain. Not to mention the Bafang battery is not awesome. But with a good install, a good battery, and a CycleAnalyst, it's a formidable drive. But with those extras, the cost creeps higher and higher...
However, it cannot compare to the sensor package, engineering, and diagnostic might of Bosch. And the Bosch battery is superb. The real problem with it is that you really can't tinker at all without voiding the warranty. Which you don't want to do after paying for it!

And we haven't even got into the Brose, the Impulse Evo, the Yamaha PW and PWX, the eProdigy drive, the motor that M1 Technik uses, the Dapu, the Trans-X (mid and concentric), the StEPS, or the other half-dozen mid-drives I've tried.

I'm looking forward to getting my hands on a Brose 28MPH bike later this month...!

1 year ago

Dan F I understand what your saying, and I was not comparing the Bosch to a hub motor but to a bbshd. Which is half the price of the Bosch with alot more power.

Also, no I was not aware of the cost of the bike itself, so now that you explain it the cost does seem fair. But I still refuse to pay 6000 for 350 watts. Give me at least 750w on a bikesdirect frame lol.

Dan F
1 year ago

Careful using wattage to compare bikes. Bear in mind that hub motors are rated for maximum output, while mid-drives are rated for *nominal* output. I have put Bosch drive bikes on a dyno and measured peak outputs.

Besides, you're actually paying for a $1500 drive on a $4500 bike. Do you have any idea how much Di2 costs?

Sandra Han
1 year ago

I wonder who buys such a bike, I don't mean this in a negative way, just curious. For over $6k, there should be quite a few eBike choices out there, no? Personally, I prefer a battery that is hidden. Looks-wise, I'd go with the Elby but not paying $4,000+ for an eBike yet.

Catman Gamer
1 year ago

I agree with veevee. Road bikes when setup right are the most comfortable. Love the bike hate the price. Ouch. But you get what you pay for.

Mike M
1 year ago

I know some people can afford this. But are u kidding me? $6000? Really? Just get a scooter and go 28 mph. You can a very nice off road motor cycle for way less.

G Henrickson
9 months ago

Well...maybe this is not the bike for you. Sounds like a different model of Bulls bike would be better...say...an off road model? Many of those are less money too.

Mike M
1 year ago

outcast566 I agree. I'm not into the motorcycle idea. I definitely want a bike. Just not one for $6000. I subscribe to this channel and love the reviews. This company that sells this one is overly priced. I would rather pay for a specialized electric. Or make my own with a kit. They're expensive also but not as much. Longer warranty. Prices will fall eventually as time goes on. Love the technology and reviews from this channel.

1 year ago

Yeah, you can get a scooter or a motorcycle, but the main reason I would purchase an e-bike is to avoid traffic. Denver traffic is hell since they legalized marijuana. Everybody and their mamma moved here. I would love to be able to avoid that and speed home stress-free on the bike trails which do not allow motorcycles of scooters.

1 year ago

At first, I mainly had eyes for the BBSHD but, now the Bosch systems are slowly starting to win me over.

G Henrickson
9 months ago

If you mean which is better for spinning...the EBR channel seems to prefer the Bosch system.

1 year ago

Mike B In your opinion, which motor do you think has the most speed efficiency ? . The Bosch or bafang ?.

Mike B
1 year ago

If you love to bike you'll love a Bosch. If you want an electric moped you'll love the Bafang.

Richard Prince
1 year ago

The RAD Bike you get a Hell of a lot more BANG for your Buck and CHEAPER,love People that have to much Money,NOT

Dan Martin
1 year ago

Very nice motor and battery integration. I think overall the package would be better by ditching Di2 in favor of a belt and Rohloff, and ideally the Bosch dual battery option. As a touring/commuting rig, the drop bars are a step in the right direction, but keep going- I'd prefer drivetrain options that increase range and decrease maintenance.

1 year ago

Those are excellent suggestions Dan! I'm excited about the new dual battery setup from Bosch and love the Rohloff Speed Hub... might add a bit of weight but would be very reliable

Clive King
1 year ago


Fabian Winkler
1 year ago

Please make a video about the light during night time

Fabian Winkler
1 year ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Thanks for the reply. I saw that was a good comparison. I always Iike to know how the bike perform in the night. A lot of times commuting is done when it is already dark outside. Keep u. the good work 👍

1 year ago

Hi Fabian! I don't have access to this bike anymore, was just visiting the Bulls headquarters in SoCal for a week and tried to squeeze in as many reviews as possible... that's also why I didn't know exactly what a Gravel Grinder was and just sort of winged the review. A while back I did a light comparison with some POV shots but it's tricky to film at night, maybe you'll find this interesting https://electricbikereview.com/accessories/cygolite/dart-210/ I know it says Cygolite but the video has lots of lights compared including a very bright one (though not the Supernova)

Fabian Winkler
1 year ago

Bart Beek I don't see any good video where I can see the pov of rider. Hopefully it is bright. I want one on my new bike 🙂

ᛒåᚱᛏ טייַך
1 year ago

Just look for video's showcasing that particular headlamp. 900 lumen is very f*cking bright.

Olivier Sourie
1 year ago

This is a really nice bike! A Gates belt and Magura brakes would make it complete...

1 year ago

Great suggestions Olivier! Cool name by the way :D

1 year ago

its expensive but you are getting what you paid for and more

1 year ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com yup :) . i experimented on buiding my xc bike with dropbars, carbon rigid fork and but only used shimano sora components, used it as an half-assed gravel grinder 29'er.. The Bulls dail-e being an e-bike while having a di2 electronic shifter and hydraulic brakes.. those components add up.. so yeah the price for the bike is justifiable :) LOve your videos!

1 year ago

I agree, sounds like you're familiar with higher end bikes and nicer components... Had you heard of Gravel Grinder bikes before?