BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Electric Bike Review
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Gates Carbon Cdx Belt 50t Sprocket
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Shimano Hydraulic Disc Rear Kickstand
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Bulls Ci Backlit Display Remote Button Pad
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Ergon Gp1 Locking Grips Ergonomic
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Sr Suntour Ecx E Air Fork Fuxon Headlight
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 I Rack Fuxon Led Back Light
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Sks Rookie Mini Pump
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Wave Frame Deep Step Thru
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Large Removable Bmz Battery
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Ebike High Step
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Ebike Step Thru
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Electric Bike Review
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Gates Carbon Cdx Belt 50t Sprocket
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Shimano Hydraulic Disc Rear Kickstand
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Bulls Ci Backlit Display Remote Button Pad
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Ergon Gp1 Locking Grips Ergonomic
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Sr Suntour Ecx E Air Fork Fuxon Headlight
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 I Rack Fuxon Led Back Light
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Sks Rookie Mini Pump
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Wave Frame Deep Step Thru
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Large Removable Bmz Battery
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Ebike High Step
Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 Ebike Step Thru

Summary

  • A versatile urban electric bike well suited to commuting, touring and trekking because of its efficient mid-drive motor and larger than average battery capacity, durable internal gearing and belt drive
  • Available in five frame sizes and three frame styles including wave, mid-step and high-step diamond for improved fit and optimized mounting and control or stiffness and performance
  • Completely outfitted with high-end accessories and hardware including fenders, rack with mini pump, hydraulic disc brakes, Kevlar-lined tires, a lightweight air suspension fork and integrated lights
  • Solid warranty and growing dealer base in the US with European backing, room for improvement with battery lock design and charging port cover, no quick release on rear wheel

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

BULLS

Model:

Lacuba EVO E8

Price:

$3,999

Body Position:

Upright, Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban, Commuting, Touring

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Motor and Battery, 5 Years Frame

Availability:

Europe, Canada, United States, Australia, New Zealand

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

56 lbs (25.4 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.61 lbs (2.99 kg)

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminium

Frame Sizes:

17.72 in (45 cm)18.89 in (47.98 cm)19.68 in (49.98 cm)20.86 in (52.98 cm)22.83 in (57.98 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

18" Stand Over Height for Wave Model

Frame Types:

High-Step, Mid-Step, Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Satin Silver with Gloss Black and Copper Highlights

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour SF17-NCX-E Air, 63 mm Travel, Lockout Adjust, 11 mm QR Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Skewer with Bolts

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rack Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Nexus Inter8 Internally Geared Hub, 26T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Nexus Grip Shift on Right

Cranks:

SR Suntour, 50T

Pedals:

Wellgo C-098DU Plastic Platform with Rubber Tread

Headset:

FSA Tapered 1-1/8"

Stem:

Satori Adjustable Angle

Handlebar:

Swept Back, 600 mm or 620 mm Length, 5° Bend

Brake Details:

Shimano M395 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Shimano Levers with Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Ergon GP1 Locking, Ergonomic

Saddle:

Selle Royal Scientia M3

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

RYDE Double Wall, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge Front 13 Gauge Rear, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Apple, 28" x 2"

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Active Line K-Guard, Reflective Sidewall Tape, 35-70 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Velo Battery Protector Pad, Fuxon Integrated LED Lights, SKS Plastic Fenders, i-RACK with Pannier Blockers and Spring Latch with 25 kg Max Load, SKS Rookie Mini Pump, Plastic Chain Cover, Adjustable Length Kickstand

Other:

IP56 Ingress Rating, 2.5 lb 5 Amp Energy Bus Charger from BMZ, Gates Carbon Drive CDX Belt

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Brose E25

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

530 watts

Motor Torque:

90 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

BMZ

Battery Voltage:

37 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

17.5 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

647.5 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Estimated Max Range:

130 miles (209 km)

Display Type:

BULLS CI, Removable Backlit LCD Display

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Bars), Speed, Assist Level (None, Eco, Tour, Sport), Total Distance, Trip Distance, Trip Time, Trip Calories, Max Speed, Avg. Speed, Total Time, Time of Day, Average Motor Power, Average Rider Performance

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, Lights Button, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Cadence and Torque Sensing)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Lacuba Evo E8 is like an “everything electric bike” because it comes in five sizes, three different frame styles, has fenders, a rack, suspension fork, integrated lights, a large battery and an efficient mid-drive motor. I guess it’s not well suited to trails and mountain biking… but the motor used here, from Brose, is the same one that Bulls uses on their very capable full suspension mountain models! With 90 Newton meters of torque and a 250 watt nominal output, the bike is no slouch. What really sets it apart from some competing models is the internally geared hub running on a Carbon reinforced belt drive. You don’t have to worry as much about a derailleur getting bumped or a chain falling off. There’s no grease and oil to deal with and you can shift gears anytime (even at standstill). One trade-off with this setup is that the rear wheel uses bolts instead of a quick release skewer but the tires are higher quality Kevlar-lined models that shouldn’t be as susceptible to punctures from thorns or glass. Also, the front wheel does have quick release so maybe half the time it will still be easier to change the flat. Also worth noting is the compact mini-pump that clips into the rear cargo rack. Low tire pressure is a leading cause of pinch flats and can contribute to lower efficiency so having that pump with you at all times should further reduce instances of flat tires… just make sure you don’t leave it on the frame to get stolen at the bike rack :/

In my opinion, Bulls has done an excellent job outfitting the Lacuba EVO E8 with name brand hardware that will last longer and reduce weight while still hitting an impressive value price point. No, it’s not super cheap at just over $4k but the reflective sidewall stripes on the upgraded tires could save your life along with the integrated LED lights front and rear. The Selle Royal saddle significantly improves comfort when combined with the air suspension fork and adjustable angle stem… not to mention ergonomic grips (again name brand) from Ergon. You can spend a lot of money swapping saddles and changing touch points and end up with a bike that doesn’t look as good as this. The fenders are tight and have sturdy struts and attachment points on the rear rack so they don’t rattle. You get a chainguard that keeps your pants from rubbing on the belt, but even if this wasn’t here you’d stay a lot cleaner than if it was running a chain. Designing frames that have a cut-away for actually using a belt (since the belt can’t be unlinked like chains can) is expensive and I’m just amazed that they did it for five frame sizes and all of the different frame types. I especially like the step-thru and low-step wave because it’s a lot easier to mount the bike than swinging your leg up and over the rear rack (especially if you’ve got a trunk bag mounted there). This is an electric bike that should fit most riders and be more fun and secure for shorter petite riders like women. My girlfriend has hit her leg and crotch many a time riding other bicycles and it creates insecurity and she doesn’t want to ride as much. Yes, the wave model that I test rode and photographed for this review isn’t going to be as stiff as the mid-step or high-step diamond or as easy to mount on some car racks but at least she will want to go riding and this isn’t a bike that needs to be so stiff.

I love the battery and motor integration, both are tight so you don’t hear rattling and they blend right in with the frame. It only comes in one color scheme but it’s professional and helps the black battery and motor casing blend in… along with the black cables (many of which are routed through the frame to reduce snags). Even though this has a downtube battery, because it mounts up from the bottom, there are screws for mounting a bottle cage on all of the different frame styles. This is great because we all need hydration! Surprisingly, many electric bikes forego bottle cage bosses and while you can compromise with a bag or seat mount they just aren’t as easy to reach and sometimes don’t feel as secure to me. Another usability feature that this Bulls model offers that some of their others do not is the larger CI backlit display panel. Being larger, it’s much easier to read from afar and I absolutely LOVE that it’s removable. This will reduce instances of scratching and wear from sun and other weather when parked at the rack. The display even has a little Micro USB port at the bottom for charging your phone or other electronic devices. I sometimes use my phone for GPS directions so that’s really cool.

In terms of performance, the Brose motor is quiet, responsive and very efficient if you simply switch gears naturally as you ride (lower gears for climbing, higher gears for going fast). Inside the motor are gears to transform high RPM into powerful torque and you can hear some whirring as it spins but this is still one of the quieter motors out there to choose from (comparing to Bosch, Yamaha or Impulse). It doesn’t offer shift-sensing but that’s not as important since it uses a combination torque and cadence sensor and the drivetrain here is a geared hub vs. traditional derailleur with cassette. I like that both the motor and battery are low and center on all models of the Lacuba EVO E8 because some similar designs from competing brands opt for the rear rack battery which reduces your carrying capacity there and stands out more in my opinion while also shifting balance and raising the center of gravity. Accomplishing the preferred design here costs more but again, the price for this bike isn’t outlandish. Some minor improvements I would like to see however are the rubber flap that covers the charging port… It doesn’t stick down as easily as I’d like and could let water and dust in. The bike doesn’t automatically lock the battery in when you mount it and it would be a bummer if someone stole this because they are very expensive to replace. The key for locking the battery in is right there at the bottom bracket where the crank arms pass by and could easily get broken if you forget to remove it. I also feel like the Shimano Inter8 geared hub can be a bit wonky and take some getting used to, it doesn’t always shift immediately if you’re pushing down and this can cause confusion and over-shifting.

All things considered, this is a fantastic electric bike platform that’s at home as a very fancy comfortable neighborhood rider, a tuff urban commuter or even a touring or trekking ebike. There are solid electric bikes that offer similar performance for basic riding that cost half as much but this one will surely last longer and perform at a much higher level than those. Bulls offers an excellent two year comprehensive warranty along with five year frame coverage. They’re opening up more dealers in the US but have a solid global reputation from years of operation in Europe and Asia. From 2016 to 2017 they’ve introduced many more models and I can tell they are committed to delivering an excellent experience. That’s part of what you’re paying for here and why I’d strongly consider this model for my own commute in town. Just grab a nice pannier backpack or duffle style trunk bag and you’re set for 40+ miles of riding each day and impressively fast charging thanks to the 5 amp charger (most are just 2 or 4). It’s an electric bike that’s easy to get excited about and one that fits into the most widely accepted Class 1 category with 20 mph top speed in the US. Big thanks to Bulls for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • The bike is extremely well equipped, the design is polished and it comes in three frame styles (stiff high-step, easier to mount mid-step and approachable wave deep step-thru) and five frame sizes!
  • In addition to a range of frame styles and sizes that improve fit, there’s also an adjustable angle stem and relaxed curved bar with name-brand ergonomic grips on this bike
  • At over $4k this isn’t what most people would call affordable but considering the internally geared hub, brand name belt drive, integrated lights, reflective tires and high quality rack with a mini-pump I think it’s a good value for what it is
  • Most of the super commuters and touring electric bikes I test out that have fenders, racks etc. all weigh a bit more but at ~56 lbs this one isn’t bad and part of that is the air suspension fork… internally geared hubs also weigh more but are durable so it’s a good trade-off here, the battery is easily removable for reduced weight when transporting
  • Belt drives tend to stay cleaner than chains because they don’t require lubrication, they also run quiet and don’t drop (in part because this is the upgraded Gates CDX with center-tracking design)
  • In addition to the cleaner belt drive, you get tightly integrated plastic fenders and a nice chain guard to keep your shoes and pants clean even in wet conditions
  • I love the rack on this thing, it has pannier mounting tubes along the sides, a spring latch on top, an integrated mini-pump and it connects to the fender for added support and reduced rattling
  • It’s great that they designed the downtube in such a way that you can still mount a bottle cage for easy-to-reach hydration while riding, consider a trunk bag like this for carrying extra bottles
  • I was really impressed with the battery capacity offered on this and other Bulls electric bikes, you really could use this for long commutes or touring, the efficient mid-drive motor is a battery sipper compared to hub motors
  • It’s nice having a display panel to show your speed, assist level and power output but I’m super happy with the one they chose because it’s removable… that means less wear and damage at racks outside if you commute (just don’t misplace it), I also like that it has a Micro USB charging port in the bottom for charging your phone or other portable electronics!
  • Solid hydraulic disc brakes provide smooth powerful stopping power and the levers offer adjustable reach so you can use them easily even if your hands or fingers are smaller and shorter
  • The bike is already really comfortable but you could swap out the rigid seat post with a 30.9 mm suspension like this, just keep in mind it will raise the minimum seat height, I like the Selle Royal saddle that comes stock (it’s a bit larger and less firm than others)
  • I like that the tires have a kevlar puncture-resistant lining because it’s not much fun fixing flats and only the front wheel has quick release here (because the rear uses an internally geared hub, you’ll need tools to remove the bolts)
  • The charger outputs 5 amps so it fills the pack quicker than some others (which are just 2 or 4 amp) and I like that they went with the fancier magnetic EnergyBus port because it just pops out if you trip over it vs. tipping the bike or bending the pins

Cons:

  • Activating the bike requires two steps if you haven’t ridden for a while, press the power button on the downtube then up at the button pad, could be confusing at first if you haven’t charged the battery in a bit and can’t figure out why it’s not powering up ;)
  • I love that the battery pack locks to the frame for security but feel that the key is positioned in a vulnerable spot where the crank arm can hit it if you’re not careful
  • It’s nice that you can charge the battery while it’s on the bike but the rubber flap designed to cover the charging port at the base of the downtube doesn’t stay down very well, I feel its design could be improved
  • The battery pack slides up into the downtube so getting it out can be a little tricky and definitely requires two hands, you have to unlock it then sort of pull down (but not so hard that it hits the fender or ground if you aren’t careful)
  • I like that you can shift gears while at standstill on this bike because it has an internally geared eight speed hub but for the gear to actually change I’ve found you can’t be pushing very hard… so when riding I back off a bit when shifting (especially when climbing)
  • The Brose motor system uses cadence and torque measurements to activate and is fairly responsive but does not have shift sensing, that’s less of an issue on an internally geared hub drivetrain like the Shimano Nexus Inter8 here

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More BULLS Reviews

BULLS Aminga TR 1 Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A full suspension, cross country style, electric mountain bike made just for the ladies with shorter reach, available in two smaller size options, features a turquoise fuchsia colorway. Sturdy Suntour XCR 34 air suspension fork with remote lockout for easy transitions from rough…...

BULLS TWENTY4 E Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A tough, sporty looking, high-quality, kids electric bike that can reach ~15.5 mph with four levels of pedal assist, smaller wheels keep the frame low and approachable. Premium accessories including tires from Schwalbe, a Shimano Altus 8-speed drivetrain, and Tektro hydraulic disc…...

BULLS Cross E Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Well priced considering the quality Bosch-made electric drive system, four frame size choices, and three frame styles (high, mid, and low-step). Integrated LED lights and premium Continental tires with reflective sidewall stripes help to keep you…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 2 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

One of the cleanest looking full suspension cross country electric bikes I've reviewed, the battery and motor are built into the frame and match the matte black paint perfectly. Extra large battery capacity for longer rides, EnergyBus magnetic charging standard works on or off…...

BULLS SIX50 E 1.5 Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A hardtail trail ready e-bike with comfortable plus sized tires and a spring suspension fork (with lockout), sturdy tapered head tube, rigid thru-axles, and Boost. Capable as a commuting platform if you prefer a mountain bike vs. hybrid or city…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

An active, sporty looking, commuter style electric bike with low standover height, available in three frame sizes to improve fit and comfort. High-end drivetrain and motor systems, you get eleven gears with a tough mountain bike level…...

BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

An all-mountain electric bike with plus sized tires for improved stability, traction and comfort, 150 mm air suspension with compression and rebound adjust. Battery and motor mount design are tighter than older Bosch systems, weight is kept low…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A high quality full suspension e-mountain bike that's also a speed pedelec (capable of 28 mph top speeds), solid hydraulic disc brakes, wide thru-axles with Boost Technology. Adjustable 150 mm RockShox suspension front and rear, four-bar rear swing arm to reduce brake…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 3 Carbon 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A Carbon fiber electric cross country mountain bike with premium components and ultra-integrated motor and battery system, excellent weight distribution. The Brose motor is quiet and responsive offering up to 90 Nm of torque output,…...

BULLS DAIL-E Grinder Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

One of the first Gravel Grinder style electric bikes to make it to America! Made with premium components, high performance lights and a purpose built frame in three sizes. Capable of high speed 28 mph performance, the Bosch centerdrive motor measures bike speed, pedal…...

BULLS SIX50 E2 Street Review

  • MSRP: $3,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A fully equipped speed commuter capable of 28 mph operation, running on the proven Bosch Performance mid-drive motor and updated 500 watt hour Samsung battery. Extra large 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes offer smooth solid stops without requiring exorbitant hand…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A stealthy full suspension all-mountain electric bike with longer travel 150 mm suspension, fully adjustable air fork by RockShox, color matched to frame. Larger 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack to assist with steeper climbs and longer…...

BULLS Monster E FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Full suspension fat bike with a high quality mid-drive motor from Bosch and their updated 500 watt hour battery pack for extended range. Cool fluorescent paint job that extends all the way through the fork, rear shock housing,…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

Available in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step and mid-step) with an adjustable stem, active-comfort saddle and ergonomic grips, this bike can fit well and feel good at speed and over long distances. Capable of 28 mph top speeds, this is a Class 3 electric bike with an…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all-mountain electric bike with beautifully integrated battery, motor and display... it blends in more than most other e-mountain bikes I've tested and runs quiet. Sturdy 15 mm thru axle in the front and 12 mm axle in the rear…...

BULLS SIX50 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A loaded full suspension mountain bike with premium electric drivetrain from Bosch offering 75 Nm of climbing torque with the CX motor and a 400 watt hour Samsung battery. RockShox air suspension with 120 mm travel front and rear for solid trail or all…...

BULLS Monster E S Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

Premium hardtail electric fat bike with all the fixins, highlights include rear rack bosses, tubeless-ready tires and punched out rims, RockShox air fork with remote lockout and high torque Bosch CX motor. Quality 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano for excellent stopping power and modulation, impressive…...

BULLS Outlaw E45 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty looking, fairly comfortable speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speeds, it's running on an optimized geared hub motor design with heat pipe technology for maximum performance. Unique mid-mount battery box fills the main frame triangle keeping weight low and centered while…...

BULLS Sturmvogel E EVO Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautifully designed urban electric bike painted white for visibility and modern appeal, white walled tires, reflective sidewall stripes, LED lights. Extra sturdy and durable thanks to a 15 mm thru-axle on the front wheel (with…...

BULLS TWENTY9 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension, Bosch powered, cross country style electric bike with efficient 29" wheels, it's available in three sizes for good fit and would feel taller and larger for riders with long legs but still fits some shorter riders given the angled top tube. Quick release for both wheels ads convenience for fixes and transporting the bike, I love…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fully loaded urban electric bicycle with great accessories for commuting including an aluminum rear rack, full length fenders with mud flaps and integrated LED lights. Relatively light weight at under 50 lbs, this is due in part to the nicer…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS Enduro 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An enduro style full suspension electric mountain bike with longer 160 mm suspension travel, seat post dropper, 27.5" wheelset and premium hydraulic brakes. Downtube-integrated battery pack is out of sight and keeps weight low and centered across the…...


PDieter
1 year ago

Court, I suspect that you don’t want to charge that battery with either port… I suspect the BMS only protects one side. I’m basing this on the experience that if your bms goes out you can reverse charge a battery still by rigging a cord for the other port.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hmm, interesting feedback! Thanks for chiming in. I might have gotten some incorrect information or just misspoke. Would be good to confirm this with a dealer or as you suggest, just use the charging port that is exposed when mounted to the bike. That one is clearly going to work :)

Reply
Charging Brose Batteries
12 months ago

You are able to charge from either port.

Reply
Court Rye
12 months ago

Awesome, thanks for sharing your feedback on this :)

Pdieter
1 year ago

A little semantic help for you on the “affordable” stumble; it’s a “good value”. Keep up the good work.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Right… thanks, I do my best but there’s lots of room for improvement. I suppose that being around $5k+ ebikes regularly has had an influence on me and my language isn’t always on target (I do a little bit of editing before posting videos and stuff like this usually gets a second consideration). Here on the site I’ve got an “affordable” category that’s more rigid, the bikes have to be in the $1,500 range which I hope truly is “affordable” and not just “good value” ;)

Reply
Adam @ BULLS eBIKES
12 months ago

Hey Court,

Great review, as always! A couple updates and information bits that pertain to all the BULLS Brose mid-drive eBIKES.

  1. New software updates for Brose include a “wake” function, which means the bike can be turned on and off at the handlebar display control, in addition to the downtube.
  2. Which I mentioned in a previous reply is that the battery can be charged from either port. As you correctly assert, one plugs into the bike while inserted. The other allows charging to occur while inserted.
  3. The key is not necessary for reinstalling the battery, as long as the lever is in the open position. Typically this would be when the greatest risk for getting the key stuck or broken off would be.

Hope this helps clarify.
-Adam

Reply
Court Rye
12 months ago

This is very helpful Adam, thanks for chiming in as an official source and clarifying. I’ll keep this in mind for future Bulls reviews and welcome you to join in on the EBR forums and any future comments here :)

Reply
Adam
12 months ago

You bet Court. I’m trying to keep an eye on the forums. Lots of great questions and helpful feedback.

Reply
Court Rye
12 months ago

Really appreciate you Adam!

Reply
Rusty
12 months ago

Court, Your review of the Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 was most informative. I am a newbie to ebikes, and trying to learn all I can. Your technical reports are a big help in teaching us about the pros and cons about the different ebikes. My wife and I are senior citizens in our seventies, and I believe the Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 seems to be the bike for us. We will be riding where there are some long grades in the high country. Question: If need be, can it be ridden with motor power only, or does it require some constant peddling? Keep up the good work. Regards, Rusty

Reply
Court Rye
12 months ago

Hi Rusty! I sure do like the Bulls Lacuba E8 but it does require constant pedaling because it’s a Class 1 Pedal Assist bike vs. Class 2 which has throttle. BionX makes an excellent line of motors that have a throttle mode and you can buy them pre-installed on bikes from OHM and others, check out the OHM Urban XU700 here. It’s an awesome bike with the same step-thru frame… the company offers a good warranty and is a bit bigger and more reliable than some. Biria also makes a deep step-thru with the BionX system and I just finished reviewing theirs here. I hope this helps you out, sounds like you and your wife will have a great timeout there on bikes again and the electric motor should help flatten those hills ;)

Reply
Sanford Simmons
10 months ago

Your written write up states the Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 2017 has a 350 watt motor. Is that true or is it a 250 Watt motor?

Reply
Court Rye
10 months ago

Hi Sanford, great catch and I do apologize for the inconsistency between my writeup vs. the specs, I’ve fixed it! In short, the motor ranges from 250 to about 530 watts depending on power level selected and the signals being sent (pedal torque and speed). I think I made this error because the Brose system reminds me of Bosch in many ways which officially says 350 watts nominal but they use the exact same hardware as in Europe where it’s rated 250 nominal. Sometimes I feel like it’s marketing more than reality given the range of power possibilities. Hope this helps! The Lacuba is a solid choice but there are other drive systems out there worth exploring if you’re concerned :)

Reply
William Hamilton
9 months ago

Hi Court. I live in a level area near the beach. I want to take advantage of a new bike right of way along side a new light rail extension very close to home. Should I therefore avoid 28 mph ebikes? I’m 68 yrs. old and am also a bit concerned about crashing while going 28…I test rode a 28 mph model recently and it did seem a little hairy going that fast along side traffic on regular streets. Do folks regret gettiing a 20 mph model such as this model Lacuba after they’ve become accustomed to riding an ebike and then wishing they bought a faster model? I’ve enjoyed your reviews very much. Thank you for any comments.

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Hi William! I have only ever owned 20 mph ebikes myself and never felt like I was missing out. For me it’s important to blend in, avoid breaking any rules (since I’m kind of a public figure) and be an ambassador for the space. I still really enjoy riding my unpowered bicycle and feel like that can be fast! If you’re someone who loves speed, needs to get to your destination as fast as possible or want to gain respect from cars (some people feel like if they ride the same speed as cars they aren’t challenged as much) then speed pedelec might be the way to go. I think it makes the most sense for people who ride on the shoulders of streets… You can ride them slower btw, it’s not like it forces you to hit the top speed. I just tend to get Class 1 ebikes since they are more plentiful and I ride on bike paths and occasional mountain trails. Hope this helps!

Reply
William Hamilton
9 months ago

Thank you for your remarks. Keep up the good work.

Albin Larsson
8 months ago

Hi Court, great review as always. I really enjoy your reviews on ebikes, you’ve helped me a lot learning about them and I’m gonna buy my first ebike this summer, it’s looking like it might be this one! I just have one question first. How are the gears on this bike when pedalling without electric assistance? Maybe you could give a comparison to another ebike and a regular bike? I don’t have a place where I can try this model out and I’m probably gonna be biking a bit without electric assistance as well so I’d like it to be at least decent. Thanks in advance! /Albin

Reply
Court Rye
8 months ago

Hi Albin, the eight-speed internally geared hub doesn’t shift as fast and hard as many traditional derailleur sprocket combinations but it won’t mash, come out of tune or get as dirty either. At ~56 lbs, this isn’t one of the lighter ebikes but it’s also not bad considering you get fenderd, rack and a suspension fork… if you added those options to another ebike it would probably weigh similar if it had similar specs. I really like the Lacuba EVO E8 and appreciate belt drive systems in general. The belt doesn’t bounce around or come off as easily and you with that eight speed, you can definitely pedal the bike unpowered just fine, the tires are efficient and the fork locks out if it is bobbing up and down and you want to conserve as much pedal efficiency as possible. I hope this helps to answer your question, I realize test riding before buying would be ideal but this is a high quality product. If it fits your budget and delivers the features you want then I think you’ll be happy with it. The Brose drive system is awesome and I like how clean the battery integration is here.

Reply
Johnny Fixit
4 months ago

Hi Court,

This is my leading choice. I am intending to do long distance touring. My current bike is what you call a mid-step frame. With the mid-step, on days where I am on and off the bike a lot, I sometimes get hip pain. Do you think the wave model has too much flex for a long distance tourer? (Rider + Gear = 250lbs+)

Also in comparison to the Bulls Cross E with the Bosch system, would you still rank this as a good value? Do you think there’s enough to justify the additional cost of the Lacuba Evo 8 for a tourer?

Thanks.
Johnny

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Johnny, I think both could work well and although there’s sure to be a bit of frame flex, it’s not a deal killer at all. They are designed with balanced battery positions (even the rear rack battery on the Cross E). The battery capacity on the Lacuba EVO E8 is greater and I think Bulls is smoother and maybe more efficient thank Bosch in this case? If you go for the Cross E, I’d probably recommend getting a second battery pack. Depending on how far you plan on going, definitely bring your charger with and both have faster chargers (Bosch 4 Amp and Brose 5 Amp here). I think your interest in the Lacuba Evo E8 is spot on and would probably be my first choice given what you shared. I’d love to hear back about your real-world experience if you go this direction!

Reply
Alberto Orchansky
4 months ago

I sent this mail to BULLS and to the dealer and wanted to share here as well:

I bought an LACUBA EVO E8 WAVE from Citrus Cycle, Kelly Demoline, Ladysmith, BC, Canada on May 31, 2017. The choice of this model was due to my physical conditions. A few years ago I had an accident suffering serious injuries in my neck. As a consequence, my neck is fused, limiting my head movement. I have been an active bicycle rider, both mountain, and road- all my life, but since the accident, I was not able to get back to riding anyone.

Meeting Kelly Dmoline from Citrus Cycles changed all this once he introduced me the EVO E8 Wave. Its riding position was just perfect for me, absolutely comfortable and the pedal-assisted feature made possible for me to get back safely to the road.

Unfortunately, and just within a couple of days, I had a terrifying and literally life threatening experience. While ‘testing’ the bike downhill on a paved road, reaching about 40 k/h (not pedaling) the bike started to wobble violently. Only thanks to the experience I have riding bicycles I was able to stop it safely.

The experience was so shocking that I immediately contacted Kelly Demoline, having decided to return the bike. He was very surprised about the issue but, without hesitation, was ready to take the bike back.

Overnight I thought about it, about how much the bike was going to give me back to my life, that I decided to keep it with the condition I set to myself to never get to 40 km/h again.

However, the problem subsisted at different speeds, 30, 25, 20 km/k and so. I kept trying to figure out what may be out of line to induce such a behavior. I have the bike checked in a bike shop without finding anything abnormal. All they did was to adjust the suspension fork pressure for my weight, 200 lbs. Finally, today August 15, 2017, with the odometer at 179 km I was able to induce and reproduce the problem myself AT ANY SPEED.

Riding the bike on a paved road with enough grade to force the bike to increase its speed, WITHOUT PEDALING, once reaching about 15 km/h start jiggling the handlebar left-right right-left quite fast. The movement will induce a wobble on the front end that will rapidly be transferred, amplified to the back, reaching its maximum where most of the weight is concentrated. I tend to think the weight and location of the battery are crucial components in this wave resonance / dynamic amplification problem.

The meaning of this is that just a pebble, pothole or any irregularity on the road may lead to a ‘handlebar jiggle’, inducing the wobbling effect AT ANY SPEED. That’s exactly why it happens to me so many times and at different speeds. I understand the problem is magnified due to the typical riding position of an urban type bike, where there is limited rider’s weight on the handlebars.

Another situation associated with the weight on the handlebars is when making a traffic signal: a single hand on the handlebar and very little control upon the jiggling/wobbling effect with the other hand.

To summarize, I do not believe there is nothing technically wrong or defective with my particular bicycle. However, I strongly believe there is a conceptual flaw in the design of this particular model, making it unsafe to ride it to the point that it should be discontinued and a recall issued.

Sincerely,

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Thanks for sharing your thoughts, the steps you took, and how you were able to recreate speed wobble on the BULLS Lacuba EVO E8. I have experienced this phenomenon, or something similar to it, on many ebikes that have rear-rack batteries such as the MOAR eBikes 24/7 prototype. It can indeed be uncomfortable and perhaps even unsafe depending on how you ride. I think it has to do in part with the bike setup but also the rider weight distribution. The Lacuba EVO E8 offers lots of adjustability at the stem and seat-tube… plus, it comes in three styles (high-step, mid-step, and wave). There are probably specific size/style/geometry setups that are more susceptible to speed wobble and perhaps the bars can be sensitive with those setups and at certain speeds due to resonance, but the demo bike felt decent to me. I’m not sure this warrants a recall but I would advise you and anyone who rides the bike (or any bike) to really get to know how it handles and ride safety with protective gear. By the way, speed wobble can also happen on skateboards with looser trucks (especially at speed), I think that tightening your suspension probably helped… I’d be interested in the frame size, style, and your weight to help others who might be considering this bike.

Reply
Alberto Orchansky
4 months ago

Thanks for your comments. I am very happy I got involved in this forum. I wish the circumstances would’ve’ been having a different tone. The Lacuba I have is the Wave model. This model has the lowest ‘step-through’ of any model. Due to my physical limitations, I cannot ‘mount’ a bike, a horse, donkey, motorcycle, or anything that requires ‘mounting’.

Buying this bike/model was a long process since I wanted to actually try it and compare with other brands/models. What I mean by ‘to try it’ is actually to ride it for a couple of hours or so, to get a true feeling of it. This was not done in a ‘city kind of environment around the block from the store’, but a place with hills, rolling roads and so. I fel in love with its comfort. It was exactly the kind of design for me: I can ride it like you ride an ‘urban bike’, perfectly sit with my spine perpendicular to the ground. With such a configuration, naturally, there is very little weight/force on the handlebars. I didn’t need to modify and/or adjust the bike for some awkward position. I am riding it the way it is supposed to be ridden.

I am 5’7″. Yes, I recognize, I could be lighter but it’s within the specs of the bike. I didn’t mention this before but just minutes after my first ‘wobble encounter’, I took the bike to a highly recognized bike shop. I live in a very particular place, on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. Mountain biking is VERY sophisticated here all year, and those guys work only with mountain bikes. The first thing they saw was my terrified face, the only one I could’ve to have after being so close to smashing 260 lbs at 30 miles/h against a boulder or a tree (no difference). Then they looked at my bike and both mechanics said: no wonders you didn’t get killed already with that *sh&%@y* fork. Well…, I became quite disappointed. Having paid a fortune for this bike I thought the components were equivalent -kind of- to having a Porsche class bike. True, just a Bosxter, but a Porsche nevertheless. Then I started to look at all the other components and, frankly, they are quite low-level. So what did I pay for? a battery? technology? Wobbling excitement?

Cheers,
Alberto

James Sagerser
4 months ago

Hi Court, Thanks for the excellent review as always. My wife and I are proud owners of a High-Step (58 cm) and a Wave (50 cm) as of 10 days ago. They are really fantastic bikes. I am 68 years old, 6’2″, and 203 lbs and the wife is 67, 5’6″ and 180 lbs (shhh). We’ve ridden them with lots of assist since we like to cover more trails and enjoy peddling but don’t want to effort up the numerous hills in the Denver area.

On flat ground with slight inclines here and there, we found level 2 and gear 6 makes it feel like we on a slight down grade all the time. Up the steepest hills, we use level 4 (now has “0” and 4 levels of assist) and 3rd or 4th gear so we don’t effort at all. Really, really fun!! I know it’s not healthy to fully drain even a Lithium-ion battery but I wanted to use mine until it quit to see what kind of mileage we would get given our moderate assist riding averaging 8-10 mph. At 47.5 miles, the final bar of battery charge started flashing and at 48.5 miles the assist quit. That was quite impressive considering about 10% of the driving was on a gravel/dirt canal trail.

We added a basket on the back of my bike so we could take our 15 lb mutt. He enjoys it as much as we do. Just a note; I rode my wife’s “Wave” model bike trying to induce the wobble mentioned above and could not replicate it. I personally don’t see an issue. It worked flawlessly. We’ve change the seats out for 2, more age appropriate, softer and wider seats plus have ordered 2 Thudbuster suspension seat posts (short travel). They will be here in a few days.

Here’s what we like best about our new bikes:

  1. They don’t look or sound like an E-bike so we go anywhere we want without issue so far.
  2. Very, very quite especially with the belt drive. In fact, we can’t hear any noise going 8-10 mph in assist level 2 and gear 6. More quite than a regular bike with a chain.
  3. Mid-motor drives mean greater range than a hub motor plus it has large battery capacity (647wh).
  4. The gears are leveraged with a mid-motor drive so we can climb amazingly steep hills in the lower gears without straining the motor. Very nice when we ride the trail from Dillon to Aspen uphill then coast back.
  5. Fast charging time with the 5 Amp charger that was standard equipment (instead of the usual 2 Amp).
  6. Better warranty than with other bikes we were considering.

Safe biking! Jim

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Wow, what a fantastic overview James! You included all of the relevant details about body weight, model type and size, and even your age. This is incredibly helpful and useful. I grew up in Colorado and can just imagine you and your wife out there having a blast together in the beautiful mountains and sunshine. Thank you so much for this feedback and the list of things you appreciate about the Lacuba EVO E8, it means a lot to me and other readers I’m sure :)

Reply
Tom Pynenberg
4 months ago

I bought the diamond frame 53cm Lacuba evo 8 two weeks ago and have ridden 75 miles so far. The things i love are the battery range, assist levels, very clean machine, quiet, and might i add good looking. I am 66 years old and weigh 250#. This is the 5th ebike I’ve owned. The first one i bought a kit and transformed my tadpole trike. Then a cargo bike that just did not work out. After that 2 easy motion bikes that were really nice. (neo cross and evo city) I wanted this bike for the range because I was tired of recharging the battery every other day as I use the bike like a car.

Had the bike up to 32mph with no vibration problem. The only complaint so far is that little battery release knob that traps my pant leg and requires me to roll up my cuff prior to a ride. I also switched out the seat for a firmer smaller seat. Oh, I forgot to mention the lights and control system. They are great.

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Tom, thanks for the wonderful update on your Lacuba EVO E8! You sound like quite the ebike fan, very experienced and full of good information. That point about snagging your pants on the battery release lever is a good one. I have experienced similar things with quick release levers and bottle cage adapters… it’s frustrating. I feel that the battery interface from Bulls for the Brose battery design could be improved, like the charging port cover rubber thing, it just doesn’t seat as well as some other designs from competing companies. Anyway, I’m glad you like the bike, thank you for sharing your range and including your age and weight, I’m sure it will help others who are also considering the bike :D

Reply
Lou
3 months ago

Having a very tough time choosing between the EVO E8 and the Cross Lite E. I ride in Chicago, usually along the lake front path, 10 miles to work each day. Some days, the wind is a bit much, but the ride is almost entirely flat. I’d guess either the Cross Lite or the EVO will get the job done, but do you have a preference for either? The belt drive associate with Brose sounds like it might be a better option for inclement weather, and salty streets during wintertime, but I can’t really tell from the photos which cycle will be easier to keep clean and maintain. Any advice?

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Lou! The Cross Lite E is going to be sportier, the body geometry and even the saddle are setup to make your body slightly more aerodynamic vs. upright. I love the Bosch drive system and especially appreciate how well the battery and motor are integrated on the Cross Lite E but the battery capacity is smaller, the motor is going to be louder and zippier feeling, and you won’t be able to angle that stem up if you want to. One consideration is the 7 lb weight difference, if you need to lift it, the Lacuba is heavier and does not have two quick release wheels. I would buy the Cross Lite E for myself, I don’t care that much about belt drives… but you make a great point that it will be quieter, require less maintenance, and probably fare well in cold wet environments. I think both models could work for you but I’d probably choose based on body position and availability of the right size. I hope this helps you out!

Reply
Lou
3 months ago

Thanks Court, this is very helpful!

M AFREN
3 months ago

Hi Court. I was told by a very reliable source who is in the know that there’s something seriously wrong with the belt on this model. Something about incorrect length which causes the belt to snap well before it’s meant to do so. The manufacturer is apparently addressing the issue with their 2018 model of this bike. Furthermore, the position of the battery lock/key for the 2018 Bulls ebikes have been moved so no danger of them sheering off by accident.

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Thanks for the update! I’m glad they are making the necessary adjustments to improve the lock/key setup and while I didn’t experience the belt orientation issue you describe, I appreciate the insight and hope it’s not impacting too many riders :/

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

e-boy
1 day ago

Dave i dont have the bulls lacuba but rode it at a shop, it ROCKS

Very cool bike, if i could get 3 inch tires on it would buy it right away!!

I am adamant about plus or fat tires on my bikes or it would have come home with me lol

I also test rode the Lacuba ; like it a lot . Very comfortable .
Vincent , I also prefer wider tires (but not fat) on a bike .
Which eBikes with wider , but not fat tires do you like ?

Ravi Kempaiah
2 months ago

Hi all, I am trying to narrow down the choices for a solid commuter and would greatly appreciate any input.

We had the opportunity to test ride BULLS six50 e2 street and lacuba e45 side by side, and they are both fantastic rides. From a brief test ride in a suburb they seem more or less equivalent, and spec-wise they are also similar. Do any of you have a word to put in for either?

These two bikes feel premium, and go for around $4k. My next question is if anyone had the opportunity to test ride any bike with similar characteristics (28mph, suspension) in a slightly lower segment, say $2.5-$3k, and have an opinion on the marginal value of the last $1000 invested?

For the record my commute is ~10mi one way, a few hundred feet up and down, paved but not super smooth. I do it on road bike, but want to save some time, my knees, and not be sweaty every day. I am willing to invest in a good commute, but I am really curious about what those last $1000 buys.

Thanks!

Lacuba E45 has a much bigger battery (650 vs 500 on the E2 street).
I would recommend the E2 street. You could make it ~50lbs if you change the front forks. You could run 12V Supernova M99 lights and you could carry an extra 400 or 500 powerpacks.
You could also look at Trek Xm700+ https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/electric-bikes/xm700/xm700/p/1982140-2018/?colorCode=black

jonase
2 months ago

Hi all, I am trying to narrow down the choices for a solid commuter and would greatly appreciate any input.

We had the opportunity to test ride BULLS six50 e2 street and lacuba e45 side by side, and they are both fantastic rides. From a brief test ride in a suburb they seem more or less equivalent, and spec-wise they are also similar. Do any of you have a word to put in for either?

These two bikes feel premium, and go for around $4k. My next question is if anyone had the opportunity to test ride any bike with similar characteristics (28mph, suspension) in a slightly lower segment, say $2.5-$3k, and have an opinion on the marginal value of the last $1000 invested?

For the record my commute is ~10mi one way, a few hundred feet up and down, paved but not super smooth. I do it on road bike, but want to save some time, my knees, and not be sweaty every day. I am willing to invest in a good commute, but I am really curious about what those last $1000 buys.

Thanks!

Tom P
3 months ago

Hello folks, I bought a lacuba evo8 belt drive. So if the belt breaks, that's it. So I wanted info on where to get a belt and what belt to order. For whatever reason, there is no reply from Bulls USA or the German website. How do I get in touch with tech support?
Odometer reads 250 and I really enjoy this bike! Only one small glitch. The assist sometimes kicks out after a slight bump. Suspect a loose connection and was wondering if I should tighten the battery lock up height or lower the connection fitting?

Ravi Kempaiah
3 months ago

My friend @Rindy has had so many problems with her Cross Current. Assist cutting out, spokes breaking etc.
She decided to trader her bike in and upgrade to BULLS Lacuba E45. While no one bike is perfect, it would be better for Juiced bikes to improve their wheel and spokes quality.

MikeBCO
3 months ago

Hi. I just joined the forum. I have been used this site extensively to research e-bikes. What a fantastic resource...., kudos and thanks to Court Rye. I'm an avid mountain biker and casual road-biker. My limited road biking is on cross bike which I use mainly for training when I cant get onto the trails. We also have a pair of 14 year old MTB/Cruiser hybrids which have served us well although they are now on their last legs.

My wife and I have just sprung for a pair of BULLS Lacuba EVO E45's after watching and reading many dozens of reviews and taking two short-listed bikes for a test-ride. We plan to use these new steeds for transportation (we both work from home so no to-work commuting) and touring. We are excited at the prospect of owning e-bikes and all the benefits they will provide.

Andy_in_CA
3 months ago

one of these[/URL] Stem Risers, instead of replacing the stem? Having a higher stem would definitely make it more upright/city bike, which is something I loved about the Bulls Lacuba Evo e8.

I think i'm good for now... I don't want to make any more changes and see how it goes...but thanks for the link. I didn't know those things existed. I'll give it a shot if the neck starts giving me trouble.

A

Nicknick
3 months ago

I really like your lights and bag. Do you have some links to those?

Maybe you can raise the stem with one of these Stem Risers, instead of replacing the stem? Having a higher stem would definitely make it more upright/city bike, which is something I loved about the Bulls Lacuba Evo e8.

Nicknick
3 months ago

Received mine (standard battery, Schwalbe tire upgrade). These are my first impressions.

Building the bike

Putting it together was relatively easy using the videos on the juiced site. It's a heavy bike so having someone help while you put on the front tire is nice. Anyone who is comfortable with some basic tools can do this. Don’t forget to tighten the steering.
The front fender and headlight will be added later when Juiced ships the missing parts (in a few days). UPDATE: I put these on, was doable. Headlight is super bright, but does not have any "to the side" visibility like some other headlights do.
I expected this to have a battery operated rear light, but it seems to be a reflector. UPDATE: It has a tiny light in the box. I ordered the Sweethome rec instead which is about 500x more bright.

The good

First of all: this bike looks AWESOME. It is sooo cool. And it looks like a cool bike, not an eBike. The battery design and not having a mid-drive motor helps with that.
All parts you touch feel like high quality. Saddle, shifter, handles, rear rack, bike standard, it's super solid.
Size is perfect for me, so the Juiced size guide seems spot on.
Tires are super wide compared to my regular hybrid bike. They are comfortable, but not as "precise". Great for dealing with potholes, but it'd make me hesitant to get something like the Hyperfat which must have zero “cornering feel".
The brakes are INSANE. So powerful. I've never had disc brakes before, so maybe that's why, but it's easy to skid the tire even though the combined weight of me+bike is like 250lbs.
There is a lot of power. On a straight road I really doubt I’d go above level 2 (levels are ECO,1,2,3,sport). In sport mode I’m flying by everyone at 28mph before I know it. However, I went to find a super steep San Francisco hill (like 25%+) and even in sport mode I’m pedaling hard to help it get up to 10mph, and the throttle does nothing. These are kind of rare hills and on my regular bike I’d have to get off and walk, so I sort of doubt any eBike could do much there. Even electric scooters seem powerless against these hills. UPDATE: I took it up to Twin Peaks (SF tallest point), was doable, though I was still pretty sweaty when I got up there.
The throttle+pedal combo to get a boost when leaving a stoplight is nice. But generally I end up not using the throttle on its own, it just doesn’t give you enough to get that “wheeeeeeee!” feeling, its more fun to pedal and get the boost from that.
No regen, which is awesome. Regenerative braking ruins easy coasting, which the most fun part of biking. :)
You can easily ride this bike with a dead battery. I rode it for a bit while it was turned off, and even though its heavy it would be fine to ride this home for a few miles.

Things Juiced could do in future CrossCurrent S models to make it even better

Putting the battery in is kind of hard. You really need to push it hard while holding the key in "open" position and it feels like more of a hassle than it should be, especially since I’ll be having to do this multiple times a week to charge it. I might try to find a way to make this easier (maybe WD40?).

UPDATE: I think I was doing this wrong. I checked out the EBR review video which has come out since I wrote this review and it actually clicks in without using the key. It needs a bit of muscle but it's no longer a hassle.

I used “walk mode” to get my bike up the stairs. You have to hold the minus button for a while to enable it, which means you just have to stand there for a few seconds with the brakes on so it doesn’t roll back. You also have to hold that button to keep it active, which means that if you let it go, you need to wait a few seconds again to get going. It would have been better if walk mode just put a 5pmh limit on the throttle (which gives you direct power).
AFAIK there is no way to have the light (screen backlight+headlight) on by default. I wish it was “always on” when the bike is on, because there is only upside to more visibility, even during the day. Most new cars are this way too.
There is a short jerky feel in the pedals when you go from peddling to coasting and you move the pedals a bit backwards. It’s like the motor isn’t sure whether to help you or not. Not super bothersome though.
Bell, chain guard, integrated rear light would be nice.

Nice-to-have’s I’d pay extra for:

Frame lock (euro style) for quick stops at the store.
Rear rack strong enough to carry a person.
An anti-theft security code to turn on the bike (maybe have the motor lock the rear wheel without it).
For juiced to put on the Schwalbe tires for me (they did for me as I ordered early, but no longer do this, so you'll have to take it to a LBS to get them put on).

Summary

I'm no expert, so I don’t have a ton to compare this to, but I’ve tried a bunch of other eBikes. Short rides on a Haibike, Gazelle, Stromer ST1 and a longer ride on a Bulls Lacuba Evo 8. The Bulls is the only bike I would consider a similarly great commuting alternative (though its not a speed pedelec), which feels a bit more smooth and has some higher quality parts, but it is $4000, which makes this Juiced CCS a fantastic deal at well under 2k. It would still be a great deal at $2500+ actually.

This bike is great and I'd for Juiced to do well. Looking at the forum comments here they could probably do a bit more “underpromise and overdeliver”, i.e., tell your customers to expect the bike in October, so September comes as a nice surprise. But even then, some people will never be pleased. :)

I’ll update this review in a month or so when I get some more miles on it. But in the meanwhile I’ve ordered one for my wife as well.

UPDATE after 100+ miles: definitely love this bike. I'm excited to ride it every day on my commute. I'm surprised how often I go over 20mph. I didn't expect to care this much, but at this point I'd definitely not buy anything that is not a 28mph speed pedelec. I'm also totally happy with the amount of power. It's rare (few super steep hills) that I wish it had more.
The only thing that is bothersome to me at this point is the weight. With the added u-lock I mounted on, I'm guessing we're at 60lbs+. It's no problem at all when biking, but using any ceiling hook style bike racks, or hauling it up stairs, is a hassle. That said, I'm not sure how much less of a hassle it would be at 50lbs or even 40lbs. And with bikes below that weight you're getting into the Faraday style, which is super entry-level on power and battery. So maybe this is just part of eBike life. :)

TLDR: I love this thing. Would buy again in a heartbeat.

little bee
3 months ago

Stromers were nice
I like the Gates belt drive no maintenace and no derailer
Our Bulls climb hills at 15+ mph
They are up to the task
If you spend some time reading about these motors its about dc voltage and torque, so thebest hill climbers are the mountain ebikes
we werent going to be going crazy on mountain trails so I stayed with a more hybrid style
You should be able to rent an ebike for a day and give it a real test
Hi Art, I think the Bulls Lacuba is my favorite so far. thanks for sharing your experience.

art newcomer
3 months ago

Thanks Art - good to hear from you!

I tried out a few bikes yesterday -- the Bulls Lacuba EVO E8 (is this the bike your wife has?), a Stromer platinum, and a Raleigh Redux. I'm curious what you think about the belt drive as opposed to the chain? and how does the Bulls Lacuba fare on the hills in Colorado? The shops only let us ride around in a flat parking lot. Did you try Stromers? Were there any other bikes that you felt were contenders?
Stromers were nice
I like the Gates belt drive no maintenace and no derailer
Our Bulls climb hills at 15+ mph
They are up to the task
If you spend some time reading about these motors its about dc voltage and torque, so thebest hill climbers are the mountain ebikes
we werent going to be going crazy on mountain trails so I stayed with a more hybrid style
You should be able to rent an ebike for a day and give it a real test

little bee
3 months ago

Thanks Art - good to hear from you!

I tried out a few bikes yesterday -- the Bulls Lacuba EVO E8 (is this the bike your wife has?), a Stromer platinum, and a Raleigh Redux. I'm curious what you think about the belt drive as opposed to the chain? and how does the Bulls Lacuba fare on the hills in Colorado? The shops only let us ride around in a flat parking lot. Did you try Stromers? Were there any other bikes that you felt were contenders?

art newcomer
3 months ago

I live in Vermont - every way to bike is up or down steep hills. I'm looking for a high quality e-bike for road use, touring, and commuting around town. It needs to go on paved and dirt roads but not rough off-road terrain. I would like the bike to be comfortable; I'm not a racer so no need for the position to be way over the front of the bike. I'd like to transport the bike to ride other places (so will need a hitch and bike rack for a Prius if there are suggestions for that as well) - so I'm thinking the bike shouldn't be too heavy. I'd like good range for touring. I'd like the battery concealed. I rarely change my gears on a 10 speed so would prefer no gears or few gears. I would like a step through. I'm imagining I will need to pay 2,500-3,500 for what I'm hoping for. VW is buying back my TDI so will have some unexpected cash.

I would love to hear from anyone with suggestions of ebikes. I will start looking tomorrow in the Boston and NH area.

Thanks!!

First, here are two sites you should visit
https://electricbikereview.com/
and
http://propelbikes.com/shop/

I live in Colorado, and we have some good sized hills. I bought my wife the Bulls Lacuba EVo8 with the wave frame and I got the men's frame
They are rugged bikes, the tires are best suited for hard surfaces.
Almost every eBike weighs over 40 lbs, but there are car carriers that hold the bike from the bottom, rather that from the top frame.
Get disc brakes and front shock...that immediately filters out cheaper designs and it well worth it

Hope this helps
Art

PhilRW
3 months ago

Update: I've posted pictures and updated the review here.

I had test ridden and researched quite a few ebikes lately in search for a bike that had most (if not all) of the following specs (much like scrambler's thread):

mid-drive, class 1
traditional high-step frame for extra stability
upright seating posture for comfort, keep weight off my hands as much as possible
front suspension
hydraulic disc brakes
NuVinci transmission with Harmony or H|Sync automatic shifting
Gates belt drive for long term durability, quiet/smooth, and (potentially) lower long-term maintenance
integrated light(s), if possible

I happened across a 2016 Tempo Carmel at a small local bike shop and gave it a test ride. I wasn't expecting or even looking for the bike, but there it was. And it was a lot of fun. After testing out a few more bikes, I decided the Carmel was the bike for me, so I purchased it for what I felt was a very good price and rode it 11 miles home, the last couple up a relatively long hill. Google Maps says it's 262 feet over 1.5 miles, which makes it a 3.3% grade. I currently weigh 98 kg and I was carrying at least 5 kg on my back. For the steepest part of the hill (4.8% grade over 0.4 miles), the bike kept up a solid 7 mph in maximum assist. I am 5'10" and the large/48cm frame fits me nicely. Granted, I still had to work, too, but it didn't kill me and I'm not in great shape (yet). I wasn't sweaty by the top of the hill.

I believe the motor is the MPF 6c, which the spec sheet says is 75 Nm of torque and 250 W nominal, 500W peak. The motor itself is incredibly responsive and quiet, about as quiet as the Brose motor on the Bulls Lacuba Evo E8 I tried. I believe it might be limited to the international 25kph standard? (More ride research is needed here.) The bike doesn't have brake inhibiters but doesn't need them because the motor stops a fraction of a second after you stop pedaling. Also, the belt drive makes this bike very quiet and smooth. Honestly I couldn't hear the bike that much at all working up the hill in 100% assist mode. The motor was responsive enough to highlight my own faults as a cyclist: inconsistent delivery of power to the pedals. I'll get better over time. :)

The bike came with the N360 hub and the 3-button base controller (H3). The preprogrammed cadence speeds are approximately 40, 55, and 70 rpm (see here for more details on the system). I have not tried a bike with the advanced controller yet (H8), but so far I am happy with the three speeds. I might eventually change out the controller. I typically stayed with the middle 55-rpm mode and was pleasantly surprised how steady my cadence was. One time after I decelerated more rapidly than normal, I started pedaling again and was in a much "lower gear," or faster cadence, than I expected. I think I fooled the controller into believing I was going to come to a complete stop. It quickly recovered. Since I had several stops and intersections on my route home, I was glad not to have to constantly shift down. In fact, It was nice not thinking much about shifting at all, and even though I am totally capable of managing that part of the ride, I was able to spend my mental energy elsewhere.

The handling of the Tempo was quite nice on dry pavement and I felt more confident with this bike than my previous bikes (of course, that's not saying much given my previous models). It corners nicely and is stable at 30+ mph downhill. The tires have a nice hybrid tread pattern for pavement and packed gravel trails, and they have a reflective sidewall as well.

On to the controls: There is a five-button controller near the left grip with +, -, light, mode, and walk. The MPF-branded computer doesn't give an estimated range remaining display, but it does have odometer, trip distance, trip time, average speed, max speed, and clock. Always on the display, from left to right, are assist level (10 levels!), speed, cadence rpm, and 5-segment battery meter. There is a backlight and a micro-USB port on the controller, and the only button on the display unit is the power button. It is detachable and has its own coin cell backup power supply.

There are hydraulic disc brakes on both wheels and the front light is wired into the controller and runs off of the main battery. The rear light is battery powered and only blinks (at least I can't get it to do anything else). It's probably more energy efficient to blink a battery-powered LED anyway. Walk mode works by holding down the dedicated walk button. There are the typical bosses for fenders and racks, although it might be tough fitting a fender to the front fork since there is little clearance between it and the tire. Also, the front suspension is a single-spring system with pretension adjustment and no lock-out. I figure it's fine for my purposes and may even be more reliable long-term than a more sophisticated dual-piston system. The seat post also has suspension on it. I found myself sinking into it after riding for a while. Maybe there's an adjustment on it, I'll have to look.

My other top contenders were the Felt Verza E 10, the Bulls Lacuba Evo E8, and the Wallerang. The Felt uses the Bosch system and both the local dealers that I tried were having trouble with some of the the display/head units. The Bulls is a nice bike but I really wanted the NuVinci automatic shifting for a truly brain-dead biking experience. :) Also the Wallerang Di2 auto-shifting with the Alfine 8 was really cool.

Please ask away any question(s) you may have about this bike! I'm excited to have a more modern and responsive ebike. My last one is/was a Currie eZip Trailz that I converted from SLA to Lithium.

1/1
Alberto Orchansky
4 months ago

If the problem is not resolved after they did all the "tightening" of the ebike's integrity, then you have to get your money back! The problem is real and if they don't acknowledge it then go to the media, make a lot of noise. After that, fight it in court as a defective product. I don't know if lemon law also applies to ebikes. Make sure you video the actual shimmy from different angles so we can watch it at youtube.

This morning I had the bike checked -again- at a different bike shop. The third inspection and in this case, to get another independent opinion.
They were NOT able to find anything out of order, including checking the torque on everything 'torquable' and particularly in reference to Bull's last request, to have the front spokes checked.

I am NOT blaming anybody but myself. However, one of the main considerations for the selection was the fact that it was rated as the Number 1 by EBR in Best City Electric Bikes for 2016/2017 category And yes, I rode it, I compared it with other bikes and this one was by far the one that, for me, offered the best riding position given my physical limitations.

I posted the same letter that initiated this thread on EBR review. I got a response from the reviewer that, to make it short, I am not quoting here (you can see it in the review). However, I am quoting here a paragraph from my response to the reviewer:

..... I didn’t mention this before but just minutes after my first ‘wobble encounter’, I took the bike to a highly recognized bike shop. I live in a very particular place, on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. Mountain biking is VERY sophisticated here all year, and those guys work only with mountain bikes. The first thing they saw was my terrified face, the only one I could’ve to have after being so close to smashing 260 lbs at 30 miles/h against a boulder or a tree (no difference). Then they looked at my bike and both mechanics said: no wonders you didn’t get killed already with that *sh&%@y* fork. Well…, I became quite disappointed. Having paid a fortune for this bike I thought the components were equivalent -kind of- to having a Porsche class bike. True, just a Boxster, but a Porsche nevertheless. Then, I started to look at all the other components and, frankly, they are quite low-level. So what did I pay for? a battery? technology? Wobbling excitement?

I appreciate your comment and suggestions, and this is precisely the reason of why I initiated this thread in this forum and the title I gave to it: "RECALL and DISCONTINUE LACUBA EVO E8 WAVE"

I am packing the bike and shipping it back to the vendor. I'll keep you posted.

Cheers,

Alberto

Alberto Orchansky
4 months ago

Is the drive the sole element binding the seatpost tube to the downtube.? If so that might be the issue. Here in Switzerland a company called Flyer produces ´classic shaped frames' (i.e Dutch style bikes) for many of its models. In a TV interview, a rep. explained that this is the most difficult type of frame to produce because the structures need to be reinforced in order to resist increased loads. This comes from a company that has produced Dutch style frames for over 15 years. Now, looking at the design of your bike, it almost looks like the drive is a single porting element that bears the loads coming from the down tube and seat tube.

I just happen to have a Flyer bike with me, so I took a picture. Looking at the frame design below, you can see that it's structurally reinforced in 3 places: headtube, bottom bracket drive assembly, and under the seat post. It's a very stiff bike. There's nothing I can do to induce any torsion and I weigh 210 pounds. I've pushed it pretty hard going uphill.

I appreciate so much your contribution. Yes, the drive is the sole element binding the seatpost tube to the downtube, being 'reinforced' with the gusset pointed by @JRA in two of his comments. It is unfortunate there is no other Lacuba Wave owner joining this thread. His/her comment and ability to replicate the issue would be of extreme help for everybody.
In the meantime, I am in contact with Bulls through my vendor. I had the bike professionally inspected twice, (at a cost of CDN 300, not too bad considering it's CND 5,500 brand new bike). As reported previously, nothing but an adjustment for my weight on the fork's air pressure was required. Now I am requested to have the front spokes checked since Bulls believe that may also explain the issue.
I envy so much your Flyer bike...!
Thanks

DavidP
4 months ago

I bought an E-bike (2013 Izip E3 Metro) a few years ago, and don't ride it much . . primarily because I think I'm scared of the thing. It's power is a bit unpredictable to me (caused me to fall almost immediately after getting it), and just doesn't feel natural.

I now think that a mid-drive with a GOOD system will alleviate much of this. The Benno Eboost really caught my attention (probably won't actually use the ability to carry cargo, but I want the option, will probably buy all the racks and bags). And to be completely honest, I just love the "story" that goes with the Benno bikes. Or maybe I'm just attracted to "different" and what some people would call "ugly" bikes (I got the Metro in ORANGE, and would get the Benno in yellow).

I can't find a local dealer that has the Benno to drive, but I did drive an Easy Motion Atom Diamond (Brose drive with Shimano Nexus IGH) and some other bike that had the Bosch system with a 10-speed derailler (like the Benno). Both drives seemed fine to me, but the SMOOTHNESS of the Brose/Nexus system (primarily due to the IGH, I'm sure) really struck me. And the quietness.

Now, it's possible that the bike I rode with the Bosch simply didn't have the derailler properly adjusted that led to the lack of smoothness.

I really like the BIG tires on the Benno Eboost, pretty sure I'd like the 24" x 2.6" tires, and the whole bike. But it keeps bugging me that the Brose/Nexus just seemed soooo smooth.

It looks like perhaps a Bulls Lacuba EVO E8 would get me the Brose/Nexus drive system with larger tires (2" vs 1.5" of the Easy Motion, but still not the 2.6" of the Beeno or the 24" wheel diameter.

Any other bikes I should be looking at? Or should I just get the Benno and not worry about the derailler and the lack of smoothness I detected in the bike I test-drove? I guess I should go test-drive another bike or two somewhere with the Bosch system if I can find one.

Anybody got the Benno Boost and love it or hate it?

Alberto Orchansky
4 months ago

Unfortunately, @JRA, that hybrid frame design in the prior image is not an "add on" feature; it has to be done during the initial build of the bike. Other brands of really low step ebikes have had a similar wobble issue with hub motor setups and rear mounted batteries, particularly with bigger riders. It is most apparent at the initial acceleration and sometimes at deceleration to a stop. The added rigidity of some additional piece to the frame, an added strut (and it doesn't have to be much) will resolve the issue. Look at the first edition of Currie Tech's Izip Zuma low step ebikes; they had the same issue. Next season, they added a small extra reinforcement just above the crank arms which solved the shimmy issue.

As for a fix, the shop and buyer will have to work this out; Bulls may not have realized how much vibration would happen with this style of frame since their focus has really been more on other styles of frames. Hopefully all 3 can find a middle ground so @Alberto Orchansky, can find the bike that works for him. I would strongly suggest a lot of test riding prior to taking a bike home.

Thanks @JRA
I am attaching a photo and made a composite of it. On the left, and marked with a RED CIRCLE, is the photo sent from BULLS to my vendor/dealer explaining how the seat post is attached to the front of the bike. The explanation from BULLS to the photo is quote: As I mentioned on the phone this is the first claim we’ve heard of a Lacuba EVO E8 having any speed wobble. Our wave frame doesn’t have a top tube but is strengthened with a wide downtube and also a reinforcement tube that’s welded at the “dip” (pics attached) end of quote. The BULLS photo -on the left- is the one with the RED CIRCLE. On the right, is a photo of my bike, which I submitted back to my vendor, which is going to be sent to BULLS including my own comment: I composed a photo whereas the original you sent -with the red circle- is on the left. My bike is on the right shown with the measuring tape. If you count the number of welding 'spots', there is a difference of 3 welding spots between both bikes. Assuming each weld is of the same thickness, the height of the (almost) triangular piece welded between the vertical and horizontal bars must be different: higher on the triangular piece of the BULLS photo. Also, and this might be just an illusion due to the angle of the photo, I have the impression that the triangular piece marked on the red circle is higher and steeper than the one on my bike.
I'll keep you posted and many thanks for your interest.

1/1
Sonoboy
4 months ago

There are 3 versions of this ebike. You can try the low step version and see if you can lift your foot above the top tube. Some people, me included, lean the bike 45 degrees (or even lower) towards me before I step over the bike.
http://propelbikes.com/product/bulls-lacuba-evo-e8-2017/

Wave is an interesting name for a product that shimmies and wobble.
It makes one wonder if they increased the tube wall thickness on the Wave or simply "left off" the other frame elements. Doesn't inspire confidence in the design.

Mark Peralta
4 months ago

There are 3 versions of this ebike. You can try the low step version and see if you can lift your foot above the top tube. Some people, me included, lean the bike 45 degrees (or even lower) towards me before I step over the bike.
http://propelbikes.com/product/bulls-lacuba-evo-e8-2017/

Wave is an interesting name for a product that shimmies and wobble.

1/1
Rincon
4 months ago

I am posting this because this Lacuba model is being sold by BULLS without any warnings such: this bike should not, under any circumstances, be ridden by any person heavier than 200 lbs and taller than 5'8".

What is your height and weight?

McSpiffy
4 months ago

Pleasure is mine!
Many people have been very kind to me and have helped immensely. I am happy to help in anyway I can.
Trek FX+ is a pretty old model and the tech has moved on quite a bit. The latest bikes are in a league of its own.
I live close to the UIC campus. Let me know if you want to try out my ST2 or Trekking S Rx or both for a day or two and see if it suits your commute.
Whatever you choose, I am pretty certain that these new crop of ebikes will re-ignite your passion for biking.

Hi Ravi!

I've been communicating with Josh @ CrazyLenny's and I've narrowed my interest down to three: 2017 Haibike Urban Plus, 2017 Bulls Lacuba EVO45 and the Stromer ST2. The Urban Plus really looks like it would fit-the-bill, however; I'm a little concerned with the TransX M25 GTS drive unit with the recalls (forum posts do appear that repair/replacement was prompt and some posted that they can definitely feel a difference post-replacement) and the Cobi Smart-connected biking system . . . still working the bugs out or is it truly not ready for prime time? The Urban Plus is a 10+ aesthetically and really surpassed other manufacturers with their choice in components. The Lacuba EVO45 has the Brose drive unit but I'm concerned with how they chose to mount the battery (bottom vs. top-mounted) and where they chose to locate the key lock. On to the Stromer

. . . damn this impresses me but I'm gun-shy after reading several negative posts; can it really be that bad? I also don't want to spend another 1K on an already-pricey ride with stem/front shock upgrades to account for road vibration.

Is there a way to PM or IM you will a few more questions before I head out to CLB's?

Thanks for all your help!

Paul

Alberto Orchansky
4 months ago

Thanks Mark for your attention.
No, the wobble I experience is of such magnitude that unless you stop, or try to stop the bike, you'll be thrown out of it. It's not a 'vibration', it's a side to side wobble of the entire bike. The girl riding the bike in the video would've been so scared she would've come back walking, assuming she didn't fall breaking something. Moreover, note that particular bike has the battery mounted on the back and the motor located on the rear wheel, therefore most of the weight is on the back. Some wobble, on any low-step 'girls' bike, is expected due to the lack of the upper tube and a reduced frame torsion. However, I totally agree with you that what I am experiencing won't happen with a 'top tube' bike. The issue is that -due to my physical limitations- I am able to ride only step-through bikes. I cannot 'mount' a 'boys' bike.
I am posting this because this Lacuba model is being sold by BULLS without any warnings such: this bike should not, under any circumstances, be ridden by any person heavier than 200 lbs and taller than 5'8". Please note this warning has not been tested with people of any other weight/height combinations. Therefore, ride it at your own risk.
Thanks again Mark,
Alberto

Mark Peralta
4 months ago

I feel your pain. I wonder if the wobble you are describing is the same as in the video at 21:39.

If that's the case, then your ebike does not have enough torsional rigidity to handle the payload. The LACUBA EVO E8 WAVE only has the down tube attached to the seat tube, and has no top tube that enhances the strength and rigidity. I suggest you try to ride the high step version or the BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 which has similar frame but with the top tube, and then see if you can still duplicate the problem. Either way, I think you should exchange your ebike since it is not safe for you.

Here is educational video on speed wobble.

pacificdragon1
3 months ago

Appreciate your reviews. Would you recommend this bike as a Cross type bike? About 80% street 20% hard pack dirt trail.

mk5721
3 months ago

Between this, or the Riese and Muller belt drive bike, which would you get? Both are in that 4K-4.5K price range.

VideoNOLA
7 months ago

I'd love to know what the expected wear life is for those drive belts.

Green Savant
4 months ago

Go to the Gates site. They, and others, have quoted 2x+. Also, what is your time worth? Myself, I'd rather be riding than cleaning, lubing and adjusting a chain.

Veranda Tales
7 months ago

pros I like the no fuss belt drive and the overall clean design.
cons high price and lack of no flat tire

Lysle Basinger
7 months ago

I have an arm that fastens from the seat post to the front stem that allows for mounting on a bike rack. These were designed years ago for ladies bike frames.

Michael M
9 months ago

Thanks for all your reviews. Only two ebike stores in my city. Once tells Trek, the other sells proprietary brand called electrobike. Non sell Bulls, Haibike or many of the bikes you reviewed. You have reviewed Trek though. Your reviews of different models lets me view other brands before forking out $$$$. The only downside of ordering online is I cannot test ride these bikes before buying.

Green Savant
4 months ago

I have bought 6 ebikes from Crazy Lenny's with no problems, great support, and the absolute best price. As for Trek, they private label their ebike systems, and my experience with a Bionx bike from them was NO REPLY. (No way, never again!)

mattyj342111
9 months ago

please review the elite gt

Noukz37
9 months ago

Easy Motion Evo City for me and this baby for my lady, and who needs to buy a car, or have a garage even? When car is needed, renting and car-sharing will work perfectly. Buying a car is such a waste of money and resources.
P.S. Love your reviews Curt, you're becoming like an E-Bike God or sth :-D

TheEdge008
10 months ago

As usual, great review! Just curious, Court: Have you ever changed out a rear tire of a bike that has the Gates system? Is it easy?

mastachinn
10 months ago

I have Gates belt drive on two of my bikes and changing the rear tire is relatively easy.  It is just like a chain drive except your hands do not get greasy.  There is belt tension requirement but I find it is fairly lax.  The Bulls Lacuba appears to have two fasteners on each side of the rear drops for easy adjustment of the belt tension.

Luis Rodriguez
10 months ago

Hi, I have watched many of your reviews. I have a fat bike with a 2 stroke motor that I installed. But was disappointed by how lack of power has going up the hills. Too much pedaling going up the hill for a 69 year old guy. even considering that I practice the Triathlons export for many years. But I love bikes, so I am trying to decide on a electric fat bike that is powerfull enough to handle the mountains road of Puerto Rico. Any recommendations.? I will like to be under $2k price range. Thanks for any help you can provide.

David Macdonald
11 months ago

That's a proper sized battery I think they should all come with a standard 20 amp battery to properly make these bikes really take over from your car .

slappy76
11 months ago

I don't see any specs listed on the Bulls website regarding weight. Would a rider close to 280lbs be a suitable fit on a wave frame? How about the midstep?

عاشق موسيق
12 months ago

🙆🙋🙌👉😊

Nicky458itl
12 months ago

why that screen so much huge? smartphone size but like a baby-g watch information.

Nisco Racing
1 year ago

$4K Yeah some people will come up whit, i can buy a decent car for that price.

ElectricBikeReview.com
12 months ago

The challenge with a car is the cost of licensing, insurance and gas... it's a much more expensive purchase over the course of time

Joe Blogs
1 year ago

im really loving the design of the bulls bikes

ElectricBikeReview.com
12 months ago

Me too, this one especially looks very good... clean

250 watts
1 year ago

https://www.e-bikeshop.co.uk/downloads/yamaha/Yamaha-PW-X-eBike-System-2017.pdf

ElectricBikeReview.com
12 months ago

Yamaha has a really nice battery design, I like the side-slide concept

Duncan Carr
1 year ago

I've been using a Haibike 26 XDuro RC to cycle to work & back for 7 months solid. The journey is 20 miles a day (10 each way - obviously!). My battery - it was almost new - only just manges to manage the 20 miles - at full assistance. Also, if I turn the power off, it is like cycling in treacle, in no way similar to a regular bike. I guess the motor causes a large hindrance when lacking any power. I flipping love it though. 22 mph everywhere. Nice.

Terry Brightwater
1 year ago

Nice bike ;0) Great review :0)

Terry Brightwater
1 year ago

Yes totally agree, love the tech and design ;0) I am really enjoying the evolution of e bike design and tech :0) I am amazed how much it has changed in the last 3 to 4 years! Really appreciate your regular reviews and constant enthusiasm ;0)
 

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Thanks Terry, I really appreciate your support and I'm sure Bulls does as well. I thought this was an amazing combination of tech like the geared hub, belt drive and beautiful mid-drive and hidden battery :)

Sita van Waarde
1 year ago

I Am realy impressed of how you revieus bikes 👍🏼👍🏼

Sita van Waarde
1 year ago

I had a car Its. Nice to have but i ride not verry far from home most of THE times
A electric bike is a Nice replacement for a car
I tink a lot about E bikes for a fuw Years
Its a lot of money so iT needs to be near purfect for what i whis

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Thanks, I do my best! Do you have an electric bike or are you exploring trying to find the perfect one :)